Skip to main content

Full text of "A standard history of Oklahoma; an authentic narrative of its development from the date of the first European exploration down to the present time, including accounts of the Indian tribes, both civilized and wild, of the cattle range, of the land openings and the achievements of the most recent period"

See other formats


Digitized  by  the  Internet  Archive 
in  2016 


https://archive.org/details/standardhistoryo05thob 


A Standard  History 

* 

OKLAHOMA 


An  Authentic  Narrative  of  its  Development  from  the  Date  of  the 
First  European  Exploration  down  to  the  Present  Time,  includ- 
ing Accounts  of  the  Indian  Tribes,  both  Civilized  and  Wild, 
of  the  Cattle  Range,  of  the  Land  Openings  and 
the  Achievements  of  the  most  Recent  Period 


£ 


JOSEPH  B.  THOBURN 

. Assisted  by  a Board  of  Advisory  Editors 

\J^ 


VOLUME  V 


G/C/  

T 3W 

y ^ ILLUSTRATED 


THE  AMERICAN  HISTORICAL  SOCIETY 

CHICAGO  AND  NEW  YORK 

1916 


Copyright  1916 
By 

THE  AMERICAN  HISTORICAL  SOCIETY 


1535239 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Boy  M.  Johnson.  An  aggressive  and  strenuous  young 
business  man  of  Ardmore,  Carter  County,  Boy  M.  John- 
son had  the  foresight  and  good  judgment  to  profit  largely 
through  his  associations  with  industrial  and  financial 
enterprises  in  Oklahoma.  He  was  best  known  for  a 
number  of  years  as  head  of  the  principal  republican 
newspaper  in  Southern  Oklahoma,  but  the  chief  objects 
of  his  attention  are  now  banking  and  the  oil  industry 
in  his  section  of  the  state.  He  is  an  alert  and  progressive 
young  man  of  affairs,  and  has  discovered  and  accepted 
many  opportunities  for  disinterested  public  service. 

He  was  born  at  Cashton,  Monroe  County,  Wisconsin, 
July  11,  1881.  His  parental  grandfather  was  born  and 
reared  in  Norway,  and  on  coming  to  the  United  States 
in  1850  settled  in  Illinois,  but  later  became  a pioneer 
settler  in  Wisconsin.  He  finally  established  his  home 
near  Cambridge,  Dane  County,  that  state,  where,  as  a 
prosperous  farmer,  he  spent  the  remainder  of  his  life. 
Mr.  Johnson's  maternal  grandfather  was  Dr.  John  B. 
Skinner,  whose  ancestors  had  come  to  America  in  early 
colonial  times.  He  was  an  early  country  physician  in 
Wisconsin,  went  from  that  state  as  a soldier  of  the 
Union  during  the  Civil  war,  and  was  member  of  a 
regiment  of  Wisconsin  cavalry  until  incapacitated  by 
sunstroke,  from  the  effects  of  which  he  never  fully  re- 
covered. He  was  a resident  of  Cashton  at  the  time  of 
his  death  in  1880. 

Prof.  O.  Andrew  Johnson,  father  of  the  Ardmore 
business  man,  was'  born  in  Illinois  in  1851  and  was  a 
child  when  taken  to  Dane  County,  Wisconsin.  While 
growing  up  he  acquired  a liberal  education  in  schools 
and  colleges,  and  is  a man  of  high  scholarship  who  has 
been  an  influential  figure  in  educational  affairs  and  also 
in  the  Seventh  Day  Adventist  Church.  His  home  was 
in  Wisconsin  until  1882,  when  he  removed  with  his  fam- 
ily to  Fort  Calhoun,  Nebraska,  where  he  continued  his 
evangelic  labors  for  a decade.  In  1892  he  became  a 
member  of  the  faculty  of  Union  College  at  Lincoln,  Ne- 
braska, but  in  1894  returned  to  Wisconsin  and  served 
three  years  as  president  of  the  Adventist  Conference 
of  that  state.-  In  1897  he  resumed  his  professorship  in 
Union  College,  where  he  remained  until  1900,  and  then 
went  to  Norway,  the  land  of  his  ancestors,  and  became 
president  of  the  Norwegian  Adventist  Conference.  In 
1908  he  resigned  from  that  position  and  has  since  held 
the  chair  of  Bible  History  in  Walla  Walla  College,  the 
Adventist  institution  in  Walla  Walla,  Washington.  He 
is  one  of  the  most  distinguished  representatives  of  the 
I'ifeligious  organization  of  the  Seventh  Day  Adventists, 
and  his  wife  was  also  a devout  and  zealous  member 
of  the  same  body.  Professor  Johnson  married  in  Wis- 
consin Miss  Sarah  M.  Skinner,  who  was  born  in  Illinois 
in  1851.  She  died  at  Walla  Walla,  Washington,  in  May, 
1915.  Boy  M.  Johnson  is  the  older  of  their  two  sons, 
while  Harry  Lynn,  who  is  becoming  distinguished  in  the 
field  of  mechanical  inventions,  is  now  president  of  the 
Johnson  Automatic  Machinery  Company  of  Battle  Creek, 
Michigan. 

It  was  in  the  public  schools  Of  Nebraska  that  Boy  M. 
Johnson  acquired  his  early  training,  followed  by  a course 
in  Union  College,  where  he  was  graduated  A.  B.  in  1899. 
In  the  meantime  he  had  also  been  a student  for  three 
years  in  Milton  College  at  Milton,  Wisconsin.  Mr. 


Johnson  learned  the  printer  ’s  trade  at  Battle  Creek, 
Michigan,  where  he  lived  from  1900  to  1903,  except  the 
summer  of  1902  spent  with  his  parents  in  Norway.  For 
four  years,  1903-07,  he  followed  his  trade  at  Beaumont, 
Texas,  employed  alternately  in  the  offices  of  the  two 
daily  papers  of  that  city. 

In  1907,  the  year  Oklahoma  became  a state,  Mr.  John- 
son established  his  home  at  Ardmore  and  founded  the 
Ardmore  Statesman.  In  a short  time  he  had  made  this 
one  of  the  model  weekly  papers  of  the  state  and  was  its 
editor  and  publisher  until  the  spring  of  1915,  when  he 
sold  the  plant  and  business  to  Edward  L.  Gregory  of 
Lawton.  The  Statesman  has  been  an  effective  exponent 
of  the  republican  party,  and  under  Mr.  Johnson’s  con- 
trol it  became  the  official  republican  organ  for  a large 
part  of  Southern  Oklahoma,  and  in  fact  was  the  only 
important  republican  paper  in  the  South  Central  section 
of  the  state. 

Practically  from  the  time  he  established  his  home  at 
Ardmore  Mr.  Johnson  was  convinced  that  the  city  was 
the  center  of  what  would  ultimately  prove  a great 
petroleum  oil  district.  His  confidence  was  one  of  action, 
and  several  years  ago  he  mortgaged  his  newspaper  plant 
for  $2,000  and  with  some  progressive  associates  leased 
a tract  of  land  in  the  Healdton  District.  Their  activi- 
ties brought  in  the  now  celebrated  field,  which,  though 
only  one  third  developed,  gives  a yield  of  100,000  barrels . 
a day.  Mr.  Johnson’s  individual  holdings  in  this  field 
are  valued  at  approximately  over  half  a million  dollars. 

He  is  now  president  of  the  Crystal  Oil  Company,  a 
heavy  stockholder  in  the  Bess  Tucker  Oil  Company,  the 
Vernon  Collins  Oil  Company,  and  the  Seivally  Petroleum 
Company,  as  well  as  a stockholder  in  several  developing 
companies.  His  judicious  investments  have  also  extended 
to  farm  land,  and  he  is  the  owner  of  a large  amount  of 
that  class  of  property  in  Carter  County.  His  largest  in- 
come is  from  his  royalties  in  his  oil  properties  in  the 
Healdton  fields.  He  is  a director  of  the  Guaranty  State 
Bank  of  Ardmore  and  a stockholder  in  several  other 
banking  institutions  in  Southern  Oklahoma. 

It  was  as  a sincere  and  straightforward  republican 
that  Mr.  Johnson  became  so  successful  in  making'  the 
Ardmore  Statesman  a leading  organ  of  his  party  in 
the  new  state.  For  a number  of  years  he  has  been  a man 
of  prominence  and  influence  among  Oklahoma  republi- 
cans, is  a member  of  the  E'epublican  State  Central  Com- 
mittee from  Carter  County  and  in  1914  served  as  presi- 
dent of  the  Eepublican  Press  Association  of  Oklahoma. 
There  has  been  less  of  personal  ambition  than  of  broad 
civic  loyalty  in  his  work  as  a partisan  and  citizen,  and 
his  name  might  be  justly  linked  with  all  the  important 
movements  and  enterprises  for  the  good  of  his  section 
of  the  state.  He  is  one  of  the  directors  of  the  Ardmore 
Chamber  of  Commerce,  a member  of  the  Dornick  Hills 
Country  Club,  the  Chickasaw  Lake  Club,  the  Ardmore 
Bod  and  Gun  Club,  and  he  and  his  wife  are  members  of 
the  Presbyterian  Church  of  Ardmore,  of  which  he  is  a 
deacon. 

For  a number  of  years  he  has  been  actively  interested 
in  fraternal  work,  especially  in  the  various  branches 
of  the  Masonic  Order.  His  affiliations  are  with  Ard- 
more Lodge  No.  31,  A.  F.  & A.  M.;  Ardmore  Chapter 
No.  11,  B.  A.  M. ; Ardmore  Council  No.  11,  B'.  & S.  M. 


1762 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Ardmore  Commandery  No.  9,  K.  T.;  Indian  Consistory 
No.  2,  Scottish  Kite  at  McAlester,  and  Indian  Temple 
of  the  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Oklahoma  City. 
He  is  also  a member  of  the  Ardmore  Lodge  of  the 
Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  the  Knights  of 
Pythias  and  the  Woodmen  of  the  World. 

On  April  22,  1913,  at  Dallas,  Texas,  he  married  Miss 
Odessa  Otey,  of  Huntsville,  Texas.  Her  parents  died 
while  she  was  a young  girl,  and  before  her  marriage  she 
was  a popular  teaeher  in  the  Ardmore  schools.  They 
have  one  son,  Otey,  born  July  14,  1914. 

William  H.  Mitchell.  One  of  the  most  important 
municipal  positions  of  the  City  of  Guthrie  is  that  of 
commissioner  of  public  safety  and  chief  of  police,  offices 
which  at  this  time  are  being  capably  filled  by  William 
H.  Mitchell.  He  is  one  of  the  strong  figures  of  the  day 
who  are  boldly  standing  for  political  reform,  and  none 
of  the  officials  of  Guthrie  has  a better  record  or  a more 
appreciative  audience.  Mr.  Mitchell  was  born  March  29, 
1863,  at  Salem,  Massachusetts,  and  is  a son  of  Robert 
P.  and  Margaret  H.  (Costello)  Mitchell. 

Robert  P.  Mitchell  was  born  in  Ireland,  in  1831,  and 
came  to  America  with  his  brother,  James  Mitchell,  in 
1841,  taking  up  his  residence  at  Salem,  which  continued 
to  be  his  home  until  his  death  in  1913.  He  was  a good 
business  man  and  for  many  years  carried  On  operations 
in  grain,  and  through  honorable  business ' methods  and 
straightforward  transactions  won  a firmly  established 
place  in  the  esteem  and  confidence  of  those  among  whom 
his  fortunes  were  cast.  Mr.  Mitchell  was  married  in 
1853  to  Miss  Margaret  H.  Costello,  a native  of  England, 
born  in  1831,  who  died  in  1910.  They  became  the  parents 
of  three  daughters  and  four  sons,  namely:  Lizzie  K., 

who  is  single  and  resides  at  Salem;  Charles  H.,  who  is 
deceased;  William  H.;  Mrs.  Rachael  Park,  who  is  de- 
ceased; Emma,  who  died  unmarried;  and  George  M., 
who  has  also  passed  away. 

William  H.  Mitchell  was  reared  in  the  City  of  Salem, 
where  his  education  was  secured  in  the  public  schools. 
After  graduating  from  the  high  school  in  1876  he  started 
to  work  for  his  father  in  the  grain  business  and  con- 
tinued to  be  so  occupied  until  1884,  thus  gaining  experi- 
ence that  was  to  prove  invaluable  to  him  in  later  years. 
In  the  year  mentioned  he  went  to  Worcester,  Massa- 
chusetts, where  he  accepted  a position  as  a traveling 
salesman  and  went  on  the  road  as  the  representative  of 
wholesale  tea  and  coffee  houses.  In  1887  he  came  to 
the  West,  locating  in  Kansas,  and  in  the  following  year 
engaged  in'  the  retail  grocery  business  at  Winfield,  an 
enterprise  which  he  conducted  for  two  years.  In  1889 
he  participated  in  the  original  opening  of  Oklahoma, 
when  he  located  at  Guthrie,  and  here  engaged  in  the 
real  estate  business.  At  the  time  of  the  opening  of  the 
Sac  and  Fox  reservations,  in  1892,  he  secured  a claim 
on  Bear  Creek,  in  Logan  County,  a property  which  he 
still  owns.  In  1893-4  he  served  capably  and  energetically 
as  deputy  sheriff  of  Logan  County,  and  at  the  outbreak 
of  the  Spanish- American  war  he  enlisted  in  Troop  K, 
First  United  States  Volunteer  Cavalry,  the  famous 
“ Rough  Riders”  under  Col.  Theodore  Roosevelt.  He 
was  with  that  regiment  in  all  its  engagements  and  move- 
ments in  Cuba,  including  the  battle  of  San  Juan  Hill, 
where  he  was  in  the  thickest  of  the  fight.  While  he  was 
never  seriously  wounded,  on  one  occasion  he  had  a narrow 
escape,  having  the  heel  of  one  of  his  boots  shot  off. 
He  was  intensely  loyal  to  his  regiment,  his  country  and 
his  comrades,  was  one  of  the  most  cheerful  and  faithful 
members  of  his  troop,  and  did  a great  deal  of  helpful 
work  in  caring  for  the  sick  and  wounded.  Mr.  Mitchell 
was  mustered  out  of  the  United  States  service  at  Mon- 
tauk  Point,  New  York,  from  whence  he  went  to  his 


boyhood  home  at  Salem  and  there  remained  two  years 
with  his  parents.  In  1901-2  he  was  with  Col.  W.  F. 
Cody  (“Buffalo  Bill”)  as  sergeant  of  rough  riders, 
touring  the  United  States,  and  in  1903  joined  the  police 
department  of  Guthrie.  In  this  department  his  executive 
ability,  his  detective  powers  and  his  fearless  performance 
of  every  duty  devolving  upon  him  won  him  constant 
promotion,  and  in  1906  he  was  finally  made  chief  of  the 
police  department,  an  office  in  which  he  capably  served 
until  1912.  In  1915,  under  the  commission  form  of 
government,  he  was  elected  commissioner  of  public  safety, 
the  prerogatives  of  which  office  include  police,  streets 
and  alleys,  public  buildings  and  lighting  of  streets. 

As  to  the  movements  directly  concerned  with  the  civic 
reform  of  Guthrie,  he  has  been  one  of  the  city’s  most 
helpful  men.  He  has  always  been  an  enthusiastic  worker 
for  good  roads,  and  many  substantial  improvements  have 
made  their  appearance  under  his  administration,  includ- 
ing the  inauguration  and  installation  of  a modern  * ‘ white 
way”  system.  He  was  the  promoter  of  the  plan  also 
to  utilize  the  labor  of  the  city  prisoners  in  the  improve- 
ment of  the  streets,  thus  reducing  taxes.  Elected  on  the 
reform  platform,  he  has  faithfully  fulfilled  every  promise 
made  during  his  campaign.  Commissioner  Mitchell  is 
active  in  all  Masonic  bodies  of  Guthrie,  is  a thirty-second 
degree  Mason  and  a member  of  the  finance  committee 
of  the  Masonic  Temple  of  this  city  and  holds  member- 
ship also  in  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks. 
Altogether  he  is  a man  who  touches  and  improves  life 
on  many  sides.  As  his  thorough  official  requirements 
have  been  reinforced  by  extensive  travels,  during  which 
he  has  been  a thoughtful  student  of  affairs,  he  has 
acquired  a depth  as  well  as  a breadth  of  view  which 
is  enjoyed  by  few  men  now  before  the  people. 

Commissioner  Mitchell  was  married  at  Worcester, 
Massachusetts,  September  20,  1905,  to  Miss  Alice  M. 
Cheney,  daughter  of  Wheeloek  A.  and  Lovina  (Brown- 
ing) Cheney.  She  was  born  at  Salem,  Massachusetts, 
July  8,  1859,  and  learned  the  printer’s  trade  there  under 
her  father,  who  was  a publisher  of  that  city.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Mitchell  have  no  children. 

Rev.  Robert  Carr.  A lifelong  resident  of  the  old 
Creek  Nation,  Rev.  Robert  Carr  has  found  opportunity 
for  usefulness  and  service  to  his  people  both  as  a farmer 
and  for  many  years  as  a preacher.  He  is  one  of  the 
old  timers  well  worthy  of  the  distinction  of  historical 
record. 

He  was  born  west  of  Fort  Gibson  on  the  Arkansas 
River  in  the  Creek  Nation,  about  1845,  a son  of  Thomas 
and  Sally  (Russo)  Carr.  His  parents  were  natives  of 
Alabama  and  were  members  of  the  Creek  tribe.  Thomas 
Carr  was  a well  educated  man,  having  been  sent  to  a 
boarding  school  in  Kentucky.  The  mother  came  to  Indian 
Territory  first,  and  she  lived  in  the  territory  until  her 
death,  in  1871.  She  died  about  a mile  from  where  her 
son,  Rev.  Robert,  now  lives.  The  father  was  a soldier 
in  the  Confederate  army,  and  died  at  one  of  the  refugee 
camps  about  1863.  His  business  was  that  of  stock  raiser. 
Of  the  two  children  the  son  Richard  served  all 
through  the  Civil  war,  and  died  in  1867. 

Robert  Carr  during  his  boyhood  attended  the  Asbury 
Mission  School,  and  learned  to  read,  but  after  the 
school  was  broken  up  at  the  beginning  of  the  war  he 
had  no  further  education.  In  a business  way  he  has 
found  employment  for  his  energies  and  accumulated  a 
considerable  estate  by  farming  and  stock  raising.  Since 
the  close  of  the  war  he  has  had  his  home  in  what  is 
now  Hughes  County,  and  his  110  acre  homestead  adjoins 
the  little  city  of  Wetumka  on  the  southeast.  Until 
Wetumka  was  founded,  in  1900,  the  nearest  town  was 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1763 


Eufaula.  All  members  of  Mr.  Carr’s  family  have  their 
allotments. 

Rev.  Robert  Carr  was  for  several  years  sheriff,  or 
light  horse  captain,  in  the  Creek  Nation.  In  politics 
he  is  a democrat.  In  1871  he  joined  the  Missionary 
Baptist  Church,  and  ten  years  later  was  ordained  as  a 
preacher,  and  has  been  active  in  the  work  ever  since. 
For  many  years' he  traveled  as  a missionary  among  his 
own  people  and  the  Cherokees,  and  served  as  pastor  of 
local  missions. 

In  1871  he  married  Elizabeth  Barnette,  who  was  a 
Creek  Indian  and  was  born  near  Eufaula,  April  13, 
1855.  She  has  spent  practically  all  her  life  in  this 
one  locality.  Her  parents  were  Daniel  and  Sally  Bar- 
nette, the  former  a Creek  Indian  and  the  latter  possessing 
half  white  blood.  Mrs.  Carr’s  mother  died  along  the 
Red  River  during  the  war,  while  her  father  was  a Con- 
federate soldier  and  died  near  Fort  Smith.  Of  the  three 
sons  and  three  daughters  in  the  Barnette  family  two  are 
now  living,  Louisa  Gray,  near  Wetumka,  and  Mrs.  Carr. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Carr  lost  three  sons  in  infancy,  and 
their  five  living  daughters  are:  Mrs.  Nettie  Frazier,  who 
lives  in  the  same  neighborhood  as  her  parents,  and  has 
one  child;  Addie  Smith,  of  Wetumka;  Ida  McCoy,  who 
lives  at  Wetumka,  and  has  seven  children ; Lulu  Canard, 
of  Wetumka,  and  the  mother  of  one  child;  and  Anius 
Canard,  of  Wetumka,  who  has  two  children. 

James  C.  Stewakt.  The  profession  of  education  has 
no  worthier  or  more  efficient  representative  in  Grady 
County  than  James  C.  Stewart  of  Rush  Springs,  super- 
intendent of  city  schools  and  a man  who  has  passed 
practically  his  entire  career  in  the  calling  to  which  he  is 
now  devoted.  His  advance  has  been  steady  and  con- 
sistent and  has  come  as  a result  of  personal  merit  and 
close  application,  inherent  and  peculiar  talent  for  impart- 
ing to  others  his  own  broad  knowledge,  and  a deep 
and  comprehensive  sympathy  that  attracts  his  pupils  to 
him  and  make  easy  their  control.  He  has  likewise  dis- 
played the  possession  of  marked  executive  ability  and 
in  the  management  of  the  affairs  of  his  office  has  shown 
no  little  business  acumen. 

James  C.  Stewart  was  born  at  Russellville,  the  county 
seat  of  Pope  County,  Arkansas,  July  14,  1884,  and  is 
a son  of  T.  B.  and  Margaret  (Allen)  Stewart.  As  the 
name  would  suggest,  the  family  originated  in  Scotland, 
James  C.  Stewart,  the  grandfather  of  James  C.  of  this 
notice,  and  for  whom  he  was  named,  having  been  a 
native  of  Scotia  and  an  emigrant  to  the  United  States 
from  the  City  of  Edinburgh.  On  his  arrival  in  this 
country  the  grandfather  became  a pioneer  planter  and 
lumberman  in  Tennessee  and  through  a long  life  of 
industry  rose  to  a place  of  prominence  and  financial  inde- 
pendence, and  died  at  Franklin,  Tennessee,  well  advanced 
in  years,  and  standing  high  in  the  esteem  of  his  fellow- 
citizens. 

T.  B.  Stewart,  father  of  James  C.  Stewart,  was 
born  at  Stephensville,  Alabama,  in  1852,  and  as  a young 
man  removed  to  Winchester,  Tennessee.  In  1881  he 
removed  to  Russellville,  Arkansas,  where  he  remained 
until  1886,  then  going  to  Pottsville,  Arkansas,  where  he 
followed  his  vocations  of  farmer  and  lumberman  until 
1906.  In  that  year  he  retired  from  active  participation 
in  business  and  agricultural  life  and  moved  to  South 
Pittsburg,  Marion  County,  Tennessee,  where  he  still 
resides.  Mr.  Stewart  is  a deacon  in  the  Baptist  Church, 
and  in  political  matters  is  a democrat.  He  married  Miss 
Margaret  Allen,  who  was  born  at  Winchester,  Franklin 
County,  Tennessee,  in  1853,  and  she  died  at  Russellville, 
Arkansas,  in  1906.  They  became  the  parents  of  four 
children,  as  follows:  John,  who  died  at  the  age  of  two 


years;  Jack,  who  married  T.  B.  Lax,  superintendent  of 
schools  of  Mulberry,  Arkansas;  Minnie,  who  is  the  wife 
of  John  Dane,  a farmer  of  Russellville;  and  James  C. 

As  a youth,  James  C.  Stewart  attended  the  public 
schools  of  Pottsville,  Arkansas,  where  he  was  graduated 
from  the  high  school  with  the  class  of  1900.  During  the 
next  two  years,  desiring  to  see  something  of  the  country, 
lie  traveled  extensively  from  Canada  to  the  Gulf  of 
Mexico  in  all  the  states  east  of  the  Rocky  Mountains, 
and  not  only  derived  much  pleasure  from  his  travels, 
but  also  an  education  which  could  have  been  gained  in 
no  other  way,  and  experience  that  has  proved  of  immeas- 
ureable  value  to  him  since  that  time.  For  one  year, 
also,  he  was  in  the  service  of  the  Iron  Mountain  Rail- 
road. In  1903  Mr.  Stewart  enrolled  as  a student  at 
Washita  College,  Arkansas,  and  graduated  therefrom  in 
1907.  He  next  spent  one  year  at  the  University  of 
Chicago,  which  he  left  in  1908,  and*  this  training  was 
later  supplemented  by  a full  course  at  the  Central  State 
Normal  School,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1914. 
In  the  meantime,  he  had  started  upon  his  educational 
career  in  1902,  when  he  began  to  teach  a summer  school 
near  Russellville.  He  rose  steadily  in  his  calling  from 
that  time  on,  and  in  1907  was  appointed  principal  of 
Willow  Point  (Oklahoma)  School,  two  years  later  being 
made  principal  of  the  high  school  at  Comanche,  where  he 
remained  two . years.  In  1910  he  received  the  appoint- 
ment as  superintendent  of  schools  at  Loco  and  retained 
that  office  until  the  fall  of  1915,  when  he  was  given 
his  present  position  as  superintendent  of  city  schools  of 
Rush  Springs.  He  bears  an  excellent  reputation  as  an 
educator,  and  while  a strict  disciplinarian  has  always  had 
the  esteem  and  friendship,  as  well  as  the  confidence,  of 
his  teachers  and  pupils.  Mr.  Stewart  is  a democrat  in 
politics.  He  belongs  to  the  Baptist  Church,  and  is 
fraternally  affiliated  with  Loco  Camp,  Woodmen  of  the 
World,  in  which  he  is  past  consul  commander,  and  Loco 
Lodge  No.  361,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  in 
which  he  is  past  grand.  He  has  numerous  friends  in 
both  orders,  as  he  has  also  in  professional  life. 

Mr.  Stewart  was  married  in  1908,  at  England,  Lonoke 
County,  Arkansas,  to  Miss  Alma  Swain,  daughter  of  the 
late  J.  H.  Swain,  deceased,  who  was  a merchant,  banker 
and  oil  man  of  England,  Arkansas.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Stewart  there  have  come  two  children:  Pearl,  born  June 
8,  1910;  and  Ruby,  born  May  5,  1911. 

Hon.  J.  L.  McKeown,  as  an  expert  accountant,  has 
been  prominently  identified  with  various  departments  of 
the  government  of  the  State  of  Oklahoma  and  retired 
from  the  office  of  financial  secretary  of  the  Oklahoma 
Agricultural  and  Mechanical  College  at  Stillwater, 
Payne  County,  when  he  was  elected  a representative  of 
that  county  in  the  fifth  general  assembly  of  the  State 
Legislature.  Entering  the  Legislature  with  an  experi- 
ence of  a number  of  years  as  an  expert  accountant  in  the 
service  of  the  state,  both  as  a member  of  the  official  staff 
of  the  state  examiner  and  inspector  and  as  financial  sec- 
retary of  the  state  board  of  agriculture,  Mr.  McKeown 
came  to  his  new  duties  specially  well  equipped,  par- 
ticularly for  the  service  assigned  to  him  in  connection 
with  committee,  work,  in  which  capacity  he  became  one 
of  the  influential  members  of  the  house  of  representatives 
in  the  legislative  session  of  1914-15. 

Mr.  McKeown  was  born  in  Wisconsin  in  the  year  1873, 
and  is  a son  of  Patrick  and  Julia  McKeown.  His  father, 
a native  of  Ireland,  came  to  America  when  a young  man 
and  for  many  years  was  a successful  representative  of 
the  great  basic  industries  of  agriculture  and  stock-grow- 
ing— first  in  Wisconsin  and  later  in  Missouri.  He  whose 
name  initiates  this  article  was  a child  at  the  time  of 


1764 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


the  family  removal  to  Missouri,  where  he  received  his 
preliminary  educational  discipline  in  the  public  schools. 
In  1899  he  was  graduated  in  the  Missouri  State  Normal 
School  at  Warrensburg,  and  he  then  turned  his  atten- 
tion to  the  pedagogic  profession,  of  which  he  was  for 
five  years  one  of  the  successful  and  popular  representa- 
tives, as  a teacher  in  the  public  schools  of  Missouri. 
Later  he  completed  a thorough  course  in  scientific  ac- 
counting, in  the  Spaulding  Business  College  in  Kansas 
City,  that  state,  and  for  the  ensuing  five  years  he  gave 
his  attention  to  work  as  an  expert  accountant,  a portion 
of  the  time  through  assignment  to  important  special 
work  in  Oklahoma  Territory.  When  the  state  government 
was  organized  in  1997,  Mr.  McKeown  assisted  in  plan- 
ning and  executing  the  first  work  of  the  office  of  state 
examiner  and  inspector,  and  upon  his  retiring  from  this 
department  he  entered  the  service  of  the  state  board  of 
agriculture,  by  which  he  was  assigned  to  the  position  of 
financial  secretary  at  the  Oklahoma  Agricultural  and 
Mechanical  College  at  Stillwater,  a post  of  which  he 
continued  the  efficient  and  valued  incumbent  until  his 
election  to  the  lower  house  of  the  State  Legislature,  in 
1914.  Prior  to  his  election  to  this  office  Mr.  McKeown 
had  accomplished  valuable  service  for  the  state  through 
his  interposition  and  investigation  as  an  expert  ac- 
countant, and  it  is  specially  worthy  of  note  that  he 
effected  in  this  capacity  the  discovery  of  the  issuing  of 
fraudulent  state  warrants  to  the  amount  of  $37,000,  this 
discovery  having  resulted  in  the  prosecution  and  con- 
viction of  a trusted  attache  of  the  office  of  the  state 
auditor. 

In  the  fifth  Legislature  Mr.  McKeown  was  assigned 
to  the  following  named  committees  of  the  house  of  repre- 
sentatives: appropriation,  education,  general  agriculture, 
banks  and  banking,  initiative  and  referendum,  manu- 
facturing and  commerce,  and  oil  and  gas.  He  was 
specially  concerned  in  legislation  affecting  the  oil  and 
gas  industries  and  that  pertaining  to  the  State  Agri- 
cultural and  Mechanical  College  with  which  he  had  been 
actively  identified.  He  took  an  active  interest  in  the 
preparation,  championship  and  enactment  of  the  note- 
worthy oil  conservation  bill,  especially  by  reason  of  the 
fact  that  he  is  personally  interested  in  the  oil  industry, 
as  an  operator  in  the  celebrated  Cushing  field,  a part  of 
which  is  in  the  county  of  which  he  is  a representative. 
He  is  secretary  of  the  Cimarron  River  Oil  and  Gas  Com- 
pany and  vice  president  of  the  Cimarron  Oil  Company, 
both  of  which  have  valuable  producing  wells  in  the 
Cushing  field  of  Oklahoma.  Mr. ' McKeown  was  joint 
author  of  the  admirable  good  roads  measure  that  was 
passed  by  the  Fifth  Legislature,  this  being  considered 
one  of  the  most  important  passed  at  that  session  in 
touching  the  interests  of  the  rural  communities  of  the 
state.  He  was  joint  author  also  of  measures  fixing 
proper  penalties  for  the  desertion  of  wives  and  children 
by  recalcitrant  husbands  and  fathers.  Mr.  McKeown  was 
zealous  in  the  supporting  of  adequate  appropriations  for 
the  Oklahoma  Agricultural  & Mechanical  College  in  his 
home  City  of  Stillwater,  one  of  these  appropriations 
having  been  for  the  replacing  of  buildings  that  had  been 
destroyed  by  fire  and  the  loss  of  which  seriously  crippled 
the  work  of  the  college. 

The  political  allegiance  of  Mr.  McKeown  is  given  to 
the  democratic  party;  he  is  affiliated  with  Guthrie  Lodge 
No.  426,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  in  the 
City  of  Guthrie  and  also  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America.  In  addition  to  his  interests  in  the  oil  and  gas 
industry  he  is  a stockholder  of  the  Employes  Building  & 
Loan  Association  of  Guthrie. 

In  1906  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  McKeown 
to  Miss  Effie  Lovell,  of  Guthrie,  this  state;  they  have  no 


children.  Mr.  McKeown  has  two  brothers  and  two  sis- 
ters: James  is  a farmer  near  Eldorado  Springs,  Mis- 

souri; William  T.  is  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law 
in  the  City  of  Kalispell,  Montana,  and  is  one  of  the 
representative  members  of  the  bar  of  that  section  of 
the  Treasure  State;  Mrs.  A.  J.  Clark  resides  in  Portland, 
Oregon,  where  her  husband  is  foreman  of  the  repair 
shops  of  the  Oregon  Railroad  & Navigation  Company; 
and  Miss  Kate  McKeown  is  a resident  of  Kansas  City, 
Missouri. 

Walter  Wallace  Housewright.  Since  his  arrival  at 
Devol,  Oklahoma,  September  28,  1908,  at  which  time  he 
opened  the  Farmers  State  Bank,  Walter  Wallace  House- 
wright has  been  intimately  identified  with  the  interests, 
business  and  financial,  of  this  thriving  and  energetic 
little  city  of  Cotton  County.  In  the  capacity  of  cashier 
of  the  institution  mentioned,  he  has  become  well  and 
widely  known  in  banking  circles,  as  a citizen  he  has  been 
a factor  in  fostering  and  bringing  to  a successful  con- 
clusion several  movements  which  have  meant  much  to  his 
community,  and  in  social  affairs  he  has  taken  an  active 
part. 

Mr.  Housewright  was  born  at  Wylie,  Collin  County, 
Texas,  October  22,  1888,  and  is  a son  of  William  and 
Henrietta  (Wallace)  Housewright.  The  family  orig- 
inated in  Germany  and  was  founded  in  this  country  in 
Mississippi,  where,  in  1835,  was  born  William  House- 
wright. He  was  a pioneer  of  Collin  County,  whence  he 
went  from  Mississippi  thirty  years  before  the  founding 
of  the  Town  of  Wylie,  and  was  engaged  practically  all 
of  his  life  as  a farmer  and  stock  raiser.  During  the 
war  between  the  North  and  the  South,  he  joined  a Texas 
regiment,  and  throughout  the  conflict  served  ably  and 
bravely  under  the  flag  of  the  Confederacy.  He  was  a 
member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity.  Mr.  Housewright 
died  at  Wylie,  Texas,  October  20,  1889,  aged  fifty-four 
years.  Mrs.  Housewright,  also  a native  of  Mississippi, 
survives  her  husband  and  lives  at  Wylie.  There  were 
eight  children  in  the  family,  as  follows:  Panola,  who 
married  Charles  Anderhub,  a farmer,  and  lives  at  Wylie; 
Ponta,  deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of  H.  R.  Riffe,  also 
a farmer  at  Wylie;  Estella,  who  is  the  wife  of  W.  W. 
Combs,  engaged  in  farming  in  the  vicinity  of  Wylie; 
W.  R.,  who  is  engaged  in  horse  dealing  and  lives  at  Hot 
Springs,  Arkansas;  Ernest,  a resident  of  Wylie,  where 
he  is  engaged  in  painting  and  decorating;  Hester,  who 
is  unmarried  and  resides  with  her  mother;  Jick,  a rural 
free  delivery  mail  carrier,  residing  at  Wylie;  and  Walter 
Wallace,  of  this  review. 

Walter  Wallace  Housewright  was  given  good  educa- 
tional advantages  in.  his  youth,  attending  first  the  public 
schools  at  Wylie,  where  he  was  graduated  from  the  high 
school  in  1904,  and  next  going  to  the  Commercial  Col- 
lege, at  Tyler,  Texas,  where  he  completed  his  course  in 
1905.  When  only  sixteen  years  of  age,  he  entered  the 
Bank  of  Temple,  Oklahoma,  as  bookkeeper  and  stenogra- 
pher, and  rapidly  won  promotion  through  the  display  of 
unusual  ability  and  fidelity  to  duty,  so  that  he  rose  to 
teller  and  subsequently  to  the  position  of  assistant 
cashier.  Mr.  Housewright  remained  at  Templ6  until 
March,  1908,  when  he  removed  to  Hot  Springs,  Arkansas, 
and  for  a short  time  was  employed  in  the  Arkansas 
National  Bank.  On  September  28,  1908,  he  came  to 
Devol,  Oklahoma,  opened  the  bank  here,  and  became 
cashier  of  the  Farmers  State  Bank,  a position  which  he 
has  since  retained.  He  has  shown  marked  ability  in  the 
discharge  of  his  duties,  has  risen  steadily  in  favor  with 
the  depositors,  and  has  established  himself  firmly  in  the 
confidence  of  his  associates.  The  Farmers  State  Bank 
occupies  the  first  building  completed  at  Devol,  at  the 


AND  FAMILY  ON  TIGER  CREEK  FARM 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1765 


corner  of  Wichita  Avenue  and  Mulberry  Street,  and  bears 
an  excellent  reputation  among  the  financial  institutions 
of  Cotton  County.  It  is  capitalized  at  $10,000,  with  a 
surplus  of  $2,000,  and  its  present  officers  are:  A.  J. 
Emery,  president ; W.  T.  Huff,  vice  president,  and  W.  W. 
Housewright,  cashier. 

Mr.  Housewright  is  a democrat,  but  practically  con- 
fines his  political  activities  to  supporting  men  and  meas- 
ures which  he  believes  will  be  beneficial  to  the  interests 
of  his  community.  His  fraternal  connections  include 
membership  in  Devol  Lodge  No.  420,  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons,  of  which  he  is  past  master  by  service; 
Devol  Chapter,  Order  of  the  Eastern  Star;  Devol  Lodge 
No.  548,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  and  the  local 
lodges  of  the  Woodmen  of.  the  World  and  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America.  He  takes  a keen  interest  in  fra- 
ternal affairs,  and  is  decidedly  popular  with  his  fellow 
lodge  members. 

On  April  15,  1909,  at  Temple,  Oklahoma,  Mr.  House- 
wright was  united  in  marriage  with  Miss  Erma  Tipton, 
daughter  of  I.  W.  Tipton,  a merchant  and  rancher  of 
El  Paso,  Texas.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Housewright  have  had  no 
children. 

Bev.  Louis  M.  Miller.  One  of  the  most  influential 
representatives  of  the  old  Creek  Nation,  Louis  M.  Miller 
has  spent  his  active  lifetime  in  Hughes  and  Seminole 
counties  and  is  now  a resident  of  near  Holdenville.  For 
many  years  he  has  been  a prosperous  farmer  in  that 
community,  but  in  addition  to  the  management  of  his 
private  affairs  has  also  mingled  closely  with  his  own 
people  and  has  been  a leader  in'  public  and  religious 
life.  He  is  now  pastor  of  the  Indian  church  in  his  local- 
ity. He  was  born  at  Coweta,  December  22,  1862,  his 
parents,  Daniel  and  Sophia  (Jacobs)  Miller,  having 
had  their  home  two  and  a half  miles  west  of  that 
place.  His  father  was  a fullblood  Creek  and  was  born 
in  Alabama.  His  mother  was  a halfblood  Creek,  her 
father,  Eli  Jacobs,  having  been  a white  man.  The  mother 
was  born  in  1823,  and  came  to  Indian  Territory  when 
ten  years  of  age,  and  died  in  1873.  The  father  passed 
away  about  1872,  at  the  age  of  sixty-five.  They  spent 
their  married  lives  along  the  Arkansas  Biver  near  the 
eastern  border  of  the  state,  in  the  Creek  Nation.  Daniel 
Miller  was  a farmer  and  stock  raiser,  and  also  made  a 
good  living.  During  the  war  he  served  with  the  Con- 
federate army  in  the  First  Creek  Begiment,  under  Col. 
D.  N.  McIntosh.  Though  a man  without  education,  he 
had  a practical  training  in  those  arts  which  were  most 
useful  to  a people  living  in  a frontier  community,  and 
he  was  greatly  aided  by  his  wife,  who  was  a woman  of 
excellent  education.  They  were  members  of  the  Mis- 
sionary Baptist  Church.  Mrs.  Daniel  Miller  had  three 
children  by  a former  marriage,  and  three  by  her  second 
union,  named  Louis  M.,  Sam  of  Sasakwa,  and  Dora 
McGirt,  the  last  being  now  deceased. 

Louis  M.  Miller  grew  up  near  Muskogee  and  Cheeota, 
and  after  the  death  of  his  mother  came  to  what  is  now 
Hughes  County  at  the  age  of  eleven,  and  completed  his 
education  in  boarding  schools  and  in  the  Asbury  Manual 
Labor  School  at  Eufaula,  under  Bev.  Theodore  F.  Brewer, 
who  was  on  the  advisory  board.  He  had  the  regular 
English  course  and  enjoyed  the  advantages  of  the  com- 
mercial school  at  Quincy,  Illinois.  At  the  age  of  nine- 
teen he  entered  the  employ  of  Gov.  John  F.  Brown 
and  the  latter’s  brother,  A.  J.  Brown,  at  Wewoka,  in 
their  store.  He  was  one  of  their  trusted  clerks  for 
twelve  years,  and  then  spent  three  years  on  their  ranch, 
thus  giving  fifteen  years  of  service  to  these  prominent 
leaders  of  the  Seminole  Nation.  Since  1893  Mr.  Miller 
has  been  an  independent  farmer. 

On  March  5,  1893,  he  married  Lily  Thomas,  who  was 


born  a mile  and  a half  north  of  Wewoka,  in  Seminole 
County,  in  April,  1874.  She  is  a three-quarter-blood 
Creek,  and  was  educated  in  the  common  schools.  Since 
his  marriage  Mr.  Miller  has  been  farming  on  his  present 
place,  situated  a mile  north  and  half  a mile  east  of 
Holdenville,  and  containing  240  acres,  most  of  it  well  im- 
proved and  under  cultivation.  His  enterprise  has  brought 
him  considerable  note  as  a stock  raiser  and  he  raises 
registered  Hampshire  hogs. 

One  of  the  features  of  his  farm  is  that  a portion  of 
the  land  is  occupied  by  the  Tiger  Creek  Baptist  Church. 
Mr.  Miller  was  one  of  the  principal  builders  of  this  church 
in  1910  and  his  brother  Sam  H.  Miller  was  the  first 
pastor,  but  for  the  last  two  years  Louis  M.  Miller  has 
been  its  spiritual  leader  and  director.  This  is  one  of  the 
important  centers  of  Indian  religious  life.  The  services 
are  held  every  fourth  Sunday,  and  according  to  the  cus- 
tom that  has  long  prevailed  in  Indian  Territory,  the 
meeting  begins  on  Saturday  and  holds  over  until  Sun- 
day night,  the  time  being  spent  in  preaching,  singing  and 
prayer  service,  and  on  each  quarter  a community  service 
is  held.  On  this  occasion  the  worshipers  begin  to  assemble 
on  Friday  and  the  services  continue  until  Monday  morn- 
ing. These  quarterly  services  are  somewhat  in  the 
nature  of  a “camp  meeting.”  Every  family  brings  its 
supply  of  provisions  and  all  the  features  of  camp  life  pre- 
vail. At  such  times  preachers  come  from  all  over  the 
Seminole  and  Creek  Nation,  and  while  there  are  easily 
upwards  of  two  hundred  camps  some  of  the  meetings 
frequently  bring  out  as  many  as  a thousand.  The  whites 
also  come  and  attend  these  meetings  with  their  Indian 
brethren. 

Another  distinction  that  belongs  to  Mr.  Miller  is  that 
he  was  the  last  district  judge  of  the  Wewoka  District 
at  the  time  the  tribal  government  was  discontinued.  At 
the  coming  of  statehood  he  was  elected  a county  com- 
missioner of  Seminole  County,  but  he  did  not  qualify. 
His  family  were  all  reared  as  democrats,  but  he  main- 
tains a rather  independent  attitude  and  votes  for  the 
best  man.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Miller  have  five  children : Lizzie, 
wife  of  Jackson  Hill;  Thomas  O.,  Sam  H.,  Jr.,  James 
A.  and  Josie  J. 

Harry  Emerson  Austin.  Among  the  city  officials  of 
Clinton  who  are  contributing  to  the  general  welfare  by 
capable  and  faithful  performance  of  duty,  one  who  is 
winning  the  community’s  gratitude  and  commendation  is 
Harry  Emerson  Austin,  the  young  and  energetic  city 
clerk.  During  the  short  period  of  his  incumbency  he  has 
shown  an  earnest  desire  to  maintain  a high  standard  in 
his  department,  one  of  the  most  important  in  the  city 
service. 

Mr.  Austin  was  born  at  Knoxville,  Tennessee,  Septem- 
ber 14,  1890,  and  is  a son  of  William  B.  and  Corda 
(Burkhart)  Austin,  and  a member  of  an  old  family  of 
Virginia,  which  was  founded  in  the  Old  Dominion  in 
Colonial  days.  His  father  was  born  in  Knox  County, 
Tennessee,  in  1861,  and  as  a young  man  adopted  the 
vocation  of  educator,  which  he  pursued  for  several  years 
at  Dandridge,  Tennessee.  Later,  however,  he  turned 
his  attention  to  pharmacy,  and  for  more  than  twenty 
years  was  the  proprietor  of  a drug  store  at  Knoxville, 
where  he  died  in  August,  1904.  He  was  a democrat  in 
his  political  views,  a member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church,  and  belonged  to  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  Mrs. 
Austin,  who  survives  him,  makes  her  home  at  Knox- 
ville. There  were  three  children  in  the  family,  namely: 
Ethel  Louise,  who  married  Earl  Sterchi,  who  is  engaged 
in  the  furniture  business  at  Knoxville,  Tennessee;  Harry 
Emerson ; and  William,  who  is  engaged  in  the  automo- 
bile garage  business  at  Newkirk,  Oklahoma. 

Harry  Emerson  Austin  received  his  early  education  in 


1766 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


the  public  schools  of  Knoxville,  following  which  he  took 
a business  course  at  Hill’s  Business  College,  Oklahoma 
City,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1912.  From 
February  until  June  of  that  year  he  was  identified  with 
the  Bray  Drug  Company,  of  Clinton,  and  then  returned 
to  Knoxville,  Tennessee,  where  he  was  for  thirteen 
months  associated  with  the  Knoxville  Outfitting  Company. 
In  July,  1913,  he  returned  to  Clinton  and  again  entered 
the  employ  of  the  Bray  Drug  Company,  with  which 
concern  he  continued  to  be  identified  until  April  15,  1915. 
In  the  meantime,  on  April  6,  1915,  he  had  been  elected 
city  clerk  of  Clinton  on  the  democratic  ticket,  and  since 
that  time  he  has  occupied  offices  in  the  City  Hall.  Mr. 
Austin  is  generally  popular  with  his  associates  and 
has  proved  himself  a young  man  whose  ambitions  and 
abilities  combine  to  make  him  one  to  whom  much  higher 
honors  will  probably  come.  He  is  a member  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  and  is  fraternally  affiliated 
with  Lodge  No.  83,  Knights  of  Pythias,  at  Clinton. 

Mr.  Austin  was  married  at  Oklahoma  City,  Oklahoma, 
to  Miss  Nora  Le  Febvre,  in  June,  1912.  Mrs.  Austin 
is  a daughter  of  E.  I.  Le  Febvre,  who  is  a retired  agri- 
culturist and  resides  at  Eldorado  Springs,  Missouri.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Austin  have  no  children. 

E.  D.  McLauchlin.'  A young  attorney,  already  well 
established  in  practice  at  Blanchard,  E.  D.  McLauchlin 
was  for  nearly  ten  years  before  entering  the  law  engaged 
in  the  mercantile  business  at  Denver,  Oklahoma. 

He  was  born  December  27,  1885,  at  Love  Station,  De 
Soto  County,  Mississippi.  His  father  was  R.  B. 
McLauchlin,  who  was  born  in  Mississippi,  in  1847,  and 
was  left  an  orphan  by  the  death  of  his  mother  when  he 
was  seven  years  of  age.  His  father,  who  died  five  years 
earlier,  had  emigrated  from  Scotland  to  North  Carolina. 

R.  B.  McLauchlin  was  reared  in  Mississippi,  and  becam^ 
dependent  upon  his  own  resources  at  an  early  age.  He 
was  married  in  De  Soto  County,  Mississippi,  to  Miss 

S.  E.  Perry,  who  is  now  living  with  her  son,  Dr.  J.  R. 
McLauchlin,  ten  miles  east  of  Norman,  Oklahoma.  In 
1889  R.  B.  McLauchlin  moved  with  his  family  to  Claren- 
don, Arkansas,  and  he  died  there  in  1896.  For  many 
years  he  was  an  active  school  man,  later  a farmer,  and 
at  the  time  of  his  death  was  serving  as  county  surveyor 
of  Monroe  County,  Arkansas.  He  was  a democrat,  and 
very  active  in  the  Baptist  Church,  and  fraternally  was 
associated  with  the  Knights  of  Honor.  His  wife  was 
born  in  De  Soto  County,  Mississippi,  in  1843.  Their 
children  were:  Emma,  deceased,  whose  husband,  Robert 
Haines,  is  a music  teacher  at  Clarendon,  Arkansas;  D.  D., 
who  was  actively  associated  with  his  brother,  E.  D. 
McLauchlin,  in  merchandising  until  his  death;  Mattie 
married  Henry  Harris  and  both  are  now  deceased;  R.  J. 
lives  as  a farmer  near  Paragould,  Arkansas;  Fannie  is 
the  wife  of  John  Hatcher,  a farmer  near  Chickasha, 
Oklahoma;  Sallie,  who  died  at  the  age  of  eighteen;  Alice, 
wife  of  Sam  Cooper,  a farmer  at  Paragould,  Arkansas; 
Essie,  who  died  at  the  age  of  twenty-four,  was  the  wife 
of  Tom  Vaughn,  a teacher  in  the  public  schools  at 
Cordell,  Oklahoma;  J.  R.,  a physician  and  surgeon  at 
Denver,  Oklahoma,  ten  miles  east  of  Norman,  who  is  a 
graduate  M.  D.  from  the  Oklahoma  State  University;  and 
E.  D.  McLauchlin,  the  youngest  of  the  ten  children. 

The  last  named  attended  the  public  schools  in  Claren- 
don, Arkansas,  and  continued  his  education  in  Para- 
gould in  Greene  County,  when  his  mother  removed  to  that 
town  in  1898.  When  twenty-eight  years  old  he  left 
school  and  at  once  engaged  in  the  mercantile  business 
at  Denver,  Oklahoma,  with  his  brother,  D.  D.,  under 
the  firm  name  of  McLauchlin  Brothers.  His  older 
brother,  D.  D.  McLauchlin,  died  February  7,  1914.  At 


that  time  the  junior  member  of  the  firm  sold  the  business 
and  during  1914-15  was  a student  of  law  in  the  Cumber- 
land University  at  Lebanon,  Tennessee,  where  he  gradu- 
ated LL.  B.  in  1915.  After  four  months  at  Norman, 
Oklahoma,  he  took  the  bar  examination  and  was  admitted 
to  practice  in  June,  and  on  the  first  day  of  July  opened 
his  office  at  Blanchard.  He  has  his  offices  in  the  court 
house  and  his  ability  has  already  attracted  a profitable 
practice,  especially  in  civil  cases.  He  has  been  called  upon 
to  act  as  special  county  judge  and  is  now  city  attorney 
for  Blanchard. 

In  politics  he  is  a democrat  and  is  affiliated  with  Camp 
No.  10835  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  at  Frank- 
lin, Oklahoma.  On  January  24,  1910,  at  Norman,  he 
married  Miss  Ethel  Cohee,  whose  father,  J.  K.  Cohee, 
is  a retired  farmer  at  Capitol  Hill,  Oklahoma. 

James  H.  Adams,  of  Dewey,  Oklahoma,  is  one  of  the 
prominent  young  business  men  of  the  state,  and  is 
naturally  proud  of  his  prominent  Indian  ancestry. 

He  was  born  at  Fort  Gibson,  Oklahoma,  December  4, 
1895,  a son  of  Richard  C.  and  Carrie  F.  (Meigs)  Adams. 
His  father  was  descended  from  the  famous  Captain 
White  Eyes,  who  was  chief  of  the  Delaware  Indians  in 
Revolutionary  times.  His  mother  is  a descendant  of  the 
noted  John  Ross,  and  also  of  Colonel  Meigs  of  Revolu- 
tionary fame,  and  another  maternal  connection  was  the 
Bigelow  family. 

James  H.  Adams  attended  school  in  Washington,  D. 
C.,  but  left  school  at  the  age  of  seven.  In  1910  lie  was 
employed  in  the  folding  room  of  the  national  capital, 
and  from  1914  to  1916  was  a member  of  the  national 
guard  at  Washington,  District  of  Columbia.  At  his  home 
in  Dewey  he  busies  himself  largely  with  oil  lands. 

A.  A.  Baldwin.  Ope  of  the  most  progressive  and 
enterprising  of  the  newspapers  of  Southwest  Oklahoma 
is  the  Hollis  Tribune,  which  is  published  at  Hollis,  the 
county  seat  of  Harmon  County,  by  A.  A.  Baldwin,  a man 
of  broad  and  varied  business  experience  and  of  much 
journalistic  ability.  Since  taking  charge  of  the  editing 
of  this  newspaper,  in  1914,  Mr.  Baldwin  has  built  up  an 
excellent  circulation,  and  is  now  giving  his  readers  a 
newsy,  interesting  and  well-printed  sheet  which  supports 
local  interests  and  industries. 

Mr.  Baldwin  is  a native  of  the  Hoosier  State,  and  was 
born  at  Albion,  the  county  seat  of  Noble  County,  Indi- 
ana, May  13,  1863,  a son  of  Howard  and  Lorena 
(Douglas)  Baldwin,  and  a member  of  a family  of  Seoteh- 
Irish  extraction  which  settled  in  Ohio  in  the  days  of  the 
Western  Reserve.  Howard  Baldwin  was  born  in  Ohio,  in 
.1837,  and  as  a young  man  moved  to  Albion,  Indiana, 
where  he  completed  his  preparation  for  the  legal  profes- 
sion and  settled  down  to  practice.  He  had  but  started  on 
a successful  career,  and  had  served  as  county  attorney  of 
Noble  County,  when  he  was  called  by  death,  in  1870, 
when  only  thirty-three  years  of  age.  He  was  one  of  the 
influential  young  democrats  of  his  community  and  a man 
universally  admired  and  respected,  and  was  a member 
of  the  Masonic  fraternity.  He  was  married  in  Noble 
County,  Indiana,  to  Miss  Lorena  Douglas,  who  was  born 
in  1839,  in  Illinois,  and  who  still  survives  him,  her  home 
being  at  Wichita  Falls,  Texas.  There  were  three  children 
in  the  family,  as  follows:  Helen,  who  died  at  the  age 
of  fifteen  years;  A.  A.,  of  this  review;  and  Lucy  Edith, 
who  married  L.  E.  Miller,  of  Alexandria,  Texas,  where 
he  is  the  proprietor  of  a cotton  gin  and  she  is  serving  as 
postmistress. 

A.  A.  Baldwin  was  a lad  of  seven  years  when  his 
father  died,  and  was  fourteen  when  he  accompanied  his 
mother  and  sisters  to  Hood  County,  Texas.  His  educa- 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1767 


tion  was  limited  to  the  training  he  could  secure  in  the 
public  schools,  for  it  was  necessary  that  he  assist  in  the 
support  of  the  family,  and  when  he  was  only  fifteen 
years  old  he  began  his  struggle  with  life  by  becoming  an 
apprentice  to  the  painter’s  trade.  After  mastering  that 
vocation  he  became  a journeyman,  and  continued  to 
follow  painting  as  an  occupation  until  1883,  at  which 
time  he  entered  a printing  office  at  Granbury,  Texas,  and 
there  served  another  apprenticeship,  this  one  of  three 
years.  His  next  location  was  Alexandria,  Texas,  where 
he  leased  the  Alexandria  News  for  one  year,  and  then,  in 
partnership  with  E.  A.  Anderson,  founded  the  Blanket 
Herald,  at  Blanket,  Texas,  which  they  conducted  for 
twelve  months.  Disposing  of  his  interests  in  that  ven- 
ture, Mr.  Baldwin  next  went  to  Erath  County,  Texas, 
and  for  three  years  was  engaged  in  farming,  then  enter- 
ing upon  a career  in  mercantile  lines  which  extended  over 
a long  period.  For  five  years  Mr.  Baldwin  was  the  pro- 
prietor of  a country  grocery  store  in  Galveston  County, 
Texas,  and  at  the  end  of  that  time  first  came  to  Okla- 
homa, taking  up  his  residence,  in  1903,  at  Cordell,  where 
for  three  years  he  conducted  a grocery  establishment. 
He  next  spent  a like  period  at  Gunter,  Texas,  and  in 
1909  moved  to  Higgins,  Texas,  where  he  remained  for 
three  years.  Mr.  Baldwin  returned  to  Oklahoma  in  1911, 
and,  establishing  his  home  at  Hollis,  was  engaged  in  car- 
pentering and  other  work  until  1914,  when  he  leased  the 
Hollis  Tribune,  which  he  has  continued  to  edit  to  the 
present  time.  This  paper,  founded  in  1910,  is  a demo- 
cratic -organ"  of  some  influence,  and  circulates  in  Harmon 
and  the  surrounding  counties.  Its  office  and  plant  are 
located  on  Main  Street,  near  Broadway,  in  the  business 
section  of  the  village,  and  are  well  equipped  not  only  for 
the  printing  of  the  newspaper,  but  for  all  kinds  of  first- 
class  job  work.  As  a molder  of  public  opinion,  the 
Tribune  has  contributed  its  full  share  in  advancing  the 
interests  of  Hollis,  and  both  in  the  columns  of  the  paper 
and  personally  Mr.  Baldwin  has  warmly  supported  all 
movements  promising  progress  and  civic  welfare.  Mr. 
Baldwin  is  a stanch  democrat,  and  with  his  family  be- 
longs to  the  Christian  Church.  His  fraternal  connec- 
tions are  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and 
the  Knights  of  Pythias.  A man  of  much  experience,  he 
has  lived  his  life  amid  the  scenes  that  have  gone  to 
make  up  the  history  of  the  Southwest,  and  has  learned 
to  view  human  nature  with  a broad  understanding. 

Mr.  Baldwin  was  married  December  24,  1889,  in  Erath 
County,  Texas,  to  Miss  Mamie  A.  Bass,  daughter  of  B. 
F.  Bass,  a farmer  of  Ranger  Lake,  New  Mexico.  Five 
children  have  been  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Baldwin,  as 
follows:  Benjamin  Ulice,  educated  at  Arlington  Heights 
Training  School,  Forth  Worth,  Texas,  and  now  a member 
of  the  ministry  of  the  Christian  Church,  stationed  at 
Shreveport,  Louisiana;  Edith  Amelia,  who  was  deputy 
register  of  deeds  of  Harmon  County,  at  Hollis,  until 
1915,  and  is  now  attending  the  Oklahoma  City  Business 
College ; Marguerite,  who  is  a member  of  the  senior 
class  at  Hollis  High  School;  Charles  Anson,  who  is  a 
student  in  the  public  schools  of  Hollis;  and  Fred  Allen. 

I 

Henry  Mead  Harris.  Antlers  at  one  time  was  the 
seat  of  a United  States  Court  with  jurisdiction  over 
the  greater  part  of  the  Choctaw  Nation.  Here  such 
men  as  Judge  Clayton  and  Judge  Thomas  C.  Humphries 
presided,  and  during  court  sessions  many  tribes  and 
many  nationalities  assembled  at  the  seat  of  justice. 
During  those  sessions  Antlers  was  probably  the  most 
populated  and  busiest  town  of  the  Choctaw  Nation.  Here 
were  enacted  many  historic  and  many  tragic  events, 
growing  out  of  the  conflicting  interests  and  the  mul- 
tiplicity of  charges  against  men  brought  here  for  trial. 


At  that  time,  in  1904,  Joseph  R.  Foltz  was  clerk  of 
the  United  States  Court,  and  Henry  M.  Harris,  a young 
man  recently  come  over  from  Red  River  County,  Texas, 
was  a deputy.  The  events  of  that  period  are  among 
the  most  cherished  memories  of  Mr.  Harris,  who  has 
for  a number  of  years  lived  in  this  section  of  the  old 
Choctaw  Nation,  and  is  now  deputy  county  treasurer  at 
Antlers.  Other  experiences  in  succeeding  years  brought 
him  nearer  to  the  scenes  of  actual  and  vital  history,  for 
he  was  secretary  to  Thomas  Latham,  a United  States 
commissioner  stationed  at  Antlers,  during  a period  when 
in  a few  months  the  number  of  probate  eases  filed  in 
his  court  increased  from  200  to  2,100.  This  increase  was 
due  to  an  Act  of  Congress  providing  for  the  allotment 
of  lands  in  preparation  for  statehood.  It  was  a period 
of  great  activity  for  the  grafter  who  sought  wrongful 
possession  of  Indian  property,  and  his  kind  was  in  evi- 
dence in  all  shades  of  color,  nationality  and  profession. 
Indian  wills  were  stolen  from  the  records.  Indians 
were  robbed  boldly  on  the  highway.  Every  device  that 
scheming  minds  could  conceive  for  separating  the  In- 
dian from  his  property  or  money  was  attempted.  Such 
activities  as  these,  however,  had  a wholesome  effect  on 
the  welfare  of  the  Indians,  since  it  taught  Congress  that 
more  stringent  laws  were  necessary  for  his  protection. 

Henry  Mead  Harris  was  born  in  Red  River  County, 
Texas,  in  1886  and  was  a son  of  Frank  M.  and  Nannie 
B.  (Parks)  Harris.  His  father,  who  died  in  1898,  came 
from  Virginia  to  Texas  in  the  ’80s.  He  was  a civil  en- 
gineer and  did  considerable  map  and  plat  work  all  over 
North  Texas,  some  of  it  under  the  direction  of  the  state. 
Before  establishing  in  Clarksville,  Texas,  he  was  engaged 
for  a while  in  the  cattle  business  in  the  southern  part 
of  the  - Choctaw  Nation.  The  mother  of  Mr.  Harris 
now  lives  in  Antlers.  In  the  family  are  also  a daughter 
and  two  other  sons,  Mrs.  W.  N.  John,  wife  of  a physi- 
cian in  Hugo;  Max  Harris,  a dry  goods  salesman  in  El 
Paso;  and  R'oy  C.  Harris,  employed  by  the  railway  com- 
pany at  Hugo. 

After  attending  public  school  in  Red  River  County, 
Henry  M.  Harris  was  a student  for  one  year  in  the 
Southwestern  University  at  Georgetown,  Texas,  and  he 
also  attended  school  for  a time  in  Antlers.  His  first 
employment  was  as  clerk  in  the  drug  store  of  J.  T. 
Hackett  & Company  in  Antlers.  He  then  became  a dep- 
uty clerk  of  the  United  States  Court,  and  on  retiring 
from  the  service  of  the  Government  he  became  timber 
appraiser  for  the  Guy  & Ralph  Gray  Lumber  Company 
of  Cleveland,  Ohio,  a concern  that  contemplated  estab- 
lishing lumber  mills  and  railroads  in  the  commercial 
timber  section  of  the  Choctaw  Nation.  For  several 
months  he  traveled  over  the  Kiamichi  and  other  moun- 
tains in  this  work.  At  one  time  his  camp  was  pitched 
at  Waterhall,  an  old  settlement  of  the  Choctaw  Nation 
which  sat  beside  the  military  highway.  Another  time 
his  camp  was  at  the  Mullins  place,  situated  on  an  old 
Indian  camping  ground  near  Daniel  spring  and  beside 
Jack  trail,  a rough  and  narrow  highway  used  by  Indians 
and  other  early  settlers  in  their  journeys  to  and  from 
Tuskahoma,  capital  of  the  Nation.  Settlements  were 
few  and  game  plentiful.  The  guns  of  the  party  brought 
its  members  plenty  of  venison  and  turkey.  The  scheme 
of  the  Gray  Company,  had  it  been  carried  out,  would 
have  been  a big  factor  in  the  development  of  the  north- 
ern part  of  the  Choctaw  Nation.  Antlers  would  have 
been  the  western  terminus  of  the  company’s  railroad 
lines.  One  of  these  lines,  headed  northeast,  would  have 
crossed  Little  River  seven  times,  had  the  engineers’  pre- 
liminary surveys  been  followed. 

At  the  time  of  statehood  Mr.  Harris  became  clerk 
in  the  office  of  County  Judge  L.  P.  Davenport,  and  later 
was  assistant  county  clerk.  In  1911  he  moved  to  Choc: 


1768 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


taw  County,  and  became  under  sheriff  under  the  Lofton 
administration.  Still  later  he  was  deputy  treasurer  of 
Pushmataha  County,  and  he  now  has  his  home  at  Antlers 
and  is  giving  most  of  his  time  and  attention  to  his  duties 
as  deputy  county  treasurer. 

At  Antlers  in  1905  Mr.  Harris  married  Miss  Bessie 
Eubank.  They  are  the  parents  of  two  children:  Henry 
Mead  Jr.  and  James. 

Hon.  Clarence  Eugene  Gannaway.  In  the  life  of 
Clarence  Eugene  Gannaway,  who  is  now  serving  his 
second  term  as  mayor  of  Clinton,  there  may  be  found 
an  illustration  of  the  high  awards  to  be  attained  through 
adherence  to  industry  and  integrity  and  the  following 
out  of  an  honorable  ambition.  Commencing  his  career  as 
a youth  of  eighteen  years,  with  only  the  advantages  of  a 
high  school  education,  he  has  directed  his  activities  so 
capably  and  prosecuted  them  so  vigorously  that  today, 
still  in  the  prime  of  life,  he  finds  himself  at  the  head 
of  important  business  interests  in  a thriving  and  pros- 
perous community,  and  the  possessor  of  the  unqualified 
confidence  of  the  best  element  of  the  people. 

Mr.  Gannaway  was  born  at  Union ville,  Tennessee, 
January  14,  1870,  a descendant  of  Irish  ancestors  who 
emigrated  to  America  during  Colonial  days  and  settled 
either  in  Virginia  or  North  Carolina.  His  father,  John 
A.  Gannaway,  was  born  in  Rutherford  County,  Tennessee, 
in  1824,  and  passed  his  entire  life  in  that  state,  where 
he  followed  farming  and  merchandising,  served  as  justice 
of  the  peace,  and  for  a period  of  thirty  years  acted  as 
postmaster  of  the  Town  of  Bellbuckle,  Bedford  County, 
where  he  died  in  1911.  He  was  a democrat  in  politics, 
steward  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  and  a mem- 
ber of  the  Masons  and  Odd  Fellows.  Mr.  Gannaway  mar- 
ried Rex  Tarpley,  a native  of  Tennessee,  who  resides 
at  Hot  Springs,  Arkansas,  and  they  were  the  parents  of 
eleven  children:  Emma,  who  is  the  widow  of  the  late 
Dr.  W.  E.  Harrison,  a physician,  and  makes  her  home 
at  Nashville,  Tennessee;  Maggie,  who  is  the  widow  of 
the  late  W.  A.  Winsett,  a farmer  and  merchant,  and 
resides  in  California;  John,  an  attorney,  who  died  at 
Victoria,  British  Columbia;  James  W.,  who  is  a traveling 
salesman  with  headquarters  at  Oklahoma  City;  Nannie, 
who  is  the  wife  of  B.  A.  Clary,  a merchant  of  Bell- 
buckle,  Tennessee;  Cassie,  who  is  the  wife  of  C.  H. 
North,  a farmer  and  trader  of  Christiana,  Tennessee; 
E.  T.,  who  was  a mechanic  and  engineer  and  died  in 
Texas;  Cora,  who  is  the  wife  of  Dr.  E.  M.  Williams, 
a physician  and  surgeon  of  Hot  Springs,  Arkansas; 
Clarence  Eugene;  Horace  B.,  who  is  in  the  life  insur- 
ance business  at  Oklahoma  City;  and  C.  V.,  who  is 
a member  of  the  board  of  city  commissioners  of  Teague, 
Texas. 

Clarence  Eugene  Gannaway  received  his  education  in 
the  graded  and  high  schools  of  Unionville,  Tennessee, 
and  upon  leaving  school  at  the  age  of  eighteen  years, 
became  the  organizer  and  teacher  of  a brass  band, 
which  he  instructed  in  the  evenings  after  he  had  spent 
the  day  in  clerking  in  a store  at  Statesville.  Later  he 
engaged  in  the  same  pursuits  at  Woodbury,  Watertown 
and  Pittsburg,  Tennessee,  and  in  1898  came  to  El  Reno 
and  became  clerk  in  a store.  A short  time  later  he 
removed  to  Enid,  where  he  was  employed  in  a drug  store 
for  six  months,  and  at  the  end  of  that  period  secured 
employment  as  a traveling  salesman  for  a dry  goods 
house,  a capacity  in  which  he  traveled  throughout  Okla- 
homa until  1904.  That  year  saw  Mr.  Gannaway ’s 
entrance  upon  the  field  of  banking,  at  Sayre,  Oklahoma, 
where  he  remained  until  1907,  on  May  27  of  which  year 
he  came  to  Clinton  as  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank. 
In  1909  he  was  made  vice  president  of  that  institution, 


a position  which  he  still  retains,  although  since  October, 
1914,  he  has  not  been  actively  engaged  at  the  bank, 
because  of  ill  health.  At  this  time  he  is  engaged  in  the 
farm  loan,  real  estate  and  insurance  business,  with 
offices  in  the  Thurmond  Building,  Fourth  Street  and 
Frisco  Avenue.  He  is  the  owner  of  440  acres  of  farming 
land  in  Custer  County,  Oklahoma,,  as  well  as  property  in 
Beckham  County,  city  lots  in  Oklahoma  County,  and  his 
residence  at  Clinton.  Mr.  Gannaway  is  an  enthusiastic 
citizen,  who  has  studied  his  community’s  situation  and 
incomparable  resources,  ‘and  has  unbounded  faith  in  its 
possibilities  of  growth  and  business.  He  has  not  feared 
to  venture  his  own  capital  in  buying  lands  here  or  to 
advise  his  clients  to  do  so,  for  while  many  fortunes 
have  been  built  up  in  Oklahoma  in  commerce,  in  manu- 
facture, and  in  corporate  control  and  management,  there 
has  been  no  surer  road  to  fortune  than  that  offered 
by  real  estate.  While  he  has  pursued  with  undeviating 
steadiness  of  purpose  his  business  transactions,  he  has 
not  been  unmindful  of  civic  duties.  In  the  spring  of 
1913,  as  the  democratic  candidate,  he  was  elected  mayor 
of  Clinton,  and  his  first  term  contributed  so  greatly 
to  the  city ’s  good,  that  in  1915  he  was  elected  to  suc- 
ceed himself.  He  is  a member  and  regular  attendant 
of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church.  Mayor  Gannaway 
is  prominent  in  fraternal  life,  being  a member  of  Clin- 
ton Lodge  No.  339,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons; 
Clinton  Chapter  No.  69,  Royal  Arch  Masons;  Sayre 
Commandery,  Knights  Templar;  India  Temple,  Ancient 
Arabic  Order  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  Oklahoma 
City;  Clinton  Lodge  No.  83,  Knights  of  Pythias,  of 
which  he  is  past  chancellor  commander;  Clinton  Lodge 
of  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen;  and  Clinton 
Chapter,  Order  of  the  Eastern  Star. 

In  1904,  at  Elk  City,  Oklahoma,  Mr.  Gannaway  was 
married  to  Miss  Florence  Thurmond,  who  was  born  in 
1881,  in  Tarrant  County,  Texas,  only  daughter  of  E. 
G.  and  Amanda  (Harmon)  Thurmond,  her  father  now 
being  a retired  banker  of  Elk  City,  Oklahoma.  Mayor 
and  Mrs.  Gannaway  are  the  parents  of  one  daughter: 
Florence  Amanda,  who  was  born  August  1,  1912,  at 
Clinton. 

Oscar  Holmes  Thurmond.  Western  Oklahoma  con- 
tains a great  many  able  men  who  have  adopted  finance 
as  the  field  in  which  to  conduct  their  activities.  That 
all  should  be  equally  successful  in  such  a career  would 
be  an  impossibility;  the  high  rewards  in  this  field  come 
to  but  few,  and  the  fortunate  must  be  gifted  with 
qualifications  of  a diversified  character,  including  not 
only  intelligence,  good  judgment,  prudence,  industry, 
sagacity  and  integrity,  but  a thorough  understanding  of 
political  economy  as  it  affects  the  great  industries  of 
production  and  distribution,  a quick  and  accurate  per- 
ception of  character,  skill  in  determining  the  dominant 
influences  that  control  human  action,  and  a comprehensive 
knowledge  of  the  principles  of  finance.  Among  the 
financiers  of  Western  Oklahoma  few  possess  these  quali- 
ties in  a greater  degree  than  Oscar  Holmes  Thurmond, 
president  of  the  First  National  Bank,  who,  with  his 
brothers,  E.  K.,  A.  L.,  I.  C.  and  J.  P.  Thurmond,  owns 
eleven  banks  in  this  state. 

Mr.  Thurmond  is  a Texas  by  nativity,  born  in  Tarrant 
County,  sixteen  miles  northwest  of  Fort  Worth,  at  Dido, 
September  26,  1869.  The  family  is  of  Irish-German 
descent  and  in  pioneer  times  was  founded  in  Kentucky, 
in  which  state,  in  1844,  E.  G.  Thurmond,  the  father  of 
Oscar  H.  Thurmond,  was  born.  E.  G.  Thurmond  became 
one  of  the  early  ranchmen  of  Tarrant  County,  Texas, 
where,  during  the  Civil  war,  he  enlisted  in  the  Texas 
Rangers.  In  1885  he  removed  to  Wheeler  County,  in 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1769 


the  Texas  Panhandle,  where  he  resided  on  a ranch  for 
seven  years,  and  in  1892  came  to  Cheyenne,  Roger  Mills 
•County,  Oklahoma,  there  purchasing  another  ranch  on 
which  he  made  his  home  until  1901.  Since  that  year  he 
has  lived  at  Elk  City  and  is  practically  retired  from  busi- 
ness affairs.  He  is  a democrat  in  politics,  and  his  reli- 
gious connection  is  with  the  Baptist  Church.  Mr.  Thurmond 
married  Miss  Amanda  Harmon,  a native  of  Tennessee, 
and  they  became  the  parents  of  six  children : Oscar 
Holmes;  A.  L.,  born  in  1872,  cashier  of  the  First  National 
Bank  of  iftk  City,  Oklahoma,  a member  of  the  firm  of 
Thurmond  Brothers,  and  a thirty-second  degree  Mason; 
E.  K.,  born  in  1875,  president  of  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Sayre,  Oklahoma,  where  he  resides,  and  of  the 
First  National  Bank  of  Elk  City,  a member  of  the  firm 
of  Thurmond  Brothers  and  a thirty-second  degree  Mason ; 
I.  C.,  born  in  1878,  a banker  of  Oklahoma  City,  also 
a thirty-second  degree  Mason,  and  a member  of  the  firm ; 
Florence,  born  in  1881,  who  is  the  wife  of  Hon.  C.  E. 
Gannaway,  mayor  of  Clinton,  Oklahoma,  and  a well 
known  operator  in  farm  loans,  real  estate  and  insur- 
ance; and  J.  P.,  a member  of  the  firm,  who  lives  at  Elk 
City  with  his  parents. 

Oscar  Holmes  Thurmond  attended  the  public  schools 
of  Tarrant  County  and  was  sixteen  years  of  age  when 
he  went  with  the  family  to  the  Panhandle.  Subsequently 
he  accompanied  his  father  to  the  ranch  near  Cheyenne, 
and  remained  there  until  the  spring  of  1903,  when  he 
went  to  Erick,  Oklahoma,  and  founded  the  First  State 
Bank,  of  which  he  was  first  cashier  and  was  later  made 
president,  a position  which  he  retains.  The  Thurmond 
Brothers  began  their  extensive  operations  in  the  field 
of  finance  in  1895,  when  they  organized  the  Bank  of 
Cheyenne,  and  since  that  time  they  have  constantly 
increased  their  interests  in  this  direction  until  at  present 
they  control  the  following  concerns:  First  National  Bank 
of  Clinton;  First  National  Bank  of  Elk  City;  First 
National  Bank  of  Sayre;  State  Bank  of  Strong  City; 
State  Bank  of  Foss;  State  Bank  of  Carter;  Cordell 
National  Bank,  of  Cordell;  First  State  Bank  of  Camargo; 
State  Bank  of  Hammon;  Bank  of  Cheyenne,  and  First 
State  Bank  of  Erick.  Oscar  H.  Thurmond  has  been 
president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Clinton  since 
1907,  but  did  not  come  to  this  city  to  reside  until  July 
3,  1913.  Since  that  time  he  has  entered  actively  into 
business,  financial  and  public  life  here,  and  has  con- 
tributed materially  to  the  development  and  upbuilding 
of  the  community.  The  Thurmond  Brothers  own  and 
control  in  partnership  some  13,000  acres  of  land  in 
Texas  and  Oklahoma,  and  in  addition  to  this  Oscar  H. 
Thurmond  owns  personally  550  acres  in  Custer  and  Beck- 
ham counties.  As  a financier  Mr.  Thurmond  is  quick  of 
perception,  intuitive  in  judgment,  rapid  in  conclusions 
and  generally  accurate  in  his  estimate  of  character.  His 
ability,  displayed  in  the  management  of  the  institution 
of  which  he  is  the  head,  and  of  his  various  other  interests, 
is  recognized  by  his  brethren  of  the  banking  profession, 
by  whom  he  is  held  in  the  greatest  confidence.  He  has 
taken  an  unshrinking  part  in  whatever  movements  have 
been  set  on  foot  for  the  betterment  of  his  community, 
and  among  the  positions  of  honor  and  dignity  which 
he  has  been  called  to  fill  is  that  of  president  of  the 
Clinton  Chamber  of  Commerce,  representing  in  its  mem- 
bership the  most  important  branches  of  business  and 
the  most  active  industries  of  the  city.  In  politics  a 
democrat,  while  a resident  of  Cheyenne  he  served  as 
postmaster  during  President  Cleveland’s  administration, 
and  was  alderman  for  several  years  while  a resident  of 
Erick.  He  is  a deacon  in  the  Baptist  Church,  and  has 
been  liberal  in  his  support  of  its  movements. 

In  1903,  at  Erick,  Mr.  Thurmond  was  married  to  Miss 


Sallie  Longmire,  daughter  of  Mrs.  E.  J.  Longmire,  who 
makes  her  home  with  her  daughter  and  son-in-law. 

Daniel  R.  Dial  of  Mangum,  dealer  in  real  estate  and 
loans  since  1904,  when  he  first  came  to  this  city,  is  one 
of  the  best  established  business  men  in  the  community. 
His  business  activities  extend  through  Greer,  Harrison, 
Jackson,  Beckham,  Kiowa  and  Comanche  counties,  Okla- 
homa. He  is  a son  of  S.  W.  Dial,  and  was  born  in 
Miller  County,  Missouri,  on  March  6,  1874. 

The  Dial  family  is  Scotch-Irish  in  its  ancestry,  and 
they  were  early  pioneers  in  Tennessee,  where  S.  W. 
Dial  was  born  in  1833.  He  died  at  Martha,  Okla- 
homa, in  the  spring  of  1897,  and  is  there  buried.  When 
a very  young  man  he  went  to  Miller  County,  Missouri, 
where  he  married  and  made  his  home.  He  was  a prominent 
farmer  and  stock  man  there  for  forty-eight  years.  In 
1883  he  went  to  Anderson  County,  Kansas,  five  years 
later  coming  to  Greer  County,  Texas  (now  Oklahoma), 
and  settled  on  a farm  about  ten  miles  south  of  the 
Town  of  Mangum. 

Mr.  Dial  was  a republican  in  his  political  faith,  and 
he  served  in  the  Federal  army  throughout  the  Civil  war 
as  a member  of  the  Forty-eighth  Missouri  Volunteer 
Infantry.  He  was  a lifelong  member  of  the  Christian 
Church,  of  which  he  was  an  elder,  as  well  as  a preacher. 
He  married  Nancy  E.  Lovell,  who  was  born  in  Illinois  in 
1838,  and  died  in  Martha,  Oklahoma,  in  1897.  Five 
children  were  born  to  them : Sheridan,  who  died  in  July, 
1913,  in  Bartlesville,  Oklahoma,  was  a banker;  Lettie  A. 
married  P.  W.  Myers,  a prosperous  farmer  of  Lone  Elm, 
Kansas;  Dora  R.  married  M.  Harris,  a mail  carrier  in 
Mangum,  where  they  live;  Daniel  R.,  of  this  review,  was 
the  fourth  child,  and  Maggie,  the  youngest  born,  lives  in 
Guthrie,  Oklahoma,  where  she  is  cashier  of  the  Pioneer 
Telephone  Company. 

Daniel  R.  Dial  attended  the  public  schools  in  Anderson 
County,  Kansas,  and  finished  his  schooling  in  Greer 
County,  when  he  was  graduated  from  the  high  school  in 
1890.  After  that  he  gave  his  attention  to  farming  and 
stock  raising  in  Greer  County,  Oklahoma,  until  1904.  In 
that  year  he  moved  to  Mangum,  giving  up  his  farming 
activities,  and  established  himself  in  the  real  estate  and 
loan  business.  The  success  he  has  enjoyed  has  been 
very  marked,  and  mention  has  already  been  made  of 
the  many  counties  in  which  he  operates.  He  has  his 
offices  in  the  Mangum  National  Bank  Building. 

Mr.  Dial  was  married  in  January,  1900,  to  Miss  Eula 
McAuley,  daughter  of  C.  McAuley,  a retired  farmer  of 
Martha,  Oklahoma,  now  living  in  Mangum.  They  have 
three  children:  Elmer,  a freshman  in  the  Mangum  High 
School,  and  LeRoy  and  Wilma,  in  the  grade  school  of 
the  city. 

Mr.  Dial  is  an  elder  in  the  Christian  Church,  in  which 
he  has  membership  with  his  family,  and  his  politics  are 
those  of  a republican. 

Omek  Schnoebelen.  An  active  participant  in  the  life 
of  Mooreland,  both  business  and  civic,  since  his  arrival  in 
1903,  Omer  Schnoebelen  has  made  himself  more  and  more 
a necessary  factor  in  the  development  of  this  thriving 
Oklahoma  community.  As  a publisher  of  the  Mooreland 
Leader  he  has  been  foremost  in  advancing  movements 
of  a beneficial  character,  while  in  various  official  capaci- 
ties he  has  rendered  his  fellow  citizens  signal  service,  and 
at  present,  in  the  office  of  postmaster,  is  handling  the 
Mooreland  mail  in  a manner  that  is  bringing  him  com- 
mendation from  all  sides. 

Mr.  Schnoebelen  was  born  February  10,  1884,  at  River- 
side, Iowa,  and  is  a son  of  Nicholas  and  Mary  (Bouquot) 
Schnoebelen.  His  father  was  born  December  8,  1833, 


1770 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


in  Alsace  Lorraine,  France  (now  Germany),  and  was 
three  years  of  age  when  brought  to  the  United  States 
by  his  parents,  the  family  settling  at  Riverside,  Iowa. 
There  the  lad  grew  to  sturdy  young  manhood,  receiving 
a public  school  education  and  learning  the  trades  of 
blacksmith  and  mechanic,  lines  in  which  he  built  up  a 
good  patronage.  In  1865  the  lure  of  the  West,  with 
the  promise  of  large  fortune,  called  him  and  he  made 
his  way  to  Omaha,  Nebraska.  During  the  days  of  the 
frontier,  with  its  hostile  Indians,  its  outlaws  and  hold-up 
men,  and  various  other  dangers,  he  conducted  a freight- 
ing outfit  between  Omaha  and  Denver,  Colorado,  and  in 
the  five  years  he  was  so  engaged  met  with  numerous 
thrilling  experiences.  While  so  engaged  Mr.  Schnoebelen 
was  married,  in  1868,  to  Miss  Mary  Bouquot,  who  was 
born  August  28,  1844,  at  Burlington,  Iowa,  daughter  of 
Joseph  and  Mary  Bouquot,  natives  of  France.  Ten 
children  were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Schnoebelen:  Rose, 

now  a nun  in  the  Order  of  the  St.  Vincent  de  Paul,  with 
mother  house  at  Emmitsburg,  Maryland;  Crescencia,  who 
is  unmarried  and  resides  at  Riverside,  Iowa,  with  her 
parents,  a musician  of  unusual  talent;  Anna  R.,  who  is 
the  wife  of  Judd  Brown  of  Lincoln,  Nebraska;  Marcella, 
who  is  the  wife  of  George  d ’Autremont,  a Canadian 
farmer;  Omer,  of  this  review;  Marietta,  who  is  the  wife 
of  Oscar  d’Autremont,  a merchant  of  Portland,  Oregon; 
Celestine  and  Hugh,  who  are  deceased ; Clair,  who  is 
editor  and  publisher  of  the  Quinlan  Advance  of  Quinlan, 
Oklahoma;  Lillian,  the  wife  of  Bert  Tilford,  of  Waynoka, 
Oklahoma;  and  Herman,  residing  with  his  parents.  With 
the  coming  of  the  railroads  to  the  West,  the  freighting 
business  began  to  be  unprofitable,  and  in  1870  Nicholas 
Schnoebelen  disposed  of  his  outfit,  returned  to  his  home 
at  Riverside,  and  there  continued  to  be  engaged  in  the 
blacksmithing  business  for  many  years.  He  is  now  living 
in  quiet  retirement  at  that  place,  enjoying  the  fruits  of 
his  many  years  of  industrious  and  well-directed  labor. 

Omer  Schnoebelen  was  educated  in  the  public  schools 
of  Riverside,  Iowa,  and  when  but  sixteen  years  entered 
the  vocation  which  he  was  to  make  his  life  work  by 
starting  to  learn  the  trade  of  printer.  He  was  only 
nineteen  years  of  age  when  he  took  up  his  residence  at 
Mooreland,  where,  April  18,  1903,  he  founded  the  Moore- 
land  Leader,  of  which  he  has  since  been  editor  and  owner. 
His  start  was  made  in  a modest  way,  but  when  the  citi- 
zens of  this  rapidly-growing  community  saw  the  young 
man  had  come  to  remain  and  recognized  the  worth  of 
the  sheet  which  he  was  publishing,  they  began  to  give 
him  their  support,  and  he  was  able  to  enlarge  his  plant 
and  paper  and  to  give  his  readers  a more  advanced  news- 
paper He  now  has  a plant  modern  in  every  respect, 
his  equipment  including  up-to-date  presses,  a linotype 
machine  and  other  machinery  for  the  publishing  of  a 
twentieth  century  paper,  while  his  circulation  and  adver- 
tising have  grown  by  leaps  and  bounds.  Mr.  Sehnoe- 
belen  has  never  been  backward  about  supporting  the 
movements  or  men  whom  he  has  believed  to  be  beneficial 
to  his  community.  The  paper  maintains  an  independent 
policy  in  regard  to  political  affairs,  and  it  is  the  aim 
of  the  editor  to  not  only  give  his  readers  all  the  news 
in  an  authentic  way,  but  to  publish  each  side  of  every 
question  of  public  importance  that  may  arise. 

Personally,  Mr.  Schnoebelen  is  a democrat  and  has 
been  active  in  county  and  state  polities,  frequently  at- 
tending county,  state  and  congressional  conventions  as 
a delegate  and  giving  his  stanch  support  to  his  party’s 
candidates.  He  was  a member  of  the  first  board  of 
trustees  after  the  town  was  incorporated  and  has  since 
served  as  a member  of  the  town  council,  his  services 
on  which  have  been  of  an  energetic  and  helpful  character. 
On  July  26,  1914,  he  was  appointed  by  President  Wilson 
to  the  position  of  postmaster  of  Mooreland,  and  is  now 


acting  in  that  capacity.  Mr.  Schnoebelen  is  a member 
of  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  While  the  greater  part 
of  his  time  is  devoted  to  his  newspaper,  he  has  at  times 
been  interested  in  outside  enterprises,  and  during  1911 
and  1912  was  employed  as  assistant  cashier  of  the 
Security  State  Bank  of  Mooreland. 

On  January  12,  1904,  Mr.  Schnoebelen  was  married  to 
one  of  Mooreland ’s  young  ladies  who  had  served  for 
two  years  as  assistant  to  the  postmaster,  Miss  Edna 
Knittel,  who  was  born  at  Riverside,  Iowa,  November 
17,  1883,  a daughter  of  F.  J.  and  Louise  (Kortzborn) 
Knittel,  the  former  a native  of  France  and  the  latter  of 
Iowa.  They  are  the  parents  of  three  children:  Rita, 

born  May  11,  1907;  Omer,  Jr.,  born  November  5,  1912; 
and  Hugh,  born  December  13,  1914. 

Hon.  T.  J.  Leahy  ie  widely  known  as  a man  of  high 
attainments,  of  profound' erudition  and  practical  ability 
as  a lawyer,  and  as  one  who  has  achieved  success  in  his  pro- 
fession. He  is  one  of  the  most  interesting  of  the  prominent 
characters  whose  worth  and  merit  have  graced  the  history 
of  Oklahoma  as  a state  and  territory,  and  was  one  of  the 
two  members  elected  to  the  Constitutional  Convention 
from  the  Fifty-sixth  District.  In  that  high  position  he 
performed  particularly  notable  work  as  a member  of  the 
Committee  on  Public  Service  Corporations,  as  such,  mak- 
ing a thorough  study  and  unprejudiced  investigation  of 
the  great  problems  in  connection  with  the  governmental 
regulation  of  public  service  corporations,  giving  his  best 
thought  and  judgment  in  an  effort  to  arrive  at  a just 
solution  of  this  modern  and  somewhat  complex  phase  of 
legislation.  The  constitutional  provisions  result  of  this 
committee ’s  work  in  the  convention  are  conceded  to  be  of 
the  greatest  beneficence  to  the  state. 

Mr.  Leahy  is  one  of  the  strong  leaders  of  the  bar  in 
Oklahoma.  For  several  years  he  conducted  a large  crimi- 
nal practice,  which  is  still  a feature  of  his  legal  business, 
having  an  established  reputation  for  success  in  that  line. 
His  practice  as  a whole,  however,  is  of  a general  nature, 
extending  into  several  states  in  addition  to  the  Oklahoma 
State  and  Federal  courts  and  the  Interior  Department. 
He  was  chairman  of  the  commission  that  investigated  the 
status  and  value  of  the  segregated  coal  and  other  mineral 
lands  of  the  Indian  Territory  and  made  recommenda- 
tions as  to  the  advisability  of  having  the  state  purchase 
those  lands.  He  spent  much  time  and  labor  on  the  work 
of  this  commission,  the  report  of  which  was  submitted  to 
the  governor  of  Oklahoma  in  1908.  Mr.  Leahy  was  also 
father  of  the  measure,  which  was  made  a part  of  the  Bill 
of  Rights,  providing  that  the  right  of  the  state  to  enter 
into  public  enterprise  for  public  purposes  should  not 
be  denied.  The  labor  unions  and  laboring  element  gen- 
erally were  particularly  pleased  with  Mr.  Leahy’s  cham- 
pionship of  measures  in  their  interest  in  the  Constitu- 
tional Convention.  He  is  democratic  in  politics. 

Mr.  Leahy  is  a member  of  a family  well  known  in  the 
Osage  Nation  for  many  years  back,  and  his  cousin,  W.  T. 
Leahy,  and  uncle,  Thomas  Leahy,  stockmen  and  bankers 
and  residents  of  Pawhuska,  have  been- prominently  identi- 
fied with  various  interests  in  this  country  since  the  early 
eighties.  But  the  Hon.  T.  J.  Leahy  is  a native  son 
of  Kansas,  born  in  Neosho  County,  in  1868,  his  parents 
brtn  natives  of  Ireland,  being  early  settlers  in  that  state. 
His  father  died  in  1869,  but  his  mother  is  still  living. 
Her  home  is  in  Pawhuska.  Mr.  Leahy  was  reared  in 
Neosho  County,  Kansas,  receiving  a common  school  and 
normal  education.  He  studied  law  in  both  Kansas  and 
Oklahoma  and  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1892.  In  that 
year  he  settled  permanently  in  Pawhuska,  the  capital 
of  the  Osage  Nation,  although  he  had  been  in  the  Nation 
back  and  forth  since  1884.  He  belongs  to  the  Masonic 


v 


i 

i 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1771 


I Order,  and  also  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  of  which  latter 
I he  is  past  grand  chancellor  of  Oklahoma. 

I Mr.  Leahy  married  in  Pawhuska,  Miss  Bertha  Rogers, 
who  was  born  and  reared  there,  a member  of  an  old 
family  of  part  Osage  Indian  blood,  and  daughter  of  Hon. 

I Thomas  L.  Rogers,  whose  sketch  is  found  in  another 
I page  of  this  volume.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Leahy  have  four 
I children:  Thomas  Rogers,  Cora  Willella,  Mabel  Ann  and 
I Edward  Arthur. 

Stratton  D.  Brooks.  Dr.  Brooks  has  been  president 
I of  the  University  of  Oklahoma,  Norman,  since  1912,  is  a 
I native  of  Everett,  Missouri,  where  he  was  born  Septem- 
I ber  10,  1869.  At  the  age  of  twenty-one  he  graduated 
I from  the  Michigan  State  Normal  College,  and  subse- 
I quently  the  following  degrees  were  conferred  upon  him: 
B.  Pd.,  1892,  and  M.  Pd.,  1899,  by  the  Normal  College; 

I A.  B.,  by  the  University  of  Michigan,  1896;  A.  M.,  by 
I Harvard  University,  1904;  LL.  D.,  Colby  University, 
" 1912. 

Doctor  Brooks  served  as  vice  president  of  the  Mt. 
Pleasant  (Michigan)  Normal  School  in  1893  ; as  principal 
of  the  high  school  at  Danville,  Illinois,  in  1890-2,  and 
held  a similar  position  at  Adrian,  Michigan,  in  1896-8, 
and  at  LaSalle,  Illinois,  in  1898-9.  In  1899  Doctor 
Brooks  was  appointed  assistant  professor  of  education 
and  high  school  inspector  of  the  University  of  Illinois, 
and  thus  continued  for  three  years;  served  as  assistant 
superintendent  of  the  Boston  (Massachusetts)  schools  in 
1902-06,  as  superintendent  of  schools  at  Cleveland,  Ohio, 
from  January  to  March,  1906,  and  was  at  the  head  of 
the  Boston  schools  in  1906-12.  In  May  of  the  latter  year 
he  was  called  to  the  presidency  of  the  University  of 
Oklahoma,  which  he  has  since  ably  filled.  He  has  served 
as  a trustee  of  the  Massachusetts  College  and  is  a mem- 
ber of  the  national  council  of  the  National  Educational 
Association  and  of  the  fraternity  Phi  Beta  Kappa. 
Doctor  Brooks  is  also  a leading  writer  in  his  professional 
field,  being  assistant  editor  of  the  School  Review  and 
Journal  of  Pedagogy,  and  author  of  text  books  on 
composition,  rhetoric,  elementary  composition  and 
reading. 

Laurence  L.  Cowley.  Since  1901  Mr.  Cowley  has 
been  engaged  in  the  practice  of  his  profession  in  Okla- 
homa, and  since  1913  he  has  been  one  of  the  repre- 
sentative members  of  the  bar  of  Okmulgee,  in  which 
city  he  now  controls  a large  and  important  law  business, 
besides  which  he  is  serving  as  secretary  of  the  board  of 
trustees  of  the  Okmulgee  Public  Library. 

At  Columbus,  the  judicial  center  of  Cherokee  County, 
Kansas,  Laurence  L.  Cowley  was  born  on  the  18th  of 
Eebruary,  1877,  a date  that  denotes  that  his  parents 
could  claim  pioneer  honors  in  the  Sunflower  State.  He 
is  a son  of  William  R.  and  Elorenee  J.  (Smith)  Cowley, 
the  former  of  whom  was  born  in  the  Borough  of  Boston, 
Lincolnshire,  England,  in  1843,  and  the  latter  of  whom 
was  born  at  Oskaloosa,  Iowa,  in  1848,  a member  of  one 
■of  the  early  pioneer  families  of  that  section  of  the 
Hawkeye  State,  where  her  marriage  to  Mr.  Cowley  was 
solemnized  about  the  year  1868. 

William  R.  Cowley  was  a lad  of  about  eight  years 
I when  he  accompanied  his  parents  on  their  immigration 

i to  the  United  States,  in  1851,  and  the  family  home  was 
H established  at  Hudson,  Ohio,  in  which  state  he  was  reared 
I and  educated.  Prior  to  attaining  to  his  legal  majority 
| he  established  his  residence  in  Iowa,  and  in  1871,  about 

I three  years  after  his  marriage,  he  removed  thence  to 

I Kansas  and  established  his  residence  at  Columbus,  where 

I soon  afterward  he  entered  the  legal  profession  and  en- 


gaged in  active  practice,  in  which  he  there  continued, 
as  one  of  the  leading  lawyers  and  highly  honored  citizens 
of  Cherokee  County,  until  the  time  of  his  death,  which 
occurred  on  the  13th  of  July,  1914.  He  served  for  thirty- 
two  years  as  general  attorney  for  the  Log-Bell  Lumber 
Company,  a large  and  important  corporation.  Prior  to 
engaging  in  the  practice  of  law  he  had  been  ordained 
a clergyman  in  the  Christian  Church,  and  he  continued 
one  of  its  active  and  zealous  members  until  the  close  of 
his  long  and  useful  life.  His  widow,  who  continued  to 
reside  at  Columbus  until  her  death,  December  30,  1915, 
was  likewise  a devoted  adherent  of  this  church.  Mr. 
Cowley  was  a gallant  soldier  of  the  Union  in  the  Civil 
war,  in  which  he  first  served  as  a member  of  the  Sixty- 
fourth  Ohio  Volunteer  Infantry,  and  later  as  a member 
of  the  Fifteenth  Iowa  Volunteer  Infantry.  His  service 
covered  a period  of  about  three  years,  he  was  promoted 
to  the  office  of  sergeant  and  he  took  part  in  numerous 
engagements  marking  the  progress  of  the  great  conflict 
through  which  the  integrity  of  the  nation  was  preserved, 
a prominent  part  of  his  military  career  having  been  that 
in  which  his  regiment  accompanied  General  Sherman 
on  the  ever  memorable  march  from  Atlanta  to  the  sea. 
He  was  an  effective  and  stalwart  advocate  of  the  prin- 
ciples and  policies  of  the  republican  party  and  was 
affiliated  with  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic.  Of  the 
six  children  the  eldest  is  William  Frederick,  who  is  en- 
gaged in  farming  and  stock  raising  in  Southeastern 
Kansas ; Minnie  is  the  wife  of  Charles  S.  Huffman,  M.  D., 
who  is  engaged  in  the  practice  of  his  profession  at 
Columbus,  Kansas;  Clement  Sidney  died  in  childhood, 
as  did  also  Anna  B. ; Laurence  L.,  of  this  review,  was 
the  next  in  order  of  birth;  and  Clare  J.  holds  a re- 
sponsible position  in  the  general  offices  of  the  Long-Bell 
Lumber  Company,  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri. 

In  the  public  schools  of  his  native  place  Laurence  L. 
Cowley  acquired  his  early  education,  and  from  1892  until' 
1893  he  attended  the  public  schools  of  Akron,  Ohio.  He 
then  entered  the  literary  department  of  the  University 
of  Kansas,  at  Lawrence,  in  which  he  was  graduated  as  a 
member  of  the  class  of  1899  and  from  which  he  re- 
ceived the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts.  In  the  law  de- 
partment of  the  same  institution  he  was  graduated  in 
1901,  and  soon  after  receiving  his  degree  of  Bachelor 
of  Laws  he  came  to  Oklahoma  and  engaged  in  practice 
at  Perry,  the  present  judicial  center  of  Noble  County. 
There  he  continued  his  successful  professional  activities 
until  1913,  when  he  removed  to  the  City  of  Okmulgee, 
where  he  has  found  a broader  field,  in  which  his  success 
has  been  unequivocal,  as  sliown  by  his  substantial  and 
representative  practice  and  his  high  reputation  for  effi- 
ciency and  versatility  as  a trial  lawyer  and  as  a well 
fortified  counselor.  In  1910  he  was  elected  county  at- 
torney of  Noble  County,  of  which  office  he  continued  the 
incumbent  one  term,  comprising  two  years.  He  also 
served  as  referee  in  bankruptcy  in  Noble  County,  prior 
to  the  admission  of  Oklahoma  to  statehood.  He  is  un- 
wavering in  his  allegiance  to  the  republican  party  and 
has  given  yeoman  service  in  support  of  its  cause.  He 
is  a member  of  the  official  board  of  the  Christian  Church 
at  Okmulgee,  in  which  Mrs.  Cowley  also  is  a zealous 
worker,  and  he  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  fraternity 
and  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  besides  which  he  is  actively 
identified  with  the  Okmulgee  County  Bar  Association  and 
the  Oklahoma  State  Bar  Association. 

On  the  10th  of  June,  1903,  was  solemnized  the  mar- 
riage of  Mr.  Cowley  to  Miss  Gertrude  M.  Chapman,  who 
likewise  was  born  and  reared  in  Kansas:  they  have  no 
children. 


1772 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Sam  R.  Hawks,  Jr.  Since  his  arrival  at  Clinton,  in 
1908,  there  have  been  few  activities,  commercial,  civic 
or  political,  that  have  not  been  participated  in  by  Sam 
R.  Hawks,  Jr.  He  has  contributed  to  the  upbuilding 
of  the  city  by  the  erection  of  the  Grace  Hotel,  has  encour- 
aged its  business  interests  as  secretary  of  the  Chamber 
of  Commerce,  and  has  been  known  in  the  journalistic 
field  as  part  owner  of  the  Clinton  News  and  the  Clinton 
Chronicle,  and  since  1913  has  capably  served  in  the 
capacity  of  postmaster,  a position  which  he  won  fairly, 
both  because  of  merit  and  his  loyalty  to  and  hard  work 
in  the  interests  of  the  democratic  party  in  Custer  County. 

Mr.  Hawks  was  born  at  Lebanon,  Tennessee,  March 
8,  1882,  a descendant  of  Scotch  ancestors,  who  came 
to  Virginia  in  Colonial  days.  His  father,  Sam  R. 
Hawks,  Sr.,  was  born  near  Lebanon,  Tennessee,  in  1855, 
and  for  a number  of  years  was  general  manager  for 
the  Cedar  City  Mills,  an  ice  and  light  plant,  but  in 
1911  came  to  Clinton,  Oklahoma.  After  a short  stay 
he  removed  to  Amarillo,  Texas,  and  is  now  manager  for 
the  State  of  New  Mexico  of  the  Red  Star  Milling  Com- 
pany, a large  and  well  known  Kansas  concern.  Mr. 
Hawks  is  a democrat,  belongs  to  the  Knights  of  Pythias, 
and  is  a member  of  the  Christian  Church.  He  married 
a native  of  Lebanon,  Tennessee,  Miss  Carrie  Smith,  and 
they  are  the  parents  of  five  children:  H.  C.,  who  is 
engaged  in  the  grain  and  milling  business  and  in  farm- 
ing at  Lebanon;  Sam  R.,  Jr.;  Miss  Lou  Kate,  who 
lives  with  her  parents;  Virginia,  who  is  the  wife  of  K.  C. 
Alexander,  a cotton  buyer  of  Clinton,  Oklahoma;  and 
Miss  Christine,  who  lives  with  her  parents. 

Sam  R.  Hawks,  Jr.,  attended  the  public  and  high 
schools  of  Lebanon,  Tennessee,  and  after  his  graduation 
from  the  latter,  in  1897,  at  once  became  identified  with 
the  milling  and  grain  business,  with  which  he  was 
connected  until  1908,  in  June  of  which  year  he  came 
-to  Clinton.  Here  his  first  venture  was  the  erection  of 
the  Grace  Hotel,  without  a doubt  one  of  the  best  hostelries 
in  Western  Oklahoma,  of  which  he  is  still  the  owner, 
although  he  has  never  conducted  it  personally.  In  1909 
he  became  secretary  of  the  Clinton  Chamber  of  Commerce, 
this  time  bought  a half  interest  in  the  Clinton  News 
a position  which  he  held  for  two  years,  and  during 
and  the  Clinton  Chronicle,  in  which  newspapers  he  is 
still  interested.  In  September,  1913,  he  received  the 
appointment  as  postmaster  of  Clinton  from  President 
Wilson.  Mr.  Hawks  was  one  of  the  original  Wilson  men 
of  Oklahoma  in  1912,  being  the  manager  of  the  cam- 
paign in  his  district,  and  also  took  an  active  interest  in 
the  campaign  of  Senator  Owens,  his  ability  as  a political 
manager  having  been  demonstrated  by  the  large  votes 
which  his  candidates  received  in  his  district.  He  has 
attended  state  and  county  conventions  of  his  party  since 
1908,  and  has  been  a faithful  and  tireless  worker  in  the 
cause  of  democracy,  so  that  his  appointment  to  the  post- 
mastership came  as  a reward  for  service  cheerfully  given 
and  capably  rendered.  That  he  is  well  fitted  for  the 
position  has  been  shown  by  the  entirely  efficient  man- 
ner in  which  he  has  conducted  the  affairs  of  the  mail 
service  during  his  incumbency.  He  belongs  to  Lotus 
Lodge  No.  20,  Knights  of  Pythias,  of  Lebanon,  Tennes- 
see, of  which  he  is  past  prelate,  and  to  the  Oklahoma 
State  Press  Association,  and  with  his  family  holds 
membership  in  the  Christian  Church. 

Mr.  Hawks  was  married  at  Lebanon,  in  1907,  to  Miss 
Frances  Jones,  daughter  of  J.  L.  Jones,  engaged  in  the 
plumbing  and  tinning  business  at  Lebanon.  Three 
children  have  been  born  to  this  union : Catherine,  Pres- 
ton and  Jim  Woodrow,  the  first-named  of  whom  has 
started  to  attend  the  public  schools. 


Pearl  A.  Little  first  became  identified  with  Okla-  ® j 
homa  as  a member  of  a painting  crew  operating  in  Y 
various  districts  of  Western  Oklahoma,  and  for  nearly  tp] 
fifteen  years  has  had  his  home  at  Frederick.  Largely 
by  private  study  and  practical  experience  Mr.  Little  has-!  s, ’ 
made  himself  an  expert  civil  engineer,  and  for  a number 
of  years  has  served  as  county  surveyor  and  city  engineer  i j 
of  Frederick  and  has  a substantial  private  practice  in  jL 
the  profession.  Born  in  Ralls  County,  Missouri,  August  .J 
24,  1879,  Pearl  A.  Little  is  a son  of  John  W.  and  Mary  A 
(McAllister)  Little.  The  Little  and  McAllister  families  , ( 
moved  to  Missouri  from  Kentucky  and  John  W-  Little  was  1 ■ 

also  born  in  Ralls  County,  Missouri,  in  1856,  and  died  ll  ‘ 
there  in  1889.  He  was  a farmer  and  stock  raiser  andl(  y(;l 
was  accidentally  killed  by  a horse  while  running  cattle.  L 
His  church  was  the  Catholic,  and  he  took  a prominent  fa 
part  in  local  affairs  as  a democrat,  and  belonged  to  the  j 
Grange,  and  also  to  a local  organization  known  as  the  i t 
Wheel.  His  wife,  Mary  McAllister,  was  born  in  Mis-  ii;i| 
souri,  and  now  resides  at  Quincy,  Illinois.  Pearl  A. 
was  the  oldest  of  their  six  children.  Roy,  the  next  in  i M 
age,  is  a street  railway  conductor  at  Quincy,  Illinois;  sl] 
Alice  is  the  wife  of  Chris  Schrand,  a cigar  manufacturer  • ^ 
at  Quincy ; Lambert,  a farmer  in  Ralls  County,  Missouri ; „ 

Annie  lives  with  her  mother;  and  Mary  died  when  nine  |jj 
months  of  age.  jg 

In  1889  Mr.  Little’s  mother  removed  from  Ralls  County  n 
to  Monroe  County,  Missouri,  and  in  1890  to  Shelby 
County,  and  his  education  came  from  attendance  at  the  a( 
schools  of  all  those  places.  He  received  the  equivalent  ^ 
of  a high  school  education,  and  in  June,  1897,  was  j 
graduated  from  St.  Francis  College,  at  Quincy,  Illinois,  fJ 
with  a diploma  as  Master  of  Accounts.  During  the  next  j, 
year  he  kept  books  for  John  J.  Rogers,  proprietor  of  K 
a department  store  at  Monroe  City,  Missouri,  and  then  y 

engaged  in  different  lines  of  occupation  up  to  1900.  j 

Going  to  Pratt,  Kansas,  he  found  work  on  a farm  until  x 
the  fall  of  the  year  and  then  joined  a painting  crew  , 

working  in  Kansas,  and  in  December,  1900,  came  with  j 

that  organization  to  Enid,  Oklahoma.  On  March  15,  , 

1901,  he  went  to  Kingfisher,  Oklahoma,  and  on  November 
24,  1901,  arrived  at  Frederick,  which  has  been  his  home 
practically  ever  since.  Up  to  July,  1906,  Mr.  Little 
continued  his  work  as  a painter,  and  then  took  a review 
course  in  engineering  covering  the  freshman  and  sopho- 
more years  in  the  Agricultural  and  Mechanical  College 
at  Stillwater.  Returning  to  Frederick  in  1908,  he  began 
practice  as  a surveyor  and  engineer  and  since  that  time 
has  performed  the  duties  of  city  engineer,  though  he  was 
not  regularly  put  under  bond  for  the  office  until  1914. 

In  1911  he  became  county  surveyor  of  Tillman  County 
and  has  been  regularly  returned  to  that  office  without 
opposition.  On  September  17-18,  1915,  he  successfully 
passed  a civil  service  examination  given  by  the  highway 
department  of  Oklahoma  for  engineers  who  wished  to 
practice  as  county  engineers  in  Oklahoma.  Since  then 
he  has  been  appointed  county  engineer  for  Tillman, 
Harmon  and  Jackson  Counties. 

Mr.  Little  is  a democrat,  and  a member  of  the 
Catholic  Church.  On  November  25,  1903,  at  Lawton, 
Oklahoma,  he  married  Miss  Lillie  McClellan,  whose 
father,  George  R.  McClellan,  is  a farmer  at  Del  Norte, 
Colorado.  Their  home  has  been  blessed  with  the  birth 
of  six  children:  Catherine,  who  attends  a parochial 
school  at  Quincy,  Illinois;  Paul,  Lawrence  and  Alice,  in 
the  public  Schools  at  Frederick;  and  Rita  and  Annie, 
who  are  not  yet  of  school  age. 

Fred  H.  Clark,  M.  D.  For  twelve  years  Doctor  Clark 
has  given  his  services  as  a widely  experienced  and  capable 
physician  and  surgeon  to  the  community  of  El  Reno. 


HISTOEY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1773 


via.  Doctor  Clark  is  one  of  the  best  known  figures  in  medical 
: ij  circles  of  the  Southwest,  and  is  a man  of  broad  range 
at|y  of  experience  and  activities  in  the  world. 

;ely  Fred  H.  Clark  was  born  on  a farm  near  Vernon,  Miehi- 
liaa  gan,  May  15,  1864,  a son  of  Jesse  and  Eliza  Jane  (Pratt) 
;ift  Clark.  Like  many  successful  men  in  the  profession  he 
,.er  considers  himself  fortunate  to  have  spent  his  early  youth 
jj  in  the  environment  of  the  country.  While  living  on  a 
rjjj  Michigan  farm  he  attended  the  common  schools,  and  in 
1885  was  graduated  from  the  high  school  at  Owosso, 
jJ  Michigan,  where  he  afterwards  held  the  position  of 
jjj  teacher  in  the  city  schools  two  years  and  for  a like 
jjj  period  had  a commercial  position.  The  following  ten 
uj  years  of  his  life  were  devoted  to  work  as  secretary  of 
tle  Young  Men’s  Christian  Associations,  largely  in  Michigan, 
though  his  last  service  in  this  capacity  was  at  Kansas 
tig  City,  Missouri. 

,je  In  Kansas  City  Doctor  Clark  pursued  his  studies  in 
jj,  medicine  at  the  University  Medical  College,  and  was 
£ graduated  M.  D.  in  1900.  In  order  that  his  equipment 
ijJ  might  be  brought  up  to  the  highest  grade  of  efiieiency 
Ig.  and  tested  by  association  with  men  of  eminence  he  has 
,fj  subsequently  taken  post-graduate  work  in  Chicago  three 
,j,  times  and  once  in  New  York  City.  For  about  three 
a’  years  Doctor  Clark  was  engaged  in  practice  in  Kansas 
City,  then  came  to  Oklahoma  and  spent  about  a year  at 
, Minco  and  since  the  fall  of  1903  has  been  located  at 

■ El  Reno. 

J The  wide  scope  of  his  professional  interests  is  indi- 
, eated  by  his  membership  in  the  following  organizations: 
" The  Canadian  County  and  Oklahoma  Medical  societies, 
s the  American  Medical  Association,  the  Southwest  Medi- 
) cal  Society  of  the  Southwest,  the  Rock  Island  Railway 
Surgeons,  the  Central  Oklahoma,  the  Western  Oklahoma 
and  Missouri  River  Medical  associations,  the  Mississippi 
j1  Valley  Medical  Association,  and  the  Association  of 

■ a —p  vie  an  Railway  Surgeons.  Doctor  Clark  is  con- 

sulting surgeon  for  the  Rock  Island  Railway.  He  is 

j7  secretary  of  the  Southwest  Medical,  Society  of  the 
: Southwest,  and  the  official  organ  of  that  society,  known 

'>  as  the  Southwest  Journal  of  Medicine  and  Surgery,  has 
r been  owned  and  published  by  Doctor  Clark  for  the  past 
6 three  years. 

! Doctor  Clark  is  a Knight  Templar  Mason  and  a 
' member  of  the  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  belongs 
| to  the  Baptist  Church  and  in  politics  is  a republican. 

! In  1887  he  married  for  his  first  wife  Miss  Rose  Johnson, 
who  died  in  1897,  leaving  one  daughter.  In  1899  Doctor 
Clark  married  Miss  Elizabeth  Phillips,  who  is  the  mother 
of  one  daughter.  For  the  past  eleven  years  Doctor  Clark 
has  been  connected  with  the  state  military  service  in  the 
medical  department,  With  the  rank  of  major  and  has 
charge  of  the  field  hospitals. 

Peter  W.  Hudson.  One  of  the  younger  men  in  the 
official  life  of  Eastern  Oklahoma,  Peter  W.  Hudson  is 
now  court  clerk  of  Pushmataha  County,  with  home  at 
Antlers.  He  is  a native  of  Indian  Territory  and  his 
people  have  been  closely  identified  with  the  educational 
and  official  and  business  life  of  that  section  for  many 
years. 

To  erect  a state  government  and  keep  it  in  operation 
during  the  period  of  its  infancy  is  necessarily  expensive. 
In  Oklahoma  the  actual  expenses  of  state  government 
proper  have  not  been  exorbitant.  However,  every  county 
and  municipality  paid  the  price  for  their  individuality 
as  entities  of  the  larger  state  government.  Hence,  for 
a few  years  taxes  were  unusually  high.  Every  campaign 
of  every  character  conducted  since  1907  has  in  one  way 
or  another  involved  the  principle  and  issue  of  economy. 
The  candidate  who  has  convinced  the  people  that  he 
would  maintain  efficiency  at  the  lowest  possible  cost  has 


won  in  a majority  of  campaigns.  Usually  these  candi- 
dates have  found  it  quite  a difficult  thing  to  make  good 
a pledge  of  economy,  so  heavy  and  numerous  have  been 
demands  for  public  improvement. 

Among  those  who  kept  the  faith  was  Peter  W.  Hud- 
son. It  is  probable  that  no  other  county  court  clerk  in 
Oklahoma  up  to  1915  had  conducted  his  office  without 
any  expense  of  assistance.  It  has  required  long  hours 
of  arduous  work  and  much  candle  power  of  night.  Dis- 
trict Court  dockets  have  been  heavy  and  the  duties  of 
the  clerk  onerous,  but  Mr.  Hudson  inaugurated  and 
strictly  followed  a system  whereby  at  the  end  of  a ses- 
sion his  records  were  written  and  ready  for  the  approval 
of  the  District  Court  before  the  judge  was  ready  to  de- 
part for  another  court  center.  The  saving  to  Pushma- 
taha County  has  been  considerable,  and  this  has  been 
an  important  reason  why  Mr.  Hudson  has  been-  in  office 
ever  since  the  year  of  statehood.  After  Frank  Trigger, 
the  first  elected  district  clerk  of  Pushmataha  County, 
had  been  in  office  about  a month  he  died  and  the  county 
commissioners  appointed  Peter  W.  Hudson  to  fill  the 
vacancy.  The  following  year  he  was  elected  to  the  office, 
on  the  democratic  ticket,  without  opposition.  He  was 
re-elected  in  1910  and  again  in  1912.  The  legislature 
then  passed  an  act  consolidating  certain  county  offices 
and  the  duties  of  clerk  of  the  County  Court  and  those 
of  the  clerk  of  the  District  Court  were  imposed  on  an 
official  designated  as  court  clerk.  In  1914  Mr.  Hudson 
was  elected  to  that  office. 

Even  before  statehood  he  had  clerical  experience  as 
clerk  in  the  Choctaw  Legislature.  He  held  the  position 
five  years  under  the  administration  of  Principal  Chief 
MeCurtain.  He  was  in  that  position  during  the  McCur- 
tain-Hunter  contest  at  Tuskahoma,  and  kept  the  minutes 
of  the  meeting  held  under  the  shade  of  trees  or  in  a 
hotel  while  the  Hunter  faction  was  in  possession  of  the 
council  house.  Meantime  he  was  also  in  the  employ  as 
clerk  of  W.  H.  Isherwood,  a merchant  at  Tuskahoma, 
and  did  some  work  for  his  uncle  Peter  J.  Hudson,  who 
was  at  that  time  superintendent  of  the  Choctaw  Female 
Academy  at  Tuskahoma. 

Peter  W.  Hudson  was  born  August  29,  1877,  and  is  a 
son  of  Washington  and  Frances  (Bohannan)  Hudson. 
His  father,  who  was  born  at  Eagletown  in  Indian  Ter- 
ritory, was  a farmer  and  merchant  during  most  of  his 
life,  and  died  in  1897.  Washington  Hudson’s  brother 
Daniel  was  a Confederate  soldier  and  for  sixteen  years 
served  as  sheriff  of  Eagle  County  in  the  Choctaw  Nation. 
James  Hudson,  the  maternal  grandfather  of  Peter  W. 
Hudson,  was  a Presbyterian  minister,  was  educated  in 
English,  and  his  labors  among  the  Indians  were  directed 
by  the  missionary  board  of  the  Presbyterian  Church. 
Other  children  in  the  family  of  Washington  and  Frances 
Hudson  were:  Roy,  a farmer  at  Eagletown;  George,  a 

student  in  Jones  Academy;  Mrs.  Byington,  Mrs.  Jeffer- 
son and  Mrs.  Lewis,  all  of  them  wives  of  farmers  at 
Haworth. 

Peter  W.  Hudson  was  educated  in  the  neighborhood 
schools  near  his  birthplace  at  Eagletown,  and  spent  five 
years  in  Spencer  Academy.  While  in  the  academy  he 
was  a classmate  of  Gabe  Parker,  who  later  became  com- 
missioner to  the  Five  Civilized  Tribes.  In  1901  Mr.  Hud- 
son married  at  Tuskahoma  Miss  Myrtle  Campbell.  Their 
three  children  are  named  Lillian  Thelma,  Dorothy  and 
Peter  W.,  Jr.  Mr.  Hudson  is  a member  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church  South.  Fraternally  his  associations 
are  with  the  Woodmen  of  the  World,  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Masonic  Order,  and  he  is 
senior  warden  of  the  Blue  Lodge,  a member  of  the  Royal 
Arch  Chapter  at  Hugo  and  the  Knight  Templar  Com- 
mandery  and  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Muskogee. 


1774 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


John  Sheetzer.  During  the  past  ten  years  the  firm 
Shertzer  Bros,  have  been  among  the  largest  operators 
and  producers  in  the  Dewey  oil  district.  Both  these 
brothers  are  experienced  oil  men,  having  become  identi- 
fied with  the  practical  details  of  the  business  back  in 
Ohio,  where  they  served  their  apprenticeship  during  the 
high  tide  of  oil  production  in  that  state. 

John  Shertzer,  the  older  of  the  two  brothers,  was 
born  in  Bedford  County,  Pennsylvania,  December  25, 
1869,  a son  of  William  and  Samantha  (Studebaker) 
Shertzer,  both  natives  of  Pennsylvania  and  of  old  Penn- 
sylvania Dutch  stock.  The  family  lived  in  Pennsylvania 
until  1877,  and  then  removed  to  Gibsonburg,  Ohio,  where 
the  mother  died  in  1910  at  the  age  of  fifty-four.  The 
father  is  now  living  at  Bartlesville,  having  come  to  that 
city  about  three  years  ago.  He  was  engaged  in  the 
business  of  lime  manufacturing  until  1885  and  has  since 
been  an  oil  well  contractor  and  producer.  John  Shertzer 
was  the  oldest  of  five  children,  the  others  being:  C.  P. 

Shertzer,  the  junior  member  of  the  firm  of  Shertzer 
Bros.;  Effie,  wife  of  Raymond  Pryor  of  Lake  View,  Ohio; 
Elsie,  wife  of  James  Neely  of  Lima,  Ohio;  and  Ollie, 
wife  of  A.  C.  White,  who  is  general  manager  of  the 
American  Express  Company  at  Cleveland,  Ohio. 

John  Shertzer  was  about  eight  years  of  age  when  the 
family  removed  to  Ohio,  and  grew  up  in  Gibsonburg  and 
gained  a common  school  education.  At  the  age  of 
twenty  he  first  became  connected  with  the  oil  business 
as  a contractor  and  producer.  For  five  years  he  was 
engaged  in  the  manufacturing  and  retailing  of  shoes  at 
St.  Louis.  His  experience  as  an  oil  man  extends  to  the 
California  fields,  where  he  spent  one  year,  then  returned 
to  Ohio  and  was  a contractor  at  Gibsonburg  two  years, 
spent  two  years  at  Chanute,  Kansas,  and  in  1905  located 
at  Dewey.  For  the  past  ten  years  he  has  been  recognized 
as  one  of  the  leading  oil  producers  in  Northern  Okla- 
homa. As  a contractor  he  put  down  the  first  well  in 
the  Weber  pool,  and  altogether  has  sunk  about  600  wells 
in  this  district,  partly  as  an  independent  operator  and 
partly  on  contract.  For  the  past  seven  years  he  has 
been  a member  of  the  firm  of  Shertzer  Bros.,  and  their 
interests  extend  to  about  sixty  wells  in  the  Bartlesville 
District. 

John  Shertzer  is  a republican,  while  his  brother  and 
business  associate  is  a democrat.  He  is  a member  of 
the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks  at  Free- 
mont,  Ohio.  In  1907  Mr.  John  Shertzer  married  Pearl 
Damon  of  Dundee,  Michigan.  They  have  one  child, 
Lillian  Joyce. 

C.  P.  Shertzer,  the  younger  member  of  the  firm  of 
Shertzer  Bros.,  was  born  in  Bedford  County,  Pennsyl- 
vania, September  4,  1872,  and  as  a boy  learned  the  lime 
business  with  his  father.  His  first  practical  experience 
in  the  oil  industry  came  at  the  age  of  seventeen,  and 
for  about  two  years  he  dressed  tools  with  his  father.  He 
did  his  first  contracting  at  Lima,  Ohio,  and  for  about 
four  years  was  in  the  employ  of  other  parties,  but  since 
then  has  mainly  been  independent.  For  a time  he  was 
in  the  Indiana  oil  fields,  and  in  November,  1904,  located 
at  Chanute,  Kansas,  and  eighteen  months  later  at  Dewey. 
Shertzer  Bros,  now  produce  about  3,000  barrels  of  oil  a 
month,  and  have  a number  of  small  farms  around  Dewey. 
C.  P.  Shertzer  served  on  the  city  council  of  Dewey 
three  years,  and  has  been  a trustee  in  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church  since  locating  in  that  town.  He  is  also 
a member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity.  In  1899  he  married 
Miss  Inez  Brinkerhoff,  who  was  born  in  Ohio,  a daughter 
of  Nelson  Brinkerhoff.  Their  three  children  are  Boyd, 
Frances  and  Charles. 

Charles  Elmer  Grady.  The  entire  career  of  Charles 
Elmer  Grady  has  been  devoted  to  educational  work,  a 


field  for  which  he  is  singularly  equipped  and  for  which 
he  has  had  a most  thorough  and  comprehensive  training. 
When  he  assumed  the  duties  of  his  present  office,  that 
of  superintendent  of  city  schools  of  Clinton,  he  brought 
to  their  discharge  an  enthusiasm  for  his  calling,  ripe 
experience  gained  in  several  important  and  laborious 
positions,  and  energetic  and  progressive  methods  that 
have  had  a very  beneficial  effect  upon  the  school  system 
here.  Superintendent  Grady  was  born  in  Crittenden 
County,  Kentucky,  May  2,  1879,  and  is  a son  of  R.  N. 
and  Margaret  (Everle)  Grady.  The  family,  as  the 
name  would  indicate,  is  of  Irish  origin,  and  the  first 
paternal  ancestor  in  America  settled  in  Fauquier  County, 
Virginia,  during  the  days  of  the  Colonies. 

R.  N.  Grady  was  born  near  Lexington,  Kentucky,  in 
1845,  and  when  the  Civil  war  came  on  gave  his  support 
to  the  Union  cause,  enlisting  in  the  Fifteenth  Ken- 
tucky Cavalry,  with  which  organization  he  served  for 
three  years.  At  the  close  of  the  war  he  resumed  his 
operations  as  a farmer,  stock  raiser  and  merchant 
in  Crittenden  County,  and  continued  to  be  so  engaged 
during  the  remainder  of  his  life,  with  the  exception  of  ten 
or  twelve  years  passed  in  Clark  County,  Indiana.  He 
died  in  the  faith  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  of 
which  he  was  a steward,  in  1907.  Mrs.  Grady,  who  was 
born  near  Louisville,  Kentucky,  in  1847,  died  in  Crit- 
tenden County,  Kentucky,  in  1898.  Their  children  were 
as  follows:  Mary,  who  is  the  wife  of  W.  R.  Sullivan,  in 
the  real  estate  and  insurance  business  at  Waco,  Texas; 
Mattie,  the  wife  of  Ira  Robinson,  a farmer  residing  in 
Crittenden  County,  Kentucky;  Anna,  who  married  J. 
D.  Crider,  a farmer  of  Mississippi  County,  Missouri; 
Nellie,  who  married  W.  D.  Cain,  a merchant,  and  resides 
at  Charleston,  Missouri;  Charles  Elmer;  Ruth,  who  mar- 
ried J.  N.  Swansey,  engaged  in  the  livery  business  at 
Sturgis,  Kentucky;  A.  L.,  a liveryman,  residing  at 
Kansas  City,  Missouri;  Clarence,  a prosperous  merchant 
at  Weston,  Crittenden  County,  Kentucky,  the  old  home 
town;  and  Lester,  a graduate  of  the  University  of  Ken- 
tucky, class  of  1915,  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts. 

The  public  schools  of  Marion,  Crittenden  County,  Ken- 
tucky, furnished  the  foundation  for  the  training  which 
was  to  fit  Charles  E.  Grady  for  educational  work,  and 
subsequently  he  went  to  the  Northern  Indiana  Normal 
School,  at  Valparaiso,  which  he  left  in  1906.  Two  years 
later  he  was  graduated  from  the  University  of  Indiana, 
with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts,  and  in  1910  was 
given  the  master’s  degree  by  that  institution.  He  holds 
membership  in  the  Phi  Delta  Kappa  Greek  letter  college 
fraternity,  which  he  joined  while  attending  the  university. 
In  1910  Mr.  Grady  was  appointed  superintendent  of 
schools  at  Iowa  Park,  Texas,  and  during  1911  and  1912 
was  president  of  the  Western  College,  Cordell,  Oklahoma. 
In  1913  and  1914  he  was  superintendent  of  schools  at 
Granite,  Oklahoma,  and  in  the  fall  of  1915  came  to 
Clinton  as  superintendent  of  city  schools,  an  office  in 
which  he  has  charge  of  three  sehoolhouses,  with  twenty- 
two  teachers  and  1,000  scholars.  In  this,  one  of  the 
most  difficult  of  the  learned  professions,  Superintendent 
Grady  has  won  material  success  and  position  solely 
through  the  exercise  of  his  own  industry  and  native 
abilities.  A born  educator,  with  the  happy  faculty  of 
being  able  to  impart  his  own  knowledge  to  others,  he 
is  also  possessed  of  no  small  degree  of  executive  ability, 
so  necessary  in  such  a position  as  he  holds.  He  is  a 
democrat,  although  not  a politician,  and  with  his  family 
belongs  to  the  Presbyterian  Church.  He  is  well  and 
popularly  known  in  fraternal  circles,  belonging  to  Clin- 
ton Lodge  No.  339,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons; 
Clinton  Lodge  of  Odd  Fellows ; the  Brotherhood  of  Ameri- 
can Yeomen ; the  Woodmen  of  the  World,  and  the  Colum- 
bian Woodmen. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1775 


In  1909,  at  Duekhill,  Mississippi,  Mr.  Grady  was  united 
in  marriage  with  Miss  Winnie  Lee  Eose,  daughter  of 
the  late  James  L.  Eose,  who  was  a merchant.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Grady  have  two  children:  Charles  Elmer,  Jr.,  born 
January  13,  1910,  and  Eobert  L.,  born  August  26,  1914. 

David  D.  Davisson.  With  twenty-five  years  of  Okla- 
homa residence  to  his  credit,  David  D.  Davisson  has 
well  earned  the  privilege  of  retirement  and  comfort 
and  ease,  and  is  now  living  somewhat  quietly  with  an 
ample  competence  for  his  declining  years  at  Carnegie. 

In  the  years  preceding  the  original  opening  of  Okla- 
homa Territory  Mr.  Davisson  was  one  of  the  men  most 
prominent  in  the  political  and  civic  affairs  of  the  original 
Canadian  County.  He  is  an  Oklahoma  eighty-niner,  and 
made  the  run  on  that  eventful  day,  April  22,  1889.  He 
found  his  claim  in  the  old  Downs  Township,  which  at 
. that  time  was  part  of  Canadian  County.  Until  he 
retired  a few  years  ago  Mr.  Davisson  was  a practical 
farmer  and  has  derived  most  of  his  prosperity  from  his 
work  as  an  agriculturist. 

As  a democrat  he  was  very  active  in  the  organization 
of  Canadian  County,  and  in  1890  was  elected  county 
clerk,  being  the  first  man  to  hold  that  office  by  popular 
election.  He  remained  in  office  two  years,  and  in  1893 
was  elected  superintendent  of  Canadian  County,  a posi- 
tion he  also  held  two  years,  and  in  that  time  did  much 
in  behalf  of  the  establishment  of  the  schools  and  de- 
velopment of  the  first  schools  established  in  that  section 
of  the  state.  At  a later  date  Mr.  Davisson  served  as 
deputy  county  clerk  of  Kingfisher  County,  and  for  a 
time  was  principal  of  the  Banner  School  at  Guthrie. 

In  1901  Mr.  Davisson  participated  in  another  grand 
opening,  when  the  Kiowa  and  Comanche  reservations 
were  given  over  to  actual  settlers,  but  he  subsequently 
located  in  Caddo  County,  where  he  still  has  extensive 
holdings. 

David  D.  Davisson  was  born  January  21,  1851,  at 
Centerville,  West  Virginia,  a son  of  Dr.  D.  D.  Davisson, 
who  was  born  in  the  same  state.  Mr.  Davisson  completed 
his  early  education  in  old  St.  Vincent  College  of  Wheel- 
ing, West  Virginia,  and  for  twenty  years  altogether 
was  a successful  teacher,  following  his  profession  in 
Missouri,  Kansas  and  Oklahoma. 

In  1881,  at  McPherson,  Kansas,  he  married  Miss  Sarah 
C.  Horton.  She  was  born  in  Hew  York  City  in  1855. 
They  have  one  son,  Gilbert  Horton,  born  November  26, 
1885,  at  Pratt,  Kansas.  This  son,  who  now  lives  on  his 
father  ;s  original  Oklahoma . homestead  in  Kingfisher 
County,  married  Miss  Mary  Johnson,  and  has  one  child, 
DeLon. 

Dr.  Kiah  Eix  Eone.  The  Eones  of  Kentucky  are  well 
known  to  natives  of  that  state,  and  men  of  the  name 
have  been  history  makers  in  the  Blue  Grass  region 
through  several  successive  generations.  The  family  is 
of  remote  English  ancestry,  as  is  a good  deal  of  the 
best  blood  in  the  land,  and  the  first  American  representa- 
tives of  the  name  settled  in  Virginia  on  coming  from 
England,  one  branch  continuing  there  and  another,  the 
one  with  which  we  are  directly  concerned  in  this  review, 
locating  in  Kentucky.  The  Eones  are  closely  connected 
by  ties  of  blood  with  the  well  known  family  of  Ean- 
dolphs,  whose  deeds  have  shed  a bright  light  over  pages 
ofi  American  history  through  many  years. 

Dr.  K.  E.  Eone,  of  Vici,  Oklahoma,  was  born  in  War- 
ren County,  Kentucky,  on  June  28,  1865,  and  he  is  the 
son  of  J.  B.  Eone,  born  in  Butler  County,  Kentucky,  in 
1824.  The  latter  died  in  Warren  County,  Kentucky,  in 
1895.  All  his  life  he  had  been  a successful  farmer  and 
stockman  in  his  native  state,  and  he  was  a man  of 
Vol.  v— 2 


prominence  in  his  chosen  field  of  activity.  He  was  a 
member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  South,  and 
was  a deacon  and  a member  of  its  official  board  through 
many  years.  He  was  also  a member  of  the  Masonic 
fraternity,  a democrat  in  politics,  and  a man  esteemed 
of  all  who  shared  in  his  acquaintance.  He  married  Eliza- 
beth McGinnis,  a Warren  County  girl,  born  there  in  1833, 
and  she  died  in  her  native  community  in  1897,  the  mother 
of  two  children.  The  first  born  was  Kiah  Eix  Eone  of 
this  review,  and  the  second  was  J.  B.,  a graduate  of  the 
Louisville  Medical  College  ' in  Kentucky  and  now  a 
practicing  physician  and  surgeon  in  Oklahoma  City. 

Dr.  K.  E.  Eone  attended  Ogden  College  for  two  years 
and  was  graduated  from  Vanderbilt  University  in  Nash- 
ville, Tennessee,  in  the  class  of  1889,  at  that  time 
receiving  the  degree  M.  D.  He  followed  his  training 
there  with  a post-graduate  course  in  the  New  York 
Polyclinic  in  physical  diagnosis  and  surgery,  spending 
the  year  1890  there,  and  in  later  years  he  took  post- 
graduate work  in  the  Chicago  Polyclinic  and  in  the 
Mayo  Brothers  ’ Institution  at  Eochester,  Minnesota.  His 
Chicago  training  he  took  in  1895  and  his  work  under 
the  celebrated  Mayo  brothers  he  took  in  1914.  While 
there  he  was  elected  president  of  the  Mayo’s  Surgical 
Club,  of  which  he  is  a life  member. 

In  1889  Doctor  Eone  began  the  practice  of  his  pro- 
fession in  his  hative  county.  He  continued  there,  enjoy- 
ing a good  deal  of  prosperity  in  his  work,  until  1893  when 
he  moved  to  Logan  County,  Kentucky,  in  search  of  a 
wider  field.  He  spent  seven  years  there  and  in  1900 
came  to  Oklahoma  City,  in  which  city  he  conducted  a 
general  practice  up  to  March  1,  1911,  when  he  located 
in  Vici,  and  here  he  has  since  conducted  a large  general 
practice.  He  has,  in  recent  years,,  been  making  some- 
thing of  a specialty  of  surgery,  but  in  a community  like 
Vici  deems  it  best  to ’conduct  a general  rather  than  a 
special  practice.  He  has  enjoyed  a generous  measure  of 
success  in  all  the  years  of  his  practice,  and  especially 
has  he  prospered  in  recent  years. 

. While  practicing  in  Oklahoma  City  Doctor  Eone  for 
two  years  held  the  chair  of  instructor  in  genital,  urinary 
and  rectal  diseases,  in  the  Oklahoma  City  College.  He 
gave  up  the  post  in  order  that  he  might  have  more  time 
for  the  demands  of  his  practice.  At  present  Doctor 
Eone  is  local  surgeon  for  the  Wichita  Falls  & North- 
western Eailroad.  He  is  president  of  the  Dewey  County 
Medical  Society,  and  is  also  a member  of  the  State, 
American  and  Southwestern  Medical  associations.  While 
a practicing  physician  in  Logan  County,  Kentucky,  Doc- 
tor Eone  was  county  health  officer,  as  well  as  city 
physician  of  Eussellville. 

In  1895  Doctor  Eone  was  married,  in  Warren  County, 
Kentucky,  to  Miss  Minnie  Taylor,  daughter  of  William 
Taylor,  a well  known  farming  man  there,  now  deceased. 
Five  children  have  blessed  the  home  of  Doctor  and  Mrs. 
Eone.  Lucille,  the  eldest,  married  Claude  Taylor,  cashier 
of  the  German  State  Bank  at  Elk  City,  Oklahoma. 
Caryee  is  an  instructor  in  dancing  at  Medicine  Park, 
Oklahoma.  Guthrie  is  a druggist,  located  in  California. 
The  two  youngest  children,  Martrie  and  Jack,  are  stu- 
dents in  the  local  high  school,  and  are  bright  and 
promising  young  people,  popular  in  school  circles  and 
with  many  friends  throughout  the  town. 

Eobert  C.  McCreery,  M.  D.,  F.  A.  C.  S.  In  the  diffi- 
cult field  of  surgery,  the  importance  of  which  is  daily 
being  .brought  forcibly  to  mind  by  the  achievements  of 
its  devotees  in  the  great  struggle  now  raging  in  Europe, 
Dr.  Eobert  C.  McCreery  has  won  distinction  among  Okla- 
homa practitioners.  Since  his  arrival  at  Erick,  in  June, 
1909,  he  has  held  an  increasingly  significant  position  in 


1776 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


the  life  of  the  community,  his  fine  abilities  entitling  him 
to  mention  among  the  leading  men  of  the  state  who  are 
exponents  of  a profession  that  must  be  rated  as  one 
of  the  greatest  triumphs  of  human  intellect,  energy  and 
resource. 

Doctor  McCreery  belongs  to  a family  which  originated 
in  Scotland  and  was  founded  in  New  York  in  Colonial 
days,  and  was  born  at  DeSoto,  Jefferson  County,  Mis- 
souri, March  18,  1869,  being  a son  of  Charles  E.  and 
Plotina  (Hollensbeek)  McCreery.  His  father  was  also 
a native  of  that  county,  where  he  passed  a long  and 
successful  career  as  a farmer  and  raiser  of  livestock,  and 
died  March  17,  1913,  in  the  faith  of  the  Baptist  Church, 
in  which  he  was  a deacon  for  many  years  and  an  active 
worker  throughout  his  life.  During  the  Civil  war  he 
fought  as  a Union  soldier  in  the  Sixth  Regiment,  Mis- 
souri Volunteer  Infantry,  and  was  once  wounded  in 
action.  Mrs.  McCreery,  who  was  likewise  born  in  Jef- 
ferson County,  died  there  in  1895,  aged  fifty-two  years. 
She  was  the  mother  of  the  following  children:  Laura, 
who  is  the  wife  of  W.  E.  Jones,  of  Chicago,  Illinois, 
superintendent  of  a fruit  growers  ’ car  association ; Adelia, 
who  died  in  1903  as  the  wife  of  G.  W.  Showers,  of 
Bryan,  Texas,  general  foreman  of  railroad  car  service; 
Dr.  Robert  C. ; Hester,  who  is  the  wife  of  A.  M.  Lane, 
a contractor  and  builder  of  Sacramento  City,  California; 
G.  E.,  a manufacturer  of  Los  Angeles,  California;  Nellie 
G.,  who  is  the  wife  of  J.  J.  O’Keefe,  of  Crystal  City, 
Missouri,  a traveling  representative  for  milling  products; 
and  Jeannette,  the  wife  of  J.  E.  Hart,  of  St.  Louis, 
Missouri,  holding  an  important  position  with  the  United 
States  Government. 

Robert  C.  McCreery  attended  the  public  schools  of 
DeSoto,  Missouri,  where  he  was  graduated  in  1891  from 
the  high  school.  Bis  medical  studies  were  commenced 
at  the  College  of  Physicians  and  Surgeons,  Chicago,  where 
he  spent  one  year,  the  following  year  being  passed  at 
the  Kansas  City  University  of  Medicine.  In  1908  he 
was  graduated  from  the  medical  department  of  the  Uni- 
versity of  Arkansas,  with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medi- 
cine, although  prior  to  this  time,  from  1903  to  1907,  he 
had  been  engaged  in  practice  at  Kansas  City.  Until  1909 
he  carried  on  his  practice  at  Little  Rock,  Arkansas, 
where  he  was  physician  for  the  athletic  association  of 
the  district,  and  June  5,  1909,  came  to  Erick,  where  he 
has  carried  on  a general  practice,  although  specializing 
in  surgery,  a field  in  which  he  has  taken  a command- 
ing position.  In  1914  he  took  a post-graduate  course  in 
gynecological  surgery  at  Tulane  University,  New  Orleans. 
In  1910  Doctor  McCreery  founded  a hospital,  a modern 
institution,  accommodating  twenty  patients,  which  is 
located  at  No.  120  East  Broadway,  his  offices  being  in  the 
Erick  State  Bank  Building.  He  belongs  to  the  Beckham 
County  Medical  Society,  the  Oklahoma  Medical  Society 
and  the  American  Medical  Association,  and  is  a fellow 
of  the  American  College  of  Surgeons.  A democrat  in 
politics,  he  has  served  as  health  officer  at  Erick,  and 
has  taken  an  interest  in  all  beneficial  civic,  educational 
and  moral  movements.  With  his  family,  he  attends 
the  Baptist  Church,  of  which  he  is  a member,  and  at 
present  is  superintendent  of  the  Sunday  School.  Doctor 
McCreery  is  also  well  known  in  fraternal  circles,  belong- 
ing to  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America;  Lodge  No. 
1144,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  of  Elk 
City,  Oklahoma;  Ear  West  Lodge  No.  1,  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  Little  Rock,  Arkansas,  of  which 
he  is  past  noble  grand,  and  to  the  Encampment  and 
Canton  of  Odd  Fellowship. 

Doctor  McCreery  was  married  at  DeSoto,  Missouri,  in 
1899,  to  Miss  Nannie  J.  Gowan,  daughter  of  the  late 
Capt.  Reason  E.  Gowan,  who  was  a captain  in  the  Union 
army  during  the  Civil  war,  and  for  many  years  a Mis- 


souri farmer.  Two  children  have  been  born  to  Doctor 
and  Mrs.  McCreery : Glenn  A.,  who  married  S.  J.  Har- 
rell, engaged  in  farming  at  Liberal,  Kansas;  and  Robert 
W.,  who  is  attending  the  Erick  public  schools. 

Porter  N.  McCallum.  In  spite  of  what  the  great 
majority  of  individuals  would  consider  a most  discourag- 
ing handicap,  Porter  N.  McCallum,  of  Devol,  Oklahoma, 
lias  attained  a most  desirable  and  satisfying  success. 
Only  one  possessed  of  energy,  perseverance  and  de- 
termination could  have  saved  himself  from  total  failure, 
but  Mr.  McCallum  has  so  directed  his  energies  that  he 
now  occupies  an  established  place  among  business  men 
of  his  community,  and  is  well  known  for  a number  of 
large  transactions  in  real  estate. 

Porter  N.  McCallum  was  born  in  the  City  of  Dallas, 
Texas,  August  21,  1881,  and  is  a son  of  J.  N.  and 
Maggie  (Porter)  McCallum,  natives  of  Tennessee.  The 
father,  now  a resident  of  Devol,  was  born  in  1852,  and 
in  1880  removed  from  his  native  state  to  Texas,  settling 
first  at  Dallas,  moving  to  Denton  in  1894,  and  in  1907 
coming  to  Devol.  In  his  early  years  he  learned  the  trade 
of  painter  and  gradually  developed  into  a contractor 
in  that  line,  also  following  for  a number  of  years  the 
business  of  railroad  surveying.  At  the  present  time  he 
is  county  weigher  of  Cotton  County.  In  political  matters 
Mr.  McCallum  is  a staunch  democrat.  He  and  Mrs. 
McCallum  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  in 
which  he  is  an  elder.  They  have  been  the  parents  of 
two  children:  Porter  N.,  of  this  notice;  and  J.  D.,  who 
is  the  proprietor  of  a cigar  store  at  Oklahoma  City, 
Oklahoma. 

The  public  schools  at  Denton,  Texas,  furnished  Porter 
N.  McCallum  with  his  education,  and  when  he  left  the 
high  school  in  1899  he  became  a telegraph  operator  for 
the  Texas  & Pacific  Railroad.  Later  he  took  a position 
as  brakeman  with  the  same  road,  and  held  this  employ- 
ment until  1901,  in  which  year,  while  in  the  performance 
of  his  duties,  he  slipped  and  fell  beneath  two  cars,  one 
of  which  passed  over  him  and  severed  his  left  leg.  Thus 
handicapped,  when  he  had  recovered,  Mr.  McCallum  was 
forced  to  face  life  anew,  and  resolutely  set  about  to 
learn  the  business  of  paper  hanging,  and  followed  that 
vocation  at  Denton  until  1907,  at  that  time  accompanying 
his  parents  to  Devol.  He  continued  to  carry  on  the 
same  line  of  business  here  until  1912,  when  he  established 
himself  in  business  as  a real  estate  dealer,  and  has  so 
continued  ■ to  the  present  time.  Mr.  McCallum  has  an 
interest  in  several  properties,  and  now  owns  his  own  resi- 
dence on  Wichita  Avenue.  He  received  an  indemnity 
from  the  railroad  company  on  whose  line  he  was  in- 
jured. 

Like  his  father  Mr.  McCallum  is  a strong  democrat, 
and  has  taken  something  more  than  a passing  interest 
in  political  affairs,  as  he  is  now  chairman  of  the  Demo- 
cratic County  Committee  of  Cotton  County  and  is  ac- 
counted to  possess  a wide  influence  in  party  circles.  He 
has  never  allowed  partisanship,  however,  to  keep  him 
from  aiding  in  every  way  the  best  interests  of  his  com- 
munity. Mr.  McCallum  belongs  to  Camp  No.  11,823,  of 
the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  at  Devol, -and  is  very 
popular  with  his  fellow  members.  He  also  holds  member- 
ship in  the  Devol  Commercial  Club,  and  co-operates 
loyally  in  the  movements  of  this  public-spirited  organi- 
zation. * 

Mr.  McCallum  Avas  married  in  1902,  at  Denton,  Texas, 
to  Miss  Effie  Anderson,  daughter  of  the  late  J.  F.  Ander- 
son, who  was  a well-known  financier  of  Denton,  owning 
a chain  of  banks  which  included  institutions  at  that 
place,  Ardmore,  Durant,  and  other  Oklahoma  and  Texas 
points.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  McCallum  have  no  children.  Mr. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1777 


McCallum  comes  of  sturdy  old  Scotch  stock,  his  grand- 
father, Neill  McCallum,  having  been  born  in  Scotland. 
He  was  eight  years  of  age  when  brought  to  the  United 
States  by  his  parents,  the  family  settling  first  in  Virginia 
and  subsequently  moving  to  Tennessee.  The  grandfather 
was  engaged  principally  in  buying  and  selling  mules, 
rounded  out  a long  and  successful  life,  and  died  in  1886, 
at  Pulaski,  Tennessee,  aged  seventy  years. 

Harry  C.  Lacy.  The  progressive  and  financial  stand- 
ing of  a city  is  indicated  as  much  by  the  type  of  busi- 
ness men  who  conduct  its  affairs  as  by  its  institutions. 
Harry  C.  Lacy,  cashier  of  the  well  known  Bank  of  Hydro, 
is  an  astute  financier  and  a citizen  whose  loyalty  to 
his  home  community  is  of  the  most  sincere  order.  He 
has  been  a resident  of  Hydro  since  1901  and  has  been 
engaged  in  the  banking  business  since  1909.  He  also 
owns  a splendidly  improved  farm  of  one-half  section,  in 
Cajddo  County,  Oklahoma,  and  the  same  is  devoted  to 
diversified  agriculture. 

A native  of  Des  Moines,  Iowa,  Harry  C.  Lacy  was  born 
January  2,  1870,  and  he  is  a son  of  Henry  D.  and  Lestine 
(Betts)  Lacy.  The  father  was  born  in  Vermont,  in 
1847,  and  he  is  of  Irish  stock,  his  father  having  settled 
in  the  Green  Mountain  state  from  Ireland  about  1835. 
Prior  to  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war  H.  H.  Lacy 
journeyed  west  to  Des  Moines,  Iowa,  and  in  1861  he 
enlisted  for  service  in  the  Fourth  Iowa  Volunteer 
Infantry.  He  took  part  in  many  important  conflicts 
marking  the  progress  of  the  war  and  after  Lee’s  sur- 
render was  mustered  out  of  service  as  an  officer.  He 
then  returned  to  Des  Moines,  where  he  married  and 
where  he  entered  into  business  as  a merchant.  Later  he 
removed  to  Shelby  County,  Iowa,  and  turned  his  attention 
to  farming;  thence  he  removed;  to  Western  Kansas.  In 
1893  he  made  the  run  at  the  opening  in  Garfield  County, 
Oklahoma,  and  obtained  a fine  homestead  of  160  acres. 
He  lives  on  this  farm  now  and  has  increased  it  to  320 
acres.  Much  of  his  attention  is  given  to  stock  raising. 
He  is  a republican,  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  fra- 
ternity, and  in  religious  faith  is  a devout  member  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church.  Mrs.  Lacy,  who  was  born 
in  Pennsylvania,  in  1849,  is  a woman  of  most  gracious 
personality  and  she  and  her  husband  are  held  in  high 
esteem  by  all  who  know  them.  They  became  the  parents 
of  eight  children,  concerning  whom  the  following  brief 
data  are  here  inserted:  W.  J.  is  a resident  of  Detroit, 
Michigan;  Harry  C.  is  the  subject  of  this  review;  Edith 
married  M.  J.  Lambert  and  died  in  Wichita,  Kansas, 
at  the  age  of  twenty-six  years;  Louis  is  a farmer  in 
Idaho;  Prank  is  at  home  with  his  parents;  Weaver  is  a 
railroad  man  in  Minneapolis,  Minnesota;  Bex  is  an 
auctioneer  and  farmer  in  Garfield  County,  Oklahoma,  as  is 
also  Bay. 

Harry  C.  Lacy  attended  the  public  Schools  of  Des 
Moines,  Iowa,  until  his  sixteenth  year,  when  he  went 
to  Anthony,  Kansas,  where  he  engaged  in  the  livery  and 
bus  business  for  the  following  four  years.  In  1893  he 
came  to  the  Cherokee  Strip  and  secured  a claim,  and  he 
was  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits  until  1901,  which 
year  marks  his  advent  in  Hydro,  where  he  was  engaged 
in  the  implement  business  for  the  ensuing  seven  years  as 
a member  of  the  firm  of  Pope  & Lacy.  Disposing  of 
his  interest  in  the  above  concern,  he  purchased  a farm 
in  Cotton  County,  Oklahoma,  and  developed  the  same 
for  one  year,  when  he  turned  it  over  to  tenants  and 
entered  the  Bank  of  Hydro,  of  which  he  is  now  cashier. 
This  bank  was  established  as  a state  bank  in  October, 
1903,  by  G.  W.  Snapp  and  W.  H.  Henke,  and  a new 
brick  building  was  erected  for  it  on  the  corner  of  Main 
Street  and  Broadway,  in  1910.  The  official  corps  of  the 


bank  is  as  follows:  F.  B.  Miller,  president;  M.  E.  Scott, 
vice  president;  H.  C.  Lacy,  cashier,  and  A.  J.  Arbes, 
assistant  cashier.  The  bank  has  a capital  stock  of  $10,000 
and  its  surplus  and  profits  amount  to  $5,000. 

Mr.  Lacy  is  a republican  in  his  political  allegiance 
and  although  not  an  office  seeker  he  is  serving  at  the 
present  time  as  city  treasurer.  His  fraternal  connections 
are  with  Hydro  Lodge  No.  230,  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons,  of  which  he  is  past  master;  Valley  of 
Guthrie  Consistory  No.  1,  fourteenth  degree;  Hydro 
Chapter,  Order  of  the  Eastern  Star,  and  the  local  lodges 
of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  of  the  Brother- 
hood of  American  Yeomen. 

In  Garfield  County,  Oklahoma,  in  December,  1900,  was 
solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Lacy  and  Miss  Katy 
Pope,  a daughter  of  John  Pope,  who  is  living  retired 
in  Enid,  Oklahoma.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lacy  have  one  son : 
Perrin,  born  February  10,  1904,  and  a pupil  in  the  Hydro 
public  schools. 

Judge  James  B.  Butherford.  One  of  Oklahoma’s 
ablest  lawyers,  and  one  whose  practice  had  extended  over 
old  Indian  Territory  when  the  Federal  courts  for  this 
jurisdiction  were  maintained  at  Fort  Smith,  was  the  late 
Judge  James  B.  Butherford,  who  died  at  his  home  in 
Sapulpa  March  18,  1916.  As  a criminal  lawyer  he  had 
few  peers,  and  because  of  his  varied  abilities  and  his 
active  participation  in  many  of  the  notable  cases  tried 
in  Eastern  Oklahoma  from  pioneer  times  down  to  the 
present,  his  record  is  one  of  special  significance  in  the 
history  of  Oklahoma. 

He  was  born  at  Fayetteville,  Washington  County, 
Arkansas,  November  3,  1859,  a son  of  Bayless  and  Mary 
(Curtis)  Butherford,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of 
Tennessee.  His  father  was  born  in  1815  and  was  about 
fifteen  years  old  when  his  family  moved  in  1830  from 
Tennessee  to  Arkansas  Territory,  which  was  not  admitted 
to  statehood  until  about  six  years  later.  Bayless  E. 
Butherford  became  one  of  the  prosperous  agriculturists 
and  stock  growers  of  Arkansas,  and  was  for  many  years 
prominent  and  influential  as  a citizen  in  Washington 
County,  where  he  resided  until  his  death  in  July,  1900. 
At  that  time  he  was  eighty-five  years  of  age  and  one 
of  the  venerable  pioneer  citizens  of  Northwestern  Ar- 
kansas. His  widow  passed  away  September,  1913,  aged 
seventy.  Of  their  ten  sons  and  five  daughters  all  reached 
maturity  and  most  of  them  are  still  living. 

The  fifth  among  the  children  in  age,  James  B.  Buther- 
ford acquired  his  early  education  in  the  common  schools 
of  Arkansas,  and  made  such  good  use  of  his  advantages 
that  for  six  years  he  was  a popular  teacher  in  the  public 
schools.  At  the  age  of  twenty-nine  • he  married  Miss 
Mary  Etta  King,  who  was  born  in  the  State  of  Missis- 
sippi, a daughter  of  James  K.  and  Nancy  King,  who 
removed  to  Arkansas  when  she  was  a child.  Mrs. 
Butherford  is  still  living. 

A few  months  after  his  marriage  Judge  Butherford 
took  up  the  study  of  law  and  in  1890  was  admitted  to 
the  bar  of  Arkansas.  For  ten  years  his  practice  was 
largely  confined  to  the  Federal  courts  of  Fort  Smith, 
though  he  also  achieved  a reputation  in  the  cases  which 
he  presented  before  the  various  state  courts.  In  Sep- 
tember, 1902,  with  the  high  prestige  he  had  acquired 
as  a criminal  lawyer,  he  came  to  Indian  Territory  and 
established  his  home  in  Claremore,  now  the  county  seat 
of  Bogers  County.  There  he  continued  to  practice  be- 
fore the  Federal  Court  of  the  Territory  until  Okla- 
homa was  admitted  to  the  Union.  Soon  after  statehood 
he  removed  his  family  to  Sapulpa,  where  he  kept  his 
home  and  office  until  his  death.  Judge  Butherford  ap- 
peared in  many  of  the  most  important  criminal  cases 


1778 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


tried  in  old  Indian  Territory  and  the  new  Oklahoma, 
and  his  career  as  a lawyer  is  this  section  covered  fully 
a quarter  of  a century.  At  the  time  of  his  death  he 
was  senior  member  of  the  well  known  law  firm  of  Ruther- 
ford & Blackmore.  It  is  significant  that  three  of  his 
former  partners  have  served  as  United  States  district 
attorneys. 

Judge  Rutherford  particularly  excelled  in  defense. 
During  his  active  career  he  defended  more  than  one 
hundred  murder  cases  in  Arkansas,  Indian  Territory  and 
Oklahoma,  and  capital  punishment  was  not  inflicted  on 
a single  one  of  his  clients,  and  the  extreme  sentence  im- 
posed was  not  more  than  ten  years  in  the  penitentiary. 
He  was  always  a loyal  advocate  of  the  republican  party, 
but  found  his  professional  duties  too  exacting  to  consent 
to  participation  in  a campaign  for  any  official  honors 
himself.  He  was  a member  of  the  Baptist  Church,  be- 
longed to  the  Oklahoma  State  Bar  Association  and  the 
Creek  County  Bar  Association,  and  was  affiliated  with 
the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  He  was 
widely  known  in  professional,  civic  and  business  affairs 
and  acquired  some  interests  in  the  oil  districts  of  Okla- 
homa. 

Mrs.  Rutherford  became  the  mother  of  eight  children: 
Mamie  B.,  Lona,  Ruby,  James  A.,  Alden  B.,  Marcus, 
Dudley,  and  Mary  Aileen.  The  daughter  Mamie  is  the 
wife  of  William  Graham  of  Sapulpa,  and  Ruby  is  the 
wife  of  Albert  Hancock  of  the  same  city. 

Charles  H.  Cofer.  Since  he  did  his  pioneering  work 
on  a homestead  after  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip 
more  than  twenty  years  ago,  Charles  H.  Cofer  has  been 
identified  with  numerous  business  enterprises  in  Western 
Oklahoma,  and  particularly  in  Dewey  County,  and  is  now 
best  known  as  president  of  the  Citizens  State  Bank  of 
Vici. 

Though  he  came  to  Oklahoma  from  Missouri,  Mr. 
Cofer  was  born  at  Salem,  Forsythe  County,  North  Caro- 
lina, February  17,  1869,  and  the  Cofer  family  were  in 
the  Carolinas  from  almost  the  earliest  period  of  settle- 
ment. His  father,  James  Hamilton  Cofer,  was  born 
in  North  Carolina  in  1830  and  died  near  Conway,  Mis- 
souri, in  1882.  Most  of  his  life  was  spent  in  Forsythe 
County,  North  Carolina,  where  he  was  reared  and  edu- 
cated and  married,  and  where  he  followed  farming  and 
stock  raising.  During  the  war  between  the  states  he 
served  the  Confederate  cause  in  a factory  for  the  making 
of  army  wagons.  In  1876  he  removed  to  Laclede  County, 
Missouri,  and  lived  on  a farm  near  Conway  the  rest  of 
his  life.  James  H.  Cofer  married  Mary  Brown,  who  was 
born  in  Virginia  in  1843  and  died  near  Conway,  Missouri, 
in  1881.  Their  “large  family  of  children  are  briefly 
noted  as  follows:  William,  a rancher  in  Texas;  James 

Lewis,  instructor  in  a high  school  at  St.  Louis;  Charles 
H.;  Sallie,  wife  of  W.  E.  Ernest,  a farmer  and  stock 
raiser  near  Fairview,  Oklahoma;  Vic,  who  first  married 
Ned  Day,  a farmer,  who  died  in  Niangua,  Missouri,  and 
she  married  for  her  second  husband  Mr.  Dougherty,  a 
piano  dealer,  also  deceased,  her  home  being  now  in 
Houston,  Texas;  Mellie,  who  is  a dressmaker  living  in 
the  State  of  Washington;  Nettie,  wife  of  Robert  Jamis- 
son,  a farmer  and  stock  raiser  at  Conway,  Missouri; 
Effie,  who  is  married  and  lives  on  a farm  near  Buffalo, 
Missouri;  Alice,  wife  of  H.  O.  Miller,  a merchant  in  the 
State  of  Washington. 

Charles  H.  Cofer  was  about  seven  years  of  age  when 
the  family  removed  to  Northeastern  Missouri,  and  he 
was  reared  on  a farm  and  gained  his  early  education  in 
the  common  schools  of  Laclede  County.  In  1890  he 
completed  a course  in  the  business  college  at  Springfield, 
Missouri,  and  for  about  a year  was  employed  in  a store 


at  Conway.  'With  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip  in 
1893  he  removed  to  Richmond,  Woodward  County,  secured 
a claim  of  160  acres  three-quarters  of  a mile  south  of 
Richmond,  and  spent  several  years  in  developing  and 
proving  up  on  that  tract  of  land  which  he  still  owns. 
Since  then  his  interests  have  taken  a much  broader  scope 
and  he  has  become  one  of  the  most  successful  business 
men  of  Dewey  County.  He  also  owns  120  acres  3% ! 
miles  south  of  Mutual,  and  has  an  attractive  residence 
at  Vici. 

After  making  his  home  on  his  homestead  until  1898 
Mr.  Cofer  went  to  Hobart,  was  a merchant  there  a year 
and  a half,  and  then  engaged  in  the  drug  and  general 
merchandise  business  at  Cestos,  in  Dewey  County,  until 
1910.  In  that  year  he  organized  the  Citizens  State  Bank 
at  Cestos,  became  its  president,  but  in  1911  moved  the; 
bank  to  Vici,  where  it  has  since  been  the  Citizens  State 
Bank  of  Vici.  He  is  the  president,  and  the  other  officers 
are : David  J ones,  vice  president ; W.  F.  Cuberly,  cashier ; 
V.  Cuberly,  assistant  cashier.  The  capital  stock ' is 
$10,000,  and  since  its  removal  to  Vici  the  bank  has 
occupied  a home  of  its  own  at  the  corner  of  Broadway 
and  Main  Street. 

Mr.  Cofer  has  taken  much  interest  in  fraternal] 
organizations.  He  is  past  chancellor  commander  of 
Cestos  Lodge  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  and  now  has 
membership  in  the  lodge  at  Vici;  belongs  to  the  Vici 
Lodge  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows;  Cestos] 
Camp  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  and  is  a 
member  of  the  Oklahoma  Bankers  ’ Association.  In 
politics  he  is  a democrat,  is  a member  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church,  and  at  the  present  time  is  serving] 
on  the  Vici  School  Board. 

At  Woodward,  Oklahoma,  in  1905,  he  married  Miss] 
Sallie  E.  Hayes,  daughter  of  W.  H.  Hayes,  who  owns 
half  a section  of  land  near  Woodworth.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Cofer  are  the  parents  of  five  children:  Thelma,  Lewis' 

and  Lola,  all  of  them  attending  the  public  schools  at 
Vici;  and  Charles  and  Imogene. 

Charles  A.  Welch  is  the  present  county  attorney  of 
Pushmataha  County,  and  in  point  of  continuous  practice] 
is  one  of  the  oldest  lawyers  in  this  section  of  Oklahoma, 
having  begun  practice  in  the  Choctaw  Nation  about  fif- 
teen years  ago.  His  home  is  at  Antlers. 

Before  the  dissolution'  of  tribal  government,  the  seat 
of  the  District  Court  of  the  First  Judicial  District  of 
the  Choctaw  Nation  was  Red  Oak.  The  facts  of  its  his- 
tory are  fully  as  interesting  as  those  connected  with 
Alikehi,  seat  of  the  Third  Judicial  District  of  the  nation, 
though  the  southern  part  of  the  nation  boasts  of  more 
romance  and  enlivening  legend  than  does  the  region  sur- 
rounding Red  Oak.  Red  Oak  was  in  Gaines  County  and 
the  seat  of  district  government  for  several  counties! 
Over  the  court  there  presided  at  one  time  Noel  J.  Holson 
and  James  Culberson  was  his  clerk. 

It  was  during  the  Holson  administration  that  Charles 
A.  Welch,  who  had  been  born  and  partly  reared  in  the 
Chickasaw  country,  was  appointed  attorney  for  the  First; 
Judicial  District  by  Principal  Chief  Gilbert  W.  Dukes. 
The  appointment  was  made  shortly  after  Mr.  Welch  had 
been  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1901,  before  United  States 
Judge  H.  H.  Clayton  of  the  Central  District  of  Indian 
Territory.  During  the  two  years  of  his  service  in  this 
office  Mr.  Welch  prosecuted  many  cases  involving  misde- 
meanors and  minor  crimes  and  was  instrumental  in  a 
number  of  Indians  being  punished  at  the  whipping  tree. 
At  Red  Oak  the  punishment  was  inflicted  beside  a tree 
rather  than  at  the  post,  and  the  tree  remains  yet  on  the 
spot  bearing  evidences  of  the  fulfilling  of  the  law’s 
demands. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1779 


The  era  of  many  murders  in  the  Indian  country  had 
I passed  at  that  time  and  Mr.  Welch  was  not  called  upon 
f to  prosecute  any  men  charged  with  that  crime.  But  the 
era  in  which  many  white  men  were  accused  of  murder 
• had  not  passed,  and  what  Mr.  Welch  missed  in  that  line 
; as  a prosecutor  he  found  abundant  later  as  a private  at- 
I torney.  Between  the  years  1907  and  1914  he  successfully 
I defended  seventeen  men  in  LeFlore  and  Pushmataha 
H counties  charged  with  the  crime  of  murder.  Then,  in 
I 1914,  having  been  elected  prosecuting  attorney  of  Push- 
I mataha  County,  he  reverted  to  the  tactics  of  his  early  ex- 
I perience  in  the  law  and  took  up  the  business  of  punish- 
I ing  men  accused  of  breaking  the  law. 

Born  in  old  Indian  Territory  in  1871,  CJiarles  A. 
| Welch  is  a son  of  W.  A.  and  Alice  (Walner)  Welch. 
His  father,  a native  of  Alabama,  settled  in  Indian  Ter- 
ritory before  the  Civil  war,  and  is  said  to  have  been  one 
I of  the  two  first  white  men  to  make  permanent  settlement 
I in  the  territory.  During  the  war  he  served  as  a captain  in 

(the  Confederate  army,  and  then  returned  and  settled 
at  Bock  Springs  and  engaged  in  merchandising.  Still 
later  his  business  was  removed  to  Caddo,  where  he  lived 
for  a number  of  years.  He  was  also  engaged  in  business 
: at  Brazil  and  Talihina  in  the  Choctaw  Nation  west  of 
Port  Smith.  W.  A.  Welch  was  a well  educated  man,  a 
lawyer  as  well  as  a merchant,  and  practiced  in  the  United 
States  courts  of  old  Indian  Territory.  Early  in  the  ’70s 
he  took  a conspicuous  part  in  Chickasaw  political  affairs, 
holding  several  offices  before  intermarried  citizens  were 
forbidden  to  hold  office.  Alice  (Walner)  Welch  was  a 
daughter  of  Dr.  William  Walner,  who  was  a surgeon  in 
the  Confederate  army.  Mrs.  Welch  was  of  part  Indian 
blood.  Doctor  Walner  was  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers 
at  a stage  station  on  the  Washita  Biver  in  the  Chickasaw 
Nation  known  as  Cherokee  Town,  and  there  for  a num- 
ber of  years  lived  his  son  John  Walner,  a prominent 
Chickasaw  citizen  of  early  days.  Besides  the  county  at- 
torney of  Pushmataha  County,  other  children  of  W.  A. 
and  Alice  Welch  are:  J.  H.  Welch,  a merchant  at  Al- 

bion; Mrs.  T.  C.  Branham,  wife  of  a physician  at  Pauls 
Valley;  and  Mrs.  Walter  Davis,  wife  of  a merchant  at 
Sulphur. 

The 'first  school  attended  by  Charles  A.  Welch  was 
at  Caddo.  It  was  taught  by  a Mr.  Chapin.  One  of  his 
schoolmates  was  Thomas  Hunter  of  Hugo.  On  leaving 
school  Mr.  Welch  became  a clerk  in  his  father’s  store  at 
Brazil  and  later  at  Talihina,  and  by  business  activity  he 
supported  himself  and  family  for  a number  of  years. 
In  the  meantime  he  took  up  the  study  of  law,  and  in 
1901  was  admitted  to  the  bar. 

At  Talihina  in  1890  Mr.  Welch  married  Miss  Delia 
Morton.  Her  father  was  one  of  the  earliest  settlers  in 
the  vicinity  of  Talihina  and  for  many  years  was  a 
teacher  in  tribal  schools.  To  their  marriage  have  been 
born  five  children:  S-.  E.  Welch,  a graduate  of  the  class 

of  1910  in  the  Law  Department  of  the  University  of 
Oklahoma  and  now  his  father’s  law  partner;  Pitzhugh 
Lee,  Daniel  M.,  Mabel  and  Buth.  Mr.  Welch  is  an  active 
member  of  the  County  and  State  Bar  associations.  In 
Masonry  he  is  affiliated  with  the  Blue  Lodge  and  Chapter 
at  Antlers,  the  Commandery  at  Hugo  and  the  Temple 
of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Muskogee.  He  is  also  a member 
of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the 
Knights  of  Pythias.  His  church  is  the  Presbyterian. 

Bev.  A.  Hubert  Van  Bechen.  The  honored  pastor 
| of  St.  Anthony’s  Church  in  the  City  of  Okmulgee  has 
achieved  a large  and  benignant  work  during  the  period 
of  his  activities  as  a priest  of  the  Catholic  Church  in 
Oklahoma,  his  initial  services  having  been  in  the  old 


Indian -Territory,  as  a missionary,  and  he  is  one  of  the 
distinguished  and  influential  members  of  the  Catholic 
clergy  in  the  vigorous  young  commonwealth  in  which  he 
has  found  a fruitful  field  for  his  zealous  and  consecrated 
activities  in  his  noble  calling.  In  the  community  slight 
use  of  his  family  name  is  indulged,  as  he  is  familiarly 
and  affectionately  known  as  Father  Hubert.  He  has 
identified  himself  most  fully  with  the  spirit  of  American 
institutions  and  customs  but  to  him  consistently  remains 
deep  and  abiding  love  for  his  native  land,  which  now 
lies  prostrate  and  devastated  by  the  ravages  of  the  great 
European  war  that  has  brought  death  and  desolation  of 
unprecedented  horror. 

Father  Hubert  was  born  at  Cruyshantem,  a village  in 
East  Flanders,  Belgium,  about  seven  miles  southwest  of 
the  ancient  City  of  Ghent,  and  the  date  of  his  nativity 
was  February  25,  1879.  As  may  naturally  be  inferred, 
he  is  a man  of  high  scholarship,  but  aside  from  this  it 
is  worthy  of  note  that  through  early  associations  he 
gained  a thorough  knowledge  of  both  the  Flemish  and 
French  languages,  besides  which  he  has  perfected  him- 
self in  the  English  language.  He  is  a son  of  Henry  and 
Benilde  Elizabeth  (deWolf)  Van  Bechen,  the  former  of 
whom  passed  to  the  life  eternal  on  the  4th  of  August, 
1911,  and  the  latter  of  whom  still  retains  her  home  at 
Cruyshantem.  Of  the  family  of  four  sons  and  three 
daughters  the  subject  of  this  review  is  the  only  one  who 
has  established  a home  in  America. 

Henry  Van  Bechen  was  born  in  East  Flanders  on  the 
4th  of  July,  1845,  a scion  of  one  of  the  old  and  patrician 
families  of  that  section  of  Belgium,  and  he  received  the 
best  of  educational  advantages  in  his  youth.  He  at- 
tended the  College  of  St.  Nicholas,  in  his  native  country, 
and  thereafter  continued  his  studies  for  some  time  in  the 
City  of  Borne,  Italy.  He  answered  the  call  of  Pope 
Pius  IX  and  served  gallantly  during  the  conflict  between 
church  and  state  in  Italy.  Thereafter  he  was  long  an 
influential  figure  in  connection  with  public  affairs  in 
East  Flanders,  and,  as  a remarkable  accomplished  musi- 
cian, he  served  forty-two  years  as  organist  of  the  Catholic 
Church  at  Cruyshantem,  he  having  been  a most  devout 
communicant  of  the  Catholic  Church,  as  is  also  his  vener- 
able widow.  Henry  Van  Bechen  was  awarded  the  title  of 
chevalier  of  the  Order  of  St.  Sylvester  and  received  the 
medal  of  bene  merenti,  besides  other  honorable  decora- 
tions, a number  of  his  medals  and  other  evidences  of 
distinction  being  now  in  the  possession  of  Father  Hubert 
of  this  review. 

In  the  parochial  schools  of  his  native  village  Father 
Hubert  acquired  his  preliminary  education,  and  he  was 
signally  favored  in  having  been  reared  in  a home  of 
distinctive  culture  and  ideal  associations.  Thereafter  he 
continued  his  studies  in  turn  in  St.  Mary’s  College,  at 
Audenaerde,  and  in  the  Catholic  university,  in  the  City  of 
Louvain,  this  having  been  the  largest  and  most  important 
of  the  many  great  Catholic  educational  institutions  which 
so  long  gave  Belgium  precedence  in  the  domain  of  higher 
education.  Father  Hubert  completed  his  philosophical 
courses  at  St.  Nicholas,  and  his  theological  at  Louvain 
and  there  he  learned  also  the  English  language,  in  the 
American  College  of  Louvain,  in  which  he  was  graduated, 
as  was  he  also  in  the  great  university.  On  the  13th  of 
Jply,  1902,  he  was  ordained  to  the  priesthood  of  the 
Catholic  Church,  his  reception  of  the  sacerdotal  orders 
having  been  at  the  hands  of  Bishop  Maes  of  Covington, 
Kentucky,  in  Louvain.  In  the  following  September  he 
came  to  the  United  States,  and  soon  after  his  arrival  in 
New  York  City  he  was  appointed  Indian  missionary  at 
Antlers,  Indian  Territory,  the  present  judicial  center  of 
Pushmataha  County,  Oklahoma.  There  he  continued  his 
earnest  and  effective  services  until  the  following  year. 


1780 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


aud  in  the  meanwhile  a goodly  number  of  the  missionary 
Indians  were  received  as  communicants  of  the  church. 
For  a time  Father  Hubert  was  pastor  at  Wilburton,  the 
present  county  seat  of  Latimer  County,  and  later  he  was 
assigned  to  Poteau,  where  he  effected  the  erection  of  a 
church  building.  On  July  1,  1903,  he  returned  to  the 
pastoral  charge  at  Antlers,  where  likewise  his  energy 
and  consecrated  zeal  found  tangible  fruitage  in  the 
erection  of  a church  edifice,  the  while  he  was  able  also 
to  inspire  the  devotion  which  made  possible  also  the  erec- 
tion of  churches  at  Bentley,  Atoka  County;  Boswell, 
Choctaw  County;  and  Hugo,  Choctaw  County. 

In  June,  1910,  Father  Hubert  became  the  first  resi- 
dent priest  of  the  parish  of  St.  Anthony’s  Church  at 
Okmulgee,  where  he  has  since  continued  his  earnest  and 
devoted  labors  and  where  he  has  succeeded  in  infusing 
vitality  into  both  the  spiritual  and  temporal  activities 
of  the  important  parish.  With  the  appreciative  and  able 
assistance  of  Judge  Wade,  Stanfield  District  judge,  he 
has  erected  and  properly  equipped  a rectory,  which  they 
donated  to  the  congregation  of  St.  Anthony’s  Church, 
the  parish  having  specific  incorporation  under  the  laws 
of  the  State  of  Oklahoma  since  October  21,  1914.  The 
local  rectory  is  donceded  to  be  one  of  the  best  in  the 
state.  The  church  edifice  has  been  enlarged  and  other- 
wise improved  under  the  administration  of  Father  Hu- 
bert, and  he  is  now  (1916)  bending  his  energies  to 
accomplishing  the  erection  of  a building  for  the  parish 
school.  The  parish  is  one  of  the  most  important  and 
vigorous  in  Oklahoma  and  its  loved  pastor  not  only  has 
the  devoted  esteem  and  co-operations  of  the  members  of 
his  flock  but  also  the  higli  regard  of  the  entire  com- 
munity, as  he  is  essentially  broad-minded,  loyal  and 
progressive  in  his  civic  attitude  and  does  all  in  his  power 
to  further  the  best  interests  of  the  community  in  general. 
Incidentally  it  may  be  noted  that  he  has  been  specially 
active  in  the  support  and  advancement  of  the  Oklahoma 
National  Guard,  in  which  he  maintains  a deep  interest. 

Roy  M.  Felton.  Caddo  County,  Oklahoma,  figures  as 
one  of  the  most  attractive,  progressive  and  prosperous 
divisions  of  the  state,  justly  claiming  a high  order  of 
citizenship  and  a spirit  of  enterprise  which  is  certain 
to  conserve  consecutive  development  and  marked  advance- 
ment in  the  material  upbuilding  of  this  section.  The 
county  has  been  and  is  signally  favored  in  the  class 
of  men  who  have  contributed  to  its  development  along 
financial  and  agricultural  lines,  and  in  the  former  con- 
nection the  subject  of  this  review  demands  recognition 
as  he  has  been  actively  engaged  in  banking  operations 
at  Hydro  during  the  greater  part  of  his  career  thus 
far.  Mr.  Felton  is  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank 
of  Hydro,  and  he  has  served  the  city  in  several  positions 
of  trust,  namely,  as  city  clerk  and  member  of  school 
board. 

Almond  D.  Felton,  grandfather  of  Roy  M.  Felton,  was 
born  in  New  York,  in  1819,  and  he  died  at  Ellenburg, 
New  York,  in  1899.  He  conducted  an  iron  foundry  in 
the  Adirondack  Mountains  in  his  younger  days  and  for 
sixteen  years  was  justice  of  the  peace  in  Clinton  County,' 
New  York.  He  was  descended  from  English  stock,  his 
ancestors  having  settled  at  Felton’s  Hill,  Massachusetts, 
in  1627.  His  son,  Marshall  A.  Felton,  was  born  in 
Clinton  County,  New  York,  in  1849.  He  came  West  in 
1874  and  located  in  Kansas,  where  he  helped  build  the 
canal,  and  for  many  years  he  did  freighting  from  Arkan- 
sas City  to  Fort  Sill,  Oklahoma.  He  was  at  Hennessey, 
Oklahoma,  only  a few  hours  after  the  murder  of  Patrick 
Hennessey  by  the  Indians.  Later  in  life  he  became  a 
farmer  and  he  died  at  Ellenburg,  New  York,  in  1898, 
while  on  a visit  home.  He  served  in  the  Civil  war 


for  one  year  as  a member  of  the  Ninety-second  New 
York  Volunteers.  He  was  a member  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church,  in  which  he  was  an  active  office  holder, 
belonged  to  the  Masonic  fraternity,  and  also  affiliated 
with  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic.  He  was  a repub- 
lican in  his  political  allegiance.  He  married  Belle 
Nichols,  born  in  Illinois,  in  1858,  and  now  a resident 
of  Hydro.  This  union  was  prolific  of  the  following 
children:  Roy  M.  is  the  subject  of  this  sketch;  Ralph  A. 
is  a resident  of  Roselle,  New  Jersey,  where  he  is  a mem- 
ber of  the  Presbyterian  Board  of  Home  Missions;  0. 
C.  is  a rancher  in  the  vicinity  of  Filer,  Idaho;  Mary 
C.  is  the  wife  of  L.  L.  Williams,  a merchant  at  Orange, 
California;  and  Esther,  who  was  graduated  in  the  Hydro 
High  School  in  1915,  is  now  a teacher  in  Idaho.  For 
her  second  husband  Mrs.  Felton  married  M.  M.  Klein, 
a furniture  dealer  and  undertaker  at  Hydro.  They  have 
one  child:  Margaret,  born  in  October,  1904,  and  now 
a pupil  in  the  public  schools  of  Hydro. 

Roy  M.  Felton  was  born  in  Arkansas  City,  Kansas, 
January  11,  1880.  He  was  graduated  in  the  graded 
schools  of  Cowley.  County,  Kansas,  and  attended  the 
high  school  at  Ponca  City,  Oklahoma,  whither  his  parents 
had  removed  in  1893.  He  was  graduated  in  Southwestern 
College,,  at  Winfield,  Kansas,  in  1902,  and  then  engaged 
in  farming  in  the  vicinity  of  Hydro  for  the  ensuing  two 
years.  He  entered  the  Hydro  State  Bank  in  1904  as 
assistant  cashier  and  in  1906  was  raised  to  the  position 
of  cashier.  The  Hydro  State  Bank  was  established  in 
January,  1902,  and  was  nationalized  as  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Hydro  in  1911.  The  first  bank  building  was 
erected  in  1904  and  it  was  destroyed  by  fire  in  1910. 
The  present  structure  was  built  in  the  same  year  and  is 
a fine  brick  building  on  Main  Street.  The  officers  of  the 
bank  are : George  B.  Pope,  mentioned  elsewhere  in  this 
work,  president;  W.  H.  Collins,  vice  president;  Roy  M. 
Felton,  cashier;  and  H.  Larson,  assistant  cashier.  The 
bank  has  a . capital  stock  of  $25,000,  a surplus  of  $3,500 
and  profits  of  $2,500. 

Mr.  Felton’s  work  as  bank  cashier  has  been  most 
satisfactory  and  he  is  well  known  as  a booster  of  his 
home  town.  He  is  a republican  in  polities  and  has  given 
efficient  service  as  city  clerk  of  Hydro  for  three  terms, 
and  in  that  capacity  brought  about  many  material 
improvements  of  great  benefit  to  this  community.  He  is 
a trustee  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  and  his 
fraternal  affiliations  are  as  follows:  Hydro  Lodge  No. 
230,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  of  which  he  is 
junior  warden;  Hydro  Chapter,  Order  of  the  Eastern 
Star ; and  he  is  an  ex-member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias. 

At  Guthrie,  Oklahoma,  in  1904,  was  solemnized  the 
marriage  of  Mr.  Felton  to  Miss  Grace  Rose,  a daughter 
of  the  Rev.  W-.  H.  Rose,  pastor  of  the  First  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church  at  Guthrie.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Felton 
have  two  children:  Marshall  Rose,  born  August  6,  1905, 
and  William  Roy,  born  October  27,  1907,  both  of  whom 
are  attending  school  at  Hydro. 

Robert  B.  Thomas.  The  present  postmaster  at  Cache 
is  one  of  the  early  settlers  in  that  section  of  Comanche 
County,  having  come  soon  after  the  opening  of  this  region 
to  settlement,  and  has  been  variously  identified  with 
the  growth  and  business  activities  of  the  locality. 

Mr.  Thomas  comes  from  an  old  and  prominent  Southern 
family.  The  Thomases  originally  emigrated  out  of  Wales 
to  Virginia,  where  they  lived  when  Virginia  was  still 
a colony,  and  afterwards  became  identified  with  pioneer 
settlement  of  Kentucky.  Mr.  Thomas  had  two  great- 
grandfathers who  were  in  the  Revolutionary  war,  his 
great-grandfather  Thomas  having  held  the  rank  of  colonel, 
and  on  his  mother’s  side  his  great-grandfather,  Colonel 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1781 


Woolf  ork,  attained  a similar  rank  in  the  American  forces, 
fighting  for  independence.  The  grandfather,  William 
Thomas,  a native  of  Virginia,  went  to  Kentucky  at  an 
early  date,  and  was  killed  while  living  in  Ballard  County, 
.when  his  horse  fell  on  him. 

Bobert  B.  Thomas  was  born  in  Bardwell,  Kentucky, 
January  1,  1881.  His  father,  Dr.  George  A.  Thomas, 
was  born  in  Ballard  County,  Kentucky,  February  3, 
1844,  and  early  in  his  career  became  identified  with 
the  Southern  armies  in  the  war  between  the  states.  For 
one  year  he  was  a member  of  Polk's  Scouts,  and  for  the 
following  three  years  was  in  the  cavalry  under  General 
Forrest.  After  the  war  he  graduated  Doctor  of  Medi- 
cine from  the  Louisville  Medical  College,  removed  to 
Bardwell  in  1871,  and  was  prominent  as  a physician  and 
also  in  politics  and  civic  affairs  in  that  locality  until  his 
death  in  1907.  Doctor  Thomas  married  Miss  Hannah  J. 
Webb,  who  was  born  in  Bardwell,  Kentucky,  January  2, 
1856,  and  is  now  living  at  Cache,  Oklahoma.  Their  chil- 
dren are : Herbert,  who  is  in  the  insurance  business  at 
Tyronza,  Arkansas;  Wallace  W.,  in  the  ice  business  at 
Cache,  Oklahoma;  Ada,  wife  of  Louis  Harrison,  a farmer 
at  Bardwell,  Kentucky;  Bobert  B. ; Bettie,  wife  of  S. 
B.  Bay,  a farmer  at  Cache,  Oklahoma;  Gharles,  a rail- 
way employe  living  at  Muskogee,  Oklahoma;  and  Luther, 
an  electrician  at  Cushing,  Oklahoma. 

As  a boy  Bobert  B.  Thomas  grew  up  at  Bafdwell  and 
attended  the  public  schools,  graduating  from  high  school 
in  1900.  At  the  age  of  twenty-one  he  Came  out  to  South- 
western Oklahoma,  and  found  his  permanent  location  at 
Cache,  where  for  two  years  he  was  a clerk  in  the  Indian 
trading  store  for  E.  M.  Harris.  In  1904  he  became 
connected  with  the  mercantile  enterprise  of  V.  E.  Gregg, 
and  also  for  Mr.  Gregg 's  successor,  A.  J.  Lawrence, 
and  remained  in  the  general  store  at  Cache  until  June, 
1908.  The  following  twelve  months  were  spent  at  Brown- 
ing, Missouri,  where  he  was  again  in  the  employ  of  Mr. 
V.  E.  Gregg.  Beturning  to  Cache  in  the  fall  of  1909, 
lie  engaged  in  the  general  mercantile  business  for  him- 
self until  February  12,  1913.  Next  followed  an  ex- 
perience as  a traveling  salesman  representing  the  Star 
Clothing  Company  of  Kentucky.  This  was  terminated 
on  September  5,  1914,  at  which  date  he  received  his 
appointment  as  postmaster  of  Cache  * under  the  civil 
service  rules.  He  is  now  giving  practically  all  his  atten- 
tion to  the  administration  of  the  office. 

Mr.  Thomas  has  been  active  in  local  affairs  in  that 
part  of  Comanche  County  for  a number  of  years.  For 
four  years  he  was  township  clerk  at  Cache,  and  in  1914 
was  defeated  by  only  a small  majority  as  candidate  for 
the  office  of  county  assessor.  He  is  a democrat,  and  is 
well  known  as  a party  leader  in  Comanche  County,  and 
for  six  years  was  democratic  township  committeeman. 
He  is  a fluent  public  speaker,  and  was  one  of  the  first 
men  of  Comanche  County  to  support  President  Wilson 
on  the  stump.  His  church  is  the  Christian. 

Mr.  Thomas  is  especially  well  known  in  Odd  Fellow- 
ship and  is  now  serving  as  president  of  the  Southwest 
Odd  Fellows  Association,  an  organization  for  general 
benefit  among  the  Odd  Fellows  lodges  in  Comanche,  Cot- 
ton, Tillman  and  Jackson  counties.  His  local  affiliation 
is  with  Cache  Lodge  No.  269,  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows,  and  at  three  different  times  he  has  attended  the 
grand  lodge  of  the  state  and  the  first  time  was  present 
as  a delegate  when  only  twenty-one  years  of  age,  being 
the  youngest  delegate  in  the  grand  lodge.  He  is  a past 
grand  and  past  grand  representative,  and  a member  of 
the  Odd  Fellows  Encampment. 

On  June  21,  1914,  at  El  Beno,  Oklahoma,  Mr.  Thomas 
married  Miss  Mittie  Fronaberger  of  Lawton,  Oklahoma. 


John  P.  Millek,  M.  D.  Many  of  the  older  common- 
wealths of  the  Union  have  contributed  to  the  personnel 
of  the  able  and  representative  physicians  and  surgeons 
of  Oklahoma,  and  though  Doctor  Miller  claims  the 
historic  old  State  of  North  Carolina  as  the  place  of  his 
nativity  he  was  reared  to  manhood  in  Texas,  where  he 
received  his  early  education  and  whence  he  came  to 
Oklahoma  Territory  in  September,  1892,  when  he  settled 
at  Cheyenne,  the  present  vital  metropolis  and  judicial 
center  of  Boger  Mills  County,  where  he  has  been  estab- 
lished in  the  successful  practice  of  his  profession  during 
the  intervening  period  of  nearly  a quarter  of  a century, 
and  where  he  holds  secure  prestige  and  popularity  as 
one  of  the  leading  pioneer  physicians  and  surgeons  of 
this  section  of  the  state,  even  as  he  has  made  his  influ- 
ence definitely  felt  through  his  activities  as  a progressive 
and  public-spirited  citizen. 

Dr.  John  Powell  Miller  was  born  in  Madison  County, 
North  Carolina,  on  the  19th  of  July,  1851,  and  is  a son 
of  Samuel  and  Jane  (Jack)  Miller,  the  former  of  whom 
was  born  in  Buncombe  County,  North  Carolina,  in  1822, 
and  the  latter  of  whom  was  born  in  Greene  County, 
Tennessee,  in  1823,  both  families  having  been  founded 
in  America  in  the  colonial  days.  Samuel  Miller  removed 
with  his  family  to  Texas  in  December,  1862,  and  there 
he  passed  the  remainder  of  his  life  as  a farmer  and 
stock  grower.  He  survived  his  wife  from  1889  to  1907, 
his  death  occurring  on  the  30th  of  April  of  the  latter 
year.  The  mother  was  summoned  to  eternal  rest  on 
September  28,  1889,  both  having  been  consistent  members 
of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  South,  and  the  father 
having  been  a stanch  democrat  in  politics.  He  was  a 
scion  of  a sterling  family  that  was  founded  in  Penn- 
sylvania in  the  colonial  era  of  our  nationary  history, 
and  the  original  American  progenitors  came  from  Scot- 
land. In  the  following  paragraph  is  given  brief  record 
concerning  the  children  of  Samuel  and  Jane  (Jack) 
Miller. 

William  Elbert  is  a retired  merchant  and  resides  at 
Claude,  Armstrong  County,  Texas;  Bobert  T.  maintains 
his  home  at  Floydada,  Floyd  County,  that  state,  and 
has  large  farm  and  stock  interests  in  that  section ; 
Samuel  Madison,  who  likewise  was  a substantial  farmer 
in  Texas,  died  at  the  age  of  fifty  years,  in  Brown  County, 
that  state;  James  Anderson,  twin  of  Samuel  M.,  died  in 
Johnston  County,  Texas,  at  the  age  of  seventeen  years; 
Doctor  Miller  of  this  sketch  was  the  next  in  order  of 
birth;  Oetavia  Jane  is  the  wife  of  James  H.  Keith,  of 
Cleburne,  Texas;  Harriet  Emily  is  the  wife  of  Willis  M. 
Armstrong,  a prosperous  farmer  of  Brown  County,  Texas ; 
Bev.  Jacob  Glance,  a clergyman  of  the  Methodist  Epis- 
copal Church  South,  resides  at  Stamford,  Texas; 
Margaret  Cordelia  is  the  wife  of  John  H.  Dortch,  a 
retired  farmer,  and  they  reside  at  Dalworth,  Texas; 
Mary  Elizabeth,  who  died  at  Panhandle  City,  Texas,  in 
the  autumn  of  1891,  was  the  wife  of  Monroe  Jack,  who 
still  resides  in  that  state,  a farmer  by  vocation;  and 
Catherine  Ann  is  the  wife  of  William  C.  Dysart,  a farmer 
of  Collin  County,  Texas. 

Doctor  Miller  was  a lad  of  about  ten  years  at  the  time 
of  the  family  removal  to  Texas,  where  he  was  reared  to 
manhood  on  the  homestead  farm,  with  the  work  and 
management  of  which  he  continued  to  be  associated  until 
he  had  attained  to  his  legal  majority.  In  the  meanwhile 
he  profited  duly  by  the  advantages  of  the  local  schools, 
and  in  September,  1872,  he  entered  Mansfield  College,  in 
which  excellent  Texas  institution  he  continued  his  studies 
three  years.  Thereafter  he  remained  on  the  home  farm 
until  1879,  when  he  engaged  in  the  drug  business  at 
Marystown,  Johnson  County,  and  incidentally  devoted 
as  much  time  as  possible  to  the  study  of  medicine.  His 


1782 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


business  venture  proved  successful  and  in  September, 
1880,  in  consonance  with  his  ambitious  purpose,  he  was 
matriculated  in  the  medical  department  of  Vanderbilt 
University  at  Nashville,  Tennessee,  in  which  great  insti- 
tution he  was  graduated  as  a member  of  the  class  of  1883 
and  from  which  he  received  his  well  earned  degree  of 
Doctor  of  Medicine.  He  then  returned  to  Johnson 
County,  Texas,  where  he  served  his  practical  novitiate  in 
his  profession  and  where  he  continued  in  successful 
general  practice  until  1889.  He  then  removed  to  Claude, 
Armstrong  County,'  but  within  a year  he  established  him- 
self at  Panhandle  City,  Carson  County,  where  he  remained 
until  the  autumn  of  1892,  when  he  came  to  Oklahoma 
Territory,  his  permanent  home  having  been  established 
at  Cheyenne,  county  seat  of  Roger  Mills  County,  in  Sep- 
tember of  that  year.  He  was  the  pioneer  physician  of 
the  county,  and  five  years  elapsed  ere  another  representa- 
tive of  his  profession  engaged  in  practice  at  Cheyenne. 
In  the  earlier  years  Doctor  Miller  encountered  the  most 
arduous  labors  and. many  trials  in  pursuing  his  humane 
mission  over  a wide  area  of  thinly  settled  and  wild 
country,  but  he  placed  no  limitations  upon  his  profes- 
sional zeal  and  devotion,  so  that  it  is  but  natural  that 
he  is  held  in  the  highest  popular  esteem  in  the  community 
which  he  has  served  faithfully  and  with  marked  ability 
for  many  years.  He  has  kept  in  close  touch  with  ad- 
vances made  in  medical  and  surgical  science  and  has 
given  to  the  people  of  this  section  of  the  state  the  best 
that  could  be  offered  by  a physician  and  surgeon  of 
distinctive  technical  talent  and  of  abiding  appreciation 
of  the  dignity  and  responsibility  of  his  exacting  voca- 
tion. He  has  long  controlled  a large  and  representative 
general  practice,  and  he  maintains  his  well  appointed 
office  on  Broadway,  in  the  business  center  of  the  town. 
The  doctor  is  the  owner  of  his  attractive  residence 
property,  likewise  on  Broadway,  and  in  addition  to  other 
local  realty  he  has  two  valuable  farms  in  Roger  Mills 
County,  one  comprising  320  and  the  other  160  acres. 
During  nearly  the  entire  period  of  his  residence  at 
Cheyenne,  Doctor  Miller  has  served  as  health  officer  of 
the  county,  and  though  he  is  a stanch  democrat  in 
politics  he  was  first  appointed  to  this  position,  in  1892, 
by  Governor  Sea,  who  was  elected  territorial  governor  on 
the  republican  ticket.  He  assisted  in  the  organization 
of  the  Roger  Mills  County  Medical  Society,  was  one  of 
the  early  presidents  of  the  same  and  still  continued  one 
of  its  appreciative  and  valued  members,  besides  which 
he  is  identified  with  the  Oklahoma  State  Medical  Society 
and  the  American  Medical  Association.  Doctor  and  Mrs. 
Miller  are  zealous  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church  South,  in  which  he  has  served  in  official  positions 
for  forty  years,  his  service  having  been  in  the  capacities 
of  steward,  trustee,  Sunday-school  superintendent,  etc. 
He  is  past  master  of  Cheyenne  Lodge,  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons ; past  high  priest  of  Cheyenne  Chapter, 
Royal  Arch  Masons;  and  affiliated  also  with  Cheyenne 
Council,  Royal  and  Select  Masters,  as  well  as  with  the 
eommandery  of  Knight  Templars  at  Elk  City,  Beckham 
County.  lie  holds  membership  in  the  Cheyenne  Camp 
of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World  and  was  formerly  in  active 
affiliation  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 

At  Jefferson,  Texas,  in  1881,  was  solemnized  the  mar- 
riage of  Doctor  Miller  to  Miss  Ruth  Bookman,  daughter 
of  the  late  Michael  Bockman,  a substantial  farmer  of 
that  state.  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Miller  have  two  children — 
Thomas  Madden,  who  holds  a responsible  executive  posi- 
tion with  the  Collins  Investment  Company,  at  Oklahoma 
City;  and  Volina,  who  is  the  wife  of  Taylor  Lee  Miller, 
a representative  dry  goods  merchant  of  Cheyenne. 

J.  R.  Pearson.  In  the  development  and  improvement 
of  the  old  Osage  country,  J.  R.  Pearson  has  for  thirty- 


five  years  supplied  the  important  elements  of  individual 
enthusiasm  and  enterprise.  He  has  spent  most  of  his 
active  career  in  this  part  of  Oklahoma,  and  has  had 
unusual  opportunities  for  judging  the  country  and  for 
participating  in  its  affairs,  and  there  is  probably  no 
citizen  of  Pawhuska  who  is  considered  more  vitally  and 
substantially  related  with  local  development  than  Mr. 
Pearson. 

Born  in  Andrew  County,  Missouri,  February  29,  1852, 
he  has  had  a life  of  varied  experience  beginning  with 
boyhood.  His  parents  were  William  Madison  and  Delilah 
(Hunter)  Pearson.  His  father  was  born  in  Kentucky, 
but  was  reared  in  Missouri,  the  grandparents  having 
settled  as  pioneers  in  the  northwestern  quarter  of  that 
state.  Grandfather  Nathaniel  Pearson  died  in  North- 
ern Kansas  at  the  age  of  ninety  and  William  M.  Pearson 
passed  away  May  30,  1912,  at  the  age  of  eighty-nine, 
in  Maryville,  Missouri,  and  both  had  spent  all  their 
active  careers  as  blacksmiths.  Mr.  Pearson ’s  mother, 
who  was  born  in  Missouri  of  a pioneer  family,  died  when 
her  son  was  four  years  of  age.  The  latter  is  now  the 
only  one  living  out  of  a family  of  four  girls  and  two 
boys,  and  there  were  also  two  sons  by  his  father’s 
second  marriage. 

When  he  was  thirteen  years  of  age  J.  R.  Pearson  left 
home  on  account  of  incompatibility  with  his  step-mother, 
and  thenceforth  largely  made  his  own  way  in  the  world.  He 
lived  a few  years  with  his  older  sisters  and  then  rambled 
from  place  to  place,  paying  his  way  by  day  or  monthly 
labor,  largely  engaged  in  railroad  work  in  different  sec- 
tions of  Missouri. 

It  was  in  1878,  while  still  in  search  of  a permanent 
home,  that  J.  R.  Pearson  arrived  in  the  Osage  country. 
Here,  on  July  4,  1878,  he  married  Miss  Rosa  Denoya, 
■vyho  was  born  in  Washington  Territory  August  26,  1864. 
She  died  at  her  home  in  Pawhuska,  January  26,  1913, 
at  the  age  of  forty-nine.  She  had  come  to  Indian 
Territory  with  her  parents  in  1873,  and  received  her  edu- 
cation in  the  government  schools.  Her  parents  were 
Francis  and  Martha  (Tessett)  Denoya,  her  father  a full- 
blooded  Frenchman  and  her  mother  of  part  French  and 
part  Osage  stock.  Her  mother  died  at  Pawhuska  May 
23,  1913,  in  her  eighty-fifth  year,  and  it  is  said  that 
she  was  the  mother,  grandmother,  great-grandmother, 
and  great-great-grandmother  to  more  children  in  the 
Osage  tribe  than  any  other  living  woman.  She  was 
twice  married,  the  father  of  Mrs.  Pearson  having  died 
about  twenty-seven  years  ago. 

In  order  to  support  his  wife,  Mr.  Pearson  for  several 
years  after  his  marriage  worked  at  wages  of  fifty  cents 
a day,  but  soon  engaged  in  ranching  and  stock  raising, 
and  has  lived  continuously  in  what  is  now  Osage  County 
with  the  exception  of  a few  years  spent  at  Cedarvale, 
Kansas,  where  he  was  giving  his  children  the  advantages 
of  the  local  schools.  He  and  each  of  his  children  now 
have  allotments  of  land  amounting  to  657  acres  each, 
and  he  is  one  of  the  large  property  holders  over  Osage 
County.  Besides  his  land  he  is  a stockholder  in  the 
Pawhuska  Oil  and  Gas  Company,  the  largest  corporation 
operating  in  that  industry  in  Osage  County;  is  also  a 
stockholder  in  the  oil  and  gas  company  of  which  J.  W. 
Stroud  is  president;  is  a stockholder  in  the  Citizens 
National  Bank  of  Pawhuska.  For  a number  of  years 
he  has  also  carried  on  an  individual  business  as  a money 
lender. 

In  1908  Mr.  Pearson  erected  what  is  considered  one 
of  the  most  attractive  homes  in  Pawhuska,  known  as 
Pearson  Heights,  adjoining  the  city  limits  at  the  south- 
west corner.  The  house  is  itself  a commodious  and  at- 
tractive one,  and  stands  on  a site  that  commands  an 
extensive  and  beautiful  view  not  only  of  the  city,  but  of 
a large  scope  of  surrounding  country.  The  house  is 


: 


1783 


1535239 

HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


surrounded  by  120  acres  of  well  improved  land,  and  that 
is  the  center  of  Mr.  Pearson's  continued  interests  in  the 
stock  business.  He  still  keeps  a large  number  of  horses, 
and  has  some  especially  fine  strains  represented  in  this 
class  of  stock. 

In  politics  he  is  a republican.  In  Masonry  he  has  been 
through  both  the  York  and  Scottish  Rite  branches  as 
far  as  he  could  go,  and  was  one  of  the  first  men  in  the 
Osage  country  to  take  the  thirty-two  degrees  of  the 
Scottish  Rite  Consistory.  He  is  a member  of  the  Con- 
sistory at  Guthrie  and  the  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine 
at  Oklahoma  City,  and  belongs  to  the  various  other 
branches  represented  at  Pawhuska.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Pearson  were  born  a large  family  of  eleven  children: 
Claude,  who  died  at  the  age  of  four  years;  Cartona,  who 
died  at  seven  years;  October,  who  lives  at  Pearson  Spur 
in  Osage  County,  and  is  married  and  has  five  children; 
Della,  who  died  at  the  age  of  six  years;  Madeline,  wife 
of  Robert  E.  Wynn,  living  in  Osage  County,  and  the 
mother  of  four  children;  Cordelia,  wife  of  Prank  R. 
Kent  of  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  and  the  mother  of  two 
children;  Lillian,  wife  of  J.  P.  Compehaver  of  Inde- 
pendence, Kansas,  and  the  mother  of  one  child;  Bertha, 
wife  of  Grover  Badey  of  Osage  County,  and  the  mother 
of  two  children;  Catherine  V.,  Joseph  W.  and  Rosa  V., 
all  living  at  home  with  their  father. 

Lucien  Albert  Pellet.  Since  1908  Mr.  Pelley  has 
been  a resident  of  Altus,  has  been  an  active  and  suc- 
cessful member  of  the  Jackson  County  bar  for  the  past 
four  years  and  even  for  a longer  time  has  been  a very 
influential  figure  in  the  political  life  of  Jackson  County. 

Born  in  Casey  County,  Kentucky,  April  25,  1881,  he 
was  reared  front  the  age  of  seven  principally  on  his 
father’s  farm  in  Bates  County,  Missouri,  and  while 
there  had  the  benefit  of  country  schools.  He  also  finished 
the  junior  year  in  the  State  Normal  School  at  War- 
rensburg,  and  subsequently  took  a business  course  at 
Sedalia,  Missouri.  He  has  had  to  pick  and  choose  his 
own  opportunities  for  the  most  part,  and  with  an  ambi- 
tion to  become  a lawyer,  went  through  considerable 
practice  and  experience  before  reaching  that  goal.  Mr. 
Pelley  came  to  Altus,  Oklahoma,  in  1908,  and  during 
1909  was  deputy  county  clerk  of  Jackson  County.  He 
finally  accumulated  a sufficient  sum  to  put  him  through 
law  school,  and  in  1911  was  graduated  LL.  B.  from  the 
law  department  of  Cumberland  University  at  Lebanon, 
Tennessee.  Returning  to  Oklahoma,  he  was  admitted  to 
the  bar  in  the  same  year,  and  is  now  well  established  in 
his  profession,  looking  after  a large  and  growing  civil 
• and  criminal  practice,  and  his  offices  are  in  the  court- 
house at  Altus. 

He  represents  an  old  southern  family,  and  his  fore- 
fathers were  prominent  farmers  and  stock  breeders  in 
Kentucky.  It  was  his  great-great-grandfather  who  emi- 
grated from  England  and  established  this  branch  of  the 
Pelley  family  in  Virginia,  and  out  of  that  state  his  great- 
grandfather moved  into  Casey  County,  Kentucky,  where 
he  was  numbered  among  the  pioneer  settlers.  Mr. 
Pelley 's  grandfather  was  widely  known  over  his  section 
of  Kentucky  as  Doc  Pelley,  was  born  and  reared  and 
spent  all  his  life  in  Casey  County,  where  he  was  well 
known  as  a stock  raiser,  and  for  fifty  years  owned  and 
operated  the  largest  mill  in  that  section  of  the  state. 
His  death  occurred  before  the  Altus  attorney  was  born. 
The  latter’s  father  is  Z.  T.  Pelley,  who  was  born  in 
Casey  County,  Kentucky,  in  1853  and  is  now  in  business 
in  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  He  moved  from  Casey  County 
to  Bates  County,  Missouri,  in  1888,  and  since  1912  has 
lived  in  Kansas  City.  His  career  has  been  largely  that 
of  a farmer  and  stock  raiser,  but  after  selling  his  place 


in  Bates  County,  Missouri,  he  spent  several  years  as  a 
traveling  salesman.  He  is  an  active  member  of  the 
Christian  Church,  and  for  many  years  has  held  some 
official  position  in  his  home  church.  Z.  T.  Pelley  mar- 
ried Miss  Dolly  Ermine  Mayes,  who  was  born  in  Casey 
County,  Kentucky,  in  1863.  Lucien  A.  is  the  oldest 
of  their  five  children.  Wilma,  the  next  in  age,  is  the 
wife  of  James  M.  Dillard,  who  is  an  attorney  and 
formerly  served  as  county  attorney  of  Jackson  County 
and  is  now  living  at  Carlsbad,  New  Mexico.  Zula  T. 
is  a deputy  county  clerk  of  Jackson  County,  Oklahoma. 
Carl  Estel  is  a rancher  at  Craig,  Colorado,  and  the  next 
younger  brother,  Cecil  Alton,  is  associated  with  him  in 
that  industry. 

Lucien  A.  Pelley  is  a democrat  in  politics,  is  a deacon 
in  the  Christian  Church  at  Altus,  is  a member  of  Altus 
Lodge  No.  62,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and 
is  past  grand  of  Altus  Lodge  No.  134,  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows,  and  is  also  past  chief  patriarch  of  the 
local  encampment  of  Odd  Fellows.  He  also  belongs  to 
Altus  Lodge  No.  1226  of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective 
Order  of  Elks.  Professionally  he  is  a member  of  the 
County  and  State  Bar  Association,  and  takes  much  in- 
terest in  the  work  of  the  local  Commercial  Club,  and  is  a 
member  of  the  large  Cumberland  Alumni  Association 
found  in  the  State  of  Oklahoma.  As  a democrat  he  is  a 
member  of  the  Young  Men’s  Democratic  Club,  has  regu- 
larly attended  the  County  and  State  Democratic  conven- 
tions of  recent  years,  and  is  a candidate  for  the  office  of 
county  attorney  of  Jackson  County. 

George  B.  Pope.  A progressive  and  enterprising 
citizen  of  Hydro,  Oklahoma,  is  George  B.  Pope,  who 
came  to  this  city  in  1901  and  who  has  here  been  engaged 
in  the  banking  business  since  1908.  He  was  elected  presi- 
dent of  the  Hydro  State  Bank  in  1909,  and  is  now 
president  of  the  First  National  Bank.  He  has  always 
manifested  a deep  and  sincere  interest  in  public  affairs 
and  is  serving  his  second  term  as  city  councilman.  The  • 
Pope  family  came  originally  from  Scotland  and  members 
of  the  name  were  pioneers  in  Indiana,  Missouri  and 
Kansas. 

George  B.  Pope  was  born  at  Emporia,  Kansas,  January 
7,  1873,  and  he  is  a son  of  John  Pope,  whose  birth 
occurred  in  the  vicinity  of  Indianapolis,  Indiana,  in  1833. 
John  Pope  removed  from  the  Hoosier  state  to  Missouri 
as  a young  man  and  at  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war 
enlisted  for  service  in  the  Union  army  as  a private  in 
the  Fifth  Missouri  Cavalry.  He  served  for  a period  of 
four  years,  during  which  time  he  participated  in  many 
important  battles  marking  the  progress  of  the  war,  at 
one  time  he  was  taken  prisoner  and  was  later  exchanged. 
He  was  a pioneer  settler  in  Emporia,  Kansas,  after  the 
war,  and  although  he  was  a contractor  and  builder  by 
trade  he  devoted  his  attention  to  farming  for  many 
years.  He  helped  build  the  first  brick  building  ever 
erected  at  Atchison,  Kansas,  and  he  was  at  Wichita, 
Kansas,  when  that  city  was  nothing  but  an  Indian  trad- 
ing post.  In  1880  he  removed  with  his  family  to  Cald- 
well, Kansas,  and  that  was  before  the  railroad  was 
built.  He  came  to  Oklahoma  in  1893,  and  took  up  a 
homestead  in  Garfield  County.  In  recent  years  he  has 
lived  retired  at  Enid,  Oklahoma,  and  there  he  and  his 
devoted  wife  are  held  in  high  esteem  by  their  fellow 
citizens.  At  Maryville,  Missouri,  Mr.  Pope  was  united 
in  marriage  to  Miss  Susan  E.  Bishop,  who  was  born  in 
Tennessee,  in  1843.  It  is  interesting  to  note  that  the 
Bishop  family  was  driven  out  of  Tennessee  on  account 
of  sympathy  with  the  Union  cause  during  the  Civil  war. 
Mr.  Bishop  hired  a yoke  of  oxen  and  removed  the  house- 
hold goods  to  Indiana,  he  and  the  children  being  com- 


1784 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


pelled  to  walk  most  of  the  way.  Five  children  were 
born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Pope,  as  follows:  Capitola  is  the 
wife  of  J.  P.  Clapp,  a merchant  at  Hillsdale,  Okla- 
homa; Robert  R.  is  a merchant  at  Hillsdale;  George  B. 
is  the  subject  of  this  sketch;  William  is  a rural  mail 
carrier  at  Hillsdale;  and  Katy  is  the  wife  of  H.  C.  Lacy, 
cashier  of  the  Bank  of  Hydro. 

Under  the  invigorating  discipline  of  farm  life  George 
B.  Pope  grew  to  maturity  and  he  attended  public  school 
and  high  school  at  Caldwell,  Kansas.  He  came  to  Okla- 
homa with  his  parents  in  1893  and  proved  up  a claim  on 
the.  Cherokee  Strip.  Subsequently  he  removed  to  Carrier, 
this  state,  and  there  entered  into  the  general  mercantile 
business,  also  having  charge  of  the  postoffice  before 
the  railroad  was  built.  In  1901  he  came  to  Hydro  and 
here  was  most  successfully  engaged  in  the  implement 
business  until  1908,  when  he  turned  his  attention  to  bank- 
ing. For  one  year  he  served  as  vice  president  of  the 
Hydro  State  Bank,  now  the  First  National  Bank,  and 
at  that  time  it  was  capitalized  at  only  $5,000.  He  was 
made  president  of  that  institution  in  1909  and  is  still  serv- 
ing with  the  utmost  efficiency  in  that  capacity.  He  is 
possessed  of  remarkable  business  acumen  and  much  of 
the  bank’s  success  is  traced  to  his  good  judgment.  He 
is  a republican  in  politics  and  is  now  serving  his  second 
term  on  the  city  council.  While  a resident  of  Garfield 
County  he  was  a member  of  the  school  board.  In  a fra- 
ternal way  Mr.  Pope  is  affiliated  with  Hydro  Lodge  No. 
230,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  of  which  he  is 
past  master;  Weatherford  Chapter,  Royal  Arch  Masons; 
Weatherford  Commandery,  Knights  Templar;  Valley  of 
Guthrie  Consistory  No.  1,  thirty-second  degree;  India 
Temple,  Ancient  Arabic  Order  Nobles  of  the  Mystic 
Shrine,  at  Oklahoma  City;  Hydro  Chapter,  Order  of  the 
Eastern  Star;  and  Hydro  Lodge,  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America. 

Mr.  Pope  has  been  twice  married.  In  1898  he  married 
Miss  Zue  Carrier,  a daughter  of  S.  E.  Carrier,  a farmer 
prior  to  his  demise.  She  died  at  Eureka  Springs, 
Arkansas,  in  1900.  For  his  second  wife  Mr.  Pope  mar- 
ried, at  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  Miss  Pearl  Orr,  a daugh- 
ter of  William  Orr,  now  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Pope 
have  two  children:  Eugene,  born  October  24,  1908;  and 
Olive,  born  December  20,  1910.  In  religious  faith  the 
Popes  are  devout  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church,  and  they  are  popular  factors  in  the  social 
life  of  Hydro. 

Sterling  Price  Smith.  As  an  educator  Mr.  Smith  has 
unusual  qualifications  and  experience.  He  is  a man  of 
liberal  education,  was  admitted  a number  of  years  ago 
to  the  Texas  bar,  though  he  has  practiced  very  little,  is 
a practical  surveyor,  and  his  varied  associations  with 
men  and  affairs  are  a splendid  foundation  for  his  work 
as  superintendent  of  the  city  schools  of  Grandfield. 

His  father  was  a Confederate  soldier  and  named  his 
son,  who  was  born  near  Burleson,  Franklin  County,  Ala- 
bama, August  14,  1862,  in  honor  of  the  great  Confederate 
leader  under  whom  the  father  was  at  that  time  serving. 
The  Smith  family  came  from  England,  and  grandfather 
Frank  Smith  was  a soldier  under  Francis  Marion  in  the 
Revolutionary  war.  F.  M.  Smith,  father  of  the  Grand- 
field school  superintendent,  was  born  in  Georgia  in  1828 
and  died  at  Garner,  Texas,  in  1896.  The  year  following 
his  birth,  in  1829,  his  parents  removed  to  Calhoun 
County,  Alabama,  and  he  grew  up  there  and  married. 
He  was  a farmer  by  occupation,  lived  for  a number  of 
years  in  Franklin  County,  and  finally  established  his 
home  at  Garner,  Texas.  In  1861  he  entered  the  Con- 
federate army  with  an  Alabama  regiment,  was  with 
Price  in  his  campaign  in  -Mississippi,  was  with  Johnston 


at  Corinth,  and  after  the  reorganization  of  the  Con- 
federate army  was  under  the  command  of  Lee  in  Vir- 
ginia, and  participated  in  all  the  battles  and  campaigns 
leading  up  to  Appomattox.  In  politics  he  was  a loyal 
democrat.  The  maiden  name  of  his  wife  was  Jane 
Scheneks,  who  was  born  in  Alabama  and  now  lives  in 
Garner,  Texas.  To  their  marriage  were  born  twelve 
children:  Floyd,  who  died  at  the  age  of  eight  years  in 

Calhoun  County,  Alabama;  Laura,  wife  of  John  Wil- 
liams, a farmer  in  Franklin  County,  Alabama;  Flora, 
whose  husband  is  J.  M.  Sullivan,  a farmer  at  Garner, 
Texas;  Maggie,  who  married  P.  M.  Inzer,  a druggist  at 
Savoy,  Texas;  W.  L.,  who  is  a farmer  near  Mineral 
Wells,  Texas;  Sterling  P. ; Kate,  who  died  after  her 
marriage  to  Mr.  Davis,  a farmer  now  living  in  Franklin 
County,  Alabama;  Fannie,  wife  of  Thomas  Hefrin,  who 
is  in  the  employ  of  the  Government  at  El  Paso,  Texas; 
Frank,  who  died  at  the  age  of  three  years;  and  Mary 
and  Elizabeth,  both  of  whom  died  early  in  childhood; 
and  Dena,  wife  of  Gus  Bumgarner,  a farmer  at  Garner. 

Sterling  Price  Smith  attended  the  public  schools  of 
Franklin  County,  Alabama,  also  the  Burleson  Academy, 
and  for  three  terms  was  in  the  high  school  at  Honey 
Grove,  Texas.  In  1891  he  graduated  Bachelor  of  Science 
from  the  Central  College  at  Sulphur  Springs,  Texas,  sub- 
sequently took  two  years  work  in  the  Texas  Christian 
University  at  Waco,  this  university  being  now  at  Fort 
Worth,  and  was  graduated  A.  M.  in  1897.  In  the  mean- 
time he  had  followed  teaching  for  a number  of  terms, 
read  law,  and  in  1899  was  admitted  to  the  Texas  bar. 
For  four  years  Mr.  Smith  was  county  surveyor  of  Fannin 
County,  Texas.  In  1907  he  removed  to  Mill  Creek,  Okla- 
homa, was  a teacher  there  one  year,  was  superintendent 
of  schools  at  Lindsay  one  year,  principal  of  ward  schools 
in  Paul’s  Valley  for  two  years  and  then  for  one  year 
was  principal  of  schools  at  Stratford,  Oklahoma.  Mr. 
Smith  came  to  Grandfield  to  take  the  superintendency 
of  the  city  schools  in  1913.  Though  Grandfield  is  a 
comparatively  new  town,  it  has  an  excellent  public  school 
system,  and  Mr.  Smith  is  at  the  head  of  a corps  of  six 
teachers  and  the  total  enrollment  in  the  schools  numbers 
310.  Mr.  Smith  has  never  found  any  work  quite  so 
attractive  as  school  work,  and  is  not  only  ambitious  for 
the  best  attainments  as  a school  executive  but  also  for 
continued  advancement  in  individual  scholarship.  He 
was  engaged  as  a teacher  for  one  summer  term  in  the 
Ada  Normal  School  at  Ada,  Oklahoma,  and  has  been 
taking  special  studies  through  that  institution  and 
received  a diploma  in  1913.  He  also  spent  one  summer 
term  in  the  University  of  Chicago  and  is  now  working 
on  his  tenth  college  credit.  He  belongs  to  several  of 
the  school  associations,  is  a member  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church  South  and  was  formerly  identified  with 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Knights 
of  Pythias. 

On  August  25,  1897,  Mr.  Smith  was  married  at  Savoy, 
Texas,  to  Miss  Frankie  Chenoweth,  whose  father,  Thomas 
Chenoweth,  is  now  a retired  property  owner  at  Sabinal, 
Texas.  To  their  marriage  have  been  born  four  children: 
Sterling  D.,  a junior  in  the  high  school  at  Grandfield; 
Leta  Mae,  a sophomore  in  the  high  school;  Elizabeth,  in 
the  sixth  grade,  and  Jennie  Lou,  who  is  in  the  fourtli 
grade  of  the  public  schools. 

A.  C.  Bradshaw.  It  is  nearly  fifteen  years  since  A. 
C.  Bradshaw  came  into  the  western  part  of  Oklahoma 
Territory  and  was  first  known  to  the  people  of  what 
is  now  Roger  Mills  County  as  a teacher.  He  has  since 
extended  his  interests  to  various  other  affairs,  has  per- 
formed much  official  service  and  is  now  proprietor  and 
editor  of  the  Leedey  Times  at  Leedey. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1785' 


The  Bradshaw  family  to  which  he  belongs  came  from 
England  to  Virginia  during  colonial  times.  A.  C.  Brad- 
shaw himself  was  born  in  Adair  County,  Missouri,  Decem- 
ber 3,  1874.  His  father,  Joseph  R.  Bradshaw,  was  born 
in  Kentucky  in  1845  and  died  in  Sullivan  County,  Mis- 
souri, in  1899.  From  Kentucky  he  removed  to  Adair 
County,  Missouri,  and  though  only  a boy  at  the  time  in 
1861  enlisted  in  the  Second  Missouri  Cavalry,  and  went 
through  the  entire  conflict,  coming  out  with  a gallant 
record  of  military  duty  well  performed.  Returning  to 
Adair  County,  he  took  up  the  pursuits  of  farming  and 
stock  raising,  and  from  there  in  1890  moved  to  Sullivan 
County.  As  a man  who  had  fought  on  the  Union  side 
during  the  war  he  naturally  affiliated  with  the  republican 
party.  He  was  a member  of  the  Missionary  Baptist 
Church.  Joseph  R.  Bradshaw  married  Mary  S.  Thornton, 
who  was  born  in  Georgia  in  1848,  and  is  still  living,  her 
home  being  with  A.  C.  Bradshaw  at  Leedey.  Their 
children  were:  William  T.,  a carpenter  and  contractor 

at  Wichita  Falls,  Texas;  John,  a farmer  in  Adair  County, 
Missouri;  A.  O. ; Cassie,  wife  of  John  I.  Starkey,  a farmer 
and  stock  raiser  in  Kingman  County,  Kansas;  and  Valley 
E.,  wife  of  Albert  A.  Butler,  a clerk  in  the  B.  & O.  Cash 
Store  at  Leedey. 

The  primary  fact  in  the  career  of  A.  C.  Bradshaw  has 
been  a propelling  self  effort  toward  larger  accomplish- 
ment. As  a boy  he  had  to  be  content  with  such  education 
as  the  public  schools  of  Adair  County  could  supply  him, 
but  later  he  paid  for  a course  in  the  State  Normal  School 
at  Kirksville  for  one  year  in  1896.  He  then  took  up 
teaching  in  Adair  County,  and  in  1901  arrived  in  what 
was  then  Oklahoma  Territory,  and  was  employed  for  a 
year  as  teacher  in  the  public  schools  at  Angora  in  what 
later  became  Roger  Mills  County.  He  also  homesteaded 
a claim  of  160  acres,  proved  up  on  his  land,  and  that  is 
still  included  among  his  business  assets.  The  farm  is 
nine  miles  southwest  of  Leedey.  In  the  meantime,  as  he 
became  better  acquainted  with  the  people  and  the  people 
became  better  acquainted  with  his  capabilities,  he  was 
the  recipient  of  various  honors  and  responsibilities  of  a 
public  nature.  In  1905  he  was  appointed  United  States 
commissioner,  and  held  that  office  until  Oklahoma  became 
a state  in  1907.  In  1906  he  was  appointed  postmaster 
of  Texmo,  and  held  that  office  until  the  postoffice  was 
discontinued  on  August  15,  1915. 

His  work  in  the  newspaper  field  began  in  1907,  when 
he  leased  the  Texmo  Times.  He  later  bought  the  plant 
and  in  June,  1911,  removed  the  paper  to  Leedy,  where 
it  is  now  known  as  the  Leedey  Times,  with  Mr.  Bradshaw 
as  editor  and  proprietor.  It  is  a republican  paper,  and 
has  a large  circulation  throughout  Dewey,  Custer,  Roger 
Mills,  Ellis  and  other  counties.  Mr.  Bradshaw  owns  the 
plant  and  building  in  which  the  paper  is  published  on 
Broadway.  He  also  owns  one  of  the  finest  residences  of 
the  town,  situated  on  Phillips  Street. 

In  politics  Mr.  Bradshow  is  himself  aligned  with  the 
republican  interests;  is  a member  of  the  Baptist  Church; 
is  affiliated  with  Leedey  Lodge  No.  443,  Ancient  Free 
and  Accepted  Masons;  is  past  noble  grand  in  Leedey 
Lodge  No.  369,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows;  is 
past  consul  of  Camp  No.  15436  of  the  Modern  Woodmen 
of  America  at  Leedey.  As  a newspaper  man  belongs  to 
the  Oklahoma  State  Press  Association. 

In  1899,  in  Sullivan  County,  Missouri,  he  married  Miss 
Effie  Belle  Wilkin,  daughter  of  Jacob  Wilkin,  who  is 
now  a resident  of  Oklahoma,  a farmer  eight  miles  south- 
west of  Leedey.  Mrs.  Bradshaw  died  April  22,  1915, 
leaving  three  children:  Raymond  Dale,  who  died  at  the 

age  of  seven  years  in  1907 ; Eugene  Lyle,  a student  in 
the  Leedey  public  schools;  and  an  infant  son,  Harvey 
Dean. 


S.  S.  Lawrence  is  the  Choctaw  tribal  attorney  at  Ant- 
lers, an  office  in  which  he  has  given  most  creditable  serv- 
ice during  the  past  two  years.  He  is  a bright  young 
lawyer,  and  most  of  his  practice  has  been  in  the  south- 
eastern section  of  Oklahoma. 

The  office  of  probate  attorney  in  former  Indian  nations 
of  Oklahoma  has  proved  its  particular  value  in  the  fact 
that  the  Indians,  thousands  of  whom  for  years  have 
been  victimized  by  unscrupulous  white  men,  have  been 
taught  to  counsel  with  the  man  the  United  States  Gov- 
ernment has  placed  among  them  for  that  purpose.  The 
duties  of  a probate  attorney,  an  office  that  was  created 
only  a few  years  ago,  were  not  specifically  stated  in  any 
statute  or  department  regulations,  and  when  Secretary 
Franklin  K.  Lane  of  the  Interior  Department  distributed 
its  commissions  to  young  lawyers  of  Oklahoma  they  were 
supposed  to  learn  for  themselves  what  was  necessary 
in  becoming  counsel  to  the  wards  of  the  government 
over  whom  they  were  placed.  The  office  has  supplied 
the  needs  of  that  quality  in  the  Indians  which  once 
caused  them  to  be  denominated  children  of  the  forest, 
the  quality  of  dependence  and  succor.  This  is  the  begin- 
ning of  the  successful  administration  the  probate  attor- 
neys should  have,  for  it  has  acquainted  them  with  every 
form  and  . character  of  need  the  Indian  experiences. 

The  dependence  of  Choctaw  Indians  in  Pushmataha 
County,  for  instance,  is  exemplified  in  the  character  of 
advice  sought  of  Attorney  Lawrence.  He  recalls  that 
one  Indian  who  once  belonged  to  the  Clan  of  Snakes, 
wanted  to  borrow  $5  at  a bank.  The  loan  was  made, 
on  the  Indian’s  unsecured  note,  and  gladly,  for  he  is 
honest.  A few  days  later  this  Indian  came  back  to  Mr. 
Lawrence,  rather  than  going  to  the  bank  for  the  infor- 
mation, and  inquired  when  the  note  would  mature. 
Many  Indians  ask  the  attorney  where  to  buy  provisions 
and  clothes,  and  while  he  probably  could  not  conscien- 
tiously make  any  recommendations  of  that  nature,  he  is 
in  position  to  guard  the  Indian  against  trading  with  a 
merchant  whom  he  knows  would  make  exorbitant  charges 
for  his  goods.  Indians  ask  the  attorney  to  rent  or 
lease  their  lands,  collect  their  debts,  write  their  cheeks, 
pass  upon  their  legal  instruments,  etc.  It  is  not  obliga- 
tory upon  an  Indian  that  he  consult  the  attorney  regard- 
ing mortgages,  transfers,  notes,  etc.,  yet  he  is  learning 
that  it  is  best  to  do  so.  While  the  labors  of  the  attorney 
are  burdensome  and  he  has  to  hear  all  manner  of  trivial 
complaints,  requests  and  tales,  he  nevertheless  is  learning 
the  secret  of  what  economists  for  many  years  have  called 
the  Indian  problem.  The  attainment  of  this  knowledge 
has  convinced  Mr.  Lawrence  that  the  position  of  pro- 
bate attorney  should  not  be  a political  one. 

. An  example  of  the  reformatory  character  of  the  at- 
torney’s work  is  found  in  the  case  of  Abel  Noah,  all  his 
life  until  recently  a member  of  the  Clan  of  Snakes  who 
recognize  no  government,  accept  no  patents,  sell  oi 
lease  no  lands,  and  receive  no  pay  from  the  Government. 
Noah  recently  was  convinced  that  his  attitude  toward  the 
Government  was  wrong,  and  he  consented  to  sell  some 
of  his  land,  a valuable  fertile  tract  in  Bryan  County. 
The  sale  was  executed  after  some  technical  reverses  had 
been  remedied,  and  Noah  came  into  possession  of  $1,600 
of  good  American  money.  He  spent  it  with  spirit  and 
relish,,  and  since  that  time  has  been  accepting  all  that 
other  Indians  get  from  the  Government.  He  has  seen 
the  light  after  many  years  of  Snake  darkness. 

There  are  about  5,000  Indians  in  the  district  assigned 
Mr.  Lawrence,  which  comprises  Pushmataha  and  Choc- 
taw counties.  A part  of  each  week  he  spends  in  Hugo. 
In  Antlers  he  offices  with  Principal  Chief  Victor  M. 
Locke,  Jr.,  of  the  Choctaw  Nation,  and  it  is  a little  mat- 


1786 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


ter  of  interest  that  the  principal  chief,  whose  whole 
ambition  is  to  be  of  service  to  his  people,  frequently 
acts  as  interpreter  for  the  probate  attorney.  It  was 
Chief  Locke  who  first  introduced  Mr.  Lawrence  in  the 
Indian  service.  On  March  18,  1914,  Mr.  Lawrence 
was  selected  and  commissioned  by  Chief  Locke  as  pro- 
bate attorney  for  a district  of  the  Choctaw  Nation.  On 
July  first  following  he  received  his  commission  from  the 
Secretary  of  the  Interior. 

Of  an  old  Southern  family,  S.  S.  Lawrence  was  born 
in  Surry  County,  North  Carolina,  June  25,  1884,  a son 
of  P.  W.  and  C.  O.  (Gordon)  Lawrence.  His  father, 
who  now  at  the  age  of  eighty-two  lives  at  Pilot  Moun- 
tain, North  Carolina,  is  a veteran  of  the  war  between 
the  states,  and  has  spent  most  of  his  active  life  as  an 
agriculturist.  He  lives  at  the  place  where  he  settled 
more  than  half  a century  ago,  loved  and  tenderly  revered 
by  the  entire  community.  Other  children  besides  the 
Antlers  attorney  are:  J.  E.  Lawrence,  a traveling  sales- 
man in  New  York;  and  Miss  Victoria  Lawrence,  who 
lives  with  her  parents  in  North  Carolina. 

After  attending  the  public  schools  of  his  home  county, 
Mr.  Lawrence  completed  a course  in  law  in  the  Univer- 
sity of  North  Carolina,  receiving  his  LL.  B.  degree  in 
1908.  On  the  first  of  December  of  that  year  he  began 
practice  at  Mount  Airy,  North  Carolina.  Then  with  two 
or  three  years  of  practical  experience  to  his  credit,  he 
came  to  Oklahoma  and  on  August  1,  1911,  located  in 
Antlers,  where  he  was  making  promising  progress  in 
the  acquirement  of  a profitable  private  practice  until 
appointed  to  his  present  position  as  probate  attorney. 

On  August  28,  1912,  at  Mount  Airy,  North  Carolina, 
he  married  Miss  Roberta  Vance  Price,  a great-niece  of 
Zeb  Vance,  who  many  years  ago  was  a United  States 
senator  from  North  Carolina.  Mr.  Lawrence  is  a mem- 
ber of  the  Presbyterian  Church.  Fraternally  he  is  a 
Mason  and  belongs  to  the  Pushmataha  Bar  Association. 
Mrs.  Lawrence  is  a member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church,  South. 

James  C.  Tte.  In  several  different  communities  where 
he  has  lived,  both  in  Kentucky  and  Oklahoma,  James  C. 
Tye  has  helped  to  make  history.  In  fact  he  has  been  an 
energetic  factor  in  affairs  for  more  than  half  a century. 
Prior  to  that  he  was  a gallant  soldier  in  the  Civil  war 
and  made  a record  which  redounds  to  his  credit  and  to 
that  of  his  descendants.  Mr.  Tye  at  present  is  one  of 
the  officers  in  The  First  National  Bank  of  Bristow.  He 
helped  to  found  that  bank  and  also  to  found  the  town. 
That  he  is  a successful  business  man  goes  without  say- 
ing and  there  is  plenty  of  evidence  to  support  the  state- 
ment that  he  has  been  as  honorable  and  straightforward 
in  all  his  relations  as  he  has  been  prosperous. 

Of  an  old  Kentucky  family,  he  was  born  at  Lot,  May 
25,  1844,  a son  of  Hiram  and  Rachel  (Siles)  Tye.  His 
parents  were  also  born  in  Kentucky,  his  father  in  1814 
and  his  mother  in  1817.  All  their  lives  were  spent  on  a 
farm  near  Lot  in  Whitley  County,  where  the  father  died 
in  1855.  The  mother  survived  and  was  past  eighty  when 
called  away  by  death.  Hiram  Tye  was  a farmer  and 
stock  raiser  and  bought  and  Shipped  a great  many  hogs 
in  the  years  before  the  war.  In  the  family  were  four 
daughters  and  six  sons,  and  one  daughter  and  four  sons 
are  now  living.  Besides  James  Tye  his  older  brothers 
John  and  Henry  were  also  soldiers  in  the  Civil  war.  John 
served  for  three  years  and  Henry  for  eighteen  months. 
Both  James  and  John  enlisted  in  1861,  John  in  the 
Eighth  Kentucky  Infantry  and  James  in  the  Seventh 
Infantry.  The  brother  Henry  went  out  with  the  49th 
Kentucky  Regiment. 

In  the  meantime  James  C.  Tye  had  grown  up  in  his 


district  of  Kentucky,  had  received  the  rugged  discipline 
of  the  farm,  had  attended  the  common  schools  after  he 
learned  his  letters — probably  two  months,  and  that  when 
about  sixteen  years  old,  and  was  in  the  full  bloom  of 
early  manhood.  When  seventeen  years  of  age  he  re- 
sponded to  the  call  for  volunteers  to  put  down  the  south- 
ern rebellion,  and  on  August  20,  1861,  was  enrolled  in 
Company  G of  the  Seventh  Kentucky  Infantry.  He 
served  until  October,  1864,  a little  more  than  three  years. 
He  was  in  many  of  the  greatest  campaigns  which  cleared 
the  Mississippi  Valley  from  the  Confederate  forces.  He 
was  in  the  great  campaign  around  Vicksburg,  under 
Grant  and  Sherman.  For  much  of  the  time  he  had  the 
rank  of  sergeant,  and  during  the  Vicksburg  campaign  he 
was  detailed  as  a member  of  the  Pioneer  Corps  and  did 
part  of  the  heavy  work  involved  in  advancing  the  army 
over  the  difficult  ground  around  the  mighty  fortress  over 
the  Mississippi. 

After  the  war  Mr.  Tye  returned  to  his  native  village 
of  Lot,  and  took  up  farming.  He  also  conducted  a 
Kentucky  distillery  for  about  twenty  years. 

With  a good  deal  of  material  prosperity  to  his  credit, 
Mr.  Tye  came  out  to  Oklahoma  in  the  spring  of  1890, 
not  long  after  the  original  opening  of  lands.  His  first 
location  was  seven  miles  west  of  Edmond.  He  engaged 
in  farming  there,  but  soon  moved  to  Chandler,  and  three 
years  later  came  into  the  Creek  Nation  in  1894.  Since 
then  for  more  than  twenty  years  his  activities  have  iden- 
tified him  with  what  is  now  Creek  County.  • He  first 
leased  about  700  acres  of  farm  and  ranch  land  and  culti- 
vated it  to  crops  and  went  into  the  stock  business  on  an 
extensive  scale.  When  the  Town  of  Bristow  was  started 
he  came  into  the  village  bringing  two  carloads  of  lumber, 
and  set  up  as  the  first  lumber  merchant.  He  soon  sold 
the  two  carloads  of  lumber  which  he  brought,  and  it 
nearly  went  into  the  construction  of  the  pioneer  build- 
ings of  the  town. 

Along  with  other  parties  he  engaged  in  banking  when 
the  first  banking  facilities  were  given  to  Bristow.  He 
was  associated  with  the  old  Farmers  & Merchants  Bank, 
and  later  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  First  National 
Bank,  in  which  he  has  since  been  vice  president.  The 
other  officers  are  J.  W.  Teter,  president,  and  N.  T. 
Gilbert,  cashier.  A recent  statement  shows  that  the  total 
resources  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Bristow  are 
more  than  $249,000,  a splendid  showing  for  a bank  in  a 
town  of  that  size.  The  capital  stock  is  $25,000,  with 
over  $7,000  of  surplus  and  profits.  The  deposits  aggre- 
gated about  $180,000,  Besides  his  position  as  a banker 
Mr.  Tye  also  has  some  valuable  farming  interests  in  Okla- 
homa. He  is  also  associated  with  Mr.  B.  B.  Jones  in  the 
ownership  and  control  of  some  oil  interests  in  the  Bristow 
field. 

A lifelong  democrat,  Mr.  Tye  was  quite  interested  in 
politics  while  a resident  of  Kentucky,  but  has  done  little 
in  that  direction  in  Oklahoma.  He  held  some  minor 
offices,  though  he  was  never  a willing  candidate  for  such 
honors.  He  is  a member  of  the  Christian  Church  and 
affiliates  with  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic. 

On  March  23,  1865,  he  was  united  in  marriage  with 
Elizabeth  Brummet.  Mrs.  Tye  was  born  in  Whitley 
County,  Kentucky,  not  far  from  the  birthplace  of  her 
husband,  on  March  17,  1845,  a daughter  of  George  and 
Jane  (Lambdin)  Brummet,  who  spent  all  their  lives 
along  the  Cumberland  River  and  were  substantial  farm- 
ing people.  Five  children  were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.. 
Tye:  S.  Jane,  who  died  at  the  age  of  eighteen  months; 
Hiram,  who  is  an  attorney  practicing  law  at  Williams- 
burg, Kentucky;  John,  who  died  in  1910,  and  whose 
widow  and  two  children  live  at  Bristow;  George,  who 
died  in  infancy;  and  Ortha,  wife  of  J.  E.  Lurton  of 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1787 


Bristow.  Perhaps  at  the  conclusion  of  this  sketch  Mrs. 
Tye  should  be  allowed  a little  bit  of  testimony..  She 
says  that  she  has  lived  with  Mr.  Tye  for  fully  half  a 
century  and  that  he  measures  up  to  all  the  standards 
and  qualifications  of  a truly  good  man. 

Harry  G.  Jones.  In  his  varied  career  as  farmer, 
postmaster  and  newspaper  man  Harry  G.  Jones  has  met 
with  many  interesting  experiences  and  he  has  mani- 
fested a peculiar  aptitude  for  different  lines  of  endeavor. 
He  has  been  a loyal  and  public-spirited  resident  of 
Hydro  since  1901  and  since  1906  has  been  sole  pro- 
prietor and  editor  of  the  Hydro  Review,  a republican 
paper  with  an  extensive  circulation  throughout  this 
section  of  the  state. 

Harry  G.  Jones  was  born  in  Smith  County,  Kansas, 
October  9,  1879.  He  is  a son  of  Ora  and  Melvina 
(Rhodes)  Jones,  the  former  of  whom  was  born  in  Ohio, 
in  1835,  and  the  latter  in  Iowa,  in  1840.  As  a young 
man  Ora  Jones  removed  from  the  Buckeye  state  to  Iowa, 
was  married  there  and  then  went  to  California,  where 
he  enlisted  in  the  Civil  war  as  a Union  soldier.  His 
army  experience  consisted  mostly  in  subduing  the  Indians, 
whose  uprisings  were  a sore  trial  to  the  Federal  forces 
during  the  period  of  civil  strife.  Mr.  Jones  retained 
a deep  and  abiding  interest  in  his  comrades  at  arms 
and  indicated  the  same  by  membership  in  the  Grand 
Army  of  the  Republic.  After  the  close  of  the  war  he 
located  in  Smith  County,  Kansas,  arriving  there  several 
years  before  the  noted  grasshopper  year,  and  he  was 
engaged  in  farming  operations  arid  in  stock  raising  until 
he  retired,  in  1903,  to  Smith  Center,  where  his  death 
occurred  in  1908.  He  was  a republican  and  took  an 
active  interest  in  party  affairs.  He  served  on  the  town 
board  of  commissioners  for  a number  of  years  at  Smith 
Center  and  was  also  active  on  the  school,  board.  His 
cherished  and  devoted  wife,  whose  maiden  name  was  Mel- 
vina Rhodes,  survives  him  and  lives  at  Smith  Center, 
Kansas.  They  became  the  parents  of  the  following 
children:  Jennie,  married  to  A.  N.  Nye,  a retired  farmer, 
living  at  Franklin,  Nebraska;  Prue  married  F.  H.  Hous- 
ton, a farmer  near  Wharton,  Texas;  Clarence  E.  is 
station  agent  for  the  Missouri  Pacific  at  Anthony, 
Kansas;  Frank  and  Orin  C.  are  both  farmers  in  Smith 
County,  Kansas;  Dolly  is  the  wife  of  Warner  Sanford,  a 
merchant  at  Blessing,  Texas;  Harry  G.  is  the  subject  of 
this  sketch;  Carl  is  a baker  at  Belleville,  Kansas;  and 
May  is  the  wife  of  Milo  Stanley,  a farmer  in  Smith 
County,  Kansas. 

To  the  public  schools  of  his  native  place  Harry  G. 
Jones  is  indebted  for  his  preliminary  educational  train- 
ing. In  1896  he  became  rural  mail  carrier  at  Smith 
Center  and  two  years  later  he  turned  his  attention  to 
farming.  In  1901  he  drew  a homestead  four  miles  north- 
east of  Hydro,  Oklahoma,  and  lived  on  it  until  1907. 
In  1902  he  became  assistant  postmaster  at  Hydro  and 
for  eight  months  was  acting  postmaster.  He  disposed 
of  his  farm  in  1909  but  repurchased  it  in  1911,  and 
has  since  conducted  it  as  a stock  farm,  later  buying 
another  eighty-acre  tract  adjoining  the  farm.  He  owns 
250  head  of  hogs  in  addition  to  numerous  head  of  cattle 
and  horses.  July  1,  1904,  he  became  interested  in  the 
Hydro  Review,  becoming  associated  with  Dr.  W.  M. 
Wellman,  who  founded  the  paper  in  October,  1901.  Mr. 
Jones  obtained  control  of  this  publication  in  1905  and 
the  following  year  bought  up  the  interests  belonging 
to  Mrs.  Wellman.  The  paper  is  republican  in  its  poli- 
tics and  it  circulates  in  Caddo,  Blaine  and  Custer  Counties. 
The  offices  and  plant  are  located  on  Main  Street  and 
this  paper  has  the  distinction  of  being  the  only  one  in 
the  county  whose  plant  has  never  been  mortgaged.  In 


addition  to  his  other  numerous  interests  in  this  section 
Mr.  Jones  owns  a number  of  city  lots.  He  is  a republi- 
can in  politics  and  for  four  years  he  served  as  a mem- 
ber of  the  county  election  board.  He  is  a member  of 
the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  and  is  affiliated  with 
Hydro  Lodge  No.  230,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons. 

At  Hydro,  in  1907,  Mr.  Jones  was  united  in  marriage 
to  Miss  Irene  Smith,  a daughter  of  Mrs.  Alberta  Smith, 
of  Eaply,  Oklahoma.  Prior  to  her  marriage  Mrs.  Jones 
was  a popular  and  successful  teacher  in  the  public 
schopls  of  Hydro.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Jones  have  no  children. 

Roscoe  C.  Thomas.  While  he  first  became  identified 
with  the  Panhandle  district  of  Oklahoma  as  a home- 
steader and  farmer,  Mr.  Thomas  has  for  a number  of 
years  been  best  known  as  a newspaper  publisher  and 
is  now  editor  and  owner  of  the  Cimarron  News  at  Boise 
City.  He  is  probably  the  leading  and  most  influential 
democrat  of  this  section  of  the  state,  and  is  well  known 
to  the  leaders  of  the  party  all  over  Oklahoma. 

A Tennesseean  by  birth,  Roscoe  C.  Thomas  was  born 
February  22,  1883,  on  a farm  in  Wilson  County.  The 
house  in  which  he  was  born  was  constructed  of  log 
timbers,  and  in  the  same  house  his  father,  Eli,  was  born 
October  30,  1839,  a son  of  J.  B.  and  Mary  (Wilson) 
Thomas,  who  were  natives  of  Virginia  and  of  Welsh 
origin.  Eli  Thomas  has  been  a farmer  all  his  life,  but 
is  now  living  retired  at  Lebanon,  Tennessee.  During 
the  war  between  the  states  he  was  with  the  Confederate 
army  as  a private  in  the  Second  Tennessee  Regiment. 
On  October  30,  1869,  his  thirtieth  birthday,  Eli  Thomas 
married  Miss  Eliza  Sneed,  who  was  born  in  Wilson 
County,  Tennessee,  January  30,  1846,  and  her  parents 
wpre  likewise  natives  • of  Tennessee.  To  their  marriage 
were  born  ten  children,  eight  sons  and  two  daughters, 
all  of  them  living  as  follows:  Crittenden,  born  July  30, 

1870;  Houston,  born  September  5,  1871;  Charles,  born 
January  4,  1873;  Ephraim,  born  August  5,  1875; 
Arizona,  born  June  10,  1876;  Baxter,  born  July  20, 
1877;  Hogan,  born  March  22,  1879;  Gordon,  born  Jan- 
uary 16,  1881;  Roscoe  C.,  who  is  the  ninth  in  order  of 
birth;  and  Ophelia,  born  January  4,  1885. 

Roscoe  C.  Thomas  was  reared  in  Wilson  County, 
attended  the  public  schools  there,  and  as  opportunities 
were  not  so  abundant  in  his  native  state  as  he  imagined 
they  would  be  in  a newer  country,  he  came  in  1904  to 
Oklahoma  and  spent  one  year  on  the  famous  101  Ranch 
in  Kay  County.  In  1905  he  located  on  a homestead 
in  Texas  County,  but  in  addition  to  proving  up  and  cul- 
tivating his  claim  he  also  operated  a real  estate  office 
in  Guymon.  Since  then  he  has  been  closely  identified 
with  the  substantial  activities  of  this  section  of  the 
state.  In  1907  he  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the 
Cimarron  Town  Company,  and  was  manager  of  that 
company  until  the  town  failed  to  realize  the  sanguine 
expectations  of  its  founders.  In  1908  he  removed  to 
Boise  City,  and  in  1910  bought  the  plant  of  the  Cimarron 
News  at  Kenton  and  removed  it  to  Boise  City,  where  he 
consolidated  it  with  the  Boise  City  Tribune  in  1911.  He 
now  has  the  leading  paper  in  that  section,  and  has  a 
printing  plant  that  is  unusually  well  equipped,  having 
among  other  facilities  a typesetting  machine  and  modern 
rotary  presses. 

During  1913-14  Mr.  Thomas  was  a member  of  the 
Oklahoma  State  Board  of  Agriculture.  He  is  demo- 
cratic state  central  committeeman  from  Cimarron. 
Fraternally  he  is  affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows  and  'is  a member  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church. 

On  June  29,  1910,  at  Boise  City  he  married  Miss 


1788 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Ruby  Allison,  who  was  bom  June  10,  1885,  at  Groes- 
beck,  Texas,  a daughter  of  A.  B.  Allison,  who  now  lives 
at  Boise  City,  Oklahoma.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Thomas  have 
one  chiljl,  Roscoe  C.,  Jr.,  born  March  28,  1914. 

John  G.  Reid,  M.  D.  A physician  and  surgeon  of 
broad  and  successful  experience,  Dr.  John  G.  Reid  in 
1914  located  in  Lincoln  County  at  Fallis,  and  later  in 
Oklahoma  City,  where  he  enjoys  the  esteem  and  the 
practice  which  indicate  the  possession  of  both  ability 
and  high  personal  character.  Doctor  Reid  has  spent 
many  years  in  Oklahoma,  having  first  come  to  the  terri- 
tory at  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip  in  1893,*  and 
after  participating  in  the  run  he  located  a claim  in  that 
section.  He  came  to  Oklahoma  from  Wellington,  Kan- 
sas. Doctor  Reid  is  a graduate  in  medicine  from  the 
Northwestern  University  of  Chicago,  Illinois,  with  the 
class  of  1877. 

John  G.  Reid  was  born  at  Jacksonville,  Illinois,  April 
8,  1847,  an^l  his  early  life  was  spent  on  a farm.  His 
grandfather  and  father  were,  respectively,  Stephen  H., 
Sr.,  and  Stephen  H.,  Jr.  Both  were  natives  of  Kentucky 
and  were  of  Scoteh-Irish  ancestry.  Stephen  H.  Reid,  Jr., 
grew  up  in  his  native  state  and  married  there  Martha 
Capps,  who  became  the  mother  of  three  children.  His 
second  wife  was  Miss  Martha  Garrett,  who  was  born  in 
Cheshire,  England,  of  English  parentage.  Her  children 
were:  John  G. ; Lydia  C. ; Richard  W.,  who  was  a 

lawyer,  and  is  now  deceased;  George  W.,  of  Jacksonville, 
Illinois;  Enoch  S.,  now  deceased;  and  Elijah  J.,  a 
farmer  near  Jacksonville,  Illinois.  The  father  of  these 
sons  died  at  the  age  of  seventy-six.  Politically  he  was 
a republican,  and  before  the  war  was  a great  friend  and 
admirer  of  Owen  Love  joy,  the  great  abolitionist.  His 
wife  died  at  the  age  of  sixty-one.  She  was  a member  of 
the  Methodist  Church,  and  a woman  of  admirable  temper 
and  excellent  qualities  of  heart  and  mind. 

Dr.  John  G.  Reid  was  reared  on  the  old  farmstead 
in  Illinois,  and  owing  to  many  circumstances,  life  in  a 
country  community,  the  turtnoil  of  war  times,  and  other 
things,  he  had  only  a limited  educated  while  growing  to 
manhood.  He  later  secured  his  education  from  the 
proceeds  of  his  own  endeavors,  studied  at  home,  at- 
tended higher  schools,  and  then  prepared  for  a profes- 
sional career  in  Chicago.  After  graduating  from  medical 
college  his  first  location  was  at  Woodburn,  Illinois, 
subsequently  he  practiced  in  Chicago  several  years,  then 
located  in  Texas,  and  since  1893  has  been  identified  with 
the  Territory  and  State  of  Oklahoma.  For  several  years 
he  was  in  Enid,  and  in  1901  removed  to  Hydro,  where 
he  conducted  his  general  practice  until  removing  to 
Fallis,  and  came  in  1916  to  Oklahoma  City. 

Doctor  Reid  was  first  married  March  20,  1877,  in 
Illinois,  to  Mary  J.  Whittier,  a niece  of  the  great  Quaker 
poet,  John  G.  Whittier.  She  was  born  and  educated  in 
New  York  State,  and  was  a woman  of  fine  culture  and 
education,  and  died  at  Welington,  Kansas,  at  the  age  of 
fifty-five.  She  left  one  daughter,  Mrs.  Welch.  Doctor 
Reid  married  his  present  wife  in  Kansas,  Miss  Evelyn 
Sehamell.  Mrs.  Reid  was  born  in  Lincoln,  Nebraska, 
and  was  educated  chiefly  in  Kansas.  Her  parents,  Peter 
and  Margaret  (Bonet)  Sehamell,  were,  respectively,  Ger- 
man and  Irish.  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Reid  have  one  son, 
Cranston,  who  was  born  January  25,  1912.  Doctor  Reid 
is  a member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of . America. 
Politically  he  is  a prohibitionist;  both  he  and  his  wife 
are  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church. 

Leroy  H.  Keys  of  Bartlesville, is  a sterling  representa- 
tive of  the  old  Cherokee  Nation.  He  is  a native  of  the 
Cherokee  Nation,  and  has  spent  most  of  his  life  in  and 
around  the  present  site  of  Bartlesville,  where  his  busi- 


ness activities  and  his  civic  influence  have  counted  for 
much  in  local  development.  As  a farmer,  oil  man,  prop- 
erty owner,  he  has  been  known  for  his  successful  man- 
agement of  every  enterprise  he  has  undertaken.  He  is 
a genial  gentleman,  a wholesome  and  public  spirited 
citizen  and  a man  whom  the  Bartlesville  community  counts 
as  one  of  its  livest  and  most  esteemed  citizens. 

Born  in  the  Cherokee  Nation  of  Indian  Territory, 
March  16,  1864,  he  was  the  only  son  of  Isaac  W.  and 
Jane  (Ramsey)  Keys.  His  mother  died  when  he  was 
an  infant.  Both  parents  were  natives  of  the  Southern 
States,  and  were  part  blooded  Cherokees.  When  that 
tribe  was  removed  west  of  the  Mississippi  River  during 
the  ’30s,  Isaac  Keys  went  along,  and  he  and  his  wife 
spent  the  rest  of  their  lives  in  the  new  district  set  aside 
for  the  homes  of  the  Indians.  The  history  of  the  family 
is  thus  closely  associated  with  the  history  of  Indian 
Territory  from  the  very  beginning.  Isaac  Keys  was 
a Southern  sympathizer  and  fought  with  Gen.  Stand 
Waitie  during  the  Civil  war,  and  most  of  the  family  were 
Confederates,  either  actively  or  in  sympathy.  Isaac  Keys 
was  one  of  sixteen  children,  and  some  of  them  were  in 
both  armies,  including  his  brothers  George  and  Judge 
Riley  Keys,  who  allied  themselves  with  the  Northern 
forces. 

Aside  from  his  participation  in  the  struggle  between 
the  North  and  South  Isaac  Keys  devoted  most  of  his 
life  to  farming  and  stock  raising.  He  was  honest  and 
honorable,  stood  high  in  the  community,  and  his  death, 
in  the  spring  of  1887,  marked  the  passing  of  one  of  the 
worthy  old  time  citizens  of  what  is  now  Eastern  Okla- 
homa. By  his  second  marriage  he  had  no  children,  and 
by  a third  marriage  the  three  daughters  were:  Jessie, 
now  deceased,  married  Sam  Jordan  and  left  a daughter 
Ruby  M.,  who  is  now  living  with  her  grandparents; 
Nellie,  deceased;  and  Myrtle,  who  lives  at  Nowata,  Okla- 
homa. There  were  also  four  orphan  children  reared  in 
the  home  of  Isaac  Keys.  Three  of  them  were  the  Cobb 
boys,  William,  John  and  Mack,  William  having  died  some 
years  ago,  while  the  other  two  are  prominent  in  Nowata 
County.  The  other  orphan  reared  in  the  Keys  house- 
hold was  Georgia  Russell,  whom  Mr.  Leroy  Keys  has 
always  esteemed  as  an  own  sister.  She  first  married 
James  Stokes,  and  their  children  were  as  follows : Floyd, 
deceased;  Olive,  who  married  Tom  Mix  and  has  one 
child,  Ruthe;  Gretta,  who  married  L.  C.  Rothe,  and  they 
have  one  child,  Russell.  .After  the  death  of  James 
Stokes  she  married  Walter  Brown,  and  they  now  reside 
north  of  Bartlesville. 

With  such  sterling  family  associations,  it  is  not  sur- 
prising that  Leroy  H.  Keys  has  always  been  extremely 
loyal  to  the  country  which  gave  him  birth,  and  his  own 
accomplishments  have  brought  him  the  highest  rank 
among  the  influential  citizens  of  Indian  blood  in  Okla- 
homa. Almost  his  entire  career  has  been  spent  in  the 
Cherokee  Nation  and  Oklahoma  State,  with  the  exception 
of  four  years,  1885-88,  in  Santa  Rosa,  California.  As 
a boy  he  acquired  a common  school  education,  and  his 
early  life  was  spent  in  working  on  cattle  ranches.  He 
has  been  accustomed  to  meeting  hardships  and  dangers 
and  has  never  flinched  from  the  responsibilities  of 
existence.  For  many  years  he  has  been  an  active  and 
prosperous  farmer,  and  with  other  members  of  the  family 
received  his  allotment  of  eighty  acres,  which  now  con- 
stitutes one  of  the  valuable  tracts  of  land  in  Washing- 
ton County.  For  two  and  a half  years,  up  to  April, 
1915,  he  was  proprietor  of  a livery  establishment  in 
Bartlesville,  but  then  sold  out,  and  is  now  giving  his 
attention  to  his  farming  interests.  There  are  several 
oil  wells  on  his  property  and  he  has  not  only  shared 
in  the  great  material  wealth  of  this  section  of  the 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1789 


state,  but  has  also  helped  to  create  and  utilize  those 
abundant  resources. 

In  early  times  Mr.  Keys  herded  cattle  over  the  present 
site  of  Bartlesville  as  an  employe  of  P.  L.  Yocum.  In 
1876  he  accompanied  his  father  on  a trip  to  Colorado, 
from  which  state  they  returned  in  the  spring  of  1877. 
That  was  a journey  which  he  recalls  with  a great  deal 
of  interest,  since  he  saw  some  buffaloes,  then  being 
rapidly  dissipated  and  soon  to  disappear  almost  entirely 
from  the  great  plains,  and  he  also  saw  a great  many 
antelope.  In  1901  Mr.  Keys  participated  in  the  rush 
of  new  settlers  into  the  Kiowa  and  Comanche  country  in 
Southwestern  Oklahoma.  Though  he  sold  his  business  as 
a liveryman  he  is  still  owner  of  the  building  in  which  it 
is  conducted  and  he  owns  several  other  pieces  of  good 
property  in  Bartlesville. 

Special  mention  should  be  made  of  the  handsome  home 
which  he  built  at  a cost  of  $6,000,  and  is  located  at  918 
Cherokee  Avenue,  in  Bartlesville.  ' It  is  not  only  one  of 
the  beautiful  places  of  the  city  from  the  standpoint  of 
material  structure,  but  it  is  also  a real  home  in  comfort 
and  family  associations,  and  within  its  walls  Mr.  Keys 
finds  his  chief  pleasure.  On  May  8,  1891,  he  married 
Miss  Belle  Thomas,  who  was  born  in  Arkansas  June  11, 
1869,  and  came  to  Indian  Territory  when  a young 
lady.  Her  father,  who  was  born  in  Jackson  County, 
Alabama,  spent  his  life  as  a farmer,  and  married  Miss 
Lavinia  West,  who  was  a native  of  Crawford  County, 
Arkansas.  In  the  Thomas  family  were  four  sons  and 
two  daughters,  and  all  of  them  lived  either  in  or  near 
Bartlesville.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Keys  have  five  children: 
Albert  Leroy,  a farmer  in  Washington  County,  married 
Hattie  Montgomery.  The  second  child  is  Pearl.  Raymond 
W.  was  married  in  June,  1915,  to  Miss  Jeanette  White- 
turkey,  and  they  have  an  infant  daughter  named  Maxine. 
Olive  M.  is  still  at  home  with  her  parents.  The  other 
child,  Lela  J.,  died  at  the  age  of  three  years. 

E.  P.  Clark.  An  atmosphere  of  romance  surrounds 
the  experiences  of  the  hardy  pioneers  in  the  several 
historic  land  openings  of  Oklahoma,  and  it  would  be 
a volume  of  surpassing  interest  which  might  select  and 
give  record  to  the  many  narratives  heard  from  the 
lips  of  those  early  settlers.  Numerous  little  incidents 
in  the  life  of  E.  P.  Clark,  now  manager  of  the  Chicka- 
sha  Milling  Company  at  Verden,  make  his  career  an 
extraordinary  one.  When  he  is  in  the  proper  mood  Mr. 
Clark  can  relate  experiences  that  furnish  a delight- 
ful and  refreshing  hour  to  his  audience.  He  lacks 
only  two  months  of  being  an  Oklahoma  Eighty-niner,  and 
was  a participant  in  three  Oklahoma  openings,  those 
of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  the  Cheyenne  and  Arapaho  Country 
and  the  Kiowa  and  Comanche  district.  His  travels  have 
been  transcontinental  in  the  seeking  and  establishing 
of  homes,  but  most  of  twenty-six  years  have  been  spent 
in  Oklahoma. 

E.  P.  Clark  was  born  in  Monmouth,  Illinois,  August 
5,  1866,  a son  of  Horace  and  Jeanette  (Coutlet)  Clark. 
On  both  sides  the  ancestry  goes  back  before  the  Revo- 
lutionary period  in  American  history.  One  of  the 
maternal  ancestors  came  to  America  with  Lafayette  and 
fought  under  that  great  Frenchman  during  the  war 
for  independence.  Horace  Clark,  the  father,  died  at 
Medford,  Oregon,  in  1914,  at  the  age  of  seventy-six. 
Mr.  E.  P.  Clark  has  a half  brother,  Carl  B.  Clark,  who  is 
an  instructor  in  engineering  in  a college  in  New  York 
State. 

Mr.  Clark’s  first  schooling  was  in  Janesville,  Wisconsin, 
to  which  place  his  father  removed  when  the  former  was 
a small  boy.  The  next  year  the  family  moved  to  New 
York  and  in  that  state  he  attended  a school  at  Sandy 


Creek.  The  following  year  was  spent  in  school  at  Cedar 
Rapids,  Iowa,  and  his  common  school  education  ended  at 
Eldora,  Iowa.  As  a young  man  he  did  farming  at 
Anthony,  Kansas. 

These  experiences  sum  up  his  career  until  he  came  to 
Oklahoma.  Soon  after  the  original  Oklahoma  opening 
in  1889,  he  conceived  the  idea  of  growing  vegetables 
for  the  market  in  the  new  country.  Buying  a supply 
of  garden  seeds  he  dispatched  John  Freeman  from 
Anthony,  Kansas,  to  Kingfisher,  Oklahoma,  to  put  out  the 
first  garden.  Later,  after  Mr.  Clark  had  concluded  an 
assignment  in  a salt  plant  in  Kansas,  and  with  only 
a few  dollars  for  expenses,  he  set  out  on  foot  for  Okla- 
homa. Settlements  were  few  in  the  new  country  and  it 
was  wild  and  much  frequented  by  bad  men.  His  journey 
first  led  him  to  Bluff  City  and  later  to  the  Crisine 
Ranch,  in  what  was  then  the  Cherokee  Strip.  At  that 
ranch  he  rested  for  a time,  and  then  resumed  his  journey 
on  foot,  arriving  in  due  time  at  Pond  Creek,  where 
he  fell  in  with  a man  driving  an  ox  team.  They  were 
companions  for  several  days  in  the  tedious  journey 
towards  the  promised  land,  getting  poor  and  insufficient 
food  all  the  way.  Their  destination  was  Hennessey, 
and  on  the  day  of  their  arrival  Mr.  Clark  was  approached 
by  George  Bear,  a druggist,  who  asked  him  to  sign  a 
petition  for  the  removal  of  the  county  seat  from  King- 
fisher to  Hennessey.  Clark  protested  that  he  was  not  a 
citizen  of  the  territory,  having  just  arrived,  but  his  name 
went  on  the  petition. 

After  a few  days  he  reached  Kingfisher  and  found  that 
Freeman  had  arrived  there  with  his  garden  seed  and 
was  well  on  the  way  toward  a lucrative  income.  Mr. 
Clark ’s  money  was  all  gone  and  he  set  about  working 
at  odd  jobs  to  pay  for  his  food.  Working  with  him  was 
Amos  Ewing,  called  “Shorty”  in  those  days,  who  after- 
wards became  one  of  the  leading  men  in  republican  poli- 
tics in  the  territory  and  was  a member  of  the  recent 
Fifth  Legislature,  from  Logan  County.  Mr.  Clark  dug 
post-holes  and  cellars  and  worked  as  a section  hand  until 
he  had  saved  fifty  dollars,  which  he  invested  in  a bakery 
at  Hennessey.  He  sold  this  later  and  entered  the  fur 
trade,  which  he  followed  for  several  years  in  Oklahoma 
and  Kansas.  It  is  of  interest  that  he  was  employed 
for  a time  in  a store  belonging  to  Fred  Ehler,  who 
remains  one  of  the  picturesque  pioneer  citizens  of 
Hennessey.  Later  he  entered  the  milling  business  under 
George  H.  Block,  who  is  another  of  the  interesting  char- 
acters of  the  early  days  and  a well  known  capitalist 
and  lumber  dealer  of  the  present  day.  With  the  excep- 
tion of  a short  time  spent  in  Lee’s  Summit,  Missouri, 
Mr.  Clark  has  continued  uninterruptedly  in  the  milling 
business,  as  salesman  and  plant  manager.  He  has 
been  manager  of  the  Chickasha  Milling  Company’s  plant 
at  Verden  about  a year.  In  coming  back  to  Oklahoma 
in  1914  to  take  the  Verden  station  of  this  company,  he 
found  luck  lurking  in  numbers  of  ill  reputation.  He 
came  out  of  door  No.  13  in  the  Unioh  Station  at  Kansas 
City,  took  train  No.  23  and  arrived  in  his  office  at 
Chickasha  on  Friday  the  13th. 

Mr.  Clark  was  married  twenty-one  years  ago  at  Hen- 
nessey, to  Miss  Grace  L.  Fowler.  The  half-brother  of 
Mrs.  Clark,  Harry  Fowler,  has  lived  with  them  as  a 
member  of  the  family,  but  at  the  present  time  is  in 
Alaska.  The  five  children  are  named  Horace,  Helen, 
Henry,  Hazel  and  Herbert.  Mr.  Clark  is  affiliated  with 
the  Improved  Order  of  Red  Men  and  was  formerly  a 
member  of  the  United  Commercial  Travelers  and  the 
Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  He  was  a member 
of  the  first  grand  lodge 'of  Red  Men  in  Oklahoma  and 
assisted  in  its  organization.  He  is  a member  of  the 


1790 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Retailers  Association  and  the  Commercial  Club  at  Verden, 
and  for  two  terms  was  city  clerk  at  Hennessey. 

John  Linsy  Allen.  One  of  the  oldest  cattlemen  in 
the  Panhandle  district  of  Oklahoma  is  John  Linsy 
Allen,  whose  home  is  now  at  Boise  City,  Oklahoma, 
where  he  is  assistant  postmaster,  his  wife,  Mrs.  Allen, 
being  the  chief  in  that  office.  Mr.  Allen  is  also  a 
prominent  democrat  in  his  section  of  the  state  and  is 
widely  known  among  all  the  cattlemen  of  that  district. 

He  was  born  October  21,  1871,  in  a log  house  on  a 
farm  in  Hancock  County,  Illinois,  a son  of  James  T.  and 
Mary  M.  (Phillips)  Allen.  His  father,  who  was  a son 
of  Ethean  Allen,  a native  of  New  York  and  of  Scotch 
ancestry,  was  also  born  in  Hancock  County,  Illinois, 
April  1,  1846,  and  has  been  a prominent  stockman  all 
his  active  career.  Prom  Illinois  he  moved  to  Missouri 
in  1872,  when  his  son,  John,  was  about  one  year  old, 
and  for  eleven  years  farmed  and  raised  stock  in  Sullivan 
County.  In  1883  he  went  to  Kansas,  continued  cattle 
raising  on  the  open  range  in  Clark  County  for  two 
years,  and  then  went  still  further  west  to  Las  Animas 
County,  Colorado.  There  he  engaged  in  the  cattle  busi- 
ness for  eighteen  years,  and  for  nine  years  operated  a 
large  ranch  in  No  Man’s  Land  of  Oklahoma.  In  1914 
he  retired,  and  is  now  living  at  Lamar,  Colorado.  In 
1868  he  married  Miss  Phillips,  a daughter  of  Brice  and 
Lavina  Phillips,  who  were  natives  of  Pennsylvania.  Mrs. 
Allen  was  born  November  16,  1848,  in  Allegheny  County, 
Pennsylvania.  To  their  marriage  were  born  five  sons, 
all  of  whom  are  still  living:  Alfred  B.,  born  in  1869,  is 
now  postmaster  at  Lobatos,  Colorado;  John  L.  is  the 
second  son;  Crittenden  E.,  born  in  1875,  is  a cattleman 
in  Cimarron  County,  Oklahoma;  Thomas  Eldon,  born  in 
1878,  is  now  county  judge  of  Baca  County,  Colorado; 
and  Charles  Alva,  born  in  1882  is  a beet  sugar  manu- 
facturer at  Rocky  Ford,  Colorado. 

John  Linsy  Allen  received  his  early  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  Sullivan  County,  Missouri,  and  in  Las 
Animas  County,  Colorado.  When  only  eighteen  he  took 
up  the  life  of  a cowboy  on  the  open  range  and  was 
employed  by  various  outfits  and  also  on  his  own  account 
in  Indian  Territory,  Kansas,  Colorado,  Wyoming,  and 
Montana  for  a period  of  seventeen  years.  In  recent 
years  his  operations  have  been  confined  to  the  states 
of  Colorado  and  Oklahoma,  and  he  is  particularly  well 
known  in  the  old  No  Man’s  Land  of  Oklahoma. 

In  1910  Mr.  Allen  was  elected  a member  of  the  board 
of  county  commissioners  of  Cimarron  County  and  was 
re-elected  in  1912,  giving  four  years  of  his  time  and 
attention  to  that  office.  He  is  very  influential  in  the 
democratic  organization.  On  February  4,  1915,  at  Boise 
City,  Oklahoma,  he  married  Miss  Adalee  Allison,  who 
was  born  in  Texas  November  20,  1885.  Mrs.  Allen  com- 
- pleted  her  education  in  the  University  of  Chicago  and 
for  a number  of  years  prior  to  her  marriage  was  engaged 
in  teaching.  In  1915  she  was  appointed  postmaster  of 
Boise  City.  Fraternally  Mr.  Allen  is  a Knight  Templar 
Mason  and  also  an  Odd  Fellow. 

Herbert  E.  Smith.  It  is  as  a lawyer  of  broad  and 
varied  experience  that  Mr.  Smith  is  chiefly  identified 
with  the  State  of  Oklahoma,  where  he  has  lived  since 
1908.  His  home  and  offices  are  in  Okmulgee,  where  he 
has  gained  prominence  and  success  as  a general  attorney, 
but  much  of  his  practice  is  connected  with  land,  oil  and 
gas  interests  and  litigation. 

A Virginian  by  birth,  he  is  of  an  old  and  interesting 
family  of  that  commonwealth.  Born  in  Petersburg,  Vir- 
ginia, August  22,  1871,  he  is  a Son  of  E.  D.  T.  and  Mary 
Elizabeth  (Pace)  Smith.  His  parents  were  also  born  in 


Virginia,  and  both  families  were  of  colonial  stock.  The 
great-grandfather  Smith  came  from  Scotland  and  located 
in  Dinwiddie  County,  Virginia.  In  the  successive  gener- 
ations there  have  been  representatives  of  the  family  in  r 
every  important  war  in  which  this  country  has  had  a 
part.  Mr.  Smith’s  parents  both  died  in  Virginia  in 
1912,  their  deaths  occurring  only  twenty  days  apart.  His  j 
father  was  aged  ninety  and  his  mother  eighty.  The  jj 
father  spent  most  of  his  active  career  as  a farmer,  and  j 
at  one  time  served  as  mayor  of  his  home  city  of  Peters-  I 
burg.  He  was  a Confederate  soldier  throughout  the  jl 
Civil  war  under  the  command  of  General  William  ] 
Mahone.  He  was  captured  near  Norfolk,  and  was  one  j 
of  the  men  drawn  by  lot  to  be  shot  by  the  Federal  J 
authorities.  He  escaped  when  Lee  informed  Grant  that 
if  Confederate  prisoners  were  put  to  death  he  would  | 
shoot  three  Federals  for  every  Confederate  so  put  to 
death.  One  of  Mr.  Smith ’s  most  interesting  possessions  1 
is  the  diary  kept  by  his  father  for  many  years  and  detail-  j 
mg  many  of  his  experiences  while  a soldier.  He  escaped 
from  the  northern  prison  in  which  he  was  held,  and  was 
shot  three  times  while  swimming  in  Chesapeake  Bay.  All 
of  Mr.  Smith ’s  uncles  were  soldiers  in  the  Civil  war,  and 
at  three  different  times  the  northern  and  southern  armies 
were  engaged  in  fighting  on  the  old  Smith  homestead  at 
Petersburg. 

Herbert  E.  Smith  was  one  of  seven  sons,  and  his  only 
brother  now  living  is  John  Edward  of  Bradentown, 
Florida.  Three  members  of  the  Smith  family  lost  their 
lives  during  that  brief  but  victorious  conflict  with  Spain. 

Reared  on  a farm,  Herbert  E.  Smith  has  largely  made 
his  own  way  in  the  world.  He  acquired  a common  school  • 
education  and  at  the  age  of  sixteen  he  went  to  Rochester, 
New  York,  and  found  employment  at  various  occupa- 
tions, keeping  up  his  studies  in  night  school.  He  studied 
law  with  Judge  J.  M.  Mullen  at  Petersburg,  Virginia, 
and  was  admitted  to  the  bar  August  23,  1892,  the  day  - 
following  his  twenty-first  birthday.  He  practiced  law 
in  his  native  state  less  than  three  years  and  then  went  0 
to  Buffalo,  New  York,  where  he  was  admitted  to  practice  j 
in  June,  1895.  In  1898  he  went  to  the  Island  of  Porto 
Rico,  where  for  six  years  he  was  engaged  in  practice  as 
a lawyer  and  was  the  first  American  attorney  to  open  an 
office  on  that  island.  In  March,  1905,  Mr.  Smith  went 
to  Washington,  D.  C.,  and  practiced  as  member  of  a 
law  firm  of  that  city  until  he  came  to  Okmulgee,  Okla- 
homa, on  May  24,  1908. 

In  polities  Mr.  Smith  is  a republican.  He  is  a traveler 
who  has  seen  a great  deal  of  the  world,  and  has  prac- 
tically visited  all  the  important  countries  of  the  globe, 
his  travels  having  been  especially  extensive  in  South 
America  and  Alaska.  He  is  a man  of  many  interests, 
and  has  the  genial  nature  which  makes  him  hosts  of 
friends.  In  1901  he  married  Cora  M.  Belden,  who  was 
born  in  Chautauqua  County,  New  York,  and  who  is 
directly  related  to  the  Curtis  and  Van  Rensselaer  families 
of  old  colonial  New  York  stock. 

Guy  Barton  Van  Sandt,  M.  D.  From  the  point  of 
continuous  practice  Doctor  Van  Sandt  is  the  oldest 
physician  and  surgeon  at  Wewoka.  Soon  after  taking 
his  degree  of  medicine  he  located  in  that  little  city  in 
Eastern  Oklahoma  twelve  years  ago  and  has  since  been 
shown  every  mark  of  appreciation  and  favor  in  his 
capacity  as  a physician  and  also  as  a citizen  and  good 
worker  for  community  welfare. 

He  was  born  at  Montrose,  Illinois,  November  14,  1878, 
a son  of  Dr.  H.  G.  and  Henrietta  F.  (Morton)  Van 
Sandt.  His  grandfather,  John  Van  Sandt,  was  a native 
of  Kentucky,  but  was  an  ardent  abolitionist,  was  con- 
nected with  the  underground  railway,  and  figured  in  a 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1791 


notable  fugitive  slave  case.  He  was  convicted  before 
| one  court  of  having  assisted  fugitive  slaves  to  escape 
I to  the  North,  but  he  carried  the  case  to  the  Supreme 
J Court,  where  he  was  defended  by  such  notable  attorneys 
as  Chase  and  Stone.  His  character  is  also  preserved  in 
j literature,  and  he  is  the  figure  known  as  Van  Trump  in 
I Harriet  Beecher  Stowe’s  “Uncle  Tom’s  Cabin.”  Dr. 

I H.  G.  Van  Sandt  was  born  at  Glendale,  Ohio,  in  1843, 
and  served  throughout  the  Civil  war,  having  enlisted 
in  the  three  months  service  with  the  12tli  Ohio  Regiment, 
and  afterwards  going  to  Illinois  and  enlisting  in  Com- 
pany I of  the  125th  Illinois  Infantry.  The  greater  part 
of  his  military  service  was  spent  as  a scout,  and  he  was 
detailed  with  Captain  Powell.  After  the  war  he  took 
up  the  practice  of  medicine  in  Missouri,  remained  there 
I four  years,  then  spent  two  years  in  the  St.  Louis  Medical 
I College  and  located  permanently  at  Montrose,  Illinois, 
where  he  carried  on  an  active  practice  until  his  death 
in  1906.  He  also  took  a prominent  part  in  republican 
politics,  was  a member  of  the  Masonic  Lodgs,  and 
affiliated  with  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic.  His 
: wife,  Henrietta  P.  Morton,  was  born  in  Iowa  in  1849, 

| was  reared  in  Jacksonville,  Illinois,  coming  of  a staunch 
I Presbyterian  family,  and  of  old  Boston  and  Mass- 
| achusetts  stock.  She  was  married  in  Jacksonville  in 
J 1872,  and  she  is  still  living,  her  home  being  at  Montrose, 

- Illinois.  Of  the  eight  children,  the  first  three  died  in 
infancy.  The  oldest  of  those  living  is  Dr.  Van  Sandt, 

» John  Arthur  died  in  1912;  Harrison  G.  lives  at  Mont- 
| rose,  Illinois;  Vallie  V.  is  the  wife  of  Harry  Jenuine  at 
j Greenup,  Illinois;  Leona  lives  with  her  mother. 

Doctor  Van  Sandt  spent  his  early  youth  in  Montrose 
I graduated  from  high  school,  took  a course  in  Whipple 
j;  Academy  at  Jacksonville,  Illinois,  at  Austin  College  in 
Effingham,  and  took  the  greater  part  of  his  medical 
I]  work  in  Barnes  Medical  College  of  St.  Louis,  where  he 
ij  was  graduated  M.  D.  in  1903. 

On  January  1,  1904,  Doctor  Van  Zandt  began  practice 
J at  Wewoka,  and  while  he  was  not  the  first  physician  to 
I locate  there,  he  has  seen  those  who  were  here  when  he 
I came  leave  or  retire,  and  thus  he  is  the  oldest  practitioner 
\\  and  also  is  a recognized  leader  in  his  profession.  He  is 
[ a member  of  the  county  and  state  medical  societies  and 
J the  American  Medical  Association  and  belongs  to  the 
Ij  Railway  Surgeons’  Association. 

On  April  9,  1903,  Doctor  Van  Sandt  married  Miss 
j Lucile  M.  Cuddy.  The  marriage  ceremony  was  per- 
[ formed  by  John  D.  Vincil,  who  also  gave  him  his  medical 
I diploma.  Mr.  Vincil  was  grand  secretary  of  the  Masonic 
j Grand  Lodge  of  Missouri.  Mrs.  Van  Sandt  was  born  in 
I Kansas,  but  was  reared  chiefly  in  Oklahoma,  being  a 
■)  daughter  of  Joseph  and  Emma  (Suppiger)  Cuddy.  They 
| have  one  son,  Max.  Doctor  Van  Sandt  is  a republican, 
j has  served  as  county  chairman,  and  in  Masonry  is  affili- 
I]  ated  with  the  thirty-second  degree  Consistory,  with  the 
| Mystic  Shrine  and  is  also  a member  of  the  Benevolent 
I and  Protective  Order  of  Elks. 

I George  W.  Pullen.  From  a primeval  landscape  that 
| marked  sections  of  the  picturesque  Cherokee  Nation  a 
I!  quarter  of  a century  ago  Hon.  George  W.  Pullen,  rep- 

II  resentative  of  Murray  County  in  the  Fifth  Legisla- 
| ture  of  Oklahoma,  has  evolved  a picture  that  affords 
|'|  an  effective  presentment  of  progress,  prosperity  and 
[ culture.  This  depicture  in  a material  way  represents 
| his  fine  and  essentially  modern  farmstead  of  153  acres, 
if  two  miles  distant  from  the  thriving  little  City  of  Davis. 

I On  the  farm  the  purest  of  water  flows  in  superabundance 
j from  streams  and  wells,  the  fertile  soil  brings  forth  its 

| increase  as  one  season  follows  another,  and  on  the  estate 

I I is  to  be  found  one  of  the  finest  farm  residences  in  Mur- 

Vol.  v— 3 


ray  County,  this  attractive  home  being  situated  on  a rise 
of  ground  and  constituting  one  of  the  many  evidences 
of  peace,  comfort,  prosperity  and  appreciative  enterprise 
in  developing  the  splendid  natural  resources  of  that 
favored  section  of  the  state,  where  Mr.  Pullen  is  known 
and  honored  as  a progressive  and  public-spirited  citizen. 

George  W.  Pullen  was  born  in  Lawrence  County,  Ten- 
nesee,  on  the  20th  of  February,  1862,  and  is  a son  of 
Jesse  and  Mary  (Atwell)  Pullen,  both  likewise  natives 
of  Tennessee,  to  which  state  the  parents  of  Jesse  Pullen 
removed  in  an  early  day  from  Virginia.  Jesse  Pullen 
was  a prosperous  farmer  of  Tennessee  and  in  that  state 
both  he  and  his  wife  passed  their  entire  lives.  He  whose 
name  initiates  this  article  passed  the  period  of  his  boy- 
hood and  youth  on  the  home  farm  and  though  his  early 
educational  advantages  were  limited  to  a somewhat 
irregular  attendance  in  the  local  schools  he  early  de- 
veloped a fondness  for  study  and  reading,  showed  ambi- 
tion in  the  acquirement  of  knowledge,  and  through 
individual  application  amply  stored  his  retentive  mind 
with  information  which  well  equipped  him  for  the  re- 
sponsibilities and  productive  activities  of  later  years. 
He  was  but  thirteen  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  his 
father’s  death  and  upon  his  youthful  shoulders  thus  fell 
heavy  responsibilities.  He  remained  on  the  homestead 
farm  until  he  was  twenty- three  years  of  age,  and  with 
all  of  filial  solicitude  provided  for  his  widowod  mother. 
At  the  age  noted  Mr.  Pullen  went  to  Alabama,  in  which 
state  he  remained  three  years,  at  the  expiration  of  which 
he  returned  to  Tennessee.  Two  years  later,  in  1892,  he 
numbered  himself  among  the  pioneer  settlers  near  Davis, 
Indian  Territory.  There  he  secured  a tract  of  land  in 
a section  that  was  chiefly  notable  for  its  unreclaimed 
stretches  of  land,  covered  with  sage  brush  and  practically 
unsettled.  Houses  were  few  and  widely  separated  and 
the  population  was  very  small.  In  the  midst  of  the 
virgin  wilds  he  erected  a primitive  dwelling  and  then 
essayed  the  task  of  developing  a farm.  That  he  has 
brought  to  bear  much  energy,  discrimination  and  progres- 
siveness  is  best  demonstrated  in  the  extent  and  condition 
of  his  finely  improved  landed  domain  of  the  present  day, 
and  he  is  known  as  one  of  the  leading  agriculturists 
and  stockgrowers  of  Murray  County,  where  in  recent 
years  he  has  given  special  attention  to  the  raising  of 
high-grade  Jersey  cattle. 

Liberal  in  the  support  of  all  measures  and  enterprises 
tending  to  advance  the  civic  and  material  welfare  of 
his  home  county,  and  known  as  a man  of  much  acumen 
and  judgment,  Mr.  Pullen  naturally  became  influential 
in  public  affairs  and  his  high  standing  in  the  community 
was  shown  by  his  election,  in  November,  1914,  as  repre- 
sentative of  Murray  County  in  the  Fifth  General  As- 
sembly of  the  State  Legislature.  He  proved  a sincere, 
loyal  and  valuable  working  member  of  the  House  of  Rep- 
resentative, in  which  he  was  assigned  to  the  following 
named  committees:  Charities  and  corrections,  roads  and 

highways,  manufacturing  and  commerce,  and  pure  food 
and  drugs.  In  his  home  county,  at  Sulphur,  is  situated 
the  State  School  for  the  Deaf,  and  his  interest  in  the 
same  was  shown  significantly  by  his  obtaining  from  the 
Fifth  Legislature  appropriations  for  the  institution  to 
the  aggregate  amount  of  $159,000,  of  which  the  sum  of 
$20,500  is  applied  for  the  erection  of  new  buildings.  He 
introduced  a bill  requiring  that  the  records  of  county 
officials  be  checked  or  audited  every  two  years,  but  this 
bill  was  killed  in  the  committee  room.  Another  bill 
which  he  introduced  and  which  met  the  same  fate,  made 
requirement  that  teachers  in  the  public  schools  undergo 
medical  examinations  to  determine  whether  or  not  they 
were  afflicted  with  tuberculosis.  Mr.  Pullen  was  a 


1792 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


staunch  supporter  of  measures  furthering  the  good-roads 
movement  and  those  of  importance  to  rural  communities 
and  the  conserving  of  the  agricultural,  industry,  the 
while  the  cause  of  education  likewise  received  his  earnest 
support  in  the  Legislature. 

In  politics  Mr.  Pullen  is  arrayed  as  a stalwart  advo- 
cate of  the  principles  of  the  democratic  party,  and  in 
a fraternal  way  he  is  identified  with  the  Woodmen  of 
the  World,  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and 
the  A.  H.  T.  A.,  in  each  of  which  he  has  held  important 
offices.  He  has  been  specially  active  and  influential 
in  the  last  named  organization,  in  which  he  has  on  three 
occasions  represented  his  lodge  in  the  state  organization 
of  the  order  and  once  at  the  national  convention  of  the 
same. 

In  Tennessee  the  year  1885  recorded  the  marriage  of 
Mr.  Pullen  to  Miss  Amanda  A.  Kelly,  who  was  there 
born  and  reared.  They  have  six  children:  Cecil  Bayard 
is  a progressive  young  farmer  of  Murray  County;  Jesse 
remains  at  the  parental  home  and  is  still  attending 
school;  Minnie  is  the  wife  of  John  Springer,  a pros- 
perous farmer  of  Murray  County;  Miss  Pearl  is  a popu- 
lar teacher  in  the  public  schools  at  Elmore,  Garvin 
County;  and  Carrie  is  attending  the  public  schools. 

Miss  Stella  C.  Bayless.  What  a sphere  of  activity 
and  usefulness  a woman  may  fill  in  this  twentieth  cen- 
tury age  finds  probably  one  of  its  most  interesting 
illustrations  in  the  career  of  Miss  Bayless,  one  of  the 
present  county  superintendents  of  schools  in  the  county. 
Miss  Bayless  is  as  much  a pioneer  in  the  new  educa- 
tional movement  as  her  father  was  a pioneer  during  the 
developing  years  of  early  Kansas  and  Oklahoma.  She 
has  great  physical  vitality,  all  the  qualities  of  courage 
and  fortitude  that  distinguish  the  other  sex,  and  has 
brought  a vigor  and  enthusiasm  to  her  work  which  makes 
her  easily  one  of  the  foremost  educators  in  the  state. 

She  wa^  born  in  Adams  County,  Ohio,  October  14,  1885, 
but  early  in  her  infancy  her  parents,  H.  T.  and  Flora 
(Clinger)  Bayless,  moved  to  Winfield,  Kansas.  Her 
parents  were  also  natives  of  Adams  County,  Ohio,  where 
her  father  was  born,  September  20,  1845,  and  her  mother, 
November,  1858.  The  family  lived  in  that  section  of 
Southern  Ohio  until  they  moved  out  to  Kansas.  How- 
ever, her  father  was  a Kansas  pioneer,  having  gone  to 
that  state  in  1866.  He  hunted  buffalo  on  the  plains, 
and  proved  up  a claim  near  Winfield.  After  working 
his  farm  for  several  years  he  returned  to  Ohio,  but  about 
1886  he  moved  his  family  back  to  Kansas.  On  Septem- 
ber 16,  1893,  he  participated  in  the  race  into  the  Chero- 
kee Strip  and  secured  a claim  two  miles  south  of  Tonkawa. 
He  was  one  of  the  five  men  who  organized  and  laid  out 
the  Village  of  Tonkawa,  and  suggested  that  its  name  be 
the  same  as  the  Indian  tribe  which  occupied  some  of  the 
land  in  that  locality.  Mr.  Bayless  is  now  the  only  sur- 
vivor of  that  quintet  of  town  founders.  After  living  at 
Tonkawa  eight  years  he  moved  to  Noble  County,  locating 
near  Otoe,  five  years  later  went  to  Bliss,  lived  there  for 
five  years,  and  then  moved  to  Edmond.  His  life  has 
been  a very  active  one  and  on  the  whole  unusually  suc- 
cessful. He  has  some  land  interests  near  Phoenix,  Ari- 
zona, and  spends  much  of  his  time  there.  Both  he  and 
his  wife  in  their  younger  years  taught  school,  and  there 
have  been  several  teachers  in  the  different  generations 
of  the  family.  The  father  is  an  independent  republican, 
a member  of  the  Baptist  Church,  and  is  affiliated  with  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  There  are  four 
children:  Maude,  wife  of  Will  Beasley  of  Charleston, 
Oklahoma;  L.  R.  and  W.  P.,  who  lives  in  Kansas;  and 
Miss  Stella. 

Miss  Bayless  lived  at  home  with  her  parents  until  she 


was  seventeen  years  of  age.  For  three  years  she  was  e 
a student  in  the  University  Preparatory  School  at  ai 
Tonkawa,  and  she  also  taught  school  at  Bliss.  From  I 
early  girlhood  she  has  indulged  her  enthusiasm  for  out-  yi 
door  life  and  for  many  of  those  activities  which  are  j ( 
usually  considered  strictly  limited  to  men.  In  the  sum- ! 
mer  vacations  while  she  was  attending  school  at  Ton- 
kawa she  was  on  a ranch,  and  almost  constantly  on  horse-  j 
back.  There  is  nothing  which  she  could  not  do  in  the  | 
routine  of  ranch  duties  except  roping  a steer.  She  could  a 
ride  anything  that  walked  on  four  feet,  and  frequently  e 
broke  the  colts  and  mules.  While  at  Edmond  she  attended  ! |( 
the  Central  State  Normal  School  for  two  terms  and  there-  # 
secured  a state  certificate  as  a teacher. 

Her  first  school  was  a sod  sehoolhouse  near  Tonkawa.  J |, 
She  taught  for  seventeen  months  at  Bliss,  for  one  year-  (( 
at  White  Eagle  and  then  for  a year  was  traveling  repre-  j, 
sentative  for  the  Bufton  Book  Company  and  Supply 
House,  of  Kansas  City.  Her  territory  included  the  i 
states  of  Texas,  Kansas,  Missouri,  Oklahoma  and  Iowa.,  jj 
While  with  that  company  she  visited  over  three  thousand  I g 
schools,  and  the  notes  which  she  made  of  her  observations  I ^ 
in  the  different  schools  have  proved  valuable  to  her  ini  ,, 
her  later  work  as  an  educator. 

Coming  to  Creek  County  on  June  1,  1911,  she  taught:  ^ 
in  this  county  for  three  terms  prior  to  her  election  as  g 
county  superintendent  on  November  4,  1914.  Miss  Bay-'  j( 
less  gives  her  restricted  suffrage  to  the  support  of  the-  (J 
republican  party.  She  is  a member  of  the  Baptist  Churchli  [( 
at  Edmond,  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Brotherhood  off  u 
American  Yeomen  and  with  the  Fraternal  Aid  and  Worn-;  j, 
an ’s  Relief  Corps. 

Many  pages  might  be  written  of  her  varied  and  inter-  B 
esting  experiences  in  Oklahoma  and  elsewhere.  While' 
she  was  teaching  at  White  Eagle  she  met  a herd  ofi  j, 
buffaloes  on  a stampede  and  in  the  scrimmage  her  buggy-  ^ 
was  torn  to  pieces,  and  it  was  with  difficulty  that  she:  ^ 
was  rescued  by  some  cowboys.  While  she  was  traveling^  js 
for  the  book  house  she  was  driving  a team  across  a,  #! 
ford  over  the  Red  River  and  the  horses  were  swept  byv  L 
the  waters  and  drowned.  She  has  come  to  know  much!  ^ 
of  Indian  life  and  customs,  and  has  always  closely  studied!  M 
tribal  institutions.  While  she  was  living  at  Otoe,  near:  ^ 
the  Ponca  reservation,  she  took  part  in  some  of  then  j( 
tribal  dances,  also  attended  the  weddings  and  funerals:  ^ 
of  the  Otoe  and  Ponca  Indians,  and  has  many  interesting;  a 
relics  given  her  by  those  tribes. 

The  element  of  progressiveness  stands  out  prominently;  ^ 
in  Miss  Bayless’  work  as  an  educator.  One  of  the  ideals1 
toward  which  she  is  working  is  the  consolidation  of  thei  | 
rural  schools  of  Creek  County,  so  as  to  promote  greater:  f 
efficiency  and  eliminate  those  schools  which  under  the:  ^ 
present  system  cannot  possibly  maintain  the  average  • 
standard.  She  has  also  done  much  to  develop  social  5 
centers,  has  brought  about  in  a number  of  schools  a;  l 
system  for  the  awarding  of  credit  to  the  pupils  foil  ™ 
home  work,  and  has  been  able  to  secure  much  more:  ® 
co-operation  between  school  and  home  than  was  even  jj 
considered  possible.  She  established  the  Creek  County;  | 
School  News,  through  whose  columns  many  progressive:  j® 
ideas  have  been  spread  into  the  homes  of  the  people, 
and  this  is  the  first  publication  of  its  kind  ever  attempted  J 
in  the  state.  . She  has  not  neglected  any  of  those  moderni  5 
agencies  for  education  and  enlightenment.  She  has  J 
some  interesting  experiences  to  record  showing  the  possi-i 
bilities  of  the  “Vietrola”  and  the  use  of  lantern  slides  J 
as  a part  of  her  educational  program.  Since  she  became  ? 
superintendent  ten  men  have  been  engaged  as  special 
lecturers  in  the  schools,  besides  the  employment  oi  !?' 
home  talent  whenever  possible  for  the  same  purpose.  Miss  ,, 
Bayless  has  organized  the  “moonlight”  schools  in  tin  „l 
county,  for  the  purpose  of  affording  instruction  anc 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1793 


extending  the  facilities  of  the  schools  to  people  of 
adult  age  whose  education  had  previously  been  neglected. 
The  State  of  Oklahoma  should  be  proud  of  this  splendid 
young  woman,  who  has  done  so  much  to  vitalize  school 
work  in  Creek  County. 

Guy  W.  Stack.  Still  at  an  age  when  most  men  are 
just  beginning  to  realize  the  possibilities  of  life,  Guy 
W.  Stack  is  the  possessor  of  a substantial  business,  an 
enterprise  that  stands  a monument  to  his  energy, 
capacity  and  business  judgment.  When  he  came  to  Ken- 
ton, Oklahoma,  in  1908,  his  capital  was  chiefly  repre- 
sented by  his  ambition  and  determination;  within  the 
short  space  of  seven  years  he  has  developed  the  largest 
business  of  its  kind  in  Cimarron  County,  and  is  justly 
considered  one  of  the  leading  influences  in  the  move- 
?'  ments  which  of  recent  years  have  contributed  so  sub- 
’ stantially  to  this  thriving  community’s  growth. 
ls  Mr.  Stack  was  born  July  10,  1886,  on  a farm  in  Barber 
a:  County,  Kansas,  and  is  a son  of  Charles  W.  and  Sarah 

I Elizabeth  (Bose)  Stack.  His  father  was  born  in  Iowa, 
“ August  25,  1859,  a son  of  Samuel  and  Sarah  Stack, 

II  natives  of  Canada,  of  English  extraction,  and  was  reared 
. on  a farm  and  has  been  an  agriculturist  all  of  his  life. 

When  he  first  removed  to  Kansas,  in  1870,  Charles  W. 
3!  Stack  settled  on  Government  land  in  Keno  County,  where 
■'  he  lived  among  the  pioneer  farmers  for  eight  years  and 
carried  on  farming  and  stock  raising.  In  1898  he 
“ removed  to  Barber  County,  where  he  resided  until  1894, 

0 and  at  that  time  came  to  Oklahoma,  settling  in  Lincoln 
m'  County,  where  he  is  now  a prosperous  farmer  and  stock- 

man.  Mr.  Stack  is  a republican  in  his  political  views 
:[  and  a member  of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  in  the  work 

1 of  which  he  takes  an  active  interest.  He  was  married 
® in  1879,  in  Beno  County,  Kansas,  to  Miss  Sarah  Eliza- 
® beth  Bose,  who  was  born  December  3,  1860,  near  Sheri- 
'li  dan,  Poweshiek  County,  Iowa,  daughter  of  William  and 
^ Jane  (Ogden)  Bose,  natives  of  Ohio.  Prior  to  her 

1 marriage  Mrs.  Stack  was  engaged  in  teaching  school  for 
'•  ten  years  in  various  parts  of  Iowa  and  Kansas,  and 
!“  became  well  and  favorably  known  as  an  educator.  Mr. 
K and  Mrs.  Stack  were  the  parents  of  four  daughters  and 
Ej"  two  sons,  namely:  Jessie  L.,  born  June  15,  1882; 

™ Jennie  L.,  born  April  2,  1884;  Guy  W. ; Bose  H.,  born 
" September  13,  1888;  Belle  M.,  born  January  31,  1889; 
ul»  and  Benjamin  H.,  born  September  15,  1892. 

J Guy  W.  Stack  was  eight  years  of  age  when  brought 
to  Oklahoma,  and  his  education  was  secured  in  the 
public  schools  of  Chandler,  where  he  was  graduated  in 
f the  class  of  1903  from  the  high  school.  Subsequently 
161  he  attended  the  Oklahoma  Central  Normal  School,  at 
“ Edmond,  and  then  for  four  years  was  engaged  in  teach- 
a?'  ing  in  the  schools  of  Lincoln  County.  In  1907  Mr.  Stack 
“settled  on  a homestead  in  Union  County,  New  Mexico, 
SJ  twelve  miles  west  of  Kenton,  Oklahoma,  and  in  1908 
101  was  made  assistant  postmaster  at  Kenton,  and  moved 
10t(  to  this  place  where  he  accepted  a position  as  bookkeeper 
:W  in  a mercantile  establishment.  In  June,  1910,  having 
thoroughly  assimilated  business  methods  and  conditions, 
he  embarked  in  the  general  merchandise  business  on  his 
’H  own  account,  and  now  has  a trade  which  covers  the 
™ entire  community,  with  a branch  house  at  Texline,  Texas. 
'I"  His  store  at  Kenton  is  the  largest  in  Cimarron  County, 
, with  a $75,000  stock  of  general  merchandise,  lumber  and 
agricultural  implements,  his  annual  business  approximat- 
ing  $200,000.  This  enterprise  has  been  built  up  entirely 
® through  his  own  efforts,  and  in  addition  he  has  extensive 
! I and  valuable  real  estate  holdings  in  Cimarron  and 
' 0 Lincoln  counties,  Oklahoma,  and  in  Union  County  New 
"s  Mexico.  Mr.  Stack  is  one  of  the  leading  members  of 
, the  Kenton  Commercial  Club.  ' He  has  the  confidence 
all 


and  esteem  of  his  associates  in  the  business  world,  and 
is  a general  favorite  in  social  circles,  although  his 
important  business  interests  have  practically  occupied 
his  time  to  the  exclusion  of  other  affairs. 

Mr.  Stack  was  married  September  2,  1909,  at  Chandler, 
Oklahoma,  to  Miss  Ida  M.  Bickford,  who  was  born  June 
5,  1886,  in  McDonald  County,  Missouri,  daughter  of 
Dennis  C.  and  Mary  Jane  (Moore)  Bickford,  natives  of 
Maine.  She  is  a graduate  of  the  Chandler  (Oklahoma) 
High  School,  class  of  1905,  and  for  four  years  prior  to 
her  marriage  was  a teacher  in  the  public  schools  of 
Lincoln  County.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Stack  are  consistent 
members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church. 

Sol  D.  Barnett.  Among  the  men  who  made  the  run 
for  land  at  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  in  1893, 
was  a young  Texan,  Sol  D.  Barnett,  who,  mounted  on  a 
race  horse  trained  by  himself,  led  the  run  for  four  miles 
and  staked  out  a desirable  property.  However,  he  was 
induced  to  relinquish  his  property  owing  to  his  ignorance 
of  the  methods  used  by  unscrupulous  persons,  and  it  was 
not  until  1899  that  he  came  to  permanently  reside  in 
Oklahoma.  Since  that  time  Mr.  Barnett  has  been  engaged 
in  a number  of  successful  business  ventures,  and  at  the 
present  time  is  the  proprietor  of  a large  real  estate  and 
loan  business  at  Hollis,  and  tax  assessor  of  Harmon 
County,  a position  which  he  has  held  since  1912. 

Mr.  Barnett  was  born  in  Union  County,  Kentucky, 
August  18,  1872,  and  is  a son  of  Dr.  J.  J.  and  Mary  V. 
(Boley)  Barnett,  and  a member  of  a family  which  came 
to  Virginia  in  colonial  times  from  Ireland.  J.  J.  Barnett 
was  born  in  Virginia  in  1829  and  as  a lad  removed  with 
his  parents  to  Union  County,  Kentucky,  where  he  was 
educated  for  the  medical  profession.  He  was  there  mar- 
ried to  Mary  V.  Boley,  who  was  born  in  that  county,  in 
1838,  and  continued  to  follow  the  practice  of  his  calling 
there  until  1880,  in  which  year  he  moved  to  Wise  County, 
Texas.  In  1893  he  went  to  Eord  County,  in  the  same 
state,  and  in  1899  located  at  Mangum,  Oklahoma,  from 
whence  he  finally  moved  to  Blake,  Oklahoma,  where  he 
passed  the  last  few  years  of  his  life  in  retirement,  and 
died  in  1908,  Mrs.  Barnett  surviving  him  until  1911  and 
passing  away  at  Hollis.  In  addition  to  being  a learned 
and  skillful  medical  practitioner,  Doctor  Barnett  was  a 
minister  of  the  Baptist  Church,  and  followed  both  call- 
ings together  for  fifty  years.  He  was  a highly  esteemed 
citizen  in  whatever  community  happened  to  be  his  home 
and  won  the  esteem  and  regard  of  his  fellow-men  by  his 
strict  integrity  and  probity  of  character.  He  was  a Mason 
for  many  years  and  rose  to  the  thirty-second  degree. 
During  the  Civil  war  he  enlisted  in  a Kentucky  infantry 
regiment,  in  the  Confederate  army,  and  served  for  three 
years  with  the  rank  of  captain.  Being -finally  taken  a 
prisoner,  he  was  sent  to  Johnson  Island,  and  there  con- 
fined for  a year  before  being  exchanged.  Dr.  J.  J.  and 
Mary  V.  Barnett  were  the  parents  of  eight  children,  as 
follows:  Major,  who  is  engaged  in  farming  in  Wise 
County,  Texas;  J.  D.,  who  is  deceased;  J.  J.,  who  is 
engaged  in  agricultural  operations  at  Acme,  Texas;  S.  P., 
a farmer  of  Wayne  County,  Tennessee;  Clarence  L.,  who 
followed  farming  and  stockraising  and  died  at  Mangum, 
Oklahoma;  H.  B.,  who  is  engaged  in  the  same  pursuits 
and  resides  near  Mangum;  Sol  D. ; and  Molly,  who  is 
the  wife  of  W.  H.  Stewart,  of  Amarillo,  Texas. 

Sol  D.  Barnett  was  eight  years  of  age  when  the  family 
removed  to  Wise  County,  Texas,  and  there  he  enjoyed 
the  advantages  of  a high  school  education.  In  1892  and 
1893  he  attended  the  Fort  Worth  Business  College,  and 
was  thus  excellently  equipped  for  a business  career. 
Being  determined  to  secure  land,  he  had  carefully  trained 
a favorite  horse  for  the  run  to  be  made  at  the  opening 


1794 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  and  in  September,  1893,  as  before 
noted,  led  the  race  for  four  miles  and  staked  out  a claim 
of  160  acres,  on  Turkey  Creek,  two  miles  west  a,nd  4% 
miles  north  of  Hennessey.  Although  he  had  fairly  se- 
cured his  land  and  had  made  the  run  through  burning 
prairie  grass,  the  youth  allowed  others  to  convince  him 
that  his  claims  were  not  substantial,  and  returned  to  Ins 
Texas  home.  From  1893  until  1899  he  was  engaged  in 
the  cattle  business  in  Ford  County,  Texas,  and  with 
capital  thus  gained  returned  to  Oklahoma  and  settled  as 
a pioneer  near  Mangum,  where  he  continued  his  opera- 
tions in  cattle.  Subsequently  he  was  elected  county 
assessor  of  what  was  then  Greer  County,  Oklahoma,  an 
office  in  which  he  acted  from  1900  until  1902,  when  the 
office  was  abolished.  In  the  meantime  he  became  inter- 
ested in  the  real  estate  and  loan  business,  which  he  fol- 
lowed at  Mangum  until  1903,  when  he  came  to  Hollis,  his 
present  field  of  activity,  and  established  his  business 
here  his  offices  being  located  in  the  Cross  National  Bank 
Building.  His  business  has  tgrown  to  large  proportions 
and  he  is  justly  accounted  one  of  the  leading  men  of  his 
locality  in  his  line.  , , 

Always  an  active  democrat,  Mr.  Barnett  has  attended 
the  state  and  county  conventions  of  his  party  as  a dele- 
gate, and  during  the  campaign  of  Gov.  Lee  Cruce  was 
successful  in  gaining  almost  the  solid  support  of  Harmon 
County  and  Southwestern  Oklahoma  for  the  Governor,  as 
campaign  manager.  In  1912  he  was  appointed  by  Gov- 
ernor Cruce  as  tax  assessor  of  Harmon  County,  and  this 
appointment  was  approved  by  the  people  as  shown  when 
they  elected  him  to  that  office  in  1914.  His  incumbency 
has  been  characterized  by  straightforward  dealings,  expe- 
ditious handling  of  the  affairs  of  the  assessor  s office, 
and  conscientious  and  capable  performance  of  duty.  Mr. 
Barnett  is  a supporting  member  of  the  Methodist  Episco- 

^ In  1894,  in  Ford  County,  Texas,  Mr.  Barnett  was  mar- 
Tied  to  Miss  Mary  C.  Adams,  daughter  of  Dr.  W.  H. 
Adams,  a pioneer  of  Ford  County,  Texas,  where  he  is  still 
engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine.  Five  children  ha,ve 
been  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Barnett:  Claude,  born  Octo- 
ber 13,  1895,  who  has  finished  his  junior  year  at  the 
Hollis  High  School  and  is  now  assisting  his  father  m his 
business  and  official  duties;  Homer,  who  is  a member  ot 
the  freshman  class  at  the  Hollis  High  School;  and 
Thurston,  Louis  and  Murray  Haskell,  who  are  attending 
the  public  graded  schools. 

Judson  Cunningham.  A native  of  the  Southwest  and 
an  effective  exemplar  of  its  vital  spirit,  Mr  Cunningham, 
the  efficient  and  popular  young  county  clerk  ot  Roger 
Mills  County,  is  a scion  of  the  fourth  generation  of  the 
family  in  America,  his  paternal  great-grandfather 
Alexander  Cunningham,  having  immigrated  to  the  United 
States  from  Ireland  and  having  established  his  resi- 
dence in  the  State  of  Tennessee,  where  Robert  Cunning- 
ham father  of  James  Cunningham,  was  born.  He  after- 
wards moved  to  Alabama,  where  he  became  a pros- 
perous agriculturist  and  where  he  passed  the  remainder 

°f  Judson6  Cunningham  was  born  in  Hill  County,  Texas, 
on  the  20th  of  March,  1889,  and  is  a son  of  James  F. 
Cunningham,  who  was  born  in  Alabama,  m 1851,  and  who 
as  a young  man  immigrated  to  Texas,  where  he  became 
a farmer  and  stock  man  and  where  was  solemnized  his 
marriage  to  Mrs.  Mary  (Cason)  Couble,  widow  of  Paul 
Couble,  who  had  been  engaged  in  the  cattie  business  in 
Hood  County,  that  state.  In  1892  James  F.  Cunning- 
ham came  with  his  family  to  the  newly  organized  Okla- 
homa Territory  and  became  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  of 
Roger  Mills  County,  where  he  entered  claim  to  a home- 


stead of  160  acres,  one  and  one-half  miles  northwest  of  j 
Cheyenne,  the  present  thriving  county  seat,  where  he  has  |[ 
reclaimed  a productive  and  valuable  farm  and  where  ( 
he  and  his  wife  still  maintain  their  home.  He  is  a ( 
staunch  advocate  of  the  cause  of  the  democratic  party  | 
and  both  he  and  his  wife  are  zealous  members  of  the  j 
Baptist  Church,  in  which  he  has  for  a number  of  years  r 
past  given  devoted  and  efficient  service  as  a minister,  j. 
He  is  one  of  the  well  known  and  highly  honored  pioneers  1 
of  this  section  of  the  state,  is  a loyal  and  progressive  J 
citizen  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  fraternity.  Of  !j 
the  children  the  eldest  is  Pearl,  who  resides  at  Cheyenne, 
the  judicial  center  of  Roger  Mills  County,  she  being  the  I1 
widow  of  Orlando  R.  Bellamy,  who  was  a successful  ft 
school  teacher  at  the  time  of  his  death.  Dean,  the  second  j 
child,  was  a prosperous  young  farmer  of  Roger  Mills  jj 
County  at  the  time  of  his  death.  He  was  burned  to  Jj 
death  when  his  farm  house  was  destroyed  by  fire,  and  !|| 
was  only  twenty-two  years  of  age  at  the  time.  Grace  ‘ I 
died  at  the  age  of  fifteen  years.  May  is  the  wife  of  j| 
Henry  C.  Kisar,  who  is  engaged  in  the  hardware  busi-  || 
ness  in  the  State  of  Colorado.  Kenneth  is  a farmer  r'l 
and  stock-raiser  in  the  State  of  New  Mexico.  Jesse  jj 
remains  at  the  parental  home  and  is  associated  with  his  jj 
father  in  the  work  and  management  of  the  farm.  Judson,  II 
of  this  review,  was  the  next  in  order  of  birth.  Bertha  I 
is  the  wife  of  Charles  W.  McKinney,  who  is  engaged  in  <i  I 
the  furniture  business  at  Butler,  Custer  County,  Okla-  •II 
homa;  and  Ray  remains  at  the  parental  home. 

The  present  county  clerk  of  Roger  Mills  County  was  jj 
a child  of  about  three  years  at  the  time  when  the  family  j 1 
home  was  here  established,  and  his  boyhood  and  early  ; j 
youth  were  compassed  by  the  conditions  and  influences  < 
of  the  pioneer  farm,  the  while  he  made  good  use  of  the  t 
advantages  afforded  in  the  local  schools.  In  1911  Mr.  , 
Cunningham  was  graduated  in  the  high  school  at  Chey-  I 
enne,  and  in  the  following  year  he  had  the  distinction « 
of  being  elected  county  clerk,  when  twenty-three  years  4 
of  age.  The  most  effective  voucher  for  his  personal  ij 
popularity  and  his  able  administration  is  that  afforded  |j 
in  the  fact  that  in  1914  he  was  re-elected  for  a second  It 
term  of  two  years.  He  has  shown  marked  fidelity  and  i| 
circumspection  in  handling  the  multifarious  affairs  of  j 
his  office,  the  work  of  which  he  has  thoroughly  system- 1 
atized,  and  he  is  one  of  the  valued  executive  officers  of  the  | 
county  that  has  represented  his  home  from  early  child1?  ij 
hood  and  to  which  he  is  intrinsically  loyal,  even  as  he  oj 
is  appreciative  of  its  many  natural  and  acquired  advan-  J 
tages.  Mr.  Cunningham  is  found  arrayed  as  a stalwart  ( 
supporter  of  the  principles  of  the  democratic  party  and  4 
is  one  of  its  influential  representatives  in  his  home  county,  j 
He  is  a member  of  the  Baptist  Church.  In  his  home  (I 
city  he  is  affiliated  with  Cheyenne  Lodge  No.  237,  Inde-  j 
pendent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  and  with  the  local  organi-  il 
zations  of  the  Daughters  of  Rebekah,  the  Modern  Wood-il 
men  of  America  and  the  Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles,  4 
and  in  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  he  is  j 
further  identified  with  Encampment  No.  63  at  Elk  City,  1 
Beckham  County.  His  name  is  still  enrolled  on  the  list  i| 
of  eligible  young  bachelors  in  Roger  Mills  County. 

William  T.  Leahy.  No  name  is  better  known  in  the  J 
Osage  Nation  district  of  Oklahoma  than  that  of  Leahy.  ' 
The  family  was  established  there  more  than  forty  years  j 
ago,  and  William  T.  Leahy  of  Pawhuska  has  lived  there  | 
since  childhood.  As  a farmer,  stock  man,  capitalist  and  j 
banker  his  resources  and  influence  are  among  the  strongest  \ 
factors  in  the  business  affairs  of  that  section.  Before  j 
statehood  he  was  one  of  the  leading  representatives  4 
of  the  Osage  people  in  the  handling  of  their  interests  ' 
both  in  Indian  Territory  and  at  Washington,  and  since  j 
statehood  he  has  been  an  active  figure  in  political  life.  J 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1795 


By  inheritance  Mr.  Leahy  has  an  unusual  combination 
of  racial  stocks.  His  father  was  a native  Irishman, 
while  his  mother  was  part  French  and  part  Osage  Indian. 
| William  T.  Leahy  was  born  at  the  Old  Osage  Mission, 
| now  the  village  of  St.  Paul,  in  Neosho  County,  Kansas, 
[ July  9,  1869,  a son  of  Thomas  and  Mary  L.  (Champaigne) 
Leahy.  His  father  was  born  in  County  Tipperary,  Ire- 
land, while  his  mother  was  born  near  the  present  site 
of  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  a daughter  of  William  and 
Genevieve  (Rivard)  Champaigne.  Her  father  was  a 
Frenchman  and  her  mother  of  the  Osage  Indian  tribe. 
When  Mary  Champaigne  was  an  infant  she  lost  her  father 
and  her  mother  subsequently  took  her  out  to  Sacramento, 
California,  during  the  excitement  following  the  discovery 
of  gold.  They  made  the  trip  across  the  country  with 
four  team  and  wagons,  spent  six  or  seven  years  in  the 
West,  and  then  returned  to  the  Osage  Mission  in  South- 
eastern Kansas.  She  lived  there  until  her  marriage,  in 
1868,  to  Thomas  Leahy.  After  the  Indians  had  given  up 
their  lands  in  Kansas  and  had  removed  to  the  Osage 
Nation  in  Indian  Territory,  Thomas  Leahy  was  located 
for  a time  at  Fort  Riley  as  a trader  and  as  a dealer  in 
buffalo  hides.  As  a boy  in  the  late  '70s  during  the  high 
tide  of  the  buffalo  hide  industry,  William  T.  Leahy  has 
seen  as  many  as  fifteen  hundred  buffalo  carcasses,  the 
animals  having  been  killed  entirely  for  the  sake  of  their 
hides.  He  has  also  seen  around  his  father ’s  trading  post 
stacks  of  hides  piled  as  high  as  it  was  possible  to  pile 
them,  and  covering  an  area  two  or  three  hundred  yards 
square.  In  1875  Thomas  Leahy  moved  his  home  per- 
manently to  Osage  County,  Indian  Territory,  and  spent 
the  rest  of  his  life  in  that  section.  He  became  prom- 
inent as  a cattle  man,  and  his  death  occurred  at  Los 
Angeles,  California,  while  visiting  in  the  West,  May 
10,  1913,  at  the  age  of  seventy.  He  had  come  to  America 
in  1855  in  company  with  his  brother  Edward,  he  being 
then  twelve  years  of  age.  In  Illinois  he  was  bound  out 
to  a man  named  Nugent,  who  subsequently  located  near 
Fort  Scott,  Kansas,  and  remained  in  the  employ.  of 
that  man  until  nineteen  years  of  age.  For  some  time 
he  was  engaged  in  driving  government  teams  between 
Fort  Scott  and  Fort  Smith,  but  during  the  war  one  of 
the  trains  was  captured.  Thomas  Leahy  frequently 
stopped  at  the  old  Osage  Mission  on  these  trips,  and 
while  there  became  acquainted  with  Miss  Champaigne, 
and  they  were  subsequently  married.  Mrs.  Thomas  Leahy 
is  still  living  at  Pawhuska  at  the  age  of  sixty-five.  . They 
were  the  parents  of  three  children:  Viva,  who  is  the 
wife  of  W.  S.  Conners,  now  living  at  San  Antonio,  Texas ; 
Cora,  widow  of  George  Saxton,  living  at  Los  Angeles, 
California;  and  William  T.,  the  only  son  and  the  oldest 
of  the  family. 

William  T.  Leahy  lived  with  his  father  until  twenty- 
five,  and  gained  a thorough  training  not  only  in  the 
merchandise  business,  but  also  as  a farmer  and  stock 
man.  For  several  years  the  firm  of  Leahy  & Son  was 
conducted  both  in  the  general  merchandise  business  and 
in  stock  raising.  As  a young  man  Mr.  Leahy  attended 
the  primary  schools  at  Osage  Mission  and  completed  his 
education  in  the  Southeast  Kansas  Normal  College  at 
Fort  Scott.  He  was  sent  back  to  Kansas  to  get  his  edu- 
cation while  the  family  were  living  in  Indian  Territory. 
At  the  age  of  twenty-five  Mr.  Leahy  started  at  Pawhuska 
its  first  bakery  and  confectionery  store,  and  was  pro- 
prietor of  that  establishment  for  six  or  seven  years. 
He  then  became  identified  with  cattle  and  horse  raising, 
and  still  later,  banking.  He  is  now  interested  in  four 
different  banks,  being  vice  president  of  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Pawhuska,  vice  president  of  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Foraker,  president  of  the  Bank  of  Bigheart,  a 
state  bank,  and  a director  in  the  Bank  of  Prue,  also  a 
state  bank.  These  institutions  are  all  located  in  Osage 


County.  Some  of  the  richest  oil  and  gas  fields  in  the 
Osage  Nation  have  been  developed  by  the  Pawhuska  Oil 
& Gas  Company,  of  which  Mr.  Leahy  is  vice  president,  and 
he  holds  a similar  office  in  the  Pawhuska-Cleveland  Gas 
& Oil  Company.  At  a fine  stock  ranch  and  farm  two 
miles  north  of  Pawhuska,  he  has  a thousand  acres  com- 
prising one  of  the  model  estates  of  Northeastern  Okla- 
homa. In  addition  he  has  twenty-one  quarter  sections 
of  land  elsewhere  in  Osage  County.  As  a stock  man  he 
keeps  about  a thousand  head  of  cattle  and  has  some  sixty 
registered  Hereford  cows.  He  gives  his  personal  super- 
intendence to  the  management  of  his  large  farm.  In  Paw- 
huska he  is  half  owner  in  a large  store  building  on  Main 
Street,  built  at  a cost  of  $14,000,  owns  a garage  build- 
ing that  cost  $4,500,  and  has  a number  of  residences 
in  that  city.  Mr.  Leahy  recently  completed  a home 
on  Main  Street  that  cost  $12,000  and  represents  all  the 
modern  ideals  of  comfort  and  attractiveness  of  archi- 
tectural arrangement  and  appearance. 

A democrat  throughout  his  active  political  career, 
Mr.  Leahy  is  one  of  the  'energetic  and  public  spirited 
leaders  of  his  home  county  and  in  more  recent  years 
of  the  state.  He  served  for  about  ten  years  on  the 
Osage  council,  and  for  four  year  was  treasurer  of  the 
Osage  Nation.  He  was  a member  of  the  committee  that 
drafted  the  Osage  allotment  bill  and  in  the  interests  of 
his  people  spent  the  greater  part  of  three  winters  in 
Washington,  D.  C.,  advocating  the  passage  of  this  allot- 
ment bill  through  Congress.  The  people  of  Oklahoma 
will  recall  how,  a few  years  ago,  Mr.  Leahy  was 
arrested  by  the  Interior  Department  on  the  charge  of 
having  attempted  to  intimidate  the  Osage  council  in 
behalf  of  some  measures  which  were  before  it  for  con- 
sideration. Several  other  well  known  men  were  involved 
in  the  same  charge,  but  after  a trial  which  went  on  for 
six  weeks  in  Oklahoma  City  before  Federal  Judge  Cot- 
trell and  a jury,  Mr.  Leahy  was  not  only  acquitted,  but 
completely  exonerated  from  every  particular  of  the  indict- 
ment. During  the  administration  of  Governor  Cruce  Mr. 
Leahy  served  on  the  State  Board  of  Agriculture  until 
that  body  was  reduced  by  the  Legislature  from  ten  to 
five  members,  and  though  offered  reappointment  under 
Governor  Williams,  he  declined  the  honor  on  account 
of  the  demands  upon  his  time  made  by  his  large  private 
business  affairs. 

Mr.  Leahy  is  a member  of  both  the  State  and  National 
Bankers’  associations,  is  a Catholic,  in  which  faith  he 
was  reared,  a member  of  the  Knights  of  Columbus,  and 
of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  Having 
spent  most  of  his  life  among  the  Osage  people,  he.  has 
a fluent  command  of  the  Osage  language.  He  is  a 
fine  type  of  the  successful  business  man,  positive,  ener- 
getic, a hard  worker  in  everything  he  undertakes,  public 
spirited  and  always  ready  to  engage  his  energies  and 
resources  in  behalf  of  some  movement  that  will  affect  the 
welfare  of  the  community  and  the  people  among  whom 
he  lives. 

On  January  28,  1897,  Mr.  Leahy  married  Miss  Martha 
E.  Rogers,  a daughter  of  the  late  Thomas  L.  Rogers, 
one  of  the  most  prominent  characters  in  the  Osage  Nation, 
a sketch  of  whose  career  is  found  on  other  pages  of  this 
publication.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Leahy  have  two  sons : William 
Timothy,  Jr.,  and  Thomas  B. 

Bruce  Lazzell  Keenan.  For  over  twenty  years  Mr. 
Keenan  has  been  identified  with  the  old  Cherokee  capital 
of  Tahlequah,  and  has  attained  prominence  in  profes- 
sional circles  as  an  able  and  thorough  lawyer,  has  taken 
a leading  part  in  civic  movements,  and  in  numerous 
ways  has  contributed  to  the  material  welfare  of  that 
section  of  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Keenan  came  into  the  Cherokee 
Nation  from  Kansas  to  take  the  position  of  Commissioner 


1796 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


of  tlie  United  States  Court  at  Tahlequah,  and  when  his 
duties  in  that  position  were  terminated  with  statehood 
he  resumed  the  active  private  practice  of  law,  in  which 
he  has  been  eminently  successful. 

Though  most  of  his  professional  life  has  been  spent 
in  the  West  Mr.  Keenan  is  a native  of  West  Virginia, 
having  been  born  on  a farm  near  Morgantown,  October 
16,  1856.  His  father,  John  P.  Keenan,  was  born  in 
Pennsylvania,  a son  of  Hugh  Keenan,  a native  of  Ireland. 
Mr.  Keenan’s  mother  was  Nancy  Lazzell,  also  a native 
of  West  Virginia  and  of  English  lineage. 

The  environment  of  a West  Virginia  farm  encompassed 
the  youth  of  Mr.  Keenan,  and  he  took  from  that  a hardy 
constitution  and  the  advantages  of  home  and  district 
school  training  to  the  University  of  West  Virginia,  from 
which  he  was  graduated  in  1880.  Then  came  a period  of 
school  teaching,  by  which  means  he  earned  the  money 
necessary  to  defray  his  expenses  through  law  school.  In 
1885  he  was  graduated  from  the  law  department  of  his 
home  state  university,  and  soon  after  completing  his  law 
course  he  came  West  and  located  at  Wichita,  Kansas. 
Mr.  Keenan  was  engaged  in  the  active  practice  of  law 
at  Wichita  until  April,  1894,  when  his  appointment  to 
the  duties  of  United  States  Commissioner  caused  his 
removal  to  Tahlequah.  This  important  office  he  most 
creditably  filled  until  statehood,  in  1907,  and  in  the  past 
eight  years  has  built  up  a large  and  remunerative  practice 
as  a lawyer. 

In  1890  Judge  Keenan  married  Miss  Alice  M.  Over- 
street,  who  comes  of  the  Indiana  family  of  Overstreets, 
many  of  whom  have  become  prominent  in  business,  in  pro- 
fessional circles  and  in  politics.  Five  children  have  been 
born  to  their  union,  Robert  Bruce  Keenan,  a lawyer  at 
Sapulpa,  Oklahoma;  Margaret,  wife  of  Chester  O.  Holly, 
of  Stigler,  Oklahoma;  Hypatia,  wife  of  Thurman  Wyly, 
of  Tahlequah;  and  Claude  and  John  Kenneth,  both  at 
home.  In  polities  Judge  Keenan  has  always  upheld  the 
principles  and  policies  of  the  republican  party.  He  is 
a Master  Mason,  and  in  his  personal  relations  is  noted 
for  his  unostentatious  bearing,  has  a great  many  friends 
gained  through  more  than  twenty  years  of  residence  in 
Eastern  Oklahoma,  and  among  them  is  marked  with  every 
esteem. 

William  M.  Eddy.  A resident  of  Cimarron  County 
since  1897,  William  M.  Eddy  has  taken  an  important  and 
helpful  part  in  the  development  of  this  section,  and  par- 
ticularly of  the  Town  of  Kenton.  He  was  the  first 
county  treasurer  under  statehood,  from  1900  to  1907 
practically  had  charge  of  the  Kenton  Postoffice,  and  in 
1914  was  appointed  postmaster,  which  position  he  holds 
at  this  time.  Mr.  Eddy  has  also  been  identified  prom- 
inently with  business  affairs,  and  both  in  commercial 
and  public  life  has  substantially  entrenched  himself  in 
the  confidence  and  esteem  of  the  people. 

William  M.  Eddy  was  born  in  a log  house  on  a farm  in 
Guadalupe  County,  Texas,  December  4,  1861,  and  is  a 
son  of  Lynch  T.  and  Fannie  R.  (Giles)  Eddy.  Lynch  T. 
Eddy  was  born  in  1832,  on  a plantation  in  Shelby 
County,  Kentucky,  a son  of  William  and  Sallie  Eddy, 
natives  of  Kentucky,  and  members  of  old  and  honored 
families  of  that  state.  He  removed  to  Texas  in  1858 
and  settled  on  a farm  in  Guadalupe  County,  where  he 
was  residing  at  the  outbreak  of  the  war  between  the 
states,  and  enlisted  as  a private  in  a Texas  infantry 
regiment,  under  the  flag  of  the  Confederacy.  In  1866 
he  returned  to  Kentucky,  took  up  the  study  of  medicine 
and  became  a prominent  practitioner  of  Louisville,  with 
a large  and  representative  practice.  In  1888  he  was 
chosen  a member  of  a medical  board  sent  to  Jackson- 
ville, Florida,  to  stamp  out  a serious  yellow  fever  epi- 
demic, and  became  one  of  the  martyrs  to  the  cause,  him- 


self contracting  the  disease,  from  which  he  did  not 
recover.  His  death  occurred  in  the  same  year.  In  1860, 
while  a resident  of  Texas,  Doctor  Eddy  was  married  to 
Miss  Fannie  R.  Giles,  who  was  born  in  1843,  in  Tennessee, 
daughter  of  William  T.  Giles,  a native  of  that  state. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Eddy  became  the  parents  of  four  sons  and 
one  daughter:  William  M.;  Cordelia  P.,  born  in  1863;  I 
Alexander  Campbell,  born  in  1866;  Stuart  T.,  born  in 
1868;  and  Roy,  born  in  1870.  All  the  children  sur-  J 
vive. 

William  M.  Eddy  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of 
Louisville,  Kentucky,  and  at  the  age  of  twenty  years 
began  teaching  as  a profession.  Not  long  thereafter  he 
went  to  Guadalupe  County,  Texas,  where  for  four  years 
he  divided  his  time  between  teaching  school  and  farm- 
ing, and  then  turned  his  attention  to  mercantile  pursuits 
as  salesman  in  a general  store  at  Waring,  Texas.  Next, 
Mr.  Eddy  had  two  years  of  experience  in  the  hotel  busi-  | 
ness,  conducting  a hostelry  at  Lockhart,  Texas,  but  in 
1897  disposed  of  his  interests  in  that  venture  and  came  , 
to  Oklahoma,  where  he  resumed  his  activities  as  an  edu-  j 
cator.  After  three  years  of  teaching  in  the  public  schools 
of  Cimarron  County,  he  once  more  became  a salesman  in 
a store  at  Kenton,  and  from  1900  until  1907  served  also 
as  assistant  postmaster  here,  a capacity  in  which  he  was 
practically  at  the  head  of  the  office.  In  1907  Mr. 
Eddy  was  elected  county  treasurer  of  Cimarron  County, 
being  the  first  incumbent  of  that  office  under  statehood,  j 
and  discharged  his  duties  in  an  energetic,  capable  and 
conscientious  manner.  At  the  expiration  of  his  term  of 
office  he  embarked  in  the  general  merchandise  business  at  j 
Kenton,  successfully  conducting  a store  until  1914,  when  1 
he  was  appointed  by  President  Wilson  to  his,  present  posi- 
tion as  postmaster.  He  has  worked  faithfully  and  ener-  J 
getically  to  improve  the  mail  service,  and  his  labors  have 
won  him  the  gratitude  and  regard  of  his  fellow-towns-  j 
men.  Mr.  Eddy  is  a democrat  and  one  of  the  influential  ' 
men  in  the  councils  of  his  party  in  Cimarron  County.  He 
can  be  depended  upon  to  give  his  support  to  all  move-  I 
ments  which  are  launched  in  behalf  of  the  public  good, 
and  to  give  liberally  of  his  time  and  abilities  in  advancing 
education  and  good  citizenship. 

Mr.  Eddy  was  married  at  Waring,  Texas,  August  8,  | 
1888,  to  Miss  Fannie  V.  Palmer,  who  was  born  January 
25,  1864,  at  Westpoint,  Mississippi,  daughter  of  B.  T. 
and  Fannie  (Cliett)  Palmer,  natives  of  Mississippi.  For 
a number  of  years  prior  to  her  marriage  Mrs.  Eddy  was 
a teacher  in  the  public  schools.  They  are  the  parents 
of  seven  children,  as  follows:  Palmer,  born  June  20, 
1890;  Marcellus  R.,  born  October  8,  1891;  Richard  Bax- 
ter, born  December  2,  1893 ; Douglass  A.,  born  September 
20,  1895;  Oran,  born  December  20,  1897;  Cordelia  P., 
born  January  20,  1900;  and  Arthur  C.,  born  December 
4,  1904. 

Oscar  A.  Lambert,  M.  D.  For  a number  of  years  Doctor 
Lambert  was  the  leading  physician  and  had  the  biggest 
practice  of  any  doctor  in  Marietta,  Ohio.  He  has  been 
known  less  as  a physician  and  more  as  a leader  of  enter- 
prise and  of  big  affairs  since  coming  to  Oklahoma.  In 
fact,  it  may  be  said  without  disparagement  of  his  other 
fellow  citizens,  that  Doctor  Lambert  has  been  more  vitally 
identified  with  the  growth  and  upbuilding  of  Okmulgee 
as  a city  than  any  other  person.  He  has  helped  accom- 
plish big  things  for  the  town,  and  is  a big  man  for  the 
work,  big  in  heart  as  well  as  resources.  While  successful 
in  business  affairs,  he  is  none  the  less  liberal  and  gen- 
erous in  everything  he  does.  In  fact,  as  has  been  said, 
he  is  the  man  who  meets  the  stranger  within  the  gates  of 
Okmulgee  and  makes  him  like  the  town  before  he 
leaves  it. 


I 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1797 


His  has  been  a many  sided  career.  Like  many  sub- 
j stantial  men,  he  tried  in  his  earlier  years  several  lines 
I with  indifferent  success.  He  found  his  real  vocation 
| when  he  entered  medicine,  and  from  that  has  passed 
| into  the  ranks  of  men  of  affairs.  He  was  born  near 
H Plantsville  in  Morgan  County,'  Ohio,  October  16,  1865,  a 
$ son  of  Eeece  B.  and  Lydia  (Hanson)  Lambert.  His 
! parents  were  both  of  Quaker  stock ; they  held  strongly  to 
that  religion  themselves  and  they  reared  Doctor  Lambert 
to  the  simple  belief  of  the  faith.  Notwithstanding  the 
aversion  of  Quakers  to  warfare,  Doctor  Lambert  has  a rel- 
ative, General  Lambert,  who  distinguished  himself  in  the 
battle  of  New  Orleans  under  General  Jackson  at  the 
t close  of  the  War  of  1812.  The  parents  were  both  born 
! in  Belmont  County,  Ohio,  were  married  there,  and  after- 
k wards  went  to  Morgan  County,  where  they  still  reside. 
I The  father  is  a retired  farmer  and  lives  at  Chesterhill, 
;■  Ohio.  During  his  active  career  he  was  noted  for  his  pro- 
I gressiveness,  and  was  always  ready  and  among  the  first 
I to  use  the  improvements  and  innovations  which  came  into 
I his  rural  district. 

Doctor  Lambert  himself  was  reared  as  a farmer  boy, 
1 and  among  other  accomplishments  he  has  a very  practical 
I knowledge  of  agriculture  in  all  its  phases.  His  early 
I education  came  from  public  and  private  schools,  he 
I attended  Bartlett  Academy  in  his  native  state,  and  dur- 
I ing  three  winters  he  taught  school,  while  the  summers 

SI  were  spent  in  farming.  Having  pursued  a course  of  law 
study,  he  did  some  “pettifogging,”  as  he  calls  it,  for  a 
J time,  but  never  became  enrolled  among  the  members  of 
I the  Ohio  bar.  For  three  years  he  was  in  the  general 
I merchandising  business,  until  stricken  with  typhoid 
* fever.  During  his  long  recuperation  from  that  sickness 
»!  he  determined  to  take  up  the  study  of  medicine.  In 
B consequence  three  years  were  spent  in  Starling  Medical 
| College  at  Columbus,  Ohio,  from  which  he  had  his  degree 
H M.  D.  in  1894.  He  was  a member  of  a class  of  thirty- 
; three,  and  went  out  from  college  with  the  first  honors  of 
| his  class  and  with  two  prizes  in  addition.’  After  two 
■ years  of  preliminary  practice  at  Chesterhill  in  his  native 
county  he  settled  at  Marietta,  the  old  and  historic  city  on 
■ I the  Ohio  River,  and  for  fifteen  years  lived  there,  and  in 
I that  time  he  enjoyed  the  largest  practice  in  the  town. 

| At  the  same  time  he  was  active  in  public  affairs. 
| j Though  reared  a republican  he  became  a Bryant  demo- 

Icrat  and  has  been  affiliated  with  the  democratic  party 
| since  1896.  While  in  Ohio  he  was  a candidate  for  the 
j Legislature  and  at  one  time  refused  the  nomination  for 
I congress.  He  was  elected  mayor  of  Marietta.  Besides 
I handling  his  large  medical  practice  he  organized  three 
I industrial  companies  at  Marietta,  and  became  interested 
| in  oil  fields  while  there.  He  also  organized  the  Marietta 
Journal,  and  was  active  in  the  management  of  that  pub- 
I lication  for  a time. 

It  was  journalism  to  which  he  first  turned  his  attention 
I after  coming  to  Oklahoma.  A year  before  statehood 
1 Doctor  Lambert  located  at  Okmulgee,  and  in  company 
[j  with  J.  J.  Maroney  bought  the  Okmulgee  Democrat.  He 
I retained  his  interest  in  that  paper  until  1915. 

Doctor  Lambert  is  president  of  the  Okmulgee  Interur- 
I ban  Railroad,  and  it  was  due  to  his  management  that  it 
I became  a paying  proposition  after  a long  struggle  with 
I adversity.  His  business  interests  also  extend  to  the 

[holding  of  some  oil  properties,  and  he  is  developing 
several  leases  in  the  Oklahoma  field.  Doctor  Lambert  does 
f little  practice  now  and  in  fact  medicine  is  only  an  inci- 
dent of  his  busy  life.  He  is  a director  of  the  Chamber  of 
I Commerce  and  lias  been  identified  with  that  body  ever 
l|  since  it  was  organized.  Anything  that  concerns  Okmulgee 
! I and  its  welfare  concerns  Doctor  Lambert.  By  common 


most  important  affairs.  He  is  a member  of  the  official 
board  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  and  is  superin- 
tendent of  the  largest  Sunday  school  in  Okmulgee.  Fra- 
ternally he  is  affiliated  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America. 

On  December  2, 1889,  Doctor  Lambert  married  Carrie  E. 
Lewis.  She  was  born  in  Ohio  but  was  living  in  Pennsyl- 
vania at  the  time  of  her  marriage.  They  had  two  sons: 
Ernest  C.,  who  is  now  associated  with  his  father  in  busi- 
ness affairs;  and  Harold,  who  died  at  the  age  of  nine 
years. 

Joseph  Bowden  Tims.  The  community  of  Paden  in 
Okfuskee  County  will  long  remember  the  enterprise  and 
the  fine  character  of  the  late  Joseph  Bowden  Tims,  who 
died  there  at  his  home  July  18,  1911.  He  was  the  first 
man  to  make  investments  of  any  importance,  in  that 
town  and  surrounding  community,  and  was  essentially  a 
business  man,  thoroughgoing,  upright,  and  with  a record 
for  integrity  and  fair  dealing  that  followed  him  after 
death. 

He  was  born  at  Keechi,  Louisiana,  September  25, 
1866,  the  youngest  of  seven  children  born  to  Amos  and 
Mary  E.  (Kinnard)  Tims.  Both  parents  were  natives  of 
Mississippi,  and  his  father,  who  was  a shoemaker,  died 
at  Timpson,  Texas.  The  mother  is  still  living  in  East 
Texas.  Joseph  B.  Tims  was  still  an  infant  when  his 
parents  moved  into  East  Texas  and  located  at  Nacog- 
doches, where  he  grew  to  manhood.  His  education  came 
from  the  common  schools,  and  at  the  age  of  sixteen  he 
started  out  in  life  on  his  own  account,  at  that  time 
manifesting  the  enterprise  and  self  reliance  which  were 
always  his  most  striking  characteristics. 

Going  out  to  West  Texas,  he  had  a life  of  eventful 
experience,  and  finally  became  a lumber  merchant  at 
Fort  Worth,  Texas.  He  followed  business  there  until 
the  panic  of  1908,  and  in  1909  he  moved  to  the  new 
community  of  Paden  in  Okfuskee  County,  Oklahoma, 
which  was  his  home  for  one  year  only,  but  in  that  time 
he  impressed  his  ability  and  influence  in  many  ways. 
He  made  extensive  investments  in  lands,  in  stock,  and 
was  also  the  mainspring  of  mercantile  activity.  He  had 
acquired  extensive  holdings  in  the  oil  fields,  though  he 
did  not  live  to  see  the  land  developed  in  its  mineral 
deposits. 

, He  was  a democrat,  though  always  a business  man 
and  not  a politician.  His  church  was  the  Christian 
denomination. 

At  Weatherford,  Texas,  June  17,  1896,  Mr.  Tims  mar- 
ried Miss  Nancy  J.  Taylor,  who  was  born  near  Fayette- 
ville, Arkansas,  April  25,  1869.  When  six  months  of 
age  she  moved  to  Texas  with  her  parents,  Ezekiel  E. 
Taylor  and  wife,  to  whom  reference  is  made  on  other 
pages,  and  she  grew  up  in  Parker  County  and  lived  in 
that  section  of  the  Lone  Star  State  until  1909,  when 
she  came  with  her  husband  to  Paden,  Oklahoma.  Mrs. 
Tims,  since  the  death  of  Mr.  Tims,  has  shown  remarkable 
business  judgment  and  ability  in  the  management  of  the 
estate  and  is  thoroughly  capable  of  safeguarding  her 
own  interests  and  in  managing  and  increasing  the  value 
of  the  property  left  her.  She  takes  an  active  part  in 
the  Order  of  the  Eastern  Star  and  is  a member  of  the 
Cumberland  Presbyterian  Church. 

Mrs.  Tims  became  the  mother  of  four  children:  Rita 

May,  who  died  at  Weatherford,  Texas,  at  the  age  of  eight 
years;  Oscar  William,  Vergil  Elbert  and  Eugene  Paui. 

Willard  Newton  Lewis.  Along  with  general  suc- 
cess has  come  at  least  one  interesting  distinction  in 
the  career  of  Mr.  Lewis  as  an  Oklahoma  lawyer.  In 
February,  1901,  he  was  appointed  city  attorney  of 


1798 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Davis,  his  present  home  town.  He  still  holds  the  office, 
and  has  been  continuously  its  incumbent  for  fifteen 
years.  This  makes  him  in  point  of  continuous  service 
the  oldest  city  attorney  in  the  state.  He  has  filled 
this  office  so  creditably  and  with  so  much  valuable 
service  to  his  home  town  that  no  other  man  has  been 
considered  for  the  place  so  long  as  Mr.  Lewis  will 
consent  to  remain. 

While  a member  of  the  legal  profession  more  than 
twenty  years,  Mr.  Lewis  has  always  been  active  in 
the  affairs  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  South 
and  comes  of  a family  that  has  furnished  a number 
of  ministers  to  that  denomination.  His  people  origi- 
nally came  from  Wales  and  settled  in  Maryland  in  colo- 
nial times,  representatives  subsequently  moving  to  North 
Carolina,  thence  to  Alabama,  and  finally  to  Mississippi. 
His  grandfather,  Eev.  Wiley  Lewis,  was  born  in  North 
Carolina  in  1820  and  died  in  Choctaw  County,  Missis- 
sippi, in  1885.  He  was  a minister  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church  South. 

James  A.  Lewis,  father  of  the  Oklahoma  attorney, 
who  was  born  in  Alabama  in  1835,  has  for  sixty  years 
been  an  active  member  of  the  Methodist  Church  and  for 
fifty  years  has  filled  official  positions,  such  as  steward, 
trustee  and  superintendent  of  the  Sunday  school.  He 
was  reared  in  Chickasaw  County,  Mississippi,  and  for 
many  years  operated  a fine  farm  of  600  acres  eleven 
miles  south  of  Houston,  the  county  seat  of  Chickasaw 
County.  He  still  owns  that  property  but  is  now  living 
retired  in  Houston.  During  the  war  between  the  states 
he  was  a Confederate  soldier  for  three  and  a half  years. 
He  was  in  the  great  Georgia  campaign  under  Gen.  Joseph 
E.  Johnston  in  the  sturdy  opposition  to  the  advance  of 
Sherman ’s  army.  He  has  for  the  past  half  century 
been  a member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity.  As  a demo- 
crat he  represented  his  party  four  times  in  the  State 
Legislature,  was  for  six  years'  a supervisor  of  Chickasaw 
County  and  spent  many  years  on  the  County  Pension 
Board.  Be  married  Bettie  Foster  who  was  born  in 
Alabama  in  1837  and  died  at  Houston,  Mississippi, 
in  1913.  Their  children  were:  T.  W.  Lewis,  who  is 

now  pastor  of  St.  John’s  Methodist  Episcopal  Church 
at  Memphis,  Tennessee;  Nannie,  who  died  in  July,  1915, 
at  Jackson,  Mississippi,  was  the  wife  of  F.  A.  Whitson, 
a Methodist  minister  who  died  at  New  Albany,  Mis- 
sissippi, in  1899 ; Willard  Newton,  who  is  the  third  in 
order  of  age;  E.  S.  Lewis,  pastor  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church  at  Oxford,  Mississippi;-  John  Silas 
who  was  born  in  1875,  was  a general  mechanic  by  trade 
and  died  at  Houston,  Mississippi,  in  1908;  William 
Finis,  a twin  brother  of  John  S.,  who  died  in  1882;  and 
Dixie,  who  is  a bookkeeper  at  Chattanooga,  Tennessee. 

Willard  Newton  Lewis  was  born  near  Atlanta  in 
■Chickasaw  County,  Mississippi,  October  11,  1865,  and 
acquired  his  early  education  in  the  common  schools  of 
that  county.  In  1886  he  graduated  A.  B.  from  the 
Mississippi  State  Normal  School  at  Buena  Vista,  and 
in  1894  took  his  degree  in  law  from  the  University  of 
Mississippi.  Beginning  practice  at  Magnolia,  Arkan- 
sas, he  remained  there  three  years,  and  this  was  fol- 
lowed by  three  years  of  work  in  the  educational  field. 
In  1897  he  taught  at  Atlanta,  Arkansas,  one  year  and 
taught  at  Bagwell,  Texas,  in  1898  and  1899. 

Mr.  Lewis  has  lived  in  Davis,  Oklahoma,  and  been 
engaged  in  general  civil  and  criminal  practice  as  a 
lawyer  there  since  May,  1900.  He  has  served  on  the 
school  board  nine  years  and  exercises  considerable 
influence  in  the  democratic  party  of  Murray  County. 
He  is  a steward  and  trustee  in  the  local  Methodist  Epis- 
copal Church  South,  has  been  local  lay  leader  and  dis- 


trict lay  leader  and  for  the  past  year  and  a half  has 
been  a lay  preacher.  He  also  takes  much  interest  in  fra- 
ternal matters.  He  is  affiliated  with  Ivanhoe  Lodge  No. 
116,  Knights  of  Pythias,  at  Davis,  of  which  he  is  past 
chancellor  commander,  and  since  1906  has  been  a trus- 
tee of  the  Grand  Lodge  and  was  formerly  grand  vice 
chancellor  of  the  state;  is  a member  of  Tyre  Lodge  No. 
42,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  at  Davis;  and 
of  Cedar  Camp  No.  42,  Woodmen  of  the  World.  Pro- 
fessionally he  is  a member  of  the  County  and  State  Bar 
associations  and  of  the  Commercial  Law  League  of 
America. 

On  December  25,  1893,  at  Kilmichael,  Mississippi,  he 
married  Miss  Lillie  Williams,  whose  father,  B.  A.  Wil- 
liams is  a farmer  at  Kilmichael.  Mrs.  Lewis  died  in 
the  sanitarium  at  Ardmore,  Oklahoma,  April  7,  1905. 
On  December  27,  1909,  at  Oklahoma  City  he  married 
Miss  Hattie  Buth  Collins.  Her  father  was  the  late 
Dr.  G.  H.  Collins,  a physician  and  surgeon,  and  her 
mother,  Mrs.  Maud  Collins,  is  still  living  at  Oklahoma 
City.  Mr.  Lewis  has  no  children  by  either  marriage. 

Montferd  W.  Pugh.  One  of  the  men  who  have 
assisted  in  making  history  in  that  district  of  Oklahoma 
formerly  known  as  No  Man’s  Land  is  Montferd  W. 
Pugh,  now  serving  in  his  fourth  consecutive  term  as 
county  judge  of  Cimarron  County,  and  recognized  as  a 
lawyer  of  very  high  attainment  and  with  a practice  hardly 
second  to  any  of  his  professional  brethren  in  that  sec- 
tion of  the  state. 

Judge  Pugh  was  born  August  28,  1878,  on  a farm  in 
Perry  County,  Illinois,  a son  of  Charles  E.  and  Margaret 
Jane  (Peery)  Pugh.  His  father,  who  was  also  born  in 
Perry  County,  Illinois,  in  1848,  was  a son  of  William  and 
Betsie  Pugh,  natives  of  Ohio,  who  moved  to  Illinois 
as  pioneer  settlers  in  1842.  Grandfather  Pugh  died  there 
in  1854,  followed  a few  years  later  by  his  wife.  Charles 
E.  Pugh  spent  his  active  career  as  a farmer  in  Perry 
County,  Illinois,  where  he  died  March  4,  1890.  He  was 
married  in  1872  to  Miss  Peery,  who  was  born  in  1852 
in  Perry  County,  Illinois,  a daughter  of  James  and 
Elizabeth  (Lindsey)  Peery,  the  former  a native  of  Ten- 
nessee and  the  latter  of  Ohio.  Charles  E.  Pugh  and  wife 
were  the  parents  of  four  children,  three  sons  and  one 
daughter:  Bertie,  born  in  1875  and  died  in  1880;  Dollie, 
born  in  187 6 and  died  in  the  same  year ; Montferd  W. ; 
and  Craig  A.,  born  in  1886,  now  a farmer  and  stock 
raiser  in  Cimarron  County,  and  was  married  in  1914  to 
Edith  Hanes. 

Montferd  W.  Pugh  was  educated  in  the  public  schools 
at  Tamaroa,  Illinois,  graduating  from  high  school  with 
the  class  of  1897.  He  then  took  a normal  course  in  the 
Southern  Illinois  Normal  University  at  Carbondale,  and 
for  four  years  did  some  successful  work  as  a teacher  in 
Perry  County  and  at  the  same  time  studied  law.  The 
years  1901-03  he  spent  in  Valparaiso  University  at  Val- 
paraiso, Indiana,  and  was  graduated  in  the  law  depart- 
ment with  the  class  of  1903  and  the  degree  LL.  B.  Fol- 
lowing his  admission  to  the  Illinois  bar  he  practiced 
three  years  in  Pinckneyville  in  that  state  and  for  two 
years  of  that  time  was  city  attorney. 

It  was  in  1906  that  Mr.  Pugh  came  to  Oklahoma  and 
his  first  location  was  at  Texhoma,  on  the  line  between 
Oklahoma  and  Texas.  He  filed  on  a claim  of  land  in 
Cimarron  County  and  conducted  a practice  as  a lawyer 
for  one  year  at  Texhoma.  In  February,  1908,  he  removed 
to  Kenton,  which  was  then  the  temporary  county  seat 
of  Cimarron  County.  In  September,  1908,  he  followed 
the  county  seat  on  its  removal  to  the  permanent  location 
at  Boise  City. 

His  qualifications  and  ability  as  a lawyer  were  not 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1799 


long  in  securing  recognition  in  this  part  of  Oklahoma, 
and  in  1907  he  was  nominated  on  the  democratic  ticket 
and  elected  county  judge  of  the  newly  organized  Cimarron 
County.  He  was  thus  the  first  elected  official  in  that 
capacity  to  preside  over  the  county  court  of  Cimarron 
County.  He  has  since  been  regularly  re-elected  and 
now  in  his  fourth  consecutive  term.  Judge  Pugh  is  a 
Knight  Templar,  and  is  also  affiliated  with  the  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 

On  October  4,  1904,  at  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  Judge 
Pugh  married  Miss  Lora  G.  Jack.  They  were  married 
during  the  year  of  the  Louisiana  Purchase  Exposition, 
and  the  marriage  ceremony  was  performed  in  the  Illinois 
State  Building  on  the  fair  grounds  at  St.  Louis.  Mrs. 
Pugh  was  born  November  22,  1881,  at  Beaucoup,  Illinois, 
a daughter  of- Samuel  C.  and  Emma  (Seibert)  Jack,  the 
former  a native  of  Tennessee  and  the  latter  of  Illinois. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Pugh  are  members  of  the  Methodist  Epis- 
copal Church  South.  To  their  marriage  have  been  born 
three  children:  DeMotte  J.,  born  June  25,  1905,  and  died 
August  23,  1905;  Paul  G.,  born  November  15,  1909; 
and  Jack,  born  October  15,  1915. 

James  A.  Young,  M.  D.  A physician  of  many  years 
experience,  Doctor  Young  came  to  Oklahoma  from  Iowa, 
and  since  1909  has  been  in  practice  at  Britton,  where 
he  is  senior  member  of  the  firm  of  Young.  & Stewart, 
physicians  and  surgeons.  Doctor  Young  is  regarded  as 
one  of  the  most  expert  medical  men  in  Oklahoma  County 
as  an  obstetrician  and  in  the  treatment  of  diseases  of 
children. 

James  A.  Young  was  born  in  Hancock  County,  Illi- 
nois, July  23,  1861,  a son  of  Bev.  W.  M.  and  Lydia 
(Souther)  Young.  His  father  was  a Baptist  minister, 
and  for  many  years  was  one  of  the  best  known  and  best 
loved  men  in  the  ministry  of  that  church  in  the  State  of 
Iowa.  He  died  in  1881. 

Doctor  Young  spent  his  boyhood  in  Montrose,  Iowa, 
where  he  attended  public  schools  and  there  took  up 
the  study  of  medicine  in  the  office  of  Dr.  T.  C.  Hayes. 
Subsequently  his  studies  were  continued  under  Dr.  John 
Bencher  at  Reiner,  Missouri,  and  with  that  preliminary 
training  he  entered  the  College  of  Physicians  and  Sur- 
geons at  Keokuk,  Iowa,  where  he  was  graduated  M.  D. 
in  1894.  While  in  medical  college  he  was  a special 
student  of  obstetrics  and  diseases  of  children  under  Dr. 
F.  B.  Dorsey,  an  eminent  authority  on  those  subjects 
and  a member  of  the  faculty  of  the  College  of  Physicians 
and  Surgeons.  For  twenty  years  now  Doctor  Young, 
though  a general  practitioner,  has  found  himself  more  and 
more  in  demand  as  a specialist  in  cases  involving  these 
subjects.  He  began  practice  at  Acosta,  Clark  County, 
Missouri,  but  three  years  later  removed  to  Bonaparte, 
Iowa,  and  from  that  state  came  to  Britton,  Oklahoma, 
in  1909,  to  join  Doctor  Stewart  in  practice. 

In  1881  Doctor  Young  married  Miss  S.  L.  Stewart,  a 
sister  of  his  partner  in  the  firm  of  Young  & Stewart, 
their  four  children  are:  Mrs.  Lydia  Jane  Norwood, 
whose  husband  is  an  employe  of  the  Standard  Oil  Com- 
pany at  Britton;  Mrs.  Mary  E.  Scott,  wife  of  another 
Standard  Oil  man  at  Owosso,  Oklahoma ; ; Mrs.  Gertrude 
Staley,  wife  of  a hardware  merchant  at  Oklahoma  City; 
and  James  A.  Young,  agent  for  the  Santa  Fe  Railroad 
Company  at  Plainview,  Texas. 

Doctor  Young  is  a member  of  the  Baptist  Church  and 
affiliates  with  the  Camp  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America.  In  Iowa  he  was  a member  of  various  medical 
and  surgical  organizations  and  since  coming  to  Oklahoma 
has  taken  an  important  part  in  the  development  of  his 
community.  While  his  experience  and  practice  has  been 
of  the  broadest  character,  he  has  always  been  a student, 


and  some  years  ago  spent  some  time  in  post-graduate 
study  in  the  Chicago  Clinical  Post-graduate  School.  He 
is  regarded  as  one  of  the  best  informed  and  most  suc- 
cessful practitioners  in  his  part  of  the  state. 

B.  F.  Stewart,  M.  D.  In  Oklahoma  more  than  in 
older  states  it  is  not  difficult  to  trace  the  influence  of 
one  or  more  men  in  the  building  of  a community.  The 
history  of  almost  every  locality  in  the  state  is  a record 
of  what  only  a few  men  have  planned  and  carried  out. 
The  statement  of  this  fact  serves  to  emphasize  the  im- 
portance of  Doctor  Stewart  in  addition  to  his  regular 
service  as  a member  of  a profession,  and  at  the  same 
time  it  is  not  meant  to  detract  from  the  good  that 
other  men  of  the  community  have  done.  One  of  the  great 
improvements  brought  to  Oklahoma  by  statehood  was  the 
Corporation  Commission,  which  was  given  authority  to 
regulate  the  action  of  public  service  corporations.  Doc- 
tor Stewart  was  one  of  the  leaders  of  a body  of  men  of 
Britton  who  shortly  after-  statehood,  through  appeal  to 
the  commission,  procured  for  the  town  a modern  depot, 
thus  ridding  it  of  a make-shift  frontier-town  affair.  As 
the  little  prairie  town  on  a hill  immediately  north  of 
Oklahoma  City  began  to  take  on  metropolitan  ways  dur- 
ing the  bright  period  of  material  prosperity  for  the 
entire  country,  the  necessity  of  better  roads  and  streets 
was  apparent,  and  Doctor  Stewart  was  among  those  who 
fostered  a movement  looking  to  highway  improvement. 
His  influence  has  been  an  important  factor  since  the 
birth  of  the  Town  of  Britton  in  the  establishment  of 
modern  schools  and  providing  them  with  modern  equip- 
ment; in  selecting  progressive  men  for  town  and  school 
board  offices;  in  the  erection  and  maintenance  of 
churches,  and  in  the  elevation  of  health,  morals  and  public 
welfare. 

Dr.  B.  F.  Stewart  was  born  in  Iowa  in  1869,  a son  of 
James  and  Jane  (Payne)  Stewart.  His  father,  a native 
of  Scotland,  was  a mechanic  and  an  early  settler  of  Iowa, 
and  the  mother’s  people,  the  Paynes,  were  also  early 
comers  to  the  same  state,  of  English  extraction.  Doctor 
Stewart  has  three  brothers  and  one  sister:  Mrs.  J.  A. 
Young,  wife  of  a physician  at  Britton  who  is  a partner 
of  Doctor  Stewart;  William  Stewart,  a miner  in  Mon- 
tana; John  L.  Stewart,  an  Iowa  farmer;  James  A.  Stew- 
art, farmer,  of  Missouri,  and  A.  T.  Stewart,  who  lives  in 
British  Columbia. 

Doctor  Stewart  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of 
Iowa  and  in  1900  graduated  M.  D.  from  the  Keokuk 
Medical  College  at  Keokuk,  Iowa.  In  the  summer  follow- 
ing his  graduation  he  began  the  practice  of  medicine  in 
his  native  state,  but  later  in  the  same  year  moved  to 
Oklahoma  locating  at  Britton.  He  interrupted  his  pri- 
vate practice  in  1907  to  take  a post-graduate  course  in 
the  Chicago  Post-Graduate  School. 

On  August  18,  1901,  Doctor  Stewart  married  Miss  Flo- 
rence McCollum  at  Walton,  Kansas.  Mrs.  Stewart  had 
been  a teacher  for  several  years  in  the  public  schools  of 
Iowa.  They  have  an  adopted  child,  Helen  Bell,  aged 
two  years.  Doctor  Stewart  is  a member  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church,  is  affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows,  and  as  already  indicated  has  been  a mem- 
ber of  various  organizations  that  sought  the  betterment 
of  conditions  in  his  home  town.  He  is  a successful  physi- 
cian, and  has  built  up  a large  clientele  in  the  Town  of 
Britton  and  the  community  round  about.  He  is  a mem- 
ber of  the  firm  of  Young  & Stewart,  and  a sketch  of  his 
partner  in  practice  is  given  in  preceding  sketch. 

Charles  T.  C.  Schrader.  The  Town  of  Bristow  in 
Creek  County  has  come  into  particular  prominence  as  the 
center  of  one  of  the  greatest  oil  districts  in  the  country. 


1800 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


It  is  comparatively  a new  town  and  in  ten  years  ’ time  its 
progress  has  been  phenomenal.  One  of  the  early  men  of 
medicine  to  locate  in  the  community  was  Dr.  Charles  T.  C. 
Schrader,  whose  home  has  been  there  almost  ten  years. 
Doctor  Schrader  has  proved  himself  not  only  a very 
capable  physician,  but  has  made  himself  a factor  in  com- 
munity affairs  to  a large  extent  and  is  one  of  the  very 
substantial  men  of  that  young  city. 

He  is  an  Indiana  man,  having  been  born  on  a farm 
near  Evansville  in  that  state  April  6,  1879.  His  parents 
are  Charles  O.  and  Margaret  (Klippert)  Schrader.  Both 
parents  were  born  near  the  City  of  Berlin,  Germany,  the 
mother  on  February  29,  1835,  and  the  father  in  Decem- 
ber, 1835.  She  was  brought  by  her  parents  to  the  United 
States  when  eight  years  of  age,  and  grew  to  young 
womanhood  in  New  Orleans.  The  father  was  fourteen 
years  old  when  he  came  to  this  country,  and  grew  to 
manhood  at  Evansville,  Indiana.  For  fully  forty  years 
they  have  lived  on  one  farm  in  Indiana,  and  it  was  on  that 
place  that  Doctor  Schrader  was  born.  The  parents  are 
devout  Methodists,  and  in  polities  the  father  is  a repub- 
lican. He  showed  his  loyalty  to  his  adopted  country  by 
enlisting  during  the  Civil  war  and  serving  three  years, 
ten  months,  being  honorably  discharged  at  the  close 
of  hostilities.  Bn  has  for  many  years  been  identified 
with  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Bepublic.  In  the  family 
were  twelve  children,  six  sons  and  six  daughters,  eleven 
of  whom  are  still  living,  with  Doctor  Schrader  next  to  the 
youngest. 

His  early  life  was  spent  on  the  old  Indiana  farm  and 
he  lived  with  his  parents  until  he  was  seventeen.  His 
early  educational  advantages  were  sufficient  to  qualify 
him  as  a teacher  and  he  spent  two  years  in  that  vocation. 
He  first  chose  a business  career  and  after  a course  in 
bookkeeping  at  the  Bryant  & Stratton  Business  College 
he  spent  a year  in  clerical  work,  and  then  took  a more 
definite  step  by  entering  the  Hospital  College  of  Medicine 
at  Louisville,  Kentucky.  He  remained  a student  there 
until  awarded  his  degree  M.  D.  in  1905. 

During  the  first  year  out  of  college  Doctor  Schrader 
practiced  at  Evansville,  Indiana.  In  May,  1907,  he  arrived 
in  Bristow,  and  here  his  office  and  home  have  been  during 
the  succeeding  years,  and  with  the  growth  and  develop- 
ment of  the  town  and  tributary  country  his  practice  has 
assumed  proportions  that  tax  his  energies.  For  seven 
years  of  his  residence  he  has  served  as  county  physician 
and  is  still  holding  that  position.  More  recently  he  has 
become  identified  with  the  oil  industry  and  has  some  val- 
uable holdings  in  the  Bristow  district. 

For  two  years  he  was  a member  of  the  Town  Council. 
In  politics  he  is  a republican  and  in  Masonry  has  attained 
the  thirty-second  degree  of  Scottish  Eite.  In  1907  Doctor 
Schrader  married  Miss  Dollie  Bogle,  a native  of  Kansas. 
Their  three  children  are  named  Marjorie,  George  and 
Theodore  Eoosevelt. 

Frank  C.  Eussel.  A man  of  inviolable  integrity,  of 
buoyant  and  optimistic  nature  and  of  fine  intellectuality, 
the  late  Frank  C.  Eussel  became  one  of  the  pioneer  set- 
tlers in  Garfield  County,  Oklahoma,  at  the  time  when  the 
historic  Cherokee  Strip  was  thrown  open  for  settlement 
in  1893.  Here  he  passed  the  remainder  of  his  life,  a 
citizen  of  much  prominence  and  influence  in  community 
affairs,  and  his  character  and  achievement  were  such 
that  there  is  all  of  consistency  in  offering  in  this  history 
of  the  state  of  his  adoption  a tribute  to  his  memory. 

Mr.  Eussel  was  born  on  a farm  in  Stewart  County-, 
Tennessee,  August  13,  1860,  and  died  of  paralysis  on  the 
19th  of  July,  1914,  so  that  his  death  occurred  shortly 
before  the  fifty-fourth  anniversary  of  his  birth.  He  was 
buried  in  the  cemetery  at  Canton,  Kansas.  He  was  a 


son  of  John  and  Mary  E.  (Sypert)  Eussel,  the  former 
of  whom  was  born  in  Pennsylvania  and  the  latter  in 
Tennessee.  John  Eussel  was  proud  of  being  the  descend- 
ed of  a Mayflower  passenger.  In  Tennessee  he  became 
a successful  planter  and  representative  citizen  of  Stewart 
County,  where  he  continued  his  residence  until  the  early 
’70s,  when  he  sold  his  property  in  that  state  and 
removed  with  his  family  first  to  Illinois  thence  to  Kan- 
sas, where  he  became  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  of 
McPherson  County.  He  there  reclaimed  and  developed 
a valuable  farm  near  Canton  and  lived  up  to  the  full 
tension  of  the  pioneer  era  in  the  history  of  the  Sun- 
flower State,  and  was  uniformly  esteemed  as  a citizen 
of  sterling  worth  and  of  marked  industry  and  progres- 
siveness. Both  he  and  his  wife  continued  their  residence 
in  McPherson  County  until  their  death,  and  their  children, 
five  sons  and  one  daughter,  are  living.  Hs  was  a stanch 
Presbyterian  worthy  of  liis  Puritan  fathers,  and  in 
politics  a republican.  His  wife  was  a woman  known  for 
her  practical  Christianity  and  executive  ability,  her  love 
and  loyalty. 

Frank  C.  Eussel  acquired  his  rudimentary  education  in 
the  schools  of  his  native  state  and  was  eleven  years  of 
age  when  he  accompanied  his  parents  to  the  pioneer 
wilds  of  Kansas,  where  he  was  reared  to  maturity  in 
McPherson  County,  and  where  he  continued  his  studies 
in  the  pioneer  schools  until  he  had  completed  the  cur- 
riculum of  the  high  school  at  Salina,  the  county  seat  of 
Saline  County.  For  several  years  thereafter  he  was  a 
successful  and  popular  teacher  in  the  schools  of  Central 
Kansas,  where  also  he  continued  to  be  concerned  with 
agricultural  pursuits. 

In  1893  Mr.  Eussel  was  one  of  those  who  came  to 
Oklahoma  Territory  and  participated  in  the  opening 
of  the  Cherokee  Strip  or  Outlet,  which  was  thrown  open 
to  settlement  in  that  year.  He  entered  claim  to  a tract 
of  land  in  Garfield  County,  at  a point  3%  miles  south- 
west of  the  present  thriving  Town  of  Hunter,  and  there 
he  vigorously  instituted  the  homesteading  of  a farm, 
the  while  he  became  one  of  the  prominent  and  influential 
men  in  the  new  community,  to  the  civic  and  material 
development  and  progress  of  which  he  contributed  in 
generous  measure.  While  improving  his  farm  he  also 
found  requisition  for  his  services  as  a teacher  in  the 
pioneer  schools  of  the  county.  As  a man  of  mature 
judgment  and  much  public  spirit  he  was  naturally  called 
upon  to  serve  in  various  local  offices  of  trust. 

In  1909  Mr.  Eussel  purchased  the  plant  and  business 
of  the  Hunter  Enterprise,  a weekly  paper  published  at 
Hunter.  He  vitalized  this  newspaper  and  made  it  an 
effective  vehicle  through  which  to  exploit  and  foster  tho 
interests  of  the  town  and  county  as  well  as  to  further 
the  cause  of  the  democratic  party  and  to  direct  popular 
sentiment  and  action.  After  continuing  as  editor  and 
publisher  of  the  Enterprise  for  two  years,  impaired 
health  compelled  him  to  abandon  this  field  of  enterprise 
and  he  sold  the  property  to  D.  H.  Perry. 

Mr.  Eussel  was  one  of  the  leaders  in  the  councils  and 
campaign  activities  of  the  democratic  party  in  Garfield 
County  and  served  with  characteristic  ability.  He  was 
an  earnest  and  devoted  member  of  the  Christian  Church, 
and  he  was  a deacon  of  the  church  of  this  denomination 
at  Hunter  at  the  time  of  his  death.  Mr.  Eussel  com- 
manded high  place  in  the  confidence  and  good  will  of  all 
who  knew  him  and  in  his  death  the  community  mourned 
the  loss  of  one  of  its  most  honored  and  valued  citizens. 

On  the  13th  of  May,  1897,  in  Superior,  Nebraska,  was 
solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Eussel  to  Miss  Anna  C. 
Sypert,  who  still  maintains  her  home  at  Hunter,  no 
children  having  been  born  to  their  union.  Mrs.  Eussel 
was  born  at  Hopkinsville,  Kentucky,  on  the  13th  of 
September,  1870,  and  is  a daughter  of  Col.  Leonidas  A. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1801 


and  Martha  D.  (Henry)  Sypert.  After  duly  availing 
herself  of  the  advantages  of  the  public  schools  of  her 
native  place  she  there  continued  her  studies  at  South 
Kentucky  College.  After  leaving  this  institution  she 
was  for  two  years  a popular  teacher  in  the  schools  of 
that  section  of  the  old  Blue  Grass  State.  In  1891  she 
removed  to  McPherson,  Kansas,  where  for  six  years  she 
continued  her  successful  work  as  a teacher  in  the  public 
schools,  in  the  meantime  taking  a normal  course  at 
McPherson  College.  In  1897  she  came  to  Oklahoma  Ter- 
ritory with  her  husband  where  she  continued  her  service 
as  a teacher  for  a period  of  five  years.  When  her  hus- 
band assumed  control  of  the  Hunter  Enterprise  Mrs. 
Russel  became  his  able  coadjuter  in  the  editorial  work 
of  the  paper,  and  in  this  connection  her  exceptional 
literary  talent,  her  broad  intellectual  ken  and  her  definite 
public  spirit  gained  to  her  a wide  reputation  as  one  of 
the  able  representatives  of  the  journalistic  profession  in 
Oklahoma.  She  became  an  active  and  valued  member 
of  the  State  Editorial  Association,  of  which  she  served 
as  a vice  president  in  1911.  She  still  continues  to  a cer- 
tain extent  her  literary  activities  and  is  a popular  leader 
in  the  representative  social  activities  of  her  home  com- 
munity, as  well  as  in  the  work  of  the  Christian  Church. 

Col.  Leonidas  A.  Sypert,  father  of  Mrs.  Russel,  was 
born  in  Lebanon,  Tennessee,  on  the  15th  of  December, 
1832,  and  died  at  Hopkinsville,  Kentucky,  on  the  2T3d 
of  March,  1892.  He  acquired  a finished  education  and 
was  a graduate  of  Lebanon,  Tennessee,  Law  School,  soon 
after  becoming  a member  of  the  Hopkinsville  bar.  He 
represented  Kentucky  as  a gallant  soldier  and  officer 
of  the  Confederate  service  in  the  Civil  war,  became  an 
eminent  member  of  the  Kentucky  bar,  and  in  addition 
to  continuing  many  years  in  the  active  work  of  his 
profession  he  was  also  prominent  and  influential  in 
political  affairs  in  his  section  of  the  Blue  Grass  State. 
In  Kentucky  was  solemnized  his  marriage  to  Miss  Martha, 
D.  Henry,  who  was  born  at  Hopkinsville,  that  state,  on 
the  23d  of  February,  1850,  and  who  was  a daughter  of 
Col.  William  Henry  of  that  place  and  Martha  D.  (Cocke) 
Henry  of  Mississippi,  both  members  of  old  and  cultured 
families.  Their  lineage  traces  back  to  stanch  Scotch 
and  English  origin,  both  the  Henry  and  Cocke  families 
having  been  founded  in  America  in  the  early  colonial  era 
of  our  national  history. 

William  M.  Speck  is  one  of  the  men  who  helped  to 
place  the  new  town  of  Dewey  on  the  map  as  a com- 
mercial and  industrial  center.  His  home  has  been  there 
for  the  past  fifteen  years,  and  the  town  has  no  citizen 
of  broader  interests,  of  greater  public  spirit,  or  one 
whose  energies  have  gone  more  effectively  into  move- 
ments which  make  for  real  progress. 

His  career  began  with  his  birth  at  Bedford,  Pennsyl- 
vania, September  3,  1850.  Pennsylvania  was  also  the 
native  state  of  his  parents,  Henry  and  Mary  (England) 
Speck.  His  father,  who  was  a shoemaker  by  trade,  died 
in  Ohio,  March  28;  1893,  and  the  mother  passed  away 
at  the  same  place  in  1898. 

. One  in  a family  of  ten  children,  William  M.  Speck 
since  early  boyhood  has  depended  largely  upon  his  own 
resources  and  has  found  his  own  opportunities  in  the 
world.  At  the  age  of  twenty-one  he  left  Pennsylvania, 
where  he  had  gained  his  early  education  and  had  learned 
the  trade  of  shoemaker,  and  for  some  years  was  engaged 
in  the  shoemaker ’s  trade  and  shoe  merchandising  in  Ohio. 
Subsequently  for  about  two  years  he  conducted  a grocery 
store  and  also  sold  musical  merchandise.  Finally  giving 
up  his  business  interests  in  Ohio,  Mr.  Speck  identified 
himself  with  the  newer  country  of  Kansas,  locating  in 
Sumner  County  in  that  state  about  1883.  In  1884  he 
moved  to  Garfield  County,  Kansas,  and  secured  a pre- 


emption homestead  claim.  At  Ravanna,  Kansas,  he  built 
a hotel  and  was  its  proprietor  for  file  years.  In  1889 
he  was  elected  to  the  legislature  on  the  republican  ticket, 
and  in  1891  was  returned  for  a second  term.  He  helped 
to  organize  Garfield  County.  About  1893  he  removed  to 
Topeka,  conducted  a hotel  in  that  city  for  a year,  and 
selling  out  continued  his  hotel  enterprise  for  four  years 
at  Independence,  Missouri. 

Coming  to  Dewey,  Oklahoma,  in  1900,  Mr.  Speck  estab- 
lished the  Dewey  Hotel  and  also  the  Right-Way  Hotel  at 
Bartlesville.  He  proved  an  energetic  booster  for  both 
these  growing  young  cities,  and  also  interested  himself 
in  the  larger  political  life  of  the  territory,  serving  as  a 
delegate- from  Washington  County  at  the  national  capital 
in  the  interests  of  statehood.  For  several  years  Mr. 
Speck  has  devoted  his  time  primarily  to  farming  and 
fruit  growing,  and  has  some  handsome  and  valuable 
property  in  and  about  Dewey.  In  1914  he  was  republican 
candidate  for  the  state  senate  from  Washington  and 
Tulsa  counties,  and  though  on  the  minority  party  ticket 
his  defeat  was  accomplished  by  only  forty-eight  votes. 
Mr.  Speck  is  at  the  present  time  president  of  the  Wash- 
ington County  Fair  Association.  He  was  also  one  of 
the  promoters  of  the  interurban  line  between  Bartles- 
ville and  Dewey,  which  is  one  of  the  pioneer  electric 
transportation  lines  in  the  state. 

On  December  25,  Christmas  Day,  of  1874,  Mr.  Speck 
married  Miss  Christina  Levers,  a daughter  of  David  and 
Mary  (Kaylor)  Levers.  Mrs.  Speck  was  one  of  a family 
of  twelve  children.  To  their  marriage  have  been  born 
three  sons.  Howard  is  still  single  and  living  at  home 
in  Dewey.  Lloyd  married  Miss  Grace  Hunt  of  Ossa- 
watomie,  Kansas,  and  their  two  children  are  named 
Glenn  and  Thomas.  Roscoe,  who  lives  in  Kansas,  mar- 
ried Miss  Sadie  Clay,  and  they  have  a child  named  Emma. 
Mr.  Speck  is  affiliated  with  the  Loyal  Order  of  Moose  and 
the  Homesteaders,  and  both  he  and  his  wife  are  members 
of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church.  While  a resident  of 
Ohio,  Mr.  Speck  spent  several  years  in  Stark  County,  and 
during  1881-2  was  chairman  of  the  republican  central 
committee  of  that  Ohio  county,  the  county  seat  of  which 
is  Canton,  the  old  home  of  President  McKinley  and  wife. 
Mr.  Speck  was  a personal  friend  of  President  McKinley, 
and  during  the  latter’s  first  campaign  for  the  presidency 
in  1896  he  wrote  a personal  letter  to  Mr.  Speck,  who  was 
at  that  time  living  in  Kansas. 

Mr.  Speck  is  interested  in  good  farming  in  Washington 
County  and  is  doing  all  he  can  to  boost  this  movement. 

Olin  W.  Meacham.  Those  individuals  who  have  given 
their  energy,  skill,  ambitious  vigor  and  enthusiasm  in  the 
building  up  of  a community  are  benefactors  of  humanity, 
and  their  names  cannot  be  held  in  too  high  esteem.  In 
every  undertaking  there  must  be  a logical  beginning,  and 
a man  who  lays  the  foundation  for  what  afterwards 
may  become  a flourishing  city  must  have  the  courage  of 
his  convictions  and  unlimited  confidence  in  the  future  of 
the  location  which  he  selects  as  the  scene  of  Ms  endeavors. 
One  of  the  best  small  cities  in  Eastern  Oklahoma  is 
Henryetta  in  Okmulgee  County.  The  mayor  of  that  little 
city  is  Olin  W.  Meacham.  Mr.  Meacham  was  for  thirteen 
years  postmaster  of  the  town.  He  came  here  attracted 
by  the  beauty  of  the  site  and  the  presence  of  coal  deposits 
nearby,  and  fifteen  years  ago  was  one  of  the  “fathers 
of  Henryetta”  and  from  the  day  he  helped  lay  out  the 
townsite  his  keen  mind  and  boundless  enthusiasm  have 
kept  him  looking  beyond  the  narrow  horizon  of  the  day 
and  reading  the  signs  of  a splendid  tomorrow. 

By  profession  he  is  an  old  newspaper  man  and  printer, 
and  was  identified  with  early  Kansas  journalism  as  well 
as  with  some  of  the  first  newspapers  in  the  original  Okla- 


1802 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


homa  Territory.  It  is  an  interesting  fact  that  he  is  one 
of  the  survivors  of  the  famous  group  of  ‘ ‘ Oklahoma 
boomers  ’ ’ headed  by  Captain  Payne  during  the  ’80s. 
Thus  there  are  many  interesting  features  of  Mr. 
Meacham ’s  career.  His  most  permanent  work  has  with- 
out doubt  been  the  building  up  of  Henryetta.  He  exer- 
cised not  only  enthusiasm  but  good  judgment  in  promot- 
ing this  town  in  the  early  days.  He  sold  a large  number 
of  lots  for  less  than  they  were  worth  in  order  to  get 
people  located  in  the  town.  The  first  private  residence 
there  was  put  up  by  him  in  1900,  a box  house  of  the 
simplest  character,  20x20  feet.  He  also  constructed  the 
brick  flue  attached  to  any  house  or  building,  and  also 
had  the  first  plastered  house.  In  the  past  fifteen  years 
he  has  built  three  homes  for  himself,  and  now  has  one  of 
the  most  attractive  residences  of  the  town.  He  was  given 
the  choice  of  a large  stretch  of  land  along  the  railroad 
when  it  was  constructed  for  townsite  purposes,  and  after 
much  investigation  chose  what  is  now  Henryetta. 

An  Illinois  man,  Olin  W.  Meacham  was  born  near 
Rushville  in  Schuyler  County  March  16,  1858,  a son  of 
Ahira  Gault  and  Mary  E.  (Jewell)  Meacham.  His  father 
was  born  at  Rochester,  New  York,  in  1836,  while  the 
mother  was  born  at  Augusta,  Maine.  They  were  mar- 
ried at  Mount  Meacham,  Illinois,  a postoffice  that  was 
named  in  honor  of  Mr.  Meacham ’s  grandfather,  who 
had  located  there  about  1855.  Mr.  Meacham ’s  mother 
died  in  Schuyler  County  in  1866  when  he  was  about  eight 
years  of  age.  In  1872  the  father  took  his  family  out  to 
Kansas,  and  a number  of  years  later  came  to  Oklahoma 
in  1890,  soon  after  the  opening,  and  died  at  Guthrie 
about  1906.  He  was  a carpenter  and  contractor  nearly 
all  his  active  career,  though  he  did  considerable  farm- 
ing while  living  in  Kansas.  During  the  Civil  war  period 
he  enlisted  in  the  hundred  day  service  at  the  first  call, 
and  afterwards  re-enlisted  and  remained  until  the  close 
of  the  war.  He  was  with  a Missouri  Regiment  of  engin- 
eers, and  did  some  hard  work  in  digging  the  canal 
which  cut  off  Island  No.  10  in  the  Mississippi  River,  one 
of  the  most  notable  exploits  of  Grant’s  army  in  open- 
ing up  the  river  to  the  Federal  invasion  of  the  South. 
He  afterwards  took  part  in  many  pitched  battles,  and 
served  as  a non-commissioned  officer.  While  living  at 
Leon  in  Butler  County,  Kansas,  he  was  in  the  real  estate 
and  loan  business  and  put  up  the  first  opera  house  there. 
He  was  a strong  prohibitionist  and  one  of  the  men 
who  lent  their  influence  to  the  establishment  of  prohibi- 
tion in  Kansas.  In  general  politics  he  was  a republican, 
was  a member  of  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic,  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church.  In  1869  the  father  married  for  his 
second  wife  Amelia  Wright  of  Peru,  Illinois.  By  this 
marriage  there  were  three  sons  and  one  daughter,  Olin 
W.  Meacham  is  the  only  survivor  of  the  first  marriage, 
two  children  having  died  in  infancy. 

In  1874,  when  eighteen  years  of  age,  Olin  W.  Meacham 
left  home  and  went  to  Marion,  Kansas.  In  the  meantime 
he  had  acquired  a common  school  education.  At  Marion 
he  was  associated  with  E.  W.  Hoch,  who  a few  years  ago 
filled  the  distinguished  position  of  Governor  of  Kansas. 
Mr.  Hoch  at  that  time  had  a printing  office  at  Marion, 
and  the  two  young  men  "bached”  in  the  little  building 
which  served  as  an  office  and  home.  Mr.  Meacham  be- 
sides doing  his  share  of  the  work  around  the  printing 
office  also  performed  the  cooking,  and  on  Sundays  made 
the  little  office  an  impromptu  barber  shop.  There  was 
no  regular  barber  in  the  town  and  he  shaved  most  of 
the  men  who  needed  or  wanted  such  service.  He  was 
associated  with  Mr.  Hoch  for  a year  and  a half  and 
employed  his  razor  to  good  effect  when  Hoch  celebrated 
his  marriage. 


He  afterwards  went  to  Augusta,  Kansas,  and  worked 
on  the  Southern  Kansas  Gazette  eight  years.  From  there 
he  went  to  Leon,  and  in  1881  married  Olive  L.  Chambers, 
who  was  born  in  Missouri  and  was  reared  chiefly  in 
Kansas.  After  his  marriage  Mr.  Meacham  returned  to 
Augusta,  conducted  a paper  for  some  time,  later  bought 
the  Leon  Quill  and  after  selling  that  property  moved  to 
Greensburg  in  Kiowa  County,  where  he  managed  the 
Kiowa  County  Times  2%  years.  Then  he  was  again  in 
Augusta,  where  he  managed  the  Augusta  News,  this  later 
becoming  the  Industrial  Advocate,  and  the  plant  was 
afterwards  sold  and  moved  to  El  Dorado,  Kansas. 

Mr.  Meacham  came  to  Oklahoma  City  in  1890,  and 
was  made  foreman  of  the  Daily  Evening  Gazette,  being 
connected,  with  that  pioneer  newspaper  three  years. 
From  there  he  went  to  Norman  to  take  charge  as 
editor  and  manager  of  the  Norman  Transcript  in  1893. 
He  was  with  that  journal  three  years.  In  1896  he  went 
to  Shawnee,  and  with  J.  E.  Queen  established  the  Shawnee 
Quill.  After  2%  years  this  paper  was  sold,  and  Mr. 
Meacham  was  then  foreman  on  the  Yinita  Leader  until 
1900. 

In  that  year  he  gave  up  journalism  and  associated 
with  G.  F.  Clarke  and- Lake  Moore  chose  and  laid  out 
the  townsite  of  Henryetta.  This  town  had  its  practical 
beginnings  in  March,  1900,  and  in  September  Mr. 
Meacham  was  appointed  postmaster,  succeeding  Ed  Ray, 
who  had  filled  the  office  for  about  two  months.  For 
thirteen  years  he  had  full  charge  of  the  local  postal 
service,  from  September,  1900,  until  July,  1913.  When 
he  took  charge  of  the  office  the  mail  was  kept  in. a cracker 
box,  but  when  he  left  it  thirteen  years  later  the  office 
was  one  feature  of  a thriving  little  city,  and  the  fixtures 
alone  were  worth  $2,500.  He  left  it  as  a third  class 
office,  and  in  the  meantime  had  given  a service  which 
was  beyond  criticism  and  which  made  him  many  strong 
personal  friends  in  spite  of  politics.  In  fact,  though 
he  was  a republican  and  living  in  a democratic  com- 
munity, a large  number  of  his  political  opponents  peti- 
tioned for  him  to  keep  the  postoffice.  From  September, 
1913,  to  February,  1914,  he  was  in  the  banking  business 
at  Dewar,  Oklahoma,  and  has  also  been  identified  with 
insurance.  For  one  year  after  leaving  the  postoffice  he 
was  local  editor  of  the  Free  Lance,  but  fin  1915  was 
elected  mayor,  and  is  now  giving  most  of  his  attention 
to  that  office.  Henryetta ’s  normal  political  complexion 
is  about  400  democrats  to  200  republicans,  but  he  was 
elected  on  the  republican  ticket  as  mayor  by  a majority 
of  103. 

Mr.  Meacham  served  as  secretary-treasurer  of  the 
Henryetta  Townsite  Company,  and  was  also  identified 
with  the  Kusa  Townsite  Company.  A number  of  years 
ago  (1895)  he  assisted  Professor  Amos  in  organizing  the 
State  Historical  Society.  He  is  a thirty-second  degree 
Mason  and  Knight  of  Pythias,  also  a member  of  the 
Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  and  is  an  elder  in  the 
Christian  Church. 

Mr.  Meacham  has  two  daughters:  Bertha  I.,  who  is 
the  wife  of  James  Hawes  of  Henryetta  and  their  children 
are  named  Olive  Vermelle  and  James.  Mary  Vermelle, 
Mr.  Meacham ’s  younger  daughter,  has  been  connected 
with  the  Henryetta  High  School  for  the  past  eight  years, 
and  for  four  years  was  its  principal. 

Delany  G.  Rogers,  of  Buffalo,  Oklahoma,  has  been 
an  early  settler  in  both  the  States  of  Kansas  and  Okla- 
homa. In  fact,  he  has  lived  nearly  all  his  life  close  to 
the  frontier  and  in  intimate  touch  with  the  people  and 
the  activities  of  a new  country.  Mr.  Rogers  only  recently 
retired  from  the  office  of  postmaster  at  Buffalo,  a position 
he  had  held  for  a number  of  years.  His  chief  vocation 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1803 


in  life  has  been  farming  and  stock  raising,  and  it  is  the 
testimony  of  his  friends  and  neighbors  that  whatever  he 
does  he  does  well. 

His  birth  occurred  in  a log  house  on  a farm  in  Jeffer- 
son County,  Indiana,  on  April  6,  1862.  His  birth  occurred 
while  his  father  was  away  fighting  the  battles  of  the 
Union  in  the  Civil  war.  His  parents  were  Gamaliel  and 
Lydia  (Lewis)  Rogers.  His  father  was  born  Novem- 
ber 17,  1840,  in  Jefferson  County,  Indiana,  and  was  still  a 
very  young  man  when  the  war  broke  out.  He  served 
three  years  as  a private  in  Company  C of  the  Sixth  In- 
diana Infantry,  but  with  the  exception  of  that  service  has 
spent  all  his  active  life  as  a farmer.  From  Indiana  he 
moved  out  to  Kansas  in  1886,  locating  on  government 
land  in  Clark  County.  That  was  his  home  for  six  years, 
after  which  he  spent  two  years  in  Mead  County,  then 
returned  to  Clark  County  for  eight  years,  and  finally 
moved  to  Texas  County,  Missouri,  where  he  still  has  his 
home.  He  has  now  reached  the  age  of  three  quarters  of 
a century,  and  has  lived  so  usefully  he  can  enjoy  the  com- 
forts of  retired  existence.  In  1858  Gamaliel  Rogers  mar- 
ried Lydia  Lewis  who  was  also  born  in  Jefferson  County, 
Indiana,  August  17,  1840.  To  their  marriage  were  born 
ten  children,  four  sons  and  six  daughters,  namely:  Flo- 
rence, born  December  5,  1860,  was  married  in  1880  to 
Merritt  M.  Cosby  and  they  now  reside  at  Protection, 
Kansas ; Delany  G.,  who  was  the  second  in  order  of  birth ; 
Willis  born  in  1864  and  died  in  1885;  Jessie,  born  in 
1868,  was  married  in  1888  to  Charles  Pauley,  and  they 
now  live  at  Oklahoma  City;  John  Belle,  born  in  1870,  is 
now  an  osteopathic  physician  at  Hastings,  Oklahoma,  and 
in  1905  she  became  the  wife  of  Charles  Morrison;  Celia, 
born  in  1872,  married  in  1910  Mr.  L.  Dees,  and  they 
now  live  at  Rosston,  Oklahoma;  Samuel  Nicholas,  born  in 
1874,  is  a farmer  in  Harper  County,  Oklahoma;  Tena, 
born  in  1876,  was  married  in  1908  to  Charles  Sworkey  and 
they  now  live  at  Norman,  Oklahoma;  Pearl,  born  in 
1878  was  married  in  1905  to  William  and  they  live  in 
Beaver  County,  Oklahoma. 

It  was  on  a farm  in  Jefferson  County,  Indiana,  that 
Delany  G.  Rogers  spent  his  early  youth.  He  had  the 
advantages  of  the  local  public  schools.  The  discipline 
of  farm  work  gave  him  a rugged  constitution,  and  an 
experience  which  he  has  utilized  in  his  own  active  career. 
In  1884  he  moved  out  to  Clark  County,  Kansas,  and 
secured  a tract  of  Government  land  in  a district  which 
at  that  time  had  very  few  agricultural  and  permanent 
settlers.  Mr.  Rogers  lived  in  Kansas  until  1899,  an,d  in 
the  meantime  had  improved  an  excellent  farm  there.  In 
the  latter  year  he  moved  to  old  Woodward  County,  Okla- 
homa, and  again  acquired  a homestead,  situated  two  miles 
from  the  Town  of  Buffalo.  While  Mr.  Rogers’  activities 
have  kept  him  in  town  for  a number  of  years,  he  still 
owns  considerable  land  and  has  most  of  it  under  improve- 
ment. 

On  February  23,  1907,  he  was  appointed  postmaster 
of  Buffalo,  and  continued  the  incumbent  of  the  office 
through  two  terms  until  February  23,  1915.  He  is  an 
active  republican,  is  affiliated  with  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  is  a member  of  the  Meth- 
odist Episcopal  Church. 

On  October  16,  1884,  at  Taylorsville,  Indiana,  Mr. 
Rogers  married  Miss  Isabelle  Phillips,  daughter  of 
Madison  and  Mary  (Wallace)  Phillips.  Mrs.  Rogers  was 
born  June  11,  1860,  in  Jefferson  County,  Indiana,  and 
her  parents  were  natives  of  the  same  state.  It  will  be 
recalled  that  Mr..  Rogers  left  Indiana  and  went  out  into 
the  new  country  of  Kansas  in  1884.  He  made  that  trip 
as  his  wedding  journey,  being  accompanied  by  his  young 
bride,  and  they  journeyed  across  the  country  by  wagon 
and  team,  like  some  of  their  pioneer  ancestors  who  had 


come  from  a point  still  further  east  to  the  region  of  the 
Ohio  Valley.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Rogers  are  the  parents  of 
seven  children,  four  sons  and  three  daughters,  namely: 
Ora  Lawrence,  born  August  14,  1885,  now  the  wife  of 
Irwin  Baker  of  Ashland,  Kansas ; Madison  Gamaliel,  born 
May  25,  1888,  and  still  living  at  Buffalo;  Estella  Iris, 
born  March  10,  1890,  was  married  in  1908  to  Pirl 
Baker,  and  they  now  live  at  Protection,  Kansas;  Alta 
Rachel,  born  February  19,  1892;  William  McKinley, 
born  May  10,  1894;  John,  born  February  14,  1896;  and 
Edward  Taft,  born  August  20,  1907,  died  July  20,  1908. 

William  C.  Pendergraft,  M.  D.  The  most  enlight- 
ened tenets  of  medical  and  surgical  science  have  found 
expression  in  the  career  of  Dr.  William  C.  Pendergraft, 
a general  practitioner  of  Hollis,  Harmon  County,  since 
1902,  a leading  and  progressive  factor  in  business  and 
financial  circles,  and  a potent  influence  in  advancing  the 
civic  interests  of  Hollis  and  the  welfare  of  its  people. 
He  was  born  in  Polk  County,  Missouri,  September  22, 
1864,  and  is  a son  of  Joseph  A.  and  Irene  (Self)  Pender- 
graft, and  a member  of  a family  which,  originating  in 
Germany,  emigrated  to  England,  came  thence  to  America 
in  colonial  days,  and  from  its  original  settlement  in  New 
York  went  during  the  pioneer  days  to  Tennessee. 

Joseph  A.  Pendergraft  was  born  in  1838,  in  Cape 
Girardeau  County,  Missouri,  and  as  a young  man  went 
to  Polk  County,  in  the  same  state,  where  he  was  married 
and  where  he  subsequently  engaged  in  farming  and  stock- 
raising.  Later  he  went  to  Arkansas  and  continued  his 
agricultural  operations  until  removing  to  Western  Texas, 
where  he  lived  on  a ranch  until  1899,  and  in  that  year 
came  to  Hollis,  Oklahoma,  and  lived  a retired  life  until 
his  death  in  1913.  While  a resident  of  Missouri,  during 
the  war  between  the  states,  Mr.  Pendergraft  enlisted  in 
the  Confederate  army  and  served  four  years  under  Price 
and  Shelby,  and  toward  the  close  of  the  struggle  was 
taken  prisoner  and  confined  in  a Federal  prison  until 
peace  was  proclaimed.  He  was  a stalwart  democrat  in 
his  political  views,  and  a lifelong  member  of  the  Chris- 
tian Church,  in  which  he  served  as  elder  for  many  years. 
He  was  married  in  Polk  County,  Missouri,  to  Miss  Irene 
Self,  who  was  born  in  Tennessee,  in  1835,  and  died  in 
Polk  County,  Missouri,  in  1878,  and  they  became  the 
parents  of  six  children,  as  follows:  L.  J.,  who  is  the 
widow  of  J.  N.  Hofman,  a farmer,  and  resides  in  New 
Mexico;  L.  E.,  deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of  W.  H. 
Hofman,  also  deceased,  who  was  a mechanic  in  the 
employ  of  the  Frisco  Railroad  Company  for  a period  of 
forty  years;  S.  E.,  who  is  the  wife  of  R.  C.  Hodges,  a 
farmer  and  stockman  of  Hollis,  Oklahoma;  J.  M.,  who  is 
an  agriculturist  of  Harmon  County;  James  C.,  who  died 
in  infancy;  Mary  E.,  who  is  the  wife  of  M.  C.  Dodd  and 
resides  on  the  old  homestead  in  Polk  County,  Missouri; 
and  Dr.  William  C.,  of  this  review. 

William  C.  Pendergraft  received  a graded  and  high 
school  education  in  his  native  county,  and  after  some 
preparation  entered  the  Missouri  Medical  College,  at 
St.  Louis,  Missouri,  which  he  attended  two  years.  He 
next  entered  the  St.  Louis  College  of  Physicians  and 
Surgeons,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1892,  with  the 
degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine,  and  since  that  time,  in 
1915,  has  taken  a post-graduate  course  at  the  Chicago 
Post-Graduate  Medical  School.  Doctor  Pendergraft  en- 
tered upon  the  practice  of  his  calling  at  Pleasant  Hope, 
Missouri,  where  he  continued  to  maintain  his  office  until 
1898,  in  that  year  going  to  a larger  field  at  Springfield, 
in  the  same  state,  that  being  his  place  of  residence  until 
1901.  Coming  next  to  Hollis,  Oklahoma,  he  soon  at- 
tracted to  himself  a large  and  representative  practice, 
and  has  continued  to  make  this  thriving  community  his 


1804 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


field  of  labor,  his  offices  now  being  located  in  the  Hollis 
Drug  Company’s  building  on  Broadway,  corner  of  Main 
Street.  His  practice  is  broad  and  general  in  its  lines, 
and  professionally  he  may  be  said  to  belong  to  the  eman- 
cipated class  whose  mind  is  open  to  light  and  who 
sanction  the  beliefs  of  the  past  only  insofar  as  they  are 
in  harmony  with  the  greater  progress  and  enlightenment 
of  the  present.  In  his  private  practice  he  has  had  charge 
of  the  welfare  of  the  most  representative  families  of 
Hollis,  and  has  officiated  at  the  birth  of  two  sets  of 
triplets  and  one  set  of  quadruplets,  the  latter  born  to 
Mrs.  F.  M.  Keys,  of  Hollis,  June  4,  1915.  In  this  case 
all  four  are  girls,  and  it  is  the  only  case  on  record  where 
all  four  have  been  of  one  sex  and  where  all  have  lived. 
Aside  from  his  private  practice,  Doctor  Pendergraft  is 
local  surgeon  for  the  Missouri,  Kansas  & Texas  Railroad 
and  medical  examiner  for  more  than  a dozen  of  the  old 
line  life  insurance  companies.  He  holds  membership  in 
the  Harmon  County  Medical  Society,  the  Oklahoma  Med- 
ical Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association,  and 
has  been  health  officer  of  Hollis  since  the  attainment  of 
statehood.  Doctor  Pendergraft  is  one  of  those  men  who 
may  be  said  to  have  chosen  well  their  vocation.  Pos- 
sessed of  a kind,  sympathetic  nature,  a keen  sense  of  dis- 
crimination, and  a natural  taste  for  the  various  branches 
of  his  honored  profession,  he  has  achieved  a signal  suc- 
cess. In  politics  he  is  a democrat,  and  was  a member  of 
the  First  Oklahoma  Legislature.  With  his  family  he 
belongs  to  the  Baptist  Church.  Doctor  Pendergraft ’s 
fraternal  connections  are  numerous.  He  belongs  to  Hol- 
lis Lodge  No.  219,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  in 
which  he  has  filled  all  chairs  save  that  of  master;  Hollis 
Camp,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  in  which  he 
is  past  grand;  Hollis  Camp,  Woodmen  of  the  World  and 
the  Woodmen  Circle,  of  which  he  is  medical  examiner; 
the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  of  which  he  is  med- 
ical examiner;  and  the  Fraternal  Union.  He  belongs 
also  to  the  Commercial  Club.  The  Doctor  has  also  taken 
an  active  part  in  business  affairs  and  is  vice  president 
of  the  State  National  Bank  of  Hollis  and  of  the  Hollis 
Drug  Company,  Incorporated. 

In  1886,  at  Pleasant  Hope,  Missouri,  Doctor  Pender- 
graft was  married  to  Miss  Lena  Mayfield,  daughter  of 
the  late  H.  B.  Mayfield,  a farmer,  and  to  this  union  there 
have  been  born  three  children : one  who  died  in  infancy ; 
Roy  L.,  a senior  in  the  medical  department  of  the  Ten- 
nessee University;  and  Glen,  who  belongs  to  the  fresh- 
man class  at  the  Hollis  High  School. 

Judge  Henry  M.  Furman,  who  died  at  his  home  in 
Oklahoma  City  in  April,  1916,  was  one  of  the  able 
lawyers  and  jurists  who  helped  to  mold  and  formulate 
the  early  jurisprudence  of  the  state.  From  statehood 
until  he  had  to  retire  on  account  of  ill  health  he  was 
one  of  the  judges  of  the  Oklahoma  Criminal  Court  of 
Appeals. 

His  valuable  services  to  the  Oklahoma  judiciary  had 
their  best  appreciation  and  description  in  the  words  of 
Judge  Thomas  H.  Doyle,  presiding  judge  of  the  Criminal 
Court  of  Appeals,  who  was  associated  with  Judge  Fur- 
man as  a member  of  that  court  from  its  organization. 
Judge  Doyle  has  said: 

“Judge  Henry  M.  Furman,  full  of  years  and  full, of 
honor,  has  passed  from  life’s  labors  to  his  eternal  rest. 
He  was  an  extraordinary  man  and  a lawyer  and  jurist 
of  rare  endowments.  His  professional  learning  and  abil- 
ity was  not  the  fruit  of  any  advantages  in  legal  educa- 
tion, but  was  founded  on  his  large  experience  and 
inexhaustible  diligence.  In  intellectual  power  he  was  a 
giant,  and  a logician  of  the  highest  order,  and  he  was  a 
consummate  master  of  the  rhetorical  art. 


“No  judge  ever  more  clearly  realized  the  wide  scope,  II 
exalted  dignity  and  consequent  responsibility  of  the  judi- 
cial  office,  and  no  judge  could  be  more  scrupulous  in 
inflexible  fairness  and  impartiality.  The  force  of  his  P 
noble  character  and  powerful  mind  is  demonstrated  by  f 
the  results  of  his  judicial  labors.  The  value  of  his  j 
services  and  the  high  character  of  his  contributions  to 
the  development  of  our  criminal  jurisprudence  will  grow  ' 
in  appreciation  as  years  go  by. 

“Many  of  his  opinions  are  now  published  as  leading 
cases,  and  they  have  given  the  progressive  criminal 
jurisprudence  of  Oklahoma  an  international  reputation. 

I do  not  think  it  would  be  an  extravagant  statement 
to  say  that  among  the  names  of  the  great  judges  who  I 
adorn  the  annals  of  American  jurisprudence  will  be  found  I 
the  name  of  Henry  M.  Furman. 

“Personally  Judge  Furman  was  a kindly,  genial,  warm 
hearted  man,  whose  devotion  to  high  ideals,  capacity  for 
friendship,  high  minded  patriotism  and  loyalty  to  duty 
and  honor  could  be  fully  appreciated  only  by  those  who 
knew  him  intimately.  The  benevolence  of  his  heart  was  I 
in  full  accord  with  his  master  mind.  I can  safely  say  I 
without  disparagement  to  others  that  no  man  in  public  I 
life  in  Oklahoma  was  held  in  higher  esteem  by  the  people  I 
of  the  state  than  Judge  Henry  M.  Furman.’’  I 

Judge  Furman  was  a resident  of  Oklahoma  twenty  I 
years.  He  was  born  in  the  Village  of  Society  Hill,  South 
Carolina,  June  20,  1850,  a son  of  Dr.  Richard  Furman,  I 
a Baptist  minister,  whose  father  was  the  founder  of  I 
Furman  University,  Greenville,  South  Carolina.  He 
acquired  his  primary  education  in  Greenville  and  Sumter,  I 
South  Carolina,  spent  several  years  working  on  a farm, 
and  in  1871  ca,me  west,  spending  a year  or  so  in  the  I 
office  of  Judge  J.  L.  Whitaker  at  New  Orleans,  and  in 
1872  going  to  Texas,  where  he  taught  school.  In  1874  I 
he  was  admitted  to  the  bar  at  Brenham.  After  a brief  I 
practice  at  Comanche,  Texas,  he  located  in  Bell  County,  I 
and  in  1876  was  elected  county  attorney.  This  office  he  I 
resigned  the  following  year  and  entered  upon  the  prac- 
tice of  his  profession  at  Fort  Worth.  There  he  met  Miss  I 
Frances  Virginia  Hutcheson,  who,  in  May,  1879,  became  I 
his  wife,  and  who  with  their  children,  Henry  Marshall  I 
Furman,  Jr.,  and  Miss  Florence  Furman,  survive  him. 
Their  married  life  iyas  an  uninterrupted  period  of  mutual 
love  and  comfort.  In  1890  he  moved  to  Denver,  Colo-  I 

rado,  and  there  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law.  In  1893  I 

he  moved  back  to  Fort  Worth.  In  1895  he  moved  to 
Ardmore,  and  in  1904  he  moved  from  there  to  Ada,  I 
Indian  Territory. 

He  was  the  founder  of  the  Masonic  Home  now  located  I 
at  Darlington,  Oklahoma.  At  the  democratic  primary  I 
preceding  the  first  state  election  he  received  the  second  I 

highest  number  of  votes  for  the  office  of  United  States 

senator,  but  in  deference  to  a resolution  passed  at  a 
previous  meeting  of  the  State  Democratic  Committee  I 
that  the  senators  should  be  elected  one  from  each  of 
the  former  territories,  he  waived  his  right  to  the  nomina- 
tion. First  appointed  in  1908,  he  was  twice  elected  as  a I 
judge  of  the  Criminal  Court  of  Appeals  of  Oklahoma,  I 

which  position  he  held  at  the  time  of  his  death,  being  I 

presiding  judge  the  first  four  years  of  his  service. 

William  H.  Campbell,  M.  D.  For  the  greater  part 
of  twenty  years  Doctor  Campbell  has  practiced  his  pro- 
fession in  old  Indian  Territory  and  Oklahoma.  He  is 
now  in  the  enjoyment  of  a substantial  business  at  Hick- 
ory and  has  a high  standing  among  Oklahoma  medical 
men. 

He  was  born  in  Randolph  county,  Arkansas,  November 
22,  1872.  His  great-grandfather  was  a Scotch-Irishman 
who  came  to  this  country  and  settled  in  Tennessee  as  a 
pioneer.  Doctor  Campbell’s  grandfather  was  Judge 


I 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1805 


Campbell,  a native  of  Tennessee,  a farmer  by  occupation, 
and  a Confederate  soldier  who  lost  his  life  during  the 
struggle  between  the  states.  He  was  shot  by  an  enemy 
who  was  hiding  in  the  bushes  and  was  at  home  when 
his  death  occurred.  John  Stone  Campbell,  father  of 
Doctor  Campbell,  was  born  in  Illinois,  and  died  from 
drowning  in  Eleven  Point  Eiver  near  Pocahontas,  Ran- 
dolph County,  Arkansas,  September  16,  1915,  aged  sixty- 
eight  years,  six  months,  twenty-five  days.  He  spent 
practically  all  his  life  in  Randolph  County,  Arkansas, 
as  a farmer  and  stockman,  and  during  the  last  two 
years  of  the  Civil  war  served  in  the  Confederate  ranks 
and  in  one  battle  received  a bullet  through  the  thigh. 
For  a number  of  years  he  was  regarded  as  a power  in 
local  democratic  politics  and  was  active  both  in  his 
town  and  county  affairs.  His  church  was  the  Christian. 
John  S.  Campbell  married  Mrs.  Alcy  (Hufstedler) 
McClain.  She  was  born  in  Tennessee  in  1836  and  died 
in  R'andolph  county,  Arkansas,  on  the  old  homestead 
in  January,  1901.  The  children  of  this  marriage  were: 
J.  W.  Campbell,  who  is  a teacher  by  profession  living 
at  Shreveport,  Louisiana;  Dr.  William  H. ; T.  W.  Camp- 
bell, an  attorney  at  Pocahontas,  Arkansas;  and  J.  N. 
Campbell,  a railroad  man  at  Shreveport. 

Doctor  Campbell  acquired  a high  school  education 
in  Randolph  County  and  grew  up  on  his  father’s  farm 
there  until  seventeen.  He  then  came  with  his  parents 
to  Erath  County,  Texas,  in  1889,  but  in  1891  the  family 
returned  to  Randolph  County,  Arkansas.  While  in 
Erath  County  Doctor  Campbell  did  some  independent 
farming  for  himself  until  1893,  and  then  re-entered  the 
public  schools  and  remained  for  a year. 

He  began  his  medical  studies  in  the  Fort  Worth  Medi- 
cal College,  now  the  Fort  Worth  University,  and  applied 
himself  industriously  to  the  courses  for  one  year.  As 
an  undergraduate  he  began  the  practice  of  medicine 
in  Indian  Territory,  being  located  four  years  at  Co- 
manche, at  Rush  Springs  a year  and  at  Healdton  for 
one  year.  The  years  1903  and  1904  he  spent  in  the 
J.  Marion  Sims  Medical  School  of  St.  Louis,  where  he 
was  graduated  M.  D.  in  1904.  Returning  to  Indian 
Territory,  he  practiced  at  Lone  Grove  until  the  begin- 
ning of  1907.  He  then  went  to  New  Mexico  and  prac- 
ticed in  the  vicinity  of  Roosevelt  until  January,  1910,  at 
which  date  he  came  to  Oklahoma  and  located  at  Ponto- 
toc. There  he  carried  on  a drug  business  in  connection 
with  his  private  practice  for  three  years.  After  another 
year  at  Mill  Creek,  in  February,  1915,  he  located  at 
Hickory,  where  he  already  has  a satisfying  practice. 
His  offices  are  in  the  H.  C.  Bowen  drug  store. 

While  at  Lone  Grove  he  served  as  health  officer,  and  is 
a member  of  the  Murray  County  and  the  Oklahoma 
State  Medical  societies  and  the  American  Medical  Asso- 
ciation. At  Mill  Creek  he  was  a member  of  the  city 
council.  He  is  a democrat,  a member  of  the  Christian 
Church  and  affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows. 

While  living  in  Erath  County,  Texas,  in  1892,  Doctor 
Campbell  married  Mrs.  Cordelia  (Kennedy)  Craig, 
widow  of  Frank  Craig  and  daughter  of  Sabert  Kennedy, 
a Texas  farmer,  who  accidentally  shot  himself  while  his 
daughter  Cordelia  was  an  infant.  Doctor  Campbell  and 
wife  have  five  children:  Hallie  May,  wife  of  Charles 
Mosman,  who  is  an  oil  tank  builder  and  lives  at  Wilson, 
Oklahoma;  Darrel,  wife  of  W.  B.  Norman,  a farmer 
near  Pontotoc,  and  they  have  two  children,  Delilah  and 
Camilla;  Oran,  Farris  and  Jirl  D.,  all  of  whom  are  in  the 
public  schools  at  Hickory.  Mrs.  Campbell  had  three 
children  by  her  first  husband,  Barto,  Bertha  and  Bert 
Craig.  Barto  Craig  married  Miss  Anna  Holemberg,  of 


Fort  Worth,  Texas,  and  they  have  one  child,  Jack  Craig, 
Jr. 

Jesse  William  Bell.  Since  he  was  seventeen  years 
of  age  Jesse  William  Bell  has  found  a sphere  of  use- 
fulness and  honorable  activity  as  a citizen  in  Oklahoma. 
He  prospered  as  a farmer,  and  has  also  been  in  mer- 
cantile activities  and  is  publisher  of  one  of  the  leading 
papers  of  the  county,  and  at  the  present  time  is  serving 
as  postmaster  of  LaKemp. 

He  was  born  in  a log  house  on  a farm  in  Franklin 
County,  Missouri,  April  8,  1881,  a son  of  William  La- 
fayette and  Amy  Lee  (Farrar)  Bell,  both  of  whom  were 
natives  of  the  same  county.  His  grandparents  were  Rus- 
sell and  Elizabeth  (Caldwell)  Bell.  Russell  Bell  was  a 
Confederate  soldier  during  the  Civil  war,  and  was  captain 
of  a company  in  the  army  commanded  by  General  Sterling 
Price.  William  Lafayette  Bell  was  born  August  20, 
1854,  and  died  in  Cleveland  County,  Oklahoma,  Septem- 
ber 29,  1902.  His  life  was  spent  as  a farmer,  and  in 
1898  he  came  to  Oklahoma  and  his  closing  years  were 
spent  in  this  state.  On  June  12,  1873,  he  married  Amy 
Lee  Farrar,  who  was  born  in  Franklin  County,  Missouri, 
July  31,  1854,  and  is  now  living  at  LaKemp.  Her 
parents  were  Jesse  P.  and  Mary  (Bullock)  Farrar.  He 
was  born  in  Missouri  and  she  in  Ohio.  William  L.  Bell 
and  wife  were  the  parents  of  eleven  children,  five  sons 
and  six  daughters,  nine  of  whom  are  still  living:  Edward 
Russell,  who  was  born  April  23,  1874,  and  is  now  a 
farmer  in  Beaver  County,  was  married  in  1896  to  Susie 
E.  Hethcock;  Birtie  E.,  born  February  6,  1876,  married 
in  1908  Samuel  McGrath  and  they  now  live  at  Seattle, 
Washington;  Mollie  Virginia,  born  July  12,  1878,  in 
Texas,  was  married  in  1895  to  Marion  F.  Hethcock  and 
they  live  on  a farm  in  Beaver  County;  the  fourth  in  age 
is  Jesse  William;  Thomas  Franklin  was  born  September 
21,  1884,  and  lives  at  May,  Washington;  Minnie  Pearl, 
born  May  18,  1886,  and  was  married  in  1912  to  Bruce 
Eslick,  and  they  live  in  Montana;  Drusie  was  born  in 
1888  and  died  in  1891;  Arthur  Lafayette,  born  March  5, 
1891,  died  January  9,  1916;  Ollie  Clinton,  born  Novem- 
ber 3,  1893,  is  now  a farmer  in  Baca  County,  Colorado; 
Sylvia  Mabel,  born  September  24,  1897,  was  married  in 
1915  to  Howard  Gordon,  who  is  a farmer  in  Baca  County, 
Colorado;  Girtie  Lee  was  born  February  3,  1901,  and  is 
now  with  her  mother. 

Jesse  W.  Bell  is  the  type  of  citizen  who  makes  the 
best  of  his  opportunities  wherever  he  finds  them.  His 
early  life  was  spent  on  his  father’s  farm  in  Franklin 
County,  Missouri,  and  he  had  a public  school  education. 
In  1898  he  came  to  Oklahoma  with  his  parents,  and  in 
1907  he  located  a tract  of  government  land  in  Beaver 
County  two  miles  east  of  the  present  Town  of  LaKemp. 
He  still  owns  that  land  and  has  increased  it  by  consid- 
erable other  valuable  holdings  in  the  country  district  of 
the  county.  In  1912  leaving  the  farm  Mr.  Bell  engaged 
in  the  drug  business  at  the  new  Town  of  LaKemp,  and 
in  the  same  year  he  bought  the  LaKemp  Mirror,  of  which 
lie  was  editor  and  publisher  until  February,  1915,  when 
he  removed  the  plant  to  Beaver,  the  county  seat,  and 
changed  the  name  of  the  paper  to  the  Democrat.  It  is 
now  published  under  the  incorporated  title  of  the  Enter- 
prise Publishing  Company,  of  which  Mr.  Bell  is  secre- 
tary and  treasurer.  Mr.  Bell  was  appointed  postmaster 
of  LaKemp  August  23,  1914,  and  is  giving  a very  effi- 
cient administration  of  that  office.  Fraternally  he  is 
affiliated  with  the  Masons  and  with  the  Modern  Woodmen 
of  America,  and  politically  his  actions  have  always  been 
in  line  with  the  democratic  party.  On  February  14,  1904, 
at  Teeumseh,  Oklahoma,  he  married  Miss  Dora  May  Little, 
who  was  born  on  a farm  in  Hickory  County,  North  Caro- 


1806 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


lina,  August  23,  1887,  a daughter  of  F.  P.  and  Elizabeth 
(Little)  Little,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  North  Caro- 
lina. The  Little  family  came  to  Oklahoma  in  1901,  when 
Mrs.  Bell  was  about  fourteen  years  of  age  and  located  in 
Pottawatomie  County.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bell  have  four 
children:  Jesse  Charles,  born  September  13,  1908;  Edith 
Lee,  born  June  30,  1911;  Irl.  Clinton,  born  August  3, 
1913;  and  Thelma  Elizabeth,  born  October  27,  1915. 

Joel  Spring.  When  Joel  Spring  died  at  Hugo  Febru- 
ary 21,  1908,  it  was  said  that  no  other  contemporary  had 
done  so  much  to  enrich  his  community  in  those  elements 
w’hich  make  for  civic  wholesomeness  and  material  pros- 
perity. Such  a citizen  was  an  honor  to  Oklahoma  history, 
and  such  an  account  of  his  character  and  activities  as 
can  be  given  in  this  article  is  but  a meager  memorial  to 
one  whose  life  left  much  that  was  practical  in  its  accom- 
plishment and  inspiring  in  its  character. 

Nearly  twenty -five  years  before  his  death  Joel  Spring, 
having  recently  married,  engaged  in  merchandising  at 
Roebuck  Lake  in  what  is  now  Southeastern  Oklahoma. 
From  Roebuck  Lake  he  removed  to  Clear  Springs  Court 
Ground,  about  two  miles  west  of  the  present  Hugo  and 
then  the  seat  of  Kiamichi  County.  After  the  building  of 
the  Frisco  Railway  through  that  section  of  the  country 
he  removed  his  business  and  his  household  to  Goodland, 
where  for  years  he  conducted  one  of  the  largest  mercan- 
tile establishments  in  the  Indian  Territory. 

Then  in  1902  the  new  Town  of  Hugo  was  established. 
Mr.  Spring,  quickly  seeing  the  great  promise  for  the  new 
town,  located  there  as  one  of  its  first  merchants,  and 
from  the  first  took  the  position  of  the  most  prominent 
business  man  and  citizen.  He  at  . once  acquired  an 
interest  on  the  townsite  on  the  east  sjide,  erected  a large 
attractive  and  beautifully  furnished  residence  on  an  emi- 
nence in  that  part  of  the  city,  built  a number  of  the  most 
substantial  business  houses  of  the  place,  and  in  every 
practical  way  showed  his  unbounded  faith  in  Hugo  and 
its  people.  And  this  feeling  was  heartily  reciprocated, 
for  citizens  and  countrymen  trusted  in  his  judgment,  in- 
tegrity and  generosity  with  unbounded  faith,  placing  in 
his  keeping  their  property  and  their  future  with  no  secur- 
ity other  than  that  of  his  long-tried  character.  He  be- 
came the  friend,  adviser,  banker  and  father  of  the  entire 
community,  but  with  all  his  later  affluence  and  unique 
standing  he  cast  an  affectionate  eye  over  the  struggling 
days  of  his  early  life.  On  the  walls  of  his  residence  in 
Hugo  was  a reproduction  from  a small  photograph  of 
the  tiny  log  cabin  in  which  he  commenced  married  life 
on  the  banks  of  Roebuck  Lake,  showing  the  proud  nine- 
teen year  old  husband  standing  in  the  yard  and  his  fif- 
teen year  old  bride  in  the  doorway. 

Of  his  part  as  a town  builder,  the  editorial  expression 
of  the  entire  community  at  Hugo  found  in  the  columns 
of  a local  paper,  should  be  quoted:  “As  a town  builder 
and  developing  force  he  was  without  a peer  in  Southern 
Oklahoma.  He  was  a person  of  wealth  and  resource 
and  owned  much  property  in  this  city.  During  the  past 
five  years  he  erected  seven  large  brick  buildings  all  of 
the  very  best  and  constructed  with  a view  to  permanency, 
majestically  beautiful  and  an  ornament  to  a city  of  many 
thousand  people.  As  are  all  great  men,  he  was  at  times 
subjected  to  unjust  criticism,  but  when  a task  was  com- 
pleted no  fault  could  be  found  with  it.  He  was  char- 
itable and  liberal,  giving  freely  to  the  construction  and 
maintenance  of  the  churches  and  other  moral  institutions. 
At  one  time,  several  years  ago,  thq^-Methodist  Church  was 
advertised  for  sale  to  liquidate  its  indebtedness,  and  it 
was  Joel  Spring  who  came  to  the  rescue.  He  made  a 
large  donation  and  placed  the  then  struggling  band  upon 
their  feet,  and  that  with  only  an  expression  of  regret 


that  they  had  not  made  him  fully  conversant  with  con- 
ditions before  resorting  to  such  extremities.  By  spend- 
ing his  money  so  freely  to  develop  the  town  he  encouraged 
others  to  do  so;  and  he  was  in  deed  and  in  truth  ‘the 
father  of  Hugo.  ’ However  great  it  may  become  in  the 
future  will  be  due  to  his  efforts  in  its  struggling  pioneer 
days.  One  day,  when  Hugo  shall  have  become  a large 
city,  we  wish  to  stand  on  one  of  our  principal  streets 
with  uncovered  heads  before  an  imperishable  statue 
dedicated  to  the  memory  of  this  tireless  man  who  was 
such  a great  factor  when  the  town  was  in  its  infancy.  ’ ’ 

From  the  columns  of  this  paper  it  is  possible  to  learn 
some  of  the  particulars  regarding  the  business  char- 
acter and  activities  of  the  late  Joel  Spring.  From  an 
examination  of  the  records  and  from  such  comments  as 
are  still  freely  passed  on  his  life  and  influence,  the 
conspicuous  attribute  of  Mr.  Spring  was  undoubtedly 
character,  that  part  of  the  human  soul  which  dominates 
all  else  and  which  must  stand  imperishable  while  the 
earthly  tabernacle  falls.  As  the  artice  just  referred  to 
says:  “In  his  ease  it  was  a steady,  honest  character  that 
formed  the  foundation  of  his  success.  In  the  early  days 
he  was  the  only  man  in  this  country  who  owned  a safe. 
In  those  days  many  of  the  settlers  were  prosperous  and 
had  a large  amount  of  ready  cash  at  their  command. 
They  were  afraid  of  the  banks  in  the  state  run  by  men 
of  whom  they  knew  but  little,  but  they  were  acquainted 
with  Joel  Spring,  and  knew  that  every  dollar  would  be 
conscientiously  accounted  for;  and  for  years  he  was  not 
only  a merchant  but  a banker  for  a large  section  of 
country.  Men  came  from  Nashoba  County,  seventy  miles 
away,  for  the  sole  purpose  of  entrusting  their  savings 
with  him  for  safe  keeping.  Many  times  a large  herd  of 
cattle  would  be  sold  and  the  owner  knowing  but  little 
of  the  business  world  would  accept  nothing  but  a cheek 
payable  to  Joel  Spring.  He  was  the  chief  adviser  of  his 
people  on  business  matters.  He  had  at  all  times  many 
thousand  dollars  deposited  with  him  and  while  he  kept 
a safe  reserve  in  cash,  robbers  were  not  unknown  and  a 
large  amount  was  kept  invested  in  good  security.  He 
was  a banker  subject  to  no  regulation  or  inspection,  yet 
no  man  lost  a cent  or  had  cause  for  uneasiness.  Thus  his 
success  was  to  a large  extent  built  upon  confidence  which 
the  world  entertains  for  only  the  highest  order  of  manly 
character. 

“In  character  Joel  Spring  was  of  the  most  manly 
and  lofty  type.  He  enjoyed  the  full  confidence  and 
respect  of  his  fellow  men,  and  we  have  yet  to  hear  of 
the  man  who  claimed  that  Joel  Spring  ever  beat  him  out 
of  a cent,  or  that  in  any  instance  did  he  violate  that 
sacred  honor  which  exists  between  man  and  man.  He 
was  systematic  in  his  work  and  successful  in  every 
undertaking,  and  had  he  entered  other  fields  of  labor 
than  that  of  business  he  would  probably  have  reached  the 
goal  of  his  ambition  with  the  same  measure  of  success.  ’ ’ 

Born  within  three  miles  of  where  Hugo  now  stands  on 
February  2,  1863,  Joel  Spring  came  of  unusual  lineage. 
His  grandfather,  Christian  Spring,  was  born  in  Switzer- 
land, of  German  parentage,  was  educated  in  Germany 
and  served  a time  in  the  army  of  that  nation.  Subse- 
quently he  was  a commissioned  officer  in  the  Army  of 
Napoleon,  and"  after  Waterloo  emigrated  to  America, 
landing  at  New  Orleans,  drifting  into  Mississippi,  where 
he  married  Susan  Bohannan,  who  was  of  mingled  French 
and  Indian  extraction. 

Samuel  Spring,  father  of  Joel,  married  Elizabeth  Le- 
Flore.  She  was  a representative  of  that  family  which 
for  generations  furnished  the  Choctaws  with  their  hered- 
itary chief.  One  of  them  was  Greenwood  LeFlore,  author 
of  the  celebrated  Dancing  Rabbit  Treaty  of  1830.  Of 
Greenwood  LeFlore  President  Jackson  said : ‘ ‘ There  is  no 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1807 


greater  statesman  among  any  people.”  Samuel  Spring 
was  a Confederate  soldier,  and  died  in  service  in  the  same 
year  that  his  son  Joel  was  born.  The  mother  of  this 
future  merchant,  banker  and  town  builder  also  died  when 
he  was  a child. 

He  grew  up  principally  in  the  home  of  his  uncle,  prom- 
inently known  in  this  section  of  Indian  Territory  as 
“Uncle  Billie  Spring.”  Uncle  Billie  sent  his  nephew  at 
the  age  of  twelve  to  old  Spencer  Academy.  He  soon  grew 
tired  of  books  and  the  confining  discipline  of  school,  ran 
away  to  Texas,  and  finally  entered  the  household  of  M.  E. 
Savage  in  the  vicinity  of  Whitewright.  He  remained 
there  two  years,  and  then  crossed  the  Bed  Biver  and  went 
back  to  his  uncle’s  home.  He  gained  his  first  practical 
experience  in  merchandising  as  clerk  for  Victor  M.  Locke, 
Sr.,  in  the  latter’s  store  near  the  present  Town  of  Antlers. 
For  a time  Joel  Spring  was  associated  with  Uncle  Billie 
Spring  in  the  proprietorship  of  a small  store  on  Boebuck 
Lake,  and  then  moved  the  store  to  old  Bockwall  Lake,  a 
short  distance  south  of  the  present  site  of  Hugo.  About 
that  time,  on  September  28,  1883,  Joel  Spring  married 
Miss  Winnie  Gooding,  daughter  of  H.  L.  Gooding  of  old 
Goodland,  and  granddaughter  of  Gov.  Basil  LeFlore,  also 
a prominent  member  of  the  LeFlore  family  just  men- 
tioned. Miss  Gooding  brought  to  her  husband  as  her 
marriage  portion  a small  herd  of  cattle.  These  were 
soon  sold  and  the  proceeds  used  to  purchase  Uncle  Billie ’s 
interest  in  the  store.  This  was  the  commencement  of 
Joel  Spring’s  progressive  career  as  a merchant  and  busi- 
ness man. 

At  his  death  Joel  Spring  was  survived  by  his  widow 
and  seven  children.  The  children  are:  Joel,  born  January 
24, 1888;  Lawrence  E.,  born  December  15,  1889;  Jesse  H., 
born  August  4,  1891 ; Winnie,  born  November  20,  1894, 
and  now  Mrs.  H.  S.  Griffiths  of  Hugo;  Dewey  L.,  born 
May  14,  1898;  Bobert  M.,  born  October  27,  1899;  and 
Cicero  O.,  born  December  23,  1903. 

Samuel  Lee  Arnold.  The  wearisomeness  which  fre- 
quently ensues  from  the  continuous  following  of  one  line 
of  endeavor  has  never  been  a feature  of  the  career  of 
Samuel  Lee  Arnold.  Gifted  with  business  ability  of  a 
diversified  character,  the  present  postmaster  of  Devol, 
Oklahoma,  has  at  various  times  followed  farming,  mer- 
chandising and  dealing  in  real  estate,  and  in  each  connec- 
tion has  made  his  operations  a success.  As  postmaster, 
a position  which  he  has  held  since  October  11,  1914,  he 
has  discharged  his  duties  capably, and  faithfully,  and 
there  are  few  more  popular  officials  in  Cotton  County. 

Mr.  Arnold  is  a native  son  of  the  Southwest,  born  at 
Omen,  Smith  County,  Texas,  July  18,  1879,  his  parents 
being  George  M.  and  Susan  (Darnell)  Arnold.  The 
Arnold  family  originated  in  England,  from  whence  the 
progenitor  of  the  family  in  this  country  emigrated  prob- 
ably before  the  days  of  the  Bevolution,  settling  in  Vir- 
ginia. From  the  Old  Dominion  the  family  moved  to 
Tennessee,  where,  in  1826,  was  born  George  M.  Arnold, 
who  was  born  and  reared  on  a farm  there  and  engaged 
in  agricultural  pursuits.  Some  time  after  his  first  mar- 
riage, but  prior  to  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war,  he 
migrated  to  Texas  and  bought  a farm  in  Smith  County, 
on  which  he  made  numerous  improvements  and  erected 
buildings.  When  the  trouble  between  the  North  and  the 
South  culminated  in  hostilities,  he  entered  the  ranks  of 
the  Confederacy,  in  which  he  served  until  the  close  of  the 
struggle.  He  then  returned  to  his  farm  and  continued 
to  carry  on  operations  until  his  retirement,  when  he 
moved  to  Omen,  and  there  passed  away  in  August,  1912, 
aged  eighty-six  years.  He  was  a member  of  the  Baptist 
Church,  and  was  affiliated  with  the  Masons,  in  which  he 
attained  the  Boyal  Arch  degree.  Mr.  Arnold’s  third 

Vol.  V— 4 


wife  was  Susan  Darnell,  a native  of  Texas,  who  died  in 
Smith  County,  that  state,  in  1883,  and  they  were  the 
parents  of  five  children,  as  follows:  Beulah,  who  mar- 
ried Louis  Horton,  a carpenter  and  builder  of  Tyler, 
Texas;  Samuel  Lee,  of  this  notice;  Sallie,  who  resides 
with  her  half  brother,  Mitch,  in  Smith  County,  Texas, 
on  the  old  homestead;  Harvey,  who  died  at  the  age  of 
twelve  years;  and  Homer,  who  died  in  infancy. 

The  early  education  of  Samuel  Lee  Arnold  was  secured 
in  the  district  schools  of  Smith  County,  Texas,  and  fol- 
lowing some  further  preparation  he  entered  the  Univer- 
sity of  Oklahoma,  in  1900,  remaining  until  June,  1904. 
He  drew  a farm  of  160  acres,  two  miles  west  of  Bridge- 
port, Oklahoma,  in  Caddo  County,  while  still  a college 
student,  and  this  he  proved  up  in  1901.  In  .the  fall  of 
1904  he  turned  his  attention  to  mercantile  lines,  estab- 
lishing himself  in  a hardware  business  at  Bridgeport,  but 
after  two  years  disposed  of  his  interests  there  and  moved 
to  the  “Big  Pasture,”  in  1907  engaging  in  real  estate 
transactions  at  Bandlett.  That  city  continued  to  be  his 
home  and  the  scene  of  "his  business  labors  until  1913, 
when  he  came  to  Devol  and  became  clerk  in  a hardware 
store,  which  position  he  held  until  October  11,  1914, 
when  he  was  appointed  postmaster  of  Devol  by  Post- 
master-General Burleson.  The  entirely  capable  and  thor- 
oughly courteous  manner  in  which  he  has  discharged  his 
official  duties  demonstrates  his  fitness  for  public  service. 
In  politics  Mr.  Arnold  is  a democrat,  and  while  a resident 
of  Bandlett  served  in  the  capacity  of  justice  of  the 
peace.  With  his  family,  he  attends  the  Baptist  Church. 
Mr.  Arnold  is  interested  in  fraternal  matters,  belonging 
to  Devol  Lodge  No.  420,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons;  Weatherford  Chapter _ No.  31,  Boyal  Arch 
Masons ; Devol  Ch:  oter,  Order  of  the  Eastern  Star ; and 
the  local  Lodge  of  Woodmen  of  the  World. 

On  December  27,  1907,  Mr.  Arnold  was  married  at 
Overton,  Texas,  to  Miss  Ida  Bagwell,  a daughter  of  B.  J. 
Bagwell,  a retired  farmer  now  living  at  Overton.  To  this 
union  there  have  come  two  children:  Wayne,  who  was 
born  April  19,  1908;  and  Odell,  born  December  9,  1911. 

John  B.  Guter.  The  romantic  and  rugged  home  of 
the  Welsh  people,  and  the  land  of  the  ancient  Cymri, 
who  from  their  wild  mountain  fastnesses  for  centuries 
defied  the  hordes  of  the  foreign  invaders,  has  produced 
some  of  the  best  citizens  of  which  this  broad  country 
can  boast.  Steady,  industrious,  plodding,  in  America 
they  have  helped  to  push  forward  into  the  new  and 
undeveloped  regions,  laying  substantially  the  foundation 
for  a better  citizenship.  John  B.  Guyer,  attorney,  of 
Oklahoma  City,  while  not  himself  a native  of  Wales, 
is  a representative  of  an  honored  family  whose  members 
have  been  pioneers  of  Kentucky  and  Missouri.  He  was 
born  in  the  latter  state,  in  1864,  and  is  a son  of  Henry 
S.  and  Mary  A.  (Claunch)  Guyer. 

The  Guyer  family,  while  originating  in  Wales,  has 
for  many  years  been  located  in  America.  The  grand- 
father of  John  B.  Guyer,  Williamson  Guyer,  was  a 
pioneer  settlor  of  Kentucky,  and  as  eariy  as  1830 
migrated  to  Missouri,  at  a time  when  the  nearest  neigh- 
bor of  the  family  was  twelve  miles  away.  The  grand- 
father was  an  agriculturist,  and  through  years  of  steady 
industry  became  the  proprietor  of  a satisfying  fortune. 
Henry  S.  Guyer  was  born  in  Kentucky,  and  was  still  a 
child  when  taken  by  his  parents  to  Missouri.  There 
he  grew  up  amid  agricultural  surroundings,  adopted 
farming  as  his  life  work  and  throughout  his  active  career 
was  engaged  in  the  pursuits  of  the  soil.  He  was  also 
well  known  as  a public-spirited  citizen,  and  at  one  time 
served  as  a special  representative  of  the  Missouri 
Legislature. 


1808 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


John  R.  Guyer  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and 
at  Clarksburg  College,  Clarksburg,  Moniteau  County, 
Missouri,  and  as  a youth  took  up  the  study  of  telegraphy, 
which  he  mastered.  After  leaving  college  he  engaged  in 
teaching  school  for  five  years,  and,  following  his  mar- 
riage in  1888,  took  up  telegraphy  as  a business,  being 
engaged  as  an  operator  for  the  various  telegraph  com- 
panies and  the  Associated  Press.  During  this  period 
Mr.  Guyer  somehow  found  time  from  his  duties  to  devote 
to  the  study  of  law,  and  so  assiduously  did  he  apply  him- 
self thereto  that  in  1894  he  was  admitted  to  practice 
before  the  baT  of  Texas,  in  which  state  he  was  at  that 
time  located.  Por  two  years  thereafter  he  practiced  his 
profession  with  some  success  in  Armstrong  County,  Texas, 
then  moving  to  Clayton,  New  Mexico,  where  he  remained 
until  1910.  While  a resident  of  that  state  Mr.  Guyer 
became  actively  interested  in  politics,  and  in  1899-1900 
was  a member  of  the  Thirty-third  Legislative  Assembly 
of  New  Mexico  and  was  speaker  pro  tern  of  the  House 
of  Representatives.  Mr.  Guyer  came  to  Oklahoma  City 
in  1910,  and  here  has  continued  to  be  engaged  in  a 
general  practice,  in  which  he  has  met  with  deserved 
success.  Ever  studious,  industrious,  conscientious  and 
alive  to  the  best  interests  of  all  of  his  clients,  thorough 
in  the  preparation  and  complete  in  the  presentation  of 
his  eases,  fair-minded  and  honorable  in  his  methods  of 
trial,  he  is  accounted  in  his  professional  life  in  this  city 
as  a most  capable  and  successful  practitioner,  a safe 
counselor,  and  a lawyer  thoroughly  equipped  in  every 
department  of  his  calling.  Mr.  Guyer  is  a valued  mem- 
ber of  the  various  organizations  of  his  profession,  and 
is  popular  with  his  fellow  members  in  the  lodge  and 
encampment  of  the  Odd  Fellows.  His  religious  belief 
is  that  of  the  Cumberland  Presbyterian  Church.  Mr. 
Guyer  maintains  offices  at  No.  518-524  Lee  Building. 

In  1888  Mr.  Guyer  was  married  to  a college  classmate, 
Miss  Elizabeth  Steele,  daughter  of  Judge  D.  K.  Steele, 
of  Clarksburg,  Missouri,  who  was  a lieutenant  in  the 
Union  army  during  the  Civil  war  and  subsequently  rep- 
resented his  county  three  different  times  in  the  State 
Legislature.  He  was  also  prominently  identified  with 
the  Grange  movement  in  its  inception  in  that  county. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Guyer  have  three  children:  Wendell  B., 

an  electrical  engineer;  Harry  L.,  and  Juanita.  The 
family  home  is  at  No.  1608  East  Tenth  Street.  Mrs. 
Guyer ’s  family  descended  from  the  Kirkpatricks  of  Ire- 
land. All  were  a music  loving  people,  and  in  the  present 
Guyer  family  this  is  well  expressed,  both  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Guyer,  as  well  as  their  children,  being  accomplished 
vocalists  and  talented  instrumentalists. 

William  E.  McGuire.  If  “a  good  name  is  rather  to 
be  chosen  than  great  riches,”  and  if  a purposeful  life, 
conforming  to  high  ideals,  impresses  one’s  personality 
upon  the  society  in  which  he  lives  to  its  lasting  better- 
ment, then  one  of  Oklahoma’s  most  useful  citizens  is  Wil- 
liam E.  McGuire  of  Pawhuska.  Mr.  McGuire  is  post- 
master at  Pawhuska,  and  his  seventeen  years  of  con- 
tinuous service  in  that  office  makes  him  the  oldest 
postmaster  in  the  state  from  point  of  continuity.  How- 
ever, his  most  important  service  has  been  as  a teacher. 
He  is  not  unjustly  referred  to  as  “the  children’s 
friend,”  since  his  greatest  enthusiasm  and  interest  have 
always  been  in  behalf  of  the  younger  and  growing  gen- 
eration. He  taught  school  for  a great  many  years,  was 
superintendent  of  schools,  has  served  on  school  boards  and 
helped  to  found  educational  facilities  in  different  parts 
of  Oklahoma,  and  has  also  been  an  almost  constant 
worker  in  church  and  Sunday  school.  Mr.  McGuire  is 
one  of  the  old  timers  in  Oklahoma,  having  first  become 
identified  with  this  section  as  a teacher  in  the  govern- 
ment Indian  schools  many  years  ago  and  later  moving 
into  the  Cherokee  Strip  when  it  was  opened. 


A native  of  Missouri,  he  was  born  at  Macon,  Novem- 
ber 28,  1858.  He  is  a brother  of  former  Congressman 
B.  S.  McGuire,  who  for  twelve  years  represented  the 
First  Oklahoma  District  in  Congress  and  is  now  practicing 
law  at  Tulsa.  Their  parents  were  Joel  and  Rachel  (Harri- 
man)  McGuire.  His  father  was  born  in  St.  Clair  County, 
Illinois,  in  1832,  and  his  mother  in  Washington  County, 
Illinois,  in  1834.  They  grew  up  and  were  married  in 
their  native  state,  and  in  1857  removed  to  Missouri.  Dur- 
ing the  war  Joel  McGuire  enlisted  in  a Missouri  regiment 
of  the  Union  army,  and  served  the  last  three  years  of 
the  conflict.  In  1881  he  removed  from  Missouri  to 
Chautauqua  County,  Kansas,  and  died  there  in  1894. 
The  mother  died  at  the  home  of  her  son  William  in 
Ponca  City,  Oklahoma,  June  3,  1896.  Joel  McGuire 
was  a successful  farmer  and  stock  raiser,  and  for  a 
number  of  years  bought,  fed  and  shipped  stock,  mainly 
to  the  St.  Louis  market.  He  was  active  in  Grand  Army 
circles,  was  a member  of  the  Baptist  Church,  and  politi- 
cally was  in  the  main  a republican,  though  at  one  time 
he  affiliated  with  the  greenback  party  and  was  also 
active  in  the  Granger  movement  in  Kansas.  In  the  family 
were  ten  children,  three  daughters  and  seven  sons,  two 
of  the  sons  being  now  deceased. 

William  E.  McGuire  lived  with  his  father  until  the 
latter  removed  to  Kansas.  While  at  home  he  at- 
tended common  schools  and  also  was  a student  for  two 
years  in  the  State  Normal  at  Kirksville,  Missouri. 
Steadily  for  fifteen  years  he  gave  practically  all  his 
time  to  his  work  as  a teacher.  His  first  two  terms  were 
in  Missouri,  and  he  also  taught  in  Kansas.  In  1884 
he  was  appointed  a teacher  in  the  Government  Indian 
school  at  Pawhuska,  and  lived  in  this  city  when  hardly 
any  permanent  buildings  marked  the  site,  and  when  wild 
deer  frequently  ran  across  the  prairie  now  intersected  by 
numerous  streets  and  built  up  with  business  blocks  and 
homes.  After  one  year  Mr.  McGuire  resigned  owing  to 
the  incoming  Cleveland  administration,  since  at  that  time 
the  schools  were  not  under  the  civil  service  rules.  Return- 
ing to  Kansas  he  continued  teaching  there  until  1893, 
and  then  participated  in  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee 
Strip,  locating  at  Ponca  City.  During  his  first  two 
years  there  he  served  as  city  clerk,  but  was  chiefly  active 
in  organizing  the  local  school  districts.  He  was  chair- 
man of  the  board,  and  by  his  prompt  and  energetic 
work  had  the  first  permanent  school  house  built  and 
dedicated  On  the  sixtieth  day  after  the  opening.  Several 
years  later  Mr.  McGuire  resumed  his  work  as  a teacher 
and  was  superintendent  of  the  schools  at  Ponca  City, 
and  also  conducted  teachers’  normal  during  the  summer 
seasons.  In  1898  he  was  appointed  postmaster  at  Paw- 
huska, and  has  held  that  office  continuously  since  April 
1st  of  that  year,  his  present  term  expiring  February  1, 
1916.  During  all  this  seventeen  years  of  service,  which 
is  unique  in  the  records  of  the  postoffice  department  as 
affecting  Oklahoma,  he  has  conducted  the  office  with  a 
regularity  and  efficiency  like  clockwork,  has  never  been 
the  object  of  any  formal  complaint  from  the  authorities 
and  has  in  fact  made  his  administration  one  of  model 
thoroughness.  He  has  helped  introduce  all  the  many 
improvements  in  the  postal  service  inaugurated  since 
he  became  postmaster,  including  rural  delivery,  parcel 
post,  and  other  changes.  When  he  took  charge  at  Paw- 
huska he  found  a fourth  class  office,  and  it  is  now  an 
office  of  the  second  class,  employing  nine  clerks,  with 
up  to  date  equipment,  and  with  everything  in  perfect 
running  order. 

Ever  since  he  attained  his  majority  Mr.  McGuire  has 
been  a republican  in  polities,  though  his  chief  concern  has 
been  service  rather  than  political  honors.  He  is  active 
in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  and  since  moving  to 
Pawhuska  has  been  continuously  superintendent  of  the 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1809 


local  Sunday  school,  and  is  also  chairman  of  the  board 
of  trustees  of  the  church.  In  masonry  he  is  affiliated 
with  the  Lodge  and  with  the  Royal  Arch  Chapter,  and  also 
belongs  to  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and 
the  Knights  of  Pythias.  Mr.  McGuire  claims  all  children 
as  his  friends,  and  there  are  hundreds  of  young  men 
and  young  women  all  over  the  Southwest  who  remember 
with  gratefulness  his  kindly  influence  while  he  was  their 
teacher.  He  assisted  in  organizing  the  schools  of  Paw- 
huska  and  was  president  two  years  and  a member  five 
years  of  the  local  board  of  education,  and  held  that 
office  until  the  constitution  legislated  him  off  the  board 
on  account  of  his  relation  as  a federal  official. 

While  he  was  superintendent  of  a school  in  Chautauqua, 
Kansas,  Mr.  McGuire  married  one  of  his  teachers.  July 
23,  1888,  he  married  Miss  Jennie  Slater.  She  was  born 
at  Quincy,  Illinois,  December  6,  1868.  Four  children 
comprise  their  happy  home  circle  at  Pawhuska.  Naomi 
is  a student  in  the  music  and  fine  arts  department  of 
the  State  University  at  Norman.  Joseph,  the  second 
child,  is  now  in  high  school.  The  two  youngest  are  twin 
brothers,  Robert  and  Rolland,  both  in  high  school.  These 
twin  boys  are  so  much  alike  that  their  teachers  have 
much  difficulty  in  distinguishing  them.  Along  with  his 
many  others  talents  as  a useful  worker  Mr.  McGuire  com- 
bines a taste  and  training  in  music,  and  has  identified 
himself  with  local  choirs  for  twenty-five  years. 

John  D.  Appleby.  The  subject  of  this  sketch  was 
born  near  Alberton,  in  Henderson  County,  Tennessee,  on 
March  6,  1878,  being  the  oldest  of  eight  children,  only 
three  of  whom  are  now  living.  His  father,  A.  R.  Appleby, 
was  married  to  Dona  Roberts  in  1876,  and  to  this  family 
were  born:  John  D. ; William  F. ; Addie;  James  A.; 
Elizabeth;  Luther;  Mary  Beth  and  Emmons. 

John  D.  Appleby  attended  the  summer  schools  of  his 
county  and  when  sixteen  years  old  stood  the  teachers’ 
examination  and  was  granted  a certificate  to  teach  school 
but  because  of  his  age  did  not  begin  the  active  teach- 
ing of  schools  until  he  was  seventeen  years  old.  He  con- 
tinued to  teach  school  and  go  to  school  until  he  was 
twenty-one,  at;  which  time  he  graduated  from  the  Southern 
Normal  University,  located  at  Huntingdon,  Tennessee, 
taking  .the  LL.  B.,  B.  S.,  and  B.  A.  degrees  the  same 
year. 

After  having  been  admitted  to  the  practice  of  law, 
he  went  to  Henderson,  Tennessee,  where  he  opened 
an  office  and  there  practiced  his  chosen  profession  during 
the  year  1900.  Being  politically  inclined  he  took  a very 
important  part  in  the  McKinley  campaign  of  that  year 
making  many  speeches  throughout  that  and  adjoining 
counties. 

In  January,  1901,  Mr.  Appleby  left  Henderson,  Ten- 
nessee, and  came  to  Oklahoma,  locating  at  El  Reno,  where 
he  resided  until  the  opening  of  the  Kiowa  and  Comanche 
countries,  when  he  came  to  Hobart  on  August  5,  1901, 
and  where  he  has  since  resided.  During  the  time  that  Mr. 
Appleby  has  been  in  Hobart  he  has  at  all  times  taken  a 
leading  part  in  everything  that  went  for  the  betterment 
and  upbuilding  of  his  community. 

For  the  time  being  at  least  Mr.  Appleby  has  not  fol- 
lowed up  his  chosen  profession,  but  has  interested  himself 
in  other  vocations.  He  was  deputy  county  clerk  for  a 
number  of  years,  and  in  1912  was  appointed  postmaster 
at  Hobart  by  President  Taft,  his  appointment  being  a 
personal  one.  He  served  in  that  capacity  until  December 
7,  1914,  at  which  time  he  tendered  his  resignation  to  take 
up  private  business. 

On  March  4,  1904,  Mr.  Appleby  was  married  to  Miss 
Madge  L.  Osterhout,  to  which  union  one  baby  now  graces 
their  home,  John  D.  Jr.,  three  years  old.  Mrs.  Appleby 
is  one  of  those  versatile,  helpful  personages  who  takes 


keen  delight  and  pleasure  in  all  the  activities  of  her 
husband. 

Always  more  or  less  politically  inclined,  Mr.  Appleby 
has  at  all  times  been  found  doing  what  he  could  for  the 
advancement  of  the  republican  party,  in  an  honorable 
way.  He  was  the  campaign  manager  for  Hon.  James  A. 
Harris  of  Wagoner,  Oklahoma,  for  National  committee- 
man, and  was  successful  in  having  his  man  elected 
National  committeeman  for  Oklahoma  in  what  was  one  of 
the  most  stubborn  political  fights  that  has  ever  been 
waged  in  the  state.  On  April  22  of  this  year  he  was 
unanimously  elected  secretary  of  the  State  Central  Com- 
mitteee. 

James  D.  Osborn,  Jr.,  M.  D.  One  of  the  native-born 
sons  of  the  Southwest  who  has  contributed  his  ablest 
efforts  to  the  progress  of  his  community  and  labored 
faithfully  in  its  behalf  is  James  D.  Osborn,  Jr.,  M.  D., 
who  has  been  engaged  in  practice  at  Frederick,  Okla- 
homa, since  1906.  He  has  been  remarkably  successful 
in  his  profession,  his  skill  having  won  for  him  a fore- 
most place  among  the  physicians  of  Tillman  County. 

Doctor  Osborn  was  born  at  Cleburne,  Texas,  Decem- 
ber 22,  1878,  and  is  a son  of  Dr.  J.  S.  Osborn,  Sr.,  and 
a member  of  a family  which  migrated  to  America  from 
England  prior  to  the  Revolutionary  war  and  settled  in 
Virginia.  Dr.  J.  D.  Osborn,  Sr.,  was  born  at  Greens- 
boro, Hale  County,  Alabama,  in  1846,  and  was  reared  in 
his  native  community,  where  he  began  the  study  of 
medicine.  Graduated  from  the  University  of  Virginia 
with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine,  he  was  engaged 
in  practice  for  several  years  in  Alabama,  but  for  the 
past  forty  years  has  followed  his  profession  at  Cleburne, 
Texas,  and  is  one  of  the  well  known  and  highly  esteemed 
physicians  and  surgeons  of  that  part  of  the  Lone  Star 
State.  The  high  regard  in  which  he  is  held  professionally 
is  shown  by  the  fact  that  he  has  served  in  the  capacity 
of  president  of  the  Texas  State  Medical  Society,  and  his 
standing  among  his  professional  brethren  in  the  various 
other  organizations  of  his  calling,  while  as  a citizen  he 
has  taken  a constant  interest  in  civic  affairs  and  has 
served  as  mayor  of  Cleburne  for  many  years.  He  has 
likewise  been  a member  of  the  Texas  State  Examining 
Board,  is  one  of  the  leading  and  influential  democrats 
of  his  locality,  and  is  prominent  ifi  the  Knights  of 
Pythias  and  other  social  and  fraternal  orders.  During 
the  Civil  war,  Doctor  Osborn  served  as  captain  of  a 
company  under  the  redoubtable  Forrest,  of  the  Con- 
federacy, and  was  wounded  in  the  shoulder  in  one  of 
the  numerous  battles  in  which  he  participated.  He 
married  Miss  Julia  Pittman,  who  was  born  in  Palmyra, 
Missouri,  in  1851,  and  died  at  Cleburne,  Texas,  in  1904, 
and  they  became  the  parents  of  four  children,  namely: 
Dr.  E.  B.,  a graduate  of  the  University  of  Texas,  who 
is  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  with  his  father 
at  Cleburne,  Texas;  Hattie  Lu,  who  died  unmarried  in 
1895  at  the  age  of  twenty-two  years ; Irene,  who  married 
Frank  Blair,  a wholesale  grocer  of  Wichita  Falls,  Texas; 
and  Dr.  James  D.,  of  this  notice. 

James  D.  Osborn,  Jr.,  attended  the  public  schools  of 
Cleburne,  Texas,  and  was  there  graduated  from  the 
high  school  with  the  class  of  1896.  He  next  became  a 
student  at  the  military  school  at  Forney,  Texas,  where 
he  remained  one  year,  this  being  followed  by  two  years 
of  attendance  at  the  University  of  Texas.  Doctor 
Osborn  then  passed  a like  period  at  the  University  of 
Louisiana,  where  he  was  graduated  in  1901  with  the 
degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine,  and  this  has  since  been 
supplemented  by  post-graduate  work  at  the  Chicago  Eye, 
Ear,  Nose  and  Throat  College,  where  he  prepared  him- 
self for  specializing  in  diseases  of  these  organs.  He 
began  practice  at  Oklahoma  City,  Oklahoma,  in  1901 


1810 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


and  remained  in  that  city  until  1906,  when  he  came  to 
his  present  field  practice,  the  City  of  Frederick,  where 
he  maintains  offices  in  the  McFadden  Building,  at 
214%  Grand  Avenue.  He  carries  on  a general  medical 
and  surgical  practice  and  has  been  successful  in  building 
up  an  excellent  business,  and  at  this  time  is  surgeon 
for  the  Frisco  and  Missouri,  Kansas  & Texas  railroads 
at  Frederick.  Doctor  Osborn  continues  as  a careful 
student,  keeping  fully  abreast  of  his  profession  in  every 
way,  and  is  a valued  member  of  the  Tillman  County 
Medical  Society,  the  Oklahoma  Medical  Society  and 
the  American  Medical  Association.  A democrat  in  poli- 
tics, he  served  Tillman  County  as  its  first  coroner,  but 
has  not  been  a seeker  after  public  preferment,  the 
exacting  demands  of  his  calling  having  taken  his  entire 
time  and  attention.  His  religious  connection  is  with  the 
Episcopal  Church,  and  fraternally  he  belongs  to  the 
Praetorians  and  to  Frederick  Lodge  No.  1217,  Benevo- 
lent and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  of  which  he  is  past 
exalted  ruler. 

In  October,  1902,  Doctor  Osborn  was  married  at 
Cleburne,  Texas,  to  Miss  May  Brown,  daughter  of 
John  C.  Brown,  a retired  citizen  of  Texas.  One  child 
has  been  born  to  this  union:  Pauline,  who  is  attend- 
ing the  public  school. 

William  Mason  Cott,  M.  D.  In  point  of  continuous 
residence  and  practice  Doctor  Cott  is  now  one  of  the  old- 
est physicians  and  surgeons  of  Okmulgee  County,  where 
he  has  had  his  home  since  1900.  Professionally  he  stands 
among  the  leading  physicians  in  the  state,  and  has  ac- 
complished a great  deal  of  service  in  Okmulgee  during 
the  past  fifteen  years,  and  has  been  rewarded  propor- 
tionately in  a business  way. 

Doctor  Cott  came  to  Oklahoma  with  considerable  experi- 
ence in  his  profession  acquired  during  his  residence  in 
Missouri.  He  was  born  in  Saline  County,  Missouri, 
December  1,  1869,  a son  of  Jackson  Washington  and 
Mary  Jane  (Wilhite)  Cott.  His  father  was  born  at 
Knightstown,  Indiana,  January  10,  1829,  and  the  mother 
was  born  in  Saline  County,  Missouri,  October  7,  1834. 
The  Wilhites  were  among  the  pioneer  settlers  in  Saline 
County.  The  parents  were  married  in  that  county  in 
1856  and  they  continued  to  make  their  residence  on  one 
farm  there  until  'about  ten  years  ago,  when  they  moved 
to  Okmulgee,  where  they  are  now  spending  their  declin- 
ing years.  The  father-  is  at  this  writing  eighty-seven 
years  of  age.  He  was  a soldier  in  a Missouri  regiment 
during  the  Civil  war.  There  were  seven  sons  and  three 
daughters  in  the  family,  with  Doctor  Cott  as  the  sixth  in 
order  of  age. 

His  early  life  was  spent  on  a farm,  and  his  education 
came  from  the  rural  schools  supplemented  by  two  years 
in  William  Jewell  College  at  Liberty,  Missouri.  He 
earned  a large  part  of  the  money  necessary  for  his  own 
education,  and  in  1896  graduated  M.  D.  from  the  St. 
Louis  College  of  Physicians  and  Surgeons.  Then  fol- 
lowed four  years  of  practice  in  his  home  state,  two  years 
in  Cooper  County  and  two  years  in  the  Sweet  Springs 
Sanitarium. 

He  arrived  at  Okmulgee  April  29,  1900,  and  has  since 
looked  after  a large  general  practice  and  since  statehood 
has  been  county  superintendent  of  health  and  county 
physician.  For  fourteen  years  his  offices  have  been  in 
the  Bell  Building,  ever  since  it  was  constructed.  At  this 
writing  he  is  completing  a handsome  new  country  home  a 
mile  and  a half  northeast  of  the  city.  In  politics  he  is  a 
democrat,  and  he  was  the  first  secretary  of  the  chamber 
of  commerce  at  Okmulgee.  Fraternally  he  is  a Mason 
and  Shriner,  a member  of  the  Elks,  and  charter  member 
of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  His  church  is 
the  Baptist. 


On  October  9,  1897,  Doctor  Cott  married  Mary  Louise 
Wing,  who  was  born  in  Cooper  County,  Missouri,  daugh- 
ter of  D.  Warner  Wing.  Doctor  Cott  and  wife  have  three 
children:  Dorsey  Wing,  Marian  Elizabeth  and  William 
Warner. 

James  S.  Ross.  During  his  professional  career  at 
Oklahoma  City,  in  the  last  five  years,  Mr.  Ross  has 
enjoyed  a large  and  growing  practice  mainly  in  the  field 
of  corporation  law,  and  his  associations  and  connections 
are  those  enjoyed  by  the  leaders  of  the  bar.  Mr.  Ross 
is  a Tennesseean,  a descendent  of  the  Scotch  elan  of 
Ross,  and  his  father  was  a successful  Tennessee  lawyer. 

James  S.  Ross  was  born  at  Fort  Donelson,  Stewart 
County,  Tennessee,  in  1878,  a son  of  Ambrose  B.  and 
Missouri  (Gray)  Ross.  His  father  died  in  1882  and  his 
mother  in  1908.  The  former  was  for  thirty  years  con- 
nected with  various  county  offices  in  Stewart  County  in 
addition  to  his  practice  as  a lawyer,  and  was  well  known 
in  local  affairs. 

Educated  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  county, 
Mr.  Ross  read  law  in  a private  office,  and  was  admitted 
to  the  Tennessee  bar  in  1899.  Aft*  practicing  a short 
time  in  Tennessee  he  moved  to  Paducah,  Kentucky,  and 
during  the  ten  years  of  his  residence  in  that  city  enjoyed 
a prosperous  business.  In  1909  he  located  in  Oklahoma 
City,  where  much  of  his  practice  is  in  handling  the  legal 
affairs  for  various  corporations,  both  of  Oklahoma  and 
other  states.  He  is  a member  of  the  County  and  State 
and  American  Bar  associations. 

Active  in  the  democratic  party,  Mr.  Ross  was  one  of 
the  candidates  in  1912  for  the  democratic  nomination 
to  Congress  from  his  district,  but  the  peculiar  conditions 
that  prevailed  during  the  primary  campaign  put  him 
among  the  losers. 

A member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity,  he  has  taken 
fourteen  degrees  in  the  Scottish  Rite,  and  his  church  home 
is  with  the  First  Christian  Church  of  Oklahoma  City. 
In  1901  Mr.  Ross  married  Miss  Emma  Halloway,  daughter 
of  C.  M.  Halloway  of  Tennessee.  .Their  three  children 
are  Virginia,  James  A.  and  Myra.  Mr.  Ross  resides  at 
544  West  Thirty-second  Street,  and  his  offices  are  in  the 
American  National  Bank  Building. 

Judge  Preslie  B.  Cole.  While  the  present  genera- 
tion of  lawyers  in  Oklahoma  will  have  no  difficulty  in 
identifying  Judge  Cole  on  account  of  his  long  established 
position  as  a member  of  the  MeAlester  bar,  there  is  no 
question  that  he  deserves  the  grateful  remembrance  of 
a later  generation,  particularly  on  account  of  splendid 
record  while  on  the  District  Bench,  from  which  he 
retired  early  in  1915  after  eight  years  of  capable  service 
as  judge.  Judge  Cole  represented  the  best  quality  of  the 
judiciary  and  in  his  official  capacity  set  some  high  stand- 
ards of  service  for  his  successors  to  follow.  For  fully  a 
quarter  of  a century  he  has  given  all  the  energy  of  his 
nature  to  a profession  which  represents  to  him  the  dig- 
nity and  service  associated  with  the  law. 

He  was  nearly  thirty  years  of  age  when  admitted  to 
the  bar  and  his  earlier  career  has  been  one  of  struggle 
and  hard  work  to  support  himself  and  gain  the  object 
of  his  steadfast  ambition.  He  was  born  at  Turin, 
Georgia,  December  6,  1862,  a son  of  Monroe  W.  and 
Nancy  (Russell)  Cole.  His  father  was  born  at  Danville, 
Virginia,  of  German  lineage,  while  the  mother  was  a 
native  of  South  Carolina  and  of  Seotch-Irish  ancestry. 
Judge  Cole’s  parents  were  married  in  Georgia,  where 
they  afterwards  lived  until  their  death.  His  father  was 
an  architect  and  building  contractor,  and  during  the 
war  between  the  states  he  made  a fine  record  as  lieuten- 
ant of  his  company. 

Reared  in  Georgia,  Preslie  B.  Cole  accepted  such 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1811 


advantages  as  were  presented  by  the  local  schools  where 
he  spent  his  boyhood,  but  most  of  his  liberal  and  broad 
education  and  knowledge  of  men  and  affairs  have  come 
as  a result  of  his  varied  experience  since  leaving  school 
and  becoming  dependent  upon  his  own  resources.  When 
nineteen  he  left  home  and  undertook  to  make  his  own 
way  in  the  world.  From  Georgia  he  removed  to  Arkan- 
sas, and  at  this  stage  of  his  early  career  was  not  too 
proud  to  accept  any  honorable  means  of  earning  a living. 
He  finally  became  clerk  in  a small  store  at  Hackett  City, 
and  later  developed  as  a traveling  salesman.  His  head- 
quarters at  first  were  at  Fort  Smith  and  later  at  St. 
Louis.  With  this  experience  back  of  him  he  realized 
that  his  real  talent  pointed  in  another  direction  and  he 
quietly  but  determinedly  took  up  the  study  of  law  while 
in  Arkansas. 

Judge  Cole  was  admitted  to  the  Arkansas  bar  in  1891, 
but  in  the  same  year  moved  to  Indian  Territory  and 
established  his  home  and  began  practice  at  MeAlester. 
That  city  has  been  his  residence  ever  since,  and  in  a few 
years  his  abilities  had  gained  him  recognition  as  one  o,f 
the  leading  attorneys  of  the  old  territory.  His  experi- 
ence and  other  qualifications  made  him  the  logical  candi- 
date when  Indian  Territory  became  merged  with 
Oklahoma  Territory  as  the  new  state,  for  the  .office  of 
district  judge,  and  he  was  nominated  and  elected  judge 
of  the  Fourth  Judicial  District.  In  that  office  he  served 
eight  years,  his  term  ending  in  January,  1915. 

While  Judge  Cole  sat  on  the  District  Bench  more  than 
1,000  criminal  cases  came  before  him,  100  or  more  of 
them  being  murder  trials.  It  is  a supreme  tribute  to 
his  judicial  temperament,  his  fairness  and  impartiality, 
and  his  sound  knowledge  of  precedence  and  equity,  that 
in  only  two  instances  were  his  decisions  in  criminal  cases 
reversed  by  a higher  court.  At  the  same  time  a great 
number  of  civil  eases  were  tried  before  him,  and  in  that 
class  of  eases  there  resulted  not  more  than  half  a dozen 
reversals  altogether. 

Judge  Cole  has  long  been  an  active  democrat,  and 
was  a delegate  to  the  National  Democratic  Convention 
at  Baltimore  in  1912,  where  he  served  as  a member  of 
the  committee  on  credentials.  He  was  an  ardent  sup- 
porter of  the  candidacy  of  Champ  Clark  for  president, 
and  served  as  a member  of  Clark’s  advisory  committee. 

Robert  H.  Loofbourrow.  Judge  Loofbourrow  re- 
tired from  the  distinguished  office  of  associate  justice  of 
the  Supreme  Court  of  Oklahoma  on  the  1st  of  January, 
1915,  after  having  declined  nomination  for  a second 
term,  and  his  incumbency  of  this  position  fully  estab- 
lished his  prestige  as  one  of  the  leading  lawyers  and 
jurists  of  the  state  within  whose  borders  he  has  main- 
tained his  home  since  1890.  The  judge  is  a scion  of  a 
staunch  old  Scottish  family  that  is  of  patrician  lineage 
and  that  was  founded  in  America  prior  to  the  War  of 
the  Revolution,  the  name  having  been  prominently  and 
worthily  identified  with  the  civic  and  industrial  develop- 
ment of  various  of  the  sovereign  commonwealths  of  the 
Union.  The  genealogy  is  traced  back  to  Lord  Loofbour- 
row, whose  descendants  immigrated  to  America  in  the 
colonial  days  and  established  a home  in  North  Caro- 
lina, where  they  became  citizens  of  marked  prominence 
and  influence.  Representatives  of  a later  generation 
became  identified  with  the  pioneer  history  of  Kentucky, 
and  from  the  old  Bluegrass  State  went  forth  members 
of  a still  later  generation  to  become  sterling  citizens 
of  Ohio.  Judge  Wade  Loofbourrow  was  long  one  of  the 
most  honored  lawyers  and  jurists  at  Washington  Court 
House,  Fayette  County,  Ohio,  and  by  his  will  he  devised 
to  that  attractive  little  city,  the  judicial  center  of  the 
county,  his  extensive  and  well  selected  law  library,  which 
is  still  maintained  as  a public  law  library  at  that  place, 


the  bequest  having  been  the  valuable  nucleus  around 
which  has  been  gathered  one  of  the  best  technical 
libraries  of  its  kind  to  be  claimed  by  any  of  the  non- 
metropolitan counties  of  the  Buckeye  State.  Judge 
Wade  Loofbourrow  served  on  the  bench  of  the  Circuit 
Court  and  was  a lawyer  of  specially  high  attainments, 
so  that  his  great-grandson  may  consistently  be  said  to 
have  as  a natural  heritage  a predilection  for  the  pro- 
fession in  which  he  has  achieved  marked  success  and 
distinction. 

Judge  Robert  H.  Loofbourrow  was  born  on  a farm 
in  Marion  County,  Illinois,  on  the  29th  of  January,  1873, 
and  is  a son  of  Orlando  J.  and  Sarah  T.  (Wilson)  Loof- 
bourrow. The  judge  was  a boy  at  the  time  of  the  family 
removal  to  Missouri,  and  a short  time  thereafter  removal 
was  made  to  Kansas,  where  his  father  became  a success- 
ful agriculturist  and  stockgrower  and  where  he  remained 
until  1890,  when  the  family  came  to  Oklahoma  Territory 
and  settled  in  Beaver  County.  Orlando  J.  Loofbourrow 
was  born  at  Washington  Court  House,  Ohio,  but  was 
reared  and  educated  in  Illinois,  and  it  was  his  to  gain 
a full  quota  of  pioneer  experience  in  the  West.  After 
coming  to  Oklahoma  he  became  one  of  the  representative 
exponents  of  the  agricultural  and  live-stock  industries 
in  the  territory. 

To  the  public  schools  of  Kansas  Judge  Loofbourrow 
is  indebted  for  his  early  educational  discipline,  and  in 
preparation  for  his  chosen  profession  he  entered  the  Iowa 
College  of  Law,  in  the  City  of  Des  Moines,  from  which 
institution  he  withdrew  prior  to  graduation.  Thereafter 
he  continued  the  study  of  law  under  effective  private  pre- 
ceptorship,  at  Beaver,  Oklahoma,  where,  in  1896,  he  was 
admitted  to  the  territorial  bar,  upon  examination  before 
the  District  Court  of  Beaver  County.  He  initiated  the 
practice  of  his  profession  at  Beaver,  where  he  has  since 
continued  to  maintain  his  home  and  where  he  soon  gained 
place  as  one  of  the  leading  members  of  the  bar  of  Beaver 
County,  besides  proving  one  of  the  most  loyal  and  pro- 
gressive citizens  of  that  section  of  the  present  State  of 
Oklahoma.  From  1897  to  1899  he  served  as  county  attor- 
ney, and  for  the  ensuing  two  years  his  services  continued 
to  be  enlisted  in  the  position  of  assistant  county  attorney. 
In  1904  he  again  became  county  attorney,  and  of  this 
office  he  continued  the  valued  incumbent  until  the  admis- 
sion of  Oklahoma  to  statehood,  in  1907.  Higher  honors 
then  became  his,  for  under  the  new  state  regime  he  was 
elected  to  the  bench  of  the  Nineteenth  Judicial  District. 
He  gave  a most  able  and  effective  administration  and  his 
possession  of  exceptional  judicial  acumen  gained  to  him 
further  and  distinguished  recognition,  since,  on  the  1st 
of  September,  1913,  he  was  appointed  associate  justice 
of  the  Supreme  Court  of  the  state,  to  accept  which  pre- 
ferment he  retired  from  the  District  Court  bench.  As 
associate  justice  of  the  Supreme  Court  his  earnest  and 
admirable  services  are  now  an  integral  part  of  the  history 
of  that  tribunal,  from  which  he  retired  in  January,  1915, 
owing  to  his  desire  to  resume  the  private  practice  of  his 
profession  at  Beaver,  the  judicial  center  of  the  county 
of  the  same  name. 

Judge  Loofbourrow  is  a member  of  the  directorate  of 
the  Bank  of  Beaver  and  is  the  owner  of  valuable  real 
estate  in  his  home  city  and  county.  In  the  Masonic 
fraternity  he  has  attained  the  eighteenth  degree  of  the 
Ancient  Accepted  Scottish  Rite,  besides  which  he  is 
affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows, 
the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  and  the 
Knights  of  Pythias,  in  which  last  mentioned  he  is  past 
chancellor  of  Beaver  Lodge,  No.  7. 

On  the  16th  of  May,  1897,  was  solemnized  the  marriage 
of  Judge  Loofbourrow  to  Miss  Bertha  L.  Groves,  daugh- 
ter of  Ansel  Groves,  of  Beaver,  and  they  have  three  sons, 
Harold,  Bernard  and  Hale. 


1812 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Charles  A.  Holden.  Among  the  men  who  are  win- 
ning success  at  the  bar  of  Western  Oklahoma,  one  who 
is  rapidly  coming  to  the  forefront  is  Charles  A.  Holden, 
city  attorney  of  Clinton,  and  one  of  the  energetic  and 
influential  young  democrats  of  Custer  County.  Mr. 
Holden  was  born  at  Walhalla,  Oconee  County,  South 
Carolina,  September  23,  1887,  and  is  a son  of  A.  P.  and 
Anna  P.  (Conley)  Holden. 

The  Holden  family  originated  in  England,  from 
whence  one  John  Holden  came  to  America  about  the 
year  1700  and  settled  near  Williamsburg,  Virginia,  where 
he  was  a planter,  a vocation  followed  by  many  of  the 
family.  Among  his  descendants  were  three  who  fought 
as  soldiers  in  the  Revolutionary  war,  John  Holden,  Wil- 
liam Holden  and  Capt.  John  Holden.  The  last  named 
was  a captain  of  militia  in  the  patriot  army,  and,  like 
the  others,  a planter.  The  son  of  Capt.  John  Holden, 
also  named  John,  was  the  great-grandfather  of  Charles 
A.  Holden,  and  in  1805  located  in  the  Pendleton  Dis- 
trict, South  Carolina.  He  passed  his  life  in  planting 
and  died  in  1856,  leaving  a family  of  twelve  children. 
Five  of  his  sons  were  in  one  company  in  the  Second 
Regiment,  South  Carolina  Volunteer  Infantry,  during 
the  Civil  war,  and  another  son  was  a captain  in  another 
regiment  under  Wade  Hampton.  The  oldest  of  the 
twelve  children  of  John  Holden  was  the  grandfather  of 
Charles  A.  Holden.  He  was  born  in  Pendleton  District, 
South  Carolina,  in  1813,  and  followed  the  family  voca- 
tion of  planting.  When  he  attained  his  majority  he 
left  home  and  secured  a plantation  of  his  own  in  the 
vicinity  of  Pine  Mountain,  Georgia,  and  there  his  death 
occurred  May  31,  1893. 

A.  P.  Holden  was  born  at  Pine  Mountain,  Georgia,  in 
1860,  and  about  the  time  of  his  marriage  moved  across 
the  state  line  to  Walhalla,  South  Carolina.  There  he 
was  engaged  as  a lumberman  until  November,  1907, 
when  he  came  to  Cordell,  Oklahoma,  where  his  death 
occurred  February  1,  1908.  He  was  a stanch  and 
unswerving  democrat  and  a member  of  the  Masonic  fra- 
ternity. Mrs.  Holden,  who  survives  and  resides  at 
Cordell,  is  a native  of  Macon  County,  Georgia.  There 
were  three  children  in  the  family,  as  follows:  Charles 

A.,  of  this  notice;  W.  S.,  who  is  a merchant  and  resides 
at  Cordell;  and  Bessie,  who  died  February  17,  1908,  at 
Cordell,  aged  sixteen  years. 

Charles  A.  Holden  received  his  early  education  in 
the  public  schools  of  Walhalla,  South  Carolina,  being 
graduated  from  the  high  school  there  in  the  class  of 
1906.  The  next  two  years  were  spent  at  the  University 
of  North  Carolina,  at  Chapel  Hill,  and  three  years  were 
then  passed  at  the  University  of  Missouri,  at  Columbia, 
where  he  was  graduated  in  1911  with  the  degree  of 
Bachelor  of  Arts.  He  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  that 
same  year  and  in  September  began  practice  at  Cordell, 
Oklahoma,  from  whence  he  came  to  Clinton  in  July,  1913. 
This  city  has  continued  to  be  his  field  of  practice,  his 
offices  being  located  in  the  Welch  Building,  on  Frisco 
Avenue.  He  has  built  up  an  excellent  general  practice, 
being  equally  at  home  in  all  branches  of  his  profession, 
and  is  the  representative  of  some  large  interests.  A 
stanch  democrat,  he  has  taken  an  active  part  in  county 
and  state  convention  work,  having  attended  every  county 
convention  since  coming  to  Oklahoma  and  being  a cam- 
paign speaker  of  note,  whose  services  are  always  in 
demand.  In  1914  he  was  the  successful  candidate  of 
his  party  for  the  office  of  city  attorney,  a position  in 
which  he  is  rendering  his  adopted  city  valuable  service. 
Mr.  Holden  is  a member  of  the  Phi  Alpha  Delta  Greek 
letter  college  fraternity,  and  is  generally  popular  in 
social  circles  of  the  city. 

On  April  15,  1914,  at  Pawnee,  Oklahoma,  Mr.  Holden 


married  Miss  Jennie  B.  Berry,  daughter  of  George  M. 
Berry,  who  was  a member  of  the  Oklahoma  Constitu- 
tional Convention  and  is  now  a well  known  banker  of 
Pawnee. 

James  R.  Calloway,  M.  D.  The  pioneer  medical  prac- 
titioner of  Paul’s  Valley  is  Doctor  Calloway,  who  located 
in  that  small  village  in  October,  1889.  That,  it  will  be 
remembered,  was  only  a few  months  after  the  original 
opening  of  Oklahoma  Territory,  and  at  the  beginning  of 
the  epoch  of  modern  development  and  civilization  in  the 
present  state.  For  more  than  twenty-five  years  Doctor 
Calloway  has  carried  his  skill  and  counsel  to  hundreds  of 
homes  and  families  in  that  city  and  surrounding  country. 
In  the  early  days  he  underwent  all  the  hardships  and 
privations  of  a pioneer  doctor,  traveling  for  miles  to 
visit  his  patients,  being  quite  regardless  of  his  own  health 
and  comfort  in  the  performance  of  his  professional 
duties.  In  later  years  his  practice  has  become  more  and 
more  an  office  practice,  and  confined  to  a smaller  radius 
of  country.  He  is  a specialist  in  diseases  of  children  and 
in  that  department  of  the  profession  is  regarded  as  sec- 
ond to  none  in  this  part  of  the  state. 

His  lifetime  has  covered  a great  variety  of  scenes  and 
experiences.  He  was  born  in  Denton  County  of  Northern 
Texas  August  22,  1854,  and  his  father,  T.  H.  Calloway, 
was  also  a physician  and  surgeon.  Dr.  T.  H.  Calloway 
was  born  in  Missouri  in  1825.  It  is  interesting  to  note 
that  the  famous  Daniel  Boone  had  a brother-in-law 
named  Calloway,  after  whom  Calloway  County,  Missouri, 
was  named.  The  Calloways  were  Seotch-Irish  people  and 
located  in  Virginia  during  colonial  times.  T.  H.  Callo- 
way’s parents  were  pioneers  in  Northern  Texas,  where 
he  was  reared  and  married.  In  1859,  when  Dr.  James  R. 
was  five  years  of  age,  he  moved  out  to  California,  and 
lived  in  various  places  of  that  state  and  in  Oregon.  In 
1863  he  went  as  one  of  the  first  pioneers  to  Boise  City, 
Idaho,  and  was  in  that  state  for  several  years  during  the 
interesting  period  following  the  discovery  of  the  mines  in 
that  country.  At  one  time  he  was  a member  of  the  Idaho 
Legislature,  and  always  took  a prominent  part  in  civic 
and  political  affairs.  In  1872  Dr.  T.  H.  Calloway  moved 
to  the  eastern  part  of  Indian  Territory,  but  not  long 
afterwards  returned  to  Texas  and  located  near  Decatur 
in  Wise  County.  In  1884  he  was  again  attracted  to  the 
Northwest  and  settled  at  Caldwell,  near  Boise  City, 
Canyon  County,  Idaho,  and  lived  there  until  his  death  in 
1904.  When  a very  young  man  he  had  served  with  Gen- 
eral Price  as  a soldier  in  the  war  with  Mexico  and  was 
a participant  in  some  of  the  campaigns  in  New  Mexico. 
Besides  his  regular  profession  as  a physician  he  was  a 
minister  of  the  Christian  Church.  In  politics  he  was  a 
democrat  and  a member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity.  Dr. 
T.  H.  Calloway  married  Mary  Allen,  who  was  born  in 
Missouri  in  1835  and  died  at  Caldwell,  Idaho,  in  1894. 
Their  children  were:  Dr.  James  R. ; William  T.,  a farmer 
at  Namba,  Idaho;  Ida,  wife  of  Frank  Brown,  who  is  a 
miner  and  lives  in  Boise  City,  Idaho;  Melinda  C.,  wife  of 
J.  A.  Dement,  a stock  raiser  at  Caldwell,  Idaho;  and 
Mary  Allen,  who  is  unmarried  and  a graduate  physician 
now  practicing  at  Boise. 

Dr.  James  R.  Calloway  spent  his  early  youth  and  man- 
hood in  Texas,  California  and  Oregon,  was  about  nine 
years  of  age  when  the  family  removed  to  Idaho,  and  in 
1872  came  with  them  to  Indian  Territory  and  soon  after- 
wards to  Decatur,  Wise  County,  Texas.  His  early  ex- 
periences were  as  a farmer  and  he  also  did  some  mining  in 
Colorado.  From  boyhood  he  was  a student  and  some  of 
his  family  called  him  a book  worm.  Having  access  to  his 
father’s  medical  library,  he  became  well  grounded  in  the 
medical  science  so  far  as  text-books  were  concerned 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1813 


before  reaching  his  majority.  His  father  was  opposed 
to  the  idea  of  his  practicing  medicine,  and  it  was  not 
until  he  came  to  Paul's  Valley  in  the  fall  of  1889  that  he 
set  up  as  a regular  member  of  the  profession.  For  a 
number  of  years  he  was  an  undergraduate  practitioner, 
but  finally  entered  the  medical  department  of  the  Texas 
Christian  University  at  Fort  Worth,  where  he  was  grad- 
uated M.  D.  in  1897.  He  is  properly  regarded  now  as 
one  of  the  leading  physicians  in  this  section  of  Southern 
Oklahoma.  He  was  frequently  called  into  consultation  by 
fellow  physicians,  and  his  wide  experience  has  given  him 
a thorough  post-graduate  knowledge  of  medicine. 

Like  his  father  he  was  a regularly  ordained  minister 
of  the  Christian  Church,  and  between  the  ages  of  twenty 
and  fifty  preached  quite  regularly  and  still  fills  an  occa- 
sional pulpit.  His  office's  are  in  the  Bruce  Building  of 
Paul’s  Valley.  In  territorial  days  he  belonged  to  the  old 
Chickasaw  Medical  Society  and  was  the  first  president 
of  the  Washita  Valley  Medical  Society,  which  afterwards 
became  the  Garvin  County  Medical  Society,  to  which  he 
still  belongs.  He  is  a member  of  the  Oklahoma  State 
Society  and  a member  of  the  American  Medical  Society. 
In  polities  he  is  an  independent  democrat  and  is  affiliated 
with  Paul’s  Valley  Lodge  No.  196,  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows,  in  which  he  has  frequently  filled  the  office 
of  chaplain. 

In  Texas  in  1876  Doctor  Calloway  married  Miss 
Frances  Elizabeth  Clemens.  Her  father  was  the  late 
Andrew  Clemens.  To  their  marriage  have  been  born 
five  children:  John  R.,  who  is  a physician  and  surgeon, 
having  taken  his  degree  in  1907  in  the  St.  Louis  College 
of  Physicians  and  Surgeons,  and  is  now  practicing  in 
Mescalero,  New  Mexico;  Ethel  M.  is  the  wife  of  W.  W. 
Howerton,  a farmer  at  Foster,  Oklahoma;  Lillian  M.  is 
the  wife  of  Francis  L.  Armstrong,  a fire  insurance  man 
at  Spokane,  Washington;  Etta  Frances,  who  is  still 
single,  was  graduated  from  the  Boise  City  High  School, 
was  a teacher  for  a number  of  years  and  is  now  a sten- 
ographer and  living  at  home  with  her  father;  Vivienne, 
also  unmarried,  is  a sophomore  in  the  School  of  Journal- 
ism at  the  Oklahoma  State  University  at  Norman. 

Joseph  Lamar  Griffitts.  During  the  twenty  years 
since  his  admission  to  the  bar  in  Tennessee,  fifteen  of 
which  have  been  spent  in  Oklahoma,  Joseph  L.  Griffitts 
has  employed  his  talent  and  abilities  in  such  a way  as 
to  place  him  among  the  front  rank  of  Oklahoma  lawyers, 
and  he  has  the  chief  practice  in  his  home  Town  of 
Buffalo,  Harper  County. 

His  birth  occurred  at  Friendsville,  Tennessee,  July  23, 
1864,  and  he  represents  old  and  prominent  family  stock 
of  that  state.  His  parents  were  John  W.  and  Mary 
Elizabeth  (Donaldson)  Griffitts.  His  grandfather,  Man- 
uel Griffiths,  was  a native  of  Virginia,  and  married  a 
Georgia  girl.  John  W.  Griffitts,  who  was  born  in  Ken- 
tucky, June  13,  1831,  and  died  December  18,  1909,  spent 
his  active  lifetime  as  a farmer  in  Tennessee.  He  was 
also  prominent  in  local  affairs,  and  for  twenty  years  was 
a member  of  the  County  Court  of  Loudon  County,  Ten- 
nessee, having  filled  that  office  up  to  the  time  of  his 
death.  He  served  as  an  elder  in  the  Presbyterian  Church 
forty  years.  He  was  married  in  1856  to  Mary  Elizabeth 
Donaldson,  who  was  born  February  3,  1839,  in  Tennessee, 
and  died  January  16,  1897.  She  became  the  mother  of 
eight  children,  five  sons  and  three  daughters:  James 

Henry,  who  was  born  July  16,  1857;  Nancy  Elizabeth, 
born  September  15,  1859,  was  married  in  1886  to  Samuel 
S.  Hutsell,  and  is  now  a resident  at  Sweetwater,  Ten- 
nessee; Thomas  Nelson,  born  September  26,  1861,  is  a 
farmer  at  Lenoir  City,  Tennessee;  Joseph  L.  was  the 
fourth  in  age;  Stephen  Alexander  was  born  January  22, 


1866,  and  died  August  18,  1913;  Jacob  Lafayette,  born 
May  20,  1868,  is  a minister  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church  South  at  Cedar  Keys,  Florida;  Lucinda  Jane, 
born  July  11,  1875,  died  November  28,  1903;  Nora 
Blanche  was  born  March  20,  1877,  and  is  still  single. 

Joseph  Lamar  Griffitts  completed  his  early  education 
in  Maryville  College  at  Maryville,  Tennessee.  His  early 
life  was  taken  up  with  varied  labors  and  employments, 
until  he  realized  his  ambition  to  study  law.  He  read 
liis  text  books  at  Loudon,  Tennessee,  until  1895,  and  was 
then  admitted  to  practice  in  all  the  courts  of  the  state. 
From  Tennessee  he  came  to  Oklahoma  in  1900,  and 
began  practice  at  Tonkawa.  While  there  he  served  as 
police  judge  until  1905  and  was  elected  city  attorney 
in  1907.  However,  in  the  same  year,  he  resigned  that 
office  and  moved  to  Buffalo,  and  after  statehood  was 
elected  the  first  county  judge  of  Harper  County.  That 
office  he  filled  with  distinction  and  credit  for  three  years 
and  two  months.  Since  then  he  has  applied  all  his  time 
and  energies  to  his  large  private  practice  at  Buffalo. 
He  is  a democrat,  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic 
Order. 

At  Alva,  Oklahoma,  February  5,  1909,  Judge  Griffitts 
married  Miss  Grace  Pennington.  She  was  born  February 
11,  1880,  in  Wabaunsee  County,  Kansas,  a daughter  of 

J.  W.  and  Catherine  Pennington,  who  were  natives  of 

Illinois.  Mrs.  Griffitts  prior  to  her  marriage  was  for 
four  years  a teacher  in  the  public  schools  of  Dewey 
County,  Oklahoma.  To  their  union  have  been  born  three 
daughters  and  one  son:  Guendolen  Grace,  Josephine  L., 

Cassius  Lamar  and  Muriel  Elaine. 

Howard  Weber.  Probably  everyone  in  Oklahoma  and 
anyone  who  has  any  general  information  on  the  oil  in- 
dustry of  the  United  States  is  familiar  with  the  Weber 
pool  in  Washington  County  in  the  Bartlesville  district. 
The  discoverer  of  this  pool  and  the  man  who  supplied 
the  enterprise  and  capital  for  its  development  has  been 
an  honored  resident  of  Bartlesville  for  the  past  ten 
years. 

Dr.  Howard  Weber  is  a physician,  is  enrolled  in  the 
medical  fraternity  of  Oklahoma,  but  has  never  practiced 
since  locating  within  this  state.  Since  coming  here 
he  has  been  one  of  the  really  big  men  in  Oklahoma  affairs. 
A fortune  has  been  amassed  through  his  operations  in 
mining  and  as  an  oil  producer,  and  there  are  few 
Oklahomans  who  control  a greater  volume  of  resources 
both  in  this  state  and  elsewhere.  Doctor  Weber  is  also 
a prominent  man  in  the  democratic  party  of  Oklahoma, 
and  is  now  serving  as  a member  of  the  State  Central 
Committee. 

Considering  his  great  achievements  as  an  oil  man  it 
seems  fitting  that  he  should  have  been  born  in  the  state 
of  Pennsylvania.  Doctor  Weber  was  born  in  Dempseytown 
in  the  Keystone  state,  October  20,  1862,  a son  of  George 

K.  and  Elizabeth  (Homan)  Weber.  Both  parents  were 
born  in  Center  County,  Pennsylvania,  and  spent  all  their 
lives  in  their  native  state.  When  quite  young  they  moved 
to  Venango  County  in  the  western  part  of  Pennsylvania, 
and  George  K.  Weber  died  there  in  February,  1905,  at 
the  age  of  seventy-four.  He  was  a tailor  by  trade,  but 
later  went  into  general  merchandising.  A stanch  demo- 
crat, he  was  much  interested  in  politics,  and  being  a man 
of  simple  habits  and  plain  living  acquired  a substantial 
competency.  The  widowed  mother,  who  died  February 
23,  1916,  at  the  age  of  eighty,  represented  people  who 
were  among  the  pioneers  of  Western  Pennsylvania.  She 
was  the  ninth  in  a large  family  of  children,  and  nearly 
all  of  them  are  still  living,  the  youngest  more  than  seventy 
years  old.  Doctor  Weber  was  one  of  ten  children,  six 
of  whom  are  still  alive. 

He  went  into  the  world  with  the  equipment  of  a 


1814 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


liberal  education.  He  had  attended  Allegheny  College 
at  Meadville  and  in  1887  was  graduated  in  medicine 
from  Long  Island  Hospital  Medicine  College.  For  nearly 
ten  years  he  applied  himself  diligently  to  his  chosen  work 
with  home  at  East  Hickory,  Pennsylvania.  With  the 
resources  then  at  his  command  he  started  his  really  great 
work  in  developing  the  natural  wealth  of  the  West.  In 
1896  he  went  to  Colorado,  became  interested  in  mining, 
and  in  1897  took  part  in  the  great  rush  to  the  Alaska, 
gold  fields,  where  he  remained  about  a year,  being  as- 
sociated with  H.  H.  Breene  of  Bartlesville  in  that  field. 
In  July,  1898,  he  returned  to  the  states,  and  resinned 
the  practice  of  medicine  at  Dempseytown  and  at  Oil  City, 
Pennsylvania. 

His  interests  in  the  oil  industry  led  him  to  move  to 
Kansas  in  1903,  and  he  also  became  an  investor  in  the 
Oklahoma  fields.  From  Independence,  Kansas,  he  moved 
to  Bartlesville  in  1905,  and  has  since  given  all  his  time 
to  his  extensive  interests  as  an  oil  and  gas  operator  and 
to  his  large  mining  holdings. 

As  already  stated  Doctor  Weber  discovered  the  famous 
Weber  pool  east  of  Dewey,  developed  it,  and  made  a 
large  share  of  his  fortune  from  that  locality.  He  also 
discovered  the  shallow  sand  pool  northeast  of  Dewey, 
and  developed  that  and  several  other  properties  in  Wash- 
ington County.  With  George  B.  Harmon,  under  the  name 
of  the  Harmon  Oil  Company,  he  developed  the  Huff- 
steter  & Burr  leases  half  a mile  south  of  Kiefer,  finally 
selling  his  interests  in  that  property  for  $87,000.  He 
then  bought  700  acres  east  of  Delaware,  was  engaged 
in  development  work  for  a year  and  sold  out  to  the 
Prairie  Oil  and  Gas  Company  for  half  a million  dollars. 
Doctor  Weber  still  has  some  extensive  holdings  and  leases 
in  this  vicinity. 

For  a year  or  more  there  was  a lull  in  his  operations 
as  an  oil  operator  and  in  that  interim  he  invested  heavily 
in  copper  mines  north  of  Bisbee,  Arizona.  In  August, 
1914,  he  purchased  from  former  Gov.  Charles  N. 
Haskell  a half  interest  in  the  noted  Barney  Thlocco 
lease,  and  developed  it  to  its  output  of  about  eleven 
thousand  barrels  per  day,  and  it  is  still  producing  over 
two  thousand  barrels  a day  from  thirty  wells.  He  also 
owns  360  acres  in  the  territory  covered  by  the  Weber 
pool,  and  operates  under  lease  about  as  much  more. 

As  a democrat,  Doctor  Weber  has  taken  much  interest 
in  politics  in  every  community  where  he  has  lived.  For 
the  past  four  years  he  has  been  a member  of  the  state 
central  committee,  and  served  as  a delegate  at  large 
to  the  Baltimore  convention,  which  named  Woodrow 
Wilson  for  President.  On  April  11th,  1916,  he  was 
elected  a delegate  at  large  to  the  Democratic  National 
Convention,  which  convenes  at  St.  Louis,  June  14th,  1916, 
to  renominate  Woodrow  Wilson  for  the  next  President  by 
a unanimous  vote.  He  was  a member  of  the  finance 
committee  which  supplied  the  funds  for  the  Cruee  cam- 
paign in  Oklahoma,  and  since  taking  his  place  on  the 
state  committee  the  organization  has  never  made  any 
demand  upon  Washington  County  which  has  not  been  met. 
While  living  in  Pennsylvania  he  was  chairman  of  the 
Forest  County  Democratic  Committee.  He  has  also  been 
appointed  a member  of  the  Southern  Development  Con- 
gress. 

Doctor  Weber  is  a member  of  the  Benevolent  and 
Protective  Order  of  Elks,  and  in  1915  took  his  first 
degrees  in  Masonry,  and  has  now  gone  by  rapid  suc- 
cession as  far  as  he  can  get  in  the  various  degrees  and 
orders  of  that  ancient  fraternity. 

With  all  his  material  success  Doctor  Weber  finds  his 
greatest  pride  in  his  family  and  home.  In  1885  he  mar- 
ried Miss  Etta-  J.  Carter,  a native  of  Pennsylvania. 
They  have  five  children:  Dr.  H.  C.,  who  lives  in  Bartles- 


ville; Mark  U. ; Morris  Kritzer,  who  graduated  from  the 
Culver  Military  Academy  in  Indiana  in  June,  1916; 
Savilla,  wife  of  W.  C.  Kaymond;  and  Sherwell  G.,  who 
is  now  a student  in  the  Culver  Military  Academy.  All 
of  the  children  have  their  home  in  Bartlesville  and  are 
young  people  of  great  promise,  and  the  older  ones  are 
already  filling  useful  places  in  the  world. 

William  W.  Wilson.  In  Choctaw  County,  a place  of  N 
distinctive  prominence  and  influence  is  held  by  William  1 
Ward  Wilson,  who,  as  a merchant,  banker  and  stock- 
man, has  played  an  important  and  worthy  part  in  eon-  | 
neetion  with  the  civic  and  industrial  development  of  I 
this  section  of  the  state  and  especially  of  his  home  town  I 
of  Fort  Towson.  I 

Wherever  the  United  States  Government  established  a 
frontier  military  post  in  the  early  part  of  the  eighteenth 
century  there  abounds  history  and  a certain  atmos-  I 
phere  of  romance  at  the  present  day.  Fort  Towson,  | 

where  once  were  stationed  two  members  of  the  United  II 

States  Army  who  were  destined  to  achieve  great  dis-  I 

tinetion,  Gen.  Ulysses  S.  Grant  and  Gen.  George  B.  Me-  [ 

Clellan,  possesses  more  of  historic  charm  and  interest  II 

than  many  other  military  posts  that,  like  it,  have  lived  II 

and  thrived  and  finally  been  abandoned.  The  martial  I 

phase  of  its  history  can  never  fail  of  interest  and  this  II 

interest  is  enhanced  by  its  later  record  as  a place  of  im-  [I 

portance  in  the  Choctaw  Indian  Nation.  The  story  of  II 

Fort  Towson  is  for  another  chapter  of  history,  but  be- 
cause its  crumbled  ruins  still  mark  the  place  where  it  | 

was  built  nearly  one  hundred  years  ago,  almost  within  I 

a stone’s  throw  of  the  modern  and  vigorous  town  which 
perpetuates  its  name,  a reversion  to  its  ancient  history  I 
puts  a breath  of  charm  into  the  community  that  ‘ ‘ Billy 
Wilson”  founded.  On  the  site  of  the  present  Village  I 

of  Fort  Towson  Mr.  Wilson  once  herded  and  fed  his  I 

cattle,  and  long  before  that  he  killed  deer  and  turkey  on  I 

the  site  where  substantial  brick  business  buildings  now  I 

stand.  The  Town  of  Fort  Towson,  not  far  distant  from 
the  site  of  the  old  fort,  is  situated  on  a tract  of  land  that 
Wilson  and  his  brother  possessed  or  controlled  before  I 
the  allotment  period.  This  tract  was  once  a part  of 
their  cattle  range,  and  they  were  among  the  pioneers 
of  the  cattle  industry  in  this  section  of  the  former  Choc-  I 
taw  Nation.  When  it  was  made  known  that  Billy  Wilson 
is  not  yet  sixty  years  old  and  that  he  grew  to  manhood  I 
long  after  the  post  at  Fort  Towson  had  been  abandoned, 
and  when  it  is  made  known  that  within  a fe.w  hundred 
yards  from  the  post  he  has  seen  deer  in  herds  of  forty  I 
and  fifty  and  wild  turkey  by  the  hundreds,  some  idea  is 
conveyed  of  the  frontier  wildness  of  the  landscape  at  the 
time  when  the  government  here  established  a military 
post,  nearly  a century  ago. 

The  Town  of  Fort  Towson  is  new  and  vital.  It  was 
established  in  1903,  at  the  time  when  a line  of  railroad 
was  in  process  of  construction  through  this  section.  Prior 
to  its  founding  Doaksville  had  been  the  general  trading 
post  of  this  region,  the  latter  place  having  been  one  of 
the  earliest  settlements  of  the  Choctaw  Nation.  The  first 
store  in  the  new  town  was  erected  and  stocked  by  the 
Doaksville  Trading  Company,  which  had  developed  a sub- 
stantial business  at  Doaksville,  from  which  older  town 
soon  came  other  merchants  to  cast  in  their  lot  with  the 
ambitious  and  newer  community,  the  result  being  that 
within  a comparatively  short  time  Doaksville  became  little 
more  than  a memory.  The  Wilson  brothers  eventually 
purchased  the  stock  and  business  of  the  Doaksville  Trad- 
ing Company  and  about  the  same  time  they  organized 
one  of  the  first  banking  institutions  in  the  new  town. 
Several  changes  and  reorganization  have  taken  place 
since,  and  on  December  31,  1915,  the  First  National  Bank, 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1815 


of  which  W.  W.  Wilson,  E.  H.  Wilson  and  E.  D.  Wilbor 
had  controlling  interests,  and  the  First  State  Bank,  con- 
trolled by  Ed  Leonard  and  Sam  McKinney  and  T.  E. 
Hopson  consolidated  and  retained  the  name  of  the  First 
State  Bank.  This  is  a strong  institution,  with  Ed  Leon- 
ard, president;  W.  W.  Wilson,  vice  president,  and  Sam 
McKinney,  cashier.  One  of  the  largest  and  best  equipped 
mercantile  establishments  of  the  former  Choctaw  Nation 
is  the  finely  equipped  general-merchandise  store  of  Wil- 
liam W.  Wilson  and  it  occupies  a substantial  brick  build- 
ing of  modern  design  and  facilities,  so  that  both  the 
establishment  and  the  business  are  a distinct  contribu- 
tion to  the  civic  and  business  prestige  of  Fort  Towson. 

That  Mr.  Wilson  should  continue  to  maintain  his  home 
in  this  community  and  here  rise  through  his  own  efforts 
to  a position  of  commanding  influence  and  large  success, 
is  the  more  interesting  in  view  of  the  fact  that  he  was 
born  at  a point  but  a few  miles  distant  from  the  fine 
little  town  that  is  now  the  stage  of  his  important  business 
activities.  In  a pioneer  log  house  near  the  old  educa- 
tional institution  known  as  Wheelock  Academy,  and  one- 
half  mile  distant  from  the  stone  Presbyterian  Church 
that  was  erected  in  1846,  by  Eev.  Alfred  Wright,  Mr. 
Wilson  was  born  in  the  year  1857,  and  the  old  log  house 
which  was  his  birthplace  is  still  standing,  in  a fair  state 
of  preservation  and  as  one  of  the  landmarks  of  this  part 
of  the  state.  In  the  neighborhood  he  acquired  his  first 
definite  educational  instruction  in  the  primitive  school- 
house  in  which  Miss  Jane  Austin  was  the  teacher,  she 
later  becoming  the  wife  of  the  principal  chief  of  the 
Choctaw  Nation,  Chief  Jackson  MeCurtain.  Mr.  Wilson 
continued  to  attend  the  neighborhood  schools  until  he 
had  attained  to  the  age  of  fourteen  years,  and  his  parents 
then  sent  him  to  Spencer  Academy,  which  was  then  estab- 
lished about  ten  miles  northeast  of  Fort  Towson  and 
which  was  the  first  higher  educational  institution  estab- 
lished by  the  Christian  missionaries  who  here  labored 
faithfully  among  the  Choctaw  Indians.  The  interesting 
and  important  history  of  this  old  institution  has  never 
been  properly  written  and  is  worthy  of  the  careful 
study  of  those  who  would  attempt  to  prepare  adequate 
record  concerning  the  history  of  Oklahoma  and  its  early 
advances  along  educational  lines,  long  before  Indian  Ter- 
ritory had  lost  its  original  identity.  The  Civil  war 
caused  a cessation  in  the  work  of  Spencer  Academy,  but 
in  1871  it  was  reopened  for  the  reception  of  students, 
under  the  superintendence  of  Eev.  J.  H.  Colton,  and  Mr. 
Wilson  entered  the  school  at  the  time  that  it  thus  re- 
sumed operations.  Prior  to  the  war  it  had  been  a scho- 
lastic meeea  for  many  years.  Some  of  the  old  buildings 
at  Spencer  are  still  standing  and  are  situated  on  land 
owned  by  the  heirs  of  the  late  Eobert  Frazier,  an  Indian 
citizen  of  sterling  character  and  excellent  repute.  After 
spending  four  years  at  the  academy  Mr.  Wilson  sought  to 
obtain  from  the  Choctaw  Nation  an  appointment  as  a 
student  in  some  eastern  school,  but  his  application  was 
rejected,  owing  to  the  fact  that  the  nation’s  quota  of 
students  to  be  given  such  advantages  had  already  been 
filled.  In  his  earnest  ambition  for  a higher  education  he  ■ 
sought  the  assistance  of  his  uncle,  George  James,  who 
was  one  of  the  leading  citizen  of  the  Chickasaw  Nation, 
but  through  this  medium  he  likewise  failed  to  realize  his 
desires,  under  which  conditions  he  entered  the  employ  of 
his  uncle,  George  James,  in  the  cattle  business,  and  here 
he  earned  his  first  money,  his  employer  having  paid  him 
$15  a month.  The  James  ranch  was  near  Bloomfield 
Academy,  in  the  Chickasaw  Nation  and  the  range  of  the 
James  cattle  to  the  north  covered  a vast  era  of  country 
in  which  houses  were  on  the  average  twenty  miles  apart. 

Within  a short  time  Mr.  Wilson  engaged  in  the  live- 
stock business  on  his  own  account,  and  for  nearly  forty 


years  this  line  of  enterprise  engrossed  the  major  part  of 
his  time  and  attention,  his  herds  having  grazed  over  large 
areds  of  the  southern  section  of  the  Choctaw  Nation.  The 
open  range  was  the  common  property  of  the  cattle  men 
and  hence  few  fences  were  needed.  Mr.  Wilson  was  one 
of  the  pioneers  in  the  cattle  industry  in  this  region  and 
to  him  is  due' in  large  measure  the  credit  for  the  develop- 
ment of  this  important  line  of  enterprise  into  one  of  the 
profitable  and  permanent  features  of  industrial  activity 
in  this  section  of  Oklahoma.  Over  this  country  rode  the 
buyers  who  came  from  other  states  and  territories  and 
from  other  Indian  nations,  and  good  prices  were  usually 
paid  for  the  cattle.  Market  cattle  that  were  not  sold  to 
such  buyers  locally  were  shipped  principally  to  the  City 
of  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  and  Mr.  Wilson  made  such  ship- 
ments in  an  independent  way.  He  still  continued  to  be 
associated  with  the  cattle  industry  on  a modest  scale,  the 
former  broad  scope  of  operations  having  met  with  gradual 
curtailment  with  the  elimination  of  the  open  range,  the 
allotment  and  sale  of  Indian  lands  and  the  general 
settling  up  of  the  country  by  farmers,  several  of  whom 
may  be  found  to  the  square  mile  on  the  tillable  land,  and 
roads  having  been  established  along  section  lines. 

Shortly  after  he  attained  to  the  age  of  twenty-one 
years  Mr.  Wilson  was  elected  to  a seat  in  the  Choctaw 
Nation,  from  Towson  County.  Later  he  became  a mem- 
ber of  the  senate,  and  his  service  in  legislature  was  under 
the  administration  of  Chief  C.  C.  Cole  and  Chief  B.  F. 
Smallwood  as  principal  chiefs.  In  this  connection  it  is 
interesting  to  note  that  the  officials  of  the  Choctaw  Nation 
never  have  been  compelled  to  live  at  the  capital.  Until 
the  tribal  government  was  abolished  they  assembled  at 
the  .capital  each  successive  year,  and  ordinarily  the  mem- 
bers of  the  legislature  and  other  officials  completed  the 
transaction  of  their  business  in  about  thirty  days,  after 
which  they  returned  to  their  homes.  Mr.  Wilson  served 
two  terms  as  national  auditor  of  the  Choctaw  Nation  and 
one  term  as  national  treasurer.  He  was  frequently,  im- 
portuned to  become  a candidate  for  the  office  of  princi- 
pal chief,  but  as  often  declined  the  honor,  by  reason  of 
the  exactions  of  his  private  business  affairs  and  his  lack 
of  desire  for  political  office. 

Under  appointment  by  Principal  Chief  Gilbert  Dukes, 
Mr.  Wilson  became  a member  of  the  Choctaw  commis- 
sion that  assisted  the  Dawes  Commission  in  making  the 
supplemental  treaty  by  which  the  vested  rights  and  prop- 
erty interests  of  the  Choctaws  were  effectively  conserved 
and  protected.  The  other  members  of  the  Choctaw  com- 
mission were  Chief  Dukes,  C.  B.  Wade,  Simon  Lewis  and 
Thomas  Ainsworth.  The  first  office  to  which  Mr.  Wilson 
was  called  in  the  service  of  the  public  was  that  of  circuit 
clerk  of  the  Apokshonubbi  District,  under  appointment 
by  Circuit  Judge  Jefferson  Gardner.  He  and  his  wife 
hold  membership  in  the  Christian  Church. 

In  1879  Mr.  Wilson  married  Miss  Eose  Garland,  a kins- 
woman of  Crockett  Garland,  who  was  once  principal  chief 
of  the  Choctaw  Nation.  She  died  in  1882  and  is  sur- 
vived by  no  children.  The  second  wife  of  Mr.  Wilson 
bore  the  maiden  name  of  Nannie  Carney  and  she  was  of 
Choctaw  blood,  a relative  of  Albert  Carney,  who  was  a 
prominent  citizen  of  Savannah,  Indian  Territory.  The 
one  child  of  this  union  is  a son,  Oscar.  In  1906  was  sol- 
emnized the  marriage  of  Mr.  Wilson  to  Miss  Ollie  Baird, 
of  Paris,  Texas,  and  they  have  two  children,  William 
Ward,  Jr.,  and  Ollie  Jane. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wilson  have  an  attractive  home  in  the 
Village  of  Fort  Towson  and  they  delight  to  extend  its 
hospitality  to  their  many  friends. 

James  W.  Webb,  M.  D.  Most  punctilious  preliminary 
discipline,  natural  predilection,  deep  humanitarian 


1816 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


spirit  and  successful  practical  experience  have  given  to 
Doctor  Webb  distinct  precedence  as  one  of  the  repre- 
sentative physicians  and  surgeons  of  Southern  Oklahoma, 
and  he  controls  a large  and  important  general  practice 
which  attests  his  professional  skill  and  his  secure  place 
in  popular  confidence  and  esteem.  He  maintains  his 
residence  and  office  in  the  Village  of  Berwyn  and  his 
practice  extends  throughout  the  wide  area  of  country 
tributary  to  this  thriving  town  of  Carter  County. 

Dr.  James  William  Webb  was  born  at  Winchester, 
Franklin  County,  Tennessee,  on  the  26th  of  February, 
1882,  and  is  a son  of  James  L.  and  Sallie  (Lawson) 
Webb,  both  likewise  natives  of  Winchester,  where  the 
former  was  born  in  1861  and  the  latter  in  1867.  James 
L.  Webb  was  reared  and  educated  in  his  native  state 
and  there  he  continued  his  residence  until  1891,  when 
he  removed  with  his  family  to  Texas  and  purchased  a 
tract  of  land  in  Eastland  County,  where  he  has  since 
continued  successful  operations  as  a farmer  and  stock- 
grower,  his  home  being  in  the  Village  of  Cisco.  He  is 
a democrat  in  politics,  a broad-minded  and  public- 
spirited  citizen,  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  fraternity, 
and  is  a member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church 
South,  as  was  also  his  wife,  who  was  summoned  to  the 
life  eternal  in  1903,  and  who  is  survived  by  eight  chil- 
dren: Charles  is  a confectioner  and  is  engaged  in  busi- 

ness in  the  City  of  Wichita,  Kansas;  Doctor  Webb  of 
this  review  was  the  next  in  order  of  birth;  John  is  a 
prosperous  farmer  near  Quanah,  Texas;  Henry,  who 
maintains  his  residence  at  Bartlesville,  Oklahoma,  is  a 
traveling  commercial  salesman;  Mollie  remains  at  the 
paternal  home;  Madison  is  engaged  in  farming  and  stock- 
growing near  Quanah,  Texas ; and  Car  and  Diona  remain 
with  their  father  and  are  attending  the  Cisco  High 
School. 

Doctor  Webb  was  about  nine  years  old  at  the  time  of 
the  family  removal  to  Texas,  and  he  continued  his 
studies  in  the  public  schools  at  Cisco,  that  state,  until 
his  graduation  in  the  high  school  in  1899.  In  consonance 
with  his  ambitious  purpose  and  well  formulated  plans 
he  thereafter  attended  the  medical  department  of  the 
University  of  Nashville,  Tennessee,  where  he  continued 
his  studies-  during  two  terms.  He  then  entered  the 
Memphis  Hospital  Medical  College,  in  the  City  of 
Memphis,  that  state,  and  in  this  excellent  institution 
he  was  graduated  as  a member  of  the  class  of  1903  and 
with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine. 

Soon  after  his  graduation  Doctor  Webb  engaged  in 
the  practice  of  his  profession  at  Cisco,  Texas,  where  he 
continued  his  successful  work  until  1908,  when  he  came 
to  the  new  State  of  Oklahoma  and  established  his  home 
at  Berwyn,  where  he  has  since  continued  his  labors  as 
a physician  and  surgeon  and  where  his  extensive  practice 
is  one  of  representative  order.  . He  established  also  a 
drug  store  in  the  village,  and  of  this  he  continued  the 
proprietor  from  1909  until  July,  1915,  when  he  sold  the 
stock  and  business  to  his  father-in-law,  Dr.  John  O. 
Gilliam,  concerning  whom  individual  mention  is  made 
on  other  pages  of  this  publication.  The  doctor  is  actively 
identified  with  the  Carter  County  Medical  Society  and 
the  Oklahoma  State  Medical  Society. 

Though  inflexible  in  his  allegiance  to  the  democratic 
party,  Doctor  Webb  has  had  no  time  or  inclination  for 
the  activities  of  practical  polities,  but  his  civic  loyalty 
prompted  him  to  give  most  efficient  service  when  he  was 
chosen  clerk  for  Carter  County  of  Rod  District  No.  11. 
His  ancient-craft  Masonic  affiliation  is  with  Berwyn 
Lodge  No.  59,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and 
in  Indian  Consistory  No.  2,  Ancient  Accepted  Scottish 
Rite,  at  MeAlester,  he  has  received  the  thirty-second 
degree.  In  Oklahoma  City  he.  is  affiliated  with  India 


Temple,  Ancient  Arabic  Order  of  the  Nobles  of  the  j 
Mystic  Shrine,  and  he  holds  membership  in  Berwyn  Ijj 

Camp,  Woodmen  of  the  World.  The  doctor  is  a scion  of  I 

a family  that  is  of  English  lineage,  the  original  Ameri- 
can progenitors  having  settled  in  North  Carolina  in  the  1 
Colonial  era  of  our  National  history. 

At  Berwyn,  in  1908,  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of 
Doctor  Webb  to  Miss  Lulu  Maud  Gilliam,  daughter  of  I 

Dr.  John  O.  Gilliam,  of  whom  specific  mention  is  made  I 
elsewhere  in  this  volume  and  who  conducts  the  well  I 
equipped  drug  store  at  Berwyn.  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Webb 
have  three  children,  whose  names  and  respective  years 
of  birth  are  as  follows:  Theresa  Amelia,  1910;  James 

William,  Jr.,  1912;  and  John,  1915. 

John  O.  Gilliam,  M.  D.  Well  may  Doctor  Gilliam  be 
termed  a pioneer  of  pioneers  in  what  is  i\ow  the  State 
of  Oklahoma,  and  it  has  been  given  him  to  wield  much 
influence  in  connection  with  civic  and  industrial  progress 
in  Carter  County,  where  he  established  his  residence  at 
Berwyn  nearly  forty  years  ago  and  where  he  became  one 
of  the  first  physicians  and  most  influential  citizens  of 
the  frontier  community.  He  still  maintains  his  home 
at  Berwyn  and  here  conducts  a well  appointed  drug 
store,  the  while  he  finds  it  impossible  to  retire  definitely 
from  the  practice  of  his  profession,  owing  to  the  insist- 
ent demand  made  for  his  ministrations  on  the  part  of 
families  to  whom  he  has  long  been  a guide,  counselor 
and  friend.  It  is  specially  gratifying  to  be  able  to 
present  in  this  publication  a review  of  the  career  of 
Doctor  Gilliam,  whose  life  has  been  one  of  signal  use- 
fulness and  deep  humanitarian  spirit. 

Dr.  John  Overstreet  Gilliam  was  born  in  Chariton 
County,  Missouri,  on  the  17th  of  August,  1849,  and  is  a 
son  of  James  A.  and  Martha  Ann  (Martin)  Gilliam, 
both  natives  of  the  historic  Old  Dominion  State  and 
both  persons  of  superior  intellectual  attainments. 
James  A.  Gilliam  was  born  on  the  old  family  homestead 
on  the  banks  of  the  Appomattox  River,  in  Eastern 
Virginia,  and  the  year  of  his  nativity  was  1820,  his 
death  having  occurred  in  Saline  County,  Missouri,  in 
1905.  He  was  reared  and  educated  in  Virginia,  where 
his  marriage  was  solemnized  and  where  he  continued  to 
be  identified  with  agricultural  pursuits  until  his  removal 
to  Missouri.  In  the  latter  state  he  became  a pioneer  of 
Chariton  County,  and  there  he  long  held  precedence  as 
a progressive  and  successful  farmer,  planter  and  stock- 
grower.  He  held  an  appreciable  number  of  slaves  and 
not  only  raised  tobacco  but  also  became  a dealer  in  this 
product,  on  an  extensive  scale.  When  well  advanced  in 
years  he  removed  to  Saline  County,  where  he  continued 
to  reside  until  his  death.  He  was  an  inflexible  advocate 
of  the  principles  of  the  democratic  party,  was  a Royal 
Arch  Mason  and  both  he  and  his  wife,  who  died  in 
Chariton  County,  Missouri,  were  earnest  members  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  South.  His  father,  William 
Gilliam,  was  a wealthy  planter  and  slaveholder  on  the 
Appomattox  River  in  Virginia,  where  he  was  specially 
prominent  as  a grower  of  tobacco,  and  where  he  con- 
tinued to  reside  until  his  death,  which  was  the  result  of 
virtual  starvation,  owing  to  his  being  afflicted  with  the 
severest  type  of  dyspepsia.  He  was  a descendant  of 
one  of  two  brothers  who  came  from  England  and  settled 
in  Virginia  in  the  Colonial  period  of  our  national  his- 
tory. Anthony  Woodson,  an  uncle -of  Doctor  Gilliam  of 
this  review,  was  a soldier  in  the  War  of  1812,  and  the 
heavy  cannonading  incidental  to  the  battle  of  Norfolk 
destroyed  the  drums  of  both  of  his  ears,  so  that  there- 
after he  was  totally  deaf. 

As  a youth  Doctor  Gilliam,  who  was  signally  favored 
in  being  reared  in  a home  of  distinctive  culture,  was 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1817 


afforded  the  advantages  of  an  academy  at  Keytesville, 
the  judicial  center  of  his  native  county,  and  this  dis- 
cipline was  supplemented  by  his  attendance  in  William 
Jewell  College,  in  Kay  County,  Missouri,  and  Central 
University,  a Missouri  institution  conducted  under  the 
auspices  of  the  Methodist  Church.  In  the  latter  college 
his  training  was  advanced  to  the  point  that  made  him 
eligible  for  the  reception  of  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of 
Arts,  and  in  the  institution  he  also  availed  himself  of 
the  advantages  of  the  medical  department.  Leaving  col- 
lege in  1872,  Doctor  Gilliam  thereafter  gave  his  atten- 
tion to  farm  work  and  the  reading  of  medicine  until  he 
had  gained  a thorough  training  in  medicine  and  surgery 
and  was  well  equipped  for  the  practical  work  of  the 
profession  which  has  been  dignified  and  honored  by 
his  services. 

On  the  5th  of  August,  1876,  Doctor  Gilliam  came  to 
Indian  Territory  and  established  his  residence  at  Berwyn, 
where  he  engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  and  also 
assumed  the  direction  of  the  Indian  school,  in  which 
he  was  a successful  and  popular  teacher.  At  that  time 
there  were  nine  schools  maintained  for  the  Indians  in ' 
the  Chickasaw  Nation,  and  the  office  of  teacher  in  the 
same  was  a position  much  sought,  there  being  avid  com- 
petition, owing  to  the  fact  that  the  teacher  was  paid  a 
salary  of  $45  a month,  which  was  looked  upon  as  a large 
emolument  under  the  conditions  obtaining  at  the  time. 
Doctor  Gilliam  proved  his  ability  and  was  chosen  from 
a number  of  competitors,  his  service  as  teacher  of  the 
Indian  school  having  thereafter  continued  for  a period 
of  three  years.  Thereafter  he  gave  his  attention  to  the 
active  practice  of  medicine  for  a term  of  twelve  years, 
and  in  the  meanwhile  he  became  the  owner  of  1,100 
acres  of  land  in  what  is  now  Carter  County.  In  1880 
he  instituted  the  improvement  of  this  property  and 
established  his  home  on  the  pioneer  ranch,  of  which  he 
still  retains  400  acres,  given  over  to  diversified  agricul- 
ture and  the  raising  of  excellent  grades  of  livestock. 

In  July,  1915,  Doctor  Gilliam  purchased  of  his  son- 
in-law,  Dr.  James  W.  Webb,  the  drug  store  at  Berwyn, 
and  he  now  conducts  the  store,  which  was  established 
many  years  ago  and  is  the  only  one  in  the  village.  When 
Doctor  Gilliam  retired  from  the  active  practice  of  his 
profession,  nearly  a quarter  of  a century  ago,  he  sold 
his  stock  of  drugs  and  medicines  to  the  proprietor  of 
the  drug  store  of  which  he  himself  is  now  the  owner,  it 
being  interesting  to  note  that  certain  of  his  original 
medicines  are  still  to  be  found  on  the  shelves  of  the 
establishment.  Concerning  the  former  owner,  Doctor 
Webb,  individual  mention  is  made  on  other  pages  of 
this  work. 

In  politics  Doctor  Gilliam  has  always  been  found 
strongly  aligned  as  a supporter  of  the  cause  Of  the 
democratic  party,  with  well  fortified  convictions  concern- 
ing matters  of  economic  and  governmental  policy.  He 
served  one  year  as  mayor  of  Berwyn  and  in  the  terri- 
torial days  he  served  also  as  a member  of  the  school 
board,  an  office  of  which  he  was  the  incumbent  one  year. 
His  religious  views  are  in  harmony  with  the  tenets  of 
the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  South,  which  he  attends 
and  liberally  supports.  He  is  affiliated  with  Berwyn 
Lodge  No.  59,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and 
served  eight  years  as  master  of  the  same.  In  this  time- 
honored  fraternity  the  doctor  has  received  also  the 
thirty-second  degree  of  the  Ancient  Accepted  Scottish 
Bite,  and  is  affiliated  with  Indian  Consistory  No.  2,  at 
McAlester.  He  holds  membership  also  in  the  Berwyn 
Lodge  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 

Doctor  Gilliam  has  been  thrice  married.  In  1872,  in 
Chariton  County,  Missouri,  he  wedded  Miss  Lizzie 
Harper,  and  she  died  at  Berwyn,  Indian  Territory,  in 


1879.  Three  children  were  born  of  this  union:  Bobert, 

who  died  at  the  age  of  thirty-two  years,  he  having  been 
a prosperous  farmer;  Mary  Pauline,  who  died  at  Berwyn 
June  16,  1915, — -her  thirty-eighth  birthday  anniversary; 
and  Alva  Edward,  who  was  killed  by  lightning  when  he 
was  twenty  years  of  age. 

In  1880  Doctor  Gilliam  married  Susan  Brushingham, 
an  orphan  of  part  Chickasaw  Indian  blood,  she  having 
been  well  educated  in  the  schools  of  Kansas,  and  her 
death  having  occurred  in  1891.  Concerning  the  children 
of  this  marriage  the  following  brief  data  are  entered: 
Lizzie  is  the  wife  of  Frank  Tindall,  of  Durwood,  Carter 
County,  in  which  vicinity  he  is  engaged  in  farming, 
having  formerly  been  a merchant.  Olivet  H.  is  the 
wife  of  Boy  Cotner,  of  Pryor  Creek,  this  state,  and  her 
husband  is  a traveling  salesman.  Sallie  died  at  the  age 
of  eighteen  years.  John,  James  and  Howard  are  triplets, 
John  being  a prosperous  ranchman  in  Southwestern 
Texas,  James  being  identified  with  the  cattle  business 
near  Marietta,  Oklahoma,  and  Howard  being  his  father’s 
assistant  in  the  drug  store  at  Berwyn. 

On  the  9th  of  August,  1892,  Doctor  Gilliam  married 
Mrs.  Nannie  (Sigmon)  Largen,  a daughter  of  the  late 
Israel  Sigmon,  who  was  a farmer  in  the  State  of 
Arkansas,  the  first  husband  of  Mrs.  Gilliam  having  been 
Frank  Largen,  who  was  a farmer  of  Carter  County,  Okla- 
homa, at  the  time  of'  his  death.  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Gilliam 
have  four  children, — Mary,  Amon,  Leslie  and  Donald. 
Mary,  who  has  been  a popular  and  successful  school 
teacher,  married,  in  July,  1915,  Carson  Hatifield,  and 
they  maintain  their  residence  at  Berwyn. 

Eev.  John  Keagan  Abernathy.  There  are  two  fields 
in  which  Bev.  Mr.  Abernathy,  who  is  a young  man  of 
about  thirty-six,  Ijas  attained  more  than  ordinary  distinc- 
tion. He  is  one  of  the  hard-working,  earnest  and  effect- 
ive leaders  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  South, 
and  in  that  capacity  has  traveled  over  nearly  all  parts  of 
Oklahoma  and  has  a wide  acquaintance.  He  has  turned 
his  ability  and  talent  to  great  usefulness  in  the  cause  of 
his  Master.  He  is  now  pastor  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church,  South,  at  Okmulgee.  Bev.  Mr.  Abernathy  is  also 
one  of  the  best  known  figures  in  Oklahoma  Masonry,  and 
was  recently  honored  with  the  thirty-third  degree  of  the 
Scottish  Bite,  that  honor  having  been  conferred  upon 
him  at  the  minimum  age  of  thirty-five. 

A native  Texan,  he  was  born  at  Hamilton  in  that  state 
October  29,  1879,  a son  of  J.  E.  and  Cassandra 
(McCleary)  Abernathy.  His  parents  were  born  in  Giles 
County,  Tennessee,  and  were  partly  reared  there,  but 
both  were  educated  in  Ebenezer  College  at  Springfield, 
Missouri,  where  they  graduated  with  the  class  of  1858. 
In  the  following  year  they  were  married  in  Giles  County, 
Tennessee,  and  they  afterwards  moved  to  Texas,  where 
J.  E.  Abernathy  was  a farmer  and  mechanic.  His  death 
occurred  in  1885  at  the  age  of  sixty,  and  the  mother 
passed  away  in  1912  at  seventy-two.  During  the  war 
J.  E.  Abernathy  became  a Confederate  soldier  under 
General  Price  and  was  a commissioned  officer.  For  many 
years  in  Texas  he  was  a power  in  church  work.  He 
possessed  a fine  tenor  voice,  was  song  leader  in  many  of 
the  meetings  which  he  attended,  and  his  presence  was 
always  felt  as  a stimulating  course  whether  in  the  small 
meetings  held  within  doors  or  the  larger  assemblages  at 
camp  grounds.  His  wife  was  also  a devout  Christian. 
In  their  family  were  five  daughters  and  two  sons,  and 
the  two  sons  and  two  of  the  daughters  are  still  living. 

As  a boy  Bev.  Mr.  Abernathy  grew  up  largely  at  the 
home  of  his  uncle  M.  T.  Abernathy.  He  attended  public 
schools  both  in  Texas  and  in  Missouri  and  graduated  at 
Scarrett  College  in  Neosho,  Missouri,  in  1900  with  the 


1818 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


degree  Ph.  B.  In  the  same  year  he  joined  the  Southwest 
Missouri  Conference  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church, 
South,  and  has  now  been  active  in  church  work  for  fifteen 
years.  Eor  the  first  year  he  was  at  Lamar  Station,  and 
then  for  two  years  was  pastor  of  the  Washington  Street 
Church  in  Kansas  City.  The  next  two  years,  1903- ’04, 
he  spent  as  a student  in  Vanderbilt  University  at  Nash- 
ville, after  which  he  returned  to  Missouri  and  was  active 
in  pastoral  work  until  1908. 

On  coming  to  Oklahoma  Rev.  Mr.  Abernathy  became 
pastor  of  the  large  church  at  Guthrie,  and  remained  there 
until  1914,  when  he  accepted  the  call  to  the  church  at 
Okmulgee.  During  the  last  four  years  at  Guthrie  he  was 
also  a Masonic  lecturer  under  the  auspices  of  the  Scot- 
tish Rite  bodies,  spending  about  five  months  of  the  year 
at  that  work  in  addition  to  his  church  duties.  It  was  in 
October,  1915,  at  Washington,  D.  C.,  that  Mr.  Abernathy 
received  the  thirty-third  and  highest  degree  in  Scottish 
Rite  Masonry.  He  has  also  done  some  lecture  work  in  the 
State  Chautauquas. 

He  is  a man  of  many  interests  and  possesses  many 
splendid  talents  which  have  made  him  valued  and  es- 
teemed in  whatever  community  he  has  lived.  He  is  now 
an  active  member  of  the  chamber  of  commerce  at 
Okmulgee.  In  1907  he  married  Miss  Helen  Hinman  of 
Centralia,  Missouri.  Mrs.  Abernathy  takes  a prominent 
part  in  church  and  club  work,  especially  in  the  musical 
side,  possessing  a well  trained  voice  for  singing. 

Jean  P.  Day.  Pew  of  the  vital  and  progressive  cities 
of  Oklahoma  have  forged  so  rapidly,  and  substantially 
to  the  front  rank  as  has  McAlester,  the  metropolis  and 
judicial  center  of  Pittsburg  County  and  the  center  also 
of  one '-of  the  finest  coal-producing  districts  in  the  state. 
The  elements  of  stability  have  been  in  distinct  evidence 
in  this  splendid  advancement  and  the  city  is  vigorous 
and  prosperous — the  stage  of  large  and  important  com- 
mercial and  industrial  activities  and  the  home  of  an 
enterprising  and  progressive  element  of  citizenship.  He 
whose  name  initiates  this  paragraph  has  secure  prestige 
as  one  of  the  able  and  successful  representatives  of  the 
legal  profession  in  Pittsburg  County  and  is  in  control  of 
a substantial  and  important  law  business  in  the  City  of 
McAlester,  so  that  he  is  well  entitled  to  recognition  in 
this  publication,  as  one  of  the  representative  members 
of  the  bar  of  this  section  of  the  state. 

Mr.  Day  was  born  in  Webster  County,  Mississippi,  on 
the  31st  of  January,  1874,  and  is  a son  of  Jonathan  J. 
and  Amanda  R.  (Pollan)  Day,  both  of  whom  were  born 
and  reared  in  Mississippi,  where  the  respective  families 
were  founded  in  an  early  day.  In  1889  Jonathan  J. 
Day  came  with  his  family  to  what  is  now  the  State  of 
Oklahoma  and  became  a pioneer  settler  when  the  original 
section  of  the  old  Indian  Territory  was  thrown  open 
for  such  settlement,  though  Oklahoma  Territory  was  not 
formally  created  until  the  following  year.  He  entered 
claim  to  a homestead  in  what  is  now  Oklahoma  County, 
where  he  instituted  the  reclamation  of  a farm  and  where 
he  and  his  wife  continued  to  reside  until  1903,  when 
they  removed  to  Pittsburg  County  and  established  their 
home  in  the  thriving  little  City  of  Hartshorne,  where 
Mrs.  Day  was  summoned  to  the  life  eternal  in  1914,  at 
the  age  of  sixty-six  years.  The  death  of  Mr.  Day 
occurred  November  13,  1915,  he  having  celebrated  his 
seventieth  birthday  anniversary  in  that  year.  He  had 
the  energy  and  good  judgment  to  profit  fully  by  the 
advantages  afforded  to  him  in  Oklahoma  and  became 
one  of  the  sterling  and  honored  pioneers  of  the  state 
to  whose  civic  and  industrial  development  and  upbuilding 
he  contributed  his  quota,  practically  his  entire  active 
career  having  been  marked  by  close  and  effective  identi- 
fication with  the  great  basic  industry  of  agriculture. 


He  was  aligned  as  an  unswerving  advocate  of  the  prin- 
ciples of  the  democratic  party  and  during  the  climacteric 
period  of  the  Civil  war  he  represented  his  native  state 
as  one  of  its  gallant  soldiers  who  went  forth  in  defense 
of  the  cause  of  the  Confederacy.  Jonathan  J.  and 
Amanda  R.  (Pollan)  Day  became  the  parents  of  only 
two  children,  and  the  elder  is  Jean  P.,  whose  name  intro- 
duces this  article;  Allie  is  now  the  wife  of  Robert  M. 
Boardman  and  they  maintain  their  home  at  Decatur, 
Illinois. 

Jean  P.  Day  acquired  his  early  education  in  his  native 
state  and  was  a lad  of  fifteen  years  at  the  time  of  the 
family  removal  to  the  wilds  of  the  newly  organized 
Territory  of  Oklahoma,  into  which  he  recalls  that  he 
rode  in  dignified  state  by  the  side  of  his  father  and 
mounted  on  the  back  of  a gray  mule  which  claimed  the 
“dejected  havior  of  the  visage”  that  is  common  to 
the  animals  of  this  type.  Mr.  Day  found  ample  demand 
upon  his  time  and  services  in  connection  with  the  recla- 
mation and  other  work  of  the  pioneer  farm  in  Okla- 
homa County,  but  was  not  denied  opportunities  for  the 
proper  supplementing  of  his  education.  He  attended  the 
old  Central  Normal  School  of  Oklahoma  Territory,  at 
Edmond,  where  he  fortified  himself  admirably  for  suc- 
cessful work  in  the  pedagogic  profession.  For  several 
years  he  was  an  efficient  and  popular  teacher  in  the 
public  schools  of  Oklahoma,  and  his  services  in  this 
line  included  his  effective  work  as  principal  of  the 
Emerson  School  in  Oklahoma  City. 

In  preparation  for  the  vocation  of  his  choice,  Mr.  Day 
began  the  study  of  law  under  the  able  preceptorship  of 
Hon.  Henry  H.  Howard,  of  Oklahoma  City,  and  in  1899 
he  was  admitted  to  the  territorial  bar.  He  initiated  the 
practice  of  his  profession  at  Poteau,  Indian  Territory,  a 
place  that  is  now  the  judicial  center  of  LeFlore  County, 
Oklahoma,  and  there  he  remained  ten  years,  within  which 
decade  he  developed  a good  practice  and  gained  a place 
as  one  of  the  leading  members  of  the  bar  of  that  section. 
In  1909  Mr.  Day  was  appointed  to  aid  in  the  revision  of 
the  code  of  laws  of  the  recently  organized  State  of 
Oklahoma,  and  the  result  of  that  revision  is  the  well 
known  Harris-Day  Code  of  Oklahoma  Law,  issued  in 
1910.  During  the  time  that  he  was  engaged  in  this 
important  work  Mr.  Day  maintained  his  residence  at 
Guthrie,  the  former  territorial  capital,  and  in  1910  he 
removed  to  the  rapidly  growing  City  of  McAlester,  where 
he  has  since  continued  in  the  successful  general  practice 
of  his  profession  and  where  he  has  appeared  in  much 
important  litigation  and  as  attorney  and  counselor  for 
many  representative  corporations  and  individually  influ- 
ential citizens. 

The  democratic  party  has  found  Mr.  Day  as  one  of 
its  resourceful  and  unfailing  supporters  in  Oklahoma 
and  though  he  has  been  influential  in  the  party  councils 
and  campaign  activities  under  both  the  territorial  and 
state  regimes  he  has  not  been  ambitious  for  public  office, 
but  recently  he  was  elevated  to  the  supreme  court  bench 
and  his  friends,  both  democrats  and  republicans,  joined 
in  a banquet  celebrating  this  honor.  Mr.  Day  was  a 
delegate  to  the  Democratic  National  Convention  in  1908. 
He  has  received  the  thirty-second  degree  of  the  Ancient 
Accepted  Scottish  Rite  of  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  is 
affiliated  also  with  the  Benevolent  & Protective  Order  of 
Elks.  He  is  a prominent  member  of  the  Pittsburg 
County  Bar  Association  and  holds  membership  also  in  the 
Oklahoma  State  Bar  Association. 

The  year  1900  recorded  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Day  to 
Miss  Aubie  Oates,  of  Paris,  Texas,  and  they  have  one 
child,  Doris,  who  was  born  in  1901. 

Lindsey  L.  Long.,  M.  D.  That  historic  section  of 
Western  Oklahoma  that  was  designated  as  No  Man’s 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1819 


Land  and  organized  into  Cimarron  Territory  in  a local 
way  prior  to  the  opening  of  Oklahoma  Territory  to 
settlement,  has  become  one  of  the  vital  and  prosperous 
sections  of  the  state,  and  one  of  the  important  counties 
is  Beaver,  in  which  Doctor  Long  controls  a large  and 
important  practice  as  a physician  and  surgeon  and  has 
gained  precedence  as  one  of  the  representative  members 
of  his  profession  in  Western  Oklahoma.  He  maintains 
his  residence  and  professional  headquarters  at  Beaver, 
the  county  seat,  and  is  one  of  the  progressive  and  loyal 
citizens  of  the  town  and  county. 

Dr.  Lindsey  Lowder  Long  was  born  on  a farm  in 
Neosho  County,  Kansas,  on  the  22d  of  September,  1875, 
a date  that  clearly  demonstrates  that  his  parents  were 
numbered  among  the  pioneers  of  that  section  of  the 
Sunflower  State.  He  is  a son  of  David  and  Jeanette 
(Lowder)  Long,  the  former  a native  of  North  Carolina 
and  the  latter  of  Indiana,  in  which  latter  state  their 
marriage  was  solemnized  in  1850. 

David  Long  was  born  in  North  Carolina  on  the  15th 
of  October,  1824,  and  his  parents  claimed  the  Old 
Dominion  State  of  Virginia  as  the  place  of  their  nativity, 
the  respective  families  having  there  been  founded  in  the 
colonial  era  of  our  national  history.  In  1828,  when 
he  was  a child  of  about  four  years,  the  parents  of 
David  Long  removed  from  North  Carolina  and  became 
pioneer  settlers  in  the  wilds  of  Greene  County,  Indiana, 
where  they  passed  the  remainder  of  their  lives  and 
where  the  father  reclaimed  a farm  from  the  wilderness. 
B In  Greene  County  David  was  reared  under  the  conditions 
l and  influences  of  the  early  pioneer  days,  in  the  mean- 
I while  availing  himself  of  the  advantages  of  the  schools 
of  the  locality  and  period,  and  in  1850,  when  about 
twenty-five  years  of  age,  he  there  wedded  Miss  Jeanette 
Lowder,  who  was  born  in  Lawrence  County,  that  state, 
* on  the  2d  of  July,  1832,  a daughter  of  John  R.  and 
Acsah  (Hodson)  Lowder,  pioneers  of  that  county,  to 
I which  they  removed  from  their  native  State  of  North 
B Carolina.  After  his  marriage  Mr.  Long  continued  his 
activities  as  a farmer  in  Greene  County,  Indiana,  until 
1871,  when  he  removed  with  his  family  to  Kansas  and 
[ became  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  in  Neosho  County. 

He  purchased  a tract  of  land  two  miles  south  of  old 
B Osage  Mission,  and  there  reclaimed  a productive  farm. 

He  became  one  of  the  substantial  and  representative 
I citizens  of  Neosho  County  and  there  continued  to  reside 
on  his  fine  homestead  farm  until  his  death,  which  oc- 
curred on  the  7th  of  March,  1896.  His  widow  survived 
him  by  nearly  fifteen  years  and  was  a resident  of  Erie, 
f.  the  judicial  center  of  Neosho  County,  when  she,  too,  was 
called  to  the  life  eternal  on  the  25th  of  November,  1910. 
w Concerning  their  children  the  following  brief  data  are 
entered:  Rev.  Matthew  T.,  who  was  born  October  16, 

1851,  is  a clergyman  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church 
and  maintains  his  home  in  Oklahoma.  In  1875  he  wedded 
Miss  Etta  Noble,  and  they  have  four  children — Stella, 
Frederick,  Ethel  and  Ruth — the  eldest  daughter,  Stella, 
ij»,  being  now  the  wife  of  Rufus  O.  Renfrew,  a prominent 
capitalist  and  influential  citizen  of  Woodward,  Oklahoma, 
one  individually  mentioned  on  other  pages  of  this  work, 
j Linda  A.,  who  was  born  November  9,  1853,  is  the  wife 
of  John  J.  Fields,  editor  and  publisher  of  the  Sentinel 
Leader  at  Sentinel,  Washita  County,  Oklahoma.  Their 
L)  marriage  was  celebrated  in  1875,  and  they  have  four 
children — Robert,  Cornelius,  David  and  May.  Cornelius, 
the  next  in  order  of  birth  of  the  children  of  David  and 
Jeanette  (Lowder)  Long,  was  born  March  6,  1855,  and 
died  on  the  13th  of  the  same  month.  Finley,  who  was 
born  March  30,  1857,  died  December  20,  1908.  Henry, 
who  was  born  January  22,  1861,  is  a leading  lawyer  in 
the  City  of  Ottawa,  Kansas.  John  R.,  born  February 
23,  1864,  is  a prosperous  farmer  of  Neosho  County, 


Kansas.  Rolla  E.,  who  was  born  April  27,  1869,  is 
superintendent  of  the  city  schools  of  Galena,  Kansas. 
May  M.,  who  was  born  March  28,  1871,  is  a successful 
and  popular  teacher  in  the  public  schools  of  the  City 
of  Sherman,  Texas,  and  Doctor  Long  of  this  review  is 
the  youngest  of  the  nine  children. 

Passing  the  days  of  his  childhood  and  early  youth 
on  the  homestead  farm  in  Neosho  County,  Kansas, 
Doctor  Long  acquired  his  preliminary  education  in  the 
district  schools  and  thereafter  attended  the  public  schools 
of  Erie,  the  county  seat,  where  he  was  graduated  in  the 
high  school  as  a member  of  the  class  of  1S95.  In  the 
meanwhile  he  had  formulated  definite  plans  for  his 
future  career,  and  in  the  year  that  marked  his  com- 
pletion of  his  high  school  course  he  entered  the  University 
Medical  College  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  in  which  insti- 
tution he  was  graduated  March  19,  1898,  with  the  degree 
of  Doctor  of  Medicine. 

Immediately  after  his  graduation  in  the  medical  col- 
lege Doctor  Long  came  to  Oklahoma  Territory,  and,  on 
the  20th  of  April  of  the.  same  year,  he  opened  an  office 
at  Alva,  judicial  center  of  Woods  County,  where  he 
continued  in  the  successful  practice  of  his  profession 
during  the  ensuing  eight  years.  He  then  took  an  effective 
post-graduate  course  in  one  of  the  leading  medical  insti- 
tutions of  the  City  of  Chicago,  and  in  May,  1906,  he 
established  his  home  at  Beaver,  Oklahoma,  where  he 
has  since  been  engaged  in  active  general  practice  and 
where  he  has  secure  prestige  as  the  leading  representative 
of  his  profession  in  Beaver  County.  He  has  served  as 
mayor  of  Beaver,  besides  holding  other  local  offices  of 
minor  order,  and  has  shown  a lively  interest  in  all  that 
touches  the  welfare  and  progress  of  his  home  town  and 
county.  While  a resident  of  Alva  he  served  as  a member 
of  the  city  council  and  also  of  the  board  of  education, 
besides  which  he  did  effective  service  as  county  health 
officer  of  Woods  County.  He  holds  membership  in  the 
Oklahoma  State  Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medi- 
cal Association,  has  completed  the  circles  of  both  York 
and  Scottish  Rite  Masonry,  in  the  latter  of  which  he  has 
received  the  thirty-second  degree,  besides  being  affiliated 
with  the  Ancient  Arabic  Order  of  the  Nobles  of  the 
Mystic  Shrine  and  the  Knights  of  Pythias. 

On  the  10th  of  September,  1899,  was  solemnized  the 
marriage  of  Doctor  Long  to  Miss  Maude  Beegle  of  Alva. 
She  was  born  in  Kingman  County,  Kansas,  on  the  13th 
of  March,  1875,  and  is  a daughter  of  Adam  and  Eliza- 
beth Jane  (Crottzer)  Beegle,  both  natives  of  Pennsyl- 
vania and  both  honored  pioneers  of  Kansas.  Mr.  Beegle 
was  born  in  1836  and  his  death  occurred  June  10,  1908. 
The  mother  of  Mrs.  Long  was  born  in  1832  and  was 
summoned  to  eternal  rest  on  the  25th  of  December,  1911. 
Prior  to  her  marriage  Mrs.  Long  had  been  a successful 
and  popular  teacher,  her  work  in  the  pedagogic  profes- 
sion having  continued  for  three  years  after  she  had 
completed  a course  of  study  in  the  Colorado  State  Normal 
School  at  Greeley.  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Long  have  one 
child,  Lenore  Madge,  who  was  born  at  Alva,  this  state, 
on  the  12th  of  November,  1902. 

William  Elbert  Green.  Superintendent  of  the  city 
schools  of  Noble,  Mr.  Green  is  an  Oklahoma  school  man 
of  considerable  experience  and  holds  a life  teacher’s  cer- 
tificate in  this  state.  At  Noble  he  has  under  his  super- 
vision a corps  of  six  teachers,  250  enrolled  scholars,  and 
a modern  $10,000  school  house  thoroughly  equipped.  He 
took  charge  of  these  schools  in  the  fall  of  1915. 

He  was  born  at  Senatobia,  Mississippi,  July  6,  1893. 
His  ancestors  were  Scotch-Irish  who  came  to  North  Caro- 
lina in  the  early  days,  and  there  has  since  been  a small 
admixture  of  Indian  stock.  Thomas  Walter  Green,  his 
father,  was  born  in  Senatobia,  Mississippi,  in  1866,  and 


1820 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA  ' 


has  spent  his  active  career  as  a farmer  and  stock  man. 
He  came  to  Oklahoma  and  located  in  the  vicinity  of 
Clanmore  a number  of  years  ago,  but  after  a time  re- 
turned to  Mississippi,  and  located  permanently  in  Chand- 
ler in  1907,  and  still  resides  there.  He  owns  240  acres, 
and  does  diversified  farming  and  raises  blooded  stock. 
He  has  held  various  township  offices,  being  prominent  in 
local  affairs  in  his  locality.  He  is  a democrat  and  has 
been  a member  of  the  official  board  of  the  Christian 
Church,  and  affiliates  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America,  the  Woodmen  of  the  World  and  the  Knights  of 
Pythias.  Thomas  W.  Green  married  Sallie  Eva  Han- 
cock, who  was  born  in  Independence,  Mississippi,  in  1871. 
Their  children  are:  William  E.;  Mary  Elizabeth,  wife  of 
Walter  E.  Ward,  a farmer,  stockman  and  grain  dealer 
at  Westboro,  Missouri;  Mattie  Pearl,  who  graduated 
from  the  Chandler  High  School  and  was  a student  in 
the  state  normal  at  Edmond  and  is  now  a teacher  in 
Chandler;  Marvin  Presley,  a graduate  of  the  Chandler 
High  School  and  a teacher  in  Okfuskee  County;  Lottie 
Lucile,  a junior  in  the  Chandler  High  School;  and  Dollie 
Eula,  a sophomore  in  the  high  school. 

William  Elbert  Green  attended  the  public  schools  of 
Independence,  Mississippi,  the  state  normal  college  at 
Sherman,  Mississippi,  and  the  University  of  Tennessee.  He 
graduated  from  the  high  school  at  Claremore,  Oklahoma, 
in  1912,  and  in  1913  completed  the  course  of  the  Edmond 
State  Normal  School  and  was  granted  a life  teacher’s 
certificate.  During  1914  he  attended  the  State  University 
at  Norman  and  has  taken  courses  during  the  summer 
time  at  the  university  for  three  years  past.  The  school 
year  of  1914-15  he  served  as  principal  in  one  of  the  public 
schools  at  Ardmore,  and  he  previously  served  as  assistant 
superintendent  of  schools  of  Okfuskee  County. 

Mr.  Green  is  a democrat,  is  a member  of  the  Christian 
Church,  and  is  affiliated  with  Chandler  Lodge  No.  19, 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Eellows,  and  with  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America.  He  is  unmarried. 

Mrs.  Berta  (Keys)  Spooner.  In  business  circles  of 
Hollis  there  is  no  name  more  highly  esteemed  than  that 
of  Mrs.  Berta  (Keys)  Spooner,  owner  of  the  Spooner 
Hardware  Company,  and  a woman  of  marked  commer- 
cial ability.  She  was  born  at  Decatur,  Alabama,  a 
daughter  of  C.  M.  and  Mary  (McDaniel)  Keys,  and  a 
member  of  a Seoteh-Irish  family  who  were  pioneers  of 
Texas.  C.  M.  Keys  was  born  in  Alabama  in  1850,  and 
in  1879  removed  with  his  family  to  Cleburne,  Johnson 
County,  Texas,  where  for  a number  of  years  he  was 
engaged  in  farming  and  raising  stock.  He  now  resides 
at  Hollis,  practically  retired,  being  the  owner  of  a farm 
of  160  acres  four  miles  north  of  Hollis,  which  is  being 
operated  by  tenants.  Mr.  Keys  is  a member  of  the 
Baptist  Church,  in  which  he  serves  as  deacon. 

Mr.  Keys  married  Miss  Mary  McDaniel,  also  a native 
of  Alabama,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  twelve 
children,  namely:  Cricket,  who  is  the  wife  of  B.  A. 

Copass,  of  Dallas,  Texas,  assistant  secretary  of  the 
Baptist  State  Missionary  Society;  Berta;  Ernest  L.,  a 
hardware  merchant  of  Wynnewood,  Oklahoma;  F.  M., 
who  is  manager  of  the  Spooner  Hardware  Company,  at 
Hollis;  Wood,  who  is  connected  with  the  hardware  busi- 
ness at  Hollis;  May,  who  married  Rev.  W.  A.  Knight, 
pastor  of  the  First  Baptist  Church  at  Frederick,  Okla- 
homa; J.  E.,  who  is  associated  with  his  brother,  Ernest 
L.,  in  business;  Yater,  who  married  J.  D.  Pennington, 
bookkeeper  for  the  Spooner  Hardware  Company ; J ohn, 
who  is  the  wife  of  V.  A.  Grissom,  the  owner  of  the  City 
Drug  Store  at  Hollis;  Rob,  the  wife  of  Elmer  Sheppard, 
engaged  in  the  real  estate  and  insurance  business  at 
Ballinger,  Texas;  Sam,  who  holds  a clerical  position  at 


Hollis;  and  Mott,  a sophomore  at  the  William  Jewell 
College,  Liberty,  Missouri. 

Mrs.  Spooner  accompanied  her  parents  to  Cleburne, 
Texas,  in  1879,  and  there  attended  the  public  schools, 
following  which  she  went  to  a select  school  for  young 
ladies  and  received  a high  school  education.  She  next 
studied  the  millinery  art  at  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  and 
Dallas,  Texas,  and  was  a filler  in  the  millinery  trade 
before  her  marriage.  Mrs.  Spooner,  since  the  death  of 
her  husband,  has  been  the  owner  of  the  Spooner  Hard- 
ware Company,  the  policy  and  activities  of  which  she 
directs,  but  also  finds  time  to  devote  to  social,  religious 
and  charitable  work.  She  is  an  active  member  of  the' 
Baptist  Church,  and  at  the  present  time  is  state  treas- 
urer of  Oklahoma  for  the  P.  E.  O.  Sisterhood. 

In  September,  1900,  at  Waxahatchie,  Texas,  Berta 
Keys  was  united  in  marriage  with  Horace  Nelson 
Spooner,  Jr.,  who  was  born  at  Peoria,  Texas,  January  9, 
1872,  a member  of  a family  which  originated  in  England 
and  whose  members  were  pioneer  settlers  of  Mississippi. 
Horace  Nelson  Spooner,  Sr.,  the  father  of  Mr.  Spooner, 
was  born  in  1843,  and  during  the  greater  part  of  his  life 
was  engaged  in  clerical  work.  He  lived  for  some  years 
at  Peoria,  Texas,  and  in  1873  removed  to  Hillsboro, 
Texas,  where  his  death  occurred  in  1905.  He  was  a 
member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  took  an 
active  part  in  religious  work,  and  was  a member  of  the 
official  board  of  his  congregation  for  many  years  His 
fraternal  affiliation  was  with  the  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows.  Mr.  Spooner  married  Miss  Julia  A.  Foote, 
a native  of  Virginia,  and  she  survives  him  and  resides 
at  Ardmore,  Oklahoma. 

Horace  Nelson  Spooner,  Jr.,  was  sent  to  Bethel  Col- 
lege, Russellville,  Kentucky,  from  which  institution  he 
wa3  graduated  in  1894,  and  in  that  same  year  entered  a 
hardware  store  at  Hillsboro,  Texas,  in  order  to  become 
familiar  with  the  business.  There  he  remained  several 
years,  mastering  every  detail  of  the  trade,  and  in  1897 
went  to  Whitney,  Texas,  where  he  was  entrusted  with 
the  position  of  buyer  for  the  W.  T.  Herrick  Hardware 
Company,  a capacity  in  which  he  gained  experience  that 
was  of  the  greatest  value  to  him  in  later  years.  After 
eight  years  with  that  concern,  he  felt  qualified  to  embark 
upon  a venture  of  his  own,  and  in  January,  1905,  came 
to  Hollis,  Oklahoma,  and  established  the  Spooner  Hard- 
ware Company,  on  Broadway,  which  under  his  manage- 
ment soon  became  one  of  the  largest  hardware  concerns 
in  the  State  of  Oklahoma.  The  establishment  has  a floor 
space  of  50  by  100  feet,  with  a basement  of  the  same 
dimensions,  trade  is  drawn  from  all  over  Harmon  and 
Greer  counties,  Oklahoma,  and  Collingsworth  County, 
Texas,  and  the  firm  carries  a most  complete  line  of  shelf 
and  heavy  hardware,  stoves,  implements,  etc.,  all  of  the 
latest  design  and  maufacture.  Mr.  Spooner  at  the  time 
of  his  death,  which  occurred  May  19,  1910,  was  justly 
accounted  one  of  the  foremost  among  the  younger  gen- 
eration of  business  men  in  this  part  of  Oklahoma.  He 
had  made  his  own  way,  unaided,  and  had  gained  success 
solely  through  his  own  initiative  and  resource.  At  the 
time  of  his  death  he  was  president  of  the  Hollis  Com- 
mercial Club,  and  enjoyed  the  friendship  and  confidence 
of  the  leading  and  influential  men  of  the  city.  His 
fraternal  connections  included  membership  in  Hollis 
Lodge  No.  219,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and 
the  various  degrees  up  to  the  thirty-second,  he  being  a 
member  of  Consistory  No.  1,  Valley  of  Guthrie.  He 
was  also  a Pythian  and  an  Odd  Fellow,  and  in  social 
circles  had  many  friends  who  sincerely  mourned  his 
death.  He  was  a democrat,  but  not  a politician.  Always 
a faithful  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church, 
he  was  acting  as  steward  and  superintendent  of  the 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1821 


Sunday  school  when  called  away.  Though  his  presence 
is  gone,  he  leaves  behind  him  as  a monument  to  his 
integrity  and  ability  a firmly-established  business,  and 
an  influence  for  good  citizenship  and  high  ideals  that 
will  remain  for  years  after  his  name  has  been  forgotten. 

William  G.  Capps.  Though  not  yet  thirty-five  years 
of  age,  for  more  than  ten  years  William  G.  Capps  has 
been  a resident  of  Oklahoma,  and  all  that  time  an  effect- 
ive working  force  in  the  successive  lines  to  which  he  has 
applied  himself,  whether  in  business,  in  politics  and  pub- 
lic affairs,  or  as  a banker.  He  is  the  leading  financier 
of  Mountain  Park,  where  he  is  now  president  of  the 
Planters  State  Bank,  and  his  name  as  a banker  and  his 
financial  judgment  are  respected  not  alone  in  his  home 
state  but  among  bankers  of  national  reputation. 

The  Capps  family  to  which  he  belongs  originated  in 
Prance,  but  William  G.  Capps  was  born  in  Yell  County, 
Arkansas,  December  25,  1881.  His  father  is  Dr.  B.  P. 
Capps,  still  a prominent  physician  at  Bluffton,  Arkansas. 
Doctor  Capps  was  born  in  Tennessee  in  1850,  moved  from 
that  state  to  New  Orleans  and  there  acquired  his  educa- 
tion for  medicine,  began  practice  at  Port  Smith,  Arkan- 
sas, in  1879  moved  to  Yell  County,  in  1887  to  Morrillton 
in  the  same  state,  and  finally  located  at  Bluffton.  He  is 
an  active  member  of  the  County  and  State  Medical  soci- 
eties and  the  American  Medical  Association,  is  a demo- 
crat in  polities,  belongs  to  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church,  is  a Royal  Arch  Mason  and  also  a Knight  of 
Pythias.  Doctor  CappS  married  Miss  H.  L.  Ward,  who 
was  born  in  Port  Smith,  Arkansas,  in  1861.  Her  father 
was  Major  John  C.  Ward,  who  enlisted  from  Arkansas 
at  the  beginning  of  the , war  between  the  states  and 
became  major  of  the  First  Arkansas  Mounted  Infantry. 
He  re-enlisted  with  his  regiment  in  Colonel  John  P.  Hill’s 
regiment  of  cavalry,  and  on  August  10,  1861,  was 
wounded  on  the  south  side  of  Bloody  Hill  at  Wilson 
Creek  and  died  as  a result  of  his  wound.  He  was  a 
native  of  Virginia  and  a contractor  by  profession.  Dr. 
Capps  and  wife  were  the  parents  of  five  children: 
William  G. ; Edwin,  who  died  at  Bluffton,  Arkansas,  at 
the  age  of  twenty-one;  Erick,  who  is  bookkeeper  in  the 
Planters  State  Bank  at  Mountain  Park,  Oklahoma;  B.  F., 
who  died  at  the  age  of  two  years;  and  Clarence,  who  is 
attending  the  Bluffton  High  School  and  lives  with  his 
parents. 

William  G.  Capps  had  a substantial  education  but  has 
been  in  practical  business  ever  since  he  was  nineteen 
years  of  age.  He  attended  the  public  schools  of  Morrill- 
ton, Arkansas,  finished  the  high  school  course  there,  and 
in  1898  took  a course  in  a business  college  at  Birming- 
ham, Alabama.  His  first  regular  position  was  as  a sten- 
ographer for  the  Doster  & Northington  Drug  Company 
at  Birmingham,  with  which  firm  he  remained  one  year. 
Then  after  six  months  at  Demopolis,  Alabama,  he  re- 
turned to  Bluffton,  Arkansas,  and  spent  one  year  in  the 
mercantile  business  on  his  own  account.  Selling  out,  he 
was  for  six  months  acting  secretary  of  the  Port  Smith 
Commercial  Club,  and  in  1904,  at  the  age  of  twenty-three, 
identified  himself  actively  with  the  Indian  Territory  por- 
tion of  the  present  State  of  Oklahoma. 

For  one  year  he  was  bookkeeper  with  the  Hayes  Mer- 
cantile Company  at  Redland,  and  in  1905  removed  to 
Muskogee  and  became  advertising  agent  and  afterwards 
business  manager  for  Governor  Haskell’s  New  State 
Tribune.  He  held  those  positions  during  Haskell’s  suc- 
cessful campaign  for  governor  of  the  new  state.  Gov- 
ernor Haskell  then  appointed  him  the  chief  food  and 
drug  inspector  of  Oklahoma,  and  he  looked  after  the 
responsibilities  of  that  newly  created  state  office  for  two 
years.  In  the  meantime  he  had  acquired  some  financial 


interests  in  banking  in  Indian  Territory  and  in  1909 
went  into  the  western  part  of  the  state  and  organized  the 
Oklahoma  State  Bank  at  Frederick,  serving  as  its  cashier 
two  years.  In  1911  Mr.  Capps  organized  the  Planters 
State  Bank  at  Mountain  Park,  and  has  been  its  active 
president  since  that  date.  This  is  one  of  the  substantial 
institutions  for  general  banking  in  one  of  the  small  but 
flourishing  towns  of  Southwestern  Oklahoma,  and  has  a 
capital  stock  of  $10,000  and  a surplus  of  $2,000.  The 
vice  president  is  A.  N.  Trader,  the  assistant  cashier  is 
Edwin  Herstein.  The  bank  owns  and  occupies  the  build- 
ing of  the  old  Citizens  State  Bank  on  Main  Street. 

For  several  years  Mr.  Capps  has  furnished  considerable 
correspondence  to  the  newspapers  of  Kiowa  County  on 
various  subjects  related  to  banking.  His  articles  have 
attracted  more  than  local  attention,  having  been  quoted 
by  some  of  the  leading  newspapers  in  the  United  States, 
and  the  wide  currency  of  some  of  his  ideas  on  country 
banking  is  well  illustrated  by  the  following  quotation  of 
a brief  article  which  was  published  by  the  Wall  Street 
financial  journal  in  1914,- and  subsequently  quoted  exten- 
sively in  the  financial  columns  of  papers  all  over  the 
United  States.  The  article,  furthermore,  well  expresses 
Mr.  Capps’  belief  respecting  banking  activities  and  such 
prominent  questions  as  rural  credits.  He  said : “A. 
country  banker  promotes  the  development  of  his  com- 
munity in  proportion  that  he  employs  his  money  through 
loaning  it  to  farmers  for  constructive  work  and  improved 
methods — not  for  food  or  for  stock  feed.  Present  rural 
banking  methods  have  resulted  in  entirely  too  much 
money  being  employed  in  a way  that  is  not  constructive 
and  brings  no  development  whatever,  and  thereby  reduces 
the  bank’s  ability  to  loan  money  for  constructive  farm- 
ing. In  proportion  that  a country  banker  fails  to  pro- 
vide money  for  farm  development  and  constructive  farm- 
ing, in  that  proportion  he  injures  his  best  farmers,  his 
community,  and  first  of  all  injures  himself.” 

Mr.  Capps  has  organized  several  banks  in  Oklahoma 
and  also  two  wholesale  houses,  but  has  sold  most  of  his 
interests  in  these  establishments.  He  was  for  a time 
vice  president  and  a stockholder  in  the  Farmers  State 
Bank  at  Quanah,  Oklahoma.  He  has  served  as  a member 
of  the  advisory  committee  of  the  State  Bankers’  Asso- 
ciation of  Oklahoma  and  was  chairman  of  the  Bureau  of 
Agriculture  of  the  Oklahoma  Bankers  ’ Development  Com- 
mittee. His  thorough  training  in  country  banking  has 
made  him  familiar  with  all  branches  of  bank  work,  he 
has  already  gained  a broad  acquaintance  with  prominent 
men  in  the  banking  world,  and  those  who  know  him  best 
predict  that  he  is  far  from  having  reached  the  climax  in 
his  career. 

In  polities  Mr.  Capps  is  a democrat.  He  represented 
the  State  of  Oklahoma  at  Denver  at  the  Conference  of 
National  and  State  Food  and  Drug  Officials  in  1909.  He 
also  served  as  county  chairman  of  the  Democratic  Central 
County  Committee  in  Tillman  County  and  as  city  treas- 
urer of  Frederick  for  two  years.  He  is  now  president  of 
the  board  of  education  at  Mountain  Park  and  is  always 
keenly  alive  to  the  needs  of  his  home  community.  He 
assisted  in  organizing  the  Lodge  of  Elks  at  Frederick, 
held  the  position  of  esteemed  leading  knight  in  the  lodge 
there,  and  is  now  a member  of  Hobart  Lodge  No.  881, 
Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  He  is  also 
affiliated  with  Mountain  Park  Lodge  No.  381,  Ancient 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  with  Snyder  Chapter  No. 
76,  Royal  Arch  Masons. 

At  Mountain  Park  in  1912  Mr.  Capps  married  Miss 
Lillian  Trader,  daughter  of  A.  N.  Trader,  who  is  a 
farmer  and  is  also  vice  president  of  the  Planters  State 
Bank  at  Mountain  Pass.  They  have  one  daughter, 
Marjorie,  born  August  7,  1913. 


1822 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Denzil  A.  Drake.  A significantly  varied  and  interest- 
ing career  has  been  that  of  Mr.  Drake,  who  has  been  a 
resident  of  Oklahoma  since  the  year  that  marked  its 
organization  under  territorial  government,  and  who  is 
now  one  of  the  most  liberal  and  progressive  citizens  of 
the  Village  of  Hitchcock,  Blaine  County,  where  he  is  not 
only  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business  but  where  he 
is  also  the  senior  member  of  the  firm  of*  D.  A.  Drake  & 
Son,  publishers  and  editors  of  the  Hitchcock  Clarion,  a 
weekly  paper  that  has  been  brought  up  to  high  standard 
under  his  administration  and  control  and  in  the  direct- 
ing of  the  affairs  of  which  he  has  given  new  evidence  of 
his  versatility. 

Mr.  Drake  has  been  distinctively  one  of  the  world’s 
workers,  he  has  gained  varied  experience  in  divers  sec- 
tions of  the  Union,  he  has  been  steadfast  and  sincere 
in  all  of  the  relations  of  life,  has  shown  initiative  ability 
and  a mastery  of  expedients  in  varied  fields  of  endeavor, 
and  in  Oklahoma  he  has  found  ample  scope  for  the 
achieving  of  success  and  for  'exerting  admirable  influ- 
ence in  the  furtherance  of  general  civic  and  material 
advancement  and  prosperity. 

A due  amount  of  satisfaction  is  given  to  Mr.  Drake 
in  claiming  the  fine  old  Buckeye  State  as  the  place  of 
his  nativity  and  as  a commonwealth  in  which  the  family 
of  which  he  is  a scion  was  founded  in  the  early  pioneer 
era  of  its  history.  He  was  born  in  Summit  County, 
Ohio,  on  the  26th  of  April,  1859.  His  paternal  great- 
grandfather was  one  of  three  brothers  who  immigrated 
to  the  United  States  from  Wales,  and  his  grandfather 
became  a pioneer  of  Ohio,  besides  which  he  manifested 
his  loyalty  to  the  land  of  his  adoption  by  serving  as  a 
valiant  frontier  soldier  in  the  War  of  1812.  Both  he 
and  his  wife  were  residents  of  Summit  County,  Ohio, 
at  the  time  of  their  death,  and  he  had  taken  well  his 
part  in  the  development  of  that  section  of  the  Buckeye 
State. 

Denzil  A.  Drake  is  a son  of  Jasper  B.  and  Caroline 
(Hardy)  Drake,  both  natives  of  Summit  County,  Ohio, 
where  the  former  was  born  in  1814  and  the  latter  in 
1819, — dates  that  clearly  indicated  that  the  respective 
families  were  early  pioneers  of  that  section.  Jasper  B. 
Drake  and  his  wife  passed  the  closing  years  of  their 
long  and  worthy  lives  at  Ness  City,  judicial  center  of 
Ness  County,  Kansas,  where  he  died  in  1899,  and  where 
his  widow  was  summoned  to  eternal  rest  in  1904,  at  the 
venerable  age  of  eighty-five  years,  both  having  been  for 
many  years  zealous  members  of  the  Christian  Church, 
and  the  entire  active  career  of  Mr.  Drake  having  been 
one  of  close  identification  with  agricultural  industry. 
Just  prior  to  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war  Jasper  B. 
Drake  removed  with  his  family  to  Cedar  County,  Iowa, 
where  he  became  a pioneer  farmer  in  the  vicinity  of  the 
present  Town  of  Durant.  In  1866,  shortly  after  the 
close  of  the  war,  he  removed  to  Cass  County,  Missouri, 
and  later  he  became  a representative  farmer  of  Ness 
County,  Kansas,  where  he  passed  the  remainder  of  his 
long  and  useful  life,  the  closing  period  of  which  was 
spent  in  well  earned  retirement,  at  Ness  City. 

He  whose  name  introduces  this  article,  was  a child 
of  about  four  years  at  the  time  of  the  family  immigra- 
tion to  Iowa,  and  there  he  acquired  his  rudimentary 
education  in  the  pioneer  rural  schools  of  Cedar  County, 
his  studies  having  later  been  continued  in  the  little 
frame  school  house  near  his  father’s  farm  in  Cass 
County,  Missouri.  He  applied  himself  to  study  at 
home  during  his  youth  and  through  his  self -application 
and  broad  and  varied  experiences  in  later  years  he  has 
rounded  out  what  may  consistently  be  termed  a liberal 
education.  He  continued  to  be  associated  with  his 
father  in  farm  work  until  he  was  sixteen  years  of  age, 


when  he  initiated  his  independent  career.  This  initia- 
tion was  far  from  being  one  of  prosaic  order,  for  in 
1875,  soon  after  celebrating  his  sixteenth  birthday  anni- 
versary, he  made  his  way  to  California,  where  he  pro- 
ceeded up  the  Sacramento  Valley  and  devoted  his  atten-  j, 
tion  to  the  selling  of  books  and  periodicals,  a line  of  | 
enterprise  which  he  followed  during  the  first  years  of  j| 
his  residence  in  the  Golden  State.  During  the  second  !] 
year  he  ‘ ‘ held  down  ’ ’ a comparatively  profitable  posi- 
tion as  collector  for  the  waterworks  at  Colusa,  that  state. 

Remaining  in  California  about  two  years,  young  Drake 
then  returned  to  Cass  County,  Missouri,  in  1878,  and  in 
February  of  the  following  year  he  there  took  unto  him-  I 
self  a wife,  who  remained  his  devoted  helpmeet  until  II 
her  death,  about  thirteen  years  later.  After  his  marriage  |l 
Mr.  Drake  removed  to  Ness  County,  Kansas,  where  he  I 
took  up  homestead  and  timber  claims  and  instituted  the  I 
reclamation  and  development  of  a farm.  There  he  con-  I 
tinued  to  devote  his  attention  to  agricultural  pursuits  I 
and  stock  raising  for  a period  of  five  years,  within  I 
which  he  perfected  his  title  to  his  homestead.  At  the  $ 
expiration  of  the  interval  noted  he  exchanged  his  farm  I 

and  livestock  for  a stock  of  goods  and  engaged  in  the  | 

general  merchandise  business  at  Buffalo  Park,  Gove  | 
County,  Kansas,  where  he  continued  his  operations  in  I 
this  line  of  enterprise  from  1884  until  1887,  when  he 
again  exercised  the  true  Yankee  trading  proclivity  by  I 
“swapping”  his  stock  of  merchandise  and  the  good  I 
will  of  the  business  for  a bunch  of  cattle.  He  there-  I 
upon  returned  to  Ness  County  and  filed  entry  on  a pre-  1 
emption  claim,  where  he  placed  his  cattle  and  resumed  [ 
his  activities  as  a farmer  and  stock  raiser.  He  remained  I 

on  this  farm  one  year  and  proved  up  on  the  property,  ft 

From  his  farm  he  removed  to  the  Town  of  Utica,  Ness  I 
County,  and  there  established  a real  estate  office.  He  f 

developed  a substantial  business  in  the  handling  of  ( 

Kansas  land,  and  at  one  time  owned  fully  thirty  1 
quarter-sections,  but  depreciation  in  the  prices  of  land  I 
in  that  section  of  the  Sunflower  State  led  him  to  dispose  I 
of  his  holdings  by  his  favored  method  of  making  I 
exchange  of  properties,  and  in  1890,  the  year  that  1 

marked  the  organization  of  Oklahoma  Territory  he  f 

came  to  the  present  Oklahoma  County  and  was  a pioneer  | 
of  the  Town  of  Edmond.  He  remained  only  a few  I 
months,  however,  and  then  returned  to  Missouri,  where  I 
he  devoted  one  year  to  farming,  in  Jasper  County. 

Mention  has  already  been  made  of  the  fact  that  Mr.  j, 
Drake  is  possessed  of  marked  versatility,  and  after  ft 
leaving  the  Jasper  County  farm  he  engaged  in  work  at  I 
the  stone  mason’s  trade,  at  Carthage,  that  state,  this  I 
trade  having  been  learned  by  him  in  earlier  years.  He  I 
resumed  work  in  this  line  principally  for  the  benefit  of  I 
his  health  and  after  following  the  same  during  one  jt 
summer  he  removed  with  his  family  to  the  City  of  I 
Wichita,  Kansas,  where  he  engaged  in  the  furniture  1 
business  until  the  financial  panic  of  1897  compelled  him  . 
to  sacrifice  the  same.  From  that  time  forward  until  I 
1900  he  served  as  a commercial  traveling  salesman,  p 
handling  queensware. 

In  1900  Mr.  Drake  purchased  a general  store  situated  I 
five  miles  southeast  of  Hitchcock,  Blaine  County,  Okla-  | 
homa,  and  after  conducting  this  rural  store  one  year  he 
removed,  in  1901,  to  Hitchcock,  becoming  virtually  one  j 
of  the  founders  of  the  town,  in  which  he  erected  the  i 
first  building  and  in  the  same  opened  the  first  stock  of  I 
merchandise.  He  named  his  establishment  the  Pioneer 
Store,  and  conducted  the  same  from  August,  1901,  until 
the  following  February,  when  financial  circumstances 
compelled  him  to  abandon  the  enterprise.  In  the  same  i 
spring,  however,  he  opened  the  first  drug  store  in  the 
village,  and  after  conducting  the  same  four  years  he 


$ — 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1823 


sold  the  stock  and  business  and  turned  his  attention  to 
the  handling  of  real  estate,  in  which  he  has  since  con- 
tinued with  distinctive  success,  his  operations  having 
been  of  broad  scope  and  importance  and  having  been 
potent  in  furthering  the  settlement  and  development  of 
this  section  of  the  state. 

In  October,  1908,  Mr.  Drake  purchased  a half  interest 
in  the  Hitchcock  Clarion,  and  in  the  following  year  he 
acquired  the  full  ownership  of  this  newspaper  property 
and  business.  As  editor  and  publisher  of  the  Clarion 
he  has  made  the  paper  a most  effective  exponent  of  local 
interests  and  has  made  it  a valuable  factor  in  the 
directing  of  popular  sentiment  and  action  in  the  com- 
munity. In  the  editing  and  publishing  of  the  Clarion 
Mr.  Drake  has  an  able  coadjutor  in  the  person  of  his 
son,  Frank,  though  the  latter  gives  the  major  part  of 
his  time  and  attention  to  the  Stratford  Tribune,  at 
Stratford,  Garvin  County,  of  which  he  is  editor  and  pub- 
lisher, the  business  at  Hitchcock  being  conducted  under 
the  firm  name  of  D.  A.  Drake  & Son.  Mr.  Drake  was 
assisted  greatly  in  the  movement  that  resulted  in  the 
founding  of  the  Hitchcock  Clarion,  which  dates  its 
inception  from  March  27,  1908,  and,  as  previously  inti- 
mated, he  soon  came  into  control  of  the  property  and 
business,  the  paper  being  independent  in  politics  and 
having  an  excellent  circulation  in  Blaine  and  adjacent 
counties. 

Mr.  Drake  has  been  one  of  the  most  vital,  far-sighted 
and  progressive  of  the  enterprising  citizens  who  have 
wielded  great  influence  in  the  development  and  upbuild- 
ing of  the  town  of  Hitchcock,  and  he  has  served  two 
terms  as  mayor  of  the  village,  besides  which  he  here 
held  the  office  of  justice  of  the  peace  eight  years.  He 
has  served  two  terms  as  clerk  of  the  school  board,  and 
within  his  incumbency  of  this  position  he  was  one  of  the 
foremost  in  the  movement  that  brought  about  the  con- 
solidation of  six  school  districts  and  the  erection,  at 
Hitchcock,  of  a substantial  and  thoroughly  modern 
building  for  the  accommodation  of  these  combined  dis- 
tricts, this  action  having  made  possible  the  bringing  of 
the  school  work  up  to  a far  higher  plane  of  efficiency 
•an  was  previously  maintained,  this  being  one  of  the 
first  of  such  consolidated  school  districts  in  this  part 
of  the  state. 

Mr.  Drake  has  been  a member  of -the  Christian  Church 
since  he  was  a lad  of  twelve  years,  and  amid  ‘ ‘ all  the 
changes  and  chances  of  this  mortal  life,”  his  abiding 
Cl  ristian  faith  has  dominated  his  course  and  constituted 
a bulwark  of  defense  and  reconciliation.  He  was  one 
of  the  founders  of  the  Christian  Church  at  Hitchcock 
and  is  earnestly  and  ably  serving  the  same  in  the  office 
of  elder,  his  wife  likewise  being  a zealous  and  valued 
member.  Mr.  Drake  is  affiliated  with  Watonga  Lodge, 
No.  176,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  at 
Watonga,  the  county  seat  of  Blaine  County,  and  is  an 
appreciative  and  popular  member  of  the  Oklahoma  State 
Press  Association. 

In  February,  1879,  at  Harrisonville,  Cass  County, 
Missouri,  Mr.  Drake  wedded  Miss  Alma  Robertson,  whose 
father,  William  A.  Robertson,  was  a merchant  of  that 
place,  though  he  passed  the  closing  period  of  his  life  as 
a farmer  in  Oklahoma.  Mrs.  Drake  was  summoned  to 
the  life  eternal  in  1892,  in  Jasper  County,  Missouri, 
and  she  is  survived  by  five  children,  concerning  whom 
brief  mention  is  here  made:  Caroline  is  the  wife  of 

William  E.  Beard  and  they  reside  in  the  City  of 
Claremore.  Oklahoma,  where  Mr.  Beard  conducts  a 
garage.  Hattie  is  the  wife  of  Ford  O.  Shoemaker,  of 
Wichita,  Kansas.  Pearl  is  the  wife  of  Oscar  Burton,  a 
merchant  at  Caldwell,  Kansas.  George  is  engaged  in 
the  grocery  business  at  Wichita,  Kansas.  Florence  is 

Vol.  v— 5 


the  wife  of  Harry  Sumption,  who  is  engaged  in  the 
jewelry  business  in  the  City  of  Seattle,  Washington. 

In  February,  1893,  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of 
Mr.  Drake  to  Miss  Hattie  Robertson,  a sister  of  his 
first  wife,  and  their  only  child  is  Frank,  who  was  born 
in  March,  1894,  who  was  graduated  in  the  Watonga 
High  School,  and  who  is  associated  with  his  father  in 
the  newspaper  business  at  Hitchcock.  He  is  one  of 
the  alert,  successful  and  representative  young  newspaper 
men  of  Oklahoma,  and  has  shown  marked  ability  in  his 
chosen  field  of  enterprise. 

Dr.  Thomas  Jefferson  Dodson  is  one  of  the  pioneer 
physicians  and  surgeons  of  Mangum,  Oklahoma,  having 
come  here  in  1900.  He  has  been  in  constant  practice 
here  since  that  time,  and  has  a high  standing  in  the 
community  and  among  his  professional  brethren.  He 
is  a native  son  of  the  state,  born  in  Coriell  County, 
Texas,  on  September  23,  1862,  and  his  parents  were 
William  P.  and  Rachel  G.  (Green)  Dodson. 

William  P.  Dodson  was  born  in  Kentucky  in  1824,  and 
died  in  Paint  Rock,  Texas,  in  1898.  From  his  native 
state  he  came  to  Coriell  County,  Texas,  in  1849,  one 
of  the  pioneers  of  that  time,  and  in  1879  he  settled  in 
Concho  County,  Texas,  where  he  passed  the  remainder 
of  his  life.  He  was  a rancher  and  stock  raiser,  and  was 
successful  and  prosperous.  During  the  Civil  war  he 
served  the  South  as  a frontier  guard  in  Texas.  Mr. 
Dodson  was  a Methodist  and  was  long  a steward  in  the 
church.  He  was  a Mason,  and  was  past  senior  warden 
of  his  lodge.  His  politics  were  those  of  a democrat. 
His  wife  was  a woman  of  Missouri  birth  and  parentage, 
born  in  1824,  and  she  died  in  Paint  Rock  in  1907. 
They  were  the  parents  of  a family  of  nine  children. 
Adeline,  the  first  born,  married  George  Jackson,  and 
lives  on  their  farm  in  New  Mexico;  Mary  Jane  is  de- 
ceased; she  married  C.  A.  Lewis,  and  he  is  now  a 
resident  of  San  Angelo,  Texas;  Jesse  P.  is  a carpenter 
and  builder  in  Oklahoma;  J.  F.  is  a stock  farmer  at 
Paint  Rock,  the  old  home  of  the  family;  Sarah  married 
J.  C.  Oliver,  a Baptist  minister  of  Abilene,  Texas; 
Casana  died  at  the  age  of  ten  years;  the  Seventh  born 
child  was  Thomas  Jefferson,  subject  of  this  review; 
Sophronia  married  Edward  Dozier  and  they  live  at 
Paint  Rock;  he  is  a stock  farmer  and  has  served  as 
county  sheriff;  Lucy  married  James  Davis  and  they  live 
in  Paint  Rock,  where  Mr.  Davis  is  a farmer. 

Dr.  Thomas  Jefferson  Dodson  was  born  and  reared  on 
his  father’s  ranch  in  Coriell  County,  and  in  1879,  when 
he  was  seventeen  years  old,  the  family  moved  from  that 
place  to  Paint  Rock,  Concho  County.  From  then  until 
1887  he  lived  at  home  and  in  that  year  he  entered 
Centenary  College,  Lampasas,  Texas,  and  there  completed 
a three  years’  course  of  study.  In  1891  he  was  gradu- 
ated from  the  medical  department  of  the  University  of 
Tennessee  at  Nashville,  with  the  degree  M.  D.  In  1891 
Doctor  Dodson  began  the  practice  of  his  profession  at 
Bartlett,  Texas,  continuing  until  1898,  and  then  he 
engaged  in  practice  in  Sonora,  where  he  remained  until 
October,  1900.  It  was  then  that  he  came  to  Mangum, 
since  which  time  he  has  been  engaged  in  a general 
medical  and  surgical  practice,  barring  one  year.  1904, 
which  he  spent  in  the  Chicago  Post  Graduate  School  in 
further  preparation  for  his  work. 

Doctor  Dodson  has  his  offices  in  the  Elliott  Building. 
He  is  president  of  the  Grier  County  Medical  Society 
and  is  a member  of  the  State  and  American  Medical 
associations. 

The  doctor  has  always  been  readv  and  willing  to  give 
public  service  when  it  was  required  of  him.  and  he  has 
been  heaPh  ffiiysician  of  Grier  County  on  the  democratic 
ticket.  While  practicing  in  Sonora  he  served  as  a mem- 


1824 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


ber  of  the  local  school  board,  and  he  is  a trustee  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church  of  Mangum. 

Doctor  Dodson  is  a Mason,  and  those  Masonic  bodies 
with  which  he  is  connected  are  as  follows : Mangum 

Lodge  No.  61,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  of 
which  he  is  past  master;  Mangum  Chapter  No.  35, 
Royal  Arch  Masons,  in  which  he  served  for  nine  years 
as  high  priest;  Hobart  Commandery,  Knights  Templar; 
Mangum  Chapter,  Order  of  the  Eastern  Star,  of  which 
he  is  past  patron;  India  Temple,  Ancient  Arabic  Order 
of  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  Oklahoma  City.  He  is 
also  a member  of  the  local  lodge  of  the  Knights  of 
Pythias  and  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America. 

Doctor  Dodson  was  married  on  October  15,  1890,  in 
Sonora,  Texas,  to  Miss  Della  Pool,  of  Bartlett,  Texas. 
She  died  in  1894,  leaving  two  daughters.  Daphne,  the 
eldest,  is  a graduate  of  the  Mangum  High  School,  and 
also  studied  music  at  Baylor  University  in  Belton,  Texas, 
and  at  Epworth  University  in  Oklahoma  City.  She  is 
now  engaged  in  teaching  music  in  Mangum.  The  second 
child,  Fay,  died  at  the  age  of  eleven  years.  In  1895 
Doctor  Dodson  married  Miss  Elizabeth  Smith,  of  Bart- 
lett, Texas,  a daughter  of  Benjamin  R.  Smith,  who  was 
a well  known  farmer  there,  and  who  died  in  1904.  There 
are  two  daughters  of  this  marriage : Thelma,  a graduate 

of  the  Mangum  High  School  in  1915,  and  Naomi,  now  a 
senior  in  that  school. 

Daniel  William  Peery.  In  a record  of  the  men  who 
have  taken  an  important  part  in  the  upbuilding  and 
development  of  Oklahoma,  it  would  be  almost  impossible 
to  avoid  extended  mention  of  Daniel  William  Peery.  A 
member  of  the  First  and  Second  Territorial  legislatures, 
one  of  the  founders  of  the  state,  subsequently  elected  to 
the  State  Legislature,  the  editor  and  publisher  of  a news- 
paper for  eight  years,  and  one  of  the  organizers  of  the 
City  of  Carnegie,  his  name  is  indissolubly  identified  with 
the  history  of  the  commonwealth,  where  he  has  been  prom- 
inent in  business  and  political  circles  from  the  time  of 
his  arrival. 

Mr.  Peery  was  born  at  Edinburg,  Grundy  County,  Mis- 
souri, August  16,  1864,  and  is  a son  of  Dr.  Arch  and 
Elizabeth  (Kirk)  Peery.  The  family  is  of  Norman 
origin,  the  name  having  been  originally  spelled  Perie, 
and  was  founded  in  the  Colony  of  Virginia  in  1717  by  the 
American  ancestor,  a native  of  the  North  of  Ireland 
who  located  in  Augusta  County.  From  that  county, 
William  Peery,  the  great-grandfather  of  Daniel  W. 
Peery,  moved  to  Tazewell  County,  Virginia,  in  1775,  and 
enlisted  from  the  latter  county  as  a soldier  in  the  Amer- 
ican army  during  the  War  of  the  Revolution.  As  a. 
soldier  in  the  Revolution  he  served  with  Gen.  Roger  Clark 
in  his  expedition  against  old  Fort  Vincennes  and  was  one 
of  five  men  who  were  with  General  Clark  from  Tazewell 
County.  His  son,  George  Peery,  was  born  in  Tazewell 
County,  from  whence  he  migrated  in  1835  as  a pioneer  to 
Northern  Missouri,  where  he  rounded  out  a long  and 
active  career  in  the  pursuits  of  farming. 

Arch  Peery,  the  father  of  Daniel  William  Peery,  was 
born  in  Tazewell  County,  Virginia,  in  1818,  and  was  a lad 
when  he  accompanied  his  father  to  Missouri.  He  grew 
up  amid  pioneer  surroundings  and  was  reared  on  the 
home  farm,  but  was  granted  good  educational  advan- 
tages, and  after  thorough  preparation  enrolled  as  one 
of  the  early  students  of  the  old  Missouri  Medical  College, 
at  St.  Louis,  where  he  was  duly  graduated  with  his 
degree.  He  became  one  of  the  pioneer  physicians  and 
surgeons  of  Grundy  County,  Missouri,  and  for  many 
years  practiced  at  Edinburg,  where  he  died,  honored  and 
respected,  in  1888.  Doctor  Peery  married  Miss  Eliza- 
beth Kirk,  who  was  born  in  Giles  County,  Virginia,  in 
1826,  a daughter  of  Maj.  Thomas  Kirk,  of  Giles  County. 


who  was  an  officer  -in  the  American  army  during  the  War 
of  1812.  Mrs.  Peery  died  in  Grundy  County,  Missouri, 
in  1898,  having  been  the  mother  of  eight  children,  as 
follows : Horace  J.,  who  at  the  time  of  his  death  at 
Albany,  Missouri,  in  1911,  was  register  of  deeds  and 
county  clerk;  Florence  H.,  who  is  the  wife  of  John  II. 
Peery,  a distant  relative,  of  Jamesport,  Missouri;  Nash 
A.,  now  a practicing  attorney  of  Portland,  Oregon;  Dr.  T. 

P.,  a graduate  of  the  Missouri  Medical  College,  and  now 
engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  and  surgery  in  Yuba 
City,  Sutter  County,  California;  Mary  C.,  who  has  been 
for  thirty-three  years  a teacher,  and  for  twenty-two  years 
of  that  time  at  Portland,  Oregon;  Arch,  who  is  engaged 
in  farming  and  resides  in  the  vicinity  of  Apache,  Okla- 
homa; Daniel  William,  of  this  notice;  and  John  T.,  who 
is  now  living  on  the  old  homestead  farm  at  Edinburg, 
near  Trenton,  Missouri. 

Daniel  William  Peery  received  his  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  Grundy  County  and  Grand  River  Col- 
lege, an  institution  which  had  been  founded  by  his  family  ti 
and  chartered  by  the  Legislature  of  Missouri  in  1852. 

He  was  brought  up  to  farming  pursuits,  and  remained 
on  the  homestead  until  reaching  the  age  of  twenty-four 
years.  He  came  to  Oklahoma  April  22,  1889,  and  filed 
on  a homestead  of  160  acres  a few  miles  southeast  of 
Oklahoma  City.  Mr.  Peery  has  been  present  and  assisted 
at  every  opening  of  public  land  in  the  state,  and  has 
taken  part  in  all  the  runs,  including  the  Opening  of  the  p 

Sac,  Fox,  and  Pottawatomie  reservations,  September  19, 
1891;  the  opening  of  Cheyenne  and  Arapahoe  counties, 
iii  April,  1892,  the  Cherokee  Strip,  September  16,  1893,  ■ 
and  the  drawing  of  the  Kiowa  and  Comanche  reserva- 
tions, and  in  the  latter  assisted  in  locating  many  of  the 
settlers. 

On  August  6,  1890;  Mr.  Peery  was  elected  one  of  five 
representatives  from  Oklahoma  County  to  the  First  Ter- 
ritorial Legislature,  and  in  that  capacity  assisted  in  the 
organization  of  the  great  State  of  Oklahoma.  He  was 
sent  to  the  Second  Legislature,  in  1893,  and  in  that  year 
removed  to  El  Reno,  where,  with  William  Clute,  he  to 

founded  the  El  Reno  Globe,  a newspaper  which  became  on 

one  of  the  prominent  and  influential  publications  of  the 
state,  and  which  he  edited  until  1901.  In  that  year  Mr.  in 
Peery  came  to  Carnegie,  Caddo  County,  as  agent  for  the  ha 
Townsite  of  Carnegie,  a capacity  in  which  he  sold  the  as 
land  and  helped  to  found  the  town.  In  1910  he  was 
again  elected  to  the  Oklahoma  Legislature,  representing 
the  counties  of  Caddo,  Canadian  and  Cleveland.  In  that 
body  he  was  known  as  one  of  the  most  active  and  prom- 
inent members,  having  charge  of  the  bill  which  located 
the  capital  at  Oklahoma  City,  and  also  taking  an  active 
part  in  educational  legislation,  in  assisting  in  locating 
the  agricultural  college  at  Stillwater,  the  university  at 
Norman  and  the  normal  school  at  Edmond.  A leading 
democrat,  he  was  a delegate  from  the  Territory  of  Okla- 
homa to  the  Kansas  City  National  Convention  of  his 
party,  which  nominated  William  Jennings  Bryan  for  the 
presidency,  and  from  the  State  of  Oklahoma  to  the 
Denver  National  Convention,  which  also  chose  that  states- 
man as  the  leader  of  the  party.  He  has  been  active  in  am 
state  and  county  democratic  conventions,  nearly  every 
one  of  which  he  has  attended  since  the  organization  of 
the  state,  and  over  several  of  which  he  has  presided.  In 
1911  he  became  a candidate  for  Congress  from  the  North- 
west District,  becoming  the  seventh  candidate  in  the 
field,  but  met  with  defeat  undoubtedly  because  he  only 
presented  his  name  twenty-six  days  before  the  primaries, 
when  the  greater  number  of  his  friends  were  already 
pledged. 

At  the  present  time  Mr.  Peery  is  a member  of  the  real 
estate  firm  of  Peery  & Crose,  his  partner,  L.  P.  Crose,  j,a 
being  the  present  mayor  of  Carnegie.  Among  the  men 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1825 


who,  as  public  servants,  have  made  enviable  records  for 
their  faithful,  earnest  and  successful  efforts  in  securing 
beneficial  and  wise  legislation,  none  is  better  or  more 
favorably  known  than  is  Dan  W.  Peery.  An  earnest 
worker  for  the  advancement  of  his  party’s  interests,  lie 
yet  has  never  allowed  his  partisanship  to  interfere  with 
his  efforts  in  the  advancement  of  what  he  has  considered 
best  for  the  interests  of  his  constituents  as  a whole.  And 
in  every  walk  of  life,  whether  public  or  private,  the  same 
high  principles  have  been  found  to  govern  his  actions. 

Posethia  L.  Sanders,  M.  D.  The  pioneer  physician 
and  surgeon  of  Carnegie,  Oklahoma,  Dr.  Posethia  L. 
Sanders,  has  been  engaged  in  practice  here  since  1903, 
and  has  been  successful  in  building  up  a large  and  im- 
portant professional  business.  Prior  to  coming  to  this 
city,  he  had  secured  a thorough  and  comprehensive  train- 
ing in  the  line  of  his  calling,  and  the  newly-opened  com- 
munity offered  a prolific  field  for  the  display  of  his 
talents.  Doctor  Sanders  was  born  in  Christian  County, 
Illinois,  February  11,  1877,  and  is  a son  of  F.  M.  and 
M.  A.  (Fultz)  Sanders. 

The  Sanders  family  originated  in  Scotland,  and  from 
that  country  the  American  progenitor  came  to  this  coun- 
try long  before  the  outbreak  of  the  War  of  the  Revolu- 
tion, settling  in  the  colony  of  Virginia,  from  whence  the 
family  spread  to  various  of  the  southern  states,  and 
particularly  to  Kentucky,  where  the  name  is  well  known. 
Members  of  the  family  have  been  well  known  in  public 
life,  in  business,  agriculture  and  the  professions,  and 
have  always  been  men  and  women  of  substance  and 
standing,  honored  by  and  honoring  their  communities.  F. 
M.  Sanders,  the  father  of  Doctor  Sanders,  is  a member 
of  the  branch  of  the  family  which  went  to  Kentucky,  and 
I was  born  in  that  state  in  1838.  He  received  a common 
? school  education,  and  was  brought  up  to  agricultural 
pursuits, , so  that  when  he  entered  upon  his  career  he 
| adopted  farming  as  his  vocation.  From  his  native  state 
he  removed  to  Greene  County,  Illinois,  and  in  1860  went 
to  Christian  County,-  in  the  same  state,  where  he  settled 
on  a farm.  There  he  continued  successfully  engaged  in 
farming  and  stockraising  operations  for  many  years,  but 
in  1892  removed  to  Sumner  County,  Kansas,  where  he 
has  since  made  his  home.  He  continued  to  be  occupied 
as  a tiller  of  the  soil  until  a few  years  ago  when  advanc- 
ing years  caused  his  retirement  and  he  moved  to  Welling- 
ton, Kansas,  where  he  is  living  quietly  in  his  comfortable 
' ; home,  enjoying  the  fruits  of  his  many  years  of  honest 
; toil.  Mr.  Sanders  has  been  a lifelong  democrat,  but  has 
been  content  to  remain  a farmer,  and  has  not  let  public 
life  lure  him  from  his  home.  For  many  years  he  has  been 
identified  with  the  Masonic  fraternity,  and  is  now  a mem- 
ber of  the  Royal  Arch  Chapter  of  that  fraternity.  Both 
v he  and  Mrs.  Sanders  are  consistent  members  of  the  Bap- 
tist Church,  in  the  faith  of  which  their  children  have  been 
■ reared.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Sanders  there  were  born  three 
children:  Dr.  Posethia  L.,  of  this  review;  Mattie  M.,  who 
is  the  wife  of  L.  A.  Boory  and  resides  at  Wellington, 
5 Kansas,  where  Mr.  Boory  is  engaged  in  the  plumbing 
and  gasfitting  business ; and  Arleigh  G.,  whose  death 
■occurred  at  the  age  of  twelve  years. 

The  early  education  of  Dr.  P.  L.  Sanders  was  secured  in 
the  district  schools  of  Christian  County,  Illinois,  in  the 
vicinity  of  his  father ’s  farm,  on  which  he  worked  as  a 
lad  and  youth  during  the  summer  months.  He  was  fif- 
teen years  of  age  when  the  family  moved  to  Sumner 
County,  Kansas,  and  there  he  continued  his  public  train- 
ing, attending  both  the  graded  schools  and  the  high 
school  at  Mayfield,  Kansas.  He  had  always  cherished  an 
ambition  to  engage  in  the  practice  of  medicine,  and  to 
gratify  this  wish  took  up  the  study  of  the  profession  at 


the  University  of  Kansas,  where  he  was  duly  graduated 
from  the  medical  department  with  his  diploma  and  degree, 
in  1901.  His  studies  did  not  end  there,  however,  for  he 
has  continued  to  be  an  assiduous  scholar,  and  has  taken 
several  post-graduate  courses,  including  a course  in  1906, 
at  the  New  York  Medical  School,  of  the  University  of 
New  York,  and  courses  in  1911  at  the  Chicago  Poly- 
clinic and  the  Chicago  Post-Graduate  School. 

At  the  time  of  his  graduation  from  the  University  of 
Kansas,  in  1901,  Doctor  Sanders  embarked  in  practice  at 
Mayfield,  Kansas,  where  he  remained  until  1903,  at  that 
time  coming  to  Carnegie  and  opening  an  office  as  the 
pioneer  physician  and  surgeon  of  the  place.  Important 
professional  business  was  soon  attracted  to  him  by  his 
undoubted  talents,  and  as*  the  years  have  passed  he  has 
steadily  advanced  in  professional  prestige  and  public 
favor.  His  broad  and  general  practice  includes  every 
branch  of  his  calling,  and  in  each  he  is  recognized  as  a 
thoroughly  capable  and  reliable  practitioner.  Doctor 
Sanders  maintains  well-appointed  offices  on  the  second 
floor  of  the  Cole-Hugill  Building.  He  holds  membership 
in  the  various  organizations  and  societies  of  his  profes- 
sion, including  the  Caddo  County  Medical  Society,  the 
Oklahoma  State  Medical  Society,  the  Southwestern  Med- 
ical Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association.  That 
he  is  highly  esteemed  by  his  professional  brethren  is 
shown  by  the  fact  that  he  has  served  in  the  capacity  of 
president  of  the  Caddo  County  organization.  Doctor 
Sanders  has  various  financial  and  business  interests  at 
Carnegie,  and  is  a director  in  the  Benedict  Oil  Company, 
of  Arizona.  His  fraternal  connections  include  member- 
ship in  Carnegie  Lodge,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons,  the  lodges  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America 
and  the  Woodmen  of  the  World,  at  Carnegie,  and  the  Fra- 
ternal Mystic  Circle,  at  Mayfield,  Kansas.  He  is  a repub- 
lican in  politics,  but  his  only  public  office  has  been  that 
of  health  officer  of  Carnegie.  He  is  a member  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  and  a member  of  the  board 
of  trustees  of  that  congregation. 

Doctor  Sanders  was  married  in  June,  1905,  at  Carnegie, 
to  Miss  Ethel  Fredregill,  daughter  of  G.  W.  Fredregill, 
who  was  a pioneer  hardware  merchant  of  Carnegie,  but 
is  now  engaged  in  farming  in  Caddo  County.  One  child 
has  been  born  to  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Sanders:  Vera  Berna- 
dine,  born  in  October,  1907,  who  is  now  attending  the 
Carnegie  public  schopis. 

Eugene  D.  Powell.  For  a young  man  of  twenty-four 
years  Eugene  D.  Powell  has  covered  a good  deal  of 
ground  in  the  newspaper  profession  and  is  now  editor 
and  manager  of  the  Times  at  Altus.  He  was  practically 
reared  in  the  trade  and  profession  of  printer  and  news- 
paper man,  and  consequently  knows  all  the  ins  and  outs 
of  the  business,  and  since  taking  charge  of  the  Times  has 
succeeded  in  giving  it  a considerable  impetus  to  increase 
circulation  and  influence. 

The  Powell  family  which  he  represents  came  originally 
from  England  and  was  settled  in  Virginia  during  the 
colonial  days.  Eugene  D.  Powell  was  born  at  Wilton, 
Arkansas,  July  2,  1891,  a son  of  Rev.  C.  M.  and  Georgia 
(Walden)  Powell.  His  father,  who  was  born  at  Mineral 
Springs,  Arkansas,  in  1860,  is  now  a resident  of  Bellevue, 
Texas.  Rev.  Mr.  Powell  was  educated  in  the  common 
schools  at  his  birthplace  in  Arkansas  and  studied  the- 
ology in  the  Southern  Baptist  Seminary  at  Louisville, 
Kentucky.  Since  leaving  the  seminary  he  has  been  con- 
tinuously active  in  his  profession  as  a Baptist  minister, 
and  his  duties  brought  him  in  1901  to  Stillwell  in  Indian 
Territory.  From  there  he  moved  to  Afton  in  the  terri- 
tory in  1904,  subsequently  to  Eldorado,  Oklahoma,  and 
finally  to  his  present  place  of  residence  at  Bellevue 


1826 


HISTOKY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Texas,  where  he  is  pastor  of  the  Baptist  Church.  While 
living  at  Wilton  and  also  at  Stillwell  and  Afton  in 
Indian  Territory  he  edited  the  newspapers  of  those  towns 
in  addition  to  his  regular  duties  as  a minister.  He  is  a 
democrat  in  polities,  and  served  on  the  school  board  at 
Wilton  and  was  mayor  of  Afton.  His  wife,  who  was 
born  in  Arkansas  in  1866,  died  at  Winthrop  in  that  state 
in  1900.  She  became  the  mother  of  eight  children : Ruth, 
wife  of  Charles  Gallegly,  of  Lockney,  Texas;  Yerda,  wife 
of  C.  R.  Carr,  in  the  lumber  business  at  Texarkana, 
Texas;  Augusta,  wife  of  A.  C.  Smith,  a salesman  at 
Erick,  Oklahoma ; Doyle,  who  is  a graduate  of  the  Afton 
High  School  and  also  attended  Baylor  University  at 
Waco,  Texas,  and  is  now  city  editor  of  the  Altus  Times; 
Eugene  D.;  Mary,  who  was  married  in  1911  to  Louis  T. 
Tucker,  a salesman  at  Eldorado,  Oklahoma;  Maude  and 
Doris,  both  of  whom  are  students  in  the  Baptist  College 
at  Decatur,  Texas. 

Eugene  D.  Powell  received  his  early  education  in  the 
public  schools  at  Wilton,  Arkansas,  and  at  Stillwell, 
Indian  Territory,  and  was  graduated  from  the  Afton 
High  School  in  1905.  Later  in  1908  he  took  a business 
course  at  the  Oklahoma  Baptist  College  in  Blackwell. 
Meantime,  in  1900,  when  only  nine  years  of  age,  he 
secured  his  first  instruction  in  printing  and  newspaper 
work  under  the  direction  of  his  father,  and  from  that 
age  has  seldom  been  long  absent  from  a newspaper  or 
printing  office.  In  1911-  ’12  he  was  employed  to  conduct 
a paper  at  Hale  Center,  Texas,  and  afterwards  for  one 
year  was  with  the  Beacon-Times  at  Idabel,  Oklahoma. 
On  September  1,  1913,  he  came  to  Altus  and  was  associ- 
ated with  the  Altus  Times,  and  during  1915  was  editor 
and  business  manager  of  that  paper.  The  Altus  Times 
was  established  in  1900,  is  a democratic  organ,  has  a 
general  circulation  throughout  Jackson  and  surrounding 
counties,  and  lives  up  to  the  reputation  that  Altus  has 
for  a live  and  hustling  town  and  business  center.  Mr. 
Powell  is  himself  a democrat  and  is  affiliated  with  Altus 
Lodge  No.  62,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  with 
Altus  Lodge  No.  134,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows; 
and  with  Altus  Lodge,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order 
of  Elks,  No.  1226. 

Paul  H.  Jones.  The  ancestral  history  of  this  well 
known  citizen  of  McAlester,  Pittsburg  County,  is  one 
of  the  most  interesting  and  distinguished  order  and  he 
is  a scion  of  a family  whose  name  has  been  prominently 
linked  with  the  annals  of  American  history  from  the 
early  colonial  era,  each  successive  generation  having 
produced  men  of  sterling  character  and  women  of  fine 
personality,  while  representatives  have  been  found  promi- 
nent and  influential  citizens  in  New  England,  New  York, 
Maryland,  Illinois,  Georgia  and  other  states  of  the  Union. 
Family  tradition,  amply  fortified  by  records  still  extant, 
indicates  that  the  original  American  progenitor  or 
progenitors  of  this  family  of  Jones  came  from  England 
on  the  historic  ship  Mayflower,  and  the  lineage  is 
traced  back  to  William  Jones,  one  of  the  stern  English- 
men whose  loyalty  to  principle  led  him  to  become  a 
member  of  the  historic  company  of  regicides  who  made 
decisive  blows  in  behalf  of  human  independence.  Mem- 
bers of  the  Jones  family  were  numbered  among  the 
early  settlers  of  both  Massachusetts  and  Connecticut, 
and  the  grandfather  of  Prince  Jones,  from  whom  the 
subject  of  this  review  is  a lineal  descendant,  was  a 
brother  of  the  mother  of  the  celebrated  colonial  hero, 
Paul  Revere.  The  mother  of  George  H.  Bissell,  the  dis- 
tinguished sculptor,  was  a sister  of  Prince  H.  Jones,  who 
was  the  paternal  grandfather  of  him  whose  name  intro- 
duces this  article.  Judge  Samuel  D.  Lockwood,  the  first 
attorney  general  of  Illinois  and  later  an  associate  justice 


of  the  Supreme  Court  of  that  state,  was  a brother  of 
the  mother  of  Prince  II.  Jones.  Abraham  Prickett, 
great-grandfather  of  Paul  H.  Jones  in  the  maternal  line, 
was  one  of  the  first  settlers  at  Edwardsville,  Illinois,  I 
became  the  first  mayor  of  that  town,  was  a member  of 
the  committee  that  framed  the  constitution  of  Illinois 
in  1818,  was  a member  of  the  first  Legislature  of  that 
state,  and  became  the  founder  of  the  first  banking  insti- 
tution at  Edwardsville,  his  son  George  having  been  the 
first  white  child  born  in  the  pioneer  village  that  is  now 
a thriving  and  beautiful  city. 

Paul  H.  Jones,  who  is  numbered  among  the  repre- 
sentative business  men  of  McAlester,  Oklahoma,  and 
who  served  as  a member  of  the  State  Board  of  Prison 
Control  until  the  board  was  eliminated  by  legislative 
enactment  in  March,  1915,  was  born  in  the  historic  old 
Town  of  Edwardsville,  Madison  County,  Illinois,  in  the 
year  1874,  and  is  a son  of  William  and  Clare  (Prickett) 
Jones.  The  only  other  surviving  child  is  Miss  Minna 
Jones,  who  remains  with  her  parents  at  Edwardsville, 
the  family  home  being  that  in  which  the  mother  was 
born,  sixty  years  ago. 

Mr.  Jones  continued  to  attend  the  public  schools  of  his 
native  city  until  he  had  completed  the  curriculum  of  the 
high  school,  and  as  his  father  met  with  severe  financial 
reverses  about  this  time,  the  youth  was  denied  the 
advantages  of  a collegiate  education.  He  initiated  his 
business  career  by  obtaining  employment  in  a bank  at 
Edwardsville,  where  he  continued  to  be  identified  with 
this  line  of  enterprise  until  1897,  when  failing  health 
rendered  it  imperative  for  him  to  seek  less  sedentary 
occupation  and  it  behooved  him  also  to  find  a change 
of  climatic  conditions.  For  a year  thereafter  he  was  a 
cowboy  on  ranches  in  Wyoming  and  Colorado,  the  ensuing 
year  having  been  by  him  devoted  to  mining  in  the  gold 
and  silver  fields  of  the  latter  state,  and  the  manual 
application  and  free  and  open  life  having  resulted  in  his 
fully  regaining  his  health,  with  the  accumulation  of  a 
robustness  greater  than  he  had  previously  enjoyed  at  any 
period.  Upon  his  return  to  the  East  he  established  his 
residence  in  the  City  of  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  where  he 
was  engaged  in  the  coal  business  during  the  ensuing  four 
years.  In  1902  Mr.  Jones  made  a prospecting  trip  in 
Indian  Territory,  and  while  on  a hunting  expedition  out 
from  McAlester  he  became  so  favorably  impressed  with 
the  attractions  and  advantages  of  the  locality  that  he 
decided  to  make  permanent  location  at  McAlester.  Here 
he  became  identified  with  the  brick-manufacturing 
industry,  in  connection  with  which  he  was  for  several 
years  general  manager  of  the  Choctaw  Pressed  Brick 
Company.  In  the  spring  of  1915  he  severed  his  associa- 
tion with  this  corporation  and  established  an  inde- 
pendent brokerage  business,  in  which  he  deals  principally 
in  building  material,  his  personal  popularity  and  unsul- 
lied business  reputation  having  made  the  enterprise 
successful  from  its  initiation. 

In  politics  Mr.  Jones  is  aligned  as  a staunch  sup- 
porter of  the  cause  of  the  republican  party,  and  he  has 
not  been  permitted  to  deny  his  services  in  public  offices 
of  trust  during  the  period  of  his  residence  in  Oklahoma. 
Within  recent  years  he  served  two  terms  as  city  clerk  of 
McAlester,  and  in  1913  he  was  appointed  by  Governor 
Cruee  a member  of  the  State  Board  of  Prison  Control, 
a position  in  which  he  served  with  utmost  loyalty  and 
circumspection  until  the  abolishment  of  this  department 
of  the  governmental  service  of  the  state,  in  March, 
1915.  This  board  recommended,  upon  careful  investi- 
gation, the  - issuing  of  paroles  to  385  prisoners  in  the 
state  penal  institutions,  and  most  of  these  paroles  were 
granted  by  the  governor,  only  fourteen  of  the  prisoners 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1827 


thus  paroled  having  failed  to  live  up  to  the  conditions 
and  provisions  under  which  they  were  released. 

Mr.  Jones  is  one  of  the  progressive  and  public-spirited 
citizens  of  the  vital  and  ambitious  City  of  McAlester, 
is  an  active  and  valued  member  of  the  McAlester  Cham- 
ber of  Commerce ; is  a member  of  the  board  of  trustees 
of  All  Saints  Hospital,  maintained  in  this  city  under 
the  auspices  of  the  Protestant  Episcopal  Church;  is 
secretary  of  the  McAlester  Golf  and  Country  Club;  is 
senior  deacon,  in  1915,  of  McAlester  Lodge,  No.  196, 
Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons ; and  is  one  of  the 
most  influential  and  popular  members  of  McAlester 
Lodge,  No. .533,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks, 
of  which  he  has  twice  served  as  exalted  ruler.  Both  he 
and  his  wife  are  communicants  of  the  Protestant  Episco- 
pal Church. 

In  1909  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Jones  to 
Miss  Agnes  Stuart,  daughter  of  Judge  Charles  B.  Stuart, 
of  Oklahoma  City,  who  was  formerly  a law  partner  of 
Senator  Bailey,  who  represented  Texas  in  the  United 
States  Senate.  Under  the  administration  of  President 
Cleveland  Judge  Stuart  served  on  the  bench  of  the  United 
States  Court  of  the  Eastern  District  of  Indian  Territory. 
Mrs.  Jones  was  graduated  in  a college  for  young  women 
at  Lexington,  Kentucky,  and  she  is  a leader  in  the  repre- 
sentative social  activities  of  the  City  of  McAlester.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Jones  have  one  child,  Halleck  Stuart,  who  was 
born  in  1912. 

A scion  of  honored  and  influential  pioneer  families  of 
Illinois,  Mr.  Jones  has  maintained  a deep  interest  in 
the  history  of  his  native  state  and  among  his  most 
prized  possessions  are  a table,  a rocking  chair  and  a 
straight  chair  which  were  there  used  by  the  martyred 
President,  Abraham  Lincoln,  upon  whose  death  these 
valued  memorials  became  the  property  of  Thomas  C. 
Prickett,  a maternal  ancestor  of  Mr.  Jones.  A few 
years  ago  Mr.  Jones  loaned  the  table  and  chairs  to  the 
Lincoln  Memorial  Association.  He  has  in  his  possession 
also  a letter  writter  by  President  Lincoln  under  date 
of  September  27,  1852,  in  which  Lincoln  sought  to 
have  the  administrator  of  the  Prickett  estate  correct 
the  title  to  some  town  lots  that  had  been  transferred 
to  “Billy,  the  barber,”  a negro  who  had  shaved  Lin- 
coln in  Bloomington,  Illinois. 

. C.  C.  Atwood.  A flourishing  little  center  of  trade 
and  business  in  Hughes  County  is  named  Atwood,  a 
village  that  was  laid  out  along  the  M.  O.  & G.  Railroad 
by  members  of  the  Atwood  family,  and  the  railroad 
company  named  it  in  honor  of  C.  C.  Atwood,  who  for 
forty  years  has  been  a resident  of  Indian  Territory,  the 
greater  part  of  the  time  in  what  is  now  Hughes  County, 
and  has  been  prominent  as  a cattle  man,  banker  and 
citizen. 

A native  of  Texas,  he  was  born  in  Coryell  City,  July 
4,  1861,  a son  of  Eli  and  Katy  (Trousdale)  Atwood. 
His  father  was  a native  of  Nashville,  Tennessee,  and  his 
mother  of  Springfield,  Missouri.  The  father  grew  up 
in  Tennessee,  but  after  his  marriage  in  Missouri  moved 
to  Texas  in  1860  and  he  and  his  wife  spent  the  rest  of 
their  days  there,  his  business  being  that  of  farmer. 
During  the  war,  though  too  old  for  active  service,  he 
was  a member  of  the  home  guard  and  served  as  a scout. 
C.  C.  Atwood  was  twelve  years  of  age  when  his  father 
died  and  eleven  when  his  mother  died.  The  six  children 
were:  C.  M.  of  Belton,  Texas;  Bettie,  deceased  wife 

of  Hugh  Phillips;  Eliza,  deceased  wife  of  A.  A.  Ed- 
wards; William,  deceased;  Matt,  deceased;  and  C.  C. 

The  first  fourteen  years  of  his  life  C.  C.  Atwood  spent 
in  Texas,  and  while  there  acquired  a common  school 
education.  * In  1875  he  went  into  the  Chickasaw  Nation 
and  located  near  Tishomingo,  moved  from  there  to 


Okmulgee  in  the  Creek  Nation,  and  then  in  1881  to 
Tobucksee  County  in  the  Choctaw  Nation,  and  soon 
afterwards  located  in  the  vicinity  where  he  has  ever 
since  kept  his  home  and  the  center  of  his  activities. 
Througnout  this  long  period  of  activity  he  has  been  a 
farmer  and  stock  raiser  chiefly. 

He  nas  seven  children,  and  all  of  them  have  allotments 
in  Hughes  County.  When  the  M.  O.  & G.  Railroad  was 
built  they  bought  land  for  a townsite  from  Mr.  Atwood, 
and  that  was  the  origin  of  the  present  Village  of 
Atwood. 

Mr.  Atwood  was  one  of  the  original  stockholders  in 
the  City  National  Bank  of  Calvin,  and  he  is  now  a 
director  in  the  First  National  Bank  of  that  place  and  a 
director  in  the  First  State  Bank  of  Atwood.  At  one 
time  he  was  president  of  the  City  National  Bank  at 
Calvin.  However,  he  has  given  his  chief  attention  and 
has  made  his  success  in  farming  and  stock  raising.  At 
one  time  he  grazed  very  large  herds  over  his  own 
holdings  and  leased  lands.  At  the  present  time  his 
landed  possessions  comprised,  with  those  of  his  children, 
several  sections  of  rich  land,  and  about  640  acres  are 
under  cultivation.  He  is  a democrat  and  is  an  elder 
in  the  Church  of  Christ,  of  which  he  has  been  a member 
for  the  past  twenty  years. 

In  1882  Mr.  Atwood  married  Miss  Patsy  Ann  Burris, 
who  was  born  at  old  Doaksville  in  the  Choctaw  Nation, 
a daughter  of  Benjamin  and  Sally  (Nelson)  Burris. 
Both  her  father  and  mother  were  half-blood  Choctaws. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Atwood  have  seven  children,  all  of  whom 
were  born  at  Atwood,  and  briefly  noted  as  follows : 
Ottie,  wife  of  R.  C.  Lee  of  Parsons,  Kansas;  Arry,  wife 
of  Dr.  W.  B.  Berninger  of  Atwood;  Bennie,  of  Cordell, 
Oklahoma;  Ollie,  wife  of  R.  L.  Henley  of  Atwood; 
Colman  of  Atwood;  Lizzie,  who  lives  at  home;  and 
Ambrose,  also  at  home. 

Henry  C.  Dorroh,  M.  D.  Possessing  in  generous  meas- 
ure the  qualities  which  make  the  personally  popular  as 
well  as  financially  successful  physician,  Dr.  Henry  C. 
Dorroh  has  a firmly  established  reputation  at  Hammon 
as  an  earnest,  cautious  and  painstaking  healer  of  men. 
He  represents  a kind  of  medical  practice  which  is  a long 
way  removed  from  the  standards  of  even  a decade  ago, 
his  progressive  mind  rejecting  mercilessly  dogmas  whose 
only  claim  is  their  antiquity,  and  which  have  no  place  in 
the  light  and  intelligence  of  modern  investigation. 

Doctor  Dorroh  is  of  Irish  descent,  his  great-grand- 
father, who  spelled  his  name  O ’Dorroh,  coming  from  Erin 
about  the  time  of  the  Revolutionary  war  and  settling  in 
North  Carolina.  William  W.  Dorroh,  father  of  Doctor 
Dorroh,  was  born  at  Fredonia,  Kentucky,  February  22, 
1827,  and  in  1875  removed  to  within  four  miles  of  Prince- 
ton, the  county  seat  of  Caldwell  County,  Kentucky,  where 
he  pa«sed  the  remaining  years  of  his  life  in  the  pursuits 
of  farming  and  stockraising  and  died  in  September, 
1904.  He  was  a stalwart  supporter  of  the  democratic 
party  and  with  his  wife  belong  to  the  Baptist  Church. 
Mrs.  Dorroh,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Mary  Easley, 
was  born  in  1830,  in  Virginia,  and  when  nine  years  of 
age  was  taken  by  her  parents  to  Fredonia,  Kentucky, 
where  she  received  her  education  and  was  reared  and 
married.  She  died  at  Princeton,  Kentucky,  in  Febru- 
ary, 1891,  the  mother  of  six  children,  as  follows:  Bobbie, 
who  is  the  wife  of  Charles  W.  Guess,  a farmer  of  Prince- 
ton; Frankie,  who  is  the  wife  of  J.  J.  Rorer,  a farmer  of 
Fredonia,  Kentucky;  William  T.,  who  is  engaged  in  agri- 
cultural pursuits  in  Caldwell  County;  Annie,  who  is  the 
wife  of  W.  T.  Hurst,  a carpenter  and  mechanic  of  Hop- 
kinsville, Kentucky;  Dr.  Henry  C.,  of  this  notice;  and 
Doctor  Lee,  a graduate  of  the  Louisville  Hospital  Col- 
lege, of  Louisville,  Kentucky,  and  now  engaged  in  a med- 


1828 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


ieal  and  surgical  practice,  a sketch  of  whose  career  will 
be  found  elsewhere  in  this  work. 

Henry  C.  Dorroh  was  born  at  Salem,  Livingston  County, 
Kentucky,  December  23,  1869,  and  in  the  following  year 
was  taken  by  his  parents  to  Caldwell  County,  where  he 
attended  the  public  schools.  He  was  reared  on  the  home 
farm,  but  had  no  liking  for  an  agricultural  career,  and 
on  attaining  his  majority,  in  1891,  went  to  Washing- 
ton, in  which  state  and  Oregon  he  spent  the  next  six 
years  in  engineering.  His  next  location  was  Angels 
Camp,  California,  where  he  was  connected  with  the  Utica 
Gold  Mining  Company  until  1903,  and  in  that  year  joined 
the  gold-hunters  of  Alaska,  spending  1%  years  at  Nome 
in  search  of  the  precious  yellow  metal.  Returning  to 
California  at  the  end  of  that  period,  for  a time  he  was 
engaged  in  engineering  at  San  Francisco,  but  finally 
turned  his  attention  to  the  profession  of  medicine,  and  in 
the  fall  of  1905  entered  the  Louisville  Hospital  College 
of  Medicine,  at  Louisville,  Kentucky,  which  he  attended 
for  two  years.  During  his  vacation,  in  1907,  he  returned 
to  California,  but  in  the  fall  of  the  same  year  went  back 
to  Louisville  and  completed  his  medical  course,  being 
graduated  with  the  class  of  1910  and  receiving  the  degree 
of  Doctor  of  Medicine.  Shortly  thereafter  Doctor  Dorroh 
came  to  Oklahoma  and  commenced  practice  at  Aledo, 
Dewey  County,  but  August  15th  of  the  same  year  changed 
his  field  of  practice  to  the  Town  of  Hammon,  where  he 
has  since  continued  in  the  enjoyment  of  a rapidly  growing 
medical  and  surgical  practice,  his  offices  being  located  in 
the  Hammon  News  Building  on  Broadway.  Practicability 
and  simplicity  have  been  the  professional  efforts  and  he 
is  a most  careful  and  expert  diagnostician  as  well  as  a 
close  and  inquiring  student.  In  the  search  for  clearer 
vision  and  larger  usefulness  he  has  allied  himself  with 
the  various  organizations  of  his  vocation,  being  a member 
of  the  American  Medical  Association,  the  Oklahoma 
Medical  Society  and  the  Roger  Mills  Medical  Society,  of 
which  latter  he  served  one  term  as  treasurer,  his  service 
expiring  in  January,  1915.  He  is  a democrat  in  politics, 
but  not  particularly  active  in  public  affairs  save  as  a 
good  citizen  and  a supporter  of  progressive  and  beneficial 
movements.  Fraternally,  he  is  connected  with  Russell 
Camp  No.  51,  Woodmen  of  the  World,  and  the  local  camp 
of  the  Woodmen’s  Circle. 

Doctor  Dorroh  was  married  at  Angels  Camp,  Cali- 
fornia, in  1904,  to  Miss  Edna  Covens,  of  Chicago,  Illinois, 
and  they  have  one  child:  Edna  May,  born  April  17, 
1913. 

William  C.  Hughes.  One  of  the  most  fertile  counties 
in  Eastern  Oklahoma  is  that  of  which  Holdenville  is 
county  seat,  and  it  was  created  at  the  time  of  statehood 
and  was  named  in  honor  of  William  C.  Hughes,  one  of 
the  most  striking  and  influential  figures  in  the  Constitu- 
tional Convention.  Mr.  Hughes  is  an  able  brilliant  law- 
yer, practiced  law  in  Oklahoma  for  many  years,  and  is 
now  a resident  of  St.  Joseph,  Missouri. 

He  comes  of  an  old  and  distinguished  Missouri  family. 
He  was  liberally  educated,  and  from  Kansas  City  he 
moved  to  Oklahoma  in  March,  1901,  locating  at  Oklahoma 
City.  As  a lawyer  he  had  soon  established  a state  repu- 
tation. 

He  was  elected  a member  of  the  Oklahoma  Consti- 
tutional Convention  in  1906  from  the  Twenty-eighth  Con- 
ventional District,  comprising  the  business  center  of  Okla- 
homa City.  He  was  chosen  as  a democrat  and  by  an 
overwhelming  majority.  In  the  convention  he  was  a 
prominent  candidate  for  president,  and  lost  that  dis- 
tinction by  a very  small  majority,  largely  on  account  of 
becoming  seriously  ill.  In  the  constructive  work  of  the 
convention  his  was  one  of  the  most  important  individual 


influences.  He  was  chairman  of  the  Municipal  Corpora- 
tion Committee,  and  the  imprint  of  his  judgment  and 
foresight  is  upon  all  the  provisions  of  the  organic  law 
affecting  this  subject.  He  is  author  of  provisions  of  the 
constitution  as  follows : The  provisions  giving  to  the 
people  of  the  cities  the  right  to  make  the  charters  for 
their  government,  the  rights  of  the  initiative  and  referen- 
dum in  city  affairs,  the  right  to  require  by  direct  vote 
the  granting  of  franchises;  the  provisions  prohibiting  the 
granting,  renewal  or  extension  of  franchises  without  ap- 
proval by  the  people  by  direct  vote;  the  provisions  ex- 
pressly authorizing  cities  to  own  and  operate  their  pub- 
lic utilities  and  providing  means  by  which  they  may  raise 
money  for  such  purposes;  the  provisions  creating  the 
office  of  state  commissioner  and  corrections;  the  jiro- 
visions  prohibiting  child  labor. 

It  was  as  a tribute  to  his  valuable  services  that  Hughes 
County  was  named  in  his  honor. 

William  C.  Hughes  was  born  at  Georgetown,  then  the 
county  seat  of  Pettis  County,  Missouri,  October  24,  1869, 
a son  of  Dr.  B.  F.  and  Catherine  (Kidd)  Hughes,  and 
he  later  lived  in  Sedalia-  and  Kansas  City.  His  parents 
were  also  native  Missourians  and  the  grandparents  on 
both  sides  were  pioneers  in  the  state,  Grandfather  Hughes 
having  come  from  Virginia  and  grandfather  Kidd  from 
Kentucky.  Mr.  W.  C.  Hughes  was  one  in  a family  of 
seven  children,  four  of  whom  are  still  living.  Doctor 
Hughes,  his  father,  served  as  surgeon  of  the  Seventh  Mis- 
souri Cavalry,  and  also  of  the  Sixth  Missouri  Cavalry,  in 
the  Civil  war.  He  was  afterwards  a member  of  the  Mis- 
souri Constitutional  Convention  known  as  the  “Drake” 
Convention,  having  been  elected  from  Pettis  County  as  an 
independent,  and  he  ardently  fought  against  the  estab- 
lishment of  a military  despotism  by  that  convention,  which 
was  in  a measure  a result  and  consequence  of  the  re- 
construction following  the  war.  His  name  is  signed  to 
the  ordinance  abolishing  slavery  in  Missouri. 

On  June  14,  1893,  W.  C.  Hughes  married  Luella  Gaines 
of  Clinton,  Missouri.  They  are  the  parents  of  four 
daughters  and  one  son:  Jeanette  Cameron,  Elizabeth, 
Lucy  Briscoe,  William  C.  Jr.,  and  Donna. 

Joseph  W.  Childers.  When  Joseph  W.  Childers  came 
to  Okmulgee  in  June,  1905,  he  brought  with  him  the 
accumulated  experience  of  twenty  years  as  a successful 
lawyer  in  the  State  of  Missouri.  In  the  past  ten  years 
Mr.  Childers  has  gained  prominence  as  an  attorney  in 
the  new  state  and  has  also  taken  an  active  part  in  local 
and  state  politics.  The  people  of  Okmulgee  County  espe- 
cially appreciate'  his  service  as  county  attorney  for  four 
years.  He  was  first  elected  to  that  office  in  1910,  and 
his  first  term  brought  him  a vote  of  renewed  confidence 
in  his  re-election  in  1912.  In  1914  Mr.  Childers  lost  the 
nomination  for  district  judge,  his  successful  opponent 
being  Judge  Hughes. 

Though  most  of  his  life  until  coming  to  Oklahoma  was 
spent  in  Missouri,  Joseph  W.  Childers  was  born  ill 
Monroe  County,  Iowa,  near  Blakesburg,  August  11,  1859, 
a son  of  Isaac  and  Huldah  A.  (Tharp)  Childers.  The 
Childers  family  is  of  Welsh  stock,  and  there  had  been  a 
number  of  prominent  men  of  that  name  in  Wales,  one  of 
them  having  served  as  a member  of  the  parliament  and 
an  active  supporter  of  the  Gladstone  administration.  The 
Tharp  family  is  of  Scotch  descent.  Mr.  Childers’  father 
was  born  in  Wood  County,  West  Virginia,  December  10, 
1819.  and  his  wife  in  Harrison  County  in  the  same  state 
in  1824.  They  were  married  in  West  Virginia  in  1841, 
and  in  1850  went  out  as  pioneers  to  the  new  State  of 
Iowa,  where  the  father  entered  a tract  of  government 
land  in  Monroe  County.  They  lived  there  until  1861, 
and  then  moved  to  Sullivan  County  in  Northern  Missouri. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1829 


The  father  was  a sturdy  and  practical  farmer  and  had 
an  honorable  career  in  all  its  relationships.  He  died  in 
Missouri  August  29,  1891,  while  his  wife  passed  away 
April  2,  1887.  They  became  the  parents  of  a large  fam- 
ily of  fourteen  children,  two  of  whom  died  in  infancy. 
A brief  record  of  the  others  is  as  follows:  Preston  R., 
who  is  now  seventy-two  years  of  age  and  lives  at  Little- 
ton, Colorado,  served  four  years  as  a Union  soldier,  hav- 
ing veteranized  after  his  first  enlistment,  and  was  with 
Sherman  on  the  famous  march  to  the  sea;  Sylvanus  W. 
lives  in  the  State  of  Oregon;  Delia  Ann  Tipton  lives  at 
Nuckols,  Nebraska;  Mary  died  at  the  age  of  twelve 
years;  Stephen  L.  is  a farmer  at  Helena,  Oklahoma; 
Addison  H.  is  a contractor  at  Denver,  Colorado;  Hulda 

A.  Page  lives  on  the  home  farm  back  in  Sullivan  County, 
Missouri;  W.  H.  is  an  attorney  at  Milan,  Missouri; 
Joseph  W.  is  next  in  age;  Marion  V.  met  an  accidental 
death  in  1883;  Sherman  died  at  the  age  of  fourteen;  and 
Emma  L.  Akers  lives  at  Alva,  Oklahoma. 

Joseph  W.  Childers  grew  up  on  the  home  farm  and 
remained  there  until  1879.  In  the  meantime  he  had 
attended  the  district  schools,  and  on  leaving  home  his 
first  experience  was  as  clerk  in  a store  at  Milan,  Missouri. 
In  1884  he  began  the  study  of  law  in  the  office  of  John 
P.  Butler  at  Milan,  and  was  admitted  to  practice  May 
16,  1886.  Continuing  to  make  his  home  at  Milan,  he 
soon  built  up  a promising  profitable  practice  and  con- 
tinued it  until  his  removal  to  Oklahoma  in  1905.  In  this 
state  in  addition  to  his  large  private  practice  he  has  ac- 
quired considerable  interests  in  oil  lands.  In  politick  he 
is  a democrat,  and  is  a member  of  the  Presbyterian 
Church. 

On  November  15,  1888,  he  married  Lillie  M.  Graham. 
She  was  born  at  Milan,  Missouri,  June  29,  1869,  a 
daughter  of  James  S.  and  Samantha  (Swanger)  Graham. 
Mr.  Childers  has  one  daughter,  Wodenia,  wife  of  Louis 

B.  Bradfield,  of  Greeley,  Colorado. 

John  Walker  Tillman.  An  able  and  influential 
member  of  the  Oklahoma  bar,  John  Walker  Tillman,  of 
Pawhuska,  has  won  unmistakable  prestige,  his  scholarly 
attainments  and  comprehensive  knowledge  of  law  having 
won  him  an  assured  position  in  the.  legal  fraternity  of 
Osage  County.  He  was  born  June  16,  1886,  in  Fayette- 
ville, Washington  County,  Arkansas,  coming  from  dis- 
tinguished ancestry,  being  a son  of  John  N.  Tillman, 
LL.  D.,  and  a descendant  of  the  same  immigrant 
ancestor  that  founded  in  America  the  family  from  which 
Benjamin  R.  Tillman,  who  won  distinction  as  United 
States  senator  from  South  Carolina  is  descended. 

A native  of  South  Carolina,  John  N.  Tillman  moved 
with  his  parents  to  Southwestern  Missouri  in  childhood, 
and  during  his  earlier  life  received  exceptionally  good 
educational  advantages.  Entering  the  legal  profession, 
he  became  prominent  as  a lawyer,  and  after  his  removal 
to  Fayetteville,  Arkansas,  where  he  still  resides,  was  one 
of  the  leading  educators  of  that  state,  for  seven  years 
serving  as  president  of  the  University  of  Arkansas.  A 
lifelong  democrat,  he  has  exerted  great  influence  in  the 
councils  of  his  party,  and  has  filled  various  public 
offices  with  ability  and  fidelity,  winning  the  approbation 
of  his  constituents.  He  was  circuit  judge  for  some  time, 
and  is  now  serving  his  third  term  as  congressman  from 
the  Third  Congressional  District  of  Arkansas.  His  wife, 
whose  maiden  name  was  Tumpy  Walker,  was  born,  bred, 
and  educated  in  Benton  County,  Arkansas.  Three  chil- 
dren were  born  of  their  union,  namely:  John  Walker, 

the  special  subject  of  this  sketch;  Frederick  Allen,  of 
Fayetteville,  Arkansas,  a lawyer,  and  his  father ’s  secre- 
tary; and  Kathleen,  wife  of  L.  B.  Shaver,  of  Oklahoma 
City. 


After  his  graduation  from  the  University  of  Arkansas, 
John  Walker  Tillman  began  the  study  of  law  with 
Messrs.  C.  B.  Wall  and  Charles  H.  Brough,  and  in  1907 
was  admitted  to  the  Arkansas  bar.  Beginning  the. prac- 
tice of  his  profession  in  his  home  city,  he  met  with 
most  encouraging  success  as  a lawyer,  and  was  soon 
prominently  identified  with  public  affairs,  serving  two 
terms  as  assistant  prosecuting  attorney,  and  for  two 
terms  being  city  attorney  of  Fayetteville.  In  1911  Mr. 
Tillman  located  at  Pawhuska,  Oklahoma,  and  has  here 
gained  an  excellent  position  among  the  leading  men  of 
this  section  of  the  state.  In  1912  he  was  elected  assist- 
ant county  attorney  of  Osage  County,  and  after  serving 
two  years  under  C.  K.  Templeton  was  elected,  on  March 
3,  1914,  county  attorney  of  Osage  County,  his  election 
being  proof  of  the  satisfactory  manner  in  which  he 
performed  the  duties  of  his  previous  office. 

Politically  Mr.  Tillman  is  a stanch  adherent  of  the 
democratic  party,  supporting  its  principles  by  voice  and 
vote.  He  is  a member  of  both  the  county  and  the  state 
bar  associations,  and  bejongs  to  two  fraternal  organiza- 
tions, the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  and 
the  Knights  of  Pythias. 

Mr.  Tillman  married,  in  November,  1911,  Miss  Jennie 
Walker,  a daughter  of  C.  W.  W.  Walker,  a well-known 
attorney  of  Fayetteville,  Arkansas. 

Daniel  P.  Lowe.  The  experienced  engineer  is  able  to 
operate  noiselessly  and  smoothly  a complicated  machine 
because  he  understands  the  power  exerted  by  every 
minute  inanimate  part,  and  it  is  often  a marvelous 
accomplishment.  It  is,  likewise,  a notable  achievement 
when  an  executive  can  control  wisely  and  efficiently  a 
great  human  organization,  because,  unlike  the  engineer, 
it  is  not  possible  for  him  to  comprehend  fully  the 
capacity  of  its  working  parts.  The  office  of  a county 
superintendent  of  schools  is  one  of  honorable  but  heavy 
responsibility.  In  his  field  there  is  vital  work  to  be  done 
but  not  always  is  he  able  to  find  the  hidden  screw  or 
lift  the  governing  lever,  as  can  the  engineer,  and  only 
through  the  knowledge  and  ripened  judgment  that  long 
experience  has  brought  about  can  he  satisfy  both  the 
public  and  himself  when  he  assumes  the  duties  pertaining 
to  this  office.  Beckham  County,  Oklahoma,  in  Superin- 
tendent Daniel  P.  Lowe  has  an  official  thoroughly  equip- 
ped to  still  further  advance  the  present  high  standards 
of  the  county’s  educational  system,  and  his  untiring 
efforts  are  meeting  with  general  approval. 

Daniel  P.  Lowe  was  born  in  Cook  County,  Texas, 
January  12,  1870,  and  is  a son  of  J.  D.  and  M.  M. 
(Tittle)  Lowe.  The  Lowe  family  is  of  Scotch-Irish 
descent,  early  settlement  being  made  in  Virginia,  from 
which  section  they  were  pioneers  in  Texas  and  later  a 
branch  settled  in  Missouri,  and  in  that  state  the  father 
of  Professor  Lowe  was  born,  in  1833.  From  there,  in 
1859,  he  moved  to  Cook  County,  Texas,  where  he  married 
M.  M.  Tittle,  who  was  born  in  1838,  and  to  this  union 
six  children  were  born : Joan,  who  is  the  wife  of  Paris 

Hodge,  who  is  a farmer  in  Oklahoma;  Daniel  P. ; Janey, 
who  is  the  wife  of  J.  F.  Walker,  a farmer  near  Orr, 
Oklahoma;  Julia,  who  was  the  victim  of  an  accident, 
died  at  Forestburg,  Texas,  in  her  twenty-second  year; 
T.  B.,  who  is  a farmer  and  stockman  near  Sweetwater, 
Oklahoma;  and  W.  A.,  who  died  at  Forestburg,  Texas, 
at  the  age  of  twenty-five  years. 

J.  D.  Lowe  in  1873  removed  with  his  family  to  Mon- 
tague County.  Texas,  and  from  there,  in  1907,  came  to 
Sweetwater,  Oklahoma,  where  he  yet  resides,  a retired 
farmer  and  stockman.  During  the  war  between  the 
states  he  served  four  years  in  the  Confederate  army, 
enlisting  from  Texas,  in  Marsh’s  Regiment,  surviving  all 
the  hardships  and  dangers  of  that  time  and  returned 


1830 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


home  practically  unharmed.  He  is  identified  with  the 
democratic  party  and  both  he  and  wife  are  members 
of  the  Christian  Church  and  are  people  justly  held  in 
high  esteem. 

Darnel  Jr*.  Lowe  began  school  life  in  Montague  County, 
Texas,  continuing  until  his  graduation  from  the  high 
school,  afterward  taking  a course  in  the  commercial 
department  of  the  normal  school,  some  years  afterward, 
in  1905,  taking  the  teacher’s  course  in  the  Denton  Normal 
School.  Beginning  educational  work  in  1897,  Mr.  Lowe 
has  been  almost  continuously  in  this  field  ever  since,  in 
the  fall  of  1914  coming  to  Beckham  County  in  his 
present  capacity  with  eighteen  years  ’ of  varied  educa- 
tional experience  behind  him. 

At  Forestburg,  Texas,  in  1897,  Mr.  Lowe  had  his  first 
teaching  experience,  remaining  there  until  1900,  after 
which  he  taught  two  years  in  Fannin  County  and  tlieu 
two  years  in  Denton  County,  when  he  was  recalled  to 
Forestburg  and  taught  there  for  three  more  years.  In 
1907,  on  the  day  that  Oklahoma  became  a state,  he  filed 
on  a claim  of  160  acres  in  Beckham  County  situated  ten 
miles  due  north  of  Texola,  later  proved  up  and  still  owns 
this  property,  which  has  become  very  valuable.  In  the 
same  year  he  began  teaching  in  this  county  and  continued 
until  1912,  when  he  accepted  the  position  of  principal 
of  the  higli  schools  of  Delhi,  Oklahoma,  where  he  con- 
tinued until  November  6,  1914,  when  he  was  elected 
county  superintendent  of  the  schools  of  Beckham  County, 
assuming  the  duties  of  this  office  on  July  1,  1915,  taking 
up  his  residence  at  Sayre,  his  offices  being  in  the  court- 
house. Superintendent  Lowe  has  under  his  care,  control 
and  supervision,  72  schools,  130  teachers  and  5,000  pupils. 
In  his  administration  he  has  proved  wise,  resourceful  and 
firm  and  there  is  great  reason  for  the  citizens  of  this 
county  to  be  well  satisfied  with  their  choice. 

At  Forestburg,  Texas,  on  December  29,  1900,  Mr.  Lowe 
was  united  in  marriage  with  Miss  Josie  Wylie,  who  is  a 
daughter  .of  J.  F.  Wylie,  who  is  a retired  farmer  residing 
in  that  city.  Professor  and  Mrs.  Lowe  have  two  chil- 
dren: Fay,  who  was  born  January  30,  1912,  and  D.  P., 

who  was  born  April  3,  1914,  both  at  Delhi,  this  state. 

Although  not  particularly  active  in  politics,  Mr.  Lowe 
has  always  been  firm  in  his  adherence  to  the  principles 
of  the  democratic  party.  He  is  quite  well  known  in 
fraternal  life,  having  membership  in  Erick  Lodge  No. 
327,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons ; Sayre  Lodge 
No.  258,  Odd  Fellows;  and  Delhi  Camp,  Modern  Wood- 
men of  America.  As  a representative  educator  of  the 
state  he  is  frequently  called  on  for  addresses  and  lectures 
and  is  a valued  member  of  both  the  Beckham  County  and 
the  Oklahoma  State  Teachers’  associations.  Both  he  and 
wife  are  members  of  the  Christian  Church. 

Wilbert  W.  Brunskill.  A considerable  part  of  the 
enterprise  and  energy  that  have  gone  into  commercial  and 
agricultural  development  in  and  about  Elgin  has  been 
supplied  by  Wilbert  W.  Brunskill,  president  and  owner 
of  the  Bank  of  Elgin.  Mr.  Brunskill  is  a banker  of  long 
experience,  having  been  identified  with  that  business  back 
in  Iowa,  and  is  also  a large  land  owner  and  is  identified 
with  several  of  the  most  important  enterprises  at  Elgin. 

The  Brunskills  were  pioneer  settlers  in  the  vicinity 
of  Dubuque,  Iowa,  where  Mr.  Brunskill ’s  grandfather, 
Joseph  J.,  who  came  from  England  and  first  settled  in 
Ohio,  located  about  the  time  Iowa  was  admitted  to  the 
Union  and  before  any  railroads  had  been  constructed  to 
Dubuque.  He  was  identified  with  the  development  of  the 
lead  mines  in  that  region,  and  owned  some  large  interests 
of  that  kind.  He  died  at  Dubuque.  It  was  in  Dubuque 
City  that  Wilbert  W.  Brunskill  was  born  April  15,  1877. 
His  father,  J.  W.  Brunskill,  who  was  born  at  Dubuque  in 
1848,  removed  not  long  after  his  marriage  to  Cherokee 


County,  Iowa,  where  he  was  a farmer  and  also  in  the 
grain  and  general  merchandise  business.  In  1884  he  re- 
moved to  Hawarden  in  Sioux  County,  Iowa,  where  he 
was  a hardware,  harness  and  implement  dealer,  also  owned 
the  opera  house  at  the  time,  and  had  farming  property. 
In  1902  J.  W.  Brunskill  left  Iowa  and  settled  at  Bridge- 
water,  South  Dakota,  on  a farm,  but  since  1907  has  been 
a farmer  at  Sauk  Center,  Minnesota.  He  is  a member 
of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  and  of  the  Masonic 
fraternity.  His  wife  was  Maria  Frost,  who  was  born 
in  Dubuque,  Iowa,  in  1850,  and  died  at  Hawarden  in 
Sioux  County  of  that  state  in  1892.  The  children  now 
living  are:  Nettie  E.,  a resident  of  Petaluma,  California; 
Wilbert  W. ; Grace  M.,  of  Gray  Eagle,  Minnesota;  and 
J.  William,  who  is  with  his  father  at  Sauk  Center, 
Minnesota. 

Most  of  his  early  schooling  Wilbert  W.  Brunskill  ac- 
quired in  the  public  schools  of  Hawarden,  Iowa,  where 
he  was  graduated  from  the  high  school  with  the  class 
of  1894.  He  had  already  become  connected  with  the 
Northwestern  State  Bank  of  Hawarden,  and  was  assistant 
cashier  in  that  institution  until  1900.  That  year  he 
became  vice  president  of  the  Bank  of  Chatsworth,  Iowa, 
but  in  1906  removed  to  Elgin,  Oklahoma,  and  for  the 
past  ten  years  has  made  himself  one  of  the  leading  factors 
in  the  development  of  that  town.  On  coming  to  Elgin 
he  bought  the  Bank  of  Elgin,  but  sold  out  in  1908,  and 
the  following  six  years  were  spent  in  other  local  affairs. 
In  February,  1914,  he  again  acquired  the  sole  ownership 
of  the  bank,  and  both  during  his  former  ownership  and 
at  present  has  been  president.  The  Bank  of  Elgin  was 
established  in  1902  as  a state  bank  by  J.  A.  Butler  and 
F.  B.  Dykeman.  Its  building,  situated  on  Main  Street, 
was  erected  in  1902.  While  Mr.  Brunskill  is  president, 
the  vice  president  is  B.  M.  Brunskill  and  the  cashier  is 
A.  L.  Boberts.  The  bank  has  a capital  stock  of  $5,000, 
and  surplus  of  $3,500. 

Mr.  Brunskill  is  also  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the 
Elgin  Farmers  Telephone  Company,  is  owner  of  the  Elgin 
elevator  and  Elgin  flour  milling  plant,  and  one  of  the 
largest  stockholders  in  the  Elgin  Bonded  Cotton  Ware- 
house Company.  His  interests  as  a farmer  are  extensive, 
including  the  supervision  of  the  efforts  of  a number  of 
tenants  who  employ  his  800  acres  situated  in  Cotton,  Co- 
manche and  Garfield  counties  for  diversified  agricul- 
ture. He  is  a member  of  the  Oklahoma  State  Bank  Asso- 
ciation and  the  Oklahoma  Grain  Dealers  Association,  has 
served  on  the  local  school  board,  and  in  1915  was  elected 
mayor  of  Elgin.  In  politics  he  is  a republican. 

At  Lyons,  Nebraska,  in  1900  Mr.  Brunskill  married 
Beatrice  Coffin,  whose  father,  L.  C.  Coffin,  is  a general 
merchant  and . farmer  at  Elgin,  Oklahoma.  Four  chil- 
dren have  been  born  to  their  marriage:  Donovan  W.  is 
a student  in  the  state  university  at  Norman,  where  he  is 
specializing  in  the  Spanish  language  and  in  music ; Hollis 
W.  is  in  the  fourth  grade  of  the  Elgin  public  schools ; and 
the  two  younger  children  are  Milo  S.  and  James  Bonar. 

Frederick  E.  Dolson,  M.  D.  The  first  physician 
and  surgeon  to  locate  permanently  at  the  new  Town  of 
Faxon  in  Southwestern  Oklahoma  was  Dr.  Frederick  B. 
Dolson,  who  has  been  identified  professionally  with  that 
community  for  the  past  eight  years  and  has  also  con- 
tributed to  the  commercial  life  of  the  village  by  estab- 
lishing and  maintaining  the  only  drug  store.  He  is  other- 
wise a factor  in  public  affairs  and  has  a large  practice 
and  is  one  of  the  most  useful  members  of  the  com- 
munity. 

Born  at  New  Orleans,  Louisiana,  November  6,  1869, 
Doctor  Dolson  has  had  a life  of  varied  effeetfulness  and 
experience.  His  early  schooling  was  continued  only  to 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


1831 


about  twelve  or  thirteen  years  of  age,  at  which  time  he 
went  out  to  the  great  cattle  range  of  Kansas,  and  for 
several  years  pursued  the  active  and  exciting  life  of  a 
cowboy.  He  became  ambitious  for  a good  education  and 
for  a work  of  more  permanent  usefulness  than  that  of 
cattle  herder,  and  while  in  Kansas  he  attended  night 
schools  at  Wichita  for  six  years  and  also  completed  a 
three  years  ’ course  in  a preparatory  college  conducted  by 
the  Adventist  Church  at  Battle  Creek,  Michigan.  In 
1898  Doctor  Dolson  completed  his  medical  course  in  the 
Tulane  University  at  New  Orleans,  where  he  was  grad- 
uated M.  D.,  and  almost  immediately  after  leaving  college 
enlisted  for  service  in  the  Spanish-American  war  as  a 
surgeon.  He  was  surgeon  on  duty  at  Fort  St.  Philip  at 
the  mouth  of  the  Mississippi  two  months,  was  then  trans- 
ferred to  the  First  Army  Corps,  and  sent  to  Jackson- 
ville, Florida,  two  months,  then  to  Savannah,  Georgia, 
and  finally  to  Cuba.  His  service  with  the  army  con- 
tinued for  two  years.  After  this  experience  as  an  army 
surgeon  Doctor  Dolson  practiced  medicine  at  Fort  Worth, 
Texas,  from  1900  to  1903,  removed  to  Lawton,  Oklahoma, 
in  the  latter  year,  and  maintained  his  office  in  that  city 
up  to  1907,  in  which  year  he  identified  himself  with  the 
newly  established  Town  of  Faxon.  Both  his  business 
and  reputation  have  been  of  growing  proportions  since 
locating  there,  and  in  1907  he  also  opened  a drug  store 
now  the  only  enterprise  of  that  kind  in  the  village, 
situated  on  Main  Street. 

Doctor  Dolson ’s  grandfather  emigrated  from  England 
and  settled  near  Chatham,  Ontario,  Canada,  where  he  was 
a hardware  merchant.  He  also  lived  in  Louisiana  for  a 
time,  where  his  son  J.  A.  Dolson  was  born  in  1838. 
Doctor  Dolson ’s ' father  died  at  Frankfort,  Indiana,  in 
1880,  having  removed  to  that  locality  from  Louisiana. 
He  was  a stock  broker  by  trade,  and  during  the  war 
between  the  states  had  served  3%  years  in  a Louisiana 
regiment  in  the  Confederate  army.  He  was  once  wounded 
and  taken  prisoner.  In  religion  he  was  a Presbyterian, 
and  was  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  Order  and  the  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  His  wife  was  Jane  Cham- 
bers, who  was  born  in  Ohio,  in  1823,  and  died  at  Frank- 
fort, Indiana,  in  March,  1915.  Her  children  were:  Stella, 
who  is  the  wife  of  Fred  Mash  and  lives  on  their  farm 
near  Tulsa,  Oklahoma;  Nettie,  who  is  still  living  at 
Frankfort,  Indiana;  Bessie,  who  died  in  1900  when 
about  twenty- two  years  of  age;  John,  who  is  a con- 
tractor and  builder  in  California;  and  Doctor  Frederick, 
the  youngest. 

Doctor  Dolson  is  a democrat,  and  for  the  past  seven 
years  has  been  city  treasurer  of  Faxon.  He  is  affiliated 
with  Faxon  Lodge  No.  534  of  the  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows,  and  is  also  identified  with  the  various 
medical  organizations.  At  Lawton  in  1908  he  married 
Miss  Ida  Covell,  whose  father-,  Winkell  Coveil,  is  a resi- 
dent of  St.  Louis,  Missouri.  They  have  one  son,  Jack 
Woodrow,  who  was  born  August  27,  1912. 

Hon.  Jerry  C.  Dulaney.  A representative  of  the 
type  of  citizenship  which  has  been  the  main  factor  in  the 
upbuilding  and  development  of  the  newer  towns  of  Okla- 
homa is  found  in  the  person  of  Hon.  Jerry  C.  Dulaney, 
mayor  of  Devol  and  proprietor  of  the  only  drug  establish- 
ment at  this  place.  Since  his  arrival  here,  in  1909,  he  has 
identified  himself  with  the  best  interests  of  this  thriv- 
ing community,  and  in  his  official  capacity,  in  which  he 
has  served  since  1912,  has  instituted  many  reforms  and 
secured  numerous  advantages  which  have  combined  to 
add  to  the  importance  and  prestige  of  his  adopted  place. 

Mayor  Dulaney  was  born  February  11,  1864,  in  Texas, 
and  is  a descendant  of  ancestors  who  came  to  America 
from  France  prior  to  the  Revolutionary  war.  From  one 


of  the  eastern  states  members  of  the  family  migrated  as 
pioneers  to  Mississippi,  where  in  1829  was  born  the 
father  of  Jerry  C.  Dulaney,  William  Payton  Dulaney. 
The  latter,  as* a young  man  of  twenty  years,  moved  to 
Texas  and  engaged  in  farming,  and  continued  to  be  so 
occupied  until  1863.  In  the  meantime  he  had  enlisted 
in  the  Home  Guards,  and  was  made  captain  of  his  com- 
pany, and  in  the  year  mentioned  was  sent  out  to  hold 
the  hostile  Indians  in  check,  taking  his  family  with  him. 
He  had  reached  Weatherford,  Parker  County,  Texas, 
when  he  met  his  death,  shot  by  one  of  his  men  for  an 
Indian.  In  December,  1863,  Mrs.  Dulaney,  who  had  been 
born  in  Mississippi  in  1830,  at  once  started  back  toward 
Corsicana,  Navarro  County,  Texas,  with  her  children,  but 
ere  she  could  reach  there,  her  child,  Jerry  C.,  was  born, 
about  two  months  after  his  father’s  death.  Mrs.  Du- 
laney bore  the  maiden  name  of  Lucinda  White,  and  sur- 
vived her  husband  many  years,  dying  at  Devol,  Oklahoma, 
in  January,  1915,  when  in  her  eighty-third  year.  She 
and  her  husband  were  the  parents  of  eight  children: 
T.  J.,  who  resides  in  Harper  County,  Oklahoma,  and  is 
engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits ; Susie,  who  married 
James  Chappell,  a farmer  of  the  State  of  New  Mexico; 
J.  N.,  who  carries  on  farming  at  Temple,  Oklahoma; 
Sarah,  who  married  S.  A.  Ritchie,  and  resides  at  Paris, 
Texas,  Mr.  Ritchie  being  a carpenter  and  builder;  J.  W., 
the  proprietor  of  a cotton  gin  at  Altus,  Oklahoma;  J.  G., 
who  was  a merchant  at  Paducah,  Texas;  J.  D.,  who  is  a 
carpenter  and  builder  of  New  Mexico;  and  Jerry  C.,  of 
this  notice. 

Jerry  C.  Dulaney  received  his  education  in  the  public 
schools  of  Texas,  which  he  attended,  off  and  on,  until  he 
was  twenty-one  years  of  age.  He  was  reared  to  agricul- 
tural pursuits,  and  when  he  entered  upon  an  independent 
career  t started  farming  in  Falls  County,  Texas,  where 
he  remained  until  1888.  In  that  year  he  entered  the 
drug  business  at  Durango,  Texas,  where  he  remained 
three  years,  subsequently  drifting  from  place  to  place 
in  Western  Texas  for  two  years,  and  finally  coming  to 
Ryan,  Oklahoma,  where  he  remained  three  years  as  a 
druggist.  Returning  to  Falls  County,  for  four  years 
he  had  a pharmacy  of  his  own,  and  in  1901  returned 
to  Ryan,  Oklahoma  (then  Indian  Territory),  and  con- 
ducted a drug  store  until  the  opening  of  the  Comanche 
country  in  the  fall  of  the  same  year.  At  that  time  he 
obtained  a claim  south  of  Temple,  Oklahoma,  on  which 
he  lived  until  he  had  proved  it,  and  in  1907  went  to 
Temple  and  engaged  in  the  grocery  business,  remaining 
something  more  than  a year.  In  1909  Mr.  Dulaney 
came  to  Devol  and  started  a drug  store,  and  this  has 
since  continued  to  be  the  only  establishment  of  its  kind 
in  the  city.  The  business  is  located  on  Wichita  Avenue, 
where  Mr.  Dulaney  carries  an  up-to-date  line  of  drug 
goods  of  all  descriptions,  attractively  arranged  and 
moderately  priced.  He  has  built  up  an  excellent  busi- 
ness through  good  management  and  a spirit  of  progress 
and  enterprise,  and  is  known  as  one  of  the  substantial 
merchants  of  the  city.  A democrat  in  his  political 
views,  Mr.  Dulaney ’s  well  known  ability  caused  him  to 
be  chosen  by  his  fellow-citizens  for  the  office  of  mayor, 
in  1912,  and  he  still  retains  that  office,  his  administra- 
tion having  been  marked  by  faithful  and  efficient  per- 
formance of  duty  and  careful  conservation  of  his  city’s 
interests.  He  is  a member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church,  South,  is  an  active  worker  in  the  Devol  Com- 
mercial Club,  and  fraternally  is  affiliated  with  Lodge 
No.  548,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  of  which 
he  is  past  grand;  and  Devol  Lodge  No.  11,823,  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America,  of  which  he  is  past  venerable 
consul. 

Mr.  Dulaney  was  married  in  1896,  in  Lee  County, 


1832 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Texas,  to  Miss  A*bie  Martin,  of  Giddings,  Texas,  daugh- 
ter of  C.  M.  Martin,  who  is  now  a farmer  and  resides 
at  Devol,  Oklahoma.  To  this  union  there  have  been 
born  seven  children,  as  follows:  Willie  Earl,  who  died  at 
the  age  of  eighteen  months;  Ima,  who  is  a freshman  at 
the  Devol  High  School;  Ila,  who  died  at  the  age  of 
eight  years;  LeRoy,  who  died  at  the  age  of  six  years; 
Thelma,  who  is  attending  the  public  schools;  and  Edna 
and  an  infant  daughter. 

Willard  R.  Bleakmore.  Prominent  among  those 
who  are  lending  dignity  and  distinction  to  the  bench 
and  bar  of  the  State  of  Oklahoma  is  Judge  Bleakman, 
who  has  served  as  associate  justice  of  the  Supreme 
Court  of  this  commonwealth,  who  has  been  a resident 
of  Oklahoma  since  1890  and  a representative  mem- 
ber of  its  bar  since  1892. 

Judge  Bleakmore  is  a scion  of  an  old  and  honored 
family  of  the  historic  Old  Dominion  and  takes  just 
pride  in  reverting  to  that  commonwealth  as  the  place 
of  his  nativity.  He  was  born  in  the  City  of  Rich- 
mond, Virginia,  on  the  22d  of  September,  1872,  and  is 
a son  of  Wylie  H.  and  Mary  E.  (Goddard)  Bleakmore, 
who  now  maintain  their  residence  at  Ardmore,  Okla- 
homa, where  they  established  their  home  in  1894  and 
where  the  father  is  a representative  merchant  and  an 
honored  and  influential  citizen,  he  having  been  an  able 
representative  of  the  newspaper  fraternity  prior  to  turn- 
ing his  attention  to  his  present  line  of"  business  enter- 
prise. 

He  whose  name  initiates  this  review  was  a boy  at 
the  time  of  his  parents’  removal  to  the  State  of  Iowa, 
where  he  was  reared  to  maturity  and  where  he  duly 
availed  himself  of  the  advantages  of  the  public  schools. 
In  1890,  when  seventeen  years  of  age,  Judge  Bleakmore 
came  to  the  Territory  of  Oklahoma  and  established 
his  residence  in  Oklahoma  City,  where  he  studied  law 
under  effective  preceptorship  and  where  he  was  admitted 
to  the  territorial  bar  in  1892.  He  was  here  engaged 
in  the  practice  of  his  profession  until  1894,  when  he 
removed  to  Ardmore,  now  the  judicial  center  of  Carter 
County,  where  he  has  since  maintained  his  home  save 
for  the  time  that  his  official  duties  on  the  supreme 
bench  have  demanded  his  presence  in  the  capital  city 
of  the  state.  At  Ardmore  he  was  engaged  in  the 
active  general  practice  of  his  profession  until  his  eleva- 
tion to  the  bench  of  the  Supreme  Court,  in  1914,  and 
from  1898  to  1910  he  was  there  a member  of  the  repre- 
sentative law  firm  of  Cruee,  Cruce  & Bleakmore.  In 
1912  Judge  Bleakmore  was  elected  county  attorney  of 
Carter  County,  of  which  office  he  continued  the  incum- 
bent until  May  25,  1914,  when  he  was  appointed  an 
associate  justice  of  the  Supreme  Court  of  the  state,  to 
fill  out  the  unexpired  term  caused  by  the  retirement  of 
Judge  Stillwell  H.  Russell.  He  continued  a zealous,  cir- 
cumspect and  valued  member  of  the  supreme  tribunal 
of  the  state  until  the  expiration  of  the  term  for  which 
he  was  appointed,  in  January,  1915,  when  he  resumed 
the  private  practice  of  his  profession  at  Ardmore,  where 
he  retains  a substantial  and  representative  clientage. 

Judge  Bleakmore  is  prominently  identified  with  the 
Masonic  fraternity,  in  which,  in  addition  to  being  affil- 
iated with  the  lodge,  chapter  and  commandery  bodies 
of  the  York  Rite,  he  has  received  the  thirty-second  de- 
gree of  the  Ancient  Accepted  Scottish  Rite,  and  holds 
membership  in  India  Temple  of  the  Ancient  Arabic 
Order  of  the  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Guthrie. 
In  his  home  city  he  is  affiliated  with  Ardmore  Lodge, 
No.  648,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  Both 
he  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian  Church 
of  Ardmore,  and  his  political  allegiance  being  indicated 


by  his  zealous  and  effective  advocacy  of  the  principles  I 
and  policies,  of  the  democratic  party. 

In  the  year  1892  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  II 
Judge  Bleakmore  to  Miss  Annie  Hazen,  daughter  of  H 
Alonzo  E.  Hazen,  of  Oklahoma  City,  and  they  have  four  f 
sons,  Prank  W.,  Jack  K.,  Robert  and  Kenneth. 

Thomas  Lane,  M.  D.  A worthy  vand  capable  repre- 
sentative  of  the  medical  fraternity  of  Oklahoma  is  found  j| 
in  the  person  of  Dr.  Thomas  Lane,  who  since  1899  has  II 
been  engaged  in  an  ever-increasing  practice  at  El  Reno.  [I 
That  measure  of  resource,  energy  and  broad-mindedness  [I 
which  is  required  of  the  professional  man  of  today  I 
seem  to  be  an  integral  part  of  his  equipment,  and  being  II 
an  enthusiastic  and  careful  thinker,  while  he 'maintains  jl 
a respect  for  tradition,  he  is  not  afraid  of  untrod  paths,  I 
or  independent  individual  effort. 

Doctor  Lane  was  born  near  Springfield,  Missouri,  II 
August  10,  1858,  and  is  a son  of  Calvin  and  Cynthia  II 
(Harris)  Lane.  When  he  was  four  years  of  age  his  II 
mother  died,  and  only  one  year  later  his  father  passed  II 
away,  so  that  he  was  taken  to  the  home  of  his  grand-  I 
parents  in  Illinois,  and  by  them  was  reared.  His  literary  | 
education  was  obtained  at  Mountain  Grove  (Missouri)  || 
Academy  and  Blackburn  University,  Carlin ville,  Illinois,  II 
and  thus  equipped  entered  upon  a career  as  an  educator,  11 
but  after  four  years  thus  spent  turned  his  attention  to  I 
the  study  of  medicine,  for  which  profession  he  had  had  a I 
predilection  from  boyhood.  He  subsequently  entered  the  I 
Missouri  Medical  College,  now  the  medical  department  11' 
of  Washington  University,  St.  Louis,  from  which  he  was  |j 
graduated  with  his  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine  in  1886.  || 

He  at  once  entered  upon  the  practice  of  his  profession  II 
at  Mountain  Grove,  Missouri,  and  continued  there  for  II 
fourteen  years,  building  up  a very  satisfying  professional  I 
business.  In  1899,  seeking  a wider  field  for  his  labors,  j| 
Doctor  Lane  came  to  El  Reno,  Oklahoma,  where  he  has  j| 
continued  as  a practitioner  to  the  present  time.  Doctor  11 
Lane’s  practice  is  broad  and  general  in  its  character,  II 
he  being  equally  at  home  in  the  various  departments  of  || 
his  profession.  His  superior  talents  and  abilities  have  II 
been  demonstrated  on  numerous  occasions,  and  among  [I 
his  professional  brethren  he  enjoys  a high  reputation  I 
as  one  who  observes  the  unwritten  ethics  of  the  calling.  II 
He  has  kept  fully  abreast  of  the  various  advancements  II 
made  in  medicine  and  surgery  during  recent  years,  and,  II 
unlike  many  others,  did  not  cease  his  studies  when  he  I 
left  college,  for  he  has  continued  to  be  an  earnest,  I 
zealous  and  painstaking  student,  and  has  pursued  post-  II 
graduate  work  at  various  institutions  in  Chicago,  St.  [I 
Louis  and  New  Orleans.  Doctor  Lane’s  professional  [I 
connections  include  membership  in  the  Canadian  County  I 
Medical  Society,  the  Oklahoma  State  Medical  Society  I 
and  the  American  Medical  Association.  In  his  political  w 
views  he  is  a democrat,  but  confines  his  public  activities  II 
to  taking  a good  citizen’s  interest  in  matters  that  affect  [l 
the  welfare  of  the  community.  Fraternally  he  is  con-  I 
neeted  with  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  | 
the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  the  Modern  | 
Woodmen  of  America,  and  is  also  a Mason  and  a past  jl 
master  of  his  lodge. 

In  1884  Doctor  Lane  was  united  in  marriage  with  p 
Miss  Emma  Dora  McCuiston  and  to  this  union  there  L 
have  been  born  three  children:  Gertrude,  Ray  and  i 

Lorraine. 

H.  M.  Freas.  Every  community  owes  a debt  of  grat-  | 
itude  to  the  men  who  protect  it  from  the  depredations  | 
of  the  criminal  classes.  A once  popular  song  contained  I 
the  line,  “A  policeman’s  lot  is  not  a happy  one,”  and  it  j] 
is  often  the  case  that  the  arduous  duties  of  the  guardians  I 
of  the  law  are  faithfully  performed  without  meeting  with  jl 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1833 


an  adequate  reward  or  a due  measure  of  appreciation. 
The  latter,  however,  cannot  be  said  of  H.  M.  Freas,  of 
Pawhuska,  Oklahoma,  whose  services  as  sheriff  of  Osage 
County  for  the  last  five  years  are  highly  regarded  by  his 
fellow  citizens.  Sheriff  Freas  was  born  in  Berwick,  Col- 
umbia County,  Pennsylvania,  March  15,  1863,  and  is  now 
therefore  in  the  prime  of  life.  His  parents  were  Jona- 
than and  Susanna  (Campbell)  Freas,  who  in  1868  moved 
to  Sterling,  Illinois,  and  later  to  southeastern  Kansas, 
the  father  dying  at  Independence,  Montgomery  County, 
that  state,  in  1909,  at  the  advanced  age  of  eighty-seven 
years.  He  was  a farmer  by  occupation,  and  a veteran  of 
the  Civil  war,  having  served  Vs  captain  of  Company  G, 
One  Hundred  and  Fifth  Pennsylvania  Infantry.  . A re- 
publican in  politics,  he  belonged  also  to  the  Grand 
Army,  and  was  a loyal,  patriotic  and  useful  citizen,  in 
short,  a good  American.  His  widow  is  still  living  and  is 
a resident  of  Independence.  They  were  the  parents  of 
five  children,  namely:  H.  M.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch; 
Sadie,  who  resides  in  Waterloo,  Iowa;  Ella,  wife  of  W. 
H.  Tasker  of  Tyro,  Kansas;  Ida,  wife  of  Frank  Shudy, 
of  Okmulgee;  and  Bertha,  who  married  W.  H.  Harper, 
and  resides  with  her  husband  in  Independence,  Kansas. 

H.  M.  Freas  resided  in  Montgomery  County,  Kansas, 
for  the  first  twenty-two  years  of  his  life,  from  early  boy- 
hood being  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits.  In  1886 
he  came  to  Oklahoma,  settling  in  Osage  County  and  buy- 
ing a farm  about  three  miles  east  of  Pawhuska,  on  which 
he  still  resides,  and  which  he  is  operating  successfully. 
A democrat  in  politics,  he  has  long  taken  an  active  in- 
terest in  public  affairs,  and  in  1910  was  elected  sheriff 
of  Osage  County,  being  re-elected  to  the  same  office  in 
1912  and  1914,  so  that  he  is  now  serving  in  his  third 
term.  Fearless  in  the  discharge  of  his  duty,  he  has 
proved  his  efficiency  by  sending  over  seventy  men  to  the 
penitentiary,  many  of  whom  were  among  the  worst  crim- 
inals in  the  state.  In  thus  safe-guarding  life  and  prop- 
erty he  has  made  himself  a terror  to  evil  doers  and  has 
rendered  a great  service  to  the  county,  which  his  fellow 
citizens  appreciate. 

Sheriff  Freas  was  married  in  1885  to  Miss  Pauline 
Palzin,  who  was  born  in  Berlin,  Germany,  in  1862,  and 
emigrated  with  her  parents  to  Illinois,  where  he  first  met 
her.  They  have  had  seven  children  born  to  them,  namely: 
Bertha,  who  is  the  wife  of  J.  M.  Gordon,  of  Osage  County, 
Oklahoma;  Florence,  wife  of  Joe  Bowers,  of  Osage 
County;  Amy,  who  married  Sam  Kennedy  and  resides 
with  her  husband  in  Pawhuska;  Bessie;  Pauline  and  H. 
M.  Freas,  Jr. 

Leland  H.  D.  Cook.  When  the  City  of  Okmulgee 
adopted  a new  municipal  charter  of  the  commission  form, 
the  people  chose  as  their  first  commissioner  of  finance 
L.  H.  D.  Cook  and  during  his  one  term  in  that  office 
he  made  a very  creditable  record  and  completely  reor- 
ganized the  financial  system  of  the  city. 

He  was  able  to  bring  to  that  office  a thorough  ex- 
perience in  commercial  affairs,  acquired  largely  through 
the  insurance  business.  Mr.  Cook  has  lived  in  Okmulgee 
since  1908,  and  since  then  has  been  in  the  real  estate 
and  insurance  business  with  the  exception  of  the  term 
he  served  the  city  government.  Among  other  interests 
which  he  represents  he  is  general  agent  for  the  United 
States  Fidelity  & Guaranty  Company  of  Baltimore.  He 
has  also  acquired  oil  interests  in  the  new  state  and  is 
secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  John  Owen  Oil  Company 
of  Okmulgee. 

L.  H.  D.  Cook  was  born  in  Newfield,  New  York,  in 
Tompkins  County,  June  27,  1884.  His  parents,  S.  Dudley 
and  Anna  (McDaniels)  Cook  were  also  born  at  Newfield, 
New  York,  but  for  the  last  three  years  have  made  their 


home  at  Bochester  in  that  state.  The  father  is  a retired 
merchant.  He  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Tomp- 
kins County  Co-operative  Fire  Insurance  Company,  said 
to  be  the  most  successful  company  of  its  kind  in  the 
United  States.  Mr.  Cook’s  grandfather  was  Dr.  C.  C. 
Cook,  a successful  physician  who  was  engaged  in  recruit- 
ing and  other  service  during  the  Civil  war.  It  will  be 
pf  interest  to  state  that  Doctor  Cook  was  a schoolmate 
and  friend  of  Grover  Cleveland,  and  Mr.  Cook  of  Ok- 
mulgee has  in  his  possession  some  letters  written  by  the 
former  president  to  his  grandfather. 

The  only  child  of  his  parents  L.  H.  D.  Cook  lived  at 
home  until  he  was  fifteen,  and  his  early  experiences  out- 
side of  home  were  connected  with  the  public  schools  of 
Newfield  and  with  his  father’s  store.  At  the  age  of 
fifteen  he  entered  Cornell  University,  where  he  became 
a member  of  the  class  of  1904,  and  remained  in  college 
two  years.  After  that  for  a year  he  was  clerk  in  a drug 
store  at  Corning,  New  York,  and  then  took  up  the  busi- 
ness which  has  been  his  real  vocation.  He  represented 
the  Prudential  Life  at  Corning  until  1907,  and  then  went 
to  Syracuse  as  manager  of  the  Syracuse  office  for  the 
Security  Mutual  Life  Insurance  Company  of  Bingham- 
ton, New  York.  From  there  he  removed  to  Okmulgee 
in  1908. 

In  politics  Mr.  Cook  is  a republican,  is  a member  of 
the  Episcopal  Church,  and  has  been  especially  interested 
in  Masonry.  His  Blue  Lodge  affiliations  are  with  King 
Hiram  Lodge  No.  784,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons,  at  Newfield,  New  York.  His  grandfather  was  a 
charter  member  of  this  lodge,  and  both  his  father  and 
uncles  were  members.  Mr.  Cook  is  a member  of  the 
Boyal  Arch  Chapter  and  of  Commandery  No.  25,  Knights 
Templars,  at  Okmulgee. 

In  April,  1909,  he  married  Linnie  Parker,  who  was 
born  October  13,  1884,  at  Clarksburg  in  Carroll  County, 
Tennessee.  She  came  to  Muskogee,  Oklahoma,  in  1907. 
They  are  the  parents  of  two  children:  Anna  Lynn  and 

Dudley  Parker. 

Harper  Wright,  M.  D.  Many  of  the  new  towns  in 
Western  Oklahoma  are  attracting  professional  men  of 
decidedly  superior  attainments  and  training,  and  the  gen- 
eral average  of  proficiency  and  ability  to  be  found  among 
the  professional  men  of  these  new  communities  is  de- 
cidedly higher  than  that  which  prevailed  in  the  older 
part  of  the  state  in  earlier  years.  An  example  of  these 
younger  leaders  in  the  professional  life  of  Western  Okla- 
homa is  Dr.  Harper  Wright,  a physician  and  surgeon  who 
has  recently  taken  up  practice  at  Grandfield. 

Born  at  Farill,  Alabama,  November  23,  1887,  Harper 
Wright  attended  the  public  schools  there,  graduated  from 
the  Gaylesville  High  School  in  Alabama  with  the  class 
of  1904,  in  1907  finished  the  course  of  the  noted  old  Webb 
Preparatory  School  at  Bellbuckle,  Tennessee,  and  in  the 
same  year  took  a business  course  in  Eastman’s  Busi- 
ness College  at  Poughkeepsie,  New  York.  In  1913  Doctor 
Wright  was  graduated  from  the  Atlanta  College  of 
Physicians  and  Surgeons  at  Atlanta,  Georgia.  His  thor- 
ough training  in  preparation  for  the  profession  also  in- 
cluded one  year  spent  as  interne  at  the  Erlanger  Hospi- 
tal in  Chattanooga,  Tennessee,  and  for  six  months  he  was 
associated  with  an  eminent  surgeon,  Dr.  Raymond  Wal- 
lace, F.  A.  C.  S.,  of  Chattanooga. 

The  Wright  family  came  from  England  to  Georgia 
prior  to  the  Revolution,  and  was  related  to  the  family 
of  General  Oglethorpe,  the  founder  and  leader  of  the 
Georgia  colony.  Doctor  Wright’s  father  was  A.  R. 
Wright,  who  was  born  at  Cave  Springs,  Georgia,  in  1859, 
and  for  the  past  thirty  years  has  been  prominently  identi- 
fied with  the  business  community  of  Farill,  Alabama, 


1834 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


where  he  has  been  a merchant,  a farmer  and  stock  raiser, 
sawmill  owner,  manufacturer  of  charcoal,  and  with 
practically  every  enterprise  of  any  importance  in  that 
town.  He  is  a democrat  and  a member  of  the  Baptist 
Church.  He  died  March  1,  1916.  His  wife  was  Effie 
Stewart,  who  was  born  at  Atlanta,  Georgia,  in  1867,  and 
died  at  Fanil,  Alabama,  in  July,  1911.  Doctor  Wright 
was  the  oldest  of  their  children,  and  the  others  were: 
Annie,  wife  of  J.  F.  McGee,  who  is  assistant  to  the  secre- 
tary and  treasurer  of  the  Anchor  Duck  Mills  at  Borne, 
Georgia;  Gus,  who  is  a farmer  at  Farill,  Alabama;  Mar- 
garet, wife  of  Lewis  Lilley,  of  Parrot,  Georgia;  and 
Mose,  attending  the  preparatory  school  at  Borne,  Georgia. 

Doctor  Wright  was  married  in  September,  1914,  at 
Indianapolis,  Indiana,  to  Ellen  C.  Gallagher,  whose  home 
was  formerly  in  Winona,  Minnesota.  She  is  a member  of 
the  Catholic  Church.  Doctor  Wright  belongs  to  the  Phi 
Chi  Greek  letter  medical  fraternity,  is  a member  of  the 
Baptist  Church,  and  has  fraternal  affiliations  with  Lodge 
No.  91,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  at 
Chattanooga,  Tennessee,  with  Grandfield  Lodge  No.  378, 
Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons;  with  Gaylesville 
Lodge  No.  256,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  in 
Alabama;  and  with  Banyan  Camp  No.  573,  Woodmen  of 
the  World  at  Grandfield.  He  located  for  practice  at 
Grandfield,  Oklahoma,  September  23,  1914,  and  already 
enjoys  a substantial  practice  and  reputation  as  a physi- 
cian and  surgeon.  His  offices  are  in  the  Tillman  County 
Bank  Building. 

J.  C.  Ferguson,  who  was  one  of  the  early  business 
men  to  add  his  enterprise  to  the  City  of  Pawhuska,  has 
during  the  last  ten  years  not  only  developed  a successful 
local  industry,  but  has  also  exercised  much  influence  on 
local  affairs.  Mr.  Ferguson  is  an  Ohio  man  who  enjoyed 
a substantial  position  as  a business  man  in  that  state 
before  coming  to  Oklahoma,  and  his  record  has  been  a 
continuation  and  amplification  of  the  work  with  which  he 
was  identified  back  in  his  native  state. 

His  birth  occurred  in  Highland  County,  Ohio,  March 
19,  1862,  a son  of  Joseph  C.  and  Mary  Elizabeth 
(Gwinett)  Ferguson.  His  father  was  born  in  Ohio 
while  his  mother  was  a native  of  Germany,  and  came  to 
•America  with  two  brothers.  She  died  in  1867  at  the 
age  of  thirty-two,  leaving  four  children.  The  father 
married  again,  having  five  children  by  his  second  mar- 
riage, and  died  in  1880  at  the  age  of  sixty-two.  Prac- 
tically all  his  life  was  spent  in  the  vicinity  of  Cincinnati, 
and  he  developed  a large  business  there  as  blacksmith, 
and  also  had  a carriage  shop,  employing  a force  of  from 
eighteen  to  thirty  men. 

It  was  with  this  industry  that  J.  C.  Ferguson,  after 
gaining  his  advantages  in  the  public  schools,  became 
identified  at  the  age  of  sixteen.  He  learned  blacksmith- 
ing  in  all  its  details  under  his  father’s  direction,  and 
was  one  of  his  valuable  helpers  until  twenty-one.  At 
that  time  he  leased  from  his  father  the  blacksmith 
department  of  the  business,  and  conducted  it  until  the 
death  of  his  father.  He  then  bought  the  entire  business, 
and  continued  it  successfully  until  November,  1899, 
when  he  sold  out. 

It  was  fifteen  years  ago  that  Mr.  Ferguson  came  to 
Oklahoma.  His  first  location  was  in  Garfield  County, 
near  Waukomis,  where  he  bought  a farm  and  set  up  a 
blaeksmithing  shop.  Later  he  moved  into  the  town, 
bought  a blaeksmithing  business,  but  sold  out  in  1904 
and  moved  to  Pawhuska,  which  was  then  a somewhat 
inconspicuous  village.  He  bought  a shop,  and  soon 
began  to  develop  a business  which  is  now  the  chief 
iron  working  and  repair  business  of  the  city,  and  its 
facilities  have  recently  been  extended  to  include  a 


general  automobile  repair  and  garage.  His  two  sons, 
Joe  W.  and  Fred  L.,  are  now  his  active  partners  under 
the  firm  name  of  J.  C.  Ferguson  & Sons.  This  firm 
handles  the  local  agency  for  the  Ford  and  Hudson  auto- 
mobiles, and  automobile  repairing  is  now  an  important 
part  of  their  business.  While  all  three  of  the  partners 
are  engaged  in  the  business,  they  also  require  the  services 
of  three  blacksmiths  and  four  other  men  in  the  garage. 
They  have  recently  erected  a new  garage  50  by  100  feet 
on  East  Sixth  Street.  Mr.  Ferguson  also  owns  a fruit 
farm  of  forty-five  acres  adjoining  the  city,  though  this 
is  operated  through  a tenant.  A republican  voter, 
Mr.  Ferguson  has  never  been  a politician,  but  at  dif- 
ferent times  has  been  honored  with  positions  of  respon- 
sibility and  in  such  places  has  always  worked  with  an 
eye  single  to  the  good  of  the  community.  While  living 
in  Ohio  he  served  eight  years  as  township  and  school 
director,  and  in  1908  was  honored  with  election  to  the 
office  of  mayor  of  Pawhuska  for  a term  of  two  years. 
The  citizens  desired  an  efficient  business  administration, 
and  he  gave  them  one  which  was  marked  by  a big 
forward  movement  in  the  matter  of  municipal  improve- 
ment. His  administration  witnessed  the  beginning  of 
effective  street  paving,  an  issue  of  bonds  for  electric 
light  and  waterworks  system,  and  the  beginning  of  con- 
struction on  these  important  local  utilities,  and  he  also 
thoroughly  cleaned  up  the  city,  paying  no  attention 
whatever  to  local  politics  while  engaged  in  this  work. 
He  is  a member  of  the  Presbyterian  Church  and  one  of 
its  trustees,  is  affiliated  with  the  various  bodies  of 
Masonry,  including  the  thirty-second  degree  of  Scottish 
Bite,  and  also  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the 
Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks. 

In  1885  Mr.  Ferguson  married  Miss  Mary  L.  Waddell, 
who  was  born  in  Ohio  June  2,  1866,  a daughter  of 
Waverly  and  Naomi  Waddell.  They  have  a fine  family 
of  eight  children:  Jessie,  wife  of  J.  L.  Darby  of 

Pawhuska;  Joseph  W.  and  Fred  L.,  both  already  men- 
tioned as  partners  of  their  father;  Nell,  who  is  married; 
Margine,  Clifford,  Delos  and  Leone,  all  at  home  and 
several  of  them  in  school. 

W.  Lusk.  One  of  the  pioneers  of  the  Town  of  Morris, 
Okmulgee  County,  W.  Lusk  has  been  a very  energetic 
factor  in  local  business  affairs  and  has  supplied  much 
of  the  capital  and  enterprise  for  the  upbuilding  of  that 
section. 

He  was  born  in  Springfield,  Missouri,  February  5, 
1866,  a son  of  Alfred  T.  and  Elizabeth  (Bond)  Lusk, 
both  of  whom  were  born  in  Tennessee  and  came  to 
Missouri  in  1835,  in  childhood,  with  their  respective 
parents.  They  married  in  Missouri  and  lived  in  that 
state  on  a farm  the  rest  of  their  days.  The  father 
passed  away  in  1901  at  the  age  of  eighty-three  and  the 
mother  in  1908  at  the  age  of  seventy-three.  Their  four 
children  were:  C.  D.  Lusk  of  Fort  Scott,  Kansas;  W. 

Lusk;  Isabella,  wife  of  Bobert  Kimmons  at  Missouri; 
and  Benjamin,  of  Missouri. 

W.  Lusk  lived  on  the  Missouri  farm  with  his  parents 
until  he  was  eighteen  years  of  age.  Since  then  he  has 
been  in  active  business,  working  for  himself  and  others, 
and  was  principally  identified  with  the  drug  business 
until  1914,  when  he  sold  out.  He  acquired  his  knowledge 
of  pharmacy  in  the  St.  Louis  School  of  Pharmacy,  from 
which  he  received  a diploma  in  1886.  For  a number  of 
years  he  worked  as  a drug  clerk  in  Kansas  City, 
Missouri. 

It  was  in  1907  that  he  came  to  Morris,  Oklahoma,  and 
invested  his  small  capital  and  started  the  Morris  Drug 
Company,  a business  which  is  still  conducted  under  the 
same  name.  Since  then  his  interests  have  taken  on  a 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


1835 


much  wider  scope,  and  for  the  past  two  years  he  has 
been  in  the  oil  business,  having  four  wells  in  the  district 
around  Boynton.  He  has  been  associated  with  a num- 
ber of  other  men  in  developing  this  section  of  the  coun- 
try, and  owns  himself  about  320  acres  of  farm  land  in 
Okmulgee  County.  It  was  his  money  and  enterprise  that 
constructed  the  garage  on  Main  Street,  one  of  the 
largest  buildings  in  the  town,  which  he  sold  in  1915. 
He  is  now  having  built  an  opera  house,  which  will  be 
used  for  moving  picture  shows. 

Since  statehood  Mr.  Lusk  has  served  as  township  com- 
mitteeman of  the  democratic  party  and  has  also  been  a 
member  of  the  school  board  and  of  the  town  board  the 
greater  part  of  the  time  since  Oklahoma  entered  the 
union.  One  example  of  his  public  spirit  was  the  donation 
of  a portion  of  the  site  for  the  Morris  Library.  He  is 
affiliated  with  the  Masonic  Order,  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles. 

On  June  30,  1908,  Mr.  Lusk  married  Myrtle  M.  Gris- 
som of  Okmulsree.  She  was  born  in  Okmulgee,  a daughter 
of  J.  E.  Grissom  of  that  town.  They  have  one  daughter, 
Wynema,  who  is  now  four  years  old. 

Lewis  Dale  Souter.  Prominent  among  the  county 
officials  of  Osage  County  is  Lewis  Dale  Souter,  of  Paw- 
huska,  who  is  now  serving  with  acceptance  as  county 
assessor.  A son  of  Georsre  W.  Souter,  he  was  born, 
January  11,  1874,  in  Pontotoc  County,  Mississippi,  and 
was  there  reared  to  man’s  estate. 

Born  in  South  Carolina  in  1837,  George  W.  Souter  was 
brought  up  in  Mississippi,  where  his  parents  located 
when  he  was  a child.  He  engaged  in  agricultural  pur- 
suits as  a young  man,  in  1890  moving  with  his  family 
to  the  northwestern  part  of  Texas,  from  there  coming, 
in  1896,  to  Oklahoma.  Locating  in  Cleveland,  he  was 
there  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits  until  his  death, 
which  occurred  February  22,  1905.  He  was  a demo- 
crat in  politics,  and  during  the  Civil  war  served  for  four 
years  in  the  Confederate  army.  Both  he  and  his  wife 
were  active  members  of  the  Baptist  Church,  and  he  was 
one  of  the  founders  of  the  church  of  that  denomination 
in  Cleveland.  His  wife,  whose  maiden  name  was  Salet.a 
Bodmers,  was  born  in  Georeia,  and  died,  August  8,  1898, 
in  Cleveland,  Oklahoma.  Four  of  their  six  children  are 
now  living,  as  follows:  B.  V.,  of  Osage  County;  Lewis 
Dale;  F.  M.,  of  Cleveland;  and  Jettie  E.,  wife  of  Dr. 
Ira  Mullins,  of  Hominy,  Oklahoma. 

Brought  up  on  the  home  farm,  Lewis  Dale  Souter  was 
educated  in  the  public  schools,  and  as  a boy  and  youth 
was  trained  to  habits  of  industry,  becoming  skilful  in 
the  various  branches  of  agriculture.  Coming  with  the 
family  to  Oklahoma,  he  began  life  for  himself  at  the 
age  of  twenty-four  years,  engaging  in  the  peaceful  and 
profitable  occupation  of  a farmer,  buying  land  in  the 
vicinity  of  Cleveland,  where  he  still  has  title  to  160  acres. 
In  1912  he  was  elected  county  assessor  of  Osage  County 
on  the  democratic  ticket,  and  displayed  such  energy  and 
ability  in  responding  to  the  demands  of  the  office  that 
he  was  re-elected  in  1914. 

On  December  19,  1907,  Mr.  Souter  was  united  in  mar- 
riage with  Hnie  Tocy,  who  was  born  in  Texas,  a daugh- 
ter of  I.  S.  Tocy.  The  union  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Souter  has 
been  blessed  by  the  birth  of  six  children  of  whom  two 
have  passed  to  the  bright  life  byond,  Dale  having  died  at 
the  asre  of  five  years,  and  Bert  when  but  seven  months 
old.  Four  are  living,  namely:  Prentiss,  Dyke,  Iris,  and 
Mullins.  Politically  Mr.  Souter  is  a steadfast  democrat 
and  active  in  party  affairs.  Fraternally  he  belongs  to 
the  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Order  of  Masons,  at 
Cleveland,  Oklahoma.  Religiously  he  is  a member  of 
the  Baptist  Church,  with  which  he  united  while  living  in 
Mississippi. 


Calvin  Jones.  The  State  of  Tennessee  has  contrib- 
uted a considerable  amount  of  brain  and  muscle  necessary 
to  the  building  of  the  new  State  of  Oklahoma.  In  every 
county  and  in  nearly  every  community  it  is  represented. 
It  has  sent  some  of  the  brightest  lawyers  and  most  skilled 
physicians.  The  elements  of  Tennessee  progress  are  con- 
tained in  the  fundamental  elements  of  social  and  religious 
life  wherever  white  men  have  formed  communities  here. 
It  has  been  said  that  many  of  them  crossed  the  Arkansas 
line  seeking  office,  and  this  humorous  reference  was  based 
on  the  fact  that  in  many  counties  in  earlier  years  Ten- 
nesseeans were  in  the  majority  in  office-holding  circles. 
Two  generations  ago  Tennessee  sent  some  of  ifs  leading 
ministers  here  as  missionaries,  and  in  recent  years  many 
of  the  state’s  leading  educators  have  come  from  the  col- 
leges of  Tennessee.  It  has  furnished  more  ministers  to 
Oklahoma  Methodism  than  any  other  state,  birth  and 
parentage  considered.  Many  of  the  ablest  and  most 
prominent  club  women  in  the  recent  years  in  Oklahoma 
came  from  Tennessee. 

A Tennesseean  at  Hugo  is  Calvin  Jones,  one  of  the 
city’s  brightest  and  most  successful  young  lawyers.  He 
was  born  at  Summerville,  Fayette  County,  in  1883,  a son 
of  J.  M.  and  Anna  (Moody)  Jones.  His  father,  a native 
of  Fayette  County,  has  spent  most  of  his  life  on  the 
farm,  and  served  through  the  Civil  war  as  a soldier  in  the 
Cavalry  Brigade  of  General  Forrest.  The  paternal  grand- 
father was  also  named  Calvin.  He  was  a native  of  North 
Carolina  and  gained  distinction  in  two  fields.  As  an 
educator  he  was  once  professor  in  the  University  of  Ala- 
bama, and  later  as  a lawyer  he  became  the  first  chancellor 
in  the  district  in  which  he  lived  in  West  Tennessee. 

After  completing  his  public  and  high  school  education, 
Calvin  Jones  entered  the  University  of  the  South  at 
Sewanee,  Tennessee,  and  later  the  law  department  of 
the  Cumberland  University,  from  which  he  received  his 
degree  LL.  B.  in  1903.  Beginning  practice  at  Summer- 
ville, he  remained  there  until  1906,  when  he  located  at 
Grant,  a small  town  near  Hugo,  and  from  there  moved 
to  Hugo.  For  two  years  Mr.  Jones  was  deputy  county 
attorney  under  Robert  K.  Warren.  In  June,  1915,  he 
became  junior  member  of  the  firm  of  McDonald  & Jones. 
He  is  a democrat,  a member  of  the  Benevolent  and  Pro- 
tective Order  of  Elks  and  the  Woodmen  of  the  World, 
and  also  of  the  County  and  State  Bar  associations. 

Bart  M.  Wooldridge.  The  kind  of  western  energy, 
resource  and  large-mindedness  required  of  the  young  man 
who  would  succeed  in  the  field  of  finance  in  these  days 
of  strenuous  effort  and  severe  competition,  seem  to  be  an 
integral  part  of  the  equipment  of  Bart  M.  Wooldridge, 
who  since  February  1,  1914,  has  been  cashier  of  the 
Citizens  Bank  of  Headrick.  Notwithstanding  his  well 
known  caution  and  respect  for  conservative  measures  in 
banking,  he  has  the  progressiveness  and  courage  of  the 
present,  and  while  carefully  conserving  the  interests  of 
the  depositors  has  contributed  materially  to  the  growth 
and  development  of  the  institution,  the  prominence  of 
which  adds  to  the  prestige  of  the  community. 

Mr.  Wooldridge  was  born  in  Russell  County,  Ken- 
tucky, September  22,  1877,  and  is  a son  of  Jesse  and 
Nancy  A.  (Blankenship)  Wooldridge,  and  a member  of  a 
family  which  came  from  Ireland  to  Amer’ea  during 
colonial  times  and  settled  in  Virginia.  Jesse  Wooldridge 
was  born  at  Jamestown,  Russell  County,  Kentucky, 
November  3,  1844,  and  there  grew  up,  was  educated,  and 
married,  his  wife  having  been  born  in  the  Blue  Grass 
State  in  1847.  In  1869  he  went  to  Northwestern  Mis- 
souri, where  he  spent  two  years,  but  soon  returned  to  his 
native  state,  and  remained  there  engaged  in  farming  and 
stockraising  until  1894,  when  he  again  went  to  Missouri. 


1836 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


After  two  years  he  removed  to  Eddy,  McLennan  County, 
Texas,  where  he  continued  actively  engaged  in  agricul- 
tural pursuits  until  1906,  and  then  came  to  Hollis,  where 
he  now  makes  his  home,  practically  retired.  Mr. 
Wooldridge  has  been  industrious  aud  energetic  all  his 
life,  and  "although  now  over  seventy  years  of  age,  still 
takes  a keen  interest  in  affairs  of  an  agricultural  nature. 
In  political  matters  he  is  a democrat,  but  has  not  been 
an  office  seeker,  while  his  fraternal  connection  is  with 
the  Masons.  He  has  been  a lifelong  member  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  South.  Mrs.  Wooldridge 
died  in  Missouri,  in  1896,  aged  forty-nine  years,  the 
mother  of  six  children:  Ada,  who  is  the  wife  of  G.  D. 

Mabery,  a farmer  of  Eddy,  Texas;  Bart  M.,  of  this 
notice;  May,  who  married  Bell  Sasser  and  resides  on  his 
farm  at  Memphis,  Texas;  Mervin  H.,  who  is  engaged  in 
the  hardware  business  at  Hollis,  Oklahoma;  Everett  R., 
who  is  engaged  in  farming  in  the  vicinity  of  Hollis; 
and  Walter  R.,  who  is  a banker  and  resides  at  the  home 
of  his  parents.  Mr.  Wooldridge  was  married  a second 
time  in  1899,  when  united  in  marriage  at  Eddy,  Texas, 
with  Mrs.  Martha  (Shelton)  Hix,  a native  of  Tennessee, 
but  a resident  of  Bruceville,  Texas.  One  child,  Thelma, 
has  been  born  to  this  union,  she  being  a student  in  the 
public  schools. 

Bart  M.  Wooldridge  was  reared  on  the  home  farm  and 
secured  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Russell 
County,  Kentucky,  being  graduated  from  the  high  school 
there  in  1894.  Until  1898  he  remained  on  the  home- 
stead, engaged  in  assisting  his  father  in  its  operation, 
and  then  turned  his  attention  to  educational  work  and 
for  five  years  taught  in  the  country  schools  of  McLennan 
County,  Texas.  Mr.  Wooldridge’s  advent  in  Oklahoma 
took  place  in  1903,  when  he  located  at  Martha,  and  was 
principal  of  the  school  there  for  two  years.  While  he 
had  gained  a reputation  as  an  efficient  and  popular 
educator,  he  was  not  satisfied  with  his  progress,  and  in 
1907  entered  the  Altus  State  Bank,  in  the  capacity  of 
bookkeeper,  giving  up  his  teaching  work  entirely. 
Through  faithful  and  competent  performance  of  duty  he 
was  promoted  to  the  position  of  assistant  cashier  and 
remained  with  that  institution  until  1909,  when  he  or- 
ganized the  Martha  State  Bank,  of  which  he  was  cashier 
until  January  1,  1914.  On  February  1,  1914,  he  came  to 
Headrick  to  accept  the  position  of  cashier  of  the  Citizens 
Bank,  and  this  he  has  retained  to  the  present  time. 
This  institution  was  established  in  1904,  the  founder 
being  J.  E.  Ernst,  and  in  1912  the  present  handsome 
banking  house  was  erected  on  the  corner  of  Main  and 
Fourth  streets.  The  capital  of  the  bank  is  $10,000,  its 
officials  are  W.  E.  Sanderson,  president;  J.  R.  McMahan, 
vice  president,  both  of  Altus;  and  B.  M.  Wooldridge, 
cashier,  and  it  is  known  as  one  of  the  substantial  finan- 
cial concerns  of  Jackson  County.  Mr.  Wooldridge  has 
thoroughly  established  himself  in  the  confidence  of  the 
people  of  this  community,  and  his  own  well-known  in- 
tegrity has  done  much  to  attract  business  to  the  bank’s 
coffers.  He  is  a director  in  the  Wichita  Southern  Life 
Insurance  Company  of  Wichita  Falls,  Texas. 

In  political  matters  Mr.  Wooldridge  is  a democrat,  but 
he  has  selected  his  career  and  has  followed  it  closely,  and 
in  it  public  service  has  played  no  part.  With  his  wife 
he  attends  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  of  which 
both  are  active  members,  Mr.  Wooldridge  being  a mem- 
ber of  the  board  of  stewards.  His  fraternal  connections 
are  numerous,  including  membership  in  Altus  Lodge  No. 
62,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons;  Altus  Chapter 
No.  60,  Royal  Arch  Masons;  Altus  Council;  Eldorado 
Commandery,  Knights  Templars;  Altus  Chapter,  Order 
of  the  Eastern  Star;  and  Altus  Lodge  of  Odd  Fellows, 


and  he  is  also  a member  of  the  Oklahoma  State  Bankers 
Association. 

In  September,  1909,  at  Altus,  Oklahoma,  Mr.  Wool-  1 
dridge  was  married  to  Miss  Crowell  Ham,  daughter  of  II i 
J.  R.  Ham,  of  Artesia,  New  Mexico.  They  have  no  I 
children. 

James  P.  Thompson.  The  wild,  untamed,  uncivilized,  j 
romantic  West  of  the  old  pioneer  Indian  Territory  meets  I 
and  merges  into  the  modern  Oklahoma  with  its  progress- 
ive and  bettered  civilization  in  the  life  of  Col.  James 
P.  Thompson  of  Woodville.  Colonel  Thompson  has  lived  li 
in  that  section  of  the  present  state,  in  what  was  old 
Pickens  County  of  Indian  Territory,  for  the  past  thirty 
years.  Born  in  the  strenuous  days  before  the  Civil  || 
war,  at  historic  Preston  Bend,  just  south  of  Red  River 
in  Grayson  County,  Texas,  and  reared  amid  the  thrill- 
ing scenes  enacted  on  a frontier  unfettered  by  the  re-  I 
strictions  of  law,  his  life  has  contained  enough  incidents  I 
to  make  material  for  an  intensely  interesting  romance.  [I 

Not  only  ✓by  residence  but  by  family  relationships  I 
and  early  experiences  he  has  been  in  many  ways  identi- 
fied with  old  Indian  Territory  as  well  as  with  modern  II 
Oklahoma.  He  was  born  November  26,  1850.  His  father 
was  James  G.  Thompson,  who  was  born  in  1802  in  North  II 

Carolina,  moved  to  Tennessee  and  then  to  Alabama,  and  II. 

in  the  latter  state  became  acquainted  with  and  married  | 

Miss  Mary  McNary,  member  of  a prominent  Cherokee 
Indian  family,  and  herself  a quarter  blood.  In  1831  they 
accompanied  the  first  emigration  of  that  people  to  the  ji 
Cherokee  Nation  in  Indian  Territory,  locating  at  Web-  I 
ber’s  Falls,  where  James  G.  Thompson  established  a j 
general  mercantile  store  which  he  conducted  for  about  11 
twelve  years.  At  the  death  of  his  wife,  in  1843,  having 
sold  his  business  in  Indian  Territory,  he  moved  to  the  U 

south  side  of  Red  River  in  Grayson  County,  Texas.  ; 

There  he  spent  the  rest  of  his  life  until  his  death  in  1879.  I 

He  was  a member  of  the  Legislature  of  Texas,  when  that  J 

state  seceded  from  the  Union  and  in  the  early  ’50s 
was  county  judge  of  Grayson  County.  He  always  had  the 
high  esteem  and  unqualified  confidence  of  the  Indians,  to  N 
whom  he  was  a good  and  faithful  friend,  and  the  people 
of  the  Cherokee  Nation  often  solicited  him  to  return 
and  live  among  them.  After  his  removal  to  Texas  he 
married  Miss  Martha  J.  Caruthers,  who  was  born  in 
Georgia  in  1820  and  who  was  of  white  family,  the 
Caruthers  having  been  among  the  pioneers  of  Grayson  H 
County,  Texas.  At  one  time  she  owned  the  townsite  of 
Denison.  Her  death  occurred  in  1894.  By  the  second  I 

marriage  there  were  eight  children,  namely:  Elizabeth,  1 

who  married  Capt.  Tom  Randolph,  a merchant  and  very  I 

prominent  citizen  of  Sherman,  Texas;  James  P. ; Vir- 
ginia, who  married  James  Potts,  a stockman;  Arizona, 
who  became  the  wife  of  Judge  David  E.  Bryant,  formerly  I 
a United  States  district  judge,  and  one  of  the  distin- 
guished citizens  of  Sherman;  Frank  P.,  who  is  a retired  I 
merchant  and  farmer;  Josephine  who  was  drowned  when 
a little  girl;  Breckenridge,  who  died  in  infancy;  and  n 

Alice,  who  married  Joe  Meadows,  a farmer  and  stockman  I 

of  Grayson  County. 

Reared  on  the  old  farm  in  Grayson  County,  Col. 
James  P.  Thompson  from  early  boyhood  felt  the  fascina- 
tion of  the  wild  and  free  life  of  the  frontier.  He  at- 
tended the  common  schools  of  Preston  Bend,  also  Sher-  | 
man  High  School,  and  for  a time  was  a student  in  Burle-  I 
son  College.  It  was  with  difficulty  he  kept  his  mind 
on  his  studies,  since  he  was  by  nature  too  closely  akin  j 
to  the  free  untrammeled  life  of  the  country  and  scenes 
among  which  he  had  been  reared.  As  a boy  be- 
fore the  war  he  had  helped  his  father  haul  and  sell 
corn  to  the  United  States  military  post  at  Fort  Washita,  | 
Arbuckle,  and  Cobb.  This  corn  sold  at  a price  as 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


1837 


high  as  $2.25  per  bushel.  In  the  years  following  the 
war  he  became  an  expert  in  all  branches  of  ranch  life. 
His  father  had  a large  horse  ranch  at  Pottsboro, 
and  his  cattle  ranch,  on  which  frequently  ranged 
3,500,  head,  was  five  miles  west  of  Sherman.  Before 
coming  to  Indian  Territory  Colonel  Thompson  be- 
came well  known  as  a stock  man  all  over  Northern  Texas 
and  after  the  building  of  the  railroad  across  Indian  Ter- 
ritory he  used  Denison,  Texas,  as  a shipping  point  for 
his  stock  to  the  markets  at  St.  Louis  and  Chicago. 

In  1877  Mr.  Thompson  married  * Miss  Maggie  E. 
MaSsey,  a member  of  an  old  Kentucky  family  that  emi- 
grated to  Texas  in  1848.  Mrs.  Thompson  died  in  1883, 
being  survived  by  two  children:  Myrtle  Lillian  and 

Henry  M.  The  daughter  Myrtle  is  now  the  wife  of 
Claude  R.  Howard.  His  son  Henry  M.  married  Miss  C. 
F.  Taylor,  and  their  two  children  are  named  Ollie  Lee 
and  Maggie  May. 

After  the  death  of  his  first  wife  Colonel  Thompson 
married  Lucy  Juzan,  who  was  a resident  of  Indian 
Territory  and  a descendant  of  the  Chickasaw  lineage, 
being  a fourth  blood  Chickasaw.  Her  parents  were 
Jackson  and  Mississippi  Juzan.  Jackson  Juzan  belonged 
to  the  Choctaw  tribe  and  was  born  in  Tennessee  but 
came  to  Indian  Territory  during  the  ’40s,  and  for 
many  years  followed  farming  in  the  vicinity  of  Atoka. 
He  was  one  of  the  Choctaw  volunteers  in  the  Confederate 
army  during  the  Civil  war,  and  afterwards  was  active 
in  the  affairs  of  his  nation  until  his  death  in  1866.  Jack- 
son  Juzan  married  Mississippi  Allan,  who  was  of  Chick- 
asaw blood.  She  was  born  in  Mississippi,  and  came  to 
Indian  Territory  in  1835.  She  died  in  December,  1865. 
After  their  marriage  Colonel  and  Mrs.  Thompson  took 
up  their  residence  at  the  present  beautiful  homestead 
adjoining  the  Town  of  Woodville  in  July,  1886.  No 
children  were  born  to  their  union,  and  Mrs.  Thompson 
died  there  in  April,  1898.  It  is  noteworthy  that  she 
was  a cousin  of  Charles  Le  Flore,  who  was  the  father- 
in-law  of  former  Governor  Lee  Cruee  of  the  State  of 
Oklahoma. 

After  locating  in  Pickens  County,  Colonel  Thompson 
soon  had  extensive  holdings.  His  cattle  covered  many 
hills  and  his  brand  became  well  and  widely  known.  In 
one  season  he  marked  1,200  calves.  In  Wood- 
ville he  provided  for  his  family  the  finest  house  in  the 
town,  with  all  the  comforts  and  furnishings  that  wealth 
and  culture  can  suggest.  He  has  now  reached  the  age 
of  sixty-five,  but  still  retains  his  interest  in  all  that 
affects  his  community,  and  is  a partner  with  his  son 
Henry  M.  in  the  cattle  business.  In  many  ways  his 
business  judgment  has  been  almost  infallible,  and  his 
prosperity  is  only  an  adequate  return  f<Jr  his  abilities  and 
energy.  Colonel  Thompson  possesses  many  fine  per- 
sonal qualities,  is  whole  souled  and  genial  and  as  he 
knows  everybody  in  his  section  of  the  country  so  every- 
body knows  and  honors  “Uncle  Jim.”  His  loyalty  to 
friends  and  neighbors  has  often  been  tested,  and  one 
case  in  point  wiil  illustrate  the  quality  of  his  friendship. 
He  spent  much  of  his  valuable  time  and  $16,- 
000  of  his  money -a  few  years  ago  to  prove  the  inno- 
cence of  Steve  Bussell.  He  belongs  to  no  secret  organ- 
izations or  fraternal  societies  and  finds  his  greatest  en- 
joyment in  the  management  of  his  farm  and  in  associa- 
tion with  his  old  and  tried  friends. 

John  J.  Gayman.  High  personal  character  and 
solid  attainments  as  a business  man  and  citizen  have 
given  John  J.  Gayman  an  important  place  in  Lincoln 
County,  where  for  the  past  five  years  he  has  held  the 
responsible  office  of  county  treasurer.  He  was  first 
elected  to  that  position  in  1910,  and  his  present  term 
expires  in  June,  1915.  Mr.  Gayman  has  been  identified 


with  Oklahoma  citizenship  for  many  years,  and  he  has 
exerted  his  influence  in  many  ways  for  the  benefit  of 
his  home  and  community.  In  1905  he  served  in  the 
Oklahoma  Territorial  Legislature. 

John  J.  Gayman  was  born  August  27,  1875,  on  a farm 
in  Indiana,  a son  of  Isaiah  Gayman,  a native  of  Ohio. 
His  father  was  reared  in  Indiana,  became  an  early  settler 
in  Indiana,  and  enlisted  and  served  for  three  years  in  the 
Union  army  as  a member  of  the  Eighth  Indiana  Volun- 
teer Infantry.  He  married  Sarah  Wilson,  who  was 
descended  from  an  Irish  family  of  County  Antrim, 
Ireland.  They  were  the  parents  of  nine  children,  eight 
of  whom  are  living,  as  follows:  Mrs.  M.  Drumm  of 

Columbia,  Missouri;  Dr.  S.  E.,  a successful  physician 
at  Agra,  Oklahoma;  Mrs.  L.  Johnson,  of  Monett,  Mis- 
souri; W.  K.  of  Edmond,  Oklahoma;  John  J. ; Mrs. 
W.  A.  Moore  of  Lincoln  County;  Mark,  a student  in  thc- 
University  of  Oklahoma;  and  Arthur,  in  business  in 
Little  Rock,  Arkansas.  Isaiah  Gayman  brought  his  family 
to  Lincoln  County,  Oklahoma,  many  years  ago  and  died 
there  in  1901.  He  was  a.  member  of  the  Grand  Army  of 
the  Republic,  and  belonged  to  the  Christian  Church.  His 
widow  is  now  living  at  Oklahoma  City. 

John  J.  Gayman  grew  up  on  a farm,  and  there  de- 
veloped his  physique  and  gained  his  first  lessons  in 
honest  toil.  He  received  a public  school  education,  and 
from  an  early  age  took  much  interest  in  republican 
politics  attending  as  a delegate  a number  of  county  and 
district  conventions.  His  constituents  had  special  reason 
to  be  proud  of  his  services  as  a member  of  the  Legisla- 
ture. He  was  connected  with  the  passage  of  some  of 
the  be«t  bills  in  that  term  of  the  Territorial  Legislature. 

In  1901,  in  Lincoln  County,  Mr.  Gayman  married  Miss 
Grace  Newell,  who  was  born  in  Iowa  and  was  reared 
and  educated  in  that  state  and  in  Kansas,  a daughter  of 
J.  A.  Newell.  To  this  union  have  been  born  four 
children,  Ruth,  Marion,  John  H.  and  Riehard  N.  Mr. 
Gayman  has  given  much  attention  to  Masonic  activities, 
is  a member  of  the  lodge,  chapter  and  Knight  Templar 
Commandery.  He  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the 
Presbyterian  Church.  Mr.  Gayman  is  a man  of  splendid 
stature  and  physical  proportions,  has  a pleasing  address, 
and  no  one  connected  with  official  affairs  around  the 
courthouse  has  more  stanch  friends. 

E.  Lee  Adams  has  been  a resident  of  Oklahoma 
for  fifteen  years  or  more.  In  that  time  his  life 
has  been  one  of  service  as  a teacher,  farmer,  news- 
paper man,  and  as  an  active  and  energetic  worker  in 
local  affairs  and  local  and  state  polities.  He  is  now 
editor  and  owner  of  The  Harper  County  Democrat  at 
Buffalo,  and  owns  considerable  valuable  real  estate  both 
in  Buffalo  and  in  the  county. 

His  birth  occurred  in  Linn  County,  Missouri,  June  21, 
1 880.  He  was  the  only  child  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  A.  A.  Dick, 
his  present  name  being  an  adopted  one.  His  father  went 
to  the  Black  Hills  of  Dakota  in  1882  and  was  never  heard 
from  afterward.  When  but  five  years  of  age.  with  his 
mother,  E.  Lee  Adams  left  Missouri,  and  he  attended  his 
first  school  at  Harper,  Kansas.  His  early  life  was  one 
of  ahiect  poverty,  but  his  one  determination  was  to  secure 
an  education.  At  the  age  of  fourteen  he  finished  his 
high  school  work  at  Hamilton,  North  Dakota,  but  after- 
wards took  a special  normal  course  in  the  John  B.  Stetson 
University  at  DeLand,  Florida.  In  Florida  and  also  in 
Oklahoma.  Mr.  Adams  followed  the  profession  of  teacher 
in  the  public  schools. 

It  was  during  his  career  as  a teacher  that  in  1898, 
soon  after  the  outbreak  of  the  Spanish- American  war,  he 
enl’^ted  in  Company  F of  the  First  Florida  Volunteer 
Infantry.  He  was  with  that  command  for  a year  and 
after  his  honorable  discharge  resumed  his  place  in  the 


1838 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


schoolroom.  In  1901  he  moved  to  Oklahoma,  . and  in  1902 
gave  up  school  work  to  become  one  of  the  editors  of  the 
Augusta  Sun  then  published  at  Old  Augusta,  Oklahoma. 
After  two  years,  in  1904,  he  founded  the  Sun  at  Dacoma, 
and  a year  later  moved  to  his  homestead  in  northwest 
Harper  County,  on  which  he  had  filed  a claim  in  1903. 
He  spent  two  or  three  years  in  developing  and  improving 
a first  class  farm,  but  then  answered  the  old  call  to 
newspaper  work,  and  on  April  19,  1907,  founded  The 
Harper  County  Democrat  at  Buffalo,  being  the  first  busi- 
ness institution  started  in  the  new  county  seat.  He  has 
since  owned  and  edited  this  very  live  and  enterprising 
journal  and  has  given  it  much  influence  and  a very  satis- 
factory circulation  through  his  home  and  adjoining  coun- 
ties. From  absolute  poverty  he  has,  in  fifteen  years, 
risen  to  success  and  influence,  all  of  which  he  attributes 
to  his  own  determination  and  the  encouragement  and  as- 
sistance of  a good  mother. 

While  an  active  democrat,  Mr.  Adams  has  never  sought 
office,  though  he  has  filled  the  place  of  chairman  and 
secretary  of  the  County  Central  Committee  and  has  held 
a place  on  the  State  Committee.  Fraternally  he  is  a 
thirty-second  degree  Scottish  Rite  Mason,  being  affiliated 
with  the  Consistory  No.  1 at  Guthrie,  and  a Shriner.  He 
is  also  an  Odd  Fellow. 

On  January  1,  1908,  in  Harper  County,  Mr.  Adams 
married  Miss  Minnie  E.  Torrance,  who  was  born  in 
Kansas  December  17,  1888,  a daughter  of  S.  A.  Tor- 
rance, who  is  now  one  of  the  leading  farmers  in  Harper 
County.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Adams  have  four  children,  three 
daughters  and  one  son:  Marion,  Maxine,  Wilmer  and 
Evelyn. 

Charles  G.  Nesbitt.  In  his  capacity  as  editor  and 
proprietor  of  the  Hinton  Record  Charles  G.  Nesbitt 
has  a splendid  opportunity  of  voicing  the  public  opinion 
in  regard  to  general  improvements.  He  has  been  a resi- 
dent of  Hinton  since  the  fall  of  1909  and  his  citizenship 
here  has  ever  been  characterized  by  a loyal  interest  m 
all  matters  tending  to  advance  the  good  of  the  com- 

A native  of  Nelson,  Nebraska,  Charles  George  Nesbitt 
was  born  May  9,  1879,  and  he  is  a son  of  J.  B.  and  Eva- 
line  (Lee)  Nesbitt,  both  of  whom  are  living,  their  home 
being  at  Watonga,  Oklahoma.  The  father  was  born  in 
the  State  of  Ohio,  in  1840,  and  as  a young  man  he 
journeyed  west  to  Iowa.  In  the  latter  state  was  solem- 
nized his  marriage  and  there  he  continued  to  reside  until 
1873,  when  the  family  home  was  established  on  a claim 
near  Nelson,  Nebraska.  In  1889  removal  was  made  to 
Fairfield,  Nebraska,  but  1891  finds  the  family  again  in 
the  old  community  near  Nelson.  From  1894  until  1905 
the  Nesbitts  resided  at  Eldorado  Springs,  Missouri,  and 
in  the  latter  year  came  to  Oklahoma,  settling  at  Norman 
and  removing  thence  to  Watonga  in  1908.  Mr.  J.  B. 
Nesbitt  has  devoted  much  of  his  active  career  to  work  as 
a contractor  and  builder.  He  gave  evidence  of  his 
loyalty  to  the  cause  of  the  union  during  the  Civil  war  by 
enlisting  for  service  in  Company  B,  Twelfth  Illinois  Vol- 
unteer Infantry.  He  served  as  a soldier  for  four  years 
and  five  months  and  participated  in  many  important 
battles  marking  the  progress  of  the  war.  He  and  his  wife 
are  devout  members  of  the  Baptist  Church  and  to  them 
were  born  seven  children,  as  follows:  E.  F.  resides  at 
Altus,  Oklahoma,  where  he  is  manager  of  the  wholesale 
grocery  firm  of  Williamson-Halsell-Frazier ; Walter  died 
at  the  age  of  nine  years;  Paul,  whose  home  is  at  Mc- 
Alester,  Oklahoma,  was  a member  of  the  State  Legisla- 
ture in  1915;  Lura  Rose  is  the  wife  of  C.  E.  Harritt,  a 
farmer  near  Watonga;  Maud  married  Louis  Shaw,  who 
is  engaged  in  farming  at  Fairfield,  Nebraska;  Charles  G. 


is  he  whose  name  forms  the  caption  for  this  review;  , 
and  Howard  is  a newspaper  man  at  Mounds,  Oklahoma. 

Charles  G.  Nesbitt  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  I j 
of  Nebraska  and  lived  at  home  on  his  father’s  farm  until  I j 
he  had  reached  his  sixteenth  year.  At  that  time  he  went  f? 
to  Eldorado  Springs,  Missouri,  where  he  was  engaged  in  j I 
truck  farming  until  September,  1899,  at  which  time  he  I 
removed  to  Watonga,  Oklahoma.  In  February,  1900,  in  ; I 
partnership  with  his  brother,  Paul,  he  established  the  || 
Oklahoma  Senator,  which  they  edited  for  about  a year.  I 
In  the  fall  of  1990  Mr.  Nesbitt  was  matriculated  as  a Ij 
student  in  the  University  of  Oklahoma  and  he  attended  I 
that  institution  for  eighteen  months.  From  January,  || 
1902,  until  the  fall  of  1904  he  was  engaged  in  news-  [j 
paper  work  in  Watonga  and  on  the  latter  date  he  and  his  || 
brother  Paul  took  over  the  Watonga  Herald  which  they  I 
owned  and  edited  until  1907.  For  nine  months  there-  | 
after  Mr.  Nesbitt  worked  in  a newspaper  office  in  Okla-  I 
lioma  City  and  during  that  time  he  made  up  the  first  [j 
sixty  editions  of  the  Oklahoma  News.  In  May,  1908,  [I 
he  began  to  work  for  Tom  Ferguson  on  the  Watonga  I 
Republican  and  in  the  fall  of  1909  he  bought  the  Hinton  i 
Record  from  Henry  A.  White.  This  publication  was  I 
established  in  1902;  it  is  independent  in  politics  and 
has  a large  circulation  in  Caddo  and  neighboring  coun-  [I 
ties.  The  offices  of  the  Record  are  on  Main  Street  and  ' i 
the  printing  machinery  and  presses  are  up-to-date  in  |j 
every  particular. 

Mr.  Nesbitt  is  a democrat  in  his  political  allegiance  IJ 
and  he  is  a member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  fj 
In  October,  1903,  at  Watonga,  Oklahoma,  was  celebrated  I 
his  marriage  to  Miss  Lillian  Woolverton,  a daughter  of  [ 
W.  C.  Woolverton,  a farmer  in  the  vicinity  of  Abilene,  I 
Kansas.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Nesbitt  have  four  children,  as  I 
follows:  J.  Wellington,  C.  Hubert,  Norma  May  and  Wil-  I 
liam  N.,  the  three  former  of  whom  are  attending  school  I 
at  Hinton. 

M.  H.  Mills.  In  1909  M.  H.  Mills  was  admitted  to 
the  bar  of  the  State  of  Oklahoma,  since  which  time  he 
has  been  engaged  in  a general  civil  and  criminal  prac- 
tice in  Mangum.  In  1912  he  formed  a partnership  with 
Judge  J.  L.  Carpenter,  under  whom  he  had  studied 
while  in  training  for  his  profession,  and  together  they 
enjoy  a nice  practice  in  the  city  and  county. 

Mr.  Mills  was  born  at  Burleson,  Johnson  County,  H 
Texas,  on  January  24,  1878.  He  is  a son  of  W.  F. 
and  Cora  (Hix)  Mills,  and  is  one  of  their  large  family  I 
of  ten  children.  W.  F.  Hills  was  born  in  Illinois  in  | 
1841  and  died  in  Greer  County,  Oklahoma,  in  1898.  fi 
When  he  was  yet  a boy  his  parents  moved  from  Illinois  1 
to  Mississippi,  arid  in  1851  they  came  to  Texas,  settling  I 
at  Burleson,  Johnson  County,  and  there  he  continued  to  1 
live  for  many  years.  He  married  there  and  his  children  | 
were  all  born  at  Burleson,  where  he  carried  on  a farming  | 
and  stock-raising  business.  Mr.  Mills  served  three  years  I 
in  the  Confederacy  as  a member  of  a Texas  regiment  of  I 
volunteer  infantry,  and  he  was  a life-long  democrat  and  S 
a member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  South.  1 
In  1890  he  moved  to  Grier  County,  Texas,  now  Grier  I 
County,  Oklahoma,  and  there  homesteaded  160  acres  of  | 
Government  land,  which  he  later  increased  to  320  acres,  | 
and  which  his  wife  sold  after  his  death.  The  land  was  J 
situated  sixteen  miles  south  of  Mangum. 

In  1869  Mr.  Mills  married  Cora  Hix.  She  was  the 
maternal  granddaughter  of  the  Lee  family.  Her  great 
grandfather  was  of  English  birth  and  ancestry.  She  was 
born  in  Kentucky  in  1851  and  is  now  living  in  Mangum. 
Their  children  are  here  briefly  mentioned  as  follows: 
Rosa,  the  first  born,  died  at  the  age  of  eighteen  years. 
Mollie  married  J.  B.  Roberson  and  lives  in  Martin  | 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1839 


County,  Texas,  where  Mr.  Eoberson  is  engaged  in  farm- 
ing. Price  lives  in  Springfield,  Colorado,  and  is  a stock 
raiser.  Annie  married  J.  B.  Hacker  and  resides  in 
Hollis,  Oklahoma,  where  Mr.  Hacker  owns  and  operates 
the  telephone  exchange.  The  fifth  child  was  M.  H.  of 
this  review.  William  lives  in  Springfield,  Colorado,  and 
is  a farmer.  Alice  married  J.  P.  Eddleman,  and  they 
have  their  home  at  Cleburne,  Texas.  Walter  is  a 
machinist  and  lives  at  Marshall,  Texas.  Mattie  married 
H.  E.  Galbraith,  and  lives  at  Hollis,  Oklahoma,  where 
l her  husband  is  a manufacturer  of  soft  drinks.  Queen 
| married  Charles  Brock,  a machinist  of  the  oil  mill  at 

I Man  gum. 

M.  H.  Mills  was  raised  on  his  father’s  farm  and  at- 
■ tended  the  schools  of  Greer  County.  He  was  twenty 
I years  old  when  he  left  home  in  1898  for  the  first  time. 
I He  went  to  Montana  and  worked  on  cattle  ranches  and 
| in  the  mines  for  four  years,  and  in  1902  returned  to 
I Greer  County,  Oklahoma,  and  spent  a year  in  work  on  a 
I farm  there.  He  then  entered  the  Tyler  Commercial  Col- 
I lege  in  Tyler,  Texas,  and  finished  a thorough  business 
I course,  after  which  he  entered  the  office  of  Judge  J.  L. 
I Carpenter  in  Mangum  and  began  the  study  of  law.  He 
I also  read  law  in  the  office  of  G.  A.  Brown,  now  a judge 
I of  the  Supreme  Bench,  and  in  several  other  offices  did 
| he  get  some  training.  He  spent  something  like  five  years 
in  study  and  in  1909  was  admitted  to  practice.  Eor  three 
l years  he  conducted  an  independent  practice,  and  then, 
|,  in  1912,  joined  forces  with  Judge  Carpenter,  and  they 
| have  since  worked  together  under  the  firm  name  of  Car- 
[ penter  & Mills.  They  have  their  offices  in  the  Mangum 
I National  Bank  Building. 

Mr.  Mills  is  a democrat,  a member  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church,  South,  and  of  Lodge  No.  1169,  Benevo- 
I lent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks. 

In  1908  Mr.  Mills  was  married  to  Miss  Edna  Der- 
{ rick,  daughter  of  W.  A.  Derrick,  for  many  years  a 
minister  of  the  gospel  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church, 
South.  Reverend  Derrick  is  now  an  old  man  and  resides 
in  Wheeler  County,  Texas.  Mr.  Mills  and  wife  have 
one  child,  Frances  Byron,  born  October  10,  1914. 

It  may  be  said  here  that  the  Mills  family  is  one  of 
the  old  ones  that  came  to  this  country  from  England  in 
early  Colonial  days,  settling  in  Pennsylvania,  where  many 
of  the  name  are  to  be  found  today.  Jonathan  Mills, 
grandsire  of  the  subject,  was  'born  in  Hlinois,  whither 
a branch  of  the  family  had  migrated,  and  he  later  lived 
in  Mississippi  and  still  later  in  Texas,  where  he  died 
j in  advanced  years.  He  was  a farmer  and  a successful 
merchant,  and  like  all  the  family,  of  the  Methodist  faith. 
His  wife  was  a Miss  Bond,  born  in  Illinois,  and  she  died 
in  Burleson,  Texas. 

Charles  M.  Cope.  An  attorney  of  wide  experience  in 
practice  both  in  this  state  and  in  Kentucky,  Charles  M. 
Cope  formerly  served  as  county  attorney  of  Osage 
County,  has  figured  prominently  in  democratic  politics 
in  the  state,  and  enjoys  a secure  and  substantial  position 
in  his  profession  at  Pawhuska. 

A native  of  Kentucky,  he  was  born  in  Menifee  County 
February  20,  1872,  a son  of  Thomas  T.  and  Ruth  Ellen 
(Tyre)  Cope.  His  parents  were  also  natives  of  Ken- 
tucky, and  are  now  living  at  Jackson  in  that  state.  His 
father  has  for  more  than  forty  years  been  a practicing 
lawyer,  and  for  sixteen  years  served  as  county  attorney. 

The  second  in  a family  of  seven  children,  Charles  M. 
Cope  spent  all  his  younger  career  in  Kentucky,  and  from 
that  state  came  to  Pawhuska  in  1907.  He  received  most 
of  his  literary  education  in  the  S.  P.  Lee  Collegiate  and 
Military  Institute,  from  which  he  "was  graduated  in 
1898.  His  law  studies  were  pursued  under  the  direction 
Vol.  v— 6 


of  his  father,  and  in  March,  1906,  he  was  admitted  to 
the  Kentucky  bar  and  practiced  for  about  a year  in  his 
native  State,  serving  during  that  time  as  attorney  for 
a large  coal  company. 

Since  coming  to  Oklahoma  Mr.  Cope  has  found 
abundant  employment  for  his  time  and  energies  in  a 
general  practice.  For  two  years  he  served  as  county 
attorney  of  Osage  County,  and  Governor  Cruee  appointed 
him  county  assessor  vfor  one  year.  In  1914  he  was  a 
candidate  before  the  democratic  primaries  for  the  office 
of  attorney  general  of  the  state,  and  his  candidacy, 
while  unsuccessful,  has  served  to  familiarize  his  name 
among  many  remote  sections  of  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Cope 
has  attained  thirty-two  degrees  in  Scottish  Rite  Masonry, 
being  affiliated  with  the  Consistory  at  Guthrie,  belongs 
to  the  Blue  Lodge  at  Hominy,  and  is  also  a member  of 
the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  On 
November  4,  1908,  he  married  Miss  Edna  May  Venus, 
who  was  born  in  Texas. 

Charles  O.  Blake,  of  JE1  Reno,  for  the  past  nine  years 
has  been  the  Chicago,  Rock  Island  & Pacific  Railroad 
attorney  for  Oklahoma.  He  is  one  of  the  pioneer  lawyers 
of  the  old  Oklahoma,  having  located  in  El  Reno  in  1890, 
after  five  years  of  practice  in  Southern  Kansas.  His 
work  and  reputation  as  a lawyer  have  been  fully  pro- 
portionate to  his  long  experience  as  a resident  in  this 
state. 

Born  at  Blake’s  Landing,  Ohio,  October  29,  1860,  he 
is  a son  of  C.  B.  and  Gratia  (Fuller)  Blake,  both  natives 
of  Ohio.  His  father  was  born  on  the  farm  where  his 
father  before  Mm  was  born,  and  has  spent  his  entire 
active  career  as  a farmer  and  stock  raiser,  and  is  still 
living  on  the  old  homestead  in  Ohio.  He  finished  his 
education  in  the  college  at  Marietta,  Ohio,  and  at  the 
outbreak  of  the  Civil  war  organized  a company  and 
entered  the  Federal  service,  where  he  continued  until 
mustered  out  in  1863  for  disability.  In  1857  he  married 
Miss  Fuller,  who  died  May  22,  1915,  after  nearly  sixty 
years  of  married  companionship.  They  were  the  parents 
of  six  sons : A.  F.,  an  oil  operator  at  Louisville,  Ken- 

tucky; C.  O. ; Edward,  a farmer  in  Canadian  County, 
Oklahoma;  Clarence,  who  died  at  the  age  of  six  years; 
Ernest  E.,  a lawyer  at  Oklahoma  City;  and  C.  B.,  an 
oil  operator  at  Louisville,  Kentucky. 

Charles  O.  Blake  studied  law  in  the  Cincinnati  Law 
School,  and  in  1883  was  admitted  to  practice  at  Indian- 
apolis, Indiana.  He  soon  afterwards  came  west  and  in 
1885  located  at  Coldwater,  Kansas,  where  besides  his 
private  practice  he  was  elected  on  the  republican  ticket 
as  county  attorney  of  Comanche  County. 

It  was  in  1890  that  Mr.  Blake  came  to  El  Reno,  and 
with  his  brother,  Ernest  E.,  established  a law  office 
under  the  firm  name  of  Blake  & Blake.  In  1900  Mr. 
Blake  became  local  attorney  for  the  Chicago,  Rock 
Island  & Pacific  Railway,  and  in  1907  was  appointed 
attorney  for  Oklahoma  and  Indian  Territory  to  represent 
the  interests  of  the  Rock  Island  Line.  He  still  holds 
the  same  office,  though  his  official  designation  has  been 
changed  to  correspond  to  the  admission  of  the  two  terri- 
tories as  a single  state. 

During  the  last  quarter  century,  covering  almost  the 
entire  political  history  of  old  and  new  Oklahoma,  Mr. 
Blake  has  been  active  in  republican  polities,  though  he 
never  sought  an  office  for  himself.  He  served  as  a 
member  of  the  board  of  regents  of  the  State  Agricultural 
and  Mechanical  College  and  of  the  Oklahoma  State  Uni- 
versity at  different  times.  Fraternally  he  is  affiliated 
with  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 

On  February  18,  1885,  he  married  Miss  Cora  Bryan, 
daughter  of  William  H.  and  Julia  Bryan  of  Gallipolis, 


1840 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Ohio,  but  natives  of  Virginia.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Blake  have 
four  children:  Bryan  T.,  Marion,  Bordwell  and  Ansel. 

Horace  A.  Smith.  Since  his  arrival  at  Perry,  in 
1893,  Horace  A.  Smith  has  been  continuously  engaged  in 
practice,  and  during  a large  portion  of  this  time  has 
served  in  positions  of  trust  and  public  responsibility,  of  a 
county,  civic  and  judicial  nature.  As  a lawyer  he  bears 
a reputation  for  legal  information  and  acumen,  and  in 
the  capacity  of  county  attorney  of  Noble  County  is 
serving  faithfully  the  interests  of  the  people  who  placed 
their  confidence  in  his  integrity  and  fidelity. 

Mr.  Smith  was  born  near  Waukegan,  Lake  County, 
Illinois,  January  6,  1858,  the  son  of  Charles  H.  Smith. 
His  father,  who  served  in  an  Illinois  volunteer  infantry 
regiment  during  the  Civil  war,  was  engaged  in  farming 
in  Illinois  for  some  years  and  then  removed  to  St.  Clair 
County,  Missouri,  where  he  located  on  new  land.  In 
1881  or  1882  he  moved  to  Eldorado  Springs,  Cedar 
County,  Missouri,  where  he  is  still  living  in  retirement. 
He  is  one  of  the  well  known  and  influential  citizens  of 
his  community  and  has  served  as  circuit  clerk  of  Cedar 
County  and  as  a justice  of  the  peace  for  several  years. 

The  boyhood  of  Horace  A.  Smith  was  passed  on  a farm 
in  St.  Clair  County,  Missouri,  near  Appleton  City,  where 
he  secured  his  early  education  in  the  public  schools  and 
Stahl  Academy.  He  had  decided  upon  a career  in  the 
law,  but  lacked  the  means  to  secure  a university  training, 
and  in  order  to  supply  this  deficit  began  teaching  school 
while  still  in  his  ’teens;  thus  working  his  way  through 
college.  He  attended  the  University  of  Missouri,  at  Co- 
lumbia, during  1880  and  1881,  and  received  his  diploma 
and  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  the  latter  year.  Mr. 
Smith  at  once  engaged  in  practice  at  Eldorado  Springs, 
Missouri,  but  in  1885  removed  to  Coldwater,  Kansas,  at 
that  time  a new  town.  Two  years  latet  he  was  elected 
county  attorney  of  Comanche  County,  Kansas,  an  office 
in  which  he  served  for  two  terms,  or  four  years,  and 
during  this  time  he  secured  some  valuable  experience  in 
the  carrying  of  the  old  county  bond  case  to  the  Supreme 
Court,  as  well  as  in  several  notorious  murder  trials. 

In  1891  Mr.  Smith  came  from  Coldwater,  Kansas,  to 
El  Reno,  Oklahoma,  and  practiced  at  the  latter  place 
until  September  16,  1893,  when  he  made  the  run  for  land, 
and  choosing  the  vicinity  of  Perry,  secured  160  acres 
southwest  of  this  city.  This  he  proved  up  as  soon  as 
permitted.  In  the  meantime  he  opened  a law  office  at 
Perry,  where  hundreds  of  attorneys  had  hung  out  their 
shingles,  and  some  remained  for  several  years,  but  only 
three  of  the  original  lawyers  are  still  here,  these  being 
Henry  S.  Johnston,  H.  A.  Johnson  and  Mr.  Smith.  Mr. 
Smith  continued  to  be  engaged  in  practice  until  1901, 
when  he  was  elected  county  judge  of  Noble  County,  and 
acted  in  that  capacity  during  that  and  the  following  years 
under  the  territorial  government.  He  was  mayor  of 
Perry  at  the  time  of  statehood,  and  during  his  adminis- 
tration the  city  secured  the  Carnegie  Library  as  well  as 
the  valuable  city  waterworks,  and  the  city ’s  finances  were 
placed  upon  a 'substantial  basis.  In  the  fall  elections  of 
1914  Mr.  Smith  was  elected  county  attorney  of  Noble 
County,  and  since  assuming  the  duties  of  that  office, 
January  1,  1915,  has  administered  its  affairs  in  an  expe- 
ditious, capable  and  conscientious  manner.  He  has 
always  been  a stanch  republican,  and  at  various  times  has 
been  a delegate  to  state,  county  and  congressional  con- 
ventions of  his  party,  where  he  is  in  much  demand  as  a 
speaker.  In  fraternal  affairs  Mr.  Smith  is  an  Odd  Fellow 
and  a Mason,  and  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Odd 
Fellows  Lodge  at  Ponca  City. 

On  June  6,  1897,  Mr.  Smith  was  married  in  Kay 
County,  Oklahoma,  to  Miss  Mabel  A.  Dean,  of  Arkansas 


City,  Kansas,  who  until  the  time  of  her  marriage  had  , j 
been  a teacher  in  the  public  schools.  She  is  well  known  jl  j 
in  social  circles  of  Perry,  and  a valued  and  popular  I j 
member  of  the  Tuesday  P.  M.  Club.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Smith  W 
are  the  parents  of  one  son:  Horace  Adrian. 

Owen  Frederick  Renegar.  One  of  the  younger  pro-  ill 
fessional  men  of  Cordell  is  Owen  Frederick  Renegar,  who  M 
has  been  engaged  in  a general  law  practice  here  since  he  j|! 

was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1913.  Mr.  Renegar  is  of  i 

Tennessee  birth  and  parentage.  He  was  born  near  Fay-  I 
etteville,  Lincoln  County,  Tennessee,  on  June  23,  1892. 

The  Renegars  settled  in  Virginia  and  North  Carolina  , 
in  early  colonial  days,  and  many  of  the  name  will  be 

found  in  those  states  today,  while  at  least  three  genera-  ( 

tions  of  them  have  helped  to  develop  the  state  in  which  I 
the  subject  was  born.  His  father,  J.  F.  Renegar,  passed  I 
his  early  life  as  a stockman  and  farmer  in  Lincoln  County,  j 
and  in  1905  came  to  Oklahoma  and  settled  near  Cordell.  II! 
J.  F.  Renegar  married  Elsie  Snoddy,  the  daughter  of  a jj| 
prominent  Lincoln  County  farmer  and  of  the  union  there  I 
were  four  children:  Owen  F.  was  the  first  born;  Carrie  I 
and  Loris  are  living  and  Alton,  the  youngest,  died  in  in-  ||| 
fancy. 

Owen  Frederick  Renegar  attended  the  country  schools  H 
of  Lincoln  County  and  finished  the  common  school  work  || 
there.  Soon  after  his  parents  decided  to  move  West  |u 
and  this  seemed  to  bring  somewhat  of  a stop  to  school  || 
work  for  Mr.  Renegar.  He  quit  school  work  for  about  ra 
three  years  and  followed  the  work  of  a printer  in  the  i 
emulation  of  Franklin.  Soon  he  began  to  realize  the  I 
necessity  of  a higher  education  and  he  entered  Cordell  1 
Academy  and  finished  high  school  and  did  some  college  I 
work  there,  and  was  graduated  therefrom.  After  gradua-  I 
tion  he  taught  school  for  a while  and  was  very  success-  | 
ful  in  that  field  holding  a number  of  good  positions,  1 
among  them  superintendent  of  Cowden  Consolidated  I 
School.  All  the  time  he  was  teaching  he  studied  law  I 
and  higher  literary  work  attending  school  whenever  he  1 
could  and  taking  extension  work  and  graduated  from  I 
Potomac  University,  Washington,  District  of  Columbia,  I 
in  the  law  school  and  in  the  arts  and  sciences  departments  I 
with  the  degrees  A.  B.  and  LL.  B.  He  was  admitted  to  I 
the  bar  in  1913,  since  which  time  he  has  conducted  a gen-  H 
eral  office  practice.  He  has  thus  far  enjoyed  a reasonable  I 
measure  of  success  and  his  future  seems  well  assured. 

Mr.  Renegar  is  a democrat  and  a Christian.  He  is  a n 
member  of  the  Masons,  Odd  Fellows,  and  Woodmen  of  I 
the  World.  He  has  already  shown  himself  a leader  in  I 
politics,  and  is  the  organizer  and  manager  of  the  demo-  I 
cratic  clubs  of  the  Seventh  Congressional  District.  Mr.  j 
Renegar  is  a member  of  the  Commercial  Club  of  Cordell,  I 
and  is  a member  of  the  County,  State  and  National  Bar  I 
associations. 

Mr.  Renegar  is  a young  man  filled  with  the  vim  and  I 
power  to  accomplish  something  in  this  world.  He  is  I 
progressive  and  believes  in  the  motto:  “Lead  always  I 
when  the  opportunity  is  right  and  just;  follow  never  I 
without  thorough  consideration.”  He  has  accepted  the  | 
call  of  the  world:  “Young  man,  show  us  what  thou  | 
canst  do.” 

Emery  W.  King,  M.  D.  In  the  practice  of  medicine 
at  Bristow  since  1905,  Doctor  King  is  now  one  of  the 
oldest  established  physicians  of  that  little  city.  He  has 
an  excellent  practice  and  has  well  and  worthily  won  his 
place  in  professional  life.  He  is  both  a physician  and 
business  man  and  a few  years  ago  was  honored  by  his 
fellow  citizens  with  the  post  of  mayor. 

His  birth  occurred  at  Charleston,  Coles  County,  Illinois, 
December  22,  1879.  His  parents  are  John  and  Susan 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


1841 


(Kelley)  King,  the  former  a native  of  Missouri  and 
the  latter  of  Illinois.  They  are  now  living  in  Charleston, 
where  the  father  is  a retired  farmer.  He  still  owns  220 
acres  of  good  Illinois  land  and  has  been  thoroughly  pros- 
I pered  in  all  his  undertakings.  At  different  times  he  has 
I quietly  exerted  a considerable  influence  in  local  politics, 

I though  never  as  a candidate  for  public  office.  Both  are 
| active  members  of  the  Baptist  Church. 

Doctor  King,  who  is  the  oldest  of  six  children,  spent 
[ the  first  nineteen  years  of  his  life  on  a farm.  He  had  its 
discipline  combined  with  the  instruction  of  rural  schools. 
In  order  to  secure  a more  liberal  education  he  attended 
the  Southern  Illinois  Normal  School  two  years,  and  was 
also  a student  in  a private  school  at  Aledo,  Illinois.  Like 
many  successful  professional  men  he  preceded  his  active 
career  by  work  as  a teacher,  and  altogether  taught  three 
I years.  Entering  the  Hospital  Medical  College  at  Louis- 
i ville,  Kentucky,  he  continued  his  studies  there  until  he 
earned  his  M.  D.  degree  in  1905.  Soon  after  graduating 
Doctor  King  located  at  Bristow,  which  only  two  or  three 
years  before  had  started  its  growth,  and  has  been  rapidly 
| acquiring  a fine  practice  and  lending  his  aid  to  every 
public  spirited  movement  in  behalf  of  the  town ’s  welfare. 
He  is  a member  of  the  County  and  State  Medical  soci- 
[ eties  and  the  American  Medical  Association,  and  is  affil- 
iated with  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  As  a republican  he 
has  done  much  in  behalf  of  local  organizations  of  the 
party.  The  only  important  office  he  has  held  was  as 
l mayor  of  Bristow  one  term.  He  has  three  times  been  a 
. delegate  to  state  conventions  of  his  party. 

On  December  23,  1905,  Doctor  King  married  Gertrude 
Rice.  She  was  born  near  Carrollton,  in  Greene  County, 
Illinois,  a daughter  of  Fisher  and  Elizabeth  (Bradley) 
Rice,  who  still  live  in  Greene  County.  Doctor  and  Mrs. 
King  have  one  child,  Nadine. 

Hon.  Alonzo  McCrory.  It  has  been  frequently  ob- 
j served  that  politics  is  America’s  oldest  pastime,  and  a 
great  many  men  .take  as  naturally  to  politics  as  others 
i do  to  baseball.  Since  the  pursuit  is  so  well  established 
among  the  activities  of  men,  it  is  not  surprising  that  its 
duties  and  responsibilities  rest  so  lightly  on  the  shoulders 
' of  the  majority  who  are  thus  employed.  That  citizen- 
I'  ship  is  a duty  as  well  as  a privilege  is  not  so  frequently 
exemplified  as  to  be  commonplace.  The  individual  who 
assumes  an  earnest  attitude  for  the  public  welfare  has 
bepn  sufficiently  rare  at  all  times.  For  this  reason  there 
is  much  promise  for  the  future  and  commendation  for 
what  has  already  been  accomplished  by  such  an  able 
young  political  leader  as  Alonzo  McCrory,  who  is  the 
present  speaker  of  the  House  of  Representatives  in  the 
Fifth  Legislature.  As  a profession  Mr.  McCrory  is  a 
newspaper  editor  and  publisher,  with  residence  at  Ring- 
ling,  in  Jefferson  County.  He  has  gone  into  politics 
actuated  by  certain  ideals  and  schemes  the  basis  of 
which  is  the  fundamental  principle  of  service,  and  there 
are  a great  many  who  predict  for  him  a splendid  career 
as  a public  leader  far  beyond  what  he  has  already  ac- 
complished, creditable  though  that  is  in  every  sense. 

Born  in  Fayette  County,  Texas,  September  10,  1878, 
Alonzo  McCrory  was  educated  in  the  Texas  public  schools 
and  was  a student  in  Baylor  University  at  Waco,  for  two 
years,  1896-98.  He  did  not  complete  his  college  course, 
but  took  up  a business  career,  and  in  1903  moved  to 
Durant,  Oklahoma,  and  for  a time  manufactured  soda 
water,  extracts,  syrups,  etc.  In  1904  he  became  book- 
keeper in  a general  mercantile  establishment  at  Comanche, 
Oklahoma.  December  1,  1905,  he  removed  to  Cornish, 
Oklahoma,  and  continued  the  mercantile  business  as  secre- 
tary of  the  firm  of  Bennett  & Spragins.  He  sold  out  his 
interest  in  that  business  in  1909,  and  on  the  18th  of 


June  of  that  year  founded  the  Cornish  News,  which  he 
published  there  until  May,  1914.  At  that  date  the  Town 
of  Cornish  was  moved  bodily  to  the  new  site  of  Ringling, 
and  the  newspaper  went  along,  changing  its  name  at  the 
same  time  to  the  Ringling  News. 

Mr.  McCrory  represented  Jefferson  County  in  the 
Fourth  Legislature,  having  been  elected  practically  with- 
out opposition  after  over  500  representative  citizens  of 
the  couuty  had  signed  a petition  offering  support  in  the 
race.  He  came  into  the  Legislature  with  an  unusual 
equipment'  gained  both  by  observation  of  practical  poli- 
tics and  by  a close  study  of  politics  as  a science.  He  had 
participated  in  county  and  state  conventions  of  the  demo- 
cratic party,  and  for  a time  was  clerk  of  the  County 
Court  at  Cornish.  He  was  president  of  the  first  demo- 
cratic club  organized  in  Cornish  after  Oklahoma  became 
a state.  As  a member  of  the  House  in  the  Fourth  Legis- 
lature Mr.  McCrory  was  chairman  of  the  Judicial  and 
Senatorial  Redistricting  Committee,  and  was  author  of  a 
bill,  which  never  became  a law,  that  provided  for  de- 
creasing the  number  of  district  judges  from  thirty-one  to 
twenty.  When  he  returned  to  the  House  in  the  Fifth 
Legislature  he  was  elected  speaker  after  a brief  cam- 
paign, the  other  candidates  having  withdrawn  from  the 
contest.  He  accordingly  obtained  this  much  coveted 
honor  without  prejudice,  and  has  used  his  office  with  one 
idea  to  secure  the  utmost  efficiency  from  the  body  over 
which  he  presides  and  also  to  maintain  an  effective  har- 
mony among  the  members  and  between  the  Legislature 
and  the  governor.  Among  important  measures  that  have 
claimed  Speaker  McCrory ’s  attention  was  the  one  amend- 
ing the  bank  guaranty  law  so  that  the  guaranty  system 
would  be  on  a better  and  more  substantial  basis. 

Mr.  McCrory  is  a son  of  A.  S.  and  Clara  (Wier)  Mc- 
Crory. His  father,  a native  of  Tennessee,  was  a Con- 
federate soldier  under.  Gen.  Sterling  Price.  His  mother, 
a native  of  Mississippi,  was  of  Irish  and  Dutch  descent. 
Among  the  father’s  ancestors  were  two  Irish  boys  who 
came  to  America  and  participated  as  soldiers  in  the 
Revolution.  A.  S.  McCrory  died  in  1913,  and  his  widow 
now  lives  at  Waelder,  Gonzales  County,  Texas.  There 
were  seven  boys  and  five  girls  in  the  family.  A.  W. 
McCrory,  the  oldest,  is  a stockman  and  farmer  at 
Waelder,  Texas;  Mrs.  Sallie  Johnson  is  the  wife  of  a 
stockman  and  farmer  at  Jeddo,  Texas;  Mrs.  Maggie 
Galloway  is  the  wife  of  a farmer  and  stockman  at  Me- 
Caulley,  Texas;  William  is  a stock  raiser  at  Flatonia, 
Texas;  Mrs.  Katie  Miller  is  the  wife  of  a farmer  and 
stockman  at  Waelder;  Sam  Houston,  nicknamed  “Pug” 
and  who  named  himself  Sam  Houston  when  four  years 
of  age,  is  a teacher  and  stockman  at  Flatonia ; Mrs.  Cora 
Fike  is  the  wife  of  the  second  assistant  superintendent 
of  a tramway  company  at  San  Antonio;  Mrs.  Bessie 
Cowan  is  the  wife  of  a stockman  and  farmer  at  Waelder; 
Marshall  E.  is  a bookkeeper  at  Waelder;  and  Dorsey  is  a 
farmer  and  stockman  at  Waelder.  Speaker  McCrory  was 
married  July  26,  1902,  to  Una  B.  Cochran  of  Fayette 
County,  Texas.  Their  four  children  are  Staton,  aged 
twelve;’  Lucile,  aged  nine;  Claude,  aged  six;  and  Harry 
Lee  aged  four.  Mr.  McCrory  is  a member  of  the  Ring- 
lino-’  Lodge  of  Woodmen  of  the  World,  and  is  a member 
of  the  board  of  directors  of  the  Cornish  Orphans  Home, 
a state  institution.  , . , 

His  political  career  has  been  primarily  characterized 
by  straightforwardness  and  an  absolute  integrity  in  all 
Ids  relations.  At  different  times  he  has  been  offered  sup- 
port in  politics  during  county  seat  fights  and  other  con- 
tests that  would  have  compromised  him,  and  has  rejected 
all  such  overtures  and  his  success  is  entirely  due  to 
methods  eminently  fair  and  above  board.  He  is  a fine 
type  of  young  man  with  wide  experience,  unusual  execu- 


1842 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


tive  ability,  unassuming,  and  ambitious  only  for  the  good 
service  he  can  perform. 

William  Penn  Hickok.  Worthily  in  the  front  rank 
of  his  important  and  difficult  profession,  William  Penn 
Hickok,  of  Taloga,  has  won  his  own  way  to  his  present 
position.  His  early  years  were  devoted  to  widely  dif- 
ferent vocations,  but  from  youth  he  was  determined  upon 
a career  in  the  law,  his  success  in  which  has  evidenced 
the  fact  that  he  made  no  mistake  in  the  choice  of  an 
occupation.  Mr.  Hickok  was  born  at  Guilford,  Nodaway 
County,  Missouri,  February  23,  1862,  and  is  a son  of 
James  E.  and  Olive  L.  (Bowen)  Hickok. 

The  Hickok  family  is  one  which  dates  back  to  the 
Plymouth  Colony  in  Massachusetts,  where  it  was  founded 
at  an  early  day  by  William  Hickok,  the  emigrant 
ancestor,  who  came  from  England.  His  son,  Aaron 
Hickok,  removed  from  Massachusetts  to  Connecticut, 
and  the  latter’s  son,  James,  fought  in  the  Revolutionary 
‘army  as  captain  of  a company  in  a Connecticut  regiment. 
James  Hickok ’s  son,  also  names  James,  went  to  Ver- 
mont, where  his  son,  David  Nicholas  Hickok,  the  grand- 
father of  William  Penn  Hickok,  was  born  in  1806. 
From  that  state  the  grandfather  moved  to  Pennsylvania 
as  a pioneer  farmer,  fought  throughout  the  Civil  war 
as  a Union  soldier,  was  once  wounded,  and  returned  to 
his  agricultural  operations  and  finally  died  at  St.  Joseph, 
Missouri,  in  1892,  to  which  point  he  had  moved  with  his 
family  just  before  the  war. 

James  E.  Hickok,  father  of  William  Penn  Hickok,  was 
born  in  Bradford  County,  Pennsylvania,  in  1833,  and 
there  passed  his  early  years,  receiving  a common  school 
education  and  being  reared  as  a farmer.  He  was  mar- 
ried in  Pennsylvania,  and  after  marriage  moved  to 
Fayette  County,  Illinois,  that  community  being  his  home 
and  the  scene  of  his  agricultural  activities  until  1860.  In 
that  year  he  took  his  family  to  Nodaway  County,  Mis- 
souri, and  in  1869  moved  on  to  Andrew  County,  in  the 
same  state.  His  next  location  was  Peabody,  Kansas, 
where  he  resided  from  1879  until  the  spring  of  1883. 
Up  to  that  time  Mr.  Hickok  had  been  engaged  in  farm- 
ing, but  on  removing  to  Sumner  County,  Kansas,  he 
embarked  in  merchandising  and  met  with  more  or  less 
success  there  until  his  retirement  in  1901.  Two  years 
later  he  went  to  Anthony,  Kansas,  and  there  his  death 
occurred  in  1905.  As  a business  man  Mr.  Hickok  was 
straightforward  and  honorable  in  his  dealings  with  his 
fellows.  He  was  a professed  Christian  and  lived  his 
religion  every  day,  being  a devout  member  of  the  Baptist 
Church  and  a member  of  the  board  of  trustees  for  many 
years.  His  political  support  was  given  to  the  principles 
"and  candidates  of  the  republican  party.  Mr.  Hickok 
married  Miss  Olive  L.  Bowen,  who  was  born  at  Colden, 
Erie  County,  New  York,  in  1839,  and  she  survives  and 
makes  her  home  in  Sumner  County,  Kansas.  There  were 
eight  children  in  the  family,  as  follows:  James  E.,  who 

died  in  Anderson  County,  Kansas,  at  the  age  of  twenty- 
one  years;  Luella  B.,  who  is  the  wife  of  W.  G.  Rupp,  a 
contractor  and  builder  and  brick  and  tile  manufacturer 
of  Trinidad,  Colorado;  William  Penn,  twin  of  Luella 
B. ; Charles  D.,  who  is  engaged  in  the  banking  business 
at  Ulysses,  Kansas ; Esther  C.,  of  Argonia,  Kansas,  widow 
of  J.  C.  Colin,  formerly  a school  teacher  for  a long 
period,  superintendent  of  schools  of  Sumner  County, 
Kansas,  for  a number  of  years,  and  postmaster  at 
Argonia  at  the  time  of  his  death;  Mary  A.,  who  died 
at  Oquawka,  Illinois,  as  the  wife  of  James  W.  Gordon, 
an  attorney  of  that  place;  Hadassah,  who  died  in  child- 
hood; and  Galen  R.,  who  is  engaged  in  the  real  estate 
and  farm  loan  business  at  Satanta,  Kansas. 

William  Penn  Hickok  received  his  early  education  in 
the  public  schools  of  Missouri  and  Kansas,  to  which 


latter  state  he  accompanied  the  family  when  he  was 
seventeen  years  of  age,  graduating  from  the  Peabody 
High  School  with  the  class  of  1880.  He  had  been  reared 
as  a farmer’s  son  and  remained  on  the  home  farm  until 
reaching  his  majority,  at  which  time  he  turned  his 
attention  to  mercantile  lines,  conducting  a store  at 
Harper,  Kansas,  for  three  years.  His  next  venture  was 
in  the  line  of  real  estate  at  Harper,  and  while  thus 
engaged  for  three  years  found  the  leisure  to  pursue  his 
legal  studies,  having  decided  to  follow  the  law  as  his  life 
work.  In  1889  Mr.  Hickok  went  to  Fort  Supply,  Indian 
Territory,  where  he  became  teacher  at  the  army  school," 
a position  which  he  retained  for  three  years,  then  partici- 
pating in.  the  opening,  in  1892,  of  the  Cheyenne- Arapaho 
Reservation  for  white  settlement,  when  he  secured  a 
homestead  of  160  acres.  He  proved  up  on  this  land  and 
sold  it  for  a satisfactory  consideration  in  1897,  having 
in  the  meanwhile  continued  to  teach  school  and  to  devote 
what  time  he  could  to  his  legal  studies.  In  December, 
1898,  Mr.  Hickok  came  to  Taloga,  having  been  admitted 
to  the  bar  of  the  state  September  13  preceding,  and  here 
has  continued  to  practice  in  civil  and  criminal  law  to 
the  present  time.  His  practice  carries  him  into  all  of 
the  courts,  his  admission  to  practice  before  the  Supreme 
Court  having  been  granted  January  10,  1902,  and  his 
clientele  is  representative  of  the  largest  interests  in 
this  section  of  the  state.  In  the  fall  of  1898  he  became 
the  candidate  of  the  democratic  party  for  the  office  of 
county  attorney  of  Dewey  County,  a position  which  he 
retained  for  two  terms,  or  four  years,  having  been  re- . 
elected  in  1900.  He  has  served  also  as  a member  of  the 
town  board  and  the  town  school  board,  and  at  present  is 
the  incumbent  of  the  office  of  town  treasurer.  Fraternally 
Mr.  Hickok  is  connected  with  Taloga  Lodge  No.  179, 
Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons;  Taloga  Chapter 
No.  54,  Royal  Arch  Masons;  Taloga  Council;  Taloga 
Commandery,  Knights  Templar;  India  Temple,  Ancient 
Arabic  Order  of  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  Oklahoma 
City,  and  Consistory  No.  1,  Valley  of  Guthrie,  having 
attained  the  thirty-second  degree  of  Masonry;  and  with 
Taloga  Lodge,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  of 
which  he  is  past  noble  grand,  and  the  Modern  Woodmen 
of  America  of  this  city.  His  professional  affiliation  is 
with  the  Dewey  County,  Oklahoma  State  and  American 
Bar  associations,  while  his  numerous  business  connections 
include  the  treasurership  of  the  Taloga  Oil  Company, 
Inc. 

Mr.  Hickok  was  married  September  15,  1895,  at  Taloga, 
to  Miss  N.  E.  Shumate,  daughter  of  the  late  Balus 
Shumate,  a farmer  of  the  locality  of  Taloga.  Three 
children  have  been  born  to  this  union,  namely:  Charles 

B.,  a graduate  of  the  class  of  1914,  Taloga  High  School, 
and  now  a teacher  in  the  public  schools  of  Dewey  County ; 
Gordon  W.,  a freshman  at  Southwestern  State  Normal 
School,  Weatherford,  Oklahoma;  and  Galen  J.,  who  at- 
tends the  public  schools  of  Weatherford. 

John  F.  Kroutil.  A lad  of  about  ten  years  at  the 
time  when  he  accompanied  his  parents  on  their  immigra- 
tion from  Austria  to  the  United  States,  the  career  of 
Mr.  Kroutil  has  shown  in  a most  significant  and  emphatic 
way  how  great  are  the  opportunities  afforded  in  our 
great  republic  for  the  achievement  of  large  and  worthy 
success  on  the  part  of  a young  man  who  has  the  will 
to  dare  and  to  do,  and  who,  dependent  upon  his  own 
exertions,  has  the  energy  and  self-reliance  that  make  for 
personal  independence  and  prosperity.  Far  from  the 
Fatherland,  now  involved  in  the  most  horrible  warfare 
known  in  the  history  of  the  world,  Mr.  Kroutil  pursues 
tlie  even  tenor  of  his  way  under  the  benignant  con- 
ditions of  peace,  and  has  secure  status  as  one  of  the  influ- 
ential and  representative  business  men  of  Oklahoma,  he 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1843 


and  liis  elder  brother,  Prank  L.,  having  been  residents 
of  Oklahoma  since  the  year  the  territory  was  organized 
and  having  kept  pace  with  the  marvelous  advancement 
that  has  here  been  made  under  the  territorial  and  state 
regimes.  They  are  now  interested  principals  in  what 
is  undoubtedly  the  most  extensive  and  important  enter- 
prise of  its  kind  in  the  State  of  Oklahoma,  the  subject 
of  this  sketch  being  president  aud  his  brother  secretary 
and  treasurer  of  the  Yukon  Mill  & Grain  Company,  at 
Yukon,  Canadian  County. 

Prom  the  status  of  a young  man  without  more  than 
nominal  financial  resources,  Mr.  Kroutil  has  risen  to  that 
of  executive  head  of  the  largest  and  most  modern  flour 
mills  in  Oklahoma,  the  products  of  which  are  shipped  to 
many  distant  states  of  the  Union,  as  well  as  into  Cuba, 
and  in  connection  with  which  has  been  developed  a 
grain  business  of  extensive  volume.  The  Yukon  Mill  & 
Grain  Company  dates  its  organization  back  to  the  year 
1902,  and  within  the  intervening  period  its  business  has 
had  an  almost  phenomenal  expansion  in  scope  and  import- 
ance. The  original  mill  purchased  by  the  Kroutil  brothers 
at  Yukon  .was  a modest  establishment  with  a daily 
capacity  for  the  output  of  only  seventy-five  barrels,  or 
one  carload  of  flour  a day.  At  the  present  time  the 
splendid  plant,  with  the  best  of  modern  equipment  and 
facilities,  has  an  output  capacity  of  1,200  barrels  a 
day,  the  equivalent  of  twenty  carloads.  The  average 
daily  business  has  attained  to  the  noteworthy  aggregate 
of  nearly  $10,000,  and  the  flour  and  other  mill  products 
are  of  the  highest  grade.  The  mill  is  a substantial  brick 
structure  of  four  stories  and  of  modern  design  archi- 
tecturally as  well  as  in  the  matter  of  providing  the 
best  facilities  for  the  purpose  for  which  it  was  erected. 
The  mill  elevators  are  of  large  capacity  and  the  facilities 
for  storage  are  adequate  to  meet  the  demands  of  the 
enormous  business  controlled.  Prom  this  fine  milling 
plant  products  are  shipped  throughout  Oklahoma  and  also 
into  the  states  of  Texas,  Arkansas,  Louisiana,  Missis- 
sippi, Alabama,  Georgia,  North  and  South  Carolina,  Ten- 
nessee, New  York  and  Connecticut,  the  substantial  and 
widely  disseminated  trade  affording  the  most  effective 
voucher  for  the  specially  high  grade  of  the  products. 
By  the  way  of  the  City  of  New  Orleans  the  company 
ships  flour  to  Cuba,  and  this  export  trade  is  constantly 
increasing.  In  addition  to  the  central  elevator  at  Yukon 
the  company  maintain  also  and  own  well  equipped  ele- 
vators at  Union,  Oklahoma,  and  other  points  in  the  state. 
The  officers  of  the  company  are  as  here  noted:  John 
F.  Kroutil,  president  and  general  manager;  Anton  P. 
Dobey,  vice  president;  and  Prank  L.  Kroutil,  secretary 
and  treasurer.  The  Kroutil  brothers  became  residents 
of  Oklahoma  in  1890,  and  they  have  been  closely  asso- 
ciated in  their  business  activities  during  the  intervening 
years.  The  subject  of  this  review  acquired  at  Ponca 
City,  Kay  County,  this  state,  his  initial  experience  as 
a buyer  of  grain,  and  there  he  was  soon  joined  by  his 
elder  brother,  Prank  L.,  their  residence  and  business 
operations  having  there  continued  for  six  years.  In 
1902  they  purchased  a sawmill  at  Yukon,  and  from  this 
nucleus  has  been  developed  the  fine  milling  plant  of 
which  mention  has  already  been  made.  In  the  earlier 
period  of  their  residence  in  Canadian  County  the  brothers 
were  associated  in  the  development  and  management  of 
a farm,  but  their  ambition  and  progressiveness  soon 
led  them  into  broader  fields  of  industrial  enterprise. 
They  came  to  Oklahoma  Territory  from  David  City, 
Nebraska,  in  which  state  they  had  previously  been 
engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits.  They  were  born  near 
the  city  of  Prague,  Austria, — Prank  L.  in  1872,  and 
John  P.  on  the  16th  of  May,  1875, — and  thus  both  were 
boys  at  the  time  of  the  family  immigration  to  America 


in  1882,  the  father  establishing  a home  on  a farm  near 
David  City,  Nebraska,  where  the  sons  were  reared  to 
adult  age  and  were  afforded  the  advantages  of  the 
public  schools.  The  parents,  Prank  and  Katherine  (Vice) 
Kroutil,  are  still  living  and  maintain  their  residence  in 
Oklahoma,  as  do  also  their  four  sons  and  one  daughter, 
the  latter  being  the  wife  of  Anton  P.  Dobey,  vice 
president  of  the  Yukon  Mill  & Grain  Company.  He 
whose  name  introduces  this  article  has  become  one  of 
the  substantial  capitalists  of  Oklahoma  and  in  addition 
to  being  president  of  the  Yukon  Mill  & Grain  Company 
he  is  president  of  the  Yukon  National  Bank.  While 
he  has  been  unflagging  in  his  application  to  business  and 
has  achieved  large  success,  he  has  had  appreciation  of 
the  responsibility  imposed  by  such  success  and  is  most 
loyal,  liberal  and  public-spirited  in  his  civic  attitude. 
Though  a strong  supporter  of  the  cause  of  the  demo- 
cratic party  he  is  essentially  a business  man  and  has  had 
naught  of  ambition  for  the  honors  or  emoluments  of 
public  office.  He  and  his  family  are  communicants  of 
the  Catholic  Church,  and  he  is  a life  member  of  the 
Oklahoma  City  Lodge  of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective 
Order  of  Elks.  As  a man  of  large  business  activities, 
Mr.  Kroutil  has  formed  a wide  acquaintanceship  in  the 
state  of  his  adoption,  is  liberal  in  the  support  of  measures 
and  enterprises  advanced  for  the  general  good  of  the 
community  at  large,  and  his  honorable,  straightforward 
course,  as  combined  with  a genial  and  buoyant  nature, 
has  gained  to  him  hosts  of  staunch  friends. 

The  maiden  name  of  the  first  wife  of  Mr.  Kroutil 
was  Leonora  Borek,  and  she  is  survived  by  one  child, 
Bernice.  A few  years  after  the  death  of  his  first  wife 
Mr.  Kroutil  wedded  Miss  Mary  Pisher,  and  they  have 
one  daughter,  Margarette,  the  family  home  being  one 
of  the  most  attractive  in  Yukon  and  a center  of  most 
gracious  hospitality. 

Henry  H.  Edwards,  city  attorney  of  Mangum,  and 
former  member  of  the  state  legislature,  is  a native  son 
of  the  State  of  Illinois.  He  was  born  in  Greene  County 
on  September  29,  1878,  and  is  a son  of  George  P.  and 
Jane  (Moore)  Edwards,  both  of  Illinois  birth. 

George  P.  Edwards  is  a prosperous  and  well  known 
farmer  in  Greene  County,  Illinois,  and  has  his  home  in 
the  Town  of  Whitehall  at  the  present  time.  He  was 
born  in  1850  and  has  passed  his  days  in  the  county  and 
state  of  his  birth.  Five  children  were  born  of  his  mar- 
riage to  Jane  Moore.  Henry  H.  of  this  review  is  the 
eldest.  Ward,  living  in  Greene  County,  has  charge  of  a 
drainage  district  on  the  Illinois  River.  Walter  lives  in 
Humboldt,  Iowa.  Grover  is  a locomotive  engineer  and 
lives  in  Centralia,  Illinois.  Nina  married  Minor  Morrow, 
a traveling  salesman,  and  they  have  their  home  in  White- 
hall, where  her  parents  live. 

Henry  H.  Edwards  attended  the  common  schools  of 
Greene  County  and  was  graduated  from  the  Whitehall 
High  School  with  the  class  of  1897.  He  taught  for 
three  years  in  the  public  schools  of  the  county,  and  then, 
in  1900,  went  to  Chicago  where  he  was  engaged  as  an 
instructor  in  a business  college.  For  five  years  he  con- 
tinued in  that  work,  reading  law  in  his  spare  time,  and 
in  1905  he  took  a position  as  a traveling  salesman.  In 
1907  he  came  to  Oklahoma,  located  in  Stigler,  and  soon 
after  was  admitted  to  the  bar.  He  began  the  practice 
of  law  in  Stigler  at  once  and  continued  in  practice  there 
until  1911.  He  was  prominent  and  popular  in  the  county 
and  in  1910  was  elected  to  the  Legislature,  serving 
through  1910  and  1911.  He  served  on  several  commit- 
tees during  that  time,  among  them  the  Judiciary,  Insur- 
ance, Federal  Relations,  Code  and  Special  Investigations 
committees.  During  his  incumbency  he  fathered  and  in- 


1844 


HISTOEY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


traduced  three  companion  bills  on  road  laws,  which  were 
passed  and  entered  upon  the  statute  books.  In  1911  he 
resumed  the  practice  of  law,  locating  in  Dallas,  Texas, 
and  he  was  there  until  1914,  coming  to  Mangum  in  July 
of  that  year.  He  has  since  been  engaged  in  general 
practice.  In  February,  1915,  Mr.  Edwards  was  elected 
to  the  office  of  city  attorney  for  a four  year  term,  and 
since  his  election  has  taken  quarters  in  the  city  hall. 

Mr.  Edwards  was  married  in  January,  1914,  in  Calera, 
Oklahoma,  to  Miss  Bertha  Burrow,  a daughter  of  B.  B. 
Burrow,  former  postmaster  of  Calera,  where  he  now  lives 
retired.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Edwards  have  found  many  warm 
friends  in  their  new  home,  and  they  are  prominent  in 
social  circles  of  the  community. 

T.  T.  Blakely  is  now  secretary  and  manager  of  the 
Chamber  of  Commerce  at  Okmulgee.  However,  he  is  the 
type  of  man  who  is  always  larger  than  any  office  with 
which  he  happens  to  be  connected.  Mr.  Blakely  is  a 
man  of  unusual  parts  and  talents.  Perhaps  the  dominant 
quality  in  his  makeup  has  been  enterprise,  and  he  has 
succeeded  not  only  in  doing  a large  amount  of  work  and 
business  through  his  individual  efforts,  but  has  been 
peculiarly  'effective  in  getting  other  men  to  do  what  he 
wants  them  to  do. 

He  was  born  at  Grafton,  Massachusetts,  April  18,  1873, 
son  of  C.  J.  and  Nellie  M.  (Bacon)  Blakely.  His  father 
was  born  in  Northern  Vermont  and  his  mother  in  Canada, 
so  their  birthplaces  were  not  far  apart,  being  separated 
by  the  international  boundary  line.  They  grew  up  and 
married  in  that  community,  and  by  trade  the  father  was 
a shoemaker.  Eventually  he  was  made  foreman  of  the 
finishing  department  in  one  of  the  large  shoe  factories 
of  Grafton,  Massachusetts.  He  later  invented  a machine 
which  performed  an  important  part  in  the  making  of 
shoes.  Leaving  the  East  he  finally  located  at  Janesville, 
Wisconsin,  when  his  son  T.  T.  was  two  years  of  age.  He 
established  a shoe  factory  at  Janesville  and  has  spent 
the  rest  of  his  days  in  that  city.  The  mother  passed 
away  in  1906  at  the  age  of  sixty-two.  She  was  at  one 
time  president  of  the  Grand  Lodge  of  the  Rebekahs  of 
the  State  of  Wisconsin  and  the  father  was  also  an  active 
lodge  man.  In  their  family  were  five  children,  three 
daughters,  after  whom  in  age  comes  T.  T.  Blakely,  and 
then  a younger  brother. 

Mr.  Blakely  was  reared  in  Janesville,  and  finished  the 
high  school  course  there  in  1891.  At  an  early  age,  though 
he  lived  in  a comfortable  home,  he  found  it  necessary 
to  do  something  practical  in  addition  to  acquiring  knowl- 
edge and  living  the  usual  routine  of  boyhood.  He  paid 
much  of  his  expenses  through  high  school  by  carrying 
laundry.  In  1891  he  entered  the  State  University  at 
Madison,  where  he  paid  his  expenses  by  handling  a 
laundry  agency,  by  collecting  bills  and  running  a 
students’  club.  In  the  summer  vacations  he  sold  books 
for  three  years.  In  1895  leaving  the  university  he  spent 
a year  as  a teacher  in  Janesville,  and  then  returned 
to  school  and  completed  the  literary  course  in  1896.  He 
also  gained  some  credits  in  the  engineering  course. 

From  1896  to  1900  Mr.  Blakely  was  principal  of  the 
high  school  at  Middleton,  Wisconsin,  and  from  1900  to 
1904  was  superintendent  of  schools  at  Sun  Prairie,  Wis- 
consin. During  that  period  he  also  conducted  summer 
schools  for  teachers  at  Janesville  and  other  places  in  the 
state.  Mr.  Blakely  has  the  distinction  of  having  or- 
ganized the  first  teachers’  association  in  Dane  County, 
Wisconsin,  a county  of  which  Madison,  the  state  capital, 
is  the  county  seat  with  400  teachers  connected  with  the 
schools.  He  was  elected  the  first  and  second  president 
of  the  association,  and  filled  that  office  in  1898-99. 
While  engaged  in  teaching  in  Wisconsin  he  spent  his 


summer  vacations  largely  as  a book  agent,  selling  stu- 
dents’ reference  books,  the  Encyclopedia  Britannica  and 
Stoddard’s  Leetui’es.  Probably  few  men  have  had  a 
more  successful  experience  in  the  book  business  than 
Mr.  Blakely.  Because  of  his  success  he  received  an 
offer  from  the  E.  R.  Dumont  Publishing  Company  of 
Chicago,  at  $50  per  week  and  expenses,  to  cover  the 
company’s  territory  in  Wisconsin,  Missouri,  Illinois, 
Indiana,  Ohio  and  Pennsylvania.  He  was  then  South,  the 
company  paying  the  expenses  of  the  removal  of  his 
family,  and  lie  covered  the  states  of  Kentucky,  Tennessee, 
North  Carolina,  South  Carolina,  Alabama  and  Georgia. 
During  this  time  his  family  resided  at  Shelby,  North 
Carolina,  Spartansburg,  South  Carolina,  Columbus  and 
Dawson,  Georgia,  and  Montgomery,  Alabama.  He  was 
next  sent  north  to  Toronto,  Canada,  and  continued  his 
work  as  a canvasser  all  along  the  lake  region,  and  still 
later  located  at  Coffeyville,  Kansas.  For  two  years  his 
family  lived  at  Mound  Valley,  Kansas,  and  he  continued 
his  work  as  a canvasser  through  Louisiana,  Arkansas, 
Texas  and  Oklahoma.  In  that  district  he  covered  every 
town  above  5,000  population.  • 

From  1907  to  1912  Mr.  Blakely  had  his  residence  at 
Caney,  Kansas,  having  gone  there  when  gas  was  dis- 
covered. He  entered  the  real  estate  business,  and  for  a 
time  was  very  successful  in  that  field.  When  the  gas 
supply  gave  out  he  lost  all  his  investments  and  'started 
all  over  again.  This  time  he  began  selling  Florida  lands, 
with  headquarters  at  Lakeland,  Florida. 

In  September,  1914,  Mr.  Blakely  was  elected  secretary 
of  the  Chamber  of  Commerce  of  Bartlesville,  Oklahoma, 
and  after  a year  accepted  a similar  position  at  an 
advanced  salary  at  Okmulgee,  where  he  is  now  doing  a 
great  deal  to  vitalize  and  organize  the  work  of  the  local 
chamber  of  commerce.  During  his  residence  at  Caney, 
Kansas,  he  was  elected  a member  of  the  city  council  and 
also  served  on  the  county  high  school  board  of  Inde- 
pendence, Kansas,  having  been  chosen  as  a republican. 
Fraternally  he  is  a Mason  and  Odd  Fellow.  Mr.  Blakely 
has  great  ability  as  a public  speaker  and  in  his  lone  and 
varied  career  has  been  called  upon  to  exercise  this  talent 
on  many  occasions. 

In  1898  he  married  Hattie  Louise  Ferrin,  who  was 
born  at  Darlington,  Wisconsin,  and  is  a graduate  in 
music.  Five  children  have  been  born  to  their  union,  but 
their  daughter  Moyne  died  at  the  age  of  eight  months. 
The  four  sons  are:  Thurston,  Merle,  Kenneth  and  Mal- 
colm. Mr.  and  Mrs.  Blakely  are  members  of  the  Presby- 
terian Church  at  Okmulgee. 

Hon.  Albert  Rener  Museller.  One  of  Oklahoma’s 
lawyers,  and  one  of  the  assistant  editors  of  this  work, 
whose  home  is  now  in  Pawhuska,  was  formerly  register 
of  the  United  States  land  office  at  Alva,  and  his  name 
and  influence  have  been  identified  in  manv  important 
ways  with  the  development  of  this  new  state  where  he 
has  lived  since  1893. 

He  was  born  June  3,  1857,  at  Clayton,  Illinois.  His 
father,  Rener  R.  Museller,  was  born  in  the  province  of 
Aurich,  Germany,  and  was  a subject  of  the  King  of 
Hanover.  He  emigrated  to  the  United  States  and 
became  a naturalized  citizen  before  his  death  which 
occurred  in  1864,  when  the  subject  of  this  sketch  was 
only  six  years  old.  He  was  a gunsmith  and  blacksmith 
and  he  married  Malissa  Wallace  of  Winchester,  Illinois, 
who  was  born  in  1837  and  still  lives  at  an  advanced  age 
in  Wichita,  Kansas.  Malissa  Wallace  was  a daughter  of 
Joseph  Wallace,  one  of  the  pioneers  of  Illinois,  at  whose 
house  in  Winchester,  Illinois,  Stephen  A.  Douglass  lived 
when  he  taught  his  first  and  only  term  of  village  school. 
The  father  of  Joseph  Wallace  was  Charles  Wallace,  who 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1845 


married  Peggy  Short  in  Longford  County,  Ireland,  and 
in  1776  emigrated  to  Baltimore,  Maryland.  These 
Wallaces  were  Seotch-Irish,  and  descendants  of  the  Wal- 
laces who  left  Scotland  and  settled  in  Northern  Ireland 
in  the  seventeenth  century. 

Albert  E.  Museller  had  no  inheritance.  What  he  has 
been  able  to  accomplish  in  life  has  been  the  result  of 
his  own  effort  and  ambition.  He  educated  himself  and 
had  only  the  advantages  of  the  common  schools  of  his 
country,  and  yet  he  is  a man  of  liberal  education,  for 
which  he  always  says,  he  is  largely  indebted  to  an  aunt, 
Mrs.  H.  W.  Craig,  of  Vermilion  County,  Illinois,  with 
whom  he  lived  for  several  years  when  a boy. 

He  taught  school  in  Illinois  and  Indiana  for  several 
years,  read  law  in  Lincoln,  Illinois,  was  admitted  to  the 
bar  of  that  state  and  subsequently  in  Kansas  and  also 
Oklahoma. 

He  resided  for  several  years  in  Wichita,  Kansas,  and 
for  four  years  was  judge  of  the  City  Court  of  that  city. 
After  coming  to  Oklahoma,  in  the  year  1893,  he  was  for 
two  years,  county  judge  of  Noble  County,  was  county 
attorney  of  the  same  county  for  two  years,  and  for  four 
years  was  register  of  the  United  States  land  office  at 
Alva,  Oklahoma.  He  is  now.  engaged  in  the  practice  of 
I law  in  Pawhuska. 

In  politics  he  has  been  identified  with  the  republican 
! party,  although  in  1912  he  supported  the  progressive 
ticket  nationally.  He  is  a fluent  and  ready  public 
speaker,  and  there  are  not  many  cities  or  towns  in  old 
Oklahoma  in  which  his  voice  has  not  been  heard  dis- 
cussing the  political  issues.  He  has  contributed  articles 
to  various  magazines,  chiefly  on  games  and  sports  and 
the  aborigines  of  this  country.  The  Indians  have  always 
been  of  great  interest  to  him.  He  loves  God’s  out  of 
doors,  and  there  are  few  plants,  birds,  insects,  trees  or 
flowers  with  which  he  is  not  familiar.  His  chief  recrea- 
tion is  artificial  bait  casting  for  bass,  in  which  accom- 
plishment he  is  an  adept.  Mr.  Museller ’s  ready  pen  has 
also  contributed  many  articles  to  the  various  papers  of 
his  state  on  agricultural  subjects. 

Fraternally,  he  is  affiliated  with  Wahshahshe  Lodge 
No.  110,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  of  Paw- 
huska, and  is  a member  of  the  Consistory  of  Scottish 
Rite  at  Guthrie. 

On  May  6,  1880,  at  New  Holland,  Illinois,  he  and  Ida 
E.  Thomas  were  married.  Mrs.  Museller  is  of  old  New 
England  stock  and  is  a descendant  of  Gen.  Israel  Putnam 
of  Revolutionary  fame.  The  Thomases  emigrated  from 
Ohio  to  Illinois  in  the  early  years  of  the  nineteenth 
century.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Museller  are  the  parents  of  three 
children.  Crete  is  now  the  wife  of  Fred  M.  Merkle,  who 
is  in  the  Government  service  at  Perea,  New  Mexico. 
Leo,  the  second  daughter,  is  the  wife  of  Hon.  John  B. 
Doolin,  formerly  state  fish  and  game  warden  of  Okla- 
homa, and  their  only  son,  Albert  E.  Museller,  Jr.,  is 
occupying  a good  position  with  the  Southern  Pacific 
Railway  at  Redwood  City,  California. 

Shawnee  Carnegie  Library.  One  of  the  first  insti- 
tutions to  mark  the  growth  of  Shawnee  as  a center  of 
culture  and  liberal  education  was  the  Shawnee  Carnegie 
Library.  This  central  city  of  Oklahoma  now  has  much 
to  be  proud  of,  not  only  as  a commercial  metropolis  of 
a large  and  distinctive  territory,  but  as  a city  of 
churches,  schools,  and  the  various  institutions  and 
organizations  that  increase  the  attractiveness  and 
advantages  for  those  who  not  only  seek  opportunities  to 
advance  in  a business  way,  but  the  facilities  of  enlight- 
enment. 

The  handsome  new  library  building  in  which  the  large 
collection  of  books  are  stored  and  are  distributed  to 


the  public  was  erected  in  1905  in  beautiful  Woodland 
Park,  on  North  Broadway.  This  building  cost  $15,768. 
The  library  now  comprises  10,500  volumes  and  is 
steadily  growing,  not  only  in  additions  to  the  book  col- 
lection but  in  a more  important  degree  in  the  use  of 
the  books  themselves. 

The  first  librarian  was  J.  C.  Holt,  who  was  succeeded 
by  Mrs.  J.  C.  Parker  in  1907.  Since  1909  the  librarian 
has  been  Mrs.  T.  S.  Funk.  The  present  library  board 
is  made  up  of  the  following  persons : Mayor  F.  P. 

Stearns,  president;  Judge  W.  M.  Engart,  vice  president; 
George  E.  McKinnis,  Otis  Weaver,  Mrs.  W.  H.  Dodge, 
Mrs.  Agnes  Amos  and  Mrs.  George  Larch-Miller.  Mrs. 
Funk  was  secretary  of  the  library  board  almost  from  its 
organization  in  1902.  The  first  president  of  the  board 
was  Mrs.  J.  R.  Schloss.  Other  members  who  at  different 
times  have  been  especially  identified  with  the  work  of 
this  organization  were : Mr.  and  Mrs.  C.  J.  Benson, 

Mrs.  Dr.  Shive,  Mrs.  Glen  Lehman,  Mrs.  Henry  Beard, 
Mrs.  James  Aydelotte,  Hon.  R.  E.  Wood,  Victor  E.  Har- 
low, Paul  Cooper  and  Mrs.  Frank  Boggs. 

Mrs.  T.  S.  Funk.  Librarian  of  the  Carnegie  Library 
at  Shawnee,  Mrs.  Trimmier  (Sloan)  Funk  was  born  at 
New  Albany,  Mississippi.  The  Sloans  came  originally 
from  Ireland  and  England  and  were  early  settlers  in 
South  Carolina.  Another  branch  of  her  family  were 
the  Henrys,  who  were  of  Scotch-Irish  descent.  Mrs. 
Funk  is  a great-granddaughter  of  Nancy  Trimmier, 
whose  father  was  born  in  a Revolutionary  camp.  Nancy 
Trimmier  lived  in  South  Carolina  near  Spartanburg. 
The  Trimmiers  were  of  French  origin,  and  were  extensive 
planters,  cotton  mill  owners,  conducted  carriage  factories, 
and  were  prominent  in  the  South  in  an  official  way.  Mrs. 
Funk’s  father  was  Capt.  T.  B.  Sloan,  who  was  born  at 
Srartanburg,  South  Carolina,  in  1830,  but  when  a boy 
his  parents  settled  in  New  Albany,  Mississippi.  He  is 
still  living  at  New  Albany  at  the  age  of  eighty-five.  He 
received  his  early  education  at  Spartanburg  and  New 
Albany,  and  in  1861  went  into  the  Confederate  army, 
and  at  Gettysburg  he  was  wounded  and  made  a prisoner, 
and  remained  in  the  Federal  prison  on  Johnson’s  Island 
in  Lake  Erie  until  the  close  of  the  war.  He  then  settled 
at  New  Albany,  was  married,  and  became  a planter 
and  merchant.  He  married  Mary  Henry,  who  was  born 
in  South  Carolina  in  1840  and  died  at  New  Albany, 
Mississippi,  in  1885.  Their  children  were:  Georgia  A., 

widow  of  W.  H.  Gantt,  and  she  now  resides  on  a planta- 
t:on  in  Arkansas;  Mrs.  T.  S.  Funk;  Minnie  Frances,  wife 
of  Major  W.  Stroud,  who  is  a large  shipping  contractor 
and  at  the  head  of  a transfer  business  at  Greenwood, 
Mississippi;  Willie  Theodore,  wife  of  W.  H.  Bone,  a 
planter  at  New  Albany,  Mississippi;  Compton,  whose 
whereabouts  have  been  unknown  for  several  years; 
Elizabeth  Irma,  wife  of  Frank  W.  O ’Keeffe,  connected 
with  a department  store  at  Meridian,  Mississippi. 

Mrs.  Funk  received  her  early  education  in  the  public 
and  private  schools  of  Mississippi.  She  spent  some  time 
training  for  library  work  in  the  Carnegie  Library  at 
Oklahoma  City.  In  1886  in  New  Albany  she  married 
Richard  Walker  Funk.  He  was  born  in  Wallerville, 
Mississippi,-  received  a public  school  education  in  his 
native  town  and  at  New  Albany  and  in  the  University 
at  Oxford,  Mississippi,  and  in  business  became  a general 
merchant  and  furniture  dealer  in  Mississippi.  In  1902 
he  moved  to  Shawnee,  where  he  established  the  Shawnee 
Furniture  Company  in  partnership  with  J.  B.  Armstead. 
This  house  was  burned  out  in  1904,  and  since  then  Mr. 
Funk  t'P  been  connected  with  the  Flemm’n "--Brown  Fur- 
niture Company  at  Shawnee.  He  is  a democrat  and  is  a 
member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Funk 


1846 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


have  two  children:  Waller  Adair,  who  received  a high 

school  education  at  Shawnee  and  pursued  further  train- 
ing in  a school  of  technology  in  Chicago  and  is  now 
superintendent  for  an  electric  company  in  New  York 
City.  Louise  Trimmier  is  now  a sophomore  in  the  high 
school  at  Shawnee. 

F.  P.  Stearns.  For  a good  many  years  Shawnee  lias 
reposed  the  administration  of  its  municipal  affairs  in 
the  hands  of  Frank  P.  Stearns.  He  is  one  of  Oklahoma ’s 
very  capable  mayors.  He  is  one  of  the  old  settlers  and 
has  lived  in  Shawnee  and  has  been  a witness  and  par- 
ticipant in  its  growth  and  development  for  more  than 
twenty  years. 

He  was  born  in  Paris,  Maine,  October  5,  1861.  His 
ancestors  came  over  from  England  in  Governor  Win- 
throp’s  ship  in  1636  and  three  brothers  of  the  name 
settled  in  Waltham,  Massachusetts.  S.  P.  Stearns,  father 
of  Mayor  Stearns,  was  born  at  Paris,  Maine,  in  1829, 
and  has  spent  all  his  life  in  that  community  as  a farmer 
and  banker.  Though  past  eighty-five  years  of  age  he 
is  still  attending  to  his  duties  as  a banker.  In  polities 
he  is  a republican  and  is  a member  of  the  Hniversalist 
Church.  He  married  Isabelle  Partridge,  who  was  born 
in  Paris,  Maine,  in  1832,  and  is  also  still  living  in 
advanced  years.  Their  children  were:  Austin  P.,  a 

farmer  at  Paris,  Maine;  Frank  P.;  Henry  K.,  a miller 
at  Hebron,  Maine;  William  C.,  on  the  old  homestead  at 
Paris;  Mary,  wife  of  E.  C.  Park,  a lawyer  at  Bethel, 
Maine;  and  Joan,  wife  of  E.  S.  Kilborn,  a retired 
lumberman,  who  spends  part  of  the  year  in  Bethel  and 
during  the  winter  resides  in  Portland,  Maine. 

Mayor  Stearns  attended  the  public  schools  of  his 
native  village,  in  1881  graduated  from  Hebron  Academy, 
and  for  one  year  was  a student  in  Colby  College.  In 
the  meantime  he  had  begun  teaching  and  for  a time 
was  principal  of  the  high  school  at  Pine  Hill.  In  1885, 
coming  West,  he  located  at  Abilene,  Kansas,  and  spent 
two  years  in  the  grain  and  stock  business  at  Chapman. 
Removing  from  there  to  Dighton,  Kansas,  he  became  a 
• rancher,  handled  real  estate,  and  for  two  terms  filled 
the  office  of  county  superintendent  of  schools. 

At  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip  he  entered 
Oklahoma,  secured  a homestead  of  160  acres  one  mile 
north  of  Enid,  but  after  a year  sold  out  and  since 
November  7,  1894,  has  lived  in  Shawnee.  Since  then 
Mr.  Stearns  has  been  identified  with  many  of  the  busi- 
ness activities  of  this  city.  For  two  years  he  conducted 
a general  store.  He  established  the  first  gas  plant,  but 
after  a year  sold  out  to  present  Gas  Company.  To  a 
greater  or  less  extent  he  has  been  in  the  real  estate 
business.  He  was  elected  and  served  three  years  as 
city  treasurer,  and  for  4%  years  held  the  office  of  post- 
master, having  been  appointed  at  the  close  of  McKinley ’s 
administration  and  remaining  in  office  until  1905.  He 
was  secretary  of  the  chamber  of  commerce  a year  and 
its  president  one  year.  In  the  spring  of  1906  he  was 
elected  mayor,  and  held  that  office  for  two  terms,  or 
four  years.  After  being  out  of  office  a year  he  was 
again  selected,  this  time  for  a three  year  term,  and  is 
now  serving  a second  three-year  term.  In  politics  he  is 
a republican,  and  is  affiliated  with  Shawnee  Lodge  No. 
657,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  with 
the  Maccabees,  the  Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles,  the 
Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  and  the  Brotherhood  of 
American  Yeomen.  Mr.  Stearns  is  a director  in  the 
Shawnee  Building  and  Loan  Company,  has  served  on  the 
board  of  education,  is  president  of  the  Provident  Asso- 
ciation, having  been  chosen  for  a second  term  in  that 
office  on  November  11,  1915,  and  is  by  virtue  of  his 
office  president  of  the  Carnegie  Library  Board.  Mayor 


Stearns  was  largely  instrumental  in  securing  the  estab- 
lishment of  the  splendid  hospital  at  Shawnee  and  it  is 
recognized  as  the  finest  municipal  hospital  in  the  state 
and  the  only  one  that  is  on  a paying  basis.  He  is  now 
governor  of  the  hospital  board. 

In  1893,  at  Dighton,  Kansas,  Mayor  Stearns  married 
Miss  Winifred  Arnold,  daughter  of  S.  E.  Arnold,  now 
of  Kansas  City.  They  have  two  children:  Helen,  who 

graduated  from  Bethany  College  in  June,  1915,  and  is 
now  taking  a special  course  in  music  in  Kansas  City; 
and  Arnold,  in  the  first  year  of  the  Shawnee  High  School. 

Judge  William  Marshall  Engart.  A prominent 
Shawnee  attorney  and  vice  president  of  the  Shawnee 
library  board,  Judge  Engart  was  born  in  Boone  County, 
Indiana,  October  14,  1849.  The  Engart  family  is  of 
Dutch-Irish  descent  and  arrived  in  Virginia  about  the 
time  of  the  Revolutionary  war.  His  father,  Absalom 
Engart,  was  born  in  Virginia  in  1818  and  died  in 
Clinton  County,  Indiana,  in  1886.  He  came  to  Boone 
County,  Indiana,  about  1845,  having  been  reared  and 
married  in  his  native  state.  He  was  a farmer  and  stock 
raiser  and  about  1876  he  moved  to  Clinton  County,  where 
he  died.  Absalom  Engart  -married  Elizabeth  Brawley, . 
who  was  born  in  Virginia  in  1820  and  died  in  Clinton 
County,  Indiana,  in  1876.  Their  children  were:  Diana 
Johnson,  a widow,  who  lives  in  Clinton  County,  Indiana; 
Marietta,  who  married  J.  C.  Ghent,  a druggist,  both  being 
now  deceased;  Martha,  who  married  John  Pauley,  a 
stockman,  and  they  also  are  deceased;  Caroline,  who  mar- 
ried John  Jelf,  a carpenter,  and  both  died  at  Chat- 
tanooga, Tennessee;  Rush,  a farmer,  who  died  at  Frank- 
fort, Indiana,  and  William  M. 

Judge  Engart  attended  the  common  schools  in  Boone 
County,  Indiana,  and  for  a time  was  a student  at  Thorn- 
ton Academy,  under  John  C.  Ridpath,  the  great  popular 
historian.  He  graduated  Bachelor  of  Science  in  1869 
from  Stockwell  University.  His  early  life  was  spent  on 
his  father’s  farm,  and  for  three  terms  he  was  a teacher 
in  the  district  schools  of  Boone  County.  In  the  mean- 
time he  took  up  the  study  of  law,  and  also  attended  the 
law  department  of  the  Indiana  University  at  Blooming- 
ton. He  was  admitted  to  the  Indiana  bar  in  1873,  and 
has  had  more  than  forty  years  of  active  experience  as 
a lawyer.  His  first  practice  was  done  at  Colfax,  Indiana, 
from  1873  to  1881.  Then  for  a few  years,  until  1888,  he 
was  engaged  in  farming  in  Jasper  County,  Missouri, 
and  from  there  went  to  Dallas,  Texas,  and  was  in  the 
planing  mill  business  there  until  1892,  in  which  year 
he  returned  to  Indiana. 

Judge  Engart  is  an  Oklahoma  pioneer,  having  come 
to  the  territory  in  1893,  and  after  securing  admission 
to  the  bar  practiced  at  Guthrie  for  ten  years.  On 
January  1,  1904,  he  removed  to  Shawnee  and  has  since 
enjoyed  a general  civil  and  criminal  practice,  his  offices 
being  over  the  State  National  Bank.  He  has  frequently 
served  as  special  judge  of  the  district  court  and  in  the 
superior  court  of  Pottawatomie  County.  He  has  served 
as  president  of  the  Pottawatomie  County  Bar  Association, 
and  in  politics  he  is  affiliated  with  the  socialist  party. 
In  Clinton  County,  Indiana,  in  1875,  Judge  Engart 
married  Mrs.  Matie  J.  (Dean)  Long.  Her  father  was 
a farmer  in  Carroll  County,  Indiana.  The  seven  children 
of  their  marriage  are:  Linus  M.,  who  is  connected  with 
the  Royal  Typewriter  Company  and  resides  at  Corpus 
Christi,  Texas;  Zoe,  wife  of  A.  E.  Church,  who  is  in  the 
fire  department  at  Los  Angeles,  California ; Ethel,  wife  of 
R.  C.  Raglan,  also  with  the  fire  department  at  Los 
Angeles;  Grace,  wife  of  Joe  Hawkins,  proprietor  of  a 
restaurant  in  Shawnee;  Blanche,  wife  of  N.  L.  Hardin, 
connected  with  the  Pacific  Railway  at  Los  Angeles;  C.  R., 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


1847 


with  the  L.  C.  Smith  Typewriting  Company  at  Shawnee; 
and  Gertrude,  a stenographer  at  Shreveport,  Louisiana. 

Bishop  Theophile  Meerschaert  was  born  August 
24,  1847,  in  the  Village  of  R'ussignies,  about  an  hour’s 
walk  from  the  City  of  Renaix,  in  the  Belgian  Province 
of  East  Flanders.  His  father  was  of  that  sturdy  stock 
which  has  played  so  great  a part  in  the  history  of  North- 
ern Europe;  the  stock  which  was  first  to  declare  its  in- 
dependence of  feudalism  to  build  up  the  great  manu- 
facturing and  commercial  cities  of  the  middle  ages — 
Ghent,  Bruges,  Lille,  Audenarde  and  Ypres — cities  of 
the  guilds,  the  Christian  prototypes  of  our  modern 
trades  unions ; «ities  which  sent  forth  their  armies 
of  tradesmen  and  mechanics,  who,  under  the  walls 
of  Courtraj,  in  1302,  humbled  the  pride  of  Philip  the 
Fair  and  his  courtiers  in  the  battle  of  the  Golden  Spurs. 
His  mother  was  of  that  other  race  of  Belgium,  Walloon, 
whose  ancestors  Caesar,  in  the  introduction  to  his  History 
of  the  Gallic  Wars,  declares,  “Of  all  these,  the  bravest 
are  the  Belgians.  ’ ’ 

He  was  the  eighth  of  ten  children,  a family  of  only 
average  size  in  that  country  even  now.  His  earliest  in- 
struction was  received  in  the  public  school  of  his  native 
village,  as  at  that  time  the  public  schools  of  Belgium 
were  all  Catholic.  In  1859,  at  the  age  of  twelve  years, 
his  vocation  to  the  priesthood  must  have  been  already 
marked,  for  he  entered  the  then  recently  founded  diocesan 
College  of  Renaix.  Here  the  child  studied  each  day  from 
8 A.  M.  to  6 P.  M.,  making  the  journey  of  three  miles 
to  and  from  home  on  foot.  His  first  great  sorrow  came 
during  the  first  college  year,  on  May  28,  1860,  when  his 
mother  died  after  an  illness  of  only  a few  hours.  His 
eldest  sister,  Victorine,  who  had  intended  to  enter  the 
convent,  at  once  took  her  mother’s  place  in  the  care  of 
the  growing  family,  remaining  for  their  sake  in,  but  not 
of,  the  world,  an  humble  heroine  of  simple  devotion  to 
duty.  She,  whom  the  Bishop  loves  to  call  his  second 
mother,  died  December  23,  1914,  on  the  forty-second 
anniversary  of  his  ordination  to  the  priesthood. 

When  the  College  of  Renaix,  which  was  then  far  from 
its  present  rank  as  it  now  includes,  besides  a complete 
classical  course,  a famous  school  of  weaving  and  other 
manual  training,  could  take  him  no  further  in  his  studies, 
the  young  Theophile  entered  the  diocesan  College  of 
Audenarde  in  October,  1864,  whence  he  was  graduated  in 
August,  1868.  While  there,  he  devoted  his  leisure  to  the 
Society  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul,  and  found  in  its  work  a 
suitable  outlet  for  his  zeal  and  charity  toward  the  sick 
and  poor.  He  was  successively  secretary  and  president 
of  the  local  conference,  and  obtained  from  the  first  the 
rare  privilege  of  being  allowed  to  visit  the  sick  at  the 
hospital,  which  he  did  each  week  for  four  years. 

The  time  was  now  at  hand  to  begin  his  immediate 
training  for  the  priesthood;  and  as  he  was  resolved  to 
be  a missionary  in  America,  young  Mr.  Meerschaert  en- 
tered the  American  college  at  Louvain  in  October,  1868. 
Here  he  had  as  professors  the  famous  Dupont  and  Mon- 
signor Cartuyvels,  long  the  beloved  vice-rector  of  Louvain 
University.  On  June  10,  1870,  he  received  minor  orders; 
took  the  irrevocable  step  to,  subdeaconship,  December  17, 
1870;  was  ordained  deacon  June  3,  1871,  and  priest, 
December  23,  1871 ; remaining,  however,  as  a student  in 
the  American  college  until  July,  1872. 

It  may  not  come  amiss  to  notice  here  an  incident  of 
his  seminary  days  that  will  serve  to  shed  some  light  upon 
his  later  life.  A neighbor  in  his  village,  who  lived  alone, 
had  died.  Victorine,  his  sister,  invited  the  young  semi- 
narian to  come  with  her  and  prepare  the  body  for  burial. 
The  man  had  been  dead  nearly  twenty-four  hours  when 
they  arrived.  It  was  summer,  and  although  he  took  hold 


bravely  enough,  the  flesh  was  weaker  than  the  spirit. 
As  she  saw  him  about  to  faint,  Victorine  cried  out," 
‘ ‘ Shame  on  you : Is  that  the  kind  of  man  who  wants  to 
be  a missionary?’’  The  lesson  was  never  forgotten  and 
served  to  buoy  him  up  through  many  a sickening  ordeal 
in  aftat  years. 

Now  came  the  second  great  trial,  the  parting  from 
home  and  friends.  To  those  who  go  abroad  for  a visit 
or  for  recreation,  there  is  little  in  this;  yet  even  then 
there  is  frequently  a reluctance  at  thejast  moment  that 
* causes  emotion.  For  those  who  leave  home  for  a longer 
period  to  study  in  preparing  for  life  work,  the  trial  is 
greater;  yet  even  here  there  is  great  hope  of  return  to 
live  at  home;  and  the  knowledge  that  one’s  life  is  not 
being  torn  up  by  the  roots  to  be  transplanted  in  an  alien 
soil.  But  when  we  definitely  leave  behind  all  that  is  dear, 
and  know  that  if  we  ever  do  return  it  will  be  only  as  a 
visitor;  when  we  go  forth  to  face  what  difficulties  we 
know  not,  and  to  give  ourselves  for  strangers  who  may 
not  appreciate  or  welcome  our  sacrifice;  to  labor  among 
people  whose  language,  whose  customs,  whose  very  out- 
look upon  life  is  foreign  and  perhaps  repugnant  to  our 
own;  and  when  we  know  that  after  all  we  need  not  go; 
that  friends  without  number  would  gladly  bid  us  stay; 
ah  then,  there  is  something  to  give  up ! The  Belgian 
loves  his  home  and  native  land.  This  is  abundantly 
shown  by  the  fact  that  although  it  is  the  most  densely 
populated  land  upon  the  face  of  the  globe,  and  condi- 
tions of  life  are  correspondingly  hard,  yet  the  number  of 
its  emigrants  is  negligible.  If  our  young  missionary, 
then,  shed  a few  tears  at  parting,  can  we  find  it  in  our 
hearts  to  blame  him?  Especially  since  through  it  all, 
like  so  many  of  his  brave  countrymen,  his  purpose  never 
faltered,  nor  took  one  backward  look  on  what  it  left  be- 
hind. On  September  26,  1872,  Father  Meerschaert  left 
Russignies.  He  arrived  in  New  York  October  13th.  His 
first  sea  voyage  was  a long  one,  but  was  thoroughly  en- 
joyed by  the  young  missionary,  who  was  from  the  first 
an  excellent  sailor.  He  did  not  tarry  long  to  enjoy  what 
to  him  must  have  been  a new  world  full  of  wonders,  but 
proceeded  as  rapidly  as  circumstances  and  the  then  slow 
and  arduous  means  of  transportation  would  permit,  to 
report  for  duty  to  Bishop  Elder  of  Natchez,  Mississippi, 
afterwards  Archbishop  of  Cincinnati. 

The  young  priest  was  blessed  in  his  bishop.  A man 
whose  combined  learning  and  true  holiness  with  greatness 
of  mind  and  soul  and  the  simplicity  of  an  apostle,  Bishop 
Elder  was  in  deed  as  in  word  a pattern  to  his  flock.  His 
angelic  pity  for  the  poor  and  suffering,  and  his  heroism 
during  the  repeated  visitations  of  his  war-scarred  diocese 
by  the  yellow  fever,  made  him  loved  by  both  priests  and 
people. 

On  November  16,  1872,  Father  Meerschaert,  after  a 
few  weeks  at  the  bishop’s  house,  was  sent  to  his  first 
charge.  No  doubt  he  felt  quite  flattered  to  think  he  was 
at  once  to  be'  a pastor.  This  feeling,  however,  promptly 
subsided  after  his  first  visit  to  his  missions.  His  parish 
consisted  of  the  missions  of  Jordan  River,  Pearl  River 
and  Wolf  River,  in  Hancock  and  Harrison  counties, 
along  the  sea  coast.  Although  invited  to  make  his  head- 
. quarters  with  a neighboring  pastor  in  a well  established 
parish,  he  reserved  this  privilege  for  one  week  in  three 
months,  and  lived  the  rest  of  the  time  as  best  he  could 
in  his  own  poor  missions. 

The  first  visit  was  not  very  encouraging.  It  was  sixty 
miles  through  the  pine  woods  and  swamps  to  his  destina- 
tion, and  the  trip  was  made  in  a little  cart.  Six  or  seven 
miles  out,  while  fording  a stream,  his  valise  fell  out 
into  the  water.  To  add  to  his  discomfort  a norther  came 
up  and  it  began  to  sleet  and  freeze.  Father  Meerschaert 
was  afraid  that  his  aged  driver  would  be  ill,  so,  although 


1848 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


he  himself  was  wet  through  from  the  rescue  of  the 
precious  valise,  he  wrapped  the  old  man  in  his  cassock. 
They  walked  and  drove  alternately  for  twenty-five  miles, 
and  at  3 o’clock  in  the  afternoon  arrived  at  the  resi- 
dence of  a Catholic  family,  a one-room  house,  where  they 
sat  down  to  a dinner  of  rice  and  cabbage.  It  is  safe  to 
say  that  was  the  best  rice  and  cabbage  the  young  priest 
had  ever  tasted.  The  aged  driver  was  ill,  and  there  was 
not  much  room  to  spare,  so  Father  Meerschaert  walked 
three  miles  to  the  home  of  a relative  of  his  host  to  spend 
the  night.  There*  he  found  a family  of  ten,  again  in  a , 
one-room  house.  The  evening  meal  was  sweet  potatoes, 
served  alone.  The  missionary  had  not  yet  learned  to 
like  them,  so  he  concluded  to  wait  for  the  second  course. 
But  there  was  no  second  course!  His  bed  was  in  the 
corn  crib  upon  a husk  tick  with  one  quilt  for  covering. 
Old  sacks  were  hung  before  the  cracks  in  the  corn  crib 
to  keep  out  the  wind'.  On  this  bed  he  lay  down,  fully 
dressed  and  tried  to  pray  himself  to  sleep,  while  the  wind 
howled  through  the  pines,  and  the  latter  kept  up  a con- 
tinual crashing  as  they  rid  themselves  of  their  accumu- 
lated burden  of  encrusted  sleet.  The  next  morning  he 
set  up  a portable  altar  between  the  beds  in  the  house,  and 
thus  celebrated  his  first  Holy  Mass  as  pastor  in  his  new 
missions.  As  his  feet  were  badly  swollen  from  the  pre- 
vious day ’s  trip,  he  decided  to  return  on  horseback.  The 
saddle  was  not  well  girded  and  when  he  attempted  to 
mount,  it  promptly  turned  under  the  horse.  Finally  he 
got  it  securely  fastened  and  rode  off.  Being  yet  but  an 
inexperienced  horseman  he  got  his  horse  into  a hole  at 
the  Wolf  Biver  ford,  and  was  plunged  into  the  icy  water 
to  the  hips.  Before  he  could  dry  his  clothes  or  obtain 
food  he  had  to  ride  through  the  cold  three  miles  further 
to  a farmhouse. 

It  will  readily  be  seen  from  these  incidents,  that  his 
people  were  desperately  poor.  They  were  people  of  some 
education  and  refinement  but  had  lost  all  their  wealth  in 
the  Civil  war,  then  comparatively  recent.  For  the  most 
part  Catholics,  they  were  sadly  in  need  of  instruction. 
Many  full  grown  and  even  old  persons  among  them  had 
never  made  their  first  Confession  or  Communion,  and 
knew  next  to  nothing  of  their  religion.  Added  to  this 
was  a certain  spirit  of  hostility  toward  the  church,  and 
this  spirit  it  was  the  task  of  the  young  missionary  to 
eradicate. 

During  the  first  winter  he  called  his  people  to  a week  s 
encampment  at  a central  point.  Here  each  day  was 
begun  with  Mass,  followed  by  a solid  forenoon ’s  instruc- 
tion on  the  catechism,  the  prayers,  the  ceremonies  of  the 
church,  etc.  At  noon  a recess  for  lunch,  and  all  after- 
noon was  again  devoted  to  study  and  instruction.  Con- 
fession began  Thursday,  and  Sunday  morning  nearly  a 
hundred,  ranging  from  sixteen  to  seventy  years,  made 
their  first  Holy  Communion.  All  received  confirmation 
at  the  hands  of  Bishop  Elder  at  Bay  St.  Louis,  February 
2,  1873.  _ . 

Father  Meerschaert  was  changed  to  Ocean  Springs  m 
August,  1874,  and  had  been  in  his  new  parish  not  quite  a 
year  when  yellow  fever  broke  out.  The  first  cases  oc- 
curred in  the  latter  part  of  June,  but  the  epidemic 
reached  its  greatest  virulence  in  September  and  October. 
From  the  first  outbreak  the  young  pastor  was  in  the 
thick  of  the  danger.  He  did  not  confine  himSelf  to 
spiritual  ministrations,  but  busied  himself  with  nursing 
the  sick,  Catholics  and  non-Catholics  alike,  sitting  up 
with  them  every  alternate  night,  as  a rule,  and  by  word 
and  example  heartening  the  people  to  care  for  their  own 
afflicted  ones,  instead  of  fleeing  in  panic  to  a place  of 
safety,  and  leaving  husbands,  wives  or  children  to  die 
without  consolation,  as  was  so  often  the  case  in  other 
communities.  Finally,  on  the  last  Friday  in  October, 


after  having  spent  the  whole  night  by  the  bedside  of  a 
dying  German,  he  was  called  by  a Protestant  old  lady 
one  of  those  who  thought  Catholics  so  bad  that  they 
would  not  even  sell  vegetables  to  the  priest,  but  who  said 
in  calling  him : “ Mr.  Priest,  my  neighbor  is  sick  and 

wants  you.  She  is  a Catholic  and  I know  you  will  do  her 
good.”  It  was  three  miles  in  the  country  and  the  trans- 
portation was  apostolic;  that  is,  on  foot.  After  he  had 
given  the  sacraments  to  the  dying  girl,  “Mr.  Priest,” 
said  the  old  lady,  “you  are  sick,  too?”  “No,”  replied 
Father  Meerschaert,  ‘ ‘ Only  a bad  cold.  ” “ But  you  look 
bad;  perhaps  you  are  afraid?”  “Well,  hardly,  after 
nursing  the  sick  for  eight  weeks.  ” “ Well,  if  you  take 
the  fever,  send  for  me;  I will  come  and  nurse  you.” 
The  following  day,  Saturday,  she  came  after  Mr.  Priest 
to  come  and  bury  the  dead  girl,  and  on  Sunday,  during 
Mass  the  premonitary  symptoms  appeared.  After  Mass 
came  the  chill;  and  a non-Catholic,  whose  daughter  was 
being  instructed  for  first  communion,  put  the  priest  to 
bed.  On  Tuesday  he  suffered  a relapse,  and  for  a week 
his  life  was  despaired  of,  as  he  had  even  the  black  vomit, 
considered  a sure  sign  of  death.  The  next  day,  though 
still  unable  to  sit  up,  he  was  brought  six  miles  into  the 
country  in  a soring  wagon,  supported  by  a man  on  each 
side,  to  give  the  last  sacraments  to  the  little  girl  he  had 
been  instructing  for  first  holy  communion,  the  daughter 
of  the  man  who  had  put  him  to  bed.  He  was  brought 
back  home,  arriving  at  half  past  one  in  the  morning. 
The  girl  died  the  same  morning  at  nine. 

In  1878,  while  on  his  first  visit  to  Europe,  he  learned 
that  the  yellow  fever  had  again  broken  out  in  Mississippi, 
and  hurried  back  to  his  flock.  This  enidemic  was  worse 
than  the  preceding  one  and  out  of  twenty-six  priests,  six 
died  with  the  fever,  and  thirteen  sisters.  During  this 
second  epidemic,  Father  Meerschaert  had  to  attend,  not 
only  his  parishioners,  but  those  of  Biloxi,  and  Pascagoula 
as  well,  as  the  pastors  of  both  these  places  were  down 
with  fever. 

In  June,  1879,  Father  Ledue,  then  pastor  of  Bay  St. 
Louis,  was  sent  away  on  sick  leave,  and  Father  Meer- 
schaert was  sent  to  replace  him  until  his  return.  In 
November,  1880,  he  was  appointed  to  Natchez,  where  he 
remained  until  his  appointment  as  Vicar  Apostolic  of 
the  Indian  Territory.  In  Natchez  he  continued  the  same 
course  which  had  so  endeared  him  to  the  people  in  his 
former  parishes.  No  one,  whether  Protestant,  Catholic, 
Jew  or  atheist  ever  fell  ill,  without  being  visited  by 
Father  Meerschaert  and  no  one  who  was  not  glad  to  cail 
him  friend.  After  the  coming  of  Bishop  Janssens,  after- 
wards Archbishop  of  New  Orleans,  in  May,  1881,  Father 
Meerschaert  became  acting  vicar  general,  and  after  the 
death  of  Father  Grignon  in  April,  1887,  he  received  the 
title.  Bishop  Janssens  was  promoted  to  New  Orleans 
August  6,  1888,  and  Father  Meerschaert  was  designated 
Administrator  of  the  Diocese  of  Natchez  until  the  coming 
of  the  new  bishop.  Bishop  Heslin  arrived  in  Natchez 
June  23,  1889,  and  appointed  Father  Meerschaert  again 
vicar  general. 

On  April  20,  1891,  Archbishop  Janssens  received  a 
cablegram  that  Father  Meerschaert  was  selected  as  Vicar 
Apostolic  of  the  Indian  Territory.  ■ The  news  reached 
Natchez  the  same  night  at  3:30,  but  as  Father  Meer- 
schaert was  out  visiting  the  sick,  he  did  not  receive  it 
until  6 o’clock  in  the  morning.  The  announcement  was 
made  in  Consistory  on  May  7,  1891,  and  on  June  11th, 
the  bulls  appointing  him  Bishop  of  Sidyma  and  Vicar 
Apostolic  of  the  Indian  Territory  were  issued.  The  new 
bishop-elect  made  his  retreat  preparatory  to  consecration 
at  Jefferson  College  in  New  Orleans,  from  August  27th 
to  September  3d.  His  consecration  took  place  in  the 
cathedral  at  Natchez,  September  8,  1891.  The  conse- 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1849 


crator  was  his  dear  friend,  Archbishop  Janssens,  assisted 
by  Bishops  Fitzgerald  of  Little,  Bock,  and  Heslin  of 
Natchez. 

The  consecration  of  the  new  bishop  was,  most  appro- 
priately the  grandest  church  function  witnessed  in 
Natchez  up  to  that  time,  or  even  since.  Prelates,  priests 
and  people  vied  with  one  another  to  do  honor  to  the  man, 
who,  after  many  years  of  arduous  labor  among  the  people 
of  Mississippi,  was  now  calle’d  by  the  voice  of  the 
Supreme  Pastor  to  a greater  but  no  less  trying  field. 
Among  the  testimonials  of  regard  received  by  Bishop 
Meerschaert  on  this  occasion  were,  a purse  of  $700,  full 
pontifical  robes,  crozier,  mitres,  pectoral  cross  and  chain, 
chalices,  etc.  On  the  evening  of  his  consecration  he  was 
tendered  a public  reception  by  the  citizens  of  Natchez, 
and  on  the  following  evening,  by  the  colored  people. 
While  they  could  not  but  rejoice  at  the  honor  bestowed 
' upon  one  so  dear  to  them,  still  their  hearts  were  saddened 
at  the  thought  that  these  honors  signalized  their  separa- 
tion from  one  whom  they  all,  irrespective  of  religion,-  had 
grown  accustomed  to  call  “Father.” 

Our  Bishop ’s  first  Holy  Mass  in  his  new  vicariate  was 
celebrated  in  the  convent  at  Purcell  in  the  early  morning 
of  September  19,  1891.  He  arrived  at  Guthrie,  the  place 
designated  by  the  Congregation  of  the  Propaganda  as  his 
residence,  the  same  day,  and  was  met  at  the  station  by 
Governor  Steele,  numerous  officials  of  Oklahoma  Terri- 
tory, and  other  prominent  citizens. 

Let  us  now  glance  briefly  at  the  conditions  existing  in 
the  new  vicariate,  comprising  what  is  now  the  State  of 
Oklahoma,  but  at  that  time  known  as  Oklahoma  and 
Indian  Territory.  Truly  a beautiful  land,  but  still 
slumbering  in  the  ignorance  of  childhood  regarding  the 
bounteous  material  resources  hidden  within  its  breast, 
and  having  as  yet  no  idea  of  the  greatness  a few  short 
years  would  bring.  Vast  reaches  of  its  area  were  as  yet 
forbidden  to  the  settler.  The  only  inhabited  portion  of 
Oklahoma  Territory  comprised  the  counties  of  Logan, 
Kingfisher,  Oklahoma,  and  Canadian,  with  a part  of  Lin- 
coln, Pottowatomie,  and  Cleveland.  The  population  of 
this  territory  was  less  than  6,000  souls.  The  Indian 
Territory  with  its  five  civilized  tribes  and  some  smaller 
tribal  governments,  together  with  a comparatively  small 
number  of  whites  and  negroes,  numbered  less  than  200,- 
000.  Of  railroads,  there  were  only  what  are  now  known 
as  the  main  lines  of  the  M.  K.  & T.,  the  Santa  Fe,  and 
the  north  and  south  line  of  the  Bock  Island,  the  latter 
terminating  at  El  Eeno.  In  the  Indian  Territory  there 
were  no  laws  but  the  tribal  governments,  and  this  por- 
tion of  the  future  state  was  largely  a refuge  to  the  law- 
less of  other  states.  There  were  but  sixteen  priests,  all 
told;  and  nearly  half  of  them  were  but  more  than  fully 
occupied  with  the  labors  and  trials  incident  to  the  solid 
foundation  and  upbuilding  of  College  and  Indian  School 
at  Sacred  Heart.  The  number  of  secular  priests  was 
three.  The  total  number  of  baptisms  the  first  year  was 
347,  of  marriages,  52,  and  of  burials,  78;  while  the  total 
Catholic  population,  white,  Indian  and  colored,  was  7,994, 
and  the  total  number  of  children  in  the  Catholic  College 
and  schools  was  766. 

One  of  our  bishop’s  first  cares  was  to  visit  and  con- 
’ firm  in  every  part  of  his  vicariate.  Though  he  was  then, 
as  he  has  been  ever  since,  received  with  honor,  loyalty, 
and  the  affection  which  those  who  know  him  best  under- 
stand so  well,  yet  the  physical  labor  of  traversing _ so 
great  an  area  largely  by  wagon,  fording  streams,  braving 
storms,  and  enduring  the  hardships  inseparable  from 
travel  in  a new,  wild  country,  was  always  great.  He  had 
now,  however, -to  concern  himself  more  and  more  with  the 
spiritual  burdens  and  financial  responsibilities  of  his 
position.  He  has  traveled  a great  deal,  both  in  and  out 


of  the  state ; and  has  always  made  good  use  of  his  travels, 
especially  his  trips  to  Europe,  to  obtain  young  and  zealous 
priests  and  has  employed  the  donations  of  the  charitably 
disposed  to  assist  those  laboring  in  the  poorer  missions, 
as  well  as  to  provide  for  the  education  of  those  who  de- 
sire to  devote  their  lives  to  missionary  work,  and  who 
would  otherwise  be  prevented  by  lack  of  means.  He  has 
always  made  his  house  a home  for  priests,  and  many 
a weary  missionary,  coming  to  see  the  bishop  after 
months  of  discouragement  and  almost  hopeless,  has  re- 
ceived refreshment,  both  material  and  spiritual,  and  after 
a short  rest  has  departed  with  courage  renewed  for  his 
field  of  labor. 

On  August  23,  1905,  the  vicariate  was  erected  in  the 
Diocese  of  Oklahoma  with  the  Episcopal  See  at  Okla- 
homa City.  Since  that  time,  as  before,  its  growth  has 
been  steady,  even  during  the  reaction  which  followed  the 
early  boom  days.  By  way  of  comparison  with  the  statis- 
tics given  for  the  first  year  of  our  bishop ’s  presence  here 
we  see  that  in  1915  there  were  in  the  diocese  71  secular 
and  34  regular  priests,  64  churches,  with  residence  priests, 
84  missions  with  churches,  127  stations,  and  4 chapels, 
Besides  these  there  are  12  Brothers  of  the  Sacred  Heart 
in  Muskogee,  and  in  the  diocese  320  members  of  religi- 
ous sisterhoods.  There  are  15  ecclesiastical  students,  3 
colleges  for  boys,  Sacred  Heart,  Muskogee,  and  the 
Catholic  University  in  Shawnee;  238  college  students, 
two  academies  for  young  ladies,  with  190  boarders,  2 
hospitals,  St.  Anthony ’s  in  Oklahoma  City  and  St.  Mary ’s 
Infirmary  in  McAlester;  St.  Joseph’s  Orphanage  at 
Oklahoma  City,  with  70  orphans;  39  schools  for  white, 
8 for  Indian,  and  2 for  colored  children  with  a total  of 
4,972  pupils  and  a total  of  5,152  young  people  under 
Catholic  care.  There  were  during  the  year  1,620  bap- 
tisms, of  whom  201  were  converts;  387  marriages  and 
365  burials,  and  the  Catholic  population  was  40,633. 

It  must  not,  however,  be  imagined  that  everything 
has  been  easy  sailing  in  the  diocese  during  all  these 
years.  The  bishop  has  had  his  trials,  and  they  have 
been  both  many  and  heavy.  The  one  thing  that  has  sus- 
tained him  when  everything  looked  darkest  has  been  his 
spirit  of  prayer.  He  has  always  enjoyed  to  a very  high 
degree  the  love  and  loyalty  of  both  his  priests  and  his 
people,  and  forsooth  the  hope  and  prayer  of  all  is — 

‘ ‘ May  he  be  still  our  Bishop  and  our  Father  for 
many  years  to  come.” 

Leonidas  Horton  McConnell,  M.  D.  The  arrival  of 
Dr.  Leonidas  Horton  McConnell  at  Elmer  was  coincident 
with  the  opening  of  the  village.  At  that  time  he  was  but 
recently  graduated  from  his  medical  college,  and  he  was 
forced  to  pass  through  the  period  of  hard  struggle  to 
gain  a foothold  that  all  young  physicians  must  experi- 
ence; but  his  abilities  and  knowledge  of  his  calling  soon 
made  themselves  felt,  and  since  that  time  he  has  at- 
tracted to  himself  an  excellent  practice  and  established 
himself  firmly  in  the  confidence  and  esteem  of  the  people. 

Doctor  McConnell  was  born  at  Maryville,  Blount 
County,  Tennessee,  November  29,  1871,  and  is  a son  of 
J.  B.  B.  and  Sarah  (King)  McConnell.  The  branch  of 
the  family  of  which  he  is  a member  originated  in  Scot- 
land and  the  original  emigrant  located  in  Virginia,  prob- 
ably prior  to  the  War  of  the  Bevolution.  J.  B.  B. 
McConnell  was  born  in  1840,  also  at  Maryville,  where  he 
was  engaged  in  farming  at  the  time  of  the  outbreak  of 
the  Civil  war,  and  enlisted  in  a Tennessee  infantry  regi- 
ment in  the  Union  Army,  with  which  he  served  until  the 
declaration  of  peace.  He  continued  to  be  a resident  of 
Tennessee  until  1902,  in  which  year  he  came  to  Oklahoma, 
locating  at  Guymon,  the  county  seat  of  Texas  County, 
where  his  death  occurred  in  1907.  Mrs.  McConnell,  who 


1850 


HISTOKY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


was  born  in  Knox  County,  Tennessee,  in  1845,  died  at 
Maryville,  that  state,  in  1885.  They  were  the  parents 
of  nine  children,  as  follows:  Moses,  who  was  a farmer 
and  died  at  Maryville,  Tennessee,  in  his  thirty-second 
year;  Jennie,  who  resides  at  Guymon,  Oklahoma;  Dr. 
Leonidas  Horton;  Josephen,  who  married  John  Nuchals, 
and  died  in  1907 ; Annie,  who  married  Clell  Ballinger,  a 
carpenter  and  builder  of  Guymon;  Elizabeth,  who  is  the 
widow  of  M.  G.  Wylie,  an  attorney,  and  resides  at 
Guymon;  Adelia,  who  is  the  wife  of  John  Curtis,  a mer- 
chant at  Guymon;  John,  who  is  the  editor  of  a news- 
paper at  that  place;  and  Olive,  who  died  at  Carlsbad, 
New  Mexico,  as  the  wife  of  B.  B.  Cline,  a mechanic. 

Leonidas  H.  McConnell  grew  up  on  his  father’s  Ten- 
nessee farm.  He  attended  the  schools  of  Maryville,  where 
he  was  graduated  from  the  high  school  in  1893,  and 
Maryville  College,  where  he  pursued  a full  course  of 
three  years.  Following  this,  he  spent  three  years  in 
teaching  school  in  Blount  County,  and  in  the  meantime 
applied  himself  to  the  study  of  medicine,  which  he  had 
decided  upon  as  his  life  profession.  In  1898  he  matricu- 
lated at  the  Chattanooga  (Tennessee)  Medical  College, 
where  he  was  graduated  in  1901,  with  the  degree  of 
Doctor  of  Medicine.  Between  medical  school  courses  he 
taught  public  school  to  make  the  next  medical  school  year. 
While  a member  of  Maryville  College  he  was  active  in 
college  literary  circles  and  a member  of  the  Athenian 
Literary  Society.  After  a short  period  of  practice  in  his 
native  state,  July  11,  1901,  Doctor,  McConnell  came  to 
Oklahoma,  first  taking  up  his  residence  at  Yelldell,  near 
the  present  Town  of  Elmer,  and  when  the  latter  town 
was  founded,  in  the  same  year,  transferred  his  residence 
and  professional  headquarters  to  this  place.  Here  Doctor 
McConnell  has  carried  on  a broad  and  general  medical 
and  surgical  practice,  being  equally  at  home  in  both 
branches.  He  has  kept  in  close  touch  with  the  profes- 
sional brotherhood,  belonging  to  the  organizations  of  his 
calling.  His  well-appointed  offices  are  located  on  Main 
Street,  in  the  Elmer  Drug  Store.  Doctor  McConnell  is  a 
republican  in  national  affairs,  but  in  local  matters  is  dis- 
posed to  hold  views  of  a rather  independent  nature, 
preferring  to  use  his  own  judgment  in  the  selection  of 
candidates  for  office.  He  is  somewhat  interested  in  fra- 
ternal work,  being  a member  of  Yelldell  Lodge  No.  196, 
Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  Elmer  Chapter  of 
the  Order  of  the  Eastern  Star,  and  Elmer  Camp,  Wood- 
men of  the  World,  and  has  many  friends  in  each.  He 
has  always  been  known  as  a public-spirited  citizen  who 
can  be  depended  upon  to  give  his  energetic  support  to 
movements  of  a progressive  and  advantageous  nature. 

On  May  12,  1911,  at  Elmer,  Doctor  McConnell  was 
united  in  marriage  with  Miss  Kate  McCabe,  daughter  of 
the  late  Barney  McCabe,  retired,  of  Litchfield,  Ken- 
tucky, who  died  in  1914.  Doctor  and  Mrs.  McConnell 
are  the  parents  of  one  son:  Henry  Lee,  born  at  Elmer, 
January  7,  1914. 

Dudley  B.  Philltps,  The  genial,  popular  and  efficient 
cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Yukon  is  recognized 
as  one  of  the  representative  executives  in  connection  with 
financial  affairs  in  Canadian  County  and  is  well  entitled 
to  consideration  in  this  history  of  Oklahoma,  within 
whose  borders  he  has  maintained  his  home  since  1889, 
the  year  that  marked  the  opening  of  the  territory  to 
settlement.  Mr.  Phillips  has  been  identified  with  the 
First  National  Bank  of  Yukon  for  nearly  a score  of 
years,  and  has  had  much  influence  in  its  development 
into  one  of  the  substantial  and  important  financial  insti- 
tutions of  Canadian  County,  the  while  his  character  and 
services  have  given  him  inviolable  place  in  popular  con- 
fidence and  good  will. 


Though  a representative  of  one  of  the  honored  pioneer 
families  of  Oklohoma,  Mr.  Phillips  claims  the  fine  old 
Bluegrass  state  as  the  place  of  his  nativity,  and  there 
also  were  born  his  parents,  John  B.  and  Martha  A.  F. 
(Lain)  Phillips,  who  emigrated  thence  to  Oklahoma 
in  1889  and  settled  on  a farm  six  miles  southeast  of 
the  present  thriving  little  City  of  Yukon.  There  the 
father  continued  to  reside  until  his  death,  in  1897,  at 
the  age  of  seventy  years,  his  wife  surviving  him  by  a 
number  of  years,  and  the  names  of  both  meriting  endur- 
ing place  on  the  roll  of  the  sterling  pioneers  who  initiated 
and  carried  forward  the  civic  and  industrial  development 
of  a now  vigorous  and  opulent  young  commonwealth. 

Dudley  B.  Phillips  was  born  in  Hancock  County,  Ken- 
tucky, on  the  8th  of  March,  1867,  and  in  . the  schools 
of  his  native  state  he  received  meager  advantages.  He 
preceded  his  parents  to  the  West,  as  he  came  to  Kansas 
in  1884,  when  seventeen  years  of  age,  and  he  remained 
in  the  Sunflower  state  until  the  opening  of  Oklahoma 
to  settlement,  in  1889,  when  he  came  to  the  new  terri- 
tory and  established  his  residence  in  Canadian  County, 
where  his  parents  located  in  the  same  year.  Thereafter 
he  was  for  a few  terms  a representative  of  the  peda- 
gogic profession  in  this  county,  as  a teacher  in  rural 
districts,  and  in  the  furtherance  of  his  own  education 
he  attended  for  a time  the  University  of  Oklahoma. 

In  1898  Mr.  Phillips  assumed  the  position  of  book- 
keeper in  the  Bank  of  Yukon,  and  soon  afterward  he  was 
advanced  to  the  position  of  assistant  cashier,  of  which  he 
continued  in  tenure  until  he  was  made  cashier  of  the  insti- 
tution in  1900.  The  Bank  of  Yukon  was  converted  into 
the  First  National  Bank  in  1902.  Prior  to  entering  the 
banking  business  he  had  been  identified  with  agricultural 
pursuits  in  Oklahoma,  but  in  his  present  vocation  he 
has  found  opportunity  and  scope  for  most  effective  service 
and  has  become  known  as  an  able  financier  of  marked 
discrimination  and  progressiveness. 

Vitally  interested  in  all  that  touches  the  general  wel- 
fare of  his  home  community,  county  and  state,  Mr. 
Phillips  is  loyal  and  public-spirited,  and  though  never 
troubled  with  aught  of  ambition  for  the  honors  or  emolu- 
ments of  political  office  he  accords  unwavering  allegiance 
to  the  democratic  party.  He  is  a Master  Mason,  and  is 
a member  of  the  Baptist  Church  of  Yukon,  of  the  Sun- 
day school  of  which  he  has  served  as  superintendent  for 
more  than  seventeen  years — covering  virtually  the  entire 
period  of  his  residence  in  Yukon. 

In  1899  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Phillips 
to  Miss  Clara  Artt,  who  was  born  in  Iowa  and  whose 
father,  Jefferson  Artt,  was  a sterling  pioneer  of  Canadian 
Gounty,  Oklahoma.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Phillips  have  six 
children:  Lucille,  Daniel  Artt,  Dudley  Bernard,  Dorace, 
George  Dayton  and  Jean  Lewis. 

J.  S.  Barham.  During  the  dozen  years  he  has  been 
a resident  of  Oklahoma,  J.  S.  Barham  has  become  one 
of  the  leading  men  of  Seminole  County,  has  been  engaged 
in  merchandising,  in  the  management  of  stock  and 
ranch  interests,  has  served  as  a member  of  the  Legis- 
lature, and  is  now  postmaster  of  Wewoka. 

A native  of  Tennessee,  he  was  born  at  Satillo  June 
8,  1867,  a son  of  William  I.  and  Tennessee  C.  (Hawk) 
Barham.  Both  parents  were  born  in  the  same  locality 
of  Tennessee  and  the  father  died  there  in  1871  at  the 
age  of  thirty-five.  He  was  a tanner  by  trade  and  also 
a general  merchant,  and  three  of  his  brothers  were  in 
active  service  in  the  Confederate  Army  under  the  noted 
cavalry  leader,  Forrest.  These  brothers  were  Samuel 
J.,  Newsom  and  A.  P.  Mr.  Barham’s  mother  is  still 
living,  having  spent  most  of  her  life  at  the  old  home 
in  Tennessee,  but  is  now  residing  at  ^Grayson,  Louisiana. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1851 


Her  five  children  were:  Mollie  N.,  now  deceased; 

Newsom  R.,  who  for  the  past  twelve  years  has  served 
as  district  judge  at  Lexington,  Tennessee;  Samuel  J., 
deceased;  J.  S. ; and  Rena,  wife  of  A.  B.  Mitchell,  of 
Grayson,  Louisiana. 

J.  S.  Barham  grew  up  in  Tennessee  and  lived  in  that 
state  until  about  1903.  He  had  limited  opportunities 
to  gain  an  education,  but  made  the  best  of  them,  and 
at  the  age  of  sixteen  began  a business  career  as  a mer- 
cantile clerk.  From  1898  to  1904  he  was  purchasing 
agent  for  the  Ayer  & Lord  Company  of  Chicago,  buying 
up  timber  for  the  manufacture  of  ties  and  other  kindred 
material.  He  was  also  for  four  years  postmaster  at 
Parsons,  Tennessee. 

Since  November,  1904,  Mr.  Barham  has  been  a resi- 
dent of  Oklahoma.  For  a time  he  was  a merchant  at 
Coalgate,  but  in  April,  1905,  moved  to  Konawa,  in 
Seminole  County,  was  in  the  land  and  loan  business 
there  until  moving  to  Wewoka  in  1908.  From  1908  to 
December  31,  1910,  he  served  as  under  sheriff  of  Semi- 
nole County  and  then  resumed  the  real  estate  and  loan 
business  during  1911-12.  Again  he  filled  the  office  of  under 
sheriff  until  July  27,  1913,  and  then  accepted  appoint- 
ment as  postmaster  of  Wewoka,  an  office  in  which  he 
has  rendered  valuable  service  to  the  community.  While 
Mr.  Barham  has  also  had  some  experience  in  handling 
the.  affairs  of  a postoffiee  back  in  Tennessee,  it  is  note- 
worthy that  his  mother  was  for  some  time  in  charge  of 
the  postoffice  at  Satillo,  Tennessee,  and  Mr.  Barham’s 
sister,  Mollie,  was  also  postmaster  of  the  same  town. 
Among  other  business  interests  Mr.  Barham  is  closely 
identified  with  agriculture  in  Seminole  County,  and  has 
about  600  acres  under  cultivation. 

He  has  always  been  a democrat,  and  was  chairman  of 
the  first  democratic  campaign  committee  in  Seminole 
County.  From  1911  to  1913  he  represented  Seminole 
and  Pontotoc  counties  in  the  State  Legislature,  and  thus 
in  addition  to  handling  his  private  affairs  successfully 
he  has  rendered  public  service  to  his  county  and  home 
community  and  also  to  the  state  at  large.  Mr.  Barham 
is  a Mason,  having  attained  thirty-two  degrees  in  the 
Scottish  Rite,  is  a Knight  of  Pythias  and  a member  of 
the  Woodmen  of  the  World.  In  1898  he  married  Miss 
Eula  Corine  Payne  at  Iuka,  Mississippi.  To  their  mar- 
riage have  been  born  six  children:  Hugh  Payne,  Anna 

Irene  (who  died  in  infancy),  Willie  Tina,  Lewis,  New- 
som, and  J.  S.,  Jr. 

Charles  Williams.  One  of  the  enterprising  and 
progressive  business  men  of  the  younger  generation  at 
Hooker,  Texas  County,  Hon.  Charles  Williams,  is  there 
conducting  a substantial  enterprise  through  his  well 
established  general  insurance  agency,  and  he  has  other- 
wise been  prominently  identified  with  local  interests,  is 
broad-gauged  and  public-spirited,  and  that  he  enjoys 
unalloyed  popularity  is  fully  vouched  for  in  his  election 
as  representative  of  Texas  and  Cimarron  counties  in  the 
Fifth  General  Assembly  of  the  Oklahoma  Legislature. 
Mr.  Williams  has  reason  to  take  pride  in  the  fact  that 
he  was  born  and  reared  within  the  present  State  of 
Oklahoma,  his  parents  having  been  numbered  among  the 
pioneer  settlers  in  Indian  Territory,  and  though  the 
conditions  of  time  and  place  placed  certain  limitations 
on  the  advantages  afforded  to  Charles  Williams  in  his 
boyhood  and  youth,  he  imbibed  deeply  of  the  progressive 
spirit  of  the  West,  early  learned  the  value  of  self-reliant 
purpose,  developed  definite  ambition,  and  thus  was  able 
to  make  good  all  handicaps  and  to  press  forward  to  the 
goal  of  worthy  achievement.  He  is  a young  man  of 
strong  mentality  and  well  fortified  opinions,  and  as  a 


member  of  the  Legislature  of  his  native  state  he  has 
acquitted  himself  with  credit  and  no  little  distinction. 

Mr.  Williams  was  born  in  that  part  of  Indian  Ter- 
ritory that  is  now  Bryan  County,  Oklahoma,  and  the  year 
of  his  nativity  was  1884.  He  is  a son  of  Cicero  B.  H. 
and  Nancy  (Swagger)  Williams,  the  former  of  whom  was 
born  in  Mississippi  and  the  latter  in  Virginia,  both 
families  having  been  founded  in  the  South  several  genera- 
tions ago.  Cicero  B.  H.  Williams  was  a youth  when  he 
accompanied  his  parents  to  Texas,  in  1869,  his  father 
having  thus  become  a pioneer  of  the  Lone  Star  State, 
where  he  established  his  residence  within  a few  years 
after  the  close  of  his  service  as  a loyal  soldier  of  the 
Confederacy  in  the  Civil  war.  Cicero  B.  H.  Williams 
continued  his  residence  in  Texas  until  the  early  ’80s, 
when  he  became  a pioneer  settler  in  Indian  Territory, 
where  he  engaged  in  farming  and  stock  growing.  He 
has  been  successful  in  his  association  with  these  lines 
of  industrial  enterprise  in  Oklahoma  and  he  and  his  wife 
reside  on  their  well  improved  homestead  farm  near 
Hooker,  Texas  County,  being  well  known  in  this  section 
of  the  state  and  being  honored  as  sterling  pioneer  citizens 
who  have  done  their  part  in  accelerating  the  civic  and 
industrial  development  of  Oklahoma. 

The  rudimentary  educational  advantages  afforded  to 
Hon.  Charles  Williams  and  the  other  children  of  the 
family  were  necessarily  somewhat  primitive,  as  the 
pioneer  facilities  in  what  is  now  Oklahoma  were  meager. 
In  what  is  now  Garvin  County  he  pursued  his  studies 
in  a little  log  schoolhouse,  the  equipment  of  which  was 
on  a parity  with  those  in  the  qlder  states  of  the  Union 
three  generations  ago,  and  the  school  was  maintained  on 
the  subscription  plan.  Mr.  Williams  made  good  account 
of  himself  in  his  initial  application  to  scholastic  lore, 
and  later  he  was  able  to  extend  his  education  by  broader 
advantages  and  by  personal  application  in  an  independent 
way,  so  that  he  has  become  a young  man  of  excellent  in- 
formation and  mature  judgment.  "Concerning  the  other 
surviving  children  of  the  family  it  may  be  stated  that 
Mrs.  Benjamin  D.  Mills  resides  on  a farm  near  Hooker, 
her  husband  being  a progressive  agriculturist  and  a suc- 
cessful teacher;  Henry  is  now  a resident  of  Richards, 
Colorado;  William  likewise  maintains  his  home  at  that 
place;  and  the  younger  of  the  two  sisters  is  the  wife  of 
Michael  C.  Young,  a successful  farmer  near  Hooker, 
Texas  County,  this  state. 

In  the  early  youth  of  Mr.  Williams  the  family  home 
was  maintained  for  fifteen  years  at  Elmore,  not  far 
distant  from  Pauls  Valiev,  the  present  judicial  center 
of  Garvin  County,  and  after  leaving  the  public  schools 
Mr.  Williams  completed  an  effective  course  in  the  Indian- 
ola  Business  College  at  Ardmore,  Carter  County.  In 
1904  he  accompanied  his  parents  on  their  removal  to 
Texas  County,  where  he  has  since  maintained  his  resi- 
dence and  where  his  circle  of  friends  is  limited  only  by 
that  of  his  acquaintances. 

In  1905-6,  the  only  period  of  absence  from  his  native 
state,  Mr.  Williams  was  employed  as  freight  and  ticket 
agent  for  the  Atchison,  Topeka  and  Santa  Fe  Railroad, 
at  Hartland,  Kansas,  and  in  1907  he  settled  on  a farm 
near  Hooker,  Texas  County,  Oklahoma.  He  still  owns 
this  homestead,  has  made  good  improvements  on  the  same 
and  has  continued  to  be  identified  with  farming  in  a 
limited  way.  In  1913  Mr.  Williams  was  appointed  deputy 
court  clerk  at  Hooker,  and  of  this  position  he  continued 
the  incumbent  until  his  election  to  the  lower  house  of 
the  Oklahoma  Legislature,  in  the  following  year.  In  the 
campaign  for  representative  of  Texas  and  Cimarron 
counties  in  the  Legislature  Mr.  Williams  made  an 
effective  canvass  and  his  popularity  was  shown  in  his 
receiving  at  the  polls  a plurality  250  greater  than  his 


1852 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


representative  district  accorded  to  the  state  ticket  in 
general. 

In  the  Fifth  Legislature  Mr.  Williams  was  assigned 
to  the  following  named  House  committees:  Labor  and 
arbitration,  insurance,  county  and  township  government, 
state  and  school  lands,  public  roads  and  highways,  and 
that  on  levees,  drains,  ditches  and  irrigation.  He  was 
specially  interested  in  legislation  for  good  roads,  a 
measure  which  he  had  made  an  issue  in  his  campaign, 
and  he  was  a supporter  of  the  movement  looking  to  the 
abolishing  of  the  office  of  county  judge.  He  introduced 
a few  bills  but  in  the  main  his  ideas  and  policies  were 
embodied  in  bills  that  were  introduced  by  other  members 
of  the  house,  and  he  earnestly  devoted  himself  to  the 
furtherance  of  legislative  measures  in  harmony  with  his 
convictions  and  his  campaign  pledges. 

The  political  allegiance  of  Mr.  Williams  is  given  to 
the  democratic  party;  he  is  affiliated  with  Hooker  Lodge 
No.  366,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  in  his  home 
village,  and  in  the  Scottish  Rite  of  Masonry  is  identified 
with  the  consistory  in  the  Valley  of  Guthrie.  He  is 
master  of  ceremonies  of  the  Oklahoma  State  organization 
of  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen,  besides  being 
secretary  of  his  Masonic  lodge.  He  is  secretary  of  the 
Hooker  Commercial  Club  and  has  been  active  in  the 
promotion  of  its  progressive  policies,  notably  the  obtain- 
ing of  better  freight  rates  and  passenger  service  for 
Hooker  in  connection  with  railway  transportation.  Both 
he  and  his  wife  hold  membership  in  the  Christian 
Church. 

On  the  14th  of  January,  1914,  was  solemnized  the 
marriage  of  Mr.  Williams  to  Miss  Catharine  Hiebert  of 
Hooker. 

Maurice  E.  Bivens.  The  present  mayor  of  Vici,  Okla- 
homa, is  a man  who  has  been  engaged  in  the  mercantile 
business  in  this  region  for  the  past  fifteen  years.  It 
was  not  until  the  year  1911,  however,  that  he  established 
a place  of  business  in  this  town,  and  when  the  enter- 
prise at  Vici  was  well  under  way  Mr.  Bivens  Withdrew 
from  his  mercantile  activities  in  the  towns  of  Seiling 
and  Cestos,  since  which  time  he  has  confined  his  interests 
to  the  upbuilding  of  the  business  here.  Mr.  Bivens  has 
been  successful  in  the  field  of  merchandising  to  which 
he  has  devoted  himself,  and  his  present  place  of  busi- 
ness is  a center  for  trading  in  hardware,  implements 
and  furniture.  As  one  of  Vici’s  leading  business  men 
he  is  well  entitled  to  the  prominence  he  has  won,  and  as 
mayor  of  the  town  he  is  rightfully  regarded  as  the  first 
man  in  the  community. 

Maurice  E.  Bivens  was  born  in  Madison  County,  Illi- 
nois, on  November  11,  1874,  and  he  is  the  son  of  Charles 
N.  and  Martha  (McGilvery)  Bivens.  The  father  was 
of  Scotch-Irish  parentage  and  the  mother  Scotch,  Welsh 
and  English.  Charles  N.  Bivens  was  born  in  Madison 
County,  Illinois,  in  1843,  and  he  died  in  Denver,  Colo- 
rado, in  1888.  He  spent  his  life  in  Madison  County  up 
to  the  year  1880.  when  he  went  to  Denver,  unaccompanied 
by  his  wife,  but  in  1884  the  family  joined  him  and 
located  in  Burden,  Cowley  County,  Kansas,  where  Mrs. 
Bivens  yet  lives.  Mr.  Bivens  went  to  Denver  in  search 
of  health,  and  died  there  in  1888.  While  resident  in 
Madison  County  and  Denver  he  served  as  a policeman, 
and  while  in  Denver  he  also  conducted  a cigar  factory 
for  some  time.  He  was  a veteran  of  the  Civil  war,  and 
served  in  Company  K,  Eightieth  Illinois  Volunteer 
Infantry  for  three  years.  He  saw  much  of  the  less 
attractive  side  of  war,  and  was  in  action  in  many 
important  engagements  of  the  long  conflict.  Mr.  Bivens 
was  a church  member  all  his  life,  and  was  identified  with 
a number  of  the  more  prominent'  fraternal  organizations. 

In  Illinois  he  was  married  to  Martha  McGilvery,  who 


was  born  in  that  state  in  1850.  She  was  the  daughter 
of  Martin  McGilvery,  who  immigrated  from  Scotland  in 
young  manhood  and  settled  in  Madison  County,  where 
he  spent  the  remainder  of  his  life  as  a farmer  and 
stockman.  He  was  a man  of  many  sterling  qualities, 
and  he  was  a leader  in  his  community  as  long  as  he 
lived.  Coming  into  Illinois  in  its  pioneer  days  he  did 
his  full  share  in  shaping  the  destinies  of  Madison 
County,  and  his  influence  on  that  section  of  the  state  is 
felt  today. in  the  progressive  spirit  that  has  ever  marked 
its  life. 

To  Charles  N.  and  Martha  (McGilvery)  Bivens  were 
born  five  children,  two  of  whom,  daughters,  died  in 
infancy.  Laura  May,  the  eldest,  married  John  Burchell, 
a farmer,  and  she  now  lives  in  Oklahoma  City,  Okla- 
homa. The  second  child  was  Maurice  E.,  of  this  review. 
Arthur,  the  youngest,  lives  on  his  homestead  farm  in  the 
vicinity  of  Cestos,  Oklahoma,  and  is  a prosperous 
farmer. 

After  the  death  of  Mr.  Bivens  in  1888  his  widow  mar- 
ried Edmond  E.  Ehodes,  a Kentuckian,  and  two  children 
have  been  born  to  them,  H.  Eay  Rhodes,  who  is  asso- 
ciated in  business  with  his  half  brother,  Maurice  E. 
Bivens,  the  subject,  and  Mabel,  who  died  in  infancy. 

Mr.  Bivens  as  a boy  had  such  educational  advantages 
as  usually  fall  to  the  lot  of  a country  boy,  and  it  might 
be  said  that  he  had  no  actual  schooling  after  he  .was 
sixteen  years  old.  However,  he  has  in  a larger  sense 
gone  to  school  all  his  life,  for  it  is  in  the  great  school 
of  experience  that  he  has  had  his  best  training.  After 
he  left  his  books  he  applied  himself  to  farming  in  Cowley 
County,  Kansas,  where  the  family  then  resided,  and  he 
was  there  until  the  latter  part  of  1897,  when  he  came 
to  Dewey  County,  Oklahoma,  and  filed  on  a homestead 
claim  of  160  acres  near  the  Town  of  Cestos.  He  lived 
on  that  place  until  1900,  when  he  proved  title  thereto. 
Mr.  Bivens  still  owns  the  land,  which  is  steadily  increas- 
ing in  value,  and  which  lies  three  miles  east  and  a half 
mile  south  of  Cestos. 

In  1901  Mr.  Bivens  engaged  in  the  mercantile  busi- 
ness in  the  Town  of  Cestos  with  a Mr.  Ingle  as  his 
business  partner.  They  prospered,  as  the  result  of  good 
management  and  a natural  tact  for  the  economical 
administration  of  a small  business  house,  both  men  being 
fortunate  in  their  possession  of  that  invaluable  quality, 
and  as  time  went  on  they  established  branch  houses  in 
Seiling  and  Yiei.  They  broadened  their  lines  from  time 
to  time,  until  they  carried  very  complete  stocks  in  hard- 
ware, farm  implements  and  furniture.  The  Vici  branch 
was  established  in  1911,  and  the  growth  of  the  business 
at  this  point  broadened  so  rapidly  that  Mr.  Bivens 
decided  to  discontinue  the  stores  at  Cestos  and  Seiling, 
so  that  the  Vici  establishment  is  the  only  one  now  con- 
trolled by  Mr.  Bivens.  The  firm  is  called  M.  E.  Bivens 
& Company,  and  besides  himself  it  includes  his  mother 
and  his  half-brother,  H.  R.  Rhodes. 

This  enterprise  is  undeniably  one  of  the  most  suc- 
cessful in  the  county,  and  it  draws  its  patronage  from 
the  counties  of  Dewey,  Ellis  and  Woodward.  Splendid 
business  principles  have  been  the  rock  on  which  the 
house  has  made  its  stand,  and  its  growth  has  been  sure 
and  steady.  The  house  has  the  confidence  of  the  public 
and  its  patronage  follows  as  a natural  sequence. 

In  1912  Mr.  Bivens  became  mayor  of  Vici  and  he  is 
still  serving  in  that  office.  He  has  proved  himself  a 
capable  and  wide-minded  citizen,  equipped  in  every  way 
to  guide  the  actions  of  the  city  council,  and  in  his 
administration  of  local  affairs  he  has  made  an  excellent 
record  for  himself.  The  same  sturdy  qualities  that 
have  spelled  success  for  him  in  his  business  career  have 
entered  largely  into  his  work  as  mayor  of.  Vici,  and  the 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1853 


results  have  been  creditable  to  him  and  invaluable  to 
the  city. 

Mr.  Bivens  is  a socialist  in  the  matter  of  his  polities, 
and  he  is  a member  of  the  Christian  Church.  He  has 
long  served  the  local  church  as  deacon  and  elder,  and 
while  at  Cestos  he  was  superintendent  of  the  Sunday 
school  for  four  successive  terms.  He  is  a Mason,  with 
Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masonic  affiliations,  and  a 
member  of  Cestos  Lodge  No.  80,  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows.  Other  business  connections  are  with  the 
Home  Investment  Company  and  the  Aetna  Insurance 
Company,  in  both  of  which  he  is  a stockholder. 

In  June,  1904,  Mr.  Bivens  was  married  to  Miss  Esther 
Gates,  daughter  of  G.  W.  Gates,  now  living  retired  in 
Orange,  California.  They  were  married  in  Seiling, 
then  the  home  of  the  Gates  family.  Three  children 
have  been  born  to  them.  Martha  Euleta  was  born 
November  26,  1905;  Arthur  Lewis  on  September  5, 
1907,  and  Randall  Ray  on  August  5,  1909.  All  three 
attend  the  Yiei  High  School,  and  they  are  popular  and 
prominent  young  people  in  their  circles.  The  family  is 
prominent  socially  in  Vici,  and  have  many  friends. 

Elijah  B.  Shotwell.  A man  of  marked  technical  and 
practical  ability,  Mr.  Shotwell  is  now  giving  most  effect- 
ive service  as  county  farm  demonstrator  of  Okmulgee 
County,  and  maintains  his  home  at  Okmulgee,  the  judicial 
center  and  metropolis  of  the  county.  He  may  consist- 
ently be  termed  a pioneer  of  Oklahoma,  where  he  estab- 
lished his  home  in  the  former  Sac  and  Fox  Indian  coun- 
try soon  after  it  was  thrown  open  to  white  settlement, 
and  he  has  thus  been  actively  identified  with  the  civic 
and  industrial  activities  of  this  favored  commonwealth 
since  1892.  He  has  been  more  than  ordinarily  influential 
in  connection  with  the  furthering  of  educational  work  in 
Oklahoma,  as  he  has  served  as  county  superintendent  of 
schools  in  both  Lincoln  and  Okmulgee  counties,  in  which 
fields  he  achieved  splendid  results. 

Mr.  Shotwell  was  born  near  St.  Thomas,  Province  of 
Ontario,  Canada,  on  the  28th  of  January,  1857,  but  was 
a lad  of  •fifteen  years  at  the  time  of  his  parents  ’ removal 
to  the  State  of  Kansas,  where  he  was  reared  to  maturity 
and  maintained  his  home  until  his  removal  to  Oklahoma 
Territory.  He  is  a son  of  William  and  Martha  E. 
(Taylor)  Shotwell,  both  of  whom  were  born  and  reared 
in  the  Province  of  Ontario,  the  former’s  father,  Smith 
Shotwell,  having  been  a native  of  the  State  of  New 
Jersey,  whence  he  removed  to, Ontario,  Canada,  where  he 
passed  the  residue  of  his  life  as  a substantial  farmer. 
In  1872  William  Shotwell  removed  with  his  family  to 
Kansas  and  became  one  of  the  pioneers  of  McPherson 
County,  where  he  entered  claim  to  land  and  reclaimed 
and  improved  a productive  farm,  this  homestead  having 
continued  to  be  his  place  of  residence  until  his  death  and 
his  widow  having  passed  the  closing  period  of  her  life 
in  the  home  of  her  son  W.  C.  Shotwell,  near  Cushing, 
Payne  County,  Oklahoma.  Of  the  children  six  attained 
to  years  of  maturity,  namely:  Samuel,  who  is  now  a 

resident  of  Hawards,  California;  Smith,  who  resides  at 
Crescent,  Oregon;  Emily,  who  is  the  wife  of  Elijah  Prior, 
of  Riverside,  California;  Elijah  B.,  who  is  the  immediate 
subject  of  this  sketch:  Whitson,  who  is  a progressive 
farmer  near  Cushing,  Oklahoma;  and  Letitia  A.,  who  is 
the  wife  of  Jenas  G.  Scott,  of  Salem,  Texas. 

He  whose  name  introduces  this  article  acquired  his 
earlier  education  in  the  schools  of  his  native  county  in 
Ontario  and,  as  before  stated,  was  about  fifteen  years 
old  at  the  time  of  the  family  removal  to  Kansas,  where 
he  was  reared  to  maturity  on  the  pioneer  farm  in 
McPherson  County  and  in  the  meanwhile  supplemented 
his  education  by  attending  the  public  schools  of  the 


locality.  He  continued  to  be  associated  with  the  work  of 
his  father’s  farm  and  teaching  school  winters  until  he 
had  attained  to  his  legal  majority,  and  thereafter  he 
conducted  individual  operations  as  a farmer  and  teacher 
in  the  Sunflower  State  until  1892,  when  he  came  to  Okla- 
homa Territory  and  became  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers 
in  what  is  now  Lincoln  County.  He  secured  a tract  of 
land  from  the  Government  and  developed  the  same  into 
one  of  the  productive  and  valuable  farms  of  Lincoln 
County.  There  he  continued  to  reside  until  1901,  when 
he  was  elected  county  superintendent  of  schools  and 
removed  to  Chandler,  the  county  seat,  where  he  continued 
as  the  energetic  and  efficient  incumbent  of  this  position 
for  a period  of  four  years.  Soon  after  his  retirement 
from  office  he  removed  to  Okmulgee,  in  July,  1905,  and 
here  he  engaged  in  the  abstract  business,  to  which  he 
continued  to  give  his  attention  until  September,  1907, 
when  he  was  elected  the  first  county  superintendent  of 
schools  of  Okmulgee  County  under  the  new  regime  of 
state  government.  With  characteristic  vigor  and  circum- 
spection he  defined  and  organized  the  work  of  the  schools 
of  the  county,  and  in  his  two  terms  of  service  in  this 
important  office  he  brought  the  schools  up  to  a specially 
lush  standard  of  efficiency,  as  gauged  by  the  conditions 
and  influences  that  obtained  at  that  period  in  the  history 
of  the  county.  Since  July,  1913,  he  has  given  equally 
commendable  and  valuable  service  in  his  present  office, 
that  of  county  farm  demonstrator,  a position  to  which 
he  was  appointed  by  the  director  of  the  extension  work 
conducted  in  connection  with  the  Oklahoma  Agricultural 
and  Mechanical  College  and  the  United  States  Department 
of  Agriculture.  He  has  proved  himself  unmistakably  the 
right  man  in  the  right  place,  has  carefully  timed  his 
visitations  in  all  sections  of  the  county,  and  both  by 
instruction  along  scientific  lines  and  by  exemplification 
of  practical  order  has  done  much  to  raise  the  standards 
of  agricultural  and  live  stock  industry  in  Okmulgee 
County,  where,  as  a matter  of  course,  he  has  gained  a 
very  wide  acquaintanceship  and  a host  of  valued  and 
appreciative  friends. 

Mr.  Shotwell  is  aligned  as  a staunch  and  effective 
supporter  of  the  cause  of  the  democratic  party  and  is  a 
birthright  member  of  the  Society  of  Friends,  but  as  there 
is  no  church  of  - this  denomination  at  Okmulgee  he  attends 
and  supports  the  local  Methodist  Episcopal  Church, 
South.  He  is  affiliated  with  the  Okmulgee  Lodge  A.  H. 
T.  A.  and  also  with  the  lodge  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias. 

In  1878  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Shotwell 
to  Miss  Carrie  Pilgrim,  who  was  born  in  Iowa  but  who 
was  reared  principally  in  Kansas,  where  her  parents 
established  their  residence  in  1874.  She  was  a daughter 
of  Philip  and  Amelia  Pilgrim,  both  of  whom  were  born 
in  Germany.  The  supreme  loss  and  bereavement  in  the 
life  of  Mr.  Shotwell  came  to  him  when  his  devoted  wife 
was  summoned  to  eternal  rest,  on  the  29th  of  April,  1915,. 
and  her  memory  is  revered  by  all  who  came  within  the 
sphere  of  her  gracious  influence.  She  was  active  in 
church  and  social  life  after  coming  to  Oklahoma  and  for 
two  years  she  had  charge  of  the  work  and  instruction  of 
the  Girls’  Canning  Clubs  of  Okmulgee  County.  In  con- 
clusion is  entered  brief  record  concerning  the  children  of 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Shotwell:  James  T.  is  one  of  the  pro- 
gressive farmers  near  Cushing,  Payne  County;  Orlando 
has  the  active  supervision  and  control  of  the  old  home- 
stead farm  upon  which  his  parents  established  their  resi- 
dence when  they  came  to  Oklahoma,  in  1892;  Earl  is 
manager  of  the  cotton-seed  oil  mill  at  Chandler,  Lincoln 
County,  Oklahoma. 

Thomas  C.  Shacklett.  Coming  to  Oklahoma  Terri- 
tory with  his  parents  when  a lad  of  nine  years,  the 


1854 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


present  postmaster  of  Yukon,  Canadian  County,  has  here 
found  ample  opportunity  for  worthy  achievement  and 
has  proved  himself  one  of  the  world ’s  productive  workers, 
the  while  his  present  official  position  vouches  for  the 
estimate  placed  upon  him  in  the  community  in  which 
he  maintains  his  home. 

Born  in  Meade  County,  Kentucky,  on  the  5th  day  of 
November,  1880,  Mr.  Shaeklett  is  a son  of  Jesse  S.  and 
Susan  M.  (Easton)  Shaeklett.  When  he  was  five  years 
old,  in  1885,  his  parents  removed  from  the  old  Bluegrass 
state  to  Southwestern  Kansas,  and  from  the  latter  state 
they  came  to  Oklahoma  in  1889,  thus  becoming  pioneers 
of  the  new  territory  when  it  was  thrown  open  to  settle- 
ment. The  family  home  was  established  in  the  old  town 
of  Friseo,  Canadian  County,  and  later  removal  was  made 
to  Yukon,  a new  village  in  the  same  county,  where  the 
father  conducted  a hotel  for  some  time,  his  death  having 
there  occurred  in  1910  and  his  widow  still  maintaining 
her  home  in  this  now  thriving  little  city,  in  which  her  son 
is  postmaster.  In  earlier  years  Jesse  S.  Shaeklett  devoted 
his  attention  to  agricultural  pursuits,  and  thus  the  boy- 
hood days  of  the  postmaster  of  Yukon  were  principally 
compassed  by  *the  conditions  and  influences  of  the  farm, 
in  Kansas  and  Oklahoma.  He  made  good  use  of  the 
advantages  afforded  him  in  the  public  schools  of  Canadian 
County,  within  whose  borders  he  has  been  a resident 
since  he  was  nine  years  old,  and  here  he  followed  various 
vocations  until  his  appointment  to  the  office  of  postmaster 
of  Yukon,  his  commission  having  been  given  in  April, 
1914,  and  his  administration,  careful  and  efficient,  hav- 
ing gained  to  him  the  approval  of  the  community.  In 
politics,  as  may  be  inferred,  he  is  a staunch  supporter 
of  the  cause  of  the  democratic  party,  and  in  a fraternal 
way  he  is  affiliated  with  the  Woodmen  of  the  World.  The 
maiden  name  of  his  wife  was  Orie  McComas,  and  they 
have  no  children. 

George  A.  McDonald.  Every  progressive  city  now 
has  its  chamber  of  commerce,  or  an  organization  of 
similar  purposes  though  perhaps  under  a different  name. 
The  chamber  of  commerce  at  Shawnee  is  a particularly 
virile  and  efficient  body,  and  is  made  up  of  practically 
all  the  high  class  and  responsible  business  men  and  pro- 
fessional men  of  the  city.  In  that  one  organization  are 
represented  the  best  resources  and  the  best  ideas  and 
ideals  of  the  city. 

It  is  as  secretary  of  the  Shawnee  Chamber  of  Com- 
merce, an  office  he  has  held  for  the  past  five  years,  that 
George  A.  McDonald  has  performed  his  most  important 
service  in  that  city.  Mr.  McDonald  is  himself  a business 
man  and  has  had  a considerable  breadth  and  depth  of 
experience,  though  he  is  still  young.  He  has  lived  in 
Oklahoma  ten  years,  and  for  a time  was  connected  with 
railroading  in  this  state. 

The  McDonald  stock  of  which  he  is  a representative 
came  from  Scotland  to  Virginia  before  the  Revolutionary 
war.  His  great-grandfather,  William  McDonald,  was  a 
Virginia  planter.  The  grandfather,  James  McDonald, 
was  born  in  Virginia  and  spent  his  life  as  a farmer 
and  planter  in  that  state.  Mr.  George  A.  McDonald  of 
Shawnee  was  born  in  Springfield,  Ohio,  October  21,  1875. 

His  father,  Samuel  McDonald,  was  born  at  Romney,  in 
Hampshire  County,  West  Virginia,  or  Old  Virginia  as 
it  was  then,  in  1842.  His  birthplace  was  afterwards  the 
scene  of  one  of  the  important  battles  in  the  Civil  war. 
Samuel  McDonald  was  reared  in  West  Virginia,  went 
in  young  manhood  to  Springfield,  Ohio,  where  he  mar- 
ried, and  he  lived  in  that  locality  the  rest  of  his  days, 
passing  away  in  1895.  By  occupation  he  was  a farmer,' 
was  a democrat  in  politics,  and  took  a very  active  part 
in  the  work  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  in 


which  he  served  as  a steward,  trustee  and  deacon. 
During  the  war  between  the  states  his  only  participa- 
tion in  military  affairs  was  as  a member  of  the  Home 
Guard  in  West  Virginia.  Samuel  McDonald  married 
Emily  Collier.  She  was  born  in  Springfield,  Ohio,  and 
is  now  living  in  Yellow  Springs  in  that  state.  To 
their  marriage  were  born  the  following  children:  James 
R.,  a tinsmith  living  at  Purcell,  Oklahoma;  Edith  O., 
wife  of  D..  E.  Hupman,  a farmer  at  Springfield,  Ohio; 
Harry  E.,  who  is  in  the  real  estate  business  but  has  no 
settled  location  or  permanent  residence;  Thomas  F.,  a 
farmer  at  Urbana,  Ohio;  George  A.;  Lewis  Clark,  a 
carpenter  and  builder  at  Middletown,  Kentucky. 

The  country  schools  of  Clark  County,  Ohio,  gave 
George  A.  McDonald  his  first  advantages,  and  he  also 
had  the  benefit  of  some  college  training,  having  finished 
the  sophomore  year  in  Antioch  College  in  1897.  His 
early  years  had  been  spent  on  his  father’s  farm,  and  he 
enjoyed  much  of  the  wholesome  and  rugged  discipline 
of  country  life.  He  taught  school  in  Jefferson  County, 
Kentucky,  as  principal  of  rural  schools  two  years,  but 
soon  found  school  teaching  unsatisfactory.  After  taking 
a course  in  telegraphy  he  was  employed  as  telegraph 
operator  on  the  L.  & N.  Railroad  at  Louisville,  and 
remained  in  the  service  of  that  railroad  company  until 
January  1,  1906. 

That  was  the  date  when  he  became  identified  with 
Shawnee.  For  the  first  two  years  he  was  a clerk  with 
the  Rock  Island  Railroad  offices  in  Shawnee.  Going  into 
business  for  himself,  Mr.  McDonald  was  one  of  the 
successful  grocery  merchants  of  the  city  until  1911.  In 
that  year  he  was  elected  secretary  of  the  chamber  of 
commerce,  and  has  since  given  practically  all  his  time 
and  attention  to  the  duties  of  this  office.  He  is  also 
secretary  of  the  Retail  Merchants  Association,  secretary 
of  the  Provident  Association,  secretary  of  the  Potta- 
watomie County  Fair  Association,  and  a stockholder  in 
the  Fidelity  Building  and  Loan  Association.  His  offices 
are  in  the  Convention  Hall  Building. 

In  politics  he  is  a democrat.  Like  his  father,  he  takes 
much  interest  in  the  First  Methodist  Episcopal  Church 
of  Shawnee  and  is  a steward.  He  is  affiliated  with 
Shawnee  Lodge  No.  107,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons,  and  with  Shawnee  Chapter  No.  32,  Royal  Arch 
Masons. 

In  1903,  at  Middletown,  Kentucky,  he  married  Miss 
Lucy  E.  Mitchell,  daughter  of  Robert  S.  Mitchell.  They 
have  one  son,  Samuel  Vance,  who  was  born  November  5, 
1905,  and  is  now  a student  in  the  public  schools  of 
Shawnee. 

Birt  Arthur  Wagner.  During  the  past  fifteen  years 
Mr.  Wagner  has  played  an  important  part  in  the  public 
affairs  of  Woodward  and  Ellis  counties.  He  is  now 
filling  the  office  of  court  clerk  of  Ellis  County  and  has  his 
home  at  Arnett.  Mr.  Wagner  is  one  of  the  genial  and 
popular  citizens  of  Ellis  County,  a man  of  undoubted 
integrity,  and  exercises  both  competence  and  honesty  in 
all  his  public  and  private  dealings. 

He  was  born  January  8,  1877,  on  a farm  in  Nemaha 
County,  Kansas,  a son  of  Arthur  H.  and  Cynthia 
(Peaver)  Wagner.  The  Wagners  came  originally  from 
Germany.  His  paternal  grandfather  was  George  Wagner, 
a native  of  Germany.  Arthur  H.  Wagner  was 
born  March  12,  1853,  in  Putnam  County,  Ohio,  and 
has  spent  all  his  active  career  as  a farmer  and  mer- 
chant. In  1874  he  moved  out  to  Kansas  and  became  an 
early  settler  on  a farm  in  Nemaha  County,  close  to  the 
northern  line  of  the  state.  He  lived  there  and  cultivated 
the  soil  until  1892,  and  then  went  to  Kansas  City,  Kansas, 
where  he  engaged  in  business  eight  years.  In  1900  he 


mm 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1855 


came  to  Oklahoma  and  set  up  in  business  at  Woodward, 
and  in  1901  moved  to  Shattuck,  where  he  was  likewise 
one  of  the  first  merchants.  In  1902  he  was  appointed 
postmaster  of  Shattuck  and  held  that  position  seven  years. 
Arthur  H.  Wagner  was  married  in  Union  County,  Ohio, 
October  8,  1874,  to  Miss  Cynthia  Peaver.  Her  father 
was  John  Peaver,  who  married  a Miss  Poling,  and  both 
were  born  in  Virginia.  Mrs.  Wagner  was  born  May  14, 
1854,  in  Union  County,  Ohio,  and  she  died  at  Kansas 
City,  Kansas,  October  21,  1915.  She  was  a very  active 
member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  and  was 
devoted  to  church  and  home  and  children.  She  was  the 
mother  of  seven,  five  sons  and  two  daughters,  namely: 
Harry,  born  August  27,  1875;  Birt  A.;  John  Peaver,  born 
September  17,  1878;  Elsie,  born  July  9,  1879;  Grace, 
born  August  25,  1881;  George,  born  August  12,  1883; 
Roy  Poster,  born  August  12,  1885. 

The  early  training  of  Birt  A.  Wagner  was  acquired  in  the 
public  schools  of  his  native  county  and  in  Kansas  City, 
Kansas.  After  leaving  school  he  served  an  apprenticeship 
at  the  baker’s  trade,  and  that  was  his  regular  work  for 
five  years.  Not  long  after  his  father  came  to  Oklahoma 
he  followed  on  January  1,  1901,  and  was  soon  taking  an 
active  part  in  local  affairs  in  Woodward  County.  He 
served  two  years  as  deputy  county  clerk  of  that  county. 
On  coming  to  the  state  he  had  taken  up  a claim  in  Wood- 
ward County  near  Shattuck,  and  he  is  thus  to  be  con- 
sidered among  those  who  have  helped  to  develop  the  land 
in  this  new  state.  For  a few  years  he  also  was  assistant 
postmaster  under  his  father  at  Shattuck  and  for  one 
year  carried  mail  on  a rural  route. 

On  the  organization  of  Ellis  County  he  was  soon  active 
in  its  affairs,  and  served  as  deputy  county  clerk  in  1910- 
11-12.  During  1914-15  he  was  clerk  of  the  Shattuck 
branch  of  the  Ellis  County  Court  at  Shattuck.  In  No- 
vember, 1914,  he  was  elected  on  the  republican  ticket 
eourt  clerk  of  Ellis  County  and  is  now  giving  all  his 
time  and  attention  to  those  responsibilities.  Fraternally 
Mr.  Wagner  is  a Mason. 

On  January  18,  1908,  at  Shattuck,  Oklahoma,  he  mar- 
ried Miss  Kathryn  Lee  Ewing.  She  was  born  March  4, 
1881,  in  Buchanan  County,  Missouri,  a daughter  of  Wil- 
liam J.  and  Cassie  (Patton)  Ewing,  the  former  a native 
of  Virginia  and  the  latter  of  Missouri.  Mrs.  Wagner 
in  addition  to  the  training  of  the  public  schools  attended 
the  Synodical  College  at  Fulton,  Missouri,  graduating 
with  the  class  of  1902.  She  was  an  active  member  of  the 
Presbyterian  Church.  Her  death  occurred  April  6,  1910, 
at  Shattuck.  She  is  survived  by  one  child,  Charles 
Edward,  who  was  born  February  11,  1910. 

Charles  W.  Shannon,  A.  M.,  is  known  as  a promi- 
nent figure  in  educational  and  scientific  circles  in  Okla- 
homa. He  has  been  an  able  and  popular  instructor  in 
geology  at  the  University  of  Oklahoma,  and  is  now 
director  of  the  Oklahoma  Geological  Survey,  with  office 
in  the  library  building  of  the  university  at  Norman, 
Cleveland  County. 

Mr.  Shannon  is  a scion  of  one  of  the  sterling  pio- 
neer families  of  the  fine  old  Hoosier  State,  of  which 
he  himself  is  a native  son.  He  was  born  in  Tipton 
County.  Indiana,  on  the  3d  of  August,  1879,  and  is  a 
son  of  Alexander  and  Elizabeth  J.  (Foster)  Shannon, 
both  of  whom  were  born  and  reared  in  that  county. 
Alexander  Shannon  passed  virtually  his  entire  active 
life  as  one  of  the  representative  agriculturists  in  the 
vicinity  of  Tipton,  the  county  seat.  He  was  born  in 
the  year  1855,  and  died  at  Brazil  in  1910.  Elizabeth 
J.  Shannon  was  born  in  1858  and  died  in  1906.  Both 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Shannon  were  devoted  members  of  the 
United  Presbyterian  Church,  in  which  he  served  as 
deacon  and  trustee.  Of  the  children,  C.  W.  Shannon 
Vol.  v— 7 


of  this  review  is  the  eldest;  Herbert  died  in  babyhood; 
James  Vinton  wedded  Miss  Grace  Poling  of  Bloom- 
inguon,  Indiana,  and  both  are  now  missionary  teach- 
ers in  a school  maintained  under  the  auspices  of  the 
Presbyterian  Church  on  the  Island  of  Hainan,  China. 

The  lineage  of  the  Shannon  family  traces  back  to 
staunch  Scotch-Irish  origin  and  the  original  American 
representatives  settled  in  Virginia  in  the  colonial  era 
of  our  national  history. 

Mr.  Shannon  acquired  his  early  education  in  the  pub- 
Jic  schools  of  his  native  state,  where  he  was  graduated 
lr).  1 school  at  Tipton  as  a member  of  the  class 
ot  1900.  During  the  ensuing  spring  and  summer  he  was 
a student  m the  University  of  Indiana  at  Blooming- 
ton. For  three  years  he  was  retained  as  teacher  in  the 
Bryan  School  in  Tipton  County.  During  this  time  he 
continued  his  studies  in  the  university  by  attending 
the  spring  and  summer  sessions.  He  finally  completed 
a lull  academic  course  in  the  university,  in  which  he 
was  graduated  as  a member  of  the  class  of  1906,  and 
from  which  he  received  at  that  time  the  degree  of  Bach- 
el„or  ®f  .Arts • The  following  year  he  received  the  degree 
of  Master  of  Arts  from  his  alma  mater.  He  has  since 
taken  effective  post-graduate  studies  in  the  University 
of  Indiana,  specializing  in  geology  and  other  branches 
of  science. 

In  1902,  at  Bloomington,  Indiana,  was  solemnized 
the  marriage  of  Mr.  Shannon  to  Miss  Mary  E.  Pinker- 
ton, who  was  born  and  reared  in  Indiana,  and  who  is 
a daughter  of  the  late  Charles  Pinkerton,  a represen- 
tative merchant  at  Muncie  for  many  years  prior  to 
his  death. 

From  1907  to  1911  Mr.  Shannon  was  teacher  of 
science  in  the  high  school  at  Brazil,  Indiana.  During 
this  time  he  was  also  in  the  employ  of  the  Indiana 
State  Geological  Survey,  in  connection  with  which  he 
covered  and  made  specific  reports  from  seventeen  dif- 
ferent counties. 

In  September,  1911,  Mr.  Shannon  came  to  Norman, 
Oklahoma,  and  assumed  the  position  of  field  geologist 
for  the  Oklahoma  Geological  Survey.  He  served  a few 
weeks  in  this  capacity  and  was  then  appointed  in- 
structor in  geology  at  the  University  of  Oklahoma. 
After  teaching  one  semester  he  resumed  his  position 
m connection  with  the  Geological  Survey  of  which  he 
has  been  the  director  since  January,  1914.  His  work 
in  this  office  has  been  carried  forward  with  utmost  effi- 
ciency and  discrimination,  and  will  prove  of  enduring 
value  to  the  state  from  both  a scientific  and  a utilitarian 
standpoint. 

Mr.  Shannon  is  a valued  and  influential  member  of 
the  Oklahoma  Academy  of  Science,  of  which  he  served 
three  years  as  president.  He  is  also  a member  of  the 
Indiana  Chapter  of  the  Sigma  Xi  fraternity,  a national 
scientific  organization  whose  membership  is  confined  to 
those  college  students  and  graduates  who  have  achieved 
independent  scientific  research  work.  He  is  a demo- 
crat in  his  political  allegiance,  and  is  a member  of  the 
board  of  education  of  Norman.  Both  he  and  his  wife 
are  zealous  members  of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  in 
which  he  was  a teacher  of  the  Young  Woman’s  Christian 
Association  class  of  the  Sunday  School  until  January 
1,  1916,  when  he  was  elected  supervising  superintend- 
ent of  the  Sunday  School.  He  also  serves  as  one  of 
the  trustees  of  the  church. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Shannon  are  prominent  and  popular 
factors  in  the  leading  social  activities  of  Norman,  the 
principal  educational  center  of  the  state,  and  both  are 
specially  appreciative  and  loyal  as  citizens  of  this  vig- 
orous young  commonwealth.  They  have  two  children 


1856 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Gayle  L.,  who  was  born  May  1,  1906,  and  Viola  Ruth, 
who  was  born  November  19,  1914. 

Calvin  E.  Bradley,  M.  D.  The  medical  profession  of 
Kiowa  County,  * Oklahoma,  is  capably  represented  at 
Mountain  View  by  Dr.  Calvin  E.  Bradley,  who  although 
one  of  the  younger  members  of  the  profession  has  made 
a substantial  reputation  for  himself  in  professional  cir- 
cles as  wel|  as  in  the  confidence  of  the  people  of  his 
community.  Born  in  Phelps  County,  Missouri,  April  16, 
1885,  he  comes  honestly  by  his  predilection  for  his  calling, 
being  the  son  and  grandson  of  physicians  and  the  bearer 
of  a name  which  has  been  honored  in  medicine  and  sur- 
gery. 

On  the  paternal  side,  Doctor  Bradley  is  a grandson  of 
the  founder  of  the  family  in  the  United  States,  Dr. 
Calvin  Bradley,  a native  of  England,  who  emigrated  to 
the  United  States,  first  settled  in  North  Carolina  and 
subsequently  moved  to  Georgia,  where  he  was  engaged  in 
the  practice  of  his  profession  for  many  years,  and  where 
his  death  occurred.  Doctor  Bradley’s  maternal  great- 
grandfather Burns  was  the  emigrant  of  the  family  from 
Scotland.  Dr.  W.  A.  Bradley,  the  father  of  Dr.  Calvin 
E.  Bradley,  was  born  in  North  Carolina,  in  1852,  and 
from  his  native  state  removed  to  Georgia,  subsequently 
going,  in  1880,  to  Phelps  County,  Missouri,  where  he  was 
married.  He  was  a graduate  of  the  Southern  Medical 
College,  one  of  the  distinguished  institutions  of  Atlanta, 
Georgia,  and  after  eight  years  of  practice  in  Phelps 
County,  moved  his  family  in  1888  to  Houston,  Texas 
County,  Missouri,  where  he  continued  to  be  engaged  in 
practice  until  his  death,  in  1911.  He  was  an  able  and 
thorough  practitioner  and  held  a substantial  place  in  the 
ranks  of  his  calling.  A democrat  in  politics,  he  filled 
various  local  offices  within  the  gift  of  his  fellow  towns- 
men, while  his  fraternal  connection  was  with  the  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  Doctor  Bradley  married 
Miss  Elizabeth  Burns,  who  was  born  in  1865,  in  Missouri, 
and  died  at  Houston,  that  state,  in  1888,  daughter  of 
Dr.  Edward  Burns,  who  for  many  years  was  a physician 
and  surgeon  of  Newburg,  Missouri,  where  his  death  oc- 
curred. Two  children  were,  born  to  Dr.  W.  A.  and 
Elizabeth  Bradley-:  Calvin  E.,  of  this  review;  and  Kate, 
who  became  the  wife  of  C.  F.  Peake,  and  resides  in 
Texas  County,  Missouri,  where  Mr.  Peake  is  county 
superintendent  of  schools. 

Calvin  E.  Bradley  received  his  early  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  Houston,  Missouri,  where  he  was  grad- 
uated from  the  high  school  with  the  class  of  1901.  He 
received  his  early  medical  training  under  the  able  pre- 
ceptorship  of  his  father,  and  enrolled  as  a student  at 
Barnes  Medical  College,  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  where  he  was 
graduated  with  the  class  of  1905,  receiving  the.  degree  of 
Doctor  of  Medicine.  Doctor  Bradley  began  active  prac- 
tice at  Newburg,  Phelps  County,  Missouri,  where  his 
paternal  grandfather  had  been  well  known  as  a practi- 
tioner for  years,  but  in  1908  removed  to  Memphis,  Ten- 
nessee, where  he  remained  during  that  and  the  following 
year.  In  1909  he  went  to  Dewey,  Oklahoma,  where  he 
gave  up  professional  work  for  a time  to  engage  in  the  oil 
and  drug  business,  but  in  1912  came  to  Mountain  View 
and  resumed  practice,  and  has  continued  to  the  present 
time  in  a constantly  growing  general  medical  and  sur- 
gical business.  He  occupies  well-appointed  offices  in 
the  Reynolds  Building  on  Main  Street,  where  he  has 
every  appliance  and  instrument  for  diagnosis  and  treat- 
ment of  diseases.  Doctor  Bradley  keeps  in  close  touch 
with  every  advancement  made  in  medical  or  surgical 
work  and  is  a close  student  of  the  science,  besides  holding 
membership  in  the  organizations  of  his  calling.  He  has 
been  an  active  democrat,  but  his  only  public  service  has 


been  that  of  coroner,  an  office  which  he  filled  while  a 
resident  of  Phelps  County,  Missouri.  He  is  popular  in 
fraternal  circles,  and  is  a member  of  the  local  bodies  of 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Knights 
of  Pythias. 

Doctor  Bradley  was  married  February  4,  1916,  to 
Miss  Louise  Stinson,  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  A.  E. 
Stinson,  of  Mountain  View,  Oklahoma. 

Patrick  J.  Kelly.  The  intellectual  alertness,  vigor 
and  circumspection  of  Mr.  Kelly  make  him  a specially 
effective  and  valued  executive  in  the  responsible  office 
of  which  lie  is  the  popular  incumbent,  that  of  cashier 
of  the  Yukon  National  Bank,  in  the  progressive  little 
City  of  Yukon,  Canadian  County,  and  his  unqualified 
hold  upon  the  confidence  and  good  will  of  the  people 
of  this  favored  Section  of  the  state  is  indicated  by  the 
fact  that  he  served  six  years  as  county  clerk  of  Canadian 
County,  his  residence  in  Oklahoma  dating  from  the  year 
1892,  when  he  came  to  the  newly  organized  territory 
from  the  State  of  Iowa. 

Mr.  Kelly  was  born  in  Chariton  County,  Missouri,  on 
the  3rd  of  July,  1863,  and  is  a son  of  Patrick  and  Rose 
(Barrett)  Kelly,  both  natives  of  Ireland  and  both  resi- 
dents of  Iowa  for  many  years  prior  to  their  death. 
Patrick  Kelly  was  identified  with  the  great  basic  industry 
of  agriculture  during  virtually  his  entire  active  career 
in  America.  He  was  a farmer  in  Missouri  until  1881, 
when  he  removed  with  his  family  to  Iowa,  where  he  con- 
tinued his  activities  as  an  agriculturist  and  stock  grower 
and  achieved  a due  measure  of  independence  and  pros- 
perity, both  he  and  his  wife  having  been  devout  com- 
municants of  the  Catholic  Church,  and  having  lived  lives 
of  distinctive  usefulness  and  honor.  He  whose  name 
introduces  this  article  is  indebted  to  the  public  schools 
of  Missouri  for  his  early  educational  discipline  and  was 
eighteen  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  the  family  removal 
to  Iowa,  in  which  state  he  taught  several  terms  of  dis- 
trict school. 

In  1892  Mr.  Kelly  left  the  Hawkeye  state  and  came 
to  Oklahoma  Territory,  where  he  filed  entry  to  a claim 
of  land  in  Canadian  County.  He  perfected  his  title  to 
this  property,  but  eventually  disposed  of  the  same.  In 
1899  he  assumed  the  position  of  deputy  in  the  office  of 
the  county  clerk  of  Canadian  County,  and  he  retained 
this  post  at  El  Reno,  the  county  seat,  until  he  was  elected, 
county  clerk,  in  the  autumn  of  1904,  this  advancement 
having  been  a well  justified  reward  for  his  former  effec- 
tive service.  He  assumed  office  in  January,  1905,  and 
after  serving  six  years  he  retired  from  office  on  the  1st 
of  January,  1911,  his  long  and  efficient  tenure  of  this 
important  position  having  been  terminated  only  a short 
time  when,  on  the  1st  of  March,  1911,  he  was  chosen 
cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  El  Reno.  He 
retained  this  position  until  July  1,  1912,  when  he  assumed 
the  duties  of  his  present  office,  that  of  cashier  of  the 
Yukon  National  Bank,  his  careful  and  progressive  admin- 
istration having  been  a potent  force  in  the  developing 
of  the  substantial  business  of  this  institution,  which 
bases  its  operations  on  a capital  stock  of  $25,000. 

The  political  views  of  Mr.  Kelly  are  shown  by  the 
staunch  support  which  he  accords  to  the  cause  of  the 
democratic  party;  he  and  his  wife  are  communicants 
of  'the  Catholic  Church,  and  he  is  affiliated  with  the 
Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  the  Knights 
of  Columbus,  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America. 

In  the  year  1912  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr. 
Kelly  to  Miss  Agnes  Fitzgerald,  who  likewise  was  born 
and  reared  in  Missouri,  and  both  are  popular  figures  in 
the  representative  social  activities  of  their  home  com- 
munity. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1857 


William  Marshall  Gallaher,  M.  D.  A specialist 
in  the  medical  profession  at  Shawnee  since  1909,  whose 
practice  is  confined  to  diseases  of  the  eye,  ear,  nose  and 
throat,  Doctor  Gallaher  has  not  only  been  a valuable 
professional  man  to  this  city,  but  has  fitted  in  with  all 
departments  of  civic  progress,  and  has  been  especially 
enthusiastic  as  a worker  in  behalf  of  school  improvement. 
He  is  now  secretary  of  the  board  of  education. 

Born  in  Roane  County,  Tennessee,  March  1,  1877, 
Doctor  Gallaher  is  a member  of  a branch  of  a family 
that  came  originally  from  Ireland  and  first  settled  in 
Pennsylvania  about  Revolutionary  times.  From  Penn- 
sylvania one  branch  of  the  family  moved  to  Tennessee, 
and  another  to  Missouri.  Doctor  Gallaher ’s  father, 
D.  H.  Gallaher,  was  born  in  Knox  County,  Tennessee,  in 
1836,  and  died  in  Roane  County  in  1904.  His  entire 
active  career  was  spent  as  a farmer  and  stock  raiser. 
For  two  years  he  was  a soldier  on  the  Southern  side  of 
the  Civil  war,  and  was  wounded  during  the  Shenandoah 
Valley  campaign.  In  politics  he  was  a democrat,  was 
a member  of  the  Cumberland  Presbyterian  Church  and 
of  the  Masonic  fraternity.  He  married  Mattie  Owen, 
who  was  born  in  Tennessee  and  still  resides  on  the  old 
homestead  in  Roane  County.  Their  children  were : 
Lucy,  wife  of  S.  R.  Stegall,  a feed  and  grain  merchant 
at  Chattanooga,  Tennessee;  Albert,  who  died  in  1880; 
Daisy,  who  married  C.  W.  Lackey,  a physician  and 
surgeon  in  Texas,  and  both  are  now  deceased;  R.  O., 
who  is  county  engineer  of  Knox  County,  with  home  at 
Knoxville,  Tennessee;  Mayme,  who  is  a music  teacher 
and  makes  her  home  with  her  mother  in  Tennesee; 
G.  H.,  a farmer  and  stockman  in  Roane  County;  Dr.  Wil- 
liam Marshall;  Sally,  wife  of  R.  O.  Wheeler,  a farmer 
and  stockman  in  Ellis  County,  Oklahoma;  and  Mattie, 
wife  of  Elmer  Sineknecht,  a mine  operator  at  Oliver 
Springs,  Tennessee. 

Doctor  Gallaher  acquired  a liberal  education.  He  was 
reared  on  a farm,  attended  public  schools  in  his  native 
Roane  County,  graduated  from  Roane  College  in  1897, 
and  from  there  entered  Chattanooga  Medical  College, 
where  he  graduated  M.  D.  with  the  class  of  1900.  In 
the  fifteen  years  of  his  active  practice  Doctor  Gallaher 
has  extended  his  studies  both  privately  and  by  attend- 
ance at  some  of  the  leading  institutions  of  the  country. 
In  1907  and  in  1908  he  took  post-graduate  work  in  the 
Polyclinic  of  Tulane  University  at  New  Orleans,  special- 
izing in  eye,  ear,  nose  and  throat.  He  spent  portions  of 
the  year  1909  and  1915  in  the  Chicago  Eye,  Ear,  Nose 
and  Throat  Infirmary. 

He  did  his  first  practice  near  Texarkana,  Arkansas, 
and  was  engaged  in  general  practice  there  until  1909. 
In  March,  1909,  he  came  to  Shawnee,  and  in  this  larger 
field  has  confined  himself  entirely  to  his  specialty  in  the 
treatment  of  eye,  ear,  nose  and  throat.  His  offices  are  in 
the  Mammoth  Building.  He  is  a member  of  the  State 
and  County  Medical  societies  and  is  a Fellow  in  the 
American  Medical  Association. 

Fraternally  he  is  affiliated  with  Shawnee  Lodge  No. 
107,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons;  Shawnee  Chap- 
ter No.  32,  Royal  Arch  Masons;  Shawnee  Commandery 
No.  36,  Knights  Templar;  Indian  Temple  of  the  Nobles 
of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Oklahoma  City ; and  the  Shawnee 
organization  of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World.  He  is  a 
member  of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  U.  S.,  and  is  a 
member  of  the  Shawnee  Chamber  of  Commerce. 

In  July,  1902,  in  Roane  County,  Tennessee,  Doctor 
Gallaher  married  Miss  Fannie  B.  Smith.  Her  father, 
'M.  L.  Smith,  is  farmer  in  Knox  County,  Tennessee.  To 
their  marriage  have  been  born  three  children:  Clinton, 

now  in  the  public  schools  at  Shawnee;  Paul  Clark  and 
Mary  Lee. 


Shawnee  Public  Schools.  In  laying  the  foundation 
and  building  the  great  State  of  Oklahoma  the  citizen- 
ship have  kept  in  mind  the  fact  that  future  growth 
would  be  impossible  without  establishing  good  schools. 
No  man,  with  or  without  a family,  would  want  to  buy 
property  and  live  in  any  community  stripped  of  schools 
and  churches.  In  view  of  these  facts  the  people  of 
Oklahoma  have  spared  no  means  in  securing  the  best 
educational  opportunities.  This  condition  is  especially 
true  with  the  City  of  Shawnee.  It  is,  indeed,  fitting 
that  the  fourth  city  of  Oklahoma  (not  in  general 
resources,  but  in  school  population) , a city  located  in 
one  of  the  richest  regions  of  the  state,  should  have  the 
best  possible  school  system  which  can  be  devised  by 
human  minds  and  hearts. 

Shawnee  has  not  only  been  generous  in  the  construc- 
tion of  buildings  but  the  good  people  of  the  city  have 
voted  three  extra  levies  for  maintenance  within  the  last 
six  years.  In  equipment  the  Shawnee  public  school 
buildings  are  second  to  none  in  the  state.  Of  the  nine 
buildings,  all  except  one  are  built  of  brick  and  are 
equipped 1 with  all  modern  conveniences-,  such  as  lava- 
tories, electric  lights,  etc. 

As  a matter  of  information  and  proof  of  the  steady 
growth  of  Shawnee  public  schools,  a few  statistics  are 
here  given.  The  total  enrollment  for  the  past  four 
years  is  as  follows: 


1912- 1913  2,805 

1913- 1914  2,947 

1914- 1915  2,961 

1915- 1916  . 3,400 


The  total  number  of  teachers  employed,  including 
three  substitutes,  is  84,  of  which  15  are  men  and  69 
are  women.  The  total  number  of  employees  for  the 
schools,  including  the  secretary  to  the  superintendent 
and  clerk  of  the  board  of  education,  is  97.  The  average 
salary  of  the  grade  teacher  is  $57.95  per  month;  the 
minimum  salary  is  $40.00;  the  maximum  salary,  $65.00. 
The  maximum  salary  for  the  primary  grades  is  $76.50. 
The  estimate  for  maintenance  of  the  schools  in  1914-15 
was  $70,385.  The  total  valuation  of  Shawnee  School 
District  is  $7,772,226.56. 

Recesses  twice  daily  were  inaugurated  in  all  the  schools 
in  1914-15.  The  cultivation  of  school  gardens  has 
recently  been  instituted.  The  study  of  agriculture  has 
been  added  to  the  course  in  the  elementary  grades  within 
the  last  year.  Four  of  the  war  schools  have  recently 
installed  $80.00  Victrolas,  the  moneys  being  raised 
through  the  efforts  of  the  teachers  and  children.  A 
$1,000  Everett  Concert  Grand  piano  has  been  placed  in 
the  high  school  recently.  This  will  cost  the  district 
nothing.  One  of  the  ward  schools  has  been  equipped 
with  modern  playground  equipment. 

The  value  of  the  high  school  building  and  equipment 
is  $123,000.  Twenty-one  teachers  are  employed.  The 
high  school  has  experienced  a wonderful  gain,  as  indi- 
cated in  the  enrollment  below: 


1910- 1911  276  ' 

1911- 1912  332 

1912- 1913  374 

1913- 1914  425 

1914- 1915  480 

1915- 1916  547 

The  increase  in  the  graduating  classes  for  the  past  four 
years  is  as  follows: 

1911- 1912  43 

1912- 1913  63 

1913- 1914  64 

1914- 1915  79 

1915- 1916  93 


1858 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


At  the  beginning  of  the  1915-1916  school  year  the 
entire  system  was  reorganized.  The  length  of  the  daily 
recitation  was  increased  from  forty-five  minutes  to 
seventy  minutes,  each  period  being  planned  for  thirty-five 
minutes  recitation  on  the  previous  day’s  lesson  and 
thirty-five  minutes  carefully  supervised  study  on  the 
advanced  lesson.  One  of  the  primary  objects  of  this 
plan  is  to  teach  the  pupil  how  to  study,  and  so  prevent 
a very  common  waste  of  time  in  more  or  less  aimless 
groping  for  a method  of  study. 

Below  is  given  a list  of  the  special  department  in  the 
high  school  showing  cost: 

Commercial $1,500.00 

Domestic  Science  1,900.00 

Manual  Training 2,500.00 

Agriculture  600.00 

Chemical  Department 2,000.00 

Physics  Department  2,000.00 

Biology  Department 400.00 

Gymnasium  1,500.00 

Each  of  the  above  departments  is  being  strengthened 
every  year. 

There  are  organized  in  the  high  school:  One  first 

class  orchestra;  four  literary  societies — two  girls  and 
two  boys;  one  German  Club;  one  Girls’  Glee  Club;  a 
school  paper  is  published — the  Caldron. 

With  the  already  high  state  of  improvement  and 
efficiency  and  with  the  support  of  the  progressive  citi- 
zenship of  Shawnee,  the  school  authorities  anticipate 
wonderful  advancement  in  Shawnee  public  schools  for 
the  coming  years. 

Randolph  Brooks  Forrest.  One  of  the  senior 
lawyers  of  Western  Oklahoma  is  Randolph  Brooks 
Forrest  of  El  Reno,  who  became  identified  with  the 
Oklahoma  bar  about  four  years  after  the  opening  of  the 
original  Oklahoma  Territory,  and  his  prestige  and  influ- 
ence as  a lawyer  and  citizen  have  been  increasing  in 
proportion  to  the  length  of  his  years  of  residence.  Mr. 
Forrest  is  now  serving  as  county  judge  of  Canadian 
County,  where  he  has  had  his  home  since  coming  to 
Oklahoma  in  1893. 

Randolph  Brooks  Forrest  is  an  Ohio  man  by  birth, 
having  been  born  in  that  interesting  section  of  Southern 
Ohio  along  the  Ohio  River  at  Portsmouth  October  20, 
1850.  His  parents,  Joseph  H.  and  Yancaline  (Yance) 
Forrest  were  natives  of  Ohio,  but  their  respective  parents 
were  Virginians  who  were  among  the  pioneers  in  South- 
ern Ohio,  having  located  there  in  1809.  His  paternal 
great-grandfather,  Zachariah  Forrest,  was  an  officer  in 
the  Revolutionary  army,  from  Maryland;  his  grand- 
father, Archibald  Forrest,  was  a soldier  in  the  War  of 
1812,  from  Ohio;  his  uncle,  Elza  Forrest,  was  killed 
in  the  battle  of  Beuna  Vista  in  Mexico,  and  his  own 
father  served  in  the  war  of  the  states  for  the  Union. 
In  1851,  when  Judge  Forrest  was  about  a year  old, 
his  parents  removed  to  Illinois,  finally  locating  on  a 
farm  in  Logan  County.  His  father  was  a farmer  by 
pursuit  and  reared  his  family  on  a farm. 

Judge  Forrest  had  his  education  from  Illinois  country 
schools,  followed  by  a course  in  the  high  school  at 
Atlanta,  Illinois,  and  two  years  in  the  Illinois  Normal 
University  at  Normal.  His  early  ambition  was  directed 
to  the  law,  and  he  took  up  the  study  of  Blackstone  while 
teaching  school,  a vocation  which  held  him  for  three 
years.  At  the  age  of  twenty-three  Judge  Forrest  was 
editor  of  the  Logan  County  Journal,  which  he  published 
at  Lincoln  for  one  year.  He  then  sold  the  paper,  and 
in  June,  1876,  successfully  passed  the  examination  before 
the  Illinois  Supreme  Court  and  was  admitted  to  the 


Illinois  Bar.  Judge  Forrest  has  had  a long  and  interest- 
ing experience  as  a lawyer,  both  in  the  Middle  West  and 
in  the  Northwest  and  Southwest.  He  practiced  at  Lin- 
coln, Illinois,  for  several  years,  and  in  1880  was  elected 
state ’s  attorney  of  Logan  County,  an  office  he  held 
four  years,  and  which  gave  him  a splendid  training  as 
an  advocate.  During  the  winter  of  1884-85,  Mr.  Forrest 
removed  from  Illinois  to  Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  and 
was  successfully  identified  with  the  bar  of  the  flour 
metropolis  of  the  Northwest  until  1893.  In  the  latter 
year  he  came  to  Oklahoma  and  located  at  El  Reno.  Of 
his  work  as  a lawyer  it  is  hardly  necessary  to  speak 
except  to  state  that  he  is  regarded  as  a lawyer  of 
thorough  ability,  broad  knowledge  of  jurisprudence,  and 
with  a most  successful  record  in  the  handling  of  litiga- 
tion. His  public  and  political  career  is  a matter  of 
interest  and  reflects  some  of  the  interesting  political 
history  of  Oklahoma.  In  the  early  days  he  practiced 
as  an  attorney  over  nearly  all  of  Western  Oklahoma 
Territory,  gained  a wide  acquaintance,  and  in  1898  the 
democrats  of  Western  Oklahoma  favored  his  candidacy 
as  territorial  delegate  to  Congress.  However,  the  heavier 
vote  of  the  eastern  part  of  Oklahoma  gave  the  nomina- 
tion to  another  candidate.  The  Western  Oklahoma  demo- 
crats again  preferred  him  as  their  candidate  for  Congress 
in  1900,  but  he  declined  to  run  because  of  the  fusion  of 
democrats  and  populists  in  the  convention.  Two  years 
later  he  was  again  an  unsuccessful  candidate  for  the 
nomination.  Judge  Forrest  is  an  Oklahoman  who 
deserves  credit  for  his  participation  in  the  statehood 
movement  in  all  its  phases  for  more  than  ten  years 
before  statehood  became  an  actuality.  In  1895  he  was 
chosen  a delegate  to  the  statehood  convention  of  that 
year.  From  the  first  he  espoused  the  cause  of  “single 
statehood,  ’ ’ that  is  one  state  for  the  two  territories  of 
Oklahoma  and  Indian  Territory.  He  sat  as  a delegate 
in  the  statehood  convention  of  1901,  and  for  a third 
time  was  a delegate  in  1902.  In  both  these  conventions 
he  was  chairman  of  the  committee  on  resolutions.  In 
1904,  because  of  his  convictions  in  favor  of  single  state- 
hood, Mr.  Forrest  supported  for  re-election  to  Congress 
Mr.  McGuire,  a republican  and  the  author  of  the  then 
pending  single  statehood  bill  in  Congress.  In  the  same 
campaign  Judge  Forrest  supported  the  local  democratic 
ticket,  and  always  before  and  always  since  has  been  a 
loyal  and  vigorous  advocate  of  the  man  and  measures  of 
the  democratic  political  party.  Since  his  residence  in 
Oklahoma  he  has  been  a delegate  to  every  democratic 
county  and  territorial  or  state  convention.  It  will  be 
recalled  that  there  was  much  division  of  public  senti- 
ment with  respect  to  the  question  whether  Oklahoma 
and  Indian  Territory  should  go  into  the  Union  as  one 
or  two  states,  and  Judge  Forrest’s  attitude  on  statehood 
led  to  his  defeat  as  a candidate  from  this  county  to  the 
constitutional  convention  which  in  1907  perfected  the 
first  organic  law  for  the  new  state.  In  the  primary 
election  of  1912  Mr.  Forrest  was  an  unsuccessful  candi- 
date for  nomination  to  Congress  from  his  district.  One 
of  the  chief  planks  in  his  platform  during  that  campaign 
was  the  advocacy  of  the  conservation  of  surface  water. 

In  1913-14  Mr.  Forrest  served  as  assistant  county 
attorney  of  Canadian  County,  and  in  1914  was  elected 
county  judge,  and  is  now  giving  his  time  and  attention 
to  a capable  administration  of  Canadian  County ’s 
affairs.  His  election  to  the  office  of  county  judge  is 
somewhat  of  a vindication  of  his  course  in  political 
affairs.  Fraternally  Judge  Forrest  is  affiliated  with 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  and  the 
Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  He  was 
married  in  Illinois  in  1872  to  Miss  Mary  Randolph. 
They  are  the  parents  of  two  daughters  and  one  son. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1859 


Judge  Forrest  is  a man  of  broad  intellectual  interests, 
and  is  the  author  of  a small  book  of  verse  on  current 
topics,  which  has  been  well  received. 

W.  T.  Berentz.  Bartlesville  has  one  of  its  most  force- 
ful business  men  in  the  person  of  W.  T.  Berentz,  who  is 
president  of  the  Berentz  Hardware  Company  and  is  also 
proprietor  of  a furniture  and  undertaking  establishment. 
A number  of  years  Mr.  Berentz  saw  a crop  of  wheat  cut 
from  the  site  of  tfie  city  where  he  now  makes  his  home 
and  where  his  business  activities  have  been  concentrated 
for  nearly  fifteen  years.  He  has  helped  in  an  important 
way  in  making  Bartlesville  the  center  of  trade  and  indus- 
try for  a large  surrounding  territory,  and  has  identified 
himself  in  a public-spirited  fashion  with  all  local  move- 
ments for  upbuilding  and  improvements. 

A resident  of  this  section  of  Oklahoma  for  twenty-five 
years,  W.  T.  Berentz  was  born  in  Danville,  Illinois,  Feb- 
ruary 21,  1867,  a son  of  Jeremiah  and  Emma  (Olmstead) 
Berentz.  His  father  was  born  in  Ohio.  From  Illinois 
the  family  emigrated  to  Kansas  and  took  up  a homestead 
in  Labette  County  in  1869.  W.  T.  Berentz  at  that  time 
was  about  two  years  of  age,  and  his  youthful  recollec- 
tions concern  themselves  largely  with  the  pioneer  condi- 
tions found  in  Southeastern  Kansas  during  the  late  ’60s 
and  ’70s.  His  father  died  in  October,  1913,  at  the  age 
of  seventy-one,  and  the  mother  passed  away  May  5,  1905, 
at  the  age  of  sixty -three.  Jeremiah  Berentz  served  for 
more  than  forty-eight  months  with  the  Twelfth  Illinois 
Volunteer  Infantry  during  the  Civil  war.  After  his 
three-year  term  had  expired  he  veteranized  and  con- 
tinued until  the  close  of  the  mighty  struggle  between  the 
North  and  the  South.  He  was  a member  of  the  Presby- 
terian Church  and  a republican  in  politics.  W.  T. 
Berentz  was  the  oldest  of  four  children,  and  the  second, 
Myra,  died  at  the  age  of  twelve  years,  and  two  daughters, 
Maude  and  Mabel,  twins,  who  were  born  in  1875,  are 
now  living  in  Los  Angeles,  California. 

W.  T.  Berentz  grew  up  in  Kansas,  received  his  educa- 
tion from  country  schools,  and  for  the  greater  part  of 
the  time  up  to  1897  lived  with  his  parents.  In  the  spring 
of  1890  the  entire  family  had  moved  from  Kansas  to 
Indian  Territory,  and  the  son  operated  a ranch  here  up 
to  1901.  In  1897  his  parents  went  back  to  Kansas,  but 
Mr.  Berentz  has  lived  continuously  in  Northeastern  Okla- 
homa for  the  past  twenty-five  years.  In  1901  he  became 
a merchant  in  the  new  Town  of  Bartlesville,  and  at  that 
time  started  in  the  hardware,  furniture  and  undertaking 
business  associated  with  B.  H.  Muzzy  under  the  name 
Berentz  & Muzzy.  In  1907  he  bought  out  his  partner’s 
interest  and  in  1914  organized  a stock  company  known 
as  the  Berentz  Hardware  Company,  Incorporated,  of 
which  he  is  president.  In  the  meantime  the  furniture 
and  undertaking  had  been  separated  and  has  been  con- 
ducted under  the  individual  name  of  Mr.  Berentz.  He 
owns  the  building  where  he  first  started  in  business  on 
Second  Street,  but  his  present  large  store  is  located  on 
Johnstone  Avenue.  He  is  also  interested  with  J.  P. 
Goveran  in  the  buggy  and  implement  business.  For  a 
number  of  years  he  was  also -identified  with  the  manufac- 
ture of  brick  at  Bartlesville. 

As  a citizen  Mr.  Berentz  has  served  as  a member  of  the 
city  school  board  for  the  past  six  years,  and  was  re- 
elected in  the  spring  of  1915  to  the  same  office.  He  is 
well  known  in  Masonry,  being  a member  of  the  Lodge, 
Chapter,  Commandery,  the  Scottish  Rite  Consistory  and 
the  Mystic  Shrine,  and  is  also  affiliated  with  the  Benevo- 
lent and  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  In  January,  1903, 
Mr.  Berentz  married  Miss  Florence  Forrester,  who  was 
born  in  Illinois,  a daughter  of  William  Forrester.  To 
their  marriage  have  been  born  two  sons:  Russell  and 

Robert. 


J.  W.  Stroud.  The  founder  of  one  of  the  thriving 
towns  of  Lincoln  County  is  now  a wealthy  and  prominent 
citizen  of  Pawhuska,  in  Osage  County,  with  which  locality 
he  has  been  identified  practically  throughout  the  period 
of  its  greatest  development.  J.  W.  Stroud  is  an  Okla- 
homa Eighty-niner,  a man  who  came  into  the  original 
territory  with  capital  and  business  experience,  and  by 
his  shrewd  judgment,  foresight  and  enterprise  has  not 
only  lifted  himself  above  the  plane  of  modern  success, 
but  at  the  same  time  has  assisted  several  localities 
to  grow  and  prosper.  He  is  one  of  the  men  whose  names 
should  be  permanently  linked  with  the  history  of  Okla- 
homa during  the  past  twenty-five  years. 

Born  at  Springfield,  Missouri,  August  2,  1859,  he 
is  of  German  parents,  L.  D.  and  Priscilla  (Schmidt) 
Stroud.  His  father  was  a natural  mechanic,  handy 
with  all  manner  of  tools,  and  developed  his  trade 
into  a business  as  builder.  He  helped  construct  the  first 
buildings  of  the  normal  school  at  Warrensburg,  Mis- 
souri. He  was  also  a soldier  during  the  Civil  war,  hav- 
ing served  with  the  Second  Missouri  Artillery. 

The  only  child  of  his  parents,  J.  W.  Stroud,  at  the 
age  of  fifteen,  started  out  for  himself,  and  is  strictly 
a self-made  man.  He  gained  a limited  education,  but 
has  improved  all  his  opportunities  by  observation  and 
experience  and  by  industry  and  economy  finally  got 
started  in  the  world  along  the  lines  for  which  he  has 
shown  special  inclination  and  ability.  He  was  reared 
on  a farm,  but  soon  developed  his  instinct  as  a trader 
and  in  1881  established  a small  store  near  the  City  of 
Springfield,  Missouri,  and  made  that  in  a few  years 
an  important  trading  center  for  a large  surrounding 
community. 

Mr.  Stroud  came  into  Oklahoma  in  1889  and  soon  after 
the  opening  was  proprietor  of  a small  grocery  store  on 
Main  Street  in  Oklahoma  City.  With  the  opening  of 
the  country  east  and  south  of  Oklahoma  City  to  settle- 
ment, he  set  up  a rough  frame  shack  out  on  the  prairie, 
put  in  a stock  of  goods,  and  that  was  the  beginning 
of  a settlement  which  came  to  be  known  as  Stroud,  the 
actual  beginning  of  whose  history  was  on  April  6, 
1892.  He  conducted  his  store  in  that  locality  until  1898, 
and  in  the  meantime  had  taken  an  important  part  in 
securing  the  construction  of  the  Frisco  Railroad  through 
Lincoln  County,  and  then  moved  his  store  over  to  the 
railroad  site,  and  his  name  was  applied  to  the  new  Town 
of  Stroud.  He  was  first  in  all  matters  of  public  enter- 
prise there,  and  that  thrifty  and  prosperous  community 
is  well  pleased  to  have  his  name  identified  with  it.  Mr. 
Stroud  conducted  a lumber  yard  at  Stroud,  was  also 
vice  president  of  the  First  National  Bank,  which  he  helped 
to  organize,  and  later  organized  the  City  State  Bank, 
of  which  he  was  president.  He  finally  sold  out  his  inter- 
ests in  both  of  these  institutions,  and  had  also  in  the 
meantime  acquired  a large  amount  of  real  estate,  both 
in  the  city  and  the  surrounding  country. 

Since  January,  1907,  Mr.  Stroud  has  made  his  home 
and  the  center  of  his  interests  at  Pawhuska.  Among 
other  important  investments  he  has  four  brick  buildings 
on  Ki-hi-Kah  and  Sixth  streets,  and  he  has  also  built 
and  occupies  a beautiful  bungalow  home  on  the  hill 
which  is  second  to  none  of  the  Pawhuska  residences  of 
that  class.  Mr.  Stroud  also  owns  1,200  acres  in  Osage 
County,  and  has  much  of  his  land  under  cultivation 
and  improvement. 

In  1909  Mr.  Stroud  drilled  two  gas  wells  on  the  city 
site  of  Pawhuska  and  then  turned  over  the  plant  to 
the  city  at  cost.  As  a result  of  this  public-spirited  enter- 
prise the  price  of  gas  was  at  once  reduced  one-half,  and 
fuel  was  furnished  in  abundance  to  the  water  and  light 
plants.  This  act  of  public  spirit  made  him  a great 


1860 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


many  friends  and  admirers,  and  in  turn  the  people  of 
Pawhuska  made  him  mayor  of  the  city  for  two  years. 

Politically  Mr.  Stroud  is  a republican,  was  reared 
in  the  faith  of  the  German  Baptist  Church,  and  in 
Masonry  has  attained  the  thirty-second  degree  of  the 
Scottish  Rite,  being  affiliated  with  both  the  Consistory 
and  the  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine. 

When  a poor  struggling  young  man  back  in  Missouri 
at  the  age  of  nineteen  Mr.  Stroud  married  Miss  Martha 
Gregg,  who  was  born  in  that  state.  To  their  union 
were  born  seven  children:  Lucas  lives  in  Texas;  Priscilla 
is  the  wife  of  Henry  Ward  of  Fairfax,  Oklahoma;  Samuel 
also  lives  in  Texas ; Alma  is  the  wife  of  Henry  MeMillen 
of  Osage  County ; Charles  lives  on  a farm  in  Osage 
County;  Maude  is  the  wife  of  W.  H.  Spurr,  who  is 
cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  at  Seminole,  Okla- 
homa; LeMoyne  is  now  attending  law  school  at  Chat- 
tanooga, Tennessee.  In  1903  Mr.  Stroud  married  for  his 
present  wife  Ella  Fisher,  who  was  born  in  Nebraska. 

Mention  has  already  been  made  of  Mr.  Stroud ’s  part  in 
helping  to  build  the  Frisco  Eailroad  through  Lincoln 
County.  He  was  one  of  the  active  promoters  of  that 
line  from  Sapulpa  to  Oklahoma  City,  and  not  only  lent 
all  his  influence  and  resources  but  assisted  in  making 
the  survey  and  in  securing  the  right  of  way  and  also 
conducted  a canvass  for  funds  to  pay  for  the  construc- 
tion. He  also  laid  out  some  of  the  townsites  along 
the  line,  and  the  judgment  of  railroad  builders  and  civil 
engineers  has  confirmed  his  excellent  judgment  in  locating 
that  line  of  railroad,  which  was  one  of  the  most  con- 
siderable factors  in  the  early  days  in  establishing  the  pre- 
eminence of  Oklahoma  City.  Since  then  he  has  helped  in 
making  the  surveys  of  several  other  railroad  lines  in 
the  state.  In  addition  to  his  various  other  investments 
Mr.  Stroud  is  president  and  general  manager  of  the 
Acacia  Oil  & Gas  Company  of  Pawhuska,  an  Oklahoma 
corporation  which  is  composed  entirely  of  home  capital- 
ists and  investors. 

William  L.  Chapman.  As  part  of  the  political  ma- 
chinery methods  necessary  to  the  establishment  of  state 
government  in  Oklahoma  and  as  an  official  of  that  gov- 
ernment after  it  was  established  in  1907,  William  L. 
Chapman,  the  well  known  lawyer  of  Shawnee,  has  con- 
tributed much  to  the  welfare  of  the  state.  Equipped 
with  a literary  and  commercial  education  he  has  suc- 
cessfully filled  the  positions  of  editor  and  banker,  and  a 
legal  training  has  enabled  him  to  make  a success  in  the 
law.  For  six  years  prior  to  and  subsequent  to  statehood 
he  was  secretary  of  the  Territorial  and  State  Demo- 
cratic Central  committees,  serving  in  that  capacity  dur- 
ing the  campaigns  for  the  election  of  delegates  to  the 
Constitutional  Convention,  the  adoption  of  the  consti- 
tution and  the  election  of  the  first  state  officials.  After 
statehood  he  was  he  first  secretary  of  the  Corporation 
Commission  and  in  that  position  laid  the  foundation  for 
a systematic  and  methodical  keeping  of  the  records  of 
that  department  of  state  government. 

Born  in  Wingo,  Kentucky,  October  12,  1867,  a son  of 
Thomas  and  Nannie  (Hatchell)  Chapman,  William  L. 
Chapman  having  completed  the  public  school  course  in 
his  native  state  entered  Marvin  College  at  Clinton,  Ken- 
tucky, from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1888  with  the 
degree  Bachelor  of  Arts.  He  holds  the  degree  Ph.  D. 
from  Cumberland  University  at  Lebanon,  Tennessee, 
awarded  him  in  1895.  While  in  Marvin  College  he  swept 
floors  and  worked  in  a chair  factory  at  odd  times  to  pay 
expenses,  and  during  part  of  the  time  helped  out  his 
sister  who  was  in  the  same  college.  On  leaving  school 
he  was  for  ten  years  a successful  teacher  in  Kentucky, 
Texas,  Arkansas  and  Oklahoma,  was  at  one  time  super- 


intendent of  city  schools  at  Stephenville,  Texas,  and  at 
another  time  president  of  Willie  Halsell  College  at 
Vinita,  Oklahoma.  He  is  a graduate  of  Hills  Business 
College  at  Waco,  Texas,  having  completed  the  course 
there  as  preparation  for  a clerical  position  that  was  wait- 
ing him  in  Oklahoma. 

On  leaving  college  work  at  Vinita  Mr.  Chapman  entered 
the  First  National  Bank  of  that  city  as  a clerk  and 
afterwards  became  assistant  cashier.  Later  he  moved 
to  Shawnee,  was  in  the  banking  business  and  for  four 
years  was  editor  of  the  Shawnee  Herald.  For  sixteen 
years  he  was  a member  of  the  Democratic  Territorial  and 
State  Central  committees  and  was  secretary  of  that 
committee  during  two  national  campaigns.  In  these 
campaigns  he  was  in  charge  of  special  trains  that  toured 
the  state  with  W.  J.  Bryan  as  the  speaker.  Only  a brief 
summary  can  be  made  of  his  varied  public  service.  At 
Vinita  he  was  a member  of  the  board  of  education  that 
established  one  of  the  first  public  schools  in  Indian  Ter- 
ritory. He  was  city  clerk  of  Norman,  Oklahoma,  and 
city  treasurer  of  Shawnee.  He  resided  at  Norman  when 
the  University  of  Oklahoma  was  founded  and  there  be- 
came associated  with  F.  S.  E.  Amos,  now  of  Vinita,  who 
was  then  a member  of  the  faculty  of  the  university  and 
is  an  advisory  editor  of  the  Standard  History  of  Okla- 
homa. Mr.  Amos  accompanied  Mr.  Chapman  to  Vinita 
and  became  a teacher  with  him  in  the  Willie  Halsell 
College. 

At  Columbus,  Kentucky,  June  5,  1895,  Mr.  Chapman 
married  Miss  Maud  Taylor.  Mrs.  Chapman  is  a woman 
of  thorough  culture  as  well  as  a most  capable  home 
maker.  She  graduated  with  high  honors  from  Marvin 
College  in  Kentucky  and  a year  after  graduation  was 
given  a chair  in  the  faculty  of  instruction  at  that  in- 
stitution. To  their  marriage  there  are  three  living 
children:  Merle,  aged  sixteen,  in  high  school;  Marie, 
aged  thirteen,  also  in  high  school;  and  Vernon,  aged 
ten.  Mr.  Chapman  has  one  sister,  two  half-sisters  and 
a half-brother:  Mrs.  Ada  Moore,  wife  of  a farmer  at 
Clinton,  Kentucky;  Mrs.  Charles  Crawl,  wife  of  a lum- 
ber dealer  at  Eufaula,  Oklahoma;  Mrs.  Ola  Painter, 
whose  husband  is  an  oil  supply  man  at  Wichita  Falls, 
Texas;  and  H.  M.  Myers,  who  for  seven  years  has  been 
in  the  auditing  department  at  Muskogee  of  the  Missouri, 
Oklahoma  & Gulf  Railway  Company.  Mr.  Chapman  is 
a member  of  the  Masonic  and  the  Knights  of  Pythias 
lodges,  and  of  the  Methodist  Church. 

Charles  W.  Wilson.  Noted  for  his  sound  judgment 
and  keen  business  sagacity,  Charles  W.  Wilson  is  re- 
garded as  one  of  the  safe  and  sound  financiers  of  Wood- 
ward County,  and  his  connection  with  the  Security  State 
Bank  of  Mooreland,  of  which  he  has  been  cashier  since 
1914,  has  resulted  very  advantageously  to  that  concern. 
Mr.  Wilson  came  to  the  West  in  his  youth,  with  little  to 
aid  him  save  his  ambition  and  energy  and  after  a num- 
ber of  years  spent  in  Kansas  came  to  Oklahoma  in  a 
business  capacity  in  which  he  displayed  qualities  that 
led  to  his  introduction  to  banking  circles. 

Born  July  3, 1863,  on  a farm  in  Lenawee  County,  Mich- 
igan, Mr.  Wilson  is  a son  of  Charles  B.  and  Rosa  M. 
(Hill)  Wilson.  His  father  was  born  in  1832,  at  Thomas- 
ton,  Connecticut,  where  the  family  was  well  and  favorably 
known  and  where  the  grandparents  were  born,  and  was 
one  year  old  when  taken  to  Lenawee  County,  Michigan. 
There  Charles  B.  Wilson  was  reared  on  a pioneer  farm, 
was  given  an  ordinary  education  and  as  a young  man 
engaged  in  teaching  school,  although  later  he  turned  his 
attention  to  agricultural  pursuits  and  succeeded  to  the 
ownership  of  the  farm  which  had  been  proved  up  by  his 
father.  An  industrious  and  enterprising  man,  his  life 
was  passed  in  the  peaceful  pursuits  of  the  soil,  and  his 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1861 


death  occurred  on  his  Michigan  farm  April  20,  1900. 
In  his  community  he  had  an  excellent  reputation  in 
business  circles,  while  his  good  citizenship  was  evidenced 
on  all  occasions.  In  1857,  in  Michigan,  Mr.  Wilson  was 
united  in  marriage  with  Miss  Eosa  M.  Hill,  who  was  born 
in  1837,  in  Connecticut,  daughter  of  Eollin  E.  and  Milli- 
cent  (Kasson)  Hill,  natives  of  Litchfield  County,  Con- 
necticut. She  was  taken  as  a child  to  Michigan,  where 
she  was  reared  and  educated  and  prior  to  her  marriage 
was,  like  her  husband,  a teacher  in  the  public  schools. 
Her  death  occurred  February  8,  1884,  and  thirty  years 
later,  in  1914,  one  of  the  classrooms  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church  at  Morenci,  Michigan,  was  dedicated 
to  her  as  a memorial  to  her  faithful  and  devoted  work  in 
behalf  of  that  congregation  during  the  early  days.  Two 
sons  and  one  daughter  were  born  to  Charles  B.  and  Eosa 
M.  Hill,  namely:  Clarence  A.,  Luella  Josephine  and 
Charles  W.  Clarence  A.  Wilson  of  this  family  was  born 
August  14,  1859,  in  Lenawee  County,  Michigan,  and  was 
given  good  educational  advantages,  being  graduated  from 
Valparaiso  College,  at  Valparaiso,  Indiana.  He  took  up 
banking  in  1884,  when  he  was  elected  cashier  of  the 
Wakefield  State  Bank  of  Morenci,  Michigan,  a position 
which  he  still  retains,  being  one  of  the  best  known  bank- 
ers in  that  part  of  the  'state.  He  was  married  in  1904 
to  Miss  Marie  Beauchamp,  a native  of  Newport,  Ken- 
tucky, and  they  are  the  parents  of  two  daughters : 
Charlotte  and  Millicent.  Luella  Josephine  Wilson  was 
born  in  Lenawee  County,  Michigan,  February  20,  1861, 
and  early  displayed  literary  talent  of  more  than  ordinary 
order.  In  addition  to  being  a magazine  writer  of  note, 
she  was  secretary  of  the  Writers’  Club  of  Toledo,  Ohio, 
and  held  that  position  at  the  time  of  her  death,  April 
20,  1912.  She  married  Frank  Smith,  a native  of  Ohio,  in 
1886,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  two  children: 
Herbert  W.  and  Dorothy. 

Charles  W.  Wilson  was  reared  on  the  home  farm  in 
Michigan  and  received  his  education  in  the  public  schools 
of  Lenawee  County.  At  the  age  of  twenty-two  years,  in 
1885,  he  left  home  to  seek  his  fortune  in  the  West,  his 
destination  being  Harper,  Kansas,  where  he  secured  a 
position  in  a flouring  mill.  During  the  fifteen  years  that 
followed  he  worked  at  milling  at  different  points  in 
Southern  Kansas,  and  in  various  capacities,  and  became 
well  and  favorably  known  to  the  people  of  Barber  County, 
in  that  state,  who,  in  1902,  elected  him  to  the  office  of 
county  clerk.  The  manner  in  which  he  discharged  his 
duties  during  his  first  term  resulted  in  his  election  to 
succeed  himself  in  1904,  and  the  entire  four  years  of  his 
incumbency  were  marked  by  faithful,  capable,  energetic 
and  conscientious  performance  of  duty.  In  1907,  1908 
and  1909,  Mr.  Wilson  was  assistant  cashier  of  the  First 
National  Bank  of  Kiowa,  Kansas,  where  he  gained  excel- 
lent experience,  but  in  1911  he  transferred  his  activities 
to  Oklahoma,  coming  to  Mooreland  to  accept  the  manage- 
ment of  the  grain  elevator  of  the  Alva  Boiler  Mills,  a 
concern  which  is  being  capably  managed  by  George  A. 
Harbaugh,  with  a large  mill  at  Alva  and  a chain  of 
grain  elevators  in  Kansas,  Oklahoma  and  Texas.  Mr.  Wil- 
son soon  became  known  as  a business  man  of  unusual 
capacity  and  in  1914  was  offered  and  accepted  the  cash- 
iership  of  the  Security  State  Bank  of  Mooreland,  of 
which  office  he  has  since  been  the  incumbent.  This  is  one 
of  the  sound  and  conservative  financial  institutions  of 
Woodward  County,  established  in  1906,  whose  depositors 
come  from  Woodward  and  the  surrounding  counties.  He 
has  maintained  his  position  as  a man  of  substantial  busi- 
ness qualities  and  exceptional  character,  and  is  rapidly 
becoming  one  of  the  most  prominent  and  successful  citi- 
zens of  his  locality.  Fraternally,  Mr.  Wilson  affiliates 
with  the  Masons  and  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  in  both  of 


which  he  has  numerous  friends.  Since  attaining  his 
majority  he  has  been  an  unswerving  republican. 

Mr.  Wilson  was  married  October  26,  1892,  at  Medicine 
Lodge,  Kansas,  to  Miss  Lizzie  C.  Clark,  who  was  born 
February  14,  1872,  at  old  Osage  Mission,  Kansas. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wilson  have  had  no  children.  She  is  a 
member  of  the  Presbyterian  Church  and  has  taken  an 
active  interest  in  its  work. 

William  P.  Harper.  A resident  of  Oklahoma  City 
since  1889,  Judge  Harper  has  here  been  engaged  in  the 
practice  of  law  since  1891  and  he  holds  secure  vantage- 
place  as  one  of  the  representative  members  of  the 
Oklahoma  bar.  Under  the  territorial  regime  he  served 
as  judge  of  probate  of  Oklahoma  County  and  of  this 
office  he  was  the  incumbent  also  at  the  time  when  Okla- 
homa was  admitted  to  statehood,  in  1907.  He  controls 
a large  and  important  law  business,  has  been  influen- 
tial in  public  affairs  in  the  territory  and  state,  and  is 
one  of  the  progressive  and  liberal  citizens  of  Oklahoma 
City,  where  he  maintains  his  well  appointed  law  offices 
at  207-9  Majestic  Building. 

Judge  William  Philip  Harper  was  born  at  Wheeling, 
Delaware  County,  Indiana,  on  the  18th  of  February, 
1859,  and  is  a son  of  Charles  A.  and  Mary  J.  (Wen- 
dall)  Harper.  His  father  was  a lawyer  by  profession 
and  for  a number  of  years  was  engaged  in  the  practice 
of  his  profession  at  Muncie,  the  judicial  center  of  Dela-' 
ware  County,  Indiana,  and  there  the  subject  of  this 
review  initiated  the  study  of  law  under  the  effective  pre- 
ceptorship  of  his  father,  after  he  had  duly  profited  by 
the  advantages  afforded  in  the  public  schools  of  his 
native  state.  From  1876  to  1885  Judge  Harper  was  a 
resident  of  Clinton  County,  Indiana,  and  he  then  came 
to  the  West  and  passed  three  years  in  the  State  of 
Kansas.  In  December,  1899,  the  year  in  which  Okla- 
homa Territory  was  organized  and  opened  to  settlement 
Judge  Harper  numbered  himself  among  its  pioneer  set- 
tlers, and  he  has  wielded  not  a little  influence  in  the  civic 
and  material  development  and  progress  of  both  territory 
and  state.  Upon  coming  to  the  territory  he  established 
his  residence  in  Oklahoma  City,  where  he  resumed  the 
study  of  law  and  where  he  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in 
1891.  He  here  engaged  in  the  practice  of  his  profes- 
sion and  in  1894  he  was  elected,  on  the  republican 
ticket,  to  the  office  of  judge  of  the  Probate  Court  of 
Oklahoma  County,  of  which  position  he  continued  the 
efficient  and  valued  incumbent  for  a term  of  two  years, 
within  which  he  did  much  to  systematize,  solidify  and 
make  authoritative  the  important  business  of  this  ter- 
ritorial court  of  the  county.  After  his  retirement  from 
office  the  judge  again  engaged  in  the  general  practice 
of  his  profession,  and  few  lawyers  have  been  more 
prominently  associated  with  important  litigations  and 
legal  interests  in  the  state  than  has  he.  He  retains 
at  the  present  time  a large  and  representative  clientage, 
is  well  known  to  his  professional  confreres  throughout 
ithe  state,  and  commands  unqualified  popular  confidence 
and  esteem.  In  1902  he  was  again  elected  judge  of  pro- 
bate, and  he  continued  in  the  effective  administration 
of  the  affairs  of  this  office  until  the  admission  of  Okla- 
homa to  the  Union,  in  1907,  having  retained  the  post 
during  the  pending  agitation  and  legislation  incident  to 
the  creation  of  the  new  state.  Since  that  time  he  has 
given  virtually  his  undivided  attention  to  his  large  and 
important  law  business,  and  his  name  merits  enduring 
place  on  the  roster  of  the  pioneer  members  of  the  Okla- 
homa bar.  The  judge  has  continued  a stalwart  and  ef- 
fective advocate  of  the  principles  of  the  republican 
party  and  is  one  of  its  influential  representatives  in 
Oklahoma. 


1862 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


In  the  city  that  has  long  been  his  home  was  solem- 
nized the  marriage  of  Judge  Harper  to  Miss  Cora  B. 
Gregory,  and  she  is  a popular  factor  in  the  representa- 
tive social  activities  of  Oklahoma  City.  Judge  and  Mrs. 
Harper  have  three  children,  Annabel,  Wendel  and  Wil- 
liam P.,  Jr.,  the  family  home  being  an  attractive  resi- 
dence owned  by  the  judge  at  2204  West  Nineteenth 
Street. 

George  A.  Johns  is  member  of  the  well  known  law 
firm  of  MeCrory  & Johns  of  Okmulgee,  and  besides  a 
large  general  practice  he  is  well  and  favorably  known 
over  the  county  as  former  county  judge. 

He  was  born  in  Pekin,  Illinois,  June  14,  1880,  son  of 
J.  J.  and  Elizabeth  (Weber)  Johns.  His  father  was 
born  in  Pekin,  Illinois,  but  his  mother  was  a native  of 
Germany,  and  came  to  Illinois  when  a child.  She  is  now 
living  in  Chicago.  The  father  died  at  Quincy,  Illinois,  in 
1896,  at  the  age  of  forty-six.  He  was  a merchant  during 
all  his  active  career,  and  had  stores  at  Pekin  and  Quincy. 

One  of  five  children,  George  A.  Johns,  remained  in  the 
home  of  his  mother  until  1908.  He  finished  his  education 
in  Northwestern  University,  where  he  was  graduated  in 
the  law  department  in  Chicago  in  1906  with  the  degree 
LL.  B.  He  was  admitted  to  the  Illinois  bar  in  1906  and 
practiced  law  in  that  state  for  a year  or  so. 

In  1908  he  was  admitted  to  the  Oklahoma  State  Bar, 
and  since  then  has  had  his  home  in  Okmulgee.  In  1913 
he  formed  a partnership  with  C.  B.  MeCrory  under  the 
firm  name  of  MeCrory  & Johns. 

It  was  in  1911  that  Mr.  Johns  was  elected  county 
judge  of  Okmulgee  County  and  served  in  that  office  with 
admirable  efficiency  for  two  years,  one  term.  In  politics 
he  is  a republican  and  a Knight  Templar  Mason  and 
Shriner.  In  1910  he  married  Florence  Collins,  who  was 
born  in  Binghamton,  New  York,  daughter  of  Daniel 
Collins.  They  have  one  child,  Ellen. 

Thomas  Love  Lillard.  An  extensive  and  progres- 
sive agriculturist  of  Osage  County,  and  a prominent 
citizen  of  Pawhuska,  Thomas  Love  Lillard  is  a man  of 
worth  and  stability,  and  enjoys  the  fullest  confidence  and 
esteem  of  the  community  in  which  he  resides.  A native 
of  Kentucky,  he  was  born,  September  20,  1860,  in  Boyle 
County.  His  father,  Thomas  Madison  Lillard,  was  for 
many  years  engaged  in  the  cattle  business,  during  his 
earlier  life  buying  and  selling  in  Charleston,  South  Caro- 
lina, and  in  New  York  City,  his  operations  being  largely 
confined  to  those  two  cities.  Subsequently  buying  land 
in  Kentucky,  he  devoted  the  remainder  of  his  years  to  the 
raising  of  stock,  and  to  farming,  both  he  and  his  wife 
dying  on  their  Kentucky  plantation.  To  him  and  his  wife, 
whose  maiden  name  was  Mary  Bright,  eleven  children 
were  born. 

Remaining  on  the  home  place  until  after  the  death  of 
his  father,  Thomas  Love  Lillard  was  well  trained  in 
the  art  and  science  of  agriculture,  which  he  selected  as 
his  occupation  in  life.  Coming  to  Oklahoma  in  1901, 
he  resided  at  Ponca  five  years.  In  1906  he  located  at 
Pawhuska,  where  he  has  since  been  profitably  engaged 
in  general  farming,  making  a specialty  of  stock  growing, 
in  partnership  with  T.  P.  Kiger,  being  widely  known  as 
junior  member  of  the  enterprising  firm  of  Kiger  & Lillard. 
He  is  a democrat  in  his  political  relations,  and  both 
he  and  his  wife  are  valued  members  of  the  Christian 
Church.  Fraternally  he  belongs  to  the  Benevolent  and 
Protective  Order  of  Elks. 

Mr.  Lillard  married  September  20,  1893,  Miss  Alice 
Hubble,  who  was  born  in  Boyle  County,  Kentucky,  March 
3, 1865,  a daughter  of  Levi  and  Martha  (Stigall)  Hubble, 
who  reared  three  children,  namely : William,  who  died  at 


the  age  of  twenty-four  years;  Alice,  now  Mrs.  Lillard; 
and  Laura,  wife  of  George  Shelby.  Mr.  Hubble  spent  his 
entire  life  in  Central  Kentucky,  his  death  occurring 
there  in  1896.  His  widow  survived  him  many  years, 
dying  in  1915,  in  Pawhuska,  Oklahoma,  where  she  had 
been  a resident  for  eight  years. 

Mrs.  Lillard  is  a woman  of  rare  ability  and  accom- 
plishments, scholarly  in  her  attainments,  and  possessing 
a winning  personality.  As  a young  lady  she  received 
excellent  educational  advantages,  being  graduated,  in 
1882,  from  Hamilton  College,  in  Lexington,  Kentucky, 
with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts,  and  in  1884  taking 
a post-graduate  course  at  the  same  institution.  She  then 
taught  a year  in  the  Miller  School,  in  Cincinnati,  taking 
charge  of  the  classes  in  English,  after  which  she  estab- 
lished a private  school  in  which  she  prepared  pupils  for 
college.  Subsequently  she  attended  to  the  correspondence 
and  banking  business  of  her  father,  who  was  an  extensive 
stock  grower  and  breeder  of  fine  saddle  horses,  and  an 
able  assistant  in  making  Kentucky  famous  in  that  line 
of  industry.  The  family  meeting  with  financial  reverses 
after  the  death  of  her  father,  Miss  Hubble  again  assumed 
her  duties  in  the  school  room,  and  after  teaching  for  a 
time  in  Ponca,  Oklahoma,  accepted  a position  in  the  Paw- 
huska High  School,  with  which  she  continued  two  years. 

Interested  in  everything  pertaining  to  the  advancement 
of  the  educational  status  of  Oklahoma,  Mrs.  Lillard 
assisted  in  the  organization  of  schools,  and  since  Okla- 
homa assumed  the  garb  of  statehood  she  has  been  a 
member  of  the  examining  board  for  teachers  in  Osage 
County,  a position  for  which  she  is  amply  qualified.  In 
October,  1912,  she  was  appointed  county  superintendent  of 
the  Osage  County  schools  to  fill  a vacancy  caused  by 
the  resignation  of  W.  E.  Gill,  and  in  November  of  that 
year  was  elected  to  the  same  responsible  position.  Giving 
such  eminent  satisfaction  in  the  discharge  of  her  duties 
during  the  next  two  years,  Mrs.  Lillard  was  honored  with 
a re-election  to  the  same  high  office  in  1914  for  a term 
that  will  not  expire  until  July  1,  1917.  In  the  perform- 
ance of  her  duties  Mrs.  Lillard  covers  an  area  of  2,300 
square  miles,  some  of  the  schools  of  which  she  has  the 
supervision  being  widely  separated.  She  was  elected  to 
her  present  office  on  the  democratic  ticket,  and  has  the 
distinction  of  being  the  first  woman  to  fill  the  position 
in  Osage  County. 

Mrs.  Lillard  is  an  active  worker  in  the  church,  and  is 
prominent  in  club  affairs,  belonging  to  both  the  mother’s 
department  and  the  art  department  of  the  Pawhuska 
Woman’s  Club. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lillard  have  a fine  family  of  children, 
three  in  number,  namely:  William  H.,  Alice,  and  Mary 
Bright,  and  they  have  also  reared  a nephew,  William 
Lillard.  Mr.  Lillard  has  in  his  possession  a complete 
genealogy  of  the  Lillard  family,  compiled  and  published 
in  1890  by  his  brother,  John  T.  Lillard,  an  attorney  in 
Bloomington,  Illinois. 

Prof.  Hugh  Graham  Faust.  To  a rapidly  increas- 
ing number  of  Oklahoma  school  men  Professor  Faust  of 
Shawnee  is  becoming  known  for  the  ability  with  which 
he  is  administering  the  fine  public  school  system  at 
Shawnee  and  also  for  the  influential  work  which  he  is 
doing  in  professional  organization.  Ever  since  graduat- 
ing from  college  Mr.  Faust  has  been  in  school  work.  He 
has  spent  about  fifteen  years  in  the  profession,  and  is  a 
man  of  ripe  scholarship,  of  dignified  manner,  and  of 
splendid  character.  He  is  just  the  man  for  the  heavy 
responsibilities  which  he  now  carries  as  city  superin- 
tendent of  Shawnee  schools. 

A Tennesseean  by  birth,  he  is  a native  of  New- 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1863 


market,  Tennessee,  where  he  was  born,  January  28,  1879. 
His  parents  were  M.  L.  and  Belle  (Parrott)  Faust.  The 
Fausts  came  originally  from  Germany,  but  at  a very 
early  time  in  colonial  history,  having  located  in  Vir- 
ginia and  going  across  the  mountains  into  Tennessee 
about  the  time  of  the  American  Revolution.  Another 
branch  of  ancestors  was  the  Sawyer  family  and  repre- 
sentatives of  that  name  fought  on  the  American  side  in 
the  war  for  independence.  Some  of  the  Fausts  were 
soldiers  in  the  Federal  army  during  the  war  between  the 
states,  while  Mr.  Faust’s  maternal  ancestors  were  found 
in  the  Confederate  army. 

M.  L.  Faust  was  ITorn  at  Newmarket,  Tennessee,  in 
1850,  and  has  spent  practically  all  his  life  in  that  com- 
munity being  a substantial  farmer  and  stock  raiser.  He 
is  also  a good  citizen  and  for  a considerable  term  of 
years  has  served  as  a member  of  the  board  of  educa- 
tion in  his  home  locality.  He  has  taken  an  especially 
active  part  in  the  affairs  of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  and 
served  many  years  on  the  official  board.  The  mother, 
whose  maiden  name  was  Belle  Parrott,  was  born  in 
Granger  County,  Tennessee,  in  1847.  She  became  the 
mother  of  seven  children,  briefly  noted  as  follows : 
Edna,  wife  of  Beecher  Coxe,  a merchant  at  Newmarket, 
Tennessee;  L.  C.  Faust,  who  lives  at  Newmarket  and 
is  engaged  in  the  raising  of  blooded  stock;  Professor 
Hugh  Graham;  Professor  C.  J.  Faust,  who  was  superin- 
tendent of  schools  in  Knox  County,  Tennessee,  and  died 
at  Knoxville  in  1903;  Lynn  E.,  who  is  an  automobile 
dealer  in  Hood  River,  Oregon;  Leon,  engaged  in  mercan- 
tile business  at  Hood  «River,  Oregon;  and  Dr.  G.  T. 
Faust,  who  was  graduated  from  the  Louisville  Medical 
College  in  1914  and  is  now  practicing  medicine  at  Dor- 
chester, Virginia. 

Hugh  Graham  Faust  had  the  average  opportunities  and 
advantages  of  the  country  boy.  He  had  an  ambition  for 
things  beyond  the  horizon  of  the  farmer’s  son,  and  was 
not  satisfied  with  the  education  which  the  public  schools 
in  the  vicinity  of  Newmarket  could  afford  him.  He 
afterwards  entered  one  of  the  oldest  and  best  small  col- 
leges in  Tennessee,  the  Carson  & Newman  College  at 
Jefferson,  where  he  was  graduated  A.  B.  with  the  class 
of  1906.  At  different  times  he  has  interrupted  his  work 
or  has  accepted  the  leisure  afforded  by  vacation  periods 
in  order  to  continue  his  studies  in  higher  institutions. 
Much  of  his  post-graduate  work  has  been  done  at  the 
University  of  Chicago. 

It  was  in  1900  that  Mr.  Faust  did  his  first  practical 
work  as  a teacher  in  the  public  schools  of  Jefferson 
County,  Tennessee.  He  remained  there  two  years,  and 
in  1902  became  principal  of  the  Bearden  High  School  in 
Knox  County,  Tennessee,  remaining  there  also  two  years. 
This  was  followed  by  a position  as  teacher  in  Jaeks- 
boro,  Tennessee,  where  he  was  principal  of  the  Camp- 
bell County  High  School  three  years. 

On  coming  to  Oklahoma  Mr.  Faust  was  superintendent 
of  the  city  schools  at  Weatherford  for  two  years,  spent 
another  three  years  as  superintendent  of  schools  at  Fred- 
erick, and  in  1914  was  called  to  the  heavy  responsibilities 
connected  with  the  superintendeney  at  Shawnee.  In  1915 
he  was  re-elected  on  the  basis  of  his  first  year’s  record 
and  for  a term  of  three  years. 

Other  activities  should  be  referred  to  in  this  article. 
During  the  scholastic  year  of  1905-06  he  was  instructor 
at  Greeneville  and  Tusculum  College  at  Greeneville,  Ten- 
nessee. After  coming  to  Oklahoma  he  served  one  year 
as  president  of  the  Tillman  County  Teachers  Association. 
During  the  summers  of  1903  and  1904  he  took  post- 
graduate work  in  the  University  of  Tennessee.  He  is 
an  active  member  of  the  Pottawatomie  County  Teachers 
Association  and  in  the  Oklahoma  Educational  Association 


is  chairman  of  the  City  Superintendents  Division,  of 
which  Supt.  H.  L.  Nicholas  of  Holdenville  is  secretary. 
In  politics  he  worked  with  the  democratic  party.  He  is 
a deacon  in  the  Presbyterian  Church,  and  fraternally  is 
identified  with  Shawnee  Lodge  No.  106,  Ancient  Free 
and  Accepted  Masons;  Shawnee  Chapter  No.  32,  Royal 
Arch  Masons;  Shawnee  Commandery  No.  36,  Knights 
Templar;  and  with  the  Weatherford  Lodge  of  Knights 
of  Pythias,  in  which  he  is  past  chancellor  commander. 
He  is  a member  of  the  Shawnee  Commercial  Club,  of  the 
Provident  Club  of  Shawnee  and  belongs  to  the  Fidelity 
Building  & Loan  Association.  He  was  a member  of  the 
Avis  Society  of  the  University  of  Chicago. 

At  Chicago  in  1909  Professor  Faust  married  Miss 
Bertha  Weiman.  Her  father  was  the  late  Judge  Weiman 
of  Grand  Rapids,  Michigan.  Miss  Weiman  graduated 
with  the  degree  Bachelor  of  Arts  from  the  University 
of  Chicago  and  for  several  years  before  her  marriage 
was  a successful  teacher,  being  an  instructor  in  one  of 
the  high  schools  in  Chicago  and  in  the  public  schools  of 
Evanston,  Illinois. 

T.  M.  Burrow.  Among  the  well  known  officials  of 
Dewey  County,  one  who  has  won  standing  because  of 
ability  and  faithful  service,  and  popularity  by  reason  of 
courtesy  and  fidelity,  is  T.  M.  Burrow,  clerk  of  the  courts. 
Prior  to  his  election  to  his  present  office,  Mr.  Burrow 
was  engaged  in  a variety  of  pursuits,  although  his 
energies  were  principally  devoted  to  educational  work, 
and  the  ability  which  he  displayed  in  this  direction  was 
chiefly  responsible  for  bringing  him  forward  as  a desir- 
able candidate  for  public  service.  During  the  three  years 
that  he  has  served  he  has  established  an  excellent  record. 

Mr.  Burrow  was  born  at  Bardwell,  Carlisle  County, 
Kentucky,  January  6,  1882,  on  a farm,  and  is  a son  of 
T.  W.  and  Melinda  (Shelbourne)  Burrow.  On  the  pa- 
ternal side  he  belongs  to  a family  which  settled  in  North 
Carolina  during  colonial  days,  having  come  from  Scot- 
land, while  on  the  maternal  side  he  is  also  descended 
from  Scotch  ancestors,  who  settled  in  New  York  before 
the  Revolution.  His  father  was  born  at  Lovelaceville, 
Ballard  County,  Kentucky,  in  1847,  and  was  reared,  edu- 
cated and  married  there,  following  which  he  moved  across 
the  line  into  Carlisle  County  and  settled  on  a farm  eight 
miles  east  of  Bardwell.  There  he  continued  to  be  en- 
gaged in  farming  and  stock-raising  during  the  remain- 
ing years  of  his  active  life,  passing  away  December  22, 
1908.  A democrat  in  his  political  views,  he  took  a keen, 
active  and  intelligent  interest  in  public  affairs,  and  for 
six  years  was  supervisor  of  Carlisle  County,  being  the  in- 
cumbent of  that  office  at  the  time  of  his  death.  He  was 
a strong  supporter  of  the  movements  of  the  Baptist 
Church,  held  a place  on  the  official  board  for  many  years, 
and  led  a consistent  Christian  life.  His  fraternal  con- 
nections were  with  the  local  lodges  of  the  Masons  and  the 
Odd  Fellows.  Mr.  Burrow  married  Melinda  Shelbourne, 
who  was  born  in  the  State  of  New  York,  in  1843,  and 
who  still  survives  her  husband  in  comfortable  old  age, 
being  a resident  of  Paducah,  Kentucky,  at  her  home  lo- 
cated at  No.  821  Adams  Street.  T.  W.  and  Melinda 
Burrow  were  the  parents  of  nine  children,  as  follows: 
Wilmoth,  who  is  the  wife  of  C.  W.  Black,  a farmer  and 
shipper  of  stock  at  Kevil,  Kentucky;  James,  who  is  an 
Illinois  Central  Railway  engineer  and  resides  at  Paducah, 
Kentucky;  Cora,  who  is  the  wife  of  J.  H.  Peck,  a rail- 
road contractor  of  Hickman,  Kentucky;  E.  R.,  who  died 
at  Bardwell,  Kentucky,  aged  thirty-six  years,  as  a sales- 
man; Ira  O.,  a farmer  residing  at  Mayfield,  Kentucky; 
Ada,  deceased,  who  married  A.  D.  Lynn,  a farmer  of 
Dewey  County,  Okahoma;  T.  M.,  of  this  notice;  Euphy, 
who  is  the  wife  of  N.  A.  Mabry,  a rural  mail  carrier  of 


1864 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Paducah,  Kentucky;  and  A.  W.,  who  died  at  Bardwell, 
Kentucky,  at  the  age  of  sixteen  years. 

T.  M.  Burrow  was  reared  on  his  father’s  farm  until 
he  was  fourteen  years  of  age,  and  during  his  early  boy- 
hood he  attended  the  district  schools  of  Carlisle  County. 
In  1896  the  family  moved  to  Bardwell,  where  he  became 
a pupil  in  the  public  schools,  and  this  training  was  fur- 
thered by  attendance  at  the  state  normal  school,  Bowling 
Green,  Kentucky,  where  he  remained  for  two  years,  or 
until  1901.  In  that  year  he  began  his  business  experi- 
ence as  clerk  in  a clothing  store  at  Fulton,  Kentucky,  but 
at  the  end  of  eight  months  became  a fireman  in  the  em- 
ploy of  the  Illinois  Central  Railroad.  Mr.  Burrow 
remained  in  that  position  for  about  one  year,  when, 
acting  upon  his  belief  that  the  West  offered  better  oppor- 
tunities for  the  display  of  his  abilities,  he  came  to  Rhea, 
Dewey  County,  Oklahoma,  where  he  entered  upon  his 
career  as  an  educator.  During  the  next  nine  years  he 
held  positions  in  various  parts  of  the  county  as  prin- 
cipal of  schools,  and  was  thus  brought  favorably  before 
the  people.  In  1912  he  was  elected  clerk  of  the  district 
court,  holding  that  office  for  two  years,  and  November  6, 
1914,  was  elected  clerk  of  the  courts  for  a period  of  two 
years,  the  name  of  the  office  having  been  changed.  His 
offices  are  in  the  court  house,  Taloga.  Mr.  Burrow  has 
always  been  a stalwart  democrat  and  since  coming  to 
Oklahoma  has  become  influential  in  the  ranks  of  his 
party  in  Dewey  County.  He  has  been  also  an  enthusias- 
tic fraternalist,  and  now  belongs  to  Aledo  Lodge  No.  415, 
A.  F.  & A.  M. ; Taloga  Chapter  No.  54,  R.  A.  M.,  and 
Taloga  Camp,  Modern  Woodmen  of  America. 

Mr.  Burrow  was  married  February  14,  1909,  to  Miss 
Ada  Vandervort,  daughter  of  Rev.  W.  S.  Vandervort,  a 
preacher  .of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  who  is  re- 
tired and  resides  at  Aledo.  They  have  two  children: 
Myrle,  born  January  11,  and  Adele,  born  October  11, 
1913. 

Michael  H.  Lyons.  All  honor  is  due  to  Sergeant 
Lyons  for  his  loyal  and  efficient  service  of  thirty  years 
as  a member  of  the  United  States  army,  in  which  he 
attained  to  the  rank  of  ordnance  sergeant.  He  gained 
wide  experience  in  connection  with  military  operations 
at  the  various  military  posts  of  the  West  and  Southwest, 
took  part  in  a number  of  engagements  with  hostile 
Indians,  was  with  the  reinforcements  that  arrived  on 
the  scene  of  the  historic  massacre  of  General  Custer 
and  his  gallant  soldiers  within  two  days  after  that  dis- 
astrous engagement,  and  otherwise  grew  familiar  with 
life  on  the  frontier.  His  service  extended  into  the 
original  Indian  Territory,  and  while  still  in  the  army 
he  was  one  of  the  pioneers  in  entering  claim  to  land 
within  the  borders  of  Oklahoma  Territory  when  it  was 
thrown  open  to  settlement,  more  than  a quarter  of  a 
century  ago,  and  here  he  had  become  a successful  agri- 
culturist and  stock  grower  long  before  his  retirement 
from  the  military  service  that  so  long  engrossed  his 
attention  and  in  which  he  won  distinction  as  a faithful, 
efficient  and  valiant  soldier  and  officer.  Sergeant  Lyons 
is  now  an  honored  and  influential  citizen  of  El  Reno, 
the  judicial  center  of  Canadian  County,  and  through  his 
distinctive  business  acumen  and  well  ordered  enterprise 
he  has  accumulated  a substantial  competency,  so  that  he 
may  well  feel  that,  with  troops  of  friends  about  him, 
his  lines  are  indeed  “cast  in  pleasant  places.” 

Michael  H.  Lyons  was  born  in  Montgomery  County, 
Pennsylvania,  on  December  25,  1856,  and  is  a son  of 
Patrick  and  Elizabeth  (Hicky)  Lyons,  both  natives  of 
Ireland.  The  sergeant  passed  the  period  of  his  child- 
hood and  early  youth  at  Fort  Washington,  Pennsylvania, 
where  he  acquired  his  rudimentary  education  in  the  paro- 
chial and  public  schools,  and  he  was  fifteen  years  old 


at  the  time  of  the  family  removal  to  the  City  of  Phila- 
delphia, where  he  continued  to  reside  until  he  had  at- 
tained to  adult  age. 

In  1876,  in  Philadelphia,  which  city  was  then  a point 
of  national  interest  by  reason  of  being  the  stage  of  the 
great  Centennial  Exposition,  Sergeant  Lyons,  as  a youth 
of  twenty  years,  enlisted  as  a private  in  the  United 
States  Army.  After  a service  of  about  two  years  he 
was  promoted  corporal  and  later  a sergeant,  and  in  1885 
he  was  advanced  to  the  rank  of  first  sergeant,  an  office 
in  which  he  continued  to  serve  eleven  years,  after  which 
ho  held  the  office  of  ordnance  sergeant  until  the  date  of 
his  retirement  from  the  army,  in.  January,  1907.  The 
initial  military  service  of  Sergeant  Lyons  was  in  Dakota 
Territory,  and  thence  he  proceeded  with  his  command 
into  Wyoming,  where  these  forces  arrived  on  the  Custer 
battlefield  the  second  day  after  the  historic  massacre. 
Thereafter  he  was  with  his  command  in  Texas  and  his 
final  service  was  in  what  is  now  the  State  of  Oklahoma. 
He  participated  in  a number  of  spirited  engagements  with 
hostile  Indians,  and  concerning  his  admirable  record  as 
a member  of  Troop  K,  Fifth  United  States  Cavalry,  the 
following  statements  are  self-explanatory  and  signifi- 
cant, the  same  having  been  written  as  a testimonial  at 
the  time '-when  the  subject  of  this  review  was  appointed 
ordnance  sergeant,  in  1894,  and  the  author  of  the  com- 
mendatory words  having  been  Capt.  A.  E.  Woodson, 
who  later  rose  to  the  rank  of  brigadier  general.  In 
recommending  Sergeant  Lyons  for  promotion,  Captain 
Woodson  wrote  as  follows:  “He  was  at  all  times,  in 

the  garrison  and  in  the  field,  a 5.  excellent  soldier,  ever 
ready  when  called,  quick  to  respond,  a leader  of  men, 
cheerful  in  disposition,  and  an  exemplar  to  the  men  of 
his  command.  ’ ’ 

Though  a stickler  for  discipline  and  always  found  at 
the  post  of  duty,  the  buoyant  and  genial  nature  of  Ser- 
geant Lyons  won  him  the  high  regard  of  his  comrades 
and  superior  officers,  and  to-day  he  has  many  friends  of 
high  standing  in  the  United  States  Army,  in  public  life 
anij  in  business  circles, — in  fact,  it  may  consistently  be 
said  that  his  circle  of  friends  is  limited  only  by  that  of 
his  acquaintances.  Though  he  has  had  no  ambition  to 
enter  the  arena  of  practical  politics  and  has  had  no 
desire  for  public  office,  the  sergeant  has  given  loyal  sup- 
port to  the  cause  of  the  republican  party  and  has  aided 
in  the  election  of  its  candidates,  both  national  and  local. 
Both  he  and  his  wife  are  communicants  of  the  Catholic 
Church. 

In  1885  Sergeant  Lyons  came  with  his  cavalry  com- 
mand for  the  first  time  to  old  Fort  Reno,  Indian  Terri- 
tory, a military  post  near  the  present  thriving  City  of 
El  Reno,  Oklahoma,  and  while  here  stationed  he  was 
promoted  first  sergeant.  Later  he  was  with  his  troop  in 
Texas,  where  they  were  stationed  in  turn  at  Fort  Brown 
and  Fort  San  Antonio,  and  in  1896  he  was  sent  back 
to  Fort  Reno,  as  ordnance  sergeant  at  this  post.  Here 
he  continued  until  the  expiration  of  his  service  in  the 
army,  and  since  his  retirement  he  has  maintained  his 
residence  principally  in  the  city  of  El  Reno.  While  at 
Fort  Reno  he  was  sent  by  the  commander  of  that  garrison 
to  lay  off  the  grounds  for  the  railway  station  of  the 
Atchison,  Topeka  & Santa  Fe  Railroad  at  Oklahoma  City, 
and  this  duty  he  discharged  with  characteristic  efficiency 
and  fidelity. 

Within  a short  time  after  Oklahoma  Territory  had  been 
opened  for  settlement,  Sergeant  Lyons  filed  claim  to  a 
homestead  of  160  acres  in  Canadian  County,  and  this 
property  he  developed  into , a fine  ranch.  For  twenty- 
five  years,  while  still  in  active  service  a portion  of  the 
period  in  the  army,  he  here  devoted  attention  to  the 
breeding  and  raising  of  registered  short-horn  cattle, 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1865 


and  in  this  field  of  enterprise  he  had  met  with  gratify- 
ing success  long  before  he  disposed  of  his  interests  in  the 
same.  His  excellent  judgment  and  business  sagacity  have 
conspired  to  bring  to  him  a comfortable  fortune  since 
his  days  of  active  military  service,  and  he  is  one  of  the 
best  known  and  most  popular  citizens  of  Canadian 
County,  with  a wide  acquaintanceship  also  in  other  parts 
of  the  state. 

In  1885  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Sergeant 
Lyons  to  Miss  Maggie  Cambric,  who  was  born  in  the  City 
of  Toledo,  and  she  has  proved  a devoted  companion  and 
helpmeet  during  their  long  years  of  wedded  life,  the 
while  she  is  a popular  chatelaine  of  their  attractive  home 
in  El  Reno,  where  they  delight  to  welcome  their  many 
friends.  They  have  no  children.  They  reside  in  the 
Lyons  apartment  building,  a modern  building  which  was 
erected  and  is  owned  by  Sergeant  Lyons,  who  has  also 
other  valuable  city  real  estate  in  El  Reno. 

James  J.  Caviness;  M.  D.  Among  the  younger  gen- 
eration of  professional  men  of  Jackson  County,  one  who 
is  rapidly  winning  success  and  position  is  Dr.  James  J. 
Caviness,  physician  and  surgeon,  who  since  1912  has  been 
engaged  in  practice  at  Headrick.  During  this  time  his 
skill  in  diagnosis  and  his  successful  treatment  of  compli- 
cated and  long  standing  cases  have  created  a gratifying 
demand  for  his  services  and  laid  the  foundation  of  what 
promises  to  be  a career  of  exceptional  breadth  and  use- 
fulness. 

Doctor  Caviness  was  born  at  Danville,  Yell  County, 
Arkansas,  July  13,  1889,  and  is  a son  of  R.  S.  and 
Margaret  (Costen)  Caviness.  The  Caviness  family  is  of 
Seotch-Irish  extraction  and  its  members  have  been  pio- 
neers of  several  states  in  the  Union,  notably  those  of 
Oklahoma  and  Texas.  R.  S.  Caviness  was  born  at  Paris, 
the  county  seat  of  Lamar  County,  Texas,  in  1860,  and 
was  there  reared  and  educated.  When  still  a young  man 
he  went  to  Danville,  Arkansas,  where  he  embarked  in 
business  as  a merchant,  and  continued  to  be  so  occupied 
successfully  until  1904,  in  which  year  he  returned  to 
Texas  and  settled  at  Memphis,  where  he  followed  stock 
raising  for  four  years.  Mr.  Caviness  came  to  Oklahoma 
in  1908,  when  he  took  up  his  residence  at  Eldorado,  and 
since  that  time  has  been  proprietor  of  a pharmacy.  Mr. 
Caviness  has  shown  versatility  in  his  business  ventures, 
and  in  each  has  won  a satisfying  measure  of  success 
through  the  exertion  of  energy  and  enterprise,  good 
management  and  foresight.  In  political  matters  he  is  a 
stanch  democrat,  and  in  each  of  the  communities  in 
which  he  has  resided  has  taken  an  active  part  in  political 
and  civic  matters,  although  rather  as  an  influence  than 
as  a seeker  for  the  honors  and  emoluments  of  public 
office.  Throughout  his  life  he  has  been  a member  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  in  the  work  of  which  he 
has  taken  a helpful  part,  and  at  the  present  time  is  a 
member  of  the  official  board  of  the  church  at  Eldorado. 
He  is  well  known  in  Masonry,  belonging  to  Eldorado 
Lodge,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons;  Eldorado 
, Chapter.,  Royal  Arch  Masons ; Eldorado  Commandery, 
Knights  Templar,  and  Consistory  No.  1,  Valley  of  Guth- 
rie, of  the  thirty-second  degree.  While  residing  at  Dan- 
ville, Arkansas,  Mr.  Caviness  was  united  in  marriage 
with  Miss  Margaret  Costen,  who,  was  born  in  1870,  in 
Georgia,  and  they  have  been  the  parents  of  five  children, 
as  follows:  C.  A.,  who  resides  at  Eldorado,  and  is  asso- 
ciated with  his  father  in  the  conduct  of  the  drug  busi- 
ness; Dr.  James  J.,  of  this  review;  Ruth,  who  is  the  wife 
of  C.  A.  Hatch,  a practicing  attorney  at  Eldorado ; 
Naomi,  who  is  the  wife  of  Earl  Messersmith,  proprietor 
of  a general  merchandise  store  at  Eldorado ; and  Baxter, 


who  resides  with  his  parents  and  is  a student  in  the 
Eldorado  High  School. 

James  J.  Caviness  received  the  early  part  of  his  edu- 
cation in  the  public  schools  of  Danville,  Arkansas,  and 
when  fifteen  years  of  age  went  with  the  family  to 
Memphis,  Texas,  where  he  completed  the  studies  of  the 
primary  grades.  He  was  graduated  from  the  Memphis 
High  School  in  the  class  of  1907,  and  following  this 
began  preparing  for  the  medical  profession  which  he  had 
chosen  in  his  youth  as  his  life  work.  He  eventually 
entered  Vanderbilt  University,  of  Nashville,  Tennessee, 
where  he  pursued  a full  course  of  study  and  was  duly 
graduated  from  the  medical  department  with  the  class 
of  1912,  and  with  his  newly  acquired  degree  of  Doctor 
of  Medicine  settled  down  to  practice  at  Eldorado,  whence 
the  family  had  moved.  After  three  months  of  practice 
at  that  place,  Doctor  Caviness  decided  better  opportuni- 
ties awaited  him  at  Headrick,  where  he  settled  September 
18,  1912,  and  where  he  has  since  remained  in  practice, 
having  offices  in  the  Headrick  Drug  Store.  Doctor 
Caviness  is  thoroughly  at  home  in  all  branches  of  his 
calling,  and  carries  on  a general  practice  in  both  medi- 
cine and  surgery.  To  a thorough  professional  equipment, 
he  adds  a kindly  and  sympathetic  manner,  a genuine 
liking  for  his  calling  and  a ready  adaptation  to  its  multi- 
tudinous and  exacting  demands.  He  has  never  ceased  to 
be  a student,  passing  much  of  his  time  in  personal 
research  and  investigation,  and  maintaining  membership 
in  the  Jackson  County  Medical  Society,  the  Oklahoma 
State  Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medical  Asso- 
ciation. While  he  is  a stanch  democrat  in  politics,  he  has 
confined  his  activities  in  that  direction  to  casting  his 
vote,  although  always  eager  to  add  his  name  to  the  list 
of  supporters  of  any  good  and  progressive  movement. 
Fraternally,  the  Doctor  is  affiliated  with  Headrick  Lodge 
No.  311,  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  Headrick  Camp 
No.  128,  Woodmen  of  the  World. 

On  June  17,  1913,  at  Nashville,  Tennessee,  Doctor 
Caviness  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  Moore,  daughter  of 
J.  T.  Moore,  who  resides  at  College  Grove,  Tennessee,  and 
is  a prosperous  farmer  and  stockraiser.  One  child  has 
been  born  to  this  union : James  J.,  Jr.  Doctor  and  Mrs. 
Caviness  are  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church 
and  are  general  favorites  in  social  circles  of  their  home 
community.  Doctor  Caviness  expects  to  locate  in  Altus 
about  July  1,  1916. 

Millard  T.  Kirk.  Since  coming  to  Oklahoma,  in 
1906,  Millard  T.  Kirk  has  taken  an  active  and  purpose- 
ful participation  in  the  affairs  of  his  adopted  community, 
where  his  influence  has  always  been  exerted  in  behalf  of 
advancement  and  progress  in  business  and  civic  life. 
For  a time  he  was  connected  with  various  mercantile 
concerns,  and  also  served  acceptably  in  the  capacity  of 
postmaster  of  Bartlesville,  but  since  his  retirement  from 
that  position  has  been  engaged  in  general  and  dairy 
farming  three  miles  northwest  of  the  city.  He  is  now 
the  owner  of  a valuable  and  well-improved  property,  and 
is  making  a decided  success  of  his  new  venture. 

Mr.  Kirk  is  a native  son  of  Kentucky,  born  at  Inez, 
the  county  seat  of  Martin  County,  July  6,  1876,  a son 
of  James  D.  and  Mahala  (Canfield  )Kirk.  His  father 
was  born  at  Wayne,  West  Virginia,  July  31,  1845,  and 
his  mother  in  Greenup  County,  Kentucky.  James  D. 
Kirk  moved  from  his  West  Virginia  home  to  Kentucky 
in  young  manhood,  and  at  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil 
war  enlisted  in  the  Thirty-ninth  Kentucky  Regiment, 
with  which  he  served  with  valor  and  bravery  for  three 
years.  On  his  return  at  the  close  of  hostilities,  he 
became  one  of  the  foremost  men  of  the  community  of 
Inez,  and  served  as  county  clerk  of  Martin  County  for 


1866 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


twenty-six  years  and  as  county  judge  for  eight  years. 
He  is  now  living  in  quiet  retirement  after  a long  and 
useful  career.  Mr.  Kirk  is  a republican.  Mrs.  Kirk 
died  in  1880,  leaving  four  children,  namely:  Willa,  who 
is  the  wife  of  Capt.  A.  Allen,  and  a resident  of  Bartles- 
ville; Laura,  who  is  the  wife  of  J.  P.  H.  Tinkaus,  of 
Knoxville,  Tennessee;  Millard  T.,  of  this  review;  and 
Jennie,  who  is  the  wife  of  John  P.  Algeo,  of  Bartles- 
ville, a merchant. 

Millard  T.,  Kirk  received  his  early  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  Inez,  following  which  he  became  a 
student  in  the  University  of  Kentucky,  but  left  that 
institution  during  his  junior  year,  because  of  poor  health. 
He  soon  secured  a position  with  the  Triple  State  Natural 
Gas  and  Oil  Company,  of  Inez,  being  connected  with  that 
firm  for  five  years,  and  then  established  himself  in  a 
general  merchandise  business  at  Inez,  in  which  he  had 
three  years  of  experience.  Subsequently  he  went  to  West 
Virginia  in  charge  of  a large  mercantile  establishment 
and  remained  there  three  years,  and  in  1906  came  to 
Bartlesville,  Oklahoma,  with  John  P.  Algeo.  He  remained 
with  Mr.  Algeo  as  bookkeeper  for  a short  period  and  then 
accepted  the  position  of  assistant  postmaster  under  Wil- 
liam Higgins,  retaining  that  office  for  five  months  and 
then  resigning  to  take  a position  with  H.  M.  Preston, 
who  is  now  a resident  of  Tulsa.  Mr.  Kirk  was  appointed 
postmaster  of  Bartlesville,  January  27,  1911,  and  served 
very  ably  in  that  office  until  March  15,  1915,  when  the 
change  of  administration  made  itself  felt  by  his  being 
succeeded  by  a democrat.  When  he  left  official  life,  Mr. 
Kirk  established  himself  on  his  present  farm,  located  on 
Butter  Creek,  three  miles  north  of  Bartlesville.  Here 
he  has  since  carried  on  general  farming  and  dairying, 
lines  in  which  he  has  already  been  so  successful  that  his 
future  prosperity  may  be  safely  prophesied.  As  a busi- 
ness man  he  has  always  merited  the  high  esteem  in  which 
he  has  been  held  by  his  associates,  and  his  public  life 
has  been  above  reproach.  Since  attaining  his  majority 
Mr.  Kirk  has  been  a warm  supporter  of  the  principles 
of  the  republican  party,  and  he  still  retains  member- 
ship in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  in  the  faith 
of  which  he  was  reared.  His  fraternal  connections  are 
with  the  Blue  Lodge,  Chapter  and  Commandery  of  the 
Masonic  order  at  Bartlesville,  the  Shrine  at  Tulsa,  Lodge 
No.  1060  of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of 
Elks,  at  Bartlesville,  of  which  he  is  past  exalted  ruler, 
and  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  in  which  he  is  a charter  mem- 
ber of  Bartlesville  Lodge. 

Mr.  Kirk  was  married  December  5,  1906,  to  Miss 
Sarah  Cassady,  who  was  born  at  Inez,  Kentucky,  a 
daughter  of  Philip  Cassady,  a merchant  and  cattleman 
of  the  Bluegrass  State.  To  this  union  there  have  been 
born  five  children,  namely : Dorothy,  Darwin,  Eliza- 
beth, Rae  and  Joseph  P. 

Prank  R.  Noe  came  to  Eastern  Oklahoma  some 
months  after  statehood,  and  by  his  activity  as  a mer- 
chant and  citizen  made  himself  a very  popular  and 
useful  factor  in  Seminole  County.  Governor  Cruce 
selected  him  for  a local  appointment,  and  he  is  now 
filling  the  office  of  county  treasurer,  and  is  giving  the 
people  a systematic  and  thorough  administration  of  the 
fiscal  affairs  of  the  county  government. 

Ancestrally  Mr.  Noe  descends  from  a French  line,  but 
they  have  been  identified  with  America  for  many  genera- 
tions. Frank  R.  Noe  was  born  at  Pineville,  Arkansas, 
October  19,  1880,  a son  of  Rev.  Frank  R.  and  Serena 
(Matthews)  Noe.  His  father  was  a native  of  Spring- 
field,  Missouri,  and  his  mother  of  Arkansas.  Rev.  Frank 
R.  Noe  served  all  through  the  Civil  war  as  a corporal  in 
the  Confederate  Army.  After  that  his  active  career 


was  spent  as  a minister  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church  South  and  he  was  connected  with  the  White  River 
Conference  in  Arkansas.  He  died  in  1906,  at  the  age  of 
sixty,  highly  honored  and  respected.  The  mother  of 
Frank  R.  Noe  died  when  he  was  two  years  of  age  at  the 
age  of  thirty-five,  and  he  was  one  of  four  sons  and  two 
daughters.  The  father  married  again  and  had  three 
sons  and  one  daughter  by  the  second  marriage. 

Frank  R.  Noe  lived  with  his  father  until  he  was  twenty 
years  of  age,  and  spent  most  of  his  early  youth  in 
school.  At  the  age  of  twenty  he  went  to  Memphis,  Ten- 
nessee, kept  a set  of  books  for  the  William  R.  Moore 
wholesale  dry  goods  house  for  eight  years,  and  in  1907 
went  out  to  California,  participating  in  the  activities  of 
the  mining  district  for  a time,  and  spending  one  year  in 
Los  Angeles.  From  there  he  came  to  Seminole  County, 
Oklahoma,  and  for  some  time  was  associated  in  general 
merchandising  business  with  his  brother  T.  D.  Noe,  under 
the  firm  name  of  Noe  Brothers.  He  is  still  a mer- 
chant and  one  of  the  prospering  men  of  this  section. 

In  1912  Governor  Cruce  appointed  him  county  assessor 
of  Seminole  County,  and  he  was  elected  to  that'  office  in 
1913.  In  1914  he  was  chosen  county  treasurer,  and  most 
of  his  time  is  now  given  to  the  duties  of  that  office. 

He  has  been  a democrat  since  casting  his  first  vote, 
is  affiliated  with  the  Woodmen  of  the  World  and  the 
Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  and  is  loyal  to  the  church 
of  his  father,  the  Methodist  Episcopal  South. 

On  January  1,  1906,  Mr.  Noe  married  Miss  Cecil  Price 
of  Beebe,  Arkansas.  She  died  in  1912,  and  of  her  two 
children  Carroll,  seven  years  old,  is  with  his  Grandmother 
Price  at  Little  Rock,  Arkansas,  while  Mildred  died  in 
infancy.  In  December,  1914,  at  Springfield,  Missouri, 
Mr.  Noe  married  Phyllis  Duncan. 

Allen  J.  Jeter,  M.  D.  Engaged  in  active  general 
practice  as  a physician  and  surgeon,  Doctor  Jeter  now 
holds  precedence  and  priority  as  the  dean  of  his  pro- 
fession in  the  thriving  town  of  Foss,  Washita  County, 
where  he  established  his  residence  in  1902,  no  other 
physician  who  was  his  contemporary  in  the  early  years 
of  practice  here  being  now  a citizen  of  this  village,  so 
that  he  is  the  veritable  pioneer  of  his  profession  here, 
his  practice  being  extensive  and  of  representative  order — 
implying  due  recognition  of  his  high  attainments,  effec- 
tive ministrations  and  personal  popularity. 

The  original  American  progenitors  of  the  Jeter  family 
were  two  brothers  who  emigrated  from  Denmark  in  the 
colonial  era  of  our  national  history,  one  settling  in  either 
North  or  South  Carolina  and  the  other  in  Virginia,  the 
one  who  figures  as  the  ancestor  of  Doctor  Jeter  having 
been  the  Carolinian.  James  Jeter,  grandfather  of  the 
Doctor,  was  a soldier  in  the  War  of  1812  and  participated 
in  the  battle  of  New  Orleans,  under  General  Andrew 
Jackson.  He  became  one  of  the  prominent  planters  and 
slaveholders  of  Louisiana,  and  in  1862,  after  the  initial 
activities  of  the  Civil  war,  he  sought  refuge  in  Texas,  his 
death  having  occurred  in  Hopkins  County,  that  state, 
after  he  had  reached  venerable  age. 

Doctor  Jeter  was  born  in  Union  Parish,  Louisiana,  on 
the  14th  of  February,  1862,  and,  his  father  being  at  the 
time  a soldier  in  the  Confederate  ranks,  the  Doctor  was 
taken  by 'his  mother  and  paternal  grandfather  to  the 
Lone  Star  State,  the  removal  to  Texas  having  been  made 
to  escape  the  perils  and  ravages  incident  to  the  war. 
He  is  a son  of  Allen  W.  and  Susan  (Seale)  Jeter,  whose 
marriage  was  solemnized  in  Texas,  from  which  state  he 
and  his  wife  returned  to  Union  Parish,  Louisiana.  He 
was  born  at  Columbus,  Georgia,  in  1832,  but  when  he  was 
very  small  moved  with  his  parents  to  the  State  of 
Louisiana,  and  was  reared  and  educated  in  that  state, 
whence,  as  a young  man,  he  removed  to  Texas.  He  was 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1867 


a resident  of  Louisiana  at  the  inception  of  the  Civil  war 
and  promptly  tendered  his  service  in  defense  of  the  cause 
of  the  Confederate  States,  his  service  as  a soldier  having 
continued  four  years — virtually  the  entire  period  of  the 
great  conflict  between  the  South  and  the  North.  In  1865, 
soon  after  the  close  of  the  war,  he  established  his  resi- 
dence in  Van  Zandt  County,  Texas,  where  he  became  a 
prosperous  agriculturist  and  stock-grower.  He  was  pre- 
paring to  establish  his  home  in  New  Mexico  many  years 
later,  and  while  making  a preliminary  visit  to  that 
state,  which  was  then  a territory,  his  death  there  occurred, 
in  1907,  after  he  had  passed  the  psalmist’s  alotted  span 
of  three  score  years  and  ten.  His  widow,  who  was  born 
in  1840,  still  maintains  her  home  in  Van  Zandt  County, 
Texas,  she  being  a devoted  member  of  the  Missionary 
Baptist  Church,  of  which  her  husband  was  an.  active  mem- 
ber for  many  years  prior  to  his  demise.  Mr.  Jeter  par- 
ticipated in  many  engagements  during  the  Civil  war,  was 
wounded  and  taken  prisoner,  but  after  his  exchange  had 
been  effected  he  resumed  his  service  with  his  old  regi- 
ment, his  interest  in  his  former  comrades  being  per- 
petuated in  later  years  through  his  affiliation  with  the 
United  Confederate  Veterans.  He  was  for  many  years 
actively  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  fraternity. 

Of  the  children  of  Allen  W.  and  Susan  (Seale)  Jeter 
the  firstborn  is  he  whose  name  introduces  this  article; 
Sarah  Jane  is  the  wife  of  Thomas  G.  Hayden,  a pros- 
perous farmer  and  stock-grower  of  Van  Zandt  County, 
Texas;  Mary  Elizabeth  died  at  the  age  of  one  year; 
Rev.  Elias  D.,  a clergyman  of  the  Missionary  Baptist 
Church,  is  now  a resident  of  Lawton,  Oklahoma;  Dr. 
Thomas  M.,  who  was  graduated  in  the  Fort  Worth 
Medical  College,  is  now  engaged  in  the  practice  of  his 
profession  in  the  City  of  Fort  Worth,  Texas;  Minnie  is 
the  wife  of  James  M.  Gillian,  a farmer  of  Denton  County, 
Texas;  Ella  and  her  husband,  Wm.  Comford,  are  mis- 
sionaries in  China;  Joseph  J.  is  engaged  in  the  drug  busi- 
ness at  Maybank,  Texas;  and  Dr.  Drayton,  likewise 
a physician  and  surgeon,  is  engaged  in  practice  at 
Murkison,  Texas.  James  and  William  Jeter,  son  of  the 
first  marriage  of  Allen  W.  Jeter,  are  representative 
agriculturists  of  Western  Texas. 

As  previously  stated,  Dr.  Allen  J.  Jeter  was  an  infant 
when  he  was  taken  by  his  paternal  grandfather  to  Texas, 
where  he  attended  the  public  schools  of  Van  Zandt  Coun- 
ty until  he  had  been  graduated  in  the  high  school.  In 
consonance  with  his  ambition  and  well  formulated  plans 
for  a future  career,  he  finally  entered  the  Memphis  Hos- 
pital Medical  College,  in  the  City  of  Memphis,  Tennessee, 
and  in  this  institution  he  was  graduated  as  a member  of 
the  class  of  1893,  with  the  well  earned  degree  of  Doctor 
of  Medicine.  His  progressiveness  in  the  line  of  his  pro- 
fession has  been  manifested  in  the  insistent  care  he  has 
taken  to  keep  at  all  times  in  touch  with  the  advances 
made  in  medical  and  surgical  science,  and  in  this  con- 
nection it  should  be  noted  that  in  1895  he  completed  a 
post-graduate  course  in  the  New  Orleans  Polyclinic,  and 
that  in  1904  and  1907  he  took  effective  post-graduate 
courses  in  the  Illinois  Post  Graduate  Medical  School,  in 
the  City  of  Chicago. 

From  1893  until  1897  Doctpr  Jeter  was  engaged  in  the 
practice  of  his  profession  in  Ellis  County,  Texas,  and 
from  the  latter  year  until  1902  he  practiced  successfully 
at  Plano,  Collin  County,  that  state.  In  April,  1902,  he 
established  his  residence  at  Foss,  Oklahoma,  where  he  has 
since  continued  his  able  and  unremitting  service  as  a 
physician  and  surgeon,  with  well  appointed  offices  in  the 
Temple  Building.  He  has  been  one  of  the  loyal  and 
progressive  citizens  who  have  contributed  to  the  develop- 
ment and  upbuilding  of  the  village  along  both  civic  and 
material  lines  and  he  is  known  and  honered  as  one  of  the 
pioneer  representatives  of  his  profession  in  Washita 


County,  his  circle  of  friends  being  coincident  with  that 
of  his  acquaintances.  He  has  served  as  village  health 
officer,  and  he  is  actively  identified  with  the  Washita 
County  Medical  Society,  the  Oklahoma  State  Medical 
Society  and  the  Southwestern  Medical  Society.  The 
Doctor  is  affiliated  with  Foss  Lodge  No.  204,  Ancient 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  also  with  the  local  lodge 
of  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  At  Clinton,  Custer  County, 
he  is  the  owner  of  a modern  business  building,  known  as 
the  Jeter  Building,  and  in  addition  to  the  ownership  of 
his  attractive  residence  property  in  the  western  part  of 
Foss  he  has  in  his  possession  a small  tract  of  valuable 
land  near  the  village.  His  political  allegiance  is  given 
unreservedly  to  the  democratic  party,  and  both  he  and 
his  wife  hold  membership  in  the  Missionary  Baptist 
Church. 

At  Allen,  Texas,  in  1901,  was  solemnized  the  marriage 
of  Doctor  J eter  to  Miss  Anna  Spradley,  daughter  of 
James  R.  Spradley,  who  still  maintains  his  home  at  that 
place  and  who  is  a retired  farmer  and  stockman.  Doctor 
and  Mrs.  Jeter  have  one.child,  James  Rolater,  born  July 
3,  1908. 

J.  S.  Maytubby.  Few  men  of  the  Chickasaw  coun- 
try have  had  a more  picturesque  career  than  J.  S.  May- 
tubby, now  a farmer-stockman  at  Wapanucka,  but  a 
lawyer  by  profession,  long  closely  identified  with  the 
affairs  of  the  old  Chickasaw  Nation.  Common  sense  was 
a usual  trait  among  members  of  the  old  Chickasaw  Leg- 
islature, and  oratory  is  an  attribute  of  the  Indian  tribe 
that  has  been  manifested  in  nearly  every  family  that 
rose  to  distinction.  But  as  a rule  the  leading  men  were 
lacking  in  an  English  education  and  many  of  them 
were  unable  to  correctly  frame  bills  introduced  into  the 
Legislature.  It  became  necessary  therefore  that  the 
governor  select  a draftsman  for  that  important  duty  of 
framing  bills.  During  an  administration  of  Governor 
Johnston,  Mr.  Maytubby  was  selected  for  this  important 
post.  He  was  especially  qualified  for  the  work,  having 
been  educated  in  the  Rock  Academy  at  Wapanucka, 
Trinity  College  at  Durham,  North  Carolina,  and  com- 
pleted a course  in  law  at  the  University  of  Texas.  He 
was  assisted  by  a law  committee  of  the  Legislature  in 
the  preparation  of  bills  and  all  measures  before  intro- 
duction had  to  pass  through  his  hands  and  the  hands 
of  the  law  committee.  This,  however,  was  not  the  first 
official  distinction  of  Mr.  Maytubby  in  the  Chickasaw 
Nation,  since  he  filled  it  after  the  fortunes  of  politics 
has  caused  his  resignation  from  the  office  of  superin- 
tendent of  public  instruction,  which  he  filled  under  the 
administration  of  Governor  S.  H.  Harris,  and  after  he 
had  served  under  Governor  D.  H.  Johnston,  the  succes- 
sor of  Governor  Harris,  as  auditor  of  public  accounts 
of  the  Chickasaw  Nation. 

Mr.  Maytubby  was  born  of  a fullblood  father,  Tony 
Maytubby,  and  a white  mother,  Mary  Lamb,  in  what 
was  then  Kiamichi  County  of  the  Choctaw  Nation,  in 
the  Village  of  Goodland  on  the  site  of  which  the  pres- 
ent Town  of  Hugo  stands.  Both  parents  died  when  he 
was  a small  child,  and  he  has  no  recollection  of  them, 
neither  does  he  know  the  year  of  his  birth,  but  esti- 
mates his  age  as  about  forty-five.  Cast  out  into  the 
world  an  orphan,  he  was  taken  in  charge  by  officials  of 
the  Chickasaw  Nation  and  sent  to  school  at  Caddo,  In- 
dian Territory,  in  an  educational  institution  owned  and 
controlled  by  the  Chickasaw  Nation.  Later  he  attended 
Rock  Academy,  subsequently  known  as  Wapanucka  In- 
stitute, and  while  there  was  a student  under  Cicero  A. 
Skeen,  who  is  now  superintendent  of  the  State  Boys 
Training  School  at  Pauls  Valley.  In  1892  Mr.  May- 
tubby entered  the  Trinity  College  of  Durham,  North 


1868 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Carolina,  where  he  was  graduated  Ph.  B.  in  1896.  In 
the  same  fall  he  entered  the  University  of  Texas,  and 
completed  his  law  education  there.  His  career  as  a 
practicing  lawyer  covers  less  than  ten  years.  In  1897 
he  began  practice  at  Tishomingo  in  partnership  with 
S.  L.  Garrett.  Mr.  Garrett,  who  was  a first  cousin  of 
United  States  Senator  Charles  A.  Culberson  of  Texas, 
was  United  States  Commissioner  at  Tishomingo  during 
the  administration  of  President  Cleveland.  Later  he  be- 
came a member  of  the  firm  of  Wolf,  Bleakmore  & May- 
tubby,  his  partners  being  Nick  Wolf  and  Willard  Bleak- 
more,  the  latter  now  a member  of  the  Oklahoma  Supreme 
Court  Commission.  In  1905  Mr.  Maytubby  retired  from 
the  practice  of  law  and  moved  to  liis  farm  near  Wa- 
panucka,  where  he  has  since  enjoyed  the  various  inter- 
ests of  country  life  and  has  been  very  successful  in  the 
raising  of  fine  horses  and  in  the  intensive  cultivation 
of  his  land. 

Mr.  Maytubby  is  a nephew  of  the  noted  Peter  May- 
tubby who  was  a captain  in  the  Confederate  army,  and 
who  during  the  days  of  the  Dawes  Commission  repre- 
sented the  Chickasaw  Nation  before  that  body,  and  sub- 
sequently served  as  an  interpreter  before  the  commis- 
sion. Peter  Maytubby  was  one  of  the  best  informed 
men  of  the  Chickasaw  country,  and  assisted  the  United 
States  Government  in  keeping  out  fraudulent  claimants 
when  the  first  annuity  was  paid  to  these  Indians.  The 
instruction  of  Peter  Maytubby  was  a means  of  giving 
his  nephew  a knowledge  of  many  things  regarding  the 
history  and  traditions  of  the  Indians,  but  the  latter 
owing  to  the  fact  that  his  education  was  obtained  in 
schools  where  only  English  was  spoken  never  learned 
to  speak  the  tongue  of  his  father. 

In  1903  Mr.  Maytubby  married  Miss  Theocjoshia 
Kemp  of  Tishomingo.  They  have  one  son,  Joel  Kemp, 
now  five  years  of  age.  Mr.  Maytubby  has  also  one  sis- 
ter, Mrs.  Mary  Correll,  wife  of  a farmer-stockman  at 
Ada,  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Maytubby  is  a member  of  the 
Methodist  Church,  belongs  to  the  Johnston  County  Bar 
Association,  is  a republican  in  politics,  and  has  been 
a leader  in  public  affairs.  He  has  the  distinction  of 
having  been  elected  to  first  mayor  of  Tishomingo,  and 
his  election  is  the  more  interesting  on  account  of  the 
fact  that  he  defeated  William  H.  Murray,  who  was  his 
rival  for  the  office.  Mr.  Murray  is  now  a member  of 
Congress  from  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Maytubby  has  served  as 
precinct  committeeman,  as  a member  of  the  finance 
committee  of  the  state  organization,  and  also  as  a mem- 
ber of  the  Congressional  Committee. 

Peter  B.  France.  Twenty  years  or  more  ago  Peter 
B.  France  was  driving  over  the  sparsely  settled  country 
of  Eastern  Oklahoma  selling  shoes  to  the  retail  mer- 
chants. For  many  years  prior  to  that  lie  had  been  a 
successful  merchant  and  business  man  in  Missouri.  After 
a time  he  and  James  C.  Menifee  established  the  second 
mercantile  house  in  Sapulpa. 

His  many  friends  and  business  associates  credit  Mr. 
France  with  a great  deal  of  the  constructive  enterprise 
which  has  made  Sapulpa  one  of  the  leading  towns  of 
Eastern  Oklahoma.  It  is  said  that  he  has  erected  more 
buildings  and  owned  more  real  estate  than  any  other  one 
individual  in  the  city,  and  in  fact  has  always  been  a 
leader  in  everything  that  affects  the  welfare  of  the 
community.  Few  men  arrive  at  the  age  of  three  score 
and  ten  with  so  much  constructive  accomplishment  to 
their  credit  as  Mr.  France.  , 

He  was  born  at  Sodus  in  Wayne  County,  New  York, 
April  5,  1844,  a son  of  John  and  Elizabeth  (Bayze) 
France.  His  father  was  born  in  Yorkshire,  England,  and 
his  mother  in  Lincolnshire,  where  both  were  reared  and 


married.  His  father  was  a mechanic  in  the  cotton  mills 
in  England  until  he  came  to  the  United  States,  and  he 
also  worked  at  his  trade  in  Wayne  County,  New  York, 
but  finally  bought  a farm  and  followed  agriculture  until 
he  retired.  After  the  death  of  his  wife  and  after  some 
of  his  children  had  gone  to  Missouri  he  joined  them 
there,  and  died  there  at  the  age  of  fifty-nine.  He  was 
first  a whig  and  afterwards  a republican,  but  was  more 
interested  in  church  affairs  than  in  politics,  being  a 
member  of  the  Methodist  denomination.  His  wife  died 
in  New  York  at  the  age  of  forty-t.wo,  and  she  was  also 
a Methodist.  There  were  six  children.  Thomas  B.,  a 
Methodist  minister,  is  now  living  retired  at  Long  Beach, 
California.  John  H.,  who  died  at  Grant  City,  Missouri, 
at  the  age  of  forty-two,  was  a Union  soldier  in  the  One 
Hundred  and  Sixtieth  New  York  Volunteers,  was 
wounded  at  Port  Hudson  and  was  an  officer  in  the  Vet- 
eran Reserve  until  the  close  of  the  war.  In  1866  he 
established  his  business  enterprise  at  Grant  City,  Mis- 
souri, was  in  the  furniture  trade,  and  six  months  later 
was  joined  by  his  younger  brother  Peter,  and  after  a few 
years  they  established  a partnership  in  the  merchandise 
business,  and  also  in  the  buying  and  shipping  of  stock. 
The  third  child  in  the  family  is  Peter  B.  France.  The 
daughter  Mary,  who  married  Dr.  J.  H.  Housser,  died  at 
the  age  of  twenty-two.  Fannie  after  her  sister’s  death 
married  Dr.  J.  H.  Housser  and  she  died  at  the  age  of 
thirty-two.  Anna  C.  married  J.  T.  Rothwell,  and  she  is 
now  living  at  Long  Beach,  California. 

Peter  B.  France  grew  up  on  the  old  farm  in  Wayne 
County,  New  York,  and  gained  a public  school  education. 
In  1866,  at  the  age  of  twenty-two,  he  moved  out  to  Grant 
City,  Missouri,  and  joined  his  brother  John.  Grant  City 
at  that  time  was  sixty-five  miles  from  the  nearest  rail- 
road point  at  St.  Joseph.  For  about  two  years  he  was 
associated  with  a physician  in  the  drug  business  and 
then  opened  a stock  of  general  merchandise.  After  about 
four  years  his  brother  John  joined  him  as  a partner,  and 
the  latter  exercised  his  energies  in  buying  and  shipping 
live  stock,  while  Peter  France  managed  the  store.  In 
that  comparatively  early  day  there  were  no  banks,  and 
the  patrons  of  their  store  not  only  bought  goods  there 
but  left  all  their  surplus  currency  for  safe  keeping.  Both 
brothers  were  men  of  absolute  integrity  and  thorough 
business  men  in  every  respect.  Consequently  their  enter- 
prise prospered  and  was  expanded  by  the  addition  of  four 
other  stores,  two  located  in  Iowa  and  three  in  Missouri. 
Mr.  Peter  France  had  active  supervision  of  all  the  stores, 
and  the  partners  also  bought  and  shipped  stock  on  an 
extensive  scale.  After  the  death  of  his  brother  Peter 
France  abandoned  the  live  stock  business  and  in  1888 
sold  out  his  mercantile  interests  in  Northwest  Missouri, 
realizing  over  $50,000.  He  had  loaned  money  extensively 
and  had  done  much  to  build  up  that  section  of  the 
country. 

In  1888  he  moved  to  Southern  Missouri  and  engaged 
in  merchandising,  mining  and  the  reduction  of  lead  and 
zinc,  with  headquarters  at  Aurora.  Closing  out  his  busi- 
ness affairs  in  1893,  he  went  on  the  road  selling  shoes  in 
Missouri,  Oklahoma  and  Indian  Territory.  It  was  then 
that  he  drove  so  extensively  over  Oklahoma  and  became 
acquainted  with  the  country.  He  had  a wagon  and  team 
and  a driver,  and  sometimes  they  camped  out  under  the 
wagon  at  night.  He  was  very  successful  as  a salesman, 
and  finally  established  a permanent  business  at  Clare- 
more,  but  a year  later  moved  his  stock  to  Sapulpa  and 
formed  the  partnership  already  mentioned  with  J.  C. 
Menifee.  They  conducted  this  second  store  for  about 
three  years.  Mr.  France  then  bought  ten  acres  in  what 
is  now  the  residence  part  of  Sapulpa,  dissolved  partner- 
ship with  Mr.  Menifee,  and  began  the  development,  buy- 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1869 


ing  and  trading  of  real  estate.  He  has  been  the  chief 
factor  in  building  up  the  real  estate  interests  of  Sapulpa, 
and  at  the  present  time  is  reputed  to  own  property  worth 
fully  $100,000.  He  also  built  the  France  Hotel  at 
Sapulpa. 

In  1872  Mr.  France  married  Anna  V.  Lucas,  a daugh- 
ter of  Judge  B.  F.  Lucas,  a prominent  attorney  of  Pitts- 
burg, Pennsylvania,  where  Mrs.  France  was  reared  and 
educated  and  where  she  lived  until- her  marriage.  Mrs. 
France  was  a woman  of  many  domestic  virtues  and  much 
social  talent,  and  founded  the  chapter  of  the  Eastern 
Star  at  Sapulpa,  and  was  also  active  in  church  affairs. 
Her  death  occurred  December  2,  1912.  There  were  three 
children:  Bessie,  Alberta  and  Fannie.  The  daughter 

Bessie  married  V.  R.  Bryan,  and  left  four  children 
named  Curtis,  France,  Hazel  and  Vaughn,  Jr.  Alberta, 
who  died  when  about  twenty-live  years  of  age,  as  the  wife 
of  John  Gregory,  left  one  daughter  Margaret.  Fannie  E. 
is  the  wife  of  W.  J.  Briscoe,  a Sapulpa  merchant,  and 
has  one  son  named  Jackson  France  Briscoe. 

Mr.  France  has  always  voted  the  republican  ticket  but 
has  had  no  aspirations  for  public  office,  though  in  his 
private  capacity  and  as  a business  man  has  done  a great 
deal  for  the  public  welfare.  While  living  in  Grant  City, 
Missouri,  he  took  his  degrees  in  Odd  Fellowship  and 
helped  organize  the  lodge  of  Odd  Fellows  at  Sapulpa. 
He  is  active  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  as  was 
his  wife. 

Rufus  R.  Seat.  The  present  editor  and  proprietor 
of  the  Oklahoma  Ledger  at  Sterling  has  had  a long  and 
varied  career  in  the  states  of  Oklahoma  and  Texas,  was 
one  of  the  early  settlers  in  Pottawatomie  County,  Okla- 
homa, more  than  twenty  years  ago,  and  has  at  different 
times  been  a farmer,  rancher,  preacher  and  editor.  He 
is  one  of  the  strong  men  of  his  community,  and  conducts 
his  paper  for  the . enlightenment  of  the  community. 

Born  in  Van  Zandt  County,  Texas,  November  25,  1857, 
lie  comes  of  an  old  North  Carolina  family,  which  was 
transplanted  from  Ireland  in  the  early  days  by  his 
great-grandfather,  Austin  Seay,  who  spent  the  rest  of  his 
days  in  North  Carolina.  Richard  Anderson  Seay,  father 
of  Rufus  R.,  was  born  in  North  Carolina  in  1823,  went 
to  Georgia  in  1827,  and  in  1849  became  one  of  the 
pioneers  in  Anderson  County,  Texas.  In  1851  he  removed 
to  Van  Zandt  County,  where  he  owned  an  extensive 
farm,  partly  in  that  county  and  partly  across  the  line 
in  Henderson  County,  and  in  1866  in  removing  his  home 
from  one  part  of  the  farm  to  the  other,  became  a resi- 
dent of  Henderson  County.  He  finally  removed  to  Kauf- 
man County,  Texas,  in  1897,  and  died  there  in  1898.  He 
was  a fine  type  of  the  early  farmer  and  stock  man  who 
developed  the  resources  of  those  East-central  Texas 
counties.  He  was  a member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church,  of  the  Masonic  fraternity,  and  during  the  war 
between  the  states  gave  several  years  of  service  to  the 
Confederate  side,  serving  first  in  the  Sixth  Texas  Cavalry 
arid  later  being  transferred  to  other  commands.--  Richard 
A.  Seay  married  Moisey  Ellen  Delaney,  who  was  born 
in  Georgia  in  1826  and  died  in  Comanche  County,  Texas, 
in  1907.  The  first  four  of  their  children,  John,  Mary, 
James  and  Frances,  are  now  deceased;  Ann  Eliza  first 
married  James  Cavitt,  a farmer,  now  deceased,  and  her 
present  husband  is  John  Steele,  and  they  live  in  Western 
Texas  on  a farm ; the  sixth  in  age  is  Rufus  R. ; Richard 
Jefferson  is  a farmer  and  stockman  in  Motley  County, 
Texas;  Vernon  Virginia  has  been  lost  track  of  by  his 
family;  Ida  is  the  wife  of  Leslie  Stallings,  a grocer  at 
Childress,  Texas;  Robert  is  a hotel  proprietor  in  Cali- 
fornia; Thomas  is  a civil  engineer  with  home  near 


Marfa,  Texas ; and  George  W.,  the  twelfth  of  the  family, 
is  a rancher  in  New  Mexico. 

Rufus  R.  Seay  attained  his  early  education  in  the 
country  schools  of  Henderson  County,  Texas.  The  first 
eighteen  years  of  his  life  were  spent  on  his  father ’s  farm, 
following  which  he  was  employed  at  farming  and  ranch- 
ing in  Erath  County,  Texas,  for  a period  of  eighteen 
years,  which  brings  his  career  down  to  1893.  In  that 
year  he  moved  to  Oklahoma  and  became  a resident  of 
Pottawatomie  County  soon  after  it  was  opened  to  settle- 
riient.  While  there  he  was  a farmer,  and  was  also  a 
minister  of  the  Missionary  Baptist  Church,  with  which 
denomination  he  has  long  been  identified,  and  in  its 
ministry  has  performed  a great  amount  of  valuable 
service.  In  1904  Mr.  Seay  removed  to  Cement  in  Caddo 
County,  Oklahoma,  and  continued  farming  and  preaching 
there  and  in  that  vicinity  until  August,  1913.  At  that 
date  he  acquired  complete  ownership  of  the  Oklahoma 
Ledger  at  Sterling,  the  former  proprietor  having  been 
W.  R.  Key.  The  Ledger  was  established  in  1905,  is  con- 
ducted independent  in  politics,  has  a circulation  in 
Comanche,  Caddo,  Grady  and  neighboring  counties,  and 
Mr.  Seay  has  continued  it  as  a wholesome  and  attractive 
journal  furnishing  a good  news  and  advertising  service 
to  its  patronage  and  locality.  He  has  also  recently 
purchased  the  Cement  Courier,  at  Cement,  Caddo  County, 
Oklahoma,  which  he  is  publishing  on  the  same  principle 
as  the  Ledger,  and  which  was  established  in  1902. 

Mr.  Seay  is  a democrat  in  politics,  and  while  living 
in  Pottawatomie  County  served  as  a member  of  the 
school  board.  He  takes  much  interest  in  fraternal  affairs 
and  is  a past  master  by  service  of  Cement  Lodge  No. 
297,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons;  past  grand 
chaplain  of  Oklahoma  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons;  a member  of  Chickasaw  Chapter,  Royal  Arch 
Masons;  is  past  grand  of  Cement  Lodge  No.  272,  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows;  a member  of  Purity 
Lodge  No.  113  of  the  Order  of  Rebekahs  at  Sterling;  and 
Cement  Camp  No.  129  of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World. 

While  living  in  Erath  County,  Texas,  in  1874,  Mr. 
Seay  married  Miss  Dona  Smith,  who  died  in  that  county 
in  1883.  There  were  three  children  by  this  marriage: 
John  Anderson,  who  is  a farmer  in  Bryan  County,  Okla- 
homa; Thomas  Newton,  a farmer  near  Gorman,  Comanche 
County,  Texas;  and  Henry  Harrison,  who  died  in  infancy. 
In  1884  Mr.  Seay  was  married  in  Erath  County  to  Nancy 
Henderson,  whose  father  was  the  late  James  Henderson, 
an  Erath  County  farmer.  The  home  of  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Seay  has  been  blessed  with  the  birth  of  ten  children: 
Nancy  Ellen,  wife  of  George  S.  Bradley,  a farmer  in 
Seminole  County,  Oklahoma ; James  Richard,  who  is  con- 
nected with  a cement  plant  in  Grady  County,  Okla- 
homa; Oscar  Reagan,  who  lives  in  Cement;  Effie,  at 
home;  Ethel,  who  performs  the  typing  service  for  her 
father  in  the  newspaper  office ; Alice,  living  at  Cement ; 
Lena,  at  home;  Lea,  a twin  sister  of  Lena,  died  in 
infancy;  William  Arvel  and  George,  who  are  still  in  the 
public  schools  at  Sterling. 

Walter  F.  Leard.  Thirty  years  ago  the  Choctaw 
Indians  enjoyed  a leisure  that  was  not  enforced  or  re- 
strained. It  was  of  the  same  nature  as  that  which 
had  been  the  portion  of  their  forefathers  and  which  they 
believed  they  had  been  sent  to  the  Indian  Territory  to 
enjoy  continuously.  It  was  not  a perpetual  leisure,  for 
the  Indians  were  fairly  prosperous  with  their  herds  and 
with  their  little  patches  of  maize  and  vegetables.  They 
had  not  been  contaminated  by  money,  nor  was  the  desire 
for  money  a hindrance  to  their  social  life.  Mission- 
aries had  been  among  them  and  taught  them  the  Chris- 
tian religion,  with  the  result  that  their  communal  inter- 


1870 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


ests  advanced  to  a stage  that  their  forebears  had  not 
known.  Their  idleness  was  an  innate  attribute  and 
extravagances  were  unknown  among  them.  Among  their 
chief  pastimes  was  Indian  ball,  a game  peculiar  to  the 
Choctaws  and  Chickasaws.  It  was  within  this  period  that 
Walter  Fitzgerald  was  born  in  the  Indian  Village  of 
Pocola,  County  of  Skulliville,  Choctaw  Nation,  and  his 
early  recollections  touch  no  happier  scenes  than  those 
pertaining  to  witnessing  and  participating  in  the  Indian 
ball  games.  He  recalls  one  that  took  place  between 
teams  representing  Skulliville  and  San  Boise  counties 
and  which  was  one  of  the  last  of  the  great  games  between 
Choctaw  counties.  The  game  was  played  within  a few 
hundred  yards  of  the  Leard  home  and  it  was  attended 
by  several  hundred  persons,  some  of  whom  came  from 
points  from  forty  to  fifty  miles  distant.  Elias  Thomas, 
of  a well  known  Choctaw  family,  was  captain  of  the 
San  Boise  team,  and  Eobert  Chubby,  a Methodist  ex- 
horter,  was  captain  of  the  Skulliville  team.  J.  W.  Le- 
Elore,  a deputy  United  States  marshal,  of  Choctaw  blood, 
led  the  parade  in  which  the  Skulliville  team  indulged 
before  the  game  began,  but  this  advance  exhibition, 
while  it  may  have  excited  inspiration,  was  not  sufficient 
to  win  the  game,  for  the  San  Boise  team  carried  away 
the  honors.  For  a good  many  years  there  existed  among 
the  people  of  San  Boise  County  an  interesting  and  inno- 
cent feeling  of  superiority  over  their  neighbors  of  Skulli- 
ville County. 

While  this  incident  illustrates,  as  forcibly  as  anything 
can,  the  pleasures  of  Choctaw  life  in  that  period,  its 
recalling  also  brings  to  mind  that  it  was  about  that 
time  that  the  Indians  experienced  their  first  money  con- 
tamination. Each  member  of  the  tribe  was  paid  the 
sum  of  $103  out  of  the  Choctaw  funds  in  the  hands  of 
the  United  States  Government.  So  large  an  amount  of 
money  had  never  before  been  in  circulation  in  the 
Choctaw  Nation.  Unfortunately  for  the  Indians,  this  dis- 
tribution brought  into  their  domain  many  white  men 
of  questionable  character  and  motives.  Some  of  these 
men  brought  spirituous  and  intoxicating  liquors,  knowing 
the  weakness  of  the  Indian  for  strong  drink,  and  others 
came  for  the  purpose  of  getting  hold  of  as  much  as 
possible  of  the  large  sums  of  money  which  the  Indians 
had  received.  There  are  men  in  the  Choctaw  Nation 
who  have  lived  there  forty  to  fifty  years  and  who 
declare  that  the  retrogression  of  the  Choctaws  began 
with  that  period.  Young  bucks  bought  ponies  and  sad- 
dles, bright  blankets,  hickory-bark  bridles,  Winchester 
rifles  and  other  types  of  firearms.  They  decorated  their 
horses  and  saddles  with  vividly  colored  ribbons  and  rode 
promiscuously  over  the  wide  ranges.  They  imbibed 
freely  of  ‘ ‘ bootleg  ’ ’ liquors  and  many  of  them  became 
intoxicated  for  the  first  time.  Their  sprees  lasted  for 
several  days  and  made  beasts  of  them  for  the  time  being. 

That  these  two  extremes  of  life  among  his  people 
should  come  within  the  early  recollections  of  Walter  F. 
Leard  is  a striking  point  in  Choctaw  annals,  for  he  is 
only  of  thirty-second  degree  Choctaw  blood  and  has 
an  unprejudiced  comprehension  of  Indian  affairs.  His 
father,  James  Thomas  Leard,  had  settled  in  Skulliville 
County  when  a youth  and  had  there  married  Cora 
McCarty,  of  the  Choctaw  tribe.  Mrs.  Leard  is  a daughter 
of  Eobert  S.  McCarty,  who  was  a native  of  Georgia  and 
a pioneer  in  Texas.  At  the  time  of  the  Mexican  troubles 
in  Texas  Mr.  McCarty  came  into  the  Indian  Territory, 
where  for  several  months  he  was  quartered  with  the 
United  States  soldiers  at  old  Fort  Towson,  one  of  the 
early  frontier  posts.  Continuing  his  residence  in  the 
Choctaw  Nation  for  many  years,  Mr.  McCarty  was  for 
twenty-seven  consecutive  years  a Sunday  school  superin- 


tendent at  Kavanaugh,  across  the  line  in  the  State  of 
Arkansas. 

Walter  F.  Leard  was  born  in  the  year  1882,  and  his 
rudimentary  educational  training  was  received  in  the 
Pine  Log  School,  on  Owl  Creek,  where  his  first  teacher 
was  Mr.  Sinclair,  who  later  became  a physician  and 
engaged  in  the  practice  of  his  profession  in  the  Choctaw 
Nation.  Mr.  Leard  continued  to  attend  the  local  schools 
until  he  had  attained  to  the  age  of  eighteen  years,  after 
which  he  was  for  one  year  a student  in  Spencer  Acad- 
emy. He  then  entered  Jones  Academy,  under  the  ad- 
ministration of  Superintendent  W.  B.  Butts,  who  had 
previously  been  his  instructor  in  Spencer  Academy, 
though  the  principal  teacher  had  been  Spencer  Gabe 
Parker,  who  is  now  commissioner  to  the  Five  Civilized 
Tribes.  In  Jones  Academy  Mr.  Leard  was  a schoolmate 
of  W.  F.  Semple,  now  an  Indian  probate  attorney  under 
the  Department  of  the  Interior,  with  headquarters  at 
Durant,  Bryan  County;  W.  E.  McIntosh,  now  of  McAles- 
ter,  who  was  mining  trustee  of  the  Choctaw  Nation 
under  the  administration  of  Principal  Chief  V.  M. 
Locke,  Jr. ; and  others  who  have  become  representative 
men  in  business  and  professional  life.  After  leaving 
Jones  Academy  Mr.  Leard  assumed  a position  in  the 
office  of  John  D.  Benedict,  superintendent  of  education 
for  the  Five  Civilized  Tribes,  and  there  he  remained 
three  years.  In  1908  he  engaged  in  farming  near  Durant, 
where  he  continued  operations  one  year.  In  1909  he 
entered  the  employ  of  the  Caylor  Lumber  Company,  and 
in  1913  he  was  transferred  to  the  new  and  thriving  Town 
of  Fort  Towson,  where  he  has  since  continued  his 
effective  service  as  manager  of  the  company’s  extensive 
business  in  this  section  of  Choctaw  County  and  where 
he  is  a popular  and  representative  factor  in  business 
circles  and  known  as  a loyal  and  progressive  citizen. 
He  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  the 
Woodmen  of  the  World,  and  both  he  and  his  wife  hold 
membership  in  the  Baptist  Church.  Mr.  Leard ’s  parents 
are  still  living  and  their  other  children  are:  Joseph  N., 

who  is  engaged  in  the  lumber  business  at  San  Jose, 
Texas;  Andrew  J.,  who  is  a prosperous  agriculturist  and 
stock  grower  at  McCurtain,  Haskell  County,  Oklahoma; 
Eobert  E.  and  Terry  T.,  who  are  representative  farmers 
near  Hugo,  Choctaw  County;  Mrs.  Helen  Davis,  whose 
husband  is  a prominent  business  man  at  Stigler,  Haskell 
County;  and  Miss  Laura  and  Wheeler  E.  Leard,  who 
remain  at  the  parental  home,  in  Hugo,  the  judicial  center 
of  Choctaw  County. 

In  May,  1907,  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Walter 
F.  Leard  to  Miss  Winena  Eoss,  of  Durant,  her  father 
having  been  one  of  the  early  missionaries  among  the 
Choctaw  Indians;  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Leard  are  popular  fac- 
tors in  the  social  activities  of  their  home  community  and 
are  the  parents  of  one  son,  Eoss,  who  was  born  in  the 
year  1908. 

Elmer  Harold  Dodd.  The  receiving  and  disbursing 
of  all  the  public  moneys  and  revenues  of  a county  entails 
the  possession  of  executive  ability  of  more  than  ordinary 
character  by  the  incumbent  of  the  office,  but,  further 
than  this,  he  must  possess  also  the  absolute  confidence  of 
the  public,  the  faith  in  his  integrity  and  character  that 
may  be  built  up  only  through  a life  of  probity  and 
honorable  dealing.  Elmer  Harold  Dodd,  treasurer  of 
Dewey  County,  has  gained  his  office  through  the  pos- 
session of  the  qualities  named.  It  has  been  his  fortune 
to  have  succeeded  in  public  life  as  he  has  in  business 
affairs;  in  each  avenue  of  endeavors  his  name  has  been 
synonymous  with  straightforward  transactions  with  his 
fellow  men  and  energetic  and  well-directed  effort. 

Mr.  Dodd  is  a Kansan  by  nativity,  born  at  Burrton, 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1871 


Harvey  County,  August  7,  1883,  a son  of  Charles  D.  and 
Lucy  E.  (Lancett)  Dodd.  His  family  is  an  old  and 
honored  one,  of  Seotch-Irish  descent,  which  was  founded 
in  America  in  colonial  times  and  subsequently  moved  to 
Indiana,  where  the  great-grandfather  of  Elmer  H.  Dodd 
was  a pioneer  settler  and  for  many  years  a farmer. 
Joseph  Dodd,  his  grandfather,  was  born  in  1826,  in 
Indiana,  and  there  grew  to  manhood,  receiving  a com- 
mon school  education  and  early  learning  the  trade  of 
carpenter.  He  followed  this  vocation,  in  connection  with 
farming,  until  the  opening  of  the  Civil  war,  when  he  en- 
listed in  an  Indiana  volunteer  infantry  regiment  and 
served  therewith  four  years  as  a private  in  the  Union 
army.  Returning  to  Indiana,  he  continued  to  be  occupied 
in  the  same  way  for  several  years,  when  he  decided  to 
try  his  fortunes  in  the  West  and  accordingly  moved 
to  Harvey  County,  Kansas.  He  located  there  on  a farm, 
to  the  cultivation  of  which  he  devoted  his  attention, 
although  he  was  engaged  also  at  times  as  a carpenter, 
erecting  a number  of  the  early  structures  of  that  com- 
munity. His  death  occurred  there  in  1914. 

Charles  D.  Dodd  was  born  in  Indiana  in  1858  and  was 
still  a youth  when  he  accompanied  his  parents  to 
Harvey  County,  Kansas,  where  he  completed  his  edu- 
cation, grew  up  as  a farmer  boy,  and  was  married.  At 
the  time  of  his  marriage,  he  turned  his  attention  to 
mercantile  lines,  establishing  himself  in  the  retail  fur- 
niture business,  as  a merchant  at  Burrton.  In  1890  he 
removed  to  Hutchinson,  Kansas,  where  he  became  fore- 
man in  the  salt  works,  and  in  1895  became  a pioneer  of 
Dewey  County,  Oklahoma,  where  he  took  up  a homestead 
of  160  acres  in  Sickle  township,  a beautiful  tract  of  land 
which  he  still  owns.  When  he  came  to  Oklahoma  he  had 
practically  nothing,  his  business  ventures  not  having 
met  with  a very  gratifying  success  up  to  that  time, 
but  in  the  field  of  agriculture  he  soon  began  to  accumu- 
late a handsome  property,  and  at  this  time  is  the  owner 
of  700  acres  of  land  in  Dewey  and  Roger  Mills  counties. 
This  land  is  practically  all  under  a state  of  cultivation 
and  is  improved  with  substantial  buildings  and  modern 
equipment  of  all  kinds.  In  1903  Mr.  Dodd  again  entered 
the  mercantile  business,  starting  a furniture  establish- 
ment at  Thomas,  Oklahoma.  This  he  conducted  until 
1914,  when  he  sold  out  and  came  to  Roll,  his  present 
home.  Mr.  Dodd  bears  an  excellent  reputation  in  busi- 
ness circles  and  as  a citizen  has  shown  himself  capable, 
energetic  and  public-spirited.  He  maintains  an  inde- 
pendent position  in  regard  to  politics,  is  a devout  mem- 
ber of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  and  is  fraternally 
connected  with  the  Masons.  Mr.  Dodd  was  married  in 
Harvey  County,  Kansas,  to  Miss  Lucy  E.  Lancett,  who 
was  born  in  1863,  in  Indiana,  and  who  is  also  a member 
of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  and  active  in  its 
work.  They  have  been  the  parents  of  six  children,  as 
follows:  William  C.,  who  is  engaged  in  the  life  insurance 
business  at  Thomas,  Oklahoma;  Elmer  Harold,  of  this 
notice;  Roy,  who  resides  at  Oakwood,  Oklahoma,  and 
is  the  proprietor  of  a hardware  business;  Ray,  twin 
to  Roy,  who  is  a chiropraetitioner  of  Elk  City,  Okla- 
homa; Charles,  Jr.,  who  resides  at  Canton,  Oklahoma, 
and  is  a general  merchant ; and  Bertha,  who  is  the  wife 
of  G.  W.  Eord  and  resides  on  the  old  family  homestead 
farm  in  Dewey  County. 

Elmer  Harold  Dodd  attended  the  public  schools  of 
Hutchinson,  Kansas,  and  went  to  school  at  Burrton, 
Kansas,  in  1895-6,  in  April  of  the  latter  year  coming  to 
his  parents’  homestead  in  Dewey  County,  Oklahoma. 
There  he  continued  to  pursue  his  studies  in  the  little  log 
school  house  until  he  was  sixteen  years  of  age,  and  then, 
until  he  was  nineteen,  devoted  his  energies  to  assisting 
his  father  in  the  cultivation  and  development  of  the 
home  place.  Mr.  Dodd  was  married  in  1903,  at  King- 
voi.  y— 8 


fisher,  Oklahoma,  to  Miss  Grace  M.  Thrush,  daughter  of 
Charles  B.  Thrush,  a pioneer  homesteader  of  Dewey 
County,  Oklahoma,  who  now  resides  on  his  farm  near 
Putnam.  Three  children  have  been  born  to  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Dodd:  Cecil,  born  November  16,  1903;  Vera,  born 
August  16,  1905;  and  Carroll,  born  in  November,  1907, 
all  attending  the  Taloga  public  schools. 

For  one  year  after  his  marriage,  Mr.  Dodd  continued 
to  be  engaged  in  farming,  then  turning  his  attention  to 
railroading.  Nine  months,  in  1905  and  1906,  convinced 
him  that  he  did  not  care  for  a career  as  a railroad  man, 
and  he  accordingly  resigned  his  position  and  accepted  a 
clerkship  in  the  grocery  store  of  Ogden  Brothers,  at 
Thomas.  Later  he  went  to  Oakwood,  Oklahoma,  where 
he  -was  employed  in  the  general  store  of  E.  L.  Porter, 
former  county  treasurer  of  Dewey,  and  in  1908  became 
manager  of  Burt  Groves’  general  store.  'After  two  years 
he  was  made  head  salesman  for  Mr.  Groves,  in  the  store 
at  Canton,  but  after  one  year,  in  1911,  returned  to  the 
pursuits  of  the  soil,  being  engaged  in  farming  in  Harri- 
son Township,  Dewey  County,  for  one  year.  He  then 
resumed  his  connection  with  mercantile  affairs,  being 
with  Keller’s  Hardware  Store  at  Oakwood  for  a short 
time  and  then  again  with  E.  L.  Porter,  at  Oakwood,  and 
in  August,  1912,  purchased  Mr.  Porter’s  interest  in  the 
establishment  and  continued  to  be  engaged  in  the  mer- 
cantile business  on  his  own  account  until  selling  out  in 
June,  1914.  In  the  fall  of  that  year  he  was  elected 
county  treasurer  and  assumed  charge  of  the  duties  of 
that  office  July  1,  1915,  for  a period  of  two  years. 
A republican  in  his  political  views,  for  a number  of 
years  he  has  been  interested  in  public  affairs,  having 
served  both  on  the  school  board  and  as  a member  of 
the  council  at  Oakwood.  With  his  family  he  belongs  to 
the  Christian  Church,  where  he  is  a chorister.  Mr.  Dodd 
is  possessed  of  much  musical  talent,  and  was  a member 
of  the  first  band  ever  organized  in  Dewey  County,  at 
Butte,  Oklahoma,  playing  at  the  various  county  fair 
in  the  early  days  under  the  leadership  of  his  uncle, 
Andrew  Lancett  of  Chicago,  who  now  resides  at  Clinton, 
Oklahoma,  and  is  a grain  buyer.  He  belongs  ot  the 
A.  H.  T.  A.,  and  is  fraternally  affiliated  with  Oakwood 
Lodge  No.  386,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and 
Putnam  Lodge  No.  89,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fel- 
lows, of  which  he  is  past  vice  grand. 

Alva  Ltjm  McDonald.  Among  the  men  who  have 
lent  practical  encouragement  to  agricultural  interests, 
and  who  have  also  taken  an  active  part  in  business 
affairs  and  the  struggles  of  the  political  arena,  Alva 
Lum  McDonald  has  been  numbered  since  1901.  Coming 
here  a stranger,  he  soon  won  the  esteem  and  respect  of 
all  with  whom  his  business  brought  him  into  contact, 
and  from  that  time  to  the  present  his  popularity  has 
steadily  increased.  In  addition  to  farming  and  stock- 
raising,  Mr.  McDonald  is  extensively  engaged  in  the  real 
estate  business  at  El  Reno,  and  has  been  entrusted  with 
important  positions  as  one  of  the  foremost  members  of 
the  progressive  party  in  Oklahoma. 

A.  L.  McDonald  was  born  at  Curdsville,  Daviess 
County,  Kentucky,  September  16,  1876,  and  is  a son  of 
Hiram  C.  and  Sarah  Catherine  (Brogan)  McDonald,  the 
former  a native  of  Curdsville,  Kentucky,  and  the  latter 
of  the  State  of  Tennessee.  The  great-grandfather  of 
Mr.  McDonald  was  the  founder  of  the  family  in  Amer- 
ica, coming,  as  the  name  would  suggest,  from  Scotland, 
and  settling  in  Virginia.  From  this  source  this  branch 
of  the  family  scattered  throughout  Virginia  and  Ken- 
tucky, in  which  state  the  name  is  still  well  known.  All 
of  Mr.  McDonald’s  male  relatives,  including  his  father, 
served  as  Confederate  soldiers  during  the  Civil  war, 


1872 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


some  of  them  fighting  throughout  that  struggle  with 
Gen.  Joe  Wheeler. 

The  public  schools  of  his  native  locality  on  Panther 
Creek  furnished  Alva  L.  McDonald  with  his  early  edu- 
cation, and  this  was  subsequently  supplemented  by  at- 
tendance at  Hartford  (Kentucky)  College,  from  which 
he  was  graduated  in  the  class  of  1894.  He  no  doubt  in- 
herited the  military  spirit  which  sent  his  father  and 
others  into  battle,  for  when  the  Spanish-Ameriean  war 
came  on  he  offered  his  services  to  the  volunteer  army 
and  was  accepted.  When  that  struggle  was  finished  he 
took  part  in  putting  down  the  Filipino  rebellion,  and 
while  thus  engaged  was  under  the  brave  General  Wheeler, 
with  whom  members  of  the  family  had  fought  in  the 
Civil  war.  He  had  at  first  been  a member  of  the 
Seventh  California  Volunteers,  but  after  a few  months 
was  transferred  to  the  Thirty -first  United  States  Volun- 
teer Infantry,  serving  in  Luzon  and  Mindanao  Islands 
altogether  for  thirty-seven  months.  During  the  time  he 
was  at  Mindanao  he  served  ten  months  as  military 
postmaster. 

On  his  return  from  the  Philippine  Islands  Mr.  McDon- 
ald located  at  El  Reno,  Oklahoma,  where  he  had  drawn 
a farm  at  the  opening  of  the  Kiowa  and  Comanche 
drawing  at  El  Reno  in  1901.  He  resided  on  this  prop- 
erty for  two  years,  and  then  moved  to  the  city  of  El 
Reno  and  entered  actively  into  the  real  estate  business, 
buying  and  selling  farm  lands  principally  on  his  own 
account. 

In  1905  Mr.  McDonald  was  elected  a member  of  the 
El  Reno  City  Council,  and  during  his  two  years  served 
as  president  of  that  body.  During  the  administration 
of  President  Roosevelt,  Mr.  McDonald  was  clerk  of  the 
Third  District  Federal  Court  of  Alaska,  stationed  at 
Fairbanks,  for  two  years,  under  Judge  Silas  H.  Reed. 
From  the  time  that  he  had  come  to  Oklahoma  Mr. 
McDonald  had  always  been  an  active  republican  and  a 
dutiful  worker  for  his  party.  In  1912  he  was  a delegate 
from  this  state  to  the  Chicago  convention,  and  when  the 
break  came,  he  joined  the  Roosevelt  forces  and  returned 
home  to  do  untiring  work  for  the  cause  of  the  new 
progressive  party.  He  was  elected  chairman  of  the 
state  committee  of  the  new  organization,  and  prosecuted 
a vigorous  campaign  for  his  ideal  candidate,  the  indomi- 
table Colonel.  He  served  as  chairman  of  the  state 
committee  of  the  progressive  party  for  two  years,  hand- 
ing over  to  his  successor  the  party  organization  in  the 
state  in  the  best  possible  shape  attainable  under  the 
adverse  circumstances  under  which  he  was  compelled  to 
work.  These  services  cost  Mr.  McDonald  many  hundred 
hard-earned  dollars. 

At  El  Reno,  Oklahoma,  November  27  (Thanksgiving 
Day),  1903,  Mr.  McDonald  was  united  in  marriage  with 
Miss  Scottie  Belle  Barker,  daughter  of  Beverly  R.  and 
Eliza  (Eaton)  Barker,  both  natives  of  Virginia.  Mrs. 
McDonald’s  father  and  practically  all  her  male  relatives 
were  Confederate  soldiers  during  the  Civil  war.  To  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  McDonald  there  have  been  born  two  children: 
Vinita  Mary,  born  February  16,  1905;  and  Alva  Fergu- 
son, born  December  9,  1906.  Mr.  McDonald  is  a member 
of  the  local  lodge  of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective 
Order  of  Elks,  in  which  he  has  numerous  friends,  as  he 
has  also  in  business  and  public  life.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
McDonald  are  consistent  members  of  and  active  workers 
in  the  First  Christian  Church  of  El  Reno. 

Ora  O.  Dawson,  M.  D.  Oklahoma  is  one  of  the  young- 
est of  the  commonwealths  of  the  Union  and  yet  its  age 
is  sufficient  to  have  enabled  it  to  claim  as  representative 
figures  in  its  business  and  professional  ranks  not  a few 
ambitious  young  men  who  have  been  reared  and  educated 


within  its  borders.  Such  au  one  is  Doctor  Dawson,  who 
is  the  only  physician  and  surgeon  engaged  in  practice  at 
Wayne,  McClain  County,  and  who  has  gained  secure 
prestige  as  one  of  the  able  and  successful  representatives 
of  his  profession  in  this  section  of  the  state. 

Doctor  Dawson  is  a scion  of  staunch  Scotch  ancestry 
and  the  family  was  founded  in  America  in  the  colonial 
era  of  our  national  history.  His  grandfather,  Thomas 
Benoni  Dawson,  was  born  in  Virginia,  in  1804,  was  a 
gallant  soldier  in  the  Mexican  war,  became  one  of  the 
pioneer  farmers  and  stock-growers  of  the  State  of  Iowa, 
and  passed  the  closing  period  of  his  life  at  Long  Beach, 
California,  where  he  died  in  1905,  at  the  remarkable  age 
of  somewhat  more  than  100  years.  His  ancestors  settled 
in  Virginia  in  an  early  day,  upon  their  immigration  from 
Scotland,  and  the  name  has  been  worthily  linked  with  the 
annals  of  American  history  during  the  long  intervening 
years,  as  one  generation  has  followed  another  on  to  the 
stage  of  life’s  activities. 

Doctor  Dawson  was  born  near  Sherman,  Texas,  on  the 
26th  of  March,  1884,  and  has  been  a resident  of  Okla- 
homa since  he  was  a lad  of  about  eight  years.  He  is  a 
son  of  William  and  Lucretia  (Moorman)  Dawson,  the 
former  of  whom  was  born  in  Iowa,  in  1840,  and  the  latter 
in  Ohio,  in  1845.  William  Dawson  was  reared  to  man- 
hood in  the  Hawkeye  State,  where  his  early  experiences 
were  those  gained  under  the  conditions  and  influences  of 
the  early  pioneer  days.  After  his  marriage  he  removed 
to  Nebraska,  later  resided  for  a time  in  Kansas,  and  in 
1881  he  removed  with  his  family  to  Grayson  County, 
Texas,  near  Sherman,  where  he  remained  until  1892, 
when  he  came  to  Oklahoma  Territory  and  established  his 
residence  at  Guthrie.  Since  1906  he  has  maintained  his 
home  in  the  vicinity  of  Wanette,  Pottawatomie  County, 
where  he  is  a prosperous  agriculturist  and  stock  raiser. 
He  is  a republican  in  politics  and  is  a veteran  of  the 
Civil  war,  in  which  he  gave  valiant  service  as  a member 
of  an  Iowa  regiment  of  volunteer  infantry.  He  and  his 
wife  have  an  attractive  home  in  the  state  of  their  adop- 
tion and  are  numbered  among  the  sterling  pioneer  citi- 
zens of  Oklahoma.  Of  their  children  Doctor  Dawson  of 
this  review  is  the  youngest;  Thomas  B.  is  a progressive 
farmer  near  Wanette;  Ollie,  who  is  deceased,  was  the 
wife  of  John  Williams,  who  is  still  engaged  in  farming 
near  Wanette;  William  W.  is  a successful  agriculturist 
of  the  same  locality ; Charles  T.  is  engaged  in  the  lumber 
business  at  Luther,  Oklahoma  County ; LeRoy  is  a farmer 
near  Wanette;  Lucy  is  the  wife  of  William  Van  Meter, 
a farmer  near  the  City  of  Guthrie;  and  John  is  another 
of  the  progressive  agriculturists  of  Pottawatomie 
County. 

The  rudimentary  education  of  Doctor  Dawson  was  ac- 
quired in  Texas  and,  as  already  noted,  he  was  about  eight 
years  of  age  at  the  time  of  the  family  removal,  to  .Okla- 
homa, where  he  was  enabled  to  continue  his  studies  in  the 
public  schools  of  the  City  of  Guthrie  until  he  had  com- 
pleted a course  in  the  high  school,  in  which  he  was  grad- 
uated in  1906.  For  a year  thereafter  he  gave  his  atten- 
tion to  the  buying  of  cotton  and  he  finally  entered  the 
medical  department  of  the  University  of  Oklahoma,  in 
which  he  was  graduated  as  a member  of  the  class  of 
1912  and  from  which  he  received  his  degree  of  Doctor  of 
Medicine.  He  soon  afterward  established  his  residence 
at  Wayne,  where  he  has  since  continued  in  active  general 
practice  and  where  he  has  gained  distinctive  success, 
besides  holding  secure  place  in  the  confidence  and  esteem 
of  the  community  and  standing  forth  as  a progressive 
and  public-spirited  citizen.  The  doctor  is  a member  of 
the  Oklahoma  State  Medical  Society  and  the  McClain 
County  Medical  Society  and  of  two  Greek  letter  fraterni- 
ties, Beta  Theta  Pi  and  Phi  Beta  Pi.  He  is  also  a mem- 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1873 


ber  of  Wayne  Lodge  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows.  His  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republi- 
can party,  but  he  has  no  desire  to  enter  the  arena  of  prac- 
tical politics,  as  he  deems  his  profession  worthy  of  his 
undivided  attention.  The  doctor  is  still  a bachelor. 

Dr.  P.  G.  Murray.  Six  years  ago  Dr.  P.  G.  Murray 
came  to  Thomas,  Oklahoma,  and  engaged  in  medical 
practice.  He  has  been  here  occupied  in  a professional 
way  since  that  time.  He  came  as  a young  physician, 
with  some  more  than  four  years  of  actual  practice  behind 
him,  but  his  record  here  has  been  highly  creditable  to 
him  and  to  the  medical  fraternity.  He  is  well  established 
in  Thomas  and  enjoys  a pleasing  popularity.  Doctor 
Murray  was  born  in  Sedgewiekville,  Missouri,  on  March 
9,  1880,  and  he  is  a son  of  H.  J.  Murray,  born  in  Bollinger 
County,  Missouri,  in  1845.  The  senior  Murray  is  now  a 
resident  of  Thomas,  having  come  here  in  the  year  1913, 
after  his  retirement  from  his  lifelong  business  as  a 
farmer  and  stockman  in  his  native  county. 

The  Murray  family  is  one  that  has  long  been  established 
on  American  soil.  It  is  of  Scottish  origin,  and  three 
brothers,  Bennett,  William  and  James,  came  together 
to  these  shores  in  early  Colonial  days,  settling  in  North 
Carolina,  where  many  of  the  name  will  be  found  today. 
The  ancestor  of  the  subject  was  Bennett  Murray,  and 
Doctor  Murray  has  a brother  named  in  his  honor. 

H.  J.  Murray  was  born  and  reared  in  Bollinger  County, 
Missouri,  and  when  the  war  broke  out  in  1861  he  enlisted 
from  his  county,  serving  two  years  in  the  Union  army. 
He  was  taken  prisoner,  but  was  exchanged  after  several 
months  of  prison  life,  and  returned  to  his  home  to 
recuperate  from  the  effects  of  that  unfortunate  experi- 
ence. He  married  Sarah  Dunlap,  who  was  born  in  Perry 
County,  Missouri,  in  1849,  and  they  became  the  parents 
of  a large  family  of  fourteen  children,  named  as  fol- 
lows: Morris,  now  deceased;  Bennett,  a merchant,  living 
in  Independence,  Oklahoma;  James,  a farmer  and  teacher, 
living  near  Thomas,  Oklahoma;  Charles,  a farmer  and 
teacher,  living  near  Marquard,  Missouri;  the  fifth  child 
died  in  infancy;  Anna  married  Bobert  Vance,  and  they 
live  in  Thomas,  Oklahoma;  Dr.  P.  G.  was  the  seventh 
born;  Travis  lives  in  Pittsburg,  Kansas;  Bay,  a farmer, 
lives  in  Thomas,  Oklahoma;  John  died  in  infancy;  Levi 
lives  in  Waurika,  Oklahoma,  and  is  a graduate  of  Barnes 
Medical  College,  now  in  practice  in  Waurika;  Mary 
married  Emil  Mabuce,  a farmer  of  Marquard,  Missouri; 
David,  a teacher,  lives  in  Thomas  with  his  father;  Lew 
also  lives  at  home. 

Doctor  Murray  attended  the  public  schools  in  Sedge- 
wiekville, Missouri,  and  he  was  graduated  from  the  high 
school  there  in  1896.  He  then  entered  the  Marvin  Colle- 
giate Institute,  in  Fredericktown,  Missouri,  and  continued 
there  for  two  years,  after  which  he  engaged  in  teaching, 
and  for  three  years  thereafter  he  was  employed  in  the 
public  schools  in  Bollinger  County.  In  the  spring  .of 
1899  he  went  to  Custer  County,  Oklahoma,  where  he 
taught  school  for  a year,  and  in  1901  he  entered  Barnes 
Medical  College  in  St.  Louis,  from  which  he  was  gradu- 
ated in  1905  with  the  degree  M.  D.  Since  that  time 
Doctor  Murray  has  returned  on  several  occasions  for 
clinics  and  post-graduate  work,  supplementary  to  a very 
complete  medical  training,  so  that  he  is  well  equipped 
for  the  work  he  has  chosen.  Doctor  Murray  first  began 
practice  in  Patton,  Missouri,  and  he  continued  there  in 
practice  until  April  4,  1909,  when  he  took  up  his  residence 
in  Thomas,  Oklahoma,  and  has  here  been  located  ever 
since,  with  offices  in  the  B.  & H.  drug  store. 

Doctor  Murray  is  a member  of  the  county,  state  and 
American  Medical  societies,  and  aside  from  his  regular 
practice  he  is  examining  physician  for  the  Pacific  Mutual, 


the  Bankers  Beserve,  the  Midland,  the  Oklahoma  National, 
the  Mid-Continent  a'nd  the  Merchants  Life  Insurance 
companies.  He  is  also  serving  in  the  same  capacity 
the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  the  Boyal  Neighbors 
and  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen.  He  served 
the  City  of  Patton  in  the  office  of  health  physician  while 
practicing  there,  and  has  given  the  same  service  to 
Thomas.  He  is  a republican.  A member  of  the  Methodist 
Church,  Doctor  Murray  is  serving  that  body  as  a steward 
and  trustee.  His  fraternal  affiliations  are  with  the 
Modern  Woodmen  and  the  Yeomen,  and  he  is  an  alumnus 
of  Barnes  Medical  College.  He  is  a member  of  the 
Thomas  Chamber  of  Commerce,  and  has  taken  an  active 
part  in  municipal  affairs  since  identifying  himself  with 
the  community. 

On  July  27,  1905,  Doctor  Murray  was  married  in 
Yount,  Missouri,  to  Miss  Ellen  Heitman,  daughter  of 
William  Heitman,  a prominent  miller  and  farmer  of 
Yount.  They  have  two  children:  David  William,  born 
May  3,  1906,  and  Mary  Jane,  born  August  24,  1907. 

Thomas  J.  Palmer.  Of  those  who  pioneered  into  the 
Strip  country  of  Oklahoma  in  1893,  it  is  doubtful  if 
there  has  been  a more  energetic  and  influential  and 
useful  citizen  than  Thomas  J.  Palmer,  whose  local  work 
has  identified  him  particularly  with  the  Town  of  Med- 
ford in  Grant  County,  but  whose  influence  in  polities, 
in  the  prohibition  movement,  and  in  all  movements  for 
uplift  and  betterment,  has  helped  to  make  the  texture 
of  Oklahoma  life  what  it  is  today. 

It  will  be  recalled  that  the  famous  run  at  the  opening 
of  the  Cherokee  Strip  was  made  on  Saturday.  On  the 
following  Tuesday,  September  19th,  Thomas  J.  Palmer 
arrived  from  Hutchinson,  Kansas.  He  had  since  1887 
lived  in  Kansas,  chiefly  at  Meade.  He  has  had  a long 
and  versatile  career.  For  a number  of  years  he  lived  in 
Iowa,  and  went  from  Mason  City  in  that  state  to  Kansas. 
During  the  twenty-two  years  of  his  Iowa  residence  he 
was  a school  teacher  for  six  years  and  the  rest  of  his 
time  an  active  newspaper  man.  While  it  would  be 
impossible  to  classify  Mr.  Palmer  by  any  one  vocation 
or  line  of  activity  in  Medford,  he  has  longest  been 
identified  with  the  newspaper  profession  in  this  and 
other  states. 

Thomas  J.  Palmer  was  born  at  Port  Perry,  Canada, 
February  6,  1847.  While  both  he  and  his  father  were 
natives  of  Canada,  earlier  ancestors  were  from  the 
United  States.  His  great-grandfather  was  Ebenezer 
Palmer,  said  to  be  a direct  descendant  of  one  of  the 
Mayflower  Pilgrims  of  the  Plymouth  Colony.  Ebenezer 
Palmer  seems  to  have  been  a frontiersman,  and  spent 
much  of  his  life  in  the  then  Far  West.  Stephen  Palmer, 
grandfather  of  the  Oklahoma  citizen,  was  a native  of 
Pennsylvania  and  went  from  that  state  to  Canada,  where 
he  did  some  pioneering  on  his  own  account  in  the 
Canadian  woods.  Stephen  Palmer  married  Abigail  Jones, 
who  was  of  German  descent.  Their  children  were  David, 
Thomas,  Henry,  Joseph,  Elizabeth  and  Amanda. 

Thomas  Palmer,  father  of  Thomas  J.,  was  also  a 
native  of  Canada,  was  a shoemaker  by  trade,  spent  his 
life  in  that  vocation  and  in  the  cooperage  business.  He 
alone  among  all  the  children  of  Stephen  Palmer  came  to 
the  United  States.  He  located  in  Iowa,  where  he  farmed 
and  conducted  a store,  and  his  death  occurred  at  What- 
cheer,  Iowa.  It  was  in  1865  that  he  brought  his  family 
to  the  United  States.  He  was  an  Adventist  in  religion 
and  a member  of  the  sect  known  as  ‘ ‘ Millerites.  ’ ’ 
Thomas  Palmer  married  Catherine  McVay.  She  also 
died  and  is  buried  at  Whatcheer,  Iowa.  She  was  a 
native  of  Canada,  and  had  in  her  veins  the  blood  of 
Irish,  German  and  Scotch,  while  her  husband  was  both 


1874 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


English  and  German,  so  that  their  children  possessed 
an  unusual  mingling  of  those  substantial  ancestral  stocks 
which  have  had  most  to  do  with  the  settlement  and 
development  of  the  New  World.  Thomas  and  Catherine 
Palmer  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children : 
Daniel  D.,  who  is  noted  as  the  founder  and  originator  of 
the  science  of  chiropractic,  and  he  founded  a school  for 
the  propagation  of  the  art  at  Davenport,  Iowa,  though 
he  died  in  Los  Angeles,  California,  October  20,  1914, 
leaving  a family  of  three  children:  Thomas  J.  Palmer 

is  the  second  in  age;  Lucinda  is  married  and  lives  at 
Plattsmouth,  Nebraska;  Jennie  is  the  wife  of  H.  G. 
Palmer  of  Tacoma,  Washington ; Bartlett  D.  died  at 
Whatcheer,  Iowa;  Mrs.  Katie  Wiles  lives  in  Platts- 
mouth, Nebraska. 

Thomas  J.  Palmer  at  the  age  of  five  years  started 
to  attend  school  in  Canada,  and  until  nearly  nine  years 
his  only  teacher  was  a man  named  John  Black.  He  made 
rapid  advance  in  his  studies,  and  before  he  was  ten 
years  of  age  was  carrying  high  school  work,  including 
the  sciences.  The  health  of  his  father  and  other  causes 
then  kept  him  out  of  school  for  several  years,  but  he 
finally  had  another  nine  months  of  instruction  just  before 
he  became  a teacher.  He  was  eighteen  when  he  took  the 
Goose  Creek  School  in  his  home  county  in  Iowa.  He 
had  been  promised  the  school  by  a board  of  directors 
before  he  interviewed  them,  his  qualifications  having 
been  introduced  to  the  board  by  a lawyer  friend.  He 
was  promised  the  school  on  condition  that  he  secured 
a third  grade  certificate.  He  agreed  to  try  for  the 
certificate  and  rode  horseback  to  the  county  seat  and 
passed  the  ordeal  of  examination  in  four  hours.  So  well 
did  he  acquit  himself  that  he  was  almost  granted  a first 
grade,  certificate.  His  clothes  were  ragged,  his  trouser 
linings  showed  at  the  knees  and  coat  linings  at  the 
elbows,  and  he  might  well  have  been  an  object  of  curios- 
ity to  all  eyes.  His  exceedingly  creditable  showing  in 
the  examination  was  the  surprise  of  the  superintendent 
in  charge  as  well  as  of  the  board  where  he  taught.  He 
was  accepted  as  the  new  teacher  after  an  overnight 
session  with  one  of  the  board,  who  ‘ ‘ tried  him  out  ’ ’ and 
advanced  him  ten  dollars  for  a new  suit  of  clothes.  To 
put  himself  in  the  good  graces  of  the  larger  boys  of 
the  school  he  spent  a week  before  the  opening  attending 
spelling  schools  and  literary  societies,  and  took  the 
lead  in  all  matters  in  which  the  senior  boys  would  be 
interested.  In  consequence  he  was  “passed”  by  these 
larger  scholars  and  endorsed  by  them  in  a public  motion 
while  on  the  road  home  from  one  of  the  spelling  bees. 
The  fact  that  Mr.  Palmer  entered  so  earnestly  and  en- 
thusiastically into  his  task  make  it  hardly  necessary  to 
state  that  he  was  a very  successful  teacher.  He  had  the 
aid  of  his  influential  pupils  and  the  patrons  of  the  dis- 
trict, and  showed  much  originality  as  a teacher.  He 
attracted  more  than  local  attention  to  the  various  new 
methods  he  instituted  for  arousing  interest  in  the  pupils 
in  the  various  subjects  studied.  For  six  years  he  was  a 
teacher  in  Iowa  and  for  a similar  period  in  Mercer 
County,  Illinois.  While  in  the  latter  state  he  was  for 
three  years  president  of  the  Mercer  County  Teachers’ 
Association.  While  there  he  explained  his  plan  of  teach- 
ing spelling  to  the  advanced  pupils,  and  his  demonstra- 
tion so  interested  President  Edwards  of  the  Illinois  State 
University  that  the  latter  subsequently  prepared  and 
published  upon  the  lines  suggested  by  Mr.  Palmer  the 
school  text  book  known  as  Edwards’  Analytical  Speller. 
Mr.  Palmer  did  his  last  work  in  the  school  room  in 
Hardin  County,  Iowa,  just  before  entering  the  news- 
paper field. 

Soon  after  coming  from  Canada  to  the  United  States 
Mr.  Palmer  took  out  his  naturalization  papers.  His 


first  political  attitude  was  that  of  the  independent. 
Subsequently  he  became  a granger,  when  that  move- 
ment was  at  its  height  and  from  that  took  up  the  cause 
of  the  greenback  party.  When  the  republican  party 
adopted  the  principal  planks  of  the  greenback  party  he 
united  with  the  older  and  larger  organization.  He 
became  a republican  also  for  the  reason  that  the  Iowa 
republicans  took  up  the  prohibition  movement  in  the 
state  and  directed  its  influence  to  the  suppression  of  the 
liquor  traffic.  The  main  policies  of  the  old  greenback 
party  were  the  remonetization  of  silver,  the  reissue  of 
greenbacks  and  the  adoption  of  prohibition.  All  these 
principles  Mr.  Palmer  espoused,  and  when  they  were 
adopted  by  the  republican  organization  he  found  no 
difficulty  in  effecting  a partisan  change.  Mr.  Palmer 
was  a personal  friend  of  the  late  General  J.  B.  Weaver, 
the  eminent  Iowa  statesman,  and  has  been  a close  student 
and  observer  of  political  progress  in  the  Middle  West 
for  fully  forty  years. 

A number  of  years  ago  while  living  in  Iowa  Mr. 
Palmer,  in  order  to  express  his  convictions  on  some  of 
the  burning  questions  of  the  hour,  prepared  an  article 
on  some  phase  of  the  financial  problems  and  asked  a 
local  newspaper  to  publish  it.  The  request  was  refused, 
and  Mr.  Palmer  then  determined  to  have  the  article 
expressing  his  views  given  to  the  public  if  he  had  to 
found  a newspaper  himself.  Thus  it  was  that  he  entered 
the  field  where  his  abilities  have  given  him  much  promi- 
nence in  later  years.  He  first  took  up  newspaper  work 
in  Greenfield,  Iowa,  where  he  founded  the  Greenback 
Patriot.  His  capital  when  he  entered  this  business  was 
sixty  cents,  and  he  walked  from  the  railroad  station  to 
Greenfield,  which  was  then  without  a railroad,  because 
he  did  not  have  enough  money  to  hire  a conveyance.  He 
had  ordered  a plant  and  equipment  costing  fourteen 
hundred  dollars  from  the  Illinois  Type  Foundry  Com- 
pany of  Chicago,  and  secured  the  services  of  a practical 
printer  to  install  the  new  plant.  He  soon  afterwards 
became  the  sole  proprietor  and  for  some  time  made  his 
paper  a noted  organ  for  greenback  doctrines.  Later  he 
moved  his  paper  to  Muscatine,  where  he  renamed  it  the 
Muscatine  Patriot  and  subsequently  it  was  taken  to 
Whatcheer  and  there  was  called  the  Whatcheer  Patriot. 
The  policy  of  the  Whatcheer  Patriot  was  largely  inde- 
pendent in  political  matters,  but  proved  a strenuous 
advocate  for  the  suppression  of  the  liquor  traffic.  In 
the  face  of  violent  contrary  public  sentiment,  the  Patriot 
led  the  way  and  was  one  of  the  chief  factors  in  abolish- 
ing the  thirty-two  saloons  of  Whatcheer.  Some  of  the 
doctrines  which  Mr.  Palmer  espoused  in  earlier  days 
have  already  been  worked  into  the  general  political  and 
social  policy  of  the  country,  and  for  others  there  have 
been  substituted  different  policies.  But  prohibition  is 
still  a vital  question,  perhaps  more  so  taking  the  nation 
at  large  than  ever  before,  and  hardly  anyone  could  claim 
to  have  worked  more  devotedly  for  its  success  during  the 
last  thirty  years  than  this  Oklahoma  man.  He  early  saw 
that  the  success  of  prohibition  would  be  most  definitely 
advanced  whenever  either  of  the  two  larger  political 
parties  should  endorse  the  policy.  When  the  republicans 
in  his  section  of  Iowa  wrote  a prohibition  plank  into 
the  platform  he  joined  that  party,  and  he  made  his  aid 
count  for  a great  deal  in  the  results  which  subsequently 
brought  about  the  adoption  of  a local  option  amendment 
to  the  state  constitution. 

In  1886,  having  sold  his  paper  and  other  interests  at 
Whatcheer  Mr.  Palmer  went  to  Mason  City,  bought  the 
Republican  there,  consolidated  it  with  the  Express,  sold 
a half  interest,  and  after  making  considerable  profit  in 
the  enterprise  disposed  of  his  business  and  went  to 
Meade  Center,  Kansas.  He  arrived  in  that  town  during 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1875 


the  midst  of  its  boom,  and  left  it  when  the  financial  crisis 
came  on  in  1892.  While  at  Meade  Center  he  conducted 
the  Meade  Republican,  which  he  founded  and  which  he 
published  for  six  years  as  a republican  organ.  In  1893 
he  moved  the  plant  to  Hutchinson  and  for  a few  months 
published  a daily  paper  espousing  the  policies  of  the 
republican  party  and  showing  an  unmitigated  enmity  to 
the  saloons. 

When  in  September,  1893,  the  Cherokee  Strip  was 
opened  for  settlement,  Mr.  Palmer  moved  his  newspaper 
plant  to  Medford,  and  there  founded  the  Medford  Pa- 
triot. Medford  at  that  time  was  a town  only  in  name. 
The  depot  and  small  grocery  were  the  meager  nucleus 
of  business.  He  at  once  erected  a building,  and  soon 
published  the  first  copy  of  the  oldest  paper  now  in  Grant 
County.  Grant  County  was  then  called  ‘ ‘ L ” County. 
He  had  hardly  been  here  a week  before  he  was  using 
his  influence  in  behalf  of  political  organization  and  for 
the  extension  of  his  policies  in  line  with  the  republican 
party  and  as  a prohibitionist.  He  soon  met  some  of  his 
old  acquaintances  from  Iowa  and  Kansas,  and  he  was 
one  of  the  leaders  in  moulding  republican  sentiment  and 
shaping  the  affairs  of  the  locality.  In  a county  republi- 
can convention  he  suggested  the  name  of  Grant  for  the 
new  county.  Up  to  that  time  some  of  the  letters  of  the 
alphabet  had  been  used  to  designate  the  civil  divisions 
in  the  Cherokee  Country.  In  February,  1898,  Mr.  Palmer 
was  made  postmaster  of  the  Town  of  Medford.  He  filled 
that  office  for  more  thap  eleven  years,  having  succeeded 
D.  L.  Cline  in  the  office.  While  postmaster  he  was  ap- 
pointed by  Judge  Burford  as  United  States  Court  Com- 
missioner. He  performed  the  duties  of  that  office  without 
a bond  for  five  years,  and  in  that  time  thousands  of 
dollars  of  public  money  passed  through  his  hands,  and 
there  was  never  a flaw  in  his  records. 

At  the  incorporation  of  Medford  he  was  inspector  and 
turned  the  town  to  the  first  officers  chosen  by  ballot 
without  a dollar  of  indebtedness.  For  four  years  he  was 
president  of  the  Board  of  Education,  from  the  time  of 
the  organization  of  the  district.  While  he  was  in  that 
office  there  was  not  a warrant  presented  to  the  school 
treasurer  and  endorsed  “not  paid  for  want  of  funds.” 
In  every  line  of  advancement  in  Medford  he  and  his 
paper,  The  Patriot,  were  always  in  the  front  leading  the 
way.  In  a material  way  he  has  contributed  substantially 
to  the  town  in  the  Opera  House  and  a brick  store  build- 
ing. For  several  years  he  was  postmaster,  court  com- 
missioner, manager  of  the  Opera  House  and  editor  of 
the  Patriot  all  at  one  time,  and  probably  the  busiest 
and  hardest  working  citizen  of  Medford. 

Soon  after  coming  to  Oklahoma  Mr.  Palmer  began 
attending  the  state  republican  conventions  and  has  done 
much  to  direct  that  party  in  its  state  campaign.  He  is 
personally  acquainted  with  all  the  men  who  have  served 
Oklahoma  in  the  time  of  its  greatest  development,  and 
from  the  first  issue  of  his  paper  to  the  last  he  was  an 
unswerving  and  determined  enemy  and  opponent  of  the 
liquor  traffic.  On  March  1,  1910,  he  sold  the  Patriot 
and  has  since  been  in  the  ranks  as  a private  citizen, 
though  his  interest  in  public  affairs  is  in  no  wise  abated. 
He  hopes  to  live  to  see  national  prohibition,  but  in  any 
case  he  realizes  that  such  a condition  cannot  be  many 
years  away.  Considering  the  opportunities  that  sur- 
rounded his  own  early  youth  Mr.  Palmer  has  had  a 
really  remarkable  career.  From  the  first  he  had  high 
moral  standards  and  ideals,  and  in  following  them  he 
has  probably  accomplished  work  of  greatest  benefit.  As 
a boy  he  spent  his  money  for  books  instead  of  for  tobacco 
and  other  pleasures,  although  at  a later  date  he  tried 
tobacco  for  three  months,  only  to  his  disgust. 

On  April  4,  1871,  at  Port  Perry,  Canada,  he  married 


Miss  Sarah  Lazier,  daughter  of  James  B.  and  Hannah 
(Orser)  Lazier.  Mrs.  Palmer  was  one  of  a family  of 
seven  children.  Three  children  have  been  born  to  their 
union:  May  is  the  wife  of  George  E.  Honey,  local  agent 
for  the  Santa  Fe  Railway  at  Kingman,  Kansas.  Clyde 
N.  is  a printer  at  LaGrande,  Oregon,  and  married  Miss 
Rena  Aikens.  Cora  is  now  Mrs.  F.  C.  Wright  of  Wakita, 
Oklahoma.  Mrs.  Wright  was  educated  in  music,  gradu- 
ating from  the  famous  musical  college  at  Lindsborg, 
Kansas,  took  private  instruction  for  six  years  with  Ella 
Baehus  Behr  of  Kansas  City,  spent  two  years  abroad  in 
Berlin,  and  another  year  in  New  York  City.  She  also 
taught  a year  in  Wichita  College  of  Music,  while  pursu- 
ing her  studies,  and  after  her  education  was  finished  she 
continued  as  an  instructor  and  leader  in  musical  affairs 
until  her  marriage. 

Mont  Z.  Spahr.  In  both  the  paternal  and  maternal 
lines  Mont  Zartman  Spahr  is  a scion  of  families  that 
were  founded  in  America  prior  to  the  war  of  the 
Revolution,  the  lineage-  of  the  Spahr  family  tracing 
back  to  sterling  Holland  Dutch  origin  and  the  pro- 
genitors of  the  American  branch  having  left  Holland  at 
the  time  of  the  religious  reformatory  movement  in  that 
country  in  the  seventeenth  century  and  upon  coming 
to  America  having  settled  in  the  Virginia  colony,  the 
maternal  ancestors  of  Mr.  Spahr  having  settled  in 
Pennsylvania  about  the  same  time.  Edward  Spahr, 
grandfather  of  him  whose  name  introduces  this  para- 
graph, was  born  in  the  beautiful  Shenandoah  Valley  of 
Virginia,  in  1778,  and  he  became  one  of  the  pioneer 
settlers  in  Greene  County,  Ohio,  where  he  reclaimed  and 
developed  a farm  and  where  he  continued  to  reside  until 
his  death,  which  occurred  in  1861. 

Since  1908  Mr.  Spahr  has  been  one  of  the  successful 
and  popular  representatives  of  the  pedagogic  profession 
in  Oklahoma,  and  his  zeal  and  ambition  are  based  on 
thorough  academic  or  literary  training,  the  while  his 
marked  ability  as  an  executive  has  tended  greatly  to 
conserve  his  success  in  the  vocation  which  he  has  fol- 
lowed for  virtually  a quarter  of  a century.  He  is  now  the 
incumbent  of  the  position  of  superintendent  of  the  public 
schools  of  the  village  of  Foss,  Washita  County,  and  has 
brought  the  same  up  to  high  standard,  the'  while  he 
has  personally  gained  secure  vantage-ground  as  one  of 
the  representative  figures  in  educational  circles  in  this 
section  of  the  state. 

Mr.  Spahr  was  born  in  Greene  County,  Ohio,  on  the 
5th  of  November,  1866,  and  is  a son  of  John  E.  and 
Adelia  (Zartman)  Spahr,  the  former  of  whom  was 
likewise  a native  of  Greene  County,  Ohio,  where  he 
was  born  in  1832,  and  the  latter  of  whom  was  born 
in  Pennsylvania,  in  1834.  Both  passed  the  closing  years 
of  their  lives  in  Wayne  County,  Nebraska,  where  the 
mother  passed  to  eternal  rest  in  1904  and  the  father  in 
1909.  Of  their  children  the  eldest  is  Frank,  who  is  a 
prosperous  farmer  in  Wayne  County,  Nebraska;  Annie 
died  in  that  county,  at  the  age  of  twenty-^x  years,  she 
having  been  the  wife  of  Ora  Newton,  who  ‘is  now  a 
merchant  in  the  City  of  Pasadena,  California;  Charles 
is  engaged  in  the  live-stock  business  in  Phillips  County, 
Kansas;  Mont  Z„  of  this  review,  was  the  next  child; 
Wilbur  is  a retired  farmer  residing  in  Wayne  County, 
Nebraska,  where  Harvey,  the  next  in  order  of  birth,  is  a 
progressive  and  successful  agriculturist;  and  Maude  is 
the  wife  of  Henry  W.  Perkins,  a successful  contractor 
residing  at  Loveland,  California. 

John  E.  Spahr  was  reared  and  educated  in  Greene 
County,  Ohio,  where  his  early  experiences  were  those 
gained  in  connection  with  the  work  of  the  home  farm. 
After  his  marriage  he  continued  his  activities  as  a 
farmer  in  his  native  county  until  1876,  when  he  removed1 


1876 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


with  his  family  to  Shelby  County,  Iowa,  in  which  sec- 
tion of  the  Hawkeye  State  he  remained  until  1881, 
when  he  removed  to  Wayne  County,  Nebraska,  where  he 
purchased  a tract  of  land  and  where  he  became  a pros- 
perous agriculturist  and  stock-grower,  both  he  and  his 
wife  having  there  passed  the  residue  of  their  lives  and 
both  having  been  zealous  members  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church,  in  which  he  served  for  a long  period 
in  the  office  of  steward.  At  the  time  of  the  Civil  war 
Mr.  Spahr  was  enrolled  as  a member  of  the  state  militia, 
or  home  guard,  of  Ohio,  circumstances  having  inade 
it  impossible  for  him  to  go  to  the  front  in  defense  of 
the  cause  of  the  Union,  though  he  did  all  in  his  power 
to  further  and  uphold  that  cause  and  to  aid  the  needy 
families  of  soldiers.  He  was  a stalwart  advocate  of  the 
principles  of  the  republican  party  and  his  mature  judg- 
ment and  well  fortified  opinions  were  such  as  to  equip 
him  well  for  the  prominent  part  which  he  took  in  politi- 
cal and  other  public  affairs  in  the  various  communities 
in  which  he  lived  at  different  stages  in  his  active  and 
useful  life. 

Mont  Z.  Spahr  was  a lad  of  about  ten  years  at  the 
time  of  the  family  removal  to  Iowa,  and  the  rudimentary 
education  he  had  gained  in  the  schools  of  his  native 
county  in  the  old  Buckeye  State  was  supplemented  by 
his  attending  the  schools  of  Iowa,  the  while  he  assisted 
materially  in  the  work  and  management  of  the  home 
farm.  He  remained  at  the  parental  home  until  he  had 
attained  to  the  age  of  nineteen  years,  and  thereafter  he 
provided  the  means  through  which  he  acquired  his  higher 
education  and  fitted  himself  for  the  profession  in  which 
he  has  achieved  such  distinctive  success.  In  1891 
Mr.  Spahr  was  graduated  in  the  Western  Iowa  Normal 
College,  at  Shenandoah,  from  which  he  _ received  the 
degree  of  Bachelor  of  Didactics,  at  the  completion  of  a 
two  years’  course.  In  the  following  year  he  was  gradu- 
ated also  in  the  Nebraska  State  Normal  School  at 
Wayne,  and  for  the  four  ensuing  years  he  held  the 
office  of  superintendent  or  principal  of  various  public 
schools  in  Wayne  County,  that  state.  In  1896,  counting 
as  satisfactory  naught  but  the  best  possible  fortification 
for  his  exacting  and  responsible  vocation,  Mr.  Spahr 
attended  the  Central  Normal  College  in  the  City  of 
Indianapolis,  Indiana,  and  from  this  admirable  insti- 
tution he  received  the  degrees  of  Bachelor  of  Science  and 
Bachelor  of  Pedagogy.  Prior  to  this  Mr.  Spahr  had 
served  as  principal  of  public  schools  in  the  Gulf  coast 
section  of  Texas,  his  services  in  this  capacity  having 
been  rendered,  in  turn,  at  Alvin,  Hallettsville  and  Edna. 
After  his  course  in  the  college  at  Indianapolis  he  became 
principal  of  the  public  schools  of  Portales,  New  Mexico, 
where  he  remained  thus  engaged  until  1911,  in  July  of 
which  year  he  came  to  Oklahoma  and  assumed  his  pres- 
ent position,  that  of  superintendent  of  the  schools  at 
Eoss,  Washita  County.  Under  his  supervision  is  a corps 
of  five  specially  competent  teachers,  who  give  to  him 
most  earnest  and  effective  co-operation,  and  the  enroll- 
ment of  pupils  in  the  village  schools  numbers  175. 

Mr.  Spahr  has  made  himself  one  of  the  vigorous  and 
influential  factors  in  the  general  community  life  and  is 
enthusiastic  in  all  that  pertains  to  the  work  of  the 
schools,  so  that  his  administration  has  proved  altogether 
effective  and  worthy  of  popular  approval.  His  political 
allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party,  he  is  affiliated 
with  the  Foss  Lodge  No.  204,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons,  he  is  identified  with  the  Oklahoma  State 
Teachers’  Association  and  the  National  Teachers’  Asso- 
ciation, and  both  he  and  his  wife  hold  membership  in  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  South. 

At  Alvin,  Texas,  on  the  28th  of  June,  1899,  was 
solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Spahr  to  Miss  Zona 
Kimmans,  who  was  born  in  the  City  of  Wheeling,  West 
Virginia,  on  the  2d  of  August,  1867,  who  was  educated 


in  Southern  Ohio,  and  who  was  a successful  and  popular 
teacher  prior  to  her  marriage,  of  which  no  children  have 
been  born.  William  B.  Kimmans,  father  of  Mrs.  Spahr, 
was  a representative  business  man  at  Alvin,  Texas,  at 
the  time  of  his  death,  and  his  wife  also  is  deceased. 

David  W.  Vann.  Among  the  well  known  merchants 
and  farmers  of  Marshall  County,  one  who  for  fifteen 
years  has  assisted  in  maintaining  a high  standard  in 
both  commercial  and  agricultural  affairs  is  David  W. 
Vann,  of  Woodville,  a citizen  universally  respected  in 
his  community  by  reason  of  his  strict  business  integrity 
and  high  order  of  citizenship.  He  belongs  to  a family 
around  which  romance  and  history  entwine  in  the  Chero- 
kees  and  Chickasaws.  Gen.  Stand  Watie,  the  noted 
Cherokee  general,  who  displayed  such  gallant  courage  in 
behalf  of  the  Southern  Confederacy  during  the  Civil 
war,  and  who  was  known  as  Degatugo  in  the  Cherokee 
tongue,  was  the  commander  under  whom  William  Vann, 
the  father  of  David  W.  Vann,  served  during  the  war 
between  the  states.  At  Cabin  Creek  William  Vann 
helped  to  take  600  wagons  and  teams  from  the  Union 
troops ; at  Pea  Bidge  he  marched  away  in  defeat  with- 
out the  lead  of  General  McCullough,  who  was  killed. 
Belle  Starr,  the  noted  woman  outlaw  and  desperado 
was  captured  and  her  gang  broken  up  on  the  Canadian 
B'iver  through  the  efforts  of  William  Vann,  who  was 
at  that  time  sheriff  of  the  Canadian  District  of  the 
Cherokee  Nation.  Dick  Triplett,  another  noted  Chero- 
kee outlaw,  who  had  escaped  the  clutches  of  the  law, 
was  captured  by  Deputy  Sheriff  Vann  after  Sheriff 
Stand  Gray  had  refused  to  make  the  arrest  because  of 
fear.  William  Vann  replaced  Sheriff  Gray  and  the 
older  residents  of  that  section  still  remember  the  bravery 
and  absolute  fearlessness  of  this  officer  who  operated 
in  the  desperate  days  following  the  close  of  the  Civil 
war. 

The  Vann  family,  preceding  the  war  between  the 
North  and  the  South,  had  been  considered  wealthy 
Indians;  they  had  about  seventy-five  negroes  as  slaves 
and  cattle  whose  increase  was  enough  to  bring  in  a 
splendid  yearly  income.  After  the  war,  their  home 
destroyed,  their  property  gone  and  their  nation  devas- 
tated, William  Vann  and  his  family  went  South  into 
the  land  of  the  Chickasaws.  Here  he  found  among 
the  people  of  his  adoption  a faithful  helpmate  in  Miss 
Lottie  Willis,  sister  of  Holmes  and  Britt  Willis,  and 
daughter  of  J.  Hamp  Willis,  who  with  his  brother,  Britt, 
left  their  Tennessee  home  to  marry  among  the  Indians, 
Britt  uniting  with  a Choctaw  girl  and  J.  Hamp  with  a 
Chickasaw  girl.  Thus  the  two  families  of  Willis:  one 
Choctaw  and  one  Chickasaw.  Gabe  E.  Parker,  of  Mus- 
kogee, superintendent  of  Indian  Affairs,  is  the  grand- 
son of  Britt  Willis. 

In  the  spring  of  1868,  William  Vann  moved  with  his 
Chickasaw  wife  back  to  the  Cherokee  Nation,  and  it 
was  after  this  removal  that  he  became  sheriff  and  suc- 
ceeded in  breaking  up  the  many  bands  of  outlaws  that 
infested  the  Cherokee  country.  After  his  service  as 
sheriff,  he  served  for  ten  years  as  a member  of  the 
Cherokee  Council,  and  when  finally  defeated  in  election 
again  returned  to  the  Chickasaw  Nation.  Here  he 
died  March  15,  1911,  and  his  widow  died  November  21, 
1915.  Six  children  were  born  to  William  and  Lottie 
(Willis)  Vann,  all  of  whom  are  living:  David  W.,  of 

this  review;  Ellen,  who  married  a Mr.  Graves,  a farmer 
near  Wilkinson,  Oklahoma  (Cherokee  Nation) ; James, 
who  is  associated  with  his  brother  David  W.  in  the 
mercantile  business  at  Woodville;  Mrs.  Georgia  Lynch, 
who  is  one  of  the  popular  and  efficient  school  teachers 
f Marshall  County;  Lulu  and  William  reside  at  home. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1877 


David  W.  Vann  was  born  at  Willis,  Oklahoma,  then 
the  old  Chickasaw  Nation  of  the  Indian  Territory, 
January  8,  1868.  He  was  educated  in  the  common 
schools  which  existed  at  the  time  of  his  boyhood  and 
youth,  but  the  important  part  of  the  requirements  of 
that  day  did  not  consist  of  book  learning  so  much  as 
it  did  of  the  ability  to  maintain  life.  In  August,  1891, 
Mr.  Vann  was  married  to  Miss  Dannie  Doyle,  of  Web- 
ber’s Falls,  Cherokee  Nation,  and  to  this  union  there 
have  been  born  five  children,  as  follows:  Lolo,  now  de- 
ceased; Louis,  also  deceased;  Arthur,  who  is  attending 
school  at  Muskogee;  Jennie,  who  is  attending  school  at 
Denison,  Texas;  and  David  P.,  who  lives  at  home  with 
his  parents. 

Mr.  Vann  came  to  Woodville  in  1900,  and  embarked 
in  the  mercantile  business,  in  association  with  farming. 
He  has  been  successful  in  both  lines  of  endeavor,  being 
an  energetic,  enterprising  and  industrious  man,  with 
modern  ideas  and  methods,  who  does  not  neglect  his 
duties  as  a citizen.  His  only  fraternal  connection  is 
with  the  local  camp  of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World. 

J.  H.  Vann.  A native  son  of  the  Old  Cherokee  Na- 
tion, and  a prominent  farmer  and  stock  raiser  in  the 
community  of  Woodville  in  Marshall  County,  J.  H. 
Vann  is  one  of  the  solid  and  substantial  citizens  of 
that  section  of  Oklahoma. 

He  was  born  at  Webber  Falls  in  Canadian  District, 
Cherokee  Nation,  a son  of  William  and  Lottie  Vann. 
As  a boy  he  attended  the  old  Cherokee  Male  Seminary 
at  Tahlequah,  leaving  school  in  his  sophomore  year, 
and  afterwards  took  a business  course  at  Muskogee. 
While  there  have  been  some  minor  experiences  of  his 
life,  he  has  spent  his  years  most  profitably  in  farming 
and  stock  raising,  and  he  also  conducts  a general  store 
at  Woodville  and  is  one  of  the  principal  merchants  in 
that  county.  He  has  prospered  and  has  accumulated 
means  that  can  be  translated  into  sufficient  comfort 
and  satisfaction  to  provide  liberally  for  himself  and 
family. 

Mr.  Vann  is  a democrat,  is  affiliated  with  the  Wood- 
men of  the  World  and  is  a member  of  the  Presbyterian 
Church.  At  Preston,  Texas,  near  the  Red  River,  on 
December  6,  1902,  he  married  Miss  Laula  Gresham. 
They  have  a daughter  and  two  sons.  The  daughter  is 
Cloy  Vann,  and  the  sons  are  John  Henry  and  James 
Edward  Vann. 

J.  N.  McCallister.  The  history  of  the  people  and 
country  around  Bartlesville  is  an  open  book  of  recollec- 
tions to  J.  N.  McCallister,  who  has  lived  in  that  locality 
nearly  twenty  years,  and  has  been  not  only  a.  close 
observer  but  has  been  drawn  into  close  participation  in 
the  events  and  affairs  of  a growing  city.  For -the  past 
ten  years  Mr.  McCallister  has  been  the  leading  under- 
taker of  Washington  County  and  with  the  aid  of  his 
children  now  conducts  an  establishment  both  at  Bar- 
tlesville and  at  Dewey. 

Born  in  Cass  County,  Missouri,  August  18,  1871,  he  is 
a son  of  J.  N.  and  M.  F.  (McKinney)  McCallister.  His 
parents  were  also  natives  of  Missouri,  and  lived  there 
for  several  years  after  their  marriage,  when  they  moved 
to  Montgomery  County,  Kansas,  in  1873,  and  in  1881 
went  to  Greenwood  County,  Kansas,  where  they  are  still 
living.  His  father  is  a retired  merchant.  He  was  a 
farmer  up  to  1881,  and  then  engaged  in  merchandising, 
which  was  the  basis  of  a successful  career  until  he  retired 
with  a competence  in  1903.  The  Bartlesville  citizen  is 
■one  of  four  children.  His  sister  Maude  is  the  wife  of 
John  A.  Gill  of  Selma,  Kansas;  Bertha  is  the  wife  of 
Garl  A.  Dixon  of  Kansas;  and  Lela  is  now  deceased. 


Mr.  McCallister  grew  up  in  Kansas  and  lived  at  home 
with  his  parents  until  he  removed  to  the  Cherokee  Nation 
of  Indian  Territory  ou  February  8,  1897,  and  this  has 
been  his  home  ever  since.  In  the  first  spring  of  his 
arrival  only  twenty  votes  were  cast  in  this  community, 
and  there  was  only  a handful  of  white  residents  at  that 
time.  Up  to  the  age  of  eighteen  Mr.  McCallister  had 
attended  school  and  worked  for  his  father,  then  became 
a barber,  and  followed  that  trade  fifteen  years.  For  the 
past  ten  years  he  has  given  his  time  to  his  business  as 
undertaker.  Mr.  McCallister  was  elected  the  first  coroner 
of  Washington  County  under  statehood  rule,  and  has  the 
distinction  of  having  performed  the  first  inquest  in  the 
new  state.  He  took  the  oath  of  office  at  3 o'clock  in 
the  afternoon  and  was  called  upon  to  hold  the  inquest 
at  8 in  the  evening  of  the  same  day.  At  that  inquest 
he  secured  the  two  bullets  which  had  killed  the  first  two 
men  in  Washington  County  after  statehood,  and  has  these 
as  relics  of  that  historic  occasion.  Mr.  McCallister  held 
the  office  of  coroner  for  two  years,  and  was  the  only  one 
ever  to  hold  that  official ’position  in  Washington  County, 
since  in  the  meantime  the  courts  had  ruled  that  the  con- 
stitution had  not  provided  for  such  an  office,  and  it  has 
consequently  not  been  a distinct  subdivision  of  county 
functions  since  that  time. 

For  the  past  ten  years  Mr.  McCallister  has  given  his 
entire  time  to  undertaking,  although  he  owns  a farm  in 
Washington  County  and  one  in  Kansas.  Since  starting 
at  Bartlesville  he  has  established  a branch  of  his  business 
at  Dewey.  On  first  engaging  in  business  at  Bartlesville 
he  erected  a building  on  Third  Street  and  then  traded 
that  for  the  one  he  now  occupies  at  the  corner  of  Second 
and  Dewey  Avenue.  He  is  also  interested  in  the  oil 
industry. 

Mr.  McCallister  is  well  known  in  fraternal  circles, 
having  affiliations  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  with  the 
Uniform  Rank  of  that  order,  with  the  Fraternal  Order  of 
Eagles,  the  Order  of  Owls,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America,  the  Woodmen  of  the  World,  the  W.  C.,  with 
the  Dramatic  Order  of  Khorassan  and  with  the  LoyM 
Order  of  Moose  and  several  other  benevolent  and  mutual 
benefit  organizations. 

In  1891  Mr.  McCallister  married  Miss  Maggie  Pedigo, 
who  died  in  May,  1908.  Two  children  survive  her.  Ernest 
lives  at  home  and  is  associated  with  his  father  in  busi- 
ness at  Bartlesville.  Daisy  is  the  wife  of  C.  H.  Burt,  and 
they  manage  the  Dewey  branch  of  the  undertaking  firm. 
Mr!  McCallister  has  made  his  two  children  equal  partners 
in  the  McCallister  Undertaking  Company.  The  son  re- 
ceived a license  as  an  embalmer  when  he  was  sixteen 
years  of  age,  and  that  is  the  youngest  age  on  record  for 
such  a distinction.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Burt  have  one  child, 
Bonita,  and  when  she  was  born  she  made  the  fifth  living 
generation  in  the  family,  her  two  great-great-grand- 
mothers  being  living  at  that  time. 

When  Mr.  McCallister  came  to  the  vicinity  of  Bartles- 
ville a wheat  field  covered  a portion  of  the  site  now 
occupied  by  the  flourishing  city,  and  all  the  country 
south  of  Third  Street  was  an  open  range.  Among  his 
interesting  relies  of  the  past  is  a photograph  taken 
fifteen  years  ago  showing  himself  and  a party  of  friends 
with  more  than  500  pounds  of  catfish  hauled  out  of  the 
Caney  River  at  one  catch.  One  of  the  fish  weighed  more 
than  sixty-five  pounds.  These  fish  were  taken  out  at  the 
dam  in  the  river. 

Plumer  W.  Lutman.  . Maintaining  his  residence  in 
the  thriving  little  City  of  Edmond,  Oklahoma  County, 
and  prominently  concerned  in  its  development  and 
upbuilding,  Mr.  Lutman  has  been  a resident  of  this 
county  since  1898,  and  that  he  has  an  impregnable  place 
in  popular  confidence  and  esteem  needs  no  further  voucher 


1878 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


than  the  statement  that  he  has  served  consecutively  since 
1910  as  a member  of  the  board  of  county  commissioners 
of  Oklahoma  County, — a body  whose  functions  are  of  the 
most  important  order,  and  involve  the  expenditure  of 
many  thousands  of  dollars  of  public  funds  in  the  county 
in  which  is  situated  the  metropolis  and  capital  city  of  . 
the  state.  Mr.  Lutman  has  been  closely  and  successfully 
concerned  with  the  agricultural  and  livestock  industries 
during  the  entire  period  of  his  residence  in  Oklahoma, 
has  been  vigorous  and  progressive  as  a dealer  in  real 
estate,  and  his  influence  and  co-operation  are  invariably 
given  in  the  furtherance  of  judicious  policies  of  local 
government  and  in  support  of  measures  and  enterprises 
projected  for  the  general  good  of  the  community. 

Plumer  Wartes  Lutman  was  born  in  Perry  County, 
Pennsylvania,  on  the  14th  of  February,  1866,  and  is  a 
son  of  John  Miller  Lutman  and  Margaret  E.  (Comp) 
Lutman,  both  of  whom  were  born  and  reared  in  the  old 
Keystone  State.  Mrs.  Comp  was  the  daughter  of  Eev. 
Andrew  Comp.  Mr.  John  M.  Lutman  removed  with  his 
family  to  Morgan  County,  Missouri,  in  1867,  both  he 
and  his  wife  having  passed  the  residue  of  their  lives  in 
that,  state. 

He  whose  name  introduces  this  article  was  about  one 
year  old  at  the  time  of  the  family  immigration  to 
Missouri,  and  he  was  reared  to  adult  age  in  Morgan 
County,  that  state,  where  he  continued  to  attend  the 
public  schools  until  he  had  completed  a course  in  the 
high  school  at  Versailles,  the  county  seat.  That  he  made 
good  use  of  the  advantages  thus  afforded  him  is  evidenced 
by  the  fact  that  after  leaving  the  high  school  he  was 
for  three  years  a successful  and  popular  teacher  in  the 
public  schools  of  Pettis  County,  Missouri.  He  then  turned 
his  attention  to  agricultural  pursuits,  and  during  the 
long  intervening  years  he  has  never  severed  his  allegiance  - 
to  this  great  basic  industry.  He  is  at  the  present  time 
the  owner  of  valuable  property  in  Oklahoma,  where  he 
has  maintained  his  home  from  the  time  of  coming  to 
the  territory,  in  1898.  He  established  his  residence  that 
year  in  the  little  village  of  Edmond,  and  he  has  been 
one  of  the  prominent  figures  in  the  development  of  the 
town  into  one  of  the  most  attractive  and  prosperous 
cities  of  the  state,  besides  having  contributed  much  to 
the  general  industrial  and  civic  progress  of  Oklahoma 
County.  From  1900  until  1909  he  served  as  assistant 
postmaster  at  Edmond  and  in  the  meanwhile  controlled 
a large  and  prosperous  business  in  the  handling  of  real 
estate.  In  1910  Mr.  Lutman  was  elected,  as  a republican, 
a member  of  the  board  of  county  commissioners,  and 
of  this  office  he  has  since  continued  the  loyal,  circumspect 
and  valued  incumbent,  through  re-election  in  1912.  Con- 
cerning his  association  with  this  service  for  his  county 
the  following  estimate  has  been  given:  “As  a member 
of  this  important  board,  Mr.  Lutman  has  distinguished 
himself  as  a most  proficient  and  capable  official,  and  his 
counsel  has  frequently  resulted  in  saving  to  the  tax- 
payers of  the  county  large  sums  of  money,  through  his 
having  prevailed  upon  his  associate  members  to  coincide 
with  his  conservative  and  judicious  policies.  A successful 
business  man  and  one  of  utmost  civic  loyalty,  he  has 
naturally  brought  to  bear  in  the  discharge  of  his  public 
duties  marked  efficiency  and  safe  business  methods.  ’ ’ 

Mr.  Lutman  is  known  as  a zealous  and  effective  advo- 
cate of  the  principles  and  policies  of  the  republican  party, 
has  attained  to  the  thirty-second  degree  in  the  Ancient 
Accepted  Scottish  Eite  of  the  time-honored  Masonic 
fraternity,  besides  which  both  he  and  his  wife  are  affili- 
ated with  the  adjunct  organization,  the  Order  of  the 
Eastern  Star.  In  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows 
he  has  filled  all  official  chairs  in  both  the  subordinate 


lodge  and  the  encampment.  Both  he  and  his  wife  hold 
membership  in  the  Presbyterian  Church. 

At  Billings,  Noble  County,  Oklahoma,  on  the  15th  of 
August,  1900,  Mr.  Lutman  wedded  Miss  Beulah  M. 
Sears,  a daughter  of  Wiggins  W.  and  Mary  (Cushing- 
berry)  Sears,  both  natives  of  Kentucky,  in  which  state 
Mrs.  Lutman ’s  paternal  grandfather  was  a slaveholder 
and  an  extensive  breeder  of  fine  horses  and  mules  prior 
to  the  Civil  war,  he  having  been  said  to  have  had  the 
largest  number  of  mules  in  the  Bluegrass  State,  long 
famous  as  a center  for  the  breeding  and  raising  of  high- 
grade  stock.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lutman  have  no  children. 

Charles  G.  Vannest.  One  of  the  best  known  educa- 
tors in  the  old  Cherokee  Strip  country  of  Oklahoma  is 
Charles  G.  Vannest,  now  superintendent  of  the  Medford 
schools,  and  formerly  identified  for  a number  of  years 
with  the  office  of  eoiinty  superintendent  of  Noble  County. 
He  came  to  this  state  in  1906,  a year  before  statehood. 
He  is  an  educator  with  high  ideals  and  with  a keen 
understanding  of  conditions  and  requirements.  Much  of 
his  work  in  Oklahoma  has  been  as  an  organizer  and  de- 
veloper. He  has  laid  the  foundation  for  sound  and 
wholesome  educational  work  in  Noble  County  and  his 
name  is  known  among  educators  all  over  the  state. 

A native  of  Vermilion  County,  Indiana,  Charles  G. 
Vannest  was  born  June  7,  1880.  He  belongs  to  what  was 
really  the  first  white  family  of  Vermilion  County,  a 
county  that  lies  along  the  Wabash  Eiver  in  Western 
Indiana.  His  great-grandfather  was  John  Vannest, 
who  is  given  the  distinction  of  having  been  the  first 
permanent  white  settler  in  Vermilion  County.  He  came 
out  to  Indiana  from  Virginia  about  1816,  and  secured 
a tract  of  Government  land  on  which  the  City  of  Clinton 
in  Vermilion  County  now  stands.  He  lived  there  and 
devoted  the  rest  of  his  years  to  farming.  His  family 
comprised  several  sons,  one  of  whom  was  Samuel  Vannest. 
Samuel  Vannest  married  Amanda  Potter,  and  their  lives 
were  spent  as  farmers  in  Vermilion  County.  They  have 
three  daughters  and  three  sons:  Samuel,  Polk,  Taylor, 
Jane,  Mary  and  Serena.  The  daughter  Serena  is  the 
wife  of  J.  F.  Eaine  and  lives  in  Kansas. 

Taylor  Vannest,  father  of  the  Oklahoma  educator, 
was  also  a Vermilion  County  farmer,  where  he  spent  all 
his  life.  He  died  in  Clinton  in  that  county  in  1913  at 
the  age  of  seventy-nine.  He  was.  a soldier  in  the  Union 
Army  during  the  Civil  war,  having  gone  out  with  Com- 
pany D of  the  Eighty-fifth  Indiana  Infantry  as  a private. 
He  was  in  Sherman’s  army  and  after  the  fall  of  Atlanta 
went  with  that  great  commander  on  the  march  to  the 
sea.  The  earlier  part  of  the  war  he  was  in  the  western 
campaign  and  was  wounded  in  the  battle  of  Pea  Eidge, 
Arkansas.  After  the  war  he  gave  his  time  with  character- 
istic industry  to  his  work  as  a farmer,  and  though  an 
intelligent  voter  and  a republican,  he  never  held  an 
office.  He  was  a member  of  the  Methodist  Church. 
Taylor  Vannest  married  Catherine  Henry,  who  was  one 
of  the  five  children  of  James  and  Mary  (Tolle)  Henry 
who  came  from  Kentucky.  Catherine  Henry’s  brothers 
served  in  the  Union  Army  from  Kentucky.  Mrs.  Taylor 
Vannest  died  in  April,  1915.  Her  children  were:  Harry, 
of  Clinton;  Claud,  of  Clinton;  Maud,  wife  of  Clint 
Bennett  of  Sidel,  Illinois;  and  Charles  G.  Mrs.  Taylor 
Vannest  by  a former  marriage  to  William  Mitchell  had 
one  son,  Samuel  Mitchell,  who  died  in  Indiana. 

The  boyhood  of  Charles  G.  Vannest  was  spent  in  the 
Town  of  Clinton  on  the  banks  of  the  Wabash  Eiver.  He 
attended  the  local  schools,  graduating  from  high  school, 
and  then  entered  the  Terre  Haute  Normal  School,  where 
he  was  graduated  in  1900.  His  first  work  as  a teacher 
was  done  in  the  rural  schools  of  his  native  county,  and 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1879 


afterwards  lie  became  one  of  the  instructors  in  the  schools 
at  Clinton.  After  five  years  as  a teacher  he  turned  his 
attention  to  newspaper  work  and  for  a year  was  editor 
of  the  Clintonian,  a weekly  paper  at  Clinton. 

Giving  up  his  connections  in  his  native  county,  Mr. 
Vannest  came  to  the  Southwest  for  the  purpose  of  look- 
ing up  a newspaper  location.  Instead  he  was  attracted 
into  school  work,  a turn  which  has  been  very  beneficial 
to  the  country,  though  perhaps  not  as  remunerative  as 
some  other  occupations  would  have  been.  He  was  first 
located  at  Morrison  as  principal  of  the  schools.  Morri- 
son is  in  Noble  County,  and  after  about  two  years  as 
principal  he  was  elected  county  superintendent.  Alto- 
gether he  spent  four  and  a half  years  in  that  office.  His 
chief  aim  in  work  as  superintendent  was  to  secure  the 
proper  consolidation  of  local  districts  and  the  correla- 
tion of  subjects  in  the  curriculum  of  instruction  in  the 
rural  schools.  His  work  in  that  office  attracted  much 
attention,  and  his  recognized  qualifications  caused  his 
nomination  by  the  republicans  of  the  state  for  the 
office  of  state  superintendent  of  public  instruction.  This 
was  in  the  campaign  of  1912,  when  the  republican  party 
was  itself  divided,  and  though  Mr.  Vannest  made  a very 
vigorous  campaign  there  was  hardly  any  chance  from  the 
beginning  that  he  would  be  elected.  In  July,  1913,  Mr. 
Vannest  took  his  present  position  as  superintendent  of 
schools  at  Medford,  becoming  the  successor  of  J.  O. 
Allen.  He  has  always  given  his  active  support  to  the 
teachers  association  in  Noble  County,  and  while  county 
superintendent  he  was  a member  of  the  State  Teachers’ 
Association  and  of  the  County  Superintendents’  Organ- 
ization. Mr.  Vannest  has  accumulated  a great  fund  of 
experience  as  a school  man,  and  he  is  now  engaged  in 
compiling  a United  States  history  and  a work  on  civics 
for  use  in  the  common  schools. 

He  cast  his  first  presidential  vote  in  Indiana  in  1904 
for  Roosevelt.  While  in  his  native  county  he  took  a 
considerable  part  in  politics  and  was  a member  of  the 
county  committee  and  its  secretary.  He  was  elected 
mayor  of  Perry  in  April,  1915.  Fraternally  he  is  affili- 
ated with  the  lodge  and  chapter  of  Masons  and  with 
both  the  subordinate  and  encampment  branches  of  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  His  church  is  the 
Methodist. 

In  Indiana  on  April  13,  1901,  Mr.  Vannest  married 
Miss  Maud  Carmichael.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Vannest  are  not 
people  who  take  much  account  of  superstitious  belief. 
They  were  married  on  Friday  the  13th.  Mrs.  Van- 
nest is  a daughter  of  C.  A.  and  Ruth  (Moss)  Carmichael, 
her  father  having  been  born  in  Greene  County,  Indiana, 
and  was  a farmer  in  Vermilion  County,  Illinios.  Mrs. 
Vannest  is  the  oldest  of  six  children,  and  was  a success- 
ful teacher  before  her  marriage. 

Charles  Edgar  Hill,  proprietor  and  editor  of  the 
Granite  Enterprise,  assumed  his  present  position  in 
1909.  Today  no  man  in  Granite  is  better  known'  or 
more  highly  esteemed  than  he. 

Mr.  Hill  was  born  in  Jackson  County,  North  Carolina, 
on  May  24,  1869,  and  is  a son  of  Charles  D.  Hill, 
born  in  South  Carolina  in  1844.  The  Hills  are  an  Irish 
family,  and  they  came  to  Virginia  from  Ireland  among 
the  first  emigrants  to  that  state.  One  of  them,  a brother 
of  the  paternal  great-grandfather  of  the  subject,  was  a 
colonel  in  the  Revolutionary  war,  and  was  killed  in  action 
at  Kings  Mountain. 

Charles  D.  Hill  moved  to  Jackson  County,  North  Caro- 
lina, from  his  native  state,  South  Carolina,  in  company 
with  his  parents  when  he  was  a boy  in  1852,  and  in 
1870  he  went  to  Macon  County,  North  Carolina,  where 
he  lived  until  1894,  when  he  went  to  Grayson  County, 


Texas.  In  1906  he  moved  to  Pawnee,  Oklahoma,  where 
he  remained  three  years  and  in  1909  took  up  his  resi- 
dence in  Davenport,  Oklahoma,  where  he  now  resides 
and  is  engaged  in  the  nursery  and  poultry  business.  All 
his  previous  years  had  been  spent  in  mining  in  his 
various  locations,  but  he  is  how  content  with  the  quiet 
life  he  leads  in  Davenport.  Mr.  Hill  served  three  years 
in  the  Confederate  army,  enlisting  from  South  Carolina 
in  the  First  South  Carolina  Heavy  Artillery.  He  is  a 
member  of  the  Methodist  Church  and  a steward  therein. 
His  polities  are  those  of  a democrat  and  he  is  a member 
of  the  Odd  Fellows. 

Mr.  Hill  married  Miss  Jane  Crenshaw,  who  was  born 
in  South  Carolina  in  1847,  and  eleven  children  were  born 
to  them.  Charles  Edgar  Hill  of  this  review  was  the  first 
born.  Thomas  Edward  lives  in  Blackburn,  where  he  is 
a prosperous  farmer.  Frank  Clifford  is  a pressman  in 
Marshall,  Texas.  Jane  married  W.  F.  Coombs,  of  Deni- 
son, Texas,  where  they  have  a fine  farm.  Herbert  Clinton 
is  a farmer  in  Daverport,  Oklahoma.  Walter  died  at  the 
-age  of  twenty-one  years.  Sallie  married  Roy  Youwell, 
and  they  live  on  a farm  in  Whitewright,  Texas.  Daisey 
married  Charles  Barker,  a farmer  of  Iowa.  Annie  is 
the  wife  of  Carl  Whitman,  a druggist  at  Henryetta,  Okla- 
homa. Christine  married  H.  Isbell,  a Blackburn  farmer. 
Felix  Grundy  is  a farmer  of  Blackburn,  and  Georgia,  the 
youngest,  lives  with  her  parents. 

Charles  Edgar  Hill  was  reared  on  his  father’s  farm 
until  he  reached  the  age  of  eighteen.  During  that  time 
he  entered  the  printing  office  of  the  Highland  Enter- 
prise, in  North  Carolina,  and  there  served  a printer’s 
apprenticeship.  In  1887  he  went  to  Knox,  Tennessee, 
traveling  two  years  as  a salesman,  and  in  1890  went  to 
Dallas,  where  he  was  employed  in  various  printing 
establishments.  He  continued  there  until  1896  when  he 
went  to  Fort  Worth  and  there  assisted  in  the  establish- 
ment of  the  Fort  Worth  Register,  now  called  the  Fort 
Worth  Record,  and  one  of  the  leading  newspapers  of  the 
state.  Mr.  Hill  remained  there  for  a year,  and  in 
1907-8-9  was  engaged  in  the  job  printing  business  in 
Fort  Worth.  In  1909  he  came  to  Granite,  Oklahoma,  in 
search  of  a new  field,  and  he  promptly  bought  out  the 
Granite  Enterprise,  which  he  has  since  owned  and 
operated. 

The  Enterprise  was  established  in  May,  1900,  by 
James  Scarborough,  and  is  a democratic  paper  in  politi- 
cal sentiment.  The  plant  is  situated  on  Fourth  Street, 
just  off  Main  Street,  and  under  Mr.  Hill’s  management 
the  equipment  has  been  brought  up  to  a high  standard. 
The  Enterprise  circulates  in  Greer  and  other  counties  in 
Oklahoma,  as  well  as  in  Texas,  and  has  a large  certified 
circulation  outside  its  home  state. 

Mr.  Hill,  who  is  a democrat,  was  elected  by  acclamation 
to  the  office  of  mayor  of  Granite  in  1915,  for  a term  of 
two  years.  He  is  a member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church,  and  his  fraternal  affiliations  are  with  the 
Masons,  Granite  Lodge  No.  134,  Ancient  Free  and  Ac- 
cepted Masons,  and  Granite  Lodge  No.  127,  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  of  which  he  is  secretary.  He  is  a 
member  of  the  State  Press  Association  and  the  Typo- 
graphical Union. 

In  1891  Mr.  Hill  was  married  in  Arcadia,  Louisiana, 
to  Miss  Mattie  Owen,  daughter  of  Rev.  W.  D.  Owen,  a 
Presbyterian  minister,  now  deceased.  She  died  in  Fort 
Worth,  Texas,  in  1898,  leaving  him  two  children,  Cecil 
and  Earl,  both  employed  by  the  Dallas  News,  in  Dallas, 
Texas. 

Mr.  Hill  married  a second  time,  when  in  1901  Miss 
Lena  Van  Vark  became  his  wife  in  Fort  Worth.  She  is 
a daughter  of  Peter  Van  Vark,  a farmer,  now  deceased. 

Five  children  have  been  born  to  them.  Ethel  is  now 
attending  the  Oklahoma  College  for  Women,  in  Chickasha. 


1880 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Charles  and  Irene  are  attending  the  Granite  High  School, 
and  the  two  youngest,  Ernest  and  Albert,  are  yet  in  the 
home. 

The  Hills  own  a nice  home  on  West  Third  Street,  and 
they  have  a wide  circle  of  friends  and  acquaintances  in 
the  city. 

Daisy  M.  Pratt.  Oklahoma  is  a vigorous  young 
commonwealth  of  large  things,  and  in  nothing  has  its 
bigness  been  more  effectively  manifested  than  the  meri- 
ted recognition  it  has  given  to  its  womenfolk  in  con- 
nection with  governmental  and  educational  affairs  in 
its  various  counties.  The  intellectual  attainments  and 
executive  ability  of  Miss  Daisy  Maud  Pratt  have  thus 
brought  her  prominently  forward  in  the  domain  of  prac- 
tical educational  work  and  have  given  her  the  distinc- 
tion of  being  chosen  to  her  present  office,  that  of  county 
superintendent  of  schools  for  Blaine  County,  an  exalting 
position  in  which  she  is  giving  a most  able  and  progres- 
sive administration. 

Miss  Pratt  is  a representative  of  a sterling  pioneer 
family  of  the  fine  old  Hoosier  State,  which  she  claims 
as  the  place  of  her  nativity.  On  her  father’s  farm  in 
Ripley  County,  Indiana,  she  was  born  on  the  19th  of 
May,  1885,  and  that  she  has  imbibed  fully  the  inspiration 
and  progressive  spirit  of  the  great  West  is  not  to  be 
held  a matter  of  wonderment,  for  in  the  year  succeeding 
that  of  her  birth  her  parents  removed  to  Kansas,  a few 
years  later  finding  them  numbered  among  the  pioneer 
settlers  in  what  is  now  the  State  of  Oklahoma.  Miss 
Pratt  is  a daughter  of  John  Diah  and  Almira  C.  (Shel- 
don) Pratt,  the  former  of  whom  was  born  in  Prattsburg, 
Ripley  County,  Indiana,  and  the  latter  in  Iowa.  Pratts- 
burg was  named  in  honor  of  the  Pratt  family.  The 
paternal  grandfather  of  Miss  Pratt  was  a native  of 
Maine  and  a scion  of  a sterling  colonial  family  of  New 
England,  where  the  original  American  progenitors  set- 
tled upon  their  emigration  from  England.  The  grand- 
father of  Miss  Pratt,  who  was  born  in  Maine  March  12, 
1808,  became  a pioneer  in  Ripley  County,  Indiana,  where 
he  was  owner  of  some  large  sawmills.  He  died  while  a 
passenger  on  a Mississippi  River  packet-boat,  which  was 
near  the  City  of  New  Orleans  at  the  time,  he  having 
been  about  fifty  years  old  at  the  time  of  his  demise. 
He  was  buried  at  Prattsburg,  Indiana.  His  wife, 
Nancy  Hunter  Pratt,  survived  him  by  a number  of 
years,  and  died  at  Rago,  Kingman  County,  Kansas.  His 
father,  Jonathan  Pratt,  served  as  a messenger  for 
General  Washington  in  the  War  of  the  Revolution. 

Miss  Pratt ’s  father ’s  grandfather  on  his  mother ’s 
side  was  John  Hunter,  of  Strong,  Massachusetts.  On  April 
15,  1805,  he  was  appointed  under  Caleb  Strong,  governor 
of  Massachusetts,  as  ‘ ‘ captain  of  a company  in  the  Fifth 
Regiment  of  the  Second  Brigade,  Eighth  Division  of  the 
Militia  of  this  commonwealth.”  This  paper  is  signed 
by  John  Strong,  secretary.  This  same  John  Hunter 
was  appointed  by  Christopher  Gore,  governor  of  Massa- 
chusetts, as  justice  of  the  peace  of  the  County  of 
Somerset,  Massachusetts.  This  appointment  was  made 
February  19,  1810.  Signed  by  William  Tudor,  secre- 
tary commonwealth. 

The  authentic  record  of  this  patriotic  service  makes 
Miss  Pratt  eligible  for  membership  in  the  Society  of  the 
Daughters  of  the  American  Revolution.  The  founders 
of  the  Pratt  family  in  America  were  three  brothers  of 
the  name  who  came  from  England  in  the  colonial  era 
of  our  national  history  and  who  became  pioneer  settlers 
of  Maine,  the  historic  Pine  Tree  State. 

On  the  maternal  side  Miss  Pratt  is  a descendant  of 
George  Niles  Sheldon  who  came  from  Canada  to  York 


State  in  1812.  He  was  a Methodist  preacher.  His  son, 
Robert  Palmer  Sheldon,  was  born  in  Canada  in  1806,  and 
in  1824  he  was  married  to  Lucy  Amy  Marsh.  He  was 
also  a Methodist  preacher,  and  worked  as  a missionary 
among  the  Indians  in  Michigan  in  an  early  day.  In  the 
magnificent  new  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  at  Mount 
Pleasant,  Michigan,  one  whole  window  is  inscribed  to 
the  memory  of  Rev.  Robert  P.  Sheldon. 

The  grandfather  of  Miss  Pratt,  Ancile  Lorenzo  Shel- 
don, was  born  in  Courtland  County,  New  York,  Janu- 
ary 21,  1826,  and  lived  in  Ohio,  indiana,  Iowa,  Okla- 
homa and  Nebraska.  He  was  married  in  1848  to  Mary 
Jane  Richardson  and  they  had  three  children:  Harmon 

Palmer,  Almira  C.  and  Wilber  Clarence.  Mrs.  Sheldon 
died  in  1865  and  several  years  after  her  death  Mr. 
Sheldon  was  married  to  Mary  R.  Sutton.  To  them  two 
' daughters  were  born,  Maud  S.  and  Clara.  Mrs.  Mary 
Sutton  Sheldon  died  of  typhoid  fever,  and  in  1877 
Ancile  L.  Sheldon  married  Georgia  Edwards  of  Page 
County,  Iowa,  who  survived  him  and  is  now  living  in 
Omaha,  Nebraska.  Mr.  Sheldon  was  a devout  Chris- 
tian and  a devout  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church.  His  early  life  was  spent  in  farming  and  in  after 
years  he  owned  and  kept  a large  hotel,  and  later  owned 
and  operated  grain  elevators.  His  last  days  were  spent 
with  his  daughter,  Mrs.  Almira  Pratt  of  Darrow,  Okla- 
homa. 

John  D.  Pratt,  father  of  the  popular  superintendent 
of  schools  in  Blaine  County,  Oklahoma,  was  born  in 
Ripley  County,  Indiana,  in  the  year  1852.  In  1886  he 
disposed  of  his  farm  property  in  his  native  state  and 
removed  with  his  family  to  Kingman  County,  Kansas,  in 
the  second  tier  of  counties  above  the  Oklahoma  State 
line.  There  he  continued  his  operations  as  an  agricultur- 
ist and  stock-grower  until  1891,  when  he  came  to  the 
newly  organized  Territory  of  Oklahoma,  took  part  in 
the  ‘ ‘ run  ’ ’ made  by  ambitious  settlers  at  the  opening 
of  the  territory  to  settlement  and  obtained  a tract  of 
land  in  Kingfisher  County,  as  at  present  constituted. 
He  did  not,  however,  perfect  his  title  to  this  government 
claim,  but  in  April,  1892,  at  the  Cheyenne  and  Arapahoe 
opening,  he  “made  the  run”  into  this  new  district  and 
entered  claim  to  a homestead  of  160  acres  in  the  north- 
ern part  of  what  is  now  Blaine  County.  He  improved 
this  property,  developed  the  same  into  a productive  and 
valuable  farm  and  it  is  still  owned  by  the  family, 
the  place  being  eligibly  situated  three  miles  west  of  the 
town  of  Homestead.  He  subsequently  rented  the  farm  and 
moved  to  Homestead.  At  the  time  of  the  platting  and 
upbuilding  of  the  new  town  of  Darow  Mr.  Pratt  removed 
to  the  new  town,  and  there  he  continued  to  maintain  his 
home  until  his  death,  which  occured  August  7,  1914,  his 
widow  still  residing  in  the  attractive  homestead  which  he 
there  provided. 

Mr.  Pratt  was  a man  of  strong  mentality,  broad 
information  and  well  fortified  convictions,  the  while  his 
life. was  guided  and  governed  by  the  highest  principles 
of  integrity  and  honor.  He  manifested  a specially  lively 
interest  in  public  affairs  and,  after  his  removal  to  Okla- 
homa, did  all  in  his  power  to  further  the  development 
and  progress  of  both  the  territory  and  the  state,  was 
unswerving  in  his  allegiance  to  the  republican  party, 
and  was  influential  in  political  and  other  civic  affairs. 
He  served  many  years  as  a member  of  the  school  board 
and  held  also  the  offices  of  justice  of  the  peace  and 
notary  public.  He  was  a republican  committeeman  for 
yyears  and  delegate  to  many  conventions. 

She  whose  name  initiates  this  review  was  the  fourth 
in  order  of  birth  in  a family  of  seven  children,  and 
concerning  the  others  the  following  brief  data  are 
available.  Nella,  a young  woman  of  gracious  person- 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1881 


ality  and  high  attainments,  died  on  the  13th  of  June, 
1906,  at  the  age  of  thirty-two  years,  she  having  been 
the  wife  of  Clifford  Drum  Thaxton  and  having  served  as 
county  superintendent  of  schools  of  Blaine  County  for 
some  time  prior  to  her  death.  Mr.  Thaxton  is  now 
superintendent  of  the  schools  of  Port  Hill,  Idaho.  Lola 
W.,  the  second  daughter,  is  principal  of  the  Central 
School  of  Watonga,  the  judicial  center  of  Blaine  County. 
Diah  Sheldon  resides  at  Duncan,  Stephens  County,  and 
is  one  of  the  representative  farmers  of  that  section  of 
Oklahoma.  Florence  Mabel  is  the  wife  of  Earl  A. 
Sehreffler,  a blacksmith  at  Homestead,  Blaine  County. 
Cary  A.  remains  with  his  widowed  mother  at  Darrow  and 
has  the  supervision  of  the  old  homestead  farm.  Delphine 
Almira,  a graduate  of  the  Oklahoma  State  Normal  School 
at  Alva,  is  the  wife  of  Rolla  T.  Hoberecht,  who  holds  an 
executive  position  in  the  First  National  Bank  at  Watonga. 

Miss  Daisy  M.  Pratt  was  about  six  years  of  age  at 
the  time  of  the  family  removal  to  Oklahoma  Territory, 
and  she  was  reared  to  adult  age  in  Blaine  County,  to 
whose  public  schools  she  is  indebted  for  her  early  educa- 
tional discipline.  Later  she  attended  the  Southwestern 
Oklahoma  State  Normal  School,  at  Weatherford,  and 
she  has  continued  an  ambitious  student,  has  made  marked 
advancement  in  the  higher  planes  of  academic  learning, 
and  has  proved  also  a most  successful  and  popular 
teacher,  as  well  as  a strong  executive  in  the  directing 
of  educational  affairs  of  important  order.  In  1901 
Miss  Pratt  served  her  pedagogic  novitiate  by  serving 
as  teacher  in  the  rural  school  of  District  No.  74,  Blaine 
County,  and  here  she  brought,  through  consideration  of 
kindliness,  combined  with  insistent  discipline,  the  best 
of  order  and  most  efficient  work  in  a school  that  had 
previously  been  known  for  its  unruliness.  After  teach- 
ing two  terms  in  this  district  Miss  Pratt  taught  one 
year,  1903,  in  the  primary  department  of  the  village 
schools  of  Homestead,  and  during  the  following  year  she 
held  the  position  of  principal.  In  1905-6  she  was  a 
valued  and  popular  teacher  in  the  public  schools  of  Wa- 
tonga, the  county  seat  of  Blaine  County,  where,  in  her 
official  and  private  capacity,  she  now  maintains  her 
home.  In  1907  she  became  principal  of  the  schools  at 
Darrow,  where  she  continued  her  effective  labors  until 
1910,  when  there  came  a most  gratifying  popular  recog- 
nition of  her  ability  and  successful  achievement,  in  that 
she  was  elected  to  her  present  responsible  office  of 
superintendent  of  schools  of  Blaine  County, — this  prefer- 
ment, in  view  of  her  having  maintained  her  home  in  the 
county  since  her  childhood,  setting  at  naught  the  appli- 
cation of  the  conditions  implied  in  the  scriptural  aphor- 
ism that  ‘ ‘ a prophet  is  not  without  honor  save  in  his 
own  country.  ’ ’ 

Miss  Pratt  assumed  her  official  duties  as  county 
superintendent  of  schools  in  January,  1911,  and  the 
best  voucher  for  the  admirable  way  in  which  she  has 
administered  the  affairs  of  the  office  is  that  offered  by 
her  re-election  in  November,  1912,  and  again  in  No- 
vember, 1914,  so  that  she  is  now  serving  her  third 
consecutive  term.  Within  her  jurisdiction  are  111 
schools;  158  teachers  are  employed;  and  the  enrollment 
of  pupils  shows  a total  of  5,006.  Miss  Pratt  has  made 
an  excellent  record  as  one  of  the  admirably  qualified  and 
specially  successful  county  superintendents  of  Oklahoma 
and  is  enthusiastic  and  active  in  all  matters  pertaining 
to  educational  work  in  the  state.  She  holds  membership 
in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  and  is  a popular 
teacher  in  the  Sunday  School.  In  a fraternal  way  she 
is  affiliated  with  the  Royal  Neighbors  and  the  Daughters 
of  Rebekah.  She  is  a popular  factor  in  the  social  life 
of  her  home  county,  throughout  which  her  circle  of 


friends  is  virtually  coincident  with  that  of  her  acquaint- 
ances. 

J.  M.  Hanna,  M.  D.  In  the  picturesque  and  fertile 
Valley  of  the  Washita  in  the  eastern  part  of  Grady 
County  blossomed  the  attractive  Town  of  Alex.  The 
community  abounds  in  evidences  of  prosperity,  and  one 
of  the  chief  of  these  is  a public  school  building  that  cost 
$20,000.  Matching  the  rich  natural  resources  has  been 
the  character  of  the  men  who  have  been  chiefly  instru- 
mental in  creating  these  evidences  of  prosperity,  and 
one  who  is  accounted  a leader  among  them  all  is  Dr. 
J.  M.  Hanna,  who  as  a member  of  the  board  of  education 
helped  to  direct  the  destinies  of  the  community’s  public 
education.  Doctor  Hanna  has  also  been  mayor  of  Alex 
and  president  of  its  live  Commercial  Club,  the  activities 
of  which  have  been  instrumental  in  building  excellent 
highways  and  attracting  men  of  means  to  develop  the 
agricultural  and  industrial  resources  around  the  town. 
It  has  been  well  said  that  there  has  never  been  an  enter- 
prise in  behalf  of  the  community’s  welfare  which  Doctor 
Hanna  has  not  done  his  best  to  help  along,  and  partic- 
ular credit  is  given  him  above  all  other  local  citizens  for 
the  successful  basis  upon  which  the  public  schools  of  the 
village  now  rest.  Doctor  Hanna  has  been  with  the  Town 
of  Alex  since  its  beginning,  and  has  given  largely  of  his 
time,  energy  and  money  to  make  it  a wholesome  place 
for  good  people  to  live  and  prosper. 

Doctor  Hanna  was  a poor  but  ambitious  lad  during  the 
’70s.  He  completed  a common  school  and  academy 
education  at  Saltillo,  Tennessee,  and  then  worked  for 
the  modest  salary  of  $10  a month,  out  of  which  he  saved 
enough  for  a start  in  medical  education.  By  going  to 
college  a while  and  practicing  for  a while  he  completed 
his  medical  course,  graduating  with  the  degree  M.  D. 
from  the  Memphis  Hospital  Medical  College  at  Memphis, 
Tennessee.  His  first  regular  schooling  in  medicine  was 
acquired  at  the  Fort  Worth  Texas  Medical  College.  After 
graduating  he  completed  a post-graduate  course  in  the 
New  Orleans  Polyclinic.,  His  practice  as  a regular 
physician  began  at  Lebanon,  Indian  Territory,  in  1895, 
and  that  was  his  home  for  twelve  years.  He  moved  to 
Alex  in  1907,  and  there  has  been  a pioneer  not  only  in 
his  profession  but  in  many  broad  civic  activities.  His 
reputation  is  of  the  best  of  a physician,  and  his  practice 
is  among  the  best  of  a thrifty  class  of  town  and  country 
people. 

Dr.  J.  M.  Hanna  was  born  in  Tennessee  in  1866,  a son 
of  Madison  C.  and  Elizabeth  (Hawkins)  Hanna.  His 
father  was  a pioneer  in  the  profession  of  dentistry  in 
that  state,  but  also  for  many  years  was  well  known  as  a 
local  Methodist  preacher  and  a skilled  mechanic.  Evi- 
dences of  his  talent  in  the  latter  line  are  indicated  in 
the  fact  that  he  perfected  some  of  the  types  of  thresh- 
ing machines  then  in  use.  Doctor  Hanna’s  grandfather 
was  Capt.  James  Hanna,  also  a native  of  Tennessee  and 
a well  known  figure  in  his  time  and  generation.  Two 
brothers  of  Doctor  Hanna,  Thomas  W.  and  William  A., 
are  car  builders  in  the  employ  of  the  Iron  Mountain 
Railway  Company  at  Little  Rock,  Arkansas.  Two 
brothers  are  deceased:  Dr.  J.  B.,  who  was  a practicing 

physician  at  Coalgate,  Oklahoma,  and  C.  N.,  who  was  a 
merchant  at  Dallas,  Texas.  A deceased  sister  was  Miss 
Leora  Beatrice,  who-  died  while  attending  school. 

Doctor  Hanna  was  married  at  Beebe,  Arkansas,  to  Miss 
Isabel  Virginia  Scrape.  Her  grandfather  was  serving 
in  the  English  navy  at  the  time  of  the  War  of  1812  and 
being  then  temporarily  a resident  of  United  States,  went 
into  hiding  in  Mexico  and  changed  his  name  to  avoid 
fighting  against  the  people  of  this  country.  Doctor  and 
Mrs.  Hanna  have  five  children:  Ralph  M.,  who  is  now 


1882 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


twenty-one  years  of  age  and  is  employed  by  the  Ford 
Motor  Car  Company  at  Chickasha;  Orin  Virginia,  Mary 
Lewis,  James  O’Neill  and  Carthell  Mott,  all  at  home  and 
attending  school. 

Doctor  Hanna  is  a member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church,  South,  and  fraternally  has  affiliations  with  the 
Masons,  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the 
Woodmen  of  the  World.  He  is  a member  of  the  Alex 
Commercial  Club  and  the  Alex  Board  of  Education,  is 
chairman  of  the  Grady  County  Election  Board  and  is  city 
physician  of  Alex. 

Bev.  L.  W.  Marks.  In  the  little  City  of  Edmond  L. 
W.  Marks  is  distinguished  for  his  work  as  minister, 
and  also  for  his  successful  administration  of  the 
municipality  in  the  office  of  mayor  up  to  April,  1915. 
Perhaps  the  most  important  work  by  which  Mr.  Marks 
will  deserve  the  gratitude  of ' future  generations  has 
been  that  of  historical  secretary  of  the  State  Baptist 
Convention.  The  religious  activities  of  the  old  Indian 
Territory  cannot  be  passed  over  without  robbing  the 
history  of  that  country  of  much  of  the  romance  that 
has  made  it  inviting.  The  minister,  of  many  denom- 
inations, was  closely  identified  with  the  annals  of  the 
Five  Civilized  Tribes.  Probably  no  man  of  recent  years 
has  done  more  toward  revealing  the  lives  of  minister- 
missionaries  in  that  region  than  Mr.  Marks.  In  his 
position  already  named  he  has  for  the  past  eleven  years 
delved  into  the  lives  of  many  early  missionaries  of  the 
Baptist  Church  in  Oklahoma.  From  what  he  brought  out 
he  has  produced  “L.  L.  Smith  of  Oklahoma,  a Man  of 
God  on  the  Frontier,”  a little  book  that  has  been  gen- 
erally circulated  over  the  state.  He  has  also  written, 
down  to  1880,  the  most  complete  account  of  the  Baptist 
Church  in  Oklahoma.  His  source  of  inspiration  for  the 
data  of  this  manuscript  was  Dr.  J.  S.  Murrow  of  Atoka, 
one  of  the  editors  of  the  “Standard  History  of  Okla- 
homa,” who  is  the  dean  of  living  missionaries  in  Okla- 
homa. Doctor  Murrow  furnished  the  ‘ ‘ key  ’ ’ to  many  an 
Indian  home  and  many  an  Indian  story  and  legend  in  the 
land  of  the  Five  Tribes.  Mr.  Marks  has  written  of  the 
remarkable  careers  of  Doctor  Murrow,  Dr.  H.  F.  Bucker 
and  Jesse  Bushy  head,  a Cherokee  leader  and  preacher, 
and  of  John  Brown,  for  thirty  years  governor  of  the  Sem- 
inole Nation.  He  learned  that  Bushyhead  made  settle- 
ment at  a place  called  Baptist,  near  Tahlequah,  and  that 
there  W.  P.  Upham  of  Boston,  early  in  the  ’40s, 
published  the  first  newspaper  in  Indian  Territory. 

L.  W.  Marks  was  born  at  Canton,  Missouri,  February 
1,  1862,  a son  of  George  Edward  and  Mary  J.  (Henton) 
Marks.  He  has  one  sister,  Mrs.  John  L.  Highbee,  wife 
of  a farmer  in  Lewis  County,  Missouri.  The  mother,  now 
at  the  venerable  age  of  eighty-one  years,  lives  with 
this  daughter.  The  father  of  Mr.  Marks  was  a captain 
in  the  Confederate  army  under  General  Price.  A great- 
uncle,  General  Martin  E.  Green,  was  killed  at  Vicksburg. 
The  maternal  grandparents  were  among  the  first  settlers 
on  Upper  Sugar  Creek  in  Northeast  Missouri  during 
the  early  ’30s. 

Bev.  Mr.  Marks  was  educated  in  the  public  schools 
at  Lewis  County,  Missouri,  the  LaGrange  College  at 
LaGrange,  Missouri,  the  William  Jewell  College  at 
Liberty,  Missouri,  and  the  Southern  Baptist  Theological 
Seminary  at  Louisville,  Kentucky,  from  which  he  was 
graduated  with  the  degree  Master  of  Theology.  He  had 
entered  the  Baptist  ministry  in  1888,  and  finished  his 
collegiate  education  after  taking  up  active  work  as  a 
pastor.  For  2%  years  he  served  as  pastor  of  the  Bap- 
tist Church  at  Lamar,  Missouri,  two  years  at  Shelby- 
ville,  Missouri,  two  years  at  Meadville,  Missouri, 
and  for  five  years  had  charge  of  the  church  at  Edmond, 


Oklahoma.  For  eleven  years  he  was  on  the  editorial  staff 
of  Word  and  Way  of  Kansas  City,  one  of  the  leading 
Baptist  publications  in  the  country,  and  for  ten  years 
has  represented  that  publication  in  Oklahoma.  Besides 
being  historical  secretary  of  the  Baptist  State  Con- 
vention, he  has  held  the  office  of  recording  secretary 
and  has  been  president  of  the  board  of  trustees  of  the 
Baptist  College  at  Blackwell,  Oklahoma. 

In  whatever  he  undertakes  Mr.  Marks  is  known  as  a 
man  of  accomplishment,  of  great  energy,  and  one  who 
worked  steadily  and  vigorously  for  the  upholding  of 
moral  principles.  Those  characteristics  followed  him 
during  his  administration  as  mayor  of  Edmond,  to  which 
office  he  was  elected  on  the  democratic  ticket  in  1913. 
Fraternally  he  is  affiliated  with  Edmond  Lodge  No. 
37,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons.  Mr.  Marks  was 
married  at  Memphis,  Missouri,  February  19,  1895,  to 
Miss  Sadie  Freeman.  Their  ten  children  are:  Zula, 
Paul  Eaton,  L.  W.,  Jr.,  Frances,  Nona,  Walter,  Joy, 
Marcus  Marion,  Ferrell  and  Bertie  Lee. 

Tiernay  & Walker.  One  of  the  thoroughly  reliable, 
enterprising,  progressive  and  energetic  newspapers  of 
Kingfisher  County,  and  one  that  is  wielding  a distinct 
and  forceful  influence  in  assisting  the  wheels  of  progress 
and  in  securing  for  the  people  a greater  degree  of 
prosperity,  is  the  Hennessey  Clipper,  which  is  pub- 
lished at  Hennessey  by  the  firm  of  Tiernay  & Walker. 
This  concern,  founded  in  1913  by  Frank  G.  Tiernay  and 
Miss  Mabel  Walker,  has  met  with  a satisfying  degree 
of  success  from  the  start,  and  in  1914  removed  all  oppo- 
sition by  purchasing  the  only  other  newspaper  published 
at  that  place. 

Frank  G.  Tiernay,  the  senior  member  of  the  concern, 
has  passed  his  entire  life,  with  the  exception  of  three 
years,  in  connection  with  printing  and  journalistic  work 
from  the  time  when,  as  a lad,  he  received  his  introduction 
to  stick  and  case.  He  was  born  April  26,  1874,  at 
Fredonia,  Louisa  County,  Iowa,  and  is  a son  of  Patrick 
J.  and  Julia  (Fahey)  Tiernay.  Patrick  J.  Tiernay  was 
a native  of  New  York,  born  in  1824,  and  was  a farmer 
and  mechanic  all  his  life.  He  lived  at  various  points 
during  the  course  of  a somewhat  diversified  career,  and 
died  in  1898,  at  Quincy,  Illinois.  Mr.  Tiernay  was 
married  in  1859  to  Miss  Julia  Fahey,  also  a native  of 
New  York,  born  in  1830,  who  died  in  1884.  They  were 
the  parents  of  four  sons  and  three  daughters:  John 
J.,  Helen,  Mary,  William,  Anna,  Frank  G.  and  Henry, 
all  of  whom  are  still  living. 

Frank  G.  Tiernay  received  his  early  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  Burlington,  Iowa,  to  which  city  his 
parents  removed  when  he  was  a small  lad.  When  he 
was  fifteen  years  of  age  he  expressed  a desire  to  enter 
the  printing  business,  and  accordingly  was  taught  the 
trade.  From  that  time  forward  he  worked  as  a journey- 
man at  various  places  and  with  numerous  newspapers 
until  1900,  in  which  year  he  became  editor  and  part 
owner  of  the  Herald,  at  Belle  Plaine,  Iowa.  In  1908  he 
came  to  Oklahoma,  where  he  purchased  the  Press-Demo- 
crat, at  Hennessey,  of  which  he  continued  as  editor  and 
owner  until  1910,  that  year  marking  his  entrance  upon 
the  real  estate  field.  However,  the  constant  call  of 
the  craft  was  not  to  be  denied,  and  after  an  experience 
of  three  years  in  realty  affairs  he  returned  to  journal- 
ism in  1913  when  he  purchased  a half -interest  in  the 
Hennessey  Clipper,  in  partnership  with  Miss  Mabel 
Walker,  under  the  firm  style  of  Tiernay  & Walker.  Mr. 
Tiernay  is  personally  a democrat,  but  the  paper  main- 
tains independent  policies,  and  seeks  to  give  to  its 
readers  a fair  and  unbiased  presentation  of  all  matters 
of  interest  and  importance.  Under  wise  management 
both  subscription  and  advertising  departments  a r- 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1883 


flourishing,  and  the  Clipper  is  rapidly  assuming  the 
proportions  of  a necessary  adjunct.  Mr.  Tiernay  is 
unmarried. 

j Like  her  partner,  Miss  Mabel  Walker,  junior  member 
of  the  firm,  learned  the  printing  business  when  but  a 
' child  and  has  been  its  active  devotee  throughout  the 
course  of  her  active  career.  She  is  also  an  Iowan  by 
nativity,  having  been  born  on  a farm  in  Grundy  County, 
February  14,  1876,  a daughter  of  Rigdon  B.  and  Rachel 
(Dew)  Walker.  Rigdon  B.  Walker  was  born  December 
5,  1842,  at  Rock  Island,  Illinois,  a son  of  Atnos  and 
Mary  (Abbott)  Walker,  natives  of  Kentucky.  Mr. 
Walker  went  in  young  manhood  from  Illinois  to  Iowa, 
where  he  engaged  in  farming  in  Grundy  County,  later 
went  to  Reno  County,  Kansas,  in  1882,  and  in  1895  came 
to  Oklahoma  and  bought  land  seven  miles  north  of  Enid, 
where  he  continued  to  farm  and  raise  stock  until  his 
death  in  1901.  When  the  Civil  war  came  on  Mr.  Walker 
was  a resident  of  Illinois,  and  enlisted  in  Company  C, 
One  Hundred  and  Second  Regiment,  Illinois  Volunteer 
Infantry,  with  which  he  served  two  years.  He  was 
seriously  wounded  at  the  battle  of  Resaca.  After  the 
close  of  the  war,  in  1865,  he  was  married  at  Monmouth, 
Illinois,  to  Miss  Rachel  Dew,  who  was  born  in  1840,  at 
j Zanesville,  Ohio,  daughter  of  Hiram  and  Bettie  (Weston) 
Dew,  natives  of  the  Buckeye  State.  Six  children  were 
born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Walker:  Ransom,  Robert,  Maude, 

; Mabel,  Oliver  and  Julia,  of  whom  Robert  is  deceased. 

Miss  Mabel  Walker  received  the  foundation  for  her 
education  in  the  public  schools  of  Reno  County,  Kansas, 
and  was  but  fourteen  years  of  age  when  she  entered 
the  office  of  the  Sylvia  Banner,  at  Sylvia,  Kansas,  to 
learn  the  printing  trade.  In  1895  she  removed  with 
her  parents  to  Enid,  Oklahoma,  where  she  worked  as  a 
I printer,  as  she  did  also  later  at  Chiekasha,  on  news- 
papers. In  1911  she  became  editor  and  manager  of 
the  Hennessey  Clipper,  in  1913  purchasing  it  with  Mr. 
Tiernay.  In  the  year  following  all  opposition  was 
removed  when  the  Clipper  absorbed  the  Press-Democrat.. 
Miss  Walker  is  a newspaper  woman  of  marked  talent, 
and,  while  pre-eminently  a business  woman,  has  her  full 
share  of  the  feminine  graces,  attractions  and  accomplish- 
ments. 

James  W.  Newton,  M.  D.  Among  the  successful  pro- 
fessional men  of  Stephens  County,  Oklahoma,  there  is 
probably  no  one  more  perfectly  in  sympathy  with  that 
public  spirit  which  has  contributed  to  the  progress  of  the 
various  communities  than  Dr.  James  W.  Newton,  of  Loco. 
Persevering  and  energetic  in  whatever  direction  his 
efforts  have  been  turned,  material  success  is  not  the 
greatest  of  his  achievements,  for  he  has  fairly  gained 
and  steadfastly  maintained  the  unqualified  esteem  and 
confidence  of  the  people.  He  was  born  at  Holly  Springs, 
Marshall  County,  Minnesota,  April  10,  1866,  and  is  a 
son  of  Dr.  James  A.  and  Phoebe  (Riggs)  Newton. 

The  Newton  family  was  founded  in  the  United  States 
by  the  grandfather  of  Doctor  Newton,  who  brought  his 
wife  and  children  from  London,  England,  to  Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania,  in  1823,  and  spent  the  remaining  years  of 
his  life  in  that  city.  James  A.  Newton  was  born  in 
the  City  of  London,  in  1817,  and  was  six  years  of  age 
when  brought  to  the  United  States,  his  boyhood  and 
youth  being  passed  in  Philadelphia.  He  enjoyed  good 
educational  advantages,  and  when  ready  to  enter  upon  a 
career  of  his  own  chose  medicine  as  his  field  of  effort 
and  was  duly  graduated  from  the  Philadelphia  Medical 
College,  with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine.  In  the 
early  ’60s,  Doctor  Newton  removed  with  his  family  to 
Marshall  County,  Mississippi,  where  he  practiced  for 
several  years  at  Holly  Springs,  and  in  1863  went  to 
Phelps  County,  Missouri.  For  a short  time  during  the 


Civil  war  he  served  in  the  Confederate  army  as  a regi- 
mental surgeon,  but  was  discharged  because  of  dis- 
ability, and  it  is  probably  that  his  army  experiences  were 
the  cause  of  his  early  death,  in  1865.  Doctor  Newton 
married  Miss  Phoebe  Riggs,  who  was  born  in  Tennessee, 
in  1823,  and  died  in  Missouri,  in  1907,  and  of  their 
children,  four  are  still  living:  A.  C.,  who  is  a farmer  and 
resides  in  Northern  Arkansas;  Dr.  James  W. ; Mary, 
who  married  John  Clark,  a merchant  of  Missouri;  and 
Ulysses,  a farmer,  residing  in  Arkansas. 

After  attending  the  graded  public  school  of  Phelps 
County,  Missouri,  James  W.  Newton  was  sent  to  the 
academy  at  Vienna,  Missouri,  and  there  pursued  a course 
of  study  which  fitted  him  for  labors  in  the  field  of  edu- 
cation. Accordingly,  he  took  a teacher’s  license  and 
during  six  years  was  principal  of  schools  in  Missouri, 
Arkansas  and  Kansas.  During  this  time  he  had  decided 
to  engage  in  the  practice  of  medicine.  In  1900  he  came 
to  Oklahoma  and  located  at  Duncan,  where  he  passed  two 
months,  then  coming  the  first  time  to  Loco,  where  he 
remained  three  and  one-half  years.  During  his  resi- 
dence here  he  pursued  a course  of  study  at  Barnes 
Medical  College,  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  and  was  graduated 
in  1903,  with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine.  His 
first  field  of  practice  was  the  State  of  Missouri,  where 
he  passed  two  years,  and  in  1905  went  to  Fort  Smith, 
Arkansas,  and  later  to  Benton  County  in  that  state. 
He  took  up  his  permanent  residence  at  Loco,  Oklahoma,  in 
1906,  and  this  city  has  continued  to  be  his  home  and 
field  of  practice.  During  the  years  of  his  practice, 
Doctor  Newton  has  made  his  profession  remunerative 
financially  and  has  won  a warm  place  in  the  esteem  of  his 
patients.  He  belongs  to  the  Stephens  County  Medical 
Society  and  other  organizations  of  his  calling,  and  is 
fraternally  affiliated  with  the  Royal  Arch  Chapter  of  the 
Masonic  Order  in  Benton  County,  Arkansas,  and  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  at  Ozark,  Missouri. 
He  is  a socialist  in  his  political  views. 

Doctor  Newton  was  married  in  Benton  County,  Ark- 
ansas; to  Miss  Mary  Johnson,  who  died  in  1888,  the 
mother  of  one  child,  William  A.,  who  is  cashier  of  the 
Bank  of  Rush  Springs,  Oklahoma.  In  1891  Doctor 
Newton  was  married  a second  time,  in  Benton  County, 
Arkansas,  to  Miss  Loui  V.  Stanley,  daughter  of  the  late 
George  P.  Stanley,  who  was  a farmer  in  the  Cherokee 
Nation,  now  Oklahoma.  Six  children  have  been  born 
to  this  union:  Maude,  who  is  the  wife  of  Jesse  Rader, 
who  is  engaged  in  the  automobile  business  at  Loco; 
Percy,  who  is  cashier  of  the  Bank  of  Loco;  Opal,  who  is 
a teacher  in  the  public  schools  of  Stephens  County  and 
resides  with  her  parents;  Nell,  who  is  the  wife  of  Ivan 
Heath,  an  oil  man  of  Stephens  County;  and  Lucille  and 
Stanley,  who  are  attending  the  public  schools  of  Loco. 

Ben  F.  Williams.  Among  the  present  generation 
of  Oklahoma  lawyers  it  is  perhaps  needless  to  say  that 
Ben  F.  Williams  of  Norman  has  a record  that  places 
him  among  the  leading  criminal  attorneys  of  the  state. 
He  has  served  as  attorney  for  the  defense  in  some  of 
the  most  noted  criminal  trials  held  since  the  admission 
of  Oklahoma  to  the  Union.  It  was  on  the  strength  of 
his  well  known  qualifications  as  a lawyer  that  he  was 
appointed  by  the  Supreme  Court  as  a member  of  the 
Bar  Commission  of  Oklahoma.  There  are  eleven  mem- 
bers of  this  commission,  two  from  each  Supreme  Court 
District,  and  one  member  at  large.  It  is  this  commis- 
sion which  examines  all  applicants  for  admission  to  the 
bar,  and  it  sits  twice  a year  in  June  and  December. 

Ben  F.  Williams,  who  is  a son  of  the  late  Judge 
B.  F'.  Williams,  who  was  a prominent  lawyer  and  well 
known  both  in  Texas  and  Oklahoma,  was  born  at  Gran- 
bury,  Hood  County,  Texas,  March  21,  1877.  His  an- 


1884 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


cestors  were  of  Welsh  stock  and  were  colonial  pioneers 
in  South  Carolina.  Judge  B.  F.  Williams  was  born  in 
Giles  County,  Tennessee,  in  1826,  and  died  at  Clinton, 
Oklahoma,  in  March,  1912.  Beared  in  Tennessee  he 
went  to  Mississippi,  where  he  married  Miss  H.  E. 
Bucker,  who  was  born  in  that  state  in  1837  and  is  still 
living  in  venerable  years  at  Clinton,  Oklahoma.  Not 
long  after  his  marriage  Judge  Williams  moved  to  Falls 
County,  Texas,  and  from  there  to  Hood  County.  In 
1878  he  located  at  Graham  City  in  Young  County,  which 
was  then  on  the  northwestern  frontier  of  Texas.  In 
1886  he  removed  to  Henrietta,  Texas,  and  in  1890 
identified  himself  with  the  early  bar  of  Oklahoma  City, 
and  from  1896  until  his  death  was  a resident -of  Norman. 
He  died  while  on  a visit  at  Clinton,  Oklahoma.  In  the 
various  localities  mentioned  he  enjoyed  a large  civil 
practice  as  a lawyer,  and  at  one  time  was  judge  of  the 
District  Court  of  Wichita  Falls  and  Henrietta,  Texas. 
In  politics  he  was  a democrat,  and  his  only  secret  order 
was  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  In  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church  he  found  opportunities  for 
much  service,  and  held  every  lay  office  in  the  church. 
He  and  his  wife  had  the  following  children : Annie, 
wife  of  W.  I.  Brannon,  a merchant  at  Clinton,  Okla- 
homa; Clara,  wife  of  Bev.  Mr.  Cameron,  a Baptist  min- 
ister at  Clarence,  Oklahoma;  Mattie,  wife  of  W.  M. 
Newell,  an  attorney  at  Norman;  Jean,  wife  of  W.  E. 
Forgy,  an  attorney  at  Archer  City,  Texas;  Ben  F. ; 
Etta,  wife  of  W.  B.  Barksdale,  a merchant  at  Memphis, 
Tennessee;  Johnnie,  wife  of  H.  L.  Quiet,  who  is  cashier 
of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Clinton,  Oklahoma;  Charlie, 
twin  sister  of  Johnnie,  and  wife  of  William  Milter- 
berger,  a miller  and  grain  buyer  at  Clinton,  Oklahoma; 
Lee,  who  married  Doctor  Baugaus,  a physician  and 
surgeon  at  Temple,  Texas;  Kate,  twin  sister  of  Lee, 
who  is  unmarried  and  is  a teacher  now  living  at  Archer 
City,  Texas.  Judge  Williams  by  his  first  marriage  had 
two  children : Mrs.  Mary  Carnahan,  wife  of  a retired 
farmer  at  B'ogers,  Arkansas;  and  Bobert  L.  H.,  who 
was  an  attorney  at  Goldthwaite,  Texas,  but  died' in  a 
hospital  at  Temple,  Texas. 

Ben  F.  Williams  had  a public  school  education  in 
Texas,  finishing  in  a high  school  at  Henrietta,  and  for 
three  years  was  a student  in  the  Polytechnic  College 
at  Fort  Worth.  His  home  has  been  at  Norman  since 
1897,  and  in  the  meantime  he  had  studied  law  in  his 
father’s  office  and  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1899. 
His  offices  are  in  the  Hullum  Building  on  East  Main 
Street,  and  for  fifteen  years  he  has  given  all  his  time 
to  his  large  civil  and  criminal  practice. 

His  services  as  a criminal  lawyer  have  taken  him  to 
all  parts  of  the  state.  Only  a few  of  the  more  note- 
worthy cases  in  which  he  has  been  engaged  can  be 
mentioned.  He  assisted  in  the  defense  of  James  Stev- 
enson, who  was  charged  with  the  murder  of  City  Mar- 
shal Cathey  of  Pauls  Valley;  this  ease  was  tried  in 
1908  and  resulted  in  an  acquittal  of  the  defendant. 
He  assisted  in  the  defense  of  Loreno  Mathews, _ who  was 
charged  with  the  murder  of  her  husband,  and  she  was 
acquitted  when  tried  at  Guthrie  in  1913.  He  was  chief 
counsel  for  John  D.  Lindsay,  former  treasurer  of  Mur- 
ray County,  Oklahoma,  who  was  charged  with  the  mur- 
der of  Editor  Schenk  at  Sulphur;  this  case,  tried  at 
Norman  under  a change  of  venue  in  1914,  resulted  in 
acquittal.  He  was  chief  counsel  in  the  case  of  State 
v.  Dr.  J.  H.  Colby  and  Wade  Stovall,  who  were  charged 
with  the  murder  of  two  school  directors  in  McClain 
County  in  1911.  The  case  was  tried  at  Norman  in  No- 
vember, 1913,  resulted  in  acquittal. 

Mr.  Williams  has  been  a democrat  ever  since  casting 
his  first  ballot.  He  is  an  active  member  of  the  County 


and  State  Bar  associations,  and  fraternally  is  affiliated 
with  Norman  Lodge  No.  7,  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows,  Norman  Camp  No.  154,  Woodmen  of  the  World, 
with  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  at  Norman, 
and  with  Purcell  Lodge  No.  1260,  Benevolent  Pro- 
tective Order  of  Elks.  He  is  a stockholder  in  the  Nor- 
man State  Bank.  In  September,  1900,  at  Norman,  Mr. 
Williams  married  Miss  Ninis  O.  Hullum.  Her  father  is 
a retired  capitalist  and  banker  of  Oklahoma  City.  To 
their  union  have  been  born  two  daughters:  Mildred 
Lee,  born  August  28,  1904;  and  Margaret  Lucile,  born 
June  2,  1908. 

Thomas  I.  Truscott.  The  roll  of  men  who  have 
taken  an  active  and  helpful  part  in  the  development  of 
the  various  communities  of  Jackson  County  would  be  in- 
complete did  it  not  contain  the  name  of  Thomas  I. 
Truscott,  who  since  his  arrival  in  1898  has  played  an 
important  part  in  the  business,  financial  and  civic  life  of 
Olustee.  When  he  first  came  to  this  community  it  was 
as  the  proprietor  of  a cotton  gin,  but  soon  he  entered 
the  grocery  business  in  which  he  has  continued  to  be 
engaged,  and  subsequently  became  vice  president  of  the 
First  National  Bank.  In  1913  his  worth  as  a citizen 
and  his  capacity  for  public  service  were  recognized  when 
he  was  appointed  postmaster,  an  office  in  which  he  has 
efficiently  served  to  the  present. 

Mr.  Truscott  is  an  Illinoisan  by  nativity,  born  at  the 
Village  of  Kane,  in  the  southern  part  of  Greene  County, 
August  12,  1853,  a son  of  J.  J.  and  Eliza  (Kirkland) 
Truscott.  His  grandfather,  Thomas  Truscott,  came  to 
the  United  States  from  England  in  1821  and  soon  settled 
as  an  early  pioneer  in  Greene  County,  Illinois,  where  he 
was  engaged  in  farming  until  the  discovery  of  gold  in 
California,  in  1849,  when  he  made  the  long  and  dan- 
gerous trip  across  the  plains  to  the  gold-fields.  He  was 
one  of  the  fortunate  miners  who  secured  valuable  claims 
and  subsequently  passed  his  life  in  the  West,  where  he 
became  a prominent  capitalist.  J.  J.  Truscott  was  born 
in  Greene  County,  Illinois,  in  1832,  and  some  years  after 
his  marriage  there  went  to  Arkansas,  continuing  to  make 
his  home  in  that  state  until  1879,  when  he  went  to  Thorpe, 
Springs,  Hood  County,  Texas,  as  a pioneer.  An  attorney 
by  profession,  he  was  engaged  in  practice  at  various 
places  in  Texas  and  held  a high  position  in  his  vocation, 
being  elected  county  judge  of  Knox  County,  Texas,  an 
office  in  which  he  served  for  nine  years.  After  retiring, 
in  1900,  Mr.  Truscott  came  to  Olustee,  Oklahoma,  and  in 
1911  went  to  Maud,  Oklahoma,  where  he  is  now  living 
quietly  in  his  comfortable  home.  He  has  been  a demo- 
crat all  his  life  and  has  always  taken  an  active  part  in 
political  and  civic  affairs,  while  his  fraternal  connection 
is  with  the  Masons.  Mrs.  Truscott,  who  was  born  in 
Greene  County,  Illinois,  in  1835,  died  at  Thorpe  Springs, 
Texas,  in  1874.  They  were  the  parents  of  five  children, 
as  follows : Thomas  I. ; George  E.,  who  is  engaged  in 

merchandising  at  Maud,  Oklahoma:  Addie.  of  Frederick, 
Oklahoma,  who  is  the  widow  of  W.  W.  Bogers,  a me- 
chanic; Estella,  who  is  the  wife  of  Hon.  D.  F.  Gaus, 
an  attorney  at  Seymour,  Texas,  and  a member  of  the 
Texas  State  Senate;  and  Lueien  K.,  M.  D.,  who  is  a 
practicing  physician  and  surgeon  of  Oklahoma. 

Thomas  I.  Truscott  attended  school  at  Kane.  Illinois, 
in  Arkansas,  and  at  Thorpe  Springs,  Texas,  and  in  1875 
was  graduated  from  the  Texas  Christian  University,  re- 
ceiving a diploma  in  higher  mathematics.  Following 
this,  for  four  years,  he  was  principal  of  a school  in  Bock- 
wall  County,  Texas,  and  at  the  end  of  this  period 
bought  a school  property  at  Seymour,  Baylor  County, 
Texas,  which  he  owned  and  operated  for  eight  years. 
His  next  venture  was  in  the  handling  of  cattle,  an  enter- 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1885 


prise  in  which  he  was  engaged  for  eight  years  in  Knox 
County,  Texas,  and  during  this  time  also  taught  school, 
but  in  1898  disposed  of  his  Texas  interests  and  came  to 
Olustee,  Oklahoma,  where  he  erected  a cotton  gin.  Sell- 
ing this  one  year  later,  he  embarked  in  the  grocery 
business,  and  from  a modest  beginning  has  built  up  an 
enterprise  that  is  now  considered  one  of  the  substantial 
business  concerns  of  the  city.  Almost  from  the  time  of 
its  inception,  Mr.  Truscott  has  been  vice  president  of 
the  First  National  Bank  and  has  taken  a leading  part  in 
shaping  its  policies  and  directing  it  to  success.  When  he 
came  to  Olustee  he  interested  himself  almost  immediately 
in  civic  affairs,  and  as  a friend  of  education  was  made  a 
member  of  the  school  board,  on  which  he  acted  almost 
continuously  until  1913.  He  also  displayed  his  ability 
and  integrity  as  a member  of  the  village  council  for  six 
years,  and  June  17,  1913,  was  appointed  postmaster  of 
Olustee  by  President  Wilson  and  has  continued  to  dis- 
charge the  duties  of  that  position  in  an  expeditious, 
efficient  and  courteous  manner  to  the  present  time.  With 
his  family,  Mr.  Truscott  belongs  to  the  Christian  Church. 
He  is  a member  of  the  lodge  and  encampment  of  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  in  which  he  is  de- 
servedly popular.  His  political  beliefs  have  made  him  a 
democrat  from  the  time  of  attaining  his  majority. 

Mr.  Truscott  was  married  in  1883  in  Rockwall  County, 
Texas,  to  Miss  Zona  Polly,  who  died  at  Seymour,  Texas, 
in  1897,  the  mother  of  four  children,  namely:  Edith, 

who  is  the  wife  of  F.  A.  Edwards,  who  is  engaged  in  the 
insurance  business  in  Texas;  Margaret,  who  is  the  wife 
of  H.  A.  Armstrong,  of  Dallas,  Texas,  connected  with  the 
Holland  Magazine ; Mida,  who  is  the  wife  of  Miles  Bivins, 
a well-to-do  cattleman  of  Amarillo,  Texas;  and  Gwendo- 
line, who  married  J.  P.  Chose,  a pharmacist  of  Helena, 
Montana.  Mr.  Truscott  was  again  married,  in  1904,  at 
Olustee,  Oklahoma,  when  united  with  Mrs.  Stella 
(Crockett)  Carter,  widow  of  the  late  T.  B.  Carter,  who 
was  a farmer  of  Quanah,  Texas.  Two  children  have  been 
born  to  this  marriage:  Dorothy  and  Barbara  Tom,  who 

are  attending  the  Olustee  public  schools. 

Professor  John  Davis.  The  history  of  educational 
development  in  Oklahoma  becomes  more  interesting  in 
proportion  to  the  recital  of  facts  relating  to  the  con- 
tributions made  by  such  men  as  Professor  Davis,  since 
the  number  of  individuals  who  may  be  counted  as  pioneers 
in  the  school  history  of  Oklahoma  is  small.  It  was 
twenty  years  ago  that  Professor  Davis  began  his  activities 
in  Oklahoma,  becoming  superintendent  of  the  Blackwell 
public  schools  in  1895.  The  year  after  statehood  he 
was  called  to  the  Central  State  Normal  School  at  Edmond, 
and  now  for  several  years  has  been  head  of  the  depart- 
ment of  physics  and  chemistry  in  that  institution.  His 
activities  and  influence  both  in  and  out  of  the  class- 
room have  been  an  important  feature  in  the  remarkable 
growth  of  the  Central  Normal. 

John  Davis  was  born  in  a plain  rural  Indiana  com- 
munity at  Wolcott,  March  7,  1867,  a son  of  Joseph  W. 
and  Nancy  M.  (James)  Davis.  His  paternal  grand- 
father was  a first  cousin  of  Jefferson  Davis,  President 
of  the  Confederacy,  and  was  born  in  1800.  The  father 
was  a farmer,  minister  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church,  and  about  two  years  before  the  birth  of  Pro- 
fessor Davis  had  come  back  from  the  war  with  the 
rank  of  first  lieutenant  in  an  Indiana  regiment.  Professor 
Davis  has  two  brothers  and  four  sisters:  Reed  Davis, 
a lumber  dealer  at  Grandfield,  Oklahoma;  Mrs.  Harriet 
Stocks,  wife  of  a farmer  at  Clinton,  Oklahoma;  Arthur 
Davis,  agent  for  the  Santa  Fe  Railway  at  McPherson, 
Kansas;  Mrs.  Josie  Erickson,  wife  of  a stockman  at 
Latham,  Kansas;  Mrs.  Cynthia  Pitts,  whose  husband  is 


a music  dealer  at  Lafayette,  Indiana;  ami  Mrs.  Mary 
Pierce,  who  lives  with  her  daughter  at  Yale,  Oregon. 

Professor  Davis  was  educated  in  the  public  schools 
of  Butler  County,  Kansas,  to  which  state  his  parents 
removed  in  a covered  wagon  in  1876.  He  was  afterwards 
in  the  Kansas  Agricultural  College  at  Manhattan  and 
in  the  Kansas  State  Normal  at  Emporia.  His  life  up 
to  the  age  of  nineteen  was  spent  on  a farm,  at  which 
time  he  left  home  to  enter  the  agricultural  college.  He 
worked  his  way  through  that  school,  graduating  with  the 
degree  Bachelor  of  Science  in  1890.  He  then  took  pro- 
fessional work  in  the  Kansas  State  Normal,  graduating 
in  1892.  For  several  years  after  that  he  was  principal 
of  several  important  schools  in  Kansas,  and  in  1895 
came  to  Oklahoma  and  was  elected  superintendent  of 
schools  at  Blackwell.  In  1899  he  became  a member  of 
the  faculty  of  the  Northwestern  State  Normal  School  at 
Alva,  and  during  the  following  six  years  was  the  suc- 
cessful instructor  and  guide  of  hundreds  of  prospective 
teachers.  Following  that  for  two  years  he  was  super- 
intendent of  schools  at  Nowata,  and  in  1908  took  the 
chair  of  physics  and  chemistry  in  the  Central  State 
Normal  at  Edmond. 

Some  of  the  methods  employed  in  his  successful  work 
as  an  instructor  have  been  reduced  to  book  form,  under 
the  title,  “A  Laboratory  Course  in  Physics,”  which  is 
now  in  use  in  the  schools  of  Oklahoma  and  has  been 
adopted  as  a text  book  in  twelve  other  states.  An 
important  feature  of  his  work  in  the  Central  State 
Normal  School  was  the  development  of  a school  of 
photography,  the  attendance  upon  which  has  increased  in 
a few  years  from  80  to  236.  In  this  school  are  taught 
the  rudiments  of  the  art  and  the  scientific  developing 
and  finishing  of  the  pictures.  This  school  does  nearly 
all  the  photographic  work  for  the  Central  State  Normal. 
Lantern  slides  made  here  are  used  in  advertising  the 
Normal,  and  Professor  Davis  is  assigned  the  duty  each 
year  of  traveling  over  the  state  in  the  interest  of  the 
school,  using  his  slides  in  illustrating  the  character  of 
the  work  done  there. 

Professor  Davis  was  married  in  Ponca  City,  Oklahoma, 
in  1896  to  Miss  Lily  Reed,  who  since  their  marriage 
has  been  associated  with  her  husband  in  educational 
work.  She  has  been  critic  teacher  in  the  Central  State 
Normal  School,  and  in  1915  taught  a public  school  in 
Harmon  County.  They  have  one  daughter,  Ruth,  aged 
fourteen,  and  in  1915  a freshman  student  in  the  Central 
Normal. 

Professor  Davis  is  a member  of  the  Presbyterian 
Church,  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  fraternity  and 
the  Order  of  Yeomen.  He  is  well  known  in  educational 
circles,  is  a member  of  the  Oklahoma  Educational  Asso- 
ciation, the  Central  Oklahoma  Educational  Association, 
and  the  Oklahoma  Academy  of  Science.  His  motto  is 
hard  work.  He  is  devoted  to  the  duties  of  his  position, 
and  spends  a great  deal  of  time  in  advancing  the  edu- 
cation of  students  in  overflowing  classes. 

John  M.  Jones.  In  point  of  energy,  enterprise  and 
determination,  John  M.  Jones,  of  Hennessey  is  probably 
one  of  the  best  known  men  of  Kingfisher  County.  His 
career  has  been  a singularly  active  one,  and  has  been 
crowned  with  success  in  a number  of  directions.  A 
resident  of  Hennessey  since  1890,  he  has  steadily 
forged  his  way  to  business  prominence  as  president  of 
the  Jones  Dry  Goods  Company,  is  an  ex-mayor  and  pres- 
ent postmaster  of  the  city,  and  is  a leading  and  influen- 
tial Mason,  belonging  to  the  Guthrie  Consistory  of  the 
thirty-second  degree.  The  success  that  has  been  gained 
by  this  sturdy  citizen  and  capable  man  of  affairs  has 
come  entirely  as  the  result  of  his  own  efforts  and  in  its 


1886 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


gaining  his  activities  have  ever  been  characterized  by 
the  strictest  adherence  to  honorable  business  principles. 

Mr.  Jones  was  born  February  20,  1861,  on  a farm  in 
the  rich  agricultural  community  of  Peoria  County, 
Illinois,  and  is  a son  of  Hugh  and  Esther  (Breed)  Jones. 
Hugh  Jones  was  born  in  1806  at  Johnstown,  Pennsyl- 
vania, a son  of  Malachi  and  Mary  (Addy)  Jones,  the 
former  a native  of  Wales  and  the  latter  of  Scotland. 
When  Hugh  Jones  was  eight  years  of  age  the  family 
removed  from  Pennsylvania  to  Ohio,  and  there  he  was 
reared  and  educated  and  resided  until  1835,  when  he  went 
to  Peoria  County,  Illinois,  and  settled  on  United  States 
Government  land.  There  he  continued  in  agricultural 
pursuits  on  a large  scale  during  many  years.  In  addi- 
tion he  was  a steamboat  pilot,  was  one  of  the  builders 
of  the  Ohio  Canal,  and  for  a period  twenty  years  was 
county  judge  of  Peoria  County.  In  1858-59  he  pre- 
empted land  in  Douglas  County,  Kansas,  but  at  the 
outbreak  of  the  Civil  war  returned  to  Illinois,  where 
he  drilled  and  organized  a company  for  the  Union  army, 
but  because  of  disabilities  did  not  serve  actively  at  the 
front.  He  was  a Mason,  and  for  forty  years  was  a 
deacon  in  the  LaMarsh  Baptist  Church  in  Peoria  County. 
Mr.  Jones  died  near  Canton,  in  Pulton  County,  Illinois, 
May  2,  1878.  In  1835,  at  Canton,  Mr.  Jones  was  mar- 
ried to  Miss  Esther  Breed,  daughter  of  Jonas  and  Grace 
(Niles)  Breed,  the  former  a native  of  England  and  the 
latter  of  Wales.  She  was  born  in  1812,  at  New  London, 
Connecticut,  and  died  at  Joplin,  Missouri,  in  1895,  the 
mother  of  four  sons  and  four  daughters,  as  follows: 
William  E.  and  Hugh,  who  are  deceased;  Amos,  who 
is  now  a ranchman  of  Kingfisher  County,  Oklahoma; 
John  M.,  of  this  notice;  Martha,  who  is  the  widow  of 
S.  G.  Chambers;  Barbara,  who  is  the  widow  of  James 
Northrup;  Charity  J.,  who  is  the  wife  of  W.  P.  Boy; 
and  Charlotte,  who  is  the  wife  of  John  A.  Powell. 

John  M.  Jones  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of 
Peoria  County,  Illinois,  taking  a special  course  at  the 
county  normal  school,  and  in  1878  removed  to  Kansas, 
where  he  settled  on  Government  land  in  Kingman  County. 
However,  because  of  his  youth,  he  failed  to  make  final 
proof  on  this  property.  The  journey  to  Kansas  had  been 
made  by  wagon,  with  his  brother,  Amos,  and  in  1886 
Mr.  Jones  located  at  Greensburg,  Kansas,  where  he 
became  manager  of  a loan  company.  He  took  an  active 
part  in  the  organization  of  Kiowa  County,  Kansas,  and 
became  influential  in  democratic  politics,  but  confined 
his  activities  to  helping  his  friends,  and  was  never  a 
seeker  after  personal  preferment.  Mr.  Jones  resided 
at  Greensburg  for  three  years,  following  which  he  passed 
a year  in  prospecting  in  Colorado,  and  in  1890  came  to 
Oklahoma  and  located  at  Hennessey,  which  town  had 
been  founded  the  year  before  and  gave  promise,  since 
fulfilled,  of  becoming  an  important  center  of  commercial 
activity.  Here  Mr.  Jones  associated  himself  with  the 
firm  of  J.  H.  Crider  & Company  in  general  merchandise 
operations,  and  three  years  later  became  identified  with 
Frederick  Ehler,  in  the  Ehler  Dry  Goods  Company.  He 
was  a member  of  the  firm  and  vice  president  and  secre- 
tary of  the  company  for  thirteen  years,  or  until  1908, 
when  he  incorporated  the  Jones  Dry  Goods  Company,  of 
which  he  is  now  president.  ' This  enterprise  has  been 
developed  to  large  and  important  proportions  and  is 
one  of  the  leading  dry  goods  houses  of  the  county.  At 
Hennessey  Mr.  Jones  continued  to  manifest  an  interest 
in  democratic  political  affairs,  and  in  1906  was  elected 
mayor  of  the  city,  an  office  which  he  held  during  that 
and  the  following  year,  and  in  which  he  established  a 
record  for  helpful,  energetic  and  conscientious  service. 
He  is  at  this  time  postmaster,  to  which  office  he  was 
appointed  by  President  Wilson,  November  16,  1914,  in 
recognition  of  his  abilities  and  integrity,  as  well  as 


of  the  service  he  has  rendered  the  party.  He  has 
endeavored  faithfully  to  improve  the  efficiency  of  the  mail 
service.  Mr.  Jones  is  past  master  of  Coronado  Lodge 
No.  56,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  has 
risen  to  the  thirty-second  degree  in  Masonry,  holding 
membership  in  the  Guthrie  Consistory  of  the  Scottish 
Bite. 

On  October  20,  1890,  at  Hennessey,  Mr.  Jones  was 
united  in  marriage  with  Miss  Zetta  Prince,  who  was 
born  in  1865,  in  Illinois,  and  they  have  three  daughters 
and  one  son:  Calla,  Boy  Kehler,  Beatrice  and  Marcie. 

Boy  Kehler  Jones  was  born  August  15,  1894,  at  Hen- 
nessey, Oklahoma,  and  was  graduated  from  the  Hen- 
nessey High  School  in  the  class  of  1910.  In  1911  he 
was  appointed  a cadet  at  large  from  Oklahoma  to  the 
United  States  Naval  Academy,  at  Annapolis,  Maryland, 
and  was  graduated  in  1916  with  the  rank  of  ensign. 

Edward  W.  Downs,  M.  D.  The  world  instinctively 
pays  deference  to  the  man  whose  success  has  been 
worthily  achieved  and  whose  prominence  is  no  less  the 
result  of  an  irreproachable  life  than  of  natural  talents 
and  acquired  ability  in  the  field  of  his  chosen  labor. 
Doctor  Downs  occupies  a position  of  distinction  as  a 
representative  of  the  medical  profession  at  Hinton  and 
the  best  evidence  of  his  capability  in  his  chosen  work 
is  the  large  patronage  which  is  accorded  him. 

The  original  progenitor  of  the  Downs  family  in  Amer- 
ica was  a native  of  England  and  he  emigrated  to  this 
country  in  the  colonial  days  and  settled  in  Connecticut. 
Henry  Downs,  father  of  the  Doctor,  was  born  at  Hamden, 
Connecticut,  in  1832,  and  as  a young  man  he  removed 
to  Iowa  City,  where  he  was  married  and  whence  he  went 
to  Tama  County,  Iowa,  there  farming  until  1866.  In 
that  year  he  located  on  a farm  in  Jasper  County,  Iowa, 
and  there  he  served  as  township  treasurer  and  as  school 
director  for  many  years.  He  was  a democrat  in  his 
political  allegiance  and  in  early  manhood  he  devoted 
much  of  his  time  to  work  as  a stationary  engineer. 
He  was  summoned  to  life  eternal  at  Baxter,  Iowa,  in 
1910.  His  wife,  whose  maiden  name  was  Lucy  Maria 
Worden,  was  born  at  Utica,  New  York,  July  10,  1832, 
and  she  now  maintains  her  home  at  Baxter,  Iowa.  There 
were  four  children  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Downs,  as 
follows : Edward  W.  is  the  subject  of  this  sketch ; Harry 
owns  and  operates  a garage  at  Baxter,  Iowa;  Horace  is 
a druggist  at  Baxter;  and  Capitola  died  at  the  age  of 
four  years. 

In  Tama  County,  Iowa,  just  twelve  miles  north  of 
Toledo,  January  22,  1860,  occurred  the  birth  of  Doctor 
Downs.  He  passed  his  boyhood  and  youth  on  his 
father’s  farm  and  received  his  preliminary  educational 
training  in  the  public  schools  of  Jasper  County,  Iowa. 
He  was  a student  in  the  academy  at  Newton,  Iowa,  and 
in  1879  he  began  to  farm,  devoting  three  years  to  that 
occupation.  In  1882  he  began  to  study  medicine  under 
Doctor  Knepper,  of  Collins,  Iowa,  and  the  following  year 
he  entered  the  University  of  Iowa,  in  the  medical  de- 
partment of  which  he  was  graduated  in  1885,  with  the 
degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine.  In  1901  he  pursued  a 
post-graduate  course  in  the  Chicago  Clinical  School. 
Doctor  Downs  initiated  the  active  practice  of  his  pro- 
fession at  Coon  Bapids,  Iowa,  where  he  built  up  a large 
and  lucrative  patronage  and  where  he  continued  to 
reside  until  1905.  In  -that  year  he  purchased  a farm 
forty  miles  south  of  "Winnipeg,  Canada,  and  there  was 
engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits  for  one  year,  at  the 
end  of  which  he  disposed  of  his  farm,  on  which  he  still 
holds  a mortgage,  however,  and  came  to  Hinton.  Here 
he  has  built  up  a splendid  medical  practice,  being  one  of 
the  pioneer  physicians  and  surgeons  in  this  vicinity.  He 
is  a member  of  the  Caddo  County  Medical  Society,  the 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1887 


Oklahoma  State  Medical  Society  and  the  American 
Medical  Association.  He  is  affiliated  with  the  county  and 
the  Iowa  State  medical  societies,  likewise,  and  for  years 
was  health  officer  in  Coon  Eapids,  Iowa.  In  a fra- 
ternal way  he  is  connected  with  the  Iowa  State  Lodge 
No.  34,  Knights  of  Pythias,  in  which  he  is  past  chan- 
cellor. 

Doctor  Downs  has  been  twice  married.  June  29,  1898, 
at  Coon  Eapids,  Iowa,  he  married  Miss  Jessie  Fletcher,  a 
daughter  of  the  late  Capt.  John  Fletcher,  a pensioned 
Civil  war  veteran.  Mrs.  Downs  was  a popular  and  suc- 
cessful teacher  in  Coon  Eapids  prior  to  her  marriage  and 
she  died  in  that  city  in  1902.  She  is  survived  by  one 
child:  Henry  W.,  born  February  1,  1902,  a pupil  in 
the  Hinton  public  school.  For  his  second  wife  Doctor 
Downs  married  Mrs.  Eliza  (Clearwater)  Johnson,  widow 
of  Christopher  Johnson,  a jeweler  at  Coon  Eapids,  and 
a daughter  of  Eeuben  Clearwater,  a retired  business  man 
of  Spaulding,  Nebraska.  To  this  union  has  been  born 
one  child:  Iowa  Capitola,  whose  nativity  occurred  Feb- 
ruary 10,  1913.  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Downs  are  popular  in 
the  social  life  of  Hinton  and  they  command  the  un- 
qualified confidence  and  esteem  of  their  fellow  citizens. 

Edmond  J.  Gakdnek.  “Biography  is  history  teaching 
by  example.  ’ ’ Every  human  life  helps  to  make  or 
reflect  the  progress  and  experience  of  the  age.  Not 
only  does  biography  serve  to  interpret  the  life  of  a 
state,  but  it  also  furnishes  lessons  of  inspiration  and 
encouragement  for  individual  appreciation.  These  points 
are  noted  as  of  special  application  to  the  life  of  Edmond 
J.  Gardner  of  Valliant.  Of  the  sketches  and  life  histories 
that  appear  in  this  publication  there  are  few  that  better 
illustrate  the  power  of  an  idea  and  a purpose  working 
steadily  in  the  soul  of  the  individual  than  can  be  found 
in  the  following  paragraphs.  The  sketch  also  illustrates 
many  important  phases  of  early  history  in  old  Indian 
Territory,  particularly  the  Choctaw  Nation. 

In  August,  1832,  a company  of  about  six  hundred 
persons  headed  by  Col.  Thomas  LaFlore,  assembled  at  a 
place  near  what  is  now  the  City  of  Paulding,  Jasper 
County,  Mississippi,  to  begin  a journey  of  about  eight 
hundred  miles  to  their  future  home  in  a new  country 
west  of  the  Territory  of  Arkansas.  It  was  an  unusual 
exodus.  All  the  inhabitants  of  the  surrounding  country 
were  gathered  together  preparatory  to  the  journey — 
men,  women  and  children  of  every  age  and  every  degree 
af  social  standing.  Following  the  edict  of  the  general 
government,  they  were  to  leave  that  country  forever. 
Naturally  their  hearts  were  sad,  and  they  set  out  with 
much  weeping  and  sorrow,  sustained  only  by  such  com- 
port as  came  from  the  prospect  of  their  future  home. 
Some  years  prior  to  this  departure  the  people  of  the 
jountry  had  become  divided  into  two  factions — Chris- 
ians  and  anti-Christians.  Naturally  on  assembling  the 
;wo  elements  formed  themselves  into  divisions,  being 
Irawn  together  by  ties  of  kinship,  friendship  and  be- 
iefs.  This  particular  company  was  called  a “Christian 
sompany  ’ ’ because  they  favored  Christianity.  They 
raveled  only  on  week  days,  announcing  the  hour  of  their 
laily  devotion  by  blowing  a large  horn,  while  the  Sab- 
oath  was  a day  of  rest  and  of  holding  religious  services. 
Dhey  traveled  by  ox  wagons,  horse  wagons,  horseback, 
tnd  about  two-thirds  walked.  The  wagons  were  chiefly 
ised  for  carrying  the  necessities  for  the  journey.  Many 
vere  thinly  clad  and  had  no  shoes,  and  as  they  journeyed 
vestward  cold  weather  came  on  and  they  suffered 
greatly  from  the  cold.  About  thirty  died  from  exposure 
nd  were  buried  along  the  roadside  near  where  they 
lied.  The  roads  were  new  and  the  many  wagons  made 
hem  almost  impassable.  While  they  were  favored  with 
f OI,  V— 9 


reasonably  fair  weather,  the  suffering  was  great,  espe- 
cially among  the  feeble  and  children.  Several  babies 
were  born  during  the  journey.  Passing  through  Jackson 
and  crossing  the  Mississippi  at  Vicksburg,  they  followed 
a northwest  course  up  Eed  Eiver,  and  about  the  first 
day  of  December  came  to  a permanent  stop  about  forty 
miles  across  the  boundary  in  the  new  country.  They 
selected  building  places  and  set  up  a very  populous 
settlement.  On  the  9th  of  December,  under  the  leader- 
ship of  Eev.  Alfred  Wright,  a noted  missionary,  they 
organized  a church  and  established  a school,  naming  the 
place  Wheelock. 

At  the  time  of  the  removal  from  Mississippi  to  Indian 
Territory  in  1832,  the  five  brothers,  Isaac,  Jerry,  James, 
Noel  and  Edmond  Gardner,  were  boys  and  young  men, 
not  more  than  one  of  them  being  married  at  the  time. 
Their  parents  had  died  some  years  before  in  Mississippi. 
These  five  were  all  there  were  at  that  time  of  the 
Gardner  name  that  were  Indians  by  blood. 

Jerry  died  near  Wheelock  a few  years  after  his 
arrival,  and  his  descendants  and  all  the  Gardners  except 
Noel  later  moved  further  west. 

Noel  Gardner  married  Henrietta  LeFlore,  daughter 
of  Colonel  Thomas  LeFlore.  He  settled  a mile  and  a half 
west  of  Wheelock,  cleared  up  a farm,  engaged  in  farm- 
ing and  stock  raising,  and  was  also  a minister  of  the 
Gospel,  assisting  in  the  church  and  school  work  at 
Wheelock  as  interpreter  and  native  preacher.  His  pos- 
sessions consisted  of  a small  farm,  cattle,  horses,  sheep, 
hogs  and  a small  herd  of  deer.  He  died  at  his  home 
about  the  year  1860,  leaving  a widow  and  three  sons, 
Jefferson,  Jerry  and  James.  The  widowed  mother  being 
an  industrious  and  intelligent  woman  managed  the  af- 
fairs of  the  home  to  good  advantage.  About  two  years 
later  Jefferson  and  James  began  work  in  a store  for  their 
uncle  Michael  LeFlore,  while  Jerry  remained  on  the  farm 
with  his  mother  to  oversee  the  farming  and  livestock 
interests. 

In  1863  Jefferson  moved  to  Eagletown,  and  engaged 
in  merchandising,  became  prosperous  and  a man  of 
prominence,  serving  his  people  in  several  official  capaci- 
ties and  subsequently  becoming  governor  of  the  Nation. 
His  death  occurred  in  1906.  His  brother  James  was  for 
several  years  in  the  merchandise  business  at  Wheelock, 
but  in  1883  moved  his  business  to  Bonton  on  the  Eed 
Eiver.  He  married  Miss  Ida  Lick,  and  lived  on  Eed 
Eiver  until  his  death  in  1887. 

Jerry  Gardner  married  first  Eebecea  Wilson,  whom  he 
divorced,  and  then  married  Jinny  James,  daughter  of 
William  James.  As  already  stated  he  remained  on 
the  old  homestead.  Able  to  speak  the  English  language 
very  limitedly,  he  realized  the  importance  of  learning 
it,  and  he  and  his  wife  entered  into  an  agreement  when 
they  were  married  not  to  speak  their  native  tongue  in 
their  home  except  when  absolutely  necessary.  He  did 
this  in  order  to  learn  the  language,  and  after  he  had 
acquired  a fluency  in  it  the  habit  was  so  strong  that  he 
and  his  wife  continued  through  their  married  life  to 
speak  it  and  their  children  never  learned  the  native 
tongue. 

In  the  meantime,  after  the  death  of  their  mother  in 
1871,  Jerry  Gardner  and  his  two  brothers  had  some  of 
their  interests  in  common,  and  Jerry  remained  at  the 
homestead  looking  after  the  livestock  for  all  three.  That 
was  the  condition  until  1882,  when  Jerry  bought  a 
small  farm  on  Eed  Eiver  near  Bonton,  and  set  up  in 
farming  and  stock  raising  for  himself.  He  prospered, 
accumulated  considerable  property  about  him,  cleared 
up  a good  farm,  and  in  1886  became  sheriff  of  his 
county.  This  was  apparently  the  high  tide  of  his  earthly 
achievements.  Thenceforward  his  was  a somewhat  down- 


1888 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


ward  course.  In  1887  his  family  was  visited  with  an 
unusual  amount  of  sickness,  resulting  in  the  death  of 
two  of  his  children.  In  1888  the  fullbloods  of  Towson 
and  Boktuklo  Counties  armed  themselves  in  bands  and 
threatened  extermination  of  the  mixed  bloods  who  were 
outnumbered  several  to  one.  Consequently  the  mixed 
bloods  fled  to  Texas  on  short  notice  to  save  their  lives, 
leaving  their  families  and  possessions.  Jerry  Gardner 
remained  in  Texas  about  six  months,  visiting  his  family 
only  a few  times  and  then  only  at  night.  Sending  word 
to  his  wife  by  a friendly  hand  to  met  him  at  midnight 
at  a lone  pine  tree  that  stood  a short  distance  from  the 
home,  he  would  cautiously  set  out  for  the  trysting  place, 
while  his  wife,  having  previously  made  close  watch  for 
any  of  the  hostile  bands,  would  take  her  babe  in  arms 
at  about  ten  o’clock  at  night  and  followed  by  her  three 
sons,  make  her  way  through  the  darkness  to  the  place 
of  meeting  and  then  sit  at  the  roots  of  the  tree  in 
perfect  silence.  The  breaking  of  a stick  would  announce 
his  approach,  but  in  order  to  guard  against  any  possible 
mistake  there  was  no  communication  until  an  exchange  of 
signals  was  made.  Speaking  in  a low  tone,  making  a 
few  inquiries  and  giving  a few  instructions,  not  being 
permitted  to  see  the  faces  of  his  loved  ones,  Jerry 
Gardner  would  depart  into  the  stillness  of  the  night  and 
would  then  ride  his  horse  in  all  haste  for  Texas,  swim- 
ming the  Bed  Biver  wherever  he  reached  its  banks. 
Along  the  south  banks  the  Bed  Biver  at  every  crossing 
was  a saloon,  and  great  quantities  of  “fire  water’’  were 
smuggled  across,  the  river  into  the  Indian  country.  This 
only  added  fuel  to  the  inflamed  minds.  During  the 
civil  war  between  the  full  bloods  and  the  half  bloods 
several  were  killed,  including  the  agitators,  before  peace 
was  restored.  During  this  time  Jerry  Gardner  suffered 
not  only  the  privations  already  mentioned  but  also  in- 
curred considerable  material  loss.  In  1889  he  lost  his 
wife,  and  after  that  he  showed  little  interest  in  any- 
thing and  his  misfortunes  preyed  heavily  upon  his  mind. 
In  1892  he  married  Mrs.  Ida  Gardner,  his  brother’s 
widow.  However,  he  was  never  himself  again,  and  he 
continued  to  decline  in  attitude  toward  life  and  in  his 
material  prosperity  until  his  death  in  1898.  At  that 
time  he  had  a daughter  living  by  his  first  marriage, 
Mrs.  Susan  Parsons  of  Millerton.  By  the  second  mar- 
riage there  were  two  sons  and  a daughter,  Alfred  T., 
Edmond  J.  and  Carrie.  Alfred  T.  married  Mattie 
Bartee  and  settled  on  a farm  on  Bed  Biver.  Carrie 
became  the  wife  of  George  Tyler,  a farmer  and  stock 
man,  and  settled  at  Wheelock. 

It  was  of  this  family  and  of  this  ancestry  that  Ed- 
mond J.  Gardner  comes.  He  is  a half-blood  Choctaw. 
He  was  born  November  27,  1877,  on  the  old  homestead 
near  Wheelock.  The  first  employment  that  claimed  his 
attention  was  at  the  age  of  four  when  he  was  called  to 
“carry  the  cat  to  eat  the  lizards”  around  the  farm 
fenced  by  his  two  brothers  who  with  neighbor  boys  killed 
them  by  bow  and  arrow.  His  parents  then  moved  to 
Bed  Biver,  near  Bonton,  where  he  lived  to  the  age  of 
thirteen  in  a wild  country,  feasting  on  wild  meats, 
listening  to  the  voices  of  wild  animals,  and  to  men 
too  corrupt  to  live  in  any  other  place,  with  plenty  of 
“fire  water.”  There  he  absorbed  and  was  saturated 
with  the  environments  of  the  time  and  took  up  many 
of  the  prevalent  bad  habits. 

The  writer  has  seen  a photograph  of  Mr.  Gardner 
at  the  age  of  thirteen.  It  shows  a boy  with  strong 
face  and  features,  and  with  some  of  the  wonder  at  the 
mystery  of  life  impressed  upon  his  countenance.  It 
was  at  that  time  that  this  child  of  the  back  woods 
became  cognizant  in  a strange  and  mysterious  way  of 
the  things  of  the  future,  and  that  change  in  mental  and 


frati 


spiritual  attitude  subsequently  affected  his  entire  life. 
During  the  next  five  years  he  lived  with  relatives, 
friends  and  others,  going  to  neighborhood  schools  part 
, of  the  time  and  advancing  in  his  studies  to  the  third 
reader  and  taking  up  the  study  of  arithmetic.  Though, 
he  had  a great  desire  for  knowledge  and  requested  toi 
be  sent  away  to  school,  he  was  unfortunate  in  this! 
respect  and  was  never  given  the  privileges  he  craved. 

At  the  age  of  eighteen,  becoming  tired  of  living  with 
other  people,  he  moved  into  an  old  house  by  himself  and 
lived  alone.  His  lonely  life  was  happily  interrupted1 
when  he  met  Miss  Laura  James,  and  they  were  married 
July  5,  1896. 

Soon  after,  being  stricken  with  a desire  to  see  the 
West,  in  September  of  the  same  year  he  loaded  his 
belongings,  consisting  of  a little  bedding  and  cooking, 
utensils,  in  with  those  of  another  family,  and  started: 
West.  His  first  stop  was  about  fifty  miles  distant; 
There  in  a short  time  he  came  face  to  face  with  starva-i 
tion.  For  ten  days  or  more  he  and  his  wife  ate  mushi 
made  up  only  with  water  and  cooked  from  meal  that 
had  been  borrowed.  At  the  same  time  the  young  wife 
did  a neighbor’s  washing  for  a family  of  four  to  obtain 
enough  soap  to  do  her  own  washing  one  time.  Edmond 
J.  earnestly  sought  work,  but  the  people  who  gave  it  toi 
him  had  no  money,  and  as  a last  resort  he  accepted  two 
small  steel  animal  traps  for  a small  job  of  work,  think- 
ing he  would  set  the  traps  on  the  creek  near  his  house 
and  catch  a coon  and  in  that  way  get  some  meat  to  eat.l 
At  the  next  house  for  some  work  he  was  given  a sm  frill 
piece  of  meat  and  a gallon  of  meal.  With  this  he  hurried' 
home,  cooked  it  for  supper,  and  that  night  the  little' 
household  was  one  of  feasting  and  joy,  though  little! 
provision  remained  for  breakfast. 

In  March,  1897,  a friendly  neighbor  moved  therm 
further  west  and  unloaded  them  in  an  old  house  on  a: 
river  bank.  There  Edmond  Gardner  became  a fislier-r 
man.  He  took  as  a partner  a boy  named  Henry  James.' 
While  they  caught  fish  in  quantities  they  had  no  way  to 
take  them  to  market.  It  is  an  old  saying  that  where 
there  is  a will  there  is  a way.  Gathering  some  scrap] 
lumber  and  making  a wheelbarrow,  they  loaded  it  with 
three  hundred  pounds  of  fish,  and  while  one  pulled  the 
other  pushed  and  thus  they  traversed  eight  miles  through!  Er 
the  black  mud  to  the  nearest  town.  Here  the  fish  had' 
a ready  sale  at  five  cents  a pound  and  within  two  hours 
they  were  returning  with  a supply  of  provisions  and, I 
as  Mr.  Gardner  says,  happier  than  millionaires,  ThisL 
fishing  was  continued  until  June,  and  each  week  they;  ^ ‘ 
made  one  or  two  trips  with  their  wheelbarrow,  botlr 
going  barefooted  during  the  rainy  season  of  the  year; 

In  June  Edmond  loaded  his  belongings  in  with  those  of 
another  family  bound  for  the  West,  and  after  goingi 
100  miles  started  out  again  to  look  for  work.  Crops 
were  a total  failure  and  no  employment  was  to  be  had.l 
It  seemed  that  an  unseen  hand  led  him  to  face  every-; 
thing  that  brings  disappointment,  discouragements  and' 
hardships.  Thus  in  January,  1898,  he  returned  to  his  j,” 
old  home  in  Towson  County,  a wiser,  better  and  a more 
experienced  man.  Before  taking  this  trip  he  did  not 
know  the  value  of  a dollar,  neither  did  he  understand 
the  vision  of  his  childhood.  Now  he  began  to  think 
seriously  of  the  future,  and  was  ready  and  anxious  to 
undertake  some  real  vocation.  At  a loss  to  know  what 
to  do  or  how  to  start,  again  and  again  have  the  words! 
“you  must”  flashed  before  his  mind  and  he  could  not 
sit  still. 

Moving  to  Clear  Creek,  he  began  work  in  a black-, 
smith ’s  shop,  and  in  a few  months  later  in  a store.  In 
January,  1899,  he  bought  the  store  on  “promises”  and 
was  appointed  postmaster.  This  gave  him  time  foi 


pi  cl 
same 


fits  we 
ras  in' 
was 


Meets, 

tardner 


ad  is 
ocation 
siicce 
agic. 
arrativ 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1889 


study  and  thought.  Recognizing  the  need  of  an  edu- 
cation, he  began  collecting  school  textbooks,  studied 
them  assiduously,  and  his  interest  and  application 
brought  rapid  advancement.  That  was  the  turning  point 
in  his  career,  and  everything  thenceforward  seemed  to 
change  for  the  better.  Out  of  that  experience  he 
evolved  some  precepts  and  resolutions.  In  January, 
1900,  he  resolved  “that  the  leisure  hour  was  the  most 
valuable  part  of  the  day,”  and  that  “he  would  never 
sleep  in  the  daytime  unless  his  health  demanded  it,  for 
there  is  too  much  that  need  to  be  done,”  and  that 
knowledge  and  not  money  shall  be  my  aim.  ’ ’ These 
cardinal  principles  he  has  put  to  a worthy  test  in  his 
subsequent  career.  In  the  same  year  he  was  appointed 
clerk  and  treasurer  of  Towson  County  and  served  two 
years.  In  the  meantime  merchandising  occupied  him 
until  1901,  when  he  sold  out  and  moved  to  Valliant,  his 
present  home,  taking  up  business  ’as  a .photographer. 
'T  While  his  income  was  small,  he  laid  away  10  per  cent 
41  to  buy  books,  calling  it  ‘ ‘ the  self  instruction  fund.  ’ ’ 
Thus  he  acquired  books  and  magazines,  but  read  very 
little  fiction  or  story  books  because  he  thought  it  too 
expensive  a luxury  for  a poor  man,  not  in  dollars  and 
cents,  but  in  hours  and  days.  Further,  the  reading  of 
stories  caused  him  to  lose  interest  in  more  substantial 
literature. 

In  1905  he  was  elected  city  clerk  and  in  the  same 
Jyear  appointed  county  clerk.  In  1906  he  was  elected 
J mayor.  In  the  meantime  he  had  gained  familiarity  with 
..  the  law  and  was  practicing  as  senior  partner  of  the 
JjjJ  law  firm  of  Gardner  & Cochran.  He  soon  gave  up  the 
|iaw  because  it  did  not  harmonize  with  his  conscience, 
[n  1909  Mr.  Gardner  organized  the  ‘ ‘ Puritan  Family,  ’ ’ 
i fraternal  order.  He  wrote  the  ritual  of  the  initiatory 
legree,  which  exemplified  the  struggles  of  life  from 
beginning  to  success,  pointing  out  idleness,  intem- 
perance and  self-importance  as  the  chief  stumbling 
tone;  passing  to  old  age  with  its  joys  and  sorrows 
md  closing  with  a scene  of  death  and  our  hope  in  the 
esurrection.  The  purpose  of  this  order  was  “mutual 
issistance, ’ ’ its  motto,  “do  something,”  and  the  bene- 
its  were  providing  medical  aid  for  the  sick.  The  order 
vas  intended  for  the  young  people,  boys  and  girls,  but 
was  enjoyed  by  the  old  and  young  alike,  the  best 
eople  of  the  town  becoming  members. 

In  1910  he  was  appointed  assistant  postmaster  and 
erved  3%  years.  During  his  leisure  hours  he  invented 
complete  system  of  shorthand  writing  for  his  own  use, 
vhieh  was  considered  by  many  as  being  equal  to  if  not 
etter  in  some  respects  than  the  standard  systems. 
Vhile  studying  shorthand  he  discovered  and  worked  out 
complete  phonetic  alphabet  for  the  English  language, 
ery  different  from  the  common  English  alphabet  in 
haracters  used  and  names  for  them,  consisting  of  sixty- 
even  characters,  each  having  only  one  sound,  suitable 
or  type  form  and  a printer’s  press.  In  1915  he  invented 
small  writing  machine,  small  enough  to  be  carried  in 
he  pocket,  having  only  five  keys  and  operated  entirely 
nth  one  hand  and  using  his  phonetic  alphabet;  the 
ounds  of  the  words  being  made  in  the  same  manner  as 
chord  on  a musical  instrument — by  a combination  of 
eys. 

While  concerning  himself  with  these  higher  aims  and 


and'  toilsome  with  no,  reward  in  sight,  and  he  suffered 
times  of  despair.  Again  financial  necessities  would 
interrupt  his  real  work,  and,  troubles  seemed  insur- 
mountable mountains:  in  his  path.  Having  passed  the 
crisis  and  having  taken  up  the  fight  anew,  all  these 
previous  discouragements  passed  away  like  snow  under 
a summer  sun. 

Mr.  Gardner  is  the  father  of  eight  children,  of  whom 
five  are  living  r Mrs.  Lela  Shackelford,  Bonnie,  Susie, 
Alzara  and  Lois.  The  family  live  in  the  Town  of  Val- 
liant. He  is  a member  of  the  Methodist  Church  and  is 
fraternally  connected  with  the  Masons,  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Woodmen  of  the  World. 

Charles  M.  Roberts.  Not  all  the  Oklahoma  pioneers 
were  successful  from  a financial  and  business  standpoint. 
Nearly  all  of  them  possessed  daring  and  enterprise,  with- 
out which  qualities  they  would  hardly  have  ventured  into 
this  country.  There  are  a few  conspicuous  cases  of 
substantial  success,  however,  and  one  of  these  is  illus- 
trated by  Charles  M.  Roberts  of  Okmulgee.  Mr.  Roberts 
first  became  identified  with  what  is  now  the  State  of 
Oklahoma  in  1888,  the  year  before  the  original  opening. 
In  1893  he  made  the  run  into  the  Cherokee  Strip,  start- 
ing from  the  Mickasuckee  Mission^  where  he  was  em- 
ployed at  that  time.  He  secured  a claim  but  afterwards 
abandoned  it. 

His  principal  operations  have  been  in  old  Indian  Terri- 
tory, now  Eastern  Oklahoma.  It  was  on  May  30,  1900, 
that  he  arrived  at  Okmulgee.  At  that  time  not  more 
than  twenty  white  people  were  settled  on  the  site  of  that 
old  Indian  town.  The  railroad  had  not  quite  reached 
here,  and  in  fact  he  was  just  ahead  of  the  railroad.  For 
several  years  he  conducted  the  Frisco  Hotel  of  Okmulgee, 
but  he  soon  saw  larger  opportunities  in  the  oil  and  real 
estate  business  and  that  has  been  the  source  of  his  un- 
qualified success.  As  an  investment  and  operator  in  the 
oil  district  he  is  one  of  the  many  men  who  have  acquired 
a fortune.  Some  of  his  associates  say  that  Mr.  Roberts 
made  $50,000  out  of  a single  oil  deal.  His  interests  are 
chiefly  confined  to  the  largest  and  most  productive  oil 
fields  in  the  country  at  this  time,  the  Cushing  field, 
and  he  also  has  some  leases  and  oil  property  in  Okmulgee 
County. 

Charles  M.  Roberts  was  born  in  Berrien  County,  Mich- 
igan, March  8,  1864.  His  parents  were  Lowell  L.  and 
Lydia  C.  (Liscomb)  Roberts,  who  were  also  natives  of 
Michigan.  The  family  lived  in  that  state  until  Charles 
\yas  nine  years  of  age  and  they  then  moved  to  South- 
western Missouri,  locating  in  Lawrence  County  in  1872. 
In  1886  they  went  to  Wichita,  Kansas,  and  in  the  spring 
of  1888  the  parents  settled  at  Rogers,  Arkansas,  where 
the  father  died  later  in  the  same  year  at  the  age  of 
sixty-three.  The  mother  died  at  Seneca,  Missouri,  March 
5,  1893,  aged  fifty-eight.  Lowell  L.  Roberts  was  a car- 
penter and  wagon  maker  by  trade  and  a very  industrious 
and  proficient  workman.  While  living  in  the  North  in 
Michigan  he  made  a great  number  of  sleighs  and  bob 
sleds  as  well  as  wagons.  In  the  family  were  four  chil- 
dren, Nellie  E.,  wife  of  Frank  Good  of  Seattle,  Wash- 
ington; Jennie,  wife  of  Lynn  Wilks  at  Winfield,  Kansas; 
Charles  M.;  Daisy  E.,  wife  of  H.  C.  Davis  of  St. 
Joseph,  Missouri. 

Mr.  Roberts  lived  with  his  parents  and  followed  them 
in  their  various  removals  until  about  1888,  when  he  was 
twenty-four  years  of  age.  After  he  had  finished  his 
early  education  he  went  into  his  father’s  shop  and  prac- 
tically grew  up  in  the  wagon  making  trade.  That  trade 
furnished  him  his  means  of  living  for  a number  of  years, 
practically  until  he  came  to  Okmulgee  in  1900.  When 
he  first  came  into  what  is  now  Oklahoma  in  November, 


1890 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1888,  he  settled  at  Muskogee  and  found  outlet  for  his 
energies  in  work  at  his  trade  there  for  6%  years.  During 
the  next  4%  years  he  lived  in  Texas,  and  then  returned 
to  Indian  Territory  and  established  himself  at  Okmulgee. 
Mr.  Roberts  has  given  his  influence  and  means  to  the 
upbuilding  of  his  home  city,  and  is  one  of  the  leading 
members  of  the  Chamber  of  Commerce. 

In  1888  at  Rogers,  Arkansas,  he  married  Miss  Mary 
Johnson,  who  was  born  in  Missouri,  but  was  partly 
reared  in  Arkansas.  Her  father  was  J.  J.  Johnson.  To 
their  marriage  were  born  three  sons,  two  of  whom  died  in 
infancy.  The  son  Fred  Roscoe,  who  lives  at  home,  and 
who  was  married  October  2,  1915,  to  Miss  Sadie  Miers 
of  Muskogee  has  come  into  considerable  prominence  as 
an  aviator.  In  the  spring  of  1915  he  went  to  Ithaca, 
New  York,  and  took  a practical  course  in  aviation.  He 
has  a fine  aeroplane  of  his  own,  built  in  the  Thomas 
Brothers  factory  at  a cost  of  $8,000,  and  similar  to  those 
employed  by  the  European  allies  for  military  purposes. 
The  Okmulgee  Chamber  of  Commerce  has  built  for  him 
an  aviation  field  and  hangar  and  he  has  proved  a very 
skillful  flyer  and  usually  practices  in  his  machine  or 
takes  it  out  for  exhibition  purposes  about  once  a week, 
and  may  be  seen  soaring  about  in  the  clouds  over  Ok- 
mulgee every  Saturday  if  the  weather  permits. 

Harry  W.  Eby,  cashier  of  the  Colony  State  Bank, 
Colony,  Oklahoma,  has  been  a resident  of  this  state  since 
1909,  when  he  came  to  Colony  with  Messrs.  Shaub  and 
Millner,  and  secured  control  of  the  bank  with  which  he 
has  since  been  identified.  The  bank  was  organized  in 
1903,  as  a state  institution,  by  W.  Montgomery  and 
Doctor  Davis,  both  of  Weatherford,  and  a Mr.  Galloway 
of  Colony.  The  present  officers  of  the  bank  are  P.  E. 
Shaub,  president;  E.  L.  Millner,  vice  president;  and  Mr. 
Eby,  cashier.  The  capital  stock  is  $10,000,  with  a 
surplus  of  $2,900.  Under  the  supervision  of  Mr.  Eby 
the  bank  has  paid  a 20  per  cent  dividend  for  the  past 
six  years,  and  its  surplus  has  been  increased  from  $1,300 
to  $2,900.  It  was  at  no  time  a paying  investment  prior 
to  Mr.  Eby’s  connection  with  it,  and  since  he  came  to 
be  connected  with  it  the  present  fine  home  of  the  bank 
was  erected. 

Mr.  Eby  was  born  in  Hannibal,  Missouri,  on  December 
5,  1878,  and  he  is  a son  of  Frank  Eby,  born  in  New  York 
State,  near  Rochester,  in  1827,  and  died  in  Hannibal  in 
1897. 

Frank  Eby  left  his  native  state  in  early  manhood  and 
went  to  Rock  Island,  where  he  engaged  in  the  mercantile 
business  and  was  there  located  for  many  years.  He 
finally  went  to  Hannibal,  where  he  spent  the  last  years 
of  his  life.  He  was  a member  of  the  Methodist  Episco- 
pal Church,  and  a deacon  in  it,  and  he  helped  to  organ- 
ize the  church  in  his  home  town.  He  was  a Mason  and  a 
veteran  of  the  Civil  war,  having  served  four  years  as 
quartermaster  of  an  Iowa  regiment  of  volunteer  infantry. 
He  married  Sarah  Jane  Webb,  who  was  born  in  Indiana 
in  1830,  and  who  died  in  1906  while  on  a visit  in  New 
Mexico.  Harry  W.  is  the  only  child  born  to  them. 
Sarah  Webb,  however,  was  the  second  wife  of  Mr.  Eby. 
His  first  wife  was  a Miss  Gilman  of  Bangor,  Maine.  She 
died  in  Saverton,  Missouri,  leaving  him  six  children. 
Charles  is  a railroad  contractor  and  lives  in  Denver, 
Colorado,  where  he  is  interested  officially  in  the  Ameri- 
can National  Bank.  Louis  died  at  St.  Charles,  Mis- 
souri, where  he  was  a merchant  for  some  years.  Seth  G. 
lives  in  Denver,  and  like  his  brother,  is  a railroad  con- 
tractor. Mary  is  the  wife  of  a Mr.  Colbtirn,  and  lives 
in  Mt.  Rose,  Colorado.  Grace,  now  deceased,  was  the 
wife  of  J.  Ross,  a merchant  of  Mt.  Rose,  Colorado. 


Hattie  married  Van  Slingerland  and  lives  in  St.  Louis, 
Missouri. 

Harry  W.  Eby  attended  the  public  schools  in  Hanni- 
bal, Missouri,  and  was  graduated  from  the  Hannibal 
Commercial  College  in  1897.  He  then  engaged  in  rail- 
road contracting  with  his  brothers,  Seth  and  Charles,, 
and  was  associated  with  them  until  1906,  carrying  on 
their  operations  through  Georgia  and  Alabama,  and  com- 
ing to  Oklahoma  in  1900  on  a contract  for  the  Frisco,, 
between  Sapulpa  and  Denison,  Texas.  They  finished  that 
contract  in  1901  and  then  came  to  Weatherford  on  a 
contract  for  the  old  Choctaw  Railroad,  now  the  Rock, 
Island.  They  built  the  road  bed  on  this  line  from 
Weatherford  to  where  the  town  of  Clinton  now  stands,, 
finishing  the  work  in  1901,  toward  the  close  of  the  year. 
The  brothers  then  took  a similar  contract  in  Texas  fori 
the  Frisco,  from  Sherman  to  Fort  Worth,  and  they  were* 
one  year  completing  that  piece  of  work.  Returning  too 
Oklahoma,  they  carried  out  a contract  with  the  Choctawi 
Railroad  from  Tecumseh  to  Asher,  finishing  the  work  ini 

1903,  and  then  took  a contract  with  the  Rock  Island  fromi 
Chandler  to  Guthrie,  completing  the  work  in  February, 

1904.  Other  contract  work  of  a similar  nature  with  thei 
Midland  Valley,  from  Fort  Smith  to  Tulsa,  they  com-i 
pleted  in  1905,  after  which  Harry  W.  Eby  of  this  review! 
withdrew  from  association  with  liis  brothers  and  started' 
operations  on  his  own  initiative.  His  first  contract  was 
a levee  job  at  the  mouth  of  the  Arkansas  river,  and  hei 
finished  that  work  in  1906.  In  1907  he  was  connected! 
with  the  A.  B.  & A.  R.  R.  at  Atlanta,  Georgia,  and  he 
then  entered  the  Clovis  National  Bank  at  Clovis,  Newi 
Mexico,  as  a book-keeper.  He  was  employed  there  for 
two  years  and  in  August,  1909,  he  came  to  Colony,  Okla- 
homa, since  which  time  he  has  been  associated  in  an  offi-i 
cial  capacity  with  the  Colony  State  Bank,  as  has  already; 
been  stated  in  detail. 

Mr.  Eby  is  a democrat  and  takes  an  active  part  in 
local  politics  of  that  faction.  He  has  served  as  treas- 
urer of  the  school  board  of  Colony,  and  is  a member  and 
a deacon  in  the  Presbyterian  Church.  He  is  a Mason, 
and  is  a member  of  Weatherford  Lodge  No.  138  Ancient 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  Weatherford  Chapter  No.  31 
Royal  Arch  Masons,  and  Weatherford  Commandery.i 
No.  17,  Knights  Templar. 

Mr.  Eby  is  well  known  in  Oklahoma  City,  and  is  con 
nected  with  the  Oklahoma  City  Building  and  Loan  Asso- 
ciation there.  While  in  that  city  he  married,  in  1901 
Miss  Lillian  Rice,  whose  father  was  then  postmaster  at 
Weatherford,  and  who  is  now  living  retired  in  this  city 
Five  children  have  been  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Eby: 
Wesley,  born  in  1904,  attends  the  public  schools,  as  dd 
also  Reginald  and  Carolina,  born  in  1906  and  1910,  re< 
speetively.  The  two  younger  children  are  Frank,  borr 
in  1912,  and  Virginia,  in  1914. 


Staff 
his  i 
itailj 
start 
if  lit 
arriw 
positi 
He  s 
fame 
neees 
Ohio, 
also  ( 
basin 
propo 
ream 
tod 
contii 
aatil 
and  < 
a ms 
sight 
Whili 
inters 
condi 
citize 
Sasai 
She  i 
State, 
Bade* 
Kansi 
Cathoi 

:daugh 
whoa 
openii 
tin  Ga' 
hasbi 
that  t 
ihoma 
15,  It 
iSaline 
her  2t 
Seattli 
13, 186 
of  Cai 
121,181 
Sosa, 
1,1881 
in  has 
Anada 
was  in, 
Coanh 
% 188 
anpra 
Frai 
schools 


Frank  A.  Dinkler.  An  honorable  place  among  the 
citizens  of  Hennessey,  Oklahoma,  is  occupied  by  Frank 
A.  Dinkier,  a leading  pharmacist  of  this  wide-awake 
city.  For  nearly  a quarter  of  a century  has  Mr.  Dinklei 


been  a resident  of  this  community,  and  by  his  business  loweve 


energy,  integrity  and  public  spirit,  has  ably  contributed 
to  its  prosperity  and  growth.  On  a number  of  occasions 
he  has  been  before  the  people  in  positions  of  importance 
and  his  service  as  a public  servant  has  been  alike  grati 
fying  to  his  numerous  friends  and  a credit  to  his 
capability  and  executive  power. 

Mr.  Dinkier  was  born  on  a farm  near  Churchtown,  ir 
Washington  County,  Ohio,  November  14,  1863,  and  is  i 
son  of  Joseph  and  Susanna  (Walter)  Dinkier.  Josepl 
Dinkier  was  born  in  Germany  in  1835  and  was  nineteer 
years  of  age  and  an  orphan  when  he  came  to  the  Unitec 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1891 


States.  He  had  secured  only  an  ordinary  education  in 
his  native  land,  but  was  willing  and  ambitious  and 
ready  to  accept  any  honorable  employment  that  would 
start  him  on  his  way  to  his  cherished  goal,  the  winning 
of  his  fortune  in  his  adopted  country.  Soon  after  his 
arrival,  in  1854,  Mr.  Dinkier  succeeded  in  securing  a 
position  in  a Pittsburgh,  Pennsylvania,  glass  factory. 
He  spent  some  years  in  various  establishments  in  the 
famous  manufacturing  city  and  finally  secured  the 
necessary  means  to  invest  in  a small  farm  near  Marietta, 
Ohio,  in  Washington  County.  To  add  to  his  income  he 
also  conducted  a small  store,  and  both  his  farm  and  his 
business  were  subsequently  built  up  to  very  respectable 
proportions.  In  1877,  with  his  family,  Mr.  Dinkier 
removed  to  Saline  County,  Kansas,  where  he  took  up 
land  from  the  United  States  Government.  There  he 
continued  to  be  engaged  in  farming  and  stock  raising 
„ jj  until  1893,  then  changing  his  residence  to  Oklahoma, 
j)M  and  died  at  Hennessey,  May  30,  1913.  Mr.  Dinkier  was 
■j.  jj  a man  of  great  and  tireless  industry,  thrifty  and  far- 
sighted  in  money  matters,  and  of  the  strictest  integrity. 
While  not  a politician  or  an  office  seeker,  he  took  an 
interest  in  the  affairs  of  his  community,  and  at  all  times 
conducted  himself  as  a progressive  and  public-spirited 
citizen.  He  was  married  August  20,  1861,  to  Miss 
Susanna  Walter,  who  was  born  in  Germany  in  1842. 
She  was  four  years  of  age  when  brought  to  the  United 
States  by  her  parents,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of 
Baden,  Germany.  Mrs.  Dinkier  died  at  Brookville, 
Kansas,  May  12,  1892,  in  the  faith  of  the  Roman 
Catholic  Church,  of  which  her  husband  was  also  a com- 
municant. They  were  the  parents  of  six  sons  and  four 
daughters,  as  follows:  Mary  R.,  born  April  14,  1862, 

who  made  the  run  for  land  to  the  Cherokee  Strip  at  the 
opening  in  1893,  securing  a tract  of  Government  land 
in  Garfield  County,  Oklahoma,  on  which  she  proved  up, 
has  been  a professional  nurse,  but  has  now  retired  from 
that  vocation  and  is  living  quietly  at  her  home  at  Okla- 
homa City;  Frank  A.,  of  this  notice;  John,  born  October 
am  15,  1865,  who  is  engaged  in  agricultural  operations  in 
'm  Saline  County,  Kansas;  William  Ignatius,  born  Decem- 
ber 23,  1867,  who  met  his  death  in  a mine  accident  at 
31  Seattle,  Washington,  in  1908 ; Louisa  A.,  born  December 
deij  3,  1869,  who  in  1895  married  Fred  Eishmann,  a farmer 
of  Caddo  County,  Oklahoma;  George  E.,  born  January 
21,  1872,  who  died  unmarried  November  6,  1893;  Susanna 
Asso  Rosa,  born  February  14,  1874,  who  died  as  a child  March 
1901  1,  1880;  Joseph  A.,  born  March  30,  1876,  who  is  engaged 
era  in  business  as  manager  of  his  brother’s  drug  store  at 
Anadarko,  Oklahoma;  Emma,  born  August  3,  1878,  who 
was  married  in  1901  to  O.  E.  Deane,  a farmer  of  Caddo 
is di  County,  Oklahoma;  and  Frederick  P.,  born  February 
re  3,  1881,  who  is  a physician  and  surgeon  now  engaged 
in  practice  at  Fort  Cobb,  Oklahoma. 

Frank  A.  Dinkier  received  his  public  education  in  the 
schools  of  Washington  County,  Ohio,  while  growing  up 
on  his  father’s  farm,  and  when  fourteen  years  of  age 
rani  accompanied  his  parents  to  Saline  County,  Kansas,  where 
he  was  also  surrounded  by  an  agricultural  atmosphere, 
le  He  had  shown  no  desire  for  farming  as  a vocation, 
lines  however,  his  inclination  running  toward  the  calling  of 
itei  pharmacist,  and  accordingly,  in  the  same  year  as  he 
sion  arrived,  he  took  up  the  study  of  his  chosen  profession, 
tanc  When  he  had  mastered  its  many  details  he  secured 
ti  employment  and  for  a number  of  years  lived  at  various 
In  points  until  1892,  when  he  came  to  Hennessey  and  pur- 
chased a drug  stock.  Since  that  time  he  has  been  suc- 
cessful in  building  up  a large  and  paying  business.  He 
now  has  an  excellent  trade  and  carries  a large  and 
•i;ep  up-to-date  assortment  of  goods,  selected  wisely,  arranged 
etee  tastefully  and  attractively  and  priced  moderately.  Aside 
nitJfrom  his  business  Mr.  Dinkier  has  found  time  to  serve 


his  community  in  offices  of  public  trust,  having  been 
mayor  for  two  years  and,  city  treasurer  for  eight  years. 
In  both  offices  he  has  shown  his  executive  ability  and 
strict  integrity.  Mr.  Dinkier  is  a director  of  the  First 
National  Bank  of  Hennessey,  owns  a well  cultivated 
farm  in  Caddo  County,  and  considerable  property  at 
Anadarko,  including  the  drug  store  that  is  being  con- 
ducted by  his  brother,  Joseph  A.  Mr.  Dinkier  and  the 
members  of  his  family  are  communicants  of  the  Roman 
Catholic  Church. 

Mr.  Dinkier  was  married  at  Augusta,  Kansas,  May 
23,  1906,  to  Miss  Margaret  Flanagan,  who  was  born 
February  18,  1878,  in  Butler  County,  Kansas,  daughter 
of  Martin  and  Johanna  (Hamilton)  Flanagan,  the 
former  a native  of  Ireland  and  the  later  of  Dubuque, 
Iowa.  One  son  and  one  daughter  have  come  to  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Dinkier:  Clara  Johanna,  born  March  30,  1908; 

and  George  Martin,  born  June  30,  1911,  both  at 
Hennessey. 

Charlie  Ellis  Thornton.  Ranking  as  one  of  the 
representative  business  men  of  Washita  County  is 
Charlie  Ellis  Thornton,  proprietor  of  an  undertaking  and 
furniture  establishment  at  the  county  seat,  Cordell.  He 
is  also  known  as  a man  who  has  contributed  to  the  wel- 
fare and  advancement  of  the  city,  and  although  a com- 
paratively recent  addition  to  the  life  of  Cordell  has 
already  strongly  entrenched  himself  in  the  confidence  of 
its  citizens.  Mr.  Thornton  comes  of  a family  which 
located  prior  to  the  Revolution  in  Georgia,  and  was 
born  April  8,  1877,  at  Black  Springs,  Montgomery 
County,  Arkansas,  a son  of  A.  N.  and  Mary  (Sloan) 
Thornton. 

A.  N.  Thornton  was  born  in  Georgia  in  1843,  and  still 
survives,  hale  and  hearty  in  spite  of  his  seventy-three 
years.  He  has  a winter  home  at  Corpus  Christi,  Texas, 
while  during  the  summer  months  he  resides  at  Cordell. 
Mr.  Thornton  enlisted  for  service  in  the  war  between 
the  states  in  1861,  as  a member  of  a Georgia  regiment 
in  the  Confederate  army,  and  served  four  years  with 
gallantry  and  valor.  Later  he  removed  to  Black  Springs, 
Montgomery  County,  Arkansas,  and  in  1891  to  Limestone 
County,  Texas,  settling  near  Mexia.  After  four  years 
he  moved  to  the  Panhandle  and  took  up  a ranch  near 
Memphis,  Texas,  where  he  and  his  son,  Charles  E.,  owned 
nine  sections  of  land,  and  although  their  large  and  valu- 
able ranch  property  has  been  sold,  the  greater  part  of 
Mr.  Thornton’s  interests  are  still  centered  at  Memphis. 
Mr.  Thornton  is  a deacon  in  the  Baptist  Church.  He 
has  been  active  in  democratic  politics,  and  at  one  time 
served  as  justice  of  the  peace.  Mr.  Thornton  married 
Miss  Mary  Sloan,  also  a native  of  Georgia,  and  they 
became  the  parents  of  six  children,  namely;  Tommie,  who 
was  a carpenter  and  met  his  death  in  1879,  at  Black 
Springs,  Arkansas,  when  he  fell  from  a scaffolding 
while  working  on  a church  belfry;  Nettie,  who  is  the 
wife  of  S.  P.  McKinney,  an  electrician  of  Amarillo, 
Texas;  Lee  M.,  who  owns  several  farms  in  the  vicinity 
of  Memuhis:  A.  H.,  who  is  a school  teacher  and  minister 
of  the  Baptist  Church,  at  Cordell;  Charlie  Ellis,  of  this 
notice:  and  E.  K.,  who  was  a cattleman  and  died  at 
Rio.  Texas,  in  1914. 

Charlie  E.  Thornton  secured  a graded  school  educa- 
tion, and  was  attending  the  high  school  at  Mexia  in 
1895,  when  the  familv  moved  to  Memphis.  Leaving  school 
at  that  time,  he  assisted  his  father  in  the  work  of  the 
ranch  until  1906.  then  entering  the  furniture  business 
at  Memphis,  where  he  continued  for  one  year.  He  next 
moved  to  Rowe,  Donald  County,  Texas,  and  established 
himself  in  the  general  merchandise  business,  but  after 
one  year  his  store  was  destroved  by  fire.  He  rebuilt, 
but  soon  thereafter  disposed  of  his  interests  and  went 


1892 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


to  Clarendon,  Texas,  where  he  engaged  in  the  grocery 
business,  a successful  ' enterprise  with  which  he  was 
identified  until  ill  health  caused  him  to  sell  out,  in  1909. 
He  next  spent  one  and  one-half  years  at  Sulphur,  Okla- 
homa, and  April  8,  1911,  came  to  Cordell,  where  he 
has  since  been  engaged  in  the  undertaking  and  furniture 
business.  His  store  is  situated  on  the  west  side  of  the 
square,  the  ground  floor  being  100  by  25  feet;  and  the 
second  floor  75  by  50  feet,  and  in  addition  to  a large 
stock  of  furniture,  is  equipped  with  every  known  appli- 
ance for  the  dignified  and  reverent  handling  of  the  dead. 
Mr.  Thornton  has  a patronage  which  extends  into 
Washita  and  the  surrounding  counties,  and  his  business 
reputation  is  an  excellent  one  all  over  this  section. 
Mr.  Thornton  is  a democrat  and  a member  of  the 
Baptist  Church.  He  is  an  active  and  enthusiastic  mem- 
ber of  the  Cordell  Commercial  Club,  and  is  fraternally 
identified  with  Cordell  Lodge  No.  167,  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows  Memphis  Lodge  No.  729,  and 
Cordell  Chapter  No.  75,  of  the  Masonic  Order;  Cordell 
Chapter  No.  206,  Order  of  the  Eastern  Star;  and  Cordell 
Lodge  of  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen. 

On  December  11,  1899,  in  Childress  County,  Texas, 
Mr.  Thornton  was  married  to  Miss  Ollie  Barnett, 
daughter  of  J.  A.  Barnett,  a capitalist  of  Clarendon, 
Texas.  Two  children  have  been  born  to  this  union: 
Moselle,  born  in  February,  1902,  and  now  a freshman  at 
Cordell  High  School;  and  Harry,  born  in  October,  1903, 
who  is  attending  the  Cordell  graded  schools. 

G.  M.  Barrett,  prosecuting  attorney  of  McCurtain 
County,  went  alone  on  a tour  of  inspection  of  the  moon- 
shine regions  of  the  old  Choctaw  Nation  in  1911.  For 
a week  he  traveled,  unmolested  and  practically  unques- 
tioned, never  suspected,  visiting  one  community  after 
another,  making  memoranda  of  the  location  of  the  dis- 
tilleries and  charging  his  memory  with  the  names  and 
physiognomies  of  the  men  operating  them.  Back  in 
his  office  at  Idabel,  he  marshalled  his  data,  placed  some 
of  the  names  of  operators  he  had  obtained  upon  war- 
rants, and  held  a conference  with  Sheriff  Tom  Graham. 
The  important  result  was  the  capitulation  of  six  dis- 
tilleries, the  confiscation  of  their  property,  the  arrest 
of  a “higher  up"  in  the  liquor  manufacturing  business, 
the  confessions  of  several  others  who  voluntarily  sur- 
rendered, and — a brass  band.  The  brass  band  led  a 
parade  of  law-abiding  citizens  of  McCurtain  County 
who  rejoiced  in  the  clever  work  of  the  young  Arkansas 
lawyer  whom  they  had  elected  prosecuting  attorney  and 
in  the  fact  that  he  had  achieved  what  United  States 
officials  had  not  accomplished  in  half  a century  of  effort. 
The  brass  band  was  also  a feature  of  the  reception  given 
Mr.  Barrett,  and,  piled  upon  a wagon  that  featured 
in  the  parade,  were  the  kettles  and  other  paraphernalia 
of  the  moonshiners. 

Mr.  Barrett’s  clue  that  led  to  this  clever  piece  of 
work  was  secured  in  Sevier  County,  Arkansas,  where 
he  was  reared  and  where  he  had  known  two  illicit  manu- 
facturers of  liquor  who  had  established  themselves  later 
in  Indian  Territory  where  settlements  were  fewer  and 
molestation  infrequent.  These  men  were  brothers  and 
in  his  campaigns  of  the  county  for  office,  Mr.  Barrett 
had  learned  of  their  location.  His  lonely  journey  as  a 
sleuth  led  him  there,  and  on  a public  highway  he  met 
one  of  the  brothers,  but  was  not  recognized. 

His  route  to  a still  usually  was  found  by  an  almost 
unfailing  sign,  i.  e.  the  stumps  of  small  trees  that  had 
been  cut  for  logs  to  use  in  the  construction  of  liquor 
plants.  With  few  exceptions  he  found  the  plants  far 
removed  from  public  highways  and  in  almost  inacces- 
sible canyons  and  caves  of  the  wildest  section  of  the 


Kiamiehi  Mountains,  although  one  was  discovered  withii 
200  yards  of  the  public  road  which  he  was  traveling. 
“Mountain  Dew’’  he  found  in  divers  quantities.  Th< 


most  prosperous  of  operators  put  their  product  in  bar  (d1655; 


rels  and  it  was  hauled  to  points  in  Arkansas  on  the  Kan 
sas  City  Southern.  Others  put  it  in  kegs  and  jugs  anc 
bottles  and  delivered  it  to  peddlers  who  operated  ir 


KliiiJs} 


adjoining  territory,  visiting  such  settlements  in  the  ••■ill’' 


it  Garv 
isisiDg, 
sea 
le  Ultl 
I it 


mountains  as  Hochatown,  Ida,  Bethel,  Smithville  anc 
Alikchi,  and  at  Idabel,  Valliant,  Garvin  and  Hawortl 
in  the  southern  part  of  the  county.  A few  moonshiners 
raised  the  crops  of  corn  from  which  their  white  liquor  st 
was  made,  while  others  depended  upon  the  little  farmers  ifer  ® 
of  the  mountain  country  to  sell  them  corn  or  to  trade'  I*  ®ar‘ 
it  for  liquor. 

The  first  moonshiner  placed  in  jail  happened  to  be 
one  of  the  men  whom  Mr.  Barrett  had  known  in  Arkan 
sas  and  whom  he  visited  in  his  cell,  relating  his  experi- 
ence as  a detective.  The  man,  in  his  surprise,  confessed- 
to  being  a moonshiner,  whereupon,  he  and  Mr.  Barrett 
agreed  that  if  this  man  would  return  to  the  mountains, 
advise  his  fellows  of  the  coup  and  the  predicament 
they  were  in,  and  assist  the  sheriff  in  delivering  their 
plants  into  possession  of  the  county,  there  would  be- 
prosecutions  of  only  the  oldest  of  them  in  the  business, 
provided  all  agreed  to  refrain  from  re-entering  the  busi- 
ness. The  moonshiner  was  thereupon  released  upon  his 
own  recognizance.  He  headed  for  the  mountains  and 
in  a few  days  six  plants  had  been  brought  in  by  the 
sheriff  and  all  the  men  connected  with  them  had  sur- 
rendered. The  men  agreed  among  themselves  who  should 
plead  guilty  and  when  they  were  presented  to  Mr.  Bar- 


bat  t 


IdJn 


|e  Cod 
Led  1) 
dent,  in 
Hr.Bai 
dor  cod 
nd  ira 
margin, 
feature 
id  of 


iirith  re 


rett  he  recommended  light  sentences.  These  occurrences  1908  M; 


ceed  Be 
letter, 


happened  in  1911.  For  several  years  the  Kiamichis  were 
tolerably  free  of  the  big  stills. 

G.  M.  Barrett  was  born  in  Dyer  County,  Tennessee,  William 
June  7,  1874,  and  is  a son  of  John  F.  and  Ulysses 
Luvisa  (Hopper)  Barrett.  His  father,  born  in  North 
Carolina,  ran  away  from  home  at  the  age  of  fourteen 
years  to  join  his  three  brothers  who  were  in  the  Confed- 
erate army,  in  which  he  likewise  enlisted  and  was 
pounded  three  times,  the  last  wound  being  received  at 


laid  io 
lived  n 
tarewel 
of 

and  la 
thing  I 


Appomattox,  where  General  Lee  surrendered.  Mr.  Bar-  lappina 


rett  was  taken  a prisoner  and  on  account  of  his  wound 
was  not  finally  released  until  nearly  a year  after  the 
war  had  closed.  In  the  meantime,  a negro  boy  came  to 
the  hospital  and  inquired  if  a Confederate  soldier  was 
there,  and,  on  being  introduced  to  Mr.  Barrett,  remained 
with  him  until  after  he  had  rejoined  his  relatives  in  Ten- 
nessee. When  he  returned  to  his  former  home  in  North 
Carolina,  after  a long  and  arduous  trip  on  a sore  leg, 
he  found  that  his  father  had  taken  his  wife  and  other 
children  and  set  out  for  a new  home  in  the  West. 
About  the  same  time,  Mrs.  Hopper,  also  widowed  by 
the  war,  took  her  two  boys  and  two  girls  from  their 
home  in  South  Carolina  and  headed  for  the  West.  It 
happened  that  the  Barrett  and  Hopper  families  joined 
and  made  the  trip  together,  locating  in  Middle  Ten- 
nessee. After  much  wandering,  veteran  John  F.  Bar- 
rett found  the  remnant  of  his  family,  and  in  due  time 
was  married  to  Ulysses  Luvisa  Hopper.  They  became 
the  parents  of  six  sons:  G.  M.,  Earnest  L.,  a farmer  at 
Corn  Hill,  Arkansas;  John  W.  and  J.  E.,  farmer?  at 
Garvin,  Oklahoma,  and  S.  S.  and  C.  C.,  who  are  teachers. 
At  the  close  of  the  war,  John  F.  Barrett  settled  on  an 
unimproved  farm  of  eighty  acres  in  Arkansas,  near 
Brownstown,  where  he  resided  for  some  years,  but 
finally  moved  to  Garvin,  Oklahoma,  where  he  now  makes 
his  home. 

G.  M.  Barrett  was  reared  on  the  home  farm,  where 
he  remained  until  he  was  twenty-one  years  of  age,  and 


the  ten 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1893 


at  that  time  started  out  to  secure  an  education.  ‘ ‘ I had 
a yearning  for  an  education/’  he  says,  “an  ambition 
to  rise  in  the  world  and  increase  the  sphere  of  my  use- 
fulness. My  father,  who  desired  to  help  me  all  he 
could,  furnished  me  with  provisions  and  I rented  a small 
house  where  I did  my  own  cooking  and  cut  wood  on 
Saturdays  to  pay  rent.  I worked  out  and  went  to  school 
until  I was  able  to  teach.  I then  studied  law  and  July 
9,  1902,  was  admitted  to  practice  law  in  Little  River 
County,  Arkansas.  I was  admitted  to  practice  in  the 
United  States  courts  September  11,  1905.”  In  1904, 
while  still  living  in  Arkansas,  he  bought  the  Little 
River  News,  at  Ashdown,  Arkansas,  which  he  later  sold 
to  Charles  L.  Shinn,  of  Hale,  Missouri. 

Mr.  Barrett  came  to  Oklahoma  in  1905  and  located 
at  Garvin,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  and  stock 
raising,  as  well  as  in  the  practice  of  law.  In  1906  he 
was  secretary  of  the  Democratic  Central  Committee  of 
the  111th  District,  and  on  October  6th  of  that  year,  called 
the  first  primary  election  ever  held  in  the  district,  this 
being  for  the  purpose  of  nominating  a candidate  for 
the  Constitutional  Coiivention.  The  election  call  was 
issued  by  the  committee,  of  which  W.  L.  Ray  was  presi- 
dent, in  session  at  Garvin,  September  8,  1906.  In  1907, 
Mr.  Barrett  made  the  race  for  the  democratic  nomination 
for  county  attorney,  in  the  first  statehood  campaign, 
and  was  defeated  by  Robert  E.  Steel  by  a narrow 
margin.  This  campaign  had  an  especially  exciting 
feature  in  that  it  stirred  certain  republicans  of  the  north 
end  of  the  county,  who  believed  Mr.  Barrett  would  be 
nominated  and  who  knew  what  his  policy  would  be 
with  reference  to  the  enforcement  of  the  law.  In 
1908  Mr.  Barrett  was  appointed  county  attorney  to  suc- 
ceed Robert  E.  Steel,  temporarily  suspended,  and  in  a 
letter,  dated  September  4th  of  that  year,  addressed  to 
William  H.  Harrison,  regarding  the  appointment,  he 
said  in  part : “I  pray  God  that  when  I shall  have 

lived  my  allotted  time  out  on  earth  and  come  to  bid 
farewell  to  those  who  know  me,  I shall  have  the  pleas- 
ure of  knowing  that  my  life  has  been  of  some  service 
and  has  been  appreciated.  Next  to  my  family  the 
thing  I treasure  most  is  the  friendship,  well  being  and 
happiness  of  the  people  among  whom  I live.  ’ ’ During 
the  ten  days  of  his  incumbency  of  that  office,  Mr.  Bar- 
irett  convicted  seven  men  for  murder  and  one  for  lar- 
ceny. This  was  a record  that  had  not  been  surpassed 
in  the  state,  considering  the  brevity  of  time  and  the 
character  of  defense  made  by  those  he  prosecuted. 

In  the  campaign  of  1910  Mr.  Barrett  made  a speak- 
ing tour  of  the  county  in  behalf  of  the  celebrated 
“Grandfather  Clause  Act,”  which  was  given  a sub- 
stantial majority  by  the  county.  In  that  year  he  came 
before  the  people  again  as  candidate  for  county  attor- 
ney of  MeCurtain  County,  and  was  elected  to  that  office 
without  opposition  in  the  general  election,  receiving 
1,314  votes,  the  highest  number  'cast  for  any  county 
candidate,  and  the  largest  vote  with  one  exception  cast 
for  any  democratic  candidate  that  year  in  Oklahoma. 
In  1912  he  defeated  Jeff  D.  McLendon  for  the  nomi- 
nation for  the  office  and  was  re-elected  by  a large  ma- 
jority. During  his  campaign  in  1910,  he  said:  “I 

am  no  politician  and  know  nothing  of  politics.  I did 
not  come  from  a family  of  politicians.  But  must  I be 
defeated  because  my  father  is  not  a politician,  because 
ihe  honored  the  plow  handles  instead  of  the  judge’s 
bench?  Must  the  favored  few  always  hold  the  posi- 
tions of  honor  and  trust  and  the  politicians  rule  our 
government?  Are  honesty  and  integrity  qualifications 
worth  anything  against  political  influence?” 

Among  his  first  duties  after  entering  the  office  of 
county  attorney  in  1910  were  the  preferring  of  charges, 


involving  failure  to  enforce  the  law,  and  Indian  mis- 
dealings, against  the  county  judge.  Conditions  relating 
to  Indian  transactions  had  reached  an  acute  stage  and 
Governor  Cruce  and  Governor  MeCurtain  of  the  Choctaw 
Nation  were  appealed  to  with  the  result  that  D.  C. 
MeCurtain  was  assigned  to  the  county  as  special  assist- 
ant attorney  general  to  assist  in  an  investigation  started 
by  Mr.  Barrett.  Judge  Hill  of  McAlester,  and  G.  V. 
McVeigh,  an  Indian  agent,  also  joined  in  the  investiga- 
tion. This  resulted  in  the  removal  from  office  of  the 
county  judge,  the  return  to  county  of  about  $74,000 
that  had  been  unlawfully  taken  from  the  Indians  and 
the  deeding  back  to  Indians  of  lands  taken  unlawfully. 
Mr.  Barrett  is  essentially  a prohibitionist  and  he  had 
much  to  do  with  the  MeCurtain  County  prohibition  ma- 
jority of  245  in  the  election  of  1912  wherein  it  was 
sought  to  substitute  local  option  for  statewide  pro- 
hibition. 

No  ease  he  was  ever  engaged  in  had  a more  spectacular 
interest  and  is  likely  to  be  longer  remembered  in  McCur- 
tain  County  than  the  Coltrane  Case.  He  took  it  up  long 
after  the  deeds  of  crime  had  been  committed  and  judg- 
ment passed,  and  in  fact  his  efforts  were  directed  toward 
a righting  of  the  processes  of  justice,  a reparation  to  a 
man  who  had  already  served  some  half  a dozen  years  in 
the  Federal  prison  at  Leavenworth,  and  a conviction  of 
the  real  criminal. 

Only  a brief  history  of  the  case  can  be  attempted. 
In  the  fall  of  1902  Cicero  and  Sam  Coltrane  made  ar- 
rangements to  live  a few  months  at  the  log  home  of  Tom 
Watson  and  his  rather  attractive  wife,  a few  miles  from 
Hochatown.  In  a short  time  there  was  friction  between 
Cicero  Coltrane  and  Watson  partly  over  business  matters, 
partly,  it  is  said,  because  of  the  former’s  attentions  to 
Mrs.  Watson.  One  evening  in  May,  1903,  Cicero  left  the 
house,  to  feed  a hog.  While  near  the  ppn  he  was  shot 
down  with  a double  barreled  gun,  one  load  being  of 
fine  shot  and  the  other  of  buckshot.  That  night  the 
body  was  conveyed  to  a field  some  distance  away  and 
buried. 

The  next  day  Sam  Coltrane  was  arrested  charged  with 
the  murder.  While  in  custody  he  made  a confession 
that  he  had  killed  Cicero,  though  neither  at  that  time  nor 
at  any  subsequent  time  was  a strong  and  impelling  motive 
for  the  killing  given  or  proven. 

Coltrane  had  his  examining  trial  and  was  bound  over 
to  the  United  States  Court.  Suspicion  was  very  strong 
against  Watson  also,  and  the  officers  arrested  him.  Later 
on  he  was  bound  over  and  placed  in  jail  with  Sam,  but 
failing  to  get  any  testimony  that  would  corroborate 
Sam ’s  against  Watson,  and  being  unable  to  convict  either 
Watson  or  Sam  without  using  the  testimony  of  Watson 
and  his  wife  against  Sam,  the  grand  jury  dropped  the 
case  against  Watson  and  used  Watson  and  his  wife 
as  witnesses  against  Sam.  Thus  after  a number  of  trials 
and  one  or  more  disagreements,  Sam  Coltrane  was  sen- 
tenced before  the  Federal  judge  of  Durant  to  serve  the 
rest  of  his  natural  life  in  the  Federal  penitentiary  at 
Leavenworth.  He  not  only  protested  his  innocence  of  the 
real  crime  but  kept  unceasingly  diligent  in  securing  the 
influence  of  friends  to  effect  his  release  from  prison  and 
the  establishment  of  his  innocence. 

It  was  after  his  election  as  county  attorney  that  Mr. 
Barrett  first  became  identified  with  the  ease.  He  had 
been  in  office  only  a few  weeks  when  an  old  man  named 
Saunders  who  lived  in  the  Hochatown  neighborhood  was 
murdered  in  his  home  and  his  house  burned  down  on  the 
body.  Mr.  Barrett  conducted  an  investigation  and  in  the 
debris  of  the  house  found  some  scraps  of  letters,  which 
indicated  that  the  letters  had  been  written  from  the 
penitentiary  at  Leavenworth.  In  the  meantime  Sam  Col- 


1894 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


trane  having  learned  of  the  killing  of  Saunders,  wrote 
Governor  Cruee  a synopsis  of  the  killing  of  Cicero  Col- 
trane,  stating  that  Watson  was  the  man  who  killed  old 
man  Saunders  for  the  purpose  of  covering  up  all  the  facts 
in  reference  to  the  killing  of  Cicero.  While  old  man 
Saunders  was  an  important  witness  against  Tom  Watson, 
it  was  really  his  son  Harry  Saunders  who  had  passed 
the  Watson  place  on  the  evening  of  the  killing  of  Cicero 
Coltrane,  and  Watson’s  wife  had  seen  the  young  man 
and,  though  it  being  about  dark  had  mistaken  him  for 
the  father.  Mr.  Barrett  soon  afterward  went  to  Leaven- 
worth and  procured  all  information  he  could  from  Sam 
Coltrane.  After  examination  of  all  the  information,  Mr. 
Barrett  came  to  the  conclusion  that  Watson  was  the  real 
murderer,  and  that  he  had  been  led  to  kill  the  old  man 
Saunders  for  the  purpose  of  getting  him  out  of  the 
way  as  a last  remaining  witness  against  him.  After  Wat- 
son had  killed  Cicero  f on  the  protection  of  himself,  he 
and  his  wife  conspired  together  . to  lay  it  all  on  Sam 
Coltrane,  and  that  was  an  easy  matter  under  the  circum- 
stances since  Coltrane  was  a comparative  newcomer  in 
the  neighborhood  and  from  the  first  realized  that  he 
could  never  get  his  word  believed  against  that  of  Watson, 
and  that  his  life  depended  upon  his  covering  up  the  mur- 
der and  shielding  Watson.  It  was  for  this  reason  that  he 
had  consented  to  a plot  outlined  by  Watson  by  which 
it  was  agreed  that  the  first  one  arrested  for  the  murder 
should  assume  all  responsibility  for  it,  while  the  other 
would  lend  his  influence  in  getting  the  defendant  cleared. 
Sam  Coltrane  thus  fell  a guileless  victim  to  the  plot,  and 
while  he  was  thus  1 ‘ accessory  after  the  fact  ’ ’ he  was 
not  the  real  murderer. 

All  this  was  brought  out  by  Attorney  Barrett,  who 
assembled  a great  volume  of  evidence  and  proceeded  with 
characteristic  vigor  in  the  prosecution  of  the  case  against 
Watson  subsequent  to  the  Saunders  murder.  In  1912,  a 
few  months  after  Saunders  was  murdered  and  his  house 
burned  down,  Tom  Watson  was  indicted  charged  with 
the  murder  of  Cicero  Coltrane.  Mr.  Barrett  conducted 
the  prosecution  of  Watson,  and  toward  the  close  of  1913 
secured  his  conviction  and  Watson  was  subsequently  sent 
to  ten  years  confinement  and  a thousand  dollars  fine.  In 
passing,  it  may  be  noted  that  Sam  Coltrane  has  been 
pardoned  and  Mr.  Barrett  recently  signed  a petition  for 
the  pardon  of  Watson. 

Mr.  Barrett  was  united  in  marriage  December  10, 
1899,  at  Brownstown,  Arkansas,  to  Miss  Della  R.  Hern- 
don, daughter  of  Robert  Herndon  and  granddaughter  of 
an  officer  in  the  Confederate  army  during  the  Civil  war. 
To  this  union  there  has  been  born  one  daughter,  Ulice, 
who  is  now  ten  years  old.  Mr.  Barrett  and  his  family 
are  members  of  the  Baptist  Church.  Fraternally,  he  is 
affiliated  with  the  local  lodges  of  the  Masons,  the  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Woodmen  of  the 
World,  and  his  professional  connections  include  member- 
ship in  the  McCurtain  County  and  Oklahoma  Bar  asso- 
ciations. 

Glen  W.  Dill.  The  Dills,  father  and  son,  have  been 
prominent  in  financial  and  other  affairs  at  Hobart  for 
twelve  years,  almost  from  the  founding  of  the  city. 
The  late  Judge  D.  S.  Dill  occupied  a position  of  promi- 
nence and  influence  as  a banker  and  attorney  such  as 
few  of  his  contemporaries  in  Southwestern  Oklahoma  en- 
joyed, and  since  his  death  many  of  his  financial  activities 
have  been  assumed  by  his  son  Glen  W.,  who  now  looks 
after  the  extensive  farm  loan  business  established  by  his 
father,  and  is  also  one  of  the  largest  stock  holders  and  a 
director  in  the  City  National  Bank  of  Hobart. 

The  late  Judge  D.  S.  Dill  was  born  in  Ohio  in  1858, 
his  ancestors  having  come  originally  from  Germany,  and 


probably  settled  in  Ohio  from  North  Carolina.  At  the 
age  of  sixteen  he  went  west  from  Ohio  to  Nickerson, 
Kansas,  and  eventually  studied  and  became  a lawyer.  In 
1887  he  removed  to  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  and  in  1890 
to  Caldwell,  Kansas,  and  at  the  .opening  of  the  Cherokee 
Strip  established  his  home  on  a claim  at  Medford,  Okla- 
homa. In  1903  he  removed  to  Hobart,  where  he  became 
prominent  as  one  of  the  early  lawyers  and  bankers  and 
for  ten  years  was  an  active  force  in  everything  connected 
with  the  civic  and  political  life  of  that  city  and  was  con- 
spicuous as  a town  booster.  He  became  president  of  the 
City  National  Bank,  and  held  that  position  at  the  time 
of  his  death  in  January,  1913.  Judge  Dill  was  a trustee 
in  the  Presbyterian  Church,  was  a member  of  Hobart 
Lodge  No.  198,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and 
was  one  of  the  leading  democrats  of  Kiowa  County. 
He  married  Cora  Wolfinger,  who  was  born  in  Ohio  in  , 
1863.  Their  children  are:  Glen  W. ; Todd,  who  was  j 

killed  by  a fall  over  a precipice  in  the  Washita  Moun-  1 
tains  at  the  age  of  twenty  just  before  he  was  ready  j 
to  graduate  from  the  Hobart  High  School ; Cora  Marie  is  I 
now  a freshman  in  the  Hobart  High  School. 

Glen  W.  Dill  was  born  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  Feb-  ' 
ruary  10,  1888,  and  since  early  childhood  has  lived  in 
Oklahoma,  having  gained  his  early  education  in  the 
public  schools  at  Medford,  and  graduating  from  the  I 
Hobart  High  School  with  the  class  of  1906.  In  1907 
he  took  a business  course  in  the  Gem  City  Business  Col- 
lege at  Quincy,  Illinois,  and  after  returning  to  Hobart 
spent  five  years  as  bookkeeper  in  the  City  National  Bank. 

In  1913,  following  the  death  of  his  father,  he  took  charge 
of  the  large  farm  loan  business  and  brokerage  interests 
built  up  and  established  by  his  father  in  connection  with 
banking,  and  has  carried  on  this  business  which  repre- 
sents an  extensive  clientage  throughout  Kiowa  and  sur- 
rounding counties.  His  offices  are  in  the  City  National 
Bank  Building.  In  the  bank,  of  which  his  father  was 
president,  he  is  a director  and  one  of  the  principal  stock- 
holders. Mr.  Dill  is  also  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the 
Hobart  Ice  & Bottling  Company,  is  secretary  of  the 
Hobart  Mill  & Elevator  Company,  and  secretary  of  the 
Hobart  Building  & Loan  Association. 

In  politics  he  is  a democrat,  is  a trustee  in  the  Pres- 
byterian Church,  and  is  affiliated  with  Hobart  Lodge  No. 
198,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  Hobart 
Chapter  No.  37,  Royal  Arch  Masons.  At  Hobart  in  1910 
he  married  Miss  Zelma  Yandegrit,  a daughter  of  the 
late  D.  E.  Yandegrit,  who  was  a real  estate  broker  in 
Hobart  but  who  died  in  Oklahoma  City. 

Albert  Andrew  Weber,  M.  D.  Since  the  year  1908- 
the  health  and  sanitation  of  the  thriving  little  com- 
munity of  Bessie,  in  Washita  County,  have  been  under  1 
the  care  of  Dr.  Albert  Andrew  Weber,  a medical  and  sur-  1 
gical  practitioner  who  has  brought  to  his  practice  a most  I 
thorough  and  comprehensive  training  and  devotion  and  I 
skill  of  a high  order.  Doctor  Weber  was  born  at  Jack-  I 
son,  Jackson  County,  Michigan,  April  29,  1875,  and  is  a I 
son  of  John  and  Emma  (Gass)  Weber. 

Albert  Weber,  the  grandfather  of  Doctor  Weber,  served  I 
his  term  in  the  German  army  in  his  youth  and  when  he  I 
entered  upon  his  career  chose  the  vocation  of  farming,  I 
in  which  he  continued  to  be  engaged  throughout  his  jj 
life  in  the  province  of  Wurtemburg,  Germany.  His  1 
death  occurred  at  Esslingen,  when  his  grandson  was  still 
very  young,  the  grandfather  being  then  seventy-four  J 
years  of  age.  John  Weber  was  born  at  Esslingen,  Ger-  ! 
many,  in  1841,  and  emigrated  to  the  United  States  in 
1867,  settling  at  Detroit,  Michigan,  where  he  was  engaged  1 
in  butchering.  From  Detroit  he  subsequently  moved  to 
Jackson,  where  he  established  himself  in  a wholesale  1 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1895 


and  retail  meat  business,  and  with  native  thrift  and  in- 
dustry increased  his  holdings  and  enlarged  his  scope  of 
operation  so  that  his  business  activities  invaded  the  fields 
of  milling,  real  estate  and  banking,  in  all  of  which  lines 
he  met  with  unqualified  success.  He  died  at  Jackson  in 
1891,  aged  fifty  years,  the  possessor  of  a handsome  prop- 
erty as  well  as  of  the  regard  and  confidence  of  those 
among  whom  he  had  lived.  He  was  a consistent  member 
of  the  Lutheran  Church,  and  a democrat  in  polities,  and 
took  a keen  and  active  interest  in  civic  affairs,  as  well 
as  in  the  various  lodges  and  fraternities  to  which  he 
belonged,  and  which  included  the  Harmonica,  the  Arbeiter 
Verein,  the  Turner  Yerein,  the  Maennerchor  and  the  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  Mr.  Weber  married  Miss 
Emma  Gass,  who  was  born  in  Ohio  in  1854,  and  died  at 
Jackson,  Michigan,  in  1884,  and  they  became  the  parents 
of  five  children : Emma,  who  lives  ai  J ackson,  Michigan ; 
Albert  Andrew,  of  this  review;  John,  who  is  a resident  of 
Chicago;  Charles,  a bookkeeper  residing  at  Jackson, 
Michigan;  and  Estella,  who  is  the  wife  of  James  Moly- 
neaux,  auditor  for  the  Illinois  Central  Railroad  at  Chi- 
cago. 

Albert  Andrew  Weber  attended  the  public  schools  of 
Jackson,  Michigan,  and  in  his  youth  spent  three  years, 
from  1888  until  1891,  in  academic  work  at  Stuttgart, 
Germany.  He  was  graduated  from  the  Jackson  High 
School  in  the  class  of  1894,  following  which  he  went  to 
the  University  of  Michigan  and  was  graduated  in  1898 
with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Science.  This  was  fol- 
lowed by  three  years  of  work  in  the  medical  department 
of  the  same  institution,  and  his  senior  year  was  then 
passed  at  Rush  Medical  College,  Chicago,  where  he  re- 
ceived his  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine  in  1903.  To 
further  prepare  himself  he  did  hospital  work  in  Chicago 
at  St.  Luke’s  Hospital  as  well  as  the  Cook  County  Hos- 
pital and  continued  to  practice  in  that  city  from  June, 
1903,  until  March,  1904.  At  that  time  he  first  came  to 
Perry,  Oklahoma,  where  he  was  engaged  in  practice  for 
four  years,  and  in  this  time  was  elected  county  coroner  of 
Noble  County,  a position  in  which  he  was  serving  up 
to  the  time  of  his  resignation,  when,  in  June,  1908,  he 
came  to  Bessie.  Here  lie'has  continued  in  the  enjoyment 
of  an  excellent  practice,  attracted  by  his  skill,  sympathy 
and  earnest  devotion.  He  carries  on  a general  practice 
in  both  medicine  and  surgery,  being  the  only  practi- 
tioner at  Bessie,  and  belongs  to  the  Washita  County 
Medical  Society,  the  Oklahoma  Medical  Society  and  the 
American  Medical  Association.  He  has  continued  to  be 
a close  and  discriminating  student,  and  in  1913  took  a 
post-graduate  course  at  Rush  Medical  College.  Doctor 
Weber  maintains  well  appointed  offices  in  the  O.  P.  Smith 
Drug  Store,  where  he  has  a comprehensive  medical  library, 
and  surgical  equipment  for  the  handling  and  care  of  the 
most  difficult  and  delicate  operations.  He  is  a demo- 
crat in  politics,  and  in  additioon  to  acting  as  coroner  of 
Noble  County  was  also  a member  of  the  insanity  board 
while  there.  While  reared  in  the  faith  of  the  German 
Lutheran  Church,  he  attends  the  Presbyterian  Church  at 
Bessie.  Fraternally,  Doctor  Weber  belongs  to  Perry 
Lodge,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons ; Perry  Lodge 
of  the  Knights  of  Pythias;  Bessie  Camp  of  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America,  and  the  Phi  Beta  Pi  Greek  letter 
medical  fraternity. 

In  1908,  at  Perry,  Oklahoma,  Doctor  Weber  was  mar- 
ried to  Miss  Frances  E.  Irwin,  daughter  of  Milton  Irwin, 
deceased,  who  was  a millwright,  and  one  child  has  been 
born  to  this  union:  Vivian  Alberta,  born  September  17, 
1911. 

S.  E.  Bell.  When  Mr.  Bell  arrived  in  Bartlesville 
in  1903  he  found  it  a village  of  a few  hundred  people 


and  just  coming  into  fame  as  one  of  the  centers  of  the 
oil  and  gas  industry.  Since  that  year  his  own  fortunes 
and  energies  have  been  identified  with  the  development 
of  the  oil  resources,  and  his  holdings  and  connections 
give  him  rank  as  one  of  the  most  prominent  men  in 
that  industry  in  Northern  Oklahoma. 

S.  E.  Bell,  who  has  spent  many  years  in  the  old  Indian 
Territory  part  of  Oklahoma,  was  born  at  Mendon, 
Adams  County,  Illinois,  December  29,  1863,  a son  of 
John  A.  and  Eliza  (Mills)  Bell.  His  father  was  born 
in  Indiana  and  his  mother  in  Kentucky,  and  both  were 
taken  to  Illinois  when  children  and  grew  up  and  married 
there.  The  father  enlisted  at  Canton  in  the  spring  of 
1862  in  an  Illinois  regiment  of  infantry,  and  was  with 
the  armies  of  Grant  and  Sherman  until  the  close  of  the 
war.  He  took  part  in  the  Atlanta  campaign,  then  in 
the  march  to  the  sea,  and  finally  reached  Washington 
and  marched  up  Pennsylvania  Avenue  in  the  grand 
review  after  the  close  of  the  war.  Soon  after  the  war 
he  removed  to  Knox  County,  in  Northeastern  Missouri, 
and  about  1890  went  'to  Neosho  County,  Kansas,  where 
his  wife  died  in  1897  at  the  age  of  fifty-six.  The  father 
is  now  living  at  Caney,  Kansas,  retired.  In  early  life 
he  was  a farmer,  but  for  many  years  was  in  the  hard- 
ware business  in  Missouri  and  Kansas.  He  is  a mem- 
ber of  the  Methodist  Church  and  is  a stanch  republican. 
He  served  as  mayor  and  justice  of  the  peace  at  Cun- 
ningham, Missouri,  and  also'  as  justice  of  the  peace  in 
Neosho  County,  Kansas,  and  as  police  judge  at  Caney. 

S.  E.  Bell  was  one  of  a family  of  five  sons  and  five 
daughters,  all  now  living  except  two  sons.  His  early 
life  was  spent  at  home  until  the  age  of  seventeen,  and 
his  education  came  from  the  common  schools.  In  1883, 
when  about  twenty  years  of  age,  he  went  to  Neosho 
County,  Kansas,  and  spent  two  years  as  a clerk  in  a 
hardware  store.  For  two  years  following  he  was  in 
business  for  himself  at  Erie,  Kansas,  and  then  entered 
the  Indian  Territory  and  was  employed  for  three  years 
in  a general  store  at  Fort  Gibson.  For  the  next  three 
years  he  was  connected  with  the  old  Ann  Pereival  store, 
a well  known  establishment  in  that  part  of  the  terri- 
tory. Mr.  Bell  finally  came  out  of  the  Indian  Territory 
and  was  engaged  in  the  hardware  and  implement  busi- 
ness at  Caney,  Kansas,  until  1903.  He  then  located  in 
Bartlesville,  which  was  then  a mere  hamlet,  and  has 
since  made  himself  a factor  in  the  oil  industry,  both 
as  an  individual  operator  and  in  association  with  others. 
He  is  president  of  the  Bell  Oil  Company,  incorporated, 
and  was  formerly  president  of  the  Lehman-Bell  Oil  Com- 
pany. He  is  now  manager  of  the  co-partnership  company 
of  Bell,  Stratton  & Company,  operating  extensively  in 
Kay  County.  His  holdings  as  an  oil  man  extend  to 
practically  all  the  better  known  districts  of  Northern 
Oklahoma. 

Mr.  Bell  is  a republican,  and  for  two  terms  served  as 
clerk  of  the  city  council  at  Bartlesville.  He  is  also  a 
Master  Mason.  In  1892  Mr.  Bell  married  Mrs.  Minnie 
R.  Vann.  She  was  born  in  the  Cherokee  Nation  and  has 
a thirty-second  portion  of  Cherokee  Indian  blood.  Her 
father,  John  Cunningham,  was  a pioneer  at  old  Fort 
Gibson.  By  her  first  marriage  her  three  children  were: 
John  C.  Vann,  of  Bartlesville;  N.  B.  Vann,  of  Arizona; 
and  Fannie,  who  died  at  the  age  of  seven  years.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Bell  have  three  children  of  their  own:  Alfred  E., 
who  is  associated  with  his  father;  Laura  P.,  who  is  now 
a student  at  Chicago,  taking  courses  in  domestic  science 
and  art  preparatory  to  teaching;  and  Lorena,  who  is  in 
the  high  school  at  Bartlesville. 

James  W.  Porter.  Though  a young  man  of  only 
thirty  years,  James  W.  Porter  has  for  almost  ten  years 
of  that  time  been  an  active  factor  in  banking  affairs 


1896 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


in  Western  Oklahoma.  He  is  now  vice  president  of  the 
Cotton  Exchange  Bank  of  Leedey,  assisted  in  organiz- 
ing that  and  several  other  institutions  in  Dewey  and 
other  counties  and  is  also  vice  president  of  the  State 
Bank  of  Commerce  at  Trail  and  vice  president  of  the 
Texmo  Cotton  Exchange  Bank  at  Moorewood. 

Born  at  Newton,  Tennessee,  December  5,  1885,  James 
W.  Porter  comes  of  a family  that  originated  in  Ireland 
and  established  itself  in  Alabama  during  the  period  of 
early  settlement  in  that  commonwealth.  His  father, 
J.  W.  Porter,  who  was  born  at  Montgomery,  Alabama, 
in  1839,  is  now  living  retired  at  Shawnee,  Oklahoma. 
From  Alabama  he  went  to  Bock  Island,  Illinois,  and 
later  to  Newton,  Tennessee,  in  1893  established  his  home 
at  Cleburne,  Texas,  and  in  1903  went  to  Shawnee.  For 
many  years  he  was  in  the  hotel  business.  He  served 
throughout  the  conflict  between  the  North  and  the  South 
as  a Confederate  soldier,  going  out  with  an  Alabama 
regiment,  was  wounded  and  taken  prisoner,  but  subse- 
quently returned  to  the  ranks  after  being  exchanged. 
J.  W.  Porter  was  married  in  New  York  State  to  Miss 
Utica  Streeter.,  who  was  born  in  Utica,  New  York,  in 
1848. 

James  W.  Porter  from  the  age  of  eight  years  lived 
in  Cleburne  until  his  father  removed  to  Shawnee.  He 
attended  the  public  schools  at  Cleburne,  and  graduated 
with  the  high  school  class  in  1903,  and  from  that  year 
until  1906  was  laying  the  foundation  of  his  business 
career  as  an  employee  in  a department  store  at  Shawnee. 
In  1906  he  became  associated  with  W.  O.  Horr  and  Irving 
H.  Wheatcroft.  These  gentlemen  organized  at  Bay  the 
Cotton  Exchange  Bank  and  similar  banks  in  Texmo, 
Cheyenne,  Crawford  and  Elk  City.  In  1911  the  bank 
at  Bay  was  removed  to  Leedey,  and  has  since  been  the 
Cotton  Exchange  Bank  of  Leedey.  Its  present  officers 
are;  Irving  H.  Wheatcroft,  president;  James  W.  Porter, 
vice  president;  C.  B.  Flint,  cashier.  The  bank  has  a 
capital  stock  of  $15,000  and  the  present  surplus  account 
is  $1,500.  In  1911  at  the  corner  of  Main  Street  and 
Broadway  a modern  and  well  furnished  banking  house 
was  constructed,  the  banking'  rooms  being  on  the  lower 
floor  and  offices  above.  It  is  a cement  block  building. 

In  politics  Mr.  Porter  is  a democrat,  but  has  given 
most  of  his  attention  to  local  affairs,  and  for  two  years 
served  as  mayor  of  Leedey.  He  still  has  membership  in 
the  First  Baptist  Church  at  Cleburne,  Texas,  and  is 
affiliated  with  Leedey  Lodge  No.  227  of  the  Knights  of 
Pythias.  At  Texmo,  Oklahoma,  in  1906  he  married 
Miss  Velma  Horr,  daughter  of  C.  A.  Horr.  Mr.  Horr 
is  a resident  of  Leedey  and  in  the  real  estate  business. 

Hon.  E.  E.  Glasco.  One  of  the  leading  civil  and 
criminal  lawyers  of  the  state,  Hon.  E.  E.  Glasco,  has 
also  won  distinction  as  a public  servant,  the  value  of 
whose  labors  in  the  Oklahoma  Legislature  cannot  be 
overestimated.  He  was  born  in  White  County,  Illinois, 
in  1870,  but  was  reared  principally  in  Wayne  County, 
where  his  parents,  Thomas  M.  and  Martha  A.  (Burrell) 
Glasco,  resided  on  a farm.  Thomas  M.  Glasco,  a native 
of  Illinois,  was  but  fifteen  years  of  age  at  the  outbreak 
of  the  Civil  war,  but  he  bravely  joined  his  father  in  the 
same  company  of  the  Eighty-seventh  Begiment,  Illinois 
Volunteer  Infantry,  and  subsequently  served  four  years 
under  the  flag  of  the  Union.  Mr.  Glasco ’s  paternal  and 
maternal  grandfathers  were  natives  of  South  Carolina, 
and  the  ancestry  of  the  former  has  been  traced  back 
beyond  the  days  of  the  Bevolution  in  America.  Both 
parents  are  living  now  at  Washington,  Oklahoma.  In 
the  family  of  Thomas  M.  and  Martha  A.  Glasco  there 
were  three  sons  and  three  daughters,  as  follows:  E.  E., 

of -this  review;  E.  D.,  who  is  a prominent  stockman  and 
real  estate  dealer  at  Washington,  Oklahoma;  Clarence, 


who  is  a prosperous  farmer  at  Athens,  Texas;  Mrs.  Ada 
Jackson,  who  is  the  wife  of  a machinist  at  Athens, 
Texas;  Mrs.  Mary  E.  Smith,  who  is  the  wife  of  a mem- 
ber of  the  firm  of  Smith-Glasco  Hardware  Company,  at 
Blanchard,  Oklahoma;  and  Mrs.  Sarah  Sapp,  who  is  the 
wife  of  an  agriculturist  and  stock  dealer  of  McClain 
County,  Oklahoma. 

E.  E.  Glasco  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of 
Illinois  and  the  Hayward  Collegiate  Institute,  at  Fair- 
field,  Illinois,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1892 
with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts.,  Following  this, 
he  completed  a course  in  the  Southern  Illinois  State 
Normal  School,  at  Carbondale,  Illinois,  and  for  the 
eight  succeeding  years  was  a popular  and  efficient  teacher 
in  the  public  schools.  While  in  Illinois,  Mr.  Glasco 
served  two  years  in  the  capacity  of  assessor  of  Wayne 
County. 

In  1897  Mr.  Glasco  moved  to  Athens,  Texas,  and  for 
three  years  thereafter  continued  to  follow  the  vocation 
of  educator.  At  that  time  he  became  interested  in 
journalistic  work,  founding  the  Henderson  County  News 
at  Athens,  and  this  paper  soon  became  involved  in  a 
heated  campaign  involving  the  liquor  question,  support- 
ing the  side  of  the  prohibitionists  and  assisting  them 
to  victory.  The  character  of  officers  sought  by  the  pro- 
hibitionists were  elected,  among  them  being  District 
Judge  B.  L.  Gardner,  who  still  retains  his  seat  on  the 
bench.  Following  the  outcome  of  this  struggle,  Mr. 
Glasco  went  to  Tishomingo,  Oklahoma,  where  he  began 
the  practice  of  law,  to  which  he  had  devoted  much  study 
for  several  years.  He  succeeded  in  building  up  a good 
practice,  but  in  1906  came  to  Purcell,  Oklahoma,  and 
in  1907  was  elected  the  first  county  judge  of  McClain 
County,  an  office  which  he  acceptably  filled  for  one  term. 

Mr.  Glasco  was  first  elected  to  the  Oklahoma  Legis- 
lature in  1912  and  during  that  term  was  made  chairman 
of  the  Committee  on  Banks  and  Banking.  He  was  the 
author  of  the  banking  act  passed  by  that  body  which 
remedied  defects  in  the  guaranty  law  and  placed  the 
guaranty  plan  on  a more  substantial  basis,  and  was  joint 
author  of  the  law  prohibiting  race  track  gambling  and 
of  a series  of  bills  regulating  the  loaning  of  money.  In 
1914  he  defeated  the  late  C.  M.  McClain,  who  had  been 
a member  of  the  Constitutional  Convention,  for  the 
nomination  and  was  re-elected  to  the  Legislature,  on  a 
platform  pledging  an  anti-usury  law  and  exemption 
reforms.  His  victory  was  notable  in  view  of  the  oppo- 
sition encountered  at  the  hands  of  bankers  and  retail 
merchants  who  opposed  his  plan  of  remedial  legislation 
relating  to  usury  and  exemptions.  He  was  made  chair- 
man of  the  Committee  on  Judiciary  No.  1,  and  a mem- 
ber of  the  committees  on  Criminal  Jurisprudence,  Con- 
gressional Bedistrieting,  Eevenue  and  Taxation,  Pro- 
hibition Enforcement  and  Banks  and  Banking.  He  was 
the  author  of  a bill  preventing  usury,  and  a bill  validat- 
ing insurance  policies  and  requiring  insurance  companies 
in  case  of  a total  loss  of  property  insured  to  pay  the 
face  amount  of  the  policy.  Mr.  Glasco  was  a stanch 
adherent  of  measures  advocating  the  interests  of  labor 
and  the  farmers,  and  in  the  1912  Legislature  was  sternly 
opposed  to  the  passage  of  a bill  relating  to  coal  miners 
which,  after  being  passed  by  the  Legislature,  was  referred 
to  and  defeated  by  the  people.  He  was  a candidate  for 
speaker  of  the  House  of  the  Fifth  Legislature,  but  with- 
drew from  the  contest  and  threw  his  strength  to  A. 
McCrory,  who  was  thus  elected.  Mr.  Glasco  has  been  a 
delegate  to  every  state  democratic  convention  since  the 
acquirement  of  Oklahoma  statehood,  being  a member  of 
the  1912  convention  platform  committee,  and  was  a 
delegate  to  the  democratic  national  convention  at  Bal- 
timore in  1912. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1897 


Mr.  Glasco  was  married  in  1889,  while  still  a resident 
of  Illinois,  to  Miss  Eosa  E.  Donovan,  who  died  in  March, 
1907.  To  this  union  there  were  horn  four  children,  as 
follows:  Roy,  aged  twenty-one  years,  who  passed  the 

state  bar  examination  in  1914  and  is  now  employed  in 
the  law  office  of  Thompson  & Patterson,  at  Paul’s  Val- 
ley, Oklahoma;  Ellen,  aged  nineteen  years,  who  is  a 
high  school  graduate  and  lives  at  home  with  her  father; 
Raymond,  aged  seventeen  years,  who  is  employed  as  a 
chemist  in  the  plant  of  the  Kansas  Chemical  Company, 
at  Wichita,  Kansas;  and  Crystal,  aged  twelve  years,  who 
is  a student  at  Purcell  High  School.  In  1908  Mr.  Glasco 
was  again  married,  his  second  wife  having  borne  the 
name  of  Mrs.  Mattie  Keener.  They  have  one  daughter: 
Evelyn,  who  is  three  years  of  age. 

Mr.  Glasco  and  his  family  are  members  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church  South.  Professionally,  he 
is  connected  with  the  McClain  County  Bar  Association 
and  the  Oklahoma  State  Bar  Association.  He  is  senior 
member  of  the  law  firm  of  Glasco  & Osborn,  and  is  justly 
accounted  one  of  the  leading  civil  and  criminal  lawyers 
of  his  part  of  the  state. 

Djllakd.  Watts,  M.  D.  One  of  the  hardest  working 
physicians  in  Oklahoma  is  Dr.  Dillard  Watts  of  Laverne. 
It  is  said  that  Doctor  Watts  has  a practice  extending 
over  three  counties  and  is  almost  constantly  at  work 
answering  the  calls  of  his  large  patronage. 

He  represents  one  of  the'  old  families  of  Kansas,  and 
much  of  his  early  experience  was  connected  with  farm- 
ing and  other  lines  of  business  until  he  could  realize  his 
ambitions  by  entering  the  medical  profession.  He  was 
born  on  a farm  in  Johnson  County,  Kansas,  March  15, 
1869,  a son  of  Josiah  and  Sarah  (Mann)  Watts.  Josiah 
Watts  was  a notable  figure  in  western  life  in  the  early 
days.  He  was  born  in  1820  in  St.  Charles  County,  Mis- 
souri, and  was  directly  related  to  the  family  of  Daniel 
Boone,  the  Boones  having  been  among  the  pioneers  in 
St.  Charles  County.  Josiah  Watts  was  also  of  French 
stock,  his  great-grandfather  having  been  an  officer  in  the 
Revolutionary  army  under  General  Lafayette,  with  whom 
he  emigrated  to  America.  Josiah  Watts  showed  his  stock 
by  a life  of  much  excitement  and  adventure  in  the  West. 
In  1849  he  participated  in  the  rush  to  the  West  during 
the  gold  excitement  and  spent  four  years  on  the  Pacific 
Coast  as-  a prospector  and  miner.  He  went  out  by  ox 
team  overland  and  returned  by  the  Isthmus  of  Panama. 
After  his  return  to  Missouri  he  became  associated  in 
mercantile  business  with  James  Bridger,  the  famous 
trapper  and  Indian  fighter,  and  for  a number  of  years 
was  located  at  the  eastern  terminus  of  the  Santa  Fe 
Trail,  at  what  is  now  Kansas  City.  He  then  homesteaded 
land  in  Johnson  County,  Kansas,  prior  to  the  Civil  war, 
and  the  title  to  that  land  still  remains  in  the  Watts 
family.  He  was  one  of  the  prominent  men  of  Johnson 
County,  where  he  died  April  30,  1896.  In  1858  Josiah 
Watts  married  Miss  Sarah  Mann,  who  was  born  March 
20,  1838,  a daughter  of  Samuel  Mann,  a native  of  Mis- 
souri, and  she  now  lives  at  Stilwater,  Kansas.  There  are 
seven  children,  five  sons  and  two  daughters,  namely: 
Banaugh,  now  a physician  at  Okemah,  Oklahoma; 
Samuel,  deceased ; Mary,  who  died  in  infancy ; Ada, 
widow  of  Jerry  R.  Harbeson  of  Sapulpa,  Oklahoma; 
Robert  B.,  a physician  at  Wellington,  Missouri;  Leo,  a 
farmer  in  Beaver  County,  Oklahoma. 

Dr.  Dillard  Watts,  the  youngest  of  the  family,  grew 
up  on  a farm  in  Johnson  County,  gained  a public  school 
education,  and  worked  on  the  farm  with  his  father  until 
he  was  twenty-one.  For  the  following  four  years  he  was 
in  the  drug  business  at  Napoleon,  Missouri,  and  after 
earning  and  accumulating  the  necessary  means  he  entered 


in  1898  the  Kansas  City  Medical  College,  where  he  spent 
two  years.  He  also  practiced  under  a preceptor  for  two 
years,  and  thus  by  continued  hard  work  and  paying  his 
own  way  finally  graduated  from  medical  college  with 
the  degree  M.  D.  in  the  class  of  1908.  Seeking  a perma- 
nent location  Doctor  Watts  came  to  Oklahoma,  and  prac- 
ticed at  the  old  Town  of  Speermore,  where  he  built  up 
much  of  the  practice  which  he  still  retains.  Speermore 
was  his  home  until  1914,  in  which  year  he  moved  to 
Laverne  to  be  near  the  railroad,  and  now  has  his  office 
and  residence  in  that  growing  little  city. 

Doctor  Watts  is  a Scottish  Rite  Mason,  belonging  to 
the  bodies  of  that  order  at  Guthrie.  In  1896  he  married 
Miss  Jessie  Hawkins,  who  was  born  in  Bates  County, 
Missouri,  in  1872,  and  who  died  January  20,  1899,  at 
Kansas  City,  Missouri.  To  their  marriage  were  born  two 
children:  Zoe,  wife  of  Philip  Doherty,  a lumberman  at 

Laverne;  and  Beulah,  who  is  an  elocutionist.  On  March 
29,  1915,  Doctor  Watts  married  Emma  Garrity,  who  was 
born  in  Riley  County,  Kansas. 

J.  C.  Sheets.  The  wonderful  development  of  the  oil 
and  gas  industry  of  Oklahoma  during  recent  years  has 
attracted  to  this  state  men  of  ability,  enterprise  and  pro- 
gressive spirit  from  all  parts  of  the  country.  Among  the 
first  to  come  to  the  vicinity  of  Copan  was  J.  C.  Sheets,  a 
West  Virginian,  who  has  since  been  active  in  the  promo- 
tion and  development  of  some  of  the  leading  industries 
of  this  part  of  the  state.  At  the  present  time  he  is 
associated  with  enterprises  of  importance  and  large  pro- 
portions that  have  contributed  materially  to  the  business 
prestige  of  Washington  and  the  surrounding  counties. 

J.  C.  Sheets  was  born  at  Salmon,  West  Virginia,  No- 
vember 19,  1876,  and  is  a son  of  Leander  and  Alice  Starr 
(Curtis)  Sheets.  His  father  was  born  at  New  Mata- 
moras,  Washington  County,  Ohio,  March  18,  1838,  and 
as  a young  man  went  to  West  Virginia,  where  he  con- 
tinued to  be  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits  until  his 
retirement.  In  his  later  years  he  came  to  Oklahoma, 
and  his  death  occurred  at  Copan,  in  September,  1908. 
Mrs.  Sheets  was  born  at  Hockingport,  Athens  County, 
Ohio,  November  24,  1849,  and  was  about  ten  years  old, 
in  1860,  when  taken  to  West  Virginia  by  her  parents. 
That  state  continued  to  be  her  home  until  she  came  to 
Oklahoma,  where  she  still  resides.  There  were  four  chil- 
dren in  the  family:  Vaughn  L.,  a graduate  of  the  Amer- 
ican Medical  College,  and  now  a practicing  physician  and 
surgeon  of  Chicago,  Illinois,  where  he  has  offices  at  No. 
59  East  Madison  Street;  Earl  H.,  a resident  of  Mus- 
kogee, Oklahoma,  and  partner  in  the  oil  producing  firm  of 
Sheets  Brothers  and  various  other  concerns;  J.  C.,  of 
this  review;  and  Dr.  F.  C.,  a graduate  of  the  American 
Medical  College,  and  now  a practicing  physician  of  Okla- 
homa City. 

J.  C.  Sheets  received  his  education  in  the  public  schools 
of  Cameron,  West  Virginia,  and  in  1899  became  inter- 
ested in  the  oil  business  as  a producer,  although  he  had 
been  connected  with  this  industry  in  one  or  another  capac- 
ity since  his  sixteenth  year.  In  1902,  as  one  of  the  first 
producers  of  Copan,  he  came  here  with  his  brother, 
Earl  H.,  and  founded  the  firm  of  Sheets  Brothers,  which 
has  steadily  grown  into  one  of  the  largest  concerns  in 
this  line  in  Washington  County.  The  firm  now  operates 
twelve  properties,  and  since  its  inception  has  drilled  about 
300  wells,  the  brothers  operating  farm  lands  and  timber 
tracts  extensively.  J.  C.  Sheets  is  secretary  and  treas- 
urer of  the  Georgia  Oil  and  Gas  Company,  manager  of 
Sheets  & Company,  president  of  the  Alamo  Oil  Company, 
secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Swastika  Oil  and  Gas 
Company,  secretary  and  treasurer  of  Sheets  Brothers  & 
Jackson  and  manager  of  the  Collis  Oil  and  Gas  Company. 


1898 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


He  is  known  among  his  associates  as  one  of  the  shrewdest 
oil  operators  in  the  state,  and  his  judgment  is  taken  as 
final  in  regard  to  gas  and  oil  properties. 

Mr.  Sheets  ’ contribution  to  the  upbuilding  of  Copan 
is  a beautiful  home,  built  in  1905,  of  reenforced  con- 
crete, with  eight  rooms,  modern  in  every  particular,  and 
including  private  sewerage  and  private  water  works.  He 
was  reared  a democrat,  but  is  inclined  to  vote  inde- 
pendently, preferring  to  use  his  own  judgment  in  the 
selection  of  candidates.  At  the  present  time  he  is  serv- 
ing as  treasurer  of  his  school . district.  He  is  a thirty- 
second  degree  Mason,  belonging  to  the  Shrine  at  Tulsa, 
the  Commandery  at  Sistersville,  West  Virginia,  of  which 
he  is  a life  member,  the  Consistory  at  Guthrie,  and  the 
Blue  Lodge  at  Copan.  He  is  also  a life  member  of  the 
Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  at  Indepen- 
dence, Kansas,  and  holds  membership  in  the  local  lodges 
of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Eellows  and  the  Knights 
of  Pythias. 

Mr.  Sheets  was  married  in  1904,  to  Miss  Millieent  E. 
Holdren,  who  was  born  at  Independence,  Ohio,  January 
16,  1876,  a daughter  of  H.  H.  and  Harriet  E.  (Webber) 
Holdren,  natives  of  the  Buckeye  State  and  residents  at 
Newport.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Sheets  there  has  been  born 
one  daughter:  Alice  Millieent. 

Hugh  Henry.  There  is  a picturesque  elevation  in 
Okmulgee  County  known  as  ‘ ‘ the  Hugh  Henry  Hill  ’ ’ 
which  rises  192  feet  above  the  general  elevation  of  the 
town  at  its  foot.  Crowning  this  hill  is  the  home  of 
Mr.  Hugh  Henry,  who  has  lived  in  this  one  locality  for 
fully  forty  years.  He  is  a quarter  blood  Creek  Indian, 
having  inherited  that  ancestry  from  his  mother,  and 
consequently  was  given  an  allotment  of  the  lands  in 
this  part  of  the  old  Creek  Nation.  Eor  many  years 
Mr.  Henry  had  extensive  livestock  interests,  and  is  one 
of  the  old  time  cattlemen  of  Texas  and  Indian  Territory. 

That  part  of  the  ranch  which  he  called  his  meadow 
land  up  to  fifteen  years  ago  is  now  the  site  of  the 
thriving  little  City  of  Henryetta.  The  name  was  given 
to  honor  him  as  the  oldest  settler,  and  seldom  has  a 
name  been  better  bestowed  as  a token  of  honor  and 
respeet. 

Hugh  Henry  is  one  of  the  picturesque  characters  still 
surviving  from  the  early  days  of  old  Indian  Territory. 
He  grew  up  on  the  frontier,  and  early  learned  some  of 
the  pioneer  virtues,  to  speak  the  truth,  zealously  to  guard 
his  honor,  and  to  do  justice  to  his  fellow  men,  and  to 
treat  all  under  his  roof  with  due  hospitality.  In  the 
early  days  his  home  was  noted  for  its  generous  hos- 
pitality, and  though  he  lived  in  the  midst  of  outlawry 
and  violence  he  was  always  safe  because  he  treated 
others  as  he  expected  to  be  treated.  His  home  again 
and  again  served  as  a place  of  entertainment  for  United 
States  marshals,  outlaws,  train  robbers,  horse  thieves, 
and  bootleggers.  In  fact  he  has  had  officers  of  the  law 
and  outlaws  in  his  home  at  the  same  time,  and  many  a 
beef  was  slaughtered  from  his  herd  to  provide  them 
food.  He  made  it  a rule  and  it  was  one  thoroughly 
respected  to  protect  all  persons  who  were  his  guests, 
despite  their  character  or  vocation,  and  it  was  probably 
due  to  this  custom  that  he  never  lost  a horse  or  any 
property  by  theft. 

Hugh  Henry  was  born  in  the  “old  stone  fort”  at 
Nacogdoches,  Texas,  that  historic  building  which  had 
been  the  bulwark  of  the  early  Spanish  against  the 
Indians  and  French  along  the  Texas  frontier  and  which 
was  the  scene  of  a bloody  battle  during  one  of  the  early 
revolutionary  uprisings  in  Eastern  Texas.  In  that  his- 
toric place  he  first  saw  the  light  of  day  January  13, 
1848.  His  parents  were  Woodson  D.  and  Lovisa  (Hut- 


ton) Henry.  His  father  was  a white  man  and  his 
mother  a half-blood  Creek  Indian.  Both  were  born  in 
Alabama,  where  they  married,  and  they  came  to 
Texas  in  1832.  Woodson  Henry  and  his  wife’s  father, 
James  Hutton,  took  thirty  families  of  Indians  into 
Texas  in  that  year,  corresponding  with  the  general 
migration  of  Indians  from  the  east  to  the  west  side  of 
the  Mississippi  River.  Soon  after  the  birth  of  Hugh 
Henry  his  parents  moved  to  the  Brazos  River  in  Hill 
County,  Texas,  and  there  the  mother  died  when  Hugh 
was  four  years  of  age,  leaving  a still  younger  child, 
Patrick,  then  only  two  years  old.  The  six  children  were : 
James,  Caroline,  Parelee,  Ezekiah,  Hugh  and  Patrick. 
Of  these  Mr.  Hugh  Henry  is  the  only  one  still  living. 
After  the  death  of  the  mother  the  father  carried  Hugh 
and  Patrick  back  to  the  home  of  Nancy  Hutton,  their 
grandmother,  in  Smith  County,  Texas.  There  Hugh 
Henry  lived  until  he  was  nine  years  of  age.  His  father 
having  in  the  meantime  married  again  took  his  two 
boys  home  in  Cherokee  County.  Hugh  Henry  did  not 
like  his  stepmother,  and  after  two  months  he  ran  away 
and  returned  to  his  grandmother.  His  father  followed 
and  carried  him  back  home,  where  he  received  a sound 
thrashing  for  his  disobedience.  A few  days  later  his 
father  went  to  court,  and  the  self  reliant  youth  again 
made  his  escape  from  conditions  which  he  thought 
intolerable,  but  this  time  took  an  unfamiliar  route.  He 
traveled  west  into  Fannin  County,  Texas,  sleeping  by 
the  roadside  at  night.  In  Fannin  County  he  met  a Mr. 
Cannon,  boss  of  a cattle  ranch,  and  the  boy  remained 
on  that  ranch  and1  had  a good  home  with  the  Cannons 
for  seven  years,  receiving  only  board  and  clothes  for 
such  work  as  he  could  do.  While  there  he  became  an 
expert  in  all  the  arts  and  practices  of  the  old  time 
range. 

He  was  only  thirteen  years  of  age  when  the  war  broke 
out,  and  in  1863  he  joined  John  Terry’s  regiment  under 
Captain  Glasscock.  He  was  with  his  command  until  the 
close  of  the  war,  and  to  use  his  own  words,  “had  his 
last  fun  at  the  Mansfield  fight  in  Louisiana.  ’ ’ 

After  the  war  he  started  for  San  Antonio,  Texas,  and 
at  Lampasas  Springs  met  his  old  friend  and  protector, 
Cannon,  for  whom  he  took  a herd  of  cattle  north  to 
Dodge  City,  Kansas,  being  paid  $65.00  a month.  This 
was  in  1866.  In  1867  he  was  again  in  the  Rio  Grande 
country,  and  in  the  fall  of  that  year  started  north.  On 
this  trip  he  stopped  on  the  Canadian  River  and  joined 
his  uncle,  Watt  Grayson.  Mr.  Henry  had  many  inter- 
esting experiences  in  the  early  days,  and  during  the 
two  seasons  of  1867-68  he  was  out  on  the  range  hunting 
buffalo.  That  was  just  about  the  beginning  of  the 
buffalo  hide  industry,  and  Mr.  Henry  relates  that  the 
hunters  classified  the  buffaloes  into  three  divisions.  The 
pelt  of  the  buffalo  cows  were  unfit  for  commercial  pur- 
poses, and  the  leather  and  fur  came  chiefly  from  the 
bulls.  He  remained  with  his  uncle,  Watt  Grayson,  as  an 
employe  on  the  cattle  ranch  until  the  latter’s  death  in 
1875. 

That  was  the  year  when  Mr.  Henry  located  on  Coal 
Creek,  near  the  present  site  of  the  City  of  Henryetta. 
Here  for  fourteen  years  and  four  months  he  was  asso- 
ciated with  Sam  and  Wash  Grayson  in  the  stock 
industry.  When  he  first  started  with  the  Grayson  broth- 
ers he  had  only  sixty-two  head  of  cattle,  but  at  the  end 
of  the  fourteen  year  period  had  turned  off  the  ranch 
and  sent  to  market  about  36,000  head.  He  did  his  first 
work  at  wages  of  $15.00  per  month,  but  was  drawing 
$2,400  a year  when  he  gave  up  ranching.  It  was  the 
coming  of  the  railroad  and  the  founding  of  Henryetta 
which  caused  him  to  abandon  ranching. 

When  Mr.  Henry  first  located  in  this  neighborhood  in 
1875  his  nearest  neighbor  was  six  miles  away,  and 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1899 


consequently  he  readily  deserves  the  distinction  of  being 
the  oldest  settler.  He  still  owns  160  acres  adjoining  the 
little  City  of  Henryetta,  while  his  children  have  their 
allotments  nearby.  He  has  a fine  home  on  the  hill 
already  mentioned,  and  for  the  past  fifteen  years  has 
devoted  his  land  to  farming  and  general  stock  raising. 
The  approach  of  civilization  has  been  viewed  not  alto- 
gether with  satisfaction  by  Mr.  Henry,  although  he 
recognizes  its  benefits.  It  is  largely  due  to  his  incon- 
sistency with  the  restricted  pursuits  and  customs  of  the 
populous  community,  and  even  now  he  is  planning  to 
take  his  wife  and  children  further  west  into  New  Mexico 
and  hunt  up  an  unrestricted  cattle  range.  He  is  just 
as  vigorous  apparently  as  he  was  thirty  years  ago,  and 
he  can  use  a Winchester  with  all  the  deadly1  accuracy 
which  made  him  noted  as  a sure  shot  in  days  gone  by. 

The  first  postoffice  established  after  the  railroad  was 
built  was  called  Henry  City,  and  when  Henry  Beard 
became  prominent  in  promoting  the  town  caused  the 
change  of  the  name  to  Henryetta,  the  latter  part,  etta, 
being  in  honor  of  Mr.  Beard’s  wife. 

Mr.  Henry  was  first  married  in  Texas  to  Malinda  Ann 
Dickerson,  who  was  born  in  that  state.  She  died  at  the 
old  home  in  Indian  Territory  in  1883.  Of  her  six  chil- 
dren two  are  now  living:  James  of  Payton;  and  Luella, 

wife  of  John  Key  of  Henryetta. 

In  1885  Mr.  Henry  married  Arminta  Exon,  who  was 
born  in  Warsaw  County,  Illinois,  in  March,  1868.  When 
she  was  four  years  of  age  her  parents  came  to  Indian 
Territory,  and  she  grew  up  in  the  Creek  Nation.  To 
this  marriage  were  born  twelve  children,  nine  of  whom 
are  still  living:  Patrick,  who  lives  at  Ponca  City;  Mack; 
Sam,  who  died  at  the  age  of  eight  months;  Anna  May, 
wife  of  Stephen  Gillam  of  Henryetta;  Woodson,  who 
died  at  the  age  of  twelve  years;  Hettie,  wife  of  Ed 
Burgen,  a full-blood  Creek  Indian  of  Okmulgee;  Hugh, 
Jr.;  Hilibymicko;  Muskogee,  who  died  at  the  age  of 
three  weeks;  Tsininina,  who  lives  at  home;  Wynema; 
and  Yahola. 

It  is  noteworthy  that  Hugh  Henry  never  had  a day 
in  school  in  all  his  life,  though  he  learned  to  write  his 
name  while  riding  in  the  saddle.  He  appreciates  the 
value  of  an  education,  especially  in  modern  times,  and 
is  giving  his  children  the  best  possible  advantages. 
There  is  a photograph  extant  showing  Hugh  Henry  in 
the  picturesque  garb  by  which  he  was  familiarly  known 
to  all  the  old  timers  in  this  part  of  Oklahoma.  He  then 
wore  his  hair  long,  as  was  the  custom,  and  his  locks 
fell  to  his  waist,  some  of  them  being  two  feet  four  inches 
long. 

Courtland  M.  Feuquay.  One  of  the  young  men  who 
have  made  a promising  record  as  a lawyer  in  the 
Lincoln  County  bar  is  Courtland  M.  Feuquay,  who  was 
admitted  to  practice  three  years  ago  and  has  already 
shown  some  striking  ability  in  the  handling  of  cases 
- entrusted  to  his  charge. 

Courtland  M.  Feuquay  was  born  in  Kansas  April  15, 
1890;  and  is  a son  of  the  late  John  W.  Feuquay,  for 
many  years  a leading  and  successful  business  man  of 
Chandler.  He  built  and  owned  the  Feuquay  Block,  one 
of  the  well  known  buildings  in  the  central  business  dis- 
trict. He  was  born  in  Parke  County,  Indiana,  and 
during  the  Civil  war  served  with  an  excellent  record  in 
the  Union  army.  He  had  many  narrow  escapes  from 
danger,  was  wounded  and  at  one  time  left  on  a battle- 
field as  dead.  He  married  Jence  C.  Holland,  who  was 
born  in  Goldsboro,  North  Carolina,  of  a prominent  family 
of  that  state,  a daughter  of  West  Holland.  John  W. 
Feuquay  died  at  Chandler  at  the  age  of  sixty-nine. 
For  many  years  he  was  engaged  in  business  as  a coal 
operator.  He  was  also  in  the  government  service.  His 


political  affiliations  were  with  the  democratic  party,  and* 
he  was  a member  of  Chandler  Post  of  the  Grand  Army 
of  the  Bepublic.  Mrs.  Feuquay,  his  mother,  is  one  of 
the  prominent  women  of  Oklahoma,  active  in  club  affairs, 
and  a member  of  the  Woman’s  Belief  Corps  in  Oklahoma 
and  also  one  of  the  leaders  in  the  Women’s  Suffrage 
movement  of  the  state. 

Courtland  M.  Feuquay,  the  only  child  of  these  parents, 
received  his  education  in  the  Chandler  High  School, 
received  the  degrees  of  B.  O.  from  Epworth  University, 
B.  A.  from  University  of  Oklahoma  and  LL.  B.  from 
Yale.  He  is  also  an  alumnus  of  the  University  of 
Virginia.  For  a man  of  his  years  he  has  seen  much 
of  the  world  and  was  orator  of  the  day,  American  Boy 
Day,  at  the  St.  Louis  World’s  Fair  in  1904  and  at  the 
Jamestown  Exposition  in  1907.  He  was  associated  for 
two  years  in  the  practice  of  law  with  Colonel  Hoffman 
at  Chandler,  and  since  that  time  has  been  in  practice 
for  himself.  He  has  shown  the  results  of  a studious 
mind  and  a fine  individual  fitness  for  the  profession. 
Mr.  Feuquay  is  a Scottish  Bite  Mason  of  thirty-two 
degrees,  and  also  affiliates  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias 
and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  and  while 
at  college  was  a member  of  a Greek  letter  fraternity. 

Milas  Lasater,  was  born  in  Palo  Pinto  County, 
Texas,  in  the  year  1872,  and  is  the  eldest  of  four  sons 
of  George  M.  and  Mary  S.  (Johnston)  Lasater. 

George  M.  Lasater,  the  father,  was  a pioneer  cattle- 
man of  Palo  Pinto  County,  his  father  having  been  the 
first  county  judge  after  the  organization  of  that  county, 
to  which  unorganized  territory  he  had  removed  from  Fan- 
nin County  in  the  early  ’50s. 

Milas  Lasater  spent  his  boyhood  on  his  father’s  ranch, 
and  attended  the  public  schools  of  that  section  of  the 
state.  He  was  for  a time  in  the  city  schools  of  Murfrees- 
boro, Tennessee,  and  lastly  continued  his  studies  at  De- 
Pauw  University,  Greencastle,  Indiana.  While  prosecut- 
ing his  own  studies,  and  afterwards,  he  engaged  in  teach- 
ing school  in  Indian  Territory  and  Texas.  In  the  year 
1898  he  withdrew  from  this  work  and  settled  on  a ranch 
near  Pauls  Valley,  the  present  county  seat  of  Garvin 
County,  Oklahoma.  In  that  locality  he  conducted  trading 
operations  in  the  live  stock  business,  and  engaged  in  the 
breeding  of  pure  bred  Herefords.  He  became  a stock- 
holder in  the  First  National  Bank  of  Pauls  Valley,  later 
cashier  and  active  vice  president  of  that  institution,  of 
which  he  still  remains  a director  and  one  of  its  vice 
presidents.  While  engaged  in  the  banking  business  at 
Pauls  Valley  he  became  owner  and  publisher  of  the 
Pauls  Valley  Democrat. 

It  was  at  Pauls  Valley  that  Mr.  Lasater  had  met  and 
wedded  Miss  Sarah  Waite,  whose  father,  Thomas  Waite, 
was  a pioneer  settler  of  that  section  of  Indian  Territory 
and  whose  mother  was  a member  of  the  Chickasaw  tribe 
of  Indians,  one  of  the  Five  Civilized  Tribes.  Mrs.  La- 
sater’s  early  education  was  in  the  Chickasaw  tribal 
schools,  but  she  spent  nine  years  in  the  schools  at  Ober- 
lin,  Ohio,  graduating  from  Oberlin  College  with  an  A.  B. 
degree.  Mrs.  Lasater  takes  an  active  interest  in  the  pub- 
lic school  work  of  Oklahoma  City,  and  devotes  much  of 
her  time  to  the  education  of  their  daughters,  Corinne  and 
Carol. 

Mr.  Lasater ’s  material  interests  in  Oklahoma  are 
varied  and  important,  consisting  of  banking  connec- 
tions and  ranching  interests  that  he  has  maintained  for 
many  years,  but  the  major  part  of  his  time  and  atten- 
tion is  given  to  his  executive  work  as  agency  supervisor 
in  Oklahoma  and  Kansas  for  the  Equitable  Life  Assur- 
ance Society  of  New  York. 

The  following  statements  were  written  by  one  familiar 


1900 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


'with  the  character  and  services  of  Mr.  Lasater:  A 

citizen  by  marriage  of  the  Chickasaw  Nation  of  Okla- 
homa, Mr.  Lasater  has  for  many  years  been  a represen- 
tative leader  in  the  growth  and  development  of  that  sec- 
tion of  the  state.  In  recent  years  his  activities  have 
far  transcended  local  limitations,  and  his  philanthropic 
spirit  has  been  manifested  in  divers  ways.  He  is  a 
man  of  high  intellectual  attainments,  broad  views,  and 
distinctive  liberality.  His  public  career  has  covered 
several  years,  beginning  with  membership  in  the 
Sequoyah  convention  that  assembled  at  Muskogee  and 
adopted  a constitution  for  a state  proposed  for  Indian 
Territory  alone.  In  1906  he  was  elected  a member  of  the 
Constitutional  Convention  that  prepared  and  adopted  the 
organic  constitution  on  which  is  based  the  government 
of  the  present  State  of  Oklahoma,  combining  the  two 
territories,  then  Indian  Territory  and  Oklahoma  Ter- 
ritory. 

As  a member  of  the  Constitutional  Convention  of  the 
State  of  Oklahoma,  Mr.  Lasater  was  chairman  of  the 
Committee  on  Revision,  Compilation,  Style  and  Arrange- 
ment, and  as  such  he  edited  and  prepared  for  permanent 
record  every  paragraph  of  the  constitution.  He  was  a 
member  also  of  the  Committee  on  County  Boundaries,  the 
report  of  which  he  prepared,  also  a member  of  the  Bank- 
ing Committee,  the  Committee  on  Public  Institutions,  and 
other  special  committees  created  from  time  to  time. 

In  1908  Mr.  Lasater  was  appointed  by  Governor  Has- 
kell a member  of  the  first  Text-book  Commission  of  the 
new  commonwealth,  a position  of  which  he  continued  the 
incumbent  until  a decision  held  the  work  of  the  commis- 
sion to  be  not  legally  effective.  Later,  when  the  defect 
of  law  was  remedied  he  asked  that  he  be  not  reappointed 
a member  of  this  commission.  In  1908  also  Mr.  Lasater 
received  from  Governor  Haskell  appointment  to  member- 
ship on  the  board  of  control  of  the  State  Training  School 
at  Pauls  Valley.  In  this  position  he  aided  in  the  found- 
ing of  this  institution.  In  1909  Governor  Haskell  ap- 
pointed Mr.  Lasater,  state  insurance  commissioner,  a posi- 
tion particularly  important  at  that  time  for  it  was  during 
this  administration  that  Oklahoma ’s  Insurance  Code 
became  operative.  Mr.  Lasater  made  a good  record  in 
the  administration  of  the  affairs  of  that  office. 

Wherever  he  has  lived  Milas  Lasater  has  been  active 
in  the  social  and  club  life  of  the  community.  At  Pauls 
Valley  he  served  as  president  of  the  Commercial  Club 
of  that  city.  He  is  a life  member  of  the  Pauls  Valley 
Lodge  of  the  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons.  In 
the  Consistory  of  the  Ancient  and  Accepted  Scottish 
Rite  of  Masonry  at  McAlester  he  has  received  the  thirty- 
second  degree.  He  is  a Noble  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  In 
college  he  affiliated  with  the  Delta  Kappa  Epsilon  Greek 
Letter  Fraternity.  He  is  an  active  and  influential  mem- 
ber of  the  Oklahoma  Life  Underwriters’  Association,  and 
in  the  capital  city  he  is  identified  with  the  Oklahoma 
City  Golf  and  Country  Club,  the  Men’s  Dinner  Club,  and 
the  Chamber  of  Commerce. 

Mr.  Lasater  is  a staunch  and  effective  exponent  of  the 
principles  of  the  democratic  party.  He  is  liberal  in  his 
religious  views  with  a deep  reverence  for  the  spiritual 
verities  as  expressed  in  the  following  beautiful  words  by 
William  Henry  Channing,  words  that  he  has  stated  most 
perfectly  represent  his  creed:  “To  live  content  with 

small  means ; to  seek  elegance  rather  than  luxury,  and  re- 
finement rather  than  fashion;  to  be  worthy,  not  respect- 
able. and  wealthy,  not  rich;  to  study  hard,  think  quietly, 
talk  gently,  act  frankly;  to  listen  to  stars  and  birds,  to 
babes  and  sages,  with  open  heart;  to  bear  all  cheer- 
fully, do  all  bravely,  await  occasions,  hurry  never;  in  a 
word,  to  let  the  spiritual,  unbidden  and  unconscious,  grow 
up  through  the  common, — this  is  my  symphony.  ’ ’ 


Hon.  Toombs  H.  Davidson.  A prominent  Muskogee 
lawyer,  and  now  a member  of  the  state  senate  from  the 
twenty-seventh  senatorial  district,  Toombs  H.  Davidson, 
having  lost  his  father  at  the  age  of  seven,  made  his  own 
way  in  the  world,  doing  farm  and  railroad  work  in  vaca-r 
tions  to  earn  money  sufficient  to  complete  his  education. 
He  was  elected  to  the  senate  at  the  age  of  thirty,  and 
was  to  an  extent  the  political  product  of  a strong  or- 
ganization of  young  democrats  in  Oklahoma.  For  the 
nomination  he  defeated  two  of  the  strongest  and  most 
popular  men  of  Muskogee  County.  His  residence  in 
Oklahoma  is  coextensive  with  statehood,  and  he  has 
gained  a gratifying  success  both  in  law  and  politics. 

Senator  Davidson  was  born  June  4,  1884,  at  Chepulta- 
pec,  Blount  County,  Alabama,  a son  of  William  H.  and 
Martha  (Hartley)  Davidson.  His  paternal  grandfather, 
a native  of  South  Carolina,  served  under  General 
Wheeler  in  the  Confederate  army,  while  in  private  life 
he  was  a newspaper  editor.  Senator  Davidson ’s  maternal 
grandparents  were  prominent  citizens  of  Alabama,  and 
the  Hartleys  came  to  America  about  the  time  of  the 
Oglethorpe  colony. 

Senator  Davidson  attended  public  school  in  Alabama, 
graduating  in  1902  from  the  high  school  at  Haleyville. 
His  law  studies  were  pursued  in  the  office  of  an  attorney 
at  Haleyville  until  admission  to  the  bar  in  1906.  His 
first  experience  as  a lawyer  was  in  Haleyville,  and  from 
there  he  removed  to  Stigler,  Oklahoma,  in  1907.  Mr. 
Davidson  was  admitted  to  practice  before  the  Supreme 
Court  of  Oklahoma  shortly  after  statehood.  In” July, 
1913,  he  located  in  Muskogee,  where  he  now  has  a promis- 
ing private  practice. 

His  political  record  begins  in  Haskell  County,  in 
which  he  was  a delegate  to  every  democratic  state 
convention  while  living  at  Stigler,  and  in  1912  was 
treasurer  of  the  Haskell  County  Democratic  Campaign 
Committee.  He  also  filled  the  offices  of  city  attorney 
and  justice  of  the  peace  in  Stigler.  When  Senator 
Davidson  was  elected  to  the  senate  in  1914  he  carried 
Haskell  County  by  more  than  1,000  majority,  without 
making  a campaign  in  that  county.  While  in  Haskell 
County  he  was  a leader  in  the  organization  of  the 
Young  Men’s  Democratic  Club  and  president  of  the 
local  club  at  Stigler. 

His  legislative  record  is  highly  creditable.  He  was 
chairman  of  the  Committee  on  Private  Corporations  and 
a member  of  committees  on  Judiciary  No.  2,  Commerce 
and  Labor,  Banks  and  Banking,  Insurance,  Public  Build- 
ings, Oil  and  Gas,  and  Legislative  and  Judicial  Appor- 
tionment. He  was  one  of  the  authors  of  the  popular  home 
ownership  bill  and  assisted  in  the  passage  of  the  rural 
credits  bill.  Coming  from  a city  that  has  made  re- 
peated efforts  to  be  officially  designated  as  the  seat  of  a 
state  fair,  he  was  interested  in  the  passage  of  a state 
fair  bill.  Having  made  his  own  way  in  the  world  by 
hard  manual  labor,  Senator  Davidson  has  shown  sym- 
pathy with  important  measures  bearing  the  approval  of 
the  State  Federation  of  Labor,  and  assisted  in  the 
passing  of  a bill  requiring  railroad  companies  to  build 
hospitals  for  employees  in  the  state,  and  also  a bill 
establishing  working  hours  for  women. 

Senator  Davidson  is  unmarried.  He  is  affiliated  with 
the  Odd  Fellows  Lodge  at  Muskogee  and  with  Lodge 
No.  179,  Knights  of  Pythias,  at  Stigler,  being  a past 
chancellor.  He  is  the  past  master  ofr  the  Masonic 
Lodge  No.  121  at  Stigler,  and  while  master  was  the 
youngest  man  in  the  state  in  years  and  Masonic  expe- 
rience to  fill  that  position.  His  lodge  re-elected  him 
master  after  his  removal  to  Muskogee.  In  a higher 
degree  with  the  Scottish  Rite  he  belongs  to  McAlester 
Consistory  No.  2 at  McAlester,  and  also  to  Bedouin 
Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  of  Muskogee.  He  also; 


HISTOKY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


1901 


belongs  to  the  D.  0.  K.  K.  at  Muskogee,  an  order 
affiliated  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  Senator  Davidson 
is  a member  of  the  Haskell  County  Bar  Association. 
He  is  a lieutenant  in  the  Pickett-Wheeler  Camp  of  Con- 
federate Veterans  at  Stigler.  He  and  County  Judge 
Crittenden  organized  the  camp  and  compromised  a lively 
though  friendly  contest  over  the  name,  Crittenden 
holding  out  for  the  name  Pickett  and  Davidson  for 
Wheeler. 

Hon.  J.  W.  Marshall.  Among  the  members  of  the 
Oklahoma  judiciary  there  are  many  whose  early  training 
has  been  secured  as  teachers,  their  first  introduction  to 
the  mysteries  and  perplexities  of  the  law  having  been 
gained  in  the  evening  hours  after  long  and  exhausting 
labors  in  the  schoolroom.  In  this  category  is  found 
Hon.  John  Walter  Marshall,  judge  of  the  County  Court 
of  Stephens  County,  whose  first  term  in  this  office  proved 
so  satisfactory  to  the  people  of  the  county  that  he  was 
reelected  in  1914  without  opposition.  Judge  Marshall 
also  has  the  distinction  of  having  a township  created  for 
and  named  after  him,  i.  e.,  Marshall  Township,  which 
includes  the  City  of  Duncan,  the  Judge’s  place  of  resi- 
dence since  1906. 

John  Walter  Marshall  was  born  at  Graham,  Young 
County,  Texas,  November  7,  1874,  and  is  a son  of  W.  H. 
and  Elizabeth  (Blocker)  (Walker)  Marshall.  His  pater- 
nal grandfather,  a farmer  and  minister  of  the  Baptist 
faith,  was  born  in  Virginia  and  died  in  Tennessee,  while 
his  maternal  grandfather,  John  Blocker,  went  from  Mis- 
souri in  pioneer  days  to  Parker  County,  Texas,  and  there 
died,  after  a number  of  years  spent  in  agricultural  pur- 
suits. W.  H.  Marshall,  father  of  the  Judge,  was  born 
in  1832,  in  Tennessee,  and  from  his  native  state  removed 
to  Mississippi,  from  whence  he  removed  in  1873  to 
Graham,  Young  County,  Texas,  and  in  1884  to  Nacog- 
doches County,  in  the  same  state.  Pour  years  later  he 
went  with  his  family  to  New  Birmingham,  Cherokee 
County,  Texas,  and  in  1894  came  to  Oklahoma  and  located 
at  Duncan.  Here  he  resided  until  1900,  when  he  made 
removal  to  Denton  County,  Texas,  and  there  lives  in 
quiet  retirement.  During  the  period  of  his  active  career, 
Mr.  Marshall  carried  on  operations  in  farming  and  stock- 
raising,  and  in  the  various  communities  in  which  he 
resided  took  an  active  and  helpful  part  in  civic  and 
public  affairs.  He  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  Young 
County,  Texas,  and  also  served  as  the  first  county 
assessor  there.  He  is  a member  of  the  Methodist  Episco- 
pal Church.  During  the  Civil  war  he  enlisted  in  the 
Confederate  army,  with  which  he  served  for  four  years, 
participating  in  a number  of  battles  and  having  numerous 
thrilling  experiences.  At  the  sanguine  battle  of  Shiloh 
he  was  wounded;  at  Paducah,  Kentucky,  had  his  horse 
shot  under  him,  and  at  one  time  was  taken  prisoner  by 
the  northern  troops,  but  succeeded  in  making  his  escape. 
Mr.  Marshall  married  Mrs.  Elizabeth  (Blocker)  Walker, 
a widow,  daughter  of  John  Blocker.  She  was  born  in 
Arkansas,  in  1837,  and  died  at  Marlow,  Oklahoma,  in 
1900.  There  were  three  children  in  the  family:  John 
Walter,  of  this  notice;  Lee,  who  resides  at  Duncan  and  is 
engaged  in  farming  and  stockraising;  and  Sydney,  who 
died  at  the  age  of  fourteen  years. 

_ John  Walter  Marshall  acquired  his  preliminary  educa- 
tion in  the  public  schools  of  Young  and  Nacogdoches 
counties,  Texas,  and  as  a youth  learned  the  trade  of 
printer,  which,  however,  he  followed  only  a short  time. 
He  had  remained  on  the  home  farm  assisting  his  father 
until  he  was  fourteen  years  of  age,  and  in  1894  accom- 
panied his  parents  to  Duncan,  Oklahoma,  where  for  three 
years  he  helped  his  father  cultivate  a farm.  Securing  a 
teacher’s  certificate,  in  1897  he  started  teaching  in  the 
public  schools  of  Stephens  County,  and  continued  for 


two  years,  when  he  turned  his  knowledge  of  printing  and 
the  newspaper  business  to  account  by  editing  the  Marlow 
Review,  a journal  with  which  he  was  connected  one  year. 
He  then  resumed  school  teaching  as  a vocation,  and  con- 
tinued to  be  thus  engaged  until  1906,  in  which  year  he 
occupied  the  position  of  assistant  principal  of  the  Duncan 
High  School.  In  the  meanwhile,  he  had  devoted  himself 
to  the  study  of  law  in  his  leisure  hours,  and  in  1907  was 
admitted  to  practice  after  successfully  passing  the  state 
examination.  He  soon  attracted  to  himself  an  important 
and  lucrative  practice,  and  has  gradually  advanced  to  a 
leading  position  at  the  Stephens  County  bar.  A democrat 
in  his  political  views,  for  a number  of  years  he  has  been 
active  in  local  affairs,  and  at  the  time  of  statehood  cam- 
paigned this  district  in  the  interests  of  Hon.  J.  R.  Allen, 
who  was  sent  to  the  Oklahoma  Legislature.  About  the 
same  time  Marshall  Township  was  created  for  him  and 
named  in  his  honor,  and  he  became  the  first  justice  of 
the  peace,  serving  as  such  for  two  terms.  In  November, 
1912,  he  was  elected  county  judge  of  Stephens  County, 
and  November  6,  1914,  was  elected  to  this  office  for  a 
second  term,  without  opposition.  He  has  proven  an  able, 
impartial  and  dignified  judge,  conferring  honor  upon  the 
locality  over  which  he  has . jurisdiction  and  being  gen- 
erally popular  with  the  members  of  the  bench  and  bar. 
His  offices  are  in  the  courthouse.  Judge  Marshall  is  a 
member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church.  He  holds 
membership  in  the  Duncan  Chamber  of  Commerce  and 
the  various  organizations  of  his  profession,  and  is  fra- 
ternally identified  with  Mistletoe  Lodge  No.  17,  Ancient 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  of  which  he  is  past  chan- 
cellor; Duncan  Camp  No.  515,  Woodmen  of  the  World, 
of  which  he  is  past  consul  commander;  and  Camp  No. 
9680,  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  of  Duncan. 

Judge  Marshall  was  married  at  Robberson,  Garvin 
County,  Oklahoma,  to  Miss  Nettie  Vandagriff,  daughter 
of  S.  J.  Vandagriff,  a farmer  now  residing  in  Comanche 
County,  Oklahoma,  and  four  children  have  been  born  to 
this  union : Maude,  born  April  20,  1902,  attending  public 
school ; Lois,  born  March  22,  1903,  also  a public  school 
student;  Blanche,  born  December  2,  1909,  attending 
public  school;  and  John,  born  November  2,  1913. 

Dr.  Ross  Statler  Cannon  is  a physician  and  surgeon 
of  note  and  although  he  has  lived  at  Hydro  for  only 
one  year  to  date  he  has  already  gained  the  faith  of  his 
fellow  men  and  is  rapidly  building  up  a splendid  patron- 
age. Prior  to  coming  here  he  was  engaged  in  profes- 
sional work  at  Sterling,  Oklahoma,  for  thirteen  years  and 
while  there  was  deputy  health  officer  of  Comanche  County. 

A son  of  Thomas  M.  and  Kate  Wood  (Statler)  Cannon, 
Doctor  Cannon  was  born  at  Neosho,  Newton  County, 
Missouri,  February  17,  1877.  The  father  was  a native 
of  Indiana,  where  he  was  born  in  1849,  and  he  was 
summoned  to  the  life  eternal  in  1880,  at  which  time  the 
doctor  was  but  three  years  of  age.  He  was  a grist  and 
flour  miller  and  removed  from  the  Hoosier  State  to 
Neosho,  Missouri,  in  young  manhood.  In  polities  he  was 
a republican.  Mrs.  Cannon  was  born  at  Bedford,  Penn- 
sylvania, in  1850,  and  she  now  maintains  her  home  at 
Albany,  Oregon.  After  being  widowed  she  taught  in  the 
Seneca,  Shawnee  and  Wyandotte  Indian  Reservation 
schools  and  subsequently  was  superintendent  of  the  Pot- 
tawatomie Indian  School,  north  of  Topeka,  Kansas;  of 
the  Ponca  Indian  School,  three  miles  from  Ponca  City; 
and  of  the  Lagoona  Schools,  at  Lagoona,  New  Mexico. 
She  was  engaged  in  the  profession  of  teaching  for  fifteen 
years  and  was  very  popular  and  successful  in  that  line. 
During  her  work  in  the  various  Indian  reservations  she 
collected  a remarkable  series  of  Indian  photographs  which 
were  unfortunately  burned  in  her  trunk  in  the  depot 
fire  at  Lagoona  in  1903.  Two  children  were  born  to  Mr. 


1902 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


and  Mrs.  Cannon:  Ross  S.  is  the  subject  of  this  sketch; 
and  Thomas  M.,  Jr.  is  a resident  of  Albany,  Oregon, 
where  he  is  a registered  druggist  and  operates  a poultry 
ranch. 

Doctor  Cannon  attended  the  public  schools  of  Neosho, 
Missouri,  and  also  those  of  Cassville  and  he  completed  his 
high-school  course  in  the  City  of  St.  Louis,  Missouri.  In 
1898  he  was  graduated  in  the  St.  Louis  Medical  College, 
witli  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine.  He  entered  upon 
his  professional  practice  at  Newkirk,  in  Kay  County, 
Oklahoma,  and  remained  there  until  1901.  He  was 
coroner  of  Kay  County  and  also  served  as  medical  exam- 
iner on  the  insanity  board,  and  was  county  physician.  In 
1901  he  located  at  Sterling,  in  Comanche  County,  Okla- 
homa, and  remained  there  until  April,  1914,  which  date 
marks  this  advent  at  Hydro.  He  was  deputy  health 
officer  of  Comanche  County  while  a resident  of  Sterling 
and  there  controlled  a large  and  lucrative  practice.  His 
offices  at  Hydro  are  in  the  Opera  House  Building  on 
Main  Street.  He  is  a staunch  republican  in  politics  and 
is  a member  of  the  Comanche  and  Kay  County  Medical 
Societies  and  of  the  Missouri  State  Medical  Society. 

In  Oklahoma  City,  Oklahoma,  in  1914,  Doctor  Cannon 
married  Miss  Cleo  V.  Collier,  a daughter  of  R.  S.  Collier, 
who  is  living  in  retirement  at  Hydro.  Doctor  and  Mrs. 
Cannon  are  both  popular  in  connection  with  the  social 
activities  of  Hydro  and  their  home  is  the  scene  of  many 
attractive  gatherings. 

Huser  & Htjser.  One  of  the  ablest  law  firms  of 
Okfuskee  County  is  that  of  Huser  & Huser,  both  of 
whom  have  made  a fine  record  as  attorneys  and  citizens 
and  they  now  control  and  handle  a large  share  of  the 
important  litigation  in  the  local  courts.  The  firm  com- 
prises Judge  William  A.  Huser  and  his  brother,  Eugene 
Huser.  They  have  their  offices  at  Okemah.  William  A. 
Huser  is  a forffier  county  judge  of  Okfuskee  County 
and  Eugene  Huser  is  now  serving  as  city  attorney. 

Judge  William  A.  Huser  was  born  in  the  geographical 
center  of  Spencer  County,  Indiana,  July  12,  1872.  His 
birth  occurred  on  a farm,  and  just  ten  miles  from  the 
-old  homestead  was  the  little  cemetery  where  Lincoln’s 
mother,  Nancy  Hanks  Lincoln,  was  buried,  and  as  a 
boy  he  frequently  visited  her  grave.  Judge  Huser  is  of 
old  American  and  Revolutionary  stock.  Two  of  his 
Revolutionary  ancestors,  Thomas  Chancellor  and  William 
May,  were  both  buried  in  Spencer  County,  Indiana.  His 
great-grandfather,  Robert  Huser,  was  also  in  the  Revo- 
lutionary war  and  was  buried  in  Kentucky.  Both  May 
and  Chancellor  were  present  at  the  surrender  of  Corn- 
wallis, at  Yorktown,  in  1781,  at  the  close  of  the  Revo- 
lution. 

The  parents  of  these  brothers  were  John  Thomas  and 
Martha  E.  (May)  Huser.  The  former  was  born  in 
Switzerland  County,  Indiana,  in  1842,  and  the  latter  in 
Spencer  County  in  1846.  John  T.  Huser  grew  up  in 
Marion  County,  Indiana,  but  spent  most  of  his  life  in 
Spencer  County,  where  he  died  October  22,  1900.  The 
mother  died  at  Okemah,  Oklahoma,  in  1912.  The  father 
spent  all  his  active  career  as  a farmer.  The  parents  had 
only  two  sons,  Eugene  being  the  older. 

Eugene  Huser  was  born  in  Spencer  County,  Indiana, 
August  12,  1867,  and  continued  to  reside  there  until 
June,  1903,  when  he  moved  to  Comanche  County,  Okla- 
homa, and  joined  his  brother  in  the  practice  of  law  at 
Okemah  in  July,  1912.  He  had  a common  school  educa- 
tion back  in  Indiana,  and  after  going  to  Oklahoma 
studied  law  in  Comanche  County,  where  he  was  admitted 
to  the  bar  in  1912.  He  is  an  active  democrat,  a member 
of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  and  is  affiliated  with  the 
Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 


Fellows.  In  1889  Eugene  Huser  married  Cora  Farris, 
who  was  born  in  Indiana,  a daughter  of  George  and 
Emily  Farris.  To  their  marriage  have  been  born  seven 
sons:  James  Alston,  George  Thomas,  Oliver  Stanley, 

Samuel  Jennings,  Ellis  Alvin,  Herbert  M.  and  John 
Marshall. 

William  A.  Huser  spent  his  early  years  on  the  old 
homestead  in  Spencer  County,  Indiana,  and  besides  an 
education  in  the  local  schools  he  attended  the  law 
department  of  the  Indiana  State  University  at  Bloom- 
ington, and  in  1893  was  admitted  to  the  Indiana  bar 
at  Roekport.  He  took  up  practice  in  his  native  county, 
and  left  a promising  business  there  in  1899  to  come  to 
Oklahoma.  He  established  his  first  home  at  Hastings, 
in  Comanche  County,  but  at  statehood  moved  to  Okfus- 
kee County  and  engaged  in  practice  with  C.  B.  Connor, 
under  the  firm  name  of  Connor  & Huser.  In  1910  Mr. 
Huser  was  elected  county  judge  of  Okfuskee  County 
and  gave  a careful  and  efficient  administration  of  those 
duties  during  1911-12.  In  1912  he  was  a candidate 
before  the  democratic  primaries  for  congressional  nomi- 
nation, but  was  defeated.  Since  then  he  and  his  brother, 
Eugene,  have  been  associated  as  partners. 

Judge  Huser  is  democratic  member  of  the  state  com- 
mittee from  Okfuskee  County.  He  is  a member  of  the 
American  Historical  Association,  belongs  to  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church,  is  a Knight  Templar  Mason,  and  is 
now  Master  of  Okemah  Lodge  No.  234,  Ancient  Free 
and  Accepted  Masons.  He  is  also  affiliated  with  the 
Knights  of  Pythias. 

In  1904  Judge  Huser  married  R.  M.  Pettit,  who  was 
born  in  Iowa,  daughter  of  C.  G.  and  Jennie  Pettit,  who 
now  live  in  Jefferson  County,  Oklahoma.  Judge  Huser 
and  wife  have  two  daughters,  Margaret  and  Elaine. 

Elmer  C.  Wheeler.  The  business  enterprise  of 
Elmer  C.  Wheeler  has  been  an  important  factor  in  con- 
serving the  property  and  civic  rights  of  the  people  of 
his  blood  and  race  in  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Wheeler  is 
descended  from  two  stocks  of  American  Indians,  with 
an  important  admixture  of  the  French  pioneers  who  first 
explored  and  traversed  the  country  west  of  the  Missis- 
sippi. He  is  now  the  head  of  a prominent  family  at 
Pawhuska  in  Osage  County  and  is  carefully  looking 
after  the  large  interests  which  are  under  his  supervision 
as  a result  of  the  allotment  in  severalty  of  the  Indian 
lands  of  the  Osage  Nation.  • 

Mr.  Wheeler  was  born  in  Thurston  County,  Nebraska, 
March  17,  1878,  a son  of  M.  P.  and  Eliza  (Loise) 
Wheeler.  His  father  was  born  in  Wisconsin  in  1846, 
and  his  mother  was  born  in  Nebraska  in  1847.  These 
parents  were  married  in  Richardson  County,  Nebraska, 
and  moved  from  there  to  the  Omaha  Indian  Reserva- 
tion, on  which  they  lived  until  June,  1891,  when  they 
came  with  other  members  of  the  tribe  to  Pawhuska,  in 
Indian  Territory.  Mr.  Wheeler ’s  mother  was  a daughter 
of  Edward  Paul  and  Mary  Jane  (Barada)  Loise.  They 
belonged  to  some  of  the  earliest  French  families  in  the 
vicinity  of  St.  Louis.  Mr.  Wheeler’s  mother  first  mar- 
ried Antoine  Cabaney,  and  had  one  son  by  that  union. 
Mr.  Wheeler’s  grandfather  was  half  Osage  and  half 
French  origin,  and  his  grandmother  was  half  French 
and  half  Omaha  Indian.  His  grandfather  established  a 
trading  post  at  what  is  now  the  City  of  Omaha,  where 
a Frenchman  by  the  name  of  Edward  Sarpy,  in  the 
employ  of  the  American  Fur  Company,  had  established 
a post  in  the  early  ’40s,  this  enterprise  giving  the  first 
distinction  to  the  site  now  occupied  by  that  flourishing 
city.  Mr.  Wheeler’s  grandfather  lived  at  Omaha  until 
a short  time  before  his  death,  when  he  went  to  St.  Louis 
and  there  fell  a victim  to  the  cholera.  Mr.  Wheeler’s 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1903 


great-grandfather  on  his  mother’s  side  was  Mitchell 
Barada,  who  was  one  of  the  first  white  men  to  locate 
west  of  the  Missouri  River.  He  was  with  the  historic 
expedition  of  Lewis  and  Clarke  that  explored  the  Mis- 
souri River  to  its  source  early  in  the  nineteenth  century, 
and  a number  of  years  later  he  made  three  trips  to 
California  after  the  discovery  of  gold,  and  died  in 
Nebraska.  Mr.  Wheeler’s  parents  both  reside  in  Osage 
County,  his  father  being  a retired  farmer.  They  had 
ten  children,  five  of  whom  died  in  infancy,  and  the  five 
now  living  are:  Paul  E.,  of  Cleveland,  Oklahoma; 

Elmer  C.;  Lovania,  wife  of  L.  E.  Brock,  a rancher  in 
Osage  County;  Anna,  wife  of  Jack  Weinrich,  a merchant 
at  Pawhuska;  and  Alma,  living  with  her  parents. 

Elmer  C.  Wheeler  lived  with  his  parents  until  his 
marriage  in  1903,  though  much  of  his  time  was  spent 
away  from  home  attending  different  Indian  schools. 
From  1888  to  1890  he  was  in  the  Indian  School  at 
Genoa,  Nebraska,  and  then  spent  three  years  in  the 
Osage  Indian  Boarding  School.  From  1896  to  1897 
he  was  in  the  Chilloeo  Indian  School  and  graduated  in 
1897.  During  1899-1900  he  was  in  the  Indian  Training 
School  at  Santa  Fe,  New  Mexico,  and  took  his  diploma 
from  that  institution  in  the  latter  year.  After  leaving 
school  he  spent  some  time  in  the  employ  of  the  United 
States  Government  as  an  engineer  at  the  ice  plant  in 
Pawhuska. 

On  September  23,  1903,  Mr.  Wheeler  was  married  to 
Eva  E.  Rogers.  She  comes  of  the  noted  Rogers  family 
of  Oklahoma,  and  was  born  in  Osage  County  August  3, 
1877,  a daughter  of  Antoine  and  Elizabeth  (Carpenter) 
Rogers,  who  are  still  living  and  have  their  home  at 
Wyana.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wheeler  have  one  child,  Virginia 
Rogers.  They  are  also  rearing  five  children  by  Mrs. 
Wheeler’s  sister.  Their  father  was  Arthur,  a son  of 
Judge  Thomas  L.  Rogers,  one  of  the  distinguished  citi- 
zens of  Northeastern  Oklahoma  whose  career  will  be 
found  sketched  on  other  pages  of  this  work.  These  five 
orphan  children  now  in  the  home  of  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Wheeler  are:  Joseph  L.,  Ellen  Elizabeth,  John  R.,  Wil- 

liam C.  and  Isabel  Rogers. 

In  recent  years  Mr.  Wheeler  has  been  busied  in  super- 
vising the  allotment  of  his  family  and  children,  com- 
prising altogether  about  6,000  acres.  Of  this  handsome 
estate  about  1,000  acres  are  already  under  cultivation  as 
farming  land,  and  the  rest  is  pasture  and  grazing  land. 
Mr.  Wheeler  owns  two  good  buildings  in  Pawhuska,  and 
occupies  a substantial  home  which  is  the  property  of  his 
children. 

In  politics  he  is  a republican,  and  is  prominent  in  the 
Masonic  order.  He  is  a Knight  Templar  Mason  and  is 
also  a thirty-second  degree  Scottish  Rite  Mason.  His 
local  affiliations  are  with  Wahsahshe  Lodge  No.  110, 
Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  Horeb  Chapter  No. 
63,  Royal  Arch  Masons;  Omega  Council,  Royal  and 
Select  Masons;  Palestine  Commandery  No.  31,  Knights 
Templar;  Oklahoma  Consistory  of  the  Scottish  Rite; 
The  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Tulsa.  He  is  a 
past  master  of  his  lodge  and  past  commander  of  Pales- 
tine Commandery.  He  is  also  affiliated  with  the  Benevo- 
lent and  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  the  Knights  of 
Pythias. 

James  A.  Embry.  This  name  has  long  had  significance 
in  the  political  life  of  Oklahoma,  and  one  of  its  bearers 
is  James  A.  Embry,  now  serving  as  circuit  clerk  of  Lin- 
coln County.  Mr.  Embry  is  a son  of  one  of  the  early 
settlers  in  Lincoln  County,  and  his  own  life  has  been 
spent  in  this  state  from  early  boyhood,  a period  of 
twenty-five  years.  He  has  recently  been  admitted  to  the 
bar  and  prior  to  his  election  as  district  clerk  in  1912 

Vol.  v— 10 


had  made  an  acceptable  record  as  district  clerk  of  Lincoln 
County. 

James  A.  Embry  was  born  September  21,  1878,  on  a 
farm  near  Owensburg,  Kentucky,  son  of  V.  R.  Embry, 
now  a resident  of  Jennings,  Oklahoma.  His  father  was 
a native  of  Kentucky  and  of  old  Kentucky  lineage,  with 
many  of  the  characteristic  qualities  of  the  Kentucky 
people.  V.  R.  Embry  was  reared  in  Kentucky  and  when 
a boy  in  his  teens  enlisted  for  service  in  a Kentucky 
regiment  in  the  Union  army  and  saw  four  years’  >of 
active  service  as  a soldier.  At  the  beginning  of  settle- 
ment in  Lincoln  County,  Oklahoma,  he  came  as  one  of 
the  pioneers  and  developed  a large  farm.  He  subse- 
quently removed  to  the  City  of  Jennings,  and  died  at 
Morgantown,  Kentucky,  in  February,  1916.  He  married 
Miss  E.  Bratcher,  who  died  some  years  ago.  She  trans- 
mitted some  of  the  noble  qualities  of  her  heart  and  mind 
to  her  children,  who  were  six  in  number,  as  follows: 
Clinton,  of  Lincoln  County;  John,  a prominent  lawyer 
of  Oklahoma  City;  James  A.;  Iverson;  Eliza,  living  in 
Iowa  City,  Iowa;  and  Hannah,  of  Oklahoma.  The 
parents  were  both  Methodist  Church  people. 

James  A.  Embry  was  eleven  years  of  age  when  his 
parents  located  in  Lincoln  County,  and  many  of  his 
early  recollections  are  associated  with  the  wilderness 
conditions  which  then  prevailed  in  this  state.  He  grew 
up  on  a farm,  and  by  the  wholesome  occupations  of  the 
country  developed  a strong  physique  and  a vigorous 
mentality.  He  was  educated  partly  in  the  public  schools 
of  Kentucky  and  partly  in  the  high  school  at  Chandler, 
and  his  early  life  was  devoted  to  farming  and  stock 
raising.  He  was  associated  with  his  brother,  John 
Embry,  and  later  took  up  the  study  of  law  with  him 
and  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1914. 

In  1904  Mr.  Embry  married  Ivy  Boatright,  a woman 
of  refinement  and  culture.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Embry  have 
six  children:  John,  Henry,  Glen,  Dorothy,  Ivy  and 

James  A.,  Jr. 

Mr.  Embry,  like  his  father,  has  a military  record  to 
his  credit,  having  served  for  twenty  months  in  the 
Thirty-third  United  States  Infantry  during  the  Spanisli- 
American  war.  He  subsequently  served  as  lieutenant  of 
the  National  Guard,  and  in  1916  was  elected  department 
commander  for  Oklahoma  of  the  United  States  Spanish 
War  Veterans.  He  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the 
Methodist  Church  and  he  belongs  to  the  Veteran  Reserve 
Corps  and  is  a member  of  the  Masonic  Lodge. 

Warren  L.  Thayer.  The  first  appearance  of  Warren 
L.  Thayer  in  Oklahoma  was  as  a harvest  man.  About 
fifteen  years  ago  he  took  up  a Government  claim  in 
Harper  County,  and  his  prosperity  and  influence  has 
been  steadily  growing  ever  since.  He  is  now  one  of  the 
leading  citizens  and  business  men  of  Laverne. 

His  birth  occurred  February  27,  1880,  at  Union  City, 
Michigan,  a son  of  Robert  M.  and  Frances  M.  (Blosser) 
Thayer.  His  father,  who  was  of  Scotch  parentage,  was 
born  June  17,  1855,  at  Jackson,  Michigan,  and  was  a 
lumberman  until  he  came  to  Oklahoma  in  1901.  In  that 
year  he  took  up  a claim  in  Woodword  County  and  became 
active  in  the  organization  of  Ellis  and  Harper  County. 
He  now  owns  and  operates  a large  stock  farm  seven 
miles  from  May.  Robert  M.  Thayer  was  married  in  1877 
and  his  wife  was  born  November  30,  1854,  at  Logan, 
Hocking  County,  Ohio,  a daughter  of  Abraham  and 
Miriam  (Graffis)  Blosser,  who  were  natives  of  Pennsyl- 
vania and  of  Dutch  stock.  Mrs.  Thayer  had  a college 
education  and  is  an  active  member  of  the  Methodist 
Church.  ,Their  children  are:  Warren  L. ; Goldie,  who 

was  born  March  23,  1888,  and  is  now  the  wife  of  Bert 
B.  Waltman,  a railway  official  in  Denver,  Colorado: 
Pearl  Blanche,  who  was  born  August  3,  1891,  and  is  now 


1904 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


the  wife  of  Bynum  Bouse,  a rancher  at  Des  Moines,  New 
Mexico;  Ernest  Blaine,  who  was  born  May  7,  1894,  and 
now  lives  at  Laverne,  Oklahoma;  and  Katie  Lorena 
Thayer,  who  was  born  July  16,  1896,  and  is  now  the  wife 
of  W.  T.  McNeil  of  Beaver  City,  Oklahoma. 

At  the  age  of  seventeen  Warren  L.  Thayer  completed 
a high  school  course  at  Knoxville,  Tennessee,  and  at  the 
age  of  twenty-one  graduated  A.  B.  from  the  Ewing  and 
Jefferson  College  in  Blount  County,  Tennessee.  It  was 
with  this  education  and  preliminary  experience  that  he 
came  to  Grant  County,  Oklahoma,  and  spent  his  first 
season  in  the  harvest  fields.  He  also  taught  school  one 
term.  Then  in  1901  he  settled  on  his  claim  of  Govern- 
ment land  in  Woodward  County,  and  by  hard  work  and 
good  judgment  has  become  one  of  the  extensive  farmers 
of  that  section,  having  a large  tract  under  cultivation. 
For  one  year  he  was  connected  with  the  Spearmore  State 
Bank  of  Laverne,  but  is  now  engaged  in  a prosperous 
life  insurance  business  at  Laverne.  He  is  also  interested 
in  oil  properties  in  Oklahoma  and  Texas  as  a promoter 
and  developer,  and  having  read  law  in  the  intervals  of  his 
business  pursuits  was  admitted  to  the  Oklahoma  bar  in 
1916  and  is  now  prepared  to  practice  his  profession. 
Mr.  Thayer  is  a member  of  the  Masonic  Order,  the 
Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  the  Knights  of 
Pythias  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 
Politically  he  is  a republican. 

On  January  12,  1910,  at  Coleman,  Texas,  he  married 
Miss  Sallie  May  Smith,  who  was  born  at  Alvarado,  Texas, 
January  8,  1887,  a daughter  of  Thomas  and  Emma 
(Quinn)  Smith,  natives  of  Texas.  Mrs.  Thayer  is  a 
granddaughter  of  Deaf  Smith,  a pioneer  scout  and  fron- 
tiersman in  Texas,  a historic  character  in  the  Texas 
Revolution,  and  his  name  is  indelibly  impressed  upon 
Texas  geography  in  Deaf  Smith  County,  which  is  now  the 
largest  county  in  area  in  the  United  States.  Mrs. 
Thayer  completed  her  education  in  a Texas  college. 
They  have  three  daughters:  Helen,  born  January  19, 

1911;  Dorothy,  born  August  24,  1913;  and  Virginia 
Pauline,  born  February  16,  1916. 

Joseph  J.  Henke,  M.  D.  A physician  and  surgeon 
splendidly  equipped  for  his  work  of  curing  the  sick,  Dr. 
Joseph  J.  Henke  has  gained  prestige  throughout  Caddo 
County  by  reason  of  his  natural  talent  and  acquired  abil- 
ity in  the  field  of  his  chosen  work.  His  professional 
career  excites  the  admiration  and  has  won  the  respect  of 
his  contemporaries  in  a calling  in  which  one  has  to  gain 
reputation  by  merit  and  long  hours  of  patient  work. 

At  Westphalia,  in  Osage  County,  Missouri,  occurred 
the  birth  of  Dr.  Joseph  J.  Henke,  a son  of  Henry  H. 
and  Mary  (Radmacher)  Henke,  the  former  of  whom  was 
born  near  Osnabruek,  Prussia,  in  1848,  and  the  latter  at 
Van  Buren,  Missouri,  in  1853.  As  a young  man  the 
father  learned  the  trade  of  merchant  tailor  and  located 
at  .Westphalia,  Missouri,  where  he  is  now  living  retired. 
He  and  his  wife  are  the  parents  of  five  children,  as  fol- 
lows: Joseph  J.  is  the  subject  of  this  sketch;  William 
is  cashier  of  the  Bank  of  Erick,  at  Erick,  Oklahoma; 
Charles  is  a mechanic  and  resides  with  his  parents  at 
Westphalia,  Missouri;  Annie,  deceased,  was  the  wife  of 
Henry  Eicholz,  a well-to-do  property  owner  in  St.  Louis, 
Missouri;  and  Regina  is  the  wife  of  Andrew  Fennewald, 
a dry-goods  merchant  at  Westphalia. 

After  completing  the  prescribed  course  in  the  public 
schools  of  Westphalia,  Doctor  Henke  pursued  a business 
course  at  St.  Joseph’s  College,  at  Teutopolis,  Illinois, 
being  graduated  in  that  institution  in  1892.  For  two  years 
thereafter  he  taught  school  in  Osage  County,  'Missouri, 
and  he  then  removed  to  Westphalia,  Texas,  where  he  was 
engaged  in  teaching  for  the  ensuing  four  years.  In  1898 


he  was  matriculated  as  a student  in  the  College  of  Physi- 
cians & Surgeons  at  St.  Louis  and  was  graduated  therein 
April  11,  1900,  with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine. 
He  took  a post-graduate  course  in  that  institution  in  1903 
and  in  1915  did  post-graduate  work  in  the  Physicians  & 
Surgeons  College  of  St.  Louis,  Missouri.  Immediately 
after  graduating  he  was  an  interne  in  Jefferson  Hospital, 
St.  Louis,  for  one  year,  and  he  then  located  at  Lindsay, 
Texas,  where  he  practiced  for  a year.  In  1902  he  came 
to  Hydro  and  he  has  the  distinction  of  being  the  pioneer 
physician  and  surgeon  in  this  place.  He  controls  a general 
medical  and  surgical  practice  and  the  large  patronage 
given  him  is  the  best  evidence  of  the  faith  bestowed  in 
him  by  his  fellow  citizens.  His  offices  are  located  on 
Broadway  just  off  Main  Street  and  in  connection  with 
his  life  work  he  is  a valued  and  appreciative  member  of 
the  Caddo  County  Medical  Society,  the  Oklahoma  State 
Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association. 
He  is  a republican  in  politics  and  his  religious  faith 
coincides  with  the  teachings  of  the  Roman  Catholic 
Church.  It  is  interesting  to  note  that  Doctor  Henke, 
with  others,  established  the  Bank  of  Hydro,  and  was  for 
years  a stockholder  in  that  corporation. 

October  29,  1901,  in  Waco,  Texas,  Doctor  Henke  mar- 
ried Miss  Rose  Kleypas,  a daughter  of  Bernard  and  Ber- 
nadine  Kleypas,  the  former  of  whom  is  now  deceased  and 
the  latter  of  whom  resides  at  Waco,  Texas.  Bernard 
Kleypas  was  an  officer  in  the  Franeo-Prussian  war  in 
1870.  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Henke  became  the  parents  of 
three  children,  the  oldest  of  whom,  Bernard  H.,  died  at 
the  age  of  six  months;  Mildred  B.  was  born  November 
17,  1906;  and  Joseph  Reid  was  born  November  15,  1911. 

Dr.  G.  F.  Border,  prominent  surgeon  of  Magnum, 
and  mayor  of  the  city,  is  one  of  the  foremost  men  of 
his  community.  He  came  here  in  1900,  and  in  the  same 
year  opened  the  Border  Hospital.  It  was  all  inadequate 
in  the  beginning  to  the  demands  of  the  place,  but  today 
he  is  the  owner  and  proprietor  of  one  of  the  finest  and 
best  equipped  private  hospitals  to  be  found  anywhere 
in  the  , country.  With  accommodations  for  thirty 
patients,  it  is  always  filled  to  capacity,  though  it  is 
exclusively  a surgical  hospital. 

Doctor  Border  was  born  in  San  Augustine,  Texas,  on 
Deceinber  22,  1873,  and  is  the  son  of  G.  F.  Border,  who 
was  born  in  England  in  1838,  and  who  died  in  San 
Augustine,  Texas,  in  1883.  Charles  F.  Border,  grand- 
father of  the  subject,  was  an  English  emigrant  to 
America,  settling  in  San  Augustine,  Texas,  while  others 
of  the  same  generation  came  over  and  settled  in  Ohio, 
where  their  descendants  may  be  found  today.  G.  F. 
Border,  Sr.,  was  a boy  when  he  came  to  America  with 
his  parents,  and  he  was  reared  in  San  Augustine,  where 
they  settled.  While  quite  young  he  entered  the  whole- 
sale hardware  business  in  Galveston,  later  became  the 
proprietor  of  a similar  establishment,  and  for  many  years 
was  thus  engaged.  He  was  a major  in  the  Southern 
army  during  the  Civil  war,  serving  four  years  in  Hood’s 
Brigade.  He  was  severely  wounded  in  the  service,  and 
suffered  a term  of  imprisonment.  After  the  war  he 
returned  to  business  pursuits,  but  he  suffered  much  ill 
health  as  a result  of  his  wound,  and  he  finally  died  from 
its  effects.  He  was  a member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity 
and  a democrat.  He  married  Elizabeth  Brooks,  daughter 
of  Gen.  T.  G.  Brooks,  who  served  in  the  Civil  war  and 
after  the  war  was  a merchant  in  San  Augustine.  She 
was  born  there  in  1848,  and  now  makes  her  home  with 
her  son,  Doctor  Border,  who  is  one  of  their  five  chil- 
dren, briefly  mentioned  as  follows:  May  married  S.  M. 

Polk,  a mechanic  of  Mangum.  Mattie  is  the  wife  of 
J.  M.  Burleson,  a near  relative  of  Postmaster  General 


RH 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1905 


Burleson,  and  they  live  in  San  Augustine,  where  he  is 
engaged  in  the  cattle  business.  Dr.  G.  F.  was  the  third 
child.  C.  L.  died  at  San  Augustine,  and  he  was  sheriff 
of  the  county  at  the  time  of  his  death.  Cora  married 
E.  H.  Boberts,  and  lives  in  Dallas.  Mr.  Boberts  is 
deceased.  He  was  a real  estate  man  of  Dallas,  and  his 
widow  is  now  the  owner  of  a great  deal  of  land  in  the 
state.  She  has  two  sons, — E.  H.  and  Isaac,  both  of 
whom  are  medical  students  in  Baylor  University. 

G.  F.  Border  had  his  early  education  in  the  public 
schools  of  San  Augustine,  and  was  a graduate  of  the 
Patron  High  School,  class  of  1891.  He  later  attended 
Center  Texas  College,  and  was  graduated  from  the 
Louisville  Medical  College  in  1895  and  from  the  St. 
Louis  College  of  Physicians  and  Surgeons  in  1900  with 
the  degree  of  M.  D.  Doctor  Border  began  practice  in 
the  U.  S.  Marine  Hospital  in  Atlanta  as  assistant  sur- 
geon before  he  had  his  degree,  and  he  has  since  taken 
numerous  post-graduate  courses,  among  the  courses  at 
the  Chicago  Polyclinic,  the  New  York  Polyclinic  and 
with  Mayo  Brothers  at  Bochester,  Minnesota.  In  1899 
he  practiced  medicine  in  Holland,  Texas,  and  in  1900 
he  came  to  Mangum,  in  the  same  year  opening  the 
Border  Hospital.  It  was  a small  and  unpretentious 
place  then,  with  a few  rooms  over  the  City  Drug  Store, 
but  the  demand  for  places  in  the  little  hospital  was  so 
great  that  in  1907  Doctor  Border  built  his  present  mod- 
ern hospital  at  224  West  Jefferson  Street.  His  is  the 
oldest  private  hospital  in  the  State  of  Oklahoma,  and  it 
accommodates  patients  from  all  over  the  state,  from 
Texas  and  from  other  states.  Thirty  beds  is  its  capacity, 
and  it  is  owned  and  managed  exclusively  by  Doctor 
Border,  whose  professional  work  is  confined  wholly  to 
the  surgical  field. 

Doctor  Border  is  official  surgeon  for  the  Bock  Island 
Bailroad  and  for  the  M.  K.  & T.  Boad.  He  is  health 
officer  for  Mangum  and  has  held  that  office  for  the  past 
fifteen  years. 

A democrat,  Doctor  Border  was  elected  to  the  office 
of  mayor  in  1912,  and  again  in  November,  1914,  for  a 
term  of  four  years.  At  the  last  election  he  had  no 
opposition.  He  has  a good  deal  of  civic  pride,  and  it 
has  been  his  ambition  to  make  Mangum  the  cleanest 
town  in  the  state.  In  1914  the  city  won  the  state  prize 
for  cleanliness  as  a result  .of  Doctor  Border’s  efforts. 
Through  his  efforts,  too,  were  sanitary  drinking  foun- 
tains placed  in  the  public  schools. 

Doctor  Border  is  a member  of  Mangum  Lodge  No.  61, 
Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons;  Mangum  Chapter 
No.  35,  Boyal  Arch  Masons,  Consistory  No.  1,  Valley 
of  Guthrie;  India  Temple,  Ancient  Arabic  Order  of 
Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  Oklahoma  City;  Mangum 
Lodge  No.  1169,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of 
Elks;  and  he  is  a member  of  the  County,  State  and 
American  Medical  societies.  At  one  time  he  was  a 
stockholder  in  a number  of  insurance  companies.  Doctor 
Border  is  unmarried. 

James  L.  Austin.  A representative  member  of  the 
bar  of  Washita  County,  Senator  Austin  is  engaged  in 
the  practice  of  his  profession  at  Cordell,  the  attractive 
and  thriving  metropolis  and  judicial  center  of  the  county, 
and  there  came  consistent  recognition  of  his  character 
and  ability  when,  in  the  fall  of  1912,  he  was  elected  a 
member  of  the  State  Senate,  as  representative  of  the 
Sixth  senatorial  district.  In  both  the  Fourth  and  Fifth 
sessions  of  the  Legislature  he  proved  himself  a valuable 
working  member  of  the  Senate  and  his  influence  was 
potent  in  the  furtherance  of  judicious  legislation  and  in 
the  furtherance  of  the  best  interests  of  the  state  and  its 
people,  the  while  he  has  shown  himself  specially  mindful 
of  and  loyal  to  the  interests  of  his  specific  constituency. 


Senator  Austin  was  born  at  Mount  Airy,  Sequatchie 
County,  Tennessee,  on  the  24th  of  June,  1870,  and  he  is  a 
son  of  Thomas  Jefferson  Austin  and  Sarah  Austin,  both 
of  whom  still  maintain  their  home  in  the  fine  Sequatchie 
Valley  of  Tennessee,  where  the  paternal  grandfather  of 
the  senator  was  a pioneer  settler  and  where  numerous 
representatives  of  the  family  still  remain.  Thomas  J. 
Austin  was  born  and  reared  in  Sequatchie  County,  and  is 
one  of  the  substantial  agriculturists  of  that  section,  be- 
sides being  a grower  of  high-grade  live  stock.  He  is 
influential  in  public  affairs  of  local  order  and  is  one  of 
the  honored  citizens  of  the  community  that  has  been  his 
home  from  the  time  of  his  birth.  Of  the  children  other 
than  him  whose  name  initiates  this  review  it  may  be 
stated  that  Elijah  F.  is  identified  with  the  oil  industry 
at  Duffey,  Texas;  Mrs.  Thomas  J.  Sutherland  and  Mrs. 
Alexander  Standefer,  reside  at  Mount  Airy,  Tennessee, 
the  husband  of  the  former  being  a farmer  and  Mr. 
Standefer  being  a merchant;  Cleveland  is  a farmer  in 
the  vicinity  of  Mount  Airy,  and  the  younger  sons,  Melvin 
and  Monroe,  remain  at  the  parental  home. 

James  L.  Austin  attended  the  public  schools  of  his 
native  county  a portion  of  each  year  until  he  had  attained 
to  the  age  of  eighteen  years,  when  he  entered  Terrill 
College,  in  Lincoln  County,  Tennessee,  in  which  institu- 
tion he  was  graduated  in  1896,  with  the  degree  of  Bache- 
lor of  Arts.  In  the  same  year  he  became  a teacher  in 
the  public  schools  of  Johnson  County,  Texas,  where  he 
remained  thus  engaged  four  years.  He  then  came  to 
Washita  County,  Oklahoma  Territory,  where  he  con- 
tinued his  efficient  services  as  a successful  and  popular 
teacher  in  the  public  schools  until  the  admission  of 
Oklahoma  to  statehood,  in  1907,  when  he  was  elected  the 
first  district  clerk  of  the  county,  a position  which  he 
retained  five  years,  in  the  meanwhile  having  gained  secure 
vantage-ground  in  popular  confidence  and  esteem  and 
having  become  well  known  in  that  section  of  the  state. 
In  1912  he  was  elected  from  that  district  a member  of 
the  State  Senate,  for  a term  of  four  years,  and  this  term 
will  expire  in  1916.  While  still  teaching  school  Senator 
Austin  had  given  close  attention  to  the  study  of  law  and 
had  admirably  fortified  himself  in  the  science  of  juris- 
prudence, so  that  he  was  well  equipped  when,  in  1913,  he 
formed  at  Cordell  a law  partnership  with  Swan  C.  Bur- 
nette and  Charles  A.  Holden,  the  firm  establishing  an 
office  at  Clinton,  Custer  County,  also.  This  alliance  con- 
tinued until  1914,  and  Messrs.  Austin  and  Holden  are 
still  associated  in  the  control  of  a large  and  important 
law  business  in  Washita  and  Custer  counties,  the  while 
Senator  Austin  is  identified  also  with  the  newspaper  busi- 
ness, as  owner  and  publisher  of  the  Clinton  News. 

In  the  Fourth  Legislature  Senator  Austin  was  chair- 
man of  the  committee  on  fees  and  salaries  and  was 
assigned  to  other  important  Senate  committees.  At 
this  session  he  was  the  author  of  a bill  relating  to  the 
construction  of  public  highways,  and  though  the  bill 
passed  both  houses  of  the  Legislature  its  provisions  met 
with  the  disapproval  of  the  governor,  but  was  enacted 
by  the  Legislature  in  1915.  Senator  Austin  was  the  au- 
thor also  of  a proposed  constitutional  amendment  reor- 
ganizing the  judicial  system  of  the  state,  and  this  failed 
of  enactment  in  1913,  but  passed  both  branches  of  the 
Legislature  in  1915.  One  of  the  distinctive  ambitions  of 
Senator  Austin  in  the  Fifth  Legislature  was  to  bring 
about  the  success  oi  these  two  measures  which  he  had 
valiantly  championed  at  the  preceding  session  and  which 
he  again  introduced,  but  with  the  desired  results.  In  the 
Fifth  Legislature  he  was  chairman  of  the  committee  on 
revenue  and  taxation,  and  held  membership  also  on  the 
committees  on  ways  and  means,  private  corporations, 
roads  and  highways,  Federal  relations,  public  printing, 


1906 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


and  drugs  and  pure  foods.  He  was  a consistent  sup- 
porter of  measures  projected  for  the  remedying  of  de- 
fects in  labor  conditions  and  for  the  reduction  of  the 
expense  of  government  in  the  state.  Senator  Austin,  as 
a stalwart  and  able  champion  of  the  principles  and 
policies  of  the  democratic  party,  had  charge  of  the 
political  campaign  activities  of  four  counties  when  Gover- 
nor Williams  was  candidate  for  the  office  of  chief  execu- 
tive, and  he  was  in  full  accord  with  the  principles  of 
reform  outlined  in  the  democratic  platform  of  and  also 
the  recommendations  for  legislation  made  by  Governor 
Williams  in  the  vigorous  campaign.  Senator  Austin  is  a 
member  of  the  Washita  County  Bar  Association  and  the 
Oklahoma  State  Bar  Association,  is  actively  identified 
with  the  Commercial  Club  in  his  home  city  of  Cordell,  is 
affiliated  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the 
Woodmen  of  the  World,  and  holds  membership  in  the 
Baptist  Church,  both  his  wife  and  daughter  being  mem- 
bers of  the  Christian  Church. 

At  Mount  Airy,  Tennessee,  in  1895,  was  solemnized 
the  marriage  of  Senator  Austin  to  Miss  Florence  A. 
Standefer,  who  was  born  and  reared  in  that  section  of  the 
state  and  whose  grandfather,  Hon.  James  Standefer,  of 
English  lineage,  served  as  a member  of  the  Tennessee 
Legislature.  Senator  Austin  and  his  wife  had  been 
schoolmates  in  Tennessee,  and  after  their  marriage  both 
were  popular  teachers  in  the  s'ehools  of  Texas  and  Okla- 
homa, Mrs.  Austin  being  now  a valued  member  of  the 
corps  of  teachers  in  the  public  schools  at  Cordell,  with 
great  enthusiasm  in  her  work  and  with  reputation  for 
being  one  of  the  most  efficient  primary  teachers  in  the 
state.  Ruby  Lee,  the  only  child  of  Senator  and  Mrs. 
Austin,  was  born  in  Johnson  County,  Texas,  in  1898,  and 
is  a young  woman  of  exceptional  talent  and  accomplish- 
ment in  music  and  dramatic  expression.  She  is  a mem- 
ber of  the  class  of  1916  in  the  Cordell  Christian  College, 
in  her  home  city,  and  after  her  graduation  in  this  institu- 
tion she  will  complete  her  education  in  music  and  expres- 
sion in  the  celebrated  Boston  Conservatory  of  Music. 
She  is  a leader  and  loved  personality  in  her  class  at  the 
Cordell  Christian  College,  and  an  active  worker  in  the 
Christian  Church  in  her  home  city,  she  having  been  a 
member  of  the  church  since  she  was  twelve  years  of  age. 

Andrew  B.  Oleson.  The  present  mayor  of  the  City 
of  Chandler  is  one  of  the  pioneer  white  settlers  of 
Oklahoma  Territory,  having  been  identified  with  this 
country  more  than  twenty  years.  Mr.  Oleson  has  been 
a resident  of  Chandler  for  the  past  twelve  years,  and 
as  a business  man  conducts  the  office  of  mayor  on 
business  principles,  with  emphasis  on  efficiency  and  with 
an  impartial  administration  for  the  benefit  of  all  con- 
cerned. Mr.  Olson  came  to  Oklahoma  in  1892  with  the 
tide  of  home-seekers  that  made  Oklahoma  famous  in 
those  days.  He  was  first  located  on  the  Sac  and  Fox 
Reservation. 

A.  B.  Oleson  was  born  in  Norway,  July  9,  1845,  of  a 
family  noted  for  industry,  thrift  and  physical  and  mental 
vigor.  His  parents  were  Bertel  and  Angie  Oleson,  his 
father  dying  at  the  age  of  seventy-five  and  his  mother 
still  living  at  ninety-two.  His  father  was  a farmer,  and 
there  were  five  sons  and  five  daughters  in  the  family. 

Mayor  Oleson  grew  up  on  a farm,  received  a wholesome 
training  in  body  as  well  as  mind,  and  leaving  school 
at  the  age  of  fifteen  became  a sailor  before  the  mast, 
and  spent  five  years  in  sailing  about  the  world.  In 
1867,  at  the  age  of  twenty-two,  he  came  to  America  and 
located  at  Madison,  Wisconsin,  where  he  was  employed 
in  the  carpenter’s  trade.  He  did  some  general  railroad 
work  and  later  was  a builder  and  contractor,  and  in 
that  business  laid  the  foundation  for  his  substantial 


prosperity.  He  was  in  Western  Kansas  for  a time, 
erected  some  courthouses  and  other  important  buildings, 
lived  in  Iowa,  later  in  Princeton,  Illinois,  and  for  several 
years  was  a building  contractor  for  the  Chicago,  Bur- 
lington & Quincy  Railroad.  Later  he  returned  to  Iowa, 
and  in  1886  located  in  Kansas,  where  he  did  an  extensive 
business  as  a building  contractor.  He  afterwards  took 
some  large  contracts  from  railroads,  lived  in  Pueblo, 
Colorado,  for  a time,  and  in  1892  came  to  Oklahoma. 
Since  moving  to  this  state  he  has  performed  a number 
of  important  contracts  in  building,  including  courthouses, 
business  blocks,  private  residences  and  other  structures. 

He  was  superintendent  of  the  courthouse  here,  which  was 
built  in  1907.  He  has  been  quite  successful  in  his  opera- 
tions and  owns  160  acres  of  land  in  this  county,  also 
his  home  and  three  houses  in  Chandler  which  he  rents, 
besides  city  and  farm  property  in  other  parts  of  the 
state. 

In  1872  Mr.  Oleson  married  Elizabeth  Hildebrand,  a 
native  of  New  Jersey,  and  she  died  here  in  1913  when 
sixty-two  years  of  age.  To  their  marriage  were  born 
six  children,  four  sons  and  two  daughters.  Those  still 
living  are:  Ben,  a business  man  at  Sapulpa,  Oklahoma; 

Harry,  of  Chandler;  Ann,  who  married  Tom  Jessem,  of 
Dakota;  Edward  Charles  of  Sapulpa,  Oklahoma;  and 
Ella,  at  home.  Mr.  Oleson  has  always  been  a stanch 
supporter  of  the  republican  party.  For  the  past  forty 
years  he  has  been  connected  with  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows,  and  in  whatever  relation  he  has  stood 
with  business  or  with  the  community  has  exemplified  a 
thorough  integrity  and  a high  degree  of  public  spirit. 

He  is  a member  of  the  Lutheran  Church. 

Charles  Swindall.  The  bar  of  the  State  of  Okla- 
homa claims  as  one  of  its  leading  representatives  in 
Woodward  County  the  well  known  attorney  whose  name 
initiates  this  paragraph  and  whose  large  and  important 
law  business  extends  not  only  into  the  various  courts  ! 
of  Oklahoma  but  also  into  those  of  the  Panhandle  of  1 
Texas,  is  wide  ramification  affording  ample  voucher  for 
his  distinctive  ability  in  his  profession  and  the  high  esti- 
mate placed  upon  him  as  a lawyer  and  citizen. 

Mr.  Swindall  was  born  at  College  Mound,  Kaufman  I 
County,  Texas,  on  the  13th  of  February,  1876,  and  is  a 
son  of  Jonathan  W.  and  Mary  E.  (Standley)  Swindall. 
His  father  was  born  in  the  City  of  Macon,  Georgia,  on 
the  11th  of  April,  1831,  a son  of  Andrew  and  Panina 
(Ward)  Swindall,  both  natives  of  Virginia  and  repre- 
sentatives of  families  that  immigrated  to  America  from 
England  in  the  Colonial  days  and  that  settled  in  the 
historic  Old  Dominion.  In  1859,  when  about  twenty- 
eight  years  of  age,  Jonathan  W.  Swindall  removed  from 
Georgia  to  Texas,  but  in  1861  he  returned  to  his  old 
home  in  Georgia,  where  he  remained  until  the  close  of 
the  Civil  war.  He  had  received  excellent  educational 
advantages  and  after  the  termination  of  the  great  con- 
flict between  the  states  of  the  North  and  the  South  he  i 
engaged  in  teaching  school  in  Louisiana.  There  he  re-  ' 
mained  until  1872,  when  he  returned  to  Texas,  in  which  1 
state  he  continued  his  labors  as  a successful  and  popular  | 
representative  of  the  pedagogic  profession  for  nearly  a 
quarter  of  a century,  his  retirement  from  this  vo'cation 
having  occurred  in  1895,  when  he  established  his  home 
on  a farm  in  Kaufman  County,  that  state.  In  1886  he  i 
became  superintendent  of  the  first  high  school  estab- 
lished at  Terrell,  Texas,  and  the  total  period  of  his  j 
service  as  a teacher  comprised  forty-five  years.  He  and 
his  wife  still  reside  on  their  fine  homestead  farm,  their 
marriage  having  been  solemnized  November  5,  1857. 
Mrs.  Swindall  was  born  near  the  City  of  Rome,  Georgia, 
on  the  9th  of  November,  1836,  and  is  a daughter  of 


HISTOKY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1907 


Jonathan  and  Mary  (Maddux)  Standley,  who  likewise 
were  natives  of  Georgia,  where  they  passed  their  entire 
lives.  Mrs.  Swindall  was  .graduated  in  Andrews  Female 
College,  at  Cuthbert,  Georgia,  and  her  husband  acquired 
his  higher  education  in  the  famous  old  University  of 
Virginia,  at  Charlottesville.  They  became  the  parents  of 
four  sons  and  four  daughters : Lula  F.  was  born  Decem- 
ber 25,  1859;  Edith  A.,  February  23,  1862;  Annie  A., 
February  18,  1865;  Standley  M.,  December  12,  1868; 
Frederick  Ward  was  born  December  18,  1870,  and  died 
April  20,  1900;  Mary  Maddux  was  born  June  26,  1873, 
and  died  October  18,  1891;  William  and  Charles,  twins, 
were  born  February  13,  1876,  and  the  death  of  the 
former  occurred  July  20,  1877,  the  latter  being  the 
immediate  subject  of  this  review. 

On  the  homestead  farm  of  his  father,  in  Kaufman 
County,  Texas,  Charles  Swindall  was  reared  to  manhood, 
and  in  1895  he  was  graduated  in  the  high  school  in  the 
City  of  Terrell,  that  county.  In  the  same  year  he 
entered  Vanderbilt  University,  in  the  City  of  Nashville, 
Tennessee,  and  in  the  law  department  of  this  admirable 
institution  he  was  graduated  as  a member  of  the  class 
of  1897  and  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Laws.  Dur- 
ing his  senior  year  he  was  vice  president  of  the  Philoma- 
thian  Literary  Society  of  the  university. 

In  the  year  of  his  graduation  Mr.  Swindall  came  to 
Oklahoma  Territory,  and  in  August  of  that  year  he 
arrived  at  Woodward  with  the  portentious  cash  capital  of 
$6.  He  was  forthwith  admitted  to  the  territorial  bar 
and  gallantly  opened  an  office  and  prepared  to  serve  his 
strenuous  professional  novitiate.  During  the  first  six 
months  he  supplemented  the  somewhat  precarious  income 
derived  from  his  budding  law  practice  by  serving  as 
bookkeeper  in  a newspaper  office.  On  the  1st  of  April, 
1898,  he  was  appointed  county  attorney  of  the  adjoin- 
ing County  of  Day,  and  at  the  ensuing  popular  election 
he  was  chosen  the  regular  incumbent  of  this  office,  of 
which  he  continued  in  tenure  three  years  and  in  which 
he  not  only  gained  valuable  experience  but  also  made  a 
record  that  materially  advanced  his  reputation  as  an  able 
trial  lawyer.  Upon  retiring  from  office  he  returned  to 
Woodward,  where  he  has  since  continued  in  active  general 
practice  and  gained  secure  vantage-place  as  one  of  the 
representative  lawyers  of  Western  Oklahoma.  He  con- 
tinues a close  and  appreciative  student  and  his  law 
library  is  the  largest  and  best  private  collection  of  its 
kind  in  this  section  of  the  state. 

Mr.  Swindall  is  a staunch  and  effective  advocate  of 
the  principles  and  policies  of  the  republican  party  and  is 
a representative  of  Woodward  County  as  a member  of 
the  Republican  State  Central  Committee.  He  has  com- 
pleted the  circle  of  York  Rite  Masonry  and  has  received 
also  the  thirty-second  degree  of  the  Ancient  Accepted 
Scottish  Rite,  besides  being  affiliated  with  the  adjunct 
organization,  the  Ancient  Arabic  Order  of  the  Nobles  of 
the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  was  the  third  to  be  elected  wor- 
shipful master  of  Woodward  Lodge,  No.  189,  Ancient 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  in  his  home  city  he  is 
identified  also  with  the  organizations  of  the  Knights 
of  Pythias,  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks 
and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  Mr.  Swindall  is 
a member  of  the  Woodward  County  Bar  Association  and 
the  Oklahoma  State  Bar  Association,  and  in  the  district 
of  Western  Oklahoma  he  is  retained  as  attorney  for  the 
Atchison,  Topeka  & Santa  Fe  Railroad  Company.  He 
was  unanimously  selected  as  a delegate  in  1916  to  the 
Republican  National  Convention  at  Chicago. 

On  the  31st  of  January,  1911,  at  Guthrie,  this  state, 
was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Swindall  to  Miss 
Emma  E.  Endres,  who  was  born  at  Macomb,  McDonough 
County,  Illinois,  on  the  19th  of  September,  1886,  the 
marriage  ceremony,  at  the  former  territorial  capital  City 


of  Oklahoma,  having  been  performed  by  Judge  Jesse  J. 
Dunn,  chief  justice  of  the  Supreme  Court  of  the  state. 
Mrs.  8Swindall  is  a daughter  of  Conrad  and  Martha 
Endres,  who  maintain  their  home  in  the  City  of  Wichita, 
Kansas.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Swindall  have  no  children. 

Thomas  D.  Palmer,  M.  D.  The  professional  activ- 
ities of  Dr.  Thomas  D.  Palmer  have  spanned  fifteen  years 
of  Oklahoma  history,  during  which  time  he  has  achieved 
distinction  and  material  success  in  his  calling.  Since  his 
arrival  at  Elk  City,  in  1911,  he  has  won  the  confidence 
of  a large  practice,  not  through  any  of  the  methods  of 
the  charlatan,  but  by  reason  of  large  professional  skill 
and  a devotion  to  the  best  ethics  and  standards  of  his 
honored  vocation. 

Doctor  Palmer  was  born  at  Plymouth,  Illinois,  May  31, 
1&77,  and  is  a son  of  A.  S.  and  Phoebe  (Kennedy) 
Palmer.  The  family  originated  in  England,  from  whence 
the  first  American  ancestor  emigrated  during  colonial 
days,  and  subsequently  the  family  branched  out  from 
the  original  settlement,  the  direct  ancestor  of  Doctor 
Palmer  taking  up  his  residence  in  Illinois.  In  that  state, 
at  Plymouth,  Hancock  County,  A.  S.  Palmer  was  born 
in  1851.  A farmer  and  stock  raiser  throughout  his  life, 
he  continued  to  reside  at  Plymouth  until  1900,  then  mov- 
ing to  Topeka,  Kansas,  where  his  death  occurred  four 
years  later.  He  was  active  in  the  affairs  of  the  Chris- 
tian Church,  being  a member  of  the  official  board  in  his 
own  town  for  many  years,  and  in  political  and  civic 
matters  also  took  an  active  participation,  holding  various 
offices  within  the  gift  of  his  fellow-citizens,  acting  as 
county  treasurer  of  Hancock  County,  Illinois,  for  several 
years,  and  generally  acquitting  himself  in  a commendable 
manner  in  all  of  life’s  affairs.  He  was  a member  of  the 
Masonic  fraternity.  Mr.  Palmer  married  Miss  Phoebe 
Kennedy,  who  was  born  at  Plymouth,  Illinois,  in  1853, 
and  died  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  in  1909,  and  they 
became  the  parents  of  six  children,  namely:  Dr.  Thomas 
D. ; Ida  May,  who  married  George  Grigson,  purchasing 
agent  for  the  Rock  Island  Railroad  at  Kansas  City,  Mis- 
souri; Fluta,  who  married  Otto  Ahrens,  private  secretary 
to  Henry  C.  Frick,  the  American  coke  and  steel  manu- 
facturer of  Pittsburgh,  Pennsylvania;  Edward,  coal 
weigher  for  the  Rock  Island  Railroad  at  Kansas  City, 
Missouri;  his  twin,  Edwin,  a linotype  machine  operator 
for  the  Kansas  City  Star,  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri;  and 
Carl,  also  a linotype  operator  of  Kansas  City. 

Thomas  D.  Palmer  attended  the  public  schools  of  Ply- 
mouth, Illinois,  where  he  was  duly  graduated  from  the 
high  school  in  the  class  of  1883.  He  was  reared  on 
his  father’s  farm,  where  he  continued  to  reside  until 
attaining  his  majority,  but  it  was  not  his  desire  to  follow 
an  agricultural  career,  and  in  1896  he  entered  the  Kansas 
City  Medical  College  and' completed  his  studies  there  in 
1901,  being  graduated  with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medi- 
cine. In  1906  he  took  a post-graduate  course  at  the 
Chicago  College  of  Physicians  and  Surgeons,  in  1908  at 
the  Chicago  Polyclinic,  and  in  1910  at  Fisher’s  School, 
Chicago,  where  he  specialized  in  diseases  of  the  eye,  ear, 
nose  and  throat.  At  the  time  he  received  his  degree,  in 
1901,  Doctor  Palmer  came  to  Oklahoma,  it  being  his 
belief  that  this  state  offered  an  excellent  field  for  the 
young  and  ambitious  professional  man.  His  first  loca- 
tion was  at  Cherokee,  where  he  remained  until  1907,  then 
going  to  Ingersoll,  where  he  remained  until  1911,  and 
where  he  served  one  term  as  city  treasurer  in  addition 
to  carrying  on  his  practice,  and  then  in  1911  came  to  Elk 
City,  which  has  continued  to  be  his  home.  Here  he  is 
connected  with  the  firm  of  Tedrowe,  Tisdal  & Palmer, 
owner  of  the  Frances  Hospital,  one  of  the  modern  insti- 
tutions in  this  part  of  the  state.  Doctor  Palmer  main- 


1908 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


tains  offices  on  Main  Street,  and  while  his  practice  is 
general  in  its  character  it  is  perhaps  as  a specialist  in 
diseases  of  the  eye,  ear,  nose  and  throat,  that  hp  has 
gained  his  best  reputation.  Possessed  in  general  meas- 
ure of  the  qualities  which  make  the  personally  popular 
as  well  as  financially  successful  physician  and  surgeon, 
he  has  made  a name  as  a careful,  conscientious  and  thor- 
oughly skilled  devotee  of  his  profession.  He  keeps  in 
close  touch  with  the  professional  brotherhood,  belonging 
to  the  Beckham  County  Medical  Society,  the  Oklahoma 
State  Medical  Society,  the  American  Medical  Association 
and  the  Southwestern  Medical  Society.  His  fraternal 
connections  are  with  Elk  City  Lodge  No.  182,  Ancient 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  with  the  Knights  Templar, 
and  with  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks, 
of  Elk  City.  In  politics  he  is  a democrat. 

Doctor  Palmer  was  married  in  1911,  at  Oklahoma  City, 
to  Miss  Mary  K.  Spellman,  of  Hempstead,  Long  Island, 
New  York.  They  have  no  children. 

Benjamin  D.  Woodson,  M.  D.  Immediately  after 
his  graduation  from  Memphis  Hospital  College,  Memphis, 
Tennessee,  in  1890,  Dr.  Benjamin  D.  Woodson  came  to 
what  was  then  Indian  Territory  and  entered  upon  the 
practice  of  his  profession  at  Monroe,  and  since  that 
time  has  continued  to  follow  his  vocation  in  this  section. 
Since  1912  he  has  been  located  at  Poteau,  where  he  is 
known  as  a skilled  and  successful  practitioner,  and  in 
1915  was  appointed  county  superintendent  of  health 
for  Le  Flore  County. 

Doctor  Woodson  was  born  near  Hartford,  Sebastian 
County,  Arkansas,  March  6,  1868,  and  is  a son  of  Wil- 
liam G.  and  Nettie  (Taner)  Woodson.  His  father  was 
a native  of  Virginia  and  a member  of  an  old  and 
highly  respected  family  of  Irish  origin  whose  residence 
was  in  the  vicinity  of  the  City  of  Richmond.  William 
G.  Woodson  was  reared  to  manhood  in  Virginia,  and 
when  the  Civil  war  came  on  joined  one  of  the  volunteer 
regiments  from  his  state  in  the  service  of  the  Confederacy 
and  fought  valiantly  as  a soldier  for  the  cause  he  deemed 
just.  The  war  over,  he  moved  to  Arkansas,  where  he 
was  married  to  Nettie  Taner,  a native  of  Texas,  and 
they  became  the  parents  of  five  children,  of  whom  Ben- 
jamin D.  is  the  only  survivor.  A farmer  by  vocation, 
William  G.  Woodson’s  first  location  in  Arkansas  was  in 
the  vicinity  of  Greenwood,  the  county  seat  of  Sebastian 
County,  and  later  he  moved  to  near  Hartford,  in  the 
same  county,  that  property  continuing  to  be  his  home 
until  1882.  At  that  time  he  came  to  a tract  of  land 
located  near  Monroe,  in  Indian  Territory,  where  he  died 
in  1883,  aged  about  sixty  years. 

Benjamin  D.  Woodson  was  only  about  fifteen  years  of 
age  when  his  father  died,  and  he  is  accordingly  greatly 
indebted  to  the  late  C.  C.  Matthews,  of  Wister,  Okla- 
homa, for  fatherly  care  and  advice.  He  was  reared  as 
a farmer,  but  early  determined  upon  a professional 
career,  and  after  receiving  his  primary  education  in  the 
public  schools  entered  Buckner  College,  Witcherville, 
Arkansas,  where  he  was  graduated  in  1884.  For  two 
years  thereafter  he  was  engaged  in  teaching  school, 
thus  earning  the  means  wherewith  to  pursue  his  profes- 
sional studies,  and  entered  Memphis  Hospital  College, 
Memphis,  Tennessee,  where  he  was  graduated  with  the 
degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine  in  1890.  Returning  to 
Monroe,  Indian  Territory,  he  opened  a small  office  and 
hung  out  his  shingle,  and  in  the  course  of  the  next  few 
years  experienced  the  trials  and  disappointments 
through  which  every  young  physician  is  forced  to  pass 
before  he  can  gain  a foothold.  However,  he  was  perse- 
vering, and  instead  of  showing  his  patience,  cheerfully 
and  industriously  sought  to  impress  himself  favorably 


upon  the  community,  so  that  practice  was  gradually 
attracted  to  him,  and  from  that  time  forward  his  suc- 
cess was  assured.  In  1912,  feeling  that  he  had  outgrown 
his  community,  he  looked  about  for  a broader  scene  for 
his  activities  and  came  to  Poteau,  where  he  has  since 
built  up  an  excellent  general  practice.  On  May  1,  1915, 
his  abilities  were  recognized  by  his  appointment  to  the 
office  of  county  superintendent  of  health  for  Le  Flore 
County.  He  keeps  abreast  of  the  progress  made  in 
his  profession,  and  has  taken  two  post-graduate  courses, 
1893  and  1900,  at  the  Chicago  Polyclinic,  of  Chicago, 
Illinois.  He  keeps  likewise  in  touch  with  the  medical 
brotherhood,  and  is,  a member  of  the  Le  Flore  County 
Medical  Society,  the  Oklahoma  State  Medical  Society  and 
the  American  Medical  Association.  Fraternally,  he  is  a 
Royal  Arch  Mason,  a Pythian  and  an  Odd  Fellow.  His 
religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church, 
South. 

Doctor  Woodson  was  married  in  1895  to  Miss  Lillie 
McClure,  a native  of  Arkansas,  and  to  this  union  there 
have  been  born  five  children. 

Almee  Sidney  Norvell.  About  six  years  ago  there 
came  to  Eastern  Oklahoma  a young  attorney,  who  already 
had  had  considerable  experience  in  handling  cases  before 
the  courts  of  Arkansas  and  Tennessee,  and  in  a year 
or  so  he  had  settled  down  to  the  enjoyment  of  a good 
practice  at  Wewoka.  Then  came  official  honors  in  the 
shape  of  the  county  judgeship,  and  he  is  now  filling  it 
for  a second  term  and  with  such  efficiency  as  to  assure 
him  of  further  promotions  and  public  honors  should  he 
so  desire. 

A Tennessee  man,  Judge  Norvell  was  born  near 
Trenton  in  Gibson  County,  August  5,  1874,  a son  of 
Joseph  S.  and  Margaret  (Taylor)  Norvell.  Both  parents 
were  natives  of  Tennessee,  where  they  spent  their  lives. 
The  father,  who  was  born  August  21,  1841,  died 
December  31,  1896,  at  the  age  of  fifty-five  and  the 
mother,  who  was  born  October  13,  1850,  died  October 
29,  1909,  aged  fifty-nine.  Joseph  S.  Norvell  was  a 
farmer,  and  during  the  Civil  war  he  served  four  years 
in  a regiment  of  Tennessee  Infantry,  and  was  four  times 
wounded.  He  was  captured  at  the  battle  of  Franklin 
and  for  several  months  was  held  a prisoner.  He  owned 
a good  farm,  gave  it  the  best  of  attention  and  in  that 
way  and  by  its  management  provided  well  for  his  family. 
He  also  served  for  a number  of  years  as  justice  of  the 
peace,  and  was  a lifelong  democrat.  He  was  deeply 
religious,  was  a deacon  in  the  Baptist  Church,  and  his 
wife  also  took  an  interest  in  church  affairs.  To  their 
marriage  were  born  six  sons  and  four  daughters,  and 
four  of  the  sons  and  three  daughters  are  still  living: 
Melville  died  at  the  age  of  nineteen;  Walter  died  aged 
four;  Dora  lives  at  Trenton,  Tennessee,  widow  of  E.  E. 
Strain;  the  fourth  in  age  is  Aimer  S.  Norvell;  John 
resides  at  Trenton,  Tennessee;  Hassie,  deceased  wife  of 
J.  M.  McCord;  Yannie  married  C.  C.  Sublet  of  Trenton; 
Zula  married  C.  L.  Ball  of  Rutherford,  Tennessee; 
Spencer  lives  at  Hoxey,  Arkansas;  and  Vaughn  is  a 
resident  of  McKenzie,  Tennessee. 

Judge  Norvell  grew  up  in  Gibson  County,  Tennessee, 
and  lived  there  until  1898.  In  1901  he  graduated  from 
the  Normal  School  at  Dickson,  Tennessee.  Three  years 
of  his  young  career  were  spent  in  teaching  school.  He 
studied  law  in  the  Cumberland  University  Law  School 
at  Lebanon,  Tennessee,  and  on  graduating  LL.  B.  in 
1904  began  practice  at  Kenton,  Tennessee.  After  three 
years  there  he  moved  to  Arkansas  City,  Arkansas,  in 
1907,  and  thus  with  six  years  of  practical  experience  he 
came  in  1910  to  Wewoka,  Oklahoma.  Here  he  practiced 
law  actively  until  his  first  election  in  June,  1913,  to  the 


(A/, 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1909 


office  of  county  judge  of  Seminole  County.  He  was 
re-elected  and  began  bis  second  term  in  1915. 

Judge  Norvell  is  an  active  democrat  and  has  exercised 
considerable  influence  in  politics  since  he  reached  man- 
hood. While  in  Arkansas  he  served  by  appointment  as 
county  examiner  or  superintendent  of  schools.  Since 
coming  to  Oklahoma  he  has  acquired  some  real  estate 
and  oil  interests.  He  is  a member  of  the  Missionary 
Baptist  Church  and  fraternally  is  a Mason. 

In  1907  Judge  Norvell  married  Ruby  Patterson,  who 
was  born  in  Gibson  County,  Tennessee,  in  1886,  a daugh- 
ter of  Captain  Patterson.  To  their  marriage  have  been 
born  two  children:  Albert  Sidney  and  Grace  Caroline. 

C.  M.  Morgan,  M.  D.  Successfully  identified  with  the 
medical  profession  at  Chandler  since  1909,  Doctor  Mor- 
gan represents  the  high  class  ability  of  the  modern 
physician  and  surgeon,  and  furnishes  a service  of  particu- 
lar value  to  his  home  city  in  the  Morgan  Hospital,  an 
institution  which  under  his  management  has  maintained 
the  best  standards  of  hospital  equipment  and  operation. 
The  hospital  has  its  home  in  a substantial  building,  five 
private  rooms,  has  all  the  modern  facilities  for  comfort 
and  for  the  appropriate  care  and  treatment  of  its 
patients,  and  has  skilled  nurses  in  attendance. 

Doctor  Morgan  was  born  in  Vinton  County,  Ohio, 
February  4,  1873.  His  father  was  a farmer,  H.  M. 
Morgan,  a native  of  Pennsylvania,  and  the  Morgan 
family  in  Pennsylvania  dates  back  as  far  as  1662.  The 
maiden  name  of  the  mother  was  Margaret  Hughes,  a 
native  of  Ohio.  She  died  in  Ohio,  leaving  three  children. 
The  father  is  a democrat,  and  now  lives  at  Oklahoma 
City. 

Doctor  Morgan  was  liberally  educated,  and  was  gradu- 
ated M.  D.  in  1906  from  the  University  Medical  College 
at  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  He  first  located  for  practice 
at  Davenport,  Oklahoma,  and  about  three  years  later 
moved  to  Chandler,  where  he  now  enjoys  a large  share 
of  the  better  practice  in  the  locality. 

Doctor  Morgan  was  married  in  1913  to  Harriet  Mc- 
Laury  of  this  state.  They  have  a daughter,  Harriet 
Louella,  now  two  years  old.  Doctor  Morgan  is  a Knight 
Templar  and  thirty-second  degree  Mason,  and  the  soeial 
qualities  which  have  made  him  popular  in  that  order 
have  also  made  him  a genial  public  spirited  worker  in 
his  home  community,  where  he  is  esteemed  both  for  his 
professional  standing  and  for  his  true  work  as  a 
gentleman. 

Richard  Wilkerson.  One  of  the  successful  and  pros- 
perous farmers  of  Washington  County,  whose  entire  life 
has  been  passed  in  agricultural  pursuits,  is  Richard 
Wilkerson,  a full-blooded  Cherokee.  He  was  born  August 
26,  1866,  in  the  Choctaw  Nation,  and  is  a son  of  Thomas 
and  Lizzie  (Tenewey  or  Foster,  the  former  the  Indian 
name)  Wilkerson. 

The  parents  of  Mr.  Wilkerson,  both  full-blooded  Chero- 
kees,  were  born  in  Georgia  and  were  children  when 
brought  to  the  Indian  Territory  by  the  United  States 
Government.  They  resided  there  until  the  period  of 
the  Civil  war,  when  Thomas  Wilkerson,  who  was  a 
minister  of  the  Baptist  Church,  went  to  the  South,  leav- 
ing his  family  in  the  Choctaw  Nation,  whence  he  returned 
at  the  close  of  the  war.  He  died  when  his  son  Richard, 
his  only  child  by  his  last  marriage,  was  about  six  months 
old.  Mrs.  Wilkerson  survived  until  1885,  and  died  four 
miles  west  of  Porum.  By  a previous  marriage,  Mrs. 
Wilkerson  was  the  mother  of  two  children:  Eli  and 

Ella,  who  are  both  deceased.  The  .father  had  a son  by 
a former  marriage. 

Richard  Wilkerson  was  reared  in  the  Canadian  District 


of  the  Cherokee  Nation,  and  as  a youth  entered  the  Male 
Seminary,  at  Tahlequah,  which  was  conducted  by  the 
Cherokee  Nation  as  a national  school.  He  could  not 
speak  English  when  he  entered  that  institution,  but  when 
he  left,  three  years  later,  was  well  versed  in  the  Eng- 
lish tongue.  He  was  brought  up  as  a farmer,  and  re- 
mained in  the  Canadian  District  until  he  was  twenty- 
four  years  of  age,  at  which  time  he  moved  to  the 
Cherokee  Strip,  and  was  living  there  at  the  time  of  the 
opening,  in  1893,  being  at  that  time  the  owner  of  eighty 
acres.  He  was  one  of  seventy  families  living  there,  and 
received  his  share  from  the  sale  of  the  land,  amounting  .to 
$1.25  per  acre.  In  1895  Mr.  Wilkerson  came  to  his 
present  location,  three  miles  north  of  Dewey,  where  he 
and  his  children  have  an  allotment,  owning  450  acres 
here  and  ninety  acres  of  cheap  land.  Mr.  Wilkerson 
now  has  five  oil  wells  on  his  property,  while  his  son, 
Oliver  C.,  who  owns  his  own  place  of  eighty  acres,  as 
well  as  twenty  acres  near  Bartlesville,  has  seventeen 
producing  oil  wells.  Mr.  Wilkerson  has  been  engaged 
in  general  farming  all  of  his  life  and  has  made  a suc- 
cess of  his  operations,  being  considered  one  of  the  well- 
to-do  men  of  his  locality.  He  is  a democrat  in  political 
matters,  is  a faithful  member  of  the  Baptist  Church  at 
Sugar  Mound,  and  is  fraternally  affiliated  with  Bartles- 
ville Lodge,  A.  H.  T.  A.,  and  is  a Master  Mason. 

Mr.  Wilkerson  was  married  in  March,  1891,  to  Anna 
Hendricks,  a native  of  Tahlequah,  Oklahoma,  born  Octo- 
ber 10,  1870,  a daughter  of  David  and  Martha  (Manning) 
Hendricks,  both  full-blooded  Cherokees.  To  this  union 
there  have  been  born  eleven  children:  David,  who  died 

at  the  age  of  eight  years;  Lizzie,  who  died  aged  two 
years;  Ella,  who  is  the  wife  of  Hope  Teeke,  of  Wash- 
ington County;  Katie,  who  lives  with  her  parents; 
Oliver  C.,  a successful  farmer  and  oil  producer  of  Wash- 
ington County;  one  child  which  died  in  infancy;  William, 
who  lives  at  home;  Jessie,  who  died  in  infancy;  Ernest 
and  Earl,  twins,  the  former  of  whom  died  aged  four 
years;  and  Owen,  who  lives  at  home.  Mr.  Wilkerson 
also  had  an  adopted  child,  Woodrow,  who  died  February 
.19,  1915. 

Harry  James  Dray.  The  postmaster  of  Weatherford, 
Oklahoma,  is  Harry  James  Dray,  a man  of  English  birth 
and  parentage,  but  a resident  of  America  since  he  was 
five  years  old.  He  was  born  in  Swansbrook,  England,  on 
January  12,  1868,  and  is  the  son  of  A.  H.  and  Susan 
(Smith)  Dray. 

A.  H.  Dray  was  born  in  the  vicinity  of  Swansbrook, 
where  he  was  reared  and  married,  and  where  his  children 
were  born.  His  birth  occurred  .in  1844,  and  he  died  at 
Lincoln,  Nebraska,  in  1898.  He  came  to  America  in 
.1873,  and  his  family  followed  him  ten  months  later.  He 
was  a blacksmith  by  trade,  and  when  he  came  to  America 
he  made  his  way  at  once  to  Nebraska  City,  Nebraska, 
where  he  found  work  in  the  factory  of  the  Breaking  Plow 
Company.  A little  later,  in  1874,  he  went  to  Essex,  Iowa, 
the  family  having  joined  him  in  1874,  and  in  Essex  the 
family  settled  down  to  the  making  of  a home  in  a new 
land.  The  father  worked  at  his  trade  there  until  1887 
when  he  moved  to  WaKeeney,  in  Western  Kansas.  His 
next  move  took  the  family  to  Plattsmouth,  Nebraska, 
where  he  was  employed  in  the  Burlington  Machine  Shops, 
and  he  was  by  that  company  transferred  to  Lincoln,  where 
he  worked  for  the  Burlington  until  his  death  in  1908. 

Mr.  Dray  was  democratic  in  his  politics,  and  a mem- 
ber of  the  Episcopal  Church.  His  wife,  Susan  Smith, 
was  born  in  the  same  village  that  was  his  native  place, 
in  1843,  and  she  is  now  living  in  Black  Lake,  Idaho. 
They  were  the  parents  of  a large  family  of  fifteen  chil- 
dren. A.  H.,  Jr.,  lives  in  Stockton,  California,  where 


1910 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


he  is  a blacksmith.  Susan  married  Allen  Voorhees,  a 
farmer  of  Mullen,  Idaho,  where  they  have  their  home. 
J.  P.  is  a barber  of  Ely,  Nevada.  Harry  James  was 
the  fourth  child.  W.  S.  lives  in  Savannah,  Missouri, 
where  he  is  postmaster  and  the  editor  of  a newspaper. 
Jennie  married  C.  N.  Cooley,  pastor  of  the  Congrega- 
tional Church  at  Black  Lake,  Idaho.  Nellie  married  Harry 
Cox,  a merchant  of  Muskogee,  Oklahoma.  Richard  died 
young,  as  did  also  Minnie,  George,  Edward  and  Irving. 
Frank  is  a resident  of  Black  Lake,  Idaho,  where  he  is 
employed  as  a railroad  machinist.  He  and  his  mother 
have  a home  there.  Margaret  married  Morris  Griffith, 
and  they  live  in  Livingston,  Montana.  The  fifteenth  child 
died  in  infancy. 

Harry  James  Dray  attended  the  public  schools  in  Essex, 
Iowa,  until  1887,  when  the  family  moved  to  WaKeeney, 
Kansas,  and  he  entered  a printing  office  there,  following 
an  apprenticeship  in  the  printing  business  he  had  served 
in  Essex,  while  still  attending  school.  He  spent  three 
years  in  the  office  of  The  Tribune  in  WaKeeney,  and  in 
1890  he  went  to  Plattsmouth,  Nebraska,  as  foreman  of 
the  Cass  County  Herald.  He  held  that  position  until 
1894,  when  he  went  to  Auburn,  Nebraska,  and  was  fore- 
man of  the  Herald  there  until  1903.  In  April,  1903,  he 
came  to  Weatherford,  Oklahoma,  and  entered  the  office 
of  the  Weatherford  Republican  as  foreman,  which  posi- 
tion he  filled  for  a year.  He  then  bought  the  Weather- 
ford Democrat,  an  opposition  paper,  and  published  it 
until  April  1,  1915,  when  N.  S.  DeMotte  bought  an  in- 
terest in  the  paper,  and  since  then  has  been  the  editor  of 
the  paper.  This  is  one  of  the  foremost  sheets  in  the 
county,  and  is  an  influence  for  good  wherever  it  circulates. 
It  is  well  managed  and  has  a wide  circulation  in  the 
county  and  state. 

Mr.  Dray  is  democratic  in  his  convictions,  and  has 
served  as  clerk  of  the  Weatherford  School  Board  for 
seven  years.  In  August,  1913,  he  was  appointed  post- 
master of  Weatherford  by  President  Wilson,  and  is  satis- 
factorily filling  that  office  at  the  present  time.  He  is  a 
member  of  the  Episcopal  Church,  and  is  a Mason  with 
Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masonic  affiliations.  He  is 
also  a member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias  No.  11,  Auburn, 
Nebraska,  and  is  past  chancellor  commander  of  that  lodge. 
He  is  a member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America, 
the  Royal  Highlanders  and  the  Court  of  Honor,  and  in 
all  of  them  is  popular  and  prominent,  with  an  instinct 
for  fraternalism  and  sociability  that  makes  him  welcome 
in  whatever  circles  he  frequents. 

Mr.  Dray  was  married  in  1903  in  Peru,  Nebraska,  to 
Miss  Emma  E.  Randol,  daughter  of  J.  P.  Randol,  a 
retired  farmer  now  living  in  Weatherford.  They  have 
four  children:  The  first  born,  Rhea  Ruth,  died  here  at 
the  age  of  nine  years.  Edith  and  Isabelle  attend  the 
public  schools,  while  the  youngest  child,  Margaret,  is 
not  yet  of  school  age. 

C.  M.  Cade.  It  is  hardly  necessary  to  make  any  point 
of  introduction  for  this  well  known  Oklahoma  citizen, 
banker,  pioneer,  man  of  affairs  and  leader  in  the 
republican  party.  There  are  few  men  in  the  state 
better  known  for  substantial  activities  and  broad 
influence  exerted  continuously  since  the  original  opening 
of  Oklahoma  Territory  to  settlement. 

Born  in  Noble  County,  Ohio,  August  4,  1856,  C.  M. 
Cade  represents  an  old  American  family.  A short  time 
after  the  Revolutionary  war  was  concluded  three  brothers, 
William,  Samuel  and  Moses  Cade,  emigrated  from  France 
to  Virginia.  Of  these  three  brothers  William  was  the 
grandfather  of  C.  M.  Cade.  He  was  a planter  in 

Virginia,  and  afterwards  transferred  his  residence  to 
a . farm  on  Blennerhassett  Island  in  the  Ohio  River, 


famous  in  history  as  the  home  of  that  unfortunate 
gentleman  who  became  involved  in  the  plots  of  Aaron 
Burr.  William  Cade  spent  the  rest  of  his  life  in  Ohio 
and  died  at  Marietta,  in  that  state. 

Samuel  Cade,  father  of  C.  M.  Cade,  was  born  at 
Natural  Bridge,  Virginia,  in  1826,  and  died  at  Shawnee, 
Oklahoma,  March  16,  1909.  He  was  reared  in  Virginia 
but  as  a young  man  located  at  Marietta,  Ohio.  He  was 
married  in  Monroe  County,  Ohio,  a county  from  which 
Noble  County  was  subsequently  formed.  In  1865  he 
established  his  home  in  Lawrence  County,  Ohio.  From 
1898  to  1900  he  lived  in  Anthony,  Kansas,  and  in  1900 
moved  to  Kingfisher  County,  Oklahoma,  where  he  was 
an  early  settler,  and  a farmer  and  stock  raiser.  He  was 
a democrat  in  politics,  and  very  active  in  the  Baptist 
Church,  in  which  he  served  as  a deacon  many  years. 
Samuel  Cade  married  Emeline  Rowe,  who  was  born  in 
Guernsey  County,  Ohio,  in  1822,  and  died  at  Anthony, 
Kansas,  in  1900.  Their  children  were:  W.  S.  Cade, 

an  attorney  at  Oklahoma  City  and  for  a number  of 
years  a United  States  marshal;  B.  M.  Cade,  who  died 
in  Lawrence  County,  Ohio,  in  1881,  also  an  attorney  by 
profession  and  engaged  in  practice  at  Pomeroy,  Ohio; 
Ceola  Virginia,  wife  of  Henry  Shaw,  a farmer  and 
stock  raiser  at  Burton,  Nebraska;  C.  M.  Cade;  and 
Mary,  wife  of  George  E.  Clark,  who  is  in  the  railroad 
shops  at  Shawnee. 

C.  M.  Cade  grew  up  on  his  father’s  farm  back  in 
Ohio,  spending  the  first  sixteen  years  of  his  life  in  the 
wholesome  atmosphere  of  the  country  and  with  such 
education  as  the  local  schools  could  supply.  Afterwards 
he  taught  school  in  Lawrence  County,  Ohio,  but  in  1876 
went  West  with  the  early  pioneers  of  Nebraska,  and 
became  a farmer  at  Plum  Creek  in  that  state.  In  1877 
he  went  out  to  the  Black  Hills  and  spent  a year  in  that 
famous  mining  region.  From  1879  to  1884  he  was  a 
school  teacher  in  Anthony,  Kansas,  and  then  took  part 
as  one  of  the  founders  of  the  flourishing  little  City  of 
Coldwater,  Kansas,  and  was  secretary  and  treasurer  of 
the  Town  Site  Company  from  1884  to  1889. 

April  22,  1889,  the  opening  day  of  the  original  Okla- 
homa Territory,  he  participated  in  the  rush  and  landed 
in  Kingfisher  County.  He  was  soon  one  of  the  leaders 
among  the  early  settlers,  and  was  elected  and  served  as 
the  first  county  clerk  of  Kingfisher  county,  holding  that 
office  a year  and  a half.  Since  1895  Mr.  Cade’s  home 
and  activities  have  been  largely  centered  at  Shawnee. 
He  was  town  site  agent  for  the  town,  and  until  1899 
was  in  the  employ  of  the  old  Choctaw,  Oklahoma  and 
Gulf  Railroad,  now  part  of  the  Rock  Island  System.  On 
leaving  the  railway  service  he  entered  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Shawnee,  and  for  one  year  was  its  vice  presi- 
dent. He  then  resigned  to  become  commercial  agent 
for  the  Rock  Island  Railroad,  and  was  also  in  the  right 
of  way  department  until  1902,  in  which  year  he  helped 
to  found  the  State  National  Bank  of  Shawnee,  becoming 
its  cashier,  a position  he  still  holds. 

The  State  National  Bank  of  Shawnee  was  established 
in  1902  by  Willard  Johnston,  George  E.  McKinnis, 
Julius  Greenlee,  J.  W.  McLoud  and  Mr.  Cade.  It  still 
keeps  its  original  capitalization  at  $100,000.  The  bank 
is  one  of  the  commercial  landmarks  in  Shawnee,  situated 
at  the  corner  of  Main  and  Broadway.  It  now  has  a 
surplus  of  $20,000  and  undivided  profits  of  $8,000.  The 
officers  of  the  bank  at  this  time  are:  Willard  Johnston, 

president;  George  E.  McKinnis  and  Frank  Reed,  vice 
presidents;  C.  M.  Cade,  cashier;  Willard  Barnett  and 
N.  S.  Barnett,  assistant  cashiers.  The  bank  is  repre- 
sented in  the  State  and  National  Bankers  Associations 
by  its  officers. 

As  a banker  Mr.  Cade ’s  interests  are  somewhat  widely 
extended.  He  is  president  of  the  Cimarron  Valley 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1911 


Bank,  at  Coyle;  vice  president  of  the  Bank  of  Earls- 
boro;  vice  president  of  the  Bank  of  Meeker;  director  in 
the  First  National  Bank  of  Geary  and  in  the  First 
National  Bank  of  Mounds,  all  of  them  Oklahoma  insti- 
tutions. 

In  republican  polities  Mr.  Cade’s  name  has  long  been 
familiar  to  the  people  of  Oklahoma.  From  1902  to  1904 
he  was  state  chairman  of  the  State  Central  Committee, 
and  from  1904  to  1912  was  a National  Committeeman 
from  Oklahoma.  He  is  an  active  member  of  the  Shawnee 
Commercial  Club,  and  fraternally  is  identified  with 
Shawnee  Lodge  No.  657,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order 
of  Elks;  Shawnee  Lodge  No.  107,  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons ; Shawnee  Lodge  of  the  Fraternal 
Order  of  Eagles,  and  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias. 

On  March  27,  1883,  in  Wellington,  Kansas,  he  married 
Miss  Helen  Kitchen,  daughter  of  F.  H.  Kitchen,  who 
during  his  active  lifetime  was  a farmer.  Mrs.  Cade  died 
in  Coldwater,  Kansas,  in  1884.  The  only  child  by  her 
union  is  C.  M.  Cade,  Jr.,  whose  home  is  at  Dale,  Okla- 
homa, where  he  conducts  a farm  and  raises  stock,  anti 
he  was  also  postmaster  at  Shawnee  until  April  1,  1915. 

On  November  27,  1889,  at  Enid,  Oklahoma,  Mr.  Cade 
married  Miss  Lizzie  Hartz,  daughter  of  Frank  Hartz, 
who  was  a farmer.  There  is  one  child  by  this  union, 
Leo  Samuel,  now  a sophomore  in  the  Shawnee  High 
School. 

Dr.  James  H.  Miller,  whose  appointment  as  repre- 
sentative of  the  Choctaw  Nation  in  Washington,  recently 
was  made  by  Principal  Chief  Victor  M.  Locke,  Jr.,  and 
confirmed  by  the  Choctaw  Senate,  has  for  many  years 
stood  as  one  of  the  foremost  intermarried  citizens  in  the 
old  Choctaw  Nation,  and  has  many  interests  as  banker, 
merchant  and  stockmart  at  Antlers  and  vicinity. 

History  is  best  translated  and  interpreted  through  the 
human  actors  engaged  in  making  or  witnessing  it.  Every 
human  life  helps  to  make  or  reflect  the  progress  and 
experience  of  the  age.  It  is  the  fundamental  principle 
in  the  writing  of  history  that  ‘ ‘ the  life  of  a nation  is  at 
bottom  only  the  life  of  a man.  ’ ’ 

The  editor  of  this  article  believes  there  is  no  more 
illuminating  chapter  on  the  life,  manners  and  customs 
of  old  Indian  Territory,  especially  the  old  Choctaw 
Nation,  than  is  found  in  the  record  of  what  Doctor  Mil- 
ler has  witnessed  and  experienced.  Hence  this  article  is 
not  so  much  a personal  biography  as  a scroll  of  history 
as  it  has  been  unrolled  and  lived  before  the  eyes  of 
Doctor  Miller. 

In  recalling  happenings  of  nearly  forty  years  ago  in 
the  Choctaw  Nation,  Doctor  Miller  remembers  having 
attended  a trial  at  Caddo  in  which  several  prominent  men 
of  the  Indian  Nation  were  tried  for  treason.  Among 
these  men  were  Col.  James  J.  MeAlester,  a member  of 
the  first  corporation  commission  of  the  state  and  more 
recently  lieutenant  governor.  The  late  Tandy  Walker,  a 
half  brother  of  Governor  Douglas  H.  Johnston,  of  the 
Chickasaw  Nation;  James  Thompson,  then  treasurer  of 
the  Choctaw  Nation;  and  James  Davis,  an  intermarried 
citizen.  The  first  trial  was  held  before  District  Judge 
Lorin  Folsom,  and  had  the  jury  found  them  guilty  they 
would  have  been  shot  as  the  Indian  law  provided. 

This  trial  occurred  during  the  administration  of  Cole- 
man Cole,  principal  chief  of  the  Choctaw  Nation.  Cole 
was  a character  who  deserves  more  than  passing  mention. 
He  was  a full-blood  of  the  old  Indian  type  and  wore  a 
blanket  about  his  shoulders.  Although  he  had  a high 
regard  for  the  white  men  of  the  nation  who  became  his 
friends,  his  ambition  was  to  hold  the  Choctaw  estate 
intact  as  long  as  possible.  Hence  he  had  the  Legislature 
enact  a law  providing  that  any  person  who  should  sell  or 


attempt  to  sell  any  land  of  the  Choctaw  Nation  should  be 
guilty  of  treason. 

About  1875  the  Missouri,  Kansas  & Texas  Bailroad 
Was  projected  south  of  Vinita  toward  the  coal  fields  of 
MeAlester  and  Lehigh,  and  the  defendants  in  this  notable 
case  above  referred  to  executed  leases  for  coal  mine 
purposes  to  certain  Choctaw  lands.  Thereupon  Cole  had 
warrants  issued  for  their  arrest,  charging  them  with 
treason,  and  they  were  indicted  by  a grand  jury.  Some 
of  them  fled  into  Arkansas,  but  later  all  surrendered.  A 
special  term  of  court  in  the  Third  Judicial  District  was 
convened  at  Caddo,  and  the  men  were  tried  and  acquitted. 
Chief  Cole  attended  the  trial, ‘as  did  also  Doctor  Miller, 
who  meantime  had  become  an  intermarried  citizen.  The 
verdict  incensed  the  chief  and  he  arose  in  court  and 
publicly  rebuked  Judge  Folsom. 

‘ ‘ Lorin  Folsom,  ’ ’ spoke  the  principal  chief,  ‘ ‘ you  are 
as  much  a traitor  to  our  beloved  nation  as  are  these  men 
you  have  acquitted,  and  you  are  not  entitled  to  a seat  on 
the  Choctaw  Bench.  It  was  possible  for  you  to  have 
given  the  jury  a charge*  that  would  have  convicted  these 
men.  ’ ’ He  then  turned  to  the  MeAlester  group  and  said : 
“Don’t  flatter  yourselves  that  you  are  free.”  Then  to 
Sheriff  Joe  Bryant  he  turned  and  commanded  that  they 
be  rearrested  and  a new  jury  summoned.  The  chief  then 
threw  off  his  blanket  and  took  the  bench.  Another  trial 
proceeded  and  it  too  resulted  in  an  acquittal. 

To  the  jury  the  principal  chief  then  addressed  himself : 
“Gentlemen,”  he  said,  “by  your  act  today  you  have 
driven  the  wedge  to  the  hilt  that  will  burst  our  country 
asunder.  This  is  the  beginning  of  the  end.  Who  is  to 
mine  this  coal?  Not  the  Indian.  Who  lifts  this  coal? 
Not  the  Indian.  You  have  opened  the  gates  that  will 
admit  to  our  country  white  men  like  the  leaves  of  the 
trees,  without  number.  They  will  build  houses  and  re- 
main here  and  talk,  as  they  did  in  Mississippi  of  old,  of 
vested  rights.  The  strong  will  rise  and  the  weak  will  go 
down.  There  is  nothing  in  common  between  the  white 
man  and  the  Indian.  Like  oil  and  water,  they  will  not 
mix.  Thank  God,  the  sin  is  yours,  not  mine.  I have  done 
my  full  duty.  Experience  taught  me  much  in  Mississippi, 
and  I don ’t  want  to  live  over  again  the  days  of  the  past. 
Your  act  probably  won’t  seriously  affect  me  or  you,  but 
your  posterity  will  pay  the  penalty  of  your  crime.” 

This  event  was  near  the  close  of  the  administration  of 
Chief  Cole  and  he  was  defeated  for  re-election.  No 
governor  of  the  Choctaws  ever  was  such  a czar,  yet  his 
acts  on  the  whole  were  of  benefit  to  his  people.  Neither 
was  he  averse  to  white  men  entering  the  nation  if  he 
were  convinced  that  they  were  patriotic  and  would  make 
the  right  sort  of  citizens. 

When  Doctor  Miller,  after  attending  lectures  at  Tulane 
University  of  New  Orleans,  established  himself  for  the 
practice  of  medicine  at  Goodland  in  the  Choctaw  Nation, 
he  found  that  a permit  from  the  Choctaw  Government 
was  necessary.  He  boarded  at  the  home  of  former  Prin- 
cipal Chief  B.  L.  LeFlore.  When  Governor  LeFlore  came 
home  on  a vacation  from  attending  the  Choctaw  Council, 
he  asked  him  to  obtain  a permit  to  practice  medicine. 
So,  when  Governor  LeFlore  returned  to  Armstrong 
Academy,  then  the  capitol  of  the  Choctaw  Nation,  seek- 
ing out  Chief  Cole  he  said  he  had  a young  doctor  at  his 
home  and  that  he  wished  to  obtain  a permit  for  him. 
Chief  Cole  said,  “do  you  think  he  is  qualified  and  all 
right?”  LeFlore  replied  yes.  Cole  then  turned  to  Joe 
Lawrence,  who  was  permit  collector,  and  said,  “Joe, 
issue  him  a permit,  ’ ’ which  was  done.  Lawrence  handed 
the  permit  to  Cole,  and  the  latter  to  LeFlore,  saying: 
“Give  him  this  with  my  compliments  and  tell  him  to 
make  a good  citizen,  and  if  a Choctaw  gets  sick  to  go 


1912 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


to  see  him  whether  he  has  money  or  not  and  that  he  will 
be  rewarded.  ’ ’ 

As  a slight  token  of  this  friendly  act,  Doctor  Miller 
is  now  endeavoring  to  locate  Cole’s  grave  with  the  view 
of  erecting  a suitable  monument  to  his  memory.  After 
entering  Choctaw  politics,  Doctor  Miller  frequently  op- 
posed Chief  Cole  in  policies  vitally  affecting  the  nation, 
but  in  later  years  he  concluded  that  he  was  in  error  and 
that  Cole  was  always  right. 

Before  he  lived  in  the  Choctaw  Nation  two  years  Doc- 
tor Miller  fell  in  love  with  an  Indian  girl,  but  was  unable 
to  marry  her  under  Choctaw  laws  because  he  had  not 
lived  in  the  nation  the  required  two  years  and  could  not 
get  the  required  petition  with  ten  signers  testifying  to 
his  character.  So  he  and  Miss  Ella  J.  Robuck  crossed  Red 
River  and  were  married  in  the  home  of  Captain  Arthur, 
now  on  the  site  of  the  Village  of  Arthur  City.  Mrs. 
Miller  is  a daughter  of  Col.  William  Robuck,  who  filled 
the  offices  of  auditor  and  attorney  general  in  the  Choc- 
taw Government  and  was  a member  of  the  Senate  when 
he  died,  flolonel  Robuck,  with  Col.  Dave  Harkins  and 
McGee  King,  constituted  a commission  that  settled  a 
boundary  dispute  on  the  eastern  side  of  the  nation,  each 
receiving  5 per  cent  of  the  value  of  the  territory  re- 
covered. Colonel  Robuck  died  before  the  commission 
money  was  distributed  and  was  succeeded  by  Campbell 
LeFlore,  who  paid  to  the  Robuck  estate  its  share  of  the 
fee.  When  Doctor  Miller  later  was  ambitious  to  enter 
Choctaw  politics  he  complied  with  Choctaw  laws  and  he 
and  Mrs.  Miller  were  married  again  under  those  laws. 
When  the  enrollment  period  came  he  was  enrolled  with- 
out question  as  a member  of  the  Choctaw  Tribe. 

Doctor  Miller’s  entrance  into  Choctaw  politics  made 
him  an  important  factor  in  the  campaign  in  which  Prin- 
cipal Chief  Wilson  N.  Jones  was  candidate  for  re-election, 
and  so  important  were  the  doctor’s  activities  that  Gover- 
nor Jones  appointed  him  tribal  collector  in  a section 
traversed  by  the  Frisco  Railroad.  He  was  a member  of 
the  executive  campaign  committee  in  the  campaign  when 
Green  McCurtain  first  ran  for  principal  chief,  and  for 
twelve  years  was  chairman  of  the  campaign  committee  of 
his  party,  then  known  as  the  progressive  party.  In 
politics  he  has  never  lost  a fight.  He  had  for  two  terms 
the  office  of  collector  for  the  Third  Judicial  District,  and 
he  is  the  only  white  man  ever  confirmed  by  the  Choctaw 
Council  for  a tribal  office  up  to  that  time. 

Doctor  Miller  speaks  the  Choctaw  language  and  has 
been  associated  with  the  Indians  in  various  capacities. 
He  has  known  personally  every  principal  chief  since  Cole- 
man Cole  and  has  attended  nearly  every  session  of  the 
tribal  legislature  since  that  time.  As  a member  of  the 
Treaty  Rights  Association,  he  and  Dr.  T.  P.  Howell  of 
Davis,  and  Edward  B.  Johnson  of  Norman,  in  1913-14 
represented  the  association  in  Washington  to  oppose 
measures  that  provided  for  the  re-opening  of  the  Choc- 
taw rolls.  This  has  been  the  greatest  fight  of  recent 
years  on  the  part  of  the  Choctaws.  Their  tribal  estate 
is  worth  many  millions  of  dollars  and  about  $7,000,000 
in  cash  is  now  in  the  United  States  treasury  to  their 
credit.  So  long  as  this  great  estate  remains  in  common 
and  is  held  out  as  a bait,  says  Doctor  Miller,  all  kinds 
of  people  will  want  to  be  Choctaws  and  get  on  the  rolls, 
and  money  and  influence  almost  without  estimate  will  be 
used  to  break  the  seal  put  on  the  rolls  years  ago.  Doctor 
Miller  canvassed  the  Choctaw  Nation  in  behalf  of  the 
Atoka  Agreement  and  later  in  behalf  of  the  Supple- 
mental Agreement.  The  greatest  feature  of  the  Supple- 
mental Agreement  was  its  creation  of  a citizenship  court 
which  it  made  possible  to  review  judgments  that  had 
been  rendered  by  the  Federal  Court  in  the  Indian  Terri- 
tory. The  Choctaw  Government  was  surprised  and  over- 


awed by  the  vast  number  of  appeals  that  were  taken  to 
this  court.  They  were  unprepared  to  make  a defense 
and  many  thousand  judgments  were  rendered  by  default, 
placing  the  names  of  what  were  known  as  court  citizens 
on  the  roll.  Through  the  efforts  of  Mansfield,  McMurray 
and  Cornish,  who  were  employed  by  the  two  tribes  to 
review  these  cases,  some  3,600  names  were  expunged 
from  the  roll.  A time  limit  was  fixed  for  further  en- 
rollment of  applicants  and  this  limit  is  long  expired. 
Doctor  Miller  is  of  the  opinion  that  the  citizenship  ques- 
tion has  long  since  been  settled  and  that  any  effort  to 
reopen  the  rolls  is  an  invasion  of  the  Clioctaw-Chickasaw 
tribes’  rights. 

Doctor  Miller  witnessed  at  Goodland  the  execution  of 
Wakum  Evrin,  charged  with  murdering  his  wife.  John 
Wilson,  deputy,  under  Sheriff  Dave  Gibson,  fired  the 
shot  into  the  Indian’s  heart.  Evrin  had  a voice  of 
remarkable  clearness  and  sweetness  and  was  noted  over 
the  nation  as  one  of  the  sweetest  singers  the  tribe  had 
produced.  After  the  murder  he  fled  the  country  where 
he  committed  the  crime  and  located  in  Sansbois,  Choctaw 
Nation.  One  night  a few  years  later  during  church 
service  the  preacher  Reverend  Belinchey,  a full  blood 
Choctaw,  recognized  the  voice  of  Evrin  joining  in  the 
singing.  He  reported  it  to  the  sheriff  and  Evrin  was 
arrested.  Evrin  sang  beautifully  and  with  a peculiar 
fervor  while  he  was  being  prepared  for  the  execution. 
He  sang  while  a minister  exhorted  him  about  his  soul’s 
welfare  and  sang  until  the  ball  sped  from  the  officer’s 
gun.  He  ceased  his  song  long  enough,  a half  minute 
before  the  shot,  to  waive  aside  a medicine  man  who  had 
come  to  paint  a spot  over  his  heart,  and  indicated  with 
his  own  finger  the  target  for  the  bullet. 

Early  one  morning  Doctor  Miller  was  awakened  by  a 
call  at  the  door.  Sim  Joe,  a Choctaw,  had  come  for  him 
to  visit  Deupty  Sheriff  Wilson.  The  visit  was  made. 
The  significance  of  the  incident  lies  in  the  fact  that  Sim 
Joe  was  condemned  to  death  at  that  time  and  yet  had 
been  selected  by  the  sheriff  as  messenger  to  the  doctor. 
There  have  been  many  Choctaws  who  exemplified  similar 
reliability  and  in  whom  all  faith  and  confidence  could 
be  placed. 

James  H.  Miller  was  born  in  1853  in  Carroll  County, 
Tennessee.  His  father  died  in  1858.  In  1859  he  and  his 
mother  started  with  his  grandparents  overland  to  Texas. 
His  grandfather,  however,  located  near  what  is  now 
Prescott,  Arkansas,  and  remained  there  until  1864.  His 
mother  died  while  living  in  Arkansas,  and  Doctor  Miller 
came  on  to  Paris,  Texas,  with  his  grandparents  later. 
About  1866  the  lad  went  back  to  Middle  Tennessee  and 
attended  school  in  Giles  County  some  three  years. 
Returning  to  East  Texas  he  was  in  the  employ  of  his 
uncle  in  the  lumber  business  for  about  a year,  after- 
wards attended  school  three  terms  at  Sulphur  Springs  in 
Hopkins  County,  Texas,  and  on  finishing  school  entered 
the  office  of  Dr.  W.  M.  Clements,  Paris,  Texas,  and  began 
the  study  of  medicine.  He  also  attended  lectures  in  New 
Orleans,  and  in  October,  1875  came  to  Indian  Territory 
and  began  the  practice  of  medicine  at  Old  Goodland, 
Kiamichi  County,  Choctaw  Nation.  About  1892  he 
moved  his  family  to  Paris,  Texas,  for  educational  and 
social  purposes  and  remained  there  sixteen  years,  and 
from  there  moved  to  Antlers,  Oklahoma,  his  present 
home. 

Doctor  Miller  has  valuable  ranch  interests  on  McGee 
Creek  and  Impson  Valley.  For  twenty-five  years  he  has 
dealt  in  cattle  as  his  principal  business.  He  was  one  of 
the  organizers  of  the  Hugo  National  Bank,  is  vice  presi- 
dent of  the  Citizens  National  Bank  of  Antlers,  owns 
stock  in  the  American  National  Bank  at  Paris,  Texas,  has 
a general  merchandise  business  at  Grant  and  a general 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1913 


store  at  Kent.  Bight  miles  south  of  Antlers  he  has  one  of 
the  most  modern  and  best  equipped  stock  farms  in  Okla- 
homa. Among  other  features  are  a water  plant  and  an 
electric  light  plant,  large  silos,  a cotton  gin  and  grist 
mill.  Here  are  raised  some  of  the  finest  stock  in  South- 
eastern Oklahoma  and  only  the  best  methods  of  agri- 
culture are  employed. 

It  has  recently  become  a matter  of  authentic  knowl- 
edge that  Mrs.  Dr.  Miller  is  a direct  descendant  of 
Pushmataha,  the  great  war  chief  and  governor  of  the 
Choctaws.  Their  relationship  was  outlined  in  a work 
published  by  S.  J.  Hotama,  a witch  killer  and  religious 
fanatic,  who,  having  been  convicted  of  murder  because 
of  his  peculiar  belief,  was  sentenced  to  life  imprison- 
ment in  the  Federal  prison  at  Atlanta,  where  he  died. 
When  the  fact  of  this  relationship  was  known  to  the 
Council  of  the  Nation,  Senator  Frank  Folsom  drafted 
a resolution  providing  that  a large  portrait  of  Push- 
mataha that  hangs  in  the  Council  House  at  Tuskahoma 
should  be  presented  to  Doctor  Miller.  ‘ ‘ Let  Dr.  Miller 
have  the  resolution,”  kindly  remarked  Principal  Chief 
MeCurtain  to  members  of  the  Council,  ‘ ‘ but  I am  going 
to  retain  the  portrait  of  Pushmataha.”  The  resolution 
was  not  presented  to  the  Council. 

Doctor  Miller  has  a fine  family  of  five  sons  and  two 
daughters.  Edgar  Poe  Miller  and  S.  G.  Miller  live  in 
Antlers  and  are  engaged  principally  in  the  livestock 
business.  Mrs.  W.  T.  Glenn,  now  deceased,  was  the  wife 
of  the  present  county  judge  of  Choctaw  County.  W. 
W.  Miller  is  in  the  livestock  business  and  occupies  the 
ranch  his  father  established  here  many  years  ago.  J.  H. 
Miller  Jr.,  who  has  lived  for  a number  of  years  on  old 
M Bar  Baneh,  is  engaged  in  the  livestock  business  in 
New  Mexico.  Mrs.  Ruby  C.  McIntosh  is  the  wife  of 
W.  R.  McIntosh,  mining  trustee  of  the  Choctaw  Nation, 
and  lives  at  MeAlester.  Miss  Edith  R.  Miller  is  attend- 
ing school  at  Denison,  Texas.  Frank  Wright  Miller,  the 
youngest  son,  lives  with  his  parents  in  Antlers. 

Rufus  P.  Roope.  One  of  the  best  known  and  most 
honored  citizens  of  Lincoln  County  is  Rufus  P.  Roope, 
who  is  now  serving  as  county  treasurer  and  who  previ- 
ously has  held  the  office  of  county  clerk.  He  has  been 
a resident  of  what  is  now  the  State  of  Oklahoma  for 
nearly  a quarter  of  a century,  and  may  be  termed  with 
all  consistency  a pioneer,  his  original  location  having 
been  in  Lincoln  County,  which  was  then  an  integral 
part  of  Indian  Territory.  He  has  been  closely  and 
worthily  identified  with  the  development  and  upbuilding 
of  Lincoln  County  and  its  attractive  and  thriving  judicial 
center,  the  Village  of  Chandler,  the  while  he  has  ever 
retained  inviolable  place  in  popular  confidence  and 
esteem,  as  indicated  by  his  having  been  called  to  offices 
of  signal  public  trust.  Mr.  Roope  has  shown  much 
circumspection  and  executive  ability  as  a public  official, 
and  his  unfailing  courtesy  and  consideration  have  gained 
to  him  the  good  will  of  all  with  whom  he  has  come  in 
contact  in  his  official  capacity  as  well  as  in  the  ordinary 
course  of  civic  life.  He  was  elected  county  treasurer  in 
the  autumn  of  1914,  as  candidate  on  the  republican 
ticket,  and  had  served  the  preceding  two  years  as  county 
clerk.  He  is  careful  and  methodical  in  his  handling  of 
all  details  of  official  work  and  Lincoln  County  has  been 
favored  in  securing  his  services  in  connection  with  its 
governmental  affairs. 

Rufus  P.  Roope  was  born  on  a plantation  in  Frank- 
lin County,  Tennessee,  on  the  13th  of  June,  1875,  and  is 
a son  of  Rev.  Abner  L.  and  Emarine  (Protsman)  Roope, 
both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Indiana  and  both  of 
whom  attained  to  the  venerable  age  of  eighty  years  be- 
fore they  were  summoned  to  the  life  eternal.  The  father 


was  a clergyman  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  and 
at  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  he  served  as  captain  of  the 
Eighty-second  Indiana  Volunteer  Infantry,  with  which 
regiment  he  endured  the  full  tension  of  the  great  conflict, 
having  been  with  the  commands  of  General  Thomas  and 
General  Sherman  in  many  sanguinary  engagements  on 
the  battlefields  of  the  South.  In  later  years  he  perpetu- 
ated the  memories  of  his  military  career  through  his 
membership  in  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic,  and  he 
never  faltered  in  his  allegiance  to  the  republican  party. 
He  labored  with  all  of  zeal  and  devotion  for  many  years 
as  a minister  of  the  church  of  which  both  he  and  his 
wife  were  most  devout  members.  Of  their  two  children 
the  subject  of  this  review  is  the  younger,  the  elder  son, 
Charles,  being  deceased. 

Passing  the  days  of  his  boyhood  and  youth  on  the 
farm  in  Switzerland  County,  Indiana,  Rufus  P.  Roope 
duly  availed  himself  of  the  advantages  of  the  public 
schools,  this  discipline  having  been  supplemented  by  a 
course  in  a business  college  in  Sedalia,  Missouri. 

Mr.  Roope  came  to  Indian  Territory  and  established 
his  residence  in  what  is  now  Lincoln  County  in  1891.  He 
was  one  of  the  early  settlers  in  the  Village  of  Meeker, 
where  he  engaged  in  farming  and  where  he  served  five 
years  as  postmaster,  besides  which  he  was  for  a time  a 
teacher  in  a school  maintained  for  children  of  the  Creek 
Indians.  During  the  period  of  his  effective  service  as  a 
county  official  he  has,  as  a matter  of  course,  maintained 
his  residence  at  Chandler,  the  judicial  center  of  the 
county,  and  he  has  been  progressive  and  public-spirited, 
a loyal  supporter  of  the  measures  and  enterprises  that 
have  furthered  the  social  and  industrial  advancement 
and  upbuilding  of  his  home  county  and  the  Territory  and 
State  of  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Roope  gave  careful  attention  to 
the  study  of  law  and  is  now  a member  of  the  Oklahoma 
bar;  in  the  Masonic  fraternity  he  has  advanced  to  the 
thirty-second  degree  of  the  Ancient  Accepted  Scottish 
Rite;  he  is  a stalwart  republican  in  politics;  and  both 
he  and  his  wife  hold  membership  in  the  Presbyterian 
Church. 

On  the  4th  of  February,  1898,  was  solemnized  the 
marriage  of  Mr.  Roope  to  Miss  Elizabeth  McGee,  who 
was  born  at  Mexico,  Missouri,  where  she  acquired  her 
rudimentary  education.  She  was  a young  girl  at  the 
time  of  the  family  removal  to  Kansas,  and  at  Iola,  that 
state,  she  completed  her  educational  discipline,  after 
which  she  became  a successful  and  popular  teacher  in 
the  public  schools.  Among  her  schoolmates  were  the 
children  of  the  Funston  family,  of  which  Gen.  Fred 
Funston  is  a distinguished  member.  Mrs.  Roope  is  a 
daughter  of  the  late  Albert  L.  McGee,  who  was  a native 
of  Indiana,  and  who  later  became  a prosperous  agricul- 
turist and  influential  citizen  in  Audrain  County,  Mis- 
souri. Mr.  and  Mrs.  Roope  have  two  children — Frances 
Ruth  and  Marguerite  Fern. 

Harry  Brown.  There  are  turning  points  in  every 
man’s  life  called  opportunity.  Taken  advantage  of  they 
mean  ultimate  success.  The  career  of  Harry  Brown  is 
a striking  illustration  of  the  latter  statement.  Diligent 
and  ever  alert  for  his  chance  of  advancement,  he  has 
progressed  steadily  until  he  is  recognized  today  as  one 
of  the  foremost  business  men  of  Anadarko.  Here  he  is 
held  in  high  esteem  by  his  fellow  citizens,  who  honor  him 
for  his  native  ability  and  for  his  fair  and  straight- 
forward career.  Mr.  Brown  is  the  owner  of  a large 
lumber  yard  at  Anadarko  and  in  connection  with  his 
business  sends  supplies  to  various  sections  throughout 
Caddo  County. 

A native  of  the  Emerald  Isle,  Harry  Brown  was  born  at 
St.  Johnston,  Donegal  County,  Ireland,  September  30, 


1914 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1861.  His  paternal  grandfather  was  Henry  Brown,  who 
spent  his  entire  life  in  Donegal  County,  Ireland,  where 
he  was  keeper  of  a large  landed  estate.  James  Brown, 
father  of  Harry,  was  born  at  St.  Johnston,  Ireland,  in 
1845,  and  he  emigrated  to  America  in  1862,  landing 
in'  Maryland,  whence  he  journeyed  west  to  Illinois  and 
going  thence  to  Carbondale,  Kansas.  He  was  a coal 
miner  and  followed  his  occupation  in  many  states  from 
the  Atlantic  to  the  Pacific.  April  22,  1889,  he  settled 
permanently  at  Edmond,  Oklahoma,  and  there  he  has 
since  been  most  profitably  engaged  in  the  lumber  and 
hardware  business.  Although  seventy  years  of  age  he 
enjoys  splendid  health  and  his  intellect  is  as  keen  as  in 
the  prime  of  life.  In  politics  he  is  a loyal  republican 
and  he  represented  his  district  in  the  Oklahoma  Legis- 
lature in  1893.  He  is  a devout  communicant  of  the 
Roman  Catholic  Church  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Knights 
of  Columbus.  He  married  Jane  Britten,  who  was  born 
in  Paisley,  Scotland,  in  1845,  and  who  died  at  Edmond, 
Oklahoma,  in  1899.  The  following  children  were  born  to 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brown:  Harry  is  the  subject  of  this 

sketch;  Isabella  married  Dan  Mooney,  an  oil  man  at 
Ponca  City,  this  state;  J.  J.  assists  his  father  in  the 
hardware  business  at  Edmond,  Oklahoma;  Dennis  T. 
has  been  lost  track  of ; Catherine  married  Charles  S. 
Pitman  and  they  live  at  El  Paso,  Texas;  she  is  a grad- 
uate of  the  Edmond  Normal  School;  and  Mayme,  a 
graduate  of  the  kindergarten  department  of  the  Edmond 
Normal  School,  is  a stenographer  and  teacher  and  re- 
sides at  home  with  her  parents. 

Harry  Brown  came  to  America  with  his  mother  in 
1866,  his  father  having  come  to  this  country  five  years 
earlier.  As  a result  of  the  family  moving  so  often, 
he  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  several  states. 
April  22,  1889,  he  settled  in  Edmond,  Oklahoma,  and 
there  was  engaged  in  the  mercantile  business  until  1894. 
He  then  accepted  a position  as  traveling  salesman  for 
the  Buford  & George  Manufacturing  Company,  selling 
farm  implements  for  that  concern  in  South  Kansas  and 
Oklahoma  for  the  ensuing  ten  years.  In  1904  he  came 
to  Anadarko  among  the  pioneers  and  here  engaged  in  the 
lumber  business,  continuing  in  that  line  of  enterprise 
with  marked  success  to  the  present  time.  His  well 
equipped  lumber  yard  is  situated  on  the  corner  of  East 
Broadway  and  Seventh  Street  and  he  ships  large  supplies 
of  lumber  to  distant  points  throughout  Caddo  and 
neighboring  counties.  He  is  a republican  in  politics  and 
has  served  on  the  school  board  in  Anadarko  for  a number 
of  years.  He  is  a shrewd  business  man  but  is  possessed 
of  a kindly  and  genial  personality  that  makes  friends 
for  him  wherever  he  goes. 

In  Edmond,  Oklahoma,  in  1890,  Mr.  Brown  married 
Miss  Sarah  MeFadyen,  a daughter  of  John  MePadyen, 
who  was  a farmer  near  Edmond  prior  to  his  demise. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brown  have  two  sons : Harry  J.  was  grad- 
uated in  the  University  of  Oklahoma,  in  1914,  with  the 
degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts,  and  he  is  now  pursuing  a 
post-graduate  course  in  that  institution,  making  a spe- 
cialty of  mathematics  and  calisthenics,  which  subjects 
he  expects  to  teach  in  the  Durant  Normal  School  next 
year;  John  D.  is  a junior  in  the  University  of  Okla- 
homa. Both  boys  are  fine  examples  of  sturdy  young 
American  manhood  and  they  have  promising  careers 
ahead  of  them. 

The  Brown  family  are  communicants  of  the  Roman 
Catholic  Church,  to  whose  good  works  they  are  liberal 
contributors  of  their  time  and  means.  Mrs.  Brown  is  a 
woman  of  most  gracious  personality  and  she  is  popular 
with  all  who  have  had  the  pleasure  of  meeting  her. 

Dr.  J.  Matt  Gordon.  Ten  years  ago  Dr.  J.  Matt 
Gordon  came  to  Weatherford  and  established  himself  in 


medical  practice  here.  Since  that  time  he  has  been  a 
continuous  resident  here,  and  has  a wide  practice  in  the 
community  and  surrounding  towns.  He  is  a native  son  of 
Missouri,  born  at  Bolivar,  on  November  14,  1865,  and  is  a 
son  of  B.  E.  and  Rebecca  A.  (Brown)  Gordon. 

B.  P.  Gordon  was  born  in  Kentucky  in  1818,  and  he 
died  near  Bolivar,  Missouri,  in  1900.  He  came  to  Mis- 
souri in  young  manhood  and  engaged  in  the  farming  and 
stock  raising  business,  in  which  he  experienced  a pleasing 
degree  of  success.  He  was  a Baptist  all  his  life  and  a 
deacon  in  the  church.  His  wife  was  born  in  Kentucky  in 
1827,  and  she  died  near  Bolivar,  in  1892.  Their  children 
were  six  in  number,  and  are  briefly  mentioned  here  as  fol- 
lows: Ruan  married  J.  M.  Mullis,  and  they  live  on  a 
farm  in  Oameron,  Missouri.  Elizabeth  married  R.  T. 
Ellis,  and  they  live  in  Bolivar,  Missouri.  Thomas  Benton 
is  deceased.  R.  D.  lives  in  Waynoka,  Oklahoma,  where 
he  is  a druggist.  Naomi  married  W.  E.  Johnson  and  is 
now  deceased.  Dr.  J.  Matt  Gordon  was  the  sixth  child. 

Doctor  Gordon  as  a boy  attended  the  public  schools  at 
Bolivar,  continuing  his  studies  there  until  he  was  eighteen 
years  old,  when  lie  turned  his  attention  to  school  teach- 
ing. He  taught  several  years  in  Polk  County,  Missouri, 
and  then  entered  the  state  normal  school  at  Warrens- 
burg,  Missouri,  to  further  his  training.  He  was  grad- 
uated from  that  school  in  1897,  after  which  he  was 
chosen  to  fill  the  position  of  superintendent  of  the  War- 
rensburg  Public  Schools.  He  continued  in  that  post  from 
1897  to  1902,  when  he  entered  the  College  of  Physicians 
and  Surgeons  in  Chicago,  now  the  medical  department  of 
the  University  of  Illinois,  and  he  was  graduated  with 
the  class  of  1905,  with  the  degree  M.  D.  Since  that  time 
Doctor  Gordon  has  taken  the  A.  B.  course  in  South-West 
Baptist  College,  Bolivar,  Missouri,  and  post  graduate 
courses  in  the  Chicago  Polyclinic  in  1910  and  1912.  Pol- 
iowing his  graduation  Doctor  Gordon  came  to  Weather- 
ford, and  has  been  engaged  in  practice  here  ever  since, 
with  offices  in  the  Weatherford  Drug  Store.  He  is  at 
present  serving  as  local  health  physician,  and  has  in  past 
years  served  as  president  of  the  school  boardj  in  which 
position  he  was  especially  well  qualified  to  act,  by  reason 
of  his  previous  wide  experience  in  the  educational  fields. 
Prom  1909  to  1911  he  was  a member  of  the  Board  of 
Regents  for  the  University  of  Oklahoma,  at  Norman.  He 
has  served  as  president  of  the  Custer  County  Medical 
Society,  and  he  also  has  membership  in  the  State  and 
American  Medical  Associations.  At  the  present  time 
he  is  president  of  the  West  Central  Oklahoma  Medical 
Society.  He  is  local  surgeon  for  the  Rock  Island  Rail- 
road, and  is  a member  of  the  United  States  Pension 
Board,  as  well  as  local  examining  physician  on  that  board. 
Doctor  Gordon  owns  a splendid  farm  about  three  miles 
from  Weatherford,  and  has  a nice  home  in  town. 

Doctor  Gordon  was  married  in  Bolivar,  Missouri,  in 
1890,  to  Miss  Pinnie  E.  Milliken,  daughter  of  H.  R.  Milli- 
ken,  now  deceased.  They  have  no  living  children. 

In  a fraternal  way  Doctor  Gordon  is  especially  popular 
in  Weatherford.  He  is  a Mason  of  high  degree  and  is 
affiliated  with  Weatherford  Lodge  No.  138  Ancient  Pree 
and  Accepted  Masons,  Weatherford  Chapter  No.  31,  Royal 
Arch  Masons,  Weatherford  Commandery  No.  17,  Knights 
Templar,  and  Indian  Temple,  Ancient  Arabic  Order 
Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  at  Oklahoma  City.  He  is 
also  a member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows, 
the  Woodmen  of  the  World,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America. 

Andrew  Jackson  Brown,  of  Wewoka,  has  gained  as 
much  distinction  in  commercial  affairs  as  his  brother, 
John  P.  Brown,  in  the  public  life  of  the  Seminole  Nation. 
As  a matter  of  fact,  however,  Andrew  J.  Brown  and 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1915 


John  F.  Brown  have  for  many  years  been  closely  asso- 
ciated ' in  business  affairs,  and  these  two  brothers,  with 
Mr.  C.  L.  Long,  own  and  control  the  two  largest  busi- 
ness institutions  at  Wewoka — the  Wewoka  Trading 
Company  and  the  Wewoka  Realty  & Trust  Company, 
which  is  incorporated  with  a capital  of  $100,000. 

On  other  pages  will  be  found  a record  of  John  F. 
Brown,  the  principal  chief  of  the  Seminole  Nation. 
Governor  Brown  is  about  thirteen  years  older  than 
Andrew  Jackson  Brown,  who  was  born  at  Tahlequah, 
Oklahoma,  March  3,  1856.  He  was  fifth  in  a family  of 
four  sons  and  three  daughters,  and  their  parents  were 
Dr.  John  F.  and  Lucy  (Graybeard)  Brown.  Doctor 
Brown  was  a distinguished  character  in  old  Indian  Ter- 
ritory and  some  of  the  more  important  details  of  the 
family  record  will  be  found  in  the  sketch  of  Governor 
Brown. 

When  Andrew  J.  Brown  was  an  infant  his  parents 
moved  to  that  section  of  Indian  Territory  between  Mus- 
kogee and  the  old  Creek  Agency,  and  in  1866  when  he 
was  ten  years  of  age  they  moved  to  the  old  Seminole 
Agency  in  Pottawatomie  County.  He  acquired  his  edu- 
cation by  attending  the  day  schools  operated  by  the 
Government,  was  also  a student  at  Sasakwa,  the  town 
founded  by  his  brother,  Governor  Brown,  and  in  1873 
completed  a course  in  the  Jones  Commercial  College  at 
St.  Louis. 

He  then  returned  to  Indian  Territory  and  from  1874 
to  1880  took  an  active  part  in  the  management  of  the 
store  at  Sasakwa,  operated  under  the  name  of  John  F. 
Brown  & Brother.  Andrew  J.  Brown  has  been  a leader 
in  business  affairs  at  Wewoka  since  1880.  At  that  time 
there  was  one  store  and  a blacksmith  shop  comprising 
all  the  commercial  activities  of  the  little  village.  Soon 
afterward  C.  L.  Long  entered  the  partnership,  and  for 
a number  of  years  the  firm  conducted  two  stores,  one  at 
Wewoka  and  the  other  at  Sasakwa.  Later  they  organ- 
ized the  Wewoka  Trading  Company,  and  the  store  at 
Sasakwa  was  turned  over  to  Governor  Brown,  who,  how- 
ever, still  continued  an  active  member  of  the  partner- 
ship at  Wewoka.  The  Wewoka  Trading  Company,  not 
incorporated,  operates  the  largest  general  department 
store  in  Seminole  County  and  they  also  built  the  largest 
business  house  in  the  town,  a two-story  brick  90  by  100 
feet,  in  addition  to  the  old  store,  which  occupies  ground 
80  by  40  feet.  In  this  store  are  employed  from  six  to 
twelve  persons,  and  the  trade  extends  all  over  Seminole 
County.  The  management  of  the  business  is  in  the 
hands  of  Andrew  J.  Brown  and  Mr.  Long. 

These  three  parties  also  own  all  the  stock  in  the 
Wewoka  Realty  & Trust  Company,  of  which  Andrew  J. 
Brown  is  president,  John  F.  Brown  vice  president,  and 
Mr.  Long  secretary  and  treasurer.  Mr.  Brown  and 
family  also  have  allotments  of  land  in  Seminole  County 
and  they  control  extensive  stock  and  farming  interests. 

Andrew  J.  Brown  for  the  last  twenty  years  has  been 
treasurer  of  the  Seminole  Nation,  though  that  office  since 
statehood  has  been  of  nominal  ^importance  only.  For 
two  terms,  eight  years,  he  was  also  superintendent  of 
tribal  schools.  Like  his  brother,  Governor  Brown,  he 
is  a minister  of  the  Gospel,  of  the  Baptist  faith,  and 
was  active  in  preaching  and  disseminating  the  Gospel 
truths  for  about  fifteen  years.  He  is  pastor  of  the 
Buckeye  Baptist  Church  on  Little  River.  He  was  also 
one  of  the  organizers  and  a leader  in  the  building  of 
that  church. 

In  1879  he  married  Miss  Mamie  Jacobs,  who  was  born 
near  Eufaula  in  1861,  a daughter  of  Frank  Jacobs. 
Mrs.  Brown  is  a half-blood  Creek.  They  had  one  child, 
Clarence  W.  Brown,  who  was  born  January  24,  1880,  and 
died  June  9,  1911.  This  son  married  Rebecca  Bell,  and 
at  his  death  he  left  three  children  who  have  their  home 


with  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Andrew  J.  Brown.  Their  names  are 
Lucy,  Ruth  and  John. 

H.  Y.  Foster,  as  president  of  the  Indian  Territory 
Illuminating  Oil  Company  of  Bartlesville,  and  the 
directing  head  of  the  company  that  controls  the  famous 
Foster  Lease  in  the  Osage  Nation,  is  easily  one  of  the 
most  conspicuous  figures  in  the  great  oil  industry  of  the 
Southwest.  It  was  his  honored  father  who  negotiated 
the  Foster-  Lease,  but  though  a comparatively  young 
man  H.  V.  Foster  has  been  the  moving  spirit  in  carrying 
out  the  plans  and  details  of  this  great  enterprise  since 
1902. 

Born  at  Westerly,  Washington  County,  Rhode  Island, 
September  6,  1875,  H.  V.  Foster  is  a son  of  Henry  and 
Gertrude  (Daniels)  Foster,  his  father  also  a native  of 
Westerly,  while  his  mother  was  born  at  Paxton,  Worcester 
County,  Massachusetts.  Henry  Foster  was  one  of  the 
ablest  financiers  and  oil  operators  of  his  generation. 
For  many  years  he  followed  banking  in  Rhode  Island, 
’but  about  1882  moved*  to  Independence,  Kansas,  where 
he  kept  the  center  of  his  financial  operations  until  Ms 
death  on  February  25,  1896,  at  the  age  of  forty-seven. 
His  name  is  closely  associated  with  a great  deal  of 
important  development  work  in  the  Southwest.  He  was 
the  builder  of  the  Missouri  Pacific  Railroad  from  Leroy 
to  Coffeyville,  Kansas,  and  was  also  interested  in  mining, 
constructed  a number  of  waterworks  plants  in  various 
parts  of  the  Southwest,  and  owned  or  partly  owned 
several  ranches  for  cattle  raising. 

As  already  mentioned  he  secured  the  lease  for  the 
production  of  oil  on  the  Osage  Reservation,  and  died 
about  the  time  the  Government  gave  its  final  approval 
to  the  terms  of  that  lease.  His  wife  died  at  Inde- 
pendence, Kansas,  about  1883  at  the  age  of  thirty-two. 
Their  two  children  are:  Annie  G.,  a resident  of  New 

York  City;  and  H.  V.  Foster. 

H.  V.  Foster  was  specially  equipped  by  .education  and 
native  ability  for  the  large  business  affairs  which  he 
has  directed  for  a number  of  years.  He  is  an  engineer 
by  profession,  though  most  of  his  time  has  been  devoted 
to  the  executive  details  of  business.  As  a boy  he 
attended  public  school  in  Rhode  Island  and  Massa- 
chusetts, also  at  Independence,  Kansas,  and  his  parents 
being  Quakers  subsequently  sent  him  to  the  Westtown 
Boarding  School  maintained  by  the  Society  of  Friends 
at  Westtown,  Pennsylvania.  Going  abroad  he  entered 
University  College  of  London,  England,  and  graduated 
with  his  engineer’s  certificate  in  1894.  On  his  return 
to  the  United  States  he  entered  Columbia  University  at 
New  York. 

As  an  engineer  his  first  work  was  on  a drainage 
project  comprising  60,000  acres  in  Wisconsin.  In  the 
meantime  he  became  interested  in  oil  development,  and 
in  1902  removed  to  Bartlesville  to  take  charge  of  the 
Osage  Lease  and  becoming  president  of  the  Indian  Ter- 
ritory Illuminating  Oil  Company.  He  has  since  devoted 
all  his  time  and  energy  to  this  industry,  and  is  a master 
of  the  business  in  every  detail.  Mr.  Foster  is  also  vice 
president  and  director  of  the  Union  National  Bank,  and 
his  offices  are  in  the  Union  National  Bank  Building. 

Because  of  the  active  participation  of  the  Foster 
family  in  the  oil  industry  in  Osage  territory  and  because 
all  matters  affecting  the  Osage  oil  lands  are  subjects 
of  historical  interest  in  Oklahoma,  a few  quotations  from 
a recent  article  that  appeared  in  the  Washington  Star 
are  properly  presented  at  this  point.  “A  modern 
industry  represented  by  the  huge  oil  derricks  and  pipe 
lines  of  Oklahoma,”  reads  the  article  in  question,  “has 
brought  at  least  one  nation  of  Indians  into  its  own  as 
far  as  the  individuals  of  its  tribe  are  concerned  in  being 


1916 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


the  original  landlords  of  that  part  of  this  continent  in 
which  they  have  made  their  home.  The  red  man  pic- 
tured in  his  feathered  head-dress  on  the  American  penny 
is  suggestive  of  the  former  wealth  of  the  nation  being 
held  by  the  Indian.  Today,  when  the  white  man ’s  dollar 
has  developed  a part  of  the  country  upon  which  the 
Indians  still  live,  the  Osages  have  received  such  large 
oil  and  gas  royalties  that  they  have  been  declared  the 
richest  nation  in  the  world.  Had  the  white  man  never 
come  to  this  continent  these  Indians  would  have 
undoubtedly  been  content  in  their  original  wild  state, 
taking  pleasure  in  their  hunts  and  ceremonials,  but  since 
it  is  a fact  that  civilization  has  killed  off  their  buffalo 
and  so  taken  their  livelihood  from  them,  the  Osage 
Nation  may  consider  that  the  star  of  fortune  rose  about 
1870. 

“ At  that  time  the  encroachment  of  settlers  who  were 
making  their  homes  in  Kansas  was  so  evident  to  the 
Indian  and  to  the  Government  that  later  Congress  pur- 
chased the  land  upon  which  the  Osages  had  been  living 
and  ceded  them  the  territory  they  now  occupy.  By  this 
deal  the  Indians  unknowingly  received  lands  worth  mil- 
lions of  dollars  on  account  of  the  oil  lying  beneath  its 
surface.  Today  these  resources  are  so  extensive  that 
the  government  in  the  capacity  of  guardian  for  the  red 
man  finds  itself  thrown  in  direct  business  relations  with 
some  of  the  greatest  financial  powers  of  the  Nation. 
It  gains  through  this  particular  management  of  affairs 
a clearer  knowledge  of  the  business  of  producing  and 
marketing  oil,  the  most  potential  wealth-making  power 
of  the  present  day. 

“Nineteen  years  ago  when  James  Bigheart  was  the 
principal  chief  of  the  Osage  Nation,  about  one  million 
five  hundred  thousand  acres  of  land,  or  approximately 
two  thousand  square  miles — a tract  many  times  a3  large 
as  the  District  of  Columbia — was  leased  directly  from 
the  tribe,  through  the  United  States  Government,  to 
Edward  B.  Foster  of  New  York  City.  The  development 
of  a large  part  of  the  territory  was  made  by  the  sub- 
lessee, known  as  the  Illuminating  Company,  engaged  in 
producing  oil.  When  the  original  blanket  Foster  lease 
and  the  subleases  expired  at  the  end  of  ten  years  they 
were  renewed  for  another  ten  years,  which  will  expire 
March  16,  1916.  It  was  for  this  reason  that  in  March, 
1915,  one  year  previous  to  the  expiration  of  the  lease 
of  the  vast  stretch  of  oil  lands,  the  oil  interests  of  the 
world  were  assembled  in  a great  conference  with  the 
government,  hoping  to  receive  a share  of  consideration 
when  the  time  comes  for  Uncle  Sam  and  the  Osage 
Indians  to  say  who  shall  obtain  the  right  to  produce  oil 
in  the  Foster  lease  land  in  the  future. 

‘ ‘ The  terms  by  which  the  Foster  lease  has  been  carried 
are  that  of  payment  of  one-eighth  royalty  on  all  oil 
produced  is  made  to  the  Indians.  One  twenty-fourth 
royalty  is  retained  by  the  Foster  interests  for  their 
management  and  extensive  development  of  the  land.  In 
years  past  it  has  been  a common  cry  that  the  Indians 
always  came  out  at  the  little  end  of  the  horn  when  deal- 
ing with  the  white  man.  The  story  of  the  Osage,  how- 
ever, is  a contradiction  to  such  a plaint,  for  by  the 
Foster  lease  alone  the  Osage  Indians  have  to  date  gained 
more  wealth  than  the  real  producers  of  the  oil. 

“As  these  red  men  have  not  allied  themselves  with 
modern  civilization  in  being  able  to  fill  a place  in  the 
industrial  world,  and  as  their  incomes  from  tribal  trust 
funds  and  oil  leases  are  more  than  sufficient  to  keep 
them  in  idleness,  there  is  but  one  answer  to  the  question 
of  whether  the  Osages  as  a nation  are  better  Indians 
because  of  their  independence  through  wealth.  In  all 
there  are  about  2,230  citizens  of  the  Osage  tribe.  From 
oil  royalties  alone  they  average  per  capita,  including 


children,  is  nearly  seven  hundred  dollars  per  year.  A 
family  with  two  children  receives  an  average  annual 
income  of  about  twenty-seven  hundred  dollars  from 
this  one  source,  besides  large  sums  from  lands  allotted 
to  them,  making  the  wealth  of  the  people  greater  than 
that  of  any  other  nation  in  the  world.  * * * As  a 

matter  of  record  to  date,  the  one-eighth  royalty  paid 
the  Indians  on  the  Foster  lease  contract  exceeds  the 
profit  which  the  actual  operators  have  made  during  the 
seventeen  years  on  their  five-sixths  working  interest. 
Nearly  five  million  dollars  have  been  paid  to  the 
Indians.  ’ ’ 

All  this  is  interesting  historical  reading,  and  is  espe- 
cially suggestive  of  the  important  part  played  by  Mr. 
Foster  in  the  industrial  affairs  of  this  state.  He  is  a 
splendid  type  of  the  modern  American  business  man,  and 
one  who  does  big  things  always  in  a big  generous  way. 
While  a republican,  he  has  never  sought  public  office 
and  has  preferred  to  confine  his  contributions  to  his 
adopted  city’s  welfare  by  conscientiously  performing 
the  duties  of  good  citizenship.  He  is  a thirty-second 
degree  Scottish  Bite  Mason  and  a Shriner,  and  is  also 
a member  of  the  local  lodges  of  the  Benevolent  and 
Protective  Order  of  Elks,  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and 
the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  In  social  and  busi- 
ness circles  he  is  known  not  only  in  Oklahoma  but  in 
most  of  the  larger  cities.  He  belongs  to  the  Lotus  and 
Bepublican  clubs  of  New  York;  the  Illinois  Athletic 
Club  of  Chicago,  the  Misquamicut  Golf  and  Country 
Club  of  Watch  Hill,  Bhode  Island;  the  Colonial  Club 
at  Westerly,  Bhode  Island;  and  the  Country  Club  of 
Bartlesville. 

May  1,  1897,  Mr.  Foster  married  Miss  Marie  Dahl- 
gren,  who  was  born  at  Chicago,  Illinois,  a daughter  of 
Carl  John  and  Marie  (Sierks)  Dahlgren.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Foster  have  two  children : Buth  Daniels  and  Marie 

Dahlgren. 

Walter  Griswold  Bisbee,  . M.  D.  Bepresenting  the 
first  class  ability  and  skill  of  his  profession  and  enjoying 
a large  general  practice,  Doctor  Bisbee  is  one  of  the 
young  physicians  and  surgeons  of  Oklahoma  who  have 
quickly  taken  front  rank  in  their  profession.  Doctor 
Bisbee  has  a large  general  practice  as  a physician  and 
surgeon  in  Chandler.  He  began  practice  with  an  excel- 
lent equipment  and  the  test  of  real  work  found  him 
qualified  for  this  important  service  among  the  social 
professions.  Doctor  Bisbee  is  a graduate  from  the  Dart- 
mouth Medical  College  and  Hospital  of  Philadelphia  with 
the  class  of  1901. 

Walter  Griswold  Bisbee  was  born  at  Dexter,  Iowa, 
August  1,  1876.  His  father,  Frank  A.  Bisbee,  was  one 
of  the  leading  citizens  of  Dexter,  and  was  born  in  Ver- 
mont of  an  old  Vermont  family,  the  ancestors  having 
come  from  England  to  New  England  in  the  early  days, 
and  men  of  that  name  participated  in  all  the  early  wars 
of  the  country,  including  the  Bevolution  and  the  War 
of  1812.  Frank  A.  Bisbee  is  now  living  at  Chandler 
at  the  age  of  seventy-one,  and  his  wife  died  at  the  age 
of  seventy. 

Doctor  Bisbee,  after  some  experience  in  the  Post- 
Graduate  and  City  Hospital  of  Philadelphia,  came  to 
Chandler  and  began  active  practice.  He  soon  had  all  he 
could  do,  and  the  almost  constant  driving  over  the 
country,  loss  of  sleep,  and  arduous  devotion  to  his  duty 
caused  a breakdown  in  health.  He  then  gave  up  his 
practice  and  spent  two  years  in  recuperating  in  San 
Antonio,  Texas.  While  there  he  resumed  practice,  but 
soon  afterwards  returned  to  Chandler  and  now  enjoys  a 
reputation  with  the  leading  physicians  and  surgeons  of 
Central  Oklahoma. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1917 


Doctor  Bisbee  was  married  December  3,  1902,  to 
Eleanor  Carpenter.  She  comes  from  an  old  Tennessee 
family  at  Knoxville,  where  she  was  reared  and  educated. 
Her  father  was  Maj.  D.  A.  Carpenter,  an  officer  in  the 
Union  army,  with  which  he  made  a gallant  record  of 
service.  Doctor  Bisbee  and  wife  have  one  son,  Wallace, 
now  seven  years  of  age.  Outside  of  his  home  and  his 
profession  Doctor  Bisbee  has  few  interests.  With  him 
medicine  is  not  only  a profession  but  also  a hobby  and 
enthusiasm,  and  he  finds  his  chief  interests  in  continued 
studies,  and  no  doctor  in  the  state  keeps  more  closely  in 
touch  with  the  advance  of  knowledge  in  medical  and 
surgical  science  than  he. 

Judge  Mark  L.  Bozarth.  There  comes  no  greater 
satisfaction  to  a man  in  public  life  than  a practically 
unanimous  election  to  an  important  post  of  responsi- 
bility. That  was  the  experience  of  Judge  Bozarth  in 
1914,  when  as  a candidate  for  re-election  as  county  judge 
of  Okmulgee  County  he  had  no  opposition  either  at  the 
primaries  or  in  the  general  election.  Judge  Bozarth'  is  a 
thoroughly  grounded  and  capable  young  lawyer,  and  has 
been  in  active  practice  of  the  law  and  a figure  in  public 
affairs  at  Okmulgee  for  the  past  fourteen  years. 

He  is  of  fine  stock  of  American  ancestry,  and  his  fore- 
bears of  mingled  French,  German  with  an  admixture  of 
other  early  nationalities  that  figured  in  our  Colonial 
era,  were  among  the  first  settlers  in  the  Trans-Allegheny 
District  of  Western  Pennsylvania  and  Western  Virginia. 
The  first  American  of  the  name,  who  was  probably  Caleb 
Bozarth,  came  from  France  during  the  persecution  of  the 
Huguenots  and  about  1735  settled  in  New  Jersey  near 
Philadelphia.  He  had  three  sons,  Isaac,  Caleb  and 
John,  and  the  first  two  served  under  General  Washington 
during  the  Revolution  and  afterwards  were  pioneers  in 
Kentucky.  These  two  Revolutionary  soldiers  became  the 
ancestors  of  a very  numerous  group  of  descendants  sub- 
sequently scattered  over  Kentucky,  Illinois,  Missouri  and 
other  middle  western  states.  John  Bozarth,  who  was 
born  in  1743,  a son  of  the  immigrant  ancestor,  was  about 
eleven  or  twelve  years  of  age  when  General  Braddoek 
came  over  with  the  British  regulars  to  fight  the  French 
and  Indians  on  the  western  frontier,  and  John  Bozarth 
drove  one  team  and  wagon  and  was  present  at  the  disas- ' 
trous  Battle  of  Braddoek ’s  Field.  John  Bozarth  subse- 
quently moved  out  to  Western  Pennsylvania  and  was  a 
frontiersman  during  the  Revolution.  In  his  twenty- 
seventh  year  he  married  Jane  Ivers,  who  was  a native  of 
Ireland.  The  Bozarths  took  a very  prominent  part  in 
the  frontier  life  of  Western  Pennsylvania  in  the  early 
days,  and  one  of  the  name  Miss  Rebecca  Bozarth  per- 
formed some  exploits  in  defending  her  home  against 
an  attack  of  Indians  which  has  been  made  the  subject 
of  a chapter  in  a book  entitled  ‘ ‘ Daring  Deeds  of  Ameri- 
can Women.” 

George  Bozarth,  a son  of  the  John  Bozarth  just  men- 
tioned, was  born  April  12,  1774,  near  the  historic  old 
Red  Stone  Fort  in  Western  Pennsylvania  and  not  far 
from  the  present  City  of  MorganstoWn,  West  Virginia. 
At  the  age  of  seventeen  he  enlisted  in  a company  of 
Rangers  and  did  much  service  against  the  Indians  and 
their  British  allies  in  patroling  the  country  along  the 
Ohio  River  and  as  far  down  as  Kentucky.  In  March, 
1795,  George  Bozarth  married  Mary  Reger,  who  was  of 
pure  German  extraction,  spoke  the  German  language 
fluently  though  after  her  marriage  the  English  was  con- 
stantly used  in  the  household.  George  and  Mary  Reger 
Bozarth  were  the  parents  of  fifteen  children,  six  of  whom 
died  in  infancy.  Of  those  who  reached  maturity  the 
names  were  Anna,  Temperance,  Mary,  Jacob,  Lot  N., 
Gilbert,  Jane  and  Ruanny.  The  descendants  of  these 


children  became  widely  scattered  in  many  of  the  states  of 
the  Middle  West. 

One  of  them,  Jacob,  who  was  born  in  September,  1810, 
was  the  grandfather  of  Judge  Bozarth  of  Okmulgee. 
Jacob  had  three  wives  and  five  children.  The  three 
children  of  his  first  marriage  were  Elizabeth  Ann, 
Amanda  and  Allen  B.  By  the  second  wife  there  was 
a son  named  George  Gilbert.  By  his  third  marriage,  to 
Charlotte  Warrington,  there  was  a son  Jacob,  and  thus 
Jacob  Bozarth  has  for  a number  of  years  been  a well 
known  citizen  and  business  man  of  Okmulgee. 

Jacob  Bozarth  last  mentioned  was  born  in  Starke 
County,  Indiana,  February  7,  1852,  a son  of  Jacob  and 
Charlotte  (Warrington)  Bozarth.  Jacob  Bozarth,  Sr., 
was  one  of  the  pioneers  of  Starke  County,  and  in  1850 
had  the  honor  of  being  elected  the  first  county  recorder 
after  the  organization  of  that  county.  He  was  married 
in  Starke  County  to  Miss  Warrington,  who  was  of  a 
Delaware  family.  Jacob,  Sr.,  died  at  Troy,  Kansas,  in 
1880,  and  his  wife  died  in  Indiana,  January  1,  1875. 
Jacob,  Sr.,  had  been  a teacher  in  his  early  life. 

Jacob  Bozarth  of  Okmulgee  had  the  distinction  of 
being  honored  in  1882  with  election  to  the  same  office 
which  his  father  had  filled  more  than  twenty  years 
earlier,  county  recorder  of  Starke  County.  He  had  grown 
up  on  the  home  farm  in  Indiana,  was  given  a substan- 
tial education,  but  after  being  elected  county  recorder 
served  in  that  office  continuously  for  eight  years.  After- 
wards he  established  himself  in  business  at  Knox,  county 
seat  of  Starke  County,  and  dealt  in  real  estate,  loans 
and  abstracts  and  in  1891  was  admitted  to  the  bar,  but 
confined  his,  practice  chiefly  to  real  estate  and  title  law. 
In  1900  he  moved  to  Okmulgee,  Indian  Territory,  and 
has  since  been  a prominent  factor  in  the  upbuilding  of 
that  city,  and  has  conducted  a prosperous  business  in 
real  estate,  insurance  and  has  also  been  a notary  public. 
He  built  the  Bozarth  Hotel  at  Okmulgee  and  in  many 
other  ways  has  found  opportunity  to  serve  the  public 
welfare  as  well  as  his  own.  He  is  an  active  democrat, 
a member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows, 
and  belongs  to  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church. 

On  October  4,  1874,  Jacob  Bozarth  married  in  Starke 
County  Phebe  Westhaver,  who  was  born  in  Ohio.  To 
their  marriage  were  born  four  children : Judge  Mark 

L.,  Ernest  LeGrande,  who  graduated  from  Valparaiso 
University  in  Indiana  in  1902  and  is  now  a druggist 
at  Henryetta,  Oklahoma;  Mary,  wife  of  B.  W.  Christian 
of  Okmulgee;  and  Daisy,  wife  of  H.  L.  Allen  of  Grass 
Range,  Montana. 

Judge  Mark  L.  Bozarth  was  born  at  Knox,  Indiana, 
August  17,  1875,  and  lived  in  Starke  County  until  he 
came  to  Okmulgee,  September  4,  1902.  He  was  grad- 
uated in  1902  from  Valparaiso  University,  then  known 
as  the  Northern  Indiana  Law  School,  with  the  degree 
LL.  B.  In  the  meantime  he  had  taken  an  active  interest 
in  local  politics  at  Knox  and  served  three  years  as  city 
clerk.  Along  with  a substantial  practice  he  has  com- 
bined an  equal  interest  in  public  affairs  since  locating  at 
Okmulgee.  In  November,  1912,  he  was  elected  county 
judge,  and  in  1914  was  re-elected  for  a second  term, 
in  which  he  is  still  serving  with  admirable  efficiency. 
He  is  one  of  the  leading  democrats  of* Okmulgee  County 
and  for  four  years  was  a member  of  the  Territorial 
Democratic  Executive  Committee  before  statehood.  He 
is  a member  of  the  Oklahoma  State  Bar  Association  and 
is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  Order,  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Benevolent  and  Protective 
Order  of  Elks. 

On  November  28,  1894,  Judge  Bozarth  married  Grace 
G.  Garner,  who  was  born  in  Indiana,  daughter  of  J.  A. 
Garner,  now  a resident  of  Okmulgee.  Judge  Bozarth 


1918 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


and  wife  have  three  children:  Mary  Garner,  born 

November  15,  1907 ; Helen,  born  in  May,  1909,  and  died 
at  the  age  of  ten  months;  and  Kathryn,  born  November 
22,  1911. 

J.  W.  White.  One  of  the  leading  grocery  establish- 
ments of  Edmond  is  conducted  by  the  firm  of  White  & 
O ’Connor.  Mr.  White  has  for  several  years  been  one  of 
that  town ’s  most  influential  citizens.  He  stands  for  high 
grade  business  principles,  for  good  sanitation  and  good 
morals  and  is  a leader  in  moral  and  educational  affairs. 
Mr.  White  came  West  from  Kentucky  at  the  age  of 
twenty-seven,  in  search  of  health,  and  soon  afterwards 
turned  his  attention  to  ranching  in  Kansas.  He  estab- 
lished near  Syracuse  in  that  state,  one  of  the  best 
equipped  ranches  in  that  part  of  the  country,  and  even- 
tually reached  a success  which  enabled  him  to  take  up 
another  line  of  business  that  was  less  exciting  and  more 
suited  to  his  talents. 

J.  W.  White  was  born  near  Irvine,  Kentucky,  in  1860, 
a son  of  John  Thomas  and  Mahala  Jane  (Barnett) 
White.  His  father,  a native  of  Kentucky,  was  for  many 
years  one  of  the  leading  public  school  teachers  of  that 
state.  The  paternal  grandfather  was  a native  of  Ire- 
land and  an  early  settler  of  Virginia,  being  a mission- 
ary Baptist  preacher.  The  maternal  grandparents  were 
prosperous  planters  in  Kentucky. 

Mr.  White  had  a liberal  education,  first  in  the  public 
schools  and  later  in  the  Edgar  Institute  at  Paris,  Ken- 
tucky. After  finishing  his  course  in  the  latter,  he  taught 
school  for  three  years,  but  ill  health  compelled  him  to 
abandon  that  vocation.  Thus  at  the  age  of  twenty-seven 
he  was  beginning  his  career  as  a rancher  at  Syracuse, 
Kansas,  and  continued  a resident  of  that  locality  until 
1910,  when  he  came  to  Edmond  and  engaged  in  the 
grocery  trade.  The  junior  member  of  the  firm  of  White 
& O’Connor  is  M.  J.  O’Connor. 

Mr.  White  was  married  in  Kentucky  in  1882  to  Miss 
Sarah  Elizabeth  Barnett.  They  have  two  children:  Miss 
Dula  White,  who  was  formerly  principal  of  the  public 
schools  of  Britton  and  is  now  a stenographer  in  Okla- 
homa City;  and  William  Harrison  White,  aged  fifteen,  a 
student  in  the  public  schools  of  Edmond.  Mr.  White  is 
a member  of  the  Christian  Church,  has  held  several  im- 
portant chairs  in  the  lodge  of  Odd  Fellows,  and  is  a 
member  and  chorister  of  the  Men’s  Gospel  Team  of 
Edmond.  One  interesting  direction  in  which  his  original 
mind  has  turned  is  as  an  inventor.  He  has  patented  an 
auto  and  vehicle  wheel  rim  attachment,  based  on  the  coil 
spring  principle,  that  promises  to  become  an  important 
substitute  for  pneumatic  tires. 

Mr.  White  has  also  been  a useful  citizen  in  the  different 
localities  where  he  has  lived.  In  Kansas  he  held  the 
office  of  township  assessor  and  for  a number  of  years 
was  a member  of  the  board  of  education  in  his  school 
district.  In  March,  1915,  he  was  nominated  by  the 
democrats  for  mayor  of  Edmond. 

William  Ezra  Seba,  M.  D.  One  of  the  first  medical 
men  to  locate  and  open  an  office  at  the  new  Town  of 
Leedey  was  Dr.  W.  E.  Seba,  who  during  the  past  eight 
years  has  built  wp  a large  practice  in  the  town  and 
surrounding  country,  and  is  one  of  the  best  qualified 
physicians  and  surgeons  in  Dewey  County,  a fact  that 
is  readily  attested  by  his  high  standing  in  the  com- 
munity and  by  his  professional  work  here  and  else- 
where. 

He  comes  of  an  old  Southern  Missouri  family,  and 
was  born  at  Bland,  in  that  state,  January  15,  1884. 
His  grandfather  Seba  came  from  Germany  in  1853, 
located  in  Gasconade  County,  Missouri,  on  a farm,  and 
died  soon  afterward.  Doctor  Seba’s  father  is  Dr.  J.  D. 


Seba,  also  a physician,  who  was  born  in  Gasconade 
County,  at  Woollman,  Missouri,  in  1856.  He  is  now  living 
at  Bland,  where  he  has  been  in  active  practice  as  a 
physician  since  1894.  In  that  year  he  was  graduated 
from  the  Beaumont  College  of  Medicine  at  St.  Louis. 
For  a number  of  years  before  taking  up  medical  practice 
he  served  as  justice  of  the  peace  and  is  now  editor  of 
the  Bland  Courier.  He  has  also  been  coroner  of  Gas- 
conade County,  and  has  filled  all  the  chairs  in  the 
Gasconade  County  Medical  Society  and  has  served  on 
several  important  committees  in  the  Missouri  State 
Medical  Society.  He  is  a member  of  the  American 
Medical  Association,  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America,  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen,  is  active 
in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  and  in  politics  is  a 
republican.  Dr.  J.  D.  Seba  married  Miss  Katy  Horst- 
man,  who  was  born  in  Osage  County,  Missouri,  in  1857. 
Their  children  are:  Henry  F.,  a farmer  at  Feuersville, 

Missouri;  John  W.,  who  has  a draying  business  at 
Bland;  Dr.  William  E.;  Rosie  L.,  wife  of  R.  M.  Strick- 
len,  who  is  connected  with  the  Swift  Packing  Company 
in  East  St.  Louis;  Fred  L.,  who  is  manager  and  pub- 
lisher of  the  Bland  Courier,  owned  by  himself  and 
father  jointly,  and  this  republican  paper  has  probably 
the  largest  circulation  in  Osage  and  Gasconade  counties; 
and  Louise,  still  at  home  with  her  parents. 

William  Ezra  Seba  attended  the  public  schools  in 
Bland,  and  by  a course  of  study  at  home  and  under  the 
direction  of  his  father  was  well  qualified  to  pass  his 
examinations  and  receive  his  credentials  when  he  entered 
medical  school.  He  entered  the  Marion-Sims  Medical 
College  at  St.  Louis  in  1900,  took  a two  years’  course, 
but  at  the  end  of  that  time  was  too  young  to  graduate. 
He  then  employed  his  time  in  a drug  store  one  year, 
entered  the  St.  Louis  College  of  Physicians  and  Sur- 
geons, and  was  graduated  there  April  14,  1905,  with 
the  degree  M.  D.  only  a few  months  after  his  twenty- 
first  birthday. 

After  a general,  practice  at  Bland,  his  old  home  town, 
for  two  years,  Doctor  Seba  came  to  Oklahoma  in  1907 
and  began  practice  at  Leedey.  His  offices  are  in  the 
Horr  & Seba  Building,  of  which  he  is  one  of  the  owners. 

Doctor  Seba  is  president  of  the  Dewey  County  Medi- 
cal Society,  and  is  a member  of  the  State  Society,  the 
Southwestern  Medical  and  the  American  Medical  Asso- 
ciation. He  is  a stockholder  in  the  Leedey  Oil  & Gas 
Company,  and  has  financial  interests  in  various  other 
enterprises.  In  politics  he  is  a republican.  He  has 
served  as  deputy  health  officer  at  Leedey  and  also  as  a 
member  of  the  town  board.  Fraternally  he  is  affiliated 
with  Leedey  Lodge  No.  369,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  being  now 
Right  Supporter  to  the  Noble  Grand;  with  Leedey 
Lodge  No.  227,  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias;  with  the 
Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen  and  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America  at  Leedey,  and  with  the  Mutual 
Protective  League. 

On  May  23,  1907,  in  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  Doctor 
Seba  married  Miss  Marie  Telkamp  of  Sanborn,  Iowa. 
Her  parents,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  H.  Telkamp  are  now  living 
at  Mitchell,  South  Dakota,  where  her  father  is  a retired 
farmer  and  the  owner  of  considerable  property. 

Alex  Will  Crain.  The  present  tribal  secretary  of 
the  Seminoles,  and  the  oldest  white  resident  of  Seminole 
County,  Alex  Will  Crain  has  an  interesting  career  and 
personality  not  only  for  his  prominent  participation  in 
Indian  affairs  but  also  because  of  the  fact  that  he  is 
descended  from  some  of  the  oldest  and  most  prominent 
American  Colonial  and  Revolutionary  stock.  Among  his 
forefathers  were  gallant  soldiers  and  men  of  affairs  who 
left  their  impress  on  different  states  and  colonies  of  the 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1919 


East.  Mr.  Crain  is  one  of  the  two  white  men  who 
received  formal  adoption  into  the  Seminole  tribe,  and 
has  been  on  the  rolls  of  citizenship  since  1883. 

He  was  born  in  Cumberland  County,  Pennsylvania, 
March  10,  1847,  a son  of  Dr.  Joseph  and  Eebecca  Gibson 
(Wills)  Crain.  His  great-grandfather  was  Ambrose 
Crain,  who  as  captain  led  a company  to  battle  in  the 
Revolutionary  war,  being  part  of  a New  Jersey  regi- 
ment. Grandfather  Richard  M.  Crain  also  had  a 
prominent  career.  He  was  surveyor  general  or  deputy 
surveyor  general  of  Pennsylvania  for  about  thirty  years. 
He  was  also  a member  of  one  of  the  early  Pennsylvania 
Legislatures  when  that  body  met  at  Lancaster.  He 
served  as  a colonel  of  artillery  during  the  War  of  1812 
and  was  at  Fort  Henry  during  the  defense  of  Wash- 
ington. Col.  Richard  M.  Crain  married  Eleanor  White- 
hill.  Her  father,  Robert  Whitehill,  was  a member  of  the 
convention  that  drafted  the  Constitution  of  the  United 
States  and  afterwards  sat  in  Congress  representing  a 
Pennsylvania  district  for  more  than  twenty  years. 
Mr.  Crain’s  father,  Dr.  Joseph  Crain,  was  born  at  Lan- 
caster, Pennsylvania,  in  1803,  spent  his  active  career  as 
a physician  in  Cumberland  County  and  died  there  in 
1876.  His  wife  was  born  in  Cumberland  County  and 
died  when  Alex  W.  Crain  was  three  years  of  age.  Two 
of  their  children  died  in  infancy,  and  those  who  reached 
maturity  were  two  daughters  and  three  sons.  Doctor 
Crain  also  had  children  by  a second  marriage,  but  all  of, 
them  are  now  deceased.  Mr.  Crain’s  brother,  Richard 
M.,  fought  during  a part  of  the  Civil  war  as  member 
of  a New  Jersey  regiment,  afterwards  took  up  medicine, 
and  he  died  while  in  the  employ  of  the  Government  at 
the  Sac  and  Fox  Agency  in  Oklahoma. 

The  early  life  of  Alex  Will  Crain  was  spent  in  Penn- 
sylvania, attending  the  public  schools,  and  he  was  also 
a student  in  the  State  College  of  Pennsylvania.  In 
June,  1863,  he  left  college  to  enlist  from  Center  County 
as  a member  of  Company  D in  Lutzinger’s  Battalion  for 
three  months’  duty.  In  June,  1914,  Mr.  Crain  visited 
Pennsylvania  College,  and  at  that  time  received  a certifi- 
cate of  recognition  for  membership  in  the  class  of 
1864,  and  of  that  class  only  fourteen  were  known  to  be 
living  in  1914.  Mr.  Crain  was  promised  by  the  college 
authorities  in  recognition  of  his  services  in  leaving 
school  to  fight  for  his  country  a diploma,  and  this  dip- 
loma was  awarded  at  the  commencement  in  June,  1916, 
at  which  time  Mr.  Crain  returned  to  Pennsylvania  to 
accept  the  honor. 

For  two  years  during  his  early  youth  he  also  worked 
on  a Pennsylvania  farm,  and  he  spent  two  years  on  the 
plains  of  Nebraska,  driving  ox  and  mule  teams  and  get- 
ting a taste  of  frontier  existence  which  finally  caused 
him  to  become  a permanent  resident  of  the  Southwest. 
Returning  East  he  spent  another  two  years  at  home, 
and  then  went  to  Texas,  where  he  was  a cowboy  for  a 
year,  and  about  1872  he  came  into  the  Creek  Nation. 
His  services  here  for  about  twelve  years  were  as  teacher 
in  the  tribal  schools,  and  he  also  clerked  in  a store  about 
four  years. 

In  1883  he  was  adopted  into  the  Seminole  Nation  and 
has  ever  since  been  a member  of  that  tribe.  He  and 
the  late  E.  J.  Brown  were  the  only  white  men  ever 
formally  adopted  by  this  tribe.  Mr.  Crain  served  as 
assistant  district  Indian  agent  under  the  Department  of 
Interior,  but  for  the  past  eight  years  has  been  tribal 
secretary.  From  1884  to  1909  he  resided  on  his  farm 
and  applied  himself  successfully  to  the  raising  of  cattle, 
horses  and  hogs,  and  in  the  early  days  the  range  for 
his  livestock  was  unrestricted  and  his  herds  could  wander 
for  pasture  where  they  would.  Mr.  Crain  still  has  a 
Vol.  v— 11 


farm  in  the  northwestern  part  of  Seminole  County  along 
the  North  Canadian  River. 

In  polities  he  is  a republican,  though  he  was  reared 
a democrat.  He  has  a life  membership  in  the  Masonic 
order,  having  attained  thirty-two  degrees  in  the  Scottish 
Rite,  is  a Royal  Arch  Mason  and  a member  of  the  Mystic 
Shrine. 

In  1880  at  Sasakwa  he  married  Lucy  Brown,  a half- 
blood  Seminole  and  a sister  of  Governor  John  F.  Brown, 
reference  to  whose  career  will  be  found  on  other  pages. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Crain  have  three  children:  Anna,  wife  of 

T.  H.  Oliver  of  Wewoka ; Allen,  of  Sasakwa;  and 
Ambrose,  who  lives  on  his  allotment  along  the  North 
Canadian  River.  Mr.  Crain  has  one  of  the  most  interest- 
ing and  attractive  homes  in  Seminole  County.  All  his 
life  he  has  been  a diligent  reader,  though  his  career  on 
the  whole  has  kept  him  in  close  touch  with  practical 
events.  Some  time  ago  during  a general  discussion  of 
the  question  of  state  legal  holidays  for  Oklahoma,  Mr. 
Crain  suggested  that  they  make  a ground-hog  day  of 
general  observance,  but  he  ceased  to  advocate  this  when 
the  people  apparently  began  to  take  his  proposition 
seriously. 

Hon.  Jeremiah  C.  Strang.  Prior  to  coming  to 
Guthrie,  in  1893,  Hon.  Jeremiah  C.  Strang  had  estab- 
lished an  enviable  record  in  legal  and  judicial  affairs  in 
Kansas.  There  his  distinguished  talents  had  been  early 
recognized  by  appointment  and  election  to  offices  of 
grave  responsibility,  and  when  he  came  to  Oklahoma  he 
brought  with  him  a reputation  as  one  of  the  strong  and 
forceful  men  of  law  of  his  day.  In  his  new  locality  he 
soon  took  his  merited  place  among  the  men  directing 
legal  and  judicial  machinery,  and  his  subsequent  activities 
have  but  served  to  add  to  and  embellish  his  reputation- 
gained  in  the  Sunflower  State. 

Judge  Strang  was  born  December  31,  1854,  in  the 
Village  of  Trumbull  Corners,  Tompkins  County,  New 
York,  and  is  a son  of  Daniel  and  Elizabeth  (Case) 
Strang,  natives  and  agricultural  people  of  the  Empire 
State.  The  public  schools  of  his  native  locality  fur- 
nished Judge  Strang  with  his  early  education,  following 
which  he  attended  an  academy  at  Ithaca,  New  York, 
and  took  a full  course  in  the  institution  at  Watkins,  in 
that  state.  He  was  rpared  on  his  father’s  farm,  it 
having  been  his  intention  to  become  an  agriculturist,  but 
one  day,  while  operating  a threshing  machine,  he  met 
with  an  accident  which  cost  him  his  right  hand,  and 
when  he  had  recovered  he  realized  the  necessity  of  adopt- 
ing a professional  career.  For  two  years  Mr.  Strang 
was  engaged  in  teaching  school  in  the  country  districts 
adjacent  to  his  home,  and  during  this  time  to  apply 
himself  to  the  study  of  law,  to  which  he  began  to  give- 
his  entire  attention  in  1869.  In  1870  he  removed  from 
Ithaca,  New  York,  to  Westfield,  Pennsylvania,  and  there 
completed  his  legal  training  under  the  preceptorsliip  of 
Hon.  Butler  B.  Strang,  his  cousin,  and  at  that  time  a 
noted  jurist.  Judge  Strang  was  admitted  to  practice 
in  1873,  when  but  nineteen  years  of  age,  and  for  four 
years  continued  in  the  enjoyment  of  a large  and  repre- 
sentative legal  patronage  at  Westfield,  and  during  three 
years  of  that  time  served  efficiently  as  district  attorney. 

In  1877  Judge  Strang  went  to  Kansas  and  entered 
upon  a career  that  was  destined  to  make  his  name  known 
among  the  foremost  men  of  his  profession.  Locating  at 
Larned,  in  the  same  year  he  was  elected  county  attorney 
of  Pawnee  County,  and  served  in  that  capacity  for  two 
years.  Up  to  this  time  he  had  been  a stanch  republican, 
and  on  going  to  Kansas  had  plunged  energetically  into 
political  affairs.  In  1880  he  stumped  the  state  in  behalf 
of  the  successful  prohibition  constitutional  amendment. 


1920 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


In  that  same  year,  without  his  solicitation,  his  party 
nominated  him  for  state  senator  of  his  senatorial  dis- 
trict, and  he  was  subsequently  elected  by  a large  majority. 
He  became  the  author  of  the  bill  putting  into  force  the 
prohibition  constitutional  amendment,  introduced  and 
drafted  many  other  important  and  successful  measures, 
and  was  an  active  member  of  a number  of  important 
committees.  He  resigned  after  the  first  session  of  his 
four-year  term  in  order  to  accept  the  appointment  by 
Governor  John  P.  St.  John  to  the  office  of  district  judge 
of  the  Sixteenth  Judicial  District  of  Kansas.  He  served 
one  year  by  appointment  and  two  terms  of  four  years  by 
election  in  that  important  office,  but  declined  a third 
nomination.  In  1890  Governor  Lyman  U.  Humphrey 
appointed  Judge  Strang  a member  of  the  Kansas  State 
Supreme  Court  Commission,  and  in  that  connection  he 
rendered  a faithful  and  highly  commendable  service  of 
three  years. 

In  1893  Judge  Strang  resigned  and  came  to  Okla- 
homa. Here  he  opened  a law  office  at  Guthrie  and 
embarked  upon  an  active  practice,  but  he  was  not  long 
allowed  to  act  merely  as  a private  citizen,  for  in  1895 
he  was  petitioned  by  leading  men  of  his  community  to 
make  the  race  for  the  office  of  county  attorney  of  Logan 
County  on  a law  enforcement  platform.  To  this  he  con- 
sented, was  elected  to  the  office,  and  fulfilled  every  pledge 
made  to  the  voters,  his  record  during  his  two  years’  of 
office  being  one  that  strengthened  materially  his  place 
in  the  esteem  and  confidence  of  the  people.  In  1897 
Governor  Barnes,  at  the  suggestion  of  the  late  President 
McKinley,  one  of  Judge  Strang’s  old  and  personal 
friends,  appointed  the  judge  to  the  office  of  attorney 
general  of  Oklahoma,  a position  which  he  held  for  two 
years  and  only  resigned  because  of  an  attack  of  ill 
health.  In  1905  he  was  nominated  by  acclamation  and 
was  elected  probate  judge  of  Logan  County,  an  office 
which  he  retained  for  ten  years  and  from  which  he  then 
retired  to  give  his  entire  attention  to  his  private  practice. 
Judge  Strang  seems  to  have  assimilated  the  principles 
of  jurisprudence  and  to  be  able  to  supply  from  his  intel- 
lectual reservoir  a correct  solution  to  any  new  combina- 
tion of  details  that  will  withstand  the  severest  criticism. 
Before  the  court  his  mastery  of  legal  principles,  famili- 
arity with  precedents  and  power  of  logical  and  forcible 
argument  make  him  well  nigh  invincible.  As  counsel 
his  services  have  been  in  great  demand,  and  he  has  been 
extensively  retained  in  important  and  complicated  litiga- 
tion not  alone  in  Oklahoma,  but  in  various  other  states, 
before  the  highest  tribunals. 

Judge  Strang  has  one  daughter,  Lulu,  who  is  the  wife 
of  M.  E.  Trapp,  lieutenant-governor  of  Oklahoma. 

Temple  Houston.  In  the  history  of  the  legal  fra- 
ternity of  Western  Oklahoma  there  has  appeared  no  more 
distinguished  name  than  that  of  the  late  Temple  Hous- 
ton, who  practiced  at  the  Woodward  bar  from  the  time 
of  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  in  1893,  until  his 
death,  August  15,  1905.  A son  of  the  great  Texas 
patriot,  Gen.  'Sam  Houston,  his  early  career  was  marked 
by  experiences  of  the  most  interesting  character  in  the 
Lone  Star  State,  and  from  early  youth  his  achievements 
were  notable  in  Texas  jurisprudence. 

Temple  Houston  was  born  August  12,  1860,  in  the 
Texas  gubernatorial  mansion  at  Austin,  a son  of  Gen. 
Sam  and  Margaret  (Lea)  Houston.  Samuel  Houston 
was  born  in  Rockbridge  County,  Virginia,  March  2,  1793, 
and  was  of  Seotch-Irish  descent.  In  1818  he  began  the 
study  of  law  and  in  1823  and  1825  was  elected  a member 
of  Congress,  and  in  1827  governor  of  Tennessee.  On  his 
removal  to  Texas,  in  1832,  he  was  made  a general  of 
Texas  troops,  and  in  1836  defeated  the  Mexicans  at 
San  Jacinto,  which  resulted  in  the  independence  of  Texas, 


General  Houston  being  elected  president  of  the  new  re- 
public. In  1845  Texas  entered  the  Union  and  General 
Houston  was  chosen  United  States  senator.  He  was 
elected  governor  of  Texas  in  1859,  but  in  1861  was 
deposed  for  adherence  to  the  Union,  and  died  at  Hunts- 
ville, Texas,  July  25,  1863.  By  his  second  wife,  Mar- 
garet Lea,  he  was  the  father  of  four  sons  and  four 
daughters:  Samuel,  deceased;  Nancy,  who  is  the  wife 

of  James  Morrow,  of  Georgetown,  Texas;  Margaret,  de- 
ceased; Mary,  who  is  the  widow  of  John  Morrow,  of 
Abilene,  Texas;  Nettie,  the  wife  of  Prof.  James  Bring- 
hurst,  of  San  Antonio,  Texas;  Andrew  J.,  of  Beaumont, 
Texas;  William  R.,  of  Kemp,  Texas;  and  Temple. 

Left  an  orphan  at  the  age  of  seven  years,  at  the  age 
of  thirteen  Temple  Houston  became  a cowboy  on  the 
plains  of  his  native  state.  With  his  first  cattle  outfit  he 
went  with  a herd  of  stock  to  Bismark,  North  Dakota, 
where  he  engaged  as  a clerk  on  a steamer  and  went 
down  the  Mississippi  River.  He  was  then  appointed  to 
a position  as  page  in  the  United  States  Senate  and  re- 
mained in  that  capacity  at  Washington,  D.  C.,  for  three 
years,  and  while  there  began  the  study  of  the  profes- 
sion in  which  he  was  later  to  reach  such  a high  position. 
On  his  return  to  Texas,  at  the  age  of  seventeen  years, 
he  entered  Bailey  University,  from  which  he  was  duly 
graduated,  and  when  only  nineteen  years  of  age  was 
admitted  to  the  Texas  bar.  He  soon  attracted  attention 
and  a large  practice  in  criminal  law,  and  when  but  nine- 
teen years  old  was  elected  county  attorney  of  Brazoria 
County.  He  was  district  attorney  of  the  Texas  Pan- 
handle District  when  he  had  just  attained  his  majority, 
and  at  a time  when  to  enter  the  courtroom  unarmed  was 
to  take  one’s  life  in  his  hands,  the  young  attorney  made 
an  exceptionally  creditable  record.  Further  honors 
awaited  him.  He  was  only  twenty-four  years  old  when 
elected  to  the  Texas  State  Senate,  a body  in  which  he 
served  with  ability  and  distinction  for  eight  years,  but 
that  service  ended  his  life  in  Texas,  for  with  the  opening 
of  the  Cherokee  Strip  in  1893  he  came  to  Oklahoma 
and  opened  an  office  at  Woodward,  this  city  continuing 
to  be  his  home  and  the  scene  of  his  repeated  successes 
until  the  time  of  his  death. 

Mr.  Houston  was  married  February  14,  1883,  to  Miss 
Laura  Cross,  who  was  born  April  7,  1865,  in  Louisiana, 
and  to  this  union  there  were  born  seven  children : 
Temple ; Louise  and  Laura,  who  are  deceased ; Sam ; 
Richard;  Lucile,  who  is  deceased;  and  Mary.  Mrs. 
Houston,  who  survives  her  husband  and  is  a lady  of 
many  attainments,  was  appointed  postmistress  of  Wood- 
ward, March  10,  1914.  She  has  managed  the  affairs  of 
this  office  in  a highly  creditable  manner  and  in  numerous 
ways  has  been  able  to  improve  the  service. 

Dr.  Timothy  Joseph  Butler.  The  Butler  family, 
represented  in  Weatherford  by  Dr.  Timothy  Joseph 
Butler,  is  distinctly  southern  in  its  habitat,  and  is  of 
Scotch-Irish  origin.  Timothy  Butler,  grandshire  of  the 
subject,  was  the  Irish  emigrant  ancestor.  He  came  first 
to  Canada,  but  his  stay  there  was  brief,  and  he  died  in 
Vicksburg,  Mississippi,  where  he  was  a prosperous  planter 
for  years.  Doctor  Butler ’s  maternal  grandfather,  Rob- 
ert Marshall,  came  from  Scotland  to  Cincinnati,  Ohio, 
when  he  was  a boy  of  three  years,  and  he,  too,  died  in 
the  vicinity  of  Vicksburg,  a well  known  planter  of  that 
place. 

Dr.  Timothy  Joseph  Butler  was  born  in  Vicksburg, 
Mississippi,  on  January  11,  1886,  and  is  a son  of  T.  J. 
Butler,  also  born  in  Vicksburg,  the  latter  in  the  year 
1854.  He  died  on  the  family  plantation,  St.  Elmo, 
Warren  County,  in  1889.  He  was  Roman  Catholic  in 
his  faith.  His  wife  was  Miss  Emma  Marshall,  born  in 


JlS 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1921 


Memphis,  Tennessee,  and  she  now  makes  her  home  with 
Doctor  Butler,  their  only  child. 

Dr.  Butler  was  graduated  from  the  S.  A.  C.,  in  Vicks- 
burg, Mississippi,  in  1902,  with  the  equivalent  of  a high 
school  education.  In  1904  he  was  graduated  from  the 
C.  H.  A.,  in  Port  Gibson,  Mississippi,  his  preparation  for 
his  professional  studies  being  made  there.  He  spent  the 
years  1905  and  1906  in  the  medical  department  of  the 
University  of  Virginia,  and  the  next  two  years  in  Tulane 
University,  in  New  Orleans.  He  was  graduated  from 
the  University  of  the  South,  in  Sewanee,  Tennessee,  with 
the  class  of  1909,  when  he  received  his  M.  D.  degree. 

In  October,  1909,  Doctor  Butler  began  medical  prac- 
tice at  Calvin,  Oklahoma,  and  in  1911  he  came  to 
Weatherford,  where  he  has  since  conducted  a practice 
along  general  lines  of  medicine  and  surgery. 

Dr.  Butler  is  a democrat  and  a member  of  the  Epis- 
copal Church.  His  college  fraternity  is  the  Alpha  Kappa 
Kappa,  and  in  Masonry  he  is  affiliated  with  the  Weather- 
ford Lodge  No.  138,  Ancient  Pree  and  Accepted  Masons, 
Weatherford  Chapter  No.  31,  Royal  Arch  Masons,  and 
Weatherford  Commandery  No.  17,  Knights  Templar.  He 
is  a member  of  the  County,  State  and  American  Medical 
societies,  and  the  association  of  military  surgeons,  and 
i holds  a commission  as  first  lieutenant  in  the  Medical  Be- 
i serve  Corps,  United  States  army. 

In  Vicksburg,  Mississippi,  1910,  was  recorded  the  inar- 
i riage  of  Doctor  Butler  to  Miss  Letitia  Templeman  Geiger, 
i-  daughter  of  S.  E.  Geiger,  of  Charlottesville,  Virginia, 
now  deceased.  Pour  children  have  been  born  to  Doctor 
s and  Mrs.  Butler:  Emma  M.,  Lily,  Mildred  and  Marshall, 
le  all  at  home. 


Logan  Autran  Wilhite.  A practical  and  experienced 
newspaper  man  and  an  expert  follower  of  the  old  and 
honored  trade  of  printing,  Logan  Autran  Wilhite,  fore- 
man of  the  printing  plant  of  the  Daily  Pioneer,  at  Alva, 
Oklahoma,  has  passed  his  entire  life  in  this  calling.  He 
has  followed  his  occupation  in  various  places,  and  on 
several  occasions  has  been  the  proprietor  of  newspapers, 
but  since  1898  has  made  his,  home  at  Alva  and  is.  well 
known  among  newspaper  men  of  Woods  County. 

Mr.  Wilhite  is  a Missourian  by  nativity,  born  at 
Slater,  Saline  County,  Missouri,  September  30,  1875,  a 
son  of  Daniel  C.  and  Mary  P.  (Maupin)  Wilhite.  His 
father  was  born  in  that  county,  November  20,  1844,  and 
was  a mere  lad  when  the  Civil  war  came  on,  but  enlisted 
in  the  Seventh  Missouri  Cavalry,  and  served  therewith 
for  3%  years.  He  took  part  in  numerous  battles  and 
had  many  escapes  from  death,  on  one  occasion  having 
his  horse  shot  from  under  him,  while  later  he  was 
seriously  wounded  in  the  right  leg.  His  military  career 
finished,  he  returned  to  Saline  County,  Missouri,  where 
he  gradually  drifted  into  building  and  contracting, 
vocations  which  he  continued  to  follow  throughout  the 
remainder  of  his  life.  Mr.  Wilhite  prosecuted  his 
ctivities  at  Slater  until  1886,  in  which  year  he  removed 
with  his  family  to  Wichita,  Kansas,  which  city  was  then 
experiencing  an  extensive  boom,  and  where  he  had 
lis  full  share  of  the  many  building  contracts  that  were 
being  left.  A number  of  the  structures  erected  by  him 
till  stand  as  monuments  to  his  skill  and  honest  work- 
nanship.  In  1900,  Mr.  Wilhite  removed  to  Alva,  Okla- 
homa, where  he  purchased  city  property,  and  here  con- 
inued  to  make  his  home  until  his  death,  which  occurred 
luly  6,  1906.  Soon  after  coming  to  Alva,  Mr.  Wilhite 
leeame  recognized  as  a progressive  citizen,  who  stood 
for  the  strict  enforcement  of  the  law  and  took  a keen 
nterest  in  the  town’s  advancement,  and  in  1903  and  1904 
vas  elected  police  judge,  a position  in  which  he  fully 
indicated  the  trust  and  confidence  reposed  in  him.  He 


was  a member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows, 
as  well  as  of  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic,  and  never 
lost  interest  in  the  welfare  of  his  old  army  comrades. 
Throughout  his  life  he  remained  true  to  the  teachings 
of  the  Christian  Church.  Mr.  Wilhite  was  married  in 
1864  to  Mary  P.  Maupin,  who  was  born  October  20, 
1843,  in  Virginia,  and  died  at  Alva,  Oklahoma,  Decem- 
ber 25,  1908.  She  was  an  active  worker  in  the  move- 
ments of  the  Christian  Church,  was  a woman  of  many 
excellencies  of  mind  and  heart,  and  her  memory  is  still 
revered  by  those  who  knew  her.  Pour  daughters  and 
three  sons  were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wilhite,  namely : 
Fannie  L.,  Paschal  E.,  Ollie  B.,  Hubert  R.,  Logan  A., 
Lilia  M.  and  Bertha  C. 

Logan  A.  Wilhite  was  eight  years  of  age  when  the 
family  moved  to  Wichita,  Kansas,  and  there,  in  the  public 
schools,  he  completed  his  education.  He  was  fifteen  years 
of  age  at  the  time  he  began  to  learn  the  trade  of  printer, 
starting  in  tile  lowly  position  of  “devil”  in  the  office 
of  the  Hazelton  Express,  at  Hazelton,  Kansas,  his 
brother-in-law,  W.  P.  Hatfield,  being  the  publisher  of 
that  newspaper.  Since  that  time  Mr.  Wilhite  has  con- 
tinued to  devote  his  attention  unreservedly  to  the  same 
line  of  business,  although  in  various  localities.  In  1895 
he  came  to  Oklahoma,  locating  at  Taloga,  Dewey 
County,  where  he  became  editor  and  owner  of  the 
Advocate,  but  after  one  year  disposed  of  his  interests 
therein  and  went  to  Higgins,  Texas,  where  he  became 
editor  and  owner  of  the  Higgins  News,  which  he  pub- 
lished for  two  years.  During  one  year  of  this  time  he 
also  served  in  the  capacity  of  postmaster  of  Higgins. 
Returning  to  Oklahoma  in  1898,  Mr.  Wilhite  located  at 
Alva,  where  he  again  associated  himself  with  his  brother- 
in-law,  Mr.  Hatfield,  who  was  publishing  the  Pioneer, 
Mr.  Wilhite  being  made  foreman  of  the  plant  and  re- 
maining as  such  until  March  16,  1911,  when  he  began 
the  publication  of  the  Morning  Times,  the  first  morning 
newspaper  to  be  published  at  Alva.  This  was  conducted 
by  the  firm  of  Eubank  & Wilhite  until  1914,  when  Mr. 
Wilhite  disposed  of  his  interests  in  it  and  returned  to 
the  Daily  Pioneer,  as  foreman  of  the  plant,  this  publi- 
cation now  being  owned  and  edited  by  W.  D.  Wilkinson. 
Mr.  Wilhite  has  had  broad  and  varied  experience  in 
his  work,  and  is  considered  a thorough  master  of  the  art 
of  printing.  He  is  a republican  in  his  political  views, 
but  has  never  sought  public  office,  with  the  exception  of 
his  year  as  postmaster  in  Texas,  under  the  administration 
of  the  late  President  McKinley. 

Mr.  Wilhite  was  married  April  22,  1897,  to  Miss  Edna 
M.  Elder,  who  was  born  June  16,  1878,  at  Slater,  Mis- 
souri, daughter  of  A.  J.  and  Elizabeth  (McMahan) 
Elder,  of  that  city.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wilhite  have  three 
children:  Logan  Errol,  born  July  6,  1898;  Gerald  A., 

born  June  24,  1903;  and  Daniel  Calvin,  born  June  4, 
1908. 

Mr.  Wilhite  is  an  actjve.  member  of  the  Christian 
Church  and  graduated  with  a class  of  nine  in  Standard 
Bible  work  in  1916. 

Hon.  Jesse  Albert  Baker.  While  most  of  the  early 
settlers  of  Oklahoma  were  young  men,  some  left  behind 
them  the  record  of  a successful  experience  in  order  to 
join  their  fortunes  with  the  new  frontier  country.  Among 
these  was  Jesse  Albert  Baker,  who  after  fifteen  years  of 
influential  membership  in  the  Georgia  bar  identified 
himself  with  Oklahoma  in  1893.  As  was  to  be  expected 
he  soon  took  a prominent  part  in  the  new  territory,  and 
has  maintained  a position  of  leadership  down  to  the 
present  time. 

For  a number  of  years  Mr.  Baker  has  been  a resident 
of  Wewoka,  enjoys  a large  practice  as  a lawyer  and 


1922 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


has  many  business  interests,  and  has  been  prominent  in 
politics.  " He  was  a member  of  the  Constitutional  Con- 
vention from  his  section  of  old  Indian  Territory. 

Representing  an  old  and  honored  name  in  Georgia, 
he  was  born  in  Bartow  County  May  9,  1853,  a son  of 
Jesse  and  Parthenia  (Moss)  Baker.  His  grandfather, 
Charles  Baker,  a native  of  Virginia,  served  with  gal- 
lantry in  the  war  of  the  Revolution  and  was  under  the 
command  of  Thomas  Marshall.  He  fought  both  at 
Cowpens  and  Kings  Mountain  in  the  southern  campaign 
and  was  wounded  at  the  Kings  Mountain  fight.  He  died 
in  Cass,  now  Bartow  County,  Georgia,  and  was  the  ‘only 
Revolutionary  soldier  buried  in  that  county,  and  a few 
years  ago  the  Daughters  of  the  American  Revolution 
marked  his  grave  with  a suitable  memorial.  He  lived 
in  South  Carolina  for  some  years,  and  in  that  state  his 
son,  Jesse,  was  born  in  1800,  but  when  quite  young 
went  to  Georgia,  where  both  Charles  and  Jesse  Baker 
became  prominent  planters  and  slave  owners.  Jesse 
Baker  died  in  Bartow  County  in  1871.  His  wife,  Miss 
Moss,  was  born  in  Habersham  County,  Georgia,  in  1809, 
and  died  in  1887.  In  their  family  were  fourteen  chil- 
dren, twelve  of  whom  reached  maturity,  and  three  are 
now  living:  Fannie  C.,  wife  of  James  W.  Rich  of 

McCurtain,  Oklahoma;  Dr.  Thomas  H.,  of  Cartersville, 
Bartow  County,  Georgia;  and  Jesse  A.,  who  was  next 
to  the  youngest  of  the  children. 

Jesse  A.  Baker  lived  in  his  native  County  of  Bartow, 
Georgia,  until  September,  1893,  when  he  arrived  at 
Guthrie,  Oklahoma.  He  spent  his  early  boyhood  on  a 
Georgia  plantation,  and  in  1875  graduated  A.  B.  from 
the  University  of  Georgia,  and  then  became  a student 
in  the  law  department  of  Cumberland  University  at 
Lebanon,  Tennessee,  where  he  finished  his  course  in 
1877.  He  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  September,  1877, 
and  the  Supreme  Court  of  Georgia  admitted  him  to 
practice  in  all  the  state  courts  on  November  27,  1878. 
During  the  next  sixteen  years  he  succeeded  in  building 
up  a large  practice  in  his  home  state  and  on  moving  to 
Guthrie  in  1893  he  practiced  law  with -Dick  T.  Morgan 
and  Judge  J.  L.  Pancoast.  He  also  acquired  extensive 
farming  interests  in  Pottawatomie  County,  and  in  1901 
he  took  part  as  a new  settler  in  the  southwestern  dis- 
trict of  Oklahoma,  locating  at  Lawton,  in  Comanche 
County.  There  he  practiced  law  for  several  years  and 
on  April  1,  1905,  moved  to  Wewoka,  which  has  since 
been  his  home. 

His  public  career  is  worthy  of  special  record.  He 
has  always  been  a loyal  democrat.  In  1882-83  he  served 
as  clerk  of  the  Judiciary  Committee  of  the  Georgia 
State  Senate.  In  1897  he  was  assistant  chief  clerk  of 
the  Oklahoma  Territorial  Council,  and  had  also  served 
for  a time  as  acting  city  attorney  of  Guthrie.  In  1895 
he  made  the  race  against  Judge  Hainer  for  city  attorney 
of  Guthrie,  and  in  1902  was  a candidate  against  Jacob 
Hammond  for  city  attorney  of  Lawton.  In  1906  he  was 
elected  from  District  No.  81,  comprising  the  Seminole 
Nation  and  a part  of  the  Creek  Nation,  as  a delegate 
to  the  Constitutional  Convention.  He  was  one  of  the 
influential  men  in  the  convention,  and  he  has  in  his 
possession  one  of  the  historic  documents  pertaining  to 
the  work  of  that  body.  This  is  the  original  call  for  a 
democratic  caucus  to  select  a democratic  candidate  for 
president  of  the  convention.  This  call  was  written  by 
Mr.  Baker  himself,  and  is  signed  by  nearly  all  the 
democratic  delegates,  including  C.  N.  Haskell,  who  was 
the  first  governor  of  Oklahoma,  and  R.  L.  Williams,  the 
present  governor.  In  1907  Mr.  Baker  was  candidate  for 
district  judge  at  the  primaries,  that  being  the  first  pri- 
maries held  after  statehood.  Out  of  a vote  of  10,000 
he  lost  the  nomination  by  only  180.  The  district  com- 


prised the  counties  of  Seminole,  Pontotoc,  Coal,  Atoka 
and  Johnson. 

Mr.  Baker  now  has  a large  amount  of  farming  land 
which  requires  his  supervision  and,  as  already  mentioned, 
in  the  early  days  he  had  a large  farm  in  Pottawatomie 
County  on  the  North  Canadian  River.  He  is  a member 
of  the  Oklahoma  Bar  Association,  and  he  and  his  family 
are  Episcopalians.  On  June  5,  1878,  he  married  Miss 
Jeannie  Bacon,  who  was  born  at  LaGrange,  Georgia,  in 
1858.  Her  father,  Thomas  J.  Bacon,  served  as  a captain 
in  the  Confederate  army  and  was  killed  at  the  battle  of 
Seven  Pines.  The  Bacons  are  among  the  oldest  and 
most  prominent  families  of  Georgia.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Baker  have  two  children.  Lucy  Bacon,  who  is  now  a 
student  in  the  East  Central  State  Normal  at  Ada;  and 
George  Merriweather,  at  home.  They  also  have  an 
adopted  daughter,  Beatrice,  now  the  wife  of  J.  V. 
Thomas  of  Canton,  Georgia. 

Miss  Lucy  Baker,  the  daughter,  is  a talented  young 
poetess,  and  recently  a paper  read  before  a meeting  of 
the  United  Daughters  of  the  Confederacy  contained 
some  of  her  verses  under  the  title  “Not  Forgotten,” 
which  deserve  to  be  preserved  in  permanent  form.  These 
are:  , 

They  tell  us  to  forget,  they  say 

Our  banner  has  been  furled  and  put  away, 

Our  cause  is  lost  and  all  the  strife,  . 

The  loss  of  home,  the  loss  of  life, 

They  tell  us  to  forget. 

We  know  the  North  and  South  has  been  made  one, 
The  tumult  and  the  call  to  arms  are  done, 

And  now  the  Blue  and  Gray  united  stand, 

To  form  one  world-power,  one  beloved  land, 

But  why  must  we  forget? 


I 


I 

I 

t 

t 

ii 

t 

li 

ti 

I, 

to 

|e 

fr: 


They  do  not  know  who  tell  us  to  forget 
That  blood  of  Southern  sons  flows  in  us  yet, 

That  the  old  Blue  is  hallowed  by  the  Gray, 

That  thoughts  of  those  we  lost  make  dear  today, 
And  we  can  not  forget. 

The  Stars  and  Bars  are  furled  but  loved  the  same, 
And  through  their  bloody  stains  we  love  the  name, 
Of  Stars  and  Stripes,  our  banner  of  today, 

The  old  cause  is  not  lost  but  laid  away; 

So  do  not  say  ‘ ‘ forget.  ’ ’ 


Leslie  Gordon  Niblack.  In  the  career  of  Leslie 
Gordon  Niblack,  of  Guthrie,  there  is  to  be  found  much 
to  instruct  and  encourage  the  youths  who  are  forced  to 
start  out  in  life  entirely  on  their  own  resources.  When, 
more  than  twenty  years  ago,  he  first  came  to  this  city, 
he  had  little  to  aid  him  save  a little  experience  in; 
newspaper  work,  a willingness  and  ability  to  perform! 
cheerfully  and  well  whatever  work  came  to  his  hands, 
and  a consuming  ambition  to  make  a name  and  place' 
for  himself  in  the  field  of  journalism.  With  these  assets: 
he  started  sturdily  in  to  make  his  way,  and  through  theiii 
possession  he  has  advanced  steadily  to  a leading  position 
among  Oklahoma  newspaper  men  and  in  public  anc 
political  life. 

Mr.  Niblack  was  born  at  Evansville,  Indiana,  October 
1,  1876,  and  received  his  education  in  the  public  schooli 
of  Louisville,  Kentucky,  and  Roelcport,  Indiana,  and  a 
the  state  university,  at  Bloomington,  Indiana.  As  : 
lad  of  fifteen  years  he  worked  in  vacation  periods  on  th 
Louisville  Courier- Journal,  as  a cub  reporter,  where  hi 
taste  for  journalism  was  whetted  and  where  he  deteri 
mined  upon  this  profession  as  his  life  work.  Before  h 
was  eighteen  years  old  he  worked  on  newspapers  at  SI 
Louis  and  Carthage,  Missouri.  Mr.  Niblack  located  a 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1923 


Guthrie  in  1894  and  began  work  as  a reporter  on  the 
Daily  Leader,  which  had  been  established  two  years 
before  by  politicians.  Within  one  year  he  was  in  full 
charge  of  the  paper,  which  for  a number  of  years  had 
hard  sledding,  it  being  a democratic  paper  in  a strong 
republican  city,  the  territorial  capital.  Mr.  Niblack  put 
all  of  his  energy  into  his  work.  He  labored  night  and 
day,  often  without  pay,  when  the  ‘ ‘ ghost  refused  to 
walk.  ’ ’ Little  by  little  he  acquired  an  interest  in  the 
Leader  plant,  which  at  that  time  was  one  of  the  most 
pretentious  in  the  state.  In  1902  he  acquired  full  pos- 
session of  the  Leader  property,  the  daily  and  weekly, 
the  job  department  and  the  book  bindery.  As  president 
of  the  Leader  Printing  Company  he  increased  the  equip- 
ment and  business,  bought  the  Leader  Building,  and  did 
a large  volume  of  business  with  the  various  counties  of 
the  territory. 

During  all  this  time  Mr.  Niblack  was  active  in  politics, 
serving  successively  as  city  and  county  chairman  of 
the  democratic  central  committees,  as  acting  democratic 
national  committeeman  for  the  territory,  and  as  delegate 
to  the  presidential  conventions.  In  1905  he  served  in 
the  Oklahoma  Senate  and  was  minority  leader  of  that 
body.  Mr.  Niblack ’s  campaign  for  the  Senate  was  the 
most  sensational  ever  held  in  the  territory.  He  elected 
the  entire  county  and  district  democratic  ticket  and  was 
himself  elected  by  a majority  of  614  in  a district  which 
two  years  before  had  been  carried  by  a republican  by 
3,900  majority.  On  two  occasions  Mr.  Niblack  refused 
to  become  the  democratic  candidate  for  Congress,  hold- 
ing that  a newspaper  man  should  not  run  for  office,  but 
in  1912,  reluctantly  yielding  to  the  importunities  of  his 
friends,  ran  for  congressman  at  large  in  a field  of  fifteen 
candidates  with  three  to  be  elected.  He  was  the  fourth 
man  in  the  race,  which  he  entered  only  three  weeks  before 
the  primary  election. 

The  Leader  is  the  oldest  democratic  paper  in  Oklahoma 
and  has  been  under  one  continuous  management  longer 
than  any  other  daily  in  the  state.  It  took  the  lead  in 
the  fight  for  statehood.  When  the  Leader  was  made  the 
official  organ  of  the  constitutional  convention  convened 
at  Guthrie,  in  1906,  the  Leader  Printing  Company  did  all 
the  printing  for  the  convention,  the  bill  amounting  to 
nearly  $50,000.  There  was  no  appropriation  to  pay  this 
by  the  government,  and  Mr.  Niblack  was  forced  to  wait 
two  years  for  his  money  or  until  the  constitution  had 
been  carried  and  the  first  Legislature  met.  Mr.  Niblack 
served  on  the  state  committee  which  waged  the  campaign 
for  the  adoption  of  the  constitution,  and  the  Leader  did 
the  printing  for  the  first  and  second  legislatures.  One 
year  after  statehood  Mr.  Niblack  was  offered  $175,000 
for  his  plant  at  Guthrie. 

Mr.  Niblack  has  been  identified  with  all  the  business, 
industrial  and  social  interests  of  Guthrie  and  of  the  state. 
He  is  recognized  as  a forceful  and  successful  newspaper 
man.  On  November  16,  1908,  he  administered  the  oath 
of  office  to  the  state’s  first  governor,  Hon.  Charles  N. 
Haskell,  on  the  steps  of  the  Carnegie  Library  at  Guthrie. 
At  the  request  of  Governor-elect  Haskell,  Mr.  Niblack 
took  out  a commission  as  notary  public  in  order  to 
administer  the  oath.  He  has  served  two  terms  as  presi- 
dent of  the  Oklahoma  Press  Association,  and  has  been 
also  vice  president  of  the  National  Editorial  Association 
and  a director  of  the  Oklahoma  State  Historical  Society. 
He  is  a Scottish  Rite  Mason  of  the  thirty-second  degree, 
K.  C.  C.  H. ; served  two  terms  as  exalted  ruler  of  Guthrie 
Lodge  No.  426,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks, 
of  which  he  is  a life  member;  and  holds  membership  in 
the  Shrine,  the  Knights  of  Pythias  Lodge,  the  Country 
Club  the  several  other  clubs  and  organizations  of 
Guthrie  and  the  state.  With  his  wife  he  belongs  to  the 
Presbyterian  Church.  While  Mr.  Niblack  has  a beautiful 


and  comfortable  home  at  Guthrie,  he  believes  in  seeing 
how  others  live,  and  during  three  months  of  each  year 
accompanies  his  family  on  long  trips  in  this  country  and 
abroad. 

Mr.  Niblack  was  married  March  31,  1909,  to  Miss 
Prances  Haskell,  daughter  of  Governor  Charles  N.  Has- 
kell, and  to  this  union  there  has  been  born  one  child,  a 
daughter,  October  26,  1911.  This  marriage  was  an 
elaborate  state  affair,  held  in  the  capitol  building,  with 
all  the  state  officials  attending,  and  Chief  Justice  M.  J. 
Kane  officiating. 

Manly  E.  Michaelson  is  one  of  the  successful 
younger  lawyers  of  Bartlesville,  where  he  has  been  in 
practice  since  1910,  and  his  business  and  professional 
interests  have  particularly  identified  him  with  the  oil 
and  gas  industry  in  this  section  of  the  state. 

He  was  born  in  Jackson  County,  Iowa,  March  13,  1881, 
a son  of  George  C.  and  Nancy  Jane  (Mann)  Michael- 
son. His  father  was  born  in  the  Province  of  Schleswig- 
Holstein,  Germany,  in  1850,  and  was  about  eighteen 
years  of  age  when  he  came  to  America.  He  made  his 
way  to  Iowa,  where  he  married  Miss  Mann,  who  was 
born  in  Jackson  County,  Iowa,  in  1857.  After  their 
marriage  they  lived  in  that  state  until  November,  1881, 
when  they  removed  to  Elk  County,  Kansas.  George  C. 
Michaelson  became  a quite  successful  farmer  and  stock 
raiser  in  Kansas,  and  he  and  his  wife  now  reside  at 
Baldwin,  Kansas,  enjoying  the  rewards  of  their  former 
years  of  toil.  They  were  the  parents  of  four  sons  and 
one  daughter. 

The  second  in  the  family,  Manly  E.  Michaelson  was 
taken  to  Kansas  when  an  infant,  and  he  grew  up  on 
the  old  homestead  near  Moline  in  Elk  County.  The  rural 
schools  supplied  his  early  education  and  in  1898  he 
graduated  from  the  high  school  at  Moline.  Soon  after- 
wards, at  the  age  of  seventeen,  he  enlisted  as  a private 
in  Company  P of  the  Twenty-first  Kansas  Volunteer  In- 
fantry for  service  in  the  Spanish- American  war.  He  was 
with  that  regiment  about  seven  months,  being  stationed 
at  the  Reserve  Military  Camp  at  Chiekamauga  Park  and 
afterwards  was  in  Kentucky  and  Kansas  until  receiving 
his  honorable  discharge. 

Following  this  incident  of  his  earlier  career,  he  spent 
one  year  in  the  Kansas  State  Normal  School  at  Emporia 
and  for  one  term  he  taught  school.  He  was  a railway 
locomotive  fireman  until  February,  1902,  and  with  his 
savings  from  that  work  entered  the  law  department  of 
the  University  of  Kansas  at  Lawrence,  where  he  was 
graduated  LL.  B.  in  1905.  At  intervals  during  his  law 
course  he  had  continued  railroad  work  and  even  after 
his  admission  to  the  bar  he  followed  such  employment 
until  1907.  In  that  year  he  set  up  in  private  practice 
at  Beloit,  Kansas,  and  from  there  in  January,  1910, 
moved  to  Bartlesville,  Oklahoma.  For  several  years  he 
was  associated  with  the  well  known  law  firm  of  Brennan 
& Kane,  but  he  is  now  alone  in  practice,  and  as  attorney 
represents  several  of  the  larger  oil  and  gas  companies 
of  the  northern  part  of  the  state. 

Politically  'he  is  a progressive,  is  a member  of  the 
Oklahoma  State  Bar  Association,  is  affiliated  with  the 
Masonic  Order,  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of 
Elks  and  with  the  Brotherhood  of  Locomotive  Engineers. 
Mr.  Michaelson  is  unmarried. 

Joseph  E.  Wi-iitenton.  Among  the  men  contributed 
to  the  citizenship  of  Oklahoma  by  the  State  of  Tennessee 
and  who  have  won  enviable  and  prominent  positions  in 
business  and  financial  life,  is  found  Joseph  E.  Whitenton, 
president  of  the  Citizens  Bank,  of  Henryetta,  Okmulgee 
County.  Mr.  Whitenton ’s  salient  characteristics  are 
determination,  diligence  and  keen  sagacity,  and  upon 


1924 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


these  lie  has  builded  his  prosperity,  and  with  them  has 
won  a high  and  well  merited  measure  of  success. 

Mr.  Whitenton  was  born  in  Madison  County,  Tennes- 
see, January  21,  1882,  and  is  a son  of  L.  E.  and  Cordelia 
(Sammons)  Whitenton.  His  father,  a native  of  Mad- 
ison County,  Tennessee,  where  he  was  reared  on  a farm 
and  educated.  As  a young  man  he  engaged  in  a variety 
of  pursuits,  being  for  many  years  a farmer  of  Madison 
County,  but  eventually  removed  to  Hardeman  County, 
Tennessee,  where  he  is  now  the  proprietor  of  a hotel  at 
Bolivar.  They  are  stable,  substantial  people  of  their 
community,  holding  the  respect  and  esteem  of  all  who 
know  them.  Of  their  six  children,  five  still  survive. 

Joseph  E.  Whitenton  was  granted  the  advantages  to 
be  secured  in  the  log  district  school  house  during  his 
youth,  and  later,  for  a time,  attended  high  school.  He 
was  reared  on  his  father’s  farm,  was  brought  up  to  be 
industrious,  honest  and  painstaking,  and  in  1900,  decid- 
ing to  seek  his  fortune  in  the  West,  came  to  Oklahoma. 
He  first  settled  at  Shawnee,  where  he  secured  employ- 
ment as  clerk  and  bookkeeper  in  a grocery  store,  and 
later  transferred  his  services  to  a hardware  store,  where 
he  acted  in  the  same  capacity.  On  January  1,  1907,  he 
became  a traveling  representative  of  a wholesale  hard- 
ware company,  and  for  more  than  six  years  remained  on 
the  road,  selling  hardware  in  different  parts  of  Oklahoma, 
but  April  2,  1913,  turned  his  attention  to  banking  when 
he  became  the  organizer  and  founder  of  the  Guaranty 
State  Bank  of  Henryetta,  of  which  concern  he  acted  as 
president.  On  January  1,  1915,  this  bank  was  consoli- 
dated with  the  Citizens  Bank,  of  which  Mr.  Whitenton  has 
since  been  president,  the  other  officials  being:  W.  L. 
Sullins,  vice  president;  T.  E.  Keggin,  cashier;  and  E.  J. 
Kersting,  assistant  cashier.  This  is  the  only  bank  at 
Henryetta  with  a savings  department, . and  its  deposits 
are  protected  by  the  Depositors  Guaranty  Fund  of  the 
State  of  Oklahoma.  A statement  of  its  condition,  as 
given  March  7,  1916,  follows: 

Resources : Loans  and  discounts,  $171,645.44;  bonds 
and  warrants,  $19,251.41;  overdrafts,  $612.41;  furniture 
and  fixtures,  $3,500;  other  real  estate,  $3,002.68;  cash 
and  sight  exchange,  $51,515.21 ; total,  $249,527.15. 

Liabilities:  Capital,  $25,000;  surplus  and  undivided 
profits,  $5,636.60;  reserved  for  taxes,  $618.78;  deposits, 
$218,271.77 ; total,  $249,527.15.  The  Citizens  Bank  now 
has  a large  patronage  and  is  considered  one  of  the  sound 
and  substantial  institutions  of  this  part  of  the  state. 
Mr.  Whitenton  maintains  a sound  and  conservative  policy 
that  has  won  public  confidence,  but  at  the  same  time  his 
methods  are  progressive.  He  is  also  a director  in  the 
Guaranty  State  Bank  of  Muskogee.  Aside  from  his 
banking  connections  Mr.  Whitenton  is  largely  interested 
in  coal,  oil  and  gas  lands  in  Oklahoma.  He  is  treas- 
urer of  the  Henryetta  & Western  Railroad,  an  electric 
line  which  is  being  built  to  connect  all  the  towns  of  this 
thriving  mining  community,  and  of  which  he  was  one  of 
the  organizers.  He  is  a democrat  in  his  political  views, 
is  chairman  of  the  election  board  of  Okmulgee  County, 
and  has  served  one  term  as  a member  of  the  council. 
Fraternally,  he  is  a thirty-second  degree  Mason  and  a 
member  of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks. 
A typical  Oklahoman,  wide  awake,  alert  and  enterpris- 
ing, he  has  carried  forward  to  successful  completion  what- 
ever enterprise  he  has  undertaken  and  has  made  oppor- 
tunity for  advancement  if  none  has  seemed  to  exist.  Thus 
he  has  continued  to  work  his  way  upward  and  already 
has  attained  a very  creditable  and  enviable  position  in 
business  and  financial  circles  of  Okmulgee  County. 

Mr.  Whitenton  was  married  in  1911  to  Miss  Fay 
Sacra,  daughter  of  James  Sacra,  a cattleman  of  Texas 


and  Oklahoma,  Mrs.  Whitenton  being  a native  of  the 
former  state.  They  have  one  child:  Peggy,  aged  three 
years. 

Ira  T.  Smith,  M.  D.,  a prominent  physician  and 
surgeon  at  LaKemp,  was  one  of  the  pioneers  of  Okla- 
homa, having  come  to  the  state  at  the  time  of  the  opening 
of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  more  than  twenty  years  ago.  For 
many  years  .he  has  enjoyed  a high  standing  in  his 
profession  and  also  in  business  affairs,  and  success  has 
come  to  him  as  a reward  for  much  earnest  and  hard 
labor  during  his  younger  -years. 

He  was  born  November  3,  1868,  in  a log  house  on  a 
farm  in  Sullivan  County,  Missouri.  His  parents  were 
John  E.  and  Nancy  F.  (Sipes)  Smith.  His  father  was 
born  in  Ireland,  emigrated  to  America  with  his  parents 
in  1829,  the  family  locating  in  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania, 
and  there  as  a young  man  he  became  a structural  iron 
worker.  He  was'  born  in  1827  and  he  died  in  Portland, 
Oregon,  in  1904.  He  was  one  of  the  loyal  natives  of 
Ireland  who  fought  for  the  integrity  of  the  Union 
during  the  Civil  war.  He  served  as  a private  in  Com- 
pany E of  an  Iowa  cavalry  and  went  through  the  entire 
struggle  with  credit.  His  wife  was  born  in  1830  in 
Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania,  and  died  at  Yici,  Oklahoma,  in 
1914.  She  was  a lifelong  member  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church.  These  worthy  people  became  the 
parents  of  fourteen  children,  Robert,  John  S.,  Ephraim 
S.,  Margaret,  Joseph  G.,  Harriet  Jane,  James  F.  N., 
Daniel  M.,  Nancy  E.,  William  T.,  Henry  B.,  Ira  T.,  Lena 
Belle,  and  Martha,  the  last  two  being  now  deceased. 

The  first  temple  of  learning  Doctor  Smith  attended 
was  a log  school  house  in  Sullivan  County,  Missouri. 
This  instruction  was  interspersed  with  such  work  as  his 
strength  permitted  him  to  perform  on  his  father’s  farm. 
Being  one  of  a large  family  of  children,  he  had  the 
serious  responsibilities  of  life  early  thrust  upon  him. 
In  1881  he  left  home  and  went  out  to  Nebraska,  which 
was  then  a frontier  state,  and  from  there  in  1884  moved 
to  Kiowa,  Kansas.  There  he  entered  the  drug  business, 
studied  pharmacy  and  also  carried  on  his  readings  in 
medicine. 

In  1893  Doctor  Smith  took  part  in  the  opening  of 
the  Cherokee  Strip,  and  though  failing  to  secure  a claim 
in  the  strip  he  secured  one  in  Dewey  County  in  the  old 
Cheyenne  and  Arapahoe  country.  For  a number  of  years 
he  devoted  himself  to  his  arduous  duties  as  a country 
practitioner  in  Dewey  and  Ellis  counties,  but  in  1913 
removed  to  Beaver  County  and  bought  a drug  store  in 
the  new  town  of  LaKemp.  He  has  a good  business  as  a 
druggist,  and  also  has  a widely  extended  and  profitable 
practice  as  a physician.  Doctor  Smith  is  a member  of 
the  Oklahoma  Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medical 
Association,  and  is  a thirty-second  degree  Scottish  Rite 
Mason,  being  a member  of  the  Consistory  No.  1 at 
Guthrie.  He  is  a charter  member  and  was  the  first 
noble  grand  of  Fay  Lodge,  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows,  at  Fay,  Oklahoma.  His  church  is  the  Presby- 
terian. 

On  December  24,  1889,  in  Sedgwick  County,  Kansas, 
Doctor  Smith  married  Miss  Minnie  Adella  Halsey,  who 
was  born  in  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  September  16,  1869. 
To  their  marriage  have  been  born  five  children,  three 
daughters  and  two  sons:  Yerga  M.,  born  November  18, 
1892,  now  the  wife  of  G.  F.  Partridge,  a farmer  at 
LaKemp;  John  Henry,  born  April  29,  1901;  Lura  Rose, 
born  May  29,  1904;  Georgia  Lillian,  born  November  29, 
1906;  and  Ira,  born  October  25,  1909. 

Kenneth  Rogers.  This  is  a name  which  will  always 
have  prominent  association  with  that  section  of  Osage 


•a 

e 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1925 


County  where  the  Village  of  Wynona  is  now  located.  The 
land  of  the  townsite  was  originally  owned  by  Kenneth 
Rogers,  who  has  spent  all  his  life  in  the  Osage  country, 
and  for  a number  of  years  has  been  looking  after  his 
extensive  interests  as  a farmer,  stock  raiser,  and  fruit 
grower  in  that  vicinity.  He  is  a business  man  of  judg- 
ment and  enterprise,  and  his  public  spirit  has  been 
reflected  in  his  varied  activities  and  relations  with 
the  community  where  he  now  lives. 

On  a farm  thirty  miles  east  of  the  present  Town  of 
Wynona  Kenneth  Rogers  was  born  November  10,  1879, 
a son  of  Antoine  and  Elizabeth  (Carpenter)  Rogers, 
both  of  whom  were  born  in  the  Cherokee  Nation.  The 
mother  was  a white  woman  while  in  the  veins  of 
Antoine  Rogers  flows  a mixture  of  Cherokee  and  Osage 
Indian  blood,  and  also  of  French  and  English.  After 
their  marriage  Antoine  Rogers  and  wife  moved  to  the 
Osage  country  about  1875,  and  have  lived  at  Wynona 
for  the  past  twenty-five  years.  He  has  extensive 
interests  as  a rancher  and  farmer,  but  has  lived  retired 
from  active  business  for  the  past  two  years.  Antoine 
Rogers  married  the  widow  of  his  twin  brother,  Joseph, 
who  died  leaving  three  children:  Jasper,  of  Pawhuska; 

Minerva,  who  married  Arthur  Rogers,  and  both  are  now 
deceased,  leaving  five  children;  and  Louis  A.,  of  Wynona. 
The  six  children  of  Antoine  Rogers  are:  Eva,  wife  of 

Elmer  Wheeler;  Kenneth;  Annie,  wife  of  C.  R.  Clewein 
of  Pawhuska ; Ora,  deceased  wife  of  J.  A.  Owens ; May, 
living  at  home  with  her  parents;  and  Viola,  wife  of 
F.  M.  Watson,  and  they  now  live  on  the  old  Rogers 
homestead  at  Wynona. 

While  growing  to  manhood  Kenneth  Rogers  acquired 
an  education  in  the  Osage  schools,  and  from  an  early 
age  has  had  abundant  opportunity  to  test  his  ability 
and  enterprise  in  the  varied  relations  of  farmer,  stock- 
man  and  fruit  grower.  He  and  his  children  own  and 
control  1,800  acres  of  land  in  the  vicinity  of  Wynona, 
and  he  has  one  of  the  best  peach  orchards  in  this  sec- 
tion of  the  state,  its  crop  in  1915  totaling  about  3,000 
bushels.  It  was  in  1907  that  Mr.  Rogers  sold  a portion 
of  his  land  for  the  townsite  of  Wynona,  and  in  that 
year  built  the  finest  residence  in  the  town  for  his  own 
home.  The  year  1914  Mr.  Rogers  spent  in  California 
with  his  family. 

In  1903  he  married  Miss  Ida  Murphy,  who  was  born 
in  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  December  9,  1879,  lived  there 
until  eighteen,  and  then  came  to  the  Osage  country 
with  her  parents,  D.  L.  and  Margaret  (Campbell) 
Murphy.  Her  father  was  born  in  Richmond,  Virginia, 
of  Irish  parentage,  and  he  acquired  his  education  in 
Yale  University.  He  was  a cattleman  and  later  in  life 
for  a number  of  years  an  oil  prospector,  and  died  at 
the  home  of  his  daughter,  Mrs.  Rogers,  in  1906,  at  the 
age  of  eighty-two.  Her  mother  was  a native  of  Rich- 
mond, Virginia,  but  of  Irish  parents,  and  she  now  lives 
part  of  the  time  in  California  and  part  of  the  time  in 
Dakota.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Rogers  have  two  children: 
Helen,  born  December  9,  1903;  and  Antoine.  Jr.,  born 
July  20,  1905,  who  is  named  for  his  Grandfather  Rogers, 
being  the  only  grandson.  Mr.  Rogers  is  a member  of 
the  Knights  of  Pythias  lodge  of  Pawhuska. 

Andrew  Gregg  Curtin  Bierer.  Since  the  first  open- 
ing of  Oklahoma,  April  22,  1889,  Andrew  Gregg  Curtin 
Bierer  has  been  a strong  and  active  member  of  the  legal 
fraternity  of  the  state,  and  during  this  time  has  been 
connected  as  counsel  with  some  of  the  most  important 
litigation  brought  before  the  state  and  federal  courts. 
He  has  won  substantial  recognition  of  his  fine  legal 
talents,  his  fidelity  to  professional  duties,  and  his  careful 
conservation  of  all  interests  confided  to  his  care,  and  on 


several  occasions  has  been  called  to  public  offices  of 
importance  and  trust. 

Mr.  Bierer  is  a Pennsylvanian  by  nativity,  born  at 
Uniontown,  Fayette  County,  October  24,  1862,  and  is  a 
son  of  Colonel  Everard  and  Ellen  (Smouse)  Bierer, 
natives  of  the  Keystone  State  and  descendants  of  German 
ancestors  who  emigrated  to  this  country  at  an  early  date 
in  Pennsylvania ’s  history  and  located  in  the  German 
settlement  of  Fayette  County.  There  Col.  Everard  Bierer 
was  born  in  February,  1827.  He  was  granted  excellent 
educational  advantages,  and  on  graduating  from  college 
became  a lawyer,  and  in  1848,  when  but  twenty-one 
years  of  age,  was  elected  the  first  district  attorney  of 
Fayette  County.  He  continued  to  be  actively  engaged  in 
the  practice  of  law  until  the  outbreak  of  the  war  between 
the  states,  at  which  time,  an  ardent  Union  sympathizer, 
he  organized  a company  of  which  he  served  as  captain. 
After  being  severely  wounded  in  the  fierce  engagement 
at  South  Mountain  he  was  transferred  to  the  One  Hun- 
dred and  Seventy -first  Regiment,  Pennsylvania  Veteran 
Reserve  Corps,  of  which  he  became  colonel,  and  during  the 
later  part  of  the  war  was  placed  in  command  of  a division 
which  participated  in  engagements  in  North  Carolina. 
While  still  in  the  field  Colonel  Bierer  was  made  one  of  the 
Lincoln  electors  from  his  home  community  in  Pennsyl- 
vania. With  an  honorable  record  for  gallant  and  faith- 
ful service  he  received  his  honorable  discharge  at  the 
close  of  the  war,  and,  after  a short  stay  at  home,  in  1865 
removed  to  Brown  County,  Kansas.  There  he  not  only 
became  recognized  as  a thorough  and  resourceful  lawyer, 
but  as  being  made  of  legislative  timber,  and  in  1867 
he  was  sent  to  the  Kansas  State  Legislature.  In  that 
body  he  was  opposed  to  the  fifteenth  amendment,  against 
which  he  voted,  and  urged  Senator  Ross  to  vote  against 
the  impeachment  of  President  Johnson.  With  the  close 
of  his  political  and  public  services,  he  returned  to  his 
private  practice,  and  continued  to  be  engaged  therein  at 
Hiawatha,  Kansas,  until  his  death,  which  occurred  Decem- 
ber 26,  1910.  Throughout  his  career  Colonel  Bierer ’s 
name  continued  to  be  connected  with  important  events 
and  large  undertakings,  and  few  men  were  better  known 
or  more  highly  esteemed  in  legal  circles  of  Kansas.  He 
was  united  in  marriage  in  1852  with  Miss  Ellen  Smouse, 
who  survived  him  several  years  and  died  May  7,  1913,  at 
Hiawatha,  Kansas,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  six 
sons  and  two  daughters,  namely:  Everard,  Jr.;  Anna; 

Samuel ; Daniel ; Andrew  G.  C. ; Retta ; William,  who  is 
deceased ; and  Bion  B.,  who  is  now  a captain  in  the 
United  States  navy. 

Andrew  G.  C.  Bierer  received  his  early  education  in 
the  public  schools  of  Hiawatha,  Kansas,  following  which 
he  attended  Georgetown  University,  at  Washington,  Dis- 
trict of  Columbia,  where  he  was  graduated  in  1886  with 
the  degree  of  Master  of  Law.  In  that  same  year  he 
took  up  his  residence  and  began  practice  at  Garden  City, 
Kansas,  and  while  residing  there  served  for  two  years 
in  the  capacity  of  city  attorney.  On  April  22,  1889,  at 
the  first  opening  of  Oklahoma,  Mr.  Bierer  came  to  this 
state,  having  decided  that  the  new  community  opened 
up  better  opportunities  for  the  display  of  the  young 
lawyer ’s  abilities  and  talents,  and  from  that  time  to 
the  present,  except  when  in  the  Supreme  Court,  he  has 
carried  on  a large  practice  at  Guthrie.  On  April  22, 
1889,  Mr.  Bierer  and  H.  B.  Kelley  were  appointed  the 
two  members  from  Kansas  on  the  initial  committee,  com- 
posed of  two  members  from  each  state  elected  to 
initiate  the  organization  of  the  provisional  government, 
which  was  subsequently  organized,  laid  out  and  governed 
the  City  of  Guthrie  until  the  organized  act  passed,  May 
2,  1889.  The  judge  made  a speech  out  of  a wagon  at 
the  corner  where  the  Guthrie  Savings  Bank  now  stands 
in  the  heart  of  city  at  that  first  meeting.  He  was  not 


1926 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


long  in  impressing  the  people  of  his  adopted  community 
with  his  abilities,  and  in  1891  was  appointed  city  attor- 
ney, a position  which  he  retained  during  that  and  part 
of  the  following  year.  On  coming  here  he  had  formed 
a partnership  with  John  H.  Cotteral,  under  the  firm  style 
of  Bicrer  & Cotteral,  and  this  firm  remained  in  business 
until  Mr.  Bierer  was  appointed  on  the  Supreme  bench. 
Mr.  Cotteral  at  this  time  is  serving  as  United  States 
judge  for  the  Western  District  of  Oklahoma.  On  Janu- 
ary 8,  1894,  the  late  President  Cleveland  appointed  Mr. 
Bierer  to  the  office  of  associate  justice  of  the  Supreme 
Court  of  Oklahoma,  upon  which  bench  he  served  with 
high  ability,  dignity  and  distinction  until  February  28, 
1898.  He  has  since  devoted  himself  unreservedly  to  the 
duties  of  his  constantly  increasing  practice,  and  has 
earned  the  right  to  be  numbered  among  the  foremost 
men  of  his  calling  practicing  at  Guthrie. 

Mr.  Bierer  is  a thirty-second  degree  Mason,  and  has 
numerous  friends  in  that  fraternity.  As  a citizen  he  has 
taken  an  active  and  leading  part  in  promoting  and  sup- 
porting movements  for  the  public  welfare  and  in  encour- 
aging enterprises  for  good  citizenship  and  educational 
advancement.  He  was  married,  June  26,  1888,  to  Miss 
Nannie  M.  Stamper,  daughter  of  Rev.  J.  N.  Stamper,  a 
well  known  divine  of  Meade,  Kansas.  They  are  the 
parents  of  two  children : Margaretta  Louise,  born  Sep- 

tember 21,  1895;  and  Andrew  Gregg  Curtin,  Jr.,  born 
December  1,  1899. 

Robert  L.  Lawrence,  the  present  city  attorney  of 
Anadarko,  Oklahoma,  has  gained  a position  of  distinc- 
tive priority  as  one  of  the  representative  members  of  the 
bar  of  Caddo  County  and  he  gave  efficient  service  as 
deputy  county  attorney  in  1913  and  1914.  He  has  gained 
success  and  prestige  through  his  own  endeavors  and  thus 
the  more  honor  is  due  him  for  his  earnest  labors  in  his 
exacting  profession  and  for  the  precedence  he  has  gained 
in  his  chosen  vocation. 

A son  of  John  and  Mary  C.  (Hale)  Lawrence,  Robert 
Lee  Lawrence  was  born  in  Hamblin  County,  Tennessee, 
January  1,  1881.  The  founder  of  the  Lawrence  family 
in  America  was  a native  of  Ireland  and  he  settled  in 
Virginia  prior  to  the  War  of  the  Revolution.  James 
Lawrence,  grandfather  of  the  subject  of  this  sketch,  was 
born  in  the  Old  Dominion  commonwealth  and  died  in 
Hamblin  County,  Tennessee,  where  he  was  killed  by 
bushwhackers  during  the  Civil  war.  John  Lawrence  was 
born  in  Virginia  in  1834  and  he  removed  to  Tennessee 
as  a young  man  and  located  on  a farm  in  Hamblin 
County,  where  he  was  also  engaged  in  stockraising. 
He  was  exceedingly  well  educated,  having  taken  degrees 
both  in  law  and  as  a divinity  student.  He  was  a grad- 
uate of  old  Newman  College,  now  known  as  Carson  & 
Newman  College.  He  was  active  as  an  attorney  and  as 
a Baptist  minister  and  his  political  affiliations  were 
with  the  democratic  party.  He  was  summoned  to  the  life 
eternal  in  Hamblin  County,  Tennessee,  in  1890,  aged 
fifty-six  years.  His  wife,  whose  maiden  name  was  Mary 
C.  Hale,  was  born  in  Tennessee  in  1858.  After  the 
death  of  her  husband  she  removed,  with  her  family,  to 
Jefferson  City,  Tennessee,  where  she  still  maintains  her 
home.  The  following  children  were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Lawrence:  John  J.,  an  attorney  by  profession  and 

owner  of  a light  and  power  company  in  his  home  city, 
is  a resident  of  Jefferson  City,  Tennessee;  Mabel  V.  is 
the  wife  of  Rev.  John  F.  Vines,  pastor  of  the  First  Bap- 
tist Church  of  Richmond,  Virginia;  Robert  Lee  is  the 
subject  of  this  review;  Maude  E.  died  at  the  age  of 
twenty-one  years,  unmarried;  and  Estelle  is  the  wife  of 
J.  L.  Wilhoite,  manager  of  the  Chattanooga  Electric 
Light  & Power  Company,  at  Chattanooga,  Tennessee. 

After  completing  the  high-school  course  in  Jefferson 


City,  Tennessee,  Robert  Lee  Lawrence  pursued  an  aca- 
demic and  business  course  in  Carson  & Newman  College, 
finishing  the  latter  course  in  1904.  He  then  farmed  on 
the  old  homestead  in  Hamblin  County,  Tennessee,  for 
three  years,  at  the  expiration  of  which  he  was  matricu- 
lated as  a student  in  Cumberland  University,  in  the  law 
department  of  which  he  was  graduated,  in  1909,  with 
fhe  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Laws.  He  was  admitted  to  the 
bar  in  the  Supreme  Court  of  Tennessee  January  29,  1909, 
and  initiated  the  active  practice  of  his  profession  in 
Jefferson  City,  Tennessee,  remaining  in  that  place  for 
the  ensuing  nine  months.  He  then  went  to  Cisco,  East- 
land  County,  Texas,  where  he  remained  for  three  months, 
coming  thence  to  Anadarko,  Oklahoma,  July  1,  1909. 
Here  he  has  since  maintained  his  home  and  here  he  has 
built  up  a large  general,  civil  and  criminal  law  practice. 
He  was  admitted  to  the  Oklahoma  bar  in  the  fall  of  1909. 
He  was  deputy  county  attorney  in  1913  and  1914  and 
later  was  elected  city  attorney,  his  offices  being  in  the 
city  hall  building.  He  is  a member  of  the  Commissioners 
of  Insanity  for  Caddo  County  and  in  politics  is  a stal- 
wart democrat.  He  is  a Baptist  in  religious  matters 
and  since  his  collegiate  days  has  been  a member  of  the 
Sigma  Alpha  Epsilon  Greek  Letter  Fraternity.  He  is 
broad  minded  in  all  matters  pertaining  to  his  profession 
and  in  private  life  is  genial  and  popular  among  his 
fellow  men. 

Mr.  Lawrence  married  Miss  Bessie  M.  Bettis,  a daugh- 
ter of  J.  E.  Bettis,  a prominent  physician  and  surgeon, 
whose  home  is  in  Cisco,  Texas.  This  union  has  been 
prolific  of  two  children:  Mary  Elizabeth,  born  May  21, 

1910;  and  Robert,  born  December  6,  1913. 

Frank  Haley.  The  entire  career  of  Frank  Haley,  of 
Henryetta,  has  been  devoted  to  operations  in  mining. 
From  the  time  he  was  twelve  years  old  right  .up  to  the 
present  he  has  been  connected  with  one  or  another  form 
of  the  industry,  having  visited  many  of  the  big  fields  in 
this  country,  and  has  steadily  worked  his  way  upward 
from  an  humble  beginning  to  his  present  position  as  mine 
inspector  for  District  No.  3 of  the  State  of  Oklahoma. 
His  success  speaks  volumes  for  his  energy,  industry  and 
steady  perseverance,  for  each  promotion  has  come  because 
he  has  deserved  and  fairly  won  it,  and  not  by  reason  of 
any  favoring  circumstance  or  monetary  or  other  in- 
fluence. 

Mr.  Haley  was  born  in  County  Mayo,  Ireland,  October 
12,  1872,  and  is  a son  of  Frank  and  Winifred  (O’Don- 
ahue)  Haley,  natives  of  the  same  county  in  Erin,  where 
both  families  lived  for  more  than  300  years,  as  testified 
by  the  inscriptions  on  tombstones,  many  of  which  are 
written  in  the  Gaelic.  When  Frank  Haley  was  eight 
years  of  age  the  family  emigrated  to  the  United  States, 
first  locating  at  Boston,  Massachusetts,  and  later  going 
to  Scranton,  Pennsylvania,  where  the  youth  secured  his 
early  education  in  the  public  schools.  While  residing 
there,  as  a lad  of  twelve  years  he  secured  employment  in 
the  mines,  and  continued  to  do  a man’s  work  as  a miner 
until  1886,  when  the  family  changed  their  place  of  resi- 
dence to  the  City  of  Marion,  Ohio.  There  both  of  his 
parents  died,  the  mother  February  17,  1901,  at  sixty- 
three  years  of  age,  and  the  father  in  March,  1906,  when 
he  was  seventy-eight  years  old.  The  father  was  a stone 
cutter  by  trade,  a vocation  which  he  followed  during  the 
greater  part  of  his  active  life.  There  were  five  sons 
and  five  daughters  in  the  family,  and  four  children  are 
now  living. 

After  the  family  located  at  Marion,  Ohio,  Frank  Haley 
of  this  review  bettered  his  educational  training  by  atten- 
dance at  St.  Mary’s  Convent  School.  He  was  nineteen 
years  of  age  when  he  first  came  to  the  West,  joining  a 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1927 


party  that  took  part  in  the  rush  to  the  Cripple  Creek 
diggings  in  Colorado.  After  participation  in  the  excite- 
ment there  he  went  to  Bridgeport,  Texas,  where  for  seven 
years  he  worked  in  the  coal  mines,  and  in  1902  came  to 
Indian  Territory  and  engaged  in  mining  coal  at  Henry- 
etta.  This  he  followed  until  he  was  appointed  mine  in- 
spector by  Peter  Hanretty,  chief  mine  inspector  of  the 
state,  and  later  he  was  elected  inspector  of  Mine  Dis- 
trict No.  3.  In  1914  he  was  reelected  to  this  period  for 
a tern)  of  four  years.  In  Ids  official  capacity  Mr.  Haley 
is  known  as  one  of  the  most  reliable  men  in  this  line  of 
work  in  the  state.  lie  is  aggressive,  but  popular,  and 
has  the  friendship  of  many  of  the  leading  coal  operators 
of  Oklahoma. 

Mr.  Haley  has  been  a lifelong  democrat  and  is  con- 
sidered one  of  his  party’s  influential  men  in  this  section. 
His  fraternal  connection  is  with  the  Benevolent  and  Pro- 
tective Order  of  Elks,  and  since  boyhood  he  has  been  a 
consistent  communicant  of  the  Roman  Catholic  Church. 
He  is  unmarried. 

Ed  L.  Reed.  While  his  time  is  now  principally  devoted 
to  the  real  estate  and  timber  business  at  Hugo,  where 
he  is  head  of  the  firm  of  Reed  & Coffman,  Ed  L.  Reed 
has  had  such  variety  of  experience- in  the  old  Oklahoma 
Territory  and  in  Indian  Territory  as  to  constitute  him 
an  authority  on  many  matters  connected  with  the  de- 
velopment and  political  and  social  life  of  the  country. 

To  start  the  story  of  his  career  when  it  first  touched 
Oklahoma  Mr.  Reed  made  his  first  trip  in  1893  as  a 
participant  in  the  run  at  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee 
Strip.  He  entered  the  Strip  from  Turkey  Creek,  a few 
miles  west  of  Hennessey,  and  secured  a homestead. 
That  run  demonstrated  the  fact  that  the  Cayuse  or  cattle 
pony,  had  far  the  advantage  of  the  blooded  horse  of  the 
east  for  a service  like  that.  Two  extremes  in  methods 
of  obtaining  land  are  in  the  recollections  of  Mr.  Reed. 
Near  him  in  line,  when  thousands  of  men  awaited  the 
firing  of  the  signal  gun  at  the  hour  of  noon,  stood  a 
negro,  unmounted  and  perfectly  composed,  with  a stick 
in  hand.  When  the  gun  fired  the  negro  chanced  being 
killed  by  charging  horses,  and,  remaining  in  his  tracks, 
stooped  forward  and  planted  the  end  of  his  stick  in  the 
ground.  He  thereby  became  possessed  of  a valuable 
claim.  On  the  other  hand  men  slipped  into  the  reserved 
territory  before  the  opening,  in  spite  of  the  United 
States  troopers  on  duty  around  the  border.  When  the 
actual  runners  passed  they  found  these  ‘ ‘ sooners  ’ ’ 
calmly  plowing  their  claims  with  oxen. 

Something  of  the  atmosphere  of  the  unpeopled  West 
of  that  day  is  in  Mr.  Reed’s  subsequent  experiences. 
For  instance,  he  spent  the  first  night  on  the  prairie  with 
his  saddle  blanket  for  a bed  and  his  saddle  for  a pillow. 
Next  morning  he  got  a meager  breakfast  and  feed  for 
his  horse  at  the  camp  of  claim  holders  nearby.  His 
luncheon  next  day  consisted  of  ginger  snaps  and  apples 
in  the  frontier  village  of  Hennessey.  In  the  afternoon 
he  set  out  on  a long  horseback  journey  back  to  Kingman, 
Kansas,  his  home.  On  the  river  near  Pond  Creek  he  met 
a man  who  had  buried  some  bottles  of  cold  beer  in  the 
wet  sand.  The  heat  of  a September  day  suggested  their 
value  to  the  traveler  and  Reed  paid  for  three  bottles 
at  the  rate  of  $1  a bottle.  His  supper  that  evening 
was  at  Enid,  where  a hamburger,  some  bread  and  butter 
and  a piece  of  pie  cost  him  $1.50. 

Three  years  later  Mr.  Reed  entered  the  lumber  business 
at  Blackwell,  which  was  becoming  one  of  the  leading  and 
most  prosperous  towns  .of  the  new  country.  Kildare 
was  the  nearest  railroad  point  and  his  lumber  was 
freighted  overland  from  there.  Blackwell  was  the  habita- 
tion then  of  seventeen  saloon  keepers  and  seventeen 


restaurant  keepers,  but  could  make  no  boast  of  having 
a hotel.  The  settlers  brought  money  with  them  and  all 
communities  prospered.  Many  of  them  saved  as  they 
developed  the  region  and  had  good  bank  accounts  when 
Dennis  Flynn,  delegate  to  Congress  from  Oklahoma  Terri- 
tory, secured  the  passage  of  an  act  granting  free  homes 
to  the  settlers.  Then  these  savings  were  invested  in 
improvements.  So  rapidly  were  they  spent  that  Mr.  Reed 
sold  forty-seven  cars  of  lumber  in  forty-two  days. 
Naturally  these  financial  conditions  brought  a maximum 
of  prosperity  to  the  town  of  Blackwell,  and  Mr.  Reed, 
during  his  residence  there  of  3%  years  saw  lots  that  at 
the  outset  could  be  bought  for  $10  sell  for  $10,000. 

For  a number  of  years  now  Mr.  Reed’s  activities  and 
home  have  been  in  the  old  Indian  Territory  section  of 
Oklahoma.  Making  money  with  a stump  puller  has 
proved  one  of  his  fascinating  occupations.  Mr.  Reed 
has  not  pulled  stumps  to  rid  agricultural  lands  of  them, 
neither  has  he  had  any  use  for  the  average  base  of  a 
tree  that  once  helped  to  grace  an  eastern  Oklahoma 
forest.  Armed  with  modern  forceps  his  men  have  trav- 
eled over  the  timber  section  and  pulled  the  stumps  of 
walnut  trees  exclusively.  From  the  stumps  the  roots 
were  cut  and  the  stumps  sawed  into  thin  boards  called 
flitches,  and  these  have  been  sold  by  Mr.  Reed  for  enough 
money  to  make  the  occupation  not  only  an  interesting 
one  but  highly  profitable.  The  demand  for  walnut 
timber,  of  the  variety  that  Oklahoma  produces,  created 
this  novel  industry,  and  it  may  be  carried  on  indefinitely. 

An  idea  of  the  value  of  Oklahoma  walnut  may  be  ob- 
tained from  the  fact  that  a few  years  ago  a log  10  feet 
long  and  43  inches  in  diameter  was  sold  to  an  eastern 
veneering  firm  for  $3,300.  At  that  time  walnut  timber 
with  a minimum  of  26  inches  and  a maximum  of  33 
inches  in  diameter  sold  readily  for  an  average  of  $240 
for  1,000  feet. 

Walnut  has  been  one  of  the  most  valuable  of  Okla- 
homa timbers,  but  in  recent  years  the  demand  for  cotton- 
wood and  ash  has  increased  the  value  of  these  varieties, 
and  Mr.  Reed  as  a timber  dealer  has  turned  his  attention 
to  them.  His  cottonwood  and  ash  timber  has  been  sold 
practically  all  over  the  world.  Indeed,  Hugo  is  the 
headquarters  of  the  leading  dealers  of  the  world  in  these 
classes  of  timber. 

Experiences  of  Mr.  Reed  and  other  timber  dealers 
in  Southeastern  Oklahoma  in  the  acquisition  of  timber 
would  make  an  interesting  volume.  Some  of  them  are 
unique  among  timber  men  of  the  United  States  because 
of  the  character  and  diversity  of  persons  with  whom 
it  was  necessary  to  deal.  In  earlier  years,  before  Indian 
land  was  saleable,  the  Indian’s  interests  were  guarded 
by  the  United  States  Government  and  the  Choctaw  Tribal 
Government,  and  the  dealer  was  constantly  in  danger 
of  trespassing.  These  two  governments  also  were  not 
always  in  harmony.  For  instance,  Secretary  Garfield 
of  the  Interior  Department,  granted  Mr.  Reed  the  privi- 
lege of  cutting  timber  from  a tract  of  Indian  land,  and 
still  another  branch  of  the  government  removed  him 
from  that  tract  under  charges  of  trespass. 

There  was  always  danger  of  making  purchases  where 
titles  were  not  valid.  Indians  of  the  same  name  sold 
tracts  that  were  not  theirs,  and  some  Indians  made 
several  sales  of  the  same  tract.  There  is  on  record  a case 
in  which  one  Indian  sold  the  same  body  of  land  thirteen 
times.  Errors  in  titles  and  departmental  orders  kept 
timber  men  on  the  move  for  several  years.  Mr.  Reed 
and  his  associates  established  several  sawmills,  and  some 
of  these  were  moved  about  several  times. 

Mr.  Reed  was  one  of  the  first  residents  of  Coweta, 
Indian  Territory,  and  his  lumber  yard  was  one  of  the 
first  established  there.  Difficulties  beset  the  first  resi- 


1928 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


dents  because  of  a questionable  title  to  the  land  on 
which  the  town  was  being  built,  and  ten  months  elapsed 
before  the  question  was  finally  settled.  An  intermarried 
citizen  nearly  created  war  by  threatening  to  dynamite 
the  Reed  lumber  yard.  Mr.  Reed  also  opened  a timber 
and  lumber  business  at  Porter  in  the  early  days  of 
the  town ’s  history.  There  he  handled  walnut  timber 
successfully  and  in  one  and  a half  years  shipped  from 
that  town  eighty  cars  of  walnut  logs. 

During  his  residence  of  fifteen  years  in  former  Indian 
Territory  Mr.  Reed  has  studied  philosophically  many 
of  the  fundamental  phases  of  the  Indian  problem.  His 
activities  have  taken  him  all  over  the  Choctaw  Nation 
and  practically  all  of  the  Creek  Nation.  The  Indian 
problem  has  not  been  solved  and  is  the  biggest  problem 
in  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Reed  believes  a solution  might  be 
found  in  the  appointment  of  a commission  of  three 
men,  two  of  them  unfamiliar  with  Indian  conditions 
in  Oklahoma,  to  make  a study  of  the  various  phases 
of  the  problem.  The  vital  question  would  be  the  com- 
petency of  Indians,  and  the  commission  should  be 
instructed  to  remove  all  restrictions  from  competent 
Indians.  This  would  result  in  the  sale,  and  naturally 
the  development  of  Indian  lands,  and  all  such  lands, 
not  now  taxed,  would  be  placed  on  the  tax  rolls  of 
the  state. 

Ed  L.  Reed  was  born  in  Greenville,  Illinois,  August 
17,  1873,  a son  of  Perry  and  Marie  (Rea)  Reed.  When 
he  was  a small  boy  his  parents  moved  to  Kingman 
County,  Kansas,  and  there  he  grew  up.  The  father,  who 
has  been  a farmer  and  land  owner,  is  now  retired  and 
lives  in  Kingman,  at  the  age  of  eighty-two.  Mr.  Reed’s 
mother  is  also  living  at  the  age  of  seventy-nine.  Perry 
Reed  is  of  English  parentage  and  born  at  Ashtabula, 
Ohio. 

Mr.  Reed  was  married  at  Blackwell,  in  1900,  to  Miss 
Jettie  Tierney.  In  Mr.  Reed’s  family  are  four  brothers 
and  two  sisters:  Mrs.  Anna  Gritting,  wife  of  a pearl 
button  manufacturer  in  Plainview,  New  York;  Mrs.  P. 
H.  Parmenter,  whose  husband  is  at  the  head  of  a chain 
of  retail  stores,  and  they  live  in  Kingman,  Kansas ; 
Andrew  Reed,  employed  by  the  Peters  Shoe  Company  in 
St.  Louis ; George  B.  Reed,  a resident  of  Raven,  Colorado ; 
A.  T.  Reed,  in  the  creamery  business  at  Pratt,  Kansas; 
John  A.  Reed,  a retired  merchant  at  Kingman.  Mr. 
Reed  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  Lodge,  and  is  also 
a well  known  member  of  the  Oklahoma  Lumber  Dealers  ’ 
Association. 

Fred  Drummond.  The  late  Fred  Drummond  was  one 
of  the  foremost  men  who  made  commercial  history  in 
Osage  County.  He  was  one  of  the  pioneer  white  men, 
and  for  a quarter  of  a century  was  a trader  among  the 
Osage  Indians,  and  held  a license  from  the  Government 
until  the  system  was  abolished.  He  helped  to  build  up 
Hominy  as  a commercial  and  population  center,  was 
active  in  banking  and  merchandising,  and  had  begun 
to  make  farming  and  stock  raising  a specialty  a short 
time  before  his  death.  While  his  material  accomplish- 
ments were  many,  he  is  best  remembered  in  that  section 
for  his  sterling  character^,  his  thorough  kindliness,  and 
his  ready  acceptance  of  all  the  opportunities  to  benefit 
his  fellow  man.  He  always  favored  giving  every  man  a 
chance,  and  frequently  lent  a helping  hand  to  those 
who  were  struggling  with  difficulties. 

A native  of  Scotland,  Fred  Drummond  was  born  May 
2,  1864,  a son  of  Alexander  and  Henrietta  (Henry) 
Drummond.  He  was  the  only  member  of  the  family  in 
America  except  a brother,  George  H.  Drummond,  of 
Providence,  Rhode  Island.  His  mother  died  in  1911 
at  the  age  of  seventy-five  and  his  father  passed  away 


at  the  age  of  seventy-one.  His  father  was  a barrister 
or  lawyer  in  the  old  country.  Fred  Drummond,  who 
was  one  of  eleven  children,  was  the  favorite  son  of  his 
mother,  who  desired  that  he  become  a minister.  At  the 
age  of  eighteen  his  venturesome  spirit  and  active  nature 
got  the  better  of  these  early  influences,  and  he  started 
out  to  see  the  world,  having  no  special  inclination  toward 
the  profession  which  his  mother  had  chosen  for  him.  He 
came  to  New  York  City  and  spent  one  year  in  business 
experience  there,  and  then  moved  to  Texas  and  for  a 
year  and  a half  tried  ranching.  He  found  that  his  early 
experiences  in  Scotland  and  New  York  had  hardly  pre- 
pared him  for  this  industry,  and  he  returned  to  St.  Louis 
and  took  a position  with  a wholesale  dry.  goods  house. 
It  was  through  his  connection  with  this  house  that  he 
finally  came  into  the  Osage  Nation.  John  R.  Skinner 
was  for  many  years  one  of  the  big  traders  in  the  Osage 
country,  and  while  in  St.  Louis  on  a buying  trip  induced 
Mr.  Drummond  to  come  out  to  the  Osage  country.  Mr. 
Drummond  was  then  twenty-two  years  of  age,  and 
arriving  at  Pawhuska  found  employment  with  Mr.  Skin- 
ner and  later  with  Emory  Gibson,  and  finally  became 
associated  with  R.  E.  Bird  & Company  in  merchandising, 
being  identified  with  some  of  the  oldest  Osage  traders. 
In  time  Fred  Drummond  learned  to  speak  the  Osage 
language  fluently  and  became  one  of  the  most  popular 
and  successful  of  the  traders  operating  under  Govern- 
ment license.  At  a later  date  he  also  took  up  ranching 
near  Ponca  City,  but  continued  trading  at  Pawhuska 
until  1903,  when  he  removed  to  Hominy  and  took  a 
leading  part  in  organizing  the  Hominy  Trading  Com- 
pany, buying  out  the  Price  Mercantile  Company  as  the 
basis  of  the  business.  Mr.  Drummond  continued  actively 
as  a member  of  the  Trading  Company  until  his  death, 
which  occurred  August  22,  1913. 

At  the  time  of  his  death  he  was  also  president  of  the 
Farmers  State  Bank  of  Hominy,  which  had  been  organ- 
ized a year  or  so  before.  His  oldest  son,  Cecil,  was  his 
lieutenant  in  the  ranching  business,  and  together  they 
operated'  a ranch  of  about  3,000  acres  seven  miles  east 
of  Hominy,  and  were  extensively  engaged  in  raising 
cattle.  Mr.  Drummond  was  in  the  Indian  trading  service 
until  the'  white  men  began  to  come  into  the  Osage 
country  in  large  numbers,  and  then  turned  his  trading 
post  into  a general  mercantile  business. 

He  was  affiliated  with  the  Guthrie  Consistory  of  thirty- 
second  degree  Scottish  Rite  Masons,  and  his  funeral 
service  was  conducted  by  members  of  that  body.  He 
was  also  a member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the 
Woodmen  of  the  World,  and  of  the  Presbyterian  Church. 
A public  distinction  that  was  very  appropriate  was  his 
election  as  the  first  mayor  of  Hominy  after  its  incor- 
poration. In  1904  he  also  built  the  largest  and  finest 
home  of  the  city,  where  his  widow  and  some  of  his 
children  now  reside. 

On  July  6,  1890,  Fred  Drummond  married  Miss  Addie 
Gentner  at  Coffeyville,  Kansas.  She  was  born  in 
Kansas  October  9,  1870,  a daughter  of  Frederick  and 
Blanche  (Leonard)  Gentner.  Their  children  were: 
Blanche  Henrietta,  now  wife  of  Oscar  K.  Petty,  vice 
president  of  the  Farmers  State  Bank  of  Hominy ; Roy 
Cecil,  manager  of  the  large  Drummond  ranch  seven 
miles  east  of  Hominy;  Frederick  Gentner,  who  is  a 
graduate  of  the  Oklahoma  Agricultural  and  Mechanical 
College  at  Stillwater,  also  took  work  in  the  commercial 
department  of  Harvard  University,  and  is  now  an  active 
partner  in  the  Hominy  Tra.ding  Company;  Alfred 
Alexander,  who  is  a graduate  of  the  Oklahoma  Agricul- 
tural and  Mechanical  College,  and  is  now  a student  in 
the  agricultural  department  of  the  Illinois  State  Uni- 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


1929 


versity;  and  Lois  Hope,  who  is  still  at  home  with  her 
mother. 

Rev.  John  W.  Garner.  An  able  and  earnest  worker 
in  the  evangelistic  field,  Mr.  Garner  has  fought  the  good 
fight,  has  defended  and  upheld  the  faith  and  has  been 
instrumental  in  bringing  many  souls  as  worthy  sheaves 
in  the  harvest  of  the  Divine  Master  whom  he  has  served 
with  all  of  devotion  and  consecrated  zeal.  He  has  not 
been  lacking  in  the  militant  spirit  of  the  church  faith 
and  in  a secular  way  he  did  valiant  military  service  as  a 
soldier  of  the  Union  in  the  Civil  war.  He  is  one  of  the 
honored  and  loyal  citizens  of  Payne  County,  is  the 
owner  of  a well  improved  farm,  was  the  organizer  of 
the  Christian  Church  at  Perkins,  of  which  he  served  four 
years  as  pastor  and  with  which  he  is  still  actively  identi- 
fied, his  work  in  the  ministry  having  been  largely  along 
evangelistic  lines  since  his  retirement  from  the  pastorate 
noted. 

Mr.  Garner  was  born  in  Wayne  County,  Kentucky,  on 
the  14th  of  January,  1843,  and  is  a son  of  Freeman  and 
Rachel  (Coyle)  Garner,  both  likewise  natives  of  Ken- 
tucky, where  the  former  was  born  in  1806  and  the  latter 
in  1826,  the  respective  families  having  been  founded  in 
the  old  Blue  Grass  State  in  the  pioneer  era  of  its  history 
and  both  family  names  having  been  identified  with 
American  history  since  the  colonial  days.  Freeman  Gar- 
ner was  a stone  cutter  by  trade  and  vocation  and  both 
he  and  his  wife  continued  their  residence  in  Kentucky 
until  the  time  of  their  death,  the  subject  of  their  review 
being  the  oldest  of  their  five  children;  Henderson,  the 
second  son,  is  now  a resident  of  the  State  of  Washington, 
and  he  likewise  is  a veteran  of  the  Civil  war,  in  which 
he  served  the  Union  as  a member  of  Company  I,  Sixth 
Kentucky  Volunteer  Cavalry,  with  which  gallant  com- 
mand he  remained  at  the  front  for  a period  of  three 
years;  Sarah  is  the  widow  of  Lieut.  Nathaniel  Dobbs, 
who  was  a Union  officer  in  the  Civil  war,  and  she  still 
resides  in  Pulaski  County,  Kentucky;  James  P.  is  a 
prosperous  farmer  of  Payne  County,  Oklahoma ; and 
Martin  died  when  young. 

Rev.  John  W.  Garner  remained  at  the  parental  home 
until  he  felt  the  call  of  patriotism  and  subordinated  all 
other  interests  to  tender  his  aid  in  defense  of  the  Union. 
On  the  1st  of  January,  1863,  about  two  weeks  prior  to 
his  twentieth  birthday  anniversary,  he  enlisted  in  Com- 
pany H,  First  Kentucky  Cavalry,  with  which  command 
he  continued  in  active  service  until  the  close  of  the  war. 
His  regiment  was  a part  of  the  Army  of  the  Cumberland, 
and  with  it  he  participated  in  numerous  engagements, 
taking  part  in  the  Atlanta  campaign  and  in  the  mem- 
orable battle  of  Atlanta.  From  Georgia  the  regiment 
returned  to  Nashville,  Tennessee,  from  which  place  Mr. 
Garner  returned  with  his  comrades  to  Kentucky,  where 
he  received  his  honorable  discharge.  He  was  mustered 
out  as  first  sergeant  of  Company  A,  to  which  he  had  been 
transferred  from  Company  H of  his  regiment.  In  later 
years  he  has  vitalized  his  interest  in  his  old  comrades 
of  the  Civil  war  through  his  affiliation  with  the  Grand 
Army  of  the  Republic,  in  which  he  holds  membership  in 
W.  T.  Sherman  Post  No.  41  at  Perkins,  Oklahoma. 

After  the  close  of  the  war  Mr.  Garner  continued  to 
reside  in  Kentucky  until  1872,  when  he  removed  to 
Mitchell  County,  Kansas,  and  became  a pioneer  farmer 
in  the  vicinity  of  Beloit,  the  county  seat.  He  continued 
his  residence  in  the  Sunflower  State  until  1899,  when  he 
came  to  Oklahoma  Territory  and  established  his  residence 
in  Payne  County,  where  he  has  since  maintained  his 
home  on  his  well  improved  farm  near  the  Village  of 
Perkins,  the  place  having  been  developed  and  admirably 
improved  under  his  personal  supervision. 

Mr.  Garner  acquired  his  early  education  in  the  schools 


of  his  native  state  and  in  all  the  long  intervening  years 
he  has  continued  to  be  a close  and  appreciative  student 
and  reader;  with  the  result  that  he  has  broadened  his 
mental  ken  to  wide  perspective  and  is  a man  of  really 
liberal  education  and  mature  judgment.  For  the  past 
thirty  years  he  has  served  as  a clergyman  of  the 
Christian  Church,  and  his  labors  in  the  vineyard  of  the 
Master  have  been  most  zealous  and  effective,  even  as 
has  his  temporal  work  along  practical  lines  of  productive 
industry,  through  the  medium  of  which  he  has  won 
independence  and  definite  prosperity.  He  finds  much 
demand  upon  his  services  in  the  evangelistic  field  of 
ministerial  work  and  when  not  thus  engaged  he  gives 
careful  supervision  to  the  practical  affairs  of  his  fine 
farm,  which  is  situated  four  miles  west  of  Perkins.  Mr. 
Garner  is  broad-minded,  liberal  and  progressive  in  his 
civic  attitude,  is  well  fortified  in  his  convictions  concern- 
ing governmental  and  economic  policies  and  is  a stanch 
supporter  of  the  principles  of  the  republican  party. 
Right  living  and  right  thinking  have  given  to  Mr.  Garner 
superb  physical  powers  and  strong  mental  grasp,  and 
his  appearance  is  that  of  a man  fully  twenty  years  his 
junior,  in  fact  many  who  meet  him  giving  expression  to 
doubt  as  to  his  having  been  a soldier  in  the  Civil  war, 
owing  to  the  fact  that  he  looks  too  young  today  to  have 
been  eligible  by  age  for  such  service  more  than  half  a 
century  ago.  His  devoted  wife,  who  has  been  his 
cherished  companion  and  helpmeet  for  nearly  fifty  years, 
has  aided  him  in  his  service  in  behalf  of  his  fellow  men 
and  has  been  unsparing  in  her  zeal  and  earnestness  as  a 
member  of  the  Christian  Church. 

On  February  26,  1866,  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of 
Mr.  Garner  to  Miss  Mary  J.  Friels,  who  was  born  in 
Morgan  County,  Tennessee,  in  1849,  a daughter  of  Wil- 
ljam  and  Martha  (Hanks)  Friels, .and,  on  the  maternal 
side,  she  is  a third  cousin  of  the  great  and  martyred 
Abraham  Lincoln.  They  celebrated  their  golden  wedding 
February  26,  1916.  No  children  have  been  born  to  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Garner,  but  they  are  the  friends  of  all  children 
and  the  young  folk  have  always  found  a gracious  wel- 
come in  their  home.  They  are  well  known  in  Payne 
County  and  their  circle  of  friends  is  limited  only  by  that 
of  their  acquaintances. 

P.  I.  Brown.  After  fifteen  years  of  banking  experi- 
ence in  Kansas  P.  I.  Brown  moved  to  Indian  Territory 
in  1895,  locating  at  Beggs  in  Okmulgee  County  and  has 
since  been  one  of  the  live  factors  in  business  enterprise 
in  that  section,  and  for  a number  of  years  has  been 
president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Beggs.  The 
First  National  Bank  is  an  institution  with  resources  of 
over  $200,000.  It  has  capital  and  surplus  of  $37,500, 
and  is  one  of  the  thoroughly  stable  institutions  of  Ok- 
mulgee County.  The  directors  are  P.  I.  Brown,  Grover 
Moore,  H.  George,  H.  H.  Johnson,  L.  B.  Jackson  and 
E.  G.  Kelley. 

A native  of  Missouri,  P.  I.  Brown  was  born  in  John- 
son County  January  1,  1853,  a son  of  James  and  Martha 
(Harris)  Brown.  His  father  was  born  in  Tennessee  in 
1812  and  his  mother  in  Johnson  County,  Missouri,  in 
1815.  James  Brown  was  brought  to  Missouri  in  child- 
hood and  spent  the  rest  of  his  life  there  as  a farmer 
and  stock  raiser.  During  the  Civil  war  he  served  two 
years  in  a Missouri  regiment  of  the  Union  army.  He 
was  a democrat  and  a member  of  the  Presbyterian 
Church.  He  died  in  1885  and  his  wife  passed  away  two 
weeks  later.  There  were  seven  children:  Elizabeth, 

wife  of  Henry  MeElwee,  living  in  Missouri;  W.  E. 
Brown,  who  for  many  years  was  head  of  the  W.  E. 
Brown  & Company  Livestock  Commission  House  at 
Kansas  City,  Missouri,  and  is  now  living  at  Seattle, 
Washington;  P.  I.  Brown,  who  is  the  second  in  age 


1930 


HISTOKY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


among  the  children ; Marion,  who  is  a farmer  near 
Carthage,  Missouri;  Thomas,  of  Butler,  Missouri;  Mattie 
Woodruff,  who  died  in  Louisiana;  and  Edward,  who  died 
in  Colorado. 

P.  I.  Brown  was  reared  and  received  his  early  education 
in  Johnson  County,  Missouri,  and  lived  ou  a farm  there 
until  1876.  He  then  went  into  Southwestern  Kansas, 
establishing  a stock  ranch  in  Comanche  County,  and  in 
1881  moved  to  Elk  County,  Kansas,  where  he  was  in  the 
grocery  business  for  a time.  In  1884  he  organized  the 
first  bank  in  his  town,  The  Farmers  State  Bank,  which 
is  still  in  existence  and  a flourishing  institution. 

In  1895  Mr.  Brown  brought  his  family  to  Indian  Terri- 
tory and  located  six  miles  northeast  of  where  the  Town 
of  Beggs  now  stands,  where  he  began  operating  as  a 
farmer  and  cattle  man.  When  the  railroad  was  built 
and  the  Town  of  Beggs  started  he  at  once  identified  him- 
self with  its  interests,  and  in  1901  organized  the  Beggs 
State  Bank.  In  1903  this  was  reorganized  as  the  First 
National  Bank.  Mr.  Brown  has  been  its  president  since 
organization,  and  up  to  two  years  ago  was  very  active 
in  the  management  of  its  affairs.  His  business  interests 
are  extensive,  comprising  a large  amount  of  town  prop- 
erty and  also  ranch  and  cattle  interests  in  the  vicinity 
of  Beggs. 

Since  casting  his  first  vote  more  than  forty  years  ago 
he  has  been  an  active  democrat.  Just  before  statehood 
in  1906-07  he  served  as  a deputy  United  States  marshal 
in  Indian  Territory.  Mr.  Brown  is  a charter  member  of 
Beggs  Lodge  No.  319,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons,  and  belongs  to  the  Scottish  Rite  Consistory  of 
the  thirty-second  degree  at  Macalester. 

In  December,  1872,  he  married  in  Johnson  County, 
Missouri,  Miss  Hannah  Jackson,  daughter  of  Joel  Jack- 
son.  They  have  two.  sons,  W.  E.  Brown  and  Joel  Ray. 

W.  E.  Brown  is  a well  known  banker  of  Sapulpa. 
He  was  born  in  Elk  County,  Kansas,  August  6,  1879, 
and  after  completing  a business  course  at  Quincy,  Illi- 
nois, spent  four  years  in  the  First  National  Bank  at 
Beggs  with  his  father.  He  was  also  connected  with 
the  First  National  Bank  of  Mounds,  and  since  1908  has 
been  identified  with  the  American  National  Bank  of 
Sapulpa,  having  been  cashier  and  one  of  its  directors 
for  the  past  four  years.  He  is  active  in  the  Commer- 
cial Club  and  in  various  civic  and  social  organizations 
at  Sapulpa,  and  by  his  marriage  in  1900  to  Miss  Cora 
Lee  Pendleton  has  three  children:  Naomi,  W.  E.,  Jr., 

and  Maxine. 

Joel  Ray  Brown  is  cashier  of  the  Bank  of  Commerce 
at  Wetumpka,  and  likewise  has  a capable  record  as  an 
Oklahoma  banker.  He  married  Frances  Jones  of  War- 
rensburg,  Missouri,  and  has  one  son,  Joel  Ray,  Jr. 

H.  C.  Fellows  first  became  identified  with  Henryetta 
as  a coal  operator,  and  managed  for  several  years  one  of 
the  largest  companies  operating  at  that  time  in  this  field. 
In  recent  years  he  has  turned  to  the  newspaper  business 
and  is  now  head  of  the  Fellows  Publishing  and  Printing 
Company  and  managing  editor  of  the  Henryetta  Stan- 
dard. His  associates  are  his  three  talented  young  sons, 
all  of  whom  have  chosen  journalism  as  a profession  and 
there  is  probably  no  other  paper  in  Oklahoma  which  has 
the  distinction  of  being  managed  and  edited  by  a single 
family  group. 

Born  at  Lincoln,  Illinois,  January  12,  1865,  H.  C. 
Fellows  is  a son  of  Dr.  A.  M.  and  Emily  S.  (Closson) 
Fellows.  Both  his  parents  were  natives  of  Vermont,  his 
father  born  in  1828  and  his  mother  in  1832.  Doctor 
Fellows  acquired  a medical  education  in  New  York,  and 
then  came  to  Illinois,  where  just  before  the  war  he  mar- 
ried Miss  Closson.  After  she  had  completed  her  educa- 


tion she  taught  in  a girls  ’ school  in  Virginia  for  a time 
before  coming  to  Illinois.  Early  in  the  War  of  the 
Rebellion  Doctor  Fellows  entered  the  service  as  a surgeon 
with  an  Illinois  regiment  and  served  during  the  greater 
part  of  the  struggle.  He  was  finally  sent  home  from 
Mississippi  ill  with  the  fever.  In  1872  he  took  his  fam- 
ily to  Parsons,  Kansas,  a town  which  had  only  recently 
been  established,  and  engaged  in  practice  there  for  many 
years.  After  retiring  from  practice  in  1890  he  lived  in 
Kansas  City,  Missouri,  until  his  death  in  1895.  He  was 
for  many  years  active  in  the  republican  party.  His 
widow  is  still  living  in  Kansas  City  with  her  son,  and 
though  eighty-three  years  of  age  writes  most  interesting 
letters  in  a clear  legible  hand.  She  has  always  been  in- 
terested in  educational  and  religious  affairs  and  during 
her  active  life  in  Southern  Kansas  was  known  as  a 
woman  of  superior  culture  and  education.  There  are 
three  children : H.  C.  Fellows,  A.  M.  Fellows,  a whole- 
sale coal  merchant  at  Kansas  City;  and  Eva  L.,  wife  of 
W.  H.  Iloffstott  of  Kansas  City. 

II.  C.  Fellows  was  about  seven  years  of  age  when  the 
family  removed  to  Parsons,  Kansas,  where  he  grew  up 
and  finished  his  education  in  the  high  school.  In  1889* 
he  went  out  to  Pueblo,  Colorado,  and  had  charge  of  the 
fuel  department  of  the  Missouri  Pacific  Railroad.  In 
1894  he  took  charge  of  the  coal  business  of  the  same  rail- 
road company  at  Kansas  City,  and  in  1896  became  pres- 
ident of  the  Trans-Missouri  Coal  Company  at  Omaha. 
Returning  to  Kansas  City  in  1897  he  was  sales  manager 
for  the  Kansas  & Texas  Coal  Company  for  a time,  and 
when  this  corporation  sold  its  business  to  the  Central 
Coal  and  Coke  Company  Mr.  Fellows  moved  to  Spring- 
field,  Missouri,  and  became  manager  of  the  Crescent  Iron 
Works  for  B.  F.  Hobart,  then  president  of  the  company. 
In  1903  he  went  back  to  Kansas  City  as  manager  of 
the  J.  R.  Crowe  Coal  & Mining  Company,  and  this  cor- 
poration sent  him  to  Henryetta,  Oklahoma,  to  open  the 
mines  of  the  Whitehead  Mining  Company.  In  1906  Mr. 
Fellows  was  employed  by  the  Randolpli-Mason  Coal  Com- 
pany, a New  York  corporation,  to  take  charge  of  its  min- 
ing operations  in  Missouri.  After  one  year  he  returned 
to  Oklahoma  and  again  resumed  charge  of  the  White- 
head  Coal  Mining  Company,  with  which  he  continued  until 
1910. 

It  was  in  1910  that  Mr.  Fellows,  bought  the  Henryetta 
Standard  and  organized  the  Fellows  Printing  and  Pub- 
lishing Company,  composed  of  himself  and  sons.  Since 
then  he  has  given  most  of  his  time  and  attention  to  the 
publication  of  the  Standard,  which  is  one  of  the  influen- 
tial weekly  papers  of  Okmulgee  County  and  is  now  in 
its  sixth  volume.  In  politics  it  is  independently  demo- 
cratic. Mr.  Fellows  himself  is  managing  editor,  his  sons 
Carl  H.  and  Paul  H.  are  editors,  and  Albert  M.  is  assis- 
tant editor. 

Since  locating  at  Henryetta  Mr.  Fellows  has  been  a 
vigorous  factor  in  local  progress  and  served  several  years 
as  president  of  the  Commercial  Club.  He  is  a thirty-sec- 
ond degree  Scottish  Rite  Mason  and  a member  of  the 
Mystic  Shrine  and  is  also  a charter  member  of  the  local 
lodge  of  Elks. 

In  1891  he  married  Miss  Lillian  MacGowan,  who  is  a 
graduate  physician  and  one  of  the  first  women  to  take  a 
regular  M.  D.  degree  from  one  of  the  larger  institutions 
of  the  Middle  West.  She  was  born  in  Poweshiek  County, 
Iowa,  in  1867,  but  spent  most  of  her  girlhood  in  West 
Liberty  in  that  state,  where  she  finished  the  course  of 
the  high  school.  After  teaching  for  a time  she  entered 
the  medical  department  of  the  University  of  Michigan 
at  Ann  Arbor,  and  was  graduated  M.  D.  in  1890.  She 
then  went  West  and  began  practice  at  Pueblo,  Colorado, 


FRANK  M.  WATSON 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1931 


where  she  met  and  married  Mr.  Fellows.  Since  her  mar- 
riage she  has  made  no  serious  attempt  to  practice  medi- 
cine. Mrs.  Fellows  is  well  known  in  woman ’s  club  circles 
in  Oklahoma,  has  been  president  of  the  Ladies  Improve- 
ment Club  at  Henryetta,  and  has  also  been  active  in  the 
federated  club  work  of  the  state.  She  has  also  written 
a number  of  articles  for  newspapers.  Her  parents  were 
Andrew  and  Eliza  (Morgan)  MacGowan,  both  of  whom 
were  born  in  the  State  of  Ohio  in  1826.  The  mother  died 
in  1903  and  her  father  in  1906  at  West  Liberty,  Iowa, 
where  he  was  for  many  years  a farmer.  The  Mae- 
Gowans  were  Quakers. 

The  three  sons  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Fellows  are : Paul  H., 
born  in  1892;  Carl  H.,  born  in  1894,  and  Albert  M., 
born  in  1898.  Carl  H.,  at  this  writing  is  attending  the 
School  of  Journalism  at  the  University  of  Missouri. 
Each  one  of  the  sons  has  his  own  particular  bent  and 
talent  in  the  newspaper  profession,  and  much  may  be 
expected  of  these  young  men  in  the  future. 

Benjamin  Franklin  Van  Dyke.  The  emigrant 
ancestor  of  Benjamin  Franklin  Van  Dyke  was  William 
Van  Dyke,  who  came  from  Holland  in  company  with 
Peter  Stuyvesant  and  served  as  attorney  general  of  the 
Colony  of  New  Amsterdam  under  Governor  Stuyvesant. 
From  that  day  down  to  the  present  time  men  of  the 
name  have  been  leaders  in  their  respective  communities. 

Benjamin  F.  Van  Dyke  was  born  in  Keokuk  County, 
Iowa,  August  6,  1862,  and  his  parents  were  L.  H.  and 
Emily  (Kinnick)  Van  Dyke.  The  father  was  of  Indiana 
birth,  born  in  1826,  and  he  died  in  Lawrence,  Kansas, 
in  1909.  To  these  people  were  born  eight  children:  D. 
M.  Van  Dyke,  the  eldest,  died  in  1887  near  Garden 
City,  Kansas,  at  the  age  of  forty-five,  he  had  been  a 
farmer.  Louisa  married  W.  H.  Holland,  a farmer,  now 
deceased;  she  lives  at  Whatcheer,  Iowa.  James  W. 
lives  in  Sacramento,  California,  and  is  the  foreman  of 
a large  ranch  in  that  vicinity.  Mary  L.  married  Albert 
Skinner,  a farmer,  of  Peabody,  Kansas.  Anna  died 
in  infancy.  John,  who  was  a building  contractor,  died 
in  Sacramento,  California,  in  1914.  The  seventh  child 
was  Benjamin  F.,  of  this  review.  Emma  married  J.  V. 
Weidlein,  and  they  live  in  Lawrence,  Kansas,  where  he 
is  employed  in  the  express  office  of  the  Santa  Fe  Rail- 
road. 

Benjamin  F.  Van  Dyke  was  brought  up  on  his  father’s 
farm  in  Keokuk  County,  Iowa,  and  he  had  such  schooling 
as  was  available  in  his  community  in  those  days.  Never- 
theless, it  is  reasonable  to  suppose  that  he  was  a student 
and  that  he  made  the  best  of  such  advantages  as  were 
to  be  found,  for  when  he  was  twenty-one  he  began  teach- 
ing in  the  country  schools  of  the  county,  continuing 
through  two  terms.  He  then  entered  the  Eastern  Iowa 
Normal  at  Columbus  Junction  and  in  1885  was  graduated 
with  the  degree  of  B.  S.,  upon  which  he  was  appointed 
to  the  principalship  of  the  schools  of  Columbus  City. 
This  service  was  followed  by  a similar  call  to  service 
in  Hillsboro,  Kansas,  where  he  remained  until  1888,  and 
in  that  year  he  returned  to  Columbus  Junction  and 
read  law  in  the  offices  of  Senator  C.  A.  Carpenter.  Three 
years  later,  in  1891,  Mr.  Van  Dyke  was  admitted  to 
practice  before  the  Supreme  Court  of  Iowa. 

For  the  next  ten  years  Mr.  Van  Dyke  conducted  a 
law  practice  in  Columbus  Junction,  and  in  1901  he  came 
to  Granite,  Oklahoma,  where  he  has  since  been  ably 
identified  with  the  legal  activities  of  the  place.  He  has 
found  friends  here  and  has  won  to  himself  a following 
that  is  well  worthy  of  his  talents. 

Mr.  Van  Dyke  is  a democrat  since  1896,  and  is  a 
member  of  the  Masonic  and  Pythian  orders.  His  Masonic 
affiliations  are  with  Granite  Lodge  No.  164,  Ancient  Free 


and  Accepted  Masons.  Other  fraternal  societies  that 
claim  him  are  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and 
the  Woodmen  of  the  World.  In  a professional  way  he  is 
a member  of  the  State  Bar  Association,  and  he  is  a 
member  of  the  Sons  of  the  American  Revolution,  an 
honorific  membership  to  which  he  is  eligible  through 
his  paternal  grandfather,  William  Van  Dyke,  who  gave 
valiant  service  as  a soldier  in  the  American  Revolution 
from  Somerset  County,  New  Jersey. 

In  1886  Mr.  Van  Dyke  was  married  in  Sigourney, 
Iowa,  to  Miss  Fannie  Fulton,  daughter  of  C.  M.  Fulton, 
then  postmaster  of  Columbus  Junction.  Two  children 
were  born  to  this  marriage.  Claire  is  married  to  Ray 
II.  Arnett,  superintendent  of  the  water  and  light  depart- 
ments in  Granite,  where  they  live.  Dorothy  was  gradu- 
ated from  Drury  College  in  Springfield,  Missouri,  in 
1914,  with  the  degree  of  A.  B.,  and  in  1915  received 
an  M.  A.  degree  from  the  same  school. 

In  March,  1903,  Mrs.  Van  Dyke  died,  and  in  May, 
1904,  Mr.  Van  Dyke  was  married  in  Mangum,  Okla- 
homa, to  Miss  Hattie  Wright,  daughter  of  T.  E.  Wright, 
a retired  farmer  of  Missouri.  There  are  no  children  of 
this  later  marriage. 

Frank  M.  Watson.  The  title  of  biggest  farmer  in 
Osage  County  is’  rightly  bestowed  upon  Frank  M.  Wat- 
son. His  farm  near  Wynona  is  a splendid  illustration  of 
the  methods  and  possibilities  of  ‘ ‘ bonanza  farming,  ’ ’ 
and  everything  is  conducted  on  a big  scale.  In  his 
pastures  are  found  hundreds  of  head  of  fine  cattle,  he 
plants  and  harvests  hundreds  of  acres  of  wheat  every 
year,  and  there  are  few  business  houses  in  Oklahoma 
which  represent  a larger  investment  of  capital ' and 
employ  more  equipment  and  the  services  of  more  hands. 

The  head  of  this  big  agricultural  industry  is  a young 
man  thirty-one  years  old.  However,  he  has  lived  in  close 
touch  with  stock  raising  and  agricultural  matters  in  the 
Southwest  since  boyhood,  and  his  father  has  for  years 
been  one  of  the  well  known  cattle -men  of  the  Southwest. 
Frank  M.  Watson  was  born  in  Independence,  Kansas, 
February  8,  1885,  a son  of  William  and  Lannie  (Lane) 
Watson,  the  former  a native  of  Sherman,  Texas,  and 
the  latter  of  Kentucky.  The  parents  were  married  in 
Texas,  and  soon  afterwards  moved  their  home  to  Kansas. 
They  were  married  at  Gainsville,  Texas,  where  William 
Watson  was  at  that  time  engaged  in  his  extensive  ranch- 
ing operations.  He  still  owns  two  large  ranches,  and 
for  twenty-five  or  thirty  years  has  ranged  his  cattle 
herds  over  the  states  of  Texas,  Oklahoma  and  Kansas. 
Frank  M.  Watson  is  one  of  eight  children,  four  sons 
and  four  daughters. 

Most  of  his  early  life  was  spent  in  Kansas,  chiefly 
in  Montgomery  County,  though  he  also  became  acquainted 
with  the  Osage  country  of  the  Indian  Territory  through 
his  practical  association  with  his  father ’s  cattle  busi- 
ness. For  a number  of  years  his  father  had  a ranch  on 
the  Caney  River  near  Bartlesville.  In  1906  Mr.  Watson 
went  to  Texas  with  his  parents,  but  soon  afterwards 
came  to  Wynona  and  that  has  since  been  his  head- 
quarters as  a farmer  and  cattle  raiser. 

He  now  .has  the  largest  farming  outfit  in  Osage  County 
and  has  also  earned  the  distinction  of  being  the  largest 
cattle  man.  He  has  2,000  acres  in  his  farm  adjoining 
Wynona  on  the  south,  and  it  is  all  cultivated,  with 
about  1,000  acres  in  wheat,  300  acres  in  oats,  and  the 
rest  in  feterita.  It  requires  a big  force  of  men  to 
operate  such  an  extensive  farm,  and  his  employes  num- 
ber from  fifteen  to  thirty,  depending  upon  the  seasons. 
He  keeps  an  average  of  about  1,500  head  of  cattle,  and 
has  had  as  high  as  6,000  head.  He  also  handles  hogs 
on  a large  scale.  Throughout  this  section  of  the  country 
his  place  is  known  as  the  J.  O.  Ranch,  his  cattle  brand 


1932 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


being  composed  of  those  letters.  Altogether  Mr.  Watson 
owns  and  controls  50,000  acres  of  land  in  Osage  County. 
One  of  the  noticeable  features  of  his  farm  enterprise 
is  the  presence  of  three  immense  silos.  He  has  also 
constructed  an  individual  water  system,  the  finest  in  the 
state,  representing  an  investment  of  $1,500.  In  addition 
to  the  use  of  traction  engines  to  draw  his  immense  gang 
plows,  he  also  requires  about  sixteen  teams  to  perform 
the  farm  work.  Instead  of  depending  upon  an  itinerant 
threshing  outfit  he  owns  an  equipment  of  that  machinery 
of  his  own,  and  has  several  thousand  dollars  invested 
in  all  the  machinery  and  appliances  needed  for  the  culti- 
vation and  harvesting  of  his  crops. 

Mr.  Watson  also  keeps  a pack  of  fourteen  wolf  hounds. 
These  he  employs  for  hunting,  and  they  have  proved  an 
important  factor  in  exterminating  the  wolves  from  this 
section  of  Oklahoma.  During  the  first  six  months  of 
1915  he  and  his  hounds  have  caught  fifteen  wolves.  Mr. 
Watson  is  a member  of  the  Masonic  Order,  the  Benevo- 
lent and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  the  Fraternal  Order 
of  Eagles  and  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  On  March  21, 
1908,  he  married  Miss  Viola  E.  Rogers,  who  was  born 
in  Osage  County,  a daughter  of  Antoine  Rogers  of 
Wynona.  They  have  one  daughter,  Viola  Camille. 

Ira  Gilbert  Markee.  Appreciative  of  the  constructive 
business  activities,  the  civic  loyalty  and  progressiveness 
and  the  sterling  character  of  Mr.  Markee,  the  voters 
of  the  Village  of  Perkins,  Payne  County,  consistently 
elected  him  to  the  office  of  president  of  the  village  board 
of  trustees,  a position  of  which  he  has  been  the  in- 
cumbent t since  1915,  and  in  which  he  has  given  a most 
capable  administration  as  chief  executive  of  the  muni- 
cipal government.  Mr.  Markee  has  been  a resident  of 
Oklahoma  since  boyhood  and  is  a representative  of  one 
of  the  sterling  pioneer  families  of  the  state,  his  parents 
having  here  established  their  residence  at  the  time  of  the 
opening  to  settlement  of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  of  which 
the  present  County  of  Payne  was  a part.  He  is  one 
of  the  most  influential  business  men  of  Perkins,  where 
he  operates  a well  equipped  and  thoroughly  modern  cot- 
ton gin  and  where  he  is  general  manager  of  the  Farmers’ 
Cotton  Company,  which  is  incorporated  under  the  laws 
of  the  state. 

Mr.  Markee  was  born  in  Butler  County,  Kansas,  on 
the  26th  of  October,  1880,  and  is  a son  of  F.  M.  and 
Priscilla  (Morgan)  Markee,  the  former  of  whom  was 
born  in  Illinois  and  the  latter  in  North  Carolina.  J.  M. 
Markee,  grandfather  of  the  subject  of  this  review,  was 
a loyal  soldier  of  the  Union  in  the  Civil  war,  and  the 
maternal  grandfather,  James  Morgan,  was  in  the  same 
great  conflict  as  a valiant  soldier  in  the  Confederate 
ranks,  in  'which  he  served  during  virtually  the  entire 
period  of  the  war.  The  marriage  of  the  parents  of  Mr. 
Markee  was  solemnized  in  the  State  of  Kansas,  where 
they  continued  their  residence  until  the  opening  to  set- 
tlement of  the  Cherokee  Strip  of  Oklahoma,  in  1892, 
when  they  came  to  the  territory  and  established  their 
home  on  a pioneer  farm  in  Payne  County.  They  now 
reside  at  Stillwater,  the  county  seat,  where  the  father 
is  living  retired,  after  having  contributed  his  share  to 
the  civic  and  material  development  and  progress  of  this 
favored  section  of  the  state.  Of  the  four  children  the 
mayor  of  the  Village  of  Perkins  is  the  eldest;  May  is 
the  wife  of  Jesse  Bennett,  of  Ripley,  Payne  County; 
J.  Minard  is  identified  with  business  interests  at  Still- 
water; and  Fay  remains  at  the  parental  home. 

Ira  G.  Markee  acquired  his  early  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  Kansas  and  was  about  thirteen  years 
of  age  at  the  time  of  the  family  removal  to  Payne 
County,  Oklahoma,  where  he  was  reared  to  manhood  on 
the  pioneer  farm  and  availed  himself  of  the  advantages 


of  the  local  schools.  He  continued  to  be  associated  with 
his  father  in  the  work  and  management  of  the  farm  until 
1904,  when  he  engaged  in  the  cotton  business  and  estab- 
lished his  headquarters  in  Stillwater,  where  he  was  asso- 
ciated with  the  Thompson  Gin  Company  for  four  years 
and  where  he  gained  a thorough  knowledge  of  all  details 
of  the  cotton-ginning  business.  Upon  leaving  the  county 
seat  Mr.  Markee  established  his  home  at  Perkins,  where 
he  has  since  operated  his  modern  gin  and  ably  supervised 
the  business  of  the  Farmers’  Cotton  Company,  of  which 
he  is  general  manager. 

Mr.  Markee  is  a stanch  supporter  of  the  cause  of  the 
democratic  party  and  is  a young  man  of  invincible  enter- 
prise and  public  spirit,  so  that  he  is  admirably  fortified 
for  the  municipal  office  of  which  he  is  now  the  incumbent. 
He  is  affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fel- 
lows, in  which  he  has  passed  the  various  officials  chairs  of 
his  lodge,  and  both  he  and  his  wife  hold  membership  in 
the  Baptist  Church  at  Perkins. 

In  the  State  of  Kansas,  on  the  12th  of  May,  1903,  was 
solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Markee  to  Miss  Nora 
Rennick,  who  was  born  in  that  state  on  the  24th  of  May, 
1886,  being  a daughter  of  John  M.  Rennick,  a prosperous 
farmer  of  Dawson,  Oklahoma.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Markee 
have  three  children — Frances,  Ruth  and  Bertha. 

Hon.  William  James  Ladd.  A long  and  useful  life, 
William  J.  Ladd  has  lived  not  without  some  of  the  more 
substantial  honors  paid  to  an  upright  and  public  spirited 
citizen.  He  is  at  the  present  time  representing  Creek 
County,  his  home  locality,  in  the  Oklahoma  Legislature. 
He  was  a veteran  of  the  Union  army  during  the  Civil 
War.  He  was  a pioneer  in  Oklahoma  at  the  original 
opening,  and  some  twenty  years  ago  came  into  the  Creek 
Nation  of  Indian  Territory,  and  has  been  very  closely 
identified  with  the  upbuilding  and  advancement  of  the 
little  Town  of  Bristow,  where  he  resides. 

An  Indiana  man  by  birth,  Mr.  Ladd  was  born  at 
Terre  Haute  June  29,  1843,  a son  of  William  D.  and 
Sarah  (Price)  Ladd.  His  father  was  born  near  Cin- 
cinnati, Ohio,  and  his  mother  near  Vincennes,  Indiana. 
They  were  married  in  Vigo  County,  Indiana,  spent  many 
years  of  their  lives  there,  but  after  the  war  moved  to 
Vermilion  County.  Both  parents  died  there,  the  mother 
aged  eighty-four  and  the  father  at  sixty-eight,  his  death 
having  resulted  from  an  accident.  He  was  a farmer  by 
occupation,  and  tilled  the  soil  in  the  fertile  valley  of  the 
Wabash  River.  In  politics  he  was  a republican  and 
filled  several  county  offices  in  the  early  days.  He  and 
his  wife  were  active  members  of  the  Christian  Church. 
There  were  four  children  in  the  family:  Elizabeth, 

widow  of  William  J.  Morgan  and  living  at  Luther,  Okla- 
homa; Amanda,  who  married  M.  D.  Graves,  died  in 
Kansas  as  did  also  her  husband;  Leonard,  now  de- 
ceased; and  William  J. 

William  James  Ladd  grew  up  in  his  native  county  of 
Indiana,  had  the  usual  influences  and  circumstances  of 
a rural  Indiana  boy,  acquired  a fair  education,  and  was 
just  coming  into  manhood  when  the  war  broke  out.  In 
1862  he  volunteered  his  services  and  enlisted  in  Company 
I of  the  Eighty-fifth  Indiana  Volunteer  Infantry.  From 
that  time  forward  until  the  close  of  hostilities  he  was 
with  his  command  in  the  various  engagements  and  cam- 
paigns, and  held  the  rank  of  non-commissioned  officer. 
On  July  20,  1864,  he  was  wounded  by  a shell  at  Peach 
Tree  Creek,  Georgia,  the  site  of  that  battlefield  now 
being  included  in  the  City  of  Atlanta.  After  recovering 
from  his  wounds  in  the  hospital  he  rejoined  his  regiment 
and  continued  until  the  Union  arms  were  triumphant. 

Following  the  war  Mr.  Ladd  engaged  in  the  milling 
business  in  Indiana,  but  in  1878  he  transferred  his 
activities  to  a newer  country,  locating  in  Montgomery 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1933 


County  along  the  southern  line  of  Kansas.  There  he  en- 
gaged in  the  shipping  and  dealing  in  live  stock,  and  also 
conducted  a ranch. 

Mr.  Ladd  is  one  of  the  men  who  has  many  keen 
and  interesting  recollections  of  the  opening  of  the 
original  Oklahoma  Territory  in  1889.  He  secured  a 
claim  west  of  Edmond,  lived  upon  it  and  proved  it  up, 
and  one  of  the  fine  farms  in  that  section  of  the  state 
is  the  result  of  his  enterprise  and  industry.  In  1896 
Mr.  Ladd  moved  to  the  Creek  Nation,  locating  in  what  is 
now  Creek  County,  and  was  diligently  engaged  in  look- 
ing after  his  ranching  interests  until  the  Town  of 
Bristow  was  started.  He  was  one  of  the  men  who  pro- 
moted that  village,  and  has  had  his  home  there  ever 
since,  and  whenever  possible  has  done  what  he  could  to 
advance  its  interests  in  the  way  of  larger  commercial 
outlook,  better  schools,  churches,  and  all  things  that  go 
to  make  up  a good  town.  Until  the  last  two  years  he 
engaged  in  buying  cotton,  but  is  now  retired  from 
active  business. 

Mr.  Ladd  is  one  of  the  oldest  republicans  in  Okla- 
homa. He  helped  to  organize  the  republican  party  in 
Indiana,  and  in  the  first  Lincoln  campaign  in  1860  he 
was  a member  of  one  of  those  historic  organizations 
known  as  ‘ ‘ The  Lincoln  Wide-Awakes.  ’ ’ He  was  also  a 
delegate  to  the  first  territorial  convention  at  Guthrie, 
Oklahoma,  July  20,  1889.  In  the  general  election  of 
1914  he  was  a candidate  on  the  republican  ticket  for 
the  Lower  House  of  the  Oklahoma  State  Legislature, 
and  was  elected  by  a safe  majority.  He  is  now  looking 
after  the  interests  of  his  constituents  and  giving  a 
studious  attention  to  general  legislation  affecting  the 
entire  commonwealth.  Outside  of  this  position  in  the 
Legislature  Mr.  Ladd  has  never  cared  for  official  honors 
and  never  accepted  any  except  some  township  offices. 
He  is  a member  of  the  Christian  Church,  and  is  com- 
mander of  Lawton  Post  No.  31  Grand  Army  of  the  Re- 
public at  Bristow. 

At  Paris,  Illinois,  September  27,  1866,  not  long  after 
he  had  returned  from  the  war  Mr.  Ladd  married  Miss 
Julia  A.  Cox.  She  was  born  in  Edgar  County,  Illinois, 
September  15,  1845.  For  nearly  half  a century  they 
traveled  life ’s  highway  together,  sharing  in  its  joys  and 
burdens.  Mrs.  Ladd  died  while  on  a visit  to  her  old 
home  on  May  19,  1915.  A large  family  of  children  were 
left  to  mourn  her  loss.  There  were  ten  born  into  their 
household  altogether,  but  three  boys  died  in  infancy. 
A brief  record  of  the  remaining  seven  is  as  follows : 
Jane,  who  married  William  H.  Mitchell  and  lives  in 
Kansas  City,  Missouri;  Alice,  who  married  Harvey  Glea- 
son, is  now  living  at  home  with  her  father;  David  lives 
in  Creek  County,  where  he  is  a prominent  rancher ; 
Thomas  has  been  for  the  past  thirteen  years  connected 
with  the  postoffice  at  Muskogee;  Edgar  lives  in  Colo- 
rado; Isaac  E.  lives  in  Creek  County;  Kate  is  the  wife 
of  Ernest  Narjot  of  Los  Angeles,  California. 

Daniel  Pierce  Sparks.  A veteran  Confederate 
soldier,  a man  whose  life  has  seen  many  of  the  vicissitudes 
and  experiences  of  the  past  half  century,  Daniel  P. 
Sparks  is  one  of  the  old  and  honored  citizens  of  Shawnee, 
where  for  several  years  he  has  filled  with  credit  the 
office  of  justice  of  the  peace.  He  came  to  Oklahoma 
in  the  early  days  from  Texas,  and  for  several  years 
was  engaged  in  business  at  Shawnee  and  elsewhere. 

His  birth  occurred  in  the  Parish  of  St.  Mary’s,  near 
Franklin,  Louisiana,  April  3,  1845.  The  lives  of  him- 
self and  his  father,  who  also  bore  the  name  of  Daniel 
Pierce,  cover  practically  the  entire  period  of  American 
national  existence.  The  elder  Sparks  was  born  in  1787, 
the  year  the  Federal  Constitution  was  formulated.  He 
was  a native  of  South  Carolina,  and  a son  of  Daniel 


Sparks.  There  were  four  brothers  who  came  from  Eng- 
land to  Virginia  about  the  outbreak  of  the  American 
Revolution.  Their  names  were  Samuel,  Charles,  Harry 
and  Daniel,  the  last  being  the  grandfather  of  the 
Shawnee  citizen.  They  were  all  soldiers  in  the  American 
Revolution,  and  Harry,  the  youngest,  was  killed  in  battle. 
After  the  war  the  other  brothers  removed  to  South 
Carolina.  Daniel  P.  Sparks,  Sr.,  was  reared  in  South 
Carolina,  and  when  a young  man  went  to  St.  Mary’s 
Parish,  Louisiana,  where  he  married  and  where  he 
became  a sugar  planter.  He  also  maintained  a residence 
in  Greenville,  South  Carolina.  His  death  occurred  in 
New  Orleans  in  1867.  Members  of  the  Sparks  family 
have  been  participants  in  practically  every  great  war  of 
the  nation.  While  grandfather  Daniel  was  a Revolution- 
ary soldier,  his  son  Daniel  Pierce  took  part  in  the  War 
of  1812,  and  Daniel  Pierce,  Jr.,  as  already  noted,  was 
a Confederate  soldier.  Daniel  Pierce  Sparks,  Sr.,  was 
an  active  member  of  the  Baptist  Church.  He  married 
Eliza  Vinson,  who  was  born  in  Tennessee  and  died  at 
Houston,  Texas. 

The  early  education  Of  Daniel  Pierce  Sparks  was 
acquired  chiefly  in  South  Carolina,  and  he  was  pursuing 
his  higher  education  in  Furman  University  at  Greenville 
when  the  war  broke  out.  He  was  at  that  time  just 
sixteen  years  of  age.  He  left  school  at  once  and  enlisted 
in  Hampton’s  Legion  of  South  Carolina  Troops.  His 
service  covered  a period  of  four  years  and  three  months, 
practically  the  entire  duration  of  the  war.  He  was 
promoted  to  second  lieutenant  in  the  cavalry  attached 
to  the  Twenty-first  South  Carolina  Regiment  of  Infantry, 
and  when  that  organization  was  disbanded  he  returned  to 
Hampton ’s  Regiment  and  was  one  of  its  scouts.  He  was 
taken  prisoner  near  Brentsville,  Virginia,  and  was  sent 
to  the  old  Capital  Prison  in  Washington,  D.  C.,  being 
exchanged  after  ninety  days.  While  his  own  record  as 
a soldier  was  most  creditable,  his  brother,  John  Calhoun 
Sparks,  came  in  for  unusual  distinction  in  the  Con- 
federate ranks.  This  brother  was  born  in  1841,  entered 
the  army  at  the  same  time  as  Daniel  P.,  and  was  made 
commander  of  Lee’s  Scouts  in  Virginia,  having  thirty 
picked  and  trusted  men  under  his  command.  He  was 
killed  in  1863.  Nearly  fifty  years  after  the  war  the 
Baptist  Courier  of  Greenville,  South  Carolina,  wrote 
of  him  as  a daring  soldier  and  scout,  and  speaks  of  him 
as  ‘ ‘ the  fearless  Sparks,  who  once  was  personally  compli- 
mented by  General  Lee  for  his  bravery.  ’ ’ This  article 
was  ordered  to  be  read  in  every  camp  of  the  United  Con- 
federate Veterans. 

After  the  war  Daniel  Pierce  Sparks  returned  to  New 
Orleans,  and  in  1866  went  to  Houston,  Texas.  His 
first  employment  there  was  in  Baldwin’s  book  store, 
and  for  a little  more  than  a year  he  was  a messenger 
on  the  road  in  the  employ  of  the  old  Texas  Express 
Company.  He  then  went  to  Hearne,  Texas,  as  bookkeeper 
for  the  firm  of  Ledick  & Reeves,  and  after  nearly  two 
years  opened  a mercantile  establishment  of  his  own 
at  Hearne,  and  continued  in  business  there  two  years. 

For  a number  of  years  Mr.  Sparks  ’ home  was  at 
Bellville,  in  Austin  County,  Texas.  He  bought  and  con- 
ducted a farm  in  that  locality  for  three  years,  and  then 
moved  into  Bellville,  the  county  seat,  and  was  engaged 
in  the  lumber  business  until  1880.  While  there  he 
was  again  in  the  employ  of  the  Texas  Express  Com- 
pany as  local  agent.  In  1880  Mr.  Sparks  moved  to 
Greenville,  Texas,  where  he  conducted  a restaurant  and 
book  store  for  more  than  fifteen  years.  Finally  selling 
out,  he  came  to  Shawnee  in  1897,  and  established  a 
restaurant  which  had  a large  patronage  and  bore  a 
splendid  reputation  among  its  customers  for  a number 
of  years.  In  1899  he  also  opened  a similar  business  at 


3934 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Oklahoma  City,  and  conducted  both  establishments  for 
two  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  he  sold  the  busi- 
ness at  Oklahoma  City. 

As  a result  of  an  injury  caused  by  his  walking  into 
an  open  gas  ditch,  Mr.  Sparks  was  unable  to  prosecute 
his  business  affairs  actively  for  some  time,  and  one  year 
of  this  he  spent  in  New  Mexico.  Finally  returning  to 
Shawnee  he  entered  politics  and  made  an  unsuccessful 
campaign  for  the  office  of  register  of  deeds  of  Potta- 
watomie County.  In  1912  he  was  elected  justice  of  the 
peace,  and  that  is  his  position  of  service  at  the  present 
time. 

Mr.  Sparks  is  a democrat,  a member  of  the  Episcopal 
Church,  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  Order,  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  and  the  Fraternal 
Order  of  Eagles.  In  the  last  named  fraternity  he  has 
served  as  secretary  for  the  past  twenty  years.  He  has 
been  especially  active  in  the  United  Confederate  Veterans, 
and  has  served  as  commander  of  Camp  No.  976,  and  as 
commander  general  of  the  Second  Division. 

In  1866,  soon  after  the  war,  Mr.  Sparks  married 
Miss  Lizzie  Duncan  of  Greenville,  South  Carolina.  She 
died  in  1867,  leaving  one  daughter,  Lizzie  Duncan,  who 
is  now  the  wife  of  W.  T.  Boyd,  an  employee  of  the 
Santa  Fe  Bailroad  Company,  located  at  Albuquerque, 
New  Mexico.  In  1872,  at  Bellville,  Texas,  Mr.  Sparks 
married  Miss  Josephine  Haggerty.  They  are  the  parents 
of  three  children:  John  Calhoun  is  bookkeeper  and  head 
clerk  for  the  firm  of  Phillips  & Norris,  cotton  oil 
manufacturers,  at  Ada,  Oklahoma;  D.  P.  Sparks,  Jr.,  is 
a foreman  in  the  machine  shops  of  the  Bock  Island  Bail- 
road  Company,  at  Shawnee;  Josephine  is  the  wife  of 
P.  A.  Norris,  a cotton  oil  manufacturer  at  Ada,  Okla- 
home. 

Walter  B.  Wilson.  The  list  of  the  leading  citizens 
of  Henryetta  includes  the  name  of  Walter  B.  Wilson, 
cashier  and  vice  president  of  the  First  National  Bank. 
While  one  of  the  younger  representatives  of  financial 
interests,  it  would  seem  that  his  youth  has  been  no  bar 
to  his  progress,  for  his  career  has  been  one  of  steady 
advancement  to  a position  which  many  older  men  might 
envy.  Since  his  arrival  at  Henryetta  he  has  been  con- 
sidered a factor  in  the  development  and  progress  of  the 
city,  and  in  his  particular  line  is  a man  of  recognized 
ability  who  carries  to  a successful  completion  the  under- 
takings with  which  he  identifies  himself. 

Mr.  Wilson  was  born  at  Cissna  Park,  Iroquois  County, 
Illinois.  April  18,  1888,  and  is  a son  of  Dr.  Calvin  C.  and 
Anna  H.  (Brock)  Wilson,  the  former  a native  of  Indiana 
and  the  latter  of  Illinois.  Dr.  Calvin  C.  Wilson  was  a 
child  when  taken  by  his  parents  from  Indiana  to  Illinois, 
and  in  the  latter  state  received  good  educational  advan- 
tages, for  some  years  following  the  vocation  of  educator 
and  being  a teacher  in  high  schols.  Later  he  adopted 
the  calling  of  medicine,  and  after  graduation  from  the 
Ohio  Medical  College  practiced  for  a number  of  years 
at  various  points  in  Illinois,  but  trouble  with  his  hearing 
caused  him  to  abandon  his  profession  and  in  1902  he 
brought  his  family  to  Henryetta.  Here  he  became  con- 
nected with  the  White  Mercantile  Company,  and  con- 
tinued in  the  employ  of  this  concern  until  the  great  fire 
of  1907,  which  practically  wiped  out  Henryetta ’s  business 
district  and  which  destroyed  the  establishment  with  Ahich 
Doctor  Wilson  was  identified.  Later  he  joined  the  First 
National  Bank’s  clerical  force,  and  still  continues  to  be 
associated  with  this  institution.  He  is  one  of  the  well 
known  and  highly  esteemed  citizens  of  the  community, 
interested  actively  in  its  welfare,  and  for  the  past  seven 
or  eight  years  has  acted  in  the  capacity  of  city  treasurer. 
He  is  a republican  in  politics.  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Wilson 


have  two  sons:  Walter  B. ; and  Charles  L.,  a mechanical 
engineer  and  now  professor  of  mechanical  engineering  at 
the  Texas  Agricultural  and  Mechanical  College,  at  Bryan, 
or  College  Station,  Texas. 

Walter  B.  Wilson  received  a high  school  education  at 
Chicago,  Illinois,  and  Greeneastle,  Indiana,  and  was 
fourteen  years  of  age  when  he  accompanied  his  parents 
to  Oklahoma.  Here  his  first  employment  was  as  clerk 
in  the  postoffice  at  Henryetta,  and  later  he  received  his 
introduction  to  banking  with  the  Citizens  Bank  of 
Henryetta.  In  1909  he  became  cashier  of  the  First 
National  Bank  of  Henryetta,  and  since  then  has  also 
succeeded  to  the  vice  presidency  of  this  institution,  of 
which  the  other  officials  are:  James  M.  Wise,  president; 
Joe  Hillman,  vice  president;  and  V.  V.  Kingsbury  and 
O.  D.  Norred,  assistant  cashiers.  The  First  National 
Bank  has  a,  capital  and  surplus  of  $60,000,  and  is  ac- 
counted one  of  the  strong  and  reliable  banking  houses  of 
Okmulgee  County.  Mr.  Wilson  has  an  established  place 
in  the  confidence  of  its  patrons  and  depositors  and  has 
done  much  to  make  the  institution  a success.  A young 
man,  he  possesses  good  business  sagacity,  keen  discrimina- 
tion and  laudable  ambition,  and  these  are  elements  which 
have  always  had  great  force  in  the  battle  of  life  and  the 
ultimate  winning  of  success.  In  his  political  views  he  is 
a republican,  believing  that  the  principles  of  that  party 
contain  the  best  elements  of  good  government.  Frater- 
nally he  is  a Knight  Templar  and  Shriner  Mason,  and  his 
religious  affiliation  is  with  the  Presbyterian  Church. 

Mr.  Wilson  was  married  at  Henryetta,  in  1909,  to  Miss 
Mary  M.  Wise,  a native  of  Missouri,  and  daughter  of 
James  Monroe  Wise,  president  of  the  First  National 
Bank  and  one  of  the  pioneer  coal  operators  of  Henry- 
etta. They  have  two  children:  Walter  B.,  Jr.,  and  Gene- 
vieve. 

James  Monroe  Wise  was  born  at  Eugene,  Vermilion 
County,  Indiana,  May  25,  1849,  and  is  a son  of  Jacob 
and  Mary  (Taylor)  Wise,  the  former  born  in  Pennsyl- 
vania and  the  latter  near  Eugene.  He  came  to  Indiana 
at  an  early  date,  married  near  Eugene,  and  there  he  and 
the  mother  passed  the  greater  part  of  their  lives.  After 
the  close  of  the  Civil  war  they  moved  to  Paola, 'Kansas, 
where  both  passed  away,  the  mother  when  about  sixty 
years  old  and  the  father  at  the  age  of  sixty-six  years.  He 
was  a farmer  and  proprietor  of  a hotel  and  a stanch 
republican  in  his  political  views.  There  were  five  chil- 
dren in  the  family:  H.  G.,  of  Dallas,  Texas;  James  Mon- 
roe; Mary  Margaret  McCarthy,  deceased;  John  F.,  of 
Joplin,  Missouri;  and  Mrs.  Margaret  Johnson,  a widow 
residing  at  Kirkwood,  Missouri. 

James  M.  Wise  received  his  education  in  th£  public 
schools  of  Indiana,  and  soon  after  going  to  Kansas 
with  his  parents  embarked  upon  his  independent  career. 
For  two  or  three  years  he  worked  in  a commission  house 
at  Paola,  and  through  his  energy,  initiative  and  fidelity 
won  a partnership  in  the  firm  of  B.  C.  Crow611  & 
Company,  but  after  several  years  disposed  of  his  inter- 
ests in  this  concern  and  went  to  Colorado.  For  five  or 
six  years  he  followed  the  adventurous  life  of  the 
freighter,  and  also  established  a grocery  business  at  Lead- 
ville,  in  that  state,  but  finally  left  Colorado,  went  to  Bich 
Hill,  Missouri,  and  became  interested  in  coal  operations, 
which  have  interested  his  attention  to  the  present  time. 
Mr.  Wise  came  to  Henryetta  in  1902  and  here  started  the 
first  real  coal  mine,  although  there  had  been  a small 
operator  who  had  preceded  him.  He  became  the  founder 
in  that  year  of  the  Henryetta  Coal  and  Mining  Company, 
of  which  he  has  since  been  president,  and  which  has  been 
developed  from  a modest  undertaking  into  a 700-ton 
mine.  While  the  greater  part  of  his  attention  and  abil- 
ities have  been  given  to  the  development  of  this  industry, 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1935 


lie  is  also  largely  interested  in  oil  companies,  and  since 
its  organization  has  been  the  directing  head  of  the  First 
National  Bank.  As  a citizen  he  has  been  foremost  in 
the  promotion  of  movements  for  the  public  welfare,  and 
few  men  have  in  greater  degree  the  respect  and  con- 
fidence of  their  fellow-citizens  and  business  associates. 

Mr.  Wise  was  married  in  1882  to  Miss  Hattie  Scott,  a 
native  of  Denver,  Colorado,  and  to  this  union  there  have 
been  born  four  daughters:  Georgia,  who  is  the  wife  of 
Frank  Tutt,  of  St.  Louis,  Missouri;  Mrs.  Mildred  Bur- 
ress,  who  resides  with  her  father;  Mary  Margaret,  who 
is  the  wife  of  Walter  R.  Wilson,  cashier  and  vice  pres- 
ident of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Henryetta;  and 
Miss  Alice,  who  resides  at  home. 

William  C.  Grove,  who  recently  began  his  first  term 
of  service  as  one  of  the  county  commissioners  of  Osage 
County,  is  one  of  the  oldest  white  residents  of  the  Osage 
country,  and  as  a rancher  and  cattleman  is  known  among 
the  prominent  men  of  that  industry  throughout  Kansas, 
Oklahoma  and  Texas,  and  it  is  doubtful  if  any  one 
individual  has  handled  more  live  stock  in  Osage  County 
than  Mr.  Grove.  He  has  had  a varied  career,  beginning 
as  a cowboy,  later  developed  an  independent  business, 
and  has  come  to  occupy  a place  of  such  influence  in  his 
vicinity  that  it  is  proper  to  say  that  where  he  leads  others 
follow. 

His  birth  occurred  at  the  little  Village  of  Mirabile 
in  Caldwell  County,  Missouri,  June  8,  1872.  His  parents 
were  John  Harvey  and  Mary  Ann  (Frederick)  Grove. 
His  father  and  mother  were  both  born  near  Canton, 
Ohio,  were  taken  when  children  to  Missouri,  grew-  up 
in  the  same  neighborhood,  and  after  their  marriage  and 
when  William  C.  Grove  was  six  years  of  age  they 
moved  to  Franklin  County,  Kansas,  where  the  mother 
died  in  the  following  year.  John  H.  Grove  died  in 
Kansas  March  30,  1912,  and  would  have  been  seventy- 
three  years  of  age  on  the  following  19th  of  June.  Most 
of  his  active  career  was  spent  as  a rancher  and  he 
was  well  known  among  horse  men,  and  made  a specialty 
of  handling  fast  horses,  particularly  trotting  stock.  He 
was  well  adapted  for  that  business,  and  made  it  a life 
study.  At  one  time  he  owned  one  of  the  noted  trotters 
in  the  country,  ‘ ‘ Red  Cloud.  ’ ’ He  owned  a number  of 
other  fast  horses  and  some  fine  stallions.  Early  in  his 
career  he  served  about  three  years  with  a Missouri 
regiment  in  the  Civil  war,  and  in  the  early  days  had 
experience  as  a freighter  from  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  over 
the  old  Santa  Fe  trail  to  Santa  Fe,  New  Mexico.  He 
made  several  of  these  trips,  at  first  with  ox  teams  and 
later  with  teams  of  mules,  and  through  these  varied 
activities  gained  a large  acquaintance  among  frontiers- 
men. He  was  a republican,  a Mason,  and  a member 
of  the  Christian  Church.  William  C.  Grove  has  one 
brother,  Harvey  Elmer,  who  is  now  in  the  oil  busi- 
ness in  Oklahoma. 

After  the  death  of  his  mother  William  C.  Grove  was 
sent  back  to  live  in  the  family  of  an  uncle  in  Missouri 
for  a year  and  a half,  and  then  went  to  Kansas  with 
another  uncle,  and  practically  grew  up  in  the  midst 
of  the  activities  of  the  ranch  and  range.  For  five  years 
he  was  employed  on  the  Diamond  X Ranch  with  his 
uncle,  and  his  first  acquaintance  with  Oklahoma  began 
in  1886,  when  he  accompanied  a cattle  outfit  into  the 
Cherokee  Strip  country.  Later  he  was  in  Texas  with 
the  well  known  Gamble  cattle  organization,  and  from 
there  came  into  the  Osage  Nation  in  1892.  With  the 
exception  of  a season  spent  in  New  Mexico,  another  in 
Colorado,  and  one  in  Dakota,  he  has  been  continuously 
identified  with  the  Osage  country  ever  since.  At  an 
earlier  time  he  had  taken  a large  bunch  of  cattle  over 

Vol.  V— 12 


one  of  the  trails  leading  out  from  Texas  through  the 
intervening  country  to  the  northern  pastures  in  Mon- 
tana. He  was  still  in  the  employ  of  the  Gamble  organiza- 
tion when  he  came  to  the  Osage  Nation,  and  was  with 
that  and  other  ranch  outfits  for  a number  of  years. 

After  his  marriage  Mr.  Grove  located  on  a ranch 
2%  mile3  west  of  Hominy.  This  comprises  1,700  acres 
under  one  fence,  and  is  one  of  the  largest  and  most 
valuable  cattle  ranches  in  Osage  County.  He  combines 
farming  with  the  live  stock  industry,  and  each  season 
runs  from  100  to  500  head  <)f  cattle.  He  has  handled 
as  high  as  2,000  or  3,000  head  of  cattle  in  a single 
year.  Mr.  Grove  is  also  an  extensive  hog  raiser,  of 
the  Hampshire  stock,  and  is  a member  of  the  National 
Hampshire  Hog  Association. 

His  success  as  a business  man  has  naturally  brought 
him  into  contact  with  local  affairs,  where  his  judgment 
and  action  are  held  in  high  esteem.  In  politics  he  is 
a lifelong  democrat,  has  filled  local  offices  as  school 
director  and  road  supervisor,  as  councilman  at  Hominy, 
and  is  now  in  his  first  term  as  county  commissioner. 
Though  a white  man  himself,  he  has  taken  a very  active 
interest  in  the  solution  of  the  questions  affecting  the 
tribal  affairs  of  the  Osage  people,  and  was  a strong 
advocate  of  the  present  methods  of  handling  the  oil 
situation. 

On  October  12,  1900,  Mr.  Grove  married  at  Inde- 
pendence, Kansas,  Miss  Agnes  Herridge.  She  was  born 
in  South  Dakota,  April  27,  1883,  and  came  with  her 
parents  to  the  Indian  Territory  about  1890.  Her  parents 
are  Edward  and  Julia  (Lessart)  Herridge,  her  father 
a native  of  the  State  of  New  York,  and  now  living  near 
Gray  Horse  in  Osage  County,  while  the  mother  died 
at  Pawhuska  in  1906.  Mrs.  Grove’s  mother  was  the 
inheritor  of  Sioux  blood  on  her  mother ’s  side  and  Osage 
blood  through  her  father.  Mrs.  Grove’s  grandfather, 
Benjamin  Lessart,  who  was  part  French  and  part  Osage, 
founded  a trading  post  at  Denver,  Colorado,  in  the  early 
days,  and  was  also  a rancher  and  cattle  man,  operating 
in  Dakota  and  over  the  Sioux  Reservation. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Grove  have  four  children : Muriel  Wyoma, 
Mary  Lutisha,  Harry  Leslie  and  Frederick  Herridge. 
Mr.  Grove  in  Masonry  has  taken  thirty-two  degrees  in 
the  Scottish  Rite,  is  affiliated  with  the  Lodge  at  Harmony 
and  with  the  Consistory  at  Guthrie,  and  is  also  a member 
of  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Benevolent  and 
Protective  Order  of  Elks  at  Pawhuska. 

John  W.  Ricketts.  Near  the  Cimarron  River  in  the 
southern  part  of  Payne  County  is  situated  the  vigorous 
and  attractive  Village  of  Perkins,  and  that  Mr.  Ricketts 
is  one  of  its  popular  and  loyal  citizens  needs  no  further 
voucher  than  the  statement  that  he  is  here  serving  in  the 
office  of  postmaster. 

Mr.  Ricketts  claims  the  old  Blue  Grasj  State  as  the 
place  of  his  nativity  and  is  a scion  of  stanch  old  Southern 
stock  on  the  paternal  side,  his  maternal  ancestors  having 
been  pioneer  settlers  in  the  State  of  Ohio.  Mr.  Ricketts 
was  born  at  Catlettsburg,  Boyd  County,  Kentucky,  on 
the  14th  of  February,  1854,  and  is  a son  of  John  W.  and 
Jane  (Johnston)  Ricketts,  the  former  of  whom  was  born 
in  the  Shenandoah  Valley  of  Virginia  and  the  latter  of 
whom  was  born  in  Ohio,  where  their  marriage  was 
solemnized.  The  parents  of  Mr.  Ricketts  passed  most 
of  their  lives  near  the  Ohio  River,  having  resided  for  a 
time  in  Kentucky  and  having  later  located  on  the  river 
in  Southern  Ohio,  where  the  father  died  in  1900,  when 
about  seventy  years  of  age,  he  having  served  as  a pilot 
on  the  Ohio  River  in  his  young  manhood  and  having 
later  become  a prosperous  farmer.  His  widow  still 
maintains  her  home  in  Ohio  and  celebrated  in  1915  her 


1936 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


ninety-fourth  birthday  anniversary,  so  that  she  is  one 
of  the  most  venerable  women  of  her  native  state,  even 
as  she  is  a representative  of  a sterling  pioneer  family 
of  the  historic  old  Buckeye  commonwealth.  Of  the 
children  the  eldest  is  Thomas  C.,  who  is  now  a resident 
of  Texas;  Mrs.  Caroline  Shattuck,  the  next  in  order  of 
birth,  is  deceased;  John  W.,  of  this  review,  is  the  third 
child;  Mary  died  at  the  age  of  four  years;  Mrs.  Nancy 
Baxter  maintains  her  home  in  Ohio ; and  Mrs.  Dora 
Johnston  was  a resident  of  Ohio  at  the  time  of  her 
death,  her  husband  having  represented  that  state  in  the 
United  States  Congress. 

John  W.  Ricketts  was  a child  at  the  time  when  the 
family  home  was  established  in  Lawrence  County,  Ohio, 
where  he  was  reared  to  manhood  and  received  the  ad- 
vantages of  the  public  schools,  the  while  he  early  began 
to  assist  in  the  work  and  management  of  the  home  farm. 
In  1886  he  went  to  Minnesota,  in  which  state  he  main- 
tained his  residence  until  Oklahoma  Territory  was  thrown 
open  to  settlement,  in  1889,  when  he  came  to  the  new 
territory,  which  was  not  formally  organized  until  the 
following  year,  and  numbered  himself  among  the  pioneer 
settlers  of  Payne  County,  where  he  secured  Government 
land  and  reclaimed  an  excellent  farm,  his  homestead 
place  having  been  developed  into  one  of  the  excellent 
farms  of  the  county  and  the  property  being  still  in  his 
possession.  He  served  four  years  as  carrier  on  a rural 
free  delivery  mail  route  from  Perkins,  and  on  the  5th 
of  March,  1908,  he  was  appointed  postmaster  at  Perkins, 
the  office  being  of  the  third  class.  He  has  since  held 
this  position  and  his  continuous  tenure  of  office  indicates 
the  popular  estimate  placed  upon  his  administration. 

Upon  coming  to  Payne  County,  in  1889,  Mr.  Ricketts 
filed  claim  to  the  southwest  quarter  of  section  1,  town- 
ship 17,  range  2,  east,  and  this  is  the  well  improved 
homestead  which  he  still  retains,  the  farm  being  eligibly 
situated  one-half  miles  west  of  the  Village  of  Perkins. 

In  politics  Mr.  Ricketts  gives  his  allegiance  to  the 
republican  party,  and  his  civic  loyalty  and  progressiveness 
have  been  manifested  in  his  effective  service  in  township 
offices  and  as  a member  of  the  school  board  of  his  dis- 
trict. He  and  his  wife  became  charter  members  of  the 
Congregational  Church  at  Perkins,  and  he  is  a trustee 
of  the  same,  besides  which  he  contributed  liberally  to  the 
erection  of  the  church  building.  He  is  a Master  Mason 
and  maintains  affiliation  with  the  lodge  at  Perkins. 

In  Ohio,  in  1872,  Mr.  Ricketts  married  Miss  Sadie 
R.  Ferguson,  who  was  born  and  reared  in  that  state, 
and  who  died  on  the  home  farm  in  Payne  County, 
Oklahoma,  about  the  year  1892.  Of  the  three  children 
of  this  union  the  eldest  is  William,  who  is  a resident 
of  the  City  of  Minneapolis,  Minnesota;  Homer  is  now  in 
Mexico;  and  Mrs.  Mamie  Banks  is  deceased.  In  1901 
was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Ricketts  to  Miss 
Christine  B.  Harpold,  and  no  children  have  been  born 
of  this  union. 

Martin  Rtan,  D.  D.  S.  Doctor  Ryan  has  been  a. 
resident  of  Okmulgee  County,  Oklahoma,  since  1906,  and 
was  engaged  in  the  practice  of  his  profession  in  the 
Village  of  Beggs,  this  county,  until  1912,  when  he  was 
elected  county  treasurer  and  removed  to  Okmulgee,  the 
county  seat,  where  he  has  since  continued  as  the  efficient 
and  popular  incumbent  of  this  important  fiscal  office,  in 
which  he  has  given  a most  careful  and  acceptable  ad- 
ministration and  in  which  he  is  now  serving  his  second 
term,  through  re-election  in  the  autumn  of  1914.  His 
being  called  to  this  office  offers  the  most  effective  evi- 
dence of  the  high  place  which  is  his  in  the  confidence 
and  esteem  of  the  people  of  the  county,  and  he  is  known 
as  a loyal  and  progressive  citizen  of  the  state  of  his 
adoption. 


Doctor  Ryan  was  born  in  Outagamie  County,  Wiscon- 
sin, on  the  30th  of  May,  1874,  and  is  the  youngest  in  a 
family  of  eight  children,  of  whom  three  are  living.  He 
is  a son  of  Daniel  and  Winifred  (Powers)  Ryan,  both 
natives  of  Ireland,  where  the  former  was  born  in  County 
Tyrone  and  the  latter  in  County  Clare.  Daniel  Ryan 
came  to  the  United  States  in  1846  and  his  marriage  was 
solemnized  in  the  City  of  Boston,  Massachusetts.  In 
company  with  his  young  wife  he  soon  made  his  way  to 
the  west  and  numbered  himself  among  the  pioneers  of 
Outagamie  County,  Wisconsin,  where  he  reclaimed  and 
developed  an  excellent  farm  and  where  he  and  his  wife 
passed  the  residue  of  their  lives.  Mrs.  Ryan  passed  to 
the  life  eternal  in  1903,  at  the  age  of  seventy-two  years, 
and  Mr.  Ryan  died  in  1905,  at  the  venerable  age  of 
eighty-four  years. 

Doctor  Ryan  was  reared  to  the  sturdy  discipline  of 
the  home  farm  and  profited  duly  by  the  advantages 
afforded  in  the  excellent  public  schools  of  his  native 
state.  In  preparation  for  the  profession  of  his  choice 
he  entered  the  Chicago  College  of  Dental  Surgery,  in 
which  institution  he  was  graduated  as  a member  of  the 
class  of  1895  and  from  which  he  received  his  well  earned 
degree  of  Doctor  of  Dental  Surgery.  After  his  gradua- 
tion he  was  engaged  in  the  practice  of  his  profession 
at  Marion,  Waupaca  County,  Wisconsin,  until  1906, 
when  he  came  to  Oklahoma  Territory  and  established 
himself  in  practice  at  Beggs,  Okmulgee  County,  where, 
as  previously  stated,  he  continued  his  professional  en- 
deavors until  his  election  to  his  present  office,  in  1912. 

In  politics  Doctor  Ryan  accords  unwavering  allegiance 
to  the  democratic  party  and  he  has  been  one  of  its  in- 
fluential representatives  in  Okmulgee  County.  He  was 
reared  in  the  faith  of  the  Catholic  Church,  of  which  he 
and  his  wife  are  communicants,  and  he  is  affiliated  with 
the  Knights  of  Columbus,  the  Benevolent  and  Protective 
Order  of  Elks  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America. 

In  the  year  1900  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of 
Doctor  Ryan  to  Miss  Anna  Laura  Donahue,  who  likewise 
was  born  and  reared  in  Wisconsin,  a daughter  of  Michael 
Donahue.  The  six  children  of  this  union  are:  Clement, 

Lucile,  Martin,  Jr.,  Earl,  Carl  and  Mary. 

R.  B.  F.  Hummer.  The  popular  and  energetic  young 
city  attorney  of  Henryetta,  R.  B.  F.  Hummer,  has  won  his 
way  to  his  present  position  and  standing  entirely  through 
the  medium  of  his  own  abilities  and  efforts.  His  career 
is  notably  illustrative  of  the  opportunities  offered  by 
Oklahoma  for  advancement  to  the  young  and  energetic 
men  of  other  sections  of  the  country,  who  are  possessed 
of  the  ambition,  initiative,  determination  and  ability  to 
win.  He  is  a native  of  Pennsylvania,  and  was  born  at 
Penbrook,  near  the  City  of  Harrisburg,  Dauphin  County, 
January  21,  1886,  his  parents  being  John  W.  and  Alma 
(Yorty)  Hummer,  natives  of  Pennsylvania  and  still  resi- 
dents of  Penbrook,  where  Mr.  Hummer  is  engaged  in 
business  as  a painting  contractor.  There  were  four  sons 
and  one  daughter  in  the  family. 

After  attending  the  public  schools  of  Penbrook,  R.  B. 
F.  Hummer  went  to  the  state  normal  school,  at  Millers- 
ville,  Pennsylvania,  and  was  graduated  therefrom  in  1909. 
Both  before  and  after  graduation  he  had  engaged  in 
teaching  school,  in  order  to  pay  his  way  through  school, 
and  in  the  meantime  devoted  his  leisure  hours  to  the 
study  of  law,  having  decided  upon  a career  in  that  diffi- 
cult profession.  Eventually  Mr.  Hummer  entered  the 
law  school  of  Georgetown  University,  at  Washington, 
D.  C.,  where  he  received  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Laws, 
in  June,  1913.  Not  long  thereafter  he  determined  upon 
Oklahoma  as  the  best  field  for  the  display  of  his  abilities, 
and  accordingly  came  to  this  state  and  in  December,  1913, 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1937 


1 

i, 


IS 

le 

1 

■e 

)f 

el 


igt 

lisj 

>h 

er 

by 

lie 

ed 

to 

at 

ty, 

na 

a- 

ms 


B. 

is- 

09. 

in 

id, 

tie 

li- 

the 


iesj 


took  the  examination  for  admission  to  the  bar.  He  passed 
second  in  the  class  of  seventy-five  applicants,  being  beaten 
for  first  place  by  H.  H.  Hagan,  now  of  Oklahoma  City, 
a former  classmate  at  the  Georgetown  University  Law 
School.  Admitted  to  the  bar  at  that  time,  Mr.  Hummer 
formed  a partnership  with  E.  E.  Simpson,  the  firm  of 
Simpson  & Hummer  continuing  in  existence  until  the 
senior  partner  was  elected  county  attorney,  when  he 
was  forced  to  retire  from  the  concern  in  order  to'  give 
all  *his  attention  to  the  duties  of  his  office.  Mr.  Hummer 
has  since  practiced  alone  and  has  been  identified  with 
much  of  the  important  litigation  that  has  come  before 
the  courts  in  recent  years.  In  the  spring  of  1915  he 
came  before  the  people  of  Henryetta  as  the  democratic 
candidate  for  the  office  of  city  attorney  and  was  elected 
by  a handsome  majority,  for  a term  of  two  years.  His 
conduct  in  that  office  has  shown  that  he  possesses  high 
executive  talents.  Mr.  Hummer  is  secretary  of  the  Roos- 
terfood  Oil  Company  of  Henryetta,  and  is  counsel  for 
the  Henryetta,  Oklahoma  & Western  Railroad,  the  new 
electric  transportation  line  which  will  connect  all  the 
towns  of  this  thriving  and  prosperous  mining  community. 
He  has  always  been  a stanch  and  unswerving  democrat 
and  at  this  time  stands  high  in  the  councils  of  his  party 
in  Okmulgee  County.  While  he  is  a Lutheran  in  religious 
faith,  owing  to  the  fact  that  there  is  no  church  of  that 
denomination  at  Henryetta,  he  is  active  in  the  Baptist 
Church  and  especially  so  in  the  Sunday  school,  in  which 
he  teaches  a class  of  young  men.  Fraternally  he  is  a 
thirty-second  degree,  Scottish  Rite  Mason  and  Shriner,  a 
member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  secre- 
tary of  the  Loyal  Order  of  the  Moose,  an  Eagle  at  Henry- 
etta, and  a member  of  the  Junior  Order  of  American  Me- 
chanics at  Penbrook,  Pennsylvania.  He  is  also  a mem- 
ber of  the  Oklahoma  Bar  Association.  Mr.  Hummer  is 
unmarried  and  one  of  the  most  popular  young  men  in 
social  circles  of  Henryetta. 

In  speaking  of  Mr.  Hummer  a contemporary  news- 
paper recently  said : ‘ ‘ The  voters  of  Henryetta  have 

Seen  demonstrated  in  the  official  acts  of  our  city  attorney, 
R.  B.  F.  Hummer,  the  wisdom  they  displayed  in  select- 
ing Mr.  Hummer  for  this  position  of  trust  and  honor. 
Mr.  Hummer’s  name  is  no  misnomer,  for  in  his  official 
and  private  actions  he  is  regarded  as  one  of  the  hustlers. 
A man  that  to  be  contented  must  be  occupied  in  some 
work  or  accomplishment.  R.  B.  F.  Hummer  previous  to 
his  accepting  the  position  of  city  attorney  was  recog- 
nized as  one  of  the  foremost  successful  young  lawyers  of 
this  district,  being  of  a studious  nature,  Mr.  Hummer 
was  always  prepared  when  making  a court  appearance 
with  the  law  and  evidence  in  any  way  bearing  upon  an 
action  in  which  he  was  interested.  He  is  one  of  the 
attorneys  who  never  failed  in  the  service  rendered  a client 
to  give  them  adequate  service  and  sufficient  study  so  that 
they  had  the  advantage  of  a full  knowledge  of  the  law 
in  every  ease  undertaken  by  him. 

“Mr.  Hummer’s  acts  as  city  attorney  have  added  to 
his  laurels  as  a successful  practicing  lawyer.  He  has 
contributed  no  little  in  his  official  position  toward  com- 
pelling a respect  on  the  part  of  the  criminally  inclined  to 
a due  respect  of  the  law,  and  in  prosecuting  the  city  cases 
he  has  shown  himself  a man  and  an  attorney  above  re- 
proach, being  no  respecter  of  classes.  We  unhesitatingly 
commend  Mr.  Hummer  to  our  readers  both  as  an  official 
and  an  attorney,  and  close  this  short  review  with  a hearty 
wish  for  his  advancement  and  a long  continuance  of  our 
present  relations.” 

Charles  K.  Cary.  Something  like  thirteen  years  of 
experience  in  the  teaching  profession  was  Charles  K. 
Cary ’s  before  he  lent  his  attention  to  the  study  of 


law.  Such  an  experience  is,  of  its  very  nature,  bound 
to  add  something  of  value  to  the  equipment  of  a 
conscientious  man,  and  Mr.  Cary  may  truthfully  be  said 
to  have  been  the  recipient  of  every  benefit  that  could 
accrue  to  him  in  those  years  of  faithful  work.  He  began 
in  1888  with  a country  school  under  his  guidance.  His 
last  connection  with  the  profession  was  in  1901,  when 
he  concluded  a four  years  term  of  service  in  the  office 
of  county  superintendent  of  schools  of  Dewey  County. 

Mr.  Cary  was  born  in  Livingston  County,  Missouri, 
on  March  9,  1870,  and  is  the  son  of  Edward  G.  Cary, 
who  was  born  in  Northeastern  Ohio,  in  the  year  1846, 
and  who  died  in  the  vicinity  of  Kanima,  Haskell  County, 
Oklahoma,  in  1908. 

Edward  G.  Cary  was  a preacher  in  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church  for  many  years.  As  a boy  he  did 
not  receive  many  advantages  in  an  educational  way, 
but  he  had  a good  home  and  his  mother  taught  him 
much  that  could  never  be  learned  of  books  or  school- 
masters. When  he  was  a boy  of  about  eight  years  the 
family  moved  to  Iowa,  locating  in  Decatur  County,  and 
there  Mr.  Cary  lived  for  many  years  thereafter.  In  1868 
lie  moved  with  his  family  to  Missouri,  finally  locating  in 
Livingston  County,  where  the  subject  of  this  sketch 
was  born.  He  returned  to  Iowa  in  the  fall  of  1873,  but 
two  years  later  removed  to  Washington  County,  Kansas, 
for  the  purpose  of  entering  government  land.  It  was 
here  that  he  entered  the  ministry,  later  becoming  a 
member  of  the  Northwest  Kansas  Conference  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church. 

For  many  years  he  was  a pioneer  circuit  rider  of  that 
part  of  the  state,  occupying  the  pulpit  in  many  a rude 
hamlet  which  has  since  grown  to  be  a thriving  city.  He 
later  removed  to  Arkansas  and  still  later  to  Haskell 
County,  Oklahoma,  where  his  death  occurred  in  1908. 
The  many  moves  made  by  Reverend  Cary  was  largely 
the  result  of  the  policy  of  his  church,  which  for  many 
years  opposed  long  terms  as  pastor  in  one  place. 

Rev.  Mr.  Cary  was  a veteran  of  the  Civil  war,  having 
served  a year  and  a half  in  the  Third  Iowa  Cavalry. 
He  was  in  after  years  prominently  identified  with  the 
Grand  Army  of  the  Republic.  In  1866  he  married 
Rebecca  J.  Exley,  a native  daughter  of  Iowa,  born 
there  in  1848.  She  survives  him,  and  is  now  living  in 
Smith  County,  Kansas. 

To  these  worthy  people  were  born  seven  children, 
briefly  mentioned  as  follows:  Ralph  C.,  the  eldest,  is 
a resident  of  Western  Nebraska.  He  is  station  agent 
for  his  town,  and  is  also  a farming  man  of  some  prom- 
inence in  his  community  and  the  publisher  of  a thriving 
newspaper.  The  second  child  was  Charles  K.,  mentioned 
in  greater  detail  in  later  paragraphs.  John  E.  lives 
at  Laramie,  Wyoming.  Bertha  married  John  A.  Fay, 
a clerk  in  the  United  States  army,  and  they  are  now 
in  Seattle,  Washington,  where  Mr.  Fay’s  regiment  is 
stationed.  Lillian  Grace  married  John  Oliver,  and  they 
live  on  his  ranch  in  Western  Nebraska.  Leonard  B. 
is  a copper  miner  and  lives  at  Bisbee,  Arizona.  The 
seventh  and  youngest  child  is  Lila  N.,  who  married 
William  H.  Foster,  a farming  man,  and  they  live  in 
Smith  County,  Kansas. 

Charles  K.  Cary  was  privileged  to  attend  the  country 
schools  in  Northern  Kansas  up  to  the  age  of  seventeen, 
and  in  1888  he  began  to  teach  school  in  his  district.  He 
was  so  occupied  until  1896.  Up  to  the  year  1895  he  had 
been  filling  positions  in  Northern  Kansas,  but  in  that  year 
he  came  to  Dewey  County,  Oklahoma,  to  take  a home- 
stead. He  filed  on  a government  homestead  of  160 
acres,  following  which  he  returned  to  Kansas  and  spent 
another  winter  in  school  teaching.  Returning  to  Dewey 
county  late  in  that  year  he  located  in  a spot  near 


1938 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


where  the  Town  of  Cestos  is  now  established,  teaching 
a district  school  during  the  winter  months.  Mr.  Cary’s 
homestead  claim  was  located  ten  miles  west  and  three 
miles  north  of  the  Town  of  Taloga.  He  was  careful  to 
improve  it  in  accordance  with  the  demands  of  the  land 
office,  and  in  time  was  able  to  ‘ ‘ prove  up  ” on  his 
claim.  Soon  after  he  did  so  he  had  an  opportunity  to 
sell  to  advantage,  having  lived  on  the  place  about  a 
year  and  a half  in  all. 

On  January  1,  1897,  Mr.  Cary  was  elected  to  the  office 
of  superintendent  of  schools  for  Dewey  County,  and  he 
served  four  years  in  that  office,  retiring  on  July  1, 
1901,  with  a splendid  record  for  efficiency  and  service  in 
the  office.  During  that  time  Mr.  Cary  succeeded  in 
appreciably  raising  the  standard  of  the  schools  of  the 
county,  never  too  high  in  a new  and  undeveloped  dis- 
trict, and  his  efforts  to  that  end  were  ably  seconded 
by  all  who  came . under  his  jurisdiction.  As.  a builder 
of  educational  standards  he  carried  out  a work  in  those 
four  years  of  service  that  will  have  a lasting  effect 
on  the  public  school  system  of  Dewey  County. 

But  it  had  been  Mr.  Cary’s  ambition  for  years  to  fit 
himself  for  the  profession  of  law,  and  he  felt  then  that 
he  could  not  afford  to  defer  his  activities  in  that  respect 
any  longer.  In  1901  he  entered  the  law  department 
of  the  University  of  Kansas,  and  in  June,  1903,  was 
graduated  with  the  degree  LL.  B.  He  was  admitted  to 
practice  in  the  Supreme  Court  of  Kansas  in  the  same 
month  of  his  graduation,  and  almost  immediately  there- 
after established  himself  in  practice  in  Taloga,  where 
he  has  since  conducted  a general  civil  and  criminal  prac- 
tice. He  has  enjoyed  a success  that  is  well  worthy  of 
his  efforts,  and  he  has  a splendid  reputation  in  profes- 
sional and  other  circles  as  a lawyer  of  ability,  and  a man 
with  an  assured  future  in  his  chosen  field. 

In  1907,  at  the  statehood  election,  Mr.  Cary  was  elected 
to  the  office  of  county  attorney  for  Dewey  County.  He 
was  a candidate  on  the  republican  ticket,  though  in 
earlier  years  he  had  given  his  vote  to  the  populist  forces. 
He  served  two  full  terms  as  county  attorney,  and  retired 
on  January  1,  1913,  declining  to  stand  for  nomination 
a third  time. 

Mr.  Cary  has  never  ceased  to  manifest  a healthy 
interest  in  local  school  affairs,  and  he  is  now  serving  the 
city  as  a member  of  its  school  board,  in  which  position 
by  reason  of  his  former  experience  in  the  teaching 
profession  he  is  able  to  render  invaluable  service  to 
his  community.  He  and  his  family  are  members  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  and  lie  is  a member  of  its 
board  of  trustees.  He  is  a Mason,  and  is  a member  of 
Taloga  Lodge  No.  179,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons,  and  Taloga  Chapter  No.  54,  Royal  Arch  Masons. 

On  April  12,  1894,  Mr..  Cary  was  united  in  mar- 
riage in  Smith  County,  Kansas,  to  Miss  Lillian  L. 
Sheddy,  daughter  of  William  B.  Slieddy,  a well  known 
Kansan.  One  child  has  been  born  to  the  Cary  family: 
Daphne  L.,  now  a student  in  Southwestern  College  at 
Winfield,  Kansas. 

Stanley  Ctjshing  Tyler.  The  exceptional  climatic 
conditions  in  Western  Oklahoma  have  been  responsible 
for  the  presence  here  of  many  of  the  most  energetic 
and  enterprising  citizens.  Continued  ill  health  back  in 
his  old  homestead  in  Massachusetts,  made  it  impossible 
for  Stanley  Cushing  Tyler  to  successfully  prosecute  a 
business  career,  when  about  thirty-seven  years  ago  he 
came  west  and  became  identified  with  the  vast  open 
range  of  the  Texas  Panhandle  and  No  Man’s  Land  of 
what  is  now  the  extreme  western  district  of  Okla- 
homa. Here  he  has  since  lived,  a leading  man  of  affairs, 
and  now  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Guymon, 


general  manager  of  the  Guymon  & Hansford  Telephone 
Company,  and  president  of  the  Latham  Dry  Goods 
Company. 

Born  June  4,  1857,  at  Lowell,  Massachusetts,  Stanley 
Cushing  Tyler  is  a son  of  Artemas  S.  and  Angeline 
(Cushing)  Tyler.  His  father  was  also  a native  of 
Lowell,  Massachusetts,  born  November  2,  1824,  of  old 
New  England  stock,  and  spent  all  his  active  career  as  a 
banker.  He  died  at  Lowell,  Massachusetts,  October  14, 
1901.  He  was  at  one  time  a member  of  the  Massa- 
chusetts General  Assembly,  having  been  nominated  and 
elected  by  both  republicans  and  democrats.  His  first 
wife,  Miss  Angeline  Cushing,  died  in  1860,  leaving  two 
children,  Stanley  Cushing  and  Artemas  Lawrence,  the 
latter  now  deceased.  His  second  wife  was  Ethelinda 
Cushing,  a sister  of  his  first  wife.  There  were  two 
daughters  by  this  union,  both  deceased. 

In  his  native  City  of  Lowell,  Stanley  C.  Tyler  was 
reared,  and  as  his  father  was  a man  of  affluence  and 
prominence,  he  had  all  the  advantages  of  a good  home 
and  the  best  of  schooling.  He  attended  the  public 
schools  and  a private  institution,  and  at  the  age  of 
seventeen  entered  his  father ’s  bank.  Ill  health  com- 
pelled him  to  make  a change  of  scene  and  he  next  tried 
work  in  Boston  with  a wholesale  drug  house.  He  was 
finally  obliged  to  give  up  employment  in  the  East  alto- 
gether, and  in  1879  he  went  to  Colorado,  but  in  the  same 
year  came  to  the  Panhandle  of  Texas.  Here  he  took 
up  the  cattle  business  on  the  open  range.  It  will  be 
recalled  that  thirty-five  years  ago  there  was  no  railroad 
within  hundreds  of  miles  of  the  Texas  Panhandle,  the 
buffalo  had  not  disappeared,  and  even  the  Indians  were 
still  occasionally  troublesome.  It  was  a great  lonely 
land  of  adventure  and  hardship,  but  one  eminently  cal- 
culated to  restore  vigor  to  the  constitution  of  any  per- 
son who  could  endure  its  primitive  hardships.  Mr. 
Tyler  regained  not  only  rugged  health  but  has  prose- 
cuted a flourishing  business  in  this  locality  for  many 
years.  He  has  never  given  up  the  cattle  industry,  though 
years  have  compelled  him  to  modify  his  efforts  according 
to  changing  conditions.  In  the  early  days  he  raised  his 
stock  on  the  open  range,  and  took  it  over  the  old  cattle 
trails  across  country  to  Dodge  City,  Kansas.  From  the 
beginning  his  operations  have  included  portions  of  No 
Man’s  Land,  or  the  old  Cimarron  District  of  Oklahoma. 
He  still  owns  a 5,000  acre  ranch  in  Hansford  County, 
Texas,  forty-five  miles  south  of  Guymon,  Oklahoma. 

When  the  Rock  Island  Railroad  was  built  through  No 
Man’s  Land  Mr.  Tyler  turned  his  attention  to  the 
development  of  Guymon,  and  local  citizens  say  that  he 
has  done  as  much  if  not  more  than  any  other  individual 
to  place  that  city  to  the  front  in  the  way  of  business 
institutions  and  municipal  improvement.  He  established 
the  First  National  Bank  of  Guymon,  organized  the  Guy- 
mon & .Hansford  Telephone  Company,  and  became  presi- 
dent and  has  remained  in  that  office  with  each  of  these 
concerns.  Subsequently  he  organized  the  Texas  County 
Bank,  which  he  subsequently  sold.  He  also  organized 
the  Guymon  Electric  Light  and  Power  Company,  built 
the  ice  plant  and  installed  Guymon ’s  system  of  water- 
works. 

Mr.  Tyler  has  had  a happy  home  life,  and  for  his  wife 
he  returned  to  his  native  state  and  was  married  at  Bos- 
ton, January  30,  1884,  to  Miss  Mary  Elizabeth  Ayers  of 
Boston,  daughter  of  Oliver  and  Mary  Ireland  (Hooper)  ) 
Ayers,  both  of  whom  were  born  in  the  State  of  New 
Hampshire  of  Mayflower  stock.  Mrs.  Tyler  was  born 
September  18,  1860,  in  Boston,  and  was  educated  in 
private  schools.  To  their  marriage  have  been  born  five' 
children,  three  daughters  and  two  sons,  namely:  Mary 

Angeline,  now  the  wife  of  Lewis  E.  Latham  of  Guymon; 
Stanley  Cushing,  Jr.,  who  died  in  infancy;  Ethel  Maria, 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1939 


now  the  wife  of  James  -Rutledge  Henderson  of  Zulu, 
Texas;  Oliver  Stanley,  now  a cattle  man  in  Baca  County, 
Colorado;  and  Fanny  Stanley,  the  wife  of  Samuel  Alba 
of  Liberal,  Kansas. 

As  a republican  Mr.  Tyler  has  interested  himself  in 
political  affairs,  but  more  particularly  with  the  practical 
welfare  of  every  community  where  he  has  lived.  He  was 
at  one  time  elected  county  judge  in  Hansford  County, 
Texas.  He  and  his  family  are  members  of  the  Episcopal 
Church.  In  Masonry  he  has  attained  the  thirty-second 
degree  of  Scottish  Rite,  is  also  a Knight  Templar  and 
Shriner,  and  is  district  deputy  grand  master  for  the 
First  District  of  Oklahoma,  consisting  of  Beaver,  Texas 
and  Cimarron  counties. 

Feed  L.  Wenner.  It  was  as  a special  correspondent 
for  Eastern  newspapers  that  Fred  L.  Wenner,  now  secre- 
tary-manager of  the  Guthrie  Chamber  of  Commerce, 
first  became  identified  with  this  state.  His  acquaintance 
and  association  with  men  of  affairs  in  Oklahoma  are 
based  upon  twenty-five  years  of  experience  as  a news- 
paper man,  public  official,  farmer  and  fruit  grower  and 
business  man.  While  he  now  gives  much  of  his  time 
to  the  Guthrie  Chamber  of  Commerce,  he  resides  on  his 
fruit  farm  outside  the  City  of  Guthrie  and  it  is  probable 
that  he  is  the  only  active  head  of  a city  commercial 
organization  who  makes  his  home  on  a farm. 

He  is  of  German  descent,  his  paternal  grandparents 
and  his  maternal  great-grandparents  having  come  from 
Germany.  Fred  L.  Wenner  was  born  at  Tiffin,  Ohio, 
January  8,  1865,  a son  of  Henry  S.  and  Sarah  (Kaull) 
Wenner,  who  went  to  Ohio  from  Eastern  Pennsylvania. 
Henry  S.  Wenner  was  a pioneer  carriage  manufacturer 
in  that  state. 

The  morning  after  he  graduated  from  the  high  school 
at  Tiffin,  Fred  L.  Wenner  started  out  gathering  news 
as  a reporter  for  the  Tiffin  Daily  Herald.  Since  then, 
for  a period  of  more  than  thirty  years,  he  has  never 
been  permanently  dissociated  from  the  newspaper  pro- 
fession, and  while  engaged  in  that  work  has  also  kept  up 
writing  for  the  press  and  for  special  purposes. 

From  reporter  he  became  first  city  editor  of  the  Tiffin 
Daily  Herald  and  later  filled  the  same  position  with 
the  Tiffin  Daily  Tribune.  In  1889  he  was  sent  to  Okla- 
homa as  a special  correspondent  for  the  New  York 
Herald,  Cleveland  Press  and  Chicago  Times,  and  sent 
back  for  publication  in  these  metropolitan  journals  a 
great  many  interesting  articles  that  described  the  early 
rush  and  settlement  of  the  original  Oklahoma  Territory. 
For  a number  of  years  he  was  employed  as  special  cor- 
respondent for  the  papers  just  named  and  for  other 
journals.  For  a year  he  was  city  editor  of  the  Okla- 
homa Daily  State  Capital  at  Guthrie  and  for  two  years 
was  editor  and  owner  of  the  Kingfisher  Free  Press. 

His  work  as  a newspaper  man  naturally  brought  him 
into  close  touch  with  public  affairs  and  public  men.  From 
1897  to  1902  Mr.  Wenner  was  secretary  to  the  territorial 
governors  of  Oklahoma,  serving  under  Governor  C.  M. 
Barnes,  Governor  William  Jenkins  and  Governor  T.  B. 
Ferguson.  From  1901  to  1903  he  was  secretary  of  the 
Oklahoma  Commission  to  the  St.  Louis  World’s  Fair, 
and  from  1903  to  1908  served  as  secretary  to  the  school 
land  board  for  the  Territory  of  Oklahoma. 

On  retiring  from  public  office  in  1908  Mr.  Wenner 
moved  to  a fruit  and  stock  farm,  and  for  the  next  five 
years  gave  all  his  time  to  that  business.  In  1913  he  was 
made  secretary  and  manager  of  the  Guthrie  Chamber 
of  Commerce,  and  now,  as  already  stated,  combines  the 
duties  of  his  civic  position  with  his  life  and  activities  as 
a farmer  and  fruit  raiser.  For  twenty-five  years  Mr. 
Wenner  has  been  a director  in  the  Guthrie  Building  & 
Loan  Association.  He  is  secretary  of  the  Cimarron 


Valley  Fair  Association  and  the  Logan  County  Fruit 
Growers’  Association. 

Politically  his  associations  have  always  been  with 
the  republican  party  and  for  three  years  he  was  assistant 
secretary  of  the  state  committee.  He  is  a Scottish  Rite 
Mason  and  a member  of  the  Knights  of  the  Maccabees, 
but  has  held  no  chairs  in  these  bodies.  He  is  also  a 
member  of  the  Guthrie  Country  Club,  and  has  been  much 
interested  in  church  work  as  a member  of  the  Presby- 
terian Church,  and  in  1893  was  one  of  the  organizers  of 
the  Oklahoma  Sunday  School  Association,  in  which  for 
fifteen  years  he  filled  an  office  or  was  a member  of  the 
executive  committee. 

On  January  18,  1885,  at  Bloomville,  Ohio,  Mr.  Wenner 
married  Ammy  D.  Myers,  daughter  of  Rev.  and  Mrs.  S. 
P.  Myers.  Her  father,  who  was  formerly  a minister  of 
the  German  Reformed  Church,  did  pastoral  work  in  Ohio, 
Indiana  and  Illinois,  subsequently  affiliated  with  the 
Presbyterian  Church  in  Kansas  and  Oklahoma,  and  did 
much  important  service  as  a pioneer  home  missionary 
in  Oklahoma.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wenner  have  five  children : 
Robert  M.,  Henry  S.,  David  J.,  Mary  E.  and  Fanny  I. 
All  the  children  are  living  at  home  except, David  J.,  who 
is  now  a student  in  the  State  Agricultural  and  Mechani- 
cal College,  and  Henry  S.,  who  in  1912  married  Louise 
Rouse,  daughter  of  Dr.  George  Rouse  of  Charleston, 
South  Carolina. 

Oscae  C.  Wybeant.  The  legal  fraternity  of  Wood- 
ward County  numbers  among  its  most  able  and  thorough 
members  Oscar  C.  Wybrant,  ex-county  attorney  and  the 
representative  of  large  and  important  interests.  Mr. 
Wybrant  was  born  August  4,  1870,  in  a log  house  on  a 
farm  in  Ralls  County,  Missouri,  and  is  a son  of  William 
and  Eliza  (Heskett)  Wybrant. 

William  Wybrant  was  born  August  13,  1840,  in  Noble 
County,  Ohio,  a son  of  Hugh  and  Elmira  Wybrant,  the 
former  a native  of  Scotland  and  the  latter  of  Ireland. 
William  Wybrant  was  reared  on  a farm  in  Ohio,  and 
was  engaged  in  farming  when  the  Civil  war  broke  out. 
He  enlisted  in  an  Ohio  regiment  of  volunteers  and  served 
as  a wagonmaster  in  the  forces  of  General  Thomas,  and 
when  the  war  was  over  returned  to  his  Ohio  home. 
In  1867  he  was  married  in  Ohio,  and  in  that  same  year 
removed  to  Ralls  County,  Missouri,  where  he  followed 
agricultural  pursuits  until  1903,  then  coming  to  Okla- 
homa and  locating  on  Government  land  in  Ellis  County. 
His  death  occurred  April  23,  1905.  Mrs.  Wybrant  was 
born  June  2,  1840,  in  Noble  County,  Ohio,  a daughter 
of  John  B.  Heskett,  a native  of  Virginia.  Her  mother, 
who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Cople,  was  born  in  Dela- 
ware, her  parents  being  natives  of  the  Netherlands. 
There  were  four  sons  and  two  daughters  in  the  family, 
of  whom  two  sons  and  one  daughter  died  in  infancy, 
while  those  surviving  are:  Oscar  C. ; Roy  Cople,  born 

September  18,  1878,  a farmer  of  Ellis  County,  Okla- 
homa, married  in  1906  Miss  Minnie  Whitehurst  and  has 
two  children, — Paul  and  Fern;  and  Lucy,  born  October 
9,  1880,  was  married  in  1904  to  Edward  Bondurant,  and 
has  one  child, — Viola. 

After  attending  the  public  schools  of  Ralls  County, 
Oscar  C.  Wybrant  took  a course  in  the  Chillicothe 
(Missouri)  Normal  School,  and  at  the  age  of  seventeen 
years  began  teaching.  His  career  as  an  educator  covered 
a period  of  nine  years,  during  which  time  he  applied 
himself  to  the  study  of  law,  and  in  1900  he  was  ad- 
mitted to  practice  in  the  courts  of  Ralls  County,  Mis- 
souri. He  came  to  Oklahoma  in  1902,  locating  at  Wood- 
ward, and  here  he  has  since  built  up  a large  and  repre- 
sentative professional  business,  practicing  in  all  the 
courts.  In  1910  he  was  elected  county  attorney  of 
Woodward  County,  on  the  law  enforcement  ticket,  and  his 


1940 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


services  during  liis  first  term  were  so  satisfactory  that  lie 
was  re-elected  to  succeed  himself  iu  1912,  serving  in  all 
four  years,  with  an  excellent  record  for  efficient  per- 
formance of  duty.  Mr.  Wybrant  is  a republican.  He 
has  served  as  a member  of  the  school  board,  and  at  all 
times  has  been  eager  to  contribute  his  abilities  to  the 
advancement  of  beneficial  measures.  He  has  been  active 
also  in  the  Christian  Church,  of  which  he  and  his  family 
are  members,  and  at  present  is  superintendent  of  the 
Sunday  school. 

Mr.  Wybrant  was  married  June  16,  1903,  at  Mutual, 
Oklahoma,  to  Miss  Margaret  Frankie  Roberts,  who  was 
born  April  4,  1876,  in  Hardin  County,  Kentucky,  the 
birthplace  of  Abraham  Lincoln,  daughter  of  David  R. 
Roberts,  a full  review  of  whose  life  will  be  found  on 
another  page  of  this  work  in  the  sketch  of  Ed  S. 
Roberts.  David  R.  Roberts  moved  to  Kansas  in  1884 
and  to  Mutual,  Oklahoma,  in  1894,  and  passed  away  at 
the  latter  place  April  13,  1905.  Mrs.  Wybrant  was  one 
of  the  pioneer  school  teachers  of  Woodward  County,  and 
for  ten  years  taught  in  the  log  schoolhouses  which  were 
the  forerunners  of  Oklahoma’s  present  excellent  educa- 
tional institutions.  A woman  of  many  attainments  and 
accomplishments,  she  still  continues  active  in  educational, 
social  and  religious  work,  and  was  one  of  the  organizers 
of  the  first  church  in  Woodward  County  outside  of  those 
located  in  the  towns.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wybrant  are  the 
parents  of  one  daughter:  Alma  Joy,  born  at  Wood- 

ward, March  25,  1904. 

William  Buck  of  Wetumka  is  one  of  the  most  highly 
successful  fullblood  Indians  in  Hughes  County.  He  has 
spent  his  entire  life  in  the  old  Creek  Nation,  and  though 
he  was  twenty  years  of  age  before  he  could  speak  the 
English  language,  he  has  exercised  such  foresight  and 
energy  in  managing  his  affairs  that  he  is  now  one  of  the 
wealthy  men  of  the  county,  and  has  made  it  all  in  farm- 
ing and  in  judicial  handling  of  real  estate. 

Mr.  Buck  is  now  about  thirty-six  years  of  age.  He 
was  born  half  a mile  west  of  the  present-  site  of  W etumka, 
and  his  Indian  name  is  Yekiche.  His  parents  Daniel 
and  Mary  (Poyarfe)  Buck  were  both  born  in  the  Creek 
Nation,  were  fullbloods,  and  neither  could  speak  the 
English  language  as  long  as  they  lived.  Both  died  on  the 
farm  where  their  son  William  was  born,  and  the  father 
passed  away  November  8,  1915,  at  the  age  of  seventy- 
four,  having  spent  his  active  career  as  a farmer  and  stock 
raiser.  Their  four  children  were:  Joseph,  now  deceased; 
Tony,  deceased;  Roley,  who  gained  his  education  in  the 
Haskell  Institute  at  Lawrence  Kansas;  and  William. 

William  Buck  as  a boy  attended  the  local  schools,  and 
finished  his  education  in  the  boarding  schools  at  Wetumka 
and  Eufaula.  He  gave  up  his  schooling  as  soon  as  he 
had  learned  to  speak  the  English  language  and  he  soon 
afterwards  started  in  business  for  himself  as  a farmer 
and  real  estate  man.  Mr.  Buck  now  owns  about  3,400 
acres  in  the  Creek  Nation,  and  operates  it  all  under  his 
direct  management.  His  prosperity  is  also  represented 
by  one  of  the  finest  homes  of  Wetumka,  a residence  which 
he  built  in  1903 

For  a number  of  years  before  statehood  he  was  a mem- 
ber of  the  Creek  Council,  and  as  a citizen  of  Oklahoma  he 
votes  the  republican  ticket  and  is  alive  and  public  spirited 
in  relation  to  all  public  affairs.  He  is  affiliated  with 
the  Woodmen  of  the  World. 

In  1907  Mr.  Buck  married  Miss  Lizzie  Tiger,  who  was 
also  born  in  the  Creek  Nation.  They  have  two  children: 
Lonnie,  and  Sapho,  who  died  in  1909. 

Lee  Dorroh,  M.  D.  The  quality  of  large-mindedness 
and  resource  required  of  the  young  man  who  would  suc- 


ceed in  any  of  the  learned  professions  in  these  days  of 
severe  competition  and  strenuous  effort  seems  to  be  an 
integral  part  of  the  equipment  of  Dr.  Lee  Dorroh,  the 
pioneer  physician  of  Hammon,  whence  he  came  in  April, 
1909,  shortly  after  the  founding  of  the  town.  Doctor 
Dorroh  was  born  at  Fredonia,  Caldwell  County,  Ken- 
tucky, June  28,  1872,  and  is  a son  of  William  W.  and 
Mary  (Easley)  Dorroh.  The  family  was  founded  in 
America  by  the  great-grandfather  of  the  doctor,  who 
spelled  his  name  O ’Dorroh,  a native  of  Ireland,  who 
settled  in  North  Carolina  about  the  time  of  the  war  of 
the  Revolution. 

William  W.  Dorroh  was  born  at  Fredonia,  Kentucky,  i 
February  22,  1827,  and  in  1875  removed  to  within  four 
miles  of  Princeton,  the  county  seat  of  Caldwell  County, 
Kentucky,  where  he  passed  the  remaining  years  of  his 
life  as  a farmer  and  stock  raiser  and  died  in  Septem- 
ber, 1904.  He  was  a staunch  democrat  and  a consistent 
member  of  the  Baptist  Church.  Mrs.  Dorroh  was  born 
in  Virginia,  in  1830,  and  when  nine  years  of  age  was 
taken  by  her  parents  to  Fredonia,  Kentucky,  where 
she  was  reared,  educated  and  married.  She  tfied  at 
Princeton,  in  February,  1891.  There  were  six  children 
in  the  family,  namely:  Bobbie,  who  became  the  wife 
of  Charles  W.  Guess,  a farmer  of  Princeton,  Kentucky; 
Frankie,  who  is  the  wife  of  J.  J.  Rorer,  a farmer  of 
Fredonia;  William  T.,  who  is  engaged  in  farming  in 
Caldwell  County;  Annie,  who  is  the  wife  of  W.  T. 
Hurst,  a carpenter  and  mechanic  of  Hopkinsville,  Ken- 
tucky; Dr.  Henry  C.,  a practicing  physician  and  surgeon 
of  Hammon,  and  graduate  of  the  Louisville  (Kentucky) 
Medical  College,  a sketch  of  whose  career  appears  else- 
where in  this  work;  and  Doctor  Lee,  of  this  review. 

Lee  Dorroh  grew  up  in  the  vicinity  of  Princeton, 
Kentucky,  where  he  attended  the  district  schools,  and 
subsequently  finished  the  teachers’  course.  In  1896, 
1897  and  1898  he  attended  Bowling  Green  (Kentucky) 
Normal  School,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  the 
latter  year  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Sciences,  and 
in  the  meantime,  in  1895,  had  become  principal  of  schools 
of  Caldwell  County,  acting  in  that  capacity  six  months 
of  each  year  until  1899.  In  the  spring  of  1899  Doctor 
Dorroh  went  to  Angels  Camp,  California,  where  he 
was  employed  in  the  mining  industry  in  connection  with 
a quartz  mill  at  that  place,  and  continued  to  be  thus 
engaged  until  January,  1902,  when  he  began  his  medical 
studies  as  a student  at  the  Louisville  Hospital  College 
of  Medicine,  at  Louisville,  Kentucky.  Graduated  from 
that  institution  in  the  class  of  1906,  with  the  degree  of 
Doctor  of  Medicine,  he  first  practiced  for  eighteen 
months  at  Fredonia,  Kentucky,  and  then  returned  to 
Angels  Camp,  California,  where  he  took  charge  of  the 
hospital  as  surgeon  for  the  Mica  Mining  Company  for 
one  year.  In  April,  1909,  Doctor  Dorroh  came  to 
Hammon,  Oklahoma,  shortly  after  the  founding  of  the 
town,  and  here  has  carried  on  a general  medical  and 
surgical  practice,  his  offices  being  located  on  Main  Street. 
Since  1910  he  has  been  physician  for  the  Red  Moon 
Indian  Agency,  and  is  also  local  surgeon  for  the  Clinton, 
Oklahoma  & Western  Railway.  His  professional  connec- 
tions include  membership  in  the  Roger  Mills  County 
Medical  Society,  the  Southwestern  Medical  Society, 
the  Oklahoma  Medical  Society  and  the  American 
Medical  Association.  He  is  the  recipient  of  a pat- 
ronage as  financially  remunerative  as  it  is  intellec- 
tually satisfying  and  encouraging,  and  notwithstand- 
ing his  well  known  caution  and  respect  for  tradition  is 
not  afraid  of  untrod  paths  or  independent,  individual 
effort.  Doctor  Dorroh  has  interested  himself  variously 
in  enterprises  of  a business  nature  and  is  vice  president 
and  a director  of  the  Farmers  National  Bank  of  Hamr 


The  boy  is  Hugh,  and  the  girl  is  Rebecca  Kathryn  who  was  the 
actual  inspiration  for  the  line  “Here's  to  the  daughters,  as  fair  as 
the  dawn. ' ’ She  is,  to  the  author,  the  real  Oklahoma  ‘ ‘ daughter  ’ ’ 
since  she  is  his  only  daughter. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1941 


mon.  A democrat  in  politics,  he  takes  a lively  interest 
in  civic  affairs,  and  has  served  as  health  officer,  and  is 
now  a member  of  the  school  board.  Fraternally,  he 
belongs  to  Hammon  Lodge  No.  435,  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons,  of  which  he  is  treasurer. 

Doctor  Dorroh  was  married  in  October,  1906,  at 
Bowling  Green,  Kentucky,  to  Miss  Ophelia  Alvis,  daugh- 
ter of  Asa  and  Mabel  Alvis,  the  former  of  whom,  a 
farmer,  is  now  deceased,  while  the  latter  still  survives 
and  resides  at  Salem,  Kentucky.  Doctor  and  Mrs. 
Dorroh  have  two  children:  Thelma  Lee,  born  April  28, 
1909;  and  Louise  Camille,  born  December  14,  1910. 

George  Riley  Hall.  About  a year  before  the  original 
Oklahoma  opening  there  came  into  Indian  Territory  a 
green  country  boy  in  search  of  adventure  and  fortune. 
So  far  as  known  that  kind  of  fortune  represented  by 
heaps  of  gilt-edged  bank  stock  and  securities  has  never 
been  accumulated  by  George  Riley  Hall.  He  is  never- 
theless a very  fortunate  man,  fortunate  in  his  talents  and 
attainments,  in  his  long  and  varied  experience,  and  in 
the  warm  and  hearty  friendship  of  many  men  whom  it  is 
an  honor  to  know. 

He  has  found  in  Oklahoma  another  resource  than 
material  wealth.  This  fortune  is  best  described  in  words 
of  his  own,  a poem  known  as  ‘ ‘ Land  of  My  Dreaming,  ’ ' 
which  has  brought  him  recognition,  not  only  in  his  home 
state,  but  throughout  the  country  as  a home-made  poet 
with  a gift  of  language  and  picturesque  ideas  such  as 
men  never  acquire  from  books,  but  only  from  real  life. 
It  is  a poem  that  has  been  widely  read  and  frequently 
published,  but  it  will  not  be  superfluous  to  include  it 
here: 

Land  of  the  mistletoe,  smiling  in  splendor 
Out  from  the  borderland,  mystic  and  old, 

Sweet  are  the  memories,  precious  and  tender, 
Linked  with  thy  summers  of  azure  and  gold. 

O!  Oklahoma,  fair  land  of  my  dreaming, 

Land  of  the,  lover,  the  loved  and  the  lost ; 

Cherish  thy  legends  with  tragedy  -teeming, 

Legends  where  love  reckoned  not  of  the  cost. 

Land  of  Sequoyah,  my  heart ’s  in  thy  keeping, 

O,  Tulledega,  how  can  I forget! 

Calm  are  thy  vales  where  the  silences  sleeping, 
Wake  into  melodies,  tinged  with  regret. 

Let  the  deep  chorus  of  life’s  music  throbbing, 
Swell  to  fuil  harmony  born  of  the  years; 

Or  for  the  loved  and  lost,  tenderly  sobbing, 

Drop  to  that  cadence  that  whispers  of  tears. 

Land  of  the  mistletoe,  here ’s  to  thy  glory ! 

Here ’s  to  thy  daughters,  as  fair  as  the  dawn ! 
Here’s  to  thy  pioneer  sons,  in  whose  story 
Valor  and  love  shall  live  endlessly  on! 

George  Riley  Hall  was  born  at  Rolla,  Missouri,  Feb- 
ruary 1, 1865,  a son  of  George  Riley  and  Rebecca  (Reece) 
Hall.  His  mother  was  a daughter  of  Rev.  Dr.  Sherwood 
Reece  of  Tennessee,  who  moved  into  Southwest  Missouri 
in  1851  and  located  in  Lawrence  County,  where  he  con- 
tinued his  professional  work  as  a Baptist  clergyman  and 
physician.  Mr.  Hall’s  grandfather,  John  Hall,  was  a 
native  of  Kentucky  and  moved  to  Sarcoxie,  Missouri,  also 
about  1851.  George  R.  Hall,  Sr.,  entered  the  Union 
army  in  the  fall  of  1864  as  a member  of  Company  C, 
Forty-eighth  Missouri  Infantry,  served  until  the  close 
of  the  struggle  and  came  out  of  the  army  so  broken  in 
health  that  he  soon  afterwards  died.  He  and  his  ydfe 
were  married  in  Missouri  in  1854  and  she  died  in  1888. 
George  R.  Hall  was  a mechanic  and  farmer  and  had  con- 


siderable artistic  talent  which  came  down  to  his  son. 
Of  the  six  children  there  are  three  now  living,  George  R. 
and  two  daughters  who  live  in  Texas. 

George  Riley  Hall  had  about  three  terms  of  district 
schooling.  He  is  really  self  educated,  and  by  much 
application  to  those  lessons  found  in  the  course  of  his 
experience  has  attained  a degree  of  culture  such  as  many 
men  with  college  degrees  are  not  acquainted  with.  He 
became  dependent  upon  his  own  exertions  after  his 
father’s  death,  and  after  the  death  of  his  mother  he 
and  his  brother,  Samuel  J.,  the  latter  now  deceased,  came 
into  Indian  Territory  in  1888.  He  stopped  on  the 
Canadian  River,  near  Eufaula,  and  for  a time  tried  cot- 
ton raising,  but  without  success.  In  the  fall  of  1890 
he  was  appointed  teacher  in  one  of  the  neighborhood 
Indian  schools,  near  the  present  site  of  Henryetta,  hav- 
ing about  a dozen  wild  Indian  children  under  his  super- 
vision. He  taught  in  neighborhood  schools  until  1895, 
and  thereafter"  until  1900  was  employed  in  the  boarding 
and  academic  institutions  among  the  Indians,  and  in  1897 
became  president  of  the  Creek  National  Teachers’  Nor- 
mal School,  in  which  he  had  previously  served  as  vice 
president.  This  high  position  in  the  educational  affairs 
of  Indian  Territory  was  a remarkable  record  for  one 
who  had  not  the  advantages  of  liberal  education,  and 
had  come  here  without  special  recommendations  as  a 
teacher  and  with  practically  no  friends  or  other  influ- 
ence to  promote  him  on  his  career.  Mr.  Hall,  while 
teaching,  acquired  a considerable  knowledge  of  the  Creek 
language  and  there  is  perhaps  no  man  in  Eastern  Okla- 
homa more  favorably  known  among  the  Indians  of  the 
older  generation. 

On  leaving  the  schoolroom  in  1900  Mr.  Hall  leased  a 
farm  and  for  a time  was  actively  identified  with  agri- 
culture in  Okmulgee  County.  Then,  in  1902,  he  estab- 
lished the  Free  Lance  at  Henryetta,  which  is  the  oldest 
newspaper  in  the  town  and  has  become  both  a daily  and 
weekly.  He  has  published  it  continuously  since  then 
and  has  kept  his  home  and  plant  on  the  same  lot,  at 
211  South  Fifth  Street,  one  block  south  of  Main  Street. 
He  conducts  it  as  a republican  paper,  and  in  fourteen 
years  he  has  made  the  Free  Lance  one  of  the  most 
influential  organs  of  public  opinion  in  Eastern  Oklahoma. 
He  has  never  had  the  backing  of  wealthy  men  in  this 
enterprise,  and  has  always  fought  his  own  financial  bat- 
tles. He  has  conducted  the  Free  Lance  remarkably  clean, 
and  it  has  always  stood  high  in  the  esteem  of  the  other 
papers  of  the  state. 

Ever  since  coming  to  Indian  Territory  Mr.  Hall  has 
been  a writer  of  poetry,  and  it  was  in  1906  that  he 
produced  the  charming  verses  above  quoted.  This  poem 
was  widely  published  through  the  Associated  Press, 
largely  through  the  influence  of  Mr.  Hall’s  friend,  Alex- 
ander Posey.  A great  many  favorable  comments  were 
passed  upon  the  verses  by  papers  throughout  the  United 
States.  Mr.  Hall  is  a natural  poet  and  has  found  in 
literature  and  music  his  most  satisfying  pursuit.  A few 
months  ago  he  bought  ten  acres  in  the  heart  of  the 
beautiful  Tulledegan  hills  on  the  shore  of  the  North 
Canadian  River,  and  this  place  he  has  improved  for  a 
summer  home  and  there  he  delights  in  the  beauties  of 
landscape  and  finds  his  greatest  inspiration  for  writing. 

In  January,  1902,  he  married  Miss  Kathryn  Harris  of 
Fayetteville,  Arkansas.  She  was  a teacher  in  the  Indian 
schools  up  to  the  time  of  her  marriage.  It  is  in  his 
home  and  with  his  family  that  Mr.  Hall  spends  all  his 
spare  time,  and  it  may  be  truely  said  of  him  that  he  is 
in  love  with  his  family.  He  and  his  wife  have  four 
children.  Rebecca  Kathryn  was  the  actual  inspiration 
of  the  line  above  quoted,  “Here’s  to  thy  daughters  as 
fair  as  dawn,  ’ ’ and  she  is  to  the  author  the  real  ‘ ‘ Okla- 
homa daughter,”  since  she  is  his  only  daughter.  The 


1942 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


three  sons  are:  George  Milton,  who  died  at  the  age 

of  seven  weeks;  Hugh;  and  Lawrence. 

As  a republican  Mr.  Hall  served  two  terms  as  county 
chairman  of  the  Republican  Central  Committee,  and  has 
also  been  active  in  state  politics.  He  is  past  master  and 
charter  member  of  Tulledegan  Lodge  No.  201,  Ancient, 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  at  Henryetta,  and  he  gave 
the  name  to  this  lodge  in  honor  of  the  beautiful  place 
which  he  had  selected  for  his  own  summer  home.  He 
is  also  a Knight  Templar  and  Shriner  and  he  and  his 
wife  are  members  of  the  Christian  Church.  Mr.  Hall  is 
also  known  as  an  unerring  marksman  and  “sure  shot” 
with  the  rifle.  Though  he  has  spent  more  than  a quarter 
of  a century  in  the  Indian  Territory  District  of  Okla- 
homa, and  was  here  in  the  time  marked  by  many  scenes 
of  violence  and  when  ‘ ‘ gun  toting  ’ ’ was  a regular  cus- 
tom, it  has  been  his  good  fortune  never  to  have  his  own 
hand  stained  by  the  shedding  of  human  blood.  He  is  a 
man  strong,  virile  and  wholesome,  temperate  in  all  his 
•habits,  and  with  all  his  varied  experience  has  not  a gray 
hair  in  his  head. 

Harry  Lee  Fogg.  The  first  county  judge  of  Canadian 
County  after  statehood  was  Harry  Lee  Fogg.  At  the 
tune  of  his  election  he  was  regarded  as  one  of  the  rising 
young  attorneys  of  the  El  Reno  bar,  and  his  position  in 
the  law  is  now  regarded  as  one  the  highest  in  Western 
Oklahoma.  While  his  chief  ambition  has  always  been 
within  the  limits  of  his  profession,  Judge  Fogg  has  the 
qualities  of  a leader  of  men,  and  is  prominent  in  the 
councils  of  the  democratic  party  in  the  state. 

Harry  Lee  Fogg  is  a native  of  Kentucky,  born  at 
Mt.  Sterling,  September  15,  1878,  a son  of  Thomas  L. 
and  Kitty  (Gillespie)  Fogg.  Both  his  parents  were 
Kentuckians  by  birth  and  have  spent  their  lives  in  that 
state.  They  now  live  in  Montgomery  County,  where 
Thomas  L.  Fogg  is  still  active  as  a farmer. 

Judge  Fogg  grew  up  on  a farm,  received  his  early 
training  in  private  schools,  and  before  the  completion 
of  his  literary  education  entered  a law  office  at  Mt. 
Sterling,  where  he  trained  himself  in  the  law.  He  was 
admitted  to  the  Kentucky  bar  in  1901  when  twenty- 
three  years  of  age. 

His  career  as  a practicing  lawyer  has  all  been  passed 
at  El  Reno,  where  his  services  have  been  retained  in 
some  of  the  very  important  litigation  before  the  local 
courts.  In  the  office  of  county  judge  of  Canadian  County 
Mr.  Fogg  served  with  ability  for  three  years.  He  has 
been  much  interested  in  democratic  politics  ever  since 
coming  to  Oklahoma,  and  is  now  serving  his  second  term 
as  a member  of  the  State  Democratic  Central  Committee. 
His  fraternal  associations  are  with  the  Masonic  Order 
and  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and 
his  religious  faith  is  that  of  the  Christian  Church. 

In  1905  Judge  Fogg  was  married  at  El  Reno  to  Miss 
Blanche  Fryberger,  daughter  of  W.  E.  and  Cora  B.  Fry- 
berger.  They  are  the  parents  of  two  children:  William 

Lee  and  Rupert  Metcalfe  Fogg. 

Edwin  Fishback.  Among  the  older  business  men  of 
Bartlesville  mention  should  be  made  of  Edwin  Fishback, 
whose  associations  with  that  then  small  city  began  in 
1904,  and  who  for  a number  of  years  has  been  at  the 
head  of  a large  and  prospering  businesses  a plumbing 
contractor.  Mr.  Fishback  is  well  known  in  Washington 
County,  and  his  reputation  for  business  ability  and  in- 
tegrity is  unassailable. 

Born  at  Hall  iu  Morgan  County,  Indiana,  September 
27,  1881,  Edwin  Fishback  is  a son  of  Edwin  and  Nancy 
Jane  (Landfair)  Fishback.  His  father  was  born  in 
Taylorville,  Kentucky,  and  his  mother  in  Ohio,  and  they 
were  married  in  Morgan  County,  Indiana.  His  father 


grew  up  in  Kentucky  and  at  the  age  of  twenty-three 
removed  to  Indiana,  and  was  a farmer  in  that  state 
until  his  death  in  1881.  The  widowed  mother,  left  with 
two  children,  somewhat  later  married  James  A.  Long, 
and  they  removed  to  Labette  County,  Kansas,  when 
Edwin  Fishback  was  ten  years  of  age.  Mr.  Long  died 
in  1913,  and  Mrs.  Long  is  still  living.  Edwin  Fish- 
back has  a brother  Charles  F.,  who  lives  at  Edna,  Kansas, 
and  by  the  Long  marriage  there  is  a son  A.  L.  of  Edna. 

Mr.  Fishback  lived  with  his  mother  until  eleven  years 
ago.  He  was  graduated  from  the  Labette  County  High 
School  in  1903,  and  for  a year  found  employment  at 
Wichita,  Kansas,  with  a hydro-carbon  light  company. 
In  December,  1904,  he  arrived  in  Bartlesville,  and  the 
next  three  years  were  spent  as  a plumbing  employe  of 
W.  T.  Berentz.  Since  then  he  has  been  in  independent 
work  as  a plumbing  contractor  and  has  executed  some 
of  the  largest  contracts  installed  in  Washington  County. 
He  knows  his  trade  in  all  its  details  and  has  a record 
of  reliable  and  proficient  performance  which  brings  him 
all  the  business  he  and  several  employes  can  attend  to. 
In  1911  Mr.  Fishback  built  his  shop  on  Chickasaw 
Avenue,  and  in  1913  erected  a comfortable  home  on 
the  same  avenue. 

In  politics  he  is  a republican,  is  a member  of  the 
Baptist  Church,  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  Order, 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Knights 
of  Pythias.  On  December  28,  1908,  he  married  Mrs. 
Jessie  (Wood)  Upham,  widow  of  Anthony  F.  Upham, 
who  by  her  first  marriage  has  a son  Stanley. 

William  N.  Fayant.  Probably  no  one  citizen  has 
exercised  a more  potent  influence  in  the  upbuilding  of 
the  little  community  of  Dustin  in  Hughes  County  than 
William  N.  Fayant.  Mr.  Fayant  came  to  Oklahoma 
about  fifteen  years  ago  after  a broad  and  successful  ex- 
perience in  business  and  civic  life  in  South  Dakota.  He 
came  South  in  search  of  a milder  climate  and  was  at  El 
Reno  in  1901  at  the  opening  for  settlement  of  the  south- 
western part  of  the  present  state. 

In  the  next  year  he  located  at  Spokogee,  now  Dustin, 
in  Hughes  County  when  that  town  was  started  and  has 
participated  actively  in  every  enterprise  of  importance 
there  since.  His  main  business,  to  which  he  was  trained 
in  early  youth,  has  been  the  cattle  industry  and  the  retail 
meat  business.  He  has  become  extensively  known  all  over 
this  section  of  the  state  as  a cattle  man,  both  buying  and 
shipping,  and  at  the  present  time  he  has  200  head  of 
stock,  and  at  different  times  has  owned  much  larger 
herds. 

An  important  feature  of  his  Oklahoma  residence  has 
been  his  public  service  in  behalf  of  his  home  town.  He 
was  the  first  mayor  of  Dustin,  and  held  the  office  three 
consecutive  terms.  He  also  organized  the  first  school 
board,  was  elected  its  president,  and  was  kept  at  the  head 
of  local  school  affairs  until  1914,  when  he  had  decided  that 
lie  had  served  long  enough  and  that  others  should  assume 
his  share  of  the  responsibilities.  After  retiring  from  the 
school  board  he  was  again  elected  mayor,  but  after  one 
term  declined  further  honors  in  that  position.  Politically 
Mr.  Fayant  is  a democrat.  The  first  state  legislature 
appointed  him  one  of  the  county  commissioners  of  Hughes 
County,  and  he  was  one  of  the  three  first  selected  to  that 
office  and  became  chairman  of  the  board,  and  was  ap- 
pointed by  Governor  Haskell  to  the  first  county  election 
board  and  served  as  its  president  four  years.  This  and 
nearly  every  other  political  honor  came  unsolicited.  A 
few  years  ago  Governor  Cruce  appointed  him  a delegate 
to  the  Southern  Commercial  Congress. 

William  N.  Fayant  was  born  at  Tamaqua  in  Schuylkill 
County,  Pennsylvania,  December  10,  1850,  a son  of  Bar- 
toloma  and  Elizabeth  (Baker)  Fayant.  His  father  was 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1943 


born  in  Alsace,  France,  in  1805,  while  the  mother  was 
born  near  the  Eiver  Rhine  in  Germany  in  1812.  Both 
came  when  young  to  the  United  States  during  the  ’30s, 
I and  in  1839  they  were  married  in  Pennsylvania.  In 
1856  the  family  moved  out  to  Wisconsin,  and  the  father 
died  in  1883  and  the  mother  in  1898  at  Muscoda,  Grand 
County,  Wisconsin.  The  father  was  a farmer  and  stock- 
man, and  in  Wisconsin  established  a flourishing  meat 
business  which  is  one  of  the  oldest  institutions  of  its 
kind  in  that  section  of  the  state  and  is  still  conducted  by 
members  of  the  family.  In  earlier  years  he  was  also  a 
contractor  for  the  United  States  army,  furnishing  horses 
chiefly,  and  that  business  took  him  to  all  parts  of  the 
United  States  and  the  Territories.  He  also  spent  much 
time  in  Florida,  where  some  of  his  children  were  born. 
His  later  years  were  passed  in  comparative  retirement 
and  ease.  His  children  were:  Margaret,  wife  of  John 
Neff  of  Muscoda,  Wisconsin;  Victor,  who  now  lives  in 
Chicago;  Josephine,  wife  of  Frank  Neff  of  Muscatine, 
Iowa;  Francis,  who  was  a member  of  the  famous  Iron 
Brigade,  Company  K,  Seventh  Wisconsin  Regiment, 
served  all  through  the  Civil  war,  in  one  battle  had  a foot 
shot  off  and  died  largely  as  a result  of  his  wounds  two 
years  after  the  war;  Elizabeth,  who  became  the  wife 
of  Joseph  Seiger  of  La  Crosse,  Wisconsin,  and  both  are 
now  deceased;  William  N. ; Mary,  who  died  in  1900  as 
the  wife  of  Jacob  Huppler;  and  Theo  of  Iowa  Falls, 
Iowa.  Besides  those  named  two  other  children  died  in 
infancy. 

William  N.  Fayant  lived  with  his  parents  until  he  was 
twenty-one  years  of  age,  and  at  that  time  his  father 
turned  over  to  him  the  meat  business  at  Muscoda,  Wis- 
consin. A little  later  when  gold  was  discovered  in  the 
Black  Hills  of  the  Dakotas  Mr.  Fayant  turned  the  busi- 
ness over  to  his  brother  Victor  and  went  out  to  seek 
a fortune  in  that  part  of  South  Dakota.  He  was  a miner 
there  until  stricken  with  the  mountain  fever,  when  he 
returned  home,  but  later  he  moved  out  to  Huron,  South 
Dakota,  and  became  a pioneer  business  man,  establish- 
ing a meat  market  which  he  conducted  successfully  for  a 
number  of  years.  He  was  also  a member  of  the  town 
council  at  Huron  and  acquired  a homestead  there.  In 
1881  at  Huron,  South  Dakota,  Mr.  Fayant  married  Miss 
Susie  Shirt,  who  was  born  in  Lancaster,  Pennsylvania, 
in  1854.  After  his  marriage  Mr.  Fayant  continued  to 
live  at  Huron  until  1894,  when  on  account  of  the  cold 
climate  he  went  South,  spent  several  years  at  Houston, 
Texas,  and  then  reached  Oklahoma  in  1901.  During  his 
residence  in  South  Dakota  he  became  well  known  all 
over  the  state  not  only  as  a buyer  and  shipper  of  cattle, 
but  also  in  a civic  way.  He  built  one  of  the  first  houses 
at  Huron,  and  on  coming  to  Oklahoma  he  constructed  the 
first  stone  house  at  Spokogee,  now  Dustin,  and  has  since 
built  three  other  stone  business  blocks  on  Main  Street, 
and  still  owns  them.  He  also  has  several  farms  near 
Dustin,  owning  outright  700  acres  and  having  about 
1,000  acres  under  lease.  Fraternally  he  is  affiliated  with 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  his  church  is 
the  Catholic. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Fayant  have  two  children:  Joseph  W. 
who  is  still  at  home,  and  Benjamin,  who  died  at  the  age 
of  seventeen  while  a student  in  St.  Joseph  College  at 
Muskogee.  Mr.  Fayant  now  has  a partner  in  his  local 
meat  business  at  Dustin,  Samuel  A.  Walker,  and  the  firm 
is  known  as  Fayant  & Walker. 

Albert  A.  Ballard.  About  thirteen  years  ago  Albert 
A.  Ballard  first  identified  himself  with  the  newspaper 
business.  Since  that  time  he  has  advanced  through 
all  the  stages  from  general  office  man  in  a business 
with  which  he  was  unfamiliar  to  his  present  post  of 


publisher  and  editor  of  the  leading  newspaper  of  his 
town — the  Seiling  Messenger.  Many  vicissitudes  beset 
his  path  in  the  years  he  has  devoted  to  the  upbuilding 
of  his  present  enterprise,  but  he  has  won  through  them 
all  in  a manner  that  speaks  of  a sturdiness  of  character 
and  an  unswerving  purpose,  without  which  few  really 
great  successes  have  ever  been  realized. 

Mr.  Ballard  was  born  in  Barnard,  Lincoln  County, 
Kansas,  on  September  8,  1880,  and  he  is  the  son  of 
Isaac  A.  and  Dicy  A.  (Beement)  Ballard.  The  father 
was  born  in  March,  1840,  in  Pulaski  County,  Kentucky. 
The  mother,  too,  was  a native  daughter  of  the  same 
place,  and  she  was  born  on  September  8,  1844. 

The  Ballard  family  is  one  that  was  established  in 
Colonial  days  in  old  New  York,  and  one  line  of  the 
family  pioneered  it . to  Kentucky  in  the  early  days  of 
settlement  there.  They  established  homes  and  became 
prominent  in  the  affairs  of  the  state,  accumulated  wealth 
and  enjoyed  a prosperity  that  is  oft-times  the  portion 
of  pioneer  families.  The  Beements,  too,  were  early 

settlers  in  New  York,  and  with  the  Ballards  settled  in 
Kentucky. 

After  the  marriage  of  Isaac  A.  Ballard  to  Dicy  Bee- 
ment, in  Pulaski  County,  Kentucky,  they  moved  to 
Illinois,  and  thence  to  Saline  County,  Kansas.  In  1871, 
still  unsettled,  they  went  to  Lincoln  County,  Kansas, 
and  it  was  there  the  subject  was  born.  The  family 
continued  in  residence  there  for  some  years,  and  it  was 
not  until  September  27,  1897,  that  they  moved  to 
Oklahoma,  settling  \in  Dewey  County.  Mr.  Ballard, 
though  well  advanced  in  years,  was  a pioneer  to  the 
Dewey  County  district  in  the  truest  sense  of  the  word, 
and  he  helped  to  establish  the  Town  of  Beement,  and  was 
largely  instrumental  in  getting  the  postoffice  for  that 
town.  Today  he  has  his  home  five  miles  west  of  the 
Town  of  Cestos,  on  the  site  of  the  former  Beement.  He 
has  a homestead  farm,  and  though  now  in  the  seventy- 
eighth  year  of  his  life,  he  is  active  and  energetic,  and 
farms  forty  acres  of  his  tract,  which  comprises  the 
regular  homestead  allotment  of  160  acres. 

The  children  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ballard  were  seven  in 
number,  and  may  be  mentioned  briefly  at  this  point. 
The  eldest,  Sarah  M.,  is  deceased.  She  married  O.  B. 
Dryden,  a farmer,  who  survives  her  and  lives  at  Vici, 
Oklahoma.  Martin  O.  is  a farmer  and  lives  at  Silt, 
Colorado.  The  next  two,  Edwin  and  Alfred,  died  young. 
The  fifth  child  is  Albert  A.,  of  this  review.  Kittie  died 
in  Fresno,  California,  September  21,  1914.  She  was 
the  wife  of  John  B.  Vincent,  a grocer  now  in  business 
in  Oakland,  California.  Grover  C.,  a farmer  and  rural 
mail  carrier,  is  located  at  Reason,  Oklahoma. 

Albert  A.  Ballard  attended  the  country  schools  of 
Barnard,  Lincoln  County,  Kansas,  up  to  the  age  of 
sixteen  years.  His  educational  advantages,  it  will  be 
seen,  were  not  of  the  best,  for  the  district  school  in 
any  locality  is  apt  to  lack  much  that  is  desirable  in 
the  training  of  youth,  and  when  he  had  finished  that 
schooling  he  turned  his  attention  to  the  farm,  and  for 
six  years  applied  himself  diligently  to  farm  work  under 
his  father ’s  direction.  He  was,  therefore,  twenty-two 
years  old  when  he  made  his  first  attempt  at  anything 
beyond  farm  work,  and  he  made  the  attempt  in  the 
office  of  a Geary,  Oklahoma,  publication.  That  was  in 
November,  1902.  In  February,  1903,  he  went  to  Seiling, 
Oklahoma,  where  he  soon  became  manager  of  the  old 
Seiling  Guide.  He  was  in  that  position  for  two  years, 
during  which  time  W.  G.  Smith  was  editor  of  the  paper. 
Mr.  Ballard  then  went  to  Hitchcock  and  was  employed 
in  an  important  capacity  on  the  Hitchcock  Vanguard 
for  a year.  In  February,  1906,  the  town  was  wiped 
out  by  a fire.  Mr.  Ballard  saved  enough  equipment 


1944 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


from  the  ruins  of  the  plant  to  make  it  possible  to  bring 
out  a news  sheet  on  schedule,  but  the  following  month 
moved  the  remains  of  the  plant  to  Selling  and  joined  in 
the  work  of  producing  the  Seiling  Messenger.  The 
work  was  successful,  but  three  years  later  it  seemed 
expedient  to  consolidate  with  the  Seiling  Guide,  the 
name  of  Messenger  being  retained,  and  Mr.  Ballard  is 
now  editor  and  publisher  of  the  paper. 

He  is  the  owner  of  the  plant  on  Main  Street,  and 
also  has  a nice  residence  property  in  the  town.  The 
Messenger  is  an  independent  sheet,  voicing  no  political 
sentiment,  and  circulates  widely  in  Dewey  and  surround- 
ing counties,  with  a good  sized  foreign  list  as  well. 
It  serves  well  the  best  interests  of  Seiling  and  its  people, 
and  is  a clean,  well  managed  and  healthy  publication, 
wielding  an  influence  for  good  in  those  communities 
where  it  circulates. 

Mr.  Ballard  is  an  independent  republican.  He  has 
served  as  town  clerk  here,  and  has  also  been  a mem- 
ber of  the  local  school  board.  He  is  a member  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  and  is  superintendent  of  its 
Sunday  School.  He  is  affiliated  with  the  Oklahoma  Press 
Association,  and  fraternally  is  identified  with  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America,  being  clerk  of  Seiling  Lodge  No. 
7345. 

On  May  7,  1901,  Mr.  Ballard  was  married  in  Wood- 
ward, Oklahoma,  to  Miss  Sarah  E.  Hatfield,  daughter 
of  J.  A.  Hatfield,  a well  known  contractor  and  builder 
in  Bennington,  Kansas.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ballard  have  one 
child,  Sibyl  Berenice,  born  October  3,  1907,  and  now 
attending  the  local  schools. 

Prof.  Jefferson  D.  Campbell.  A man  of  fine  intel- 
lectual attainments  and  of  thorough  executive  ability, 
Professor  Campbell  has  been  a resident  of  Oklahoma 
since  1902.  His  career  for  many  years  has  been  identified 
with  educational  affairs,  and  to  his  work  in  Oklahoma 
he  brought  a long  experience  both  as  an  educator  and 
public  official  in  his  native  State  of  Missouri.  He  has 
taught  and  supervised  the  instruction  of  a host  of  young 
people,  many  of  whom  have  now  grown  to  manhood  and 
womanhood,  and  his  position  as  an  Oklahoma  educator 
at  the  present  time  is  in  the  important  and  exacting 
office  of  county  superintendent  of  schools  in  Okmulgee 
County.  He  is  now  serving  his  second  term  and  his 
administration  has  been  characterized  by  a general  rais- 
ing of  the  standards  of  the  schools  of  the  county  and 
the  working  out  of  effective  systems  for  unity  and 
symmetry  in  the  school  service. 

Born  near  Paris,  Monroe  County,  Missouri,  January 
11,  1863,  Professor  Campbell  is  a son  of  Morton  and 
Mary  (Northern)  Campbell,  both  of  whom  were  born 
and  reared  in  Kentucky,  where  they  married.  They  then 
came  to  Missouri,  and  the  mother  died  there  in  1874  when 
Professor  Campbell  was  about  eleven  years  old.  His 
father,  who  died  in  1885,  had  a long  and  unusually  inter- 
esting career.  He  was  one  of  the  adventurous  argonauts 
who  crossed  the  plains  and  became  pioneers  in  the  gold 
fields  in  California  in  1849.  After  a year  he  returned 
home,  but  later  made  a second  trip  to  California  by  way 
of  the  Isthmus  of  Panama.  Prior  to  that  he  had  served 
in  the  Mexican  war  and  for  four  years  was  in  the  Con- 
federate army  during  the  Civil  war,  becoming  a non- 
commissioned officer.  The  papers  granting  him  a Govern- 
ment pension  as  a veteran  of  the  Mexican  war  came  to 
him  only  a few  days  prior  to  his  death.  In  a business 
way  he  was  long  numbered  among  the  prosperous  agri- 
culturists and  stock  raisers  of  Vernon  County,  Missouri, 
was  influential  in  community  affairs  and  was  an  able  and 
high-minded  citizen.  Politically  he  was  identified  with 
the  democratic  party  and  served  many  years  in  the  office 


of  justice  of  the  peace.  Incidentally  it  should  be  noted 
that  his  brother  William  was  for  many  years  on  the 
bench  of  the  District  Court  in  their  native  State  of 
Kentucky.  Morton  Campbell  was  the  father  of  six  sons 
and  three  daughters,  and  of  the  number  three  are  still 
living. 

After  the  death  of  his  mother  in  1874  the  home  was 
broken  up,  and  Professor  Campbell  spent  much  of  his 
early  youth  in  the  home  of  a devout  English  couple. 
When  only  twelve  years  of  age  he  began  working  on  a 
farm  by  the  month  and  thereafter  not  only  earned  his 
own  living  but  paid  his  way  through  school  and  college. 
He  attended  the  public  schools  of  Missouri  and  in  1892 
graduated  from  the  Missouri  Normal  School  at  Clarks- 
burg. Later  he  attended  the  University  of  Missouri 
at  Columbia.  Thus  by  his  own  efforts  and  in  the  inter- 
vals of  farm  work  and  school  teaching  he  gained  a 
liberal  education,  and  has  long  been  recognized  for  his 
proficiency  as  a teacher  and  his  ability  to  impart  to 
others  the  knowledge  and  character  which  he ' himself 
possesses. 

For  about  twenty  years  he  was  in  successful  work  as 
a teacher  in  his  native  state,  and  in  him  the  profession 
has  been  dignified  and  honored.  For  four  years  was 
county  superintendent  of  schools  in  St.  Clair  County, 
Missouri.  This  and  other  offices  were  forced  upon  him 
by  his  friends  and  his  party  associates,  and  for  four 
years  he  served  as  county  clerk,  and  for  another  six 
years  was  a member  of  the  county  board  of  education. 
His  service  as  county  clerk  of  St.  Clair  County  was  at  a 
peculiarly  interesting  period  in  the  local  history  of  that 
county.  In  the  early  days  of  railroad  construction  in 
Missouri,  St.  Clair  County  had  bonded  itself  for  a large 
sum  to  pay  for  a proposed  railroad.  The  bonds  were 
sold  and  the  promoters  of  the  enterprise  used  the  funds 
without  showing  any  net  results  in  the  way  of  a railroad, 
and  with  a deep  sense  of  indignation  at  the  swindle  the 
people  of  St.  Clair  County  thereafter  persistently  refused 
to  pay  the  county  bonds  when  they  became  due,  and  in 
consequence  the  county  judges  had  to  hold  court  in  con- 
cealment, and  every  judge  elected  studiously  kept  out  of 
the  way  of  officers  from  the  United  States  courts.  Pro- 
fessor Campbell  was  one  of  such  officials,  and  in  those 
days  the  county  officers  held  what  was  called  “brush 
court,”  and  he  and  the  county  attorney  virtually  con- 
ducted the  entire  business  of  St.  Clair  County,  and  with 
great  credit  to  themselves. 

When  he  came  to  Oklahoma  in  1902  Professor  Camp- 
bell assumed  the  position  of  principal  of  the  high  school 
at  Mounds,  Creek  County.  He  was  also  for  two  years 
mayor  of  that  town.  From  there  he  went  to  Beggs,  in 
Okmulgee  County,  and  became  principal  of  the  high 
school.  His  work  as  an  educator  in  that  county  con- 
tinued until  1912,  at  which  time  evidence  of  popular 
appreciation  of  his  services  was  shown  when  he  was 
elected  county  superintendent  of  schools.  A still  stronger 
testimonial  to  his  ability  was  given  him  in  1914  when 
he  was  re-elected  for  a second  term  of  two  years.  The 
county  will  always  owe  him  a debt  for  the  splendid  service 
he  has  given  in  upbuilding  its  school  system,  which  is  not 
excelled  by  any  other  county  in  the  state. 

Politically  Mr.  Campbell  has  always  been  in  line  with 
the  principles  and  policies  of  the  democratic  party.  He 
is  a member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity,  and  he  and  his 
wife  are  active  in  the  Christian  Church.  They  have  a 
fine  family,  and  move  in  the  best  social  circles  of  the 
county.  In  1884  Professor  Campbell  married  Miss  Fre- 
donia  May  Teaney.  A native  of  Tennessee  she  was  a 
child  when  her  family  moved  to  Missouri,  where  she  was 
reared  and  educated,  being  a daughter  of  James  and 
Mary  (Lambert)  Teaney.  Mrs.  Campbell  gave  four 


I 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1945 


years  of  her  early  life  to  the  work  of  the  schoolroom. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Campbell  have  six  children:  Lena  Mabel, 

James  M.,  Fannie  L.,  William  Clyde,  Dorothy  and  Gor- 
don L.  Lena  Mabel  followed  the  example  of  her  father 
and  mother  and  was  a popular  teacher  until  the  age  of 
twenty,  and  is, now  the  wife  of  Arthur  M.  Miller  and 
they  reside  in  Okmulgee  County.  James  M.  is  serving 
as  deputy  county  clerk  of  Okmulgee  County,  and  Fannie 
L.  is  also  a teacher  in  the  county  schools.  The  younger 
children  are  still  at  home. 

Frank  W.  Brooks.  The  highly  successful  character 
of  the  commission  form  of  government  has  been  due  in 
many  cases  to  the  efficient  personnel  of  those  selected 
by  the  citizens  to  take  charge  of  their  municipal  affairs. 
A case  in  point  is  that  of  Frank  W.  Brooks,  water  com- 
missioner of  Enid,  who,  with  the  mayor  and  the  com- 
missioner of  streets  and  alleys,  constitute  the  governing 
body  of  the  city.  Enid  has  been  under  a commission 
form  of  government  since  1908. 

Mr.  Brooks  was  made  superintendent  of  waterworks 
at  Enid  April  12,  1907,  and  had  charge  of  the  local  water 
plant  as  superintendent  until  his  election  in  April,  1913, 
as  water  commissioner.  Mr.  Brooks  has  thus  had  super- 
vision of  this  important  public  utility  throughout  the 
most  important  period  of  its  development  and  extension. 

Few  cities  in  the  Southwest  have  a better  system  of 
waterworks,  either  as  to  source  of  supply  or  system  of 
distribution,  than  Enid.  The  source  of  supply  is  thirty- 
two  deep  wells,  reaching  down  below  the  surface  about 
fifty  feet  into  an  apparently  inexhaustible  underground 
stream  flowing  through  gravel  strata.  Each  well  is  con- 
nected directly  with  the  main  pipe  line,  leading  from  two 
great  twin  pumps.  For  400  feet  each  way  from  the 
engine  house  the  water  is  carried  through  a tunnel 
5 feet  wide  and  6%  feet  high,  31  feet  below  the  surface. 
The  wells  are  located  1%  miles  northwest  of  the  city. 
The  cost  of  sinking  the  wells,  constructing  the  tunnel  and 
installing  the  engines  at  the  main  plant  was  $40,000. 

This  is  an  excellent  example  of  municipal  operation 
and  ownership.  Every  one  of  the  15,000  inhabitants  of 
Enid  has  an  interest  in  the  waterworks  plant.  The  city 
was  bonded  for  $240,000  in  order  to  construct  and  equip 
the  waterworks,  and  it  is  claimed  that  the  enterprise 
is  more  than  worth  what  it  cost.  In  1907  there  were 
431  meters  in  use,  while  at  the  present  time  the  number 
has  increased  to  1,831.  For  the  year  ending  in  June, 
1914,  these  consumers  paid  a total  of  over  $18,000  for 
water  service,  and  the  expenses  of  running  the  plant 
for  the  same  year  were  over  $11,000.  Thus  the  profit 
over  operations  was  about  $6,000,  though  that  was  not 
sufficient  to  pay  the  interest  on  the  waterworks  bond. 
The  fourteen  miles  of  water  mains  in  1907  have  increased 
to  thirty-one  miles.  During  one  year  the  extensions 
required  twenty -two  carloads  of  pipe.  There  are  359 
fire  hydrants,  and  service  for  these  is  supplied  free, 
whereas  under  private  ownership  the  charge  would  ap- 
proximate probably  $10  per  hydrant.  The  water  depart- 
ment has  eight  employes,  six  of  them  being  engineers 
and  firemen,  with  two  others  employed  in  the  general 
water  service. 

Frank  W.  Brooks  is  a native  of  Ohio,  and  when  nine 
years  of  age  moved  out  to  Nebraska  in  1875  and 
grew  up  in  what  was  then  a raw  western  state.  His 
education  came  from  district  schools,  and  his  early  life 
was  spent  on  a farm.  His  first  independent  enterprise 
was  as  a liveryman  at  York,  Nebraska,  and  for  several 
years  he  was  also  a salesman  in  the  hardware  and  agri- 
cultural implement  trade.  On  September  16,  1893,  in 
company  with  his  brother  Jerome,  Mr.  Brooks  made  the 
race  into  the  Cherokee  Strip.  The  brothers  secured 


adjoining  quarters  in  section  15,  three  miles  southeast 
of  Enid.  Frank  W.  Brooks  lived  there  and  developed 
a farm  until  1905,  though  for  several  years  his  chief 
business  was  as  traveling  salesman.  His  brother  still 
owns  and  operates  the  farm  near  Enid.  Mr.  Brooks  left 
the  road  to  assume  the  superintendency  of  the  water- 
works plant  at  Enid,  and  his  long  and  thorough  experience 
in  that  department  made  his  choice  for  the  office  of  water 
commissioner  one  that  was  based  upon  the  utmost  con- 
sideration of  fitness. 

Mr.  Brooks  was  married  February  27,  1888,  at  York, 
Nebraska,  to  Miss  Annie  Bennett,  a native  of  Illinois. 
They  have  a family  of  six  children:  Clarence  L.,  who  is 

employed  by  the  Alton  Mercantile  Company  at  Enid; 
Lois  M.,  a vocalist  at  York,  Nebraska;  Hazel,  a stenog- 
rapher in  the  Telephone  Company  at  Enid ; Laura,  a vocal 
teacher;  Bessie,  a member  of  the  high  school  class  of 
1915  at  Enid;  and  Harold.  Mr.  Brooks  is  affiliated  with 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America,  is  secretary  of  the  local  chapter 
of  the  United  Commercial  Travelers  at  Enid,  is  a 
republican  in  politics,  and  a member  of  the  official  board 
of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church. 

Charles  W.  Goree.  The  unequivocal  verdict  of  ap- 
probation passed  upon  Mr.  Goree  in  the  City  and  County 
of  Okmulgee  is  shown  forth  most  conclusively  in  his 
incumbency  of  the  office  of  county  clerk  and  in  the  fact 
that  he  is  the  only  democrat  who  has  been  elected  to 
this  office  in  the  history  of  the  county.  He  is  one  of 
the  appreciative  and  loyal  citizens  of  Oklahoma,  a man 
of  marked  public  spirit,  and  is  well  entitled  to  specific 
recognition  in  this  history. 

Mr.  Goree  was  born  at  Lumpkin,  Stewart  County, 
Georgia,  on  the  10th  of  November,  1867,  and  is  a son 
of  William  A.  and  Louvisa  (Hardie)  Goree,  the  former 
of  whom  was  born  in  Virginia,  of  Irish  lineage,  and  the 
latter  of  whom  was  born  in  Georgia,  her  ancestry  tracing 
back  to  staunch  English  origin.  The  Goree  family  was 
originally  established  in  France,  and  from  that  country 
representatives  of  the  name  early  immigrated  to  Ire- 
land, with  whose  history  the  name  has  been  identified 
for  many  generations.  The  paternal  grandparents  of 
the  subject  of  this  review  immigrated  from  the  Emerald 
Isle  to  the  United  States  and  established  their  home 
in  Virginia,  where  they  passed  the  residue  of  their 
lives. 

He  whose  name  initiates  this  review  was  a child  at 
the  time  of  his  parents'  immigration  from  Georgia  to 
Navarro  County,  Texas,  where  he  was  reared  and  edu- 
cated, his  father  being  now  a resident  of  Lubbock,  that 
state,  and  his  mother  having  died  at  Chillicothe,  Harde- 
man  County,  Texas,  in  August,  1908,  at  which  time  she 
was  "sixty-seven  years  of  age. 

Charles  W.  Goree  attended  the  public  schools  of  the 
Lone  Star  State  until  he  had  profited  duly  by  the  ad- 
vantages of  the  high  school,  and  in  the  autumn  of  1886 
he  entered  the  college  at  Summer  Hill,  Texas,  in  which 
he  was  graduated  as  a member  of  the  class  of  1890. 
Thereafter  he  was  for  thirteen  years  an  ambitious  and 
successful  teacher  in  the  schools  of  Texas,  where  he  con- 
tinued to  maintain  his  home  until  1904,  when  he  came  to 
Okmulgee  County,  Oklahoma,  where  he  continued  his 
effective  services  as  a representative  of  the  pedagogic 
profession  for  the  ensuing  four  years.  Thereafter  he 
was  engaged  in  the  grocery  business  at  Okmulgee  until 
the  autumn  of  1912,  when  he  was  elected  county  clerk. 
His  careful  and  efficient  administration  resulted  in  his 
re-election  in  the  fall  of  1914,  and,  as  previously  stated, 
he  has  the  distinction  of  being  the  only  democrat  elected 
to  this  important  office  in  Okmulgee  County.  In  addi- 


1946 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


tion  to  giving  most  punctilious  attention  to  liis  official 
duties  Mr.  Goree  maintains  a general  supervision  of  his 
well  improved  dairy  farm,  eligibly  situated  a short  dis- 
tance west  of  the  city.  In  honor  of  his  collegiate  alma 
mater  he  has  named  this  well  improved  place  Summer 
Hill  Dairy.  He  is  affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows  and  both  he  and  his  wife  hold  member- 
ship in  the  Baptist  Church.  Mr.  Goree  is  the  eldest  in  a 
family  of  eight  children;  Texanna,  the  next  in  order 
of  birth,  is  the  wife  of  Rev.  John  A.  Jones,  of  Chilli- 
cothe,  Texas;  Mrs.  Mary  Lovett  is  deceased  and  is  sur- 
vived by  three  children;  William  H.  has  for  the  past 
fifteen  years  been  in  the  employ  of  the  great  meat- 
packing firm  of  Armour  & Company,  at  its  establishment 
in  the  City  of  Forth  Worth,  Texas;  Roland  E.  has  the 
active  management  of  the  dairy  farm  of  the  subject  of 
this  sketch;  Lena  became  the  wife  of  Richard  Rhyne 
and  was  a resident  of  Alvord,  Texas,  at  the  time  of 
her  death;  Frederick  E.  has  been  associated  with  the 
building  of  the  Government  canal  across  the  Isthmus  of 
Panama,  where  he  still  remains  in  the  employ  of  the 
Government,  as  a stenographer;  and  Orren  C.  is  a resi- 
dent of  the  City  of  Dallas,  Texas. 

At  Corsicana,  Texas,  on  the  10th  of  June,  1891,  was 
solemnized  the  marriage  of  Charles  W.  Goree  to  Miss 
. Mary  Elizabeth  Stroder,  who  was  born  and  reared  in 
Texas  and  who  was  a schoolmate  of  her  husband  when 
they  were  young.  She  is  a daughter  of  Alexander  and 
Catherine  Stoder,  who  are  still  residents  of  Texas.  To 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Goree  have  been  born  ten  children,  the 
first  of  whom,  Katie,  died  at  the  age  of  2%  years; 
Gladys  is  a popular  teacher  in  the  schools  of  Okmulgee 
County;  Iona  is  deputy  in  the  office  of  the  county  treas- 
urer; Mattie  and  Thomas  Bryan  are,  in  1916,  students 
in  the  Okmulgee  High  School;  and  the  younger  children 
of  the  gracious  home  ci*cle  are  Verna,  John  Gordon, 
Maggie  May,  Charles  Stroder,  and  Sidney  Frederick. 

In  1904  Mr.  Hodges  came  to  Oklahoma  and  here  his 
first  service  was  in  connection  with  a restaurant  at 
Muskogee.  He  next  became  a solicitor  for  the  Muskogee 
Democrat,  and  he  continued  his  work  in  this  capacity 
after  the  consolidation  of  the  paper  with  the  Muskogee 
Times.  Since  1909  he  has  been  manager  of  the  Okmulgee 
Daily  Democrat,  and  since  January,  1915,  he  has  been 
owner  of  a half -interest  in  the  large  and  important 
publishing  business  in  which  his  associate  is  James  J. 
Moroney,  of  whom  specific  mention  is  made  on  other 
pages  of  this  work,  the  firm  publishing  not  only  the 
Okmulgee  Daily  Democrat  but  also  the  Okmulgee  Prog- 
ress, the  Mid-Continent  Oil  and  Farm  News,  and  the 
Morris  News,  at  Morris,  Okmulgee  County.  Mr.  Hodges 
is  also  the  owner  of  a half -interest  in  the  Wagoner  Demo- 
crat, published  at  the  county  seat  of  Wagoner  County. 

Mr.  Hodges  has  been  a most  enthusiastic  worker  in 
behalf  of  the  cause  of  the  democratic  party,  and,  as 
previously  stated,  is  chairman  of  its  central  committee 
for  Okmulgee  County.  He  is  affiliated  with  both  the 
York  and  Scottish  Rite  bodies  of  the  Masonic  fraternity, 
and  also  with  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of 
Elks.  He  and  his  wife  are  earnest  members  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  South,  at  Okmulgee,  and  he 
is  serving  on  its  official  board. 

On  the  28th  of  June,  1909,  Mr.  Hodges  wedded  Miss 
May  Stinnett,  who  was  born  in  Kentucky  but  reared  and 
educated  in  Texas  and  Oklahoma,  she  being  a daughter 
of  P.  B.  Stinnett,  who  is  still  a resident  of  the  Lone 
Star  State.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hodges  have  a fine  little  son, 
Bert  C.,  Jr. 

Hon.  William  N.  Barry.  One  of  the  very  capable 
members  of  the  House  of  Representatives  in  the  Fifth 
Oklahoma  Legislature  is  William  N.  Barry  of  Okemah, 


Okfuskee  County.  Mr.  Barry  was  elected  in  1914  and 
had  previously  been  close!;?  identified  with  public  affairs 
in  his  home  county,  where  he  is  proprietor  of  a very 
successful  business,  The  Okemah  Hardware  Company. 
While  faithful  to  his  constituency,  Mr.  Barry  has  brought 
a sound  business  judgment  to  the  work  of  the  Fifth  Legis- 
lature, and  has  exercised  an  important  influence  on  cur- 
rent legislation.  In  the  House  in  the  Fifth  Legislature 
he  has  served  as  chairman  of  Committee  on  Elections 
and  as  a member  of  committees  on  public  service  cor- 
porations, municipal  corporation,  dentistry,  enrolled  and 
engrossed  bills. 

He  is  one  of  the  younger  members  of  the  legislature, 
but  is  comparatively  an  old  resident  of  his  section  of  the 
state.  He  was  born  in  Lafayette  County,  Mississippi, 
September  9,  1879,  a son  of  Jesse  R.  and  Ellen  Elizabeth 
(Nichols)  Barry.  His  father  was  born  in  South  Caro- 
lina and  his  mother  in  Alabama,  but  they  both  came  to 
Mississippi  as  children  and  in  the  house  where  they 
married  they  spent  the  rest  of  their  days.  The  mother 
died  in  Lafayette  County,  Mississippi,  August  12,  1906, 
at  the  age  of  fifty-seven,  and  the  father  on  December 
10,  1914,  aged  seventy-six.  He  spent  all  his  active  career 
as  a farmer,  but  during  the  Civil  war  he  was  a private 
soldier  in  the  Confederate  army.  He  also  held  the  office 
of  county  supervisor  and  exercised  considerable  influence 
in  local  politics.  In  the  family  were  eight  daughters 
and  two  sons. 

After  growing  up  on  the  old  farm  back  in  Mississippi 
and  gaining  a public  school  education,  at  the  age  of 
twenty  he  started  out  to  make  his  fortune  in  a new 
country.  In  1901  Mr.  Barry  went  to  Texas  and  for 
a year  or  so  employed  his  energies  on  a farm,  but  in 
August,  1903,  arrived  at  Okemah,  Oklahoma,  where  he 
became  clerk  in  a local  hardware  store  and  thus  learned 
the  business  which  he  has  since  followed  so  successfully. 
From  Okemah  he  went  to  Paden,  another  town  in  Okfus- 
kee County,  in  1907,  and  there  engaged  in  the  hardware 
business  with  John  D.  Richards  as  a partner.  On  Jan- 
uary 1,  1911,  he  returned  to  Okemah  and  has  since  estab- 
lished and  conducted  a very  large  business  under  the 
name  Okemah  Hardware  Company. 

Always  interested  in  public  affairs,  he  was  elected  one 
of  the  first  commissioners  of  Okfuskee  County  after 
statehood,  representing  District  No.  1,  and  was  re- 
elected in  1910.  He  served  two  terms,  or  about  five 
years  after  statehood.  In  1914  he  was  elected  to  repre- 
sent his  home  county  in  the  House  of  Representatives. 

Mr.  Barry  is  a democrat,  a member  of  the  Masonic 
Order  and  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  On  December  9,  1907, 
he  married  Eunice  I.  Busby,  who  was  born  in  Missis- 
sippi and  came  to  Oklahoma  with  her  parents,  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  J.  D.  Busby,  who  located  at'  Okemah  about  the 
time  the  town  was  founded.  To  their  marriage  have 
been  born  three  children,  all  of  them  natives  of  Okfuskee 
County.  Their  names  are  Eleanor  E.,  Lois  I.  and  Wil- 
liam N.  Jr. 

Judge  Thomas  Lewis  Rogers.  As  the  contents  of 
these  historical  volumes  will  be  esteemed  by  future  gen- 
erations in  proportion  as  they  include  within  their  pages 
the  records  of  men  most  closely  identified  with  the  old 
territory  and  the  new  state,  it  is  especially  suitable  to 
the  design  of  the  publication  to  include  a record  of  the 
late  Thomas  Lewis  Rogers,  who  died  at  his  home  in 
Pawhuska,  January  1,  1909,  at  the  age  of  seventy-one 
years,  four  months  and  twenty-one  days. 

Judge  Rogers  was  prominent  both  as  the  descendant 
of  an  eminent  Cherokee-Osage  family  and  in  his  own  per- 
son as  a successful  farmer  and  stock  raiser.  For  many 
years  he  lived  at  his  home,  seven  miles  southeast  of 
Pawhuska.  His  relations  to  the  Osage  Nation  were 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1947 


noteworthy  and  most  commendable  to  both  his  head  and 
his  heart. 

In  the  preliminary  negotiations  leading  up  to  the 
acquirement  of  a permanent  reservation  for  the  Osages, 
Judge  Rogers  prominently  participated  as  a member  of 
the  Osage  council  selected  to  treat  with  the  Government 
and  with  the  Cherokee  Nation  for  the  lands  comprising 
the  Osage  Nation,  as  organized  in  1872.  For  several 
terms  he  served  on  the  Osage  council  and  for  many 
years  was  supreme  judge  of  the  nation  itself.  In 
Masonry  he  had  attained  the  thirty-second  degree,  being 
a member  of  the  Pawnee  Chapter  and  Commandery, 
Guthrie  Consistory  and  the  Oklahoma  City  Shrine.  His 
home  lodge  at  Pawhuska  participated  officially  in  his 
burial,  and  his  body  was  also  followed  to  its  last  resting 
place  by  many  friends  and  brothers  in  the  Benevolent 
and  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  The  following  is  a 
tribute  paid  to  him  at  that  time : ‘ ‘ He  was  a firm 

believer  in  fraternal  orders  and  longed  to  see  those  who 
were  near  and  dear  to  him  under  the  benign  protection 
of  one  of  the  great  fraternal  orders.  In  many  ways 
he  was  a remarkable  man.  He  was  a man  of  great 
culture  and  refinement  although  reared  under  adverse 
circumstances.  So  genial  was  his  hospitality  and  so  rare 
his  qualities  of  entertainment  that  he  has  often  been 
called  • Prince  of  the  Osages.  ’ His  friends  were  legion, 
and  many  a heart  saddens  at  the  news  of  his  death. 
May  his  like  increase;  for  it  may  be  truly  said  of  him, 
‘the  world  is  better  for  his  having  lived.'  ” 

The  family  of  which  Judge  Rogers  was  so  worthy  a 
representative  was  founded  in  Indian  Territory  by  Cap- 
tain John  Rogers,  his  grandfather,  who  came  to  the 
Cherokee  Nation  from  his  home  in  Georgia  as  early  as 
1829,  being  a member  of  what  is  known  as  the  ‘ ‘ Old 
Settlers,”  as  distinguished  from  the.  emigrants  who 
came  in  the  early  ’30s.  With  his  son,  Thomas  Lewis 
Rogers,  Sr.,  he  established  the  first  salt  industry  west 
of  the  Mississippi  River  at  the  Rogers  homestead  on 
Spavinaw  Creek.  Without  tools,  machinery  or  equipment 
of  any  kind  they  dug  their  wells  and  built  rude  but 
practicable  furnaces  for  boiling  the  water  and  extract- 
ing salt,  selling  their  product  in  large  quantities  through- 
out Indian  Territory,  Missouri  and  Kansas.  Among  the 
pioneer  enterprises  of  the  Rogers,  father  and  son,  in 
this  field  was  tpe  plant  which  they  established  at  Grand 
Saline,  which  was  the  forerunner  of  the  extensive  industry 
conducted  at  that  point. 

Thomas  L.  Rogers,  Sr.,  married  Ellen  Lombard,  a 
woman  who  was  half  French  and  half  Osage  Indian,  and 
it  is  through  her  that  Judge  Rogers  obtained  his  citizen- 
ship in  the  Osage  Nation.  Before  the  Civil  war  the 
Rogers  homestead  on  the  Spavinaw  was  a famous  resort 
of  the  settlers  for  miles  around,  good  cheer,  comfort  and 
old-time  southern  hospitality  abounding  in  their  most 
typical  forms.  Especially  at  Christmas  and  during  the 
holiday  season  was  the  house  “wide  open”  and  warm 
with  the  best  spirit  of  the  day. 

This  homestead  was  located  about  four  miles  from 
the  confluence  of  the  Spavinaw  with  the  Grand  River, 
in  what  is  now  Mayes  County,  Oklahoma.  In  that  home- 
stead the  late  Judge  Thomas  L.  Rogers  was  born,  August 
11,1  1 837.  At  the  opening  of  the  Civil  war  he  was  in 
the  Confederate  service  as  a member  of  Company  G, 
commanded  by  Captain  Butler,  in  General  Stan  Watie’s 
Cherokee  regiment.  He  spent  most  of  his  time  as  a 
scout  on  the  frontier  of  the  Indian  Territory.  He  was 
also  engaged  in  several  severe  battles,  particularly  the 
engagement  at  Big  Cabin.  The  war  so  depreciated  the 
value  of  his  homestead  and  business  properties  that  at  the 
close  he  found  employment  as  clerk  in  a large  general 
store,  being  subsequently  engaged  in  the  more  lucrative 


and  independent  occupation  of  buying  and  selling  cattle. 
It  is  illustrative  of  the  faithful  and  generous  character 
of  the  late  Judge  Rogers  that  the  profits  of  his  business 
were  not  Selfishly  expended  upon  himself,  but  went 
toward  the  support  of  his  widowed  mother  and  the  edu- 
cation of  the  younger  members  of  the  family. 

In  1870  he  married  Miss  Nancy  Martin,  member  of 
one  of  the  most  prominent  of  the  Cherokee  families. 
In  1871  he  located  on  the  Big  Caney,  and  in  1872  on 
Bird  Creek  in  the  northwestern  part  of  the  Cherokee 
Nation,  adjoining  the  Osage  Nation,  soon  after  the  lands 
in  that  locality  were  acquired  for  settlement  by  the 
Osages.  Previously  the  lands  had  been  leased  from 
the  Indians  by  white  cattle  raisers.  Judge  Rogers  lived 
in  that  locality  for  fifteen  years,  then  moved  to  Paw- 
huska,  where  he  remained  six  years,  and  then  went  to 
the  home  southeast  of  Pawhuska,  where  he  resided 
eighteen  years,  finally  returning  to  Pawhuska  a few 
years  before  his  death.  A tract  of  land  southeast  of 
Pawhuska  became  his  regular  homestead  and  remained 
so  for  many  years  and  under  his  industry  and  skill  was 
rated  as  one  of  the  finest  agricultural  and  stock  farms 
for  miles  around.  There  he  erected  a splendid  stone 
residence  of  ten  rooms  and  provided  every  facility  for 
conducting  his  large  and  varied  operations.  For  several 
years  he  handled  horses  and  cattle  on  an  extensive  scale 
'and  though  still  operating  a farm  he  moved  to  Paw- 
huska, where  he  built  another  fine  modern  residence  on 
East  Main  Street.  During  his  first  period  of  residence 
in  Pawhuska  he  engaged  successfully  in  general  mer- 
chandising, at  first  in  partnership  with  his  kinsman,  Hon. 
W.  C.  Rogers,  the  noted  chief  of  the  Cherokees,  and  later 
with  John  R.  Skinner.  His  service  in  the  negotiations 
by  which  the  territorial  limits  of  the  Osage  Nation 
were  determined  and  the  high  post  he  filled  in  the  legis- 
lative and  judicial  affairs  of  the  nation  have  already 
been  mentioned.  Because  of  such  activities  his  death 
marked  the  departure  from  the  world  of  a man  who 
had  demonstrated  not  only  unusual  capacity,  but  the 
finest  and  warmest  traits  of  heart  and  soul. 

Mrs.  Nancy  (Martin)  Rogers,  his  wife,  was  born  on 
Cabin  Creek,  Cherokee  Nation,  October  30,  1848,  a 
daughter  of  John  and  Martha  (Chambers)  Martin.  Her 
father,  John  Martin,  was  a native  of  Georgia,  born  June 
II,  1 819,  and  was  one  of  the  emigrants  to  the  Indian 
country  of  1829.  Both  he  and  his  wife  were  Indians 
to  about  a sixteenth  degree.  As  a citizen  of  the 
Cherokee  Nation  he  became  one  of  its  prominent  men. 
John  Martin’s  father,  Jack  Martin,  served  as  first 
supreme  judge  of  the  nation.  John  Martin  was  a slave 
owner  before  the  Civil  war  and  served  faithfully  and 
bravely  as  a Confederate  soldier.  He  died  November 
20,  1871.  The  mother  of  Mrs.  Nancy  Rogers  was  born 
in  Georgia,  a member  of  the  Cherokee  Nation.  Her 
father,  Jack  Chambers,  was  of  Irish  and  Cherokee  stock, 
the  father  being  an  Irishman  and  the  mother  a full- 
blood  Cherokee.  The  girlhood  of  Mrs.  Rogers  was  spent 
in  the  Cherokee  Nation  as  a daughter  of  one  of  its  lead- 
ing and  prosperous  citizens.  After  attaining  a thorough 
education  in  its  public  schools  she  completed  her  school- 
ing at  Neosho  Academy  in  Missouri,  and  was  married 
t,6  Judge  Rogers,  February  26,  1869. 

The  four  children  born  to  Judge  and  Mrs.  Rogers 
were:  Elnora,  who  died  at  the  age  of  four  years;  Mrs. 
Bertha  Leahy,  wife  of  T.  J.  Leahy;  Mrs.  Martha  Leahy, 
wife  of  William  T.  Leahy;  and  Thomas  L.  Rogers,  Jr. 
Judge  Rogers  had  been  married  previously  in  1862  to 
Ellen  Coody,  and  the  only  child  of  that  marriage,  Arthur 
Rogers,  died  about  four  years  ago  in  Oklahoma.  Mrs. 
Judge  Rogers  was  married  September  18,  1915,  to  D. 
A.  Ware.  Mr.  Ware  is  one  of  the  old  settlers  in  this 


1948 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


section  of  Oklahoma  and  has  been  a resident  of  the  state 
for  a quarter  of  a century. 

George  E.  Tinker.  To  the  white  citizens  who  have 
spent  practically  all  their  lives  among  the  Indian  tribes 
of  Oklahoma,  George  E.  Tinker,  a mixed  blood  Osage 
Indian,  is  a man  of  particular  interest.  He  has  lived 
among  the  Osages  since  his  birth  and  has  sustained 
some  valuable  relations  to  the  city  and  country  around 
Pawhuska.  Even  before  he  gained  his  majority  he  was 
active  in  politics,  and  lias  been  one  of  the  public  spirited 
leaders  of  his  people,  and  has  also  contributed  a service 
as  a newspaper  man,  is  interested  in  local  history  in  this 
part  of  the  state,  and  it  is  doubtful  if  any  citizen  of 
Osage  County  is  better  known  and  more  highly  esteemed. 

His  birth  occurred  at  the  old  Osage  Mission  in  Kan- 
sas, September  24,  1868.  His  parents  were  George  and 
Genevieve  (Eevard)  Tinker.  His  father  was  a native 
of  New  England,  but  was  reared  in  Humboldt,  Ohio,  and 
in  the  very  early  days  made  the  trip  across  Kansas  and 
on  to  California  as.  a blacksmith  with  a large  party  who 
were  journeying  to  the  western  gold  fields  with  wagons 
and  ox  teams.  Subsequently  he  returned  to  Kansas  and 
located  as  a blacksmith  among  the  Osage  tribe  in  Neosho 
County.  Mr.  Tinker’s  mother  also  went  out  to  Cali- 
fornia in  1850  and  lost  her  first  husband  there,  William 
Champlain.  She  had  two  children  by  that  husband.  In 
1856  she  returned  to  the  states  by  way  of  the  Isthmus 
of  Panama  and  New  York,  and  was  married  to  Mr. 
Tinker  at  the  Osage  Mission  in  1866.  In  1870  they 
accompanied  the  tribe  to  the  Osage  country  of  Indian 
Territory,  and  spent  the  rest  of  their  days  in  what  is  now 
Osage  County.  The  father  was  for  many  years  a Govern- 
ment blacksmith  among  the  Indians  and  followed  his 
trade  all  his  active  life.  He  died  in  June,  1880,  at  the 
age  of  sixty-seven,  and  his  widow  passed  away  in  May, 
1912,  at  the  age  of  eighty-eight.  George  E.  Tinker 
is  the  only  child  of  his  father  and  mother,  but  has  three 
half-sisters  living:  Emeline,  widow  of  Edward  Eevard 

of  Pawhuska ; Eliza  A.,  widow  of  Julian  Trumbley  of 
Pawhuska;  and  Mary,  widow  of  Thomas  Leahy  of  Los 
Angeles,  California. 

Since  he  was  two  years  of  age  George  E.  Tinker  has 
always  lived  on  the  Osage  Eeservation  or  in  what  is  now 
Osage  County  of  Oklahoma.  Through  the  first  two 
grades  he  attended  the  Government  Indian  School  main- 
tained at  Pawhuska  and  spent  eight  months  during  the 
winter  of  1883-84  in  the  Osage  Mission.  Since  reaching 
manhood  he  has  been  more  or  less  actively  interested  in 
farming,  and  has  a considerable  property  in  and  around 
Pawhuska. 

The  first  weekly  paper  published  in  Pawhuska  was  the 
Wah-Shah-She  News,  which  was  founded  and  conducted 
by  Mr.  Tinker  for  two  years.  He  also  published  the 
Osage  Magazine.  His  interest  in  local  history  has  led 
him  to  make  researches  and  preserve  a great  many  facts 
and  data  concerning  the  Osage  people. 

All  his  life  he  has  been  affiliated  with  the  democratic 
party,  and  in  the  early  days  was  keenly  interested  in 
Osage  politics.  He  was  the  first  chairman  of  the  first 
democratic  organization  in  Osage  Eeservation,  and  was  a 
delegate  to  every  territorial  and  state  convention  since 
the  opening  of  the  old  Cherokee  Strip  in  1893.  His  first 
important  distinction  came  to  him  when  he  was  only 
nineteen  years  of  age,  in  his  election  as  prosecuting 
attorney  for  the  Osage  Nation,  an  office  which  . he 
capably  filled  for  two  years.  He  was  also  for  six  years 
a member  of  the  Osage  Council. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Tinker  is  a member  of  the  Knights 
of  Pythias  in  all  its  .branches ; is  a charter  member  of 
Wah-Shah-She  Lodge  No.  110,  Ancient,  Free  and  Ac- 
cepted Masons,  at  Pawhuska;  has  taken  thirty-two  de- 


grees in  the  Scottish  Eite,  being  a member  of  the 
consistory  at  Guthrie;  is  affiliated  with  the  Temple  of 
the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Oklahoma  City,  and  is  a member 
of  both  the  Eoyal  Arch  Chapter  and  the  Knights  Templar 
Commandery  at  Pawhuska. 

On  January  1,  1886,  Mr.  Tinker  married  Sarah  Ann 
Swigerty,  who  was  born  in  Northeastern  Kansas  in  1867. 
They  are  the  parents  of  a fine  family  of  six  children: 
Clarence  L.,  who  is  now  a lieutenant  in  the  regular  army 
of  the  United  States  and  at  present  stationed  at  Hono- 
' lulu ; Genevieve,  who  is  now  Mrs.  Leonard  Dyer,  married 
March  8,  1916 ; Anna,  wife  of  Myer  F.  Euffner  of  Osage 
County,  and  their  two  children  are  named  Victoria  and 
Leona ; Nicholas  A.,  who  lives  in  Montana ; George  E , 
Jr.,  who  attends  college  in  Denver,  Colorado,  but  is  now 
at  home;  and  Villa,  at  home  and  attending  school. 

G.  E.  Griggs,  M.  D.  Sueeessrul  ana  progressive  small 
town  and  country  doctors  in  Oklahoma  are  numerous. 
Some  of  them  have  taken  post-graduate  degrees,  while 
the  others  keep  abreast  of  modern  things  in  the  profes- 
sion through  reading,  close  observation  and  association 
with  medical  societies  and  other  sources  of  learning. 
Typical  of  this  class  of  doctors  is  Doctor  Griggs,  who 
grew  up  principally  on  a ranch  in  Texas,  but  whose 
ambition  to  take  up  and  successfully  follow  a profession 
never  abated.  For  eight  years  he  has  been  engaged  in 
practice  as  a physician  and  surgeon  at  Harrah,  and 
these  have  been  growing,  prosperous  years,  and  he  enjoys 
a fine  practice. 

A Texan  by  birth,  Doctor  Griggs  was  born  in  Panola 
County,  April  25,  1877,  a son  of  William  B.  and  Carrie 
(Eoquemore)  Griggs.  His  father,  who  now  lives  in 
Callahan  County,  Texas,  is  a native  of  Georgia,  but  has 
lived  in  Texas  since  the  close  of  the  Civil  war.  The 
mother,  who  was  born  and  reared  in  Texas  and  is  still 
living,  is  the  daughter  of  Georgia  parents  who  came  to 
Texas  prior  to  the  Civil  war. 

As  a boy  Doctor  Griggs  attended  the  public  school  at 
May,  Texas,  for  a few  years,  and  then  spent  ten  years 
of  employment  on  farms  and  ranches.  In  1903,  largely 
with  such  means  as  he  had  himself  supplied,  he  entered 
the  Dallas  Medical  College  at  Dallas,  and  in  1907  gradu- 
ated M.  D.  from  the  Southwestern  Medical  College  of 
that  city.  He  at  once  removed  to  Oklahoma  and  has 
since  been  established  at  Harrah. 

In  1909,  at  Harrah,  Doctor  Griggs  married  Miss 
Minnie  Martin,  whose  father  was  one  of  the  pioneer 
farmers  in  that  community.  Their  one  daughter,  Eobbie 
Lee,  is  now  three  years  of  age.  The  brothers  and  sisters 
of  Doctor  Griggs  are:  Dr.  E.  L.  Griggs,  a successful 

physician  and  surgeon,  specializing  in  surgery,  at  Baird, 
Texas;  W.  W.  Griggs,  who  is  fourteen  years  of  age  and 
lives  with  his  father  in  Callahan  County,  Texas;  Mrs. 
Odran  Green,  wife  of  a farmer  near  Baird,  Texas;  and 
Mrs.  Lyns  Bamsey,  whose  husband  is  a dentist  at  Cross 
Plains,  Texas. 

Doctor  Griggs  is  a member  of  the  Canadian  Valley 
Medical  Association,  and  fraternally  is  affiliated  with 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America,  and  is  medical  examiner  for  the 
camp  of  the  latter  at  Harrah.  He  is  also  a member  of 
the  town  board  of  trustees,  and  was  an  active  and  influ- 
ential member  of  the  Harrah  Commercial  Club  before 
that  organization  ceased  its  activities.  His  progressive 
citizenship  shows  its  many  points,  and  he  has  worked 
untiringly  and  unselfishly  to  advance  movements  relating 
to  the  public  schools,  good  roads  and  other  needed 
facilities. 

James  Monroe  Addle.  The  average  Oklahoman  has 
had  a greater  range  of  experience  and  more  opportunities 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1949 


I of  adventure  than  the  citizen  of  the  older  states.  One 

I expects  something  unusual  and  exceptional  in  the  career 

(I  of  nearly  everyone  who  claims  this  state  as  his  home. 

| But  even  among  Oklahomans  James  M.  Addle,  who  is 

1 well  established  as  a lawyer  at  Bristow  in  Creek  County, 

I stands  above  the  ordinary  line  of  achievement  and  ex- 

I perience.  Mr.  Addle  during  the  past  forty  years  has 

I been  identified  with  almost  every  important  section  of 

I the  great  developing  work.  He  has  been  a miner,  a 

I pioneer  in  new  countries,  a soldier,  and  perhaps  in  Okla- 

I homa  where  he  has  had  his  home  for  the  last  twelve  years, 

I he  has  enjoyed  a quieter  routine  than  befell  his  lot 

I after  he  left  his  eastern  home  when  a young  man. 

He  was  born  at  Meadville,  Crawford  County,  Penn- 
I sylvania,  October  8,  1851,  a son  of  A.  M.  and  Margaret 

I (Shartle)  Addle.  His  parents  were  of  Dutch  stock  and 

I both  natives  of  Pennsylvania,  where  they  spent  all  their 

I lives.  His  father  was  a stone  mason  and  brick  layer  by 

I trade,  and  from  his  trade  he  developed  a business  as  a 

I contractor.  There  were  two  sons,  William  Henry  and 

| James  M.,  and  the  former,  now  deceased,  was  also  an 

attorney.  James  Monroe  Addle  spent  the  first  twenty- 
one  years  of  his  life  in  his  native  City  of  Meadville. 
He  acquired  his  education  in  the  local  schools  and  spent 
two  years  in  that  fine  old  institution  of  Meadville,  Alle- 
gheny College.  He  took  up  the  study  of  law  with  the 
firm  of  Parley  & Hotchkiss  at  Meadville,  and  was  ad- 
mitted to  the  bar  there  April  10,  1872. 

He  soon  afterwards  started  out  on  his  life  of  adven- 
ture and  wander.  His  first  destination  was  San  Antonio, 
Texas,  from  there  he  went  to  Wichita,  Kansas,  and  it 
would  be  difficult  to  enumerate  all  the  scenes  and  places 
of  his  activities  and  experience  since  then.  He  visited 
the  states  of  California,  Wyoming,  Idaho  and  Mon- 
tana, and  from  Shoshone  County,  Idaho,  he  came  to 
Oklahoma  in  1904.  He  was  a prospector  and  miner  in 
Idaho,  California,  Montana  and  New  Mexico,  also  prac- 
ticed law  and  has  fared  among  many  different  peoples 
and  in  many  out  of  the  way  places.  Mr.  Addle  was  a 
member  of  the  rough  rider  regiment  during  the  Spanish- 
t American  war. 

In  politics  he  is  a democrat.  On  May  5,  1873,  he 
married  Clara  O ’Brien,  who  was  born  in  Armstrong 
County,  Pennsylvania.  There  were  two  children  of  the 
marriage,  Maude,  now  lives  at  Meadville,  Pennsylvania, 
and  Kitty  died  in  1875. 

Jacob  Simpson  Bearden.  In  many  ways  the  agricul- 
tural, business  and  financial  interests  of  Okfuskee  County 
reflect  the  ability  and  enterprise  of  Jacob  S.  Bearden, 
who  is  one  of  the  pioneers  of  this  section  of  the  state 
and  was  one  of  the  first  to  take  an  interest  in  and  supply 
capital  and  other  resources  to  the  starting  of  the  new 
Town  of  Okemah.  When  he  located  in  Okfuskee  County 
about  twenty  years  ago  he  engaged  in  merchandising, 
and  around  his  store  grew  up  a little  village,  which  in 
his  honor  was  named  Bearden,  and  he  has  always  been 
greatly  concerned  with  the  growth  and  improvement  of 
this  village.  The  town  takes  much  pride  in  its  fine  school 
buildings,  and  is  one  of  the  flourishing  smaller  com- 
munities. 

For  a number  of  years  Mr.  Bearden  has  been  best 
known  as  a banker,  and  for  the  past  three  years  has  been 
president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Okemah.  This 
bank  has  a capital  of  $25,000  and  surplus  of  $5,000,  and 
is  one  of  the  United  States  denositories  in  Oklahoma.  By 
a statement  issued  in  the  closing  months  of  1915,  the 
aggregate  resources  of  this  bank  are  shown  to  be  upwards 
of  $175,000,  and  deposits  of  over  $100,000  reflect  not  only 
the  integrity  of  the  bank  but  also  the  prosperity  of  the 
surrounding  community.  The  principal  officers  of  the 
bank  are:  .7.  S.  Bearden,  president;  E.  R.  Strain,  vice 


president;  O.  P.  Bearden,  cashier;  and  G.  E.  Clowers, 
assistant  cashier. 

In  many  ways  Jacob  S.  Bearden  has  had  a remarkable 
career.  He  had  few  of  the  opportunities  for  culture 
which  are  usually  given  to  modern  boys,  and  he  never 
mastered  the  rudimentary  elements  of  learning,  although 
he  has  apparently  suffered  no  special  handicap  as  a 
keen  and  vigorous  business  man.  His  success  could  be 
traced  chiefly  to  hard  work,  the  overcoming  of  difficulties 
and  a steadfast  honor  and  integrity  in  all  of  life’s  rela- 
tions. 

He  was  born  in  Marshall  County,  Alabama,  May  5, 
1858,  a son  of  Jacob  and  Caroline  (Hess)  Bearden.  His 
parents  were  born  and  were  married  in  Georgia,  and 
afterwards  moved  to  Alabama  where  the  father  died 
when  Jacob  S.  Bearden  was  four  years  of  age.  The 
mother  spent  her  last  days  with  her  son  Jacob  S.  in 
Tecumseh,  Oklahoma,  and  died  there  in  1892  at  the  age 
of  fifty-eight.  In  the  family  were  three  sons  and  three 
daughters. 

Jacob  S.  Bearden  grew  up  in  Alabama,  and  at  the 
age  of  twenty-two  was  married  there  in  1880  to  Miss 
Norcenia  King.  Immediately  after  their  marriage  they 
moved  to  Pope  County,  Arkansas,  where  Mrs.  Bearden 
died  in  the  spring  of  1882,  without  children.  For  his 
second  wife  Mr.  Bearden  married  Mrs.  Jodie  (King) 
Bearden,  a sister  of  his  first  wife  and  widow  of  his 
brother  Richard. 

Mr.  Bearden  came  into  Oklahoma  and  located  at  Tecum- 
seh in  1890.,  and  secured  a claim  at  the  opening  of  the 
Kickapoo  Indian  Reservation,  but  later  sold  out.  His 
claim  was  2%  miles  from  Shawnee.  In  1893  he  made 
the  run  to  Perry  at  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip. 
His  second  wife  died  at  Tecumseh  in  1893.  Many  years 
ago  Mr.  Bearden  moved  to  Okfuskee  County  and  estab- 
lished his  store  at  Bearden.  Up  to  that  time  he  had 
followed  farming,  but  soon  proved  a success  as  a mer- 
chant. In  1902  he  located  at  Okemah  at  the  beginning 
of  that  town  and  established  a branch  store  there,  but 
after  a few  years  sold  a two-third  interest  of  the  busi- 
ness at  Bearden  to  the  firm  of  Strain  & Cowgill,  which 
still  continues  the  business  there. 

A number  of  years  ago  Mr.  Bearden  took  stock  in  the 
Wewoka  First  Natiorial  Bank,  which  was  the  first  bank 
established  there,  and  later  opened  the  State  Bank  at 
Bearden,  in  which  he  owned  most  of  the  stock.  At 
Okemah  he  acquired  an  interest  in  the  Farmers  & Mer- 
chants State  Bank  arid  after  considerable  negotiations, 
buying  and  selling,  he  consolidated  that  bank  with  the 
Citizens  State  Bank,  and  was  its  active  manager  until 
1912,  when  he  sold  and  bought  the  First  National  Bank, 
and  for  the  past  three  years  has  been  its  president.  In 
many  ways  Mr.  Bearden  has  worked  effectively  to  build 
up  his  little  home  City  of  Okemah.  He  is  the  owner  of 
the  Broadway  Hotel  there,  a modern  fifty-room  hostelry 
which  supplies  adequate  comforts  to  the  traveling  public. 
He  is  also  owner  of  a cotton  gin  at  Morris,  and  has 
approximately  500  acres  of  farming  land  in  Okfuskee 
County.  Mr.  Bearden  has  been  a lifelong  democrat, 
though  his  interest  in  politics  has  usually  extended  only 
to  local  affairs.  He  is  a Knight  Templar  Mason,  is 
affiliated  with  the  Woodmen  of  the  World,  and  is  a mem- 
ber of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  South. 

At  Wewoka  on  March  2,  1895,  Mr.  Bearden  married  for 
his  present  wife  Mrs.  Rose  Langford  Dunn.  She  wras 
born  in  Parke  County,  Indiana,  April  18,  1858,  and  when 
about  seven  years  of  age  her  parents  removed  to  Moultrie 
County,  Illinois,  where  she  lived  until  her  marriage  to 
James  K.  Polk  Taylor.  He  died  seven  years  later,  leav- 
ing one  child,  Quincy  Taylor,  who  is  now  a resident  of 
Bearden,  Oklahoma.  Mrs.  Bearden  married  for  her  sec- 
ond husband  Nathaniel  Dunn  at  Sullivan,  Illinois.  They 


1950 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


removed  to  Caney,  Kansas,  and  from  there  into  the  Choc- 
taw Nation  of  Indian  Territory  about  1910  where  Mr. 
Dunn  died.  There  were  two  children  of  that  union : Roy 
Dunn  of  Bearden,  and  Opie,  who  has  taken  his  step- 
father ’s  name  and  is  known  as  O.  P.  Bearden,  being 
cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Okemah.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Bearden  are  the  parents  of  one  daughter,  Yelva, 
and  there  was  also  a twin  sister  of  Yelva,  Vera,  who 
lived  only  three  months.  Mr.  Bearden  also  has  one 
daughter  by  his  second  marriage,  Emeline,  wife  of  H.  L. 
Strain,  of  Bearden. 

Hon.  Alpheus  Henry  Brown.  Few  men  have  been 
longer  and  more  actively  identified  with  the  Osage  country 
than  Alpheus  Henry  Brown,  with  whose  name  is  asso- 
ciated the  distinction  of  having  served  as  one  of  the 
principal  chiefs  or  governor  of  the  Osage  Nation. 
Governor  Brown  knows  Kansas,  Oklahoma  and  Texas 
like  an  open  book,  having  followed  cattle  herds  all  over 
this  country  in  the  early  days,  and  is  considered  a walk- 
ing encyclopedia  of  information  concerning  his  own 
country  and  its  people. 

By  the  accident  of  birth  Alpheus  Henry  Brown  was 
born  in  the  State  of  California  December  11,  1859,  but 
has  spent  the  greater  part  of  his  life  in  old  Indian 
Territory  and  Oklahoma.  His  parents  were  William 
Scipio  and  Mary  Jane  (Stratton)  Brown.  His  mother 
was  a one-eighth  Osage  Indian  and  also  partly  of  French 
descent,  and  it  was  through  her  that  the  Brown  family 
established  their  Osage  citizenship. 

His  father  was  one  of  the  conspicuous  western  fron- 
tiersmen, and  at  thei  time  of  his  death  at  his  home  in 
Caney,  Kansas,  in  June,  1905,  it  was  said  there  was 
probably  not  another  man  in  the  State  of  Kansas  who 
had  had  as  varied  a career  as  miner,  merchant,  stock 
grower  and  farmer  or  had  seen  more  of  the  world  than 
W.  S.  Brown,  who  was  best  known  over  this  southwestern 
country  as  ‘ ‘ Osage  Brown.  ’ ’ On  account  of  his  many 
prominent  associations  with  the  Osage  country,  it  is 
appropriate  that  his  life  should  be  told  somewhat  in 
detail. 

Born  in  Wyandotte  County,  Ohio,  May  11,  1831,  he 
was  the  son  of  Judge  Henry  Brown,  a prominent  citizen 
of  Ohio.  Against  the  wishes  of  his  father  and  mother, 
at  the  age  of  seventeen  he  started  West  and  began  his 
career  of  adventure.  He  worked  on  a farm  in  Iowa  two 
years,  then  bought  some  oxen  and  took  a contract  to 
break  prairie  on  the  reservations  of  the  Crow  Indians 
in  Minnesota.  After  three  seasons  returning  to  his  old 
home  in  Ohio,  he  was  soon  started  again  toward  the 
West,  this  time  for  the  California  gold  fields.  He  went 
around  by  the  Isthmus  route,  and  arriving  on  the  Pacific 
side  almost  without  money  had  to  get  on  board  a vessel 
going  to  San  Francisco  as  a stowaway,  and  being  dis- 
covered was  compelled  to  work  his  passage  by  shoveling 
coal.  Not  long  after  he  reached  Sacramento,  worked 
as  a driver  for  a time,  and  then  with  a party  engaged  in 
mining  on  the  Yuba  Biver.  This  enterprise  was  cut 
short  by  a flood,  but  he  had  received  as  his  share  of  the 
proceeds  gold  to  the  value  of  $4,000,  which  he  deposited 
in  a Sacramento  Bank,  which  soon  afterwards  failed. 
Thereafter  he  had  varied  experience,  making  money  in 
mining,  buying  cattle  and  horses  in  lower  California  and 
driving  them  to  the  mines,  losing  his  property  by  the 
treachery  of  Indians  and  white  people  and  other  accidents 
and  circumstances,  and  was  again  and  again  reduced  to 
poverty  and  started  out  with  renewed  determination  to 
build  up.  He  also  went  with  a party  on  a prospecting 
tour  to  Australia,  and  returning  had  various  adventures 
in  South  America,  crossing  the  Andes  and  descending 
the  Amazon  River,  and  returning  to  the  Western  Coast, 
and  was  finally  back  in  California.  In  1856  he  bought 


an  improved  farm  in  Napa  County,  and  the  following 
year  married  Miss  Mary  J.  Stratton.  A few  years  later 
. he  opened  a new  ranch  on  Eel  River,  but  the  following 
winter  his  land  was  ruined  by  landslides  and  his  cattle 
and  horses  driven  off  by  Indians  or  starved  by  bad 
weather.  His  varied  adventures  and  experiences  in  Cal- 
ifornia would  require  too  much  space  for  detailed  telling, 
and  it  will  be  necessary  to  pass  over  several  years  to 
1864,  when  he  sent  his  family  back  to  Ohio  with  his 
sister  and  her  husband.  He  remained  behind  to  dispose 
of  his  property,  and  then  started  across  the  mountains 
on  snow  shoes,  and  arrived  in  Ohio  just  in  time  to  be 
drafted  for  service  in  the  Union  Army.  He  hired  a 
substitute,  and  was  soon  substantially  settled  as  an  Ohio 
farmer.  At  the  end  of  three  years  he  sold  out,  moved 
to  Iowa,  engaged  in  woolen  manufacturing  until  a declin- 
ing market  set  him  back  again,  but  having  made  con- 
siderable money  in  land  speculation  in  1869  he  removed 
to  Missouri  and  bought  two  farms  in  Bates  County.  He 
then  removed  to  Baxter  Springs  in  Kansas,  and  acquired 
a large  herd  of  cattle  in  Texas.  Unable  to  find  a range 
for  his  stock,  his  wife  then  suggested  a way  out  of  the 
difficulty.  She  had  been  born  on  the  Osage  Indian  Re- 
serve, had  attended  the  old  school  at  Osage  Mission,  and 
these  facts  coupled  with  her  small  inheritance  of  Osage 
blood  enabled  her  to  secure  a headright  in  the  Osage  lands. 
Mr.  Brown  then  removed  his  family  to  the  Osage 
Agency,  and  they  were  soon  enrolled  as  members  of  the 
tribe.  The  Clierokees  were  at  that  time  leaving  the 
Osage  lands,  and  Mr.  Brown  bought  one  of  their  claims, 
and  thus  having  ample  grazing  lands  he  was  soon  pros- 
pering in  the  cattle  business.  About  a year  later  he 
took  his  family  out  to  California,  where  he  bought  a 
ranch,  and  was  planning  to  make  his  permanent  home 
there,  when  his  wife  was  taken  ill  and  died.  This  be- 
reavement caused  him  to  change  his  plans,  and  he  took 
his  children  back  to  Ohio  and  left  them  with  a deceased 
brother ’s  widow,  whom  he  subsequently  married.  In 
1875  he  moved  to  Texas,  lived  in  that  state  four  years, 
and  then  returned  to  Kansas  and  located  a ranch  on  the 
Big  Caney  River  in  the  Osage  country.  There  he  had. 
a farm  of  450  acres  of  improved  land  besides  30,000 
acres  of  fenced  pasture,  and  at  times  his  cattle  num- 
bered as  high  as  5,000  head.  For  a time  he  had  his  home 
in  Independence,  Kansas,  but  finally  removed  to  Caney, 
from  which  point  he  superintended  his  ranches  in  the 
Osage  country,  twelve  miles  southwest  of  that  city. 
Thereafter  he  lived  at  Caney,  being  identified  for  many 
years  with  the  cattle  business,  until  the  close  of  his 
career  at  the  age  of  seventy-four.  Concerning  his  char- 
acter one  of  the  papers  at  Caney  said:  “W.  S.  Brown 
was  an  excellent  man.  He  possessed  a big  heart  and  a 
man  in  need  found  in  him  a true  friend,  so  long  as 
he  did  right.  He  was  a member  of  the  Presbyterian 
church,  ’ ’ and  surrounded  by  his  family  he  passed  away 
in  communion  with  his  Maker.  His  children,  all  by  his 
first  marriage,  were : Alpheus  H.,  Charles  W.,  Edward  S., 
Rosa,  wife  of  John  Cunningham,  and  Ernest  E. 

Of  these  children  all  now  reside  at  Caney,  Kansas, 
except  Governor  Brown.  Some  of  the  moves  and  ex- 
periences of  his  early  boyhood  have-  already  been  sug- 
gested in  the  sketch  of  his  father.  He  completed  his 
public  school  education  at  the  age  of  fifteen,  and  after- 
wards spent  two  years  in  school  at  Lawrence,  Kansas. 
After  leaving  school  he  became  closely  associated  with 
his  father  in  the  cattle  business,  but  in  the  memorable 
hard  winter  of  the  ’80s,  when  the  live  stock  industry  all 
over  the  country  was  practically  paralyzed,  he  and  his 
brothers  were  compelled  to  shift  for  themselves.  After 
that  he  spent  about  fifteen  years  of  venturesome  life  in 
the  Rocky  Mountains,  much  of  the  time  engaged  in  min- 
ing. He  has  thus  evidently  inherited  many  of  the  pioneer 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1951 


qualities  of  his  father,  and  has  always  lived  as  close 
to  the  frontier  as  the  rapid  development  of  modern  times 
would  permit.  He  has  twice  made  the  trip  from  the 
Middle  West  to  the  Pacific  Coast  by  wagon,  and  endured 
many  hardships  in  the  West.  At  one  time  he  was  out  of 
provisions  for  four  days.  He  has  been  more  or  less 
closely  identified  with  the  Osage  country  for  forty  years, 
and  after  his  marriage  settled  down  permanently  in  what 
is  now  Osage  County.  Governor  Brown  has  about  700 
acres  in  fine  farming  land,  the  old  homestead  being  about 
twenty  miles  southeast  of  Hominy,  in  which  town  his 
family  reside. 

A democrat  in  politics,  Governor  Brown  was  elected 
the  first  county  • commissioner  after  statehood.  For 
about  two  years  he  was  chief  or  governor  of  the  Osage 
Nation,  and  held  that  office  until  he  and  the  other  mem- 
bers of  the  Osage  Council  were  removed  by  the  secre- 
tary of  interior  for  refusing  to  sign  the  oil  leases.  The 
courageous  stand  taken  by  Governor  Brown  at  that  time 
reflected  highly  on  his  integrity  and  his  sense  and  fair- 
ness and  justice  to  the  Indian  people,  and  subsequent 
developments  have  proved  the  correctness  of  his  course. 
Fraternally  he  is  affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows. 

On  August  12,  1901,  Mr.  Brown  married  Miss  Belle 
Cowen,  who  was  born  in  Eeno,  Kansas,  July  2,  1879, 
but  was  living  in  Arkansas  at  the  time  of  her  marriage. 
Her  parents  are  John  and  Sarah  (Ebright)  Cowen,  both 
natives  of  Pennsylvania.  Her  father  came  to  Kansas  in 
1875,  and  was  married  in  that  state  in  1877.  He  died 
at  the  home  of  Governor  and  Mrs.  Brown  October  8, 
1914,  at  the  age  of  seventy-six,  while  his  widow  is  still 
living  in  the  Brown  home  at  Hominy.  Mrs.  Brown’s 
father  homesteaded  a claim  in  Kansas  in  the  early  days, 
and  for  many  years  was  engaged  in  the  cattle  business. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brown  have  two  children:  William  Scipio 
and  Frank  Bichard. 

George  E.  McKinnis.  Since  the  Pottawatomie  Beser- 
vation  was  opened  for  settlement  twenty-five  years  ago, 
one  of  its  most  active  and  energetic  citizens  has  been 
George  E.  McKinnis.  In  various  directions  Mr.  MeKin- 
nis  has  been  the  real  leader  of  progress  in  his  home  City 
of  Shawnee,  and  if  one  went  over  the  history  of  develop- 
ment in  that  section  of  the  state  very  closely,  he  would 
find  a great  many  things  to  credit  to  the  public  spirit 
and  disinterested  service  of  this  genial  business  man. 

So  far  as  the  future  is  concerned  of  Shawnee  as  an 
educational  center,  Mr.  McKinnis  was  more  than  anyone 
else  responsible  for  securing  the  location  of  the  Oklahoma 
State  Baptist  University  at  Shawnee.  Oftentimes  alone 
in  his  fight  he  managed  the  campaign  which  brought  that 
institution  to  the  city  in  1910,  and  he  is  now  treasurer  of 
the  university.  He  is  one  of  the  charter  members  of 
this  institution,  its  first  secretary  and  treasurer,  and  has 
been  a director  of  the  board  of  trustees  ever  since  the 
school  was  established. 

In  business  circles  Mr.  McKinnis  is  known  both  as  a 
banker  and  real  estate  operator.  He  was  born  in  Wayne 
County,  Missouri,  November  23,  1869.  His  ancestors  on 
the  paternal  side  came  originally  from  Scotland  to  North 
Carolina  during  colonial  times.  His  great-grandfather, 
Alex  McKinnnis,  was  one  of  the  early  settlers,  going  to 
North  Carolina  in  1770,  and  he  served  with  distinction 
and  honor  in  the  Bevolutionary  war  and  the  War  of  1812. 
His  father,  .1.  A.  McKinnis,  a farmer  and  country 
preacher,  was  born  in  Tennessee,  May  27,  1832,  and  had 
a long  and  active  career.  He  died  December  28,  1915, 
at  Alvin,  Texas.  J.  A.  McKinnis  was  married  in  Macon 
County,  Tennessee,  to  Miss  Drucilla  Donoho,  who  was 
born  in  Tennessee  in  1838  and  died  in  Major  County, 
Oklahoma,  in  1897.  In  1859  the  family  removed  to 

Vol.  V— 13 


Wayne  County,  Missouri,  but  in  1872  went  back  to 
Macon  County,  Tennessee,  and  in  1884  J.  A.  McKinnis 
established  his  home  among  the  early  settlers  of  King- 
man  County,  Kansas.  In  1893  he  again  moved  with  the 
advancing  tide  of  civilization  into  Western  Oklahoma 
and  established  a home  in  Major  County,  then  Woods 
County.  By  profession  he  was  a minister  of  the  Baptist 
faith  and  preached  the  gospel  and  helped  to  establish 
churches  in  many  isolated  communities  during  his  active 
.career.  He  took  a homestead  in  Major  County,  Okla- 
homa, where  he  lived  for  about  eleven  years  and  employed 
himself  mainly  as  a farmer.  For  the  benefit  of  the  coast 
climate  he  moved  to  Alvin,  Texas,  in  1908  and  remained 
there  until  his  death,  December  28,  1915.  In  politics 
he  was  a republican.  During  the  war  between  states  he 
served  three  years  in  the  Federal  army.  He  was  wounded 
in  .the  great  battle  of  Shiloh.  In  the  Chickasaw  Bayou, 
one  of  the  important  engagements  in  the  Vicksburg 
campaign,  he  was  captured,  later  was  exchanged  and 
rejoined  his  command  and  continued  to  serve  until  he 
was  mustered  out. 

George  E.  McKinnis,  his  next  to  the  youngest  son, 
when  an  infant,  removed  with  his  parents  to  Macon 
County,  Tennessee.  Here  he  gained  his  first  instruction 
in  the  public  schools  of  that  state  and  continued  his 
education  in  the  public  schools  of  Kingman  County, 
Kansas.  He  took  a literary  and  public-speaking  course 
in  Ball’s  College  at  Harper,  Kansas,  having  been  a 
student  there  in  1889-1890.  Early  in  life  he  gave  some 
promise  as  a public  speaker,  and  when  only  eighteen 
years  old  was  elected  lecturer  of  the  Farmers  Alliance 
in  Kingman  County,  Kansas.  The  early  part  of  his  life 
was  mainly  devoted  to  farming  and  railroad  work,  work- 
ing on  the  farm  during  the  crop  season,  and  on  the 
railroad  the  time  he  could  spare  from  the  farm. 

September  16,  1890,  the  opening  day  for  Pottawatomie 
reserve,  he  went  to  Teeumseh,  in  Pottawatomie  County, 
Oklahoma,  and  soon  afterwards  was  employed  as  manager 
of  the  McKinnis  & Beard  Lumber  Co.  He  served  in  this 
capacity  until  the  company  closed  out  its  business  at 
that  point.  Along  with  his  ability  as  a practical  man 
of  affairs,  Mr.  McKinnis  has  associated  service  and 
qualification  in  various  other  lines.  From  his  first  busi- 
ness at  Teeumseh  he  became  principal  of  the  public 
schools  there,  and  served  until  1895.  He  was  a member 
of  the  first  school  board  in  Pottawatomie  County,  then 
known  as  County  “B.  ” He  removed  to  Shawnee  in  the 
fall  of  1895  and  accepted  prineipalship  of  the  high 
school.  He  served  two  years  as  principal  and  one  year 
as  superintendent  of  the  city  schools.  He  did  much  to 
forward  the  cause  of  public  education  in  the  primitive 
period  of  about  twenty  years  ago. 

From  his  work  as  a schoolman  Mr.  McKinnis  engaged 
in  the  real  estate  and  loan  business,  and  now  for  several 
years  has  conducted  one  of  the  oldest  established  and 
most  reliable  offices  in  that  line  in  Central  Oklahoma. 

He  was  one  of  the  organizers  of.  the  State  National 
Bank  of  Shawnee,  and  has  been  director  and  vice  presi- 
dent ever  since  its  organization  in  1902.  At  various 
times  he  has  been  associated  with  other  banking  interests 
and  is  now  secretary  of  the  Fidelity  Building  and  Loan 
Association,  which  is  one  of  the  best  institutions  of  its 
kind  in  the  Southwest. 

Another  thing  that  should  be  remembered  to  his  credit 
was  his  presidency  of  the  Shawnee  Commercial  Club  at 
the  time  the  Missouri,  Kansas  and  Texas  and  the  Santa 
Fe  railroads  were  brought  into  Shawnee.  He  is  still  an 
active  and  influential  member  of  that  organization  of 
business  men. 

In  the  social  and  civic  life  of  Shawnee,  Mr.  McKinnis 
has  always  taken  an  active  and  prominent  part.  He  has 
donated  liberally  of  his  means  and  time  to  the  move- 


1952 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


ments  that  stand  for  the  elevation  of  his  community.  It 
was  under  his  administration  as  chairman  of  the  Park 
Commission  of  Shawnee  that  the  system  of  street  im- 
provement organizations  were  launched,  which  did  much 
to  make  Shawnee  one  of  the  most  beautiful  cities  in 
Oklahoma.  He  was  president  and  manager  of  the  Chau- 
tauqua Association  of  Shawnee,  1902-1910-1916. 

Politically,  Mr.  McKinnis  is  a republican.  He  has 
always  been  consistent  and  regular,  and  was  elected 
delegate  to  the  national  convention  at  Chicago,  1916. 

He  served  as  postmaster  of  Shawnee  from  1903  to  1907. 
Under  his  administration  and  through  his  efforts  country 
rural  free  delivery  service  was  established  in  Pottawa- 
tomie County.  He  was  secretary  of  the  first  Republican 
Club  in  Pottawatomie  County  in  1891. 

He  was  reared  in  the  Baptist  Church,  of  which  his 
father  was  a devoted  minister.  He  has  several  times 
been  honored  by  the  Baptist  state  conventions ; he  was 
elected  and  served  three  years  as  its  auditor.  As  a 
Sunday-school  worker  Mr.  McKinnis’  ability  is  familiarly 
recognized.  He  has  filled  every  important  office  of  the 
interstate  denominational  work  except  that  of  secretary. 
He  was  its  president  in  1907-1908. 

In  1897  Mr.  McKinnis  was  married,  at  Shawnee,  to 
Miss  Mamie  Dixon  of  Paris,  Texas.  Mrs.  McKinnis  is 
known  throughout  the  state  as  one  of  Oklahoma’s  promi- 
nent club  workers.  She  is  now  president  of  the  Fifth 
District.  They  are  the  parents  of  one  son,  George  E., 
Jr.,  born  July  23,  1901,  who  is  now  attending  the  local 
high  school. 

Thomas  H.  Flesher,  M.  D.  Many  of  the  men  in  the 
medical  profession  today  are  devoting  themselves  in  a 
large  measure  to  the  prevention  of  disease  as  well  as  its 
cure.  In  this  way  their  efficiency  as  benefactors  has 
extended  much  beyond  the  scope  of  the  old-fashioned 
practice  when  the  doctor  was  related  to  his  patients 
only  as  an  individual  and  in  times  of  sickness.  One  of 
the  prominent  young  physicians  and  suigeons  of  Okla- 
homa, Dr.  Thomas  H.  Flesher  has  been  largely  dis- 
tinguished for  his  work  .as  a sanitarian  at  Edmond. 

It  is  undeniable  that  without  proper  methods  of  sanita- 
tion and  the  conservation  of  health  through  proper 
safeguards  and  under  the  supervision  of  a scientific 
director,  Edmond  could  not  have  gained  the  popularity 
it  possesses  as  a college  town.  During  the  best  period 
of  its  development,  and  when  as  many  as  1,800  young 
men  and  women  are  spending  their  summers  there  in 
the  Central  State  Normal  School,  Doctor  Flesher  has 
been  city  superintendent  of  health,  and  his  recommenda- 
tions to  the  city  officials  and  the  people  forestalled 
disease  to  a wonderful  degree.  Besides  being  a success- 
ful practitioner  and  a town  booster,  this  is  one  of  the 
principal  things  that  mark  him  as  one  of  Edmond ’s 
leading  citizens. 

Dr.  Thomas  H.  Flesher  was  born  in  Reedsville,  Ohio, 
February  10,  1876,  a son  of  Francis  M.  and  Mary  Frances 
(Thorn)  Flesher.  His  father  was  for  thirty  years  a 
steamboat  engineer  on  the  Ohio  River,  and  during  the 
Civil  war  was  in  the  Government  service  in  that  capacity. 
He  removed  to  Iowa  in  1887  and  died  the  following  year. 
The  maternal  grandparents  of  Doctor  Flesher  were  from 
West  Virginia  and  early  settlers  of  Ohio.  Doctor  Flesher 
has  three  brothers  and  three  sisters:  M.  B.  Flesher,  a 

lawyer  at  Okemah,  Oklahoma,  and  a graduate  of  the 
University  of  Michigan;  Dr.  W.  E.  Flesher,  a dentist  at 
Frederick.  Oklahoma,  and  in  1915  president  of  the  Okla- 
homa Dental  Society;  E.  C.  Flesher,  engaged  in  the  mill- 
ing business  at  Edmond;  Mrs.  W.  E.  Edie.  wife  of  a 
Methodist  minister  at  Burr  Oak,  Iowa;  Mrs.  W.  B. 
Bryant,  wife  of  a merchant  at  Edmond;  and  Mrs.  L.  A. 
Bryant,  wife  of  a farmer  at  Frederick,  Oklahoma. 


Left  fatherless  at  the  age  of  twelve  years,  Doctor 
Flesher  was  hampered  by  lack  of  funds  in  pursuing  his 
education  and  much  of  his  training  in  public  schools  was 
delayed  by  the  necessity  of  work.  He  persevered  and 
eventually  acquired  not  only  a liberal  literary  education, 
but  a thorough  training  for  his  profession.  In  1896  he 
graduated  with  a teacher’s'  degree  from  the  Central 
Normal  University  at  Humeston,  Iowa,,  and  in  1901 
received  his  degree  Doctor  of  Medicine  from  the  Keokuk, 
Iowa,  Medical  College  and  College  of  Physicians  and 
Surgeons.  Doctor  Flesher  began  his  practice  of  medi- 
cine in  Edmond  in  1901. 

Besides  his  service  as  city  superintendent  of  health, 
he  was  president  of  the  Oklahoma  County  Medical  Society 
in  1913,  and  at  the  present  time  is  vice  president  for 
Oklahoma  of  the  Southwestern  Medical  Association,  an 
organization  covering  five  states.  He  is  a member  of 
the  Oklahoma  State  Medical  Society  and  of  the  American 
Medical  Association,  and  a life  member  of  the  Surgeons  ’ 
Club  of  Rochester,  Minnesota.  Doctor  Flesher  has  done 
post-graduate  work  in  the  Chicago  Polyclinic  and  in  the 
famous  hospital  clinics  at  Rochester,  Minnesota.  He  is 
secretary  of  the  Republican  Club  at  Edmond,  and  a 
member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church.  In  Masonry 
he  is  affiliated  with  Edmond  Lodge  No.  37,  Ancient  Free 
and  Accepted  Masons,  the  Scottish  Rite  Consistory  of 
Guthrie  and  India  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Okla- 
homa City.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America  and  the  Yeomen  at  Edmond. 

Thomas  Lafayette  Mullins.  The  vocation  of 
auctioneering  in  recent  years  has  become  more  of  a 
profession  than  a business,  and  the  individual  who  would 
win  success  in  this  field  must  possess  qualifications  of  a 
peculiar  nature.  He  must  in  the  first  place  be  a good 
judge  of  values,  and  must  be  able  to  give  an  elaborate 
and  intelligent  description  of  the  articles  placed  in  his 
care.  There  are  no  references  upon  which  he  may  rely, 
for  every  thought  must  be  extemporaneous,  and  he  must 
guide  himself  accordingly,  and  it  is  essential  that 
he  be  able  to  intermingle  comedy  if  the  occasion  de- 
mands. Among  the  men  in  Oklahoma  who  have  made 
a success  of  this  vocation  because  of  the  possession  of 
the  qualifications  noted,  is  Thomas  Lafayette  Mullins,  of 
Walters,  ex-sheriff  of  Cotton  County,  who,  before  enter- 
ing his  present  line  of  endeavor,  had  gained  excellent 
results  from  his  labors  in  the  field  of  agriculture. 

Mr.  Mullins  belongs  to  a family  which  originated  in 
Ireland  and  probably  came  to  America  prior  to  the  War 
of  the  Revolution,  being  pioneer  settlers  of  Kentucky. 
He  was  born  at  Bear  Creek,  Cedar  County,  Missouri, 
April  25,  1872,  and  is  a son  of  William  and  Susan 
(Janes)  Mullins,  the  former  born  in  Kentucky,  in  1831, 
and  the  latter  in  Tennessee,  in  1839.  As  a young  man, 
William  Mullins  removed  from  Kentucky  to  Lawrence 
County,  Missouri,  where  he  took  up  a homestead,  subse- 
quently moved  to  Bear  Creek,  Cedar  County,  and  finally 
to  Dade  County,  in  the-  same  state,  where  he  followed 
farming  and  stoekraising  until  his  death,  in  1903,  Mrs. 
Mullins  having  passed  away  in  1881,  at  Bear  Creek. 
During  the  Civil  war  Mr.  Mullins  served  as  a member  of 
the  Home  Guards,  in  the  Union  army.  There  were  four 
children  in  the  family : George,  a farmer,  whose  death  oc- 
curred in  1909,  at  Ash  Grove,  Green  County,  Missouri; 
Thomas  Lafayette,  of  this  review;  Robert,  who  is  an 
auctioneer,  and  resides  at  Geronimo,  Oklahoma;  and 
Louis,  who  is  a farmer  and  agriculturist  and  resides 
at . Temple,  Oklahoma. 

Thomas  L.  Mullins  attended  the  public  schools  of 
Bear  Creek  and  was  reared  on  his  father’s  farm  until 
1881,  in  which  year  his  mother  died  and  he  went  to  live 
at  the  home  of  his  uncle,  R.  F.  Wetion,  on  whose  farm 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1953 


he  worked  for  three  years.  He  then  started  out  on  his 
own  account  and  for  five  or  six  years  worked  out  among 
the  agriculturists  of  Green  County,  Missouri.  In  1890  he 
went  to  Marshall  County,  Kansas,  where  he  continued 
his  labors  as  a farm  hand  until  1901,  and  in  that  year 
came  to  Temple,  Oklahoma,  and  drew  a homestead  at  the 
opening.  This  he  proved  up  and  resided  upon  until  1905, 
when  he  removed  to  the  Village  of  Temple,  and  started 
his  work  as  an  auctioneer.  His  advent  in  Walters  occurred 
in  1912,  and  since  that  time  he  has  successfully  built  up 
a large  and  profitable  business  in  his  chosen  line,  con- 
ducting large  sales  and  handling  all  kinds  of  property 
for  his  clients.  While  he  devotes  his  attention  almost 
exclusively  to  this  line  of  work,  Mr.  Mullins  still  has 
extensive  farming  interests,  being  the  owner  of  440  acres 
of  land,  on  which  his  tenants  do  diversified  farming  and 
stockraising.  Mr.  Mullins  is  a republican  and  has  been 
an  active  worker  in  his  party.  While  a resident  of  Temple 
he  served  as  constable  and  city  marshal,  and  in  1912 
became  the  candidate  of  his  party  for  the  office  of 
sheriff  of  Cotton  County,  to  which  he  was  elected,  and 
served  two  years  in  an  entirely  capable  and  satisfactory 
manner.  With  his  family,  he  belongs  to  the  Baptist 
Church.  Mr.  Mullins’  fraternal  connections  include  mem- 
bership in  Temple  Lodge  No.  210,  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons,  and  Guthrie  Consistory  No.  1,  of  the 
thirty-second  degree  in  Masonry;  Temple  Lodge  of 
the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America;  Walters  Lodge  of  the 
Royal  Neighbors  of  America,  and  the  Temple  lodges  of 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Fraternal 
Order  of  Eagles. 

Mr.  Mullins  was  married  at  Marysville,  Kansas,  in 
1896,  to  Miss  Hattie  McLeod,  who  was  born  in  Marshall 
County,  Kansas,  daughter  of  the  late  Capt.  Archie  P. 
McLeod,  who  served  in  the  Union  army  during  the  Civil 
war  and  subsequently  became  a Kansas  farmer.  Two 
children  have  been  born  to  this  union:  Clarence,  born 
July  19,  1903,  who  is  attending  the  public  schools  at 
Walters;  and  Hattie  Muriel,  born  August  26,  1913. 

James  C.  Menifee.  No  matter  how  dynamic  the 
force  of  progress  along  all  material  lines  of  human 
endeavor,  still  agriculture  and  horticulture  - must  ever 
figure  as  the  base  of  industrial  and  general  prosperity, 
and  fortune  is  he  whose  ability  and  tastes  enable  him 
to  achieve  success  in  connection  with  any  department  of 
the  great  elemental  art  of  husbandry.  Though  the 
natural  resources  of  Oklahoma  are  varied  and  opulent, 
it  is  through  agriculture  and  other  utilization  of  the 
willing  soil  that  civic  and  material  development  and 
upbuilding  have  mainly  been  compassed,  and  in  Creek 
County  it  is  pleasing  to  direct  attention  to  Mr.  Menifee 
as  one  of  the  prominent,  substantial  and  representative 
exponents  of  such  basic  industry,  though  his  activities 
have  been  of  varied  order  and  have  marked  him  as  a 
man  of  versatility  in  business,  even  as  he  is  known  as 
one  of  the  loyal,  appreciative  and  public-spirited  citi- 
zens of  Sapulpa,  in  the  vicinity  of  which  city  he  is 
giving  special  attention  to  fruit  culture. 

Mr.  Menifee  was  born  in  Holt  County,  Missouri,  on 
the  6th  of  September,  1860,  and  is  a son  of  John  M. 
and  Eleanor  M.  (Scott)  Menifee,  the  former  of  whom 
was  born  in  Kentucky,  a scion  of  an  old  and  prominent 
Southern  family,  and  the  latter  of  whom  was  born  in 
the  State  of  Indiana,  their  marriage  having  been  solemn- 
ized in  M'ssnuri,  where  the  respective  families  settled  in 
the  early  ’50s. 

John  M.  Menifee  became  a prosperous  farmer  and 
stock  grower  in  Holt  County,  Missouri,  and  finally 
turned-  his  attention  more  particularly  to  the  propaga- 
tion of  fruit, /of  which  line  of  enterprise  he  became  one 


of  the  most  prominent  and  successful  exponents  in  that 
county,  where  he  developed  a fine  fruit  farm  of  100 
acres.  When  in  advanced  years  he  sold  this  valuable 
property  and  he  and  his  devoted  wife  joined  their  son, 
James  C.,  subject  of  this  sketch,  in  Oklahoma,  where 
both  passed  the  remainder  of  their  lives  and  where  in 
death  they  were  not  long  divided,  Mr.  Menifee  having 
passed  away  on  the  6th  of  June,  1910,  at  the  age  of 
seventy-five  years,  and  his  wife  having  died  on  the 
following  day,  at  the  age  of  seventy-one  years,  the 
memories  of  both  being  reverently  cherished  by  all  who 
came  within  the  compass  of  their  kindly  and  benignant 
influence.  John  C.  Menifee  was  staunchly  loyal  to  the 
Union  during  the  climacteric  period  of  the  Civil  war, 
though  living  in  a state  where  the  preponderating 
sympathy  was  for  the  cause  of  the  Confederacy..  He 
did  all  in  his  power  to  uphold  the  Union  arms  but  his 
physical  condition  was  such  that  he  was  unable  to  enter 
military  service.  Both  he  and  his  wife  were  zealous 
members  of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  earnest  in  sup- 
port of  temperance,  and  tolerant  and  considerate  in 
their  association  with  all  with  whom  they  came  in  con- 
tact in  the  various  .relations  of  life.  Of  their  three 
children  the  subject  of  this  sketch  was  the  second  in 
order  of  birth;  Bettie  W,  the  first  born,  became  the 
wife  of  William  Ward  and  is  now  deceased;  and  Robert 
L.  is  now  a resident  of  the  City  of  Fresno,  California. 

James  C.  Menifee  was  reared  to  adult  age  in  Holt 
County,  Missouri,  where  he  early  began  to  assist  his 
father  in  the  work  of  the  home  farm  and  where  he 
gained  thorough  familiarity  with  the  varied  details  of 
successful  fruit  culture.  In  the  meanwhile  he  did  not 
neglect  to  profit  fully  by  the  advantages  afforded  in 
the  common  schools  of  his  native  county,  and  he  con- 
tinued to  reside  at  the  parental  home  until  his  removal 
to  what  is  now  the  State  of  Oklahoma,  save  that  he 
passed  one  year  in  Montana,  when  eighteen  years  of  age. 

In  1892  Mr.  Menifee  came  to  Indian  Territory  and 
established  his  permanent  residence  at  Sapulpa,  the 
present  metropolis  and  judicial  center  of  Creek  County, 
Oklahoma,  and  that  he  is  distinctively  entitled  to  pioneer 
honors  is  assured  when  it  is  stated  that  the  now  popu- 
lous and  metropolitan  city  was  then  represented  by  a 
railroad  station,  a general  store  and  a few  dwellings  of 
primitive  order.  Mr.  Menifee  has  always  been  a man 
of  action,  and  thus,  soon  after  his  arrival  in  the 
embryonic  city  he  here  opened  a general  store,  this  being 
the  second  mercantile  establishment  of  the  diminutive 
but  aspiring  village.  In  1893  he  formed  a partnership 
with  P.  B.  France  which  continued  for  three  years, 
when  Mr.  Menifee  bought  Mr.  France’s  interests.  With 
the  development  of  the  city  and  surrounding  country 
the  business  of  Mr.  Menifee  constantly  expanded  in 
scope  and  importance,  though  his  trade  in  the  earlier 
years  was  largely  with  the  Indians,  many  of  whom  came 
from  points  as  far  as  sixty  miles  distant  to  purchase" 
goods,  which  they  frequently  carried  away  by  the  wagon 
load.  At  that  time  Sapulpa  was  the  western  terminus 
of  the  Frisco  Railroad  line  and  thus  became  a trading 
and  shipipng  point  of  much  importance,  and  the  town 
was  a place  of  interest  and  rendezvous  on  the  part  of 
many  Indians  who  came  to  it  to  gain  their  first  sight 
of  a railway  train.  During  the  ten  years  that  he  was 
engaged  in  the  mercantile  business  Mr.  Menifee  con- 
trolled a large  and  profitable  trade  and  was  recognized 
as  one  of  the  leading  business  men  of  Sapulpa,  the 
while  his  fair  dealings  and  impregnable  integrity  gained 
to  him  the  unequivocal  confidence  and  good  will  of  both 
his  white  and  Indian  patrons  and  he  became  known  to 
the  white  settlers  and  the  Indians  throughout  a wide 
radius  of  country.  After  he  had  learned  that  Sapulpa 


1954 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


was  to  be  made  a division  headquarters  for  the  Frisco 
Railroad  Mr.  Menifee  showed  his  confidence  in  the 
future  importance  and  growth  of  the  town  by  making 
judicious  investments  in  local  real  estate,  and  its  appre- 
ciation in  value  eventually  enabled  him  to  realize  large 
profit  in  the  sale  of  much  of  the  property  thus  acquired. 
Since  his  retirement  from  the  mercantile  business  he 
has  given  his  attention  principally  to  the  handling  of 
real  estate  and  agricultural  enterprise,  in  both  of  which 
lines  he  has  been  definitely  prospered.  In  Sapulpa  he 
is  the  owner  of  valuable  business  and  residence  prop- 
erties, and  since  1912  he  has  maintained  his  residence 
on  a fine  rural  estate  one  mile  north  of  the  city,  where 
he  has  developed  one  of  the  excellent  fruit  farms  of 
the  county,  his  thorough  knowledge  of  this  line  of  enter- 
prise having  made  him  specially  successful  in  exploiting 
this  important  line  of  enterprise,  along  which  he  is  still 
continuing  his  effective  development  work,  which  is  a 
definite  lesson  and  incentive  to  others. 

In  politics  Mr.  Menifee  does  not  consult  expediency 
but  votes  in  accord  with  his  earnest  convictions  and  is 
a staunch  supporter  of  the  cause  of  the  prohibition 
party.  He  and  his  wife  are  zealous  members  of  the 
Presbyterian  Church,  and  he  served  as  elder  of  the 
church  of  this  denomination  in  Sapulpa  until  his  removal 
to  his  farm. 

It  is  worthy  of  special  note  that  at  the  annual  fair 
of  the  Creek  County  Agricultural  Society  in  the  autumn 
of  1915  Mr.  Menifee  captured  second  premium  in  the 
department  of  general  exhibits  from  individual  farm, 
and  this  is  the  more  noteworthy  in  view  of  the  fact 
that  he  had  resided  on  and  given  his  personal  super- 
vision to  his  farm  for  the  brief  period  of  somewhat 
less  than  three  years. 

In  the  year  1883  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of 
Mr.  Menifee  to  Miss  Alice  S.  Dulin,  who  like  himself 
is  a native  of  Holt  County,  Missouri,  where  she  was 
born  on  the  13th  of  November,  1861,  a daughter  of 
Smith  and  Mary  Elizabeth  (Embree)  Dulin,  the  former 
of  whom  was  killed  in  an  engagement  at  Helena, 
Arkansas,  while  serving  as  a soldier  of  the  Confederacy 
in  the  Civil  war,  and  the  latter  of  whom  now  resides  in 
the  home  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Menifee,  who  accord  to  her 
the  deepest  filial  solicitude,  as  did  they  also  to  her 
mother,  Mrs.  Nancy  Ann  Embree,  who  passed  her 
declining  years  in  their  home  and  who  was  summoned 
to  the  life  eternal  in  June,  1915,  about  one  month  prior 
to  the  one  hundredth  anniversary  of  her  birth.  This 
venerable  womain  retained  to  the  last  wonderful  control 
of  her  mental  faculties,  and  her  memory  was  such  that 
she  was  able  to  give  most  graphic  and  interesting 
reminiscences  of  the  years  long  past.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Menifee  became  the  parents  of  three  children,  of  whom 
the  first  born,  India,  died  at  the  age  of  three  years; 
Miss  Bettie  W.  remains  at  the  parental  home  and  is  a 
popular  factor  in  the  social  activities  of  the  community; 
and  Newell  D.  is  engaged  in  the  insurance  and  abstract 
business  in  the  City  of  Sapulpa. 

John  G.  Copenhavee.  In  those  years  now  pleasantly 
distant  when  Northern  Oklahoma  was  untouched  by 
railroads,  John  G.  Copenhaver  gained  his  first  acquain- 
tance with  what  is  now  Osage  County  by  work  as  a 
freighter,  engaged  in  hauling  goods  from  Kansas  Point 
to  some  of  the  early  trading  posts  in  the  Osage  and 
Cherokee  nations.  For  fully  a quarter  of  a century  he 
has  been  prominently  identified  with  Osage  County,  is 
one  of  the  enterprising  men  who  have  done  much  to 
stimulate  and  raise  the  standards  of  agriculture  and 
stock  raising  in  this  section,  and  is  now  living  retired 
in  the  enjoyment  of  a well  earned  prosperity  with  his 


home  in  Big  Heart,  Osage  County.  Mr.  Copenhaver  has 
taken  much  interest  in  political  affairs,  and  is  now  serv- 
ing as  a justice  of  the  peace. 

An  Indiana  man  by  birth,  he  was  born  at  Clinton  on 
the  Wabash  River  in  Vermilion  County,  Indiana,  in  1852. 
His  parents  were  Thomas  J.  and  Mary  E.  Gordon  Copen- 
haver, both  natives  of  Indiana,  his  mother  being  also  born 
in  Vermilion  County.  In  1869,  when  Mr.  Copenhaver  was 
seventeen  years  of  ‘age,  the  family  moved  out  to  Wilson 
County,  Kansas,  where  his  father  took  up  a homestead, 
followed  farming  and  stock  raising  for  many  years,  and 
died  in  1890  when  about  forty-five  years  old.  The 
mother  died  February  19,  1916,  at  the  old  home  which 
they  took  up  as  a government  claim  in  1869,  when  past 
eighty  years  of  age.  Thomas  J.  Copenhaver  served  for 
4%  years  as  a Union  soldier,  enlisting  at  the  beginning 
of  the  war  in  the  Eighteeenth  Indiana  Regiment,  sub- 
sequently veteranizing,  and  continuing  until  the  close  of 
hostilities  in  1865.  Most  of  his  service  was  as  regimental 
quartermaster.  He  was  a stanch  republican,  and  he 
and  his  wife  active  members  of  the  Christian  Church. 
All  of  their  four  sons  and  four  daughters  are  still  living, 
namely:  John  G. ; Catherine,  wife  of  George  Woodard 
of  Wilson  County,  Kansas;  A.  J.,  of  Fall  River,  Kansas; 
Annie,  wife  of  Alexander  Nelson  of  Ramona,  Oklahoma; 
M.  S.,  who  lives  with  his  mother  on  the  homestead; 
O.  P.,  of  Drumright,  Oklahoma;  Mrs.  Eunice  of  Wood- 
son  County,  Kansas;  Mrs.  Elsie  Cooper,  of  Greenwood 
County,  Kansas. 

Though  John  G.  Copenhaver  resided  with  his  parents 
until  his  marriage,  he  had  already  acquired  an  .extensive 
experience  as  a farm  boy,  a student  in  local  schools, 
and  in  employment  in  those  occupations  which  are  char- 
acteristic of  a new  state.  On  August  29,  1877,  he  mar- 
ried Miss  Mary  E.  Scott,  who  was  born  in  Illinois  in 
1856  and  was  brought  to  Kansas  in  1871  with  her 
parents. 

After  his  marriage  Mr.  Copenhaver  located  on  a farm 
in  Wilson  County,  Kansas,  and  lived  there  until  his 
removal  to  the  vicinity  of  Pawhuska  in  1890.  He  has 
been  a resident  of  Osage  County  ever  since,  and  most  of 
his  active  career  has  been  spent  in  farming.  For  the 
past  six  years  he  has  lived  retired.  During  his  early 
manhood  Mr.  Copenhaver  gained  the  experience  already 
noted  as  a freighter.  In  1872  he  was  employed  by  the 
Coy  Brothers  and  Ogeese  Captain,  who  operated  an  ex- 
tensive trading  post  at  Hominy  Falls  about  seven  miles 
north  and  west  of  Tulsa,  and  this  firm  had  the  first  store 
built  on  the  Osage  Reservation.  Mr.  Copenhaver  was 
employed  chiefly  in  hauling  goods  to  this  trading  post 
from  Fort  Leavenworth  and  later  from  Fort  Scott,  Kan- 
sas. The  distance  he  had  to  cover  between  Fort  Leaven- 
worth and  the  trading  post  was  fully  300  miles.  In 
later  years  Mr.  Copenhaver  gained  considerable  note  as 
a stock  raiser,  and  at  times  had  between  200  and  300 
head  of  cattle  and  from  forty  to  fifty  head  of  horses.  A 
pleasing  distinction  which  is  associated  with  his  name 
is  that  he  was  the  first  to  introduce  Holstein  cattle  into 
Osage  County.  That  was  about  twenty  years  ago. 

Mr.  Copenhaver  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the 
republican  party  in  Osage  County,  and  for  more  than 
twenty  years  has  been  identified  with  the  Knights  of 
Pythias  fraternity.  He  and  his  wife  are  the  parents 
of  three  children.  Thomas  J.  lives  in  Independence, 
Kansas,  and  is  married  and  has  three  children.  Wil- 
liam J.  lives  at  Big  Heart  and  is  also  married.  Jacob 
resides  at  Independence  and  is  married  and  has  one  child. 

Judge  Chaeles  B.  Wilson,  Je.  Deep  and  accurate 
knowledge  of  law,  native  shrewdness  and  ability,-  and 
unswerving  integrity  have  made  Judge  Charles  B.  Wil- 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1955 


son,  Jr.,  of  the  Tenth  Judicial  District,  an  excellent 
lawyer  and  an  admirable  judge;  high  personal  character, 
firm  convictions  of  the  right,  a kind  heart  and  strong 
sense  of  duty  has  made  him  a valuable  citizen.  A con- 
scientious public  servant,  of  high  purpose  and  sincerity, 
he  has  long  stood  as  one  of  the  ablest  representatives  of 
the  dignity  of  the  law  in  Chandler  and  Lincoln  County. 
The  Tenth  Judicial  District  of  Oklahoma  comprises  the 
two  counties  of  Lincoln  and  Pottawatomie. 

Judge  Wilson  has  long  been  known  in  Central  Okla- 
homa as  a successful  lawyer  and  one  of  the  strong  and 
active  figures  of  the  democratic  party.  He  was  engaged 
in  the  active  practice  of  law  for  sixteen  years,  and  has 
lived  in  Oklahoma  since  the  first  opening  in  1889.  He 
was  born  in  Clinton,  Henry  County,  Missouri,  August  2, 
1872,  and  is  a son  of  Charles  B.  Wilson,  Sr.,  a pioneer 
lawyer  of  Chandler  and,  a native  of  Missouri,  where  he 
was  reared  and  educated.  He  is  now  retired  from  the 
active  practice  of  law  and  belongs  among  the  class  of 
honored  old-timers  of  the  Southwest.  The  maiden  name 
of  the  mother  was  Kate  Thurston,  who  came  of  a family 
of  Virginia  people.  Charles  B.  Wilson,  Sr.,  and  wife 
had  two  children:  Charles  B.  Jr.,  and  Ann  Wilson, 

now  of  St.  Joseph,  Missouri.  The  father  is  a democrat, 
and  is  a member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church 
South  and  a man  honored  and  rhspected  in  all  his 
relations. 

Judge  Wilson  spent  his  early  life  in  Clinton,  Missouri, 
was  educated  in  the  Clinton  high  schools  and  was  seven- 
teen years  of  age  when  he  became  identified  with  Central 
Oklahoma.  He  studied  law  under  the  direction  of  his 
father  at  Chandler,  and  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  that 
city  in  1899.  For  several  years  he  was  junior  member 
of  the  firm  of  Wilson  & Wilson,  and  this  was  a firm 
which  controlled  a large  and  successful  practice  and  in 
ability  was  ranked  second  to  none  in  the  Tenth  District. 
Judge  Wilson  was  formerly  a member  of  the  firm  of 
Hoffman,  Robinson  & Wilson,  and  each  of  the  three 
members  have  seen  active  service  in  judicial  positions, 
either  as  county  or  district  judges. 

Judge  Wilson  has  an  eminently  clean  record  in  all  his 
business  and  civic  relations.  One  of  his  strongest  char- 
acteristics is  his  faculty  for  making  and  retaining  strong 
friendships.  Judge  Wilson  has  taken  fourteen  degrees 
in  Scottish  Rite  Masonry  and  is  also  affiliated  with 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Knights  of 
Pythias  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  He  is 
a man  of  strong  physical  and  mental  address  and  his 
dignity  and  impartial  conduct  on  the  bench  is  matched  by 
the  strength  and  cordial  manners  of  the  lawyer  and 
gentleman.  In  1915  he  was  appointed  a member  of 
Division  No.  5 of  the  Supreme  Court  Commission  of  the 
state  appointed  by  the  governor. 

Robert  Dunlop.  Ranked  as  one  of  the  leading  and 
most  successful  oil  operators  of  Oklahoma,  with  proper- 
ties scattered  over  all  the  important  producing  sections 
of  the  state,  Robert  Dunlop,  of  Newkirk,  is  also  greatly 
interested  in  agricultural  ventures,  and  during  a long 
and  active  career  has  served  his  state  in  positions  of 
responsibility  and  trust,  in  which  he  has  demonstrated 
the  possession  of  excellent  executive  powers  as  well  as 
high  ideals  of  public  service. 

Mr.  Dunlop  was  born  at  Garnett,  Anderson  County, 
Kansas,  September  6,  1869,  and  is  a son  of  Alexander 
and  Mary  (Whitson)  Dunlop,  natives  of  Scotland,  the 
former  born  at  Dunlop  Place,  February  3,  1826,  and  the 
latter  at  Kelso,  March  24,  1832.  The  parents  were  strict 
Scotch  Presbyterians  and  were  married  in  1865  in  Law- 
rence, Kansas,  after  the  return  of  the  father  from  his 
service  in  the  Civil  war,  in  which  he  fought  as  a private 
of  the  One  Hundred  and  Forty-eighth  Regiment,  Illinois 


Volunteer  Infantry.  The  parents  of  Mr.  Dunlop’s  mother 
came  to  the  United  States  in  1849  and  her  mother  died 
in  New  York  shortly  afterward.  In  1850  Mr.  Dunlop 
moved  to  Quebec,  Canada,  and  in  1856  to  Fort  Leaven- 
worth, Kansas.  The  father  of  Mr.  Dunlop  settled  first 
on  the  first  homestead  awarded  to  a white  man  in 
Howard  County,  Kansas,  this  being  to  George  Hitchens, 
a late  distinguished  pioneer  of  that  state.  It  is  now 
occupied  as  the  home  of  Mr.  Dunlop’s  two  brothers, 
George  and  James,  and  is  located  in  the  vicinity  of  Long- 
ton,  Kansas. 

Mr.  Dunlop  attended  the  public  and  high  schools  of 
Howard  County,  finishing  a business  education  in  the 
latter,  and  began  life  for  himself  in  Oklahoma,  working 
on  the  homestead  of  an  uncle  in  Payne  County.  The 
next  year,  1890,  he  did  ranch  work  in  the  Osage  Nation, 
and  in  1891  entered  the  Iowa  Indian  country  at  its 
opening.  He  found  no  land  that  suited  him  there, 
however,  and  did  not  make  any  settlement.  Having  as 
a cowman  traversed  a large  part  of  the  territory  em- 
braced in  the  Cherokee  Strip,  he  took  part  in  the  opening 
of  that  territory  in  1893  -and  took  a homestead  in  what 
is  now  Kay  County.  This  in  due  time  he  patented  and  it 
became  the  nucleus  of  the  320  acre  farm  which  now  is 
one  of  his  most  valuable  possessions.  It  is  situated  in 
the  heart  of  one  of  the  finest  farming  regions  of  the 
state,  and  the  section  of  which  it  originally  was  a part 
ranks  as  the  best  in  Oklahoma.  On  the  land  are  suc- 
cessfully grown  wheat,  oats  and  alfalfa,  and  Mr.  Dunlop 
for  many  years  has  had  his  men  employ  the  best  and 
most  scientific  methods  of  agriculture.  As  one  of  the 
leading  and  original  settlers  of  the  county  he  took  an 
active  part  in  a good  roads  movement  that  resulted  in 
the  establishment  of  a system  of  roads  that  were  not 
surpassed  in  any  of  the  original  counties.  In  1902  he 
was  elected  treasurer  of  Kay  County  and  this  position 
he  held  until  1907,  the  year  of  statehood,  when  he  became 
a candidate  on  the  democratic  ticket  for  state  treasurer, 
but  was  defeated  for  the  nomination  by  James  A.  Mene- 
fee  of  Anadarko  by  289  votes.  He  served  during  the 
administration  of  Governor  C.  N.  Haskell  as  a member 
of  the  board  of  trustees  of  the  Insane  Asylum  at  Fort 
Supply,  and  sought  to  have  an  appropriation  of  $1,500,- 
000  made  early  in  the  state’s  career  for  the  proper  care 
of  the  insane.  He  contended  then  and  has  since  main- 
tained that  the  new  government  should  first  make  ade- 
quate provision  for  its  unfortunate  wards. 

In  1910  Mr.  Dunlop  was  elected  state  treasurer  of 
Oklahoma,  carrying,  in  the  primary  election  over  M.  E. 
Trapp,  of  Guthrie,  sixty-one  of  the  seventy-six  counties. 
His  policy  as  state  treasurer  was  a strict  adherence  to 
the  rule  established  in  other  states  that  compels  all 
departments  of  state  government  collecting  money  for 
the  state  to  deposit  the  money  immediately  in  the  state 
treasury,  but  in  this  policy  he  was  unsuccessful,  owing 
to  laws  that  permitted  various  departments  to  handle 
state  moneys.  The  question  of  whether  or  not  all  state 
funds  shall  be  deposited  with  the  state  treasurer  has 
been  an  unsettled  issue,  due  principally  to  the  policy  of 
administrations  of  maintaining  the  school  land  office  as 
a separate  state  institution  entrusted  with  the  duty  of 
handling  school  funds,  and  his  views  were  virtually 
passed  in  1915. 

Mr.  Dunlop’s  activities  since  retiring  from  office  have 
been  in  furtherance  of  his  agricultural  and  oil  and  gas 
interests.  He  lias  a farm  in  Kay  County  of  320  acres, 
with  300  acres  in  cultivation.  In  partnership  with  E.  B. 
Howard,  of  Tulsa,  he  owns  600  acres  of  oil  and  gas 
bearing  land  in  the  eastern  part  of  the  state.  He  is  a 
director  in  the  Spreading  Adder  Oil  find  Gas  Company, 
the  Coleman  Farms  Oil  and  Gas  Company,  the  Sipo  Oil 
and  Gas  Company,  the  Kay  Vernon  Oil  and  Gas  Co.,  the 


1956 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Kay  Wagoner  Oil  & Gas  Co.,  the  Flora  Hope  Oil  & Gas 
Co.,  and  the  Dunlop  Oil  & Gas  Co. 

Mr.  Dunlop  was  married  in  1904,  at  Blackwell,  Okla- 
homa, to  Miss  Flora  Christian,  of  Blackwell,  who  was  a 
native  of  Holden,  Missouri,  a graduate  of  the  Emporia 
(Kansas)  State  Normal  School,  and  a teacher  for  several 
years  prior  to  her  marriage.  She  died  in  the  following 
year,  leaving  one  daughter,  Flora,  aged  ten  years,  who 
resides  at  Newkirk  with  her  father.  Fraternally  Mr. 
Dunlop  is  a member  of  the  Masonic  Lodge,  his  Ancient 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons  membership  being  No.  57,  at 
Tonka wa,  Oklahoma;  his  Knight  Templar  membership 
being  in  Ben  Hur  Commandery,  at  Ponca  City,  Oklahoma ; 
his  chapter  membership  being  with  Hope  No.  41,  at 
Howard,  Kansas,  and  his  shrine  membership  being  with 
Akdar  Temple,  Tulsa,  Oklahoma.  He  is  a member  also 
of  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  of  the  Country  Club  at  New- 
kirk, and  of  the  Capital  City  Gun  Club  of  Oklahoma 
City. 

Mr.  Dunlop  has  been  one  of  the  state ’s  most  progres- 
sive citizens  for  many  years.  His  success  is  compensa- 
tion for  the  early  day  hardships  he  endured  when,  as  a 
poor  young  man,  he  followed  the  herds  of  cattle  over  the 
raw  prairies  of  the  unsettled  country  and  had  visions 
of  the  establishment  of  a rich  and  resourceful  common- 
wealth ; and  when,  alone  with  his  gun,  he  traveled  over 
the  wide  and  wild  areas  of  the  unsettled  Cherokee  Strip 
that  now  is  one  of  the  state ’s  most  prosperous  regions. 

Steve  Durham.  Harper  County  has  its  livest  and  most 
progressive  newspaper  in  the  Buffalo  Eepublican.  This 
paper  was  the  product  of  and  was  founded  by  L.  B.  H. 
Durham,  but  it  is  now  the  property  and  under  the 
editorial  management  of  his  son,  Steve  Durham,  whose 
history  from  the  beginning  to  the  present  has  been 
closely  associated  with  printer’s  ink  and  newspaper  work. 

In  fact,  Steve  Durham  was  born  in  a printing  office. 
On  June  9,  1888,  he  first  saw  the  light  of  day  in  his 
father’s  print  shop  at  Seward,  Kansas.  His  parents  are 
L.  B.  H.  and  Bebecea  Jane  (Warren)  Durham.  His 
father  was  born  March  11,  1862,  at  Chandlersville,  Illi- 
nois, a son  of  E.  B.  and  Jane  (McDaniel)  Durham.  The 
grandfather  was  born  in  Pennsylvania,  but  his  wife  was 
a native  of  Scotland. 

When  L.  B.  H.  Durham  was  eleven  years  of  age  he 
was  bound  out  as  an  apprentice  in  a printing  office,  and 
thus  he,  too,  has  had  a long  and  active  experience  in  the 
newspaper  business.  In  1876  he  went  to  Stafford  County, 
Kansas,  and  as  one  of  the  pioneers  of  that  section  estab- 
lished the  Independent  at  Seward.  He  was  editor  and 
owner  of  this  paper  for  two  years.  During  that  time  his 
son  Steve  was  born  in  a newspaper  office,  which  was 
also  the  home  of  the  family.  In  1889  he  removed  to 
Colorado,  and  for  six  years  conducted  newspapers  at  Villa 
Grove  and  Saguache.  Beturning  to  Stafford  County, 
Kansas  in  1898  Ee  established  the  Stafford  Leader, 
remained  at  its  head  two  years,  conducted  the  Sun  for 
one  year  at  Sylvia,  Kansas,  and  in  1901  removed  to  old 
Augusta,  Oklahoma,  where  he  published  the  Herald  for 
a short  time. 

In  1902  the  elder  Mr.  Durham  established  the  Bepub- 
lican  at  Supply,  Oklahoma,  conducted  it  three  years,  and 
in  1910  he  bought  the  Buffalo  Eepublican,  which  is  the 
pioneer  newspaper  of  Harper  County.  He  continued  its 
active  editor  and  owner  until  December  1,  1915,  at 
which  time  he  transferred  its  management  to  his  son 
Steve. 

On  August  16,  1883,  in  Stafford  County,  Kansas,  L.  E. 
H.  Durham,  married  Miss  Bebecca  Jane  Warren,  daugh- 
ter of . James  B.  and  Sarah  (Caldwell)  Warren.  Her 
father  was  a native  of  Pennsylvania  and  her  mother  of 
Scotland,  and  thus  Steve  Durham  from  two  sources  has 


Scotch  ancestors.  Mrs.  L.  B.  H.  Durham  was  born 
July  10,  1863,  at  Plum  Creek,  Pennsylvania.  She  be- 
came the  mother  of  three  sons:  William  E.,  who  was 
born  May  20,  1884,  and  is  now  a farmer  in  Stafford 
County,  Kansas;  Albert  L.,  who  was  born  October  8, 
1886,  and  is  a farmer  in  Harper  County,  Oklahoma;  and 
Steve  Durham,  whose  birth  date  has  already  been  given. 
The  latter  was  educated  in  public  schools,  and  prac- 
tically grew  up  in  a newspaper  office,  became  familiar 
with  the  details  of  a printing  office  at  an  early  age,  in 
fact  his  earliest  recollections  are  associated  with  such 
things,  and  he  is  a practical  printer  and  newspaper  man 
by  experience  as  well  as  by  vocation.  The  Buffalo  Ee- 
publican is  his  first  venture  on  his  own  account  and  he  is 
making  it  a very  live  and  wholesome  paper. 

John  W.  Cornell.  One  of  the  well  known  figures 
in  the  journalistic  world  of  Western  Oklahoma  is  John 
W.  Cornell,  editor  and  manager  of  the  Clinton  News,  of 
Clinton,  one  of  the  most  alert,  enterprising  and  interest- 
ing organs  of  the  democratic  party  in  Custer  County. 
Mr.  Cornell  is  a Kansan  by  nativity,  born  in  Saline 
County,  December  24,  1878,  and  is  a son  of  Charles  and 
Clara  (Anderson)  Cornell. 

John  Cornell,  grandfather  of  John  W.  Cornell,  was 
born  in  Sheffield,  'England,  from  whence  he  emigrated 
as  a single  man  to  the  United  States,  and  settled  as  a 
pioneer  of  Marshall  County,  Illinois,  in  the  vicinity  of 
the  Town  of  Sparland.  There  he  carried  on  agricul- 
tural pursuits  throughout  his  life.  He  was  married 
there  to  an  Illinois  girl  and  they  became  the  parents 
of  two  sons:  John,  Jr.,  who  died  at  the  age  of  twenty- 

five  years;  and  Charles.  Charles  Cornell  was  born  on 
the  home  farm  in  Illinois,  in  1850,  and  during  the  Civil 
war  fought  in  an  Illinois  volunteer  infantry  regiment 
in  the  Union  army.  Shortly  after  the  close  of  the  war 
he  removed  to  Saline  County,  Kansas,  where  he  engaged 
in  farming  and  stockraising  and  continued  therein  until 
1907,  when  he  went  to  Newton  and  secured  employment 
in  the  storehouse  department  of  the  Santa  Fe  Bailroad. 
He  was  residing  at  Newton  at  the  time  of  his  death,  in 
1911.  Mr.  Cornell  was  a member  of  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  and  a good  and  public-spirited 
citizen,  and  his  known  integrity  and  probity  won  him 
many  friends  and  the  high  regard  of  a wide  acquaintance. 
He  married  Miss  Clara  Anderson,  who  was  born  at 
Salina,  Kansas,  and  who  survives  him  and  lives  at 
Kansas  City,  Kansas.  They  became  the  parents  of  five 
children:  John  W. ; James  Bobert.  who  is  a commercial 

traveler  out  of  San  Francisco,  California;  Blanche  E., 
who  is  the  wife  of  Earl  Bishop,  engaged  in  the  packing 
business  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri;  B.  E.,  who  is  con- 
nected with  the  Los  Angeles  Bank  and  Trust  Company, 
at  Los  Angeles,  California;  and  Ivan  E.,  who  is  manager 
of  the  Harvey  Bestaurant,  at  Guthrie,  Oklahoma. 

John  W.  Cornell  attended  the  public  schools  of  Saline 
County,  Kansas,  and  was  graduated  from  the  Gypsum 
(Kansas)  High  School  with  the  class  of  1899.  His  first 
position  after  leaving  school  was  that  of  bookkeeper  in 
the  Gypsum  Valley  State  Bank,  where  he  remained  one 
year,  and  in  1900  came  to  Oklahoma,  locating  at  Cleo, 
as  bookkeeper  for  the  Cleo  State  Bank.  He  next  con- 
tinued his  banking  experiences  as  bookkeeper  for  the 
Watonga  Bank,  of  Blaine  County,  Oklahoma,  and  in 
1902  became  the  organizer  of  the  Bank  of  Eagle  City, 
Oklahoma,  an  institution  of  which  he  was  cashier  for  a 
period  of  seven  years.  Mr.  Cornell  became  one  of  the 
organizers  of  the  Farmers  State  Bank,  at  Thomas,  Okla- 
homa, in  1909,  and  continued  to  be  identified  with  that 
concern  for  four  years,  but  in  1913  resigned  the  cashier- 
ship  to  start  editorial  work  as  a member  of  the  staff  of 
the  Thomas  Tribune,  a paper  which  retained  his  services 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1957 


for  two  years.  In  March,  1915,  he  resigned  and  came 
to  Clinton,  where  in  partnership  with  S.  R.  Hawkes', 
the  present  postmaster  of  Clinton,  he  bought  the  Clinton 
News,  of  which  he  has  since  been  editor  and  manager. 
The  offices  and  plant  are  located  in  the  Dipple  Building, 
on  Frisco  Avenue,  and  are  modern  in  every  respect,  not 
only  including  machinery  of  the  latest  manufacture  for 
the  printing  of  an  up-to-the-minute  newspaper,  but  for 
first  class  job  work  of  all  kinds  as  well.  Under  Mr. 
Cornell’s  editorship  the  News  has  won  a reputation  for 
veracity  and  reliability.  While  the  paper  is  'a  demo- 
cratic organ,  an  effort  is  made  to  place  matter  before 
the  public  in  an  impartial  manner,  and  to  print  the 
whole  news  at  all  times.  Mr.  Cornell,  himself  an  active 
and  stalwart  democrat,  has  held  several  positions  of 
public  trust,  having  served  on  the  school  board  while  a 
resident  of  Eagle  City,  and  as  mayor  for  two  terms 
while  living  at  Thomas.  He  is  a Mason  of  high  rank, 
belonging  to  Thomas  Lodge  No.  265,  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons;  Thomas  Chapter  No.  53,  Royal  Arch 
Masons:  Weatherford  Commander,  Knights  Templar; 
and  India  Temple,  Ancient  Arabic  Order  of  Nobles  of 
the  Mystic  Shrine,  at  Oklahoma  City. 

In  1904,  at  Gypsum,  Kansas,  Mr.  Cornell  was  united 
in  marriage  with  Miss  Halle  Whitmore,  daughter  of  the 
late  J.  W.  Whitmore,  who  was  a cattleman,  and  to  this 
union  there  have  been  born  two  children:  Helen  and 

William  Kenneth,  both  of  whom  are  attending  the 
public  schools  of  Clinton. 

C.  H.  Westgate.  For  thirty  years  Dr.  C.  H.  Westgate 
has  been  in  the  practice  of  his  profession  as  veterinary 
surgeon,  and  has  the  largest  and  best  equipped  veterinary 
hospital  in  Kay  County,  Oklahoma,  in  the  City  of  Black- 
well.  Doctor  Westgate  has  lived  in  Blackwell  since  1906, 
and  was  already  well  established  and  with  a good  reputa- 
tion in  professional  circles  when  he  came  there.  His 
faith  in  the  future  of  Kay  County  led  him  to  invest  in 
farm  and  town  property,  and  he  is  now  one  of  the  large 
tax  payers  of  that  section.  His  veterinary  hospital  is 
housed  in  a large  building  24x50  feet,  containing  offices, 
store  rooms,  garage,  operating  facilities  and  everything 
needed  for  the  care  and  treatment  of  domestic  animals. 

Dr.  C.  H.  Westgate  was  born  near  Mendota  in  La  Salle 
Cofinty,  Illinois.  His  birthplace  was  the  pioneer  farm 
of  La  Salle  County.  It  had  been  settled  by  his  grand- 
father, Abner  D.  Westgate,  ninety  years  ago,  in  1826, 
and  that  part  of  Northern  Illinois  was  still  a wilderness 
and  before  the  City  of  Chicago  came  into  existence  as  a 
village.  Abner  D.  Westgate  was  the  first  to  improve  a 
farm  in  La  Salle  County.  David  Westgate,  Sr.,  was 
also  born  on  that  homestead  and  died  there  at  the  age  of 
seventy-two.  David,  Sr.,  married  Martha  Gibbs,  who 
now  lives  with  her  daughters  at  Aurora,  Illinois.  She 
was  the  mother  of  seven  children.  George  H.  is  a horse 
dealer  at  York,  Nebraska,  and  next  to  him  comes  Dr. 
Charles  H.  LetRia,  who  is  a graduate  physician  from 
Rush  Medical  College  at  Chicago  and  is  in  practice  of 
medicine  at  Aurora.  Frank  A.  is  a practical  farmer  and 
occupies  the  old  homestead  at  Mendota.  Frank  A.  lives 
in  La  Salle  County. 

Doctor  Westgate  was  reared  on  the  old  farm,' developed 
a good  physique  by  farm  work,  and  the  schools  at 
Mendota  supplied  him  with  a thorough  education.  For 
four  years  he  served  as  chief  of  police  at  Mendota  and 
made  a record  as  a courageous  officer. 

In  La  Salle  County,  Illinois,  August  6,  1888,  Doctor 
Westgate  married  Jessie  Wallace,  whose  grandmother, 
Elizabeth  Wallace,  lived  to  the  remarkable  age  of  one 
hundred  and  two  years.  Both  Mrs.  Westgate ’s  parents 
are  now  deceased.  Mrs.  Westgate  was  one  of  twelve 
children,  five  sons  and  seven  daughters.  To  their  mar- 


riage have  been  born  the  following  children : Lloyd 

A.,  a popular  man  in  the  United  States  postal  mail 
service;  Morth  B.  and  David  W.  Doctor  Westgate  has 
an  attractive  modern  eight-room  residence,  furnished  in 
good  taste  and  with  everything  needed  for  comfortable 
living.  He  owns  three  other  good  homes  in  Blackwell, 
and  has  two  valuable  farms  in  Kay  County.  Among  the 
little  possessions  which  he  cherishes  is  the  old  deed  writ- 
ten on  parchment  covering  the  title  of  the  land  in  Illinois 
granted  by  the  Government  to  his  grandfather  ninety 
years  ago. 

Doctor  Westgate  is  a fine  speciman  of  physical  man- 
hood, stands  six  feet  in  height  and  weighs  200  pounds 
and  has  the  bearing  and  address  of  an  army  officer. 
He  is  interested  in  local  manufacturing,  and  has  a wide 
connection  with  men  and  affairs  both  in  Oklahoma  and 
elsewhere.  He  owns  a fine  automobile,  and  uses  it  both 
for  business  and  for  the  recreation  of  himself  and 
family. 

H.  T.  Hansford.  The  manager  of  the  Municipal  Bath 
House  at  Guthrie,  perhaps  more  widely  known  as  the 
Guthrie  Hercules  Sanitarium,  Mr.  Hansford  deserves  the 
credit  foT  making  this  splendid  institution  known  far 
and  wide  and  appreciated  for  the  curative  value  of  the 
waters  and  the  efficiency  of  the  service  not  only  in  Okla- 
homa but  over  the  entire  Middle  West. 

Mr.  Hansford  was  a Kansas  banker  for  many  years, 
but  in  1908  he  moved  to  San  Antonio,  Texas,  and  be- 
came interested  in  lands  in  Southwest  Texas  and  also 
in  promotion  and  capitalistic  affairs.  It  was  while  at 
San  Antonio  that  he  became  familiar  in  a business  way 
with  mineral  waters  and  the  conduct  of  sanitariums.  In 
1913  he  was  attracted  to  Guthrie  by  the  curative  prop- 
erties of  the  mineral  waters  at  that  point.  During  1914 
he  made  arrangements  and  secured  a lease  from  the 
Park  Board  Commissioners,  beginning  January  1,  1915, 
for  the  Municipal  Bathhouse  and  Sanitarium.  His  lease 
runs  for  a term  of  ten  years,  and  since  taking  charge 
he  has  really  been  responsible  for  the  growth  and 
development  of  the  institution.  This  is  a very  elaborate 
enterprise,  and  is  recognized  as  the  most  complete  in 
general  equipment  and  service  west  of  the  Mississippi 
River. 

It  cost  $100,000  to  construct  the  fireproof  building 
and  install  the  splendid  equipment.  The  building  itself 
is  one  of  the  handsomest  examples  of  architecture  found 
anywhere  in  Oklahoma.  Constructed  on  the  mission 
style,  its  attractiveness  is  enhanced  by  its  broad  verandas 
and  loggias,  and  the  splendid  expanse  of  glass,  which 
indicates  that  sunlight  and  fresh  air  are  combined  with 
the  curative  properties  of  the  waters  which  are  supplied 
from  five  different  mineral  wells.  There  is  a competent 
staff  of  attendants,  and  the  building  has  facilities  for 
furnishing  thirty  different  types  of  baths.  The  equip- 
ment for  hydrotherapeutics  cannot  be  excelled  by  any 
institution  in  America.  The  building  was  erected  by 
the  City  of  Guthrie.  The  waters  from  these  mineral  wells 
are  recognized  as  specifics  in  the  treatment  of  a number 
of  physical  disorders,  and  are  helpful  agencies  in  assist- 
ing in  the  restoration  to  health  of  persons  suffering  from 
many  ailments  of  the  vital  organs  and  nervous  diseases. 

Since  Mr.  Hansford  took  charge  of  the  sanitarium  its 
patronage  has  more  than  doubled,  and  its  patients  come 
from  all  parts  of  the  United  States,  Mexico,  Canada,  and 
even  from  the  Hawaiian  Islands. 

Mr.  Hansford  was  born  February  6,  1869,  at  Morrison, 
Whiteside  County,  Illinois,  a son  of  Thomas  J.  and  Lydia 
A.  (Eads)  Hansford,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of 
Kentucky.  His  mother  was  a relative  of  the  famous 
engineer  who  designed  and  built  the  Eads  Bridge  at  St. 
Louis.  Thomas  J.  Hansford  served  in  the  Union  army 


1958 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


during  the  Civil  war,  and  he  died  in  1875  from  disease 
contracted  during  his  military  service.  H.  T.  Hansford 
at  that  time  was  six  years  of  age,  and  from  boyhood 
he  has  relied  upon  his  own  efforts  and  enterprise  to 
advance  him  through  life.  He  came  out  to  Kansas  and 
finished  his  education  in  the  college  at  Horton  in  that 
state,  and  also  took  a business  course  at  Fort  Scott. 
For  several  years  he  was  in  the  insurance  business,  and 
was  then  elected  cashier  of  the  Kansas  State  Bank  at 
Fort  Scott,  a position  he  filled  until  1908,  when  he  left 
for  Texas,  and  his  experiences  there  finally  brought  him 
to  Guthrie. 

Mr.  Hansford  is  not  only  a man  of  great  energy  and 
enterprise  but  has  a magnetic  personality,  has  a host  of 
friends  and  is  recognized  as  a genial  entertainer  and  one 
who  shows  a true  Southern  hospitality  in  all  his  relations. 
Fraternally  he  is  a thirty-second  degree  Scottish  Rite 
Mason. 

Trudo  Jones  Webb.  While  one  of  the  most  difficult 
of  professions,  that  of  medicine  is  likewise  one  that 
brings  the  greatest  service  and  value  to  humanity,  and 
while  its  practitioners  seldom  occupy  the  conspicuous 
positions  in  the  world  they  perform  a work  of  more 
direct  and  greater  value  to  individuals  than  can  be 
claimed  for  any  other  calling.  A young  man  of  excep- 
tional native  qualifications  and  thorough  training,  Doctor 
Webb  has  already  gained  recognition  and  reputation 
for  skill  and  successful  work  as  a physician  and  sur- 
geon, and  after  several  years  of  practice  in  Northwest 
Texas  has  been  located  at  Tiptop,  Oklahoma,  since  1911. 

He  was  born  at  Lockhart  in  Caldwell  County,  Texas, 
April  30,  1883.  His  grandfather  James  Webb  was  born 
in  Tennessee,  and  while  serving  in  a Tennessee  regiment 
with  the  Confederate  army  was  killed  in  the  Civil  war. 
He  was  a Tennessee  farmer,  and  his  family  had  settled 
in  that  state  during  the  early  days.  F.  M.  Webb,  father 
of  Doctor  Webb,  was  born  at  Winchester  in  Franklin 
County,  Tennessee,  in  1850.  When  he  was  a boy  his 
parents  removed  to  Southeastern  Texas  and  he  has  lived 
in  that  state  ever  since,  a farmer  and  stock  raiser,  and 
since  1890  has  been  established  at  Romney  in  Eastland 
County.  He  is  an  active  member  of  the  Methodist  Epis- 
copal Church  and  a democrat  in  politics.  F.  M.  Webb 
married  Alice  McGinnis,  a native  of  Texas.  They  have 
a large  family  of  children,  a brief  record  of  them  being 
as  follows:  Sophronia,  wife  of  W.  P.  Grubbs,  who  owns 
several  farms  and  lives  at  Carbon,  Texas ; Dr.  Trudo  J. ; 
Brice,  who  is  a farmer  at  Romney,  Texas;  Eva,  wife  of 
Iva  Bostick,  a farmer  at  Romney;  Mack,  a druggist  at 
Tipton,  Oklahoma;  Elsie,  wife  of  Mr.  Elliott,  a retail 
meat  dealer  at  Sweetwater,  Texas;  Lou,  who  married  A. 
Blackwell,  now  postmaster  at  Romney;  Terry,  Lillian 
and  Beatrice,  twins,  and  Bernard,  all  living  at  home  and 
attending  the  public  schools  at  Romney. 

. Doctor  Webb  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  at 
Romney,  where  he  lived  from  the  age  of  seven,  and  had 
the  usual  life  and  experiences  of  a farmer  boy  up  to  the 
age  of  eighteen.  In  preparation  for  his  chosen  profes- 
sion he  attended  the  medical  department  of  the  Uni- 
versity of  Nashville  two  years  and  spent  three  years  at 
the  Memphis  Hospital  College.  He  graduated  M.  D. 
April  29,  1904,  and  did  his  first  practice  at  Hale  Center, 
Texas,  where  he  remained  eight  months.  From  1905  till 
the  fall  of  1911  he  was  located  at  Texico,  on  the  line 
between  Texas  and  New  Mexico,  and  in  the  fall  of  1911 
removed  to  Tipton,  Oklahoma,  where  he  has  since  ac- 
quired a profitable  general  medical  and  surgical  practice. 
His  offices  are  in  the  Tipton  Drug  Store  and  Postoffice 
Building  on  Main  Street. 

While  living  at  Texico  Doctor  Webb  served  as  health 
officer.  He  is  a democrat,  is  affiliated  with  Tipton  Lodge 


No.  417,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  with 
the  Woodmen  of  the  World  at  Tipton.  On  August  5, 
1907,  at  Fort  Worth,  Texas,  he  married  Miss  Adelia 
Nichols,  whose  father  is  W.  H.  Nichols,  of  Texico,  New 
Mexico. 

Augustus  Wood  Henderson.  With  the  construction 
of  the  Midland  Valley  Railroad  through  Osage  County 
and  the  laying  out  of  the  Townsite  of  Avant  in  1909, 
one  of  .the  first  settlers  and  business  men  to  locate  in 
the  new  community  was  Augustus  Wood  Henderson,  who 
bought  some  lots  and  in  the  midst  of  a corn  field  erected 
the  building  in  which  the  Bank  of  Avant  has  since  been 
housed.  Since  then  Mr.  Henderson  has  been  actively 
identified  with  local  affairs  chiefly  as  a real  estate  man, 
and  is  one  of  the  local  capitalists.  Mr.  Henderson  is  one 
of  the  characters  of  the  Kansas-Oklahoma  frontier,  and 
has  lived  in  close  touch  with  the  Indian  peoples  and 
the  pioneer  • communities  of  the  Southwest  the  greater 
part  of  his  life.  A distiuction  which  will  at  once  serve 
to  identify  him  with  early  Oklahoma  history  is  that  he 
was  a member  of  Payne’s  Colony  of  Oklahoma  Boomers 
during  the  decade  of  the  ’80s,  and  several  years  before 
Oklahoma  Territory  was  first  opened  to  settlement. 

He  was  born  at  Marion  Center  in  Indiana  County, 
Pennsylvania,  December  21,  1850,  a son  of  John  McKin- 
ley and  Elizabeth  Black  (Wood)  Henderson,  both  of 
whom  were  natives  of  Pennsylvania,  his  father  of  West- 
moreland County.  John  M.  Henderson  learned  the  trade 
of  tailor  at  Punxsutawney,  Pennsylvania,  and  was  em- 
ployed at  his  trade-  until  1856,  when  he  removed  to 
Henry  County,  Illinois,  and  was  engaged  in  farming  in 
that  rich  district  of  the  Prairie  State  until  1865.  He 
then  moved  to  Eastern  Kansas,  settling  on  a farm  seven 
miles  from  Olathe  in  Johnson  County,  where  he  continued 
to  reside  until  his  death  in  1890.  His  first  wife,  and 
the  mother  of  Augustus  W.  Henderson,  had  died  in  Illi- 
nois in  1863  while  he  was  away  in  the  army.  He  served 
in  the  One  Hundred  and  Twelfth  Illinois  Mounted  In- 
fantry, was  wounded  at  the  Battle  of  Richmond,  Ken- 
tucky, and  after  spending  some  time  in  the  hospital  was 
discharged  in  the  fall  of  1864.  Not  long  afterward 
he  returned  to  Pennsylvania  and  married  for  his  second 
wife  Miranda  Brady.  There  were  four  children  by- the 
first  wife  and  five  by  the  second.  The  older  son,  William 
Henry  Harrison  Henderson,  was  wounded  while  fighting 
with  the  Union  army,  and  died  from  the  results  after  he 
returned  home.  Augustus  W.  Henderson  is  now  the 
only  one  living  of  his  mother’s  children,  and  there  is 
one  son  by  his  father’s  second  wife. 

Since  he  was  fifteen  years  of  age  Mr.  A.  W.  Henderson 
has  lived  in  the  West  and  has  witnessed  almost  the  entire 
development  of  the  states  of  Kansas  and  Oklahoma. 
Most  of  his  education  came  from  the  country  schools  of 
Illinois,  and  his  career  of  adventure  began  when  he  was 
eighteen  years  old,  with  his  enlistment  in  1868  in  the 
Nineteenth  Kansas  Cavalry  for  service  under  General 
Custer  against  the  Indians.  He  was  with  his  command 
during  the  winter  of  1868-69,  and  was  discharged  from 
the  army  in  the  spring  of ’the  latter  year.  In  1871  Mr. 
Henderson  left  home  and  the  next  three  years  were  spent 
at  Wichita,  Kansas.  He  was  married  while  living  there 
to  Cordelia  C.  Gillman,  who  was  born  near  Monticello, 
Iowa,  and  died  at  Coffeyville,  Kansas,  in  the  spring  of 
1879.  Her  only  child  was  Beulah  L.,  who  died  at  Alva, 
Oklahoma  in  1901,  after  her  marriage  to  W.  C.  Fergu- 
son, by  which  union  there  was  one  child  Carmalete. 

After  the  death  of  his  first  wife  Mr.  Henderson,  who 
had  already  gained  an  extensive  experience  on  the  cattle 
ranges  of  Central  and  Western  Kansas,  moved  to  the 
Sac  and  Fox  Agency  in  Oklahoma,  and  was  in  the 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1959 


employ  of  the  trader  John  Whistler  during  1879-80. 
He  continued  in  the  cattle  business  until  1882,  and  it 
was  during  that  time  that  he  first  became  identified  with 
the  Payne  Boomers.  In  1882  he  engaged  in  the  saloon 
business  at  Honeywell,  Kansas,  but  in  the  same  fall 
removed  his  business  to  Kiowa.  In  the  fall  of  1893,  with 
the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  he  took  up  a claim 
and  about  the  same  time  established  at  Alva  a saloon  and 
cold  storage  plant,  and  he  continued  to  be  identified  with 
that  business  until  the  admission  of  Oklahoma  as  a 
state  in  1907  and  the  consequent  closing  of  all  the 
saloons  throughout  the  territory.  He  soon  afterwards 
moved  to  Osage  County  and  has  since  been  a factor  in 
the  upbuilding  of  Avant. 

In  1900  at  Oxford,  Kansas,  Mr.  Henderson  married 
Carrie  A.  McCann.  She  brought  him  one  daughter, 
Edith  L.,  who  is  now  the  wife  of  James  L.  Beeler,  who 
is  now  conducting  the  bottling  works  at  Alva  which  rep- 
resents Mr.  Henderson’s  original  enterprise  in  that  city. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Henderson  also  have  an  adopted  son,  Fred 
Sweet  Henderson,  who  is  now  a farmer  in  Major  County, 
Oklahoma. 

Among  the  interesting  experiences  of  Mr.  Henderson 
there  should  be  recalled  one  which  followed  his  entry  into 
the  Panhandle  of  Texas  during  the  fall  of  1887  while 
the  Santa  Fe  Railroad  was  being  built  across  that 
territory.  He  located  at  Miami,  and  was  soon  after- 
wards involved  in  the  local  struggle  for  the  location  of 
a county  seat  for  Roberts  County.  For  a time  there 
were  two  sets  of  county  officials  in  Roberts  County,  and 
owing  to  the  fact  that  both  of  the  nominal  sheriffs  ap- 
pointed Mr.  Henderson  deputy  sheriff,  he  was  really  the 
only  legally  constituted  and  qualified  person  in  the 
county  government.  Politically  Mr.  Henderson  is  a 
democrat  and  has  fraternal  affiliations  with  the  Knights 
of  Pythias,  the  Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles  and  the 
American  Horse  Thief  Association.  During  his  early 
days  on  the  plains  Mr.  Henderson  for  about  fifteen  years 
allowed  his  hair  to  grow  long  until  it  fell  over  his 
shoulders  like  an  Indian,  and  there  is  a photograph  still 
extant  which  shows  him  in  this  picturesque  costume. 
During  the  many  years  that  Mr.  Henderson  conducted 
a saloon  at  Alva  it  is  only  a matter  of  justice  to  record 
that  he  never  had  a fight  on  his  premises  and  no  man 
was  ever  arrested  at  his  bar. 

Steven  P.  Hannifin.  Among  the  enterprising  and 
ambitious  citizens  of  the  enterprising  and  ambitious 
City  of  Devol,  Oklahoma,  none  has  labored  more  ener- 
getically in  the  interests  of  the  community  than  has 
Steven  P.  Hannifin,  proprietor  and  editor  of  the  Devol 
Dispatch.  During  the  two  years  that  he  has  conducted 
this  newspaper,  he  has  developed  it  into  one  of  the 
successful  journalistic  efforts  of  Cotton  County,  and  at 
all  times  has  given  over  its  columns  to  a stanch  support 
of  Devol  and  its  industries  and  institutions. 

Mr.  Hannifin  was  born  at  Waterloo,  Wisconsin,  July 
23,  1895,  and  therefore  is  but  twenty  years  of  age,  but 
it  would  seem  in  his  case  that  youth  has  been  no  bar  to  his 
success.  He  comes  of  good  old  Irish  stock,  his  grand- 
father, Steven  Hannifin,  for  whom  he  was  named,  having 
been  born  in  County  Kerry,  Ireland,  in  1805.  Shortly 
after  his  marriage,  the  grandfather  emigrated  to  the 
United  States,  settling  at-  Waterloo,  Wisconsin;  where 
he  continued  to  be  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits 
until  his  death,  in  1902,  when  he  was  ninety-seven  years 
of  age.  On  the  maternal  side,  Mr.  Hannifin ’s  grand- 
father was  Patrick  Griffin,  a native  of  County  Clare, 
who  on  his  arrival  in  this  country  located  at  Waterloo, 
Wisconsin,  but  later  moved  to  the  City  of  Madison,  in 
that  state,  and  there  died.  He  became  a man  of 


prominence  and  influence,  and  for  several  terms  repre- 
sented his  district  in  the  Wisconsin  State  Legislature. 

D.  L.  Hannifin,  the  father  of  Steven  P.  Hannifin,  was 
born  on  his  father’s  farm  in  Wisconsin,  June  12,  1863, 
and  was  brought  up  to  agricultural  pursuits,  in  which 
he  was  engaged  in  his  native  locality  until  1907,  being 
the  owner  of  a handsome  and  valuable  farm  located  one 
mile  north  of  Waterloo.  In  the  year  mentioned  he 
removed  to  Randlett,  Oklahoma,  where  he  established 
himself  in  the  furniture  and  undertaking  business,  and 
continued  at  that  place  until  1913,  when  he  added  his 
name  to  the  list  of  business  men  of  Devol.  Here  he 
has  continued  in  the  same  line  to  the  present  time, 
having  a modern  establishment  and  a large  and  repre- 
sentative patronage.  In  political  matters  a strong 
democrat,  while  a resident  of  Wisconsin  Mr.  Hannifin 
served  in  the  legislature  during  the  sessions  of  1902 
and  1904.  Mr.  Hannifin  was  married  to  Miss  Etta 
Griffin,  who  was  born  in  1870,  at  Waterloo,  Wisconsin, 
and  they  have  had  only  one  child:  Steven  P. 

Steven  P.  Hannifin  commenced  his  educational  train- 
ing in  the  public  schools-  of  Waterloo,  Wisconsin,  and 
was  twelve  years  old  when  he  accompanied  his  parents 
to  Randlett,  Oklahoma,  where  he  graduated  from  the 
high  school  in  the  class  of  1912.  At  that  time  he  secured 
a position  with  the  Bank  of  Randlett,  where  he  worked 
for  one  year  in  the  capacity  of  bookkeeper,  but  his 
inclinations  indicated  journalism  as  his  field  of  effort, 
and  in  1913  he  came  to  Devol  and  purchased  the  Devol 
Dispatch,  of  which  he  has  since  been  the  proprietor  and 
editor.  This  newspaper,  a democratic  organ,  was  estab- 
lished in  1909  by  M.  A.  Forgy,  and  it  was  purchased  by 
Mr.  Hannifin  in  1913.  It  circulates  in  Cotton  and  the 
surrounding  counties  and  has  also  a respectable  foreign 
list,  its  list  of  readers  constantly  growing  because  of  the 
able  management  and  clean  policies  of  its  owner.  The 
plant,  modern  in  every  particular,  with  equipment  for 
high  class  job  printing,  is  located  on  Wichita  Avenue. 
Mr.  Hannifin  has  “made  good”  in  his  chosen  field  of 
effort,  and  is  eminently  deserving  of  the  support  which 
is  being  given  him  by  his  subscribers  and  advertisers. 

Mr.  Hannifin ’s  political  views  make  him  a supporter 
of  democratic  principles.  He  is  a member  of  the  Wood- 
men of  the  World,  at  Devol,  and  his  religious  faith  is 
that  of  the  Roman  Catholic  Church.  He  is  unmarried. 

Edward  L.  Cruzan.  A resident  of  Oklahoma  for  more 
than  a quarter  of  a century,  Edward  L.  Cruzan  has 
become  widely  known  in  a number  of  lines  of  endeavor, 
having  been  successively  occupied  as  agriculturist, 
preacher,  chiropractor  and  merchant.  At  the  present 
time  he  is  head  of  the  prominent  firm  of  Cruzan  & Son 
Hardware  Company,  dealer  in  agricultural  implements, 
wagons  and  vehicles  and  binder  twine,  a concern  at 
Cushing  which  has  been  developed  to  large  proportions 
by  excellent  management  and  honorable  business  methods. 

Mr.  Cruzan  was  born  near  the  Town  of  West  Union, 
in  Adams  County,  Ohio,  May  10,  1862,  and  is  a son  of 
Proverbs  B.  and  Catherine  (Blackburn)  Cruzan,  the 
former  a native  of  Indiana  and  the  latter  of  Ohio.  He 
was  a farmer  by  vocation  and  for  a number  of  years 
carried  on  operations  in  Adams  County,  Ohio,  but  in 
1882  moved  to  the  West,  settling  on  a farm  in  Chau- 
tauqua County,  Kansas.  That  locality  continued  to  be 
his  home  until  1889,  when  he  moved  with  his  son, 
Edward  L.,  to  Oklahoma,  and  here  passed  away  near 
Cushing,  at  the  age  of  sixty-five  years.  During  the 
period  of  the  Civil  war,  while  living  in  Ohio,  he  attempted 
on  three  occasions  to  enlist  for  service  in  the  Union 
army,  but  was  each  time  rejected,  owing  to  an  injury 
he  had  received  in  youth  and  which  made  him  ineligible 


1960 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA  ' 


for  military  duty.  There  were  six  children  in  the  family, 
namely:  Willie,  who  died  in  childhood;  Mrs.  Elizabeth  • 

McKee,  who  is  deceased;  Thomas  J.,  who  resides  near 
Cushing;  Edward  L.;  U.  S.  Grant,  who  lives  on  his  farm 
five  miles  from  Cushing;  and  Nora,  who  is  the  wife  of 
Horve  Custer,  of  Pauls  Valley,  Oklahoma. 

Edward  L.  Cruzan  was  reared  on  his  father’s  farm  in 
Adams  County,  Ohio,  and  there  received  his  education  in 
the  public  schools.  He  was  twenty  years  of  age  when 
he  accompanied  his  parents  to  the  West,  and  in  the  fall 
of  1889  came  to  Oklahoma,  purchasing  one-quarter  sec- 
tion of  land  nine  miles  southwest  of  Stillwater,  a 
property  on  which  he  resided  until  1906,  then  disposing 
of  his  interests  and  moving  to  another  tract  on  Euchee 
Creek,  ten  miles  northeast  of  Cushing.  Mr.  Cruzan  con- 
tinued to  be  engaged  in  agricultural  operations  until 
the  winter  of  1914,  when  he  retired  from  that  line  of 
endeavor,  disposing  of  his  interests  therein  and  coming 
to  Cushing,  where  he  founded  his  present  business  of 
Cruzan  & Son  Hardware  Company,  succeeding  the  Cush- 
ing Trading  Company.  He  has  directed  the  affairs  of 
this  concern  with  judgment,  acumen  and  foresight,  and 
has  attracted  a large  trade  in  shelf  and  heavy  hardware, 
agricultural  implements,  wagons,  binder  twine  and  gro- 
eries,  making  a specialty  of  the  Deere  agricultural 
machinery.  Aside  from  this  business  Mr.  Cruzan  has 
practiced  during  the  past  four  years  as  a chiropractor, 
and  has  gained  success  and  reputation  as  a devotee  of 
the  science  of  adjusting  the  joints,  especially  those  of 
the  spine,  by  hand,  for  the  curing  of  disease.  For  about, 
six  years  he  was  also  a preacher  of  the  Holiness  faith, 
but  in  more  recent  years  has  been  a member  of  the 
Presbyterian  Church.  Mr.  Cruzan  is  a republican  in  his 
political  views  and  at  various  times  has  been  elected 
to  public  office,  having  been  particularly  active  in  educa- 
tional affairs  as  a member  of  the  school  board.  Since 
coming  to  Cushing  he  has  been  busily  engaged  with  the 
establishment  of  his  business,  but  has  found  time  to 
take  a lively  and  helpful  interest  in  civic  affairs. 

Mr.  Cruzan  was  married  in  1887  to  Miss  Ida  A.  Stout, 
who  was  born  July  17,  1866,  in  Indiana,  daughter  of 
Samuel  and  Eliza  Stout,  and  they  are  the  parents  of  five 
children:  Virgil,  who  is  a farmer;  Carl  B.,  who  is  his 

father’s  business  associate  in  the  firm  of  Cruzan  & Son 
Hardware  Company;  and  the  Misses  Golda  Belle,  Ethel 
and  Naomi. 

John  S.  Irwin,  of  Bartlesville,  is  one  of  the  big  men 
of  Oklahoma.  He  deserves  that  reputation  not  on  one 
count,  but  on  many.  He  is  a banker,  a leader  in  oil 
development  and  operations,  a big  farmer,  owning  a large 
estate  of  farms  and  managing  them  under  his  personal 
supervision.  Not  only  are  his  interests  in  a financial 
and  material  way  of  a large  scope,  but  his  mind  and 
character  are  developed  on  an  equally  broad  scale.  His 
friends  say  that  one  of  his  dominating  characteristics 
is  his  liberality.  His  business  success  can  no  doubt  be 
attributed  to  the  fact  that  he  possesses  a boundless 
energy  and  if  he  ever  loses  a minute  no  one  has  ever 
been  found  to  convict  him  of  the  loss.  He  is  readily 
approachable,  affable,  kindly  and  genial,  yet  those  who 
seek  him  on  business  or  for  some  other  reason  say  that 
he  is  one  of  the  hardest  men  to  find  in  the  state.  He 
is  seldom  in  his  office,  but  is  always  where  his  services 
are  most  needed  at  the  time,  giving  his  personal  super- 
vision to  every  detail,  and  that  is  just  as  likely  to  be 
out  on  one  of  his  farms  as  in  his  office. 

He  is  Seotch-Irish,  of  the  typical  stock  of  Western 
Pennsylvania,  and  the  fact  that  he  has  lived  his  life 
often  in  close  touch  with  the  hardships  of  circumstance 
as  well  as  with  prosperity  has  undoubtedly  made  him 
unusually  sympathetic  with  misfortune.  Those  who 


know  him  best  say  that  he  thinks  little  of  himself,  but 
all  for  his  family  and  his  friends,  and  has  helped  many 
a struggling  man  over  some  of  the  hard  rocks  of  the 
road. 

He  was  born  in  Butler  County,  Pennsylvania,  Feb- 
ruary 10,  1867,  a son  of  Samuel  and  Martha  J.  (Me- 
Candless)  Irwin.  His  parents  were  fine  old  Scotch-Irish 
people  and  spent  most  of  their  lives  in  Butler  County, 
Pennsylvania,  where  his  father  died  at  the  age  of  fifty- 
eight  and  his  mother  at  sixty-four.  Samuel  Irwin  was 
a gallant  soldier  in  the  Union  army  during  the  Civil  war, 
and  his  period  of  service  covered  practically  the  entire 
period  of  struggle  between  the  states  of  the  North  and 
the  South.  It  was  due  to  the  hardships  incurred  during 
his  military  career  with  a Pennsylvania  infantry  regi- 
ment that  his  early  death  abbreviated  his  useful  career. 
He  and  his  wife  were  members  of  the  United  Brethren 
Church.  There  were  four  sons  and  four  daughters  in 
the  family,  and  all  the  sons  have  been  useful  and  suc- 
cessful men,  though  undoubtedly  John  S.  Irwin  has  had 
the  faculty  of  doing  things  and  thinking  quickly  and 
acting  energetically  to  a degree  superior  to  them  all. 
A brief  record  of  these  children  is:  Mary,  wife  of  John 

G.  McKissiek  of  Oklahoma;  John  S. ; Robert,  a manu- 
facturer of  engines  in  the  State  of  Oregon;  Eva,  wife 
of  Loyal  Aggs  of  Washington  County,  Oklahoma;  James 
M.,  of  Bartlesville;  Samuel  C.,  a resident  of  Copan, 
Washington  County,  Oklahoma;  Carrie,  wife  of  Clyde 
Wicks  of  Butler  County,  Pennsylvania;  and  Belle,  of 
Pittsburgh,  Pennsylvania. 

Native  judgment,  common  sense  and  the  faculty  of 
going  ahead  and  doing  things  and  profiting  by  experi- 
ence have  been  the  factors  chiefly  responsible  for  John 
S.  Irwin’s  success.  He  had  very  little  book  learning, 
though  during  the  first  twenty-one  years  spent  on  the 
old  homestead  farm  in  Pennsylvania  he  attended  the 
public  schools  about  as  regularly  as  most  boys.  A few 
months  before  he  reached  his  majority,  in  1867,  he  came 
west  to  Sumner  County,  Kansas,  and  from  there  went 
to  Colorado',  spending  two  seasons  in  the  cattle  business. 
Eventually  he  became  associated  with  that  group  of 
stockmen  whose  operations  extended  from  Southern  Kan- 
sas by  lease  right  from  the  Cherokee  Indians  into  the 
old  Cherokee  Strip  of  Indian  Territory.  His  individual 
operations  were  at  a point  south  of  the  present  Village 
of  Caldwell.  He  was  among  the  cattlemen  affected  by 
the  ruling  of  the  Government  department  to  vacate  the 
strip,  and  all  his  improvements  were  confiscated.  Thus 
Mr.  Irwin  had  two  years  of  experience  as  a pioneer  in 
one  of  the  most  prosperous  sections  of  Oklahoma  prior 
to  its  opening  to  settlement. 

In  1892  Mr.  Irwin  married  Miss  Ollie  H.  Suddarth, 
and  for  the  following  two  years  was  a Kansas  farmer. 
He  then  returned  with  his  family  to  Pennsylvania  and 
turned  to  an  entirely  new  vocation,  the  oil  industry.  In 
that  as  in  other  things  he  succeeded  because  of  his 
temperamental  courage  and  instinctive  good  judgment. 
He  acquired  a complete  knowledge  of  all  the  technical 
details  of  oil  development  and  from  Pennsylvania  went 
to  West  Virginia  and  was  a factor  in  oil  operations  in 
that  state  until  1904.  In  that  year  he  came  to  Okla- 
homa. His  previous  years  had  brought  him  alternate 
success  and  vicissitudes  and  when  he  arrived  in  Okla- 
homa he  had  practically  nothing  and  in  fact  owed  some 
debts.  Some  of  his  early  associates  in  this  state  tell 
some  very  interesting  stories  that  show  Mr.  Irwin ’s 
positive  character  and  ability  to  convince  others  of  his 
resourcefulness  as  a worker.  It  is  said  that  he  could 
get  money  from  the  banks  when  even  men  with  much 
larger  visible  resources  failed,  and  he  did  this  not  by 
any  subterfuge  or  covering  up  the  real  circumstances 
of  the  case,  but  by  explaining  in  a straightforward 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1961 


manner  that  he  had  no  money  and  did  not  know  whether 
he  would  ever  be  able  to  repay  the  loan  or  not,  but  in 
some  way  he  had  the  power  of  giving  others  the  confi- 
dence which  he  seemed  to  feel  in  himself.  He  seldom 
encountered  much  difficulty  in  securing  an  outfit  of 
rigs  to  start  drilling  in  a new  district,  and  such  supplies 
were  furnished  him  on  credit  as  freely  as  they  would 
have  been  given  to  others  for  cash.  With  eight  years 
•of  experience  in  the  oil  business  of  Pennsylvania  and 
West  Virginia,  he  soon  proved  a factor  in  the  oil  develop- 
ment of  Northern  Oklahoma.  For  the  past  ten  years  he 
has  been  one  of  the  most  influential  men  in  developing 
the  oil  and  gas  fields  of  Oklahoma,  and  in  that  time  has 
drilled  over  200  wells  and  more  than  100  of  them  proved 
producing  properties.  At  the  present  time  he  is  president 
of  the  Matoaka  Oil  Company,  which  controls  several 
producing  wells  in  Washington  County,  and  is  also 
president  of  the  Hester  Oil  Company,  with  wells  in 
Greer  County. 

He  is  a stockholder  in  two  of  the  national  banks  of 
Bartlesville,  and  since  1912  has  been  active  in  buying 
and  improving  Oklahoma  lands,  both  as  a farmer  and 
stock  raiser.  One  of  his  ranches  comprises  1,700  acres 
and  is  situated  at  the  head  of  Candy  Creek  in  Osage 
County.  He  owns  a fine  farm  six  miles  south  of  Bartles- 
ville comprising  500  acres.  In  the  vicinity  of  Oglesby, 
in  Washington  County,  is  another  farm  of  200  acres,  and 
there  are  several  other  small  farms  owned  by  him.  He 
goes  at  his  farming  and  stock  raising  with  the  same 
energy  that  he  takes  into  other  business  affairs,  and 
never  neglects  a single  detail.  In  1915  he  had  300  head 
of  cattle  and  sixty  head  of  horses,  and  it  has  been  his 
ambition  and  his  policy  to  bring  the  standard  of  his 
stock  up  to  the  highest  possible  excellence.  Not  only 
in  the  management  of  his  extensive  private  affairs  but 
also  in  the  work  of  building  and  developing  Bartlesville 
does  he  deserve  special  mention.  He  has  done  things 
himself  and  has  been  influential  in  getting  things  done 
that  are  of  material  benefit  to  this  community.  He  was 
associated  with  William  A.  Smith  in  the  erection  of  the 
fine  store  and  office  building  on  Third  Street  known  as 
the  Irwin-Brin  Building,  Mr,  Smith  having  sold  his 
interest  to  L.  N.  Brin.  With  two  other  progressive  Bar- 
tlesville business  men,  Burlingame  and  Maire  Bros.,  he 
was  associated  in  the  erection  of  the  Empire  Building, 
and  also  in  the  erection  of  the  Maire  Hotel,  the  Elks 
Building  and  the  Bartlesville  Country  Club  Building. 

Politically  he  is  a republican.  Both  he  and  his  wife 
are  very  prominent  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church, 
of  which  his  wife  is  a member,  and  only  those  in  close 
touch  with  the  church  know  the  exact  quantity  of  his 
liberality  in  supporting  its  various  enterprises.  He  is 
affiliated  with  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of 
Elks,  is  both  a York  and  Scottish  Rite  Mason,  having 
attained  the  thirty-second  degree  of  Scottish  Rite  and 
is  also  a member  of  the  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine 
and  belongs  to  the  Country  Club.  Mr.  Irwin  is  proud 
of  his  family  and  the  mainspring  of  his  tremendous 
energy  and  working  ability  is  found  in  his  devotion  to 
his  home.  He  and  his  wife  have  four  children,  all  of 
whom  were  born  in  Kansas  except  the  youngest,  who 
was  born  in  West  Virginia.  Ima,  the  oldest,  is  the  wife 
of  Don  Tyler  of  Bartlesville,  and  they  have  one  child, 
Helen  Louise.  The  three  younger  children,  still  at  home, 
are  Iva,  Ivan  and  Ruth. 

John  T.  McWilliams.  The  flourishing  Town  of  Tip- 
ton  in  Tillman  County  was  founded  as  the  result  of  the 
enterprise  of  the  late  W.  A.  McWilliams  and  its  present 
site  was  originally  comprised  in  the  half  section  of  land 
owned  by  that  pioneer,  and  his  son,  J.  T.  John  T.  Mc- 
Williams has  himself  been  identified  with  the  town  from 


' its  beginning,  and  is  now  one  of  the  leading  merchants 
and  property  owners  and  a vigorous  and  public  spirited 
citizen. 

The  McWilliams  family  came  over  from'  Ireland  many 
years  ago,  and  were  pioneer  settlers  in  the  State  of 
Arkansas.  In  White  County  of  the  latter  state  John  T. 
McWilliams  was  born  October  6,  1876.  His  father,  the 
late  W.  A.  McWilliams,  was  born  in  Columbia  County, 
Arkansas,  in  1854,  and  died  at  Tinton,  Oklahoma,  October 
3,  1911.  He  was  a resident  of  White  County,  Arkansas, 
up  to  1884,  then  removed  to  Hico,  Texas,  and  in  1901 
brought  his  family  to  what  is  now  Tipton,  where  they 
were  the  first  permanent  settlers.  At  the  opening  of 
the  Kiowa  and  Comanche  reservation  he  brought  a bunch 
of  cattle  to  Lawton  and  in  September,  1901,  drove  his 
stock  to  Tipton  though  at  that  time  there  was  no  village, 
no  habitation,  and  nothing  but  a broad  expanse  of  un- 
cultivated and  unoccupied  wilderness.  In  Arkansas  and 
Texas  W.  A.  McWilliams  was  a substantial  farmer,  and 
continued  farming  and  stock  raising  combined  with  mer- 
chandising at  Tipton.  He  acquired  the  half  section  of 
land  on  which  the  town  has  been  built.  He  was  likewise 
influential  in  democratic  politics,  was  a deacon  in  the 
Baptist  Church,  and  was  affiliated  with  the  Woodmen  of 
the  World.  His  first  wife  was  Frankie  Manning  who 
died  in  White  County,  Arkansas.  She  was  the  mother 
of  John  T.  McWilliams  and  Lollie,  who  died  at  the  age 
of  fifteen.  W.  A.  McWilliams  married  Lizzie  E.  Black- 
well  of  White  County,  Arkansas.  She  is  now  a resi- 
dent of  Tipton,  and  is  the  wife  of  J.  M.  Baker. 
Mr.  Baker  owns  a half  section  of  land  near  Eldorado, 
Oklahoma,  has  an  interest  in  a cotton  gin,  a drug  store 
and  other  business  interests,  though  he  is  now  largely 
retired  from  active  pursuits. 

John  T.  McWilliams  attended  the  public  schools  at 
Hico,  Texas,  grew  up  on  his  father ’s  farm,  and  his  pre- 
vious training  and  native  vigor  enabled  him  to  take  an 
active  part  in  affairs  as  soon  as  he  came  to  Tipton.  Here 
he  was  first  engaged  in  farming,  and  was  associated  with 
his  father  in  the  diversified  cultivation  of  the  soil  and 
in  raising  stock  and  also  in  merchandising.  Before  the 
town  site  had  been  regularly  laid  out  his  father  estab- 
lished a general  merchandise  store,  and  the  land  sur- 
rounding that  nucleus  was  sold  in  small  parcels  and  lots 
to  the  new  comers  as  they  arrived,  and  thus  gradually  the 
town  came  into  being  and  its  growth  has  since  con- 
tinued until  it  is  a populous  and  busy  center.  Mr.  Mc- 
Williams now  manages  and  owns  most  of  the  original 
business  established  by  his  father,  his  mother  having  a 
quarter  interest.  The  store  is  situated  on  Main  Street 
at  the  corner  of  Broadway,  and  its  new  building  was 
erected  in  1910.  It  is  a prosperous  trading  center,  draw- 
ing trade  from  Tillman  and  Jackson  counties,  and  the 
farmers  come  in  for  a number  of  miles  from  every  point 
of  the  compass  to  lay  in  their  supplies  at  this  old  and 
reliable  house. 

Mr.  McWilliams  is  also  a director  in  the  Farmers  State 
Bank  at  Tipton,  has  served  on  the  town  council,  and  is 
an  active  democrat.  Fraternally  he  is  affiliated  with 
the  Masonic  order,  Tipton  Lodge  No.  417,  Ancient  Free 
and  Accepted  Masons,  and  with  Tipton  Camp  of  the  Mod- 
ern Woodmen  of  America.  In  1898  at  Hico,  Texas,  he 
married  Miss  Maudie  Watson.  Her  father,  J.  W.  Wat- 
son, now  occupies  his  farm  five  miles  southeast  of  Tipton. 
There  are  three  children  of  their  marriage:  Oran,  now  in 
the  eighth  grade  of  the  public  schools;  Ona,  in  the 
seventh  grade;  and  Aaron,  in  the  .fourth  grade. 

Pirl  B.  Myers,  M.  D„  is  of  German  descent,  although 
his  paternal  great-grandfather  was  born  and  reared  to 
maturity  in  Switzerland,  whence  he  immigrated  to  the 
United  States  in  the  early  part  of  the  nineteenth  cen- 


1962 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


tury.  Frederick  Myers,  grandfather  of  the  doctor,  was 
likewise  born  in  Switzerland  and  he  was  a mere  boy  at 
the  time  of  his  parents’  removal  to  this  country.  The 
family  settled  in  the  vicinity  of  Patton,  Missouri,  and 
there  engaged  in  farming  operations.  Eiley  Myers,  son 
of  Frederick  Myers,  was  born  on  his  father’s  farm  near 
Patton,  in  1851,  and  he  was  summoned  to  the  life 
eternal  in  July,  1914.  At  the  age  of  thirty  years  Eiley 
Myers  located  in  Barton  County,  Missouri,  and  one  year 
later  he  established  his  home  at  Edgewood,  that  state. 
In  1883,  however,  he  was  again  farming  near  the  old 
homestead  at  Patton  and  there  he  continued  to  reside 
during  the  remainder  of  his  life.  He  was  a republican 
in  his  political  affiliations  and  he  served  his  community 
as  justice  of  the  peace  for  a number  of  years.  He  was 
prominent  in  local  affairs  and  was  held  in  high  esteem 
by  all  who  knew  him.  He  married  Mary  Sharrock,  who 
was  born  at  Patton,  in  1855,  and  to  them  were  born 
seven  children:  Marcella  died  at  the  age  of  twenty 

years;  William  C.  is  a farmer  near  Patton;  Perry  J.  is 
an  electrician  for  the  interurban  railway  at  Coffeyville, 
Kansas;  Nick  is  a resident  of  Stillwell,  Kansas,  where 
he  is  telegraph  operator  and  agent  for  the  Missouri 
Pacific  Eailway  Company;  Emma  is  the  wife  of  W.  C. 
Evans,  a merchant  at  Doe  Eun,  Missouri;  Pirl  B.  is  the 
subject  of  this  sketch;  and  Eayford  E.  is  a teacher  in 
the  public  schools  of  St.  Louis,  Missouri:  Mrs.  Myers 
survives  her  honored  husband  and  now  resides  at  Patton, 
where  she  is  a member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church. 

At  Patton,  Missouri,  August  5,  1887,  occurred  the 
birth  of  Dr.  Pirl  B.  Myers.  He  passed  his  boyhood  and 
youth  on  his  father ’s  farm  and  was  educated  in  the  pub- 
lic schools  of  Patton,  where  he  graduated  in  high  school 
in  1906.  He  then  went  to  Coffeyville,  Kansas,  and  there 
worked  at  the  trade  of  carpenter  for  one  year.  In  the 
spring  of  1907  he  came  to  Oklahoma  and  worked  at  the 
trade  of  boilermaker  in  the  oil  fields  near  Tulsa  until 
fall,  when  he  was  matriculated  as  a student  in  Barnes 
University,  at  St.-  Louis.  He  was  out  of  school  during 
the  year  1909-10  and  during  that  time  worked  as  car- 
penter at  Garden  City,  Dodge  City  and  Kingsley,  all  in 
Kansas.  He  then  returned  to  college  and  June  17,  1912, 
was  graduated  with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine, 
receiving  the  same  from  the  American  Medical  College, 
which  is  combined  with  Barnes  University.  June  9,  10 
and  11  he  passed  the  state  board  medical  examination 
for  the  State  of  Oklahoma  and  immediately  entered  upon 
the  active  practice  of  his  profession  at  Bernice,  where 
he  remained  for  two  months.  He  came  to  Lookeba,  in 
Caddo  County,  October  29,  1912,  and  here  he  has  since 
resided.  He  controls  a large  and  lucrative  medical 
practice  and  has  been  very  successful  in  his  work.  His 
offices  are  located  on  Main  Street.  He  is  a member  of 
Caddo  County  Medical  Society  an'd  of  the  Oklahoma 
State  Medical  Society.  In  politics  he  is  a democrat 
and  in  religious  faith  is  a Methodist.  Fraternally,  he 
is  affiliated  with  Lookeba  Lodge,  No.  456,  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  of  which  he  is  past  noble  grand ; • 
Patton  Lodge  No.  10680,  Modern  Woodmen  of  America; 
Lookeba  Camp,  No.  919,  Woodmen  of  the  World;  and 
with  the  Oklahoma  National,  an  old  life  insurance  com- 
pany. Doctor  Myers  is  popular  with  all  classes  of  people 
and  he  is  looked  upon  as  one  of  the  rising  young  physi- 
cians of  this  section  of  the  state. 

August  31,  1911,  at  Kinsley,  Kansas,  was  celebrated 
the  marriage  of  Doctor  Myers  to  Miss  Myrtle  Smith,  a 
daughter  of  O.  E.  Smith,  who  owns  a section  and  a half 
of  fine  wheat  land  just  south  of  Kinsley.  Doctor  and 
Mrs.  Myers  have  one  child,  Neal,  born  December 
25,  1912. 


George  M.  Tredway.  For  practically  twenty-five 
years  Mr.  Tredway  has  been  intimately  associated  in  a 
commercial  way  with  the  people  and  affairs  of  the  old 
Osage  Nation,  and  it  is  doubtful  if  any  white  man 
stands  higher  in  the  esteem  of  those  citizens  than  Mr. 
Tredway.  For  a number  of  years  he  has  been  one  of 
the  leaders  in  commercial  affairs  at  Hominy  in  Osage 
County,  and  is  perhaps  best  known  at  the  present  time 
as  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  that  city.  The 
First  National  Bank  is  an  organization  now  ten  years 
old,  and  Mr.  Tredway  has  been  with  it  during  most  of 
its  existence.  As  a bank  it  is  a solid  institution,  well 
managed,  and  its  officers  are  all  .conservative  bankers. 
The  president  is  Prentiss  Price,  and  the  vice  president 
Daniel  B.  Maher,  and  these  three  men  comprise  a notable 
group  in  the  handling  of  financial  affairs  in  Osage 
County.  The  bank  is  capitalized  at  $25,000,  has  a sur- 
plus of  $30,000,  deposits  of  over  $200,000,  and  its  aggre- 
gate resources  according  to  a recent  statement  shows 
more  than  $300,000. 

How  Mr.  Tredway  first  came  to  be  identified  with  this 
section  of  old  Indian  Territory  is  an  interesting  little 
story.  He  was  born  at  Madison,  Wisconsin,  April  22, 
1872,  a son  of  William  and  Margaret  (McLaughlin) 
Tredway,  the  former  a native  of  New  York  and  the  latter 
of  Pennsylvania.  His  father  enlisted  from  New  York 
and  rose  to  the  rank  of  an  officer  in  the  United  States 
navy  during  the  Civil  war,  and  at  the  close  of  the  war 
was  married  at  Washington,  D.  C.,  and  soon  afterward 
went  out  to  Wisconsin,  where  he  followed  farming  until 
his  death,  and  his  widow  still  lives  there.  Of  their  three 
children,  John  D.  is  now  living  in  Seattle,  Washington, 
and  Mary  is  the  wife  of  Joseph  W.  Hanley  of  Eoberts, 
Wisconsin. 

After  getting  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of 
his  native  state,  George  M.  Tredway  went  to  visit  a 
relative  in  St.  Louis,  and  at  the  same  time  looked  for  a 
business  opening.  His  uncle  was  at  that  time  president 
and  the  active  head  of  the  wholesale  grocery  house  of 
the  Greeley-Burnham  Grocer  Co.,  and  one  of  the  valued 
customers  at  the  time  young  Tredway  was  making  his 
visit  was  Mr.  Campbell  of  Nowata,  Oklahoma.  Mr. 
Campbell  was  asked  as  to  the  prospects  for  an  opening 
in  a business  way  in  the  Southwest  for  the  nephew, 
and  Campbell  told  the  young  man  to  go  to  Bartlesville, 
Oklahoma,  and  inquire  for  Colonel  Bartles.  Thus  in 
1890  he  came  into  Indian  Territory  on  the  recommenda- 
tion of  Mr.  Campbell,  presented  himself  before  Col.  Jacob 
H.  Bartles,  and  was  almost  immediately  put  to  work. 
He  was  soon  afterwards  sent  by  Colonel  Bartles  to  his 
branch  store  in  Pawhuska,  operated  under  the  firm  name 
of  Barndollar,  Bartles  & Gibson.  Young  Tredway  was 
also  to  give  his  asistance  during  the  regular  distribution 
of  payment  and  rations  among  the  Indians.  He  lived 
at  Pawhuska  and  was  connected  with  the  mercantile 
business  until  1895,  and  since  then  has  had  his  home  at 
Hominy.  Here  he  was  connected  with  Eead  & Bopst, 
Indian  traders,  until  they  sold  out  to  W.  C.  Wood  & 
Company,  and  he  continued  with  the  new  firm  until 
February,  1904.  At  that  time  he  associated  with  Pren- 
tiss Price,  Fred  Drummond  and  Percy  Dixon,  formed 
the  Hominy  Trading  Company,  Incorporated,  with  Mr. 
Tredway  as  treasurer  and  one  of  the  active  managers. 
Several  years  later  he  sold  his  interests  in  the  trading 
company,  and  then  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business 
and  the  leasing  of  Osage  lands.  He  also  became  iden- 
tified with  the  First  National  Bank  as  assistant  cashier, 
and  on  the  death  of  the  late  Howard  M.  Maher  suc- 
ceeded to  his  position  as  cashier.  Mr.  Tredway  is  also 
treasurer  of  the  Osage  Gin  & Light  Company.  He  and 
Mr.  Price  conducted  a large  business  in  the  leasing  of 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1963 


farm  lands  in  this  part  of  Oklahoma,  and  has  carried  on 
extensive  farming  operations. 

In  politics  Mr.  Tredway  is  a democrat.  He  was 
elected  the  first  treasurer  of  Black  Dog  Township  and 
has  always  shown  a vigorous  and  public  spirited  attitude 
in  local  affairs.  He  is  a member  of  the  Presbyterian 
Church,  and  in  Masonry  is  affiliated  with  the  Consistory 
of  the  thirty  second  degree  Scottish  Bite  Masons  and 
is  a Knight  Commander  of  the  Court  of  Honor,  was 
one  of  the  charter  members  and  the  first  master  of 
Hominy  Lodge,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  is 
a member  of  the  Knight  Templar  Commandery  and  the 
Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  Through  his  intimate 
commercial  relations  with  the  Indians  through  the  f>ast 
twenty-five)  years  he  has  acquired  a fluent  command  of 
the  Osage  tongue.  He  prizes  a large  collection  of  Indian 
relics,  and  all  the  more  for  the  fact  that  he  has  bought 
none  of  them,  all  of  them  being  given  to  him  as  marks 
of  appreciation  and  friendship  by  different  members  of 
the  tribe. 

In  1895  Mr.  Tredway  married  Miss  Sally  B.  Hughes, 
who  was  born  in  Missouri,  a daughter  of  John  B.  Hughes 
of  Sedalia,  that  state.  They  have  two  daughters, 
Margaret  and  Frances,  both  of  whom  were  born  at  their 
home  in  Hominy. 

Milton  B.  Cope.  The  present  postmaster  of  El  Beno, 
Milton  B.  Cope,  is  a lawyer  by  profession,  and  is  one 
of  the  men  who  can  claim  the  honor  and  whose  name  will 
go  down  in  history  as  members  of  the  first  State  Legisla- 
ture of  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Cope  has  been  identified  with 
the  Oklahoma  bar  nearly  fifteen  years  and  throughout 
his  professional  career  has  been  more  or  less  closely 
identified  with  public  life. 

Milton  B.  Cope  was  born  in  Wilkes  Barre,  Pennsyl- 
vania, March  3,  1877,  a son  of  Chester  and  Permilla 
(Steele)  Cope.  On  his  father’s  side  he  is  of  Dutch 
descent,  while  his  mother’s  family  was  Seotch-Irish. 
Both  his  parents  were  born  in  Pennsylvania,  and  when 
Milton  B.  was  thirteen  years  of  age  they  came  west  in 
1890,  first  locating  in  Brooks  County,  Kansas.  Ten  years 
later,  in  1900,  they  located  in  Canadian  County,  Okla- 
homa, but  in  1902  removed  to  Gotebo,  in  Kiowa  County, 
where  they  now  reside.  Chester  Cope  has  always  fol- 
lowed farming  as  his  vocation. 

It  was  on  a farm  that  Milton  B.  Cope  spent  his  boy- 
hood and  gained  discipline  for  mind  and  body.  His  early 
education  was  acquired  in  the  common  schools,  and  in 
1895  he  was  graduated  from  the  Stockton  Academy,  now 
the  Northwest  Kansas  Normal  at  Stockton.  It  was  at 
Stockton  that  he  began  the  study  of  law,  in  one  of  the 
law  offices  of  that  place,  and  in  1901  was  admitted  to 
the  Oklahoma  bar  before  the  Supreme  Court. 

Mr.  Cope  served  as  deputy  county  attorney  of  Canadian 
County  from  1901  to  1904,  and  in  1907  was  elected  a 
member  of  the  first  State  Legislature.  In  the  proceed- 
ings of  that  body  which  put  into  effect  the  organic 
constitution  of  the  state,  his  name  is  frequently  men- 
tioned, and  in  many  ways  he  left  the  impress  of  his 
influence  on  the  first  body  of  statutes  of  Oklahoma  State. 
In  1908  he  was  re-elected  to  Office,  and  served  two  terms 
in  the  Legislature.  As  a lawyer  his  practice  has  been 
of  gratifying  proportions  almost  from  its  beginning. 
From  1907  to  1913  he  was  associated  in  practice  with 
James  I.  Phelps. 

Mr.  Cope  was  appointed  postmaster  of  El  Beno  by 
President  Wilson,  May  22,  1913.  Most  of  his  time  is 
now  given  to  the  affairs  of  an  office  which  in  extent  of 
receipts  and  business  transactions  is  one  of  the  largest 
in  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Cope  has  for  a number  of  years  been 
one  of  the  democratic  leaders  and  in  1912  was  chairman 
of  the  Canadian  County  Democratic  Central  Committee. 


Fraternally  his  membership  is  in  the  Masonic  Order,  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America.  He  is  a member  of  the  Christian 
Church. 

In  1905  Mr.  Cope  married  Miss  Ethel  Bradley  of  El 
Beno. 

George  W.  Canfield.  The  men  who  have  given  of 
their  energy,  ability,  enthusiasm  and  ambitious  vigor  in 
the  development  of  a community  are  entitled  to  the 
gratitude  and  respect  of  their  fellow  citizens.  In  every 
undertaking  there  must  be  a beginning,  and  the  indi- 
vidual who  lays  the  foundations  for  what  may  in  future 
years  become  a large,  prosperous  and  flourishing  city, 
must  be  possessed  of  the  courage  of  his  convictions, 
unlimited  faith  in  the  future  of  the  community  he  selects 
as  the  scene  of  his  activities,  and  the  ability  to  direct 
the  affairs  thereof.  When,  in  1900,  he  purchased  the 
townsite  of  Yale,  George  W.  Canfield  looked  far  beyond 
the  narrow  horizon  of  that  day  and  in  his  mind’s  eye 
saw  the  possibilities  of  this  rich  and  fertile  section  of 
country.  His  judgment  has  been  vindicated,  for  today 
this  is  one  of  the  most  promising  localities  of  Central 
Oklahoma,  and  he  has  prospered  by  his  foresight  and 
acumen,  being  the  owner  of  some  of  the  richest  oil  land 
in  the  world  and  the  head  of  the  Yale  Wholesale  Grocer 
Company,  a concern  which  has  been  developed  to  splendid 
proportions  under  his  personal  direction. 

Mr.  Canfield  was  born  at  Mattoon,  Illinois,  February 
1,  1863,  and  is  a son  of  Jesse  and  Catherine  (Bausman) 
Canfield.  His  father  was  born  in  Virginia  and  his 
mother  in  Pennsylvania  and  they  were  married  in  Ohio, 
following  which  they  first  moved  to  Indiana  and  later 
to  Illinois.  In  1869  they  again  turned  their  faces  toward 
the  West,  following  other  pioneers  to  Cherokee  County, 
Kansas,  where  Mr.  Canfield  secured  a claim,  subsequently 
becoming  one  of  those  to  lay  out  the  Town  of  Columbus. 
Later  he  returned  to  Carroll  County,  Arkansas,  and  then 
went  to  Madison  County,  in  that  state,  where  he  died  in 
1888,  at  the  age  of  forty-nine  years.  Mrs.  Canfield  sur- 
vived her  husband  many  years  and  passed  away  at  Jen- 
nings, Oklahoma,  at  the  age  of  sixty-nine.  During  the 
greater  part  of  his  life  Mr.  Canfield  was  an  agriculturist, 
but  he  was  also  successfully  engaged  in  the  sawmill 
business  and  conducted  a gristmill.  He  was  a republican 
in  politics.  There  were  eight  children  in  the  family, 
as  follows : W.  E.,  who  is  enga  ged  in  business  operations 

at  Yale  in  partnership  with  his  brother;  Miss  Ida,  who 
lives  at  Yale;  Anna  C.,  who  is  deceased;  George  W. ; 
Charles,  of  Fort  Lauderdale,  Florida;  Laura  Bradshaw, 
of  Kingston,  Arkansas;  Jesse,  of  Fort  Lauderdale, 
Florida;  and  Willis,  a hardware  merchant  at  Yale. 

George  W.  Canfield  received  a country  school  educa- 
tion and  remained  with  his  parents  until  twenty-two 
years  of  age,  at  which  time  he  left  home  and  spent  one 
year  in  cotton  picking  on  the  Arkansas  Biver.  Beturning 
to  Kingston,  Arkansas,  with  a capital  of  $7.50,  he  started 
a grocery  store  in  a small  way,  and  subsequently  added 
a modest  stock  of  drugs.  His  business  prospered  and 
after  three  years  he  sold  his  store  and  came  to  Okla- 
homa, being  first  located  at  Soonersville,  near  Cushing, 
later  at  Jennings,  and  finally  at  Yale.  In  1910,  with 
others,  he  purchased  the  townsite  of  Yale,  and  two  years 
later  iaid  out  the  town  in  company  with  his  brothers, 
W.  E.  and  Willis  Canfield,  Dr.  E.  G.  Newell,  E.  F.  Knowl- 
ton  and  G.  M.  Weems.  This  community  has  since  been 
his  home  and  the  scene  of  his  almost  phenomenal  success. 
With  his  brother,  W.  E.,  he  soon  bought  the  State  Bank 
of  Yale  and  continued  in  the  banking  business  for  two 
years,  and  when  he  retired  from  that  enterprise  started 
the  Yale  Wholesale  Grocer  Company,  of  which  he  has 
been  manager  and  president  to  the  present  time.  A 


1964 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


modest  concern  in  1907,  in  1915  this  company  did  a 
business  amounting  to  $400,000,  with  a branch  office  at 
Drumright,  Oklahoma,  its  statement  of  March  1,  1914, 
showing  the  following  figures:  Liabilities:  Accounts 

payable,  $40,223.48;  bills  payable,  $11,339.83;  cash  on 
deposit,  $703.72;  capital. stock,  $75,000.00.  Total,  $127,- 
267.03.  Assets:  Inventory  of  stock  on  hand,  $27,775.26; 
accounts  receivable,  $83,434.69;  bills  receivable,  $4,- 
648.02;  furniture,  fixtures,  etc.,  $769.30;  real  estate, 
$9,212.13;  cash  on  hand,  $1,427.63.  Total,  $127,267.03. 
In  December,  1913,  Mr.  Canfield  built  his  present  business 
house,  a structure  erected  of  native  stone,  50  by  124  feet, 
with  basement  under  all,  one  of  the  finest  buildings  iu 
this  part  of  the  county.  The  development  of  this  great 
industry  is  a striking  example  of  American  enterprise 
and  of  western  grit  and  initiative.  Mr.  Canfield  is  also 
the  owner  of  some  of  the  most  valuable  oil  land  in  the 
world,  and  is  interest  in  the  Twin  State  Oil  Company 
and  the  Sun  Oil  Company  of  Yale,  as  well  as  the  Webster 
Refining  Company  of  this  place,  of  which  he  is  president. 
He  has  large  holdings  also  in  the  Yale  State  Bank  and 
the  Farmers  National  Bank  of  Yale.  His  brother,  W.  E. 
Canfield,  is  associated  with  him  in  the  great  number  of 
his  interests.  Mr.  Canfield  was  the  owner  of  a town 
lot  at  Perry  which  he  secured  after  making  the  run  to  the 
Cherokee  Strip,  September  16,  1893,  and  which  later  he 
disposed  of,  and  also  has  a valuable  claim  north  of 
Jennings,  which  he  obtained  shortly  afterward.  In  poli- 
ties a republican,  he  is  ably'  discharging  the  duties  of 
citizenship  as  a member  of  the  Yale  City  Council. 
Fraternally  he  is  a Mason  and  an  Odd  Fellow  and  has 
passed  all  the  chairs  in  both  lodges. 

In  1893  Mr.  Canfield  was  married  to  Miss  Roxie  Wright, 
who  was  born  in  Arkansas,  a daughter  of  J.  M.  Wright, 
and  six  children  have  been  born  to  this  union : Jesse, 

Ralph,  Roy,  Teddy,  Ira  and  Wright. 

Mr.  Canfield  belongs  to  a family  which  can  trace  its 
ancestry  back  for  generations  in  this  country,  pointing 
with  pride  to  nine  Canfield  brothers  who  fought  in  the 
Revolutionary  war.  His  success,  however,  has  rested 
entirely  upon  himself,  and  has  naught  to  do  with  ances- 
try, save  as  he  may  have  inherited  the  sterling  traits 
of  sturdy  ancestors.  There  may  be  a feeling  of  family 
pride  when  an  individual  points  to  lands  and  possessions 
which  his  forefathers  have  gained  and  given  to  him,  but 
how  much  more  gratifying  it  must  be  to  realize  that 
one  is  the  builder  of  his  own  fortune  and  that  the  credit 
belongs  to  himself  alone  for  obstacles  overcome  and 
successful  results  accomplished. 

William  W.  Childers.  About  twenty-five  years  ago 
Mr.  Childers  began  his  career  as  a teacher,  after  obtain- 
ing the  benefits  of  a school  and  college  education,  fol- 
lowed that  profession  in  Mississippi,  Tennessee  and 
Texas,  had  a somewhat  extensive  business  experience  in 
the  latter  state,  and  since  1909  has  been  identified  with 
the  flourishing  Town  of  Tipton  in  Tillman  County,  where 
lie  is  now  cashier  of  the  Farmers  State  Bank.  He  was 
one  of  the  organizers  of  this  institution,  and  its  capital 
stock  is  $12,000  with  surplus  and  undivided  profits  of 
$6,000.  The  modern  brick  bank  building  was  erected  in 
1911  at  the  corner  of  Broadway  and  Main  Street,  and 
contains  the  largest  vault  in  Tillman  County.  The  pres- 
ident of  the  bank  is  C.  W.  Howard  of  Frederick,  while 
the  other  officers  live  at  Tipton,  including  R.  S.  Carlile, 
vice  president;  Mr.  Childers,  cashier;  and  Miss  Clara 
Childers,  assistant  cashier. 

The  Childers  family  originated  in  Ireland,  and  was 
established  in  one  of  the  Carolinas  during  the  colonial 
era.  The  grandfather  of  the  Tipton  banker  was  James 
Childers,  a native  of  Tennessee,  whence  he  removed  to 
Mississippi,  and  was  killed  while  a soldier  on  the  Confed- 


erate side  during  the  war  between  the  states.  William  W. 
Childers  was  born  at  Corinth,  Mississippi,  March  14, 
1874.  His  father,  S.  H.  Childers,  who  was  born  in  Ten- 
nessee in  1845,  grew  up  on  his  father’s  plantation  in 
Mississippi,  and  in  1861  enlisted  and  was  a Confederate 
soldier  throughout  the  course  of  the  war.  He  was  with 
a regiment  of  Mississippi  cavalry  under  the  command  of 
the  noted  Bedford  Forrest,  and  in  one  battle  was  wounded 
in  the  left  arm.  After  the  war  he  returned  to  Missis- 
sippi, and  since  1875  has  lived  at  Ripley  with  the  excep- 
tion of  about  three  years  spent  in  Corinth.  He  has 
been  a farmer  and  stock  raiser,  and  still  occupies  the 
old  homestead  at  Ripley.  He  is  an  active  member  of 
the  Baptist  Church  and  in  politics  a democrat.  The 
maiden  name  of  his  wife  was  Melinda  Griffin,  a native 
of  Alabama.  Their  living  children  are:  Etta  who  mar- 
ried John  D.  Wammack,  a farmer  near  Ripley;  Jennie, 
wife  of  R.  E.  Clark,  also  a farmer  near  Ripley ; William 
W. ; Luther  M.,  who  is  cashier  of  Bank  of  Elmer,  Elmer,. 
Oklahoma,  and  owns  a stock  ranch  in  Texas;  John  Y.,  a 
merchant  at  Clarysville,  near  Ripley,  Mississippi;  Esear, 
a farmer  and  stock  man  in  Mississippi;  J.  E.,  who  is  now 
a practicing  physician  in  Natchez,  Mississippi;  Obie,  who 
lives  on  the  farm  with  his  parents;  and  Clara,  assistant 
cashier  of  The  Farmers  State  Bank,  Tipton,  Oklahoma. 

Beginning  his  education  in  the  public  schools  at  Ripley,. 
Mississippi,  William  W.  Childers  continued  in  the  high 
school  at  Chalybeate,  Mississippi,  and  in  1894  graduated 
from  the  Southern  Tennessee  Normal  School.  In  1896 
he  graduated  bachelor  of  science  from  the  West  Tennes- 
see Christian  College.  With  this  thorough  training  he- 
taught  school  in  Tennessee  two  years,  and  in  1898  re- 
moved to  Southwest  Texas  and  continued  his  professional 
work  there  six  years.  From  1904  to  1908  he  was  in- 
business  at  Lake  Victor,  Texas,  and  then  spent  one  year 
in  the  real  estate  business  at  San  Antonio.  In  1909  Mr. 
Childers  removed  to  Tipton,  assisted  in  organizing  the 
Farmers  State  Bank,  and  became  its  cashier.  He  is 
vi«e  president  of  The  Bank  of  Elmer,  Elmer,  Oklahoma. 

In  politics  he  is  a staunch  democrat  of  the  old  line 
school.  He  has  served  as  city  clerk  at  Tipton,  is  now 
clerk  of  the  local  school  board,  is  city  treasurer,  and  for 
two  years  was  a member  of  the  village  council.  He  is 
one  of  the  strong  supporters  of  church  activities,  is  a 
steward  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  South  and 
superintendent  of  the  Sunday  School.  In  the  Tipton 
Lodge  No.  417,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  he 
is  serving  as  senior  warden,  also  belongs  to  Frederick 
Chapter  No.  41,  Royal  Arch  Masons,  has  membership  in 
the  lodge  of  Knights  of  Pythias  at  Burnet,  Texas,  and 
formerly  was  affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows  in  Tennessee. 

In  1905  at  Marble  Falls,  Texas,  Mr.  Childers  married 
Susie  Browning  Parkhill,  who  died  at  San  Antonio  in 
1909.  The  one  daughter  of  that  marriage  is  Ethel,  now 
attending  public  schools  at  Tipton.  At  Tipton  in  1912 
Mr.  Childers  married  Miss  Mattie  Reeves,  who  came  from 
Mayfield,  Kentucky. 

John  Skelley.  To  say  that  John  Skelley  of  Min- 
eral, Cimarron  County,  has  lived  in  the  Panhandle  dis- 
trict of  Oklahoma  for  a period  of  thirty  years  is  suffi- 
cient to  classify  him  with  the  real  old  timers  and' 
pioneers.  He  has  spent  all  his  life  in  the  Far  West, 
and  it  was  only  a few  years  ago  that  civilization  caught 
up  with  him.  For  years  he  lived  and  worked  on  the 
open  range,  when  the  country  was  innocent  of  settlers 
or  civilization,  except  a scattered  population  of  pioneers, 
and  when  towns,  railroads,  and  the  institutions  of 
developed  society  were  far  and  isolated. 

He  was  about  five  years  of  age  when  brought  to  the 
western  country  from  Montgomery  County,  New  York,. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1965 


where  he  was  born  April  2,  1864.  His  parents  were 
Michael  and  Louise  (Bailey)  Skelley,  the  former  a native 
of  Ireland  and  the  latter  of  New  York.  Michael  Skelley, 
who  was  born  in  Ireland  in  1820  and  came  to  America 
in  infancy,  had  a career  of  exceedingly  varied  experi- 
ence. In  the  early  days  he  conducted  a boat  on  the  old 
Erie  Canal  in  New  York  State.  In  1869  he  came  out 
to  Colorado  and  followed  various  occupations  afterwards, 
principally  ranching  and  running  a wagon  freighting 
train,  in  connection  with  his  brother,  from  various  points 
on  the  Kansas  Pacific  Railroad,  hauling  supplies  to  mili- 
tary posts  and  the  settlements  in  New  Mexico  until  the 
building  of  the  Santa  Fe  Railroad  through  that  territory 
in  1880.  He  was  a well  known  man  in  his  day.  He  died 
at  Pueblo,  Colorado,  in  1890.  His  wife,  Louise  Bailey, 
was  born  in  New  York  State  in  1839,  a daughter  of 
George  Bailey,  a native  of  the  same  state.  She  died 
January  3,  1903,  at  Sheridan,  Wyoming.  There  were 
eight  children  in  the  family,  four  sons  and  four  daugh- 
ters, five  of  them  still  living. 

John  Skelley  came  out  to  Trinidad,  Colorado,  with  his 
parents  in  1869.  As  a boy  he  attended  the  public 
schools  in  Trinidad,  Colorado.  When  only  fourteen  he 
started  out  as  a cowboy  on  a ranch.  The  next  seven 
years  were  spent  in  the  free  and  open  life  of  the  old  time 
cattle  man  on  the  ranges  of  New  Mexico  and  Wyoming. 
For  one  year  during  this  period  he  was  a government 
teamster  with  the  quartermaster’s  department  of  the 
United  States  Army  in  Wyoming  and  the  Black  Hills  of 
South  Dakota,  and  he  spent  one  year  with  a government 
surveying  corps  in  northwestern  Nebraska.  After  this,  in 
1885,  a little  more  than  thirty  years  ago,  John  Skelley 
directed  his  operations  to  what  is  now  Cimarron  County, 
Oklahoma,  then  described  in  the  school  geography  as 
No  Man’s  Land.  His  headquarters  have  been  here  ever 
since,  except  a period  of  two  years,  1892  and  1893,  when 
he  went  to  Montana.  He  was  first  a teamster  and  cow- 
boy, working  for  wages  for  different  pioneers  and  ranch 
companies,  but  gradually  his  activities  became  his  own, 
and  for  a number  of  years  his  operations  have  been 
such  as  to  constitute  him  one  of  the  leading  ranchmen 
and  citizens  in  this  district  of  the  Southwest.  He  now 
has  a large  ranch  twenty-four  miles  northwest  of  Boise 
City  at  the  old  Mineral  Postofiiee  in  Cimarron  County, 
comprising  eight  hundred  acres  of  deeded  land  and 
eight  thousand  acres  leased  for  ranch  purposes.  It  is  a 
ranch  in  size  and  equipment  equal  to  the  best  still  found 
in  the  ranching  country.  He  has  partly  modern  build- 
ings, has  set  out  a great  many  trees,  and  has  considerable 
land  under  cultivation.  The  water  for  his  ranch  is 
furnished  by  both  wells  and  stream.  His  home  is  noted 
for  its  hospitality,  where  the  weary  traveler  gets  both 
bed  and  board  without  question  or  price,  should  they 
need  it. 

For  thirteen  years  Mr.  Skelley  conducted  a general 
store  at  old  Mineral  City  in  No  Man’s  Land,  where  he 
still  resides,  his  postofiiee  address  being  Kenton,  Okla- 
homa, and  during  that  time  his  store  was  also  the  location 
of  the  postofiiee,  this  office  being  established  in  1888  and 
discontinued  in  1911,  and  he  served  as  postmaster  thir- 
teen years.  In  1904  he  was  appointed  United  States 
Court  Commissioner  for  the  Western  District  of  Okla- 
homa, and  in  1907  was  made  a regular  United  States. 
Commissioner,  an  office  he  filled  for  four  years.  He  is 
a republican,  though  he  has  been  too  busy  with  practical 
affairs  to  seek  office,  and  the  few  honors  of  that  nature 
that  have  come  to  him  came  unsolicited.  He  is  very 
popular  with  the  native  Mexican  population  of  that 
part  of  Oklahoma  and  New  Mexico,  and  he  speaks  the 
Mexican  language  like  one  of  them  and  has  their  respect 
and  confidence. 


On  April  25,  1895,  Mr.  Skelley  married  Miss  Lucy 
Dacy,  who  was  born  in  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  October 
12,  1871.  She  was  a daughter  of  James  Dacy,  a pioneer 
who  settled  in  No  Man’s  Land  in  1887  and  who  died 
in  1891.  To  their  marriage  have  been  born  five  children, 
two  sons  and  three  daughters:  John  Dacy,  born  De- 

cember 27,  1896;  Mary  Catherine,  born  June  7,  1898, 
and  died  July  23,  1898;  George  Lewis,  born  May  23, 
1899;  Frances  Louise,  born  April  5,  1902,  and  Lucy 
Elizabeth,  born  June  4,  1904. 

P.  R.  Williams.  When  Mr.  Williams  started  his  busi- 
ness career  fifteen  years  ago,  in  1900,  he  had  cash  capital 
of  less  than  $100.  In  Missouri  and  in  Northeastern 
Oklahoma  he  has  been  steadily  working  upward,  first  as 
a merchant  and  subsequently  as  a banker,  and  is  now 
the  cashier  of  the  First  State  Bank  at  Wynona  and  is 
a stockholder  in  four  other  banking  institutions  in  this 
part  of  the  state.  He  is  one  of  the  men  who  are  provid- 
ing the  business  leadership  for  Osage  County. 

Born  in  Lawrence  County,.  Missouri,  February  8,  1879, 
Mr.  Williams  is  still  a young  man  and  his  many  friends 
predict  a great  deal  for  his  future.  His  parents  were 
Jesse  A.  and  Eva  (Ham)  Williams,  the  former  a native 
of  North  Carolina  and  the  latter  of  Alabama.  His 
mother  came  to  Missouri  with  her  parents,  while  his 
father  removed  to  that  state  after  he  was  grown,  and 
was  married  in  Lawrence  County  and  both  died  on  the 
homestead  which  he  had  acquired  before  his  marriage. 
He  passed  away  at  the  age  of  sixty-five,  when  his  young- 
est son,  P.  R.  Williams,  was  eight  months  of  age,  and 
the  mother  lived  for  a number  of  years  and  died  at  the 
age  of  fifty-nine.  During  the  Civil  war  he  was  a soldier 
in  the  Union  army  with  a Missouri  regiment.  The  two 
oldest  children  are  John,  now  living  in  California,  and 
Jessie  A.,  of  Missouri. 

P.  R.  Williams  was  reared  on  a farm,  and  in  1899 
finished  his  education  in  the  Collegiate  Institute  at 
Marionville  in  his  native  county.  He  soon  afterwards 
became  identified  with  merchandising  at  Verona,  Mis- 
souri, and  that  was  his  home  until  he  removed1  to 
Oklahoma  in  1909.  One  year  was  spent  at  Mannsville, 
and  he  then  came  to  Wynona,  in  Osage  County.  He  and 
his  brother-in-law,  J.  M.  Browning,  organized  the  First 
State  Bank  of  Wynona  in  September,  1909,  and  Mr. 
Williams  has  since  been  its  cashier.  Mr.  Browning  has 
organized  six  different  banks  in  this  part  of  Oklahoma 
and  Mr.  Williams  has  an  interest  as  a stockholder  in  five 
of  them.  The  officers  of  the  First  State  Bank  are : 
J.  M.  Browning,  president;  J.  A.  Owens,  vice  president; 
P.  R.  Williams*  cashier;  and  Mrs.  Myrtle  Williams,  wife 
of  Mr.  Williams,  assistant  cashier.  The  bank  has  its 
deposits  guaranteed  by  the  Depositors  Guaranty  Fund 
of  the  State  of  Oklahoma. 

Mr.  Williams  is  active  as  a member  of  the  Methodist 
Church,  though  he  was  reared  a Presbyterian,  and  his 
wife  is  also  active  in  the  same  denomination.  In  1901 
he  married  Myrtle  Browning,  who  was  born  in  Lawrence 
County,  Missouri,  a daughter  of  G.  W.  Browning.  Mrs. 
Williams  was  graduated  from  the  high  school  at  Verona, 
Missouri. 

John  S.  Burger.  One  of  the  dominating  members 
of  the  Blackwell  bar  is  John  S.  Burger,  whose  ability 
to  render  skillful  service  in  the  profession  has  brought 
• him  rapidly  to  a place  of  prominence  in  his  section  of 
the  state.  Mr.  Burger  is  a former  county  attorney  of 
Kay  County,  and  is  one  of  the  pioneers  of  the  old 
Cherokee  Strip,  having  made  the  run  to  this  country  in 
September,  1893.  He  was  at  that  time  a young  man, 
and  for  a number  of  years  before  taking  up  the  law  was 
a successful  and  popular  teacher. 


1966 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


John  S.  Burger  was  born  in  Barry  County,  Missouri, 
February  25,  1871.  The  name  is  of  German  origin,  but 
the  family  have  been  identified  with  this  country  for 
several  generations.  His  grandfather  was  Rev.  Jacob 
Burger,  who  became  well  known  as  a Methodist  circuit 
rider  both  in  Tennessee  and  in  Missouri.  He  was  one 
of  the  leaders  in  the  abolition  movement  before  the  Civil 
war  and  preached  and  practiced  that  belief  at  a time 
when  it  was  an  exceedingly  unpopular  doctrine  and  ex- 
posed him  to  a great  deal  of  personal  danger  and 
inconvenience.  Rev.  Jacob  Burger  died  at  Leavenworth, 
Kansas,  in  1902,  at  the  age  of  eighty-seven  years.  The 
father  of  the  Blackwell  lawyer  'was  Lieut.-Col.  George 
Burger,  who  was  born  in  Tennessee,  and  he  and  his 
brother  Samuel  and  their  father  were  all  soldiers  in  the 
Union  army.  Colonel  Burger  made  a gallant  record  both 
as  a soldier  and  officer.  He  was  a mechanic  and  farmer, 
moved  out  to  Fort  Scott,  Kansas,  many  years  ago,  and 
died  in  Noble  County,  Oklahoma,  at  the  age  of  seventy- 
seven.  He  was  a strong  republican  and  a member  of 
the  Methodist  Church.  He  was  married  in  Bourbon 
County,  Kansas,  to  Nancy  Ellis,  who  was  born  in  Eng- 
land, her  family  having  come  from  that  country  and 
settled  in  Kansas.  Colonel  Burger  and  wife  were  the 
parents  of  five  children.  The  daughter,  Jennie,  now 
lives  in  Grant  County,  Oklahoma;  the  next  is  John  S.; 
W.  F.  is  a railroad  man  living  at  Seattle,  Washington; 
and  Finis  is  an  educator  at  Billings,  Oklahoma. 

John  S.  Burger  was  reared  in  the  states  of  Missouri 
and  Kansas,  and  largely  through  his  own  well  directed 
efforts  secured  a liberal  education.  He  is  a man  of  fine 
physical  frame  and  constitution  and  owes  its  develop- 
ment largely  to  the  discipline  of  a Kansas  farm  while 
he  was  a boy.  He  attended  the  public  schools  at  Winfield 
and  Ureka,  Kansas,  was  also  a student  in  the  State 
Normal,  and  spent  five  years  in  the  active  work  of  teach- 
ing. Some  years  after  locating  in  a homestead  in  Clay 
County,  Oklahoma,  he  returned  to  Kansas  and  entered 
the  university  at  Lawrence,  where  he  was  graduated  from 
the  law  department  with  the  class  of  1903.  Since  then 
he  has  been  engaged  in  a successful  practice  at  Black- 
well.  He  was  elected  county  attorney  of  Clay  County 
in  1912,  and  the  following  two  years  gave  a most 
effective  administration  to  that  office.  He  is  a well  read 
lawyer,  and  stands  high  in  his  profession.  In  politics 
he  is  a democrat. 

Mr.  Burger  was  married  May  30,  1897,  in  Kansas,  to 
Miss  Carrie  Barkly.  Mrs.  Burger  was  born  in  Illinois 
but  was  reared  in  the  State  of  Kansas,  and  her  father, 
J.  S.  Barkly,  now  lives  at  Tonkawa,  Oklahoma.  To  this 
union  have  been  born  two  sons  and  four  daughters: 
Marietta,  Altha,  John  S.,  Jr.,  Irena,  William  and  Leonora. 
Mrs.  Burger  is  a member  of  the  Christian  Church.  He 
has  taken  much  interest  in  Masonry,  and  is  affiliated 
with  the  lodge,  chapter  and  commandery,  and  is  also  a 
member  of  the  India  Temple  of  the  Nobles  of  the 
Mystic  Shrine  at  Oklahoma  City.  Mr.  Burger,  along 
with  a fine  knowledge  of  the  law,  has  the  ability  of  the 
forcible  speaker,  and  these  qualities,  united  with  a frank 
and  genial  manner,  have  brought  him  hosts  of  friends/ 
as  well  as  a conspicuous  position  in  his  profession. 

James  H.  Townsend.  In  the  autumn  of  1914  Mr. 
Townsend  was  elected  sheriff  of  Payne  County,  where- 
upon he  removed  from  the  Village  of  Cushing  to  Still- 
water, the  county  seat,  and  his  alert  and  efficient 
administration  is  clearly  proving  that  he  is  the  right 
man  in  the  right  place  and  that  the  confidence  of  the 
electors  of  the  county  was  fully  justified  when  they 
called  him  to  his  present  important  and  exacting  office. 

Sheriff  Townsend  was  born  at  Sulphur  Springs,  the 
judicial  center  of  Hopkins  County,  Texas,  on  the  22d 


of  July,  1875,  and  is  a son  of  William  A.  and  Elizabeth 
(Perry)  Townsend,  the  former  of  whom  was  born  in 
Mississippi  and  the  latter  in  Alabama,  she  having  been 
fourteen  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  the  family  removal 
to  Texas,  prior  to  the  Civil  war,  and  having  been  reared 
and  educated  in  the  Lone  Star  State,  where  her  marriage 
was  solemnized.  When  the  subject  of  this  review  was  a 
child  of  six  months  his  parents  removed  from  his  native 
place  to  Cheeota,  Lamar  County,  Texas,  where  he  re- 
ceived his  early  education  in  the  public  schools.  The 
family  then  removed  to  Montague  County,  in  the  northern 
part  of  the  state,  and  the  present  sheriff  of  Payne 
County,  Oklahoma,  was  still  a mere  lad  when  he  came 
with  his  parents  to  Indian  Territqry,  about  1887.  Mr. 
Townsend  thus  gained  varied  experience  in  connection 
with  frontier  life  in  old  Indian  Territory  and  is  con- 
sistently to  be  designated  as  one  of  the  pioneer  citizens 
of  Oklahoma,  where  he  has  kept  step  with  the  march  of 
development  and  progress  and  has  witnessed  the  up- 
building of  a vigorous  and  prosperous  commonwealth. 
The  parents  of  Sheriff  Townsend  have  maintained  their 
home  in  Pontotoc  County,  Oklahoma,  for  nearly  a score 
of  years  and  the  father  has  become  one  of  the  repre- 
sentative farmers  and  influential  citizens  of  that  county. 
Of  the  children  Sheriff  Townsend  is  the  eldest;  John  is 
deceased;  Joseph  is  now  a resident  of  McNabb,  Arkansas; 
and  Jennie  is  the  wife  of  Frederick  W.  Hutsey,  of  Okla- 
homa City. 

The  present  sheriff  of  Payne  County  remained  at  the 
parental  home  until  he  had  attained  to  the  age  of 
sixteen  years.  As  a youth  he  was  identified  with  the 
cattle  industry  on  the  ranges  of  Western  Texas  and  the 
Indian  Territory,  and  about  1891  his  operations  brought 
him  into  Indian  Territory.  He  passed  about  two  years 
in  the  Chickasaw  region  and  then  returned  to  Texas.  He 
lias  maintained  his  permanent  residence  in  what  is  now 
the  State  of  Oklahoma  since  1895.  He  resided  in  Ponto- 
toc County  until  1901  and  then  established  his  home  at 
Sapulpa,  Creek  County,  where  he  remained  until  May, 
1913,  when  he  became  a resident  of  Cushing,  Payne 
County.  While  a resident  of  Cushing  Mr.  Townsend 
was  elected  sheriff  of  the  proposed  County  of  Shaffer, 
but  in  the  popular  election  the  county  failed  of  organi- 
zation by  a majority  of  sixty  votes,  so  that  the  officers 
elected  in  anticipation  of  its  establishment  were  not 
called  upon  to  serve. 

Mr.  Townsend  is  a skilled  mechanic,  and  as  such  has 
been  prominently  identified  with  railroad  work,  in  which 
connection  he  has  been  employed  in  various  railway 
shops  in  Oklahoma.  While  a resident  of  Sapulpa  he 
served  for  some  time  as  special  agent  for  the  St.  Louis 
& San  Francisco  Railroad,  and  at 'the  same  place  he  was 
also  called  upon  to  serve  as  a member  of  the  police  force 
and  as  under-sheriff.  His  official  service  as  a member 
of  the  constabulary  of  Creek  County  was  initiated  at  the 
time  of  the  opening  of  developments  in  the  oil  fields  of 
that  locality.  In  the  autumn  of  1914,  as  before  noted,  he 
was  elected  to  the  office  of  sheriff  of  Payne  County,  a 
position  for  which  his  previous  experience  and  his  general 
equipoise  specially  qualify  him.  The  sheriff  gives  his 
allegiance  to  the  democratic  party  and  is  identified  with 
a number  of  fraternal  and  social  organizations. 

On  the  18th  of  November,  1897,  Sheriff  Townsend 
wedded  Miss  Rosa  Lee  Solwell,  who  was  born  in  Tarrant 
% County,  Texas,  and  who  was  reared  to  majority  in 
Montague  County,  that  state.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Townsend 
have  two  children,  Elmer  Edwin,  who  was  born  March 
13,  1904,  and  Horace  Haskell,  who  was  born  November  8, 
1907,  and  who  was  named  in  honor  of  the  first  governor 
of  the  new  State  of  Oklahoma,  which  was  admitted  to  the 
Union  in  that  year. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1967 


Frank  Grover  Patterson.  One  of  the  youngest  mem- 
bers pf  the  newspaper  fraternity  in  Western  Oklahoma 
is  Frank  G.  Patterson,  proprietor  and  editor  of  the 
Davidson  News.  While  a very  young  man  in  years, 
Mr.  Patterson  has  had  an  extensive  experience  in  the 
newspaper  business,  printing  and  allied  arts,  and  for  fully 
eight  years  has  been  identified  with  the  papers  of  Till- 
man County. 

He  represents  an  old  pioneer  family  of  Livingston 
County,  Missouri,  and  was  born  in  the  City  of  Chilli- 
cothe,  in  that  county,  May  31, 1889.  The  Patterson  family 
originally  came  from  England,  was  subsequently  found 
both  in  Kentucky  and  Tennessee,  and  Mr.  Patterson’s 
grandfather  Thomas  Newton  Patterson  was  born  in  Ken- 
tucky in  1816,  shortly  after  his  marriage  moved  to  Chilli- 
30the,  Missouri,  where  he  became  one  of  the  first  farmers 
in  Livingston  County,  and  died  at  Waterloo,  Oklahoma,  in 
1905.  T.  J.  Patterson,  father  of  the  Davidson  editor, 
was  born  at  Chillieothe  in  1863,  and  still  lives  in  that 
city.  In  earlier  years  he  was  a teacher  in  the  Chillieothe 
public  schools,  but  eventually  took  up  the  business  of 
contractor  and  builder,  and  has  had  a large  business  in 
that  line  at  Chillieothe  and  vicinity,  and  has  also  carried 
out  building  contracts  at  El  Eeno  and  in  other  parts  of 
Oklahoma.  T.  J.  Patterson  married  Laura  Belle  Hen- 
derson, a native  of  Chillieothe.  Their  children  are : 
Arthur,  who  lives  at  Louisville,  Kentucky;  Elizabeth, 
wife  of  Cam  Fullerton,  an  elevator  constructor  at  Kansas 
City,  Missouri;  Bae,  who  married  Boy  Berg,  an  electri- 
cian at  Chillieothe;  Frank  G.;  Harry,  a linotype  operator 
at  Kansas  City  ; Thomas,  a senior  in  the  Chillieothe  High 
School;  and  Lena,  also  in  high  school. 

The  public  schools  of  Chillieothe  furnished  Frank 
Grover  Patterson  his  early  training,  but  at  an  early  age 
he  entered  the  great  university  of  a printing  shop,  serv- 
ing an  apprenticeship  at  Chillieothe.  In  1907  he  came  to 
Southwestern  Oklahoma  and  was  employed  first  with 
the  Frederick  Enterprise.  He  managed  the  paper  and 
subsequently  other  papers  in  Tillman  County  up  to  1911, 
in  which  year  he  came  to  Davidson  and  bought  the  News 
from  U.  L.  Jolly,  and  has  since  been  its  proprietor  and 
editor.  The  News  is  democratic  in  politics,  has  a circu- 
lation throughout  Tillman  and  neighboring  counties,  and 
its  offices  and  plant  are  well  equipped  for  newspaper  and 
job  printing. 

Mr.  Patterson  himself  is  a democrat,  and  has  made 
himself  a factor  in  all  public  spirited  movements  under- 
taken at  Davidson  during  recent  years.  He  was  mar- 
ried at  Frederick,  Oklahoma,  in  1908  to  Miss  Elizabeth 
Pike,  a daughter  of  B.  M.  Pike,  who  is  proprietor  of  a 
'hotel  at  Wichita  Falls,  Texas.  Mr.  Patterson  and  wife 
have  two  children:  Lois  born  May  26,  1909,  and  Louise, 
born  December  23,  1911. 

John  Biley  Thacker.  The  life  of  a literary  man 
seldom  exhibits  any  of  those  striking  incidents  that  seize 
upon  public  feeling  and  fix  attention  upon  himself.  His 
character,  for  the  most  part,  is  made  up  of  the  aggregate 
of  the  qualities  and  qualifications  he  may  possess,  as 
these  may  be  elicited  by  the  exercise  of  the  duties  of 
his  vocation  or  the  particular  profession  to  which  he  may 
belong.  However,  it  may  be  said  that  John  Biley 
Thacker  presents  an  exception  to  the  general  rule.  His 
career  ha3  been  passed  largely  in  a literary  atmosphere, 
for  a major  part  of  his  activities  have  been  spent  in 
the  schoolroom  and  in  connection  with  journalistic  work; 
yet  he  has  also  impressed  himself  and  his  character  upon 
the  people  of  the  communities  in  which  he  has  resided 
as  a capable  worker  in  other  fields  of  endeavor,  and  his 
various  achievements  have  raised  his  reputation  greatly 
above  that  of  the  mediocre  worker  in  the  world  of  let- 
ters. 

Vol  V— 14 


John  Biley  Thacker,  proprietor  and  editor  of  the 
Eldorado  Courier,  was  born  at  Bandolph,  Fannin  County, 
Texas,  December  5,  1869,  and  is  a son  of  James  Biley 
and  Susanna  Elizabeth  (Patton)  Thacker,  and  a member 
of  a family  of  Seotch-Irish  origin,  whose  original  an- 
cestor in  America  came  to  Virginia  in  the  seventeenth 
century.  Members  of  the  family  spread  from  that  state 
to  others  of  the  South  in  early  days,  and  a connection 
of  the  branch  to  which  Mr.  Thacker  belongs  was  Daniel 
Boone,  the  great  American  frontiersman,  explorer  and 
colonizer.  James  Biley  Thacker  was  born  in  Mississippi, 
March  16,  1833,  and  from  that  state  removed  with  his 
parents  to  Louisiana  and  later  to  near  Longview,  Gregg 
County,  Texas.  About  the  time  of  the  beginning  of 
the  Civil  war  Mr.  Thacker  went  to  the  California  gold 
fields,  where  he  spent  seven  years  in  mining,  and  in 
1867  returned  to  Collin  County,  Texas,  from  whence  he 
went  to  Fannin  County,  in  the  same  state,  and  there, 
October  30,  1868,  was  married  to  Susannah  Elizabeth 
Patton,  who  was  born  at  Bandolph,  Texas,  December 
30,  1844,  where  they  still  reside.  Mr.  Thacker  has 
passed  his  entire  life  as  a farmer  and  stockman,  and  has 
also  been  a local  preacher  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church,  South.  He  is  a member  of  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  There  were  nine  children  in  the 
family  of  James  B.  and  Susanna  E.  Thacker,  as  follows: 
John  Biley;  Martha  Jane,  who  died  in  1903  as  the  wife 
of  Jacob  Colvin,  who  now  resides  in  Florida;  Cora  Ann, 
who  married  B.  N.  Davenport,  a farmer  of  Harleton, 
Texas;  Ida  Catherine,  who  died  at  the  age  of  eighteen 
years;  Bobert  Oscar,  formerly  a railroad  man  for  a 
number  of  years  and  now  a farmer  of  Fannin  County, 
Texas,  residing  at  Bandolph ; Benjamin  William,  a barber 
of  Denison,  Texas;  James  Edwin,  who  died  as  a child; 
Elijah  Otto,  a farmer  and  school  teacher  of  Bandolph, 
Texas;  and  Miss  Julia  May,  who  is  single  and  resides 
at  the  home  of  her  parents. 

John  Biley  Thacker  attended  the  public  schools  at 
Bandolph,  and  was  graduated  from  Bandolph  High  School 
in  the  class  of  1889.  He  had  shown  himself  a penmaster 
while  at  school  and  for  a short  time  was  engaged  in 
teaching  penmanship  in  Fannin  and  Williamson  counties, 
Texas,  and  in  1892  received  his  introduction  to  journal- 
istic work  when  he  became  connected  with  a printing 
office  at  Bonham,  Texas,  where  was  published  the  Farm- 
ers’ Beview.  After  one  year  with  this  paper  and  a like 
period  spent  in  farming,  Mr.  Thacker  became  identified 
with  the  Leonard  Graphic,  at  Leonard,  Texas,  a publi- 
cation with  which  he  was  connected  on  and  off  until  1896, 
when  he  identified  himself  with  a paper  at  Savoy,  Texas, 
and  about  this  time  published  a small  book  of  poems 
entitled  ‘ ‘ Boyhood ’s  Pencilings,  ’ ’ which  was  received 
very  favorably  by  both  press  and  public.  From  that 
time  forward  Mr.  Thacker  was  employed  by  various 
newspapers  and  wrote  articles^  of  a miscellaneous  charac- 
ter until  1900,  when  he  became  district  organizer  in 
Montague  County,  Texas,  for  the  Woodmen  of  the 
World,  and  after  leaving  that  position  attended  Draug- 
hon’s  Business  College,  at  Fort  Worth,  Texas.  In  1901 
he  occupied  a position  with  the  Brownwood  (Texas) 
Business  College,  teaching  bookkeeping  and  penmanship, 
and  in  the  same  year  went  to  San  Angelo,  Texas,  where 
he  occupied  a like  post.  Beturning  to  Fannin  County  in 
1902,  he  was  employed  in  a printing  office  there  and  at 
Whitewright  for  a time,  and  again,  in  1903,  took  up  his 
educational  labors,  teaching  commercial  branches  at  the 
East  Texas  Normal  College.  While  thus  engaged  he  was 
employed  also  as  the  college  printer  and  took  a literary 
course  himself,  being  graduated  in  1906  with  the  Bache- 
lor of  Arts  degree.  That  year  marked  Mr.  Thacker’s 
advent  at  Eldorado,  where  for  one  year  he  taught  a coun- 
try school,  and  in  February,  1908,  went  to  Hollis,  where 


1968 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


he  purchased  the  Hollis  Post-Herald,  which  he  edited 
for  two  years,  and  in  1909-1910  occupied  the  position 
of  chief  of  the  engrossing  and  enrolling  department  of 
the  State  Senate,  a capacity  in  which  he  acted  also  in 
the  year  1915.  In  1910,  when  he  accepted  the  position 
of  adjuster  for  the  Oklahoma  State  School  Land  Depart- 
ment, his  duties  were  such  that  he  was  forced  to  sell 
his  newspaper,  but  later  in  the  same  year  he  bought  the 
Eldorado  Courier,  of  which  he  has  continued  to  be  pro- 
prietor and  editor.  This  paper  is  the  combination  of 
the  Eldorado  Light,  founded  in  1901,  and  the  original 
Eldorado  Courier,  founded  in  1902,  and  assumed  its 
present  form  in  the  latter  year.  Originally  a supporter 
of  republican  principles,  since  Mr.  Thacker’s  ownership 
it  has  been  a democratic  organ,  and  exerts  a strong 
influence  in  public  and  political  affairs  in  Jackson, 
Harmon  and  the  surrounding  counties,  where  it  enjoys 
a large  circulation.  The  offices  and  plant  are  situated  on 
Main  Street,  and  have  an  equipment  that  equals  any  in 
the  state  in  towns  the  size  of  Eldorado.  The  Courier  is 
well  printed  and  well  edited,  giving  its  readers  the  latest 
news,  presented  in  an  interesting  and  reliable  manner, 
and  its  columns  have  always  been  open  to  matter  sup- 
porting the  civic  welfare.  It  is  considered  a good  adver- 
tising medium  and  is  being  given  generous  support  by 
the  business  men  of  this  and  surrounding  communities. 
Mr.  Thacker  is  a stalwart  democrat,  but  his  activities  in 
public  life  have  been  more  as  an  influence  than  as  a 
seeker  for  personal  preferment.  Fraternally  he  is  an 
ex-member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Praetorians, 
and  a member  of  Eldorado  Lodge  No.  181,  Ancient  Free 
and  Accepted  Masons;  Eldorado  Chapter  No.  56,  Royal 
Arch  Masons;  Eldorado  Council  No.  19;  Consistory  No. 
1,  "Valley  of  Guthrie,  eighteenth  degree  of  Masonry;  Eldo- 
rado Chapter  No.  178,  Order  of  the  Eastern  Star; 
Mesquite  Camp  No.  69,  Woodmen  of  the  World,  Eldorado; 
and  Mesquite  Grove  No.  228,  Woodmen  Circle. 

On  February  6,  1910,  at  Erick,  Oklahoma,  Mr.  Thacker 
was  married  to  Miss  Bertha  Briley,  daughter  of  John 
Briley,  a retired  farmer  of  Mangum,  Oklahoma.  One 
ehild  has  come  to  this  union:  James  Glenn,  born  October 
25,  1913,  at  Eldorado. 

J.  .1.  Cloughley.  A little  more  than  twenty  years 
ago  Mr.  Cloughley  was  a messenger  boy  in  the  employ 
of  the  railroad  company  at  Parsons,  Kansas.  He  went 
through  several  grades  of  the  railroad  service,  but  for 
the  last  dozen  years  has  been  active  in  a similar  progres- 
sive fashion  in  connection  with  Oklahoma  and  Indian 
Territory  banking,  and  is  now  president  of  the  First 
National  Bank  of  Bingling.  He  is  one  of  the  able  men 
in  Oklahoma’s  banking  fraternity,  and  his  name  and 
influence  are  respected  all  over  the  southern  counties 
of  the  state. 

The  First  National  Bank  of  Ringling,  in  the  estab- 
lishment of  which  Mr.  Cloughley  was  the  principal 
factor,  was  founded  May  23,  1914,  and  has  occupied  its 
new  building  on  Main  Street  since  December  15th  of 
that  year.  The  officers  of  the  institution  are : Mr. 

Cloughley,  president;  L.  P.  Anderson,  vice  president; 
A.  A.  Morris,  cashier.  Its  capital  stock  is  $50,000  and  in 
a year’s  time  its  resources  have  shown  a gratifying 
increase  and  its  management  has  gained  the  confidence 
of  the  business  community  in  and  around  Ringling. 

John  J.  Cloughley  is  a native  of  Kansas,  born  in 
Parsons  December  14,  1874.  His  parents,  John  and 
Margaret  (Canada)  Cloughley,  were  both  natives  of 
Liverpool,  England,  and  in  the  family  are  mingled 
strains  of  both  English  and  Scotch.  John  Cloughley, 
who  was  born  in  1843,  is  now  living  at  Parsons,  Kansas. 
He  came  to  this  country  in  1873,  bringing  his  wife  and 


three  children,  and  for  many  years  was  an  engineer 
employed  by  the  Missouri,  Kansas  & Texas  Railroad 
with  headquarters  at  Parsons.  He  is  now  a retired  rail- 
road man.  He  is  a staunch  republican  and  a member 
of  the  Episcopal  Church.  He  and  his  wife  had  eight 
children:  Robert,  who  is  a retired  railroad  engineer 

at  Parsons;  Maggie,  who  married  Mr.  Fuller  and 
resides  in  Bellingham,  Oregon;  Nellie,  wife  of  Frank 
Paragory,  superintendent  of  a foundry  at  McAlester, 
Oklahoma;  Isabelle,  wife  of  L.  C.  Minkler,  an  engineer 
for  the  Southern  Pacific  Railway  living  at  San  Bernan- 
dino,  California;  John  J. ; William,  who  is  secretary  of 
the  National  Livestock.  Commission  Company  at  Kansas 
City,  Missouri;  Anna,'  who  lives  at  Sedalia,  Missouri, 
her  husband  being  a conductor  on  the  Missouri,  Kansas 
& Texas  Railroad;  and  Susie,  who  lives  at  Wichita, 
Kansas,  and  whose  husband  is  a contractor  and  builder. 

J.  J.  Cloughley  acquired  his  education  in  the  public 
schools  at  Parsons.  At  the  age  of  seventeen  he  found 
work  as  messenger  boy  for  the  Missouri,  Kansas  & Texas 
Railroad,  and  by  1892  had  become  proficient  in  teleg- 
raphy and  for  ten  years  was  employed  by,  the  railroad 
as  operator  and  train  dispatcher.  During  that  time  his 
home  was  at  Parsons.  In  1902  Mr.  Cloughley  became 
assistant  cashier  of  the  State  National  Bank  at  South 
McAlester,  Indian  Territory.  When  that  institution 
was  sold  to  the  American  National  Bank  in  1903,  he 
took  the  leading  part  in  organizing  the  City  National 
Bank  of  South  McAlester,  and  was  its  cashier  until  1904. 
He  then  organized  the  First  .National  Bank  of  Cornish, 
Indian  Territory,  and  was  its  president  until  it  was 
reorganized  as  the  Bank  of  Cornish,  and  continued  as 
head  of  the  new  institution  until  1914.  Since  then  he 
has  been  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of 
Ringling. 

Mr.  Cloughley  is  independent  in  polities,  a member  of 
the  Episcopal  Church,  and  takes  an  active  interest  in 
various  Masonic  bodies.  He  is  a member  and  has  served 
as  secretary  of  Cornish  Lodge  No.  64,  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons;  belongs  to  McAlester  Chapter,  Royal 
Arch  Masons;  and  has  taken  eighteen  degrees  in  the 
Scottish  Rite  at  the  McAlester  Consistory.  In  a busi- 
ness way  he  is  also  a director  in  the  Newman-Harris 
Mercantile  Company  at  Ringling. 

At  Vinita,  Indian  Territory,  in  1893,  Mr.  Cloughley 
married  Miss  Sabra  Harmon,  daughter  of  J.  H.  Harmon, 
who  is  now  deceased,  and  was  for  many  years  a cattle- 
man at  Seneca,  Missouri.  To  their  union  have  been  born 
four  children:  Harmon,  a sophomore  in  the  Agricultural 

and  Mechanical  College  at  Stillwater,  Oklahoma; 
Florence,  a sophomore  in  St.  Mary’s  Academy  gt  Okla- 
homa City;  Boone,  and  J.  J.,  Jr.,  both  in  the  public 
schools  at  Ringling. 

John  W.  Randall.  The  present  postmaster  of  Black- 
well,  John  W.  Randall,  is  one  of  the  pioneers  of  Kay 
County,  and  has  supplied  many  of  the  resources  of 
enterprise  and  business  faith  and  hope  which  have 
accomplished  so  much  in  this  section  of  the  state  during 
the  past  twenty  years.  Among  his  achievements  was  the 
development  of  a fine  homestead  in  the  vicinity  of 
Blackwell.  He  has  an  important  part  in  other  business 
affairs,  and  received  his  appointment  to  the  postoffice 
in  February,  1908,  taking  charge  on  the  1st  of  April. 
The  Blackwell  office  is  second  class,  and  has  four  rural 
carriers  and  two  city  carriers.  The  first  assistant  post- 
master is  John  R.  Camt,  who  has  been  connected  with 
the  Blackwell  office  for  the  past  two  years,  and  begin- 
ning with  1904  has  served  seven  years  in  the  railway 
mail  service. 

Mr.  Randall  made  the  run  from  the  Kansas  line  into 
the  Cherokee  Strip  in  September,  1893,  and  was  one  of 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1969 


the  fortunate  ones  who  staked  out  a valuable  claim  in 
the  vicinity  of  Blackwell.  John  W.  Randall  was  born 
at  Gallatin,  Missouri,  September  22,  1859,  but  when  an 
infant  his  parents  removed  to  Green  County,  Wisconsin, 
where  he  grew  up  in  the  Town  of  Monroe.  His  father 
was  Thomas  Randall,  a native  of  Tennessee,  where  he 
grew  up,  and  his  wife,  Rachel  Hodges,  was  a native  of 
Indiana,  but  of  Tennessee  parents.  In  1877  the  Randall 
family  left  Wisconsin  and  removed  to  Kansas,  locating 
at  Winfield.  The  father  was  a prosperous  farmer,  and 
died  in  Scott  County,  Kansas,  and  the  mother  passed 
away  at  the  age  of  seventy-eight.  Their  children  were: 
Sarah,  who  lives  in  California ; Alice,  a resident  at  Belle- 
ville, Illinois;  Mary  Berkey,  of  Blackwell,  Oklahoma,  and 
Ella,  of  Spokane,  Washington. 

John  W.  Randall  grew  up  at  Monroe,  Wisconsin,  where 
he  received  his  education  in  the  public  schools.  His 
early  life  was  spent  on  a farm,  and  he  had  a thorough 
training  and  discipline  in  the  duties  of  farm  work. 

At  Winfield,  Kansas,  July  16,  1882,  Mr.  Randall 
married  Miss  E.  E.  Freeland.  Mrs.  Randall  has  been  a 
devoted  wife  and  mother  for  thirty-three  years,  and  is 
a woman  of  intelligence,  high  character,  and  with  no 
little  initiative.  Before  her  marriage  for  several  years 
she  was  a successful  teacher.  Her  father,  F.  M.  Free- 
land, was  an  Illinois  man,  and  is  now  living  in  Oklahoma. 
Her  mother  died  in  1913.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Randall  take 
pride  in  their  family,  comprising  nine  children,  six  sons 
and  three  daughters:  Dwight  B.,  who  is  a clerk  in  the 

local  postoffice  under  his  father;  Gladys,  a deaconess  in 
the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  and  formerly  a school 
teacher;  Carl,  who  is  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the 
Blackwell  Brick  Company;  Laura;  Paul  and  Beulah, 
twins;  Glen;  William,  and  Fred.  The  younger  children 
are  all  attending  the  public  schools,  while  the  older  ones 
are  graduates  of  the  high  school. 

Mr.  Randall  was  for  several  years  editor  and  proprietor 
of  the  Blackwell  Times  Record.  For  six  years  he  served 
as  United  States  commissioner  at  Blackwell,  and  made 
an  excellent  record  in  that  office  as  he  has  in  every  other 
responsibility  and  business  relation.  While  living  in 
Kansas  he  served  as  postmaster  at  Floral  for  seven  years. 
Fraternally  he  is  a member  of  the  lodge,  chapter  and 
commandery  of  Masonry  and  also  belongs  to  the  Temple 
of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Tulsa.  He  finds  his  recreation 
in  hunting  and  fishing,  and  is  a man  of  .splendid  physical 
constitution,  stands  six  feet  high  and  weighs  185  pounds, 
and  has  always  kept  himself  in  sound  health  and  vigor. 
Among  other  undertakings  Mr.  Randall  was  one  of  the 
active  promoters  of  the  Blackwell  Oil  & Gas  Company, 
which  is  capitalized  at  $210,000  ^nd  has  at  the  present 
time  twelve  wells  in  operation  with  a number  of  miles  of 
pipe  line.  Mr.  Randall  has  been  one  of  the  leaders  in 
exploiting  oil  and  gas  resources  in  this  section  of 
Oklahoma. 

John  H.  Bellis.  At  the  time  of  the  opening  of  the 
Cherokee  Strip,  September  16,  1893,  John  H.  Bellis,  then 
a young  man  of  twenty-one  years,  rode  his  little  Canadian 
horse  seventeen  miles  in  fifty-five  minutes  in  an  endeavor 
to  secure  a claim  on  the  Black  Bear  Bottom  west  of 
Pawnee.  In  this  endeavor  he  was  unsuccessful,  as  when 
he  got  on  the  bottom  he  found  men  with  families  and 
some  were  plowing.  He  immediately  went  one-half  mile 
north  of  Black  Bear  Creek,  where  he  and  his  father 
secured  the  same  claim,  Mr.  Bellis  buying  off  another 
claimant  and  his  father  settling  on  the  property.  Fol- 
lowing this  John  H.  Bellis  went  on  to  Guthrie,  but  in  his 
absence,  on  account  of  sickness,  he  lost  his  claim,  and 
thus  it  was  that  he  turned  his  attention  to  other  enter- 
prises and  entered  upon  a career  that  has  resulted  in  his 
becoming  one  of  the  foremost  business  men  of  Payne 


County,  president  of  the  Commonwealth  Cotton  Oil  Com- 
pany, an  official  in  large  and  important  industries,  and 
the  holder  of  extensive  interests. 

Mr.  Bellis  was  born  in  Missouri,  June  30,  1872,  a son 
of  David  B.  and  Sarah  (MeReynolds)  Bellis,  natives  of 
Indiana,  a complete  sketch  of  whose  careers  will  be 
found  on  another  page  of  this  work.  His  parents  were 
married  in  Indiana,  following  which  they  removed  to 
Missouri,  and  in  1873  went  to  Abilene,  Kansas,  where 
they  resided  until  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip. 
Since  that  time  David  B.  Bellis  has  been  interested  in 
farming  and  stock  raising,  although  he  is  now  practically 
retired  from  active  life  and  is  living  at  Cushing.  He 
was  a soldier  for  three  years  during  the  Civil  war  as  a 
member  of  Company  B,  Sixty-fourth  Regiment,  Indiana 
Volunteer  Infantry.  There  were  six  children  in  the 
family:  James,  who  died  at  the  age  of  six  months; 

Mary,  who  is  the  wife  of  Edward  Hunt  of  Guthrie ; J ohn 
H. ; C.  O.,  of  Klamath  County,  Oregon;  Etta  M.,  the 
wife  of  W.  L.  Larmer,  of  Cushing;  and  Alice  E.,  the 
wife  of  L.  J.  Martin  of  the  Cushing  State  Bank.  Mrs. 
Larmer  was  a teacher  for  seventeen  years,  and  was 
elected  the  first  county  superintendent  of  schools  of 
Shaffer  County,  but  the  election  for  this  county  did  not 
carry  by  fifty-nine  votes,  so  she  had  an  office  but  no 
county  to  put  it  in. 

John  H.  Bellis  was  reared  on  his  father’s  farm  near 
Abilene,  in  Dickinson  County,  Kansas,  and  there  his 
early  education  was  secured  in  the  district  schools.  After 
coming  to  Oklahoma  he  assisted  his  father  until  determin- 
ing upon  a business  career,  and  in  1899  was  graduated 
from  the  Capitol  City  Business  College  at  Guthrie.  He 
was  at  that  time  employed  by  the  firm  of  W.  H.  Coyle 
Company,  at  Guthrie,  a cotton  and  grain  concern,  at  a 
salary  of  $40  per  month,  but  when  he  left  that  company 
seven  years  later  he  held  the  position  of  general  man- 
ager. On  March  1,  1907,  he  came  to  Cushing  and  super- 
intended the  building  of  the  mill  for  the  Commonwealth 
Cotton  Oil  Company,  the  first  president  of  which  was 
J.  M.  Aydelotte,  P.  A.  Norris  being  the  first  secretary. 
These  gentlemen  continued  with  the  concern  until  1914, 
when  Mr.  Bellis,  who  had  until  that  time  been  manager, 
bought  their  holdings  and  thus  gaining  a controlling 
interest  became  president  of  the  industry.  E.  A.  Smith, 
the  present  secretary  and  treasurer,  came  to  Cushing 
from  Shawnee  in  1907  as  bookkeeper  for  the  company 
when  it  was  organized  and  took  his  present  position  in 
1914.  In  1915  Mr.  Bellis  became  the  founder  of  the' 
Bellis  Furniture  and  Undertaking  Company,  of  which  he 
has  since  been  president.  He  is  also  vice  president  of 
the  Jones  Oil  and  Gas  Company  of  Cushing,  and  was 
the  founder  of  the  company  and  the  builder  of  the  plant 
of  the  Cushing  Compress,  which  he  subsequently  sold 
to  the  Peoples  Compress  Company.  He  is  owner  of  the 
Postoffice  Building,  Bellis  Building  and  several  other 
brick  buildings,  and  in  addition  to  his  own  home,  one 
of  the  finest  residences  at  Cushing,  has  erected  about 
twenty  dwellings,  which  are  rented  to  tenants.  He  has 
two  good  farms  and  feeds  from  1,500  to  2,000  cattle  at 
the  oil  mill  and  has  been  one  of  the  stanchest  supporters 
of  the  agricultural  interests  of  Payne  and  adjacent 
counties.  While  he  does  not  hold  membership  in  any 
religious  denominations,  he  is  a supporter  of  all  the 
churches  and  his  charitable  benefactions  are  numerous. 
His  fraternal  connection  is  with  the  Masons,  he  being 
a member  of  the  Shrine  at  Tulsa  and  a thirty-second 
degree  Scottish  Rite  Mason. 

As  one  of  the  leading  industries  of  Oklahoma,  a short 
history  and  description  of  the  Commonwealth  Cotton 
Oil  Company  may  not  be  out  of  place  in  the  sketch  of 
Mr.  Bellis,  to  whose  enterprise,  energy  and  business 
talent  its  success  is  due.  The  data  is  taken  from  a 


1970 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


pamphlet  recently  prepared  by  local  writers.  The  Com- 
monwealth Cotton  Oil  Company  at  Cushing  is  one  of  the 
largest  cotton  oil  companies  in  the  state  and  is  the  fifth 
largest  in  the  United  States.  Its  yearly  output  will 
exceed  $1,000,000.  The  company  was  organized  in  1907 
on  a small  scale.  The  business  grew  to  wonderful  pro- 
portions the  first  few  years  of  the  concern ’s  existence  and 
at  once  began  to  attract  wide  attention  among  the  large 
interests  of  the  East.  Its  products  were  the  very  finest 
that  could  be  produced  and  the  officers  soon  found  a 
heavy  demand  for  the  plant’s  output.  The  business  is 
now  capitalized  at  $150,000.  In  1914,  8,000  tons  of  cot- 
ton seed  were  pressed  at  the  plant,  the  products  of 
which  amounted  to  more  than  $300,000  worth  of  business. 
More  than  16,000  bales  of  cotton  were  handled  by  the 
company,  which,  with  the  cotton  seed  products,  represent 
fully  $1,000,000  in  business.  The  company’s  plant  is 
situated  in  the  west  part  of  Cushing  near  the  Santa 
Ee  Railroad  tracks.  The  holdings  consist  of  sixty  acres 
of  land  and  a number  of  brick  structures  for  the  different 
departments,  the  company ’s  plant  and  property  being 
valued  at  $150,000. 

The  crude  cotton  oil  that  is  produced  by  the  plant  is 
sold  in  large  quantities  to  some  of  the  largest  packing 
plants  in  the  United  States.  A considerable  amount  of 
the  company’s  output  is  sold  to  the  manufacturers  of 
Cottolene,  Snowdrift,  Crisco  and  numerous  other  prepara- 
tions that  in  recent  years  have  taken  the  place  of  pure 
lard  for  cooking  purposes.  Little  do  some  of  the  Cushing 
people  think  that  when  they  are  using  any  of  these 
standard  brands  that  the  contents  are  doubtless  a portion 
of  the  output  of  one  of  their  own  home  industries.  The 
process  by  which  the  oil  is  taken  from  the  seed  is  a most 
remarkable  one.  The  seed  is  shipped  to  Cushing  from 
the  string  of  gins  for  a radius  of  fifty  miles  around 
after  it  has  been  separated  from  the  cotton,  and  is  then 
run  through  the  delinters,  large  machines  used  to  separate 
the  lint  that  is  left  on  the  seed  by  the  gins.  The  seed 
is  then  crushed  and  run  through  a system  of  shakers 
that  are  used  to  separate  the  hulls  from  the  kernels.  The 
kernels,  or  meat  of  the  seed,  are  then  ground  into  meal 
and  formed  into  cakes  by  a machine  called  the  cake 
former,  the  cakes  then  being  passed  into  steel  presses 
where  enormous  pressure  is  applied  by  a hydraulic  ram 
that  compresses  and  separates  the  oil  from  the  meal. 
The  oil  thus  produced  or  extracted  is  known  as  crude 
cotton  oil  and  is  disposed  of  to  large  corporations.  The 
products  produced  by  the  mill  and  marketed  are  cotton 
seed  meal,  used  for  feed  for  live  stock,  and  cotton  seed 
hulls,  also  used  for  feed.  These  products  are  sold  in 
large  quantities  to  the  stock  yards  at  Kansas  City  and 
other  large  cities  and  to  wholesale  feed  houses  in 
Nebraska,  Texas,  Missouri,  Oklahoma  and  Kansas. 

John  H.  Beilis  was  married  in  1902  to  Miss  Edith  M. 
Bowdlear,  who  was  at  that  time  assistant  postmistress  at 
Ripley,  Oklahoma,  a native  of  Sioux  City,  Iowa,  who 
was  reared  at  Omaha,  Nebraska,  and  came  to  Oklahoma 
with  her  sister,  Mrs.  John  P.  Hinkle.  To  this  union 
there  have  been  born  four  children : William  H. ; Nell ; 

Lura  May,  who  died  at  the  age  of  two  years ; and 
Edith  H. 

Ered  Boone.  The  postoffiee  at  Davidson  is  now  under 
the  efficient  management  of  Fred  Boone,  one  of  the 
popular  citizens  of  that  community,  and  a man  of  broad 
and  varied  experience  in  the  work  and  activities  of  the 
world. 

His  birth  occurred  at  Table  Rock,  Nebraska,  February 
15,  1871,  and  he  is  a son  of  Ely  T.  and  Eunice  (Pepoon) 
Boone.  His  father  was  born  in  the  same  county  in 
England  where  many  generations  before  the  father  of 
the  famous  Daniel  Boone  was  born.  The  mother ’s  family 


is  descended  from  that  race  of  Pepins  which  furnished  ] 
several  of  the  great  kings  to  the  early  French  nation.  jl 

Ely  T.  Boone,  who  died  at  Lincoln,  Nebraska,  in  1893,  I 

came  to  America  in  1856,  settling  first  in  Illinois,  from  In 

there  moving  out  to  Oregon,  and  from  that  state  enlisted  Jr 

in  a regiment  of  volunteer  infantry  during  the  Civil  war,  | 

serving  three  years.  After  the  war  he  removed  to  Ne- 
braska, and  was  engaged  in  farming  until  his  death.  He 
was  also  a carpenter  by  trade.  His  wife  was  born  in 
Ohio  in  1841  and  is  now  living  at  Twin  Falls,  Idaho. 
Their  children  are:  Henry  O.,  a resident  of  Twin  Falls, 
Idaho;  Gertrude,  wife  of  Fred  Leverett,  a farmer  at 
Lisbon,  Iowa;  Fred;  Albert,  Frank  and  Arthur,  all  ; 
farmers  at  Twin  Falls,  Idaho;  and  May,  wife  of  Leslie 
Lewis,  a clerk  at  Twin  Falls. 

Fred  Boone  attended  the  country  schools  in  the  vicinity  1 
of  Table  Rock,  Nebraska,  and  finished  his  education  with 
a course  in  a business  college  at  Shenandoah,  Iowa.  His 
life  to  the  age  of  twenty  was  spent  on  his  father’s  farm, 
but  during  the  last  twenty  or  twenty-five  years  he  has 
come  into  varied  contact  with  the  world.  For  two  years 
he  was  a telegraph  operator  in  the  employ  of  the  Chi- 
cago, Burlington  & Quincy  Railroad.  Then  six  years 
were  spent  in  fruit  farming  at  Hardy,  Arkansas.  At 
Buffalo  Center,  Iowa,  he  conducted  an  electric  power 
plant  for  three  years.  In  1903  he  again  came  South  and 
at  Myrtle  Springs,  Texas,  had  charge  of  fifty  acres  of 
orchard  up  to  1906.  During  1906  he  was  employed  in 
sawmills  and  in  electric  light  plants  and  for  a short  time 
served  as  commissary  on  a railroad.  In  1907  he  re- 
moved to  Oklahoma  City,  and  spent  three  years  as  news 
agent  on  trains.  Then  in  1910  came  his  removal  to 
Vernon,  Texas,  where  he  was  for  two  years  engineer  in 
the  city  waterworks.  Mr.  Boone  removed  to  Davidson 
in  1912,  and  followed  his  business  as  engineer  until  his 
appointment  on  October  12,  1914,  as  postmaster.  He 
received  this  appointment  from  President  Wilson.  Mr. 
Boone  is  a democrat  and  was  formerly  affiliated  with  the 
Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  He  is  unmarried. 

Benjamin  F.  Harrison.  A man  of  fine  intellectual- 
ity, wide  experience  and  much  executive  ability,  Hon. 
Benjamin  F.  Harrison,  of  Calvin,  Hughes  County,  is 
consistently  to  be  termed  one  of  the  honored  and  repre- 
sentative citizens  of  Oklahoma,  and  he  has  been  a leader 
in  conserving  th6  interests  and  advancement  of  the 
Indians  of  the  state,  with  just  pride  in  his  descent  from 
the  staunchest  of  Indian  stock,  his  father  having  been 
a representative  of  the  Choctaw  and  his  mother  of  the 
Chickasaw  tribe.  Mr.  Harrison  has  been  the  architect 
of  his  own  fortunes  and  has  been  prominent  and  influen- 
tial in  public  affairs  in  Oklahoma  under  both  the  terri- 
torial and  state  regimes.  His  ability  and  high  civic  , 
ideals  have  not  failed  of  recognition,  as  is  evidenced 
by  his  having  served  as  Secretary  of  State  of  Oklahoma 
and  as  a member  of  the  State  Legislature,  he  having 
been  a member  of  the  First  Legislature  after  the  admis- 
sion of  the  state  to  the  Union,  and'  being  the  representa- 
tive of  Hughes  County  in  the  Fifth  Legislature,  that  of  j 
1915.  A man  of  thought  and  action,  a citizen  of  sterling 
worth,  he  well  merits  recognition  in  this  history  of  the 
state  within  whose  borders  he  has  maintained  his  home 
from  the  time  of  his  nativity.  He  is  one  of  the  sub-  | 
stantial  agriculturists  and  stock-growers  of  Hughes 
County,  his  well-improved  farm,  on  which  he  maintains 
his  residence,  being  situated  in  the  South  Canadian  Val- 
ley and  in  close  proximity  to  the  Village  of  Calvin. 

Mr.  Harrison  was  born  in  the  Choctaw  Nation  of 
Indian  Territory,  in  the  year  1875,  and  is  a son  of  Hil- 
burn  and  Sarah  (Colbert)  Harrison.  Becoming  practi- 
cally dependent  upon  his  own  resources  when  a lad  of 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


1971 


fourteen  years,  Mr.  Harrison  made  good  use  of  the 
advantages  afforded  him  in  the  public  schools  of  the 
Choctaw  Nation  and  was  finally  enabled  to  enter  Trinity 
College,  at  Durham,  North  Carolina,  in  which  institution 
he  was  graduated  as  a member  of  the  class  of  1897.  In 
1900  he  established  his  residence  on  his  present  home- 
stead farm,  which  he  has  developed  into  one  of  the  best 
in  Hughes  County,  and  his  progressiveness  and  marked 
success  as  an  agriculturist  and  stock-grower  have  been 
a lesson  and  incentive  to  other  residents  of  that  section 
of  the  state.  In  1906  Mr.  Harrison  was  elected  a member 
of  the  State  Constitutional  Convention,  from  the  Eighty  - 
eighth  District,  and  he  took  a prominent  part  in  the  de- 
liberations and  work  of  the  convention,  in  which  he  was 
assigned  to  a number  of  important  committees,  including 
those  on  public-service  corporations,  state  and  school 
lands,  primary  elections,  and  preamble  and  bill  of  rights. 
Upon  the  admission  of  the  state  to  the  Union,  in  1907, 
Mr.  Harrison  was  elected  the  flotorial  representative  from 
Hughes  and  Pittsburg  counties  in  the  First  Legislature, 
and  in  1908  he  was  re-elected,  as  a member  of  the  Second 
Legislature,  in  which  he  served  as  speaker  pro  tern.  Of 
the  House  of  Representatives,  as  chairman  of  the  Com- 
mittee on  Constitutional  Amendments,  and  as  a member 
of  the  Appropriation  Committee.  Further  and  distin- 
guished honors  were  in  store  for  Mr.  Harrison  in  the 
gift  of  the  voters  of  his  native  commonwealth,  for  in 
1910  he  was  elected  Secretary  of  State  of  Oklahoma,  for 
the  term  of  four  years  from  January,  1911,  until  Janu- 
ary, 1915.  He  gave  a most  careful  and  effective  ad- 
ministration but  resigned  his  position  in  November,  1914, 
in  which  month  he  was  elected  representative  of  Hughes 
County  in  the  Fifth  Legislature.  He  was  made  a candi- 
date for  the  position  of  speaker  of  the  House  of  Repre- 
sentatives of  the  Fifth  General  Assembly,  but  before  the 
election  he  withdrew  his  candidacy,  in  the  interest  of 
harmony.  He  was  made  chairman  of  the  Committee  on 
Retrenchment  and  Reform,  and  a member  of  the  follow- 
ing named  committees  also : Congressional  Redistricting, 

Revenue  and  Taxation,  State  and  School  Lands,  Public 
Roads  and  Highways,  Constitutional  Amendments,  and 
Relation  to  the  Five  Civilized  Tribes  and  Other  Indians. 

In  the  Fifth  Legislature  Mr.  Harrison  introduced  a 
bill  prescribing  the  qualifications  for  teachers  in  the 
public  schools  and  other  educational  institutions  of  the 
state  and  defining  causes  for  their  removal,  the  purpose 
of  the  measure  being  to  eliminate  politics  from  educa- 
tional affairs.  Another  bill  introduced  by  him  was  that 
providing  for  a governor’s  council,  consisting  of  all  state 
officials,  upon  whom  shall  be  conferred  the  powers  now 
entrusted  to  the  State  Board  of  Affairs  and  the  Board 
of  Control  of  the  state  penal,  charitable  and  educational 
institutions,  except  the  power  of  selecting  teachers.  He 
made  a careful  survey  of  the  subject  and  estimated  that 
this  measure  would  entail  to  the  state  a saving  of  $65,000 
annually.  Mr.  Harrison  was  the  author  of  the  proposed 
constitutional  amendment  providing  a mileage  tax  for 
the  support  of  the  state  educational  institutions, — a 
measure  designed  to  relieve  the  Legislature  of  the  re- 
sponsibility of  making  appropriations  for  the  support 
of  these  institutions.  He  was  a co-author  of  a bill  pre- 
scribing requirements  for  admission  to  the  state  insane 
asylums  and  providing  that  persons  having  property  shall 
contribute  to  the  support  of  relatives  confined  in  such 
asylums.  He  not  only  showed  much  discrimination  and 
ability  in  constructive  legislation,  but  also  opposed  vigor- 
ously all  proposed  increases  of  appropriations  for  state 
institutions  except  such  amounts  as  were  actually  neces- 
sary for  maintenance. 

In  the  Masonic  fraternity  Mr.  Harrison  has  received 
the  thirty-second  degree  of  the  Ancient  Accepted  Scottish 


Rite,  besides  being  affiliated  with  the  India  Temple  of 
the  Ancient  Arabic  Order  of  the  Nobles  of  the  Mystic 
Shrine.  He  is  prominently  identified  also  with  the  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  in  which  he  is  past  grand 
of  the  lodge  at  Calvin  and  also  a member  of  the  grand 
lodge  of  the  state.  He  holds  membership  also  in  the 
Oklahoma  Society  of  Eighty-niners,  commemorating  the 
organization  of  Oklahoma  Territory  and  its  opening  to 
settlement. 

In  December,  1912,  Mr.  Harrison  married  Miss  Grace 
Liegerot,  daughter  of  Charles  and  Emma  Liegerot,  of 
Tonkawa,  Kay  County,  this  state.  They  have  no  children. 

Samuel  B.  Elrod.  The  distinction  of  being  the 
second  youngest  postmaster  in  the  State  of  Oklahoma 
belongs  to  Samuel  B.  Elrod,  who  under  the  present 
democratic  administration  took  charge  of  the  postoffice 
at  Hominy  about  a year  ago.  Mr.  Elrod  is  one  of  the 
capable  younger  business  men  of  Osage  County,  and  his 
family  has  been  identified  with  this  state  for  a number 
of  years. 

He  was  born  in  Tennessee  December  28,  1888,  a son 
of  B.  F.  and  Annie  E.  (Milliken)  Elrod,  who  were  also 
natives  of  Tennessee,  his  father  having  been  born  in  the 
same  house  as  the  son,  and  is  now  sixty-four,  while  his 
wife  is  aged  sixty.  The  parents  now  reside  3%  miles 
north  of  Hominy.  When  Samuel  B.  was  two  years  of 
age  the  parents  moved  to  Texas,  locating  in  Hill  County, 
and  lived  there  until  1903,  when  they  removed  to  South- 
western Oklahoma.  The  father  had  been  at  El  Reno  at 
the  opening  of  the  Kiowa  and  Comanche  Reservation  in 
1901.  Samuel  B.  Elrod  lived  with  his  parents  in  South- 
western Oklahoma  until  1911,  when  he  came  to  Osage 
County,  and  was  followed  two  years  later  by  his  parents. 
His  father  has  been  a farmer  all  his  active  career. 
Samuel  B.  Elrod  is  one  of  ten  children,  nine  of  whom  are 
still  living,  and  one  having  died  at  the  age  of  five.  He 
is  the  youngest  of  the  six  sons  in  the  family,  while  two 
of  the  daughters  are  younger  than  he. 

He  lived  with  his  parents  until  twenty-two  and  was 
then  married  to  Miss  Gertrude  Harris,  born  in  Bedford 
County,  Tennessee,  in  1893,  and  coming  to  Oklahoma 
, about  nine  years  ago  with  her  grandparents,  both  her 
own  parents  having  died  when  she  was  very  young. 
Mr.  Elrod  was  a practical  farmer  up  to  the  time  he 
removed  to  Hominy,  and  then  worked  a year  in  a meat 
market  and  for  two  years  engaged  in  the  ice  and  coal 
business.  His  appointment  as  postmaster  at  Hominy 
came  on  July  1,  1914.  The  Hominy  postoffice  is  third 
class,  and  he  is  now  giving  all  his  attention  to  its 
management.  He  has  been  a democrat  since  casting  his 
first  ballot,  and  is  one  of  the  young  leaders  of  the  party 
in  Osage  County.  He  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the 
Baptist  Church  and  his  fraternal  affiliations  are  with 
the  Masonic  Order  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Elrod  have  one  son,  Reynold 
Milton. 

J.  Will  Morse.  The  Oklahoma  Guaranty  Bank  of 
Blackwell,  of  which  J.  W.  Morse  is  cashier,  is  in  point 
of  resources  and  stability  one  of  the  strongest  financial 
institutions  of  Northeastern  Oklahoma.  A recent  state- 
ment indicates  total  resources  aggregating  about  $278,- 
000.  Its  capital  stock  is  $30,000,  with  surplus  and  profits 
of  about  $5,500,  while  the  confidence  of  the  community 
in  its  management  is  indicated  by  deposits  approximating 
over  $240,000. 

Mr.  J.  W.  Morse  has  been  identified  with  Blackwell  since 
1897,  and  is  a banker,  business  man,  leader  in  community 
and  church  affairs,  has  been  one  of  the  men  most  directly 
responsible  for  the  growth  and  improvement  of  his  city 
during  the  past  twenty  years.  Mr.  Morse  was  born  in 


1972 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Christian  County,  Illinois,  March  15,  1861.  His  father 
was  W.  L.  Morse,  long  an  active  business  man  at  Pana, 
Illinois.  W.  L.  Morse  was  born  at  Worcester,  Massa- 
chusetts, of  an  old  Massachusetts  family,  and  located  in 
Christian  County,  Illinois,  in  1856.  W.  L.  Morse  was 
married  in  Kentucky  to  Mary  Jane  Meteer,  a woman  of 
intelligence  and  good  family,  to  whom  her  children  owe 
much  for  their  success  in  life.  She  was  born  in  Ken- 
tucky, and  two  of  her  brothers,  Thomas  J.  and  John  T., 
were  soldiers  in  the  Union  army.  She  is  still  living  at 
the  old  home  in  Illinois,  at  the  age  of  seventy-seven. 
Both  she  and  her  husband  were  members  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church. 

James  W.  Morse  grew  up  in  Illinois,  and  received  his 
education  by  attending  the  public  schools  and  by  study 
at  home.  He  has  a sister,  Sarah  A.,  who  is  married  and 
living  at  Champaign,  Illinois.  After  leaving  high  school 
he  went  into  business  at  Pana,  and  when  he  came  to 
Oklahoma  in  1897  he  brought  with  him  a broad  and  varied 
experience  and  was  well  qualified  to  take  an  active  part 
in  the  upbuilding  of  the  community  at  Blackwell. 

In  November,  1883,  at  Vincennes,  Indiana,  Mr.  Morse 
married  Miss  Jessie  M.  Eiee,  who  .was  born  in  Kentucky, 
a daughter  of  Rev.  William  G.  Rice,  who  for  many  years 
was  a successful  minister  of  the  gospel.  He  had  also 
served  as  a soldier  in  the  Confederate  army,  and  spent 
the  last  days  of  his  life  in  Kentucky.  To  the  marriage 
of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Morse  have  been  born  seven  children. 
Irocu  died  in  infanev,  and  Wilber  died  in  childhood. 
Those  living  are:  Florence,  wife  of  C.  D.  Bailv  of 

Laurens,  Iowa;  C.  E.  Morse  of  Wich’ta,  Kansas;  Glvde, 
attending  high  school  at  Blackwell;  Wilford  and  Evelyn, 
also  in  school.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Morse  have  both  been  very 
prominent  in  the  Presbyterian  Church  activities  at  Black- 
well.  He  has  served  as  superintendent  of  the  Sunday- 
school  and  treasurer  of  the  church  board,  and  has  always 
expressed  himself  positively  and  in  terms  of  action  in 
behalf  of  any  movement  for  the  improvement  of  churches, 
schools  and  general  elevation  of  morality  and  temper- 
ance in  his  community.  Mr.  Morse  is  also  prominent 
in  the  Masonic  Order,  a member  of  the  Knights  Templar, 
and  belongs  to  Akdar  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at 
Tulsa. 

Franklin  J.  Springer.  To  ptow  old  gracefully  has 
been  only  one  of  many  accomplishments  associated  with 
the  career  of  Judge  Springer  of  Cushing.  Many  men 
much  younger  are  not  so  fortunate  in  carrying  the  weight 
of  their  years  as  Judge  Springer,  who  is  now  close  to 
four  score.  His  is  a pleasing  retrospect  and  a conscious- 
ness of  duty  well  performed  and  a long  life  of  honorable 
service  have  undoubtedly  been  factors  in  enabling  him 
to  advance  so  easily  toward  a green  old  age. 

From  the  time  he  was  a hard-fighting  soldier  in  the 
army  of  the  Potomac  during  the  Civil  war  until  the 
present  Judge  Springer  has  employed  much  of  his  time 
and  energy  in  the  duties  of  citizenship.  He  was  born  in 
Northampton  County.  Pennsylvania,  on  a farm,  May 
18,  1837.  He  was  the  only  child  of  his  father,  Louis 
Springer,  who  died  before  Judge  Springer  had  any 
definite  recollection  of  this  parent.  The  mother’s  maiden 
name  was  Mary  Kromer.  Both  were  born  in  Pennsyl- 
vania and  of  German  parentage.  The  mother  spent  all 
her  life  in  that  state.  Up  to  the  age  of  about  ten  years 
Judge  Springer  lived  with  his  grandparents,  and  soon 
afterward  started  out  to  earn  his  own  way  in  the  world. 
Self-reliance,  independence,  faithful  diligence,  have  been 
important  factors  in  his  career.  For  about  six  years 
he  worked  on  a river  boat  on  the  Ohio  River.  In  1852 
he  went  west  to  Cass  County,  Illinois,  and  lived  on  a 
farm  there  until  the  outbreak  of  the  war.  Returning 
to  Pennsylvania  he  enlisted  in  July,  1861,  as  a private  in 


Company  B of  the  Forty-fifth  Regiment  of  Pennsylvania 
Infantry,  and  was  later  in  Company  A,  Twenty-first 
Pennsylvania  Cavalry.  He  was  continuously  in  service 
until  1865,  the  close  of  the  war,  having  veteranized  at 
the  close  of  the  first  three  years  of  his  enlistment.  He 
■ was  mustered  out  by  a special  order  taking  effect  May 
15,  1865.  In  the  meantime  he  had  borne  more  than  the 
ordinary  duties  and  responsibilities  of  the  soldier.  Five 
days  before  the  surrender  of  Lee  he  was  taken  prisoner 
at  Amelia  Springs,  Virginia,  and  his  regiment  was 
mustered  out  two  months  later.  From  private  his  first 
promotion  was  to  first  sergeant,  later  to  lieutenant,  and 
for  one  year  before  his  muster  out  he  was  captain  of 
Company  A of  the  Twenty-third  Pennsylvania.  This 
record  is  the  more  notable  for  the  fact  that  he  enlisted 
as  a poor  boy  and  a stranger  among  his  comrades  in 
Company  A.  He  made  no  efforts  to  gain  promotion,  and 
every  advance  was  on  the  basis  of  merit  and  efficiency 
and  not  by  reason  of  personal  influence.  He  took  part 
in  all  the  great  battles  in  which  the  army  of  the  Potomac 
was  engaged  from  Antietam  on  to  Appomattox.  At 
Fredericksburg  he  was  slightly  wounded  when  a splinter 
from  a gun  carriage  struck  him  in  the  forehead,  leaving 
a scar  which  is  still  visible.  While  in  the  army  he  had 
three  horses  shot  from  under  him,  and  his  clothing  was 
frequently  struck  by  bullets,  though  he  himself  passed 
through  practically  unscathed. 

After  the  war  he  lived  in  Pennsylvania  for  a time, 
was  married  there  in  1866,  and  soon  afterwards  brought 
his  bride  to  Illinois  and  to  Cass  County,  where  he  had 
formerly  lived,  and  engaged  in  farming.  Five  years 
later  he  moved  to^Iowa  and  was  a resident  of  Lee  County 
in  that  state  until  1889.  Judge  Springer  is  an  Oklahoma 
’89er.  After  participating  in  the  great  rush  of  colonists 
and  home  seekers  on  the  22d  of  April  he  secured  a 
claim  in  Oklahoma  County,  and  for  a number  of  years 
gave  his  energy  to  its  development.  He  has  always 
been  successful  as  a farmer,  and  has  developed  a large 
acreage  since  coming  to  Oklahoma.  He  was  honored  by 
election  as  one  of  the  first  county  commissioners  of 
Oklahoma  County,  helped  to  organize  that  district,  and 
as  the  other  members  of  the  board  of  commissioners  were 
city  men  and  practically  unacquainted  with  their  duties, 
he  bore  a large  share  of  the  official  responsibilities  con- 
nected with  that  office.  For  about  five  years  Captain 
Springer  lived  in  Lincoln  County,  and  about  twelve  years 
ago  moved  to  Payne  County,  and  for  the  past  five  years 
ha3  lived  retired  in  Cushing.  The  greater  part  of  his 
career  has  been  spent  as  a farmer,  and  he  still  owns 
considerable  farming  land  in  Oklahoma. 

Politically  he  has  had  a part  in  politics  only  as  a 
public  spirited  citizen,  though  frequently  honored  with 
official  position.  He  is  a republican,  and  in  Cushing 
served  as  police  judge  until  that  office  was  abolished  on 
the  introduction  of  the  commission  form  of  government. 
Since  then  he  has  administered  justice  in  the  local  courts 
as  a justice  of  the  peace.  Judge  Springer  took  an  active 
part  in  the  movement  which  brought  about  the  organiza- 
tion of  old  Oklahoma  Territory.  Perhaps  his  chief  in- 
terest since  coming  to  Cushing  has  been  the  welfare  of 
local  schools.  He  has  helped  to  establish  school  dis- 
tricts, has  served  many  years  on  local  school  boards  and 
his  name  should  be  definitely  remembered  for  his  help 
in  founding  the  State  Normal  School  at  Edmond  and 
the  Agricultural  College  at  Stillwater.  Fraternally  he 
is  a member  of  the  Masonic  Order  and  also  belongs  to 
the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic. 

In  Pennsylvania,  on  March  1,  1866,  Judge  Springer 
married  Emma  Levan.  She  was  born  in  Pennsylvania, 
June  13,  1845,  a daughter  of  John  and  Catherine  (Oster- 
stock)  Levan,  both  of  whom  spent  all  their  lives  in  the 
Keystone  State.  Judge  and  Mrs.  Springer  are  whole- 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1973 


some  people,  always  preserved  good  physical  health,  are 
still  active  in  spite  of  their  years,  have  reared  a large 
family  of  children  without  the  loss  of  a single  one. 
Neither  Judge  Springer  nor  any  of  his  sons  have  ever 
used  tobacco  or  liquor  in  any  form  and  he  is  as  clean 
mentally  and  morally  as  he  is  physically.  In  religious 
matters  he  is  somewhat  liberal  and  prefers  to  analyze 
and  study  the  scheme  of  the  world  and  the  problems 
beyond  untrammeled  by  conventioned  thought  or  dogma. 
A brief  record  of  his  ten  children  is  as  follows:  Alice 

is  the  wife  of  Robert  Yarbrough  of  Oklahoma  City; 
Frank  H.  lives  in  Pawnee  County;  Hattie  Belle  is  the 
wife  of  R.  O.  Pettigrew  of  Oklahoma  City;  Nora  is  the 
wife  of  S.  W.  King  of  Texas;  Fred  lives  in  Shawnee; 
Ida  is  the  wife  of  Dusel  Casto  of  Yukon;  Lee  lives  in 
Texas;  Albert  lives  in  Payne  County;  John  W.  is  a 
resident  of  Vinita;  and  Mamie  is  a teacher  in  the  high 
school  at  Cushing. 

Thomas  Andrew  Gross.  No  individual  in  a com- 
munity wields  a stronger  influence  in  the  molding  and 
shaping  of  character  than  the  public  instructor.  - The  , 
capable,  conscientious  teacher  must  needs  assume  heavy 
responsibilities,  for  on  entering  the  schoolroom  the  child’s 
mind  is  as  plastic  clay  and  is  as  readily  made  to  take 
shape  under  guidance  and  instruction.  That  community 
is  fortunate  therefore  that  numbers  among  its  citizens 
men  and  women  of  ability  and  high  ideals,  to  whom  the 
teaching  of  its  future  citizens  is  a trust  not  to  be  lightly 
assumed  but  to  which  thought,  care  and  constant  service 
must  be  rendered.  In  this  category  stands  Thomas-  An- 
drew Gross,  superintendent  of  schools  of  Frederick,  Okla- 
homa, who  has  devoted  himself  to  teaching  almost  from 
the  time  that  he  left  college  halls. 

Mr.  Gross  was  born  at  Birchwood,  James  County,  Ten- 
nessee, in  April,  1875,  and  is  a son  of  A.  J.  and  Har- 
riet (Ziegler)  Gross.  The  family  originated  in  Germany, 
a number  of  generations  ago,  locating  in  Virginia  in 
colonial  times,  and  subsequently  removed  to  Tennessee  in 
the  first  settlement  of  that  state.  A.  J.  Gross  was  born 
at  Birchwood,  in  the  Big  Bend  State,  in  1851,  and  for 
many  years  was  engaged  in  farming  there,  but  in  1910 
moved  to  the  vicinity  of  Dayton,  Tennessee,  where  he 
now  makes  his  home.  He  is  a member  of  the  Baptist 
Church  and  a democrat  in  politics,  is  interested  in  public 
and  civic  affairs,  and  has  served  as  a member  of  the 
school  board.  Mrs.  Gross,  also  a native  of  Birchwood, 
survives,  and  has  been  the  mother  of  nine  children, 
namely:  J.  F.,  who  is  identified  with  the  Department  of 
Indians  Affairs  at  Washington,  D.  C. ; Thomas  Andrew, 
of  this  review;  Tennessee,  who  resides  with  her  parents 
at  Dayton,  Tennessee,  and  is  unmarried;  Lena,  who  mar- 
ried Mr.  Jones,  a ranchman  of  Ridge,  Montana;  Pearl, 
who  married  Mr.  Brown,  a civil  engineer  of  Chapel,  North 
Carolina;  and  Lilly,  Lola,  Blanche  and  Stella,  who  are 
unmarried  and  reside  with  their  parents. 

Thomas  Andrew  Gross  first  attended  the  Birchwood 
public  schools  and  was  graduated  from  Birchwood  Acad- 
emy in  1894.  He  next  taught  school  for  one  year  in 
James  County,  Tennessee,  following  which  he  enrolled 
as  a student  at  Carson  & Newman  College,  Jefferson, 
Tennessee,  where  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1900, 
degree  of  Bachelor  of  Sciences,  with  the  highest  honors 
of  his  class.  His  college  career  was  a notable  one,  in 
which  he  was  a prominent  figure  in  the  Columbian  Liter- 
ary Society,  in  the  work  of  the  Young  Men’s  Christian 
Association,  in  athletics  and  in  the  various  musical  or- 
ganizations. Later,  in  1908,  he  received  the  degree  of 
Master  of  Arts  from  this  institution. 

In  1901  and  1902  Mr.  Gross  was  engaged  in  editing  a 
newspaper  at  Dayton,  Tennessee,  but  following  this  ven- 
ture entered  upon  his  real  career  as  principal  of  the  Fair- 


mount  schools,  at  Hamilton,  Tennessee,  in  1903-4.  The 
next  three  years  he  was  principal  of  the  County  High 
School,  at  Hixon,  Tennessee,  and  in  1907  he  came  to 
Weatherford,  Oklahoma,  as  professor  of  English  and 
Literature  in  the  Southwestern  State  Normal  School,  a 
capacity  in  which  he  acted  for  four  years.  He  was 
then  head  of  the  Department  of  English,  Baptist  Uni- 
versity, Shawnee,  Oklahoma,  for  one  year;  principal  of 
the  Okfuskee  County  High  School,  Okfuskee,  Oklahoma, 
one  year,  and  principal  of  the  Frederick  High  School  for 
one  year,  1913-14,  and  in  May  of  the  latter  year  was 
elected  superintendent  of  city  schools  of  Frederick,  a 
position  in  which  he  has  since  remained,  and  in  which  he 
has  charge  of  four  schools,  twenty-five  teachers  and  800 
scholars.  Mr.  Gross,  aside  from  being  a teacher  pos- 
sessed the  happy  and  unusual  faculty  of  instilling  in 
the  minds  of  others  his  own  great  store  of  knowledge,  as 
well  as  an  executive  who  is  capable  of  looking  "after 
the  business  management  of  his  charge,  is  a close  student, 
and  by  constant  study  keeps  abreast  of  his  profession, 
for  teaching,  like  other  vocations,  is  progressive.  He  is 
a democrat  in  politics,  is  a member  of  the  Baptist 
Church  and  superintendent  of  its  Sunday  School,  and  a 
director  in  the  Carnegie  Library  at  Frederick. 

On  May  1,  1901,  at  Talbot,  Tennessee,  Professor  Gross 
was  married  to  Miss  Arrie  M.  Roberts,  who  at  that  time 
was  living  with  her  uncle,  M.  A.  Roberts,  but  who  came 
from  Little  Rock,  Arkansas,  her  birthplace.  Three  chil- 
dren have  come  to  this  union,  Marguerite,  born  in  1902; 
Ralph  Franklin,  born  in  1906;  and  Byron  Roberts,  born 
in  1909. 

The  Roberts  family  is  an  old  one  in  this  country  and 
traces  its  record  back  many  generations  in  England,  being 
originally  from  the  family  that  gave  to  Great  Britain  its 
famous  soldier,  the  late  Lord  Roberts.  The  great-grand- 
father of  Mrs.  Gross  was  a minister  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  faith,  spent  many  years  in  Tennessee,  and  was 
identified  prominently  with  the  Indian  history  of  his  day 
and  locality.  Benjamin  Roberts,  the  grandfather  of  Mrs. 
Gross,  was  born  in  North  Carolina  in  1808,  and  died  at 
Dandridge,  Tennessee,  in  1892,  having  been  a pioneer  of 
East  Tennessee  where  he  was  engaged  as  a merchant  and 
farmer  for  "many  years.  He  was  a republican  in  politics, 
but  not  a politician. 

J.  Newton  Roberts,  the  father  of  Mrs.  Gross,  was 
born  in  Knox  County,  Tennessee,  in  1839,  and  as  a youth 
was  taken  by  his  parents  to  Jefferson  County,  Tennessee, 
and  then  to  Little  Rock,  Arkansas,  where  he  spent  the 
remaining  years  of  his  life,  being  principally  engaged  as 
a contractor  and  builder.  During  the  Civil  war  he  served 
as  a Confederate  private  for  some  time,  and  was  sta- 
tioned at  Memphis,  Tennessee.  He  was  an  active  worker 
in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  in  which  he  was  class 
leader,  and  in  political  affairs  was  a democrat.  Five 
children  were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Roberts:  Frank  N., 
who  is  identified  with  a wholesale  fruit  company,  at 
Little  Rock,  Arkansas;  James  Benjamin,  bookkeeper  for 
the  Walker  & Calef  Ice  Company,  who  died  in  1900  at 
Little  Rock,  Arkansas;  Laura  C.,  who  married  Doctor 
Majors,  a retired  physician  of  Shiloh,  Arkansas;  George 
W.,  who  is  a merchant  at  Little  Rock,  Arkansas;  and 
Arrie  M.,  who  is  now  Mrs.  Gross.  The  mother  of  these 
children,  who  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Ellen  Davidson, 
was  a native  of  Virginia,  and  died  at  Little  Rock,  Arkan- 
sas, in  1880. 

Arrie  M.  Roberts  attended  the  public  schools  of  her 
native  City  of  Little  Rock,  Arkansas,  and  after  one  year 
spent  in  the  high  school  went  to  Cleburne  County,  Arkan- 
sas, both  her  parents  having  died.  There  she  passed 
three  years  in  teaching  school,  and  attending  the  high 
school  when  she  could  find  the  time,  and  later  taught  at 
Heber  Springs,  Arkansas.  Miss  Roberts  next  went  to 


1974 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


i 


Maury  Academy,  Dandridge,  Tennessee,  where  she  passed 
one  year,  following  which  she  became  a student  at  Carson 
& Newman  College,  Jefferson,  Tennessee,  where  she  re- 
mained two  and  one-half  years,  and  while  there  met  Mr. 
Gross.  She  thereafter  was  engaged  in  teaching  until  her 
marriage,  May  1,  1901.  Mrs.  Gross  is  well  known  in 
educational  circles,  is  a lady  of  many  attainments,  and 
has  a wide  circle  of  appreciative  friends  living  at  Fred- 
erick and  elsewhere. 

William  A.  Clute.  A pioneer  newspaper  man  of 
Oklahoma,  having  come  here  at  the  time  of  the  first 
opening  of  lands  for  white  settlement  in  1889,  William 
A.  Clute  has  been  connected  with  a number  of  publica- 
tions in  this  state,  but  is  now  engaged  as  a traveling 
salesman.  Mr.  Clute  was  born  September  22,  1859,  in 
Livingston  County,  New  York,  and  is  a son  of  Andrew 
and  Caroline  Jane  (Harris)  Clute. 

Andrew  Clute  was  born  in  New  York  and  when  he 
entered  upon  his  career  took  up  farming  in  Livingston 
County,  where  he  was  living  at  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil 
war.  He  enlisted  as  a private  and  scout  in  Company  F, 
136th  Begiment,  New  York  Volunteer  Infantry,  and 
served  three  years  with  that  organization,  participating 
in  thirty  engagements,  including  Gettysburg,  Lookout 
Mountain  and  Chattanooga  and  the  battles  incident  to 
General  Sherman’s  great  march  to  the  sea.  Following 
the  war  he  removed  to  Michigan  and  then  to  Nebraska, 
continuing  his  farming  operations,  and  finally  settled  in 
Colorado,  where  he  met  his  death  in  a railroad  wreck  in 
1881.  He  was  a member  of  the  Masonic  Fraternity.  In 
1855  Mr.  Clute  was  married  to  Miss  Caroline  Jane  Harris, 
who  was  born  in  1848,  the  youngest  of  the  eleven  chil- 
dren of  Isaac  and  Hanna  (Howe)  Harris.  She  died  at 
Altus,  December  9,  1915.  There  were  four  children  in 

the  family,  namely:  Andrew,  born  in  1856,  and  now  a 
traveling,  man  of  Hastings,  Nebraska;  William  A.; 
Francis  M.,  born  in  1869,  who  died  in  1904;  and  Sidney 
E.,  born  in  1873,  a resident  of  Altus. 

William  A.  Clute  was  educated  in  the  schools  of  Michi- 
gan and  Nebraska,  and  reared  on  the  home  farm.  He 
later  entered  the  service  of  the  Chicago,  Burlington  & 
Quincy  Bailroad  as  agent  for  the  townsite  department  in 
Nebraska  and  Colorado,  and  was  subsequently  agent  and 
trustee  for  the  townsite  interests  on  the  C.  K.  & N.  Bailroad 
in  the  latter  state.  He  also  spent  five  years  in  Mexico, 
as  an  exporter  and,  in  1889,  when  Indian  Territory  and 
Oklahoma  Territory  lands  were  thrown  open  to  the 
public,  came  to  El  Beno,  where  he  was  given  the  first 
deed  issued  for  a town  lot.  He  also  secured  a claim 
two  miles  from  the  city  of  El  Beno,  paying  the  claim- 
ant for  his  relinquishment  by  the  purchase  of  a pair 
of  $5.00  boots.  This  land  has  since  sold  for  $200  per 
acre.  Mr.  Clute  took  an  active  part  in  the  organization 
of  the  town,  being  a member  of  the  first  city  council 
under  the  Enabling  Act,  and  in  1891  bought  the  El 
Beno  Democrat,  of  which  he  was  editor  for  two  years. 
In  the  same  year  he  was  the  nominee  on  the  independent 
democratic  ticket  for  the  legislature,  but  was  defeated 
after  a close  contest.  He  was  also  a member  of  the  first 
grand  jury  ever  impanelled  in  Canadian  County,  was 
president  of  the  first  democratic  club  organized  in  the 
county,  was  a delegate  to  the  first  state  convention  of  his 
party,  and  was  the  organizer  of  the  first  independent  com- 
pany of  state  militia,  Company  A,  of  which  he  served  as 
captain  for  several  years.  When  the  Cherokee'  Strip 
was  opened  to  settlement  Mr.  Clute  made  the  race  to 
Enid,  at  which  place  he  edited  the  West-Side  Democrat 
during  the  exciting  period  of  the  town’s  early  history. 
In  1892,  with  his  brother,  Francis  M.,  Mr.  Clute  estab- 
lished the  Argus,  at  Arapaho,  and  conducted  that  paper 


for  t&o  years,  and  in  1894  bought  from  Lafe  Merritt  the 
El  Beno  Globe,  being  editor  thereof  for  two'  years.  Since 
disposing  of  his  interests  in  that  newspaper,  Mr.  Clute 
has  devoted  himself  to  traveling  for  wholesale  houses 
as  a salesman,  having  his  headquarters  and  residence  at 
points  in  the  state  as  convenience  demanded. 

Mr.  Clute  has  been  an  eye-witness  to  the  Wonderful 
development  of  this  state,  and  still  takes  a keen  and 
active  interest  in  its  institutions  and  industries.  Few 
men  contributed  in  greater  degree  to  the  advancement 
of  Canadian  County,  the  first  history  of  which  came  from 
his  pen.  He  is  connected  with  various  fraternal  and  so- 
cial organizations  and  has  a wide  acquaintance  all  over 
the  state,  and  has  established  enduring  friendships  with 
some  of  Oklahoma’s  most  prominent  and  influential 
citizens. 

Thomas  B.  Dunlap.  One  of  the  newest  towns  in 
Southern  Oklahoma  is  Bingling,  and  though  its  annals 
are  brief  there  has  been  no  lack  of  enterprise  and  achieve- 
ment. One  of  the  men  present  when  the  first  furrow 
was  turned  on  the  townsite  is  Thomas  B.  Dunlap,  now 
serving  as  postmaster.  Mr.  Dunlap  has  had  a long 
and  active  career,  chiefly  engaged  in  educational  work, 
and  many  years  ago  was  superintendent  of  schools  at 
Ardmore. 

Thomas  B.  Dunlap  was  born  in  Gibson  County,  Ten- 
nessee, February  11,  1853,  a son  of  J.  M.  and  Elizabeth 
(Carter)  Dunlap.  The  Dunlaps  came  originally  from 
Scotland  prior  to  the  Bevolutionary  war  and  settled  in 
South  Carolina.  The  Carters  were  likewise  early  in 
South  Carolina,  and  came  from  Holland.  J.  M.  Dunlap 
was  born  in  South  Carolina  in  1826  and  died  at  Hum- 
boldt, Tennessee,  in  1880,  having  been  taken  to  Tennes- 
see by  his  parents  when  he  was  a small  boy.  His  life 
was  spent  as  a farmer  and  he  was  a member  of  the 
Masonic  fraternity.  His  wife  was  born  in  South  Caro- 
lina in  1837  and  died  at  Humboldt,  Tennessee,  in  1908. 
Their  seven  children  were:  Thomas  B.;  Sallie  A.,  wife 
of  Frank  Craddock,  a Tennessee  farmer;  Mary,  wife  of 
B.  F.  Bains,  a horticulturist  in  Gibson  County,  Tennes- 
see; Maggie,  who  died  in  1910  as  the  wife  of  J.  N. 
Jackson,  who  is  a farmer  in  Tennessee ; Amanda,  who 
died  at  the  age  of  six  years,  and  Kendrick,  a fruit  grower 
in  Crockett  County,  Tennessee. 

Thomas  B.  Dunlap  had  the  environment  of  a Tennes- 
see farm  during  his  youth,  and  began  his  education  in 
the  public  schools  of  Gibson  County.  These  advantages 
were  improved  by  a course  in  the  Southwestern  Baptist 
University  at  Jackson,  Tennessee,  and  in  1880  he  grad- 
uated A.  B.  from  Eminence  College  in  Henry  County,. 
Kentucky.  Educational  work  was  his  chosen  vocation, 
and  he  served  as  superintendent  of  schools  in  several 
counties  in  Texas  up  to  1894,  in  which  year  he  was  elected 
superintendent  of  schools  at  Ardmore,  Indian  Terri- 
tory. For  four  years  he  was  principal  of  the  Chicka- 
sha  Collegiate  Institute,  and  then  returned  to  Texas  and 
for  four  years  had  charge  of  the  Jarvis  Institute  at 
Granbury,  Texas.  Subsequent  service  in  the  educational 
field  comprised  two  years  as  president  of  Sulphur  College- 
at  Sulphur,  Kentucky,  three  years  as  professor  of  Latin 
at  Wilson,  North  Carolina;  one  year  in  the  Chair  of 
Latin  in  the  Virginia  Christian  College  at  Lynchburg, 
Virginia. 

Mr.  Dunlap  came  to  Wilson,  Oklahoma,  in  1914,  but 
in  March  of  the  same  year  identified  himself  with  the 
new  townsite  at  Bingling.  He  was  made  postmaster  by 
Postmaster  General  Burleson  and  took  the  ofBee  July  17, 
1915.  On  January  1,  1916,  the  office  was  made  third 
class  and  Mr.  Dunlap  was  made  postmaster  for  a term 
of  four  years.  He  is  a democrat  in  politics,  an  elder  in 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1975 


the  Christian  Church  and  has  affiliations  with  Ardmore 
Circle  of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World. 

At  Florence,  Alabama,  in  1881,  he  married  Miss  Sallie 
F.  Young,  whose  father  was  the  late  Thomas  W.  Young, 
a farmer  at  Florence.  Their  family  comprises  four 
children : Errett,  who  is  in  the  land  business  with  Mullen 
Bros.,  at  Ardmore,  Oklahoma;  Allen  Young,  who  was 
drowned  at  Fort  Arbuckle,  Oklahoma,  June  29,  1897 ; 
Laurence,  postmaster  and  merchant  at  Wilson,  Okla- 
homa; and  Mattie,  a junior  in  Enid  College. 

Yikgil  A.  Wood,  M.  D.  It  is  not  only  as  a physician 
and  surgeon,  but  as  a citizen  of  varied  usefulness  and 
public  spirit  that  Doctor  Wood  is ’identified  with  Black- 
well  a_nd  Kay  County.  He  located  in  Blackwell  in  1901, 
and  since  that  year  he  has  quietly  and  efficiently  per- 
formed his  services  as  a doctor  in  the  city  and  surround- 
ing country.  He  is  a man  of  high  standing  in  his 
profession,  and  has  undoubtedly  chosen  wisely  in  devot- 
ing himself  unselfishly  and  patriotically  to  the  welfare 
of  his  fellow  man,  rather  than  concentrating  his  efforts 
towards  the  building  up  of  a fortune.  He  enjoys  the 
rewards  of  community  esteem  in  a richer  degree  than 
some  men  perhaps  more  fortunate  in  worldly  wealth, 
and  may  well  be  content  with  his  independence  and  his 
career  of  practical  idealism. 

Doctor  Wood  is  a pioneer  of  Oklahoma,  having  come 
to  the  territory  in  1889,  the  year  of  the  first  opening. 
He  has  practiced  medicine  upwards  of  thirty  years,  and 
by  bis  skill  and  ability  stands  in  the  front  rank  of 
Oklahoma  practitioners.  Doctor  Wood  was  born  on  a 
Georgia  plantation  August  12,  1849.  His  parents  were 
James  and  Mary  (Turner)  Wood,  the  former  a native 
of  North  Carolina  and  the  latter  of  Georgia.  His  father 
gave  service  in  behalf  of  the  Southern  cause  during  the 
war  between  the  states.  From  Georgia  the  family  sub- 
sequently removed  to  Texas,  and  later  to  Arkansas. 
James  Wood  followed  farming  all  his  active  career  and 
died  at  the  age  of  eighty-two  years,  while  his  wife  passed 
away  at  sixty.  Both  were  members  of  the  Baptist 
Church.  Of  their  five  children  three  are  still  living: 
Hon.  R.  E.  Wood,  a prominent  citizen  of  Oklahoma  City, 
assistant  attorney-general  of  Oklahoma;  O.  M.  Wood  of 
Arkansas;  and  Dr.  V.  A.  Wood. 

Doctor  Wood  spent  his  early  life  on  farms  in  Texas 
and  Arkansas.  This  experience  gave  him  a sound  con- 
stitution and  was  a wholesome  training  for  his  later 
professional  career.  At  the  same  time  he  attended  public 
schools,  studied  at  home,  and  also  had  the  advantages  of 
college.  He  began  the  study  of  medicine  under  a well 
known  physician  in  Arkansas,  and  then  entered  the 
Louisville  Medical  College  of  Kentucky,  where  he  was 
graduated  M.  D.  in  1885. 

Doctor  Wood  was  married  in  1874,  in  Arkansas,  to  Miss 
Sarah  Robbins.  They  have  now  lived  together  as  man 
and  wife  and  in  mutual  confidence  and  esteem  for  more 
than  forty  years.  Mrs.  Wood  is  a member  of  a Georgia 
family  and  of  old  Southern  antecedents.  Doctor  Wood 
and  wife  are  proud  of  their  family  of  nine  children: 
Robert  H.,  who  is  a geologist  and  is  connected  with  the 
work  of  his  profession  in  a Government  position  at  Wash- 
ington; Homa  and  Okla,  twins,  and  both  A.  M.  graduates 
from  the  University  of  Oklahoma,  and  Homa  is  an  LL.  D. 
of  the  same  university;  Virgil  O.;  Dudley;  Beulah,  of 
Shawnee ; Minnie  Rose,  wife  of  a successful  business  man 
at  Watonga;  and  Edna,  wife  of  F.  A.  Smith  of  Fort 
Smith,  Arkansas.  All  the  children  have  received  the  best 
of  educational  advantages,  and  have  been  well  prepared 
for  their  duties  in  life. 

Doctor  Wood,  outside  of  his  professional  service,  has 
interested  himself  above  all  in  the  advancement  of  the 
public  schools  of  Blackwell  and  Kay  County.  For  twelve 


years  he  has  served  as  a member  of  the  Blackwell  School 
Board,  and  the  people  of  that  community  readily’  give 
him  credit  for  the  splendid  improvements  which  now  give 
Blackwell  rank  among  the  first  cities  of  Oklahoma  in 
point  of  educational  standards  and  equipment.  He  has 
worked  assiduously  and  unselfishly  to  provide  such  oppor- 
tunities to  the  growing  generation  and  for  many  years  to 
come  his  name  will  deserve  recognition  when  the  progress 
of  the  Blackwell  schools  is  under  discussion.  Doctor 
Wood  and  wife  are  both  active  members  of  the  Baptist 
Church,  in  which  he  is  deacon,  while  Mrs.  Wood  is  promi- 
nent in  the  church  organizations.  Both  have  been  liberal 
supporters  of  the  church,  and  Doctor  Wood  has  probably 
accomplished  as  much  as  any  other  local  physician  in 
the  direction  of  practical  charity,  giving  his  services 
without  thought  of  remuneration  to  those  requiring  it, 
whether  rich  or  poor.  He  has  always  believed  in  the 
golden  rule,  and  has  practiced  it  perhaps  as  acceptably 
as  any  man.  While  he  has  always  enjoyed  a high  stand- 
ing and  a good  practice  as  a physician,  he  has  not  accumu- 
lated wealth  and  has  had  little  ambition  to  do  so.  Much 
of  his  income  has  gone  in  support  of  the  manifold 
charities  and  causes  in  which  he  was  interested,  and  in 
the  community  esteem  which  is  paid  him  and  in  the 
wealth  of  his  home  and  well  trained  children  he  has 
riches  greater  than  could  be  measured  by  bank  stocks 
or  railroad  bonds.  Doctor  Wood  is  a fine  example  of  the 
old-time  Southern  gentleman,  has  proved  himself  trust- 
worthy in  all  the  relations  of  life,  and  greets  hardship 
and  ill  fortune  with  the  same  kindly  smile  that  he  turns- 
to  his  many  friends. 

William  R. ' Jones.  Within  the  period  of  his  resi- 
dence in  Oklahoma  Judge  Jones  has  proved  a specially 
able  representative  of  both  the  pedagogic  and  legal  pro- 
fessions, and  in  the  autumn  of  1914  there  came  a well 
merited  recognition  of  his  eligibility  and  hi3  high  stand- 
ing at  the  bar  when  he  was  elected  to  the  bench  of  the- 
County  Court  of  Payne  County,  an  exacting  and  respon- 
sible office  in  which  he  is  giving  a characteristically  ef- 
fective and  popular  administration.  Prior  to  establishing 
his  residence  at  Stillwater,  the  county  seat,  he  had  main- 
tained his  home  at  Cushing,  this  county,  where  he  had 
been  a successful  teacher  in  the  public  schools  and  had' 
also  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law. 

Judge  Jones  was  born  on  a farm  in  Wright  County, 
Missouri,  and  the  date  of  his  nativity  was  December  18, 
1877.  He  is  a son  of  Thomas  and  Luvinia  (Royster) 
Jones,  who  were  born  and  reared  in  Tennessee  and  who 
were  young  folk  at  the  time  of  the  removal  of  the 
respective  families  to  Missouri,  just  before  the  outbreak 
of  the  Civil  war.  In  that,  state  their  marriage  Was 
solemnized  and  they  still  reside  on  their  excellent  home- 
stead farm  in  Wright  County,  the  subject  of  this  review 
being  the  eldest  of  their  eight  surviving  children. 

Judge  Jones  acquired  his  early  education  in  the  schools 
of  his  native  state  and  his  initial  experiences  were  those 
gained  in  connection  with  the  activities  of  the  home  farm. 
He  .was  an  ambitious  student  and  through  his  well  di- 
rected application  he  acquired  a liberal  education  along 
academic  lines.  Thus  he  admirably  fortified  himself  for 
the  pedagogic  profession,  of  which  he  was  a successful 
and  popular  representative  for  fourteen  consecutive 
years,  save  for  an  interim  of  one  year.  His  earlier  work 
as  a teacher  was  in  schools  of  his  native  state,  and  he 
taught  one  year  in  Arkansas.  In  1902  he  came  to 
Oklahoma  Territory,  and  here  he  continued  his  efficient 
services  as  a teacher  for  a period  of  six  years — until  he 
turned  his  attention  to  the  practice  of  law.  During  the 
first  two  years  of  his  residence  in  the  territory  he  taught 
in  the  schools  of  Oklahoma  County,  and  he  has  been  a 
resident  of  Payne  County  since  1908.  While  in  Oklahoma 


1976 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


County  Judge  Jones  further  fortified  himself  by  attend- 
ing the  State  Normal  School  at  Edmond,  and  later  he 
continued  his  higher  academic  studies  in  the  Oklahoma 
Agricultural  & Mechanical  College,  at  Stillwater.  For 
three  years  he  was  principal  of  the  public  schools  at 
Cushing,  Payne  County,  and  1912  he  was  elected  county 
superintendent  of  schools,  an  office  which  he  held  two 
years,  and  in  which  he  did  admirable  work  in  systematiz- 
ing and  advancing  the  work  of  the  schools  of  Payne 
County.  While  engaged  in  teaching  he  devoted  close 
attention  to  the  study  of  law  and  gained  a comprehensive' 
and  practical  knowledge  of  the  science  of  jurisprudence, 
his  admission  to  the  Oklahoma  bar  having  been  granted 
in  1910.  He  removed  to  Stillwater  upon  assuming  office 
as  county  superintendent  of  schools,  and  after  his  retire- 
ment from  that  responsible  post  he  was  here  engaged  in 
the  active  general  practice  of  law  until  his  election  to 
his  present  office,  that  of  county  judge,  in  the  autumn  of 
1914.  He  is  a staunch  and  effective  advocate  of  the 
principles  and  policies  for  which  the  democratic  party 
stands  sponsor  and  has  rendered  yeoman  service  in  behalf 
of  its  cause  during  his  residence  in  Oklahoma.  He  and 
his  wife  hold  membership  in  the  Christian  Church  and  he 
is  affiliated  with  the  local  lodge  of  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons. 

In  1908  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Judge  Jones 
to  Miss  Naomi  Howe,  who  was  born  in  Kansas,  and  who 
is  a daughter  of  Alexander  C.  and  Harriet  Howe,  both  of 
whom  were  born  in  Pennsylvania,  whence  they  removed 
to  Kansas  in  the  pioneer  period  of  its  history.  Thev 
remained  in  the  Sunflower  State  until  1892,  when  they 
came  to  Oklahoma  Territory  and  first  located  at  Guthrie. 
Mr.  Howe  later  became  a prosperous  farmer  of  Payne 
County,  where  his  death  occurred  and  where  his  widow 
still  maintains  her  home.  Judge  and  Mrs.  Jones  have 
three  children:  Lorene,  Paul  and  Harold. 

Ira  Edwin  Snyder.  This  young  business  man  of 
1 rederiek  where  he  is  manager  of  the  Southwestern  Lum- 
ber  Company,  has  shown  an  unusual  ability  to  advance 
himself  in  the  world,  and  immediately  on  finishing  a high 
school  course  in  Kansas  started  to  learn  the  lumber 
business,  and  in  a very  few  brief  years  has  been  advanced 
to  responsibilities  which  make  him  an  important  factor 
in  the  Town  of  Frederick. 

Born  at  Pleasanton,  Kansas,  February  11,  1889,  he  is 
a.  son  of  Edward  Marcus  Snyder,  a grandson  of  Asa 
Snyder,  and  a great-grandson  of  an  emigrant  from 
Germany  who  spelled  his  name  Schneider,  who  settled  in 
Tennessee  as  a farmer  and  married  a Miss  Downey. 
Grandfather  Asa  Snyder  removed  his  family  from  Ten- 
nessee to  Kentucky,  thence  to  Illinois,  and  finally  to 
Kansas,  and  died  near  Pleasanton  in  the  latter  state.  He 
combined  the  business  of  farming  with  his  duties  as  a 
local  Methodist  Protestant  minister.  Edward  Marcus 
Snyder,  who  was  born  near  Danville,  Vermilion  County, 
Illinois,  in  1853,  was  also  a minister  of  the  Methodist 
Protestant  Church,  and  is  now  living  at  Centerville 
Kansas.  In  that  state  he  has  had  charge  of  churches  at 
Centerville,  Rose  Hill,  Battlefield,  Whitewater,  and  other 
places,  and  for  two  years  preached  in  the  Congrega- 
tional Church  at  Fredonia.  His  first  wife  was  a Miss 
Perry,  who  died  in  Linn  County,  Kansas,  the  mother  of 
three  children,  namely:  Fred  B.,  who  is  a machinist  in 
the  shingle  mill  at  Blanchard,  Washington;  Lena  May, 
who  lives  at  Wichita,  Kansas;  and  Clema  Inez,  wife  of 
Frank  Brooks,  who  is  a farmer  near  Blue  Mountain, 
Kansas.  Edward  M.  Snyder  married  for  his  second  wife 
Ella  Ann  Osborne,  who  was  born  at  Uniontown,  Penn- 
sylvania. Their  children  are  Ira  Edwin  Snyder  and 
Charles  Wilbur  Snyder,  the  latter  born  October  31,  1890, 


and  now  manager  of  the  Daseomb-Daniels  Lumber  Com- 
pany at  Frederick,  Oklahoma. 

His  early  training  in  the  common  schools  Mr.  Snyder 
acquired  at  Centerville,  Rose  Hill,  Prairie  Center,  Kan- 
sas, and  was  graduated  from  the  high  school  at  Burns, 
Kansas,  in  1909.  On  May  10th  of  the  same  year  he 
placed  his  foot  on  the  first  round  of  the  ladder  of 
advancement  by  becoming  yard  man  and  bookkeeper  in 
the  lumber  yard  at  Burns,  and  remained  there  until 
April,  1910.  He  was  then  sent  to  Westphalia,  Kansas, 
as  manager  of  the  R.  W.  Long  Lumber  Company  for 
2%  years,  and  on  October  5,  1912,  arrived  at  Frederick, 
Oklahoma,  where  he  has  since  had  local  management  of 
the  Southwestern  Lurhber  Company.  The  headquarters 
of  this  company  are  at  Kansas  City  and  there  are  eleven 
branch  yards  maintained  in  Oklahoma.  This  company 
acts  as  sales  and  distributing  agent  for  the  East  Oregon 
Lumber  Company  in  the  State  of  Oregon. 

Mr.  Snyder  is  independent  in  polities,  a member  of 
the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  is  affiliated  with  West- 
phalia Lodge  No.  305,  Ancient  Free  and  Accented  Masons, 
with  Frederick  Chapter  No.  41,  Royal  Arch  Masons,  with 
the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen,  and  belongs  to 
the  Business  Men’s  Association  of  Frederick. 

On  December  31,  1912,  at  Westphalia,  Kansas,  hp  mar- 
ried Miss  Violet  Eagle,  daughter  of  J.  S.  Eagle,  who  is 
now  living  retired  at  Westnhalia.  They  have  two  daugh 
ters,  Rose  Marie  and  Eleanor  Margaret. 


Thomas  P.  Braidwood.  In  1887,  about  two  years 
prior  to  the  formal  opening  of  Oklahoma  Territory  to 
white  settlement,  Mr.  Braidwood  came  to  the  neutral 
strip  of  country  then  known  as  No  Man ’s  Land  and 
became  one  of  the  influential  figures  in  defining  the 
government  and  instituting  the  development  of  this 
region  that  now  includes  a number  of  the  most  prosper- 
ous and  progressive  counties  in  the  western  part  of  the 
state.  He  established  his  residence  in  old  Beaver  City 
and  there  opened  and  conducted  the  first  hardware  store, 
operations  having  been  continued  in  the  original  building 
until  the  same  was  destroyed  by  a cyclone  that  swept 
the  locality  on  the  31st  of  March,  1892.  In  the  year 
that  marked  his  arrival  in  this  new  frontier  region,  Mr. 
Braidwood  became  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Terri- 
tory of  Cimarron,  and  he  served  as  a member  of  the 
Territorial  Senate.  In  1888  he  was  chosen  territorial 
secretary,  and  of  this  office  he  continued  the  incumbent 
until  the  territorial  organization  was  dissolved  by  the 
opening  of  Oklahoma  Territory  to  settlement,  as  duly 
recorded  in  the  direct  historical  department  of  this 
publication. 

In  1890  when  old  Beaver  County,  including  the  present- 
day  counties  of  Beaver,  Texas  and  Cimarron,  was  organ- 
ized, Mr.  Braidwood  was  appointed  county  clerk  by 
Hon.  George  W.  Steele,  then  Governor  of  Oklahoma  Ter- 
ritory. In  the  ensuing  popular  election,  in  1891,  he 
was  duly  chosen  the  incumbent  of  this  office,  in  which 
he  served  two  years.  He  then  returned  to  his  former 
home  at  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  where  he  remained  until 
1897,  when  he  came  again  to  Oklahoma  and  resumed  his 
residence  in  Beaver  County.  In  1902  he  was  elected 
representative  of  Beaver  and  Woodward  counties  in  the* 
lower  house  of  the  Territorial  Legislature,  in  which'] 
he  served  one  term  and  did  much  to  further  the  best' 
interests  of  his  constituent  district,  besides  taking  loyal 
and  effective  part  in  legislation  for  the  benefit  of  thei 
territory  at  large.  In  1905  he  served  as  journal  clerki 
of  the  Legislature.  In  1907,  the  year  of  the  admission 
of  Oklahoma  as  one  of  the  sovereign  states  of  the 
Union,  Mr.  Braidwood  was  appointed  United  States  Com 
missioner  for  western  Oklahoma,  and  of  this  Federal 


infan 


band 


«tyj 


He  da 


folloirii 


April  i 


•the  foil. 


tcember, 


jmiiRe 
and  Job 

1 

in  tie 

Indian  ] 
wlio «, 
June,  ]| 
■Black, ; 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1977 


office  lie  has  since  continued  the  efficient  incumbent,  his 
residence  being  maintained  in  the  Village  of  Beaver, 
judicial  center  of  the  county  of  the  same  name.  He 
has  been  foremost  in  all  activities  tending  to  promote 
the  civic  and  material  advancement  of  his  home  town  and 
county,  and  in  1888  he  served  as  mayor  of  old  Beaver 
City,  no  other  pioneer  of  this  now  opulent  section  of 
the  state  being  better  known  or  held  in  higher  popular 
esteem.  Mr.  Braidwood  has  reclaimed  and  improved 
one  of  the  large  and  valuable  stock  ranches  of  Beaver 
County,  is  still  the  owner  of  this  property  and  on  the 
same  he  maintained  his  residence  for  a period  of  eleven 
years.  He  has  proved  one  of  the  strong,  vigilant  and 
resourceful  pioneers  and  upbuilders  of  western  Okla- 
homa and  his  name  shall  ever  merit  high  place  on  the 
.historical  records  of  this  section  of  the  state. 

Mr.  Braidwood  was  born  in  the  city  of  Albany,  New 
York,  on  the  24th  of  March,  1855,  and  his  father, 
Thomas  L.  Braidwood  was  born  at  Utica,  that  state,  on 
the  3d  of  May,  1820, . his  death  having  occurred  in 
Beaver  County,  Oklahoma,  on  the  1st  of  May,  1900, 
only  two  days  prior  to  his  eightieth  birthday  anniversary. 
Thomas  L.  Braidwood  was  reared  and  educated  in  the 
old  Empire  State,  where  h§  learned  the  trade  of  iron 
moulder  and  where  he  continued  his  residence  until 
1871,  when  he  removed  with  his  family  to  Kansas  and 
became  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  of  Cowley  County, 
where  he  entered  claim  to  and  settled  upon  a tract  of 
government  land.  He  instituted  the  development  of 
this  land  and  eventually  perfected  his  title  to  the 
property.  He  continued  to  reside  upon  his  pioneer 
homestead  until  1875,  when  he  removed  to  Leavenworth, 
that  state,  and  became  superintendent  of  a stove  foun- 
dry. With  this  industrial  enterprise  he  continued  to 
be  thus  identified  until  1889,  when  he  came  to  Beaver 
County,  Oklahoma,  and  resumed  operations  as  an  agri- 
culturist and  stock  grower,  with  which  lines  of  enterprise 
he  here  continued  to  be  identified  until  his  death,  both 
he  and  his  wife  having  been  persons  of  superior  intel- 
lectual powers  and  of  sterling  character,  their  worthy 
lives  and  worthy  deeds  having  gained  to  them  the  good 
will  and  high  esteem  of  all  with  whom  they  came  in  con- 
tact. In  the  State  of  New  York  was  solemnized  the 
marriage  of  Thomas  L.  Braidwood  to  Miss  Marian 
Burgess,  who  was  born  in  the  City  of  Glasgow,  Scotland, 
on  the  11th  of  November,  1818,  and  who  was  thus  an 
infant  at  the  time  of  her  parents’  immigration  to  the 
United  States,  in  1820.  She  was  reared  and  educated 
in  the  State  of  New  York  and  survived  her  honored  hus- 
band by  exactly  two  years,  she  having  been  summoned 
to  the  life  eternal  on  the  3d  of  May,  1902,  in  Beaver 
•County,  Oklahoma.  The  marriage  of  this  loved  pioneer 
couple  was  solemnized  at  West  Troy,  New  York,  on 
the  6th  day  of  July,  1844,  and  after  a period  of  nearly 
sixty  years  their  devoted  companionship  was  severed  by 
the  death  of  Mr.  Braidwood.  They  became  the  parents 
of  four  sons  and  two  daughters,  concerning  whom  the 
following  brief  data  are  entered:  James  was  born 

April  6,  1845,  and  died  on  the  15th  of  September  of 
the  following  year.  John  Burgess  was  born  September  5, 
1846,  and  now  resides  in  Albany,  New  York.  He  mar- 
ried Miss  Caroline  VanGuy sling,  on  the  25th  of  De- 
cember, 1870,  and  her  death  occurred  in  1885,  their  sur- 
viving children  being  James  A.,  born  October  12,  1871, 
and  John  Burgess,  Jr.,  born  September  5,  1874.  James 
i Liddell  was  born  September  25,  1848,  and  was  drowned 
in  the  Arkansas  River,  at  a popit  near  Muskogee, 
i Indian  Territory,  on  the  10th  of  May,  1871.  Marian  E., 
> who  was  born  at  Albany,  New  York,  on  the  10th  of 
June,  1851,  was  married  July  4,  1874,  to  Charles  C. 
IZBlaek,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  four  children: 


Charlotte,  Marian  E.,  Francis  and  Charles  B.,  all  of 
whom  are  living  except  the  first  born.  Thomas  P., 
whose  name  introduces  this  article,  was  the  next  in 
order  of  birth.  Anna  J.,  who  was  born  March  13,  1858, 
became,  on  the  31st  of  March,  1875,  the  wife  of  William 
M.  Allison,  and  of  their  six  children  Howard  and  Robert 
died  in  infancy,  as  did  also  Nina,  the  three  surviving 
being  William  A.,  born  August  1,  1878;  Marian,  born 
in  February,  1879,  died  in  1907 ; and  Anna,  born  May 
18,  1883.  Mrs.  Allison  died  July  6,  1892,  at  Chandler, 
Oklahoma,  and  her  husband,  who  was  a pioneer  news- 
paper man,  both  in  Southern  Kansas  and  in  Oklahoma, 
now  resides  at  Snyder,  Oklahoma,  where  he  is  serving  as 
postmaster. 

Thomas  P.  Braidwood  acquired  his  early  education  in 
the  public  schools  of  his  native  city,  the  capital  of  the 
State  of  New  York,  and  was  a lad  of  about  sixteen  years 
when  he  accompanied  his  parents  on  their  immigration 
to  Kansas,  in  1871.  After  his  father  assumed  the  super- 
intendency of  the  stove  foundry  at  Leavenworth,  that 
state,  Mr.  Braidwood  was'  employed  twelve  years  as  a 
moulder  in  the  establishment,  and  he  thus  continued  to 
be  engaged  until  his  removal  to  what  is  now  the  State  of 
Oklahoma,  in  1887,  as  noted  in  detail  in  former  para- 
graphs of  this  article. 

Mr.  Braidwood  is  aligned  as  a stalwart  advocate  of 
the  political  principles  and  policies  for  which  the  re- 
publican party  stands  sponsor,  has  received  the  thirty- 
second  degree  of  the  Ancient  Accepted  Scottish  Rite  in 
the  time-honored  Masonic  fraternity,  and  is  affiliated 
also  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias. 

At  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  on  the  6th  of  June,  1877, 
was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Braidwood  to  Miss 
Josie  A.  Warner,  who  was  born  at  Delavan,  Tazewell 
County,  Illinois,  on  the  10th  day  of  July,  1855,  a daugh- 
ter of  Alexander  and  Almira  (Dossett)  Warner,  the 
former  a native  of  England  and  the  latter  of  Illinois. 
Mrs.  Braidwood  received  a collegiate  education  and  for 
three  years  rrior  to  her  marriag.e  she  was  a successful 
teacher  in  the  pioneer  schools  of  Crawford  County, 
Kansas.  She  died  in  the  City  of  Leavenworth,  that 
state,  on  the  12th  of  June,  1897,  and  of  her  two  chil- 
dren the  elder  is  living, — Thomas.  C.,  who  was  born 
at  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  September  3,  1878,  and  resides 
at  Beaver,  Oklahoma.  He  married  Miss  Ed’th  Hoover, 
a native  of  Kansas,  on  the  10th  of  April,  1913.  Lottie, 
the  younger  of  the  two  children  of  Thomas  P.  and 
Josie  A.  (Warner)  Braidwood,  was  born  November  26, 
1880,  and  died  in  infancy. 

Lewis  M.  Spencer.  A well  known  citizen  of  Cana-, 
dian  County  and  an  influential  and  honored  resident  of 
the  thriving  little  City  of  Yukon,  Mr.  Spencer  is  specially 
entitled  to  recognition  in  this  publication,  as  he  figures 
as  one  of  the  founders  and  builders  of  the  attractive  town 
in  which  he  maintains  his  home  and  in  the  original  plat- 
ting of  which  he  was  associated  with  his  brother,  A.  N. 
Spencer. 

Mr.  Spencer  reverts  to  the  fine  old  Buckeye  State  as 
the  place  of  his  nativity  and  is  a scion  of  one  of  its* 
pioneer  families.  He  was  born  at  Wilmington,  Clinton 
County,  Ohio,  6n  the  17th  of  April,  1842,  and  is  one  of 
the  four  sons  born  to  Mahlon  and  Mary  Ann  (Little) 
Spencer,  who  removed  from  Oh;o  to  Montgomery  County, 
Illinois,  in  an  early  day  and  became  pioneers  of  the 
latter  state,  where  the  father  engaged  in  farming,  both 
he  and  his  wife  having  continued  their  residence  in  Illi- 
nois until  the  time  of  their  death.  He  whose  name 
initiates  this  review  was  a child  at  the  time  of  the 
family  removal  to  Illinois,  and  in  Macoupin  and  Mont- 
gomery counties  he  was  reared  to  maturity  under  the  con- 


1978 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


ditions  and  influences  of  the  pioneer  days,  his  early 
educational  advantages  having  been  limited  to  a some- 
what desultory  attendance  of  the  winter  sessions  ip  a 
primitive  log  school-house  of  the  type  common  to  the 
locality  and  period.  As  a young  man  in  1860  he  went 
to  Baton  Rouge,  Louisiana,  where  Capt.  W.  Knott  Little, 
a brother  to  his  mother  maintained  his  home.  As  a 
valiant  soldier  in  the  Confederate  service  he  took  part 
in  the  great  conflict,  and  after  the  close  of  the  war  he 
made  his  way  to  Texas,  where  he  gained  practical  ex- 
perience in  the  herding  of  cattle  on  the  great  open 
ranges.  From  the  Lone  Star  State  he  and  his  brother, 
A.  N.,  who  is  now  deceased,  had  occasion  to  drive  cattle 
through  what  is  now  the  State  of  Oklahoma,  and  in  so 
doing  they  made  their  first  visit  in  the  vicinity  of  the 
present  Town  of  Yukon,  of  which  they  were  the 
founders.  A.  N.  Spencer  later  became  associated  with 
the  construction  of  the  Choctaw  Railroad,  the  line  of 
which  is  now  a part  of  the  Chicago  & Rock  Island  system, 
and  on  this  early  railway  he  became  the  founder  of  the 
Village  of  Yukon,  in  association  with  his  brother  Lewis 
M.,  of  this  sketch.  The  two  brothers  laid  out  the  vil- 
lage and  were  the  most  influential  factors  in  bringing 
about  its  development  and  upbuilding  into  one  of  the 
attractive  and  prosperous  municipalities,  of  the  present 
State  of  Oklahoma.  Lewis  M.  Spencer  has  maintained 
his  home  at  Yukon  since  1891,  and  is  locally  referred 
to,  with  all  of  appreciation,  as  the  father  of  the  town. 
He  and  his  brother  obtained  four  quarter-sections  of 
land,  and  on  this  tract  laid  out  the  town,  and  built 
the  railroad  and  to  the  development  of  which  they  vig- 
orously applied  themselves,  their  effective  efforts  having 
resulted  in  gaining  to  the  new  town  an  excellent  class 
of  enterprising  citizens.  Lewis  M.  Spencer  has  erected 
many  houses  in  Yukon  and  has  sold  them  on  easy  terms, 
thus  enabling  numerous  families  to  obtain  desirable 
homes.  During  all  the  years  of  his  residence  at  Yukon 
he  has  here  been  a prominent  and  successful  representa- 
tive of  the  real-estate  business,  in  the  handling  of  both 
farm  and  town  property,  and  with  characteristic  pro- 
gressiveness and  civic  loyalty  he  has  contributed  liberally 
to  the  erection  of  church  edifices  and  parsonages,  and 
to  the  support  of  religious,  educational  and  other  agencies 
that  ever  conserve  the  best  interests  of  the  community. 
His  success  has  been  won  by  earnest  and  worthy  effort, 
he  has  guided  his  course  on  a high  plane  of  integrity 
and  honor,  and  none  of  the  sterling  pioneers  of  Canadian 
County  has  more  secure  place  in  popular  confidence  and 
esteem  than  does  this  generous  and  public-spirited  citi- 
zen. 

Mr.  Spencer  has  been  closely  identified  with  the  de- 
velopment of  the  admirable  agricultural  resources  of  his 
home  county,  and  at  the  Louisiana  Purchase  Exposi- 
tion, in  the  City  of  St.  Louis,  he  won  a bronze  medal  for 
his  exhibit  of  corn  raised  by  him  and  pronounced  the 
best  exhibited  at  that  great  exposition.  He  has  won  also 
other  prizes  on  corn  and  cotton  exhibited  by  him  at 
fairs  conducted  by  both  state  and  county  agricultural 
societies.  Yukon  is  located  on  a beautiful  high  site 
fifteen  miles  west  of  Oklahoma  City,  fourteen  miles  east 
of  El  Reno,  three  miles  south  of  the  .North  Canadian 
River  and  twelve  miles  north  of  the  South  Canadian 
River.  It  consists  mostly  of  dark  rich  valley  soil  under- 
laid with  oil  and  gas,  and  raises  most  any  kind  of 
produce  in  abundance.  To  the  investor  Yukon  offers 
the  largest  revenue  on  the  investment,  the  demand  for 
houses  at  a good  rental,  with  a low  taxation  and  small 
capital  invested,  insures  the  investor  a good  net  gain  on 
his  investment. 

On  September  13,  1874,  was  solemnized  the  marriage 
of  Mr.  Spencer  to  Miss  Mary  J.  Siceluff,  the  only  child 


of  sterling  German  parents,  and  the  one  child  of  this 
union  is  Claudia,  who  is  now  the  wife  of  Elmer  E.  Kirk- 
patrick, of  Oklahoma  City. 

Robert  C.  Whinery.  Owner  and  editor  of  the 
Tonkawa  News,  Robert  C.  Whinery  is  one  of  the  suc- 
cessful newspaper  men  of  Oklahoma.  To  journalism 
he  has  brought  the  talents  which  would  have  enabled 
him  to  succeed  in  lines  of  business  much  more  remunera-  j 
tive,  and  for  many  years  has  been  through  all  the  grades  J 
of  service  in  the  fourth  estate,  from  printer  and  reporter 
to  editor,  and  from  a salaried  position  to  independent  4 
publisher. 

In  many  ways  the  Tonkawa  News  has  a distinctive  1 
position  in  Oklahoma  newspaperdom,  and  is  acknowledged 
to  be  one  of  the  brightest  and  most  enterprising  journals  *1 
in  the  northern  part  of  the  state.  It  is  now  issuing  the 
numbers  of  its  eighteenth  volume,  and  was  established 
at  Tonkawa  in  1898 . by  , Thomas  Fry,  now  a resident  , 
of  Wichita,  Kansas.  The  paper  is  maintained  inde-  1 
pendently  so  far  as  politics  is  concerned,  and  is  first  I 
and  last  a strenuous  advocate  of  everything  that  is  good 
for  Tonkawa  and  vicinity,  whether  in  business,  civic  1 
improvement,  the  elevation  of  schools  and  churches,  or  g 
anything  else  that  will  make  it  a better  town  to  live  in.  I 
Mr.  Whinery  has  a well  equipped  newspaper  office  and  J 
plant,  with  linotype,  modern  presses  both  for  newspaper  I 
printing  and  job  work,  and  is  a man  of  broad  experience  1 
both  in  the  mechanical  and  editorial  branches  of  his  I 
profession.  For  eleven  years  he  has  been  identified  with  I 
newspaper  work  in  Oklahoma,  having  come  to  the  terri-  I 
tory  in  1904.  He  brought  the  first  linotype  machines  I 
into  Shawnee,  Oklahoma,  and  for  one  year  was  connected  I 
with  Charles  Barrett  on  the  Shawnee  Herald.  They  I 
conducted  a live  wire  newspaper  during  the  territorial  j 
days,  and  the  Herald  was  a power  both  in  politics  and  }■ 
in  general  affairs.  Mr.  Whinery  was  associate  editor  j 
with  Mr.  Barrett  on  the  Herald.  Later  he  removed  to  I 
Tonkawa  and  bought  the  plant  of  the  News,  and  has  ] 
since  developed  this  paper  with  a large  circulation  I 
throughout  Kay  and  adjoining  counties. 

Robert  C.  Whinery  was  born  in  Wilmington,  Clinton  I 
County,  Ohio,  and  is  of  Quaker  parentage,  a son  of  Isaiah  j 
and  Hannah  Whinery.  His  father  is  of  Irish  stock,  and  j 
made  a creditable  record  for  himself  and  his  descendants  I 
as  a soldier  in  the  Union  army.  He  is  now  living  at  I 
Pleasanton,  Kansas,  at  the  advanced  age  of  eighty-four  ! 
years.  The  mother  died  in  1906,  aged  sixty-eight.  She  I 
was  a native  of  Virginia,  her  parents  being  of  the  F.  F.  ! 
V.  There  were  six  children,  four  sons  and  two  daughters.  I 

Mr.  Whinery  received  his  early  education  in  a little  1 
Quaker  school  in  Ohio.  His  university  career  began  with  J 
his  entrance  into  a printing  shop  at  the  age  of  fifteen 
in  the  lowly  capacity  of  a devil.  He  learned  everything  I 
about  printing  and  newspaper  business  that  could  be 
learned  in  the  shop  of  the  Pleasanton  Observer,  and  then 
went  to  Kansas  City,  where  he  had  a more  metropolitan 
training  and  experience.  For  a time  he  was  on  Colonel  I 
Van  Horn’s  republican  paper,  the  Kansas  City  Journal,  I 
and  also  with  the  Kansas  City  Star  under  Colonel  Nelson.  I 
One  of  the  editors  under  whom  he  worked  was  the  noted  1 
William  Allen  White,  the  great  Emporia  editor,  authorl 
and  statesman.  He  finally  resigned  and  moved  to  Shaw-  I 
nee,  Oklahoma,  as  already  mentioned. 

At  Pleasanton,  Kansas,  in  January,  1893,  Mr.  Whinery! 
married  Miss  Mamie  Latimer.  Mrs.  Whinery  is  a woman  t 
of  education  and  culture,  was  educated  in  Park  College  j 
in  Missouri,  and  was  a successful  teacher  before  her  J 
marriage.  Her  parents  were  James  and  Elizabeth  (Hart- 1 
ford)  Latimer,  her  father  having  been  a professor  ini 
Knox  College  in  Illinois.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Whinery  have  j 
three  children : Marie  Elizabeth  and  Esther,  students  j 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1979 


at  the  State  University  at  Norman;  and  Eobert  C.,  Jr., 
now  nine  years  of  age. 

Mr.  Whinery  in  politics  has  always  been  a republican. 
He  has  been  honored  with  the  office  of  mayor,  and  is  a 
hard  and  independent  worker  for  anything  that  will  bring 
welfare  to  his  community.  His  associates  speak  of  him 
as  a man  of  decided  conviction,  and  always  ready  to 
take  a firm  stand  on  a platform  of  right  and  justice. 
He  is  a member  of  the  Masonic  Order,  being  a past 
master  of  the  lodge,  and  of  the  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows,  and  his  family  worship  in  the  Presbyterian 
faith. 

Aakon  Drumright.  Only  to  few  men  can  come  such 
distinction  as  that  which  has  made  Aaron  Drumright  the 
father  of  a city  of  fifteen  thousand  people,  which  bears 
his  name,  and  which  is  now  considered  one  of  the  great- 
est oil  centers  in  the  world.  Drumright  was  worthily 
named.  It  was  an  honor  fitly  bestowed.  Mr.  Drumright 
was  not  only  the  fortunate  possessor  of  a large  acreage 
in  Creek  County  which  was  underlaid  by  unusually  rich 
deposits  of  oil  and  gas,  but  he  had  the  public  spirit,  the 
business,  enterprise  and  the  management  which  enabled 
him  to  make  the  best  of  these  resources  not  only  for  him- 
self but  for  the  thousands  of  others  who  have  since  con- 
gregated around  the  site  of  his  original  homestead.  The 
people  of  Drumright,  both  the  old  and  new  settlers,  say 
that  no  one  individual  has  done  quite  so  much  in  a public 
spirited  and  liberal  fashion  for  the  upbuilding  of  the 
little  city  than  the  man  for  whom  it  was  named. 

It  is  also  unusual  to  discover  that  Mr.  Drumright  is  a 
very  young  man  in  spite  of  his  wealth  and  position. 
He  was  born  at  West  Plains,  Howell  County,  Missouri, 
June  22,  1883.  His  parents  were  E.  P.  and  Eliza  Ann 
(Hatcher)  Drumright,  his  father  having  been  born  in 
Tennessee  in  July,  1854,  and  his  mother  in  Northern  Mis- 
souri. The  mother  died  at  West  Plains  at  the  age  of 
forty  in  May,  1896.  The  father  spent  about  forty  years 
on  the  old  homestead  at  West  Plains,  but  for  the  past  five 
years  has  had  his  home  in  Oklahoma.  In  1910  Aaron  and 
his  brother  Otto  traded  their  father’s  old  place  for  a 
farm  in  Oklahoma.  Aaron  Drumright  is  one  of  a family 
of  nine  children,  six  of  whom  are  still  living,  three  sons 
and  three  daughters:  Aletta,  wife  of  Edward  Sparks 
of  Douglas  County,  Missouri;  Viola  May,  wife  of  Preston 
Hesterly,  and  she  is  now  deceased,  while  Mr.  Hesterly 
was  county  clerk  of  Douglas  County,  Missouri,  and  later 
became  a physician  in  Oklahoma;  Otto  is  a farmer  at 
Bristow,  Oklahoma;  Aaron  is  the  fourth  in  order  of 
age;  Everett  lives  in  Kansas;  Arthur  died  at  the  age  of 
three  years ; Lina  married  Henry  Bridges  of  Kansas ; 
Gertrude  is  the  wife  of  Frank  Nasworthy  of  Bristow, 
Oklahoma;  and  Eliza  is  now  deceased. 

The  first  sixteen  years  of  his  life  Aaron  Drumright 
spent  on  the  old  farm.  His  experiences  have  led  him 
into  Kansas,  Oklahoma  and  Arkansas,  and  especially  in 
earlier  years  he  earned  his  bread  by  the  sweat  of  his 
brow.  He  worked  as  a roustabout  on  railroads  and  with 
carpenter  contractors  until  twenty-three,  and  then  located 
near  Cushing,  Oklahoma,  where  in  1905  he  married  Miss 
Mary  Eyan.  She  was  born  in  Iowa,  daughter  of  Dennis 
Eyan. 

After  his  marriage  Mr.  Drumright  began  farming  on 
leased  Indian  lands,  and  kept  that  up  for  five  years.  His 
efforts  were  successful,  and  at  the  end  of  five  years  he 
had  twenty-eight  hundred  dollars  to  show  for  his  work 
and  management.  He  had  begun  with  a minimum  of 
capital,  though  he  possessed  the  strength  and  industry 
and  determination  which  enable  a man  to  succeed  in 
anything  he  undertakes.  At  the  opening  of  the  Cheyenne 
Eiver  and  Standing  Eock  Indian  Eeservation  in  South 
Dakota  he  registered  and  drew  Lot  No.  1,750,  which 


brought  him  a claim  near  Isabelle,  South  Dakota.  He 
proved  up  and  Jiept  the  claim  for  two  years,  then  sold, 
and  returning  to  Oklahoma  located  on  the  present  site  of 
Drumright  in  November,  1911.  Here  he  bought  120 
acres  of  land  from  B.  B.  Jones,  paying  fifteen  dollars  an 
acre  or  $1,800  for  the  entire  tract.  This  has  been  his 
home  and  the  scene  of  his  fortunate  operations  down  to 
the  present  time. 

About  the  time  Mr.  Drumright  bought  his  land  B.  B. 
Jones  and  T.  B.  Slick  were  drilling  for  oil  two  and  a 
half  miles  northeast,  at  what  is  known  as  the  old  Tiger 
well.  After  the  well  was  brought  in  it  averaged  a pro- 
duction of  thirty-five  barrels  per  day.  There  was  no  pipe 
line  which  could  take  the  oil  to  market,  and  consequently 
the  well  was  plugged.  Other  wells  were  brought  in  in 
that  territory,  and  during  1912  Mr.  C.  B.  Shafer  put 
down  the  first  well  on  Mr.  Drumright ’s  land,  which  struck 
oil  in  September,  1912.  Then  followed  the  great  rush 
which  has  since  made  Drumright  the  largest  active  pro- 
ducing center  for  oil  in  the  country.  Nine  wells  were 
sunk  on  the  120  acres  by  C.  B.  Shafer,  and  one  of  them 
proved  to  be  a gas  well..  Five  of  these  wells  averaged 
250  barrels  per  day. 

It  was  in  July,  1912,  that  the  first  tent  was  set  up  on 
Mr.  Drumright ’s  farm  at  the  southwest  corner.  It 'was 
used  as  a boarding  camp,  and  quickly  around  it  sprang 
up  others,  and  in  February,  1913,  Mr.  Drumright  had  the 
land  surveyed  and  sold  as  lots.  At  the  present  time  the 
entire  farm  of  120  acres  is  platted  and  nearly  all  of  it 
sold.  About  one-third  of  the  City  of  Drumright  is  on 
Mr.  Drumright ’s  old  farm.  As  soon  as  the  camp  was 
formed  a postoffice  was  required,  and  Mr.  Drumright 
took  a petition  from  one  rig  to  another  and  secured  suffi- 
cient signatures  in  order  to  get  this  branch  of  the  service 
from  the  Federal  Government.  When  it  came  to  select- 
ing a name  for  the  office  there  was  general  suggestion 
and  approval  of  the  name  of  Mr.  Drumright,  and  thus 
Drumright  was  put  down  in  the  directory  of  postoffices 
and  as  such  the  name  will  probably  exist  through  all 
succeeding  generations.  It  is  interesting  to  note  that  the 
camp  was  first  known  as  Fulkerson’s  Camp,  because 
J.  W.  Fulkerson  owned  the  south  half  of  the  town,  but 
Mr.  Drumright ’s  interests  and  activities  made  him  so 
popular  a figure  among  the  early  comers  that  it  was 
almost  by  unanimous  choice  that  his  name  was  selected  for 
the  name  of  the  city. 

In  many  ways  he  has  been  influential  in  helping  for- 
ward every  movement  and  institution  in  that  locality. 
He  was  a member  of  the  local  school  board  in  June, 
1912,  and  served  with  the  board  until  June,  1915.  In 
that  time  he  was  largely  responsible  for  the  present 
splendid  school  system  to  be  found  in  Drumright.  At 
first  the  town  had  only  one  small  building,  with  sixty 
pupils  enrolled.  Now  there  is  a twelve-room  stone 
building,  a ten-room  brick  building,  and  a new  high  school 
building  in  course  of  construction  that  will  cost  $60,000. 
All  this  has  been  accomplished  in  about  three  years, 
and  Drumright  is  not  only  a city  of  great  natural  com- 
mercial resources,  but  also  a center  of  schools,  churches, 
good  homes  and  is  rapidly  progressing  toward  every 
other  standard  civic  improvement.  Mr.  Drumright  has  ■ 
also  served  as  treasurer  of  the  township  board.  He 
helped  to  organize  the  first  bank,  known  as  the  Drum- 
right  State  Bank,  in  1914,  and  has  since  been  its  presi- 
dent. He  gave  his  help  toward  organizing  and  main- 
taining the  Commercial  Club,  of  which  he  is  treasurer. 
He  is  also  city  treasurer,  and  was  president  of  the  com- 
mittee that  secured  the  construction  of  a branch  of  the 
Santa  Fe  Eailroad  to  Drumright.  Thus  the  future  his- 
torian will  find  not  only  the  fact  that  the  town  was 
named  for  him,  but  that  his  activities  went  into  and  helped 
to  vitalize  every  local  movement  and  improvement.  In  poli- 


I!l80 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


tics  he  is  a republican.  He  practically  built  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church  of  which  he  is  an  artiye  member,  and 
he  is  prominent  in  Masonry,  being  affiliated  with  the 
thirty -second  degree  Scottish  Rite  Consistory  at  Guthrie, 
and  with  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Tulsa.  He  is  also  affiliated 
with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Benevolent  and  Protective 
Order  of  Elks.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Drumright  are  the  parents 
of  four  children : Everett,  aged  nine;  Bessie,  aged  seven; 
Irene,  aged  five;  and  Fred  Haskell,  aged  three. 

John  O.  Shaw.  When,  in  1915,  John  O.  Shaw  was 
appointed  principal  of  the  Frederick  High  School,  an 
individual  was  chosen  for  that  position  who  is  eminently 
fitted  bv  education,  training  and  experience  to  discharge 
its  important  duties.  His  entire  career  has  been  devoted 
to  teaching  and  has  been  one  of  steady  and  well-won 
advancement,  until  today  he  is  one  of  the  best  known 
and  most  popular  educators  in  this  part  of  Oklahoma, 
where  his  labors  have  been  prosecuted  for  the  past 
five  years. 

John  O.  Shaw  was  born  at  Harrisburg,  Boone  County, 
Missouri,  September  26,  1880,  and  is  a son  of  J.  W.  and 
Mildred  French  (Woods)  Shaw,  and  a member  of  a fam- 
ily that  originated  in  Ireland  and  settled  in  Virginia 
probably  before  the  War  of  the  Revolution.  His  grand- 
father, John  Wesley  Shaw,  was  born  in  the  Old  Dominion 
and  was  an  infant  when  taken  to  Missouri,  where  the 
family  located  among  the  pioneers.  The  grandmother, 
Mrs.  Elizabeth  Shaw,  still  makes  her  home  near  Higbee, 
Missouri,  in  advanced  years.  J.  W.  Shaw  was  born 
near  Harrisburg,  Missouri,  in  1856,  was  reared  to  agri- 
cultural pursuits  and  has  been  engaged  in  farming  and 
raising  stock  all  his  life.  He  is  an  active  member  of  the 
Baptist  Church,  as  is  his  wife,  and  their  children  were 
reared  in  that  faith.  Mrs.  Shaw  was  born  in  Harris- 
burg, and  has  been  the  mother  of  three  children:  John  O., 
of  this  notice;  W.  A.,  who  is  engaged  in  banking  at 
Columbia,  Missouri;  and  Robert  H.,  a farmer  and  the 
owner  of  a property  located  near  the  old  homestead  in 
Boone  County. 

John  O.  Shaw  attended  the  public  schools  of  Harris- 
burg, and  in  1901  was  graduated  from  Columbia  Normal 
College,  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts.  He  had 
been  reared  to  agricultural  pursuits,  but  had  decided  upon 
a career  as  an  educator  in  preference  to  farming,  and 
soon  secured  a school  in  the  country  district  of  Boone 
County,  where  he  continued  to  teach  for  five  years,  there 
gaining  much  practical  experience  of  a valuable  nature. 
Realizing  the  need  for  further  preparation,  Mr.  Shaw 
then  took  a course  of  three  and  one-half  years  in  the 
University  of  Missouri,  and  in  1910  came  to  Watonga, 
Oklahoma,  where  he  became  principal  of  the  high  school. 
After  two  years  he  was  made  city  superintendent  of 
schools  there,  and  continued  to  hold  that  position  until 
1915,  when  he  received  the  appointment  as  principal  of 
the  Frederick  High  School.  At  the  present  time  he  has 
under  his  charge  six  teachers  and  150  pupils.  While  Mr. 
Shaw  has  held  his  present  office  only  for  a short  period 
he  has  already  demonstrated  that  he  is  a man  who  can 
accomplish  things,  and  he  has  under  way  a number  of 
plans  which  will  elevate  the  high  school  system  here.  The 
favorable  impression  which  he  has  created  among  teach- 
ers, scholars  and  parents  indicates  that  he  will  be  one  of 
the  most  popular  principals  Frederick  has  known.  Pro- 
fessor Shaw  is  a member  of  the  Baptist  Church,  and  is  a 
pledge  member  of  the  Nu  Beta  Rho,  an  honorary  Greek 
letter  tenehers’  fraternity. 

In  1905,  Mr.  Shaw  was  united  in  marriage  at  Harris- 
burg, Missouri,  with  Miss  Bessie  Blakemore,  daughter  of 
Allen  Blakemore,  a hardware  merchant  of  Harrisburg. 
To  this  union  there  have  come  two  children,  namely: 


Martha  Vivian,  who  was  born  January  9,  1909;  and  Luda 
French,  born  June  26,  1912. 

Geokge  II.  Healy.  In  point  of  continuous  residence 
this  honored  member  of  the  Beaver  County  Bar  is  to  be 
consistently  designated  as  the  oldest  citizen  of  the 
county,  and  in  addition  to  this  interesting  feature  of 
pioneer  prestige  he  holds  secure  place  as  one  of  the 
representative  members  of  the  legal  profession  in  this 
section  of  the  state,  and  as  a citizen  whose  influence 
and  co-operation  have  been  potent  in  connection  with 
civic  and  material  progress  in  western  Oklahoma.  He 
is  engaged  in  the  practice  of  his  profession  in  the  Town 
of  Beaver,  the  county  seat,  has  held  various  offices  of 
distinctive  public  trust,  including  that  of  county  judge, 
and  became  a resident  of  what  is  now  the  State  of 
Oklahoma  more  than  thirty  years  ago,  so  that  he 
gained  varied  experience  in  connection  with  frontier 
life  in  old  Indian  Territory. 

Judge  Healy  is  a scion  of  a New  England  colonial 
family  of  English  lineage  and  personally  takes  due 
pride  in  adverting  to  the  old  Pine  Tree  State  as  the 
place  of  his  nativity.  He  was  born  in  the  Village  of 
China,  Kennebec  County,  Maine,  on  the  30th  of  May, 
1857,  and  is  a son  of  William  H.  and  Ellen  (Breck) 
Healy,  both  likewise  natives  of  that  state.  Reared  and 
educated  in  Maine,  William  II.  Healy  achieved  success 
and  prominence  in  New  England  as  a tanner  and  an  ex- 
porter and  importer  of  leather  and  hides.  He  developed 
an  extensive  business,  in  connection  with  which  lie 
maintained  tanneries  and  warehouses  both  in  Boston  and 
New  York.  His  operations  in  this  field  of  enterprise 
continued  until  1875,  when  he  removed  with  his  family 
to  Texas,  where  he  engaged  in  the  cattle  business  on  a 
large  scale,  besides  which,  in  line  with  his  former  busi- 
ness activities,  he  developed  a proseprous  business  in 
the  buying  of  furs  from  Indians  and  white  trappers  in 
Dakota  Territory,  his  activities  in  this  direction  con- 
tinuing from  1875  to  1879  and  both  of  his  business 
ventures  in  the  West  having  proved  very  successful. 

In  1878  William  H.  Healy  established  a cattle  ranch 
in  the  western  part  of  Indian  Territory, — in  the  neutral 
strip  commonly  designated  as  No  Man’s  Land  and  later 
included  in  Beaver  County.  He  continued  the  handling 
of  cattle  upon  an  extensive  scale  on  the  great  open 
ranges  of  Texas  and  Indian  Territory  until  his  death, 
which  occurred  in  1883,  and  he  became  widely  known 
throughout  the  Southwest,  both  as  a business  man  of 
great  energy  and  ability  and  as  a citizen  of  sterling 
character.  His  marriage  to  Miss  Ellen  Breck  was  solemn- 
ized in  his  young  manhood,  and  his  wife  was  summoned 
to  eternal  rest  in  1867,  while  the  family  home  was  still 
maintained  in  the  East.  Of  their  six  children  the  first 
born,  a daughter,  died  in  infancy.  Caroline  E.,  who  was 
born  in  1843,  has  never  married  and  maintains  her 
home  in  the  City  of  Springfield,  Massachusetts.  William 
H.,  Jr.,  who  was  born  in  1845,  attained  to  distinction 
as  one  of  the  representative  lawyers  in  the  city  of  Bos- 
ton and  there  his  death  occurred  in  1897.  Frank  D., 
who  was  born  in  1847,  served  as  sheriff  of  Beaver  County, 
Oklahoma  Territory  four  years,  his  term  having  been 
initiated  in  1894,  and  in  1897  he  was  appointed  Register 
of  the  United  States  Land  Office  at  Woodward,  Okla- 
homa, a position  which  he  retained  until  his  death,  in 
1902.  He  established  his  residence  in  Indian  Territory 
in  1878  and  here  was  associated  with  his  brother  George 
H.,  of  this  review,  in  the  cattle  business  in  the  early 
days.  In  1866  he  married  Miss  Frank  B.  Dow,  likewise 
a native  of  China,  Maine,  and  they  are  survived  by 
three  children,  William,  Charles  and  Dole.  He  became 
prominent  in  public  affairs  and  political  matters  in 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1981 


Oklahoma  Territory,  and  was  a stalwart  advocate  of 
the  cause  of  the  republican  party.  Nathaniel  G.,  who 
was  born  in  1849  and  who  remains  a bachelor,  is  now 
a resident  of  the  City  of  Los  Angeles,  California. 

George  H.  Healy,  the  youngest  of  the  children,  was 
graduated  in  an  excellent  private  school  in  the  city 
of  Boston  when  he  was  seventeen  years  of  age,  and  he 
accompanied  his  father  on  the  removal  to  Texas,  in  1875, 
so  that  virtually  his  entire  mature  life  has  been  passed 
in  the  Southwest,  where  his  memory  links  the  pioneer 
past  with  the  present-day  era  of  opulent  progress  and 
prosperity,  it  having  been  his  privilege  to  contribute  a 
due  quota  to  the  march  of  advancement  along  both  civic 
and  industrial  lines.  Mr.  Healy  came  to  Indian  Territory 
in  1880,  and  during  the  long  intervening  years  he  has 
maintained  his  home  within  the  borders  of  what  is 
now  the  vigorous  young  State  of  Oklahoma.  He  was 
early  associated  with  his  brother  Prank  in  establishing 
a cattle  ranch  in  the  old  Neutral  strip  in  which  the 
present  Beaver  County  is  included,  and  this  ranch  was 
situated  on  Beaver  Creek,  its  operation  having  been 
continued  by  the  brothers  until  the  opening  of  Oklahoma 
Territory  to  settlement. 

In  1890  Judge  Healy  was  elected  the  first  treasurer 
of  old  Beaver  County,  which  then  included  also  the 
present  counties  of  Texas  and  Cimarron,  and  for  eight 
years  prior  to  the  admission  of  Oklahoma  to  statehood 
he  served  as  a member  of  the  Republican  Central  Com- 
mittee of  the  Territory,  his  vigorous  and  effective  co- 
operation having  been  fruitful  in  the  advancing  of  the 
party  cause  during  the  territorial  days  as  well  as  under 
the  later  regime  of  state  government.  A man  of  broad 
intellectual  keen  and  mature  judgment,  Judge  Healy 
finally  gave  careful  attention  to  the  study  of  law  until 
he  had  fortified  himself  well  in  accurate  knowledge  of 
the  science  of  jurisprudence,  and  in  1900  he  was  admitted 
to  the  Oklahoma  Bar.  He  soon  afterward  engaged  in 
the  practice  of  his  professioh  at  Beaver,  his  attention 
being  given  to  his  substantial  law  business  until  his 
election  to  the  bench  of  the  County  Court  of  Beaver 
County,  on  which  he  served  four  consecutive  years, 
1910-14.  Since  his  retirement  from  the  bench  Judge 
Healy  has  continued  in  the  active  work  of  his  profession 
at  Beaver,  where  he  controls  a large  and  representative 
law  business  and  is  known  as  one  of  the  leading  members 
of  the  bar  of  Beaver  County. 

In  the  City  of  Emporia,  Kansas,  on  the  5th  of  No- 
vember, 1890,  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Judge 
Healy  to  Miss  Lydia  Savage,  who  was  born  at  Virginia, 
Cass  County,  Illinois,  on  the  23d  of  August,  1870,  and 
who  is  a daughter  of  John  W.  and  Caroline  M. 
(Springer)  Savage,  the  former  of  whom  was  born  in 
Illinois,  in  1838,  and  the  latter  in  Pennsylvania,  in  the 
same  year,  she  being  now  a resident  of  Beaver,  Okla- 
homa, her  husband  having  died  at  Emporia,  Kansas,  on 
the  20th  of  May,  1891.  Judge  and  Mrs.  Healy  have 
but  one  child,  Ledru  Rollin,  who  was  born  in  Beaver 
County,  Oklahoma,  on  the  9th  of  August,  1891,  and 
who  was  afforded  the  advantages  of  the  Kansas  State 
Agricultural  College,  at  Manhattan,  and  of  the  Wesleyan 
Business  College,  at  Saline,  that  state.  He  is  now  one 
of  the  representative  young  members  of  the  bar  of  the 
City  of  El  Paso,  Texas. 

P.  L.  BtfCY.  Since  1902  Mr.  Buey  has  been  one  of 
the  active  oil  producers  in  the  Kansas  and  Oklahoma 
Territory.  For  the  past  ten  years  he  has  lived  at 
Bartlesville,  and  has  not  only  been  an  operator  in  oil 
but  is  also  the  principal  real  estate  man  at  Bartlesville, 
and  head  of  the  P.  L.  Bucy  Realty  & Investment  Com- 
pany. His  active  career  began  when  he  was  still  a boy, 


and  he  has  lived  in  a number  of  the  states  of  the  Mis- 
sissippi Basin. 

P.  L.  Bucy  was  born  at  St.  Mary’s,  West  Virginia, 
September  3,  1878,  a son  of  Alexander  and  Janet 
(Prunty)  Bucy.  His  father  was  born  in  Steubenville, 
Ohio,  February  4,  1833,  and  his  mother  at  St.  Mary ’s, 
West  Virginia,  in  November,  1838.  They  were  married 
at  Steubenville,  and  the  father  died  at  Williamstown, 
West  Virginia,  November  4,  1908.  The  mother  and  one 
of  her  daughters  now  reside  with  Mr.  Bucy  at  Bartles- 
ville. The  father  was  a soldier  of  the  Union  army,  and 
at  the  beginning  of  the  war  enlisted  in  Company  A of 
the  Twenty-second  Ohio  Infantry,  and  after  three  years 
veteranized  and  continued  until  mustered  out  with  an 
honorable  discharge  at  the  close  of  the  war.  He  was 
engaged  in  coal  mining  until  1876,  and  thereafter  was 
a farmer. 

P.  L.  Bucy  was  the  fifth  in  a family  of  nine  children, 
and  spent  the  first  eighteen  years  of  his  life  with  his 
parents  in  West  Virginia.  After  the  age  of  fourteen 
he  left  school  and  became  a worker,  living  at  home  but 
earning  his  own  support.  When  eighteen  he  went  to 
Steubenville,  Ohio,  and  became  a contractor.  That  was 
his  business  there  until  the  age  of  twenty-two,  and  the 
following  year  he  spent  in  the  same  business  at  St. 
Louis.  Mr.  Buey  then  became  identified  with  the  Iron 
Mountain  Railroad  Company  in  construction  work  with 
headquarters  at  Pittsburg,  Mississippi. 

On  April  5,  1902,  he  left  Pittsburg  and  entered  the 
oil  business  with  headquarters  at  Pittsburg,  Kansas. 
From  there  he  came  to  Bartlesville  in  1905,  and  has  since 
done  a great  deal  of  drilling  and  producing  in  the 
Bartlesville  field.  He  has  organized  a number  of  cor- 
porations under  the  laws  of  different  states  and  has 
dealt  extensively  in  real  estate,  farm  lands,  oil  lands 
and  city  property  in  Ohio,  West  Virginia,  Pennsylvania, 
Wisconsin,  Kansas,  Missouri  and  Oklahoma.  The  P.  L. 
Bucy  Realty  & Investment  Company  is  a co-partnership, 
and  the  largest  concern  of  its  kind  in  Bartlesville.  It 
has  extensive  oil  holdings  in  Oklahoma. 

Mr.  Bucy  is  a republican  and  was  defeated  by  only 
thirty-three  votes  in  the  primary  election  of  1914  for 
the  Legislature.  He  is  a member  of  the  First  Baptist 
Church  of  Bartlesville  and  of  the  Benevolent  and  Pro- 
tective Order  of  Elks.  As  a citizen  he  has  worked 
effectively  to  prevent  vicious  legislation  in  land  title 
laws,  and  has  been  engaged  in  considerable  litigation. 
Some  of  his  cases  have  been  carried  to  the  Supreme 
Court,  and  he  is  known  as  one  of  the  most  vigorous 
fighters  for  justice,  but  always  contending  for  fair  and 
honorable  principles. 

J.  A.  Jones,  M.  D.  The  senior  member  of  the  medical 
profession  at  Tonkawa  is  Dr.  J.  A.  Jones,  who  has  been 
in  active  practice  there  for  the  past  fifteen  years,  and 
who  in  that  time  has  seen  many  physicians  come  and 
go,  and  now,  in  point  of  continuous  service,  is  the  oldest 
doctor  in  that  community.  His  success  has  been  in  pro- 
portion to  his  long  residence,  and  he  is  known  all  over 
Kay  County  as  a successful  physician  and  a public- 
spirited  man. 

In  1900  Doctor  Jones  graduated  from  medical  college, 
and  in  the  same  year  moved  from  Northeastern  Missouri 
to  Oklahoma  and  began  practice  at  Tonkawa.  He  was 
born  in  Northwestern  Indiana  on  a.  farm  near  Val- 
paraiso in  January,  1874.  His  father,  George  W.  Jones, 
was  a substantial  farmer  and  stockman,  had  made  a 
record  as  a soldier  in  the  Union  army  during  the  Civil 
war,  and  is  now  living  retired  at  the  age  of  seventy-seven 
in  Tonkawa,  Oklahoma.  The  mother,  whose  maiden  name 
was  Elizabeth  Peterson,  is  now  deceased. 

One  of  a family  of  four  children,  Doctor  Jones  grew 


1982 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


up  on  a farm,  and  from  his  early  experiences  in  the 
country  gained  the  rugged  constitution  which  has  served 
him  so  well  in  his  arduous  practice  as  a physician.  He 
attended  public  school  in  Valparaiso,  also  the  Western 
College  of  La  Belle,  Missouri,  and  afterwards  paid  his 
way  for  several  years  as  a teacher.  His  work  as  a teacher 
was  done  in  Missouri,  and  in  the  meantime  he  took  up  the 
study  of  medicine  and  finally  secured  his  degree  from  a 
medical  college.  Doctor  Jones  is  a student  all  the  time, 
keeps  in  close  touch  with  advance  in  the  medical  profes- 
sion by  constant  reading,  association  with  other  physi- 
cians, and  possesses  a fine  library. 

At  Tonkawa,  in  1902,  he  married  Miss  Myrtle  Pep- 
pered. They  have  one  daughter,  Glayds,  a bright  girl 
of  twelve  years  now  attending  school.  Doctor  Jones  is  a 
member  of  the  County  and  State  Medical  societies,  in 
Masonry  has  attained  the  thirty-second  degree  of  the 
Scottish  Rite,  and  is  also  an  Odd  Fellow.  He  has  been 
prospered  materially,  resides  in  a comfortable  seven-room 
cottage  home  at  Tonkawa,  furnished  in  excellent  taste, 
and  has  considerable  property  both  in  the  city  and  in 
Hay  County.  He  has  always  manifested  a public-spirited 
attitude  toward  local  improvements,  has  performed  his 
proportion  of  work  in  making  Tonkawa  a better  place 
in  which  to  live,  and  has  contributed  liberally  to  schools, 
churches  and  all  local  movements. 

Col.  A.  H.  Norwood.  Forty-five  years  of  residence 
and  experience  as  a teacher,  lawyer,  newspaper  man, 
merchant  and  in  general  business  affairs  and  politics 
have  given  Colonel  Norwood  of  Dewey  many  unique 
relations  with  the  old  Cherokee  Nation  and  North- 
eastern Oklahoma.  Among  white  men  of  prominence 
Colonel  Norwood  has  lived  in  that  section  of  Oklahoma 
longer  than  any  other  individual  with  the  exception  of 
N.  F.  Carr.  Colonel  Norwood  is  an  authority  on 
Cherokee  history  and  has  been  both  a witness  and  a 
participant  in  the  progress  and  development  of  old  Indian 
Territory  from  the  time  when  there  was  not  a railroad 
between  Kansas  and  the  Red  River. 

A.  H.  Norwood  was  born  at  Cleveland  in  East  Tennes- 
see, November  17,  1850.  His  parents  were  P.  W.  and 
Isabella  Ann  (Cowan)  Norwood,  both  natives  of  East 
Tennessee,  where  they  lived  until  1876,  and  then  removed 
to  Texas,  where  they  spent  the  rest  of  their  lives.  P.  W. 
Norwood  was  a farmer  and  while  a resident  of  Tennessee 
held  several  county  and  state  offices,  and  during  the  war 
was  a captain  and  served  as  provost  marshal  in  the 
Union  army.  His  wife  was  a first  cousin  to  Sam 
Houston,  the  great  Texas  statesman,  her  mother  being 
Hattie  Houston.  The  maternal  grandfather  was  Andrew 
Cowan,  who  served  as  an  officer  in  the  War  of  1812. 
P.  W.  Norwood  was  descended  from  John  Norwood,  who 
settled  at  Lyons  Mills  near  Baltimore,  Maryland,  and 
he  and  five  of  his  sons  were  soldiers  in  the  Revolutionary 
war.  He  came  from  the  north  of  England  and  was  a 
Scotchman.  Colonel  Norwood  was  the  oldest  in  a family 
of  eight  children,  six  of  whom  reached  maturity  and 
five  are  now  living.  All  the  children  accompanied  their 
parents  to  Texas  with  the  exception  of  Colonel  Norwood. 

The  first  twenty  years  of  his  life  he  spent  at  the  old 
home  in  East  Tennessee  and  received  his  education  at 
Flint  Springs  Academy  and  at  Cleveland.  He  studied 
law  with  a member  of  the  bar  at  Chattanooga. 

Colonel  Norwood  came  to  the  Cherokee  Nation  of 
old  Indian  Territory  in  1870,  and  for  six  years  was  a 
teacher,  first  at  Fort  Gibson  and  for  three  years  was 
connected  with  the  Orphan  Asylum  of  the  Cherokees. 
From  Fort  Gibson  he  went  to  the  Coo  Wee  Scoo  Wee 
district,  and  located  on  the  site  of  the  present  City  of 
Claremore,  where  he  combined  the  practice  of  law  with 
merchandising.  He  established  the  Claremore  postoffiee, 


at  a time  when  mail  was  delivered  only  once  a week  and 
was  carried  by  horseback.  He  was  first  postmaster,  and 
gave  the  name  to  the  office,  since  applied  to  the  thriving 
little  city.  The  name  was  given  in  honor  of  an  old 
Osage  chief.  In  1881  Colonel  Norwood  became  associated 
with  Col.  J.  H.  Bartles  in  the  lumber  and  milling 
business,  and  they  had  common  business  relations  more 
or  less  for  fifteen  years. 

Soon  after  coming  to  Indian  Territory  Colonel  Nor- 
wood became  prominent  among  the  Cherokees  and  for 
about  twenty  years  was  a member  of  the  National 
Council  of  the  Cherokee  Nation.  At  different  times  he 
also  served  as  secretary  of  both  houses  of  the  national 
Legislature  and  was  one  of  the  Cherokee  officials  that 
signed  the  patent  for  the  lands  now  owned  by  the  Osage 
tribes  in  Oklahoma.  As  a lawyer  and  representative  of  the 
Cherokee  Nation  he  took  an  active  part  in  the  allotment 
of  lands  and  has  practiced  largely  before  the  interior 
department,  a business,  which  required  his  presence 
many  times  at  Washington,  D.  C.  He  represented  the 
Cherokees  at  Washington,  and  gave  an  active  opposition 
to  the  bill  for  the  original  opening  of  Oklahoma  Terri- 
tory, and  subsequently  became  a vigorous  antagonist  of 
the  separate  statehood  movement,  working  ardently  for 
the  single  statehood  cause  which  finally  prevailed.  He 
was  formerly  active  in  tribal  politics  and  in  more  recent 
years  has  been  a democratic  leader  in  his  part  of  the 
state.  In  1914  and  1915  he  was  secretary  of  the  county 
central  committee,  and  at  the  present  writing  is  colonel 
on  the  governor’s  staff.  Under  appointment  from  the 
Federal  Government  he  served  as  first  mayor  of  Clare- 
more, and  by  virtue  of  that  office  presided  over  the  courts 
with  jurisdiction  similar  to  that  of  United  States  com- 
missioner, and  on  account  of  that  service  has  been  long 
familiarly  known  as  Judge  Norwood.  He  was  also  the 
first  mayor  of  Chelsea. 

Colonel  Norwood  has  long  been  in  the  newspaper 
business,  published  papers  at  Claremore  and  Chelsea,  and 
is  now  the  owner  and  editor  of  the  Dewey  Globe,  which 
he  established.  Colonel  Norwood  is  said  to  know  more 
people  in  the  Cherokee  Nation  than  any  other  citizen. 
By  his  long  residence  and  associations  and  also  by  study 
he  has  become  familiar  with  both  the  Delaware  and 
Cherokee  tribes  historically  and  personally,  and  has 
known  all  the  chiefs  and  officials  of  the  Cherokees  since 
the  time  of  John  Ross. 

Colonel  Norwood  was  the  first  man  to  organize  an  oil 
company  for  operations  in  Oklahoma.  This  was  the 
Cherokee  Oil  & Development  Company,  instituted  in  1889 
and  incorporated  under  the  laws  of  Illinois.  A number 
of  St.  Louis  men  were  associated  with  him  in  that 
enterprise,  and  they  drilled  their  first  wells  at  Chelsea. 
For  ten  years  Colonel  Norwood  was  the  legal  representa- 
tive for  Indian  Territory  of  the  Cudahy  Oil  Company, 
the  first  to  develop  the  oil  resources  of  Washington 
County  and  he  secured  many  of  the  leases  to  the  land 
on  which  they  conducted  their  operations.  During  his 
residence  at  Claremore  Colonel  Norwood  combined  with 
his  merchandising  a business  as  buyer  and  shipper  of 
stock.  Along  with  his  many  other  activities  Colonel  Nor- 
wood has  constantly  supported  schools  and  churches  and 
at  different  times  has  served  on  several  local  school 
boards  and  has  helped  to  build  several  institutions  in  the 
old  Cherokee  Nation. 

Colonel  Norwood  has  been  three  times  married.  In 
1872  Miss  Alice  R.  Gourd  became  his  wife.  Her  father 
was  Judge  Jackson  R.  Gourd,  a prominent  man  in  the: 
Cherokee  Nation.  The  mother  and  the  one  child  of  the 
union  are  both  deceased.  His  second  wife  was  Susie 
Love,  a member  of  the  Delaware  tribe  of  Indians.  She 
had  an  exceedingly  fair  skin,  while  Colonel  Norwood’s 
complexion  is  so  dark  that  he  would  more  readily  have 


A.  H.  NORWOOD 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1983 


been  taken  for  an  Indian  than  his  wife.  There  were  two 
children  by  this  union,  and  both  are  deceased,  and  their 
mother  passed  away  in  1893.  In  1904  Colonel  Norwood 
married  Ida  M.  Woodard,  who  was  born  in  Indiana  and 
was  of  Quaker  parentage.  Colonel  Norwood  can  relate 
many  interesting  incidents  in  connection  with  Indian  life, 
customs,  religion  and  traditions.  He  speaks  and  under- 
stands to  some  extent  the  Cherokee  language,  and  has 
some  knowledge  of  the  languages  of  the  other  tribes. 

Andrew  Hickenlooper  Smith.  By  his  enterprise  Mr. 
Smith  has  contributed  to  the  general  commercial  and 
business  resources  of  the  little  City  of  Frederick,  Okla- 
homa. He  is  now  proprietor  of  the  leading  garage  in 
that  town,  and  for  a number  of  years  has  been  success- 
ful as  a farmer  and  stock  raiser  in  the  same  community. 

Though  born  at  Winamae,  Indiana,  September  15, 
1878,  he  belongs  to  an  old  Ohio  family.  The  Smiths  came 
originally  from  England,  and  his  grandfather,  Adolphus 
H.  Smith,  was  born  at  Albany,  New  York,  in  1809,  and 
died  on  his  farm  at  Enon,  Ohio,  in  1902,  at  the  extreme 
age  of  ninety-three  years.  He  was  an  early  settler  at 
Cincinnati,  where  he  built  up  a large  business  as  a dis- 
tiller. He  was  at  Indianapolis,  Indiana,  soon  after  the 
establishment  of  that  town  and  was  a trader  there  in 
skins  and  furs  and  other  merchandise.  Mr.  A.  H.  Smith 
acquired  his  middle  name  from  a prominent  Cincinnati 
business  man,  General  A.  Hickenlooper,  who  married 
Maria  Smith,  a sister  of  William  H.  Smith,  the  father 
of  Andrew  H.  Smith.  General  Hickenlooper  gained  his 
rank  and  title  by  service  in  the  Civil  war  in  the  Engineers 
Corps,  and  later  became  president  of  the  Cincinnati  Gas 
& Electric  Company.  William  H.  Smith,  the  father,  was 
born  at  Cincinnati,  Ohio,  in  1842,  and  died  at  Enon,  Ohio, 
in  1901.  He  grew  up  on  the  farm  at  Enon,  lived  for  a 
time  at  Winamae,  Indiana,  and  in  1879  returned  to  Cin- 
cinnati. He  was  a democrat  in  politics,  a member  of 
the  Episcopal  Church,  and  was  affiliated  with  the  Masonic 
fraternity.  He  married  Camilla  A.  Bees,  who  was  born 
at  Cincinnati  in  1849  and  died  in  the  same  city  in  1911. 
Andrew  H.  Smith  is  their  only  surviving  child,  the  daugh- 
ter Laura  having  died  in  infancy. 

After  a high  school  education  in  Cincinnati,  Andrew  H. 
Smith  took  a course  in  Bartlett’s  Commercial  College 
of  that  city  in  1894,  and  for  the  next  four  years  was 
a salesman  in  Cincinnati.  Since  then  his  time  has  been 
given  almost  entirely  to  farming  and  ranching  in  Ohio, 
Oklahoma  and  Arizona.  He  located  at  Frederick,  Okla- 
homa, in  1906,  and  that  has  been  his  home  with  the 
exception  of  fourteen  months  during  1911-12  spent  in 
Arizona.  On  coming  to  Southwestern  Oklahoma  he 
bought  a farm  nine  miles  southeast  of  Frederick  com- 
prising 160  acres,  and  on  that  land  has  demonstrated 
some  of  the  possibilities  of  his  section  for  diversified 
farming  and  stock  raising.  It  was  on  February  1,  1915, 
that  he  bought  the  garage  situated  on  South  Tenth  Street 
in  Frederick,  and  thus  became  proprietor  of  a well 
equipped  and  prosperous  enterprise.  The  garage  was 
established  by  I.  W.  Yancey  in  1913.  The  building  is 
32x140  feet  and  furnishes  storage  for  a number  of  cars, 
also  facilities  for  repair  work  and  the  handling  of  auto- 
mobile accessories,  and  Mr.  Smith  has  the  local  agency 
for  the  Overland  cars. 

An  interested  member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity,  he 
is  affiliated  with  Lodge  No.  222,  Ancient  Free  and  Ac- 
cepted Masons,  at  Christiansburg,  Ohio,  and  also  with 
Frederick  Chapter  No.  41,  Boyal  Arch  Masons,  witli 
Frederick  Commandery  No.  19,  Knights  Templar,  and 
with  India  Temple  of  the  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine 
it  Oklahoma  City.  He  also  belongs  to  Harmony  Chap- 
ter of  the  Order  of  the  Eastern  Star  at  Wilcox,  Ari- 
zona. and  to  the  Junior  Order  of  the  United  American 

Tol.  V— 13 


Mechanics  at  Hampton,  Ohio.  ' As  a local  business  man 
he  belongs  to  the  Frederick  Business  Men’s  Association. 

At  Northampton,  Ohio,  in  1901,  Mr.  Smith  married 
Miss  Lola  M.  Freeze,  whose  father  William  Freeze  is  a 
farmer  at  Frederick.  Mrs.  Smith  is  a member  of  Har- 
mony Chapter  of  the  Order  of  Eastern  Star. 

Leroy  B.  Tooker.  A popular  and  able  young  repre- 
sentative of  the  newspaper  business  in  Western  Okla- 
homa, Mr.  Tooker  is  editor  and  manager  of  the  Beaver 
Democrat,  a well  ordered  weekly  paper  published  at  the 
county  seat  of  Beaver  County. 

Mr.  Tooker  was  born  at  Lawrence,  McHenry  County, 
Illinois,  on  the  12th  of  July,  1888,  and  is  a son  of 
Benjamin  F.  and  Mary  L.  (Palmer)  Tooker.  His  father 
was  born  in  1840,  in  the  State  of  Wisconsin,  where  his 
parents  were  pioneer  settlers,  and  for  many  years  he  was 
a successful  building  contractor,  a vocation  which  he 
continued  to  follow  until  1907,  when  he  came  to  the 
'newly-organized  State  of  Oklahoma  and  obtained  a tract 
of  Government  land  in  Beaver  County.  This  homestead, 
which  he  has  developed  into  one  of  the  well-improved  and 
valuable  farms  of  the  county,  is  situated  twenty-four 
miles  southwest  of  Beaver,  the  county  seat,  and  there 
he  and  his  wife  still  maintain  their  residence,  their 
marriage  having  been  solemnized , in  1879  and  Mrs. 
Tooker  having  been  born  in  Pennsylvania,  on  the  8th 
day  of  July,  1842,  her  parents  likewise  having  been 
natives  of  the  old  Keystone  State.  They  have  three 
children,  of  whom  the  subject  of  this  review  is  the 
youngest,  as  is  he  also  the  only  son:  Lynnia  Belle,  who 
was  born  February  20,  1880,  at  Lawrence,  Illtnois’,  was 
united  in  marriage  in  1911,  to  Hugh  N.  Bobertson,  and 
they  reside  in  Beaver  County,  Oklahoma,  their  two  chil- 
dren being  Linden  and  Lillian;  Georgia  May,  who  was 
born  in  1882,  became,  in  1899,  the  wife  of  Charles  L. 
Munger,  their  home  being  in  Beaver  County,  and  they 
have  five  children, — Yernon,  Harlan,  Adrian,  Kenneth 
and  Lila. 

The  public  schools  of  his  native  place  afforded  to 
Leroy  E.  Tooker  his  early  educational  advantages  and 
after  completing  the  curriculum  of  the  high  school  he 
pursued  a higher  course  of  study  in  the  University  of 
Illinois  at  Champaign.  He  left  the  university  in  1909 
and  immediately  came  to  Oklahoma,  where  his  parents 
had  established  their  home  in  the  preceding  year.  Here 
he  put  his  scholastic  attainments  to  practical  test  and 
utilization  by  becoming  a representative  of  the  peda- 
gogic profession.  As  such  he  devoted  two  years  to  teach- 
ing in  the  public  schools  of  Beaver  County,  his  suc- 
cessful work  including  a year  of  service  as  principal 
of  the  village  schools  of  Beaver,  in  1910-11. 

On  the  19th  of  June,  1911,  Mr.  Tooker  purchased  the 
plant  and  business  of  the  Beaver  County  Democrat,  and 
in  the  following  year  he  founded  the  Forgan  Enterprise, 
of  both  of  which  weekly  papers  he  has  since  continued 
editor  and  publisher  and  both  of  which  he  has  brought  up 
to  a high  standard, — especially  as  purveyors  of  local  news 
and  as  exponents  of  the  general  interests  of  Beaver 
County.  Since  assuming  control  of  the  Beaver  County 
Democrat,  which  is  the  pioneer  newspaper  of  the  county, 
he  has  effected  its  absorption  of  the  La  Kemp  Mirror, 
the  Ivanhoe  News  and  the  Forgan  Enterprise  in  the 
Beaver  County  villages  of  the  names  designated,  and  thus 
he  had  made  the  Beaver  County  Democrat  a paper  of 
specially  wide  circulation  and  dominating  influence  in 
the  county,  its  political  proclivities  being  indicated  by 
its  title.  Both  through  his  paper  and  in  a personal  way 
Mr.  Tooker  stands  exemplar  of  civic  progressiveness  and 
spares  neither  time  nor  effort  in  his  efforts  to  promote 
the  social  and  material  advancement  and  wellbeing  of 


1984 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Beaver  County  and  its  people.  In  the  time-honored 
Masonic  fraternity  he  has  received  the  thirty-second 
degree  of  the  Ancient  Accepted  Scottish  Bite,  and  he  is 
affiliated  also  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows.  He  holds  membership  in  the  Presbyterian 
Church,  of  which  his  parents  have  been  zealous  members 
for  many  years.  This  energetic,  wide-awake  and  pro- 
gressive young  journalist  is  still  numbered  among  the 
eligible  bachelors  of  western  Oklahoma,  and  it  is  need- 
less to  say  that  this  fact  does  not  in  the  least  militate 
against  his  popularity  in  social  circles. 

Charles  S.  Baxter.  When  he  was  eighteen  years  old 
Charles  S.  Baxter  began  learning  the  printer’s  trade. 
His  work  as  a printer  and  publisher  and  editor  have 
been  for  nearly  a quarter  of  a century  identified  with 
old  Indian  Territory,  the  Texas  Panhandle  and  extreme 
Northwestern  Oklahoma.  He  is  now  editor  and  owner 
of  the  Guymon  Democrat,  which  is  the  official  organ  of 
Texas  County  and  the  City  of  Guymon.  A democrat  him-  ■ 
self,  he  has  not  been  without  considerable  influence  in 
his  party,  and  as  a veteran  Oklahoma  editor  is  well 
known  among  his  professional  brethren  all  over  the 
state. 

He  was  born  November  5,  1868,  on  a farm  in  Living- 
ston County,  Missouri,  a son  of  W.  H.  H.  and  Nancy 
(England)  Baxter.  His  father,  a son  of  Bichard  Baxter, 
a native  of  Kentucky,  was  born  in  Mercer  County,  Ken- 
tucky, February  22,  1835,  and  in  early  boyhood  went 
with  the  family  to  Missouri,  where  he  was  engaged  in 
farming  for  many  years.  At  one  time  he  served  as 
county  judge  of  Polk  County,  Missouri.  His  death 
occurred  at  Bolivar,  Missouri,  January  7,  1902.  He  was 
married  in  1850  at  Lexington,  Kentucky,  to  Miss  Nancy 
England,  who  was  born  September  17,  1837,  in  Mercer 
County,  Kentucky,  a daughter  of  Mathew  England,  also 
a Kentuckian  by  birth.  To  Judge  Baxter  and  wife  were 
born  nine  children,  four  sons  and  five  daughters,  namely: 
John,  who  now  lives  in  Springfield,  Missouri;  James 
K.,  a printer  by  trade  living  at  Bolivar,  Missouri; 
Charles  S. ; Frank,  deceased;  Mollie,  wife  of  William 
Burton  of  Bolivar,  Missouri;  Nannie,  wife  of  Harry 
Lightfoot  of  Bolivar,  Missouri;  Maggie,  who  is  un- 
married and  living  at  Bolivar;  Myrtle  and  Mattie,  both 
deceased. 

Charles  S.  Baxter  acquired  his  early  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  Livingston  and  Polk  counties,  Missouri. 
Though  reared  on  a farm  he  early  conceived  an  ambition 
and  aim  to  become  a printer,  and  took  up  the  trade  at 
the  age  of  eighteen.  He  has  never  deserted  the  printing 
shop  for  any  length  of  time  during  the  past  thirty 
years.  It  was  in  1891  that  he  moved  to  Indian  Ter- 
ritory and  located  at  old  Bush  Springs  in  the  Chickasaw 
Nation,  where  he  became  one  of  the  editors  of  the 
Landmark  for  three  years.  In  1895  he  moved  to  Dal- 
hart,  Texas,  and  for  a year  was  editor  of  the  News  at 
that  place.  In  1906  he  came  to  Guymon,  and  has  since 
been  foreman,  editor  and  owner  of  the  Guymon  Demo- 
crat, which  was  established  in  that  year.  This  paper 
has  a large  circulation,  and  is  a very  flourishing  concern 
as  a business  proposition.  It  has  a modern  equipped 
plant.  Mr.  Baxter  is  a thoroughly  seasoned  newspaper 
man,  and  has  had  fewer  reverses  to  his  credit  than  the 
average  editor  and  publisher. 

Fraternally  he  is  identified  with  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  is  a member  of  the  Christian 
Church.  On  August  21,  1901,  at  Bolivar,  Missouri,  he 
married  Miss  Ida  Newport,  a daughter  of  A.  M.  New- 
port, who  was  born  in  Dallas  County,  Missouri.  Mrs. 
Baxter  was  born  in  Dallas  County,  September  21,  1868. 
To  their  marriage  have  been  born  five  children,  three 
sons  and  two  daughters : Willie  Lee,  born  September  21, 


1902;  Monroe,  now  deceased;  Bertha,  born  October  9, 
1905;  Dorothy,  born  September  9,  1907;  and  Charles 
Louis  Jr.,  born  May  30,  1912. 

Bey.  Frank  J.  Stowe.  The  pastor  of  the  Presbyterian  | 
Church  at  Blackwell  is  one  of  Oklahoma’s  ablest  church-  | 
men.  He  has  the  distinction  of  being  one  of  the  few  | 
ministers  of  the  gospel  who  sat  as  a delegate  in  the  1 
constitutional  convention  of  Oklahoma.  As  a teacher,  I 
preacher,  church  organizer  and  leader  of  movements  for  ill 
both  personal  and  civic  righteousness,  his  experience  I 
covers  a large  field  and  in  many  states. 

Bev.  Mr.  Stowe  took  charge  of  the  church  at  Black-  J 
well  in  January,  1913.  This  church  was  organized  in 
May,  1896,  and  was  only  a mission  supplied  by  ministers 
resident  of  other  places  for  some  time.  The  first  local 
pastor  was  Bev.  J.  B.  E.  Craighead  from  Pennsylvania. 
The  formal  organization  of  the  church  occurred  on 
Thanksgiving  Day  in  1898.  The  first  church  building 
was  brought  to  Blackwell  from  Arkansas  City.  It  had 
been  a mission  church  and  constructed  from  funds  sup- 
plied by  New  York.  The  old  church  building  cost  only 
$560,  and  is  now  used,  since  remodeling,  as  a manse. 
The  second  regular  pastor  in  charge  was  the  Bev.  Thomas 
B.  Barrier,  who  came  in  1903  to  serve  four  years.  Under 
his  pastorate  a modern  brick  edifice  was  constructed  at 
a cost  of  $8,000.  It  is  well  furnished  and  arranged  for 
modern  church  work,  containing  a large  audience  room,  a 
young  men’s  room,  with  other  rooms  in  the  basement. 
The  church  is  out  of  debt,  and  the  business  organization 
is  unusually  systematic  and  thorough,  and  all  the  bills, 
including  the  pastor’s  salary,  are  paid  monthly.  There 
is  a fine  Sunday-school  with  about  250  scholars  enrolled, 
while  the  church  membership  numbers  about  350.  There 
are  twelve  elders  and  twelve  on  the  business  board. 
There  are  women ’s  societies  and  missionary  organizations 
and  young  people’s  societies.  In  1907  Bev.  T.  H.  Hawley 
began  his  ministry  of  two  years,  followed  by  Bev.  B. 
Kuntz,  who  also  served  two  years,  and  on  January  20, , 
1913,  Bev.  Frank  J.  Stowe  accepted  the  call  to  this 
church. 

Frank  J.  Stowe  was  born  in  Lockport,  Illinois,  May 
11,  1868.  His  father,  William  Stowe,  who  was  a farmer 
and  stockman,  was  born  at  Jamestown,  New  York,  a.- 
son  of  Nathaniel  Stowe,  and  a relative  of  Professor  i 
Stowe,  husband  of  Harriet  Beecher  Stowe,  author  ofi 
Uncle  Tom’s  Cabin.  The  Stowes  were  an  old  and 
prominent  family  of  New  York  State.  Bev.  Mr.  Stowe’s 
mother  was  Laura  Barnard,  who  was  born  at  Eavenna, 
Ohio,  and  a sister  of  Capt.  James  Barnard,  who  served- 
with  a gallant  record  as  an  officer  in  an  Ohio  regiment 
during  the  Civil  war.  Bev.  Mr.  Stowe  has  a brother, 

H.  B.  Stowe,  a railroad  man  at  Streeter,  Illinois.  Both! 
the  parents  are  still  living  and  now  have  their  hornei 
at  Lockport,  Illinois. 

Bev.  Mr.  Stowe  spent  his  boyhood  on  a farm,  withl 
more  or  less  regular  attendance  at  the  public  schools.- 
His  education  was  continued  in  this  wise  until  the  age; 
of  seventeen,  and  after  that  he  was  employed  in  looking 
after  the  details  of  farm  work  on  his  father’s  place  of- 
100  acres.  His  ambition  was  for  an  education  and  foi 
a calling  which  would  enable  him  to  express  his  ability 
and  character  and  service  for  humanity.  He  finally  wem 
to  Boston,  Massachusetts,  and  received  $100  a year  aj 
salary  while  working  as  an  apprentice  in  a wholesale 
jobbing  house.  He  also  attended  school  at  Boston 
paying  his  own  way  and  taking  special  work  in  th< 
Boston  University,  and  the  course  at  Emerson  College 
where  he  was  graduated  in  1895.  He  then  became  : 
teacher  of  the  college  at  Waynesburg,  Pennsylvania 
While  in  Boston  he  was  also  a worker  in  the  mission 
and  slums  of  that  city.  He  continued  his  studies  whil 


2Vi 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1985 


teaching,  and  finally  entered  the  Cumberland  University 
at  Lebanon,  Tennessee,  where  he  remained  as  a student 
and  teacher  for  eight  years,  completing  his  theological 
studies  there  and  receiving  the  A.  M.  degree.  His  first 
regular  pastorate  was  at  Murfreesboro,  Tennessee,  on 
the  site  of  the  famous  battle  of  Stone  Eiver.  All  the 
officers  of  the  church  board  were  former  Confederate 
soldiers. 

In  1907  Eev.  Mr.  Stowe  removed  to  old  Indian  Ter- 
ritory, becoming  pastor  of  the  Presbyterian  Church 
and  president  of  Industrial  College  at  Wynnewood.  He 
was  soon  afterwards  chosen  a delegate  to  the  constitu- 
tional convention,  and  took  a very  important  part  in  its 
deliberations.  He  was  a member  of  the  liquor  traffic 
and  educational  committees,  and  impressed  his  ideas  and 
ideals  on  several  important  clauses  of  the  organic  law. 
After  five  years  as  a pastor  at  Wynnewood  he  took  a 
church  at  Purcell  for  two  years,  and  then  accepted  the 
call  to  Blackwell. 

On  August  4,  1898,  at  Barkyville,  Pennsylvania,  Mr. 
Stowe  married  Minerva  Hunsberger.  Mrs.  Stowe  is  a 
woman  of  strong  native  intelligence  and  of  thorough 
education  and  culture.  She  was  born  and  reared  at 
Barkyville,  and  is  a graduate  of  Findlay  College  in 
Ohio,  in  music  and  art.  For  a time  she  was  a teacher 
in  the  Waynesburg  College  of  Pennsylvania,  and  while 
there  formed  her  acquaintance  with  Mr.  Stowe.  Her 
parents  were  Abraham  and  Catherine  (Barky)  Hans- 
berger.  Her  father  was  a well-to-do  merchant,  and  a 
member  of  the  Winebrennarian  Church.'  He  is  now  de- 
ceased, but  his  wife  is  living.  Eev.  Mr.  Stowe  is  a 
member  of  the  Masonic  Order.  He  is  an  excellent 
speaker,  a man  of  strong  physique,  and  is  an  excellent 
leader  in  behalf  of  any  cause  which  he  espouses. 

John  Foster.  The  name  of  John  Foster  will  always 
be  associated  with  the  founding  and  development  of  the 
Town  of  Cushing.  From  the  beginning  of  his  residence 
there  twenty-one  years  ago,  when  there  was  practically 
nothing  to  distinguish  the  townsite,  Mr.  Foster  has  made 
his  own  activities  coincide  with  the  best  interests  of  the 
community,  has  exerted  his  influence  and  has  expended 
time,  energy  and  means  in  promoting  everything  that 
would  give  Cushing  a proper  prestige  and  standing  among 
the  towns  of  Northern  Oklahoma.  Cushing  is  today  the 
center  of  one  of  the  principal  oil  and  gas  fields  in  the 
state,  and  perhaps  no  town  in  Oklahoma  has  a more 
promising  future.  No  small  share  of  the  credit  for 
this  accomplishment  is  due  this  banker,  business  man,  and 
influential  citizen.  Mr.  Foster  organized  and  since  the 
beginning  has  been  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank 
of  Cushing,  and  is  also  vice  president  of  the  First 
National  Bank  at  Yale  in  Payne  County. 

A Missourian  by  birth,  and  for  a quarter  of  a century 
a resident  of  Oklahoma,  John  Foster  was  born  at  Cape 
Girardeau  in  Southeastern  Missouri  June  19,  1864.  His 
parents,  T.  C.  and  Eliza  (Alton)  Foster  were  born  in 
the  same  locality,  but  nine  years  after  the  birth  of  their 
son,  John,  they  moved  to  Independence,  near  Kansas 
Dity,  Missouri,  and  ten  years  later  went  to  Camden  Point 
n Missouri.  At  the  opening  of  the  Sac  and  Fox  reserva- 
ion  of  Oklahoma  the  entire  family  settled  there,  and 
;he  father  followed  farming  until  he  retired  and  he  and 
iis  wife  spent  their  last  days  with  their  son,  John,  in 
lushing.  The  mother  died  about  eight  years  ago  and 
;he  father  about  five  years  ago. 

The  oldest  of  five  children,  John  Foster  spent  his  early 
ife  on  a farm,  gained  from  such  surroundings  a rugged 
thysique  and  experience  which  has  proved  invaluable  to 
dm  in  his  business  career.  He  attended  the  common 
chools  of  Independence,  Missouri,  and  was  also  given  a 
horough  normal  training  in  the  State  Normal  School  at 


Kirksville.  As  a pprt  of  his  early  record  there  should 
be  mentioned  eight  terms  of  teaching  in  country  schools. 
At  the  same  time  he  carried  on  farming,  and  that  was  his 
vocation  until  he  removed  to  Oklahoma  in  February  fol- 
lowing the  opening  of  the  Sac  and  Fox  reservation.  For 
a year  and  a half  Mr.  Foster  ran  his  sawmill  at  Candler, 
also  built  a cotton  gin  and  was  connected  for  a time  with 
the  Sac  and  Fox  Trading  Company. 

However,  his  most  important  achievements  are  found 
in  the  twenty-one  years  of  his  residence  at  Cushing. 
He  and  C.  W.  Carpenter,  the  two  oldest  residents  of  the 
town,  have  lived  as  close  neighbors  during  all  these  years 
and  have  long  been  associated  in  the  banking  business. 
Mr.  Foster  was  one  of  the  five  men  who  laid  out  what  is 
known  as  the  “South  Addition”  to  the  townsite  of 
Cushing.  That  is  now  the  heart  of  the  town.  Mr.  Foster 
also  used  his  influence  in  getting  the  Santa  Fe  Eailroad 
Company  to  locate  its  right  of  way  just  where  he  wanted 
it  and  where  it  would  be  of  the  greatest  advantage  to 
the  growing  town.  The  South  Addition  to  Cushing  was 
a tract  of  120  acres.  Later  Mr.  Foster  bought  fifty  acres 
on  the  east  side,  platted  this  into  lots,  and  those  lots  are 
now  practically  covered  with  residences  and  homes.  For 
several  years  Mr.  Foster  was  engaged  in  merchandising 
in  Cushing,  and  had  stores  at  several  other  points  in 
Payne  County,  and  is  still  interested  in  a stock  of  mer- 
chandise at  Quay. 

His  work  as  a banker  and  practical  financier  began 
in  1897,  when  he  organized  what  was  then  a state  bank, 
but  which  in  1903  took  out  a national  charter  and  is 
now  the  First  National  Bank  of  Cushing.  Mr.  Foster 
has  been  cashier  of  the  institution  since  it  was  organized 
in  1897.  Some  of  the  most  prominent  residents  and 
business  men  of  Cushing  are  identified  with  this  insti- 
tution as  officers  and  stockholders.  The  president  is 
C.  W.  Carpenter,  Mr.  Foster’s  old  neighbor  and  asso- 
ciate. The  vice  president  is  N.  Douglas,  and  the  assistant 
cashier  is  Ernest  Burford.  With  a capital  stock  of 
$25,000,  the  First  National  Bank  has  surplus  and  profits 
according  to  a recent  statement  of  $13,500,  total  resources 
of  over  $633,000,  and  its  deposits  are  well  upward  of 
$600,000. 

Mr.  Foster  has  been  very  active  and  prominent  in 
making  Cushing  a center  of  the  oil  and  gas  development 
of  this  part  of  the  state.  At  one  time  he  owned  seven 
quarter  sections  of  land  situated  in  the  oil  belt.  He 
helped  to  organize  the  Home  Gas  Company,  is  a director 
in  the  company,  which  now  has  several  producing  wells 
and  is  prepared  to  furnish  gas  to  local  factories  at  the 
low  rate  of  three  cents  per  1,000  feet.  While  Cush- 
ing has  made  much  development  in  the  past  twenty  years, 
its  location  close  to  an  important  gas  field  will  un- 
doubtedly bring  it  still  greater  prestige  as  a manufac- 
turing and  industrial  center.  Mr.  Foster  himself  occupies 
one  of  the  most  attractive  estates  in  Cushing,  residing 
in  a fine  fourteen-room  house  surrounded  with  eleven 
acres  of  ground.  Outside  of  business  affairs  his  name 
is  one  of  recognized  influence  in  polities  both  in  Payne 
County  and  over  the  state.  For  twenty  years  he  has 
served  as  clerk  of  the  board  of  education  at  Cushing, 
and  under  his  personal  supervision  was  constructed  a 
handsome  $20,000  high  school  which  is  now  the  pride  of 
the  town.  There  are  also  three  modern  ward  school  build- 
ings of  eight  rooms  each.  Mr.  Foster  has  also  served  on 
the  city  council.  His  office  holding  has  been  confined 
to  those  of  unremunerative  positions  where  the  incumbent 
has  opportunities  for  rendering  much  service,  but  with- 
out compensation.  He  is  also  a power  in  local  democratic 
politics,  and  has  served  as  secretary  of  two  state  con- 
ventions, one  at  Anadarko  and  the  other  at  Oklahoma 
City.  Mr.  Foster  helped  to  organize  the  Christian 
Church  at  Cushing.  * He  served  as  president  of  the  Com 


1986 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


mereial  Club  several  years,  and  in  Masonry  is  a thirty- 
second  degree  Scottish  Rite. 

In  1895  he  married  Miss  Maggie  Culbertson  of  Cam- 
bridge, Ohio.  Their  five  children  are : Margaret,  who 
graduated  from  the  Cushing  High  School  in  1915 ; Lucile, 
Charles,  John  and  T.  C. 

Zeral  Zenn  Rogers.  One  of  the  most  prominent  names 
in  the  history  of  Frederick  since  its  establishment  as  a 
town  following  the  opening  of  the  Kiowa  and  Comanche 
country  in  1901,  has  been  Rogers.  Mr.  Z.  Z.  Rogers  is  a 
young  business  man  of  that  city  and  at  the  present  time 
is  holding  the  office  of  mayor.  His  father  was  a pioneer 
settler  and  in  many  ways  closely  identified  with  the 
interests  of  the  growing  little  city. 

The  Rogers  family  was  established  in  colonial  America 
by  John  Rogers,  who  came  from  England.  Zeral  Zenn 
Rogers  was  born  in  Clarksville,  Arkansas,  November  27, 
1887,  a son  of  the  late  William  Wayne  Rogers,  whose 
death  on  August  28,  1913,  was  regarded  in  the  light  of  a 
calamity  to  the  community  at  Frederick. 

William  Wayne  Rogers  was  born  in  Clarksville,  Ar- 
kansas, in  1854,  and  in  1891  removed  his  family  to 
Vernon,  Texas,  and  in  1901  came  to  Frederick  at  the 
opening  of  the  settlement.  He  was  a dry  goods  mer- 
chant, and  was  prominent  in  church  and  fraternal  affairs. 
He  was  president  of  the  board  of  stewards,  chairman  of 
the  board  of  trustees  and  chairman  of  the  building  com- 
mittee when  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  South 
erected  its  home  at  Frederick.  He  was  also  teacher  of 
the  Business  Men’s  Bible  Class,  which  at  one  time  num- 
bered 183  members.  He  stood  high  in  both  the  Masonic 
and  Odd  Fellows  fraternities.  He  was  past  master  of 
Frederick  Lodge  No.  249,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons;  past  high  priest  of  Frederick  Chapter  No.  41, 
Royal  Arch  Masons;  past  eminent  commander  of  Freder- 
ick Commandery  No.  19  of  the  Knights  Templar;  and 
was  affiliated  with  the  council,  Royal  and  Select  Masters, 
and  with  India  Temple  of  the  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine 
at  Oklahoma  City.  In  Odd  Fellowship  he  belonged  to 
Frederick  Lodge  No.  223,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fel- 
lows, of  which  he  was  past  grand.  Associated  with  H. 
W.  Leininger  and  A.  S.  J.  Shaw  he  organized  in  1907 
the  Southwest  Odd  Fellows  Association,  and  became  first 
president  of  that  association.  Mr.  Shaw  is  now  grand 
master  of  the  State  Lodge  of  Odd  Fellows  in  Okla- 
homa. The  Southwest  Odd  Fellows  Association  com- 
prises the  Odd  Fellows  lodges  in  Tillman,  J ackson,  J effer- 
son,  Comanche  and  Cotton  counties.  Its  object  is  to 
promote  good  fellowship  and  to  hold  contests  to  assure 
proficiency  in  the  working  of  the  degrees.  The  association 
held  its  last  meeting  at  Lawton  on  April  26,  1915,  and 
in  1914  Mr.  Z.  Z.  Rogers  was  president.  The  late  Wil- 
liam W.  Rogers  was  also  a member  of  the  first  city  coun- 
cil of  Frederick,  representing  the  First  Ward,  and  on 
finishing  that  term  served  on  the  school  board  continu- 
ously until  his  death.  He  married  Miss  Addie  Truscott, 
who  was  a native  of  Quincy,  Illinois.  Their  children  are : 
A.  A.  Rogers,  who  was  the  first  county  superintendent 
of  schools  of  Tillman  County,  serving  two  terms,  and  is 
now  county  superintendent  of  schools  at  Wilson,  Okla- 
homa; E.  E.  Rogers  is  a traveling  salesman  for  Hutchi- 
son wholesale  grocers,  and  resides  at  Hutchison,  Kansas, 
and  he  drew  the  claim  known  as  the  Rogers  Addition  to 
Frederick,  Oklahoma,  the  most  desirable  in  the  city. 
Vera  is  the  wife  of  S.  E.  Patton,  who  has  lived  at 
Frederick  since  1901  and  has  been  continuously  identified 
with  the  Oklahoma  State  Bank  of  that  city  as  cashier; 
D.  D.,  who  is  master  mechanic  in  the  machine  shops  at 
Wellington,  Kansas;  B.  B.  Rogers,  who  has  a position 
with  the  government  service  at  El  Paso,  Texas;  Z.  Z.;  and 


J.  J.,  who  is  now  attending  the  Kansas  City  Dental  Col- 


Mr.  Z. . Z.  Rogers  had  just  finished  the  high  school 
course  at  Vernon,  Texas,  in  1901,  when  the  southwestern 
section  of  Oklahoma  was  opened  to  settlement  and  in 
the  same  year  he  joined  his  father’s  family  at  Fred- 
erick. At  that  time  he  was  still  a boy  in  years,  but  soon 
took  up  the  serious  work  of  life  as  clerk  in  a grocery 
store.  He  was  employed  by  the  firm  of  Parker  & Mc- 
Connell, was  with  them  nine  years  altogether,  and  was 
promoted  from  driver  of  a delivery  wagon  to  keeping 
books  in  the  office  for  the  last  four  years.  Early  in  1911 
came  his  first  advancement  in  politics  when  elected  city 
clerk,  and  he  served  two  terms  until  1913.  His  acceptable 
work  in  that  position  was  his  chief  recommendation  for 
election  to  the  office  of  mayor  of  Frederick  on  April  6, 
1915.  He  is  now  one  of  the  youngest  mayors  of  Okla- 
homa. The  mayor’s  term  runs  for  two  years. 

In  July,  1915,  Mr.  Rogers  engaged  in  the  drug  business 
with  D.  H.  Hail  as  partner,  and  they  have  a well  stocked 
store  at  the  corner  of  North  Grand  Avenue  and  Ninth 
Street.  Mr.  Rogers  is  a democrat,  a member  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church  South  and  treasurer  of  its 
Sunday  School  and  has  fraternal  affiliations  with  Fred- 
erick Lodge  No.  249,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons; 
with  Frederick  Council,  Royal  and  Select  Masters;  with 
Frederick  Lodge  No.  223,  Independent  Order  of  For- 
esters; with  the  Woodmen  of  the  World,  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America,  and  the  Praetorians.  He  is  also 
associated  with  the  Business  Men’s  Association. 

At  Hobart,  Oklahoma,  in  1906,  he  married  Miss  Ana 
E.  Hancock,  daughter  of  Edward  Hancock,  who  is  a 
farmer  at  Grandfield,  Oklahoma.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Rogers 
have  two  children:  Jim  Jack,  who  was  born  January  23, 
1908;  and  Trullus  Truscott,  born  October  16,  1910. 


Albert  S.  Dickson.  Coming  in  1886  to  that  section 
of  neutral  strip  in  Indian  Territory  that  was  at  the 
time  commonly  known  as  No  Man’s  Land,  Mr.  Dickson 
established  his  residence  at  Neutral  City,  a true  frontier 
town  of  period,  where  he  remained  until  Oklahoma  Terri- 
tory was  thrown  open  to  settlement  and  formally  organ- 
ized, its  prescribed  confines  including  the  former  No 
Man’s  Land,  when  he  removed  to  Beaver,  which  was  made 
the  judicial  center  of  the  county  of  the  same  name  and 
which  originally  included  also  the  present  counties  of 
Texas  and  Cimarron.  In  this  now  thriving  and  im- 
portant town  of  western  Oklahoma  he  has  since  continued 
in  the  active  and  successful  practice  of  law,  and  he  is 
junior  member  of  the  representative  law  firm  of  Dick- 
son & Dickson,  in  which  his  coadjutor  is  his  brother, 
Robert  E.  The  firm  controls  a specially  substantial 
and  important  practice  in  this  section  of  the  state  and 
its  high  standing  at  the  bar  of  Oklahoma  determines  the 
distinctive  professional  ability  of  its  members  and  their 
secure  place  in  popular  confidence  and  good  will. 

On  the  paternal  homestead  farm  in  Andrew  County, 
Missouri,  a log  house  of  the  pioneer  type  figured  as  the 
stately  domicile  in  which  Albert  S.  Dickson  was  born 
and  the  date  of  his  nativity  was  February  1,  1867.  He 
is  a son  of  Benjamin  Franklin  Dickson  and  Anna  (Var 
Deventer)  Dickson,  whose  marriage  was  solemnized  ir 
that  state  in  the  year  1860. 

Benjamin  F.  Dickson  was  born  in  Boone  County,  Mis 
souri,  in  1826,  his  parents  having  been  pioneers  of  thaii 
county,  where  they  established  their  home  on  theii 
emigration  from  their  native  State  of  Kentucky.  Hd 
was  reared  to  adult  age  in  his  home  county  and  as 
young  man  he  removed  to  the  northwestern  part  of  Mis 
souri,  where  he  passed  the  remainder  of  his  life  as  ai 
energetic,  progressive  and  duly  successful  farmer.  Hi 
died  in  Andrew  County  in  1892,  when  about  sixty-si: 


on  the  i 
Part 


iltt,' 


Peanj 
papers  a 
in  ties 

$ri%a 
*«r  is  ft 
aides,  a 

■Wspape 


fieat-pa 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1987 


years  of  age,  and  his  wife  survived  him  by  a number  of 
years.  She  was  born  in  Missouri  and  was  a daughter  of 
Granville  and  Ursula  (Clark)  Van  Deventer,  her  father 
having  been  a scion  of  the  historic  old  Van  Deventer 
family  of  Lee  County,  Virginia.  Benjamin  F.  and 
Anna  (Van  Deventer)  Dickson  became  the  parents  of 
three  sons  and  two  daughters,  concerning  whom  the 
following  brief  record  is  given:  Alexander  Jackson, 

born  in  1861,  is  now  a prosperous  agriculturist  and 
stock-grower  of  Beaver  County,  Oklahoma.  In  1886  he 
wedded  Miss  Belle  Baker  and  they  have  one  child,  Anna. 
Bobert,  who  was  born  in  1864,  was  afforded  the  ad- 
vantage of  Avalon  College,  at  Avalon,  Missouri,  and  is 
now  senior  member  of  the  law  firm  of  Dickson  & Dick- 
son, as  previously  noted.  He  was  the  first  regularly 
elected  county  attorney  of  Beaver  County  and  since 
his  retirement  from  that  office  he  has  been  associated 
with  his  brother  Albert  S.  in  the  practice  of  law  at 
Beaver.  He  whose  name  initiates  this  article,  was 
the  third  in  order  of  birth  of  the  five  children.  Lucy  D., 
who  was  born  in  1869,  was  educated  in  the  Missouri 
State  Normal  School  at  Strasburg  and  in  1896  became 
the  wife  of  Godfrey  Stegman,  their  home  being  in  the 
City  of  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  and  their  only  child  being 
a daughter,  Elsie.  Bell,  who  was  born  in  1872,  is  the 
youngest  of  the  children.  In  1899  she  became  the  wife 
of  Hugh  A.  Ellingsworth  and  they  now  maintain  their 
home  at  Helena,  Missouri.  They  have  one  child,  Ever- 
etta. 

Albert  S.  Dickson  passed  the  period  of  his  childhood 
and  early  youth  on  the  old  homestead  farm  and  is 
indebted  to  the  public  schools  of  Andrew  County,  Mis- 
souri, for  his  preliminary  education,  which  was  effectively 
supplemented  by  a course  of  higher  study  in  Avalon 
College,  at  Avalon,  that  state.  In  the  meanwhile  he 
' had  given  much  attention  to  the  reading  of  law,  with 
' the  intention  of  eventually  entering  the  legal  profession. 
1 In  August,  1886,  Mr.  Dickson  came  to  the  Indian  Ter- 
r ritory  and,  as  previously  stated,  established  his  residence 
at  Neutral  City,  in  "No  Man’s  Land,”  where  he 

I remained  until  1890,  when  he  removed  to  Beaver.  In  the 

0 following  year  he  was  admitted  to  the  bar  of  Oklahoma 
ifj  Territory  and  since  that  time  he  has  continued  in  the 
j practice  of  his  profession  at  Beaver,  as  one  of  the  repre- 

II  sentative  pioneer  lawyers  and  a valued  citizen  of  Beaver 
County.  Though  he  takes  a deep  and  loyal  interest  in 

. public  affairs  and  is  a staunch  advocate  of  the  principles 
“ of  the  republican  party,  he  has  never  sought  or  held 
political  office,  as  he  considers  his  profession  worthy  of 
!!j  his  undivided  allegiance.  He  is  affiliated  with  the  Knights 
IJ  of  Pythias  and  both  he  and  his  wife  hold  membership  in 
““  the  Christian  Church  at  Beaver. 

. At  Liberal,  Kansas,  on  the  29th  of  January,  1910, 
611  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Dickson  to  Miss 
Edna  Humphrey,  who  was  born  near  Trenton,  Missouri, 
on  the  27th  of  September,  1884,  and  who  is  a daughter 
“®  of  Clark  and  Emma  Humphrey,  likewise  natives  of  Mis- 
souri.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Dickson  have  one  child,  Albert 
~j  DeWitt,  born  September  24,  1913. 

11  Frank  I.  Leasure.  While  not  one  of  the  largest 
jjj.  papers  and  not  published  in  one  of  the  largest  towns 
w in  the  state,  the  Roosevelt  Record  at  Roosevelt  has  a 
]eir  virility  and  vigor  all  of  its  own.  Its  editor  and  proprie- 
j6  tor  is  Frank  I.  Leasure,  well  known  in  Oklahoma  press 
18  8 circles,  and  whose  experience  as  a practical  printer  and 
j[jg.  newspaper  man  cannot  be  measured  entirely  by  the 
j jj  number  of  years  since  he  reached  his  legal  majority. 

’jje  His  birth  occurred  at  Mount  Auburn,  Iowa,  September 
gjj  4,  1882.  The  Leasures  are  of  French  origin,  and  his 

1 great-grandfather,  John  Leasure,  came  to  this  country 


with  two  of  his  brothers,  all  of  them  settling  in  Penn- 
sylvania. Mr.  Leasure ’s  father  is  H.  E.  Leasure,  who 
was  born  in  Ohio  in  1852,  and  when  a small  boy  was 
taken  out  to  a farm  in  Iowa  County,  Iowa,  where  he 
grew  up,  but  substituted  railroading  for  agriculture  as 
his  regular  career.  He  was  a station  agent  at  different 
places  in  Iowa  and  Kansas,  but  in  1899  left  that  business 
to  become  a jeweler  at  La  Crosse,  Kansas.  He  was 
afterwards  in  the  same  line  at  Independence,  Kansas, 
spent  several  years  in  Missouri,  and  in  1904  located  in 
Arkansas  City,  Kansas,  where  he  is  still  in  business  as  a 
jeweler.  Politically  H.  E.  Leasure  is  a socialist  in  belief, 
and  has  affiliations  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows,  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  the  Woodmen  of  the 
World  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  He  mar- 
ried Arminta  Dormer,  who  was  born  in  North  Missouri, 
in  1857.  Their  four  children  are:  Carl  C.,  who  is  a 

traveling  salesman  with  home  at  Arkansas  City,  Kansas  ; 
Frank  I.;  Maude  M.,  wife  of  P.  T.  Boyd,  a telegraph 
operator  residing  at  Texarkana,  Texas;  and  Ernestine 
L.,  a teacher  living  with  her  parents. 

Frank  I.  Leasure  received  his  early  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  Iowa  and  Kansas  and  also  attended  a 
high  school  at  Independence  in  the  latter  state,  subse- 
quently taking  a business  course  at  Rolla,  Missouri.  His 
independent  work  for  himself  began  at  the  age  of  nine- 
teen at  Harrisonville,  Missouri,  as  an  apprentice  in  a 
drug  store.  Eighteen  months  later  he  left  that  employ- 
ment for  one  which  he  liked  better  in  a printing  office 
at  South  Haven,  Kansas.  He  spent  two  years  at  South 
Haven,  and  after  that  was  employed  as  a journeyman 
on  various  newspapers  in  Kansas  and  Colorado  until 
1903,  in  which  year  he  located  in  Kaw  City,  Kay  County, 
Oklahoma,  and  spent  one  year  with  the  Star  at  that 
place.  After  that  he  took  a trip  through  Old  Mexico, 
and  then  returned  to  Arkansas  City,  Kansas,  and  settled 
down  to  the  daily  routine  of  city  editor  of  the  daily 
paper  there.  He  held  that  position  from  January,  1905, 
to  January,  1912.  In  the  month  mentioned  of  the  latter 
year  he  came  to  Roosevelt,  Oklahoma,  and  bought  the 
Roosevelt  Record  from  E.  F.  Tennant,  and  has  since  been 
its  capable  proprietor  and  editor.  The  plant  and  offices 
are  situated  on  Main  Street  in  the  Village  of  Roosevelt, 
and  he  has  done  much  to  build  up  its  circulation  and 
influence  in  Kiowa  and  surrounding  counties  since  he 
took  charge.  It  is  a democratic  paper,  and  was  estab- 
lished in  March,  1902,  by  G.  H.  Parker  and  E.  M. 
Timber.  In  addition  to  its  local  circulation  it  now  has 
a foreign  list  of  more  than  a 150. 

Mr.  Leasure  is  himself  a democrat  in  politics,  and  is 
affiliated  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  at  Hobart.  He  is 
well  known  in  the  Oklahoma  Press  Association,  of  which 
he  is  a member.  In  June,  1910,  at  Newkirk,  Oklahoma, 
he  married  Miss  Frances  Cline,  a daughter  of  Joseph 
Cline  of  Arkansas  City.  They  have  one  son,  Harold  E., 
born  February  4,  1913. 

A.  C.  Smith  is  editor  of  the  Ponca  City  Democrat,  of 
Ponca  City,  Oklahoma,  a newspaper  with  an  interesting 
history.  The  Democrat  was  born  on  the  prairie  in  North- 
ern Oklahoma  at  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip  in 
September,  1893.  Mr.  Smith  is  a veteran  of  the  news- 
paper and  printing  business,  and  for  a number  of  years 
conducted  a paper  in  Southern  Kansas,  until  he  suddenly 
transferred  his  enterprise  to  the  Cherokee  Strip  about 
twenty-three  years  ago  and  has  guided  the  destiny  of  the 
democrats  through  all  these  years.  The  first  issue  of 
the  Democrat  was  on  Thursday,  September  21,  1893, 
and  with  a magnificent  development  which  has  occurred 
in  Oklahoma  since  that  date  the  paper  has  likewise 
prospered,  and  now  has  a daily  issue.  Mr.  Smith  is  also 
at  the  present  time  postmaster  of  Ponca  City,  having 


1988 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


been  appointed  to  that  office  in  November,  1913,  by 
President  Wilson. 

A.  C.  Smith  was  born  at  Bloomfield,  Davis  County, 
Iowa,  October  25,  1865.  His  parents  were  neighbors 
and  friends  of  Gen.  James  Weaver,  who  for  many  years 
was  one  of  the  notable  figures  in  American  politics  and 
a great  leader  of  the  greenback  party.  His  father  was 
Berryman  Smith,  a native  of  Kentucky.  From  Kentucky 
he  moved  to  Davis  County,  Iowa.  Berryman  Smith  died 
at  Bloomfield,  Iowa,  at  the  age  of  fifty-five,  while  his 
wife  passed  away  in  1875.  They  were  both  active  in  the 
church  and  in  polities  he  was  a democrat.  They  were 
the  parents  of  nine  children,  three  sons  and  six  daughters. 

A.  C.  Smith  grew  up  at  Bloomfield,  Iowa,  attended 
the  common  and  high  schools,  and  when  still  a boy  had 
his  first  practical  experience  and  training  as  a newspaper 
man  in  the  office  of  the  Legal  Tender,  a greenback  paper, 
the  official  organ  of  the  greenback  party.  It  was  issued 
as  a general  newspaper,  but  particularly  in  support  of 
General  Weaver’s  position  on  money  and  other  economic 
questions.  Its  editor  was  a man  of  no  little  ability  as 
a writer  and  thinker,  Crawford  Davis,  now  deceased,  who 
for  a number  of  years  was  a zealous  worker  in  the  green- 
back cause.  Mr.  Smith  had  four  years  experience  with 
the  Legal  Tender,  and  rose  from  the  position  of  devil 
to  that  of  city  editor.  He  later  moved  to  Arkansas  City, 
Kansas,  during  the  boom  days  of  that  locality,  and  was 
engaged  in  the  newspaper  business  there  until  he  made 
the  run  into  Cherokee  Strip  on  the  opening  day  in  Sep- 
tember, 1893.  His  enterprise  gave  to  the  Cherokee  Strip 
one  of  its  first  newspapers,  and  he  has  kept  the  paper 
up  to  a high  standard  of  excellence  through  all  these 
years. 

Mr.  Smith  has  been  quite  active  in  democratic  polities, 
has  served  as  delegate  to  various  conventions  both  in 
territorial  and  statehood  days,  and  through  his  paper  and 
otherwise  has  effectually  advocated  good  government  and 
the  general  cause  of  morality,  education  and  religion. 
He  and  his  wife  are  active  members  of  the  Pentecostal 
Church  of  the  Nazar ene;  he  is  a trustee  and  steward  of 
the  board  and  superintendent  of  the  Sunday-school,  hav- 
ing a school  of  about  200  scholars. 

On  December  25,  1889,  Mr.  Smith  married  Miss  Nora 
Burrell  of  Arkansas  City,  Kansas.  She  was  reared  and 
educated  there,  a daughter  of  Capt.  A.  J.  Burrell,  now 
deceased,  who  came  out  of  Indiana  to  Kansas.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Smith  have  four  children:  Nadine,  Juliet,  Kath- 

erine and  Allen.  One  daughter,  Beatrice,  died  at  the  age 
of  seven  years.  One  daughter  is  now  in  charge  of  the 
Conservatory  of  Music  at  Bethany  College,  Oklahoma. 

C.  A.  Constantine.  In  every  corner  of  the  wide  world 
is  found  the  Greek,  everywhere  plodding,  patient,  de- 
termined, steadfast,  reliable,  prosperous.  The  descend- 
ants of  that  sturdy  race  that  once  comprised  the  flower 
of  civilization  and  culture  in  the  ancient  world  are  still 
active  and  indomitable,  and  though  Greece  is  a small 
country,  a little  nation,  yet  the  doings  of  the  Greeks  fill 
a large  part  in  history  and  one  of  which  they  need  not 
be  ashamed  when  placed  in  comparison  with  any  other 
people.  Considering  how  widely  dispersed  are  the  mem- 
bers of  this  race,  it  is  not  strange  that  one  of  the 
important  citizens  of  Oklahoma  is  from  that  race. 

Pawhuska  is  the  home  town  of  Mr.  C.  A.  Constantine, 
and  there  he  is  regarded  as  a benefactor.  He  was  one  of 
the  first  citizens  to  locate  after  the  opening  of  the  sale 
of  the  townsite  and  one  of  the  most  .conspicuous  semi- 
public  buildings  and  institutions  there  is  a monument  to 
his  public  spirit  and  enterprise. 

Mr.  Constantine  is  truly  a cosmopolitan.  He  has 
lived  in  nearly  all  quarters  of  the  habitable  globe  and 
has  had  a fund  of  personal  experiences  and  adventures 


such  as  many  pages  could  hardly  adequately  describe. 

He  is  one  of  the  most  interesting  as  well  as  one  of  the 
most  valuable  citizens  of  the  state  which  is  notable  for 
the  cosmopolitan  character  of  its  citizenship. 

He  was  born  in  the  suburbs  of  Constantinople  in 
March,  1866.  His  family  is  of  Greek  origin  and  his 
ancestry  can  be  traced  directly  back  to  a Greek  family 
that  flourished  in  the  Eastern  Empire  when  Constanti- 
nople was  the  capital  city  for  all  the  eastern  half  of  I 
Christendom  prior  to  its  conquest  by  the  invading  Turks  j 
in  the  middle  of  the  fifteenth  century.  Mr.  Constantine ’s 
father  was  a man  of  considerable  prominence,  serving  in  , 
an  office  which  would  correspond  with  that  of  mayor  or 
commissioner  in  one  of  the  districts  around  Constantinople. 

He  was  educated  in  the  local  schools  up  to  the  age  1 
of  sixteen.  His  mother  had  died'  when  he  was  twelve 
years  of  age.  Three  of  his  elder  brothers  were  already 
employed,  one  of  them  taking  charge  of  a city  office, 
one  of  them  in  a maritime  commercial  exchange  and  the 
next  older  being  also  employed  in  a city  office.  After 
about  a year  Mr.  Constantine  became  dissatisfied  with 
his  position  as  a subordinate,  and  at  the  age  of  seven-  ' 
teen  ran  away  from  home.  He  had  no  money,  and  after, 
borrowing  forty  dollars  from  a friend  took  a young  Greek 
companion  with  him  and  they  shipped  on  a sailing  vessel 
from  Constantinople  bound  for  Tripoli.  After  three } 
months  on  the  North  African  coast  they  returned  to  I 
Constantinople,  where  the  police  acting  under  instruc- 
tion from  his  father  arrested  young  Constantine  and  <1 
returned  him  to  the  parental  care.  However,  he  soon ' 
secured  his  father’s  consent  to  leaving  home,  and  next 
went  to  Athens,  where  he  joined  a cousin  and  for  three 
years  was  employed  in  a store  or  in  other  lines  of  work.  , 
He  left  Athens  suddenly,  with  only  eighteen  francs  as 
capital,  going  to  Alexandria,  Egypt.  At  the  end  of 
three  days  he  had  only  three  francs  left,  and  being  with- 
out friends  had  to  accept  the  first  employment  that 
offered.  After  a month  he  became  better  acquainted  and 
secured  a position  as  shipping  clerk  in  a wholesale  house, 
and  spent  one  year  in  Alexandria.  Greek  was  his  native 
language  and  as  a boy  he  had  learned  to  speak  the  Turk- 
ish tongue,  and  while  in  Alexandria  he  also  picked-  up 
some  fluency  in  the  Egyptian  and  Italian  languages. 
This  proficiency  made  him  available  for  a position  at 
Jedda,  the  seaport  of  Makha  in  Arabia,  where  he  was 
given  charge  of  a retail  grocery  concern  and  was  paid  I 
wages  double  what  he  had  received  in  Alexandria.  How- 
ever, after  three  months  he  found  the  climate  did  not 
agree  with  him,  and  he-  returned  to  Alexandria  and  was  ■ 
employed  for  a time  in  a money  exchange.  Soon  after- 
wards he  took  charge  of  a grocery  store  at  another  place 
in  Egypt,  but  while  there  contracted  the  smallpox  and! 
was  shipped  back  to  Alexandria  consigned  to  the  Greek; 
Hospital.  There  was  no  room  in  the  hospital,  and  he 
accordingly  took  his  blankets  and  went  to  the  woods 
resolved  to  die  a quiet  death.  He  was  picked  up  by; 
some  Arabs,  who  reported  his  case  to  the  Greek  com- 
munity, and  he  was  cared  for  until  he  had  recovered. 
While  in  Alexandria  he  and  another  Greek  boy  wandered 
out  into  the  desert  and  were  lost,  and  for  fifteen  days; 
mingled  with  the  Arabs.  They  told  their  captors  many, 
strange  tales  in  order  to  preserve  their  lives,  passing 
themselves  off  as  dignitaries  of  the  Sultan,  and  finally 
had  themselves  carried  back  into  Alexandria.  Three 
days  later  the  historic  massacre  of  whites  in  Alexandria,, 
in  1881,  began,  and  it  was  only  after  many  desperate 
chances  that  Mr.  Constantine  escaped  the  general  ven- 
geance which  fell  upon  thousands  of  the  aliens  living  in 
that  city.  He  left  the  country  with  many  other  refugees 
three  days  later,  and  was  given  free  transportation  by 
the  Greek  government  to  Piraeus,  the  seaport  of  Athens. 
His  father  learned  of  his  condition  and  secured  his  return 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1989 


to  Constantinople.  A few  months  later  Mr.  Constantine 
ran  away  again,  taking  passage  on  a sailing  ship  to  the 
Black  Sea  and  visiting  several  of  the  Russian  ports.  He 
next  went  to  Marseilles,  France,  and  after  traveling  in 
French  vessels  around  the  Mediterranean  went  on  a 
French  boat  to  Martinique  in  the  French  West  Indies, 
returning  on  the  same  vessel.  He  again  made  the  same 
trip,  but  on  arriving  at  Martinique  broke  his  contract 
and  was  put  in  jail  for  fifteen  days  and  was  released 
only  on  promise  to  leave  the  island  at  once.  He  shipped 
on  an  American  vessel  loaded  with  a cargo  of  sugar 
for  New  York.  He  worked  his  passage  to  New  York, 
and  thence  took  an  English  boat  to  Liverpool,  where  he 
was  discharged.  At  Dublin  he  shipped  on  an  American 
vessel  bound  on  a cruise  around  Cape  Horn  to  San 
Pedro,  California,  a voyage  of  six  months  and  eighteen 
days  without  touching  land.  He  landed  from  the  boat 
ill  and  spent  some  time  in  a hospital  at  Los  Angeles, 
and  remained  in  Southern  California  altogether  for  two 
years.  He  found  employment  with  the  fruit  packers  and 
in  that  time  picked  up  a good  knowledge  of  the  English 
language. 

Up  to  that  time  most  of  his  experiences  had  been  in 
tropical  or  semi-tropical  countries,  but  in  1889  he  went 
north  to  Juneau,  Alaska,  but  had  little  success  in  that 
quarter  and  returned  as  far  as  Seattle,  afterwards 
through  San  Francisco,  and  was  in  the  vicinity  of  Salt 
Lake  until  1892.  During  the  World’s  Columbian  Exposi- 
tion he  was  in  the  City  of  Chicago,  and  there  his  enter- 
prises prospered  so  that  he  found  himself  with  abundance 
of  money  and  with  this  good  fortune  returned  to  Athens, 
Greece,  where  he  was  married  in  1893  to  a Greek  girl 
named  Alexandra  Pakiadi,  who  was  also  born  in  Con- 
stantinople, the  only  child  of  her  parents.  After  visiting 
his  father  Mr.  Constantine  sailed  for  the  United  States 
with  his  bride,  landed  in  New  York  City,  and  for  a time 
lived  at  Scranton,  Pennsylvania.  At  Scranton  was  born 
his  first  child,  a daughter,  to  whom  was  given  the  name 
'Sappho.  From  there  he  removed  to  Atlanta,  Georgia, 
and  engaged  in  business  as  a grocer  and  proprietor  of  a 
refreshment  parlor.  In  that  city  the  second  daughter 
was  born  into  the  household,  and  upon  her  was  bestowed 
the  name  Antigone. 

Mr.  Constantine’s  experience  in  the  northern  latitude 
was  renewed  following  the  Klondike  excitement.  In 
August,  1896,  he  left  his  wife  in  charge  of  his  busi- 
ness in  Georgia  and  set  out  for  Dawson  City  in  North- 
west Alaska,  it  requiring  from  August  to  the  3rd  of 
November  to  make  the  trip.  At  San  Francisco  in  obe- 
dience to  the  regulations  it  was  necessary  to  lay  in  sup- 
plies of  all  kinds  sufficient  to  last  an  entire  year. 
On  reaching  the  Yukon  region  it  was  necessary  to  make 
the  trip  down  the  river  to  Dawson  City  before  the 
waters  froze  over,  and  he  had  to  go  into  the  woods  and 
cut  the  timber  to  make  a boat.  Mr.  Constantine  was  the 
first  white  man  to  shoot  the  White  Horse  Rapids  with  a 
loaded  boat,  and  about  four  hundred  people  lined  the 
banks  to  see  him  accomplish  that  notable  feat.  Never  in 
all  his  life  of  varied  experience  had  he  received  such  a 
demonstration  of  popular  applause  as  was  given  him  by 
his  fellow  men  as  they  stood  on  the  banks  and  shores  of 
the  canyon  and  yelled  their  acclaim  and  fired  off  their 
pistols  as  he  successfully  navigated  the  rapids.  It  was 
not  altogether  a feat  of  reckless  daring,  since  Mr.  Con- 
stantine had  been  a teacher  of  swimming  in  California 
and  had  gained  an  expert  skill  in  the  handling  of  boats 
propelled  by  oars  and  paddles.  Before  reaching  Dawson 
City  on  the  3rd  of  November  the  waters'  were  frozen 
over  and  he  had  to  chop  through  the  ice  for  a con- 
siderable distance  in  order  to  land  his  boat.  On  the 
previous  trip  to  Alaska  in  1889  his  partner  had  acci- 
dently struck  Mr.  Constantine  with  an  axe,  causing  a 


severe  injury  to  his  leg.  Again  in  1896  he  was  injured 
and  out  of  active  employment  for  about  three  months. 
Starting  another  prospecting  tour,  at  eleven  o’clock  at 
night  when  the  thermometer  was  forty  degrees  below  zero 
and  he  was  twelve  miles  from  Dawson  City,  he  acci- 
dentally shot  himself  through  the  leg,  and  only  after 
a struggle  of  two  hours  was  finally  rescued  by  a man 
with  a sled.  He  spent  two  years  in  Klondike,  with 
experiences  of  which  those  mentioned  are  only  a sample, 
and  made  one  trip  back  to  San  Francisco  during  the 
time.  After  that  two  years  he  returned  to  Atlanta, 
Georgia.  Owing  to  the  poor  health  of  his  wife  he  sent 
her  back  to  Athens  with  their  two  children,  and  she  died 
in  Greece  in  1903. 

During  1904,  at  the  Louisiana  Purchase  Exposition  in 
St.  Louis,  Mr.  Constantine  again  operated  with  consider- 
able success,  but  after  the  close  of  the  fair  returned  to 
Atlanta,  and  then  started  into  the  Southwest  to  look  for 
a location,  in  1906  establishing  himself  in  Tulsa,  Okla- 
homa. The  Pawhuska  townsite  was  opened  in  1906,  and 
he  was  present  during  the  auction  sale  of  lots,  and  has 
been  identified  with  that  thriving  community  of  North- 
eastern Oklahoma  ever  since.  He  bought  a few  cheap 
lots  during  the  sale  and  rented  a bake  shop,  to  which  he 
added  a confectionery.  After  one  year  in  that  location 
the  business  outgrew  its  quarters,  and  he  then  rented  the 
store  where  his  present  conspicuous  center  of  activities 
is  located,  and  subsequently  bought  the  ground  and 
building.  His  location  is  now  in  the  heart  of  the  city, 
and  he  operates  a confectionery  and  bakery,  a candy  and 
ice  cream  manufacturing  establishment,  and  also  con- 
ducts a hotel  in  connection. 

In  December,  1914,  Mr.  Constantine  completed  the 
theater  that  bears  his  name  in  Pawhuska.  The  Con- 
stantine Theater  is  regarded  as  the  finest  building  of  its 
kind  in  Oklahoma,  and  has  the  second  largest  stage  of 
any  theatrical  house  in  the  state.  It  represents  the  last 
word  in  every  facility  and  equipment  for  comfort  and 
enjoyment.  It  has  a perfect  system  of  heating,  the  fan 
system  of  ventilation,  and  the  lighting  and  fire  pro- 
tection are  of  the  latest  design.  No  expense  has  been 
spared  in  making  this  theater  the  equal  of  any  play- 
house in  the  Southwest,  and  it  stands  as  a splendid 
monument  to  the  enterprise  and  public  spirit  of  its 
builder.  It  also  represents  his  own  ideas,  which  were 
only  expressed  in  solid  material  through  his  architect. 
One  of  the  notable  features  of  the  playhouse  is  the  con- 
venience of  its  seating  arrangement,  the  chairs  being 
six  inches  wider  than  in  all  ordinary  theaters.  Mr.  Con- 
stantine is  the  manager  of  the  theater  and  has  devoted 
the  house  to  high  class  motion  picture  plays  and  the 
best  obtainable  legitimate  drama.  Adjoining  the 
theater  is  his  cafe,  and  both  establishments  are  on  the 
main  street  of  the  city. 

It  was  not  with  an  idea  solely  to  profit  that  Mr.  Con- 
stantine invested  so  heavily  in  this  enterprise,  but  rather 
from  the  impulse  of  civic  pride.  It  is  the  expression  of 
his  desire  to  give  an  entire  community  the  benefit  of 
his  prosperity,  and  he  has  frequently  turned  over  the 
theater  free  for  school  commencement  exercises  and 
religious  assemblages. 

Mr.  Constantine  stands  high  in  Masonry  having  taken 
thirty-two  degrees  in  the  Scottish  Rite,  and  having  also 
completed  the  York  Rite  degrees.  He  is  also  affiliated 
with  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  the 
Knights  of  Pythias,  and  is  a member  of  various  insur- 
ance orders.  His  two  daughters  attended  school  in  the 
Loretto  Academy  in  one  of  the  suburbs  of  Denver, 
Colorado  and  graduated  from  Pawhuska  High  School. 
The  daughter  Sappho  is  eighteen  and  Antigone  is  seven- 
teen. Two  more  cultured  and  brilliant  young  women  it 
would  be  difficult  to  find.  Only  recently  Sappho  was 


1990 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


awarded  a prize  for  work  in  domestic  science,  while 
Antigone  received  a state  award  as  an  appreciation  of 
her  musical  talent,  being  an  accomplished  contralto  singed. 
Both  of  these  medals  were  awarded  by  the  Oklahoma 
University  at  the  inter  scholastic  meet. 

In  connection  with  his  theater  and  cafe  and  other 
business  at  Pawhuska,  Mr.  Constantine  employs  eighteen 
persons  or  more,  some  of  whom  are  Greeks  and  soffit 
Americans,  and  he  is  everywhere  known  as  a liberal  em- 
ployer, paying  the  highest  standard  of  wages.  His  entiie 
career  in  Pawhuska  has  been  in  consonance  with  the 
finest  letter  and  spirit  of  American  citizenship  apd;  he 
is  one  of  the  men  of  foreign  birth  who  do  ■ cfedit 
to  their  adopted  country. 

Pinkney  R.  Amos.  One  of  the  real  pioneers  ft  the 
original  Oklahoma  now  resides  at  Frederick,/ where  he 
is  engaged  extensively  in  the  real  estate  bjjsin^es,  not 
only  as  a broker  but  also  handling  large  quantities  of 
land  and  other  property  of  his  own.  Mr;  Amos  was 
one  of  the  first  men  to  sell  goods  at  the  present Xlklahoma 
City  in  1889,  was  likewise  identified  witb;  the1  Cherokee 
Strip,  and  moved  to  Frederick  at»out  tai  rime  Tillman 
County  was  opened  for  settlement.  -j  fj 

The  Amos  family  has  been  identified  with  West  Vir- 
ginia for  nearly  a century,  and  both  IHr.jpLmos  and  his 
father  were  born  there  when  the  country JlFas  only  West- 
ern Virginia  prior  to  the  formationjjbf  M separate  state. 
Pinkney  R.  Affios  was  born  in  Mariofi  Oj&nnty  at  Fairview 
in  what  is  now  West  Virginia  Marcli  ^2,  1852,  a son  of 
Peter  Amos,  who  was  born  in  the  fme  state  in  1813, 
and  died  at  Fairview  in  1892.  A'r  ter  Amos  was  a man 
of  prominence  in  his  section,  owned  a number  of  farms, 
did  business  as  a stock  man,/anjpwas  also  a merchant. 
During  the  war  between  the-'  stares  he  sold  supplies  to 
the  Confederate  government’  affd  for  that  offence  was 
arrested  and  was  kept  a prisoner  in  the  Federal  prison 
at  Wheeling,  West  Virginia/* f or  a number  of  months. 
His  church  was  the  Methodist  Episcopal  and  in  politics 
he  was  a democrat.  Petei/Amos  married  Mary  Basnett, 
who  was  born  in  West  Virginia  in  1812,  and  died  at 
Lampasas,  Texas,  in  1891.  Their  children,  eight  in  num- 
ber, were  as  follows  //Elizabeth,  who  now  resides  at 
Clarksburg,  West  .Virginia,  is  the  widow  of  Dr.  J.  B. 
Conaway,  who  for  a.-n umber  of  years  was  a practicing 
physician  near  Clarksburg;  Catherine,  who  lives  at  Fair- 
view,  West  Virginia,  is  the  widow  of  George  Brown,  a 
farmer  and /trader;  Philip  B.  lives  at  Fairview,  where 
he  has  been  a Merchant  for  forty  years  and  is  now  pres- 
ident of  jthe/First  National  Bank;  Nannie  C.  lives  at 
Fairview,  the  widow  of  Dave  Ammons,  who  was  a trader 
and  cattle-dealer;  Charilla,  who  died  in  1914,  was  the 
wife  of.  A.  E.  Morgan,  a farmer  at  Fairview;  Luther  J. 
is  a minister  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  South  in 
California ; Pinkney  R.  is  the  seventh  in  age,  and  the 
ypwngest,  Willie  died  at  the  age  of  five  years. 

. * Pinkney  R.  Amos  received  his  education  in  the  com- 
mon schools  of  Marion  County,  West  Virginia,  up  to  the 
age  of  twenty,  having  in  the  meantime  assisted  his  father 
and  gained  a practical  acquaintance  with  business  affairs. 
For  a number  of  years  he  was  associated  with  the  elder 
Amos  in  the  store,  and  also  was  an  extensive  stock  shipper 
to  Philadelphia,  and  owned  a mill.  He  confined  his  atten- 
tion to  stock  business  from  1881-,to  1889,  and  owned  a 
large  sheep  and  cattle  ranch  at  Lampasas,  Texas. 

On  April  22,  1889,  Mr.  Amos  arrived  at  Oklahoma  City, 
then  only  a tank  station  on  the  Santa  Fe  Railroad.  In 
the  city  which  sprang  up  there  within  a few  days’  time 
he  established  the  first  exclusive  shoe  store,  which  was 
the  first  establishment  of  its  kind,  not  only  in  that 
city  but  in  the  entire  territory.  The  store  was  located 
on  Main  Street.  In  1893  Mr.  Amos  left  Oklahoma  City 


and  moved  his  stock  of  goods  to  the  newly  opened  dis- 
trict known  as  the  Cherokee  Strip,  establishing  a store  at 
Perry.  Then  in  1901  he  moved  to  Frederick,  and  here 
has  followed  the  real  estate  business.  His  offices  are  in 
the  Amos  Building,  which  he  owns.  For  the  past  fifteen 
years  he  has  handled  many  thousands  of  acres  of  farm 
land  in  Southwestern  Oklahoma,  and  handles  city  prop- 
erty, farm  lands  in  Tillman  County  and  other  counties  of 
Oklahoma  and  Texas,  and  probably  has  the  chief  busi- 
ness of  its  kind  in  Tillman  County. 

Mr.  Amos  is  a democrat,  attended  the  Methodist  Epis- 
copal Church,  and  is  affiliated  with  Lodge  No.  1217  of 
the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  with 
the  Woodmen  of  the  World.  In  his  native  state  of 
West  Virginia  in  1875  he  married  Miss  Alice  D.  Morgan, 
whose  father  was  William  Morgan,  now  deceased,  a West 
Virginia  farmer.  They  have  two  children:  Frank,  who 
has  built  up  a large  insurance  business  at  Woodward, 
Oklahoma;  and  Fairie,  who  is  the  wife  of  D.  S.  Tant, 
an  attorney  living  at  Vernon,  Texas. 

William  F.  Carson.  A prominent  and  successful 
representative  of  real  estate  and  loan  business  in  western 
Oklahoma  is  Mr.  Carson,  who  maintains  his  residence  at 
Beaver,  judicial  center  of  the  county  of  the  same  name, 
where  he  is  in  charge  of  the  office  and  business  of  the 
Renfrew  Investment  Company,  the  headquarters  of  which 
are  in  the  City  of  Woodward.  On  other  pages  of  this 
work  is  given  a review  of  the  career  of  the  president  of 
this  important  company,  Rufus  O.  Renfrew,  and  to  that 
article  reference  may  be  made  for  further  information 
concerning  the  company  and  its  extensive  operations. 

William  Frank  Carson,  who  has  been  a resident  of 
Oklahoma  since  1900,  was  born  on  his  father’s  farm  in 
Champaign  CJounty,  Illinois,  on  the  23d  of  June,  1874, 
and  is  a son  of  William  G.  and  Martha  Jane  (Bales) 
Carson.  His  father  was  born  in  Vermilion  County, 
Indiana,  in  which  state  he  was  reared  and  educated  and 
when,  in  1855,  he  removed  to  Illinois  and  became  one 
of  the  pioneer  settlers  of  Champaign  County,  where  he 
settled  on  a preemption  claim  which  he  obtained  from 
the  Government.  His  entire  active  career,  marked  by 
consecutive  industry  and  unpretentious  worth  of  charac- 
ter, was  one  of  close  identification  with  the  great  and 
fundamental  industry  of  agriculture,  and  through  his 
well-directed  endeavors  he  achieved  independence  and 
definite  prosperity.  He  was  a staunch  democrat  of  the 
old  school  and  though  he  was  ever  loyal  and  public- 
spirited  as  a citizen  he  never  desired  or  held  political 
office.  Both  he  and  his  wife  early  became  zealous 
members  of  the  Universalist  Church,  and  he  exemplified 
his  faith  in  his  daily  life,  his  death  having  occurred  in 
the  City  of  Champaign,  Illinois,  on  the  10th  of  Novem- 
ber, 1906,  after  he  had  been  a resident  of  Champaign 
County  for  a full  half  century. 

On  the  22d  of  February,  1854,  was  solemnized  the 
marriage  of  William  G.  Carson  to  Miss  Martha  Jane 
Bales,  who  likewise  was  born  in  Vermilion  County, 
Indiana,  the  date  of  her  nativity  having  been  August 
27,  1834,  his  birth  having  occurred  in  that  county  on  the 
29th  of  June,  1829, — dates  that  clearly  denote  that  the 
respective  families  were  founded  in  that  section  of  the 
Hoosier  State  in  the  early  pioneer  days.  Mrs.  Carson, 
who  still  retains  her  home  at  Champaign,  Illinois,  is  a 
daughter  of  Caleb  and  Emily  (Spangler)  Bales,  natives 
of  Virginia,  and  of  her  ten  children — two  sons  and  eight 
daughters — four  daughters  died  in  infancy, — Maria,  Ella, 
Elizabeth  and  Laura.  Emily  Josephine,  who  was  born 
December  20,  1858,  became,  in  1881,  the  wife  of  Eugene 
A.  Ford,  and  they  have  four  children, — Amos  Carson, 
William  Van  Pelt,  Martha  Belle,  and  Eugene  Bartholo- 
mew. Caleb  W.,  who  was  born  December  10,  1860,  was 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1991 


reared  and  educated  in  Champaign  County,  Illinois,  and 
in  his  native  state  he  continued  his  residence  until  July  5, 
1885,  when  he  removed  to  Ashland,  Kansas,  where  he 
accumulated  a very  large  estate  and  where  he  was 
the  largest  individual  taxpayer  in  Clark  County  at  the 
time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  August  13,  1915.  He 
served  eight  years  as  postmaster  at  Ashland,  during 
both  administrations  of  President  Cleveland,  and  was  a 
leader  in  the  ranks  of  the  democratic  party  in  that  sec- 
tion of  the  Sunflower  State.  He  attained  to  the  thirty- 
second  degree  in  the  Ancient  Accepted  Scottish  Kite  of 
the  Masonic  fraternity,  besides  being  affiliated  with  the 
Mystic  Shrine.  In  March,  1886,  he  wedded  Miss  Martha 
Congeleton,  who  survives  him,  as  do  also  their  four  sons 
and  one  daughter, — Paul  C.,  William  G.,  Prank  Lee, 
Caleb  W.,  Jr.,  and  Hazel  Ellene.  Ellen  A.  Carson  was 
born  August  11,  1864,  was  united  in  marriage  on  the  27th 
of  February,  1890,  to  Hon.  John  I.  Lee.  Their  only 
child,  Irving  Allen,  died  in  infancy.  Mr.  Lee,  who  died 
at  Cordell,  Washita  County,  Oklahoma,  on  the  25th 
of  December,  1914,  was  editor  and  publisher  of  the  Clark 
County  Clipper,  at  Ashland,  Kansas,  from  1885  to  1890, 
and  thereafter  served  until  1892  as  clerk  of  the  District 
Court  of  that  county.  From  1894  to  1898  he  was 
register  of  the  United  States  Land  Office  at  Dodge  City, 
Kansas,  and  in  1901  he  came  to  Oklahoma  Territory  and 
engaged  in  the  lumber  and  coal  business  at  Cordell, 
where  he  passed  the  residue  of  his  life.  He  was  influ- 
ential in  democratic  political  activities  in  Kansas  and 
likewise  after  his  removal  to  Oklahoma.  Mary  Marc 
Carson  was  born  August  9,  1867,  and  on  the  20th  of 
August,  1886,  she  became  the  wife  of  Dr.  David  P.  Sims, 
their  only  child  being  a son,  Carson,  and  the  family  home 
being  maintained  at  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania.  Miss 
Luvilla  B.  Carson,  who  was  born  January  22,  1870, 
remains  with  her  widowed  mother. 

William  Frank  Carson,  the  second  son  and  yougest 
child  in  the  above  mentioned  family,  passed  the  period 
of  his  childhood  and  early  youth  upon  the  homestead 
farm  which  was  the  place  of  his  birth,  and  after  duly 
availing  himself  of  the  advantages  of  the  public  schools 
of  Champaign  County,  Illinois,  he  pursued  a higher  course 
in  what  is  now  the  great  Valparaiso  University,  at  Val- 
paraiso, Indiana.  He  continued  to  be  associated  with 
the  work  and  the  management  of  his  father’s  farm  until 
1899,  when  he  removed  to  Ashland,  Kansas,  where  he 
served  as  deputy  clerk  of  Clark  County.  In  that  city 
he  was  thereafter  associated  with  his  only  brother  in 
the  mercantile  business  for  a period  of  two  years,  and 
upon  coming  to  Oklahoma,  in  1900,  he  established  his 
home  at  Curtis,  Woodward  County,  where  he  continued 
in  the  same  line  of  enterprise  four  years.  He  had 
entered  claim  to  a tract  of  Government  land  in  that 
county  and  in  1904  he  perfected  his  title  to  the  property. 
In  1910-11  Mr.  Carson  held  a clerical  position  in  a mer- 
cantile establishment  in  the  City  of  Woodward,  and  in 
1912  he  there  assumed  the  position  of  bookkeeper  in 
the  head  office  of  the  Renfrew  Investment  Company. 
In  October  of  the  same  year  he  was  assigned  to  the 
management  of  the  company’s  office  at  Beaver,  where  he 
has  since  continued  the  alert  and  efficient  incumbent  of 
this  position,  in  which  he  has  done  much  to  extend  the 
business  controlled  from  this  office. 

Mr.  Carson  is  found  aligned  as  a staunch  supporter 
of  the  cause  of  the  democratic  party,  is  affiliated  with 
the  Masonic  fraternity,  and  both  he  and  his  wife  are 
specially  zealous  and  valued  members  of  the  Presby- 
terian Church  at  Beaver,  in  the  Sunday  School  of  which 
he  has  served  three  years  as  superintendent.  It  is 
worthy  of  incidental  note  that  this  is  the  oldest  exclu- 
sively Presbyterian  Church  in  the  state,  its  organization 


having  been  effected  in  1886,  when  Beaver  County  was 
still  a part  of  the  region  commonly  designated  as  No 
Man’s  Land, — prior  to  the  creation  of  Oklahoma  Terri- 
tory. Mr.  Carson  is  secretary  of  the  Beaver  Gospel 
Team,  and  also  secretary  of  the  Beaver  County  Sunday 
School  Association. 

At  Keinbeek,  Grundy  County,  Iowa,  on  the  14th  of 
April,  1901,  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Carson 
to  Miss  Grace  B.  Klein,  daughter  of  Herman  E.  and 
Katherine  (Kline)  Klein,  both  natives  of  Iowa,  where 
their  respective  parents  settled  in  the  early  pioneer  days. 
Mrs.  Carson  was  born  on  her  father’s  homestead  farm 
in  Grundy  County,  Iowa,  on  the  4th  of  September,  1876, 
and  in  her  youth  she  received  excellent  educational 
advantages,  through  the  medium  of  which  she  prepared 
'herself  for  service  in  the  pedagogic  profession.  For 
eight  years  prior  to  her  marriage  she  was  a successful 
and  popular  teacher  in  the  schools  of  her  native  state 
and  in  Kansas.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Carson  have  five  children, 
whose  names  and  respective  dates  of  birth  are  here 
noted:  Francis  Klein,  March  26,  1902;  Ellen  Belva, 

June  1,  1905;  Ernest  Lee,  September  1,  1906;  Willis 
Spangler,  July  26,  1910;  and  Luvilla  Grace,  July  22, 
1912. 

William  Henry  Miller.  To  found  a town  and  to 
exercise  such  a kindly  and  wholesome  supervision  over 
its  welfare  as  to  deserve  the  title  of  ‘ ‘ town  father  ’ ’ is 
an  enviable  distinction.  That  is  only  one  phase  of 
William  Henry  Miller’s  participation  with  the  life  and 
affairs  of  Oklahoma.  He  is  one  of  the  real  pioneers, 
was  out  in  “No  Man’s  Land”  in  the  primitive  days 
of  that  country,  and  has  participated  in  a number  of  the 
important  land  openings  and  as  a homesteader,  cattle 
raiser,  civil  engineer,  teacher,  business  man,  has  played 
an  unusual  part  in  the  development  of  this  great  state. 
His  present  home  and  activities  are  centered  at  Buffalo, 
which  he  founded. 

He  was  born  March  17,  1858,  in  a log  house  on  a 
farm  in  Knox  County,  Missouri.  At  the  age  of  three 
years  left  an  orphan,  he  was  reared  by  John  Miller  as 
his  foster  father  and  lived  with  that  worthy  Missouri 
gentleman  the  first  twenty-seven  years  of  his  life.  In 
the  meantime  he  had  made  the  best  of  his  opportunities 
and  had  secured  the  equivalent  of  a liberal  education. 
In  1881  he  graduated  from  the  Gem  City  Business 
College  at  Quincy,  Illinois,  and  in  1884  he  completed 
the  work  in  the  £Torth  Missouri  State  Normal  at  Kirks- 
ville,  Missouri,  near  his  old  home.  The  following  two 
years  were  spent  as  a teacher  in  Missouri. 

It  was  in  1886  that  Mr.  Miller  moved  out  to  that 
portion  of  the  present  State  of  Oklahoma  which  then 
on  the  geography  was  marked  as  No  Man’s  Land. 
There  he  followed  the  profession  of  civil  engineer  until 
1891,  in  which  year  he  resumed  teaching.  He  taught 
the  first  public  school  in  what  is  now  Harper  County, 
and  was  superintendent  of  city  schools  at  Shawnee  in 
1896-97,  and  in  1898-99  superintendent  of  the  city  schools 
of  Blackwell. 

While  in  No  Man’s  Land  he  was  in  the  cattle  business 
in  1886  and  1891,  together  with  his  work  as  a surveyor. 
He  lived  the  thoroughly  primitive  life  of  the  place  and 
time.  He  ate  buffalo  meat  when  buffalo  still  contended 
for  the  prairies  with  domestic  cattle,  and  he  bore  all  the 
hardships  of  the  frontier,  including  existence  in  sod 
houses.  He  was  also/ a factor  in  that  short-lived  govern- 
ment known  as  the  Territory  of  Cimarron,  which  was 
set  up  to  furnish  jurisdiction  and  competent  local  govern- 
ment for  the  narrow  strip  of  land  between  the  Texas 
Panhandle  and  Southern  Kansas  and  Southern  Colorado. 
He  was  elected  to  the  senate  of  the  provisional  govern- 
ment and  was  the  first  territorial  assessor  in  1889-90. 


1992 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


I 


As  a civil  engineer  he  surveyed  nearly  all  the  old  town- 
sites  of  No  Man’s  Land. 

In  1891  Mr.  Miller  took  part  in  the  opening  of  the 
Cheyenne  and  Arapahoe  Indian  reservations.  In  1893 
he  likewise  participated  in  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee 
Strip,  locating  at  Blackwell.  In  1899,  removing  to  old 
Woodward  County,  he  secured  a claim  on  Buffalo  Creek. 
On  a portion  of  that  land  he  subsequently  laid  out  the 
present  Town  of  Buffalo,  and  gave  to  it  the  enterprise 
which  started  it  as  one  of  the  flourishing  town  centers 
of  Northwestern  Oklahoma.  In  1896  he  was  elected  the 
first  county  surveyor  of  Harper  County.  In  his  own 
Town  of  Buffalo  he  erected  some  substantial  buildings, 
and  he  has  contributed  generously  to  every  public  insti- 
tution in  the  town.  He  owns  a model  farm  of  280  acres 
adjoining  the  townsite,  has  a complete  set  of  buildings,' 
and  also  a modern  home,  and  owns  about  700  town  lots. 
In  politics  he  is  a democrat,  but  has  never  had  time  for 
political  work. 

Mr.  Miller  has  also  distinguished  himself  in  the  field 
of  invention.  He  is  inventor  of  an  ore  separating  ma- 
chine on  which  he  has  a patent,  and  which  has  met  the 
test  of  practical  experience  in  the  mines  of  Mexico.  He 
is  also  patentee  of  a grain  separator  and  thresher 
combined. 

Tor  much  of  what  is  best  in  his  life’s  accomplish- 
ment Mr.  Miller  credits  his  able  wife.  On  April  5,  1888, 
at  Columbia,  Missouri,  he  married  Miss  Fannie  E.  Turner. 
She  was  born  in  that  university  center  on  November  7, 
1866,  and  she  and  her  husband  were  school  mates  prior 
to  their  marriage.  Mrs.  Miller  has  been  more  or  less 
closely  identified  with  educational  work  since  she  was 
sixteen  years  of  age.  She  now  ranks  as  the  leading 
authority  on  primary  school  work  in  Oklahoma.  She 
and  her  husband  are  active  members  of  the  Christian 
Church  and  she  has  taken  a specially  active  part  in 
Sunday-school,  having  been  secretary  of  the  Oklahoma 
State  Sunday  School  Association.  She  taught  the  first 
school  in  Blackwell  and  was  connected  with  the  schools 
there  for  seven  years,  while  Mr.  Miller  conducted  the 
first  school  in  Harper  County. 

H.  C.  Wallace,  D.  O.  At  Blackwell  one  of  the  physi- 
cians who  can  claim  a patronage  of  exceptional  numerical 
strength  and  value  is  Dr.  H.  C.  Wallace,  who  is  one  of 
the  leading  representatives  of  the  School  of  Osteopathy 
in  Oklahoma,  and  has  met  with  unanimous  success  during 
the  fifteen  years  of  his  residence  at  Blackwell.  Within 
twenty  years  the  practice  of  osteopathy,  starting  in  re- 
stricted localities  and  hampered  by  prejudice,  has  spread 
from  coast  to  coast,  and  has  won  its  place  with  older 
schools  of  medicine,  and  largely  because  of  the  work  of 
Doctor  Wallace  the  influence  of  the  science  is  very  ap- 
parent in  Northern  Oklahoma.  Doctor  Wallace  is  Resi- 
dent Physician  and  Manager  of  the  Southwestern  Osteo- 
pathic Sanitarium  of  Blackwell,  and  the  existence  of  this 
institution  must  be  credited  mostly  to  his  untiring  efforts 
to  place  his  profession  in  the  front  rank,  and  provide 
suitable  care  for  the  adherents  of  the  osteopathic  system 
of  treatment.  Starting  in  1912  with  a small  sixteen- 
room  frame  building,  the  institution  has  grown  to  its 
present  dimensions.  It  has  become  one  of  the  largest 
osteopathic  institutions  in  existence,  with  one  of  the 
largest  and  finest  hospital  buildings  and  most  complete 
and  modern  equipment  of  any  hospital  of  any  kind  in 
the  Southwest,  having  a capacity  prhieh  can  be  utilized 
for  about  100  patients,  and  beautiful  grounds  and  park 
surrounding  the  building,  and  situated  on  the  highest 
land  in  the  city. 

Miss  Clara  Powell,  recent  night  superintendent  of  the 
Kirksville,  Missouri,  Hospital,  is  the  Superintendent  and 
assisting  her  is  a corps  of  as  efficient  nurses  as  are  to 


be  found  anywhere.  Other  physicians  and  surgeons 
associated  with  Doctor  Wallace  in  this  institution-  are 
Dr.  George  J.  Conley  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  the  chief 
surgeon;  Dr.  L.  S.  Larimore,  who  has  charge  of  the  eye, 
ear,  nose  and  throat  and  X-ray  departments;  and  Dr. 
M.  M.  Estlack,  both  of  Blackwell;  Dr.  Ernest  Ewing  of 
El  Reno,  Oklahoma;  Doctors  Mitchell  and  Mitchell,  Dr. 
W.  F.  Nay  and  Dr.  N.  Triplett,  all  of  Enid,  Oklahoma; 
Dr.  P.  W.  Gibhson  of  Winfield,  Kansas;  Dr.  N.  Howell 
of  Wellington,  Kansas;  Dr.  Fred  Thompson  of  Caldwell, 
Kansas;  Dr.  L.  Brenz  of  Arkansas  City,  Kansas;  Doctor 
Calvert  of  Ponca  City,  Oklahoma;  Dr.  F.  C.  Davis  of 
Tonkawa,  Oklahoma;  Dr.  E.  Hicks  of  Newkirk,  Okla- 
homa; Dr.  F.  Barrows  of  Kingman,  Kansas,  and  a 
number  of  others. 

Doctor  Wallace  is  a graduate  of  the  American  School 
of  Osteopathy  and  a post-graduate  of  the  Los  Angeles 
College  of  Osteopathic  Physicians  and  Surgeons. 

A downtown  office  is  maintained  at  Blackwell  in  the 
National  Block,  corner  of  Main  and  Blackwell  Avenue. 

Dr.  H.  C.  Wallace  was  born  near  Juniata,  on  a farm 
in  Adams  County,  Nebraska,  January  21,  1882,  and  has 
lived  in  Blackwell  since  1903.  i His  father,  John  Wallace, 
was  a native  of  Vermont,  and  during  the  Civil  war  made 
a record  as  a gallant  soldier  with  the  Fourth  Iowa 
Cavalry.  He  came  of  Scotch  ancestry,  and  for  many 
generations  the  family  has  been  noted  for  its  integrity 
and  vigor  of  citizenship.  From  Vermont  John  Wallace 
moved  out  to  Iowa,  and  was  one  of  the  early  settlers 
in  Marshall  County  of  that  state.  He  married  Ruth 
Ferguson,  a native  of  Iowa,  whose  parents  came  from 
Pennsylvania.  From  Iowa  the  Wallace  family  moved  out 
to  Adams  County,  Nebraska,  where  they  were  among  the 
early  settlers.  Later  the  father  came  to  Blackwell  in 
Kay  County,  Oklahoma,  where  he  is  now  living  at  the 
age  of  eighty-eight  years,  being  one  of  the  oldest 
veteran  soldiers  in  Kay  County. 

Dr.  H.  C.  Wallace  grew  up  in  the  states  of  Nebraska 
and  Missouri,  receiving  his  education  and  graduating 
from  the  high  school  at  Grant  City,  Missouri,  and  then 
entered  the  American  School  of  Osteopathy  at  Kirksville, 
where  he  finished  in  1903.  In  the  same  year  Doctor 
Wallace  married  Cora  Roten,  who  prior  to  her  marriage 
had  been  a successful  teacher.  Her  father  was  John 
Roten  of  Albia,  Iowa.  They  have  two  children:  John 

Herbert  and  Velma  Bernice. 

H.  H.  Brenner.  While  in  a business  way  Mr.  Bren- 
ner’s chief  distinction  rests  upon  his  work  as  a banker, 
he  is  also  a splendid  type  of  the  business  man  and  citizen 
who  not  only  do  things  but  get  things  done  for  the 
permanent  welfare  and  prosperity  of  his  community.  His 
community  can  hardly  be  regarded  as  one  town,  since, 
though  a resident  of  Pawhuska  for  many  years,  his 
interests  extend  all  over  Osage  County,  and  his  associa- 
tions and  friendships  include  many  leading  business  men 
all  over  the  country. 

As  a banker  Mr.  Brenner  has  been  primarily  identified 
with  the  First  National  Bank  of  Pawhuska,  of  which  he 
is  president.  Some  years  ago,  when  he  took  charge  of 
the  bank,  it  was  an  institution  with  $25,000  capital,  a 
surplus  of  $2,000,  deposits  of  $34,000,  and  the  books 
showed  indebtedness  at  $10,000.  At  the  present  time 
its  capital  stock  is  $50,000,  with  surplus  and  undivided 
profits  of  $32,000,  and  a total  of  deposits  amounting  to 
over  $500,000.  The  total  resources  of  the  First  National 
in  May,  1916,  amounted  to  approximately  $716,000. 

In  addition  to  being  president  of  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Pawhuska.  Mr.  Brenner  is  president  of  the  Paw- 
huska Oil  & Gas  Company;  was  formerly  president  of 
the  Bank  of  Big  Heart,  an  office  which  he  resigned, 
thought  still  remaining  a stockholder;  was  president  of 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1993 


the  Foraker  State  Bank,  now  the  First  National  Bank 
of  Foraker,  which  he  organized  and  managed  four  years, 
and  at  one  time  was  identified  with  the  National  Reserve 
Bank  of  New  York  City. 

The  story  of  Mr.  Brenner’s  career  is  one  that  illus- 
trates the  possibilities  of  accomplishment.  In  earlier 
life  he  lived  in  close  touch  with  poverty  and  his  inde- 
pendence and  self-reliance  have  brought  him  to  an  envi- 
able goal  of  prosperity  and  real  success.  He  was  born 
at  Golding,  in  Courland,  Russia,  now  Germany,  June  15, 
1852,  a son  of  Benjamin  and  Gertrude  (Nattison)  Bren- 
ner. His  parents  spent  all  their  lives  in  the  old  country, 
and  his  father  in  earlier  life  was  a merchant.  Mr. 
Brenner  was  the  youngest  of  his  mother’s  four  children, 
two  sons  and  two  daughters,  and  by  his  second  marriage 
his  father  had  also  four  children,  all  of  whom  are  living 
in  this  country  except  one.  Two  are  in  Memphis,  Ten- 
nessee, and  one  in  Brinkley,  Arkansas.  Mr.  Brenner  has 
a number  of  nephews  and  nieces  in  different  parts  of  the 
United  States. 

He  was  seventeen  years  of  age  when  he  set  out  for  the 
United  States,  making  the  journey  alone,  and  arriving 
at  Oxford,  Mississippi,  with  neither  money  nor  influ- 
ential friends  to  help  him.  He  lived  at  Oxford  until 
1886,  having  been  connected  with  the  mercantile  firm  of 
Meyers,  Sichels  & Company  for  twelve  years.  After- 
wards he  engaged  in  the  mercantile  business  for  himself, 
and  in  1886  first  came  to  Pawhuska,  Indian  Territory, 
under  appointment  from  President  Cleveland  as  post 
trader.  Pawhuska  was  then  one  of  the  smallest  posts  in 
the  Indian  Territory.  He  remained  as  a trader  there 
until  1890  and  then  returned  to  Mississippi,  engaging 
in  the  merchandise  business  at  Clarksdale.  He  also 
bought  a large  cotton  plantation  of  2,740  acres  in  the 
Yazoo  Valley,  but  met  with  financial  reverses  in  the 
management  of  his  enterprise.  In  1895  Mr.  Brenner 
returned  to  Pawhuska,  receiving  a new  appointment  as 
post  trader  during  Cleveland’s  second  administration. 
Here  he  laid  the  solid  foundation  of  his  preserit  pros- 
perity. He  was  a merchant,  and  also  engaged  in  the 
cattle  business  with  Prentice  Price  of  Hominy.  It  was 
as  a merchant  and  cattle  man  that  his  chief  interests 
were  centered  for  twelve  years.  In  1903  Mr.  Brenner 
came  to  the  Bank  of  Pawhuska  as  president,  and  his 
success  in  raising  that  institution  to  one  of  the  foremost 
in  Northeastern  Oklahoma  has  already  been  mentioned. 
During  the  past  thirteen  years  he  has  devoted  most  of 
his  time  to  banking  and  the  oil  and  gas  business.  He 
owns  extensive  real  estate  interests  at  Pawhuska,  and  has 
effected  much  for  local  improvement. 

In  1905  Mr.  Brenner  spent  two  months  in  Washington 
negotiating  with  Congress  for  the  setting  aside  of  various 
townsites  in  Osage  County.  As  a result  of  his  efforts 
640  acres  were  set  aside  for  the  townsite  of  Pawhuska; 
160  acres  for  Big  Heart;  and  similar  amounts  for  Hom- 
iny, Fairfax  and  Foraker.  The  setting  aside  of  these 
townsites  was  a necessary  preliminary  to  real  develop- 
ment of  towns  that  are  now  among  the  most  important 
in  Osage  County. 

In  1903  Mr.  Brenner  promoted  the  Pawhuska  Oil  & 
Gas  Company,  of  which  he  is  now  president.  At  that 
time  no  oil  or  gas  had  been  produced  within  twenty-five 
miles,  but  he  proved  his  own  faith  and  good  judgment 
by  investing  his  own  resources,  and  now  for  a number 
of  years  this  company  has  been  one  of  the  largest  in  the 
development  of  the  local  oil  and  gas  fields.  It  is  capi- 
talized at  $250,000.  Throughout  the  state  Mr.  Brenner 
has  interests  in  land,  gas  and  oil  leases. 

The  original  oil  and  gas  leases  given  by  the  Osages 
in  1896  expired  in  March,  1916.  As  the  authority  to 
lease  all  the  Osage  lands  is  vested  in  the  Secretary  of 
the  Interior  with  the  concurrence  of  the  Indian  Council, 


Mr.  Brenner  spent  the  preceding  months  of  January  and 
February  in  Washington,  representing  his  company. 
There  were  many  conflicting  claims,  all  requiring  careful 
investigation,  and  it  was  a difficult  matter  to  do  justice 
to  all.  The  Pawhuska  Oil  and  Gas  Company  was  suc- 
cessful in  securing  38,400  acres  in  the  vicinity  of  the 
City  of  Pawhuska  on  terms  which  made  it  possible  to 
offer  gas  to  the  consumers  at  reasonable  prices.  In  fact, 
Pawhuska  enjoys  the  distinction  of  possessing  a larger 
gas  field  and  cheaper  rates  than  any  other  city  in  the 
United  States. 

Since  getting  his  citizenship  papers  Mr.  Brenner  has 
been  consistently  a supporter  of  the  democratic  party. 
He  was  presidential  elector  from  Oklahoma  in  1912,  and 
always  active  as  a party  man,  and  has  served  as  a 
delegate  to  many  state  conventions  both  in  Mississippi 
and  Oklahoma.  He  has  likewise  contributed  generously 
to  the  party  treasury,  though  for  himself  he  has  never 
desired  nor  has  he  been  willing  to  accept  any  honors  in 
the  way  of  office.  Mr.  Brenner  has  numbered  among 
his  personal  friends  many  of  the  well  known  men  in 
politics  and  business,  but  deems  his  most  illustrious 
friendship  as  that  which  existed  between  him  and  the 
late  Justice  L.  Q.  C.  Lamar  of  the  United  States  Supreme 
Court.  Mr.  Brenner  is  a thirty-second  degree  Scottish 
Rite  Mason,  a member  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  an  Elk 
and  a Knight  of  Pythias,  and  belongs  to  a number  of 
other  social  and  civic  orders.  Though  born  of  a Jewish 
family,  in  America  he  has  always  associated  with  Gen- 
tiles almost  entirely,  but  shows  his  loyalty  to  his  race 
by  membership  in  the  United  Israelites  and  the  B’Nai 
B’rith.  He  is  also  a member  of  both  the  State  and 
National  Bankers’  Association  and  a member  of  the 
National  Gas  Association  of  America. 

In  January,  1899,  Mr.  Brenner  married  Mary  Louisa 
Morris.  She  was  born  in  New  York  State,  and  they 
were  married  at  the  City  of  Albany.  Mrs.  Brenner  is 
one  of  the  leading  Pawhuska  women  in  social  and  benevo- 
lent affairs.  She  was  one  of  the  founders  of  the  Epis- 
copal Church  of  Pawhuska,  is  a member  of  the  Shakes- 
peare Club  and  the  Art  Club,  and  spends  much  of  her 
time  in  doing  good  in  her  community.  While  they  have 
no  children  of  their  own  Mr.  Brenner  is  keenly  interested 
in  the  welfare  of  his  many  younger  relatives  and  has 
generously  assisted  a number  to  gain  education  and  to 
fit  themselves  for  usefulness  in  business  and  the  profes- 
sions. When  Mr.  Brenner  came  to  the  United  States 
he  had  no  knowledge  of  the  English  language.  His  mother 
tongue  was  German.  He  never  attended  school  after 
coming  to  this  country,  and  has  acquired  most  of  his 
education  through  close  contact  with  men  and  affairs. 
Few  men  have  lived  their  lives  to  better  purpose  than 
this  Pawhuska  banker. 

George  M.  Burkhardt.  For  a young  man  a little  be- 
yond thirty,  George  M.  Burkhardt  has  had  a long  busi- 
ness experience  and  is  well  established  as  one  of  the 
proprietors  and  the  active  manager  of  the  abstract  com- 
pany at  Frederick  in  Tillman  County. 

Mr.  Burkhardt  represents  the  thrifty  and  substantial 
element  of  Texas  citizenship  that  was  introduced  into 
that  part  of  the  Southwest  from  Germany.  He  was  born 
at  Round  Top  in  Fayette  County,  Texas,  December  3, 
1884,  a son  of  Louis  G.  and  Bertha  R.  (Ullrich)  Burk- 
hardt. His  grandfather  Burkhardt  was  born  and  mar- 
ried in  Germany,  came  over  with  his  family,  and  was 
an  early  farmer  settler  in  Fayette  County,  Texas.  The 
grandfather  Adam  George  Ullrich  was  born  in  Baden, 
Germany,  and  at  the  age  of  eighteen  crossed  the  ocean 
and  settled  on  a farm  in  Fayette  County,  Texas.  He 
was  employed  by  the  owner  of  the  farm,  but  later 
bought  the  place,  and  still  lives  on  that  farm,  which  is 


1994 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


crossed  by  the  line  between  Payette  and  Washington 
counties,  Texas.  He  was  born  in  1834,  and  is  thus 
more  than  fourscore  years  of  age.  Louis  G.  Burkhardt 
was  born  in  Fayette  County,  Texas,  in  1853,  and  died 
near  Round  Top  on  his  farm  in  1887.  He  and  his  brother 
and  a sister  owned  270  acres  near  that  village.  He  was 
a member  of  the  Lutheran  Church.  His  wife,  Bertha  R. 
Ullrich,  was  also  born  in  Fayette  County,  and  is  now 
living  in  Washita  County,  Oklahoma.  Their  children 
were:  Lina,  the  wife  of  Ernest  Stein,  farming  people  in 
Washita  County,  Oklahoma;  Lizzie,  wife  of  Gottlieb 
Stehr,  a farmer  in  Custer  County,  Oklahoma ; George  M. ; 
Amanda,  who  married  Oscar  Hoepfner,  a farmer  in 
Washita  County,  Oklahoma;  and  Katy,  wife  of  Henry 
Funk,  who  lives  in  the  Town  of  Bessie,  Oklahoma.  After 
the  death  of  Louis  G.  Burkhardt  his  widow  married  C.  H. 
Koch.  He  was  born  in  Hesse,  Germany,  emigrated  to 
Fayette  County,  Texas,  and  later  to  Washita  County, 
Oklahoma,  where  he  died  in  1909.  The  children  of  this 
second  marriage  are:  Justus  Koch,  who  is  a farmer  in 
Washita  County,  Oklahoma;  Otto  Koch,  also  a farmer 
in  the  same  county;  Blandina,  who  is  employed  in  the 
telephone  office  at  Hobart  in  Kiowa  County,  Oklahoma; 
Christian,  a farmer  in  Washita  County;  and  Adam,  a 
farmer  in  the  same  county. 

George  M.  Burkhardt  received  more  or  less  regular 
instruction  in  the  public  schools  of  Round  Top  up  to  the 
age  of  nine,  at  which  time  his  mother  removed  to  Cop- 
peras Cove,  Texas,  where  he  continued  school  attend- 
ance up  to  the  age  of  fourteen.  At  that  date  he  showed 
an  indication  of  the  reliance  which  has  always  charac- 
terized him  by  running  away  from  home,  and  returning 
to  his  native  Village  of  Round  Top,  continued  his  studies 
in  the  German  language  for  two  years.  He  then  returned 
to  Copperas  Cove  and  was  employed  on  his  mother’s  farm 
up  to  the  age  of  twenty.  In  1904,  realizing  the  need  of 
better  educational  preparation,  Mr.  Burkhardt  entered 
the  Hills  Business  College  at  Waco,  Texas,  and  after 
completing  his  course  there  engaged  in  the  real  estate 
business  at  Holland  in  Bell  County,  Texas,  for  two 
months.  His  next  location  was  at  Belton,  the  county 
seat  of  Bell  County,  where  he  was  in  the  abstract  business 
in  the  employ  of  A.  M.  Montieth  up  to  the  summer  of 
1907.  At  that  time  Mr.  Burkhardt  identified  himself 
with  Lawton,  Oklahoma,  but  on  the  18th  of  November 
of  the  same  year  entered  the  employ  of  the  Monerief 
Cook  Company  in  the  abstract  business,  and  on  Febru- 
ary 28,  1909,  came  to  Frederick  to  represent  the  same 
company.  In  1910  E.  J.  Sehowalter  and  Mr.  Burkhardt 
bought  the  Monerief  Company’s  interests  in  the  abstract 
business  and  Mr.  Burkhardt  has  since  had  the  sole  man- 
agement of  this  important  concern,  since  Mr.  Sehowalter 
is  vice  president  of  the  Chattanooga  State  Bank  of  Chat- 
tanooga, Oklahoma.  Mr.  Burkhardt ’s  offices  are  in  the 
rear  of  the  First  National  Bank  Building. 

Up  to  the  summer  of  1912  Mr.  Burkhardt  was  a regu- 
lar republican,  but  has  since  been  affiliated  with  the 
democratic  party.  He  has  served  as  councilman  in  Fred- 
erick from  the  Third  Ward  and  is  now  secretary  of  the 
board  of  education.  Fraternally  his  affiliations  are  with 
Belton  Lodge  No.  51  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias  in  Texas, 
with  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen  and  his 
church  is  the  German  Lutheran. 

On  October  22,  1910,  at  Lawton,  Oklahoma,  Mr.  Burk- 
hardt married  Miss  Sadie  S.  Cory,  daughter  of  W.  H. 
Cory,  who  resides  at  Douglas,  Arizona,  where  he  and  his 
son  Walter  C.  Cory  conduct  a garage.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Burkhardt  have  two  children:  Frances  Blandina,  born 
August  31,  1911;  and  Laureada  Lavelle,  born  April  8, 
1914. 


Granville  T.  Ayers.  In  the  year  succeeding  that  in 
which  Oklahoma  was  admitted  to  statehood  Mr.  Ayers 
became  a teacher  in  the  public  schools  of  Beaver  County, 
and  during  the  intervening  period  he  has  continued  as 
one  of  the  prominent  and  influential  figures  in  the  edu- 
cational affairs  of  this  western  section  of  the  state,  his 
broad  pedagogic  experience  and  his  marked  executive 
ability  having  met  with  consistent  recognition  when,  in 
the  autumn  of  1914,  he  was  elected  county  superintendent 
of  schools,  a position  in  which  his  administration  is 
fully  justifying  the  popular  choice  for  the  incumbent  of 
this  important  office  and  is  proving  potent  in  advancing 
the  standard  of  general  school  work  in  Beaver  County. 
Mr.  Ayers  has  been  identified  with  educational  work 
for  virtually  twenty  years  and  has  honored  his  chosen 
profession  by  his  character,  his  scholarly  attainments  and 
his  worthy  achievement.  As  one  of  the  representative 
citizens  and  valued  officials  of  Beaver  County  he  is 
specially  entitled  to  specific  recognition  in  this  history 
of  the  state  of  his  adoption. 

In  Wayne  County,  Illinois,  Mr.  Ayers  was  born  on  the 
9th  of  April,  1874,  and  the  place  of  his  nativity  was  far 
from  being  one  of  sumptuous  order,  though  it  was  a true 
home  in  which  comfort  and  refinement  were  in  evidence, — 
a log  house  of  the  pioneer  type  being  at  the  time  the 
parental  domicile  on  one  of  the  excellent  farms  of  the 
county  mentioned  and  the  place  being  owned  and  opera- 
ted by  the  father  of  the  future  Oklahoma  pedagogue. 
Superintendent  Ayers  is  a son  of  Robert  S.  and  Sa- 
mantha (Newman)  Ayers,  the  former  of  whom  was 
born  in  Gibson  County,  Indiana,  in  1831,  and  the  latter 
of  whom  was  born  in  Kentucky,  in  1841.  Robert  S. 
Ayers  is  a son  of  Christopher  Ayers,  who  likewise  was 
born  in  Indiana,  where  his  parents  settled  in  the  earlier 
pioneer  era  in  the  history  of  that  state.  The  entire 
active  career  of  Robert  S.  Ayers  has  been  marked  by 
close  association  with  the  basic  industries  of  agriculture 
and  stQck  raising,  in  connection  with  which  he  continued 
his  operations  in  Indiana  until  1870,  when  he  removed 
with  his  family  to  Wayne  County,  Illinois,  where  he 
developed  and  improved  a valuable  farm  and  where  he 
is  now  living  retired,  in  the  city  of  Fairfield,  the  county 
seat,  his  eighty-fourth  birthday  anniversary  having  been 
celebrated  in  1915.  He  was  a personal  friend  of  Abra- 
ham Lincoln,  whom  he  accompanied  on  the  latter’s  can- 
vass during  the  historic  Lincoln  and  Douglas  campaign, 
in  1860.  In  1855  was  solemnized  his  marriage  to  Miss 
Samantha  Newman,  a daughter  of  Turner  Newman, 
who  was  a native  of  Kentucky.  Her  grandfather,  John 
Henry  Newman,  was  a native  of  England  and  came  to 
the  United  States  in  1824  and  settled  on  Duck  River, 
Kentucky,  where  he  purchased  2,000  acres  of  valley 
land,  the  original  deed  to  this  property  being  now  in  the 
possession  of  his  great-grandson,  Granville  T.  Ayers, 
subject  of  this  review.  Mrs.  Samantha  Ayers  passed  the 
closing  period  of  her  gentle  and  gracious  life  at  Fair- 
field,  Illinois,  where  she  died  in  the  year  1901.  Of  the 
five  children  the  only  son  is  he  to  whom  this  sketch  is 
dedicated  and  who  was  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth. 
Estella,  who  was  born  in  1856,  is  the  wife  of  John 
McLain,  and  they  have  five  children,- — Homer,  Lena,  Or- 
rin,  Paul  and  Kathryn.  Wilmoth,  who  was  born  in  1858, 
is  the  wife  of  Solon  Hill  and  has  three  children,— Ayers, 
Earl  and  Katerine.  Jesse  May,  born  in  1860,  is  the 
wife  of  James  Monroe  and  they  have  four  children, 
Orilla,  who  was  born  in  1862,  is  the  wife  of  Robert 
Lewis,  of  Louisville,  Clay  County,  Illinois,  and  they  have 
one  child. 

After  duly  availing  himself  of  the  advantages  of  the 
public  schools  of  Wayne  County,  Illinois,  Granville  T. 
Ayers  completed  an  effective  course  of  higher  study  in 
Hayward  College,  at  Fairfield,  that  county,  and  at  the 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


1995 


age  of  twenty-two  years  he  initiated  his  pedagogic  career 
as  a teacher  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  state, 
where  he  continued  his  labors  as  an  educator  for  a,  period 
of  twelve  years,  during  two  of  which  he  was  an  instruc- 
tor in  the  Illinois  State  Reform  School,  at  Pontiac. 

In  1908  Mr.  Ayers  came  to  Oklahoma  and  engaged 
in  teaching  in  the  schools  of  Beaver  County,  his  services 
in  this  capacity  having  continued  until  he  was  elected 
to  his  present  office,  that  of  county  superintendent  of 
schools,  in  the  autumn  of  1914,  since  which  time  he  has 
worked  with  characteristic  zeal  and  efficiency  in  the 
broader  field  of  educational  activity.  He  is  a stalwart 
supporter  of  the  cause  of  the  republican  party,  iff 
affiliated  with  the  Masonic  fraternity,  and  both  he  and 
his  wife  hold  membership  in  the  Christian  ‘Church. 

On  the  22d  of  October,  1914,  was  solemnized  the  mar- 
riage of  Mr.  Ayers  to  Miss  Mary  White,  who  had  been 
a popular  teacher  in  the  schools  of  Clay  County,  Illi- 
nois for  eight  years  prior  to  her  marriage.  Mrs.  Ayers 
was  born  in  Posey  County,  Indiana,  on  the  20th  of  Sep- 
tember, 1885,  and  in  the  same  county  were  born  her 
parents,  Joseph  and  Mary  (Montgomery)  White.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Ayers  represent  a distinct  intellectual  and  moral 
force  in  their  home  community  and  also  are  zealous  in 
the  furtherance  of  high  civic  ideals  and  all  things  that 
make  for  the  educational,  moral  and  material  welfare 
of  their  home  city  and  county,  where  their  circle  of 
friends  is  coincident  with  that  of  their  acquaintances, 
Mrs.  Ayers  being  a leader  in  church  and  social  activities 
at  Beaver. 

C.  Guy  Cutlip.  While  Mr.  Cutlip  has  for  a number 
of  years  been  successfully  practicing  law  in  Seminole 
County,  with  office  and  home  at  Wewoka,  he  is  a pioneer 
white  resident  of  old  Oklahoma,  and  witnessed  or  parti- 
cipated in  three  different  land  openings.  He  was  with 
his  father  at  the  beginning  of  settlement  in  the  original 
Oklahoma,  was  at  the  opening  of  the  Kickapoo,  Sac  and 
Pox  reservations,  the  Cheyenne  and  Arapahoe  Reserva- 
tion, and  the  Cherokee  Strip  in  1893.  He  has  interested 
himself  in  many  of  the  important  activities  of  Oklahoma 
during  the  last  fifteen  years,  and  though  still  young 
occupies  a position  of  prominence  in  his  section  of  the 
state. 

He  was  born  near  Medicine  Lodge,  Kansas,  April  6, 
1881,  a son  of  T.  G.  and  Susan  (Mills)  Cutlip.  His 
father  was  born  near  Parkersburg,  West  Virginia,  and 
his  mother  in  Tennessee.  She  was  a daughter  of  Capt. 
William  N.  Mills,  who  was  in  the  Confederate  army 
under  General  Forrest,  and  after  the  war  moved  to  Mis- 
souri and  still  later  to  Kansas.  T.  G.  Cutlip  went  to 
Kansas  in  1871  as  a pioneer,  was  married  near  Medicine 
Lodge,  and  for  some  years  was  actively  engaged  in  the 
cattle  business  in  Western  Kansas,  until  the  destructive 
year  1886  brought  about  the  loss  of  all  his  stock.  He 
was  a college  graduate  in  law,  and  since  then  he  has 
been  in  active  practice  in  Oklahoma.  From  Medicine 
Lodge  he  moved  to  Kingfisher,  Oklahoma,  in  1889,  the 
year  of  the  original  opening  of  Oklahoma,  and  in  1895 
located  at  Tecumseh,  where  his  wife  died  in  1902  at  the 
age  of  forty-three.  T.  G.  Cutlip  is  still  living  in  Teeum- 
seh  and  in  the  active  practice  of  law.  There  were  three 
children:  C.  Guy;  William,  who  is  secretary  of  the 

street  railway  at  Muskogee  and  also  at  Shawnee;  and 
Roy,  of  Medicine  Lodge,  Kansas. 

C.  Guy*  Cutlip  lived  at  home  with  his  parents  until 
1901.  He  had  a common  school  education,  later  studied 
law  privately,  and  he  and  his  wife  also  took  several 
courses  in  the  University  of  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Cutlip  has 
been  a resident  of  Wewoka  since  1901. 

As  a young  man  he  learned  stenography  and  served 


as  court  stenographer  at  Tecumseh  for  three  years,  serv- 
ing under  Judge  J.  D.  F.  Jennings,  and  then  for  a 
number  of  years  was  with  the  firm  of  Cutlip  & Blakeney. 
He  was  admitted  to  the  bar  at  Tecumseh  and  was  later 
given  a license  by  the  Supreme  Court  to  practice  in  all 
the  courts  of  the  territory  and  later  of  the  state.  He 
was  formally  admitted  to  the  Oklahoma  bar  January  21, 
1908,  soon  after  statehood. 

For  several  years  after  moving  to  Wewoka  Mr.  Cutlip 
was  cashier  of  the  Exchange  Bank  and  was  also  in  the 
abstract  business.  After  statehood  he  was  appointed 
deputy  county  attorney,  a post  he  held  until  1910,  and 
since  that  year  he  has  been  handling  a large  private 
clientage  as  a lawyer.  He  also  has  some  gas  and  oil 
interests,  and  was  one  of  the  original  stockholders  and 
helped  secure  the  leaseholds  of  the  Black  Panther  Oil 
& Gas  Company.  At  the  present  time  he  owns  farming 
lands,  handles  stock  and  controls  the  operation  of  nearly 
1,000  acres.  In  politics  he  is  a democrat  and  in  Masonry 
was  for  three  years  deputy  grand  master. 

On  March  22,  1903,  Mr.  Cutlip  married  Amo  Butts  at 
Tecumseh,  Oklahoma,  a daughter  of  Judge  A.  W.  Butts. 
They  have  one  child,  Maxine,  who  is  now  ten  years  of 
age.  Mr.  Cutlip  is  the  possessor  of  one  of  the  most 
extensive  literary  libraries  in  the  state. 

Robert  B.  Bretz.  In  the  year  1891,  which  marked 
the  opening  of  the  newly  organized  Territory  of  Okla- 
homa to  settlement,  by  presidential  proclamation,  Robert 
B.  Bretz,  the  present  county  treasurer  of  the  important 
county  designated  by  the  name  of  Canadian,  became 
one  of  its  pioneer  settlers,  and  he  has  been  closely  and 
worthily  identified  with  the  development  and  upbuilding 
of  this  section  of  the  state,  where  he  owns  and  has 
effected  the  excellent  improvement  of  the  fine  tract  of 
land  which  he  obtained  by  “making  the  run”  when  the 
former  district  of  the  Cheyenne  Nation  was  opened  for 
colonization.  He  has  been  one  of  the  alert,  progressive 
and  public-spirited  citizens  of  Canadian  County,  has 
given  his  co-operation  in  the  furtherance  of  measures 
and  enterprises  that  have  conserved  civic  and  industrial 
advancement,  and  that  he  has  gained  impregnable  place 
in  popular  esteem  is  shown  by  his  having  been  ealled 
to  seive  in  the  important  fiscal  office  of  which  he  is 
the  present  incumbent  and  the  duties  of  which  he 
assumed  in  July,  1915. 

Of  stanch  German  and  Irish  lineage,  Mr.  Bretz  is  a 
scion  of  a family  that  was  founded  in  Pennsylvania  in 
the  colonial  era  of  our  national  history,  though  he  himself 
is  a native  of  the  Province  of  Ontario,  Canada,  his  birtli 
having  occurred  in  County  Oxford  on  April  8,  1861. 
He  is  a son  of  Gerhardt  and  Elizabeth  (Jacobs) 
Bretz,  the  former  a native  of  the  Province  of  Ontario, 
Canada,  and  the  latter  of  whom  was  born  in  the  State 
Of  New  York,  of  Irish  lineage.  Of  the  five  children  of 
this  union  Annie  and  Eliza  are  deceased,  and  the  three 
surviving  are  Robert  B.,  Elizabeth  and  William,  all  of 
whom  reside  in  the  State  of  Oklahoma.  The  mother 
passed  the  closing  years  of  her  life  in  the  Province  of 
Ontario  and  years  later  the  father  came  to  Oklahoma, 
where  he  resided  in  the  home  of  his  son,  William,  until  he, 
too,  was  called  to  eternal  rest  at  a venerable  age. 
Gerhardt  Bretz  was  a son  of  Jacob  Bretz,  who  likewise 
was  born  in  the  Province  of  Ontario  and  whose  father, 
Jacob  Bretz,  Sr.,  a native  of  Lancaster  County,  Pennsyl- 
vania, was  a member  of  a Mennonite  colony  that  immi- 
grated from  the  old  Keystone  State  and  settled  in  the 
Province  of  Ontario,  Canada,  in  the  pioneer  days.  The 
original  progenitor  of  the  Bretz  family  in  America  im- 
migrated from  Germany  and  settled  in  Pennsylvania 
prior  to  the  war  of  the  Revolution,  and  the  German 


1996 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


language  was  retained  by  the  family  until  the  fifth 
generation  in  America  preceding  that  of  which  the  sub- 
ject of  this  review  is  a representative.  Gerhardt  Bretz 
was  a carriage  and  wagon  maker  by  trade  and  followed 
this  vocation  in  the  Province  of  Ontario  for  many 
years. 

Robert  B.  Bretz  received  a good  common  school  educa- 
tion in  his  native  province,  where  also  he  completed  a 
course  and  was  graduated  in  the  Guelph  Business  College. 
At  the  age  of  twenty-one  years  he  assumed  the  position 
of  bookkeeper  in  a hardware  establishment  in  the  City 
of  Detroit,  Michigan,  but  eighteen  months  later  he  re- 
signed and  joined  a company  of  Canadian  colonists  who 
went  to  the  State  of  Louisiana  and  settled  on  the  old 
Stephanie  Plantation,  in  St.  Martin’s  Parish.  In  the 
purchase  and  operation  of  this  plantation  success  failed 
to  attend  the  colonists,  and  the  property  was  finally  sold 
to  Kansas  capitalists.  Soon  afterward,  in  1891,  Mr. 
Bretz  came  to  the  Territory  of  Oklahoma,  where  he  was 
employed  on  the  Mumford  Johnston  Ranch  until  the 
opening  of  the  Cheyenne  District  to  settlement,  when  he 
made  the  run  and  selected  a homestead  claim  in  what  is 
now  Canadian  County.  For  a period  of  five  years  there- 
after he  was  compelled  to  make  a vigorous  contest  to 
retain  his  homestead,  his  claim  to  which  was  made  a 
matter  of  prolonged  litigation,  but  he  was  eventually  able 
to  perfect  his  title  to  the  property,  which  he  still  owns 
and  which  he  has  developed  into  one  of  the  valuable 
farms  of  the  county,  though  he  maintains  his  residence 
in  the  City  of  El  Reno,  the  county  seat,  where  he  estab- 
lished his  home  prior  to  assuming  his  present  county 
office. 

Mr.  Bretz  has  been  active  and  influential  in  public 
affairs  in  Canadian  County  and  is  here  a prominent  and 
influential  figure  in  the  local  councils  and  activities  of 
the  democratic  party.  In  1910  he  was  elected  county 
clerk,  and  the  appreciative  estimate  placed  upon  his 
administration  of  the  affairs  of  this  office  was  indicated 
in  his  re-election  in  1912  for  a second  term  of  two  years. 
His  services  as  a public  official  were  not  permitted  to 
terminate  upon  his  retirement  from  this  post,  as  in  the 
election  of  1914  he  was  chosen  county  treasurer.  He 
met  formidable  opponents  in  this  election  but  the  voters 
of  the  county  manifested  their  confidence  and  high 
regard  by  according  to  him  a splendid  majority  at  the 
polls,  his  assumption  of  office  taking  place  in  August, 
1915,  and  the  fiscal  affairs  of  the  county  being  assured 
of  most  careful  and  effective  administration  during  his 
regime  in  this  important  office. 

In  the  State  of  Louisiana,  in  1910,  was  solemnized  the 
marriage  of  Mr.  Bretz  to  Miss  Edith  Sowers,  whose 
parents  were  early  settlers  in  Nebraska,  whence  they 
came  as  pioneers  to  Canadian  County,  Oklahoma.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Bretz  have  two  children — Daisy  and  William. 

Col.  John  W.  Jordan,  of  Cleveland,  Oklahoma,  is 
one  of  the  distinguished  representatives  of  the  old 
Cherokee  Nation.  He  has  lived  in  what  is  now  the 
State  of  Oklahoma  more  than  seventy  years.  In  the 
flush  of  young  manhood  he  allied  himself,  like  many  of 
his  people,  with  the  Confederate  cause  and  fought  gal- 
lantly and  bravely  through  the  war.  Since  the  close  of 
that  struggle  has  come  a period  of  half  a century  of 
fruitful  enterprise  and  as  cattle  man,  oil  producer,  town 
builder  and  land  owner,  he  is  widely  known  all  over  the 
state. 

Born  December  9,  1843,  his  birthplace  was  six  miles 
east  of  the  old  Cherokee  capital  Tahlequah.  His  parents 
were  Levi  and  Malinda  (Riley)  Jordan.  Levi  Jordan 
was  born  in  the  State  of  Maine  of  Scotch-Irish  ancestry. 
He  was  one  of  nine  boys  born  to  his  parents,  and  it  may 
be  that  he  thought  nine  were  too  many  for  one  household, 


since  as  a very  young  lad  he  ran  away  and  made  his  way 
west  to  Illinois.  He  was  still  a boy  when  he  enlisted  in 
the  regular  army,  becoming  a member  of  the  second 
regiment  of  United  States  Dragoons.  This  regiment  was 
assigned  to  duty  in  Western  Louisiana,  along  the  border 
between  what  was  then  the  United  States  and  the  country 
of  Mexico.  Soon  afterward  Texas  undertook  to  win  its 
independence  from  Mexican  dominion  and  the  company 
of  which  he  was  a member  broke  away  from  its  command, 
enlisted  in  the  service  of  the  Texas  Patriots,  and  took  a 
part  in  the  capture  of  Santa  Ana  and  the  winning  of 
independence  for  the  Lone  Star  Republic.  After  five 
years  in  the  army  Levi  Jordan  was  honorably  discharged 
with  his  regiment  at  Fort  Gibson,  Cherokee  Nation,  then 
one  of  the  ffontier  posts  in  what  is  now  Oklahoma.  He 
remained  in  the  Cherokee  Nation  after  his  discharge, 
took  up  work  as  a brick  mason,  and  married  there  one  of 
the  Cherokee  daughters.  After  two  years  she  died,  and 
Levi  Jordan  went  abroad  to  Europe.  After  the  close  of 
the  Civil  war  he  returned  to  his  native  land,  and  died 
some  place  in  the  West.  By  his  wife  Malinda  Riley  he 
left  one  child,  Col.  John  W.  Jordan,  who  was  reared  by 
his  maternal  grandmother  Riley.  The  Riley  family  came 
from  the  North  of  Ireland  in  colonial  days  and  they 
intermarried  with  the  Cherokees  before  the  removal  of 
the  tribe  west  of  the  Mississippi. 

Such  were  the  circumstances  of  his  birth  and  ancestry. 
John  W.  Jordan  grew  up  in  the  Cherokee  Nation,  at- 
tended the  Cherokee  schools  and  learned  both  the  English 
and  Cherokee  languages.  He  was  just  seventeen  years 
of  age  when  he  enlisted  in  1861  under  the  famous  Gen. 
Stan  Watie.  With  that  contingent  of  Indian  troops 
he  served  with  the  Confederacy  until  the  close  of  the 
war.  He  saw  much  fighting  from  first  to  last,  and 
did  not  escape  unscathed.  On  July  17,  1863,  at  the  battle 
of  Honey  Springs,  southwest  of  Muskogee  on  Elk  Creek, 
a minnie  ball  struck  young  Jordan  in  his  belt  and  passed 
through  his  body.  He  still  has  the  belt,  with  holes 
showing  front  and  back.  For  two  months  a kindly 
woman  cared  for  him,  and  he  is  firmly  convinced  that 
had  he  been  taken  to  a field  hospital  his  life  could  not 
have  been  saved.  When  he  had  been  nursed  back  to 
comparative  strength  the  young  soldier  returned  to  his 
regiment  and  was  with  it  until  the  close  of  the  war. 

Since  the  war  Colonel  Jordan  has  taken  a very  promi- 
nent part  in  the  United  Confederate  Veterans.  At  the 
time  of  statehood  he  was  serving  as  major-general  of 
the  Indian  Territory  Division  of  the  Confederate  Veterans 
organization,  and  he  took  his  division  to  Richmond  at 
the  unveiling  of  the  Jefferson  Davis  monument  during 
the  Confederate  reunion  in  that  city. 

After  the  war  Colonel  Jordan  went  to  Texas  and  be- 
came extensively  identified  with  the  cattle  business. 
Representing  a number  of  wealthy  Texans  in  the  handling 
of  their  immense  herds,  he  spent  nine  years  on  the  free 
range,  a life  he  loved  so  well.  In  1873,  returning  to  the 
Cherokee  Nation,  Colonel  Jordan  settled  on  a farm  and 
since  then  has  occupied  himself  independently  as  a cattle 
raiser.  At  the  same  time  his  service  has  been  valuable  to 
his  people.  He  served  as  a Cherokee  special  agent  in 
charge  of  the  ‘ ‘ outlet  ” or  “ strip  ’ ’ before  its  opening 
to  settlement  in  1893.  In  safeguarding  the  property 
rights  of  the  Cherokees  he  carried  a commission  under 
Federal  Judge  I.  C.  Parker  and  also  a United  States 
Commission  under  Robert  L.  Owen,  who  wa^  United 
States  agent  of  the  Five  Civilized  Tribes.  He  was  the  first 
settler  on  Cherokee  land  west  of  96  I.  M.  in  1883, 
ten  years  before  the  strip  or  outlet  was  opened  to 
settlement.  Many  legal  battles  were  fought  in  an  effort 
to  remove  Cherokee  settlers  from  the  land  prior  to  the 
formal  opening,  but  Judge  Parker’s  ruling  was  favorable 


(be^L 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1997 


to  those  who  entered  that  part  of  the  domain  before 
the  Cherokees  sold  the  strip  to  the  United  'States. 

Concerning  Colonel  Jordan’s  relations  with  what  is 
known  as  “the  triangle  country,”  now  part  of  Pawhee 
County,  Oklahoma,  a recent  writer  in  Sturm’s  Oklahoma 
Magazine  tells  the  story  and  some  quotations  should  be 
made:  “It  was  not  until  January,  1883,  that  any  per- 
manent settlement  was  made.  At  that  time  J.  W.  Jordan, 
a citizen  of  the  Cherokee  Nation,  built  the  first  perma- 
nent house  in  the  triangle.  He  was  the  first  Cherokee 
settler  and  his  daughter  Miss  Dixie  Jordan  was  the  first 
Cherokee  child  born  in  the  strip.  This  settlement  had  a 
greater  significance  than  the  mere  fact  that  in  the  triangle 
was  the  first  Cherokee  settlement,  for  it  also  served  as 
the  hinge  upon  which  hung  greater  events.  It  will  be 
remembered  that  when  David  Payne  organized  his 
‘boomers’  he  first  entered  the  Cherokee  strip  and  was 
several  times  removed.  Mr.  Jordan  at  the  time  held  a 
commission  as  special  agent  for  the  Cherokees,  was  deputy 
United  States  marshal,  and  a scout  under  the  war  depart- 
ment. ” The  Cherokee  Cattlemen’s  Association  occupied 
the  strip  by  lease,  and  when  their  case  was  brought  to 
trial  Judge  Parker  ruled  that  the  lands  were  given  to 
the  Indians  by  patent  in  fee  and  that  they  had  not 
abandoned  them  inasmuch  as  they  were  held  through 
their  agent,  the  cattlemen ; furthermore,  he  said  that  they 
were  not  abandoned,  because  J.  W.  Jordan,  a Cherokee 
citizen,  was  an  actual  resident  of  the  strip  or  outlet. 

The  same  article  recounts  many  of  Mr.  Jordan’s  early 
experiences  with  the  outlaws,  particularly  members  of 
the  Dalton  gang,  which  in  the  early  days  infested  the 
regions  of  Northern  Oklahoma. 

Up  to  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  strip  there  were 
few  settlers,  but  after  1893  settlers  came  in  rapidly  and 
a number  of  towns  quickly  developed.  Prior  to  the 
opening  Dave  Hendricks,  a Cherokee,  had  a log  cabin 
where  the  City  of  Cleveland  now  stands. 

Colonel  Jordan  was  one  of  a colony  of  seventy  families 
receiving  each  an  allotment  of  eighty  acres  by  the 
payment  of  a nominal  sum,  amounting  to  $112  apiece. 
Colonel  Jordan  also  bought  from  Dave  Hendricks  the 
latter’s  eighty  acres  for  $1,200,  and  with  Dr.  G.  W. 
Sutton  and  E.  L.  Dunlop  laid  out  the  original  townsite 
of  Cleveland.  They  formed  the  Cleveland  Townsite 
Company,  taking  in  sixteen  members  at  $100  each.  Thus 
Colonel  Jordan  was  prominent  in  the  founding  and  estab- 
lishment of  what  is  now  one  of  the  most  thriving  cities 
of  Northeastern  Oklahoma.  He  was  purchasing  agent 
for  the  Cherokee  Townsite  Company,  and  placed  sev- 
eral allotments  as  townsites  on  the  line  of  the  Eock 
Island  and  Santa  Pe  railroads.  Throughout  his  dealings 
with  the  Cherokees  Colonel  Jordan  has  managed  their 
business  not  only  with  a high  degree  of  skill  but  hon- 
orably and  fairly  safeguarding  the  interests  of  all  con- 
cerned. He  made  five  trips  to  Tampico,  Mexico,  securing 
ranch  land,  and  came  out  after  President  Madero  was 
assassinated. 

At  the  present  time  Colonel  Jordan  owns  a farm  near 
Cleveland,  and  that  farm  has  some  producing  oil  wells. 
The  first  well  struck  in  the  vicinity  was  on  the  land  of 
William  Lavery,  and  the  second  on  the  Jordan  place. 
At  one  time  his  farm  contained  five  producing  wells. 

Though  a lifelong  democrat,  Colonel  Jordan  has  never 
held  office  except  by  commission.  He  and  his  wife  are 
members  of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  and  he  is  a Knight 
of  Pythias.  In  September,  1866,  in  Texas  he  married 
Sarah  Thompson.  She  died  near  Muskogee,  survived  by 
three  sons,  Eobert  E.  Lee,  who  is  living  in  Vera,  Okla- 
homa; Thomas  Jackson  and  James  Lang,- both  deceased. 
In  July,  1882,  Colonel  Jordan  married  Tennessee  Jane 
Eiley,  a distant  relative.  Mrs.  Jordan  also  has  Cherokee 


blood  in  her  veins,  the  sixteenth  degree.  Into  their 
home  have  come  five  children : Dixie,  who  married 

Charles  Miller  of  Cleveland;  John  B.,  at  home;  Daisy 
Lee,  who  died  at  the  age  of  ten  years;  Eobert  Owen  and 
Winnie  Davis,  both  at  home,  the  daughter  being  named 
in  honor  of  the  daughter  of  Jefferson  Davis. 

Thomas  Franklin  Spurgeon,  M.  D.  A successful 
physician  and  surgeon  who  has  practiced  long  enough  in 
Western  Oklahoma  to  be  considered  a pioneer,  Dr.  Thomas 
F.  Spurgeon  was  one  of  the  first  members  of  his  profes- 
sion to  locate  in  the  new  town  of  Frederick  in  Tillman 
County  as  it  is  now,  where  he  is  recognized  not  only  as 
a capable  medical  man  but  a high  minded  and  useful 
citizen. 

The  Spurgeon  family  came  from  England  during  the 
seventeenth  century  and  settled  in  Massachusetts,  whence 
its  descendants  moved  out  in  various  directions,  and  are 
found  in  Tennessee,  Virginia,  and  many  other  states. 
Doctor  Spurgeon  had  ancestors  who  were  soldiers  on  the 
American  side  in  the  Eevolutionary  war.  Thomas 
Franklin  Spurgeon  was  born  in  Gasconade  County,  Mis- 
souri, May  5,  1873.  His  father,  W.  M.  Spurgeon,  was 
born  in  Tennessee  in  1842,  and  died  at  Coyle,  Logan 
County,  Oklahoma,  in  1906.  In  1852  at  the  age  of  ten 
he  was  taken  to  Iowa  and  in  the  following  year  to  Mis- 
souri, and  lived  in  that  state  as  a prospering  farmer  up 
to  1906,  when  he  moved  to  Coyle.  He  was  a democrat, 
was  a working  member  of  the  Baptist  Church  and  had 
seen  service  as  a member  of  the  Missouri  State  Militia. 
W.  M.  Spurgeon  married  Miss  C.  C.  Blevins,  who  was 
born  in  Missouri  and  is  now  living  at  Coyle,  Oklahoma. 
Their  children  are:  Allen,  a retired  farmer  at  Coyle; 
Cora,  who  lives  at  Frederick  and  is  the  widow  of  James 
Baxter,  a blacksmith;  Eliza,  wife  of  James  Nulty,  a 
farmer  at  Frederick;  Dr.  Thomas  F. ; and  G.  M.,  a 
farmer  at  Frederick. 

Doctor  Spurgeon  attended  the  public  schools  of  Gas-- 
conade  County,  Missouri,  and  a high  school  in  Crawford 
County  of  that  state.  Like  many  men  who  have  made  a 
success  in  other  callings,  his  first  vocation  was  that  of 
teacher,  and  he  taught  five  terms  in  Gasconade  County 
before  entering  the  Barnes  Medical  College  at  St.  Louis. 
Doctor  Spurgeon  acquired  his  doctor  of  medicine  degree 
at  Barnes  College  with  the  class  or  1897,  and  in  1908 
took  post-graduate  courses  in  the  St.  Louis  University. 
His  practice  began  in  Osage  County,  Missouri,  in  1897, 
but  after  fifteen  months  he  removed  to  Crawford  County 
in  the  same  state,  and  in  December,  1898,  identified  him- 
self with  Western  Oklahoma,  practicing  for  eighteen 
months  at  Cimarron  City.  He  was  at  the  opening  of  the 
new  Town  of  Coyle  in  1899,  and  remained  in  practice 
there  three  years.  In  February,  1902,  he  located  at 
Frederick,  and  has  since  built  up  a large  general  medical 
and  surgical  practice  in  that  town  and  surrounding 
community.  His  offices  are  in  the  Guarantee  Bank  Build- 
ing ;just  north  of  Grand  Avenue. 

Always  interested  in  local  progress,  Doctor  Spurgeon 
for  ten  years  has  served  as  a member  of  the  Tillman 
County  School  Board.  He  is  a democrat,  a member  of  the 
Baptist  Church,  and  affiliates  with  the  Modern  Woodmen 
of  America. 

In  1896  in  Dent  County,  Missouri,  Doctor  Spurgeon 
married  Miss  Fannie  Vaughan,  daughter  of  the  late  Wil- 
liam Vaughan,  who  was  a Baptist  minister.  Two  chil- 
dren have  been  born  to  their  marriage : Theron,  living  at 
home;  and  Thelma,  now  in  the  public  schools  at  Fred- 
erick. 

Levi  S.  Munsell,  M.  D.  The  exacting  and  all  im- 
portant profession  of  medicine  has  found  many  able, 


1998 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


loyal  and  zealous  representatives  in  the  various  counties 
and  communities  of  the  vigorous  young  State  of  Okla- 
homa, and  Beaver,  the  judicial  center  of  Beaver  County, 
is  signally  favored  in  having  gained  as  a citizen  a phy- 
sician and  surgeon  of  such  distinctive  technical  attain- 
ments and  such  broad  experience  as  are  defined  in  the 
character  and  achievement  of  Doctor  Munsell,  who  has 
here  built  up  a large  and  representative  practice  and 
who  holds  high  place  as  one  of  the  leading  members  of 
his  profession  in  Western  Oklahoma. 

In  ascribing  to  Doctor  Munsell  special  distinction  of 
nativity  the  object  is  best  attained  by  recalling  the 
humorous  paraphrase  of  a familiar  quotation  that  was 
indulged  in  one  of  the  famous  post-graduate  speeches 
of  Hon.  Chauncey  M.  Depew,  when  he  said : ‘ ‘ Some  men 
are  born  great,  some  achieve  greatness,  and  some  are  born 
in  Ohio.”  Under  the  last  clause  Doctor  Munsell  is  able 
to  make  classification,  for  he  was  born  at  Coldwater, 
Mercer  County,  Ohio,  on  the  21st  of  September,  1841. 
He  is  a son  of  William  A.  O.  and  Deborah  (Gray),  Mun- 
sell. 

William  A.  O.  Munsell  was  born  near  Fletcher,  Miami 
County,  Ohio,  in  the  year  1812,  and,  as  the  date  indi- 
cates was  a representative  of  one  of  the  very  early  pio- 
neer families  of  the  old  Buckeye  State,  where  his  father, 
Levi  Munsell,  initated  the  reclamation  of  a farm  from 
the  wilderness  prior  to  the  War  of  1812,  the  original 
American  progenitors  having  come  from  England  and 
settled  in  this  country  in  the  early  colonial  days.  Wil- 
liam A.  O.  Munsell  was  reared  to  manhood  in  Ohio,  and 
though  school  facilities  were  very  meager  in  the  lo- 
cality, and  period,  he  provided  advantages  for  himself, 
and  his  alert  and  receptive  mentality  enabled  him  to 
become  a man  of  large  intellectual  force  and  broad  mental 
ken.  He  became  a representative  farmer  in  his  section 
of  Ohio  and  also  labored  with  consecrated  devotion  and 
zeal  as  a minister  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church, 
in  which  he  was  what  was  commonly  designated  as  a 
‘ ‘ local  preacher.  ’ ’ During  the  climacteric  period  of  the 
Civil  war  he  served  as  a United  States  marshal  for  the 
Northwestern  district  of  Ohio.  In  1888  he  removed  to 
Missouri,  and  he  died  at  Cameron,  that  state,  in  1902, 
at  the  patriarchal  age  of  ninety  years.  Early  in  his 
career  he  had  been  prominently  identified  with  the 
promotion  of  railroad  building  in  Ohio,  and  he  was  a 
man  of  marked  business  ability  as  well  as  one  of  exalted 
personal  character. 

In  the  year  1825  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of 
Rev.  William  A.  O.  Munsell  to  Miss  Deborah  Gray,  who 
was  born  in  1818,  a daughter  of  David  and  Sarah  Gray, 
and  who  was  summoned  to  the  life  eternal  in  1849.  Of 
this  union  were  born  two  sons  and  two  daughters,  of  whom 
Elmore  Y.  and  Mary  Elizabeth  are  deceased,  Doctor 
Munsell,  of  this  review,  having  been  the  third  in  order 
of  birth,  and  the  eldest  of  the  children  being  Sarah  L., 
who  is  the  wife  of  Stephen  Frank,  a representative 
farmer  near  Cameron,  Missouri. 

The  common  schools  of  Ohio  afforded  to  Dr.  Levi  S. 
Munsell  his  early  educational  advantages,  and  at  the 
age  of  twenty-three  years  he  was  matriculated  in  the 
Ohio  Wesleyan  University,  at  Delaware,  in  which  he  com- 
pleted his  higher  academic  studies.  In  preparation  for 
the  profession  of  his  choice  he  entered  the  medical  depart- 
ment of  the  University  of  Ohio,  at  Columbus,  and  in 
this  institution  he  was  graduated  as  a member  of  the 
class  of  1870,  and  with  the  well  earned  degree  of  Doctor 
of  Medicine.  Establishing  his  residence  at  Geneva, 
Adams  County,  Indiana,  he  there  continued  in  the  active 
practice  of  his  profession  nine  years,  and  during  the 
ensuing  nine  years  he  was  engaged  in  practice  at  Rock- 
port,  judicial  center  of  Atchison  County,  Missouri,  where 


he  was  associated  in  practice  with  his  brother,  the  late 
Dr.  Elmore  Y.  Munsell.  In  1886  he  removed  to  Wichita, 
Kansas,  where  he  built  up  a substantial  practice  and  jl 
where  he  remained  until  the  latter  part  of  the  year 
1889,  when  he  came  to  Indian  Territory,  and  became  f 
one  of  the  pioneer  physicians  in  the  Old  Chickasaw 
Nation.  When,  in  1891,  the  present  Town  of  Chickasha  j 
was  founded,  he  became  one  of  its  first  settlers,  and  there 
he  maintained  his  professional  headquarters  two  years. 

In  1897  he  located  at  the  old  Town  of  Hardesty,  Beaver  j 
County,  where  he  remained  until  1900,  when  he  estab- 
lished his  home  at  Beaver,  the  county  seat,  where  he 
has  since  continued  in  active  practice  and  where,  in 
point  of  years,  he  holds  prestige  as  the  dean  of  his 
profession  in  this  county.  • He  has  been  an  active  prac- 
titioner for  forty  years,  has  kept  in  touch  with  the 
advances  made  in  medical  and  surgical  science,  has 
honored  his  profession  by  his  character  and  efficient 
services  and  is  worthy  of  special  consideration  in  this 
history  as  being  one  of  the  pioneer  physicians  and  • 
surgeons  of  Oklahoma.  The  Doctor  has  served  as  coroner 
and  also  as  health  officer  jo£  Beaver  County  and  has  in 
all  things  closely  identified  himself  with  community  inter- 
ests, as  a broad-minded  and  progressive  citizen.  His 
political  allegiance  is  given  to  the  republican  party, 
he  has  attained  to  the  thirty-second  degree  in  the 
Ancient  Accepted  Scottish  Rite  of  the  Masonic  fra- 
ternity, as  an  affiliate  of  the  consistory  in  the  City 
of  Guthrie,  and  is  identified  also  with  the  Knights  of 
Pythias  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  He 
holds  membership  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church, 
of  which  his  wife  was  a lifelong  and  devoted  adherent. 

He  is  a member  of  the  Oklahoma  State  Medical  Society  ' 
and  the  American  Medical  Association. 

At  Coldwater,  his  native  town  in  Ohio,  the  1st  of 
March,  1866,  recorded  the  marriage  of  Doctor  Munsell  to 
Miss  Elizabeth  J.  Young,  daughter  of  Philip  and  Mary 
(Plummer)  Young,  who  passed  their  entire  lives  in  Ohio. 

Mrs.  Munsell  was  born  July  7,  1841,  and  the  supreme 
loss  and  bereavement  in  the  life  of  Doctor  Munsell  came 
when  his  cherished  and  devoted  wife  was  summoned  to 
eternal  rest,  at  Fred,  Oklahoma  Territory,  on  the  2d  of 
July,  1891,  just  five  days  prior  to  her  fiftieth  birthday 
anniversary.  Of  their  seven  children  Paul  and  Fusia 
died  young;  Dayton  is  engaged  in  the  banking  business 
at  El  Reno,  this  state;  Pearl  E.  is  the  wife  of  Thomas 
B.  Carey,  of  Dallas,  Texas;  William  O.  is  a resident  of 
the  City  of  Portland,  Oregon;  R.  Netta  is  the  wife  of 
E.  V.  Roe,  who  maintains  his  residence  at  Caldwell, 
Kansas,  and  is  in  the  railway  postal  service  of  the  United 
States;  and  Grace  A.  is  the  wife  of  Robert  Osborne, 
their  home  being  now  in  the  City  of  Detroit,  Michigan. 

W.  M.  Adelhelm:.  A prosperous  farmer  citizen  of  the 
Holdenville  community,  W.  M.  Adelhelm  has  lived  there 
for  the  past  fifteen  years,  and  has  busied  himself  with 
the  care  and  cultivation  of  his  Indian  wife’s  allotment, 
comprising  one  of  the  fine  farms  of  Hughes  County. 

His  parents,  Christian  and  Maggie  (Reece)  Adelhelm, 
were  of  German  ancestry  and  were  born  in  France.  They 
first  met  and  became  acquainted  while  crossing  the  ocean 
to  America  and  were  married  in  Pennsylvania,  where 
Christian  Adelhelm  for  a time  worked  in  the  mines. 

He  afterwards  became  an  early  settler  at  Burlington, 
Iowa,  where  his  son,  W.  M.  Adelhelm,  was  born  July 
15,  1863.  The  father  died  when  this  son  was  a small 
boy  and  the  mother  died  later  at  Murray,  Iowa.  Their 
four  children  were : Rika,  wife  of  Anton  Schall  of 

Murray,  Iowa ; W.  M. ; Tina,  wife  of  Thomas  Gore  of 
Murray,  Iowa;  and  Lizzie,  who  is  married  and  lives 
in  Oklahoma  City. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1999 


By  the  early  death  of  his  father  W.  M.  Adelhelm  was 
thrown  upon  his  own  resources  and  had  only  limited 
advantages  in  the  way  of  an  education.  When  most  of 
his  age  were  at  home  and  in  school  he  was  accepting 
every  legitimate  means  of  earning  his  own  livelihood, 
and  constant  industry  has  been  the  keynote  of  his 
success. 

Coming  to  the  Creek  Nation  in  1901,  Mr.  Adelhelm 
has  lived  on  his  present  place  near  Holdenville  since 
his  marriage.  The  farm  comprises  his  wife’s  allotment 
of  160  acres,  and  in  the  last  fifteen  years  it  has  been 
improved  in  many  ways  and  rendered  highly  valuable 
as  a stock  farm.  Mr.  Adelhelm  raises  some  registered 
and  high  grade  horses  and  a number  of  cattle.  The 
farm  is  3%  miles  north  of  Holdenville. 

On  February  22,  Washington’s  birthday,  1902,  Mr. 
Adelhelm  married  Jennie  Tuttle.  She  was  born  on  the 
farm  where  she  now  resides,  a daughter  of  Chester  and 
Betsy  Tuttle.  Her  father  was  a white  man,  while  her 
mother  was  a fullblood  Creek.  Both  died  in  what  is  now 
Hughes  County.  Mrs.  Adelhelm  by  her  first  marriage 
to  John  McCaslin  had  four  children,  namely : Mrs.  Mary 

Harris  of  Henryetta;  Mrs.  Nettie  Palmer  of  Yeager, 
Hughes  County;  Mrs.  Myrtle  Long  of  Seminole;  and 
Mrs.  Jessie  McBride  of  Henryetta.  To  the  union  of  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Adelhelm  have  been  born  four  children,  named 
Chester,  Charles,  Tina  and  Louis.  The  two  older  were 
born  in  time  to  receive  allotments  of  Indian  lands,  but 
the  two  younger  were  not  sharers  in  that  distribution. 
Mrs.  Adelhelm  is  a member  of  the  Free  Will  Baptist 
Church  and  she  was  educated  in  the  Tallahassee  Mission. 

Frederick  Ehler.  One  of  the  leading  business  men 
of  Kingfisher  County,  Frederick  Ehler  has  the  distinc- 
tion of  being  the  only  merchant  now  in  business  at 
Hennessey  who  was  here  when  the  town  was  founded  in 
1889.  While  mercantile  pursuits  have  claimed  the  major 
part  of  his  attention,  he  has  been  interested  also  in 
other  business,  agricultural  and  financial  enterprises, 
and  in  • each  direction  has  won  well-earned  success,  in 
addition  to  conducting  himself  at  all  times  as  a practical, 
progressive,  sound-minded  and  public-spirited  citizen. 

Mr.  Ehler  was  born  December  23,  1861,  at  West  Alex- 
andria, Ohio,  and  is  a son  of  Harmon  and  Catherine 
(Schreel)  Ehler.  His  father  was  born  in  Germany,  in 
1833,  and  was  twenty-one  years  of  age  when  he  accom- 
panied his  mother  to  the  United  States,  settling  at  West 
Alexandria,  Ohio,  whpre  he  continued  to  follow  his  trade 
of  merchant  tailor  until  his  death,  in  November,  1900. 
He  was  married  in  1858  to  Catherine  Schreel,  a native 
of  Ohio,  born  December  7,  1840,  and  they  became  the 
parents  of  four  sons  and  two  daughters,  namely:  Fred- 
erick, of  this  notice;  George,  born  in  1863,  who  died  in 
1914;  Mary,  born  in  1865,  and  now  the  wife  of  George 
Emerick,  of  Dayton,  Ohio;  Sallie,  born  in  1867,  and  now 
the  wife  of  Lewis  Herget,  of  Hennessey,  Oklahoma; 
Joseph,  born  December  7,  1878;  and  Harry,  born  July  21, 
1883. 

Frederick  Ehler  received  his  education  in  the  public 
schools  of  West  Alexandria,  Ohio,  where  he  was  gradu- 
ated from  the  high  school  with  the  class  of  1880,  follow- 
ing which  he  enrolled  as  a student  at  the  Ohio  State 
University,  Columbus,  being  graduated  from  that  insti- 
tution in  1884,  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts. 
During  the  same  year  he  went  to  Anderson,  Indiana, 
where  he  became  manager  of  a drug  store,  continuing  in 
that  capacity  for  six  years  and  gaining  much  useful 
experience.  However,  Mr.  Ehler  felt  that  he  was  not 
advancing  fast  enough,  and,  believing  that  better  oppor- 
tunities awaited  him  in  the  West,  he  went  to  Kingman, 
Kansas,  and  secured  employment  as  teller  in  the  Kingman 
National  Bank.  This  position  Mr.  Ehler  held  until  1889, 
Vol.  V— 16 


in  which  year  he  became  a resident  of  Hennessey,  here 
opening  the  first  general  store  of  the  town.  This  was 
started  in  a modest  and  unassuming  manner,  but  grew 
in  strength  and  size  with  the  growth  and  development 
of  the  city,  and  is  now  the  most  important  department 
store  in  Kingfisher  County,  occupying  a store  100  feet 
deep  and  with  100  feet  front.  This  establishment, 
growing  Out  of  the  needs  of  the  community,  has  reached 
the  proportions  of  a necessary  commercial  adjunct.  Its 
success  is  due  to  the  efforts  and  integrity  of  its  proprie- 
tor, who  has  studied  the  wants  of  his  patrons  and 
supplied  them  with  the  best  goods  obtainable  and  at 
reasonable  prices.  He  is  also  president  of  the  Hennessey 
State  Bank,  one  of  the  strong  financial  institutions  of 
the  county,  is  president  of  the  Hennessey  Electric  Light 
Company,  and  has  large  farm  holdings  in  Kingfisher 
County.  In  every  possible  way  he  has  contributed  to 
the  upbuilding  of  the  town  and  to  the  advancement  of 
the  general  welfare.  He  has  served  as  mayor  of  Hen- 
nessey, an  office  in  which  he  secured  a number  of  local 
improvements.  Mr.  Ehler  is  one  of  the  best  known 
Masons  in  Oklahoma,  having  been  elected  to  the  K.  C.  C. 
H.  degree  in  1905,  and  receiving  the  thirty-third  honorary 
degree  at  Washington,  District  of  Columbia,  in  October, 
1907.  He  was  one  of  the  founders  of  the  Scottish  Bite 
Consistory  of  Oklahoma,  organized  at  Guthrie,  in  1900, 
and  is  a member  of  Indian  Temple,  Ancient  Accepted 
Order  of  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  of  Oklahoma  City. 

Mr.  Ehler  was  married  at  Hennessey,  July  26,  1907, 
to  Mrs.  Annette  B.  Haskett,  daughter  of  Joseph  Black- 
burn. She  was  born  in  1863,  at  Lawrenceville,  Illinois, 
and  after  the  death  of  her  first  husband,  James  Haskett, 
came  as  a widow  to  Oklahoma,  in  1900,  becoming  prin- 
cipal of  the  Hennessey  High  School,  a position  which 
she  held  for  four  years.  At  the  time  of  her  marriage  to 
Mr.  Ehler  she  was  acting  in  the  capacity  of  editor  of 
the  Press-Democrat.  Mrs.  Ehler  is  prominent  as  a lit- 
erary woman  of  marked  talent,  being  the  author  of  a 
book  of  poems  entitled  ‘ ‘ The  Fire  Fly,  ’ ’ and  of  a booklet 
relating  to  the  early  history  of  Hennessey  and  to  the 
massacre  of  Pat  Hennessey  by  Indians,  in  1872,  on  the 
site  where  the  town  now  stands  and  for  whom  it  is 
named.  Mrs.  Ehler  is  likewise  well  known  in  club  and 
fraternal  circles,  being  chairman  of  the  literary  com- 
mittee of  the  Oklahoma  Women’s  Federated  Clubs,  and 
grand  worthy  matron  for  Oklahoma  of  the  Order  of  the 
Eastern  Star,  in  which  organization  she  has  filled  all 
the  chairs. 

Ben  F.  Avant.  The  name  of  this  prominent  farmer 
and  cattle  man  of  Osage  County,  who  has  conducted  his 
operations  in  that  vicinity  of  Oklahoma  for  the  past 
twenty  years,  has  a permanent  memorial  in  the  little 
Town  of  Avant,  which  was  established  as  a station  along 
the  Midland  Valley  Railroad  some  years  ago,  and  was 
given  his  name.  The  townsite  comprises  a part  of  the 
allotment  of  Mrs.  Avant. 

Through  a period  of  more  than  thirty-five  years  Mr. 
Avant  has  been  closely  identified  with  the  great  cattle 
industry  of  the  Southwest,  both  in  Texas  and  in  Okla- 
homa. He  was  born  in  Gonzales,  Texas,  January  6,  1868, 
a son  of  Abner  and  Letha  (Elder)  Avant.  The  Avant 
family  is  descended  from  French  stock.  Both  parents 
were  born  in  Tennessee,  his  father  at  Nashville,  and  they 
spent  most  of  their  lives  in  Texas.  Abner  Avant  was  in 
the  Confederate  army  during  the  war,  and  the  spring 
before  he  enlisted  he  branded  500  head  of  calves,  but 
owing  to  the  unsettled  conditions  and  ravages  resulting 
from  the  war  this  stock  was  all  scattered  or  killed,  and 
after  his  return  from  the  army  he  had  to  begin  his 
ranching  operations  with  only  a nucleus  of  about  ten 
calves.  Abner  Avant  spent  all  his  career  as  a farmer 


2000 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


and  stock  raiser,  and  lived  in  the  vicinity  of  Gonzales 
until  his  death  in  1901  at  the  age  of  seventy-two.  His 
first  wife  and  the  mother  of  Ben  Avant  died  when  the 
latter  was  nine  years  of  age.  She  was  the  mother  of 
six  children:  Mamie,  the  wife  of  M.  E.  Lowry  of  Tisho- 
mingo, Oklahoma;  A.  M.,  who  lives  at  Marfa,  Texas; 
Ella,  wife  of  John  E.  Laird  of  Wrightsboro,  Texas ; R.  F., 
of  Dilley,  Texas;  Ben;  and  Eula,  wife  of  Charles  Lory  of 
Del  Rio,  Texas.  The  father  married  for  his  second  wife 
Mattie  Davis,  and  the  one  child  of  that  union  is  Wallace 
M.,  now  living  at  Jourdanton,  Texas. 

The  early  life  of  Ben  Avant  up  to  the  year  1890  was 
spent  in  the  vicinity  of  Gomzales,  Texas.  He  acquired 
his  education  from  local  schools  and  has  lived  close  to 
the  activities  of  ranch  and  range  all  his  life.  In  1890 
he  went  to  Atascosa  County,  in  the  country  south  of 
San  Antonio,  and  was  employed  as  a cowboy.  On  June  1, 
1892,  he  came  into  the  Osage  country  with  the  cattle 
firm  of  Gussett,  Brooks  & Company,  and  remained  in 
their  employ  until  the  fall  of  1893.  In  1894  he  took  the 
firm’s  herd  of  horses  into  Arkansas,  where  he  sold  them, 
and  went  back  to  Texas.  In  1895  Mr.  Avant  returned  to 
Osage  County  and  has  lived  in  this  locality  practically 
ever  since.  He  was  connected  with  the  Skinner  Cattle 
Company  for  a time,  but  in  1896  began  independent 
operations  as  a cattleman  and  farmer.  Like  most  men 
engaged  in  the  business,  met  adversities,  and  several 
times  has  ‘ ‘ gone  broke,  ’ ’ but  has  had  the  courage  and 
persistence  to  begin  over  again  and  for  a number  of 
years  has  been  prosperous  and  one  of  the  substantial 
business  men  of  Osage  County.  His  home  has  been  at 
Avant  since  1895  with  the  exception  of  two  years  when 
he  and  his  family  resided  in  Tulsa  in  order  that  the 
children  might  have  proper  educational  advantages.  Mr. 
Avant  has  200  acres  of  farming  land,  also  owns  1,800 
acres  of  grazing  land,  and  keeps  under  lease  about  1,200 
acres  more.  He  and  his  family  reside  in  a modern  home 
which  was  built  in  1911  just  outside  the  corporation 
limits  of  Avant. 

When  the  Midland  Valley  Railroad  was  built  through 
Osage  County  a posto£S.ce  was  established  and  given  the 
name  of  Avant,  and  as  already  stated,  the  townsite, 
where  is  now  located  a flourishing  village,  was  originally 
a part  of  Mrs.  Avant ’s  allotment. 

In  1895  Mr.  Avant  married  Rosa  Lee  Rogers.  She 
was  born  in  Osage  County  July  8,  1877,  a daughter  of 
Lewis  and  Ellen  (Ross)  Rogers.  Her  mother  is  now 
deceased  and  her  father  resides  at  Pawhuska.  Mrs. 
Avant ’s  mother  was  a member  of  the  Osage  tribe,  while 
her  father  was  of  Cherokee  birth  and  extraction,  but 
was  adopted  into  the  Osage  tribe.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Avant 
have  two  children:  Theodore,  born  March  22,  1898; 

and  Ethel,  born  February  16,  1901. 

Adam  Bert  Fair,  M.  D.  When  the  Kiowa  and  Co- 
manche country  was  opened  to  settlement  in  1901, 
among  the  thousands  of  new  comers,  including  profes- 
sional men  of  all  classes,  there  was  perhaps  no  better 
equipped  physician  who  selected  the  new  town  of  Lawton 
as  his  home  than  Dr.  Adam  B.  Fair,  who  a few  years 
later  removed  to  Frederick,  now  in  Tillman  County,  and 
has  since  developed  not  only  a large  professional  prac- 
tice as  a physician  and  surgeon,  but  has  also  made  him- 
self a factor  in  the  varied  social  life  and  enterprise  of 
that  community. 

While  Doctor  Fair  may  be  properly  regarded  as  a 
pioneer  of  Southwestern  Oklahoma,  earlier  generations  of 
the  same  family  earned  similar  distinctions  in  the  ter- 
ritory and  State  of  Iowa.  Doctor  Fair  was  born  at 
Agency,  Iowa,  November  22,  1870.  His  father,  E.  D. 
Fair,  was  born  in  Maryland  February  15,  1846,  and  has 
had  his  home  at  Agency  almost  continuously  since  he 


was  ten  years  of  age.  The  grandfather,  John  Fair, 
was  a native  of  Pennsylvania,  where  the  Fair  family  J 
settled  in  colonial  days  on  coming  from  Germany.  John  j 
Fair  was  born  about  1809,  and  after  living  in  Pennsyl- 
vania a number  of  years  took  his  family  out  to  the  new 
State  of  Iowa  in  1856,  and  was  one  of  the  pioneer  farmers  I 
in  that  locality,  where  he  died  at  the  age  of  eighty-  [ 
three.  E.  D.  Fair  has  been  a bridge  contractor,  a manu- 
facturer of  iron  bridges,  and  at  one  time  operated  a 5 
factory  at  Ottumwa,  not  far  from  Agency.  He  is  now 
living  retired  in  the  latter  city.  The  maiden  name  of 
his  wife  was  Sarah  E.  Giltner,  who  was  born  near  Agency 
in  1848.  Her  father,  William  Giltner,  a native  of 
Indiana,  moved  out  to  Iowa  Territory  about  1840,  and 
was  one  of  the  first  farmers  in  the  vicinity  of  Agency. 

He  was  a prominent  factor  in  that  section  of  Iowa,  known 
for  his  influential  part  in  civil  and  political  affairs,  and 
reared  a large  family,  his  descendants  being  now  scat- 
tered over  that  and  other  states.  Doctor  Fair  was  the 
oldest  of  the  six  children  born  to  E.  D.  and  Sarah  E. 
Fair.  His  sister  Loie  is  the  wife  of  C.  E.  Adams,  who  is 
a stockholder  and  employee  in  the  J.  W.  Edgerly  Whole- 
sale Drug  Company  at  Ottumwa,  Iowa,  where  they  reside;  J 
Amy  married  O.  E.  Slater,  who  lives  in  Fort  Dodge,  Iowa, 
where  he  is  an  assistant  railroad  superintendent;  Jessie 
married  Roy  W.  Johnston,  an  Ottumwa  manufacturer, 
and  the  son  of  A.  W.  Johnston,  who  invented  the  John- 
ston Ruffler  and  other  devices  that  have  had  an  extensive 
manufacture  and  sale;  Pearl  is  the  wife  of  Dr.  Benjamin 
Erb,  a dentist  at  Anamosa,  Iowa;  William  E.,  a resident 
of  Cheyenne,  Wyoming,  is  assistant  bank  examiner  in 
Wyoming. 

Adam  Bert  Fair  grew  up  at  Agency,  attended  the 
public  schools  there,  graduating  from  the  high  school  in 
1887,  and  soon  afterward  entered  the  University  of  Iowa. 

In  1893  he  was  graduated  Ph.  B.,  having  in  the  mean- 
time pursued  medical  studies  one  year,  and  in  1895  was 
graduated  M.  D.  from  the  medical  department  of  the 
university.  He  took  a prominent  part  in  the  student  life 
of  the  university,  was  a member  of  the  Irving  Institute, 
a literary  society,  belonged  to  the  University  Band,  was 
active  in  Young  Men’s  Christian  Association  work,  and 
also  interested  in  athletics.  In  the  past  twenty  years 
Doctor  Fair  has  never  abated  his  ambition  for  con- 
tinued acquisition  of  scientific  knowledge.  He  has  taken 
several  courses  at  the  Chicago  policlinic  and  one  post- 
graduate course  at  the  West  Side  Post-Graduate  School 
in  Chicago,  where  he  specialized  in  diseases  of  the  eye, 
ear,  nose  and  throat. 

His  practice  as  a physician  began  at  Danville,  Iowa, 
in  1895,  and  he  had  a profitable  business  when  he  left 
there  six  years  later.  At  the  opening  of  the  Southwest- 
ern Oklahoma  country  in  1901  he  came  to  Lawton,  but 
after  three  years  in  that  city  removed  in  1904  to  Fred- 
erick. The  occasion  of  his  location  in  that  town  was 
his  appointment  as  health  officer  for  what  was  then 
Southwest  Comanche  County,  which  was  then  being 
ravaged  by  an  epidemic  of  smallpox.  After  strenuous 
efforts  he  succeeded  in  getting  the  plague  well  under 
control,  and  equal  success  has  followed  his  efforts  in 
building  up  a large  general  medical  and  surgical  prac-  a 

tice.  He  is  a member  of  the  County  and  State  Medical  fc 

societies  and  the  American  Medical  Association,  and  in  i(I 

1912  was  honored  with  the  position  of  vice  president  of  | 

the  State  Medical  Society.  He  also  served  as  censor  of  (jt 

the  Fifth  District  Society,  comprising  the  counties  of  „„ 

Kiowa,  Tillman,  Comanche,  Stephens,  Jefferson,  Greer  ^ 

and  Jackson.  He  has  served  as  city  health  officer  at  |„ 

Frederick. 

Doctor  Fair  is  independent  in  polities,  and  in  his  home  ^ 
church,  the  Methodist,  has  served  as  trustee  and  steward  ^ 
since  the  society  built  it  and  was  president  of  the  build-  Ug 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2001 


, I ing  committee.  Doctor  Pair  is  a stockholder  in  the  Bank 
j 1 of  Commerce  at  Frederick  and  has  always  allied  himself 
with  movements  for  local  improvement.  He  was  formerly 
c | a member  of  the  Business  Men ’s  Association  at  Frederick. 
3 In  Masonry  he  is  a past  master  by  service  of  Frederick 
Lodge  No.  249,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and 
].  belongs  to  Frederick  Chapter  No.  41,  Royal  Arch  Masons, 
a and  Frederick  Commandery  No.  19,  Knight  Templars,  of 
, which  he  is  now  recorder.  Other  affiliations  are  with  the 
Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  the  Knights  and  Ladies  of 
v Security,  the  Royal  "Neighbors,  the  Modern  Brotherhood 
of  | of  America,  and  he  was  formerly  a member  of  the  Inde- 
pendent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 
v On  June  24,  1896,  at  Iowa  City,  Iowa,  Doctor  Fair 
ra  married  Miss  Clara  R.  Harvat,  a graduate  of  the  col- 
nd  legiate  department  of  the  State  University  of  Iowa.  She 
it.  died  October  22,  1911,  leaving  three  children:  Claude, 
he  Helen,  and  Robert,  all  of  whom  are  attending  school  at 
£ Frederick.  In  September,  1912,  Doctor  Fair  was  mar- 
jj  ried  at  Frederick  to  Miss  Alma  Boyd,  daughter  of  J. 
)e.  M.  Boyd,  now  a resident  of  Oklahoma  City.  Mrs.  Fair 
|e.  was  for  several  years  a 'clerk  in  the  Frederick  postoffiee, 
vj  and  is  talented  in  vocal  and  instrumental  music. 


Roscoe  Rizley.  Oklahoma  is  essentially  a young  and 
vigorous  commonwealth,  and  in  its  field  of  professional 
and  commercial  activities,  as  well  as  in  the  domain  of 
productive  industrial  enterprise,  there  are  found  enlisted 
a notably  large  number  of  progressive,  energetic,  able 
and  loyal  young  men  of  high  civic  ideals  and  sterling 
attributes  of  character.  Among  such  young  men  who 
are  doing  their  part  in  upbuilding  the  high  standard  of 
the  bar  of  the  state  Beaver  County  affords  its  due 
quota,  and  a prominent  and  popular  younger  member 
of  the  legal  profession  who  has  here  found  a desirable 
stage  for  his  activities  is  Roscoe  Rizley,  who  is  engaged 
tte  in  active  general  practice  at  Beaver,  the  county  seat. 

Further  interest  attaches  to  his  career  by  reason  of  the 
ate,  fact  that  he  is  a native  of  this  county  and  a scion  of 
one  of  the  sterling  pioneer  families  of  this  section  of  the 
itate. 

Mr.  Rizley  can  claim  as  the  place  of  his  nativity  no 
sumptuous  domicile,  for  he  was  ushered  into  the  world 
n the  little  sod  house,  or  dug-out,  on  the  new  homestead 
laim  of  his  father,  on  Clear  Creek,  Beaver  County,  where 
le  was  born  on  the  5th  of  July,  1892.  He  takes  just 
oride  in  reverting  to  the  fact  that  he  is  thus  a true 
epresentative  of  pioneer  conditions  in  the  state  to  which 
le  pays  high  appreciation  and  unfaltering  fealty,  and  the 
jassing  years  will  but  add  historic  interest  to  the  story 
ie  can  tell  relative  to  the  conditions  that  compassed  him 
it  the  time  of  his  birth. 

Mr.  Rizley  is  a son  of  Robert  M.  and  Belle  (McCown) 
itizley,  and  he  doubly  honors  his  parents  for  the  courage 
md  determination  which  they  manifested  in  enduring  the 
lardships  and  vicissitudes  incidental  to  establishing  a 
tome  in  a new  frontier  country.  His  father  was  born 
n Washington  County,  Arkansas,  on  the  16tli  of  Novem- 
>er,  1861,  at  which  time  that  state  was  the  stage  of 
tiuch  of  the  military  conflict  incidental  to  the  early  opera- 
ions  in  the  Civil  war,  his  parents  having  removed  from 
Tennessee  to  that  state  in  an  early  day.  Robert  M. 
tizley  was  reared  and  educated  in  Arkansas,  with  such 
dvantages  as  could  be  given  to  him  by  parents  in  very 
loderate  circumstances.  In  1885,  as  a young  man  of 
bout  twenty-four  years,  he  came  to  Indian  Territory, 
our  years  prior  to  the  opening  of  the  new  Territory  of 
Iklahoma  to  settlement,  and  he  made  the  neutral  strip 
:nown  as  No  Man’s  Land,  in  the'  western  part  of  the 
erritory,  his  destination.  On  land  twelve  miles  south  of 
he  present  thriving  town  of  Beaver  he  located  on  a tract 


of  land  and  turned  his  attention  to  farming  and  stock 
growing,  the  land  duly  coming  into  his  possession  and 
his  title  being  perfected  after  the  organization  of  Okla- 
homa Territory,  in  1890.  He  has  developed  one  of  the 
well  improved  and  valuable  farms  of  Beaver  County  and 
still  resides  on  his  homestead,  which  is  devoted  to  diversi- 
fied agriculture  and  to  the  raising  of  live  stock.  He  is 
a republican  in  politics  and  has  been  active  and  influen- 
tial in  public  affairs  in  Beaver  County,  as  shown  by  the 
fact  that  four  years  of  effective  service  were  given  by  him 
as  a member  of  the  board  of  county  commissioners.  His 
marriage  to  Miss  Belle  McCown  was  solemnized  in  the 
year  1882,  his  wife  having  been  born  in  Illinois,  in  1864, 
and  her  death  having  occurred  June  8,  1902,  in  a hospital 
in  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  where  she  had  been  taken  for 
treatment.  She  had  been  a devoted  wife  and  mother, 
was  a woman  of  abiding  Christian  faith  and  practice, 
and  she  had  the  warm  esteem  of  all  who  came  within  the 
sphere  of  her  influence.  Of  the  three  children  the 
subject  of  this  review  was  the  second  in  order  of  birth 
and  is  the  only  son;  Alta,  who  was  born  on  the  pioneer 
homestead  in  Beaver  County,  January  27,  1887,  is  the 
wife  of  Oscar  Gardner,  a farmer  of  Beaver  County,  to 
whom  she  was  united  in  wedlock  on  the  20th  of  January, 
1908,  their  two  children  being  Velma  and  Bernard;  the 
younger  daughter,  Verne  Elizabeth,  born  August  13, 
1896,  remains  with  her  father  on  the  old  homestead. 

After  having  availed  himself  fully  of  the  advaiitages 
of  the  public  schools  of  Beaver  County,  Roscoe  Rizley 
gained  through  his  own  well  directed  efforts  and  industry 
the  financial  reinforcement  which  made  possible  the 
attainment  of  his  ambition.  Through  his  own  resources 
he  defrayed  the  entire  expense  incidental  to  the  prosecu- 
tion of  a full  course  in  the  Kansas  City  School  of  Law, 
where  he  applied  himself  with  characteristic  diligence 
and  with  that  deeper  appreciation  that  ever  comes  when 
desired  objects  have  been  gained  through  personal  effort. 
In  this  institution  he  was  graduated  on  the  7th  of  June, 
1915,  and  after  receiving  his  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Laws 
he  immediately  returned  to  his  native  county,  where  he 
was  forthwith  admitted  to  the  Oklahoma  bar  and  has 
since  been  in  active  and  successful  general  practice  at 
Beaver.  He  has  already  won  his  spurs  and  proved  himself 
a careful  and  resourceful  trial  lawyer  and  well  fortified 
counselor,  so  that  his  continued  advancement  in  his  pro- 
fession is  fully  assured.  Mr.  Rizley  subordinates  all 
else  to  the  work  of  his  profession,  but  takes  a lively 
interest  in  community  affairs  of  a public  nature,  the 
while  he  is  found  arrayed  as  a staunch  and  effective  advo- 
cate of  the  principles  of  the  republican  party,  in  the 
faith  of  which  he  was  reared. 

Robert  H.  Richardson.  Almost  universal  is  a natural 
inclination  toward  some  one  line  of  effort,  and  in  the 
lives  of  many  individuals  this  becomes  so  compelling  an 
impulse  that  it  must  be  followed,  thereby  bringing  in- 
ward satisfaction  and  contented  existence.  Other  talents 
may  bring  success  in  a practical  way,  but  no  man  feels 
entirely  free  until  he  can  pursue  the  path  that  nature 
indicates.  Thus,  for  a time,  the  law,  civil  engineering 
and  honorable  public  service  absorbed  the  time  and 
attention  of  Robert  H.  Richardson,  the  present  able 
editor  of  the  Democrat  at  Erick,  Oklahoma,  but  jour- 
nalism was  his  secret  ambition  and  the  printing  office 
training  a coveted  stepping-stone.  He  has  shown  him- 
self a man  of  versatility  and  in  the  profession  that  now 
claims  him  he  has  displayed  conspicuous  ability. 

Robert  H.  Richardson  was  born  in  Jackson  County, 
Florida,  December  18,  1869,  and  is  a son  of  H.  H.  and 
Martha  A.  (Easterling)  Richardson.  The  maternal  an- 
cestry may  be  traced  to  Scotland,  but  the  Richardsons 


2002 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


came  to  America  from  England  and  for  many  generations 
have  left  an  impress  on  the  best  citizenship  of  many 
states  of  the  Union. 

H.  H.  Richardson  was  born  in  1826,  in  Georgia,  and 
died  in  1871,  at  Campbelltown,  Florida.  Following  his 
marriage  to  Martha  A.  Easterling,  who  was  born  at 
Social  Center,  Georgia,  in  1834,  he  moved  to  Jackson 
County,  Florida,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  and 
raising  stock  during  the  rest  of  his  life.  For  many  years 
he  was  identified  with  the  Masonic  fraternity.  Of  his 
children  but  three  reached  maturity,  James  N.,  Elizabeth 
B.  and  Robert  H.,  the  last  named  being  the  only  survivor. 
The  mother  of  the  above  family  died  in  1890,  at  Bir- 
mingham, Alabama. 

Robert  H.  Richardson  attended  the  public  schools  and 
in  1886  was  graduated  from  the  high  school  of  Marianna, 
Florida,  following  which  he  applied  himself  to  the  study 
of  law  for  eight  months  at  Montgomery,  Alabama,  in  the 
meanwhile  giving  attention  to  the  study  of  civil  engineer- 
ing and  making  practical  use  of  his  knowledge  along 
this  line  in  Alabama,  Texas  and  Iowa,  until  1890,  with- 
out determining  to  make  this  profession  a life  career. 
On  the  other  hand  circumstances  so  arranged  his  life 
that  in  that  year  he  was  able  to  enter  a printing  office  at 
Cerrillos,  New  Mexico,  and  after  becoming  proficient  in 
this  trade  he  followed  the  same  over  New  Mexico,  Texas, 
Colorado  and  California.  In  1898  he  went  into  business 
for  himself  at  Breckenridge,  California,  where  he  edited 
the  Breckenridge  Bulletin  for  one  year. 

In  1901  Mr.  Richardson  enlisted  in  the  United  States 
army  and  with  his  regiment  went  to'  the  Phillipine 
Islands,  serving  three  years,  being  attached  to  the 
adjutant-general’s  department.  During  this  time  his 
newspaper  talent  only  slept  and  shortly  after  his  return, 
in  1904,  he  became  connected  with  a newspaper  at  Jack- 
son,  California,  remaining  there  six  months,  and  after- 
ward, until  1907,  worked  on  other  papers  in  that  state, 
and  during  two  subsequent  years  worked  on  Texas  papers, 
in  1909  buying  the  Kemp  News,  which  journal  he  edited 
with  vigor  and  ability  for  three  years.  In  1912  Mr. 
Richardson  removed  to  Sweetwater,  Texas,  where  he  again 
invested,  purchasing  a one-third  interest  in  the  Sweet- 
water Reporter,  which  he  retained  for  five  months  and 
then  disposed  of  it  and  moved  to  Kaufman  and  for  one 
year  was  associated  there  with  the  Kaufman  Daily  and 
Weekly  Post. 

Mr.  Richardson  then  became  interested  elsewhere,  con- 
ducting a newspaper  at  Winona,  Texas,  for  six  months, 
and  for  the  same  length  of  time,  the  Times  at  Chandler, 
Texas.  In  1914  he  came  to  Oklahoma  and  was  connected 
with  the  Leader  at  Ryan  until  April  1,  1915,  when  he 
leased  the  Democrat  at  Erick  and  has  had  charge  of  all 
departments  of  the  paper  ever  since.  Democratic  in 
politics,  it  has  been  established  for  eleven  years,  during 
which  time  its  fortunes  have  fluctuated  as  have  those 
of  many  other  publications,  but  under  Mr.  Richardson’s 
control  and  editing  it  has  made  rapid  strides  forward 
in  public  popularity  and  circulates  all  over  Beckham 
County  and  also  has  a list  of  outside  subscribers.  Mr. 
Richardson  recognizes  the  fact  that  he  is  conducting  a 
modern  newspaper,  and  realizing  from  a wide  experience 
that  the  general  intelligence  of  the  present  day  demands 
much  of  a newspaper,  it  often  being  the  single  intel- 
lectual resource  at  hand,  leaves  no  stone  unturned  to 
satisfy  his  readers. 

In  Jauary,  1909,  Mr.  Richardson  was  married,  at 
Neches,  Texas,  to  Miss  Bertha  E.  Conerly,  who  is  a 
daughter  of  O.  F.  Conerly.  Mr.  Conerly  owns  a valuable 
farm  in  Anderson  County,  Texas,  but  makes  his  home 
with  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Richardson.  They  have  four  children  : 
Robert  H.,  who  was  born  January  26,  1910;  Elizabeth, 
who  was  born  May  20,  1911 ; Owen  Lester,  who  was  born 


September  11,  1913 ; and  Wilson  Ewing,  who  was  born 
in  March,  1915.  Mr.  Richardson  and  family  are  members 
of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  and  he  is  superin- 
tendent of  the  Sunday-school. 

Always  a democrat  in  his  political  views,  he  has  done 
yeoman  work  for  his  party  in  his  newspapers,  his  trench-  || 
ant  pen  loyally  assisting  his  party’s  candidates.  At  the  ]| 
same  time  his  editorial  ability  is  exercised  in  other  (I 
directions  than  political,  and  his  advocacy  of  civic  re- 
forms, his  calling  attention  to  worthy  charities  and  his 
appeals  for  educational  and  religious  progress  for  the 
city  have  met  with  general  approval.  Fraternally  Mr. 
Richardson  is  both  a Knight  of  Pythias  and  an  Odd  ij 
Fellow.  He  is  a member,  in  the  former  organization,  j 
of  Kemp  Lodge,  of  Kemp,  Texas,  of  which  he  has 
served  two  terms  as  chancellor  commander;  and  as  an  1 
Odd  Fellow  belongs  to  the  lodge  at  Erick  and  is  past  i 
noble  grand  of  the  lodges  at  Kaufman  and  Chandler,  <• 
Texas.  He  longs  also  to  the  Praetorians. 

Phineas  F.  Wright.  The  vital  spirit  that  has  ani- 
mated those  who  have  pushed  forward  the  march  of 
development  and  progress  in  America  from  the  early  1 
colonial  era  through  the  stages  that  have  marked  the  !■' 
advance  of  civilization  as  the  star  of  empire  has  led 
its  westward  course,  has  been  distinctly  shown  in  the 
character  and  achievement  of  Phineas  Finch  Wright,  , 
who  became  a settler  of  Oklahoma  Territory  in  the  yean  1 
that  the  first  section  of  the  former  Indian  Territory.! 
was  thrown  open  to  white  settlement  and  who  has  done  1 
well  his  part  in  connection  with  the  marvelous  civic5  I 
and  material  development  and  upbuilding  of  a great  and 
prosperous  commonwealth.  That  he  proved  well  1 1 

equipped  for  such  pioneer  activities  is  specially  interest-  J| 
ing  to  note  in  view  of  the  fact  that  he  was  reared  under  - 
pioneer  influences,  his  parents  having  established  their  | 
home  in  the  wilds  of  Wisconsin  when  that  state  was 
still  under  territorial  government.  Mr.  Wright,  who 
has  but  recently  compassed  the  psalmist’s  span  of  three 
score  years  and  ten,  is  senior  member  of  the  representa- 
tive firm  of  P.  F.  Wright  & Son,  engaged  in  the  hard- 
ware and  agricultural  implement  business  in  the  Village 
of  Wakita,  Grant  County,  and  his  valued  co-adjutor  in 
the  control  of  the  substantial  and  prosperous  enterprise  !i 
is  his  elder  son,  Fred  C.,  who  is  an  alert  and  progressive 
business  man. 

Mr.  Wright  was  born  at  Potosi,  Grant  County,  Wis- 
consin, on  the  1st  of  April,  1845,  and  not  until  three 
years  later  was  Wisconsin  admitted  as  one  of  the 1 
sovereign  states  of  the  Union.  He  is  a son  of  Phineas 
and  Amanda  (Finch)  Wright,  the  former  of  whom  was 
born  in  the  State  of  New  York  and  the  latter  in  the 
Province  of  Ontario,  Canada.  The  father  of  Mr.  Wrightit 
became  one  of  the  influential  pioneer  settlers  of  Grant  II 
County,  Wisconsin,  where  he  obtained  land  and  reclaimed 
the  same  to  cultivation,  besides  which  he  identified  him! 
self  also  with  other  important  lines  of  enterprise  that  I 
tended  to  foster  the  development  and  prosperity  of  I 
the  community.  He  owned  and  operated  a flour  mill  I 
and  was  also  concerned  to  a considerable  extent  with 
the  lumber  industry  of  Wisconsin  in  the  pioneer  days; 
both  he  and  his  wife  having  continued  their  residence^ 
in  the  Badger  State  until  their  death. 

Phineas  F.  Wright,  the  immediate  subject  of  this  re- 
view, attended  the  common  schools  of  his  native  county! ) 
until  he  had  attained  to  the  age  of  fourteen  years,  and 
he  early  began  to  assist  in  the  work  of  his  father’s  flour  ! 
mill.  The  great  lumber  industry  was  then  at  its  height'1 
in  Wisconsin  and  young  Wright  soon  became  identified.' 
with  work  in  the  timber  forests  and  the  operation  of 
sawmills,  with  which  line  of  enterprise  he  continued  his 
association  until  he  had  attained  to  the  age  of  twenty*' 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2003 


six  years.  Thereafter  he  was  for  a few  years  engaged 
in  the  general  merchandise  business  at  Whitehall,  Trem- 
pealeau County,  Wisconsin,  and  while  a resident  of  that 
place  he  became  active  and  influential  in  local  politics 
and  served  two  years  as  sheriff  of  the  county,  his 
allegiance  having  been  given  unreservedly  to  the  repub- 
lican party,  to  the  cause  of  which  he  has  given  his  stanch 
support  during  the  long  intervening  years. 

In  1881  Mr.  Wright  removed  with  his  family  to  Win- 
field, Cowley  County,  Kansas,  where  he  continued  to  be 
engaged  in  the  mercantile  business  until  1885,  when,  he 
became  one  of  the  founders  of  the  Town  of  Bluff  City, 
Harper  County,  that  state,  where  he  established  himself 
in  the  general  merchandise  business  and  where  he  re- 
mained thus  engaged  until  1889,  when  he  became  one 
of  those  progressive  and  ambitious  men  who  took  advan- 
tage of  the  opening  of  Oklahoma  Territory  to  settlement, 
the  formal  organization  of  the  territory  having  occurred 
in  the  following  year.  Mr.  Wright  was  one  of  those  who 
‘ 1 made  the  run  ’ ’ with  the  great  throng  that  pushed  for- 
ward into  the  new  territory  to  enter  claims  for  land  on 
the  memorable  22d  of  April,  1889,  and  he  obtained  a 
homestead  claim  10%  miles  southeast  of  Hennessey,  in 
what  is  now  Kingfisher  County.  He  reclaimed  and  im- 
proved this  land,  perfected  his  title  to  the  same,  and 
after  the  lapse  of  two  years  he  made  an  advantageous 
sale  of  the  property.  He  then  returned  to  Bluff  City, 
Kansas,  where  he  continued  to  be  engaged  in  the  hard- 
ware business  until  1895,  when  he  came  again  to  Okla- 
homa Territory  and  became  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers 
of  the  new  Town  of  Wakita,  Grant  County.  He  erected 
the  second  business  building  in  the  town  and  became 
one  of  the  first  merchants  of  the  place,  so  that  all  of 
pioneer  honors  are  his  in  connection  with  this  now 
thriving  and  progressive  village,  which  is  the  trading 
center  for  an  extensive  district  of  an  important  and 
prosperous  farming  community. 

Mr.  Wright  has  from  the  beginning  been  one  of  the 
most  influential  and  honored  citizens  of  Wakita,  and  his 
hold  upon  popular  confidence  and  esteem  is  shown  by 
the  fact  that  he  served  for  a long  period  as  a member 
of  the  village  council  and  thereafter  gave  a number  of 
years  to  specially  effective  service  in  the  office  of  mayor 
of  the  town.  He  has  been  liberal  and  public-spirited  in 
giving  his  co-operation  for  the  furtherance  of  all  meas- 
ures and  enterprises  that  have  tended  to  advance  the 
social  and  material  progress  and  prosperity  of  the  village 
and  county,  and  through  his  well  ordered  activities  as  a 
business  man  he  has  achieved  substantial  success.  Dur- 
ing virtually  the  entire  period  of  his  residence  at  Wakita 
Mr.  Wright  has  here  been  actively  engaged  in  the  hard- 
ware and  agricultural  implement  business,  and  in  asso- 
ciation with  his  older  son  he  controls  a trade  that  extends 
throughout  the  wide  area  of  country  normally  tributary 
to  Wakita. 

In  1873  Mr.  Wright  wedded  Miss  Lottie  Brush,  who 
was  born  in  Wisconsin,  in  the  year  1855,  a daughter  of 
Benjamin  and  Mary  Brush.  Mrs.  Wright  was  sum- 
moned to  the  life  eternal,  and  is  survived  by  two  children, 
Florence  and  Fred  C.  Florence,  who  was  born  April 
29,  1875,  is  now  the  wife  of  Dr.  Charles  W.  Middleton, 
and  they  have  one  child,  Jack  Wright  Middleton,  who 
was  born  December  20,  191(1, 

Fred  C.  Wright  was  born  at  Whitehall,  Trempealeau 
County,  Wisconsin,  on  the  7th  of  November,  ,1878,  and 
acquired  his  early  education  in  the  schools  of  Kansas, 
after  which  he  completed  a thorough  course  in  a business 
university  at  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  in  which  institution 
he  was  graduated  as  a member  of  the  class  of  1895.  As 
already  noted,  he  is  now  junior  member  of  the  firm  of 
P.  F.  Wright  & Son,  of  Wakita,  and  in  addition  to 
being  thus  concerned  with  the  hardware  and  implement 


business  he  is  also  the  owner  of  the  Wakita  electric 
light  plant,  of  which  he  has  had  control  since  1913  and 
which  he  maintains  at  a high  standard  of  efficiency. 
On  the  12th  of  January,  1912,  he  married  Miss  Cora 
Palmer,  of  Lyndon,  Osage  County,  Kansas,  she  being 
a young  woman  of  exceptional  talent  and  gracious  per- 
sonality. Mrs.  Wright  completed  her  musical  education 
in  the  City  of  Berlin,  Germany,  and  has  fine  ability  as 
a pianist  and  vocalist.  She  is  a daughter  of  Thomas 
J.  Palmer,  concerning  whom  specific  mention  is  made  on 
other  pages  of  this  work.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wright  have 
two  children — Lois  Janet,  who  was  born  May  4,  1913, 
and  Robert  Hardy,  who  was  born  February  3,  1915. 

The  second  marriage  of  Phineas  P.  Wright  was 
solemnized  at  Anthony,  Kansas,  on  the  23d  of  November, 
1897,  when  Miss  Kate  Lewis  became  his  wife.  Mrs. 
Wright  was  born  in  the  State  of  Ohio,  on  the  18th  of 
May,  1874,  and  in  the  same  state  were  born  her  parents, 
Elisha  and  Rachael  (Chamberlain)  Lewis,  who  removed 
to  Kansas  when  she  was  a girl.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wright 
have  three  children — Ollie  E.,  who  was  born  March  27, 
1899;  Lewis  Wayne,  who  was  born  August  30,  1901;  and 
Geneva  Ruth,  who  was  born  July  16,  1911. 

Henry  Schmale.  One  of  Pawnee  County ’s  most 
sterling,  upright  and  honored  citizens  was  the  late  Henry 
Schmale,  who  had  lived  in  Oklahoma  since  1893  and  had 
gained  a large  amount  of  material  prosperity  and  the 
esteem  of  hundreds  of  friends  and  business  associates 
before  death  took  him  on  May  12,  1916. 

During  his  residence  in  Oklahoma  he  was  primarily  a 
farmer.  In  that  occupation  he  showed  the  characteristic 
German  industry,  enterprise  and  good  judgment.  He 
had  a long  and  active  career,  served  as  a young  man 
in  the  Franco-Prussian  war  of  1870-71,  but  after  coming 
to  America  more  than  forty  years  ago  became  one  of 
the  country’s  most  loyal  citizens,  and  was  first  and  last 
devoted  to  the  land  of  his  adoption. 

He  was  born  in  Hessen-Darmstadt,  Germany,  August 
27,  1845,  and  was  therefore  in  his  seventy-first  year 
when  he  died.  His  parents  Henrieus  and  Mary  ( Weifen- 
bach)  Schmale  spent  all  their  lives  in  Germany.  On  both, 
sides  the  respective  families  had  been  German  farmers- 
for  many  generation^.  Henrieus  Schmale  was  one  of 
the  substantial  tillers  of  the  soil  in  Hessen-Darmstadt, 
now  known  as  the  Grand  Duchy  of  Hesse. 

The  oldest  of  five  children,  the  late  Henry  Schmale 
was  the  only  one  to  come  to  America.  His  elder  sister, 
Mrs.  Maria  Deling,  is  still  living  near  the  old  German 
homestead,  the  wife  of  a prosperous  farmer.  The  younger 
sister,  Mrs.  Sophia  Stein,  is  also  the  wife  of  a German 
farmer.  The  son  George  resides  upon  the  old  farm  and 
occupies  the  house  in  which  the  children  were  born 
and  reared.  Fred  was  a farmer  in  that  district  until 
his  death. 

The  late  Henry  Schmale  spent  his  first  twenty-eight 
years  on  the  old  homestead  with  his  parents.  He  at- 
tended the  excellent  schools  of  his  native  land  up  to  the 
age  of  fourteen  and  as  a youth  served  an  apprenticeship 
at  the  trade  of  shoemaker  in  the  City  of  Darmstadt.  He 
became  a skilled  workman.  In  the  meantime  he  was  also- 
called  upon  to  serve  his  country  in  accordance  with  the 
laws  of  the  Fatherland,  and  it  was  to  his  honor  that  he 
served  faithfully  and  well  in  the  German  army  during 
the  Franco-Prussian  war. 

Mr.  Schmale  came  to  the  United  States  in  1873.  He 
soon  went  west  and  remained  -a  few  months  in  Muscatine, 
Iowa,  but  in  June,  1874,  returned  to  New  York  City. 
There  he  found  employment  as  a journeyman  at  his 
trade  for  about  five  years.  Industry  was  the  keynote  to 
his  success  in  life,  and  he  was  pre-eminently  a man  of 
action,  willing  to  get  success  only  as  a result  of  personal 


2004 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


ability  and  well  directed  endeavor.  He  possessed  a 
strong  intellect  and  broad  views  and  it  is  noteworthy  that 
as  a boy  engaged  in  learning  his  trade  he  attended  a 
medical  school  three  years,  taking  up  the  study  of  this 
science  chiefly  during  the  evening  hours. 

Mr.  Schmale  was  married  in  1877  and  as  a bridal  trip 
returned  to  Germany.  They  remained  in  that  country  a 
little  more  than  a year,  and  on  coming  back  to  the 
Unitfed  States  Mr.  Schmale  established  a shoe  store  on 
Pulton  Street  in  the  City  of  Brooklyn.  Starting  with  a 
modest  capital,  he  soon  had  a trade,  and  made  a specialty 
of  fine  custom  work  in  the  manufacture  of  boots  and 
shoes.  He  was  one  of  Brooklyn’s  merchants  until  the 
late  ’80s.  He  then  moved  to  the  City  of  Chicago  and 
established  a shoe  store  on  the  west  side  of  that  city. 
He  was  in  the  shoe  business  until  the  spring  of  1893. 

At  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  strip  or  outlet  in 
September,  1893,  Mr.  Schmale  made  the  run  into  the 
new  territory  and  made  his  destination  the  present  Town 
of  P.erry  in  Noble  County.  He  did  not  enter  a claim, 
but  on  the  23d  of  November  the  same  year  filed  a claim 
to  his  homestead  in  Pawnee  County.  He  at  once  settled 
down  to  the  hard  and  practical  life  of  a homesteader 
and  in  clearing  up  his  land  he  found  a great  many  Indian 
relics  and  assembled  a very  interesting  collection  of  such. 

In  the  course  of  years  Mr.  Schmale  developed  one  of 
the  model  rural  estates  of  Pawnee  County.  He  endured 
in  the  meanwhile  the  responsibilities  and  burdens  which 
fell  to  the  lot  of  the  pioneer,  and  it  was  well  for  him 
that  he  had  a trade  and  could  make  use  of  it  in  providing 
for  himself  and  family  during  the  early  years  of  stress 
and  comparative  poverty.  The  first  two  years  he  spent 
on  his  claim,  he  walked  to  and  from  his  house  to  the 
City  of  Jennings,  3 % miles  away,  and  made  boots  and 
shoes  and  repaired  them  in  order  to  earn  a living  for 
his  household.  It  is  said  that  he  arose  at  4 o’clock  in 
the  morning,  spent  several  hours  working  on  his  land, 
and  then  walked  to  the  village  and  applied  himself 
steadily  to  the  work  of  his  trade  oftentimes  until  late  in 
the  evening.  To  such  men  success  comes  as  a natural  re- 
sult and  as  a richly  merited  reward.  Smiling  prosperity 
crowned  the  efforts  of  Mr.  Schmale  long  before  his  death. 

Before  his  death  he  had  about  fifty  acres  of  his  land 
under  cultivation,  and  all  his  farm  under  lease  for  oil 
development  purposes.  Hence  he  was  in  independent 
circumstances  and  was  well  able  to  retire,  though  his 
active  spirit  did  not  allow  him  to  forego  work  altogether, 
and  he  spent  much  time  in  supervising  his  farm.  For 
some  years  he  had  been  a successful  grower  of  Percheron 
draft  horses,  had  sold  a number  of  fine  animals  of  that 
type,  and  a short  time  before  his  death  owned  a herd 
of  about  ten  head.  He  also  raised  a number  of  mules 
on  his  farm.  Another  feature  of  his  farm  was  dairying, 
and  he  kept  for  that  purpose  a herd  of  Jersey  cattle. 
He  was  also  known  in  Pawnee  County  as  a successful 
poultryman,  and  for  several  years  he  had  made  a specialty 
of  raising  chickens  and  selling  eggs.  Each  season  he 
had  two  modern  incubators  employed  for  hatching. 

After  taking  out  his  naturalization  papers,  Mr.  Schmale 
began  voting  with  the  democratic  party.  After  the 
campaign  of  1876  he  became  a republican,  but  finally 
gravitated  back  into  the  ranks  of  the  democratic,  party 
and  to  that  gave  his  allegiance  the  rest  of  his  days. 
While  never  a seeker  for  political  office,  he  was  several 
times  o-iven  local  offices  of  public  trust  and  was  a man 
who  could  be  depended  upon  in  every  such  position. 
Both  he  and  his  wife  were  members  of  the  Lutheran 
Church. 

In  New  York  City  in  1877  he  married  Miss  Annie 
Eeckert.  Mrs.  Schmale  was  born  in  Westphalia,  Germany, 
June  22,  1856,  and  died  at  her  home  in  Pawnee  County, 


October  16,  1915,  thus  preceding  her  husband  to  the 
beyond  about  six  months.  She  had  come  alone  to  the  jj 
United  States  at  the  age  of  nineteen  and  found  em-  fl 
ployment  in  New  York  City  until  her  marriage.  She  I 
was  a devoted  wife  and  mother,  and  was  a loyal  and  -f 
effective  aid  to  Mr.  Schmale  in  his  successful  career.  | 
She  was  christened  in  the  Lutheran  Church  as  an  infant 
and  was  confirmed  at  the  age  of  fourteen. 

The  late  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Henry  Schmale  had  five  chil- 
dren. The  oldest,  Fred,  died  at  Guthrie,  Oklahoma,  at 
the  age  of  sixteen.  The  daughter  Marie  is  the  wife  of 
Henry  Eapp,  and  they  reside  at  DeQueen,  Sevier  County, 
Arkansas.  Henry  Jr.  now  has  the  active  supervision  of 
the  home  farm  and  also  leases  an  adjoining  farm.  The 
younger  children,  Frieda  and  Martha,  are  still  at  home 
and  in  school. 


at 

in 

m 

b 


P 

in 

tl 

01 

k 


F.  E.  Thurman  was  one  of  the  alert  and  enterprising 
young  men  who  were  attracted  to  the  southwestern  i 
oil  fields  at  the  beginning  of  exploration  and  ex- 
ploitation, and  for  ten  years  has  been  a resident  of 
Bartlesville.  Formerly  in  the  oil  business,  he  now  gives 
most  of  his  attention  to  the  insurance,  surety  bond 
and  loan  firm  of  Mcllheny  & Thurman.  In  insurance  i 
circles  he  is  one  of  the  most  prominent  men  in  Okla-  • 
homa,  and  has  been  officially  identified  with  several  I 
organizations  covering  the  activities  of  that  business. 

F.  E.  Thurman  was  born  at  West  Union,  Ohio,  March  i 
9,  1872,  a son  of  J.  M.  and  Mary  Elizabeth  (McCormick) 
Thurman,  both  natives  of  Ohio.  His  father  died  October  i 
4,  1915,  in  West  Union,  while  the  mother  died  when  F. , 
E.  Thurman  was  seven  years  old.  J.  M.  Thurman  has 
for  the  greater  part  of  his  active  career  been  a banker: 
at  West  Union  and  also  for  a long  time  has  served  as 
treasurer  of  Adams  County.  F.  E.  Thurman  is  the  only 
survivor  of  two  children,  his  brother  William  having  died) 
at  the  age  of  thirty-eight. 

During  the  seventeen  years  that  he  lived  at  home  he 
gained  a substantial  public  school  education,  and  hiss 
career  was  early  directed  to  business  affairs.  His  first: 
practical  experience  was  in  the  Cincinnati  branch  office.' 
of  the  Dun’s  Mercantile  Agency,  and  he  was  soon  after- 
wards sent  out  as  traveling  representative,  spending  Severn: 
years  with  that  firm.  At  the  beginning  of  the  oil  excite- 
ment he  came  to  Neodesha,  Kansas,  and  for  two  years- 
was  connected  with  the  Prairie  Oil  & Gas  Company  in  the' 
producing  department.  Then  for  five  years  he  was  con- 
nected with  the  Barnsdall  Oil  Company,  after  which) 
he  entered  business  for  himself  in  the  general  insurance, 
surety  bond  and  loan  field.  This  has  been  his  principal 
activity  since  December,  1912. 

Mr.  Thurman  is  secretary  of  the  People’s  Savings  &S 
Loan  Association,  and  has  held  that  office  since  the  organ- 
ization of  the  association.  He  is  also  president  of  thei 
State  Association  of  Local  Fire  Insurance  Agents  and 
president  of  the  Local  Fire  Prevention  Association.  Since: 
May,  1909,  he  has  served  as  clerk  of  the  board  of  educa-i 
tion  at  Bartlesville,  and  can  always  be  found  among: 
those  working  for  the  welfare  of  the  city  and  state.  Hisi 
Masonic  connections  include  the  Blue  Lodge  of  which  he- 
is  a past  master,  the  thirty-second  degree  consistory,  the: 
Mystic  Shrine  and  the  Eastern  Star.  He  is  also  a mem-i 
ber  of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks. 
During  the  Spanish- American  war  he  was  in  the  Fourthl 
Ohio  Infantry  as  corporal,  and  saw  some  active  cam-i 
paigning  in  Porto  Eico.  During  that  experience  he 
acted  as  correspondent  for  the  Portsmouth  Daily  Blade 
On  October  31,  1904,  Mr.  Thurman  married  Miss  Lucilel 
Elizabeth  Calvert,  who  was  born  in  Kentucky  and  is  s 
daughter  of  Isaac  Calvert. 


Sis: 

fl, 

fo: 

In 

wl 

an 

cai 

bn 

no: 

tee 

Mi 
ran 
rat 
j for 
r to 
|he 
the 
fb 
I 

F„ 
eng: 
to  1 
Clivei 
mar 
tie 
■Gov 
He 
and 
that 
, was 
all 

I H 
field 
■Okie 
(Pn 
Mrs, 
Scho 
'■  nois 
was 
work 
of  c 
addi 
iofh 
nine 
state 
ini 
null 
[in  8 
•was 
a te 
first 
toiy 

pis, 
at  tl 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2005 


Charles  French  Twyford.  Now  serving  as  county 
attorney  of  Beaver  County,  Mr.  Twyford  has  been  known 
in  different  sections  of  Oklahoma  both  as  a newspaper 
man  and  as  a lawyer.  He  has  made  a splendid  record 
both  in  his  private  practice  and  in  the  administration 
of  his  official  duties  since  locating  at  Beaver.  It  is  a 
matter  of  interest  that  Mrs.  Twyford,  his  wife,  is  a 
graduate  physician.  The  Twyford  family  has  had  many 
interesting  associations  with  Oklahoma  affairs  ever  since 
the  year  of  the  original  opening.  His  father  was  one  of 
Oklahoma’s  Eighty-Niners,  while  his  mother  has  long 
been  distinguished  as  having  taught  the  first  regular 
public  school  in  Oklahoma  Territory,  and  for  her  varied 
achievements  and  influence  in  both  educational  and  mis- 
sionary fields. 

It  was  on  a cotton  plantation  in  Pontotoc  County,  Mis- 
sissippi, that  Charles  French  Twyford  was  born,  December 
1,  1875,  a son  of  Samuel  B.  and  Lucy  E.  (French)  Twy- 
ford. His  father  was  born  April  1,  1843,  at  Terre  Haute, 
Indiana,  a son  of  Charles  C.  and  Lucy  (Belt)  Twyford, 
who  were  natives  of  the  State  of  Delaware  and  of  Scotch 
ancestry.  Samuel  B.  Twyford  had  a varied  and  active 
career.  In  early  years  he  was  a railroad  man.  At  the  out- 
break of  the  Civil  war  he  was  living  at  Champaign,  Illi- 
nois, and  there  enlisted  with  the  Eleventh  Illinois  Volun- 
teer Cavalry.  After  serving  three  months  with  that 
regiment  he  was  transferred  to  Company  M of  the  Fifth 
Missouri  Cavalry,  and  was  given  scout  duty  with  the 
rank  and  pay  of  a captain.  He  remained  in  active  service 
until  the  close  of  the  war.  He  then  lived  in  Illinois 
for  a few  years,  but  in  1872  with  an  ox  team  wagon  he 
drove  from  Illinois  to  Marion  County,  Kansas.  There 
he  was  a grade  contractor  during  the  construction  of 
the  Atchison,  Topeka  & Santa  Fe . Railroad  through 
that  part  of  Kansas. 

In  1873,  two  years  before  the  birth  of  his  son,  Charles 
F.,  he  removed  to  Pontotoc  County,  Mississippi,  and 
engaged  in  cotton  planting  there  until  1879.  Returning 
to  Kansas  he  resumed  farming  in  Marion  County,  and 
lived  in  that  state  until  1889.  In  that  year,  which 
marked  the  opening  of  Oklahoma  Territory,  he  joined  in 
the  rush,  and  was  fortunate  in  locating  a good  tract  of 
Government  land  near  the  present  Town  of  Edmond. 
He  was  one  of  the  best  types  of  early  Oklahoma  settlers 
and  was  a progressive  farmer  and  respected  citizen  of 
that  locality  until  his  death  on  March  28,  1898.  He 
was  an  active  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church 
all  his  life. 

His  wife,  Lucy  E.  French,  whom  he  married  at  Green- 
field, Illinois,  December  1,  1874,  was  born,  at  Hamilton, 
Ohio,  March  17,  1844,  a daughter  of  John  and  Jane 
(French)  French,  who  were  natives  of  Hastings,  England. 
Mrs.  Twyford  is  a graduate  of  the  Illinois  State  Normal 
School  at  Bloomington  and  took  special  work  in  the  Illi- 
nois State  University  at  Champaign.  For  five  years  she 
was  a teacher  in  St.  Louis  and  later  did  missionary 
work  for  ten  years  in  Mississippi,  organizing  a number 
of  churches  and  also  conducting  schools.  In  1879,  in 
addition  to  the  burdens  of  her  household  and  the  care 
of  her  children,  she  began  teaching  in  Kansas,  and  for 
nine  years  conducted  schools  at  different  points  in  that 
state.  Soon  after  coming  to  Oklahoma  with  her  family, 
in  1889,  she  organized  and  directed  as  teacher  the  first 
public  school  opened  in  the  territory.  The  session  began 
in  September  following  the  opening  in  April,  and  that 
was  Edmond’s  first  public  school.  It  was  conducted  for 
a term  of  nine  months,  and  this  school  graduated  the 
first  eighth  grade  class  graduated  in  Oklahoma  Terri- 
tory or  Oklahoma  State.  This  class,  all  of  whom  were 
girls,  and  eleven  in  number,  made  up  the  first  enrollment 
at  the  Central  State  Normal  of  Edmond.  During  the 


First  Territorial  Legislature  Mrs.  Twyford  was  one  of  the 
committee  of  five  named  by  the  governor  to  draft  school 
laws  and  apportion  school  districts.  In  1891  she  took 
up  church  work  under  the  auspices  of  the  Congregational 
Church,  and  was  engaged  in  organizing  and  building 
churches  up  to  1901.  In  the  year  that  she  retired  from 
active  responsibilities  she  had  completed  more  than 
thirty  years  of  active  service  in  behalf  of  schools  and 
religion.  While  in  Oklahoma  she  was  the  prime  factor 
in  the  erection  of  five  rural  churches  in  the  vicinity  of 
Edmond.  She  was  regularly  ordained  to  the  ministry 
in  1891,  and  filled  the  pulpit  in  each  of  the  churches  which 
she  organized.  Since  she  retired  in  1901  she  has  been 
regarded  as  one  of  the  most  useful  women  Oklahoma 
ever  had.  She  now  lives  at  1015  North  Kelly  Street 
in  Oklahoma  City.  To  her  marriage  with  Mr.  Twyford 
were  born  five  children:  Charles  French;  Mary  A.,  born 
August  5,  1877 ; Ethel,  born  June  20,  1879,  and  died  in 
infancy;  Theresa,  born  June  17,  1881;  and  James  S., 
born  June  5,  1882. 

The  atmosphere  of  culture  and  good  ideals,  every  incen- 
tive to  a life  of  integrity  and  honorable  activity,  were 
afforded  Charles  F.  Twyford  from  childhood  up.  He 
obtained  his  education  at  the  Central  State  Normal  in 
Edmond  and  at  Kingfisher  College.  He  paid  his  way 
while  in  college  by  work  as  a printer,  a trade  which 
afforded  him  his  livelihood  for  a number  of  years.  Sub- 
sequently he  became  one  of  the  editors  and  publishers 
of  the  Oklahoma  Labor  Signal  and  the  Oklahoma  Farmer. 
In  1903  he  established  the  News  at  Bridgeport,  con- 
ducted it  twelve  months,  and  then  went  to  Topeka, 
Kansas,  where  he  was  employed  at  his  trade  as  printer 
three  years. 

In  1909  Mr.  Twyford  entered  the  Epworth  University 
School  of  Law  at  Oklahoma  City,  remained  in  attendance 
three  years,  and  was  admitted  to  practice  June  12,  1911. 
In  1913  he  located  at  Beaver,  and  has  already  secured 
a satisfying  share  of  practice  and  his  thorough  qualifica- 
tions were  the  basis  for  his  successful  candidacy  as  repub- 
lican nominee  for  the  office  of  county  attorney  of  Beaver 
County  in  1914.  Fraternally  he  is  a member  of  the  Alva 
Lodge  of  Elks. 

On  September  17,  1913,  at  El  Dorado,  Oklahoma,  Mr. 
Twyford  married  Miss  May  Drew,  daughter  of  William 
H.  and  Ethelda  (Wilson)  Drew,  who  were  natives  of  the 
State  of  Michigan.  Mrs.  Doctor  Twyford  was  born  in 
Greer  County,  Oklahoma,  September  15,  1892,  was  edu- 
cated at  Fort  Worth,  Texas,  in  the  university  there,  and 
with  the  class  of  1913  graduated  from  the  medical  depart- 
ment of  the  University  of  Oklahoma  and  was  awarded 
the  degree  Doctor  of  Medicine. 

Clifford  G.  Miller.  Having  won  a place  among  the 
progressive  newspaper  men  of  Western  Oklahoma  solely 
through  the  medium  of  his  own  efforts,  Clifford  G. 
Miller  is  eminently  entitled  to  the  confidence  and  esteem 
of  his  fellow  men  which  he  enjoys.  Like  the  greater 
number  of  newspaper  men  in  this  part  of  the  state, 
he  has  worked  his  way  to  the  top  from  the  most  humble 
position,  having  commenced  his  career  as  a pressman’s 
apprentice  and  being  at  this  time  proprietor  and  editor 
of  a publication  which  has  its  acknowledged  place  among 
the  journals  of  Beckham  County — the  Elk  City  Leader. 

Mr.  Miller  belongs  to  a family  which  originated  in 
France,  and  the  American  progenitor  of  which  was  his 
great-grandfather,  David  H.  Miller,  who  was  a pioneer 
of  Missouri  and  homesteaded  land  on  the  present  site 
of  the  City  of  St.  Joseph.  His  son,  Jonas  Miller,  was 
born  on  the  Missouri  farm,  residing,  there  until  the  period 
of  the  Civil  war,  when  he  went  to  Texas  and  became  a 
pioneer  of  Grayson  County,  where  he  owned  a gristmill 


2006 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


and  also  followed  the  trade  of  blacksmith  and  wheel- 
wright. Later  he  moved  to  Carroll  County,  Missouri, 
and  there  his  death  occurred  about  the  year  1908,  when 
he  was  sixty-one  years  of  age. 

J.  W.  Miller,  son  of  Jonas  Miller,  and  father  of  Clif- 
ford G.  Miller,  was  born  December  3,  1859,  in  Grayson 
County,  Texas,  and  in  1865  was  taken  to  Carroll  County, 
Missouri,  where  he  passed  many  years  in  agricultural 
pursuits.  In  1898  he  went  to  Buchanan  County,  Mis- 
souri, where  he  continued  his  farming  and  stock-raising 
operations  until  1906,  since  which  time  he  has  been  a 
resident  of  Elk  City/  employed  in  the  construction  de- 
partment of  a railroad.  He  is  a member  of  the  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows  at  Elk  City.  Mr.  Miller 
was  married  in  1883  to  Miss  Hattie  E.  Teter,  of  Dewitt, 
Carroll  County,  Missouri,  who  was  born  in  that  county 
in  1863.  Four  children  have  been  born  to  this  union: 
Clifford  G.;  Russell  W.,  who  is  a general  workman  and 
resides  at  Elk  City;  and  Jenevieve  and  Joe  W.,  who 
reside  with  their  parents. 

Clifford  G.  Miller  attended  the  public  schools  of  Car- 
roll  County,  Missouri,  being  graduated  from  the  high 
school  at  Saxton  Station,  Buchanan  County,  in  the  class 
of  1904.  In  1905  he  attended  Hill’s  Business  College 
at  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  but  in  the  meantime,  in  the 
fall  of  1903,  had  entered  upon  his  business  career  as 
an  employe  in  the  general  offices  of  the  Burlington  Rail- 
road at  St.  Joseph,  remaining  there  for  about  two  years. 
Mr.  Miller  received  his  introduction  to  the  printing  busi- 
ness as  an  employe  of  the  Combe  Printing  Company  at 
St.  Joseph,  where  he  acted  as  pressman’s  apprentice  from 
1905  until  October,  1906,  when  he  came  to  Elk  City, 
Oklahoma.  He  first  worked  at  various  jobs,  accepting 
such  honorable  employment  as  came  his  way  until  he 
could  gain  a foothold,  and  in  the  spring  of  1909  joined 
the  Sayre  Headlight,  with  which  he  was  connected  only 
for  a short  time.  Later  he  was  with  the  George  Winn 
Printing  Company  until  October  1,  1909,  and  then  with 
J.  W.  McMurtry,  printer,  for  two  months,  and  December 
3,  1909,  went  to  Clinton,  where  he  helped  George  Rhine- 
hart  start  the  Clinton  Times.  From  Clinton  Mr.  Miller 
went  to  Arapaho,  where  for  two  years  and  two  months 
he  was  connected  with  the  Arapaho  Bee,  with  J.  W. 
Wagner,  editor,  and  in  November,  1914,  returned  to  Elk 
City.  Here,  December  28,  1914,  he  bought  a one-half 
interest  in  the  Elk  City  Leader,  and  published  the  first 
edition  January  7,  1915.  Nine  days  after  its  appear- 
ance G.  F.  Stayton  bought  the  other  one-half  interest,  and 
the  partners  continued  the  publication  of  this  sheet  until 
August  3,  1915,  when  they  sold  out.  On  the  30th,  how- 
ever, Mr.  Miller  was  given  the  opportunity  of  buying  the 
paper  again,  and,  the  deal  being  consummated,  he  has 
continued  to  publish  the  Leader  to  the  present  time. 
The  paper  is  independent  in  politics  and  circulates  in 
Beckham  and  the  surrounding  counties,  already  having 
a respectable  foreign  list.  The  plant  is  situated  on 
Jefferson  Street  and  is  modernly  equipped  for  the  pub- 
lication of  a neat,  clear  and  attractive  newspaper.  The 
Leader  has  proven  an  excellent  advertising  medium,  and 
under  Mr.  Miller’s  able  management  is  daily  growing  in 
public  favor  and  confidence. 

Mr.  Miller  was  married  April  16,  1911,  at  Arapaho, 
Oklahoma,  to  Miss  Dovie  M.  Miller,  daughter  of  G.  W. 
Miller,  an  extensive  farm  and  ranch  owner  of  Custer 
County,  Oklahoma.  They  have  no  children. 

Robert  N.  Thomas.  A member  of  the  banking  fra- 
ternity of  Blaine  County  who  has  gained  a substantial 
position  in  the  confidence  of  the  people  of  his  community 
is  Robert  N.  Thomas,  cashier  of  the  Greenfield  State 
Bank  of  Greenfield,  who  became  connected  with  this 
institution  in  1909  as  bookeeper  and  after  three  months 


was  promoted  to  his  present  capacity.  Mr.  Thomas  be- 
longs to  the  young  and  enthusiastic  element  which  has 
been  mainly  instrumental  in  the  development  of  the 
town,  and  has  been  a leading  factor  in  educational 
affairs  here,  having  been  an  instructor  before  entering 
upon  his  career  as  a banker. 

Robert  N.  Thomas  was  born  at  Osage  City,  Osage 
County,  Kansas,  September  18,  1884,  and  is  a son  of 
Jesse  and  Hattie  (Jones)  Thomas,  and  a member  of  a 
family  that,  originating  in  Wales,  emigrated  to  this 
country  at  an  early  day  and  became  pioneers  of  Mis- 
souri. His  father  was  born  in  1833,  near  Springfield, 
Clark  County,  Ohio,  and  from  his  native  state  re- 
moved to  Detroit,  Dickinson  County,  Kansas,  where 
he  was  married.  After  some  years  passed  in  agricultural 
pursuits  there  he  removed  to  Osage  City,  Kansas,  in 
1882,  and  continued  as  a farmer  and  stock  raiser  until 
1892,  then  coming  to  Oklahoma  and  taking  up  a home- 
stead of  160  acres,  3%  miles  northeast  of  Greenfield,  in 
Blaine  County,  which  still  belongs  to  his  estate,  and  on 
which  he  died  in  1910.  Mr.  Thomas  was  a stanch  demo- 
crat and  good  citizen,  and  was  fraternally  connected 
with  the  Masons.  Mrs.  Thomas  was  born  in  Wales  in 
1855,  and  when  fourteen  years  of  age  came  to  this 
country  with  her  parents,  the  family  settling  near  De- 
troit, Kansas.  She  still  survives  and  makes  her  home  at 
Stillwater,  Oklahoma.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Thomas  became  the 
parents  of  seven  children:  Mary,  who  is  the  wife  of 

Harry  Ellenwood,  of  Williamstown,  Vermont,  formerly  a 
contractor,  but  now  an  agriculturist;  Alice,  who  is  the 
wife  of  C.  C.  Walker,  a farmer  near  Greenfield;  Jesse 
R.,  a graduate  of  Stillwater  (Oklahoma)  Agricultural 
College,  class  of  1915,  and  now  a demonstrator  for  that 
institution,  with  his  residence  at  Medford,  Oklahoma; 
Robert  N. ; John  J.,  who  died  at  Greenfield,  aged  seven- 
teen years;  Olive  Branch,  a senior  at  the  Agricultural 
and  Mechanical  College,  Stillwater;  and  Martha  O.,  a 
member  of  the  sophomore  class  at  the  same  college. 

The  early  education  of  Robert  N.  Thomas  was  secured 
in  the  public  schools  of  Greenfield,  following  which  he 
took  a course  in  the  Central  Normal  School,  Edmond, 
Oklahoma.  In  1908  he  came  to  Greenfield  as  principal 
of  the  public  school,  but  after  one  year  gave  up  teaching 
to  engage  in  banking,  entering  the  Greenfield  State 
Bank  as  bookkeeper.  His  abilities  soon  recognized,  after 
three  months  he  was  made  cashier  of  this  institution, 
a position  which  he  has  retained  to  the  present  time,  the 
other  officials  being:  George  M.  Matlock,  president; 

and  E.  G.  Demunbrun,  vice  president.  This  bank  was 
founded  in  1909  as  a state  institution  by  I.  E.  Hem- 
mingway  and  has  grown  steadily  since  its  inception, 
being  regarded  as  one  of  the  safe  and  reliable  concerns 
of  Blaine  County,  managed  in  a conservative  way  by  men 
whose  fortunes  and  reputations  are  wrapped  up  in  its 
success.  It  has  a capital  of  $10,000,  with  a surplus  of 
$5,000,  and  owns  its  own  handsome  bank  building  on 
Main  Street,  which  was  erected  in  1906.  It  is  a recog- 
nized factor  in  the  business  life  of  the  community  and  is 
well  patronized  by  the  thrifty  people  of  the  county. 

Mr.  Thomas  is  a republican,  but  his  activities  in  a 
political  way  are  limited  to  an  effort  to  secure  good  men 
and  beneficial  measures  for  his  community.  He  is  fra- 
ternally affiliated  with  Watonga  Lodge  No.  176,  A.  F.  & 
A.  M.,  in  which  he  has  made  many  friends,  and  is  a 
member  also  of  the  Oklahoma  State  Bankers  Association. 
He  is  unmarried. 

John  A.  Wimberley.  An  Oklahoma  eighty -niner, 
John  A.  Wimberley ’s  name  was  found  in  the  annals  of 
some  of  the  first  political  conventions  held  in  the  old 
territory  of  Oklahoma  and  he  has  been  actively  identified 
with  the  territory  and  state  both  in  business  and  politics 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2007 


for  more  than  a quarter  of  a century.  For  the  past  ten 
years  Mr.  Wimberley  has  lived  at  Pawhuska,  and  has 
extensive  business  interests  in  that  locality. 

A Tennessean,  he  was  born  in  Henry  County  of  that 
state  April  20,  1865,  and  represents  some  fine  old  south- 
ern ancestry.  His  parents  were  Noah  and  Martha  (Lee) 
Wimberley,  who  were  married  in  Tennessee  and  in  1866 
moved  to  Illinois.  His  father  was  a Union  soldier,  having 
served  for  four  years  and  three  months  in  the  army.  By 
occupation  he  was  a farmer,  was  a member  of  the 
Methodist  Church  and  a democrat  in  politics  and  his 
death  occurred  in  Massac  County,  Illinois,  in  1879.  His 
wife,  who  was  a member  of  the  prominent  Lee  family  of 
old  Virginia,  died  in  Massac  County,  Illinois,  in  1870. 

The  youngest  of  five  children,  John  A.  Wimberley 
spent  the  first  sixteen  years  of  his  life  on  an  Illinois 
farm  and  during  that  time  acquired  all  his  school  train- 
ing. In  every  sense  he  is  a self-made  man.  In  1882  he 
went  out  to  Kansas  and  was  engaged  in  farming  with  a 
brother  in  Kingman  County  until  1889.  In  that  year, 
which  marked  the  opening  of  the  original  Oklahoma 
territory,  he  located  at  Kingfisher  and  secured  a Govern- 
ment homestead,  whose  cultivation  he  directed  and  on 
which  he  lived  until  1900.  After  a short  time  at  Pawnee 
he  again  participated  in  1901  in  a land  opening,  when 
the  Kiowa  and  Comanche  reservation  was  allotted  to 
permanent  settlers.  For  several  years  Mr.  Wimberley 
lived  at  Anadarko,  but  in  1905  came  to  Pawhuska,  which 
has  since  been  his  home.  He  has  extensive  interests  as  a 
farmer  and  stock  raiser  and  for  a number  of  years  has 
also  handled  real  estate,  operating  in  lands  not  only  in 
Osage  but  in  several  other  counties  of  Oklahoma. 

Though  Mr.  Wimberley  can  properly  claim  a diploma 
only  from  the  post-graduate  school  of  hard  experience, 
he  has  seldom  been  unsuccessful  in  his  business  under- 
takings and  has  shown  a great  deal  of  enterprise  and 
persistence  in  carrying  out  everything  to  which  he  directs 
his  attention.  This  is  a fine  business  trait,  and  it  has 
been  responsible  not  only  for  his  success  but  for  the 
useful  part  he  has  been  able  to  play  in  local  affairs 
and  in  politics  in  general.  Throughout  his  career  he 
has  been  identified  with  the  republican  party. 

His  public  service  makes  his  name  notable  in  political 
annals  of  Oklahoma.  He  served  as  a member  of  the 
Territorial  Legislature  for  two  terms  from  1891  to  1895, 
having  taken  his  seat  in  the  second  year  after  the 
organization  of  the  territory.  The  political  history  of 
Oklahoma  during  those  trying  first  years  after  settle- 
ment should  be  read,  as  recounted  on  other  pages  of  this 
publication,  bearing  the  fact  in  mind  that  Mr.  Wimberley 
was  one  of  the  most  influential  and  active  members  of 
the  State  Legislature  at  the  time.  He  was  also  a mem- 
ber of  the  board  of  regents  at  the  Agricultural  and 
Mechanical  College  from  1892  to  1894.  During  1902-03 
he  was  a member  of  the  board  of  county  commissioners 
in  Caddo  County.  A fact  that  connects  him  especially 
with  early  political  history  is  that  he  was  a delegate 
to  the  first  republican  convention  held  in  Oklahoma. 
This  convention  met  at  the  old  Town  of  Frisco  in  June, 
1889,  only  a few  weeks  after  the  original  opening.  He 
was  also  chairman  of  the  first  republican  convention 
ever  held  in  Caddo  County. 

On  January  1,  1890,  he  was  married  at  Kingfisher  to 
Miss  Martha  J.  Gillam,  who  was  born  in  Montgomery 
County,  Indiana,  in  1867,  and  was  reared  principally  in 
that  state.  To  their  marriage  have  been  born  four  chil- 
dren: Fern,  who  was  born  at  Kingfisher  June  18,  1892, 

is  a graduate  of  the  State  Normal  School  at  Edmond; 
Letha,  born  August  12,  1894,  graduated  from  the  Paw- 
huska High  School  and  is  now  the  wife  of  Frank  Johnson 
of  Oklahoma  City;  Jonnie  Margaret,  born  in  1898,  died 


in  1903;  Martha  Alice  was  born  at  Pawhuska  in  1907 
is  still  in  school.  Mr.  Wimberley  also  has  a grandson 
named  John  A.  Wimberley  Johnson. 

J.  F.  McIlheny.  Now  one  of  Bartlesville’s  leading 
business  men,  Mr.  McIlheny  began  his  career  many  years 
ago  as  a telegraph  operator.  For  about  thirty  years 
he  was  a private  operator  and  secretary  for  the  late 
Michael  Cudahy,  the  Chicago  packer  and  capitalist,  and 
first  came  to  Oklahoma  as  the  representative  of  the 
Cudahy  interests  in  the  oil  district  about  Bartlesville. 
Mr.  McIlheny  in  recent  years  has  been  in  business  for 
himself  and  is  now  head  of  the  firm  of  McIlheny  & 
Thurman,  insurance,  surety  bonds  and  loans. 

J.  F.  McIlheny  was  born  at  Middletown,  Ohio,  Decem- 
ber 15,  1854,  a son  of  R.  K.  and  Sarah  (Monfort)  Mc- 
Ilheny.  His  father  was  a native  of  Pennsylvania,  and 
the  mother  was  born  in  Ohio  but  was  reared  and  mar- 
ried in  Pennsylvania.  They  lived  for  a number  of 
years  after  marriage  in  Ohio,  and  about  1880  moved 
to  Chicago,  and  in  October,  1903,  came  to  Bartlesville, 
Oklahoma.  J.  F.  McIlheny  was  their  only  child  And  his 
parents  lived  with  him  for  many  years.  The  father  died 
at  Bartlesville  in  April,  1904,  and  the  mother  on  Novem- 
ber 5,  1913.  At  his  death  he  was  eighty-two  years  of 
age  and  she  was  in  her  eighty-sixth  year.  While  a resi- 
dent of  Ohio  he  had  followed  the  grocery  business. 

Mr.  McIlheny  left  school  and  took  up  practical  work 
at  the  age  of  sixteen,  when  he  learned  telegraphy  and 
was  soon  employed  in  the  regular  service.  For  several 
years  he  was  train  dispatcher  on  the  Big  Four  Railway 
at  Cincinnati,  and  then  went  to  Chicago  as  a private 
operator  for  Michael  Cudahy.  The  Cudahy  interests  sent 
him  to  Oklahoma  as  purchasing  agent  and  later  as  local 
manager  in  the  oil  fields.  He  continued  one  of  the  active 
and  trusted  lieutenants  of  the  Cudahy  people  in  Okla- 
homa from  1903  to  1908,  when  the  Cudahys  sold  their 
holdings  to  the  National  Refining  Company.  Mr.  Mcll- 
heny  was  in  the  service  of  Mr.  Cudahy  for  more  than 
thirty  years  and  finally  retired,  going  into  business  for 
himself.  Since  1908  he  has  been  in  business  for  himself 
as  a general  insurance  man  and  loan  agent.  He  was  first 
associated  with  H.  C.  Moore,  but  since  December,  1911, 
has  been  at  the  head  of  the  firm  of  McIlheny  & Thurman, 
his  partner  being  F.  E.  Thurman. 

Mr.  McIlheny  has  been  one  of  the  men  of  affairs  at 
Bartlesville  since  the  early  days,  and  served  two  terms 
on  the  city  council  when  Bartlesville  was  a small  town. 
During  territorial  days  he  was  a member  of  the  Re- 
publican County  Central  Committee.  He  stands  high  in 
Masonic  circles  being  affiliated  with  the  Blue  Lodge, 
Royal  Arch  Chapter,  Knights  Templar  Commandery, 
Eastern  Star  Chapter,  and  the  Mystic  Shrine,  and  is  also 
a member  of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks. 
On  April  24,  1886,  Mr.  McIlheny  married  Miss  Anna 
Sneed,  of  Rushville,  Indiana. 

Claude  Tilden  Smith.  A lawyer  -who  now  enjoys  a 
lucrative  private  practice  in  Beaver  County,  Claude 
Tilden  Smith  also  distinguished  himself  by  a vigorous 
administration  as  county  attorney  for  two  years,  and  is 
the  recognized  leader  of  the  democratic  party  in  Beaver 
County. 

He  is  of  an  old  Southern  family,  long  represented  in 
the  State  of  Maryland.  He  was  born  at  Wakefield,  Mary- 
land, March  26,  1877,  a son  of  James  E.  and  Martha 
A.  (Beach)  Smith.  His  father  was  born  July  17,  1850, 
at  Warfieldsburg,  Maryland,  a son  of  James  and  Mary . 
(Harmon)  Smith,  who  were  natives  of  Maryland.  James 
E.  Smith  during  his  younger  years  was  a very  active  demo- 
cratic leader  in  Maryland,  and  held  several  state  offices. 


2008 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


He  is  now  living  at  Westminster,  Maryland.  He  mar- 
ried, April  16,  1876,  Miss  Beach,  who  was  born  August 
3,  1849,  at  Leesburg,  Virginia,  a daughter  of  James  and 
Elizabeth  (Higdon)  Beach,  both  natives  of  Loudon 
County,  Virginia,  and  of  prominent  Virginia  stock. 
Claude  Tilden  Smith  was  the  oldest  of  five  sons.  The 
others  were:  Bozier  Gorman,  born  in  1879  and  died  in 
1880;  Grover  Boberts,  born  in  1884  and  died  in  1885; 
John  Bay,  born  in  1886,  died  in  1903;  and  James  E., 
Jr.,  who  was  born  in  1891,  was  married  in  1915  to  Beulah 
Ogle,  and  now  lives  with  his  father.  That  the  family  has 
been  strongly  democratic  in  politics  will  be  observed 
from  the  fact  that  several  of  the  sons  were  named  for 
some  of  the  great  leaders  in  that  party  during  the  last 
three  or  four  decades. 

Claude  Tilden  Smith  was  given  a liberal  classical  edu- 
cation at  Western  Maryland  College  in  Westminster, 
where  he  graduated  A.  B.  with  the  class  of  1896.  He 
took  up  the  study  of  law  at  first  under  Judge  James  A. 
C.  Bond  and  later  under  Beifsnider  & Beifsnider  at 
Westminster  for  three  years.  His  preceptors  subse- 
quently. filled  places  on  the  bench.  He  was  admitted  to 
practice  before  the  Court  of  Appeals  of  Maryland  on 
October  14,  1899.  He  soon  had  a promising  law  practice 
in  his  native  state,  and  in  1903  was  appointed  examiner 
in  equity  causes  for  Carroll  County,  and  in  1908  held 
office  as  city  solicitor  for  Westminster.  He  resigned 
these  positions  June  26,  1909,  on  his  removal  to  Beaver, 
Oklahoma. 

At  the  present  time  Mr.  Smith  is  state  committeeman 
in  the  democratic  organization  from  Beaver  County.  In 
1910  he  was  the  nominee  of  his  party  for  county  attorney, 
and  in  1912  was  again  nominated  and  this  time  elected, 
leading  his  ticket.  He  remained  in  the  office  two  years, 
but  in  his  third  campaign  was  defeated,  largely  on  account 
of  the  fact  that  he  had  shown  an  unusual  ability  and 
fearlessness  in  the  vigorous  enforcement  of  all  laws  and 
the  additional  fact  that  Beaver  County  has  a republican 
majority.  Since  leaving  office  he  has  looked  after  the 
interests  of  an  extensive  private  practice.  He  is  affiliated 
with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the 
Knights  of  Pythias. 

On  June  12,  1907,  at  Sparrow  Point,  Maryland,  he  mar- 
ried Miss  Amelia  E.  Owings,  who  was  born  June  16, 
1884,  at  Coekeysville,  Maryland,  a daughter  of  Perry 
Thomas  and  Margaret  Stuart  (Watson)  Owings,  the 
former  a native  of  Baltimore  County,  Maryland,  and  the 
latter  of  England.  Mrs.  Smith  is  a descendant  in  the 
maternal  line  from  the  royal  family  of  Stuarts  of  Eng- 
land and  Scotland,  and  another  branch  of  her  ancestry 
was  the  fighting  McKays  of  Scotland.  Daniel  Henry 
Stuart  McKay,  her  grand-uncle,  was  the  grand  master 
of  the  Orange  Society  in  the  counties  of  Antrim  and 
Londonderry,  Ireland,  for  a number  of  years.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Smith  have  four  children,  two  sons  and  two  daugh- 
ters, namely:  James  Owings,  born  June  5,  1908;  Claude 
Tilden,  Jr.,  born  September  22,  1909;  Martha  Amelia, 
born  December  26,  1911;  and  Elizabeth  Stuart,  born 
December  1,  1913.  The  three  youngest  children  were 
born  in  Beaver,  Oklahoma. 

While  a resident  of  Maryland  Mr.  Smith  took  a very 
active  part  in  military  affairs.  He  was  the  organizer  of 
Company  H,  First  Maryland  Infantry,  Maryland  National 
Guard,  and  he  resigned  from  the  office  of  captain  when 
he  came  to  Oklahoma. 

Viegil  F.  Carleton.  Of  the  men  who  are  lending 
practical  encouragement  to  the  industries  and  institu- 
tions of  Custer  County,  few  are  contributing  in  more 
helpful  degree  to  the  general  progress  and  advancement 
than  is  Virgil  F.  Carleton,  who  is  engaged  in  the  real 


estate  and  insurance  business  at  Clinton.  A resident 
of  the  county  since  1897,  and  during  a large  part  of 
this  time  engaged  in  farming  operations,  he  is  thor- 
oughly conversant  with  values,  and  in  several  positions 
of  public  trust  has  evidenced  the  possession  of  traits 
which  have  made  his  reputation  firm  in  the  community. 

Mr.  Carleton  was  born  on  a farm  in  Bay  County,  Mis- 
souri, February  5,  1875,  and  is  a son  of  L.  M.  and 
Frances  M.  (Tunnel)  Carleton.  His  grandfather  was 
G.  M.  Carleton,  a native  of  England  who  emigrated  to 
the  United  States  and  settled  first  at  Haverhill,  Massa- 
chusetts, subsequently  moving  as  a pioneer  to  Bay 
County,  Missouri,  where  he  passed  his  remaining  years 
in  the  pursuits  of  the  husbandman.  L.  M.  Carleton  was 
born  in  1826,  at  Haverhill,  Massachusetts,  and  was 
twenty- three,  years  of  age  when  the  news  of  the  discovery 
of  gold  in  California  reached  his  New  England  home. 
Contracting  a severe  case  of  “gold  fever,”  he  packed 
his  belongings,  took  a ship  around  the  Horn,  and  joined 
the  adventurous  souls  who  were  laboring  to  secure  the 
precious  metal.  After  about  four  years  of  indifferent 
success  as  a miner  and  prospector,  Mr.  Carleton  re- 
turned to  the  East,  but  after  a short  stay  migrated  to 
Bay  County,  Missouri,  where  he  preempted  a homestead 
of  160  acres.  There  he  continued  to  follow  the  pursuits 
of  farming  and  stock  raising  until  his  death,  in  1876, 
winning  success  through  his  industry,  integrity  and  in- 
telligent management.  Mr.  Carleton  was  a republican  i 
but  not  a politician.  He  married  Miss  Frances  M.  Tun- 
nel, who  was  born  near  Knoxville,  Bay  County,  Missouri, 
who  survives  her  husband  and  resides  near  Elk  City,  in  i 
Custer  County.  They  were  the  parents  of  four  children, 
namely : Alpha,  who  married  W.  C.  Cowherd  and  resides 

on  a farm  in  Custer  County;  L.  M.,  who  conducts  the 
Fay  Mercantile  Company  at  Fay,  Oklahoma;  Virgil  F.; ; 
and  G.  M.,  who  lives  on  the  old  homestead  in  Bay 
County,  Missouri. 

Virgil  F.  Carleton  attended  the  public  schools  of  Bay 
County,  Missouri,  while  assisting  in  the  work  of  the 
home  farm,  and  in  order  to  further  prepare  himself  forr 
a commercial  career  took  a course  in  the  Lexington 
(Missouri)  Business  College,  where  he  was  graduated! 
in  1896.  In  that  year  he  returned  to  Bay  County  and  I 
again  resumed  farming,  but  in  February,  1897,  came- 
to  Washita  Township,  Custer  County,  Oklahoma,  and, , 
settling  near  Elk  City,  filed  on  a homestead  of  160  acres,  , 
a tract  of  land  which  he  still  owns.  He  resided  on  this-; 
farm  until  1907,  when  he  removed  to  Clinton,  Oklahoma,, 
and  first  engaged  in  the  cattle  business,  in  addition  too 
holding  an  interest  in  a planing  mill,  and  in  1909  was* 
elected  mayor  of  Clinton,  in  which  office  he  served  dur- 
ing that  and  the  following  year.  At  the  close  of  his; 
term  of  office  he  embarked  in  the  real  estate  and  insur- 
ance business,  a line  in  which  he  has  continued  to  bei 
engaged  to  the  present  time,  having  offices  in  the  Jeteri 
Building.  As  an  official  Mr.  Carleton  gave  Clinton  one* 
of  the  best  administrations  which  it  has  known,  and 
while  a resident  of  Washita  Township  he  rendered  excel-l 
lent  service  as  a member  of  the  school  board.  He  is  a; 
democrat  in  his  political  views,  but  has  not  allowed  party; 
prejudices  to  interfere  with  the  performance  of  the  duties; 
of  citizenship.  In  business  circles  his  name  is  an; 
honored  one,  due  to  the  straightforward  and  honorable; 
manner  in  which  his  transactions  have  always  been  car-r 
ried  on.  Mr.  Carleton  is  well  known  fraternally,  being  a; 
member  of  Clinton  Lodge  No.  339  of  the  Masonic  Order; 
Clinton  Lodge  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows; 
Elk  City  Lodge  of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order 
of  Elks;  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen,  and  the 
Knights  of  the  Maccabees. 

Mr.  Carleton  was  married  in  February,  1895,  in  Bay 
County,  Missouri,  to  Miss  Olga  M.  Smallwood,  daughter 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2009 


s 

8 

8 

1 

a. 

4 

A 

18 

at 

:e- 

to. 

ad 

its 

76, 

in- 

a 

oil 

oii, 

i in 

ren, 

ides 

tie 

M 

Eay 

Ray 
the 
ifoi 
igton 
ated 
and 
came 
aid, 
acres, 
l this 
homa, 
.onto 
9 was 
1 dm- 
of  his 
insni- 
to  he 
i Jeter 
oa  one 
n,  and 
[ excel- 
leisa 
1 party 
e duties 
is  an 

notable 
:en  car- 
being a 

[Order;; 
fellows  j 
•e  Order 
and  the 

, in  Raj 
daughter 


of  Dr.  P.  C.  Smallwood,  a practicing  physician  and 
surgeon  of  near  Carpenter,  Oklahoma.  To  this  union 
there  has  been  born  one  son,  E.  V.,  who  is  attending 
the  public  schools. 

David  Preston  Parker  is  one  of  the  acknowledged 
leaders  of  the  Harper  County  bar,  and  for  a young  man 
has  gone  far  in  his  profession,  has  accomplished  a great 
deal  in  spite  of  difficulties  and  adversities  which  en- 
cumbered his  early  progress. 

A North  Carolina  man  by  birth,  he  was  born  May  23, 
1876,  in  a log  house  on  a farm  in  Johnston  County,  a son 
of  King  Henry  and  Sarah  Anne  (Beasley)  Parker.  His 
father  was  of  the  Israel  Putnam  stock  of  New  England- 
ers, but  spent  all  his  life  in  North  Carolina.  In  1905 
he  retired  from  his  work  as  a farmer.  He  was  born 
January  5,  1848,  in  Johnston  County  and  died  there 
March  27,  1911.  In  1867  he  married  Sarah  Anne  Beasley, 
daughter  of  Enoch  O.  and  Edith  (Avery)  Beasley,  both 
natives  of  North  Carolina.  Mrs.  Parker  was  born  Oc- 
tober 8,  1851,  in  Johnston  County.  To  the  parents  were 
born  a large  family  of  fourteen  children,  eight  sons  and 
six  daughters.  Nancy  Anne,  born  in  1869,  died  in  1873 
as  a result  of  severe  burns;  Sarah  Anna,  born  September 
28,  1871,  was  married  in  1908  to  David  T.  Lunceford; 
James  Daniel,  born  March  23,  1874;  David  Preston  who 
is  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth;  Mary  Ella,  born  July  23, 
1878,  married  in  1904  N.  G.  Rand;  the  sixth  in  birth, 
a daughter,  died  in  infancy;  Joseph  P.,  born  September 
1,  1881;  Edith  Ellen,  born  September  20,  1883,  was  mar- 
ried in  1911  to  P.  A.  Putnam  who  died  in  1915;  Geneva, 
born  December  23,  1885,  married  in  1909  Henry  L. 
Graves;  Mordecai,  born  June  5,  1887,  died  December  26, 
1897;  Ezra,  born  July  4,  1889;  Henry  Almond,  born 
December  18,  1891;  and  the  two  youngest,  Nehemiah  and 
Horace  Virgilius,  both  died,  in  childhood. 

David  P.  Parker  spent  his  boyhood  on  a North  Carolina 
farm.  He  grew  up  in  a home  of  wholesome  ideals  but  of 
limited  comforts  and  few  advantages  except  such  as  the 
members  were  able  to  secure  for  themselves.  He  at- 
tended the  public  schools  in  Johnston  County,  the  Tur- 
lington Institute  at  Smithfield  in  that  state,  and  was 
graduated  with  the  class  of  1900  and  the  degree  A.  B. 
from  the  State  University  of  North  Carolina  at  Chapel 
Hill.  In  1901  he  was  given  the  degree  of  Master  of 
Arts.  He  distinguished  himself  as  an  orator  and  debater 
while  in  university,  and  in  1900  won  the  Willie  P.  Man- 
gum  medal  for  oratory,  and  was  also  one  of  the  successful 
North  Carolina  debaters  in  the  interstate  debating  con- 
test between  North  Carolina  and  Georgia.  His  scholar- 
ship standing  while  in  university  is  well  indicated  by  the 
fact  that  he  is  a Phi  Beta  Kappa,  being  a member  of  the 
Alpha  Chapter  of  North  Carolina.  Though  he  was  leader 
in  school  and  university  circles,  he  paid  most  of  his  way 
by  teaching  between  terms.  He  was  a teacher  in  the 
states  of  North  Carolina  and  Texas  from  1893  to  1909, 
held  several  superintendences  in  Texas  and  in  1907  was 
a member  of  the  state  board  of  summer  normal  exam- 
iners of  Texas.  In  1909  he  removed  to  Oklahoma  City, 
and  on  December  9,  1909,  was  admitted  to  practice  by 
the  Supreme  Court  at  Guthrie. 

In  January,  1910,  Mr.  Parker  located  at  Buffalo,  Har- 
per County,  and  the  favorable  impression  he  created  soon 
brought  him  a paying  and  profitable  practice.  The  same 
year  he  located  there  he  was  nominated  on  the  republican 
ticket  and  elected  county  attorney  of  Harper  County,  and 
was  re-elected  to  the  office  in  1912.  His  administration 
was  characterized  by  exceptional  vigor  and  impartiality, 
but  after  four  years  of  service  he  declined  a third  nomi- 
nation, and  resumed  the  private  practice  of  law,  in  which 
he  is  still  engaged. 

On  July  30,  1905,  Mr.  Parker  married  at  El  Paso, 


Texas,  Miss  Mary  Louise  Potts,  daughter  of  Charles  B. 
and  Elizabeth  (Shirley)  Potts.  Her  father  was  born  in 
England  and  her  mother  in  Mississippi.  Mrs.  Parker 
was  born  April  7,  1880,  in  Parker  County,  Texas.  To 
their  marriage  have  been  born  three  children.  David 
Preston,  Jr.,  born  September  20,  1907 ; Elizabeth  Shirley, 
born  May  27,  1911 ; and  Annette,  born  October  25,  1914. 
Mr.  Parker  is  affiliated  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  and 
he  and  his  family  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian 
Church,  of  which  he  is  an  elder.  He  has  been  president 
of  the  Harper  County  Sunday  School  Association  con- 
tinuously since  1911,  and  takes  great  interest  in  the 
work. 

John  Williams  Duke,  M.  D.  A widely  known  and 
prominent  physician  and  surgeon  of  Guthrie,  Dr.  John 
W.  Duke  has  practiced  medicine  in  Oklahoma  for  many 
years  and  has  been  vitally  identified  with  some  of  the 
larger  movements  connected  with  the  public  health  of 
the  state.  He  is  also  one  of  the  most  prominent  Masons 
in  the  State  of  Oklahoma. 

He  was  born  at  Scoby,  Mississippi,  June  5,  1868,  and  , 
received  his  literary  and  professional  education  in  his 
native  state  and  in  Tennessee  and  New  York.  In  1891 
he  graduated  M.  D.  from  the  Memphis  Hospital  Medical 
College,  and  in  1893  received  a diploma  from  the  medical 
department  of  the  University  of  New  York.  Since  then 
he  has  been  in  active  practice  and  most  of  his  years 
have  been  spent  in  Oklahoma.  He  is  a man  of  wide 
experience,  of  unusual  natural  gifts,  and  a natural 
leader  in  his  profession. 

From  1911  to  1915  Doctor  Duke  served  as  secretary  of 
the  Oklahoma  State  Board  of  Medical  Examiners,  and 
at  the  present  time  is  state  commissioner  of  health  at 
Guthrie.  He  served  that  city  as  mayor  from  1905  to 
1907.  For  ten  years  he  was  surgeon-general  of  the  Okla- 
homa National  Guard. 

Doctor  Duke  is  a democrat.  He  took  his  first  degrees 
in  Masonry  in  Connecticut  about  1896.  In  1897  he 
became  a Knight  Templar  in  Shrine  Commandery  No.  8 
at  Middltown,  Connecticut,  and  in  1900  completed  the 
course  of  the  thirty-two  degrees  of  Scottish  Rite  at  Guth- 
rie. In  1909  he  was  honored  with  the  supreme  thirty- 
third  degree  in  Scottish  Rite  Masonry  at  the  House  of  the 
Temple  in  Washington,  D.  C. 

On  January  30,  1901,  in  the  State  of  Connecticut, 
Doctor  Duke  married  Isabelle  Perkins,  daughter  of  Doc- 
tor Edward  Perkins,  of  Wallingford,  Connecticut. 

William  R.  Barry,  M.  D.  A forcible  illustration  of 
pluck  and  determination  leading  a man  to  success  is  found 
in  the  career  of  Doctor  Barry  of  Bradley,  who  after 
completing  a course  in  the  Agricultural  and  Mechanical 
College  of  Mississippi  set  out  without  means  to  make 
his  way  through  a medical  school  and  establish  himself 
in  a profession.  Probably  nine-tenths  of  the  successful 
business  men  of  Oklahoma  have  won  their  way  through 
adversity  from  the  beginning  of  their  education.  Doctor 
Barry  earned  every  dollar  of  the  money  that  was  required 
to  complete  his  medical  education. 

Born  at  Oxford,  Mississippi,  January  8,  1867,  he  is 
the  son  of  James  J.  and  Margaret  E.  (Nichols)  Barry. 
His  father,  a native  of  South  Carolina,  settled  in  Mis- 
sissippi in  the  early  ’30s,  and  in  1848,  following  the  dis- 
covery of  gold  on  the  Pacific  coast,  went  to  the  California 
mines,  but  returned  before  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil 
war  to  enter  the  Confederate  army,  in  which  he  served 
three  years,  part  of  the  time  as  a captain  under  Gen- 
eral Forrest.  Captain  Barry  was  a successful  farmer 
before  and  after  the  war,  and  a well  known  man  in  his 
state.  The  grandfather  of  Doctor  Barry  was  a slave 
owner  and  a prosperous  South  Carolina  planter  before 
the  war. 


2010 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


After  completing  a common  school  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  Mississippi  Doctor  Barry  entered  the 
Agricultural  and  Mechanical  College  of  that  state,  gradu- 
ating with  the  degree  A.  B.,  July  6,  1887.  Later  for 
one  term  he  was  in  the  Memphis  Hospital  Medical  Col- 
lege at  Memphis,  Tennessee,  and  then  used  his  acquired 
knowledge  and  skill  to  practice  medicine  as  a necessary 
means  of  earning  the  money  required  for  the  completion 
of  his  training.  He  was  given  the  degree  Doctor  of 
Medicine  at  Memphis  in  1889,  and  began  his  regular 
practice  in  his  native  state.  He  next  removed  to  Camp- 
bell in  Hunt  County,  Texas,  remained  there  ten  years, 
and  in  1900  came  to  Bradley,  Oklahoma,  where  he  has 
since  been  in  practice.  Doctor  Barry  is  a successful 
man  from  a professional  standpoint,  and  his  practice 
covers  a large  and  fertile  territory  around  Bradley.  He 
is  a member  of  the  Grady  County  Medical  Society,  of 
the  Oklahoma  Medical  Society,  of  the  Southern  Medical 
Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association.  He  has 
held  the  office  of  township  treasurer  in  his  county  and 
as  chairman  of  the  board  of  education  in  his  school 
district. 

Doctor  Barry  was  married  in  Hunt  County,  Texas,  to 
Miss  Maggie  M.  Phillips.  They  are  the  parents  of  four 
children:  Lucile,  Merle,  Louise  and  an  infant  as  yet 
unnamed.  The  oldest  daughter,  aged  thirteen,  has  com- 
pleted the  eighth  grade  in  the  Bradley  public  schools. 
A brother  of  Mrs.  Barry  is  Ben  P.  Phillips,  chief  of  police 
at  Chiekasha,  Oklahoma.  Doctor  Barry  is  a member  of 
the  Presbyterian  Church,  and  of  the  Masonic  and  Odd 
Fellows  lodges,  and  is  master  of  the  former  in  Bradley. 
He  is  also  a member  of  the  Mutual  Aid  Society  for 
Agriculture.  Having  been  a factor  in  the  promotion  of 
such  public  enterprises  and  the  establishment  and  bet- 
terment of  public  schools,  highway  building,  town 
improvement,  he  ranks  among  the  leading  and  most  sub- 
stantial men  in  the  eastern  part  of  Grady  County. 

Correl  C.  DeGraw.  The  present  court  clerk  of 
Beaver  County,  one  of  the  most  popular  residents  of 
that  section  of  the  state,  is  an  original  Oklahoma  eiglity- 
■ niner,  though  he  was  only  a child  at  the  time.  The  De- 
Graw family  settled  in  Kingfisher  County,  and  its  mem- 
bers have  been  closely  associated  with  developments  here 
for  more  than  a quarter  of  a century.  The  DeGraw 
family  came  to  Oklahoma  from  Kansas.  Correl  C.  De- 
Graw was  born  in  a stone  house  on  a farm  in  Potta- 
watomie County,  Kansas,  July  26,  1879,  a son  of  Byron 
and  Anna  (Bothsell)  DeGraw.  His  father  was  born  in 
1847  in  Iowa,  a son  of  Joseph  and  Jane  DeGraw,  the 
former  a native  of  Canada  and  the  latter  of  Pennsyl- 
vania. Byron  DeGraw  has  been  a farmer  all  his  life, 
combining  that  occupation  with  stock  raising.  He  went 
from  Iowa  to  Kansas  in  1872,  lived  in  Pottawatomie 
County  a number  of  years,  and  in  1883  moved  to  Staf- 
ford County,  where  he  was  engaged  in  farming  until  the 
notable  year  of  1889.  Though  he  was  not  a participant 
in  the  grand  opening  of  Oklahoma,  he  arrived  in  August, 
about  four  months  after  the  opening,  and  secured  a tract 
of  government  land  in  Kingfisher  County  near  the  pres- 
ent City  of  Hennessey.  That  was  his  home  for  eight 
years,  and  he  is  now  engaged  in  farming  in  Dewey 
County.  Miss  Anna  Bothsell,  whom  he  married  in  1876, 
was  born  September  22,  1852,  at  Quincy,  Illinois,  a daugh- 
ter of  Joseph  Bothsell,  also  a native  of  Illinois.  Mrs. 
DeGraw  died  August  17,  1897,  at  Hennessey,  Oklahoma. 
There  were  seven  children,  four  sons  and  three  daughters, 
mentioned  briefly  as  follows:  Correl  C. ; Joseph  Parks, 
born  January  10,  1881,  now  a farmer  in  Beaver  County; 
Guy,  born  August  20,  1884,  a farmer  in  Blaine  County, 
Oklahoma;  Flossie,  born  December  23,  1887,  married  in 


1903  John  Dugan,  and  they  now  live  in  Blaine  County; 
Ionia,  born  December  23,  1889,  and  died  January  23, 
1890;  Bessie,  born  March  3,  1893,  who  was  married  in 
1914,  and  lived  in  Kansas  City,  Missouri;  Rector,  born 
March  15,  1895,  and  now  engaged  in  farming  in  Dewey 
County. 

Correl  C.  DeGraw  was  ten  years  of  age  when  he  came 
to  Oklahoma  with  his  parents.  His  subsequent  education 
was  obtained  from  the  public  schools  of  Hennessey,  and 
his  early  youth  was  surrounded  by  the  conditions  typical 
of  an  Oklahoma  farm  during  the  decade  of  the  ’90s.  In 

1904  Mr.  DeGraw  took  the  Civil  service  examination 
the  Indian  school  service,  and  soon  afterward  was  ap- 
pointed an  industrial  teacher  at  the  Pierre  Indian 
Schools  in  Pierre,  South  Dakota.  He  remained  in  that 
work  in  South  Dakota  for  three  years.  In  1907,  having 
returned  to  Oklahoma,  he  located  at  Beaver,  and  en- 
gaged in,  merchandising.  In  1911  he  bought  a farm 
two  miles  north  of  Beaver,  and  that  is  where  he  now 
makes  his  home. 

For  a number  of  years  he  has  taken  an  active  part 
in  republican  politics,  and  it  was  on  the  republican  ticket 
that  he  was  chosen  to  his  present  office.  In  1912  he  was 
appointed  clerk  of  the  County  Court  of  Beaver  County, 
an  office  lie  held  two  years.  In  1914  he  was  elected 
court  clerk  of  the  same  county.  He  is  a member  of  the 
Masonic  Order  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fel- 
lows. 

On  August  1,  1900,  at  Watonga,  Oklahoma,  Mr.  DeGraw 
married  Miss  Laura  Boston,  who  was  born  September 
21,  1882,  in  Johnson  County,  Missouri,  a daughter  of 
James  W.  and  Eva  (Thistle)  Boston,  both  of  them  natives 
of  St.  Louis.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  De  Graw  are  the  parents  of 
three  children,  two  sons  and  one  daughter,  namely: 
Correl  James,  born  May  14,  1901,  at  O’Keene,  Okla- 
homa; Alva  Byron,  born  September  11,  1904,  at  O’Keene; 
and  Fern,  born  July  10,  1910,  at  Beaver. 

George  E.  Kerr,  M.  D.  Now  established  in  a suc- 
cessful practice  as  a physician  and  surgeon  at  Chat- 
tanooga, Doctor  Kerr  is  one  of  the  older  physicians  of 
Oklahoma,  having  begun  practice  in  Grant  County  fifteen 
years  ago.  He  was  also  one  of  the  early  settlers  of 
Chattanooga,  where  he  is  well  known  not  only  for  his 
skill  and  ability  as  a doctor  but  for  his  varied  interests 
in  the  life  and  activities  of  the  town. 

A Canadian  by  birth,  Dr.  George  E.  Kerr  was  born  at 
' Tilbury,  Ontario,  February  3,  1867.  His  grandfather, 
James  Kerr,  spent  his  life  in  County  Donegal,  Ireland, 
where  his  business  was  that  of  fisherman.  He  rose  to 
the  rank  of  colonel  in  the  English  army  under  the  great 
Duke  of  Wellington  in  the  Napoleonic  wars,  and  at  the 
decisive  battle  of  Waterloo  was  wounded.  The  son  of 
this  old  soldier  was  George  Kerr,  who  was  born  in 
County  Donegal,  Ireland,  in  1803,  and  died  at  Tilbury, 
Canada,  in  1886.  He  came  to  America  when  a young 
man  and  was  a pioneer  farmer  and  stock  raiser  at  Til- 
bury. In  politics  he  was  a conservative.  George  Kerr 
married  Julia  Weldon,  a native  of  County  Monaghan, 
Ireland,  whence  she  came  to  Tilbury  when  a young 
woman.  She  is  now  living  at  Deerfield,  Michigan.  She 
became  the  mother  of  five  children:  James,  who  is  a 

collector  of  internal  revenues  at  Windsor,  Ontario; 
Elizabeth,  whose  first  husband  was  Joseph  Daniels,  a 
farmer,  now  deceased,  and  who  is  now  living  with  John 
Witt,  a retired  farmer  at  Deerfield;  Mary,  who  married 
Jerry  Vipond,  a contractor  and  builder  at  Detroit,  Michi- 
gan ; the  fourth  child  is  a nurse  in  the  Dearborn  Hospital 
at  Dearborn,  Michigan,  and  the  youngest  is  Doctor  Kerr 
of  Chattanooga. 

The  public  schools  of  Tilbury,  his  birthplace,  supplied 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2011 


Doctor  Kerr  with  his  early  education,  and  he  graduated 
from  the  Chatham  High  School  with  the  class  of  1885. 
Four  years  later,  in  1889,  he  finished  the  course  of  the 
Komoeo  Seminary  at  Gault,  Canada,  and  while  there 
matriculated  for  a course  in  the  Detroit  College  of 
Medicine,  where  he  was  given  an  excellent  preparation 
for  his  chosen  calling  and  was  graduated  M.  D.  with 
the  class  of  1894.  For  a year  and  a half  Doctor  Kerr 
had  the  many  benefits  gained  by  service  as  interne  in  St. 
Mary’s  Hospital,  and  in  1895  took  up  active  practice  at 
: Deerfield,  Michigan,  where  he  remained  until  1900.  Dur- 

ing the  first  seven  years  of  his  residence  in  Oklahoma 
Doctor  Kerr  was  located  in  Grant  County.  In  August, 
1907,  he  moved  to  Chattanooga,  where  he  was  one  of  the 
first  physicians  and  surgeons  to  locate,  and  is  now  well 
established  in  his  business,  having  his  offices  in  the 
I Chattanooga  State  Bank  Building.  He  is  a member  of 
the  County  and  State  Medical  societies  and  the  American 
Medical  Association,  and  is  now  serving  as  deputy  health 
I officer. 

Doctor  Kerr  was  a member  of  the  school  board  at 
Chattanooga  up  to  1915.  He  is  a republican  in  politics, 
I is  past  master  of  Chattanooga  Lodge  No.  349,  Ancient, 
I Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  a member  of  Chattanooga 
Chapter  of  the  Eastern  Star,  of  the  Modern  Woodmen 
[ of  America,  the  Woodmen  of  the  World,  the  Woodmen 
I Circle  and  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen  at 
Chattanooga  and  was  formerly  affiliated  with  the  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 

In  1904,  in  Grant  County,  Oklahoma,  Doctor  Kerr  mar- 
ried Miss  Mary  Kearney,  who  formerly  lived  in  Illinois. 
Their  four  children  are:  Irene  and  Mabel,  both  attend- 

ing the  public  schools  at  Chattanooga;  George,  who  died 
in  infancy,  and  James,  the  youngest. 

W.  B.  Tilton,  M.  D.  The  roll  of  medical  practitioners 
of  Custer  County  includes  the  name  of  Dr.  W.  B.  Tilton, 
of  Clinton,  a capable  representative  of  his  profession  who 
has  been  engaged  in  practice  since  1912.  He  came  to 
Clinton  in  December,  1913,  and  since  that  time  has  been 
successful  in  building  up  a very  satisfying  practice  in 
medicine  and  surgery  and  in  winning  the  confidence  of 
the  people  of  his  adopted  field  of  labor. 

Doctor  Tilton  belongs  to  a family  which  has  been  in 
America  since  colonial  days,  having  been  founded  in 
Maine  by  an  emigrant  from  England.  He  was  born  at 
Allendale,  Missouri,  June  3,  1884,  and  is  a son  of  John  L. 
and  Margaret  (McElvain)  Tilton.  John  L.  Tilton  was 
born  on  a farm  in  Harrison  County,  Missouri,  in  1861, 
and  when  a small  boy  was  taken  by  his  parents  to  the 
Town  of  Allendale,  where  he  grew  to  manhood,  secured 
a public  school  education,  and  established  himself  in 
, business  as  a merchant.  Later  he  also  branched  out  into 
banking  and  became  one  of  the  prominent  and  influential 
men  of  Allendale,  where  he  resided  until  1896,  in  that 
year  removing  to  his  present  home  at  Grant  City.  Here 
also  he  is  well  known  in  commercial  and  financial  circles, 
being  the  proprietor  of  a store  and  interested  in  a bank- 
ing concern.  He  is  a member  of  the  Baptist  Church,  is 
well  known  in  Masonry,  in  which  he  has  attained  the 
thirty-second  degree,  and  is  also  an  Odd  Fellow.  At 
Allendale  he  was  married  to  Miss  Margaret  McElvain, 
who  was  born  in  Worth  County,  Missouri,  in  1863,  and 
they  have  been  the  parents  of  four  children,  as  follows: 
Dr.  W.  D. ; Grace,  who  is  the  wife  of  Rev.  W.  A.  Schullen- 
berger,  pastor  of  the  Christian  Church  at  Mexico,  Mis- 
souri ; Calvin,  who  resides  with  his  parents  at  Grant  City, 
Missouri;  and  Hale,  who  is  a student  at  the  Grant  City 
High  School. 

Early  in  life  W.  B.  Tilton  decided  upon  a professional 
career,  and  with  this  end  in  view  set  about  to  fully  pre- 
pare himself  for  his  vocation.  After  attending  the  pub- 


lic schools,  he  entered  the  famous  William  Jewell  College, 
at  Liberty,  Missouri,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in 
1906,  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts,  and  following 
this  he  attended  the  medical  department  of  the  University 
of  Chicago  for  two  terms.  He  was  graduated  from 
Northwestern  University,  Evanston,  Illinois,  in  1912, 
with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine,  and  his  first  field 
of  practice  was  the  town  of  Freeport,  Illinois,  where  he 
spent  one  year.  In  1913  he  first  came  to  Oklahoma,  as 
offering  a better  field  for  the  display  of  his  abilities 
and  learning,  and  remained  at  Erick,  Beckham  County, 
until  December  of  that  year,  which  time  marked  his 
arrival  at  Clinton.  Here  he  has  well  appointed  offices 
in  the  Schaffer  Building,  equipped  with  all  modern 
appliances.  He  is  a constant  student,  a careful  prac- 
titioner and  a skilled  surgeon,  and  holds  membership  in 
the  Custer  County  Medical  Society,  the  Oklahoma  Medical 
Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association.  His 
religious  connection  is  with  the  Baptist  Church.  Doctor 
Tilton  is  unmarried. 

James  M.  McComas,  M.  D.  Elk  City,  the  metropolis 
of  Beckham  County,  has  been  fortunate  in  gaining  as 
one  of  the  leading  representatives  of  the  medical  pro- 
fession in  this  county  Dr.  James  Milton  McComas,  who 
has  here  been  engaged  in  general  practice  as  a physician 
and  surgeon  of  marked  ability  and  zeal  since  the  spring 
of  1901,  and  whose  character  and  achievement  have  lent 
dignity  and  distinction  to  his  profession,  the  while  he 
stands  exponent  of  loyal  and  progressive  citizenship  and 
maintains  lively  and  helpful  interest  in  community  affairs 
in  general. 

Doctor  McComas  is  a scion  of  a sterling  family  that 
was  founded  in  Virginia  in  the  colonial  era  of  our 
national  history,  and  the  lineage  traces  back  to  staunch 
Scottish  origin.  He  himself  is  a native  of  Kentucky, 
and  his  father,  Charles  Lewis  McComas,  was  born  in 
Greenbrier  County,  Virginia,  in  1795.  In  the  colonial 
days  two  brothers  of  the  name  immigrated  to  America, 
from  the  north  of  Ireland,  one  settling  in  Virginia  and 
the  other  in  Maryland,  the  Virginian  figuring  as  the 
ancestor  of  him  whose  name  introduces  this  article. 
Becoming  a resident  of  Kentucky  when  young,  Charles 
L.  McComas  was  there  married,  in  Morgan  County,  to 
Miss  Clara  Wells,  who  was  born  in  that  county  in  1796, 
and  from  the  old  Bluegrass  State  they  finally  removed  to 
Indiana,  where  Mr.  McComas  became  a prosperous 
farmer.  He  later  removed  with  his  family  to  Illinois, 
where  his  wife  died  in  1856  and  where  he  himself  passed 
to  the  life  eternal  in  1860,  both  having  been  zealous  and 
devout  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  and 
he  having  been  for  many  years  staunchly  arrayed  as  an 
old-line  whig  in  politics.  He  prepared  himself  for  the 
legal  profession  and  served  for  a protracted  period  in 
the  office  of  justice  of  the  peace.  Of  the  children  the 
eldest  was  William  Hamilton,  who  went  to  California  in 
the  early  days,  the  other  members  of  the  family  having 
eventually  lost  all  trace  of  him;  Sarah  Ann,  Frances 
Araminta,  Elizabeth,  Louisa,  Clinton,  and  Albert  S.  are 
deceased;  George  met  his  death  in  a railroad  accident; 
Charles  Carroll  resides  in  the  City  of  Los  Angeles, 
California,  where  he  has  long  held  prestige  as  a repre- 
sentative member  of  the  bar  and  where  he  formerly 
served  as  prosecuting  attorney  of  Los  Angeles  County; 
and  Dr.  James  M.,  of  this  review,  is  the  youngest  of  the 
number. 

Doctor  McComas  was  afforded  in  his  youth  the  ad- 
vantages of  the  common  schools  of  the  City  of  Louisville, 
Kentucky,  and  at  Danville,  that  state,  he  was  graduated 
in  Central  College  as  a member  of  the  class  of  1867. 
During  this  period  he  was  also  giving  close  attention 


2012 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


to  the  study  of  medicine,  under  the  effective  preceptor- 
ship  of  leading  physicians  in  his  native  state,  besides 
which  he  availed  himself  of  the  advantages  afforded  in 
the  city  dispensary  of  Louisville.  He  has  received  the 
degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine  from  each  the  medical 
department  of  the  University  of  Pennsylvania,  the  Ken- 
tucky School  of  Medicine,  the  Kentucky  Hospital  College 
in  Louisville,  and  the  medical  department  of  the  Uni- 
versity of  Louisville,  Kentucky.  This  statement  shows 
his  zeal  in  fortifying  himself  through  the  best  available 
post-graduate  courses,  and  his  success  in  the  practical 
work  of  his  exacting  profession  has  been  on  a parity 
with  his  recognized  ability  and  unfaltering  devotion  to 
his  chosen  vocation. 

Doctor  McComas  initiated  the  practice  of  his  pro- 
fession at  Sturgeon,  Boone  County,  Missouri,  later  prac- 
ticed in  St.  Louis,  and  from  1888  to  1891  he  was  a 
successful  practitioner  in  the  City  of  Los  Angeles,  Cali- 
fornia. He  then  returned  to  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  where 
he  continued  his  professional  labors  until  the  autumn  of 
1900,  when  he  came  to  Oklahoma  Territory,  his  residence 
at  Elk  City  having  continued  since  April  of  the  following 
year,  where  he  holds  precedence  as  a pioneer  physician 
and  surgeon  as  well  as  one  of  the  leaders  in  the  ranks  of 
his  profession  in  this  section  of  the  state.  His  offices  are 
maintained  in  the  Postoffice  Building  and  he  has  at  all 
times  stood  exemplar  of  the  most  advanced  thought  and 
most  approved  methods  in  medical  and  surgical  science, 
with  deep  appreciation  of  the  responsibilities  of  his  chosen 
vocation  and  with  insistent  determination  to  uphold  right 
loyally  its  unwritten  ethical  code,  so  that  he  has  always 
commanded  the  respect  and  confidence  of  his  confreres 
as  well  as  of  the  public  in  general.  In  1906  the  doctor 
did  effective  post-graduate  work  in  connection  with  the 
clinics  at  the  great  Augustana  Hospital  in  the  City  of 
Chicago,  and  he  has  on  several  other  occasions  taken 
similar  post-graduate  work  in  leading  institutions  in 
that  city  and  St.  Louis.  He  was  one  of  the  foremost  in 
effecting  the  organization  of  the  Beckham  County  Medical 
Society,  of  which  he  was  elected  the  first  president — an 
office  which  he  held  consecutively  until  1915,  since  which 
time  he  has  not  abated  in  the  least  his  active  zeal  in  the 
work  of  the  society.  He  is  identified  also  with  the 
Oklahoma  State  Medical  Society,  the  Southwestern 
Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association. 

Doctor  McComas  is  unwavering  in  his  allegiance  to 
the  democratic  party  and  though  he  has  had  no  desire 
for  public  office  his  civic  loyalty  caused  him  to  give 
most  effective  service  during  his  incumbency  of  the  posi- 
tion of  member  of  the  Elk  City  Board  of  Education.  He 
is  affiliated  with  Elk  City  Lodge  No.  182,  Ancient  Free 
and  Accepted  Masons;  Elk  City  Chapter  No.  50,  Royal 
Arch  Masons;  and  Elk  City  Commandery,  No.  15,  Knights 
Templar. 

Of  the  two  children  of  the  first  marriage  of  Doctor 
McComas  the  elder  is  Arthur  Bochford,  who  was  grad- 
uated in  the  University  of  Missouri  with  the  degree  of 
Bachelor  of  Arts,  after  which  he  was  graduated  in  the 
medical  department  of  St.  Louis  University,  with  the 
degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine.  He  is  now  engaged  in 
the  successful  practice  of  his  profession  at  Sturgeon, 
Missouri.  The  younger  son,  Judge  Edwin  Gaillard 
McComas,  is  now  serving  on  the  bench  of  the  County 
Court  of  Beckham  County,  Oklahoma,  and  is  individually 
mentioned  on  other  pages  of  this  work. 

A.  T.  Brown  was  in  that  great  concourse  of  people 
who  in  Oklahoma  are  known  as  Eighty-niners.  He 
developed  a homestead  in  Canadian  County.  He  was  a 
pioneer  of  the  Kiowa  and  Comanche  Indian  country, 
where  other  farms  were  developed.  He  became  sub- 


sequently the  leading  merchant  of  the  town  of  Bradley. 
These  are  the  primary  facts  in  the  career  of  Mr.  Brown 
in  Oklahoma.  He  is  now  senior  member  of  the  firm 
of  Brown  & Stephens,  dealers  in  general  merchandise  at 
Bradley.  His  success  as  a merchant  is  best  attested  by 
the  fact  that  the  firm  has  one  of  the  largest  stores 
handling  general  merchandise  among  any  of  the  small 
towns  of  Oklahoma,  and  in  addition  operates'  three  other 
stores  in  the  same  town,  carrying  flour,  feed  and  furni- 
ture. The  firm’s  trade  is  well  distributed  over  a large 
section  of  the  fertile  valley  of  the  Wachita  River  in 
one  of  the  most  productive  and  prosperous  regions  in  the 
state. 

A.  T.  Brown  was  born  in  Clermont  County,  Ohio,  in 
1875,  a son  of  Adam  and  Catherine  (Garland)  Brown. 
His  father  is  also  a native  of  Ohio,  and  with  his  family 
came  to  Oklahoma  at  the  time  of  the  first  opening 
in  1889,  settling  near  Yukon  in  Canadian  County,  where 
he  located  a homestead  and  gained  his  title  from  the 
United  States  Government.  He  assisted  in  rebuilding 
the  United  States  Government  remount  station  at  Fort 
Reno,  and  has  done  other  important  construction  work 
in  the  state.  A brother  of  Adam  Brown  is  W.  J.  Brown, 
one  of  the  best  known  pioneers  of  the  original  Oklahoma 
and  an  influential  capitalist  living  at  Kingfisher.  A. 
T.  Brown  has  four  brothers  and  two  sisters:  G.  S.  Brown, 
who  is  associated  with  the  National  Livestock  Commis- 
sion Company  at  Oklahoma  City;  G.  E.  Brown,  a farmer 
at  Wynnewood,  Oklahoma;  W.  O.  Brown,  a plumber  in 
the  employ  of  the  National  Stockyards  Company  at  Okla- 
homa City;  G.  F.  Brown,  a farmer  near  Marlow;  Mrs. 

E.  J.  Bailey,  wife  of  a farmer  near  Rush  Springs, 
Oklahoma;  and  Mrs.  Wesley  Armstrong,  whose  husband 
is  a merchant  at  Marlow. 

Mr.  A.  T.  Brown  received  his  public  school  education 
in  Ohio,  Kansas  and  Oklahoma,  and  began  life  for  him- 
self as  a farmer  in  Canadian  County.  At  the  opening 
of  the  Kiowa  and  Comanche  Indian  country  in  1901  he 
settled  in  Comanche  County  on  a farm  twelve  miles 
west  of  Marlow.  There  he  bought  other  land  and 
successfully  farmed  and  raised  livestock  until  1912,  at 
which  date  he  transferred  his  vocation  from  farming  to 
mercantile  lines.  He  came  into  Bradley  and  soon  took 
the  lead  as  a merchant.  He  was  associated  with  J. 

F.  Bell  until  the  latter’s  retirement  from  business  on 
March  1,  1915. 

Mr.  Brown  was  married  in  1900  in  Ohio  to  Miss  Lorena 
Ball.  Their  three  sons,  Adam  F.,  Loren  B.  and  Truman, 
are  all  now  attending  public  schools.  Mr.  Brown  is  presi- 
dent of  the  board  of  education  at  Bradley,  and  one  of 
that  town’s  most  enthusiastic  boosters.  Besides  his 
business  he  operates  two  fine  farms  in  the  western  part 
of  Grady  County.  It  is  interesting  to  note  that  his 
life  in  Oklahoma  began  under  primitive  conditions  when 
Indian  tepees  were  more  frequent  than  houses  and  red 
men  more  numerous  than  white.  Homes  were  far  apart, 
and  it  was  not  unusual  for  the  inhabitants  to  be  fright- 
ened by  rumors  of  Indian  raids.  Now  he  lives  in  a highly 
civilized  and  prosperous  community,  the  result  of  trans- 
formations wrought  by  the  last  quarter  of  a century, 
and  has  a growing  and  happy  family  and  is  prospering. 

Charles  W.  Morrison,  who  has  been  a resident  of 
Hinton,  Oklahoma,  since  1902,  is  a Baptist  minister 
by  profession  and  in  addition  to  his  work  as  a preacher 
he  is  serving  most  efficiently  as  town  clerk  of  Hinton. 
He  also  owns  and  operates  a finely  improved  farm  of 
160  acres  just  east  of  Hinton  and  he  has  ever  been  on  the 
alert  to  forward  all  measures  and  enterprises  projected 
for  the  good  of  the  general  welfare. 

Of  Scotch  origin,  Reverend  Morrison  is  the  grandson 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2013 


d 


« 

ES 

Id 

at 

to 

ok 

J. 

on 


in, 

isi- 

his 

ait 

his 

ken 

red 

ait, 

-to- 

ft 

ns- 

my, 

tag. 

: of 
star 
del 
don. 
i of 
i the 
icted 

dson 


of  Tandy  Morrison,  who  came  from  Scotland  to  Virginia 
with  his  parents  when  he  was  a mere  child.  As  a young 
man  Tandy  Morrison  removed  from  the  Old  Dominion 
commonwealth  to  Hancock  County,  Kentucky,  where  he 
was  successfully  engaged  in  farming  until  his  demise. 
John  A.  Morrison,  father  of  the  subject  of  this  sketch, 
was  born  in  Hancock  County,  Kentucky,  in  1835,  and  he 
is  now  living  at  Horse  Branch,  Kentucky,  where  he  has 
followed  agricultural  pursuits  all  his  life.  He  is  a mem- 
ber of  the  Baptist  Church  and  in  politics  gives  his  alle- 
giance to  the  democratic  party.  He  married,  first, 
Basha  Barnett,  a native  of  Kentucky,  where  she  was 
born  in  1837  and  where  she  died  in  1860.  This  union 
was  prolific  of  four  children:  Charles  W.  is  the  subject 
of  this  sketch ; Edward  M.  is  a printer  and  resides  at 
Evansville,  Indiana;  and  Mary  C.  and  Aremus  both  died 
young.  For  his  second  wife  Mr.  Morrison  married 
Bettie  Stevens,  who  died  in  Kentucky  and  who  is  sur- 
vived by  one  daughter,  Ida. 

Reverend  Morrison  was  born  at  Owensboro,  Davis 
County,  Kentucky,  November  1,  1856,  and  he  was 
reared  to  maturity  on  his  father’s  farm.  He  attended 
the  public  schools  of  Davis  County  and  studied  for  the 
Baptist  ministry.  In  1884  he  left  Owensboro  and  located 
in  Comanche  County,  Kansas,  where  he  was  engaged  in 
agricultural  pursuits  until  1889.  He  then  came  to  Okla- 
homa and  was  a pioneer  Baptist  minister  in  the  vicinity 
of  Oklahoma  City.  In  1892  he  removed  to  Yukon, 
Oklahoma,  preaching  in  a Baptist  Church  there  for  the 
ensuing  eight  years.  From  1900  to  1902  he  preached  in 
Watonga,  Blaine  County,  Oklahoma,  and  in  the  latter 
year  he  came  to  Hinton,  where  he  has  since  maintained 
his  home.  He  came  to  this  section  before  the  Town  of 
Hinton  was  started  and  bought  a farm  of  160  acres 
right  on  the  edge  of  the  townsite.  This  farm  is  splen- 
didly improved  with  modern  buildings  and  cotton,  oats 
and  Kaffir  corn  are  raised,  in  addition  to  which  a specialty 
is  ma<je  of  livestock.  Reverend  Morrison  is  a democrat  in 
politics  and  since  1907  he  has  been  town  clerk  of  Hinton. 
He  still  preaches  and  in  this  connection  alternates  at 
Greenfield  and  Laverty. 

In  Kentucky,  in  1876,  Reverend  Morrison  married  Miss 
Annie  Phillips,  a daughter  of  J.  B.  Phillips,  a farmer  in 
Hancock  County,  Kentucky.  Reverend  and  Mrs.  Morri- 
son have  two  children : Floy  E.  is  assistant  cashier  in  the 
Hinton  State  Bank;  and  Zada  Belle  is  the  wife  of  L.  E. 
Brown,  postmaster  at  Tuttle,  Oklahoma. 

Reverend  Morrison  is  a man  of  fine  mentality  and 
jroad  human  sympathy.  He  thoroughly  enjoys  home  life 
md  takes  great  pleasure  in  the  society  of  his  family  and 
iriends.  He  is  always  courteous,  kindly  and  affable, 
md  those  who  know  him  personally  accord  him  the 
lighest  esteem.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Morrison’s  lives  have  been 
Exemplary  in  all  respects  and  they  have  ever  supported 
hose  interests  which  are  calculated  to  uplift  and  benefit 
lumanity,  while  their  own  high  moral  worth  is  deserving 
>f  the  highest  commendation. 

Lawbence  Niles  Houston.  A pioneer  attorney  and 
ine  of  the  oldest  members  of  the  Enid  bar,  Lawrence 
liles  Houston  has  been  much  in  public  life,  and  prob- 
,bly  no  citizen  of  Enid  has  more  stanch  friends  and  well 
Fishers.  For  about  eight  years  Mr.  Houston  was  register 
if  the  land  office  at  Guthrie,  and  in  that  federal  office 
le  satisfied  the  predictions  of  his  friends  who  had  so 
nany  reasons  to  appreciate  his  public  ability  through  his 
arlier  work  as  city  attorney  at  Enid. 

Lawrence  N.  Houston  was  born  in  Manhattan,  Kansas, 
'uly  9,  1858.  His  father,  Samuel  D.  Houston,  was  prom- 
nent  in  the  early  days  of  “Bleeding  Kansas,”  and  had 
! ;one  to  that  vexed  territory  in  1853  from  Ohio.  Samuel 


D.  Houston  was  a cousin  of  the  great  Texas  statesman, 
Sam  Houston,  and  represented  a family  of  Scotch-Irish 
ancestry,  originally  settled  in  Pennsylvania  and  furnish- 
ing many  ministers  and  lawyers  in  the  different  genera- 
tions. Samuel  D.  Houston  was  the  first  receiver  of  the 
land  office  at  Junction  City,  Kansas,  and  for  seventeen 
years  gave  a capable  administration  to  that  position. 
In  1859  he  was  a member  of  the  Kansas  Constitutional 
Convention,  associated  with  John  J.  Ingalls,  Gen.  James 
G.  Blunt,  and  other  prominent  Kansans  at  that  time. 
He  made  himself  a prominent  figure  in  the  political  life 
of  early  Kansas,  and  was  one  of  the  best  known  resi- 
dents of  Manhattan.  At  the  beginning  of  the  war  he 
abandoned  his  duties  as  receiver  of  the  land  office  in 
order  to  enlist  at  Fort  Leavenworth.  Lincoln  ordered 
him  under  arrest  and  sent  him  back  to  his  official  duties 
at  Junction  City  under  a guard  of  soldiers.  The  Presi- 
dent believed  his  services  were  more  important  in  that 
office  than  they  would  be  in  the  army.  Later  in  life  he 
removed  to  Kingfisher  and  also  lived  at  Enid  for  a 
time,  but  died  at  his  old  home  city,  Manhattan,  at  the 
age  of  ninety-two.  Samuel  D.  Houston  married  an 
Ohio  lady,  a well  educated  woman,  who  in  the  early  days 
taught  school  at  Weston,  Missouri.  She  was  devoted  to 
her  home,  reared  a family  of  seven  children,  and  was  an 
active  church  worker. 

L.  N.  Houston  grew  up  in  Kansas,  attended  the  State 
Agricultural  College  at  Manhattan,  and  at  the  age  of 
twenty  was  admitted  to  the  bar  and  began  practice 
at  Concordia.  He  was  county  clerk  of  Cloud  County  six 
years  and  assistant  county  attorney  there  for  four  years. 
While  in  that  section  of  Kansas  he  made  a name  for  him- 
self both  in  the  law  and  in  polities,  and  lived  there 
from  1877  to  1893.  He  had  served  as  census  enumerator 
and  in  other  capacities  became  well  known  at  Concordia. 

Mr.  Houston  participated  in  the  opening  of  the  Chero- 
kee strip  on  September  16,  1893.  He  came  to  Enid  on 
a cattle  train  from  Hennessey,  and  almost  at  once  took 
up  the  practice  of  law,  so  that  he  is  now  one  of  the 
oldest  attorneys  in  the  city.  For  four  years  he  was 
city  attorney,  a period  in  which  the  most  important 
public  improvements  were  inaugurated.  An  Enid  paper 
recently  called  attention  to  the  fact  that  he  furnished 
the  legal  advice  and  drew  up  the  contract  by  which 
the  Frisco  Railway  got  $25,000  of  the  waterworks  funds 
in  return  for  running  the  railway  to  Enid.  For  this 
service  Mr.  Houston  received  a salary  of  ten  dollars  a 
month,  with  no  extras  for  clerk’s  hire  or  stenographer. 
The  same  paper  gives  an  interesting  account  of  how  he 
came  to  occupy  the  office  of  register  of  the  land  office 
at  Guthrie.  In  1902  the  republicans  held  a county  con- 
vention in  which  Mr.  Houston'  was  chosen  chairman  of 
the  county  central  committee.  During  the  four  years  in 
that  office  he  filled  the  court  house  with  republicans,  and 
in  1904  was  chosen  to  manage  the  republican  campaign, 
with  the  result  that  Bird  McGuire  was  elected  to  con- 
gress. Congressman  McGuire  rewarded  the  services  of 
Mr.  Houston  by  securing  his  appointment  as  register 
of  the  Guthrie  Land  Office.  President  Roosevelt  nomi- 
nated him  to  that  office  in  1906,  and  he  served  as  such 
until  April,  1914.  Though  with  two  years  more  to 
serve  he  voluntarily  resigned,  and  returned  to  his  former 
home  in  Enid  and  has  resumed  the  private  practice  of 
law.  Mr.  Houston  is  interested  in  the  development  of  oil 
fields  in  Eastern  Oklahoma,  and  has  made  his  mark  as  a 
lawyer  and  public  spirited  citizen.  Having  lived  in 
Oklahoma  for  more  than  twenty  years  he  has  sound 
reasons  for  his  splendid  faith  in  its  great  future. 

In  1880  at  Savannah,  Missouri,  Mr.  Houston  married 
Miss  Alice  Selecman.  She  was  born  in  Kentucky,  but  re- 
ceived most  of  her  education  in  Missouri,  being  a gradu- 
ate of  the  University  of  Missouri.  Mrs.  Houston  is  active 


2014 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


in  the  work  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  and  in 
various  charities.  There  are  three  children:  Blanche, 

wife  of  John  P.  Cook,  president  of  the  Oklahoma  State 
Bank  of  Enid;  and  Harold  W.  and  Hazel  K., 
the  former  a banker  at  Bisby,  Oklahoma,  and  the  latter 
of  these  twins  being  the  wife  of  G.  L.  Levers,  in  the 
railway  mail  service  with  home  at  Tulsa. 

Milo  Melville  MacKellar,  M.  D.  Nearly  twenty 
years  ago  Doctor  MacKellar  was  a regular  graduate  in 
medicine,  but  devoted  nearly  all  the  following  four 
years  to  continued  study  and  an  experience  which  has 
greatly  increased  his  qualifications  for  skillful  and 
thorough  practice.  Doctor  MacKellar  has  been  in  prac- 
tice in  Oklahoma  for  the  past  fifteen  years,  and  is 
now  the  leading  physician  and  surgeon  at  Loveland,  in 
Tillman  County.  He  is  also  a leader  in  educational  move- 
ments and  popular  in  social  and  fraternal  life. 

Born  in  Fayette  County,  Iowa,  December  28,  1874, 
Doctor  MacKellar  is  a son  of  Peter  MacKellar,  and 
grandson  of  Hugh  MacKellar,  who  was  born  in  Invery 
Castle,  Scotland,  emigrated  to  America  and  lived  for 
a time  in  the  village  where  is  now  found  the  great  city 
of  Chicago,  and  subsequently  was  a pioneer  blacksmith 
and  farmer  in  the  State  of  Iowa.  Peter  MacKellar 
was  born  in  the  State  of  Ohio  in  1842,  when  a young 
man  moved  out  to  Highland,  Iowa,  was  a farmer  and 
stock  raiser  all  his  active  career,  and  quite  recently 
moved  from  Highland  to  Elgin,  Iowa,  where  he  is  now  liv- 
ing retired.  In  politics  he  is  a republican  and  an  active 
member  of  the  Presbyterian  Church.  The  maiden  name 
of  his  wife  was  Samantha  Moore,  who  was  born  in 
Ohio  in  1858,  and  died  at  Highland,  Iowa,  in  1894.  Her 
ancestors  came  from  Ireland  prior  to  the  American  Devo- 
lution, and  for  many  years  lived  in  Ohio.  The  children 
of  Peter  MacKellar  and  wife  were:  Orville  W.,  who 
was  graduated  from  the  medical  department  of  the  Iowa 
State  University  in  1885,  and  is  now  practicing  as  a 
surgeon  in  Chicago;  L.  W.,  a farmer  at  Elgin,  Iowa; 
Hattie,  who  lives  with  her  father;  Dr.  Milo  Melville; 
John  D.,  who  graduated  from  the  medical  department 
of  the  University  of  Illinois  in  1900,  is  now  a physician 
in  Chicago,  and  is  secretary  of  the  General  Medical 
College  in  that  city. 

Milo  Melville  MacKellar  attended  the  public  schools 
in  Fayette  County,  Iowa,  grew  up  on  a farm  and  in  1894 
was  graduated  Bachelor  of  Science  from  the  Upper  Iowa 
University  at  Fayette.  With  this  substantial  literary 
training  he  entered  the  College  of  Physicians  and  Sur- 
geons at  Keokuk,  Iowa,  from  which  institution  he 
obtained  his  Doctor  of  Medicine  ^degree  with  the  class  of 
1896.  The  years  from  1896  to  1900  were  spent  in  Chi- 
cago, where  he  practiced  medicine  and  was  also  instructor 
of  anatomy  in  the  General  Medical  College,  and  almost 
continuously  was  pursuing  post-graduate  studies  in  the 
Chicago  Policlinic. 

From  1900  to  1903  Doctor  MacKellar  practiced  at 
Cement,  Oklahoma,  was  then  at  Tulsa,  Oklahoma,  up  to^ 
1907,  and  has  since  become  established  in  a large  prac- 
tice, both  in  medicine  and  surgery,  at  Loveland.  He  is 
a member  of  the  Loveland  School  Board,  and  that  is 
now  one  of  the  most  important  positions  in  the  com- 
munity, since  several  districts  have  recently  been  con- 
solidated and  plans  and  preparations  are  being  made  for 
the  erection  of  a handsome  new  schoolhouse  to  serve 
this  consolidated  district.  He  is  thus  a member  of  the 
first  board  of  education  of  Consolidated  School  District 
No.  5 in  Tillman  County.  Doctor  MacKellar  is  a mem- 
ber of  the  county  and  state  medical  societies  and  the 
American  Medical  Association,  is  a republican  in  politics, 
is  master  of  Loveland  Lodge  No.  392,  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons,  and  a member  of  Frederick  Chapter 


No.  41,  Royal  Arch  Masons,  and  of  Frederick  Council, 
Royal  and  Select  Masters.  He  was  formerly  a member 
of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  the  Knights  of 
Pythias,  the  Order  of  Praetorians,  and  the  Fraternal 
Order  of  Eagles.  He  also  belongs  to  the  International 
Travelers’  Association  of  Dallas,  Texas.  On  June  3, 
1914,  at  Wichita  Falls,  Texas,  Doctor  MacKellar  married 
Miss  Jennie  Huggins.  Her  father  was  the  late  J.  H. 
Huggins,  who  at  the  time  of  his  death  was  serving 
as  president  of  the  Loveland  Farmers  and  Merchants 
State  Bank. 

Romney  E.  Johnston,  M.  D.  Other  men’s  services 
to  the  people  and  the  state  can  be  measured  by  definite 
deeds,  by  dangers  averted,  by  legislation  secured,  by 
institutions  built,  by  commerce  promoted.  The  work  of 
a doctor  is  entirely  estranged  from  these  lines  of  enter- 
prise, yet  without  his  capable,  health-giving  assistance, 
all  other  accomplishment  would  count  for  naught.  Man ’s 
greatest  prize  on  earth  is  physical  health  and  vigor : ] 
nothing  deteriorates  mental  activity  so  quickly  as  pro- 
longed sickness,  hence  the  broad  field  for  human  helpful- 
ness afforded  in  the  medical  profession.  The  successful! 
doctor  requires  something  more  than  mere  technical  train- 
ing, he  must  be  a man  of  broad  human  sympathy  and 
genial  kindliness,  capable  of  inspiring  hope  and  faith  in 
the  heart  of  his  patient.  Such  a man  is  he  whose  name  ; 
initiates  this  article. 

Dr.  Romney  E.  Johnston,  who  has  been  a resident  of 
Bridgeport,  Oklahoma,  since  1908,  was  born  at  Harrods- 
burg,  Indiana,  January  22,  1884.  He  is  a son  of  A.  H.i 
and  Debbie  Jones  (Morgan)  Johnston,  both  of  whom 
were  born  in  the  vicinity  of  Harrodsburg,  the  former  in 
1861  and  the  latter  in  1859.  A.  H.  Johnston  is  a farmer 
and  stockman  in  Monroe  County,  Indiana,  and  he  is  a 
deacon  in  the  local  Methodist  Episcopal  Church.  He  and 
his  wife  are  the  parents  of  eleven  children,  brief  data 
concerning  whom  appears  in  the  sketch  of  Judge  C.  R. 
Johnston,  of  Caddo  County. 

To  the  public  schools  of  Harrodsburg  and  Danville,; 
Indiana,  Doctor  Johnston  is  indebted  for  his  early  edu- 
cational discipline.  He  attended  the  normal  school  at 
Valparaiso,  Indiana,  for  one  year,  and  in  1904  was  matric- 
ulated as  a student  in  the  University  of  Louisville,  in 
the  medical  department  of  which  he  was  graduated  in 

1907,  duly  receiving  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine.} 
While  in  the  university  he  belonged  to  the  Students']1 
Club,  of  which  he  was  a charter  member.  Doctor  Johns- 
ton entered  upon  the  active  practice  of  his  profession  at  I 
Harrodsburg,  Indiana,  and  remained  there  until  May,; 

1908,  which  date  marks  his  advent  in  Bridgeport,  Okla- 
homa. Here  he  has  built  up  a splendid  medical  and 
surgical  practice  and  in  addition  to  his  professional  workl 
he  owns  and  conducts  the  only  drug  store  in  this  city) 
The  doctor  is  a democrat  in  politics  and  although  elected^ 
health  ofiicer  he  declined  to  serve  in  that  capacity.  He 
has  been  a member  of  the  Bridgeport  School  Board  for 
the  past  five  years  and  in  religious  faith  is  Methodist 
Episcopal.  He  affiliates  with  Bridgeport  Lodge,  No.) 
229,  Ancient,  Free  & Accepted  Masons,  of  which  he  is 
master,  and  he  formerly  belonged  to  the  Harrodsburg! 
Lodge  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 

December  14,  1909,  in  Edinburg,  Indiana,  was  solem-i 
nized  the  marriage  of  Doctor  J ohnston  to  Miss  Helen  San- 
burn,  a daughter  of  William  Sanburn,  now  deceased,  a 
painter  and  decorator  at  Bloomington,  Indiana.  Doctor 
and  Mrs.  Johnston  have  two  children:  Frank  Woodrow; 
born  April  4,  1912 ; and  Maxiene,  born  September  4,  1914 

William  Taylor.  It  has  been  but  a matter  of  coursi; 
that  many  of  the  older  commonwealths  of  the  Union  havf 
made  valuable  contribution  to  the  citizenship  of  th< 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2015 


vital  new  State  of  Oklahoma,  and  a representative 
farmer  and  progressive  citizen  of  Pawnee  County  who 
claims  the  old  Buckeye  State  as  the  place  of  his  nativity 
and  who  is  a scion  of  families  early  founded  in  the 
South,  is  William  Taylor,  the  close  of  the  year  1915 
marking  the  twentieth  year  of  his  residence  on  his 
present  well  improved  homestead,  which  is  eligibly  situ- 
ated in  the  vicinity  of  the  Village  of  Jennings,  in  sec- 
tion 10,  township  20,  the  place  having  been  well 
improved  by  him  and  his  son  George  A.,  now  hav- 
ing charge  of  the  practical  operations  of  the  farm,  the 
income  from  which  has  in  recent  years  been  augmented 
by  the  extending  of  leases  for  oil  development  on  the 
property.  Mr.  Taylor  further  merits  special  consider- 
ation by  reason  of  having  served  as  a valiant  soldier 
of  the  Union  in  the  Civil  war,  and  in  all  of  the  relations 
of  citizenship  he  has  shown  the  same  loyal  spirit  that 
thus  prompted  him  to  go  forth  in  defense  of  the  nation’s 
integrity. 

William  Taylor  was  born  in  Vinton  County,  Ohio,  on 
the  21st  of  July,  1840,  and  though  he  is  now  venerable 
in  years  he  retains  much  of  his  pristine  physical  and 
mental  vigor  and  in  the  gracious  evening  of  life  enjoys 
the  good  health  that  marks  the  result  of  right  living 
and  right  thinking.  He  is  a son  of  Andrew  and  Sarah 
(Loving)  Taylor,  the  former  of  whom  was  born  in  Green- 
brier County,  West  Virginia,  on  the  4th  of  February, 
1813,  his  native  state  having  at  that  time  been  still  an 
integral  part  of  Virginia,  and  his  wife  having  been 
born  within  the  limits  of  the  latter  state  as  at  present 
constituted.  Both  were  young  at  the  time  of  the  immi- 
gration to  Ohio,  he  having  been  a young  man  at  the 
time  and  having  severed  the  home  ties  to  cast  his  lot 
with  the  pioneers  of  the  Buckeye  State,  while  his  wife 
had  removed  with  her  parents  to  that  commonwealth, 
their  marriage  having  been  solemnized  in  Vinton  County. 
In  the  autumn  of  1841  Andrew  Taylor  removed  with  his 
family  to  Sycamore  County,  Illinois,  and  in  1843,  he 
became  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  in  Keokuk  County, 
Iowa,  a section  then  on  the  very  frontier  of  civilization. 
He  became  one  of  the  early  representatives  of  the 
agricultural  and  live-stock  industries  in  the  Hawkeye 
State,  where  he  continued  his  residence  for  nearly  half 
a century.  In  1884  he  and  his  wife  removed  thence 
to  Oregon,  and  they  passed  the  closing  years  of  their 
lives  at  Drain,  Douglas  County,  that  state.  Andrew 
Taylor  devoted  his  active  life  to  farming  and  milling, 
and  though  he  was  blind  during  the  last  sixty  years  of 
his  life  he  was  able  to  attend  to  business  affairs  and 
to  supervise  practical  details  of  farm  work,  even  as  he 
had  no  difficulty  in  driving  about  with  a team  and  unac- 
companied. He  never  swerved  from  his  allegiance  to 
the  democratic  party,  and  both  he  and  his  wife  held 
membership  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church.  Con- 
cerning their  children  who  attained  to  maturity  the  fol- 
lowing data  are  available:  John  is  a resident  of  Oregon, 
in  which  state  he  established  his  home  in  1862;  the  next 
in  order  of  birth  was  William,  subject  of  this  review; 
Jame  became  the  wife  of  Enos  Rushton,  and  was  a 
resident  of  Kansas  at  the  time  of  her  death;  David 
died  in  the  City  of  Los  Angeles,  California;  Newton 
is  a resident  of  Grand  Junction,  Colorado;  and  Mary 
Elizabeth  is  the  wife  of  Mason  E.  Hindman,  of  Mount 
Idaho,  in  the  State  of  Idaho. 

William  Taylor  remained  at  the  parental  home  until 
he  had  attained  to  his  legal  majority  and  in  the  mean- 
while not  only  gave  effective  aid  in  the  work  and  man- 
agement of.  the  home  farm,  but  also  made  good  use  of 
the  advantages  afforded  in  the  pioneer  schools  of  Iowa, 
in  which  state  he  was  reared  to  adult  age. 

At  Fairfield,  Jefferson  County,  Iowa,  in  September, 


1861,  Mr.  Taylor  wedded  Miss  Martha  Ann  Woodward, 
who  was  born  in  Indiana,  as  were  also  her  parents,  Silas 
and  Sarah  (Leonard)  Woodward,  who  established  their 
home  in  Iowa  when  she  was  still  a child,  her  mother 
having  died  in  that  state  and  her  father  having  been 
a resident  of  Kansas  at  the  time  of  his  death  and 
having  been  a pioneer  farmer  in  both  Iowa  and  Kansas. 

Shortly  after  his  marriage  Mr.  Taylor  subordinated 
all  personal  interests  and  left  his  grieving  but  loyal 
young  wife  to  tender  his  aid  in  defense  of  the  Union. 
On  the  9th  of  August,  1862,  he  enlisted  in  Company  B, 
Nineteenth  Iowa  Volunteer  Infantry,  Harry  Jordan 
having  been  captain  of  the  company,  and  he  continued  in 
active  service  with  this  gallant  command  until  the  close 
of  the  war,  his  honorable  discharge  having  been  received 
by  him  in  July,  1865.  He  participated  in  all  of  the 
many  engagements  in  which  his  regiment  was  involved. 
He  took  part  in  the  battle  at  Prairie  Grove,  Arkansas, 
in  December,  1862,  and  also  in  the  siege  of  Vicksburg 
and  the  siege  of  Spanish  Fort,  besides  many  minor 
engagements.  He  held  'the  office  of  corporal  during  all 
but  the  first  year  of  his  service  in  the  ranks  and  proved 
himself  a faithful  and  gallant  soldier,  his  record  having 
been  such  as  to  reflect  lasting  honor  upon  his  name. 

After  the  close  of  the  war  Mr.  Taylor  resumed  farm- 
ing operations  in  Wayne  County,  Iowa,  until  1882,  when 
he  removed  his  family  to  Cloud  County,  Kansas,  where 
he  was  a renter  and  where  he  continued  successful  opera- 
tions as  an  agriculturist  and  stock-grower  until  the 
autum  of  1894,  when  he  came  to  Oklahoma  Territory  and 
became  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  of  Pawnee  County, 
where  he  has  resided  upon  his  present  homestead  since 
the  spring  of  1895,  his  energy  and  good  judgment  hav- 
ing been  brought  into  effective  play  in  the  development 
and  improving  of  the  farm,  which  is  now  one  of  the 
valuable  places  of  this  section  of  the  state. 

Mr.  Taylor  has  always  exemplified  the  best  type  of 
loyal  and  public-spirited  citizenship,  is  a stalwart  demo- 
crat in  his  political  proclivities,  has  been  affiliated  with 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  for  nearly  half 
a century,  and  vitalized  the  more  pleasing  associations 
of  his  military  career  by  his  active  affiliation  with  the 
Grand  Army  of  the  Republic,  that  noble  organization 
whose  ranks  are  being  rapidly  thinned  by  the  one 
invincible  foe,  death.  The  first  wife  of  Mr.  Taylor  did 
not  long  survive,  as  she  was  summoned  to  eternal  rest 
in  February,  1864,  while  he  was  still  serving  as  a soldier 
of  the  Union.  Their  only  child,  William  E.,  is  now  a 
resident  of  Minnesota. 

On  the  10th  of  September,  1865,  was  solemnized  the 
marriage  of  Mr.  Taylor  to  Mrs.  Eliza  R.  Ryckman, 
who  was  born  in  Indiana,  and  whose  death  occurred  in 
Wayne  County,  Iowa,  on  the  9th  of  August,  1871.  Of 
the  three  children  of  this  union  Rosa  became  the  wife 
of  W.  A.  Robertson,  and  her  death  occurred  in  Iowa, 
she  having  been  survived  by  three  children;  .Eli,  the 
second  child,  is  a resident  of  the  City  of  Lewiston,  Idaho ; 
and  Alva  maintains  his  home  at  Concordia,  Kansas. 

On  the  9th  of  December,  1873,  Mr.  Taylor  contracted 
a third  marriage,  when  Miss  Malinda  C.  Chapman 
became  his  wife,  she  having  been  born  in  the  State  of 
Iowa,  where  her  parents  settled  in  the  pioneer  days. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Taylor  became  the  parents  of  eight 
children,  of  whom  Arthur  and  Rena  died  in  infancy; 
Sarah  C.  is  the  wife  of  Bert  Hart,  of  Custer  County, 
Oklahoma;  Cora  is  the  wife  of  Daniel  Hart,  of  Drum- 
wright,  Oklahoma;  George  A.  has  charge  of  the  home- 
stead farm  of  his  parents;  Eva  is  the  wife  of  John 
Miller,  of  Ellis  County,  Oklahoma;  Nellie  married  Jay 
Hart;  and  Fay  is  the  wife  of  Lemuel  Sugg,  of  Okla- 
homa. Mr.  Taylor  has  twenty-nine  grandchidren. 


2016 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Oran  D.  McCray,  M.  D.,  holds  prestige  as  one  of  the 
most  skilled  young  physicians  and  surgeons  in  Caddo 
County,  where  he  has  been  engaged  in  a general  medical 
practice  for  the  past  decade.  He  now  resides  at  Binger 
and  here  controls  a large  and  lucrative  patronage.  The 
McCrays  are  of  Scotch-Irish  descent  and  trace  their 
ancestry  to  the  wealthy  and  noted  family  of  that  name 
at  Hedges,  Scotland.  The  first  McCrays  in  America  came 
hither  in  the  early  colonial  days  of  our  national  history 
and  settled  in  Virginia. 

Doctor  McCray  was  born  at  Putriamville,  Putnam 
County,  Indiana,  November  23,  1874,  and  he  is  a son  of 
George  S.  McCray  and  Mary  Alice  (Sellers)  McCray, 
the  former  of  whom  was  born  in  the  old  Hoosier  State 
in  1851  and  the  latter  in  the  same  place  in  1855.  In 
1882,  about  ten  years  after  'his  marriage,  Mr.  McCray- 
established  the  family  home  in  Saline  County,  Missouri, 
where  he  was  a farmer  and  stockman  until  his  demise, 
at  Marshall,  that  county,  in  August,  1906.  He  was  -an 
elder  in  the  Presbyterian  Church,  was  affiliated  with  the 
time-honored  Masonic  fraternity  ■ and  in  politics  was  a 
stalwart  democrat.  His  wife,  whose  maiden  name  was 
Mary  Alice  Sellers,  survives  him  and  maintains  her 
home  at  Marshall,  Missouri.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  McCray  had 
but  one  child,  namely,  Oran  D.,  of  this  notice. 

After  completing  the  curriculum  of  the  public  schools 
of  Marshall,  Missouri,  Doctor  McCray  was  matriculated 
as  a student  in  the  Missouri  Valley  College,  in  which 
excellent  institution  he  was  graduated  in  1897.  He  then 
attended  the  University  of  Missouri,  at  Columbia,  for 
two  years,  at  the  end  of  which  he  entered  the  University 
Medical  College,  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  being  gradu- 
ated in  that  institution  in  1901,  with  the  degree  of 
Doctor  of  Medicine.  Doctor  McCray  received  his  initial 
practice  as  a physician  and  surgeon  at  Carrolton,  Mis- 
souri, where  he  maintained  his  professional  headquarters 
for  two  .years.  In  1903  he  came  to  Caddo  County  and 
for  one  year  practiced  at  Anadarko,  whence  he  removed 
to  Binger,  where  he  has  since  resided  with  the  exception 
of  one  year  spent  in  Clovis,  New  Mexico.  His  offices 
are  on  Elm  Street  and  in  connection  with  his  life  work 
he  is  a member  of  the  Oklahoma  State  Medical  Society, 
the  Caddo  County  Medical  Society  and  the  American 
Medical  Association.  His  political  allegiance  is  given 
to  the  democratic  party  and  in  1907  he  was  elected 
coroner  of  Caddo  County  and  he  held  that  office  until 
it  was  abolished  by  the  Legislature.  He  served  for 
several  years  as  health  officer  at  Binger  and  in  every 
way  possible  he  contributes  of  his  time  and  means  to 
the  general  weal.  He  is  a member  of  the  Congrega- 
tional Church  and  affiliates  with  Anadarko  Lodge, 
Ancient,  Free  and  Accepted  Masons.  He  is  an  ex-mem- 
ber of  the  following  organizations : Independent  Order 

of  Odd  Fellows,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of 
Elks,  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen,  and  the  Ancient 
Order  of  United  Workmen. 

At  Binger,  in  1906,  Doctor  McCray  was  married  to 
Miss  Florence  Biseh,  a daughter  of  William  Risch,  a 
retired  business  man  at  Binger.  This  union  has  been 
prolific  of  two  children:  George,  born  January  19, 

1909;  and  Kenneth,  born  January  6,  1912. 

Porter  T.  Ragland.  The  experiences  of  Mr.  Ragland 
as  a pioneer  of  Oklahoma  are  not  only  interesting  and 
serve  to  throw  light  on  early  conditions  in  the  terri- 
tory, but  are  also  instructive  and  encouraging  to  the 
ambitious  youth  of  the  present  time.  He  lived  in  the 
territory  under  adverse  and  trying  conditions  but  is 
the  character  of  man  who  profits  by  experience  and 
makes  each  obstacle  only  a stepping  stone  to  higher 
and  better  things. 

Born  in  Barren  County,  Kentucky,  June  13,  1876, 


Porter  T.  Ragland  when  a small  boy  came  west  with  I 
his  father,  driving  overland  to  Southwestern  Kansas, 
where  the  family  lived  for  six  years.  Before  leaving  9 
Kentucky  he  had  attended  one  term  of  school  and  spent  I 
three  terms  at  Springfield,  Kansas.  The  Ragland  home.  I| 
in  Kansas,  established  in  1884,  was  the  first  built  in  1 
Seward  County.  In  1889  his  father  was  one  of  the  | 
pioneers  of  the  original  Oklahoma  Territory,  and  at  the  I 
opening  of  public  lands  acquired  town  lots  in  King-  jj 
fisher.  Later  the  family  located  on  a farm  immediately  | 
west  of  Oklahoma  City,  that  farm  being  now  included  1 
within  the  corporation  limits.  The  elder  Ragland  later 
made  the  run  into  what  was  known  as  the  Pottawotamie 
County,  entering  at  Tecumseh,  then  into  the  Cheyenne 
and  Arapaho  Indian  country  through  Cloud  Chief,  then 
into  the  Cherokee  strip  through  Perry,  and  finally  into 
the  Kickapoo  country.  This  probably  establishes  a 
record  for  entering  public  land  areas  opened  to  settle- 
ment such  as  few  men  in  Oklahoma  have  equalled.  Mr.  J 
Ragland's  father  is  now  living  on  a fine  farm  near  the 
town  of  Harrah  in  Oklahoma  County. 

Porter  T.  Ragland,  who  was  thirteen  years  old  when 
he  came  to  Oklahoma,  attended  one  of  the  first  public 
schools  organized  in  Oklahoma  County.  It  was  taught 
by  Mrs.  B.  F.  Crozier  in  a ten  by  twelve  room  of  her  little 
home  near  Oklahoma  City.  There  were  no  desks,  and  the  I 
pupils  sat  on  rude  benches.  The  next  term  of  school  | 
he  attended  was  taught  by  William  Guernsey  in  his  lit-  I 
tie  home  on  the  site  of  the  present  Washington  School 
in  Oklahoma  City.  The  family  then  moved  to  a farm 
six  miles  northwest  of  the  city,  and  while  there  he  at- 
tended school  two  years  more,  equipping  himself  for 
teaching  and  receiving  his  first  certificate  at  the  age  of 
seventeen.  For  a number  of  years  Mr.  Ragland  followed 
teaching  as  a profession  and  there  are  many  men  and 
women  in  Oklahoma  who  sat  under  his  instruction  and 
have  grateful  memories  of  his  schoolmastership.  His  first 
school  was  in  the  Pleasant  Hill  district  six  miles  south- 
east of  Edmond  during  the  year  1894-95.  The  salary 
paid  him,  $28.00  a month,  was  the  highest  given  to 
any  teacher  in  the  rural  district  at  that  time.  Subse-  I 
quently  he  taught  two  terms  twenty  miles  east  of  Purcell 
in  a log  building.  This  building  was  20  by  24  feet,  ■ 
there  was  no  chinking  between  the  bare  logs,  and 
humble  and  rude  though  its  accommodations  were  the. 
school  had  an  enrollment  of  114  pupils.  O.  G.  MeGehee, 
treasurer  of  the  board  of  education  of  the  district,  was 
one  of  his  pupils,  and  twenty  of  the  scholars  were  older 
than  the  teacher.  During  the  summer  following  the  , 
second  term  Mr.  Ragland  attended  a business  college  , 
in  Oklahoma  City,  following  which  he  taught  three  , 
terms  in  the  Star  district  of  the  former  Kickapoo  Indian  , 

country,  This  was  followed  by  a term  at  Harmony  and  0 

for  three  years  he  was  superintendent  of  schools  at  . I j, 
Harrah.  In  1904  Mr.  Ragland  was  nominee  of  the  j 
republican  party  for  county  superintendent  of  schools,  ,j 
and  was  defeated  by  Laura  Whistler,  the  democratic  j 
nominee,  by  156  votes. 

About  that  time  he  made  up  his  mind  to  leave  educa-  jj 
tional  work  and  establish  himself  in  some  permanent  j, 
business  or  profession.  With  that  object  in  view  in 
1905  he  entered  the  School  of  Pharmacy  of  the  Uni-  j. 
versity  of  Oklahoma,  and  was  graduated  June  13,  1907. 
Four  days  later  he  found  himself  in  the  employ  of  the  j 
Carson  Drug  Company  at  Tecumseh.  On  June  17,  1909, 

Mr.  Ragland,  with  his  wife,  his  baby;  fifty  cents  in  money 
and  a bull  dog,  entered  the  drug  business  in  Harrah.  Six 
years  have  passed,  and  in  that  time  he  has  built  up  a I 
profitable  business.  His  is  the  only  drug  store  in  the 
town,  and  the  stock  is  as  large,  varied  and  up  to  date  ^ 

as  can  be  found  in  any  other  store  in  towns  of  the  same  ' < 

size  in  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Ragland  celebrated  a quarter 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2017 


century ’s  continued  residence  in  Oklahoma  in  the  Thanks- 
giving season  of  1915,  and  during  all  that  time  he  has 
never  crossed  the  state  borders.  During  his  residence  at 
Harrah  he  served  four  and  a half  years  as  postmaster, 
and  in  1915  was  honored  by  election  to  the  office  of 
mayor.  While  in  Tecumseh  he  was  for  one  term  police 
judge.  As  a citizen  of  Harrah  he  has  been  energetic, 
public  spirited  and  progressive,  and  partially  due  to  his 
efforts  the  town  has  one  of  the  most  modern  brick  school 
buildings  found  in  any  of  the  small  towns  of  the  state, 
constructed  at  a cost  of  $10,000. 

In  Oklahoma  City,  January  27,  1897,  Mr.  Eagland  mar- 
ried Miss  Clare  House.  Their  two  children  are  Oscar, 
aged  fifteen,  and  Marguerite,  aged  three.  Mr.  Eagland 
has  three  brothers  and  one  sister : E.  E.  Eagland,  a farm- 
er living  near  Harrah;  Neil  Eagland,  in  the  lumber  and 
milling  business  at  Arrow  Springs,  Colorado;  E.  M. 
Eagland,  who  lives  with  his  father  on  the  farm  near 
Harrah;  and  Mrs.  Eoss  Wood,  of  Oklahoma  City. 
Mr.  Eagland  is  a member  of  the  Christian  Church,  is 
affiliated  with  Lodge  No.  375,  Ancient  Eree  and  Ac- 
cepted Masons,  at  Harrah,  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America,  and  belongs  to  the  Oklahoma  Pharmaceutical 
Association.  He  is  also  president  of  the  board  of.  educa- 
tion of  Harrah,  a position  for  which  his  long  experience 
as  a teacher  has  given  him  eminent  qualifications. 

C.  A.  Eisher.  The  career  of  C.  A.  Eisher  is  an  expres- 
sion of  practical  and  diversified  activity,  and  in  its 
range  has  invaded  the  realms  of  education,  business, 
finance  and  politics,  all  of  which  have  profited  by  the 
breadth  and  conscientiousness  which  are  distinctive  char- 
acteristics of  his  character  and  labors.  Mr.  Eisher  came 
to  Oklahoma  with  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  in 
1893,  and  for  several  years  was  engaged  as  an  educator, 
following  which  he  spent  several  years  in  Texas  in  a 
business  venture.  Since  1900  he  has  been  identified  with 
financial  affairs  in  Oklahoma,  and  has  been  a factor  in 
the  development  of  one  of  the  soundest  institutions  of 
Kiowa  County,  the  Eirst  National  Bank  of  Gotebo,  of 
which  he  is  cashier. 

Mr.  Eisher  belongs  to  a family  which  came  to  America 
during  the  seventeenth  century  from  England  and  settled 
in  North  Carolina,  from  whence  its  members  spread  to 
various  states  in  the  South  and  Middle  West.  His  father, 
James  A.  Eisher,  was  born  in  Ohio  in  1840,  and  as  a 
young  man  removed  to  Pine  Valley,  Warren  County, 
Indiana,  where  he  was  married  to  Anna  H.  Bradley, 
who  was  born  in  1844  at  Winchester,  Virginia.  After 
many  years  passed  in  agricultural  pursuits  in  the  Hoosier 
state,  Mr.  Eisher  removed  to  Seward  County,  Kansas, 
where  he  located  on  a farm  in  the  vicinity  of  the  village 
of  Liberal,  and  there  continued  to  be  engaged  in  farm- 
ing and  stock  raising  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in 
1893.  Mrs.  Fisher,  who  survives  her  husband,  resides 
at  Port  Arthur,  Texas,  and  is  seventy-one  years  of  age. 
During  the  Civil  war,  James  A.  Fisher  joined  the  Union 
army,  enlisting  from  Warren  County,  Indiana,  in  the 
110th  Eegiment,  Indiana  Volunteer  Infantry,  with  which 
he  served  three  years,  proving  a faithful  and  valiant 
soldier.  He  was  a lifelong  member  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church,  to  which  Mrs.  Eisher  still  belongs. 
They  became  the  parents  of  four  children,  as  follows: 
C.  A.,  of  this  review;  Clinton,  who  was  a stockman 
and  farmer  near  Liberal,  Kansas,  and  died  at  the 
age  of  twenty-seven  years;  L.  B.,  who  is  a druggist 
and  merchant  at  Port  Arthur,  Texas;  and  Mabel  M., 
who  is  the  wife  of  Eugene  Davis,  who  is  in  the  refining 
department  of  the  Texas  Befining  Company,  at  Port 
Arthur. 

C.  A.  Fisher  was  born  at  Pine  Valley,  Warren  County, 
Indiana,  January  1,  1865,  and  was  reared  on  his  father’s 


farm,  where  he  spent  the  summer  months  in  assisting  in 
its  operation,  while  in  the  winter  terms  he  attended  the 
district  schools.  Later  he  supplemented  this  training  by 
a course  at  Purdue  University,  Lafayette,-  Indiana,  and 
on  leaving  that  institution  entered  upon  his  career  as 
an  educator.  For  three  years  Mr.  Fisher  taught  schools 
in  various  parts  of  Indiana,  Missouri  and  Kansas,  and 
in  1893,  when  the  Cherokee  Strip  was  thrown  open, 
came  to  Enid,  where  he  was  appointed  superintendent 
of  schools.  This  office  he  retained  for  three  years,  as 
one  of  the  popular  and  efficient  instructors  of  the  new 
country,  but  in  1896  he  gave  up  the  cap  and . gown  of 
the  educator  to  enter  business  life,  as  the  proprietor  of 
a real  estate  venture  at  Port  Arthur,  Texas,  which  he 
continued  until  1900,  when  he  became  assistant  cashier 
of  the  First  National  Bank.  His  promotion  to  the 
cashiership  soon  followed,  he  being  the  incumbent  of 
that  position  from  1902  until  1908,  and  in  the  latter 
year  he  came  to  Gotebo,  Kiowa  County,  Oklahoma,  to 
accept  the  office  of  cashier  of  the  Bank  of  Gotebo.  In 
1913,  with  other  progressive  business  men  and  financiers 
of  this  place,  Mr.  Fisher,  founded  and  organized  the 
Eirst  National  Bank  of  Gotebo,  which  threw  open  its 
doors  to  the  public  in  May  of  that  year.  This  has  grown 
consistently  and  is  now  one  of  the  recognized  institu- 
tions of  the  county  and  one  which  has  won  and  retained 
the  confidence  and  patronage  of  the  people.  The  institu- 
tion has  a capital  stock  of  $25,000,  with  $3,000  surplus, 
and  its  present  officers  are:  president,  M.  F.  Pierce,  a 
leading  farmer  and  stockman  of  Kiowa  County,  well 
known  in  Gotebo,  where  he  has  large  interests;  vice 
president,  C.  M.  Haxton;  cashier,  C.  A.  Eisher,  and 
assistant  cashier,  T.  J.  Howe.  The  modern  bank  build- 
ing, a handsome  and  substantial  structure,  was  completed 
in  September,  1913,  and  in  the  building  the  postoffice 
also  has  quarters.  Mr.  Eisher  is  an  experienced,  capable 
and  careful  financier,  who  safely  conserves  the  interests 
of  the  bank’s  depositors,  and  in  whom  they  have  learned 
to  place  the  fullest  trust.  In  addition  to  his  duties 
at  the  bank,  he  is  also  looking  after  the  people’s  finan- 
cial interests  in  the  capacity  of  city  treasurer,  an  office 
to  which  he  was  elected  on  the  republican  ticket.  His 
fraternal  connections  include  membership  in  Gotebo 
Lodge  No.  305,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and 
Lodge  No.  881,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks, 
of  Hobart,  in  both  of  which  he  has  numerous  friends. 

On  April  3,  1888,  at  Lancaster,  Missouri,  where  he 
was  teaching  school,  Mr.  Eisher  was  united  in  marriage 
with  Miss  A.  M.  Potter,  daughter  of  the  late  W.  S. 
Potter,  a farm  owner  of  Lancaster,  now  deceased.  To 
this  union  one  child,  Helen,  was  born,  March  6,  1909, 
she  now  being  a student  in  the  graded  school  at  Gotebo. 

Ben  W.  Eiley.  While  he  has  been  successful  in  busi- 
ness throughout  a period  covering  at  least  forty  years  in 
various  southwestern  states,  Ben  W.  Eiley  has  also  been 
successful  in  politics,  though  not  so  much  from  the  stand- 
point of  elective  offices  as  of  influential  participation  in 
governmental  affairs  for  the  sake  of  the  public  welfare. 
Ben  W.  Eiley  is  an  eminent  representative  of  that 
class  of  Americans  who  advocate  playing  the  political 
game  square.  His  success  probably  is  best  attested 
by  the  fact  that  in  the  four  years  he  was  secretary  and 
chairman  of  the  state  election  board  there  were  few 
criticisms  of  his  work  and  no  contest,  a record  that 
brought  him  unsolicited  an  unqualified  endorsement  from 
Governor  Cruce,  under  whom  he  served.  Mr.  Eiley  has 
lived  in  Oklahoma  for  about  thirteen  years,  was  formerly 
a resident  of  El  Eeno,  and  is  now  in  Oklahoma  City,  his 
office  being  in  the  Mercantile  Building  and  his  home 
at  1501  West  Thirty-first  Street. 

Ben  W.  Eiley  was  born  at  Sutton,  Worcester  County, 


2018 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Massachusetts.  His  mother’s  family  were  the  Wood- 
burys,  who  for  generations  have  been  prominent  in  New 
England  affairs.  Through  his  mother  Mr.  Riley  is 
descended  from  the  first  settlers  of  Massachusetts.  One 
of  them  was  the  first  representative  of  the  Massachusetts 
Bay  Colony  to  England,  and  protected  those  charged 
with  witchcraft  at  Salem  and  assisted  them  in  reaching 
safety  in  the  Roger  Williams  Colony  in  Rhode  Island. 
Two  of  the  ancestors  were  minute-men  and  participated 
in  the  first  fight  at  Lexington  and  Concord.  One  was 
the  first  collector  of  port  at  Boston.  The  old  Woodbury 
home,  surrounded  by  eighty  acres,  granted  by  the  Massa- 
chusetts Bay  Colony,  is  still  in  possession  of  the  family 
at  Sutton,  Massachusetts.  Mr.  Riley’s  sisters  have  taken 
an  active  interest  in  the  Daughters  of  the  American 
Revolution  and  Colonial  Dames.  One  sister  is  the  wife 
of  C.  A.  Pratt,  an  active  banker  and  business  man  at 
Little  Rock,  Arkansas,  and  for  a number  of  years  a 
director  in  the  Iron  Mountain  Railway.  Mr.  Riley’s 
father’s  family  were  early  settlers  of  Rochester,  New 
York,  and  materially  assisted  in  the  growth  of  that  city. 

When  Mr.  Riley  was  a baby  his  parents  settled  in 
Sandusky,  Ohio.  His  father  was  an  ardent  supporter 
of  Yallandingham,  the  Ohioan  who  led  the  opposition 
to  the  prosecution  of  the  Civil  war  in  the  North,  and 
in  consequence  of  this  affiliation  Mr.  Riley ’s  life  in 
Sandusky  was  not  in  harmony  with  the  people  during  the 
Civil  war,  and  about  the  close  of  that  struggle  the 
family  removed  to  Jefferson  City,  Missouri.  The  recol- 
lections of  Ben  W.  Riley  of  Reconstruction  days  are 
not  pleasant,  owing  to  the  bitter  feeling  that  remained 
after  the  war  between  the  adherents  of  both  sides.  In 
the  meantime  he  had  received  his  education  in  common 
schools,  and  during  the  late  ’70s  he  attended  school  at 
the  University  of  Michigan  in  Ann  Arbor  for  two  years, 
and  finished  his  education  in  Holy  Cross  College  at 
Worcester,  Massachusetts.  Mr.  Riley’s  father  was  a 
Catholic  and  his  mother  a Protestant,  and  though  bap- 
tized and  confirmed  as  a Catholic  he  has  himself  not 
been  an  active  member  of  any  church. 

Mr.  Riley  studied  law  at  Jefferson  City,  Missouri,  but 
never  entered  formal  practice,  choosing  a business  career 
instead.  He  served  a term  as  state  librarian  of  Missouri 
and  first  became  interested  in  polities  in  that  state  during 
the  campaign  for  governor  between  Crittenden  and 
Hockaday.  He  was  a member  of  the  convention  which 
nominated  Governor  Crittenden,  and  represented  that 
governor  at  the  registration  of  voters  in  St.  Louis  dur- 
ing a trying  political  period.  Later  Mr.  Riley  became 
identified  with  the  Gould  railway  system  in  the  hotel 
and  eating  house  business  conducted  along  the  lines,  and 
was  in  the  business  through  Kansas,  Missouri,  Arkansas 
and  Texas. 

He  lived  for  a number  of  years  at  Little  Rock,  Arkan- 
sas, and  was  especially  active  in  democratic  politics 
while  there.  He  served  as  a member  of  the  city  council 
and  took  part  in  the  campaign  ,that  resulted  in  the 
election  of  United  States  Senator  Clarke.  While  living 
in  Texas  he  took  an  active  part  in  the  campaign  that 
resulted  in  the  nomination  and  election  of  “Buck” 
Killgore  for  Congress,  and  was  also  a persistent  sup- 
porter of  James  Hogg  in  his  campaign  for  attorney  - 
general  and  later  for  governor.  He  helped  to  organize 
and  was  first  lieutenant  of  the  Eagle  Light  Battery  in 
Arkansas,  and  was  a member  of  the  Reagan  Guards 
of  Texas. 

Mr.  Riley  came  to  Oklahoma  in  1902,  locating  in  El 
Reno  and  engaging  in  the  hotel  business.  He  was  mayor 
of  the  city  during  the  closing  territorial  days  and  during 
the  first  few  years  of  statehood.  During  his  administra- 
tion the  installation  of  the  city ’s  paving  and  sewer  system 
was  begun  and  practically  completed.  He  was  a member 


of  the  El  Reno  Board  of  Education  and  served  a term 
as  president  of  the  Commercial  Club.  Mr.  Riley  took  an 
active  interest  in  all  conventions  in  Oklahoma  to  bring 
about  statehood.  He  supported  the  policy  to  make  an 
individual  state  of  old  Oklahoma  Territory.  He  has 
attended  every  democratic  convention  since  statehood, 
and  was  temporary  and  permanent  secretary  of  the  con- 
vention which  ratified  Governor  Cruee’s  nomination.  He 
contributed  much  in  money  and  influence  towards  Cruce ’s 
election  in  1910,  and  was  a member  of  the  finance  com- 
mittee in  that  campaign.  Governor  Cruce  after  his 
inauguration  appointed  Mr.  Riley  secretary  of  the  state 
election  board,  and  towards  the  close  of  the  administra- 
tion he  was  made  chairman  of  the  board.  The  success 
he  achieved  in  these  positions  was  marked  because  of  the 
opposition  he  encountered  at  the  hands  of  the  republican 
party  and  owing  to  his  diplomatic  and  praiseworthy 
handling  of  the  innumerable  details  involved  in  the 
appointment  of  county  election  boards  and  the  conduct 
of  many  special  elections.  Mr.  Riley  has  never  been  a 
candidate  for  any  state  office,  and  the  only  one  he  has 
filled  was  under  Governor  Cruce.  For  six  years  he 
served  as  chairman  of  the  County  Central  Committee  of 
Canadian  County,  and  was  an  active  member  of  the 
campaign  committee  both  times  that  Senator  Robert  L. 
Owen  was  elected  United  States  senator. 

Joseph  Mosier.  The  Osage  tribe  has  had  few  more 
prominent  names  among  its  citizens  than  that  of  Mosier. 
Several  of  the  family  are  named  in  this  publication 
and  one  of  them  requiring  individual  reference  was 
Joseph  Mosier. 

Joseph  Mosier  was  a son  of  Thomas  Mosier,  a French- 
man, who  identified  himself  with  the  Osage  people  in  the 
last  century  and  worked  as  a blacksmith  among  the 
tribe.  He  married  an  Osage  woman,  Basille  Ahsinkuh. 
In  the  early  ’50s  they  moved  to  Neosho  County,  Kansas. 

It  was  in  Neosho  County,  Kansas,  that  Joseph  Mosier 
grew  up.  He  received  his  early  education  in  the  Jesuit 
Mission  of  that  county,  and  as  a young  man  received 
one  of  the  head-rights  in  the  lands  of  Kansas.  The 
Mosiers  were  one  of  twenty-five  Osage  families  who  were 
allotted  land  in  that  state  by  the  government.  Joseph 
Mosier  and  his  two  brothers,  Thomas  and  John,  all 
enlisted  in  the  Union  army,  being  members  of  the  Ninth 
Kansas  Cavalry,  and  they  were  in  active  service  through- 
out the  conflict  along  the  Kansas-Missouri  border  and 
in  Arkansas  and  Indian  Territory.  They  were  finally 
mustered  out  in  1865. 

Joseph  Mosier,  who  was  born  August  5,  1841,  had 
a very  brief  though  honorable  career.  His  death  occurred 
near  the  old  Osage  Mission  in  Southern  Kansas,  January 
7,  1871.  His  home  was  attacked  in  the  night  time  when 
twelve  inches  of  snow  covered  the  ground.  He  was 
dragged  in  his  night  clothes,  the  house  was  set  on  fire, 
and  he  and  his  wife,  who  carried  her  son  William,  then 
eighteen  months  of  age,  in  her  arms,  walked  five  miles 
to  the  nearest  house  barefoot  and  scantily  clad.  Joseph 
Mosier  never  left  his  bed  after  that,  and  died  of  pneu- 
monia. Due  to  exposure  and  internal  injuries  received 
his  widow  died  nearly  six  years  later,  on  October  31, 
1876.  She  was  born  in  1848. 

Thomas  Mosier,  who  in  his  time  was  one  of  the 
most  prominent  members  of  the  Osage  tribe,  and  who 
died  at  Pawhuska,  September  20,  1912,  was  one  of  the 
children  of  Thomas  Mosier  by  his  Osage  wife,  and  was  a 
brother  of  Joseph  Mosier,  mentioned  elsewhere  in  these 
pages. 

Born  among  the  Osages  in  Southern  Kansas,  December 
18,  1843,  Thomas  Mosier  grew  up  there,  received  his 
education  in  the  old  Osage  Mission,  and  was  a youthful 
soldier  with  his  brothers  in  the  Ninth  Kansas  Cavalry 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2019 


of  the  Union  army.  After  the  war  he  returned  to  South- 
ern Kansas  and  remained  with  his  tribe  until  they  gave 
up  their  lands  there  and  moved  across  the  line  into 
Indian  Territory  in  1872. 

His  name  is  of  particular  importance  because  of  his 
prominent  activities  as  an  Osage  citizen.  He  filled  many 
official  positions  such  as  delegate  to  Washington,  as 
national  secretary  of  the  Osage  Council,  national  inter- 
preter, United  States  interpreter  in  the  Federal  courts 
of  Topeka,  Fort  Smith  and  other  court  centers,  and 
was  also  connected  with  the  department  in  charge  of 
the  leasing  of  Osage  lands  at  Pawhuska. 

William  Thomas  Mosier,  who  spent  practically  all 
his  life  in  those  various  sections  of  country  occupied  by 
the  Osages,  both  in  Kansas  and  Oklahoma,  has  been 
primarily  a merchant,  for  many  years  clerked  in  the 
agency  store  of  the  Osage  country  and  latterly  was 
engaged  in  merchandising  on  his  own  account,  and  is 
now  one  of  the  chief  owners  of  improved  real  estate 
at  Pawhuska. 

it  a was  born  at  Neosho  County,  Kansas,  November 
1,  j.<567,  a son  of  Joseph  and  Nancy  (Waller)  Mosier, 
and  a member  of  the  prominent  Mosier  family  elsewhere 
referred  to.  After  the  death  of  his  parents  he  was 
reared  in  the  home  of  his  uncle,  the  late  Thomas  Mosier, 
until  he  was  fourteen  years  of  age.  Since  then  he  has 
made  his  own  way  in  the  world.  He  had  some  school- 
ing in  the  Pawhuska.  Government  School,  and  spent 
part  of  two  terms,  during  1883-84,  in  the  old  Osage 
Mi  in,  now  St.  Paul,  Kansas.  On  July  5,  1885,  he 
loea.jd  at  Pawhuska,  and  during  the  summer  was  engaged 
in  running  a mowing  machine,  and  secured  work  for  the 
winter  in  a general  merchandise  store  trading  with  the 
Osage  Indians  on  the  Osage  Reservation.  For  ten  years 
he  was  an  employe  in  one  store  at  Pawhuska,  begin- 
ning with  wages  of  eighteen  dollars  a month  and  board 
and  finally  being  paid  seventy-five  dollars  a month.  He 
was  hired  on  account  of  his  ability  to  speak  the  Osage 
tongue,  though  otherwise  he  had  no  experience  in  mer- 
cantile life.  In  1901  Mr.  Mosier  engaged  in  business 
for  himself  with  two  partners.  He  bought  at  the 
administrator’s  sale  the  stock  of  E.  B.  Gravelt.  After 
six  months  in  business  he  incorporated  the  firm  of  the 
Osage  Mercantile  Company,  and  was  its  vice  president 
until  he  sold  his  interests  in  1914.  Mr.  Mosier  had  been 
closely  and  actively  indentified  with  merchandising  at 
Pawhuska  for  fifteen  years  up  to  1914. 

’His  present  interests  are  of  large  scope  and  import- 
ance. He  is  vice  president  of  the  Mercantile  Real  Estate 
Company,  which  owns  the  Osage  Mercantile  Company 
Building,  the  best  business  structure  at  Pawhuska.  This 
company  also  owns  the  postoffiee  or  Oklahoma  Building. 
Mr.  Mosier  is  a director  in  the  Pawhuska  Oil  and  Gas 
Company.  Individually  he  owns  the  Osage  Agency 
Building  at  the  corner  of  Main  and  Osage  avenues. 
This  is  the  chief  landmark  in  the  city,  having  been 
built  by  the  government  in  1872.  It  is  a venerable  stone 
structure,  and  within  and  around  it  are  associated  mueh 
of  the  history  and  life  of  the  Osage  people  during  the 
past  forty  years.  Mr.  Mosier  also  owns  a substantial 
home  at  133  Osage  Avenue,  in  which  he  has  lived  for  the 
past  fifteen  years.  He  and  members  of  his  family 
through  allotment  have  4,200  acres  of  Osage  land.  For 
four  years  he  was  a director  in  one  of  Pawhuska ’s  banks. 

In  politics  Mr.  Mosier  has  been  throughout  most  of 
his  career  a good  democrat.  He  served  on  the  first  city 
council  at  Pawhuska  and  was  one  of  the  members  that 
drafted  the  present  charter  providing  for  a commission 
form  of  government.  During  1891-92-93  he  was  clerk 
of  the  Osage  council  and  prior  to  that  had  been  permit 


clerk.  In  earlier  days  he  knew  every  person  residing 
on  the  Osage  reservation.  Mr.  Mosier  was  reared  in 
the  Catholic  Church.  He  is  now  the  second  oldest  living 
Mason  among  the  Osage  Indians.  He  was  one  of  the 
charter  members  of  Washesha  Lodge  No.  110,  A.  F. 
and  A.  M.,  at  Pawhuska,  and  has  also  taken  thirty-two 
degrees  in  the  Scottishr  Rite,  being  affiliated  with  the 
Consistory  at  Guthrie,  the  Knight  Templar  Commandery 
at  Pawhuska,  and  Akdar  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine 
at  Tulsa.  He  was  also  one  of  the  charter  members  of 
the  local  Elks  lodge,  but  his  since  given  up  that  affilia- 
tion. 

On ' May  29,  1895,  at  Pawhuska  Mr.  Mosier  married 
Louisa  Prudom.  She  was  born  on  the  Caney  River  in 
Osage  County  in  February,  1877,  and  is  also  of  Osage 
Indian  blood  mingled  with  French.  Her  parents  were 
Charles  N.  and  Lydia  (Nowberry)  Prudom,  both  of 
whom  were  born  in  Kansas  and  are  now  living  in  Texas. 
The  children  born  to  Mr-,  and  Mrs.  Mosier  are  enumer- 
ated as  follows:  Charles  Prudom  Mosier  of  Pawhuska 

married  Louisa  Plomondom,  youngest  daughter  of  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Moses  Plomondom.  The  other  children  are 
John  Thomas,  Edwin  P.,  Luther  P.,  Christeen  A.,  James 
Russell,  and  the  youngest,  Margaret,  died  in  infancy. 

George  William  Frass.  One  of  the  interesting  young 
men  of  half  Indian  blood  in  the  western  part  of  Okla- 
homa is  George  William  Frass,  whose  operations  as  a 
stock  man  and  farmer  and  whose  good  citizenship  has 
made  him  an  important  factor  in  the  community  of 
Calumet.  He  represents  one  of  the  best  families  pro- 
duced by  the  commingling  of  sturdy  white  stock  and 
the  native  Indian,  and  while  the  members  of  the  earlier 
generations  were  closely  identified  with  the  life  of  the 
plain  and  the  frontier,  the  younger  ones  exhibit  that  com- 
bination of  energy  and  culture  which  are  the  features  of 
modern  Oklahoma. 

It  was  in  an  Indian  camp  on  the  Cheyenne  and 
Arapahoe  Indian  Reservation  that  George  William  Frass 
was  born  October  29,  1878.  His  father,  William  Frass, 
who  was  born  at  San  Antonio,  Texas,  in  1850  of  German 
parentage,  and  who  died  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  April 
24,  1909,  was  a picturesque  character  in  the  old  Indian 
Territory.  For  a number  of  years  he  lived  as  a cowboy 
on  ranch  and  range,  and  later  became  a military  beef 
contractor  at  old  Fort  Supply,  Fort  Reno  and  the 
Cantonment.  From  about  1873  he  engaged  in  the  cat- 
tle business  on  the  open  range  of  Indian  Territory,  and 
his  interests  as  a cattle  man  continued  until  his  death. 
William  Frass  in  1874  married  a northern  Cheyenne 
Indian  woman.  She  was  the  mother  of  three  children: 
Emma,  now  the  wife  of  A.  Kinsley,  who  is  of  Winnebago 
Indian  blood  and  is  now  in  the  United  States  Indian 
service  at  Cantonment,  Oklahoma.  Rosa  is  the  wife  of 
Isaac  Seneca,  who  carries  the  blood  of  the  New  York 
tribe  of  Seneca  Indians,  and  is  now  in  the  United  States 
Indian  service  at  Chilocco,  Oklahoma;  and  George 
William  Frass,  who  is  the  youngest  and  the  only  son. 
It  should  be  noted  that  Isaac  Seneca,  who  married 
Mr.  Frass’  sister,  was  a graduate  of  the  Carlisle 
(Pennsylvania)  Indian  School,  and  is  well  remembered 
by  devotees  of  inter-collegiate  football  since  he  was  one 
of  the  strongest  players  of  the  Carlisle  team  and  won  a 
place  on  the  All-American  Football  team. 

George  William  Frass  received  his  education  in  the 
Government  Indian  school  at  Carlisle,  Pennsylvania,  and 
the  Haskell  Institute  at  Lawrence,  Kansas.  He  finished 
with  a business  course  in  Oklahoma  City,  and  then  re- 
turned to  western  Oklahoma  and  has  since  been  active 
as  a cattle  man  at  Calumet,  and  owns  some  valuable 
farming  interests  in  that  section.  He  inherited  from  his 


2020 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Indian  forebears  a natural  expertness  in  all  the  vigor- 
ous sports  of  outdoors,  and  from  youth  up  has  been  an 
expert  horseman.  For  a number  of  years  he  traveled 
with  a wild  west  show  as  a cowboy  rough  rider.  Frater- 
nally he  is  a member  of  the  Masonic  Order,  and  is  very 
active  in  the  Baptist  Church,  being  a member  of  the 
Gospel  team  of  that  church.  He  married  Miss  Asie  B. 
Lazzelle,  of  Oklahoma  City. 

Hartson  D.  Fillmore,  M.  D.  Few  members  of  the 
Oklahoma  medical  fraternity  have  a broader  range  of 
experience  and  training  for  their  profession  than  Doctor 
Fillmore,  who  has  practiced  in  this  state  nearly  fifteen 
years,  and  is  now  the  leading  physician  and  surgeon  at 
Martha,  in  Jackson  County. 

A few  interesting  facts  should  be  recorded  concerning 
his  ancestry.  The  Fillmores  are  of  Seotch-Englisli 
descent,  and  have  been  in  America  since  colonial  days. 
Doctor  Fillmore ’s  great-grandfather  was  a cousin  of 
Millard  Fillmore,  the  Vice  President  who  succeeded  Gen- 
eral Taylor  in  the  presidential  chair.  The  branch  of  the 
family  to  which  Doctor  Fillmore  belongs  has  given  a 
number  of  names  of  more  than  local  reputation  to  musical 
circles.  From  the  vicinity  of  Buffalo,  New  York,  this 
branch  of  the  Fillmores  moved  to  Cincinnati,  Ohio,  where 
Doctor  Fillmore’s  grandfather  spent  all  his  life.  He 
was  a mechanical  engineer,  and  for  many  years  served 
as  tax  assessor  in  the  City  of  Cincinnati. 

Doctor  Fillmore  himself  was  born  at  Newport,  on  the 
opposite  side  of  the  Ohio  River,  in  Kentucky,  April  25, 
1877.  His  father,  Ebenezer  Fillmore,  was  born  in  Ohio 
in  the  early  ’50s,  and  died  at  Cincinnati  in  1878,  the 
year  following  Doctor  Fillmore ’s  birth.  He  was  a steam- 
boat captain,  and  had  command  of  the  steamboat  Bos- 
tonia,  which  plied  between  Cincinnati  and  New  Orleans, 
his  headquarters  being  in  the  former  city.  Captain  Fill- 
more- was  a member  of  the  Methodist  Church.  He  mar- 
ried Zuba  Dustin,  who  was  born  near  Lexington,  Ken- 
tucky, in  1847,  and  now  lives  with  her  only  son  and  child, 
Doctor  Fillmore,  at  Martha. 

In  1880  the  widowed  mother  removed  to  Lawrence 
County,  Tennessee,  where  Doctor  Fillmore  spent  his  youth 
and  gained  his  early  education,  graduating  from  high 
school  in  1895.  Unlike  most  boys  of  that  age,  he  had 
fully  determined  upon  his  future  profession,  and  in  order 
to  secure  the  best  possible  advantages  and  at  the  same 
time  pay  his  own  way,  he  went  to  New  York  City  and 
found  a position  in  the  city  dispensary,  in  which  he 
remained  as  an  employee  until  1897.  In  the  meantime 
he  attended  lectures  in  the  medical  department  of  the 
University  of  New  York,  and  on  November  19,  1895, 
entered  the  City  Hospital,  from  which  he  received  a 
diploma  May  19,  1897. 

In  April,  1898,  at  the  beginning  of  the  war  against 
Spain,  he  sailed  from  New  York  in  charge  of  the  hospital 
on  board  the  auxiliary  cruiser  Panther,  with  the  First 
Marine  Battalion.  The  Panther  touched  at  Key  West, 
and  soon  afterwards  engaged  in  the  bombardment  of 
Matanzas  and  Cardenas,  Cuba.  The  vessel  then  sailed 
to  the  Bay  of  Guantanamo,  where  the  first  actual  land 
battle  took  place  between  the  Americans  and  Spaniards, 
Colonel  Eliott  being  in  command  of  the  First  Marine 
Battalion.  Throughout  the  entire  course  of  actual  war- 
fare in  Cuban  waters  Doctor  Fillmore  was  connected  with 
the  United  States  Navy,  and  was  then  transferred  under 
contract  to  the  United  States  Hospital  Ship  Missouri, 
and  remained  in  that  service  as  long  as  the  hospital 
was  in  commission. 

His  experience  as  a medical  student  in  New  York 
and  in  the  hospital  service  there  and  in  the  navy  depart- 
ment was  of  itself  a broad  and  liberal  equipment  for 
professional  work,  but  after  being  released  from  the 


navy  he  entered  the  University  of  Tennessee  and  was 
graduated  from  the  medical  department  with  his  degree  1 
M.  D.  in  1901.  Doctor  Fillmore  began  practice  at  ] 
Lawrenceburg,  in  Lawrence  County,  Tennessee,  in  the  | 
spring  of  1901,  but  in  the  same  year  moved  out  to  I 

Oklahoma,  and  became  one  of  the  pioneer  physicians  in  | 
Johnson  County.  He  practiced  in  that  section  until  1911, 
and  for  the  following  two  years  was  health  officer  in 
Coal  County,  Oklahoma,  and  during  1913  spent  a short 
time  in  Ada,  and  since  1914  has  been  located  at  Martha, 
where  he  is  already  well  established  in  a medical  and 
surgical  practice,  his  home  and  offices  being  on  Main 
Street. 

Doctor  Fillmore  is  a democrat,  is  a member  of  the 
Methodist  Eniseopal  Church,  belongs  to  the  county  and 
state  medical  societies,  and  in  fraternal  matters  is  affili- 
ated with  Martha  Lodge  No.  278,  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons,  with  McAlester  Consistory  of  the 
thirty-second  degree  Scottish  Rite,  and  with  Martha 
Camp  of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World.  On  May  17,  1905, 
in  Johnson  County,  Oklahoma,  he  married  Miss  Annie  A. 
Hill,  who  came  to  this  state  from  Arkansas.  They  are 
the  parents  of  two  children:  Hartson  William,  born 
September  1,  1907;  and  Clyde  Chastaine,  born  November 
25,  1909. 

James  A.  Utterback.  The  successful  man  in  any 
walk  of  life  is  he  whose  vigilance  enables  him  to  recog- 
nize opportunity  when  she  comes  a-knocking  to  make 
the  most  advantageous  circumstances.  Mr.  Utterback, 
through  his  persistence  and  determination  to  succeed, 
has  built  up  a splendid  business  at  Bridgeport,  where 
he  owns  one  of  the  largest  and  best  general  merchandise 
stores.  He  is  interested  in  public  affairs  and  at  one  time 
gave  efficient  service  as  city  councilman. 

At  Riverton,  Fremont  County,  Iowa,  October  14,  1872, 
occurred  the  birth  of  James  A.  Utterback,  whose  ances- 
tors were  natives  of  Holland,  whence  they  immigrated  to  ; 
America  in  the  colonial  times  and  located  in  Pennsyl-  < 
vania.  He  is  a son  of  Harrison  and  Mary  (Allison)  ' 
Utterback,  the  former  of  whom  was  born  in  Illinois,  in  s 
1847,  and  the  latter  was  born  in  Missouri.  Harrison  Utter-  < 
back  accompanied  his  parents  to  Riverton,  Iowa,  in  1853,  : J 
at  which  time  he  was  but  six  years  of  age.  He  has  j 
resided  in  the  vicinity  of  Riverton  during  the  major  por- 
tion of  his  life  thus  far  and  has  devoted  his  attention  to  s 
farming  and  to  conducting  a general  store.  Although  " 
very  young  at  the  time,  he  served  for  four  months  in  the  * 
Union  army  in  the  Civil  war,  just  prior  to  its  close.  He  N 
is  a democrat  in  politics  and  is  deacon  in  the  Christian  ® 
Church  at  Riverton.  He  and  his  wife  have  seven  children,  If 
concerning  whom  the  following  brief  data  are  here  in-  ! E 
corporated:  William  resides  at  Binger,  Oklahoma,  being  311 
a farmer  and  banker;  Jesse  lives  at  Tulsa,  this  state;  Pr 
James  A.  is  the  subject  of  this  sketch;  Simpson  con-  P 
ducts  a telephone  exchange  at  Imogene,  Iowa;  Emaline  is  118 
the  wife  of  George  Zimmerman,  a farmer  near  River-  1118 
ton,  Iowa;  Mary  is  the  wife  of  Hawes  Yates,  of  River-  *ja 
ton;  and  Myrtle  is  married  and  resides  on  a farm  in  P11 
Iowa.  111 

James  A.  Utterback  passed  his  boyhood  and  youth  on  1 
his  father ’s  farm  and  attended  the  public  schools  of  I® 
Riverton,  Iowa.  After  reaching  his  majority  he  operated  i 11118 
his  father ’s  farm  for  seven  years  and  in  1900  came  to  i Ja! 
Oklahoma,  taking  up  a claim  at  Colony,  in  Washita  l . 
County.  In  .1903  he  sold  his  claim  and  located  in  the  ** 
vicinity  of  Bridgeport,  where  he  farmed  for  two  years, , 01 
at  the  end  of  which  he  opened  up  a general  store  in  this  °? 
city,  the  same  being  located  on  Market  Street.  In  ^ 
recent  years  he  has  enlarged  his  place  of  business  andi  . 
he  now  has  the  distinction  of  conducting  one  of  the  best'  111 
equipped  and  most  modern  general  stores  in  this  section.  ® 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2021 


He  caters  to  a high-class  trade  in  both  Caddo  and  Blaine 
eounties.  In  politics  he  is  a stalwart  democrat  and  he 
served  as  city  councilman.  He  affiliates  with  Bridgeport 
Lodge,  No.  229,  Ancient,  Free  and  Accepted  Masons ; and 
with  the  Valley  of  Guthrie  Consistory,  No.  1,  being  a 
thirty-second  degree  Mason.  He  is  an  ex-member  of 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  Mr.  Utterback 
is  an  up-to-date  business  man,  thoroughly  alive  to  every 
chance  for  advancement. 

In  Eockport,  Missouri,  in  1892,  was  celebrated  the 
marriage  of  Mr.  Utterback  to  Miss  Ida  Davis,  a daughter 
i of  the  late  Benjamin  Davis,  formerly  a farmer  in  Mis- 
souri. Mr.  and  Mrs.  Utterback  have  two  children:  Leta 
: is  the  wife  of  Francis  Labounty,  a merchant  at  Watseca, 

1 Illinois;  and  Cleo  is  at  home  with  her  parents. 

George  Barnett  has  been  closely  associated  with  Okla- 
e homa  City’s  growth  and  development  for  nearly  twenty  - 
i five  years,  having  located  in  that  prairie  town  about  two 
5,  years  after  the  opening.  As  a merchant  he  conducted  a 
1 business  which  made  him  familiar  to  thousands  of  local 
re  citizens,  and  since  retiring  from  business  he  has  given 
'n  his  time  partly  to  the  administration  of  public  affairs 
tr  as  a county  commissioner  and  also  to  his  private  invest- 
ments in  local  real  estate. 

George  Barnett  was  born  in  New  Orleans,  Louisiana, 
iy  February  28,  1859,  a son  of  Joseph  and  Theresa  (Hart) 

ig-  Barnett,  his  father  a native  of  Berlin,  Gernlany,  and  his 

te  mother  of  Leeds,  England.  Joseph  Barnett  joined  the 
ik,  Confederate  Army  during  the  Civil  war,  and  saw  two 
«1,  years  of  service  under  General  Beauregard.  Both  be- 
!te  fore  and  after  the  war  he  was  prominently  identified 
ise  with  business  affairs  in  New  Orleans, 
me  George  Barnett  finished  his  education  in  the  Central 
Boys’  High  School  in  New  Orleans,  and  at  the  age  of 
IJ2,  eighteen  entered  the  cotton  business,  following  that  two 
:es-  years.  His  business  career  has  made  him  a cosmopolitan, 
I to  and  he  is  not  only  familiar  with  all  the  larger  trade 

syl-  centers  of  America,  but  has  spent  much  time  abroad, 

on)  This  experience  was  gained  largely  during  his  work  as  a 
, in  silk  buyer  in  foreign  countries.  He  imported  large 
ter-  quantities  of  silk  to  the  United  States,  and  for  several 
S3,  years  was  engaged  in  the  business  of  selling  silks  to 
has  jobbers  in  the  United  States. 

poi.  When  George  Barnett  came  to  Oklahoma  City  in  the 
nto  spring  of  1891  he  found  a raw  western  town,,  but  one 
with  a promise  of  splendid  development,  and  it  was  with 
^ an  eye  to  the  future  that  he  determined  upon  making  it 
ge  his  permanent  home.  All  the  older  citizens  of  Oklahoma 
jjjj,,  City  will  recall  his  place  of  business  as  a wholesale  and 
jteil  Tetail  cigar  dealer,  which  was  first  in  the  Grand  Avenue 
e C Hotel,  and  later  in  the  fine  store  at  the  corner  of  Grand 
jj.  and  Broadway  in  the  City  Building.  He  was  the  active 
ate!l  proprietor  of  that  business  until  he  sold  out  to  it's 
c#’  present  owner  in  1907.  In  the  meantime  Mr.  Barnett 
. y had  invested  extensively  all  the  capital  he  could  com- 
LJ  mand  in  real  estate,  and  for  many  years  has  been  a 
v buyer  and  seller,  and  still  owns  some  very  handsome 
;1T.  properties.  Mr.  Barnett  still  maintains  a business  office 
111  in  the  State  National  Bank  Building. 

In  1912  Mr.  Barnett  was  nominated  by  the  democratic 
I j party  and  elected  a member  of  the  board  of  county  eom- 
® °i  missioners.  This  was  an  unusual  distinction,  since  he 
etae  was  the  first  democrat  ever  elected  to  this  office  from 
;°  the  city  district.  His  two  years  of  service  were  marked 
j™"1  with  faithful  and  conscientious  work  for  the  reduction 
12  Le  of  tax  burdens  and  the  placing  of  the  county’s  affairs 
Je®  on  a purely  business  basis.  Mr.  Barnett  claims  and  is 
in  tins  given  credit  for  reducing  the  assessment  values  from 
& “ $129,612  to  $94,928  in  1913  and  from  $118,322  to  $92,771 
§ and  jn  1914.  While  this  reduction  was  obviously  in  the  inter- 
lie»  est  of  the  tax  payers,  at  the  same  time  he  directed  his 
section 


efforts  to  another  phase  of  the  county’s  fiscal  affairs  so 
that  public  administration  did  not  thereby  suffer.  As  a 
result  of  reforms  brought  about  during  his  membership 
on  the  board  the  county  warrants,  which  had  for  several 
years  been  circulating  often  a number  of  months  after 
issue  and  bearing  6 per  cent  interest,  were  placed  on  a 
cash  basis,  which  saved  many  thousand  dollars  of  interest 
charges.  In  other  ways  expenses  of  the  fiscal  adminis- 
tration were  reduced  so  as  to  approximate  a savings  to 
the  tax  payers  of  $500,000  during  the  two  years  Mr. 
Barnett  was  on  the  board. 

At  Little  Bock,  Arkansas,  January  18,  1880,  Mr. 
Barnett  married  Miss  Corinne  Winter,  daughter  of  Moses 
and  Sarah  Winter  of  Fort  Smith,  Arkansas.  Mrs.  Bar- 
nett’s father  was  born  in  Hungary,  and  her  mother  in 
Alsace-Lorraine,  France.  They  have  two  sons:  Joseph, 
born  in  1890,  and  now  in  the  State  School  Land  Depart- 
ment of  Oklahoma;  and  Louis,  born  in  1892,  now  in 
the  county  treasurer’s  office  of  Oklahoma  County.  While 
Mr.  Barnett  is  not  an  orthodox  in  religion,  he  is  a 
humanitarian  in  principle  and  action,  and  has  done  good 
wherever  and  whenever  he  could.  Fraternally  he  is  affili- 
ated with  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks 
and  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  He  and  his  family  reside 
at  217  West  Fifth  Street. 

James  A.  Emmons.  On  the  Eural  Eoute  No.  3 out 
of  Pawnee,  on  a beautiful  country  homestead  known  as 
Wildflower  Farm,  lives  one  of  the  most  interesting  char- 
acters in  Oklahoma,  a pioneer  of  thq  Cherokee  Strip, 
and  with  a record  of  experience  in  the  West  such  as  few 
living  men  can  now  equal. 

James  A.  Emmons  was  born  December  29,  1845,  at 
Guyandotte,  Virginia,  a son  of  James  and  Nancy  Smith 
Emmons.  He  was  the  first  in  a family  of  nine  children. 
Some  of  his  maternal  forebears  were  early  settlers  in 
New  England,  probably  at  Boston,  since  a family  of 
the  name  has  been  identified  with  business  affairs  in  that 
city  for  many  years.  Some  of  them  moved  to  New 
Jersey  and  thence  on  to  Philadelphia.  Mr.  Emmons  ’ 
grandfather  was  a soldier  under  Washington  in  the  Con- 
tinental army,  and  after  the  close  of  the  war  took  up 
his  home  in  Philadelphia,  where  he  learned  the  trade  of 
cabinet  or  furniture  maker.  In  a few  years  there  opened 
a prospect  for  taking  up  his  revolutionary  land  grant, 
and  he  started  for  the  border.  At  that  time  the  Indians 
were  troublesome  in  the  Ohio  Territory,  and  in  the 
meantime  he  awaited  for  quiet  at  Guyandotte,  Virginia. 
There  he  married  a Miss  Holenbaugh,  whose  family  had 
come  from  North  Carolina  for  the  same  purpose,  namely 
to  settle  in 1 the  Northwest.  The  fruit  of  this  marriage 
was  James  A.  Emmons,  Martin  Luther  Emmons  and  a 
daughter  Sarah  Emmons,  respectively  the  father,  uncle 
and  aunt  of  James  A. 

James  Emmons  was  born  at  Guyandotte,  Virginia, 
May  20,  1810,  and  died  in  the  fall  of  1888.  He  grew  to 
manhood  and  at  the  age  of  thirty-five  in  1844  married 
Miss  Nancy  Smith,  who  was  born  at  Staunton,  Virginia, 
and  died  at  Tecumseh,  Nebraska,  in  the  fall  of  1902. 
Miss  Smith  was  a beautiful  woman,  with  bright  blue 
eyes  and  coal  black  hair  and  fair  complexion.  She  was 
also  of  revolutionary  stock. 

In  the  brick  home  of  these  parents  James  A.  Emmons 
first  saw  the  light  of  the  sun  on  a cold  December  morn- 
ing in  1845.  In  1853  his  father  succumbed  to  the 
wanderlust  and  started  for  the  western  frontier  of  Mis- 
souri. The  family  embarked  on  the  little  Ohio  Biver 
steamer,  Beveille,  for  Cincinnati,  and  there  took  passage 
on  the  Golden  State  for  St.  Louis.  James  A.  Emmons 
recalls  some  of  the  incidents  on  landing  in  St.  Louis, 
remembers  the  ‘ ‘ runners  ’ ’ calling  the  name  of  Hotel 
Monroe  and  the  Virginia  House.  He  recalls  the  passage 


2022 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


of  the  boat  through  the  locks  at  Louisville.  From  St. 
Louis  the  family  steamed  away  up  the  Mississippi  and 
the  Missouri  on  the  boat  St.  Ange,  under  Captain  Smith, 
for  Hill’s  Landing  in  Carroll  County,  Missouri.  There 
they  lived  four  years,  the  father  taking  up  the  busi- 
ness of  hemp,  tobacco  and  grain  shipping.  While  there 
James  A.  Emmons  attended  a subscription  school.  In 
the  fall  of  1856  the  family  were  once  more  on  the  move, 
this  time  for  Omaha,  Nebraska.  They  arrived  at  night- 
fall at  the  site  now  occupied  by  that  thriving  city. 
There  James  A.  Emmons  first  saw  an  Indian  camp,  with 
hundreds  of  fires  gleaming  from  the  woods  that  climbed 
up  the  hillsides  above  the  river.  As  he  lay  awake  with 
staring  eyes  in  his  stateroom  he  could  hear  the  drums 
and  tom-toms  and  the  weird  music  of  their  chanted 
songs,  and  could  see  their  strange  dances  around  the 
camp  fires.  He  finally  fell  asleep  to  dream  of  Poca- 
hontas, Captain  Smith  and  all  the  Indian  characters  he 
had  read  of.  On  the  same  evening  he  witnessed  a ball 
held  in  the  new  City  of  Omaha,  attended  by  all  the 
pioneer  settlers.  He  recalls  the  wonder  and  beauty  of 
that  scene  to  the  present  time,  with  the  splendid  figures 
of  the  happy  young  men  and  women,  full  of  health  and 
hope,  the  curtsies  of  the  ladies,  the  grand  march,  the 
figures  of  the  Virginia  reel  or  the  minuet.  When  he 
awoke  the  following  morning  the  steamer  was  running 
rapidly  down  the  muddy  Missouri,  his  father  having 
concluded  to  make  Sonora  Island  his  landing  place. 
Sonora  Island  is  an  island  in  the  Missouri  River,  included 
in  what  is  now  the  State  of  Nebraska. 

Arriving  there  the  father  bought  a lumber  and  shingle 
machine,  and  set  it  up  in  the  midst  of  a great  forest 
of  tall  cottonwood  trees.  Mr.  Emmons  has  many  in- 
teresting recollections  of  that  island,  where  he  spent 
several  of  the  formative  years  of  his  youth.  He  and 
the  other  boys  of  the  country  side  enjoyed  the  very  acme 
of  happiness  in  hunting  squirrels,  turkey,  deer  and  other 
small  game,  in  fishing  and  in  tracing  the  winged  honey 
bee  to  his  tree.  When  he  and  his  companions  would 
locate  the  home  of  the  swarm,  they  would  take  their 
little  axes  and  work  for  half  a day  in  chopping  the  giant 
cottonwood.  They  would  frequently  secure  as  their 
booty  a big  tub  and  sometimes  two  tubfulls  of  white 
honey.  In  the  woods  could  be  found  all  kinds  of  fruit, 
plums,  June  berries  and  blackberries.  In  the  fall  they 
would  gather  the  popcorn  and  the  great  sweet  yellow 
pumpkins,  and  their  capacity  for  enjoyment  was  vastly 
greater  than  that  of  the  present  pampered  race  of  youth. 
During  the  winter  he  and  his  companions  attended  a 
school  kept  in  a log  building.  Spelling  was  chiefly 
emphasized  in  such  schools,  and  all  the  scholars  learned 
spelling  as  one  of  their  chief  accomplishments.  His 
father  finally  sold  out  his  lumber  mill  and  went  on  a 
farm,  where  the  children  again  spent  ideal  days  and 
years. 

Upon  this  happy  pioneer  life  there  finally  came  a 
cloud.  People  began  to  talk  of  war,  and  in  1861  the 
great  national  tragedy  opened  in  the  conflict  between  the 
states.  Mr.  Emmons  was  then  sixteen  years  of  age.  One 
day  he  called  upon  his  father  for  a half  dollar,  the  first 
requisition  of  that  kind  in  his  life.  The  older  man  looked 
upon  his  son  with  surprise,  and  inquired  as  to  the  use 
intended  for  such  money.  The  boy  promptly  answered 
that  it  was  to  buy  a copy  of  Hardee’s  Military  Tactics 
in  order  to  get  ready  to  fight  for  Virginia,  his  native 
state.  The  half  dollar  was  given,  and  the  book  was 
bought,  and  young  Emmons  soon  had  all  the  neighboring 
boys  marking  time,  marching  and  standing  guard,  parad- 
ing, and  had  organized  a complete  camp  of  aspiring 
young  soldiers.  But  a mother’s  fears  intervened  to  pre- 
vent the  enthusiasm  of  the  boy  from  enlisting  and  going 
away  to  the  front.  Like  the  wise  woman  she  was,  she 


did  not  actually  forbid  him  carrying  out  his  designs,  but 
gave  him  an  attractive  substitute.  She  showed  him  how 
much  better  it  would  be  to  become  a sailor  an  occupation 
which  wovdd  require  clean  clothes,  with  low  quartered 
shoes  and  a jacket  of  attractive  blue.  That  idea  took 
hold,  and  at  the  age  of  seventeen,  with  the  blessing  of 
Ms  father  and  mother,  and  the  precepts  of  the  latter 
impressed  on  his  heart  that  he  should  not  drink  whiskey 
nor  gamble,  should  be  for  life,  he  broke  home  ties  and 
started  down  the  river  on  the  packet  Emily,  which  plied 
the  river  between  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  and  Omaha, 
Nebraska.  His  commander  was  Capt.  S.  P.  Ray,  and  he 
was  fortunately  placed  under  the  steward,  Fred  Harvey. 
His  first  duties  were  those  of  knife  shiner,  and  he  took 
care  of  all  the  silverware,  counting  and  locking  it  up 
three  times  a day.  Cabin  work  was  not  agreeable  and 
seemed  to  offer  little  opportunity  for  learning  naviga- 
tion. In  the  following  spring  he  went  to  the  lower  deck 
in  order  to  climb  up,  and  the  climbing  was  rapid  and 
apparently  easy.  He  became  the  boy  mate,  then  the  boy 
captain,  and  pilot,  and  for  twelve  years  was  in  the  steam- 
boat business  on  the  Missouri  and  Mississippi  rivers. 

After  giving  up  steamboating  Captain  Emmons  went 
to  Sioux  City,  Iowa,  and  bought  a stock  of  merchandise 
and  lumber,  the  latter  to  be  used  in  the  construction  of 
a store  building.  He  had  made  up  his  mind  to  locate  at 
the  crossing  of  the  Northern  Pacific  over  the  Missouri 
River,  far  up  and  away  from  civilization.  He  embarked 
with  his  goods  on  a steamer,  and  after  a voyage  of  a 
thousand  miles  landed  in  August,  1872,  and  there  set  up 
the  first  building  on  the  location  of  what  is  now  one  of 
the  important  cities  of  the  Northwest.  While  building 
his  store  Col.  George  W.  Sweet  came  around  and  platted 
the  town,  naming  it  Edwinton,  in  honor  of  the  deceased 
first  chief  engineer  of  the  Northern  Pacific  Railway.  On 
first  locating  there  his  goods  had  been  seized  on  the 
ground  that  he  was  in  Indian  territory  and  had  no  gov- 
ernment permission  to  trade.  Later  his  property  was 
restored  to  him  by  Major  General  Hancock. 

He  had  hardly  reached  his  new  location  before  making 
up  his  mind  that  he  could  not  get  along  without  the  pres- 
ence of  his  sweetheart,  who  was  then  at  Yankton,  a thou- 
sand miles  away.  Soon  afterward  he  steamed  down  the 
mighty  river,  and  on  the  18th  of  September  on  a beauti- 
ful moonlight  night  at  the  home  of  her  brother-in-law, 
Dr.  Franklin  Wixon,  the  Reverend  Doctor  Ward  in  the 
presence  of  a company  of  friends  read  the  ceremony  that 
united  the  hearts  and  hands  of  Nina  B.  Burnham  and 
James  A.  Emmons  for  a life  partnership.  At  10  o ’clock  on 
the  same  night  the  steamboat  Miner,  with  the  bride  and 
groom  and  a large  passenger  list,  started  off  up  the  river, 
with  the  first  bride  and  groom  to  arrive  at  old  Edwinton, 
now  Bismarck,  the  capital  of  North  Dakota.  In  passing 
it  may  be  noted  that  the  pioneer  citizens  to  this  day  do 
not  know  who  placed  the  hated  name  of  Bismarck  upon 
their  town. 

Mr.  Emmons  and  wife  remained  in  Bismarck  up  to 
1885,  and  prospered  until  the  great  capitol  boom  col- 
lapsed through  the  greed  of  a dishonest  governor,  causing 
them  a loss  of  the  fortune  which  had  required  years  of 
toil  to  accumulate.  In  1873  Gen.  Edwin  S.  McCook  had 
come  to  select  three  commissioners  to  organize  the  County 
of  Burleigh.  Captain  Emmons  was  selected  as  chairman 
of  the  board,  he  being  a democrat,  and  all  the  other 
members  republicans.  He  served  as  chairman  of  the 
county  board  for  ten  years,  and  in  that  time  put  up  all 
the  county  buildings.  He  was  then  appointed  by  Judge 
Shannon  as  United  States  Court  Commissioner,  and  in 
that  office  served  three  years.  By  a special  act  of  the 
Territorial  Legislature  he  was  designated  to  organize  the 
County  of  Emmons,  which  was  named  for  him,  and  in 
that  work  as  in  every  other  public  capacity  he  performed 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2023 


his  duties  with  a strict  fidelity  to  the  public  welfare. 
A few  years  after  locating  at  Bismarck,  when  General 
Custer  came  to  Fort  Lincoln,  he  would  allow  no  one  else 
to  act  as  his  captain  and  pilot  in  transferring  the  troops, 
and  Captain  Emmons  spoke  the  words  of  farewell  to  that 
noted  general  when  he  started  out  on  the  fatal  expedi- 
tion which  ended  with  the  Custer  massacre.  After  that 
calamity  it  devolved  upon  Captain  Emmons  and  Col.  Wil- 
liam Thompson,  who  had  seen  service  under  General 
Custer,  to  break  the  news  to  the  family  at  Fort  Lincoln. 
Mrs.  Custer  being  the  ranking  lady  at  the  fort  they  had 
to.  communicate  their  tragic  intelligence  to  her  first  of 
all.  and  it  was  a most  trying  ordeal  for  all  concerned. 

In  1883  the  citizens  of  the  village  of  Edwinton,  now 
Bismarck,  raised  a hundred  thousand  dollars  in  order  to 
build  the  capitol.  Governor  Ordway  caused  these  funds 
to  be  withdrawn  from  two  reliable  banks  and  deposited 
in  a bank  which  he  had  established  himself.  As  a 
result  of  this  transfer  and  misuse  of  the  funds,  the  citi- 
zens who  had  so  generously  donated  their  cash  and 
credit  were  almost  financially  ruined.  At  that  time 
Mr.  Emmons  was  associated  with  the  First  National 
Bank  and  with  William  A.  Hollenback  in  building  a 
three-story  brick  block,  the  finest  steam  heated  building 
at  that  time  between  the  Mississippi  and  Missouri  rivers. 
He  had  also  been  appointed  by  the  Territorial  Legisla- 
ture as  the  commissioner  to  build  a twenty-five  thousand 
dollar  public  school  house.  Through  the  treachery  of  the 
governor  this  accumulation  of  responsibilities  bore  heav- 
ily upon  Captain  Emmons,  and  when  he  left  Bismarck 
in  May,  1885,  having  paid  all  his  debts,  he  possessed 
only  $400.  At  that  time  he  had  a trunk  full  of  worth- 
less deeds  to  town  lots  of  land,  which  he  never  recorded 
until  August,  1915. 

Captain  Emmons  then  brought  his  wife  back  to 
Nebraska,  and  leaving  her  on  the  old  homestead  went 
West  to  Leadville,  Colorado,  where  he  leased  a mine 
twelve  miles  up  the  Arkansas  River.  A short  time  pre- 
viously three  men  had  been  blown  to  pieces  in  a blasting 
explosion,  and  the  cabin  and  all  the  equipment  wrecked. 
He  engaged  in  mining  there  until  his  capital  had  been 
depleted  to  $25,  and  then  started  back  to  Lincoln, 
Nebraska,  arriving  there  with  only  $10  in  his  pocket. 

Captain  Emmons  has  had  almost  a veteran’s  share  in 
the  newspaper  profession.  In  1877  he  bought  the  Bis- 
marck Tribune,  a weekly  paper  to  support  the  campaign 
of  Hon.  Bartlett  Tripp  for  Congress  on  the  democratic 
ticket.  He  conducted  the  paper  altogether  for  about  six 
months,  and  at  the  close  of  the  campaign  sold  it  to  Stan- 
ley Huntley  and  Marshall  Jewell,  on  credit.  After  his 
mining  ventures  in  Colorado,  Captain  Emmons  again  took 
up  the  newspaper  business,  establishing  the  Nebraska 
State  Democrat,  a weekly  paper.  J'his  was  in  1888.  He 
set  up  the  plant  in  a new  bank  building  in  Lincoln. 
Prior  to  the  first  issue  he  engaged  a young  lady  to  attend 
a meeting  out  in  the  country  at  a school  house,  where 
William  Jennings  Bryan,  then  unknown  to  fame,  was  to 
make  his  maiden  speech.  The  young  lady  returned  with 
an  account  of  the  meeting  and  a report  of  the  speech, 
and  it  was  published  in  the  first  issue  of  Mr.  Emmons’ 
paper.  He  continued  in  the  newspaper  business  at  Lin- 
coln until  1892  and  sold  out  and  moved  to  Guthrie  in 
Oklahoma  Territory.  Here  he  became  connected  with 
the  West  South,  a populist  newspaper,  and  was  one  of  its 
seditors  until  September,  1893. 

On  September  12,  1893,  Captain  Emmons  set  out  for 
Stillwater  to  register  for  a homestead  in  the  Cherokee 
Strip.  Four  days  later,  on  the  16th  of  September,’  he  was 
one  of  the  great  horde  of  homeseekers  who  entered  the 
strip.  He  made  the  run  on  a very  aged  gray  horse,  and 
ion  the  20th  located  his  homestead  claim,  now  the  nucleus 
of  the  beautiful  Wildfiower  Farm,  near  Pawnee. 


Captain  Emmons  has  from  the  first  taken  a great 
interest  in  developing  this  country.  He  has  developed  the 
Egyptian  wheat  and  Fetrita,  a grain  which  Mr.  Bryan 
has  prophesied  will  become  the  future  breadstuff  of  the 
world.  In  the  organization  of  Pawnee  County  in  the 
early  part  of  1894  Governor  Renfrew  appointed  Captain 
Emmons  one  of  the  first  board  of  commissioners,  and  he 
was  made  chairman  of  the  board  and  took  a very  impor- 
tant part  in  organizing  the  county  government.  He 
served  three  months,  supervised  the  planning  of  the 
court  house  and  jail.  His  friend  Charles  E.  Yandervoort 
then  took  up  his  plans,  organized  a building  company, 
and  constructed  the  court  house  and  jail.  This  court 
house  was  the  first  in  Oklahoma  and  did  not  cost  the  tax 
payers  a single  cent.  Captain  Emmons  and  his  noble 
wife  have  been  farming  in  Pawnee  County  for  twenty- 
one  years,  and  have  never  yet  failed  to  raise  a crop. 
They  plant  from  early  spring  until  July,  and  then  with 
the  help  of  the  rains  and  the  wonderful  Oklahoma 
climate,  bring  in  their  bounteous  harvest.  Captain 
Emmons  has  for  a number  x>£  years  been  a correspondent 
to  some  of  the  leading  newspapers  in  the  United  States. 

Mrs.  James  A.  Emmons  is  likewise  a pioneer  of  the 
West,  and  her  associations  and  experiences  are  such  as  to 
deserve  an  individual  sketch. 

Nina  Barbara  Cole  was  born  at  Philadelphia  April  15, 
1853,  a daughter  of  Howard  M.  and  Louise  (Torbert) 
Cole.  Her  father,  Howard  M.  Cole,  served  in  the  Mexi- 
can war,  according  to  the  official  information  given  by 
the  War  Department,  as  a corporal  in  Company  G of  the 
First  Pennsylvania  Infantry.  He  was  mustered  into 
service  December  17,  1846,  was  transferred  to  Company 
F in  the  same  regiment  June  23,  1847,  and  was  honor- 
ably discharged  July  28,  1848. 

Howard  M.  Cole  was  a victim  of  the  ill-fated  steamer 
San  Francisco,  and  the  following  information  concerning 
that  vessel  is  a close  quotation  from  the  Navy  Depart- 
ment Record.  The  steamer  San  Francisco  was  chartered 
by  the  United  States  Quartermaster’s  Department  Octo- 
ber 15,  1853,  to  transport  the  officers  and  men  of  the 
Third  United  States  Artillery  from  New  York  to  Benicia, 
California,  and  also  carried  the  families  of  some  of  the 
officers  and  other  passengers.  The  vessel  sailed  from 
New  York  December  22,  1853.  Two  days  later,  when 
about  three  hundred  miles  from  port,  the  engines  gave 
out,  a heavy  sea  washed  over  the  steamer,  carrying  away 
the  entire  upper  cabin  and  with  it  four  officers,  a number 
of  enlisted  men,  the  wife  of  Major  Taylor,  the  son  of 
Colonel  Gates,  commanding  the  regiment,  and  a number 
of  the  citizen  passengers.  For  four  days  there  was  a 
constant  succession  of  gales.  On  the  27th  the  bark 
Kilby  hove  in  sight,  and  her  commander  Captain  Lowe 
lay  by  the  wrecked  steamer  until  the  28th,  when  the  sea 
having  abated  in  a measure  a hawser  was  used  to  attach 
the  two  vessels,  and  boats  sent  back  and  forth  removed 
the  women  and  children,  citizen  passengers,  about  fifty 
soldiers  and  some  officers  to  the  Kilby.  Before  the  work 
was  completed  a sudden  squall  of  wind  separated  the  two 
vessels,  the  hawser  parted  and  the  vessels  drifted  apart. 
The  Kilby  being  unable  to  render  further  aid  tried  to 
make  an  American  port.  She  was  picked  up  by  the 
packet  ship  Lucy  Thompson  and  taken  into  New  York. 

On  the  30th  of  December  the  ship  Three  Bells,  Captain 
Creighton,  hove  in  sight  of  the  San  Francisco,  laid  by 
her  until  January  3,  1854,  by  which  time  the  waves  had 
sufficiently  subsided  for  those  left  on  the  wreck  to  be 
taken  off.  The  next  day  the  ship  Antarctic,  Captain 
Stouffer,  came  to  their  relief  and  assisted  in  The  rescue 
of  those  for  whom  there  was  not  room  on  the  Three  Bells. 
Captain  Watkins,  the  commander  of  the  San  Francisco, 
was  the  last  man  to  leave  the  steamer,  and  with  his 


2024 


IISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


officers  and  crew  was  taken  on  board  the  Antarctic  to 
Liverpool,  whither  she  was  bound.  Before  leaving, 
Captain  Watson  had  the  San  Francisco  scuttled,  so  she 
sank  as  he  was  leaving.  The  Three  Bells  sailed  for  New 
York,  and  largely  owing  to  the  hard  work  and  self- 
sacrificing  efforts  of  its  commander,  Captain  Creighton, 
and  his  crew,  the  ship,  though  leaking  badly,  and  with 
her  pumps  constantly  manned,  finally  came  into  safety. 
The  sufferings  of  the  passengers  on  the  Kilby  were  very 
great,  they  were  reduced  to  a few  handfuls  of  parched 
corn  daily  to  each  person,  the  water  supply  was  limited 
to  a wineglassful  a day,  adverse  winds  drove  them  back 
several  times  as  they  neared  shore.  The  providential 
arrival  of  the  Lucy  Thompson  January  13th  prevented 
threatened  mutiny  on  board  the  Kilby.  To  her  the  pas- 
sengers from  the  San  Francisco  were  transferred  and 
reached  New  York  January  14th.  The  Kilby  eventually 
reached  her  port,  Boston.  The  Three  Bells  arrived  in 
New  York  January  13th,  and  though  it  brought  grief  to 
many  was  a great  relief  to  those  watching  for  news  of 
the  disaster,  since  news  of  the  perilous  condition  of  the 
San  Francisco  had  come  to  New  York  some  days  before. 

Miss  Cole,  at  that  time  an  infant,  having  lost  her 
parents,  was  taken  into  the  home  of  a relative,  Mrs.  Burn- 
ham, then  living  in  Philadelphia.  After  the  landing  of 
the  Three  Bells  in  New  York,  in  1855,  Jefferson  Davis, 
at  that  time  Secretary  of  War  in  the  Pierce  administra- 
tion, appointed  Mrs.  Burnham  a matron  in  the  United 
States  army.  General  Harney’s  expedition  was  organ- 
ized to  go  to  the  far  West,  to  the  Upper  Missouri  River, 
to  establish  a military  post  for  the  protection  of  the 
frontier  against  the  powerful  tribes  of  the  Sioux  Indians. 
They  took  five  steamers  loaded  with  troops  and  supplies, 
and  early  in  1855  steamed  up  the  Missouri  River,  making 
their  first  permanent  landing  at  the  village  of  Omaha. 
The  commander  of  the  troops  called  on  Governor  Izard 
of  Nebraska,  reporting  an  outbreak  of  cholera  among 
the  soldiers  on  the  steamers.  The  governor  promptly 
called  Doctor  Miller,  a young  physician,  to  take  the  post 
as  surgeon  of  the  expedition.  His  young  and  beautiful 
wife  bravely  faced  the  danger  of  cholera  and  accom- 
panied her  husband.  After  a long  and  tedious  voyage 
the  destination  was  reached,  and  Fort  Pierre  was  estab- 
lished at  the  mouth  of  Bad  River  on  the  west  side  of  the 
Missouri,  opposite  the  present  site  of  the  City  of  Pierre, 
the  capital  of  South  Dakota.  This  location  was  aban- 
doned the  following  spring  and  the  great  military  post 
was  established  300  miles  down  the  river,  as  Fort  Ran- 
dall. Here  about  1856  Mrs.  Emmons  ’ memory  and  con- 
sciousness began  among  the  soldiers,  the  barracks,  the 
camp  fires  and  the  Indians  on  the  frontier.  In  1857  her 
foster  mother  resigned  her  position  in  the  army,  and 
found  a home  in  the  embryo  Sioux  City.  There  Mrs.  Em- 
mons grew  to  womanhood,  and  it  was  there  that  she  first 
met  her  future  husband  in  May,  1870.  Since  then  she 
has  been  his  companion  and  the  inspiration  of  his  life. 
As  a pioneer  woman  she  lias  the  honor  of  having  her 
name  in  the  Township  of  Burnham,  in  Pawnee  County. 
Mrs.  Emmons  is  a lovable  character,  and  having  grown 
up  on  the  frontier  has  been  accustomed  from  early  girl- 
hood to  exert  herself  in  those  beneficent  acts  of  kindness 
which  are  so  characteristic  of  the  old-fashioned  people, 
and  still  continues  her  active  interest  in  the  welfare  of 
all  her  neighbors  in  Oklahoma.  After  this  sketch  was 
compiled  and  after  a long  illness  Nina  B.  Emmons  on 
July  7,  1916,  closed  her  eyes  to  all  earthly  scenes,  and 
loving  friends  laid  her  to  rest  at  Meramac,  Oklahoma. 

W illia^i  Reed  Leverton,  M.  D.  The  entire  absence 
of  competition  at  Cloud  Chief  cannot  account  for  the 
success  which  has  been  obtained  in  his  profession  by  Dr. 
William  Reed  Leverton,  who,  since  his  arrival  in  1910, 


has  gained  a liberal  patronage,  the  confidence  of  his  fel- 
low citizens  who  have  elected  him  county  superintendent 
of  health,  and  the  respect  and  esteem  of  his  fellow-prac- 
titioners who  have  chosen  him  secretary  of  the  Washita 
County  Medical  Society.  Doctor  Leverton  was  born  at 
Bowie,  Texas,  August  20,  1882,  and  is  a son  of  W.  B.  and 
Mary  Agnes  (Sandefer)  Leverton.  On  his  father’s  side 
he  is  descended  from  a family  which  originated  in  Ger 
many  and  became  pioneers  of  Georgia,  while  on  his 
mother ’s  side  he  is  of  Scotch-Irish  descent. 

W.  B.  Leverton  was  born  in  Georgia,  March  19,  1844, 
removed  to.  Arkansas  when  about  eight  years  old,  and 
from  Arkansas  state  enlisted,  at  the  age  of  sixteen  years, 
in  the  Confederate  army  during  the  war  between  the 
South  and  the  North,  in  which  he  served  four  years 
as  a member  of  Parsons’  Brigade.  Following  the  war 
he  went  to  Arkansas,  and  in  1874  removed  to  Bowie, 
Montague  County,  Texas,  that  community  continuing  to 
be  his  home  until  1893.  In  that  year  he  came  to  Okla- 
homa and  located  in  Washita  County,  eleven  miles  west 
of  Cordell,  on  a homestead  of  160  acres,  on  which  he 
resided  and  carried  on  operations  until  his  death 
October,  1902.  He  was  a man  of  sterling  integrity  of 
character,  well  meriting  the  esteem  and  regard  in  which 
he  was  held.  In  political  matters  he  was  a democrat 
while  fraternally  he  was  affiliated  with  the  Masons, 
having  been  the  first  worshipful  master  of  Cordell  Lodge 
No.  127,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons.  Mr.  Lever- 
ton married  Miss  Mary  Agnes  Sandefer,  a native  of  Indi- 
ana, who  now  resides  at  Cordell.  Nine  children  have 
been  born  to  this  union:  John  B.,  a cattleman,  residing 
at  Patterson,  California;  Fannie,  who  is  the  wife  of 
J.  W.  Ferguson,  a ranch  and  stockman  of  Alpine,  Texas; 
Indiana,  who  is  the  wife  of  T.  H.  Armstrong,  a farmer 
of  Dill,  Oklahoma;  Matthew  O.  and  A.  C.,  who  conduct 
a farm  in  the  vicinity  of  Dill;  Mattie,  who  is  the  wife 
of  W.  A.  Albin,  a farmer  of  Cross  Plains,  Texas;  Dr, 
William  Reed;  Almedia,  who  is  the  wife  of  James  Par- 
man,  a merchant  at  Cordell;  and  George  Elmer,  who  is 
assistant  cashier  in  the  Farmers  National  Bank  at 
Cordell. 

William  Reed  Leverton  was  reared  on  the  homestead 
farm  in  Washita  County,  Oklahoma,  where  he  remained 
until  he  was  twenty-one  years  of  age,  but  it  was  no 
part  of  his  plans  to  follow  the  life  of  a farmer.  He 
had  received  a common  and  high  school  education  at 
Cordell,  and  when -he  left  the  ranch  took  preparatory 
work  in  the  University  of  Oklahoma,  at  Norman.  He 
next  pursued  a two-year  course  in  the  medical  department 
of  the  same  university,  and  his  junior  and  senior  years 
in  the  study  of  his  chosen  vocation  were  passed  in 
the  medical  'department  of  Saint  Louis  University.  He 
was  graduated  therefrom  in  the  class  of  1909,  with 
the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine,  and  while  a member 
of  college  was  affiliated  with  the  Alpha  Kappa  Greek 
letter  medical  fraternity.  Doctor  Leverton  began  the 
practice  of  medicine  at  Cordell,  but  in  1910  came  to 
Cloud  Chief,  where  he  has  offices  on  Main  Street,  and 
is  the  only  physician  here.  He  is  known  as  a careful 
student,  keeping  fully  abreast  of  the  advancements  made 
in  the  profession,  and  as  a.  skilled  and  steady-handed 
surgeon.  A democrat  in  polities,  he  is  serving  as  county 
superintendent  of  health,  and  for  three  years  was  also 
a member  of  the  school  board  of  Cloud  Chief.  He  is 
an  elder  in  the  Christian  Church  and  has  been  active 
in  the  work  of  that  denomination.  Doctor  Leverton  is 
fraternally  affiliated  with  Cordell  Lodge  No.  127,  Ancient 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  of  which  he  is  a charter 
member.  His  abilities  and  respect  for  the  ethics  of  the 
profession  have  been  recognized  by  his  election  to  the 
office  of  secretary  of  the  Washita  County  Medical  Society  ', 
and  he  belongs  also  to  the  Oklahoma  State  Medical 


Huiv( 


engao 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2025 


s 

i, 

d 

le 

n 


a- 

st 

lie 

of 

ch 

at. 


ft- 

'li- 

ne 

H 

of 

as; 

net 

net 

:ite 

Dr. 

’ar- 


ali 


with 

mber' 

Ireet 

. tie 
ie  to 
and 
refnl 
male 
mded 
aunty 
i also 
He  is 
active 
:on  i> 

acient 

oarter 

af  the 
:o  tie 
aciety 

elical 


Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association.  As  a 
citizen  he  has  -withheld  his  support  from  no  movement 
which  has  promised  the  advancement  of  the  general 
welfare. 

Doctor  Leverton  was  married  August  2,  1909,  at 
Plaiuview,  Texas,  to  Miss  Lillian  May  Colwell,  daugh- 
ter of  S.  N.  Colwell,  a ranchman  of  Hamilton,  Texas. 
Two  children  have  been  born  to  this  union : Edith  Forest, 
born  November  17,  1913 ; and  Wilfred  Bailey,  born'  May 
2,  1915. 

Moses  E.  Wood,  Ph.  D.  Among  the  highly  educated 
men  who  in  recent  years  have  been  raising  the  standard 
of  instruction  in  the  higher  institutions  of  learning  of 
Oklahoma,  Dr.  Moses  E.  Wood  is  easily  one  of  the  most 
noteworthy.  He  came  to  the  state  during  the  reorganiza- 
tion of  the  faculty  of  the  Central  Normal  School,  and 
in  1913  was  elected  head  of  the  department  of  psy- 
chology and  pedagogy.  He  brought  that  position  a 
broad  and  thorough  scholarship  and  a long  and  varied 
experience  as  a practical  school  man. 

Professor  Wood  was  born  in  Clermont  County,  Ohio, 
March  25,  1869,  and  is  a son  of  Thomas  H.  and  Clara  E. 
(Dungan)  Wood.  The  paternal  ancestry  was  English, 
the  first  of  the  family  settling  in  Virginia.  The  paternal 
great-grandfather  settled  at  Jarrett  Station,  the  present 
site  of  Cincinnati,  Ohio,  in  1779.  The  maternal  grand- 
father was  born  in  Baltimore  and  was  descended  from 
Col.  William  Dungan,  a soldier  in  the  days  of  James  II, 
and  descended  from  Irish  earls  of  Kildare.  Professor 
Wood’s  father  was  a native  of  Ohio  and  was  a con- 
tractor and  builder.  Professor  Wood  has  one  brother, 
W.  A.  Wood,  at  the  head  of  the  machinery  department 
of  a manufacturing  concern  in  Cincinnati. 

Doctor  Wood  as  a boy  attended  the  public  schools  of 
Ohio  and  finished  his  high  school  course  in  Muneie, 
Indiana.  He  then  entered  the  National  Normal  Uni- 
versity at  Lebanon,  Ohio,  from  which  he  was  graduated 
Bachelor  of  Arts  in  1894.  Several  years  later  he  was 
granted  a special  life  diploma  from  the  educational 
department  of  the  University  of  Kentucky  and  special 
certificates  from  the  Summer  School  of  the  South  at 
Knoxville,  Tennessee.  His  advanced  university  training 
was  obtained  in  Clark  University  at  Worcester,  Massa- 
chusetts, from  which  he  received  his  Master  of  Arts 
degree  in  1911,  and  during  1911-12  was  a senior  fellow 
in  psychology,  pedagogy  and  history  in  Clark  University. 
His  Doctor  of  Philosophy  degree  comes  from  Clark 
University. 

For  five  years  he  was  superintendent  of  schools  in 
Ohio  and  for  two  years  president  of  Summerville  Col- 
lege in  Tennessee.  His  school  work  in  Kentucky  covered 
a period  of  fourteen  years,  as  superintendent  at  Horse 
Cave,  Hodgensville,  Litchfield,  Wickliffe  and  other  places. 
For  one  year  he  was  superintendent  of  schools  at  Skyko- 
mish,  Washington,  and  came  from  that  state  to  Okla- 
homa in  1913, 

Doctor  Wood  was  married  in  1884  at  Lebanon,  Ohio, 
to  Miss  Ida  Kirtley,  who  was  a school  principal.  Since 
marriage  she  has  remained  in  educational  work,  taking 
her  A.  M.  and  Ph.  D.  degrees  with  her  husband  at  Clark 
University.  She  is  a modern,  progressive  woman  and 
takes  an  active  interest  in  the  leading  subjects  that  are 
engaging  the  attention  of  federated  club  women.  They 
have  a son,  Edwin  K.  Wood,  who  is  a graduate  of  the 
high  school  at  Worcester,  Massachusetts,  a post-graduate 
of  the  high  school  at  Skykomish,  Washington,  and  holds 
a life  diploma  from  the  Central  State  Normal  School  of 
Oklahoma.  He  expects  to  complete  his  education  with 
a Ph.  D.  degree  in  Clark  University. 

Professor  Wood  is  a member  of  the  Christian  Church 


and  is  affiliated  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America. 
His  name  is  well  known  in  educational  circles,  not  only 
as  a teacher  but  also  as  an  author.  He  is  a member  of 
the  Oklahoma  Educational  Association,  the  Central  Okla- 
homa Educational  Association,  and  the  National  Educa- 
tional Association,  also  the  Washington  Educational 
Association  and  the  Massachusetts  Psychological  and 
Pedagogical  Association.  His  name  appears  as  author 
of  a work  entitled  “History  of  Superintendency  in  the 
United  States,”  and  of  “The  Development  of  the  South 
since  1860.”  He  has  a special  talent  for  historical 
research,  and  in  the  course  of  a few  years  it  is  safe  to 
predict  that  his  labors  will  result  in  the  publication  of 
several  historical  volumes.  Professor  Wood  is  a live, 
active,  practical  educator,  completely  in  love  with  his 
work,  and  possessed  of  a thorough  sympathy  and  under- 
standing of  the  needs  of  young  men  and  young  women 
with  whom  he  is  constantly  associated. 

Hans  A.  Kroeger.  A somewhat  eventful  and  varied 
career  has  been  that  of  this  representative  member  of 
the  bar  of  Oklahoma  City,  and  his  advancement  has  been 
achieved  entirely  through  Lis  own  ability  and  well  ordered 
endeavors.  Mr.  Kroeger  is  recognized  as  a man  of  high 
professional  attainments  and  controls  a large  and  im- 
portant general  law  business,  in  connection  with  which 
he  is  . a representative  of  the  legal  department  of  the 
Oklahoma  Bail  way. 

Hans  Adolph  Kroeger  was  born  on  a farm  near  the 
Village  of  Watkins,  Benton  County,  Iowa,  on  the  4th  of 
February,  1872,  and  his  parents,  Martin  and  Amelia 
(Emke)  Kroeger,  were  both  born  in  Germany.  Martin 
Kroeger  gave  signal  manifestation  of  his  loyalty  to  the 
land  of  his  adoption  by  serving  as  a valiant  soldier  of 
the  Union  in  the  Civil  war.  In  the  City  of  St.  Louis, 
Missouri,  in  1861,  he  enlisted  in  a regiment  of  volunteer 
infantry,  and  he  continued  in  active  service  during  the 
entire  period  of  the  war.  He  was  in  the  command  of 
General  Sherman  in  the  memorable  Atlanta  campaign, 
but  after  the  capitulation  of  Atlanta  he  was  assigned 
to  detached  duty  and  sent  to  the  North.  He  and  his 
wife  later  became  pioneer  settlers  of  Iowa,  where  he 
became  a prosperous  farmer. 

Hans  A.  Kroeger  availed  himself  fully  of  the  advan- 
tages of  the  public  schools  of  his  native  state,  where 
he  continued  his  studies  until  he  had  completed  the 
curriculum  of  the  high  school  at  Traer,  Tama  County. 
At  the  age  of  sixteen  years  he  assumed  a position  as 
clerk  in  a dry  goods  establishment  in  the  City  of  Des 
Moines,  Iowa,  where  he  continued  to  be  thus  employed 
until  he  had  attained  to  his  legal  majority.  He  then 
took  a course  in  a business  college  in  that  city,  after 
which  he  returned  to  Traer,  where  he  continued  to  be 
identified  with  the  mercantile  business  for  a year. 

With  the  opening  to  settlement  of  the  Cherokee  Strip 
in  Oklahoma  Mr.  Kroeger  “made  the  run”  from  Cald- 
well, Kansas,  and  located  a claim  at  Pond  Creek,  but  this 
land  later  proved  to  be  on  a section  reserved  for  the 
support  of  the  territorial  schools,  and  his  claim  being 
thus  nullified  he  went  to  Enid,  where  he  remained  about 
two  weeks,  after  which  he  visited  also  the  towns  of  King- 
fisher and  El  Beno,  and  finally  remained  for  some  time 
in  Oklahoma  City.  In  the  meanwhile  Mr.  Kroeger  had 
admirably  fortified  himself  for  the  profession  of  which 
he  is  now  a prominent  representative  in  Oklahoma,  as  he 
had  completed  a thorough  course  in  the  law  department 
of  the  great  University  of  Michigan,  in  which  he  was 
graduated  as  a member  of  the  class  of  1896  and  from 
which  he  received  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Laws.  In 
1899,  after  his  sojourn  in  Oklahoma  Territory,  he  re- 
turned to  Des  Moines,  Iowa,  where  he  was  engaged  in  the 
practice  of  his  profession  about  four  years  and  where 


2026 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


he  was  associated  with  George  Wemback,  one  of  the 
distinguished  members  of  the  bar  of  the  Hawkeye  State. 

In  1903  Mr.  Kroeger  returned  to  Oklahoma  Territory 
and  established  his  residence  at  Francis,  Pontotoc  County, 
where  he  effected  the  organization  of  the  First  State 
Bank,  of  which  institution  he  served  as  cashier  about 
four  years.  The  bank  building  was  destroyed  by  fire 
thirty  days  after  the  institution  opened  for  business, 
but  luckily  none  of  the  funds  of  the  bank  was  destroyed, 
as  no  safe  had  been  installed  and  the  cashier  safeguarded 
the  money  by  carrying  the  same  to  his  home  at  the  close 
of  business  each  night,  the  means  of  transfer  having  been 
an  ordinary  pail  or  bucket.  Soon  after  the  new  building 
had  been  completed  and  a safe  and  time-lock  installed, 
the  bank  was  burglarized  by  two  outlaws,  Ed  Cody  and 
Dave  Vaughn,  and  in  this  connection  Mr.  Kroeger  and  his 
wife  met  with  a strenuous  and  exciting  experience,  as 
denoted  by  the  following  brief  record: 

The  two  highwaymen  proceeded  to  the  little  home  of 
Mr.  Kroeger  about  bedtime,  disarmed  him  and  made 
him  and  his  wife  prisoners.  Mrs.  Kroeger  succeeded 
in  escaping  from  the  house,  hoping  to  alarm  the  neigh- 
bors, but  when  one  of  the  bandits  started  in  pursuit  her 
husband  called  to  her  to  return,  which  she  did.  After 
forcing  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Kroeger  to  sit  quietly  in  their  home 
about  two  hours,  the  two  outlaws  started  to  march  them 
to  the  bank,  but  upon  discovering  that  other  persons 
were  still  on  the  streets  they  returned  to  the  house,  where 
they  guarded  their  captives  until  midnight.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Kroeger  were  then  compelled  to  accompany  their 
captors  to  the  bank  and  a demand  was  made  that  he 
open  the  safe.  He  opened  the  outer  doors  of  the  vault 
and  then  informed  the  captors  that  the  time  lock  pre- 
vented him  from  proceeding  further,  as  neither  he  nor  any 
other  person  could  open  the  inner  vault  until  about  8 
o’clock  in  the  morning,  the  time  for  which  the  clock  had 
been  set.  After  cursing  for  an  hour  or  two  and  fre- 
quently threatening  the  life  of  Mr.  Kroeger,  the  bandits 
finally  abandoned  hope  of  attaining  their  ends,  and 
under  these  conditions  they  took  their  captives  onto  the 
street  once  more  and  ordered  them  to  proceed  quietly 
to  their  home.  As  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Kroeger  started  to 
walk  away,  one  of  the  men,  enraged  over  the  failure  of 
the  venture,  said  to  his  companion,  “I’ve  a h — 1 of  a 
notion  to  shoot  the  top  of  his  d — d head  off  anyway ! ’ ’ 
At  this  juncture  was  the  only  time  during  the  entire 
experience  that  Mr.  Kroeger  really  had  any  fear  for  his 
life. 

During  the  period  of  Mr.  Kroeger ’s  identification  with 
banking  interests  at  Francis  the  merchants  of  that 
town  were  preyed  upon  by  an  organized  band  of  thieves 
who  were  operating  extensively  in  that  section  of  the 
territory  and  who  frequently  set  fire  to  store  buildings 
after  having  sacked  the  same  of  a large  amount  of  its 
contents.  Several  reputable  business  men  were  financially 
ruined  in  this  manner,  but  Mr.  Kroeger  obtained  the  co- 
operation of  other  citizens  and  they  finally  ran  down  the 
gang  and  were  able  to  avoid  further  havoc  in  the  com- 
munity, as  they  succeeded  in  sending  twelve  or  more  of 
the  malefactors  to  the  penitentiary  for  long  terms,  the 
headquarters  and  “fence”  of  these  outlaws  having  been 
at  Randolph,  Johnston  County. 

In  1907,  the  year  which  marked  the  admission  of 
Oklahoma  to  statehood,  Mr.  Kroeger  returned  to  Okla- 
homa City,  where  he  resumed  the  active  practice  of  his 
profession.  For  four  years  he  served  as  general  attorney, 
secretary  and  auditor  of  the  Patterson  street  ear  system, 
and  when  Mr.  Patterson’s  interests  were  purchased  by 
the  Oklahoma  Railway  Company  and  the  two  systems 
were  consolidated,  Mr.  Kroeger  continued  his  service  as  a 
valued  member  of  the  legal  department  of  the  corporation, 
with  which  he  has  continued  to  be  identified  in  tins  capac- 


ity, besides  controlling  a large  and  important  general 
practice,  extending  into  the  various  courts  of  the  capital 
city  and  involving  his  appearance  in  a number  of  spe- 
cially important  litigations. 

At  Rockford,  Iowa,  on  the  18th  of  August,  1901,  was 
solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Kroeger  to  Miss  Marian 
Teape,  who  was  born  and  reared  in  that  state  and  who 
is  a daughter  of  Theodeus  S.  and  Emily  (Montrose) 
Teape.  The  one  child  of  this  union  is  Earl,  who  was 
born  on  the  5th  of  September,  1905. 

Hon.  Richard  A.  Mitchell.  In  noting  the  qualities 
which  have  advanced  Hon.  Richard  A.  Mitchell  to  a 
position  of  prominence  among  the  citizens  of  Roger 
Mills  County  one  is  forced  to  renewed  appreciation  of 
courage,  moral  strength,  honesty  in  public  and  private 
life,  and  fidelity  to  business,  political  and  social  obliga- 
tions. When  he  came  here,  in  1907,  he  entered  the 
journalistic  field  as  the  editor  and  owner  of  the  Roger 
Mills  Sentinel,  a newspaper  which  started  in  a modest 
manner  but  which  under  Mr.  Mitchell’s  able  manage- 
ment has  grown  to  important  proportions,  being  known 
as  one  of  the  strong  democratic  organs  of  Western  Okla- 
homa. While  he  was  succeeding  as  a journalist,  Mr. 
Mitchell  was  also  taking  an  active  part  in  civic  affairs, 
and  finally,  in  1914,  was  chosen  by  his  fellow-citizens  for 
the  mayoralty  of  Cheyenne. 

Mr.  Mitchell  was  born  in  Clay  County,  Missouri,  June 
30,  1881,  and  is  a son  of  G.  W.  and  Josephine  (Harris) 
Mitchell.  The  family  originally  came  from  Ireland, 
probably  before  the  Revolution,  settling  first  in  Virginia 
and  then  removing  to  Kentucky,  where  the  grandfather 
of  Editor  Mitchell  was  born.  He  was  a farmer  and 
merchant  and  as  a young  man  moved  to  Ray  County, 
Missouri,  where  he  passed  the  remaining  years  of  his 
life  and  died  at  the  age  of  seventy  years.  G.  W.  Mitchell 
was  born  at  Lexington,  Missouri,  in  1843,  and  has  passed 
his  entire  life  in  his  native  state,  at  present  being  a 
resident  of  Excelsior  Springs.  He  was  educated  for  the 
law  and  in  his  younger  years  passed  some  time  as  an 
attorney,  but  later  became  a minister  of  the  Christian 
Union  Church,  in  which  he  became  president  of  the 
general  cQuncil  and  served  as  such  for  twenty  years. 
He  was  a man  of  broad  education,  being  a graduate  of 
Lexington  College  with  the  degrees  of  Bachelor  of  Laws 
and  Doctor  of  Divinity,  and  was  president  of  Grand 
River  College  of  Edinburg,  Missouri,  for  twelve  years. 
He  is  now  living  a retired  life.  Reverend  Mitchell  fought 
as  a soldier  in  the  Confederate  army  under  the  noted 
leader,  General  Price,  during  the  war  between  the 
states.  He  is  a democrat  in  his  political  affiliation  and 
a member  of  the  Masonic  and  Odd  Fellows  orders. 
Mrs.  Mitchell,  who  was  born  in  Kentucky,  in  1845,  also 
survives-,  and  has  been  the  mother  of  ten  children,  as 
follows:  B.  S.,  a newspaper  editor  of  Shattuek,  Okla- 
homa; G.  W.,  Jr.,  who  is  engaged  in  the  mercantile 
business  at  Excelsior  Springs,  Missouri;  O.  F.,  also  a 
resident  of  that  place,  engaged  in  the  real  estate  and 
farm  loans  business;  H.  S.,  a minister  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church,  residing  at  Centerville,  Iowa;  E.  B., 
superintendent  of  the  Colorado  Southwestern  Railway, 
at  Denver,  Colorado;  Iona,  who  is  the  wife  of  R.  S. 
Yates,  a druggist  of  Edinburg,  Missouri;  E.  L.,  an 
attorney  of  Cheyenne,  Oklahoma,  and  a member  of  the 
state  senate;  E.  Daisy,  who  is  the  wife  of  Charles 
Helmandollar,  of  Edinburg,  Missouri,  a farmer;  Richard 
A.,  of  this  notice;  and  Grace  O.,  who  is  the  wife  of 
Charles  Sanderson,  a telegraph  operator  of  Hardin, 
Missouri. 

Richard  A.  Mitchell  was  graduated  from  the  high 
school  in  the  vicinity  of  his  home  in  Clay  County, 
Missouri,  and  at  the  age  of  nineteen  years  entered 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2027 


■Grand  Eiver  College,  Edinburg,  Missouri.  At  that  time 
he  began  his  connection  with  newspaper  work  at  Edin- 
burg, and  after  one  year  came  to  Oklahoma  and  settled 
at  Grand,  where  from  1903  until  1907  he  was  connected 
with  the  Canadian  Valley  Echo.  In  September,  1907, 
Mr.  Mitchell  came  to  Cheyenne,  where  he  established  the 
Eoger  Mills  Sentinel,  which  has  steadily  grown  to  be 
one  of  the  leading  democratic  organs  of  Western  Okla- 
homa, with  a large  subscription  list  in  this  part  of  the 
state.  Mr.  Mitchell  is  the  owner  of  the  building,  plant 
equipment  and  office,  situated  at  the  corner  of  Main 
Street  and  Broadway,  and  of  his  residence  in  the 
eastern  part  of  the  town,  in  addition  to  which  he.  has 
invested  in  several  other  pieces  of  realty  including  a 
business  building  on  Main  Street.  He  has  been  active 
and  energetic  in  support  of  every  movement  which 
has  promised  to  benefit  Cheyenne  and  Eoger  Mills  eoun- 
i ty,  contributing  personally  and  through  the  columns  of 
f his  paper  to  the  general  welfare.  A stalwart  democrat 
t in  politics,  in  1914  he  was  chosen  by  the  citizens  as 
chief  executive  of  Cheyenne,  and  is  giving  the  community 
d excellent  service  in  this  capacity,  his  administration 

i-  having  been  made  notable  by  several  progressive  enter- 

r.  prises  for  civic  improvement.  Editor  Mitchell  is  a 

s,  member  of  the  Christian  Union  Church,  and  is  fra- 
ir  ternally  affiliated  with  the  Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles, 

the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Woodmen  of 
le  the  World. 

s)  In  1910,  at  Cheyenne,  Editor  Mitchell  was  united  in 
id,  marriage  with  Miss  Myrtle  Eepass,  daughter  of  E.  S. 
da  Eepass,  a farmer  of  Grimes,  Oklahoma.  They  are  the 
ler  parents  of  three  children:  Eoger  Mills,  born  March  29, 
nd  1911;  Iona,  born  July  5,  1913;  and  Eobert  Agles,  born 
ty,  September  28,  1915. 

his  Mr.  Mitchell  has  been  a leader  in  the  democratic  party, 
itU  has  been  a member  of  the  democratic  central  committee 
sed  of  his  county  for  ten  years,  and  is  at  present  state 
i a committeeman  from  his  county. 

the:  On  Friday  morning,  June  2,  1916,  between  the  hours 

ai  of  2 and  3 o’clock  A.  M.  the  Eoger  Mills  Sentinel 
tian  newspaper  plant,  building  and  library  was  destroyed  by 
the  fire.  The  fire  was  of  incendiary  origin,  Mr.  Mitchell 
■ars.  being  a noted  newspaper  scrapper  was  strong  in  his 
e of  fight  against  socialism.  But  not  an  issue  of  the  paper 
,aws  was  missed,  for  Mr.,  Mitchell  ordered  new  equipment  at 
raid  once.  The  Eoger  Mills  Sentinel  is  considered  by  all  the 
ears,  leading  citizens  of  the  county  as  the  county  paper. 


toted 

the 

iaid  ■ 
rdets. 

, also 
i,  as 
Oft- 
untile 
also  a 
e and 
hotel 

E.  B,' 
litay,; 
E.S, 
L.,  an 
of  the 
Saties 
iichard 
rife  of 
Bardin, 

le  high 
County, 
entered 


Eobert  F.  Meadows.  Pawnee  County  has  enlisted  in 
the  development  of  its  natural  resources  a due  quota  of 
energetic,  reliable  and  progressive  citizens,  and  worthy 
of  designation  as  one  of  the  representative  farmers  and 
stock-growers  of  the  county  is  he  whose  name  introduces 
this  paragraph  and  whose  well  improved  landed  estate  is 
situated  in  the  vicinity  of  the  Village  of  Jennings. 

Mr.  Meadows  was  born  at  Albany,  Clinton  County, 
Kentucky,  on  October  14,  1860,  and  on  a farm  in  that 
county  hie  was  reared  to  the  age  of  thirteen  years,  when 
he  accompanied  the  family  on  their  removal  from  the 
old  Bluegrass  State  to  Chautauqua  County,  Kansas, 
where  his  stepfather  became  a pioneer  settler  and  where 
he  reclaimed  a productive  farm.  Mr.  Meadows  is  a son 
of  Eobert  and  Mary  Ann  (Brown)  Meadows,  the  former 
of  whom  was  born  in  Germany  and  the  latter  of  whom 
was  born  in  Virginia,  she,  as  an  orphan  girl,  having 
accompanied  her  grandparents  on  their  immigration  from 
the  historic  Old  Dominion  to  Kentucky,  where  she  was 
reared  to  maturity  and  where  her  marriage  was 
solemnized. 

Eobert  Meadows  was  a boy  at  the  time  when  his  par- 
ents came  to  America  and  established  their  home  in  the 
State  of  Kentucky.  There  he  grew  to  manhood  and  his 


loyalty  to  the  land  of  his  adoption  was  significantly 
shown  when  the  Civil  war  was  precipitated  on  a divided 
nation,  for,  in  1861,  he  tendered  his  services  in  defense 
of  the  Union.  He  enlisted  in  a Kentucky  volunteer  regi- 
ment, with  which  he  proceeded  to  the  front  and  with 
which  he  participated  in  numerous  engagements.  He 
was  finally  granted  a furlough  and  after  visiting  his 
home  was  killed  by  Confederate  soldiers,  while  on  the 
way  to  rejoin  his  command.  His  widow  later  became  the 
wife  of  Hezekiah  Brown,  and  with  him  removed  to  Kan- 
sas, where  they  passed  the  residue  of  their  lives,  her 
death  having  occurred  in  Chautauqua  County,  that  state, 
in  1886.  Of  the  first  marriage  were  born  six  children, 
concerning  whom  the  following  brief  record  is  given: 
James  is  deceased;  Eliza  is  the  widow  of  William  Neal 
and  resides  on  her  homestead  farm,  fourteen  miles  dis- 
tant from  Oklahoma  City;  Daniel  is  deceased,  and  Eobert 
F.,  of  this  review,  was  the  next  in  order  of  birth;  Sarah 
is  the  widow  of  Edward  Van  Sant  and  maintains  her 
home  in  the  State  of  California;  Emma  is  the  wife  of 
Marshal  Martin,  of  Sedan,  Kansas;  and  Emmett  is  a 
prosperous  farmer  at  a point  twelve  miles  distant  from 
Sedan. 

Eobert  F.  Meadows  was  a child  at  the  time  of  the 
family  removal  to  Chautauqua  County,  Kansas,  where  he 
was  reared  to  adult  age  on  the  pioneer  farm  and  where 
Ins  scholastic  advantages  were  those  afforded  in  the  com- 
mon schools  of  the  period.  In  that  county  he  continued 
his  identification  with  agricultural  pursuits  until  1891, 
when,  soon  after  the  organization  of  Oklahoma  Terri- 
tory, he  came  to  this  new  country  and  established  his 
residence  at  Chandler,  the  present  judicial  center  of 
Lincoln  County,  where  he  remained  until  the  opening  of 
the  Cherokee  Strip,  when  he  here  obtained  his  present 
homestead  farm,  his  entire  active  career  having  been  one 
of  close  association  with  the  agricultural  and  stock- 
growing industries,  so  that  his  prolonged  experience  and 
broad  practical  knowledge  naturally  gives  him  prestige 
and  has  won  him  definite  success  as  a representative 
farmer  of  Pawnee  County,  the  while  his  civic  loyalty  and 
liberality  have  been  shown  in  his  ready  support  of  meas- 
ures and  enterprises  that  have  tended  to  advance  the  best 
interests  of  the  community.  In  earlier  years  he  was 
concerned  with  the  handling  of  cattle  on  the  great  open 
range  and  had  to  do  with  extensive  operations  in  this 
line.  In  politics  Mr.  Meadows  is  found  aligned  as  a 
stanch  supporter  of  the  cause  of  the  democratic  party, 
though  he  has  never  manifested  any  desire  for  public 
office. 

In  the  year  1879  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of 
Mr.  Meadows  to  Miss  May  Eogers,  who  was  born  on 
May  1,  1862,  a daughter  of  Hon.  Eichard  W.  and  Selina 
(Billman)  Eogers,  concerning  whom  further  mention  is 
made  on  other  pages  of  this  work,  in  the  sketch  of  the 
career  of  their  son  Joseph  L.  Eogers,  a prominent  citizen 
of  Pawnee  County. 

Eelative  to  the  children  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Meadows  the 
following  brief  record  is  entered:  Eobert  is  identified 

with  agricultural  activities  in  Pawnee  County;  Austie 
became  the  wife  of  Charles  Shipley  and  her  death 
occurred  in  the  year  1900;  Earl  is  a resident  of  Cen- 
tralia,  Washington;  Pearl  is  the  wife  of  Ira  Thompson 
and  they  reside  in  the  State  of  South  Dakota;  Carl  is 
living  at  Centralia,  Washington;  Sherman,  Christopher 
mid  Zephyr  remain  at  the  parental  home;  Frank  died  at 
the  age  of  four  years;  and  Leo  is  the  youngest  member 
of  the  home  circle. 

Eoy  E.  Huffman.  Among  the  men  of  the  younger 
generation  in  Northwest  Oklahoma  who  are  winning  suc- 
cess in  the  field  of  finance  is  found  Eoy  E.  Huffman, 
cashier  of  the  Quinlan  State  Bank,  of  Woodward  County. 


2028 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Air  Huffman  has  been  the  architect  of  his  own  fortunes 
as  he  came  to  Oklahoma  as  a stranger,  without  means 
or  other  favoring  influences,  content  to  accept  such  oppor- 
tunities as  were  offered  by  a growing  community.  When 
his  chance  came  he  was  not  slow  in  grasping  it,  and  the 
steady  advance  which  he  has  made  is  indicative  of  higher 
honors  to  come.  . , 

Mr.  Huffman  is  a native  of  Illinois,  born  at  Mount 
Pulaski,  Logan  County,  January  5,  1890,  a son  of  Samuel 
M.  and  Addie  L.  (Fletcher)  Huffman.  His  father  was 
born  June  5,  1856,  in  Kentucky,  from  which  state  he 
went  as  a lad  of  fifteen  years  to  Illinois,  and  after 
many  years  passed  in  Logan  County  removed  to  Labette 
County,  Kansas,  in  1903.  There  he  resided  until  1907, 
when  he  came  to  Oklahoma,  being  now  a retired  resident 
of  Alva.  Throughout  his  active  life  Mr.  Huffman  was 
engaged  in  farming  and  stock  raising,  and  through 
industry  and  good  business  management  accumulated  a 
very  desirable  property.  He  has  been  content  to  live  the 
life  of  the  farmer,  never  having  been  a seeker  for  political 
honors  and  engaging  in  few  business  enterprises  aside 
from  those  immediately  connected  with  the  products  of 
the  soil  In  1883,  at  Mount  Pulaski,  Illinois,  he  was 
married  to  Miss  Addie  L.  Fletcher,  who  was  born  at  that 
place,  December  25,  1860,  a daughter  of  Thomas  and 
Mary  (Bowles)  Fletcher,  the  former  a native  of  Ohio,  and 
the  latter  of  New  York.  Mr.  Fletcher  was  a pioneer 
of  Logan  County,  Illinois,  to  which  part  of  Central 
Illinois  he  drove  an  ox-team  overland  from  his  early 
home  in  the  Buckeye  state.  He  passed  his  active  years 
as  a farmer  and  breeder  of  stock  and  died  in  1902,  at 
Mount  Pulaski,  whence  he  had  gone  at  the  time  of  his 
retirement.  He  was  the  father  of  fourteen  children. 
Mr  and  Mrs.  Huffman  had  two  sons:  Eoy  E.,  of  this 
notice;  and  Shelton  William,  born  March  25,  1894,  at 
Mount  Pulaski,  Illinois,  educated  at  the  Oklahoma  North- 
western Normal  School  of  Alva,  and  now  a resident  of 
that  place,  with  his  parents.  ... 

Roy  E.  Huffman  received  his  early  education  m the 
public  schools  of  his  native  place  and  was  thirteen  years 
of  age  when  he  accompanied  his  parents  to  Labette 
County,  Kansas.  He  was  graduated  from  the  Labette 
County  High  School,  of  Altamont,  Kansas,  m the  class 
of  1907,  and  in  that  same  year  came  to  Oklahoma  to 
enter  upon  his  career  as  a teacher  in  the  public  schools. 
After  one  year  thus  spent  in  Woodward  County,  he 
went  to  a business  college  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri, 
taking  a one-year  course,  and  in  November,  1911,  entered 
the  Security  State  Bank  of  Moreland,  Oklahoma,  as 
bookkeeper.  He  displayed  such  ability  in  that  capacity 
that  after  one  year  he  was  advanced  to  the  position  of 
cashier,  and  held  that  office  until  January  1,  1915,  when 
he  was  elected  cashier  of  the  Quinlan.  State  Bank  of 
Quinlan,  a position  which  he  still  retains.  This  insti- 
tution was  established  in  1907  by  J.  G.  Bailey,  who  is 
now  president,  and  who  has  another  bank  at  Harper, 
Kansas,  where  he  spends  the  greater  part  of  his  time. 
The  State  Bank  of  Quinlan  is  a sound,  conservative 
banking  house  which  has  won  the  confidence  of  the 
people  of  the  community  out  of  whose  needs  it  grew. 
Its  cashier  has  done  much  to  make  himself  popular 
with  the  depositors,  who  come  from  all  over  this  part 
of  the  county  and  whose  business  he  transacts  in  a 
courteous,  expeditious  and  entirely  capable  manner.  Mr. 
Huffman  is  a Mason,  fraternally,  and  his  religious  con- 
nection is  with  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church. 

On  September  15,  1913,  at  Alva,  Oklahoma,  Mr.  Huff- 
man was  married  to  Miss  Ollie  J.  Hampton,  who  was 
born  at  Rich  Hill,  Missouri,  February  20,  1896,  daughter 
of  Thomas  and  Sadie  Hampton,  natives  of  Missouri. 
One  daughter  has  been  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Huffman: 
Virginia  Halycon. 


Benjamin  Franklin  Hennessy.  Few  men  have  had 
a more  active  and  beneficial  relation  with  Oklahoma’s 
general  progress  in  educational  and  agricultural  develop- 
ment during  the  past  fifteen  years  than  Benjamin  F. 
Hennessy,  who  recently  retired  from  his  office  as  secre- 
tary of  agriculture  for  the  state  and  is  now  giving  prac- 
tically all  his  time  to  the  management  of  a fine  ranch 
at  Ferguson,  in  Blaine  County.  However,  Mr.  Hennessy 
is  as  much  at  home  on  the  lecture  platform  as  in  his 
fields  and  among  his  stock,  and  for  a number  of  years 
his  work  has  called  for  public  appearance  and  the  enter- 
tainment and  instruction  of  people  in  groups.  While 
he  is  a very  popular  entertainer,  and  is  a master  of  the 
humorous  anecdote,  much  of  his  accomplishment  has  been 
of  a serious  nature  and  for  the  training  of  Oklahoma 
people  in  particular  to  a better  utilization  of  their 
resources  and  advantages.  He  has  done  a great  deal 
of  lecture  work  for  the  benefit  of  churches,  lodges, 
library  associations  and  other  organizations. 

During  his  four  years  of  service  from  1911  to  1915 
as  secretary  of  the  State  Board  of  Agriculture  Mr.  Hen- 
nessy was  one  of  the  leading  figures  in  public  life  in 
Oklahoma.  He  injected  an  element  of  dignity  into  the 
’ activities  of  the  board,  and,  being  essentially  a school 
man,  furthered  in  every  possible  way  the  cause  of 
industrial  education  among  young  men  and  women  and 
practical  farmers  as  well.  He  represented  the  board  in 
important  state  and  national  conferences  and  was  an 
active  member  of  the  Southern  Commercial  Congress, 
and  is  still  a director  from  Oklahoma  in  that  body. 
To  the  various  affairs  of  the  board  he  applied  modern 
methods,  taking  an  active  and  leading  part  in  demon- 
stration work  and  discriminating  agricultural  education 
through  newspaper  and  bulletin  articles  and  in  speaking 
tours  of  college  and  railroad  officials.  As  one  of  the 
important  representatives  of  the  state  government  he 
proved  a favorite  speaker  before  various  clubs  and 
societies,  and  as  an  after-dinner  speaker  he  is  regarded 
as  one  of  the  most  pleasing  in  the  entire  state. 

Benjamin  Franklin  Hennessy  was  born  at  Woodstock, 
Illinois,  September  21,  1873,  a son  of  Daniel  and 
Katherine  (Lynch)  Hennessy.  His  father  was  born  at 
Kilkenny  and  his  mother  at  Tipperary,  Ireland,  and 
they  were  the  parents  of  ten  children,  six  boys  and  four 
girls. 

Mr.  Hennessy  completed  his  education  in  the  Central 
'-Normal  College  in  Kansas,  where  he  was  awarded  the 
degree  of  Bachelor  of  Science  in  June,  1898.  At  an 
earlier  date  he  was  teaching  in  the  districts  of  McPherson 
County,  Kansas,  and  in  1895  was  elected  to  the  chair  of 
English  and  Expression  of  the  Central  Normal  College 
and  held  that  position  while  continuing  the  studies  lead- 
ing up  to  his  collegiate  degree.  In  1897  he  had  been 
appointed  vice  president  of  the  Central  Normal  College. 
In  1900  he  was  chosen  superintendent  of  county  schools 
of  Barton  County,  Kansas,  an  office  he  held  until  1902. 

While  living  in  Kansas  he  was  one  of  the  seven  dele- 
gates sent  by  Governor  Leedy  in  1898  to  St.  Louis  to 
discuss  the  advisability  of  holding  a World’s  Fair  to 
commemorate  the  Louisiana  Purchase,  and  was  elected 
secretary  of  the  Kansas  delegation  and  held  that  office 
two  years.  In  1905  he  was  presented  with  silver  and 
gold  medals  by  the  president  of  the  World’s  Fair  at 
St.  Louis  and  in  1906  the  World’s  Fair  board  gave  him 
a beautifully  engraved  diploma. 

In  1903  Mr.  Hennessy  came  to  Oklahoma  as  teacher 
of  English  and  Expression  in  the  Logan  County  High 
School  at  Guthrie.  In  1907  he  was  selected  as  official 
representative  of  Oklahoma  at  the  Jamestown  Exposi- 
tion, and  gave  stereoptieon  lectures  relating  to  the 
resources  of  Oklahoma  at  that  fair.  In  the  meantime 
he  had  spent  parts  of  several  years  working  as  state 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2029 


organizer  of  farmers  institutes  for  Oklahoma.  Alto- 
gether he  was  connected  with  the  State  Department  of 
Agriculture  for  a period  of  seven  years,  and  resigned 
his  office  as  secretary  of  jthe  board  January  15,  1915. 

Since  leaving  office  Mr.  Hennessy  has  taken  up  his 
residence  on  his  ranch  ,in  Blaine  County,  where  he  owns 
several  hundred  acres  hud  |s  happily  and  busily  engaged 
in  the  raising  .of  horses,  mules,  hogs  and  cattle.  He  is 
considered  an  expert  polo^player,  and  one  department 
of  his  ranch  industry  is  the  raising  and  training  of  polo 
ponies  for, 'the  eastern  markets.  He  is  a democrat  and 
in  Masonry  a member  of  the  thirty-second  degree  Con- 
sistory of  the  Scottish  Rite? 

James  E.  Breslin  has  practiced  law  at  Guymon  for 
the  jpst  ten  years.  He  is  a very  capable  attorney,  came 
to  Oklahoma  with  a thorough  training  in  his  profession, 
and  has  built  up  a large  and  prosperous  practice.  His 
practice  is  noft  confined  . entirely  to  Texas  County,  but 
extends  to  courts  in  ^the  adjacent  states  of  Texas,  Colo- 
rado, Kansas  r nd  New  Meiico.  Mr.  Breslin  has  the  best 
selected  and  largest  law  library  in  Texas  County,  and 
owns  the  modern  office  building  in  which  he  has  his 
professional  headquarters. 

Though  lie  has  practiced  in  Oklahoma  ever  since  he 
left  law  college  Mr.  Bresjin  is  a northern  man  by  birth 
and  ancestry.  He  was  born  on  a farm  in  St.  Croix 
County,  Wisconsin,  January  16,  1882,  a son  of  William 
and  Julia  Jeannette  (Riley)  Breslin.  His  father  was 
born  Eebruary  22,  1846,  at  Montreal,  Canada,  a son  of 
James  and  Elizabeth  Breslin,  both  natives  of  Ireland. 
At  the  age  of  eleven  years  William  Breslin  came  to  the 
United  States,  the  family  locating  at  Manistee,  Michigan. 
For  fourteen  years  he  was  engaged  in  the  lumber  busi- 
ness in  the  northern  woods  of  Michigan  and  then  re- 
moved to  Wilson,  Wisconsin,  where  he  was  a farmer 
until  his  death  on  January  22,  1907.  He  was  married 
March  17,  1878,  to  Miss  Biley,  who  was  born  March  16, 
>1860,  at  Alemont,  Ontario",  Canada,  a daughter  of  Michael 
and  Eliza  (FamianV  Riley,  both  of  whom  were  born  in 
Ireland.  Mrs.  Breslin  died  October  23,  1905,  at  Wilson, 
Wisconsin.  In  the  family  were  ten  children,  seven  sons 
and  three  daughters,  namely:  Harry  AT  of'  St.  Paul, 

Minnesota;  James  E.;  William  F.,  a resident  at  Wilson, 
Wisconsin;  Thomas  J.  of  Cloquette,  Minnesota;  ]?.  J.,  a 
lawyer  at  Guymon,  Oklahoma;  Ellen,  wife  of  M.  J.  Hirsh 
of  Holabird,  South  Dakota;  Clara  Belle,  who  is  married 
and  living  in  Duluth;  Anna  Belle,  deceased;  Sylvester 
S.  of  Winnipeg,  Canada;  and  Arthur  S.,  who  lives  at 
Wilson,  Wisconsin. 

James  E.  Breslin  grew  up  in  Wisconsin,  attended  the 
local  schools,  but  for  his  professional  education  went  to 
St.  Paul,  Minnesota,  where  he  was  graduated  from  the 
St.  Paul  College  of  Law  on  June  5,  1905.  It  was  only 
a few  weeks  after  his  graduation  that  he  came  to  Okla- 
homa, was  admitted  to  the  bar,  and  began  practice  at 
Guymon.  He  is  a member  of  the  Benevolent  and  Pro- 
tective Order  of  Elks  at  Delhart,  Texas,  Lodge  No.  1159. 

Thomas  Ridgway  Reid.  A member  of  the  El  Reno 
bar  for  a period  of  twenty-one  years,  Thomas  Ridgway 
Reid  is  one  of  the  best  known  lawyers  of  that  place, 
and  since  May,  1912,  has  served  in  the  capacity  of  city 
attorney.  Both  as  a private  practitioner  and  as  a city 
official  he  has  displayed  the  possession  of  fine  talents, 
30  that  he  is  justly  accounted  a reliable  and  progressive 
member  of  the  bar,,  who  stands  high  in  professional 
ability  and  as  a man  of  broad  business  and  financial 
judgment. 

Mr.  Reid  was  born  at  Saline  Mines,  Gallatin  County, 
Illinois,  July  16,  1864,  and  is  a son  of  Robert  and 
Elizabeth  (Campbell)  Reid,  natives  of  the  shire  of 


Renfrew,  Scotland.  They  were  reared  in  their  native 
land,  where  they  lived  until  about  fifteen  years  of  age, 
at  which  time  they  accompanied  their  respective  parents 
to  the  United  States.  Here  they  met  and  were  mar- 
ried. Robert  Reid  early  became  a minister  of  the  Presby- 
terian faith,  and  some  time  during  the  ’50s  was  given 
the  parish  of  Saline  Mines,  where  for  a number  of  years 
previously  he  had  been  an  operator  of  coal  mines.  As  a 
minister  he  was  earnest  and  zealous,  laboring  faithfully 
in  the  service  of  the  church  and  winning  the  love  and 
confidence  of  his  parishioners,  who  found  in  him  not 
only  a spiritual  adviser  but  a true  and  faithful  friend. 
He  spent  a long,  full  and  useful  life,  and  was  eighty- 
five  years  old  when  death  claimed  him. 

The  public  schools  of  Saline  Mines  furnished  Thomas 
R.  Reid  with  his  preliminary  educational  training,  this 
being  supplemented  by  a course  in  the  Southern  Illinois 
Normal  University,  at  Carbondale,  Illinois.  He  next 
accepted  a position  as  a teacher  in  the  country  schools, 
being  thus  engaged  for  a period  of  three  years,  and  in 
the  meantime  applied  himself  to  the  study  of  law,  with 
the  result  that  he  successfully  passed  the  examination 
and  was  admitted  to  the  bar  at  Shawneetown,  Illinois,  in 
1888.  At  that  place  Mr.  Reid  entered  upon  the  practice 
of  his  profession,  continuing  there  until  1894,  and  build- 
ing up  a large  and  representative  practice.  While  there 
Mr.  Reid  also  took  an  active  part  in  political  affairs,  and 
became  known  as  one  of  the  party  leaders  of  republican- 
ism in  that  locality.  In  1891  he  became  the  republican 
candidate  for  "representative  to  the  Illinois  State  Legis- 
lature, to  which  he  was  elected  and  in  which  he  served 
one  term. 

Mr.  Reid  changed  his  field  of  operations  from  Illinois 
to  Oklahoma  in  1894,  in  which  year  he  .opened  an  office 
at  El  Reno.  He  ho’<  had*  good  reason  to  congratulate 
himself  upon  hik  change,  for  in  this  state  he  has  ad- 
vanced steadily  to  a high  position  in  his  vocation  and 
has  b.een' successful  in  attracting  to  himself  a lucrative 
professional  business.  Also,  he  has  continued  his  activ- 
ities'in  .political  matters,  and  has  been  frequently  called 
upon  t6  serve  in  offices  of  public  trust.  In  1894  he  was 
elected  county  attorney  for  Canadian  County,  Oklahoma, 
in  which  position  he  served  one  term,  and  in  1899  and 
again  in  1901  was  elected  a member  of  the  Territorial 
Legislature  of  Oklahoma,  and  in  his  first  term  was 
speaker  of  the  house.  In  1901  Mr.  Reid  was  appointed 
receiver  of  the  United  States  Land  Office,  at  El  Reno,  a 
capacity  in  which  he  acted  efficiently  for  ten  years. 
In  May,  1912,  Mr.  Reid  was  elected  city  attorney  of 
El  Reno,  and  has  continued  to  hold  this  office  to  the 
present  time.  In  his  various  public  capacities  he  has 
at  all  times  demonstrated  an  earnest  desire  to  be  of  use 
to  his  community,  and  few  men  are  held  in  higher 
general  confidence  and  esteem  by  the  public.  Mr.  Reid  is 
a prominent  Mason,  being  a Knight  Templar  and 
Shriner,  and  belongs  also  to  the  Knights  of  Pythias, 
the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  the 
Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles.  He  is  a consistent  mem- 
ber of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  and  at  present  is  serving 
on  the  board  of  trustees  thereof. 

Mr.  Reid  was  married  in  Illinois,  in  1908,  to  Miss 
Jessie  Robinson. 

Solomon  Revard.  A considerable  proportion  of  the 
families  in  Oklahoma  bear  traces  of  the  influence  and 
relationship  of  the  early  French  traders  who,  going  out 
from  St.  Louis  as  their  general  headquarters,  and  begin- 
ning back  in  the  eighteenth  century,  carried  the  goods 
of  civilized  manufacture  among  these  Indians,  estab- 
lished trading  posts  and  lived  among  them,  and  very 
frequently  married  Indian  wives.  There  is  now  living 
retired  in  Fairfax  in  Osage  County  a descendant  of  these 


2030 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


old  traders,  and  one  of  the  most  interesting  men  in  the 
Osage  country.  Solomon  Eevard  has  been  a resident  of 
the  present  Osage  country  more  than  forty  years  and 
until  recently  was  a very  successful  farmer. 

He  was  born  in  Jackson  County,  Missouri,  at  the  pres- 
ent site  of  Kansas  City,  April  17,  1855,  a son  of  Peter 
and  Leonora  (Roy)  lievard.  Both  parents  represent 
names  of  distinction  among  the  Osage  people.  They 
were  born  in  Missouri,  his  father  in  1826  and  his  mother 
in  1828.  The  grandfather  was  Joseph  Revard,  who  was 
of  mixed  Osage  and  French  stock.  Joseph  Revard  mar- 
ried a girl,  whose  first  name  was  Prances,  and  who  was 
of  German  and  French  stock.  The  Roy'  family  came 
from  France  originally,  and  settled  in  Missouri,  and  a 
number  of  its  representatives  served  as  early  traders  and 
employees  of  the  great  American  Fur  Company.  The 
Roy  family  has  a number  of  important  relations  with 
different  tribes  of  Indians,  and  the  name  and  family 
stock  are  found  among  the  Osages,  the  Kaws  and  the 
Sioux.  The  Revard  family  also  furnished  early  employ- 
ees to  the  American  Fur  Company.  The  parents  of 
Solomon  Revard  continued  to  live  in  Missouri  until  1872 
when  they  joined  the  rest  of  the  Osage  people  in  their 
migration  to  their  new  homes  in  Indian  Territory  where 
they  spent  the  rest  of  their  lives.  The  mother  died  in 
Osage  County  in  July,  1884,  and  the  father  in  Novem- 
ber, 1888.  Before  coming  to  Indian  Territory  he  had 
served  as  a member  of  the  police  force  at  Kansas  City 
for  four  or  five  years,  and  after  coming  to  the  reserva- 
tion spent  his  time  as  a farmer.  Peter  Revard  and  wife 
had  five  sons  and  two  daughters:  Solomon,  Charles,  who 
now  lives  on  the  reservation  near  Elgin,  Kansas;  Alex- 
ander, of  Osage  County;  Emily  Allen,  of  Tulsa;  William, 
of  Pawhuska;  Franklin,  of  Bartlesville;  and  Mary  E. 
McGuire,  of  Tulsa. 

When  Solomon  Revard  came  to  Indian  Territory  with 
his  parents  in  1872  he  was  about  seventeen  years  of  age. 
The  previous  year  he  had  spent  in  work  in  the  Kansas 
City  Stock  Exchange.  For  eleven  years  he  was  employed 
by  the  United  States  Government  at  Pawhuska  Agency 
in  the  shoe  and  harness  department.  His  education  was 
acquired  in  the  public  schools  of  Kansas  City,  followed 
by  two  years  in  the  Osage  Indian  School  at  Pawhuska. 
After  leaving  the  agency  store  Mr.  Revard  took  up  farm- 
ing, and  followed  that  industry  prosperously  and  enter- 
prisingly until  about  four  years  ago,  when  he  retired 
from  the  active  responsibilities  of  a well  spent  career 
and  has  since  lived  quietly  in  his  substantial  home  at 
Fairfax.  Mr.  Revard  still  owns  a nice  estate  of  445 
acres. 

Outside  of  his  interests  as  a business  man  and  farmer 
he  has  been  frequently  honored  with  positions  of  trust 
and  responsibility  in  tribal  affairs.  His  study  and 
observation  of  political  problems  has  inclined  him  to  give 
his  support  to  the  socialist  party.  He  was  reared  a Cath- 
olic, but  has  taken  no  part  in  church  affairs  for  the  past 
twenty  years. 

On  February  4,  1880,  Mr.  Revard  married  Miss  Anna 
Traylor.  She  was  born  in  Illinois  September  23,  1854, 
and  grew  up  in  the  states  of  Missouri  and  Arkansas. 
Her  parents  were  William  and  Elizabeth  (Armstrong) 
Traylor,  her  mother  having  been  twice  married.  Both 
her  parents  died  in  Indian  Territory,  her  mother  on  the 
Caney  River  and  her  father  at  Grayhorse.  He  spent  most 
of  his  life  as  a farmer.  Mr.  Revard  has  one  daughter 
Leonora  McCarty,  who  lives  in  Missouri,  and  her  six 
children,  grandchildren  of  Mr.  Revard,  are  named: 
William  Todd,  Solomon,  Charles  Wesley,  Edna,  Eliza- 
beth and  Madeline.  Among  the  public  honors  which 
Mr.  Revard  recalls  with  particular  satisfaction  was  his 
service  as  a delegate  to  the  county  convention  which 


chose  district  delegates  for  the  constitutional  convention 
which  framed  the  present  organic  law  of  Oklahoma. 

John  Coyle.  Rush  Springs,  in  Grady  County,  is  the 
home  of  one  of  the  most  interesting  of  Oklahoma’s 
pioneers.  John  Coyle  first  became  acquainted  with  the 
country  now  known  as  Oklahoma  as  a soldier  in  the 
regular  army  of  the  United  States  during  the  decade  of 
the  ’50s.  From  that  time  to  the  present  most  of  his 
life  has  been  spent  in  this  section  of  the  Southwest, 
and  for  more  than  forty  years  he  has  been  a resident  of 
what  is  now  Grady  County.  The  events  in  which  he 
has  participated  and  which  he  has  witnessed  would, 
if  narrated  in  detail,  form  an  important  portion  of  the 
history  of  Oklahoma’s  development  and  progress. 

John  Coyle  is  a native  of  Scotland,  and  was  born  in 
the  City  of  Glasgow,  in  1836,  a son  of  Edward  and  Mar- 
garet (Moose)  Coyle.  At  Glasgow  he  spent  his  youth, 
attended  schools  and  learned  the  trade  of  stone  cutter 
and  stone  mason,  but  at  the  age  of  seventeen,  in  1853, 
took  passage  on  a vessel  bound  for  America,  and  landed 
in  the  City  of  Quebec,  Canada,  where  he  spent  three 
months  and  then  went  to  New  York  City  to  work  at 
his  trade.  Owing  to  labor  troubles  he  left  there  in  the 
fall  of  1855  and  sought  employment  at  Boston.  Being 
unsuccessful,  he  accepted  an  employment  which  has 
appealed  to  a great  many  men  out  of  work  at  different 
times.  He  enlisted  November  10,  1855,  in  the  United 
States  Army,  and  was  assigned  to  Company  F of  the 
First  Regiment  of  United  States  Infantry.  After  being 
for  a time  on  Governor’s  Island,  in  New  York  Harbor, 
his  regiment  was  sent  to  Corpus  Christi,  Texas.  At  that 
time  the  present  cities  of  Dallas,  Waco  and  Austin  were 
on  the  extreme  frontier  of  settlement  in  Texas,  and  all 
the  country  to  the  north  and  west  was  still  the  domain 
of  the  Indians  and  buffalo.  The  Federal  Government 
was  endeavoring  to  maintain  as  a guard  to  the  settle- 
ments a cordon  of  military  posts  extending  from  the 
Red  River  south  and  west  across  Texas.  It  was  to 
one  of  the  oldest  and  most  noted  of  these  posts  that 
Mr.  Coyle  and  his  comrades  marched  from  Corpus  Christi 
and  took  station  at  Fort  Chadbourne.  While  there  fifty 
of  the  First  Regiment,  men  from  Company  F and  Com- 
pany C,  were  detailed  to  accompany  Captain  Van  Dorn 
to  the  Washita  Mountains  in  Indian  Territory.  John 
Coyle  was  among  those  who  participated  in  that  note- 
worthy expedition,  record  of  which  is  an  important  part 
of  early  Oklahoma  history.  The  Second  United  States 
Cavalry  was  also  a part  of  the  expedition.  They  went 
to  the  post  on  Otter  Creek,  and  remained  there  until 
the  end  of  1858.  Mr.  Coyle  was  then  ordered  to  join 
his  regiment  at  Fort  Cobb,  Indian  Territory.  His  enlist- 
ment expired  in  November,  1860,  and  he  chose  to  remain 
in  the  district  where  most  of  his.  service  as  a soldier 
had  been.  He  was  employed  for  a time  by  Colonel  Leeper, 
the  Indian  agent  at  Washita,  Indian  Territory,  and 
also  by  John  Shirley,  the  Indian  trader  there. 

With  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war  most  of  the  United 
States  troops  were  withdrawn  from  the  frontier  post. 
Mr.  Coyle  and  three  companions  then  started  north  with 
the  intention  of  enlisting  in  the  Union  army.  Owing  to 
the  unsettled  conditions,  the  presence  of  numerous  Con- 
federate troops  and  wild  Indians,  they  had  to  make  the 
journey  at  night,  while  during  the  day  they  remained 
securely  hidden.  They  finally  reached  Fort  Gibson. 
Orders  had  recently  been  given  to  fortify  the  place,  and 
Mr.  Coyle  was  induced  to  take  charge  of  the  masonry 
work  on  the  fortifications.,  and  stayed  there  one  year. 
The  rest  of  the  war  period  was  spent  in  Kansas,  where 
he  found  plenty  of  work  at  his  trade  as  stone  mason.  At 1 
Humboldt  in  Allen  County  he  built  the  county  jail  and 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2031 


other  buildings,  and  at  times  had  as  many  as  125  men 
working  under  him. 

When  the  Missouri,  Kansas  & Texas  Railroad  was  built 
through  Indian  Territory  to  Texas,  Mr.  Coyle  had  the 
contract  for  all  the  stone  work  between  the  Red  River 
and  Denison,  Texas.  In  1871,  when  this  railroad  con- 
tract was  finished,  he  returned  to  Indian  Territory  and 
located  about  six  miles  below  Wynnewood,  farmed  there 
a year,  and  then  went  to  the  settlement  known  as  Elm 
Springs,  now  Erin  Springs,  in  Garvin  County.  In  that 
locality  he  continued  farming  and  stock  raising,  and 
in  1874  moved  to  Bailey  on  Rush ' Creek,  lived  there 
about  ten  years,  and  in  1884  located  in  the  vicinity  of 
Rush  Springs,  his  present  home.  His  occupation  was 
farming  and  stock  raising  on  land  leased  from  the 
Indians,  and  with  the  opening  of  the  country  for  settle- 
ment in  1893,  he  sold  his  stock  and  farming  interests 
and  moved  into  the  town  of  Rush  Springs  to  engage  in 
the  grocery  trade.  Several  years  later  his  store  was 
burned  out,  and  he  lost  everything,  having  no  insurance. 
After  that  misfortune  he  once  more  resumed  farming, 
but  in  recent  years  has  lived  quietly  retired  at  Rush 
Springs. 

The  above  is  a mere  outline  of  the  career  of  Mr. 
Coyle.  For  many  years  he  has  been  one  of  the  most 
influential  men  in  his  section  of  the  state.  In  1896  he 
was  a delegate  to  the  National  Republican  Convention 
at  St.  Louis,  and  in  that  convention  delivered  the  six 
votes  from  Indian  Territory  for  the  nomination  of  Wil- 
liam McKinley  as  president.  In  1906  President  Roosevelt 
appointed  him  postmaster  at  Rush  Springs,  and  by  reap- 
pointment from  President  Taft  he  held  that  office  and 
gave  it  most  capable  administration  until  1913. 

Mr.  Coyle  relates  many  interesting  incidents  connected 
with  his  life  as  a soldier  and  as  an  early  settler  in  old 
Indian  Territory.  While  with  the  United  States  Army 
he  participated  in  a number  of  engagements  with  the 
Indians.  While  at  old  Fort  Chadburn  the  Indians  had 
killed  the  mail  carrier,  and  about  a month  later,  when 
a band  of  Indians  appeared  before  the  fort,  he  was 
one  of  a party  of  twenty-four  detailed  to  capture  them 
or  shoot  them  down.  They  killed  four  and  wounded 
many  others.  Because  of  this  heavy  reprisal  the  garri- 
son daily  expected  an  attack  from  the  Comanches,  and 
while  such  an  attack  was  never  made,  the  soldiers  were 
forced  on  do  considerable  extra  work  in  building  a pali- 
sade around  the . fort.  While  under  the  command  of 
Captain  Van  Dorn  and  ’stationed  at  Otter  Creek  in 
the  Washita  Mountains,  Mr.  Coyle  was  part  of  a com- 
pany that  participated  in  the  battle  against  the  Com- 
anches fought  three  miles  east  of  Rush  Springs.  In  that 
engagement  fifty-six  Indians  were  killed.  Another 
interesting  fact  in  that  connection  is  the  prominence  of 
some  of  the  officers  engaged.  The  second  in  command 
and  captain  of  Company  B was  Kirby  Smith,  who  rose 
to  the  rank  of  general  in  the  Confederate  army.  The 
first  lieutenant  of  Company  D was  Lieutenant,  after- 
wards, in  the  Civil  war,  General  Hood.  The  second 
lieutenant  of  the  same  company  was  Fitzhugh  Lee,  after- 
wards Governor  of  Virginia.  While  Robert  E.  Lee  was 
not  present  at  the  fight,  he  was  at  that  time  lieutenant- 
colonel  of  the  Second  United  States  Cavalry,  and  Com- 
panies A and  B from  that  regiment  were  engaged 
with  the  Indians. 

During  the  Civil  war,  and  while  employed  at  the 
Washita  agency,  Mr.  Coyle  had  a narrow  escape.  He  left 
the  agency  one  - day  to  go  to  Arbuckle,  ninety  miles 
distant.  During  the  same  night  the  post  was  attacked 
by  Shawnee  and  Delaware  Indians  from  the  north,  armed 
with  guns  and  pistols.  As  a result  of  their  attack  about 
one  hundred  and  fifty  Tonkawa  Indians,  who  were 
friendly  to  the  whites,  and  seventeen  white  men  were 

Vol.  V— 18 


killed,  and  the  only  whites  that  escaped  the  massacre 
were  Colonel  Leeper,  Doctor  Sturm  and  Mr.  Jones. 

Mr.  Coyle  is  one  of  the  pioneer  Masons  of  Oklahoma, 
and  one  of  the  most  prominent  and  veteran  members  of 
that  Order  in  Oklahoma.  He  has  always  been  a firm 
believer  that  “Masonry  is  the  handmaiden  of  religion,” 
and  his  activities  in  the  order  have  brought  him  many 
distinctions,  so  thgt  he  is  probably  one  of  the  best  known 
members  of  the  craft  in  the  state.  He'  took  his  first 
degrees  in  1866  in  Iola  Lodge  at  Iola,  Kansas.  He  is 
a charter  member  of  Rush  Springs  Lodge  No.  7,  Ancient 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  which  was  organized  in 
1875  and  chartered  in  1876.  In  1875  Mr.  Coyle  built  a 
schoolhouse  at  Elm  Springs  (now  Erin  Springs)  and 
arranged  the  upper  floor  for  a lodge  room,  though  it  was 
a very  small  one.  That  was  the  first  home  of  the  Rush 
Springs  Lodge,  and  it  was  organized  there.  The  meet- 
ing of  organization  was  held  on  a .Saturday,  and  Mr. 
Coyle  invited  the  Rev.  Mr.  Davis  of  Pauls  Valley,  then 
presiding  elder  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  to 
come  to  Rush  Springs  and  hold  services  on  the  following 
Sunday,  Mr.  Coyle  guaranteeing  a congregation.  Elder 
Davis  accordingly  came  and  found  the  audience  so  large 
that  he  preached  to  them  in  the  open,  standing  in  the 
doorway  of  the  school.  In  consequence  of  that  meeting 
he  at  once  organized  a church  and  Sunday  school,  and 
it  has  been  in  continuous  existence  ever  since. 

Mr.  Coyle ’s  affiliations  with  Masonry  deserve  particular 
mention.  He  was  the  first  master  of  Rush  Springs 
Lodge  No.  7,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  held 
the  office  of  master  thirteen  years,  and  is  still  an  active 
member.  He  belongs  to  Chickasha  Chapter  No.  17,  Royal 
Arch  Masons;  Chickasha  Council  No.  4,  Royal  and  Select 
Masters ; DeMolai  Commandery  No.  7,  Knights  Templar ; 
and  India  Temple  of  the  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine. 
The  honors  paid  him  by  the  state  body  of  Masons  are 
also  noteworthy.  He  is  a past  grand  master  of  the 
State  Lodge,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons;  past 
grand  high  priest  of  the  Royal  Arch  Chapter;  past 
master  of  the  Royal  and  Select  Masters;  and  past  grand 
commander  of  the  Knights  Templar.  He  also  became  a 
charter  member  of  Rush  Springs  Lodge  No.  226  of  the 
Knights  of  Pythias,  and  is  a past  chancellor  and  repre- 
sentative to  the  Grand  Lodge,  and  a member  of  the 
Knights  of  Kadosh. 

In  1874  Mr.  Coyle  married  Miss  Margaret  Bowen, 
and  they  have  had  a happy  married  companionship  of 
more  than  forty  years.  Prior  to  her  marriage  Mrs. 
Coyle  was  a school  teacher  in  Illinois.  They  ate  the 
parents  of  four  children:  Edward  Coyle,  who  is  married 
and  has  six  children;  John  L.  Coyle,  who  has  two 
children;  Charles  R.  Coyle,  who  is  also  married;  and 
Mary  Coyle,  who  like  the  other  children,  is  living  at 
Rush  Springs. 

Seymour  Foose.  For  twenty-four  years  Seymour 
Foose  has  attended  strictly  to  his  profession  as  a lawyer 
in  Blaine  County.  He  was  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers, 
acquired  a homestead  on  the  opening,  and  though  he 
was  one  of  a number  of  representatives  of  the  legal 
profession  when  he  came  he  is  now  the  only  one  who 
has  continuously  practiced  law  in  Blaine  County  since 
it  was  established.  His  success  has  been  in  proportion 
to  the  years  of  his  residence,  and  there  is  probably  no 
name  in  Blaine  County  that  is  mentioned  with  more 
familiar  association  with  the  professional,  civic  and 
business  affairs  of  that  community  than  Seymour  Foose. 

In  the  paternal  line  he  is  of  Prussian  ancestry,  his 
grandfather,  William  Foose,  having  come  from  Germany 
• and  settled  in  Ohio  as  one  of  the  early  farmers  of  that 
state.  Through  his  mother  Seymour  Foose  is  of  English 
and  Irish  stock.  With  such  a heritage  of  ancestry,  he 


2032 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


was  born  in  Meigs  County,  Ohio,  November  11,  1862. 
His  father,  John  W.  Foose,  is  also  well  remembered  in. 
Oklahoma,  where  he  was  a pioneer.  He  was  born  in 
Trumbull  County,  Ohio,  in  1838.  When  a young  man 
he  moved  to  Meigs  County,  but  was  married  in  Gallia 
County  in  the  extreme  southern  part  of  the  state.  From 
Meigs  County  he  went  out  to  serve  as  a Union  soldier 
during  the  Civil  war.  He  was  a member  of  the  Seventh 
Ohio  Cavalry,  and  was  in  the  army  three  years  and  ten 
months.  At  Rogersville,  Tennessee,  he  was  wounded  in 
the  leg  and  taken  prisoner,  and  thereafter  spent  four- 
teen months  in  some  of  the  notorious  prison  pens  of  the 
South,  at  Libby,  Belle  Isle,  Andersonville,  Florence  and 
Charleston.  After  being  exchanged  he  rejoined  his  regi- 
ment in  1864  in  Georgia,  when  the  war  was  nearly  over. 
Returning  to  Meigs  County,  Ohio,  in  1871  he  went  to 
Illinois,  living  in  Wayne  County  for  a number  of  years, 
and  in  1884  going  to  Shelby  County  in  the  same  state. 
In  the  spring  of  1887  he  brought  his  family  to  Sedge- 
wick  County,  Kansas.  While  for  many  years  a farmer, 
he  was  also  an  ordained  minister  of  the  Cumberland 
Presbyterian  Church,  but  later  became  affiliated  with 
the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  and  represented  that 
denomination  as  a minister  in  several  of  the  southern 
counties  of  Kansas,  in  Sumner,  Harper  and  Barber 
counties.  In  1893  John  W.  Foose  homesteaded  a claim 
in  Grant  County,  Oklahoma,  being  identified  with  the 
opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip.  In  1902  he  removed  to 
Medford,  and  for  several  years  he  filled  the  position  of 
territorial  librarian,  in  the  duties  of  which  office  he 
died  at  Guthrie  May  7,  1907.  He  had  first  been 
appointed  territorial  librarian  by  Governor  Ferguson, 
and  was  reappointed  by  Governor  Frantz.  Politically 
he  was  a stanch  republican,  and  was  a member  of  the 
Masonic  fraternity.  John  W.  Foose  married  Nancy  E. 
Dickson,  who  was  born  in  Virginia  in  January,  1844, 
and  is  now  living,  past  seventy-two  years  old,  with  her 
son,  Seymour,  in  Watonga.  Seymour  was  the  oldest  of  a 
family  of  six  children.  Addie  F.,  the  next  in  age, 
married  Reber  Homrighous,  and  is  a very  capable  busi- 
ness woman,  living  in  Chicago,  and  looking  after  extens- 
ive real  estate  interests  in  Gary,  Indiana;  Thomas  D., 
also  a resident  of  Chicago,  has  for  the  past  fifteen  years 
been  superintendent  of  the  Fay  livery  business  in  that 
City;  Jennie  married  Leander  Martin,  who  was  at  that 
time  probate  judge  of  Blaine  County,  Oklahoma,  but 
they  now  reside  in  Portland,  Oregon,  where  Mr.  Martin 
is  in  the  real  estate  and  lumber  business;  Elias  K.  is 
the  wanderer  of  the  family,  and  his  whereabouts  have 
been  unknown  to  his  relatives  since  1906;  Carrie  is  the 
wife  of  C.  L.  Anderson,  and  they  own  and  occupy  a 
ranch  on  Shaw  Island  in  the  State  of  Washington. 

As  a boy  in  Wayne  County,  Illinois,  Seymour  Foose 
gained  the  equivalent  of  a high  school  education.  For 
! three  years  he  attended  the  Southern  Illinois  College  at 
Enfield,  and  for  four  years,  during  1882-85,  was  a teacher 
in  the  country  schools  in  Shelby  County,  Illinois.  The 
next  two  years  were  spent  in  teaching  in  Nemaha  County, 
Nebraska.  In  the  spring  of  1887  he  made  the  journey 
with  his  parents  to  Sedgwick  County,  Kansas.  They 
accomplished  that  migration  in  true  pioneer  style,  driving 
overland  with  a four  horse  wagon.  He  lived  at  home, 
managing  the  farm  during  the  summer  season  for  five 
years  and  teaching  school  in  the  winter.  In  the  mean- 
time he  took  up  the  study  of  law,  attended  the  law 
department  of  the  Garfield  University,  now  known  as 
the  Friends  University,  at  Wichita,  Kansas,  and  in  1891 
was  graduated  LL.  B.  and  admitted  to  the  bar  at  that 
city  in  the  same  year.  He  had  also  spent  one  year  in 
the  law  offices  of  Holmes,  Haymaker  & Holt  at  Wichita, 


and  after  graduation  was  for  one  year  in  the  law  offices 
of  O.  H.  Bentley,  who  is  now  mayor  of  Wichita. 

Leaving  Kansas  in  1892,  Mr.  Foose  drove  across 
country  to  what  is  now  Watonga,  and  was  present  at 
the  opening  of  the  lauds  in  Blaine  County,  and  while 
making  the  run  on  foot  he  was  fortunte  in  securing  a 
lot  situated  south  of  where  the  present  courthouse! 
stands.  After  proving  up  his  claim  he  sold  it,  and* 
later  acquired  a homestead  Of  160  acres  one  mile  south- 
west of  Watonga,  but  has  since  disposed  of  that  prop- 
erty also. 

It  was  on  April  19,  1892,  thaf  Mr.  Foose  began  his 
practice  as  a lawyer  at  Watonga.  Since  then  for 
twenty-three  years  his  reputation  hay  been  steadily  grow- 
ing and  he  has  handled  an  increasing  amount  of  the 
important  civil  and  criminal  practice  i^i  Blaine  County. 
In  the  fall  of  1892  he  was  appointed,'  deputy  county 
attorney,  and  at  the  same  time  became  a candidate  for 
the  office  and  was  regularly  elected  for  a'  term  of  two 
years.  He  thus  has  the  distinction  of  hating  been  the 
first  elected  county  attorney  of  Blaine  County.  His  suc- 
cess as  a lawyer  is  reflected  in  his  extensive  property 
holdings.  He  is  the  owner  of  three  quarter  sections  and 
a farm  of  eighty  acres,  all  in  Blaine  Coupty,  has  con- 
siderable real  estate  at  Watonga,  has  a : three-fourth 
interest  in  Block  10  of  that  city,  on  which  ijh  is  residence 
is  situated,  at  the  corner  of  Noble  and  Prouty  avenues. 

In  various  ways  Mr.  Foose  has  been  identified  with 
the  public  life  of  Oklahoma.  He  is  a republican,  and 
was  a delegate  to  the  National  Republican  'Convention 
that  nominated  Roosevelt  in  1904.  During  thdvS.panish- 
American  war  he  enlisted  and  in  July,  1898,  was  mustered 
in  as  first  sergeant  of  Company  M,  First  Territorial 
Regiment  of  Volunteer  Infantry.  The  captain  of  that 
company  was  F.  L.  Boynton,  a well  known  attorney  of 
Kingfisher.  He  was  promoted  and  commissioned  second 
lieutenant  by  Governor  Barnes  in  January,  1899,  and, 
received  an  honorable  discharge  from  the  Volunteer 
army  at  Albany,  Georgia,  February  13,  1899.  After, 
returning  to  Oklahoma  he  was  appointed  by  Governor 
Ferguson  as  a member  of  his  staff,  and  held  that  posi- 
tion four  years,  and  subsequently  was  on  the  staff  of 
Governor  Frantz,  by  whom  he  was  promoted  to  the  rank 
of  major.  He  resigned  this  commission*  at  the  end  of 
Governor  Frantz’s  term.  Fraternally  Mr.  Foose  is 
affiliated  with  Watonga  Lodge  No.  176,  Ancient  Free 
and  Accepted  Masons;  with  Peaceful  Valley  Chapter, 
Royal  Arch  Masons,  at  Geary,  Oklahoma;  and  with 
Consistory  No.  1,  thirty-second  degree  of  Scottish  Rite, 
Valley  of  Guthrie. 

In  August,  1893,  at  Wellington,  Kansas,  Mr.  Foose 
married  Miss  Nora  Gilbert.  She  died  a few  weeks  later, 
in  October,  1893.  March  17,  1899,  at  Oklahoma  City,  he 
married  Miss  Minnie  B.  Beals.  Her  father,  Dwight  A. 
Beals,  who  died  in  July,  1914,  was  an  Oklahoma  pioneer 
and  had  been  a veteran  of  the  Union  army  during  the 
Civil  war.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Foose  have  two  children: 
John  S.,  born  in  June,  1902,  is  now  in  the  freshman 
class  of  the  Watonga  High  School;  and  H.  Theodore, 
born  in  September,  1904,  is  a student  in  the  local  public 
schools. 

Lucian  Bullock  Sneed.  One  of  the  first  citizens  of 
Guymon,  Oklahoma,  both  in  point  of  time  and  promi- 
nence, is  Lucian  B.  Sneed,  the  present  postmaster.  Ten 
years  ago,  when  the  town  was  incorporated,  he  was 
honored  with  one  of  the  first  city  offices.  Mr.  Sneed 
represents  one  of  the  old  families  of  Oklahoma,  being  a 
son  of  Col.  Richard  A.  and  Annie  R.  (Bullock)  Sneed. 
Colonel  Sneed  is  still  one  of  the  active  men  in  Oklahoma ’s 
affairs  and  is  widely  known  over  the  state  at  large. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA  2033 


It  was  in  the  home  of  his  parents  at  Jackson,  Ten- 
nessee, that  Lucian  Bullock  Sneed  was  born  January  4, 
1878.  He  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Gaines- 
[i  ville,  Texas,  where  his  father  lived  for  some  years,  and 
also  attended  a private  school  at  Paul’s  Valley  in  Indian 
I Territory.  Prom  school  he  at  once  entered  business  life 
I as  salesman  in  a general  merchandise  house  and  remained 
I in  that  business  until  1904.  In  that  year  he  came  to 
I Guymon  and  became  identified  with  the  real  estate 
I business.  When  the  town  was  incorporated  in  1905  he 
I was  elected  the  first  city  clerk.  In  1907  he  was  chosen 
I the  first  county  clerk  of  Texas  County  on  the  democratic 
I ticket.  His  present  office  as  postmaster  of  Guymon  was 
I given  him  in  1914,  and  he  is  now  very  capably  managing 
I this  branch  of  the  federal  service. 

Mr.  Sneed  is  also  secretary  of  the  Guymon  Business 
I Men’s  Association  and  fraternally  is  a member  of  the 
I Masonic  order.  On  December  23,  1909,  at  Guymon,  Okla- 
I homa,  he  married  Miss  Edna  B.  Crum,  daughter  of  W.  A. 
I and  Nannie  (McHenry)  Crum,  who  were  natives  of 
I Kentucky  and  Illinois,  respectively.  Mrs.  Sneed  was 
I born  April  4,  1886,  at  Mattoon,  Illinois,  and  is  a gradu- 
I ate  of  the  Eastern  Illinois  State  Normal  School  at 
I Charleston,  Illinois.  Prior  to  her  marriage  she  spent 
I five  years  as  a teacher.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Sneed  are  the 

I parents  of  one  child,  Richard  Bullock  Sneed,  born  at 
Guymon,  Oklahoma,  November  14,  1910. 

Jambs  W.  Kekley,  M.  D.  In  such  a new  country  as 
Oklahoma  pioneers  are  often  young  men  in  spite  of 
their  experiences  and  services.  A future  generation  will 
find  much  to  admire  in  the  arduous  and  faithful  service 
of  those  who  accepted  the  hardships  and  limitations  of 
a life  on  the  frontier  partly  from  a desire  to  establish 
their  own  economic  well  being  and  partly  to  perform  their 
proper  tasks  in  the  world.  Though  a physician  and 
surgeon  of  only  fifteen  years  active  experience, 
Dr.  James  W.  Kerley  may  properly  claim  the  distinc- 
tion of  having  been  a pioneer  doctor  in  at  least  two 
communities  in  Southwestern  Oklahoma.  He  now  has 
a most  successful  practice  and  enjoys  business  pros- 
perity and  the  comforts  of  a good  home  and  the  honors 
of  citizenship  at  Cordell. 

Born  at  Mountain  View,  Arkansas,  June  4,  1871,  he 
is  one  of  the  seven  children  of  James  and  Nancy 
(Meadows)  Kerley.  His  father  was  born  in  Hardin  Coun- 
ty, Tennessee,  in  1848  and  his  mother  in  Wayne  County, 
Tennessee,  in  1846.  James  Kerley  when  a young  man 
went  to  Arkansas,  was  married  there,  and  that  state  was 
his  home  until  the  death  of  his  wife  in  1907.  He  has 
since  lived  at  Cordell,  Oklahoma,  where  he  is  a farmer 
and  stock  man.  The  seven  children  were : Dr.  William  W., 
of  Anadarko,  the  twin,  brother  of  Dr.  James  W. ; 
Melissa  A.,  wife  of  Joseph  Smith,  a druggist  at  Bessie, 
Oklahoma;  P.  A.,  a farmer  and  stock  man  at  Oil  City, 
Oklahoma;  Albert  M.,  a railroad  man  living  at  San 
Diego,  California;  Ollie,  who  lives  in  Arizona,  the  widow 
of  Joseph  Dodson,  who  was  killed  while  in  service  as  a 
United  States  marshal  in  Arkansas;  and  Joseph  E.,  a 
railroad  man  at  San  Diego,  California. 

Dr.  James  W.  Kerley  grew  up  in  his  native  state  of 
Arkansas,  attended  the  public  schools  there,  and  in 
1888  removed  from  Mountain  View  to  Baxter  County, 
Arkansas,  where  he  was  graduated  from  the  high  school 
in  1894.  Doctor  Kerley  early  adopted  the  principle  of 
self-help  as  a means  of  advancing  himself  in  the  world, 
and  for  several  years  performed  some  useful  service  and 
at  the  same  time  earned  money  necessary  for  his  higher 
education  by  teaching  school.  This  was  his  regular 
occupation  from  1894  to  1896,  though  in  the  meantime 
he  had  started  to  read  medical  works.  In  1896  he 
entered  the  university  at  Nashville,  Tennessee,  took  an 


active  part  in  student  affairs  while  there,  and  graduated 
M.  D.  in  1900. 

His  first  work  as  a physician  was  done  at  Burns, 
in  Washita  County,  Oklahoma,  where  in  1900  he  was  one 
of  the  first  physicians  to  attend  the  wants  of  a large 
surrounding  country,  only  sparsely  inhabited  at  the  time. 
In  1904  he  took  up  his  permanent  residence  at  Cordell, 
where  he  was  likewise  one  of  the  first  of  his  pro- 
fession to  open  an  office.  He  has  since  gained  a splen- 
did reputation,  and  has  all  the  practice  he  can  well 
attend  to.  Doctor  Kerley  is  a man  of  progressive  ideas, 
and  has  never  been  content  to  practice  long  without 
active  contact  with  the  great  centers  of  medical  learn- 
ing. He  took  a general  postgraduate  course  in  the 
New  York  Policlinic  in  1904  and  in  1906  spent  several 
months  specializing  in  surgery  in  1908  at  the  Post- 
graduate Medical  School  and  Hospital  in  Chicago,  and  in 
March,  1914,  took  some  courses  in  diseases  of  children 
at  the  New  Orleans  Polyclinic. 

Doctor  Kerley  has  deservedly  prospered  in  material 
fortune.  His  offices  are  in  the  Kerley  Building,  a busi- 
ness structure  at  the  corner  of  Main  and  College  streets 
which  he  owns.  He  also  owns  his  home  on  College  Street,' 
and  has  two  farms  of  320  acres  in  Elk  Township  of 
Washita  County,  the  management  of  which  is  entrusted 
to  tenants.  Doctor  Kerley  served  as  county  superintend- 
ent of  public  health  in  Washita  County  from  statehood 
until  quite  recently.  He  is  a democrat  in  politics,  is 
a member  of  the  county  and  state  medical  societies  and 
the  American  Medical  Association,  and  fraternally  is 
identified  with  Cordell  Lodge  No.  137,  A.  P.  & A.  M., 
and  Cordell  Lodge  No.  167,  I.  O.  O.  E. 

On  March  7,  1897,  in  Arkansas,  while  still  a struggling 
student  preparing  for  his  profession,  Doctor  Kerley  mar- 
ried Miss  Zona  Morrison,  daughter  of  D.  A.  Morrison, 
who  later  became  a farmer  in  Washita  County,  Oklahoma, 
but  is  now  living  retired  in  California.  Mrs.  Kerley  died 
May  23,  1901,  survived  by  two  daughters:  Myrtle,  who 
died  at  the  age  of  eleven  years;  and  May,  now  a student 
in  the  public  schools  at  Cordell.  In  October,  1904,  in 
Washita  County,  Oklahoma,  Doctor  Kerley  married 
Mrs.  Alma  (Mowery)  Arnold.  Her  first  husband  was  the 
late  Samuel  Houston  Arnold,  a rancher  of  Washita  Coun- 
ty. Her  father  is  W.  H.  Mowrey,  a Texas  farmer. 
There  are  three  children  by  this  union : Edith  and 

Arthur,  twins,  both  now  in  the  public  schools  at  Cordell; 
and  James  W.,  Jr. 

John  P.  Lynn.  About  twenty-eight  years  ago  a 
young  man  rode  horseback  into  the  country  of  the 
Osages,  stopping  in  the  vicinity  of  the  present  City  of 
Pawhuska  where  he  found  employment  as  a farm  hand 
in  looking  after  the  farm  controlled  by  the  sisters  who 
have  charge  of  the  St.  Louis  Indian  School.  Three  years 
later  he  married  and  ever  since  that  time  John  P.  Lynn 
has  been  identified  with  that  part  of  Osage  County,  and 
in  many  interesting  ways  is  related  to  the  development 
and  upbuilding  of  Pawhuska.  He  came  into  the  country 
without  money  and  with  no  immediate  prospects,  but  is 
now  one  of  the  largest  land  holders  and  one  of  the  most 
influential  men  in  the  locality. 

A native  of  Illinois,  John  P.  Lynn  was  born  in  LaSalle 
County  August  3,  1861,  a son  of  Patrick  and  Margaret 
(McNamara)  Lynn,  his  father  a native  of  north  Ireland 
and  his  mother  of  southern  Ireland.  The  father  came 
to  the  United  States  when  five  years  of  age  and  was 
married  in  Philadelphia.  The  family  moved  to  Illinois 
about  1860  and  in  1869  the  father  located  in  the  new 
country  around  the  present  City  of  Independence,  Kan- 
sas, establishing  his  home  and  taking  a claim  among  the 
Osage  Indians,  who  about  that  time  removed  from  Kan- 
sas into  Indian  Territory.  That  was  a time  of  primitive 


2034 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


conditions,  when  all  travel  was  either  by  horseback  or  on 
foot,  and  the  father  developed  a farm  from  the  virgin 
prairie  in  the  vicinity  of  Indepenee  and  his  wife  died 
there  when  John  P.  Lynn  was  twenty-two  years  old.  The 
father  afterward  married  again,  and  took  up  a claim  in 
old  Oklahoma  Territory.  He  died  in  Oklahoma  City  and 
was  laid  to  rest  by  his  wife  in  Independence,  Kansas. 
By  his  first  marriage  there  were  three  daughters  and 
three  sons  and  two  of  the  sons  and  two  daughters  are 
still  living.  By  the  second  marriage  there  were  four 
boys  and  three  girls. 

John  P.  Lynn  had  to  get  his  education  by  very  limited 
attendance  at  local  schools  at  Independence,  Kansas. 
After  coming  into  the  Osage  country  as  already  related 
he  spent  three  years  as  foreman  on  the  farm  near  the 
St.  Louis  School.  On  March  19,  1895,  he  married  Mary 
A.  Rogers,  who  was  born  in  Pawhuska  or  where  that  city 
now  stands  November  5,  1876,  a daughter  of  Patrick 
and  Constance  (Canville)  Rogers.  Her  father  was  born 
in  Ireland  and  her  mother  in  the  United  States,  being 
French  on  her  paternal  side  and  Osage  Indian  through 
her  mother.  Mrs.  Lynn's  grandfather  Canville  belonged 
to  the  old  French  stock  originally  located  in  the  vicinity 
of  St.  Louis,  and  from  there  moved  West  to  where  Kansas 
City  now  stands,  and  at  one  time  owned  forty  acres  of 
land  covering  the  site  of  the  old  Union  depot  in  that 
city.  He  was  a French  trader.  Mrs.  Lynn’s  father  was 
a trader  through  the  Osage  country  in  the  early  days, 
and  came  to  the  Southwest  from  Decatur,  Illinois,  and 
both  he  and  his  wife  died  at  Pawhuska  and  were  laid 
to  rest  on  the  Cary  River,  twenty-five  miles  north  of 
Pawhuska.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lynn  have  five  children,  named 
John,  Joseph,  Theresa,  Patrick  and  William. 

For  many  years  Mr.  Lynn  has  found  full  employment 
for  his  energies  in  ranching  and  stock  raising.  His  wife 
and  each  of  their  five  children  have  allotments  of  Indian 
lands,  to  the  amount  of  a section  for  each  person,  and 
Mr.  Lynn  has  charge  of  the  operation  of  this  large 
estate,  and  is  also  the  individual  owner  of  1,400  acres 
which  he  has  bought  at  different  times.  His  home  is  in 
Pawhuska,  and  is  a large  and  commodious  residence  at 
the  east  end  of  Main  Street.  He  built  the  old  part  of 
this  home  soon  after  his  marriage,  but  remodeled  and 
added  extensively  two  years  ago.  He  has  witnessed  the 
entire  development  of  the  city,  and  some  of  the  business 
and  residence  structures  stand  on  land-  which  he  platted 
as  the  Lynn  addition.  Lynn  Avenue  was  named  for  him, 
and  lie  has  a section  of  land  along  that  thoroughfare  at 
the  east  end  of  Main  Street.  Mr.  Lynn  has  done  con- 
siderable in  improving  the  city,  has  built  and  sold  several 
homes,  but  for  the  most  part  sells  unimproved  lots.  In 
his  home  farm  he  has  fifty  acres  of  alfalfa,  and  keeps 
about  250  head  of  hogs  in  the  fields.  He  is  also  a feeder 
of  the  black  muley  or  Angus  cattle.  Other  interests  are 
as  a stockholder  in  the  Pawhuska  Oil  & Gas  Company, 
the  largest  corporation  in  Osage  County.  Mr.  Lynn  is  a 
democrat  and  a member  of  the  Catholic  Church. 

When  Mr.  Lynn  first  came  to  the  vicinity  of  Pawhuska 
and  found  employment  with  the  sisters  of  the  St.  Louis 
School,  there  were  no  railroads  through  this  section  of 
country,  and  he  frequently  drove  to  Elgin  and  Cedarvale 
in  Kansas,  the  nearest  railroad  stations,  twenty-five  and 
forty  miles  away.  He  made  these  trips  on  a number  of 
occasions  to  meet  the  bishop  or  other  missionaries,  and 
the  journeys  were  often  made  in  bad  weather,  with  no 
bridges  over  the  swollen  streams  and  the  fords  were  not 
passed  without  some  danger  and  inconvenience.  At  dif- 
ferent times  also  in  the  early  days  Mr.  Lynn  drove  hogs 
across  the  country  to  Elgin,  the  nearest  place  for  ship- 
ment. These  drives  were  also  made  in  the  cool  winter 
seasons,  and  required  three  or  four  days.  At  night  he 
would  wrap  his  blanket  around  him  and  lie  down  among 


the  hogs,  and  several  times  would  get  up  in  the  morning 
with  his  blanket  covered  with  snow.  Another  interesting 
fact  in  connection  with  the  family  record  is  that 
Mrs.  Lynn’s  father  in  the  early  days  had  his  corral  on 
the  site  now  occupied  by  the  postofiice  in  the  heart  of 
the  city  at  Pawhuska. 

Vernon  B.  Browne  is  one  of  the  youngest  bankers  in 
Oklahoma,  and  a few  years  ago  organized  and  has  since 
been  cashier  and  chief  executive  of  the  May  State  Bank 
of  May.  This  bank  was  established  February  20,  1912, 
with  a capital  stock  of  $10,000.  Its  deposits  on  March 
7,  1916,  aggregated  $87,684.92.  While  Mr.  Browne  is 
cashier  and  active  manager  the  president  is  Charles  H. 
Martin.  The  stockholders  in  the  bank  are  largely  local 
people,  and  it  is  a local  institution  and  has  thoroughly 
deserved  the  prosperity  it  has  enjoyed. 

Vernon  B.  Browne  was  born  June  25,  1885,  at  Seneca, 
South  Carolina,  a son  of  A.  C.  and  Anna  M.  (Hubbard) 
Browne,  who  were  also  natives  of  South  Carolina.  His 
father  was  born  December  5,  1857,  and  his  mother 
December  1,  1860,  and  they  were  married  November  7, 
1878.  In  1888  the  family  removed  to  Texas,  and  in  1896 
to  Fargo,  Oklahoma,  where  A.  C.  Browne  is  now  engaged 
in  the  grain  business.  Of  their  five  sons  and  four  daugh- 
ters only  three  are  now  living,  Vernon,  the  son,  and 
two  daughters;  T.  Browne,  was  born  June  27,  1889, 
and  was  married  October  20,  1909,  to  J.  W.  MeGinley, 
a farmer  at  Wheatland,  Oklahoma,  and  their  three 
children  are:  Onetia,  Hugh  and  Vernon;  and  Anna  M., 
born  October  12,  1895,  and  still  at  home  with  her  parents 
at  Fargo. 

Vernon  Browne  received  his  education  in  the  public 
schools  of  Panhandle,  Texas.  At  the  age  of  twenty-one 
lie  took  a business  course  at  Oklahoma  City,  and  in 
1907  became  bookkeeper  in  the  Stock  Exchange  Bank 
of  Fargo.  On  January  1,  1909,  he  was  elected  cashier 
of  this  institution,  but  resigned  on  January  1,  1912, 
in  order  to  organize  the  May  State  Bank.  He  has  been 
actively  identified  with  that  town  in  all  its  public  spirited 
movements,  and  besides  his  interests  as  a banker  he  has 
extensive  farm  holdings. 

Mr.  Browne  is  a thirty-second  degree  Scottish  Rite 
Mason,  being  a member  of  Consistory  No.  1 at  Guthrie, 
is  also  an  Odd  Fellow,  and  politically  is  a democrat,  but 
without  official  aspirations.  On  August  5,  1914,  at  Cherry- 
vale,  Kansas,  he  married  Miss  Myrtle  Williams,  who 
was  born  November  24,  1887,  in  Kansas,  a daughter 
of  J.  M.  and  Mollie  (Laird)  Williams.  Mrs.  Browne 
was  a teacher  for  four  years  prior  to  her  marriage  in 
the  city  schools  of  Woodward,  Oklahoma.  They  have 
one  child,  Eugene  Vernon,  born  at  May,  October  24,  1915. 

Hon.  Ed  Baker.  While  it  is  in  the  office  of  county 
judge  of  Blaine  County  that  Mr.  Baker  is  best  known 
to  the  general  public,  having  administered  that  position 
with  impartial  ability  and  efficiency  since  1912,  he  has 
for  more  than  twenty  years  been  identified  with  this 
section  of  Oklahoma,  having  come  in  as  a pioneer,  and 
has  lived  a life  of  usefulness  and  honor  as  a teacher, 
farmer,  homesteader,  and  has  been  in  the  active  practice' 
of  law  at  Watonga  since  1901. 

Of  an  old  American  family,  the  Bakers  originally 
came  from  Germany  and  settled  in  Maryland  prior  toi 
the  Revolutionary  war.  Judge  Baker  was  born  in 
Creston,  Iowa,  September  23,  1866.  His  father,  Britton 
Robert  Baker,  who  was  also  a pioneer  in  Blaine  County, 
was  born  in  Maryland  in  1827,  and  died  on  his  home- 
stead in  Blaine  County,  Oklahoma,  December  25,,  1910 
From  Maryland  he  removed  to  Eastern  Iowa,  and  was 
married  near  Burlington  to  Louisa  Jane  Anderson.  She 
was  born  in  1832  in  that  portion  of  old  Virginia  nov 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2035 


West  Virginia,  and  died  at  Watonga  in  October,  1911. 
After  his  marriage  Britton  R.  Baker  moved  to  Creston, 
Iowa,  and  in  1872  to  Mount  Ayr,  Iowa,  where  he  changed 
his  vocation  as  a farmer  to  that  of  a merchant.  He 
also  lived  in  Nebraska  and  Kansas,  and  in  1887  went 
to  Benton  County,  the  center  of  the  great  fruit  growing 
district  of  Northwestern  Arkansas,  and  was  a farmer 
there  until  1893.  In  that  year  he  joined  the  early 
colonists  of  Blaine  County,  Oklahoma,  and  bought  a 
farm  on  which  he  lived  until  his  death.  As  a young 
man  he  gave  four  years  of  active  service  in  the  Federal 
army  during  the  Civil  war,  enlisting  in  the  Twenty  - 
'ninth  Regiment  of  Iowa  Infantry.  As  a young  man 
he  had  been  an  active  worker  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church.  The  children  were:  Ulysses  R.,  who  was  last 

heard  of  in  1880,  and  is  thought  to  have  been  killed  by 
the  Indians  in  Arizona;  Ida  F.,  wife  of  William  H. 
Boyce,  a retired  farmer  living  at  Watonga;  Ira  L.,  a 
blacksmith  at  Colgate,  Oklahoma;  and  Judge  Ed  Baker. 

Judge  Baker  has  been  identified  with  the  new  West 
during  most  of  his  active  life.  He  gained  his  education 
in  the  public  schools  of  Mount  Ayr,  Iowa,  up  to  the 
time  he  was  fourteen.  He  helped  his  father  in  farming 
a Nebraska  homestead  in  Knox  County  until  1885,  and 
then  went  with  the  family  to  Ness  County,  Kansas, 
engaged  in  farming  there  two  years,  and  after  removing 
to  Benton  County,  Arkansas,  in  1887  taught  school  for 
three  years.  He  continued  his  vocation  as  a school 
teacher  for  one  term  after  going  to  Barber  County, 
Kansas,  in  1891,  and  from  there  came  to  Blaine  County, 
Oklahoma,  in  August,  1892.  Here  he  first  identified 
himself  with  the  primary  work  of  developing  homesteads, 
and  secured  for  himself  a claim  of  160  acres  in  the 
north  end  of  Blaine  County.  That  was  his  home  and 
the  scene  of  his  labors  as  an  agriculturist  for  ten  years. 
In  the  meantime  he  had  taught  a number  of  terms  in 
the  local  schools,  and  while  teaching  diligently  pursued 
his  studies  in  the  law,  until  admitted  to  the  bar  at 
Watonga  in  1901.  In  1902  Mr.  Baker  sold  his  farm 
and  has  since  lived  in  Watonga.  In  that  year  he  was 
elected  county  attorney,  and  the  two  years  spent  in 
that  office  were  engaged  in  a creditable  fulfillment  of 
his  public  duties  and  also  proved  a valuable  experience 
in  his  career  as  a lawyer.  Judge  Baker  conducted  a large 
general  practice  in  civil  and  criminal  law  until  1912,  in 
which  year  he  was  elected  county  judge  of  Blaine 
County,  and  in  1914  was  re-elected  for  another  term  of 
two  years.  His  offices  are  now  in  the  courthouse  at 
Watonga. 

Judge  Baker  is  a democrat,  and  fraternally  is  affiliated 
with  Watonga  Lodge  No.  176,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons;  Geary  Chapter  No.  59,  Royal  Arch  Masons; 
Weatherford  Commandery  No.  17,  Knights  Templar; 
India  Temple  of  the  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at 
Oklahoma  City;  with  Watonga  Camp  of  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America;  and  with  the  Knights  and  Ladies 
of  Security  at  Watonga.  In  Benton  County,  Arkansas, 
in  1891,  Judge  Baker  married  Miss  Lula  B.  Locke,  whose 
father,  S.  B.  Locke,  was  a farmer  in  that  part,  of 
Arkansas.  Two  children  have  been  born  to  their  mar- 
riage. Britton  R.,  who  graduated  from  the  Watonga 
High  School  in  1913,  spent  the  next  year  as  a teacher  in 
his  home  county,  and  is  now  a member  of  the  freshman 
class  of  the  University  of  Oklahoma  in  Norman. 
F.  Locke,  the  second  son,  graduated  from  high  school  in 
1915  and  is  now  a teacher  in  the  public  schools  at 
Hitchcock,  Oklahoma. 

John  Frank  Stotts.  During  his  early  boyhood  the 
horizon  of  J.  F.  Stotts  was  bounded  by  a Texas  farm. 
He  lived  in  a country  where  hard  work  was  the  rule  and 


an  education  a difficult  matter  to  obtain.  He  has  earned 
his  opportunities,  and  for  the  past  thirteen  years  has 
been  in  the  broader  realm  of  business  affairs,  and  is  now 
a well  known  banker  in  Southern  Oklahoma  and  cashier 
of  the  First  State  Bank  of  Ringling. 

John  Frank  Stotts  was  born  in  Montague  County, 
Texas,  September  15,  1882,  and  his  family  originally 
came  from  Germany  and  settled  in  the  State  of  Indiana. 
His  father,  J.  M.  Stotts,  was  born  in  Missouri  in  1845 
and  died  at  Woolsey,  Oklahoma,  in  December,  1903.  He 
moved  from  Missouri  to  Texas  and  in  1891  to  Woolsey, 
Indian  Territory.  He  was  a farmer  and  had  a cotton 
gin  at  his  place.  As  a boy  he  saw  four  years  of  service 
in . the  Confederate  army,  enlisting  from  Missouri  in 
Price ’s  army.  He  was  three  times  taken  prisoner,  but 
effected  his  escape  each  time.  He  was  a member  of  the 
Christian  Church  and  for  many  years  a deacon,  and  also 
affiliated  with  the  Masonic  fraternity.  J.  M.  Stotts 
married  Miss  Anna  Scott,  who  was  born  in  1855  and 
died  at  Loco,  Oklahoma,  in  1907.  Their  children  were : 
Hattie,  wife  of  W.  J.  Gossage,  a farmer  at  Mangum, 
Oklahoma;  Sim,  a cattle,  man  and  deputy  sheriff  at 
Cornish,  Oklahoma;  John  F.;  Ida,  wife  of  Clayton 
Durlmg,  a painter  and  decorator  at  Comanche,  Okla- 
homa; and  Charles,  who  is  assistant  cashier  of  the  First 
State  Bank  of  Ringling. 

John  F.  Stotts  as  a boy  attended  subscription  schools 
maintained  in  log  houses  in  the  vicinity  of  Woolsey. 
His  early  life  was  spent  on  the  farm  and  in  assisting 
around  the  cotton  gin,  but  in  1902  he  graduated  in  a 
business  course  at  Draughon’s  Practical  Business  College 
m Fort  Worth,  and  from  that  time  forward  began 
making  his  ability  and  influence  felt.  In  1903  he  entered 
the  employ  of  the  Chickasha  Cotton  Oil  Company,  and 
in  1904  became  connected  with  J.  M.  Robberson ’s  general 
mercantile  house  at  Loco,  Oklahoma,  with  which  busi- 
ness  he  remained  six  years.  He  next  became  cashier  of 
the  State  Bank  of  Loco,  and  continued  in  that  office 
until  May,  1914.  He  left  Loco  to  organize  the  First 
State  Bank  of  Ringling,  of  which  he  has  been  cashier, 
and  has  also  served  as  vice  president  of  the  State  Bank 
of ^ Loco.  The  First  State  Bank  of  Ringling  occupies 
a building  constructed  April,  1914,  on  Main  Street,  but 
a modern  brick  structure  is  now  in  course  of  eonstruc- 
tion,  one  block  further  west,  and  this  will  provide  a 
splendid  home  for  the  institution,  which  has  been  growino- 
rapidly.  The  officers  of  the  bank  are:  J.  M Robber- 

son  of  Loco,  president;  W.  W.  Woodworth,  vice  presi- 
dent; J.  F Stotts,  cashier ; and  Charles  Stotts,  assistant 
cashier.  The  capital  stock  is  $25,000,  and  a recent 
report  already  shows  surplus  and  profits  of  $2,500. 

Mr.  Stotts  is  a democrat,  and  is  affiliated  with  Loco 
L°?i Se  No.  361,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  in 
which  he  is  a past  grand  and  a representative  to  the 
Grand  Lodge  two  terms.  He  is  past  consul  commander 
of  Loco  Camp  No.  682  of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World 
and  was  its  representative  to  the  head  camp 

][n  1906  at  Loco,  Mr.  Stotts  married  Miss  Lucy 
Wyatt  of  Montague  County,  Texas.  Their  children  are: 
Orlando,  born  in  1908,  and  Maysel,  born  in  1910. 

E E.  Brewer  and  Neatha  Homer  Seger.  The  pro- 
prietor and  editor  of  a newspaper  occupies  a certain 
ground  of  vantage  from  which  he  may  make  or  mar 
the  reputation  of  individual  or  community,  build  up  or 
tear  down  a cause  worthy  of  public  approval  or  sup- 
port. Not  only  the  City  of  Geary,  but  Blaine  County  at 
large  has  reason  for  congratulation  that  the  Geary 
Booster  is  m such  safe,  sagacious  and  clean  hands. 
Founded  m 1912,  it  is  considered  one  of  the  best  gen- 
eral newspapers  published  in  this  part  of  the  state  as 
well  as  an  outspoken,  fair  play  exponent  of  the  best 


2036 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


elements  of  the  republican  party — in  fact,  it  is  in  all 
respects  worthy  of  the  care  and  sound  judgment  dis- 
played in  its  columns,  and  reflects  credit  upon  its  editors 
and  publishers,  Messrs.  E.  E.  Brewer  and  Neatha  Homer 

E.  E.  Brewer  was  born  September  20,  1874,  in  Ver- 
milion County,  Illinois,  and  is  a member  of  a family 
which  originated  in  Holland,  emigrated  thence  to  New 
York  in  colonial  times,  and  finally  became  pioneers  of 
Ohio.  His  father,  Rev.  J.  W.  Brewer,  was  born  in 
Sullivan  County,  Indiana,  in  1831,  and  was  there  mar- 
ried and  for  some  years  followed  preaching  as  a minister 
of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church.  He  then  removed 
to  Vermilion  County,  Illinois,  where  he  followed  con- 
tracting and  building,  and  in  1875  removed  to  Sherman, 
Texas.  Five  years  later  he  went  to  the  Texas  Pan 
Handle,  in  1889  became  a pioneer  white  settler  of 
Oklahoma  when  he  located  at  El  Reno,  and  in  1901  came 
to  Geary,  Oklahoma,  where  he  continued  to  be  engaged  in 
business  as  a contractor  and  builder  until  his  death, 
June  24,  1913.  He  was  a man  of  industrious  and  ener- 
getic habits,  won  friends  through  his  many  sterling 
qualities,  and  was  considered  a good  and  public-spirited 
citizen  in  whatever  community  he  found  himself  located. 
He  married  Miss  Emily  Hawkins,  who  was  also  born  in 
Sullivan  County,  Indiana,  in  1835,  and  who  died  at 
Geary  in  1904.  They  became  the  parents  of  four  chil- 
dren,' as  follows : William  A.,  who  resides  at  Springfield, 
Missouri,  and  is  a minister  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church;  Estella,  who  married  E.  E.  Garhart,  a bank 
cashier  and  automobile  dealer  of  Pan  Handle,  Texas; 
Jessie  M.,  who  is  the  wife  of  D.  M.  Young,  a real  estate 
dealer  of  Chicago,  Illinois;  and  E.  E. 

E.  E.  Brewer  attended  the  public  schools  of  Pan 
Handle,  Texas,  and  El  Reno,  Oklahoma,  until  reaching 
the  age  of  fourteen  years,  at  which  time  he  engaged  in 
newspaper  work  at  Mobeetie,  Wheeler  County,  Texas,  on 
the  Mobeetie  News.  There  he  remained  nine  months, 
receiving  his  initiation  into  the  mysteries  of  journalism 
as  represented  in  the  office  of  a country  newspaper,  and 
in  1889  became  a pioneer  of  Oklahoma  when  he  came  to 
El  Reno  and  entered  the  employ  of  the  El  Reno  News. 
From  that  time  forward  he  was  identified  with  various 
newspapers,  always  adding  to  his  knowledge  and  capacity 
as  a newspaper  man,  until  1901,  when  he  came  to  Geary, 
Oklahoma,  and  after  being  with  the  Geary  Bulletin  for 
a time  helped  to  establish  the  Geary  Journal,  in  com- 
pany with  Mr.  Stackhouse.  After  two  years  of  operation 
the  partners  disposed  of  their  interests  and  in  1912 
Mr.  Brewer  became  the  founder  of  the  Geary  Booster, 
choosing  as  the  name  for  his  paper  that  word  which 
must  always  hold  a prominent  position  in  the  vocabulary 
of  the  industrial  history  of  Oklahoma,  as  typical  of  what 
has  caused  its  business,  agricultural  and  general  growth. 
Mr.  Brewer  continued  as  sole  proprietor  of  this  paper, 
-until  April  1,  1915,  when  he  sold  a half  interest  to  Neatha 
Homer  Seger,  thus  forming  the  firm  of  Brewer  & Seger, 
which  has  since  continued.  The  paper  has  republican 
policies  and  is  considered  as  strong  and  influential  among 
the  people  of  Blaine  and  the  surrounding  counties  where 
it  has  a large  subscription  list  and  secures  its  full 
share  of  advertising  contracts.  The  plant  and  offices 
are  on  Main  Street  and  are  well  equipped  with  news- 
paper and  general  printing  machinery. 

Mr.  Brewer  was  married  at  Yukon,  Oklahoma,  in 
1897,  to  Miss  Ida  Garrison,  daughter  of  the  late  Oliver 
Garrison,  who  was  a farmer,  the  ceremony  being  per- 
formed by  Mr.  Brewer ’s  brother,  the  Rev.  W.  A.  Brewer. 
Two  children  have  been  born  to  this  union:  LeRoy 
William  and  Lamara  L.,  who  are  both  members  o£  the 
sophomore  class  at  the  Geary  High  School.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Brewer  are  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 


Church.  He  is  independent  in  politics,  and  while  not  an 
office  seeker  has  served  four  years  as  city  clerk  of 
Geary.  His  fraternal  connection  is  with  Geary  Lodge 
No.  139,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons;  Lodge  No. 
6976,  Modern  Woodmen  of  America;  and  Lodge  No.  138, 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  He  is  interested  in 
several  local  industries  and  is  a stockholder  in  the  Okla- 
homa Oil  Company. 

Neatha  Homer  Seger,  junior  partner  of  the  firm  of 
Brewer  & Seger,  was  born  at  Darlington,  Canadian 
County,  Oklahoma,  December  2,  1876,  and  is  a son  of 
John  H.  Seger,  of  Colony,  Oklahoma,  in  the  sketch  of 
whose  career,  elsewhere  in  this  work,  will  be  found  a 
complete  account  of  the  family.  Neatha  H.  Seger  was 
educated  in  the  district  schools  of  Reno  City,  Canadian 
County,  Oklahoma,  following  which  he  attended  the 
Bryant  Normal  University,  at  Stromsburg,  Nebraska, 
and  was  graduated  from  the  business  department  of  that 
institution  in  1895.  Following  this  Mr.  Seger  was  en- 
gaged in  teaching  school  for  one  term,  when  he  turned 
his  attention  to  the  mercantile  business  at  Colony  and 
continued  to  be  engaged  therein  in  1905.  Removing  at 
that  time  to  Tuttle,  Oklahoma,  he  continued  in  the 
same  business  for  nearly  four  years  and  in  1909  re- 
turned to  Colony,  where  he  worked  on  a farm.  In  1910 
he  received  his  introduction  to  newspaper  life  when 
he  bought  the  Colony  Courier,  a publication  which  he 
edited  at  Colony  until  April  1,  1915,  then  coming  to 
Geary  and  buying  a half  interest  in  the  Geary  Booster. 
While  a resident  of  this  place  for  only  a comparatively 
short  period,  Mr.  Seger  has  already  established  himself 
firmly  in  the  confidence  of  the  people,  and  has  many 
friends  in  a wide  acquaintance.  Through  the  columns  of 
the  paper  he  is  assisting  Mr.  Brewer  in  his  efforts  to 
advance  the  best  interests  of  Geary  and  to  encourage 
every  movement  for  the  making  of  better  education, 
greater  morality  and  a finer  citizenship. 

Mr.  Seger  was  married  December  30,  1903,  at  Colony, 
Oklahoma,  to  Miss  Jessie  Mattoon,  daughter  of  the  late 
William  H.  Mattoon,  who  was  in  the  engineering  de- 
partment of  the  United  States  Government  service.  Two 
children  have  been  born  to  this  union:  Genevieve  Geral- 
dine and  Lloyd  Francis,  both  of  whom  are  attending  the 
public  school.  Mr.  Seger  is  a republican,  and  has 
served  as  a member  of  the  school  board  of  Colony  and 
as  justice  of  the  peace  for  five  years.  He  belongs  to 
the  Dutch  Reformed  Church,  at  Colony,  and  his  fra- 
ternal connections  are  with  Weatherford  Lodge,  Ancient 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  the  Modern  Woodmen 
of  America  at  Colony. 

Gilbert  W.  Dukes.  The  name  of  Dukes  is  associated 
with  the  settlement  of  the  Choctaw  Nation  from  its 
earliest  occupancy  by  the  tribe,  and  one  of  its  repre- 
sentatives has  achieved  the  distinction  of  the  governorship 
of  the  nation  to  which  he  belongs.  The  multifarious 
affairs  of  the  nation  developed  and  brought  out  the  men 
of  strength,  and  among  them  was  Joseph  Dukes,  the 
founder  of  the  pioneer  family  and  the  father  of  Gilbert 
W.'  Dukes. 

Joseph  Dukes  and  his  family  were  of  the  first  of  the 
Choctaws  to  leave  their  Mississippi  home  in  the  early  ’40s 
and  establish  new  homes  in  the  wild  country  recently 
treated  for  in  the  Red  River  country  of  the  Far  West. 
He  settled  near  Fort  Towson  and  there  became  a man  of 
prominence  as  a farmer  and  a minister  of  the  Presby- 
terian Church.  Among  his  children  were  Gilbert  W., 
Charles,  and  Josephine,  who  married  Banjamin  Woods 
and  died  in  the  Choctaw  Nation.  The  father  and  mother 
both  passed  away  near  Fort  Towson,  where  they  are 
buried. 

Gilbert  W.  Dukes  attained  his  majority  in  the  vicinity 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2037 


of  Fort  Towson  and  received  a liberal  education,  joining 
the  Confederate  troops  raised  in  the  Choctaw  Nation  and 
in  after  years  served  his  people  in  many  civic  positions. 
As  sheriff  and  district  judge  his  services  marked  him  as  a 
proper  man  for  the  safe  and  conservative  conduct  of  the 
nation’s  affairs  in  the  executive  chair.  He  was  a mem- 
ber of  the  Progressives,  and  in  the  deliberations  looking 
toward  final  dissolution  of  tribal  relations  and  the  coming 
of  statehood  he  showed  his  friendship  for  the  movement 
and  gave  it  his  support.  He  was  chosen  governor  and 
served  two  years.  Since  the  advent  of  statehood  he  has 
espoused  the  principles  of  the  republican  party.  Governor 
Dukes  was  married  to  Miss  Angelina  Wade,  a daughter  of 
Governor  Wade,  who  also  filled  the  gubernatorial 
chair.  She  died  in  1893,  the  mother  of  Joseph  A.  and 
Henry  Dukes,  of  Garvin,  Oklahoma.  For  his  second  wife 
Governor  Dukes  married  Mrs.  Isabel  Sexton,  and  their 
children  were  Minnie,  L*etta  and  Dee  Dukes. 

Matthew  J.  Kane.  Justice  Kane,  of  the  state 
Supreme  Court,  is  a native  of  the  Empire  State,  born  in 
Niagara  County  on  the  28th  of  November,  1863.  In  1887 
he  graduated  in  law  from  the  Georgetown  University, 
District  of  Columbia,  with  the  regular  degree  of  LL.  B. 
He#  commenced  the  practice  at  Wichita,  Kansas,  in  1888, 
but'  upon  the  opening  of  Oklahoma  to  settlement,  April 
22,  1889,  located  at  Kingfisher.  In  1907  he  served  as  a 
member  of  the  Oklahoma  Constitutional  Convention,  his 
first  term  as  justice  of  the  state  Supreme  Court  com- 
mencing in  September  of  that  year.  He  was  chief  justice 
of  that  body  in  1909-12.  His  present  term  expires  in 
1917.  It  is  needless  to  say  that  he  stands  high  in  his 
profession.  A further  mark  of  his  leadership  was  his 
selection,  in  1904,  as  a delegate  to  the  Universal  Congress 
of  Lawyers  and  Jurists,  held  at  St.  Louis  in  that  year. 

Henry  Franklin  Benson.  While  the  great  metro- 
politan dailies,  with  their  tremendously  long  lists  of 
subscribers,  exert  a great  influence  in  the  country  in 
molding  public  opinion,  it  is  probable  that  their  more 
modest  and  unassuming  brethren  of  the  fourth  estate, 
the  newspapers  of  the  smaller  cities  and  the  country 
districts  actually  come  into  closer  contact  and  are  more 
in  sympathy  with  their  readers.  Many  of  these  latter 
are  edited  by  men  of  journalistic  capacity  and  broad 
knowledge,  whose  opinions  are  frequently  quoted  by  the 
larger  papers  as  indicative  of  the  trend  of  public 
thought  in  their  communities.  An  excellent  representa- 
tive of  this  type  of  alert  and  progressive  newspaper, 
which  has  its  recognized  place  and  an  important  one  in 
the  scheme  of  things,  is  the  Geary  Journal,  published  at 
Geary,  Blaine  County.  The  proprietor  and  editor  of  this 
newspaper,  Henry  Franklin  Benson,  is  still  a young  man, 
but  his  entire  business  career,  -covering  half  of  his  life, 
has  been  passed  as  a journalist,  and  he  has  already 
accomplished  as  much  in  his  chosen  vocation  as  many 
men  attain  after  a lifetime  of  effort. 

Mr.  Benson  was  born  on  a farm  six  miles  east  of 
Marlow,  Oklahoma,  March  6,  1888,  and  is  a son  of 
James  H.  and  Amanda  (Squires)  Benson,  and  belongs  to 
a family  which,  originating  in  England,  was  founded 
in  Colonial  days  in  Massachusetts,  from  whence  its  mem- 
bers moved  to  Mississippi  and  later  to  Texas.  James 
H.  Benson  was  born  in  Burnett  County,  Texas,  in  1855, 
and  was  but  eight  years  of  age  when,  with  his  father, 
James  Benson,  a pioneer  ranchman  of  West  Texas,  he 
was  attacked  by  a band  of  Comanche  Indians,  his  father 
being  killed.  Young  James  H.  was  captured  and  held 
prisoner  for  two  years,  when  the  red  men  were  rounded 
up  and  the  lad’s  release  was  purchased  by  the  United 
States  Government.  He  grew  to  manhood  in  West 


Texas,  where  he  became  a cowboy  during  the  days  of 
the  open  range.  Later  he  was  married  and  with  the 
coming  of  the  agriculturists  he  settled  down  to  farming, 
continuing  to  be  engaged  therein  in  Texas  until  1887! 
In  that  year  he  came  to  Oklahoma  and  settled  east  of 
Marlow,  and  five  years  later  became  a pioneer  in 
Roger  Mills  County,  where  he  homesteaded  160  acres. 
He  resided  there  until  1897  and  then  moved  back  to 
Marlow  and  engaged  in  the  mercantile  business  until 
1902,  when  he  moved  to  Anadarko  at  the  time  of  the 
opening. . He  remained  there  only  two  years,  however, 
after  which  he  came  to  Geary,  where  he  has  since  been 
engaged  in  business  as  a carpenter  and  contractor.  He 
has  erected  a number  of  the  buildings  of  this  city  and 
is  known  as  a skilled  and  reliable  workman,  a business 
man  of  the  soundest  integrity  and  a man  faithful  in  the 
keeping  of  engagements.  He  is  a stanch  democrat,  a 
supporter  of  progressive  and  beneficial  movements,  a 
consistent  member  of  the  Baptist  Church,  and  a valued 
member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  Mr. 
Benson  was  married  in  West  Texas  to  Miss  Amanda 
Squires,  who  was  born  in  -the  Lone  Star  State  in  1864 
and  died  at  Marlow,  Oklahoma,  in  1899.  Of  their 
children,  two  are  living:  Henry  Franklin,  of  this 

review;  and  Roy,  born  in  Roger  Mills  County,  Oklahoma, 
March  16,  1895,  received  a public  school  education  in 
this  state,  began  to  work  at  the  age  of  fourteen  years 
in  connection  with  newspapers,  has  followed  that  voca- 
tion at  various  places  in  Oklahoma,  and  is  now  associate 
editor  of  the  Geary  Journal. 

Henry  Franklin  Benson  attended  the  public  schools  of 
Roger  Mills  County  for  two  years  and  completed  the 
graded  schools  at  Anadarko,  Oklahoma.  This  training 
was  subsequently  supplemented  by  two  years  of  attend- 
ance at  the  Geary  High  School,  and  when  he  was  sixteen 
years  of  age  he  became  an  apprentice  in  the  printing 
plan!  of  the  Geary  Journal.  One  year  later  he  went 
to  Hinton,  Oklahoma,  where  he  entered  the  plant  of  the 
Hinton  Record  and  soon  won  promotion  to  foreman, 
and  later  was  made  editorial  manager,  a position  which 
he  held  until  1910.  In  that  year  he  leased  the  Tuttle 
Standard,  which  he  edited  for  six  months  and  then  spent 
one  year  at  Oklahoma  City,  also  in  the  newspaper  busi- 
ness. Mr.  Benson  then  became  manager  for  W.  B. 
Anthony’s  paper,  the  Marlow  Review,  and  held  that 
position  for  nearly  a year  while  Mr.  Anthony  was  acting 
as  secretary  to  Governor  Haskell.  From  that  time  for- 
ward,  Mr.  Benson  worked  on  various  papers  in  Oklahoma 
urLfil  1912  when  he  came  to  Geary  and  became  associated 
with  E.  E.  Brewer  in  the  founding  of  the  Geary  Booster, 
of  which  he  was  editor  for  1%  years.  With  this  thorough 
training  and  practical  experience,  Mr.  Benson  felt  quali- 
fied to  enter  the  newspaper  field  on  his  own  account,  and 
in  April,  1914,  purchased  the  Geary  Journal,  of  which 
he  has  since  continued  as  the  editor  and  proprietor  The 
Geary  Journal  was  founded  in  1900  and  is  a supporter 
of  the  principles  and  candidates  of  the  democratic  party. 
It  has  an  excellent  subscription  list  in  Blaine  and  the 
surrounding  counties,  and  also  has  a number  of  sub- 
scribers outside  of  the  state,  while  its  prestige  as  an 
advertising  medium  has  brought  business  of  that  charac- 
ter in  constantly  increasing  volumes.  The  well  equipped 
plant  and  offices  are  located  on  South  Broadway.  Mr. 
Benson  is  a supporter  of  good  government,  of  progressive 
municipal  measures  and  of  the  advancement  of  morality, 
religion  and  education,  while  his  good  citizenship  has 
been  displayed  on  numerous  occasions.  He  is  a demo- 
crat in  his  political  views  and  is  at  present  deputy  court 
clerk  of  the  Geary  Division  of  the  County  Court. 

In  1910  Mr.  Benson  was  married  in  Oklahoma  City  to 


2038 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Miss  Grace  Miller,  daughter  of  F.  W.  Miller,  a merchant 
of  Hinton,  Oklahoma.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Benson  have  two 
children : Thelma,  born  November  20,  1910 ; and  Frank, 

Jr.,  born  August  31,  1912. 

Wilhelm  Walter  Moore.  As  an  educator  and  min- 
ister of  the  Christian  gospel  Wilhelm  Walter  Moore  has 
become  well  known  in  several  communities  of  Oklahoma. 
He  is  now  giving  his  entire  time  and  attention  to  educa- 
tional work  and  is  principal  of  the  Barnard  School  at 
Tecumseh. 

Not  yet  thirty  years  of  age,  Professor  Moore  has  laid 
the  foundation  of  a career  of  great  usefulness  and  is 
properly  regarded  as  one  of  the  able  educators  of  the  new 
State  of  Oklahoma.  He  was  born  at  Casey,  Illinois,  July 
27,  1888.  His  parents  were  Walter  T.  and  Mary  M. 
(Letner)  Moore,  both  of  whom  were  born  in  Illinois. 
The  paternal  great-grandfather  Moore  emigrated  from 
Dublin,  Ireland,  in  the  early  part  of  the  nineteenth 
century  and  for  a number  of  years  was  a slave-holding 
planter  in  the  South.  Grandfather  Thomas  Moore  took 
up  the  profession  of  law  and  died  at  Charleston,  Illinois, 
in  1858.  Walter  T.  Moore,  who  was  born  in  1853,  now 
resides  at  Marshall,  Illinois.  He  began  his  career  as  a 
Baptist  minister  and  preached  in  various  towns  in  Illi- 
nois, and  for  three  years  lived  at  Geary,  Oklahoma,  where 
he  also  had  charge  of  the  Baptist  Church.  Just  before 
leaving  Geary  he  joined  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Con- 
ference, and  has  since  been  a regular  minister  of  that 
denomination.  With  the  exception  of  the  three  years 
spent  in  Geary,  Oklahoma,  he  has  lived  practically  all 
his  life  in  Illinois.  He  is  a democrat  and  a member 
of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  His  wife, 
Mary  Letner,  is  the  daughter  of  Louis  Letner.  The 
latter  was  born  in  1818,  has  followed  a career  of  farm- 
ing, and  is  still  living  in  Illinois  only  a few  years  short 
of  a century.  Louis  Letner ’s  father  came  from  Germany 
and  settled  in  Tennessee.  Professor  Moore  was  the 
youngest  of  three  children.  His  sister  Ella  married  Ed 
Marshall,  a farmer  living  at  Pawnee,  Illinois.  His  only 
brother  is  L.  Clarence,  who  finished  his  education  in 
Shurtleff  College  at  Albany,  Illinois,  leaving  that  insti- 
tution in  1906,  and  is  now  pastor  of  the  Central  Christian 
Church  at  Waterloo,  Iowa. 

Wilhelm  W.  Moore  in  the  winter  of  the  year  in  which 
he  was  born  went  with  his  parents  from  Casey,  Illinois, 
to  Oakland  in  that  state.  He  gained  his  early  education 
in  the  public  schools  there,  attended  the  preparatory 
department  of  old  Shurtleff  College  at  Albany,  finishing 
in  1902,  and  then  entered  the  regular  collegiate  depart- 
ment, where  he  remained  lacking  one  term  for  the  full 
four  years’  course,  leaving  school  in  1906. 

On  leaving  college  his  first  employment  was  as  pas- 
senger conductor  on  the  I.  T.  S.  Railroad,  with  home 
at  Springfield.  In  that  practical  work  he  spent  about 
two  years.  He  then  entered  the  ministry,  as  a member 
of  the  Illinois  Conference  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church,  and  after  having  charge  of  the  church  at 
DeWitt,  Illinois,  for  a time  he  was  called  to  Stillwater, 
Oklahoma.  In  addition  to  preaching  he  also  taught  high 
school  work.  After  six  months  at  Stillwater  he  was 
transferred  to  Jet,  Oklahoma,  for  a year  and  then 
joined  the  Christian  Church.  In  1913  Mr.  Moore  taught 
in  the  McLoud,  Oklahoma,  High  School  and  at  the  same 
time  filled  the  pulpit  of  the  Christian  Church  at  McLoud 
and  Tecumseh,  keeping  his  home  in  McLoud. 

In  June,  1914,  Mr.  Moore  came  to  Tecumseh  and  has 
since  been  the  capable  man  in  charge  as  principal  of  the 
Barnard  School.  He  has  under  his  supervision  ten  teach- 
ers and  a regular  enrollment  of  520  pupils.  In  June, 
1916,  he  was  granted  the  degree  A.  B.  from  the  Teachers 


Professional  College  of  Austin,  Texas.  In  politics  Pro- 
fessor Moore  is  a democrat. 

On  May  11,  1914,  at  Tecumseh,  he  married  Miss  Edith 
Fisbaugh.  Her  father,  A.  B.  Fisbaugh,  is  a merchant 
at  Jet,  Oklahoma.  Mrs.  Moore  was  educated  in  the 
public  schools,  finishing  the  sophomore  year  in  the 
Christian  University  at  Enid,  Oklahoma. 

Frank  R.  Buchanan,  M.  D.  Among  the  younger 
members  of  the  medical  profession  in  Oklahoma, 
Dr.  Frank  R.  Buchanan  of  Canton  has  the  ability  and 
skill  which  are  guarantees  of  a permanent  success,  and 
has  already  gained  a good  practice  in  and  about  his 
home  town  in  Blaine  County. 

The  Buchanan  family  to  which  he  belongs  originated 
in  Scotland  and  in  colonial  times  was  planted  in  the 
Province  of  Pennsylvania.  Doctor  Buchanan’s  grand- 
parents, T.  J.  and  Harriet  Buchanan,  were  both  born  in 
the  East.  His  grandfather,  T.  J.  Buchanan,  was  born 
in  Pennsylvania  in  1829,  was  an  early  settler  and  farmer 
at  Windsor,  Missouri,  where  his  wife  died,  and  he 
afterwards  moved  to  Kansas  and  in  1894  was  one  of  the 
pioneers  to  settle  in  the  vicinity  of  Thomas,  where  he 
homesteaded  a claim  of  one  hundred  sixty  acres.  He  is 
now  living  retired  at  the  age  of  eighty-six  in  Thomas. 
During  the  Civil  war  he  served  on  the  Union  side. 

T.  J.  Buchanan,  Jr.,  father  of  Doctor  Buchanan,  was 
born  at  Windsor,  Missouri,  in  1865,  and  when  quite  a 
young  man  entered  the  railroad  service  in  the  South- 
west. He  was  married  at  Albuquerque,  New  Mexico,  to 
Miss  Martha  Jane  Hughes,  who  was  born  in  Georgia  in 
1867.  After  that  he  followed  railroading  for  a num- 
ber of  years,  with  home  at  Gallup,  New  Mexico,  but  in 
1896  came  to  Thomas,  Oklahoma,  and  buying  a farm  of 
160  acres  a quarter  of  a mile  northwest  of  the  town, 
developed  his  land  and  has  since  been  one  of  the  pros- 
perous men  engaged  in  diversified  agriculture  in  this 
section.  He  is  a member  and  trustee  of  the  United 
Brethren  Church,  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Brotherhood 
of  American  Yeomen.  He  and  his  wife  are  the  parents 
of  eight  children:  Harriet  Nuel,  wife  of  William  C. 
Dodd,  who  is  in  the  insurance  business  at  Thomas, 
Oklahoma;  James  H.,  a railroad  foreman  at  Bloomington, 
Illinois ; Dr.  Frank  R. ; Hazel  Winona,  a senior  in  the 
Thomas  High  School;  Hobart  Lawrence,  in  the  freshman 
class  of  the  Thomas  High  School;  Lewis  Edward  and 
Wilhelmina,  both  students  in  the  public  schools;  and 
Amy  Oneta. 

It  was  during  the  residence  of  his  parents  at  Gallup, 
New  Mexico,  that  Dr.  Frank  R.  Buchanan  was  born, 
June  30,  1892.  However,  most  of  his  life  has  been 
spent  in  Oklahoma,  and  he  has  been  a witness  to  many 
transformations  in  the  central  part  of  the  state.  He 
attended  public  school  at  Thomas,  but  left  high  school 
before  graduating,  and  in  1910  entered  the  University 
of  Arkansas  to  take  up  the  study  of  medicine.  In  1911 
he  was  granted  a high  school  diploma  before  the  Indiana 
State  Board  of  Registration.  After  two  years  in  the 
University  of  Arkansas  he  finished  his  education  by  two 
years  in  the  College  of  Medicine  and  Surgery  of  Val- 
paraiso University,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with 
the  degree  M.  D.  in  the  class  of  1914. 

Doctor  Buchanan  took  up  active  practice  at  Thomas 
on  June  1,  1914,  in  association  with  Dr.  T.  B.  Hinson. 
While  there  he  helped  to  establish  the  Thomas  Hospital, 
and  owned  a half  interest  in  that  institution.  A year 
later,  on  June  1,  1915,  he  removed  to  Canton,  and  has 
since  conducted  a general  practice,  though  specializing 
largely  in  surgery.  His  offices  are  over  the  Bank  of 
Canton. 

He  is  a member  of  the  state  and  county  medical  so- 
cieties and  the  West  Central  Medical  Society,  is  a 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2039 


republican  in  polities,  and  is  affiliated  with  Thomas 
Lodge  No.  265,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and 
Thomas  Chapter  No.  53,  Royal  Arch  Masons. 

On  September  10,  1914,  at  Osakis,  Minnesota,  Doctor 
Buchanan  married  Miss  Carrie  Hesse,  daughter  of  the 
late  George  Hesse,  who  was  a miller.  They  have  one 
child,  Hubert  Ruel. 

Oren  V.  Dillon.  Since  1903  the  cashier  of  the  First 
National  Bank  of  Geary,  Oren  V.  Dillon  has  become  well 
known  in  banking  circles  of  Blaine  County  as  a thor- 
oughly capable  and  energetic  business  man  and  financier. 
Mr.  Dillon,  whose  entire  career  has  been  passed  in  the 
banking  business,  was  born  at  Scotttown,  Ohio,  Novem- 
ber 19,  1883,  and  is  a son  of  John  H.  and  Josie  (Mount) 
Dillon,  natives  of  Lawrence  County,  Ohio. 

Vincent  Dillon,  the  great-grandfather  of  Oren  V.  Dillon, 
was  born  in  Ireland  and  was  brought  to  the  United  States 
when  five  years  old  by  his  parents,  the  family  settling  in 
Pennsylvania.  He  grew  up  in  that  state  and  became  a 
pioneer  homesteader  in  Ohio,  from  whence  he  drove  large 
herds  of  cattle  and  hogs  to  New  York  and  Boston,  via 
Pittsburgh.  His  entire  career  was  passed  as  a farmer 
and  stockman  and,  his  death  occurred  in  Lawrence 
County.  Henry  Dillon,  the  grandfather  of  Oren  V. 
Dillon,  was  born  in  Pennsylvania  in  1832  and  as  a lad  was 
taken  to  Noble  County/  Ohio,  and  later  to  Lawrence 
County,  where  he  grew  up  amid  pioneer  surroundings. 
Following  in  the  footsteps  of  his  father,  he  engaged  in 
farming  and  the  raising  of  live  stock,  and  through  in- 
dustry, energy  and  good  management  became  one  of  the 
substantial  men  of  Lawrence  County,  where  he  died  in 
1896.  He  was  married  there  to  Miss  Jane  Reed,  who  was 
born  in  1837,  in  Noble  County,  Ohio,  and  she  survives 
him  and  resides  on  the  old  family  homestead.  Mr.  Dillon 
was  a republican  in  politics  and  a consistent  member  of 
the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  to  which  the  grandmother 
still  belongs.  They  were  the  parents  of  four  children, 
namely : Mary,  who  married  L.  O.  Enochs,  and  resides  on 
the  old  homestead  with  her  mother;  John  H. ; Rose,  who 
is  the  wife  of  John  Ellsworth,  the  owner  of  a telephone 
exchange  at  Kenefic,  Oklahoma;  and  Grant,  who  died 
at  the  age  of  nine  years. 

John  H.  Dillon  was  born  in  Lawrence  County,  June  12, 
1859,  and  attended  the  public  schools  there  as  well  as 
the  normal  school  located  at  Lebanon,  Ohio.  Leaving 
school  at  the  age  of  eighteen  years,  he  continued  to  work 
on  his  father’s  farm  until  attaining  his  majority  at  which 
time  he  entered  the  general  merchandise  business  at  Scott- 
town, Ohio,  and  continued  therein  until  1886.  In  that 
year  Mr.  Dillon  went  to  Colorado  as  manager  for  the 
Southern  Colorado  Townsite  Company,  a project  in  which 
he  was  interested  for  three  years,  and  in  1889  came  to 
Oklahoma  and  took  up  his  residence  at  Kingfisher,  where 
he  was  located  during  the  opening  of  the  Cheyenne- Arap- 
aho  Reservation.  In  1892  he  received  the  appointment 
as  postmaster  of  Watonga,  Oklahoma,  and  served  in  that 
capacity  until  March,  1893,  when  he  was  elected  county 
treasurer  of  Blaine  County,  and  served  two  terms,  or  four 
years,  during  which  time  he  established  an  excellent 
record  for  faithful  and  efficient  public  performance  of 
duty.  In  1898  Mr.  Dillon  resigned  his  office  and  ac- 
cepted the  position  of  cashier  of  the  First  State  Bank  of 
Geary,  of  which  he  was  one  of  the  organizers,  and  in 
1902  became  president  of  the  institution,  a position 
which  he  has  retained  to  the  present  time,  the  bank 

I having  received  its  national  charter  in  1904  and  now 
being  known  as  the  First  National  Bank  of  Geary.  Mr. 
Dillon  has  invested  heavily  in  realty,  owning  farms  in 
Blaine  and  Canadian  counties,  on  which  he  carries  on, 
through  tenants,  diversified  farming  and  stock  raising. 


He  owns  also  business  houses  at  Geary  and  residential 
properties,  as  well  as  his  own  handsome  modern  residence, 
situated  in  the  southwest  part  of  the  town.  Mr.  Dillon 
belongs  to  the  Oklahoma  State  Bankers  Association.  He 
is  a stalwart  republican  and  is  fraternally  affiliated  with 
Geary  Lodge  No.  138,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows, 
and  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks  at  El 
Reno. 

In  1882,  in  Lawrence  County,  Ohio,  Mr.  Dillon  was 
united  in  marriage  with  Miss  Josie  Mount,  daughter  of 
the  late  Sam  Mount,  who  was  a mechanic,  and  to  this 
union  there  have  been  born  six  children : Oren  V. ; Mary, 
who  is  the  wife  of  W.  M.  Gamble,  of  Oklahoma  City,  a 
traveling  salesman  for  the  Loose- Wiles  Company,  con- 
fectioners ; Merrill,  Mary ’s  twin  brother,  who  is  a banker 
of  Earlsboro,  Oklahoma;  Jack,  who  is  an  employe  of  the 
First  National  Bank  of  Geary;  Miss  Agnes,  who  resides 
with  her  parents;  and  Hobart,  who  is  a freshman  in  the 
agricultural  and  mechanical  college,  at  Stillwater,  Okla- 
homa. 

Oren  V.  Dillon  received  his  education  in  the  public 
schools  of  Kingfisher,  Oklahoma,  but  at  the  age  of  seven- 
teen years  put  aside  his  studies  to  begin  to  secure 
practical  experience  in  banking,  a career  in  which  he 
had  decided  to  engage.  For  two  years  he  was  con- 
nected with  the  Bank  of  Sayre,  Oklahoma,  in  the  capac- 
ity of  cashier,  and  with  this  preparation  came  to  Geary 
in  1903  as  cashier  of  the  Bank  of  Geary,  which  in  the 
following  year  was  nationalized.  The  bank  occupies  a 
structure  on  Main  Street,  corner  of  Broadway,  which 
was  built  in  1898  for  bank  and  office  purposes,  and  the 
present  officials  of  the  institution  are:  John  H.  Dillon, 
president;  Willard  Johnston,  vice  president;  Oren  V. 
Dillon,  cashier,  and  L.  E.  Troxel,  assistant  cashier.  The 
capital  of  the  First  National  Bank  is  $25,000,  with  a sur- 
plus of  $5,000,  and  its  depositors  come  from  Blaine  and 
the  surrounding  counties.  It  bears  an  excellent  reputa- 
tion in  banking  circles  as  a sound  and  conservative  con- 
cern, ably  and  prudently  managed. 

Mr.  Dillon  is  a republican,  but  has  not  been  attracted 
by  public  life.  He  is  well  known  in  Masonic  circles, 
belonging  to  Geary  Lodge  No.  139,  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons;  Peaceful  Valley  Chapter  No.  59,  Royal 
Arch  Masons;  Valley  of  Guthrie  Consistory  (thirty-sec- 
ond degree),  No.  1,  Royal  and  Select  Masters,  and  India 
Temple,  Ancient  Arabic  Order  Nobles  of  the  Mystic 
Shrine,  of  Oklahoma  City.  Mr.  Dillon  is  unmarried. 

Charles  Evans,  B.  S.,  M.  A.,  LL.  D.  There  can  be 
no  conjecture  or  other  uncertainty  in  determining  the 
value  of  the  services  of  Doctor  Evans  in  the  domain  of 
practical  pedagogy,  and  to  few  of  his  age  has  it  been 
given  to  wield  larger  or  more  benignant  influence  as 
an  educator  of  high  scholastic  attainments  and  as  a 
broad-minded  and  progressive  executive.  He  has  served 
since  1911  as  president  of  the  Oklahoma  Central  State 
Normal  School,  at  Edmond,  and  prior  to  coming  to 
Oklahoma  he  had  attained  to  high  reputation  in  educa- 
tional circles  in  Kentucky,  his  earnest  and  effective 
services  having  given  him  in  his  chosen  profession  a 
reputation  that,  in  fact,  transcends  all  limitations  of 
merely  local  order.  Oklahoma  is  signally  favored  in 
having  enlisted  his  co-operation  and  vital  enthusiasm 
in  carrying  forward  the  work  of  popular  education 
within  her  borders,  and  he  is  specially  entitled  to 
definite  recognition  in  this  publication,  that  at  least  a 
brief  record  of  his  service  may  be  perpetuated  in  the 
history  of  this  favored  and  vigorous  young  common- 
wealth. 

Apropos  of  the  work  of  Doctor  Evans  since  assuming 
his  present  official  position,  there  is  consistency  in 


2040 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


offering  in  a preliminary  way  a few  statements  concern- 
ing the  admirable  state  institution  of  which  he  is  the 
executive  head,  and  thus  the  following  quotations  are 
germane : 

“Certain  facts  pertinent  to  the  growth  of  the  Central 
State  Normal  School  during  the  four  years  that  Presi- 
dent Evans  has  been  at  its  head  are  illustrative  of  the 
ability  of  the  man  as  an  educator  and  executive.  By  a 
unanimous  vote  of  the  State  Board  of  Education  he  was 
called  from  the  superintendency  of  the  city  schools  of 
Ardmore,  Carter  county,  to  the  presidency  of  the  normal 
school  at  a time  when  the  work  of  this  important  state 
institution  was  lagging  and  inadequate  and  when  its 
spirit  was  at  low  ebb.  The  problem  of  conducting  suc- 
cessfully a state  normal  school  was  to  be  solved  in  the 
new  commonwealth,  and  Dr.  Evans  fortunately  was 
the  one  called  upon  to  make  the  solution, — a task  that 
demanded  vigorous  policies,  marked  initiative  and 
administrative  ability,  great  circumspection,  and  no 
little  constructive  talent.  He  proved  equal  to  all 
demands  thus  placed  upon  him  and  the  results  that  he 
has  achieved  justify  the  application  of  the  scriptural 
aphorism  that  ‘ By  their  fruits  ye  shall  know  them.  ’ On 
the  1st  of  July,  1911,  when  Dr.  Evans  assumed  charge 
of  the  Central  Normal  School  its  best  enrollment  record 
had  been  1,154;  the  latest  attendance  figures  are  2,981. 
The  graduating  class  of  the  preceding  year  comprised 
only  eighteen  members;  the  graduating  class  of  1916 
comprised  211  members.  In  1911  the  normal  college 
department  had  an  enrollment  of  sixty  students;  that 
department  in  1916  had  an  enrollment  of  1,210  students. 
Appropriation  for  the  maintenance  of  the  institution  in 
1911  was  $52,500;  the  state  appropriation  for  1915, 
showing  legislative  appreciation  of  the  work  accomplished 
under  the  regime  of  President  Evans,  was  $222,000. 
Within  the  four  years  an  additional  building  for  the 
schools  has  been  erected  and  placed  in  commission.  All 
of  these  statements  are  significant  and  bear  their  own 
lessons  of  incentive  and  inspiration.” 

In  February,  1916,  the  trustees  of  Henry  Kendall 
College,  of  Tulsa,  Oklahoma,  unanimously  elected  Doctor 
Evans  to  the  presidency,  carrying  with  it  a tenure  of 
five  years  and  a salary  of  $5,000  a year.  He  accepted, 
and  though  urged  by  the  State  Board  of  Education  and 
a great  student  body  to  remain  with  Central  State 
Normal,  he  chose  to  serve,  as  he  said,  not  only  the 
schools,  but  school  and  church. 

At  Salem,  Livingston  County,  Kentucky,  Charles 
Evans  was  born  on  the  16th  of  August,  1870,  and  he  is 
a son  of  Enoch  E.  and  Frances  E.  (Dawson)  Evans. 
His  father  was  a village  blacksmith  at  Salem,  a man 
of  strong  individuality  and  sterling  integrity,  and  a 
representative  of  an  honored  pioneer  family  of  Ten- 
nessee. Enoch  E.  Evans  was  born  in  Montgomery 
County,  Tennessee,  where  his  father  had  served  with 
efficiency  as  an  early-day  schoolmaster.  The  lineage  of 
the  Evans  family,  as  the  name  indicates,  traces  back 
to  Welsh  origin,  and  that  the  American  branch  was 
founded  in  the  Colonial  era  of  our  national  history  is 
evidenced  by  the  fact  that  representatives  of  the  name 
were  found  as  valiant  soldiers  of  the  Continental  Line 
in  the  war  of  the  Revolution. 

The  preliminary  educational  discipline  of  Dr.  Charles 
Evans  was  obtained  in  the  village  schools  of ' his  native 
county,  and  thereafter  he  attended  the  literary  or 
academic  department  of  the  University  of  Kentucky 
until  the  close  of  his  junior  year.  In  1891  he  was 
graduated  in  the  National  Normal  University,  at 
Lebanon,  Ohio,  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Science, 
and  from  that  time  forward  to  the  present  has  con- 
tinued his  services  as  an  able  and  honored  exponent  of 
the  pedagogic  profession. 


Doctor  Evans’  initial  experience  as  a teacher  was 
gained  in  his  native  Village  of  Salem,  and  for  twelve 
years  thereafter  he  was  superintendent  of  the  city 
schools  of  Marion,  the  judicial  center  of  Crittenden 
County,  Kentucky.  Within  this  perior  of  service  he 
gained  clear  comprehension  of  the  scope  and  details 
and  the  practical  possibilities  of  the  educational  system 
that  later  became  popular  throughout  the  different 
states  of  the  Union  in  the  centralizing  of  school  work  in 
rural  and  semi-rural  communities.  He  devised  plans 
and  methods  through  which  he  developed  with  marked 
success  this  community-center  policy  of  educational  work 
at  Marion,  to  which  place  students  were  drawn  from  a 
wide  radius  of  country,  owing  to  the  superior  advantages 
thus  possible  of  being  afforded.  Doctor  Evans  became 
known  as  one  of  the  most  successful  pioneers  of  this 
admirable  movement  in  the  United  States,  and  as  his 
work  became  known  he  was  frequently  called  upon  for 
advice  on  the  part  of  educators  in  Kentucky  and  other 
states.  Year  after  year  the  Marion  Board  of  Education 
re-elected  him  to  the  office  of  superintendent  of  schools, 
and  when  he  finally  announced  his  intention  of  removing 
to  the  West  the  board  not  only  earnestly  besought  him 
to  remain  but  also  tendered  to  him  a life  tenure  of  the 
superintendeney  and  a definite  pension  at  the  time 
when  he  became  too  old  for  further  active  service. 
Gratifying  as  were  these  overtures  and  deeply  as  he 
appreciated  the  same,  Doctor  Evans  felt  it  expedient 
to  adhere  to  his  decision,  and  his  field  of  labor  in 
Oklahoma  has  given  him  such  wide  scope  for  achieve- 
ment that  he  has  found  no  cause  to  regret  his  decision. 
He  became  known  as  one  of  the  most  progressive  and 
popular  educators  in  his  native  State  of  Kentucky  and 
was  the  first  to  serve  throughout  all  sections  of  that 
commonwealth  as  an  instructor  in  teachers’  institutes, 
the  while  he  was  a most  active  and  valued  member  of 
the  Kentucky  Teachers’  Association,  in  the  affairs  and 
activities  of  which  he  was  specially  influential. 

In  1905  Doctor  Evans  was  elected  superintendent  of 
the  public  schools  of  the  City  of  Ardmore,  Oklahoma, 
at  a salary  of  $1,200  a year,  and  the  estimate  placed 
upon  his  services  is  shown  when  it  is  stated  that  his 
salary  at  the  time  of  his  resignation,  after  a regime 
of  six  years,  was  $2,500,  the  greater  part  of  this  marked 
advancement  in  recompense  having  been  made  within  a 
period  of  three  years  after  he  had  assumed  the  superin- 
tendency. His  splendid  record  in  this  incumbency 
marked  him  as  a leader  in  educational  circles  of  Okla- 
homa after  the  state  was  admitted  to  the  Union  and 
finally  resulted  in  his  election  to  the  presidency  of  the 
Central  State  Normal  School,  in  1911,  as  previously 
noted  in  this  context.  In  1908  Doctor  Evans  was  presi- 
dent of  the  Chickasaw  Teachers’  Association,  an  organ- 
ization that  had  previously  been  formed  in  the  Chickasaw 
Nation  of  the  Indian  Territory,  and  he  has  served  also 
as  president  of  the  Oklahoma  State  Teachers’  Associa- 
tion, as  well  as  vice  president  of  the  National  Educa- 
tional Association.  Not  only  in  a direct  and  executive 
way  has  Doctor  Evans  been  prominent  in  educational 
affairs,  but  he  has  also  been  the  author  of  three  valuable 
textbooks.  In  conjunction  with  Charles  O.  Bunn,  of 
Oklahoma  City,  he  prepared  the  work  entitled  “Okla- 
homa Civics,”  a textbook  that  has  been  adopted  for 
general  use  in  the  public  schools  of  the  state  and  that 
has  been  thus  employed  since  1910.  Doctor  Evans  is 
the  author  also  of  a work  entitled  “Oklahoma  Civics  - 
and  History ; ’ ’ and  another  entitled  ‘ ‘ Growing  a Life,  ’ ’ 
this  being  a treatise  on  pedagogy  and  psychology  and 
one  that  has  been  adopted  as  a textbook  in  five  dif- 
ferent states  of  the  Union,  including  his  native  State 
of  Kentucky.  In  1913,  in  recognition  of  his  eminent 
services  in  his  chosen  profession  and  his  high  intel- 


1 

o 

C 

o: 

o: 

ft 

it 


tt 

i 

sis 

of 

be 

A 

of 

brc 

res 

set- 

and 

p» 

jj 

mar 
datt 
and 
a w 
ing 

W»l 

abili 
pain 
Port 
Boot 
child 
in  l: 
born 
depa: 
of  b| 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2041 


lectual  attainments,  the  University  of  Kentucky  con- 
ferred upon  him  the  honorary  degree  of  Doctor  of  Laws. 
‘ ‘ He  who  serves  is  royal,  ’ ’ and  such  mark  of  distinction 
signally  applies  to  him  whose  life  has  been  thus  conse- 
crated to  high  ideals  and  that  has  shown  such  large  and 
worthy  achievement  as  that  of  Doctor  Evans,  whose 
circle  of  friends  and  admirers  is  coincident  with  that 
of  his  acquaintances.  Concerning  him  the  following 
pertinent  statements  have  been  written  and  are  worthy 
of  perpetuation: 

“As  an  educator  Dr.  Evans  has  emphasized  the  idea 
of  usefulness, — in  other  words,  he  advocates  and  teaches 
that  education  should  be  vital  and  productive,  an  edu- 
cation that  walks  and  talks  and  makes  itself  a factor 
in  human  activities.  His  practical  exploiting  of  this 
idea  gave  birth  to  well  matured  plans  for  enhancing 
the  civic  and  material  attractiveness  of  Edmond,  the 
seat  of  the  Central  Normal  School,  and  the  result  is  that 
the  place  has  been  reclaimed  from  a somewhat 
straggling  and  unkempt  village  into  a modern  little  city 
of  manifold  attractions  and  great  civic  pride.  As  a 
member  of  the  pedagogic  profession  Dr.  Evans  is  one 
of  its  most  forceful,  well  informed  and  pleasing  public 
speakers  in  Oklahoma,  and  there  is  almost  constant 
demand  for  his  acceptance  of  engagements  to  address 
various  representative  associations  of  both  public  and 
private  order.  He  is  deeply  interested  in  the  work  of 
the  Young  Men’s  Christian  Association,  is  state  com- 
mitteeman from  Oklahoma  in  the  national  organization, 
and  both  he  and  his  wife  are  zealous  and  devoted  mem- 
bers of  the  Presbyterian  church.” 

In  addition  to  his  identification  with  Oklahoma  State 
Teachers’  Association  and  the  National  Educational 
Association,  Doctor  Evans  holds  membership  in  the 
North  Central  Council  of  Presidents  of  Normal  Schools 
of  the  United  States.  He  is  president  of  the  State 
Civie  Association  of  Oklahoma,  having  aided  in  its 
organization  and  having  from  the  beginning  been  one 
of  its  most  active  and  enthusiastic  workers.  In  the 
furtherance  of  civie  beauty  he  is  especially  interested 
in  promoting  the  cultivation  of  flowers,  and  his  favorite 
in  the  floral  kingdom  is  the  chrysanthemum. 

At  Ardmore,  this  state,  Doctor  Evans  is  affiliated  with 
the  lodge  of  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  in 
this  time-honored  fraternity  he  has  received,  in  the  con- 
sistory at  McAlester,  Oklahoma,  the  thirty-second  degree 
of  the  Ancient  Accepted  Scottish  Eite,  besides  which 
he  is  affiliated  with  Ardmore  Lodge,  Benevolent  and 
Protective  Order  of  Elks,  and  with  a lodge  of  Knights 
of  Pythias  at  Marion,  Kentucky.  Doctor  Evans  has  one 
brother  and  one  sister, — Judge  Thomas  Evans,  who  is  a 
resident  of  the  City  of  Paducah,  Kentucky,  and  who 
served  twelve  years  on  the  bench  of  the  County  Court; 
and  Dora,  who  is  the  wife  of  James  A.  Sherrill,  a pros- 
perous jewelery  merchant  at  Stephansville,  Texas. 

At  Marion,  Kentucky,  in  1897,  was  solemnized  the 
marriage  of  Doctor  Evans  to  Miss  Martha  Blue, 
daughter  of  Judge  John  W.  Blue,  a representative  lawyer 
and  jurist  of  the  old  Blue  Grass  State.  Mrs.  Evans  is 

woman  of  culture  and  gracious  personality,  represent- 
ing the  best  of  the  gentle  traditions  concerning  the 
women  of  her  native  state,  and  she  has  exceptional 
ability  as  an  artist,  her  exhibits  of  drawing  and  china 
painting  having  been  awarded  prizes  at  the  Louisiana 
Purchase  Exposition,  held  in  the  City  of  St.  Louis. 
Doctor  and  Mrs.  Evans  became  the  parents  of  two 
children,  Charles  and  Edward,  the  latter  of  whom  died 
in  1912,  at  the  age  of  eight  years.  Charles,  who  was 
born  in  1902,  is  now  (1915)  a student  in  the  high  school 
department  of  the  Central  Normal  School  of  Oklahoma, 
of  which  his  father  is  president. 


Edd  Pitch  Milligan,  M.  D.  No  physician  of  Blaine 
County  has  a better  record  for  straightforward  and  high 
professional  conduct,  or  for  success  gained  through  per- 
sonal merit  and  effort,  than  has  Dr.  Edd  Pitch  Milligan, 
who  since  1908  has  been  engaged  in  practice  at  Geary. 
Like  a number  of  other  prominent  professional  men  of 
West  Oklahoma,  he  is  a native  of  the  Buckeye  State,  born 
at  Youngstown,  October  11,  1875,  a son  of  William  John 
and  Martha  (Brownlee)  Milligan. 

The  Milligan  family  was  founded  in  the  United  States 
by  William  Milligan,  a native  of  Ireland,  who  came  from 
County  Tyrone  and  settled  in  Ohio,  being  married  at  Can- 
field,  where  he  subsequently  enjoyed  a long  career  as  a 
successful  attorney  and  died  in  advanced  years  before 
the  birth  of  Doctor  Milligan.  On  his  grandmother ’s  side, 
Doctor  Milligan  is  related  to  the  Professor  McGuffey 
who  was  the  author  of  the  old  McGuffey  speller  and 
reader  so  widely  used  in  our  schools  several  generations 
back.  William  John  Milligan,  father  of  Doctor  Milligan, 
was  born  at  Canfield,  Ohio,  in  1830,  and  as  a'  young 
man  removed  to  Youngstown,  Ohio,  where  he  passed  the 
rest  of  his  life  as  a stone  contractor  and  died  in  1907. 
He  was  a democrat,  although  not  a politician,  and  was 
a member  of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  to  which  Mrs.  Mil- 
ligan still  belongs.  She  was  born  at  Youngstown,  Ohio, 
in  1840,  and  still  makes  her  home  there.  There  were 
eight  children  in  the  family  as  follows:  N.  R.,  who 
is  a contractor  and  his  father ’s  successor  in  the  business 
at  Youngstown;  W.  R.,  who  is  a ranchman  and  resides  at 
Denver,  Colorado;  McGuffey,  who  died  at  Youngstown, 
Ohio,  at  the  age  of  forty  years ; Ada,  who  is  the  wife  of 
O.  E.  Forsdick,  a carpenter  and  builder  at  Cleveland, 
Ohio;  J.  T.,  who  is  a ranchman  of  Como,  Colorado;  Dr. 
Edd  Pitch;  Betsey  B.,  who  resides  with  her  mother  at  the 
old  home  at  Youngstown;  and  J.  R.,  who  is  a con- 
tractor of  that  city. 

Edd  Pitch  Milligan  was  educated  in  the  public  schools 
of  Youngstown,  and  was  graduated  from  the  Reyen  High 
School  in  the  class  of  1894.  Following  this  he  took  a 
preparatory  course  at  the  Poland  Seminary,  being  grad- 
uated in  1897,  and  matriculated  in  Northeastern  Univer- 
sity of  Ohio,  at  Canfield,  where  he  pursued  a course  and 
received  his  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Art  in  1899.  His 
medical  studies  were  prosecuted  in  the  medical  depart- 
ment of  Denver  University,  where  he  was  graduated  in 
1905,  with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine,  and  while 
attending  that  institution  became  a member  of  the  Alpha 
Kappa  Kappa,  a Greek  letter  medical  fraternity,  to 
which  he  still  belongs.  After  receiving  his  degree,  Doctor 
Milligan  served  one  year  as  interne  in  St.  Luke ’s  Hos- 
pital, Denver,  Colorado,  and  in  1906  entered  upon  the 
practice  of  his  calling  at  Quenemo,  Kansas,  where  he  re- 
mained until  coming  to  Geary,  Oklahoma,  October  1, 
1908.  Here  he  has  since  been  successfully  engaged  in  a 
general  medical  and  surgical  practice,  with  offices  on 
Blaine  Avenue.  He  has  acquired  a large  and  lucrative 
patronage  and  enjoys  the  respect  and  confidence  of  all 
classes,  both  at  Geary  and  in  the  surrounding  country, 
where  he  has  numerous  calls  for  his  services.  He  keeps 
fully  abreast  of  the  various  advancements  being  made 
in  the  profession,  and  holds  membership  in  the  organ- 
izations of  his  calling,  thus  keeping  in  close  touch  with 
the  professional  brotherhood.  In  1915  Doctor  Milligan 
completed  his  handsome  new  residence,  in  connection  with 
which  is  his  garage,  where  he  keeps  his  two  new  model 
automobiles.  Doctor  Milligan  is  a republican,  but  has 
not  mixed  in  public  affairs  save  as  an  advocate  of  all 
measures  promoted  for  the  public  welfare.  He  is  a 
member  of  Golden  Rule  Lodge  No.  87,  Knights  of 
Pythias,  Quenemo,  Kansas ; past  noble  grand  of  Quenemo 
Lodge  and  a member  of  Geary  Lodge  No.  138,  Inde- 


2042 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


pendent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  and  is  a thirty-second 
degree,  Scottish  Rite  Mason,  belonging  to  Geary  Lodge 
No"  139  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  of  ■which 
he  is  past  master;  Peaceful  Valley  Chapter  No.  59,  Royal 
Arch  Masons;  Consistory  No.  1,  Topeka,  Kansas ; and 
Indian  Temple,  Ancient  Arabic  Order  of  Nobles  of  the 
Mystic  Shrine,  Oklahoma  City.  With  Mrs.  Milligan  he  at- 
tends the  Presbyterian  Church,  of  which  both  are  mem- 
bers, and  in  which  he  is  now  serving  as  an  elder 

Doctor  Milligan  was  married  September  30,  1J08,  at 
Fort  Scott,  Kansas,  to  Miss  Myrtle  J.  Wright,  of  Eureka, 
Kansas  daughter  of  the  late  Edward  Wright,  who  was  in 
the  insurance  business.  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Milligan  are 
the  parents  of  one  son:  Donald  Edd,  who  was  born 
December  5,  1909. 


Frank  Bence,  M.  D.  One  of  the  early  physicians  and 
surgeons  to  establish  themselves  in  practice  in  Potta- 
watomie and  Cleveland  counties  is  Dr.  Frank  Bence, 
whose  home  is  now  at  Macomb.  Doctor  Bence  is  a prac- 
titioner of  more  than  forty  years  active  experience. 
He  practiced  in  Ohio  and  Indiana  before  coming  to 
Oklahoma,  and  at  this  date  he  is  widely  recognized 
for  his  ability  and  for  his  many  associations  with 
the  profession  and  with  public  affairs. 

He  was  born  in  Ashland  County,  Ohio,  March  19, 
1852  His  father,  William  Bence,  was  drowned  at  sea 
soon  after  the  birth  of  Doctor  Bence  and  the  mother 
had  passed  away  a short  time  before.  Doctor  Bence 
grew  up  in  the  home  of  his  maternal  grandfather, 
Shriner,  who  was  a native  of  Pennsylvania,  m which 
state  he  was  reared  and  married,  and  was  an  early  set- 
tler in  Ashland  County,  Ohio.  Peter  Shriner  was_  also 
a physician,  and' combined  that  profession  with  farm- 
ing. He  had  seen  active  service  as  a soldier  in  the 
Mexican  war.  From  Ohio  he  moved  to  Indiana.  At  his 
death  he  was,  it  is  said,  one  hundred  fifteen  years  of  age. 
He  reared  seventeen  children  to  manhood  and  woman- 


noou.  _ _ . , 

In  the  home  of  his  grandfather  Doctor  Bence  acquired 
his  early  training  in  Ashland  County,  Ohio.  He  studied 
medicine  under  his  grandfather,  and  took  his  first  case 
when  only  seventeen  years  of  age.  Some  years  later  he 
entered  the  Physicians  and  Surgeons  College  in  Chi- 
cago, from  which  he  was  graduated  M.  D.  in  June, 
1889.  His  home  and  work  as  a physician  were  in  Ash- 
land County,  Ohio,  until  1890,  in  which  year  he  removed 
to  Talbott,  Indiana.  From  there  in  1897  he  came  to 
Oklahoma  City,  remained  there  about  a year,  and  then 
went  into  Cleveland  County,  and  has  since  been  a prom- 
inent member  of  the  medical  fraternity  in  that  and  in 
Pottawatomie  County  with  the  exception  of  eighteen 
months  spent  at  Rosedale,  in  McClain  County. 

Doctor  Bence  first  located  at  Eteuwah  in  1903,  but 
from  there  a few  months  later  moved  to  Tribbey  and 
Old  Burnett.  In  April,  1915,  he  re-established  his  prac- 
tice and  home  at  Macomb. 

He  was  one  of  the  charter  members  of  the  Oklahoma 
State  Medical  Society,  and  a member  of  the  Potta- 
watomie County  Society.  In  politics  he  is  a republican 
and  in  earlier,  years  took  a very  prominent  part  in  politi- 
cal affairs.  For  six  years  he  was  a member  of  the 
school  board  in  Old  Burnett,  and  has  served  on  the 
County  Central  Republican  Committees  of  both  Cleve- 
land and  Pottawatomie  counties.  Besides  his  large  pri- 
vate practice  he  is  examiner  for  the  Kansas  City  Life 
Insurance  Company,  the  Bankers’  Life  Insurance  Com- 
pany of  Oklahoma,  the  Indianapolis  Reserve  and  Loan 
Company,  and  the  New  York  Life  Insurance  Com- 
pany, and  at  one  time  was  local  surgeon  for  the  Okla- 
homa Central  Railroad.  Doctor  Bence  was  reared  in  the 


Episcopal  faith.  He  is  affiliated  with  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Knights  of  Pythias  in  the 
lodges  in  Linwood,  Kansas. 

In  Ashland  County,  Ohio,  in  1874,  he  married  Miss 
Mary  Crull,  who  was  born  in  Ohio  in  1857.  Her  father 
was  a Union  soldier  and  was  killed  during  the  war.  To 
their  marriage  have  been  born  six  children:  Minnie, 

wife  of  William  Slate,  a farmer  and  stockman  at  Lind- 
say, Oklahoma;  Walter,  who  is  a motorman  for  the  Street 
Railway  Company  at  Shawnee;  Leta,  wife  of  Charles 
Sheppard,  who  is  manager  of  the  Central  Telephone 
Exchange  at  Macomb;  Pearl,  wife  of  Willis  Buggs,  who 
resides  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas;  Vernon,  in  the  livery 
business  at  Macomb;  and  Bertha,  still  at  home  with  her 
parents. 


Stonewall  Jackson.  That  Mr.  Jackson  received  his 
Christian  or  personal  name  in  honor  of  one  of  the  great 
and  revered  heroes  and  officers  of  the  Confederate  service 
in  the  Civil  war  and  that  his  family  name  makes  the 
appellation  the  more  consistent  finds  further  reinforce- 
ment through  the  fact  that  his  father  was  a gallant 
soldier  of  the  Confederacy  during  virtually  the  entire 
period  of  the  war  between  the  states  of  the  North  and 
the  South,  his  service  of  four  years  having  been  rendered 
as  a member  of  a Louisiana  regiment  and  it  having  been 
his  portion  to  participate  in  many  spirited  engagements, 
including  a number  of  important  battles.  He  was  al- 
ways found  at  the  post  of  duty  and  in  one  engagement  he 
received  a severe  wound. 

Stonewall  Jackson  has  been  a resident  of  Cheyenne, 
judicial  center  of  Roger  Mills  County,  since  1902,  and 
through  his  own  executive  ability,  his  circumspection  as 
a financier  and  his  impregnable  integrity  of  purpose  he 
has  become  an  influential  figure  in  connection  with  bank- 
ing activities  in  the  western  part  of  the  state.  In  his 
home  town  he  is  now  president  of  the  Cheyenne  State 
Bank,  of  which  office  he  has  been  the  incumbent  since 
1912,  and  he  is  president  also  of  the  First  State  Bank 
of  Strong  City;  vice  president  of  the  Crawford  State 
Bank,  of  Crawford,  Roger  Mills  County;  and  a director 
of  the  Guaranty  State  Bank  of  Texola,  Beckham  County. 
His  prominence  in  financial  circles  is  further  indicated 
by  his  having  served  in  1913  as  treasurer  of  the  Okla- 
homa Bankers  ’ Association,  of  which  he  continues  an 
active  and  valued  member. 

Stonewall  Jackson  was  born  at  Alto,  Cherokee  County, 
Texas,  on  the  2d  of  December,  1877,  and  is  a son  of 
William  D.  and  Mary  (Kendall)  Jackson,  both  natives 
of  Louisiana,  the  former  having  died  at  Mars  Hill, 
Arkansas,  in  1879,  and  the  latter  being  now  a resident 
of  Magnum,  Greer  County,  Oklahoma. 

William  D.  Jackson  was  born  in  the  year  1834,  and 
was  reared  and  educated  in  Louisiana,  from  which  state 
he  went  forth  as  a valiant  soldier  of  the  Confederacy  in 
the  Civil  war,  as  previously  noted.  In  his  native  state 
his  marriage  was  solemnized,  and  after  the  close  of  the 
war  he  removed  to  Arkansas,  whence,  about  1877,  he 
went  with  his  family  to  Texas,  but  about  three  years 
later  he  returned  to  Arkansas,  where  he  passed  the  re- 
mainder of  his  life,  his  active  career  having  found 
him  successfully  engaged  as  -a  contractor  and  also  a 
representative  of  the  live-stock  industry.  He  was  a 
scion  of  a sterling  family  that  was  founded  in  the  state 
of  Georgia  in  the  colonial  period  of  our  national  his 
tory,  and  it  is  to  be  presumed  that  the  first  representa 
tives  of  the  name  in  America  settled  in  Virginia.  Of  his 
three  children  the  eldest  is  Willie,  who  is  the  wife  of 
William  H.  Thomason,  a farmer  in  Beaver  County,  Okla- 
homa; Stonewall,  of  this  review,  was  the  next  in  order 
of  birth;  and  Ida,  whose  death  occurred  at  Magnum, 
Greer  County,  this  state,  was  the  wife  of  Rev.  Charles 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2043 


it 


to 

fl- 

at 


ho 

iet 


lis 
at 
ite 
ie 
te- 1 
mt 
ire 
ad 
red 


li- 

fe 


ind 

as 

lie 

ik- 

Ms 

ate 

ace 

auk 

late 

itor 

"ti- 

lted 

Ma- 

an 


atj, 
i of 


E.  Eoberts,  who  is  still  a resident  of  that  place  and  who 
is  a clergyman  of  the  Baptist  Church. 

To  the  public  schools  of  Arkansas  and  Texas  Stone- 
wall Jackson  is  indebted  for  his  early  educational  dis- 
cipline, and  in  1901  he  was  graduated  in  the  Sam  Hous- 
ton Normal  School  of  Texas.  He  thereafter  devoted  his 
attention  to  teaching  in  the  schools  of  the  Lone  Star 
State  until  June  of  the  following  year  when  he  came 
to  Oklahoma  Territory  and  established  his  home  at 
Cheyenne,  where  he  assumed  the  position  of  cashier  of 
the  Cheyenne  State  Bank,  with  which  he  has  since  been 
actively  identified  and  of  which  he  has  been  president 
since  1912.  The  bank  was  established  in  1898,  by  Thur- 
mond Brothers,  and  it  is  one  of  the  oldest  and  strongest 
financial  institutions  in  this  section  of  the  state.  Its 
operations  are  now  based  on  a capital  stock  of  $20,000, 
and  its  surplus  fund  is  $2,500.  The  vice  president  of 
the  institution  is  J.  H.  Kendall;  G.  B.  Lovett  is  cashier, 
and  J.  L.  Finch  holds  the  position  of  assistant  cashier. 

Insistently  progressive  and  public-spirited  as  a citi- 
zen, Mr.  Jackson  has  taken  a specially  loyal  interest  in 
all  that  touches  the  civic  and  material  welfare  and  ad- 
vancement of  his  home  town  and  county,  and  he  is  found 
aligned  as  a staunch  supporter  of  the  cause  of  the  demo- 
cratic party.  He  and  his  wife  are  zealous  and  influential 
members  of  the  Baptist  Church  at  Cheyenne,  and  he  is 
giving  effective  service  as  teacher  of  the  Bible  class  in 
its  Sunday  school.  Mr.  Jackson  is  affiliated  with 
Cheyenne  Lodge,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  of 
which  he  is  past  master;  with  Cheyenne  Chapter,  Eoyal 
Arch  Masons ; with  Elk  City  Commandery,  Knights 
Templars,  at  the  county  seat  of  Beckham  County;  and 
with  Indian  Temple,  Ancient  Arabic  Order  of  the 
Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  in  Oklahoma  City.  In  addi- 
tion to  these  Masonic  affiliations  he  holds  membership  in 
Cheyenne  Lodge  No.  237,  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows,  and  Cheyenne  Camp,  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America. 

At  Cheyenne  the  year  1904  recorded  the  marriage  of 
Mr.  Jackson  to  Miss  Texia  H.  Hornbeak,  daughter  of 
Eev.  James  A.  Hornbeak,  who  is  a clergyman  of  the 
Presbyterian  Church  and  who  now  resides  in  the  City  of 
Dallas,  Texas,  his  brother,  Dr.  S.  L.  Hornbeak,  being  a 
member  of  the  faculty  of  Trinity  University,  at  Waxa- 
hachie,  Texas,  in  which  institution  Mrs.  Jackson  was 
graduated.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Jackson  have  one  child,  Mar- 
jorie, who  was  born  July  8,  1907. 


3 ill, 

lent 

and 

•rite 

T a 

date 
: the 
, he 
-ears 
: re- 
mind 
so  a 
as  a 
state 
his- 
enta- 
ils 
'e  of 
Dlla- 
freer 

larles 


James  S.  Barnett,  M.  D.  Of  the  contingent  of  able 
and  successful  physicians  and  surgeons  who  are  well 
upholding  the  dignity  and  prestige  of  their  profession  in 
Blaine  County,  a prominent  and  popular  representative 
is  Doctor  Barnett,  who  maintains  his  residence  and  pro- 
fessional headquarters  in  the  vigorous  and  thriving  Vil- 
lage of  Hitchcock  and  who  has  built  up  an  excellent 
general  practice  in  that  section  of  the  county. 

Doctor  Barnett  was  born  at  Columbia,  Boone  County 
Missouri,  on  the  31st  of  July,  1871,  and  is  a son  of 
Jesse  E.  and  Mary  A.  (Batterton)  Barnett,  both  likewise 
natives  of  Boone  County,  Missouri,  where  the  former  was 
born  in  1843  and  the  latter  in  1848,  the  respective  fam- 
ilies having  been  pioneers  of  that  section  of  the  state  and 
prominently  identified  with  its  civic  and  industrial  devel- 
opment. The  lineage  of  the  Barnett  family  traces  back 
to  staunch  Scotch-Irish  origin  and  its  first  representatives 
in  America  settled  in  Virginia,  in  the  colonial  period  of 
our  national  history. 

Jesse  E.  Barnett  passed  the  major  part  of  his  lono- 
and  useful  life  in  his  native  county  and  his  active  career 
was  given  principally  to  agricultural  pursuits  and  the 
livestock  business.  At  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  he 
became  one  of  the  youthful  and  loval  soldiers  of  the  Con- 


federacy, his  service  covering  a period  of  three  years  and 
he  having  been  in  the  command  of  the  gallant  General 
Price.  He  took  part  in  numerous  engagements,  in  Mis- 
souri, Arkansas  and  Louisiana,  and  with  his  command 
surrendered  at  Shreveport,  Louisiana,  at  the  close  of  the 
war.  He  was  a man  of  broad  mental  ken,  earnest  and 
steadfast  in  all  of  the  relations  of  life,  never  desirous  of 
notoriety  or  public  office,  but  loyal  to  all  civic  duties. 
His  allegiance  was  given  to  the  democratic  party,  he  was 
a deacon  in  the  Christian  Church,  of  which  his  widow  has 
long  been  a devoted  member,  and  was  affiliated  with  the 
United  Confederate  Veterans.  He  continued  his  opera- 
tions as  a farmer  and  stock-grower  in  Boone  County 
until  1889,  when  he  removed  to  Columbia,  the  county  seat, 
where  he  lived  virtually  retired  until  his  death,  which 
occurred  in  1908,  and  where  his  widow  still  maintains 
her  home.  Of  their  children  the  firstborn,  Pearl,  died  at 
the  age  of  eighteen  years;  Dr.  James  S.,  of  this  review, 
was  the  next  in  order  of  birth;  George  H.  was  a resident 
of  Columbia,  Missouri,  at  the  time  of  his  death,  when 
twenty-nine  years  of  age,  and  thus  was  cut  short  a moslfc 
prominent  career,  as  he  had  been  graduated  in  the  law 
department  of  the  University  of  Missouri  and  was  prose- 
cuting attorney  of  his  native  county  at  the  time  of  his 
death;  Lawrence  died  at  the  age  of  eight  years;  Edward, 
who  was  editor  and  publisher  of  a newspaper  at  Joplin, 
Missouri,  at  the  time  of  his  death,  passed  to  the  life 
eternal  at  the  age  of  thirty- three  years;  Mary  J.  is  a 
popular  teacher  in  the  high  school  at  Columbia,  Missouri ; 
Bessie  C.  is  superintendent  of  the  telephone  exchange  in 
the  same  city;  and  Carrie  is  a teacher  in  the  high  school 
at  Hannibal,  Missouri. 

To  the  public  schools  of  his  native  city  Dr.  James  S. 
Barnett  is  indebted  for  his  preliminary  educational  dis- 
cipline, which  was  supplemented  by  a four  years’  course 
in  the  academic  department  of  the  University  of  Missouri. 
In  consonance  with  his  ambition  and  well  matured  plans 
he  then  entered  the  medical  department  of  the  university, 
in  which  he  completed  the  prescribed  curriculum  and  was 
graduated  as  a member  of  the  class  of  1896,  his  recep- 
tion of  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine  having  occurred 
on  the  3rd  of  June  of  that  year.  The  doctor  wisely  for- 
tified himself  in  practical  clinical  experience  by  serving 
several  months  thereafter  as  interne  in  one  of  the  lead- 
ing hospitals  in  the  City  of  St.  Louis,  and  after  leaving 
the  metropolis  of  his  native  state  he  was  engaged  in 
practice  one  year  in  his  home  City  of  Columbia.  There- 
after he  continued  his  successful  professional  activities 
in  Audrain  County,  Missouri,  until  1901,  when  he  came 
to  Oklahoma  Territory  and  engaged  in  practice  at  Geary, 
Blaine  County.  Two  months  later  he  transferred  his 
residence  and  professional  base  of  operations  to  the 
Town  of  Hitchcock,  where  he  located  in  October,  1901, 
only  a few  weeks  after  the  founding  of  the  town.  He  is 
thus  the  pioneer  physician  and  surgeon  of  this  place  and 
in  addition  to  having  given  the  best  of  his  talents  and 
powers  to  the  exacting  work  of  his  profession  during  the 
entire  period  of  his  residence  in  Blaine  County,  he  has 
been  also  one  of  the  broad-minded  and  progressive  citi- 
zens whose  influence  and  co-operation  has  made  possible 
the  development  and  upbuilding  of  the  fine  little  Town 
of  Hitchcock.  He  is  the  only  resident  physician  of  the 
village  and  his  practice  extends  throughout  the  wide 
section  of.  country  tributary  to  the  town,  his  office  being 
maintained  in  a building  on  Main  Street.  That  Doctor 
Barnett  is  emphatically  one  of  the  representative  physi- 
cians and  surgeons  of  this  section  of  the  state  and  that 
he  holds  high  place  in  the  confidence  and  esteem  of  his 
confreres  is  shown  by  his  having  been  called  upon  to  serve 
as  president  of  the  Blaine  County  Medical  Society,  of 
which  he  continues  an  active  and  influential  member,  be- 


2044 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


sides  being  identified  also  with  the  Oklahoma  State  Med- 
ical Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association. 

The  doctor  has  pronounced  himself  an  ‘ ‘ old-school  ’ ’ 
democrat  in  politics,  and  though  he  has  been  importuned 
to  become  a candidate  for  political  office  he  has  invaria- 
bly refused  to  consider  such  overtures,  as  he  deems  his 
profession  worthy  of  his  undivided  time  and  attention. 
He  and  his  wife  hold  membership  in  the  Christian  Church, 
and  he  is  affiliated  with  Hitchcock  Lodge,  No.  191,  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  of  which  he  has  served 
three  different  terms  as  noble  grand,  and  he  holds  mem- 
bership also  in  the  local  organizations  of  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America,  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Work- 
men, the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen,  and  the 
Mutual  Benefit  Association. 

At  Mexico,  Audrain  County,  Missouri,  was  solemnized 
the  marriage  of  Doctor  Barnett  to  Miss  Lula  B.  Thomas, 
whose  father,  now  deceased,  was  a representative  farmer 
of  that  county.  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Barnett  have  four 
children,  Buth,  Josephine,  Lucille,  and  James  Thomas. 

L.  A.  Wismeyer..  One  of  the  oldest  and  best  known 
Indian  traders  of  the  Osage  County,  it  is  likely  that  the 
name  of  L.  A.  Wismeyer  will  be  chiefly  remembered 
through  future  generations  for  his  enterprise  in  founding 
the  Town  of  Fairfax  in  Osage  County.  He  took  the  lead 
in  starting  the  town  there  when  the  railroad  was  con- 
structed in  1903.  Not  long  ago  the  editor  of  a local  paper 
who  was  closely  familiar  with  all  Wismeyer ’s  public 
spirited  activities  at  the  time  described  his  part  in  the 
founding  and  upbuilding  of  the  town  in  the  following 
language : “He  borned  the  town,  nursed  it  in  its  infancy 
and  paid  the  doctor’s  bill.  He  built  the  first  school- 
house  and  helped  to  build  all  the  churches,  and  whether 
he  belonged  to  any  of  them  or  all  of  them  his  name 
appears  on  the  records  of  at  least  two  as  trustee  or 
incorporator.  In  his  townsite  bill  he  secured  for  Fair- 
fax ten  acres  of  land  for  a cemetery,  a gift  from  the 
department  that  no  other  town  on  the  reservation 
received.  He  was  the  first  merchant  in  Fairfax  and 
established  the  first  lumber  yard.  He  was  at  the  head 
of  the  Fairfax  Grain  Company  that  built  the  first  ele- 
vator. He  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  First 
National  Bank  and  served  as  president  of  that  institu- 
tion for  a number  of  years  and  was  one  of  three  men 
that  erected  the  bank’s  splendid  quarters.  In  short,  Mr. 
Wismeyer  has  been  a public  benefactor  and  in  the  long 
run  Fairfax  has  been  the  greater  beneficiary  of  his 
labors.  ’ ’ 

While  Mr.  Wismeyer  has  lived  in  the  western  states 
of  Kansas  and  Oklahoma  more  than  forty  years,  his 
boyhood  recollections  center  about  a home  in  the  State 
of  Ohio.  He  was  born  at  Hamilton,  Ohio,  October  20, 
1852,  a son  of  Henry  and  Mary  (Richter)  Wismeyer, 
both  of  whom  were  of  German  parentage.  His  parents 
spent  practically  all  their  lives  in  Ohio,  part  of  the 
time  in  Cleveland  and  at  other  locations  in  Northern 
Ohio,  and  were  for  many  years  at  Hamilton.  His  father 
died  at  Hamilton  about  1882  at  the  age  of  sixty-eight. 
He  had  conducted  a malt  house  at  Sandusky  and  later 
at  Hamilton.  The  mother  is  still  living  with  a daughter 
at  Hamilton  at  the  age  of  eighty-five.  The  five  children 
were:  L.  A.;  Henry  of  Emporia,  Kansas;  Emma,  wife 
of  Frank  Cobaught  of  Connersville,  Indiana;  Carrie, 
wife  of  John  A.  Keller  of  Hamilton,  Ohio;  and  John, 
who  died  in  1910  in  Guadalajara,  Mexico. 

It  was  in  the  home  of  his  parents  that  L.  A.  Wismeyer 
lived  until  1873.  In  the  meantime  he  had  made  the 
best  of  his  advantages  in  the  public  schools,  and  for 
two  years  had  gained  a practical  business  training 
as  clerk  in  a dry  goods  store,  his  salary  beginning  at 


$1.50  a week.  In  1873  he  went  out  to  Kansas  to  join 
his  uncle,  Harry  A.  Richter,  at  Council  Grove.  His 
uncle  was  long  prominent  in  Kansas  politics,  and  served 
three  terms  as  lieutenant  governor  of  that  state.  Mr. 
Wismeyer  remained  with  his  uncle  five  years,  employed 
in  his  drug  store,  and  while  there  performed  that  various 
service  required  of  pioneer  druggists,  not  only  in  mixing 
and  compounding  medicines  and  pills,  but, also  in  pre- 
scribing in  the  role  of  a doctor,  and  he  gained  such 
confidence  that  he  could  prescribe  anything  from  calomel 
and  quinine  to  snake  , medicine  for  the  customers  of 
the  store. 

Leaving  Kansas,  Mr.  Wismeyer  arrived  at  the  Osage 
Agency  on  the  site  of  the  present  City  of  Pawhuska, 
June  18,  1878,  becoming  chief  clerk  in  the  agency.  He 
continued  the  duties  of  that  office  until  December,  1884. 
The  Indian  agent  had  many  responsibilities,  including 
the  issue  of  rations  to  the  Indians.  The  supplies  furnished 
through  the  agency  store  included  a large  stock  of  gen- 
eral provisions  as  well  as  clothing  of  all  kinds.  The 
head  of  each  Indian  family  had  a ration  cheek,  and 
this  was  presented  to  the  commissary  clerk  whenever 
rations  were  drawn.  Every  few  days  from  forty  to  fifty 
head  of  beef  cattle  were  killed  for  the  benefit  of  the 
tribe  living  around  the  agency,  and  sometimes  a hundred 
head  of  stock  would  be  driven  into  the  corral  each  week, 
and  after  the  animals  were  shot  down  the  Indians  would 
go  in  and  proceed  to  skin  and  cut  up  the  carcasses. 
These  cattle  were  the  substitute  for  the  buffaloes  which 
had  furnished  most  of  the  meat  to  the  tribes  before 
that  noble  animal  of  the  plains  was  exterminated.  The 
cash  payments  were  made  semi-annually,  in  May  and 
December,  and  averaged  $3.25  to  each  individual.  A 
year  or  so  after  Mr.  Wismeyer  became  connected  with 
the  agency,  on  account  of  the  dissatisfaction  which  had 
arisen  among  the  Indians  over  the  ration  distribution, 
that  system  was  abolished,  and  thereafter  the  Indians 
were  paid  their  entire  share  in  cash.  One  of  Mr.  Wis- 
meyer’s  experiences  while  chief  clerk  at  the  agency 
illustrates  the  attitude  of  the  older  full  bloods  toward 
the  system  of  education  which  the  Government  was 
striving  to  introduce.  The  department  had  made  a 
ruling  that  all  Indians  must  have  their  children  in 
school  before  they  could  draw  their  quarterly  allowance. 
One  day  an  old  Indian  demanded  his  money,  and  Mr. 
Wismeyer  questioned  him  as  to  whether  he  had  children 
in  school.  The  Indian  made  a personal  application  of 
the  school  question  to  Mr.  Wismeyer,  who  replied  that 
he  had  attended  school  in  order  to  learn  reading  and 
writing  and  to  make  a living,  and  that  he  held  his 
job  because  of  his  education.  The  Indian  retorted  as 
follows:  “You’re  a fool.  I eat  and  wear  clothes  and 
don’t  have  to  hold  down  a job.  If  you  hadn’t  went  to 
school  and  got  an  education  you  wouldn’t  have  to  write, 
write,  write  all  day  and  part  of  the  night  as  you  doi 
here.  White  man  heap  fool.  I want  my  money.” 

On  December  1,  1884,  Mr.  Wismeyer  secured  a trader  ’s< 
license,  and  became  associated  with  Dr.  R.  E.  Bird,! 
one  of  the  old  established  Indian  traders.  They  engaged 
in  general  merchandising  at  Pawhuska,  as  licensed  trad-l 
ers,  and  in  1885  established  a branch  store  at  Gray) 
Horse  in  Osage  County.  In  1889  Mr.  Wismeyer  moved 
to  Gray  Horse  to  manage  that  end  of  the  business,  andi 
after  1890  became  sole  proprietor  of  the  store  there. 
He  continued  in  business  at  Gray  Horse  until  1903.1 
With  the  coming  of  the  railroad  he  and  the  other 
traders  at  Gray  Horse,  in  order  to  avoid  freighting! 
overland,  determined  to  move  their  post  to  the  rail 
road.  Mr.  Wismeyer  finally  succeeded  in  gaining  the 
consent  of  the  Government  officials  to  locate  a depot 
where  the  Village  of  Fairfax  now  stands.  In  arranging 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2045 


for  the  townsite  he  had  to  go  to  Washington  and 
came  home  with  full  instructions  how  to  proceed  in 
securing  the  use  of  lands  for  town  purposes.  He 
procured  forty  acres  belonging  to  one  of  the  Indians, 
and  had  it  surveyed  into  lots,  streets  and  alleys,  and 
he  took  for  his  own  purposes  one  of  the  chief  corners 
in  the  new  town  for  his  store  and  lumber  yard.  The 
railroad  company  first  named  the  depot  Coda,  but  Mr. 
Wismeyer  finally  gained  their  consent  to  the  name  Fair- 
fax, which  was  suggested  to  him  by  the  old  town  of 
that  name  in  Virginia.  Owing  to  the  fact  that  all  the 
lots  in  the  town  could  be  used  only  by  the  right  of 
occupancy  the  title  to  the  land  remaining  with  its  Indian 
owners,  Mr.  Wismeyer  spent  almost  the  entire  winter  of 
1904  at  Washington,  and  finally  secured  a townsite 
bill  which,  while  far  from  satisfactory,  paved  the  way 
for  a permanent  town  and  the  upbuilding  of  such  insti- 
tutions as  churches,  schools  and  business  enterprises. 
For  more  than  ten  years  Mr.  Wismeyer,  though  a man 
of  unobtrusive  personality,  has  been  one  of  the  real 
leaders  in  the  growth  of  the  community,  has  invested 
freely  and  with  faith  in  the  ultimate  outcome  in  the 
number  of  local  business  institutions,  and  has  always 
given  liberally  to  movements  associated  with  the  general 
welfare  of  the  community.  He  has  been  identified  with 
the  mercantile  interests  of  the  town  since  it  was  founded, 
was  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  until  1912, 
was  in  the  lumber  business  for  ten  years,  being  the 
first  lumber  merchant  there,  and  for  about  nine  years 
was  one  of  the  interested  principals  iq,  the  operation 
of  the  first  elevator. 

Mr.  Wismeyer  speaks  the  Osage  Indian  language  as 
fluently  as  the  red  men  themselves,  and  also  has  a speak- 
ing knowledge  of  the  language  of  the  Haws  and  Poncas. 
He  has  had  continuous  relations  as  an  Indian  trader  for 
thirty-seven  years.  Politically  he  is  a stanch  republi- 
can, has  been  active  in  party  affairs,  but  has  never 
sought  nor  held  an  office.  He  is  affiliated  with  the 
Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks  at  Pawhuska. 
While  living  at  Council  Grove,  Kansas,  Mr.  Wismeyer 
bcame  acquainted  with  one  of  the  belles  of  local  society, 
and  in  1884  married  Miss  Aggie  C.  Huffaker.  Mrs. 
Wismeyer  was  born  in  Council  Grove,  Kansas,  Novem- 
ber 1,  1857,  a daughter  of  T.  S.  Huffaker,  one  of  the 
pioneers  in  that  section  of  Kansas.  They  have  one 
daughter,  Frances,  still  at  home. 

James  E.  Cronkhite.  The  Village  of  Hitchcock,  one 
of  the  attractive  and  flourishing  trade  centers  of  Blaine 
County,  claims  among  its  progressive  and  substantial 
business  men  James  Emmett  Cronkhite,  who  here  con- 
ducts a well  established  and  prosperous  hardware  and 
implement  business,  as  one  of  the  representative  expo- 
nents of  this  line  of  enterprise  in  the  county.  His  sterling 
characteristics  and  personal  popularity  contribute  a dis- 
tinct commercial  asset  in  his  business,  and  he  is  known 
also  for  his  loyalty  and  public  spirit  as  a citizen. 

Mr.  Cronkhite  was  born  at  Melvern,  Osage  County, 
Kansas,  on  the  24th  of  February,  1873,  and  is  a son  of 
Benjamin  and  Marietta  (High)  Cronkhite,  both  natives 
of  Iowa  and  representatives  of  sterling  pioneer  families 
of  that  state.  Benjamin  Cronkhite  was  born  in  the  year 
1842,  and  was  reared  and  educated  under  the  conditions 
and  influences  of  the  early  pioneer  era  in  the  history  of 
the  Hawkeye  State.  After  his  marriage  he  removed  to 
Osage  County,  Kansas,  where  he  continued  successful 
operations  as  a farmer  and  stock-grower.  In  the  year 
1898  he  came  to  Oklahoma  Territory  and  established  his 
residence  at  Kiel,  Kingfisher  County,  where  he  became  a 
pioneer  merchant,  besides  building  up  a successful  busi- 
ness as  a dealer  in  horses.  In  1901  he  became  one  of  the 


first  settlers  of  the  newly  founded  town  Hitchcock,  Blaine 
County,  and  here  he  was  associated  with  his  son  James  E., 
of  this  review,  in  the  general  merchandise  business  until 
1904.  He  continued  his  residence  in  this  village  until 
1906,  when  he  established  his  home  on  his  farm,  near 
Hitchcock,  to  the  supervision  of  which  property  he  gave 
his  close  attention  until  his  removal  to  El  Beno,  when 
he  practically  retired  from  active  business.  He  and  his 
wife  now  maintain  their  home  at  Watonga,  the  judicial 
center  of  Blaine  County,  where  they  are  enjoying  the 
peace  and  prosperity  that  properly  reward  former  years 
of  earnest  endeavor.  At  the  time  of  the  Civil  war  Mr. 
Cronkhite  gave  loyal  and  valiant  service  as  a soldier  of 
the  Union.  He  was  at  the  time  residing  in  Iowa,  but  he 
enlisted  in  an  Illinois  regiment  of  volunteer  cavalry, 
with  which  he  continued  in  active  service  during  vir- 
tually the  entire  period  of  the  war.  He  is  a democrat 
in  politics  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Grand  Army  of  the 
Republic.  Of  the  family  of  six  children  James  Emmett, 
of  this  sketch,  was  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth;  Frank, 
the  eldest  of  the  number,'  resides  at  Watonga  and  has 
valuable  farm  property  in  Blaine  County ; William  resides 
on  his  homestead  farm,  eight  miles  west  of  Hitchcock; 
Lulu  F.  is  the  wife  of  Fred  P.  Higby,  of  El  Reno,  who 
is  employed  as  a practical  railroad  man ; Adell  is  the  wife 
of  Martin  Truby,  a jeweler  at  Coffeyville,  Kansas ; 
and  John  T.  is  engaged  in  the  real-estate  business  at 
Watonga,  Blaine  County.  The  Cronkhite  family  removed 
to  Florence,  Kansas,  in  1875,  and  in  1886  the  home  was 
established  in  the  City  of  Emporia,  that  state,  where  the 
father  remained  until  his  removal  to  Oklahoma,  as  pre- 
viously noted  in  this  context. 

James  E.  Cronkhite  received  his  early  education  prin- 
cipally in  the  public  schools  of  Florence  and  Emporia, 
Kansas,  and  he  continued  to  be  associated  with  his  father 
in  the  latter’s  farming  operations  until  1896,  after  which 
he  was  engaged  in  the  same  line  of  enterprise  in  Kansas 
for  two  years  in  an  independent  way.  In  1899  he  came 
to  Kiel,  Oklahoma  Territory,  and  two  months  later  he 
returned  to  Kansas  and  disposed  of  his  live  stock,  after 
which  he  came  again  to  Kiel,  where  he  was  engaged  in 
mercantile  pursuits  for  one  year.  In  1901,  as  previously 
intimated,  he  became  associated  with  his  father  in  the 
general  merchandise  business  in  the  new  Town  of  Hitch- 
cock, and  in  1904  the  business  was  divided  and  he  assumed 
control  of  the  hardware  and  implement  stock  and  trade, 
which  business  he  has  since  developed  into  the  largest  and 
most  important  of  its  kind  in  this  section  of  Blaine 
County.  The  building  which  he  uses  for  his  business 
headquarters  was  erected  by  his  father  in  1906,  shortly 
after  the  major  part  of  the  town  had  been  destroyed 
by  fire.  The  store  is  eligibly  located  on  Main  Street,  has 
a floor  space  of  5,000  square  feet,  the  establishment  is 
kept  up  to  high  standard  in  both  equipment  and  service 
and  its  trade  is  drawn  from  both  Blaine  and  Kingfisher 
counties. 

Mr.  Cronkhite  gives  his  allegiance  to  the  democratic 
party  and  his  civic  loyalty  has  been  shown  by  his  effective 
service  as  counsel  of  Hitchcock,  an  office  of  which  he  was 
the  incumbent  one  term,  and  also  by  his  effective  work 
as  a member  of  the  school  board  and  his  able  adminis- 
tration in  the  office  of  treasurer  of  Lawton  Township,  a 
position  which  he  is  holding  at  the  time  of  this  writing, 
in  1915.  In  addition  to  his  prosperous  business  at  Hitch- 
cock he  is  the  owner  of  an  improved  farm  of  160  acres, 
situated  eight  miles  northwest  of  the  village.  He  is 
affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows, 
the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Mutual  Benefit 
Association.  It  may  well  be  noted  that  Mr.  Cronkhite 
is  a scion  of  American  colonial  stock,  the  original  repre- 
sentatives of  the  name  in  this  country  having  come  from 


2046 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Holland  and  settled  in  Dutchess  County,  New  York,  long 
prior  to  the  War  of  the  Revolution. 

In  1894,  in  Kansas,  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of 
Mr.  Cronkhite  to  Miss  Josie  Gardner,  a daughter  of 
Thomas  Gardner,  who  is  a retired  farmer  now  residing 
with  his  wife  in  a pleasant  home  in  Hitchcock,  Oklahoma. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cronkhite  have  four  children:  Hazel  is  the 
wife  of  Isaac  Heibert  and  they  maintain  their  home  at 
Hitchcock,  Mr.  Heibert  being  a successful  farmer  near 
this  village;  Paul  assists  his  father  in  the  hardware  and 
implement  business;  Clarence  is  in  the  eighth  grade  of 
the  public  schools  in  1915;  and  Marion  is  the  youngest 
of  the  children. 

Jesse  Lee  Jackson.  Among  the  recent  additions  to 
the  legal  fraternity  of  Washita  County,  one  who  bids 
fair  to  gain  a position  of  leadership  by  reason  of  in- 
herent talent  and  thorough  preparation  is  Jesse  Lee 
Jackson.  A member  of  an  old  and  honored  Southern 
family,  Mr.  Jackson  came  to  Oklahoma  in  1911  as  an 
educator,  but  while  practicing  that  vocation  was  pre- 
paring himself  for  the  law,  and  after  several  years  spent 
in  practice  at  Cordell  came  to  Sentinel  in  June,  1915, 
and  has  already  attracted  to  himself  a very  desirable 
legal  business. 

Mr.  Jackson  was  born  January  6,  1884,  at  Middleton, 
Hardeman  County,  Tennessee,  where  the  family  had  been 
pioneers,  and  is  a son  of  J.  S.  and  Edna  (Bishop) 
Jackson.  His  father  was  born  at  Middleton  in  1857 
and  there  has  passed  his  entire  life  as  a planter  and 
stockman  and  is  known  as  one  of  the  substantial  agri- 
culturists and  public-spirited  men  of  his  locality.  He  is 
a member  of  the  Christian  Church,  as  was  also  Mrs. 
Jackson,  who  was  born  at  Middleton  in  1864  and  died 
there  in  1900.  There  were  nine  children  in  the  family, 
as  follows:  Samuel,  who  is  engaged  in  farming  in  the 

vicinity  of  Avoca,  Texas;  Sydney,  who  resides  at  Hobart, 
Oklahoma,  and  is  employed  as  a machinist;  Jesse  Lee, 
of  this  notice;  Prince,  a graduate  of  Hall  and  Moody 
Institute,  and  of  the  Lebanon  Law  School,  Lebanon, 
Tennessee,  and  now  a practicing  attorney  of  Woodford, 
Oklahoma;  James,  who  is  an  employe  of  the  Memphis 
(Tennessee)  Street  Railway  Company;  Gertrude,  who  is 
the  wife  of  Estill  Wynee,  a farmer  residing  at  White- 
ville,  Tennessee;  Walter,  who  is  engaged  in  farming  in 
the  vicinity  of  Middleton,  Tennessee;  Milton,  who  is 
engaged  in  teaching  there;  and  Gracie,  who  is  married 
and  lives  on  a farm  at  Middleton. 

The  public  schools  of  Middleton  furnished  Jesse  Lee 
Jackson  with  his  early  educational  preparation,  follow- 
ing which  he  attended  Hall  and  Moody  Institute,  at 
Martin,  Tennessee,  for  one  year.  In  1910  and  1911  he 
was  a student  at  the  Southwestern  State  Normal  School 
at  Weatherford,  Oklahoma,  thus  preparing  himself  for 
a career  as  an  educator,  and  the  school  year  of  1911-12 
was  passed  as  principal  of  schools  at  Texola,  Oklahoma. 
In  1912-13  he  was  principal  of  schools  at  Gotebo,  Okla- 
homa, and  in  the  fall  of  1914  entered  the  Oklahoma 
State  University  at  Norman,  where  he  remained  until 
June,  1915.  In  the  meantime  Mr.  Jackson  had  been 
admitted  to  the  bar  of  Oklahoma,  in  1913,  and  in  that 
year  opened  an  office  and  began  practice  at  Cordell, 
where  he  remained  until  1915,  dividing  his  time  between 
the  practice  of  his  profession  and  attending  the  uni- 
versity. In  June,  1915,  he  changed  his  field  of  operation 
to  the  City  of  Sentinel,  and  here  he  has  since  devoted 
himself  to  a general  and  criminal  practice.  He  has  offices 
on  Third  Street,  just  off  of  Main  Street. 

Since  coming  to  Sentinel,  Mr.  Jackson  has  lent  dignity 
and  stability  to  professional  affairs  and  is  accounted  a 
young  legist  of  decided  promise.  He  is  a broad-minded 


and  progressive  practitioner,  a careful  observer  of  the 
courtesies  and  amenities  of  his  profession  and  - at  all  ' 
times  a seeker  after  its  most  intelligent  and  commend-  j 
able  compensations.  He  is  a democrat  in  political  mat- 
ters, but  has  not  found  time  to  engage  in  public  affairs,  I 
save  as  a supporter  of  movements  for  the  general  wel-  J 
fare.  His  religious  connection  is  with  the  Christian  j 
Church,  of  which  he  is  a consistent  member,  and  his  | 
fraternal  affiliations  are  with  Cordell  Camp  of  the  Wood-  , 
men  of  the  World  and  Cordell  Lodge  of  the  Praetorians.  1 
Mr.  Jackson  is  not  married. 

Wiley  Boothe  Merrill.  Among  the  men  whose  i 
opportunities  along  professional  lines  have  been  excep- 
tional and  who  have  made  use  of  them  in  such  a way  as 
to  make  them  important  factors  in  the  life  of  their  com- 
munities, one  who  is  deserving  of  mention  is  Wiley 
Boothe  Merrill,  who,  since  September,  1903,  has  been 
engaged  in  the  practice  of  law  at  Elk  City.  A man  of 
broad  and  comprehensive  learning  and  legal  talent  of  a 
high  order,  he  has  made  a place  for  himself  among  the 
leaders  of  the  Beckham  County  bar,  where  many  of  the 
leading  cases  of  recent  years  have  had  the  benefit  of  his 
capable  services. 

Mr.  Merrill  was  born  at  Ladonia,  Texas,  November 
17,  1881,  a son  of  W.  B.  and  Helen  (Boothe)  Merrill. 

He  belongs  to  an  old  family  of  Virginia,  founded  there 
by  John  A.  Merrill,  who  emigrated  from  England,  en- 
gaged in  planting  in  the  Virginia  Colony,  became  an 
adherent  of  the  cause  of  the  Patriots,  and  was  finally 
murdered  by  thfe  Tories  of  North  Carolina.  W.  B.  Mer- 
rill, the  grandfather  of  Wiley  B.  Merrill,  was  born  in 
Kentucky,  in  1809,  and  in  January,  1834,  went  to 
Texas.  He  returned  to  Kentucky  for  the  rest  of  the 
family  in  1835  and  took  them  to  Ladonia,  Texas,  where 
he  became  a pioneer  ranchman.  His  name  is  connected 
with  the  military  history  of  the  Lone  Star  State  as  a 
lieutenant-colonel  in  the  army  of  the  Texas  Republic, 
and  his  death  occurred  at  Ladonia,  in  1854.  His  son, 
also  named  W.  B.  Merrill,  the  father  of  Wiley  B.,  was 
born  at  Ladonia,  Texas,  March  11,  1846,  and  has  resided 
there  all  his  life,  being  still  engaged  as  a farmer  and 
cattleman.  He  is  a democrat  in  political  matters  and  has 
been  active  in  civic  affairs,  having  held  a number  of 
offices  within  the  gift  of  his  fellow-citizens  of  the  town 
and  county.  He  is  a steward  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church,  South,  having  held  that  position  for  the  past 
thirty  years.  At  the  age  of  sixteen  years,  he  enlisted 
as  a private  in  the  Confederate  army,  as  a member  of  ' 
Maxey ’s  Texas  regiment,  and  served  during  the  last 
two  years  of  the  war  between  the  states.  He  has  never  I 
lost  interest  in  the  welfare  of  his  old  army  comrades, , 
and  for  many  years  has  been  commander  of  the  United  I 
Confederate  Veterans  Camp  at  Ladonia.  Mr.  Merrill  I 
was  married  to  Miss  Helen  Boothe,  who  was  born  at! 
Rome,  Georgia,  December  4,  1847,  and  they  became  the 
parents  of  two  children:  O.  L.,  who  is  a cotton  broken 
residing  at  Ladonia,  Texas;  and  Wiley  Boothe. 

Wiley  Boothe  Merrill  attended  the  public  schools  of! 
Ladonia,  Texas,  and  was  duly  graduated  from  the  highi 
school  there  with  the  class  of  1897.  Following  this,- 
he  took  a course  of  three  years  in  the  academic  depart- 
ment of  the  University  of  Texas,  and  then  entered  the) 
legal  department  of  the  same  institution,  where  he  prose- 
cuted his  professional  studies  and  was  graduated  im 
1903,  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Laws.  While  at 
the  university  he  proved  himself  an  assiduous  and  recep- 
tive scholar,  applying  himself  closely  to  his  studies,  but 
found  time  to  mingle  freely  with  his  fellows,  with 
whom  he  was  popular,  being  a member  of  the  Sigma 
Alpha  Epsilon  Greek  letter  college  fraternity.  Mr.  Mer- 
rill entered  upon  the  practice  of  his  chosen  profession  at 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2047 


Elk  City,  at  that  time  in  Roger  Mills  County,  but  now  in 
Beckham  County,  and  here  his  entire  professional  career 
has  been  passed  in  a general  civil  and  criminal  practice, 
liis  offices  at  this  time  being  located  in  the  First  National 
Bank  Bulding.  Mr.  Merrill  has  built  up  a decidedly 
satisfying  practice,  both  from  the  viewpoint  of  its  im- 
portance, as  well  as  from  its  volume.  Care  and  pre- 
cision mark  the  preparation  of  all  his  cases  of  whatever 
nature,  his  thoroughness  of  preparation  insuring  a con- 
vincing and  clear  presentation  of  whatever  subject  comes 
before  him  for  adjustment. 

Mr.  Merrill  holds  membership  in  the  Beckham  County 
Bar  Association  and  the  Oklahoma  Bar  Association.  He 
is  a democrat,  although  his  activities  in  polities  consist 
principally  of  the  support  of  good  men  and  progressive 
and  beneficial  measures.  His  fraternal  connection  is  with 
Lodge  No.  1144,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of 
Elks,  of  Elk  City.  Mr.  Merrill  has  not  married. 

George  H.  Laing.  One  of  the  oldest  public  officials 
in  Western  Oklahoma  is  George  H.  Laing,  for  many  years 
clerk  of  the  District  Court  at  Kingfisher.  Two  of  the 
present  judges  now  serving  on  this  bench  aare  Judge  Cul- 
lison  and  Judge  Roberts,  both  of  Enid.  Mr.  Laing  is 
an  Oklahoma  eighty-niner  is  a lawyer  by  profession,  but 
his  qualities  and  abilities  have  marked  him  out  almost 
from  the  time  of  reaching  the  territory  for  official  work, 
and  he  has  been  almost  constantly  in  some  office  or  an- 
other for  twenty-five  years. 

George  H.  Laing  was  born  in  Edinburgh,  Scotland, 
December  1,  1864,  and  has  many  prominent  connections 
with  old  Scotch  families.  His  grandfather,  Alexander 
Andrew  Laing,  was  born  on  the  Isle  of  Skye,  and  was 
the  owner  of  the  Comely  Bank  Stock  Farm  three  miles 
from  Edinburgh  noted  as  a breeding  place  of  Galloway 
and  Polled  Angus  cattle.  Mr.  Laing ’s  father  was  Colonel 
George  Alexander  Laing,  who  was  born  in  Edinburgh, 
and  served  in  the  Forty-second  Highlanders  during  the 
Crimean  war  as  captain  of  a company.  He  was  awarded 
a Victoria  cross  for  bravery  at  Inkermann  and  Alma.  His 
death  occurred  at  the  stock  farm  near  Edinburgh  in  1873, 
about  two  years  after  the  death  of  his  wife.  Her  maiden 
name  was  Georgiana  Isabel  Brash,  whose  father  was  an 
Edinburgh  architect  and  superintendent  of  construction. 
One  son,  John  A.  Laing,  has  long  been  in  the  British 
Army  service,  and  was  first  lieutenant  in  the  Seventeenth 
Pun  jar  Light  Infantry,  in  India. 

George  H.  Laing  was  graduated  from  an  Edinburgh 
academy  at  the  age  of  seventeen.  During  1878  he  at- 
tended the  Paris  Exposition,  and  spent  several  months 
in  travel  over  the  continent.  The  following  year  he 
came  to  the  United  States,  equipped  with  a good  educa- 
tion, with  special  skill  and  proficiency  as  a penman  and 
in  accounting,  and  the  following  two  years  were  spent  as 
shipping  clerk  in  a wholesale  dry  goods  house  at  New 
York.  Most  of  his  active  career,  however,  has  been  spent 
in  the  west.  From  1882  he  was  for  seven  years  engaged 
in  operating  a ranch  on  Platte  River  near  Sidney,  Ne- 
braska. While  there  he  introduced  Polled  Angus  cattle 
into  Western  Nebraska  and  Wyoming. 

Mr.  Laing  came  to  Oklahoma  April  22,  1889.  At  that 
date,  when  a portion  of  the  present  Oklahoma  was  first 
opened  to  settlement,  he  secured  a homestead  claim  one 
mile  north  of  Kingfisher,  and  at  once  built  a cabin  to  live 
in  while  proving  up  his  land.  In  a few  weeks  he  was 
called  to  other  duties.  In  June,  1889,  he  was  made  con- 
test clerk  in  the  United  States  Land  Office,  and  after 
fifteen  months  there  became  deputy  district  clerk  at  Okla- 
homa City  under  Judge  Clark,  then  district  judge.  Re- 
signing this  office  in  the  fall  of  1892  Mr.  Laing  returned 
to  Kingfisher,  and  resumed  his  work  with  the  land  office. 

Vol.  V— 19 


In  January,  1893,  he  was  admitted  to  the  bar,  and  soon 
opened  a law  office  at  Kingfisher  under  the  firm  name 
Whiting  & Laing.  In  the  following  September  he  opened 
an  office  at  Enid,  and  in  that  town  his  practice  was  prin- 
cipally concentrated  for  four  years.  In  1897  he  returned 
to  Kingfisher  and  was  soon  called  upon  by  Judge  McAtee 
to  become  deputy  district  clerk.  He  was  retained  in 
the  same  capacity  by  Judge  Irwin.  Along  with  excellent 
penmanship  Mr.  Laing  combined  the  valuable  qualities 
of  accuracy,  painstaking  care,  and  courteous  and  obliging 
attention  to  every  duty,  and  these  qualities  have  neces- 
sarily made  him  a very  useful  man  in  Oklahoma. 

Mr.  Laing  still  retains  membership  in  the  bar  of 
Kingfisher  County.  He  is  an  advocate  of  good  schools, 
and  as  a member  of  the  board  of  education  has  worked 
for  their  improvement,  and  always  taken  a prominent  part 
for  the  upbuilding  of  Kingfisher  and  community.  He  was 
the  first  secretary  of  the  Republican  County  Central  Com- 
mittee at  Kingfisher,  and  was  also  its  chairman  at  a 
later  date,  and  has  been  active  both  during  territorial  and 
state  periods  in  his  section.  He  is  affiliated  with  the 
Masonic  Order  and  the  Knights  Templar,  with  the  Cale- 
donian Club,  and  with  the  St.  Andrew  Society  of  New 
York  City.  His  church  faith  is  that  of  the  Episco- 
palian, and  he  takes  an  active  part  in  church  affairs. 

On  August  22,  1894,  Mr.  Laing  married  Miss  Mina  0. 
Menzies.  She  was  born  at  Peterboro,  Ontario,  a daughter 
of  Thomas  and  Isabelle  (McIntyre)  Menzies.  Both  pa- 
rents were  born  in  Perthshire,  Scotland.  Her  father  was 
a grandson  of  John  Menzies,  who  was  captain  of  the 
Seventy-ninth  Highlanders  under  Sir  Ralph  Abercrombie 
at  the  Battle  of  the  Nile  in  Egypt,  when  the  British  so 
thoroughly  whipped  the  forces  of  the  great  Napoleon  dur- 
ing his  Egyptian  campaign.  Mrs.  Laing ’s  maternal 
grandfather,  Donald  McIntyre,  was  major  in  the  Scotch 
Greys  Cavalry  at  the  Battle  of  Waterloo.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Laing  have  three  children:  Ronald  B.,  Christine  I.  and 
Louise  M. 

John  F.  Palmer.  A man  of  justice  in  all  his  rela- 
tions with  his  fellows,  is  a tribute  which  no  member  of 
the  Osage  Nation  deserves  in  a higher  degree  than 
John  F.  Palmer  of  Pawhuska.  During  the  years  since 
he  was  admitted  to  the  full  rights  of  citizenship  in 
the  Osage  tribe  he  has  stood  steadfastly  for  the  right 
as  he  sees  it,  and  in  a manner  surpassing  the  abilities 
and  opportunities  of  most  men  has  succeeded  in  trans- 
lating high  ideals  into  terms  of  practical  service  and 
usefulness.  In  the  ordinary  aspect  of  his  career  Mr. 
Palmer  was  for  many  years  an  attorney,  practicing  both 
in  the  tribal  courts  and  afterwards  in  the  state  and 
federal  jurisdictions,  and  has  likewise  made  his  example 
stimulating  to  a large  community  as  a rancher  and 
farmer.  But  the  interests  and  value  of  his  career  are 
chiefly  due  to  his  varied  relations  as  a public  leader, 
though  seldom  in  official  positions,  among  the  Indian 
people  in  Northeastern  Oklahoma  whose  heritage  has 
made  them  the  wealthiest  people  in  the  world,  and  no 
one  man  has  fought  more  indefatigably,  earnestly  and 
unselfishly  to  safeguard  that  very  heritage. 

Though  he  is  the  son  of  a white  man,  his  birth  occurred 
on  the  wide  open  prairie  in  the  far  Northwest,  hundreds 
of  miles  from  the  outposts  of  civilization,  in  what  was 
then  known  vaguely  as  Dakota  Territory,  in  1862.  The 
Palmers  were  prominent  frontiersmen  in  Missouri  and 
the  western  territories,  and  his  grandfather  was  a phy- 
sician of  excellent  ability  and  high  standing.  His 
father  was  an  early  owner  of  freighting  outfits  from 
Dakota  to  Oregon.  He  married  a Sioux  Indian  woman, 
but  the  mother  died  at  the  birth  of  John  F.  Palmer.  He 
was  reared  for  the  first  few  years  of  his  life  among 


2048 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Indian  relatives  in  Dakota  Territory,  but  in  1869,  when 
seven  years  of  age,  he  was  taken  by  his  father  to  the 
latter’s  sister  at  Port  Scott,  Kansas,  and  soon  after- 
ward his  father  placed  him  in  the  old  Catholic  school, 
known  as  the  Osage  Mission,  at  what  is  now  St.  Paul, 
Kansas.  That  school  was  conducted  by  the  Jesuit 
Fathers,  chief  among  whom  was  the  noted  priest  of 
the  Southwest,  Kev.  John  Schoenmacher.  Two  or  three 
years  after  he  had  been  put  in  this  school  the  news 
came  that  his  father  had  been  killed  in  Oregon,  where 
he  owned  a cattle  train.  John  F.  Palmer  remained  at 
the  school  at  Osage  Mission  until  1876,  and  was  then 
adopted  into  the  family  of  Samuel  Bevinue,  a member 
of  the  Osage  Tribe.  He  accompanied  his  foster  father 
to  the  Osage  Reservation  in  what  is  now  the  State  of 
Oklahoma,  and  they  all  settled  on  Salt  Creek  twenty-five 
miles  west  of  the  present  City  of  Pawhuska,  where  they 
opened  one  of  the  first  farms  in  that  region. 

His  independent  career  outside  of  school  and  home 
influences  may  be  said  to  have  begun  in  1881  when 
he  went  out  as  a cowboy  in  the  employ  of  different 
outfits  through  the  Chiekasha  Nation  and  Northern 
Texas.  That  was  his  regular  occupation  until  1887.  His 
foster  father,  Samuel  Bevinue,  died  in  1883,  and  in 
1887  Mr.  Palmer  returned  home  to  aid  the  family  in 
managing  the  farm. 

In  the  meantime  Mr.  Palmer  had  been  formally 
adopted  as  a member  of  the  Osage  Tribe  of  Indians. 
This  adoption  required  a procedure  of  an  interesting 
and  somewhat  impressive  character,  including  his  appear- 
ance before  the  council  of  Osage  chiefs  and  head  men, 
prominent  among  whom  were  such  men  as  Pawnee 
Numpahshe  or  Governor  Joe  and  Black  Dog,  Wahtinkah, 
Strike  Axe,  Gus  Strike  Axe,  Alvin  Wood,  Samuel 
Bevinue,  Ogeese  Captain,  Cyprian  Tayrien,  and  Ne-kah- 
wah-she-tan-kah,  and  others.  All  of  these  chiefs  and 
headmen  are  now  deceased  excepting  Cyprian  Tayrien 
and  Ne-kah-wah-she-tan-kah,  prominent  old  residents 
near  Gray  Horse,  Oklahoma. 

On  June  11,  1888,  Mr.  Palmer  married  Martha  A. 
Plomondon,  a member  of  the  Osage  Tribe.  To  their 
marriage  were  born  six  children:  Mabel  (Dot),  John 
E.,  Mary  E.,  Clementina,  Martha  M.  and  Marguerite. 
All  of  these  children  are  living  in  Osage  County  except 
John  E.,  who  was  drowned  in  Clear  Creek  when  eleven 
years  of  age. 

After  his  marriage  Mr.  Palmer  engaged  in  the  regular 
practice  of  law  under  the  old  Osage  Tribal  Govern- 
ment. In  the  meantime  he  had  studied  American  law, 
and  after  the  tribal  form  of  government  was  abolished 
by  department  order,  continued  his  studies  in  different 
offices,  but  chiefly  in  the  office  of  W.  S.  Fitzpatrick  of 
Sedan,. Kansas,  who  formerly  was  a United  States  com- 
missioner, located  at  Pawhuska,  and  is  now  serving  as 
general  counsel  for  the  Prairie  Oil  & Gas  Company 
of  Kansas  and  Oklahoma.  While  in  Mr.  Fitzpatrick’s 
office  Mr.  Palmer  was  admitted  to  the  bar  by  Judge 
Aikman,  then  judge  of  District  Court  in  Chautauqua  and 
Elk  counties,  Kansas.  For  several  years  Mr.  Palmer 
continued  to  practice  law  in  the  state  and  federal  courts, 
but  about  1912  discontinued  this  as  a profession  and 
has  since  given  his  entire  time  to  his  farming  and  stock 
raising  interests.  In  fact,  farming  and  stock  raising 
has  been  his  chief  business  for  fully  a quarter  of  a cen- 
tury. 

Another  distinction  in  the  career  of  Mr.  Palmer 
remains  to  be  noted.  In  1898  he  enlisted  as  a volunteer 
private  in  Company  K of  the  First  Territorial  Volunteer 
Infantry  for  service  in  the  Spanish- American  War.  This 
famous  regiment  it  will  be  recalled  was  recruited  largely 
from  the  four  territories  of  the  United  States  at  that 


time,  Oklahoma,  Indian  Territory,  Arizona  and  New 
Mexico.  Mr.  Palmer  was  the  only  volunteer  from  Osage 
County  in  this  splendid  regiment  of  frontiersmen  and 
rough  riders.  Several  others  enlisted  from  the  Osage 
Tribe  and  went  into  other  regiments,  but  he  was  the 
only  one  in  the  First  Territorial.  He  remained  with  the 
regiment  in  its  arduous  service  during  the  actual  period 
of  hostilities,  and  received  his  honorable  discharge  Febru- 
ary 9,  1899. 

Mr.  Palmer  is  a deep  student  of  politics  in  the  better 
sense  of  that  word,  and  has  always  been  particularly 
active  and  influential  in  public  questions  as  they  related 
to  his  own  people.  Though  a democrat,  he  has  never  held 
office,  but  has  served  on  various  delegations.  He  was 
chairman  of  the  first  important  statehood  convention 
held  at  Oklahoma  City.  In  practically  every  national, 
state  and  local  campaign  since  1896  he  has  been  on 
the  stump,  both  in  Oklahoma  and  Kansas,  and  in  this 
connection  there  may  be  stated  another  well  earned  dis- 
tinction, that  Mr.  Palmer  is  known  as  the  most  eloquent 
Indian  in  Oklahoma.  In-  the  course  of  a speech  at 
Pawhuska  a few  years  ago,  Senator  Gore  referred  to 
Mr.  Palmer  as  ‘ ‘ the  most  eloquent  Indian  alive.  ’ ’ 

He  served  as  the  first  master  of  Wah-Shah-She  Lodge, 
No.  110,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  at  Paw- 
huska, and  is  also  affiliated  with  the  Royal  Arch  Chap- 
ter, has  taken  the  various  degrees  in  the  Scottish  Rite, 
and  is  a member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  He  was 
reared  in  the  faith  of  the  Catholic  Church,  and  his  wife 
and  children  are  all  members  of  that  denomination. 

Twenty-five  years  of  his  life  have  been  spent  in  the 
active  service  of  his  chosen  people.  He  probably  would 
find  it  difficult  to  recall  the  number  of  times  he  has 
gone  to  Washington  either  individually  or  as  a member 
of  delegations  during  the  past  twenty-five  years  for 
the  purpose  of  representing  the  Osage  people  in  import- 
ant matters  under  the  jurisdiction  of  the  department  of 
Indian  affairs  or  calling  for  a consultation  with  com- 
mittees of  Congress,  or  the  President.  In  this  time  he 
has  stood  shoulder  to  shoulder  with  the  public  spirited 
men  of  the  Osages  in  their  fight  on  Indian  traders, 
Indian  agents,  big  cattle  interests  and  the  still  bigger 
oil  interests  of  recent  times.  He  is  even  now  engaged 
in  what  appears  to  be  the  final  effort  to  wrest  the 
richest  oil  and  gas  country  in  the  world  from  the  monop- 
olistic control  and  domination  of  the  Standard  Oil 
Company  and  its  various  subsidiary  corporations.  Mr. 
Palmer  has  courageously  fought  a fight  in  the  interests 
of  all  his  fellow  citizens  to  secure  the  full  benefits  of 
this  marvelous  aggregate  of  wealth,  against  which  the 
plots  of  the  most  cunning  and  brilliant  legal  talent  have 
been  devised.  Particular  reference  is  made  to  the 
blanket  lease  which  would  include  a territory  of 
approximately  680,000  acres. 

At  the  same  time  Mr.  Palmer  has  for  years  favored 
the  allotment  in  severalty  of  the  Osage  lands,  believing 
that  by  such  allotment  individual  initiative  would  be 
encouraged  and  a great  impulse  given  to  the  actual 
development  and  improvement  of  the  rich  agricultural 
lands  included  in  the  Osage  holdings.  He  has  worked 
not  only  for  raising  the  standards  of  agriculture,  but 
also  for  the  building  of  schools  and  churches,  and  has 
advocated  the  policy  of  inducing  farmers  from  other 
states  to  come  in  and  add  their  experience  and  enter- 
prise to  the  Osage  people  in  developing  their  lands 
Several  times  he  has  appeared  before  the  State  Board 
of  Agriculture  in  favor  of  the  small  farmer  and  stock#® 
man  as  against  the  big  cattle  interests,  and  has  never 
failed  to  secure  the  object  for  which  he  was  working. 
All  of  this  service,  it  is  perhaps  needless  to  state,  Mr. 
Palmer  has  given  absolutely  free  to  his  people.  He  has 


f the 


Mr, ; 
bade 
ley  ; 
Ifayet 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2049 


never  accepted  a fee  in  return  for  any  of  his  work  as 
an  attorney  or  advocate  in  behalf  of  the  Osage  country 
and  its  people  as  a whole,  and  lienee  it  would  be  diffi- 
cult to  find,  going  through  Oklahoma  in  all  directions, 
a man  of  more  fixed  ideals  of  loyalty,  of  sturdy  honesty, 
with  more  directness  and  simplicity  of  character  and 
with  finer  natural  abilities  in  mind  and  eloquence  and 
in  rare  powers  of  judgment  than  John  F.  Palmer. 


Edward  S.  McCabe,  the  superintendent  of  the  city 
schools  of  Kingfisher,  is  an  educator  of  proved  ability 
and  long  experience.  Several  things  make  his  record 
one  of  interesting  and  distinctive  character.  The  four- 
teen years  he  has  been  superintendent  of  the  Kingfisher 
city  schools  constitute  the  longest  term  in  the  same 
superintendency  in  the  State  of  Oklahoma.  Another 
distinction  is  that  he  has  been  continuously  in  school 
work  in  Oklahoma  since  1893,  in  just  one  county,  King- 
fisher County.  He  is  a pioneer  settler  in  the  Cherokee 
Strip  and  in  point  of  continuous  service  one  of  the 
.oldest  school  men  in  the  territory  and  state. 

Edward  S.  McCabe  was  born  at  Newton  County, 
Indiana,  on  September  11,  1870,  and  acquired  his  com- 
mon school  education  in  Gentry  and  Harrison  counties 
»-  jin  Northwest  Missouri.  His  formal  entrance  into  school 
p-  work  was  preceded  by  a thorough  course  at  the  Chilli- 
le’  iothe  Normal  School  in  Missouri,  from  which  he  gradu- 
;as  a, ted,  and  he  had  an  experience  of  three  terms  in  charge 
ife  3f  country  schools  before  coming  to  Oklahoma.  In  the 
spring  of  1893  he  accompanied  his  father,  S.  L.  McCabe, 
tie  ;o  Kingfisher  County,  and  in  September  of  that  year 
;hey  participated  in  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip, 
has  ocating  in  Garfield  County. 

ta  Mr.  McCabe's  first  school  work  in  Oklahoma  was 
™ legun  at  Wandel,  where  he  taught  three  terms.  He 
0It;  hen  went  to  Kingfisher  and  had  charge  of  the  high  . 
t of  ehool  as  principal  but  resigned  as  the  close  of  the  first 
»■  ear  in  order  to  enter  the  State  University  at  Norman, 
else  phere  he  continued  higher  studies  for  two  years.  He 
text  took  charge  of  the  Hennessey  public  schools  as 
to.  uperintendent,  and  during  the  four  years  there  was 
irgely  instrumental  in  placing  the  school  system  of  that 
!a?e(*  ity  on  a high  plane  of  efficiency. 

: tlie  In  the  fall  of  1902  Mr.  McCabe  was  elected  superin- 
0110Pi  indent  of  the  Kingfisher  city  schools,  succeeding 
1 ® Jharles  H.  Roberts,  who  had  been  elected  to  the  chair 
f history  at  the  Central  State  Normal  at  Edmond.  His 
erests  rork  at  Kingfisher  will  probably  constitute  his  best 
its  mnument  as  an  educator.  A fine  proof  of  his  efficiency 
1 tie,  i directing  the  city  school  system  is  found  in  the 
t have  nanimous  support  given  him  as  to  his  work.  At  each 
o the  jeurring  annual  election  since  he  was  first  made  superin- 
iy  indent  at  Kingfisher  he  has  received  the  entire  vote  of 
le  Board  of  Education  for  superintendent,  and  though 
iavoied.  ie  board ’s  personnel  has  frequently  changed  there  has 
■lieving  3Ver  been  a member  who  has  opposed  his  election, 
raid  K Mr.  McCabe  has  been  a constant  student  and  is  as 
actual luch  in  the  van  of  educational  progress  in  Oklahoma 


aw  as  he  was  twenty  years  ago.  He  graduated  from 
Ingfisher  College  in  1910,  and  during  the  past  five  years 
is  done  post-graduate  work  at  the  University  of  Chicago, 
e is  well  known  in  school  circles  all  over  the  State  of 
klahoma  and  has  been  vice  president  of  the  State 
aehers’  Association,  and  was  twice  elected  secretary- 
easurer  and  was  twice  on  the  executive  committee  of 
e association.  He  has  also  served  as  vice  president 
the  Missouri  Teachers’  Club. 

Mr.  McCabe  married  at  Hennessey  in  May,  1901,  Miss 
aude  Binding,  daughter  of  Charles  and  Kate  Binding. 
He  bas  iey  have  two  sons,  Edward  Earl  and  Charles 
ifayette. 


Rufus  Lafayette  Slaughter.  The  present  superin- 
tendent of  schools  at  Macomb,  though  a young  man  of 
only  thirty  years,  has  been  identified  with  educational 
work  more  or  less  for  fully  fourteen  years.  He  did  his 
first  school  work  in  Oklahoma  in  1910,  and  is  one  of  the 
highly  competent  educators  of  the  state. 

The  family  to  which  he  belongs  came  from  England 
to  Virginia  in  colonial  times.  One  of  his  ancestors  was 
Philip  Slaughter,  who  served  in  the  Revolutionary  war. 
Still  another  ancestor  was  a colonial  governor  in  North 
Carolina.  Professor  Slaughter  was  born  at  Booneville, 
Arkansas,  November  21,  1885.  His  father,  W.  L. 
Slaughter,  who  was  born  in  Memphis,  Tennessee,  in  1857, 
is  still  living  at  Booneville.  He  spent  his  early  career 
in  Memphis,  at  Newport,  Arkansas,  but  when  still  young 
established  his  home  at  Booneville,  where  he  married  and 
where  for  a number  of  years  he  has  been  successfully 
practicing  as  a lawyer.  In  politics  he  is  a democrat 
and  has  filled  the  office  of  county  judge.  He  is  a mem- 
ber of  the  Missionary  Baptist  Church,  the  Masonic  fra- 
ternity and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 
W.  L.  Slaughter  married  Dora  Walker,  who  was  born 
at  Booneville,  Arkansas,  in  1866.  Their  children  are: 
Frank  L.,  a traveling  salesman  whose  home  is  at  Jones- 
boro, Arkansas;  Robert  N.,  a teacher  at  Jonesboro; 
Rufus  L.;  and  H.  S.,  who  is  a teacher  at  Saratago  Ark- 
ansas. 

Rufus  L.  Slaughter  grew  up  in  his  native  village  of 
Booneville,  attended  the  public  schools  there,  graduating 
from  high  school  in  1901.  His  first  work  as  a teacher 
was  as  principal  at  Waldron,  Arkansas,  where  he  re- 
mained two  years.  For  another  year  he  was  principal  of 
the  school  at  Cauthron,  Arkansas.  His  higher  education 
was  continued  in  the  Ouachita  College  at  Arkadelphia, 
where  he  spent  two  years,  finishing  the  sophomore  course 
in  the  normal  school.  Leaving  educational  work  for  a 
time,  from  1906  to  1910,  Mr.  Slaughter  was  in  the  rail- 
way mail  service  with  a run  between  Memphis,  Tennes- 
see, and  McAlester,  Oklahoma. 

In  1910  he  came  to  Wilburton,  Oklahoma,  to  take  the 
prineipalship  of  the  local  schools  for  one  year.  During 
1911-12  he  was  in  charge  of  the  schools  at  Heavener, 
Oklahoma,  and  after  being  out  of  school  work  again 
for  a year  became  superintendent  of  schools  at  Asher 
during  1913-15,  for  two  school  years.  In  the  fall  of 
1915  he  became  superintendent  at  Macomb. 

In  politics  he  is  a democrat,  is  a member  of  the 
Christian  Church,  is  affiliated  with  Logan  Lodge  No.  408, 
Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  is  past  high  priest 
of  Van  Hoose  Chapter  No.  Ill,  Royal  Arch  Masons; 
and  is  a member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows  and  the  Woodmen  of  the  World.  He  is  active 
and  well  known  in  educational  organizations,  a mem- 
ber of  both  the  county  and  state  teachers  ’ associa- 
tions, and  was  chairman  of  the  Pottawatomie  County 
Teachers’  Association  in  1913  and  1914.  In  1912  at 
Fort  Smith,  Arkansas,  Mr.  Slaughter  married  Miss 
Eleanor  Hull.  Her  father  was  the  late  H.  W.  Hull, 
who  for  a number  of  years  was  a machinist  in  the 
employ  of  the  Kansas  City  Southern  Railway  on  the 
Heavener  division. 

Daniel  K.  Cunningham.  In  the  settlement  and 
development  of  Oklahoma  thousands  of  men  revealed 
their  real  character  and  ability.  Probably  much  the 
greater  part  of  those  who  came  at  the  opening  were 
unable  to  stand  the  testing  and  sifting  processes,  and 
have  long  since  settled  down  into  obscurity  or  have 
gone  to  other  regions.  Among  the  hosts  of  men  who 
have  had  the  opportunities  of  pioneers  comparatively 
a handful  can  be  classed  as  “men  of  light  and  leading,’’ 
men  who  have  been  persistent  in  their  ambitions,  have 
worked  steadily  for  the  fulfillment  of  ideals,  and  from 


2050 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


first  to  last  have  exercised  a great  force  in  the  upbuild- 
ing of  the  territory  and  state.  One  of  the  most  con- 
spicuous of  these  lives  at  Kingfisher  and  is  an  attorney, 
one  of  the  three  still  in  practice  out  of  the  150  or  more 
who  arrived  at  the  town  site  within  a few  days  of 
the  opening  in  1889.  Daniel  K.  Cunningham  secured 
and  maintained  against  all  opposition  one  of  the  first 
locations  near  the  land  office  at  Kingfisher.  He  has 
practiced  law  and  represented  hundreds  of  clients  in 
the  courts  of  the  old  territory  and  the  new  state.  But 
perhaps  his  chief  claim  to  distinction  has  been  his  broad 
public  spirit,  his  vision  of  the  future,  and  his  untiring 
work  in  behalf  of  his  home  city.  He  is  one  of  the  men 
who  has  supplied  faith  and  courage  through  all  the  years 
of  prosperity  and  vicissitudes  since  Oklahoma  first 
became  the  home  of  civilized  men. 

Daniel  K.  Cunningham  is  a Canadian  by  birth,  born 
in  County  Kent  on  a farm  in  Ontario  January  17,  1854. 
When  he  was  seventeen  years  of  age  he  went  into  Michi- 
gan, and  for  three  years  was  identified  with  the  lumber 
industry  when  that  business  was  at  its  height  in  Western 
Michigan.  He  served  as  a lumber  inspector  at  mills  in 
Muskegon,  Whitehall  and  other  places.  Those  towns 
were  then  among  the  most  important  lumber  centers  in 
the  world.  Muskegon  alone  operated  forty-five  large 
mills,  and  all  the  country  back  of  that  city  for  miles 
was  one  vast  pine  forest.  The  panic  of  1873  caused  a 
severe  decline  in  the  industry,  and  about  that  time 
Mr.  Cunningham  returned  to  Canada  and  gave  serious 
attention  to  the  acquiring  of  a liberal  education.  He 
attended  the  high  school  and  college  at  Gault  and 
Hamilton,  and  spent  five  years  in  preparing  for  the 
legal  profession  in  the  Upper  Canada  Law  Association 
at  Toronto.  He  gave  close  attention  to  his  studies  in 
a private  office,  and  passed  the  required  annual  examina- 
tion conducted  by  the  association  above  named,  until 
his  final  examination  in  1880  admitted  him  to  Osgoode 
TTall  at  Toronto — a body  corresponding  to  the  famous 
Tnna  of  Court  in  London.  Thus  he  became  a full-fledged 
attorney,  solicitor  and  barrister.  Much  of  the  five  years 
of  study  and  experience  had  been  in  the  office  of  Richard 
Baily,  Q.  C.,  of  London,  Ontario. 

Mr.  Cunningham  began  practice  in  his  native  county 
and  remained  there  until  1885.  He  then  removed  to 
the  United  States,  locating  in  McPherson  County, 
Kansas,  and  was  soon  in  possession  of  a promising 
practice.  It  was  with  little  thought  or  desire  to  remain 
in  Oklahoma  that  he  responded  to  the  persuasion  of  his 
friends  to  accompany  them  and  take  part  in  the  long- 
looked  for  opening.  He  had  just  completed  an  arduous 
term  of  court,  and  being  in  need  of  a vacation  he  con- 
sented to  accompany  a party  of  friends,  and  while  en 
route  became  infected  with  the  prevailing  fever  which 
possessed  the  many  thousands  of  emigrants  to  the  new 
land  of  promise.  On  reaching  the  outskirts  of  the  terri- 
tory he  decided  to  enter  and  secure  if  possible  a home- 
stead. The  United  States  had  designated  the  location  of 
a land  office  at  the  present  site  of  Kingfisher,  and  with 
this  point  in  view  he  set  his  stake  at  a point  about  half 
a mile  distant  from  the  office.  His  reasoning  was  that 
he  could  thus  secure  a quarter  section  adjoining  the 
town  site.  At  this  time  no  town  site  had  been  provided 
for  by  the  Government.  His  stake  was  within  a few 
paces  of  the  northwest  corner  of  his  tract.  He  was 
one  of  the  crowd  of  thousands  of  others  who  were  con- 
gregated in  the  same  locality,  but  the  land  office  for  filing 
of  claims  was  not  opened  until  April  23rd.  At  2 o’clock 
in  the  morning  Mr.  Cunningham  found  four  men  on  the 
steps  of  the  land  office,  and  a line  was  quickly  formed. 
By  9 o’clock,  when  the  office  opened  for  the  filing  of 
the  first  claim,  there  were  probably  4,000  men  in  line, 


and  about  15,000  people  on  or  near  the  possible  town-  j 
site.  Mr.  Cunningham ’s  papers  for  filing  were  not  at  ] 
first  received,  and  in  fact  not  for  about  thirty  days,  j 
until  considerable  correspondence  had  passed  between  | 
the  local  authorities  and  Washington  and  instructions  , 
had  issued  from  the  central  Government.  Many  others  i 
tried  to  secure  this  same  land,  and  thus  there  ensued 
contests  extending  over  a period  of  two  years.  Mr. 
Cunningham ’s  claim  was  finally  sustained.  In  the  i 
meantime  he  built  a cabin  and  made  it  his  home  in  order 
nob  to  lose  any  rights  of  possession.  At  one  time  the 
contention  became  so  bitter  that  a United  States  officer 
was  secured  to  remove  his  house  beyond  the  borders  of 
the  land.  This  act  was  subsequently  repudiated  by  the 
Government,  the  deputy  was  dismissed,  and  the  same 
man  who  had  removed  the  house  placed  it  back  on  its 
original  site.  A fence  was  also  constructed  for  the 
purpose  of  shutting  out  this  determined  claimant,  but 
with  a knowledge  of  the  location  of  survey  lines,  he  ( 
subsequently  built  a far  better  residence,  in  fact,  what  i 
was  at  that  time  the  best  house  in  the  vicinity. 

Mr.  Cunningham  has  many  interesting  recollections 
of  those  pioneer  days  in  and  about  Kingfisher.  From 
the  first  he  showed  his  public  spirit  and  willingness  to  i 
co-operate  with  and  lead  his  fellow  men  to  important 
improvements  and  undertakings.  It  was  generally 
understood  that  the  city  blocks  should  be  300  feet 
square,  and  accordingly  stakes  were  set  as  near  the 
outer  boundaries  as  could  be  determined.  Naturally 
those  stakes  which  were  subsequently  found  to  be  in  the  1 
street  were  thrown  out  and  the  claims  thus  instituted 
were  lost.  On  the  23rd  day  of  April  public  meetings' 
were  held  which  brought  about  the  organization  of  two 
city  governments.  One  was  at  the  north  and  the  other  i 
at  the  south  of  the  land  office.  To  one  organization; 
was  given  the  name  Kingfisher  and  to  the  other  Lisbon.. 
Each  village  chose  boards  of  aldermen  and  mayor  and 
other  officials,  and  thus  on  one  day  two  towns  came  into< 
existence.  The  dual  city  continued  for  about  two  years 
until  they  were  consolidated,  and  the  name  carried  by 
the  land  office  was  made  the  title  of  the  larger  city. 
There  was  no  law  in  Oklahoma  Territory  except  suchl 
as  emanated  from  the  people  themselves  and  from  the 
rules  of  the  Federal  authorities  until  1890,  when  the 
Government  announced  as  a code  a compilation  from  the 
statutes  of  Kansas,  Nebraska  and  Indiana  which  should 
be  applicable  to  the  new  country  of  Oklahoma.  As  is 
well  known,  all  the  later  openings  of  Oklahoma  Terri- 
tory were  much  better  systematized,  town  sites  were 
established  in  advance,  a system  of  registration  anC 
drawing  was  formulated,  and  in  general  these  latei 
openings  were  characterized  by  much  less  friction  anc 
bitterness. 

In  the  very  early  days  of  Kingfisher  about  150  attor 
neys  did  more  or  less  law  practice,  and  as  already  statec 
only  three  of  these  are  still  active  members  of  the  bar 
Mr.  Cunningham  was  also  a leader  in  the  movemem 
when  Kingfisher  became  an  aspirant  for  the  territoria 
capital  location.  He  and  two  other  men  were  a commit 
tee  appointed  to  represent  Kingfisher  in  the  contest  fo 
the  capital.  They  were  in  constant  attendance  at  th 
Legislature  from  August  until  December,  when  afte 
its  second  passage,  the  bill  making  Kingfisher  the  capita 
was  finally  vetoed  by  Governor  George  W.  Steele. 

Mr.  Cunningham  has  added  part  of  his  land  to  th 
city  in  subdivisions  and  additions,  and  most  of  thes 
lots  have  already  been  sold.  He  has  made  himself 
factor  in  both  local  and  state  affairs  during  the  develoj 
ment  of  Oklahoma,  and  has  been  one  of  the  dominar 
influences  in  the  progress  of  Kingfisher.  Some  of  hi 
ambitions  have  become  realities,  while  other  are  still  i 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2051 


process  of  development.  For  years,  both  in  season  and 
out  of  season,  Mr.  Cunningham  has  labored  for  a railroad 
that  would  give  direct  communication  from  great  grain 
and  coal  fields  north  and  west  of  Kingfisher  with  the 
Gulf  of  Mexico.  At  times  it  seemed  as  if  the  project 
was  in  the  way  of  direct  fulfillment.  Right  of  way 
over  hundreds  of  miles  had  been  secured,  a charter  worth 
a possible  fortune  was  kept  alive,  and  considerable  grad- 
ing done.  However,  opposition  has  developed  from 
various  sources,  and  some  of  this  opposition  has  been 
apparently  incomprehensible.  An  influence  has  been 
exerted  even  upon  local  men  so  as  to  make  them  stand 
against  the  enterprise,  which  clearly  meant  the  greatest 
good  to  themselves  and  to  their  city.  Kingfisher  was 
for  some  years  one  of  the  world ’s  greatest  primary  wheat 
markets.  Grain  fields  for  100  miles  to  the  west  marketed 
their  products  at  Kingfisher.  Curiously  enough,  a num- 
ber of  local  men  argued,  very  shortsightedly,  that  if 
the  proposed  railroad  should  be  built  it  would  mean  the 
establishment  of  a number  of  new  towns  along  the  line 
and  closer  to  the  sources  of  production.  Thus  for  the 
sake  of  a temporary  good  they  were  willing  to  sacrifice 
the  great  price  which  would  eventually  bring  permanent 
prosperity  to  the  city.  Other  insidious  influences  have 
also  operated  to  prevent  the  construction  of  the  road. 
Financiers  who  had  previously  stated  their  approval  of 
the  plan  and  were  apparently  ready  to  finance  the  enter- 
prise mysteriously  and  suddenly  lost  interest.  With  all 
these  hindrances  Mr.  Cunningham  still  retains  faith  in 
having  that  line  built,  and  it  is  his  greatest  ambition 
to  make  Kingfisher  a great  entrepot  for  the  surround- 
ing district  even  as  it  once  was.  Mr.  Cunningham ’s 
name  appears  in  perhaps  more  important  cases  than 
any  other  lawyer  in  the  state. 

Edwakd  C.  Campbell.  One  of  the  youngest  school 
superintendents  of  the  state  is  Edward  C.  Campbell,  at 
the  head  of  the  public  schools  at  Asher.  Mr.  Campbell 
is  only  twenty-three  years  of  age,  but  already  has  a 
record  which  shows  his  proficiency  as  a teacher  and  school 
executive. 

j Born  in  Dubois  County,  Indiana,  March  11,  1893, 
Edward  C.  Campbell  got  his  early  education  in  the 
schools  of  his  native  county  and  was  reared  on  a farm. 
From  the  district  schools  he  went  to  the  county  seat  at 
Jasper,  and  graduated  from  the  high  school  there  in 
1912.  After  one  year  in  the  Indiana  State  Normal  School 
at  Terre  Haute,  he  took  charge  of  a school  in  Dubois 
County,  and  remained  in  active  educational  work  there 
for  three  years.  In  the  spring  of  1915,  with  a view  to 
identifying  himself  with  educational  work  in  the  State 
of  Oklahoma,  Mr.  Campbell  entered  the  Central  State 
Normal  at  Edmond.  In  September,  1913,  he  began  his 
duties  as  principal  of  schools  at  Asher.  Mr.  Campbell 
is  a democrat  in  politics  and  a member  of  the  Chris- 
tian Church. 

His  parents  are  Daniel  and  Rosa  (Zehr)  Campbell. 
The  Campbells  emigrated  from  Scotland  to  the  Province 
of  Ulster,  Ireland,  during  Cromwell’s  time.  From  North; 
era  Ireland  they  came  to  South  Carolina,  and  one  of  the 
family  commanded  a brigade  in  the  battle  of  King’s 
Mountain  during  the  Revolutionary  war.  Mr.  Campbell’s 
paternal  grandfather,  Horace  Campbell,  was  born  in 
North  Carolina,  became  an  early  settler  in  Indiana,  and 
died  in  Orange  County  of  that  state  in  1897.  By  occupa- 
tion he  was  a carpenter  and  farmer,  and  during  the 
Civil  war  he  was  a Union  volunteer  and  helped  to  repel 
Morgan’s  raids.  The  maternal  grandfather,  William 
Zehr,  was  born  in  Prussia,  emigrated  to  America  and 
settled  at  Cincinnati,  and  from  there  moved  to  Dubois 
County,  Indiana,  about  1859.  He  was  bora  in  1837  and 


is  still  living  in  Indiana.  While  a young  man  in 
Prussia  he  had  a thorough  military  training,  and  during 
the  American  Civil  war  he  served  four  years  in  the 
Union  army,  being  all  through  the  campaign  of  Sherman 
into  Tennessee  and  Georgia  and  following  that  great 
leader  on  his  march  to  the  sea. 

Daniel  Campbell,  father  of  Edward  C.,  was  born  in 
Washington  County,  Indiana,  in  1855  and  was  quite 
young  when  the  family  moved  to  Dubois  County.  There 
he  married,  and  has  since  followed  farming  and  stock- 
raising.  He  is  a democrat,  and  is  a member  and  has 
served  as  trustee  of  the  Christian  Church  and  is  affiliated 
with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  His  wife, 
Rosa  Zehr,  was  born  in  Saxony,  Germany,  in  1858,  but 
since  infancy  he  has  lived  in  this  country.  Their  chil- 
dren are:  Charles,  a senior  in  the  Central  State  Normal 

School  at  Edmond,  Oklahoma;  Sophia,  who  graduated 
from  a business  college  at  Louisville,  Kentucky,  in  1913, 
and  is  now  a stenographer  for  the  Falls  City  Bottling- 
Works  at  Louisville ; Edward  C. ; Frank,  who  lives  on  the 
farm  with  his  parents  back-in  Indiana ; Clarence,  a sopho- 
more in  the  high  school  at  Jasper,  Indiana;  and  Emil, 
who  is  in  the  eighth  grade  of  the  public  schools.- 

John  Collins.  During  the  greater  part  of  a lifetime 
of  fifty-six  years  John  Collins  was  identified  with  the 
country  and  people  of  the  Osages.  He  was  one  of  the 
pioneer  farmers  and  stock  men  in  the  locality  of  Avant, 
and  his  years  were  spent  with  accomplishments  not  only 
from  a business  standpoint,  but  also  in  conferring  a 
benefit  upon  the  community  in  which  he  lived.  He 
gave  service  as  a member  of  the  board  of  county  com- 
missioners, and  in  many  other  ways  his  name  was  well 
known  throughout  Osage  County. 

While  a resident  of  Kansas  and,  Northern  Okla- 
homa from  boyhood,  John  Collins  was  born  in  Cumber- 
land, Guernsey  County,  Ohio,  October  15,  1859.  John 
and  Nellie  (Kelley)  Collins,  his  parents,  were  born  in 
County  Galway,  Ireland,  were  married  there  at  the  ages 
of  seventeen  and  eighteen,  respectively,  and  took  their 
honeymoon  on  a sailing  vessel  bound  for  the  United 
States.  They  landed  after  many  weeks  voyage,  and  for 
a number  of  years  lived  in  Ohio.  When  John  Collins 
was  twelve  years  of  age  his  parents  removed  to  Inde- 
pendence, Kansas,  and  six  years  later  they  went  along 
with  the  Osage  people  into  the  Osage  Nation  of  Indian 
Territory,  locating  in  the  same  general  locality  where 
John  Collins  lived  until  his  death.  His  father  died  when 
about  thirty-three  years  of  age,  and  his  mother  passed 
away  April  3,  1914,  aged  eighty-six.  John  Collins,  the 
elder,  was  a soldier  in  the  Civil  war,  enlisting  in  the 
One  Hundred  and  Twenty-second  Ohio  Volunteer 
Infantry,  and  was  twice  wounded,  though  out  of  active 
service  only  a short  time  on  that  account,  and  was 
present  with  Grant’s  army  at  Lee’s  surrender  at  Appo- 
mattox. Outside  of  his  military  service  his  years  were 
spent  in  farming  and  stock  raising.  He  was  a member 
of  the  Catholic  Church  and  a democrat  in  polities.  His 
six  children  are : Mrs.  Mary  Clark,  who  lives  in  Chicago ; 
James,  who  died  at  the  age  of  forty  years,  leaving  a 
widow  and  one  child;  Ellen  Shultz,  who  lives  with  her 
family  in  Illinois;  Charles  W.,  who  died  unmarried  at  the 
age  of  thirty ; and  Richard,  who  was  killed  while  handling 
a horse  at  the  age  of  twenty- six. 

From  the  time  he  was  eighteen  years  of  age  Mr. 
Collins  lived  in  the  present  County  of  Osage.  He  grew 
up  on  a farm,  had  only  fair  opportunities  to  attend 
school,  and  gained  a thorough  training  in  the  vocation 
which  became  his  life  work,  that  of  farming  and  stock 
raising.  His  wife  and  two  sons  are  both  members  of  the 
old  Osage  tribe,  and  their  allotments  of  land  make  a 


2052 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


total  of  about  1,900  acres,  all  located  within  the  vicinity 
of  Avant.  They  reside  in  an  excellent  home,  and  have 
about  400  acres  out  of  the  three  allotments  under  culti- 
vation, the  remainder  being  in  pasture  lands.  Over  this 
large  estate  Mr.  Collins  for  many  years  until  his  death, 
on  the  30th  of  November,  1915,  supervised  his  farming  . 
and  stock  raising  activities,  and  accomplished  a more 
than  ordinary  success. 

As  to  politics  he  was  a republican  voter  from  the 
time  he  came  to  his  majority.  For  three  years  he  was 
a member  of  the  board  of  county  commissioners  after 
statehood,  and  from  the  time  Oklahoma  became  a state 
was  continuously  a member  of  the  local  school  board. 
On  June  7,  1895,  Mr.  Collins  married  Lulu  Payne.  She 
was  born  in  the  Cherokee  Nation,  lost  her  parents  when 
she  was  an  infant  and  was  reared  in  the  home  of  her 
mother’s  brother,  Judge  T.  L.  Rogers,  the  distinguished 
citizen  of  the  Osage  tribe,  of  whom  a sketch  is  published 
on  other  pages  of  this  work.  Two  children  were  born 
to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Collins : John  W.  and  Roy  W. 

L.  H.  Kerr.  Since  the  establishment  of  the  com- 
mission form  of  government  at  Enid  in  1908  the  local 
citizens  have  exercised  a commendable  discretion  and 
discrimination  in  selecting  men  to  fill  the  chief  offices 
of  responsibility.  It  has  been  the  custom  to  choose  men 
whose  previous  experience  with  business  would  give  them 
special  efficiency  for  their  respective  departments,  and 
as  a result  of  this  care  in  selecting  officials  the  City  of 
Enid  has  probably  gone  forward  as  rapidly  in  general 
municipal  development  during  the  last  ten  years  as  any 
other  community  in  the  Southwest.  It  was  due  to  this 
careful  discrimination  that  L.  H.  Kerr  was  selected  as 
commissioner  of  streets,  alleys  and  public  property  in 
April,  1913.  The  capable  manner  in  which  Mr.  Kerr 
has  performed  the  duties  of  his  office  has  proved  the 
wisdom  of  his  election,  and  he  has  made  it  a matter  of 
pride  as  well  as  duty  to  keep  up  the  affairs  of  his 
department  at  the  highest  point  of  efficiency. 

Mr.  Kerr  took  office  on  the  first  Monday  of  May  fol- 
lowing his  election.  In  his  department  he  has  super- 
vision of  the  city  engineering  department,  the  city 
health  officer,  the  milk  and  dairy  inspector,  the  building 
inspector,  and  inspector  of  dump  grounds.  Two  men 
are  kept  constantly  at  street  cleaning,  and  for  a part 
of  the  year  this  force  is  increased  by  these  additional 
men.  Enid  has  200  miles  of  streets,  with  sixteen  miles 
of  paving.  With  the  exception  of  six  blocks  of  brick, 
the  paving  is  entirely  of  asphalt.  The  streets  are  laid 
out  on  the  broad  basis  of  100  feet  width,  with  paving 
about  sixty  feet  wide. 

L.  H.  Kerr  was  born  in  Marshall  County,  Illinois, 
near  Sparland,  a village  on  the  west  bank  of  the 
Illinois  River  not  far  from  Laeon,  the  county  seat,  on 
September  24,  1873.  His  father  located  there  in  1868. 
When  Mr.  Kerr  was  seven  years  of  age  his  parents 
embarked  in  a typical  prairie  schooner  and  journeyed 
out  to  Greene  County,  Iowa.  In  March,  1901,  the  family 
came  to  Enid.  The  parents  are  Albert  and  Luana  Kerr. 
Albert  Kerr  was  a soldier  in  a Pennsylvania  regiment 
during  the  Civil  war.  He  became  a prosperous  farmer, 
and  a number  of  years  ago  visited  Oklahoma  and  was 
so  pleased  with  the  prospects  that  he  determined  to 
make  it  his  home  as  soon  as  circumstances  would  permit. 
In  Iowa  he  was  a man  of  considerable  prominence  in 
public  affairs,  serving  as  county  supervisor  six  years, 
the  duties  of  that  office  including  oversight  of  roads 
and  bridge  building  and  maintenance.  Since  coming  to 
Enid  he  has  devoted  his  energies  mainly  to  carpenter 
and  building  work. 

L.  H.  Kerr  was  associated  with  his  father  while  the 


latter  was  supervisor  in  Iowa,  and  thus  gained  a practi- 
cal experience  in  road  construction,  a knowledge  that 
has  served  him  well  in  his  duties  as  street  commis- 
sioner. Since  coming  to  Enid  he  has  worked  as  a 
carpenter,  and  for  several  years  was  foreman  for  the 
leading  building  contractor  and  has  also  been  an  inde- 
pendent contractor.  Nearly  all  of  the  best  homes  in 
Enid  and  several  of  the  churches  were  erected  under 
his  superintendence. 

Mr.  Kerr  is  a member  of  the  Baptist  Church.  He  has 
been  specially  prominent  in  the  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows,  has  been  secretary  of  Enid  Lodge  No.  31 
since  1911,  has  passed  all  the  chairs  in  the  subordinate 
lodge  and  encampment,  and  has  represented  both  bodies 
in  the  grand  lodges,  being  now  grand  marshal  of  the 
grand  encampment.  He  is  also  affiliated  with  the 
Knights  of  Pythias.  Outside  of  business  he  finds  his 
chief  pleasure  in  hunting,  and  takes  one  or  two  trips 
for  that  sport  every  year.  April  2,  1898,  in  Greene 
County,  Iowa,  Mr.  Kerr  married  Miss  Bertha  M.  Newing- 
ham.  They  have  a family  of  three  sons:  Frank,  Keith 

and  Carl. 

William  T.  Hawn,  M.  D.,  a successful  young  physician 
and  surgeon  at  Binger,  Oklahoma,  is  descended  from 
fine  old  colonial  stock,  his  ancestors  having  come  to 
this  country  from  Germany.  The  original  progenitor 
of  the  name  in  America  settled  in  North  Carolina  and 
subsequently  members  of  the  family  removed  to  the 
Middle  West,  locating  in  Missouri,  where  John  D.  Hawn, 
father  of  the  Doctor,  was  born  in  1859.  He  lived  in 
Bollinger  County,  Missouri,  until  1913  when  he  came  to 
Oklahoma  and  established  his  home  at  El  Reno,  there  en- 
gaging in  business  as  a merchant.  In  Missouri  he  farmed  I 
for  a number  of  years,  was  hotel  proprietor,  and  for 
several  years  served  as  county  assessor  of  Bollinger 
County.  He  is  a stalwart  democrat  in  his  political  ad- 
herences  and  in  religious  matters  is  a devout  member 
of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  South.  He  married 
Miss  Nancy  Shell,  who  was  born  at  Patton,  Missouri, 
in  1863,  and  this  union  was  prolific  of  three  children, 
namely : Rayford,  in  business  with  his  father  at  El  Reno ; 
Charles  W.,  died  in  El  Reno  at  the  age  of  thirty  years;  J 
and  William  T.,  subject  of  this  review. 

A native  Missourian,  Doctor  Hawn  was  born  at  Patton, 
that  state,  February  1,  1885.  He  was  educated  in  the 
public  schools  of  Patton  and  graduated  in  the  local  high 
school  in  1903.  He  then  entered  the  Marvin  Collegiate 
Institute,  at  Fredericktown,  Missouri,  and  after  com- 
pleting his  junior  year  there  was  matriculated  as  a 
student  in  Barnes  University,  at  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  inj 
the  medical  department  of  which  he  was  graduated  as  a 
member  of  the  class  of  1910,  with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of 
Medicine.  His  initial  experience  as  a doctor  was  ob- 
tained at  Glen  Island,  Missouri,  where  he  remained  for 
eight  months,  at  the  expiration  of  which  he  came  to 
Caddo  County,  locating  at  Lookeba.  After  two  years 
in  the  latter  place  he  established  his  home  and  profes- 
sional headquarters  at  Binger,  and  here  he  has  since 
resided.  He  has  built  up  a large  general  practice  in 
Binger  and  in  he  country  normally  adjacent  to  this 
city  and  has  met  with  unusual  success  in  curing  the  sick, 
He  is  possessed  of  a genial  disposition  and  his  kind 
personality  invariably  inspires  hope  in  the  heart  of  his 
patient.  His  offices  are  on  the  north  side  of  Main  Street 

In  politics  Doctor  Hawn  is  a democrat  and  in  a fra 
ternal  way  he  is  affiliated  with  Binger  Lodge,  Independ 
ent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  In  connection  with  his  lift 
work  he  is  a valued  and  appreciative  member  of  Caddt 
County  Medical  Society,  the  Oklahoma  State  Mediea 
Society,  and  the  American  Medical  Association,  beinj 
vice  president  of  the  first  mentioned. 


u 

o: 

C 

di 

J 

tl 


of 

sti 

irn 

O' 

(ini 


ant 

fai 

liir 

idaj 


in 

and 

Moi 

nati 


was 
■ j 187! 
I , font 
man 
1893 
I the  i 
i per! 
: home 
pnldi 
; there 
; of  r 
Bra 
inj  i 
rema 
’his  e 
N.H 
'J.  B, 
Romp: 
, Conkl 
sqnan 

p am 
wise 
Jud 
'her  of 
Iftha 
'by  Bi 
senior 
lawyer 
tiee’.ai 
ami  ip 
sions  i 
school 
the  rep 
W eff 

fill 

Miss  s 
Mrs.  S, 
herowi 
Judge 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2053 


In  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  in  1910,  Doctor  Hawn  was 
united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Opal  F.  Cander,  a daughter 
of  Fletcher  Cander,  a civil  engineer  who  died  in  Cripple 
Creek,  Colorado.  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Hawn  have  two  chil- 
,e  dren:  Helen,  born  February  28,  1911;  and  Euth,  born 
j.  July  1,  1914.  The  Doctor  and  his  wife  are  members  of 
m the  Congregational  Church,  to  whose  charities  and  good 
ft  works  they  are  liberal  contributors. 

3S  James  Wallace  Steen.  One  of  the  pioneer  attorneys 
cj  of  the  City  of  Enid,  a participant  in  the  opening  of  the 
strip  in  1893,  James  Wallace  Steen  has  been  a prom- 
ite  inent  member  of  the  Oklahoma  bar  for  more  than  twenty 
J years,  and  is  specially  remembered  for  his  services  as 
he  a district  judge.  He  was  appointed  judge  of  the  district 
^ including  Enid  by  Governor  Haskell,  and  served  four  and 
ijij  a half  months,  and  also  served  three  years  and  three 
ipS  months  in  the  same  office  under  appointment  by  Lieuten- 
ei)S  ant  Governor  McAlester. 

ng.  James  Wallace  Steen  was  born  June  16,  1855,  on  a 
4 farm  in  Logan  County,  Ohio.  Three  weeks  before  his 
birth  his  father  died,  and  his  mother  lived  only  nine 
; days.  An  only  child,  he  was  reared  in  the  home  of  his 
■•an  grandfather  in  Ohio  until  sixteen,  spending  these  years 
rom  on  a farm  near  Huntsville.  What  he  has  accomplished 
to  in  life  is  largely  the  product  of  his  individual  ambition 
itor  and  energy.  In  1874  he  entered  the  freshman  class  at 
aid  Monmouth  College  in  Monmouth,  Illinois,  and  was  grad- 
the  uated  A.  B.  in  1877.  Three  years  later  that  institution 
m,  gave  him  the  degree  Master  of  Arts.  He  studied  law  at 
] in  Bellefontaine,  Ohio,  in  the  office  of  Judge  J.  A.  Price,  and 
e to  was  admitted  to  the  bar  at  Cleveland  in  September, 
>®  1879.  Judge  Steen  practiced  law  at  Cleveland  and  Belle- 

rmed  fontaine  until  March  19,  1888,  and  then  located  in  King- 
for  man,  Kansas.  That  was  his  home  until  the  spring  of 
mger  1893,  when  he  removed  to  Kingfisher,  Oklahoma,  and  on 
lad-  the  date  of  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip  on  Septem- 
rnber  her  16,  1893,  was  one  of  the  many  thousands  who  sought 
tried  homes  in  the  new  country.  He  staked  out  a lot  on  the 
•ouri,  public  square  at  Enid,  but  could  not  prove  his  claim  and 
alien,  therefore  was  not  among  the  lucky  ones  in  gaining  a piece 
ieno;  of  real  estate.  There  were  about  200  lawyers  in  the 
ears;  throng  of  homeseekers  who  arrived  at  Enid  on  that  open- 
ing day,  and  Judge  Steen  is  one  of  the  few  who  still 
atton,  remain  in  active  practice.  Some  of  the  others  who  were 
J tlie  his  contemporaries  are  W.  E.  Cogdal,  H.  J.  Sturgis,  L. 
High  IST.  Huston,  C.  H.  Parker,  John  F.  Curran,  Jake  Roberts, 
egiate  J.  B.  Cullison,  and  I.  G.  Conkling.  Judge  Steen  in 
e«m-  company  with  Judge  L.  M.  Conkling  and  Mr.  I.  G. 
as  i Conkling  set  up  their  first  office  in  a tent  on  the  public 
uri,  itt  square,  with  a rough  board  sign  on  the  outside  announc- 
dasa  jug  the  firm  of  Conkling,  Steen  & Conkling,  lawyers, 
dor  of  a number  of  other  lawyers  and  professional  men  like- 
as  ob-  wise  had  their  first  offices  in  tents. 

ed  for  Judge  Steen  is  a democrat  in  politics.  He  is  a mem- 
iM  to  her  of  the  Episcopal  Church  and  when  the  first  services 
y®s  0f  that  church  were  held  at  Enid  on  September  17,  1893, 
profes  hy  Bishop  Brooks  Mr.  Steen  was  appointed  the  first 
; iinre  senior  warden  of  the  newly  organized  congregation.  As  a 
fa  in  lawyer  Judge  Steen  has  always  enjoyed  a liberal  prac- 
to  this  tiee,  and  while  on  the  bench  proved  himself  a painstaking 
he  sick  anj  impartial  judge.  One  of  his  most  important  deci- 
is  kinc  sions  was  that  upholding  the  rights  of  lessees  of  state 
“ school  lands,  and  his  decision  sustaining  the  vote  against 
Street  the  repeal  of  the  anti-gambling  law  was  also  of  far-reacli- 
i a fra  jno-  effect. 

depend  jn  1887  at  Bellefontaine,  Ohio,  Judge  Steen  married 
his  lit*  Miss  Sallie  Pate,  who  is  of  Virginia  birth  and  parentage, 
f Caddo  jyfj.g _ Steen  is  well  known  as  a contributor  of  fiction  under 
Medics  her  own  name  to  magazines.  Among  other  public  services 
i.  to111!  Judge  Steen  was  named  by  Governor  Haskell  as  a mem- 


ber of  the  board  of  control  of  the  Institute  for  the  Feeble- 
minded; and  he  served  on  that  board  while  the  buildings 
of  the  institution  were  in  course  of  erection. 

Charles  Byron  Hill.  It  was  the  unusual  qualifica- 
tions and  attainments  demonstrated  during  fifteen  years 
of  practice  at  Guthrie  that  brought  Dr.  Charles  B.  Hill 
the  appointment  in  the  summer  of  1915  as  superintendent 
of  the  Oklahoma  Hospital  for  the  Insane  at  Supply. 
Doctor  Hill  has  had  an  unusually  broad  and  thorough 
experience  in  life.  He  earned  his  professional  education, 
worked  as  a teacher  and  clerk  for  several  years  during 
his  earlier  career,  and  since  gaining  his  title  as  a doctor 
of  medicine  has  had  unusual  opportunities  in  professional, 
lines. 

Though  most  of  his  life  was  spent  in  Kansas  up  to 
the  time  he  came  to  Oklahoma,  Doctor  Hill  .was  born  on 
a farm  in  Marshall  County,  Illinois,  December  1,  1871, 
a son  of  Byron  A.  and  Amanda  (Leigh)  Hill,  his  father 
and  grandparents  having  been  natives  of  Oneida  County, 
New  York.  His  father  was  born  in  1829  and  in  1850 
moved  to  Marshall  County,  Illinois,  worked  for  a few 
years  as  a carpenter,  then  bought  land  and  during  the 
rest  of  his  life  followed  farming  almost  altogether.  He 
moved  out  to  Kansas  in  1881,  locating  also  in  Marshall* 
County  of  that  state,  and  continued  farming  there  until 
1890.  He  then  retired  from  farming,  and  for  nine  years 
served  as  postmaster  of  Stolzenbach,  Kansas.  In  1903 
he  came  to  Oklahoma,  bought  property  in  Guthrie,  and 
lived  retired  in  that  city  until  his  death  on  July  18, 
1914.  He  was  an  active  member  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church.  He  was  married  in  1852  to  Miss 
Leigh,  who  was  born  in  Illinois,  in  1832.  Her  father  was 
a native  of  England  and  her  mother,  whose  first  name  was 
Elizabeth,  was  born  in  Virginia.  Byron  A.  Hill  and  wife 
became  parents  of  nine  children,  five  sons  and  four 
daughters, ' mentioned  briefly  as  follows : Rhoda,  de- 

ceased; Alice,  wife  of  J.  C.  Smith,  a farmer  at  Great 
Bend,  Kansas;  Horace  W.,  a farmer  in  South  Dakota; 
Frank  L.,  a dairy  farmer  at  Norman,  Oklahoma;  Sher- 
man S.,  who  is  a gold  miner  in  California;  Renette,  'ho 
is  unmarried  and  is  superintendent  of  trained  nurses  in 
the  State  University  Hospital  at  Oklahoma  City; 
Dr.  Charles  B.  who  is  seventh  in  order  of  birth;  and 
Harry  and  Catherine,  both  of  whom  died  in  infancy. 

When  the  family  moved  out  to  Kansas  Dr.  Charles  B. 
Hill  was  ten  years  of  age.  He  grew  up  on  a farm, 
and  in  1892  finished  the  course  in  the  Marysville  High 
School.  After  that  came  two  years  of  work  as  a teacher 
in  Marshall  County,  Kansas,  followed  by  one  year  as  a 
salesman  in  a bookstore  at  Marysville.  Partly  with  the 
earnings  of  his  work  in  these  occupations  he  entered,  in 
1895,  the  University  Medical  School  in  Kansas  City,  and 
after  four  years  of  hard  study  earned  his  Doctor  of 
Medicine  degree  in  1899.  He  was  very  fortunate  in  his 
next  appointment  to  the  position  of  assistant  superin- 
endent  of  the  General  Hospital  for  the  Atchison,  Topeka 
& Santa  Fe  Railroad  at  Topeka,  Kansas.  He  remained  in 
the  railroad  hospital  until  September  18,  1900,  and  on 
that  date  arrived  in  Guthrie  and  took  up  his  general 
practice  as  a physician  and  surgeon.  In  a few  years  he 
came  to  be  recognized  as  one  of  the  leading  medical  men 
of  Oklahoma,  and  it  was  entirely  without  solicitation  on 
his  part  that  he  was  appointed,  August  1,  1915,  as  su- 
perintendent of  the  Oklahoma  Hospital  for  the  Insane  at 
Supply. 

Doctor  Hill  has  long  been  interested  in  Masonry.  In 
1902  he  attained  the  thirty-second  degree  of  Scottish 
Rite,  in  1912  was  given  the  title  K.  C.  C.  H.  and  in  1914 
received  the  supreme  honorary  thirty-third  degree  which 
was  conferred  upon  him  at  Guthrie  in  1915.  His  local 
affiliation  is  with  Albert  Pike  Lodge  No.  162,  Ancient 


2054 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  at  Guthrie.  He  also  retains 
membership  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  at  Guth- 
rie. For  three  years  of  his  practice  in  that  city  he 
served  as  city  physician. 

On  January  7,  1901,  at  Haddam,  Kansas,  Doctor  Hill 
married  Miss  Florence  Taylor,  daughter  of  William  H. 
and  Mary  Taylor,  who  were  natives  of  Indiana.  Mrs.  Hill 
was  born  in  Washington  County,  Kansas,  August  7,  1876. 
To  their  marriage  was  born  one  child,  Euth,  at  Guthrie, 
July  3,  1909. 

John  H.  Kane  is  a member  of  the  prominent  Bartles- 
ville law  firm  of  Brennan,  Kane  & McCoy,  and  has  been 
a factor  in  the  prestige  which  this  firm  enjoys  in  Wash- 
ington County  and  Northeastern  Oklahoma.  He  is  a 
lawyer  of  exceptional  attainments,  of  great  energy  and 
resourcefulness,  and  has  made  his  profession  a medium 
of  important  public  service  since  locating  in  Oklahoma 
twelve  years  ago. 

Aside  from  his  profession  he  has  become  interested  in 
the  Oklahoma  oil  industry  as  an  individual  operator  and 
a stockholder  in  several  different  companies.  In  this 
connection  it  is  a matter  of  interest  to  record  that  the 
place  of  his  birth  was  an  oil  camp  in  Pennsylvania. 
This  was  at  Fagundus,  in  Warren  County,  Pennsylvania, 
where  John  Henry  Kane  was  born  November  12,  1875, 
a son  of  James  E.  and  Catharine  (Striekler)  Kane. 
Both  parents  were  natives  of  Pennsylvania  and  his 
father  was  identified  with  the  early  petroleum  industry 
of  Pennsylvania  until  the  early  ’80s,  when  he  brought 
his  family  to  the  West  and  established  a home  in  what 
is  now  Kiowa  County,  Kansas.  There  he  was  success- 
fully identified  with  stock  raising  for  many  years. 

The  only  son  among  four  children,  John  H.  Kane  was 
seven  years  old  when  the  family  moved  to  Kansas  and 
he  grew  up  on  his  father ’s  ranch  in  Kiowa  County. 
Graduating  from  the  high  school  at  Greensburg,  the 
county  seat,  he  continued  his  education  in  the  Kansas 
State  Normal  School  at  Emporia,  where  he  was  gradu- 
ated in  1896  and  from  there  entered  the  University  of 
Kansas  at  Lawrence,  where  he  graduated  A.  B.  in  1899. 
With  his  liberal  education  as  a foundation,  Mr.  Kane 
then  entered  the  University  of  Kansas  law  department 
and  took  his  degree  LL.  B.  in  1900.  He  mixed  his 
courses,  thus  taking  both  degrees  within  one  year  of 
each  other.  His  preliminary  service  and  experience  as 
a lawyer  was  gained  in  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  where 
he  remained  until  1904.  In  that  year  he  came  to 
Bartlesville,  and  his  natural  ability  together  with  an 
untiring  industry  in  working  up  his  cases  brought  him 
a very  active  practice.  For  years  he  was  associated  with 
Frank  Burford  under  the  firm  name  of  Kane  & Burford, 
In  1907  Mr.  Kane  had  the  distinction  of  being  chosen 
the  first  county  attorney  of  Washington  County  under 
the  state  government.  After  one  term  he  resumed  his 
private  practice  and  soon  afterwards  formed  a partner- 
ship with  Messrs.  Brennan  and  McCoy.  The  firm  of 
Brennan,  Kane  & McCoy  have  a splendid  clientage,  and 
most  of  their  work  is  in  corporation  law. 

Mr.  Kane  has  attained  the  thirty-second  degree  of 
Scottish  Eite  Masonry,  and  also  belongs  to  the  Temple 
of  the  Mystic  Shrine  and  the  Benevolent  and  Protective 
Order  of  Elks.  He  has  exercised  an  influential  part  in 
the  Oklahoma  State  Bar  Association  and  is  now  treasurer 
of  the  association.  In  1907  he  married  Miss  Louise 
Miller,  who  was  born  at  Olathe,  Johnson  County,  Kansas. 
Their  two  children  are  John  and  Eobert. 

Benjamin  F.  Buffington.  A pioneer  settler  of  Gar- 
field County,  one  of  the  thousands  who  entered  the  strip 
on  the  opening  day  of  September  16,  1893,  Benjamin  F. 


Buffington  located  upon  a quarter  section  seven  miles 
southwest  of  Enid.  He  moved  to  the  City  of  Enid  about 
twenty  years  ago,  and  has  since  been  primarily  identified 
with  the  abstract  and  conveyancing  business.  He  is 
now  one  of  the  leading  abstractors  and  conveyancers  of 
Garfield  County,  has  built  up  a valuable  business,  and  has 
also  connected  himself  in  many  ways  with  the  public 
affairs  of  his  city  and  county. 

Benjamin  F.  Buffington  was  born  in  Clinton  County, 
Ohio,  near  Martinsville,  September  13,  1849.  His  father 
was  a physician  and  dentist.  The  first  twenty-five  years 
of  his  life  Mr.  Buffington  spent  in  Clinton  and  Highland 
counties  of  Ohio,  and  in  the  meantime  had  attended  dis-  I 
trict  schools  and  an  academy  at  Salem,  but  for  the  ■ 
greater  part  educated  himself.  For  several  years  he  j 
taught  country  schools  in  Ohio,  and  in  1876  moved  out  to 
Van  Meter,  Iowa,  taught  there  and  at  Dallas  Center  and 
Gowrie,  and  in  the  fall  of  1878  moved  on  to  Nebraska. 

He  was  principal  of  the  schools  at  Schuyler  two  years, 
in  April,  1880,  moved  to  Osceola  in  Polk  County,  and  in 
1881  was  elected  superintendent  of  the  county  schools. 

He  resigned  that  position  to  enter  the  Osceola  Bank  with 
which  he  was  connected  for  ten  years,  the  last  five  years 
as  cashier. 

In  the  fall  of  1892  Mr.  Buffington  removed  to  Okarche 
in  the  Cheyenne  Indian  Country  of  Oklahoma.  At  ] 
Okarche  lie  organized  and  conducted  a bank  in  company  !; 
with  Julius  Loosen,  whose  sons  are  still  the  chief  bankers  ' 
of  Okarche.  On  September  16,  1893,  Mr.  Buffington  j; 
made  the  race  from  the  South  into  the  Cherokee  strip,  and 
secured  160  acres  six  miles  southwest  of  Enid.  He  lived  I 
on  this  claim  until  1895  and  then  moved  into  the  City  J 
of  Enid.  During  the  winter  of  1895  he  began  the  prepa- 
ration of  a set  of  abstracts  for  Garfield  County  and  was  j 
the  first  to  compile  these  records.  Having  been  in  the  J 
county  from  the  beginning,  'he  has  continued  in  that  line 
of  work  to  this  date,  and  through  his  office  has  offered  a I 
valuable  service  to  all  parties  interested  in  lands  of  Gar-  ] 
field  County. 

In  the  fall  of  1912  Mr.  Buffington  was  elected  a mem-  j 
ber  of  the  Board  of  County  Commissioners  of  Garfield 
County.  His  associates  in  that  body  being  L.  G.  Gossett  1 
and  H.  H.  Semke,  who  at  once  elected  him  as  chairman 
of  the  board.  During  the  past  three  years  he  has  given  1 
much  of  his  time  and  attention  to  the  management  of 
the  county’s  fiscal  and  general  administrative  affairs.  J 
Though  a republican,  Mr.  Buffington  has  been  little  of  a j 
politician,  though  a valuable  man  in  local  affairs  and  one  I 
who  is  animated  by  the  strongest  faith  in  Oklahoma’s 
future  destiny.  In  early  life  he  was  a member  of  the  | 
Congregational  Church,  but  is  now  a Presbyterian,  and  j 
is  active  in  the  Sunday  school,  teaching  the  young  men ’s 
class.  For  forty  years  he  has  been  affiliated  with  the  1 
Masonic  fraternity,  and  has  spent  twenty  years  in  Enid  j 
Lodge. 

In  Ohio  in  September,  1874,  Mr.  Buffington  married  ! 
Isabel  Ellis,  who  also  spent  several  years  in  work  as  a 
teacher.  She  is  active  in  church  and  woman’s  club  mat-  , 
ters  at  Enid.  Their  one  daughter,  Ethel,  is  the  wife  of  , 
E.  E.  Cones,  formerly  of  Enid  and  now  connected  with  ‘ 
the  City  National  Bank  of  Lawton,  Oklahoma. 

Oklahoma  Baptist  University.  In  Sptember,  1915,] 
came  the  formal  opening  of  the  Oklahoma  Baptist  Uni- 
versity at  Shawnee.  This  is  an  institution  of  which  j 
that  city  is  particularly  proud.  Though  its  work  has 
only  begun,  its  plans  have  been  so  carefully  laid,  such 
high  ideals  and  standards  have  been  raised,  and  the 
institution  has  such  magnificent  backing  not  only  in  the! 
local  co-operation  of  Shawnee  citizens  but  in  the  church  as 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2055 


a whole,  that  its  future  prestige  and  usefulness  are 
practically  assured. 

The  university  originated  in  1907  during  the  Baptist 
General  Convention  of  Oklahoma  while  in  annual  session 
at  Ardmore.  The  committee  on  location  was  appointed 
at  this  session  and  after  three  years  of  work  finally  lo- 
cated at  Shawnee.  The  citizens  of  Shawnee  deserve  the 
highest  credit  for  securing  this  institution  and  for  laying 
the  material  foundation  so  liberally.  While  a number  of 
men  deserve  credit,  it  was,  by  general  consent,  George  E. 
McKinnis,  who  was  primarily  responsible  for  securing 
the  location  of  the  institution  at  Shawnee,  and  who 
almost  single  handed  raised  the  fund  for  a beautiful 
administration  building,  the  first  of  the  large  group  of 
college  structures  which  will  eventually  adorn  the  mag- 
nificent campus  of  sixty  acres  on  a high  rolling  prairie 
a mile  and  a half  north  of  the  business  center.  The 
university  is  located  on  the  high  ground  commanding  a 
panoramic  view  of  the  Canadian  River  Valley. 

The  administration  building  was  started  in  1910  and 
completed  in  1913  at  a cost  of  approximately.  $100,000, 
all  this  money  having  been  raised  among  the  citizens  of 
Shawnee.  An  attempt  was  made  to  start  the  scholastic 
work  of  the  intsitution  in  1911.  Halls  in  the  city  were 
hired,  and  the  work  of  the  school  begun  under  the 
presidency  of  J.  M.  Carroll  of  Texas  with  an  enrollment 
of  200  pupils.  However,  in  June,  1911,  the  school  was 
closed  until  the  administration  building  should  be  com- 
pleted, since  the  hiring  of  halls  proved  to  be  of  too  great 
expense.  At  the  meeting  of  the  Baptist  General  Con- 
vention at  Shawnee  in  November,  1914,  it  was  definitely 
determined  that  the  time  had  come  to  open  the  institu- 
tion permanently.  Rev.  Frank  M.  Masters,  then  pastor 
of  the  Baptist  Church  at  Ardmore  was  called  to  the 
president’s  chair.  He  took  hold  at  once  and  under  his 
vigorous  management  the  administration  building  was 
completed  and  equipped  and  opened  its  doors  for  the 
first  regular  school  year,  which  began  September  14, 
1915.  There  was  an  enrollment  of  105  pupils  at  the 
start,  and  eight  professors  in  the  faculty. 

The  central  building  on  the  campus,  known  as  the 
Administration  Building,  is  one  of  the  best  structures  of 
its  kind  in  the  country,  considered  from  the  standpoint 
of  college  administration  and  also  architecturally.  It  is  a 
modern  adaptation  of  the  classic  school  of  architecture, 
and  contains  two  stories  and  basement.  The  basement 
has  been  arranged  for  the  science  department  of  the 
institution,  and  also  with  gymnasiums  and  one  or  two 
class  rooms.  Besides  the  administration  offices  on  the 
first  floor  there  is  a large  auditorium  with  seating 
capacity  for  about  750,  and  six  class  rooms.  The  second 
story  provides  studios,  society  rooms  and  library,  and 
additional  class  rooms.  Additional  dormitory  buildings 
are  one  of  the  first  needs  to  be  provided  and  at  least 
one  will  be  erected  in  1916.  On  May  2d  ground  was 
broken  for  the  foundation  of  a hall  for  women,  and  an 
effort  will  be  made  to  have  it  ready  by  September,  1916. 
Other  buildings  to  be  provided  in  the  near  future  are  a 
Science  Hall  and  Library  Building.  The  college  already 
has  the  nucleus  of  a good  library,  and  the  Carnegie 
Library  of  Shawnee,  open  to  the  students,  is  one  of  the 
best  in  the  state.  In  the  session  just  closed  145  students 
were  enrolled,  and  the  session  proved  a very  successful 
one.  The  institution  is  becoming  thoroughly  established 
in  the  hearts  of  its  constituency. 

The  curriculum  of  the  Baptist  University,  both  in  the 
academic  and  collegiate  departments,  has  been  prepared 
to  meet  all  the  requirements  of  the  state  law  on  ac- 
credited institutions.  The  members  of  the  first  faculty 
are  men  and  women  of  mature  scholarship  and  experi- 
ence, and  come  from  the  leading  university  and  colleges 
of  the  country. 


The  president,  Rev.  Frank  M.  Masters,  was  born  in 
Franklin  County,  Texas,  July  28,  1870,  and  comes  of 
fine  old  American  stock.  His  great-grandfather  was  a 
soldier  in  the  Revolutionary  war.  The  Masters  family 
came  originally  from  England  and  settled  in  Maryland 
near  Washington,  District  of  Columbia,  in  colonial  times. 
His  grandfather,  Zachariah  Masters,  was  a farmer  and 
planter,  and  died  in  Cartersville,  Georgia,  at  the  age  of 
ninety-two.  President  Masters’  father  was  B.  E. 
Masters,  who  was  born  in  the  Anderson  District  of 
South  Carolina  in  1842,  but  when  quite  young  his  parents 
removed  to  Georgia.  He  enlisted  with  a Georgia  regi- 
ment in  1861  in  the  Civil  war,  and  among  other  engage- 
ments was  at  the  battle  of  Chickamauga,  and  was  cap- 
tured at  Missionary  Ridge  in  1863  and  spent  the  rest  of 
the  period  of  hostilities  in  the  federal  prison  at  Rock 
Island,  Illinois.  In  1865  he  moved  to  Texas,  became  an 
early  prominent  stock  raiser  in  that  state,  and  lived  for 
thirty-five  years  in  Hunt  County,  where  he  died  in  March, 

1913.  He  was  a democrat  and  a member  of  the  Baptist 
faith.  B.  E.  Masters  married  Mary  Ellen  Penn,  who 
was  born  in  Alabama,  and  now  lives  on  the  old  home- 
stead in  Celeste,  Texas. 

When  President  Masters  was  eleven  years  of  age  his 
parents  moved  to  Hunt  County,  Texas,  and  there  he 
continued  his  education  in  the  common  schools  and  the 
high  school  at  Celeste.  In  1892  he  graduated  A.  B. 
from  Calhoun  College  at  Kingston,  Texas,  and  for  a 
time  he  was  teacher  in  the  preparatory  department  of 
that  institution.  In  1892-94  he  was  a teacher  in  Texas 
public  schools,  aud  in  June,  1894,  he  was  licensed  to 
preach  in  the  Kingston  Baptist  Church,  and  was  regu- 
larly ordained  to  the  ministry  the  following  September. 
In  October,  1894,  he  entered  the  Southern  Baptist  Theo- 
logical Seminary  at  Louisville,  Kentucky,  where  he  was 
graduated  Th.  B.  in  1896  and  Th.  M.  in  1897.  During 
1897-98  he  was  a graduate  student  at  the  Southern 
Theological  Seminary,  and  during  1896-98  was  pastor  of 
the  Clifton  Baptist  Church  of  Louisville.  Then  followed 
an  active  pastoral  career  until  he  was  called  to  the  presi- 
dency of  the  Oklahoma  Baptist  University  in  December, 

1914.  In  January,  1899,  he  became  pastor  of  the  First 
Baptist  Church  of  San  Angelo,  Texas,  and  remained 
there  until  1902.  He  was  pastor  of  the  First  Baptist 
Church  of  Weatherford  in  1902-05,  of  the  College  Avenue 
Baptist  Church  at  Fort  Worth  from  1905  to  1910,  and 
of  the  First  Baptist  Church  of  Ardmore,  Oklahoma,  from 
1910  to  1915.  In  1908  he  was  lecturer  in  the  Mid- 
Winter  Bible  School  at  Howard  Payne  College  in  Texas; 
was  lecturer  in  the  Mid-Winter  Bible  School  at  Simmons 
College  in  1909 ; a member  of  the  State  Mission  Board, 
Baptist  General  Convention  of  Texas,  in  1908-10 ; mem- 
ber of  the  State  Mission  Board,  Baptist  General  Conven- 
tion, Oklahoma,  1910-15;  vice  president  Foreign  Mission 
Board,  Southern  Baptist  Convention  of  Oklahoma,  1913- 
14;  president  Baptist  Pastors’  Conference  of  Oklahoma, 
1913-15.  In  politics  Mr.  Masters  is  a democrat. 

On  June  9,  1898,  at  Louisville,  Kentucky,  he  married 
Miss  Lillie  R.  Randolph,  daughter  of  A.  W.  Randolph, 
who  was  a prominent  citizen  of  Louisville,  Kentucky,  and 
for  nineteen  years  before  his  death  served  as  county 
surveyor  of  Jefferson  County.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Masters 
are  the  parents  of  five  children:  Catherine  Chamberlin, 

now  in  the  first  year  of  the  preparatory  department  of 
the  Oklahoma  Baptist  University  at  Shawnee;  E.  Ran- 
dolph, who  is  also  in  the  preparatory  department  of  the 
same  university;  C.  Kerfoot,  in  the  sixth  grade  of  the 
public  schools;  Frank  M.  and  Julian  Penn,  twins,  who 
are  in  the  fourth  grade  of  the  public  schools. 

The  dean  of  the  Oklahoma  Baptist  University  is  F. 
Erdman  Smith,  who  is  a graduate  of  the  University  of 
Toronto,  of  the  Oklahoma  Baptist  College  and  the  Temple 


2056 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


University.  He  was  vice  president  during  1907-08  of 
ing  a part  of  1908,  and  again  vice  president  from  1909 
to  1911.  He  was  appointed  dean  of  the  Oklahoma  Bap- 
the  Oklahoma  Baptist  College,  was  acting  president  dur- 
tist  University  in  1911,  was  dean  of  Burleson  College  in 
1912-13,  dean  and  professor  of  education  at  Howard 
Payne  College  in  Texas  from  1913  to  1915,  and  then 
returned  to  the  Oklahoma  University  in  1915,  where,  in 
addition  to  his  duties  as  dean,  he  is  professor  of 
education. 

J.  W.  Jent,  the  university  registrar  and  professor  of 
philosophy  and  social  science,  is  a man  of  unusual 
scholastic  attainment.  He  pursued  his  studies  succes- 
sively in  Pierce  City  Baptist  College,  in  William  Jewell 
College,  in  Baylor  University,  and  in  1907  graduated 
Th.  B.  at  the  Southern  Baptist  Theological  Seminary, 
and  in  1908  took  his  degree  Th.  M.  at  Baylor  University. 
Later  he  entered  Yale  University,  where  he  graduated 
A.  B.  with  general  honors  in  1911;  was  a graduate 
student  there  during  1912-14,  securing  his  A.  M.  degree 
in  1914,  and  in  1912  he  graduated  Th.  D.  “Magna  Cum 
Laude  ’ ’ from  the  Southwestern  Baptist  Theological  Sem- 
inary. He  has  been  connected  as  a teacher  and  in  an 
official  capacity  with  several  of  the  institutions  where 
he  was  a student,  and  came  to  the  Oklahoma  Baptist 
University  in  1915. 

W.  D.  Moorer  holds  the  chair  of  Religious  Education. 
He  is  a graduate  A.  B.  from  Purman  University  in 
South  Carolina  in  1892  and  was  pastor  of  a number  of 
churches  in  South  Carolina  up  to  1900,  during  the  fol- 
lowing five  years  was  pastor  of  the  First  Baptist  Church 
at  Anadarko,  Oklahoma,  and  from  1905  to  1915  was 
superintendent  of  Sunday-school  work  under  the  Baptist 
General  Convention  of  Oklahoma.  He  was  president  of 
the  board  of  trustees  of  Oklahoma  Baptist  College  from 
1906  to  1913,  and  was  elected  to  his  present  office  in 
June,  1915. 

J.  Louis  Guthrie,  who  holds  the  chair  of  Greek  and 
Latin,  graduated  A.  M.  from  William  Jewell  College  at 
Liberty,  Missouri,  was  a professor  in  the  Southwestern 
University  at  Jackson,  Tennessee,  two  years,  and  was 
president  of  the  Lane  View  College  of  Tennessee  for 
about  the  same  period. 

W.  T.  Short,  mathematics  and  science,  did  his  first 
work  as  a teacher  in  the  public  schools  of  Oklahoma  dur- 
ing 1902-04,  was  an  instructor  in  mathematics  in  Okla- 
homa Baptist  College  from  1907  to  1911,  graduated  A.  B. 
at  the  Oklahoma  Baptist  College  in  1911,  held  the  chair 
of  mathematics  in  several  collegiate  institutions,  and 
came  to  the  Oklahoma  Baptist  University  in  June,  1915. 

W.  P.  Powell,  who  has  charge  of  English  and  modern 
languages,  graduated  A.  B.  from  Richmond  College  in 
1903,  was  a graduate  student  in  the  University  of 
Virginia  from  1907  to  1912,  and  in  1910  received  the 
degree  M.  A.  from  that  university,  and  in  1912  completed 
his  residence  work  for  the  Th.  D.  degree.  He  was  an 
instructor  in  the  Texas  A.  & M.  College  and  in  Baylor 
University  prior  to  coming  to  Shawnee. 

Prof.  E.  O.  Kaserman  was  recently  elected  as  the  head 
of  the  department  of  science.  His  early  education  was 
received  in  the  public  schools  of  Tennessee.  Mr.  Kaser- 
man is  an  A.  B.  and  A.  M.  graduate  from  the  Winchester 
College,  Winchester,  Tennessee,  and  took  his  M.  S.  degree 
from  Carson-Newman  College,  Jefferson  City,  Tennessee. 
He  is  also  a Th.  D.  graduate  from  the  Southern  Baptist 
Seminary,  though  he  is  not  a minister.  For  ten  years 
Doctor  Kaserman  has  been  professor  of  science  in  the 
Carson-Newman  College.  He  is  one  of  the  leading  science 
teachers  of  the  country. 

Other  members  of  the  first  faculty  of  the  Oklahoma 
Baptist  University  are  Joshua  B.  Lee,  who  has  charge 
of  public  speaking,  and  Ola  Gulledge,  who  is  instructor 


in  piano  and  voice,  and  is  a product  of  the  musical  school 
of  Baylor  University  and  has  also  pursued  her  studies 
abroad  in  the  Royal  Conservatory  of  Music  at  Leipsic, 
Germany.  Miss  Inez  Mazy  Harris  has  recently  been 
elected  to  the  head  of  the  voice  department.  Miss  Harris 
has  been  trained  under  the  best  American  talent,  and 
has  assisted  in  several  of  the  most  prominent  choruses  in 
the  country.  During  the  past  two  years  she  has  taught 
voice  in  Howard  Payne  College. 

George  J.  Gensman.  One  of  the  largest  and  most 
important  mercantile  enterprises  in  Oklahoma,  with  sev- 
eral unique  features  in  the  form  of  its  organization  and 
methods  of  doing  business,  is  the  Gensman  Brothers  & 
Company,  wholesale  and  retail  hardware,  the  central  head- 
quarters of  which  are  in  Enid.  George  J.  Gensman  was 
one  of  the  founders  and  developers  of  this  splendid 
business,  and  is  now  president  and  treasurer  of  the  cor- 
poration, and  is  also  vice  president  of  the  Central  State 
Bank  of  Enid.  His  business  and  civic  career  is  one  of  the 
most  important  to  be  considered  in  the  history  of  Enid. 

George  J.  Gensman  was  born  in  Washington  County, 
Wisconsin,  March  1,  1864,  a son  of  Conrad  and  Mar- 
garet (Kellerman)  Gensman.  The  former  was  a native 
of  Prussia  and  the  latter  of  Bavaria,  and  they  came  to 
Wisconsin  with  their  parents  aged  respectively  seventeen 
and  four  years.  They  were  married  in  Wisconsin,  where 
the  father  developed  a farm  from  a heavy  tract  of  timber, 
and  lived  on  that  one  place  for  thirty-five  years.  In  the 
meantime  he  had  acquired  extensive  land  interests  in 
Sedgwick  County,  Kansas,  and  removed  to  the  state  to 
take  their  active  management  about  1891.  There  he 
developed  a large  farm  of  480  acres.  His  death  oc- 
curred at  Enid  in  1904  at  the  age  of  seventy-one,  his  wife 
having  preceded  him  a year  and  a half  before.  He  was  a 
member  of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  while  his  wife  was 
a strict  Lutheran  in  religious  belief.  Of  their  seven 
children  five  are  living  in  Oklahoma  in  or  near  Enid. 
George,  Fred  C.  and  William  R.  comprise  the  personnel 
of  the  old  firm  of  Gensman  Brothers.  The  daughter 
Bertha  is  the  wife  of  C.  W.  Hackett,  also  connected  with 
the  Gensman  Brothers  & Company.  Susie  is  the  wife  of 
D.  B.  Barnes,  a farmer  in  Garfield  County.  The  other 
two  children  are : Carrie,  wife  of  Albert  Thiel,  living  near 
the  old  Wisconsin  home  at  Schleisengerville,  Washington 
County;  and  Annie,  wife  of  J.  E.  Jones,  a manufacturer 
and  foundryman  at  Richmond,  Indiana. 

George  J.  Gensman  has  had  an  active  and  progressive 
career  since  his  boyhood  on  a Wisconsin  farm.  He  at- 
tended common  schools,  and  at  the  age  of  seventeen  qual- 
ified as  a teacher.  His  first  school  was  near  the  old  home 
place.  He  worked  on  a farm,  taught,  and  for  five  differ- 
ent terms  attended  the  Valparaiso  Normal  School,  now 
the  Valparaiso  University  in  Indiana.  In  1889,  at  the 
age  of  twenty-five,  he  removed  to  Sedgwick  County,  Kan- 
sas, where  his  father  had  invested  in  land,  and  gave  some 
attention  to  its  management  for  a year  or  two.  At  the 
same  time  he  continued  his  work  as  an  educator.  He  was 
principal  of  the  Two-department  School  at  Garden  Plain, 
and  while  there  acquired  a farm  of  160  acres  near 
Wichita.  This  was  unimproved  land,  and  he  developed 
it  through  renters.  His  work  as  principal  at  Garden 
Plain  continued  four  years,  after  which  he  was  principal 
at  Andale  in  the  same  county  two  years,  and  then  for 
three  years  was  principal  of  the  Four-department  School 
at  Mount  Hope,  one  of  the  best  towns  in  Sedgwick 
County. 

In  the  meantime  Mr.  Gensman  had  married  and  there 
were  children  to  be  provided  for.  He  and  his  brother 
Fred  had  taken  counsel  together  and  conceived  the  idea 
of  opening  in  business  in  a new  country.  Fred  had  already 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2057 


acquired  some  land  near  Enid,  Oklahoma,  and  that  prob- 
ably was  the  chief  influence  that  brought  them  to  the 
town.  In  March,  1898,  the  two  brothers  bought  an  in- 
terest with  the  H.  E.  Diehl  & Company,  a general  hard- 
ware and  farm  implement  house.  The  business  was  con- 
tinued as  H.  E.  Diehl  & Company  until  January  1,  1901. 
At  that  date  the  three  brothers,  Fred,  William  and 
George,  bought  the  Diehl  interests,  and  established  the 
firm  of  Gensman  Brothers.  In  the  meantime,  under  the 
impulse  of  the  aggressive  enterprise  of  the  Gensmans, 
the  business  had  grown  to  an  annual  volume  of  sales 
amounting  to  $50,000,  about  3%  times  what  it  was  in 
1898.  Then  came  the  chief  calamity  which  this  thriving, 
business  has  known.  In  July,  1901,  the  entire  plant  was 
burned,  causing  a loss  of  $40,000  above  insurance.  There 
was  not  a moment  of  doubt  or  hesitation  in  the  minds 
of  the  brothers  about  re-establishing  the  business.  The 
plant  was  re-built,  and  the  firm  was  accorded  almost 
unlimited  credit.  They  filled  up  their  warehouses  and 
shelves  with  a complete  stock  of  goods  on  credit  from  the 
manufacturers,  and  in  a short  time  had  paid  off  every 
dollar  of  obligation,  were  discounting  their  bills  regularly, 
and  that  record  has  since  been  maintained,  only  in  in- 
creasing volume. 

The  greatest  development  and  improvement  in  the  busi: 
Jii  ness  came  about  in  1914.  At  that  time  the  house  was  sell- 
te  ing  goods  aggregating  a quarter  of  a million  dollars 
it,  annually.  On  January  1,  1912,  the  copartnership  was  re- 
te  placed  by  an  incorporation  known  as  the  Gensman 
in  Brothers  & Company,  and  the  capital  was  increased  to 
to  $75,000.  The  business  has  since  been  modified  and  ex- 
lie  tended  so  as  to  afford  the  advantages  of  organization  to 
oc-  practically  all  the  trade  territory  surrounding  Enid.  In 
ife  carrying  out  this  plan  branch  retail  stores  have  been 
sa  established,  two  of  them  at  Enid,  one  at  Billings,  one  at 
ras  Marshall,  one  at  Salt  Fork,  one  at  Hunter,  one  at  Goltry, 
ven  one  at  Nash,  and  one  at  Jefferson.  All  these  stores  have 
lid.  ready  access  by  railroad  with  Enid,  and  the  manager  of 
mel  each  branch  store  is  a stockholder  in  the  firm  of  Gens- 
hter  man  Brothers  & Company.  At  the  present  time  about 
lith  sixteen  men  are  working  stockholders  and  participants  in 
e of  the  business.  This  original  plan,  though  somewhat  sim- 
ther  ilar  to  the  “chain  of  stores”  idea,  has  reached  a high 
near  degree  of  perfection  in  this  particular  case.  A purpose 
gtoi  always  kept  in  mind  is  to  give  expert  service  to  custom- 
uret  ers,  and  that  principle  has  been  emphasized  in  every  par- 
ticular. The  two  Enid  retail  stores  employ  from  eighteen 
ssive  to  twenty-five  persons,  and  the  entire  business  now  repre- 
e at-  sents  a large  capital,  with  several  hundred  people  engaged, 
qiial^  The  results  have  fully  justified  all  expectations.  Goods 
home  are  purchased  in  large  quantities,  and  as  a result  local 
liffer-  dealers  whether  within  the  chain  of  branch  stores  or  not, 
bow  have  the  advantages  of  low  prices  and  large  stocks, 
t tie  Gensman  Brothers  & Company  have  dealings  with  almost 
Kan-  every  hardware  firm  within  the  large  territory  compris- 
some  ing  Garfield,  Noble,  Logan,  Major,  Alfalfa,  Grant  and 
it  the  part  of  Kay  counties,  all  of  which  territory  is  accessible 
[e  was  to  Enid  by  the  eleven  lines  of  railroads  centering  there. 
Plain,  On  May  1,  1913,  Mr.  Gensman  became  vice  president 
i seal  at  the  organization  of  the  Central  State  Bank  of  Enid, 
eloped  In  two  years  time  this  bank  has  become  the  second  largest 
iaiden  in  amount  of  resources  and  business  in  the  State  of  Okla- 


The  executive  personnel  of  the  Gensman  Brothers  & 
Company  comprises  George,  president  and  treasurer ; Fred 
C.,  secretary;  and  C.  H.  Haekett,  vice  president.  The 
brother  William  was  secretary  of  the  company  until  his 
death  by  accident  on  January  20,  1913.  At  the  time  he 
was  en  route  to  the  Santa  Fe  Station,  intending  to  visit 
the  branch  store  at  Marshall.  While  driving'  his  auto- 
alreadj  mobile  he  came  into  collision  with  the  city  fire  truck,  and 


after  the  accident  never  regained  consciousness  and  died 
within  a few  hours. 

George  Gensman  has  also  been  an  active  factor  in  civic 
affairs  at  Enid.  The  city  is  now  under  an  admirable 
jflan  of  commission  government.  On  April  27,  1902,  a 
committee  of  twelve  persons,  two  from  each  ward,  was 
chosen  to  draw  up  a new  charter.  George  Gensman  was 
one  of  those  representing  the  Fourth  Ward.  This  charter 
was  reported  after  six  weeks  of  strenuous  labor,  was 
adopted  at  a popular  election,  received  the  approval  of 
the  courts,  and  is  still  in  operation.  Mr.  Gensman  is  a 
member  of  the  board  of  directors  of  the  Chamber  of 
Commerce  and  is  usually  found  working  in  any  move- 
ment for  the  general  advancement. 

On  September  4,  1890,  at  Wichita,  Kansas,  he  married 
Miss  Dora  Belle  Osborn  of  Fort  Scott,  Kansas.  They 
have  three  daughters.  Mabel  is  the  wife  of  G.  P.  Legg, 
who  is  connected  with  the  Gensman  Brothers  & Com- 
pany. The  two  younger  daughters  are  Fay  and  Dorothy. 

Prof.  Harvey  Lemuel,  Allen.  The  distinctions  of 
good  faithful  work  and  successful  accomplishment  have 
come  plentifully  to  Harvey  L.  Allen,  not  only  in  liis 
regular  vocation  as  a teacher  and  educator,  but  also  in 
business  and  social  and  civic  affairs.  Professor  Allen 
is  now  superintendent  of  the  entire  public  school  system 
of  Tecumseh.  He  has  been  well  known  in  educational 
circles  in  different  parts  of  the  state  for  several  years. 

Born  in  Bates  County,  Missouri,  September  20,  1888, 
he  is  a son  of  Bev.  H.  W.  and  Mary  B.  (Warren)  Allen, 
and  comes  of  old  American  stock  on  both  sides.  The 
Allens  were  of  Seotch-Irish  descent,  and  included  in  one 
branch  of  the  family  the  noted  Ethan  Allen  of  Revolu- 
tionary fame.  The  Warrens  are  direct  descendants  from 
the  same  ancestry  as  the  brilliant  General  Warren,  who 
fell  at  Bunker  Hill. 

Professor  Allen  and  bis  ancestors  have  been  promi- 
nently identified  with  the  Masonic  Order  for  generations, 
though  his  father  never  joined  that  order.  His  fore- 
father, General  Warren,  was  the  first  master  of  the  lodge 
in  America,  serving  one  term  and  three  years  of  a second 
term  until  he  participated  in  that  fateful  battle  of 
Bunker  Hill  and  lost  his  life.  In  practically  every 
generation  since  then  there  have  been  Allens  and  War- 
rens who  have  gained  distinguished  rank  in  Masonry. 

Professor  Allen’s  grandfather  was  William  Allen,  who 
was  a pioneer  of  Oklahoma  and  died  at  Elk  City  in  this 
state  in  1911.  He  was  born  in  Bradley  County,  Ten- 
nessee, in  1843.  In  1852  his  parents  removed  to  Illinois, 
and  when  he  was  nineteen  years  of  age  he  went  to  the 
young  town  of  Kansas  City,  Jackson  County,  Missouri, 
although  at  that  time  Kansas  City  had  hardly  come  into 
existence,  certainly  not  as  a city.  William  Allen  was 
proprietor  of  a hotel  in  Kansas  City  and  subsequently 
became  a farmer.  He  served  all  through  the  Civil  war 
under  Joe  Shelby  in  the  Confederate  Army,  being  a 
quarter  master.  After  the  war  he  removed  to  Bates 
County,  Missouri,  homesteaded  a farm,  lived  there  quietly 
and  industriously  until  1898  and  then  once  more  became 
a pioneer,  this  time  in  Canadian  County,  Oklahoma.  He 
bought  a relinquishment  where  the  town  of  old  Matthew- 
son  was  later  built.  It  was  his  distinction  to  have  erected 
the  first  house  in  D County,  now  Dewey  County,  Okla- 
homa, and  he  became  a general  merchant.  In  1909  he 
removed  to  Elk  City  and  went  into  the  lumber  business, 
and  that  was  his  line  of  work  until  his  death.  The 
farm  which  he  had  in  Dewey  County  he  subsequently  sold 
to  the  Leedey  Townsite  Company. 

Rev.  H.  W.  Allen,  father  of  Professor  Allen,  was  born 
in  Bates  County,  Missouri,  in  1869  and  died  at  Weather- 
ford, Oklahoma,  February  9,  1913.  His  youth  and  early 
manhood  were  spent  in  Bates  County  until  1898.  In 


2058 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


that  year  lie  came  to  Oklahoma  and  filed  a claim  where 
the  Town  of  Leedey  stands.  While  he  gave  much  atten- 
tion to  farming  he  was  in  reality  first  and  last  a minister, 
and  was  a pioneer  missionary  of  the  Church  of  God. 
He  organized  the  first  church  of  that  denomination  in 
that  section  of  Oklahoma,  and  worked  as  a missionary 
under  the  national  board  both  in  Missouri  and  Okla- 
homa, being  the  highest  salaried  missionary  of  the 
Church  of  God  in  any  state.  In  fact,  he  was  at  the  head 
of  this  denomination  in  the  State  of  Oklahoma.  A 
democrat,  he  interested  himself  in  politics  not  for  per- 
sonal advancement  but  for  the  good  of  the  party  and 
for  good  government.  At  one  time  he  was  president 
of  the  Democratic  Club  at  Weatherford,  and  was  twice 
given  a nomination  for  office  by  his  fellow  citizens.  He 
was  a member  of  the  Brotherhood  of  American  Yeomen. 
Eev.  Mr.  Allen  married  Mary  B.  Warren,  a native  of 
Ohio,  who  is  still  living  at  Weatherford.  Their  children 
were:  Harvey  Lemuel;  Eldon  H.,  who  died  in  Weather- 

ford, Oklahoma,  at  the  age  of  fifteen;  and  H.  F.  Allen, 
who  is  principal  of  the  schools  at  Gotebo,  Oklahoma. 

As  a boy  Professor  Allen  attended  country  schools  in 
Bates  County,  Missouri.  He  has  allowed  no  opportuni- 
ties for  learning  and  self  improvement  to  pass  by.  In 
1905  he  attended  the  Collegiate  Institute  at  Fort  Scott, 
Kansas,  one  year.  He  then  entered  the  Southwestern 
Normal  School  at  Weatherford,  Oklahoma,  graduating 
with  the  class  of  1909,  and  has  since  received  the  degree 
Master  of  Pedagogy  from  the  Teachers  Professional 
College  of  Austin,  Texas.  During  1909-10  he  was  prin- 
cipal of  the  high  school  at  Anadarko,  then  became  super- 
intendent of  schools  at  Alderson,  Oklahoma,  for  two 
years,  and  in  the  fall  of  1912  entered  Henry  Kendall 
College  for  post-graduate  work,  and  at  the  same  time 
was  an  instructor  in  the  institution.  In  1913  he  received 
his  well  earned  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts.  He  has  also 
taken  a summer  course  of  study  in  the  University  of 
Missouri.  In  the  summers  of  1914  and  1915  he  took 
courses  of  instruction  in  the  University  of  Oklahoma. 
Professor  Allen  is  a member  of  the  Kappa  Delta  Pi 
Greek  Letter  Honorary  Educational  Fraternity,  the  Uni- 
versity of  Oklahoma  Chapter. 

In  the  fall  of  1913  Professor  Allen  accepted  the 
position  of  dean  of  the  Collegiate  Institute  at  Fort  Scott, 
Kansas.  During  the  next  year,  1914,  he  was  superin- 
tendent of  schools  at  Cleo  Springs,  and  in  the  spring 
of  1915  he  accepted  the  heavy  responsibilities  of  super- 
intendent of  schools  at  Tecumseh.  He  now  has  under 
his  supervision  four  public  schools,  with  a staff  of  nine- 
teen teachers,  and  a total  enrollment  of  733  scholars. 
He  has  been  re-elected  superintendent  of  schools  of 
Tecumseh  for  1916-17,  and  is  assisting  in  ereeting  a 
splendid  new  high  school  building. 

Politically  he  is  a democrat,  and  is  a member  of  the 
Church  of  God,  the  denomination  in  which  his  father 
was  a minister.  Fraternally  he  is  almost  by  inheritance 
identified  with  Masonry.  He  has  filled  chairs  in  Anadarko 
Lodge  No.  21,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons;  is 
a member  of  Indian  Consistory  No.  2 of  the  thirty- 
second  degree  Scottish  Eite  at  McAlester;  a member  of 
the  Order  of  Eastern  Star  at  Alderson;  and  is  also  a 
member  and  has  served  as  chaplain  of  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows  at  Alderson.  In  educational  circles 
his  acquaintance  is  widespread,  and  he  is  an  active 
member  of  the  County  and  State  Teachers’  associations. 
At  one  time  he  was  chairman  of  the  Young  Men’s 
Democratic  Club  at  Weatherford.  The  wide  scope  of 
his  interests  is  shown  by  the  fact  that  for  three  years 
he  was  a member  of  Company  B of  the  Second  Missouri 
Militia.  He  is  also  a stockholder  in  the  Farmers  State 
Bank  at  Weatherford. 

In  1912  Professor  Allen  was  married  at  Mounds, 


Oklahoma,  to  Miss  Neva  Young.  Her  father,  A.  J. 
Young,  is  a Union  veteran  of  the  Civil  war,  a republican 
in  politics,  and  has  long  been  a farmer,  and  now  resides 
at  Quincy,  Missouri.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Allen  have  one  child, 
Geraldine,  born  October  22,  1914. 

Eedmond  Selecman  Cole.  The  achievement  of  such 
a position  as  that  occupied  by  Eedmond  Selecman  Cole 
in  legal  circles  of  Oklahoma,  when  attained  by  one  still 
so  young  in  years,  is  typical  of  American  grit  and  the 
true  western  spirit  of  enterprise.  A resident  of  Pawnee 
since  1909,  he  has  attracted  to  himself  a wide  and  influ- 
ential clientele,  and  at  the  same  time  has  become  one  of 
the  democratic  leaders  of  Pawnee  County. 

Mr.  Cole  was  born  east  of  Savannah,  in  Andrew 
County,  Missouri,  August  22,  1881,  and  is  a»son  of  James 
Buchanan  and  Virginia  Lee  (Bedford)  Cole,  and  on  both 
sides  of  the  family  traces  his  ancestry  back  through  gen- 
erations of  distinguished  men  and  gentle  women,  promi- 
nent in  the  professions  and  arts,  in  business,  society  and 
polities,  and  in  military  and  civil  life.  His  grand- 
parents on  the  paternal  side  were  Capt.  James  L.  and 
Eliza  (Patterson)  Cole,  of  Washington  County,  Vir- 
ginia; his  great-grandparents,  Peleg  and  Mary  (Wil- 
liams) Cole;  his  great-great-grandfather,  John  Cole,  and 
his  great-great-great-grandfather,  Joseph  Cole,  who  set- 
tled on  the  Holston  Biver,  in  southwestern  Virginia,  in 
1774,  and  was  captain  of  a company  of  Patriots  at 
King ’s  Mountain  during  the  War  of  the  Eevolution.  On 
the  maternal  side,  Mr.  Cole’s  grandparents  were  Lieut. 
Alexander  Marshall  and  Mary  (Selecman)  Bedford,  his 
great-grandparents  John  and  Elizabeth  Burk  (Howard) 
Bedford,  his  great-great-grandparents,  John  and  Mary 
Ann  (Marshall)  Bedford,  his  great-great-great-grand- 
parents, Thomas  and  Mary  Ligon  (Coleman)  Bedford, 
and  his  great-great-great-great-grandfather,  Stephen 
Bedford,  who  died  in  Charlotte  County,  Virginia,  in 
1758.  Thomas  Bedford  was  selected  a member  of  the 
Committee  of  Safety  for  Charlotte  County,  Virginia, 
January  13,  1777.  The  grandfathers  of  Mr.  Cole, 
Capt.  James  L.  Cole  and  Lieut.  Alexander  M.  Bedford, 
secured  their  titles  as  officers  of  the  Confederacy  during 
the  Civil  war.  On  the  Selecman  side,  Mr.  Cole’s  grand- 
parents were  Henry  W.  and  Mary  (Simpson)  Selecman, 
his  great-grandparents,  George  and  Jane  (Davis)  Selec- 
man, and  his  great-great-grandparents,  Henry  and  Mar- 
garet (Harmon)  Selecman,  who  emigrated  to  America 
from  Germany  shortly  before  the  War  of  the  Eevolution 
and  settled  below  Washington  on  Oceoquan  Eiver,  in 
Virginia.  Eedmond  Selecman  Cole  is  the  namesake  of 
Eedmond  Selecman,  who  served  in  the  Confederate  army 
with  the  rank  of  lieutenant. 

Eedmond  S.  Cole  passed  his  boyhood  days  in  Andrew 
County,  Missouri,  where  he  secured  a common  school 
education,  this  being  supplemented  by  attendance  at  the 
Kirksville  (Missouri)  Normal  School  from  1899  until 
1901.  He  spent  eight  years,  from  1901  until  1909,  at  the 
Missouri  University,  Columbia,  and  his  college  career 
was  one  that  was  replete  with  brilliant  achievements  and 
well-earned  honors.  As  editor  of  the  college  paper,  the 
Independent,  from  1905  until  1907,  he  gave  the  student 
body  a well-edited  journal;  in  1909  he  acted  as  colonel 
of  cadets  at  the  Missouri  University  Military  School;  at 
various  times  he  represented  his  college  in  debates  witli 
the  Universities  of  Texas,  Kansas  and  Oklahoma,  in 
which  his  oratorical  powers  and  skillful  and  forceful  logic 
did  much  to  uphold  the  prestige  of  his  alma  mater.  He 
received  the  degree  of  Fellow  in  Economies,  1905-9,  the 
Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  in  1905  and  the  Master  of  Arts 
degree  in  1906,  and  following  this  studied  in  the  law 
school  for  two  years.  In  fraternity  circles  he  was  always 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2059 


1- 

ulj 

i- 

il-'i 

id 

:t- 

at] 

Dn 

at. 

his 


ait 

ml, 

hen 

in 

the  ,j 
niaJ 
lole, 
flrcU 
riiij 
and- 


Mr.- 
Ties 
itiou 
r,  in 
;e  of 
army 

ulreiT 

"1 
it  II"' 
until 
it  the 
rarer 
■«  ami 
r,  the 
tudent 
'iilnnel 
iol;  at 

; with 

na,  in' 
il  logic 

r,  Het 

;-9,  thi 
it  Aits 
he  law 
always" 


popular,  and  still  retains  membership  in  the  Delta  Tau 
Delta,  Delta  Sigma  Elio  (honorary  debating)  and  Phi 
Alpha  Delta  (honorary  law)  societies. 

In  1908  Mr.  Cole  became  associate  editor  of  the  Colum- 
bia, Missouri,  Sentinel,  but  in  the  same  year  resigned 
that  position  to  accept  that  of  editor  of  the  Herald,  a 
daily  and  weekly  publication,  issued  at  the  same  place, 
and  continued  as  its  editor  until  entering  upon  the  prac- 
tice of  his  profession.  Admitted  to  the  bar  in  Missouri, 
in  January,  1909,  on  April  26th  of  that  year  he  came  to 
Pawnee,  Oklahoma,  where  he  became  associated  in  prac- 
tice with  George  E.  Merritt,  under  the  firm  style  of 
Merritt  & Cole.  On  February  8,  1910,  he  was  appointed 
county  attorney  of  Pawnee  County,  to  fill  a vacancy,  and 
in  November,  1910,  was  elected  to  succeed  himself,  Ris 
popularity  and  the  recognition  of  his  ability  being  indi- 
cated by  the  fact  that  he  ran  300  votes  ahead  of  the 
democratic  candidate  for  governor.  He  was  re-elected  to 
succeed  himself  in  November,  1912,  but  January  4,  1915, 
retired  from  office  to  devote  his  attention  to  his  rapidly 
growing  law  practice,  although  he  has  continued  to  main- 
tain his  interest  in  polities,  and  is  accounted  a demo- 
cratic party  leader  in  Pawnee  County.  Mr.  Cole  frater- 
nizes with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and 
the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  While  a student  at 
the  University  of  Missouri,'  he  acquired  a fondness  for 
history  and  research  work,  and  has  continued  to  indulge 
his  taste  for  these  interesting  labors,  being  at  present  a 
member  of  the  state  historical  societies  of  Missouri, 
Iowa,  Illinois,  Wisconsin,  Kansas  and  Oklahoma,  of 
which  last  three  named  he  is  a life  member.  He  is  now 
engaged  in  the  preparation  of  a comprehsnsive  history 
of  Pawnee  County. 

On  June  11,  1905,  Mr.  Cole  was  married  at  Columbia, 
Missouri,  to  Miss  Mary  Thompson  Cross,  who  was  born 
at  Ladonia,  Missouri,  October  22,  1884,  daughter  of 
John  Newton  and  Olivia  McClure  (Harris)  Cross,  now 
of  Keyes,  California,  granddaughter  of  William  Blythe 
and  Mary  Jane  (Shores)  Cross,  great-granddaughter  of 
John  and  Sally  (Blythe)  Cross,  great-great-granddaugh- 
ter of  William  and  Sarah  (McCowan)  Cross,  and  great- 
great-great-granddaughter  of  James  Cross,  who  came 
from  England  in  1773  to  fight  with  General  Braddock  and 
who  later  fought  in  the  Patriot  army  in  the  Revolutionary 
war.  On  the  maternal  side,  Mrs.  Cole  is  the  grand- 
daughter of  Thomas  Banks  and  Margaret  Dun  (Thomp- 
son) Harris,  and  great-granddaughter  of  William  and 
Margaret  (Downing)  Harris,  and  of  Morgan  N.  and 
Elizabeth  (Williams)  Thompson.  Mrs.  Cole  graduated 
from  the  Mexico  (Missouri)  High  School  in  1902,  and 
in  1908  received  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Sciences  from 
Missouri  University.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cole  are  members  of 
the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church.  They  are  the  parents 
of  one  child,  Olivia  Harris  Cole,  born  at  Pawnee,  Okla- 
homa, June  27,  1913. 

William  H.  Hills.  In  the  field  of  corporation  law  one 
of  the  ablest  attorneys  in  Western  Oklahoma  is  William 
H.  Hills,  who  has  been  identified  with  the  Enid  bar 
since  1902.  Mr.  Hills  has  had  a varied  experience  during 
his  career,  and  gained  his  law  education  while  working 
for  the  Armour  Packing  Company  in  Kansas  City,  study- 
ing at  night.  As  a lawyer  he  has  since  handled  many 
important  cases,  involving  large  values  and  grave  prin- 
ciples, and  has  likewise  taken  a leading  part  in  polities, 
church  and  social  affairs. 

William  H.  Hills  was  born  in  Crawfordsville,  Indiana, 
October  6,  1869.  His  father,  Captain  Francis  E.  Hills, 
who  is  a pioneer  of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  was  born  in 
Xenia,  Ohio,  went  to  Indiana  as  a boy,  and  at  the  outbreak 
of  the  Civil  war  enlisted  as  a private  in  the  famous 


Indiana  Zouaves  commanded  by  Colonel,  late  General 
Lew  Wallace,  the  noted  soldier-author  of  Crawfordsville, 
Indiana.  Few  men  had  a longer  or  more  active  service. 
He  was  in  the  army  four  years  and  eight  months,  and 
was  with  Grant  at  Belmont,  Missouri,  at  the  beginning 
of  the  great  campaign  for  the  wresting  of  the  Missis- 
sippi Valley  from  the  Confederacy,  and  was  under  that 
leader  at  Richmond,  at  the  end  of  the  war.  He  par- 
ticipated at  Fort  Donelson,  Shiloh,  Vicksburg,  where  he 
was  wounded,  in  the  Atlanta  campaign,  was  with  Sheridan 
in  the  Shenandoah  Valley,  and  thence  in  the  final  opera- 
tions leading  up  to  the  fall  of  Richmond.  He  went  into 
the  army  as  a private,  and  was  discharged  with  the  rank  of 
captain  of  Company  I of  the  Eleventh  Indiana  Infantry. 
From  1870  he  lived  in  Iowa  for  about  six  years,  and  then 
removed  to  the  vicinity  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  in  1876. 
In  1893  at  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip  he  made 
the  race  into  the  new  country,  secured  a farm  in  Mc- 
Henry Township  twenty  miles  northwest  of  Enid,  and 
has  lived  there  ever  since.  He  is  recognized  as  one  of  the 
best  farmers  of  the  county,  and  has  also  made  himself 
an  influence  in  politics.  He  is  a republican,  served  as 
chairman  of  the  County  Central  Committee,  and  has  been 
a member  of  the  school  board  of  his  locality  for  twenty 
years  or  more. 

William  H.  Hills  lived  at  Kansas  City  from  1876  until 
June,  1902.  His  common  school  education  was  acquired 
at  Liberty,  Missouri,  and  he  also  took  a classical  course 
in  the  William  Jewell  College  at  Liberty,  graduating  in 
1893.  He  attended  the  Kansas  City  School  of  Law,  and 
received  his  degree  from  that  institution  in  1900.  For 
thirteen  years  off  and  on  he  was  in  the  employ  of  the 
Armour  Packing  Company  at  Kansas  City,  most  of  the 
time  as  superintendent  of  the  lard  department. 

In  1902  Mr.  Hills  removed  to  Enid  and  has  since  been 
in  a general  practice.  For  six  years,  however,  he  has 
specialized  in  corporation  .cases,  and  now  handles  business 
in  all  the  courts.  In  several  important  cases  he  has 
appeared  before  the  United  States  Circuit  Court  of  Ap- 
peals at  St.  Paul.  A varied  corporation  practice  has 
come  to  him,  and  he  is  entrusted  with  the  arguing  and 
handling  of  cases  involving  banking  and  other  impor- 
tant matters.  As  a citizen  Mr.  Hills  served  on  the  city 
council  one  term,  and  also  on  the  board  of  education. 
Under  the  auspices  of  the  county  and  state  committee 
he  has  been  an  active  campaigner  in  the  interests  of  the 
republican  ticket,  and  has  served  as  a delegate  to  various 
local  and  state  conventions.  He  has  also  attended  na- 
tional conventions  of  both  parties  as  a spectator,  and 
heard  Bryan  make  his  great  speech  in  the  old  Chicago 
Coliseum  in  1896.  Mr.  Hills  is  a Mason  and  is  well 
known  in  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks, 
being  a past  exalted  ruler  of  his  lodge  and  having  sat  in 
the  supreme  lodge. 

In  church  affairs  Mr.  Hills  is  a Presbyterian.  Under 
the  influence  of  a celebrated  evangelist  he  was  converted 
about  six  years  ago,  and  it  being  his  nature  to  enlist  him- 
self with  a whole  heart  in  every  cause,  he  became  an 
enthusiastic  Christian  worker,  believing  that  the  greatest 
happiness  to  self  and  humanity  comes  as  a result  of  the 
Christian  life.  He  served  as  president  of  the  Union 
Churchmen’s  League,  an  organization  which  developed 
its  strength  to  600  members. 

Mr.  Hills  was  married  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  in 
January,  1896,  to  Miss  Elsie  C.  Lindgren,  of  Rockford, 
Illinois.  She  graduated  from  the  Kansas  City  High 
School,  and  became  the  mother  of  one  daughter,  Florence 
E.,  who  is  now  a student  in  the  Searritt  School  at  Kansas 
City.  Mrs.  Hills  died  November  22,  1914,  and  is  buried 
at  Kansas  City  beside  her  mother. 


2060 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


John  W.  Browning,  M.  D.  Among  the  leading  mem- 
bers of  the  Blaine  County  medical  fraternity  is  found 
Dr.  John  W.  Browning,  in  whose  long  and  uniformly 
progressive  career  several  personal  traits  are  noticeable, 
these  including  versatility  of  talents  combined  with 
thoroughness  of  preparation  and  depth  of  medical  and 
surgical  knowledge.  A man  of  broad  education  and  ex- 
perience, of  high  personal  character,  courteous  and 
capable,  he  is  justly  accounted  one  of  Geary’s  foremost 
citizens. 

Doctor  Browning  is  a member  of  a family  which  was 
founded  in  America  by  three  brothers  of  the  name  who 
immigrated  from  England  and  settled  during  colonial 
days,  one  in  Virginia,  one  in  Maryland  and  one  in  Penn- 
sylvania, Doctor  Browning  being  descended  from  either 
the  Virginia  or  Maryland  branches.  He  was  born  at 
Limestone,  Washington  County,  Tennessee,  December  23, 
1869,  his  parents  being  William  A.  and  Betty  (Carr) 
Browning.  William  A.  Browning  was  born  at  Boone’s 
Creek,  Tennessee,  in  1840,  and  was  reared  to  agricultural 
pursuits,  in  which  he  was  engaged  at  the  outbreak  be- 
tween the  states.  He  enlisted  in  a Tennessee  volunteer 
cavalry  regiment,  in  which  he  served  during  the  war. 
Since  the  close  of  the  struggle  he  has  devoted  his  energies 
to  general  farming,  and  is  now  a resident  of  Washington 
College  Station,  Tennessee.  He  is  a republican  in  his 
political  belief,  and  a consistent  member  of  the  United 
Brethren  Church.  Mrs.  Browning  was  a Dunkard.  She 
was  born  in  Tennessee  in  1839  and  died  in  January,  1915, 
the  mother  of  seven  children,  as  follows  • Anna,  who  is 
the  wife  of  H.  H.  Diveley,  of  Guthrie,  and  she  is  a 
teacher  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  College  at  that  place ; 
Dr.  John  W.  Browning;  Bertha,  who  died  at  Limestone, 
Tennessee,  at  the  age  of  ten  year's;  Dora,  who  resides 
on  the  home  farm  with  her  father;  Bev.  Samuel,  who 
is  a minister  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  South 
at  Knoxville,  Tennessee;  Rev.  William  E.,  also  a minister 
of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  South,  with  a charge 
in  Tennessee;  and  Maggie,  who  died  in  infancy. 

John  W.  Browning  laid  the  foundation  for  his  educa- 
tion in  the  public  schools  of  Limestone,  Tennessee,  and 
afterward  pursued  a business  course  at  Washington  Col- 
lege in  his  native  state.  He  next  turned  his  attention  to 
the  study  of  medicine,  and  after  some  preparation  in  the 
Baltimore  Medical  College  of  Baltimore,  Maryland,  he 
entered  Barnes  Medical  College,  St.  Louis,  Missouri, 
from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1899  with  the  degree 
of  Doctor  of  Medicine.  While  he  began  practice  at  that 
time  he  did  not  cease  his  studies,  for  he  has  always 
been  a close  student  and  has  taken  several  post-graduate 
courses,  one  at  the  Chicago  Polyclinic  in  1903,  and  he 
attended  the  New  York  Post-Graduate  School  in  1908. 
At  the  time  of  securing  his  degree  in  May,  1899,  Doctor 
Browning  came  to  Geary,  Oklahoma,  and  here  his  entire 
professional  career  has  been  passed.  He  devotes  his 
learning,  skill  and  energies  to  a general  medical  and 
surgical  practice  and  has  offices  in  the  Gillespie  Building, 
where  his  many  patients  find  conveniences  and  equipment 
for  the  handling  of  the  most  delicate  and  complicated 
cases.  His  ability  has  been  recognized  by  his  profes- 
sional brethren,  who  elected  him  president  of  the  Blaine 
County  Medical  Society,  of  which  he  is  still  a member, 
as  he  is  also  of  the  Oklahoma  Medical  Society  and  the 
American  Medical  Association.  Fraternally  the  doctor 
is  a member  of  the  Masonic  Order,  and  his  political 
affiliation  is  with  the  republican  party. 

In  1899,  at  Wilson,  Texas,  Doctor  Browning  was  mar- 
ried to  Miss  Ida  E.  Clarke,  a daughter  of  the  late  Preston 
.T.  Clarke.  Mr.  Clarke,  a man  of  broad  education,  was  a 
justice  of  the  peace  in  his  native  State  of  Georgia,  and 
later  became  postmaster  at  Wilson,  Texas,  where  he  was 
a leading  democrat  and  influential  citizen.  Four  children 


have  been  born  to  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Browning:  Vanda, 

who  is  a member  of  the  sophomore  class  at  the  Geary 
High  School;  Margaret,  a pupil  in  the  eighth  grade  of 
the  public  schools;  Grace,  in  the  seventh  grade;  and 
Verona,  attending  the  second  grade. 

Henry  J.  Sturgis.  Before  coming  to  Enid  at  the 
opening  of  the  Strip  in  1893,  Henry  J.  Sturgis  was 
already  a well  seasoned  lawyer  and  for  seven  years  had 
practiced  in  Kansas.  Mr.  Sturgis  is  one  of  the  prom- 
inent men  of  Western  Oklahoma,  with  recognized  ability 
and  attainments  in  the  law,  and  has  made  himself  an 
influential  figure  in  politics  and  social  life. 

Henry  J.  Sturgis  was  born  in  Fayette  County,  Penn- 
sylvania, March  5,  1862,  a son  of  respected  and  sub- 
stantial farming  people.  His  early  life  until  twenty-one 
was  spent  on  a farm,  with  such  education  as  the  district 
schools  and  the  neighboring  academy  afforded.  Having 
resolved  to  study  law,  he  entered  the  law  department  of 
the  University  of  West  Virginia  at  Morgantown,  and 
was  graduated  with  his  class  in  1885.  He  was  admitted 
by  examination  before  three  circuit  judges,  and  in  1886 
came  out  to  a comparatively  new  country  to  begin  prac- 
tice. His  location  was  at  Great  Bend,  Kansas,  which 
was  then  a frontier  town. 

On  September  16,  1893,  Mr.  Sturgis  made  the  run  at 
the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  and  arrived  in  Enid 
by  train  from  Hennessey.  From  the  day  of  his  arrival 
lie  made  himself  known  as  a lawyer  and  has  been  iden- 
tified with  a substantial  general  practice  for  many  years. 
A high  tribute  to  his  ability  as  a lawyer  came  when  he 
was  nominated  by  the  republican  party  as  candidate  for 
justice  of  the  Supreme  Court  in  1914. 

His  public  service  has  been  of  varied  and  responsible 
character.  From  1903  to  1905  he  served  as  county  attor- 
ney of  Garfield  County.  He  was  chairman  of  the  Repub- 
lican County  Central  Committee  in  1906' and  in  1907  dur- 
ing the  statehood  election.  From  1907  to  1912  he  served 
as  federal  referee  in  bankruptcy.  He  has  been  a delegate 
to  numerous  state  and  local  conventions,  and  is  noted  as 
a forceful  campaigner. 

Mr.  Sturgis  was  honored  by  election  as  the  first  pres- 
ident of  the  Garfield  County  Bar  Association  upon  the 
reorganization  of  that  association  in  1908  following  state- 
hood. He  did  much  to  promote  the  welfare  and  member- 
ship of  the  organization,  and  continued  to  preside  over 
its  meetings  for  two  years.  Each  year  the  annual  ban- 
quet is  held  on  Lincoln’s  birthday.  He  is  also  a mem- 
ber of  the  State  Bar  Association.  For  many  years  he 
has  been  identified  with  the  Benevolent  and  Protective 
Order  of  Elks,  and  was  the  first  exalted  ruler  of  the  lodge 
at  Enid,  and  has  attended  two  grand  conventions,  one  at 
Los  Angeles  and  the  other  at  Buffalo. 

At  Great  Bend,  Kansas,  in  1890  Mr.  Sturgis  married 
Miss  Lulu  Luttrell,  who  was  born  in  Illinois.  Their  one 
daughter,  Roqua,  completed  her  education  in  St.  Joseph’s 
Institute  at  Enid. 

David  B.  Bellis.  Prominent  among  the  retired  citi- 
zens of  Cushing,  Oklahoma,  is  found  David  B.  Bellis, 
who  has  resided  in  this  state  since  the  opening  of  the 
Cherokee  Strip.  During  the  more  than  twenty  years  of 
his  residence  here  he  has  been  interested  in  farming 
and  stock  raising  and  kindred  enterprises,  and  now,  in 
the  evening  of  life,  is  resting  from  his  labors,  having 
accumulated  a satisfying  property. 

Mr.  Bellis  was  born  in  Posey  County,  Indiana,  near 
the  Town  of  Cynthiana,  December  25,  1843,  and  is  a son 
of  Charles  H.  and  Mary  (Benson)  Bellis,  natives  of 
Indiana,  the  father  born  July  4,  1818,  and  the  mother 
about  1827.  She  died  about  1860,  when  thirty-three 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2061 


years  of  age,  and  in  1863  Charles  H.  Beilis  was  again 
married,  being  united  with  Jane  Aleon.  Two  years  later, 
with  David  B.  Beilis  and  his  wife,  they  moved  to  Kansas, 
and  there  the  father  was  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits 
until  his  death  in  1885,  which  was  caused  by  a fall  when 
he  was  sixty-seven  years  of  age.  Charles  H.  Beilis  was 
the  father  of  six  children:  David  B. ; Elizabeth,  who 

died  as  the  wife  of  Charles  Shultiee;  Jane,  who  is  the 
widow  of  Mark  Benson,  of  New  Mexico;  Euphemia, 
deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of  Peter  Gursch,  deceased; 
Mary,  deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of  John  Calhoun;  and 
William,  a resident  of  Kansas. 

David  B.  Beilis  was  educated  in  the  district  schools  or 
Posey  County,  Indiana,  and  grew  up  on  the  home  farm, 
where  he  was  residing  at  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war. 
He  was  eighteen  years  of  age  when  he  enlisted  in  the 
Union  army  as  a private  in  Company  B,  Sixtieth  Regi- 
ment, Indiana  Volunteer  Infantry,  with  which  organiza- 
tion he  served  for  eleven  months  and  ten  days,  at  the 
end  of  that  time  receiving  his  honorable  discharge  on 
account  of  disability.  Returning  to  his  home,  he  again 
took  up  farming  with  his  father,  with  whom  he  continued 
operations  until  his  marriage,  October  5,  1865,  to  Miss 
Sarah  J.  MeReynolds,  who  was  born  in  Warrick  County, 
Indiana,  July  18,  1847,  a daughter  of  J.  B.  and  Matilda 
(Carnahan)  MeReynolds,  natives  of  Indiana,  the  former 
of  whom  died  in  Kansas  and  the  latter  in  California. 

Shortly  after  his  marriage  Mr.  Beilis  and  his  wife 
started  on  their  wedding  tour,  a journey  which  lasted 
seven  weeks  and  five  days.  During  this  time  they  traveled 
in  a covered  wagon  across  the  country,  and  finally 
reached  their  destination  in  Ottawa  County,  Kansas, 
where  they  lived  for  twenty-three  years.  In  1868,  during 
the  Indian  raids,  they  moved  to  Missouri,  but  after  about 
four  years  returned  to  Kansas.  At  the  time  of  their 
arrival  they  found  hardships  and  difficulties  facing  them. 
Railroads  there  were  none,  or  schools  or  school  districts; 
even  ordinary  highways  were  few  and  far  between; 
labor  was  to  be  secured  at  not  less  than  $5  a day,  and 
even  the  barest  necessities  of  life  were  correspondingly 
high.  Mrs.  Beilis  organized  a subscription  school  in 
their  home  during  the  latter  ’60s,  and  soon  had  a class 
of  twenty  pupils.  Money  was  scarce  at  that  time  and 
she  received  remuneration  for  her  labors  in  various 
ways,  one  family  paying  her  in  buffalo  meat,  while 
another  neighbor,  anxious  to  educate  her  children,  paid 
off  his  debt  in  breaking  a tract  of  prairie  for  the  Beilis 
family.  Mr.  Beilis,  who  devoted  his  time  to  breaking 
his  land  and  putting  it  under  cultivation,  also  found 
the  leisure  to  serve  as  the  first  postmaster  at  Coal  Creek, 
Kansas,  Mrs.  Beilis  looking  after  the  postoffice.  As  the 
years  passed  he  was  able  to  develop  a good  farm  and 
resided  thereon  until  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip, 
in  1893,  attracted  him  to  Oklahoma.  He  first  secured 
a claim  twelve  miles  south  of  Guthrie,  on  which  he  resided 
until  coming  to  Payne  County,  and  four  years » later 
retired  from  active  pursuits  and  took  up  his  residence 
at  Cushing,  where  he  now  lives,  one  of  his  community’s 
highly  respected  and  substantial  citizens.  Mr.  Beilis  is 
a republican  in  politics.  The  religious  faith  of  himself 
and  wife  is  that  of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  and  the 
only  order  with  which  he  is  connected  is  the  Grand  Army 
of  the  Republic. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Beilis  have  been  the  parents  of  five 
children : Mary  Matilda,  who  is  the  wife  of  E.  N.  Hunt, 

of  Guthrie;  John  H.,  president  of  the  Commonwealth 
Cotton  Oil  Company,  and  one  of  the  foremost  business 
men  of  Cushing,  a sketch  of  whose  career  appears  else- 
where in  this  work;  Etta  M.,  for  seventeen  years  a 
teacher  in  the  schools  of  Oklahoma,  and  now  the  wife 
of  W.  L.  Lormer,  of  Cushing;  C.  Oliver,  who  is  a resident 
of  Klamath  County,  Oregon;  and  Alice,  who  was  also  a 


teacher  for  several  years,  is  the  wife  of  L.  J.  Martin, 
of  Cushing. 

Hon,  Olivee  C.  Dale.  A willingness  to  face  hard- 
ships in  the  working  out  of  a well  defined  plan  of  action, 
a perseverance  which  declined  to  accept  defeat,  a faith 
in  self  which  buoyed  him  up  under  discouragement  and 
disappointment,  and  a preparedness  to  grasp  opportunity 
when  it  finally  presented  itself,  combined  to  place  Oliver 
C.  Dale,  now  mayor  of  Yale  and  one  of  the  leading  oil 
men  of  Oklahoma,  on  the  high  road  to  fortune  and 
position. 

He  and  his  family  are  now  reckoned  among  the 
wealthiest  people  of  Oklahoma.  Their  wealth  is  not  only 
due  to  the  fact  that  their  land  holdings  are  a part  of 
the  great  Cushing  oil  field,  but  also  to'the  splendid  ability 
with  which  Mr.  Dale  has  handled  the  suddenly  increased 
responsibilities  thrust  upon  him  after  the  discovery  of  oil. 
When  he  came  to  Red  Fork  in  the  Creek  Nation  in  1901, 
he  had  experienced  a set  back  in  his  individual  fortunes 
that  would  have  terminated  the  efforts  of  one  less  deter- 
mined in  nature,  but  Mr.  Dale  would  not  admit  failure. 
He  had  the  courage  of  his  convictions — implicit  confidence 
in  his  own  judgment.  Perseveringly  and  along  a straight 
line  of  action  he  worked  out  his  own  salvation  and  his 
career  is  well  worthy  a place  among  the  annals  of  men 
of  Oklahoma  who  have  lived  and  labored  to  purpose. 

Oliver  C.  Dale  was  born  in  Jasper  County,  Missouri, 
December  23,  1871,  a son  of  Henry  C.  and  Emma  J. 
(Barker)  Dale.  He  belongs  to  a family  which  traces  its 
ancestry  in  America  back  to  Sir  Thomas  Dale,  the 
founder  of  the  family  in  this  country,  and  the  first 
governor  of  Virginia.  Rev.  George  Dale,  his  great-great- 
grandfather,  was  a missionary  Baptist  preacher  in  Vir- 
ginia and  a man  of  great  physique,  weighing  nearly  400 
pounds.  Elijah  Dale,  his  great-grandfather,  was  born 
in  1794  in  Virginia,  was  captured  by  the  Indians  at  the 
battle  of  Tippecanoe  while  fighting  under  General  Harri- 
son, was  subsequently  exchanged  and  fought  through  the 
War  of  1812.  When  still  a young  man  he  went  to  Ken- 
tucky and  married  there  Frances  Shelton.  They  went  to 
Boone  County,  Missouri,  then  to  Jasper  County,  and  later 
to  Moniteau  County,  where  Elijah  Dale  died  at  the  age 
of  seventy-four.  His  wife  passed  away  in  Jasper  County 
when  eighty-eight  years  of  age.  They  had  eight  chil- 
dren: Alfred,  Robert  J.,  James  M.,  Phielden,  Meadley, 

Mrs.  Malinda  Griffith,  Mrs.  Mary  Sunday  and  Mrs. 
Rebecca  Martin. 

Robert  J.  Dale,  the  grandfather  of  Oliver  C.  Dale, 
was  born  in  Kentucky  in  1820  and  was  eighteen  years 
of  age  when  he  located  with  his  parents  in  Jasper  County, 
Missouri.  There  he  married  Olive  Cox,  who  was  born  in 
1822  in  Tennessee  and  was  brought  to  Missouri  by  her 
parents  about  the  same  time  as  her  husband  arrived. 
With  the  exception  of  seven  years  from  1863  until  1870, 
when  they  lived  in  Moniteau  County,  they  passed  the 
remaining  years  of  their  lives  in  Jasper  County  and  both 
died  at  Carthage,  Missouri,  Robert  J.  at  the  age  of 
ninety  and  his  wife  when  about  eighty.  He  was  a 
farmer,  trader  and  stock  dealer,  was  clerk  in  the  Baptist 
Church  for  a long  period  and  throughout  his  life  sup- 
ported the  principles  of  the  democratic  party.  Robert 
J.  and  Olive  Dale  had  seven  children  as  follows:  George 
F.,  of  Moniteau  County,  Missouri ; Mrs.  Mary  M.  Hughes, 
deceased;  Henry  C. ; Mrs.  Ann  F.  Wise,  of  Carthage, 
Missouri;  Mrs.  Permelia  B.  Howard  of  Cooper  County, 
Missouri;  Mrs.  Martha  J.  Johnson  of  Carl  Junction, 
Jasper  County,  Missouri;  and  Mrs.  Canzada  Hind, 
deceased. 

Henry  C.  Dale,  father  of  Oliver  C.  Dale,  was  educated 
in  the  public  schools  of  Missouri  and  until  reaching  the 
age  of  twenty-three  resided  with  his  parents.  He  then 


2062 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


attended  school  for  six  mouths  and  for  six  years  there- 
after was  occupied  as  an  educator  in  the  country  dis- 
tricts, at  the  end  of  that  time  turning  his  attention,  once 
more  to  farming,  in  which  he  was  occupied  for  sixteen 
years.  Next  he  went  to  Galena,  Cherokee  County,  Kansas, 
where  he  followed  mining  for  a short  time  and  the  real 
estate  business  for  two  years,  and  then  again  resumed 
the  vocation  of  agriculture.  He  was  one  of  the  promi- 
nent men  of  his  community  and  served  as  justice  of  the 
peace  for  twelve  years,  resigning  that  office  when  he  came 
to  Yale,  Oklahoma,  February  14,  1915.  He  still  lives  at 
Yale  and  has  assisted  his  son  Oliver  in  the  latter’s  ex- 
tensive business  affairs.  A democrat  all  his  life,  he  is  a 
devout  member  of  the  Missionary  Baptist  Church.  Henry 
Dale  at  one  time  owned  a farm  in  Jasper  County, 
Missouri,  which  had  been  homesteaded  from  the  Govern- 
ment by  a man  named  Hammer.  Hammer  sold  it  to 
Bobert  J.  Dale  for  $500.  Bobert  sold  it  to  his  son 
Henry  for  $600.  Henry  disposed  of  the  land  to  M.  L. 
Beed  for  $1,600,  who  in  turn  received  $2,200  forr  it  from 
Tom  Pete  Moss.  This  farm  has  always  been  an  object  of 
special  association  and  affection  in  the  Dale  family.  In 
1915  Oliver  C.  Dale  went  to  Missouri  and  bought  the 
land  for  $17,800.  He  now  has  a corps  of  experts  en- 
gaged in  making  a thorough  test  of  the  property,  pros- 
pecting for  lead  and  zinc  deposits.  The  property  con- 
tains 220  acres. 

On  December  11,  1870,  Henry  C.  Dale  married  Miss 
Emma  J.  Barker,  who  was  born  November  19,  1851,  in 
Moniteau  County,  Missouri,  daughter  of  Charles  L.  and 
Delilah  (Eads)  Barker.  Of  this  union  there  were  eight 
children : Oliver  C. ; Charley,  who  resides  at  Galena, 

Kansas;  Arthur,  deceased;  Mrs.  Maggie  Lewman  and 
Mrs.  Canzada  Jarrett,  both  deceased;  Henry  Clay,  prin- 
cipal of  the  high  school  at  Columbus,  Kansas;  Gordon, 
who  is  manager  of  the  O.  C.  Dale  Department  Store  at 
Yale;  and  Mrs.  Willa  Anna  Pettit,  of  Yale. 

Oliver  C.  Dale  received  a public  school  education  and 
worked  with  his  father  on  the  home  farm,  and  while 
the  family  was  living  at  Galena,  Kansas,  worked  in  the 
mines  there  and  at  Joplin,  Missouri,  for  about  three 
years.  On  May  6,  1896,  at  Galena,  Kansas,  he  married 
Miss  Izora  E.  Miller,  who  was  born  in  Luzerne  County, 
Pennsylvania,  February  28,  1879,  and  at  five  years  of  age 
came  to  Indian  Territory  with  her  parents,  Charles  H. 
and  Cevilla  (Mowery)  Miller.  Charles  H.  Miller,  who 
was  a prominent  ranchman,  died  at  the  home  of  Mayor 
Dale  in  1912,  while  Mrs.  Miller  still  survives  and  resides 
on  a farm  in  Creek  County,  Oklahoma.  Charles  Miller 
was  a very  prominent  man  in  the  Creek  Nation  in  the 
early  days.  He  was  a quarter-blood  Cherokee  and  was 
an  adopted  citizen  of  the  Creek  tribe.  It  was  his  Indian 
citizenship  which  brought  to  the  Dale  family  the  heritage 
of  land  which  by  a happy  turn  of  fortune  have  converted 
his  descendants  into  the  wealthiest  people  in  their  section 
of  Oklahoma.  In  an  illustrated  article  which  was  pub- 
lished in  the  magazine  section  of  the  St.  Louis  Post- 
Dispatch  in  August,  1915,  something  is  said  about  Charlie 
Miller  and  the  part  he  played  in  the  early  days  of  Okla- 
homa. He  was  one  of  the  men  who  stood  for  law  and 
order  in  a country  where  lawless  conditions  largely  pre- 
vailed. He  rendered  special  service  as  member  of  a band 
of  vigilantes  which  expelled  two  of  the  most  notorious 
bands  of  outlaws  ever  known  in  Eastern  Oklahoma,  one 
of  them  being  the  Buck  gang  and  the  other  led  by 
“ Narrow-Gauged  Kid,”  one  of  the  most  infamous  cattle 
rustlers  in  the  territory.  Charlie  Miller  himself  had  some 
exciting  battles  with  these  marauders.  Due  to  this  and 
his  otherwise  prominent  activities  he  was  adopted  into 
the  Creek  tribe. 

After  his  marriage  Oliver  C.  Dale  made  a trip  to 


the  Indian  country  but  failed  to  establish  himself  with 
any  degree  of  success  and  then  returned  to  Kansas.  In 
1901  he  came  to  Bed  Fork  in  the  Creek  Nation,  where  he 
helped  to  unload  and  set  up  the  rig  of-  the  party  that 
made  the  first  oil  strike  in  Indian  Territory.  Subse- 
quently he  came  to  the  lands  of  his  wife  in  Creek 
County,  nine  miles  southeast  of  Yale.  Mrs.  Dale  and 
her  children  had  participated  in  the  allotment  of  lands 
in  that  section,  she  and  her  two  daughters  receiving  150 
acres  each.  On  this  land  Mr.  Dale  spent  part  of  his 
time  hunting  and  fishing.  At  that  time  the  Dale  farm 
was  thirty  miles  from  any  railroad.  He  and  his  family 
experienced  all  the  hardships  that  are  a part  of  the 
life  of  the  pioneer,  and  he  drove  on  several  occasions 
sixty  miles  for  the  purpose  of  spending  $2  for  pro- 
visions. In  the  Post-Dispatch  article  already  mentioned 
there  is  illustrated  the  old  log  house  in  which  the  Dale 
family  lived  while  on  the  farm.  After  four  years  he 
removed  from  the  farm  to  Yale  in  1905,  and  worked  for 
one  year  in  a store.  Later  for  three  years  he  ran  an 
engine  in  a cotton  gin,  which  was  put  up  originally  for 
the  big  blacksmith  shop  in  this  end  of  the  state.  Mr. 
Dale  in  fact  supported  his  family  by  work  at  the  anvil, 
and  comparatively  little  attention  was  given  to  the  family 
land.  Then  came  the  great  oil  strike  which  brought 
the  Cushing  oil  field  into  existence.  The  Dale  lands  were 
in  the  very  center  of  this  new  oil  district,  and  the  allot- 
ment of  the  older  daughter,  Yida,  soon  was  yielding 
100,000  barrels  a month,  while  the  land  of  her  sister 
Mabel  developed  about  fourteen  producing  wells  and  was 
almost  equally  productive. 

About  the  beginning  of  the  Cushing  oil  field  Mr.  Dale 
gave  up  his  work  as  a blacksmith  and  began  trading  in  oil 
leases.  He  proved  a very  shrewd  trader,  and  in  two  years 
built  up  a fortune  on  his  own  account.  His  oil  interests 
and  his  many  other  affairs  now  occupy  his  entire  atten- 
tion. He  is  identified  with  the  Twin  State  Oil  Company, 
the  Producers  Oil  Company,  the  McMann  Oil  Company 
and  the  Shaffer  Oil  Company.  In  the  interests  of  these 
concerns  he  travels  all  over  Oklahoma  and  adjoining 
states.  He  is  the  owner  in  his  own  right  of  700  acres 
of  oil  land  in  Ada,  and  his  holdings  total  2,000  acres  in 
Oklahoma,  D00  acres  in  Missouri  and  1,000  acres  in 
Kansas.  In  the  spring  of  1915  Mr.  Dale  became  the 
owner  by  purchase  of  the  O.  C.  Dale  department  store, 
which  is  now  under  the  management  of  his  brother 
Gordon.  He  has  contributed  materially  to  the  upbuilding 
of  Yale,  his  latest  contribution  in  this  line  being  his  own 
residence,  Fern  Dale,  erected  in  1915  at  a cost  of  $14,000, 
This  is  a seventeen  room  house  on  F Street,  located  on 
an  elevation  overlooking  Yale  and  three  other  towns, 
and  is  not  only  the  costliest  home  in  Yale  but  one  ofi 
the  finest  in  the  state.  It  has  every  modern  convenience, 
is  finished  in  mahogany  with  white  maple  floors,  everyi 
room  is  hand  decorated  and  this  last  item  alone  cost 
$1,600.  Mr.  Dale  has  also  erected  a number  of  other 
residences  in  Yale  and  at  present  owns  five  valuable' 
homes.  He  is  interested  in  the  Farmers  National  Bankl 
and  in  various  other  enterprises  which  contribute  toi 
Yale’s  business  importance  and  prestige. 

A stalwart  democrat  in  politics,  in  1912  he  was  made  a 
Wilson  delegate  to  the  National  Convention  at  Baltimore, 
He  was  one  of  the  original  Wilson  men  in  Oklahoma, 
and  has  been  a strong  supporter  of  his  administration 
He  has  also  had  experience  as  a delegate  to  county  and' 
state  conventions  of  his  party,  and  spent  six  years  on 
the  school  board.  He  was  on  the  board  when  the 
district  was  consolidated,  this  being  the  first  consolidated 
district  in  the  state. 

In  the  spring  of  1915  he  was  elected  mayor  of  Yah 
without  opposition,  and  is  proving  himself  as  able  ai 


stalls 
Beating 
of  ejp; 
S.  T. 
Jr.K 

wed  t 
partner, 
sons  coi 

Still  pj( 

fos  Adi 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2063 


1 executive  as  he  lias  shown  himself  a business  man.  The 

1 office  means  to  him  not  only  a distinctive  honor  but  also 

a responsibility.  It  is  said  that  he  has  spent  many 

I times  his  salary  on  public  improvements  which  he  con- 
siders the  town  should  have,  and  is  working  constantly 

^ for  the  best  interests  of  the  entire  community.  In  fact 
i the  welfare  of  Yale  has  first  place  in  his  thoughts,  in 
s spite  of  the  fact  that  his  enormous  business  interests 

II  might  well  require  his  entire  time.  He  has  been  one  of 
^ the  community’s  most  liberal  supporters  of  movements 
“ making  for  religious,  social,  educational  or  civic  benefit. 
■?  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Dale  are  the  parents  of  six  children: 
16  Vida  May,  who  married  Arthur  I.  Tull  of  Yale  and  has 
13  a son  named  Arthur;  Mabel,  now  about  fifteen  years  of 
°-  age;  and  Charles  Henry,  Dare  D.,  Georgia  and  Del  Val. 
^ All  the  younger  children  still  reside  in  the  magnificent 
to  home  of  their  parents.  The  two  older  daughters  are  now 
’M  said  to  be  the  richest  girls  in  Oklahoma,  and  on  that 
01  account  have  received  much  attention  from  the  press 
m and  the  public  generally.  It  is  an  interesting  fact  that 

wealth  has  left  them  unspoiled.  Vida,  the  older  daughter, 
h did  not  allow  her  sudden  wealth  to  interfere  with  the 
nli  continuance  of  her  happy  courtship  with  Arthur  Tull, 
k and  the  younger  daughter  Mabel  has  continued  to  be  a 
gM  friend  to  her  child  playmates  in  Yale  without  special 
® regard  for  the  distinctions  that  wealth  have  surrounded 
lotj  her  with. 

tog 

-:e[  Harky  E.  Alton.  The  Alton  Mercantile  Company 
W;  of  Enid  is  almost  in  a class  by  itself  among  the  whole- 
sale grocery  houses  of  the  Southwest.  It-  is  a busi- 
tojg  ness  with  more  than  twenty-five  years  of  development, 
iwl  and  has  behind  it  a remarkable  wealth  of  experience  and 
ears  personal  ability.  ‘ ‘ The  Alton  Goods  ’ ’ are  distributed 
■ests  among  the  retail  merchants  all  over  Western  Oklahoma 
ton-  and  the  City  of  Enid  takes  special  pride  in  this  mag- 
nificent  enterprise.  The  president  of  the  corporation  is 
W S.  T.  Alton,  who  was  formerly  a traveling  salesman,  and 
tee  founded  a small  business  at  Arkansas,  Kansas,  during  the 
tong  ’80s,  and  is  now  practically  retired.  The  vice  pres- 
JH®  ident  is  T.  C.  Smallwood,  and  the  secretary  and  treasurer 
esto  and  active  manager  is  Harry  E.  Alton,  a son  of  the 
s to  president. 

‘ ^ The  business  was  established  at  Enid  in  1903  as  a 
stoiei  branch  of  the  main  house  at  Oklahoma  City.  S.  T.  Alton 
other  engaged  in  the  wholesale  grocery  business  at  Oklahoma 
City  in  1897,  and  that  city  was  headquarters  until  1905. 
so™  In  the  latter  year  the  business  was  concentrated  at  Enid, 
y®  and  in  the  past  ten  years  there  has  been  a constant  ex- 
eh oa  pansion.  In  1905  $100,000  approximately  was  invested 
to®:  in  the  business.  This  has  since  been  increased  to  an 
®e  o‘  aggregate  of  more  than  $250,000,  including  the  value  of 
lienee,  the  buildings.  The  main  building  has  30,000  square  feet 
e®J  of  floor  space,  and  an  additional  building  containing 
e cost  20,000  square  feet  of  warehouse  space,  with  convenient 
ofter  railroad  connections,  was  erected  in  1915.  The  trade  of 
tame  the  company  extends  all  over  Western  and  Southern  Okla- 
Baih  homa,  the  Panhandle  of  Texas  and  Southern  Kansas, 
ute  to  There  are  twelve  traveling  representatives,  who  are  con- 
stantly on  the  road  visiting  the  1,500  or  more  retail  eus- 
oiadea  tomers.  About  fifty  persons  are  employed  in  the  local 
timore  establishment  at  Enid.  The  growth  in  the  ten  years  since 
atama  locating  at  Enid  has  been  very  satisfactory,  and  the  limits 
[ration  0f  expansion  are  not  yet  in  sight. 
it?®1  S.  T.  Alton  wa  in  the  wholesale  business  at  Arkansas 
ears  oi  City,  Kansas,  from  1889,  and  the  house  which  he  estab- 
lea  ti  fished  there  is  still  flourishing.  He  finally  sold  to  his 
ilidata  partner,  J.  A.  Ranney,  who  is  now  deceased,  but  whose 
sons  continue  the  business.  Though  Mr.  S.  T.  Alton  is 
0f  Tali  still  president  and  the  principal  owner,  he  has  lived  at 
-We  a Los  Angeles  since  1910.  For  fifteen  years  he  was  a 
Vol.  v— 20 


traveling  salesman  representing  the  Chicago  soap  manu- 
facturing house  of  James  S.  Kirk  & Company,  and  cov- 
ered the  Western  States.  With  this  thorough  experience 
and  acquaintance  with  the  trade,  he  established  a busi-^ 
ness  of  his  own  with  a very  modest  capital  at  Arkansas 
City.  Throughout  his  career  of  residence  in  Oklahoma 
he  has  been  in  the  wholesale  grocery  business. 

The  Alton  Mercantile  Company,  as  importers,  wholesale 
grocers  and  coffee  roasters,  now  have  annual  sales  aggre- 
gating $1,000,000.  From  time  to  time  the  company  has 
taken  advantage  of  developing  trade  and  transportation 
conditions.  When  S.  T.  Alton  moved  from  Arkansas  City 
to  Oklahoma  City,  it  was  to  take  advantage  of  distribu- 
tion conditions,  and  the  same  factor  was  prominent  in 
establishing  the  branch  at  Enid.  At  Oklahoma  City  the 
house  already  had  other  competitors,  but  there  was  no 
wholesale  house  at  Enid.  The  company  roasts  its  own 
brand  of  coffee,  and  a graduate  chemist  from  the  State 
University  of  Oklahoma  is  at  the  head  of  this  depart- 
ment. The  roasting  is  done  in  the  most  scientific  manner, 
and  a very  superior  grade  -of  coffee  is  sold  as  one  of  the 
features  of  the  Alton  goods.  The  company  also  packs 
grocers  ’ sundries,  spices,  and  other  commodities,  and  this 
feature  is  not  usually  found  in  ordinary  jobbing  houses. 

Harry  E.  Alton,  secretary,  treasurer  and  general  man- 
ager of  the  company,  has  had  the  full  responsibility 
of  management  since  1910.  He  practically  grew  up 
in  the  Arkansas  City  house,  and  the  details  of  the 
business  were  ground  into  him  from  the  start.  In  1903 
he  went  to  Enid  as  the  active  representative  of  the  firm 
in  the  branch  house,  and  has  filled  important  positions 
in  a progressive  scale  until  he  is  now  carrying  the  chief 
responsibilities. 

Mr.  Alton  was  born  in  Chicago  in  1880,  and  was  edu- 
cated in  the  public  schools  of  Arkansas  City  and  the 
military  school  at  Salina,  Kansas.  He  is  a clear-headed, 
genial  merchant,  with  ability  to  grasp  the  salient  points 
in  whatever  situation  confronts  him,  has  great  skill  as 
a manager  and  is  an  aggressive  worker  in  planning  and 
carrying  out  business  campaigns.  He  has  also  made 
himself  a factor  in  good  citizenship  at  Enid.  He  has 
served  on  the  city  council,  and  has  always  worked  to 
keep  Enid  up  to  the  high  mark  of  its  opportunities.  He 
has  the  faculty  of  co-operation  highly  developed,  and  his 
business  friends  find  him  a most  valuable  confrere.  He 
is  a director  of  the  Chamber  of  Commerce,  and  the 
future  greatness  of  Enid  is  a subject  upon  which  he 
readily  becomes  eloquent.  Mr.  Alton  serves  on  the  vestry 
of  the  Episcopal  Church.  In  1914  he  married  Miss 
Lucile  Mullett  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri. 

Charles  B.  Swartout,  president  of  the  Oklahoma 
State  Bank  of  Cushing,  has  been  a resident  of  Oklahoma 
since  1889  and  of  his  present  home  in  Payne  County 
since  the  opening  of  the  Sac  and  Fox  lands.  During 
this  long  period  he  has  been  engaged  in  farming,  in 
building  as  a contractor  and  in  financial  enterprises,  and 
in  each  avenue  of  endeavor  has  gained  a satisfying  and 
well-merited  success.  He  is  one  of  the  men  contributed 
by  the  Empire  State  for  the  upbuilding  of  the  great 
commonwealth  of  Oklahoma,  having  been  born  at  Wat- 
kins, Schuyler  County,  New  York,  September  30,  1856, 
and  is  a son  of  Heman  C.  and  Sarah  A.  (Monroe) 
Swartout. 

The  parents  of  Mr.  Swartout,  who  passed  their  entire 
lives  in  New  York  and  died  at  Watkins,  were  agricultural 
people  and  natives  of  the  state,  the  father  being  born  in 
Yates  County  and  the  mother  near  Watertown,  Jeffers'on 
County.  Of  their  ten  children,  thrpe  died  young  and  one 
after  reaching  years  of  maturity,  and  six  are  still  living. 
Charles  B.  Swartout  received  a good  common  school 


2064 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


education  in  liis  youth,  grew  up  on  his  father’s  farm 
and  as  a young  man  learned  the  trade  of  carpenter.  By 
the  time  he  had  reached  his  twenty-fourth  year  he  was 
( engaged  in  business  as  a building  contractor,  a vocation 
’which  he  followed  in  New  York  until  1889,  in  that  year 
coming  West  to  take  advantage  of  the  original  opening 
of  Oklahoma  lands.  At  the  time  he  made  his  second  run 
the  horse  which  he  was  riding  fell,  and  the  crowd  was 
so  dense  about  him  that  he  was  unable  to  jump  either 
to  the  right  or  left,  but  was  compelled  to  leap  straight 
over 'his  horse’s  head.  Luckily  he  was  uninjured,  was 
able  to  remount,  and  was  eventually  successful  in  securing 
lots  in  Guthrie.  In  that  city  he  made  his  home  for  two 
years,  and  then  again  took  part  in  a run  for  land,  at  the 
opening  of  the  Sac  and  Fox  country,  when  he  secured  a 
claim  in  the  southwest  one-quarter  of  section  3,  township 
17,  range  5 east,  on  which  he  has  resided  ever  since.  He 
has  a well  cultivated,  valuable  and  productive  property, 
thirty  acres  of  which  is  included  within  the  corporation 
limits  of  Cushing,  while  his  residence  adjoins  the  limits. 
For  many  years,  in  connection  with  his  agricultural  oper- 
ations, he  was  engaged  in  contracting  and  building,  but 
retired  from  that  vocation  in  1913.  He  was  one  of  the 
founders  of  the  Oklahoma  State  Bank  of  Cushing,  of 
which  he  has  been  president  for  several  years,  a strong 
and  substantial  institution  of  Payne  County  which  has 
grown  and  developed  steadily  under  his  capable  and  far- 
sighted direction.  Politically  a democrat,  he  is  not  an 
office  seeker  but  has  shown  an  interest  in  his  party’s 
success  in  Oklahoma.  His  progressive  ideas  of  citizen- 
ship have  led  him  to  support  movements  for  the  welfare 
of  his  community. 

In  1887  Mr.  Swartout  was  married  to  Miss  Edna  M. 
Purdy,  who  was  born  in  1867,  March  6,  in  Shiawassee 
County,  Michigan,  daughter  of  Nelson  F.  and  Harriet  N. 
(Smith)  Purdy,  the  former  of  whom  died  in  Michigan, 
while  the  latter  still  survives  and  resides  at  Kansas  City, 
Missouri.  Two  children  have  been  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Swartout:  Bessie,  who  is  the  wife  of  Henry  Oursler, 

who  is  an  attorney  in  Cushing,  and  has  two  children — 
Henry  Charles  and  Dorothy  Edna;  and  Annie,  who  is 
the  wife  of  Earl  K.  Odom,  of  Cushing. 

James  W.  Tyler.  The  position  of  the  educator  was 
never  so  valuable  nor  so  full  of  intimate  significance  in 
the  life  of  the  country  as  today.  One  of  the  men  whose 
qualifications  for  the  heavy  responsibilities  of  directing 
the  public  system  of  education  are  unquestioned  and  who 
has  to  a large  degree  realized  some  of  the  best  ideals 
for  which  the  public  school  stands  is  the  present  county 
superintendent  of  schools  in  Garfield  County,  James  W. 
Tyler.  In  noting  the  work  which  Mr.  Tyler  has  accom- 
plished it  is  clear  that  he  is  impressed  with  the  value  of 
the  principle  that  to  educate  the  plain  people  for  life  is 
more  important  than  to  educate  a cultured  class,  and 
some  of  the  best  results  of  his  work  in  Garfield  County 
have  been  in  the  better  and  greater  diffusion  of  the  advan- 
tages of  the  public  schools  among  all  the  people. 

This  Oklahoma  educator  was  born  at  Cairo  in  Ban- 
dolph  County,  Missouri,  July  21,  1874,  and  spent  his  life 
on  a farm  up  to  the  age  of  thirty.  He  attended  the 
country  schools  and  also  a village  high  school,  had  two 
years  of  teaching  experience  when  a young  man,  and  fin- 
ished his  education  in  the  Northeastern  Missouri  Normal 
at  Kirksville.  Since  coming  to  Enid  he  has  received  the 
degrees  A.  B.  and  A.  M.  at  Phillips  University  of  that 
city. 

For  two  years  following  his  attendance  at  Kirksville 
Normal  he  was  principal  of  the  public  schools  at  Atlanta, 
Missouri.  In  1901  Mr.  Tyler  came  to  Enid,  and  has  since 
been  identified  with  the  schools  in  that  section  of  the 
state.  For  two  years  he  was  in  the  village  schools  of 


Fairmont,  and  for  five  years  was  superintendent  of 
Waukomis,  with  seven  teachers  under  his  direction,  and 
his  work  in  that  position  was  so  satisfactory  as  to  be  com- 
mended with  an  appreciable  increase  of  salary.  For  the 
following  five  years  Mr.  Tyler  was  principal  of  the  Gar- 
field Ward  School  at  Enid,  and  in  the  fall  of  1912  was 
elected  superintendent  of  the  county  school  system,  tak-  j 
ing  up  the  duties  of  his  office  on  July  1,  1913. 

Outside  of  Enid  there  are  in  Garfield  County  124 
schools  with  175  teachers,  and  the  total  scholastic  en- 
rolment is  9,326.  In  1915  there  are  fourteen  high  schools 
in  the  county,  four  having  been  added  since  Mr.  Tyler 
began  his  administration.  In  1913  less  than  48  per  cent  of  ! 
the  county’s  teachers  had  high  school  or  better  training,  ! 
and  this  percentage  has  now  "been  increased  to  63. 
Mr.  Tyler  has  the  rare  gift  of  imparting  his  en-  J 
thusiasm  to  his  subordinates  and  associates,  and  the  large  | 
body  of  Garfield  County  teachers  have  enthusiastically 
endorsed  and  adopted  his  educational  ideas  and  ideals. 

He  has  been  particularly  interested  in  securing  a larger 
school  attendance.  In  1914  900  pupils  in  the  county  re-  j 
ceived  certificates  of  perfect  attendance,  while  1,500  had 
a perfect  score  from  three  to  five  months.  He  has  also 
introduced  a valuable  feature  in  securing  records  for  home 
work,  and  this  has  brought  about  a notable  increase  in 
the  efficiency,  attendance  and  interest  on  the  part  of 
both  pupils  and  parents.  The  home  work  which  is  made 
a matter  of  record  is  not  merely  study  of  books,  but  any 
task  which  is  essentially  useful  and  best  adapted  to  the 
needs  and  ability  of  the  individual  pupil.  Thus  the 
records  include  such  duties  as  housework,  sewing,  per- 
formance of  chores,  etc.  One  backward  girl  pupil,  men-  j 
tioned  in  particular  by  Mr.  Tyler,  had  on  her  report  card  j 
the  record  of  milking  eight  cows  twice  daily.  Mr.  Tyler  ! 
has  organized  the  county  schools  for  athletic  and  literary  ; 
work,  securing  a beneficent  rivalry  by  contests.  The  | 
county  has  been  divided  into  eight  districts  containing  j 
fifteen  schools  each,  and  there  are  at  different  times  con-  ] 
tests  held  between  the  various  schools  in'  each  district,  and 
the  winners  of  the  district  contests  meet  for  an  annual 
general  exhibition,  which  attracts  large  crowds  and  great  I 
interest,  and  appropriate  awards  are  given  to  the  winners  1 
in  athletics,  debating  and  other  features.  At  the  begin-  | 
ning  some  of  the  teachers  held  aloof,  saying  that  such  ] 
contests  were  mere  nonsense,  but  in  time  nearly  all  have 
become  convinced  of  the  value  of  such  features  of  school  i 
work.  Every  possible  effort  has  been  made  to  induce  the 
country  pupils  to  advance  to  the  high  schools,  with  a 
natural  increase  in  high  school  attendance. 

During  1913  124  teachers  in  Garfield  County  attended  1 
the  Normal  Institute  and  eight  took  summer  school  in-  | 
struction.  In  1914  the  number  who  took  the  work  of  the  j 
Normal  Institute  rose  to  148  while  forty-one  teachers  took 
summer  school  instruction.  It  costs  about  $75  to  attend  j 
the  summer  schools,  and  in  order  that  those  availing 
themselves  of  such  instruction,  probably  at  the  cost  of 
much  self  sacrifice,  might  be  properly  rewarded,  Mr.  Tyler 
has  induced  the  school  board  to  pay  $5  a month  above 
the  averages  wages  to  teachers  who  have  secured  this  I 
superior  training.  As  a result,  many  of  the  boards  now 
show  a decided  preference  for  the  better  trained  and 
experienced  teachers.  On  the  whole,  during  the  past  two] 
or  three  years,  the  general  average  of  wages  paid  to  the 
school  teachers  in  Garfield  County  has  increased  between 
20  and  50  per  cent,  and  some  schools  are  paying  $25  a 
month  more  to  their  teachers  than  in  1913.  Mr.  Tyler, 
is  also  directing  his  efforts  toward  raising  the  standard 
of  school  instruction  by  the  process  of  consolidating  small] 
individual  schools  into  one  central  district,  and  by  estab- 
lishing central  schools  that  can  offer  a thoroughly  graded 


■ 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2065 


and  organized  course,  including  also  the  first  year  of 
the  regular  high  school  work. 

Mr.  Tyler  since  beginning  his  work  as  a teacher  has 
been  a student  of  educational  methods  and  keeps  himself 
thoroughly  abreast  of  educational  ideas.  At  the  present 
time  he  is  president  of  the  State  Association  of  County 
Superintendents.  In  1907  Mr.  Tyler  married  Beulah  Ben- 
ton Goodding  of  Atlanta,  Missouri.  Mrs.  Tyler  was  also 
educated  in  the  Kirksville  Normal  and  was  a teacher 
before  her  marriage.  Their  two  sons  are  Donald  Jett 
and  Gerald  Goodding.  Mr.  Tyler  is  a member  of  the 
Christian  Church,  has  been  president  of  the  church  board 
twelve  years,  while  Mrs.  Tyler  is  a Presbyterian. 

S.  B.  Staton.  Among  the  men  who  came  to  Okla- 
homa at  the  time  the  Cheyenne  and  Arapaho  lands, 
consisting  of  3,000,000  acres,  were  thrown  open  to  white 
settlement  in  April,  1892,  is  S.  B.  Staton,  the  present 
postmaster  of  Cushing.  Like  many  others,  he  was  at 
that  time  possessed  of  little  save  ambition  and  determina- 
tion, qualities  which  he  combined  with  youthful  enthu- 
siasm and  energy  to  such  good  effect  that  he  was  able  to 
establish  himself  firmly  and  to  lay  the  foundation  for 
what  has  since  become  a satisfying  success.  His  activi- 
ties in  Oklahoma  have  invaded  the  fields  of  agriculture, 
business  and  public  service,  and  in  each  he  has  acquitted 
himself  commendably,  so  that  he  may  lay  claim  to  being 
one  of  the  builders  of  the  commonwealth. 

Mr.  Staton  was  born  in  Dade  County,  Illinois,  Novem- 
ber 18,  1869,  and  is  a son  of  John  W.  and  Eliza  (Eaton) 
Staton,  natives  of  Illinois.  In  the  Prairie  State  the 
parents  were  farming  people,  and  on  moving  to  Missouri 
followed  the  pursuits  of  the  soil,  first  in  Dade  County 
and  later  in  Worth  County,  in  the  northwestern  part 
of  the  state,  where  the  father  died  in  1879,  at  the  age 
of  forty-four  years,  the  mother  surviving  until  1885  and 
passing  away  in  Gentry  County,  "Missouri,  when  aged 
sixty-three  years.  There  were  five  children  in  the  family : 
William,  now  a resident  of  Albany,  Missouri;  Lucy,  who 
is  the  wife  of  Ed  Hymer,  of  Belle  Plaine,  Kansas;  Pierce, 
of  Darlington,  Missouri;  Charles,  ,of  DeKalb,  Missouri; 
and  S.  B. 

S.  B.  Staton  was  five  years  of  age  when  his  father  died 
and  only  sixteen  when  he  was  left  an  orphan  by  the 
death  of  his  mother.  He  had  received  a public  school 
education,  and  worked  with  his  brother  at  Darlington, 
Missouri,  in  a lumber  yard  and  as  an  employe  of  the 
postoffice  during  President  Cleveland’s  first  administra- 
tion. He  continued  to  make  his  home  with  his  brother, 
Charles,  until  his  marriage,  in  1889,  to  Miss  Eva  M. 
Garman,  a native  of  Missouri  and  a daughter  of  Epaphras 
Garman,  shortly  after  which  he  came  with  his  bride  to 
Oklahoma  and  secured  a claim  in  Custer  County.  His 
land  at  that  time  was  sixty-five  miles  from  the  nearest 
town,  but  the  country  soon  began  to  build  up,  and,  with 
the  organization  of  the  Town  of  Thomas,  near  his  prop- 
erty, Mr.  Staton  was  appointed  assessor,  serving  in  that 
capacity  during  the  first  two  terms  of  the  existence  of 
that  office.  He  continued  to  reside  on  his  Custer  County 
farm  until  1907,  in  which  year  he  moved  to  Cushing, 
Payne  County,  and  here  established  himself  in  business 
at  the  postoffiee  as  the  proprietor  of  a news  stand  and 
soda  water  fountain,  an  enterprise  which  he  continued 
with  some  success  for  two  years.  His  next  venture  was 
in  buying  cream  foi-  the  Continental  people,  and  he  was 
so  engaged  at  the  time  of  his  appointment  to  the  post- 
mastership, May  20,  1913.  He  entered  upon  his  duties 
July  1st  of  that  year  and  has  since  devoted  his  entire 
time  and  attention  thereto.  During  4his  administration 
the  office  has  advanced  from  a third  to  a second  class 
office  and  through  his  intelligent  and  energetic  manage- 
ment the  service  has  been  greatly  improved.  His  un- 


failing courtesy  and  expeditious  handling  of  the  mail  has 
gained  him  both  the  friendship  and  the  confidence  of 
the  people  who  have  business  at  the  postoffice,  and  his 
conscientious  labors  have  been  generally  appreciated  by 
business  houses  and  individuals.  Mr.  Staton  has  been 
a lifelong  democrat.  During  a quarter  of  a century 
he  has  been  a member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church, 
and  his  fraternal  connections  are  with  the  local  lodges 
of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World  and  the  Knights  of 
Pythias.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Staton  are  the  parents  of  three 
daughters:  Carrie,  Epaphra  and  Levana. 

Preston  A.  Shinn.  For  the  past  ten  years  Mr. 
Shinn  has  been  one  of  the  leading  members  of  the  bar 
at  Pawhuska.  After  locating  there  his  ability  was  soon 
recognized  in  his  appointment  as  tribal  attorney  for  the 
Osages,  one  of  the  best  paid  positions  in  the  Indian 
service,  and  his  handling  of  the  many  intricate  ques- 
tions submitted  to  him  in  his  official  capacity  won-  many 
favorable  comments  from  the  Interior  Department  and 
from  the  leading  members  of  the  tribe,  and  this  expe- 
rience served  to  advance  him  to  his  present  high  stand- 
ing in  the  Oklahoma  bar.  Mr.  Shinn  has  worked  to  a 
place  of  high  esteem  in  his  profession,  and  at  the  same 
time  has  proved  his  usefulness  and  influence  as  a mem- 
ber of  the  community. 

It  is  not  without  due  pride  that  Mr.  Shinn  refers  to 
that  period  of  his  early  life  which  was  marked  by  a 
combination  of  hard  circumstances  and  manual  toil.  For 
a number  of  years  he  was  a coal  miner  back  in  Illinois, 
and  gained  his  education  largely  through  the  fruits  of 
his  labors  underground.  He  was  born  at  Mattoon,  Illi- 
nois, September  13,  1875.  His  parents  were  William 
and  Sarah  (Cole)  Shinn.  His  father,  who  died  when 
Preston  was  nine  years  of  age,  was  born  in  North 
Carolina,  while  the  mother,  who  is  now  living  at  Odin, 
Illinois,  was  born  near  the  famous  battlefield  of  Lookout 
Mountain  April  10,  1843.  The  parents  moved  to  Illinois, 
where  the  father  followed  farming  most  of  his  career. 
There  were  three  sons  and  one  daughter:  Frank,  who 

is  a miner  at  Odin,  Illinois;  William,  who  died  at  the 
age  of'  sixteen;  Ina,  wife  of  J.  J.  Murphy  of  Odin, 
Illinois. 

The  second  in  age  among  these  children,  Preston  A. 
Shinn  grew  up  at  Odin,  Illinois,  and  not  long  after  the 
death  of  his  father  realized  that  his  future  depended 
upon  his  own  exertions.  At  the  age  of  twelve  he  started 
working  in  the  coal  mines,  and  for  several  years  spent 
most  of  the  summer  season  in  this  vocation,  while  he 
attended  school  in  the  winter.  His  record  as  a miner 
really  extends  from  the  time  he  was  twelve  years  of  age 
until  he  was  twenty-five.  During  1899,  in  the  last  year 
of  his  mining  work,  he  was  recording  secretary  of  the 
local  union  of  the  United  Mine  Workers  of  America  at 
Odin.  During  the  many  months  spent  by  Mr.  Shinn  in 
the  hard  toil  of  the  coal  mines,  he  was  constantly  in- 
spired by  an  ambition  for  higher  and  better  things,  and 
was  utilizing  all  his  savings  to  advance  his  education. 
From  his  wages  as  a miner  he  paid  his  way  through  the 
higher  schools  and  law  school.  For  one  year  he  was  a 
student  in  law  offices,  and  spent  two  years  in  the 
Northern  Illinois  College  of  Law  at  Dixon.  On  examina- 
tion before  the  State  Bar  Association  of  Illinois  he  stood 
second  in  a class  of  242  applicants,  and  was  admitted 
to  practice  in  that  state  in  1901.  Besides  his  work  as  a 
miner  Mr.  Shinn  -was  for  several  years  a practical  rail- 
roader. For  four  months  he  was  conductor  on  a street 
car  in  St.  Louis.  For  two  years  he  was  train  auditor  on 
the  Wabash,  with  a run  between  Detroit  and  Buffalo, 
and  also  worked  for  one  year  with  the  Missouri,  Kansas 
& Texas  Bailroad. 

After  being  admitted  to  the  bar  Mr.  Shinn  was  in 


2066 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


practice  at  Centralia,  Illinois,  one  year,  and  in  1905 
moved  to  Pawhuska.  Here  he  at  once  identified  himself 
with  everything  that  would  benefit  the  condition  of  the 
people  and  it  was  not  long  before  his  ability  as  a 
lawyer  brought  him  favorable  distinction  and  prefer- 
ment. For  four  years  he  served  as  assistant  tribal 
attorney  for  the  Osages  and  for  three  years  was  tribal 
attorney.  He  held  this  office  under  a contract  with  the 
tribe  subject  to  approval  from  the  Department  of  the 
Interior.  His  term  expired  in  April,  1914,  and  he  has 
since  devoted  himself  without  interruption  to  his  large 
general  practice. 

In  1907  Mr.  Shinn  was  republican  candidate  for  the 
office  of  county  attorney.  Politically  he  is  to  be  classified 
as  an  independent  republican.  He  is  also  affiliated  with 
the  Masonic  Lodge  and  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America,  and  is  a member  of  the  Episcopal  Church. 

In  April,  1905,  he  married  Miss  Nellie  Taplin  of 
Oswego,  New  York.  Mrs.  Shinn  was  formerly  a trained 
nurse  and  was  engaged  in  that  profession  at  Detroit 
when  she  met  Mr.  Shinn.  Without  children  of  their  own, 
they  are  rearing  in  their  home  in  Pawhuska  two  of 
Mrs.  Shinn’s  brother’s  children. 

M.  M.  Callaway.  As  a business  center  Enid  has 
many  distinctions.  The  fact  that  it  has  become  a great 
market  for  horses  and  mules  ‘is  largely  due  to  the 
vigorous  enterprise  of  the  firm  of  Callaway  & Son,  whose 
operations  have  not  only  directed  to  that  point  the 
attention  of  hundreds  of  stock  raisers  in  Western  Okla- 
homa, but  have  also  noticeably  improved  the  quality  and 
general  standard  of  horses  and  mules  raised  in  that 
district. 

M.  M.  Callaway,  the  head  of  the  firm,  is  one  of  the 
original  citizens  of  Enid,  having  come  in  at  the  opening 
on  September  16,  1893.  He  secured  a homestead  three 
miles  west  of  Enid,  but  proved  up  on  it  as  soon  as  pos- 
sible in  order  to  concentrate  his  attention  to  the 
handling  of  stock,  a line  of  industry  which  he  has 
followed  for  forty  years.  For  many  years  Mr.  Callaway 
was  a general  stock  buyer  and  shipper  in  Missouri,  but 
transferred  the  headquarters  of  his  business  from  there 
to  Wichita,  Kansas,  and  was  active  at  that  point  for 
several  years  before  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip. 
For  the  past  eighteen  years  Mr.  Callaway  has  concen- 
trated on  horses  and  mules.  Few  if  any  men  in  Okla- 
homa are  better  known  as  an  expert  judge  of  horses 
and  a liberal  dealer  who  recognizes  that  trade  must 
have  mutual  advantages  to  both  parties  concerned.  In 
company  with  his  son,  Ben,  he  has  done  an  extensive 
business,  and  not  infrequently  handled  1,500  animals 
each  year,  with  aggregate  value  of  sales  reaching  more 
than  $400,000.  Since  the  outbreak  of  the  European  war 
all  records  have  been  broken  in  the  horse  and  mule 
market,  and  this  firm  has  been  busily  engaged  in 
gathering,  selecting  and  shipping  hundreds  of  horses 
and  mules  to  be  used  abroad. 

The  operations  of  the  firm  of  Callaway  & Son  cover 
a wide  area,  though  the  bulk  of  the  stock  is  purchased 
within  a radius  of  fifty  miles  about  Enid.  As  already 
mentioned,  probably  no  other  man  has  done  so  much  to 
encourage  the  breeding  and  growing  of  improved  classes 
of  stock  in  this  district.  It  is  now  acknowledged  that  a 
superior  class  of  both  horses  and  mules  is  produced  in 
this  section  of  Oklahoma.  Several  years  ago  Mr.  Calla- 
way erected  a large  and  specially  equipped  horse  barn 
at  an  expense  of  $14,000.  The  barn  at  present  is 
occupied  by  the  Aaron  Produce  Company.  In  addition 
to  his  stock  business  Mr.  Callaway  has  been  a farmer  to 
such  an  extent  as  to  justify  his  prominence  in  that 
industry  were  it  the  only  occupation  which  he  followed. 


He  owns  several  hundred  acres  of  land,  and  has  made 
wheat  growing  his  specialty.  In  1914  he  had  350  acres 
in  the  crop,  with  a yield  of  about  thirty  bushels  per 
acre.  Thus  he  had  about  10,000  bushels  ready  for  mar- 
ket at  a time  when  wheat  was  soaring  above  $1  a 
bushel. 

M.  M.  Callaway  was  born  near  Springfield,  Missouri, 
in  1847.  His  parents  had  located  in  that  section  about 
1840,  his  father  coming  from  North  Carolina  and  his 
mother  from  Tennessee.  Mr.  Callaway  has  been  a 
democratic  voter  since  early  manhood,  but  has  never 
sought  public  distinction.  His  ability  as  a business  man 
and  integrity  as  a citizen  caused  the  people  of  Garfield 
County  to  choose  him  as  one  of  the  county  commission- 
ers, in  which  office  he  served  from  1904  to  1910.  It  was 
during  that  period  that  the  courthouse  was  erected  at 
a cost  of  $100,000.  So  skilfully  were  the  county  finances 
managed  that  within  four  years  the  entire  obligation 
caused  by  this  improvement  was  liquidated.  At  the  same 
time  the  tax  rate,  instead  of  being  increased,  was 
actually  lessened.  While  his  associates  on  the  board, 
H.  C.  Davis  and  C.  P.  Epley,  were  both  republicans,  in 
most  matters  the  board  worked  in  absolute  harmony 
and  efficiency.  The  only  important  exception  was  Mr. 
Callaway’s  decided  preference  for  locating  the  court- 
house on  the  site  of  the  old  building  at  the  north  end  of 
the  public  square. 

Mr.  Callaway  was  married  at  Marshfield,  Missouri, 
where  he  lived  during  the  severe  cyclone  which  demol- 
ished that  town,  to  Elizabeth  Buford.  To  their  union 
have  been  born  a family  of  five  children.  Two  daughters 
live  at  Springfield,  Missouri.  The  son,  Charles,  is  operat- 
ing one  of  the  farms  owned  by  his  father,  -while  Ben  is 
associated  in  the  horse  and  mule  business.  The  daughter, 
Lillie,  is  still  at  home. 


for  hauling  goods,  but  the  limit  of  capacity  for  his  own  fat 


wagon  was  one  ton. 

Asa  Donaldson  was  born  at  Lexington,  LaGrange  taeei 
County,  Indiana,  April  21,  1846,  a son  of  George  anc  carriage 
Nancy  (Norton)  Donaldson.  His  father  was  born  ii 
Scotland,  while  the  mother  was  a native  of  Connecticut 
When  a child  George  Donaldson  came  to  America  wit!  Donaldso 
his  parents,  who  settled  in  West  Virginia,  but  as  a younj 
man  he  went  out  to  Northern  Indiana  and  secured 
homestead  of  eighty  acres  one  mile  east  of  the  Town  o 
Lexington,  where  he  lived  as  a farmer  and  blacksmith  unti 
about  1859.  He  tDen  removed  to  Crawford  County,  111:' 
nois,  where  he  was  engaged  in  the  same  occupation  untiftr 
about  1862.  Returning  then  to  Lexington,  Indiana,  h 


farm, 


years 


Asa  Donaldson.  It  is  with  a comfortable  sense  of’ 
duty  well  performed  and  many  responsibilities  capably, 
fulfilled  that  Asa  Donaldson  now  enjoys  the  privileges 
of  a retired  life  in  Cushing.  When  a very  young  man 
Mr.  Donaldson  served  in  one  of  the  concluding  campaigns  i 
of  the  Union  armies  during  the  Civil  war.  Preliminary 
to  his  introduction  to  Oklahoma  he  lived  in  Kansas  and 
had  his  share  of  the  early  struggles  that  were  the  loti 
of  the  early  farmers  in  that  state.  He  became  a pioneer: 
of  the  Sac  and  Fox  country  at  its  opening,  and  has  been: 
identified  with  this  section  ever  since. 

In  the  early  days  of  Cushing  before  railroads  had 
been  constructed,  Mr.  Donaldson  did  a great  deal  of 
business  as  a freighter.  For  eight  years  he  hauled  goods 
back  and  forth  across  the  country  between  Cushing  and 
Sapulpa  and  Cushing  and  Guthrie.  Those  larger  cities 
were  the  nearest  railroad  points,  and  it  was  forty-five 
miles  to  either  place.  The  roads  were  little  better  than  of  thirl 
prairie  trails,  there  were  no  bridges  across  the  streams, 
and  Mr.  Donaldson  usually  spent  from  four  to  six  days 
raking  a round  trip.  He  was  paid  40  cents  a hundred 


estsoi 
his  fit 
Mr. 
eight ; 
He  is 
theMa 
The: 
carried 
the  fat] 
at  the  : 


with  th. 


losllillf, 


bounty; 


Goldie. 


John  ; 


'Jack” 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


2067 


remained  there  until  his  death,  when  about  seventy 
years  of  age.  The  mother  died  in  Crawford  County, 
Illinois,  when  ninety-two  years  of  age. 

There  were  nine  children  altogether  in  the  family  and 
only  three  are  now  living.  Asa  's  older  brother,  Charles, 
two  years  his  senior,  enlisted  in  the  Ninth  Michigan 
Cavalry  early  in  the  Civil  war  and  was  accidentally  killed 
while  returning  home  in  June,  1865,  after  having  passed 
safely  through  the  various  campaigns  under  General 
Sherman.  Asa  Donaldson  was  about  fourteen  years'  of 
when  the  war  broke  out,  and  his  early  life  was  spent 
on  a farm  in  Northern  Indiana,  with  such  advantages 
as  the  common  schools  of  that  district  afforded.  On 
August  9,  1864,  he  likewise  enlisted  for  service  in  the 
Union  army,  and  at  Sturgis,  Michigan,  went  out  with 
the  Ninth  Michigan  Infantry.  He  served  until  the  close 
of  the  war,  and  was  in  the  army  commanded  by  General 
Thomas.  On  returning  home  to  LaGrange  County,  Indi- 
ana, he  was  married  a little  later,  on  July  1,  1866,  to 
Miss  Lavina  Culler.  She  was  born  near  Canton  in  Stark 
County,  Ohio,  in  April,  1847,  lost  her  father  when  she 
was  one  year  of  age,  and  at  the  age  of  eleven  came  to 
Kosciusko  County,  Indiana,  with  her  widowed  mother. 

After  his  marriage  Mr.  Donaldson  lived  on  a farm  in 
LaGrange  County,  Indiana,  for  a number  of  years,  but 
finally  moved  west  and  identified  himself  with  the  pioneer 
district  of  Harvey  County,  Kansas.  He  was  a farmer 
there  for  six  years,  and  then  at  the  opening  of  the  Sac 
and  Fox  Reservation  made  his  entry  into  Oklahoma.  Up 
to  that  time  he  had  not  greatly  prospered,  and  it  adds 
to  the  interest  of  his  present  standing  as  a business  man 
to  note  that  he  came  into  Oklahoma  driving  two  teams 
and  two  cows,  and  without  a pair  of  shoes  to  cover  his 
own  feet.  He  secured  a claim  three  miles  north  of  Cushing, 
and  that  was  the  scene  of  his  industrious  endeavors  for 
a number  of  years.  He  cleared  up  the  land,  developed 
a good  homestead,  and  lived  there  until  1909,  at  which 
time  he  moved  into  the  Town  of  Cushing  and  sold  his 
ably  farm.  He  then  spent  six  months  in  touring  the  Pacific 
leges  Coast,  and  returning  to  Oklahoma  bought  a tract  of  forty 
man  acres  half  a mile  south  of  Cushing,  and  has  since  intro- 
aigni  luced  many  improvements  in  that  little  farm.  For  six 
years  he  has  been  a resident  of  Cushing,  and  for  two 
years  was  in  the  furniture  business,  but  now  has  no  inter - 
jsts  outside  of  his  private  affairs  and  the  management  of 
onee  lis  city  property. 

Mr.  Donaldson  is  a republican  in  politics,  and  for 
ight  years  held  the  position  of  justice  of  the  peace, 
kjple  is  a member  of  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic, 
he  Masonic  Order,  and  belongs  to  the  Christian  Church. 
The  active  responsibilities  and  burdens  of  life  are  now 
an  iarried  forward  by  his  children.  Mr.  Donaldson  became 
citis  ;he  father  of  six.  The  oldest,  Charles,  died  in  Kansas 
trffl  it  the  age  of  twenty-one.  Orsena,  who  died  at  the  age 
tliai  >f  thirty,  married  Frank  Faulls.  Maude  married  Leon 
earns  High,  and  she  died  at  the  age  of  twenty-nine,  leaving  two 
_ day  ons,  William  Ray  and  Lawrence,  who  are  now  living 
uiijrei  vith  their  grandfather,  Mr.  Donaldson,  and  with  their 
his  iwn  father,  who  is  proprietor  of  a grocery  store  at 
rushing.  George,  the  fourth  child,  died  at  the  age  of 
ourteen.  Arbie  is  a farmer  near  Cushing,  and  by  his 
“"jl  larriage  to  Etta  Cotterman  has  the  following  children: 
" j|  rwin ; Floyd,  deceased ; Edna ; Lloyd ; Fern ; Truman ; 
iecfelj  ,nd  one  that  died  in  infancy.  The  youngest  of  Mr. 
j ,vjti  Donaldson ’s  children  is  William,  a farmer  in  Payne 
TClW!  lounty ; he  married  Hattie  Brooks,  and  their  children 
(1^e(]  re  Bessie,  Leland,  Lavina,  Henry  (deceased),  Ora  and 

rownoPoHie. 

ittunb 

Hi  John  N.  Innis.  There  is  probably  no  better  known 
,jnti  r more  picturesque  figure  in  Western  Oklahoma  than 
Jack”  Innis,  now  settled  down  to  the  routine  of  busi- 


ness affairs  as  manager  of  the  York-Key  Lumber  Com- 
pany of  Supply.  The  varied  incidents  and  exciting 
scenes  of  the  frontier  are  indelibly  impressed  as  pictures 
upon  Mr.  Innis  ’ mind,  since  he  was  in  this  country  nearly 
thirty  years  ago,  followed  the  range  and  trail  over  No 
Man’s  Land  for  several  years,  was  connected  with  the 
Government  service  in  the  different  forts  of  Western 
Oklahoma,  particularly  at  Fort  Supply,  and  was  at  the 
founding  of  the  modern  Town  of  Supply  and  gave  the 
community  one  of  its  first  stores. 

As  his  family  were  pioneers  before  him,  and  moved 
successively  to  different  points  as  civilization  advanced 
toward  the  West,  he  was  well  fitted  by  birth  and  environ- 
ment for  the  accomplishments  of  his  own  career.  John 
N.  Innis  was  born  in  a log  cabin  in  Ripley  County, 
Indiana,  September  1,  1863,  a son  of  James  Innis. 
There  is  another  member  of  the  family  well  known  in 
Western  Oklahoma,  Joseph  A.  Innis,  also  a son  of 
James,  and  a more  particular  sketch  of  the  earlier 
generations  will  be  found  under  the  former  name.  John 
N.  Innis  when  three  years  of  age  was  taken  by  his 
parents  to  Bates  County,  Missouri,  grew  up  there  on  a 
farm  and  a sufficient  amount  of  education  was  given 
him  for  all  practical  purposes  in  the  public  schools  of 
that  section  of  Missouri. 

He  was  twenty-three  years  of  age  when  in  1886  he 
came  into  Old  Indian  Territory.  It  was  three  years 
before  the  first  great  opening  of  the  Indian  lands  was 
made,  and  his  first  adventures  were  as  a cowboy  on 
the  cattle  ranch  of  Col.  C.  W.  Peary  in  No  Man’s  Land, 
as  it  was  then  designated  in  the  school  geography,  and 
perhaps  better  known  to  the  present  generation  as  the 
Oklahoma  Panhandle.  He  followed  the  trail  in  that 
country  for  four  years,  and  in  that  time  became 
acquainted  with  nearly  all  the  picturesque  characters, 
both  whites  and  Indians,  who  inhabited  the  extreme 
western  part  of  Oklahoma.  In  1891  he  entered  the 
employ  of  the  United  States  army  as  a teamster  in  the 
quartermaster’s  department.  The  headquarters  were  at 
Fort  Supply,  and  he  is  one  of  the  few  men  who  have 
witnessed  the  transformation  of  that  noted  old  military 
post  into  a modern  city.  Subsequently  he  was  corral 
boss,  and  worked  in  that  capacity  both  at  Fort  Supply 
and  at  Fort  Sill  altogether  for  four  years.  Still  later 
he  proved  up  on  a claim  in  Harper  County,  Oklahoma, 
but  when  the  new  Town  of  Supply  was  founded  in  1901 
he  established  there  the  first  general  store.  He  con- 
ducted that  successfully  and  sold  goods  to  all  his  old 
friends  in  that  vicinity  and  to  hundreds  of  the  new 
settlers.  When  he  disposed  of  his  mercantile  stock  in 
1905  he  accepted  the  post  of  manager  for  the  York-Key 
Lumber  Company  at  Supply,  and  has  contributed  not  a 
little  to  the  business  of  this  large  lumber  corporation  in 
Oklahoma.  At  the  same  time  he  has  made  himself  a 
factor  in  local  improvements,  is  one  of  the  stanchest' 
friends  of  Supply  as  a town,  and  prospective  city,  and! 
he  can  always  be  depended  upon  for  an  intelligent  and 
enlightened  interest  in  its  welfare.  Fraternally  Mr. 
Innis  is  affiliated  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America. 

At  Woodward,  Oklahoma,  December  27,  1897,  he  mar- 
ried Miss  Margaret  Valker.  She  was  born  at  old  Fort 
Supply,  Indian  Territory,  December  1,  1874,  a daughter 
of  Philip  V alkeff,  who  was  at  that  time  serving  as  an 
enlisted  soldier  in  the  United  States  army.  Her  mother, 
now  Mrs.  L.  Mason,  came  to  Fort  Supply  with  her 
parents  in  1868  at  the  time  the  fort  was  established. 
Mrs.  Innis  was  educated  in  a Catholic  school  at  Purcell, 
Indian  Territory.  To  their  marriage  were  born  seven 
children,  four  sons  and  three  daughters:  John  P.,  born 

January  31,  1899;  Robert  Vinton,  born  February  20, 
1901,  and  died  March  30,  1901 ; Joseph  Everett,  born 


2068 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


July  19,  1903;  Archie  Ward,  born  September  28,  1905; 
Josephine  May,  born  May  20,  1907;  Bessie,  born  Decem- 
ber 30,  1910;  and  Mary  Ellen,  born  February  19,  1912. 

Col.  Oliver  R.  Lilley.  Always  will  there  be  a glamor 
of  romance  about  those  interesting  adventurers  who 
participated  in  the  first  opening  of  the  Oklahoma  lands. 
Few  men  took  part  in  more  of  these  openings  and 
endured  more  of  the  inconveniences  and  hardships  con- 
nected therewith  than  Col.  Oliver  R.  Lilley,  who  for  a 
number  of  years  has  been  a prominent  citizen  of  Cushing 
in  Payne  County.  Colonel  Lilley  has  seen  a great  deal 
of  western  life  during  his  career,  has  been  in  most  of 
the  states  west  of  the  Mississippi  River,  and  has  been 
hardy,  fearless,  enterprising  and  a ready  fighter  for  any 
cause  he  believed  to  be  just  and  right.  While  he  has 
been  identified  with  other  affairs,  Colonel  Lilley  is 
perhaps  best  known  among  most  people  as  an  auctioneer, 
a profession  he  has  followed  since  early  youth. 

Born  in  Whiteside  County,  Illinois,  November  23, 
1861,  he  was  taken  in  the  same  fall  out  to  Kansas  by  his 
parents,  Joseph  John  and  Anna  (Cross)  Lilley,  who  were 
pioneers  in  Kansas  at  the  beginning  of  the  Civil  war. 
His  father,  who  was  born  in  Pennsylvania,  died  in  1880 
at  the  age  of  fifty  on  his  old  homestead  in  Riley  County, 
Kansas,  twenty  miles  north  of  Manhattan.  He  had 
located  on  that  home  in  the  fall  of  1861.  By  occupation 
he  was  a farmer  and  stock  raiser.  The  mother  was  born 
in  West  Virginia,  and  is  now  living  at  the  old  home  in 
Kansas  at  the  age  of  eighty-six.  She  became  the  mother 
of  four  sons  and  one  daughter,  and  the  father  had 
children  by  a previous  marriage. 

TJp  to  the  age  of  ten  Oliver  R.  Lilley  lived  at  home 
and  the  next  six  years  were  spent  in  the  same  locality  of 
Kansas,  until  the  spirit  of  adventure  led  him  entirely 
away  from  home  surroundings  and  out  to  California.  He 
spent  3%  years  in  that  state,  earning  his  way  at  any 
employment  which  he  could  secure.  He  did  his  first 
work  as  an  auctioneer  at  the  age  of  eighteen,  and  has 
since  officiated  at  sales  and  has  sold  all  manner  of  goods, 
live  stock,  household  possessions,  land  and  other  property, 
and  his  operations  have  been  carried  on  in  Kansas, 
Missouri,  Texas  and  elsewhere. 

Colonel  Lilley  arrived  in  Oklahoma  June  22,  1890. 
After  that  he  took  part  in  all  the  important  land  open- 
ings. At  some  of  these  openings  he  has  paid  as  high 
as  10  cents  a glass  for  drinking  water.  He  lay  for 
hours  at  a time  in  the  thick  dust  along  the  line  which 
marked  the  limit  of  the  land  for  which  thousands  were 
striving  to  gain  possession.  At  the  opening  of  the  Sac 
and  Fox  Reservation  he  had  a fortunate  number,  No. 
370,  secured  a claim,  and  lived  there  and  developed  it  for 
fifteen  years.  For  several  years  he  lived  at  Ripley,  and 
his  home  has  been  at  Cushing  since  1907.  Here  he  has 
spent  most  of  his  time  a3  an  auctioneer. 

Colonel  Lilley  is  credited  with  many  public  spirited 
movements  and  enterprises  in  Payne  County.  He  built 
and  still  owns  the  Lilley  Hotel,  a thirty-nine-room  modern 
hostelry,  and  managed  it  himself  for  three  years,  and 
has  since  leased  it.  He  also  has  other  real  estate  in 
Cushing.  Up  to  1912  he  was  a republican,  and  has  since 
been  identified  with  the  progressive  policies.  Colonel 
Lilley  was  for  two  years  mayor  at  Cushing  during  the 
great  boom  following  the  discoveries  of  the  oil  fields. 
At  that  time  the  town  was  unable  to  provide  accommoda- 
tions for  the  hosts  of  people  who  flocked  to  this  center, 
and  hundreds  of  persons  lived  in  tents.  Colonel  Lilley 
has  always  stood  for  a clean  town,  has  lead  the  fight 
against  the  illegal  liquor  traffic,  and  has  done  much  to 
keep  that  element  of  danger  out  of  the  local  life.  For 
twenty  years  he  has  been  a member  of  the  Christian 
Church,  is  affiliated  with  the  Scottish  Rite  Consistory 


of  Masonry  at  Guthrie,  and  with  the  Temple  of  the 
Mystic  Shrine  at  Oklahoma  City.  He  also  belongs  to 
the  Eastern  Star,  the  Knights  and  Ladies  of  Security, 
and  many  other  fraternal  orders. 

On  September  22,  1889,  Colonel  Lilley  married  Miss 
Emma  A.  Hetherington.  She  was  born  at  Racine,  New- 
ton County,  Missouri,  February  16,  1872,  and  died  at 
Stillwater,  Oklahoma,  April  3,  1915.  Their  four  children, 
all  born  in  Oklahoma,  are  named  Lenna  A.,  Jessie  O., 
John  H.  and  Oliver  L. 

Chief  James  Bigheart.  Of  all  the  characters  in  the 
history  of  the  Osage  tribe  undoubtedly  the  greatest,  so 
far  as  individual  influence  and  foreefulness  in  politics 
and  all  economic  measures  affecting  the  tribe  are  con- 
cerned, was  the  late  Chief  James  Bigheart,  who  died  in  I 
October,  1908. 

At  the  time  of  his  death  he  was  eighty-two  years  old. 
He  was  a fullblood  Osage  Indian,  and  it  is  conceded  that 
he  was  the  brainiest  member  of  that  tribe  during  the 
last  century  and  was  one  of  the  keenest  and  shrewdest  ■ 
Indians  ever  known. 

He  had  a long  and  active  career.  When  a young  man 
he  served  in  the  Union  army  during  the  Civil  war  and 
for  many  years  his  name  was  on  the  pension  list.  During 
the  greater  part  of  his  lifetime  Indian  lands  were  held 
in  common,  and  it  was  rather  as  a worker  and  a handler 
in  cattle  and  other  transactions  that  he  gained  his 
fortune.  Until  a few  years  before  his  death  he  was 
regarded  as  the  richest  man  in  the  wealthiest  tribe  of 
Indians  in  the  country. 

It  was  due  to  many  other  things  besides  his  extensive  ; 
possessions  of  land  that  his  name  formed  so  important  a i 
feature  of  Osage  life.  The  flourishing  Town  of  Bigheart 
is  only  a small  but  significant  tribute  to  his  life  and  i 
career. 

He  held  nearly  every  office  among  the  Osages,  includ- 
ing the  position  as  chieftain,  and  it  is  said  that  he 
was  the  most  respected  and  the  most  dreaded  man  in. 
the  tribe.  Though  many  honors  were  given  him,  he  > 
showed  no  tendency  toward  pompous  display.  He  wore 
ordinary  clothes,  was  quiet  and  thoughtful  in  appearance, 
and  spoke  fluently  both  the  English  and  Osage  languages., 
His  name  is  destined  to  be  long  remembered  as  thatu 
of  a great  man  and  one  whose  life  was  devoted  to  whatt 
he  believed  the  best  interests  of  the  fullblood  Indian. 

It  is  said  that  for  many  years  he  had  more  influence*  | 
in  the  Interior  Department  than  any  other  living  Indian.! 
For  fully  twenty  years  he  was  a controlling  factor  ini 
his  tribe,  and  his  word  was  practically  law  among  thei 
fullbloods.  About  two  years  before  his  death  he  was 
stricken  with  paralysis  but  up  to  that  time  the  affairs! 
of  the  tribe  were  largely  a reflex  of  his  action  and' 
influence.  He  was  constantly  consulted  and  the  tribei 
would  practically  refuse  to  act  on  any  important  matter 
until  his  advice  could  be  obtained.  In  1896  Chief  Big-; 
heart  advocated  the  investigation  of  the  citizenship! 
rolls,  and  though  defeated  at  first  he  persistently  andi 
doggedly  kept  up  the  work  until  a second  investigation! 
was  ordered  by  Congress.  He  was  bitterly  opposed  tc 
the  allotment  of  the  Osage  lands,  and  many  say  that 
he  delayed  that  event  for  at  least  ten  years.  No  doubt 
his  dominant  characteristic  was  an  unflinching  courage 
and  a determination  that  knew  no  defeat.  When  h(i 
undertook  anything,  he  persisted  in  it  until  it  wa!i| 
finished  to  his  satisfaction.  While  many  of  the  definite 
details  of  Chief  Bigheart ’s  career  can  not  be  obtained 
it  is  only  proper  that  the  history  of  Oklahoma  should 
give  at  least  this  brief  character  sketch  of  one  of  thi 
foremost  among  its  fullblooded  Indian  citizens. 

Chief  Bigheart  married  Alice  McIntosh,  a Cheroke* 
Indian,  and  of  a prominent  old  family  of  Oklahoma 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2069 


To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Biglieart  were  born  seven  children. 
Four  of  them  are  still  living.  The  daughter  Mary  mar- 
ried Tom  Clendenning,  and  they  have  two  sons  named 
James  and  Jack.  Rosa  married  Sherman  Heal,  and 
became  the  mother  of  five  children  named  Francis, 
Oliva,  Julia,  Roselay  and  Josephine.  Lillian  married 
W.  C.  Spurrier,  referred  to,  on  other  pages  of  this  work. 
Isabel  lives  at  home  with  her  mother. 

On  February  26,  1910,  Mrs.  Chief  Bigheart,  who  is 
still  living,  married  Mr.  J.  C.  McGraw.  Mrs.  McGraw 
was  married  both  times  very  close  to  the  locality  where 
she  was  born.  She  is  a woman  of  unusual  intelligence 
and  ability,  and  her  character  is  well  reflected  in  the 
lives  of  her  children.  Mr.  McGraw  is  one  of  the  leading 
citizens  of  the  Town  of  Bigheart,  has  prospered  as  a 
cattle  man  and  farmer,  and  is  filling  a place  of  useful- 
ness and  honor  in  the  Osage  country.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
McGraw  are  the  parents  of  three  children:  Blanche, 

Leo  and  Sylvester. 

Chris  E.  Herschberger.  There  is  a reason  for  Mr. 
Herschberger ’s  successful  work  as  an  editor  and  news- 
paper owner,  being  proprietor  of  The  Supply  Republi- 
can at  Supply,  and  there  is  also  ground  to  expect  much 
from  him  in  the  future,  judged  by  what  he  has  done 
in  the  past.  Mr.  Herschberger  educated  himself,  has 
been  a worker  ever  since  early  boyhood,  and  has  found 
in  teaching,  printing  and  publishing  congenial  tasks 
which  have  furnished  a solid  foundation  upon  which 
to  rear  a superstructure  of  important  accomplishment. 
Born  May  23,  1888,  on  the  farm  in  McPherson  County, 
Kansas,  he  is  a son  of  Moses  C.  and  Mary  (Bontrager) 
Herschberger.  Originally  the  family  was  undoubtedly 
German,  but  several  generations  or  more  of  the  Hersch- 
bergers  have  lived  in  America.  Moses  C.  Herschberger 
was  born  in  the  State  of  Indiana  October  17,  1860,  while 
his  parents  before  him  were  natives  of  Ohio.  Farming 
has  always  been  his  vocation  since  he  reached  mature 
years,  and  in  1881  he  ventured  into  what  was  then  an 
unproved  country,  Kansas,  buying  land  in  McPherson 
County.  That  was  his  home  until  1889,  after  which  he 
spent  three  years  in  the  State  of  Missouri,  but  then  re- 
turned to  Kansas.  In  1899  the  family  came  to  Oklahoma, 
locating  on  a farm  near  Jet  in  Alfalfa  County  until  1906. 
Moses  C.  Herschberger  is  now  in  the  grain  business  at 
Blackwell.  He  and  his  wife  were  married  at  McPherson 
in  1882,  and  the  latter  was  a daughter  of  John  C.  and 
Elizabeth  (Miller)  Bontrager,  who  were  natives  of  Penn- 
sylvania. She  was  born  October  21,  1864,  in  Holmes 
County,  Ohio.  They  are  the  parents  of  six  children, 
three  “sons  and  three  daughters,  namely:  John  Carl, 

born  March  28,  1886;  Chris  Earl;  Clarence  Austin, 
born  June  25,  1891;  Mabel  E.,  born  September  24, 
1893;  Susana  Grace,  born  July  21,  1896;  and  Alta  Mae, 
born  August  20,  1901. 

When  Chris  E.  Herschberger  came  to  Oklahoma  with 
his  parents  in  1899  he  was  only  eleven  years  of  age.  In 
the  meantime  he  had  profited  by  such  opportunities  as 
were  afforded  him  to  attend  the  public  schools  of  south- 
ern Kansas.  After  coming  to  Oklahoma  he  worked  three 
years  in  a general  store  at  Jet.  Then  in  1902  began  his 
experience  as  a printer’s  apprentice  in  the  office  of 
TJ.  Finch.  He  learned  the  printing  trade,  and  developed 
no  little  talent  for  artistic  job  work  and  also  a tendency 
to  the  broader  field  of  newspaper  work.  During  1906-07, 
in  order  to  remedy  some  of  the  deficiencies  of  his  early 
education,  he  attended  the  Woods  County  High  School 
and  during  1907-08  was  a student  in  Goshen  College  at 
Goshen,  Indiana,  where  he  took  the  business  course. 
Then  with  the  equivalent  of  a substantial  education,  he 
took  the  post  of  editor  of  the  Jet  Visitor  for  two  years, 


but  in  1911  bought  the  fort  Supply  Republican  at  Supply, 
Oklahoma,  and  has  been  identified  with  the  progress  and 
success  of  that  journal  ever  since.  He  conducts  an 
excellent  paper,  bright,  newsy,  a good  medium  for  local 
advertising,  and  a vigorous  supporter  of  all  public  im- 
provements. Mr.  Herschberger  is  popular  as  a citizen 
and  in  1915  was  elected  city  clerk  at  Supply.  In  the 
spring  of  1916  he  was  also  selected  as  chairman  of  the 
Executive  Committee,  having  charge  of  the  Tri-County 
Farm  Products  Exhibit,  which  has  done  much  during 
the  past  few  years  in  encouraging  the  farmers  of 
Harper,  Ellis  and  Woodward  counties  in  producing  bet- 
ter live  stock,  more  and  better  crops,  etc. 

On  September  22,  1909,  about  the  time  he  moved  to 
Supply  he  was  married  at  Cherokee,  Oklahoma,  to  Miss 
Rhea  McDaniel,  daughter  of  George  W.  and  Rachel 
McDaniel,  who  were  natives  of  Indiana.  Mrs.  Hersch- 
berger was  born  May  4,  1889,  at  Anthony,  Kansas,  and 
gained  her  education  in  Oklahoma,  where  she  attended 
the  Northwestern  Normal  at  Alva,  and  prior  to  her 
marriage  spent  two  years  as  teacher  in  Alfalfa  County. 
To  their  union  have  been  born  two  children:  Max  C., 

born  July  4,  1910;  and  George  Glenn,  born  April  5, 
1913.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Herschberger  are  members  of  the 
Christian  Church. 

Charles  Edwin  Foy.  A service  record  which  will 
always  make  his  life  one  of  interest  and  esteem  to  his 
family  and  descendants  was  that  portion  of  his  early 
manhood  which  Charles  E.  Foy  spent  as  a soldier  in  the 
Civil  war.  Since  then,  for  a period  of  more  than  a half 
century,  he  has  been  successively  identified  with  farming 
enterprise  in  various  states,  Illinois,  Iowa,  Nebraska  and 
Oklahoma.  Mr.  Foy,  as  a result  of  good  business  man- 
agement and  long  continued  industry,  is  now  comfortably 
situated,  owns  both  farm  and  city  property,  and  is  living 
retired  at  Cushing. 

Born  on  a farm  in  Hancock  County,  Illinois,  January 
28,  1844,  he  is  a son  of  George  and  Nancy  (Jones) 
Foy.  His  father  was  born  in  New  York  State  and  his 
mother  in  Kentucky.  George  Foy  at  the  age  of  eighteen 
came  west  to  Illinois,  was  married  in  Hancock  County, 
and  two  years  after  the  birth  of  his  son,  Charles  E., 
moved  to  Whiteside  County.  He  lived  there  nearly  all 
the  rest  of  his  life,  and  finally  went  to  Missouri,  where 
he  died  shortly  afterwards  on  April  10,  1896,  at  the  age 
of  seventy-seven.  His  wife  passed  away  in  Whiteside 
County,  Illinois,  in  1899,  aged  seventy-seven.  George 
Foy  was  a farmer  all  his  active  career,  exercised  unusual 
thrift  and  intelligence  in  the  management  of  his  affairs, 
and  came  to  be  regarded  as  one  of  the  most  prosperous 
citizens  of  Whiteside  County.  He  was  a great  reader 
of  current  literature,  always  kept  himself  informed  on 
public  affairs,  was  a republican  voter  and  a member 
of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church.  In  the  family  of 
eleven  children  Charles  E.  was  the  oldest,  four  of  the 
children  died  very  young,  and  the  others  are  briefly 
mentioned  as  follows : Mary,  wife  of  George  Klock 

of  Bureau  County,  Illinois;  Augusta,  wife  of  Hubert 
Bonker  of  Denver,  Colorado;  Elmira,  deceased  wife  of 
Edward  Forward;  Wilber,  deceased;  Edgar,  deceased, 
who  was  a physician;  and  Freeman,  who  lives  in  Bureau 
County,  Illinois. 

The  early  life  of  Charles  E.  Foy1  was  spent  on  a farm 
in  Illinois,  and  he  gained  such  education  as  the  local 
schools  had  to  bestow.  When  he  was  about  nineteen 
years  of  age,  on  January  1,  1863,  he  enlisted  in  Whiteside 
County  and  went  out  with  the  Union  army  as  a member 
of  Company  B in  the  Thirty-fourth  Illinois  Infantry. 
His  service  continued  until  the  close  of  the  war.  He  was 
with  Sherman  in  the  Atlanta  campaign,  on  the  march 


2070 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


to  the  sea,  in  the  campaign  through  the  Carolinas,  and 
finally  took  part  in  the  glorious  review  of  the  victorious 
troops  at  Washington.  While  at  Atlanta  he  suffered  a 
flesh  wound  in  the  left  leg  as  a result  of  an  exploding 
shell,  and  was  in  the  hospital  two  weeks.  While  on  a 
foraging  expedition  in  North  Carolina  he  was  captured, 
but  was  held  a prisoner  only  about  three  hours  until 
the  Union  cavalry  came  to  his  rescue  and  released  him. 

After  the  war  Mr.  Foy  lived  in  Whiteside  County  ou 
the  old  farm  for  a year.  In  1866  he  married  Miss 
Adelia  Arnold,  who  was  born  in  Illinois  and  died  in 
Nebraska  in  1890.  For  several  years  after  his  marriage 
Mr.  Foy  followed  farming  in  his  native  state,  and  in 
1874  settled  near  Hastings  in  Adams  County,  Nebraska. 
He  secured  a homestead  there  and  practically  all  the 
country  was  undeveloped,  and  most  of  the  people  lived 
in  sod  houses  and  had  to  fight  all  the  plagues  which 
assailed  agricultural  efforts  in  Nebraska  during  those 
years,  including  grasshoppers  and  many  successive 
droughts.  He  continued  a Nebraska  farmer  until  the 
death  of  his  wife,  and  then  lived  for  a time  in  Kansas 
City,  Missouri.  The  year  following  the  opening  of  the 
Sac  and  Fox  Reservation  he  came  to  Oklahoma  and 
bought  a quarter  of  section  of  land  six  miles  west  of 
Cushing.  He  developed  a farm  out  of  what  had  been 
for  centuries  a wilderness,  and  was  quietly  and  indus- 
triously occupied  with  the  farming  interests  there  until 
he  sold  out  in  1905.  His  next  purchase  was  a farm 
two  miles  south  of  Drumright.  Three  years  later  he 
retired  to  Cushing,  but  still  owns  the  farm  of  160  acres 
near  Drumright.  Mr.  Foy  also  has  fourteen  lots  on  East 
Broadway  in  Cushing,  and  has  part  of  this  developed, 
owning  three  residences.  At  the  present  time  his  farm, 
which  is  situated  in  the  oil  belt,  is  leased  for  productive 
operation.  Politically  he  is  a republican  and  has  an 
honored  membership  in  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic. 

By  his  first  marriage  there  were  six  children,  two  of 
these  died  in  infancy  and  the  four  still  living  are: 
Charles  Edmund,  who  lives  in  Seattle,  Washington; 
Arthur  Elberton,  also  of  Seattle;  George,  of  Seattle; 
and  Edgar,  whose  home  is  in  Logan  County,  Colorado. 
In  1895  Mr.  Foy  married  for  his  second  wife  at  Guthrie, 
Oklahoma,  Mrs.  Anna.  (Kilmer)  Parker.  She  was  born 
in  Van  Buren  County,  Iowa,  a daughter  of  Chandler 
Kilmer,  and  her  first  husband  was  Thomas  Parker.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Foy  have  one  child,  Hazel  Fern,  who  is  the 
wife  of  Luther  Toalson  of  Cushing,  and  by  this  union 
Mr.  Foy  has  a grandchild,  Marlin  Lueile. 

Benjaman  Elliott  Adams  Je.  Now  proprietor  and 
editor  of  the  Okeene  Leader,  Mr.  Adams  is  an  Oklahoma 
pioneer  by  virtue  of  the  fact  that  he  came  with  the 
family  to  this  territory  as  early  as  1892.  His  trade  and 
profession  as  printer  and  newspaper  man  were  learned 
in  Kansas,  and  while  most  of  his  active  career  has  been 
spent  in  that  line  of  work,  he  has  also  been  identified 
with  local  affairs  and  business  interests,  and  is  a former 
postmaster  of  Okeene.  The  Okeene  Leader  is  now  one 
of  the  most  influential  newspapers  in  Blaine  County,  has 
a large  circulation  both  in  that  and  in  Major  and  neigh- 
boring counties.  Mr.  Adams  owns  the  plant,  which  is 
situated  on  Fifth  Street  near  Main  Street.  The  Leader 
was  established  July  12,  1906,  as  a democratic  paper, 
but  under  Mr.  Adams’  management  reflects  republican 
sentiments. 

Born  at  Grafton,  Chautauqua  County,  Kansas,  Decem- 
ber 16,  1874,  Benjaman  Elliott  Adams  Jr.  is  a son  of 
Benjaman  Elliott  Adams  Sr.,  who  carries  in  his  veins 
a mixture  of  both  English  and  Cherokee  Indian  stock. 
The  original  Burns  of  the  Adams  family  came  to  Vir- 
ginia from  England  in  Colonial  times.  The  senior  Mr. 
Adams  was  born  in  Johnson  County,  Missouri,  in  1846, 


and  now  lives  on  a ranch  in  Ellis  County,  Oklahoma,  with 
his  son  Edgar  A.  He  was  one  of  the  men  who  helped 
to  develop  the  rich  land  of  Chautauqua  County,  Kansas, 
for  agricultural  purposes,  having  removed  to  that  section 
in  1870  from  Missouri.  In  1880  he  went  to  Sedan, 
Kansas,  and  served  as  undersheriff  for  twelve  years.  In 
1892  he  came  to  Blaine  County,  Oklahoma,  and  made  the 
run  at  the  opening  of  the  Cheyenne  and  Arapahoe  reser- 
vation, obtaining  a homestead  of  one  hundred  and  sixty 
acres  two  miles  south  of  Watonga.  He  lived  on  that 
place  and  developed  it  as  a fine  farm  for  ten  years,  and 
on  selling  out  went  to  Ellis  County,  where  he  is  still 
living.  He  is  a member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity.  The 
senior  Mr.  Adams  married  Miss  Hattie  Narron,  who  is 
of  German  stock.  Their  children  are:  Oliver  J.,  who 

died  in  Artesia,  New  Mexico,  in  February,  1915,  at  the 
age  of  forty -five;  Benjaman  E.  Jr.;  Edgar  Allen,  who 
is  a rancher  in  Ellis  County,  Oklahoma;  Maude,  wife 
of  D.  D.  DeLaney,  who  is  assistant  cashier  of  the  First 
National  Bank  of  Taloga,  Oklahoma;  Otto,  an  electrician 
living  at  Whittier,  California. 

Benjaman  E.  Adams  Jr.  spent  all  his  early  youth  in 
Kansas,  completing  a high  school  education  at  Sedan. 
On  leaving  school  in  1890  he  spent  two  years  in  learning 
the  printing  trade  in  the  office  of  the  Sedan  Republican, 
which  at  that  time  was  under  the  editorial  management 
of  former  Governor  T.  B.  Ferguson.  In  1892  he  came 
with  his  father  to  Blaine  County,  and  for  several  years 
handled  a plow  and  other  implements  in  subduing  the 
virgin  soil  of  his  father’s  homestead  claim.  He  then 
allied  himself  again  with  T.  B.  Ferguson  on  the  Watonga 
Republican,  and  continued  that  work  off  and  on  until 
1900.  Then  going  to  Homestead,  Oklahoma,  he  took 
charge  of  the  Homestead  News  for  W.  W.  Waterman, 
and  in  1901  bought  the  paper  and  it  was  continued  under 
his  effective  editorial  control  until  the  spring  of  1907. 
Selling  out  he  then  removed  to  Okeene,  and  had  charge 
of  the  Okeene  Eagle  during  the  statehood  campaign. 
For  several  years  after  that  Mr.  Adams  was  not  actively 
identified  with  newspaper  work.  For  two  years  he  was 
a director  and  assistant  cashier  of  the  Farmers  and 
Merchants  Bank  of  Okeene,  and  in  1910  President  Taft 
appointed  him  postmaster,  an  office  to  which  he  devoted 
his  time  and  attention  until  August  25,  1914.  In  April, 
1915,  he  bought  the  Okeene  Leader,  and  is  making  that 
one  of  the  very  successful  newspapers  in  his  district. 

Politically  Mr.  Adams  is  a republican,  and  for  three 
years  served  as  trustee  of  Homestead  Township  and  for 
two  years  was  constable  of  Watonga  Township.  He  is 
affiliated  with  Homestead  Lodge  No.  224,  Ancient  Free 
and  Accepted  Masons,  and  with  the  Brotherhood  of 
American  Yeomen  at  Okeene.  On  December  25,  Christ- 
mas Day,  1900,  in  Watonga,  he  married  Miss  Anna 
Marie  Howry.  Her  father,  J.  C.  Howry,  lives  on  a farm 
southwest  of  Watonga,  where  he  homesteaded  in  1892. 
To  their  marriage  have  been  born  three  children:  Lueile 
Frances,  born  in  September  1904;  Robert  Howry,  born 
in  February,  1906;  and  Marguerite,  born  in  February, 
1913. 

John  P.  Hickam.  One  of  the  strong,  resourceful, 
versatile  and  loyal  citizens  whose  influence  has  been 
potent  in  connection  with  governmental  and  general 
civic  affairs  in  Oklahoma  since  the  early  territorial  era 
in  the  history  of  this  commonwealth  and  whose  high 
ideals  and  downright  sincerity  have  made  him  a leader 
in  the  furtherance  of  the  interests  of  the  people  of  the 
state  of  his  adoption,  is  the  honored  member  of  the  bar 
whose  name  introduces  this  paragraph.  Mr.  Hickam  has 
been  engaged  in  the  practice  of  his  profession  at  Still- 
water, judicial  center  of  Payne  County,  since  the  spring 
of  1897,  and  is  one  of  the  representative  pioneer  members 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2071 


reefulj 


of  the  bar  of  this  section  of  the  state.  He  has  been  a 
recognized  leader  in  political  activities  in  Oklahoma,  and 
that  he  has  been  one  of  the  foremost  figures  in  the  ranks 
of  the  progressive  party  in  this  state  needs  no  further 
voucher  than  the  statement  that  in  the  election  of  1914 
he  was  the  progressive  party ’s  candidate  for  the  office  of 
governor  of  Oklahoma.  Who  knows  the  man  can  not  fail 
to  have  lively  appreciation  of  his  ability,  his  unfaltering 
integrity  of  purpose,  his  admirable  equipment  for  leader- 
ship in  sentiment  and  action,  and  his  invincible  courage  ' 
in  upholding  the  rights  and  interests  of  the  people  as 
against  the  domination  of  capitalistic  and  corrupt  politi- 
cal forces. 

It  is  but  consistent  that  in  a preliminary  way  be 
given  an  outline  of  the  political  activities  and  public 
service  of  Mr.  Hickam  within  the  period  of  his  residence 
in  Oklahoma,  and  such  a resume  is  afforded  in  the  fol- 
lowing quotations  from  an  article  published  at  the  time 
when  he  was  in  the  midst  of  his  campaign  for  governor 
of  the  state,  in  1914: 

“In  1902  Mr.  Hickam  was  elected  to  the  Territorial 
Senate,  from  the  Payne-Pawnee  district.  He  was  re- 
nominated for  the  Senate  in  1904  and  after  one  of  the 
bitterest  fights  ever  waged  against  any  candidate  in 
Oklahoma  by  the  old  Territorial  carpet-bag,  stand-pat 
bunch  of  Federal  officeholders,  his  majority  was  four 
times  what  it  was  in  1902.  A prominent  citizen  of  his 
own  county  said  a short  time  ago:  ‘Hickam  has  no 

enemies  in  this  county  except  those  he  has  made  in 
fighting  crooked  polities  and  machine  politicians,  and  we 
love  him  for  the  enemies  he  has  made.’ 

Hickam  is  in  tune  with  the  times.  He  has  kept  step 
with  the  rapid  march  of  human  progress.  He  believes 
that  political  platforms  are  made  for  fulfilment  instead 
of  to  eateh  votes.  In  that  way  he  is  distinguished  from 
scheming  politicians  who  are  brokers  in  offices.  He  be- 
lieves that  the  Progressive  party  must  remain  firm  to  its 
principles  and  hold  above  all  else  its  opportunity  for 
patriotic  service,  must  hold  itself  unfettered  for  the 
service  of  the  great  mass  of  the  people  who  are  looking 
to  it  for  all  that  is  best  and  fairest  and  greatest  in  the 
political  and  governmental  activities.  He  believes  that, 
politically,  evasion  and  indecision  are  at  an  end  and 
that  the  Progressive  party  has  made  its  choice.  The 
making  of  that  choice  was  no  slight  matter.  It  is  no 
child’s  play  to  defy  the  power  of  entrenched  party 
machines  drawn  by  the  lure  of  Federal  and  State  offices 
whose  victims  will  do  the  bidding  of  their  masters. 

Hickam  made  the  first  fight  ever  made  against  lobby- 
ists west  of  the  Mississippi  river.  In  his  speech  in  the 
senate  defying  the  lobbyists  he  said:  ‘Why  all  this 

delay,  Mr.  President,  over  the  important  legislation  now 
pending?  Bills  are  held  up  in  committees  until  it  is 
too  late  to  pass  matters  of  great  interest  to  the  people. 
The  fact  is  that  the  capital  since  the  first  day  we  met 
has  been  full  of  lobbyists — a set  of  grafters,  sir,  who 
have  tried  in  every  way  to  defeat  honest  legislation  in 
this  body.  These  parasites  have  flocked  about  this  cham- 
ber like  buzzards  over  a carcass.’  After  Hickam  had 
nade  this  fight  the  Kansas  City  Star,  in  reviewing  the 
conditions  around  the  Oklahoma  Legislature,  said : 
Several  members  of  the  lobby  lost  their  nerve  yesterday 
and  could  not  be  found  when  the  senate  sergeant-at- 
arms  went  after  them.  Some  are  thought  to  have  gone 
;o  Texas  and  others  to  Kansas.  Their  whereabouts  are 
unknown  and  requisitions  will  be  required  to  bring  them 
aack  if  they  can  be  located.’ 

“The  Stillwater  Advance,  in  speaking  of  Hickam ’s 
fight  at  that  time,  said:  ‘Hickam  stands  stalwart, 

olossal,  contending  for  the  rights  and  interests  of  the 
jreat  common  people — the  farmer,  the  small  cattle- 
aiser,  the  honest  business  man,  as  against  the  com- 


bined and  powerful  interests  of  the  great  cattle  kings, 
the  railroads,  the  oil  mills,  who  have  kept  the  cloak-rooms 
and  hotel  lobbies  filled  with  the  shrewdest  and  smartest 
men  available  to  defeat  good  legislation.  But  Hickam 
has  proved  equal  to  the  occasion  and  has  denounced  the 
lobbyists  in  unmeasured  terms.  He  has  earned  the 
eternal  gratitude  and  the  confidence  of  the  people  in 
the  splendid  and  able  fight  he  has  made  in  their  behalf 
and  for  their  interests.  Senator  Hickam  is  an  able  and 
strong  man  in  every  way.  His  fight  against  the  lobby- 
ists demonstrates  the  fact  that  he  is  unquestionably  the 
strongest  member  of  the  Senate.’ 

‘ ‘ At  the  close  of  Mr.  Hickam ’s  second  term  in  the 
Territorial  Senate  the  Stillwater  Gazette  had  this  to  say: 
‘Senator  Hickam  returns  to  his  constituency — the  people 
of  Payne  and  Pawnee  counties — with  a consciousness 
that  his  labors  fulfilled  the  promises  he  made  to  the 
people  in  his  last  campaign,  that  he  would  at  all  times 
care  for  their  interests  and  fight  the  corrupt  lobbyists, 
which  he  did  as  far  as  human  power  could  do.  He  never 
missed  a roll  call,  was  ready  to  throw  harpoon  into  all 
kinds  of  corrupt  legislation.  For  a fearless  legislator 
he  had  not  a peer  in  the  Senate,  and  he  comes  home  with 
a clean  page  and  can  frankly  say,  “I  did  all  I could  for 
the  interests  of  my  people  at  home  and  in  the  Territory 
at  large.” 

In  view  of  the  statements  quoted  above  it  may  well 
be  understood  that  Mr.  Hickam  was  recognized  as  the 
most  available  candidate  to  be  put  forth  by  the  progres- 
sive party  for  the  office  of  governor  of  Oklahoma,  and 
though  he  made  a characteristically  vigorous  and  effective 
campaign  and  made  a powerful  impression  upon  the 
people  of  all  sections  of  the  state,  he  encountered  the 
adverse  political  exigencies  that  compassed  his  defeat, 
though  this  defeat  was  not  lacking  in  the  better  elements 
of  victory. 

John  P.  Hickam  was  born  in  Madison  County,  North 
Carolina,  on  the  2d  of  December,  1870,  and  is  a son  of 
Robert  B.  and  Jane  (Plemmens)  Hickam,  both  of  whom 
were  born  in  the  year  1844,  the  father  having  been  a 
native  of  Virginia  and  the  mother  having  been  born  in 
North  Carolina,  where  their  marriage  was  solemnized. 
Robert  B.  Hickam  was  a youth  when  he  accompanied 
his  parents  on  their  removal  from  Virginia  to  North 
Carolina,  in  the  ’50s,  and  there  he  was  reared  to  man- 
hood. When  the  Civil  war  was  precipitated  on  the 
nation  Robert  B.  Hickam  enlisted  in  the  Second  North 
Carolina  Infantry,  in  the  Confederate  service,  and  with 
this  gallant  command  he  continued  in  service  during 
virtually  the  entire  period  of  the  war.  He  participated 
in  many  engagements,  including  a number  of  important 
battles,  and  made  a record  for  able  and  gallant  service. 
His  father,  Jacob  Hickam,  who  was  a native  of  Virginia 
and  who  attained  to  the  patriarchal  age  of  ninety-seven 
years,  was  an  old-line  whig  in  politics  and  was  vigorously 
opposed  to  the  secession  of  the  Southern  States,  so  that 
his  sympathies  were  with  the  Union  when  the  Civil  war 
became  imminent.  His  sons,  however,  were  loyal  to  the 
institutions  and  cause  of  the  South  and  tendered  their 
aid  in  defense  of  the  Confederacy,  though  John,  the 
elder  of  the  two  sons,  had  first  decided  to  enlist  in  the 
Union  army,  but  was  deflected  from  this  course  largely 
on  account  of  his  kinsmen  in  appreciable  number  having 
enlisted  in  the  Confederate  ranks.  Both  sons  served  until 
the  close  of  the  war,  and  upon  their  return  to  the  parental 
home  the  most  amicable  relations  again  obtained,  the 
venerable  father  offering  no  criticism  of  the  course  of 
his  sons  and  both  of  the  latter  having  remained  on  their 
respective  portions  of  the  old  homestead  estate  for 
nearly  a quarter  of  a century  after  the  war. 

In  1885,  when  the  subject  of  this  review  was  a lad 
of  eleven  years,  he  accompanied  his  parents  on  their 


2072 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


removal  from  North  Carolina  to  Sevier  County,  Tennes- 
see, and  there  his  father  passed  the  residue  of  his  long 
and  worthy  life,  his  active  career  having  been  one  of 
close  identification  with  the  basic  industry  of  agriculture 
and  his  death  having  occurred  on  his  homestead  farm  in 
Sevier  County  in  1914,  his  widow  still  remaining  with 
one  of  her  sons  on  the  old  home  place,  which  is  endeared 
to  her  by  the  memories  and  associations  of  many  years. 
Robert  B Ilickam  achieved  independence  and  definite 
prosperity  through  his  operations  as  a farmer  and  was 
a man  of  strong  mentality  and  inviolable  integrity,  lie 
having  held  the  office  of  deacon  in  the  Baptist  Church 
for  fifty-five  years  prior  to  liis  death,  and  his  widow 
likewise  having  been  for  many  years  a devoted  adherent 
of  the  same  religious  organization.  He  was  a stanch 
supporter  of  the  cause  of  the  republican  party,  but  never 
sought  or  held  political  office.  His  great-grandfather, 
Jacob  Hickam,  was  a native  of  Ireland  and  came  to 
America  in  the  colonial  days,  as  indicated  by  the  fact 
that  he  was  enrolled  as  a patriot  soldier  in  the  Con- 
tinental line  in  the  war  of  the  Revolution.  Richard 
Hickam,  grandfather  of  Robert  B.,  was  born  and  reared 
in  Virginia,  became  a prosperous  planter  in  that'  state 
and  attained  to  the  remarkable  age  of  one  hundred  and 
four  years.  The  father  of  Robert  B.  Hickam  was  a 
gallant  soldier  in  the  Mexican  war,  and  from  the  brief 
data  here  given  it  may  well  be  seen  that  the  history  of 
the  family  in  America  has  been  one  of  interesting  order, 
typifying  loyal  and  worthy  citizenship  as  one  generation 
has  followed  another  on  to  the  stage  of  life ’s  activities. 

John  P.  Hickam  was  the  fifth  in  order  of  birth  in  a 
family  of  eleven  children,  eight  of  whom  are  living,  and 
he  acquired  his  rudimentary  education  in  North  Carolina. 
As  previously  noted,  he  was  eleven  years  of  age  at  the 
time  of  the  family  removal  to  Sevier  County,  Tennessee, 
where  he  was  reared  to  maturity  under  the  invigorating 
discipline  of  the  home  farm  and  where  he  made  good 
use  of  the  advantages  afforded  in  the  public  schools,  as 
shown  by  the  fact  that  when  seventeen  years  of  age  he 
proved  himself  eligible  for  pedagogic  honors,  three  years 
having  been  given  by  him.  to  successful  work  as  a teacher 
in  the  schools  of  Tennessee.  Thereafter  he  completed  a. 
four  years’  course  in  Carson  & Newman  College,  at 
Jefferson  City,  that  state.  He  simultaneously  gave  care- 
ful attention  to  the  study  of  law,  under  effective  pre- 
ceptorship,  and  in  the  spring  of  1896  he  was  admitted  to 
the  Tennessee  bar.  In  the  following  autumn  he  came  to 
Oklahoma  Territory,  and  he  remained  in  Oklahoma  City 
until  the  spring  of  1897,  when  he  established  his  perma- 
nent residence  in  Payne  County.  During  the  first  four 
years  he  maintained  his  home  in  the  Village  of  Perkins, 
where  he  was  a teacher  in  the  public  schools,  besides 
serving  as  assistant  editor  of  the  Perkins  Journal,  which 
had  been  established  in  1889.  Upon  leaving  Perkins 
he  removed  to  Stillwater,  the  county  seat,  where  he  has 
since  been  engaged  in  the  successful  practice  of  his 
profession  and  where  he  has  gained  definite  priority  as 
one  of  the  leading  members  of  the  bar  of  this  section 
of  the  state.  He  served  two  terms  as  a member  of  the 
Territorial  Senate,  as  noted  in  preceding  paragraphs,  and 
was  elected  on  the  republican  ticket.  During  the  entire 
period  of  his  residence  in  Oklahoma  Mr.  Hickam  has 
shown  a lively  interest  in  political  affairs  and  he  con- 
tinued a prominent  representative  of  the  republican  party 
in  Payne  County  until  the  organization  of  the  progressive 
party,  in  1912,  when  he  transferred  his  allegiance  to  the 
same  and  became  one  of  its  most  influential  exponents  in 
Oklahoma,  as  shown  by  the  fact  that  he  became  its  can- 
didate for  representative  of  his  district  in  the  United 
States  Congress  in  the  national  election  of  1912,  and 
in  1914  was  the  progressive  candidate  for  governor  of 


the  state,  adequate  mention  having  already  been  made 
of  his  political  activities. 

In  a fraternal  way  Mr.  Hickam  is  a Master  Mason,  |i 
and  both  he  and  his  wife  are  zealous  members  of  the 
Baptist  Church  in  their  home  city. 

In  1899  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Hickam  | 
to  Miss  Plavilla  Duck,  who  was  born  in  Iowa  and  who 
was  a child  at  the  time  of  her  parents  ’ removal  to  Payne 
County,  Oklahoma,  where  she  was  reared  to  maturity  s 
and  was  afforded  the  advantages  of  the  Oklahoma  Agri-  1 
cultural  & Mechanical  College  at  Stillwater.  She  was  J 
thereafter  a popular  teacher  in  the  schools  of  Payne 
County  until  the  time  of  her  marriage.  Her  father,  - 
John  W.  Duck,  was  a gallant  soldier  of  the  Union  in  the 
Civil  war,  in  which  he  served  as  a member  of  an  Iowa 
regiment.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hickam  have  three  children — ■ i 
Elmer,  Horace  and  Eunice. 

Wesley  M.  Dial.  Probably  the  most  influential  white  1 
man  in  the  Osage  country  is  Wesley  M.  Dial,  owner  and  i j 
proprietor  of  the  beautiful  Mount  Dial  homestead  north  t 
of  Pawhuska.  His  father  was  an  Oklahoma  eighty- 
niner,  and  that  brought  Mr.  Dial  into  contact  with  i 
Oklahoma  affairs  when  he  was  still  a boy.  Something: 
over  twenty  years  ago  he  was  a plain  cowboy  in  the1 
Chickasaw  Nation,  and  one  of  the  early  achievements  j 
which  is  mentioned  to  his  credit  was  establishing  a 
townsite  and  postoffice  out  in  Payne  County.  His  mar-’ 
riage  about  twenty  years  ago  with  an  Osage  woman# 
brought  him  into  tribal  relations  with  that  people,  and 
it  is  said  that  he  has  enjoyed  more  of  the  confidence  and! 
distinctions  of  tribal  honors  and  responsibilities  than: 
any  other  white  man.  For  years  he  was  employed  as  one- 
of  the  principal  agents  in  handling  the  vast  wealth  of  i 
the  Osage  tribes  in  the  negotiations  between  the  peoplei 
and  the  General  Government  at  Washington,  and  there- 
has  never  been  one  of  his  acts  which  could  be  properlyfl 
construed  as  reflecting  upon  his  absolute  integrity  and|| 
honesty  in  all  the  aggregate  of  his  relations  as  an  inter-iH 
mediary  between  his  people  and  the  controlling  Govern-IJ 
ment. 

The  career  of  this  most  interesting  citizen  of  Okla-jl 
homa  began  at  Jasper,  Newton  County,  Arkansas,  Augustij 
14,  1871,  when  he  was  born  to  Samuel  and  Susarjl 
(Stallion)  Dial.  His  father  was  born  in  Maysvillejl 
Kentucky,  September  13,  1834,  and  his  mother  was  borrjl 
near  Nashville,  Tennessee,  November  22,  1843.  Both  hiiijl 
father  and  mother  had  been  previously  married,  an  ell 
she  had  two  sons  and  he  had  one  son  by  their  previousll 
unions.  The  two  sons  of  his  mother  were:  Witt  aneijj 

John  Penn,  while  his  father’s  first  son  was  Edward  Dial 
who  died  in  1879.  By  their  second  union  the  parent 
had  four  sons  and  three  daughters:  Emma,  now  de 

ceased;  Clemmie  Kirk,  of  Ripley,  Oklahoma;  Wesley  M. 
Clayton,  deceased;  Samuel  R.,  who  lives  in  California# 
Arthur,  of  Foraker,  Osage  County;  Mattie,  wife  o 
Jacob  Martin  of  Yale,  Oklahoma.  The  mother  of  thes 
children  died  in  Yellville,  Arkansas,  in  1907,  and  thi 
father  now  resides  with  his  son  Wesley  at  Pawhuska. 

Mr.  Dial  spent  the  first  ten  years  of  his  life  at  Han 
rison,  Arkansas,  and  his  father,  who  was  a farmer  anf 
stock  man,  then  removed  to  Taney  County,  Missouri.  I 
1889  the  family  came  into  Oklahoma  at  the  originsj 
opening,  and  secured  a claim  at  Clayton  in  Payn 
County.  Wesley  M.  Dial  was  then  eighteen  years  c 
age.  His  regular  schooling  aggregated  only  four  month 
in  different  district  schools,  and  he  has  gained  hi 
education  by  self  study  and  by  practical  experience  will 
men  and  affairs.  At  the  age  of  twenty-one  he  went  1 
the  vicinity  of  Denison,  Texas,  and  was  employed  as  i 
farm  hand.  In  the  spring  of  1891  he  went  into  tl1 


31  STORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2073 


■western  part  of  the  Chickasaw  Nation  near  Minco,  and 
was  soon  riding  herd  as  a cow  puncher. 

His  first  real  experience  as  an  Oklahoma  City  citizen 
came  in  September,  1893,  at  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee 
Strip,  when  he  secured  a farm  near  Glencoe  in  Payne 
County,  and  established  a postoffice  and  store  named 
West  Point.  In  1895  he  sold  out  and  removed  to 
Northwestern  Kansas  and  for  a time  was  engaged  in 
the  hay  business.  Again  coming  into  what  is  now  the 
State  of  Oklahoma,  he  was  married  on  September  7, 
1897,  in  Osage  County,  to  Eliza  Penn,  a widow  with 
four  children.  These  children  are:  Dora,  wife  of  Sid 

Dalie  of  Osage  County;  Augustus  M.  of  Arkansas  City, 
Kansas;  Rosa  E.,  who  lives  with  Mr.  Dial;  and  Kobert 
E.,  who  died  in  1901. 

Mrs.  Dial  has  tribal  rights  in  the  Osage  country, 
and  since  his  marriage  Mr.  Dial  has  always  _ had  his 
home  in  the  vicinity  of  Pawhuska.  He  and  his  family 
have  eighty  acres  adjoining  the  corporation  limits  on 
the  north  and  another  eighty  acres  on  the  east..  His 
home,  known  throughout  the  county  as  Mount  Dial,  is 
located  on  the  eighty  acres  north  of  the  city.  Mount 
Dial  is  situated  on  an  elevation  which  is  1,000  feet  above 
sea  level  and  185  feet  above  the  grade  of  Main  Street, 
and  from  the  Dial  home  is  secured  one  of  the  finest 
views  of  surrounding  country  to  be  found  anywhere  in 
the  state.  On  the  south  is  the  City  of  Pawhuska,  and 
on  all  other  sides  for  a distance  of  seven  miles  or  more 
the  eye  sweeps  over  a panorama  of  hills  and  valleys 
comprising  a landscape  such  as  is  unusual  even  in  North- 
eastern Oklahoma.  Mr.  Dial  and  his  family  control  in 
the  aggregate  about  6,000  acres  of  land  in  Osage  County. 
Since  these  lands  were  allotted  in  severalty,  Mr.  Dial  has 
spent  about  $35,000  in  improvements.  One  of  the  finest 
farms  in  Northeastern  Oklahoma  is  1,000  acres  under  the 
Dial  ownership,  cultivated  to  the  full  extent  of  its  fertile 
soil,  and  situated  near  Eoraker. 

For  a number  of  years  Mr.  Dial  has  been  in  the  land 
business  at  Pawhuska  and  has  long  been  considered  an 
expert  authority  on  land  values.  He  is  the  first  and 
only  white  man  who  has  ever  been  elected  by  the  tribal 
meeting  of  Osage  citizens  as  an  official  representative 
to  handle  tribal  matters  relating  to  the  oil  and  gas 
interests.  Every  one  in  Oklahoma  and  a great  many 
people  outside  the  state  know  how  vastly  important  and 
valuable  these  interests  are.  Mr.  Dial  represented  the 
tribal  interests  in  that  capacity  several  months  and 
drew  up  a report  which  was  submitted  to  the  tribal 
council,  and  which  in  turn  the  council  forwarded  to 
the  Secretary  of  the  Interior  at  Washington.  That 
Teport  was  the  basis  for  the  subsequent  negotiations 
which  have  brought  about  the  disposal  of  the  oil  and 
gas  interests  in  the  Osage  territory.  In  1905  Mr.  Dial 
was  also  a delegate  from  the  Osage  people  to  Washing- 
ton to  defend  claims  being  prosecuted  against  the  Osage 
tribe  to  the  sum  of  $230,000  by  the  heirs  of  Van  and 
Adair,  and  he  appeared  in  both  the  House  and  the 
Senate  committees  of  Congress  and  largely  through  his 
arguments  and  effective  testimony  brought  about  the  de- 
feat of  the  claims.  No  other  citizen  with  intermarried 
rights  in  the  tribe  has  figured  so  conspicuously  in  tribal 
affairs.  He  also  assisted  in  defending  the  Glenn  oil 
lease  before  committees  of  Congress,  and  for  the  past 
fifteen  years  has  made  from  one  to  two  trips,  to  Wash- 
ington annually,  appearing  before  the  various  com- 
mittees of  Congress  on  department  matters.  At  the 
present  time  Mr.  Dial  is  the  business  representative  for 
the  IJncle  Sam  Oil  Company  in  Osage  County,  and  this 
is  one  of  the  most  responsible  and  most  profitable  busi- 
ness positions  in  the  state. 

In  politics  Mr.  Dial  is  a republican,  and  has  helped  to 
make  some  interesting  political  history  in  Oklahoma. 


Under  the  Enabling  Act  of  Congress  providing  for  state- 
hood he  was  appointed  an  election  commissioner  of 
Osage  County.  He  established  the  voting  places,  ap- 
pointed the  election  judges  and  clerks,  canvassed  the 
returns,  and  with  that  sturdy  regard  for  public  opinion 
which  is  characteristic  of  the  man,  when  the  returns 
showed  a democratic  majority,  issued  his  proclamation  of 
the  result  with  a judicial  impartiality  .which  was  in 
entire  consonance  with  every  other  transaction  by  which 
he  has  been  known  to  the  people  of  the  state.  For  sev- 
eral years  he  was  a member  of  the  State  Republican 
Committee,  and  was  president  of  the  Oklahoma  State 
Organization  of  Republican  Clubs  in  1908. 

In  Masonry  Mr.  Dial  has  taken  thirty-two  degrees  in 
the  Scottish  Rite  and  has  also  taken  the  various  de- 
grees in  the  York  Rite,  and  is  a member  of  the  Nobles 
of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Benev- 
olent and  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  By  his  marriage  to 
Mrs.  Penn  he  has  three  children:  Cora  E.,  Eva  and 

Charles  P.  The  two  daughters  are  now  students  in  the 
Loretto  Academy  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri. 

Probably  no  man  in  Northeastern  Oklahoma  has  han- 
dled larger  financial  sums  and  more  important  business 
transactions  than  Mr.  Dial.  He.  was  chiefly  instrumental 
in  securing  a lease  through  the  Osage  Council  for  230,000 
acres  of  oil  and  gas  lands.  It  should  also  be  noted  as  a 
matter  of  history  that  he  was  one  of  the  ten  men  who 
were  tried  in  the  Federal  courts  of  Oklahoma  City  dur- 
ing the  months  of  May  and  June,  1914,  for  conspiracy 
in  an  alleged  attempt  to  defraud  the  Government  in 
matters  connected  with  the  Osage  oil  and  gas  lands. 
While  the  trial  and  the  argument  of  the  case  required 
many  weeks,  it  required  the  jury  only  ten  minutes  to  give 
him  a complete  acquittal  and  exoneration  from  all  the 
charges  of  the  indictment. 

Henry  C.  Chapman.  A veteran  of  the  newspaper 
profession,  and  proprietor  and  editor  of  the  Okeene 
Eagle,  which  he  founded  more  than  twenty  years  ago, 
Henry  C.  Chapman  has  lived  a life  of  intensive  activity 
and  experience  for  more  than  half  a century.  He  was 
a soldier  in  the  Civil  war  on  the  Union  side,  gained 
admittance  to  the  bar  about  the  close  of  the  war,  spent 
many  years  with  the  metropolitan  press  in  New  York 
and  other  cities  in  the  East,  and  for  the  last  thirty-five 
years  has  lived  in  the  western  states  and  has  been  chiefly 
identified  with  the  management  and  editorial  direction 
of  various  newspapers. 

The  family  to  which  he  belongs  came  from  England 
to  Holyoke,  Massachusetts,  during  Colonial  times.  His 
father,  John  S.  Chapman,  was  born  in  Holyoke,  Massa- 
chusetts, in  1812,  started  West  as  a youth  and  found 
a location  in  northern  Indiana  in  LaPorte  County,  where 
he  was  a pioneer  farmer,  one  who  cleared  out  a portion 
of  the  wilderness  and  developed  it  for  purposes  of  culti- 
vation, and  exercised  his  business  ability  in  the  buying 
and  selling  of  extensive  farm  lands  in  that  region.  He 
died  in  LaPorte  County  in  1847.  He  was  married  there 
to  Lucinda  Atkins,  who  was  born  in  Washington  County, 
New  York,  in  1814,  and  died  in  LaPorte  County  in 
August,  1844.  Henry  C.  Chapman  was  the  older  of  their 
two  children.  His  brother  Francis  M.,  who  died  in 
LaPorte  County  in  1881,  built  up  an  extensive  business 
in  the  buying  of  scrap  metal. 

Born  in  LaPorte  County,  Indiana,  September  6,  1842, 
H.  C.  Chapman  knew  little  of  his  parents,  since  his 
mother  died  when  he  was  two  years  old  and  his  father 
when  he  was  five.  He  was  also  reared  in  a pioneer  dis- 
trict and  among  pioneer  surroundings.  He  attended 
country  schools  in  LaPorte  County,  but  most  of  his  edu- 
cation came  from  hard  study  directed  only  by  his  strong 


2074 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


intellectual  curiosity  and  ambition  to  amount  to  some- 
thing in  the  world.  Many  nights  he  lay  before  the  open 
fireplace  in  northern  Indiana  and  studied  every  good 
book  he  could  get  his  hands  upon.  By  diligent  applica- 
tion he  acquired  a practical  education,  and  at  the  age  of 
seventeen  emerged  from  a farm  in  the  woods  and  spent 
one  term  in  a village  school  at  Laporte.  Following 
that*  he  was  a farmer  and  taught  school  for  two  terms, 
but  in  1862  answered  the  call  of  patriotism  by  enlisting 
in  the  Twenty-First  Battery  of  Indiana  Light  Artillery. 
His  service  continued  for  nine  months,  and  in  the  several 
engagements  in  which  he  participated  he  received  severe 
injuries  to  shoulder  and  elbow  and  was  mustered  out  and 
given  an  honorable  discharge. 

After  returning  from  the  war  he  continued  teaching 
and  reading  law  in  Indiana,  and  in  the  law  department 
of  the  University  of  Michigan  gained  his  degree  LL.  B. 
with  the  class  of  1865.  He  remained  in  Indiana  until 
1868  and  then  identified  himself  with  the  trade  of  news- 
paper man,  which  practically  ever  since  has  been  his 
real  career. 

Going  to  New  York  City  in  1872,  he  did  reportorial 
work  with  practically  all  the  great  papers  of  the  metropo- 
lis. He  was  under  Horace  Greeley  on  the  Tribune,  was 
also  for  a time  in  Orange  County,  New  York,  and  re- 
ported for  the  New  York  Herald,  the  Times  and  the  Sun, 
and  was  at  one  time  a member  of  the  staff  working  under 
the  direction  of  the  firm  of  Raymond  & Bennett.  After 
about  eight  years  of  metropolitan  experience,  he  removed 
to  Iowa  in  1880,  and  in  that  state  combined  newspaper 
work  and  school  teaching  until  1890.  From  there  he  went 
to  Nebraska,  later  to  Kansas,  and  in  Logan  County  of 
the  latter  state  served  as  probate  judge  for  four  years, 
three  months. 

Mr.  Chapman ’s  identification  with  Oklahoma  began 
in  April,  1894,  and  in  September  of  the  same  year  he 
located  at  Okeene,  where  he  was  one  of  the  pioneers. 
He  started  the  Okeene  Eagle,  the  first  issue  of  which 
was  on  September  26,  1894.  He  remained  in  active 
charge  of  this  newspaper  until  1902,  when  he  removed 
to  Muskogee  County,  and  was  connected  with  the  Council 
Hill  Times  and  also  edited  the  Boynton  Eagle.  Return- 
ing to  Okeene  in  1910,  he  bought  back  the  Okeene  Eagle, 
and  has  since  been  its  proprietor  and  editor.  The  Eagle 
reflects  the  essential  principles  of  the  republican  party 
for  which  Mr.  Chapman  has  always  stood,  and  it  has  a 
large  circulation  over  Blaine  and  surrounding  counties. 

Mr.  Chapman  is  a member  of  the  Oklahoma  State 
Press  Association,  and  is  affiliated  with  Excelsior  Lodge 
No.  191,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  back  in 
his  native  district  of  Laporte,  Indiana.  On  August  23, 
1865,  at  West  Brookville,  New  York,  Mr.  Chapman 
married  Miss  Augusta  Collard.  Her  father,  Henry  Col- 
lard,  was  a farmer  in  Sullivan  and  Orange  counties, 
New  York.  Mr.  Chapman’s  son,  Loran  H.,  is  a jeweler 
at  Okeene.  His  daughter,  Hattie  J.,  is  the  wife  of  Dr. 
J.  A.  Norris,  who  established  himself  in  1896  as  a 
pioneer  physician  at  Okeene,  but  is  now  retired  from 
active  practice  and  assists  Mr.  Chapman  in  publishing 
the  Okeene  Eagle. 

James  B.  Murphy,  M.  D.  Stillwater,  the  judicial 
center  of  Payne  County,  is  the  place  of  residence  of 
Doctor  Murphy,  who  is  consistently  to  be  designated  as 
one  of  the  leading  representatives  of  his  profession  in 
this  part  of  the  state,  his  high  attainments,  insistent 
loyalty  and  devotion  to  his  exacting  vocation,  and  his 
sterling  attributes  of  character  having  not  only  proved 
potent  in  the  furtherance  of  his  professional  success 
but  having  also  given  him  inviolable  place  in  popular 
confidence  and  esteem.  He  maintains  his  well  appointed 


offices  in  the  First  National  Bank  Building,  and  his 
definite  prestige  is  indicated  by  his  incumbency  of  the 
positions  here  noted : Local  surgeon  for  the  Atchison, 

Topeka  & Santa  Fe  Railroad;  county  superintendent  of 
public  health;  city  health  officer;  county  physician;  the 
vice  president  of  the  Atchison,  Topeka  & Santa  Fe  Hos- 
pital Association;  and  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the 
Payne  County  Medical  Society. 

At  New  Albany,  the  judicial  center  of  Floyd  County, 
Indiana,  a place  situated  on  the  Ohio  River  a few  miles 
below  the  City  of  Louisville,  Kentucky,  Dr.  James  B. 
Murphy  was  born  on  the  30th  of  November,  1856,  and 
he  is  a scion  of  one  of  the  honored  pioneer  families  of 
that  section  of  the  fine  old  Hoosier  commonwealth.  The 
doctor  is  a son  of  John  and  Serrilda  (Clipp)  Murphy, 
and  his  'father  was  born  at  Harper ’s  Ferry,  Virginia,  ill 
1815;  the  mother  of  the  doctor  was  born  in  Indiana 
in  1833. 

John  Murphy  was  reared  and  educated  in  his  native 
place,  which  eventually  became  a town  in  the  segregated 
State  of  West  Virginia,  and  as  a young  man  he  came 
to  Indiana,  where  he  continued  his  residence  in  Floyd 
County  until  his  death,  at  the  age  of  sixty-nine  years. 

For  many  years  he  followed  the  trade  of  carpenter,  but 
the  closing  period  of  his  active  life  was  passed  on  his 
farm,  he  having  been  one  of  the  prosperous  agriculturists 
of  Floyd  County  at  the  time  of  his  death.  Six  sons 
were  born  of  his  first  marriage — Hiram,  who  still  reside^ 
in  Indiana,  and  all  the  others  died  in  that  state.  Hiram 
was  a distinguished  soldier  of  the  Union  during  the 
entire  period  of  the  Civil  war,  in  which  he  rose  to  the 
office  of  adjutant  general  of  an  Indiana  regiment,  his 
enlistment  having  occurred  at  the  time  of  President 
Lincoln’s  first  call  for  volunteers.  Of  the  children  of 
the  second  marriage — four  sons  and  six  daughters — 
Doctor  Murphy  is  the  only  surviving  son,  and  four  of 
his  sisters  are  living,  one  being  a resident  of  Texas  and 
the  other  three  still  maintaining  their  residence  in 
Indiana. 

Doctor  Murphy  left  the  parental  home  when  he  was 
a lad  of  fourteen  years  and  through  his  own  exertions 
he  provided  the  means  for  gaining  his  higher  academic 
education  as  well  as  that  of  professional  order.  For 
eight  years  he  was  a successful  and  popular  teacher  in' 
the  public  schools  of  his  native  state,  and  in  consonance 
with  his  ambitious  purpose  he  was  finally  matriculated 
in  the  medical  department  of  the  University  of  Louisville, 
Kentucky,  in  which  he  was  graduated  as  a member  of 
the  class  of  1881  and  from  which  he  received  his  well  ill f, - , r 
earned  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine.  In  the  same  year  ™ 1 

was  solemnized  his  marriage  to  Miss  Anna  K.  Smith, 
likewise  a native  of  Indiana,  her  father,  George  W. 
Smith,  having  been  a well  known  citizen  of  Floyd  County. 

In  1882  Doctor  Murphy  came  to  the  West  and  established  IS” 
his  residence  at  Milan,  Sumner  County,  Kansas,  where™1  ™ 


he  continued  in  the  work  of  his  profession  until  1885, 


when  he  went  to  the  western  part  of  that  state,  but  in 


l!'t\ 


July  of  that  year,  1889,  he  came  to  Oklahoma,  about  three 


i 


months  after  the  territory  had  been  thrown  open  to  set- 


jltlieaj 


tlement,  and  established  his  residence  at  Stillwater,  wherel 


he  is  the  pioneer  physician  and  surgeon  of  Payne  County,  II  , 
and  where  he  has  long  controlled  an  extensive  andlj;l,j ' j 
representative  general  practice.  His  professional  labors# 


here  were  of  most  arduous  order  in  the  early  years,  whenlj^® 


he  was  called  upon  to  minister  to  families  throughout  all 
wide  section  of  sparsely  settled  country,  his  zeal  and  ! 1K  P 
unselfish  devotion  being  such  that  he  never  hesitated  tc 
go  forth  on  his  work  of  succor,  no  matter  what  mighl 
be  the  adverse  conditions  of  roads,  weather,  etc.,  or  the 
dangers  incidental  to  his  lonely  trips  by  night.  Thu: 
it  is  but  natural  that  he  hold  the  affectionate  esteem  o: 
the  many  families  to  whom  he  has  ministered  with  al 


tfep 
Jttofsi 
toll  by 

»e  hi 

®«sof 

Hi 

ti 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2075 


of  efficiency,  kindliness  and  unselfishness  during  the  years 
of  a signally  active  professional  career  in  the  now  vigor- 
ous young  state  of  his  adoption,  and  in  the  midst  of  the 
manifold  cares  and  exactions  of  his  large  practice  he  has 
found  time  and  opportunity  to  keep  abreast  of  the  ad- 
vances made  in  medical  and  surgical  science,  so  that 
he  well  merits  his  high  reputation  as  one  of  the  able  and 
representative  physicians  and  surgeons  of  Oklahoma. 

Doctor  Murphy  has  been  loyal  and  progressive  as  a 
citizen,  has  shown  a lively  interest  in  all  things  touching 
the  welfare  of  his  home  town  and  county,  and  has  not 
denied  his  service  in  public  offices  having  direct  relation 
to  his  profession.  He  served  as  coroner  of  Payne  County 
for  ten  years,  has  been  county  health  officer  since  1907, 
the  year  that  marked  the  admission  of  Oklahoma  to 
statehood;  and  he  has  been  city  health  officer  of  Still- 
water since  1911,  besides  which  he  has  in  a private  way 
done  all  in  his  power  to  conserve  sanitary  improvements 
and  to  maintain  the  best  possible  conditions  for  the 
preserving  of  public  health.  The  doctor  was  prominently 
concerned  in  the  organization  of  the  Payne  County  Medi- 
cal Society,  has  served  as  president  of  the  same  and  is 
at  the  present  time  its  secretary  and  treasurer.  He  is 
identified  also  with  the  Oklahoma  State  Medical  Society 
and  the  American  Medical  Association. 

Doctor  Murphy  and  his  wife  were  among  those  who 
“made  the  run”  at  the  opening  to  settlement  of  the 
now  historic  Cherokee  Strip,  and  through  their  lively 
action  on  this  occasion  they  fortified  themselves  for  per- 
manent residence  in  this  section  of  the  state,  though  their 
original  run  had  Pawnee  County  as  its  objective  point. 
In  early  days  the  doctor  served  as  a member  of  the  city 
council  of  Stillwater,  and  his  loyal  civic  activities  in- 
cluded also  effective  service  as  mayor  and  as  city  clerk. 
While  the  incumbent  of  the  office  of  county  coroner  he 
was  for  a short  time  acting  sheriff  of  the  county,  and 
he  served  as  first  assistant  postmaster  during  the  incum- 
bency of  Postmaster  Robert  A.  Lowry,  with  whom  he 
was  associated  also  in  conducting  the  first  drug  store  at 
Stillwater,  the  doctor  having  been  the  first  registered 
pharmacist  in  Payne  County  and  still  retaining  his  pre- 
rogatives along  this  line. 

Doctor  Murphy  is  a Knights  Templar  Mason,  holds 
membership  in  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of 
Elks,  and  has  been  actively  affiliated  with  the  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows  since  his  twenty-first 
birthday  anniversary.  He  aided  in  the  organization  of 
ithe  Oklahoma  Grand  Lodge  of  the  Independent  Order  of 
” ’Odd  Fellows,  and  later  was  honored  by  being  made  a life 
(member  of  the  same,  he  having  been  specially  active 
and  influential  in  the  affairs  of  this  fraternal  order. 

Doctor  and  Mrs.  Murphy  became  the  parents  of  three 
Ichildren — May,  who 'is  the  wife  of  George  B.  Gulder,  of 
Stillwater,  has  two  children,  George  B.,  Jr.,  and  Kath- 
erine;  Edward  Palmer  Murphy,  who  married  Miss  Edna 
“ Gilges,  is  identified  with  business  enterprises  at  Still - 
‘ water;  and  Nellie  Bly,  the  youngest  of  the  children,  died 
at  the  age  of  one  year. 

William  T.  Keys.  Eligibility  of  definite  order  and 
narked  personal  popularity  were  the  contributing  causes 
that  led  to  the  election  of  Mr.  Keys  to  the  office  of 
county  clerk  of  Payne  County,  and  he  assumed  the 
”l,f:  administration  of  the  multifarious  and  responsible  duties 
if  this  position  on  the  1st  of  January,  1915,  his  first 
rear  of  service  having  clearly  demonstrated  the  wisdom 
ihown  by  the  voters  of  the  county  in  selecting  him  as 
he  incumbent  of  one  of  the  most  important  executive 
ifficers  of  the  local  government. 

Mr.  Keys  was  born  in  the  City  of  Pittsburgh,  Penn- 
sylvania, on  the  2d  of  October,  1873,  and  is  a son  of 
I ugh  and  Lida  (West)  Keys,  both  likewise  natives  of 


the  old  Keystone  State,  where  the  mother  died  when  the 
subject  of  this  review  was  a child  of  three  years.  About 
the  year  1880  Hugh  Keys  removed  with  his  family  to 
Edgar  County,  Illinois,  where  he  continued  in  the  prac- 
tice of  his  profession,  that  of  dentist,  until  the  time  of 
his  death,  in  1889,  William  T.,  the  youngest  of  his 
children,  having  been  a lad  of  about  sixteen  years  when 
thus  doubly  orphaned.  All  of  the  six  children  were  sons 
and  of  the  number  the  subject  of  this  review,  the  young- 
est, is  now  the  only  survivor. 

Upon  the  removal  of  his  father  to  Illinois,  William 
T.  Keys,  because  of  the  death  of  his  mother,  was 
there  received  into  the  home  of  one  of  his  uncles,  with 
whom  he  remained  two  years.  He  was  then  sent  to  the 
home  of  another  uncle,  in  Linn  County,  Missouri,  where 
he  lived  under  these  conditions  until  he  had  attained  to 
the  age  of  thirteen  years,  when  he  became  dependent  upon 
his  own  resources.  In  the  meanwhile  he  had  duly  availed 
himself  of  the  advantages  of  the  public  schools  of  Illinois 
and  Missouri,  but  his  broader  education  has  been  that 
gained  under  the  direction,  of  that  wisest  of  all  head- 
masters, experience. 

Mr.  Keys  continued  his  residence  in  Missouri  until  the 
spring  of  1890,  when,  at  the  age  of  seventeen  years,  he 
came  to  the  new  Territory  of  Oklahoma,  which  was 
organized  in  that  year,  and  established  his  residence 
in  Payne  County.  Here  he  was  employed  by  the  month 
at  farm  work  until  1896,  when  he  wedded  Miss  Ella 
Grindstaff,  who  was  born  in  Missouri  and  whose  parents, 
Alexander  and  Elizabeth  (James)  Grindstaff,  came  to 
Oklahoma  in  1891  and  became  pioneer  settlers  of  Payne 
County,  where  they  passed  the  remainder  of  their  lives 
and  where  both  died  in  the  early  part  of  the  present 
decade.  After  his  marriage  Mr.  Keys  engaged  in  farm- 
ing in  an  independent  way,  near  the  Town  of  Cushing. 
He  rented  land  for  a period  of  about  six  years  and  then 
purchased  a tract  of  eighty  acres,  which  he  later  traded 
for  a farm  of  160  acres  four  miles  east  of  Stillwater. 
He  made  excellent  improvements  on  this  property  and 
developed  the  same  into  one  of  the  valuable  farms  of 
Payne  County.  He  still  owns  this  homestead,  where  he 
continued  his  residence  until  his  election  to  the  office  of 
county  clerk,  when  he  removed  with  his  family  to  Still- 
water, the  county  seat,  where  he  now  gives  his  entire 
time  and  attention  to  his  official  duties,  of  which  he  is 
giving  a most  efficient  and  acceptable  administration. 
Mr.  Keys  is  found  aligned  as  one  of  Payne  County’s 
stanch  and  active  supporters  of  the  cause  of  the  demo- 
cratic party,  and  he  has  been  influential  in  its  councils 
and  activities  in  this  county.  He  and  his  wife  are  held 
in  high  esteem  in  the  community  that  has  long  repre- 
sented their  home,  and  they  have  two  children — Ona  and 
Chester. 

N.  H.  High.  The  life  of  N.  H.  High,  ex-deputy  United 
States  marshal,  and  now  a farmer  of  Payne  County,  has 
been  one  in  which  he  has  passed  through  experiences  of 
a thrilling  character,  from  the  days  of  the  last  great 
buffalo  hunt  on  the  plains  to  the  more  recent  excitement 
of  the  opening  of  the  various  Indian  reservations.  It  has 
been  his  privilege  to  have  participated  personally  in 
bringing  civilization  to  Oklahoma,  and  his  energetic, 
courageous  and  faithful  service  as  a government  official 
during  the  early  days  had  its  part  in  changing  the  old 
spirit  of  lawlessness  into  a condition  in  which  the  in- 
dustries and  institutions  of  modern  life  have  thrived  and 
prospered. 

Mr.  High  was  born  at  Madison,  Wisconsin,  December 
17,  1855,  a son  of  James  H.  and  Margaret  Ann  (Stuart) 
High,  the  former  a native  of  Seneca  Flats,  Seneca  County, 
New  York,  and  the  latter  of  Cork,  Ireland.  The  mother 
was  two  years  of  age  when  brought  by  her  parents  to  the 


2076 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


United  States,  and  was  reared  in  New  York,  where  she 
was  married  to  George  R.  Ford,  with  whom  she  went 
to  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  and  later  to  Illinois.  In  that 
state  Mr.  Ford  died,  leaving  his  widow  with  four  sons. 
James  H.  High  was  a young  man  when  he  went  to  the 
West,  settling  in  Illinois,  where,  as  a contemporary  of 
Abraham  Lincoln,  he  was  a riverman  on  the  Mississippi. 
Later  he  engaged  in  railroading  in  that  state,  being  en- 
gaged in  construction  work,  and  while  thus  employed  met 
Mrs.  Ford  at  Davenport,  Iowa.  They  were  married  and 
subsequently  went  to  Wisconsin,  where  Mr.  High  engaged 
in  the  lumber  business,  and  in  1857  went  to  Michigan, 
where  both  parents  died,  the  father  at  Ovid  and  the 
mother  at  Grass  Lake.  They  were  the  parents  of  two 
sons : N.  H.  and  Hiram,  the  latter  of  whom  is  deceased. 

N.  H.  High  resided  in  Michigan  with  his  parents  until 
he  was  eleven  years  of  age,  at  which  time  he  joined  his 
grandfather,  Nathan  H.  High,  who  had  settled  on  a farm 
in  Montgomery  County,  Kansas,  and  who  later  died  in 
Michigan.  Mr.  High  remained  with  his  grandfather  for 
eight  years,  teaching  school  during  the  winter  terms  and 
working  as  a farmer  during  the  summer  months,  but  in 
1881  went  to  Michigan,  where  he  was  married  on  October 
17th  of  that  year  to  Miss  Alice  Perkins,  who  was  born  at 
Ovid,  Michigan,  October  26,  1864,  a daughter  of  Josiah 
and  Eunice  (Tower)  Perkins.  Mr.  Perkins,  a native  of 
New  York,  died  in  Oklahoma,  while  Mrs.  Perkins,  a 
native  of  Michigan,  passed  away  in  New  Mexico.  After 
his  marriage  Mr.  High  went  to  New  Mexico,  where  he 
entered  upon  a railroad  career  that  covered  a period  of 
fourteen  years,  the  greater  part  of  this  time  having 
been  passed  in  construction  work.  He  had  had  previous 
experience  in  the  West,  when,  in  the  winter  of  1872-3, 
he  joined  a party  of  fourteen  hunters  and  went  to 
Western  Kansas  and  Colorado,  participating  in  the  last 
great  hunt  that  practically  exterminated  the  great 
American  bison.  During  this  trip  the  men  traveled  and 
slept  in  covered  wagons  and  grazed  their  horses,  the 
accepted  method  of  living  on  the  plains.  It  was  about 
this  time  also,  that  Mr.  High  saw  the  great  Indian  chief 
Geronimo,  who  was  then  on  the  warpath. 

After  about  four  years  in  New  Mexico,  during  which 
time  he  had  charge  of  the  construction  material  for 
the  work  on  the  Santa  Fe,  Mr.  High  returned  to  Kan- 
sas and  engaged  in  farming  for  a short  time.  He 
later  went  back  to  New  Mexico,  however,  and  remained 
there  until  the  opening  of  the  Sac  and  Fox  Indian  reser- 
vation, when  he  was  appointed  a United  States  deputy 
marshal  and  as  such  came  to  Oklahoma.  At  the  same 
time,  in  company  with  Fred  Curtley,  he  established  a 
store  on  Euchre  Creek,  under  the  name  of  Curtley  & 
Company,  and  engaged  in  this  business  for  six  years. 
Later  he  was  for  eight  years  a merchant  at  Cushing. 
During  the  time  Mr.  High  was  in  the  Government  serv- 
ice, he  was  present  at  the  opening  of  the  Kickapoo, 
Cheyenne  and  Arapaho  country,  and  at  one  time  was 
the  only  deputy  marshal  allowed  therein.  At  the  open- 
ing here  he  had  the  north  one-half  of  the  reservation 
and  his  service  was  crowded  with  thrilling  experiences  in 
which  his  courage  was  tested  to  the  utmost  and  not  found 
wanting.  When  he  came  he  had  secured  a claim  and 
obtained  a deed  to  a tract  on  Big  Creek,  six  miles  west  of 
Cushing,  but  disposed  of  his  interest  therein.  For  one 
and  one-half  years  Mr.  High  was  also  engaged  in  the 
transfer  business  with  his  son-in-law,  but  since  selling 
his  share  therein  has  devoted  his  energies  to  the  culti- 
vation of  his  forty-acre  farm  which  adjoins  the  corpora- 
tion on  the  northwest.  At  the  time  he  sold  his  claim  on 
Big  Creek,  Mr.  High  went  to  Guthrie,  where  he  spent 
six  years,  and  during  that  time  was  a member  of  the 
police  department  and  also  contracted  for  excavation 
work.  He  is  a republican  in  political  matters  and  has 


served  as  a delegate  to  numerous  conventions.  Fra- 
ternally he  is  connected  with  the  Masons,  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  and 
is  the  oldest  member  in  point  of  membership  in  Oklahoma 
of  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  High  have  been  the  parents  of  eight  chil- 
dren, as  follows:  James  L.,  born  in  New  Mexico,  now  a 
successful  merchant  of  Cushing:  LeKoy  Marion,  born 
in  Kansas,  a merchant  at  Stroud,  Oklahoma;  Alie  Lew, 
born  in  New  Mexico;  Ena  Belle,  born  in  Kansas,  who 
died  at  the  age  of  nineteen  years;  Jessie  May,  born  in 
Oklahoma,  who  died  at  the  age  of  nineteen  months; 
Charles  Leslie,  born  in  Oklahoma,  who  resides  with  his 
parents  at  Cushing;  Fred  Lloyd,  born  in  Oklahoma,  who- 
died  in  infancy;  and  Margaret  Ann,  born  in  Oklahoma,, 
who  lives  at  home. 


William  J.  Brockman.  A representative  of  the  class 
of  men  who  are  maintaining  the  high  standards  of  stock- 
raising  in  Payne  County  is  found  in  the  person  of 
William  J.  Brockman,  of  Yale,  who  has  been  a progres- 
sive and  energetic  breeder  of  stock  since  his  arrival 
here  in  1890.  During  his  quarter  of  a century  of  resi- 
dence here  he  has  seen  the  marvelous  development  of  the 
community  and  the  replacing  of  pioneer  conditions  by 
civilization.  Mr.  Brockman  is  an  Illinoisan  by  nativity, 
and  was  born  at  Hillsboro,  Montgomery  County,  August 
25,  1849,  a son  of  Samuel  and  Charlotta  (Brown)  J 
Brockman. 

The  parents  of  Mr.  Brockman  were  born  in  Adair 
County,  Kentucky,  and  there  married,  and  migrated  to 
Illinois  in  early  days  with  the  eldest  of  their  children, 
a baby  boy,  John,  who  died  in  the  winter  of  1914  at  the 
age  of  eighty-six  years.  The  parents  settled  in  Mont- 
gomery County  and  there  passed  the  remainder  of  their 
lives  on  a farm,  the  mother  dying  in  1861  at  the  age  of 
sixty-five  years,  and  the  father  surviving  until  1885,  ,i 
when  he  passed  away  at  the  age  of  eighty-five  years.  1 
They  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children:  John, 
Walter,  Boone,  Hiram  and  Mrs.  Betsy  Armstrong,  all 
of  whom  are  deceased;  Mrs.  Artemesia  Joice,  who  i 
lives  on  the  old  homestead  place  in  Montgomery  County,' , 
Illinois;  and  William  J.  The  parents  of  these  children  i 
were  honest,  God-fearing  people,  who  worked  indus- 
triously to  make  a home  and  who  reared  their  children  to 
lives  of  integrity  and  useful  endeavor. 

William  J.  Brockman  was  brought  up  amid  pioneer 
surroundings  and  practically  his  entire  career  has  been 
passed  in  advance  of  the  rush  of  civilization.  His  boy- 
hood was  filled  with  the  hard  work  of  cultivating  a 
prairie  farm  and  reclaiming  the  land  from  the  wilder- 
ness, but  it  was  the  type  of  existence  that  builds  sturdy 
bodies  and  inures  their  owners  to  conditions  which  may 
be  found  anywhere  on  the  frontier.  He  well  remembers 
seeing  deer  in  large  numbers  around  his  Illinois  homej 
while  the  wild  geese  and  ducks  were  so  numerous  that 
it  was  necessary  to  keep  a constant  lookout  for  them  to 
prevent  them  from  destroying  the  growing  grain  in  the 
fields.  Mr.  Brockman’s  education  came  from  the  district 
schools  of  his  home  vicinity,  where  he  resided  and  en 
gaged  in  farming  until  the  death  of  his  father,  in  1885 
in  which  year  he  went  West  to  Lane  County,  Kansas,  anc 
took  up  a claim.  While  there  he  followed  the  pursuitsl 
of  stock-raising  and  farming,  and  also  found  time  for 
public  service,  acting  as  turnkey  and  deputy  sheriff] 
positions  which  he  had  held  in  Illinois,  for  eight  years 
and  finally  being  elected  sheriff  of  Lane  County  for  tw< 
terms,  being  the  only  democrat  elected  to  county  offie 
there  up  to  that  time.  In  1890  he  disposed  of  hi 
Kansas  holdings  and  came  to  Indian  Territory,  locatinj 
first  at  Stillwater  and  subsequently  buying  a farm  i; 
Payne  County,  where  he  has  since  continued  to  be  intei 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2077 


ested  extensively  in  the  stock  business,  now  leasing 
1,000  acres  of  land.  On  September  16,  1893,  when  the 
Cherokee  Strip  was  opened  for  white  settlement  he  made 
the  race  for  land  and  secured  a valuable  piece  of  prop- 
erty at  Pawnee,  which  he  still  owns.  He  also  made  the 
run  at  the  opening  of  the  Cheyenne  and  Arapaho  coun- 
try and  the  Sac  and  Pox  reservation,  but  not  with  an 
equal  measure  of  success.  In  the  Indian  Territory 
Mr.  Brockman’s  former  experience,  gained  in  Illinois 
and  Kansas,  stood  him  in  good  stead  and  he  was  able 
to  compete  with  conditions  in  a much  more  successful 
way  than  could  many  who  had  not  had  his  advantages. 
He  was  a witness  to  much  of  the  lawlessness  which 
swept  over  this  part  of  the  country,  was  personally 
acquainted  with  several  of  the  bad  men  of  his  district, 
and  was  an  eye-witness  to  the  shooting  of  three  United 
States  marshals  at  Ingalls.  At  one  time  he  made  the 
race  for  sheriff  of  Payne  County,  on  the  democratic 
ticket,  but  although  he  ran  285  votes  ahead  of  his 
party,  met  with  defeat.  In  1902  Mr.  Brockman  came 
to  Yale,  which  at  that  time  was  a hamlet  with  but  one 
house.  He  has  contributed  to  the  upbuilding  of  this 
flourishing  community  by  the  erection  of  several  struc- 
tures, including  the  two  fine  business  places  which  he 
built  in  1915  to  replace  the  two,  valued  at  $10,000,  which 
he  lost  by  fire  in  April  of  that  year.  In  the  same  year 
he  erected  a handsome  residence  at  Yale.  He  is  a 
Master  Mason  and  a member  of  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Pellows,  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Wood- 
men*of  the  World.  As  a citizen  he  has  discharged  every 
obligation  which  has  devolved  upon  him,  and  in  com- 
mercial circles  his  reputation  is  that  of  a man  of  the 
strictest  integrity. 

On  February  25,  1873,  Mr.  Brockman  was  married  to 
Miss  Susan  C.  Blackburn,  who  was  born  in  Montgomery 
County,  Illinois,  October  22,  1847,  daughter  of  George 
Blackburn,  and  to  this  union  there  have  been  born  three 
children:  Arthur,  of  Eaton,  New  Mexico;  Oscar,  who  is 
employed  on  a ranch  in  Payne  County,  Oklahoma;  and 
Versa,  who  is  the  wife  of  S.  W.  Binnie,  a resident  of 
Kiowa,  Kansas. 

John  E.  Spurrier.  A special  distinction  that  belongs 
to  John  E.  Spurrier  of  Big  Heart,  Osage  County,  is  that 
he  is  one  of  the  native  sons  of  the  original  Oklahoma 
Territory,  being  one  of  the  few  men  now  active  in 
affairs  who  were  born  after  the  first  land  opening  in 
1889.  Mr.  Spurrier  has  had  an  active  and  successful 
business  career  in  various  localities  and  states  and  is 
now  engaged  in  handling  a large  ranch  at  Big  Heart. 
Mrs.  Spurrier,  his  wife,  is  a daughter  of  the  noted 
Chief  Bigheart,  of  the  Osage  tribe. 

The  birth  of  John  E.  Spurrier  occurred  on  a home- 
stead ten  miles  from  Oklahoma  City  June  30,  1891.  His 
parents  were  John  and  Louise  (James)  Spurrier.  His 
father  was  born  in  Virginia  July  27,  1857,  His  mother 
was  born  in  Millville,  Arkansas,  in  1870,  and  spent  the 
first  nineteen  years  of  her  life  in  her  native  state.  The 
father  resided  in  Virginia  until  the  age  of  fifteen,  then 
moved  to  Missouri,  and  for  a time  was  engaged  in 
teaching  school.  After  his  marriage  in  Arkansas  he 
went  west  to  Wyoming,  and  for  a number  of  years  was 
foreman  of  a lumber  company,  and  spent  all  his  active 
life  as  a lumberman,  cattle  man  and  farmer.  He  was 
one  of  the  original  settlers  in  Oklahoma  in  1889,  and 
for  about  seven  years  conducted  a large  ranch  as  a 
stock  farmer  near  Oklahoma  City.  He  and  his  wife  are 
still  living  in  Oklahoma  and  are  the  parents  of  three 
children : John  E. ; Smead,  who  is  proprietor  of  a 

garage  and  machine  shop  at  Millville,  Arkansas;  and 
3uy,  living  at  home. 

The  independent  career  of  John  E.  Spurrier  may  be 


said  to  have  begun  when  he  was  only  twelve  years  of 
age.  In  the  meantime  he  had  attended  the  local  schools 
in  Oklahoma  City  and  at  that  early  age  left  home  and 
assisted  Wess  Hilton  in  taking  a great  herd  of  some 
2,800  head  of  cattle  from  Wyoming  to  Buenos  Ayres  in 
South  America.  After  his  return  from  this  long  voyage 
he  was  employed  in  a garage  in  Denver,  Colorado,  and 
for  several  years  was  engaged  in  making  extended  trips 
in  automobiles.  For  two  years  he  was  a special  detective 
in  the  employ  of  the  Denver  & Eio  Grande  Eailroad 
and  for  two  years  after  coming  to  Pawhuska  was  in  the 
secret  service.  Since  his  marriage  he  has  been  engaged 
in  ranching  and  is  now  owner  of  640  acres  in  his  home 
place  and  has  several  hundred  acres  under  lease.  Mr. 
Spurrier  has  recently  completed  the  finest  ranch  home 
in  his  section  of  Osage  County,  it  being  located  on  his 
ranch  close  to  Big  Heart. 

In  December,  1914,  he  married  Sarah  L.  Bigheart, 
who  was  born  on  the  old  Big  Heart  homestead  in  Osage 
County  August  20,  1898.  Her  father,  the  late  Chief 
James  Bigheart  of  the  Osage  tribe,  died  in  1908  when 
about  eighty-seven  years  of  age.  All  his  life  had  been 
spent  among  the  Osage  tribe  and  he  was  one  of  its  most 
distinguished  members,  and  held  high  rank  not  only  as  a 
business  man  but  as  a wise  statesman  in  tribal  affairs. 
Prior  to  the  allotment  of  the  Indian  lands  he  had  several 
thousand  acres  under  fence,  and  at  the  allotment  received 
the  same  share  as  other  members  of  the  tribe.  For  many 
years  one  of  the  mos{  notable  ranches  in  Osage  County 
is  that  known  as  the  Big  Heart  Eanch,  and  the  Town 
of  Big  Heart  was  named  for  this  notable  Indian.  In  a 
business  way  he  was  identified  with  several  banks  in  his 
part  of  the  state  and  had  merchandise  store  interests. 
About  1885  Chief  Bigheart  married  Alice  Butler,  who 
was  born  in  the  Cherokee  Nation  and  was  a seven- 
eighths  Cherokee  in  blood.  She  is  now  living  on  the 
Big  Heart  homestead.  Chief  Bigheart  and  his  wife  had 
seven  children:  Mary,  wife  of  Thomas  Clendenning 

of  Broken  Arrow ; Louis,  deceased ; Eose  Lee,  wife  of 
Sherman  Deal  of  Pawhuska;  William,  deceased;  Jose- 
phine, deceased;  Mrs.  Spurrier;  and  Belle,  at  home  with 
her  mother.  By  a previous  marriage  Chief  Bigheart 
had  one  child,  Maggie  Oberlee,  now  deceased.  The  story 
of  Chief  Bigheart ’s  marriage  reveals  an  interesting 
Indian  romance.  Having  found  the  young  woman  of  his 
choice,  he  made  the  usual  arrangements  for  the  marriage 
with  the  girl’s  mother  and  in  the  marriage  settlement 
gave  a wagon,  a team,  an  old  cow  and  two  pigs.  How- 
ever, the  Cherokee  people  objected  to  his  taking  away 
the  Indian  maiden,  and  after  he  was  well  started  on 
his  way  with  his  bride  to  the  Osage  country  the  Cherokees 
assembled  and  started  after  the  runaways  with  guns  and 
determined  to  restore  the  bride  to  her  people.  Chief  Big- 
heart barely  succeeded  in  crossing  the  Osage  line  with 
his  wife  in  time  to  escape  his  pursuers.  Once  among  his 
own  people  he  was  safe,  since  the  Osages  were  as  ready 
to  defend  him  as  the  Cherokees  were  to  attack  him.  In 
contrast  with  this  experience  of  his  wife’s  parents,  Mr. 
Spurrier  took  his  bride  to  their  new  home  in  an  auto- 
mobile, over  roads  that  were  made  almost  impassable  by 
heavy  rains.  Their  interesting  romance  and  marriage 
occurred  while  Mr.  Spurrier  was  in  the  secret  service, 
stationed  at  Big  Heart,  and  engaged  in  driving  a car. 
There  he  met  the  little  Indian  princess,  Miss  Lillian 
Bigheart,  now  his  wife,  Mrs.  John  E.  Spurrier,  and 
then  their  romance  started.  As  several  months  had 
passed  they  decided  not  to  leave  each  other  as  long  as 
the  grass  grew  and  the  water  run,  and  then  they  began 
to  plan  their  long  journey  across  the  Osage  hills  and 
canyons  to  Pawnee  to  get  married.  They  had  planned 
this  trip  to  Pawnee  several  times  but  something  would 
prevail  until  finally  one  afternoon  in  December  they 
had  planned  to  start  for  Pawnee  their  third  time  and 


2078 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


about  5 p.  m.  they  were  off,  Mr.  Spurrier  running  his 
automobile  as  fast  as  the  roads  and  ear  would  permit. 
About  half  way  from  Big  Heart  to  Pawnee  it  began  rain- 
ing and  sleeting.  Everything  seemed  against  this  young 
couple,  but  in  their  hearts  they  were  determined  to 
reach  Pawnee  before  morning.  They  got  lost  off  of  the 
roads  and  as  all  of  the  ranchers  and  cowboys  had  retired 
it  was  difficult  to  arouse  them  at  that  late  hour  by 
holloing,  so  Mr.  Spurrier  used  his  .45  six-shooter  to 
warn  them  that  there  was  some  one  at  the  road  wanting 
them.  They  would  respond  immediately  to  the  reports 
of  his  .45  and  then  would  direct  him  the  road  to  Pawnee 
which  they  finally  reached  at  a late  hour  that  night. 
They  were  married  and  back  to  Big  Heart  at  5 p.  m. 
the  following  morning,  the  car  being  covered  with  ice 
and  snow.  The  little  Indian  bride  got  out  of  the  car 
to  go  to  one  of  her  friends,  where  she  was  to  spend  that 
night.  She  bid  her  squaw  man  (Mr.  Spurrier),  good 
night,  and  upon  arriving  at  a livery  stable,  where  Mr. 
Spurrier  kept  his  car  he  was  frozen  to  the  steering  wheel 
of  his  machine  and  had  to  have  the  assistance  of  the 
livery  stable  man  to  help  him  from  his  car,  and  it  was 
three  weeks  before  he  could  hardly  use  his  hands  and 
feet,  but  he  is  now  enjoying  the  life  of  a squaw  man 
and  rancher  on  their  magnificent  estate  near  Big  Heart, 
Oklahoma.  A daughter,  Alice  Floreine,  was  born  to 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Spurrier  on  the  8th  of  September,  1915. 

Henry  C.  Dale.  A recent  addition  to  the  citizenship 
of  Yale,  Oklahoma,  Henry  C.  Dale  was  formerly  for 
many  years  a resident  of  Kansas,  where  he  was  well 
known  in  public  and  business  affairs.  He  was  born  in 
Jasper  County,  Missouri,  April  6,  1848,  and  is  a son 
of  Robert  J.  and  Olive  (Cox)  Dale.  The  Dale  family  in 
America  traces  its  ancestry  back  to  Sir  Thomas  Dale, 
the  first  governor  of  Virginia. 

The  great-grandfather  of  Henry  C.  Dale,  Rev.  George 
Dale,  was  a Missionary  Baptist  preacher  who  passed  his 
entire  life  in  Virginia,  and  who  is  remembered  chiefly  for 
his  large  physique,  he  weighing  in  the  neighborhood  of 
400  pounds.  His  son,  Elijah  Dale,  was  born  in  1794,  in 
Virginia,  and  as  a young  man  fought  in  the  American 
army  during  the  War  of  1812-14.  He  was  captured  by 
the  Indians  at  the  battle  of  Tippecanoe,  November  7, 
1811,  but  after  being  made  to  run  the  gauntlet  was 
exchanged  for  two  blankets  and  four  pounds  of  beads. 
Subsequently  he  moved  to  Kentucky,  and  was  there  mar- 
ried to  Frances  Shelton,  with  whom  he  moved  to  Boone 
County,  Missouri,  and  later  to  Moniteau  County  in  that 
state,  where  he  died  at  the  age  of  seventy-four  years, 
Mrs.  Dale  surviving  him  for  some  time  and  passing  away 
in  Jasper  County,  aged  eighty-eight  years.  They  were 
the  parents  of  the  following  children:  Alfred,  Robert  J., 
.Tames  M.,  Plieldin,  Meadley,  Mrs.  Malinda  Griffith, 
Mrs.  Mary  Sunday  and  Mrs.  Rebecca  Martin. 

Robert  J.  Dale,  father  of  Henry  C.  Dale,  was  born  in 
Kentucky  in  1820,  and  in  1838  located  with  his  parents 
in  Jasper  County,  Missouri,  where  he  was  married  to 
Oliver  Cox,  who  was  born  in  1822  in  Tennessee  and 
had  come  to  Missouri  about  the  same  time  as  her  hus- 
band. With  the  exception  of  seven  years,  from  1863 
until  1870,  when  they  lived  in  Moniteau  County,  they 
passed  the  remaining  years  of  their  lives  in  Jasper 
County,  and  both  died  at  Carthage,  the  father  when 
ninety  years  of  age  and  the  mother  aged  about  eighty. 
He  was  a farmer,  trader  and  stock  dealer,  was  clerk  in 
the  Baptist  Church  for  many  years,  and  in  politics  was 
a stanch  democrat.  They  were  the  parents  of  two  sons 
and  five  daughters:  George  F.,  of  Moniteau  County, 
Missouri;  Mary  M.  Hughes,  deceased;  Henry  C.;  Ann  F. 
Wise,  of  Carthage,  Missouri;  Permelia  B.  Howard,  of 


Cooper  County,  Missouri;  Martha  J.  Johnson,  of  Carl 
Junction,  Jasper  County,  Missouri;  and  Canada  Hind, 
deceased. 

Henry  C.  Dale  received  his  early  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  Missouri  and  resided  on  the  home  farm 
with  his  parents  until  twenty-three  years  of  age.  At 
that  time  he  further  prepared  himself  by  attending 
school  for  six  months,  and  for  six  years  thereafter  was 
engaged  in  teaching  in  the  country  schools.  He  next 
followed  farming  for  sixteen  years,  and  then  took  up 
mining  at  Galena,  Cherokee  County,  Kansas,  but  after 
several  years  gave  up  that  occupation  to  engage  in  the 
real  estate  business,  which  he  followed  two  years.  He 
became  the  owner  of  a valuable  farming  property,  which 
he  later  sold,  and  was  one  of  the  substantial  and  highly 
respected  citizens  of  his  community.  He  was  elected 
justice  of  the  peace  of  Galena,  Kansas,  and  served  in 
that  capacity  for  twelve  years,  resigning  when  he  had 
twenty-two  months  to  serve.  On  February  14,  1915,  he 
came  to  Yale,  Oklahoma,  where  he  has  since  been  assist- 
ing his  son,  Oliver  C.  Dale,  in  his  extensive  and  im- 
portant business  operations.  Mr.  Dale  has  been  a 
lifelong  democrat,  and  his  religious  faith  is  that  of  the 
Missionary  Baptist  Church. 

On  December  11,  1870,  Mr.  Dale  was  married  to  Miss 
Emma  J.  Barker,  who  was  born  November  19,  1851,  in 
Moniteau  County,  Missouri,  daughter  of  Charles  L.  and 
Delilah  (Eads)  Barker.  To  this  union  there  were  born 
eight  children,  as  follows:  Oliver  C.,  mayor  of  Yale, 
and  one  of  the  leading  business  men  and  oil  producers 
of  this  part  of  the  state,  a sketch  of  whose  remarkable  * 1 
career  appears  elsewhere  in  this  work;  Charley,  who' 
resides  at  Galena,  Kansas;  Arthur,  who  is  deceased 
Maggie  Lewman,  who  is  deceased;  Canzada  Jarrett 
also  deceased;  Henry  Clay,  principal  of  the  high  school 
at  Columbus,  Kansas;  Gordon,  who  is  manager  of  the' 

O.  C.  Dale  department  store,  at  Yale;  and  Willa  Anna: 
Pettit,  of  Yale. 


fmtl 

: a 


Itijj 

tofti 


fa, 

ill® 


Milton  Thompson.  When  it  is  said  that  Milton 
Thompson  is  the  largest  property  owner  and  tax  payer 
in  that  rich  and  populous  County  of  Payne,  it  is  evident 
that  he  has  not  lived  his  forty  years  since  birth  with 
out  a great  deal  of  practical  accomplishment  and  success- 
ful enterprise.  In  Payne  County  his  name  is  synonymou 
with  push  and  vigor,  and  few  men  in  the  state  startec 
with  less  and  have  gained  more  in  the  course  of  a com 
paratively  brief  space  of  time.  When  he  was  eighteer 
years  of  age  he  left  home  with  only  $85.00  as  hi 
capital.  He  came  as  a pioneer  to  the  Sac  and  Fox  Indian 
reservation  in  Oklahoma,  and  has  long  been  identifier 
with  farming,  cattle  raising,  with  merchandising,  and 
more  recently  with  the  oil  and  gas  development  in  th 
Cushing  field.  It  is  noteworthy  that  Mr.  Thompson  ha: 
had  few  partners  during  his  business  career.  He  him§fa 
self  says  that  his  one  best  partner  and  chief  assistan 
both  at  home  and  in  business  has  been  his  wife. 

Representing  a family  of  Kansas  pioneers,  Milto: 
Thompson  was  born  at  Atchison,  April  6,  1876,  a son  o 
Marion  and  Nancy  (Southridge)  Thompson.  His  fatlie 
was  born  near  Chicago,  Illinois,  and  his  mother 
St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  but  they  were  brought  as  chi 
dren  by  their  respective  parents  to  Atchison,  Kansas,  a 
the  time  Kansas  Territory  was  opened  for  settlemen’ 
early  in  the  decade  of  the  ’50s.  The  parents  were  man 
ried  at  Atchison  and  the  mother  died  there  twenty-eigl 
years  ago.  Marion  Thompson  came  to  Oklahoma  a yea 
after  the  opening  of  the  Sac  and  Fox  reservation,  ha  !H>r 
been  a farmer  and  stock  man,  and  for  the  past  twent  fcs.  f 
years  has  lived  at  Avery.  He  made  a record  as 
Union  soldier  during  the  Civil  war,  serving  in  tl 


120, 


th 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2079 


Fourteenth  Kansas,  and  was  out  for  more  than  four 
years. 

The  sixth  son  in  a family  of  nine  boys  and  one  girl, 
Milton  Thompson  has  lived  in  close  touch  with  practical 
affairs  since  early  boyhood.  After  getting  into  in- 
dependent work  for  himself,  he  supplemented  the  few 
u;  advantages  which  he  had  received  in  the  common  schools 
■a  as  a boy,  by  a course  in  the  business  college  at  Shawnee, 

\t  Oklahoma,  where  he  was  graduated  in  1896.  He  was 
lip  -with  his  father  in  the  cattle  business  up  to  the  age  of 
w twenty-one,  and  has  since  been  working  independently, 
the  Up  to  1905  his  home  was  in  the  vicinity  of  Avery,  and 
Ht  for  the  past  ten  years  he  has  been  in  Cushing.  He 
ii,!)  still  has  ranching  and  cattle  interests,  but  .has  also 
;hlj  carried  on  merchandising  at  Cushing  for  a number  of 
ltd  years,  and  still  has  two  stores,  one  carrying  a general 
1 it  stock  and  the  other  an  exclusive  shoe  store,  but  no  longer 
L;#l  gives  his  personal  supervision  to  either  of  these  enter- 
, t,  prises.  In  1913  Mr.  Thompson  organized  the  Oklahoma 
list.  State  Bank  at  Cushing,  and  was  its  president  until  he 
y sold  his  stock  on  January  1,  1915. 

n i As  soon  as  Cushing  came  into  prominence  as  a center 
t tte  Df  the  oil  and  gas  business,  Mr.  Thompson  was  identified 
with  the  movement,  beginning  in  March,  1912.  He  has 
landled  many  leases  and  is  individual  owner  of  much 
,1  jj  and  which  has  produced  both  oil  and  gas.  It  is  now  his 
mique  distinction  to  be  the  owner  of  the  largest  rock 
'y  pressure  gas  well  in  the  world,  known  as  Thompson 
Yjie  Well  No.  1,  situated  two  miles  east  and  two  miles  north 
jy  )f  Cushing.  The  gas  from  this  well  is  sold  to  one  of 
jyp  ;he  pipe  line  companies,  and  brings  in  a revenue  of 
y(  !our  thousand  dollars  a month.  Mr.  Thompson  owns 
|asep  ifteen  different  farms  in  and  about  Cushing  and  in 
. J 5ayne  County,  and  al«o  has  a large  acreage  under  lease. 

in  1913  he  built  the  Thompson  Hotel,  a modern  100-room 
0I  lotel  at  the  corner  of  Cleveland  and  Broadway  in  Cush- 
y,!  ng,  and  the  first  up  to  date  house  of  public  entertain- 
nent  in  the  growing  young  city.  For  some  time  he 
vas  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Terlton, 
Iklahoma,  but  resigned  that  office  when  the  institution 
ras  changed  to  a state  bank. 

ipaya  ]vir.  Thompson’s  comfortable  ten-room  house  in  Cush- 
'niH  ng,  where  he  and  his  wife  reside,  was  originally  the 
irincipal  building  improvement  on  a tract  of  fifty  acres, 
Mints  has  since  been  laid  out  as  the  Thompson  & High- 
mm,lt  and  Addition,  and  this  part  of  the  city  is  now  well  built 
startfl  p homes.  Politically  Mr.  Thompson  is  a demo- 

\a(®  rat,  though  only  a voter  and  in  no  sense  a politician. 
■|  j®  le  is  affiliated  with  the  local  lodge  of  Masons,  with  the 
sltiliai  Hite  Consistory  at  Guthrie  and  the  Temple  of 

jyjjt(  he  Mvstic  Shrine  at  Oklahoma  City. 
jD„  a„  On  May  2,  1898,  Mr.  Thompson  married  Miss  Maude 
A,  iif  lekes.  She  was  born  in  West  Virginia,  but  was  reared 
jputo  l Kansas,  a daughter  of  J.  M.  and  Elizabeth  A.  (Smith) 
He  liii  jokes.  Her  mother  is  now  living  at  Wellington,  Kansas, 
assistai  [er  father,  who  died  in  the  Thompson  home  at  Cushing, 
pril  20.  1912,  was  a Methodist  Episcopal  preacher  and 
Sl  Hiltfl  Sent  four  years  as  a soldier  in  the  Twenty-second  Ohio 
, a son  o egiment  during  the  Civil  war.  Mrs.  Thompson  is  an 
lisiatli  jtive  worker  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church.  She 
i '1  a|  as  like  her  husband  been  identified  with  Oklahoma  for 
t as  any  years,  and  finished  her  education  in  the  State 
Kansas,  i at  Edmond.  She  was  one  of  the  first  school 

settle®*  ;achers  in  Lincoln  County,  and  her  first  school  was  held 
| a log  building  without  a floor.  She  possesses  almost 
(e  ■ ° lique  ability  as  a business  woman,  and  Mr.  Thompson 
A ‘Aj  ives  ^er  credit  for  his  great  success  in  business 
(went  ^a’rs-  She  was  his  bookkeeper  in  the  stores  as  long 
he  gave  his  personal  supervision  to  that  branch  of  his 

jjijsinpoo 

Vol.  V— 21 


Freeman  E.  Miller.  Fortunate  it  is  for  the  weary 
and  workaday  world  that  there  are  those  whose  lives  are 
attuned  to  deep  human  sympathy  and  appreciation,  who 
find  time  and  opportunity  to  touch  upon  and  glorify  the 
common  things  of  life,  who  in  realm  of  fancy  and 
gracious  ideality  of  thought  come  near  to  the  castles  of 
their  dreams  and  who  trail  the  beatitudes  in  their  train. 
Such  a man  is  Prof.  Freeman  E.  Miller,  who  is  a native 
of  Indiana  and  worthy  to  be  classed  among  the  foremost 
in  the  galaxy  of  Hoosier  stars  in  the  literary  firmament. 
His  dreams  have  crystallized  into  deeds  of  kindness  and 
into  inspiring  thoughts  and  sentiments  that  have  offered 
le'sson  and  incentive  to  all  who  have  read  or  heard. 
Professor  Miller  has  played  a large  part  in  bringing  the 
manifold  attractions  and  advantages  of  Oklahoma  before 
the  reading  and  thinking  people  of  the  Union,  and  his 
reputation  as  a poet,  author,  editor,  lawyer,  legislator 
and  educator  has  far  transcended  local  limitations.  He 
has  been  consistently  designated  the  poet  laureate  of 
Oklahoma,  and  he  is  now  the  incumbent  of  the  chair  of 
English  in  the  Oklahoma  Agricultural  and  Mechanical 
College,  at  Stillwater,  Payne  County,  a position  which 
he  had  previously  filled  when  the  institution  was  in  the 
initial  stage  of  its  development.  Oklahoma  shall  ever 
owe  mueh  to  Professor  Miller,  and  this  publication  can 
not  be  consistent  with  itself  if  there  is  failure  to  pay 
to  him  a measure  of  appreciative  tribute.  So  admirable 
is  the  estimate  written  by  C.  M.  Sarchet  and  published 
in  Daily  Oklahoman  of  Sunday,  August  29,  1915,  that  it 
is  a pleasing  privilege  to  incorporate  at  this  juncture  cer- 
tain quotations  from  the  article,  though  minor  para- 
phrase and  certain  elimination  must  necessarily  be  in- 
dulged in  the  reproduction: 

“Freeman  E.  Miller,  of  Stillwater,  Oklahoma’s  poet 
laureate,  criminal  lawyer  and  newspaper  man,  has  been 
showing  up  the  bright  side  of  life  and  of  things  in  gen- 
eral to  the  people  of  Oklahoma  for  so  many  years  that 
his  writings  are  proving  to  be  a prolonged  ‘journey  in 
contentment’  for  the  many  who  have  followed  him — and 
that  means  thousands.  For  the  man  or  woman  who  reads 
Miller’s  ‘Oklahoma  Sunshine,’  which  has  been  appear- 
ing in  the  Daily  Oklahoman  for  the  past  ten  years,  his 
daily  little  sermons,  cotton-patch  philosophy,  sayings 
by  the  way,  and  from  the  short-grass  country,  can  not 
help  be  benefitted.  They  put  a song  in  the  heart  of 
men,  lighten  the  labors,  brighten  the  daily  life  and  keep 
dull  care  far  in  the  background.  Miller  is  constantly 
directing  his  pen  that  others  may  be  happier.  He 
preaches  individual  effort  as  the  best  method  of  dis- 
pelling sorrow  and  dissatisfaction— declaring  that  the 
man  who  is  busy  at  honest  labor  is  the  happiest  man  of 
the  human  race.  ‘When  a man  whistles  at  his  work,’ 
writes  Miller,  ‘the  angels  come  down  to  boss  the  job.’ 
And  again  he  writes:  ‘Dis  ole  worl’  am  all  de  time 
ehtuhning  debright  side  up,  so  break  up  dem  dahrk 
specs  on  youah  eyes  an  ’ grab  a hoe.  ’ and  another  time — 
‘there  may  be  more  devotion  in  tears  than  in  laughter, 
but  I’ll  tie  up  with  the  latter  and  take  the  risk.’ 

“Miller  is  a Hoosier  by  birth;  perhaps  that’s  one 
of  the  main  reasons  that' he  is  a poet.  He  came  to  Okla- 
homa when  President  Harrison,  also  a Hoosier,  issued 
the  proclamation  that  opened  this  country  to  white  settle- 
ment, in  1889,  and  he  located  in  Stillwater.  He  was  a 
newspaper  man,  owned  and  edited  a weekly  paper,  and 
he  has  returned  to  the  pastepot  and  shears  several  times 
since.  He  has  always  found  it  difficult,  although  a suc- 
cessful criminal  lawyer,  to  keep  away  from  a newspaper 
office,  and  his  friends  are  never  surprised  when  he  breaks 
over  the  traces  again. 

‘ ‘ There  are  numerous  sweet  singers  developing  through- 
out Oklahoma,  but  the  newspaper  men  have  always  liked 
Miller,  not  only  because  he  is  one  of  them  but  also 


2080 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


because  he  has  a way  of  saying  things  that  appeals  to 
the  average  reader.  There  is  no  parent  that  can  not 
appreciate  his  ‘ Santa  Claus  Boy.  ’ 

‘ ‘ It  was  as  editor  of  a country  weekly  that  Miller 
first  won  fame  throughout  the  Southwest  as  a poet,  when 
Oklahoma  was  still  young.  His  paper  always  contained 
some  verses  by  the  editor,  but  his  distinction  as  Okla- 
homa’s poet  laureate  was  when  he  composed  the  poem 
read  when  the  Oklahoma  building  at  the  St.  Louis  expo- 
sition was  dedicated.  That  was  ‘ Oklahoma.  ’ In  his 
Stillwater  Advance  and  later  in  his  Stillwater  Progress 
there  appeared  ‘ The  Opening  of  Oklahoma,  ’ ‘ The  Ballad 
of  the  Alamo,’  ‘The  Plaint  of  the  Tenderfoot,’  ‘The 
Faith  Cure,’  and  other  poems.  When  statehood  came  he 
was  ready  with  ‘ The  Birth  of  the  State,  ’ and  when  the 
constitutional  convention  assembled  in  Guthrie,  late  in 
1906,  it  was  opened  by  the  clerk’s  reading  of  Miller’s 
poem,  ‘The  Builders’: 

“ ‘ Oh  Builders,  called  forth  of  the  people ! 

Not  only  for  us  is  your  toil! 

For  tribes  that  shall  follow  through  shadows  the  paths 
of  the  stars  and  the  soil, 

Through  seed-time  and  harvest  forever,  whatever  ye 
fashion  or  frame 

Shall  live  till  the  land  is  legend  and  time  is  a meaning- 
less name ! ’ 

“Things  that  happen  in  Oklahoma  and  that  are  told 
about  in  the  news  columns  of  the  papers,  the  current 
events,  are  promptly  made  use  of  by  Miller.  When  a 
Territory  election  was  over,  a number  of  years  ago,  and 
the  democrats  were  overwhelmingly  defeated  in  Okla- 
homa and  also  in  the  nation  at  large — Miller  is  a demo- 
crat— he  comforted  his  party  comrades  with  a resignation 
that  caused  the  verses  to  be  the  most  widely  copied  of 
all  of  his  productions  up  to  that  time.  All  of  his  verses 
have  been  free-will  offerings.  They  appeared  originally 
in  his  paper,  ‘without  money  and  without  price,’  but 
they  increased  the  paper’s  circulation  just  the  same. 
And  for  ten  years  past  they  have  been  appearing  regu- 
larly in  the  Sunday  issues  of  the  Daily  Oklahoman,  ever 
carrying  their  sermon  of  contentment: 

“ ‘Needn’t  talk  to  me  of  sorrow, 

Needn’t  tell  of  Sorrow  Town, 

For  the  blossoms  heap  the  highways 
Till  they  hold  the  brambles  down.’ 

‘ ‘ He  preached  contentment  and  happiness  in  his 
‘Birth  of  the  State,’  outlining  that  the  state  that  is 
wealthy  is  not  the  best  unless  the  character  of  its  men 
and  women  is  high  and  its  people  are  happy : 

‘ ‘ ‘ Glory  and  peace  and  power,  but  greater  than  all  of 
these 

Is  the  smile  of  a happy  people  and  the  laugh  of  a land 
at  ease, 

And  the  states  that  are  rich  and  mighty  are  poor  and 
helpless  yet, 

If  the  lips  of  its  men  are  ashen  and  the  eyes  of  its 
women  wet ! ’ 

“ ‘So  fashion  the  state  in  glory,  but  build  it  wise  and 
good, 

And  build  it  strong  for  the  weak  ones  and  rich  for  the 
peasant’s  brood; 

And  fashion  it  all  .with  justice,  till  the  joys  of  the  peo- 
ple’s mirth 

Shall  conquer  the  ancient  sorrows  and  gladden  the  sad 
of  earth.  ’ 

“For  a long  time  Miller  has  had  his  weekly  grist  of 
‘little  sermons’  for  the  readers,  and  they  contain  many 
good,  pithy  sayings: 


“ ‘No  one  except  Christ  ever  called  the  devil  Satan  J 
to  his  face;  and  then  they  went  up  into  a high  mountain  jl 
and  into  a private  place  where  no  one  else  could  hear  I ; 
the  muss.’ 

“ ‘All  that  Joy  asks  is  a place  to  eat  and  sleep  and  t I 
fairly  good  company ; but  when  you  bring  Old  Trouble  | 1 
into  the  kitchen  and  go  to  introducing  him  to  the  family, 
right  then  Joy  tells  you  goodbye.’ 

“It  is  necessary  in  treating  of  Miller  to  give  him  due 
credit  for  being  the  first  member  of  an  Oklahoma  Legis- 
lature to  introduce  a ‘Jim  Crow’  or  separate-coach  law. 
Many  have  claimed  this  distinction,  but  to  Miller  it  be- 
longs. He  represented  his  County  of  Payne  in  the  old 
Oklahoma  Territorial  senate  on  several  occasions,  and  in 
1901,  six  years  prior  to  statehood,  he  fathered  a bill  j 
that  sought  to  compel  all  railroads  in  the  territory  to 
furnish  separate  coaches  for  negroes.  Later  his  idea: 
was  enacted  into  a statute  of  the  §tate.  Miller  lias 
always  been  a prominent  figure  in  politics,  but  never  ai 
partisan.  An  Indiana  democrat,  he  has  frequently  re 
turned  to  his  native  state  to  campaign  it  for  his  party’s 
nominees,  and  he  has  been  on  the  ticket  in  Oklahoma  oi 
several  occasions.  He  was  twice  the  nominee  for  dis 
trict  judge,  but  on  both  occasions  in  a district  that  wa: 
decidedly  republican  in  its  voting. 

“In  the  near  future  the  people  of  Oklahoma  are  t 
see  Freeman  E.  Miller  in  a new  role  to  many  of  them 
but  an  old  role  to  the  first-day  people  of  old  Oklahom 
Territory — that  of  instructor  in  English  in  the  Oklahom: 
Agricultural  and  Mechanical  College,  at  Stillwater.  II 
held  the  chair  of  English  when  that  institution  was  firs 
opened,  in  the  early  ’90s,  but  later  retired  to  go  back  t 
newspaper  work.  Now,  after  many  years,  he  is  to  rt 
turn  and  be  in  charge  of  the  English  department.  I 
was  a deserved  honor  and  his  selection  will  give  a di: 
tinction  to  the  school.  If  the  young  men  who  atten 
the  college  will  get  close  to  Miller,  and  it  will  not  be  h: 
fault  if  they  do  not,  they  will  find  him  a fine,  ente 
taining  gentleman,  an  ever -ready  friend;  and  if  tfie 
will  heed  his  sermons  in  contentment  they  will  find  life', 
pathways  have  been  smoothed  down  in  their  journeying 
to  ‘ Happy  Town  ’ : 


“ ‘Folks  are  always  apt  and  able  all  their  hearts’  d 
sires  to  crown, 

If  they  journey  to  the  sunrise  at  the  gates  of  Hap]! 
Town. 

They  are  always  finding  blossoms  in  the  glories  of  t! 


That  will  crown  their  dearest  longings  and  their  roy 
robes  renew.  ’ ’ ’ 


It  may  be  further  stated  at  this  juncture  that  Profess 
Miller ’s  ode  entitled  ‘ ‘ Oklahoma  ’ ’ was  read  on  Oklahor 
Day,  July  19,  1915,  at  the  Oklahoma  Building,  Panai 
Pacific  International  Exposition,  San  Francisco,  Ca 
fornia,  and  that  the  beautiful  and  appreciative  poem 
reproduced  in  full  on  other  pages  of  this  publication 
Freeman  E.  Miller  was  born  in  Fountain  CounJ 
Indiana,  on  the  19th  of  May,  1864,  and  is  a son 
Louis  W.  and  Amanda  (Rynearson)  Miller,  both  lilcew] 
natives  of  Fountain  County  and  representatives 
honored  pioneer  families  of  that  section  of  the  Hoos 
State.  The  father,  now  of  patriarchal  age,  still  resi 
on  his  old  homestead  farm,  and  there  the  devoted  w 
and  mother  was  summoned  to  the  life  eternal  on  the  i 
of  October,  1911,  at  the  age  of  seventy  years,  the  s 
jeet  of  this  review  being  the  only  child.  The  boyln 
days  of  Professor  Miller  were  compassed  by  the 
nignant  influences  and  discipline  of  the  home  farm, 
he  continued  to  look  upon  the  parental  domicile  as 
place  of  ultimate  refuge  and  content  until  the  timel 


fc  this  ( 


k- 

Ptati 


Mate 


Won  « 
pe  who; 
) Ho 
by  v( 
N eh( 


| m 

i finds 


:«  : 


It  mad 


1(1  ire, 

county 

Nntln 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2081 


his  marriage,  though  he  passed  but  irregular  intervals 
at  home  after  he  had  attained  to  the  age  of  sixteen 
years.  He  acquired  his  preliminary  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  his  native  state  and  supplemented  this 
by  a full  classical  course  in  DePauw  University,  at 
Greeneastle,  Indiana,  in  which  institution  he  was  gradu- 
ated as  a member  of  the  class  of  1887  and  from  which 
he  received  his  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts,  his  alma 
mater  conferring  upon  him  in  1890  the  degree  of  Master 
of  Arts.  He  defrayed  the  major  part  of  the  expenses 
of  his  collegiate  course  through  his  service  as  a teacher 
in  the  district  schools. 

In  the  year  of  his  graduation  in  DePauw  University, 
Professor  Miller,  then  a young  man  of  twenty-three 
years,  made  his  way  to  the  Panhandle  of  Texas,  and  when 
Oklahoma  Territory  was  thrown  open  to  settlement  he 
was  one  of  the  ambitious  young  men  who  east  in  his  lot 
with  this  new  country.  In  1890  he  established  his  resi- 
dence at  Stillwater,  now  the  thriving  judicial' center  of 
Payne  County,  and  here  he  engaged  in  the  practice  of 
law,  his  preparation  for  this  profession  having  been 
compassed  while  he  was  still  in  his  native  state,  and 
his  admission  to  th,e  Indiana  bar  having  been  granted 
in  1886.  He  became  one  of  the  pioneer  lawyers  of 
Payne  County  and  also  a pioneer  in  the  local  newspaper 
field.  He  had  practiced  law  in  Indiana,  where  he  had 
also  been  editor  and  publisher  of  a weekly  paper  at 
Yeedersburg,  one  of  the  principal  towns  of  his  native 
county. 

In  1894  the  versatile  young  lawyer  and  journalist  was 
elected  to  the  chair  of  English  in  the  newly  established 
Oklahoma  Agricultural  and  Mechanical  College,  and  he 
retained  this  incumbency  until  1898,  his  service  having 
been  most  effective  during  this  formative  period  in  the 
history  of  the  college.  Upon  resigning  his  position  as  a 
member  of  the  faculty  of  the  college  he  resumed  the 
practice  of  law,  and  in  time  he  gained  special  prestige 
as  one  of  the  able  and  resourceful  criminal  lawyers 
of  the  territory.  In  1900  he  was  elected  representative 
of  his  district  in  the  council  or  senate  of  the  Territorial 
Legislature,  and  in  1902  he  was  a candidate  for  re- 
' election,  but  was  defeated  by  a small  majority.  In  1905 
he  became  editor  and  publisher  of  the  Stillwater  Advance- 
Democrat,  and  in  the  following  year  he  assumed  the 
editorial  charge  of  the  Stillwater  People’s  Progress,  each 
Happl  of  these  weekly  papers  having  gained  high  standing  in 
the  Oklahoma  field  of  journalism  under  his  administra- 
i of  tion.  In  1910  Professor  Miller  was  the  democratic  can- 
didate for  the  office  of  judge  of  the  District  Court,  but 
was  unable  to  overcome  the  large  and  normal  republican 
majority  in  the  district.  In  1915  he  was  again  elected 
to  the  chair  of  English  in  the  Oklahoma  Agricultural 
’icfe®  and  Mechanical  College,  and  he  has  entered  upon  his  service 
)kk!ion  in  this  capacity  with  characteristic  earnestness  and  enthu- 
Paiffl  siasm,  with  matured  powers  and  with  specially  higli 
*o,  C i reputation  in  the  domain  of  literature,  so  that  the  insti- 
i po®  tution  gains  to  its  faculty  a most  valuable  member  and 
eation.  one  whose  benignant  influence  can  not  but  be  far  reach- 
i Count  ing.  He  is  by  nature  buoyant  and  optimistic,  and  thus 
a son  is  by  very  birthright  the  apostle  of  contentment  and 
l lew  good  cheer.  He  recognizes  the  well-springs  of  human 
atives  thought  and  motive,  is  kindly  and  tolerant  in  judgment 
ie  loos  and  finds  his  chiefest  pleasure  in  trying  to  make  others 
till  iesi(  happy  and  contented — a higher  mission  than  which  no 
roted  J naan  could  ask. 

ou  the  S As  a lawyer  Professor  Miller  had  charge  of  the  legal 
s,  the  si  flght  made  in  the  territorial  days  to  eliminate  the  liquor 
is  toyto  iraffie  in  Payne  County,  and  as  a result  of  his  efforts, 
by  tie  1 which  were  ably  supported  by  the  temperance  people  of 
faun,  a ;he  county,  the  desired  end  was  achieved  in  the  county 
idle  as  months  before  the  territory  cast  its  popular  vote  on 
tie  time  she  question  of  prohibition.  It  is  pleasing  to  record  that 


rts’  4 


;ir  toy 


many  of  the  poetical  productions  of  Professor  Miller 
have  been  collected  and  issued  in  book  form.  In  1895 
was  published  his  volume  of  verses  entitled  ‘ ‘ Oklahoma, 
and  Other  Poems ; ” in  1898  his  ‘ ‘ Songs  from  the  South- 
west Country”  was  issued;  and  in  1906  was  published  a 
volume  of  his  prose  and  verse,  under  the  title  of  ‘ ‘ Okla- 
homa Sunshine.  ’ ’ 

Professor  Miller  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  frater- 
nity and  is  identified  with  the  Oklahoma  State  Bar 
Association  and  the  Oklahoma  Newspaper  Association. 
Both  he  and  his  wife  hold  membership  in  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church,  as  did  also  his  first  wife. 

On  the  22d  of  March,  1886,  Professor  Miller  wedded 
Miss  Estelle  Shroyer,  and  she  was  called  to  eternal  rest 
on  the  24th  of  September,  1912,  one  child,  Boy  E.,  sur- 
viving her  and  remaining  at  the  parental  home,  in  Still- 
water. On  the  2d  of  August,  1914,  was  solemnized  the 
marriage  of  Professor  Miller  to  Mrs.  Ada  M.  Kelly,  who 
is  the  gracious  and  popular  chatelaine  of  their  pleasant 
home  in  Stillwater. 

Col.  George  W.  Lewis.  Oklahoma  can  claim  no 
pioneer  citizen  whose  career  has  been  one  of  more  inter- 
esting order,  whose  genealogical  history  has  touched  more 
worthily  and  prominently  the  history  of  America,  or 
whose  personal  popularity  is  more  secure  than  Colonel 
Lewis,  who  has  been  one  of  the  most  honored  and  influ- 
ential citizens  of  Payne  County  since  the  year  that  Okla- 
homa Territory  was  thrown  open  to  settlement  and  whose 
fine  farmstead  home  lies  contiguous  to  Stillwater,  the 
county  seat,  his  residence  being  one  of  the  most  modern 
and  attractive  in  this  section  of  the  state  and  being 
worthy  of  its  owner  as  well  as  a matter  of  pride  to  him 
and  the  community  in  general.  The  Lewis  family  was 
founded  in  America  in  the  colonial  era  of  our  national 
history  and  representatives  of  the  same  have  been  found 
arrayed  as  gallant  soldiers  in  every  war  in  which  the 
nation  has  been  involved,  Colonel  Lewis  himself  having 
been  a valiant  soldier  of  the  Union  in  the  Civil  war,  and 
after  its  close  having  served  with  distinction  as  an  officer 
of  the  State  Militia  of  Kansas.  As  a pioneer  of  Kansas 
he  participated  in  early  Indian  wars,  and  he  was  given 
the  title  and  rank  of  colonel  before  he  had  attained  to 
his  legal  majority.  A broad-minded,  loyal  and  honored 
citizen  and  representative  pioneer,  he  is"  entitled  to  spe- 
cial consideration  in  this  history  of  the  state  of  his 
adoption. 

Col.  George  Washington  Lewis  was  born  in  Yadkin 
County,  North  Carolina,  on  the  16th  of  April,  1846,  and 
is  a son  of  William  and  Catherine  (Pinix)  Lewis,  the 
former  a native  of  Virginia  and  the  latter  of  North 
Carolina.  William  Lewis  was  about  fifty-five  years  of 
age  at  the  time  of  his  death,  when  the  subject  of  this 
review  was  a child  of  two  years,  and  his  widow  passed 
the  closing  years  of  her  life  in  Douglas  County,  Kansas', 
where  her  death  occurred  in  1886. 

The  founders  of  the  Lewis  family  in  America  came 
from  England  in  the  colonial  days  and  established  their 
residence  in  the  beautiful  Shenandoah  Valley  of  Virginia. 
Both  the  paternal  and  maternal  grandfathers  of  Colonel 
Lewis  were  loyal  soldiers  of  the  Continental  line  in  the 
war  of  the  Revolution.  His  maternal  grandfather,  Capt. 
Overton  Pinix,  was  a member  of  the  military  staff  of 
General  Washington,  and  after  the  close  of  the  Revolu- 
tion he  served  many  years  on  the  bench  of  the  Supreme 
Court  of  North  Carolina.  The  father  of  Colonel  Lewis 
was  a soldier  in  the  War  of  1812,  and  his  father,  William 
Lewis,  was  an  officer  in  a Virginia  regiment  in  the  war 
of  the  Revolution.  He  was  with  the  patriot  forces  at 
Valley  Forge  and  was  present  at  the  surrender  of  Lord 
Cornwallis. 

Colonel  Lewis  is  the  youngest  and  only  surviving  mem- 


2082 


HISTORY  OF 


ber  of  a family  of  eleven  children,  and  his  father  was 
a farmer  and  miller  in  North  Carolina  at  the  time  of  his 
death.  Alexander  D.  Lewis,  eldest  brother  of  the  subject 
of  this  review,  was  a captain  in  the  United  States  army 
and  as  such  participated  in  the  Mexican  war  as  a member 
of  a cavalry  regiment.  He  continued  his  service  as  a 
member  of  the  United  States  army  during  the  greater 
part  of  his  adult  life,  and  he  died  at  Fort  Scott,  Kansas, 
in  1903,  at  a venerable  age. 

Col.  George  W.  Lewis  was  a lad  of  about  thirteen  years 
when  the  family  home  was  established  at  Iola,  Allen 
County,  Kansas,  in  1859,  two  of  his  brothers,  Irving  G. 
and  Albert  C.,  having  removed  to  that  state  in  the 
preceding  year  and  having  platted  the  town  site  of  Iola, 
the  present  comity  seat.  Both  of  these  brothers,  as  well 
as  the  brothers,  William  B.,  Columbus  and  George  W., 
all  enlisted  from  Kansas  as  Union  soldiers  in  the  Civil 
war,  and  all  went  forth  as  privates  in  the  ranks.  He 
whose  name  initiates  this  sketch  was  but  fifteen  years 
of  age  at  the  inception  of  the  war,  and  he  remained  at 
home  until  his  brothers  had  seen  three  years  of  military 
service  in  defense  of  the  Union.  When  it  became  pos- 
sible for  them  to  return  home  and  assume  the  care  of  the 
widowed  mother,  George  W.  himself  found  opportunity 
to  give  rein  to  his  spirit  of  loyalty  and  patriotism.  In 
1864  he  enlisted  in  Company  K,  Sixteenth  Kansas  Volun- 
teer Cavalry,  all  of  his  brothers  likewise  having  been 
in  the  cavalry  arm  of  the  service,  a fact  which  has  left 
him  to  make  the  statement  that  a Lewis  has  invariably 
been  too  lazy  to  walk,  this  fact  being  fortified  by  the 
cavalry  service  given  by  Colonel  Lewis  and  his  brothers. 
His  personal  service  was  entirely  with  the  Western  army, 
in  the  region  west  of  the  Mississippi  River,  and  he  con- 
tinued in  the  ranks  until  the  close  of  the  war,  when  he 
received  his  honorable  discharge,  and,  like  his  brothers, 
resumed  active  association  with  agricultural  pursuits  in 
Kansas.  He  took  part  in  the  Indian  wars  in  Kansas  in 
the  late  ’60s,  and  in  this  connection  participated  in  the 
fights  with  the  forces  of  the  celebrated  Indian  chief, 
Sitting  Bull.  He  served  about  two  years  as  senior  major 
of  Kansas  volunteers  in  these  conflicts  with  the  Indians, 
and  in  the  winter  of  1866,  when  twenty  years  of  age,  he 
was  elected  colonel  of  the  Twentieth  Kansas  Regiment  of 
the  State  Militia,  this  election  representing  the  unanimous 
vote  of  the  regiment,  and  the  young  colonel  having  been 
a sturdy  youth  of  175  pounds,  which  has  represented  his 
average  weight  in  later  years.  Colonel  Lewis  gained  wide 
and  varied  experience  in  connection  with  Indian  warfare 
on  the  frontier,  and  traversed  the  western  plains  when 
buffalo  were  still  to  be  seen  in  great  numbers,  he  having 
killed  a number  of  these  animals  within  the  period  of  his 
pioneer  experiences.  He  was  a member  of  the  military 
forces  that  made  the  first  exploration  in  the  Powder 
River  Country  and  traversed  a considerable  part  of  the 
Yellowstone  National  Park,  as  now  constituted.  Many 
incidents  of  these  experiences  were  of  interesting  order, 
but  he  and  his  companions  endured  also  numerous  hard- 
ships and  privations.  On  one  occasion,  when  the  com- 
mand was  far  from  civilization,  its  stock  of  provisions 
was  exhausted  and  it  became  necessary  to  kill  the  poorest 
of  the  mules  to  provide  food,  one  of  the  party  having 
made  a mistake  and  killed  the  horse  of  one  of  the  lieu- 
tenants, the  meat  from  this  animal  having  proved  the 
most  palatable  of  all,  and  the  appreciation  of  the  men 
having  perhaps  justified  the  questionable  mistake  that 
sacrificed  the  horse. 

Colonel  Lewis  became  one  of  the  representative  agri- 
culturists and  influential  citizens  of  Allen  County,  Kan- 
sas, and  for  a time  was  engaged  in  the  mercantile 
business  at  Iola.  He  continued  his  residence  in  that 
county  until  1889,  when  he  came  to  Oklahoma  and,  on 
the  22d  of  April,  participated  in  the  historic  opening  of 


OKLAHOMA 

the  territory  to  settlement,  the  formal  organization  of 
the  new  territory  having  not  been  completed  until  the 
following  year.  At  that  time  the  colonel  entered  claim 
to  his  present  homestead,  which  adjoins  Stillwater  on 
the  west.  His  attractive  residence  commands  an  excel- 
lent view  of  the  city  and  also  of  the  grounds  and  build- 
ings of  the  Oklahoma  Agricultural  and  Mechanical  College. 
The  colonel  has  been  one  of  the  most  zealous  and  influ- 
ential factors  in  the  development  and  upbuilding  of  his 
home  county  and  its  judicial  center,  and  his  active  co- 
operation has  been  given  in  every  normal  movement 
and  enterprise  making  for  civic  and  material  progress. 
About  fifty-one  acres  of  his  farm  are  platted  into  village 
lots  and  constitute  the  Lewis  Addition  to  the  City  of 
Stillwater.  Many  of  the  lots  have  been  sold  and  building 
operations  have  been  carried  forward  to  the  point  of 
making  this  one  of  the  attractive  residence  sections  of 
the  county  seat.  In  1914  Colonel  Lewis  completed  the 
erection  of  his  present  fine  residence,  which  is  a modern 
house  of  ten  rooms,  with  the  most  approved  appointments 
and  facilities,  and  the  same  is  recognized  as  one  of  the 
finest  residence  properties  in  Payne  County,  even  as  it  is 
known  as  a center  of  gracious  hospitality. 

Like  all  other  male  representatives  of  the  family, 
Colonel  Lewis  has  not  deviated  from  the  line  of  strict 
allegiance  to  the  democratic  party,  and  he  has  been 
called  upon  to  serve  in  various  local  offices  of  public 
trust  within  the  period  of  his  residence  in  Oklahoma. 
He  is  at  the  present  time  chairman  of  the  board  of 
county  commissioners  of  Payne  County,  and  has  been 
four  times  elected  a member  of  this  board,  on  which  he 
lias  served  since  the  year  1907,  which  marked  the  admis- 
sion of  Oklahoma  as  one  of  the  sovereign  states  of  the 
Union.  On  one  occasion  he  was  the  only  democratic 
candidate  elected  in  the  county,  and  at  another  election 
he  was  one  of  the  two  democrats  elected.  In  the  terri- 
torial days  he  served  as  township  trustee  for  a number 
of  terms. 

Since  1866  Colonel  Lewis  has  held  membership  in  the 
Baptist  Church,  and  he  and  his  wife  are  the  only  two 
persons  who  have  maintained  continuous  membership  in( 
the  church  of  this  denomination  at  Stillwater  from  the, 
time  of  its  organization,  in  1872,  to  the  present  time,  lie 
having  contributed  liberally  to  the  erection  of  the  present 
church  edifice.  His  continued  interest  in  his  old  com- 
rades of  the  Civil  war  is  indicated  by  his  affiliation  with 
the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic.  In  influence  and 
financial  support  no  one  citizen  of  Payne  County  did  as 
much  to  obtain  for  Stillwater  the  Oklahoma  Agricultural 
and  Mechanical  College  as  did  Colonel  Lewis,  the  city  hav- 
ing voted  bonds  for  $10,000  to  secure  this  important 
state  institution,  and  Colonel  Lewis,  though  not  a resident 
within  the  corporate  limits  of  the  city,  having  been  glac 
to  make  liberal  contribution  to  the  cause,  besides  whiel 
he  made  two  trips  to  the  state  capitol  to  further  tin 
interests  of  Stillwater  before  the  Legislature  at  the  tim< 
when  the  question  of  locating  the  college  was  unde: 
consideration. 

In  the  year  1873  was  solemnized  the  marriage  o 
Colonel  Lewis  to  Miss  Vessa  Moore,  who  was  born  ii 
Franklin  County,  Kansas,  on  the  16th  of  February,  1856 
her  parents,  Silas  and  Anna  (Martin)  Moore,  havinj 
removed  from  Indiana  to  Kansas  in  1854  and  having  bee 
numbered  among  the  very  early  settlers  of  Frankli 
County,  the  remainder  of  their  lives  having  been  passe 
in  the  Sunflower  State.  In  the  concluding  paragraph  o 
this  article  is  entered  brief  record  concerning  the  ehildre 
of  Colonel  and  Mrs.  Lewis:  Capt.  E.  G.,  who  is  now  j 

representative  business  man  in  the  City  of  Tulsa,  ws 
educated  in  the  Oklahoma  Agricultural  and  Mechanic:! 
College,  where  he  was  captain  and  drill  master  of  til 
military  organization  of  the  institution,  and  he  servel 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2083 


later  as  a captain  in  the  Oklahoma  National  Guard. 
Anna  is  the  wife  of  Frederick  Fields  and  they  reside  in 
the  State  of  Colorado.  George  H.  is  a successful  farmer 
in  the  vicinity  of  Stillwater.  Albert  E.  is  president  of 
the  Liberty  National  Bank  in  the  City  of  Tulsa,  and  is 
prominently  identified  also  with  oil  development  in  the 
fields  of  that  part  of  the  state.  Flossie  B.  is  the  wife 
of  William  L.  Burleson,  who  is  a member  of  the  faculty 
of  the  University  of  Illinois,  at  Champaign.  William 
L.  is  cashier  of  the  Liberty  National  Bank  at  Tulsa. 
Myrtle  I.  is  the  wife  of  Stephen  B.  Johnson,  who  is  a 
professor  in  the  University  of  Arizona,  at  Tucson.  Earl 
and  Velma  remain  at  the  parental  home;  and  Cecil  died 
when  about  one  year  of  age. 

Col.  Jacob  H.  Bartles.  The  people  of  Oklahoma 
have  been  rarely  called  upon  to  mourn  the  loss  of  a 
distinguished  citizen  whose  death  occasioned  as  wide- 
spread sorrow  as  did  that  of  Col.  Jacob  H.  Bartles.  It 
has  been  the  privilege  of  but  few  men  in  this,  or  any 
other,  community  to  become  the  center  of  as  wide  a 
circle  of  personal  friends  or  to  attach  to  themselves, 
by  the  indissoluble  chains  of  affectionate  esteem,  so 
many  men  and  women  of  widely  varying  fortune  and 
social  rank.  The  founder  of  both  the  cities  of  Bartles- 
ville and  Dewey  his  unceasing  labors,  his  great  power 
of  organization,  his  ability  to  instill  into  other  men 
the  great  energy  which  he  always  himself  possessed,  and 
his  great  good  judgment,  foresight  and  acumen,  won 
him  the  title  of  ‘ ‘ An  Empire  Builder.  ’ ’ As  gallant  sol- 
dier of  the  Civil  war,  as  a pioneer  of  Kansas  and  Eastern 
Oklahoma,  as  a successful  merchant  and  promoter,  and 
as  a useful  and  public-spirited  citizen,  Colonel  Bartles 
stood  as  one  of  the  most  prominent  figures  of  his  day 
and  locality,  and  in  his  death  his  community  lost  one 
whose  place  has  not  yet  been  filled. 

Jacob  H.  Bartles  was  born  at  Chester,  Morris  County, 
New  Jersey,  June  11,  1842,  a son  of  Joseph  A.  and 
Phoebe  Helene  Bartles.  His  father,  a native  of  New 
York,  put  up  the  first  telegraph  wires  in  New  York  City, 
and  subsequently  moved  to  New  Jersey,  where,  in  Chester 
County,  he  was  the  owner  of  a farm  that  is  now  the 
property  of  Childs,  the  famous  New  York  restaurateur, 
and  from  which  come  the  supplies  for  the  restaurants 
bearing  his  name.  In  1857  Mr.  Bartles  removed  to 
Wyandotte  County,  Kansas,  where  he  was  engaged  in 
farming  and  stock  raising,  and  also  was  the  proprietor 
of  a butcher  business  at  Quindaro.  There  both  he  and 
Mrs.  Bartles  spent  the  remaining  years  of  their  lives. 
They  were  the  parents  .of  three  children:  Louise,  who 

is  the  widow  of  Alfred  Brown,  of  Chester,  New  Jersey, 
and  now  resides  in  New  York  City  with  her  daughter, 
Mrs.  Sadie  Reynolds;  Theodore,  who  is  deceased;  and 
Jacob  H. 

The  early  education  of  Jacob  H.  Bartles  was  secured 
in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  place,  and  at  the  age 
of  fifteen  years  started  for  the  West  with  his  parents. 
The  family  embarked  on  a steamer  at  Pittsburgh,  coming 
as  far  as  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  where  they  took  another 
boat  for  Quindaro,  Kansas,  the  historic  spot  seven  miles 
west  of  the  present  site  of  Kansas  City,  which  they 
reached  May  2,  1857.  During  the  next  three  years 
young  Bartles  made  that  place  his  home,  and  was  en- 
gaged in  steamboating  on  the  Missouri  River,  between 
;Omaha  and  St.  Louis,  and  at  the  end  of  that  time  moved 
to  a farm 'near  Quindaro,  which  he  occupied  and  assisted 
in  clearing  of  its  heavy  timber.  When  the  Civil  war 
■came  on,  Jacob  H.  Bartles  was  found  as  one  of  his 
^community ’s  patriotic  sons,  and  in  that  memorable  strife 
had  a conspicuous  part  and  one  marked  with  zeal,  cour- 
age and  faithfulness  from  beginning  to  end.  A record  of 


his  activities  in  the  war,  as  prepared  by  himself  in  1896, 
is  here  given: 

‘ ‘ In  company  with  seventeen  Wyandotte  boys  and 
Captain  Veale,  I went  to  Fort  Leavenworth  in  the  early 
part  of  June,  1861.  We  organized  a company,  with 
Veale  as  captain,  and  remained  there  about  two  weeks 
before  they  could  arm  us.  Then  we  were  ordered  to 
Kansas  City  and  south  to  Little  Santa  Fe,  where  we 
were  compelled  to  put  half  the  company  on  guard  at  a 
time.  The  second  morning  the  old  guard  were  ordered 
to  discharge  their  arms,  which  were  old  Belgian  muskets 
with  the  barrels  cut  off  to  make  cavalry  guns.  When 
the  guns  were  discharged  all  the  men  fell  backwards  as 
if  shot  by  the  enemy,  and  when  they  had  fairly  recov- 
ered and  found  out  the  cause  of  the  disaster  they 
gathered  up  their  Belgian  muskets,  as  also  did  the  boys 
in  camp,  piled  them  all  on  a fire  and  burned  them  up. 

“There  we  were,  left  without  any  arms  whatever  ex- 
cept a few  sabres  and  Colt’s  revolvers.  Captain  Veale 
sent  a message  to  the  commanding  officer  at  Fort  Leaven- 
worth that  if  he  wanted  us  to  go  further  to  send  arms. 
In  two  weeks  they  sent  us  some  Sharp ’s  carbines  and  we 
carried  them  through  the  war.  We  went  south  next  and 
were  at  the  battles  of  Big  Blue,  Lone  Jack,  Dry  Wood, 
Lincoln,  West  Point,  Morristown,  Osceola,  two  engage- 
ments at  Eutonia,  the  Jim  Lane  expedition  to  Springfield, 
leaving  Kansas  City  October  1st  and  returning  Decem- 
ber 8th. 

“On  July  3,  1862,  under  the  command  of  Col.  Bill 
Wier,  we  captured  a part  of  Stan  Watie’s  regiment,  in- 
cluding Colonel  Adair  in  command.  Camped  at  Wolf 
Creek,  on  the  Military  Road,  July  4th,  and  on  the  6th 
Colonel  Ross  came  in  arid  surrendered  with  600  men. 
Returned  to  Fort  Scott  about  August  13th  and  took  a 
trip  up  through  Missouri,  through  Spring  River  and 
Sarcoxie,  which  latter  place  we  left  October  3rd  and 
traveled  all  night,  routing  the  enemy  on  the  6th.  We 
went  to  Bentonville  on  tlje  21st,  and  had  a fight  with 
Cooper’s  command  at  Maysville  or  Fort  Wayne  on  the 
22nd,  taking  four  pieces  of  artillery;  went  on  a scout 
to  Cincinnati  and  Cane  Hill,  had  a fight  November  28th 
at  the  latter  place,  and  camped  at  Rae’s  Mills  on  the 
29th;  moved  the  train  and  had  a fight  at  Prairie  Grove, 
December  6th;  moved  the  train  from  Fayetteville  back 
to  Rae’s  Mills  on  the  9th,  and  started  on  the  Van  Buren 
expedition  on  the  27th.  We  next  had  a fight  and  routed 
the  First  Texas  Regiment  at  Dripping  Springs,  on  the 
28th,  running  them  to  and  through  Van  Buren.  At 
Van  Buren  I climbed  the  flagstaff,  hauled  down  the 
Confederate  flag  and  hoisted  our  company ’s  ‘ Old  Glory.  ’ 

“We  next  went  on  a scout  down  the  Arkansas  River 
on  the  29th,  but  returned  to  Rae’s  Mills  on  the  31st; 
camped  at  Cross  Hollow,  January  12,  1863,  camped  on 
White  River  on  the  20th,  and  swam  the  White  River  on 
the  24th  with  sabre,  pistols  and  overcoat  on.  Returning 
to  Fort  Scott  March  10,  we  camped  at  Rolla  June  7,  and 
July  1,  1863,  came  back  to  Fort  Scott.  On  August  6th 
we  camped  at  Fort  Gibson,  and  on  the  26th  had  a fight 
with  Cooper’s  command  at  Perryville.  then  returning  to 
the  Arkansas  River  and  camping  at  Fort  Davis  on  the 
21st.  We  next  moved  to  Camp  Smith  and  camped  on 
the  north  bank  of  the  Arkansas  River,  March  26,  1864, 
starting  on  the  Camden  expedition  from  that  place. 
We  formed  a junction  with  Steele’s  command  on  the 
Little  Missouri  River,  April  9,  and  this  command  formed 
a line  of  battle  and  skirmished  with  the  Confederates 
on  the  following  day.  Our  division  and  Steele’s  formed 
a line  and  laid  on  our  arms  during  the  day  and  night  of 
the  11th  and  on  the  morning  of  the  12th  the  army  was 
ordered  forward  in  solid  column,  the  Confederates  re- 
treating and  our  army,  moving  to  the  left.  General 


2084 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Thayer’s  division  had  a fight  in  the' rear  with  Price’s 
division,  driving  the  latter  two  miles.  We  marched  all 
night  on  the  13th,  camped  at  Camden  on  the  16th,  sent 
out  a foraging  trip  of  440  wagons  on  the  17th,  the 
Confederates  attacking  and  capturing  the  same  and 
taking  also  our  two  12-pound  Howitzers,  which  were 
the  pets  of  the  regiment.  On  the  19th  Steele  sent  out  a 
train  to  Pine  Bluff,  of  about  500  six-mule  teams  which 
were  also  captured  by  the  Southerners.  We  then  moved 
one  mile  northeast  of  Camden,  where  the  enemy  fired 
on  our  pickets  on  the  16th  of  April,  and  we  then  moved 
across  Washita  River,  cut  up  eighty-three  wagons,  burned 
most  of  our  camp  equipment,  and  marched  five  miles 
on  the  26th.  On  the  27th  we  marched  thirteen  miles  and 
camped  at  Princeton,  and  on  the  28th  marched  seventeen 
miles.  The  Confederates  had  fought  with  the  rear  guard 
on  the  26th,  and  we  then  moved  the  train,  artillery  and 
cavalry  across  the  Saline  River  on  a rubber  pontoon 
bridge,  the  infantry  remaining  on  the  west  side.  We 
had  a hard  fight  with  Kirby  Smith  and  Price  and  drove 
them  back  with  heavy  loss,  the  Second  Colored  Infantry 
capturing  two  pieces  of  artillery.  We  moved  five  miles 
and  secured  something  to  eat,  crossed  at  Jenkins  Ferry 
April  30,  1864,  moved  thirty  miles  and  buried  the  bal- 
ance of  our  train  May  1st,  reached  Little  Rock  on  the 
3rd,  crossed  the  Arkansas  River  at  Little  Rock  on  the 
8th,  and  arrived  at  Fort  Smith,  May  17tli.  We  then 
marched  six  miles  south  of  that  place  and  camped  on 
the  south  side  of  Mazard’s  Prairie  on  the  29th,  and  had 
a review  and  went  to  a dance  on  the  9th  of  July.  Gano ’s 
Confederates,  about  1900  strong,  attacked  our  camp  of 
about  200  men  on  July  22nd  at  7 o’clochk,  A.  M.,  and 
killed  about  thirteen  of  us,  wounded  twenty  and  took 
125  prisoners,  but  my  mule  ‘Chaney’  (the  best  animal 
on  earth)  took  me  out  safe.  We  moved  the  camp  to 
Fort  Smith  on  the  27th  and  when  the  Confederates  drove 
in  our  pickets,  the  Sixth  Kansas  went  out  with  Colonel 
Judson  in  command  and  scrimmaged  a little,  the  colonel 
getting  hit  in  the  leg  with  grape  shot.  We  were  then  re- 
enforced by  two  pieces  of  Smith’s  battery  and  dis- 
mounted one  of  the  Confederate  guns,  driving  them  out 
of  the  woods  on  the  31st.  On  October  13th  we  camped 
at  Fort  Gibson,  and  at  Baxter  Springs  on  the  21st,  and 
marched  up  Cow  Creek,  where  the  enemy  captured  and 
burnt  the  train,  on  the  23rd.  We  reached  Fort  Scott 
on  that  same  day,  and  two  days  later  Generals  Marma- 
duke  and  Cable  were  taken  prisoners  with  448  men  from 
Price’s  army,  twelve  miles  northeast  of  Fort  Scott.  We 
reached  Kansas  City  October  13,  1864.  I never  lost  a 
day ’s  duty  or  took  a dose  of  medicine,  was  never 
wounded,  and  was  discharged  in  January,  1865.  The 
above  is  merely  an  outline  of  the  many  incidents  which 
occurred  during  the  service  of  myself  and  comrades  in 
the  old  Sixth  Kansas  Volunteer  Cavalry.” 

After  the  close  of  his  military  services,  Mr.  Bartles 
returned  to  the  home  of  his  father,  and  continued  to  be 
associated  with  him  until  his  marriage  in  1868,  at  which 
time  he  located  on  his  wife ’s  farm  in  Wyandotte  County, 
Kansas,  remaining  there  until  1873.  In  that  year,  at 
Silver  Lake,  a point  six  miles  southeast  of  the  present 
location  of  Bartlesville,  and  in  a log  house,  Mr.  Bartles 
commenced  his  career  as  a merchant.  In  1874  he  built 
a better  'building  and  moved  his  stock  there,  and  in 
1877  built  the  first  flour  mill  in  Indian  Territory,  on 
Caney  River,  northeast  of  where  Bartlesville  now  stands. 
In  1878  he  built  a two-story  frame  building,  25  by  100 
feet,  near  the  mill,  for  a storeroom  and  residence  and 
moved  to  it.  In  1878  he  planted  the  first  wheat  grown 
on  Caney  River  and  the  followng  year  furnished  seed 
to  other  farmers  in  order  to  increase  wheat  growing, 
an  industry  in  which  he  continued  to  be  engaged  for  a 
number  of  years,  raising  his  banner  crop  of  45,000 


bushels  in  the  early  ’90s.  During  the  same  period  Mr. 
Bartles  engaged  in  the  cattle  raising  business,  in  the 
walnut  log  and  lumber  business  at  various  places  in 
the  Cherokee  Nation,  and  in  the  mercantile  business  at 
Alluwee,  Pawhuska,  Claremore,  Milltown,  Nowata  and 
Old  Bartlesville.  Mr.  Bartles  also  built  what  is  now 
the  Santa  Fe  Railroad  from  Caney,  Kansas,  to  Collins- 
ville, Oklahoma,  in  1898-1899,  and  moved  to  Dewey  in 
the  following  year. 

The  Turkey  Creek  store  and  residence,  in  which  his 
son,  Joseph  A.  Bartles,  was  born,  was  moved  to  the 
mill  at  Old  Bartlesville,  and  there  used  as  a furniture 
and  cabinet  shop  and  later  was  moved  to  Dewey  and 
is  now  the  home  of  the  Dewey  World.  The  two-story 
frame  store  and  residence  erected  at  the  mill  was  made 
of  black  walnut  and  was  the  best  building  in  the 
Cherokee  Nation  when  erected  with  the  exception  of 
the  capitol  building  at  Tahlequah.  This  building  was 
also  moved  to  Dewey,  stood  across  the  street  from  the 
First  National  Bank,  and  now  stands  opposite  the  Hotel 
Dewey,  which  Mr.  Bartles  built  in  1889  and  which 
always  continued  to  be  his  home. 

Mr.  Bartles  always  referred  with  pride  to  the  fact 
that  during  his  early  business  career  in  Indian  Territory, 
he  had  in  his  employ  J.  F.  Campbell  of  Nowata,  John 
Bullet  of  Claymore,  George  B.  Keeler,  William  Johnstone, 
N.  T.  Carr  and  Frank  Overlees  of  Bartlesville,  A.  H. 
Gibson  of  Pawhuska  and  H.  M.  Brent  of  Dewey.  He 
added  that  these  men,  many  of  whom  are  now  leading 
citizens  of  Oklahoma,  were  all  faithful  employes  and 
that  it  was  very  gratifying  to  him  to  know  that  they 
had  become  prosperous,  prominent  business  men  of 
the  communities  in  which  they  made  their  homes. 

On  October  1,  1868,  at  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  Mr. 
Bartles  was  married  to  Mrs.  Nannie  M.  ( Journeycake) 
Pratt,  who  was  born  August  28,  1843,  a daughter  of  the 
Rev.  Charles  and  Jane  (Sancia)  Journeycake.  They 
moved  to  the  Cherokee  Nation  in  1873  and  there  were 
remarried  according  to  the  laws  and  customs  of  the 
Cherokee  Nation.  Rev.  Charles  Journeycake  was  a 
chief  of  the  Delawares  and  an  ordained  Baptist  clergy- 
man and  did  missionary  work  all  through  the  territory, 
never  accepting  one  cent  for  his  services,  but  making 
his  own  living  by  farming.  He  was  the  organizer  of 
the  Baptist  Church  at  Alluwee.  He  died  in  1894  and 
Mrs.  Journeycake  in  1893.  Their  children  were  as  fol- 
lows: Mary  E.,  deceased,  who  married  Charles  H.  Arm- 

strong; Rachel,  deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of  N.  J. 
Tanner;  Nannie  M.,  who  is  the  widow  of  Colonel 
Bartles;  Lucy  Jane,  deceased, , who  was  the  wife  of 
Henry  Armstrong;  Baron  Stowe,  who  died  at  the  age  of 
three  years;  Emeline,  who  is  the  wife  of  J.  E.  Campbell 
of  Nowata;  Adeline,  deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of 
Samuel  Love;  Anna,  deceased,  who  married  Henry  Arm- 
strong, the  widower  of  her  sister  Lucy;  Cora  Lee,  de- 
ceased, who  was  the  wife  of  William  Carey,  and  an 
infant  daughter,  deceased 

Mrs.  Bartles  was  given  excellent  educational  advan- 
tages, attending  the  Delaware  Baptist  Mission  at  Den 
nison,  Kansas,  and  spending  one  year  in  the  Baptist 
College,  at  Granville,  Ohio.  She  Vas  the  first  Christian 
woman  along  the  Caney  River,  and  on  one  occasion  con- 


given 
perna 
and  li 
listing 
lueste 


ducted  the  funeral  services  over  an  infant,  there  being;  pa  the  i 


no  minister  near.  She  has  always  been  an  active  religious 
worker,  organized  the  Baptist  Church  at  Dewey,  and  y, 
has  held  all  offices  in  the  church  and  Sunday  school," 
having  been  church  clerk  until  1913.  In  1904  Mrs. 
Bartles  conceived  the  idea  of  building,  a monument  to 
the  memory  of  her  father,  and  also  of  aiding  the  Baptist 
Church  work  in  the  Town  of  Dewey.  The  present  beau- 
tiful memorial  Baptist  Church  of  Dewey  is  the  out- 
growth of  that  idea,  the  church  being  completed  at  a 


lepmer 
and  it  i 
tali 
ff  an 
if' the 


ietermii 

bit  of 

fhe  Coi 
itertaii 
if  Mr. 
ias  Wei 
lai 


raliaj 
lack  Tlii 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2085 


cost  of  $5,000,  and  is  known  as  The  Journeycake 
Memorial  Baptist  Church  of  Dewey.  The  dedicatory 
services  were  held  Sunday,  November  25,  1906,  when 
Rev.  J.  S.  Murrow,  a venerable  Indian  missionary  of 
Atoka,  Indian  Territory,  conducted  the  services. 

Mrs.  Bartles  was  married  first  to  L.  B.  Pratt,  who 
was  first  engaged  in  the  lumber  business  at  Leavenworth 
but  turned  his  attention  to  farming  when  his  health 
failed.  He  went  from  Shurtleff  to  Denison,  and 
graduated  from  the  latter  institution.  His  death  oc- 
curred in  1865,  he  having  been  the  father  of  three  chil- 
dren: Nonie,  born  March  2,  1861,  who  married  J.  J. 

Barndollar,  of  Coffeyville,  Kansas,  and  has  one  son, 
Pratt;  'Ella  May,  born  May  14,  1863,  who  married 
Prank  Neilson,  of  Coffeyville,  Kansas,  and  has  one 
daughter,  Nonie;  and  Ida  P.,  born  November  7,  1865, 
who  married  A.  H.  Gibson,  of  Coffeyville,  Kansas,  afid 
has  one  daughter,  Mary  Ella.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bartles 
were  the  parents  of  two  children:  Charles,  born  August 
13,  1869,  who  died  September  6,  1870;  and  Joseph  A., 
born  December  15,  1873,  who  now  resides  at  Dewey. 

Colonel  Bartles  always  took  the  greatest  interest  in 
the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic,  and  it  is  with  a large 
degree  of  satisfaction  that  the  members  of  his  family 
reflect  upon  the  great  pleasure  which  came  to  him  when 
he  entertained  the  survivors  of  his  regiment,  the  Sixth 
Kansas  Cavalry,  in  a three  days’  reunion  at  Dewey,  in 
September,  1908.  A very  sick  man  at  the  time  he  was 
still  able  to  attend  most  of  the  campfires  and  those 
present  will  never  forget  his  beaming  countenance  as  he 
beat  time  to  the  campaign  songs.  A short  account,  as 
copied  from  one  of  the  local  newspapers,  is  herewith 
given:  “Dressed  in  gala  attire,  with  flags,  bunting, 

pennants  and  streamers  flying  from  every  available  pole 
and  building  around  the  square,  Dewey  is  this  week  as- 
They  sisting  Uncle  'Jake’  Bartles  in  the  entertainment  of  his 
guests,  the  survivors  of  the  Sixth  Kansas  Cavalry.  This 
is  the  twenty-fourth  annual  reunion  of  the  famous  old 
regiment  and  all  of  the  survivors,  who  are  in  attendance, 
are  the  guests  at  the  Dewey  Hotel  of  J.  H.  Bartles. 
The  illness  of  the  latter,  who  is  confined  to  his  cot  on 
the  veranda  of  the  hotel,  serves  to  mar  the  pleasure  of 
the  occasion.  Mr.  Bartles  is  able,  however,  to  sit  up 
and  converse  with  his  guests  who  are  coming  to  the 
entertainment  on  every  incoming  train.  In  connection 
with  the  entertainment  of  his  old  regiment,  which  will 
last  three  days,  Mr.  Bartles  has  arranged  for  a general 
reunion  which  will  be  attended  by  the  old  soldiers  of  all 
regiments.  This  is  the  first  day  of  the  entertainment 
and  it  is  starting  with  a swing  that  promises  to  make  it 
a notable  event.  The  crowds  began  gathering  late  yester- 
day and  today  the  people  are  coming  from  all  points 
of  the  compass.  Dewey  threatens  to  be  taxed  to  the 
extreme  in  caring  for  her  guests,  but  the  people  have 
letermined  to  render  all  assistance  they  can  to  make  the 
visit  of  'Uncle  Jake’s’  guests  as  pleasant  as  possible. 
The  Commercial  Club  is  taking  a leading  part  in  the 
intertainment.  The  old  cannon  brought  from  Washington 


Baptist  oy  Mr.  Bartles  was  brought  down  from  Sedan,  a band 
■ las  been  secured  for  the  three  days  and  nights  and  excur- 
sions have  been  arranged  on  the  Cement  company’s  road 
find  the  interurban  to  Bartlesville.  ’ ’ 

It  was  not  long  after  the  foregoing  was  written  that 
Colonel  Bartles  passed  away,  at  6 o’clock,  A.  M., 
Ictober  18,  1908.  His  death,  which  was  due  to  Bright’s 
lisease,  occurred  at  the  Bartles  Hotel,  Dewey,  it  being 
ibout  four  years  from  the  time  that  the  disease  had 
irst  demonstrated  itself.  With  his  old  spirit  and  energy, 
le  valiantly  battled  against  it,  and  the  courage  and 
pluck  which  had  characterized  his  entire  life  probably 


added  a year  or  more  to  it.  It  will  not  be  inappropriate 
to  close  this  all  too  inadequate  a review  of  one  of  Okla- 
homa’s builders  and  benefactors,  to  quote  from  an  article 
which  appeared  in  the  Dewey  Sentinel,  June  9,  1911, 
and  which  was  written  by  Judge  Andrew  H.  Norwood; 
a lifelong  friend  of  Colonel  Bartles,  and  himself  a 
pioneer  of  this  country  and  familiar  with  its  develop- 
ment during  the  past  half  a century.  The  article  re- 
ferred to  says  in  part: 

“In  1872  Capt.  J.  H.  Bartles  with  his  family  located 
at  Silver  Lake,  a few  miles  south  of  Dewey,  and  opened 
a store  and  at  the  same  time  put  in  a sawmill  on  the 
Verdigris  River,  some  twenty-five  miles  east,  the  mill 
being  the  first  institution  of  the  kind  ever  seen  in  this 
section  of  the  country.  After  two  or  three  years  he 
moved  his  store  and  residence  to  Whiteturkey  Creek 
and  continued  business  there  for  several  years  and  at 
the  same  time  opened  a big  farm  just  west  of  this 
city  and  used  every  means  within  his  power  to  pro- 
mote agricultural  development  and  achieved  great  suc- 
cess in  that  direction. 

“Then  he  began  the  construction  of  the  big  flouring 
mill  that  still  stands  a monument  to  his  energy  and 
enterprise  on  the  bank  of  the  Caney,  some  three  miles 
south  of  the  city.  He  entered  upon  this  undertaking 
against  the  strenuous  advice  of  his  family  and  friends, 
whose  opposition  was  of  such  a character  as  would  have 
discouraged  a less  sturdy  and  determined  man.  In  a 
few  years  he  had  induced  many  farmers  to  locate 
throughout  the  surrounding  country  and  develop  wheat 
lands,  furnished  them  seed  and  implements  on  long  credit 
and  in  other  substantial  ways  helping  them  to  get  a 
start,  until  eventually  he  demonstrated  that  this  valley 
was  one  of  the  greatest  wheat  producing  sections  of  the 
world,  and  his  mill  and  store  became  one  of  the  greatest 
distributing  points  in  the  Southwest.  At  the  same  time 
he  was  extensively  engaged  in  the  cattle  business  and 
many  other  enterprises  all.  of  which  proved  successful. 

“This  industrialism  and  enormous  productiveness  was 
hampered  by  the  primitive  methods  of  transportation 
prevailing  at  that  time  and  to  overcome  this  disadvantage 
Colonel  Bartles  conceived  the  idea  of  building  a railroad 
and  telegraph  and  telephone  lines  and  thus  to  get  in 
closer  touch  with  the  outside  world.  He  organized  a 
company  and  became  its  president  and  general  manager 
and  at  his  own  expense  began  at  once  the  construction 
from  Caney,  Kansas,  south  of  what  is  now  the  Atchison, 
Topeka  & Santa  Fe  Railroad,  and  when  graded  from 
Caney  to  Collinsville,  he  sold  it  to  the  company  under 
whose  name  it  is  now  operated.  Desiring  a more  suitable 
location  than  the  one  on  the  river  and  one  better  adapted 
to  all  his  pursuits  and  varied  interests,  he  came  up  on 
to  the  high  rolling  prairie  about  four  miles  north  and 
laid  out  and  platted  a townsite,  and  commemorative  of 
the  world-famed  hero  whose  marvelous  exploit  in  Manila 
Bay  just  at  that  time  had  stirred  the  civilized  world 
and  fired  the  hearts  of  his  countrymen  with  a military 
ardor  almpst  beyond  conception — Admiral  George 
Dewey — he  gave  to  the  future  city  the  name  of  Dewey. 
This  was  accomplished  in  1898  and  Colonel  Bartles  pro- 
ceeded to  move  his  holdings  on  the  river  to  the  new 
town,  the  most  healthful,  beautiful  and  accessible  point 
on  the  line  of  his  new  railroad  and  away  from  floods, 
marshes,  swamps,  impure  water,  and  in  every  way 
superior  to  his  former  location  on  the  river  or  what  is 
now  the  city  of  Bartlesville. 

“It  has  been  charged  that  Colonel  Bartles  founded 
Dewey  in  a spirit  of  selfishness  and  self  aggrandizement, 
prompted  by  a desire  to  obliterate  the  growing  settle- 
ment of  Bartlesville  that  had  sprung  into  existence  at 
his  former  location  on  the  river,  the  fact  of  its  growth 


2086 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


bringing  into  existence  interests  competitive  with  his 
own.  The  statement  is  unfounded  in  fact  and  conceived 
in  fiction  and  refuted  by  the  footprints  along  the  trail 
of  his  indefatigable  efforts  to  develop  a new  country, 
-every  change  he  made  being  inspired  by  advancing  con- 
ditions of  the  development  he  sought  and  an  ambition, 
to  conserve  to  the  utmost  the  rapidly  growing  com- 
mercial and  community  interests  of  the  wonderful  new 
country  he  loved  and  whose  future  greatness  was  re- 
vealed to  this  remarkable  man  and  pioneer  almost  with 
the  eye  of  prophecy. 

‘ ‘ In  passing  from  the  story  of  the  birth  of  Dewey  to 
Col.  J.  H.  Bartles,  its  founder,  a tribute  is  due.  He  was 
the  pioneer  merchant,  miller  and  farmer  and  was  the 
first  man  to  establish  in  the  state  electric  light  and 
waterworks  plant;  was  always  the  first  and  foremost 
and  the  most  liberal  in  promoting  educational,  moral 
and  all  public  utilities  and  in  all  these  undertakings  was 
generous  to  a fault.  In  founding  and  building  Dewey 
he  was  prompted  and  governed  by  the  same  spirit  and 
judgment  that  had  directed  his  actions  throughout  the 
whole  of  his  busy  and  successful  life.  In  1908  he  died 
after  laying  down  his  manifold  interests  and  with  the 
happy  reflection  that  Dewey  was  on  the  high  road  to  a 
realization  of  his  ambitions  of  a splendid  city,  and  time 
and  the  future  will  reveal  that  there  was  nothing  chimer- 
ical in  his  scheme  to  meet  the  demands  of  a new  and 
magnificent  commonwealth,  and  this  city  will  remain  for 
all  time  a monument  to  his  genius  and  magnanimity.” 

Archibald  W.  Turner.  At  Alexandria,  the  judicial 
center  of  Eapides  County,  Louisiana,  July  9,  1869, 
recorded  the  birth  of  the  present  county  attorney  of 
Payne  County,  Oklahoma,  and  in  the  vital  young  state 
of  his  adoption  he  has  gained  secure  place  as  one  of 
the  able  and  successful  members  of  its  bar;  his  place  of 
residence  has  been  City  of  Stillwater,  the  county  seat, 
since  1911. 

Mr.  Turner  is  a scion  of  one  of  the  patrician  old 
French  families  that  was  founded  in  New  Orleans,  Louisi- 
ana, when  that  state  was  still  a province,  and  the  original 
orthography  of  the  family  name  was  Tournaire.  Mr. 
Turner. is  a son  of  Squire  Turner  and  Sally  (Stone) 
Turner,  and  his  father  was  born  in  Louisiana,  where 
he  was  reared  and  educated,  and  where  he  continued  to 
maintain  his  home  until  1872,  when,  immediately  after 
his  marriage,  he  removed  to  Missouri,  his  father,  Archi- 
bald Tournaire,  having  been  a native  of  France  and 
having  come  to  America  soon  after  the  battle  of  Waterloo 
brought  disaster  to  the  imperial  forces  of  the  great 
Napoleon,  under  whom  he  had  served  as  a soldier  in  a 
cavalry  command.  Upon  coming  to  America  he  estab- 
lished his  residence  in  Louisiana,  and  he  was  the  owner 
of  a fine  plantation  near  Alexandria,  Eapides  Parish, 
that  state,  at  the  time  of  his  death.  The  mother  of  the 
subject  of  this  review  was  born  at  Eiehmond,  Kentucky, 
and  she  now  passes  her  time  in  the  homes  of  her  children, 
who  accord  to  her  the  deepest  filial  love  and  solicitude, 
she  having  celebrated  in  1915  the  seventy-second  anni- 
versary of  her  birth,  and  her  honored  husband  having 
died  at  Columbia,  Boone  County,  Missouri,  in  1906,  at 
the  age  of  seventy-two  years.  Mrs.  Turner  is  of  stanch 
Scotch  lineage,  her  ancestors  having  settled  in  Maryland 
in  the  colonial  era  of  our  national  history,  and  representa- 
tives of  the  family  having  been  valiant  soldiers  of  the 
Continental  line  in  the  war  of  the  Eevolution,  and  one 
of  her  ancestors,  Thomas  Stone,  having  been  a signer 
of  the  Declaration  of  Independence.  He  whose  name 
initiates  this  article  is  the  eldest  in  a family  of  three 
children : Mary  Hood  is  the  wife  of  Edward  W.  Hinton, 

who  is  head  of  the  chair  of  evidence  and  pleading  in  the 
law  department  of  the  great  University  of  Chicago;  and 


Catherine  Elizabeth  is  the  wife  of  Judge  Oliver  M. 
Spencer,  who  resides  in  St.  Joe,  Missouri,  and  who  is  now 
chief  counsel  of  the  Chicago,  Burlington  & Quincy  Bail-] 
road  Company  for  the  territory  west  of  the  Mississippi! 
Eiver. 

Archibald  W.  Turner  was  about  three  years  old  ati 
the  time  of  the  family  removal  to  Columbia,  Boone! 
County,  Missouri,  where  he  was  reared  to  maturity,  and 
where  he  acquired  his  early  education  in  the  public; 
schools.  There  he  was  graduated  in  the  law  department 
of  the  University  of  Missouri,  as  a member  of  the  class, 
of  1892,  and  after  thus  receiving  his  degree  of  Bachelor] 
of  Laws  he  continued  to  be  engaged  in  the  practice  of 
his  profession  at  Columbia  until  1908,  when  he  came 
to  the  newly  organized  State  of  Oklahoma  and  engaged] 
in  practice  at  Altus,  county  seat  of  Jackson  County.] 
About  one  year  later  he  removed  to  Hobart,  judicial 
edhter  of  Kiowa  County,  and  in  1911  he  established  his 
permanent  home  at  Stillwater,  the  thriving  capital  of 
Payne  County,  where  he  has  since  continued  in  the  sue] 
cessful  general  practice  of  law  and  has  built  up  a sub] 
stantial  and  representative  business,  in  connectiou  with 
which  he  has  appeared  in  much  of  the  important  litigation 
in  the  courts  of  this  section  of  the  state.  He  served  two 
terms  as  city  attorney  of  Columbia,  Missouri,  and  in 
1914  he  was  elected  county  attorney  of  Payne  County, 
an  office  in  which  he  is  giving  a most  vigorous  ami 
effective  administration.  Mr.  Turner  is  a stalwart  in  the 
local  camp  of  the  democratic  party,  is  a loyal  and  pro- 
gressive citizen,  and  in  a fraternal  way  he  is  affiliated 
with  the  lodge  of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Ordcf 
of  Elks  at  Hobart. 

In  1910  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Titrnej 
to  Mrs.  Clara  Farley,  whose  first  husband  is  survived 
by  one  son,  Max,  a sturdy  boy  who  gives  cheer  to  the 
home  circle,  no  children  having  been  born  to  Mr.  and!  liis  a 
Mrs.  Turner. 

Mr.  Turner’s  paternal  and  maternal  ancestors  were 
slave  holders,  and  both  families  were  earnest  supporter 
of  the  Confederate  cause  during  the  period  of  the  Civi 
war.  It  is  thus  but  natural  that  Mr.  Turner  himsel 
should  retain  a full  sympathy  with  the  principles  foi 
which  the  Southern  States  contended  as  their  inhereii 
right,  though  his  loyalty  to  the  now  undivided  nation  o 
his  birth  is  of  the  most  insistent  order. 


his  f, 


partic 


Ionia,  i 
■ Wife 


Hon.  Wilbereorce  Jones.  Among  the  leaders  of  th 
Payne  County  bar,  no  name  is  held  in  higher  esteenj 
than  that  of  Hon.  Wilberforee  Jones,  a thorough,  learnec 
and  talented  legist,  a practical  citizen  of  public-spiritec 
views  and  a courteous,  finished  gentleman  of  the  oli  ileCm 
school.  He  has  been  engaged  in  practice  at  Cush  in 
since  January  1,  1913,  and  during  this  time  has  add© 
to  the  reputation  which  he  gained  first  in  Missouri  an 
later  in  Lincoln  County,  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Jones  was  bor. 
in  Cass  County,  Michigan,  April  27,  1846,  and  is  a so: 
of  William  H.  and  Catherine  (Messike)  Jones. 

The  great-grandfather  of  Wilberforee  Jones  was  th 
original  settler  of  the  family  in  America,  coming  froi 
Wales  and  locating  in  Virginia  as  early  as  1792.  Late 
he  became  a pioneer  of  Madison  County,  Indiana,  sei 
tling  on  virgin  land  in  the  vicinity  of  what  is  nojj 
Pendleton,  where  he  passed  the  remaining  years  of  h]  11,1863, 
life  in  clearing  the  timber  and  brush,  draining 
swamps,  and  making  a home  for  his  family.  His  deal 
occurred  in  1835.  His  son,  Smith  Jones,  was  born  : 
Virginia  and  accompanied  his  parents  to  Indiana,  whe: 
his  early  years  were  passed  amid  pioneer  surrounding 


tl  SCompai 

;a1  sued  nnt 

fill,  Sep 


He  was  an  industrious  and  energetic  man  and  throng  ISM,  nnde 


years  of  hard  work  managed  to  accumulate  a satisfyii 
property.  His  death  occurred  in  1834,  in  Indiana,  ai 
there  the  grandmother  also  died. 


f:  Mi 
M the 
only 
feaici 
Ktifying 
Parade,  a 
plwarts 


•i  faithf 


fcfeld 
•Mam  I 
min  agC) 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2087 


William  H.  Jones  was  born  near  Pendleton,  Madison 
County,  Indiana,  in  1818,  and  after  a number  of  years 
spent  in  farming  there  went  to  Cass  County,  Michigan. 
In  the  spring  of  1853  he  started  from  Michigan  in  an 
ox-team,  traveling  slowly  across  the  country  and  finally 
arriving  at  his  destination  in  Brown  County,  Kansas, 
in  November  of  that  year,  and  locating  in  the  vicinity 
of  what  is  now  Hiawatha.  He  was  an  abolitionist  and 
became  a squatter  under  the  Abolition  Aid  Society.  This 
was  at  a time  when  the  slavery  and  abolition  parties  were 
engaged  in  a series  of  conflicts,  which  continued  for  sev- 
eral years,  fights  taking  place,  towns  being  burned,  and 
illegal  voting  freely  indulged  in.  In  these  contests 
William  H.  Jones  was  a frequent  participant.  In  1855 
there  came  to  Kansas  John  Brown,  who  afterward  fre- 
quently made  his  headquarters  at  the  home  of  Mr.  Jones, 
but  the  latter,  while  a warm  friend  of  this  impulsive 
opponent  of  slavery,  endeavored  in  every  way  to  keep 
him  from  going  to  Virginia,  trying  to  impress  upon  him 
tha  fact  that  his  act  would  be  looked  upon  as  one  of 
treason.  Wilberforee  Jones  still  retains  a vivid  memory 
of  John  Brown,  who,  as  is  known,  went  to  Virginia, 
surprised  and  captured  the  arsenal  at  Harper’s  Perry, 
October  16,  1859,  but  on  the  following  day  was  wounded 
and  captured  and  taken  a prisoner  by  the  Virginia 
militia,  and  was  tried  and  executed  at  Charlestown, 
December  2,  1859.  Mr.  Jones  remembers  that  his  father 
traveled  with  Brown  through  Kansas,  that  they  would 
t\ilk  for  hours,  and  that  for  one  whole  day  Brown  pleaded 
with  the  elder  Jones  to  become  one  of  the  party  in  the 
journey  to  Virginia  that  resulted  so  disastrously. 

During  the  Civil  war  William  H.  Jones  served  the 
Union  cause  as  captain  of  Company  B,  First  United 
States  Colored  Infantry,  and  at  the  close  of  the  struggle 
returned  to  Kansas,  where  for  a short  time  he  resumed 
his  agricultural  operations.  In  1866  he  removed  with 
his  family  to  Jasper  County,  Missouri,  and  that  state 
continued  to  be  his  home  until  his  retirement  from  active 
participation  in  farming  and  stock  raising,  when  he 
removed  to  San  Benito  County,  California.  There  he 
died  in  1893.  Mr.  Jones  was  married  at  Pendleton, 
Indiana,  to  Catherine  Messike.  who  was  born  in  Hardin 
County,  Kentucky,  and  reared  in  Indiana,  and  whose 
death  occurred  in  San  Benito  County,  California,  in  1899, 
when  she  was  seventy-six  years  of  age.  They  were  the 
parents  of  four  sons:  Chester  G.,  who  served  in  Com- 

pany A,  Ninth  Kansas  Cavalry,  for  4%  years  during  the 
Civil  war  period,  and  died  at  Hiawatha,  Kansas,  in  1905; 
D.  C.,  of  Newton  County,  Missouri,  who  served  1%  years 
as  a member  of  the  Thirteenth  Kansas  Infantry  during 
the  Civil  war;  Wilberforee;  and  James  M.,  whose  death 
occurred  in  a runaway  accident  at  San  Francisco,  Cali- 
fornia, in  1912. 

Wilberforee  Jones  was  a lad  of  seven  years  when  he 
accompanied  his  parents  in  the  long  overland  journey 
from  Michigan  to  Kansas,  and  his  boyhood  was  passed 
amid  the  turbulent  scenes  that  preceded  secession.  He 
was  only  ten  years  of  age  when  he  began  to  show  his 
allegiance  to  the  republican'  party  by  carrying  a banner 
ratifying  the  nomination  of  Fremont  in  a republican 
parade,  and  from  that  time  to  the  present  has  been  a 
stalwart  supporter  of  the  Grand  Old  Party.  On  February 
26,  1863,  when  not  yet  seventeen  years  of  age,  he  enlisted 
in  Company  C,  Seventh  Kansas  Cavalry,  with  which  he 
,y  served  until  receiving  his  honorable  discharge  at  Leaven- 
worth, September  29.  1865,  participating  in  a number  of 
engagements,  and,  despite  his  youth,  displaying  courage 
and  faithfulness  to  duty  at  all  times.  In  November, 
tronj  1864,  under  special  act  of  Congress  allowing  soldiers 
jjfyi  in  the  field  to  vote,  he  cast  his  first  ballot,  in  support  of 
aai  Abraham  Lincoln.  His  vote  was  challenged,  as  he  was 
1 under  age,  but-Adjt.  Maj.  John  Utt,  who  was  one  of 


the  judges  of  election,  demanded  that  he  be  permitted 
his  franchise  on  his  military  record. 

•After  the  war  Mr.  Jones  went  with  his  family  to 
Missouri,  but  soon  left  home  for  the  western  plains,  where 
he  spent  five  years  in  the  hard  and  exciting  life  of  the 
cowboy.  When  he  returned  to  Missouri  he  began  the 
study  of  law,  after  some  years  spent  in  farming,  and 
was  admitted  to  the  bar  at  West  Plains,  Missouri,  in 
1887,  with  permission  to  practice  in  the  state  and  federal 
courts.  He  soon  gained  an  important  and  satisfying 
practice  and  took  an  active  part  in  public  affairs,  and 
in  1899  was  elected  to  the  Fortieth  General  Assembly 
of  Missouri,  a body  in  which  he  discharged  his  duties 
capably  and  energetically.  He  remained  in  Missouri 
until  1906,  when  he  came  to  Oklahoma  and  settled  in 
Lincoln  County,  where  for  one  term,  1910  to  1912,  he 
served  in  the  capacity  of  county  attorney.  Since  Janu- 
ary 1,  1913,  his  field  of  practice  has  been  the  City  of 
Cushing,  where  he  is  recognized  as  one  of  Payne  County ’s 
most  able  practitioners.  Mr.  Jones  has  maintained  his 
interest  in  his  old  army  comrades  and  is  a valued  and 
popular  member  of  the  local  post  of  the  Grand  Army  of 
the  Republic,  and  was  department  commander  of  the 
Grand  Army  of  the  Republic  of  Oklahoma  in  1912. 
With  his  family  he  attends  the  Christian  Church. 

In  1887  Mr.  Jones  was  married  to  Miss  Laura  Roberts, 
who  was  born  in  1867,  in  Illinois,  and  to  this  union  there 
have  been  born  four  children:  Anna  Fay,  who  is  the 

wife  of  Fred  D.  Riddle,  of  Cushing;  George  W.,  a tele- 
graph operator  for  the  Prairie  Oil  and  Gas  Company  at 
Independence,  Oklahoma;  Lottie,  who  is  the  wife  of 
Jesse  Jones,  a telephone  operator  for  the  Magnum  Oil 
Company;  and  Walter  Wilberforee,  who  is  attending 
high  school  at  Cushing,  Oklahoma. 

Adam  Focht.  The  world  looks  on  with  peculiar  satis- 
faction and  pleasure  when  a career  of  struggle  and 
adversity  meets  an  overflowing  and  abundant  prosperity. 
None  could  justly  begrudge  Adam  Focht  and  wife  the 
fortune  that  has  rewarded  their  later  years.  Mr.  Focht 
was  one  of  the  early  settlers  in  Payne  County,  resides 
at  Stillwater,  has  been  a farmer  there  for  a quarter  of 
a century,  but  is  rapidly  being  made  wealthy  through  a 
foresighted  investment  he  made  a few  years  ago  in  Creek 
County,  where  he  owns  land  in  one  of  the  richest  oil 
fields  of  the  world. 

About  forty  years  ago  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Focht  were  com- 
bating with  grim  determination  and  industry  the  vicis- 
situdes of  life  on  the  western  prairies.  Both  had  been 
reared  in  Iowa  when  that  state  was  almost  on  the  frontier. 
They  married  and  started  life  poor.  After  renting  for 
a time  they  went  out  to  Gage  County,  Nebraska,  in  1875, 
at  the  time  the  Otoe  Indian  Reservation  was  opened  for 
settlement.  Adam  Focht  was  the  ninth  white  settler  to 
locate  on  that  reservation.  People  of  the  present  time 
have  difficulty  in  understanding  what  difficulties  and 
hardships  the  early  settlers  of  Nebraska  endured.  There 
was  a long  chain  of  evils,  dry  weather,  grasshoppers,  hot 
winds,  uncertain  crops,  lack  of  markets,  dugouts  and  sod 
houses,  and  hardly  was  one  obstacle  overcome  before 
another  even  greater  sprung  up. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Focht  struggled  along,  both  of  them 
hiring  out  at  times  in  order  to  make  a little  money  to  pay 
household  expenses.  At  one  time  it  seemed  that  their 
cup  of  misfortune  was  full  and  running  over.  Without 
money  in  the  house,  they  lost  their  only  cow,  and  one  of 
their  team  of  horses  was  crippled.  Mr.  Focht  wanted  to 
sell  his  claim  then,  but  his  wife  said  no,  stick  and  we 
will  get  along  some  way.  Persistence  has  its  reward. 
They  remained,  developed  a good  farm,  and  with  better 
times  they  had  some  money  when  they  came  to  Oklahoma, 
the  year  after  it  was  opened  to  settlement.  In  Payne 


2088 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


County  they  took  another  stake  in  a new  country,  and 
there  gradually  developed  a good  farm,  and  from  the 
proceeds  Mr.  Focht  was  able  to  buy  a tract  of  cheap 
land  in  Creek  County,  but  which  today  is  situated  in 
the  midst  of  the  great  oil  fields  around  Shamrock.  At 
the  present  writing  Mr.  Focht  has  twelve  producing  oil 
wells,  the  first  one  brought  in  on  December  23,  1915, 
and  the  last  one  only  a few  days  before  this  is  being 
written.  In  the  five  months  and  eight  days  from  Decem- 
ber 23,  1915,  to  June  12,  1916,  his  royalties  from  all 
amounted  to  $35,213.85.  There  is  still  room  for  more 
wells  on  his  farm  and  it  would  be  impossible  to  estimate 
the  ultimate  value  of  his  property.  Considering  all  they 
went  through  in  the  early  years,  certainly  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Focht  deserve  a bright  fortune  to  illuminate  their  clos- 
ing years.  Their  thought  now  is  chiefly  of  their  children, 
and  the  wealth  which  is  coming  in  from  the  royalties  is 
being  chiefly  invested  in  farms  for  his  sons. 

Adam  Focht  was  born  in  Auglaize  County,  Ohio,  April 
27,  1847,  a son  of  Lewis  and  Martha  (Balyliff)  Focht. 
His  father  was  born  in  Schuylkill  County,  Pennsylvania, 
of  German  ancestry.  The  mother  was  born  probably  in 
Philadelphia,  of  English  parentage,  and  she  was  reared  a 
Quaker.  They  were  married  in  Ohio,  and  the  mother 
died  there  at  the  age  of  thirty-two.  Later  the  father, 
who  was  a farmer,  moved  to  Fremont  County,  Iowa,  and 
bought  a farm  where  he  spent  the  rest  of  his  days,  dying 
at  the  age  of  seventy-five.  He  was  a democrat. 

Adam  Focht  was  about  seven  or  eight  years  of  age 
when  his  father  moved  out  to  Iowa.  He  grew  up  on 
the  home  farm,  and  received  a limited  education  in  the 
graded  schools.  When  about  seventeen  his  own  career 
of  adventure  began.  During  1862-63  he  crossed  the 
plains,  driving  a team  with  provisions  to  Julesburg, 
Colorado,  and  subsequently  taking  provisions  to  Fort 
Laramie,  Wyoming.  That  was  a time  when  the  Indians 
were  on  the  warpath,  and  he  witnessed  much  of  the 
exciting  scenes  of  the  period.  He  witnessed  a massacre 
in  1863  in  which  thirty-five  white  men  were  killed  by 
the  Indians  near  Poll  Creek.  Returning  home,  he  rented 
one  of  his  father’s  farms  for  three  years,  then  operated 
the  home  place  two  years,  and  in  the  meantime  having 
married  he  set  out  in  1875  for  the  recently  opened  Indian 
reservation  in  Gage  County,  Nebraska.  He  and  his  good 
wife  lived  there  for  thirteen  years. 

In  1890  he  came  to  Oklahoma  and  took  up  a home- 
stead in  Payne  County.  He  proved  up  his  claim,  and  has 
lived  there  ever  since,  though  he  also  has  a residence 
in  Stillwater  and  lived  there  for  the  purpose  of  educating 
his  children  in  the  local  schools.  While  his  family  were 
in  town  he  spent  most  of  his  time  on  the  farm. 

It  was  in  1911  that  Mr.  Focht  went  to  Creek  County 
and  bought  200  acres  near  where  the  Town  of  Shamrock 
now  stands.  In  1912  he  moved  to  this  land,  cleared 
some  of  it,  and  in  the  following  year  rented  it  to  his 
son.  Then  in  the  fall  of  1915  it  was  included  in  the 
rich  strike  of  oil,  and  one  of  his  twelve  wells  now 
produced  2,500  barrels.  He  has  leased  the  property  to 
the  Gipey  Oil  Company  and  receives  an  eighth  royalty. 
He  sold  an  interest  in  part  of  his  land,  but  what  he 
still  owns  is  a fortune. 

On  New  Year’s  day,  in  1872,  Mr.  Focht  married  Miss 
Addie  Fletcher.  She  was  born  in  Fremont  County,  Iowa, 
August  29,  1856,  a daughter  of  Vardaman  and  Drusilla 
(Shaw)  Fletcher.  Her  father  was  a native-  of  Indiana 
and  her  mother  of  Tennessee,  and  they  were  married 
in  Buchanan  County,  Missouri,  and  from  there  moved  to 
Fremont  County,  Iowa.  Vardaman  Fletcher  was  the 
second  white  settler  in  Fremont  County  and  was  there 
at  such  an  early  time  that  once  or  twice  he  was  driven 
out  by  hostile  Indians.  He  spent  many  years  in  Fremont 
and  Mills  counties  and  was  a very  successful  farmer. 


In  1875  he  also  went  out  to  Nebraska  and  improved  land 
in  that  state,  and  in  the  year  that  Oklahoma  was  first 
opened  to  settlement  he  again  took  up  pioneering,  though 
then  well  advanced  in  years,  and  secured  a homestead  in 
Payne  County,  which  after  improving  he  sold.  For  a 
time  he  was  engaged  in  the  grocery  business  at  Perkins, 
and  then  made  his  home  with  his  children  until  he  died, 
in  1898,  when  about  seventy-five  years  of  age.  His  wife 
had  died  in  Nebraska  in  1891  at  the  age  of  sixty -four. 
He  was  a member  of  the  Methodist  Church. 

Mrs.  Focht  remained  in  the  old  home  until  her  mar- 
riage, and  then  she,  too,  showed  her  dauntless  spirit  by 
becoming  a pioneer  with  her  husband,  and  by  her  exhibi- 
tion of  nerve  in  the  face  of  adverse  conditions  she 
deserves  a great  share  of  the  credit  for  the  prosperity 
that  has  since  come  to  them.  Mrs.  Focht  is  a member  of 
the  Methodist  Church  and  of  the  Ladies’  Aid  Society. 
On  July  6,  1916,  Mr.  Focht  rounds  out  forty  years  of 
active  membership  in  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows.  , 

Through  all  their  days  of  struggle  they  were  encour- 
aged by  the  thought  that  what  they  were  doing  was  for 
the  benefit  of  their  children.  Into  their  home  came 
thirteen  children,  five  of  whom  died  in  childhood,  but  the 
other  eight  are  still  living.  James  W.  is  a farmer  in 
Payne  County;  Emma  E.,  now  living  at  St.  Joseph, 
Missouri,  is  the  widow  of  Dennis  Johnson;  Jessie  is  the 
wife  of  George  Webb  of  Ripley,  Oklahoma;  Russell  C., 
Lewis  Lloyd,  Ralph  L.  and  Charles  G.  are  all  farmers  in 
Payne  County,  Charles  living  with  his  parents.  The 
youngest  is  Myrtle  May  Clendening,  at  home. 

Hon.  Walter  R.  Eaton'.  Few  of  Oklahoma’s  citizens 
have  been  engaged  in  equally  as  many  business  enter- 
prises as  has  Walter  R.  Eaton,  of  Muskogee,  member 
of  the  State  Legislature  from  Muskogee  County,  and 
probably  none  has  accomplished  more  important  things. 
Since  shortly  before  the  advent  of  statehood,  his  name 
has  appeared  as  an  officer  or  director  of  nearly  a hundred 
corporations,  among  them  railroads,  interurbans,  oil  and 
gas  developing  companies  and  other  large  enterprises.  A 
conservationist  of  scientific  thought,  his  motives  have 
been  tinged  with  a hue  for  the  public  weal,  while  out  of 
his  projects  at  the  same  time  he  has  prospered  indi- 
vidually. 

Walter  R.  Eaton  was  born  at  Bueyrus,  Crawford 
County,  Ohio,  in  1874,  and  is  a son  of  Reason  B.  and 
Margaret  (Hayes)  Eaton.  His  father,  a native  of  Ohio, 
was  a farmer  of  repute,  who  unselfishly  gave  considerable 
of  his  time  to  politics  for  the  public  good.  Mr.  Eaton’s 
mother,  a native  of  Pennsylvania,  was  a cousin  of  Presi- 
dent Rutherford  B.  Hayes.  In  the  family  there  were 
five  sons  and  two  daughters:  Walter  R.,  of  this  review: 

Mrs.  Ethel  Richie,  who  is  the  wife  of  a practicing  attor- 
ney of  Lima,  Ohio;  Mrs.  Walter  B.  Richie,  who  is  also 
the  wife  of  a Lima  lawyer;  Horace  P.,  who  is  engaged 
in  the  manufacturing  business  at  Kalamazoo,  Michigan; 
J.  H.,  who  is  a merchant  at  Bueyrus,  Ohio;  John  A.,  who 
is  a Kansas  City  lawyer;  and  Reason  B.,  who  resides 
some  place  in  the  West. 

Walter  R.  Eaton  acquired  his  rudimentary  education 
in  the  public  schools,  and  in  1898  passed  the  bar  examina- 
tion for  entrance  to  the  University  of  Michigan,  at  Ann 
Arbor,  but  did  not  enter  that  institution  as  he  was  forced 
into  politics.  Prior  to  that  time,  in  1894,  he  had  been 
appointed  private  secretary  to  Walter  B.  Richie,  of  Lima, 
Ohio,  supreme  chancellor  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  and 
served  in  that  capacity  two  years,  at  the  end  of  that 
period  succeeding  himself  as  private  secretary  to  the,1 
successor  of  Mr.  Richie,  Philip  T.  Colgrove,  of  Hastings, 
Michigan,  the  latter  term  of  two  years,  expiring  in  1898. 
In  1886  his  parents  had  removed  to  Winfield,  Kansas, 


I 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2089 


and  there  Mr.  Eaton  made  his  home  until  going  to  Lima 
in  1894.  In  1898  he  began  the  practice  of  law  at  Hast- 
ings, Michigan,  and  continued  there  until  1901  when  he 
moved  to  Oklahoma  and  settled  at  Muskogee,  this  being 
but  a few  years  before  the  advent  of  statehood  and  the 
conditions  being  therefore  favorable  for  profitable  promo- 
tion of  industries.  Mr.  Eaton  became  associated  with 
C.  N.  Haskell  of  Muskogee,  who  afterwards  was  governor 
of  the  state,  in  various  business  ventures,  and  during 
the  next  few  years  was  a moving  spirit  in  no  less  than 
100  important  undertakings  in  the  eastern  part  of  the 
state.  He  has  been  engaged  in  the  building  of  railroads, 
the  sale  of  real  estate,  the  establishment  of  townsites  and 
the  development  of  oil  and  gas  properties.  As  president 
of  the  park  board  of  the  City  of  Muskogee  he  supervised 
the  laying  out  and  beautifying  of  parks  until  no  other 
city  in  the  Southwest  has  an  equally  modern  and  beau- 
tiful. park  system.  Mr.  Eaton  has  evolved  a modern  park 
and  civic  improvement  plan  which  he  intends  to  publish 
and  it  will  probably  be  adopted  by  the  State  Civic 
Improvement  Association,  of  which  he  is  a member.  His 
theory  deals  with  the  utilization  of  ground  for  reasons 
of  thrift  rather  than  of  beauty,  although  he  is  a lover 
of  the  beautiful  in  park  architecture. 

Mr.  Eaton  is  the  author  of  the  work  entitled  “Eaton’s 
Method  of  Pheasantry,  ’ ’ which  has  been  adopted  as  a 
text  for  the  propagation  and  rearing  of  pheasants  in  all 
parts  of  the  country.  For  fifteen  years  he  has  made  a 
study  of  game  breeding  and  is  one  of  the  best  informed 
men  in  the  country  on  the  subject.  His  ideas  depart 
from  those  of  sportsmen  who  advocate  propagation,  and 
he  preaches  rather  the  doctrine  of  game  creation  as 
fundamental  in  dealing  with  the  game  problem.  His 
game  breeder ’s  bill,  introduced  in  the  State  Legislature 
in  1915,  is  said  to  be  one  of  the  most  advanced  in  the 
United  States.  Among  his  latest  achievements  may  be 
mentioned  the  establishment  of  the  Town  of  Oilton,  in 
the  heart  of  one  of  the  leading  oil  and  gas  regions  of 
the  state.  Eaton  & Dunn  promoted  and  have  the  sale 
of  the  townsites  of  Oilton,  Shamrock  and  Pemeta,  all  in 
the  oil  belt. 

Mr.  Eaton  was  elected  to  the  Oklahoma  Legislature, 
on  the  democratic  ticket,  in  1914,  leading  the  ticket  in 
both  the  primary  and  general  elections.  He  was  made 
chairman  of  the  committee  on  revenue  and  taxation  and 
a member  of  the  committees  on  public  buildings,  public 
roads  and  highways,  code,  impeachment  and  removal 
from  office,  oil  and  gas  and  fish  and  game.  He  was  the 
author  of  a bill  changing  the  method  of  making  tax 
assessments  and  issuing  tax  receipts,  a measure  he  esti- 
mated, if  adopted,  would  save  taxpayers  $150,000  an- 
nually. He  was  the  author  also  of  a bill  providing  for 
the  removal  of  necessity  for  notice  before  property  adver- 
tised for  delinquent  taxes  should  be  shorn  of  penalty  if 
paid  before  October  1st;  a bill  providing  means  ot 
breeding  game  and  fur-bearing  animals;  a bill  accepting 
the  authority  conferred  by  Congress  on  county  courts 
with  reference  to  Indian  matters;  a bill  providing  for 
appeal  from  county  courts  in  taxation  matters;  a bill 
creating  a county  excise  board,  and  a bill  providing  for 
the  establishment  of  school  and  municipal  playgrounds. 
He  was  joint  author  of  a bill  providing  the  establishment 
of  a Pasteur  Institute  for  the  treatment  of  hydrophobia 
and  of  the  bill  providing  for  a tax  on  the  gross  produc- 
tion of  oil  and  gas.  He  is  a candidate  for  re-election 
in  the  fall  of  1916. 

Mr.  Eaton  was  married  in  December,  1911,  to  Miss 
Lillian  Pittman,  daughter  of  Judge  L.  P.  Pittman,  of 
Shawnee,  Oklahoma,  one  of  the  most  widely  known  law- 
yers and  legislators  ' of  his  day  in  Oklahoma.  By  a 
former  wife  Mr.  Eaton  has  two  children:  Marquis, 


aged  sixteen  years,  who  is  a student  at  Wentworth  Mili- 
tary Academy,  Lexington,  Missouri;  and  Richie,  who 
lives  with  his  parents  and  attends  school  at  Muskogee. 

Mr.  Eaton  is  a member  of  the  Episcopal  Church.  He 
is  fraternally  identified  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  in 
which  he  has  filled  all  the  chairs,  and  the  Dramatic 
Order  of  Knights  of  Khorassan,  Of  which  he  has  been 
royal  vizier  and  is  now  royal  prince.  Mr.  Eaton  also 
holds  membership  in  the  Muskogee  Chamber  of  Com- 
merce and  the  Muskogee  Rotary  Club. 

Earl  W.  Sinclair  of  Tulsa  is  president  of  the 
Exchange  National  Bank,  the  largest  bank  in  Oklahoma 
and  one  of  the  largest  financial  institutions  in  the 
Southwest.  He  is  interested  in  the  Sinclair  Oil  and 
Refining  Corporation,  which  owns  refineries  and  pro- 
ducing properties  all  over  the  Mid-Continent  field. 

During  the  greater  part  of  his  active  business  career 
he  has  been  identified  with  banking  and  other  interests 
at  Independence,  Kansas,  but  about  three  years  ago 
transferred  his  home  to  Tulsa,  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Sinclair 
is  a man  who  has  come  up  from  the  ranks  relying  on  his 
keen  intelligence  and  steady  industry  to  promote  himself 
to  favor  and  position  in  affairs. 

He  was  born  at  Wheeling,  West  Virginia,  May  15, 
1874,  a son  of  John  and  Phoebe  (Simmons)  Sinclair. 
His  father  was  born  at  Woodsfield,  Ohio,  and  died 
April  1,  1896,  at  the  age  of  fifty-one.  His  mother  was 
born  in  Wheeling,  West  Virginia,  and  is  now  living  at 
the  age  of  sixty- two.  Both  the  sons,  Earl  W.  and 
Harry  F.,  are  well  known  and  prominent  men  at  Tulsa. 
John  Sinclair  was  in  the  quartermaster’s  department  of 
the  Union  army  during  the  Civil  war.  After  the  war  he 
engaged  in  the  drug  business  at  Wheeling,  and  in  1884 
removed  to  Independence,  Kansas,  where  he  continued 
in  the  same  business  until  his  death.  In  politics  he  was 
first  a democrat  and  later  a republican,  and  both  he  and 
his  wife  were  members  of  the  Congregational  Church. 

Earl  W.  Sinclair  finished  his  public  school  education 
at  Independence,  then  attended  the  Northern  Indiana 
Normal  School  at  Valparaiso.  His  first  business  expe- 
rience came  as  clerk  in  the  freight  department  of  the 
Chicago,  Burlington  & Quincy  Railway  at  Chicago,  and 
after  about  five  years  there  he  moved  to  St.  Louis  and 
spent  about  four  years  with  a lumber  company.  It  was 
at  Independence,  Kansas,  that  he  received  a solid  posi- 
tion in  business  affairs.  After  locating  there  he  was 
agent  for  the  Independence  Gas  Company  for  a time, 
until  the  plant  was  taken  over  by  the  Kansas  Natural 
Gas  Company,  with  which  he  continued  as  agent  for 
several  years. 

On  January  6,  1907,  he  helped  organize  the  State 
Bank  of  Commerce  at  Independence,  and  became  its 
cashier.  Consolidated  with  and  became  viee  president  of 
the  First  National  Bank  of  Independence  on  January  17, 
1910.  On  January  14,  1913,  Mr.  Sinclair  came  to  Tulsa 
and  became  vice  president  of  the  Exchange  National 
Bank  of  this  city,  and  in  January,  1916,  was  elected 
president  of  the  bank  succeeding  P.  J.  White. 

Some  of  his  important  business  interests  and  rela- 
tions are  thus  described  by  The  Oil  and  Gas  Journal: 

‘ ‘ When  the  Sinclair  Oil  & Refining  Corporation  took 
over  the  Milliken,  Chanute  and  other  properties  in  Okla- 
homa, making  it  the  largest  oil  producing  and  refining 
company  in  business  in  Oklahoma  outside  of  the  Standard 
Oil  Company,  Earl  Sinclair  was  unanimously  chosen 
secretary  and  treasurer.  After  three  months’  service 
he  found  the  duties  of  the  office  too  onerous  and  resigned 
the  treasurership  but  is  still  secretary  and  a director  of 
the  company.  In  addition  to  his  banking  interests  in 
Tulsa,  he  is  one  of  the  directors  of  the  State  National 


2090 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Bank  at  Oklahoma  City,  and  is  a large  stock  holder  in 
several  Kansas  City  and  New  York  financial  institutions. 
He  has  devoted  himself  almost  exclusively  to  banking 
during  the  last  ten  years.” 

Mr.  Sinclair  is  a member  of  all  the  bodies  of 
Masonry,  including  Wichita  Consistory  of  the  thirty- 
second  degree  and  Akdar  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine. 
He  belongs  to  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of 
Elks,  the  Tulsa  Commercial  Club  and  the  Country  Club, 
and  in  politics  is  a republican.  On  May  20,  1902,  he 
married  Miss  Blanche  Stich  of  Independence,  Kansas. 
They  have  two  children.  Besides  his  beautiful  home  in 
Tulsa  Mr.  Sinclair  has  a summer  home  on  Buzzard  Bay, 
Massachusetts. 

Prof.  C.  E.  Tope.  The  superintendent  of  the  Chandler 
public  schools  is  one  of  the  leading  educators  of  Central 
Oklahoma,  is  a man  whose  experience  in  educational  work 
began  when  he  was  a boy,  and  has  shown  exceptional 
ability  in  all  phases  of  school  work.  Under  his  adminis- 
tration the  Chandler  schools  have  reached  a standard 
hardly  second  to  any  in  Oklahoma.  The  Central  School 
Building  was  erected  in  1900  at  a cost  of  about  $15,000, 
with  eight  rooms  and  a corps  of  seven  teachers.  In  1903 
another  building  was  erected  of  four  rooms,  with  four 
teachers.  The  colored' schools  of  the  city  are  in  charge 
of  three  teachers.  In  the  white  schools  there  is  an 
enrollment  of  nearly  500  pupils,  and  110  are  in  the 
high  school  proper.  The  Chandler  schools  are  conducted 
for  nine  months  in  the  year,  and  it  has  been  the  pride 
of  local  citizens  and  those  officially  connected  with  the 
schools  to  keep  them  up  to  the  highest  standards  in 
equipment  and  efficiency  of  instruction. 

C.  E.  Tope  was  born  at  Gallipolis  on  the  Ohio  River 
in  the  State  of  Ohio,  February  6,  1885.  His  father, 
Richard  Tope,  was  a native  of  Ohio,  and  his  ancestors 
had  settled  on  the  Chesapeake  Bay,  Maryland,  during 
colonial  times.  The  family  have  contributed  farmers, 
mechanics,  teachers  and  members  of  the  various  profes- 
sions. Grandfather  Tope  was  a carpenter.  Richard  Tope 
married  Rebecca  Irvin,  also  a native  of  Ohio,  but  rep- 
resenting early  English  settlers  in  Pennsylvania.  When 
Professor  Tope  was  about  one  year  old,  the  mother  died, 
leaving  three  children. 

C.  E.  Tope  grew  up  on  a farm,  developed  his  body  as 
well  as  his  mind,  received  training  in  the  public  schools, 
and  began  his  career  as  a teacher  at  the  age  of  sixteen. 
He  taught  in  the  schools  of  his  native  county,  aud  during 
intervals  of  teaching  attended  the  Oak  Hill  and  Rio 
Grande  colleges  of  Ohio,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in 
1905.  He  continued  teaching  in  Ohio  until  1907  and  then 
moved  to  Oklahoma  and  was  superintendent  of  the  public 
schools  at  Mulhall  for  two  years.  Professor  Tope  has 
been  identified  with  the  Chandler  public  schools  since 
1909,  and  it  is  a reflection  of  credit  upon  him  to  say 
that  the  local  schools  have  enjoyed  their  greatest  period 
of  improvement  and  advancement  in  all  lines  since  he 
took  charge. 

At  Mulhall,  Oklahoma,  in  1908,  Mr.  Tope  married  Rosa 
McCall,  a woman  of  thorough  education  and  culture,  who 
was  also  born  in  Ohio,  a daughter  of  James  McCall. 
Professor  Tope  is  active  in  Masonic  circles,  having  affilia- 
tion with  Lodge  No.  58,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons;  with  the  Royal  Arch  Chapter,  No.  51;  the 
Knight  Templar  Commandery,  No.  4,  and  Consistory  of 
Guthrie,  Oklahoma.  He  has  held  chairs  in  the  local 
lodge  and  has  been  high  priest  of  the  chapter  and  is 
also  a member  of  the  Scottish  Rite  team  at  Guthrie. 
He  and  his  wife  take  much  part  in  the  Presbyterian 
Church  in  which  he  is  teacher  of  a class  of  thirty  men. 
He  possesses  the  broad  sympathy,  the  thorough  under- 
standing of  young  people,  so  necessary  to  the  equipment 


of  the  educator,  and  possesses  the  faculty  of  imparting 
not  only  information  but  the  more  valuable  one  of 
inspiring  his  pupils  to  work  for  themselves. 

Julian  Trumbly.  The  City  of  Pawhuska  honored 
one  of  the  most  distinguished  men  of  the  old  Osage 
Nation  by  naming  for  him  one  of  its  beautiful  streets, 
Trumbly  Avenue.  The  Trumbly  family  have  their  homfe 
at  119  North  Trumbly  Avenue.  The  late  Julian  Trum- 
bly, while  identified  with  Pawhuska  from  its  beginning, 
spent  the  greater  part  of  his  active  lifetime  on  his  farm 
near  the  Kansas  line,  and  died  there  May  20,  1912. 

He  was  not  only  one  of  the  pioneers  and  active  mem- 
bers of  the  Osage  Nation  but  a citizen  whose  interests 
extended  in  many  directions,  including  large  business 
affairs,  and  he  was  frequently  delegated  for  official  duties 
in  connection  with  the  tribal  government  and  every  posi- 
tion of  honor  and  trust  was  well  bestowed  in  his  case. 

Inheriting  his  Osage  citizenship  through  his  mo'ther, 
Julian  Trumbly  was  born  at  Kansas  City,  Kansas,  Sep- 
tember 13,  1850,  a son  of  Francis  Louis  and  Lorene 
Trumbly.  His  father  was  of  French  ancestry  and  his 
mother  partly  French  and  a quarter  blood  Osage.  They 
were  regularly  enrolled  among  the  tribe  in  Neosho  Coun- 
ty, Kansas,  and  both  died  at  St.  Paul  in  that  state. 
They  were  survived  by  three  sons:  Francis,  Julian  and 

John  Baptiste,  all  of  whom  are  now  deceased. 

In  the  late  ’60s  Julian  Trumbly  accompanied  the  other 
members  of  the  Osage  tribe  to  Indian  Territory  and  in 
company  with  the  venerable  Indian  agent  of  that  time, 
Isaac  Gibson,  assisted  in  locating  the  old  agency  at 
what  is  now  Pawhuska.  He  was  employed  in  a store  for 
several  years  until  after  his  marriage,  and  in  1875  moved 
to  a farm  near  the  state  line  in  the  Caney  Valley,  and  for 
forty  years  that  farm  was  his  home  and  the  center  of  his 
extended  activities  in  business. 

In  1906  Mr.  Trumbly  served  as  an  Osage . townsite 
commissioner,  and  helped  to  lay  out  all  the  towns  in 
Osage  County,  including  Pawhuska.  He  was  prominent 
in  tribal  affairs  from  the  early  days  and  made  many 
trips  to  Washington  as  an  Osage  delegate.  He  spent  one 
entire  winter,  four  months,  in  Washington  acting  for  the 
Osage  people  in  company  with  William  T.  Leahy.  For 
many  years  he  was  a member  of  the  Osage  Council,  and 
at  one  time  declined  the  high  honor  of  election  as  chief 
of  the  nation.  In  a business  way  the  late  Mr.  Trumbly 
was  interested  in  the  Southern  Kansas  Supply  Company 
of  Elgin,  was  identified  with  the  First  National  Bank 
of  Pawhuska  and  had  interests  in  three  other  banks,  was 
a stockholder  in  the  Pawhuska  Oil  & Gas  Company  and 
the  Pawhuska-Cleveland  Oil  & Gas  Company.  For  many 
years  he  gave  active  supervision  to  the  large  landed  inter- 
ests of  his  family,  their  aggregate  allotment  comprising 
about  twelve  sections  of  land.  In  politics  Mr.  Trumbly 
was  a democrat,  and  was  reared  in  and  was  always  faith- 
ful to  the  Catholic  Church. 

On  February  10,  1873,  he  married  Miss  Eliza  Ann 
Tinker,  who  was  born  in  Neosho  County,  Kansas,  Sep- 
tember 11,  1854,  and  came  to  Indian  Territory  with  the 
removal  of  the  Osages  from  Southern  Kansas.  Her  par- 
ents were  George  and  Lucretia  (La  Shappel)  Tinker,  and 
through  her  mother  she  inherits  one-fourth  French  blood 
and  three-quarters  Osage.  The  Tinker  family  has  long 
been  prominent  in  the  Osage  country,  and  further  infor- 
mation concerning  its  members  will  be  found  on  othei 
pages.  Mrs.  Trumbly  is  still  living  at  the  old  family  resi 
denee  in  Pawhuska.  She  was  the  mother  of  nine  children 
George  Francis  is  a farmer  in  Osage  County.  Mary  E.  i: 
the  wife  of  A.  J.  McClintock  of  Osage  County.  Maude  C 
is  the  wife  of  Bruce  Todd  of  Osage  County.  Clarence  A 
is  a merchant  at  Elgin,  Kansas.  Oliver  W.  lives  on  th< 
old  homestead  in  the  northern  part  of  Osage  County 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2091 


Henry  is  also  a farmer  in  that  county.  Augusta  is  the 
■wife  of  Bruce  Hendricks,  a farmer  in  the  Caney  Valley 
of  Osage  County.  Charles  was  married  February  14,  1915, 
to  Minna  A.  Chambers,  and  they  live  in  Pawhuska. 
Theresa,  the  youngest  child,  is  still  at  home  with  her 
mother. 

Waldo  E.  Moeeis,  a prominent  young  attorney  of 
Harper  County,  now  filling  the  office  of  county  attorney, 
has  been  identified  with  that  section  of  the  state  for  the 
past  fifteen  years,  was  a homesteader  and  farmer,  then 
took  up  the  law,  and  a few  years  ago  gravitated  into 
journalism,  and  is  now  editor  and  manager  of  the  May 
Record  at  May. 

He  was  eighteen  years  old  when  his  family  came  to 
Oklahoma.  Mr.  Morris  was  born  in  a log  house  on  a 
farm  in  Jasper  County,  Illinois,  March  25,  1883,  his 
parents  being  James  and  Ora  J.  (Melton)  Morris.  His 
father  was  born  April  9,  1854,  in  Ohio,  and  has  spent 
his  active  career  as  a farmer  and  merchant.  In  1901  he 
brought  his  family  to  Oklahoma,  and  he  is  now  in  the 
hotel  business  at  May.  In  1879  he  married  Miss  Melton, 
who  was  born  in  1860,  a daughter  of  John  Melton,  a 
native  of  Illinois,  and  her  death  occurred  February  14, 
1890.  She  is  survived  by  five  children,  four  sons  and  one 
daughter,  as  follows:  Clinton,  born  in  1881  and  a farmer 
in  Ellis  County,  Oklahoma;  Waldo  E.;  Emmons  Gray, 
born  December  20,  1884;  Verna  Valeria,  born  September 
20,  1887,  was  married  in  1906  to  Robert  V.  Patton,  a 
farmer  of  Ellis  County;  and  John  Israel,  born  August  31, 
1889,  and  a farmer  in  Ellis  County. 

Waldo  E.  Morris  received  his  public  school  education  in 
I Jasper  County,  Illinois.  When  he  came  to  Oklahoma  in 
11901  he  located  a claim  of  Government  land  in  Woodward 
1 County,  and  vigorously  followed  up  his  business  as  a 
[practical  farmer  and  homesteader  until  1909.  With 
[such  money  as  he  had  been  able  to  acquire  and  save  he 
entered  Washburn  College  at  Topeka,  Kansas,  and  was 
graduated  LL.  B.  from  the  law  class  in  1912.  In  that 
year  he  began  practice  at  May,  and  has  done  very  well 
in  his  profession. 

In  1914  he  was  elected  county  attorney  of  Harper 
County.  His  election  came  on  the  Socialist  ticket  and  for 
several  years  he  has  been  a recognized  leader  in  that 
party  in  Oklahoma.  In  1914  he  bought  the  May  Record 
and  has  made  it  a vigorous  exponent  of  the  principles  of 
socialism,  and  has  not  only  extended  its  circulation 
throughout  Harper  County,  but  to  many  remote  points 
in  the  state.  Individually  and  through  his  paper  he  has 
i constantly  espoused  the  cause  of  political  reform. 
Mr.  Morris  deserves  the  credit  of  having  inaugurated  a 
state  usury  league,  and  this  league  brought  about  the 
passage  of  new  usury  measures  through  the  State  Legis- 
lature. 

On  February  20,  1909,  Mr.  Morris  married  Miss  Lilly 
Frances  Getz,  who  was  born  in  Effingham  County,  Illi- 
nois, September  20,  1889,  a daughter  of  William  and 
Elizabeth  Getz,  who  were  also  natives  of  Illinois. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Morris  have  four  children:  Lillian  Eliza- 
beth, born  November  6,  1909;  Theodore  Earl,  born 
December  20,  1911 ; Thera  May,  born  April  20,  1913 ; and 
Erma  Catherine,  born  February  20,  1915. 

Clyde  Musgeove.  Though  for  a number  of  years  his 
principle  work  has  been  in  the  postoffice  at  El  Reno, 
where  he  is  now  senior  clerk  under  the  civil  service  rules, 
Clyde  Musgrove  is  a well  known  newspaper  man  and 
writer,  and  as  cartoonist,  correspondent,  editor  and 
publisher  was  identified  with  several  of  the  prominent 
sarly  papers  in  the  western  section  of  the  state. 

He  was  born  December  11,  1874,  at  South  Haven, 


Kansas,  son  of  Jacob  R.  and  Isabella  C.  ‘(Graham)  Mus- 
grove. The  late  Jacob  R.  Musgrove  was  prominent  as  a 
pioneer  both  in  Kansas  and  Oklahoma.  He  was  born  in 
Jackson  County,  Ohio,  of  which  state  his  parents  were 
also  natives,  and  of  Scotch  stock  Reared  on  a farm, 
Jacob  R.  Musgrove  served  full  four  years  as  a private 
in  Company  E of  the  Twenty-second  Ohio  Volunteer 
Infantry.  He  was  with  his  regiment  in  all  its  battles 
and  campaigns,  followed  Sherman  on  his  march  from 
Atlanta  to  the  sea,  and  was  finally  mustered  out  at 
Washington,  D.  C. 

In  1870,  some  years  after  the  close  of  the  war,  he 
moved  into  the  sparsely  settled  and  undeveloped  districts 
of  Southern  Kansas,  acquiring  a tract  of  Government 
land  in  Pottawatomie  County.  In  1872  he  opened  one  of 
the  first  stores  at  Winfield,  Kansas.  In  1873  he  founded 
the  Town  of  South  Haven  in  Sumner . County.  For  a 
number  of  years  he  was  one  of  the  leading  merchants 
along  the  South  Kansas  border,  erecting  stores  at  old 
Salt  City,  Guelph  and  South  Haven.  He  was  the  first 
and  for  many  years  was  postmaster  at  South  Haven. 
His  stores  along  the  border  of  Indian  Territory  were 
conducted  largely  as  Indian  trading  posts.  In  the 
early  days  be  organized  and  maintained  an  ox  wagon 
freighting  train  for  the  hauling  of  supplies  to  the 
Fort  Reno  and  Darlington  agency. 

In  1889  the  late  Jacob  R.  Musgrove  participated  in 
the  original  Oklahoma  opening,  and  located  at  old  Reno 
City.  The  railroad  avoided  that  town,  and  he  moved 
and  identified  himself  with  the  new  railroad  station  at 
the  present  City  of  El  Reno,  having  acquired  a home- 
stead right  near  the  town.  This  homestead  is  still  a 
part  of  his  estate,  and  is  situated  a mile  east  of  El  Reno. 
Jacob  R.  Musgrove  was  a prominent  republican,  and 
took  part  in  the  organization  of  Canadian  County.  He 
was  a member  of  the  Masonic  order  and  of  the  Grand 
Army  of  the  Republic.  His  death  occurred  at  South 
Haven,  Kansas,  July  28,  1899. 

Jacob  R.  Musgrove  and  wife  were  married  January 
27,  1874.  They  were  the  parents  of  two  sons  and  two 
daughters,  namely:  Clyde;  Birdie,  deceased;  Carl,  a 
resident  of  Oklahoma  City;  and  Edith,  deceased. 

Clyde  Musgrove  acquired  his  early  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  Winfield,  Kansas,  and  also  attended  the 
Southwestern  Methodist  College  at  Winfield.  When  eight- 
een years  of  age  he  entered  a printing  office  and  learned 
the  trade.  In  time  he  became  versed  in  all  the  phases 
of  the  printer ’s  trade  and  the  newspaper  profession,  and 
in  1896  he  established  and  for  five  years  was  editor  of  the 
News  at  El  Reno,  now  the  El  Reno  American.  He  made 
this  one  of  the  most  influential  newspapers  of  old  Okla- 
homa Territory,  and  as  a political  cartoonist  his  work 
received  recognition  and  appreciation  over  the  state. 
He  served  as  city  editor  of  the  Oklahoma  City  Star 
during  its  existence,  and  in  1901  founded  the  News  at 
Lawton,  soon  after  the  opening  of  that  section  of  the 
state. 

After  his  father’s  death  Mr.  Muserrove  returned  to 
El  Reno  and  accepted  a clerkship  in  the  postoffice  under 
civil  service,  and  is  now  senior  clerk. 

On  August  19.  1905,  at  Girard,  Kansas,  he  married 
Miss  Alice  E.  Firmin.  She  was  born  in  London,  Eng- 
land, September  20,  1875,  a daughter  of  John  T.  Firmin, 
also  a native  of  England.  Mr.  Mus<rrove  has  made  him- 
self, a considerable  factor  in  El  Reno  affairs  and  since 
1910  has  been  a member  and  is  now  president  of  the 
board  of  directors  of  the  Carnegie  Library. 

Na%  Emmons  Ligon.  That  integrity  and  ability,  as 
combined  with  untiring  industry  and  good  judgment,  will 
not  lack  recognition  and  appreciation  has  been  signifi- 


2092 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


cantly  shown  ii»  the  meteoric  career  of  Mr.  Ligon,  who 
is  now  serving  as  counsel  for  the  Mid-Co.  Petroleum 
Company  and  Mid-Co.  Gasoline  Company,  two  of  the 
largest  independent  oil  producing  and  oil  refining  com- 
panies operating  in  the  great  mid-continent  field,  with 
offices  in  the  City  of  Tulsa,  Tulsa  County,  Oklahoma. 

Having  already  served  for  two  years  as  assistant  pros- 
ecuting attorney  for  Tulsa  County,  from  which  office  he 
was  elevated  to  that  of  United  States  Probate  Attorney 
for  the  Creek  Indians,  and,  later,  at  the  age  of  twenty- 
six  years,  employed  as  chief  legal  representative  of  two 
large  corporations  whose  combined  property  holdings 
aggregate  millions  of  dollars  in  value,  and  whom  he  rep- 
resents both  as  legal  adviser  and  in  litigation  involving 
hundreds  of  thousands  of  dollars  worth  of  property, 
Mr.  Ligon  bears  the  distinction  of  being  the  youngest 
corporation  lawyer  in  the  state. 

Fine  personal  address,  buoyant  and  optimistic  nature 
and  unbounded  kindliness  and  geniality  have  gained  to 
Mr.  Ligon  a wide  circle  of  friends  in  the  state  of  his 
adoption,  and  all  rejoice  in  his  success,  for  the  same 
has  been  won  entirely  through  his  own  ability  and  earnest 
endeavors.  His  brilliant  achievements  have  placed  him 
foremost  in  the  ranks  of  the  younger  generation  of  pro- 
fessional men,  and  it  is  gratifying  to  accord  him  recog- 
nition in  this  history. 

A scion  of  staunch  old  Southern  stock,  Mr.  Ligon  was 
born  at  Gloster,  Amite  County,  Mississippi,  on  the  first 
day  of  September,  1888,  and  he  is  the  son  of  William 
O.  Ligon  and  Jennie  D.  (Faust)  Ligon,  the  former  of 
whom  was  one  of  the  earliest  settlers  of  Amite  County, 
and  the  latter  of  whom  was  born  at  Liberty,  Mississippi, 
their  present  home  being  at  Gloster,  Mississippi.  Wil- 
liam O.  Ligon  served  for  twelve  years'  as  Deputy  United 
States  Marshal  and  for  three  years  as  United  States 
Marshal  in  the  Southern  Judicial  District  of  Mississippi, 
with  official  headquarters  in  the  cities  of  Vicksburg  and 
Jackson,  respectively.  In  early  life  he  was  a prosperous 
planter  and  merchant,  and  during  the  Civil  war  he 
served  the  Confederacy  under  General  Wirt  Adams  of 
Mississippi.  He  resigned  from  the  office  of  United 
States  Marshal  in  July,  1914,  and  returned  to  Gloster 
where  he  is  now  living,  virtually  retired. 

Nat  Emmons  Ligon  (universally  known  and  referred 
to  as  Nat  Ligon),  the  youngest  in  a family  of  six  sons, 
acquired  his  early  education  in  the  public  schools  of  his 
native  state  and  thereafter  entered  the  University  of 
Mississippi  at  Oxford.  For  two  years  he  was  a student 
in  the  academic  or  literary  department  of  the  university 
and  later  entered  the  university  law  school.  On  account 
of  financial  reverses  which  came  to  his  parents,  Mr.  Ligon 
remained  in  the  university  only  through  endurement  of 
untold  difficulties  and  hardships.  For  a time  he  earned 
his  own  expenses  by  directing  the  university  band  and 
orchestra,  for  which  the  authorities  allowed  him  board 
and  tuition.  While  thus  engaged  he,  as  president  of 
the  sophomore  class,  was  largely  instrumental  in  organiz- 
ing the  Students  Self  Help  Bureau,  which  has  since 
enabled  hundreds  of  worthy  young  men  of  limited 
resources  to  be  self-sustaining  while  pursuing  their  course 
of  study.  He  took  an  active  interest  in  debating  and 
public  speaking  and  his  present  effectiveness  as  a trial 
lawyer  is  due  largely  to  his  forensic  ability.  He  won 
two  class  medals  for  oratory,  represented  his  alma  mater 
in  a collegiate  state  oratorical  contest  and  in  a collegiate 
inter-state  debating  contest  and  was  undefeated  during 
his  scholastic  career.  Financial  difficulties  and  ill  health 
finally  forced  him  to  withdraw  from  the  law  school  three 
months  prior  to  the  graduation  of  his  class,  and  he  came 
direct,  from  Oxford  to  Tulsa,  Oklahoma,  where  he  arrived 
on  the  8th  day  of  March,  1911. 

With  his  finances  at  the  lowest  possible  ebb  and  with- 


out an  acquaintance  in  the  city,  he  was  not  discouraged  I 
but  turning  his  face  toward  the  dawn  of  a new  day  for  " 


him,  he  sought  employment  that  would  enable  him  to 
provide  the  necessities  of  life  and,  at  the  same  time,  con- 
tinue his  study  of  the  law.  He  was  received  as  a clerk  # 
in  the  first  office  to  which  he  applied  for  admission,  that 
of  Davidson  & Williams,  attorneys,  where  he  remained 
and  eked  out  a scanty  subsistence  for  the  first  year  of 
his  residence  in  the  new  and  growing  city.  At  night  he 
vigorously  continued  his  study  of  the  science  of  juris- 
prudence and  in  the  following  June  he  was  admitted  to 
practice  in  the  courts  of  Oklahoma — the  same  week  in 
which  his  class  in  the  law  department  of  the  University 
of  Mississippi  was  graduated. 

In  June,  1912,  Mr.  Ligon  was  employed  by  the  city 
authorities  of  Tulsa  to  revise  and  codify  the  municipal  1 
ordinance,  and  this  work  demanded  his  attention  for 
three  months.  In  August,  1912,  with  his  work  for  the 
city  scarcely  begun,  he  was  appointed  to  the  position 
of  assistant  prosecuting  attorney  of  Tulsa  County  under 
Pat  Malloy.  Only  a few  weeks  after  his  appointment* 
to  this  office  Mr.  Ligon  gained  prominence  for  himself 
and  drew  words  of  lavish  praise  from  the  press  in 
Oklahoma,  and  throughout  the  country,  for  his  master- 
ful efforts  in  the  prosecution  of  Mrs.  Laura  T.  Beuter, 
and  her  co-conspirators,  for  the  murder  of  her  husband, 
Charles  T.  Beuter,  a prominent  attorney  of  Tulsa.  In 
three  successive  trials  of  the  different  defendants  in 
this  famous  ease,  Mr.  Ligon  made  the  opening  address 
for  the  prosecution  to  the  jury.  In  speaking  of  his 
argument  in  the  first  of  these  trials,  the  Tulsa  Daily 
World  of  October  30,  1912,  used,  in  part,  the  follow- 
ing language: 

‘ ‘ Probably  never  before  in  the  history  of  criminal, 
practice  has  a better  argument  been  made  by  an  attorney 
with  so  few  years  on  his  shoulders  than  that  of  the 
young  assistant  prosecutor  who  has  just  passed  his 
twenty-fourth  birthday.  It  was  his  second  appeal  to 
jury  and  it  happens  that  the  first  appeal  was  also  in 
murder  case.  Old  attorneys  who  listened  for  two  hours 
and  a half  while  Ligon  reviewed  the  evidence  and  made 
a strong  plea  for  the  maximum  penalty,  death,  were 
unanimous  in  their  opinion  that  his  effort  was  worthy 
of  a man  years  older,  both  in  age  and  experience.  ’ ’ 

In  February,  1914,  Mr.  Ligon  resigned  as  assistant 
prosecuting  attorney  to  accept  an  appointment  as  United 
States  Probate  Attorney  for  the  Creek  Indians,  with 
official  headquarters  in  the  City  of  Sapulpa,  Creek| 
County. 

The  United  States  Government  spends  the  sum 
$85,000.00  annually  in  the  employment  of  probate  atto: 
neys,  one  in  each  of  the  counties  inhabited  by  citizens 
of  the  Five  Civilized  Tribes  in  Oklahoma,  whose  duty 
it  is  to  guard  the  interests  of  minor  and  incompetent 
Indian  allottees  against  the  inroads  made  on  their  estates 
by  corrupt  guardians  and  designing  persons.  During  the 
first  twelve  months  that  he  held  this  office,  Mr.  Ligor 
saved  and  recovered  for  the  estates  of  minors  and  ineom 
petents  in  Creek  County  alone,  more  than  $90,000.00,  o 
more  than  the  entire  annual  appropriation  of  Congresi 
for  the  salaries  and  expenses  of  twenty  other  probati 
attorneys  in  Oklahoma. 

In  September,  1915,  while  serving  as  probate  attorney 
further  professional  distinction  was  conferred  upon  Mi 
Ligon,  when  he  was  elected  special  judge  to  preside  i: 
the  trial  of  an  important  murder  ease  in  the  Distric 
Court  of  Creek  County.  The  youngest  jurist  who  eve 
presided  in  the  trial  of  a murder  case  in  Oklahoma,  h 
thus  occupied  the  position  on  the  bench  for  three  dayi 
and  his  rulings  bore  the  stamp  of  true  judicial  wisdoi 
and  a broad  and  accurate  knowledge  of  the  law. 

Mr.  Ligon  is  a Boyal  Arch  Mason,  a member  of  th 


of 


land 

Mltlei 


|ihel 
If  ter; 


» ado 
(ltd  i. 


kh,  i 


» °T 


JWand 

Hth 


Heel 

P»  a 

lileJ 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2093 


Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  and  holds 
membership  in  the  secret  order  of  Kappa  Alpha,  a Greek 
letter  college  fraternity.  He  is  a member  of  the  First 
Baptist  Church  at  Tulsa. 

On  January  20,  1916,  Mr.  Ligon  was  happily  married 
at  Sapulpa,  Oklahoma,  to  Miss  Zula  Lee  Nash,  formerly 
of  Austin,  Texas.  Mrs.  Ligon  was  born  in  Bastrop 
County,  Texas,  and  is  the  daughter  of  Horace  Nash  and 
Lillian  L.  (Billingsley)  Nash,  both  of  Bastrop  County, 
Texas.  The  forefathers  of  her  mother  (the  Billingsleys) 
are  well  known  in  Texas  history,  having  been  active  in 
establishing  the  independence  of  Texas.  Long  before  this 
time,  however,  her  ancestors  had  won  fame  in  the  struggle 
for  the  American  Independence  and  their  deeds  of  virtue 
engraved  on  the  tablets  of  American  history.  Her  ances- 
try dates  back  to  the  tenth  century,  she  being  the  direct 
descendant  of  the  historic  Puleston  family  in  England, 
and  of  Edward  I of  England  and  Ferdinand,  King  of 
Spain. 

The  proud  descendant  of  a family  with  a long  list  of 
noble  achievements,  one  of  the  Southland’s  fairest 
daughters  and  a typically  American  woman,  Mrs.  Ligon 
represents  the  crowning  success  of  her  husband’s  many 
brilliant  attainments. 


Campbell  Eussell.  Coming  to  Indian  Territory  as  a 
youth  of  seventeen  years,  Senator  Eussell  has  had  a 
broad  and  varied  experience  in  pioneer  life  on  the 
frontier  and  has  been  a prominent  and  influential  force 
in  connection  with  the  civic  and  industrial  development 
of  what  is  now  the  State  of  Oklahoma.  He  has  shown 
himself  a man  of  resourcefulness  and  decisive  action, 
and  stands  today  as  one  of  the  vigorous  and  successful 
representatives  of  the  agricultural  and  live-stock  inter- 
ests of  this  commonwealth,  the  while  his  civic  loyalty 
and  public  spirit  are  indicated  in  the  fact  that  he  was 
a member  of  the  first  State  Senate  after  the  admission 
of  Oklahoma  to  the  Union  and  that  he  is  at  the  present 
time  a member  of  that  body,  as  representative  of  the 
Twenty-seventh  senatorial  district.  The  senator’s  liber- 
ality and  progressiveness  have  been  of  noteworthy  order 
and  have  inured  greatly  to  the  march  of  development  and 
advancement  in  the  vital  young  commonwealth  within 
which  he  has  maintained  his  residence  for  more  than 
thirty  years. 

Campbell  Eussell  was  born  in  Northern  Alabama,  on 
the  22d  of  October,  1863,  and  is  a son  of  Thomas  and 
Margaret  (Stringer)  Eussell,  the  former  a native  of 
North  Carolina  and  the  latter  of  Kentucky,  in  which 
state  her  father  was  a pioneer  settler.  Thomas  Eussell, 
as  a young  man,  established  his  home  in  the  northern 
part  of  the  State  of  Alabama,  where  he  became  a pioneer 
teacher  in  the  common  schools  and  where  he  was  long 
a prosperous  agriculturist  and  influential  citizen.  Both 
he  and  his  wife  continued  their  residence  in  Alabama 
until  their  death,  the  former  having  passed  away  in  1895 
and  the  latter  in  1901. 

After  availing  himself  of  the  advantages  of  the  com- 
mon schools  of  his  native  state  Senator  Eussell  com- 
pleted, in  1881,  a course  in  the  business  college  of  the 
University  of  Lexington,  in  the  metropolis  of  Ken- 
tucky. In  the  same  year  he  immigrated  to  Indian 
Territory  and  found  employment  on  the  Three  Bar 
Eanch,  which  was  at  that  time  the  largest  cattle  ranch 
in  the  Cherokee  Nation  and  which  was  situated  twelve 
DisW  myes  distant  from  Muskogee.  This  great  ranch  was 
et;  owned  and  controlled  by  Gen.  Pleasant  Porter  and  C.  W. 
’■  Turner,  the  former  of  whom  was  the  principal  chief  of 
the  Creek  tribe.  Eventually  Senator  Eussell  engaged  in 
farming  and  stock-growing  on  his  own  account,  and  in 
1895  he  handled  14,000  head  of  cattle,  this  representing 


the  largest  herd  that  up  to  that  time  had  ever  been 
assembled  in  Indian  Territory.  His  ranch  was  in 
Younger’s  Bend  on  the  Canadian  Eiver,  this  bend  hav- 
ing been  named  for  the  well  known  bandits,  the  Younger 
Brothers,  of  Missouri,  who  there  maintained  a rendez- 
vous during  their  days  of  outlawry  on  the  frontier,  the 
locality  having  likewise  been  a headquarters  for  Belle 
Starr,  a woman  known  throughout  the  Southwest  as  an 
accomplice  and  associate  of  the  Younger  Brothers. 

In  that  historic  district  Senator  Eussell  cleared  and 
improved  a ranch  of  400  acres,  and  there  he  established 
the  first  free  school  for  white  children  within  the  entire 
confines  of  Indian  Territory,  the  sehoolhouse  having  been 
erected  by  him  at  his  own  expense  and  he  having  defrayed 
individually  also  the  expense  of  employing  a teacher  in 
the  school  each  summer  for  a period  of  five  years.  As 
one  of  the  most  enterprising  and  energetic  of  pioneers, 
the  senator  made  his  constructive  influence  felt  in  many 
other  avenues  of  progress.  After  his  removal  to  Warner, 
his  present  home,  he  individually  graded  at  his  own 
expense  sixteen  miles  of  public  ro'ad  besides  which  he 
erected  a sehoolhouse,  at  a cost  of  $5,300,  and  donated 
the  same  to  the  township.  Such  is  the  spirit  of  liberality 
and  unselfish  devotion  to  the  public  weal  that  has  ani- 
mated him  and  that  has  made  an  honored  and  influential 
citizen  of  the  state  of  which  he  may  consistently  be 
termed  one  of  the  founders  and  builders. 

After  initiating  the  development  of  his  ranch  in  the 
vicinity  of  the  Village  of  Warner  Senator  Eussell  directed 
his  attention  definitely  to  the  breeding  of  registered 
cattle,  from  select  stock  which  he  purchased  in  the 
northern  states.  He  raised  principally  Shorthorn  and 
Hereford  cattle,  and  later  he  made  disposition  of  much 
of  his  stock  product  in  various  years  by  means  of  public 
sales  in  Alabama,  Florida,  Louisiana,  Arkansas,  Texas 
and  Oklahoma,  the  proceeds  of  each  of  several  of  these 
sales  was  above  $30,000.  At  the  Louisiana  Purchase 
Exposition,  in  the  City  of  St.  Louis,  in  1904,  Senator 
Eussell  won  twenty-seven  premiums  on  his  exhibit  of 
Hereford  cattle  and  also  a diploma  as  the  champion 
breeder  of  Herefords  in  the  sub-quarantine  (or  southern) 
division  of  the  country.  It  may  well  be  understood  that 
he  had  done  much  to  advance  the  standards  of  live-stock 
and  agricultural  industry  in  Oklahoma,  and  a detailed 
record  of  his  progressive  activities  would  make  a context 
sufficient  for  an  entire  published  volume. 

As  a resident  of  the  domain  of  the  Five  Tribes, 
Senator  Eussell  cast  his  first  vote  for  Joel  Mayes  for 
chief  of  the  Cherokees,  and  his  next  vote  was  for  Green 
McCurtain  for  chief  of  the  Choctaws.  Having  by  mar- 
riage a “right”  in  both  of  these  nations,  he  traveled 
on  horse-back  forty  miles  from  outside  of  the  Cherokee 
Nation  to  vote  in  a Cherokee  election,  and  traveled  sixty 
miles  to  exercise  a similar  function  in  a Choctaw  elec- 
tion. The  senator  served  three  years  as  a member  of 
the  executive  committee  of  the  Farmers’  Educational  & 
Cooperative  Union  of  Oklahoma;  one  term  as  president 
of  the  state  union;  and  three  terms  as  secretary  of  the 
board  of  directors  of  the  national  union.  Upon  his  re- 
tirement from  the  latter  office,  on  the  5th  of  September, 
1911,  the  board  of  directors  presented  him  with  a hand- 
some gold  medal,  on  which  were  inscribed  the  words, 
“Weighed  in  the  balance  and  not  found  found  wanting,” 
a most  consonant  expression  touching  his  character  and 
services  during  the  long  years  of  his  residence  in  what  is 
now  the  State  of  Oklahoma.  In  1896  the  senator  effected 
the  organization  of  the  Canadian  District  Protective 
Association,  which  later  was  merged  with  the  Indian 
Territory  division  of  the  Anti-Horse-Thief  Association. 
Of  this  latter  and  more  comprehensive  organization  he 
served  three  years  as  president,  one  year  as  vice  presi- 


2094 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


dent,  and  has  since  continued  a member  of  its  executive 
committee.  During  one  year  he  captured  nine  men 
charged  with  the  theft  of  horses  and  cattle,  and  he 
succeeded  also  in  recovering  during  that  year  ten  horses 
that  had  been  stolep. 

Senator  Russell  was  a member  of  the  first  state 
senate  of  Oklahoma  and  in  the  initial  session  of  the 
Legislature  he  came  into  special  prominence  as  the  chief 
champion  of  what  became  known  as  the  “New  Jerusa- 
lem” capital  scheme,  a measure  that  provided  for  the 
establishment  of  the  capital  of  the  new  commonwealth 
near  the  geographical  center  of  the  state  and  which  was 
carried  at  a popular  election  held  in  1908.  In  the  first 
session  of  the  Legislature  Senator  Russell  was  chair- 
man of  the  senate  committee  on  roads  and  highways 
and  at  succeeding  sessions  his  membership  in  the  senate 
having  been  continuous,  he  has  served  as  chairman  of  the 
committee  on  agriculture.  In  the  Second  Legislature 
three  of  the  first  five  bills  passed  in  the  senate  were 
introduced  and  championed  by  him,  and  one  of  them 
authorized  the  establishing  of  county  agricultural  demon- 
stration farms;  another  prevented  married  minors  from 
selling  inherited  real  estate.  In  this  session  also  he 
obtained  in  the  senate  the  passage  of  a bill  providing 
for  the  carrying  out  of  the  provisions  of  the  “New 
Jerusalem  ’ ’ measure,  but  the  bill  failed  to  pass  the  House 
of  Representatives.  A constitutional  amendment,  of 
which  he  was  the  author,  providing  for  per  capita  dis- 
tribution of  tax  paid  by  public-service  corporations  for 
school  purposes,  was  five  times  given  enactive  approval  by 
the  senate,  but  three  times  the  resolution  was  killed  in 
the  house,  and  twice  it  was  submitted  to  the  people. 
In  the  first  popular  election  it  received  more  than  two- 
tliirds  of  the  votes  but  it  was  defeated  by  reason  of 
not  having  met  the  requirement  of  receiving  a majority 
of  all  votes  cast  in  that  election.  In  a special  session 
of  the  Legislature,  in  1913,  the  proposition  was  again 
submitted  and  carried  by  a substantial  majority. 

In  the  Fourth  Legislature  Senator  Russell  introduced  a 
measure  providing  for  congressional  representation  of 
Oklahoma  upon  the  basis  of  the  relative  strength  of 
the  various  political  parties,  but  this  bill  failed  enact- 
ment. He  also  succeeded  in  securing  the  passage  of  an 
act  providing  for  a 2 per  cent  gross  production  tax  on 
oil  and  gas.  In  this  session  he  secured  the  passage  of  a 
provision  recalling  the  state  board  of  agriculture.  This 
board  was  twice  recalled  inside  of  twelve  months;  first 
by  initiative  petition,  and  second  by  provision  submitted 
by  the  Legislature.  In  the  Fifth  Legislature  Senator 
Russell  was  author  of  a rural  credits  bill  which  was 
enacted  without  a dissenting  vote,  and  also  of  a proposed 
constitutional  amendment  fixing  a graduated  land  tax 
which  was  defeated  in  the  house.  In  the  First  Legislature 
he  had  put  through  a similar  measure,  but  five  years 
later  this  was  declared  by  the  Supreme  Court  to  be  un- 
constitutional. He  passed  another  bill  for  the  same  pur- 
pose in  the  Fourth  Legislature,  which  was  invalidated  by 
the  court  on  account  of  premature  adjournment  of  the 
Legislature.  He  was  the  author  of  graduated  tax  upon 
net  income,  which  is  now  being  successfully  applied  in 
Oklahoma,  also  of  the  3 per  cent  gross  production  tax 
upon  oil  and  gas,  which  is  still  being  contested  in  the 
court. 

In  1910  Senator  Russell  was  defeated  for  the  demo- 
cratic nomination  of  representative  of  the  third  district 
in  the  United  States  Congress,  by  Hon.  James  Daven- 
port; and  in  the  newly  created  second  district  he  was 
again  defeated  for  congressional  nomination  in  1914, 
his  sncoessful  onnonent  in  the  pr;mnr;es  ^avin"  bpen 
Hon.  William  W.  Hastings,  of  Tahlequah.  Senator 
Russell  is  a member  of  the  Christian  Church,  is  affiliated 


with  the  lodge  of  the  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons 
in  his  home  Village  of  Warner  and  with  the  chapter  of 
Royal  Arch  Masons  at  Muskogee;  with  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows  at  Warner,  and  with  the  local 
organization  at  Warner  of  the  National  Farmers’  Educa- 
tional and  Cooperative  Union.  He  has  one  sister, 
Mrs.  Nannie  Windes,  of  Tempe,  Arizona,  and  one 
brother,  James  E.,  who  is  a resident  of  Texas. 

On  the  25th  of  December,  1890,  Senator  Russell  mar- 
ried Martha  Shinn,  who  was  of  Cherokee  Indian  blood, 
and  she  died  a few  years  later,  leaving  no  children.  In 
November,  1896,  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  the 
Senator  to  Mamie  Overstreet,  who  is  of  Choctaw  des- 
cent. Concerning  the  children  of  these  unions  brief  data 
is  given  in  conclusion  of  this  article:  Connie  is  engaged 
ill  business  at  Warner;  Carl  is  a teacher  in  the  Oklahoma 
Secondary  Agricultural  School  at  Helena;  Christopher  is 
a student  in  the  law  department  of  the  University  of 
Oklahoma;  Mary  is  a teacher;  Margaret  is  a student  in 
the  Oklahoma  Agricultural  and  Mechanical  College  at 
Stillwater;  and  Clayton  and  Martha  remain  at  the  pa- 
rental home. 


Frank  D.  Northup.  Incidental  to  the  individual 
career  and  ancestral  history  of  Mr.  Northup  there  are 
many  points  of  distinctive  interest,  and  even  this  neces- 
sarily epitomized  record  can  not  fail  measurably  to 
denote  the  consistency  of  the  above  statement.  Per- 
sonally he  is  to  be  designated  as  a pioneer  in  each  of  two 
counties  in  the  present  State  of  Oklahoma;  he  was  one 
of  the  early  and  valued  members  of  the  faculty  of  the 
Oklahoma  Agricultural  and  Mechanical  College  at  Still- 
water; he  has  been  specially  prominent  and  influential  in 
connection  with  the  development  of  the  agricultural  and 
live-stock  industries  in  this  state;  and  is  at  the  present 
time  one  of  the  interested  principals  and  efficient 
executives  of  the  company  publishing  the  Oklahoma  Farm 
Journal,  the  leading  agricultural  periodical  of  the  South- 
west, besides  being  secretary  and  business  manager  of 
the  Times  Publishing  Company,  which  publishes  the 
Oklahoma  City  Times,  one  of  the  most  important  daily 
papers  of  the  state.  Apropos  of  the  genealogical  his- 
tory of  this  well  known  and  honored  citizen  it  may  be 
stated  that  the  original  progenitors  of  the  Northup 
family  in  America  immigrated  from  England  in  first 
decade  of  the  seventeenth  century,  and  settled  at  New 
Providence,  Rhode  Island.  In  1735  an  ancestor  of  the 
subject  of  this  review  became  one  of  the  pioneer  set- 
tlers of  Berkshire  County,  Massachusetts,  and  the  family 
name  has  long  stood  representative  of  prominence  and 
influence  in  the  annals  of  that  picturesque  section  of  the 
old  Bay  State. 

Frank  D.  Northup  was  born  on  a farm  near  the  city 
of  Pittsfield,  Berkshire  County,  Massachusetts,  on  the 
14th  of  July,  1870,  and  is  a son  of  Langham  D.  and 
Addie  M.  (Baird)  Northup,  the  former  a native  of 
Massachusetts  and  the  latter  of  Ohio.  In  1874  the 
family  removed  from  Massachusetts  to  the  West  and  the 
father  became  a pioneer  farmer  in  Kansas;  he  developed 
a fine  farm  in  that  state,  and  continued  a prominent 
and  honored  citizen  of  that  section  of  Kansas  until  his 
death,  in  1904,  his  widow  being  now  a resident  of 
Oklahoma  City. 

He  whose  name  initiates  this  review  was  about  four 
years  old  at  the  time  of  the  family  removal  to  Kansas, 
where  he  was  reared  to  adult  aere  under  the  invigorating 
discipline  of  the  home  farm  and  where  he  was  afforded 
the  advantages  of  the  excellent  public  schools.  In  the 
Sunflower  State  he  also  gained  practical  experience  in 
the  printing  and  newspaper  business,  and  in  April,  1892, 
about  three  months  prior  to  his  twenty-second  birthday 


I 

| 

| 

" 

I feet  i 
1 that 
lAfeof 


Jj'l  el 

(lell 
Meal 
Wo, 
Meatl 
Pi  was 


we 

JjiStt 

TilT-m 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2095 


anniversary,  he  came  to  the  newly  organized  Territory  of 
Oklahoma  and  became  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  of 
Taloga,  Dewey  County.  There  he  continued  as  editor 
and  publisher  of  the  Taloga  Occident,  a weekly  paper, 
until  May  of  the  following  year,  when  he  removed  to 
Stillwater,  and  thus  became  likewise  a pioneer  of  Payne 
County.  In  September,  1893,  when  the  famous  Cherokee 
strip,  or  outlet,  was  thrown  open  to  settlement, 
Mr.  Northup  was  among  those  who  made  the  historic 
"run”  to  obtain  land  in  the  new  district,  and  he  secured 
a tract  of  160  acres,  eligibly  situated  nine  miles  from 
Stillwater.  He  reclaimed  this  land  to  cultivation  and 
perfected  his  title  to  the  property,  of  which  he  is  still 
the  owner.  On  the  1st  of  March,  1899,  Mr.  Northup 
became  a member  of  the  faculty  of  the  Oklahoma  Agri- 
cultural and  Mechanical  College  at  Stillwater,  in  which 
institution  he  became  superintendent  of  the  department 
of  printing.  Of  this  office  he  continued  the  incumbent 
until  the  1st  of  May,  1901,  when  he  resigned  and 
assumed  that  of  editor  and  publisher  of  the  Stoekman- 
Parmer,  at  Stillwater.  While  still  identified  with  the 
affairs  of  the  college  he  had  served  for  a time  as 
editor  of  the  Stillwater  Gazette,  and  after  publishing 
the  Stockman-Farmer  one ' year  he  became  associated, 
in  1902,  with  John  Fields  in  the  purchase  of  the  Okla- 
homa Farm  Journal,  the  publication  of  which  paper  they 
continued  at  Stillwater  until  the  1st  of  October,  1906, 
when  they  removed  the  plant  to  Oklahoma  City,  which 
in  the  following  year  became  the  capital  of  the  new  State 
of  Oklahoma.  In  this  city  the  Oklahoma  Farm  Journal 
has  since  continued  to  be  published,  and  with  constantly 
expanding  influence,  its  progressive  business  and  editorial 
policies  have  made  it  the  leading  farm  publication  of  the 
state  and  its  circulation  now  extending  into  virtually  all 
agricultural  sections  of  the  Southwest.  In  January,  1915, 
Mr.  Northup  and  his  associates  purchased  also  the  stock 
of  the  Times  Publishing  Company,  publishers  of  the 
Oklahoma  City  Times,  the  issuing  of  which  daily  paper 
is  continued  in  connection  with  the  publishing  of  the 
Farm  Journal.  Mr.  Northup  is  secretary  and  adver- 
tising manager  of  the  Oklahoma  Farm  Journal  Company 
and  secretary  and  business  manager  of  the  Times  Pub- 
lishing Company. 

In  polities  Mr.  Northup  has  ever  given  unwavering 
illegiance  to  the  republican  party.  In  1898  he  enlisted 
for  service  in  the  Spanish- American  war,  as  a member 
jf  the  First  Territorial  Volunteer  Infantry,  and  with 
;his  command  he  held  the  rank  of  corporal  during  the 
period  of  active  military  operations  in  Cuba,  though  his 
egiment  was  not  called  to  the  front.  Mr.  Northup  is 
)ast  commander  of  Oklahoma  City  Post  of  the  United 
Ijpaflish- American  War  Veterans,  and  since  1910  he  has 
>een  secretary  of  the  Oklahoma  State  Historical  Society, 

fact  that  indicates  his  deep  and  abiding  interest  in 
ill  that  touches  the  history  and  advancement  of  the 
tate  of  which  he  is  a pioneer  and  in  which  his  circle  of 
fiends  is  coincident  with  that  of  his  acquaintances.  He 
s past  chancellor  of  Stillwater  Lodge  No.  8,  Knights  of 
’ythias,  and  both  he  and  his  wife  hold  membership  in 
he  Methodist  Episcopal  Church. 

December  25,  1895,  Mr.  Northup  wedded  Miss  Myrtle 
I.  Hutto,  daughter  of  Isaac  N.  Hutto,  of  Stillwater,  and 
er  death  occurred  in  June,  1897.  On  the  27th  of  June, 
900,  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Northup  to 
liss  Elsie  M.  Parker,  daughter  of  H.  Parker,  of  Clai- 
orne,  this  state,  and  the  two  children  of  this  union  are 
porothy  Elizabeth  and  Carolyn  Duane.  The  family  resi- 
enee  is  at  424  East  Park  Street,  Oklahoma  City,  and 
business  offices  of  Mr.  Northup  are  at  220  West 
econd  Street. 

Vol.  v— 22 


Warren  Zimmerman.  Since  1907  Mr.  Zimmerman  has 
been  the  capable  editor  and  owner  of  the  Guymon  Herald 
at  Guymon.  Since  reaching  manhood  Mr.  Zimmerman 
has  always  worked  at  the  printer’s  trade  or  in  news- 
paper business,  and  has  been  identified  with  Oklahoma 
journalism  for  ten  years.  He  has  more  than  succeeded 
in  keeping  the  Guymon  Herald  at  the  high  place  it 
deserves  by  reason  of  a quarter  century’s  existence  in 
this  district  of  Western  Oklahoma. 

The  primitive  conditions  of  western  pioneer  i life  sur- 
rounded Warren  Zimmerman  at  his  birth.  He  was  born 
January  8,  1880,  in  a sod  house  on  a farm  in  Osborne 
County,  Kansas.  His  parents  were  Benjamin  Franklin 
Grush  and  Phoebe  (Smiley)  Zimmerman.  His  father 
was  born  in  Perry  County,  Pennsylvania,  September  14, 
1844,  a son  of  William  Zimmerman,  also  a native  of 
Pennsylvania.  The  father  spent  all  his  active  career  as 
a farmer.  During  the  Civil  war  he  enlisted  in  the  One 
Hundred  and  Forty-fourth  Regiment  of  Pennsylvania 
Infantry,  but  was  out  only  six  months,  being  discharged 
on  account . of  illness.  A vfew  years  after  the  war,  in 
1871,  he  moved  out  to  Kansas,  locating  on  Government 
land  in  Osborne  County.  Like  many  of  the  early  settlers 
there  he  was  a man  of  limited  means  and  he  put  up 
the  kind  of  house  which  was  typical  of  that  district  then 
and  for  many  years  afterwards.  He  and  his  family 
lived  in  the  sod  dugout,  enduring  hardships  and  priva- 
tions, and  for  several  years  practically  all  the  meat  that 
was  consumed  in  the  family  came  from  buffaloes,  which 
were  still  numerous  on  the  Kansas  prairies.  In  politics 
he  was  a republican,  but  had  no  aspirations  to  official 
position,  although  he  was  one  of  the  organizers  of 
Osborne  County.  His  death  occurred  at  Porter,  Kansas, 
January  15,  1910.  He  was  a member  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church,  and  was  active  in  Grand  Army  circles. 
In  1874,  at  Waterville,  Kansas,  Benjamin  F.  Zimmerman 
married  Mrs.  Phoebe  (Smiley)  Kistler.  She  was  born 
in  Pennsylvania,  September  17,  1846,  and  in  1868  she 
married  William  Kistler.  There  was  one  child  by  this 
union,  Lillian,  now  the  wife  of  Bert  Long  of  Liberal, 
Kansas.  Mr.  Kistler  died  in  1870.  By  her  second  union 
she  became  the  mother  of  five  children,  two  sons  and 
three  daughters,  namely : Gertrude,  who  was  the  first 

born,  was  born  June  6,  1875,  and  died  in  1881;  William 
Luther,  born  February  8,  1876;  Warren;  Mary  Smiley, 
born  November  17,  1882;  and  Winifred,  born  May  3, 
1884,  now  the  wife  of  John  Hahn  of  Osborne,  Kansas. 

Warren  Zimmerman  came  to  manhood  with  the  equiva- 
lent of  a liberal  education.  He  attended  the  public 
schools  in  Osborne  and  the  Kansas  Wesleyan  College 
at  Salina.  In  1901,  at  the  age  of  twenty-one,  he  entered 
the  office  of  the  Osborne  County  Farmer  at  Osborne, 
and  there  learned  the  printer’s  trade  and  many  details 
of  practical  newspaper  management.  In  1903  he  was 
made  editor  and  manager  of  the  Osborne  News,  directed 
that  paper  for  two  years,  and  then  in  1905  came  to 
Oklahoma  and  bought  an  interest  in  the  Chandler  News. 
He  remained  at  Chandler  two  years,  and  then  in  1907 
bought  the  Guymon  Herald  at  Guymon. 

Since  taking  charge  of  the  Herald  Mr.  Zimmerman  has 
introduced  many  changes  and  improvements  in  the  inter- 
ests of  a modern  newspaper  plant.  In  towns  of  the  size 
there  are  few  newspaper  plants  in  the  state  that  equal 
the  Herald  office.  The  Herald  is  a republican  paper, 
has  a large  and  influential  circulation,  and  is  a credit 
to  the  large  district  it  serves  as  the  chief  medium  for 
news,  opinion  and  advertising.  It  was  established  in 
1890  and  was  the  pioneer  paper  of  Texas  County. 

On  January  22,  1906,  at  Fort  Worth,  Texas,  Mr. 
Zimmerman  married  Martha  Edgemon.  She  was  born 


2096 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


January  22,  1883,  at  Athens,  Tennessee,  where  her  par- 
ents were  also  born.  To  their  union  has  been  born  one 
child,  Richard  Grush,  born  February  4,  1909,  at  Guymon. 
Mr.  Zimmerman  and  wife  are  members  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church,  and  fraternally  he  is  a Knight  Templar 
Mason. 

Col.  S.  A.  McGinnis.  One  of  the  most  prominent 
lawyers  and  citizens  of  Kay  County  is  Colonel  McGinnis 
of  Newkirk.  Colonel  McGinnis  has  been  identified  with 
Oklahoma  as  a lawyer  and  man  of  affairs  since  1893, 
and  for  twenty-two  years  has  made  his  help  and  service 
count  for  value  and  progress  in  the  Southwest. 

S.  A.  McGinnis  was  born  in  Coffey  County,  Kansas, 
November  10,  1867.  His  father,  Dr.  J.  A.  McGinnis, 
was  a native  of  West  Virginia  and  an  early  settler  in 
Kansas.  He  was  a soldier  in  the  Union  Army  during 
the  Civil  war,  and  was  the  son  of  a soldier  in  the  Mexi- 
can war,  while  his  great-grandfather  has  served  in  the 
War  of  1812,  and  a great-grandfather  was  a soldier 
of  the  Eevolution.  Thus  there  has  been  a strong  tend- 
ency to  military  life  in  every  successive  generation,  and 
Colonel  McGinnis  of  Newkirk  has  his  title  as  a result 
of  active  participation  in  the  National  Guards  of  both 
Kansas  and  Oklahoma.  Dr.  J.  A.  McGinnis  was  a suc- 
cessful physician  and  well  known  factor  in  Coffey  and 
Butler  counties,  Kansas.  He  had  moved  from  the  East 
to  Indiana,  later  to  Illinois,  and  finally  to  Kansas,  being 
identified  for  varying  lengths  of  time  with  all  these 
states. 

Col.  S.  A.  McGinnis  was  married  in  1890  to  Laura 
Laughlin,  a woman  of  culture  and  intelligence  and  be- 
longing to  a family  of  noted  educators.  Her  father, 
George  H.  Laughlin,  was  at  one  time  president  of  Hiram 
College  in  Ohio,  the  insitution  over  which  James  A. 
Garfield  at  one  time  presided,  and  a strong  and  intimate 
friendship  existed  between  Mr.  Garfield  and  Professor 
Laughlin.  The  children  born  to  Colonel  and  Mrs.  Mc- 
Ginnis are:  Harold,  who  has  served  four  years  in  the 

United  States  navy  as  an  electrician,  and  has  visited 
every  important  part  of  the  Globe;  Eilene;  Ward  A.; 
Grant;  and  Arthur. 

Colonel  McGinnis  rose  to  the  rank  of  colonel  in  the 
Second  Begiment  of  Kansas  troops  in  the  National 
Guards,  and  has  also  served  as  captain  of  Troop  I,  First 
United  States  Volunteer  Cavalry,  “Roosevelt  Rough 
Eiders,”  of  Oklahoma.  He  was  attorney  to  the  Dawes 
Commission  in  Indian  Territory  for  eighteen  months, 
and  has  also  served  in  many  other  legal  capacities.  He 
was  attorney  for  Butler  County,  Kansas,  and  has  also 
served  as  county  attorney  in  Oklahoma.  He  is  a man 
of  most  pleasing  address  and  manner,  is  a splendid 
speaker  and  is  a large  man  both  physically  and  mentally. 

Louis  Rogers,  Sr.,  is  one  of  the  men  who  have  known 
Pawhuska  in  all  its  growth  and  development  from  an 
Indian  agency  to  a thriving  and  flourishing  city.  Mr. 
Rogers  has  himself  been  a part  of  that  development  and 
growth.  His  is  a name  synonymous  with  integrity,  good 
business  ability,  and  all  the  sterling  qualities  of  citi- 
zenship. 

Though  most  of  his  life  has  been  spent  in  Oklahoma, 
he  was  born  in  Georgia,  March  15,  1843.  His  parents 
were  Nelson  and  Rosa  (West)  Rogers,  both  of  whom 
were  natives  of  Georgia,  where  they  married.  They  were 
the  parents  of  two  sons  and  two  daughters.  The  oldest 
and  the  youngest  of  the  family  are  still  living.  Nelson 
Rogers  and  his  wife  came  to  Indian  Territory  in  the 
early  days,  and  he  was  successfully  identified  with 
general  farming  and  the  cattle  business. 

For  many  years  Louis  Rogers  was  a successful  farmer 


near  Avant,  Oklahoma,  and  conducted  ranching  on  a 
small  scale.  After  the  death  of  his  first  wife  he  sold 
his  farm  in  that  locality  and  has  since  had  his  home  at 
Pawhuska.  In  his  long  and  active  career  Mr.  Rogers 
has  also  acquired  military  experience.  He  served  three 
years  in  the  war  between  the  states  and  is  one  of  the 
honored  veterans  of  that  great  struggle.  All  his  life 
he  has  been  a democrat,  and  for  twenty  years  has  been 
affiliated  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  While  he  himself 
has  no  church  affiliations,  his  wife  is  a Methodist. 

About  forty  years  ago  Mr.  Rogers  married  Miss  Helen 
Ross,  a daughter  of  Louis  Ross,  a prominent  name  among 
the  early  Indian  families  of  Indian  Territory.  Louis 
Ross  brought  his  family  to  Oklahoma  from  Georgia.  Mr. 
Rogers  by  his  first  marriage  had  five  children.  Three 
are  now  deceased.  His  daughter  is  the  wife  of  Ben 
Avant,  reference  to  whom  is  found  on  other  pages  of 
this  work.  Mr.  Rogers’  son  lives  near  Avant.  For  his 
second  wife  Mr.  Rogers  married  Mrs.  Hood,  a white 
woman  from  Fort  Smith,  Arkansas. 


Robert  Lee  Flynn.  Perhaps  no  one  class  of  men 
more  thoroughly  appreciate  the  fact  that  Oklahoma  is  a 
new  state  than  those  upon  whom  are  thrust  the  respon- 
sibilities of  county  offices.  In  the  older  states  it  is 
customary  for  each  distinct  set  of  duties  to  be  performed 
by  a special  official.  As  a matter  of  economy  and  on 
account  of  the  great  expense  involved  in  organizing  and 
establishing  county  government  all  over  the  state,  it  is 


not  unusual  to  find  in  Oklahoma  one  official  filling  what 
is  in  reality  half  a dozen  offices  at  once. 

This  state  of  affairs  is  well  illustrated  in  the  person 
of  Robert  Lee  Flynn  of  Shawnee,  whose  official  designa- 
tion is  court  clerk.  He  has  his  offices  both  in  the  City 
Hall  at  Shawnee  and  in  the  County  Courthouse  at  Tecum 
seh.  He  is  clerk  of  the  District  Court  of  Pottawatomie 
and  Lincoln  counties;  is  clerk  of  the  Superior  Court 
located  at  Shawnee,  with  jurisdiction  over  Pottawatomie 
County ; and  is  also  clerk  of  the  Pottawatomie  County 
Court  at  Tecumseh.  Robert  E.  Flynn  is  a Missourian 
and  was  born  in  Howard  County,  April  4,  1885.  His 
father,  Stephen  A.  Flynn,  was  born  in  Ireland  in  1839 
came  to  America  about  1855  when  little  more  than  a 
boy,  and  after  living  for  a time  in  New  York  State  and 
in  Ohio  came  out  to  Missouri,  where  he  married  and) 
soon  afterward  established  his  home  in  Howard  County. 

He  was  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  in  Oklahoma,  having! 
located  in  Lincoln  County  in  1892,  not  long  after  the 
original  opening  of  lands  in  that  district.  In  1899  he 
removed  to  Keokuk  Falls  in  Pottawatomie  County,  and 
homesteaded  a claim.  He  was  not  only  a farmer  but 
also  a school  teacher.  He  also  rendered  service  to  his 
adopted  country  during  the  dark  days  of  the  Civil  war  as 
a Union  soldier  for  three  years.  In  one  battle  he  was  fee 
severely  wounded,  but  recovered  in  time  to  join  his  com- 
rades and  served  the  full  term  of  three  years.  He  was 
a member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity.  The  death  of  this 
old  Oklahoma  settler  occurred  at  Keokuk  Falls  in  June 
1904.  The  maiden  name  of  his  wife  was  Sarah  C.  Low 
den,  who  was  born  in  Missouri  and  now  lives  at  Seminole 
Oklahoma.  Their  family  comprised  nine  children,  noted 
briefly  as  follows : Mrs.  Maggie  Buck,  who  lives  at 

Anadarko  and  whose  husband  is  a farmer;  Maud,  wh< 
married  L.  Tribble,  who  is  a harness  maker  and  merchanl 
at  Seminole  City,  Oklahoma;  William  H.,  who  is  nov 
filling  the  office  of  sheriff  in  Lubbock  County,  Texas 
Ivan  L .,  who  is  a minister  in  the  Nazarene  Church  ii 
Seminole  City;  Thomas  S.,  whose  home  is  at  Drumright 
Oklahoma;  Robert  Lee,  who  comes  next  in  order  of  birth 
Joseph  S.,  who  is  an  employee  in  the  United  States  Naw 
Yard  at  San  Francisco;  James  W„  a farmer  at  Ana 


iff 


Pest 


fife  Sf 
Inland. 


“isilll; 

Hate 


"stonily 
totlony  I 


to  Stott 
the  t 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2097 


darko ; and  May,  wife  of  James  Embree,  a carpenter  and 
builder  at  Perry,  Oklahoma. 

As  will  be  noted  Robert  L.  Flynn  was  only  about 
* seven  years  of  age  when  his  parents  came  to  Oklahoma. 
e During  their  residence  in  Lincoln  County  he  attended 

j public  school  at  Ardmore.  Still  later  he  was  sent  to 

school  at  Whitewater,  Wisconsin,  and  was  graduated 
from  the  high  school  of  that  city  in  1904.  During  1905 
he  attended  the  Indianola  Business  College  at  Tecumseh, 
where  he  took  a course  in  bookkeeping,  and  in  1906  learned 
™ stenography  in  the  New  State  Business  College  at 
? Shawnee. 

'I13  From  1907  to  1911  Mr.  Flynn  was  a stenographer  in 
' the  law  offices  of  Standard,  Wahl  & Ennis  at  Shawnee, 
!ee  and  left  that  work  to  accept  the  position  of  deputy  in  the 
>el.  district  clerk’s  office  of  Pottawatomie  County.  He  con- 
tinued  as  deputy  until  January  4,  1915,  when  he  assumed 
13  his  present  onerous  duties,  having  been  elected  to  the 
119  office  of  court  clerk  in  the  preceding  November.  Mr. 
Flynn  resides  at  513  Louisa  Street  in  Shawnee.  He  is 
a stockholder  in  the  Fidelity  Loan  Company  of  that  city, 
men  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  at  Shawnee 
is  a and  Camp  No.  7781  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America, 
[on-  In  politics  he  is  a democrat.  In  1909  he  became  iden- 
t is  tided  with  the  Oklahoma  National  Guard  at  Shawnee 
'Jiei  and  is  now  lieutenant  of  the  company. 

1 on  On  December  24,  1912,  he  was  married  at  Shawnee  to 
aad  Miss  Winnie  McColgan  of  Shawnee.  They  have  one 
it  is  daughter,  Glorya  Louise,  born  January  20,  1914. 

W.  R.  Kelly,  M.  D,  A man  to  whom  may  be  con- 
ersoa  sistently  ascribed  much  versatility  of  talent,  but  the 
ignaj  genius  of  whose  success  has  been  well  ordered  personal 
Citj  effort,  is  the  sterling  pioneer  citizen  whose  name  initiates 
i«m  this  paragraph  and  who  was  one  of  the  host  of  ambitious 
tomi  men  who  came  into  Oklahoma  Territory  at  the  time  when 
Court  the  historic  Cherokee  Strip  was  thrown  open  to  settle- 
itomii  ment.  He  has  had  the  prescience  and  judgment  to  make 
'omit]  good  use  of  the  manifold  opportunities  afforded  in  the 
mriai  state  of  his  adoption  and  has  become  one  of  the  sub- 
Hi  stantial  capitalists  of  Oklahoma,  with  large  and  varied 
1839,  interests.  He  still  gives  a considerable  attention  to 
Ian!  the  work  of  his  profession,  is  the  editor  and  publisher 
teanl  of  the  Watonga  Herald,  has  been  largely  concerned  with 
ii  ani  the  real  estate  business  and  with  banking  interests,  and 
kraut  has  been  one  of  the  foremost  in  the  development  and 
bavinj  upbuilding  of  the  thriving  Town  of  Watonga,  the  judicial 
ter  thi  center  of  Blaine  County,  where  his  property  interests  are 
§59  li  large  and  valuable  and  where  he  maintains  his  residence, 
ry,  sii  as  one  of  the  honored  and  influential  citizens  of  that 
l'er  ki  section  of  the  state.  Of  him  it  has  been  properly  said 
tolii  that  “He  is  a type  of  the  men  of  genius  and  courage 
nan  who  established  civilized  communities  upon  the  prairies 
h?  ns  where  only  Indians  had  previously  held  sway,  and  who 
liscou  have  contributed  greately  to  the  civic  advancement  and 
He  4 material  wealth  of  the  new  state.  ’ ’ The  doctor  is  the 
of  thi  owner  of  one  of  the  largest  and  most  effectively  improved 
in  June  farms  in  Blaine  County,  and  is  the  owner  of  a large 
C,  Low  cumber  of  properties  in  Watonga,  including  business 
emboli  md  residence  buildings  to  the  number  of  thirty  or  more. 
n,  note  Doctor  Kelly  was  born  in  the  City  of  Fond  du  Lac, 
lives  i Wisconsin,  in  1864,  and  is  a representative  of  a sterling 
md,  4 pioneer  family  of  the  fine  old  Badger  State,  where  his 
neichai  father  settled  in  1848,  soon  after  his  immigration  from 
, is  «o  Ireland.  The  doctor  was  one  of  a family  of  six  sons 
Texas  md  six  daughters,  and  the  mental  alertness  of  the  family 
juich  i s indicated  by  the  fact  that  all  of  the  sons  and  daughters 
[jnuigll  sventually  became  successful  teachers,  the  parents, 
ofhirtt  Anthony  and  Abbie  (Malley)  Kelly,  both  of  stanch  old 
rtes  Nai  rish  stock,  having  continued  their  residence  in  Wisconsin 
at  Am  mtil  the  time  of  their  death.  The  six  sisters  of  Doctor 


Kelly  are  still  living,  and  concerning  them  the  following 
brief  record  is  consistently  entered:  Mrs.  R.  H.  Murphy 

is  a widow  and  resides  in  the  City  of  Los  Angeles,  Cali- 
fornia, her  husband  having  become  known  as  the  king 
of  wheat  farmers  in  North  Dakota  many  years  prior  to 
his  death;  Mrs.  B.  A.  Kindergan  is  the  wife  of  a suc- 
cessful contractor  in  Sioux  City,  Iowa;  Mrs.  J.  M.  Rider 
resides  in  the  same  city  and  is  a widow,  her  husband 
having  been  a prosperous  farmer;  Mrs.  Frank  Malley  is 
the  wife  of  a prominent  real  estate  dealer  in  Sioux  City; 
Miss  Mary  E.  is  a popular  teacher  in  the  high  school  in 
the  City  of  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin;  and  Mrs.  T.  J.  Conley 
is  the  wife  of  a retired  farmer,  their  home  being  now  in 
Oklahoma  City. 

After  duly  availing  himself  of  the  advantages  of  the 
excellent  public  schools  of  his  native  state  Doctor  Kelly 
attended  the  Wisconsin  State  Normal  School  at  Oshkosh 
from  1880  to  1884,  and  after  the  completing  of  his 
effective  normal  course  he  turned  his  attention  to  the 
pedagogic  profession,  of  which  he  became  a successful 
and  popular  representative  as  a teacher  in  the  public 
schools  of  Wisconsin  and  later  those  of  North  Dakota. 
After  devoting  three  years  to  this  vocation  the  doctor 
was  for  a time  engaged  in  farming  in  North  Dakota,  and 
then,  in  consonance  with  his  ambition  and  well  matured 
plans,  he  began  the  work  of  preparing  himself  for  his 
chosen  profession.  He  entered  the  celebrated  Rush  Medi- 
cal College  in  the  City  of  Chicago,  in  which  he  was 
graduated  in  1892,  with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine. 
He  forthwith  entered  upon  a post-graduate  course  in  the 
medical  department  of  the  University  of  Illinois,  and  in 

1893  this  institution  likewise  conferred  upon  him  the 
degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine.  In  the  latter  year  he 
engaged  in  the  practice  of  medicine  at  Watonga,  Okla- 
homa Territory,  and  in  the  pioneer  community  he  soon 
built  up  a substantial  practice  that  marked  him  as  one 
of  the  representative  physicians  and  surgeons  of  the 
territory.  He  early  became  identified  with  other  lines 
of  productive  activity  in  connection  with  which  he  resided 
for  a time  at  Geary,  Blaine  County,  and  Weatherford, 
Custer  County.  In  1900  Doctor  Kelly  effected  the  organi- 
zation of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Watonga,  and  of 
this  institution  he  served  six  years  as  president.  In 

1894  he  passed  an  examination  before  the  territorial 
pharmaceutical  board  and  then  opened  a drug  store  at 
Watonga,  the  same  having  been  conducted  in  connection 
with  his  medical  practice.  Retiring  from  the  banking 
business  in  1906,  he  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business, 
in  connection  with  which  he  built  up  a large  and  im- 
portant enterprise  in  the  handling  of  both  town  and 
farm  property.  In  the  meanwhile  he  had  become  a 
stockholder  in  the  company  that  published  the  Watonga 
Herald,  and  to  protect  his  interest  he  was  finally  com- 
pelled to  assume  control  of  the  newspaper  plant  and 
business,  the  result  being  that  he  has  become  well  known 
also  as  one  of  the  successful  newspaper  men  of  Oklahoma. 
He  is  still  the  owner  and  publisher  of  the.  Watonga 
Herald,  of  the  editorial  department  of  which  he  main- 
tains personal  supervision,  and  for  a time  he  was  the 
owner  also  of  the  Geary  Bulletin  and  the  Okeene  Leader, 
in  two  other  of  the  prosperous  towns  of  Blaine  County. 
The  doctor  is  a member  of  the  Oklahoma  Press  Asso- 
ciation, the  Oklahoma  State  Medical  Association,  the 
Blaine  County  Medical  Society,  the  Oklahoma  Pharma- 
ceutical Association,  the  American  Medical  Association 
and  the  Oklahoma  Telephone  Association,  besides  which 
he  was  formerly  an  active  member  of  the  Oklahoma 
Bankers’  Association.  He  is  serving  as  health  officer  of 
Blaine  County  and  as  a member  of  the  board  of  United 
States  pension  examiners  for  the  county,  besides  being 
local  surgeon  at  Watonga  for  the  Chicago  & Rock  Island 


2098 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Railroad.  For  the  past  ten  years  he  has  been  president 
of  the  Watonga  Commercial  Club  and  has  been  a valued 
leader  in  the  furtherance  of  its  progressive  civic  policies 
and  ideals,  with  special  influence  in  giving  to  this 
thriving  little  city  its  excellent  municipal  waterworks 
and  electric  lighting  systems  and  other  public  utilities. 
Under  the  energetic  and  capable  direction  of  Doctor 
Kelly  was  constructed  the  first  mile  of  modern  improved 
road  in  Oklahoma,  and  he  has  been  one  of  the  liberal  and 
zealous  supporters  of  the  good  roads  movement.  Most 
of  the  brick  buildings  in  Watonga  were  erected  by  this 
progressive  and  public-spirited  citizen,  and  he  is  still 
the  owner  of  fully  thirty  buildings  in  the  town,  includ- 
ing business  structures  and  houses.  He  had  also  the 
distinction  of  being  the  prime  factor  in  the  movement 
to  effect  the  erection  of  a suitable  • county  courthouse 
at  Watonga,  and  he  is  looked  to  for  leadership  and 
decisive  action  in  every  progressive  measure  advanced 
for  the  social  and  material  benefit  of  his  home  city  and 
county. 

In  the  time-honored  Masonic  fraternity  Doctor  Kelly 
has  received  the  thirty-second  degree  of  the  Ancient 
Accepted  Scottish  Rite,  as  a member  of  the  Consistory 
in  the  City  of  Guthrie;  his  ancient  craft  affiliation  is 
with  Watonga  Lodge  No.  176,  Ancient  Free  and  Ac- 
cepted Masons;  and  at  Oklahoma  City  he  holds  mem- 
bership in  the  Temple  of  the  Ancient  Arabic  Order  of 
Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  is  past  master  of  the 
Masonic  lodge  in  his  home  city,  and  is  identified  also 
with  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America,  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen. 

In  1896,  at  Watonga,  was  solemnized  the  marriage 
of  Doctor  Kelly  to  Miss  Iva  Carpenter,  and  she  was 
summoned  to  the  life  eternal  in  July,  1911,  being  sur- 
vived by  two  children,  Cleo,  who  is  a graduate  of  the 
Watonga  High  School  and  is  one  of  the  popular  young 
women  in  the  social  activities  of  her  home  city,  and 
William  C.,  who  was  twelve  years  of  age  in  1915  and 
who  is  still  attending  the  public  schools. 

Bert  Smith.  On  the  basis  of  his  record,  Bert  Smith 
is  undoubtedly  the  most  popular  man  in  Garfield  County 
politics.  As  everyone  acquainted  with  things  political 
in  Oklahoma  knows,  Garfield  County  has  long  been  one 
of  the  republican  strongholds  of  the  state,  and  yet  Mr. 
Smith,  as  a democrat,  has  succeeded  in  overcoming  the 
opposition  forces  on  several  occasions,  and  at  the  present 
time  is  holding  the  dual  office  of  county  clerk  and  register 
of  deeds. 

Bert  Smith  was  born  in  Crawfordsville,  Indiana,  Nov- 
ember 28,  1871,  and  in  1880,  at  the  age  of  nine  years, 
went  with  his  parents  to  Reno  County,  Kansas,  growing 
up  on  a farm  in  that  section  of  the  Sunflower  State. 
From  the  farm  he  entered  an  office  of  the  Rock  Island 
Railway  and  learned  telegraphy,  was  a telegraph  opera- 
tor at  McPherson,  Kansas,  and  in  1895  was  transferred 
by  the  Rock  Island  Company  to  El  Reno,  Oklahoma.  In 
1897,  leaving  the  railway  service,  Mr.  Smith  removed 
to  Enid,  and  the  following  two  years  was  engaged  in 
farming  seven  miles  west  of  that  city.  For  ten  years  he 
sold  nursery  stock  all  over  the  state.  He  was  also  in 
business  as  a merchant  at  LaHoma  for  two  years. 

In  1912  Mr.  Smith  was  elected  register  of  deeds  of 
Garfield  County,  and  while  he  was  in  that  office  by  act 
of  the  Legislature  the  duties  of  a register  of  deeds  were 
combined  with  those  of  county  clerk,  and  in  November, 
1914,  Mr.  Smith  was  elected  to  the  combined  office.  In 
that  campaign  he  had  a strong,  contest  with  the  former 
county  clerk,  a republican,  who  had  not  only  the  prestige 
attaching  to  him  on  the  ground  of  his  previous  service, 
but  also  the  backing  of  a normal  republican  majority 


in  the  county  of  600.  In  1912  Mr.  Smith  had  carried 
the  county  with  the  largest  majority  ever  given  to  any 
democrat,  going  into  office  with  a margin  of  731  votes. 
In  1914  he  carried  the  county  by  a majority  of  sixty- 
nine.  His  duties  as  county  clerk  and  register  of  deeds 
began  on  January  1,  1915,  and  he  now  gives  all  his  time 
to  this  office,  having  three  deputies. 

Mr.  Smith  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  and  Odd 
Fellows  fraternities.  He  married  Miss  Thirza  I.  Willis 
of  Kirksville,  Missouri.  They  have  one  daughter,  Julia 
Pauline. 

Jesse  M.  Robberson.  Farmer,  banker  and  one  of  the 
old-timers  of  the  Chickasaw  Nation,  Jesse  M.  Robberson 
lives  at  Loco  in  Stephens  County,  but  his  interests  in 
farming  lands  and  financial  affairs  are  so  extended  as 
to  make  him  one  of  the  leading  business  figures  in  the 
state. 

Jesse  M.  Robberson  was  born  in  Cedar  County,  Mis- 
souri, August  4,  1855,  and  there  spent  the  first  six  years 
of  his  life,  after  which  he  went  to  Dade  County,  Mis- 
souri, in  company  with  his  parents,  Richard  Allen  and 
Maria  H.  (Mitchell)  Robberson.  Several  generations 
back  the  Robberson  family  were  among  the  pioneer  set- 
tlers of  Middle  Tennessee.  Mr.  Robberson ’s  grandfather, 
William  Robberson,  was  a Methodist  preacher,  and  lived 
at  Ebenezer,  near  Springfield,  Missouri,  and  probably 
died  there.  Robberson  Prairie,  near  Springfield,  was 
named  in  his  honor.  The  maternal  grandfather,  Jesse 
Mitchell,  was  also  a minister  of  the  Methodist  Church 
and  spent  his  last  years  at  Brighton  in  Polk  County, 
Missouri.  In  1865  Richard  A.  Robberson  took  his  family 
to  Polk  County,  Missouri,  renting  a farm  near  Brighton. 
While  the  family  lived  there  Jesse  M.  Robberson  found 
plenty  of  work  on  the  farm,  after  which  he  spent  two 
years  at  Pleasant  Hope  or  Pinhook.  The  father  then 
removed  his  family  to  a tract  of  160  acres  of  unimproved 
timber  land,  and  the  son  helped  to  clear  and  reduce  that 
to  cultivation.  Finally  selling  the  farm,  Richard  A. 
Robberson  removed  to  Paul’s  Valley,  Indian  Territory, 
in  November,  1874.  Several  years  later  he  went  on  a 
journey  to  Bellevue  in  Cooke  County,  Texas,  to  make 
arrangements  to  secure  the  benefit  of  the  schools  of  that 
place  for  his  children,  and  finally  went  on  to  Sherman, 
Texas,  to  procure  lumber  for  the  building  of  a home  for 
his  family  in  Bellevue.  While  in  Sherman  he  was  taken 
ill  and  died  there  September  28,  1878,  and  was  buried  in 
Sherman.  His  widow  died  March  4,  1884,  and  is  also 
buried  at  Sherman.  Their  children,  nine  in  number,  are' 
enumerated  briefly  as  follows:  Jesse  M.;  W.  F.,  twin 

brother  of  Jesse,  who  is  now  a farmer  near  Edna  ini 
Jackson  County,  Texas;  James  W.,  who  owned  a liveryi 
stable  at  Wynnewood,  Oklahoma,  where  he  died  in  1901 ; j 
Newton  S.,  who  is  a retired  farmer  at  Davenport,  Okla- 
homa; Lillian,  who  died  at  the  age  of  two  years;  B.  W.J 
who  is  a farmer  near  Perry,  Oklahoma;  Dora,  whose 
clothing  caught  fire  and  was  burned  to  death  at  Paul’s 
Valley,  Oklahoma,  in  February,  1880,  she  being  at  that 
time  the  wife  of  John  T.  Hill,  a Paul’s  Valley  farmer, 
who  died  in  1914;  Allen  G.,  a well  known  business  man 
of  Loco,  of  whom  there  is  individual  mention  in  follow- 
ing paragraphs;  and  Annie,  twin  sister  of  Albert,  now 
the  wife  of  Henry  Smith,  a farmer  and  stock  raiser  a( 
Clarendon,  Texas. 

.Jesse  M.  Robberson  continued  to  aid  in  the  operatioi 
of  the  home  farm  until  1874,  when  he  removed  to  Paul’s 
Valley  in  the  Indian  Territory  and  for  a year  eontinuec 
at  home  helping  his  father.  For  five  years  following 
1875  he  was  afflicted  almost  to  the  point  of  being  ; 
cripple  by  rheumatism  and  a malady  of  the  eyes.  Hi 
was  employed  with  the  firm  of  Miller  & Green,  Paul’: 


I.  ga 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2099 


Valley  merchants,  until  September,  1878,  and  then  went 
to  Cooke  County,  Texas,  with  the  intention  of  attending 
school,  but  changed  his  plans  and  went  out  to  Hall 
County,  Texas,  with  a bunch  of  3,500  head  of  cattle, 
he  and  his  mother  and  brother  owning  ninety-six  head  of 
that  lot.  There  he  was  engaged  in  the  care  and  raising 
of  the  cattle  until  1883,  when  he  sold  out  for  $6,500, 
giving  his  mother  a third  of  the  proceeds. 

His  next  location  was  at  Fort  Arbuckle,  where  he  was 
employed  for  wages  in  the  winter  of  1883.  In  the 
spring  of  1884  he  and  his  brother  went  to  Hall  County, 
where  they  obtained  thirteen  saddle  horses,  and  at  Ganes- 
ville  bought  337  head  of  yearlings,  which  they  drove  to 
the  Grant  and  Beeler ’s  .Ranch,  where  Chickasha,  Okla- 
homa, is  now  located.  In  this  venture  they  were  in 
partnership  with  their  brother,  W.  F.  Robberson.  After 
holding  the  cattle  until  they  were  three  years  old  they 
sold  but  realized  no  profit  on  the  investment.  Jesse 
Robberson  was  afterward^  employed  by  Ed  Huntley  in 
the  cattle  business  until  the  succeeding  fall,  when  they 
went  to  Belcher,  Texas,  and  purchased  350  two-year-old 
steers,  driving  them  to  the  Polk  Ranch  on  Mud  Creek, 
owned  by  Florence  Hall.  The  next  July  the  cattle  were 
sold  at  a profit  for  $1,500.  Mr.  Robberson  then  took  a 
trip  on  horseback  to  Belcher,  Henrietta  and  to  Stephens 
County  on  a cattle-buying  expedition.  After  returning 
home  they  went  to  Quanah,  Texas,  and  bought  251  head 
of  three-  and  four-year-old  steers,  rounded  them  up  and 
had  them  driven  to  Hamilton,  that  state.  Jesse  M. 
Robberson  took  charge  of  a cattle  drove  to  Mud  Creek, 
where  he  sold  177  head  to  MeCaughey  Brothers  for 
“feeders,”  and  eighty  to  his  brothers,  A.  G.  and  B.  W., 
and  including  the  remainder,  which  he  sold  the  following 
June,  he  realized  a profit  of  $1,500. 

In  the  spring  of  1899  he  dissolved  partnership  with 
his  brother  and  went  to  Gainesville,  Texas,  where  he 
purchased  350  head  of  yearlings,  which  he  drove  to  Mud 
Creek,  continuing  in  the  cattle  business  at  that  place 
until  the  fall  of  1900,  when  he  sold  out  for  $25,000.  On 
January  13,  1891,  with  his  brother,  A.  GV|  he  engaged  in 
the  mercantile  business  at  Dixie,  Oklahoma,  under  the 
name  of  J.  M.  Robberson,  and  they  continued  this  as  a 
successful  enterprise  until  selling  out  on  January  13, 
1908.  In  1893  Mr.  Robberson  also  opened  a store  at 
Loco,  which  he  sold  to  his  brother,  A.  G.,  in  February, 
1912.  In  1897,  in  connection  with  A.  S.  Hathaway,  he 
erected  the  cotton  gin  in  Loco,  and  sold  his  interest  in 
that  enterprise  in  1909.  For  many  years  he  has  been 
extensively  interested  in  raising  mules,  horses  and  hogs. 

Mr.  Robberson  is"  the  largest  individual  taxpayer  in 
Stephens  County.  He  owns  2,500  acres  in  Stephens, 
Jefferson,  Carter,  Grady  and  Garvin  counties,  Oklahoma, 
and  also  in  Texas.  He  is  a stockholder  and  director  in 
the  Oklahoma  National  Life  Insurance  Company  of  Okla- 
homa City  and  is  president  of  the  First  State  Bank  of 
Ringling,  having  organized  that  bank  in  April,  1914, 
and  opening  it  for  business  on  May  11,  1914.  He  is  also 
president  of  the  State  Bank  of  Loco.  This  was  estab- 
lished as  a private  bank  by  Mr.  Robberson  in  1903, 
M.  M.  Bowman  being  bookkeeper.  It  became  a state 
bank  in  1907,  Mr.  Bowman  resigning  at  that  time.  The 
present  officers  of  this  bank  at  Loco  are:  J.  M.  Rob- 

berson, who  has  been  president  since  its  organization; 
J.  F.  Stotts  of  Ringling,  vice  president;  Percy  W.  New- 
ton, cashier;  Miss  Lulu  Cain,  assistant  cashier.  The 
bank  has  capital  stock  of  $10,000  dollars,  and  its  present 
surplus  amounts  to  $2,500. 

Mr.  Robberson  is  a democrat  and  for  a number  of 
years  during  territorial  days  served  as  a member  of  the 
school  board  of  Loco.  He  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic 
and  Odd  Fellows  orders.  On  March  21,  1898,  he  married 


at  Grand  View,  Texas,  Miss  Nora  Conner,  daughter  of 
Dr.  L.  H.  Conner,  of  that  place.  Their  first  child,  Jesse, 
was  born  June  30,  1900,  and  died  October  12th  of  the 
same  year.  They  now  have  a daughter,  Graeie  Jurhee, 
who  was  born  February  5,  1902,  and  is  a student  in  the 
seventh  grade  of  the  public  schools  at  Loco. 

Allen  G.  Robberson.  A young  brother  of  Jesse  M. 
Robberson,  whose  career  as  a business  man  and  whose 
family  history  has  been  detailed  in  preceding  paragraphs, 
Allen  Green  Robberson  was  for  a number  of  years  asso- 
ciated with  his  brother  in  their  business  undertakings 
and  is  one  of  the  leading  merchants,  farmers  and  citizens 
of  Stephens  County. 

He  was  born  in  Polk  County,  Missouri,  July  16,  1866, 
a son  of  Richard  A.  and  Maria  H.  (Mitchell)  Robberson, 
concerning  whom  information  is  given  above.  In  1874 
the  family  removed  to  the  Chickasha  Nation,  locating  at 
Paul’s  Valley,  and  Allen  G.  Robberson  completed  his 
education  in  Cooke  County,  Texas,  in  private  schools. 
At  the  age  of  fifteen  he  left  school  and  went  to  the 
cattle  range  of  the  Texas  Tanhandle  and  spent  six  years 
in  the  exciting  and  arduous  experience  of  cowboy"  In 
1887  he  located  on  Beef  Creek,  near  the  Washita  River 
in  Indian  Territory,  and  was  for  three  years  engaged  in 
general  farming.  During  1890  he  was  for  three  months 
a clerk  under  his  brother,  W.  F.  Robberson,  at  Robberson 
near  Honey  Creek  in  Indian  Territory.  On  January  13, 
1891,  he  and  his  brother,  Jesse  M.,  bought  out  a general 
store  at  Dixie,  and  he  was  actively  identified  with  the 
management  of  that  successful  concern  for  seventeen 
years,  until  January  13,  1908,  when  the  business  was 
closed  out.  He  then  removed  to  Loco,  and  after  four 
years  spent  in  trading  and  collection,  in  1912  bought  the 
large  general  store  which  had  been  established  many 
years  before  by  his  brother,  Jesse,  and  is  now  the  proprie- 
tor of  this  establishment,  which,  though  located  in  one 
of  the  small  towns  of  Southern  Oklahoma,  has  an  immense 
volume  of  trade,  drawn  from  Stephens,  Carter  and  Jef- 
ferson counties.  The  store  occupies  30  by  97  feet  of 
ground  and  is  located  on  Main  and  Broadway  streets  in 
Loco.  'His  attention,  however,  is  divided  between  the 
management  of  this  mercantile  concern  and  his  extensive 
farming  and  stock  interests.  He  is  the  owner  of  1,100 
acres  of  land  situated  in  the  northeast  corner  of  Jefferson 
County,  six  miles  north  of  Ringling.  He  cultivates  200 
acres  of  this  himself,  while  tenants  handle  the  rest. 

For  many  years  Mr.  Robberson  has  been  one  of  the 
hard-working,  shrewd  and  intelligent  business  men  and 
citizens  of  the  old  Chickasaw  Nation.  He  is  a democrat, 
has  helped  to- provide  good  schools  for  Loco  as  a member 
of  the  school  board  and  was  county  representative  in  the 
organization  of  the  state.  He  is  affiliated  with  Loco 
Lodge  No.  361  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows 
and  Camp  No.  682  of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World  at 
Loco. 

On  June  18,  1900,  at  Bettina,  Oklahoma,  he  married 
Miss  Pearl  Price,  daughter  of  William  P.  Price,  who  up 
to  his  death  was  a farmer  and  stock  man  at  Bettina.  To 
their  marriage  have  been  born  four  children:  Price  A., 

born  January  29,  1901,  and  now  a freshman  in  the  Loco 
High  School;  Annabett,  born  in  1903  and  in  the  sixth 
grade  of  the  public  school;  Lucile,  born  in  1905  and  in 
the  fifth  grade;  and  Hylagene,  born  January  28,  1912. 

Charles  Napoleon  Prudom.  The  fact  that  one  of 
the  streets  of  Pawhuska  is  named  Prudom  is  a small 
but  lasting  tribute  to  the  services  of  an  Osage  citizen 
who  has  lived  in  that  community  since  early  boyhood 
and  who  has  identified  himself  public  spiritedly  with 
nearly  everything  of  importance  that  has  been  "a  part 


2100 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


of  the  general  progress  and  upbuilding  of  this  section 
of  Oklahoma. 

A casual  acquaintance  with  Mr.  Prudom  does  not 
reveal  the  depths  of  his  character  and  the  great  sources 
of  his  ability.  He  has  that  quiet  efficiency  which  ac- 
complishes a great  deal  with  very  little  noise  and  no 
confusion.  He  has  a mind  which  comprehends  large 
things,  and  his  energy  makes  every  plan  a definite 
result.  He  is  truly  a self  made  man,  and  has  not  only 
pulled  his  own  weight  in  the  world,  but  has  borne 
heavy  responsibilities  for  others. 

His  has  been  an  interesting  as  well  as  a fruitful 
career.  Born  near  Topeka,  Kansas,  January  8,  1856, 
he  takes  justifiable  pride  in  his  ancestry  and  the  blood 
that  flows  in  his  veins.  His  father,  Peter  Prudom,  was 
born  in  Missouri  and  was  a Frenchman  with  a quarter 
blood  of  the  New  York  Indian  stock  that  was  part  of 
the  seven  great  tribes  around  the  Great  Lakes.  His 
mother,  Mary  B.  Revlett,  also  a native  of  Missouri,  was 
of  French  ancestry,  and  a one-eighth  blood  Osage 
Indian.  Peter  Prudom,  who  was  a farmer  and  cattle 
man,  died  in  1870  a few  months  after  he ' and  his 
family  had  settled  in  the  Osage  Nation.  Among  the 
seven  children  in  the  family  Charles  Napoleon  was  the 
oldest,  and  after  his  father’s  death  the  care  of  the 
household  and  outside  affairs  devolved  largely  upon 
his  youthful  shoulders.  It  is  said  that  he  practically 
reared  all  the  other  members  of  the  family,  four  of 
whom  reached  maturity.  Most  of  hjs  early  schooling 
came  from  the  old  Mission  School  in  Neosho  Copnty, 
Kansas. 

Coming  to  the  Osage  Nation  when  a boy  of  fourteen 
and  losing  his  father  a few  months  later  and  his  mother 
in  March,  1875,  Mr.  Prudom  showed  an  unusual  respon- 
siveness to  those  duties  which  early  became  his  lot. 
He  started  life  with  a meager  education.  Poor,  with 
industry  as  his  chief  asset,  he  became  one  of  the 
pioneer  farmers  and  cattle  raisers  along  the  Caney 
River  just  south  of  the  Kansas  line  in  the  Osage 
Nation.  With  those  operations  he  was  identified  until 
1883. 

If  any  man  can  say  that  he  has  seen  Pawliuska  rise 
from  the  wilderness  into  a thriving  city  it  is  Mr.  Pru- 
dom. His  first  visit  to  the  town  was  in  1872,  when  he 
was  a boy  of  sixteen.  At  that  time  the  only  structure 
of  importance  on  the  site  was  a little  building  used  for 
the  Indian  Agency,  whose  quarters  were  in  one  end, 
while  the  other  end  was  a shoe  shop.  Since  1883 
Mr.  Prudom  has  been  continuously  identified  with  the 
town,  which  then  however  was  only  a small  Indian 
village.  In  that  year  he  bought  a ranch  just  below 
Pawhuska  and  engaged  extensively  in  the  cattle  and 
horse  business  until  about  three  years  ago,  when  he  sold 
his  stock  and  most  of  his  land  and  retired  to  a town 
home  in  Pawhuska. 

In  these  thirty  or  more,  years  Mr.  Prudom ’s  means 
and  enterprise  have  gone  liberally  to  the  upbuilding 
of  his  home  locality.  Those  who  are  in  a position  to 
know  say  that  he  has  done  as  much  if  not  more  to 
promote  the  material  interests  of  the  city  as  any  other 
man.  He  still  owns  several  brick  blocks  that  he  built, 
besides  residences  and  other  pieces  of  property,  and  has 
handled  and  developed  much  real  estate  in  the  city. 
His  capital  has  been  used  almost  wholesale  in  the 
development  of  the  town,  and  on  every  hand  might  be 
pointed  out  some  conspicuous  building  which  was 
erected  directly  by  him  or  with  his  financial  supoort. 

On  retiring  from  his  country  home  he  bought  a 
beautiful  place  on  a hill  overlooking  the  city  and  com- 
manding an  extensive  view  of  the  surrounding  land- 
scape for  manv  miles.  There  he  erected  a home  de- 
signed to  satisfy  all  the  cultured  tastes  of  the  family 


and  provide  every  modern  comfort.  It  is  a large  and 
ample  mansion,  complete  even  down  to  the  smallest 
detail,  including  sleeping  porches. 

His  name  has  been  associated  with  every  public 
enterprise  of  importance  at  Pawhuska.  He  assisted  in 
organizing  and  establishing  nearly  every  church,  gave 
financial  assistance  to  building  their  edifices,  and  has 
been  a factor  in  various  fraternity  organizations.  Ho 
is  a Knight  Templar  Mason,  is  a charter  member  of  the 
Lodge  at  Pawhuska,  and  also  a charter  member  of  the 
Knights  of  Pythias. 

Ever  since  Bryan  came  out  for  free  silver  he  has 
voted  the  republican  ticket.  During  territorial  days 
he  was  a member  of  the  Osage  council  six  or  seven 
times,  was  a member  of  the  committee  called  to  allot 
the  land  of  the  Osages,  and  performed  several  mis- 
sions for  his  people  in  Washington.  In  fact  during  the 
last  generation  every  affair  of  importance  concerning 
the  Osage  Indians  has  been  impressed  with  the  advice 
and  ability  of  Mr.  Prudom.  ' 

He  was  one  of  the  first  men  to  find?  gas  in  Osage 
County  and  is  a stockholder  in  the  Pawhuska  Oil  and 
Gas  Company.  He  is  a director  and  stockholder  in 
the  First  National  Bank,  an  old  and  stable  institution 
that  is  the  outgrowth  of  a little  bank  started  in  pioneer 
times.  Mr.  Prudom  was  one  of  those  who  bought  and 
reorganized  the  bank  as  the  First  National.  He  is 
also  president  and  the  largest  stockholder  of  the  Prue 
State  Bank  and  is  a stockholder  in  the  Midland  Conti- 
nental Life  Insurance  Company. 

Through  all  these  years  since  he  reached  his  ma- 
jority he  has  enjoyed  a happy  home  life.  He  is  properly 
proud  of  his  family,  and  his  children  and  grandchildren 
give  him  the  affection  and  respect  paid  to  the  patriarchs 
of  old.  To  his  wife  he  gives  credit  for  a loyal  and 
faithful  co-operation  with  him  through  adversity  and 
success.  She  has  never  failed  him  and  her  influence 
has  been  a factor  in  his  material  prosperity  as  well  as 
in  the  successful  training  of  their  children.  On  March 
28,  1875,  he  married  Anna  Eliza  Norbury.  Mrs.  Prudom, 
who  was  born  in  Iowa,  is  of  German  and  English 
descent.  Of  the  ten  children  of  their  marriage  six 
died  in  infancy.  The  four  still  living  are  daughters. 
Three  of  these  are  married  and  Mr.  Prudom  finds 
great  satisfaction  in  his  sons-in-law,  who  are  capable 
business  men  in  and  around  Pawhuska,  and  Mr.  Pru- 
dom has  been  associated  with  them  in  varied  enter- 
prises. The  daughter  Lula  married  Thomas  Mosier, 
of  the  well  known  family  mentioned  on  other  pages 
of  this  publication.  Maud  is  the  wife  of  Henry  Prue, 
a large  rancher  near  Pawhuska.  Norine  lives  at  home 
with  her  parents.  Nettie  is  Mrs.  A.  W.  Lohmann, 
whose  husband  is  a rancher  near  Pawhuska. 
Mrs.  Prudom  is  an  active  member  of  the  Catholic 
Church,  which  Mr.  Prudom  generously  supports,  and 
she  reared  her  children  in  the  same  faith.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Prudom  have  a number  of  grandchildren  and  as 
they  take  great  pride  in  these  members  of  the  younger 
generation,  and  as  some  of  them  are  now  working  for 
Mr.  Prudom,  it  is  but  proper  that  their  names  should 
be  appended  to  this  article.  The  names  of  the  grand- 
children are:  Chas.  Prudom  Mosier,  Thomas  Mosier,  Jr., 
Edwin  Mosier,  Christina  Mosier,  Luther  Mosier, 
•Tarfies  Mosier.  Hattie  M.  Prue,  Charles  Franklin  Prue, 
Everett  H.  Prue,  Floyd  B.  Prue,  Annabell  Prue, 
Annetta  Lohmann,  and  August  W.  Lohmann. 

The  Elk  City  Library.  The  definite  need  for  a 
Carnegie  library  in  Elk  City,  the  metropolis  of  Beckham 
County,  had  for  many  years  been  a matter  of  discussion 
on  the  part  of  individual  citizens  and  civic  organizations, 
but  to  achieve  the  desired  end  no  distinctive  movement 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2101 


' was  made  until  the  24th  of  February,  1912,  when  a 

! committee  of  six  ladies  from  the  Presbyterian  Church 

called  a meeting  of  the  ladies  of  Elk  City  to  consider 
the  possibility  of  establishing  a public  library.  As  a 
11  matter  of  historic  record  it  should  be  noted  that  the  six 
1 women  comprising  this  original  and  public-spirited  com- 
■>  mittee  from  the  Presbyterian  Church  of  Elk  City  were 
• Mesdames  S.  L.  Neely,  George  Dramer,  Samuel  Orr,  W. 

E.  Allen,  O.  H.  Young  and  Mrs.  Florence  Brown. 

1P  By  the  1st  of  March,  1912,  permanent  organization 
had  been  made,  and  constitution  and  by-laws  were 
15  adopted  by  which  all  executive  power  was  vested  in  a 
fs  board  of  twelve  members.  The  ladies  elected  to  the 
L board  at  that  time — with  the  exception  of  those  who 
« have  removed  from  Elk  City — have  since  served  faith- 

is-  fully  and  effectively,  the  personnel  of  the  sterling  corps 

lie  who  have  thus  labored  so  earnestly  for  the  achievement 
y of  a noble  public  service  being  as  here  noted : Mesdames 

ice  S.  L.  Neely,  Fried  Mayer,  A.  G.  Low,  George  F.  Sisson, 
D.  A.  Mayer,  E.  C.  Willison,  O.  H.  Cafky,  W.  E.  Allen, 
ige  Jodie  Burnett,  Charles  Durie  and  John  G.  Scott.  Those 
mi  who  have  been  added  to  fill  vacancies  are  Mesdames  Guy 
in  McClung,  H.  C.  Powell,  John  Forsythe,  John  Maupin 
ion  and  W.  A.  Wright. 

cei  The  library  was  started  with  250  volumes,  which  were 
>U'i  donated  by  townspeople,  and  from  this  nucleus  has  been 
i is  ' evolved  a collection  that  at  the  close  of  the  year  1915 
’rue  includes  850  volumes.  The  business  men  of  the  town 
nti-j  , were  solicited  for  monthly  subscription  to  defray  run- 
■ ning  expenses,  such  as  rent  for  the  room  occupied  and 
«•  the  paying  of  the  salary  of  the  librarian.  Many  other 
eily  methods  were  used  to  obtain  funds  with  which  to  pur- 
irea  chase  books. 

rets  On  the  22d  of  February,  1914,  at  a “Colonial  Ban- 
mi]  quet,  ’’  the  Elk  City  Library  Association  asked  the  Com- 
aad  mereial  Club  to  assist  in  securing  for  the  library  a 
cnee  Carnegie  building.  It  was  through  the  co-operation 
‘Has  thus  effected  that  lots  were  purchased  and  final  arrange- 
iaich  ments  made  for  the  building,  which  was  completed  in 
Join,'  the  autumn  of  1915,  its  dedication  having  been  made, 
;lish  with  most  consistent  ceremony  and  other  observances, 
e six  in  October  of  that  year. 

iters]  The  board  appointed  by  the  city  council  to  direct  the 
finds;  affairs  of  the  Carnegie  Library  of  Elk  City  has  the 
pable  following  personnel : Judge  R.  E.  Echols,  W.  C.  Thomas, 

Pm]  0.  F.  Tesmar,  John  G.  Scott,  Mrs.  0.  H.  Cafky,  Mrs. 
enter-;  W.  E.  Allen  and  Mrs.  John  G.  Scott. 

[osier] 


pages 


hnska. 


R.  B.  Butler.  The  Tribune  Press,  publishing  the 
Evening  and  Weekly  Tribune,  at  Blackwell,  of  which 
R.  B.  Butler  is  editor  and  proprietor,  is  one  of  the  most 
enterprising  younger  journals  of  Northern  Oklahoma. 

I Established  three  years  ago,  it  has  already  forged  to 
the  front  among  the  county  papers  and  has  fulfilled  the 
essential  purposes  of  a new  organ  in  publishing  the 
news  in  an  attractive  manner,  in  furnishing  an  excellent 
medium  for  business  and  advertising,  and  in  advocating 
through  its  columns  every  movement  for  righteousness, 
clean-mindedness,  wholesome  civic  standards,  temperance, 
education  and  religion.  It  practices  the  precepts  of  home 
first  and  world  afterwards.  The  Tribune  has  a large 
support  both  in  the  city  and  county  and  goes  regularly 
to  subscribers  living  in  every  state  in  the  Union.  It  is 
published  from  a strictly  modern  plant,  equipped  with  a 
Mergenthaler  linotype  and  with  all  the  facilities  for 
high  class  printing  and  press  work.  The  office  also  makes 
a specialty  of  high  grade  job  and  book  printing.  The 
paper  was  established  in  Blackwell  in  the  fall  of  1912 
and  Mr.  Butler  has  shown  a rare  degree  of  enterprise 
and  success  in  bringing  it  so  quickly  to  favor  and 
influence. 


PH*. 


R.  B.  Butler  was  born  at  Huntingdon,  Tennessee,  Nov- 
ember 26,  1882,  and  for  a young  man  still  under  thirty- 
five  has  accomplished  a great  deal  of  excellent  work  in 
the  world,  both  as  a newspaper  man  and  as  a minister 
of  the  gospel.  He  comes  of  an  old  Tennessee  family, 
whose  ancestors  were  hardy  pioneers  and  noted  for  the 
courage  of  their  convictions.  Mr.  Butler’s  father,  Gar- 
vin B.  Butler,  is  a native  Tennesseean  and  is  one  of  the 
leading  stock  breeders  of  the  west  half  of  the  state. 
The  mother’s  maiden  name  was  Mary  E.  'Chambers. 
Both  parents  are  members  of  the  Baptist  Church  and  the 
father  is  affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows.  There  are  five  children  and  both  the  sons, 
R.  B.  and  A.  C.,  are  connected  with  the  Tribune  Press 
at  Blackwell. 

Mr.  Butler  grew  up  on  a farm  in  Tennessee  where  he 
learned  the  meaning  of  honest  toil.  His  early  education 
was  received  in  the  public  schools,  after  which  he  at- 
tended Union  University  at  Jackson,  Tennessee,  and 
finally  graduated  from  Hall-Moody  Baptist  College  at 
Martin,  Tennessee.  He  was  ordained  to  the  ministry  in 
1906,  the  year  after  graduation,  since  which  time  he  has 
been  actively  engaged  in  that  work.  He  held  several 
pastorates  in  Oklahoma  prior  to  entering  into  the  news- 
paper business  and  is  still  active  in  church  work,  preach- 
ing regularly.  He  is  a member  of  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  served  two  years  as  a member 
of  the  Tennessee  State  Militia. 

On  July  14,  1906,  Mr.  Butler  was  married  to  Miss 
Maude  White,  daughter  of  A.  B.  White  of  Enid,  Okla- 
homa. To  their  union  have  been  born  two  daughters: 
Mary  Virginia  and  Marguritte.  He  is  a republican  in 
politics  and  with  his  wife  holds  membership  in  the 
Baptist  Church.  * 

Clarence  B.  Leedy.  The  first  county  attorney  of 
Ellis  County  after  its  organization  and  statehood  was 
Clarence  B.  Leedy.  His  father  some  year  before  had 
been  the  first  postmaster  of  one  of  the  new  towns  in 
Dewey  County,  and  the  town  was  named  in  his  honor, 
Leedey,  with  only  a slight  modification  of  the  name. 
These  two  facts  indicate  that  members  of  the  Leedy 
family  have  been  exceptionally  active  in  that  section 
of  Oklahoma,  and  they  have  been  a fine  type  of  those 
worthy  characters  who  in  future  years  will  be  credited 
as  empire  builders.  Clarence  B.  Leedy  is  one  of  the 
most  successful  lawyers  of  Ellis  County,  lives  at  Arnett, 
and  has  been  quite  a man  of  affairs  for  a number  of 
years. 

Though  he  is  still  on  the  lee  side  of  middle  age,  he 
came  into  close  touch  with  pioneer  conditions  at  his 
birth,  since  his  birthplace  was  a log  house  on  a farm 
in  Fulton  County,  Indiana.  There  he  first  saw  the  light 
of  day  September  9,  1875.  His  parents  were  Amos  and 
Sarah  C.  (Hunter)  Leedy.  Amos  Leedy  was  born  June 
6,  1850,  near  Akron,  Ohio,  a son  of  Abraham  A.  and 
Elizabeth  E.  (Leedy)  Leedy,  both  of  whom  were  natives 
of  Pennsylvania.  Abraham  was  born  in  1819  and  died 
in  1901,  and  his  wife  was  born  March  25,  1826,  and 
is  now  living  at  Tiosa,  Indiana. 

In  1859  Amos  Leedy  moved  to  Fulton  County,  Indiana, 
and  in  1882  took  his  family  to  Illinois,  and  from  there 
came  on  to  Oklahoma  in  1898.  While  not  one  of  the 
earliest  pioneers  of  the  original  Oklahoma,  he  was  one 
of  the  most  active  of  the  early  settlers  in  Dewey  County, 
where  he  established  his  home  on  Government  land.  A 
part  of  that  land  has  since  been  covered  by  the  thriving 
Town  of  Leedey  and  his  name  was  fitly  accepted  as  the 
name  of  the  incipient  village.  As  already  stated,  he 
was  the  first  postmaster  when  the  office  was  established 
in  1899  and  held  that  position  until  1902.  He  is  now 


2102 


31  STORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


living  quietly  retired  at  Leedey  and  the  major  part  of 
his  activities  as  a business  man  have  been  performed 
as  a farmer.  In  1873  Amos  Leedy  married  Miss  Sarah 
C.  Hunter,  daughter  of  Jacob  Hunter,  who  was  a native 
of  New  York.  She  was  born  March  20,  1854,  in  Marshall 
County,  Indiana,  and  died  in  Piatt  County,  Illinois,  Octo- 
ber 20,  1895.  She  was  a very  religious  woman,  an  active 
member  of  the  German  Baptist  Church,  and  divided  hei 
time  and  interests  between  her  home  and  family  and  her 
church  duties.  She  became  the  mother  of  ten  children, 
five  sons  and  five  daughters,  namely : Clarence  B. ; Tempy 
Ann;  Ira,  deceased;  Harley  G. ; Aaron  A.;  Charles  A.; 
Dora;  Hassie;  Elizabeth  E.;  and  a daughter,  the  fifth 
in  age,  who  died  in  infancy.  On  January  20,  1905,  at 
Independence,  Kansas,  Amos  Leedy  married  his  present 
wife.  She  was  born  in  Kansas.  In  1883  Mr.  Amos 
Leedy  was  regularly  ordained  a minister  of  the  German 
Baptist  Church,  and  for  a great  many  years  has  per- 
formed the  part  of  a leader  in  church  work. 

Clarence  B.  Leedy  was  about  seven  years  old  when  the 
family  moved  to  Illinois,  and  he  acquired  his  early 
education  in  Piatt  County  of  that  state.  He  attended 
college  at  the  Central  Normal  College  in  Danville,  Indi- 
ana, where  he  took  a course  in  law  and  graduated  in 
1898.  On  May  12,  1898,  Mr.  Leedy  enlisted  in  Company 
A of  the  Sixteenth  United  States  Infantry  for  service 
in  the  Spanish- American  war,  which  had  broken  out 
only  a few  weeks  previous.  He  was  sent  to  Cuba  and 
took  part  in  the  noted  battle  of  San  Juan  Hill  on  July 
1,  1898.  In  that  historic  engagement  he  was  wounded 
though  not  seriously.  He  was  discharged  with  a record 
of  ‘ ‘ excellent  ’ ’ in  character  and  conduct. 

During  the  years  1899-1900  Mr.  Leedy  was  a traveling 
representative  for  the  Chicago  Journal  and  Herald.  In 
June,  1900,  he  joined  his  family  in  Oklahoma,  and  his 
first  venture  here  was  to  locate  a claim  near  Leedey  in 
old  Day  County.  He  served  as  deputy  county  attorney 
of  Day  County  one  term.  In  1904  he  was  appointed 
assistant  county  attorney  of  old  Day  County,  and  located 
for  private  practice  at  Grand. 

In  September,  1907,  Mr.  Leedy  was  elected  county 
attorney  of  Ellis  County  on  the  republican  ticket.  The 
county  had  been  created  by  the  constitutional  convention, 
and  he  was  the  first  to  fill  that  important  office  in  the 
local  civil  government.  He  filled  it  for  3%  years  and 
since  his  term  of  office  as  county  attorney  has  expired 
he  has  refused  to  accept  any  office,  and  has  enjoyed  the' 
largest  law  practice  of  any  attorney  in  Western  Okla- 
homa. Mr.  Leedy  is  said  to  have  the  largest  law  library 
in  Ellis  County,  and  is  a thoroughly  informed  and  skillful 
attorney.  He  is  active  as  a republican,  and  has  been  a 
member  of  the  central  and  state  committees  since  1901. 
Fraternally  he  is  identified  with  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows  and  has  passed  all  the  chairs  in  his  home 
lodge. 

On  February  2,  1902,  at  Leedey,  he  married  Miss 
Mabel  Ann  Foster,  daughter  of  Alexander  W.  and  Clara 
(Sharp)  Foster.  Her  parents  were  both  born  in  Cass 
County,  Missouri,  and  that  was  also  her  birthplace  on 
July  4,  1882.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Leedy  have  a fine  family 
of  eight  children,  five  sons  and  three  daughters,  namely: 
Mabel  Ethel,  born  March  16,  1903,  and  died  January  4, 
1905;  Charles  B.,  born  November  24,  1904;  Eva,  born 
July  16,  1906;  Raymond,  born  February  18,  1908;  Dar- 
win, born  February  16,  1910;  Clara,  born  September  30, 
1912;  Frank,  born  June  12,  1914;  and  Eldon  Leedy, 
born  February  26,  1916. 

William  David  Atkins.  While  he  is  one  of  the  more 
recent  recruits  to  the  field  of  commercial  endeavor,  the 
success  which  has  already  attended  the  efforts  of  William 


David  Atkins  gives  promise  of  his  becoming  one  of  the  ) 
leading  merchants  of  Garfield  County,  as  he  is  now  the  ] 
proprietor  of  the  principal  store  at  Kremlin.  Mr.  Atkins 
is  pre-eminently  an  excellent  example  of  the  self-made  j 
man,  having  worked  his  own  way  through  college,  and  J 
prior  to  entering  mercantile  lines  taught  school,  his  capi-  j| 
tal  for  his  business  having  been  saved  from  his  earnings  | 
as  an  educator. 

Mr.  Atkins  is  a product  of  the  agricultural  community  i j | 
of  Lyon  County,  Kansas,  where  he  was  born  on  his 
father’s  farm,  July  27,  1883,  a son  of  Albert  W.  and 
Margaret  Jane  (Wyrick)  Atkins.  The  family  is  of 
English  origin,  and  was  founded  in  the  United  States 
by  the  grandparents  of  William  D.  Atkins,  William  and 
Anna  Atkins,  natives  of  the  mother  country,  who  emi- 
grated here  in  1831  and  passed  the  remaining  years  of 
their  lives  in  Will  County,  Illinois.  Albert  W.  Atkins  | 
was  born  at  Joliet,  Illinois,  February  10,  1852,  was 
reared  amid  agricultural  surroundings,  adopted  the  voca- 
tion of  a farmer  when  he  reached  years  of  maturity,  and 
has  passed  the  entire  period  of  his  active  life  in  pastoral 
pursuits.  He  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of 
Illinois,  but  when  eighteen  years  of  age  went  to  Kansas 
and  purchased  land  in  Lyon  CouDty,  continuing  to  carry 
on  his  operations  there  until  1899.  At  this  time  there  , 
came  the  only  break  in  his  agricultural  career,  when  he 
became  the  proprietor  of  a meat  market  at  Drummond,  . 
but  after  one  year’s  experience  in  this  line  he  disposed 
of  his  interests  therein  and  in  1900  located  on  a claim- 
in  Woods  County.  In  1913  he  removed  to  Kremlin,  and 
is  now  retired  from  active  pursuits.  He  has  a successful 
career  in  a material  way,  and  in  the  evening  of  life  is 
able  to  enjoy  the  fruits  of  his  years  of  labor.  Mr.  At- 
kins was  married  at  Emporia,  Kansas,  March  15,  1879, 
to  Miss  Margaret  Jane  Wyrick,  a daughter  of  David  I 
and  Jemima  (Brown)  Wyrick,  who  were  natives  of 
Indiana.  She  was  born  December  14,  1862,  in  Marion 
County,  Indiana,  and  became  the  mother  of  three  daugh- 
ters and  seven  sons,  as  follows:  Anna  Elizabeth,  born 

December  15,  1881,  who  is  now  a teacher  in  the  public 
schools  of  Oklahoma;  William  David,  of  this  review; 
Albert  Pearl,  born  December  6,  1884;  Nellie  and  Nettie, 
twins,  born  December  24,  1886;  Lawrence  LeRoy,  born 
December  29,  1888;  James  Oliver,  born  April  22,  1890; 
Walter,  who  died  in  infancy;  Orlando,  born  July  9,  1899; 
and  Ivan  Guy,  born  May  20,  1904,  who  died  May  20, 
1906. 

William  David  Atkins  was  sixteen  years  of  age  when 
he  accompanied  his  parents  to  Oklahoma.  He  had  se- 
cured a common  school  education  in  Lyon  County,  Kan- 
sas, but  was  ambitious  for  a better  and  more  advanced* 
training,  and  accordingly  resolved  to  work  his  own 
way  through  school.  Enrolling  as  a student  at  the 
Oklahoma  Northwestern  Normal  School,  he  solicited  such* 
honorable  employment  as  might  be  found  about  the  insti- 
tution, to  which  he  devoted  himself  during  the  hours  he 
was  not  engaged  in  study,  and  thus,  through  industry 
and  the  strictest  economy,  he  was  enabled  to  work  his 
way  through  and  to  graduate  with  the  class  that  left 
the  Alva  institution  in  1907.  In  1909,  1910,  1911  and 
1912,  with  this  equipment,  Mr.  Atkins  was  superintendent 
of  city  schools  of  Cleo,  Oklahoma,  and  in  1912  came  to 
Kremlin  in  the  same  capacity.  During  the  two  years 
that  he  acted  as  superintendent  of  schools  he  became 
widely  and  favorably  known  among  the  people  of  this 
locality,  and  when  the  opportunity  presented  itself  he 
decided  to  enter  business  affairs,  and  accordingly  em- 
barked in  mercantile  lines.  It  is  illustrative  of  his 
ability  to  state  that  he  doffed  the  cap  and  gown  of  the 
educator  and  donned  the  apron  of  the  merchant  withoul 
trouble,  and  that  in  his  new  field  of  endeavor  he  is  making] 


p 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2103 


prodigious  strides  toward  success.  He  carries  a general 
stock,  selected  after  a careful  study  of  the  needs  and 
wants  of  the  community,  well  arranged,  moderately  priced 
and  attractively  displayed.  His  establishment  has  taken 
its  place  as  the  leading  store  at  Kremlin. 

Mr.  Atkins  was  married  at  Alva,  Oklahoma,  June  2, 
1909,  to  Miss  Mary  Elizabeth  Else,  who  was  born  at 
Weeping  Water,  Nebraska,  November  22,  1886,  a daugh- 
ter of  John  and  Mary  (Evans)  Else,  the  former  a native 
of  England  and  the  latter  of  Illinois.  Mrs.  Atkins  is  a 
graduate  of  Oklahoma  Northwestern  Normal  School,  class 
of  1907,  having  been  president  of  her  class  during  her 
senior  year.  After  her  graduation  she  began  to  teach 
school,  was  married  to  Mr.  Atkins  two  years  later,  and 
continued  to  teach  for  two  years  more.  She  now  devotes 
herself  to  the  duties  of  her  household,  and  to  her  chil- 
dren, of  whom  there  are  four:  Leah  May,  born  March 

11,  1910;  George  William,  born  October  1,  1911;  Bessie, 
born  November  23,  1913;  and  John  Ivan,  born  August 
20,  1915.  Mr.  Atkins  is  a member  of  the  Masonic  fra- 
ternity, in  which,  as  elsewhere,  he  has  numerous  friends. 
With  his  family  he  belongs  to  the  Baptist  Church. 

Robert  Drakeley  Rood,  M.  D.,  D.  S.  One  must 
occupy  a very  high  elevation  to  observe  and  follow 
with  any  degree  of  sanity  the  intricate  meshes  of  state, 
national  and  international  life.  Especially  is  this  true 
in  these  days  when  strong  men  move  with  difficulty 
through  subtle  threatening  entanglements  induced  by 
the  great  labor  problems  and  the  European  war. 

Perhaps  the  newer  states  in  our  Union  offer  the 
most  pronounced  example  of  these  intricate  conditions 
with  their  admixture  of  material  from  the  oldest  fam- 
ilies, financiers,  adventurers,  foreign  and  native  ele- 
ment. To  trace  a pathway  through  such,  requires 
deliberate  judgment,  persistent  individualism,  tact  to 
live  against  and  to  respect  multitudinous  views  of 
so-called  right  standards.  Such  a course  is  an  inter- 
pretation of  character,  strong  to  meet  mutation,  adjust- 
ment and  emergency  with  alertness  and  a demonstra- 
tion of  the  best  scholarship  in  life,  which  knows  and 
searches  for  the  heart  of  man,  finds  and  holds  it  whilst 
hewing  definitely  to  a finale  of  results.  Some  men 
appear  to  be  especially  gifted  in  these  qualities  which 
make  for  the  successes  in  life.  As  a representative  of 
this  class,  he  whose  name  heads  this  sketch  is  most 
worthy  of  honorable  mention. 

The  subject  of  this  biography,  Robert  Drakeley 
Rood,  was  born  October  20,  1863,  at  Stevens  Point, 
Wisconsin.  He  is  the  second  son  of  Galen  Gear  Rood, 
M.  D.,  and  Nancy  Jane  Sylvester. 

The  early  ancestors  were  of  the  Puritans  of  New 
England  and  belonged  to  the  oldest  families  in  the 
United  States.  Charles  Sumner,  the  great  statesman; 
Caroline  Hazard,  former  president  of  Wellesley  Col- 
lege; Senator  Gear  of  Iowa,  Ogden  N.  Rood,  one  of  the 
founders  of  Columbia,  are  familiar  names  in  the  family 
record. 

His  father,  a much  loved  man,  is  still  living  at  the 
age  of  eighty-seven  year's.  He  was  graduated  from  the 
Ohio  Medical  College  at  Cincinnati,  Ohio,  in  the  spring 
of  1856.  The  same  season  he  opened  an  office  at 
Stevens  Point,  Wisconsin,  which  has  never  been  closed. 
His  mother,  who  shared  equally  the  love  of  the  com- 
munity in  which  they  lived,  was  an  extraction  of  the 
French  through  the  Gerard  family  of  Paris.  She 
passed  away  in  1906  at  the  age  of  seventy-two,  much 
mourned  by  her  family  and  all  who  knew  her.  She 
was  a most  consistent  Christian  and  worker  in  the 
Presbyterian  Church.  All  phases  of  her  energy  seemed 
tireless  in  direct  effort  for  all  that  was  uplifting.  The 
other  members  of  Dr.  Robert  Rood’s  family  were  two 


brothers,  Myron  Galen  Rood,  M.  D.;  Price  Walton 
Rood,  D.  S.,  and  a sister,  Katharine  Abagail  Rood,  who 
after  graduation  from  the  University  of  Wisconsin 
chose  music  as  a profession. 

Dr.  Robert  Rood ’s  boyhood  was  not  unusual  in  its 
educational  advantages  of  city  graded  and  high  school 
courses.  The  summer  times  of  camping,  fishing  and 
athletic  sports  with  some  business  ventures  and  adven- 
tures introduced  at  times,  were  arrow  points  showing 
the  trend  of  the  man.  Few  have  found  and  enjoyed 
more  varied  and  adventurous  experiments.  His  fail- 
ures were  not  met  with  the  best  good  nature,  and  his 
successes,  always  shared  with  his  friends,  were  many 
times  due  not  to  luck  but  to  the  vim  that  comes  of 
well  weathered  experience.  Later  he  was  given  every 
opportunity  to  find  his  own  bearings  through  the 
higher  educational  institutions  of  Lake  Forest  and 
the  Northwestern  universities,  and  to  choose  either  the 
professional  or  business  career,  both  of  which  were 
elements  in  his  mental  inheritance.  After  an  elective 
course  of  two  years,  he  decided  to  matriculate  at  the 
Ohio  College  of  Dental  Surgery,  from  which  he  was 
graduated  with  the  class  of  1887.  The  following  year 
he  entered  Rush  Medical  College,  Chicago.  He  success- 
fully practiced  his  profession  in  his  home  town  for 
some  years,  during  which  time  he  was  married,  Decem- 
ber LI,  1895,  to  Ethel  Kirwan,  also  a native  of  Stevens 
Point,  Wisconsin. 

At  this  time  he  was  appointed  by  Governor  LaFol- 
lette  of  Wisconsin  secretary  of  the  World’s  Fair  Com- 
mission for  the  State  of  Wisconsin.  Though  a profes- 
sional man  he  was  keenly  alive  to  the  trend  of  business 
thought,  and  was  quick  to  sense  a possible  advantage 
in  the  opening  of  the  mid-continent  oil  fields.  In  the 
fall  of  1903  he  moved  with  his  family  to  Bartlesville, 
Oklahoma,  and  in  a phenomenally  short  time  proved 
himself  one  of  the  energetic  factors  which  made,  what 
was  then  the  old  Indian  Territory,  the  national  center 
of  oil  activity. 

Doctor  Rood  brought  in  the  first  large  well  in 
Indian  Territory.  In  his  business  he  has  been  asso- 
ciated with  the  Indian  Territory  Illuminating  Oil 
Company,  the  Stevens  Point  Oil  Company,  Waukesha 
Oil  Company,  Plover  Drilling  Company,  etc.  He  is 
orthodox  in  his  religion,  a member  of  the  Masonic 
order,  being  a Thirty-second  Degree  Mason,  a generous 
citizen  interested  in  all  civic  betterment,  and  in  close 
sympathy  always  with  a progressive  city  and  state. 

Three  children — Esther,  a graduate  from  the  Emma 
Willard  School  at  Troy,  New  York;  Katharine  Abagail, 
and  Robert  Drakeley,  Jr. — make  a very  happy  home. 
Mrs.  Rood  is  the  eldest  daughter  of  Frank  Grahame 
Kirwan  and  Elizabeth  Wadleigh  Kirwan,  representa- 
tive Maryland  and  New  England  families  whose 
ancestors  include  the  Fletchers,  Pooles,  Evans,  Har- 
veys, Pierces,  Travers  and  Smallwoods.  Mrs.  Rood 
has  been  identified  with  the  early  growth  and  develop- 
ment of  her  adopted  home  city  and  state  in  all  that 
pertains  to  the  highest  welfare  of  its  citizens.  A 
graduate  of  the  best  schools  and  instructors,  Mrs.  Rood 
has  won  professionally,  both  in  her  native  state,  Wis- 
consin and  Oklahoma,  innumerable  laurels  in  vocal  art, 
and  has  done  a great  deal  to  stimulate  and  promote 
music  and  art  by  organizing  the  Musical  Research 
Society.  Mrs.  Rood  has  been  secretary  of  the  library 
board  since  its  inception;  officer  and  member  of 
Musical  a»d  Women’s  State  and  National  Federated 
clubs,  and  of  other  organizations  both  state  and 
national,  and  has  effectively  co-operated  with  the 
State  Dental  Board  in  promoting  oral  hygiene  in  the 
public  schools.  Throughout  this  pioneer  period  of 
Oklahoma,  Mrs.  Rood  has  kept  abreast  of  the  times 


2104 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


and  her  interests  by  frequent  studies  in  Chicago,  Balti- 
more and  Kansas  City.  Mrs.  Rood  holds  a court  of 
the  choicest  social  life  around  a hearth  second  to  none 
in  its  delightful  hospitality. 

Written  September  6,  1916. 

Charles  Robinson  Hume,  M.  D.  During  his  twenty- 
five  years  of  residence  in  Oklahoma  Doctor  Hume  has 
acquired  many  interesting  associations  and  useful  rela- 
tions with  the  state.  His  home  throughout  that  period 
has  been  on  practically  the  same  section  of  land.  For 
eleven  years  he  served  as  physician  to  the  United  States 
Indian  Agency  of  Anadarko,  and  for  the  past  fourteen 
years  has  been  engaged  in  general  practice  as  a physi- 
cian and  surgeon  in  the  City  of  Anadarko.  Both  the  old 
Indian  agency  and  the  present  city  are  identical  so  far 
as  location  is  concerned,  and  the  modern  city  is  the 
outgrowth  of  the  old  agency  headquarters. 

The  oldest  child  of  his  parents,  Charles  Robinson  Hume 
was  born  October  21,  1847,  at  Riga,  Monroe  County, 
New  York.  Both  he  and  his  father  were  born  on  the 
same  farm.  His  parents  were  Roderick  R.  and  Ruth 
Ami  (Payne)  Hume.  The  farm  in  New  York  on  which 
his  father  was  born  was  settled  by  Moses  Hume,  who 
emigrated  from  Massachusetts  in  1811. 

Doctor  Hume’s  ancestors  have  all  been  in  America 
for  more  than  two  hundred  years,  and  were  identified 
with  the  colonies  of  Massachusetts  and  Connecticut.  He 
is  fifth  in  descent  from  Nicholas  Hume,  who  was  mar- 
ried in  Boston  in  1714  and  probably  was  from  the 
Wedderburn  Humes  of  Scotland.  All  four  of  Doctor 
Hume’s  great-grandfathers  had  a record  of  service  in 
the  Revolutionary  war,  and  another  distant  ancestor 
whose  record  is  of  special  interest  was  Capt.  John  Gallup, 
who  fought  in  the  first  naval  battle  of  the  American 
colonies  during  the  Pequot  Indian  war  of  1636.  By 
virtue  of  these  several  ancestors  who  were  patriots  dur- 
ing the  war  for  independence,  Doctor  Hume  is  a mem- 
ber of  the  Sons  of  the  American  Revolution.  His 
mother,  Ruth  Ann  Payne,  was  born  and  reared  in  the 
same  locality  of  New  York  state  as  her  husband,  and 
her  parents  had  come  from  Berkshire  County,  Massa- 
chusetts. 

In  1854  the  Hume  family,  including  Charles  R.,  who 
was  then  seven  years  old,  moved  out  to  Medina  in 
Lenawee  County,  Michigan.  The  farm  which  the  father 
bought  there  was  the  family  homestead  for  a period  of 
forty  years.  It  was  in  that  region  of  Southern  Mich- 
igan that  Doctor  Hume  grew  to  manhood.  He  attended 
the  common  schools  and  also  acquired  an  academic  course 
in  the  Oak  Grove  Academy  ^n  Medina,  where  he  finished 
in  1870.  He  continued  his  education  in  the  University 
of  Michigan,  where  he  was  graduated  M.  D.  in  1874. 

Thus  more  than  forty  years  have  passed  since  he 
began  to  render  service  to  humanity  in  the  capacity  of 
physician  and  surgeon.  In  earlier  years  before  taking 
up  active  practice  he  followed  farming  and  teaching 
and  paid  the  expenses  of  his  university  course  through 
his  own  earnings.  Reared  on  a farm,  and  a practical 
farmer  before  he  became  a physician,  Doctor  Hume  has 
always  kept  up  his  interest  in  agricultural  affairs  and 
has  owned  farms  in  connection  with  his  professional 
business.  However,  he  has  allowed  nothing  to  interfere 
with  the  studious  and  active  devotion  to  his  real  calling. 

In  1874  after  leaving  the  University  of  Mich- 
igan he  began  practice  at  Perrysburg  in  Wood  County, 
Ohio.  Later  he  was  at  Tontogany  in  the 'same  Ohio 
county,  and  from  there  went  out  in  1881  to  Caldwell 
in  Sumner  County,  Kansas.  He  was  one  of  the  early 
physicians  in  that  then  sparsely  settled  district  of  Kan- 
sas, and  remained  there,  growing  up  with  the  country 
and  enjoying  a large  practice  for  ten  years. 


In  1890  Doctor  Hume  came  to  the  Indian  Agency  of 
Anadarko  as  agency  physician.  He  continued  in  the 
United  States  Indian  service  from  December  1,  1890,  to 
February  28,  1902,  as  resident  physician  for  the  Kiowa 
and  Comanche  Agency,  and  performed  all  the  services 
connected  with  that  office  until  after  the  opening  to 
white  settlement  of  the  Kiowa  and  Comanche  country. 
He  then  opened  an  office  for  general  practice,  and  is 
now  the  dean  of  the  medical  fraternity  of  Anadarko. 
For  years  the  demands  upon  his  professional  time  and 
energy  have  been  all  that  he  could  satisfy. 

For  the  past  seventeen  years  Doctor  Hume  has  been 
local  surgeon  for  the  Chicago,  Rock  Island  & Pacific 
Railway  Company;  from  1901  to  1914  was  president  of 
the  Board  of  Pension  Examiners  of  Caddo  County;  was 
superintendent  of  public  health  of  Caddo  County  from 
1901  to  1907,  was  district  councillor  of  the  State  Medi- 
cal Society  five  years;  was  vice  president  of  the  State 
Medical  Society  in  1914;  and  in  May,  1916,  was  elected 
president  of  the  State  Medical  Society.  While  living  in 
Kansas  he  became  a director  of  the  Citizens  Bank  of 
Caldwell  in  1887.  In  politics  he  is  a republican  and  is  a 
member  of  the  Presbyterian  Church. 

At  Perrysburg  in  Wood  County,  Ohio,  December  27, 
1876,  Doctor  Hume  married  Annette  Ross.  She  was 
born  in  Perrysburg  on  March  8,  1858,  daughter  of  James 
White  and  Catherine  (Darling)  Ross.  Her  father  was  a 
prominent  factor  in  local  affairs  in  Wood  County,  Ohio. 
Mrs.  Hume  has  been  a home  maker  and  a social  leader, 
has  served  as  president  and  secretary  of  the  Woman’s 
Missionary  Society  of  the  Presbyterian  Church  in  Okla- 
homa and  recently  retired  from  the  office  of  president 
of  the  Oklahoma  State  Federation  of  Women’s  Clubs 
To  their  marriage  were  born  five  children,  three  of  whom 
died  in  infancy.  C.  Ross  Hume,  one  of  the  surviving 
sons,  married  Verne  Gossard,  and  has  a family  of  one 
son  and  two  daughters ; Raymond  R.  Hume,  the  other 
son,  is  unmarried.  The  older  son  is  an  attorney,  has 
served  for  four  years  as  county  judge  of  Caddo  County 
while  the  other  is  a practicing  physician  and  is  located 
at  Minco,  Oklahoma.  Both  sons  are  graduates  of  the 
Oklahoma  State  University  and  took  their  professional 
degrees  in  the  University  of  Kansas  and  the  University 
Medical  School  of  Kansas  City,  respectively. 


pilm 


Osman  A.  Gilbert.  Perhaps  no  family  in  Pawnee 
County,  Oklahoma,  has  a more  historic  ancestry  than  has 
the  family  represented  by  Osman  A.  Gilbert,  successful 
druggist  and  former  postmaster  of  Cleveland.  They 
are  in  the  direct  line  of  descent  from  Sir  Humphrey 
Gilbert,  well  known  in  English  history,  and  Sir  Walter 
Raleigh,  equally  prominent  in  history  and  literature.  On 
the  mother’s  side  there  is  known  relationship  to  General 
Grant,  whose  tomb  on  Riverside  Drive  is  one  of  the  most 
interesting  objects  in  New  York  City.  The  family  came 
to  New  York  in  Colonial  days,  and  Rev.  Joseph  O. 
Gilbert,  grandsire  of  the  subject,  was  a well  known 
circuit  rider  of  the  Methodist  Church  in  his  day. 

Osman  A.  Gilbert  is  one  of  nine  children  born  to  his 
parents,  Osman  A.  and  Fannie  E.  Gilbert.  The  father 
was  born  in  Italy,  New  York,  and  died  on  January  6 
1899,  near  Geneseo,  Illinois,  at  the  age  of  seventy.  His 
widow  survived  until  1905,  and  died  near  Geneseo,  Illi 
nois,  when  she  was  sixty-three  years  old.  The  senioi 
Gilbert  came  to  Michigan  with  his  parents  when  he 
was  two  years  old,  and  later  when  he  was  sixteen,  they 
moved  to  Illinois.  They  were  farming  people  practically 
all  of  their  lives  and  the  father  owned  the  farm  or 
which  he  died  for  a period  of  fifty-two  years.  He  wai 
a prominent  citizen  in  his  part  of  Illinois,  and  was  activ< 
politically,  though  he  never  cared  to  hold  office.  He  wa; 
twice  married,  and  the  subject  of  this  review  was  th 


‘ 

year: 


Jim 

iiatca 
lie  Oc 


petal 

Mato: 


lineal 

tail 


speai 


papers 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2105 


oldest  child  of  the  second  marriage.  Until  he  was 
twenty-three  years  old  Osman  A.  Gilbert,  Jr.,  lived  at 
home  with  his  parents  and  assisted  his  father  as  he 
grew  to  manhood  in  his  extensive  farming  interests  and 
cheese  manufactory,  which  his  father  established  at 
Cleveland,  Illinois. 

He  secured  a very  good  education,  following  his  high- 
school  training  with  two  years  at  a normal  school,  and 
when  he  was  twenty-three  years  old  he  came  to  Oklahoma 
April  22,  1889.  He  first  settled  on  a government 
claim  near  Edmond,  which  he  held  for  two  and  a half 
years  and  then  sold,  and  went  to  work  in  the  drug  store 
of  Moore  and  Howard  at  Edmond.  He  was  with  that 
firm  for  eight  months,  when  he  entered  into  a partner- 
ship with  them  and  purchased  a drug  store  at  Stillwater. 
He  continued  there  for  a year  and  a half,  sold  out  his 
interest  in  the  business  and  came  to  Cleveland  on  April 
4,  1894,  just  five  years  after  coming  to  the  state.  He 
opened  his  present  establishment,  which  he  has  contin- 
uously operated  since  that  time,  with  commendable  suc- 
cess. 

Mr.  Gilbert  is  vice  president  and  a director  of  the 
First  National  Bank  since  it  was  nationalized  in  1900, 
and  is  interested  in  a.  number  of  oil  projects  in  the 
county,  as  well  as  extensive  farming  interests.  He  was 
one  of  a company  of  three  who  organized  the  Cleveland 
telephone  exchange,  which  the  organizing  company  later 
sold  to  the  Pioneer  Telephone  Company.  For  eight  years 
Mr.  Gilbert  was  postmaster  during  the  McKinley  and 
Roosevelt  administrations,  and  has  twice  served  as  mayor 
of  Cleveland.  He  is  a member  of  and  one  of  the  official 
board  of  the  Christian  Church  at  Cleveland,  and  is  fra- 
ternally associated  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and 
the  Masons.  • 

On  June  29,  1893,  Mr.  Gilbert  was  married  to  Miss 
Evie  A.  Powell  at  Edmond,  Oklahoma.  She  was  born 
other  at  Vandalia,  Michigan,  and  is  the  only  daughter  of 
Jason  A.  and  Barbara  A.  Powell.  She  is  of  Welsh- 
English  and  German  descent.  On  the  paternal  side  she 
ocated  is  directly  descended  from  John  Hart,  one  of  the  signers 
of  the  of  the  Declaration  of  Independence.  Her  husband  smiles 
ssional  and  says  she  is  a consistent  relative  of  her  ancestor, 
venitj  Her  father’s  people  moved  to  Michigan  in  an  early  day 
from  the  State  of  New  York  and  the  relatives  there  claim 
Revolutionary  fame.  On  the  maternal  side  her  grand- 
Pa«  nother  came  from  Germany  when  she  was  thirteen  years 
tumhai  fid.  Her  parents  afterward  lived  in  Kansas,  where 
cessfiil  she  was  educated,  and  in  1889  she  came  with  her  parents 
The}  ;o  Edmond,  Oklahoma.  Her  father  was  for  many  years 
ngaged  in  the  market  and  stock  business.  In  1900  her 
Waits  jarents  moved  to  Cleveland  to  be  near  their  daughter 
lie.  0j  md  purchased  property  in  that  town  and  vicinity.  Jason 
Geneia  jA  Powell  died  in  Cleveland  in  1910  at  sixty-seven  years 
tie  moll  >f  age.  His  wife  still  survives  him. 

ilycamt  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Gilbert  have  no  children.  For  fourteen 
apt  0.  ^ears  she  assisted  her  husband  in  his  store,  was  his  as- 
11  taowi  istant  pharmacist  and  was  his  assistant  postmistress 
f,  uring  his  incumbency  of  the  postoffiee.  During  the  past 
m to  hi  ew  years  Mrs.  Gilbert  has  been  a leader  in  Maecabee 
he  iatlfl  .ffairs  in  Oklahoma,  and  has  served  on  state  and  national 
anuary  6 elegations.  The  Ladies  Review,  the  official  paper  of 
nty,  Hlhe  Maecabee  order,  published  at  Port  Huron,  Michigan, 
ieseo, the  October,  1913,  number  says:  “Mrs.  Gilbert  is 

He  sertyot  only  an  excellent  Officer  but  upon  many  occasions 
fllen  t-  f Maecabee  Rallies  has  shown  herself  a brilliant  and 
sea,  the  ble  orator.  ’ ’ In  addition  to  the  standing  she  has  in 
piaeticall  he  Maecabee  order  she  holds  an  official  position  in  the 
, farm  m Irand  Temple  of  the  Order  of  Pythian  Sisters  in  Okla- 
oma,  and  has  received  commendatory  mention  as  a 
uent  speaker  and  a thoughtful  woman,  in  the  leading 
wspapers  of  the  state. 


i.  Hew 
was  aetii 
e.  Hem 
«as  tl 


She  is  at  present  grand  chief  of  the  Pythian  Sisters 
of  the  Grand  Jurisdiction  of  Oklahoma;  and  had  the 
honor  of  delivering  the  state  address  for  that  order  at 
the  joint  public  convocation  of  the  lodges  of  that  order 
at  Convention  Hall,  Tulsa,  Oklahoma,  May,  1916. 

Mrs.  Gilbert  is  a member  of  the  Christian  Church,  and 
has  been  an  active  worker  in  her  home  city,  having 
been  a teacher  of  a young  ladies’  class  for  several  years, 
and  for  a number  of  years  had  charge  of  the  choir,  being 
an  accomplished  musician.  During  the  last  few  years 
other  duties  which  took  her  often  from  home  have 
caused  her  to  give  up  much  of  the  local  work. 

Together  with  her  father  she  did  much  to  secure  the 
building  of  the  first  church  erected  in  Cleveland,  and 
was  a charter  member  of  the  board  of  trustees  and  the 
first  clerk  of  the  church.  Mrs.  Gilbert  is  the  possessor 
of  a one  hundred  and  Sixty  acre  farm  located  three 
miles  from  Cleveland,  purchased  with  her  own  earnings, 
and  says  she  is  prouder  of  this  than  of  any  other  achieve- 
ment. Mr.  and  Mrs.  Gilbert  are  pioneers  in  the  State 
of  Oklahoma  and  have  been-en  rapport  with  the  activities 
of  the  state  from  the  beginning. 

Mr.  Gilbert  who  was  present  at  the  famous  opening 
of  the  “strip’’  in  1893,  tells  many  interesting  stories 
of  the  rush  at  that  time  and  of  the  early  days  of 
Oklahoma.  He  was  one  of  sixty  who  made  the  race  from 
Stillwater  to  the  location  of  the  present  Town  of  Pawnee, 
a distance  of  thirteen  miles,  and  of  that  company  only 
eight  arrived,  he  being  one  of  them.  This  distance  was 
covered  in  thirty-nine  minutes. 

Edward  Andrew  Rowland,  M.  D.  Two  members  of 
the  Rowland  family  have  gained  a secure  place  in  medi- 
cal circles  in  Oklahoma,  and  both  for  a time  were  located 
at  Shawnee.  Dr.  Edward  A.  Rowland  is  now  the  lead- 
ing physician  and  surgeon  at  Maud,  and  his  older 
brother  still  resides  and  enjoys  a large  practice  at 
Shawnee. 

The  Rowlands  are  a Mississippi  family.  The  great- 
grandfather of  Doctor  Rowland  immigrated  from  Wales 
and  settled  in  Georgia  shortly  after  the  Revolutionary 
war.  He  became  a farmer  and  planter.  There  were 
two  brothers  who  came  with  him  from  Liverpool  and 
one  of  them  settled  in  New  York  State  and  one  subse- 
quently went  to  Illinois.  Dr.  Edward  Andrew  Rowland 
was  born  at  Falkner,  Mississippi,  January  5,  1884. 

His  father,  A.  J.  Rowland,  was  born  in  Mississippi 
in  1846  and  now  resides  at  Mobile,  Alabama.  He  was 
reared  and  married  in  his  native  state  and  during  the 
last  year  of  the  Civil  war  served  on  the  Union  side. 
Following  the  war  he  removed  to  Falkner,  Mississippi, 
engaged  in  merchandising,  and  in  1888  went  to  Pon- 
totoc, Mississippi,  and  became  identified  with  the  rail- 
way postal  service.  In  1907  he  removed  to  Mobile  and 
is  now  transfer  clerk  in  the  railway  mail  service.  In 
politics  he  is  republican  and  at  one  time  served  as  tax 
assessor  of  Tippah  County,  Mississippi.  He  is  a mem- 
ber of  the  Christian  Church  and  the  Masonic  fraternity. 
A.  J.  Rowland  married  Martha  Annie  Northcross,  who 
was  born  in  Mississippi  in  1847.  Their  children  are 
Dr.  T.  D.  Rowland  of  Shawnee;  C.  W.  Rowland,  a 
farmer  at  Haskell,  Texas;  R.  E.  Rowland,  who  con- 
ducts a cotton  compress  and  ice  factory  at  New  Albany, 
Mississippi;  and  Dr.  Edward  A. 

Dr.  Taswell  D.  Rowland,  the  oldest  of  the  brothers, 
was  born  at  Ripley,  Tippah  County,  Mississippi,  Novem- 
ber 3,  1870.  He  attended  public  schools  in  his  native 
locality,  graduated  from  high  school  at  Salisbury, 
Tennessee,  in  1889,  and  for  two  years  was  a teacher  in 
Tippah  County.  He  then  entered  the  railway  mail 
service,  the  same  line  which  his  father  has  followed 


2106 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


for  so  many  years,  and  continued  in  that  work  for  ten 
years.  In  the  meantime  he  had  been  looking  ahead 
and  planning  upon  a professional  career.  In  1899 
having  left  the  railway  postal  service,  he  entered  the 
Medical  College  at  Memphis,  Tennessee,  and  was  grad- 
uated M.  D.  with  the  class  of  1903.  He  subsequently 
took  post-graduate  work  in  the  same  college  in  1906 
and  1910,  and  did  post-graduate  work  at  Tulane 
University,  New  Orleans,  in  1907  and  1913.  In  May, 
1903,  lie  located  at  Shawnee,  Oklahoma,  and  since  then 
has  enjoyed  a large  and  profitable  general  medical  and 
surgical  practice,  his  offices  being  in  the  Mammoth 
Building.  He  is  a deacon  in  the  Christian  Church,  is 
affiliated  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Knights 
of  the  Maccabees,  and  has  served  as  president  of  the 
Pottawatomie  Medical  Society  and  is  a member  of  the 
State  Society  and  the  American  Medical  Association. 
He  has  been  a vigorous  citizen  at  Shawnee,  and  his 
name  is  usually  found  associated  with  any  movement 
for  the  public  welfare.  In  politics  he  is  a republican. 

At  Jackson,  Tennessee,  Dr.  T.  D.  Rowland  married 
Miss  Hattie  Barnett,  a daughter  of  the  late  Sam  B. 
Barnett,  who  was  court  clerk  of  Madison  County,  Ten- 
nessee, for  many  years.  Doctor  Rowland  and  wife  have 
four  children : Barnett,  who  graduated  from  the 

Shawnee  High  School  in  1913  and  is  now  taking  special 
courses  in  commercial  art  in  Chicago;  Annie,  who 
graduated  from  the  Shawnee  High  School  in  1914,  is  a 
freshman  in  the  State  University  at  Norman;  Eliza- 
beth, who  is  in  the  fourth  grade  of  the  public  schools; 
and  Louise,  who  has  not  yet  reached  school  age. 

Edward  Andrew  Rowland,  whose  successful  work  as  a 
physician  is  being  done  at  Maud  in  Pottawatomie 
County,  received  his  early  education  in  the  public  schools 
of  Pontotoc,  Mississippi,  and  graduated  from  high  school 
there  in  1902.  For  a time  he  was  employed  in  the  super- 
intendent ’s  office  of  the  M.  J.  & K.  T.  Railroad  at  New 
Albany,  Mississippi,  and  was  from  there  transferred  to 
Mobile,  Alabama,  in  the  employ  of  the  same  railroad. 
That  was  his  line  of  work  up  to  1907  at  which  time  he 
invested  his  savings  in  a professional  education, -entering 
the  Medical  Department  of  the  University  of  Aabama, 
from  which  he  was  graduated  M.  D.  with  the  class 
of  1910.  He  is  an  alert  student,  and  has  accepted  every 
opportunity  to  fit  himself  for  proficient  and  skillful 
work.  From  January  to  May,  1915,  he  took  post- 
graduate * work  at  Tulane  University  in  New  Orleans 
and  also  at  the  University  of  Alabama  at  Mobile.  He 
is  a member  of  the  Phi  Beta  Pi  College  Fraternity. 

In  1910  Doctor  Rowland  located  at  Shawnee,  where  his 
brother  had  been  established  in  practice  for  a number  of 
years,  but  after  one  year  he  returned  to  Mobile,  Alabama, 
remained  there  a short  time,  practiced  a year  at  Creola, 
Alabama,  and  in  April,  1913,  established  himself  per- 
manently at  Maud,  Oklahoma,  where  he  now  has  a 
promising  medical  and  surgical  practice,  with  offices  in 
the  Tribbey  Drug  Store  Building.  In  politics  Doctor 
Rowland  is  a republican,  is  a member  of  the  Christian 
Church,  and  is  a member  of  the  county  and  state  medical 
societies.  The  only  fraternity  to  which  he  belongs  is 
the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America. 

Chief  Charles  Journeycake.  In  the  annals  of  the 
Delaware  tribe  of  Indians  there  is  no  name  more  con- 
spicuous than  that  of  Chief  Journeycake.  He  was  not 
only  a political  leader  of  his  people  but  also  one  of  their 
spiritual  pastors,  and  some  years  ago  when  the  Federal 
Government  published  one  of  its  important  reports  on  the 
five  civilized  tribes  in  Indian  Territory  the  portrait  of 
Rev.  Charles  Journeycake,  chief  of  the  Delawares,  was 


given  an  appropriate  place  of  honor  in  that  portion  of 
the  bulletin  devoted  to  the  Delaware  people. 

Chief  Journeycake  was  the  first  person  baptized  in 
what  is  now  the  State  of  Kansas,  where  he  lived  with  ! 
his  people  for  many  years,  the  Delawares  moving  into 
Indian  Territory  after  1868.  His  life  of  splendid  integ-  j 
rity  and  Christian  virtue  gained  him  the  highest  respect  | 
of  all  who  came  in  contact  with  him,  and  his  memory  is 
reverenced  by  all  his  people.  He  was  their  guide  as  well  , 
as  their  pastor,  and  was  chiefly  instrumental  in  convert- 
ing the  Delawares  to  the  Christian  religion.  He  was  a 
master  of  the  various  Indian  dialects,  including  the  I 
Shawnee,  Wyandotte,  Seneca,  Ottawa  as  well  as  the 
Delaware  dialect.  It  is  said  that  during  the  Civil  war  I 
when  80  per  cent  of  his  men  had  enlisted,  it  was  his 
statesmanship  that  held  the  tribe  together.  He  led  the 
Delawares  from  Kansas  into  Indian  Territory,  and  I 
throughout  he  was  the  master  spirit  of  his  people.  As 
an  ordained  Baptist  clergyman  he  did  missionary  work; 
all  over  Indian  Territory,  but  never  accepted  one  cent  fori 
his  services,  making  his  own  living  by  farming. 

Chief  Journeycake  died  in  1894,  and  his  wife,  Jane' 
(Sancia)  Journeycake,  passed  away  in  1893.  A brief! 
record  of  their  children  is  as  follows:  Mary  E.,  de-fl 

ceased,  who  married  Charles  H.  Armstrong;  Rachel,  the| 
deceased  wife  of  N.  J.  Tanner;  Nannie  M.,  widow  of  then 
late  Col.  Jacob  H.  Bartles  of  Bartlesville;  Lucy  Jane, 
deceased,  who  married  Henry  Armstrong;  Baron  Stowe, II 
who  died  when  three  years  old;  Emeline,  wife  of  J.  E.ll 
Campbell  of  Nowata;  Adeline,  deceased  wife  of  Samuel H 
Love;  Anna,  who  also  married  Henry  Armstrong  and  is| 
now  deceased;  Cora  Lee,  who  died  after  her  marriage  tofl 
William  Carey;  and  one  that  died  in  infancy. 

• 

David  Ratner.  Ten  years  ago  David  Ratner  camejl 
to  Cleveland,  Oklahoma,  and  established  a mereantikjj 
business  in  which  he  has  since  continued  successfully  II 
He  has  carried  his  activities  into  the  adjacent  Towijl 
of  Yale  in  recent  years,  and  since  1914  has  operated  i 
general  store  there  with  the  same  success  he  has  en 
joyed  in  Cleveland. 

Mr.  Ratner  was  born  in  Russia  in  1863,  Septembe: 
11th  being  the  day  of  his  birth.  He  is  a son  of  Mosei 
and  Esther  (Ullman)  Ratner,  who  came  to  America 
in  1884,  bringing  their  family  with  them  and  settlinj 
in  Kansas.  For  about  four  years  these  people  live; 
on  a farm  and  then  moved  to  the  Town  of  Wichita 
which  move  was  followed  no  longer  by  their  remova 
to  Oklahoma  about  the  time  the  famous  “strip”  wa 
opened  in  1893.  They  had  their  home  at  Blackwel 
Moses  Ratner  died  in  Wichita  when  he  was  in  th 
sixty-third  year  of  his  life,  and  his  widow  survive 
him  until  1912,  when  she  died  in  Cleveland,  Oklahomf 
aged  seventy  years.  They  were  the  parents  of  thre 
sons  and  four  daughters,  all  of  whom  are  living  at  thi 
time.  They  all  lived  under  the  paternal  roof  until  th 
passing  of  the  father,  and  the  mother  was  living  wit 
her  son,  David,  when  she  passed  away. 

David  Ratner  was  the  first  to  leave  Wichita  and  g 
to  the  new  territory  when  it  was  opened  in  1893.  H 
father  and  others  of  the  family  joined  him  there  soc 
after  and  they  launched  a small  mercantile  busines 
continuing  therein  for  two  years,  when  the  fath» 
retired  and  returned  to  Wichita,  Kansas.  David  Ra 
ner  went  then  to  Blackwell,  Oklahoma,  and  there  toe 
charge  of  a store  which  he  operated  for  a year  ar 
then  disposed  of.  His  next  venture  was  on  his  ov 
responsibility,  and  the  business  he  established  the 
he  continued  to  run  for  about  two  years,  when  he  soj 
out  and  came  to  Cleveland  in  1905.  Since  then  he  h 
conducted  a general  store  here  with  good  success,  ai1 


CHARLES  JOURNEYCAKE 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2107 


in  1914,  in  the  month  of  October,  he  opened  a general 
store  in  Yale.  He  has  prospered  in  both  these  ventures, 
and  in  addition  to  his  mercantile  activities,  has  become 
the  owner  of  a section  of  land  in  Jackson  County. 

Mr.  Ratner,  who  is  a democrat,  was  a presidential 
elector  for  his  district  in  1912,  and  has  served  on  many 
important  political  committees  in  the  years  of  his  resi- 
dence here.  He  is  a Mason  of  high  degree,  a member 
of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  the 
Knights  of  Pythias.  He  is  unmarried,  and  has  his 
home  with  his  sisters  in  Cleveland.  His  brothers  are 
Sam  and  Harry,  the  former  a resident  of  Kansas  City, 
and  Harry  a traveling  salesman.  Anna,  the  eldest  sister 
of  the  subject,  is  a widow  and  makes  her  home  with  him. 
Rosa  married  Frank  Stephens  of  Wichita,  Kansas.  Eliza- 
beth lives  with  her  brother  David. 

S.  Weldon  Morrison.  In  September,  1915,  Mr. 
Morrison  began  his  duties  as  superintendent  of 
schools  at  Byars.  With  that  work  he  entered  upon 
his  eleventh  consecutive  year  as  an  Oklahoma  educator. 
He  has  been  connected  with  a number  of  schools  in 
different  parts  of  the  state  and  the  record  of  his 
efficient  service  has  been  impressed  upon  a number  of 
communities  where  the  people  regard  him  with  especial 
esteem. 

Professor  Morrison  is  still  a young  man.  He  was 
born  at  Hazlehurst,  Mississippi,  April  17,  1884.  His 
Seoteh-Irish  ancestors  came  to  South  Carolina  during 
colonial  times.  His  father,  R.  S.  Morrison,  who  was 
born  in  Alabama  in  1857,  and  when  a young  man  went 
to  Hazlehurst,  Mississipipi,  where  he  married;  even- 
tually became  a pioneer  in  North  Texas,  locating  at 
Vernon  in  the  Red  River  Valley  in  1888.  By  profes- 
sion he  is  an  attorney,  and  has  practiced  in  several  of 
the  large  circuits  in  North  and  Northwest  Texas.  In 
1898  he  located  at  Warren,  Oklahoma,  but  in  1907  re- 
turned to  Texas  and  established  his  home  and  profession 
at  Archer  City,  where  he  now  resides.  He  is  now 
serving  as  county  attorney  of  Archer  County.  In  poli- 
tics he  is  a democrat,  is  an  active  member  and  deacon 
of  the  Baptist  Church,  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic 
fraternity  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 
He  also  belongs  to  County,  State  and  American  Bar 
Associations.  R.  S.  Morrison  married  Miss  Nettie 
Wheeler  who  was  born  in  Mississippi  in  1867.  Their 
children  are:  Professor  Morrison;  Mary  Bell,  who 

died  at  the  age  of  five  years;  a daughter  who  died  in 
infancy;  Rubie,  wife  of  Dave  Anders,  a farmer  at 
Hobart,  Oklahoma;  Thomas,  in 'the  railroad  service  at 
Archer  City,  Texas;  John,  a railroad  man  at  Orth, 
Texas;  Ethel,  who  is  living  at  home  and  employed  in 
one  of  the  stores  at  Archer  City;  Emma  Joda,  a junior 
in  the  high  school  at  Archer  City;  Claud,  Hazel,  Percy 
and  Maggie,  all  of  them  attending  public  school  at 
Archer  City. 

S.  Weldon  Morrison  completed  the  eighth  grade  of 
the  public  schools  at  Vernon,  Texas,  in  1901.  During 
1902  he  attended  the  Agricultural  and  Mechanical  Col- 
lege at  Stillwater,  Oklahoma,  and  the  years  1903,  1904 
and  1905  were  spent  as  a farmer  in  Kiowa  County  of 
this  state.  He  was  just  twenty-one  when  he  began  his 
career  as  an  Oklahoma  educator.  His  first  school  year 
1905-06,  was  spent  as  principial  of  schools  at  Duke  in 
Jackson  County.  His  successive  locations  and  terms 
if  service  have  been:  1906-07,  principal  of  schools  at 

lottage  Hill,  Jackson  County;  1907-09,  principial  at 
South  Greer,  Oklahoma;  1909-11,  principal  of  Center- 
dew  School;  1911-14,  principal  at  Tipton,  three  years; 
L914-15,  principal  of  the  Washington  schools  in  McClain 
Jounty;  and  in  the  fall  of  1915  he  became  superin- 


tendent of  schools  at  Byars.  During  all  these  years 
Mr.  Morrison  has  been  attending  the  Central  State 
Normal  School  at  Edmond  during  the  summer  sessions 
and  also  for  two  fall  terms  and  for  two  spring  terms. 
He  is  now  a member  of  the  senior  class  in  that  insti- 
tution. 

He  has  also  identified  himself  with  the  work  and 
interests  of  the  County  and  State  Teachers'  Association. 
In  politics  he  is  a democrat,  is  a member  of  the  Chris- 
tian Church,  and  is  affiliated  with  Tipton  Lodge  No. 
417,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons.  At  Warren, 
Oklahoma,  in  1905,  Mr.  Morrison  married  Miss  Ethel 
Byrd.  Her  father,  Thomas  Byrd,  who  now  lives  at 
Edmond,  Oklahoma,  is  a mechanic  in  the  employ  of  the 
Santa  Fe  Railroad.  Three  children  were  born  to  their 
union:  Orion  and  Harold,  both  in  school;  and  Waldo. 

Edward  Karl  Allis,  M.  D.  Oklahoma  has  bene- 
fited by  the  coming  to  this  state  of  many  young  and 
highly  trained  professional  men.  One  of  these  is  Dr. 
Edward  K.  Allis,  who  after  acquiring  all  the  advantages 
of  northern  and  eastern  schools  and  a general  prelimi- 
nary experience  as  a physician  and  surgeon,  came  to 
Wanette  about  six  years  ago,  and  has  since  made  his 
service  of  great  value  to  that  community.  That  it  has 
been  appreciated  is  shown  in  the  fact  that  he  now 
enjoys  a large  practice,  and  is  the  owner  of  consider- 
able property  and  has  varied  interests  in  the  community. 

A native  of  Indiana,  Edward  Karl  Allis  was  born  at 
Arcadia  in  that  state  May  1,  1881.  The  Allis  family 
came  originally  from  England,  and  Doctor  Allis' 
great-grandfather  after  crossing  the  ocean  established 
a home  in  Illinois,  became  a manufacturer  there,  and 
died  in  that  state.  The  grandfather,  W.  B.  Allis,  was 
born  in  Switzerland  County,  Indiana,  in  1817,  and 
died  at  Sheridan,  Indiana,  in  1887.  He  too  was  a 
physician  and  surgeon.  / 

W.  D.  Allis,  father  of  Doctor  Allis,  was  born  in 
Switzerland  County,  Indiana,  in  1850,  and  is  still  living 
at  Arcadia  in  that  state.  His  home  has  been  in  Indiana 
practically  all  his  life,  and  his  business  has  been  that 
of  contractor  and  builder.  He  also  owns  a fruit  farm 
near  Hanford,  California.  He  is  affiliated  with  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  is  a member 
and  deacon  in  the  Christian  Church.  W.  D.  Allis  mar- 
ried Julia  Teal,  a native  of  Indiana.  Dr.  Allis  is  the 
older  of  their  two  sons,  and  the  younger  is  Harlan 
Isaac,  who  now  has  charge  of  his  father’s  fruit  farm 
near  Hanford,  California. 

As  a boy  Doctor  Allis  attended  the  public  schools  in 
Arcadia,  graduated  from  high  school  in  1900,  and  he 
soon  afterward  entered  the  Hahnemann  Medical  Col- 
lege in  Chicago,  where  he  was  graduated  M.  D.  with 
the  class  of  1905.  In  choosing  a location  for  practice 
he  began  at  Hanford,  West  Virginia,  where  he  remained 
during  two  years,  1905-07.  During  1908  he  took  post- 
graduate courses  in  medicine  at  the  University  of 
Indiana  Medical  Department. 

Thus  with  a liberal  equipment  for  the  duties  of  his 
profession  he  arrived  in  Wanette,  Oklahoma,  in  March, 
1909.  • His  offices  are  in  the  First  National  Bank 
Building.  Doctor  Allis  owns  a farm  of  sixty  acres  just 
west  of  Wanette  and  owns  his  residence  in  the  northern 
part  of  the  village.  He  is  also  a director  in  the  Lone 
Tree  Oil  Company.  His  professional  relations  are  with 
the  County  and  State  Medical  societies  and  the  Amer- 
ican Medical  Association.  Fraternally  he  is  identified 
with  Wanette  Lodge  No.  171,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons,  and  with  Shawnee  Lodge  No.  657,  Benevolent 
and  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  He  is  a member  of  the 
Christian  Church  and  in  politics  is  a democrat. 


2108 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


At  Wanette  in  1911  Doctor  Allis  married  Miss  Stella 
Kidd.  Her  father  was  the  later  N.  A.  Kidd,  a farmer 
and  stockman.  To  their  marriage  have  been  born  two 
children:  Wilber  Karl,  born  July  18,  1913;  and  Rita 

Lorine,  born  September  30,  1914. 

George  Wilson.  Due  largely  to  the  individual  efforts 
and  enthusiasm  of  George  Wilson,  head  of  the  Depart- 
ment of  Agriculture  for  Schools  in  the  State  Agricultural 
and  Mechanical  College  at  Stillwater,  agriculture  as  a 
subject  of  instruction  has  advanced  during  the  last 
two  years  to  much  higher  standing  in  school  and  college 
curriculums  in  Oklahoma.  The  state  schools  of  agricul- 
ture have  been  creditably  efficient  but  prior  to  1914  there 
was  little  serious  effort  to  have  agriculture  taught  in 
the  high  schools.  Indeed,  until  that  time  the  state 
normal  school  curriculum  provided  for  the  teaching  of 
agriculture  during  only  one  term,  or  part  of  a year,  as 
a prescribed  portion  of  the  course  leading  to  graduation. 
It  was  discovered  that  the  graduate  teachers  turned 
out  of  the  state  normals  took  home  with  them  the 
notion  that  the  state  did  not  consider  the  teaching  of 
agriculture  very  important.  It  was  to  overcome  this 
condition  and  build  up  agricultural  education  in  the 
public  schools  that  the  department  of  agriculture  for 
schools  was  created  in  the  Oklahoma  Agricultural  and 
Mechanical  College.  Mr.  Wilson  had  taught  in  district 
and  city  schools,  state  normal  schools  and  the  Agricul- 
tural and  Mechanical  College  and  the  board  of  agricul- 
ture found  him  especially  qualified  for  the  work.  His 
duties  required  that  he  visit  high  schools  and  normal 
schools  and  establish  departments  of  agriculture,  deliver 
addresses  on  the  work  of  the  department,  and  assist 
in  making  the  practical  and  scientific  study  of  agriculture 
an  important  feature  of  the  school  curriculum. 

Born  in  Grayson  County,  Kentucky,  in  1870,  George 
Wilson  is  a son  of  James  F.  and  Ellen  (Craig)  Wilson, 
who  are  now  living  a retired  life  at  Hennessey,  Okla- 
homa. John  Craig,  his  mother’s  father,  was  for  forty 
years  one  of  the  best  known  public  school  teachers  of 
Kentucky.  Mr.  Wilson  has  three  brothers  and  two 
sisters:  Cord  Wilson,  a farmer  at  Cashion,  Oklahoma; 
Clyde  Wilson,  a teacher  in  Oregon;  Roy  Wilson,  living 
with  his  parents  at  Hennessey;  Mrs.  Nannie  Cross,  wife 
of  a farmer  at  Glencoe,  Oklahoma;  Mrs.  Donna  Campbell, 
whose  husband  is  a farmer  at  LeGrande,  Oregon. 

Work  in  the  tobacco  fields  and  illness  interfered 
with  the  early  education  of  Mr.  Wilson  in  Kentucky,  and 
it  was  not  until  after  he  reached  manhood  that  he 
was  able  to  satisfy  his  ambition  for  a thorough,  prac- 
tical, well  rounded  schooling,  and  he  still  retained  the 
fire  of  youth  when,  after  a few  years  of  well  directed 
study,  he  completed  the  highest  course  in  the  Central 
State  Normal  School  of  Oklahoma,  which  is  recognized 
as  one  of  the  leading  normal  schools  of  the  cojintry. 
When  he  was  still  a boy  his  father  had  removed  to 
Western  Kansas  in  1884.  The  country  was  new  and 
sparsely  settled,  and  educational  advantages  were  meager. 
It  was  three  years  before  the  son  was  able  to  continue 
his  primary  training.  Then  in  two  years,  with  a few 
months  of  school  each  year  and  home  study,  he  prepared 
himself  for  teaching  in  the  common  schools,  and  there- 
after for  two  years  taught  in  Kansas.  In  1891,  at  the 
age  of  twenty-one,  he  came  into  the  original  Oklahoma 
Territory  and  in  Kingfisher  County  continued  his  pro- 
fessional work  and  from  every  possible  source  sought  a 
more  complete  education  for  himself.  During  1903-04 
he  was  a teacher  in  Comanche  County,  and  from  there 
entered  the  Central  State  Normal  School,  where  after 
three  years  he  completed  a course  and  received  his 
diploma  in  1907.  The  following  year  he  was  elected  su- 


perintendent of  schools  at  Guymon,  one  of  the  leading 
towns  of  the  Oklahoma  Panhandle.  In  1908  he  was 
elected  assistant  teacher  in  the  history  department  of  the 
Northwestern  State  Normal  School  at  Alva,  and  re- 
mained in  that  position  until  the  history  department  was 
discontinued  because  of  lack  of  appropriation.  The 
year  of  1908-09  he  spent  as  a teacher  in  the  Agricultural 
and  Mechanical  College  at  Stillwater,  and  the  following 
year  he  returned  to  the  Northwestern  State  Normal  as 
head  of  the  history  department.  The  next  year  he  was 
superintendent  of  city  schools  at  Okemah,  and  the  fol- 
lowing year  was  elected  by  the  state  board  of  agriculture 
as  head  of  the  extension  department  of  the  Agricultural 
and  Mechanical  College.  In  1914  he  was  promoted  by 
the  board  to  the  head  of  the  department  of  agriculture 
for  schools. 

This  department  under  Mr.  Wilson’s  management 
has  become  vastly  more  important  than  formerly.  He 
raised  the  standards  to  such  an  extent  that  the  Legis- 
lature of  1915,  on  advice  and  counsel  of  himself  and 
Robert  H.  Wilson,  state  superintendent  of  public  instrue 
tion,  enacted  a law  providing  that  there  shall  be  one 
year  of  agricultural  work  in  every  high  school  curricn 
lum  of  the  state.  Mr.  Wilson  is  emphasizing  the  prac 
tical  side  of  agriculture,  and  he  believes  that  in  many 
instances  the  subject  should  take  precedence  over  classical 
studies  in  the  high  schools  and  normal  schools.  His  the 
ory  is  that  the  high  school  is  a community-serving  instl 
tution  and  should  develop  the  minds  of  pupils  in  the 
channels  toward  which  they  are  bent. 

In  1898  at  Kingfisher  Mr.  Wilson  married  Miss  Ella 
Brown,  who  died  March  2,  1900.  In  1908  Miss  Mary 
Reece  became  his  wife.  Mrs.  Wilson  is  a graduate  of  the 
fine  old  college  of  Tehuacana,  Texas.  They  are  the 
parents  of  two  children:  Wilbur,  aged  five,  and  Eugenia, 
now  one  year  of  age.  Mr.  Wilson  is  a prominent  mem- 
ber of  the  Oklahoma  Educational  Association,  and  for 
years  has  been  a participant  in  county  and  district 
teachers’  associations.  Throughout  the  state  he  is  ree 
ognized  as  a practical  and  thorough  educator,  ranking 
high  in  the  profession.  He  claims  both  Oklahoma  City 
and  Stillwater  as  his  home,  though  his  regular  office  and' 
headquarters  for  mail  are  at  Stillwater. 


Carl  E.  Mohrbacher.  One  of  the  rising  young  at- 
torneys of  Shawnee,  Carl  E.  Mohrbacher  who  is  a 
graduate  of  the  law  department  of  the  state  university; 
is  already  established  in  a successful  practice  and  has 
shown  such  ability  that  his  future  high  rank  in  legal 
circles  is  practically  assured.  His  office  is  in  the  Elks 
Building  at  Shawnee. 

Born  at  Scott  City,  Kansas,  March  24,  1888,  he  is  a 
son  of  Fred  W.  and  Louisa  (Rouse)  Mohrbacher.  His 
father  was  born  in  Wisconsin,  a son  of  German  parents 
who  were  farmers  in  that  state  and  died  there  during 
the  ’80s.  Fred  W.  Mohrbacher  moved  out  to  Kansas  in 
1883  and  in  1890  went  to  Nebraska,  where  he  was  sue 
cessfully  engaged  in  the  grocery  and  real  estate  and  loan 
business  up  to  1904.  Since  then  for  more  than  ter 
years  he  has  lived  at  Shawnee,  and  from  1906  to  19lJ.| 
was  city  treasurer,  serving  three  times  in  that  office 
He  is  now  substantially  identified  with  the  banking  inter 
ests  of  the  city. 

Carl  E.  Mohrbacher  acquired  his  early  schooling  in 
Nebraska,  and  in  1909  graduated  from  the  Shawnel 
High  School.  In  September,  1909,  he  entered  the  lav 
department  of  the  University  of  Oklahoma,  being  thi 
first  to  enroll  in  the  law  school  for  the  three  year  course 
He  was  graduated  LL.  B.  in  June,  1912.  There  oceurreo 
an  incident  of  his  college  career  which  should  be  men1 
tioned.  In  the  early  part  of  1912  he  was  formally  ac 


mt 


Hi. 


wl  as  a 


P1J7! 

k tea 


fhfa 


r 

S b 


ft  the  K 

I iss«(i 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2109 


til 

» 

Til 

til 

- 
. • 


1 fc!- 

A 

lira 


. Ii 

A* 

: d 


eused  of  connection  with  an  anonymous  letter  sent  to 
members  of  the  Legislature  with  reference  to  the  state 
university  building.  He  was  tried  before  the  State  bar 
commission,  his  attorney  being  Moman  Pruitt,  and  was 
completely  exonerated  of  the  charge  and  thus  relieved  of 
what  might  have  been  a serious  handicap  to  his  career  at 
the  outset. 

Immediately  after  graduation  and  admission  to  the 
bar  he  began  practice  with  Hon.  William  N.  Maben  in 
Shawnee,  and  has  been  associated  with  that  attorney  ever 
since.  While  engaged  in  a general  practice  he  makes  a 
specialty  of  personal  injury  cases,  and  has  shown  some- 
what remarkable  ability  in  handling  this  class  of  liti- 
gation. Mr.  Mohrbacher  is  unmarried  and  resides  at 
644  North  Louisa  Street  in  Shawnee.  He  is  a member  of 
the  county  and  state  bar  associations,  belongs  to  the 
Alpha  Psi  Omega  fraternity,  is  affiliated  with  the  Fra- 
ternal Order  of  Eagles  and  belongs  to  the  Presbyterian 
Church. 


James  B.  Scott.  One  of  the  staunch  and  ably  con- 
ducted financial  institutions  of  Blaine  County  is  the 
First  State  Bank  of  Hitchcock,  and  as  the  chief  prac- 
tical executive  of  this  bank  Mr.  Scott  has  served  from 
the  time  of  its  organization,  its  inception  having,  in 
fact,  been  due  to  his  efforts,  and  he  having  efficiently 
directed  its  affairs,  in  the  capacity  of  cashier,  since  1901. 
He  established  his  residence  at  Hitchcock  in  that  year 
and  has  been  prominent  and  influential  in  business 
activities  and  also  in  the  civic  affairs  of  the  community, 
as  a progressive  and  public-spirited  citizen  whose  pop- 
ularity is  of  unequivocal  order. 

James  Bryant  Scott  was  born  in  the  City  of  Emporia, 
Kansas,  on  the  12th  of  August,  1875,  and  is  a scion  of 
sterling  Scotch  ancestry,  his  grandfather,  James  Scott, 
having  been  born  near  the  City  of  Edinburgh,  Scotland, 
in  1802,  and  having  come  to  the  United  States  with  his 
wife  and  children  when  he  was  still  comparatively  a 
young  man.  He  established  his  home  in  New  York  City, 
where  he  continued  to  be  identified  with  business  activi- 
ties for  many  years,  and  he  was  a resident  of  the  State 
of  Kansas  at  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  in 
1890,  so  that  he  had  attained  to  the  patriarchal  age  of 
nearly  ninety  years.  He  achieved  success  in  connection 
with  his  business  activities  after  coming  to  America  and 
was  a man  of  steadfast  rectitude  and  strong  mental 
powers. 

He  whose  name  introduces  this  article  is  a son  of 
'ip’jW.  W.  and  Annie  (Bryant)  Scott,  the  former  of  whom 
tV  Eft  was  born  in  Scotland,  in  1842,  and  the  latter  of  whom 
'was  born  at  Bridgewater,  Massachusetts,  in  1849,  a 
j jj  representative  of  a prominent  colonial  family  of  New 
f England.  In  1843,  the  year  succeeding  that  of  his  birth, 
"W.  W.  Scott  was  brought  by  his  parents  to  the  United 
larii! States,  an(j  he  was  rearejj  to  adult  age  in  New  York 
Ie  j City,  where  he  received  the  best  of  educational  advan- 
311  tages.  He  was  finally  graduated  in  what  is  now  the 
>luj  law  department  of  historic  old  Columbia  University, 
: 311  and  as  a young  man  he  removed  to  Minnesota,  becoming 
,jl  one  of  the  pioneer  members  of  the  bar  of  that  state 
n|8  and  there  continuing  in  the  practice  of  his  profession 
"until  1873,  when  he  removed  to  Emporia,  Kansas,  where 


■»  El 
• Man 

-ii 


and  id 

nniiii 


aiikiii 

a; 

fice 


be  became  one  of  the  leading  lawyers  of  that  section 


, j Df  the  Sunflower  State  and  where  he  continued  in  active 
!'T'A  practice  until  virtually  the  time  of  his  death,  which 
e ja  occurred  in  1890.  He  achieved  specially  high  reputa- 
- . 3 H tion  as  a versatile  trial  lawyer  and  was  identified  with 
1 eu;  rS  nany  important  litigations  in  the  various  courts  of 
'aIt  ( Kansas,  besides  which  he  was  prominently  identified 
otl  vith  the  Kansas  State  Bar  Association  and  the  American 
ii  “e  ™Bar  Association.  He  was  a republican  in  his  political 


proclivities  and  was  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  fra- 
ternity. His  venerable  widow  still  survives  him  and  now 
maintains  her  home  in  the  City  of  Topeka,  Kansas.  Of 
the  children  the  first-born  is  Helen,  who  is  the  wife  of 
Prof.  William  H.  Johnson,  a member  of  the  faculty  of 
the  University  of  Kansas,  at  Lawrence;  Mabel  is  the 
wife  of  William  L.  Gardner,  of  Topeka,  Kansas,  where 
Mr.  Johnson  is  state  agent  for  the  National  Fire  In- 
surance Company;  James  B.,  of  this  review,  was  the 
next  in  order  of  birth  and  is  the  youngest  of  the  chil- 
dren. 

In  the_  public  schools  of  his  native  city  of  Emporia, 
Kansas,  James  B.  Scott  acquired  his  early  educational 
discipline,  and  he  was  about  fifteen  years  of  age  at  the 
time  of  the  death  of  his  honored  father.  During  the 
years  1893  and  1894  his  widowed  mother  maintained  the 
family  home  at  Lawrence,  Kansas,  and  there  James  con- 
tinued his  studies  in  the  high  school.  He  soon  after- 
ward returned  to  Emporia,  where  he  completed  a two 
years’  course  in  the  Kansas  State  Normal  School.  Upon 
leaving  this  institution,  in’  1895,  Mr.  Scott  assumed  the 
position  of  collector  for  the  First  National  Bank  of 
Emporia,  and  shortly  afterward  won  promotion  to  the 
post  of  bookkeeper.  He  continued  his  association  with 
this  institution  until  1898,  and  thereafter  served  as 
bookkeeper  for  the  Citizens  National  Bank  of  Emporia 
until  1900. 

In  the  year  last  mentioned  Mr.  Scott  came  to  Okla- 
homa Territory  and  became  identified  with  the  Bank  of 
Kiel,  at  Kiel,  Kingfisher  County.  He  served  as  cashier 
of  this  new  institution  for  one  year,  and  in  August,  1901 , 
he  removed  to  the  newly  founded  town  of  Hitchcock,  in 
the  adjoining  County  of  Blaine,  where  he  effected  the 
organization  of  the  First  Bank  of  Hitchcock,  of  which 
he  has  since  served  as  cashier  and  the  affairs  of  which 
he  has  directed  with  the  utmost  circumspection  and 
efficiency.  The  bank  has  been  an  important  factor  in 
facilitating  general  business  activities  in  the  town  and 
surrounding  country  and  has  also  aided  in  the  further- 
ance of  the  civic  and  material  development  and  progress 
of  Hitchcock,  the  while  its  cashier  has  become  one  of 
the  representative  business  man  and  loyal  and  valued 
citizens  of  the  community.  The  bank  building  is 
eligibly  located  at  the  corner  of  Main  Street  and 
Broadway,  and  the  officers  of  the  institution  are  as  here 
noted:  B.  Cronkhite,  president;  J.  A.  Overstreet,  vice 
president;  James  B.  Scott,  cashier;  and  Van  Bee  Higby, 
assistant  cashier.  The  bank  bases  its  operations  on  a 
capital  stock  of  $10,000  and  has  a surplus  fund  of 
$5,000. 

Mr.  Scott  accords  staunch  allegiance  to  the  republican 
party,  is  a member  of  the  Oklahoma  State  Bankers’ 
Association,  is  a valued  member  of  the  board  of  educa- 
tion of  Hitchcock,  and  both  he  and  his  wife  hold  mem- 
bership in  the  Christian  Church  in  their  home  village, 
where  also  they  take  leading  part  in  the  representative 
social  activities  of  the  community.  At  the  county  seat 
Mr.  Scott  is  affiliated  with  Watonga  Lodge,  No.  176, 
Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  he  has  received 

the  thirty-second  degree  in  the  Ancient  Accepted 

Scottish  Rite  of  Masonry,  in  which  connection  he  is 
affiliated  with  Consistory  No.  1,  Valley  of  Guthrie, 

besides  which  he  holds  membership  in  India  Temple, 
Ancient  Arabic  Order  of  the  Nobles  of  the  Mystic 

Shrine,  in  Oklahoma  City.  In  his  home  village  he  holds 
membership  in  the  lodge  of  the  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows  and  the  camp  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America. 

At  Emporia,  Kansas,  in  the  year  1902,  was  solemnized 
the  marriage  of  Mr.  Scott  to  Miss  Mary  I.  Wiley,  who, 


2110 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


iike  himself,  was  born  ami  reared  in  the  Sunflower  State. 
They  have  two  children,  Helen  and  James  Bryant,  Jr. 

James  Widener,  retired  farmer  and  Civil  war  veteran, 
has  been  a resident  of  Cleveland  and  its  neighborhood 
since  the  autumn  of  1893,  when  he1  came  into  possession 
of  160  acres  of  land  on  the  opening  of  the  strip.  In 
1910  he  withdrew  from  ranch  life  and  settled  in  the 
City  of  Cleveland,  where  he  is  now  living,  in  the  seventy- 
second  year  of  his  life.  Mr.  Widener  has  had  a varied 
career.  The  pioneer  instinct  was  ever  strong  within 
him,  and  many  a new  and  virgin  territory  has  he 
entered,  subdued  to  civilization  and  wholly  conquered. 

Born  in  Sandusky,  Ohio,  on  March  10,  1843,  James 
Widener  is  the  son  of  Samuel  and  Jane  (McGown) 
Widener,  both  natives  of  Ohio.  Jane  McGown’s  father 
was  of  Irish  birth  and  ancestry  and  her  mother  was  of 
a German  family.  Michael  Widener,  grandsire  of  the 
subject,  was  a native  of  the  State  of  Virginia,  and  a 
pioneer  to  Ohio  in  young  manhood.  He  spent  many 
years  among  the  native  Indians  of  the  state,  and  was 
well  known  to  them  as  their  faithful  friend  through 
many  years.  After  Samuel  Widener ’s  marriage  to  Jane 
McGown,  and  when  their  son,  James,  of  this  review, 
was  about  two  years  old,  they,  in  company  with  Michael 
Widener,  James’  grandsire,  moved  from  Ohio  to  Indi- 
ana and  located  in  Noble  County.  The  white  settlers 
were  widely  scattered,  and  the  Indians  were  friendly 
for  the  most  part,  though  they  gave  some  trouble  to  the 
straggling  white  families.  James  Widener  tells  today 
with  pride  of  the  time  when  a famous  Indian  chief  came 
to  visit  them  and  spent  a week  as  their  guest.  There 
ever  existed  between  them  and  the  Indians  a warm  and 
true  friendship,  and  they  learned  from  their  red  broth- 
ers of  the  forest  many  of  their  secrets,  such  as  the 
treatment  of  snake  bite,  etc.  The  grandfather  died  in 
Indiana,  and  after  his  second  marriage,  the  son,  Samuel, 
moved  to  Genesee  County,  Michigan,  in  the  autumn  of 
Buchanan’s  election  to  the  presidency.  Later1  they 
moved  into  Illinois,  and  still  later  to  Missouri,  James 
being  a boy  of  sixteen  at  that  time.  While  there,  the 
father  and  sons  worked  for  the  railroad  company,  and 
young  Widener  helped  to  haul  material  for  a bridge 
across  the  Sheridan  River  on  the  Hannibal  and  St.  Joe 
Railroad.  He  spent  three  years  in  the  construction 
department  of  this  road  in  Indiana,  Illinois  and  Mis- 
souri. 

The  next  location  of  the  family  was  at  Brunswick, 
Missouri,  where  they  spent  a short  time  and  moved 
on  to  Iowa  and  settling  near  Millersburg.  The  father 
died  in  Illinois  about  the  year  1899.  He  had  been  three 
times  married,  and  there  were  children  of  each  union. 
James  Widener  was  the  eldest  of  the  three  children  born 
to  his  mother,  and  she  died  when  he  was  seven  years  old. 
The  others  were  Michael  and  John.  The  former  enlisted 
in  Company  C,  Twenty-eighth  Iowa  Infantry,  in 
1862,  and  served  until  the  close  of  the  war.  John  also 
served  as  a member  of  the  Thirty-seventh  Illinois  Regi- 
ment, enlisting  in  1862  for  the  remainder  of  the  war. 
He  died  in  Granola,  Kansas,  in  1894. 

Like  his  brothers,  James  Widener  gave  service  to  the 
Union  during  the  war.  He  enlisted  in  1861  at  the  first 
call.  He  was  for  three  years  a member  of  Company  F, 
Tenth  Iowa  Infantry,  and  served  three  years  and  twenty- 
one  days.  He  participated  in  many  of  the  hottest  en- 
gagements of  the  war  in  that  time,  including  Farming 
ton,  Corinth,  the  siege  of  Vicksburg,  being  in  both 
famous  charges  on  the  22d  day  of  May,  as  well  as 
Missionary  Ridge,  and  many  minor  engagements.  He 
was  never  off  duty  except  for  a few  weeks’  illness  as  a 
victim  of  pneumonia. 


After  the  war  Mr.  Widener  returned  to  Iowa  and 
worked vat  the  carpenter’s  trade,  in  which  he  had  been 
trained  while  in  service  with  the  construction  crew  of 
the  Hannibal  and  St.  Joe.  He  kept  at  that  work  for  a 
while,  then  turned  his  attention  to  farm  life.  He  re- 
mained in  Iowa  County,  Iowa,  theri  went  to  Kansas  and 
settled  in  Shawnee  County,  and  from  there  to  Sumner 
County,  Kansas.  He  came  to  Oklahoma  before  the 
opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip  in  the  fall  of  1893,  and  in 
the  race  for  land  secured  a quarter  section  located  five 
miles  south  of  the  present  Town  of  Cleveland.  He 
farmed  there  until  1910,  when  he  gave  up  active  life  and 
moved  into  town,  where  he  has  sinee  lived. 

On  September  10,  1866,  Mr.  Widener  was  first  mar- 
ried to  Miss  Wealtly.  Ann  Kiine,  born  in  Seneca 
County,  Ohio,  in  1848,  became  his  wife,  and  she  bore  him 
seven  children.  She  died  in  Cleveland  on  April  10,  1909. 
Rosanna,  the  first  born,  is  the  widow  of  P.  J.  Gallagher, 
of  this  city.  John  is  a resident  of  Cleveland.  Amanda 
is  the  wife  of  C.  B.  Lewis,  a farmer  in  the  community. 
Lettie  married  Paul  Wheeler,  of  Pawhuska.  James  B. 
lives  in  Oilton,  Oklahoma.  Ethel  is  the  wife  of  W.  S. 
Estep  of  Cleveland.  Clarence  also  lives  in  Cleveland. 

On  February  2,  1914,  Mr.  Widener  married  Mrs. 
Minnie  B.  Green.  They  have  no  children. 

Mr.  Widener  may  be  regarded  as  one  of  the  independ- 
ently wealthy  men  of  the  town,  for  he  has  on  his  farm 
fourteen  producing  oil  wells,  with  much  unexplored  terri- 
tory. At  one  time  he  ran  a harness  shop  in  town,  but 
has  no  interests  of  that  nature  to  look  after  now.  He 
owns  two  business  buildings  in  the  city. 

Mr.  Widener  is  a republican,  a member  of  the  Presby- 
terian Church,  a thirty-second  degree  Mason  and  a mem- 
ber of  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic.  His  wife  was 
born  in  Pennsylvania,  though  she  was  reared  for  the 
most  part  in  Illinois  and  Missouri:  She  was  married 

first  in  Missouri  to  James  A.  Green,  a Civil  war  veteran, 
who  died  in  1900,  near  Springfield,  Missouri.  She  came 
to  Cleveland  in  1902.  She  had  four  children  by  her  first 
marriage.  Roy;  Mabel,  the  wife  of  Clarence  Barnes  of 
Pawnee;  Okie  Enid  and  Una  Waive.  All  have  had  excel- 
lent educations.  Mrs.  Widener  is  a member  of  the  Wo- 
men ’s  Relief  Corps,  and  active  in  its  worthy  work.  She 
was  a Methodist  for  thirty-two  years,  and  sinee  her  mar- 
riage to  Mr.  Widener  has  become  a member  of  the 
Presbyterian  Church. 

Hays  Hamilton  is  one  of  the  pioneer  citizens  who 
has  done  much  to  further  the  civic  and  material  develop- 
ment and  upbuilding  of  Payne  County  and  its  judicial 
center,  the  thriving  little  City  of  Stillwater,  where  he  is 
vice  president  of  the  Sater  Abstract  Company,  which  has 
assembled  and  has  control  of  the  only  complete  record  of 
real  estate  titles  in  this  county. 

Mr.  Hamilton  was  born  at  San  Jose,  California,  on  the 
30th  of  September,  1863,  and  is  a son  of  James  G.  and 
Cornelia  (Bernard)  Hamilton,  both  natives  of  Augusta 
County,  Virginia,  of  which  Staunton  is  the  county  seat,, 
the  father  having  been  born  about  the  year  1816  and  the 
mother  about  1820.  Both  were  young  at  the  time  of  the 
removal  of  the  respective  families  to  Callaway  County, 
Missouri,  in  1833,  where  they  were  reared  to  maturity 
under  the  conditions  of  the  pioneer  days  and  where  their 
marriage  was  solemnized  in  1844.  Soon  afterward, 
they  removed  to  Westport,  Missouri,  the  village  that  was; 
the  nucleus  of  the  present  metropolis  of  Kansas  City, 
and  there  James  G.  Hamilton  engaged  in  the  merchandise 
and  shipping  business,  with  which  lines  of  enterprise  lie 
continued  to  be  identified  during  the  remainder  of  his 
active  career,  though  in  the  meanwhile  the  family  home 
was  maintained  for  a short  time  in  the  State  of  Cali 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2111 


fornia.  He  died  in  1869,  and  his  widow  survived  him  by 
nearly  half  a century,  she  having  been  in  her  ninety- 
first  year  at  the  time  of  her  death,  in  February,  1913, 
and  having  passed  the  closing  period  of  her  life  in  the 
home  of  one  of  her  daughters  in  Colorado. 

Hays  Hamilton  was  reared  to  adult  age  in  Kansas 
City,  Missouri,  and  in  1882  he  came  to  the  Osage  Indian 
Agency 'of  Indian  Territory.  For  four  years  he  was 
employed  by  his  elder  brother,  John  B.,  who  was  an 
Indian  trader  and  who  maintained  headquarters  at 
Pawliuska,  the  present  judicial  center  of  Osage  County, 
Oklahoma.  Within  this  period  of  frontier  experience 
Mr.  Hamilton  learned  to  speak  the  Osage  language  with 
considerable  fluency,  and  at  the  expiration  of  the  period 
noted  he  returned  to  Kansas  City,  where  he  continued 
his  residence  until  1889,  when  Oklahoma  Territory  was 
thrown  open  to  settlement.  He  was  among  the  sturdy 
pioneers  who  here  established  a residence  at  that  time 
and  he  made  Stillwater  his  abiding  place  at  that  early 
period  in  the  history  of  Oklahoma.  Here  he  has  main- 
tained his  home  during  the  intervening  period  of  nearly 
thirty  years,  and  the  only  other  citizens  of  Payne  County 
who  came  at  the  same  time  and  who  still  reside  here  are 
Eobert  A.  Lowery,  William  A.  and  Ambrose  Swiles,  and 
John  Barnes. 

Soon  after  thus  becoming  a pioneer  settler  at  Still- 
water Mr.  Hamilton  engaged  in  the  grocery  and  general 
feed-supply  business,  and  with  this  line  of  enterprise  he 
continued  to  be  actively  identified  a,  number  of  years. 
geI  He  was  prominently  concerned  in  the  development  of 
grape  propagation  and  wine  manufacturing  in  this 
section  of  the  state,  and  for  a number  of  years  raised 
grapes  and  manufactured  wine  upon  a somewhat  exten- 
sive scale,  his  efforts  at  all  times  having  been  zealously 
directed  to  the  advancement  of  measures  and  enter- 
prises that  have  tended  to  foster  the  social  and  indus- 
trial development  of  the  territory  and  state  of  his 
adoption. 

As  one  of  the  interested  principals  and  vice  presi- 
dent of  the  Sater  Abstract  Company,  Mr.  Hamilton  gives 
much  of  his  attention  to  its  business,  and  the  abstracts 
owned  by  the  company  are  the  only  complete  records 
of  titles  in  the  county,  as  the  public  records  were 
destroyed  by  fire  in  1894.  Mr.  Hamilton  is  progressive 
0j  th'i  as  a citizen  and  his  political  allegiance  is  given  to  the 
"democratic  party. 

Mr.  Hamilton  first  passed  through  Payne  County  at 
the  time  when  Captain  Hatch,  U.  S.  A.,  was  making  his 
effort  to  drive  out  the  professional  ‘ ‘ Boomers,  ’ ’ led  by 
Captain  Couch,  and  missed  seeing  the  final  expulsion 
of  the  boomers  from  the  Stillwater  Valley  by  only  a few 
minutes,  after  having  been  attracted  to  this  locality 
i Jl  principally  by  a curiosity  to  witness  the  generally  ex- 
ret0Ii#  pected  battle  between  the  contending  forces.  He  was 
concerned  with  the  better  element  of  citizenship  in  the 
establishing  of  the  general  democracy  which  hpre  held 
■■■"■  sway  until  the  laws  for  proper  government  could  be 
i August  fornmiated  and  brought  into  force,  and  he  has  viewed 
:,at-  f|,  with  satisfaction  the  effective  popular  activity  and  cpn- 
11 1111  ! trolling  interest  in  governmental  affairs  in  Payne 
time  or  t ( Q01inty,  all  citizens  of  standing  having  worked  together 
jy 1 0"".j  with  unity  of  interest  to  further  the  well-being  of  the 
i:’  lK®n  county  in  general. 

steie  <•  Mr.  Hamilton  has  taken  the  deepest  interest  in  the 
history  of  Oklahoma  and  has  personally  taken  the  pains 
-■  E p"!  to  gather  a large  amount  of  interesting  and  valuable 
iuMS  J,  historical  data.  He  had  completed  a.  most  valuable 
I record  of  Payne  County  history,  and  after  this  valuable 
'■ ''"A  nanuscript  was  destroyed  by  fire  he  renewed  his  efforts 
J md  has  to  a large  extent  made  good  the  data,  his 
’aeilities  for  gathering  historical  material  having  been 
late 111  U;  Vol.  v— 23 


na,  on  t 


advanced  through  his  connection  with  the  abstract  busi- 
ness. His  civic  pride  and  loyalty  have  been  shown 
through  his  earnest  work  for  the  advancement  of  his 
home  city  and  making  it  an  attractive  and  desirable 
place  of  residence.  He  was  one  of  those  specially  in- 
fluential in  securing  to  Stillwater  the  Oklahoma  Agricul- 
tural and  Mechanical  College,  and  he  aided  in  raising  the 
fund  through  which  a representative  citizen  was  sent 
to  Washington  to  appear  before  the  members  of  Con- 
gress and  make  possible  the  enlarging  of  Payne  County 
by  the  addition  of  a portion  of  the  Cherokee  Strip  when 
the  latter  was  thrown  open  to  settlement. 

Mr.  Hamilton  is  a devotee  of  hunting  and  fishing  and 
has  found  in  this  section  of  the  state  opportunities  for 
proving  his  prowess  in  both  of  these  lines  of  outdoor 
sport.  He  is  a member  of  the  Stillwater  Country  Club, 
which  has  provided  a fine  artificial  lake  and  stocked  the 
same  with  the  best  varieties  of  fish.  He  is  a mem- 
ber also  of  the  Eedlands  Club  and  the  Stillwater  Com- 
mercial Club,  of  which  latter  he  is  a director.  He  has 
taken  much  interest  in  the  advancement  of  the  stand- 
ards of  agricultural  and  horticultural  industry  in  this 
section,  and  is  the  owner  of  two  well  improved  farms  in 
Payne  County,  one  of  the  same  being  in  close  proximity 
to  Stillwater  and  the  other  being  several  miles  distant. 

In  the  year  1891  Mr.  Hamilton  wedded  Miss  Margaret 
J.  Harper,  who  was  born  in  the  State  of  Kentucky,  and 
their  only  child,  Fern,  was  graduated  in  the  Oklahoma 
Agricultural  and  Mechanical  College,  as  a member  of 
the  class  of  1913,  she  being  a popular  figure  in  the 
representative  social  activities  of  her  home  community. 

E.  L.  Gat.  The  pioneer  newspaper  enterprise  at 
Pawhuska  was  the  establishment  of  the  Osage  Journal 
of  .which  E.  L.  Gay  became  editor  in  1904,  when  Paw- 
huska had  very  little  claim  to  the  business  activities  and 
improvements  of  a town  or  city.  Not  only  in  the 
newspaper  field  but  in  other  affairs  Mr.  Gay’s  life  has 
been  one  of  varied  and  interesting  experience.  He  is 
one  of  the  original  Oklahomans,  and  in  fact  can  claim 
membership  in  that  goodly  company  of  enterprising  men 
who  were  denominated  as  “sooners.  ” He  and  his 
family  had  many  interesting  associations  with  frontier 
life  in  the  Southwest,  and  there  are  few  who  possess  in 
their  memory  a greater  fund  of  information  concerning 
Oklahoma  history  than  this  Pawhuska  editor. 

Born  in  Hillsdale  County,  Michigan,  October  12,  1862, 
E.  L.  Gay  is  one  of  a family  of  six  sons  and  two 
daughters,  all  of  whom  grew  up  and*  are  all  living 
except  one.  He  was  the  fifth  in  order  of  age.  His 
parents  were  Charles  H.  and  Catherine  (Fulton)  Gay. 
His  grandfather  was  William  H.  Gay,  who  was  born  in 
Scotland  and  was  brought  to  America  when  a child. 
About  1830  he  settled  in  Michigan,  and  in  1852  was 
appointed  United  States  Indian  agent  for  the  Wyandotte 
tribe  at  the  Wyandotte  Agency  located  near  where  Kan- 
sas City,  Kansas,  now  stands.  He  held  that  post  until 
1856.  In  that  year  he  and  his  son  James  were  making 
a trip  from  the  Indian  agency  to  Fort  Leavenworth. 
While  going  up  the  river  they  were  halted  by  a band  of 
horsemen,  and  were  questioned  as  to  their  attitude  to- 
ward the  then  critical  question  of  whether  Kansas 
should  be  admitted  as  a slave  or  free  state.  William 
H.  Gay,  it  should  be  remembered,  was  a Scotchman, 
and  possessed  all  the  courage  of  his  convictions.  He 
expressed  himself  decisively  in  favor  of  making  a free 
state  of  Kansas,  and  the  words  were  hardly  out  of  his 
mouth  when  he  was  shot  down  and  killed,  while  his  son 
was  severely  wounded.  William  H.  Gay  was  a real 
frontier  character,  and  in  the  early  days  had  made  a 
couple  of  trips  to  Texas  in  the  interests  of  the  govern- 


2112 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


meat,  and  while  there  formed  a great  friendship  with 
Governor  Houston.  Charles  H.  Gay,  who  was  born  m 
New  York  State  in  1825,  was  one  of  three  children,  two 
sons  and  a daughter,  his  brother  being  James  H.  Gay, 
already  mentioned  as  the  companion  of  their  father  at 
the  time  of  the  latter’s  death.  Charles  H.  Gay  spent 
most  of  his  active  career  in  Southern  Michigan  and 
Northern  Ohio.  He  was  a millwright  by  trade  in  early 
life  but  in  later  years  took  up  the  profession  of  law 
and  became  one  of  the  noted  young  jurists  of  that  sec- 
tion. He-  married  Catherine  Fulton,  who  was  of  the 
same  family  as  the  noted  inventor,  Robert  Fulton.  She 
died  at  Pioneer,  Ohio,  in  1884.  At  their  home  in  the 
same  place  and  in  the  same  house  Charles  H.  Gay 
passed  away  in  1903.  . 

The  early  life  of  E.  L.  Gay  brought  him  into  close 
touch  with  the  actualities  of  existence,  and  he  had  a 
hard  struggle  to  gain  the  education  which  his  ambition 
craved.  He  lost  his  mother  in  the  spring  of  1884, 
when  he  was  twenty-two  years  of  age,  and  up  to  that 
time  he  had  kept  quite  close  to  the  old  homestead.  He 
attended  high  school  at  Pioneer,  Ohio,  and  for  one  year 
was  a student  in  the  Valparaiso  Normal  School  in 
Indiana.  In  order  to  pay  his  way  through  school  he 
taught,  beginning  when  he  was  seventeen  years  of  age, 
and  continued  alternately  as  a teacher  and  student  for 
five  years.  His  practice  was  to  teach  the  short  winter 
terms  and  attend  school  himself  the  rest  of  the  year. 
In  1884,  after  the  death  of  his  mother  Mr.  Gay  went 
to  Kansas  City,  Kansas,  and  taught  in  the  Wyandotte 
County  public  schools  one  year,  but  from  there  went  to 
Western  Kansas  and  identified  himself  with  the  exciting 
incidents  of  the  frontier.  He  was  also  in  Texas  and 
for  a time  was  in  that  region  described  in  the  old 
geographies  as  "No  Man’s  Land”  of  Indian  Terri- 
tory. In  the  spring  of  1887  he  was  in  the  Panhandle 
of  Texas,  looking  after  a herd  of  cattle.  From  there 
he  returned  to  No  Man’s  Land  and  in  1889  began  the 
publication  of  the  Tribune  at  Beaver  City.  Mr..  Gay 
was  closely  identified  with  that  movement  which  is  an 
important  chapter  in  any  history  of  Oklahoma  for  the 
erection  of  a local  government  in  the  Panhandle  of 
Oklahoma,  and  was  a member  of  the  first  provisional 
council  that  adopted  a plan  of  government  for  "pro- 
visional territory  of  Cimarron.”  He  was  also  elected 
to  one  of  the  proposed  territorial  officers  as  district  at- 
torney. Mr.  Gay  published  the  Tribune  at  Beaver  City 
for  about  a year.  In  the  meantime  he  had  received  an 
appointment  as  chief  clerk  in  the  first  Territorial  Legis- 
lature of  Oklahoma,  and  spent  five  months  at  Guthrie, 
the  capital,  during  that  session.  After  leaving  Beaver 
City  he  moved  to  El  Reno  and  bought  the  Oklahoma 
Democrat  in  that  city,  which  had  just  been  started. 
He  conducted  this  journal  as  a partnership  for  two  or 
three  years,  and  in  the  meantime  had  participated  in 
the  opening  of  the  Cheyenne  and  Arapaho  lands.  Sub- 
sequently for  one  year  Mr.  Gay  conducted  the  Even- 
ing News  at  Shawnee,  and  during  the  boom  times  that 
followed  railroad  construction  identified  himself  with 
Holdenville.  He  also  lived  at  Tulsa  for  a time,  and 
in  1904  came  to  Pawhuska  for  the  definite  purpose  of 
establishing  a paper.  He  was  one  of  the  organizers  of 
the  Osage  Journal  Company,  and  has  edited  this  prom- 
inent and  influential  weekly  democratic  paper  ever 
since.  When  Mr.  Gay  first  came  to  Pawhuska  there  was 
not  a foot  of  sidewalk  in  the  town,  and  not  a single 
brick  building.  He  has  used  the  influence  of  his  paper 
and  has  worked  as  an  individual  citizen  for  everything 
tending  to  the  betterment  of,  his  town  and  has  been 
one  of  the  real  factors  in  its  advancement. 

In  polities  he  has  been  a lifelong  democrat.  He 


was  not  only  clerk  in  the  first  but  also  in  the  second 
Territorial  Legislature  of  Oklahoma.  In  the  early  days 
and  while  a resident  of  No  Man’s  Land  he  held  a com- 
mission as  Deputy  United  States  Marshal  under  J.  J. 
Dickerson  when  the  federal  court  of  the  second  Texas 
District  was  supposed  to  have  jurisdiction  over  that  coun- 
try. As  such  officer  he  was  instrumental  in  banging  to 
trial  the  participants  in  the  Wild  Horse  Lake  massacre 
which  occurred  in  the  central  part  of  that  country. 

Fraternally  he  is  affiliated  with  the  Benevolent  and 
Protective  Order  of  Elks,  the  Ancient  Order  of  United 
Workmen,  the  Homesteaders  and  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows. 

While  engaged  in  the  newspaper  business  at  El  Reno 
he  was  married  to  Alice  Crawmer  at  Wichita,  Kansas,  on 
November  26,  1891.  Four  children  have  been  born  to 
their  union,  one  of  them,  Eugene  Fenton,  dying  in  in- 
fancy. Those  living  are:  Leah  Frances,  Elgin  Crawmer 
and  Allen  G.  Thurman. 

William  H.  Edmisten.  A resident  of  Indian  Terri- 
tory since  1886,  William  H.  Edmisten  has  been  an  eye- 
witness of  the  growth  and  development  of  this  wonder- 
ful country  from  the  days  when  it  was  almost  entirely  in- 
habited by  the  red  man  to  the  present  era  of  business 
and  agricultural  prosperity  and  advanced  civilization. 
During  this  period  he  has  been  engaged  principally  in 
pursuits  connected  with  farming  and  the  raising  of 
stock,  but  at  present  is  living  a retired  life  at  Cleveland, 
although  he  has  some  valuable  holdings,  particularly  on 
Turkey  Island,  on  which  one  oil  well  has  been  drilled. 

Mr.  Edmisten  was  born  at  Neosho,  Newton  County, 
Missouri,  February  20,  1857,  and  is  a son  of  Richard  and 
Eliza  C.  (Rhodes)  Edmisten.  His  father,  a native  of 
either  Kentucky  or  Tennessee,  came  to  the  West  with 
his  parents  in  1830  and  settled  in  Newton  County,  Mis- 
souri, where  he  passed  the  remaining  years  of  his  life 
as  a farmer  and  stock-raiser.  The  mother,  also  a native 
of  the  South,  located  in  Missouri  about  the  same  time; 
as  her  husband  and  now  makes  her  home  at  Goodman 
in  that  state.  They  were  the  parents  of  eleven  chil- 


Id! 
I sta: 
„ 


dren,  as  follows:  Daniel,  who  is  deceased;  William  H, 
Mary  Ellen,  of  Seattle,  Washington,  the  wife  of  Lewii 
D.  Stone;  John  D.,  a resident  of  Missouri;  Florence] 
who  is  the  wife  of  Charles  Barnes,  of  Missouri;  Rosa, 
Lee,  who  is  the  wife  of  John  Stites,  of  Missouri;  Rich 
ard  and  Eliza,  twins,  both  of  whom  died  young;  Maggie 
the  wife  of  William  Foster,  of  Joplin,  Missouri;  Matti 
cashier  of  the  Goodman  State  Bank  of  Goodman,  Mis 


souri;  and  Theo,  who  is  the  wife  of  William  Cornelison 


of  Kansas, 

William  H.  Edmisten  was  educated  in  the  schools  o: 
Newton  County,  Missouri,  and  grew  up  as  a farmer  am 
stock-raiser.  Feeling  that  he  could  better  his  fortune] 


follows 


further  to  the  West,  in  1886  he  came  to  Indian  Terri 


tory  and  for  about  fifteen  or  sixteen  years  was 
gaged  in  the  stock  business,  a line  in  which  he  won  we! 


■Illie 
* 
- CL, 


peratii 


merited  success.  In  the  winter  of  1901  he  came 
Pawnee  County,  settling  on  a farm  on  the  Arkansa 
River,  six  miles  southeast  of  Cleveland,  a tract  of  16 
acres,  which  he  still  owns  and  Which  consists  of  goo> 
bottom  land.  There  he  continued  to  make  his  home  unt 
January  1,  1914,  at  which  time  he  came  to  Clevelam 
Mr.  Edmisten ’s  farm  is  a part  of  Turkey  Island,  and  l 
the  present  time  this  property  is  in  litigation,  in  regal 
to  riparian  rights.  If  Mr.  Edminsten  wins  his  suit  1 
will  have  275  acres,  but  it  is  not  the  quantity  of  Ian 
that  makes  this  case  an  important  one,  but  the  oil  thi, 
has  been  discovered  there.  There  have  been  a mffi 
ber  of  wells  drilled  on  his  land,  shallow  sand  wells,  yiell 
ing  from  twenty  to  sixty  barrels, 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2113 


Mr.  Edmisten  has  had  many  and  varied  experiences 
since  coming  to  the  West,  many  of  which  center  around 
the  Indians.  At  one  period  in  his  career  he  was  farm- 
ing 1,100  acres,  twelve  miles  east  of  Yinita,  at  the 
head  of  Duck  and  Shawnee  creeks,  where  he  operated 
four  farms,  worked  twenty  mules,  and  kept  two  jacks 
in  his  stud.  He  bought  and  shipped  much  stock  during 
that  time  and  did  much  dealing  with  the  Indians,  with 
whom  he  managed  to  keep  on  friendly  terms. 

As  an  incident  showing  the  turn  that  fortune  may 
take  at  some  time  and  that  a man’s  judgment  and  fore- 
sight cannot  always  be  infallible,  the  following  may  be 
related:  On  September  16,  1893,  Mr.  Edmisten  was 

standing  at  the  elbow  of  the  man  who  fired  the  gun  an- 
nouncing the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  at  Still- 
water. It  was  noon,  and  he  was  off  with  the  shot, 
mounted  on  a good  horse  which  took  him  over  twenty 
miles  to  Pawnee  in  one  and  one-half  hours,  and  there  he 
secured  several  lots  which  now  form  the  property  on 
which  the  high  school  stands.  Mr.  Edmisten,  however, 
figured  that  this  was  an  undesirable  part  of  the  coun- 
try, that  it  would  likely  never  amount  to  anything,  and 
accordingly  gave  his  lots  away  and  rode  to  another 
locality.  A sight  which  impressed  itself  upon  his  mind 
on  that  same  day  occurred  at  Stillwater.  It  was  hot 
itioi  and  dusty,  water  was  at  a premium,  and  the  anxious 
ly  i homeseekers  were  gathered  in  hordes.  Some  enterpris- 
es ) ing  citizen  started  selling  water  melons,  soon  others 
ilai  followed  suit,  and  before  all  had  registered  the  water 
ly  o melon  rinds  lay  two  feet  deep  on  the  ground  for . a 
si  space  covering  nearly  a half  a mile!  While  Mr.  Edmis- 
wt  ten  has  been  a permanent  resident  of  Cleveland  for  only 
las  a eomparativey  short  time,  he  may  be  said  to  have  been 
its  i one  of  the  town ’s  eariest  arrivals,  having  come  here 
t flit  before  the  place  was  started,  and  buying  groceries  for 
r,  I himself  and  feed  for  his  horses  three  days  after  the 
us  lii  town  opened.  He  has  always  been  a progressive  promoter 
nati  of  beneficial  movements,  lending  encouragement  and  sup- 
ie  tin  port  to  any  enterprise  that  has  promised  to  make  for 
loik  the  betterment  of  his  locality  or  its  people.  As  a busi- 
n chi  ness  man,  he  has  built  up  a substantial  reputation  for 
ami  integrity  and  honorable  dealing,  while  his  good  citizen- 
f Le»  ship  has  never  been  doubted. 

iorew  Mr.  Edmisten  was  married  in  1876  to  Miss  Samantha 
i;  Bo  C.  Stark,  who  was  born  in  Washington  County,  Indiana, 
i;  Eii  January  16,  1856,  and  brought  to  Missouri  when  twelve 
Magg  years  of  age  by  her  parents,  Vinyard  and  Susan  (Kester) 
i;  Ma  Stark,  natives  of  Indiana,  the  former  of  whom,  a farm- 
ail,  11  er,  died  in  Missouri,  and  the  latter  in  Kansas.  Eleven 
imelia  children  have  been  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Edmisten,  as 
follows:  Harlington  Lafayette,  who  spent  a number  of 
cliools  years  in  Idaho  and  Montana  but  is  now  engaged  in 
™en  operating  one  of  his  father’s  farms;  Ada  Belle,  who  is 
the  wife  of  Andrew  McCaffrey,  of  Afton,  Oklahoma; 

™ Jack  E.,  of  Goldboro,  Washington;  Daniel  Horace,  of 
MS  Cleveland,  an  oil  man  connected  with  the  Prairie  Oil 
*e  and  Gas  Company;  Alta  Lee,  the  wife  of  F.  C.  Larabee, 
^.,lE  of  Los  Vegas,  New  Mexico;  Walter  W.,  of  Cleveland, 
engaged  in  oil  production;  Orville  Harrison,  who  for  six 
, 0{  years  has  been  connected  with  the  relay  office  of  the 
MlMii  Santa  Fe  Railroad,  at  Topeka,  Kansas;  Myrtle,  who  is 
(jevelai  the  wife  of  J.  O.  Martin,  of  Waxahachie,  Texas;  Lillian, 
m3, aud  who  resides  with  her  parents;  Richard,  an  oil  man  of 
u in reg  Cleveland;  and  Goldie,  who  resides  at  home.  Mr.  and 
his  suit  Mrs.  Edmisten  have  never  lost  a child  and  have  sixteen 
ity  of  1 living  grandchildren.  Their  first  seven  children  were 
the  oil  t born  in  Missouri  and  the  rest  in  this  state,  and  all  have 
so a 11  been  well  educated  and  trained  admirably  for  the  posi- 
tions  in  life  to  which  they  have  been  called. 


Albert  D.  Brown.  Until  he  became  proprietor  and 
editor  of  the  Observer  at  McLoud  in  Pottawatomie 
County,  Albert  D.  Brown  had  been  for  a number  of 
years  identified  with  educational  work  in  Oklahoma. 
Mr.  Brown  comes  from  a family  of  educators  and  church- 
men, and  he  is  himself  an  ordained  minister  of  the 
Baptist  Church  and  has  preached  in  several  localities 
in  this  state.  His  father  before  him  was  a minister  and 
also  his  grandfather. 

In  August,  1915,  Mr.  Brown  came  to  McLoud  and 
bought  the  Observer  from  B.  McGlathey.  The  Observer 
was  established  in  1902  as  a democratic  paper  and  is 
now  independent  in  politics.  The  plant  is  well  equipped 
and  the  office  is  situated  on  the  main  street  of  the 
village.  It  is  a paper  with  much  influence  and  has 
a circulation  over  Pottawatomie  County  and  Oklahoma* 
County  and  also  goes  in  considerable  numbers  outside 
the  state. 

Albert  D.  Brown  was  born  in  Henry  County,  Mis- 
souri, August  23,  1877.  The  Brown  family  came  from 
- Scotland  originally,  and  were  pioneers  in  Kentucky.  The 
grandfather  was  a minister  of  the  Presbyterian  Church 
in  Kentucky  and  moved  from  that  state  about  1837,  to 
Missouri  where  he  was  one  of  the  early  settlers  in  Henry 
County.  Elder  Peter  Brown,  father  of  Albert  D.,  was 
born  in  Washington  County,  Kentucky,  in  1825,  and  was 
thirteen  years  of  age  when  the  family  moved  to  Missouri, 
where  he  grew  to  manhood.  He  was  largely  self  educated, 
and  in  younger  years  practiced  medicine  for  a time.  At 
the  age  of  twenty-one  he  began  active  work  as  a 
Baptist  preacher,  and  in  spite  of  the  early  handicaps 
in  the  way  of  an  education  he  was  for  a number  of  years 
considered  the  best  Greek  Bible-scholar  in  the  state. 
His  life  work  as  a Baptist  minister  was  confined  to 
Missouri,  though  his  influence  and  activities  were  in 
various  other  spheres  as  well.  As  a democrat  he  was 
once  nominated  for  the  State  Legislature.  During  the 
Civil  war  he  was  on  the  Confederate  side  as  a soldier. 
He  was  a member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity.  Elder 
Peter  Brown  married  Elizabeth  Shanks  who  was  born 
in  Pettis  County,  Missouri,  in  1835.  She  now  lives  at 
Hatfield,  Arkansas.  Elder  Peter  Brown  died  a few 
years  ago  in  the  Baptist  Sanitarium  at  St.  Louis.  Their 
children  were:  Catherine,  wife  of  Ellis  Tuttle,  a brick 

manufacturer  in  Butler,  Missouri ; Peter,  who  is  an 
architect  at  Hatfield,  Arkansas;  George,  a farmer  in 
Roger  Mills  County,  Oklahoma;  Benjamin  Franklin,  a 
farmer  at  Hatfield,  Arkansas ; Lucy,  wife  of  U.  G. 
Roberts,  a farmer  in  Wyandotte,  Oklahoma;  Stephen,  a 
farmer  and  stock  raiser  in  Missouri;  and  Albert  D. 

The  youngest  in  this  large  family,  Albert  D.  Brown 
was  eight  years  of  age  when  his  parents  moved  in  1885 
to  St.  Clair  County,  Missouri.  He  attended  the  public 
school  there,  and  afterwards  attended  the  Wiliam  Jewell 
College  at  Liberty,  Missouri,  where  he  took  two  years 
of  academic  work  and  two  years  in  the  regular  colle- 
giate department.  He  finished  the  Sophomore  course  in 
1906.  While  in  college  he  was  a member  of  the  Philo- 
mathic  Literary  Society,  and  took  first  prize  in  com- 
petition for  an  essay  and  tied  for  honor  in  oratory.  He 
also  won  several  honors  in  prose  and  poetry  contests. 

On  leaving  college  Mr.  Brown  came  into  Oklahoma  in 
1906  and  began  teaching  school  in  Roger  Mills  County. 
He  was  principal  of  schools  in  that  county  until  1914  and 
then  for  a year  taught  at  Harrah  in  this  state.  As  an 
ordained  minister  of  the  Baptist  Church  Mr.  Brown' also 
filled  pulpits  in  several  parishes  in  Roger  Mills  County 
and  elsewhere,  but  several  years  ago  lost  his  voice  and 
had  to  retire  from  the  ministry.  In  polities  he  is  a 
democrat,  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Woodmen  of  the  World. 


2114 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


In  1909  in  Navarro  County,  Texas,  he  married  Miss 
Minnie  Meredith.  Her  father  was  the  late  Doctor  Mere- 
dith, a physician  and  surgeon  at  Navarro  County.  Two 
children  were  born  to  this  union.  Mattie  Ellen,  born 
October  14,  1911,  and  Byron  Addison,  born  April  30, 
1914. 

Mr.  Brown  has  gained  no  little  distinction  as  a writer 
of  poetry.  He  rarely  edits  an  edition  of  his  paper  with- 
out featuring  some  poetry  of  his  own  composition.  He 
possesses  a rare  knowledge  of  rhythm  and  verse  and  his 
poetry  is  as  scholarly  and  correct  in  technic  as  it  is 
elevated  in  sentiment  and  feeling.  As  an  example  of  his 
style  and  diction  there  is  quoted  herewith  a poem  which 
he  dedicated  to  his  mother  and  which  Mr.  Brown  him- 
self considers  his  best  composition. 

TO  MY  MOTHER 
(By  A.  D.  Brown) 

The  world’s  at  the  morning  in  sweet  mother’s  love 
Like  sweet  roses  sparkle  with  dew  from  above 
My  mother  directs  me  and  watches  my  way 
And  keeps  me  from  evil  wherever  I stray. 

Ofttimes  I remember  when  temptations  arise 
The  precepts  which  mother  brought  down  from  the  skies. 
And  when  in  my  strength  all  my  vows  I fulfill 
My  sweet  mother,  smiling,  approves  of  me  still. 

I see  her  dear  face  wheresoever  I roam. 

It  strengthens  the  ties  and  affections  of  home. 

Purest,  sweet  mother ! A shrine  I will  make 
And  worship  thine  image,  and  never  forsake 
Thy  faithful  instruction.  Thy  tears  I will  heed, 

Regard  all  thy  prayers,  for  when  I’m  in  need 
Of  strong  resolution,  and  determined  will, 

I need  to  remember  what  thou  didst  instill. 

I can’t  compensate  thee  for  what  thou  hast  done, 

But  please  take  this  tribute  from  thy  grateful  son. 

For  what  thou  hast  suffered,  what  thou  underwent 
For  thy  watching  o’er  me,  the  wakeful  nights  spent, 
The  pains  and  the  pangs  and  the  griefs  that  thou  bore 
I don’t  understand,  but  I reverence  the  more. 

Thou  gavest  thy  strength  and  thy  blood  and  thy  bone. 
Thou  gavest  thy  life  for  me,  thou,  thou  alone. 

Tliou’st  done  this  and  more  for  me,  Mother,  and  now 
A halo  of  glory  I place  on  thy  brow. 

The  times  that  I worried  thee,  disobeyed  thee, 

For  when  I was  truant  thou  tried  to  save  me 
When  I was  ungrateful  and  cruel  and  bad 
And  mean  and  deceitful,  it  makes  my  heart  sad 
To  think  for  thy  goodness,.  I rendered  thee  woe. 

For  when  I went  places  thou  begged  me  not  go, 

I lied  to  thee  sometimes  regarding  my  ways. 

Forgive  me  sweet  Mother,  accept  of  my  praise. 

For  all  thy  instruction,  thy  good  moral  laws 
Thy  discipline  sweet,  and  thy  life  without  flaws, 

Thy  love  and  compassion,  thy  pity  in  shame, 

Sometimes  thou  approved  me  when  I was  to  blame. 

I cannot  undo  what’s  been  done  to  my  shame 
I always  shall  love  thee  and  honor  thy  name. 

Thy  life  and  thy  love,  like  a book,  has  been  read, 

And  shall  be  remembered  long  after  thou’rt  dead 
I know  of  thy  purity,  piety,  truth, 

Thou  art  my  sweet  angel,  my  guardian  in  youth, 

My  ideal  in  manhood,  my  idol  in  age, 

My  most  sober  worship,  my  best  thoughts  engage. 

And  when  thou  art  glorified,  raised  upon  high, 

I know  I shall  see  thee,  for  souls  cannot  die, 

The  Christ  that  thou  lovest  will  also  love  me 
Forgive  all  my  failings  and  take  me  to  thee. 


George  Brentnall.  Among  the  men  who  have  as- 
sisted in  the  agricultural  and  commercial  development  of 
Pawnee  County  during  the  past  two  decades,  one  who 
is  well  and  widely  known  is  George  Brentnall,  of  Cleve- 
land, the  owner  of  a seventy-eight-acre  farm  in  the 
county,  who  during  the  past  seven  years  has  also  car- 
ried on  a hardware  and  furniture  business  in  the  city. 
He  was  born  at  Pomeroy,  Meigs  County,  Ohio,  December 
12,  1861,  and  is  a son  of  George  and  Elizabeth  (Ed- 
wards) Brentnall,  the  former  a native  of  England  and 
the  latter  of  Wales. 

In  his  native  land  the  father  of  Mr.  Brentnall  was 
employed  as  a laborer  in  the  coal  mines,  and  on  emi- 
grating to  the  United  States,  in  his  youth,  found  em- 
ployment in  the  coal  fields  of  Pittsburgh,  Pennsylvania. 
He  was  married  in  England  and  after  the  birth  of  one 
child  they  came  to  America.  In  1848  he  removed  to 
Kittanning,  Pennsylvania,  where  he  spent  one  year.  He 
next  moved  to  Meigs  County,  Ohio,  locating  at  Pomeroy, 
and  while  there,  during  the  Civil  war,  was  one  of  the 
men  who  turned  the  Southern  raider  Morgan,  although 
Mr.  Brentnall  was  at  that  time  too  old  for  active  service 
at  the  front.  In  April,  1866,  he  moved  with  his  family 
to  Macon  County,  Missouri,  where  he  invested  his  life’s 
savings  in  a farm,  and  continued  to  pass  the  remaining 
years  of  his  life  there,  dying  December  25,  1880.  Mrs. 
Brentnall  passed  away  in  March,  1894,  the  mother  of 
seven  children,  namely:  Samuel,  of  Topeka,  Kansas; 

Robert,  of  Ness  City,  Kansas;  Margaret  Ellen  Daven- 
port, who  died  in  Missouri,  in  1898;  Susan,  the  wife  of 


the  wife  of  Wesley  Cher'ington  and  resides  near  the  old 
home,  in  Jackson  County,  Ohio;  George;  and  Elizabeth, 
who  is  the  wife  of  A1  Robinette,  of  Mountain  Grove, 
Missouri. 

George  Brentnall  was  reared  on  the  home  farm  and 
received  his  education  in  the  public  schools.  He  re- 
mained under  the  parental  roof  until  reaching  the  age  of 
twenty-seven  years,  or  until  the  time  of  his  marriage, 
having  taken  care  of  his  aged  mother  after  his  father’s 
death.  On  December  2,  1887,  he  was  married  to  Miss 
Zora  Bodenhammer,  a native  of  Iowa,  and  in  1888  they 
took  a trip  to  Australia  to  join  Mr.  Brentnall ’s  uncle, 
Samuel  Brentnall,  a cattleman  there.  Mrs.  Brentnall 
died  in  that  country  in  1890,  leaving  one  child,  Grace, 
who  is  now  the  wife  of  Lucius  Peck,  of  Vinita,  Oklahoma. 
Mr.  Brentnall  was  in  Australia  at  the  time  of  his  uncle’s 
death  in  1893,  when  he  returned  to  Missouri,  but  in  the 
following  year  came  to  Pawnee  County,  Oklahoma,  taking 
up  a homestead  nine  miles  southeast  of  Cleveland.  This 
he  improved  and  cultivated  until  his  children  grew  old 
enough  to  need  better  educational  advantages  than  the 
country  afforded,  when  he  changed  his  residence  to 
Cleveland.  He  still  owns  seventy-eight  acres  of  good 
land,  improved  with  large  and  substantial  buildings,  ad- 
joining Cleveland,  and  there  carries  on  operations  on  an 
extensive  scale,  being  engaged  in  both  general  farming 
and  in  the  raising  of  stock  and  meeting  with  success  in 
both  departments.  On  his  homestead  nine  miles  southeast 


loved 


of  Cleveland  are  located  nine  producing  oil  wells,  which  ! . j p 
contribute  materially  to  his  income.  Mr.  Brentnall  j ' 


bears  an  excellent  reputation  in  commercial  circles,  and  II ' 11 


as  a citizen  has  gained  and  maintained  a position  of 
standing.  He  is  a republican,  but  while  he  takes  an 
interest  in  the  success  of  his  party  is  not  what  is  gen- 
erally known  as  a politician.  With  his  family,  he  be- 
longs to  the  Christian  Church. 

Mr.  Brentnall  was  married  the  second  time,  October  18, 
1896,  to  Miss  Ida  Sharp,  of  Kansas,  born  September  21, 
1874,  and  they  are  the  parents  of  five  chidren,  all  residing 
at  home:  Mabel,  Blanche,  Opal,  Robert  and  Gerald. 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


2115 


O.  B.  Kizer.  The  life  of  O.  B.  Kizer,  a well  known 
resident  of  Jennings,  is  an  illustration  of  the  possible 
control  over  early  limitations  and  of  the  wise  utilization 
of  ordinary  opportunities.  His  career  has  been  identified 
with  Oklahoma  since  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip, 
in  1893,  and  the  substantial  property  which  allows  him 
to  live  in  comfortable  retirement  at  Jennings  has  been 
accumulated  through  wise  investment  in  farming  land 
and  other  real  estate  and  careful  management  of  his 
large  interests. 

Born  November  28,  1858,  in  Edgar  County,  Illinois, 
Mr.  Kizer  is  a son  of  Sebastian  and  Mary  Elizabeth 
(Aye)  Kizer.  His  father,  a native  of  Pennsylvania, 
ventured  into  Illinois  as  a young  man  and  was  there 
married  and  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits  for  some 
years,  but  in  1864  again  turned  his  face  to  the  West 
and  journeyed  to  Kansas,  where  he  also  followed  farm- 
ing and  stock  raising.  In  his  later  life,  after  spending 
a few  years  in  Colorado,  he  came  to  Jennings,  Oklahoma, 
and  here  died  at  the  home  of  his  son,  O.  B.,  in  1906, 
when  eighty-four  years  of  age.  He  was  a hard  and 
industrious  worker  and  was  content  to  pass  his  life  in 
the  peaceful  pursuits  of  the  soil,  not  caring  for  public 
office  or  the  doubtful  honors  of  political  life.  By  his 
first  wife  he  had  two  children,  and  after  her  death  he 
was  married  to  Mary  Elizabeth  Aye,  who  was  born  in 
Illinois  and  whose  death  occurred  in  Kansas  in  1874. 
They  were  the  parents  of  seven  children,  while  by  a 
third  marriage  Mr.  Kizer  became  the  father  of  three 
children. 

. O.  B.  Kizer  was  first  sent  to  the  -district  schools  of 
0jj  -Edgar  County,  Illinois,  but  when  eight  years  of  age 
,ii  accompanied  his  parents  to  Kansas  and  there  his  edu- 
cation  was  completed.  He  remained  at  home  until 
1 twenty-four  years  of  age,  dividing  his  time  between 
. assisting  his  father  and  working  out  among  the  neigh- 
“ boring  farmers,  but  at  the  time  of  his  marriage,  in  1883, 
! K decided  to  embark  upon  a career  of  his  own.  For  two 
P years  he  resided  at  Chautauqua  Springs,  Kansas,  where 
‘5?'  he  was  variously  employed,  and  at  the  end  of  that  time 
came  to  the  Osage  Nation.  He  had  resided  here  for  five 
““  years  when  the  announcement  was  made  of  the  proposed 
opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  and  Mr.  Kizer  went  to 
Arkansas  City,  Kansas,  from  whence  he  made  the  run, 
““  September  16,  1893.  He  was  unsuccessful,  however,  in 
JtaK  obtaining  a homestead  and  settled  instead  at  Jennings, 
1®  where  for  twelve  years  he  was  commercially  occupied. 
* Business  conditions  there  at  the  end  of  that  time  caused 
“>!1  him  to  leave  the  city  and  move  to  a leased  property  in 
®jjj  Creek  County,  on  which  he  was  engaged  in  farming  for  a 
™ period  of  eight  years,  and  then  rented  his  land  and 
® moved  to  Jennings,  where  he  has  continued  to  live  in 
1,1  ^ retirement  to  the  present  time.  He  has  160  acres  in  the 
fe ' tract  mentioned,  as  well  as  another  tract  of  like  size 
i 8®  one-half  mile  south  and  one-half  mile  west  of  Jennings. 
8s! J Both  places  are  oil  leased  and  are  yielding  Mr.  Kizer  a 
'M*  substantial  income.  In  addition  to  these  properties,  Mr. 
ararn  Kizer  is  the  owner  of  some  valuable  and  desirable 
®essI  Jennings  realty  and  is  engaged  in  the  real  estate  busi- 
ng ness  as  an  occupation  to  keep  his  energetic  piind  satis- 
i'*1  tied.  Politically  he  is  a democrat,  but  political  life  has 
rata  never  appealed  to  him.  He  may  always  be  counted  upon 
It3'31  to  support  those  movements  which  make  for  the  welfare 
itioii  0f  community. 

ate  a Mr.  Kizer  was  married  in  1883,  while  a resident  of 

is  f Kansas,  to  Miss  Mary  Potter,  who  was  born  in  Ken- 

, i tucky,  September  15,  1861.  As  a small  child  she  was 

taken  to  Illinois,  and  in  1871,  when  ten  years  old  was 

■otal  removed  with  her  parents  to  Kansas,  where  she  was 
aiber!  reared  and  educated  and  where  she  met  and  married 
res#  Mr.  Kizer.  Eight  children  have  been  born  to  Mr.  and 
raid. 


Mrs.  Kizer,  namely:  Claude,  who  is  a resident  and 

farmer  of  Pawnee  County,  Oklahoma;  Pay,  who  lives 
in  Kansas;  Pearl,  who  is  the  wife  of  E.  D.  Pudge,  of 
Creek  County,  Oklahoma;  Bruce,  who  lives  with  his 
parents;  O.  B.,  Jr.,  also  at  home;  Glenn,  who  met  an 
accidental  death  at  the  age  of  twelve  years  when  killed 
by  a horse;  and  Irene  and  Hazel,  who  reside  at  home 
and  are  attending  school. 

George  H.  Schroeder.  As  history  is  reckoned  in 
Oklahoma  thirty  years  includes  the  extremes  of  frontier 
life  and  twentieth  century  existence.  The  lure  of  land 
to  be  obtained  for  a mere  pittance  brought  men  from 
all  over  the  country  in  search  of  homes  where  they 
might  make  themselves  independent,  but  it  was  only 
the  courageous  who  came,  and  to  know  a pioneer  of  the 
’80s  is  to  know  a man  possessed  of  virile  and  -purposeful 
traits  of  character.  Such  a man  is  George  H.  Schroeder, 
who  came  to  Indian  Territory  in  1885,  and  who  is  now 
living  in  comfortable  retirement  at  Jennings.  He  is  not 
only  the  possessor  of  a large  property,  gained  through 
his  own  efforts  and  industry,  but  has  also  the  confidence 
of  his  fellow-citizens,  as  witnessed  by  the  fact  that  he 
is  now  serving  his  second  term  in  the  office  of  county 
commissioner  of  Pawnee  County. 

Mr.  Schroeder  was  born  on  a farm  in  Jersey  County, 
Illinois,  February  16,  1855,  and  is  a son  of  Joseph  B. 
and  Priscilla  C.  (Patterson)  Schroeder.  His  father,  a 
direct  descendant  of  Jane  Brown,  who  came  to  America 
on  the  Mayflower,  was  born  at  Portsmouth,  New  Hamp- 
shire, and  was  reared  in  the  City  of  Philadelphia,  Penn- 
sylvania, where  he  learned  the  trade  of  wagon  maker 
and  carriage  trimmer.  In  1844  he  migrated  to  the 
prairies  of  Illinois,  settling  on  a farm  in  Jersey  County* 
where  he  passed  the  remaining  years  of  his  life  in  agri- 
cultural pursuits  and  died  in  1892.  He  married  a Jer- 
sey County  girl,  Priscilla  C.  Patterson,  who  passed  her 
life  there  and  died  in  1875.  They  were  the  parents  of 
four  children:  Nellie  S.,  who  married  L.  L.  Hereford, 

and  is  now  deceased;  Gersham  F.,  a resident  of  Ponca 
City,  Oklahoma;  George  H. ; and  Mary  Kate,  who  is  the 
wife  of  George  Miller,  of  Yinita,  Oklahoma. 

George  H.  Schroeder  was  reared  in  Jersey  County, 
where  he  received  the  advantages  of  a district  school 
education.  On  attaining  his  majority  he  moved  to  a 
farm  of  his  own  in  the  same  county  and  resided  there 
until  July,  1881,  when  he  moved  to  Vernon,  Missouri, 
and  established  himself  in  the  grocery  business.  This 
enterprise  occupied  his  attention  and  activities  until 
1885,  when  he  moved  to  Bartlesville,  Indian  Territory, 
and  in  April,  1893,  went  to  Guthrie,  where  he  awaited 
the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  September  16th, 
At  that  time  he  succeeded  in  securing  a homestead  west 
of  Ponca  City,  Kay  County,  and  there  carried  on  opera- 
tions until  May,  1902,  when  he  came  to  Pawnee  County. 
In  1812,  when  his  wife  died,  Mr.  Schroeder  moved  to 
Jennings,  and  here  he  has  just  completed  a handsome 
modern  home.  Mr.  Schroeder  is  still  the  owner  of  two 
farms,  each  comprising  a quarter  of  a section,  one  located 
1%  miles  south  of  Jennings,  and  the  other  five  miles 
northwest  of  this  place,  on  Ranch  Creek,  and  all  of  this 
land,  with  the  exception  of  forty  acres,  is  under  oil  lease. 
He  carried  on  general  farming  during  his  residence  in 
Oklahoma,  and  also  was  interested  extensively  in  the 
raising  of  thoroughbred  horses,  cattle  and  hogs,  and  in 
all  of  his  ventures  gained  a full  measure  of  success  by 
his  strict  adherence  to  honorable  business  methods  and 
his  close  application  to  his  work.  His  entire  life  has 
been  passed  in  agricultural  and  stock  raising  pursuits, 
with  the  exception  of  three  years  in  the  grocery  business 
at  Vernon,  Missouri,  and  nine  years  in  the  monument 


2116 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


and  tombstone  business  at  Bartlesville.  He  has  always 
been  a supporter  of  public-spirited  movements  for  the 
public  welfare  and  bears  an  excellent  reputation  as  a 
citizen.  A democrat  in  politics,  Mr.  Sehroeder  has  sup- 
ported his  party  faithfully,  but  never  held  public  office 
until  1912,  when  he  was  elected  a county  commissioner  of 
Pawnee  County,  a position  in  which  he  served  so  capably 
and  faithfully  that  he  was  reelected  in  1914.  Since  his 
twenty-first  year  he  has  been  a member  of  the  A.  H.  T.  A. 

On  March  30,  1880,  Mr.  Sehroeder  was  united  in 
marriage  with  Miss  Ida  J.  Brown,  who  was  born  in 
Jersey  County,  Illinois,  within  a mile  of  her  husband’s 
birthplace,  July  24,  1862.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Sehroeder  grew 
up  together,  and  during  the  long  years  of  their  married 
life  she  proved  him  a willing,  devoted  and  faithful  help- 
meet. Her  death,  which  occurred  October  2,  1912,  was 
not  only  a?  shock  to  her  immediate  family  and  friends, 
but  to  a wide  circle  of  acquaintances  who  had  come  to. 
know  and  appreciate  her  many  lovable  traits  of  mind 
and  heart.  She  was  also  a descendant  of  one  of  the 
passengers  of  the  little  ship  Mayflower.  Five  children 
were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Sehroeder,  namely:  Neddie, 

who  died  at  the  age  of  five  years  at  Bartlesville;  Nellie 
Pay,  who  is  the  wife  of  Hurley  McDaniel  of  Jennings, 
and  the  mother  of  one  child,  Wanda  Rose;  Ethel  C.,  who 
is  the  wife  of  L.  C.  Harper,  of  Tulsa;  Pern,  a son,  who 
died  in  infancy;  and  Joseph  Brown,  named  for  his 
grandfather  and  great-grandfather,  who  resides  with  his 
father. 

Charley  Melchor  Foil..  The  postmaster  of  the 
thriving:  and  prosperous  little  City  of  Jennings,  Charley 
Melchor  Foil,  has  been  a resident  of  this  place  for 
fifteen  years,  during  which  period  he  has  been  connected 
with  several  commercial  houses  and  has  won  the  con- 
fidence of  his  fellow-citizens  by  a strict  adherence  to 
high  ideals  of  citizenship.  In  his  official  capacity  he  is 
proving  one  of  the  most  efficient  and  popular  post- 
masters Jennings  has  known,  and  through  his  earnest 
and  conscientious  efforts  is  doing  much  to  improve  the 
service. 

Mr.  Foil  comes  of  Holland  Dutch  ancestry,  and  was 
born  at  Mount  Pleasant,  Cabarrus  County,  North  Caro- 
lina, Julv  17.  1871,  a son  of  Alexander  and  Amelia 
Louise  (Meleher)  Foil,  natives  of  that  state  where  the 
father  was  born  in  1834  and  the  mother  in  1835.  Alex- 
ander Foil  was  a merchant  at  Concord,  North  Carolina, 
where  the  family  moved  after  the  birth  of  Charley  M., 
and  was  also  a well  known  and  influential  factor  in  public 
and  political  life,  serving  as  county  commissioner  and 
sheriff  of  Cabarrus  County  and  being  sent  to  the  State 
Legislature.  He  was  a democrat  and  stood  high  in  the 
councils  of  his  party.  During  the  Civil  war  he  saw 
service  as  a soldier,  being  stationed  at  Fort  Fisher.  Mr. 
.Foil  died  at  Concord  in  1890,  the  mother  surviving  him 
two  years.  They  were  the  parents  of  three  children: 
Lizzie,  who  is  the  wife  of  W.  S.  Bingham,  of  Concord, 
North  Carolina;  Thomas  Alexander,  a resident  of  Salis- 
bury, North  Carolina;  and  Charley  Melchor. 

Charley  M.  Foil  was  reared  at  Concord,  where  he  at- 
tended the  public  schools,  but  felt  that  there  was  a 
better  future  awaiting  him  in  the  West,  and  at  the 
age  of  nineteen  years,  in  1890,  migrated  to  Kansas, 
where  he  spent  six  months.  He  then  came  to  Indian 
Territory  and  secured  work  as  a farm  hand,  and  in 
February,  1893,  moved  to  a farm  south  of  Jennings, 
which  he  worked  on  a lease.  On  first  coming  to  Jen- 
nings, in  1900,  he  became  bookkeeper  for  the  firm  of 
Todd  & Bishop,  general  merchants,  and  continued  to  be 
connected  with  that  concern  for  a period  of  ten  years, 
then  entering  the  employ  of  the  Treese  Cotton  Company 


in  the  same  capacity.  Subsequently  he  was  placed  in 
charge  of  their  cotton  gin  here,  which  he  has  continued 
to  manage.  In  August,  1914,  after  a civil  service  ex- 
amination, Mr.  Foil  was  appointed  postmaster  at  Jen- 
nings, which  is  a first  class  office.  He  is  alert,  ener- 
getic and  capable  in  the  discharge  of  his  duties,  and 
his  courtesy  and  geniality  have  made  him  decidedly  pop- 
ular with  the  public.  Mr.  Foil  is  a democrat  in  politics 
and  a dependable  party  worker.  He  is  prominent  fra- 
ternally, being  a member  of  the  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  the 
Knights  of  the  Maccabees  and  the  Masons,  and  in  the 
last-named  order  has  reached  the  thirty-second  degree, 
belonging  to  the  Blue  Lodge  at  Jennings,  the  Chapter  at 
Pawnee,  and  the  Consistory  at  Guthrie.  He  belongs  like- 
wise to  the  Encampment  of  Odd  Fellows  at  Yale. 

Mr.  Foil  was  married  August  8,  1893,  to  Miss  Emma 
Pearl  Whitehead,  a native  of  Kansas,  and  daughter  of 
Edmund  and  Malinda  J.  Whitehead.  Her  father  is  de- 
ceased, while  her  mother  still  survives  and  is  a resident 
of  Jennings.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Foil  have  no  children. 

Clyde  H.  Morris-  During  a period  of  five  years 
Clyde  H.  Morris  has  become  well  and  favorably  known 
to  the  people  of  Mooreland,  Oklahoma,  through  his  coh- 
neetion  with  the  postoffiee.  Formerly  postmaster  and 
now  assistant,  his  capable  and  energetic  handling  of  the 
mails  and  the  courteous  manner  in  which  he  transacts 
business  with  those  with  whom  he  comes  into  contact 
have  made  him  one  of  the  most  popular  public  officials 
of  this  part  of  Woodward . County.  Mr.  Morris  is  a 
type  of  the  class  of  which  the  West  is  proud,  the  type  ■ 
that  came  here  without  means  and  here  worked  out  a 
success.  He  is  an  Indianan  by  nativity,  having  been 
born  at  Mace,  Montgomery  County,  April  18,  1874,  a 
son  of  John  A.  and  Mary  S.  (Hale)  Morris,  both 
Hoosiers  by  birth. 

John  A.  Morris  was  born  at  Mace,  Indiana,  in  1830, 
and  has  never  left  the  state.  In  his  early  life  he  was 
engaged  in  mercantile  pursuits  for  some  years,  but  sub- 
sequently turned  his  attention  to  farming,  and  through 
a life  of  industry  and  well-directed  effort  has  won  a 
competence,  so  that  he  is  now  living  in  comfortable  retire- 
ment. In  1873  he  was  united  in  marriage  with  Miss 
Mary  S.  Hale,  who  was  born  in  1852,  in  Indiana,  a 
daughter  of  Nathan  and  Mary  (Noftzger)  Hale.  She 
was  a woman  of  many  virtues  and  Christian  character, 
who  lived  her  Christianity  every  day.  She  died  in  1882, 
at  the  early  age  of  thirty  years,  having  been  the  mother 
of  only  one  child,  Clyde  H.,  of  this  review. 

Clyde  H.  Morris  was  born  in  a village,  but  when  his 
mother  died  he  was  sent  to  live  with  an  uncle,  Tillman 
Hale,  who  was  the  owner  of  a large  Indiana  farm. 
There  the  lad  worked  from  his  eighth  to  his  sixteenth 
year,  receiving  his  education  in  the  district  school  as  well 
as  the  schools  of  hard  work  and  experience,  and  when 
he  reached  the  latter  age  he  left  Indiana  for  the  West. 
On  his  arrival  at  his  destination,  in  Franklin  County, 
Kansas,  he  began  working  on  a farm,  and  his  subsequent 
labors  carried  him  to  various  parts  of  that  state.  In 
1898  he  came  to  Oklahoma  and  settled  on  government 
land,  two  miles  east  of  the  present  side  of  Mooreland, 
where  he  proved  up  after  five  years  and  continued  to 
carry  on  operations  until  coming  to  the  town.  From 
the  time  of  attaining  his  majority,  he  had  be§n  an 
active  and  enthusiastic  republican,  and,  after  taking 
some  active  part  in  the  success  of  his  party  in  Wood- 
ward County,  he  was,  in  1910,  appointed  postmaster  of 
Mooreland  by  President  Taft.  He  discharged  the  duties 
of  this  office  in  a creditable  and  satisfactory  manner, 
but  with  the  change  of  the  national  administration  came 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2117 


ed 

a- ; 
er  I 
id 

Dp- 

ies 

h- 

of 

the 

the 

rat 

ike' 


una 

■of 

de- 

lent 


tar- 

f'M 

COB- 

and 

the 

tiete 

itar! 

:ial' 
i;  a 
type 
'tit  a 
teen 
1, 
hot!; 

S3U 
ra 
ta!  ■ 
''■ottri 

vtiie- 
hi!" 
BO,  a 
SI, 
a,-;. 
i«;. 
o'he 

i'ii  hi* 

i'Jaffi 
farm, 
aeentii 
e weli 
when 
W. 
mty. 

a'iset! 

v.  It 
' 

ivland 
ted  t 
Froii 

faldii: 

Food 

' 

:ati'; 
i.ormt" 
« fiW( 


a change  in  postmasters.  When  Mr.  Morris  was  suc- 
ceeded as  postmaster  by  Omer  Schnoebelen,  a democrat, 
in  1914,  he  was  retained  as  assistant  postmaster,  and 
as  such  is  in  practical  charge  of  the  postoffice  affairs. 
He  is  a member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  in  which, 
as  in  other  avenues  of  activity,  he  has  numerous  friends. 
He  is  one  of  the  men  who  may  be  accredited  with  the 
growth  and  development  of  Mooreland,  for  its  industries 
and  institutions  have  ever  received  his  unqualified  and 
unswerving  support. 

Mr.  Morris  was  married  November  3,  1905,  in  Wood- 
ward County,  Oklahoma,  to  Miss  Nellye  C.  Eenfrow,  who 
was  born  in  1883  in  Comanche  County,  Kansas,  daughter 
of  Edward  and  Amy  (Bay)  Eenfrow,  natives  of  Kansas 
and  pioneer  settlers  of  Woodward  County.  Mr.  Een- 
frow, who  throughout  his  life  was  engaged  in  agricul- 
tural pursuits,  died  in  1899,  while  his  widow  still  sur- 
vives and  makes  her  home  in  this  county.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Morris  are  the  parents  of  two  sons  and  one  daughter: 
Arthur  Newell,  born  May  20,  1907 ; Hilma  Inez,  born  in 
May,  1909:  and  Homer  Lewis,  born  May  20,  1911.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Morris  are  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church  and  have  been  active  in  its  work. 

Eobert  T.  Wray  has  had  a life  of  varied  experience 
and  accomplishment.  He  has  been  a merchant,  a manu- 
facturer, inventor  and  founder  and  builder  of  towns,  and 
his  career  has  been  closely  identified  with  Oklahoma  since 
he  came  at  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip  twenty- 
three  years  ago.  His  name  is  closely  associated  with  the 
history  of  several  thriving  towns,  and  he  is  now  in  the 
real  estate  business  and  as  a loan  and  insurance  broker 
at  Tyrone,  in  Texas  County. 

His  birth  occurred  in  a log  house  on  a farm  in  Arm- 
strong County,  Pennsylvania,  May  4,  1853.  His  parents 
were  John  M.  and  Anna  Margaret  (Townsend)  Wray, 
his  father  being  a native  Pennsylvania  of  Seotch-Irish 
stock.  He  was  a farmer  and  merchant  all  his  life  and 
died  in  Pennsylvania  in  1902.  His  wife  was  also  a native 
of  the  same  state  and  of  German  and  English  stock.  She 
died  in  1905.  Their  eight  children,  two  sons  and  si* 
daughters,  were:  Harriet  M.,  deceased;  Clara  E.;  Abi- 

gail, deceased;  Hiram  H. ; Anna  Margaret;  Eobert  T.; 
Emma,  deceased;  and  Mary  A. 

Beared  in  Armstrong  County,  with  the  advantages  of 
the  public  schools,  Eobert  T.  Wray  also  attended  the 
academy  at  Eldridge  Eidge.  He  spent  the  first  twenty- 
five  years  of  his  life  on  the  old  home  farm.  Then  came 
business  experience  in  mercantile  lines  at  Parker  City, 
Pennsylvania.  For  several  years  he  was  in  the  coal  and 
coke  business  at  Dunbar,  Pennsylvania. 

In  1884  Mr.  Wray  came  West  and  located  at  Kansas 
City,  Missouri.  There  he  began  the  manufacture  of 
composition  roofing,  a material  which  was  then  just  being 
introduced  to  popular  use.  Mr.  Wray  was  himself  the 
patentee  of  a machine  for  making  this  new  style  of  roof- 
ing and  his  original  genius  has  been  exercised  in  a num- 
ber of  other  important  devices  which  he  has  patented. 
For  eleven  years  he  lived  in  Kansas  City  engaged  in 
manufacturing  and  other  lines. 

Then  in  1893  came  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip. 
He  was  a participant,  and  locating  at  Ponca  City  he  dug 
the  first  well  on  the  townsite,  erected  a hotel,  and  was 
also  proprietor  of  one  of  the  first  stores.  He  was  active 
in  the  early  life  of  the  town,  serving  as  a member  of 
the  first  town  board. 

In  1898  he  became  one  of  the  founders  of  the  town  of 
Bliss,  where  he  opened  the  first  store  and  was  the  first 
postmaster,  an  office  he  filled  for  three  years.  In  1904 
came  another  change  of  scene  and  activity.  In  that  year 
he  homesteaded  a claim  in  Texas  County  five  miles  from 


Tyrone,  and  remained  on  the  same  five  years  in  order  to 
prove  up.  In  1915  Mr.  Wray  erected  the  first  brick  mer- 
cantile building  in  Tyrone,  and  since  then  has  been  very 
closely  identified  with  both  the  public  and  commercial 
life  of  the  little  town.  He  is  serving  as  a justice  of  the 
peace.  Mr.  Wray  belongs  to  the  Presbyterian  Church. 

On  April  20,-  1898,  Mr.  Wray  married  Miss  Ida  Beg- 
nier  who  was  born  at  Coffeyville,  Kansas.  They  are  the 
parents  of  four  children,  two  sons  and  two  daughters : 
Emma  E.,  born  January  1,  1900;  John  M.,  born  May  20, 
1902;  George  E.,  born  May  20,  1904;  and  Adaline,  born 
May  20,  1906. 

Oran  J.  Logan.  One  of  the  pioneers  in  the  south- 
western quarter  of  Oklahoma,  a resident  of  Hobart  since 
1901,  Oran  J.  Logan  is  a lawyer  by  profession  and 
acquired  his  first  political  experience  and  did  his  first 
legal  practice  in  the  State  of  Texas.  He  has  been  a 
factor  in  local  affairs  in  Kiowa  County  since  its  organ- 
ization, and  is  now  a member  of  the  State  Senate  from 
the  Sixth  Senatorial  District. 

Oran  J.  Logan  was  born  at  Morganton,  Fannin 
County,  Georgia,  March  19,  1870.  His  father,  John  Cal- 
houn Logan,  was  a Confederate  soldier,  and  a native  of 
Tennessee,  representing  one  of  the  pioneer  families  of 
that  state.  Senator  Logan,  like  many  successful  men, 
had  an  early  environment  of  comparative  poverty.  His 
parents  were  too  poor  to  send  him  to  college,  and  his 
education  while  a boy  was  acquired  in  the  common 
schools.  In  1883  his  parents  removed  to  Erath  County, 
Texas,  locating  on  a farm.  That  part  of  Texas  was  then 
almost  on  the  western  frontier,  and  Oran  J.  Logan  has 
seen  much  of  the  rough  and  active  life  of  the  old  range 
country  and  his  mind  and  character  are  impressed  with 
the  freedom  and  movement  of  the  western  prairies.  He 
worked  as  a farmer  in  Erath  County  until  1887,  and  then 
found  a position  with  the  Texas  Express  Company,  which 
operated  over  the  Santa  Fe  lines.  After  one  year  he  left 
the  railroad  and  went  to  work  on  a ranch  in  west  Texas. 
This  experience  was  gained  chiefly  in  Fisher  County,  far 
out  on  the  western  plains,  and  he  became  a typical  cow- 
boy possessing  the  vigilance  and  the  hardy  qualities  so 
often  associated  with  plainsmen,  and  acquired  some  note 
as  a “ broncho  buster.  ’ ’ For  three  years  beginning  in 
1889  Mr.  Logan  was  employed  at  Alvarado,  Texas,  by 
D.  T.  Lyon  Lumber  Company,  and  afterward  was  with 
the  Alvarado  Cotton  Company. 

In  18,94  he  was  selected  as  deputy  county  clerk  of 
Johnson  County,  serving  under  Samuel  P.  Eamsey,  of 
the  prominent  Eamsey  family  of  Texas.  While  living  at 
Cleburne,  he  was  elected  justice  of  the  peace  in ' 1896, 
and  having  in  the  meantime  taken  up  the  study  of  law 
was  admitted  to  the  Texas  bar  in  1898.  After  several 
years  in  practice  in  Texas  Mr.  Logan  was  drawn  to  Okla- 
homa by  one  of  those  several  historic  events  known  as 
‘ ‘ openings,  ’ ’ and  thus  was  on  the  ground  at  Hobart  when 
the  Kiowa  and  Comanche  Indian  Eeservation  was  opened 
to  settlement  in  1901. 

On  November  17,  1901,  Senator  Logan  married  Mar- 
garet Falkenburg,  of  Cleburne,  Texas.  They  have  one 
child,  Oran  Beulah,  now  twelve  years  of  age.  Mr.  Logan 
is  a member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  South, 
and  has  affiliations  with  the  Masonic,  the  Modern  Wood- 
men and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  lodges. 
In  his  own  career  he  has  exhibited  some  of  the  hardy 
qualities  for  which  his  ancestors  were  noted.  The  Logans 
in  the  early  days  were  merchantmen  and  traders  who 
traveled  over  the  hills  of  the  Carolinas  with  their  freight 
wagons  and  long  teams,  years  before  the  introduction  of 
railroads  and  other  modern  methods  of  transportation. 

His  first  actual  experience  in  politics  was  in  Texas  in 


2118 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


1892,  when  he  espoused  the  cause  of  James  S.  Hogg  for 
governor  during  the  famous  Hogg-Clark  campaign.  After 
coming  to  Oklahoma  he  was  the  first  chairman  of  the 
Democratic  County  Central  Committee  of  Kiowa  County, 
aftei-  the  organization  of  that  county.  In  1904  he 
acquired  his  first  legislative  experience  as  a member  of 
the  Territorial  Legislature,  representing  Kiowa  County. 
In  1910  he  was  elected  a member  of  third  State  Legis- 
lature, and  in  1914  was  elected  to  the  Senate  from 
the  Sixth  Senatorial  District,  which  includes  several 
counties  in  the  southwestern  part  of  the  state.  During 
the  extraordinary  session  of  the  third  Legislature  he  was 
chairman  of  a committee  on  eapitol  location,  and  as  a 
lesult  of  the  labors  of  that  committee  and  of  the  Legis- 
lature the  eapitol  was  removed  from  Guthrie  to  Okla- 
homa City.  Senator  Logan’s  legislative  record  also 

whicW  aUt,TShlp  °!  a law  during  the  third  session 
which  brought  an  end  to  the  apparently  much  abused 

Sena1tegM0f  f^*7  f™01'  Since  taldng  his  seat  in  the 
Senate  Mr.  Logan  has  been  chairman  of  the  committees 

on  °"iTeree-  and  labor  and  a member  of  the  committee 
on  code  revision,  revenue  and  taxation,  public  service 

ofFan?1^’  f°r1S  aDi  highwa-vs>  education,  insurance, 
1^1  Pi’  Tfdian  affairs>  and  d™gs  and  pure  foods, 
it  should  also  be  recalled  that  Senator  Logan  was  a con- 

Ee°Tn  S ^ the  n°ied  fight  in  the  Territorial  Legis- 
lature m 1905,  during  the  consideration  of  the  proposed 
fellow  servant  law.  Two  members  of  the  committee  of 
the  House  that  were  favorable  to  the  bill  were  sent  to 
thp  fOQU?iP-KaS  ™Tbcrs  of  a committee  to  investigate 
the  fnrt  fll7  °f-the  ternt?ry  takinS  buildings  at 
fort  for  an  insane  asylum.  During  their  absence 
lobbyists  against  the  bill  thought  to  kill  it.  The  ulan 
aad  h°Pe  of  ^ lobbyists  was  that  in  the  absence  of 
these  two  members  it  would  be  possible  to  muster  a 

bearJ°nf  7+hV  wagains\the  ProPositioa-  Logan,  as  a mem- 
theHouse,  who  was  favorable  to  the  bill  and 
sensed  what  was  going  on,  took  the  floor  in  debate  on 

sinV^fr  and  \eW/  14  f°r  four  hours-  At  the  conclu- 
°*  h“  sPeech  supporters  of  the  bill  had  enough 
strmigth  to  postpone  a vote  until  the  two  committee 
members  could  return  from  Fort  Supply. 

Senator  Logan’s  father,  James  Calhoun  Logan,  was 
born  m Rutherford  County,  North  Carolina,  August  Tl' 
1828,  a son  of  J J and  Mary  (Withrow)  Logan.  The 
18  of  ®cetch  origin,  and  was  established  in 
fX  nf  Q 7 generations  ago.  The  great-great-grand- 
Sjjg  tn  Seaat05  Logan,  a native  of  South  Carolina, 
adnthr0Ugh°Ut-  the  War  of  tudependence,  and  after- 
ward became  a pioneer  in  Butherford  County  of  North 
Carolina..  James  Logan,  the  great-grandfather  of  Sena- 

Stead  fnnWnVtu  nquivtly  acti7e  eareer  oa  the  old  home- 
T r t , North  Carolina  and  at  that  place  was  born 
J.  J.  Logan.  Mary  Ann  Withrow,  who  married  J.  J 
also  b°rn  in  N0rth  Carolina,  a daughter  of 
John  Withrow  whose  father,  Capt.  James  Withrow, 
won  his  title  by  service  in  the  Eevolutionary  army  and 
afterward  represented  his  home  county  in  the  State  Leg- 
islature for  thirty  successive  years.  J.  J.  Logan,  Senator 
Logan  s grandfather,  was  a farmer  and  lived  in  Bufher- 
ford  County,  North  Carolina,  until  1832.  He  then  took 
his  family  to  the  Cherokee  Nation  in  Northern  Georgia. 
Ia  4884  he  went  still  further  west,  becoming  a resident 
County,  Tennessee,  where  his  first  wife  died  in 
1840.  She  was  the  mother  of  six  children,  and  four  of 
the  sons  reached  a good  old  age.  J.  J.  Logan  married 
again  and  had  five  children.  He  died  at  the  age  of 
ninety  years  in  1893:  8 

James  C.  Logan  was  reared  on  a frontier  farm,  and 
had  very  limited  opportunities  to  gain  an  education.  He 
lived  with  his  father  until  he  was  twenty-two,  and  in 


1851  he  married  Nancy  E.  King,  whose  father  was  a 
citizen  of  Cherokee  County,  North  Carolina.  Soon  after- 
ward Mr.  and  Mrs.  Logan  left  North  Carolina  and 
started  for  California,  making  the  journey  by  way  of 
the  Isthmus  of  Panama  and  spending  eighty-eight  days 
en  route.  After  trying  the  mines  in  California  he  went 
north  to  the  Klamath  Eiver,  and  for  six  years  was  a 
miner  and  prospector  in  that  region.  He  then  returned 
to  his  native  county,  followed  farming  and  the  business 
of  tailning  until  his  removal  to  Texas.  In  1883  James 
C.  Logan  brought  his  family  out  to  Erath  County,  Texas, 
and  he  purchased  a tract  of  wild  land  at  Morgan  Mill. 
He  developed  a farm,  but  in  1889  he  sold  out  and  estab- 
lished a drug  store  at  Morgan  Mill,  and  thenceforward 
was  one  of  the  leading  merchants  and  most  influential 
citizens  of  that  locality.  His  affiliations  are  those  of  a 
democrat,  a Mason  and  member  of  the  Methodist  Epis- 
copal Church  South. 

In  the  summer  of  1862  James  C.  Logan  enlisted  in 
the  Confederate  army  as  a member  of  Company  B, 
Georgia  Cavalry,  under  Col.  John  E.  Hart.  The  com- 
mand went  to  Tennessee  and  accompanied  Kirby  Smith 
into  Kentucky  and  afterward  was  with  Bragg  at  Chicka- 
mauga,  and  with  J.  E.  Johnston  at  Atlanta  and  with 
Hood  in  Tennessee,  where  he  participated  in  the  battles 
of  Franklin  and  Nashville.  Mr.  Logan  surrendered  with 
his  company  to  General  Sherman  at  Greensboro,  North 
Carolina,  April  25,  1865,  being  then  a part  of  General 
Johnston’s  army. 

The  ten  children  of  James  C.  Logan  and  wife  were 
named  as  follows:  J.  D.,  who  became  a minister  of  the 

Methodist  Episcopal  Church;  Jennie,  who  married 
Mr.  Davidson,  who  is  now  deceased;  Josa,  wife  of  W.  S. 
Dobbs  of  Georgia;  Emma,  who  married  A.  J.  Davis; 
Della,  widow  of  J.  M.  Taylor;  Dr.  M.  H. ; Dr.  W.  H. ; 
Mark,  who  took  up  the  law  as  his  profession;  Oran  J. ; 
and  John  M.  The  mother  of  these  children  died  in  1882 
at  the  age  of  fifty-two.  She  was  survived  by  her  husband 
and  ten  children,  and  her  death  was  the  first' in  the  fam- 
ily in  a period  of  forty-five  years. 

L.  C.  Headley.  The  editor  of  the  Ponca  City  Courier, 
L.  C.  Headley  is  now  dean  of  Oklahoma  journalism  and 
has  been  identified  with  Ponca  City  since  the  famous 
rush  of  September,  1893.  He  is  a newspaper  man  of 
broad  and  varied  experience,  both  in  Kansas  and  Okla- 
homa, and  through  the  daily  and  weekly  issues  of  the 
Courier  has  a valuable  influence  throughout  Kay  County 
and  Northeastern  Oklahoma.  The  Ponca  City  Courier 
was  first  published  and  edited  by  Mr.  Hoyt  of  Lyons, 
Kansas,  and  Mr.  Headley  bought  out  the  plant  in  1901. 
He  and  his  sons  now  look  after  the  general  editorial 
and  business  management  of  the  Courier.  It  is  a repub- 
lican paper  and  has  always  stood  strong  in  support  of 
original  republican  principles.  Mr.  L.  C.  Headley  has 
been  identified  more  or  less  actively  with  newspaper  busi- 
ness for  fifty  years.  He  is  a practical  printer  of  the 
old  school  and  wields  a trenchant  pen  as  an  editor.  The 
circulation  of  the  Courier  has  reached  3,000.  The  paper  i 
advocates  every  material  improvement,  and  stands  not! 
only  for  business  progress,  but  for  a better  diffusion  i 
of  prosperity,  means  of  intelligence,  and  general  enlight- 
enment throughout  Kay  County. 

Mr.  L.  C.  Headley  was  born  at  Columbus,  Ohio,  June] 
25,  1848.  His  father,  David  Headley,  was  a memberii 
of  the  same  family  of  the  noted  historian  Headley,  author 
of  Headley’s  History  of  the  Civil  war.  Davis  Headley! 
was  born  in  New  Jersey,  and  saw  service  as  a ‘soldier! 
during  the  war  with  Mexico.  Two  of  his  sons  were! 
soldiers  in  the  Civil  war.  Edward  G.  Headley  was  ini 
the  Third  Iowa  Battery  until  his  death,  while  Alfred! 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2119 


of' 


ned  j 


a 

tail1, 
ltiall 
of  a| 
-Pis- 1 


-1  in 
r B, 

Hill!- 

dnitil 
j'ka-  j 
with 
attlesj 
with 
N’ortk 
ueral 

wersj 
of  the 
arried 

W.S. 
Dam;:| 
f.  H.; 
an  J.;| 
a 18S2- 
asband'; 
io  tarn- 


jonriel 

sman® 


Headley  was  killed  in  the  battle  of  Pea  Ridge,  Arkansas. 
Davis  Headley  married  Sally  Williams,  wlio  was  born 
in  New  Jersey,  daughter  of  William  Williams  and  of 
Welsh  ancestors.  Davis  Headley  and  wife  moved  out  to 
Mitchell  County,  Kansas,  locating  on  a homestead  near 
Beloit.  He  died  there  at  the  age  of  sixty-nine,  while 
his  wife  passed  away  in  Smith  County,  Kansas,  at  the 
age  of  eighty.  In  politics  he  was  first  a whig  and  later 
a stanch  republican,  and  the  church  affiliation  of  the 
family  is  Methodist. 

L.  C.  Headley  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and 
acquired  his  better  education  as  an  early  apprentice 
and  worker  in  a printing  shop.  He  also  took  up  a 
homestead  in  Mitchell  County,  Kansas,  near  Beloit,  and 
for  a time  was  employed  on  the  Beloit  Democrat,  when 
that  paper  was  first  established.  Later  he  went  to 
Gaylord,  Kansas,  and  was  a publisher  and  editor  there 
for  twenty-five  years.  He  next  came  to  Ponca  City, 
Oklahoma,  and  he  and  his  sons  have  since  brought  the 
Courier  to  a condition  of  splendid  prosperity. 

Mr.  Headley  was  married  at  the  age  of  twenty-three 
in  Waterloo,  Iowa,  to  Eliza  W.  Davis,  who  was  born 
and  reared  and  educated  in  Illinois,  afterwards  going  to 
Iowa  with  her  father,  Joshua  Davis,  who  was  one  of  the 
early  settlers  and  one  of  the  business  leaders  in  Water- 
loo. To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Headley  have  been  born  the 
following  childrens  Edward,  a member  of  the  firm  oi 
Headley  & Sons,  proprietors  of  the  Ponca  City  Courier; 
Henry,  who  for  three  and  a half  years  was  postmaster 
at  Ponca,  and  also  was  one  of  the  leading  members  of 
the  House  of  Representatives;  William,  another  mem- 
ber of  the  firm  of  publishers;  Bert,  who  edits  the  Smith 
.County  Pioneer  at  Smith  Center,  Kansas;  one  daughter 
is  now  deceased,  leaving  a son  Paul,  a bright  boy  of 
four  years  who  lives  at  home  with  his  grandparents  at 
Ponca;  another  daughter,  whose  home  is  in  Bucklin, 
Kansas ; and  Mildred,  a graduate  trained  nurse  at  Kansas 
City,  who  has  practiced  her  profession  in  all  the  lead- 
ing hospitals  and  in  many  of  the  towns  and  larger  cities 
of  the  Southwest.  Mr.  Headley  and  family  are  mem- 
bers of  the  Methodist  Church,  and  his  fraternal  affilia- 
tions are  with  the  Masons,  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  and 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 


d Okla-i 
of  thl 
Com 
Courier! 
Ljonffl 
in  1901, 
editorial’ 
a repot- 
-.port  of 
lley ' 
per  bnsi 
r of  the' 
:or.  The 
lie  papa 
ands  not 
diffusion 
1 enlighf 

hio,  Junf 
membef 
it,  author 
• Eeadlej 
a 'soldier 
eons  were 

l Alfrl 


D.  A.  Miller.  In  the  practice  of  medicine  and 
surgery  one  of  the  best  known  firms  in  Oklahoma  is 
Dr.  D.  A.  Miller  and  his  wife,  who  is  also  a capable 
physician.  They  located  at  Blackwell,  April  11,  1901, 
and  their  practice  is  now  one  not  circumscribed  by  terri- 
tory, but  extending  pretty  well  over  all  Northern  Okla- 
homa. Dr.  D.  A.  Miller  is  a specialist  in  diseases  of 
the  eye  and  ear.  He  is  a graduate  from  the  Hahnemann 
College  of  Medicine  with  the  class  of  1901,  and  during 
1904  was  a post-graduate  student  in  the  medical  depart- 
ment of  the  College  of  New  York,  one  of  the  oldest 
medical  schools  in  the  country.  He  also  took  special 
work  in  the  Philadelphia  Medical  and  Surgical  College, 
where  he  was  associated  with  the  well  known  surgeon, 
Doctor  Knapp.  Doctor  Miller  is  one  of  the  few  medical 
men  of  Oklahoma  who  have  been  honored  by  election  to 
;he  American  College  of  Surgeons,  an  honor  bestowed  only 
for  special  merit  in  the  field  of  surgery,  and  thus  giving 
i special  distinction  apart  from  the  possession  of  the 
isual  degree  Doctor  of  Medicine.  Doctor  Miller  and 
wife  have  a fine  suite  of  offices  in  Blackwell  and. one  of 
the  best  medical  libraries  to  be  found  in  the  state.  He 
also  has  an  office  at  Ponca  City,  where  he  has  a large 
lientage. 

Doctor  Miller  first  became  acquainted  with  Northern 
Jlclahoma  during  the  rush  for  homes  in  September,  1893. 
— rode  into  the  state  on  the  opening  day,  looking  for 


a homestead,  and  though  failing  to  secure  one,  he  spent 
a week  or  more  in  touring  about  the  country,  and  was 
so  pleased  with  the  soil,  climate  and  future  possibilities 
that  he  then  and  there  gained  a definite  direction  as  to 
his  future  home. 

Dr.  D.  A.  Miller  was  born  in  Brown  County,  Kansas, 
on  the  old  homestead  of  his  father,  a few  miles  south- 
east of  Hiawatha,  on  April  23,  1867.  The  Miller  family 
is  numbered  among  the  prominent  pioneers  in  the  settle- 
ment of  Northeastern  Kansas.  His  father  was  Charles 
Miller,  Jr.,  who  was  born  in  Germany,  and  was  brought 
to  the  United  States  when  a child.  Charles  Miller,  Sr., 
was  a pioneer  settler  in  Wisconsin,  later  in  Illinois,  and 
eventually  took  up  a homestead  in  Northeastern  Kansas, 
where  subsequently  about  2,000  acres  were  under  the 
ownership  of  this  one  family.  Charles  Miller,  Jr.,  was 
born  in  Germany  in  1838,  and  died  in  1909.  He  came 
of  a Lutheran  family.  The  wife  of  Charles  Miller  is 
still  living,  and  has  her  home  at  Blackwell.  Charles 
Miller,  Jr.,  was  a prosperous  farmer  and  stockman,  and 
in  the  early  days  did  a great  amount  of  freighting  across 
the  plains,  much  of  the  time  in  the  employ  of  the  United 
States  Government,  engaged  in  carrying  supplies  to  the 
Government  forts.  He  made  a number  of  trips  through 
the  West  to  Salt  Lake  and  Denver  and  other  points. 
In  his  business  relations  he  was  noted  for  his  honesty 
and  upright  character,  and  in  every  way  was  a man 
above  reproach.  Charles  Miller,  Jr.,  married  Sarah 
Miller,  of  the  same  name,  but  not  related.  Her  father 
was  Dan  Miller.  Charles  and  Sarah  Miller  were  the 
parents  of  five  sons  and  one  daughter. 

Dr.  D.  A.  Miller  spent  his  early  life  on  a farm,  and 
there  developed  the  physical  constitution  which  has  stood 
him  in  such  good  stead  during  the  strain  of  a profes- 
sional career.  He  attended  public  schools  and  was  also 
a pupil  of  the  Pardee  Institute  under  Professor  Reid, 
the  famous  educator,  whose  daughter  he  subsequently 
married.  For  eight  years#  Doctor  Miller  was  a teacher, 
and  five  years  of  this  time  had  charge  of  the  school  in 
his  home  district  in  Brown  County.  Doctor  Miller ’s 
father  had  two  brothers  who  were  soldiers  during  the 
Civil  war.  One  of  them  was  William  Miller,  in  the  Con- 
federate army,  while  Fred  Miller  was  on  the  opposite 
side  of  the  conflict.  Doctor  Miller  has  an  interesting 
ancestor  on  his  maternal  side,  a young  woman  of  sixteen 
who  risked  her  life  to  carry  dispatches  to  one  of  the 
American  leaders  during  the  Revolutionary  war. 

Doctor  Miller  was  married  January  1,  1902,  at  Eureka, 
Kansas,  to  Miss  Ethel  Reid.  Mrs.  Miller  is  one  of 
the  best  known  women  physicians  in  Northern  Okla- 
homa, and  comes  of  a family  noted  for  its  attainments 
in  intellectual  and  professional  life.  Her  father  was 
Prof.  John  M.  Reid,  A.  M.  and  M.  D.,  of  Eureka,  Kansas. 
An  interesting  fact  about  the  marriage  of  Doctor  Miller 
is  that  the  minister  who  performed  the  ceremony  was 
Rev.  C.  E.  Hastings,  of  Effingham,  Kansas,  a son-in- 
law  of  Rev.  Pardee  Butler,  the  famous  abolitionist  and 
early  pioneer  of  Kansas,  who  was  associated  with  John 
Brown  in  the  memorable  contest  during  the  free  state 
movement  following  the  Kansas-Nebraska  Bill  of  1854. 
John  M.  Reid  was  born  in  Kenton,  Ohio,  November  4, 
1847,  and  grew  up  in  Columbiana  County  of  that  state. 
His  father,  Isaiah  Reid,  was  born  July  20,  1820,  a son 
of  Manly  Reid,  who  served  as  a soldier  in  the  War 
of  1812,  and  was  in  turn  a son  of  Capt.  John  Reid,  a 
minute-man  of  the  Revolution.  The  Reids  were  one  of 
the  best  families  of  Ohio,  where  they  were  settled  in 
the  early  days.  The  mother  of  Prof.  John  M.  Reid 
was  Eliza  Houser,  a daughter  of  John  H.  and  Barbara 
Houser,  who  had  settled  in  Hardin  County,  Ohio,  as 
early  as  1828.  Professor  Reid  was  educated  in  Ohio, 


2120 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


iind  began  teaching  school  at  the  age  of  seventeen. 
He  had  a long  and  varied  experience  as  an  educator, 
and  in  1876  took  charge  of  the  Pardee  Seminary  in 
Kansas.  Practically  his  entire  life  was  given  to  the 
training  of  young  men  and  women.  He  was  honored 
by  the  attainments  of  his  pupils,  all  of  whom  regarded 
him  with  special  affection  and  credited  his  influence 
as  being  one  of  the  most  powerful  factors  in  their 
lives.  Many  men  successful  in  the  professions  might 
be  mentioned,  several  of  them  prominent  in  Oklahoma, 
who  were  at  one  time  students  under  Professor  Eeid. 
Professor  Eeid  was  also  a graduate  physician,  from  the 
Hahnemann  College,  and  several  others  of  the  family 
were  likewise  physicians,  including  Mrs.  Miller.  Her 
brother  is  Dr.  John  L.  Eeid,  a successful  physician  at 
Portales,  New  Mexico.  Mrs.  Miller  began  the  study 
of  medicine  under  the  direction  of  her  father  when  she 
was  only  sixteen  years  of  age.  She  graduated  from  the 
Kansas  City  Homeopathic  College  with  the  degree  M.  D. 
on  March  28,  1901,  and  previously  her  classical  studies 
had  brought  her  the  degree  A.  B. 

Doctor  Miller  and  wife  are  .prominent  in  the  Christian 
Church.  He  is  superintendent  of  the  Bible  school  class, 
and  both  have  devoted  their  time  so  far  as  professional 
engagements  would  allow  to  the  cause  of  church  and 
practical  charity.  Doctor  Miller  has  risen  high  in  the 
Masonic  order,  belongs  to  the  Lodge,  Chapter  and  Knight 
Templar  Commandery  at  Blackwell,  has  served  hs 
eminent  commander  of  the  Knights  Templar  and  als« 
belongs  to-  the  Tulsa  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He 
and  his  wife  have  had  much  of  the  examination  work 
in  connection  with  several  fraternal  orders. 

J.  C.  Cox,  D.  V.  S.  Am  important  service  has  been 
rendered  by  Doctor  Cox  to  the  farming  and  stock  raising 
community  around  Tonkawa  in  the  capacity  of  veterinary 
surgeon  and  as  proprietor  of  the  Cox  Veterinary  Hos- 
pital at  Tonkawa.  Doctor  Cox  located  in  Tonkawa  in 
1913  in  the  month  of  May.  ' He  brought  with  him  a 
thorough  skill  as  a practitioner,  and  that  ability  quickly 
brought  him  a reputation  and  practice,  and  he  has  done 
much  to  extend  it  through  his  frank  and  genial  manner, 
his  undoubted  qualifications,  and  his  readiness  to  work 
alongside  and  shoulder  to  shoulder  with  other  citizens 
in  promoting  the  local  welfare. 

He  is  a graduate  of  one  of  the  best  veterinary  schools 
in  the  Southwest,  the  Kansas  City  Veterinary  College, 
and  in  the  class  of  1912  with  which  he  graduated  stood 
among  the  first  in  the  class.  Doctor  Cox  is  about  thirty- 
six  years  of  age.  He  was  born  near  Carthage  in  Jasper 
County,  Missouri,  and  his  father  was  a well  known 
farmer  and  stock  raiser  there,  J.  C.  Cox,  who  is  now 
deceased.  The  father  was  born  at  Ashland,  Ohio,  and 
during  the  Civil  war  served  in  the  Second  Ohio  Cavalry, 
and  made  an  excellent  war  record.  He  died  in  Kansas 
City,  Missouri,  at  the  age  of  seventy-seven,  and  his 
wife  passed  away  in  the  same  city,  aged  seventy-five. 
Doctor  Cox  was  one  of  three  children,  and  his  two  sisters 
are  Mrs.  E.  Wait  of  Kansas  City,  and  Mrs.  Ober  of 
Haleyville,  Oklahoma. 

Like  the  other  children,  Doctor  Cox  received  a sub- 
stantial education  during  his  youth.  When  he  was 
a child  his  parents  removed  to  Champaign,  Illinois,  and 
when  he  was  six  years  of  age  they  took  up  their  home 
on  a farm  in  Wilson  County,  Kansas.  It  was  on  that 
farm  that  he  grew  up,  was  taught  the  value  of  honesty 
and  industry,  and  developed  a.  physique  that  has  fur- 
nished him  strength  for  the  varied  occupations  to  which 
he  has  turned  his  attention.  On  leaving  the  farm 
Doctor  Cox  went  to  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  and  for 
several  years  was  an  employee  in  the  Kansas  City  post- 


office,  and  for  ten  years  was  a fireman  on  the  Kansas 
City  and  Fort  Scott  Eailroad.  He  made  good  in  both 
occupations,”  was  diligent  and  faithful  to  duty,  but 
finally  turned  his  attention  to  the  study  of  veterinary 
surgery  and  now  has  a permanent  profession. 

At  Neodesha,  Kansas,  Doctor  Cox  married  Everlo 
Ditto,  who  was  born  in  Iowa,  a daughter  of  John  Ditto, 
who  also  made  a soldier’s  record  in  the  Union  army 
and  is  now  deceased.  Doctor  Cox  and  wife  have  two 
children:  Agnes  and  Curtiss. 

In  politics  Doctor  Cox  is  a republican.  He  is  a 
thirty-second  degree  Scottish  Eite  Mason.  Physically 
he  stands  six  feet  high,  has  an  excellent  physique,  a 
strong  mind,  and  is  a man  of  broad  and  progressive 
views.  He  makes  and  retains  friends,  and  bein 
thoroughly  versed  in  his  profession,  is  already  one  of 
the  successful  citizens  of  Tonkawa. 


He  si 


fcU: 


ha 


iithii 


Mi 


Inti 


Harry  Walker,  M.  D.  It  is  doubtful  if  any  one 
family  has  contributed  more  distinguished  services  to 
the  medical  profession  of  Oklahoma  than  that  of  Walker 
Dr.  Harry  Walker  of  Pawhuska  is  a son  of  the  late 
Delos  Walker,  who  from  the  opening  of  the  original 
Oklahoma  Territory  in  April,  1889,  until  his  death 
in  1910,  was  one  of  the  ablest  physicians  and  most 
public  spirited  citizens  of  Oklahoma  City.  Eepresenta 
tives  of  three  successive  generations  o-f  this  family  have 
practiced  medicine  and  surgery,  in  Oklahoma,  since  only 
a year  or  two  elapsed  after  the  death  of  Dr.  Delos  Walker 
before  his  grandson,  a son  of  Doctor  Harry,  began  his 
work  as  a surgeon  in  Pawhuska. 

Dr.  Delos  Walker,  who  deserves  a foremost  place  in 
any  record  of  Oklahoma  physicians,  was  born  October 
19,  1837.  At  that  time  his  parents,  William  and  Sally 
(Fisher)  Walker,  were  living  in  Crawford  County,  Penn- 
sylvania. William  Walker  was  a native  of  Washington 
County,  Pennsylvania,  and  William  Walker’s  father  was 
born  in  Lancaster  County,  Pennsylvania,  and  saw  service 
in  the  early  Indian  wars  under  General  St.  Clair.  In- 
1866  the  parents  of  Dr.  Delos  Walker  moved  to  Ander- 
son County,  Kansas,  where  they  located  at  a time  when- 
that  section  was  on  the  frontier. 

Eeared  on  a farm,  Delos  Walker  gained  his  educa- 
tion in  local  schools  and  at  Conneautville  Academy,  and 
in  1858  began  the  study  of  medicine  at  that  village  with 
Dr.  James  L.  Dunn.  He  had  not  yet  completed  his 
studies  when,  on  April  22,  1861,  a few  days  after  the  ^ 
firing  on  Fort  Sumter,  he  enlisted  as  orderly  sergeant  ^ j 
in  Company  B of  McLean ’s  Eegiment  at  Conneautville,1  | j 
After  his  first  term  he  was  mustered  out  in  1862,  and  ^ 
then  entered  the  medical  department  of  the  University 
of  Michigan.  Again  he  left  his  studies  and  as  cap- 
tain of  Company  B of  the  One  Hundred  and  Thirty- 
seventh  Pennsylvania  Volunteers,  was  in  the  battles  of 
South  Mountain,  Antietam,  Chaneellorsville  and  other, 
engagements  of  the  campaign  through  Maryland  anc  | 
Virginia.  He  rose  to  rank  of  major  in  his  regiment  ir  j, 
1863,  but  soon  afterward  returned  to  the  University  oi 
Michigan,  where  he  was  graduated  M.  D.  in  1864.  After 
a brief  private  practice,  he  went  back  to  Pennsylvania  ^ 
to  become  surgeon  for  the  Twentieth  Provost  District  ^ j 
At  Harrisburg  he  co-operated  with  Adjutant  Genera  [t,;r 
Eussell  and  organized  eight  companies,  which  were 
formed  as  the  One  Hundred  and  Third  Pennsylvania 
Infantry,  with  which  he  served  as  lieutenant  colonel  dur 
ing  the  spring  and  early  summer  of  1865.  For  a tim 
after  the  close  of  the  war  Dr.  Delos  Walker  practieec  gjj 
at  Conneautville,  Pennsylvania,  and  in  Union  City  o 
the  same  state,  and  at  the  latter  place  was  surgeoi 
for  the  Philadelphia  and  Erie  Eailroad.  In  1867  h 
joined  his  parents  in  Anderson  County,  Kansas,  and  fo 


ipers, 


presti 

Osagi 


lor  S 
' :,r 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2121 


' ' the  next  twenty-two  years  was  surgeon  in  a successful 
u practice  at  Greeley. 

)IJt  It  was  almost  a matter  of  chance  and  circumstance 
■ that  Dr.  Delos  Walker  became  permanently  identified 
with  the  destinies  of  the  young  City  of  Oklahoma  at 
1 the  time  of  its  founding.  He  took  part  in  the  rush  into 
the  district  on  April  22,  1889,  and  something  in  the 
1 enthusiasm  and  excitement  and  the  promise  of  future 
N opportunities  caused  him  to  decide  to  remain  as  one  of 
the  first  citizens  of  Oklahoma  City.  His  long  experience 
■ 1 and  recognized  ability  soon  brought  him  distinction  as 
% one  of  the  first  physicians,  and  he  was  also  prominent 
:l  in  many  other  activities  which  were  closely  related  with 
' ■ the  upbuilding  of  that  community.  He  helped  organize 
eiDS  the  first  public  schools  and  became  the  first  president 
; * of  the  school  board  of  Oklahoma  City.  For  five  years 
he  was  health  superintendent  of  Oklahoma  County  and 
was  the  first  president  of  the  board  of  health  of  Okla- 
0118  loma  City,  holding  that  office  five  years.  He  was  also 
' ,#  an e of  the  organizers  and  the  first  president  of  the 
:!ier’  Oklahoma  Medical  Society.  He  also  served  as  president 
H )f  the  pi  neer  association  known  as  Oklahoma  Eighty- 
STiners.  Dr.  Delos  Walker  was  married  in  Pennsylvania 
leitt  ;0  Miss  Emeret  Greenfield.  Their  only  daughter,  Maud, 
ll'1'1  lied  at  the  age  of  nineteen.  Mrs.  Delos  Walker  was 
■rata-  30X11  in  1842  and  died  in  1905. 

Dr.  Harry  Walker,  whose  individual  attainments  have 
irought  him  such  distinction  that  he  does  not  stand  in 
;he  shadow  of  his  father’s  eminence,  was  born  at  Con- 
111  to  leautville,  Pennsylvania,  May  10,  1861.  He  also  attended 
he  University  of  Michigan,  where  he  was  both  a literary 
1(e  “ and  medical  student,  and  in  1884  was  graduated  M.  D. 
(tola  rom  the  Bellevue  Hospital  Medical  College  of  New 
Stoj  fork  City.  He  also  had  the  benefit  during  his  earlier 
P®  areer  of  almost  constant  association  with  his  father, 
n?#l  and  they  were  together  in  practice  both  at  Greeley, 
erra  Kansas,  and  at  Oklahoma  City.  In  1900  Dr.  Harry 
seiria  talker  accepted  appointment  as  Government  surgeon 
I?  or  the  Osage  Indian  Agency  at  Pawhuska.  After  ieav- 
ng  that  service  he  continued  in  private  practice  at 
eriffl  >awhuska,  and  in  point  of  residence  is  one  of  the  oldest 
hysicians  in  Osage  County,  and  easily  one  of  the 

elnc»  blest  in  this  part  of  the  state. 

it,  am  Doctor  Walker  is  a member  of  the  Osage  County  and 
?e  flit  )klahoma  State  Medical  societies  and  the  American  Medi- 
ted  hi  al  Association.  While  devoted  to  his  profession,  he  has 
iter  th  ]so  acquired  many  interests  on  the  outside  and  for 

ergrai  ears  has  been  a student  of  Indian  customs  and  lore, 
antvill  [is  interesting  articles  on  the  romantic  features  of 
62, an  'sage  Indian  history  have  appeared  in  a number  of 
drersit  apers,  particularly  the  Kansas  City  Star.  He  has 

as  cap  elped  to  preserve  in  permanent  form  some  of  the 

Thirtj  iteresting  records  in  connection  with  the  Boy  family 
ittles « f Osages  and  also  has  written  of  the  famous  Chouteau 
1 otic  sunily  of  St.  Louis  regarding  its  transactions  as  traders 
ml  ai  ith  the  Osage  tribe. 

iment i In  polities  Doctor  Walker  is  a republican.  He  has 
aisity  t (filiations  with  the  Masonic  order,  the  Knights  of 
1.  Aft(  ythias,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the 
lsylvam  /hodmen  of  the  World.  His  wife  before  her  marriage 
Distiij  as  Miss  Villa  McFadden.  She  was  born  in  Illinois. 
Genes  heir  three  sons  are  Boseoe,  Joseph  and  Delos,  Jr. 
cl  tfci  oetor  Boseoe  is  now  associated  in  practice  with  his 
asvlvani  ither  at  Pawhuska,  and  is  a young  surgeon  of  brilliant 
onel  dw  romise.  He  was  born  at  Greeley,  Kansas,  in  1885, 
it  a til  raduated  Bachelor  of  Science  from  the  University  of 
practice  klalioma  in  1909,  then  entered  Columbia  University  at 
City  i ew  York  City,  where  he  took  his  degree  of  medicine  in 
; surged  )ll,  and  after  two  years  as  surgical  interne  in  the 
1867  ost-graduate  Hospital  of  New  York,  returned  to  Paw- 
and  5 iska  to  begin  practice  with  his  father.  The  son  Joseph, 


born  at  Greeley,  Kansas,  in  1888,  completed  his  education 
in  the  Oklahoma  City  High  School  and  is  now  at  home. 
The  younger  son,  Delos,  born  in  1892,  attended  the 
Pawhuska  High  School,  spent  three  years  in  the  State 
University,  and  is  now  a newspaper  man,  being  a reporter 
on  the  Denver  Express. 

C.  K.  Templeton  was  born  in  Magoffin  County,  Ken- 
tucky, May  10,  1877.  He  was  the  third  son  of  Dr. 
James  E.  and  Julia  Q.  Templeton.  The  family  con- 
sisted of  six  boys:  L.  C.,  who  lives  in  Morgan  County, 
Kentucky;  J.  W.,  of  Scott  County,  Virginia;  C.  K., 
of  Pawhuska,  Osage  County,  Oklahoma;  T.  O.  and 

B.  C.,  both  of  Scott  County,  Virginia;  and  O.  F.,  of 
Washington,  D.  C.  His  father  and  mother  were  native 
Virginians’,  his  mother  having  died  when  he  was  eleven 
years  old.  His  father  was'  a Confederate  soldier,  and 
served  throughout  the  Civil  war  under  Lee  and  Jackson 
and  when  the  war  ended  he  returned  to  his  home  in 
Scott  County,  Virginia,  and  resumed  the  practice  of 
medicine,  which  he  has  continued  to  the  present  day. 

C.  K.  attended  the  public  free  schools  of  Kentucky  until 
sixteen  years  of  age,  when  he  started  out  as  a teacher 
in  that  state,  and  from  there  went  to  Virginia,  where 
he  taught  school  for  several  years,  and  in  1898  graduated 
from  Shoemaker  College  at  Gate  City,  Virginia,  having 
specialized  in  history  and  science.  He  continued  to  teach 
and  study  law,  and  in  1901  he  entered  the  University 
at  Valparaiso,  in  Indiana,  where  he  was  able  to  work 
his  way  through  school,  and  completed  the  law  class  of 
nearly  seventy,  making  a general  average,  for  the  two 
years  of  a fraction  over  98  per  cent,  and  received  the 
degree  of  LL.  B.  He  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  both 
Kentucky  and  Indiana,  and  went  back  to  Virginia  and 
taught  school  and  studied  law  in  the  office  of  Hon.  W. 
S.  Cox,  then  commonwealth  attorney,  at  Gate  City.  Com- 
ing to  Oklahoma  Territory  in  April,  1905,  he  located  at 
Pawhuska,  worked  in  the  ‘ ‘ Old  Bed  Store,  ’ ’ for  C.  M. 
Hirt,  until  he  was  able  to  get  acquainted  and  get  into 
the  practice  of  his  profession.  He  worked  in  the  store 
for  about  eleven  months  and  has  since  been  engaged  in 
the  practice  of  law.  He  was  elected  prosecuting  attorney 
in  the  fall  of  1910,  on  the  democratic  ticket  by  a large 
majority.  His  majority  in  the  City  of  Pawhuska,  in 
both  the  primary  and  general  elections,  was  about  seventy 
more  than  that  of  his  opponents  in  the  whole  county, 
though  they  all  lived  in  Pawhuska.  He  lost  but  few 
precincts  in  the  county  at  either  the  primary  or  general 
election.  He  believed  in  and  followed  a.  strict  enforce- 
ment of  the  laws.  At  the  expiration  of  his  term  of  office 
he  formed  a partnership  with  John  W.  Tillman,  who  was 
his  assistant,  and  that  partnership  continued  until  Mr. 
Tillman  was  elected  to  the  same  office  in  the  fall  of 
1914,  and  he  is  now  assistant  under  Mr.  Tillman.  He 
also  has  a large  civil  practice  which  extends  to  Kansas, 
Missouri,  Indiana  and  Texas,  and  is  local  attorney  for  the 
Atchison,  Topeka  & Santa  Fe  Bailway  Company,  and 
Wells  Fargo  & Company  Express.  He  has  been  a 
democratic  worker  and  speaker  since  the  presidential 
election  of  1906,  and  is  at  this  time  secretary  of  the 
Osage  County  Democratic  Central  Committee.  He  is 
'also  a member  of  his  local  bar,  and  treasurer  of  the 
Oklahoma  State  Bar  Association  and  is  rated  among  the 
best  attorneys  of  the  state. 

Mr.  Templeton  is  a great  lover  of  Freemasonry.  He 
was  made  a Master  Mason  when  twenty-one  years  of 
age  at  Fort  Blackmore  Lodge  No.  87,  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons,  Fort  Blackmore,  Virginia,  and  was 
master  of  that  lodge  when  he  left  Virginia  for  his  law 
course;  in  September,  1901.  He  is  now  a member  of 
Wah-Shah-She  Lodge  No.  110,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 


2122 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Masons,  Pawhuska,  Oklahoma;  Gate  City  Chapter  No. 
35,  Royal  Arch  Masons,  Gate  City,  Virginia;  Palestine 
Commandery  No.  35,  Knights  Templar,  Pawhuska,  Okla- 
homa; Oklahoma  Consistory  No.  1,  Ancient  and  Accepted 
Scottish  Rite  of  Freemasonry  (thirty -second  degree), 
Guthrie,  Oklahoma ; Akdar  Temple,  Ancient  Arabic  Order 
Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  of  Tulsa,  Oklahoma,  and 
Chapter  No.  63,  Order  of  the  Eastern  Star,  Pawhuska, 
Oklahoma.  And  he  is  also  a Knight  of  Pythias,  and 
member  of  White  Hair  Lodge  No.  11,  at  Pawhuska, 
Oklahoma,  being  now  (May,  1916)  chancellor  commander 
of  that  lodge.  He  married  Miss  Nellie  Roberts,  the 
daughter  of  Rush  Roberts,  then  one  of  the  council  and 
head  men  of  the  Pawnee  tribe  of  Indians,  at  Pawnee, 
Oklahoma.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Templeton  were  married  at 
Pawnee,  Oklahoma,  July,  1908.  To  their  marriage  have 
been  born  three  children:  Lena  Myrtle;  James  E.  R., 
and  C.  K.,  Jr. 

James  Albert  McCollum.  Among  the  men  who  have 
risen  to  prominence  in  the  law  in  Oklahoma  during  recent 
years,  one  of  the  younger  generation  whose  abilities  have 
gained  him  professional  success  and  public  honors  is 
James  Albert  McCollum,  county  attorney  of  Pawnee 
County.  His  achievements  have  not  been  the  result  of 
happy  chance,  but  have  been  fairly  earned,  for  from  the 
start  of  his  career' Mr.  McCollum  has  depended  upon  his 
own  resources  and  has  fitted  his  talents  to  his  oppor- 
tunities. 

Mr.  McCollum  was  born  in  Berry  County,  Missouri, 
October  26,  1883,  and  is  a son  of  William  Wallace  and 
Mary  Ann  (Fawver)  McCollum.  On  the  paternal  side  he 
belongs  to  an  old  family  of  Scoteh-Irish  origin,  while 
his  maternal  grandfather  wa,s  a native  of  Germany,  and 
although  the  latter  married  a woman  of  American  birth 
she  was  of  German  lineage.  William  Wallace  McCol- 
lum was  born  in  Tennessee,  in  1849,  and  was  three  years 
of  age  when  taken  by  his  parents  to  Berry  County,  Mis- 
souri, where  as  a young  man  he  followed  school-teaching 
as  a vocation.  There  he  was  married  to  Mary  Ann  Faw- 
ver, who  had  been  born  in  Virginia,  in  1853,  and  after 
their  marriage  they  settled  on  a Berry  County  farm, 
where  'the  father  has  since  continued  to  be  engaged  in 
farming  and  raising  stock.  He  has  been  active  in  demo- 
cratic politics,  and  he  and  Mrs.  McCollum  have  been  life- 
long members  of  the  Methodist  Church.  Of  their  nine 
children,  two  died  in  infancy,  the  survivors  being : 
Emma,  who  is  the  wife  of  G.  W.  Roller,  of  Wichita, 
Kansas;  Etta,  who  is  the  wife  of  Frank  Major,  of 
Wheaton,  Missouri;  Jenna,  who  is  the  wife  of  E.  M. 
Peter,  of  Boulder,  Colorado;  Augusta,  who  is  the  wife 
of  Elliott  Roller,  of  Rocky  Comfort,  Missouri;  James 
Albert;  Claude  C.,  a practicing  attorney  of  Pawnee, 
Oklahoma;  and  Earl  C.,  who  is  in  Boulder,  Colorado,  in 
the  hardware  business. 

James  Albert  McCollum  resided  on  the  home  farm  until 
twenty-one  years  of  age,  receiving  his  education  in  the 
country  schools  and  Marionville  Collegiate  Institute,  at 
Marionvilie,  Missouri,  where  he  spent  three  profitable 
years.  After  his  graduation,  in  1905,  he  went  to  Western 
Kansas,  where  he  remained  three  years,  proving  up  on  a 
homestead,  and  in  the  meantime  taught  one  term  of 
school.  He  had  had  former  experience  in  the  latter  line, 
as  when  he  was  a youth  he  had  taught  three  terms  of 
school  in  order  to  gain  the  means  with  which  to  com- 
plete his  studies  at  the  institute.  In  the  fall  of  1908 
Mr.  McCollum  returned  to  Missouri  and  entered  the  law 
school  of  the  University  of  Missouri,  where  he  was  gradu- 
ated in  1911  with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Laws,  and  in 
July  of  that  year  came  to  Pawnee  and  opened  an  office 
for  the  practice  of  his  profession.  Not  long  afterward, 


he  formed  a law  partnership  with  V.  H.  Biddison,  and 
the  firm  of  Biddison  & McCollum  continued  in  existence 
one  year,  when  the  senior  member  disposed  of  his  inter- 
est to  Mr.  McCollum’s  brother,  Claude  C.  McCollum,  at 
which  time  the  concern  of  McCollum  & McCollum  was  Si  fj; 
founded.  This  subsequently  became  one  of  the  formid-J  «• 
able  combinations  of  Pawnee,  and  continued  as  such  until 


the  fall  of  1914,  when  James  A.  McCollum  was  elected  ta 


county  attorney  for  Pawnee  County.  Mr.  McCollum 
the  only  republican  in  his  family,  and  it  is  worthy  of 
note  that,  in  a democratic  county,  he  was  elected  by 
majority  <f»f  643  votes,  thus  demonstrating  his  popularity, 
as  well  as  showing  that  his  talents  were  recognized  and 
appreciated.  He  has  established  an  excellent  record  in 
office,  has  acquitted  himself  ably  and  honorably  in 
number  of  important  cases,  and  has  won  and  held  the 
full  confidence  of  the  people  who  elected  him  to  his> 
important  position.  While  a student  at  the  University 
of  Missouri,  he  was  a member  of  the  Athenaeum  Society, 
organized  in  1841,  and  the  oldest  student  organization 
west  of  the  Mississippi  River.  He  also  showed  himself 
a master  of  debate,  taking  part  in  numerous  interstate 
contests,  and  won  high  honors  therein,  never  losing  a con 
test,  a record  that  has  never  been  equalled  in  that  insti- 
tution. In  the  year  1910  the  State  Republican  Commit- 
tee of  Missouri  employed  four  university  men  to  stumj 
the  state  during  the  campaign,  of  whom  Mr.  McCollum 
was  one,  and  during  the  thirty  days  that  he  was  sc 
engaged,  he  made  two  speeches  each  day.  He  is  consid 
ered  one  of  the  ablest  orators  of  Pawnee  County,  and  hi 
services  are  in  constant  demand  during  the  campaigns  ol 
his  party,  of  which  he  is  a leader  in  this  part  of  Okla; 
homa.  Mr.  McCollum  is  a Mason.  With  his  family,  he 
belongs  to  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church. 

Mr.  McCollum  was  married  July  23,  1911,  to  Misn 
Lillian  McCann,  born  in  Berry  County,  Missouri,  in  1887' 
daughter  of  Frank  McCann,  and  to  this  union  there  have 
been  born  two  children:  Mary  and  Mildred 


d M 


gWi 


hospital 


slaiiei] 

Mic 


J.  L.  Hudson.  In  the  First  National  Bank  of  Fairfax 
which  is  the  oldest  and  most  substantial  institution  o. 
its  kind  in  that  flourishing  town  of  Osage  County,  J.  LI 
Hudson  has  filled  the  office  of  cashier  for  the  past  threij 
years.  The  other  officers  of  the  bank  are  J.  C.  Stribling 
president,  and  J.  H.  Ward,  vice  president,  all  well  know: 
business  men  in  that  section  of  Oklahoma.  Though  Mr 
Hudson  has  been  a resident  of  Fairfax  as  a town  onl; 
a few  years,  he  formerly  operated  as  a cattle  man  an« 
rancher  over  the  very  site  now  occupied  by  Fairfax 
A native  of  Southern  Texas,  J.  L.  Hudson  was  bor 
in  Fayette  County,  January  1,  1875,  a son  of  D.  W 
and  Eugenia  (Loman)  Hudson.  His  father  was  bor: 
in  Tennessee,  and  at  the  age  of  three  years  was  brough 
to  Texas  by  his  parents,  who  located  at  Rutersvilll 
one  of  the  old  educational  centers  of  Southern  Texas 
Mr.  Hudson’s  mother  was  born  in  Fayette  County  i 
1854,  a daughter  of  Upton  Loman,  who  had  come  as 
pioneer  from  Illinois  to  Texas,  and  was  extensive! 
engaged  in  the  cattle  industry  until  his  death.  M 
Hudson’s  mother  died  June  24,  1914,  and  his  father  i 
now  residing  at  Fairfax,  having  retired  from  an  activ 
career  as  a cattleman  and  farmer.  For  eighteen  yeai  fa'™ 
D.  W.  Hudson  lived  on  one  ranch  in  Llano  County,  Texa  11 
J.  L.  Hudson  is  the  older  of  two  sons,  and  his  brothe; 

W.  M.  Hudson,  has  for  the  past  seven  or  eight  yeai 
been  located  at  Tampico,  Mexico,  where  he  has  a larg  J". 


ranch,  and  is  also  engaged  in  the  oil  and  real  estal 
business.. 

Reared  in  Texas,  J.  L.  Hudson  attended  the  publ  jjv 
schools  there,  and  in  1896  was  graduated  from  tl 


scientific  course  in  the  National  Normal  University  f j( 


lit  ft 


Her  fa 


- v ! 

: ■> 


fljmissii 

%yti 


not 

®l  (new 


" ' > 1 1 


'--Hi, 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2123 


Lebanon,  Ohio.  Thus  equipped  for  life’s  duties  he  took 
up  teaching-,  and  spent  two  years  in  that  vocation  in 

!-  Gonzales  County,  Texas.  Afterwards  he  worked  as  book- 
keeper and  as  cashier  in  the  First  National  Bank  at 
’ Flatonia,  Texas,  for  two  years,  and  for  a similar  period 
■ was  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  at  Moulton  in 
that  state.  In  1901  he  transferred  his  home  to  the 
; Osage  Nation  of  Indian  Territory,  and  was  engaged  in 
the  cattle  industry  and  farming  in  the  vicinity  now 
■;!  occupied  by  the  Town  of  Fairfax.  He  left  this  locality 
in  the  spring  of  1903,  about  the  time  the  railroad  was 
, ! ! constructed  and  Fairfax  was  founded,  and  returned  to 
- Texas  and  spent  four  years  in  the  oil  business  at 
. Beaumont,  and  for  three  years  combined  the  rice  culti- 
vation and  the  cattle  business  in  Matagorda  County. 
' For  about  four  or  five  years  he  gave  his  attention 
chiefly  to  the  telephone  business  at  Llano,  Texas,  and 
7 then  came  to  the  Town  of  Fairfax  in  September,  1912, 
and  has  since  been  identified  with' the  First  National 
| Bank.  Mr.  Hudson  has  many  other  interests  that  make 
him  one  of  the  leaders  in  business  affairs  in  Osage 
' i County.  He  owns  about  1,000  head  of  cattle,  and  has 
. ; also  built  up  a successful  business  in  the  cattle  and 
cattle  loan  business,  furnishing  the  resources  to  a num- 
ber  of  small  cattle  men  in  this  part  of  the  state. 

" In  politics  he  is  a democrat,  is  affiliated  with  the 
'®‘  Masonic  Order  in  the  Lodge,  the  Boyal  Arch  Chapter, 
El'  ;he  Council  and  the  Knight  Templar  Commandery,  and 
relongs  to  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church.  On  June 
50,  1909,  he  married  Miss  Louise  Fowler,  who  was  born 
/“!{  n Llano,  Texas,  and  lived  there  until  her . marriage, 
‘j  ler  father  is  J.  W.  Fowler,  a prominent  cattleman  and 
:llX  ‘armer.  To  their  marriage  has  been  born  one  son, 
jjj  SVilson  Lane, 
in  18! 

re  1,31  L.  H.  Winborn,  M.  D.  When  he  was  seventeen  years 
>ld  Doctor  Winborn,  now  successfully  established  in 
lis  profession  as  physician  and  surgeon  at  Tuttle  in 
r ; . Irady  County,  was  drawn  by  a vision  of  opportunities 
' ior  young  men  in  the  Southwest,  and  leaving  his  home 
n Mississippi  sought  employment  in  the  Choctaw  Nation 
['  >f  Indian  Territory.  There,  while  working  for  the 
fct  ' Ihoetaw  Coal  and  Mining  Company  and  for  other  firms 
j™.,  nd  individuals,  he  developed  his  ambition  for  a profes- 
- ional  career.  A young  man  of  earnest  purpose  and 
JiS'  nergy  usually  gets  what  he  wants.  With  the  savings 
)'m  01  r om  his  earnings  he  matriculated  • in  the  Louisville 
Pf1  lospital  Medical  College  at  Louisville,  Kentucky,  and 
fftaI'  emained  there  as  long  as  his  funds  permitted.  He  then 
® " eturned  to  the  Indian  country  and  began  the  practice 
‘ *7  f medicine.  Settlements  were  few  and  sparse  in  those 
® 1 ays,  and  the  majority  of  his  patients  were  Indians. 
!“°P  lospital  facilities  were  practically  unknown,  and  the 
jteisvi  otlng  doctor  faced  conditions  as  primitive  almost  as  did 
n ^ he  missionary  doctors  who  came  into  the  Indian  country 
hirty  years  before.  Under  such  conditions  his  practice 
oniea!  'as  not  lucrative  and  the  outlook  for  the  future  was 
ot  encouraging.  He  had  a surplus  of  about  $150,  and 
-lj  1 ne  day  confided  to  a friend  his  disappointment  at  not 
fatlet  eing  able  to  finish  his  medical  training.  This  friend 
a-'1  'as  Robert  Brewer,  son  of  Dr.  T.  F.  Brewer,  of  Wagoner. 
®Je  Without  solicitation  Brewer  advanced  the  necessary 
ty. Tes  ioney,  and  on  July  30,  1908,  the  young  physician  left 
he  Louisville  Hospital  Medical  College  carrying  a 
gMjt  iploma  which  entitled  him  to  the  degree  Doctor  of 
i!  a I*1  ledieine.  He  settled  at  Quinton,  Indian  Territory,  and 
eal  est  ontinued  his  practice  among  the  Indians.  He  became 
amily  physician  for  Hon.  Green  McCurtain,  principal 
the  p»  hief  of  the  Choctaw  Nation,  and  his  practice  was  among 
from  ' lany  of  the  old  and  noted  families  of  the  Choctaw  Tribe, 
verity  le  lived  there  until  1911,  when  he  removed  to  Tuttle, 


where  he  now  has  a handsome  home  and  enjoys  a sub- 
stantial and  profitable  practice. 

Doctor  Winborn  was  born  in  Hernando,  Mississippi, 
June  25,  1873,  a son  of  Francis  Marion  and  Amorette 
(Doyle)  Winborn.  His  father  was  a graduate  of  the 
medical  department  of  the  University  of  Alabama,  and 
for  thirty-five  years  did  a successful  practice  in  Missis- 
sippi and  Arkansas,  and  during  the  Civil  war  was  a 
Confederate  soldier.  Doctor  Winborn ’s  grandfather  was 
a successful  planter  in  Mississippi.  Doctor  Winborn  has 
two  brothers  and  a sister:  B.  L.  and  Doctor  Winborn, 

both  of  whom  are  farmers  and  stock  men  at  Farris, 
Oklahoma;  and  Mrs.  Ollie  Smith,  wife  of  a farmer  at 
Bristow. 

After  finishing  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of 
Mississippi,  Doctor  Winborn  studied  mechanical  engineer- 
ing, a vocation  which  he  followed  after  coming  to  Indian 
Territory.  His  first  course  in  medicine  enabled  him  to 
pass  the  federal  examination  for  practice  in  the  Indian 
Territory.  As  already  explained  he  was  in  very  humble 
financial  circumstances  at  the  outset  of  his  career,  and 
has  made  his  own  way  to  standing  and  prosperity  in  the 
profession.  While  living  in  the  mountains  of  the  old 
Choctaw  Nation  he  became  a fast  friend  of  some  of  the 
noted  men  of  the  tribe.  Among  them  was  Bichard 
Locke,  Sr.,  father  of  the  present  principal  chief  of  the 
Choctaw  Nation.  He  was  with  the  elder  Locke  in  a 
historic  fight  that  took  place  at  Antlers,  the  present 
county  seat  of  Pushmataha  County.  The  present  Cnief 
Locke  was  then  a boy  in  knee  trousers. 

Doctor  Winborn  was  married  October  1,  1901,  to  Miss 
Mary  Heck  of  Denison,  Texas.  Her  father  was  a pioneer 
contractor  and  builder  who  helped  to  found  and  build 
the  Town  of  Colbert,  Oklahoma,  and  also  had  the  dis- 
tinction of  erecting  the  first  house  on  the  site  of  Denison, 
Texas,  when  that  became  the  terminus  of  the  Missouri, 
Kansas  & Texas  Bailway  during  the  early  ’70s.  He  was 
a man  of  prominence  in  the  country  about  Denison  and 
in  the  southern  part  of  the  Choctaw  Nation,  where  he 
had  lived  prior  to  the  building  of  the  Missouri,  Kansas 
& Texas,  which  was  the  first  railroad  that  traversed  the 
Indian  Territory. 

Doctor  Winborn  is  a member  of  the  Christian  Church 
and  has  fraternal  affiliations  with  the  Masons,  the  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Modern  Woodmen 
of  America  and  the  Woodmen  of  the  World.  In  Masonry 
he  has  attained  the  thirty-second  degree  of  Scottish  Bite, 
and  his  Blue  Lodge  is  at  Quinton,  and  he  is  a member 
of  the  Consistory  at  McAlester.  He  has  occupied  head 
positions  in  local  lodges  and  at  present  is  consul  com- 
mander of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World.  He  is  examining 
physician-  for  fourteen  life  insurance  companies  and  is 
assistant  county  health  officer  of  Grady  County.  Pro- 
fessionally he  is  a member  of  the  Grady  County  Medical 
Society,  the  Oklahoma  Medical  Society  and  the  Tri-State 
Medical  Association  and  the  American  Medical  Associa- 
tion. No  sketch  of  Doctor  Winborn  would  be  complete 
without  reference  to  his  civic  enthusiasm  and  leadership. 
He  is  a member  of  the  Tuttle  Commercial  Club,  and  has 
been  one  of  the  leading  workers  in  behalf  of  a project 
for  building  a section  of  the  proposed  state  highway 
between  Oklahoma  City  and  Fort  Sill.  This  project 
involves  the  erection  of  a bridge  over  the  South  Canadian 
Biver  near  Tuttle  at  a cost  of  approximately  $100,000. 
Doctor  Winborn  is  a liberal  contributor  of  time  and 
money  in  carrying  out  all  plans  for  the  commercial,  indus- 
trial, educational  and  social  upbuilding  of  his  locality. 

Michael  J.  Foley.  One  of  the  best  hotels  in  a town 
of  its  size  in  Oklahoma  is  the  Hotel  Ponton  at  Fairfax, 
of  which  Michael  J.  Foley  has  been  proprietor  and 


2124 


3IST0RY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


manager  for  the  past  eight  years.  Mr.  Foley  is  an  old- 
timer  in  the  hotel  business,  having  formerly  been  identi- 
fied with  the  first  business  enterprise  and  hotel  at 
Ralston  in  Pawnee  County.  Many  years  ago,  long 
before  Indian  Territory  was  merged  into  the  State  of 
Oklahoma,  he  was  identified  with  the  Osage  Nation,  and 
it  was  a return  to  old  friends  and  earlier  associations 
when  he  sold  out  his  business  in  Ralston  in  August,  1907, 
and  on  the  15th  of  October  following  moved  to  Fairfax 
in  Osage  County  and  bought  the  Hotel  Ponton.  This 
is  the  only  commercial  hotel  of  the  town,  and  he  has 
extensively  remodeled  the  building  and  has  brought  its 
service  up  to  a high  standard. 

Since  early  boyhood  the  career  of  Michael  J.  Foley 
has  been  one  of  varied  activities  and  experiences.  He 
was  born  in  Ireland,  April  29,  1849,  and  when  two  years 
of  age  came  to  America  with  his  parents,  Cornelius  and 
Julia  (Lynch)  Foley.  The  family  lived  in  Rochester, 
New  York,  for  two  or  three  years,  and  then  settled  in 
Kalamazoo,  Michigan.  Cornelius  Foley  enlisted  with  the 
Seventh  Michigan  Volunteer  Infantry  during  the  Civil 
war  and  served  as  a soldier  from  1863  to  1865.  Michael 
J.  was  the  fourth  in  a family  of  eight  children,  as  fol- 
lows: Julia  Madigan,  deceased;  Mary  Madigan,  of  Kala- 

mazoo; Ellen,  who  died  at  the  age  of  sixteen;  Daniel, 
who  died  when  four  years  old;  Michael  J. ; Cornelius,  of 
Kalamazoo;  Patrick,  who  died  in  Kalamazoo  in  1913; 
and  Kate,  of  Mill  City,  Oregon. 

With  only  the  rudiments  of  a common  school  educa- 
tion, Michael  J.  Foley  as  a boy  left  home  and  removed 
to  Chicago,  where  he  learned  the  trade  of  plasterer. 
The  great  fire  of  1871  in  that  city  furnished  abundant 
employment  in  all  branches  of  the  building  trade,  and 
for  several  months  after  the  fire  he  was  employed  by 
the  city  in  a relief  corps.  For  two  years  he  was  in 
the  employ  of  his  brother,  engaged  in  the  liquor  business 
on  Canal  Street  in  Chicago,  and  subsequently  engaged  in 
the  railroad  service,  a work  to  which  he  gave  his  time 
for  a number  of  years,  though  not  continuously.  His  first 
eighteen  months  of  that  work  was  as  brakeman,  and  then 
for  three  years  he  was  a conductor  on  one  of  the  eastern 
railroads  leading  out  of  Chicago.  While  in  charge  of 
his  train  he  met  with  an  accident,  and  after  returning 
to  the  service  was  put  in  charge  of  a local  freight  between 
Cleveland  and  Toledo  on  the  Lake  Shore  and  Michigan 
Southern.  For  a year  he  conducted  his  father’s  farm 
near  Kalamazoo,  after  which  he  returned  to  railroading 
on  the  Pan  Handle  route  of  the  Pennsylvania  lines  in 
Ohio,  working  as  a conductor  for  eighteen  months.  Re- 
turning to  Chicago  in  1879,  Mr.  Foley  was  again  employed 
by  his  brother  for  a year  and  a half,  and  then  found 
work  in  the  construction  of  the  West  Side  Waterworks 
of  that  city.  It  is  also  interesting  to  note  that  he 
assisted  in  erecting  the  old  Panorama  Building  on  Wabash 
Avenue  in  Chicago,  a place  known  to  many  thousands  of 
Chicago  visitors  during  the  decade  of  the  ’90s  for  the 
panorama  of  the  battle  of  Gettysburg  which  was  exhib- 
ited there.  The  building  afterwards  had  a varied 
history  of  uses,  and  is  still  standing.  Later  Mr.  Foley 
was  employed  in  the  construction  of  an.  addition  to 
Asylum  No.  2 at  St.  Josenh,  Missouri,  and  continued 
the  work  of  his  trade  in  Coffeyville,  Kansas,  and  also 
in  the  locality  of  the  present  Bartlesville,  Oklahoma. 
Thus  he  became  introduced  to  the  Indian  country  of  the 
Osage  Nation,  and  was  not  long  in  gaining  a familiarity 
with  the  language  of  those  Indians,  and  also  won  the 
good  will  of  several  of  the  influential  chiefs.  At  Paw- 
huska  he  was  employed  for  a time  in  butchering  cattle 
allotted  to  the  red  men,  but  in  the  spring  of  the  following 
year  made  a practical  demonstration  to  the  Indians  of 
the  use  and  wisdom  of  plastering  their  houses,  and  as 


this  improvement  was ' quickly  taken  up  by  one  after 
another  he  found  abundant  employment  for  his  skill. 

In  1892  Mr.  Foley  returned  to  Chicago,  and  in  the 
spring  of  the  following  year  his  father  died  at  Kalamazoo.  I 
The  mother  had  passed  away  about  twelve  years  before. 
Not  long  afterwards  Mr.  Foley  came  again  to  the  Osage 
country  of  Indian  Territory,  locating  at  Gray  Horse, 
and  soon  afterward  prepared  to  make  the  race  at  the 
opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip.  He  did  not  succeed  in  j 
acquiring  a claim,  but  in  March,  1894,  removed  to  Tal- 
ston  in  Pawnee  County,  and  soon  afterward  laid  the ! ! 
foundation  for  the  first  building  erected  on  that  town  i 
site.  He  bought  a lot,  put  up  a small  building,  and  on  i 
the  4th  of  July  celebrated  Independence  Day  by  opening  j i 
his  restaurant,  which  in  time  was  supplemented  by  a 
large  hotel  covering  three  lots.  As  the  pioneer  hotel) 
man  and  business  man  of  Ralston  he  was  in  successful) 
business  there  until  he  sold  out  thirteen  years  later  and  i 
identified  himself  with  the  community  of  Fairfax. 

On  March  28,  1893,  Mr.  Foley  married  Miss  Maggie! 
Bennett,  a daughter  of  Mathew  and  Frances  Bennett.  I 
Mrs.  Foley  was  born  in  Indiana,  but  was  reared  in  Kan-i 
sas.  She  died  December  27,  1913,  at  the  age  of  forty-*|| 
three,  leaving  three  children:  Cornelius,  Emmett  and 

Ruth.  Mr.  Foley  is  a democrat  in  polities,  and  while  a 
resident  of  Ralston  served  as  a justice  of  the  peace  a 
number  of  years.  His  church  is  the  Catholic. 

Jasper  Newton  Todd.  Among  the  men  who  have  con-i 
tributed  to ‘ the  commercial  upbuilding  of  the  City  of 
Jennings,,  one  who  established  a record  for  business 
acumen  and  founded  an  establishment  which  still  bearsi 
his  name  was  the  late  Jasper  Newton  Todd.  Coming! 
here  in  1896  in  moderate  circumstances,  he  embarked  in 
mercantile  affairs  and  directed  his  operations  so  wisely) 
and  well  that  at  the  time  of  his  death,  August  17,  1913, 
he  was  not  only  one  of  the  substantial  men  of  his  adopted 
community  but  had  established  a firm  reputation  as  £ 
man  of  the  highest  business  honor.  * 

Mr.  Todd  was  a native  of  Missouri,  born  June  17. 
1859,  a son  of  Owen  and  Elizabeth  (Reynolds)  Todd. 
His  parents  were  born  in  Kentucky,  and  went  to  Mis- 
souri, where  they  settled  on  a farm  and  passed  the  remain- 
ing years  of  their  lives  in  agricultural  operations; 
There  were  thirteen  children  in  the  family,  and  Jaspei 
N.,  one  of  the  younger  members,  was  given  a country 
school  education.  He  had  only  ordinary  advantages  ir 
his  youth,  but  early  showed  himself  possessed  of  qua! 
ities  of  industry  and  energy  that  augured  well  for  his; 
future.  He  grew  up  as  a farmer  in  the  vicinity  oi 
Versailles,  the  county  seat  of  Morgan  County,  Missouri 
where  he  continued  to  make  his  home  with  his  parent! 
for  a number  of  years.  About  1890  he  went  to  Walk 
Walla,  in  Washington  Territory,  where  he  began  hit 
experience  as  a merchant,  continuing  there  and  at  an 
other  town  in  the  same  territory  for  three  or  four  years 
His  advent  in  Oklahoma  occurred  in  May,  1894,  wlxei 
he  located  on  a leased  farm  in  Creek  County,  but  afte. 
two  years  his  health  failed  and  he  was  compelled  to  seel 
other  employment.  Disposing  of  his  interests  he  gath 
ered  together  about  $1,700,  with  which  he  came  b 
Jennings,  and  engaged  in  business  with  J.  L.  Bishop 
under  the  firm  name  of  Todd  & Bishop.  The  partner 
were  successful  in  building  up  an  excellent  trade  in  gen 
eral  merchandise  and  the  association  continued  satie 
factorily  until  the  combination  was  broken,  after  seves 
years,  by  the  death  of  Mr.  Bishop.  Subsequently  Mi 
Todd’s  brother-in-law,  C.  M.  Foil,  was  admitted  t 
partnership  and  the  firm  of  Todd  & Foil  continued  i 
business  for  about  two  years,  when  Mr.  Todd  bough 
his  partner’s  interest  and  continued  the  business  unde) 


JASPER  N.  TODD 


3IST0RY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2125 


his  own  name  until  his  death.  He  was  a man  of  excellent 
business  and  executive  abilities,  sagacious  and  farsighted, 
and  by  his  earnest  desire  to  please  his  customers  and  his 
courteous  treatment  and  fair  dealing  secured  the  liberal 
patronage  of  which  he  was  deserving.  Since  his  death 
the  business  has  been  continued  by  his  widow  and  son, 
under  the  style  of  the  J.  N.  Todd' Estate.'  The  present 
store,  a stone  structure,  25  by  100  feet,  two  stories  in 
height,  was  erected  in  1902  during  the  life  of  the  firm 
of  Todd  & Bishop,  and  here  is  still  carried  a full  line 
of  first-class  general  merchandise  of  all  kinds.  The 
building  is  located  on  Main  Street,  in  the  heart  of  the 
business  district,  and  trade  is  attracted  not  only  from 
all  over  Jennings,  but  from  the  surrounding  country- 
side. Mr.  Todd  was  a democrat  in  his  political  views 
and  always  gave  his  party  loyal  support.  As  a citizen 
the  best  interests  of  the  community  found  in  him  a 
stanch  friend,  and  he  withheld  his  co-operation  from  no 
worthy  undertaking  calculated  to  promote  the  general 
welfare.  He  was  a devout  member  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church,  and  was  fraternally  connected  with 
the  local  lodges  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fel- 
lows and  the  Knights  of  the  Maccabees  in  which  he  had 
many  sincere  friends.  Mr.  Todd  was  vice  president  of 
the  Jennings  State  Bank,  but  the  greater  part  of  his 
attention  was  devoted  to  the  business  which  still  stands 
as  a monument  to  his  industry  and  business  ability. 

Mr.  Todd  was  married  in  Missouri  to  Miss  Anna 
Collier,  who  died  in  that  state,  leaving  one  daughter: 
Gorda  May,  who  is  the  wife  of  T.  O.  Ham,  of  Jennings, 
and  has  two  children,  Earl  and  Mabel.  In  1892,  Mr. 
Todd  was  married  in  Washington  to  Miss  Alice  White- 
head,  who  was  born  November  27,  1874,  at  Sedalia, 
Missouri,  and  was  reared  in  that  state.  They  became 
i the  parents  of  three  children:  Edmond  Jasper,  one  of 
the  enterprising  young  business  men  of  Jennings,  en- 
gaged with  his  mother  in  conducting  the  business,  who 
married  Miss  Nell  McLain,  of  Tryon,  Oklahoma,  a former 
teacher  in  the  public  schools ; and  Zoe  and  Flo,  who  reside 
with  their  mother.  Mrs.  Todd  is  a devout  member  of 
the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  in  the  work  of  which 
she  has  been  active,  as  she  is  also  in  the  Ladies  of  the 
Maccabees.  The  late  Mr.  Todd,  when  he  could  leave 
the  cares  of  business,  enjoyed  nothing  more  than  a 
hunting  trip.  He  kept  several  hounds  and  had  some- 
thing more  than  a local  reputation  as  a deer  hunter, 
seldom  returning  from  a trip  without  some  noble  trophy 
of  the  chase. 

Carl  I.  Huffaker.  On  other  pages  of  this  publica- 
tion will  be  found  an  ample  sketch  of  the  prominent 
Huffaker  family,  which  for  many  years  has  been  closely 
identified  not  only  with  the  history  of  Kansas  but  also 
of  Oklahoma.  Several  active  representatives  of  this 
family  are  now  found  in  Northeastern  Oklahoma,  and 
one  of  them  is  Carl  I.  Huffaker,  who  until  recently  was 
postmaster  of  Fairfax  in  Osage  County  and  has  been 
more  or  less  closely  identified  with  affairs  in  that  section 
for  the  past  ten  years. 

A son  of  Hon.  Thomas  Sears  and  Eliza  A.  (Baker) 
Huffaker,  he  was  born  at  Council  Grove,  Kansas,  Janu- 
ary 24,  1880.  He  grew  up  in  the  old  Kansas  town 
where  his  family  have  helped  to  make  history  since  ter- 
ritorial days,  and  lived  there  until  1904.  In  1899  he 
graduated  from  the  Council  Grove  High  School,  and  for 
the  following  3%  years  was  employed  in  the  Council 
Grove  waterworks  and  electric  light  plant.  He  first 
came  to  Fairfax,  Oklahoma,  in  1904,  where  he  became 
identified  with  the  Santa  Fe  Railroad  Company..  He 
was  with  the  Santa  Fe  five  years,  a part  of  that  time  in 
the  general  offices  at  Topeka.  The  rest  of  the  period, 
eighteen  months,  he  was  connected  with  the  offices  of  the 


Cudahy  Packing  Company,  and  during  this  time  he  was 
transferred  from  one  place  to  another  in  Oklahoma, 
Colorado,  Missouri  and  Kansas. 

In  1910  Mr.  Huffaker  returned  to  Fairfax  and  in  the 
following  year  was  appointed  postmaster.  Fairfax  has 
a third  class  office  and  Mr.  Huffaker  gave^to  the  service 
a most  capable  and  painstaking  administration.  His 
term  of  office  expired  in  the  fall  of  1915,  and  he  is 
now  the  owner  of  the  electric  light  and  power  plant  at 
Fairfax,  which  he  began  to  install  before  leaving  the 
postoffice. 

In  politics  Mr.  Huffaker  has  been  a republican  ever 
since  casting  his  first  vote.  He  is  a member  of  the 
Metho&ist  Church  and  in  the  Masonic  fraternity  is 
affiliated  with  the  lodge.  Royal  Arch  Chapter,  Knight 
Templar  Commandery  and  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  is 
unmarried.  Mr.  Huffaker  also  owns  a half  interest  in 
the  Fairfax  Drug  Company. 

Joseph  L.  Rogers.  At  the  time,  in  1889,  when  the 
present  State  of  Oklahoma  had  the  first  portion  of  its 
territory  thrown  open  to  settlement,  just  prior  to  the 
formal  organization  of  the  territory,  Mr.  Rogers  became 
one  of  the  progressive  citizens  of  Chandler,  the  present 
judicial  center  of  Lincoln  County,  and  as1  one  of  the 
pioneers  of  this  commonwealth  he  has  played  well  his 
part  in  aiding  the  march  of  development  and  progress 
along  both  civic  and  industrial  lines.  Like  many  others 
he  has  met  with  reverses  at  certain  stages  in  his  career, 
but  he  has  not  been  daunted  or  discouraged,  but  has 
pressed  forward  with  ambition  and  determined  purpose, 
with  the  result  that  he  now  holds  place  as  one  of  the 
substantial  representatives  of  the  agricultural  interests 
of  Pawnee  County,  where  his  well  improved  farm  is 
situated  about  five  miles  distant  from  the  Village  of 
Jennings,  his  landed  estate  comprising  320  acres.  He  is 
one  of  the  substantial  farmers  and  vigorous  and  public- 
spirited  citizens  of  Pawnee  County,  commands  secure 
place  in  the  confidence  and  good  will  of  the  community 
and  is  fully  entitled  to  recognition  in  this  history  of 
the  state  of  his  adoption. 

Mr.  Rogers  was  born  at  Red  Oak,  Montgomery  County, 
Iowa,  on  the  12th  of  November,  1852,  and  is  a son  of 
Richard  W.  and  Salina  (Billman)  Rogers,  the  former 
of  whom  was  born  in  Kentucky  and  the  latter  in  Indiana, 
their  marriage  having  been  solemnized  in  Jackson  County, 
Illinois,  The  father  passed  the  closing  period  of  his 
life  in  the  home  of  his  son,  Joseph  L.,  of  this  review, 
and  thus  his  death  occurred  in  Pawnee  County,  Okla- 
homa Territory,  where  he  passed  away  on  the  10th  of 
March,  1905,  at  which  time  he  was  seventy-five  years 
and  four  months  old;  his  widow  now  resides  in  the  home 
of  her  youngest  daughter,  at  Centralia,  Washington. 

Richard  W.  Rogers  removed  from  Illinois  and  be'came 
one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  in  Montgomery  County,  Iowa. 
He  assisted  in  the  erection  of  the  first  three  houses  in 
that  county  and  there  became  a substantial  farmer  and 
honored  and  influential  citizen.  He  represented  the 
county  several  terms  in  the  Lower  House  of  the  Iowa 
Legislature  and  was  called  upon  to  serve  also  in  various 
local  offices  of  public  trust.  His  entire  active  career 
was  one  of  close  identification  with  the  basic  industry 
of  agriculture,  and  he  reclaimed  and  improved  one  of 
the  excellent  farms  of  Montgomery  County,  Iowa.  This 
sterling  citizen  showed  his  intrinsic  loyalty  and  patriot- 
ism through  his  valiant  service  as  a soldier  in  the  Mex- 
ican war,  and  he  went  forth  also  as  a soldier  of  the  Union 
in  the  Civil  war,  his  widow  now  receiving  a pension  in 
recognition  of  his  services  in  the  Mexican  war.  He 
was  a stanch  supporter  of  .the  cause  of  the  democratic 
party  and  many  years  ago  both  he  and  his  wife  became 
zealous  members  of  the  Missionary  Baptist  Church,  in 


2126 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


which  he  served  as  a deacon  for  a very  prolonged  period 
and  virtually  until  the  time  of  his  death.  Of  the  eight 
children  the  subject  of  this  sketch  was  the  second  in 
order  of  birth,  the  eldest  being  William,  who  maintains 
his  home  in  the  State  of  New  Mexico;  Alice  is  the  wife 
of  Ves.  S.  Hibbins,  of  Lincoln,  Illinois;  Isaac  is  a resi- 
dent of  Prescott,  Arizona;  May  is  the  wife  of  Prank 
Meadows,  of  Pawnee  County,  Oklahoma ; Richard  met 
an  accidental  death,  having  been  killed  by  a fall  from 
a bridge  near  the  City  of  Albuquerque,  New  Mexico,  Ke 
having  been  a bridge-builder  by  occupation  at  the  time; 
Ida  Belle  is  the  widow  of  George  Piske  and  resides  at 
Chandler,  Oklahoma;  and  Artie  is  the  wife  of  Edward  A. 
Bacon,  of  Centralia,  Washington. 

In  his  native  county  Joseph  L.  Rogers  was  reared  to 
the  age  of  fourteen  years  and  there  he  acquired  his  early 
education  in  the  district  schools.  At  the  age  noted  he 
accompanied  his  parents  on  their  removal  to  Cherokee 
County,  Kansas,  where  his  father  repeated,  his  experiences 
as  a pioneer  farmer,  the  family  home  being  there  estab- 
lished for  many  years.  He  continued  to  attend  school 
at  such  times  as  his  services  were  not  demanded  in  con- 
nection with  the  work  of  the  home  farm,  and  when  twenty 
years  of  age  he  went  to  Chautauqua  County,  Kansas, 
where  he  continued  his  identification  with  agricultural 
pursuits  until  1889,  when  he  became  one  of  the  pioneers 
in  Oklahoma  Territory,  as  previously  stated.  At 
Chandler  he  engaged  in  the  grocery  and  feed  business, 
and  there  he  continued  operations  until  the  Cherokee 
Strip  was  thrown  open  to  settlement,  in  1893,  when  he 
made  the  run  into  this  new  country  and  filed  claim 
to  his  present  homestead,  which  he  has  developed  into 
one  of  the  excellent  farms  of  Pawnee  County,  the  rev- 
enues from  the  same  being  materially  augmented  by  the 
leases  which  he  had  made  in  connection  with  the  oil 
development  work  in  this  section.  There  is  one  produc- 
ing oil  well  on  the  farm  at  the  present  time,  and  in 
addition  to  his  general  farm  industry  Mr.  Rogers  open 
ates  each  season  his  two  modern  threshing  outfits,  with 
which  he  covers  a wide  area  of  country  and  does  a 
profitable  business.  At  Cleveland,  Pawnee  County,  Mr. 
Rogers  operated  a cotton  gin  and  corn  mill  until  the 
line  of  the  Atchison,  Topeka  and  Santa  Pe  Railroad 
was  extended  through  that  place,  when  the  railroad  com- 
pany condemned  his  property  for  its  use  and  purchased 
the  same.  Mr.  Rogers  has  devoted  one  year  to  railroad 
contract  work  since  he  established  his  residence  on 
his  present  homestead,  which  he  now  gives  over  largely 
to  the  raising  of  excellent  grades  of  live  stock.  He  was 
associated  with  the  Canfield  brothers  in  the  organization 
of  the  Jennings  State  Bank  and  was  its  first  president. 
This  was  the  first  bank  in  the  village  and  he  assisted 
materially  in  its  development  and  upbuilding,  though  he 
has'  since  disposed  of  his  interest  in  the  same.  Mr. 
Rogers  lias  served  in  various  township  offices  since  he 
established  his  residence  in  Pawnee  County,  and  is  one 
of  the  influential  representatives  of  the  democratic  party 
in  this  county. 

On  the  25th  of  December,  1878,  Mr.  Rogers  married 
Miss  Marian  M.  Rawlings,  who  was  born  in  Jackson 
County,  Illinois,  on  the  4th  of  March,  1859,  a daughter 
of  David  and  Sarah  (Carr)  Rawlings,  both  of  whom 
were  born  in  the  State  of  Tennessee,  their  marriage  hav- 
ing been  solemnized  in  Illinois,  and  the  closing  period  of 
their  lives  having  been  passed  in  Ripley  County,  Mis- 
souri. Mr.  and  Mrs.  Rogers  became  the  parents  of  four 
children,  of  whom  only  the  firstborn  is  living,  William  M., 
who  resides  upon  and  has  practical  charge  of  the  home- 
stead farm  of  his  father.  He  wedded  Miss  Laura  Will 
and  they  have  six  children,  Manila,  Chelsea,  Robert,  Iris, 
Laura  May,  and  Leon.  Bertha,  the  second  child  of 


Mr.  and  Mrs.  Rogers,  died  at  the  age  of  eighteen  months;  I 
Pollie  died  at  the  age  of  four  months ; and  Callahan  died  } 
at  the  age  of  four  years. 


W.  B.  Allen  of  Bartlesville  has  practiced  law  in 
Washington  bounty  for  the  past  fifteen  years,  though  a 


part  of  that  time  was  spent  in  school  work  and  he  is 
well  known  in  Northern  Oklahoma  in  educational  circles 
and  still  keeps  an  active  interest  in  that  department  of 
public  affairs.  His  own  education  was  secured  only 
through  hard  and  constant  labor  and  sacrifice,  and  it  is 
probable  that  his  remembrance  of  his  own  early  struggles 
has  been  the  cause  of  devoting  himself  so  zealously  to 
higher  standards  of  public  school  training.  He  is  one 
of  the  prominent  and  capable  members  of  the  Wash- 
ington County  bar  and  has  handled  a very  high  class 
and  important  practice. 

He  was  born  in  Pranklin  County,  Kansas,  May  20, 
1868,  a son  of  William  J.  and  Charlotte  (Stith)  Allen, 
both  of  whom  are  natives  of  Tennessee,  but  were  mar- 
ried at  Petersburg,  Illinois.  In  1862  William  J.  Allen 
enlisted  in  the  One  Hundred  and  Fourteenth  Regiment 
of  Illinois  Infantry,  took  part  in  the  Vicksburg  cam- 
paign, and  in  1864  was  in  the  expedition  sent  after 
General  Forrest.  At  Guntown,  Mississippi,  he  was 
wounded,  his  hip  bone  being  broken,  and  falling  into  the. 
hands  of  the  enemy  he  was  confined  in  Cahaba  Prison! 
until  the  close  of  the  war,  when  he  returned  to  Illinois.! 
The  next  year  he  removed  to  Kansas,  located  on  a farmi 
in  Franklin  County,  went  from  there  in  1872  to  Chau-i 
tauqua  County,  and  continued  farming  until  his  death 
in  1895  at  the  age  of  sixty-one.  His  family- were  whigs  t 
in  early  American  polities,  and  he  gave  his  constant  and- 
loyal  support  to  the  republican  organization.  His  wife, 
who  was  born  in  1841,  died  at  the  age  of  fifty  years. 
Of  their  six  sons  and  four  daughters,  three  sons  and 
one  daughter  are  now  deceased,  and  W.  B.  Allen  was 
fourth  in  order  of  birth. 

With  an  early  training  on  the  home  farm  and  in  the 
district  schools  of  Kansas  W.  B.  Allen  at  the  age  of 
twenty  entered  upon  his  career  as  teacher.  Most  of  his 


fertile 


education  in  the  meantime  had  come  from  study  duringJ|j  f,'t| 


spare  times  between  farm  duties,  and  when  he  became 
a teacher  he  entered  upon  his  work  with  an  enthusiasm 
and  understanding  that  brought  a high  appreciation  to 
his  service.  He  taught  for  ten  years  in  the  country 
schools,  then  for  five  years  was  a salesman  for  a whole-! 
sale  house  on  the  road,  and  with  the  means  he  had  thusi  E H| 
accumulated  he  took  up  the  study  of  law  at  Fort  Scott;® 
Kansas,  in  the  office  of  Judge  J.  D.  Hill.  Admitted  tc 
the  bar  in  1899,  after  two  years  of  practice  at  Fort  Scott 
Mr.  Allen  located  at  Dewey,  Oklahoma,  in  1901.  Dur- 
ing 1901-02  he  was  superintendent  of  schools  at  Dewey: 
and  for  the  following  year  taught  and  served  as  super 
intendent  at  Pryor.  Then  came  two  years  in  the  Town 
of  Talala,  but  in  1905  he  returned  to  Dewey 
resumed  practice.  In  1914,  in  order  the  better  tc 
attend  to  his  large  clientage,  Mr.  Allen  moved  to  Bartles 
ville.  He  is  a constant  student,  keeps  fully  abreast  oi 
the  advancements  made  in  his  calling,  and  holds  me 
bership  in  the  leading  legal  organizations. 

Politically  he  was  a republican  until  the  campaign 
of  1912,  when  he  became  a progressive.  He  is  less 
party  man  than  a public  spirited  citizen  working  for  t 
best  interests  of  his  home  county  and  state.  While 
Dewey  he  spent  three  years  as  a member  of  the  school 
board  and  was  an  influential  factor  in  bringing  abou: 
the  erection  of  a new  high  school  building  at  a cost  o 
$40,-000,  and  when  this  was  destroyed  by  fire  anothe’ 
structure  was  erected  costing  $75,000.  The  movem 
for  a new  courthouse  in  Washington  County  had  twifK^ 


§®i; ' 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2127 


. 

■ ' •; 


s : 

. 

All; 

: 


suffered  defeat  when  Mr.  Allen  was  made  chairman  of 
the  committee.  He  brought  the  plan  and  proposition  so 
forcibly  before  the  people  that  at  the  next  election  an 
overwhelming  majority  was  given  for  the  new  court- 
house, fully  80  per  cent  of  the  votes  being  in  favor 
of  the  measure.  As  city  attorney,  an  office  he  filled 
several  years,  Mr.  Allen  was  fought  constantly  by  the 
worst  element,  but  stood  unflinchingly  for  a strict 
enforcement  of  the  law.  His  own  private  life  has  been 
exemplary.  He  has  never  touched  liquor  nor  tobacco, 
has  never  gambled,  and  since  early  manhood  has  applied 
himself  unceasingly  to  the  service  and  duties  which 
have  been  his  lot.  He  finds  his  greatest  pleasure  in  his 
home,  and  his  leisure  is  usually  spent  there  surrounded 
by  his  books  and  papers.  He  is  also  a man  of  genial 
fellowship,  and  is  a member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity. 

In  1897  Mr.  Allen  married  Miss  Susie  Keefer,  who 
was  born  at  Van  Buren,  Arkansas,  in  1876.  Her  father, 
Louis  Keefer,  now  a resident  of  Bartlesville,  was  born 
in  Alsace,  France,  and  during  t'he  American  Civil  war 
served  in  the  Third  Wisconsin  Cavalry.  They  are  the 
parents  of  two  children : Ida  Grace,  born  in  1902 ; and 
Wendell  B.,  born  in  1904. 


Stringer  W.  Fenton.  A small,  quiet,  unassuming 
man,  with  a keen  eye,  a quick  wit,  an  alert  body,  muscles 
at  a glance,  is  the 


of  steel  and  a nerve  of  iron,  such, 0 , „ 

™°‘  chief  of  police  of  Cleveland,  Oklahoma,  the  hero  of  a 
l iam  hundred  battles  with  desperate  outlaws,  the  man  whom 
1 “ his  friends  claim  to  be  the  best  detective  in  the  United 
■ ™ States,  Stringer  W.  Fenton.  The  criminal  history  of 
‘ “I  Oklahoma  is  one  which  is  crowded  with  the  deeds  and 
llt  31  achievements  of  men  of  courage  and  daring,  officers  of 
^ ;he  law  who  have  repeatedly  taken  their  lives  in  their 
Jeai  lands  in  their  endeavors  to  rid  one  of  the  country’s  most 
'li  JE  Fertile,  wealthy  and  beautiful  states  of  its  criminal  ele- 
■d  wl  nent ; but  in  the  entire  record  there  is  found  no  one 
nan  whose  achievements  have  overshadowed  those  of 
•“'llhief  Fenton. 

Born  June  15,  1865,  near  Lexington,  Rockbridge 
ounty,  Virginia,  Chief  Fenton  comes  of  fighting  stock, 
lis  father,  Stephen  J.  Fenton,  having  been  a lieutenant 
":r  n the  famous  “Stonewall  Brigade,”  under  that  intrepid 
liijiaa  louthern  leader,  Gen.  Thomas  J.  Jackson,  during  the 
atwat  war.  Lieutenant  Fenton  was  born  at  Baltimore, 

(ounii  Maryland,  and  early  in  life  engaged  in  contracting  and 
(uilding,  his  work  taking  him  to  Virginia,  where  he 
vas  ma  ried  to  Mary  E.  Enroe,  a native  of  Rockbridge 
bounty.  In  the  early  ’70s  he  took  his  family  to  Colum- 
da,  Boone  County,  Missouri,  where  his  death  occurred 
-ft  bout  1875,  when  he  was  sixty  years  of  age.  The  mother 
urvived  until  August,  1899,  and  died  at  Slater,  Saline 
D®  Jounty,  Missouri,  aged  seventy  years.  In  the  family 
is  snpi  here  were  seven  sons  and  four  daughters,  as  follows : 
r T||!  ohn,  who  enlisted  with  his  father  in  a Virginia  regi- 
lent  and  fought  in  General  Jackson’s  division,  now  a 
ssident  of  Howard  County,  Missouri ; G.  S.,  who  served 
iree  years  during  the  Civil  war  under  General  Gordon, 
ibsequently  became  a pioneer  farmer  of  Oklahoma,  was 
ppointed  the  first  sheriff  of  Kay  County  by  Governor 
enfro,  and  died  at  Newkirk,  Oklahoma;  J.  H.,  holding 
n official  position  at  Pawhuska,  farmed  in  Missouri 
ntil  1900,  when  he  became  a pioneer  agriculturist  of 
klahoma;  Mary,  who  died  as  the  wife  of  the  late  Jacob 
romwell,  of  Saline  County,  Missouri ; Mattie,  who  is 
le  wife  of  D.  P.  Meng,  of  Marshall,  Saline  County, 
issouri;  William,  a resident  of  Elk,  New  Mexico,  where 
3 was  a pioneer ; Jennie,  who  is  the  wife  of  William 
obson,  of  Kingman,  Kansas;  R.  T.  who  for  the  past 
b|II‘  ourteen  years  has  been  connected  with  the  United 
ell  ;"r:  tates  Enforcement  Department  of  Indian  Service ; 


. 

) cost 


Stringer  W.,  of  this  notice;  S.  P.,  who  is  engaged  in 
merchandising  at  Pawhuska;  and  Sallie,  deceased,  who 
was  the  wife  of  J.  H.  Jones. 

Stringer  W.  Fenton  was  a child  when  taken  to  Missouri, 
and  there  he  grew  to  young  manhood,  attending  the 
district  schools  and  working  in  a store  at  Slater  during 
the  winter  months  and  spending  his  summers  in  working 
on  the  farm.  When  eighteen  years  of  age  he  went  to 
Kingman,  Kansas,  where  he  was  subsequently  employed 
by  C.  D.  Hutchings,  George  F.  Berry  & Company  and 
Gillette  & Company.  At  the  age  of  twenty-one  years 
he  returned  to  Missouri  for  a short  time,  but  returned 
to  Kingman,  and  remained  there,  employed  as  stated, 
until  thq  opening  of  the  Oklahoma  country  in  1893,  when 
he  decided  to  try  his  fortunes  in  the  new  commonwealth. 
First  locating  at  Newkirk,  he  subsequently  went  to 
Pawhuska,  and  after  eight  years  came  to  Cleveland, 
in  1903,  this  city  since  having  been  his  home. 

On  his  arrival  in  Oklahoma  Mr.  Fenton  gave  his 
attention  to  farming  pursuits,  but  it  was  not  long  before 
his  courage,  strength  and  alertness  attracted  attention 
and  he  was  drawn  into  police  work.  He  became  a gov- 
ernment official  in  Osage  County  (then  Osage  Reserva- 
tion) and  continued  as  a deputy  United  States  marshal 
until  the  close  of  Abernathy’s  administration.  At  the 
time  of  the  attainment  of  statehood,  he  was  appointed 
by  .Governor  Haskell  a member  of  the  body  of  men  form- 
ing the  State  Enforcement  Officers,  and  continued  to 
hold  that  position  for  four  years,  when  he  became  spe- 
cial agent  for  the  Missouri,  Kansas  & Texas  Railroad. 
He  resigned  in  December,  1912,  to  go  to  Mexico,  where 
he  passed  the  winter  in  viewing  the  insurrection,  and  on 
his  return  to  Cleveland  was  elected  chief  of  police,  an 
office  to  which  he  was  reelected  in  1915. 

During  his  long  and  exciting  career,  Chief  Fenton  has 
passed  through  many  interesting  and  dangerous  ex- 
periences, of  which  but  a few  can  be  mentioned  in  this 
article.  The  Martins  and  Simons,  notorious  bank  and 
train  robbers,  had  his  skill  and  courage  to  thank  for 
their  capture.  One  of  his  notable  achievements  was  the 
capture  of  Henry  Starr,  the  bank  robber,  a feat  which 
illustrates  the  swiftness  with  which  Chief  Fenton  works, 
in  that,  leaving  Bartlesville  May  5,  1910,  he  caught 
his  man  at  Bouse,  Arizona,  took  him  back  to  Phoenix, 
in  the  same  state,  then  to  Lamar,  Colorado,  and  arrived 
in  Oklahoma  again  on  the  25th.  Another  noted  capture 
was  that  of  C.  Henry,  wanted  for  the  murder  of  two 
men,  who  it  was  said  had  five  murders  behind  him,  and 
who,  until  Chief  Fenton  got  on  his  trail,  had  eluded  the 
officers  of  the  law  for  two  years.  He  has  been  par- 
ticularly active  and  successful  in  running  down  boot- 
leggers and  confiscating  many  carloads  of  whiskey,  an 
extremely  dangerous  and  difficult  work,  entailing  de- 
tective ability  of  no  small  order  and  clear  headed  cour- 
age to  offset  the  criminal  desperation  of  bad  men  made 
doubly  bad  by  the  alcohol  which  they  have  freely  sampled 
while  bringing  their  illegal  cargo  into  the  state.  It  was 
this  indefatigable  western  Vidocq  who  rounded  up  the 
train  robbers  at  South  Coffeyville,  and  who  killed  the 
notorious  Elmer  MeUrday,  who  held  up  the  Missouri, 
Kansas  & Texas  train  and  robbed  it  at  Okesa,  Oklahoma. 

In  the  line  of  his  duty,  Chief  Fenton  has  been  com- 
pelled to  shoot  a number  of  men,  but  only  in  self 
defense,  for  it  has  always  been  his  aim  to  capture  his 
man  alive.  On  three  occasions  he  has  been  shot  from 
ambush  by  criminals  who  have  feared  and  hated  him, 
but  his  worst  wound  was  received  while  in  a battle 
with  a desperado  whom  he  was  compelled  to  kill.  On 
December  26,  1914,  A1  Crain,  criminal  and  bad  man, 
was  holding  up  twenty-five  men  in  a pool  room  and 
relieving  them  of  their  money  and  valuables.  Word 


2128 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


was  taken  to  Chief  Fenton,  who  decided  to  try  to  take 
him  without  killing  him,  but  Crain  grazed  him  with  three 
shots  and  then  sent  a bullet  through  his  leg.  The  chief’s 
shot  went  true,  as  his  shots  have  a habit  of  doing,  and 
Oklahoma  was  rid  of  another  criminal. 

While  Chief  Fenton  is  best  known  for  his  work  as 
a police  and  government  official,  he  has  also  engaged  at 
various  times  in  business  ventures,  having  been  the 
founder  of  the  Cleveland  Leader,  a weekly  newspaper, 
his  interest  in  which,  however,  he  has  since  sold.  He 
also  had  holdings  in  farm  land  and  is  engaged  in  agri- 
cultural ventures,  but  it  may  be  said  that  his  official 
work  has  his  sympathy  and  affection.  A democrat  in 
politics,  he  was  a delegate  to  the  El  Eeno  convention, 
in  1900,  from  the  Osage  Reservation,  his  associates  being 
William  Murdoch,  John  Palmer  and  Sylvester  Saldina. 
He  has  been  a Woodman  at  Pawhuska  for  fifteen  years, 
and  is  prominent  in  Masonry,  belonging  to  the  Blue 
Lodge  and  Chapter  at  Cleveland,  the  Consistory  at 
Guthrie  and  the  Commandery  at  Pawnee. 

On  February  1,  1905,  Chief  Fenton  was  married  to 
Miss  Nellie  Rice,  a native  of  Missouri,  and  daughter  of 
Q.  A.  Rice.  They  have  an  adopted  daughter:  Edith. 

Morris  L.  Wardell,  now  principal  of  the  Guymon 
High  School,  has  lived  in  Oklahoma  fifteen  years,  com- 
pleted his  education  in  the  state  schools,  and  is  one  of 
the  young  and  enthusiastic  men  who  carry  into  their 
work  in  the  schoolroom  a wide  range  of  practical  knowl- 
edge and  a capable  experience  in  the  agricultural  indus- 
try which  is  at  the  basis  of  permanent  prosperity  in 
his  section  of  the  state. 

Mr.  Wardell  was  born  on  a farm  in  Lawrence  County, 
Illinois,  June  19,  1889,  a son  of  William  and  Melissa 
(Shinn)  Wardell.  His  father  was  born  in  the  same 
county  and  state  December  12,  1849,  a son  of  Anthony 
and  Susan  (Pinkstaff)  Wardell,  who  were  of  Scotch 
parentage.  William  Wardell  has  spent  his  active  career 
as  a farmer  and  in  1903  sold  out  his  holdings  in  Illinois, 
and  moving  to  Oklahoma  bought  land  ten  miles  east  of 
Alva  in  what  was  then  Woods  County  but  is  now  Alfalfa 
County.  In  that  locality  he  has  lived  for  the  past 
thirteen  years  and  has  gone  in  for  the  raising  of  alfalfa 
and  blooded  horses  on  a large  scale.  When  he  was  about 
forty  years  of  age  he  became  a member  of  the  United 
Brethren  Church,  and  has  since  been  very  active  in  its 
cause.  On  September  7,  1871,  William  Wardell  married 
Miss  Melissa  Shinn,  who  was  born  in  Ohio,  November 
23,  1851,  a daughter  of  Aaron  and  Emily  (Hughes) 
Shinn,  the  father  a native  of  Virginia  and  the  mother 
of  Ohio.  William  Wardell  and  wife  had  eight  children: 
Charles,  born  August  9,  1874,  is  now  administer  of  the 
United  Brethren  Church.  In  1903  he  married  Eva  Cun- 
ningham, and  their  one  child,  Gertrude,  was  born  Sep- 
tember 22,  1905.  Elmer,  the  second  child,  born  January 
20,  1876,  died  September  15,  1876.  An  infant  girl,  born 
June  5,  1877,  -died  the  same  day.  Mary,  a twin  sister  of 
Mattie,  born  August  17,  1878,  died  March  1,  1879. 
Mattie,  born  August  17,  1878,  is  unmarried  and  living 
with  her  parents.  Jessie,  born  February  2,  1881,  died 
February  8,  1881.  Chester,  born  May  23,  1882,  was 
married  in  1904  to  Myrtle  Mills,  and  they  live  in  Colo- 
rado Springs,  Colorado. 

The  eighth  and  youngest  of  the  family,  Morris  L. 
Wardell,  spent  the  first  fourteen  years  of  his  life  on 
his  father’s  farm  in  Lawrence  County,  Illinois.  While 
there  he  attended  the  public  schools.  Coming  with  the 
family  to  Oklahoma,  he  continued  his  education  during 
1905-06  in  the  Stella  Friends  Academy  at  Ingersoll.  In 
1906  he  entered  the  Oklahoma  Northwestern  State  Nor- 
mal at  Alva,  where  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of 


1912.  In  the  meantime  he  had  taught  several  tennsill 
of  school,  actually  paying  a large  part  of  his  expenses  ID  , 
in  college.  Mr.  Wardell  gained  a reputation  in  several  II  '!' 
diverse  lines  of  college  activities.  For  two  years  he  was  H 1 
a member  of  the  state  debating  team.  He  was  also  for  jj  #t 
two  years  associate  and  editor  of  the  college  paper,!]#  ® 
The  Northwestern.  He  did  much  in  the  Students’  League  ID  I1' 
work  and  was  also  one  of  the  athletes  of  the  college.  5ji  *“ 
During  1912-13  Mr.  Wardell  was  principal  of  the  high  | 
school  at  Geary,  Oklahoma.  In  1914-15  he  was  a teacher  1 * 
in  the  Panhandle  Agricultural  Institute  at  Goodwell,  I . 
Oklahoma.  In  the  meantime  he  had  filed  on  Government  D IB. 
land  in  Texas  County,  and  still  owns  480  acres  which  1 (! 
he  is  rapidly  developing  as  a farm  and  ranch.  In  1914  II  Pj° 
he  was  republican  nominee  for  county  superintendent  of  | ?'r' 
public  instruction  of  Texas  County,  and  lost  the  election  II 's 
by  only  thirty-eight  votes.  Since  September  1,  1915,  | m 
he  has  been  principal  of  the  Guymon  High  School.  Mr.  || 
Wardell  is  a member  of  the  United  Brethren  Church. 


Willtam  Lewis  • Detwiler  is  a veteran  westerner, 
having  lived  in  several  of  the  states  beyond  the  Missis- 
sippi for  forty  years.  His  early  career  was  that  of  a 
railroad  man,  and  he  was  in  the  rairoad  service  during 
the  Civil  war.  He  was  one  of  the  early  settlers  and 
homesteaders  in  the  Oklahoma  Panhandle  country  and  is 
now  engaged  in  the  real  estate  and  loan  business  at 
Knowles  in  Beaver  County. 

His  h’rth  occurred  at  Pottstown,  Pennsylvania,  Octo- 
ber 1,  1844.  His  parents,  William  H.  and  Mary  (Longa- 
baugh)  Detwiler,  were  born  in  Pennsylvania  of  German 
stock.  William  L.  was  the  first  of  their  five  children. 
John  Barton  is  now  deceased;  Mary  Jane  is  the  wife 
of  Joseph  Perkins;  Laura  is  the  wife  of  Rev.  John 
Gallagher;  Josephine  is  the  wife  of  Fred  Clinton. 

The  early  life  of  W.  L.  Detwiler  was  spent  in 
Wheeling,  West  Virginia,  where  he  attended  the  local 
schools.  That  was  before  West  Virginia  was  a state.* 

At  the  age  of  seventeen  he  took  up  railroading,  entering! is  to 
the  service  of  that  pioneer  railroad,  the  Baltimore  &j|  »' ■ 
Ohio,  and  during  the  Civil  war  was  advanced  to  the jl  »i  si 
position  of  a conductor.  He  followed  railroading  actively 
both  in  the  East  and  West  for  twenty  years.  His  homei 
has  been  in  the  West  since  1876,  and  in  that  year  he> 
conducted  the  first  passenger  train  running  west  of 
Lincoln,  Nebraska,  over  the  Burlington  Railroad.  For 
a number  of  years  he  also  followed  prospecting  for  gold 
in  the  Rocky  Mountains. 

Mr.  Detwiler  came  to  Oklahoma  in  1900,  locating  on 
a tract  of  Government  land  in  Beaver  County.  That  land 
is  still  in  his  possession  and  has  been  greatly  improved 
from  the  condition  in  which  he  first  found  it.  He  has 
employed  his  energies  and  capital  in  cattle  raising,  farm- 
ing and  also  in  selling  real  estate,  and  his  operations  at] 
a real  estate  man  included  participation  in  the  founding 
of  the  Town  of  Knowles,  where  he  now  has  his  office| 

A democrat  in  polities,  he  has  never  been  a candidate 
for  office,  though  he  has  done  much  in  the  way  of  loea; 
betterment  in  his  home  town.  Mr.  Detwiler  is  a thirty 
second  degree  Scottish  Rite  Mason  and  a Mystic  Shriner 
and  also  belongs  to  the  Knights  of  Pythias. 

In  1886,  at  Linneus,  Missouri,  he  married  Miss  Martii 
A.  Dail,  a native  of  Linn  County,  Missouri.  Mr 
Mrs.  Detwiler  have  no  children  of  their  own,  bi 
adopted  a son,  Chester,  who  was  born  in  1898. 


lefoi 


Charles  F.  Taliaferro,  M.  D.  In  states  older  thai 
Oklahoma  it  has  been  many  years  since  men  travel® 
toward  a destination  in  a bee-line  direction  withoU 
having  to  turn  right-angled  corners  caused  by  seetion-lin 
roads.  It  has  been  but  ten  years  in  that  section 


tali  to 
farj 
ns  slaii 
Its  sinci 
Ditto 
fc  pnbl 
Wait 

It  ns  a 
lit  tife, 
ttstelli 
iea 
tlilf  SBt 

E 

If  Talk 

itl 

Wtation 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2129 


Oklahoma  that  formerly  was  Indian  Territory  since  an 
individual  might  travel  indefinitely  in  any  diagonal 
direction  with  hindrances  only  of  rough  banked  streams 
or  wire  pasture  fences.  That  he  might  drive  ten  miles 
northwest  without  square  turns  and  mile-long  stretches 
was  an  interesting  thought  to  a doctor  on  a dark  night 
in  winter.  It  was  not  always  interesting,  however,  to 
contemplate  swollen  streams  or  dangerous  gullies  on  an 
unsurveyed  road  made  public  only  by  common  usage. 

These  general  statements  give  an  idea  of  conditions 
in  the  vicinity  of  Bennington  ten  years  ago,  as  well  as 
of  the  experiences  of  Dr.  Charles  F.  Taliaferro  as  a 
pioneer  physician  of  that  section.  The  “northwest” 
direction  mentioned  illustratively  is  significant,  for  it 
is  in  that  direction  that  the  doctor  has  traveled  for 
several  years  to  reach  the  ranch  of  John  Kirk  and  the 
kennels  of  the  doctor’s  blooded  hounds  kept  there  by 
Mr.  Kirk  for  fox  and  wolf  hunting  purposes.  The 
sporting  blood  of  more  than  one  generation  is  in  Doctor 
Taliaferro ’s  veins,  and  it  calls  him  out  into  the  forests 
and  mountains  every  fall  and  winter.  The  hounds  are 
of  as  good  blood  as  Tennessee  produces,  and  he  imported 
them  here  for  the  revival  of  a sport  tAat  nearly  became 
extinct  with  the  passing  of  the  big  Indian  reservations. 
Doctor  Taliaferro  is  a broad  and  liberal  minded  man, 
enthusiastic  for  his  community’s  uplift  and  progress; 
but  he  has  taken  a position  in  the  ranks  of  the  social 
lit  | and  municipal  activities  in  order  that  he  may  remain 
a general  in  the  woods. 

There  is  no  name  more  familiar  to  the  various  genera- 
tions of  national  and  particularly  Southern  history  than 
that  of  Taliaferro,  which  has  produced  soldiers,  states- 
men, and  people  famous  in  all  the  professions  and  voca- 
tions. Charles  F.  Taliaferro  was  born  in  1870  in  Ten- 
nessee, a son  of  William  H.  and  Martha  (Franklin) 
Taliaferro.  His  father,  a native  of  Tennessee,  fought 
as  a member  of  Company  B,  First  Tennessee  Cavalry, 
in  the  Confederate  army  during  the  war  between  the 
states.  The  grandfather  also  fought  for  the 'Confederacy, 
and  after  the  war  declined  to  vote  because  of  the  enfran- 
chisement of  the  negro.  Doctor  Taliaferro ’s  grand- 
uncle, Harden  Taliaferro,  a native  of  Virginia,  became 
the  founder  of  the  famous  female  institute  at  Muskogee, 
Alabama,  and  as  a minister  of  the  Baptist  faith  edited 
for  several  years  one  of  the  leading  religious  papers  of 
the  South,  known  as  the  Southwestern  Baptist.  Doctor 
Taliaferro’s  mother  was  descended  from  a prominent 
family  of  North  Carolina  which  produced  Colonel  Frank- 
lin,  a hero  of  the  American  Revolution,  and  Governor 
Jesse  Franklin  of  North  Carolina.  Both  Colonel  Frank- 
lin and  Col.  Richard  Taliaferro,  the  latter  a prominent 
. . .fimember  in  the  early  generations  of  the  Taliaferros, 
aj;0js  fought  with  those  gallant  North  Carolina  troops  and 
jomfl  rangers  in  the  war  of  the  revolution.  In  the  bloody 
0fi  hand  to  hand  fight  with  the  British  of  Tarleton’s 
Cavalry  at  Guilford  Court  House,  Col.  Richard  Taliaferro 
: 0[  in  was  slain,  was  buried  at  the  battlefield,  and  a monument 
las  since  been  erected  to  his  memory. 

Doctor  Taliaferro ’s  early  education  was  acquired  in 
;he  public  schools  of  .Tennessee,  and  later  he  took  an 
icademic  course  at  Mount  Airy,  North  Carolina,  where 
le  was  a schoolmate  of  the  girl  who  subsequently  became 
ids  wife.  He  was  graduated  in  medicine  from  the  Ten- 
nessee Medical  College  at  Knoxville  in  1895,  and  in  that 
same  year  became  associated  with  Dr.  C.  M.  Drake, 
ihief  surgeon  for  the  East  Tennessee,  Virginia  and 
jjaTf  Georgia  Railway  Company.  Later  for  twelve  years  Doc- 
^ ;or  Taliaferro  practiced  in  James  County,  Tennessee, 
i luring  which  time  he  supplemented  his  early  medical 
"ducation  with  post-graduate  courses. 

On  January  3,  1907,  he  located  at  Bennington,  Okla- 


for  «i 


homa,  a town  which  was  a typical  non-progressive  village 
of  the  Indian  country,  but  destined  to  grow  to  a popula- 
tion of  1,500  in  less  than  ten  years.  There  were  but  two 
miles  of  improved  highway  in  the  community,  and  the 
country  was  largely  of  virgin  soil  and  almost  totally 
unsettled.  The  doctor’s  practice  for  a few  years  was 
scattered  over  a wide  area,  and  he  traveled  both  in  a 
buggy  and  on  horseback  as  the  occasion  demanded. 

In  January,  1896,  Doctor  Taliaferro  married  Miss  Ida 
Virginia  Boleyjack,  a daughter  of  Nat  and  Victoria 
(Bunker)  Boleyjack.  Her  maternal  grandfather  was 
Chang  Bunker,  who  was  one  of  the  noted  “Siamese 
Twins”  of  Mount  Airy,  North  Carolina.  Doctor  Talia- 
ferro is  a member  of  the  Odd  Fellows  and  Masonic 
lodges  and  of  the  Bryan  County  Medical  Society,  the 
Oklahoma  State  Medical  Society  and  the  American  Medi- 
cal Association.  He  has  acquired  some  of  the  best  farm- 
ing lands  of  that  notably  fertile  region  of  the  east  side 
of  Bryan  County  and  is  developing  it  along  modern 
lines.  Excursions  to  his  farm  are  nearly  always  likely 
to  lead  him  on  to  the  haunts  of  the  red  fox  hounds,  which, 
reminding  him  of  the  fox  hunting  days  of  his  earlier 
years  in  Tennessee,  make  him  one  of  the  stanchest  advo- 
cates in  Oklahoma  of  the  segregation  of  forest  and 
mountain  regions  and  the  propagation  and  protection  of 
wild  life. 

Marcus  L.  Lockwood,  who  for  a number  of  years  had 
lived  at  Tulsa,  was  a conspicuous  figure  not  alone  in 
Oklahoma  but  all  over  the  nation  as  a pioneer  oil 
operator  and  for  many  years  as  president  and  one  of 
the  most  vigorous  fighters  in  the  American  Anti-Trust 
League.  In  Oklahoma  Mr.  Lockwood  was  perhaps  best 
known  as  president  of  the  Sabine  Oil  and  Marketing 
Company  of  Oklahoma,  the  headquarters  of  which  organi- 
zation were  in  Tulsa. 

In  every  way  he  proved  himself  one  of  the  world ’s  pro- 
ductive workers,  and  though  at  the  time  of  his  death,  he 
had  passed  the  psalmist’s  span  of  three  sdore  and  ten,  he 
had  not  abated  his  vital  interest  in  and  association  with 
practical  affairs  of  life.  If  his  biography  were  written 
in  complete  detail  it  would  present  almost  a history  of  the 
great  American  petroleum  industry  from  its  pioneer  be- 
ginnings in  Western  Pennsylvania  until  the  second  decade 
of  the  twentieth  century.  He  began  operations  in  the  oil 
fields  of  Pennsylvania  and  then  extended  them  into  many 
other  states,  and  was  especially  concerned  in  development 
work.  He  was  long  recognized  as  an  authority  on  sub- 
jects of  petroleum  production,  but  he  perhaps  received 
his  widest  reputation  as  president  of  the  American  Anti- 
Trust  League,  of  which  he  was  one  of  the  organizers. 
From  first  to  last  he  was  implacable  in  his  opposition  to 
monopolistic  and  predatory  trust  organizations. 

A year  or  so  before  his  death  Mr.  Lockwood  addressed 
an  appeal  to  President  Woodrow  Wilson  for  a Govern- 
ment owned  and  operated  pipe  line  from  the  mid-con- 
tinent oil  fields  to  the  Gulf  of  Mexico.  This  letter  was 
widely  published  and  circulated  in  countless  form,  and 
one  of  the  newspapers  that  published  it  serially  said 
of  the  writer:  “There  lives  in  Tulsa  a man  known  to 

as  many  of  the  men  prominent  in  the  management  of 
the  affairs  of  this  government  as  anyone  in  Oklahoma; 
a man  who  has  done  as  much  as  almost  any  man  in  the 
United  States  to  bring  about  the  great  reform  now 
being  accomplished  at  Washington.  That  man  is  M.  L. 
Lockwood,  who  for  many  years  was  president  of  the 
American  Anti-Trust  League — a man  who  has  made  and 
spent  more  than  one  fortune,  and  much  of  this  having 
been  expended  in  this  fight  for  better  government  for 
the  people.  ’ ’ 


2130 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


For  many  years  before  his  death  Mr.  Lockwood’s 
name  was  familiarly  mentioned  in  the  American  press 
in  connection  with  his  efforts  to  regulate  and  curb  the 
trusts,  and  naturally  enough  Oklahoma  was  proud  to 
claim  him  as  a citizen. 

Marcus  L.  Lockwood  was  born  in  East  Hamburg, 
Erie  County,  New  York,  December  5,  1844,  a son  of 
Philo  B.  and  Polly  (Utley)  Lockwood,  the  former  a 
native  of  Dutchess  County,  New  York,  and  the  latter 
of  Vermont.  Philo  B.  Lockwood  died  at  the  age  of 
sixty-two  and  his  widow  survived  a number  of  years, 
passing  away  at  the  age  of  sixty-three.  Of  their  eight 
children  the  only  one  now  living  is  George  Lockwood 
of  Buffalo,  New  York.  Philo  B.  Lockwood  was  a suc- 
cessful farmer  in  New  York,  and  both  he  and  his  wife 
were  birthright  members  of  the  Society  of  Friends,  in 
which  organization  he  served  as  a preacher.  The  lineage 
of  the  Lockwood  family  in  America  goes  back  to  Robert 
Lockwood,  who  came  from  England  in  1630  and  settled 
at  Winthrop,  Massachusetts.  The  paternal  grandfather 
of  Marcus  L.  Lockwood  was  a patriot  soldier  in  the 
War  of  the  Revolution,  and  subsequently  became  a pioneer 
in  Western  New  York  State. 

It  was  with  a common  school  education  that  Marcus 
L.  Lockwood  began  his  early  career.  He  was  fourteen 
when  his  father  died  and  that  necessarily  threw  upon 
his  young  shoulders  responsibilities  beyond  his  age.  He 
helped  manfully  in  the  cultivation  and  operation  of  the 
old  homestead  farm  in  Erie  County,  New  York,  until 
1865.  At  the  age  of  twenty,  having  gained  the  consent 
of  his  devoted  mother,  he  went  into  the  oil  fields  of 
Pennsylvania.  The  petroleum  industry  was  then  in  its 
infancy.  His  first  experience  was  in  dressing  the  tools 
used  in  the  operation  of  the  oil  wells  in  the  Cherry 
Creek  district  and  near  the  old  Humboldt  Oil  Refinery. 
Later  he  started  out  as  an  independent  oil  producer, 
a member  of  the  firm  of  Patterson  & Lockwood.  In  1888 
Mr.  Lockwood  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Pure  Oil 
Company,  a Pennsylvania  corporation  of  which  he  later 
became  a trustee.  He  was  also  one  of  the  organizers  of 
the  Sabine  Oil  and  Marketing  Company  of  Pennsylvania, 
and  subsequently  of  the  Sabine  Oil  and  Marketing  Com- 
pany of  Oklahoma  in  1891.  The  date  of  the  organization 
of  the  latter  company  in  Oklahoma  shows  that  it  was 
one  of  the  pioneer  concerns  for  the  development  of  the 
oil  fields  of  Oklahoma.  In  fact,  during  the  next  decade 
very  little  oil  was  produced  in  the  Oklahoma  fields. 

However,  though  some  of  his  early  ventures  were 
failures,  Mr.  Lockwood  truly  led  the  way  in  the  develop- 
ment of  the  petroleum  interests  of  the  Middle  West  and 
Southwest.  In  1887  he  put  down  a well  near  Ottumwa  in 
Wapello  County,  Iowa,  and  in  the  following  year  drove 
another  well  at  Ackley,  in  Hardin  County  of  the  same 
state.  He  first  came  into  Indian  Territory  in  1888,  and 
' on  the  opening  of  Oklahoma  to  settlement  in  the  following 
year  he  took  a claim  to  the  northwest  quarter  of  the 
section  of  land  on  which  Oklahoma  City  now  stands. 

He  was  naturally  attracted  to  Beaumont,  Texas,  when 
the  Spindletop  gusher  brought  fame  to  that  hitherto 
obscure  city.  He  obtained  oil  and  gas  leases  on  2,800 
acres  of  land,  though  development  results  proved  unsatis- 
factory. He  next  bought  a producing  well  in  the  Spindle- 
top field,  and  provided  tanking  facilities  for  the  accom- 
modation of  750,000  barrels.  To  fill  these  tanks  required 

253.000  feet  of  lumber.  Mr.  Lockwood  then  purchased 
forty  acres  of  land  six  miles  distant  from  Spindletop, 
paying  $100  an  acre.  A pipe  line  was  constructed  from 
his  well  to  the  storage  tank,  and  as  a contract  operator 
he  arranged  for  the  taking  over  of  11,700,000  barrels  of 
crude  oil,  though  his  actual  receipts  did  not  exceed 

400.000  barrels.  He  contracted  for  the  product  at  the 


rate  of  30  cents  a barrel,  and  sold  the  oil  to  the  Standard 
Oil  and  independent  companies  for  from  50  to  82  cents 
a barrel. 

After  leaving  Texas  Mr.  Lockwood  was  identified  with 
development  operations  and  oil  production  at  Independ- 
ence and  other  points  in  the  State  of  Kansas.  In  1905 
he  established  his  home  at  Tulsa,  Oklahoma,  and  was  a 
resident  of  that  great  oil  center  until  his  death.  He 
acquired  the  ownership  of  20,000  acres  of  land  in  South- 
eastern Oklahoma  and  was  one  of  the  most  important 
factors  in  the  independent  oil  production  of  the  state. 

In  1897  the  late  Mr.  Lockwood  was  one  of  the  organ- 
izers of  the  American  Anti- Trust  League,  and  later  was 
elected  its  president.  Thenceforward  for  fifteen  years 
or  more  he  labored  in  season  and  out  for  bringing  about 
the  substantial  reforms  and  the  ideals  which  were  funda- 
mentally proclaimed  by  this  league.  The  league  has 
had  its  headquarters  in  Washington,  and  some  idea  of  its 
purposes  and  results  might  be  obtained  from  the  follow- 
ing quotation  which  is  found  in  an  address  issued  by 
the  executive  committee  of  the  league  signed  by  Mr. 
Lockwood  as  president  and  others:  “By  virtue  of  the 

action  of  the  Anti-Trust  League  there  assembled  in  the 
city  of  Chicago,  February  12,  1900,  a national  anti-trust 
conference,  composed  of  many  hundreds  of  representative 
citizens,  from  thirty-one  states  of  the  Union,  one  territory 
and  the  District  of  Columbia.  This  conference  was  non- 
partisan and  was  participated  in  by  earnest  men  and 
women  affiliated  with  the  different  political  parties  and 
by  independent  citizens  who  saw  the  danger  to  the  people 
living  and  those  yet  to  be  born,  in  those  rising  industrial 
combinations  commonly  known  as  trusts.  It  lasted  three 
days,  and  after  full  discussion  and  deliberation  it  adopted 
a platform  and  issued  an  address  to  the  people,  and 
instituted  a systematic  and  organized  warfare  upon  the 
criminal  trusts.  This  warfare  has  been  continuous,  wide- 
spread and  persistent  ever  since.  The  people  became 
aroused,  and  as  they  learned  more  and  more  of  the 
criminal  character  of  these  combinations  and  the  out- 
rageous wrongs  inflicted,  their  indignation  was  such  that 
the  political  parties  were  compelled  to  take  up  the 
question,  declare  their  hostility  to  the  trusts  and  promise 
their  destruction.  ’ ’ Every  well  informed  person  knows 
what  a vastly  different  attitude  is  now  maintained  toward 
criminal  trust  organizations  by  not  only  the  Government 
but  by  the  general  public,  and  in  giving  credit  for  this 
remarkable  change  which  has  occurred  in  the  past  fifteen 
years  mention  should  be  made  at  the  very  first  of  the 
Anti-Trust  League,  of  which  Mr.  Lockwood  was  president. 

Politically  Mr.  Lockwood  was  always  a true  democrat. 
From  1876  to  1880  he  served  as  a member  of  the  State 
Senate  of  Pennsylvania.  In  1900  he  was  a democratic 
candidate  for  representative  in  Congress  from  one  of 
the  strong  republican  districts  in  that  state,  and  by  his 
strong  hold  upon  the  confidence  and  esteem  of  the 
people  he  reduced  the  normal  republican  majority  by 
fully  2,000  votes,  so  that  the  campaign  was  a gratifying 
tribute  to  the  man  and  his  work  for  the  people.  Both 
he  and  his  wife  were  active  members  of  the  Presbyterian 
Church. 

On  October  11,  1871,  Mr.  Lockwood  married  Miss 
Lydia  H.  Tompkins,  only  daughter  of  Robert  Tompkins 
of  East  Hamburg,  Erie  County,  New  York.  After  a I 
happy  companionship  of  more  than  forty  years  Mrs.  I 
Lockwood  passed  away  February  1,  1914.  She  and  her  I 
husband  were  schoolmates  as  children,  and  their  married  I 
life  was  ideal.  Of  their  ten  children,  three  died  in  I 
infancy.  The  daughter,  Clara,  is  the  wife  of  Howard  I 
W.  Ailing  of  Jamestown,  New  York,  and  they  have  threel 
children;  Jennie  T.  is  the  wife  of  Harold  Helm,  alsol 
residents  of  New  York  State;  Mabel  is  the  wife  of  Roy ■ 


l enrol 


T, 

Ins  I 
lis  r 
Me 
His  1 
1 fell! 

I 

I fen, 
lbs  a 
I bllill: 
£ bus.'! 
I CP  of 

I *f  % 

I Oaklnn 


I Mtlua 

■Since  t 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


2131 


Porter  of  Guthrie,  Oklahoma,  and  they  have  one  child; 
Martha  is  the  wife  of  Schuyler  S.  French  of  Tulsa,  and 
they  have  one  child;  Robert  Ralph,  who  graduated  from 
Yale  University  and  from  the  law  department  of  Harvard 
University,  is  now  practicing  law  at  Tulsa;  Kate  is  the 
wife  of  Elton  Everett  of  Ottawa,  Kansas,  and  they  have 
two  children;  Philo  D.,  who  was  associated  with  his 
father  in  business  until  his  tragic  death  in  an  auto- 
mobile accident  in  October,  1914,  is  survived  by  his  widow, 
Mrs.  Delia  (Tyner)  Lockwood,  and  their  only  daughter. 

Andrew  J.  Lovett.  By  the  high  standard  of  its 
equipment  and  the  efficiency  of  its  school  work  the 
public  school  system  of  Blackwell  can  be  compared  on 
terms  of  favorable  equality  with  any  in  the  State  of 
Oklahoma.  The  citizens  of  Blackwell  are  not  loath  to 
give  credit  for  this  achievement  to  Prof.  Andrew  J. 
Lovett,  who  has  been  superintendent  of  the  public  schools 
in  that  city  for  the  past  nine  years,  and  has  worked 
indefatigably  as  an  organizer,  director  and  teacher.  He 
brought  to  his  position  a long  and  thorough  experience 
in  the  schoolroom  both  as  an  instructor  and  as  a super- 
intendent, and  the  results  obtained  by  him  at  Blackwell 
are  most  creditable. 

The  main  feature  of  the  Blackwell  school  system  is 
the  high  school  which  was  constructed  in  1910-11  at  a 
cost  of  $75,000.  It  is  one  of  the  very  modern  school 
buildings  in  Oklahoma.  It  contains  twenty-one  rooms, 
and  there  are  twenty  teachers  in  the  building.  The  prin- 
cipal of  the  high  school  is  Harry  Huston.  Four  of  the 
teachers  are  men.  The  rooms  are  all  well  arranged, 
equipped  with  modern,  furniture.  There  is  a gymnasium, 
a fine  laboratory  for  scientific  work,  one  of  the  best 
libraries  in  the  state  and  in  many  ways  the  school  has 
became  a central  feature  in  the  life  of  Blackwell.  The 
high  school  building  stands  on  grounds  comprising  an 
entire  block.  The  high  school  contains  266  pupils.  The 
total  number  in  the  building  is  600.  There  were  forty- 
four  graduates  from  the  high  school  in  the  class  of  1916. 
In  another  part  of  the  city  is  a ward  school,  containing 
eight  rooms  and  a third  building  of  four  rooms,  besides 
these  buildings,  it  has  been  necessary  to  construct  several 
single  room  buildings  in  order  to  take  care  of  the  large 
number  of  pupils.  The  total  enrollment  of  the  school  at 
Blackwell  numbers  more  than  1,200.  The  schools  are 
kept  up  for  nine  months  in  the  year,  and  one  fact  that 
indicates  the  interest  in  education  in  the  city  is  that  the 
enrollment  is  more  than  100  per  cent  of  the  school 
enumeration. 

Mr.  Lovett  during  his  nine  years  as  superintendent 
has  brought  these  schools  up  to  modern  standards,  and 
his  reputation  as  a school  man  and  organizer  has  ex- 
tended over  the  entire  state.  He  was  born  in  Kentucky. 
His  father,  Rev.  Martin  V.  Lovett,  was  a well  known 
Methodist  minister.  His  mother,  Rosanah  Vaught,  was 
of  Scotch  ancestry.  They  were  the  parents  of  five  chil- 
dren, two  sons  and  three  daughters.  Professor  Lovett 
hgs  a brother,  William  G.,  who  has  been  one  of  the 
leading  members  of  the  Board  of  Education  of  Neodesha, 
Kansas,  for  several  years.  The  mother  died  at  the 
age  of  forty-one,  but  the  father  is  still  living  at  the  age 
of  eighty-one.  From  Kentucky  the  family  removed  to 
Oakland  City,  Indiana,  where  Professor  Lovett  received 
his  common  school  and  high  school  education.  After 
graduating  from  college  he  came  to  Kansas  in  1884. 
Since  then  he  has  been  identified  with  the  teaching  pro- 
fession continuously.  He  spent  fourteen  years  as  super- 
intendent of  schools  in  Kansas  and  in  1908  accepted  the 
superintendency  of  the  schools  at  Blackwell.  Mr.  Lovett 
has  been  a member  of  the  National  Education  Associa- 


tion for  many  years,  and  attends  the  annual  meetings 
of  the  Department  of  Superintendence. 

On  December  26,  1886,  he  was  married  to  Miss  Estella 
Brundidge,  of  Fredonia,  Kansas.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lovett 
are  the  parents  of  four  children,  three  of  whom  are 
still  at  home.  In  politics,  Mr.  Lovett  has  always  been 
a republican,  and  he  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  and  he  has  been  teacher  of 
the  men’s  Bible  class  in  that  church  for  several  years. 
Fraternally  his  connections  are  with  the  Masonic  Order 
in  the  Blue  Lodge,  Chapter  and  Commandery  and  with 
India  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Oklahoma  City. 
He  is  also  a member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and  the 
Modern  Woodmen  of  America. 

James  J.  Quarles.  Cashier  of  the  Osage  Bank  at 
Fairfax,  James  J.  Quarles  has  been  identified  with  that 
community  since  its  founding,  having  moved  to  the  town 
with  L.  A.  Wismeyer,  who  is  honored  with  the  distinction 
of  being  the  father  of  Fairfax.  Mr.  Quarles  is  a Mis- 
sissippi man,  gained  his-  early  experience  as  a merchant 
and  farmer  in  his  native  state,  but  has  been  identified 
with  the  Osage’  country  of  Indian  Territory  and  Okla- 
homa for  more  than  twenty  years.  Outside  of  his  con- 
nection with  business  affairs  he  is  also  well  known  over 
the  state  through  his  efforts  and  influence  in  a public 
capacity,  and  was  a member  of  the  Oklahoma  Constitu- 
tional Convention  and  has  served  on  several  of  the  im- 
portant commissions  in  the  state. 

Born  in  Lafayette  County,  Mississippi,  May  5,  1862, 
he  is  a son  of  James  J.  and  Sarah  E.  (Buford)  Quarles. 
The  first  American  settler  of  this  name  was  Francis 
Quarles,  who  came  from  England,  and  it  is  claimed  that 
the  Quarles  ancestry  can  be  traced  back  as  far  in  Eng- 
lish history  as  that  of  any  other  family.  On  the 
maternal  side  the  Bufords  were  also  English  people, 
and  the  name  was  originally  spelled  Beaufort.  One  of 
the  family  in  England  was  Margaret  Beaufort,  who  was 
a granddaughter  of  King  Edward  III.  The  members 
of  the  family  that  came  to  America  subsequently  changed 
their  name  to  the  spelling  Buford.  Mr.  Quarles’  father 
was  born  in  South  Carolina  in  1828,  and  in  early  youth 
moved  to  Lafayette  County,  Mississippi.  The  seat  of 
the  State  University  of  Mississippi  is  located  at  Oxford 
in  Lafayette  County,  and  the  elder  James  J.  Quarles 
was  one  of  the  honored  graduates  in  the  first  class  in 
that  institution  in  1849.  He  was  married  in  1850  to 
Miss  Buford,  who  was  born  in  Tennessee  in  1833,  and 
had  been  brought  as  a child  to  Lafayette  County.  James 
J.  Quarles,  Sr.,  was  a school  teacher  for  a number  of 
years,  and  also  owned  a plantation  in  Lafayette  County. 
Early  in  the  war  he  enlisted  in'  the  Confederate  army, 
and  died  in  a Confederate  Hospital  at  Atlanta  in  1863. 
He  was  survived  many  "years  by  his  widow,  who  died 
at  Oxford,  Mississippi,  in  1911.  There  were  five  chil- 
dren: Robert  W.,  who  is  a dentist  at  Van  Buren,  Arkan- 
sas; Lillie,  widow  of  Mr.  Hurt,  living  in  Lafayette 
County;  Olivia,  who  died  in  infancy;  Francis,  who  died 
at  the  age  of  twenty-eight;  and  James  J.  Jr.,  who  was 
only  about  a year  old  when  his  father  died.  His  home 
was  in  Mississippi  until  1892,  and  while  there  he  received 
the  advantages  of  the  common  schools,  and  grew  up 
and  was  trained  to  farming.  He  also  had  several  years 
of  merchandising  experience,  and  since  moving  to  the 
Osage  Nation  in  1892  has  been  principally  identified 
with  merchandising  and  banking.  Since  1905,  two  years 
after  the  founding  of  Fairfax,  he  has  been  cashier  of 
the  Osage  Bank.  The  other  officers  of  this  bank  are 
W.  T.  Carroll,  president ; and  E.  B.  Glover,  vice  president. 
Mr.  Quarles  also  has  farming  and  live  stock  interests  in 
Osage  County,  and  also  founded  the  Quarles  Hardware 


2132 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Company,  the  management  of  which  is  now  entrusted  to 
his  sons  who  are  partners  in  the  company. 

As  a Mississippian  and  a son  of  a Confederate  veteran 
Mr.  Quarles  has  naturally  been  identified  with  the 
democratic  party  all  his  active  career.  He  and  T.  J. 
Leahy  were  the  only  two  delegates  from  the  Fifty-sixth 
District  in  the  Constitutional  Convention  of  Oklahoma. 
Since  statehood  he  has  been  quite  active  in  Oklahoma 
affairs.  During  1910  he  was  a member  of  the  State 
Board  of  Public  Affairs,  and  was  president  of  the  Board 
of  Regents  of  the  University  Preparatory  School  dur- 
ing 1908-09.  He  was  also  a member  of  the  commission 
for  the  advancement  of  the  constitutional  amendment 
for  election  of  United  States  senators  by  direct  vote  of 
the  people.  These  various  commission  offices  were  all 
received  under  appointment  from  Governor  Haskell. 
While  a member  of  these  bodies  he  came  into  close 
relations  with  a number  of  the  prominent  men  of  the 
state,  and  in  addition  to  the  opportunity  these  places 
gave  him  for  rendering  public  spirited  service  he  naturally 
prizes  the  association  by  which  he  was  brought  into 
close  touch  with  the  state  government  and  with  men 
prominent  in  Oklahoma  affairs.  He  has  been  a member 
of  the  school  board  in  Osage  County  a number  of 
years,  and  was  identified  with  the  management  of  the 
schools  before  statehood,  when  all  the  white  schools 
were  supported  by  subscription,  there  being  no  free 
public  schools.  He  is  active  in  the  prohibition  movement 
and  in  the  equal  suffrage  cause,  and  is  a member  of  the 
Presbyterian  Church  and  the  Knights  of  Pythias  Order. 

In  1884  Mr.  Quarles  married  Miss  Jimmie  Orr.  She 
was  born  in  his  native  state,  and  died  in  1902.  The 
four  children  born  to  their  marriage  are:  Frank  O. 
and  James  J.,  Jr.,  both  now  associated  with  their  father 
in  the  hardware  business;  Laura  Gray,  who  died  at  the 
age  of  four  years;  and  Mary  Alleen.  The  son  Frank 
married  Anna  Chapman.  In  1905  Mr.  Quarles  married 
Ella  Todd  Gravett,  who  was  born  in  Iowa.  By  her 
former  marriage  she  has  two  daughters,  Gertrude  and 
Jean. 

J.  A.  Lopeman.  A business  institution  of  Enid  which 
is  notable  both  for  its  importance  in  the  material  devel- 
opment of  that  part  of  Oklahoma,  and  for  the  personal 
and  business  character  of  the  man  behind  it  is  the  Enid 
Nursery,  which  is  probably  the  highest  grade  establish- 
ment of  its  kind  in  the  entire  state.  This  business  repre- 
sents years  of  practical  experience,  the  overcoming  of 
difficulties,  and  the  persistent  testing  and  working  out 
of  plans  which  would  adapt  fruit  bearing  trees  to  soil, 
climate  and  other  local  conditions. 

J.  A.  Lopeman  was  born  in  Crawford  County  near 
Oil  City,  Pennsylvania,  about  sixty  years  ago.  The 
farm  which  his  father  owned  there  was  sold  when  Mr. 
Lopeman  was  five  years  of  age,  and  later  oil  was  dis- 
covered upon  it  which  made  its  subsequent  owners  mil- 
lionaires. From  Pennsylvania  the  family  moved  to  the 
vicinity  of. Bradford,  Iowa,  and  in  1859,  to  Pleasant  Hill 
in  Cass  County,  Missouri.  The  father  of  Mr.  Lopeman 
was  a pronounced  Union  man,  and  soon  found  the  climate 
too  warm  in  Missouri  during  early  war  times,  and  accord- 
ingly removed  to  Kansas.  Mr.  Lopeman  arrived  at  man- 
hood at  Leavenworth  in  that  state.  His  father  enlisted 
in  the  Union  army  from  Kansas,  and  a year  later  died 
while  still  a soldier. 

Such  education  as  Mr.  Lopeman  had  from  schools 
was  acquired  while  assisting  in  the  support  of  his  mother 
and  family.  He  qualified  as  a teacher,  and  for  six  years 
was  engaged  in  that  work.  For  four  years  he  had 
experience  in  a store  at  Milo,  Iowa,  and  in  1884  found 
the  field  for  which  his  talents  were  best  adapted.  At 


that  time  he  became  a grower  of  nursery  stock  at  Red 
Cloud,  Nebraska,  and  his  experience  in  that  line  has 
thus  been  continuous  for  thirty-one  years. 

At  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip  on  September 
16,  1893,  Mr.  Lopeman  was  one  of  the  liomeseekers,  and 
secured  a claim  of  160  acres  six  miles  north  of  Enid. 
That  land  he  still  owns,  and  it  is  famous  over  that  part 
of  the  country  for  its  splendid  orchard  of  forty  acres. 
This  has  been  profitable,  particularly  that  portion  devoted 
to  the  growing  of  berries  and  cherries.  His  cherry 
orchard  of  2,000  trees  has  yielded  handsome  returns. 
Mr.  Lopeman  came  to  Oklahoma  with  the  idea  that  a 
business  might  be  developed  for  the  supplying  of  new 
settlers  with  young  trees.  He  knew  that  every  Amer- 
ican settler  would  as  soon  as  possible  set  out  a 
variety  of  fruit,  shade  and  ornamental  trees  around 
his  home,  and  therefore  in  the  spring  of  1894  he  leased 
three  or  four  acres  at  the  north  edge  of  Enid,  and 
started  what  promised  to  be  a lucrative  business. 
Enemies,  of  which  his  experience  at  Fillmore,  Nebraska, 
had  given  him  no  intimation,  came  and  he  found  it  an 
uphill,  slow  and  hazardous  enterprise.  The  new  country 
abounded  with  rabbits,  which  were  probably  the  most 
serious  plague  he  had  to  contend  with.  These  pests  were 
accustomed'  to  the  bark  of  the  tenacious  native  plum, 
hackberry,  elm  and  boisd  ’are,  and  consequently  the 
tender  rind  of  the  young  fruit  trees  offered  an  especially 
attractive  morsel  for  these  animals.  Several  times  his 
stock  was  almost  annihilated.  He  fought  with  this  and 
other  obstacles  for  eight  years,  and  then  secured  a tract 
of  land  in  South  Enid,  where  his  present  residence,  office 
and  packing  house  are  located. 

There  he  took  a fresh  hold.  Studying  the  needs  in 
Oklahoma,  considering  climate,  moisture,  winds  and  live 
pests,  he  studied  to  supply  what  would  prove  profitable. 
Many  promising  varieties  of  fruits  after  a test  covering 
a few  years  would  be  abandoned,  but  he  continued  his 
trials  and  experiments  and  succeeded  in  the  end  in 
selecting  and  acclimating  the  stock  most  suitable  to  soil 
and  climate.  Since  then  his  business  has  had  a con- 
tinued and  constant  expansion. 

Mr.  Lopeman  soon  bought  160  acres  at  a mile  and 
a half  distant,  of  which  140  acres  are  now  devoted  to 
the  growing  of  fruit  and  shade  trees,  also  shrubs,  roses 
and  other  miscellaneous  plants.  He  sells  both  wholesale 
and  retail,  and  the  latter  feature  is  handled  by  about 
fifty  salesmen.  Orchards  from  the  Lopeman  nursery  are 
now  found  in  every  section  of  Oklahoma,  also  in  the 
Panhandle  and  other  parts  of  Texas,  in  Southern  Kansas, 
and  New  Mexico.  From  ten  to  forty  men  are  kept  em- 
ployed under  the  immediate  supervision  of  Mr.  Lope- 
man ’s  son,  J.  A.,  Jr.,  and  about  $6,000  are  paid  out 
annually  for  the  matter  of  labor  alone.  Annual  sales 
of  his  nursery  stock  approximate  $75,000.  This  business 
gives  its  proprietor  a solid  satisfaction  since  it  is  the 
proof  of  his  patient  and  indefatigable  working  out  of 
fundamental  plans.  His  thorough  knowledge  comes 
from  actual  experience,  failure  as  well  as  success,  and 
the  fruits  of  his  work  have  extended  to  practically  every 
fruit  bearing  district  in  the  Southwest.  He  is  prom- 
inent and  well  known  in  all  nurserymen’s  associations, 
both  district  and  national,  and  his  success  is  to  be  meas- 
ured not  only  by  its  material  profits  but  also  by  the 
splendid  principles  which  he  has  kept  fundamental  from 
the  beginning  to  the  end.  It  has  been  his  desire  and 
determination  to  deal  squarely  with  every  customei. 
Knowing  the  hazards  of  producing  a good  orchard  when 
climatic  conditions  are  so  strenuous,  he  has  made  spe- 
cially liberal  terms  to  replace  stock  that  does  not  attain 
fruit  bearing  age,  no  matter  what  the  cause  of  loss 
may  be.  He  has  of  course  suffered  bitter  experience  as 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2133 


a result  of  malicious  misrepresentation  or  failure  on 
the  part  of  someone  to  act  in  accord  with  instructions, 
and  this  has  caused  him  temporary  financial  losses. 
Nevertheless,  he  has  adhered  strictly  to  the  rule  to  deal 
openly  and  above  board  with  every  man,  and  in  the  end 
has  gained  a continued  and  extending  business.  With  a 
disposition  to  be  frank  and  outspoken,  and  with  personal 
relations  characterized  by  a hearty  greeting  and  wel- 
come clasp  of  the  hand,  few  men  in  Enid  or  in  Oklahoma 
have  now  a more  extended  or  loyal  circle  of  personal 
friends.  A less  outspoken  manner  and  more  diplomatic 
ways  might  have  carried  him  to  the  same  financial 
heights  in  less  time,  but  no  one  who  learns  the  honesty 
of  heart  and  elements  of  good  will  back  of  his  brusque 
nature  has  not  also  learned  to  respect  and  honor  this 
man,  whose  qualities  as  a man  and  citizen  are  unsur- 
passed. . 

In  1893  Mr.  Lopeman  married  Miss  Catherine  McClel- 
lan, who  died  in  July,  1909.  She  was  a splendid  com- 
panion to  him,  devoted  to  her  home,  took  a great  interest 
in  the’  development  of  his  interests,  and  had  a large 
circle  of  warm  friends.  She  left  two  children:  J.  A.,  Jr., 
who  is  closely  associated  with  his  father  in  business; 
and  Laura  E.,  wife  of  Charles  Musser  of  Bristow,  Okla- 
homa. 

Homer  Huffaker.  One  of  the  pioneer  white  men  in 
the  Osage  country,  identified  with  the  thriving  Town  of 
Fairfax  since  its  beginning,  now  the  head  of  one  of 
the  largest  mercantile  concerns  there,  and  also  one  of 
the  present  county  commissioners  of  Osage  County, 
Homer  Huffaker  is  one  of  the  men  who  have  made  then- 
influence  count  for  improvement  and  development  in 
this  section  of  the  state. 

He  belongs  to  one  of  the  oldest  and  most  prominent 
pioneer  families  of  the  State  of  Kansas.  Homer  Huf- 
faker was  born  at  Council  Grove,  Kansas,  March  1,  1875, 
a son  of  the  late  Thomas  S.  and  Eliza  A.  (Baker) 
Huffaker.  In  addition  to  the  many  honarable  distinc- 
tions associated  with  his  father’s  name  in  Kansas,  Judge 
Huffaker ’s  activities  also  extend  into  what  is  now 
Oklahoma.  About  1870  he  established  a trading  store 
at  Pond  Creek,  Oklahoma,  and  conducted  it  a number 
of  years.  It  was  an  important  supply  point  for  the 
Indians  of  that  vicinity,  and  also  for  both  the  white 
men  and  the  Indians  during  th  high  tide  of  the  industry 
of  buffalo  hunting  on  the  plains. 

When  Judge  Thomas  Sears  Huffaker  died  at  his  old 
f.home  in  Council  Grove,  July  10,  1910,  that  event  closed 
the  career  of  one  of  the  most  remarkable  of  early  Kan- 
sans. He  was  born  in  Clay  County,  Missouri,  March  30, 
1825,  of  a pioneer  family  in  Northwest  Missouri,  and 
moving  to  Kansas  in  1849,  five  years  before  the  organi- 
zation of  the  territory,  his  subsequent  career  was  such 
that  he  was  called  “the  grand  old  man  of  Kansas’’ 
first  in  Indian  affairs  and  then  in  politics  and  public 
matters.  He  went  to  Kansas  as  a missionary  teacher  at 
the  Manual  Training  School  in  Johnson  County,  but 
about  two  years  later,  in  1850,  moved  to  Council  Grove, 
where  he  was  given  charge  of  the  Kaw  Indians,  who 
had  recently  been  transferred  to  their  reservation  in  the 
Neosho  Valley.  At  Council  Grove  he  founded  a mission 
school,  and  the  building  is  still  one  of  the  picturesque 
landmarks  on  the  banks  of  the  Neosho.  It  was  built 
under  the  supervision  of  Mr.  Huffaker  in  1850,  and  was 
large  enough  to  furnish  quarters  not  only  for  school  but 
also  for  the  residence  of  the  teacher  and  his  family.  The 
school  was  opened  in  1851,  but  the  enterprise  was  not 
Successful,  since  few  of  the  Indians  would  allow  their 
children  to  attend,  and  after  a few  years  the  school  was 
abandoned.  However,  Judge  Huffaker  remained  and 


soon  became  a man  of  importance  in  the  community. 
He  was  one  of  the  three  incorporators  of  the  City  of 
Council  Grove  in  1858,  was  appointed  the  first  post- 
master, and  soon  afterward  Territorial  Governor  Reeder 
appointed  him  president  of  the  county  commissioners. 
He  was  next  elected  probate  judge  of  Wise  County,  his 
jurisdiction  extending  over  portions  of  several  adjacent 
counties  of  the  present  time.  He  later  served  two  terms 
in  the  Kansas  Legislature.  Judge  Huffaker  was  a Mis- 
souri slaveholder,  and  took  his  slaves  with  him  to  Kansas, 
but  after  the  Kansas  troubles  had  eventuated  in  the 
Civil  war  he  took  the  side  of  the  Union,  and  during  the 
last  forty  years  of  his  life  was  a stanch  republican.  He 
had  come  into  Kansas  as  a missionary  under  the  auspices 
of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  South,  and  the  old 
Kaw  Mission  School  was  founded  jointly  by  that  church 
and  the  United  States  Government.  He  was  also  a mem- 
ber of  the  Masonic  Order.  At  the  time  of  his  death 
Judge  Morehouse  of  Topeka  described  his  personality  in 
these  words:  “He  was  stately  of  bearing — like  a judge. 

The  Indians  regarded  him  as  ‘ father,  ’ accepting  his 
decrees  without  murmur.  Called  to  settle  the  many 
difficulties  of  the  early  days,  he  always  was  careful  to 
learn  both  sides,  and  so  advised  as  to  make  no  enemies. 
He  was  rewarded  by  the  love  of  all.” 

The  widow  of  Judge  Huffaker  and  the  mother  of  the 
Fairfax  merchant  is  still  living  at  her  old  home  in  Council 
Grove.  She  was  born  at  Salem,  Illinois,  in  1836,  and 
is  one  of  the  splendid  pioneer  women  of  Kansas.  A year 
or  so  before  the  death  of  Judge  Huffaker  her  career  was 
chosen  as  the  subject  for  a beautiful  article  by  a Kansas 
writer,  who  wove  her  story  into  a collection  of  articles 
describing  notable  Kansas  women.  A few  sentences  are 
taken  from  that  interesting  sketch  before  introducing 
the  career  of  the  Fairfax  business  man,  who  has  so  many 
reasons  to  honor  the  memory  and  character  of  his  noble 
mother:  “On  May  6,  1852,  there  was  a wedding  in  the 

stone  schoolhouse  at  Council  Grove.  The  bride  was  a 
girl  of  sixteen.  By  her  picture  of  the  day  she  must 
have  been  a pretty  girl,  for  her  face  is  handsome  at 
seventy.  Her  maiden  name  was  Eliza  A.  Baker,  and 
one  of  her  brothers,  Jesse  Baker,  was  one  of  the  victims 
of  the  border  ruffian  days  in  Morris  County,  Kansas. 
She  was  born  in  Illinois  in  1836.  She  had  lived  in  Towa, 
where  her  father  was  blacksmith  for  the  Sac  and  Fox 
Indians,  and  now  at  the  age  when  our  girls  are  beginning 
to  talk  of  sophomore  class  parties,  she  became  the  wife 
of  a frontiersman  in  the  trackless  Indian  country.  A 
missionary  on  his  way  to  Mexico,  a Rev.  Mr.  Nicholson, 
performed  the  ceremony.  The  duties  of  a home  keeper, 
always  strenuous  on  the  frontier,  were  multiplied  for 
Mrs.  Huffaker.  In  the  old  stone  house  her  children  were 
born,  and  there  a school  for  white  children  was  soon 
opened.  Council  Grove,  at  first  a mere  trading  point  on 
the  Santa  Fe  trail,  had  grown  to  be  the  trading  point, 
then  a village  and  later  a city  and  county  seat  in  the 
center  of  a rich  productive  valley.  The  old  stone  house 
began  to  serve  other  purposes.  Travelers,  explorers,  mis- 
sionaries and  state  officials  slept  under  its  roof  when 
they  came  hither.  The  Civil  war  came  and  passed  and 
' then  came  fifteen  years  of  fear  of  the  plains  Indians. 
The  old  schoolhouse  became  by  turns  council  house,  school 
building,  church  and  fort.  It  was  a refuge  for  the  de- 
fenceless, where  women  and  children  fled  to  the  strong- 
hold for  ^protection.  Lost  in  the  duties  of  wife  and 
mother,  housekeeper  and  teacher,  friend  and  neighbor, 
Mrs.  Huffaker ’s  years  ran  by.  In  all  the  stirring  days 
of  border  strife  and  Civil  war  and  the  Indian  peril,  she 
bore  her  part.  In  the  old  stone  house  where  she  became 
a bride  one  May  day,  she  lived  through  the  scenes  of 
territorial  and  state  making.  Children  grew  up  in  that 


2134 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


home  and  went  out  to  make  homes  for  themselves.  There 
are  no  great  deeds  to  be  set  in  bold  faced  type  against 
Mrs.  Huffaker ’s  name.  Her’s  was  the  silent  story  that 
is  written  in  good  deeds  and  measureless  influence,  and 
yet  her  name  was  one  of  the  very  first  to  suggest  itself 
to  me  when  I conceived  the  idea  of  gathering  together 
the  names  of  the  women  of  the  State  whose  stories 
appealed  to  me.  ’ ’ 

At  the  death  of  Judge  Huffaker  six  children  survived 
him:  Mrs.  J.  H.  Simcock  of  St.  Louis;  Mrs.  Louis 

Wismeyer  of  Fairfax,  Oklahoma;  Mrs.  Fred  B.  Car- 
penter of  Topeka;  Homer  Huffaker;  and  George  and 
Carl  Huffaker. 

In  Council  Grove  Homer  Huffaker  spent  his  youthful 
days  until  1892,  then  a boy  of  seventeen,  he  came  to  the 
Osage  Reservation  with  his  brother-in-law,  L.  A.  Wis- 
meyer. He  had  attended  the  local  schools  and  had  grown 
up  in  a home  which  inspired  in  him  the  best  qualities  of 
manhood.  He  became  an  assistant  at  Gray  Horse  in  the 
Osage  Nation  to  L.  A.  Wismeyer  in  the  trading  store, 
and  remained  in  that  locality  until  1903,  when  he  joined 
in  the  business  exodus  from  Gray  Horse  to  the  .new 
railroad  town  founded  by  Mr.  Wismeyer  and  named 
Fairfax.  For  two  years  Mr.  Huffaker  was  assistant 
cashier  in  the  Osage  Bank  of  Fairfax.  When  the  Wis- 
meyer Mercantile  Company  was  formed  and  incorporated 
he  became  its  secretary  and  treasurer,  and  was  identified 
with  the  concern  in  that  capacity  for  ten  years.  In  1913 
he  organized  the  Big  Hill  Trading  Company  of  Fairfax, 
and  is  now  its  president.  This  firm  carries  a large  stock 
of  general  merchandise,  and  has  extensive  trade  relations 
both  with  the  white  and  Indian  population  around  Fair- 
fax. In  many  ways  Mr.  Huffaker  has  been  identified 
with  the  business  and  civic  upbuilding  of  Fairfax  since 
it  was  founded.  In  1907  he  added  to  the  improvement 
of  the  town  by  the  erection  of  the  fine  home  in  which  he 
and  his  family  now  reside.  He  has  also  acquired  farm- 
ing and  stock  raising  interests  in  that  locality. 

In  politics  he  has  been  a republican  voter  for  twenty 
years.  In  1912  he  was  elected  county  commissioner  of 
Osage  county,  served  as  chairman  of  the  board  during 
his  first  term,  and  was  re-elected  in  1914.  He  was  also 
chairman  of  the  first  delegation  which  chose  a representa- 
tive 'ior  Congress  from  the  Osage  country,  and  assisted 
in  nominating  former  Congressman  Bird  S.  McGuire. 
Mr.  Huffaker  is  a thirty-second  degree  Scottish  Rite 
Mason,  belongs  to  the  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  and 
is  also  a member  of  the  Elks  Lodge  of  Pawhuska. 

In  1905  he  married  Miss  Erma  Robins  Bates.  She  was 
born  in  Tupelo,  Mississippi,  September  29,  1879,  was 
partly  reared  in  Cairo,  Illinois,  and  at  the  age  of  six 
years  went  with  her  parents  to  Council  Grove,  Kansas. 
Later  her  parents  removed  to  Kansas  City,  Missouri, 
where  she  lived  until  her  marriage.  Her  parents  are  W. 
T.  and  Mary  (Hall)  Bates,  who  are  still  residents  of 
Kansas  City.  Her  father  is  a railroad  man.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Huffaker  are  the  parents  of  three  sons : Thomas 

Bates,  born  June  23,  1906;  Homer  Hall,  born  October 
22,  1908;  and  Darwin  S.,  born  August  10,  1912.  Mr. 
Huffaker  is  a master  of  the  Osage  language,  and  readily 
acquired  fluency  in  that  tongue  within  a short  time  after 
coming  to  the  Osage  country. 

George  M.  Berry.  The  citizens  of  Pawnee  County 
know  George  M.  Berry  as  a successful  farmer  and  banker. 
He  has  lived  in  this  part  of  the  old  Cherokee  Strip  for 
thirty-six  years.  Some  of  the  old-timers  know  of  his 
early  struggles  and  the  perseverance  and  industry  which 
put  him  on  the  road  to  success. 

The  keynote  of  his  character  and  success  is  perhaps 
to  be  found  in  a little  incident  of  his  earlier  career. 


When  he  was  nineteen  years  of  age,  being  out  of  employ- 
ment, he  took  work  on  a ranch.  He  remained  with  his 
employer  there  nine  years.  All  that  time  he  was  getting 
his  board  and  keep  but  was  never  drawing  a cent  of 
wages.  As  a matter  of  fact  he  did  not  know  for  what 
wages  he  was  working,  or  what  he  was  to  receive  at  the 
end  of  his  term.  When  the  nine  years  were  up  the  old 
Oklahoma  was  opened  for  settlers,  and  the  ranch  was 
accordingly  closed  out.  In  settling  up  the  accounts 
Mr.  Berry  was  paid  $5,400  as  a reward  for  the  nine  years 
of  patient  work  he  had  put  in  there.  It  was  possibly 
no  more  than  he  was.  worth,  but  the  point  of  the  story 
is  liis  willingness  to  work  for  work’s  sake  and  to  go 
diligently  about  his  business  without  any  particular 
concern  about  the  financial  rewards. 

Mr.  Berry  is  a Kentuckian.  He  was  born  in  the 
southeastern  part  of  the  state  December  1,  1858,  a son 
of  T.  N.  and  Sophia  J.  (King)  Berry.  His  father  was 
born  in  Whitley  County,  Kentucky,  and  died  there  Janu- 
ary 31,  1868,  when  his  son  George  was  ten  years  of  age. 
The  widowed  mother  subsequently  brought  her  family  to 
Arkansas  City,  Kansas,  in  the  fall  of  1877,  and  she  died 
at  Ashland,  Kansas,  April  19,  1886.  Her  nine  children 
were:  W.  E.  of  Stillwater,  Oklahoma;  I.  K.,  formerly 

a rancher  in  Oklahoma  and  now  living  in  Mexico;  Nan, 
a resident  of  Cushing,  Oklahoma,  and  widow  of  Lyeurgus 
Laughlin;  T.  E.,  formerly  an  Indian  trader,  who  died 
at  Norman,  Oklahoma;  A.  A.,  who  was  a licensed  Indian 
trader  and  conducted  a ranch  for  nine  years  before  the 
opening  of  Pawnee  County,  and  is  now  a resident  of 
Norman;  Eliza  Earley,  who  died  in  Texas;  George  M. ; 
Susie,  who  married  j.  W.  Arthur  of  Oklahoma  City; 
and  R.  C.,  a merchant  at  Norman. 

After  the  death  of  his  father  George  M.  Berry  lived 
much  with  his  older  brothers,  who  looked  after  him, 
and  for  two  years  he  attended  the  public  schools  of 
Arkansas  City,  Kansas.  It  was  in  1879  when  he  came 
to  Pawnee,  where  his  brothers,  I.  K.,  T.  E.  and  A.  A. 
Berry  were  licensed  Indian  traders.  For  a time  he  was 
also  in  the  service  of  the  United  States  Government 
engaged  to  teach  the  Indians  how  to  break  the  prairie 
sod  and  raise  crops.  After  a course  in  a business  college 
at  Lawrence,  Kansas,  he  worked  in  a store  and  ou  a 
ranch  from  1880  until  the  opening  of  Oklahoma  in  1889. 

In  1889  he  settled  on  a claim  in  Lincoln  County. 
After  three  years  he  returned  to  Pawnee,  and  for  eight 
years  gave  his  time  to  farming.  Since  then  he  has  lived 
in  the  City  of  Pawnee,  but  still  owns,  a large  amount 
of  farm  lands,  including  three  improved  farms,  and  is 
an  extensive  grower  of  grain  and  stock. 

In  1894  Mr.  Berry  assisted  in  organizing  the  Bank  of 
Pawnee.  Since  1899  this  has  been  the  First  National 
Bank,  and  is  the  oldest  bank  of  Pawnee  County.  Mr. 
Berry  has  been  its  vice  president  since  it  was  incorporated 
as  a national  bank.  The  other  officers  are : C.  J. 

Shapard,  president;  S.  Thornton,  cashier;  and  John  W. 
Wilson,  assistant  cashier.  The  bank  has  a capital  of 
$50,000,  surplus  of  $10,000,  and  its  total  resources  are 
more  than  $400,000.  The  deposits  average  about  $300,000. 

Among  other  interests  Mr.  Berry  has  some  oil  holdings 
in  the  Cleveland  field  at  the  east  end  of  Pawnee  County. 
He  has  long  been  active  in  political  and  public  life  and 
is  a loyal  democrat.  At  Pawnee  he  served  on  the  city 
council  several  years,  and  was  mayor  of  the  town  for* 
two  terms  before  statehood.  For  many  years  he  was 
also  treasurer  of  the  school  board.  Mr.  Berry  repre- 
sented the  eighteenth  district  in  the  Constitutional  Con- 
vention, and  was  an  influential  member  of  several  im- 
portant committees.  He  was  elected  a delegate  to  the 
Constitutional  Convention  by  200  votes,  although  the 
district  was  normally  republican  by  300.  It  is  evidence 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2135 


of  his  popularity  and  ability,  as  well  as  the  value  of  his 
public  service,  that  he  has  never  been  defeated  for  any 
office  for  which  he  has  been  a candidate.  During  state- 
hood he  has  been  state  committeeman  from  Pawnee 
County,  a delegate  to  a number  of  state  conventions, 
and  secretary  of  the  county  election  board.  In  public 
life,  as  in  business  and  private  affairs,  he  has  a large 
circle  of  friends,  and  men  place  implicit  trust  in  his 
integrity  as  well  as  his  ability.  Again  and  again  he  has 
sacrificed  his  own  interests  in  order  to  do  good  to  the 
community.  Oklahoma  has  a warm  place  in  his  affection. 
He  first  saw  the  country  when  he  rode  horseback  from 
Arkansas  City  to  Pawnee,  before  the  building  of  rail- 
roads. In  the  early  days  he  received  mail  for  the 
Pawnee  country.  The  mail  was  brought  from  Coffeyville, 
Kansas,  by  way  of  Pawhuska  and  when  high  waters  did 
not  interfere  with  the  schedule  it  was  delivered  twice  a 
week.  Mr.  Berry  and  his  family  are  members  of  the 
Methodist  Church. 

At  Perth,  Kansas,  in  February,  1887,  he  married  Miss 
Nellie  Dowis.  She  is  a native  of  Missouri.  They  have 
nine  children:  Boy,  Jennie,  Ethel,  Elida,  Everett, 
Margaret,  Lesta,  Catherine  and  Bobert.  The  three  older 
children  are  graduates  of  the  Pawnee  High  School  and 
also  attended  the  University  of  Missouri  at  Columbia, 
and  Elida  is  now  a student  in  the  Oklahoma  State 
University  at  Norman.  The  son,  Boy,  lives  at  Pawnee, 
while  Jennie  is  the  wife  of  E.  A.  Holden  of  Clinton, 
Oklahoma. 

Hon.  Thomas  S.  Jones.  This  veteran  lawyer  of 
Guthrie  has  had  a long  and  interesting  career  of 
experience  in  many  fields.  He  was  a boy  soldier  in  the 
war  between  the  states,  rising  to  the  rank  of  lieutenant 
in  the  Confederate  army.  He  went  out  to  Kansas  in 
pioneer  times,  had  a brilliant  career  as  a lawyer  and  in 
politics  in  that  state,  and  was  one  of  the  first  members 
of  his  profession  to  arrive  in  the  Town  of  Guthrie  at  the 
original  opening  of  Oklahoma  in  1889.  He  has  known 
all  the  leading  figures  in  Oklahoma  affairs  from  the 
beginning  of  white  settlement  and  is  himself  one  of  the 
conspicuous  features  among  the  old  timers  of  the  state. 

He  was  born  in  a log  house  which  stood  on  a farm 
nearj  Bichmond,  Virginia,  on  August  17,  1838.  His 
parents  were  Meredith  and  Julia  (Coleman)  Jones,  both 
natives  of  Virginia  and  of  Welsh  stock.  When  Judge 
Jones  was  six  months  old  he  lost  both  his  parents  by 
death,  and  he  was  afterwards  reared  and  attended  school 
while  living  with  his  grandfather,  Stephen  Coleman.  His 
preparatory  education  was  acquired  in  the  State  Masonic 
Institute  at  Germantown,  North  Carolina.  When  only 
fourteen  years  of  age  he  qualified  and  entered  as  a 
student  the  University  of  Virginia  at  Charlottesville, 
where  he  remained  to  complete  his  course  in  the  law 
department.  He  was  admitted  to  the  bar  by  the  Supreme 
Court  of  Virginia. 

He  had  hardly  begun  practice  when  the  Civil  war 
broke  out  with  all  its  fury,  and  almost  at  the  first  he 
enlisted  in  the  Confederate  army  as  a private,  and  one 
year  later  was  promoted  to.  lieutenant.  He  also  served 
as  an  inspector  on  the  staff  of  General  Wise,  and  he 
made  a brilliant  record  while  with  his  gallajit  Virginia 
regiment. 

I In  1865  at  the  close  of  the  war  Mr.  Jones  came  West 
and  was  one  of  the  early  settlers  at  Cottonwood  Falls, 
Kansas.  There  he  set  up  in  practice  as  a pioneer 
lawyer,  and  soon  found  himself  busied  with  his  practice 
and  with  politics.  His  home  was  in  Chase  County, 
known  at  that  time  as  a republican  stronghold.  In 
spite  of  that  fact  the  young  Virginia  lawyer  overcame 
all  normal  obstacles  and  was  elected  in  1867  county 


attorney.  Another  test  of  his  personal  popularity  and 
his  influence  came  a few  years  later  when  he  was  elected 
by  the  people  of  Chase  County  to  represent  them  one 
term  in  the  state  Legislature.  While  in  the  Legislature 
he  served  as  a member  of  a number  of  important,  com- 
mittees including  the  judiciary  committee. 

Judge  Jones  in  the  course  of  the  last  forty  years  has 
seen  much  of  the  pioneer  experiences.  In  fact  he  seems 
to  have  had  a fondness  for  the  frontier  rather  than  for 
the  settled  districts  of  civilization,  and  this  was  indicated 
in  1873  when  he  moved  out  to  a center  of  some  of  the 
wildest  life  of  the  West,  Dodge  City,'  Kansas.  He  came 
well  recommended  as  a lawyer,  and  in  a short  time 
became  a recognized  leader  in  that  community.  He  was 
much  admired  for  his  personal  courage  as  well  as  his 
efficiency  in  the  profession,  and  though  a democrat  he 
was  elected  prosecuting  attorney  of  Ford  County.  He 
was  elected  on  the  law-enforcement  platform,  and  the 
enunciation  of  such  a policy  in  Dodge  City  forty  years 
ago  meant  a great  deal,  and  as  he  had  been  elected  for 
'the  purpose  of  enforcing  the  law  and  clearing  the  city 
of  its  disorderly  element,  he  never  hesitated  a moment 
to  do  all  that  his  office  and  duty  demanded. 

After  a number  of  years  of  practice  at  Dodge  City, 
Judge  Jones  in  1889  participated  in  the  first  opening  of 
Oklahoma  Territory  and  established  his  home  in  Guthrie. 
Here  he  was  made  one  of  the  first  judges  of  the  pro- 
visional court  of  Guthrie-  and  was  the  fifst  county  attor- 
ney of  Logan  County  to  hold  that  post  by  election.  For 
the  past  twenty  years  or  more  he  has  been  in  active 
practice  at  Guthrie,  and  still  enjoys  a large  clientage. 
Judge  Jones  is  an  active  member  of  the  Masonic  Order. 

In  1865  he  married  Miss  Mary  G.  West,  who  was  born 
in  Virginia.  They  are  the  parents  of  two  children. 
Judge  Jones’  daughter  Mary  is  the  wife  of  Harmon 
Doolittle,  a banker  of  Strong  City,  Kansas,  and  his 
grandson,  Dudley  Doolittle,  has  already  made  a dis- 
tinguished record  and  is  the  present  congressman  from 
the  fourth  district  of  Kansas.  Judge  Jones’  only  son 
was  Edgar  W.  Jones,  now  deceased.  He  took  a promi- 
nent part  in  the  early  history  of  Oklahoma,  served  as 
private  secretary  to  Governor  W.  C.  Benfrow,  was  libra- 
rian of  the  State  Supreme  Court  and  also  served  four 
years  as  prosecuting  attorney  of  Logan  County  and  was 
a member  of  the  Territorial  Legislature.  Edgar  W. 
Jones  attained  the  thirty-second  degree  in  Scottish  Bite 
Masonry. 

Eugene  F.  Scott.  For  nearly  fifteen  years  Eugene 
F.  Scott  has  been  a practicing  member  of  the  Okla- 
homa bar.  With  a large  private  practice  at  Pawhuska, 
he  also  looks  after  the  interests  of  several  large  cor- 
porations in  that  part  of  the  state,  and  outside  of  his 
profession  he  has  become  distinguished  as  one  of  the 
most  influential  leaders  in  the  democratic  party. 

A son  of  W.  G.  Scott,  whose  career  as  an  old  time 
Oklahoman  has  been  sketched  on  other  pages,  Eugene 
F.  Scott  was  born  at  Ocheltree  in  Johnston  County, 
Kansas,  May  4,  1881.  From  the  age  of  four  until  1901 
his  home  was  at  Arkansas  City,  where  he  gained  his 
early  education  graduating  from  the  high  school  in  1898. 
He  pursued  his  law  studies  at  Arkansas  City  under  the 
direction  of  Charles  L.  Brown,  a prominent  railroad 
attorney  there,  and  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  the 
District  Court  of  Cowley  County,  Kansas,  in  1901. 
Soon  after  his  admission  to  the  bar  Mr.  Scott  moved 
to  Cleveland,  Oklahoma,  and  soon  afterward  came 
to  Pawhuska.  He  was  a partner  with  T.  J.  Leahy  at 
Pawhuska  until  1908,  and  from  that  year  until  1913  was 
a member  of  the  firm  of  Grimstead  & Scott.  Since  the 
latter  year  he  has  been  in  practice  alone.  Mr.  Scott  is 


2136 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


attorney  in  Osage  County  for  tire  Midland  Valley  and 
the  Missouri,  Kansas  & Texas  railroads.  His  work  as  a 
lawyer  is  largely  in  civil  practice. 

As  a democrat  he  was  chairman  of  the  first  Democratic 
County  Committee  when  Osage  County  was  organized 
and  managed  the  first  campaign  of  the  party.  He  was 
also  the  first  chairman  of  the  city  committee,  and. con- 
ducted several  of  the  local  campaigns.  For  eight  years 
he  was  a valued  member  of  the  State  Democratic  Commit- 
tee from  Osage  County,  up  to  1914.  The  only  office  in 
which  he  has  consented  to  serve  was  as  president  of  the 
city  council  of  Pawhuska  for  three  years.  Mr.  Scott 
also  assisted  in  organizing  as  a charter  member  the 
Pawhuska  Lodge  of  Elks  and  has  served  as  exalted  ruler 
of  that  order.  He  is  a member  of  the  general  council  of 
the  State  Bar  Association,  and  president  of  the  Osage 
County  Bar  Association. 

In  1904  he  married  Miss  Dolly  Johnson,  who  died  in 
1907,  leaving  two  children,  William  J.  and  Violet.  In 
1913  he  married  Miss  Boxie  James  of  Boonville,  Mis- 
souri. 

William  S.  Hewitt.  Twenty  years  of  purposeful 
participation  in  business  affairs  has  marked  the  career 
of  William  S.  Hewitt  in  Oklahoma.  Since  his  arrival 
here,  in  1895,  he  has  been  variously  engaged,  his  activities 
having  included  operations  in  freighting,  agriculture  and 
merchandise,  and  connection  with  various  enterprises 
of  a business  and  financial  nature,  and  in  each  line  of 
effort  he  has  shown  himself  capable,  energetic  and  trust- 
worthy. Mr.  Hewitt  is  the  grandson  of  a preacher  of 
the  Latter  Day  Saints,  who  was  twice  married  and 
traveled  all  over  the  Southwest,  living  at  different  times 
in  Missouri,  Kansas,  Indian  Territory  and  Texas.  His 
death  occurred  in  Indian  Territory,  while  the  grand- 
mother of  Mr.  Hewitt  died  in  Kansas. 

Richard  H.  Hewitt,  the  father  of  William  S.  Hewitt, 
was  born  in  Illinois,  January  7,  1844,  and  was  reared 
on  the  frontier,  his  entire  life  being  passed  amid  exciting 
scenes  and  marked  with  many  interesting  incidents.  His 
first  venture  on  his  own  account  was  the  operation  of  a 
ranch  in  Nebraska,  where  his  property  was  destroyed  bv 
a roving  band  of  Pawnee  Indians,  and  in  1863,  with  his 
brother  William,  they  began  general  freighting  for  them- 
selves from  Marysville,  Kansas,  to  their  ranch  twenty- 
eight  miles  east  of  Fort  Carney.  About  the  year  1867 
he  went  to  Marshall  County,  Kansas,  where  he  filed  on 
a tract  of  eighty  acres  of  land,  which  he  continued  to 
cultivate  until  1894,  and  for  seven  years  also  engaged  in 
merchandising  and  in  conducting  a hotel.  This  latter 
property  was  destroyed  by  fire  in  1876  and  he  returned 
to  his  farm  in  Marshall  County,  but  about  the  year  1893 
moved  to  Blue  Rapids,  Kansas,  where  he  made  his  home 
for  two  years.  On  April  19,  1895,  he  and  his  son,  Wil- 
liam S.,  filed  on  their  present  farm  in  Pawnee  County, 
a tract  of  120  acres  in  the  southwest  quarter  of  section 
28,  adjoining  Jennings  on  the  East.  But  the  father 
bought  out  the  man  who  was  on  this  farm.  On  first 
coming  here  Richard  H.  Hewitt  was  engaged  for  several 
years  in  freighting.  The  farm  is  now  conducted  by 
the  son,  William  S.  Mr.  Hewitt,  Sr.,  was  married  in 
September,  1868,  to  Miss  Nancy  J.  Strange,  who  was 
born  in  Missouri  in  1850,  and  to  this  union  there  have 
been  born  two  children : William  S. ; and  Hettie,  who  is 
the  wife  of  William  Dexter,  of  Marshall  County,  Kansas. 

William  S.  Hewitt  was  born  on  his  father’s  farm  in 
Marshall  County,  Kansas,  July  23,  1869,  and  was  there 
reared  to  farming  pursuits  and  educated  in  the  district 
schools.  From  the  time  of  his  arrival  in  Oklahoma  until 
his  marriage,  a period  of  about  three  years,  he  was  en- 
gaged in  freighting  from  Sapulpa  and  Perry  to  Jennings 


and  following  this  again  engaged  in  farming,  and  stock 
raising.  On  coming  to  Jennings  he  became  a clerk  in 
the  general  store  of  Todd  & Bishop,  but  after  a few 
months  resigned  and  entered  the  employ  of  A.  E.  Ansley, 
a general  merchant  and  hardware  and  implement  dealer. 
He  was  with  Mr.  Ansley  on  and  off  for  about  five  years, 
and  during  this  time  was  also  employed  as  a clerk  in 
the  postoffice  for  several  months,  as  well  as  in  a bank 
and  drug  store  for  a short  time.  In  1907  Mr.  Hewitt 
was  made  manager  of  Spurrie’s  Lumber  Yards  and  held 
that  position  until  May,  1915.  His  chief  contribution 
to  the  upbuilding  of  Jennings  has  been  the  laying  out 
and  development  of  the  Hewitt  Addition,  a tract  of 
seven  acres  which  is  almost  entirely  built  up.  Every 
enterprise  of  any  importance  has  received  his  support, 
and  he  is  considered  one  of  the  energetic  and  capable 
men  of  the  community  who  has  been  a factor  in  the  life 
of  Jennings  since  his  arrival.  Mr.  Hewitt  is  a repub- 
lican, while  his  fraternal  connections  are  with  the  local 
lodge  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the 
Knights  of  the  Maccabees,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America  and  the  Blue  Lodge. 

On  July  31,  1898,  Mr.  Hewitt  was  united  in  marriage 
with  Miss  Lillie  Belle  Wharton,  who  was  born  February 
13,  1887,  in  Jefferson  County,  Kansas,  daughter  of  A.  E. 
and  Sarah  (Butcher)  Wharton,  who  are  now  residents 
of  Hallett,  Oklahoma.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hewitt  have  been 
the  parents  of  three  children:  Harry  Glenn;  Ralph  W., 
who  died  when  2%  years  old;  and  Ruth. 

George  G.  LaMotte.  One  of  the  most  interesting  as 
well  as  one  of  the  most  efficient  business  partnerships  in 
Oklahoma  is  that  of  LaMotte  & LaMotte,  the  constituent 
members  of  which  are  Mr.  and  Mrs.  George  G.  LaMotte 
of  Pawhuska.  Since,  their  marriage  and  in  the  course 
of  five  years  on  a partnership  basis  they  have  engaged  in 
the  leasing  of  Osage  lands  for  farming  and  grazing 
purposes,  and  they  probable  handle  as  much  land  under 
one  ownership  as  any  other  one  firm  or  individual  in  the 
state.  Their  holdings  under  lease  run  to  more  than 
400,000  acres  each  year,  and  with  such  a vast  pasturage 
it  is  easy  to  understand  that  they  are  among  the  largest 
producers  of  cattle  and  other  livestock  for  the  market 
in  the  state.  Mr.  LaMotte  is  a young  business  man 
well  known  through  his  relations  with  the  public  service 
and  in  other  affairs,  and  Mrs.  LaMotte  is  undoubtedly 
one  of  the  business  women  in  the  Southwest.  She  has  a 
talent  for  getting  large  things  accomplished  in  a large 
way,  and  is  equally  at  home  in  the  handling  of  business 
and  in  the  brilliant  social  circles  of  the  national  capital, 
where  she  spent  several  years  with  her  former  husband, 
Congressman  McGuire. 

Mr.  LaMotte  was  born  at  Hayward,  at  that  time  one 
of  the  lumber  centers  of  Northern  Wisconsin,  on  March 
13,  1880,  a son  of  Frank  and  Elizabeth  (Limry)  LaMotte. 
His  father  was  born  near  Montreal,  Canada,  of  French 
parentage.  He  grew  up  in  that  locality,  became  identi- 
fied with  the  lumber  industry,  and  followed  the  call  of 
the  lumber  woods  into  Wisconsin  and  Minnesota.  He 
died  when  his  son  was  about  twelve  years  of  age.  The 
mother  was  born  at  Green  Bay,  Wisconsin,  spent  all  her 
life  in  that  gtate,  and  died  at  Hayward  in  1902.  Through 
her  Mr.  LaMotte  has  a portion  of  Chippewa  Indian 
blood  in  his  veins.  He  was  the  oldest  of  four  sons,  his 
brother  James  being  a resident  of  Wisconsin,  Edward 
of  Oklahoma,  and  Lloyd  in  Kansas. 

His  early  boyhood  was  spent  at  Hayward,  Wisconsin, 
where  he  attended  the  public  schools,  a Government  school 
at  Tom  ah,  Wisconsin,  and  also  the  high  school  there. 
Mr.  LaMotte  gained  his  higher  education  and  business 
training  in  the  Haskell  Indian  School  at  Lawrence, 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2137 


Kansas,  where  he  spent  four  years.  During  that  time 
he  was  prominent  both  in  the  social  and  athletic  life  of 
the  college,  was  a member  of  the  noted  Haskell  Indian 
football  team,  and  also  served  as  secretary  of  the  super- 
intendent, H.  P.  Peavis  of  the  Haskell  School.  He  spent 
portions  of  two  seasons  on  the  road  with  the  Wheelock 
• Indian  Band,  playing  the  bass  solo  instrument.  After 
the  activities  of  his  college  career,  he  was  for  one  year  in 
the  offices  of  the  Santa  Pe  Railroad  at  Topeka,  and  was 
'then  with  the  Rock  Island  at  Kansas  City.  A part  of  the 
i;'  time  was  spent  on  the  road  with  different  musical  organi- 
zations, and  this  and  other  activities  account  for  the 
fact  that  though  still  a young  man  Mr.  LaMotte  has 
seen  perhaps  as  much  of  the  people  and  cities  of 
America  as  anyone.  From  Kansas  City  he  moved  to 
Pawhuska  in  1905,  and  here  became  identified  with  the 
Osage  Townsite  Commission.  He  entered  the  Civil 
■Service,  and  up  to  1910  was  identified  with  the  Osage 
Agency. 

1 Mr.  LaMotte  was  first  married  in  1904  to  Louise  Bay- 
hylle,  who  died  in  1908,  leaving  one  child,  Georgia.  In 
1910  Mr.  LaMotte  married  Mrs.  Anna  (Marx)  McGuire. 

: They  soon  afterwards  started  their  unique  business  part- 

f nership  of  LaMotte  & LaMotte.  Mr.  LaMotte  is  a 
I.  democrat  in  politics,  and  takes  much  interest  in  party 
s affairs,  though  he  is  essentially  a business  man  and  his 
i large  and  varied  interests  demand  his  entire  attention. 

Mrs.  LaMotte  is  a native  of  Illinois,  but  was  reared 
and  educated  in  Southern  Kansas  and  from  an  early 
age  has  been  remarkable  for  her  intense  activity  and 
is  vigor  of  mind  and  charm  and  social  character.  When  a 
in  girl  she  held  the  responsibilities  of  postmaster  at  Sedan, 
at  Kansas.  She  went  into  Oklahoma  at  Pawnee  about  the 
te  time  the  strip  was  opened,  and  not  only  displayed  a 
■S5  keen  ability  in  competition  with  men  and  business  affairs, 
iii  but  was  from  the  start  an  attractive  figure  in  social 
n , circles.  He  has  a large  acquaintance  over  this  and 
le[  other  states,  and  when  she  went  to  Washington  she 
He  . [quickly  proved  her  ability  as  a social  leader. 


;est  I 
bet 

nan  I 
rite 
■illy 
is  a 

itge 

ness 
ital>  j 
and, 

one 
laieli 
lotte. 
retell 
lenti- 
ill  of 
He 
The 
11  her 
rough 
ndian 
is,  his 
dwarf 

sonsin, 
schooll 
there. ; 
osiness 

menceJ 


Judge  John  M.  Hates.  The  Hayes  family,  of  which 
ETudge  John  M.  of  this  review  is  the  local  representative, 
had  its  origin  in  Ireland,  and  the  first  of  the  name  to 
come  to  America  was  William  Hayes,  great-grandfather 
of  the  subject.  He  was  a surveyor  in  his  native  land, 
and  coming  to  America  settled  in  New  Hampshire,  the 
pamily  home  being  near  historic  Concord  then  and  for 
imany  years  thereafter.  He  was  occupied  in  his  pro- 
fession when  the  Revolutionary  fires,  long  smouldering 
in  the  hearts  of  the  Colonials,  burst  out  vigorously,  and 
he  was  soon  fighting  in  the  ranks  of  the  Colonial  army 
with  the  rank  of  colonel.  His  record  was  a brilliant  one 
throughout  the  long  struggle  for  American  independence, 
and  many  tales  are  told  of  his  nerve  and  daring  in  en- 
counters with  the  enemy. 

I The  son  of  Colonel  Hayes  was  also  named  William 
and  was  the  father  of  the  subject  of  this  sketch. 
He  was  born  in  New  Hampshire,  and  was  educated  at 
Dartmouth.  He  was  a man  of  considerable  talent  in  a 
literary  way,  and  was  long  prominent  in  governmental 
affairs  of  his  native  state.  He  served  thirty-six  years 
as  a member  of  the  New  Hampshire  Legislature,  and 
was  a life-long  democrat.  He  served  through  the  War 
of  1812  with  the  rank  of  colonel,  and  in  1850  left  his 
native  state  and  came  to  Illinois,  where  he  bought  and 
Operated  a large  farm  for  some  years. 

Dr.  A.  W.  Hayes  was  born  in  New  Hampshire,  and 
like  his  father,  had  his  education  at  Dartmouth  College. 
He  came  to  Illinois  with  his  father  in  1850,  and  they 
located  at  Buda,  Berrian  County.  When  the  Civil  war 
same  on  he  enlisted  in  a New  Hampshire  regiment  in 


the  capacity  of  an  army  surgeon,  passing  through  the 
conflict  until  November,  1864.  The  young  surgeon,  then 
but  thirty-two  years  old,  died  suddenly  as  a result  of 
illness,  and  his  wife  survived  him  only  a few  hours. 
Both  were  interred  in  the  same  grave,  and  their  burial 
place  is  at  Buda,  Illinois.  His  wife  was  Sarah  M.  Webb, 
also  of  New  Hampshire  birth,  and  she  left  one  child 
John  M.  Hayes,  then  an  infant. 

Judge  Hayes  was  reared  on  his  grandfather’s  farm  in 
Illinois,  and  was  graduated  from  the  Buda  High  School 
in  1879.  He  entered  a law  school  later  and  in  1883  was 
graduated  with  the  degree  LL.B.  He  established  himself 
in  practice  in  Coles  County,  Illinois,  continuing  there 
until  1901,  and  winning  various  professional  and  political 
honors  in  the  time  of  his  service  there.  In  1901  he  came 
to  Oklahoma,  settled  on  a farm  in  Karva  County  and 
practiced  law  at  the  same  time.  For  some  time  he 
owned  and  edited  the  Sulphur  Democrat.  During  the 
first  years  of  Oklahoma’s  statehood  he  was  an  attorney 
in  the  land  department,  and  in  1911  he  came  to  Cleveland 
and  settled  down  to  the  practice  of  his  profession.  Judge 
Hayes  has  been  a democrat  all  his  life. 

In  1886  Judge  Hayes  was  married  to  May  Shepherd,  a 
native  of  Burrage  County,  Illinois,  and  the  daughter  of  a 
Buda  (Illinois)  merchant.  She  had  her  higher  education 
in  the  Geneseo  Normal  School  of  Illinois  and  for  some 
years  was  occupied  as  a teacher  in  her  native  state. 
She  is  prominent  in  the  social  activities  of  Cleveland, 
and  is  president  of  the  Mothers’  Club  of  the  city.  To 
Judge  and  Mrs.  Hayes  have  been  born  three  children: 
Harold,  Ophelia,  and  John  M.  Jr. 

Hon.  Scott  Ferris.  The  representative  of  the  Fifth 
Congressional  District  of  Oklahoma  in  the  United  States 
Congress,  Hon.  Scott  Ferris,  is  also  known  as  one  of 
the  leading  legal  lights  of  Lawton,  Oklahoma,  his  home 
city,  and  as  an  agriculturist  has  been  identified 
with  the  development  of  Comanche  County  during  the 
past  decade.  In  each  capacity  he  has  shown  himself 
capable,  painstaking  and  thoroughly  informed,  and  al- 
though he  is  still  a comparatively  young  man  he  is  gen- 
erally accounted  as  one  of  Lawton’s  leading  citizens. 

Mr.  Ferris  was  born  November  3,  1877,  at  Neosho, 
Missouri,  and  is  a son  of  the  late  Scott  and  Anna  M. 
(Thorp)  Ferris,  and  a member  of  a family  which,  orig- 
inating in  England,  emigrated  to  the  United  States  and 
settled  first  in  Delaware  and  later  in  New  York.  Scott 
Ferris,  the  father  of  Congressman  Ferris,  was  born  in 
1842,  at  Mount  Morris,  near  Rochester,  New  York,  and  as 
a young  man  came  to  the  West,  locating  at  Neosho, 
Missouri,  in  1866.  There  he  followed  agricultural  pur- 
suits with  success  until  1902,  in  which  year  he  took  up 
his  residence  at  Walter,  Oklahoma,  where  he  died  two 
years  later.  He  was  an  active  democrat  in  his  political 
views,  and  fraternally  was  connected  with  the  Masons 
and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  Mrs.  Ferris, 
who  was  born  at  Mount  Morris,  New  York,  in  1847,  died 
at  Walter,  Oklahoma,  in  1905.  They  were  the  parents  of 
three  children,  namely:  Thomas,  who  is  in  the  Govern- 

ment Indian  Service  and  resides  at  Lame  Deer,  Mon- 
tana; Scott,  of  this  review;  and  Anne,  who  makes  her 
home  with  her  brother  at  Lawton. 

Scott  Ferris  received  his  early  education  in  the  public 
schools  of  Neosho,  Missouri,  where  he  was  graduated 
from  the  high  school  in  1897,  and  following  this  at- 
tended the  University  of  Missouri  for  one  year.  He  theh 
enrolled  as  a student  in  the  Kansas  City  School  of  Law, 
being  graduated  therefrom  in  1901,  with  the  degree  of 
Bachelor  of  Laws,  and  almost  immediately  took  up  his 
residence  at  Lawton,  where  he  has  continued  in  active 
practice,  his  law  office  being  located  at  406  D Avenue. 


2138 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


As  a lawyer  lie  early  attracted  to  himself  an  excellent 
professional  business,  and  in  the  meantime  became  ac- 
tively interested  in  democratic  politics,  being  elected  a 
member  of  the  last  Territorial  Legislature  of  1905-06.  In 
1907  he  became  the  candidate  of  his  party  for  Congress, 
as  representative  of  the  Fifth  Congressional  District  of 
Oklahoma,  and  was  sent  to  that  body,  where  he  imme- 
diately demonstrated  his  fitness  for  public  service  of  an 
exalted  character.  His  excellent  services  gained  him 
repeated  re-elections,  and  at  the  present  time  he  is  serv- 
ing his  fifth  consecutive  term.  In  this  time,  Mr.  Ferris 
has  served  on  many  important  committees,  and  the  work 
that  he  has  accomplished  for  the  benefit  of  his  constit- 
uents has  been  of  a nature  to  give  him  prestige  as  one 
of  Oklahoma’s  most  helpful  public  servants.  At  the 
present  time  Mr.  Ferris  is  chairman  of  the  important 
Public  Lands  Commission.  In  1911  he  was  appointed 
by  Speaker  Champ  Clark  as  one  of  the  two  members  of 
Congress  chosen  as  members  of  the  Board  of  Regents 
of  the  Smithsonian  Institute. 

Fraternally,  Mr.  Ferris  is  affiliated  with  Lawton  Lodge 
No.  183,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons;  Lawton 
Chapter  No.  44,  Royal  Arch  Masons;  Lodge  No.  1056, 
Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  of  Lawton, 
and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  He  is  a working 
member  of  the  Lawton  Chamber  of  Commerce  and  has 
done  much  to  accelerate  its  undertakings.  As  a farmer, 
Mr.  Ferris  is  the  owner  of  two  valuable  properties,  one 
of  126  acres  adjoining  Lawton  and  one  of  160  acres 
located  1%  miles  from  the  city,  in  Comanche  County.  He 
has  specialized  in  alfalfa  and  has  met  with  excellent 
success  in  his  agricultural  ventures. 

On  June  23,  1906,  at  Neosho,  Missouri,  Mr.  Ferris  was 
united  in  marriage  with  Miss  Grace  Hubbert,  daughter 
of  George  Hubbert,  a prominent  attorney  of  that  city. 
They  have  no  children. 

J.  C.  Byers.  Long  a cattle  man  in  Oklahoma,  in  the 
days  before  it  was  opened,  J.  C.  Byers  has  lived  the  life 
of  the  open  through  a good  many  years.  In  more  recent 
years  he  has  devoted  himself  to  the  operating  of  a 
general  merchandise  store  in  Cleveland.  He  is  a pioneer 
in  this  section  of  the  country,  and  is  identified  with 
numerous  branches  of  industry,  including  farming,  oil 
production,  real  estate  and  insurance.  Mr.  Byers  was 
born  in  Fairfield,  Iowa,  on  August  14,  1861,  and  he  is  a 
son  of  H.  H.  and  Mary  E.  (Laughlin)  Byers. 

H.  H.  Byers  was  born  on  April  13,  1838,  and  his  wife 
on  June  9th  of  the  same  year,  in  Ohio  and  Pennsylvania, 
respectively.  He  was  a son  of  John  and  Mary  (Hunter) 
Byers,  and  they  came  from  Virginia  to  Ohio  in  the  early 
pioneer  days  of  that  state,  and  John  Byers  was  killed 
by  the  Indians  when  in  middle  life.  They  had  two  sons, 
H.  H.,  father  of  the  subject,  and  John  H.  Mary  Hunter, 
his  wife,  was  a sister  of  General  Hunter,  a Union 
general  in  the  Civil  war,  and  one  of  their  brothers  was  a 
member  of  Jeff  Davis’  cabinet. 

When  H.  H.  Byers  was  sixteen  years  of  age  the 
family  came  to  Iowa,  and  he  and  his  brother  were  still 
in  their  early  twenties  when  they  enlisted  in  Company 
H,  Second  Iowa  State  Infantry  in  1861.  Both  served 
through  a three  year  period,  and  they  were  stationed  at 
Beaeonsville,  Texas,  when  the  war  was  closed.  H.  H. 
finished  his  service  with  the  rank  of  second  lieutenant. 
He  was  at  Pikes  Peak,  Colorado,  when  the  wgr  broke  out, 
but  lost  no  time  in  getting  back  to  his  native  state  so 
that  he  might  enlist  for  service.  He  was  at  the  front 
when  his  son,  J.  E.,  of  this  review,  was  born.  In  1869 
H.  H.  Byers  came  to  the  Osage  Nation,  near  Old  Hickory 
Fort.  He  thought  he  was  on  the  Kansas  side,  but  when 
the  survey  was  made  discovered  that  he  was  mistaken, 


so  he  moved  across  the  line  into  Kansas  and  settled  on 
farm  on  the  state  line.  When  the  Cherokee  strip  was 
opened  in  1893  he  came  to  Oklahoma,  and  he  died  here- 
in Cleveland,  in  1898.  All  his  life  he  was  a cattleman 
and  farmer,  and  he  enjoyed  a generous  measure  of 
success 

Of  his  marriage  with  Mary  E.  Laughlin,  five  sons  were 
born.  J.  E.  is  the  eldest.  W.  L.  is  a resident  of 'Osage 
County.  Fred  L.  lives  near  Cleveland.  Emmor  also  lives 
in  Cleveland,  and  Rolla  lives  in  Cushing. 

_ J.  E.  Byers  spent  his  early  life  as  his  father’s  as 
sistant,  and  he  was  very  young  when  he  familiarized 
himself  with  the  details  of  the  cattle  business.  He  was 
eight  years  old  when  the  family  moved  to  the  Osage 
Nation,  where  the  father  had  contracts  for  supplying 
the  Indians  with  beef,  and  the  boy  was  not  slow  to 
learn  the  Osage  language.  When  he  first  left  his  father 
young  Byers  went  to  Texas  and  there  was  employed  by 


Hart 

(atii 


cattle  men.  He  drove  cattle  over  the  trail  from  Texas  to  blit 


arinj 

I 


Emporia,  Kansas,  in  1872,  and  later  made  many  trips 
over  the  same  trail.  It  may  properly  be  said  that  hi 
has  been  a cattle  man  all  his  life,  for  he  began  in 
when  he  was  only  eight  years  old. 

On  coming  to  Cleveland  Mr.  Byers  established  a mer- 
cantile business.  He  ran  a general  store  here  and  at 
Horning  until  1897,  when  he  moved  on  a ranch  in  Osage  iage 
County  and  continued  there  for  three  years.  He  then 
became  assistant  cashier  in  the  Cleveland  National  Bank 
and  a little  later  went  into  the  oil  business.  Prior  to 
that  time,  however,  he  had  been  interested  in  the  oil 
activities  of  the  district,  and  had  operated  to  some  fee 
extent,  so  that  he  may  properly  be  called  one  of  the 
pioneer  oil  men  of  the  state.  In  fact,  he  was  one  of 
those  who  discovered  the  oil  deposits  in  Oklahoma.  To 
day  he  is  the  owner  of  extensive  oil  lands.  Mr.  Byers 
owns  considerable  farm  land  in  the  county,  and  has  a 
one-fourth  interest  in  the  second  addition  to  the  Town 
of  Cleveland.  He  has  a real  estate  and  insurance  office  Jj™, 
in  the  National  Bank  Building,  where  his  interests  are  " 
handled.  Another  enterprise  that  has  had  his  attention 
is  the  zinc  industry  in  Arkansas,  where  he  has  som 
valuable  properties. 

Mr.  Byers  is  a member  of  the  progressive  party,  and 
with  his  family  has  membership  in  the  Presbyterian 
Church,  of  which  he  is  a trustee.  He  is  a Master  Mason 
and  a Pythian  Knight. 

On  June  2,  1897,  Mr.  Byers  was  married  to  Florena 
Powell,  of  Independence,  Kansas.  They  have  three  sons 
Harold  C.,  Dale  and  Lewis. 


it® 


Milton  Clark  Ware.  One  of  the  prominent  familie: 
of  the  old  Osage  tribe  is  that  household  of  which  Milto 
C.  Ware  is  the  head,  residents  of  Pawhuska.  For  many 
years  the  Ware  family  lived  on  a large  ranch  and  farm™ 
in  Osage  County,  but  moved  to  Pawhuska  some  years 
ago  in  order  that  the  children  might  secure  bettei 
educational  advantages. 

Mr.  Ware  himself  is  an  intermarried  citizen  of  thi 
Osages.  He  was  born  in  Collin  County,  Texas,  Oetobe: 

11,  1856,  a son  of  James  and  Nancy  (Howell)  Ware, 

His  father  was  born  in  Lawrence  County,  Arkansas,  and 
his  mother  in  Illinois,  but  they  spent  most  of  their  lives 
in  Collin  County,  Texas,  where  his  father  was  a farmei  ro 
and  stock  raiser  and  also  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers 
That  section  of  Northern  Texas  had  a very  scant  popula- 
tion until  after  the  close  of  the  Civil  war.  In  thei 
family  are  five  sons  and  one  daughter  still  living. 

Milton  Clark  Ware  grew  up  on  the  old  Texas  farm 
gained  his  education  in  the  common  schools  of  tha 
country  and  lived  there  as  a farmer  and  stock  man  unti 
coming  to  Osage  County  in  1890.  After  his  marriage  hi 


ition 


Bora  i 


.then 


ii 


(lifers 


r 


(ghters 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2139 


a 

5 

a 

of 

;es 


Si- 

ll 

is 

;e 

iiig 

to 
list 
by 
i tO 
ips 
k 
S69 


Her- 
at 
■age 
:kn 
mk, 
r to 
oil 
we 
tie 
e of 
To- 
ilers 
■ a 
’owi 
Ice 
are. 
ition 
some 


aid 

efian 

Il-OD 

rence 

sobs: 


milies 
lilton 
many  j 
farm  ■ 
years ; 
letter , 

if  tie  | 
ctober 
Ware, 

?,  aid 
r lives 
tanner 
ettlers, 
icpula- 
i tier 

fann, 
if  flat 
a until 

iage  he 


located  on  a large  farm  five  miles  south  of  Pawhuska, 
and  that  was  his  home  until  six  years  ago  when  he  moved 
his  family  to  Pawhuska  in  order  that  his  children  might 
be  close  to  good  schools.  He  keeps  a home  in  town  and 
also  lives  at  the  ranch,  and  still  operates  the  farm  and 
has  some  very  extensive  interests  as  a farmer  and  stock 
man.  His  wife  and  children  have  shared  in  the  allotment 
of  Indian  lands,  and  there  are  seven,  individual  par- 
ticipants in  this  allotment  among  his  own  family,  each 
one  having  more  than  a section  of  land. 

Mr.  Ware  is  affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows,  and  he  and  his  family  belong  to  the 
Christian  Church.  October  3,  1891,  he  married  Agnes 
Martin.  She  was  born  near  Tahlequah  in  the  Cherokee 
Nation  September  13,  1870,  and  she  is  of  Cherokee  and 
! Osage  blood.  She  lost  her  mother  when  she  was  fourteen 
months  old,  and  soon  afterward  her  father  brought  her 
to  the  Osage  Nation.  Her  parents  were  Alexander  and 
Rachel  (Sanders)  Martin.  Her  father  was  born  near 
Pryor  Creek  in  the  Cherokee  Nation,  and  her  mother 
near  Talequah.  Both  were  half  blood  Indians,  her  father 
[being  of  the  Osage  and  her  mother  of  the  Cherokee 
[blood.  Her  father  died  December  17,  1915,  his  home 
having  been  on  Eighth  Street,  Pawhuska.  He  married 
for  his  third  wife  Minnie  Denton.  By  the  first  mar- 
riage there  were  two  children  and  Mrs.  Ware’s  sister 
: is  Julia,  the  wife  of  William  Edwards  of  Wynona. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ware  have  eight  children:  Julia, 

wife  of  Gordon  Wells,  living  near  Bartlesville;  Nancy, 
wife  of  Edward  German  of  Ponca  City;  Beulah  May, 
[Rose  Lee,  Henry,  Davis,  Marie  and  James,  at  home. 

I Eben  Soderstrom.  This  is  one  of  the  few  men  who 
lean  claim  lifelong  residence  at  Pawhuska,  though  until 
[recent  years  there  was  no  city  specially  worthy  of  the 
[name  in  that  locality.  The  milling  industry  in  this 
[section  of  Oklahoma  owes  more  to  the  enterprise  of  the 
ISoderstroms,  father  and  son,  than  to  any  other  individual. 
It  has  been  with  milling  and  the  grain  business  that 
[Eben  Soderstrom  has  been  identified  all  his  active 
■career,  and  his  father  before  him  was  one  of  the  promi- 
j nent  millers  in  the  early  days  of  old  Indian  Territory. 

Born  at  Pawhuska  November  3,  1879,  Eben  Soderstrom 
is  a son  of  John  and  Laura  (Coffey)  Soderstrom.  His 
Bather  was  born  in  Sweden  in  1853,  and  died  at  Paw- 
ihuska  in  1905.  When  nineteen  years  of  age  he  cam,e  to 
America,  having  learned  the  trade  of  millwright  in  the 
old  country,  and  from  Chicago,  where  he  first  located, 
worked  at  different  points  until  he  came  to  Indian  Ter- 
gritory  in  1878.  He  was  at  that  time  and  for  a number 
pdf  years  in  the  employ  of  the  United  States  Government, 
and  it  was  under  Government  auspices  that  he  built  two 
i mills  in  this  part  of  Oklahoma,  one  at  Kaw  Agency  and 
: another  at  the  Osage  Agency  at  what  is  now  Pawhuska. 
iWhen  the  Government  sold  this  latter  mill  at  auction  he 
i and  W.  S.  Mathews  secured  the  property,  and  following 
this  purchase  he  continued  its  operation  until  his  death. 
| His  early  death  was  the  result  of  drowning  in  Bird 
'Creek,  while  putting  up  ice.  While  he  followed  the 

• milling  industry  all  his  life,  and  built  a number  of  mills 
in  different  parts  of  the  country,  he  was  also  for  a 
number  of  years  in  the  cattle  business,  operating  a large 
ranch  near  Pawhuska.  In  politics  he  was  a republican, 
■but  contented  himself  merely  with  voting,  and  was  not 

• an  active  party  man.  He  was  affiliated  with  the 
^Masonic  order  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 
John  Soderstrom  was  married  soon  after  coming  to 
Indian  Territory  in  the  spring  of  1878  to  Miss  Laura 
Coffey,  who  is  still  living  at  Pawhuska.  Special  interest 
attaches  to  her  because  of  the  fact  that  she  is  one  of  the 
daughters  of  Colonel  Coffey,  the  founder  of  the  City  of 


Coffeyville,  Kansas,  where  she  was  born  in  1863.  Of 
their  six  children  Eben  is  the  oldest;  Della  is  the  wife 
of  Ben  Parsons  of  Pawhuska;  J.  W.  lives  at  Pawhuska; 
Hannah  is  the  wife  of  John  Renfrew,  also  of  Pawhuska; 
and  Carl  and  Floyd  are  likewise  residents  of  that  city. 

After  his  education  in  local  schools  up  to  the  age  of 
sixteen,  Eben  Soderstrom  found  a place  in  his  father’s 
mill,  and  under  the  latter’s  direction  learned  all  the 
details  of  the  milling  business.  He  was  associated  with 
the  elder  Soderstrom  until  his  death,  and  then  in  part- 
nership with  J.  E.  Scarborough  bought  the  old  stone  mill 
on  Bird  Creek  which  his  father  had  built  and  operated. 
Three  years  later  this  landmark  of  early  industry  burned. 
Then  with  his  own  capital  Mr.  Soderstrom  built  the 
present  grain  elevator  and  seed  mill  located  near  the 
Midland  Valley  Railroad  station  in  Pawhuska.  The 
elevator  has  a capacity  of  10,000  bushels  of  grain,  and 
he  also  does  a business  of  custom  grinding  for  the 
farmers  of  that  community.  He  is  wholesale  flour  agent 
in  this  part  of  Oklahoma  for  the  Globe  Flour  Mills. 
In  his  business  Mr.  Soderstrom  employs  three  men,  and 
is  one  of  the  live  and  enterprising  citizens  of  Pawhuska. 
Fraternally  he  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  Order  and 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  In  1914  occurred 
his  marriage  to  Naomi  Conley,  who  was  born  at  Arkansas 
City,  Kansas,  in  1886,  a daughter  of  Joseph  Conley. 
They  have  a son,  John,  who  is  one  year  old  at  this  writing 
and  named  in  honor  of  his  grandfather. 

Loris  E.  Bryant.  One  of  the  progressive  young  men 
who  have  fully  availed  themselves  of  the  opportunities 
afforded  in  the  vital  young  State  of  Oklahoma  is  Hon. 
Loris  E.  Bryant,  who  was  elected  representative  of  Osage 
County  in  the  Fifth  Legislature  of  this  commonwealth 
and  who  is  a prominent  and  successful  merchant  and 
agriculturist  of  that  county,  his  home  and  mercantile 
establishment  being  in  the  thriving  and  ambitious  Village 
of  Bigheart. 

Mr.  Bryant  was  born  at  Chautauqua  Springs,  Chau- 
tauqua County,  Kansas}  on  the  15th  of  October,  1884, 
and  is  a son  of  Thomas  A.  and  Sarah  (Davenport) 
Bryant,  the  former  a native  of  Bates  County,  Missouri, 
and  the  latter  of  Cass  County,  that  state,  her  father 
having,  been  a valiant  soldier  of  the  Union  in  the  Civil 
war.  Thomas  A.  Bryant  was  a pioneer  of  where  he 
eventually  became  a substantial  agriculturist  and  stock 
grower.  Shortly  after  the  close  of  the  Civil  war  he  re- 
moved from  Missouri  to  Chase  County,  Kansas,  where 
he  settled  near  Gottonwood  Falls.  He  endured  the  full 
tension  of  the  turbulent  period  attended  by  the  opera- 
tions of  the  jayhawkers  and  bushwhackers  in  the  Sun- 
flower State  after  the  close  of  the  war  and  served  as  a 
member  of  the  home  guard,  a militia  organization  estab- 
lished to  defend  the  settlers  against  the  depredations  of 
these  lawless  elements.  He  became  one  of  the  honored 
and  well  known  citizens  of  Chautauqua  County  and 
served  at  one  time  as  mayor  of  Chautauqua  Springs, 
where  his  death  occurred  on  the  6th  of  July,  1914.  He 
was  seventy-one  years  of  age  -when  he  passed  away,  his 
devoted  wife  having  been  summoned  to  the  life  eternal 
on  the  26th  of  April,  1907,  at  the  age  of  sixty  years,  and 
both  having  been  persons  of  sterling  character  as  well 
as  of  deep  and  abiding  Christian  faith  and  effective 
practice. 

Relative  to  the  formative  period  in  the  life  of  Loris  E. 
Bryant  the  following  significant  statements  have  been 
made:  “Mr.  Bryant’s  early  training  was  exemplary 

and  benignant,  his  parents  having  been  devoted  Chris- 
tians, and  when,  at  the  age  of  thirteen  years,  he  faced 
the  world  alone  and  set  forth  to  make  his  own  way,  he 
was  fortified  by  conscientious  honesty  and  integrity,  from 


2140 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


the  course  of  which  he  has  never  wavered  during  the  later 
years  of  earnest  and  successful  endeavor.  ’ ’ Between  the 
ages  of  eight  and  eighteen  years  Mr.  Bryant  had  at- 
tended school  for  a total  period  of  only  nineteen  months, 
but  his  alert  mentality  and  self-reliance  have  enabled  him 
effectually  to  make  good  this  handicap  of  earlier  years. 
He  was  still  a boy  at  the  time  of  his  parents’  removal 
from  Kansas  to  the  territory  of  the  Osage  Nation  in 
Oklahoma,  where  they  made  settlement  on  a farm.  The 
financial  resources  of  his  parents  werq  extremely  limited, 
but  Mr.  Brown  determined  to  acquire  through  his  own 
exertions  the  means  for  further  education.  It  will  thus 
be  seen  that  his  ambition  was  one  of  action,  and  by 
zealous  application  to  farm  work  before  and  after  enter- 
ing the  institution,  he  was  enabled  to  defray  the  expenses 
of  a three  years’  course  in  the  Oklahoma  Agricultural  & 
Mechanical  College  at  Stillwater.  He  left  college  in  his 
junior  year  and  came  forth  well  fortified  in  both  academic 
and  scientific  knowledge,  as  he  had  applied  himself  with 
all  diligence  and  earnestness.  He  returned  to  the 
home  farm  and  later  he  became  associated  with  one  of 
his  brothers  in  the  operation  of  a ranch  near  Pawhuska, 
the  present  judicial  center  of  Osage  County.  After  a 
time  this  property  was  sold  by  the  brothers  and  Loris 
E.  Bryant  then  engaged  in  the  general  merchandise 
business  at  Kiefer,  Creek  County.  There  he  contracted 
typhoid  fever  and  in  his  period  of  convalescence  it  was 
found  imperative  for  him  to  seek  a change  of  climate. 
Accordingly  he  passed  a year  in  Tampico,  Mexico,  where 
he  held  the  position  of  managing  editor  of  the  Tampico 
Post,  the  only  paper  there  published  in  the  English  lan- 
guage. After  his  return  to  Oklahoma  he  passed  another 
year  at  Kiefer  and  then  engaged  in  the  mercantile  busi- 
ness at  Pawhuska,  Osage  County.  Later  he  and  his 
brother  established  a general  store  at  Bigheart,  this 
county,  where  they  built  up  a prosperous  business,  under 
the  firm  name  of  Bryant  Brothers.  The  subject  of  this 
review  finally  sold  his  interest  in  this  enterprise  and 
purchased  stock  in  the  Bank  of  Bigheart,  of  which  he 
was  assistant  cashier  until  1912,  when  he  there  resumed 
his  association  with  the  mercantile  business,  with  which 
he  is  still  actively  and  successfully  identified,  besides 
being  the  owner  of  valuable  farm  property  in  the  north- 
ern part  of  the  county.  It  is  his  purpose  to  devote 
eventually  his  entire  attention  to  scientific  agriculture 
and  stock  growing,  and  his  experience  and  technical 
knowledge  assure  to  him  large  and  worthy  success  in 
this  important  fieid  of  industrial  enterprise.  Mr.  Bryant 
has  served  as  city  clerk  of  Bigheart,  as  clerk  of  the 
board  of  education  of  the  village,  and  as  clerk  of  the 
Osage  County  Association  of  Boards  of  Education.  He 
is  progressive  and  energetic  in  his  efforts  to  raise  the 
standard  of  these  lines  of  enterprise  in  his  section  of 
the  state  and  is  a close  student  of  the  scientific  and  prac- 
tical matters  pertaining  thereto.  Mr.  Bryant  is  a young 
man  of  sterling  character  and  high  civic  ideals.  He  has 
shown  a lively  concern  in  political  and  religious  affairs 
and  assisted  in  the  organization  of  the  Young  Men’s 
Christian  Association  at  the  Oklahoma  Agricultural  & 
Mechanical  College  at  Stilwell,  representing  the  same  at 
the  meeting  of  the  Western  Division  of  the  Students’ 
Young  Men’s  Christian  Association  at  Lake  Geneva, 
Wisconsin,  in  1903,  while  he  was  still  a student  in  the 
college  mentioned. 

In  the  autumn  of  1914  Mr.  Bryant  was  elected  repre- 
sentative of  Osage  County  in  the  Oklahoma  Legislature, 
as  candidate  on  the  Democratic  ticket.  He  received  a 
plurality  of  322  votes,  though  the  largest  previous  plu- 
rality accorded  to  a Democratic  candidate  for  this  office 
in  the  county  had  been  but  seventy  votes.  In  the  Fifth 
General  Assembly  Mr.  Bryant  was  assigned  to  member- 


ship on  a number  of  important  house  committees,  namely : 
General  agriculture,  oil  and  gas,  insurance,  county  and 
township  organization  and  government,  relations  to  the 
Five  Civilized  Tribes  and  other  Indians,  and  enrolled  and 
engrossed  bills.  He  was  the  author  of  a bill  providing 
for  the  free  distribution  of  dyphtheria  antitoxin;  a bill 
establishing  a Pasteur  station  for  the  prevention  and 
treatment  of  hydrophobia,  this  having  the  strong  approval 
of  the  administration;  a bill  providing  for  the  election 
of  county  commissioners  for  a term  of  six  years,  with 
the  term  of  one  of  the  commissioners  to  expire  every  two 
years ; a bill  providing  regulations  for  the  sanitary  opera- 
tion of  bottling  works ; a bill  abolishing  township  govern- 
ment in  Osage  county;  and  a bill  creating  county  courts 
at  Hominy  and  Fairfax,  that  county.  Mr.  Bryant  proved 
a far-sighted,  careful  and  practical  member  of  the  legis- 
lative body  and  manifested  specially  active  interest  in 
measures  relating  to  good  roads,  education,  home  owner- 
ship, and  workmen’s  compensation. 

As  may  be  inferred,  Mr.  Bryant  is  a stalwart  advocate 
of  the  principles  and  policies  of  the  Democratic  party 
and  is  one  of  its  influential  representatives  in  Osage 
county.  In  his  home  village  of  Bigheart  he  is  affiliated 
with  the  organizations  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows  and  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  and  at 
Pawhuska,  the  county  seat,  he  is  identified  with  the  fra- 
ternal association  known  as  the  Homesteaders.  He  has 
been  liberal  in  the  support  of  measures  and  enterprises 
tending  to  advance  the  general  welfare  of  his  home 
village  and  county  and  is  vice-president  of  the  Bigheart 
Telephone  Company.  He  has  two  brothers — Charles  A.: 
who  is  engaged  in  business  at  Pawhuska,  and  Thomas 
Edward,  who  conducts  a general  merchandise  business 
at  that  place. 

At  Pawhuska,  on  the  29th  of  December,  1909,  was 
solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Bryant  to  Miss  Mary 
Jessie  Tinker,  whose  father  possesses  a strain  of  Osage 
Indian  blood.  Mrs.  Bryant  was  educated  in  the  Ursline 
Academy  at  Paola,  Kansas,  is  a young  woman  of  refine 
ment  and  gracious  presence,  and  is  active  in  religious  and 
social  affairs  at  Bigheart.  The  two  children  of  Mr 
and  Mrs.  Bryant  are  Harold  T.  and  Velma,  the  former 
having  been  born  in  1911  and  the  latter  in  1913. 


In  Com 
of  land, 
h 1892 
sitlffi 


Francis  T.  Norbury  was  a man  most  prominent  anc 
influential  in  founding  the  town  of  Hooker  in  Texas 
County.  The  creation  and  upbuilding  of  that  center 
of  population  and  trade  are  the  facts  which  give  Mr 
Norbury  a special  place  in  Oklahoma  - City. 

By  profession  he  is  a lawyer,  has  been  in  practice  in 
Oklahoma  in  connection  with  his  large  business  interests 
and  is  also  a real  estate  and  loan  broker. 

An  Englishman  by  birth,  he  was  born  February  16 
1857,  at  Worcestershire,  was  educated  in  Cheltenhan  ltMe, 
College,  beginning  with  the  age  of  nineteen  and  took  up  Pj 
the  law  in  his  native  country.  In  1889  he  came  tq 


America  and  practiced  in  Wisconsin  and  Illinois  and  for  j®aM 


a few  years  was  a member  of  the  Chicago  bar. 


It  was  in  1903  that  he  came  to  Oklahoma  with  Captair  Ps  also 


A.  R.  Cobb.  They  bought  the  site  and  started  the  towi 
of  Hooker  and  Mr.  Norbury  erected  the  first  house  ii 
that  town.  He  also  opened  the  first  law  office  and  was  Weu 
soon  appointed  a justice  of  the  peace.  Everything  vital!; 
concerning  the  welfare  and  upbuilding  of  the  town  has  bias 
had  his  earnest  support.  He  organized  the  first  Christiai  “e  is  k 
church,  and  was  ordained  a deacon  and  has  been  espeeialljfl1*^, 
prominent  in  its  affairs.  Since  becoming  an  America! 
citizen  he  has  been  aligned  with  the  republican  partjB 
and  in  Oklahoma  has  served  as  chairman  of  the  township  Jat»] ; 
committee  and  for  four  years  was  clerk  of  the  town  oi 
Hooker. 


liitckfie 


iis  stut 
Jrritori 


if  tie 


at  boo 


On  Ms 


orn  th, 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2141 


ml  for 

laptaif 
e tom 
mse  ii 
ml  ms 
vitally 
mi  W 
iristiai 
feiiall; 
meric® 
i party 

x4 

■ 


While  living  in  England  Mr.  Nor  bury  married  and  has 
eight  children,  tnree  daughters  and  five  sons,  all  of  whom 
live  in  England  and  tne  boys  are  now  fighting  with  the 
British  army.  On  February  14,  1893,  in  Oconto  County, 
Wisconsin,  he  married  Miss  Clara  Anderson,  who  was 
also  a native  of  England.  They  have  no  children  of 
their  own,  but  adopted  a son  Lionel,  who  was  born 
September  10,  1912. 

Thomas  E.  Willis,,  a lawyer  at  Fairview  in  Major 
County,  is  an  Oklahoma  pioneer.  His  early  years  in  this 
state  were  spent  as  a teacher,  and  he  has  been  an  active 
member  of  the  bar  since  1897. 

Mr.  Willis  represents  an  old  and  honorable  line  of 
American  ancestry.  His  forbears  were  patriots,  and  all 
of  them  for  several  generations  had  military  records. 
His  great-grandtather  Colonel  Nathaniel  Willis  served 
with  that  rank  in  the  army  of  General  Washington  during 
the  Revolution.  Colonel  Samuel  Willis,  the  grandfather, 
saw  active  service  at  the  head  of  a regiment  in  the  War 
of  1812,  being  under  the  command  of  General  Andrew 
Jackson. 

Captain  William  R.  Willis,  father  of  the  Oklahoma 
lawyer,  was  born  April  6,  1834,  in  Grayson  County,  Ken- 
tucky. Though  a Kentuckian  he  was  a strong  Union 
man,  and  commanded  a company  in  the  army  of  General 
Sherman  during  the  Civil  war.  He  also  came  to  Okla- 
homa, where  he  spent  his  last  years  and  died  at  Canton 
April  6,  1906.  In  1865  Captain  Willis  married  Harriet 
L.  Brown,  who  was  born  in  Grayson  County,  Kentucky, 
in  1842  and  died  at  Enid,  Oklahoma,  in  1901.  Her  par- 
ents Jacob  H.  and  Sarah  (Anderson)  Brown  were  natives 
of  Tennessee.  Captain  Willis  and  wife,  were  members 
of  the  Christian  Church.  They  were  the  parents  of 
eleven  children,  eight  sons  and  three  daughters,  namely: 
Thomas  E.,  H.  Clay,  Jacob  H.,  Oliver  P.,  Sarah  Viola, 
William  E.,  Eugene,  Phelegmon,  (deceased),  Albert  R., 
Laura  and  Myrtle. 

In  the  same  log  house  in  Grayson  County,  Kentucky, 
where  his  father  was  born,  Thomas  E.  Willis  also  saw 
. the  light  of  day  September  15,  1865.  His  early  years 
were  spent  on  his  father’s  farm.  He  attended  the  public 
schools  until  he  was  nineteen,  and  graduated  from  the 
Litchfield  Academy  of  Litchfield,  Kentucky.  Mr.  Willis 
came  west  in  1885,  locating  in  Kansas  with  his  parents. 
In  Comanche  County  of  that  state  he  proved  up  a claim 
of  land,  and  for  six  years  was  also  a locomotive  engineer. 
In  1892  Mr.  Willis  came  to  Oklahoma,  identified  himself 
with  Kingfisher  County,  and  was  one  of  the  early  school 
teachers  in  that  locality.  While  teaching  he  also  pursued 
i,  his  studies  of  law,  and  in  1897  was  admitted  to  the 
territorial  bar.  In  the  same  year  he  was  elected  on  a 
i,  fusion  ticket  to  the  fifth  session  of  the  territorial  legis- 
lature, representing  Kingfisher  County.  He  took  an  active 
apart  in  the  deliberations  of  that  body  and  was  chairman 
of  the  Committee  on  Education.  In  this  capacity  he 
became  author  of  the  first  bill  providing  for  free  school 
text  books  that  was  ever  introduced  in  Oklahoma.  He 
was  also  author  of  the  fee  and  salary  law  which  found 
a place  on  the  statute  books. 

Since  1910  Mr.  Willis  has  been  in  active  practice  at 
Fairview  in  Major  County.  He  is  one  of  the  leading 
democrats  of  the  state,  served  as  state  committeeman, 
and  has  given  his  time  generously  to  the  public  welfare. 
He  is  recognized  as  one  of  the  ablest  lawyers  of  his 
county.  Mr.  Willis  has  been  an  active  member  of  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  since  1890. 

^ On  May  12,  1893,  in  Comanche  County,  Kansas,  he 
married  Miss  Josephine  L.  Bratcher.  She  was  born  in 
I Kentucky  November  9,  1872.  To  their  union  have  been 
born  three  children:  Mabel  O.,  born  July  22,  1896; 


Roland  Emmet,  born  June  1,  1898,  and  died  June  1, 
1899;  Jessie  Lillian,  born  November  16,  1900. 

Dee  Rodman  is  one  of  the  successful  newspaper  men 
of  Oklahoma,  entered  the  profession  through  the  ranks  of 
a printer,  and  is  now  editor  and  publisher  of  the  Fair- 
view  Enterprise  at  Fairview  in  Major  County. 

Mr.  Rodman  is  a young  man,  and  has  spent  most  of 
his  years  in  Oklahoma.  He  was  born  March  6,  1884,  on 
a farm  in  Erath  County,  Texas,  a son  of  John  B.  and 
Nancy  Jane  (Kimbro)  Rodman,  the  former  a native  of 
Kentucky  and  the  latter  of  Arkansas.  John  B.  Rodman 
was  born  December  17,  1860,  at  Paducah,  Kentucky,  fol- 
lowed farming  and  stone  masonry  for  his  active  career, 
and  is  still  farming  in  Beaver  County,  Oklahoma.  He 
was  married  in  1880  and  his  wife  was  born  May  22, 
1861,  in  Hope  County,  Arkansas,  daughter  of  Thomas  W. 
and  Clementine  Kimbro,  both  of  whom  are  natives  of 
Tennessee.  John  B.  Rodman  and  wife  have  the  follow- 
ing children:  Arthur,  born  August  3,  1882;  Dee;  - Ella, 
who  was  born  December  -19,  1886,  and  was  married  in 
1902  to  L.  R.  Houx,  and  they  live  in  Colorado;  Fred  L. 
born  February  14,  1888;  John  J.,  born  June  21,  1891; 
Ila  Belle  born  December  28,  1894;  Daisy,  born  December 
21,  1896;  and  Hugh  B.,  born  June  30,  1901. 

The  first  sixteen  years  of  his  life  Dee  Rodman  spent 
on  his  father’s  farms  in  Erath  and  Ellis  counties,  Texas. 
His  parents  then  moved  to  Oklahoma,  locating  in  Chey- 
enne, and  there  he  continued  his  education  in  the  public 
schools.  Mr.  Rodman  also  had  the  benefit  of  a two  years  ’ 
business  course  in  the  University  of  Oklahoma  at  Norman. 
In  1903  at  the  age  of  nineteen  he  entered  the  office  of 
the  Beacon  at  Cordell,  Oklahoma,  and  learned  by  prac- 
tical experience  the  printer ’s  trade.  In  1905  he  came  to 
Fairview  and  followed  his  trade  as  a journeyman  printer 
until  1914.  In  that  year  he  bought  the  plant  of  the 
Enterprise  at  Ames,  Oklahoma,  removed  it  to  Fairview 
and  has  since  published  the  Fairview  Enterprise,  one  of 
the  leading  papers  of  Major  County.  Politically  Mr. 
Rodman  is  a republican,  and  he  and  his  wife  are  members 
of  the  Christian  Church. 

On  March  12,  1910,  at  Fairview  he  married  Miss  "Vie 
Morse.  Mrs.  Rodman  was  born  at  Girard,  Kansas, 
November  20,  1891,  a daughter  of  J.  E.  and  Sadie 
(Nunally)  Morse.  To  their  marriage  was  born  one  child, 
Roberta  Marian,  born'  May  28,  1914. 

The  City  National  .Bank,  of  Lawton,  Oklahoma, 
the  pioneer  bank  of  Comanche  County,  was  organized 
March  23,  1901,  as  the  First  National  Bank  of  Fort 
Sill,  with  a capital  of  $25,000,  authorized  to  do  business 
by  the  comptroller  of  the  currency  as  No.  5753.  It  was 
the  first  bank  organized  to  do  business  in  the  Kiowa, 
Comanche  and  Apache  Reservation,  comprising  the  coun- 
try now  included  in  Comanche,  Kiowa,  Caddo  and  Till- 
man counties,  as  well  as  part  of  the  counties  of  Stephens, 
Jefferson  and  Grady. 

When  this  country  was  opened  for  settlement,  and  the 
City  of  Lawton  entered  upon  its  career,  the  name  of  this 
institution  was  changed  to  the  City  National  Bank,  of 
Lawton,  and  doors  thrown  open  for  business  at  nine 
o’clock,  A.  M.,  August  6,  1901.  From  that  time  to  the 
present  this  bank  has  prospered  and  developed,  growing 
with  the  needs  of  the  country  and  contributing  to  the 
growth  of  that  country  and  the  wealth  and  welfare  of 
its  citizens.  The  first  home  of  the  City  National  Bank 
was  in  a small  frame  structure,  located  on  a lot  adjoin- 
ing the  United  States  Land  Office  property,  but  this  was 
soon  found  to  be  too  small,  although  the  institution  con- 
tinued to  have  its  residence  there  until  its  new  brick 
building,  the  second  brick  building  in  the  City  of  Lawton, 


2142 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


was  ready  for  occupancy,  July  1,  1902.  The  bank’s 
continued  prosperity  and  growing  business  has  com- 
pelled its  present  removal  to  still  larger  and  better 
quarters. 

On  April  16,  1906,  the  capital  of  the  City  National 
Bank  was  doubled  out  of  its  earnings,  and  at  the  present 
time  its  capital,  surplus  and  profits  approximate  nearly 
$100,000,  while  its  deposits  average  in  the  neighborhood 
of  $500,000.  The  City  National  was  designated  as  a 
depositary  of  the  United  States  by  the  Treasury  Depart- 
ment, July  19,  1906,  and  since  that  time  this  institu- 
tion has  handled  millions  of  dollars  of  the  moneys  of  the 
United  States  Government. 

The  success  and  growth  of  this  bank  may  be  ascribed 
to  the  judgment,  acumen,  foresight  and  ability  of  its 
officers,  all  well  known  business  men  of  Lawton,  whose 
well  known  integrity  has  inspired  confidence  in  deposi- 
tors and  has  naturally  attracted  business.  They  are: 
Prank  M.  English,  president ; Samuel  M.  King,  vice  presi- 
dent;- Edwin  E.  Shipley,  cashier,  and  Charles  W.  Crab- 
tree, assistant  cashier. 

Dr.  Tolbert  Barton  Hinson.  The  Hinson  family 
was  long  established  in  Tennesee  before  one  of  its  number 
migrated  in  a westerly  direction  and  located  in  Arkansas. 
It  was  in  that  state  that  Dr.  Tolbert  Barton  Hinson  was 
born,  and  his  father  before  him,  one  A.  J.  Hinson,  was 
also  born  there,  in  the  vicinity  of  Cave  City,  on  May 
25,  1855.  He  died  there  on  July  16,  1915,  having  spent 
his  entire  life  in  that  community,  barring  a period  of 
one  year’s  time  spent  in  Walden,  Arkansas,  and  a brief 
time  in  Philadelphia,  Arkansas,  sometime  in  the  early 
eighties.  It  was  in  Walden  that  Doctor  Hinson  was 
born,  on  February  8,  1882. 

A.  J.  Hinson  was  a farmer  and  stockman,  prosperous 
and  progressive,  and  he  was  a lifelong  member  of  the 
Presbyterian  Church.  He  married  Elizabeth  McGee,  who 
was  born  in  Arkansas  in  1858,  and  who  died  in  Oxford, 
Arkansas,  in  November,  1890.  Their  children  were  six 
in  number,  and  are  briefly  mentioned  as  follows:  George 
Franklin,  the  eldest,  is  living  in  Newport,  Arkansas,  where 
he  is  a dealer  in  marble ; Doctor  Hinson  was  the  second 
born;  W.  E.  resides  at  Fort  Smith,  Arkansas,  where  he 
has  charge  of  a cut  glass  and  china  store;  Parkie  Elmore 
is  a farmer  and  lives  in  Day,  Arkansas;  Lily  married 
William  Hood,  a farmer  of  Day ; and  Sturling  Alexander 
is  a farmer  and  lives  near  Thomas,  Oklahoma. 

Doctor  Hinson  had  his  early,  education  in  the  public 
schools  of  Arkansas.  His  ambition  was  toward  the 
medical  profession,  however,  and  he  entered  the  Hospital 
Medical  College,  in  Louisville,  Kentucky,  and  for  four 
years  pursued  a rigid  course  of  study.  He  was  gradu- 
ated in  the  class  of  1905  with  the  degree  M.  D.,  since 
which  time  he  has  taken  post  graduate  work  in  Chicago 
in  1913  and  1915.  In  June,  1908,  Doctor  Hinson  located 
in  Thomas,  which  place  was  the  center  of  his  profes- 
sional activities  until  1915,  when  he  located  in  Enid, 
forming  a partnership  with  Doctor  Boyle  and  buying  a 
half  interest  in  the  Enid  Springs  Sanitarium  and  Hos- 
pital with  Doctor  Boyle.  Enid  Springs  Sanitarium  and 
Bath  House  was  established  by  Dr.  Boyle  on  September 
1,  1814.  This  institution  filled  a long  felt  want  and 
is  the  only  institution  in  the  state  combining  the  three 
features  of  sanitarium,  hospital  and  bath  house.  It 
has  an  ideal  location  within  a half  block  of  Enid’s 
famous  Mineral  Springs.  Its  house  physicians  are 
Doctors  Boyle  and  Hinson.  Doctor  Hinson  was  the 
founder  of  the  Thomas  Hospital.  He  is  a member 
of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  and  is  a Mason  of  high 
degree.  His  Masonic  affiliations  are  with  Enid  Lodge 
No.  80,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  Enid  Chapter 


No.  27,  Royal  Arch  Masons,  Enid  Commandery  No.  13, 
Knights  Templar,  Council  No.  35,  Guthrie  Consistory 
No.  1,  and  Akdar,  Ancient  Arabic  Order  of  the  Noble 
Mystic  Shrine,  of  Tulsa  Oklahoma. 

In  Salem,  Arkansas,  in  the  year  1901,  was  recorded 
the  marriage  of  Doctor  Hinson  to  Miss  Doeia  Gault, 
daughter  of  J.  H.  Gault,  now  living  retired  in  Day, 
Arkansas.  They  have  three  children:  Amy,  born  Novem- 
ber 15,  1902;  Bruce  Ratliff,  born  August  4,  1906;  and 
Kirk,  born  May  7,  1909. 

I 

Nathan  A.  Robertson.  Among  the  men  of  Okla- 
homa who  have  been  connected  with  financial  enter- 
prises, few  are  more  widely  known  than  Nathan  A. 
Robertson,  of  Lawton.  While  his  activities  are  centered 
in  this  city,  his  connections  are  of  such  an  extensive 
nature  that  they  include  this  entire  part  of  the  state. 

Mr.  Robertson  was  born  in  Appanoose  County,  Iowa, 
January  30,  1855,  and  is  a son  of  Moses  C.  and  Elizabeth  tlie 

Jane  (Streepey)  Robertson.  The  Robertson  family  »! 

originated  in  England,  andi  Mr.  Robertson ’s  great-  in ; 

grandfather  was  a participant  in  the  Revolutionary  War,  jolil 

while  his  great-uncle  was  the  founder  of  the  City  of  M 

Nashville,  Tennessee.  Hiss 

Moses  C.  Robertson  was  born  in  Tennessee,  in  1811,  Lesu 

and  at  twelve  years  of  age  removed  to  Indiana,  where  In  tl 

he  engaged  in  farming.  He  was  a pioneer  of  Appa-  Fniv 

noose  County,  Iowa,  in  1851,  a strong  Presbyterian  and  lege, 

elder  in  the  church,  and  a stalwart  abolitionist.  He  died  Aits, 

at  Cincinnati,  Iowa,  in  1889.  Mr.  Robertson  was  mar-  taut 

ried  first  to  Mildred  Pringle,  who  died  in  Indiana.  His  Horn 

second  wife  was  Elizabeth  Jane  Streepey,  who  was  born  of  L; 

in  Indiana,  in  1826,  and  died  at  Cincinnati,  Iowa,  in  itoiy 

1863,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  five  children,  Lela, 

namely : Edward,  deceased,  was  a farmer  and  stockman  lion  a 

of  Cincinnati,  Ohio;  Nathan  A.,  of  this  review;  J.  H.,  ulei 

who  was  formerly  a large  farmer  and  stockman  of  ariou 

Montana,  and  is  now  living  retired  at  Butte,  that  state;  take 

M.  M.,  who  is  a ranchman  in  Montana;  and  Charles  ourse 

Sumner,  of  Des  Moines,  Iowa,  who  was  formerly  a mer- 
chant and  traveling  salesman,  but  is  now  engaged  in  the  ]pai 
real  estate  and  insurance  business.  Moses  C.  Robertson  lank  c 
was  married  a third  time,  his  wife  being  a Miss  Sheppard,  atcd  i 
who  died  at  Cincinnati,  Iowa.  id  ^ 

The  early  education  of  Nathan  A.  Robertson  was  swta 
secured  in  the  public  schools  at  Cincinnati,  Iowa,  where 
he  completed  the  high  school  course  in  1871.  At  that 
time  he  became  a grain  buyer  for  a concern  of  that  plai  e, 
continuing  as  such  until  the  year  1875,  when  he  went  to  1(.,? 
Promise  City,  Iowa,  and  established  himself  in  the  grain  j n,,e 
and  stock  business,  with  which  he  was  connected  until  ,Jr,,a 
1910,  when  he  disposed  of  his  interests  there.  As  early  , e 
as  1882  Mr.  Robertson  became  interested  in  financial  . s 
matters,  when  he  established  a private  banking  business  ' 
at  Promise  City,  and  from  that  time  to  the  present  he 
has  been  an  important  figure  in  the  financial  world  of 
Oklahoma  and  Iowa.  In  1895  he  incorporated  his  bank  ' ,ffl 
at  Promise  City  into  the  Farmers  State  Bank,  continu-  ' 
ing  as  its  president  until  coming  to  Lawton,  Oklahoma,  » ' 
in  1910.  In  the  meantime,  in  1903,  he  had  opened  the  ■ 5®! 
Farmers  and  Commercial  Bank  at  Cincinnati,  of  which  r' 
he  is  still  president.  At  the  present  time  he  is  a stock-  ,,acatl 
holder  in  the  National  Bank  at  Walter,  Oklahoma,  presi-  J '“|a: 
dent  of  the  National  Bank  of  Waurika,  Oklahoma,  and  ^ ® 
president  of  the  National  Bank  of  Hastings,  Oklahoma,  °’“l 
a position  which  he  has  held  since  1901.  On  coming  to  j,.11  ™ 
Lawton,  in  1910,  he  became  interested  in  the  First 
National  Bank,  and  in  that  same  year  purchased  the  J 
Oklahoma  State  Bank,  which  was  consolidated,  December 
31,  1912,  with  the  First  National  Bank,  of  which  Mr.  ' 
Robertson  has  been  president  since  January,  1913.  He 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2143 


sent  he 

oild  ofj 

is  ban® 
tout® 
Jahoma, 
sued  ft® 
if  which 
a stock 
ia,p®' 
ma,  and 
Mai 

oming  to 
lie  M 
teed*  I 

December 
svhieh  Mr. 
1913.  Se 


is  also  president  of  the  Citizens  State  Bank,  of  Geronimo, 
Oklahoma,  a director  in  the  Bank  of  Tuttle,  Oklahoma, 
and  president  of  the  J.  J.  Brown  Cotton  Company,  of 
Lawton.  There  is  probably  no  name  in  this  part  of 
Oklahoma  that  stands  in  greater  degree  for  integrity, 
probity,  honorable  dealing  and  devotion  to  the  highest 
ethics  of  business  life  than  that  borne  by  Mr.  Robertson. 
He  has  been  deeply  interested  in  every  movement  which 
has  tended  to  secure  the  best  interests  of  his  community, 
and  with  this  end  in  view  has  been  a hearty  worker  in 
all  elevating  undertakings.  With  his  family,  Mr.  Rob- 
ertson is  a member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church. 
He  belongs  to  Lawton  Lodge  No.  183,  Ancient  Eree  and 
Accepted  Masons,  of  which  he  is  past  master;  Centerville 
(Iowa)  Chapter,  Royal  Arch  Masons;  Centerville  Com- 
niandery,  Knights  Templar,  and  Za-Ga-Ziz  Temple, 
Ancient  Arabic  Order  of  the  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine, 
and  also  holds  membership  in  the  Knights  of  Pythias  and 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  He  is  a member 
and  active  worker  of  the  Chamber  of  Commerce,  and 
in  political  matters  is  a republican,  although  not  a 
politician. 

Mr.  Robertson  was  married  at  Cincinnati,  Iowa,  to 
Miss  Emma  Lesney,  daughter  of  the  late  Jonathan 
Lesney,  a hardware  merchant.  Nine  children  were  born 
to  this  union,  as  follows:  R.  L.,  who  attended  Drake 
University  for  three  terms,  a graduate  of  Parson’s  Col- 
lege, Fairfield,  Iowa,  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of 
Arts,  and  now  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business  at 
Lawton;  Guy  C.,  a graduate  of  C.  C.  C.  College,  Des 
Moines,  Iowa,  and  now  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank 
of  Lawton;  Cecile,  a graduate  of  Des  Moines  Conserv- 
atory of  Music,  who  died  at  the  age  of  twenty  years; 
Lela  J.,  who  lives  at  home;  Mabel,  a graduate  of  elocu- 
tion at  Drake  University,  a talented  speaker  and  much 
in  demand  at  entertainments  and  public  gatherings  of 
i various  kinds;  Pansy  I.,  residing  at  home,  a graduate  of 
Drake  University,  in  music,  who  also  took  a four-year 
course  at  Howard  Hall;  James  B.,  residing  with  his 
[parents;  Nathan  Ray,  educated  in  the  high  school  at 
El  Paso,  Texas,  and  now  cashier  of  the  Citizens  State 
iBank  of  Geronimo,  Oklahoma,  and  Rex  Wayne,  also  edu- 
cated in  the  El  Paso  High  School,  who  is  now  secretary 
and  treasurer  of  the  J.  J.  Brown  Cotton  Company,  at 
(Lawton. 

i Harris  L.  Danner,  of  the  law  firm  of  Shirk  & Danner, 
[although  still  so  young  a man,  has  already  attained  an 
enviable  degree  of  prominence  among  the  legal  fraternity 
of  Oklahoma  City.  He  has  fairly  earned  the  right  to 
bear  the  honorable  title  of  self-made  man,  for  from  the 
time  he  was  fourteen  years  of  age  he  has  made  his  own 
way  in  the  world,  educationg  himself  and  making  his 
own  opportunities.  He  was  born  at  Astoria,  Fulton 
jCounty,  Illinois,  February  13,  1888,  and  is  a son  of 
B.  and  Melissa  (Moore)  Danner,  the  father  being  of 
Bsrerman  descent  and  for  many  years  an  agriculturist  in 
the  fertile  fields  of  the  Prairie  state. 

Reared  amid  rural  surroundings,  Harris  L.  Danner  re- 
ceived his  early  education  in  the  country  schools,  while 
|is  vacation  periods  were  spent  in  the  work  of  the  farm. 
He  became  self-supporting  at  the  age  of  fourteen  years, 
and  when  he  had  graduated  from  Rushville  Normal 
School,  Rushville,  Illinois,  at  the  age  of  seventeen  years, 
fegan  teaching  school  in  Schuyler  County,  that  state. 
During  the  next  three  years,  in  addition  to  discharging 
is  duties  in  the  school  room,  he  accepted  whatever  honor- 
tble  outside  employment  presented  itself,  and  also  found 
ime  to  devote  to  the  study  of  law,  finally  being  enabled 
o enter  the  law  department  of  the  University  of  Indiana, 
t Valparaiso,  from  which  he  was  graduated  with  the 


class  of  1909  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Law  and 
was  immediately  admitted  to  the  bar  of  Indiana,  and 
in  the  same  year  came  to  Oklahoma  and  was  here  admitted 
by  the  Supreme  Court,  taking  up  his  residence  and  prac- 
tice at  Oklahoma  City.  Shortly  after  his  arrival,  Mr. 
Danner  formed  a partnership  with  John  Shirk,  under 
the  firm  style  of  Shirk  & Danner,  and  this  combination 
has  continued  to  the  present  time,  offices  being  maintained 
at  604-610  Security  Building.  The  firm  carries  on  a 
general  practice,  which  has  steadily  increased  in  volume 
and  importance. 

Mr.  Danner  is  unmarried  and  resides  at  No.  1210 
North  Broadway,  Oklahoma  City. 

Chester  C.  Clark.  In  education  circles  of  Southern 
Oklahoma,  Chester  C.  Clark  has,  within  recent  years, 
become  known  as  a young  man  of  energetic  spirit,  whose 
zeal  is  leading  him  toward  an  elevation  of  educational 
standards  and  whose  abilities  and  talents  undoubtedly 
will  bring  him  to  a realization  of  his  ambitions.  Himself 
an  earnest,  conscientious  and  untiring  scholar,  he  is  pos- 
sessed of  the  happy  faculty  of  being  able  to  imbue  others 
with  his  own  ideals,  and  the  period  of  his  incumbency 
of  the  position  of  superintendent  of  schools  of  Pauls 
Valley  has  been  characterized  by  marked  advancement  in 
system  and  efficiency. 

Mr.  Clark  is  a Kansan  by  nativity,  born  at  Mayetta, 
Jackson  County,  December  30,  1885,  a son  of  Charles  C. 
and  Alice  (Morrow)  Clark.  His  branch  of  the  Clark 
family  originated  in  England  and  its  early  members 
in  this  country  were  pioneers  of  Ohio.  The  Morrows 
were  of  Scotch-Irish  origin  and  early  settlers  of 
Tennessee.  Charles  C.  Clark  was  born  in  Southern 
Ohio  in  1852,  and  as  a lad  of  five  years  accompanied 
his  parents  to  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  where  he  was 
reared,  educated  and  married.  In  1884  he  removed  to 
Mayetta,  six  years  later  went  to  Holton,  in  the  same 
state,  and  in  1899  took  up  his  residence  at  Law- 
rence, Kansas,  from  whence  he  came  in  1901,  to  his 
present  home  at  Comanche,  Oklahoma.  He  has  devoted 
his  energies  to  agricultural  work  and  at  the  present  time 
is  the  owner  of  a tract  of  160  acres  of  valuable  land 
lying  six  miles  west  of  Comanche  on  which  he  does 
stockraising  and  diversified  farming.  Mr.  Clark  is  a 
republican  and  fraternizes  with  the  Masons.  He  married 
Alice  Morrow,  a native  of  Southern  Missouri,  and  they 
have  had  five  children:  Chester  C.,  of  this  notice;  Glenn, 
a graduate  of  the  Oklahoma  State  University  at  Norman, 
where  he  was  captain  of  the  varsity  football  team, 
and  now  head  of  the  mathematical  department  of  the 
State  Normal  School  at  Ada,  Oklahoma;  Hazel,  who  died 
aged  one  year;  William,  a graduate  of  the  Oklahoma 
State  Normal  University,  at  Norman,  where,  like  his 
brother,  he  captained  the  football  team,  and  now  a teacher 
in  the  Shawnee  High  School;  and  Grace  a graduate  of 
the  State  Normal  School  at  Edmond,  Oklahoma,  now  a 
teacher  in  the  Pauls  Valley  schools. 

After  attending  the  school  at  Holton,  Kansas,  through 
the  eighth  grade,  Chester  C.  spent  two  years  in  the 
Lawrence  (Kansas)  High  School,  then  returning  to  the 
farm,  where  he  assisted  his  father  for  four  years,  or 
until  1905.  He  then  resumed  his  studies  as  a student 
at  the  Norman  preparatory  department  of  the  State 
University,  being  graduated  from  the  university  proper 
in  1910,  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts.  Many  of 
the  wiseacres  are  inclined  to  make  us  believe  that  ath- 
letics and  intellectual  attainments  cannot  be  formed  into 
a happy  combination,  but  in  refutation  of  this  idea  we 
may  state  that  the  name  of  Clark  is  one  idelibly  in- 
scribed upon  the  athletic  annals  of  the  university,  while 
the  brothers  bearing  this  name  have  all  shown  rare 


2144 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


■worth  and  ability  in  the  field  of  education.  Like  his 
brothers,  Chester  C.  Clark  showed  a wholesome  desire 
for  athletics  and  his  prowess  upon  the  gridiron  won  him 
a place  in  the  hearts  of  students  and  faculty  alike.  He 
played  with  the  varsity  team,  and  not  only  won  his  full 
share  of  honors  in  the  strenuous  game  of  football,  but 
proved  himself  a valuable  man  in  track  events.  During 
the  school  year  of  1910-11  he  was  principal  of  Cordell 
(Oklahoma)  High  School,  and  in  the  summer  of  the 
latter  joined  the  United  States  Geological  Survey,  gain- 
ing valuable  experience  during  the  four  and  one-half 
months  he  spent  in  the  service  in  Montana  and  North 
Dakota.  To  further  prepare  himself,  in  October,  1911, 
he  entered  Columbia  University,  New  York,  where  for 
three  months  he  specialized  in  geology.  The  school  year 
1912-13  found  him  principal  of  Tishomingo  (Oklahoma) 
High  School,  and  during  the  summer  of  the  latter  year 
he  was  an  instructor  at  the  Ada  State  Normal  School. 
In  the  fall  of  1913  he  left  this  position  to  become  prin- 
cipal of  the  Pauls  Valley  High  School,  where  his  work 
attracted  such  favorable  notice  that  in  September,  1914, 
he  was  made  superintendent  of  schools  of  Pauls  Valley, 
a position  in  which  he  has  under  his  supervision  three 
schools,  twenty-two  teachers  and  900  scholars.  In  the 
summer  of  1914  Mr.  Clark  took  post-graduate  work  at 
Chicago  University,  and  in  the  summer  of  1915  again 
attended  that  institution,  taking  a course  in  educational 
work.  He  is  in  line  to  receive  the  degree  of  Master  of 
Arts,  in  1916.  Popular,  capable,  and  possessed  of  much 
executive  ability,  Mr.  Clark  is  undoubtedly  doing  great 
things  for  the  Pauls  Valley  schools,  and,  naturally,  for 
the  future  welfare  and  advancement  of  the  community. 

Mr.  Clark  is  on  the  Garvin  County  Examining  Board 
for  Teachers,  and  belongs  to  the  Garvin  County  Teachers  ’ 
Association  and  the  Oklahoma  State  Teachers’  Associa- 
tion. He  is  a democrat,  a Methodist  by  religious  faith 
and  a member  of  Valley  Lodge  No.  6,  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons,  of  Pauls  Valley.  He  is  unmarried. 

D.  C.  Maher.  One  of  the  men  of  real  business  leader- 
ship in  Osage  County  is  D.  C.  Maher,  who  has  been 
cashier  of  the  Fairfax  National  Bank  since  its  organiza- 
tion. Mr.  Maher  has  spent  all  his  years  since  early 
childhood  in  this  part  of  Oklahoma  and  in  point  of  resi- 
dence is  one  of  the  oldest  white  citizens  among  the  Osage 
people. 

He  was  born  in  St.  Lawrence  County,  New  York, 
October  29,  1877,  a son  of  John  B.  and  Amelia  (McEwen) 
Maher.  On  both  sides  his  grandparents  came  from  Ire- 
land. His  parents  were  both  born  in  northern  New  York, 
and  his  father  died  at  the  home  of  his  son  in  Fairfax 
November  10,  1913,  aged  seventy-three.  The  mother 
died  at  Pawhuska  November  20,  1904,  at  the  age  of 
fifty-nine.  The  family  lived  in  New  York  until  1885, 
when  they  moved  to  Indian  Territory,  and  for  about 
twenty-five  years  the  father  managed  the  Leland  Hotel 
at  Pawhuska.  His  later  years  were  spent  in  practically 
total  blindness,  and  in  spite  of  this  affliction  he  knew 
all  the  people  around  him  by  the  sound  of  their  voices 
and  their  footsteps.  He  possessed  a wonderful  memory, 
and  was  one  of  the  kindly  and  loved  characters  of  Paw- 
huska. While  living  in  the  East  he  performed  clerical 
work  and  was  a cattle  buyer.  D.  C.  Maher  was  the  fifth 
in  a family  of  six  children,  record  of  the  others  being 
as  follows:  Alice,  wife  of  H.  L.  Cox  of  Cedarvale; 

Ransom  J.  of  Pawhuska;  Daniel  B.  of  Pawhuska;  How- 
ard M.,  who  died  October  5,  1912,  at  the  age  of  thirty- 
eight;  and  Bertha,  wife  of  N.  D.  Sanders  of  Phoenix, 
Arizona. 

When  the  family  removed  to  Indian  Territory  in  1885 
D.  C.  Maher  was  eight  years  of  age.  He  grew  up  in 


Pawhuska,  attended  the  subscription  school  there, ' and 
the  high  school  at  Cedar  Vale,  Kansas,  two  years,  but 
since  boyhood  his  life  has  been  one  of  independent  ven- 
ture and  of  increasing  commercial  experience.  At  17 
years  of  age  he  went  to  work  at  Hominy,  and  was  em- 
ployed  by  the  old  Indian  traders  Read  & Bopst  for 
about  three  years  until  that  firm  went  out  of  business.  , 
The  following  three  years  he  worked  for  Prentice  Price  j 
in  mercantile  business.  It  was  during  these  associations  s 
that  Mr.  Maher  gained  his  fluency  and  command  of  the  ;■ 

Osage  language  and  for  years  he  has  spoken  it  like  a Cl 

native.  Mr.  Maher  in  association  with  Mr.  Price  and  f] 
R.  J.  Inge  bought  a store  at  Cleveland  and  Maher  & Inge  j] 

conducted  this  establishment  for  six  years.  They  sold  it  j, 

during  the  oil  boom.  For  a time  Mr.  Maher  was  con- 
nected with  the  oil  industry.  ,-0 

In  1905  he  came  to  Fairfax  and  soon  afterward  organ-  al| 
ized  the  Fairfax  National  Bank,  which  opened  its  doors 
to  business  May  12,  1906.  He  has  since  been  its  cashier 
and  has  much  to  do  with  the  solid  prosperity  of  this  j0 
institution.  The  bank  was  first  housed  in  a frame  build-  jjr( 
ing,  but  since  1910  has  been  in  its  fireproof  and  modern  gj 
bank  home.  The  Fairfax  National  Bank  is  a strong  ^ 
institution  for  a town  of  the  size.  Its  total  resources  m 
in  June,  1916,  according  to  the  official  statement  at  the  . 
time,  were  $154,491.02.  It  has  capital  stock  of  $25,000, 
surplus  of  $5,000,  undivided  profits  of  $2,411.11.  The  " 
deposits  at  that  time  were  upwards  of  a hundred  thou-  « 
sand  dollars.  The  officers  of  the  bank  are:  G.  M.  Car-  „ 
penter,  president;  J.  L.  Bird,  vice  president;  D.  C.  Ma-  JjJ 
her,  cashier.  n 

Outside  of  banking  Mr.  Maher  is  also  interested  in  ™ 

farming  and  stock  raising  and  owns  a well  improved  ,• 
ranch  on  Dago  Creek  with  about  three  hundred  head  of  J' 
cattle.  He  is  a breeder  of  thoroughbred  Herefords.  He  e?e( 
is  also  secretary  and  one  of  the  directors  of  the  Big  J 
Hill  Trading  Company,  Incorporated.  ^ 

Politically  his  actions  have  always  been  in  harmony  ^ 
with  republican  policies  and  principles.  He  is  a thirty- 
second  degree  Scottish  Rite  Mason,  a member  of  the  L „ ' 
Mystic  Shrine,  and  is  also  affiliated  with  the  Benevolent  . ' 
and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  August  10,  1904,  Mr  1 
Maher  married  Miss  Genevieve  Elwell.  She  was  born  Jm 
in  Leonardville,  Kansas,  December  24,  1885,  a daughtei  j|f 
of  Samuel  Elwell.  At  their  happy  home  in  Fairfax  thej  ,,so 
have  four  children:  Madalene,  Dyke  C.,  Jr., .Don  Elwel  ! '! 
and  John  P.  lea°u 

Charles  D.  Webber,  now  sheriff  of  Pawnee  County  ^esj 
has  had  a career  of  many  experiences,  pleasant  an<  ™ 
otherwise,  but  all  of  an  interesting  character,  both  in  th  j e " 
line  of  his  official  duties  and  as  a traveling  salesman  f o #f aBl 
large  business  houses.  He  first  came  to  Oklahoma  i . ,e,ie 
1898,  and  with  the  exception  of  about  three  years  ha  ^ ® 
continued  to  make  his  home  in  this  territory  and  statf  reP* 
with  headquarters  in  the  larger  cities,  but  since  190 
has  lived  at  Pawnee.  ^ ,e 

Born  on  a farm  near  Warsaw,  Gallatin  County,  Kei  ^ . Er’ 
tucky,  February  14,  1870,  Sheriff  Webber  is  a son  c aB 
Virginius  and  Sally  (Ellis)  Webber.  The  family  is  < j r, 01 
Scotch  origin  and  for  many  years  has  been  prominentl  ^ ,.rs' 
represented  in  Gallatin  County,  Kentucky.  His  grant  J ?1 
father  Phillip  Webber  was  an  early  settler  there,  ownt  (j.  V 
extensive  tracts  of  land  and  many  slaves,  was  prom  11 
nent  in  public  affairs,  and  was  the  first  county  clerk  < j ,ra 
the  county  and  held  other  offices  besides.  Phillip  Webb  g,  ?„r ' 
was  a man  of  unusual  education  for  the  times,  partic  ^ 5 
larly  in  the  line  of  mathematics,  and  completed  an  arit  ^ 1 

metic  which  was  widely  used  as  -a  text  book  during  h ’,p° 
day  in  the  public  schools.  Otherwise  he  was  a qui<  ^ ™ « 
unassuming  man  with  no  desire  for  publicity,  and  ma  a, 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2145 


it  a rule  never  to  accept  remuneration  for  his  official 
services.  He  and  his  wife  had  six  children. 

Virginius  Webber  was  born  on  the  homestead  farm  in 
Gallatin  County,  Kentucky,  and  spent  his  entire  active 
career  as  a farmer.  He  is  now  living  in  quiet  retirement 
in  his  native  county.  His  wife  died  in  1909.  She  was 
| active  in  the  Baptist  Church,  of  which  her  husband  is 
also  a member.  During  the  Civil  war  Virginius  Webber 
spent  two  years  in  the  Union  army.  He  is  a republican 
in  politics,  and  a man  of  substantial  reputation  in  his 
community,  where  his  sterling  integrity  and  probity  of 
character  has  won  him  the  regard  of  his  fellow  citizens. 
::  He  and  his  wife  were  the  parents  of  eight  daughters  and 

1 five  sons. 

!l  One  of  this  large  family  of  children,  Charles  D.  Webber 

found  his  early  life  one  of  mingled  duty  and  pleasure, 
and  his  first  twenty-one  years  were  spent  on  the  old 
rs  Kentucky  homestead.  In  the  meantime  he  attended  the 
et  public  schools  and  on  starting  out  independently  went 
!?  to  Illinois  where  he  began  work  as  a traveling  salesman. 

From  Illinois  he  came  to  Oklahoma  in  1898,  locating  at 
!m  El  Reno.  At  that  time  he  was  district  manager  for  the 
lnS  Singer  Sewing  Machine  Company  and  had  a number  of 
® men  under  him.  With  this  force  he  covered  the  north 
J half  of  Oklahoma  and  part  of  Indian  Territory,  selling 
’ machines  and  making  collections,  and  he  or  his  men 
e visited  practically  every  Indian  tribe  in  this  section  of 
the  country.  It  was  a difficult  as  well  as  interesting 
5'  experience.  In  many  localities  railroads  had  not  yet 
a’  been  built,  and  there  Mr.  Webber  made  his  journeys  in 
, . a wagon.  He  slept  under  the  wagonbed  at  night,  and 
, was  more  than  once  exposed  to  danger  as  well  as  hard- 
. , ship.  At  the  same  time  he  gained  an  intimate  knowl- 
®Jj  edge  of  the  country,  which  has  since  been  useful  to  him, 
p.e  and  also  became  familiar  with  the  habits  and  customs 
of  the  Indians,  among  whom  he  made  many  friends. 
While  pursuing  that  business  Mr.  Webber  had  his  home 
at  various  places,  including  El  Reno,  South  McAlester  and 
"T  Guthrie.  Later  he  moved  to  Salina,  Kansas,  from  there 
to  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  and  in  1909  took  up  his  perma- 
®"  ' nent  residence  in  Pawnee.  Here  he  became  traveling 
i.“'  representative  for  a wholesale  grocery  concern.  A man 
jom  of  great  popularity  on  the  road  and  among  business  men, 
“» | he  also  gained  the  confidence  and  friendship  of  the  people 
^ j.  of  his  home  city,  and  in  December,  1914  was  elected  to 
k™  the  office  of  sheriff  of  Pawnee  County.  After  his  election 
he  at  once  gave  up  his  work  on  the  road  and  began  the 
duties  of  his  office  January  4,  1915.  As  sheriff  he  has 
.omity,  si10WI1  himself  an  efficient  and  fearless  officer,  and  has 
"I  * come  through  several  desperate  struggles  with  despera- 
1 in  the  (]oes  an(j  had  men  with  great  personal  credit.  In  one 
11311  . of  these  fights  a deputy,  Robert  Moore,  was  shot  through 
l0M  ® : the  heart. 

ars  a republican,  Mr.  Webber  is  one  of  the  stalwart  wheel 
si  8®J  t horses  of  his  party  in  Pawnee  County.  He  is  an  elder 
“ “ ' in  the  Christian  Church,  of  which  his  wife  is  also  a 
member,  and  she  is  very  active  in  its  work.  Fraternally 
ty,  K®  he  is  a member  of  the  Masonic  Order,  the  Independent 
i son 0 Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  and  the  United  Commercial 
iljis®  Travelers.  A number  of  years  ago  while  traveling  over 
minentl:  the  wild  district  of  the  southwest,  Sheriff  Webber  ae- 
is  p®(  quired  a fondness  for  hunting,  and  he  still  takes  great 
:e,  om® : delight  in  getting  into  the  country  with  his  gun  and 
is  P'O®  ! hounds,  rarely  returning  without  some  fine  specimens  to 
: ctak°  show  f0r  his  skill  and  prowess  as  a marksman. 
p'Webhe  Sheriff  Webber  was  married  February  15,  1891,  ip 
>,  Gallatin  County,  Kentucky,  to  Miss  Florence  A.  Rob- 
[ an  arito  erts,  who  was  born  in  that  county  October  8,  1862,  a 
during  l1  daughter  of  John  Samuel  and  Mary  E.  (Taylor)  Rob- 
; a q®  erts.  Both  her  parents  died  in  Illinois,  where  they  had 
ail  n®  spent  the  last  few  years  of  their  lives.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 


Webber  had  five  children.  Maude,  who  graduated  from 
the  St.  Joseph  High  School  in  Missouri,  spent  one  year 
in  a college  at  Hopkinsville,  Kentucky,  and  then  taught 
school  four  years,  two  years  at  Pawnee,  was  married 
June  1,  1915,  to  Forest  Ryan,  and  they  now  reside  near 
Glencoe  in  Payne  County,  Oklahoma.  Ira  Earl,  the  sec- 
ond child,  is  a graduate  of  the  Pawnee  High  School  and 
is  now  a student  in  Phillips  University  at  Enid,  Okla- 
homa, preparing  for  the  ministry  of  the  Christian  Church. 
Florence  Fern,  is  a graduate  of  the  Pawnee  High  School 
and  is  now  teaching  at  Terlton,  Oklahoma.  Margaret 
Esther  is  also  a graduate  of  the  Pawnee  High  School 
and  is  a student  in  the  Phillips  University.  Harry  E., 
the  youngest,  is  still  pursuing  his  studies  in  the  Pawnee 
High  School. 

Hon.  Milton  M.  Ryan.  It  was  with  a long  experience 
as  an  educator  and  civil  engineer  that  Milton  M.  Ryan 
was  so  highly  qualified  for  the  honor  he  reserved  from  the 
Twenty-first  Senatorial  District  in  election  to  the  Okla- 
homa Senate  in  1914.  In  contributing  to  the  material 
growth  of  his  town,  in  championing  and  defending 
measures  of  interest  or  organized  labor,  and  in  partici- 
pating in  the  passage  of  laws  affecting  farmers  and 
other  land  owners,  Senator  Ryan  proved  himself  both  a 
useful  and  patriotic  Oklahoman. 

A brief  sketch  of  his  career  will  indicate  how  well  he 
has  utilized  his  opportunities.  He  was  born  in  Whitley 
County,  Kentucky,  June  6,  1860,  a son  of  Joel  and 
Jennie  (Creekmore)  Ryan.  The  Ryan  ancestry  goes 
back  beyond  the  days  of  the  American  Revolution,  is  of 
Irish  stock,  and  members  of  the  family  were  among  the 
colonists  who  traveled  with  Daniel  Boone  into  Kentucky. 
Joel  Ryan  was  a native  of  Virginia,  an  early  settler  in 
Southeastern  Kentucky,  a farmer  and  stock  man,  and 
widely  known  as  an  advocate  of  free  schools  in  a section 
of  Kentucky  where  education  was  backward  for  many 
years.  He  died  at  the  age  of  seventy-seven.  The  mother 
of  Senator  Ryan  was  a native  of  Kentucky,  descended 
from  a sturdy  stock  of  farmers  and  stockmen,  and  died 
at  the  age  of  eighty-four  in  Missouri,  her  body  being 
returned  to  the  family  burying  grounds  in  Kentucky. 
Senator  Ryan  has  a sister  and  three  brothers : Mrs. 

Louisa  Beard,  the  wife  of  a farmer  in  Crawford  County, 
Arkansas;  James,  a former  police  judge  and  real  estate 
dealer  of  Claremore,  Oklahoma;  J.  C.,  superintendent  of 
schools  at  Portland,  Oregon;  and  S.  S.,  a farmer  and 
teacher  in  Benton  County,  Arkansas. 

Senator  Ryan  was  educated  in  the  Kentucky  public 
schools,  in  1879  entered  the  London  Academy  of  that 
state,  was  there  one  year,  and  for  two  years  in  the 
Cumberland  Academy  at  Williamsburg,  Kentucky.  Then 
followed  several  years  of  teaching,  and  among  his  stu- 
dents at  that  period  was  Charles  Findlay,  afterwards 
secretary  of  state  of  Kentucky.  While  teaching  in  the 
Cumberland  Academy  he  also  continued  his  academic 
courses,  and  finished  the  work  in  mathematics,  German 
and  French  and  lacked  six  months  of  completing  the 
course  in  Latin.  After  leaving  school  he  took  up  the 
profession  of  civil  engineering,  but  after  a year  aban- 
doned it  in  favor  of  educational  work,  and  was  teacher 
for  twenty-five  years,  four  of  which  were  in  Kentucky, 
thirteen  in  Arkansas  and  eight  in  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Ryan 
located  in  Le  Flore  County,  Oklahoma,  in  1893,  and  his 
last  school  work  was  as  principal  of  the  public  schools 
at  Spiro.  Senator  Ryan  is  also  a lawyer,  having  studied 
law  at  home  between  the  ages  of  twenty-one  and  twenty- 
eight,  and  for  a short  time  was  in  practice  at  Alma, 
Arkansas.  After  giving  up  school  work  definitely  at 
Spiro,  Mr.  Ryan  resumed  his  profession  as  engineer  and 
was  the  first  elected  county  surveyor  of  Le  Flore  County. 


2146 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Later  for  three  years  he  was  county  assessor,  refusing 
the  nomination  for  continued  service  at  the  end  of  his 
last  term.  For  a number  of  years  he  has  been  a munici- 
pal and  county  leader  in  affairs,  served  as  a member  of 
the  board  of  trustees  at  Spiro,  and  in  1910  led  a cam- 
paign that  resulted  in  the  town  voting  $50,000  in  bonds 
to  establish  a municipal  water  and  light  system.  Spiro 
has  a population  of  about  1,000,  and  the  fight  for  the 
bonds  was  won  against  the  opposition  of  some  of  its 
most  influential  citizens. 

As  a defender  of  labor  issues,  Senator  Ryan  made  an 
aggressive  campaign  for  the  national  democratic  ticket 
in  1912,  and  gained  a reputation  over  this  part  of  the 
state  as  a forcible  and  effective  speaker.  In  1914  he 
was  elected  to  the  senate  by  a plurality  of  771  over  his 
republican  and  socialist  opponent,  and  was  gratified  by 
receiving  a larger  vote  than  was  cast  for  the  state 
ticket.  In  the  senate  he  was  made  chairman  of  the  Com- 
mittee of  Fees*  and  Salaries,  and  a member  of  committees 
on  Code  Revision,  Roads  and  Highways,  Education,  Public 
Buildings,  Oil  and  Gas,  Drugs  and  Pure  Foods,  Fish  and 
Game  and  State  and  County  affairs.  In  several  of  these 
committees  his  own  work  and  experience  has  made  him 
an  invaluable  member.  He  joined  with  Senator  Camp- 
bell Russell  in  preparing  and  securing  the  passage  of 
the  graduated  land  tax  measure  and  was  author  of  a bill 
pensioning  Confederate  soldiers,  and,  jointly  with  Rep- 
resentative Council,  prepared  a bill  rearranging  a system 
of  taxation  and  providing  that  tax  assessors  should  meet 
tax  payers  at  stated  times  for  the  returning  of  their  as- 
sessable property.  He  was  a supporter  of  the  rural 
credits  bill,  and  of  other  measures  of  interest  to  the 
farming  and  laboring  class. 

Senator  Ryan  is  now  a resident  of  Poteau.  He  was 
married  June  24,  1883,  in  Crawford  County,  Arkansas, 
to  Miss  Laura  E.  Ford.  They  have  nine  children  living: 
Wendell  M.,  a printer  in  Poteau;  Mrs.  Hazel  G.  Adams, 
wife  of  a bookkeeper  and  salesman  of  Pittsburg,  Kansas ; 
Leonard  G.,  in  Alaska;  Flora  A.,  a teacher  in  Poteau; 
and  Robert  W.,  Louis  M.,  Reba  J.,  Berkley  B.,  and  Lucy 
A.,  all  at  home  with  their  parents.  Senator  Ryan  is  a 
member  of  the  Baptist  Church  and  of  the  Woodmen  of 
the  World,  and  belongs  to  the  Oklahoma  Association  of 
County  Tax  Assessors.  His  career  as  a teacher  has  been 
especially  gratifying  in  that  a large  number  of  his  pupils 
profited  by  his  example  and  instruction  and  are  filling 
honorable  and  lucrative  financial  and  professional 
positions. 

George  H.  Montgomery.  There  is  much  of  romance 
and  considerable  of  tragedy  contained  in  the  history  of 
a large  region  of  the  Chickasaw  Nation  of  which  the 
Washington  ranch  at  Marietta  was  the  center.  Here  for 
nearly  forty  years  Bill  and  Jerry  Washington  had  their 
activities  among  the  leading  live  stock  men  of  the  South- 
west. Near  their  ranches  grew  the  little  Town  of 
Marietta  that  prospered  and  reached  the  proportions  of 
a city  of  the  first  class  between  the  years  of  the  building 
of  the  Santa  Fe  Railroad  and  the  entrance  of  the  terri- 
tories into  statehood.  The  history  of  the  Washingtons 
and  of  Marietta  is  another  story,  but  a fragment  of  that 
history  is  contained  in  the  activities  of  George  H.  Mont- 
gomery, of  Valliant. 

Mr.  Montgomery  was  the  first  lawyer  at  Marietta, 
whence  he  went  in  April,  1904,  the  year  in  which  a 
federal  court  was  established  there,  and  his  practice  m 
federal  courts  for  a few  years  was  before  Judge  Hosea 
Townsend  and  Judge  J.  T.  Dickerson,  who  were  assigned 
consecutively  to  the  Southern  District  of  Indian  Terri- 
tory. After  statehood,  in  1907,  Mr.  Montgomery  was 
elected  the  first  county  judge  of  Love  County,  of  which 


Marietta  had  become  the  couuty  seat,  and  which  obtained 
its  name  from  Sobe  Love,  an  Indian  of  parts  and 
much  wealth,  and  a picturesque  character  into  whose 
family  Jerry  Washington  married.  Before  he  became 
county  judge  Mr.  Montgomery  was  asked  to  write  the 
will  of  Jerry  Washington,  which  he  declined  because  he 
feared  that  later  the  will  would  come  before  him  as 
county  judge,  in  which  belief  he  was  correct.  J.  R. 
McCalla,  of  Marietta,  Who  was  a member  of  the  First 
State  Legislature,  wrote  the  will,  which,  during  the  term 
of  office  of  Mr.  Montgomery  as  county  judge,  was  con- 
tested by  certain  of  the  children  of  Jerry  Washington, 
unsuccessfully,  however,  and  the  estate  of  nearly  $200,000 
was  divided  as  Jerry  Washington  had  willed  it. 

Mr.  Montgomery  was  born  near  Bells,  Grayson  County, 
Texas,  in  1873,  and  is  a son  of  George  H.  and  Martha 
(Pritchett)  Montgomery.  His  father,  who  was  a native 
of  Tennessee,  settled  in  Grayson  County,  Texas,  near  the 
close  of  the  Mexican  war,  in  which  two  brothers  who 
preceded  him  to  the  Lone  Star  State,  Purris  and  Atwood 
Montgomery  enlisted  as  soldiers  and  with  General  Scott 
went  to  the  City  of  Mexico.  Prior  to  the  Civil  war, 
George  H.  Montgomery,  Sr.,  was  a United  States  ranger 
in  Texas  and  later  received  a pension  as  reward  for  his 
service  in  that  capacity.  His  health  did  not  permit  him 
to  fight  for  the  Confederacy  and  during  the  war  his  time 
was  largely  given  to  the  care  of  the  wives  and  children 
of  those  who  were  at  the  front.  He  lived  in  Grayson 
County  thirty-two  years,  and  died  in  Hall  County  in 
1906.  The  mother  of  George  H.  Montgomery,  Jr.,  was 
descended  from  a Virginia  family  from  which  several 
educators  of  note  came,  among  them  Dr.  Henry  Pritchett, 
and  Professor  Pritchett,  former  state  superintendent  of 
education  in  Texas  and  president  of  the  Sam  Houston 
State  Normal  School. 

Most  of  the  education  received  by  George  H.  Mont 
gomery  was  as  a student  of  a private  college  conducted 
by  Prof.  R.  R.  Halsell,  now  of  Durant,  Oklahoma,  located 
at  Savoy,  Texas.  When  he  completed  his  education  there 
he  became  a teacher  and  taught  for  a number  of  yearsj 
in  Texas  and  Oklahoma,  and  for  two  years  was  in  charg 
of  the  school  at  Supply,  Oklahoma,  near  the  historic  ol 
post  of  Fort  Supply.  He  taught  also  at  Texline,  Texas, 
for  two  years,  and  while  thus  engaged  applied  himsel" 
so  steadfastly  to  the  study  of  law  that  he  was  admitte 
to  the  bar,  and  later  .was  elected  prosecuting  attorne; 
of  Dallam  County.  Mr.  Montgomery  recalls  that  whe: 
he  located  at  Dalhart  there  were  but  thirty-five  voters 
in  the  county,  whereas  two  years  later  the  vote  exceede 
1,200.  He  moved  to  Marietta,  Indian  Territory,  in  1904 
and  after  completing  his  term  as  county  judge  there 
January,  1911,  moved  to  Valliant,  where  he  has  sine 
lived.  Here  he  has  served  as  city  attorney,  and  is 
the  enjoyment  of  a large,  important  and  lucrative  pro! 
fessional  business. 

Mr.  Montgomery  was  married  December  25,  1897,  a| 
Memphis,  Texas,  to  Miss  Pearl  Pritchett,  and  they  an 
the  parents  of  five  children:  Maude,  who  is  seventee: 
years  of  age;  Joel,  born  in  1900;  George  H.,  Jr.,  bori 
in  1903;  William,  aged  ten  years;  and  Rebecca  Elizabetl 


the  hoi 
'Smith, 
[brother 
[jeet  we 


'Cheroke 
[he  was  s 
lie 

[been  set 
Other 
[in  Mr.  i 
fidelity 
pu  1912,. 
Served  as 


who  is  one  year  old.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Montgomery  anBwident 


their  children  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian  Churcl 
He  belongs  to  the  McCurtain  County  Bar  Associatioj 
and  the  Oklahoma  State  Bar  Association,  and  his  fr: 
ternal  affiliation  is  with  the  local  lodge  of  the  Knighl 
of  Pythias. 


J.  P.  Martin.  In  1893  J.  P.  Martin  came  to  Clev^ 
land,  Oklahoma,  and  here  started  the  first  store  that  ws 
operated  in  the  city.  It  was  a grocery  in  the  beginnir 
and  later,  in  response  to  the  incessant  demand  for  a di 


[deal  of  ai 
the  sti 
'which  he  I 
Bern  in  8: 
I Political 
prof  the 
[■filiations 
In  1897 
Pen,  „j,0 
f Kansas 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2147 


goods  establishment  of  some  sort,  he  added  that  end  of 
the  business.  Five  years  after  the  business  was  first 
established  Mr.  Martin  built  his  present  store,  adding 
many  facilities  for  the  successful  handling  of  his  con- 
tinually growing  trade,  and  today  six  clerks  are  required 
to  handle  the  business,  with  his  supervision.  The  build- 
ing is  a one-story  affair,  with  a floor  space  of  25x125 
feet,  and  is  adequate  to  the  proper  display  of  the  stocks 
they  handle.  Mr.  Martin  has  been  successful,  and  has 
made  a name  and  a position  for  himself  in  the  town 
to  which  he  came  in  its  early  days,  and  his  prosperity 
is  the  just  reward  of  his  business  integrity  and  energy. 

Mr.  Martin  was  born  in  St.  James,  Maries  County, 
Missouri,  on  February  28,  1863,  and  he  is  a son  of  J.  T. 
and  Clementine  (Underwood)  Martin.  The  father  was 
born  in  St.  Louis  County,  Missouri,  on  December  25,  1814, 
and  died  in  Cleveland  at  the  home  of  his  son  in  1906, 
when  he  was  ninety-two  years  old.  He  came  of  a family 
noted  for  its  longevity,  many  of  the  men  of  his  name 
having  reached  that  fine  old  age.  His  wife,  the  mother 
of  the  subject,  died  when  J.  P.  Martin  was  one  month 
old,  so  that  he  was  forever  deprived  of  the  love  and 
care  that  should  have  been  his  in  childhood.  J.  T.  Martin 
was  a farmer  all  his  active  life,  carrying,  on  his  business 
in  Missouri,  his  native  state.  Horse  and  mule  buying 
and  trading  formed  an  important  part  of  his  lifework. 
He  bought  and  sold  in  Missouri  and  Texas,  driving  his 
purchases  from  one  point  to  another,  for  his  greatest 
activity  in  that  line  was  carried  on  prior  to  the  days 
when  railroads  made  transportation  a simple  problem. 
Before  the  war  this  thrifty  Missourian  sold  goods  on  his 
farm,  conducting  a primitive  sort  of  general  store  at  his 
farm,  and  so  adding  much  to  the  material  comforts  of 
the  farming  people  in  his  section,  as  well  as  adding  some- 
thing to  his  legitimate  profits  and  prosperity.  When 
the  war  came  on  he  disposed  of  that  end  of  the  business, 
but  still  carried  on  his  buying  and  trading. 

This  native  Missourian  had  two  wives.  There  were 
nine  children  born  of  the  first  union,  and  three  of  the 
second.  J.  P.  Martin  of  this  review  was  the  last  of 
the  nine. 

Until  he  was  eighteen  years  J.  P.  Martin  lived  at 
home  with  his  father,  getting  what  education  he  might 
in  the  primitive  schools  of  that  period,  and  helping  on 
the  home  farm.  When  he  was  eighteen  he  went  to  Fort 
Smith,  Arkansas,  in  company  with  his  father  and  a 
brother,  and  they  farmed  there  until  1888,  when  the  sub- 
ject went  to  Arizona  and  was  there  for  two  years,  being 
engaged  in  operating  the  Arizona  Ore  Works  at  Prescott. 
In  1893  he  was  induced  to  come  to  the  opening  of  the 
Cherokee  Strip,  and  located  in  Cleveland,  Oklahoma,  and 
he  was  so  impressed  with  the  possibilities  for  the  future 
that  he  established  himself  in  business,  as  has  already 
been  set  forth  in  the  opening  paragraph. 

Other  activities  than  merchandising  have  had  a share 
in  Mr.  Martin’s  attention,  and  he  is  president  of  the 
Fidelity  State  Bank  of  Cleveland  since  its  organization 
in  1912..  In  fact,  he  organized  the  bank  and  has  since 
served  as  a member  of  its  directorate,  as  well  as  being 
president  of  the  concern.  Mr.  Martin  has  given  a good 
deal  of  attention  to  gas  and  oil  interests  in  this  section 
of  the  state,  and  has  located  several  paying  properties, 
which  he  has  disposed  of  from  time  to  time  after  getting 
them  in  shape. 

Politically  Mr.  Martin  is  a democrat  and  he  is  a mem- 
ber of  the  Cleveland  Presbyterian  Church.  His  fraternal 
affiliations  are  confined  to  the  Knights  of  Pythias. 

In  1897  Mr.  Martin  was  married  to  Miss  Gertrude 
Diem,  who  was  born  in  Pennsylvania  in  1874,  and  came 
to  Kansas  with  her  parents  when  a child  of  about  five 


years.  Two  children  have  been  born  to  the  Martins. 
They  are  James  Parvin,  Jr.,  and  Gertrude  Maxime. 

Mr.  Martin  is  conducting  the  oldest  mercantile  estab- 
lishment in  Pawnee  County,  having  started  to  carry  on 
business  in  a tent  on  September  16,  1893,  when  the 
Cherokee  Strip  was  first  opened. 

Among  a number  of  family  relics  which  Mr.  Martin 
has  in  his  possession  is  the  old  Bible  used  by  Thomas  R. 
Musick,  a brother  of  his  maternal  grandmother.  This 
pioneer  Missourian  was  a well  known  circuit  rider  in  the 
early  days  of  Missouri  and  he  organized  and  built  the 
Fee  Fee  Church  in  1801,  which  was  the  first  church  built 
in  the  Louisiana  purchase,  and  is  still  standing  on  the 
old  rock  road  near  St.  Louis,  Missouri.  He  is  a devout 
Christian  and  he  spent  his  life  in  a labor  of  love  that 
was  productive  of  such  results  as  no  man  can  estimate 
in  these  later  days. 

Robert  E.  Edmisson  has  had  a long  and  favorable 
business  experience  in  Western  Oklahoma,  particularly 
in  Beaver  County,  was  in  the  grain  and  elevator  industry 
for  some  years,  but  now  has  an  office  at  Gate,  for  the 
handling  of  real  estate  and  farm  loans. 

He  was  born  November  11,  1883,  at  Conway,  Missouri, 
a son  of  George  T.  and  Amanda  M.  (Stafford)  Edmisson, 
and  a grandson  of  John  George  Edmisson,  a native  of 
Kentucky.  George  T.  Edmisson  was  born  October  11, 
1834,  in  a log  house  on  a farm  in  Dallas  County,  Mis- 
souri. Early  in  life  he  was  a teacher,  gained  admission 
to  the  bar  at  the  age  of  twenty-four  and  at  thirty-two 
was  representing  as  attorney  in  Missouri  the  St.  Louis 
and  San  Francisco  Railway  Company.  He  became  one 
of  the  leading  lawyers  of  the  state.  He  also  served  two 
terms  as  county  attorney  of  Dallas  County,  and  was  the 
founder  of  the  Town  of  Conway.  He  rose  to  the  distinc- 
tion of  the  33rd  and  Supreme  Degree  in  Scottish  Rite 
Masonry.  He  took  that  degree  at  a time  when  candidates 
for  the  honor  were  required  to  go  to  Scotland  to  receive 
the  work.  He  was  also  a factor  in  democratic  state  poli- 
tics in  Missouri.  His  death  occurred  at  Buffalo  in  that 
state  August  3,  1900.  In  1872  George  T.  Edmisson  mar- 
ried Miss  Stafford,  whose  father  was  Nathaniel  Stafford, 
a native  of  Kentucky.  She  was  born  in  Dallas  County, 
Missouri,  April  28,  1856.  To  their  union  were  born  ten 
children,  nine  sons  and  one  daughter.  Those  now  living 
are:  Felix  C.,  born  October  28,  1876,  and  a merchant 
at  Centralia,  Washington;  George  I.,  born  April  14, 
1880,  and  a farmer  and  stockman  in  Harper  County, 
Oklahoma;  Robert  E. ; Albert  P.,  born  November  8, 
1886,  engaged  in  merchandising  at  Larned,  Kansas;  and 
Clarence  R.,  born  April  2,  1889,  and  a merchant  at  Gate, 
Oklahoma. 

Robert  E.  Edmisson  spent  his  early  youth  at  Buffalo, 
Missouri.  He  attended  public  school  there  but  at  the 
age  of  twelve  went  out  to  live  with  a brother  in  Colorado 
Springs,  Colorado,  where  he  was  graduated  from  the 
high  school  in  1907.  He  then  removed  to  Englewood, 
Kansas,  where  for  two  years  he  was  in  mercantile  pur- 
suits and  then  with  four  brothers  he  engaged  in  the 
grain  business  under  the  name  Edmisson  Brothers.  This 
firm  had  an  elevator  at  Englewood,  Kansas,  and  other 
elevators  and  shipping  points  at  Knowles,  Gate,  Rosston 
and  LaVerne,  Oklahoma. 

Mr.  Edmisson  sold  out  his  business  in  the  grain  busi- 
ness in  1912,  and  since  then  has  devoted  his  time  suc- 
cessfully to  the  real  estate  and  loan  business.  Frater- 
nally he  is  a Mason.  On  October  2,  1907,  at  Englewood, 
Kansas,  he  married  Miss  Minnie  Edith  Walden,  daugh- 
ter of  William  and  Emma  Walden.  Mrs.  Edmisson  claims 
Oklahoma  as  her  native  state.  She  was  born  January 
1,  1891,  in  a sod  ranch  house  owned  by  her  father  and 


2148 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


located  on  Kiowa  Creek  at  a point  now  in  Beaver  County. 
Her  birth  occurred  nearly  three  years  before  the  opening 
of  the  Cherokee  Strip  to  settlement.  Mrs.  Edmisson  spent 
most  of  her  early  life  in  Kansas,  and  graduated  from 
the  Englewood  High  School.  They  have  one  child, 
Francis  Albert,  born  May  15,  1911,  at  Bed  Cliff, 
Colorado. 

Capt.  Geokge  W.  Sutton,  veteran  of  the  Civil  war, 
long  a practicing  physician  in  Cleveland,  Oklahoma,  for 
several  terms  a member  of  the  Kansas  and  Oklahoma 
State  legislatures  and  a banker  of  prominence  in  Cleve- 
land and  Bartlesville,  has  had  a varied  and  interesting 
career,  amply  deserving  of  mention  in  this  work. 

Captain  Sutton  was  born  in  Eising  Sun,  Indiana, 
August  5,  1843,  and  is  a son  of  Joshua  and  Sarah 
(Wells)  Sutton,  natives  of  Pennsylvania  and  Ohio,  re- 
spectively. 

Joshua  Sutton,  be  it  said,  was  a young  man  when 
he  left  Pittsburg  and  sailed  down  the  Ohio  Biver  seeking 
adventure  and  a new  home.  He  was  still  young  when 
he  met  and  married  Sarah  Wells  at  Bising  Sun,  and  they 
lived  there  until  1868.  In  that  year  they  moved  to 
Kansas,  settling  near  Emporia,  and  there  they  passed 
their  remaining  years.  He  was  a farmer  all  his  life, 
and  enjoyed  a fair  measure  of  success  in  that  field. 
They  were  the  parents  of  seven  children,  four  sons  and 
three  daughters,  three  of  whom  are  now  living.  Calvin, 
the  eldest,  a farmer  all  his  days,  is  deceased.  Mary  Ann 
married  first  W.  McIntyre,  and  second,  B.  Bodine  and 
is  deceased.  Lucy  is  deceased.  Candice  also  died  young. 
The  fifth  child  was  George  W.,  of  this  review.  Bachel 
married  Mr.  Bidland  and  lives  in  Gardner,  Kansas. 
Louis  W.  is  a resident  of  Americus,  Kansas.  He  served 
in  the  Civil  war,  a member  of  Company  H,  One  Hundred 
and  Forty-sixth  Begiment  Indiana  Volunteer  Infantry. 

George  W.  Sutton  lived  with  his  parents  on  the  home 
farm  until  he  enlisted  in  1862  in  Company  E.,  Fiftieth 
Indiana  Volunteer  Infantry.  He  served  two  years  in 
that  regiment,  and  later  was  a member  of  Company  I, 
One  Hundred  and  Thirty-ninth  Indiana  Volunteer  In- 
fantry, going  out  as  a captain  and  serving  until  the  close 
of  the  war.  He  was  in  action  at  the  battles  of  Mills 
Springs,  Kentucky,  Shiloh,  Three  Days,  and  many  other 
important  engagements,  acquitting  himself  creditably  on 
all  occasions. 

Eeturning  to  pursuits  of  peace,  the  young  captain 
turned  his  attention  to  the  study  of  medicine.  He 
studied  first  at  Bising  Sun  and  later  at  Cincinnati  Col- 
lege of  Medicine  and  Surgery,  receiving  his  M.  D.  de- 
gree in  1867. 

Captain  Sutton,  or  Doctor  Sutton,  as  he  was  then 
called,  began  medical  practice  in  Americus,  Kansas,  and 
was  there  two  years.  He  then  went  to  Hartford,  in  the 
same  county  and  continued  in  practice  there  until  the  year 
1889.  In  1881  he  was  elected  to  the  state  legislature  of 
Kansas  and  served  from  1881  to  1884,  four  successive 
terms  in  all.  In  the  year  1889  he  was  appointed  Govern- 
ment physician  and  served  the  Comanche,  Wichita  and 
Osage  tribes  in  that  capacity  from  1889  to  1893. 

Following  that  period  of  public  service,  Doctor  Sutton 
resumed  the  practice  of  his  profession,-  and  he  was  thus 
engaged  in  Cleveland  until  a few  years  ago,  when  he 
withdrew  from  that  field  of  labor  and  since  has  devoted 
himself  to  banking  activities. 

In  1900  he  organized  the  First  National  Bank  in 
Cleveland  and  the  First  National  Bank  in  Bartlesville. 
He  has  been  president  of  each  bank  since  organization, 
and  is  now  a member  of  their  respective  directorates. 
The  First  National  Bank  of  Cleveland  lias  a capital 
stock  of  $50,000,  with  deposits  of  more  than  $522,000, 


and  a surplus  and  undivided  profits  aggregating  $40,- 
449.50.  The  officers  and  directors  of  the  bank  are  men 
of  high  local  standing,  and  the  Bartlesville  institution  is 
run  according  to  the  same  high  standard  that  is  one 
of  the  essentials  of  the  Cleveland  bank.  Both  banks 
have  fine  homes,  the  Bartlesville  concern  bearing  the  repu- 
tation of  being  the  best  housed  bank  in  the  state. 

Doctor  Sutton  has  been  a lifelong  republican,  and 
has  done  excellent  party  work  wherever  he  has  been 
found.  Since  coming  to  Oklahoma  he  served  one  term 
in  the  Territorial  Legislature  in  the  years  1893-4  and  he 
has  served  four  terms  as  mayor  of  Cleveland.  He  was 
one  of  those  who  layed  out  the  townsite  of  Cleveland  in 
1893,  and  from  then  until  now  has  been  a leading  spirit 
in  the  affairs  of  the  community  city.  He  was  regent  of 
the  State  University  and  president  of  the  Board  of 
Begents  for  seven  years,  and  has  ever  been  the  friend 
of  the  schools  and  colleges  of  the  state.  He  has  been 
financially  interested  in  the  Caney.  Valley  Oil  Company, 
and  assisted  in  its  organization.  He  is  president  of  the 
Coronado  Oil  Company  of  Cleveland,  capitalized  at 
$50,000. 

Doctor  Sutton  is  a Mason  since  1870,  and  has  all 
degrees  known  to  Masonry.  He  organized  and  was 
Master  for  six  years  of  Hebron  Lodge,  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons  of  Cleveland.  He  also  is  a member 
of  Grand  Army  of  the  Bepublic  Post  McPherson. 

Doctor  Sutton  was  married  in  Kansas  in  1871  to  Kate 
King,  and  they  have  three  children.  Birdie  is  the  wife 
of  Frank  Boucher,  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank 
of  Bartlesville.  Dr.  F.  B.  Sutton  is  a practicing  physi- 
cian in  Bartlesville.  Leila  is  the  wife  of  W.  H.  Boles, 
assistant  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Cleve- 
land. 

The  family  have  membership  in  the  Methodist  Epis- 
copal Church.  Mrs.  Sutton  is  a prominent  club  woman, 
and  is  now  president  of  the  Mistletoe  Club,  and  has  been 
its  president  for  ten  years.  She  is  also  active  in  Eastern 
Star  work. 

Bichard  T.  Hope.  Born  in  Wisconsin  and  reared  and 
educated  in  Kansas,  Mr.  Hope  has  been  a resident  of 
Oklahoma  since  1892  and  is  now  one  of  the  successful 
and  highly  esteemed  representatives  of  the  agricultural 
interests  of  Pawnee  County,  where  he  owns  a well  im- 
proved landed  estate  of  160  acres,  in  section  24,  town- 
ship 20,  range  16,  east,  he  being  the  only  white  man 
who  has  occupied  the  place  and  having  purchased  the 
property  from  the  man  who  had  filed  claim  to  the  same 
when  this  section  was  thrown  open  to  settlement. 

Bichard  Thomas  Hope  was  born  in  Bacine  County, 
Wisconsin,  on  a farm  near  the  City  of  Bacine,  which 
was  then  a mere  village,  and  the  date  of  his  nativity 
was  March  6,  1856.  He  is  a son  of  Thomas  and  Mary 
Ann  (Turner)  Hope,  both  of  whom  were  born  and  reared 
in  Gloucestershire,  England,  where  their  marriage  was 
solemnized  and  whence  they  immigrated  to  the  United 
States  in  1849.  They  remained  in  the  State  .of  New 
York  about  two  years  and  in  1851  they  numbered  them- 
selves among  the  pioneers  of  Bacine  County,  Wisconsin, 
where  the  father  was  engaged  in  farming  for  several 
years.  He  then  removed  with  his  family  to  Missouri, 
where  he  remained  one  year,  and  in  November,  1858,  he 
set  forth  for  Linn  County,  Kansas,  the  devoted  wife 
and  mother  dying  while  enroute  and  being  laid  to  rest 
in  the  cemetery  at  Bose  Hill,  St.  Louis  County,  Missouri. 
Proceeding  to  his  destination,  Thomas  Hope  became  a 
pioneer  settler  in  Linn  County,  Kansas,  where  he  took 
up  Government  land  and  instituted  the  reclamation  of  a 
farm,  this  homestead  continuing  to  be  his  place  of  resi- 
dence until  his  death;  he  died  at  the  age  of  eighty-four. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2149 


In  his  native  land  he  had  succeeded  his  father  in  the 
local  public  office  of  road  builder,  and  there  he  also 
followed  for  some  time  the  trade  of  stone  mason,  his 
activities  in  this  trade  having  continued  also  after  he 
came  to  the  United  States.  He  and  his  wife  were  reared 
in  the  faith  of  the  Church  of  England,  but  about  1860 
he  became  identified  with  the  Spiritualist  organization, 
to  the  tenets  of  which  he  held  zealously  during  the 
remainder  of  his  life.  Prior  to  his  marriage,  in  1843,  he 
had  made  a trip  to  America  and  passed  two  years  in 
the  Dominion  of  Canada,  where  he  taught  in  the  common 
schools  and  also  in  Sunday  school.  He  was  a man  of 
strong  conviction,  alert  mentality  and  impregnable  in- 
tegrity in  all  of  the  relations  of  life.  He  was  earnest 
in  the  support  of  the  cause  of  temperance  and  his  gentle 
and  appreciative  ideals  were  shown  in  his  surpassing  love 
of  Nature  and  especially  of  flowers.  Of  his  children  the 
eldest  is  John,  who  still  resides) in  Linn  County,  Kansas; 
Edwin  is  a resident  of  Colorado,  and  these  two  children 
were  born  in  England.  Sarah,  the  first  to  be  born  after 
the  immigration  to  the  United  States,  died  in  infancy, 
as  did  also  the  next  child,  a son;  Elizabeth  is  the  wife 
of  Martin  Van  Buren  Donley,  of  Pendleton,  Oregon; 
Richard  T.,  of  this  sketch,  was  the  next  in  order  of 
birth;  and  George  died  at  the  age  of  four  years. 

Richard  T.  Hope  was  about  two  years  of  age  at  the 
time  of  the  family  removal  to  Linn  County,  Kansas, 
where  he  was  reared  to  manhood  on  the  old  homestead 
farm,  in  the  work  and  management  of  which  he  con- 
tinued to  be  associated  with  his  father  until  he  had 
attained  to  the  age  of  thirty-two  years,  when  he  en- 
gaged in  independent  operations  as  a farmer  in  the  same 
vicinity.  There  he  became  a prosperous  farmer  and 
there  he  continued  his  residence  until  the  autumn  of  1892, 
when  he  came  to  Oklahoma  Territory  and  established 
himself  as  a farmer  in  Lincoln  County.  In  1893  he  “made 
the  run”  at  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  but 
failed  to  obtain  a claim,  and  in  the  spring  of  1894  he 
purchased  the  claim  which  constitutes  his  present  home- 
stead farm,  all  of  the  improvements  on  which  have  been 
made  by  him.  He  gives  his  attention  to  diversified  agri- 
culture and  stock  raising,  and  has  extended  oil  leases  on 
his  land.  He  takes  loyal  interest  in  all  that  touches  the 
welfare  of  the  community,  though  never  a seeker  of  public 
office,  and  in  politics  he  is  an  ardent  socialist. 

In  1888  Mr.  Hope  wedded  Miss  Kate  Witchey,  who  was 
born  at  Lanark,  Carroll  County,  Illinois,  on  the  26th  of 
June,  1867,  and  whose  parents  removed  to  Kansas  in  the 
autumn  of  the  following  year.  She  is  a daughter  of 
Jacob  and  Mary  (Eox)  Witchey,  both  natives  of  Ger- 
many. Mr.  Witchey  died  in  Kansas  in  1880  at  the  age 
of  seventy,  and  his  widow  still  resides  in  Linn  County, 
that  state,  he  having  been  one  of  the  pioneer  farmers 
of  that  county.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hope  became  the  parents 
of  six  children,  of  whom  two  are  deceased:  Byron,  who 

died  at  the  age  of  sixteen  months,  and  Elston,  who  passed 
away  at  the  age  of  three  years.  The  surviving  children 
are:  Yiola,  Stanley,  Harvey  and  Edna.  Miss  Viola 

has  been  a successful  and  popular  teacher  in  the  public 
schools  of  Pawnee  County  since  1911,  and  the  family  is 
one  of  special  prominence  and  popularity  in  connection 
with  the  social  activities  of  the  community. 

Elbert  I.  Haworth,  now  editor  and  owner  of  the 
Gate  Valley  Star  at  Gate,  has  been  closely  identified 
with  this  section  of  Western  Oklahoma  for  a number  of 
years  and  before  taking  up  the  newspaper  business  was 
a successful  teacher.  He  is  succeeding  in  making  his 
newspaper  an  organ  of  influential  journalism  in  Beaver 
County,  and  has  all  the  qualifications  for  the  successful 
journalist. 


Mr.  Haworth  was  born  February  12,  1889,  on  a farm 
in  Republic  County,  Kansas,  a son  of  John  H.  and 
Harriet  (Baker)  Haworth,  both  of  whom  were  natives 
of  Iowa  and  were  married  in  1881.  John  Haworth  was 
born  October  15,  1855,  on  a farm  in  Warren  County, 
Iowa,  and  has  spent  his  life  as  a farmer  and  as  a 
minister  of  the  Society  of  Friends.  He  is  still  active 
as  a farmer  and  minister  and  lives  in  Beaver  County, 
Oklahoma.  His  wife,  who  was  born  in  Iowa,  March  27, 
1858,  a daughter  of  John  S.  and  Sarah  (George)  Baker, 
was  a teacher  for  a number  of  years  prior  to  her  mar- 
riage, and  she  is  also  a devout  Quaker  in  religion.  They 
became  the  parents  of  four  children,  three  sons  and  one 
daughter,  namely:  Ralph  C.,  born  December  27,  1882, 

now  engaged  in  farming  in  Lipscomb  County  in  the  Texas 
Panhandle;  Floyd  C.,  born  June  5,  1887,  is  now  a mem- 
ber of  the  regular  United  States  army  and  as  employed 
in  recruiting  service;  Elbert'  I.;  and  Cora  E.,  born 
April  1,  1893,  and  married  April  13,  1910,  M.  J.  Keck,  a 
farmer  in  Wood  County,  Oklahoma,  and  they  have  a 
child  Zola  born  February  11,  1911. 

Reared  in  the  wholesome  atmosphere  of  a Quaker 
family,  Elbert  I.  Haworth  finished  his  education  in  the 
Friends  Academy  at  Ingersoll,  Oklahoma.  Prior  to  1916 
he  taught  seven  terms  in  Beaver  County,  and  during 
1912-13  was  a member  of  the  County  Examining  Board 
for  Teachers.  In  1913  he  bought  the  Gate  Valley  Star 
and  is  now  giving  all  his  time  to  its  management  both 
in  the  editorial  and  business  department.  Mr.  Haworth 
is  a member  of  the  Society  of  Friends.  On  April  3,  1910, 
in  Beaver  County  he  married  Miss  Zela  DeGroodt,  daugh- 
ter of  J ohn  W.  and  Ella  (Sharp)  DeGroodt,  natives  of 
Iowa.  Mrs.  Haworth  was  born  August  1,  1893,  in  Lynn 
County,  Kansas.  To  their  union  have  been  born  two 
children:  Elver  H.,  born  February  5,  1911;  and  Pauline 

De,  born  December  13,  1914. 

Thompson  B.  Ferguson.  It  lias  been  given  to  Hon. 
Thompson  B.  Ferguson  to  play  a large  and  benignant 
part  in  the  annals  of  Oklahoma  history,  and  his  loyal 
services  found  their  apotheosis  during  the  period  of  his 
admirable  administration  as  governor  of  the  territory, 
within  the  borders  of  which  he  established  his  residence 
in  1890,  the  year  that  marked  the  organization  of  Okla- 
homa Territory,  so  that,  aside  from  his  activities  in 
public  affairs,  his  is  the  honor  of  being  a pioneer  of  this 
vigorous  young  commonwealth.  His  being  called  to  the 
office  of  governor  constitutes  in  itself  ample  voucher  for 
his  ability,  his  civic  loyalty  and  public  spirit  and  his 
strong  hold  upon  popular  confidence  and  esteem.  In 
1892,  at  the  judicial  center  and  now  thriving  metropolis 
of  Blaine  County,  he  founded  the  Watonga  Republican, 
of  which  he  has  since  continued  the  editor  and  publisher 
and  which  he  has  made  one  of  the  representative  news- 
papers of  the  state,  with  wide  influence  in  political  and 
general  public  affairs  and  with  the  best  of  service  in  the 
exploiting  of  local  interests  and  in  formulating  and 
directing  popular  sentiment  and  action. 

On  a pioneer  farm  in  Polk  County,  Iowa,  Mr.  Ferguson 
was  born  on  the  17th  of  March,  1857,  and  in  the  agnatic 
line  he  is  a scion  of  fine  old  Scottish  ancestry,  being  a 
descendant  of  James  Ferguson,  who  in  company  with 
two  of  his  brothers,  immigrated  from  Scotland  to 
America  in  the  colonial  period  of  our  national  history, 
representatives  of  the  name  in  later  generations  having 
been  conspicuous  in  connection  with  the  development 
and  civic  and  material  progress  of  various  of  the  younger 
states  of  the  Union. 

Mr.  Ferguson  is  a son  of  Abner  and  Hannah  (Atkin- 
son) Ferguson,  the  former  of  whom  was  born  in 
Mahoning  County,  Ohio,  in  1823,  a member  of  a sterling 


2150 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


pioneer  family  of  that  section  of  the  Buckeye  State, 
and  the  latter  of  whom  was  a representative  of  a family 
early  founded  in  Indiana,  in  which  state  she  was  born 
in  1831,  her  death  having  occurred  in  Kansas,  in  1861, 
and  her  husband,  who  contracted  a second  marriage  ulti- 
mately, having  survived  her  by  nearly  forty  years,  his 
death  having  occurred  at  Emporia,  Kansas,  in  1900. 

Abner  Ferguson,  a man  possessed  of  the  strong  men- 
tality and  sterling  character  typical  of  the  sturdy  race 
from  which  he  was  sprung,  was  reared  and  educated  in 
his  native  state,  under  the  conditions  and  influences  of 
the  pioneer  epoch  in  Ohio  history,  and  as  a young  man 
he  went  to  Henry  County,  Indiana,  where  his  marriage 
was  solemnized.  He  continued  his  residence  in  the 
Hoosier  State  until  his  removal  to  Iowa.  He  became  one 
of  the  pioneer  settlers  in  Polk  County,  where  he  obtained 
government  land  and  engaged  in  farming  and  stock 
growing.  In  1860  he  removed  with  his  family  to 
Emporia,  Kansas,  and  shortly  afterward  he  engaged  in 
agricultural  pursuits  and  stock  raising  in  that  vicinity. 
He  was  later  identified  with  the  same  basic  industries 
in  other  parts  of  the  Sunflower  State,  but  he  passed  the 
closing  period  of  his  life  in  the  City  of  Emporia,  as 
previously  noted  in  this  context.  In  1889,  when  Okla- 
homa was  first  thrown  open  to  settlement,  he  came  to  the 
new  territory,  where  he  remained  only  a short  time.  He 
came  again  to  the  territory  in  1891,  but  in  1893  he  re- 
turned to  Kansas,  where  he  passed  the  residue  of  his 
long  and  worthy  life.  He  was  a resident  of  Kansas  at 
the  inception  of  the  Civil  war,  and  he  represented  that 
state  as  one  of  the  loyal  and  gallant  soldiers  of  the 
Union,  his  service,  as  a member  of  the  Sixteenth  Kansas 
Volunteer  Infantry,  having  covered  a period  of  nearly 
three  years,  within  which  he  took  part  in  numerous 
engagements  marking  the  progress  of  the  great  conflict 
through  which  the  integrity  of  the  nation  was  preserved. 
After  the  close  of  the  war,  in  1866,  he  took  part  in  an 
engagement  with  hostile  Indians,  on  Powder  River,  Kan- 
sas, and  his  fortune  it  was  to  be  wounded  at  this  time, 
though  he  had  escaped  severe  wounds  during  his  prior 
and  prolonged  military  service  in  the  Civil  war.  Abner 
Ferguson  was  aligned  as  an  uncompromising  advocate  of 
the  principles  of  the  republican  party,  was  affiliated  with 
the  Grand  Army  of  the'  Republic,  the  Masonic  fraternity, 
and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  his  religious 
faith  having  been  that  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church,  of  which  he  was  a member  for  many  years,  the 
wife  of  his  youth  and  younger  manhood  having  likewise 
been  a devout  member  of  this  church.  They  became  the 
parents  of  five  children:  Emeline  is  the  wife  of  Harry 

Butler,  of  Cleveland,  Pawnee  County,  Oklahoma,  and 
her  husband  is  a prosperous  farmer  and  dairyman  of 
that  locality;  Isaac,  who  became  one  of  the  substantial 
agriculturists  of  Oklahoma,  died  at  Skiatook,  Tulsa 
County,  at  the  age  of  fifty-five  years ; Ruth  is  the  wife  of 
' Enoch  Childers,  a retired  farmer,  and  they  maintain  their 
home  in  the  City  of  Emporia,  Kansas,  where  Mr.  Childers 
continues  his  activities  in  the  handling  of  blooded  live- 
stock; the  former  governor  of  Oklahoma,  Thompson  B., 
of  this  review,  was  the  next  in  order  of  birth;  and  Mary, 
who  became  the  wife  of  Charles  Herron,  died  at  Sherman, 
Cherokee  County,  Kansas,  Mr.  Herron  being  now  a 
resident  of  Crawford  County,  that  state,  where  he  is  a 
substantial  farmer. 

Thompson  B.  Ferguson  gained  the  major  part  of  his 
early  educational  discipline  in  the  public  schools  of 
Emporia,  Kansas,  where  he  received  the  virtual  equivalent 
of  a high  school  course,  and  thereafter  he  completed  his 
academic  education  in  the  Kansas  State  Normal  School 
at  Emporia,  in  which  he  was  graduated  as  a member  of 
the  class  of  1884.  He  put  his  scholastic  acquirements  to 


practical  test  and  use  by  turning  his  attention  to  the 
pedagogic  profession,  of  which  he  became  a successful 
and  popular  representative  as  a teacher  in  the  public 
schools  of  Wauneta  and  other  places  in  Chautauqua 
County,  Kansas.  He  also  did  effective  service  as  an 
instructor  at  the  teachers’  institute  held  at  Sedan,  the 
judicial  center  of  that  county.  He  continued  his 
pedagogic  activities  in  the  Sunflower  State  until  1890, 
when  he  identified  himself  fully  and  loyally  with  the 
newly  organized  Territory  of  Oklahoma,  with  no  thought 
that  here  he  would  eventually  be  called  upon  to  serve  as 
chief  executive  of  a great  and  prosperous  commonwealth 
of  the  Union.  In  the  preceding  year,  which  had  marked 
the  opening  of  .the  territory  to  settlement,  he  had  come 
here  and  obtained  a claim  of  160  acres,  on  Deep  Fork, 
about  eight  miles  distant  from  Oklahoma  City.  This 
claim  he  gave  to  his  father,  and  in  the  spring  of  1892 
he  established  his  permanent  home  at  Watonga,  the 
judicial  center  of  Blaine  County.  He  has  been  essentially 
and  emphatically  one  of  the  founders  and  builders  of 
this  now  prosperous  and  progressive  little  city,  and  here, 
on  the  18th  of  October,  1892,  he  established  the  Watonga 
Republican,  of  which  he  has  since  continued  editor  and 
publisher.  He  has  today  one  of  the  well  equipped  news- 
paper and  job  printing  plants  of  Oklahoma,  and  the 
Republican  has  prestige  and  influence  as  one  of  the 
strong  pioneer  papers  of  Western  Oklahoma,  its  circula- 
tion being  of  representative  order  throughout  Blaine 
and  surrounding  counties,  besides  which  its  general 'ex- 
cellence and  its  strong  editorial  utterances  have  given  it 
also  a very  appreciable  state  circulation  of  general  order 
and  its  friends  and  supporters  have  caused  its  list  of 
subscribers  outside  of  Oklahoma  to  reach  proportions  by 
no  means  insignificant.  It  is  needless  to  say,  by  reason 
of  its  name  and  the  marked  prominence  of  its  proprietor 
in  the  domain  of  Oklahoma  politics,  that  the  policy  of  the 
Republican  is  fundamentally  that  of  furthering  the 
cause  of  the  republican  party,  of  which  Mr.  Ferguson 
has  been  and  continues  one  of  the  most  prominent  and 
influential  representatives  in  the  state. 

During  the  entire  period  of  his  residence  in  Okla- 
homa Mr.  Ferguson  has  shown  a vital  interest  in  all  that 
has  touched  or  tended  to  further  the  civic  and  industrial 
development  and  progress  of  the  state — both  under  the 
territorial  regime  and  since  its  admission  to  the  Union. 
He  has  been  personally  and  through  the  columns  of  his 
paper  a leader  in  popular  thought  and  action  in  this 
vigorous  young  commonwealth,  and  his  influence  has 
always  been  guided  by  the  highest  loyalty,  by  broad  and 
well  fortified  convictions  concerning  governmental  af- 
fairs and  general  public  polity,  and  by  an  insistent  desire 
to  bring  the  state  up  to  the  highest  possible  standard  in 
all  things  that  make  for  a splendid  and  prosperous  com- 
monwealth. From  1895  to  1897  Mr.  Ferguson  was  an 
active  and  prominent  member  of  the  Oklahoma  Terri- 
torial Historical  Society.  In  1900  he  was  elected  gov- 
ernor of  the  territory,  his  inauguration  as  chief  executive 
taking  place  in  the  spring  of  1901,  and  his  retirement 
from  office  occurring  on  the  15th  of  January,  1906,  so 
that  he  was  the  last  of  the  territorial  governors  of  Okla- 
homa, his  admirable  administration  having  become  an 
integral  part  of  the  history  of  the  state,  with  due  record 
concerning  the  same,  so  that  it  is  unnecessary  in  this 
connection  to  enter  into  details  concerning  his  regime  as 
governor.  For  nearly  three  years,  under  the  administra- 
tion of  Governor  Cruce,  Mr.  Ferguson  was  the  republican 
member  of  the  state  election  board.  While  a resident 
of  Chautauqua  County,  Kansas,  he  served  four  years 
as  a member  of  the  board  of  teachers  ’ examiners  for 
the  county,  and  in  1899  he  held  a similar  position  in 
Blaine  County,  Oklahoma.  He  attends  and  gives  liberal 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2151 


support  to  tlie  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  at  Watonga, 
of  which  his  wife  is  a zealous  member. 

At  Wauneta,  Chautauqua  County,  Kansas,  in  June, 
1885,  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Ferguson  to 
Miss  Elva  Shartel,  a daughter  of  the  late  David  E. 
Shartel,  who  was  a representative  farmer  of  that  county 
and  who  also  served  as  county  superintendent  of  schools. 
In  conclusion  is  entered  brief  record  concerning  the 
children  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ferguson:  Walter  Scott,  who 

was  graduated  in  the  military  academy  at  Wentworth, 
Missouri,  and  who  afterward  completed  a three  years’ 
course  in  the  University  of  Oklahoma,  is  now  editor  and 
publisher  of  the  Cherokee  Republican,  at  the  county  seat 
of  Alfalfa  County,  and  is  well  upholding  the  journalistic 
prestige  of  the  family  name ; Rowena  died  at  the  age  of 
fifteen  months,  the  family  home  at  the  time  having  been 
at  Wauneta,  Kansas;  Tom  Shartel,  who  was  graduated 
in  the  Watonga  High  School  and  thereafter  continued  his 
studies  for  one  year  in  the  Methodist  University  at 
Guthrie,  is  now  his  father’s  valued  assistant  in  the  office 
of  the  Watonga  Republican;  Norna  died  at  Sedan,  Kan- 
sas, when  two  years  of  age;  and  Effie  was  3%  years  old 
at  the  time  of  her  death,  which  occurred  at  Watonga, 
in  1899. 

John  Scrughan.  An  educator  like  every  other  pro- 
fessional man  must  be  judged  by  the  results  of  his  work. 
For  a city  of  its  size  Tonkawa  has  about  as  complete  a 
school  system  and  as  perfect  an  organization  for  the 
efficient  training  of  young  citizens  as  can  be  found  in 
the  State  of  Oklahoma.  This  high  standard  of  scholastic 
organization  has  frequently  been  attributed  to  the  work 
of  John  Scrughan,  who  has  been  superintendent  of  the 
public  schools  of  that  city  since  1910.  The  home  of  the 
schools  and  the  center  of  his  activities  is  a handsome 
$25,000  building,  containing  ten  rooms,  and  with  a 
teaching  staff  of  ten  instructors,  presided  over  by  Mr. 
Scrughan.  The  total  enrollment  of  pupils  is  425,  and 
there  is  a well  organized  high  school  and  in  1914  there 
were  thirty-six  graduates,  Superintendent  Scrughan 
having  watched  over  this  class  from  its  entrance  into 
high  school  until  its  graduation.  Mr.  Scrughan  has 
vitalized  the  work  of  the  school  and  has  gathered  about 
him  a splendid  corps  of  teachers.  Mr.  Scrughan  suc- 
ceeded as  superintendent  of  the  Tonkawa  schools  R.  L. 
Johnson. 

John  Scrughan  has  had  a long  record  as  an  educator 
beginning  in  country  schools  back  in  Illinois,  where  he 
was  born  on  a farm  in  Richland  County,  January  4,  1864. 
His  parents  were  George  and  Nancy  Scrughan,  sub- 
stantial farmers  and  stock  raisers  in  the  Prairie  State. 
They  occupied  the  same  homestead  in  Richland  County 
for  fifty-three  years,  and  in  that  old  home  reared  their 
'five  children,  four  sons  and  one  daughter,  all  of  whom 
are  living  in  Illinois  except  John. 

His  early  life  was  divided  between  the  farm  and 
country  school,  and  he  learned  the  lessons  of  industry 
and  honor  at  home  in  addition  to  the  instruction  of  a 
formal  nature  given  in  the  schools.  He  studied  at  home 
and  completed  his  education  in  the  Valparaiso  Univer- 
sity in  Indiana.  His  career  as  a teacher  began  in  country 
schools,  and  later  he  was  in  the  city  schools  in  Clay 
County,  Illinois,  and  in  1907  came  to  Oklahoma  as  one 
of  the  teachers  at  Coalgate.  Three  years  later  he  came 
• to  Tonkawa  to  accept  the  superintendency  and  for  the 
past  five  years  has  largely  built  up  the  school  system  to 
its  present  admirable  condition. 

In  Clay  County,  Illinois,  June  20,  1888,  Mr.  Scrughan 
married  Olive  L.  Speers,  a woman  of  education  and  cul- 
ture, who  has  been  a capable  assistant  to  him  in  his 
work  and  also  an  admirable  home  maker.  Her  parents 


were  B.  R.  and  Emma  Speers.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Scrughan 
have  three  children:  Bertha  May,  who  is  now  a teacher 

in  the  public  schools  at  Newkirk,  Oklahoma;  Mabel 
Agnes,  a senior  in  the  University  of  Oklahoma  at  Nor- 
man; and  Raymond,  still  in  the  public  schools.  Mr. 
Scrughan  is  a republican  in  politics,  affiliates  with  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  is  a member  of 
the  board  of  trustees  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church. 

Isaac  S.  Drummond.  The  subject  of  this  sketch  was 
born  in  Jefferson  County,  Ohio,  April  28,  1836.  He  is 
of  Scotch-Irish  stock,  his  father  having  been  born  in 
Ireland.  His  parents  died  when  ‘ ‘ Ike  ’ ’ was  very  young, 
and  he  was  left  to  ‘ ‘ rustle  ’ ’ for  himself,  having  neither 
home  nor  guardian.  He  lived  among  the  farmer  folk 
in  Harrison  County,  Ohio,  earning  his  ‘ ‘ keep  ’ ’ by  doing 
chores  and  any  sort  of  work  that  a boy  between  eight 
and  eleven  years  of  age  could  do. 

A month  before  he  was  eleven  years  old  he  apprenticed 
himself  to  Alexander  Hall,  of  the  Village  of  Great  West- 
ern, in  Belmont  County,  Ohio,  to  learn  the  .printing 
trade.  Mr.  Hall  was  a very  prominent  preacher  in  the 
Christian  Church,  a writer  of  distinction,  and  a noted 
debator  of  religious  subjects.  He  was  not  yet  thirty 
years  old,  but  had  written  several  books,  and  was  the 
author  of  ‘ ‘ Universalism  Against  Itself,  ’ ’ a book  that  did 
much  to  curb  the  belief  in  universal  salvation,  regard- 
less of  the  kind  of  life  a man  had  lived. 

Young  Drummond  served  his  apprenticeship  of  five 
years  with  Hall,  who  was  at  that  time  (1848)  publishing 
a monthly  religious  magazine  named  The  Gospel  Procla- 
mation. The  printing  office  was  well  equipped  for  that 
age.  There  were  but  few  of  the  modern  conveniences, 
such  as  are  found  in  almost  all  offices  in  these  days,  but  a 
boy  had  to  graduate  in  every  branch  of  the  art,  from 
rolling  the  forms  and  making  the  rollers,  to  composition, 
proofreading,  advertising  and  job  work,  stereotyping  and 
wood  letter  cutting.  Until  he  could  show  good  grades 
in  all  departments  he  was  not  considered  a printer.  There 
were  no  power  presses  or  rotary  job  presses  in  those  days. 

All  the  education  young  Drummond  received  until 
after  the  end  of  his  apprenticeship  he  “dug”  out  of 
Mr.  Hall’s  library.  Mr.  Hall  owned  a fine,  big  library, 
and  he  kindly  granted  the  boy  the  use  of  it,  and  some- 
times gave  him  some  guidance  in  his  reading.  After  his 
apprentice  days  were  over  he  tried  for  further  education 
at  two  or  three  advanced  schools,  or  academies,  paying 
good  prices  for  all  the  instruction  he  received.  There 
were  no  free  schools  in  those  days. 

After  he  got  his  free  papers  he  traveled  to  larger 
towns  and  worked  in  other  offices  to  complete  his  trade, 
as  was  the  rule  in  that  age. 

At  the  age  of  twenty-four  years  he  married  Miss 
Rebecca  White,  at  Brighton,  Iowa.  From  that  time  on, 
Drummond ’s  life  was  very  like  that  of  the  average 
American.  He  served  in  the  Union  army  during  the 
Civil  war  of  ’61  to  ’65.  After  the  war  lie  worked  in 
various  book  and  newspaper  offices  owned  by  other  men; 
was  editor,  compositor,  job  and  ad  man;  then  bought 
and  run  newspapers  and  job  offices  in  Iowa,  Kansas, 
Texas  and  Oklahoma. 

In  his  newspaper  work  Mr.  Drummond  has  mostly 
been  on  the  frontier,  and  did  much  to  help  settle  the 
great  Southwest.  He  has  not  done  much  writing  during 
the  past  five  years,  except  on  special  subjects  for  news- 
papers and  magazines.  However,  his  work  is  not  yet 
done,  even  if  he  is  more  than  four  score  years  old. 

His  beloved  wife  died  suddenly  some  ten  years  ago, 
but  he  has  six  children  living,  namely:  Franz  S. 

Drummond,  editorial  writer  and  printer,  now  located  in 
the  State  of  Washington;  A.  L.  (Link)  Drummond,  ex- 


2152 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


newspaper  man,  Christian  minister  and  lawyer,  Norton, 
Kansas;  W.  I.  Drummond,  chairman  of  the  Board  of 
Governors  of  the  International  Farm  Congress,  Enid, 
Oklahoma;  George  L.  Drummond,  editor  and  proprietor 
of  The  Glendale  News,  Glendale,  Oregon;  Mrs.  Clara 
Smith,  teacher  of  music,  Beaver,  Oklahoma;  Mrs.  Mary 
L.  Keith,  music  teacher,  Protection,  Kansas.  All  of  the 
children  learned  the  printers’  trade,  the  girls  being 
expert  compositors. 

Frank  M.  Wheeler.  In  the  wonderful  oil  country  of 
Creek  County,  Oklahoma,  now  conceded  to  be  the  biggest 
producing  field  in  the  world,  one  of  the  pioneers  was 
Frank  M.  Wheeler,  on  whose  property,  now  a part  of 
Drumright,  the  first  well  was  drilled.  Mr.  Wheeler  is  a 
self-made  man,  having  spent  the  early  years  of  his  life 
at  the  stonecutter’s  trade  prior  to  taking  up  agriculture 
and  securing  the  land  upon  which  oil  was  discovered 
solely  through  his  own  efforts.  While  he  still  maintains 
his  office  at  Drumright,  he  makes  his  home  at  Stillwater, 
where  li£  is  connected  with  a number  of  interests  and 
takes  an  active  part  in  civic  affairs. 

Mr.  Wheeler  was  born  in  Ross  County,  Ohio,  June  22, 
1857,  and  is  a son  of  A.  J.  and  Elizabeth  (Smith) 
Wheeler.  His  father  was  a native  of  Ohio,  and  was 
married  in  that  state,  the  mother  having  been  born  in 
Virginia  and  taken  by  her  parents  to  Ohio  as  a child. 
After  their  marriage  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wheeler  moved  to 
Pike  County,  Illinois,  in  1865,  and  there  Mrs.  Wheeler 
died  .in  1870,  when  her  son,  Frank  M.,  was  thirteen  years 
old.  Subsequently  the  father  went  to  Texas,  where  he 
engaged  in  farming,  and  died  at  Worth,  in  that  state, 
when  seventy-nine  years  of  age.  Of  the  seven  children 
in  the  family,  five  were  reared  to  maturity:  John  B., 

who  is  deceased ; Frank  M. ; Everett,  a resident  of 
Kansas  City,  Missouri;  Ollie  White,  who  died  at  the 
age  of  twenty-two  years,  leaving  one  child;  and  Susie, 
who  is  the  wife  of  Charles  Wampler,  of  Kansas  City, 
Missouri. 

Frank  M.  Wheeler  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of 
Ohio  and  Illinois,  and  after  the  death  of  his  mother 
learned  the  trade  of  stonecutter.  In  the  winter  of  1874-5 
he  went  to  Kansas,  and  following  that  worked  all  over 
Kansas,  Colorado,  Utah  and  Arkansas,  following  his 
trade.  In  1891  he  secured  a claim  in  the  Sac  and  Fox 
country,  now  in  Lincoln  County,  Oklahoma,  but  continued 
to  work  at  his  vocation  for  several  years  more,  in  1894 
turning  his  attention  to  farming  and  stockraising.  He 
continued  to  operate  his  Lincoln  County  property  until 
the  railroad  was  built  through,  when  he  disposed  of  his 
land  at  a profit,  and  this  now  comprises  the  present 
townsite  of  Agra.  At  that  time  he  bought  another  prop- 
erty two  miles  north,  on  which  he  lived  for  eight  years, 
and  March  16,  1910,  purchased  a quarter  section  of  land 
• in  Creek  County,  which  now  forms  a part  of  Drumright. 
The  lease  on  his  farm  was  the  first  in  the  Cushing  oil 
field,  there  was  drilled  the  first  well,  and  this  was  made 
payable  to  Mr.  Wheeler  when  oil  began  running.  The 
new  sand  taken  from  this  well  was  named  in  his  honor, 
and  Wheeler  sand  has  since  become  famous.  Mr. 
Wheeler  now  has  fourteen  wells  on  this  quarter  section 
of  land,  and  at  times  has  produced  as  much  as  3,500 
barrels  daily.  In  recent  years  he  platted  forty  acres, 
known  as  Wheeler ’s  First  Addition  to  Drumright,  a 
locality  which  is  now  almost  entirely  built  up.  He  is  the 
owner  of  a stock  ranch  of  1,200  acres,  near  Foraker,  in 
Osage  County,  and  owns  also  farm  and  residence  prop- 
erties in  five  counties  of  Oklahoma.  In  August,  1912, 
Mr.  Wheeler  came  to  Stillwater  to  make  his  home,  and 
his  residence,  at  No.  232  Duncan  Street,  is  the  finest  in 
the  city.  Politically  a democrat,  he  has  not  been  an  office 


seeker,  but  has  at  all  times  shown  an  interest  in  the 
welfare  of  his  city  and  its  institutions.  He  is  a firm 
believer  in  the  value  of  education,  and  his  children  have 
been  given  the  best  advantages  available. 

Mr.  Wheeler  was  married  in  1881  to  Miss  Hannah  E. 
Fritch,  a native  of  Indiana  and  a daughter  of  B.  Fritch, 
and  to  this  union  there  have  been  born  nine  children: 
Luella  May,  who  is  the  wife  of  Arthur  Pratt,  of  Pot- 
tawatomie County,  Oklahoma;  Carrie,  the  wife  of  Bert 
Evans,  who  is  superintending  the  operations  on  Mr. 
Wheeler’s  ranch  in  Osage  County;  Josie,  the  wife  of 
Robert  Spartman,  of  Pottawatomie  County;  Maude,  who 
is  the  wife  of  James  Weaver,  of  Creek  County,  Okla- 
homa; Frank,  who  is  employed  on  the  Osage  County 
ranch;  Pearl,  Blanche  and  Birdie,  who  are  all  attending 
the  Agricultural  and  Mechanical  College,  at  Stillwater; 
and  Babe. 

Shirley  Chapman.  A veteran  • Oklahoma  newspaper 
man,  Shirley  Chapman,  now  of  Oklahoma  City,  is  asso- 
ciated with  the  Oklahoma  Publishing  Company,  pub- 
lishers of  the  Oklahoman,  the  Times  and  the  Farmer- 
Stockman.  He  has  been  connected  with  a number  of 
different  newspapers  in  Western  Oklahoma,  and  has  the 
distinction  of  having  helped  publish  and  bring  out  the 
first  paper  ever  issued  in  the  Cherokee  Strip. 

He  was  born  February  3,  1874,  at  Pleasant  Hill, 
Missouri,  the  youngest  of  the  four  children  of  Benjamin 
Franklin  and  Alma  W.  (Welch)  Chapman.  His  father 
was  born  September.  27,  1832,  in  Vermont,  was  a con- 
tractor and  builder,  and  followed  that  business  in  a 
number  of  different  localities  until  1889,  when  he  joined 
the  first  rush  of  settlers  in  Oklahoma.  Going  to  El  Reno, 
he  secured  a claim  three  miles  south  of  the  city  and 
soon  became  prominent  and  well  known  in  local  affairs. 
During  the  early  days  there  he  served  as  a justice  of  the 
peace.  His  wife,  Alma  W.  Welch,  was  born  in  Russell- 
town,  Canada,  November  25,  1836.  Of  their  children 
the  three  besides  Shirley  were:  Hermione  L.,  who  has 

for  many  years  been  a successful  teacher  in  Missouri, 
Kansas  and  Oklahoma,  and  is  still  living  unmarried  with 
his  parents  at  El  Reno;  Alma  is  the  wife  of  David  T. 
Slatten,  a farmer  of  Bethany,  Missouri;  and  Leonora, 
who  died  in  infancy. 

Shirley  Chapman  obtained  most  of  his  education  in 
the  public  schools  of  Sedalia,  Missouri.  When  fourteen 
years  of  age  he  began  learning  the  printing  trade  at 
Wichita,  Kansas,  and  in  the  following  year,  when  he 
came  with  his  parents  to  El  Reno,  this  experience  opened 
for  him  an  opportunity  at  employment  on  some  of  the 
first  papers  established  in  that  city. 

In  1893,  with  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  he 
and  Frank  L.  Grove  established  and  printed  the  first 
newspaper  ever  issued  in  the  Cherokee  Strip  after  the 
opening.  It  was  the  Daily  Enterprise  of  Enid.  The 
first  copies  of  the  Enterprise  came  from  the  press  on 
Monday,  September  18th,  two  days  after  the  opening. 
After  settlement  there  Mr.  Chapman  became  editor  and 
publisher  of  the  Waukomis  Wizard  at  Waukomis,  but 
at  the  end  of  two  years  he  sold  that  paper  and  re- 
turned to  his  old  home  at  El  Reno.  Here  he  was  editor 
of  the  Daily  Star  and  Weekly  Herald  until  1902,  and 
beginning  in  1905  was  for  four  years  city  editor  of  the 
El  Reno  Daily  American.  In  1915  he  came  to  Oklahoma 
City,  where  he  has  since  been  associated  with  the  Okla- 
homa Publishing  Company.  He  is  active  in  newspaper 
circles,  has  a wide  acquaintance  with  newspaper  men  all 
over  the  state,  and  is  one  of  the  honored  figures  in 
Oklahoma  journalism. 

Mr.  Chapman  is  also  well  known  for  his  activities  in  a 
musical  way.  For  a number  of  years  he  was  instructor 


to 

tai 

He 

No 

me; 


] 

viei 
! eng 
Hei 
olio 
' com 
mea 
[advi 
pern 
fellc 
tot 
enga 
M 


Sara 

Tie 

Jan 

eniig 

New 


on  a 


pursu 
occur; 
Septe 
% 
Eiizal 
and  ( 
marrii 
Missoi 
of  Le; 

Hen 


about 


time. 

accordi; 


film  in 
iipholdi 


Ttis  em 
N dev 


the  ( 


partners 

continue 


dm* 
ifter  ifc 


January, 
Osage  al 


City 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2153 


e and  leader  of  a band  and  orchestra  at  El  Eeno,  and 

J has  done  much  to  organize  and  promote  musical  enter- 

e tainment  in  El  Eeno  and  several  other  cities  of  the  state. 
He  is  unmarried,  is  a charter  member  of  El  Eeno  Lodge, 
No.  743,  Benevolent  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  and  is  a 
'>  member  of  the  Episcopal  Church. 


t- 

rt 

i. 
){ 
10  ■ 
a- 
*7 
>S 


KF  1 

so- 

ib- 

er- 

cf 

the 

the 

i,;. 

nk  ■ 

her 

ion- 

i a ! 

icd 

cno, 

and 

iiis. 

the 

sell-  | 
ta 
has;  jj 
ouri, 
with 

dT. 
iota,  I 

in  in 
rteea 
leat 
a he 
lened 
(the 

p,he 
first 
ir  the 
The 

S3  01 

eniig. 
n aid  . 

s,  b«t  ! 

idle-  t 
editor  1 
!,  aid 
of  the  \ 
ahoina 
Okli-  * 


lies  in 


iceiiii 

tractor- 


Henry  Clay.  One  of  the  oldest  residents  of  the 
vicinity  of  Bartlesville,  where  for  many  years  he  was 
engaged  in  a blacksmithing  and  general  repair  business, 
Henry  Clay  is  now  engaged  in  farming  on  a leased  Osage 
allotment,  located  2%  miles  northwest  of  the  city.  He 
came  to  this  part  of  the  country  practically  without 
means,  and  through  industry  and  constant  effort  has 
advanced  himself  steadily  to  a position  of  financial  inde- 
pendence and  a place  of  esteem  in  the  minds  of  his 
fellow  citizens.  His  career  is  illustrative  of  the  rewards 
to  be  gained  through  honest  labor  and  fidelity  to  the 
engagements  of  life. 

Mr.  Clay  is  a native  of  the  Empire  State,  born  in 
Erie  County,  February  24,  1854,  a son  of  John  and 
Sarah  (Crispin)  Clay,  natives  of  Lincolnshire,  England. 
The  father  was  born  March  18,  1819,  and  the  mother 
January  7,  1820,  and  not  long  after  their  marriage  they 
emigrated  to  the  United  States,  locating  first  at  Buffalo, 
New  York,  in  1846.  Seeking  the  better  opportunities 
offered  by  the  West,  in  1854  John  Clay,  who  was  a 
farmer,  took  his  family  to  the  State  of  Iowa,  where  he 
lived  for  sixteen  years.  In  1870  he  moved  on  to  Kansas, 
locating  in  the  vicinity  of  Coffeyville,  where  he  settled 
on  a farm  and  continued  to  be  engaged  in  agricultural 
pursuits  during  the  remaining  years  of  his  life,  his  death 
occurring  in  July,  1882.  Mrs.  Clay  survived  him  until 
September,  1905,  and  died  at  Bartlesville,  Oklahoma. 
They  were  the  parents  of  four  children,  as  follows: 
Elizabeth,  deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of  Mr.  Paxon 
and  was  born  in  England;  Anna,  born  in  New  York, 
married  Millett,  and  is  now  a resident  of  Kansas  City, 
Missouri;  Henry,  of  this  notice,  and  William,  a resident 
of  Lenapah,  Oklahoma. 

Henry  Clay  was  an  infant  when  taken  by  his  parents 
to  Iowa,  and  there  his  education  was  secured  in  the  public 
schools.  He  remained  under  the  parental  roof  until 
about  the  year  1875,  when  he  started  learning  the 
blacksmith  trade,  a vocation  which  he  subsequently  fol- 
lowed for  upwards  of  thirty  years,  at  Coffeyville,  Kan- 
sas, and  Bartlesville,  Oklahoma.  In  partnership  with 
A.  I.  Morgan,  a sketch  of  whose  career  will  be  found  on 
another  page  of  this  work,  he  founded  the  firm  of  Morgan 
& Clay,  which  was  at  the  time  of  its  founding  and  for 
many  years  afterward  the  only  blacksmith  and  general 
repair  shop  on  the  south  side  of  the  Carney  Eiver,  there 
being  only  one  store  on  that  side  of  the  river  at  that 
time.  Mr.  Morgan  was  skilled  in  woodworking,  and 
accordingly  took  charge  of  the  work  that  came  to  the 
firm  in  that  direction,  while  to  Mr.  Clay  fell  the  task  of 
upholding  the  blacksmithing  end  of  the  firm’s  business. 
This  enterprise,  started  in  a modest  way,  gradually  grew 
and  developed,  attracting  trade  from  all  over  this  part 
of  the  county  because  of  the  excellent  manner  in  which 
work  was  done  and  the  dependable  manner  in  which  the 
partners  lived  up  to  all  contracts.  The  partnership 
continued  successfully  and  congenially  until  1913,  when, 
by  mutual  consent,  it  was  dissolved  and  the  business, 
after  its  long  and  prosperous  career,  was  sold.  In 
January,  1915,  Mr.  Clay  leased  his  present  home,  an 
Osage  allotment  on  Bar  ties  Creek,  2%  miles  north  of  the 
City  of  Bartlesville.  Here  he  is  operating  180  acres  of 
land,  on  which  he  has  good  improvements,  and  carries 
on  diversified  farming  and  stock  raising.  He  is  using 
the  most  modern  approved  methods  in  his  work,  and  is 


making  the  same  success  in  his  agricultural  ventures 
that  he  attained  as  a blacksmith.  In  addition  to  farm- 
ing, Mr.  Clay  continues  to  engage  in  selling  farm  imple- 
ments, an  occupation  which  he  has  carried  on  as  a side 
line  for  ten  years.  In  political  matters  a republican, 
he  has  long  taken  a keen  interest  in  civic  affairs,  and 
has  an  excellent  record  as  a public  official  in  the  offices 
of  councilman  and  mayor  of  Bartlesville.  He  is  a 
charter  member  of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World,  the  first 
lodge  organized  at  Bartlesville,  and  also  holds  member- 
ship in  the  local  lodge  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows,  of  which  he  is  a charter  member,  and  the 
Bebekahs  of  Bartlesville.  During  his  entire  career  at 
Coffeyville  and  Bartlesville  he  has  enjoyed  the  esteem  of 
his  fellow-citizens,  and  at  the  present  time  he  has  a 
large  number  of  friends  who  wish  him  success  in  his 
new  venture. 

On  November  6,  1893,  Mr.  Clay  was  married  to  Miss 
Emma  Foster,  who  was  born  in  1864,  in  Macon,  Illinois, 
and  was  fourteen  years  of  age  when  taken  to  Kansas  by 
her  parents,  John  and  Jane  (Gassaway)  Foster,  the 
former  born  in  Kentucky,  April  11,  1841,  and  the  latter 
in  Ohio,  September  30,  1841.  They  were  married  at 
Springfield,  Illinois,  and  in  1878  moved  to  Coffeyville,  in 
the  vicinity  of  which  city  Mr.  Foster  was  engaged  in 
farming.  He  later  moved  to  Havensville,  Kansas,  where 
he  died  September  16,  1892.  Mrs.  Foster  still  survives 
and  makes  her  home  with  her  daughter,  Mrs.  Alice 
Skinner,  at  Caney,  Kansas.  They  were  the  parents  of 
three  daughters  and  four  sons  who  are  now  living,  Mrs. 
Clay  being  the  second  child  in  order  of  birth.  To  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Clay  there  have  been  born  two  children : Hattie, 
the  wife  of  G.  S.  Hill,  an  attorney  of  Bartlesville,  who 
has  three  children,  Lillian,  Euth  and  George  J. ; and 
Sadie,  the  wife  of  Boss  Spick,  has  one  child,  Emma. 

Hon.  Neal  Wiltbank  Evans.  While  it  is  usual  to 
speak  of  the  pioneers  pf  Oklahoma  as  the  men  who 
settled  here  about  the  time  of  the  first  opening  in  1889, 
such  a distinction  is  hardly  adequate  to  describe  the 
long  residence  ancT  business,  official  and  civic  standing  of 
such  men  as  the  late  Judge  Evans  of  El  Eeno.  For 
nearly  half  a century  he  was  identified  with  the  west 
half  of  old  Indian  Territory  and  with  the  Territory  and 
State  of  Oklahoma.  He  was  one  of  the  hardy  and 
courageous  men  who  chose  the  activities  of  the  western 
frontier  when  a cordon  of  military  forts  and  establish- 
ments were  necessary  to  protect  the  advancing  tide  of 
civilization  and  settlement.  He  knew  and  was  actively 
identified  with  the  country  around  El  Eeno  since  the 
establishment  of  the  military  post  of  Fort  Eeno.  From 
the  year  of  statehood  he  gave  a capable  service  as  police 
judge  of  the  City  of  El  Eeno. 

Neal  Wiltbank  Evans  was  born  at  Lewis,  Sussex 
County,  Delaware,  May  20,  1844,  a son  of  William  and 
Hettie  (Cullen)  Evans.  His  father  was  born  at  Balti- 
more Hundred,  Delaware,  and  his  mother  at  Berlin, 
Maryland.  The  Evans  family,  long  established  in  Dela- 
ware, is  of  Welsh  origin,  while  the  Cullens  were  English. 
William  Evans  was  a Methodist  minister  by  profession, 
and  lived  and  died  in  his  native  state.  He  was  the 
father  of  four  daughters  and  eight  sons. 

At  the  age  of  ten  years  Judge  Eyans,  after  a brief 
schooling,  went  to  Philadelphia  and  had  a thorough 
apprenticeship  in  the  dry  goods  business. . The  persistency 
of  his  character  is  well  illustrated  in  the  fact  that  he  was 
in  the  employ  of  one  merchant  in  that  city  fourteen 
years.  Eventually  his  fidelity  was  rewarded  by  promotion 
to  a partnership. 

It  was  in  the  year  1867  that  Mr.  Evans  came  West 
with  his  brother  Jack  and  with  John  Fisher.  Under 


2154 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


the  firm  name  of  Evans  and  Fisher  his  brother  and 
partner  became  general  merchants  with  stores  known 
as  post  or  Indian  traders  ’ stores  at  Forts  Gibson, 
Arbuckle  and  Sill  in  the  old  Indian  Territory.  With 
this  firm  Judge  Evans  was  identified  until  1876,  and  in 
that  year  was  appointed  post  or  Indian  trader  at  Fort 
Reno.  Fort  Reno,  it  should  be  explained,  is  distinct 
from  El  Reno,  the  city.  Fort  Reno  has  been  a military 
post  since  1876,  and  is  still  in  existence  as  a military 
reservation,  being  a remount  station.  It  lies  five  miles 
west  of  the  City  of  El  Reno.  The  City  of  El  Reno  came 
into  existence  in  1889  after  the  opening  of  the  original 
Oklahoma  Territory. 

As  post  or  Indian  trader  at  Fort  Reno  Judge  Evaus 
remained  for  about  fourteen  years.  With  the  opening 
of  Oklahoma  to  settlement  and  the  establishment  of  El 
Reno,  Mr.  Evans  as  an  old  timer  and  man  of  ability  at 
once  became  a leading  citizen  of  the  new  community, 
and  thenceforward  held  a conspicuous  place  in  the  de- 
velopment of  the  city.  For  several  years  he  was  pro- 
prietor of  a “racket  store”  at  El  Reno,  and  gave  up 
this  business  when  seriously  injured  in  a runaway 
accident. 

He  was  one  of  the  original  couneilmen  of  El  Reno 
and  in  1907  became  police  judge  of  the  city,  a position 
in  which  his  service  was  both  prompt  and  efficient  and 
in  which  he  continued  until  stricken  with  paralysis,  re- 
sulting in  his  death  on  November  11,  1915.  In  the  early 
days  of  Canadian  County  he  held  for  two  terms  of  two 
years  each  the  position  of  county  treasurer.  Judge 
Evans  was  always  a republican  in  polities. 

Probably  no  man  was  held  in  higher  esteem  in  El  Reno 
and  Canadian  County.  He  had  been  identified  with 
Oklahoma  nearly  fifty  years,  and  in  that  time  had  come 
in  contact  with  all  the  classes  of  its  population  and  with 
many  of  its  most  prominent  characters.  He  became 
intimately  acquainted  with  many  of  the  men  who  were 
commanding  officers  of  the  various  frontier  posts,  such 
as  Sheridan,  McKenzie  and  Lawton,  whose  confidence  he 
always  enjoyed,  and  he  was  likewise  a friend  of  those 
old  scouts  Cody,  Stillwell,  Clark,  Morrison  and  Horace 
P.  Jones.  He  possessed  a rare  fund  of  information  as 
to  incidents  and  history  of  the  territory  and  state  and 
its  people,  and  was  one  of  the  last  survivors  of  the  early 
pioneers.  In  church  faith  Judge  Evans  was  a Presby- 
terian. He  was  one  of  the  oldest  Masons  of  Oklahoma, 
having  taken  the  Master’s  degrees  in  early  life,  and 
being  a life  member  of  the  lodge  back  in  his  native 
state.  He  was  a Knight  Templar  and  also  a member 
of  the  Mystic  Shrine. 

In  1868  Judge  Evans  married  Miss  Sallie  Hague,  who 
was  born  in  Philadelphia.  She  possessed  many  excellent 
qualities  of  heart  and  mind  and  as  his  helpmate  gave 
him  a courage  sufficient  to  surmount  the  many  obstacles 
in  their  pioneer  life  in  Oklahoma.  Mrs.  Evans  died  in 
1894,  and  her  death  was  an  irreparable  loss  to  her 
husband  and  two  surviving  daughters.  Two  of  the  chil- 
dren died  in  childhood,  and  the  daughters  now  living  are : 
Hettie,  wife  of  Judge  W.  A.  Maurer  of  El  Reno;  and 
Mary,  wife  of  Rev.  Archibald  Cardie,  D.  D.,  pastor  of 
the  First  Presbyterian  Church  of  Burlington,  Iowa. 

Hon.  Gustavus  Adolphus  Ramsey.  Representative  in 
the  fifth  legislature  from  Bryan  County,  Gustavus 
Adolphus  Ramsey  is  one  of  the  older  American  citizens 
in  Oklahoma,  and  has  been  prominent  as  a farmer  and 
stockman  in  the  old  Choctaw  country  for  many  years. 
He  became  a factor  in  politics  before  the  success  of 
the  statehood  movement,  and  has  represented  both  his 
party  and  the  people  in  various  commissions  and  offices. 
His  home  is  at  Colbert.  Having  come  from  Texas  into 


the  Choctaw  Nation  in  early  days,  Mr.  Ramsey  brought 
many  ideas  on  agriculture  and  stock  raising  that  were 
of  value  to  the  natives,  and  during  the  twenty-eight 
years  of  his  residence  there  has  been  one  of  the  most 
conspicuous  in  the  upbuilding  of  that  region. 

Gustavus  Adolphus  Ramsey  was  born  in  Pittsylvania 
County,  Virginia,  July  24,  1857,  a son  of  John  C.  and 
Judie  Ramsey.  His  father  was  descended  from  natives 
of  Scotland  who  settled  in  Pennsylvania  before  the 
Revolution  and  later  participated  in  that  war  as  resi- 
dents of  Virginia.  John  C.  Ramsey  brought  his  family 
out  from  Virginia  to  Northern  Texas  in  1866,  making  the 
journey  with  wagon  and  team,  and  from  Fannin  County, 
the  place  of  his  first  settlement,  subsequently  removed 
to  Grayson  County.  Gustavus  A.  Ramsey  was  nine  years 
of  age  when  he  came  to  Texas,  and  on  account  of  the 
disturbed  conditions  of  society  in  the  South  during  war 
times  and  the  years  immediately  following  had  little 
opportunity  to  go  to  school,  and  acquired  the  most  satis- 
factory part  of  his  early  training  while  in  Grayson 
County.  At  the  age  of  twenty-one  he  went  to  Fort  Sill, 
Oklahoma,  then  a post  on  the  frontier,  and  spent  two 
years  as  a freighter.  In  1886  he  crossed  the  Red  River 
and  located  in  what  is  now  Bryan  County,  Oklahoma, 
and  thenceforth  identified  himself  with  farming  anil 
stock  raising.  In  recent  years  Mr.  Ramsey  has  special- 
ized in  Duroc  hogs,  and  has  taken  some  premiums  on  his 
animals. 

His  first  noteworthy  participation  in  polities  was  in 
1905  when  selected  as  a member  of  the  executive  com- 
mittee of  fourteen  by  the  Statehood  Convention  to 
assist  in  getting  legislation  from  Congress  admitting 
Indian  and  Oklahoma  territories  to  statehood.  He  sat  as 
a delegate  in  the  convention  at  Ardmore  that  selected  the 
first  democratic  national  committeeman  for  Indian  Ter- 
ritory. For  some  time  he  has  been  president  of  the 
Democratic  Club  at  Colbert  and  manager  for  his  precinct 
in  behalf  of  prohibition  in  campaigns  involving  that 
subject.  Governor  Lee  Cruce  appointed  him  a member 
of  the  State  Board  of  Agriculture  that  was  created  in 
1913,  as  a result  of  an  initiatory  act  submitted  to  the 
people.  Mr.  Ramsey  represented  the  State  Board  of 
Agriculture  at  the  National  Farmers  Congress  in  Wash- 
ington in  November,  1913.  He  resigned  his  seat  on  the 
board  January  6,  1915,  to  take  his  place  as  representative 
in  the  fifth  legislature,  following  his  election  in  Novem- 
ber, 1914.  In  the  legislature  Mr.  Ramsey  served  as 
chairman  of  the  Committee  on  Charities  and  Corrections, 
and  a member  of  committees  on  education,  insurance, 
relation  to  the  Five  Civilized  and  other  Indian  tribes,  and 
general  agriculture.  His  interests  were  chiefly  in  mea- 
sures affecting  agriculture,  and  it  was  his  thorough  and 
long  experience  in  that  subject  that  has  given  his  service 
special  value  to  the  law  making  body.  He  was  author  of 
a bill  prohibiting  the  operation  of  pool  and  billiard  halls 
for  hire,  and  of  a bill  accepting  the  provisions  of  the 
Smith-Lever  law  enacted  by  Congress  relating  to  co- 
operation with  the  National  Government  by  the  state  in 
farm  demonstration  and  extension  work. 

Mr.  Ramsey  married,  December  24,  1891,  Miss  Amanda 
Potts,  granddaughter  of  Benjamin  Love,  one  of  the 
prominent  Choctaws  who  once  represented  his  tribe  be- 
fore the  department  in  Washington.  Mrs.  Ramsey  is 
related  to  the  Choctaw  family  of  Colbert,  that  have 
long  been  conspicuous  in  the  old  Choctaw  Nation.  Mr. 
aud  Mrs.  Ramsey  have  a daughter,  Mabel,  aged  sixteen, 
now  finishing  her  second  year  in  the  literary  department 
of  Baylor  College  at  Belton,  Texas. 

Mr.  Ramsey  is  a member  of  the  Baptist  Church,  and 
clerk,  deacon  and  Sunday  school  superintendent,  and 
was  a member  of  the  first  Baptist  general  convention  of 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2155 


old  Indian  Territory.  He  is  affiliated  with  Lodge  No.  80, 
Ancient  Tree  and  Accepted  Masons  at  Colbert,  having 
filled  the  chair  of  master,  and  is  also  affiliated  with 
Lodge  No.  75,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  at 
Colbert,  and  has  been  officially  honored  in  that  order, 
and  has  been  representative  from  the  Colbert  lodges 
in  the  grand  lodges  of  both  the  Masons  and  Odd  Fel- 
lows. Mr.  Ramsey  is  a member  of  the  Farmers  Institute 
of  Bryan  County,  and  of  the  National  Farmers  Edu- 
cational and  Co-operative  Union.  He  was  the  first 
president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Colbert.  Mr. 
Ramsey  was  appointed  a member  of  the  reception  com- 
mittee to  receive  President  Wilson  at  MuSkogee,  in 
April,  1915,  during  the  Southern  Commercial  Congress. 

K.  L.  Colley,  M.  D.  The  leading  representative  of 
the  medical  and  surgical  profession  in  the  community 
of  Big  Heart  since  1907  has  been  Doctor  Colley.  Doctor 
Colley  is  an  eastern  man  of  old  Virginia  colonial  family, 
and  came  to  Oklahoma  after  a thorough  training  and 
with  a generous  equipment  for  his  chosen  vocation. 
Doctor  Colley  has  securely  established  himself  in  the 
esteem  of  the  people  of  Osage  County,  has  a large  and 
profitable  practice,  and  has  that  faculty  which  enables 
him  to  make  friends  wherever-he  goes. 

Born  at  Birchleaf,  Virginia,  September  14,  1877, 
Doctor  Colley  is  a son  of  Richard  J.  and  Mary  E.  (Hill) 
Colley,  both  of  whom  were  born  in  the  Old  Dominion 
State.  His  father  died  in  1913  at  the  age  of  sixty-nine 
at  the  old  home  at  Birchleaf,  where  the  mother  still  lives. 
The  Colleys  were  of  Seotch-Irish  stock,  and  the  family 
was  settled  in  Virginia  before  the  Revolution.  Richard 
J.  Colley  spent  his  life  as  a farmer,  and  during  the  war 
between  the  states  was  in  the  Confederate  army,  and 
many  of  his  relatives  gave  up  their  lives  in  the  struggle. 

One  of  a family  of  nine  children,  four  sons  and  five 
daughters,  all  of  whom  are  still  living,  Doctor  Colley 
grew  up  in  Dickenson  County,  Virginia,  had  the  environ- 
ments  and  influences  of  a Virginia  farm,  and  was  edu- 
cated in  the  local  schools.  He  finally  went  to  Kentucky 
and  entered  the  University  School  of  Medicine  at  Louis- 
ville, from  which  he  was  graduated  M.  D.  in  1907. 
Soon  after  his  graduation  he  moved  to  the  new  State  of 
Oklahoma,  and  has  since  been  in  active  practice  at  Big 
Heart.  Doctor  Colley  has  a special  diploma  representing 
his  study  and  experience  in  the  treatment  of  diseases 
of  children,  but  spends  his  time  in  the  general  practice 
of  medicine  and  surgery.  Doctor  Colley  rendered  notable 
service  at  Big  Heart  during  the  cyclone  of  1911,  when 
he  was  the  only  medical  man  capable  of  assuming  the 
sudden  responsibilities  devolving  upon  him  as  a result 
of  that  calamity.  Three  persons  were  killed  during  the 
storm,  and  sixty  wounded,  and  he  was  the  first  to  bring 
medical  aid  to  the  sufferers,  and  carried  thirty-nine  of 
the  wounded  and  injured  to  the  Tulsa  Hospital  on  a 
I special  train. 

Politically  Doctor  Colley  is  also  well  known  in  his 
home  community  and  state,  and  is  now  a member  from 
Osage  County  of  the  State  Democratic  Committee.  He 
belono-s  to  the  County  and  State  Medical  societies,  and 
is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  Order,  the  Knights  of 
Pvthias  and  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of 
| Elks. 

On  July  18,  1912,  he  married  Miss  Ertle  Swift.  Mrs. 
| Colley  was  born  in  Oklahoma,  and  her  father,  James  A. 

Swift,  was  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers.  To  their  marriage 
■ have  been  born  two  children : Elander  and  Beatrice. 


Henry  W.  Sitton.  Elected  representative  of  Stephens 
County  in  the  State  Legislature,  Mr.  Sitton  proved  a 
most  zealous  and  efficient  member  of  the  lower  house 


during  the  fifth  general  assembly,  in  which  he  introduced 
and  ably  championed  a number  of  wise  and  important 
measures.  He  is  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law  at 
Duncan,  the  judicial  center  of  Stephens  County  and 
through  his  sterling  attributes  and  effective  services  he 
has  gained  secure  place  as  one  of  the  representative 
members  of  the  bar  of  the  southern  part  of  the  state. 

Mr.  Sitton  was  born  near  Houston,  Texas  County, 
Missouri,  on  the  12th  of  May,  1874,  and  is  a son  of 
James  and  Sarah  R.  Sitton,  the  former  a representative 
of  an  old  and  influential  family  of  the  South,  where 
his  father  and  grandfather  were  prominently  identified 
with  the  iron  industry  at  Birmingham,  Alabama.  James 
Sitton  removed  from  Alabama  to  Missouri  at  the  time 
of  the  Civil  war,  and  later  he  removed  with  his  family 
to  Northern  Arkansas.  His  wife  is  a native  of  Georgia. 
Her  maiden  name  was  Wilson  and  she  is  a descendant  of 
the  early  settlers  of  Virginia.  Of  the  children  of  James 
and  Sarah  R.  Sitton  Henry  W.  was  the  youngest  in  order 
of  birth ; George  W.  is  a farmer  in  the  vicinity  of  St. 
Joe,  Arkansas;  Cicero  is"  engaged  in  the  mercantile  busi- 
ness at  Pyote,  Texas;  William  is  a successful  farmer  and 
stock  grower  in  Stephens  County,  Oklahoma,  and  re- 
sides near  Comanche;  James  P.  is  a farmer  in  Okfuskee 
County,  this  state;  Mrs.  Nancy  McClain  resides  near 
Calico  Rock,  Arkansas,  her  husband  being  a farmer  by 
vocation;  and  Mrs.  Mary  Russell  is  the  wife  of  a pros- 
perous farmer  residing  near  St.  Joe,  Arkansas. 

Henry  W.  Sitton  was  a child  at  the  time  of  the  family 
removal  to  Arkansas  and  as  his  parents  were  in  very 
modest  financial  circumstances  he  became  dependent  upon 
his  own  resources  in  acquiring  his  liberal  education.  He 
was  enabled  to  attend,  with  more  or  less  regularity,  the 
public  schools  of  Northern  Arkansas  until  he  had  at- 
tained to  the  age  of  thirteen  years,  and  later  he  pro- 
vided the  means  necessary  to  defray  the  expenses  in- 
cidental to  the  completion  of  a course  in  high  school. 
He  left  the  Harrison  School  in  1891  and  for  the  ensuing 
three  years  was  a student  in  the  Valley  Springs  Academy 
in  Boone  County,  Arkansas,  where  he  finally  received  a 
scholarship  that  admitted  him  to  Hendrix  College,  at 
Conway,  Arkansas.  In  this  institution  he  prosecuted 
higher  academic  studies  during  the  years  1894  and  1895, 
and  thereafter  he  entered  Mountain  Home  College,  at 
Mountain  Home,  that  state,  in  which  institution  he  was 
graduated  in  June,  1897,  and  from  which  he  received 
the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Science.  In  the  same  year 
he  was  elected  president  of  Big  Flat  Academy,  at  Big 
Flat,  Arkansas,  and  he  continued  the  executive  head  of 
this  institution  four  years.  In  1900  Mr.  Sitton  was 
appointed  county  examiner  of  Baxter  County,  where- 
upon he  returned  to  Mountain  Home.  While  incumbent 
of  this  office  he  held  also  a position  as  member  of  the 
faculty  of  Mountain  Home  College,  where  he  served  in 
turn  in  the  chairs  of  higher  English  and  higher  mathe- 
matics. 

In  1904  Mr.  Sitton  established  his  residence  at  Co- 
manche, Indian  Territory,  where  he  engaged  in  the  prac- 
tice of  law,  for  which  work  he  had  prepared  himself 
through  private  study  of  assiduous  order  and  through 
technical  reading  in  the  office  and  under  the  preceptorship 
of  the  law  firm  of  Horton  & Smith,  at  Mountain  Home,  Ar- 
kansas, where  he  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1901.  He 
continued  his  residence  at  Comanche  until  the  admission 
of  Oklahoma  to  statehood,  in  1907,  and  on  the  15th  of 
May,  1908,  he  was  appointed  deputy  county  attorney  of 
Stephens  County,  this  preferment  leading  to  his  removal 
to  Duncan,  the  county  seat,  where  he  has  since  maintained 
his  residence.  In  1910  Mr.  Sitton  was  elected  county 
attorney  and  was  re-elected  to  that  position  in  1912, 
and  in  the  last  election  there  came  to  him  a most  grati- 


2156 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


fying  evidence  of  popular  confidence  and  approval,  in 
that  he  received  the  largest  majority  ever  given  to  any 
candidate  for  county  office  in  that  county — 1,624  votes 
out  of  a total  voting  strength  of  approximately  1,800, 
and  his  opponent  having  been  D.  A.  Bridges,  who  was 
also  his  opponent  in  the  1910  election.  Concerning  his 
administration  as  county  attorney  the  following  consis- 
tent estimate  has  been  given : “He  was  among  the  most 

active  officials  of  the  State  in  conserving  the  suppression 
of  crime,  especially  in  the  enforcement  of  the  prohibition 
law,  and  he  succeeded  in  breaking  up  one  of  the  most 
obnoxious  and  thoroughly  organized  bands  of  horse 
thieves  that  had  ever  infested  that  section  of  the  state. 
He  was  punctilious  and  indomitable  in  his  efforts  to 
foster  law  and  order,  and  malefactors  in  Stephens  County 
gained  a wholesome  fear  of  him.” 

In  the  primary  election  of  1914  Mr.  Sitton  was  nomi- 
nated by  a plurality  of  1,000  votes,  in  a strongly  con- 
tested election,  and  as  candidate  for  representative  of 
his  county  in  the  State  Legislature  the  ensuing  popular 
election  gave  to  him  a most  gratifying  and  significant 
majority,  his  political  allegiance  being  given  to  the 
democratic  party.  In  the  fifth  legislature  Mr.  Sitton 
was  chairman  of  the  committee  on  criminal  jurispru- 
dence, and  a member  of  each  of  the  following  named 
committees  also : Legal  advisory,  appropriations,  con- 
gressional redistrieting,  public-service  corporations, 
public  buildings,  constitutional  amendments,  retrench- 
ment and  reform,  revenue  and  taxation,  and  state  capitol. 
He  urgently  championed  amendments  to  the  judicial 
code  in  the  matter  of  avoiding  useless  litigations;  he 
introduced  an  amendment  in  repeal  of  the  law  requiring 
county  treasurers  to  notify  taxpayers  of  the  impending 
delinquency  of  their  taxes,  this  action  being  based  on 
the  Supreme  Court  ruling  which  made  such  an  amend- 
ment virtually  imperative;  he  introduced  a bill  provid- 
ing that  in  all  civil  cases  in  which  a jury  is  demanded, 
the  demand  shall  be  made  within  three  days  after  the 
issues  at  law  are  joined,  thus  eliminating  the  holding 
of  jurymen  during  the  trial  of  cases  not  demanding  a 
jury  and  enabling  the  judge  to  so  arrange  his  docket 
that  all  jury  eases  shall  be  tried  at  the  beginning  of 
the  term  and  the  venire  then  be  discharged.  Mr.  Sitton 
manifested  also  a lively  interest  in  the  deliberations 
relative  to  amendments  to  the  primary  election  law  and 
the  matter  of  preferential  primaries.  A distinguished 
honor  was  conferred  on  him  by  the  fifth  legislature  be- 
fore adjournment,  in  that  he  was  unanimously  selected 
to  aid  the  house  managers  in  the  impeachment  trials  of 
A.  P.  Watson,  corporation  commissioner,  and  A.  L. 
Welch,  insurance  commissioner. 

In  his  home  city  of  Duncan  Mr.  Sitton  is  past  chan- 
cellor commander  of  Mistletoe  Lodge,  No.  117,  Knights 
of  Pythias;  is  master  of  Duncan  Lodge,  No.  60,  Ancient 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons;  and  affiliated  with  Duncan 
Chapter,  No.  20,  Eoyal  Arch  Masons.  He  is  a member 
of  the  Duncan  Commercial  Club,  holds  membership  in 
the  Stephens  County  Bar  Association  and  the  Oklahoma 
State  Bar  Association,  and  both  he  and  his  wife  are 
zealous  members  of  the  Christian  Church. 

At  Mountain  Home,  Arkansas,  on  the  12th  of  Novem- 
ber, 1903,  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Sitton 
to  Miss  Staeye  Baker,  daughter  of  John  T.  Baker,  a 
representative  merchant  of  that  place.  Mrs.  Sitton  was 
graduated  in  the  department  of  elocution  and  expression 
in  Mountain  Home  College  and  later  was  a teacher  of 
elocution  in  Big  Flat  Academy,  at  the  time  when  her 
husband  was  principal  of  that  institution.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Sitton  have  four  children:  Frances  Elizabeth,  Mary 
Louise,  Ellen  Virginia,  and  Rebecca  Jean. 


David  S.  Schuber.  Few  men  have  lent  more  practical 
encouragement  to  the  agricultural  and  grain  interests  of 
Alfalfa  County  than  has  David  S.  Schuber,  of  Byron, 
general  manager  of  the  Byron  Alfalfa  Mill  and  Elevator 
Company.  Coming  here  in  1913,  he  bought  his  present 
business  and  since  that  time  has  been  identified  with  the 
commercial,  industrial  and  civic  interests  of  his  adopted 
community,  and  has  proven  himself  a valuable  and  helpful 
citizen.  Mr.  Schuber  is  a man  of  industry  and  enter- 
prise; otherwise,  he  could  not  have  gained  his  present 
standing  in  the  business  world,  for  his  father  died  when 
he  was  still  a lad,  and  he  has  always  been  compelled  to 
depend  upon  his  own  resources  to  gain  for  him  the  things 
that  he  has  wanted  in  life. 

By  birth  a Russian,  Mr.  Schuber  was  born  January  3, 
1871,  a son  of  David  and  Lizzie  (Eckhart)  Schuber,  who 
were  born  in  Russia  of  German  parents.  The  family 
came  to  the  United  States  in  1878,  when  David  S.  was 
seven  years  of  age,  and  located  on  a farm  in  Kansas, 
where  the  father  continued  to  be  engaged  in  agricultural 
operations  until  his  death,  which  was  caused  by  the 
explosion  of  a lamp  at  his  home  in  Russell  County,  Kan- 
sas, in  1883.  The  mother  survived  until  1903  and  died 
on  a farm  in  Marion  County,  Kansas,  to  which  she  had 
removed  following  the  death  of  her  husband.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Schuber  were  the  parents  of  four  sons  and  three 
daughters,  namely:  Adam,  who  is  deceased;  David  S. ; 

Mollie;  Henry;  Mary;  Annie,  who  is  deceased;  and 
Samuel. 

David  S.  Schuber  was  reared  on  the  family  farms  in 
Russell  and  Marion  counties,  Kansas,  was  brought  up  to 
industry  and  honorable  dealing,  and  reared  to  appreciate 
the  value  of  hard  work  and  thrift.  In  the  meantime  he 
attended  the  public  schools,  his  education  being  limited 
to  the  branches  offered  by  the  country  schools,  but  being 
a lad  of  retentive  memory  and  an  apt  scholar  he  obtained 
a good  training,  which  has  since  been  added  to  by 
observation,  reading  and  coming  into  contact  with  men 
and  affairs.  In  1892  Mr.  Schuber  left  Kansas  for  Okla- 
homa, being  one  of  those  who  sought  land  in  the  opening 
of  the  Cheyenne  and  Arapahoe  Reservation,  April  21st. 
He  was  successful  in  securing  a homestead,  locating  on 
Government  land  in  Blaine  County,  and  there  proved  up 
on  his  tract  and  developed  a good  farm,  with  substantial 
buildings  and  many  improvements.  Of  this  he  was  able 
to  dispose  at  a good  figure  in  1901,  when  he  decided  to 
try  his  fortunes  in  a mercantile  venture,  at  Ferguson, 
Oklahoma.  While  this  enterprise  proved  satisfactory,  he 
saw  a broader  field  in  the  grain  business,  and  accordingly 
disposed  of  his  interests  in  the  store  to  enter  upon  a 
career  as  a miller,  continuing  in  the  same  line  at  Fer- 
guson until  1913,  when  he  came  to  Byron,  which  has 
since  been  his  place  of  residence  and  the  scene  of  his 
business  success.  When  he  came  here  Mr.  Schuber  pur- 
chased the  plant  of  the  Byron  Alfalfa  Milling  Company, 
and  here  he  has  been  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of 
alfalfa  meal  and  other  products.  He  has  since  estab- 
lished an  elevator,  in  connection  with  which  he  purchases 
and  handles  grain  of  all  kinds,  but  principally  wheat,  on 
a large  scale,  shipping  to  all  points.  The  extent  of  his 
operations  may  be  seen  in  the  fact  that  he  has  already 
shipped,  more  than  40,000  bushels  of  grain  in  a year  from 
Byron,  thereby  contributing  in  no  small  way  to  the  busi- 
ness importance  and  prestige  of  this  thriving  little  Okla- 
homa community.  Mr.  Schuber  is  also  the  owner  of  the 
only  hotel  at  Byron,  the  Commercial  Hotel,  which  is 
managed  by  Mrs.  Schuber,  who  has  built  up  a large 
business  and  won  the  patronage  of  the  traveling  public 
by  the  homelike  manner  in  which  the  hostelry  is  arranged 
and  the  many  comforts  prepared  for  the  guests. 

Mr.  Schuber  was  married  December  8,  1892,  in  Marion 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2157 


County,  Kansas,  to,  Miss  Lizzie  Adler,  who  was  born  in 
Russia,  September  20,  1876,  and  came  with  her  parents 
to  the  United  States  in  1884,  they  being  Jacob  and  Lizzie 
(Schlotthauer)  Adler,  now  residents  of  Marion  County, 
Kansas.  Six  children  have  been  born  to  this  union: 
Hanna,  Emanuel,  Lida,  Elsie,  Jacob  and  Evelyn.  Mr. 
Sehuber  is  a popular  member  of  the  local  lodge  of  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  A republican  in 
politics,  he  has  been  too  closely  devoted  to  business 
affairs  to  engage  actively  in  the  public  arena,  but  has 
never  refused  his  support  to  any  movement  which  would 
advance  the  welfare  of  his  community  or  the  civic,  moral 
or  educational  betterment  of  its  people. 

George  E.  Ellison  has  the  distinction  of  having- 
opened  the  first  merchandise  store  at  Guymon,  Oklahoma. 
He  is  now  manager  of  the  Star  Mercantile  Company 
there.  In  many  ways  during  the  last  fifteen  years  his 
name  and  activities  have  been  closely  identified  and 
associated  with  the  growth  and  prosperity  of  that  com- 
munity. As  a merchant  he  has  made  his  business  a 
reliable  service  to  a constantly  growing  circle  of  patron- 
age, while  as  a citizen  his  part  has  been  equally  public 
spirited  and  nothing  affecting  the  welfare  of  Guymon 
has  passed  without  his  consideration  and  helpful  support. 

He  was  born  February  7,  1878,  at  Coatsburg,  Illinois, 
a son  of  Henry  and  Irene  (Guymon)  Ellison.  He  was 
one  of  two  sons,  and  his  brother  Arthur  E.  was  born  at 
the  same  place  in  Illinois  May  17,  1880. 

In  1879  the  family  moved  to  Kansas,  and  he  completed 
his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Topeka  and  Liberal. 
While  living  at  Liberal  he  had  his  first  experience  in 
merchandising,  and  was  also  the  first  cashier  of  the  First 
National  Bank  of  that  town. 

Mr.  Ellison  was  just  twenty  years  of  age  when  the 
Spanish-American  war  broke  out.  He  enlisted  in  the 
famous  Twentieth  Kansas  Regiment,  commanded  by 
Colonel,  now  General,  Fred  Funston.  He  went  out  as 
principal  musician,  and  was  with  the  regiment  in  its 
Philippine  campaign.  Mr.  Ellison  had  marked  talent  for 
music  as  a boy,  and  has  always  been  extremely  interested 
in  musical  affairs. 

It  was  in  1901  that  he  located  at  Guymon,  Oklahoma, 
opened  the  first  store,  there,  and  has  kept  at  the  forefront 
in  the  progress  of  the  community.  While  an  active 
republican,  and  liberally  supporting  the  party,  he  has 
never  sought  any  office  for  himself.  Mr.  Eliison  is  a 
thirty-second  degree  Scottish  Rite  Mason  and  a member 
of  the  Mystic  Shrine. 

On  June  25,  1902,  in  Texas  County,  Oklahoma,  he 
married  Miss  Carrie  Lee  Cain,  daughter  of  Zach  and 
Thena  (Smith)  Cain.  Mrs.  Ellison  was  born  in  Virginia 
May  25,  1882.  They  have  four  children,  all  daughters: 
Irene,  born  August  17,  1903;  Helen,  born  July  5,  1904; 
and  Gaynette  and  Dolores,  twins,  born  July  8,  1908. 

Robert  Long.  After  a varied  experience  in  the  states 
of  Texas,  Kansas  and  Missouri,  Mr.  Long  came  to 
Oklahoma  in  1892  and  became  one  of  the  pioneers  in 
the  present  Pawnee  County  at  the  time  when  the  Cherokee 
Strip  was  thrown  open  to  settlement,  in  the  following 
year.  He  here  obtained  a homestead  claim  and  from  a 
beginning  of  most  modest  order  he  has  pressed  forward 
in  worthy  achievement  until  he  has  gained  secure  status 
as  one  of  the  representative  agriculturists  and  stock 
growers  of  the  county,  his  well  improved  landed  estate 
being  situated  in  the  vicinity  of  the  Village  of  Jennings, 
which  is  his  postoffice  address.  His  life  has  been  one  of 
consecutive  application  and  he  has  so  availed  himself  of 
opportunities  afforded  in  connection  with  industrial  en- 
terprise in  Oklahoma  that  he  has  gained  substantial 


prosperity,  the  while  he  is  significantly  appreciative  of 
and  loyal  to  the  state  of  his  adoption. 

Mr.  Long  was  born  in  the  State  of  Tennessee,  on  the 
5th  of  May,  1845,  and  is  a son  of  John  E.  and  Catherine 
(Hawser)  Long,  both  natives  of  Pennsylvania  and  both 
of  sterling  German  ancestry,  the  respective  families 
having  been  founded  in  the  old  Keystone  State  in  an 
early  day,  and  both  the  paternal  and  maternal  grand- 
parents of  the  subject  of  this  review  having  used  the 
German  language  exclusively.  The  parents  of  Mr.  Long 
were  children  at  the  time  of  the  removal  of  the  respective 
families  to  Tennessee,  where  they  were  reared  to  ma- 
turity and  where  their  marriage  was  solemnized.  In 
1850  they  removed  from  that  state  to  Jersey  County, 
Illinois,  in  which  state  the  father  devoted  his  attention 
very  effectively  to  agricultural  pursuits.  He  was  born 
on  the  10th  of  October,  1819,  and  attained  to  venerable 
age,  the  closing  period  of  his  life  having  been  passed  in 
Carroll  County,  Missouri,  to  which  state  he  removed 
about  the  year  1884,  his  death  having  there  occurred  in 
July,  1907.  In  Tennessee  he  had  followed  the  trade  of 
shoemaker  and  after  his  removal  to  Illinois  he  not  only 
became  a farmer  but  also  worked  at  the  carpenter ’s  trade. 
His  wife,  who  was  born  in  1822,  died  in  Illinois,  on  the 
12th  of  November,  1862.  Of  their  children  the  eldest  is 
Mrs.  Jane  Rankin,  who  maintains  her  home  at  Carroll- 
ton, Missouri;  Mrs.  Sarah  E.  Dampkey  is  a widow  and 
resides  in  Madison  County,  Illinois;  Robert,  subject  of 
this  sketch,  was  the  next  in  order  of  birth;  Jonathan  H., 
who  was  born  November  18,  1847,  was  a resident  of  the 
city  of  East  St.  Louis,  Illinois,  at  the  time  of  his  death, 
on  the  15th  of  August,  1910;  Mrs.  Catherine  MeCanney 
died  in  the  State  of  Kansas;  Mary  J.  is  the  wife  of 
Louis  Tigner,  of  Madison  County,  Illinois;  William  H. 
is  a resident  of  Edwardsville,  that  county;  and  Joseph 
maintains  his  home  in  Montgomery  County,  that  state. 

Robert  Long  was  a lad  of  five  years  at  the  time  of 
the  family  removal  from  Tennessee  to  Illinois,  where  he 
was  reared  to  adult  age  under  the  sturdy  discipline  of 
the  farm.  He  availed  himself  of  the  advantages  of  the 
common  schools  of  Jersey  County  and  when  he  was  six- 
teen years  of  age  the  family  removed  thence  to  Mont- 
gomery County,  where  he  grew  to  manhood  and  where 
he  cast  his  first  presidential  vote.  As  a lad  he  was  a 
great  admirer  of  the  distinguished  Illinois  statesman, 
Hon.  Stephen  A.  Douglas,  and  he  was  a lad  of  about 
fifteen  years  when  the  "little  giant”  was  made  the 
independent  democratic  candidate  for  President  of  the 
United  States,  in  1860. 

Mr.  Long  continued  his  association  with  agricultural 
industry  in  Illinois  until  1879,  when  he  made  his  way  to 
Texas  and  established  his  residence  in  Parker  County, 
where  he  had  the  distinction  of  being  the  first  to  plant 
cotton  and  thus  initiate  a profitable  line  of  enterprise  in 
that  section,  though  he  did  not  remain  to  witness  the 
advancement  made,  as  he  returned  to  Illinois  in  the  fol- 
lowing year.  There  he  remained  until  1882,  when  he 
located  in  Carroll  County,  Missouri,  where  he  raised  one 
farm  crop  and  then  removed  to  Stoddard  County,  that 
state,  where  he  remained  during  one  summer.  For  the 
ensuing  six  years  he  was  engaged  in  farming  and  stock 
growing  in  Cherokee  County,  Kansas,  in  which  state  he 
continued  to  maintain  his  home  until  1892,  when  he  came 
to  Oklahoma  Territory  and  made  ready  to  avail  himself 
of  the  opportunity  offered  for  securing  government  land 
at  the  opening  to  settlement  of  the  Cherokee  Strip.  On 
the  8th  day  of  March,  1894,  he  established  his  residence 
on  his  present  homestead  farm,  which  comprises  160 
acres  of  excellent  land  and  which  is  eligibly  situated 
at  a point  4%  miles  distant  from  the  Village  of  Jennings. 
He  has  reclaimed  the  major  part  of  his  farm  to  cultiva- 
tion, has  made  excellent  improvements  of  a permanent 


2158 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


order  and  is  one  of  the  successful  agriculturists  and 
stock  raisers  of  Pawnee  County,  even  as  he  is  a citizen 
who  has  secure  place  in  popular  confidence  and  esteem. 

Mr.  Long  was  aligned  as  a supporter  of  the  cause  of 
the  democratic  party  until  the  national  election  of  1876, 
since  which  time  he  has  been  a staunch  advocate  of  the 
principles  and  policies  for  which  the  republican  party 
stands  sponsor,  though  he  has  in  later  years  manifested 
a distinctive  appreciation  of  certain  of  the  tenets  of  the 
socialist  party.  When  Mr.  Long  established  his  home 
on  his  present  farm  his  tangible  assets  in  initiating 
operations  were  represented  in  two  cows,  and  in  the 
early  period  of  his  residence  in  the  new  country  he 
encountered  a.  full  share  of  pioneer  hardships,  his  suc- 
cess eventually  having  been  specially  advanced  through 
the  negotiating  of  oil  leases  on  his  land. 

In  the  year  1867,  in  Madison  County,  Illinois,  was 
solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Long  to  Miss  Catherine 
Judson,  who  was  born  in  that  county,  on  the  9th  of 
May,  1846,  the  great  loss  and  bereavement  of  the  life 
of  Mr.  Long  having  come  when  his  devoted  wife  and 
helpmeet  was  summoned  to  the  life  eternal,  her  death 
having  occurred  on  Lis  present  homestead  farm,  on  the 
2d  of  November,  1905.  Of  the  children  the  eldest  is 
Charles  M.,  who  has  the  active  management  of  his 
father’s  farm,  the  maiden  name  of  his  wife  having- 
been  Bertha  Marple,  and  their  one  child  being  a son, 
Myrle  Wilson.  Mary  Jeannette  is  the  wife  of  William 
W.  Sims,  of  Mannford,  Creek  County,  Oklahoma,  and 
they  have  three  children:  Creta  May,  Emma  and  Gil- 

ford. Albert  is  a successful  representative  of  agricul- 
tural industry  in  Pawnee  County.  He  wedded  Miss 
Emma  Bell  and  they  have  four  children : Clifford, 

Philip,  Robert  and  Otis.  John,  the  fourth  child,  of  the 
subject  of  this  sketch,  died  on  the  25th  of  December, 
1908,  at  the  age  of  twenty-six  years,  and  James  died 
at  the  age  of  seven  years,  in  Missouri. 

Raymond  A.  Graddy.  The  year  1915  finds  the  thriv- 
ing little  City  of  Watonga,  judicial  center  of  Blaine 
county,  signally  favored  in  having  as  the  superintendent 
of  its  public  schools  so  able  an  instructor  as  the 
popular  young  citizen  whose  .name  introduces  this 
paragraph  and  who  was  elected  to  his  present  position 
in  the  autumn  of  1914,  his  effective  administration 
assuring  his  continuation  in  service  so  long,  practically, 
as  he  will  consent  to  retain  the  incumbency. 

Mr.  Graddy  was  born  in  Franklin  County,  Illinois,  on 
the  31st  of  December,  1889,  and  is  a son  of  George  W. 
and  Emma  (Whiffen)  Graddy,  the  former  of  whom  was 
born  in  the  State  of  Indiana,  in  1851,  and  the  latter  of 
whom  was  born  in  White  County,  Illinois,  in  1852.  The 
parents  passed  the  closing  years  of  their  lives  in  Frank- 
lin County,  Illinois,  and  in  death  their  devoted  com- 
panionship was  not  long  severed,  the  father  having 
passed  away  in  1891,  and  the  mother  having  been  sum- 
moned.to  the  life  eternal  in  the  preceding  year.  George 
W.  Graddy  was  reared  and  educated  in  the  old  Hoosier 
State  and  as  a young  man  he  established  his  residence 
in  Franklin  County,  Illinois,  where  he  became  a pros- 
perous farmer  and  stock  grower,  where  his  marriage 
was  solemnized  and  where  he  and  his  wife  passed  the 
residue  of  their  lives,  both  having  been  earnest  members 
of  the  Baptist  Church,  and  he  having  been  a republican 
in  his  political  proclivities,  the  while  he  was  affiliated 
with  the  Masonic  fraternity  and  the  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows.  Of  the  children  the  eldest  is  Nora  E., 
who  resides  at  Canyon  City,  Colo.,  the  widow  of  Yirgil 
Hayes,  who  was  a farmer  by  vocation ; Lolle  is  the 
wife  of  William  J.  Thorpe,  and  they  reside  in  the  City 
of  Des  Moines,  Iowa,  where  Mr.  Thorpe  is  local  manager 
for  the  Rumeley  Company,  the  extensive  manufacturers 


of  farm  machinery;  Thomas  is  a prosperous  farmer  in 
Posey  County,  Ind.;  Susie  died  at  Mew  Haven,  that 
state,  when  nineteen  years  of  age;  Clinton  is  engaged 
in  the  lumber  business  at  Dudley,  Missouri;  and  Ray- 
mond A.,  of  this  review,  is  the  youngest  of  the  number. 

The  original  American  progenitors  of  the  Graddy 
family  immigrated  to  the  new  world,  from  Ireland,  in 
the  colonial  era  of  our  national  history,  and  became 
pioneers  of  Kentucky,  from  which  historic  old  common- 
wealth went  the  early  representatives  of  the  name  in 
Indiana. 

Raymond  A.  Graddy  found  the  period  of  his  child- 
hood and  early  youth  compassed  by  the  benignant  con- 
ditions and  influences  of  the  home  farm,  and  after  avail- 
ing himself  of  the  advantages  of  the  local  schools  of 
his  native  county  he  entered  the  high  school  at  Marion, 
Williamson  County,  Illinois,  in  which  he  was  graduated 
in  1905.  Thereafter  he  completed  a two  years’  course 
in  the  Illinois  State  Normal  School  at  Normal,  111., 
and  his  ambition  for  higher  academic  training  was  not 
satisfied  until  he  had  continued  his  studies  two  years 
in  Valparaiso  University,  Indiana,  and  one  year  in  the 
Southern  Illinois  College,  at  Carmi,  111.,  in  which 
institution  he  was  graduated  as  a member  of  the 
class  of  1912  and  from  which  he  received  the  degree  of 
Bachelor  of  Arts.  Since  that  time  he  has  taken  effective 
post  graduate  work  in  the  great  University  of  Chicago. 

During  the  school  year  of  1911-12  Mr.  Graddy  was 
principal  of  the  high  school  at  Marlow,  Stephens  County, 
Oklahoma,  to  which  state  he  had  come  prior  to  his 
graduation  in  the  college  mentioned  above.  During  the 
autumn  of  1912  and  the  ensuing  spring  he  served  as 
principal  of  the  high  school  at  Cleveland,  Pawnee 
County;  and  the  school  year  of  1913-14  found  him  the 
successful  and  popular  principal  of  the  high  school  at 
Norman,  Cleveland  County.  Since  the  autumn  of  1914 
he  has  retained  the  superintendency  of  the  public 
schools  at  Watonga,  Blaine  County,  and  it  may  con- 
sistently be  said  that  his  career  as  a teacher  in  the 
Oklahoma  schools  has  been  marked  by  consecutive  ad- 
vancement and  by  such  scholastic  and  executive  ability 
as  to  give  him  prestige  as  one  of  the  representative 
figures  in  the  educational  circles  of  the  state,  the  while 
his  personal  popularity  in  each  of  the  fields  in  which  he 
has  labored  has  been  of  unequivocal  order.  At  Watonga 
he  has  under  his  supervision  three  school  houses  and  a 
corps  of  eighteen  teachers,  the  enrollment  of  pupils  show- 
ing an  aggregate  of  800. 

Mr.  Graddy  is  found  aligned  as  a staunch  supporter 
of  the  cause  of  the  republican  party,  and  he  is  essen- 
tially progressive  and  public-spirited  in  his  civic  attitude, 
with  specially  deep  interest  in  all  that  pertains  to  the 
educational  affairs  of  the  state  of  his  adoption.  Both 
he  and  his  wife  hold  membership  in  the  Christian  Church, 
in  which  he  holds  the  office  of  deacon,  and  he  is  affiliated 
with  the  Watonga  lodge  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows,  as  well  as  with  the  Delta  Sigma  Phi  college 
fraternity.  He  has  identified  himself  fully  with  Okla- 
homa, with  the  intention  of  here  maintaining  his  perma- 
nent home,  and  he  was  formerly  treasurer  of  a company 
identified  with  the  oil  industry  in  this  state. 

At  Oklahoma  City,  Oklahoma,  in  1914,  was  solemnized 
the  marriage  of  Mr.  Graddy  to  Miss  Ina  Rose  Hastings, 
daughter  of  Albert  W.  Hastings,  a well  known  citizen  of 
Oklahoma  City.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Graddy  are  popular 
factors  in  the  leading  social  life  of  Watonga,  and  both 
are  zealous  in  connection  with  the  affairs  of  the  local 
Christian  Church. 

Edward  Swengel,  superintendent  of  the  Mekusukey 
Academy  located  near  Seminole,  Oklahoma,  was  born  at 
Neoga,  Cumberland  County,  Illinois,  March  4,  1873.  His 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2159 


parents,  George  and  Sarah  Swengel,  came  from  Indiana 
to  Neoga,  Illinois,  about  1866.  His  father  was  a pro- 
gressive and  prosperous  farmer  and  both  parents  were 
very  much  interested  in  churches  and  schools  and  the 
upbuilding  of  the  community  in  which  they  lived.  They 
were  members  of  the  United  Brethren  Church  and  were 
very  careful  to  see  that  their  five  sons  had  educational 
advantages  and  Christian  influences.  George  Swengel 
died  when  his  son  Edward  was  thirteen  years  of  age. 

The  latter  had  his  early  training  in  the  public  schools 
of  Illinois,  and  also  had  the  advantage  of  courses  in  the 
United  Brethren  College  at  Westfield,  Illinois,  and  Austin 
College  at  Effingham,  Illinois.  His  early  years  were 
divided  between  teaching  in  the  rural  schools  of  Illinois 
and  working  a farm.  He  was  elected  principal  of  the 
schools  at  Dieterich  in  his  native  state,  and  as  editor 
and  owner  of  the  Dieterich  Gazette  got  a taste  of  news- 
paper work  which  was  repeated  after  he  came  to  Okla- 
homa. 

When  he  arrived  in  Tulsa  in  the  spring  of  1902  he 
found  the  town  just  beginning  to  grow,  and  with  a 
population  of  not  more  than  2,000  people.  In  the  fol- 
lowing September  he  was  appointed  principal  teacher  in 
the  Wealaka  Indian  Boarding  School  near  Tulsa,  and 
was  soon  afterwards  made  superintendent  of  that  school. 
After  two  years  at  Wealaka  he  was  promoted  to  the 
superintendeney  of  the  National  Boarding  School  at 
Wetumka,  a capacity  in  which  he  served  three  years. 

While  superintendent  at  Wetumka  Mr.  Swengel  bought 
the  land  adjoining  the  site  of  the  school  and  several 
years  later  when  the  school  was  discontinued  he  bought 
the  school  land  and  buildings.  This  land  now  com- 
prises one  of  the  fine  farms  in  the  Canadian  Biver  bot- 
tom, and  in  point  of  fertility  and  improvement  it  is  one 
of  the  best  farms  in  Eastern  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Swengel 
also  bought  a half  interest  in  the  Wetumka  Gazette  and 
filled  the  chair  of  editor  for  some  time.  His  interest  in 
the  raising  of  Poland  China  hogs  and  Hereford  cattle 
on  his  farm  required  so  much  time  and  attention  that 
he  sold  his  interest  in  the  paper.  After  five  years  of 
practical  farming  he  accepted  the  principalship  of  the 
Capitol  Heights  School  at  Holdenville,  Oklahoma,  and 
later  was  promoted  to  the  principalship  of  the  Central 
School  in  the  same  city.  In  September,  1914,  he  was 
tendered  the  principalship  of  Armstrong  Male  Academy 
at  Academy,  Oklahoma,  and  from  that  place  was  pro- 
moted to  superintendent  of  the  Mekusukey  Academy 
December  16,  1915. 

Both  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Swengel  are  deeply  interested  in 
the  education  of  Indian  children.  He  is  now  beginning 
his  eighth  year  in  the  Indian  service.  Mekusukey 
Academy,  of  which  he  is  superintendent,  has  a capacity 
of  100  Indian  children  with  fifteen  employees.  This 
school  is  conducted  like  a big  home  for  children,  and 
they  remain  there  nine  months  of  the  year.  All  the 
pupils  are  required  to  take  the  literary  course,  while 
the  girls  are  instructed  in  domestic  science  and  art  and 
the  boys  in  agriculture  and  manual  training.  Every 
effort  is  made  to  make  these  students  useful  men  and 
women.  The  school  is  situated  on  a farm  of  320  acres 
on  one  of  the  most  beautiful  and  picturesque  spots  in 
Eastern  Oklahoma.  No  other  one  factor  has  done  so 
much  for  the  uplift  and  welfare  of  the  Seminole  Indians 
as  the  Mekusukey  Academy. 

[ For  several  years  prior  to  his  entering  the  Indian 
services  in  1914,  Mr.  Swengel  was  secretary  of  the 
Hughes  County  Farmers  Institute,  and  in  that  capacity 
and  as  a practical  farmer  and  far-seeing  educator  has 
devoted  much  time  and  money  to  the  encouragement  of  a 
better  system  of  farming,  better  livestock  and  better 
seeds  for  this  section  of  Oklahoma.  Upon  the  advent  of 
statehood  he  was  elected  representative  of  Hughes 

■ Vol.  V— 26 


County  in  the  first  State  Legislature.  In  that  session  he 
gave  particular  attention  to  laws  concerning  agriculture, 
public  schools  and  taxation.  Mr.  Swengel  is  a lifelong 
democrat  and  though  a man  of  positive  ideas  on  political 
questions  is  tolerant  and  liberal  with  people  who  hold 
different  views.  His  influence  has  been  worthily  directed 
to  maintain  the  purity  and  integrity  of  official  adminis- 
tration, and  he  has  ever  declined  to  support  any  man 
for  office  he  thought  incompetent  or  unworthy.  It  is  a 
part  of  his  creed  that  the  future  success  of  the  party 
depends  upon  the  uprightness  of  its  leaders. 

Mr.  Swengel  is  a Master  Mason,  and  was  trustee  of 
Wetumka  Lodge  when  its  hall  was  built,  and  he  assisted 
in  the  supervision  of  that  work.  For  many  years  he 
has  been  affiliated  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America  and  was  clerk  of  his  camp  several  years  at 
Dieterich,  Illinois.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Swengel  are  active 
members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church. 

In  ancestry  Mr.  Swengel  is  of  German  stock  on  his 
father ’s  side,  while  from  his  mother  he  received  the 
qualities  of  Scoteh-Irish-.  On  September  10,  1893,  at 
Paradis4,  Illinois,  he  married  Lula  B.  Morrison,  daugh- 
ter of  G.  C.  and  P.  A.  Morrison.  Her  father  was  a 
successful  stock  buyer  and  farmer  near  Neoga,  Illinois. 
Mrs.  Swengel  has  been  not  only  the  guardian  of  the 
destinies  of  the  home  but  also  a factor  of  constant  en- 
couragement and  inspiration  to  Mr.  Swengel  in  his 
career.  She  is  a woman  of  fine  education,  and  in  addi- 
tion to  the  public  schools  of  Illinois  which  she  attended 
she  was  a student  in  the  United  Brethren  College  at 
Westfield  and  Austin  College  at  Effingham,  the  game  in- 
stitutions which  Mr.  Swengel  attended.  They  have  one 
bright  and  attractive  daughter,  Ruth  Louise,  now  six 
years  of  age. 

Oscak  K.  Petty,  vice  president  and  active  manager 
of  the  Farmers  State  Bank  of  Hominy,  Mr.  Petty  has  for 
several  years  been  'closely  identified  with  the  general 
commercial  enterprise  of  Hominy.  The  successful  posi- 
tion of  the  bank  is  in  a considerable  degree  due  to  his 
personality  and  ability  as  financial  manager,  and  he  has 
furthermore  shown  a ready  interest  and  public  spirit  in 
promoting  every  enterprise  for  the  upbuilding  and  de- 
velopment of  his  section.  The  Farmers  State  Bank  of 
Hominy  was  chartered  and  opened  for  business  March  18, 
1912,  and  on  May  10,  1913,  occurred  a reorganization  by 
the  present  owners.  W.  S.  Crowe  is  president,  Mr.  Petty 
is  vice  president,  O.  L.  Barlow,  cashier,  and  the  other 
directors  are  Percy  Dixon  and  Mrs.  Addie  Drummond. 
The  capital  stock  is  $25,000,  surplus  and  profits  $4,000, 
and  its  aggregate  resources  now  place  it  among  the 
leading  institutions  of  the  kind  in  Northeastern  Okla- 
homa. 

The  vice  president  of  this  bank  comes  of  a fine  old 
Tennessee  family,  and  was  born  at  Hamburg  in  that  state 
March  6,  1884,  a son  of  William  G.  and  Margaret  A. 
(Perkins)  Petty,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  McNairy 
County,  Tennessee,  his  father  born  September  6,  1841, 
and  his  mother  in  1866.  They  are  still  living  at  Ham- 
burg. His  father  has  been  a farmer,  physician,  merchant 
and  banker,  is  now  president  of  the  Planters  and  Mer- 
chants Bank  of  Hamburg,  and  gives  most  of  his  time 
to  the  handling  of  his  extensive  financial  interests.  He 
was  graduated  from  the  Kentucky  School  of  Medicine 
and  took  post-graduate  work  in  the  New  York  schools, 
but  for  several  years  has  been  retired  from  his  pro- 
fession. 

One  of  a family  of  thirteen  children  and  the  oldest  of 
the  nine  still  living,  Oscar  K.  Petty  grew  up  in  Tennessee, 
graduated  from  a local  collegiate  institution  in  1901,  and 
then  became  associated  with  his  father  in  merchandising 
up  to  1904.  After  attending  a college  in  St.  Louis  for  a 


2160 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


time,  he  first  came  to  Hominy  in  1905,  where  he  served 
as  an  expert  accountant  for  M.  F.  Fraley. 

In  1907  Mr.  Petty  married  Miss  Blanche  Henrietta 
Drummond,  daughter  of  the  late  Fred  Drummond,  one 
of  the  pioneer  traders  of  the  Osage  country  and  an  active 
factor  in  the  Farmers  State  Bank  at  tiie  time  of  his 
death.  The  life  of  Fred  Drummond,  who  was  one  of 
Hominy’s  leading  citizens,  is  sketched  on  other  pages. 
After  his  marriage  Mr.  Petty  returned  with  his  bride  to 
Tennessee,  and  spent  two  years  with  the  Hamburg  Mer- 
cantile Company.  Eeturning  to  Hominy  in  1909,  he 
became  actively  identified  with  the  Hominy  Trading 
Company,  and  was  with  that  concern  until  1913,  when 
he  took  part  in  the  reorganization  of  the  Farmers  State 
Bank  and  has  since  been  its  vice  president  and  active 
manager. 

Mr.  Petty  is  a thirty-second  degree  Scottish  Bite 
Mason,  has  been  a member  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  since 
1906,  and  is  also  affiliated  with  the  Eastern  Star,  the 
Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  the  Knights 
of  Pythias  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 
He  is  active  in  the  Christian  Church  and  is  now  superin- 
tendent of  its  Sunday  school.  His  politics  are  democratic. 
He  served  three  years  on  the  local  school  board  and  was 
a member  of  the  city  council  two  years.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Petty  have  four  children:  Drummond,  Helen  Claire, 

Blanche  and  Margaret.  The  oldest  was  born  in  Tennes- 
see, while  the  three  other  children  claim  Hominy  as  the 
place  of  their  nativity. 

I.  O.  Diggs,  Stillwater,  Oklahoma,  has  been  editor  and 
publisher  of  The  Advance-Democrat  since  1900,  and  post- 
master at  Stillwater  since  February,  1914.  As  postmaster 
of  this  important  office  of  the  second  class,  Mr.  Diggs  has 
# been  eminently  effective  and  universally  satisfactory. 
But  it  is  as  editor  of  The  Advance-Democrat  that 
Mr.  Diggs  has  made  his  impression  on  the  people  of 
Oklahoma  and  especially  of  Payne  County. 

The  location  of  the  A.  & M.  College  at  Stillwater- 
makes  that  city  the  center  of  considerable  interest  in 
Oklahoma,  and  in  the  intellectual  life  of  that  college 
community  a very  significant  part  has  always  been  played 
by  The  Advance-Democrat  and  its  editor,  Mr.  Diggs.  In 
fact  he  has  made  The  Advance-Democrat  known  and 
respected  as  a fine,  strong,  clean  exponent  of  all  that  is 
best  in  community  welfare. 

Mr.  Diggs  is  a recognized  leader  in  the  councils  of  the 
democratic  party  in  Payne  County  and  in  Oklahoma. 
He  has  served  as  chairman  of  the  county  organization 
and  been  repeatedly  elected  as  state  committeeman.  His 
paper  has  always  been  a virile  exponent  of  the  principles 
of  the  democratic  party. 

Irvin  Owings  Diggs  was  born  at  Arrow  Bock,  Saline 
County,  Missouri,  June  5,  1873,  and  is  a son  of  William 
Bailey  Diggs  and  Cynthia  Emeline  (Morris)  Diggs. 

William  Bailey  Diggs  was  born  at  Yorktown,  Virginia, 
June  9,  1827,  and  Cynthia  E.  Morris  was  born  at  Dan- 
ville, Missouri,  August  11,  1836.  William  Bailey  Diggs 
came  to  Missouri  as  a yound  man  established  his  resi- 
dence in  St.  Louis  and  there  attended  school.  He  was 
married  to  Cynthia  E.  Morris  in  Montgomery  County, 
Missouri,  where  she  had  been  born  and  reared.  There- 
after they  lived  for  many  years  in  Saline  County  where 
he  was  a very  successful  farmer. 

William  Bailey  Diggs  died  at  Arrow  Bock,  Saline 
County,  Missouri,  November  2,  1912,  at  the  hale  old  age 
of  eighty-five  years.  He  was  ever  public  spirited.  He 
was  a member  of  the  Southern  Methodist  Church,  lived 
a hearty  and  a noble  life  and  spent  time  and  money 
for  the  upbuilding  of  the  church  and  the  betterment  of 
humanity.  He  was  a staunch  democrat,  influential  in 
local  affairs,  and  commanded  the  respect  and  esteem  of 


his  fellow  men.  His  wife  Cynthia  Emeline  still  survives 
him  (in  1916)  and  is  hale  and  hearty  at  the  age  of  eighty 
years.  Of  their  nine  children  all  but  one  attained  to 
years  of  maturity  and  seven  of  them  are  now  living 
(1916).  The  names  of  the  children  of  William  Bailey 
Diggs  are:  Wirtley  Marvin,  Nora  Jane,  Esther  Catherine, 
Laura,  William  Thomas,  Bascom,  Watson,  Irvin  Owings, 
Seth  Morris. 

I.  O.  Diggs  is  descended  from  a fine  old  Virginia  fam- 
ily which  can  trace  its  ancestry  back  to  good  blood  in 
England.  The  name  now  spelled  Diggs  was  spelled 
Degge  (Digges).  William  Bailey  Diggs,  the  father  of 
I.  O.  Diggs,  was  a son  of  Jesse  Diggs  who  served  in  the 
War  of  1812.  Jesse  Diggs  was  the  son  of  Augustine 
Degge,  the  son  of  Simon  Degge,  the  son  of  Capt.  John 
Degge,  who  according  to  the  William  and  Mary  Quarterly 
is  directly  descended  from  Sir  Simon  Degge  of  England, 
who  was  justice  for  Staffordshire  of  the  inner  temple  at 
London,  one  of  His  Majesty’s  council. 

The  Virginia  family  which  began  with  Capt.  John 
Degge  still  holds  a very  ancient  coat  of  arms  described 
in  Burke’s  General  Armory.  The  names  of  important 
persons  called  “Headrights”  are  given  at  the  foot  of 
land  patents,  and  the  name  of  Capt.  John  Degge  is 
found  in  the  land  office  records  at  Bichmond  as  one  who 
got  a patent  in  1678  for  1,800  acres  for  importing 
thirty-six  persons. 

I.  O.  Diggs  got  his  early  training  on  the  home  farm 
and  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  county.  After 
finishing  the  public  school  he  pursued  higher  academic 
studies  in  The  McMahan  Institute  at  Arrow  Bock,  Mis- 
souri, and  in  the  state  normal  at  Warrensburg,  Missouri. 
At  twenty-four  years  of  age  he  began  his  career  as  a 
newspaper  man,  by  purchasing,  in  partnership  with  his 
brother,  Bascom  Diggs,  the  Arrow  Bock  Statesman,  of 
which  his  brother  is  still  the  editor  and  publisher.  In 
1898  I.  O.  Diggs  sold  his  interest  in  this  paper  and  for 
the  two  following  years  he  was  engaged  in  publishing  a 
weekly  paper  at  Hartville,  Missouri.  He  then  went  to 
Arizona  for  some  months,  and  from  Arizona  he  returned 
for  a time  to  his  old  home  in  Missouri. 

In  1900  Mr.  Diggs  came  to  Stillwater,  Oklahoma  Terri- 
tory and  engaged  in  the  newspaper  business,  to  which 
he  has  given  his  talent  until  he  added  the  duties  of 
postmaster  in  February,  1914. 

Mr.  Diggs  was  married  to  Miss  Malinda  Blanche  Wise 
June  24,  1903.  Mrs.  Diggs  had  been  reared  and  educated 
in  Oklahoma  where  her  parents  had  established  their 
home  when  she  was  a child  and  where  they  spent  the 
rest  of  their  lives  meriting  enduring  appreciation  and 
respect  for  their  honored  part  among  the  pioneers  of  the 
state. 

Mrs.  Diggs’  father,  Levi  Wise,  was  born  August  2, 
1833,  near  Louisville,  Kentucky,  and  died  February  27, 
1908.  Mrs.  Diggs’  mother,  Alice  (Wheeler)  Wise,  was 
born  January  3,  1853,  at  Liberty,  Missouri,  and  died 
June  14,  1908,  at  Stillwater,  Oklahoma. 

Mrs.  Diggs  graduated  from  the  Oklahoma  A.  & M. 
College  in  the  third  graduating  class  of  that  institution, 
in  1898.  She  was  a successful  and  popular  teacher  in 
the  public  schools  of  Oklahoma  until  the  time  of  her 
marriage. 

Mrs.  Diggs . has  unusual  talent  and  typical  southern 
culture.  She  is  gifted  and  trained  in  public  speaking 
and  won  the  entire  series  of  Demorest  medal  contests, 
silver  medal,  gold  medal,  grand  gold  medal,  and  diamond 
medal,  which  entitled  her  to  a diploma  for  proficiency  in 
oratory.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Diggs  have  one  daughter,  Cyn- 
thalice  Io,  born  April  20,  1910.  Both  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Diggs 
are  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  South, 
of  which  he  has  always  been  an  official  member  and  a 
most  helpful  supporter,  and  in  which  she  has  been 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2161 


always  a spiritual  helper.  Mrs.  Diggs  is  also  strong 
and  active  in  the  social  organizations  and  public  spirited 
agencies  of  the  community. 

Mr.  Diggs’  most  important  social  service  has  been 
through  the  high  moral  tone  and  excellent  quality  of 
his  paper  and  tnrough  the  things  that  he  has  stood  for  in 
the  file  of  the  community  and  the  state.  His  paper  has 
always  been  an  able  exponent  of  the  principles  of  the 
democratic  party.  He  has  also  used  his  pen  always  for 
the  ideals  which  promise  the  largest  measure  of  human 
welfare.  Whatever  is  evil  he  has  opposed  fearlessly. 
Whatever  is  good  he  has  advocated  at  whatever  cost. 
His  courage  and  his  devotion  to  human  welfare  was  nobly 
and  heroically  manifested  when  before  the  state  had  a 
law  prohibiting  the  liquor  traffic  he  through  his  own 
efforts  and  seif  sacrifice  and  great  material  loss  gave 
to  his  own  county  effective  prohibition.  Dor  that  sacri- 
ficial service  and  for  an  ideal  life  of  absolute  integrity 
many  will  praise  and  appreciate  him  always  as  a fine, 
strong,  noble,  manly  man. 


William  Jourdan  Whiteman.  A conspicuous  figure 
in  business  and  civic  affairs  in  the  old  Choctaw  Nation 
and  in  later  years  around  Goodwater  and  Idabel  has  been 
William  Jourdan  Whiteman,  a resident  of  Oklahoma 
( since  1893. 

He  was  born  in  Red  River  County,  Texas,  three  and  a 
half  miles  northeast  of  Clarksville  on  November  3,  1869 
a son  of  David  C.  and  Mary  E.  Whiteman,  who  now  have’ 
their  home  at  Haworth,  Oklahoma,  aged  respectively 
seventy-nine  and  seventy-five  years. 

His  first  business  experience  was  gained  as  clerk  for  his 
father  at  the  age  of  eleven  years  in  1880.  For  schooling 
he  attended  Whiteman’s  Chapel  and  the  Annona  schools 
and  later  took,  a course  in  the  Little  Rock  Commercial 
College  at  Little  Rock,  Arkansas.  His  diploma  from  that 
school  is  dated  June  3,  1890. 

Coming  to  the  old  Choctaw  Nation  of  Indian  Terri- 
tory in  1893,  the  following  year  he  began  his  independent 
commercial  career  at  Goodwater,  his  home  ever  since 
and  where  he  is  now  president  of  the  Whiteman  Mer- 
cantile Company,  dealers  in  general  merchandise. 

1 With  a genius  for  merchandising  and  general  lines 
of  business,  Mr.  Whiteman  has  acquired  numerous  in- 
fluential interests  in  his  section  of  the  state.  He  is 
identified  with  stores  at  Goodwater,  Jadie  and  Haworth, 
with  cotton  gins  at  Goodwater  and  Haworth,  owns  farm- 
> ing  interests  in  different  parts  of  McCurtain  County,  has 
| been  a director  since  organization  of  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Idabel,  and  is  director  and  president  of  the 
| First  National  Bank  of  Haworth.  He  is  also  a member 
of  the  Haworth  Mercantile  Company,  the  Haworth  Pub- 
f Ashing  Company,  the  Southern  Oklahoma  Abstract  Com- 
; pany  of  Idabel,  and  of  several  other  concerns. 

On  December  19,  1894,  he  was  appointed  postmaster 
at  Goodwater,  and  has  filled  that  office  continuously  to 
the  present  time,  a period  of  twenty-two  years.  At  one 
time  Mr.  Whiteman  was  a member  of  the  Rejl  River 
‘Rifles,  a volunteer  company  of  the  Texas  militia,  and 
with  it  he  attended  annual  encampments  at  San  Antonio 
and  Austin. 

Mr.  Whiteman  was  a member  of  the  first  grand  iurv 
of  McCurtain  County  after  statehood.  He  has  served 
as  a member  of  the  school  board  and  is  now  president 
of  the  McCurtain  County  School  Board  Association, 
which  was  recently  organized.  Politically  he  is  a repub- 
lican and  is  now  republican  nominee  for  representative 
from  McCurtain  County. 

He  was  also  actively  identified  with  Choctaw  national 
politics..,  He  drew  up  the  bill  which  was  presented  by 
McCurtain  to  the  Choctaw  Legislation  in 
1898,  forbidding  citizens  of  that  nation  to  sell  pine 


timber  from  their  reserve  lands.  He  thus  became  an 
active  ally  in  the  movement  for  the  conservation  of 
the  natural  resources  by  the  Choctaw  people.  In  1904  he 
was  a delegate  to  the  notable  convention  at  Tuskahoma 
that  nominated  Thomas  Hunter  for  governor  of  the 
nation.  This  brought  on  the  famous  feud  between  the 
Hunter  and  McCurtain  factions,  finally  ending  when  the 
military  authorities  compelled  the  Hunter  people  to 
vacate  the  national  capital  in  favor  of  McCurtain. 
Mr.  Whiteman  lived  during  that  most  interesting  period 
of  Oklahoma  history  when  the  tribe  passed  from  their 
old  forms  of  government  to  those  set  up  by  the  new 
state,  a period  in  Indian  annals  of  equal  importance  to 
the  migration  of  the  tribes  to  the  Indian  Territory. 
When  Mr.  Whiteman  came  to  Goodwater  in  1893,  though 
it  was  one  of  the  oldest  Indian  settlements,  very  few 
white  men  lived  in  that  region.  It  was  due  to  Mr.  White- 
man ’s  influence  that  a postoffice  was  established  there, 
and  he  was  the  first  and  only  incumbent  to  date  of 
the  office  of  postmaster. 

Mr.  Whiteman  is  prominent  in  Masonry,  having  filled 
nearly  all  the  offices  and  having  been  worshipful  master 
for  five  years  of  Goodwater  Lodge  No.  148,  Ancient  Free 
and  Accepted  Masons,  and  its  secretary  for  seven  or  eight 
years;  is  also  a member  of  Garvin  Chapter  of  the  Royal 
Arch  Masons;  belongs  to  Indian  Consistory  of  the  thirty- 
second  degree  Scottish  Rite  at  McAlester,  and  to  the 
Bedouin  Temple  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  at  Muskogee.  His 
church  is  the  Methodist  Protestant. 

On  August  2,  1896,  at  the  residence  of  Judge  H.  C. 
Harris  in  Bokhoma  County  in  the  Choctaw  Nation,  he 
married  Mattie  J.  Harris,  daughter  of  Judge  Henry  C. 
and  Margarette  E.  Harris.  Judge  Henry  C.  Harris  was 
a member  of  the  Choctaw  tribe  of  Indians  and  one  of  the 
most  distinguished  figures  for  many  years.  He  had 
founded  the  Harris  ferry  on  Red  River,  one  of  the  oldest 
and  most  historic  crossings  of  that  stream,  had  been 
sheriff  of  his  county,  royalty  collector  and  senator,  and 
as  a member  of  the  Legislature  was  author  of  the  bill 
creating  Wheelock  Academy  in  what  is  now  McCurtain 
County.  At  the  time  of  his  death  he  was  serving  as 
supreme  judge  of  the  Choctaw  Nation.  Judge  Harris 
was  a nephew  of  Peter  P.  Pytehlin,  who  was  once  a 
governor  of  the  Choctaws  and  assisted  in  making  the 
Choctaw  treaty  with  the  United  States  Government. 
Judge  Harris  was  also  related  to  the  Garland  and  Fulsom 
families,  prominent  in  Choctaw  affairs.  President  Grover 
Cleveland  married  a member  of  one  branch  of  the 
Fulsom  family. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Whiteman  are  the  parents  of  seven  chil- 
dren: Magie  E.,  who  married  W.  L.  Barrick;  Mary  L., 
who  married  Carl  S.  Prewett;  Henry  A.;  Beatrice, 
David  C.,  W.  J.,  Jr.  and  Bessie  A.,  all  of  whom  are  still 
unmarried. 

Hon.  Joseph  Jerome  Jones.  In  a long,  active  and 
varied  career,  Joseph  Jerome  Jones  has  carried  on 
activities  in  various  states  of  the  Union  and  has  in- 
vaded the  fields  of  law,  real  estate,  farming  and  politics, 
in  all  of  which  he  has  won  success  and  reputation.  Of 
recent  years  agriculture  has  received  the  greater  part 
of  his  attention,  aside  from  his  labors  of  a public 
character,  and  during  fifteen  years  Ms  home  has  been 
at  or  near  Sapulpa. 

Mr.  Jones  was  born  April  3,  1864,  at  Cowden,  Shelby 
County,  Illinois,  and  is  a son  of  Samuel  and  Martha 
(Rhodes)  Jones.  He  traces  his  ancestry  back  in  a 
direct  line  to  the  year  1192,  and  in  this  country  to  1631, 
when  the  founder  of  the  family,  a native  of  England 
and  an  uncle  of  John  Locke,  the  great  English  phi- 
losopher, settled  at  Woburn,  Massachusetts.  Mrs.  Martha 
(Rhodes)  Jones  was  a direct  descendant  of  Rev.  George 


2162 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Whitefield,  who  was  born  in  Gloucester,  England,  in  1714, 
in  youth  joined  the  Wesleys,  was  ordained  preacher  in 
1736  and  in  1738  came  to  the  American  settlement  of 
Georgia.  He  became  chaplain  of  the  first  colony  of 
Georgia,  was  one  of  the  greatest  evangelists  the  world 
has  known,  founded  the  Calvinistic  Methodists,  and 
died  in  1770  at  Newburyport,  Massachusetts.  Joseph 
Jerome  Jones  is  also  a blood  relative  of  two  American 
presidents,  John  Adams  and  John  Quincy  Adams.  Samuel 
Jones  was  born  in  Knox  County,  Ohio,  in  1834,  and  as 
a young  man  went  to  Shelby  County,  Illinois,  where  he 
was  married,  his  wife  having  been  born  there  in  1837. 
They  passed  the  remaining  years  of  their  lives  on  a farm 
in  Shelby  County,  the  father  dying  in  1881  and  the 
mother  in  1905.  They  were  the  parents  of  five  chil- 
dren, of  whom  four  are  living,  a daughter  being 
deceased. 

Joseph  Jerome  Jones  attended  the  public  and  high 
schools  of  Cowden,  Illinois,  and  at  the  age  of  seventeen 
years  left  the  homestead  farm  and  went  to  Valparaiso 
(Indiana)  University,  where  he  spent  three  years.  His 
education  was  so  far  advanced,  however,  that,  while 
continuing  his  studies,  he  taught  school  at  intervals  for 
four  years  in  Illinois.  His  law  studies  also  overlapped 
his  career  as  a teacher,  and  he  was  finally  admitted 
to  the  bar  in  1890,  in  his  native  state.  During  the  next 
ten  years  Mr.  Jones  practice  in  the  courts  of  Illinois, 
Nebraska,  Iowa,  Utah  and  Oklahoma,  residing  at  various 
points  in  those  states,  and  in  1900  located  at  Sapulpa, 
where  he  carried  on  a successful  practice  until  the  time 
of  statehood,  when  he  gave  up  his  practice  to  give  his 
attention  to  real  estate  and  investments,  in  which  he  had 
become  largely  interested.  Still  later  he  embarked  in 
farming,  and  at  the  present  time  he  has  large  and 
valuable  landed  holdings  in  Creek  County.  In  January, 
1916,  he  located  at  Tulsa,  where  he  is  engaged  in  the 
abstract  business,  being  president  of  the  Oklahoma 
Abstract  Company. 

Mr.  Jones  was  a republican  until  1912,  in  which  year 
he  cast  his  fortunes  with  the  newly-organized  pro- 
gressive party.  His  public  service  has  been  of  great 
practical  value  to  his  constituents,  and  his  fearless  in- 
dependence, both  of  speech  and  political  action,  has 
sometimes  brought  him  into  conflict  with  certain  leaders, 
while  decidedly  raising  him  in  public  estimation.  He 
served  as  mayor  of  Sapulpa,  until  his  resignation,  and 
was  also  city  attorney,  from  which  position  he  likewise 
resigned.  In  1910  he  was  elected  to  the  State  Senate  and 
served  one  term  of  four  years.  In  this  capacity  he 
was  known  as  one  of  the  most  serviceable  members  of 
the  upper  house  of  the  Legislature,  ready  and  logical 
in  debate  and  at  the  same  time  alive  to  all  the  practical 
demands  of  his  district  and  industrious  in  pushing  for- 
ward all  needful  legislation.  He  still  holds  membership 
in  the  Creek  County  Bar  Association,  and  for  twenty-five 
years  has  been  a member  of  the  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows. 

Mr.  Jones  was  married  in  1894  to  Miss  Charlotte  M. 
Paxton,  who  was  born  near  Tama,  Tama  County,  Iowa, 
where  she  resided  until  her  marriage,  daughter  of  Thomas 
Paxton,  whose  neighbor  for  forty-two  years  was  Hon. 
James  Wilson,  ex-secretary  of  agriculture.  Four  chil- 
dren have  been  Horn  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Jones,  namely: 
Jerald  J.,  born  October  9,  1895,  who  is  now  a student  at 
Notre  Dame  University,  South  Bend,  Indiana;  Quelma, 
born  January  4,  1900;  Xerma,  born  December  24,  1902; 
and  X,  born  January  21,  1905. 

Bion  F.  Cole.  To  the  material  success  and  broad 
industrial  influence  of  the  Live  Stock  Daily  News,  one 
of  the  most  valuable  and  important  of  the  progressive 
publications  of  the  State  of  Oklahoma,  Mr.  Cole  has 


contributed  much  through  his  effective  policies  and 
services  in  the  capacity  of  advertising  manager,  and 
he  is  consistently  to  be  designated  as  one  of  the  repre- 
sentative figures  in  the  domain  of  newspaper  enter- 
prise in  this  favored  commonwealth. 

Bion  Franklin  Cole  was  born  at  Liberty  Mills,  Wabash 
County,  Indiana,  on  the  1st  of  May,  1857,  and  when 
he  was  three  years  of  age  the  family  removed  to 
North  Manchester,  in  the  same  county,  where  the  home 
was  established  at  the  time  of  the  inception  of  the 
Civil  war.  The  father,  George  E.  Cole,  manifested  his 
patriotism  by  promptly  enlisting  in  defense  of  the  Union. 
He  became  a second  lieutenant  in  the  Forty-seventh 
Indiana  Volunteer  Infantry,  and  sacrified  his  life  in 
the  cause.  He  was  killed  in  the  final  engagement  at 
Champion ’s  Hill,  Mississippi,  and  his  body ' was  taken 
by  the  Confederates,  who  believed  it  to  have  been  that 
of  one  of  their  own  officers  and  who  gave  it  burial  as 
such,  the  location  of  the  grave  never  having  been  dis- 
covered by  the  members  of  his  family.  Lieutenant  Cole’s 
parents  were  born  in  England  and  upon  coming  to  the 
United  States  established  their  home  in  Pennsylvania. 
In  the  old  Keystone  State  was  solemnized  the  marriage 
of  Lieut.  George  E.  Cole  to  Miss  Mary  E.  Baper,  in 
1843,  • his  wife  being  a daughter  of  Adam  Baper,  a 
descendant  of  one  of  the  sterling  old  German  families 
of  Pennsylvania,  and  finally  they  removed  to  Indiana, 
where  the  venerable  wife  and  mother  still  resides,  her 
home  being  in  the  fine  little  City  of  Goshen,  Elkhart 
County,  and  her  mental  and  physical  powers  being  re- 
markable, in  view  of  the  fact  that  she  is  nearing  the 
age  of  four  score  years  and  ten.  Of  the  six  children 
Bion  F.,  of  this  review,  was  the  fourth  in  order  of 
birth,  and  all  save  one  of  the  number  are  still  living. 

The  devoted  and  widowed  mother  was  left  to  care  for 
her  five  young  children  and  soon  after  the  war  had 
closed  it  became  practically  imperative  for  the  older 
sons  to  contribute  their  quota  to  the  support  of  the 
family.  Bion  F.  Cole,  when  a lad  of  nine  years, 
was  taken  into  the  home  of  a farmer  in  Wabash  County, 
Indiana,  his  compensation  being  comprised  in  his  recep- 
tion of  his  board  and  clothing.  Concerning  this  unduly 
strenuous  period  of  his  life  the  following  pertinent 
statements  have  been  written  and  are  worthy  of  per- 
petuation, as  indicating  the  conditions  and  influences 
under  which  a strong  and  resourceful  character  was 
developed : 

“This  foster-father  proved  anything  but  a kind  em- 
ployer, the  boy  being  assigned  to  such  work  as  cutting 
large  logs  by  handling  one  end  of  a cross-cut  saw,  plow- 
ing new  ground,  husking  corn,  chopping  wood,  etc.,  and 
in  the  meanwhile  being  afforded  no  school  privileges. 
At  the  end  of  two  years  family  friends  took  action  and 
brought  about  a dissolution  of  the  agreement  under  which 
the  boy  was  bound,  and  he  was  returned  to  his  mother’s 
home  at  North  Manchester,  where  he  was  able  to  attend 
school  one  year.  When  his  mother  contracted  a second 
marriage  and  removed  to  Albion,  Noble  County,  Indiana, 
young  Cole  was  hired  out  to  a kinsman  of  his  stepfather, 
but  here  his  lot  proved  even  less  favorable  than  under 
former  conditions.  He  was  compelled  to  work  early 
and  late  and  when  weather  was  unpropitious  or  there  was 
nothing  else  for  him  to  do  he  was  set  to  clearing  off 
dead  timber  and  other  work  more  onerous  than  he  had 
done  for  the  farmer  to  whom  he  was  originally  bound 
out.  From  Albion  he  accompanied  his  mother  and  step- 
father on  their  removal  to  Goshen,  Indiana,  and  after 
working  for  a time  in  a manufacturing  establishment 
he  was  there  able  to  enter  upon  an  apprenticeship  in 
the  office  of  the  Goshen  Times,  owned  and  published  by 
William  Star.  He  completed  a four  years’  apprentice- 
ship and  the  discipline  in  this  connection  justified  the 


si 

a 

0 

ai 

1 tli 
ai 
co 
lev 
at 
ca: 


wi! 
Mi 
of 
pul 
tie 
pul 
reci 
uad 
wor 
devi 
pap 
lusi 
vaui 
pub! 
le  i 


deta 

edit! 

iugi 
Mr. 
last 
said 
bate, 
the  li 


tie  p 


trie  p 
Api 
closer 
las  bi 
"0. 
Mr.  C 
appeal 
femes 
Persia. 
Bloom] 
lew  ve 
society 
lad  pi 
stages' 
staff,  i 
effeetiv 
makeup 
umpire 
lication 
Burling 
tie  cel 
editor  v 
served  a 
this  com 
late  Bob 
and  lut 
time  of 
leaving 

accepted 
leading  ( 
round  a 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2163 


statement  that  the  service  of  this  order  in  a newspaper 
and  printing  office  is  equal  to  a liberal  education.  1 oung 
Cole  bad  an  alert  mind,  was  ambitious  and  persevering 
and  made  rapid  advancement  in  acquiring  knowledge  oi 
the  intricacies  and  mysteries  of  the  ‘art  preservative  of 
all  arts.’  In  those  days  the  ‘printer’s  devil’  was  the 
common  pack-horse  of  the  office  and  his  duties  comprised 
everything  from  sawing  four-foot  cord  wood  to  standing 
at  a press  during  the  daylight  hours,  after  which  he 
carried  the  papers  to  subscribers  in  the  evening.” 

At  the  completion  of  his  apprenticeship  of  four  years, 
within  which  his  maximum  salary  was  $3.50  a week, 
Mr.  Cole  obtained  a position  with  the  great  Chicago  lirm 
of  Band,  McNally  & Company,  then  one  of  the  greatest 
publishing  concerns  in  railway  maps  and  schedules  in 
the  United  States  and  still  one  of  the  most  important 
publishing  houses  in  the  City  of  Chicago.  Here  the 
reception  of  a stipend  of  $12  a week  while  working 
under  instructions  seemed  to  the  young  printer  a 
wondrous  financial  stride,  but  in  the  meanwhile  he  had 
developed  a distinct  appreciation  of  and  liking  for  news- 
paper work,  and  through  the  influence  of  representative 
business  men  of  Chicago  he  was  enabled  to  make  ad- 
vancement in  this  field  of  enterprise.  By  the  well-known 
publisher  of  the  Chicago  Times,  the  late  Wilber  F.  Story, 
he  was  sent  to  Springfield,  the  capital  city  of  Illinois, 
where  he  profited  much  through  observing  the  various 
details  of  the  state  governmental  work  and  where  he 
edited  for  the  Chicago  Times  a column  under  the  head- 
ing of  ‘ ‘ Rambling  Musings.  ’ ’ When  he  left  Springfield 
Mr.  Story  gave  him  a command  or  admonition  which  he 
has  ever  retained  as  his  guide  in  newspaper  work.  Story 
said  to  him:  ‘‘We  want  news,  not  a story.  To  illus- 
trate, in  case  of  a big  fire  give  us  simple  facts — the  cause, 
the  loss,  the  amount  of  insurance  if  any,  the  owners  of 
the  property.  Make  it  brief.  ’ ’ The  policies  thus  implied 
made  Wilber  F.  Story  one  of  the  foremost  newspaper- 
men in  the  United  States,  and  his  counsel  has  been  im- 
measureably  valued  by  Mr.  Cole,  who  recalls  that  eccen- 
tric personality  with  much  of  appreciation. 

Apropos  of  the  further  advancement  of  Mr.  Cole  in  his 
chosen  field  of  endeavor  the  following  succinct  account 
has  been  given: 

‘ ‘ On  his  return  trip  from  Springfield  to  Chicago 
Mr.  Cole  stopped  at  Bloomington,  Illinois.  The  place 
appealed  to  him  especially  on  account  of  its  beautiful 
homes  and  stirring  business.  There  he  met  H.  R. 
Persinger,  who  had  just  started  a society  paper  called  the 
Bloomington  Eye,  and  he  joined  Mr.  Persinger  in  the 
new  venture,  which  was  virtually  the  initiatory  step  in 
society  journalism  west  of  New  York.  The  enterprise 
had  proved  so  promising  and  successful  in  its  early 
stages  that  Mr.  Cole  was  offered  a position  on  its  editorial 
staff,  and  his  technical  knowledge  likewise  came  into 
effective  play  through  his  serving  as  compositor  and 
makeup  man.  From  this  experience  young  Cole  was 
inspired  to  continue  his  association  with  society  pub- 
lications, and  after  an  interval  of  two  years  he  went  to 
Burlington,  Iowa,  where  he  assumed  a position  with 
the  celebrated  Burlington  Hawkeye,  of  which  the 
editor  was  at  that  time  Hon.  Frank  Hatton,  who  later 
served  as  postmaster  general  of  the  United  States.  In 
this  connection  Mr.  Cole  formed  the  acquaintance  of  the 
late  Robert  J.  Burdette,  one  of  the  greatest  paragraphers 
and  humorists  of  the  West  at  that  time  and  at  the 
time  of  his  recent  death  a clergyman  in  California. 
Leaving  Burlington  in  the  winter  of  1883-4,  Mr.  Cole 
accepted  a position  on  the  Rocky  Mountain  News,  the 
leading  daily  paper  of  Denver,  Colorado.  Being  an  all- 
round man  he  was  soon  assigned  to  detached  duty  as 
makeup  on  the  city  and  state  directories  for  Denver, 
Pueblo,  Leadville,  and  Colorado  Springs,  and  within  a 


short  time  thereafter,  at  the  suggestion  of  John  Arkins, 
owner  of  the  News,  he  was  assigned  to  service  in  the 
mining  camps  of  Colorado,  to  report  for  the  mining  page 
of  the  Sunday  editions  of  the  Rocky  Mountain  News, 
the  silver-mining  excitement  and  operations  having  then 
been  at  their  zenith  in  that  state.  In  those  days  the 
present  mode  of  illustrating  newspaper  articles  was  un- 
known, but  young  Cole  injected  illustrations  of  the 
various  mining  fields  in  connection  with  his  articles,  and 
these  attracted  attention  throughout  the  entire  country. 

‘‘Returning  to  Denver  after  six  months  passed  in  the 
mining  camps  of  the  mountain  fastnesses,  Mr.  Cole 
found  awaiting  him  a position  on  the  Denver  Republican, 
where  he  formed  the  acquaintanceship  of  the  illustrious 
and  loved  Eugene  Field,  later  with  the  Chicago  Daily 
News,  and  of  such  satirists  as  O.  H.  Rothiker,  Will 
Yieher  and  others  of  the  world’s  greatest  newspaper 
writers.  ’ ’ 

Mr.  Cole  remained  in  Denver  until  going  to  Des 
Moines,  Iowa,  where  he  again  became  associated  with 
Persinger,  whom  he  assisted  in  the  establishing  of  the 
Des  Moines  Mail  and  Times.  With  this  paper  he  con- 
tinued to  be  identified  seven  years  and  he  then  purchased 
the  Grand  Island  Times,  at  Grand  Island,  Nebraska,  and 
in  connection  with  the  editing  and  publishing  of  this 
paper  he  first  became  actively  concerned  with  political 
affairs.  He  made  his  paper  a success  and  a power  in 
politics  in  Nebraska.  Through  his  paper  and  per- 
sonal influence  he  opposed  the  nomination  and  candidacy 
for  the  United  States  Senate  of  Hon.  George  W.  E. 
Dorsey,  one  of  the  strongest  republicans  in  the  state,  and 
supported  the  populist  nominee,  Senator  Kemm,  who  was 
victorious  at  the  polls  and  who  defeated  Dorsey  by  an 
appreciable  majority.  Mr.  Cole  had  been  a delegate  to 
the  republican  state  convention  and  the  article  which 
he  wrote  for  his  paper  upon  returning  from  the  con- 
vention was  entitled  “Dorsey’s  Money  Did  It,”  this 
leading  editorial  having  become  the  slogan  of  those 
opposing  Dorsey  in  the  succeeding  campaign,  which  was 
a most  spirited  one. 

In  1891  Mr.  Cole  assumed  the  position  of  traveling 
representative  and  salesman  for  the  Western  Newspaper 
Union,  with  the  service  of  which  he  continued  to  be 
identified  fourteen  years,  during  the  last  four  of  which 
he  was  manager  and  made  a record  for  being  the  best 
producer  of  business  the  organization  ever  had  upon  the 
road.  He  introduced  the  business  of  this  corporation  in 
Oklahoma  and  never  thereafter  lost  a paper  among  the 
hundreds  that  were  established  within  the  period  directly 
succeeding  the  opening  of  the  territory  to  settlement. 
He  assisted  William  Jennings  Bryan  in  the  establish- 
ing and  launching  of  The  Commoner,  and  his  wide  and 
varied  experience  hadi  definite  influence  in  furthering 
the  phenomenal  and  almost  instant  success  of  this  note- 
worthy paper. 

In  July,  1909,  Mr.  Cole  established  his  residence  in 
Oklahoma  City,  where  he  assumed  control  of  a syndicate 
of  ten  county  papers  designated  as  the  Suburban  List, 
and  founded  also  the  Live  Stock  Exchange,  a weekly 
paper.  He  made  the  ventures  definitely  successful  and 
after  disposing  of  his  interests  in  the  same  he  became 
the  valued  incumbent  of  his  present  responsible  position, 
that  of  advertising  manager  of  the  Oklahoma  Daily  Live 
Stock  News,  which  has  a wide  circulation  throughout  the 
state  and  the  broad  usefulness  and  value  of  which  have 
been  significantly  fostered  through  the  effective  methods 
and  policies  which  he  has  evolved.  Mr.  Cole  is  con- 
sistently to  be  considered  one  of  the  leading  newspaper 
men  of  the  West,  his  acquaintanceship  is  specially  large 
and  his  manifold  activities  and  broad  mental  ken  have 
made  him  a person  of  great  versatility-and  resourceful- 
ness, the  while  his  steadfastness  and  genial  individuality 


2164 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


iiave  gained  to  him  troops  of  friends  in  both  business 
and  social  circles. 

In  the  City  of  Denver,  on  the  14th  of  June,  1882, 
Mr.  Cole  wedded  Miss  Jessie  F.  Miller,  daughter  of 
Samuel  P.  and  Emily  W.  (Swan)  Miller,  formerly  of 
Des  Moines,  Iowa.  Mrs.  Cole  was  summoned  to  the  life 
eternal  on  the  10th  of  January,  1900,  and  is  survived  by 
her  only  child,  Holland  Ralph  Cole,  who  was  born 
October  28,  1884.  At  Lincoln,  Nebraska,  on  the  4th  of 
June,  1903,  was  solemnized  the  second  marriage  of 
Mr.  Cole,  when  Mrs.  Ida  (Vanstrum)  Dillon,  of  that 
city  became  his  wife.  They  have  no  children. 

Greenwood  McCurtain.  Of  the  names  that  have 
figured  most  conspicuously  in  the  history  of  the  Choctaw 
Nation  from  its  removal  to  Indian  Territory  until  the 
tribal  relations  were  dissolved  and  the  nation  was 
merged  into  the  State  of  Oklahoma,  none  has  enjoyed 
more  of  the  worthy  distinctions  of  private  and  public 
honor  than  McCurtain.  One  of  the  finest  counties  in 
the  southeastern  part  of  the  state  bears  the  name  of  the 
family  as  a permanent  tribute  to  their  valued  citizenship, 
and  it  was  the  lasting  distinction  of  the  late  Greenwood 
McCurtain  to  have  been  elected  the  last  principal  chief 
or  governor  of  the  nation,  and  was  the.  executive  head  in 
winding  up  its  tribal  affairs,  and  he  continued  to  enjoy 
the  honorary  title  after  statehood  until  his  death.  He 
was  a leader  among  the  Tuskahoma  or  progressive  party 
in  Indian  politics. 

In  the  early  years  of  Indian  Territory  the  home  of  the 
McCurtains  was  near  Port  Smith,  Arkansas,  in  what  is 
now  LeFlore  County,  Oklahoma.  Greenwood  McCurtain 
was  born  in  that  locality  in  November,  1848,  but  for 
many  years  had  his  home  in  what  is  now  Haskell  County, 
and  in  that  county  at  the  Sans  Bois  Cemetery  he  was 
laid  to  rest  after  his  death  on  December  27,  1910. 

The  name  McCurtain  is  of  Scotch  or  Irish  origin, 
though  Governor  McCurtain  was  almost  a fullblood 
Choctaw.  His  father  Cornelius  McCurtain  was  born  in 
Mississippi  and  was  a member  of  the  Choctaw  tribe  and 
married  a fullblood  Choctaw  woman,  Miss  Belvin. 

Green  McCurtain,  as  he  was  most  familiarly  known, 
grew  up  on  the  frontier,  a part  of  his  youthful  expe- 
rience coinciding  with  that  desolating  period  of  the 
Civil  war.  In  a business  way  he  was  chiefly  successful 
as  a stock  raiser,  and  he  was  also  identified  to  some 
extent  with  mercantile  and  trading  interests. 

However,  it  was  in  his  public  relations  that  he  most 
thoroughly  impressed  his  influence  upon  the  life  of  the 
Choctaw  Nation.  One  of  the  greatest  services  he  ren- 
dered in  behalf  of  his  people,  and  in  which  he  attracted 
the  attention  of  the  United  States  Government,  was  in 
the  office  of  Choctaw  National  Treasurer.  He  served  two 
terms  of  two  years  each  as  treasurer  of  the  Choctaw 
Nation  and  during  that  time  the  Federal  Government 
paid  through  him  $2,000,000  to  the  Choctaws.  He  dis- 
tributed this  vast  sum  to  his  tribesmen,  the  Government 
requiring  no  bond  of  him  as  its  agent.  He  was  twice 
chosen  to  represent  the  Choctaw  tribe  as  its  delegate  at 
Washington,  but  resigned  during  his  second  term. 

Mr.  McCurtain ’s  first  position  of  importance  was  as_  a 
member  of  the  national  board  of  education  from  his, 
the  first,  district.  He  was  ever  a friend  and  ardent 
supporter  of  education  among  his  people.  He  was  later 
elected  to  the  position  of  district  attorney,  wherein  he 
distinguished  himself  as  a public  prosecutor  and  an 
official  who  vigorously  enforced  the  law. 

In  1896  he  was  elected  governor  of  chief  of  the 
Choctaw  Nation,  and  two  years  later  was  re-elected  to 
that  high  office.  Under  the  law  he  was  not  eligible  to 
election  a third  time,  so  he  retired  after  four  years  of 
careful  and  conscientious  administration  of  the  national 


affairs.  In  1902  Governor  McCurtain  was  again  elected 
principal  chief  after  a spirited  contest  in  which  he  was 
opposed  by  an  anti-statehood  candidate,  who  was  aided 
by  the  national  republican  party.  Two  years  later  he 
was  elected  governor  for  the  fourth  time,  and  thereafter 
he  was  retained  in  the  office  by  Congress  and  the  general 
government  until  his  death.  His  service  of  twelve  years 
constituted  the  longest  individual  service  in  that  office, 
and  only  death  severed  his  official  relations  with  his 
people. 

Above  all  else,  his  fidelity  to  his  people  should  be 
longest  remembered  and  most  closely  associated  with 
his  name  and  character.  It  was  said  of  him  tnat  he 
was  “first  an  Indian  and  then  a democrat,  but  there 
came  a time  when  he  believed  the  democratic  delegation 
in  Congress  was  unfriendly  to  his  people,  and  then  he 
became,  and  died,  a republican  in  politics.  ’ ’ 

In  religious  matters  he  was  a Baptist  and  he  died 
in  that  faith  at  his  home  at  Kinta,  at  the  age  of  sixty- 
two.  Governor  McCurtain  was  twice  married.  By  his 
first  wife  he  was  the  father  of  one  child,  D.  C.  McCurtain, 
a lawyer  and  now  a resident  of  Spiro.  By  his  second 
marriage  there  were  four  daughters  and  one  son. 

David  Cornelius  McCurtain.  One  of  the  important 
phases  of  the  statehood  movement  in  Oklahoma  and 
Indian  Territory  was  the  convention  of  August,  1905, 
at  Muskogee,  which  met  for  the  purpose  of  providing 
for  a government  of  the  Indian  country  and  for  drafting 
a constitution  for  a single  state  comprising  approximately 
what  was  then  Indian  Territory.  As  a result  of  the 
labors  of  this  convention  there  was  adopted  what  will 
always  be  known  in  history  as  “The  Sequoyah  Constitu- 
tion.” The  temporary  chairman  of  this  convention  was 
D.  C.  McCurtain,  a son  of  Governor  McCurtain  of  the 
Choctaw  Nation,  and  at  that  time  as  now  a prominent 
leader  among  his  people  and  one  of  the  able  lawyers  of 
the  state. 

This  representative  of  the  Choctaw  Nation  was  born 
at  old  Scully ville  near  Spiro,  Oklahoma,  January  29, 
1873.  He  was  the  son  of  Greenwood  and  Martha  A. 
(Ainsworth)  McCurtain.  His  mother  was  a white 
woman  and  a native  of  Mississippi. 

After  getting  his  primary  education  in  the  national 
school  near  his  father’s  home,  he  continued  his  educa- 
tion at  Roanoke  College  in  Virginia,  and  in  1895  grad- 
uated from  the  Kemper  Military  School  at  Boonville, 
Missouri.  Taking  up  the  study  of  law,  he  first  entered 
the  University  of  Missouri  and  finished  his  legal  studies 
at  Columbian  University  in  Washington,  D.  C.  On  re- 
turning to  Indian  Territory  he  forthwith  began  the 
practice  of  law  and  took  his  place  as  a leader  among  his 
people.  In  1898  he  was  elected  district  attorney  for  the 
First  District  of  the  Choctaw  Nation,  and  re-elected  in 
1900,  but  resigned  to  accept  his  appointment  as  clerk 
of  the  Citizenship  Commission.  After  one  year  he  re- 
signed as  clerk,  and  in  1901  was  chosen  a delegate  to 
represent  the  Choctaw  Nation  at  Washington.  For  this 
post  his  ability  and  training  as  a lawyer  and  his  inti- 
mate knowledge  of  the  Choctaw  people  and  their  needs 
proved  exceptional  qualifications.  He  continued  as  the 
Choctaw  delegate  at  Washington  until  1904,  when  he 
returned  to  Indian  Territory  and  became  probate  attor- 
ney for  the  Choctaws.  In  1906  he  resigned  that  office 
to  become  again  a delegate  in  the  interest  of  the 
Choctaws  at  Washington,  and  represented  his  people 
before  the  national  government  until  statehood. 

In  October,  1907,  James  R.  Garfield,  then  secretary 
of  the  interior  under  Roosevelt,  tendered  him  the  position  ' 
of  attorney  for  the  Choctaws,  and  he  remained  in  that  • 
position,  together  with  his  associate  in  the  practice  of 
the  law,  until  1912. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2165 


Mr.  McCurtain  was  a resident  of  McAlester  from 
1900  to  1914,  and  in  December  of  the  latter  year  re- 
moved to  Poteau,  and  later  to  Spiro,  where  he  is  now 
living,  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law  independently. 
While  a resident  of  McAlester  he  filled  out  an  un- 
expired term,  by  appointment,  as  mayor  of  that  city. 
He  is  a democrat,  a thirty-second  degree  Mason  of  the 
Scottish  Kite,  a member  of  the  Benevolent  and  Pro- 
tective Order  of  Elks,  and  belongs  to  the  Presbyterian 
Church. 

In  1896  he  married  Miss  Katherine  N.  Mitchell,  a 
Choctaw  woman.  They  have  four  living  children: 
Ewart  Preston,  Greenwood  Mitchell,  Jackson  Haskell  and 
Martha  Elizabeth  McCurtain. 

E.  B.  Brewington,  D.  0.  The  leading  representative 
of  the  school  of  osteopathy  in  Kay  County  is  Doctor 
Brewington,  who  has  conducted  a very  successful  prac- 
tice at  Tonkawa  for  the  past  fifteen  years.  He  is  one 
of  the  men  who  has  brought  osteopathy  to  an  equal 
standing  among  the  older  schools  of  medicine,  and  is 
himself  a graduate  of  the  pioneer  school  of  osteopathy, 
the  Doctor  Still  Institute  at  Kirksville,  Missouri. 

A resident  of  Oklahoma  since  1901,  Doctor  Brewing- 
ton  was  graduated  in  osteopathy  in  1899,  standing  among 
the  first  in  his  class.  He  was  born  near  Monticello, 
Missouri,  September  23,  1861,  and  was  the  son  of  a 
farmer  and  stock  man,  Capt.  David  Brewington,  now 
deceased.  His  father  made  an  excellent  record  as  a 
soldier  in  the  Union  army  during  the  Civil  war,  and 
died  at  the  age  of  fifty-seven.  He  was  a citizen  who 
commanded  the  high  respect  of  all  who  knew  him,  and 
possessed  many  splendid  qualities  of  heart  and  mind. 
The  mother,  whose  maiden  name  was  Miss  E.  Smith,  a 
daughter  of  Kice  Smith,  is  now  living  at  Caddo,  Okla- 
homa. His  father  was  a republican  in  polities,  and  a 
very  active  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church, 
and  was  also  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  fraternity. 
There  are  five  sons:  E.  M.,  a farmer  and  stock  man  at 

Caddo;  Dr.  E.  B.;  C.  M.,  of  Caddo;  Dr.  O.  M.,  now  well 
established  in  practice  at  Wichita,  Kansas;  and  M.  R., 
a farmer  and  stock  man  at  Caddo. 

Doctor  Brewington  spent  the  early  years  of  his  life 
on  a farm,  gained  an  education  in  the  public  schools,  and 
has  been  an  industrious  and  energetic  citizen  since  early 
youth.  For  several  years  he  was  engaged  in  business 
in  Kansas,  and  finally  gave  up  merchandising  in  order 
to  enter  the  school  of  osteopathy  at  Kirksville  founded 
by  tfie  eminent  Doctor  Still,  an  institution  which  more 
than  any  other  fact  has  made  Kirksville  known  all  over 
the  country  as  a medical  center.  In  1901  Doctor  Brew- 
ington came  to  Oklahoma  to  assist  his  brother,  Dr.  O.  M., 
who  was  at  that  time  living  in  Grant  County,  and  from 
there  moved  to  Tonkawa,  where  he  has  since  been  the 
chief  representative  of  his  particular  school  in  medical 
circles. 

In  1884  in  Ellis  County,  Kansas,  Doctor  Brewington 
married  Miss  Daisy  Lowe.  Four  children  have  been 
born  to  their  union.  Doctor  Brewington  is  affiliated 
with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  As  a 
citizen  as  well  as  a physician  he  has  supported  all 
those  movements  planned  for  the  benefit  of  his  com- 
munity, and  is  always  mentioned  among  the  leading 
citizens  of  that  town. 

Richard  S.  Burns.  Varied  activities  as  an  early 
homesteader,  a farmer  and  citizen  in  Dewey  and  Blaine 
counties,  have  served  to  make  the  name  of  Richard  S. 
Burns  well  known  and  highly  respected  in  this  section 
of  the  state,  and  at  the  present  time  he  is  identified 
with  public  service  as  postmaster  at  Canton.  Mr.  Burns 
has  spent  the  greater  part  of  his  active  career  in  the 


West,  is  thoroughly  familiar  with  the  conditions  in  this 
section  of  country,  and  has  always  been  a man  of  hope 
and  enthusiasm  concerning  the  future  development  and 
prosperity  of  Oklahoma  in  particular. 

The  Burns  family  to  which  he  b.elongs  originated  in 
Germany,  and  settled  among  the  pioneers  of  the  old 
State  of  Kentucky.  His  grandfather,  Jacob  Burns,  was 
born  in  the  year  1799,  and  probably  in  Washington 
County,  Kentucky.  Anyhow,  that  county  was  his  home 
when  he  was  very  young.  He  died  there  in  1881.  As  a 
boy  he  had  given  some  active  service  as  a soldier  in 
the  War  of  1812,  while  the  rest  of  his  long  life  was 
spent  as  a farmer. 

Richard  S.  Burns,  the  Canton  postmaster,  was  born 
April  21,  1861,  at  Willisburg,  Washington  County, 
Kentucky.  His  father,  S.  N.  Burns,  was  born  in  the 
same  county  in  1832  and  died  there  in  1877.  His  life 
was  spent  as  a farmer  and  he  belonged  to  the  Baptist 
church  and  the  Masonic  fraternity.  He  married  Mary  A. 
Cheatham,  who  was  born  in  Washington  County  in  1836 
and  died  there  in  1881.  'There  were  three  children : L.  H. 
lives  at  Decatur,  Illinois;  the  second  is  Richard  S.; 
and  Elizabeth,  now  deceased,  married  Jerome  Trent,  who 
is  a merchant  in  Washington. County,  Kentucky. 

From  the  time  he  was  sixteen  years  of  age  Richard  S. 
Burns  has  taken  care  of  his  own  fortunes  in  the  world. 
In  the  meantime  he  had  attended  public  schools  in 
Washington  County,  and  at  Perryville,  Kentucky,  re- 
ceived the  equivalent  of  a modern  high  school  education. 
On  starting  out  for  himself  he  made  a living  for  several 
years  by  teaching  school.  In  1888  he  moved  West  and 
spent  a year  on  a farm  near  Hutchinson,  Kansas,  and 
thus  combined  the  vocation  of  teaching  with  that  of 
farming  for  several  years.  From  Kansas  Mr.  Burns 
moved  to  Oklahoma  in  March,  1897,  and  acquired  a home- 
stead of  160  acres  near  Fountain  in  Dewey  County. 
That  farm  has  been  his  home  ever  since,  though  his 
activities  and  interests  are  well  diversified.  His  home- 
stead is  located  a half  a mile  south  and  ten  miles  west 
of  Canton,  in  Dewey  County. 

During  1907  Mr.  Burns  served  on  the  State  Board  of 
Agriculture  for  Oklahoma.  On  September  16,  1914,  he 
was  appointed  postmaster  at  Canton,  and  has  since 
given  his  principal  time  and  attention  to  the  duties  of 
this  office.  His  farm  is  in  Little  Robe  Township,  and 
he  has  been  a member  of  the  school  board  of  that  town- 
ship. Mr.  Burns  is  a democrat,  a member  of  the  Baptist 
Church,  and  can  always  be  found  as  a supporter  of  all 
public  spirited  movements  in  his  community. 

While  living  in  Kentucky  in  1884  he  married  Miss 
Mattie  Sale,  whose  father,  the  Rev.  R.  Sale,  was  a 
Baptist  minister.  To  their  marriage  have  been  born 
five  children:  Mary  A.  is  the  wife  of  L.  L.  Murray,  and 
they  live  on  their  farm  in  Dewey  County,  Oklahoma; 
Lucy  L.  married  W.  F.  Bussing  and  they  have  a farm 
at  Fonda,  Oklahoma;  R.  S.  is  a pharmacist  at  Dumright, 
Oklahoma;  R.  H.  is  the  active  manager  of  his  father’s 
farm;  and  Ernest  is  assistant  postmaster  at  Canton. 

Clarence  W.  Kerfoot  is  an  Oklahoma  pioneer  and 
during  the  twenty-five  years  spent  in  this  state  has 
touched  with  his  enterprise  a great  variety  of  under- 
takings. He  helped  to  start  things  in  a business  way  in 
several  localities  at  the»  successive  openings  of  the  old 
Oklahoma  Territory.  He  was  a homesteader  in  the 
Cherokee  Strip.  In  the  past  fifteen  years  his  home  and 
activities  have  been  centered  at  Shawnee,  where  he  is 
now  at  the  head  of  one  of  the  largest  real  estate 
offices  and  has  been  a prime  factor  in  developing  Shawnee 
real  estate. 

Mr.  Kerfoot  is  of  Kentucky  and  Virginia  lineage. 
Back  in  the  old  Shenandoah  Valley  of  Virginia,  where 


2166 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


liis  ancestors  lived,  the  old  family  estate  is  still  known 
as  the  Kerfoot  homestead.  His  great-grandfather  was 
Samuel  Kerfoot,  who  with  two  brothers,  John  and 
William,  came  over  from  Dublin,  Ireland,  in  1777,  and 
reached  American  shores  in  time  to  participate  with  the 
patriots  in  the  war  of  the  Devolution.  All  three  of 
these  brothers  were  in  Washington’s  army  in  the  final 
campaign  against  Cornwallis  and  were  present  at  the 
surrender  at  Yorktown.  Afterwards  these  brothers  were 
associated  with  some  surveying  and  western  land  proposi- 
tion of  General  Washington,  and  in  return  for  their 
services  they  received  grants  of  land  in  the  beautiful 
Shenandoah  Valley.  Samuel  Kerfoot  died  in  that  valley. 
The  grandfather  was  also  named  Samuel  Kerfoot  and 
was  born  in  the  Shenandoah  Valley  of  Virginia  and  died 
in  Hardin  County,  Kentucky,  before  Clarence  W.  Ker- 
foot was  born.  He  was  an  early  settler  in  Hardin 
County,  owned  a large  farm,  one  of  the  finest  in  the 
state,  at  Long  Grove,  Kentucky. 

It  was  in  Hardin  County,  Kentucky,  that  Clarence  W. 
Kerfoot  was  born  September  9,  1866,  and  his  father 
Jesse  L.  Kerfoot  was  born  in  the  same  county  in  1835, 
and  is  still  living  there  at  the  venerable  age  of  eighty 
years.  It  has  been  his  home  all  his  life,  and  besides  his 
work  as  a farmer  he  has -loyally  served  as  a minister 
of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  South.  He  is  now 
retired.  He  is  a member  of  the  Masonic  fraternity  and 
in  politics  a democrat.  Jesse  L.  Kerfoot  married  Mattie 
Williams,  who  was  born  in  Hardin  County  in  1845  and 
died  there  in  1899.  The  four  children  are:  Annie,  who 
lives  at  Louisville,  Kentucky,  is  the  widow  of  E.  C.  Crist, 
a contractor  and  builder;  Clarence  W. ; Melvin  H.,  who 
is  a farmer  and  stock  man  in  Hardin  County;  and  Clitus, 
who  graduated  M.  D.  from  the  Louisville  Medical  College 
and  is  now  practicing  medicine  at  Prague,  Oklahoma. 

Growing  up  on  the  old  Hardin  County  homestead, 
Clarence  W.  Kerfoot  had  liberal  advantages  both  at 
home  and  in  school.  He  attended  the  common  schools, 
a private  school  at  Millerstown,  Kentucky,  and  in  1885 
finished  his  senior  year  in  the  high  school  at  Horse 
Cave,  Kentucky.  The  first  twenty-three  years  of  his 
life  were  spent  on  his  father’s  farm. 

In  1888  he  went  out  on  his  own  account  and  bought 
a farm  of  100  acres  in  Hardin  County,  and  after 
cultivating  it  for  two  years  sold  out.  Then  on  October 
10,  1890,  he  arrived  at  El  Eeno,  Oklahoma,  in  the  sec- 
ond year  after  the  original  opening.  At  El  Eeno  he 
remained  as  clerk  in  a grocery  store  until  1892.  With 
the  opening  of  the  Cheyenne  and  Arapahoe  reservations 
he  made  the  run  and  established  one  of  the  first  grocery 
stores  at  Cloud  Chief.  However,  he  soon  sold  out,  and 
returning  to  El  Eeno  was  again  connected  with  a local 
grocery  establishment  till  September,  1893.  With  the 
opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip  he  went  in  as  a home- 
stead claimant,  and  secured  160  acres  twelve  miles 
east  of  Enid.  He  made  this  the  scene  of  his  activities 
for  six  months  and  then  sold  out  to  advantage. 

Since  that  experience  Mr.  Kerfoot ’s  activities  have 
embraced  a wider  and  more  general  scope.  With  his 
cousins,  George  and  John  Kerfoot,  each  of  whom  put  in 
$1,100,  he  helped  establish  a wholesale  dry  goods  busi- 
ness at  El  Eeno.  He  was  identified  with  that  establish- 
ment until  he  sold  out  in  1899.  In  March,  1900,  he 
came  to  Shawnee,  and  since  then  his  influence  has  been 
a potent  factor  in  the  upbuilding  of  this  central  city  of 
Oklahoma.  He  and  his  cousins,  George  H.  and  M.  M. 
Kerfoot,  bought  the  Mammoth  general  dry  goods  store, 
situated  at  the  corner  of  Main  and  Bell  streets.  George 
H.  Kerfoot  is  now  manager  of  this  large  emporium,  one 
of  the  best  dry  goods  stores  in  the  state.  At  the  close 
of  1900  Clarence  W.  Kerfoot  sold  his  interest  in  this 
store,  and  then  opened  the  Kerfoot-Wayland  wholesale 


grocery,  with  which  he  was  actively  identified  until 
1906.  This  is  now  a branch  of  the  Williamson,  Halsell, 
Frazier  Wholesale  Grocery  Company,  in  which  Mr.  Ker- 
foot is  still  a stockholder. 

In  recent  years  Mr.  Kerfoot  has  bought  and  sold  a 
number  of  merchandise  stocks,  but  primarily  has  been  in 
the  real  estate  business  as  a developer  and  property 
owner  on  his  own  account.  His  offices  are  in  a building 
which  he  owns  at  112  East  Main  Street.  On  Ninth  and 
Union  streets  he  owns  a block  of  land  100x140  feet,  on 
which  are  three  substantial  buildings,  one  of  them 
recently  completed.  He  also  owns  a comfortable  home 
at  327  North  Union  Street,  and  a number  of  city  lots. 
As  a farmer  he  is  proprietor  of  120  acres  one  mile 
from  Maud,  but  has  sold  all  the  other  farm  property 
which  at  different  times  he  has  owned  in  this  state. 

In  politics  Mr.  Kerfoot  is  a democrat,  is  a member 
of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  South,  and  is 
affiliated  with  Shawnee  Lodge  No.  657,  Benevolent  and 
Protective  Order  of  Elks.  On  October  28,  1898,  at 
El  Eeno,  he  married  Miss  Anna  Eichardson.  Her  father 
is  David  Eichardson,  a farmer  in  Mead  County,  Ken- 
tucky. Mr.  and  Mrs.  Kerfoot  have  two  interesting 
children.  Mary  Weldon,  who  was  born  October  21,  1900, 
has  shown  brilliant  scholarship,  and  is  now  combining 
the  junior  and  senior  years  of  work  in  the  Shawnee 
High  School,  and  will  complete  the  regular  four-year 
course  in  less  than  three  years.  She  is  especially  pro- 
ficient in  history.  C.  W.,  Jr.,  born  September  30,  1909, 
is  now  in  the  first  grade  of  the  public  schools. 

T.  S.  Chambers.  One  of  the  pioneers  of  the  Cherokee 
country,  T.  S.  Chambers  has  for  more  than  twenty  years 
been  actively  identified  with  Kay  County,  was  one  of 
the  builders  of  the  first  railway  line  in  that  section  of 
the  state,  and  is  now  giving-  an  excellent  administra- 
tion to  the  duties  of  postmaster  at  Tonkawa.  He  re- 
ceived his  appointement  to  this  office  during  the  Wilson 
administration  on  August  1'8,  1913.  Tonkawa  is  one  of 
the  thriving  little  cities  of  Northern  Oklahoma,  has 
a population  of  about  2,000,  and  was  first  settled  in 
1896.  The  postoffice  is  third  class,  and  the  personnel  of 
its  official  staff  are:  T.  S.  Chambers,  postmaster;  E.  K. 
Ferguson,  assistant  postmaster;  and  three  rural  carriers, 
P.  J.  Devore,  E.  L.  Johnson  and  H.  S.  Chambers. 

T.  S.  Chambers  was  born  in  Clay  County,  Indiana, 
October  31,  1868,  and  has  had  a life  filled  with  activities, 
from  school  teacher  to  postmaster.  He  is  a man  of 
great  breadth  of  mind,  vigorous  in  the  handling  of 
business  affairs,  and  has  been  a constructive  factor  in 
the  life  of  Kay  County.  His  father,  T.  Chambers,  was 
born  in  Ohio,  and  was  a successful  farmer.  He  married 
Sarah  Eckert,  also  a native  of  Ohio.  Her  father  died  at 
the  age  of  seventy:two  and  the  mother  at  seventy-one. 
They  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children : L.  P.,  a 
resident  of  California;  O.  L.,  a farmer;  T.  S.;  F.  G.,  a 
farmer;  H.  N.;  Anna  Ballinger,  a widow  living  at 
Ponca  City;  H.  S.,  in  the  service  of  the  postoffice  at 
Tonkawa;  Edna  V.  Thomas  of  Tonkawa;  and  Dennis  D., 
of  Junction  City,  Kansas. 

T.  S.  Chambers  spent  his  early  youth  on  an  Iowa  farm, 
and  acquired  a substantial  education.  For  about  ten 
years  he  was  engaged  in  the  work  of  teaching  school, 
largely  in  Sumner  County,  Kansas.  He  received  part 
of  his  education  in  Guthrie  Center,  Iowa,  and  also  at- 
tended a college. 

Mr.  Chambers  made  the  run  into  the  Cherokee  Strip  in 
September,  1893,  and  succeeded  in  staking  out  a claim 
for  himself.  He  then  took  the  lead  in  securing  better 
transportation  facilities  for  the  county,  and  was  secretary 
and  treasurer  of  the  old  Southwestern  Eailroad  Company, 
which  constructed  the  first  railway  line  in  the  county. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2167 


This  road  was  subsequently  sold  to  and  is  now  a part  of 
the  Frisco  System.  It  was  Mr.  Chambers  who  went 
to  New  York  and  succeeded  in  interesting  capitalists, 
who  took  the  bonds  of  the  proposed  road,  and  he  also 
secured  a large  part  of  the  right  of  way.  For  four 
years  Mr.  Chambers  was  an  active  factor  in  the  develop- 
ment of  the  oil  and  gas  resources  about  Tulsa. 

At  Perry,  Oklahoma,  in  October,  1906,  he  married 
Miss  Edith  Ferguson.  Mrs.  Chambers  has  spent  most  of 
her  life  in  Oklahoma,  and  completed  her  education  in 
Norman.  Her  father,  D.  K.  Ferguson,  is  now  assistant 
postmaster  at  Tonkawa.  To  their  marriage  have  been 
born  two  children : Eoland  S.  and  Eobert  Glen. 

Mr.  Chambers  is  a thirty-second  degree  Scottish  Eite 
Mason  and  also  a Knight  Templar  and  Shriner.  In 
politics  he  has  long  been  an  influence  in  the  democratic 
party  in  his  section  of  the  state,  and  in  1912  was  a 
delegate  to  the  Baltimore  Convention  which  nominated 
the  great  statesman  and  scholar,  Woodrow  Wilson,  and 
is  one  of  the  enthusiastic  supporters  of  that  Presi- 
dent, whose  administration  bids  fair  to  take  rank  as  one 
of  the  most  notable  in  the  country’s  history. 

J.  Bert  Foster.  The  position  of  J.  Bert  Foster  in  the 
City  of  Chandler  is  one  both  of  prominence  and  in- 
fluence. He  is  city  clerk  and  superintendent  of  water- 
works, and  is  also  president  of  the  state  firemen’s  asso- 
ciation of  Oklahoma.  During  the  twenty  years  he  has 
lived  in  the  town  no  one  has  been  more  actively  and 
public  spiritedly  useful  in  boosting  the  resources  and 
development  of  that  thriving  Oklahoma  city.  His  popu- 
larity is  as  great  as  his  usefulness,  and  he  has  that 
excellent  faculty  of  making  and  retaining  strong  friend- 
ships. In  both  his  private  business  and  in  public  affairs 
he  has  shown  intelligence,  hard  common  sense,  and  an 
ability  to  meet  all  the  exigencies  that  come  up  during 
the  routine  of  responsibility. 

J.  Bert  Foster  has  lived  in  Lincoln  County  twenty- 
three  years,  having  come  to  Oklahoma  from  DesMoines, 
Iowa.  He  was  born  in  Decatur,  Illinois,  July  18,  1872, 
of  a family  noted  for  honesty  and  integrity.  His  father 
was  Sam  T.  Foster,  a native  of  Ohio,  and  of  Scoteh- 
Irish  ancestry.  He  was  married  in  Illinois  to  Jane 
Stevenson,  who  was  born  in  Pennsylvania  of  an  old 
family  of  that  state.  . Sam  T.  Foster  died  at  the  age 
of  fifty-three,  after  an  active  career  as  a farmer.  In 
politics  he  was  a democrat,  and  once  served  as  sheriff  of 
Moultrie  County,  Illinois.  He  was  affiliated  with  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 

J.  Bert  Foster,  who  was  one  of  two  children,  was 
reared  and  educated  in  Illinois  and  at  Des  Moines,  Iowa, 
and  as  a young  man  learned  the  cigar  maker’s  trade. 
He  followed  that  occupation  as  a workman  until  remov- 
ing to  Chandler,  when  he  founded  one  of  the  first  cigar 
factories  in  this  part  of  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Foster  was  mar- 
ried in  Chandler  to  Miss  Ella  Mills,  who  has  spent  most 
of  her  life  in  Oklahoma  and  received  her  education  in  the 
Sac  and  Fox  schools.  They  are  the  parents  of  one  son, 
J.  Bert,  Jr.  Mr.  Foster  is  affiliated  with  the  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Modern  Wood- 
men of  America  and  has  passed  the  different  chairs  in 
these  lodges.  He  is  affable,  courteous,  and  everyone 
who  has  business  at  the  office  of  the  city  clerk  or  with 
the  superintendent  of  the  waterworks  plant  is  impressed 
both  with  his  efficiency  and  his  genial  manner. 

Hon.  Maxwell  Sloan  Blassingame.  By  patient  and 
conscientious  work  and  consistent  study  during  the  first 
half  of  his  term  as  a member  of  the  State  Senate, 
Senator  Blassingame  established  himself  in  the  esteem 
and  confidence  of  his  colleagues,  thereby  laying  the 
foundation  for  the  honor  that  was  conferred  upon  him 


at  the  beginning  of  the  regular  session  of  the  Fifth 
Legislature.  With  little  or  no  opposition  he  was  chosen 
chairman  of  the  Senate  Democratic  Caucus,  by  virtue 
of  which  position  he  was  majority  leader  of  that  body 
in  the  Fifth  Legislature.  The  first  half  of  his  senatorial 
career  was  filled  with  efforts  toward  constructive  legisla- 
tion and  party  harmony,  and  the  experience  gained 
qualified  him  for  both  legislative  and  political  leader- 
ship in  the  second  half.  Senator  Blassingame  has  spent 
many  years  in  Oklahoma  Territory  and  State,  and  in  his 
home  town  of  Sallisaw  was  a prominent  newspaper  editor 
and  publisher. 

Maxwell  Sloan  Blassingame  was  born  March  29,  1874, 
in  Murray  County,  Georgia,  and  represents  some  fine 
old  southern  stock.  His  parents  were  W.  G.  and  Mar- 
garet (Anthony)  Blassingame.  His  father,  now  living, 
at  the  age  of  seventy-seven,  with  his  son  in  Sallisaw,  is  a 
veteran  of  the  Confederate  army,  in  which  he  served 
with  distinction  as  a lieutenant.  He  was  born  in  Georgia 
and  descended  from  ancestors  who  were  among  the 
earliest  settlers  of  the  Carolinas.  The  Blassingame  fam- 
ily left  South  Carolina  and  removed  to  Georgia  in  1870. 
On  his  mother’s  side  Senator  Blassingame  is  descended 
from  Germans  in  Saxony  who  became  pioneer  Americans 
in  Pennsylvania  and  later  in  the  Carolinas.  The  various 
generations  of  the  Blassingames  in  America  have  been 
among  the  foremost  people  of  their  communities  in 
political,  social,  church  and  military  life.  Dr.  William 
Fields,  a cousin  of  W.  G.  Blassingame,  and  Thomas 
Bowen,  a nephew,  represented  Pickens  County  in  the  con- 
vention that  framed  the  present  constitution  of  South 
Carolina.  Doctor  Fields  was  one  of  the  few  democratic 
members  of  the  House  during  “reconstruction  days”  in 
that  state,  and  later  of  the  Senate,  during  which  time 
Thomas  Bowen  Served  in  the  House.  The  Bowens  were 
among  the  leading  families  of  the  state  during  more 
than  one  generation,  and  now  have  distinguished  repre- 
sentatives in  South  Carolina  and  Texas.  Samuel  E. 
Fields,  a double  cousin  of  Doctor  Fields  and  another 
cousin  of  Senator  Blassingame ’s  father,  once  served  as 
state  senator  from  the  Forty-third  Senatorial  District  of 
Georgia. 

Senator  Blassingame  has  been  largely  the  architect  of 
his  own  fortune,  and  has  had  few  favors  in  life  which 
he  did  not  earn.  As  a boy  he  attended  the  short-term 
rural  schools  of  his  home  county,  later  was  a student  in 
the  Coosawatee  Institute  at  Decora,  Georgia,  in  the 
Fairmount  College  at  Fairmount,  and  also  in  the  N.  G.  A. 
College  af  Dahlonega,  Georgia.  In  1893,  in  order  to  earn 
money  to  complete  his  college  education,  he  came  out  to 
McGregor,  Texas,  and  by  the  sweat  of  his  brow  in  cotton 
fields  labored  early  and  late  until  his  savings  were  suf- 
ficient for  his  ambitious  purpose.  He  then  returned  to 
Georgia,  entered  Fairmount  College  as  a student  under 
George  S.  Fulton,  one  of  the  ablest,  best-known  and  most 
loved  professors  of  his  day,  and  subsequently  attended 
the  N.  G.  A.  College. 

About  sixteen  years  ago  Senator  Blassingame  came  out 
to  Oklahoma,  locating  in  Washita  County.  There  he 
taught  in  the  public  schools,  and  for  four  years  was  a 
member  of  the  county  board  of  examiners,  during  the 
administration  of  County  Superintendent  J.  S.  Norton. 
While  teaching  a subsequent  term  at  Spiro  he  pur- 
chased the  Sallisaw  Gazette,  and  when  school  was  out 
took  charge  of  the  paper  and  plant.  That  year,  1906, 
he  organized  the  Democrat  Publishing  Company  at 
Sallisaw,  which  bought  and  consolidated  the  papers  and 
plant  of  the  Gazette  and  the  Star.  He  continued  in 
charge  of  the  new  publication,  the  Star-Gazette,  until 
1912,  when  he  sold  it  to  Alexander  & Hentzel. 

Senator  Blassingame ’s  activity  in  polities  began  in  his 
early  youth,  and  in  Oklahoma  with  statehood,  and 


2168 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


reveals  many  of  the  interesting  facts  in  local  political 
annals  since  that  time.  He  was  secretary  of  the  first 
democratic  central  committee  of  Sequoyah  County,  which 
was  created  by  the  constitutional  convention  in  1907, 
and  for  two  years  was  a member  of  the  democratic  state 
central  committee  from  Sequoyah  County.  Many  times 
he  has  represented  his  county  in  state  conventions  of 
the  democratic  party  and  when  delegates  were  selected 
to  attend  the  Baltimore  convention  which  nominated 
Woodrow  Wilson,  ’now  President,  he  was  chosen,  by 
acclamation,  secretary  of  the  convention,  perhaps  the 
largest  and  most  representative  body  of  democrats  ever 
assembled  in  the  state.  In  the  City  of  Sallisaw  he  has 
served-  as  a member  of  the  city  council  and  the  board 
of  education.  His  election  to  the  State  Senate  came 
in  1912.  In  the  Fourth  Legislature  Senator  Blassin- 
game  was  chosen  chairman  of  the  senate  committee  on 
printing.  During  that  session  he  had  the  honor  of 
nominating  Robert  L.  Owen  to  succeed  himself  in  the 
United  States  Senate.  With  that  nomination  one  func- 
tion of  the  State  Legislature  was  probably  abolished  for 
all  time,  since  Senator  Owen  was  the  last  of  Federal 
senators  to  be  elected  by  the  Oklahoma  Legislature.  The 
honor  was  especially  gratifying  to  Senator  Blassingame 
in  view  of  the  fact  that  MrS.  Owen  is  a niece  of  George 
S.  Fulton,  the  beloved  tutor  of  Senator  Blassingame  in 
Georgia.  Besides  the  chairmanship  of  the  printing 

committee,  Senator  Blassingame  in  the  fourth  session 
was  a member  of  the  committee  on  banks  and  banking, 
and  had  much  to  do  with  the  preparation  and  passage  of 
the  banking  act  which  inaugurated  a new  era  in  financial 
affairs  in  the  state.  He  was  co-author  with  Senator 
Pugh  of  Anadarko  of  a law  compelling  public  officials 
and  their  employes  to  file  with  their  claims  against  the 
public  treasury  receipts  received  for  the  money  spent. 
During  the  session  lie  also  labored  assiduously  as  a 
pronounced  supporter  of  the  administration  of  Governor 
Cruce,  opposing  some  of  the  notable  and  wholly  unneces- 
sary investigations  of  that  period  and  seeking  to  prevent 
prolonged  legislative  sessions. 

In  the  Fifth  Legislature  Senator  Blassingame  was 
chairman  of  the  democratic  caueas,  and  proved  himself  a 
worthy  and  commendable  leader  of  his  party. 

For  his  success  in  life  Senator  Blassingame  bestowed 
much  credit  upon  his  wife,  a woman  of  distinctive  culture 
and  leadership  in  woman’s  affairs  in  her  home  city,  and 
representing  a prominent  southern  family.  Before  their 
marriage,  which  occurred  July  10,  1902,  Mrs..  Blassin- 
game was  Miss  Judith  Bertena  Byrd,  of  Fairmount, 
Georgia.  The  Byrd  family  has  been  prominent  in  many 
important  undertakings  for  several  generations  in 
Georgia,  in  Virginia  and  in  Oklahoma.  William  Byrd, 
of  whom  Mrs.  Blassingame  is  a lineal  descendant, 
the  most  prominent  of  the  family,  was  a member  of  the 
King’s  Council  in  Virginia  in  colonial  days,  and  some 
of  his  conspicuous  achievements  were  the  laying  out  of 
the  principal  cities  of  Virginia,  including  Richmond, 
and  establishing  the  boundary  line  between  Virginia  and 
North  Carolina.  He  is  said  to  have  possessed  the  largest 
library  and  was  one  of  the  most  learned  men  in  all  the 
colonies.  Mrs.  Blassingame  is  an  active  leader  in  church 
and  social  circles,  and  possesses  a genuine  affability  and 
an  ever-present  desire  for  service  that  has  won  her 
esteem  among  all  classes,  and  among  her  elders  in  par- 
ticular. Senator  and  Mrs.  Blassingame  have  two  chil- 
dren: Ruth  Fern,  aged  thirteen:  and  Maxwell  Sloan,  Jr., 
aged  eleven.  Another  son,  William  Byrd,  died  at  the 
age  of  seven  months.  Six  brothers  and  sisters  of  Senator 
Blassingame  live  in  various  states  of  the  South,  South- 
west and  Middle  West. 

Senator  Blassingame  is  a member  of  the  Baptist 
Church  at  Sallisaw,  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  lodge 


and  the  Knights  of  Pythias  lodgt,  ix  that  town,  being 
a past  chancellor  in  the  latter.  He  is  a member  of  the 
Sigma  Nu  college  fraternity,  No.  7,  at  Dahlonega, 
Georgia,  which  was  one  of  the  original  chapters  of  that 
fraternity  in  the  United  States.  Senator  Blassingame  is 
a member  of  the  Sallisaw  Hunting  and  Fishing  Club,  of 
the  Sallisaw  Commercial  Club,  of  the  Oklahoma  Press 
Association,  and  of  the  Oklahoma  Board  of  the  National 
Red  Cross  Society,  an  honor  conferred  upon  him  by  the 
governor  of  the  state. 


Jacob  Johnson,  who  became  closely  identified  both  in 
business  and  marriage  with  the  Indian  tribes  of  Kansas 
and  Oklahoma,  was  born  in  Washington,  District  of 
Columbia,  March  2,  1823,  and  died  May  8,  1911,  on  his 
wife’s  allotment  2%  miles  west  of  Shawnee,  Oklahoma. 
One  of  his  children  is  Mrs.  Emma  D.  Goulette  of  Shawnee. 

William  Johnson,  his  father,  was  born  in  England  in 
1771.  From  about  the  age  of  twelve  he  followed  the 
sea  until  he  retired  as  captain  at  sixty-five.  His  death 
occurred  in  Washington,  District  of  Columbia,  in  1859. 
He  was  a man  of  excellent  education,  and  was  a com- 
municant of  the  Episcopal  faith.  He  made  his  home 
in  Frederick  County,  Maryland,  till  about  1815  when  he 
removed  to  Washington.  He  was  mayor  of  the  national 
capital,  sometime  between  the  years  1824  and  1859. 

Barbara  Miller,  who  became  the  wife  of  William  John- 
son, was  born  in  Ohio  April  21,  1782,  but  her  home  for 
many  years  was  at  Middletown,  Frederick  County,  Mary- 
land, where  many  of  her  blood  connections  are  still  found. 
In-  the  early  days  of  Washington  Barbara  Miller  con- 
ducted a dairy  whose  products  supplied  the  homes  of 
Washington  people  for  a number  of  years. 

Though  his  early  home  and  training  were  in  the  East, 
the  real  life  of  Jacob  Johnson  was  identified  with  the 
western  frontier  and  its  people.  His  literary  education 
was  acquired  in  Washington  schools.  At  the  age  of  nine- 
teen he  was  earning  his  own  way,  being  first  employed 
in  the  District  of  Columbia  navy  yards,  with  his 
brothers,  unloading  produce  and  freighting  by  boat  from 
the  Carolinas. 

The  turning  point  of  his  life  came  in  1849  when  he 
went  to  the  California  gold  fields  with  a Government 
caravan,  though  not  in  the  Government  employ.  After 
prospecting  a year,  he  sold  his  mines  and  came  home  for 
a short  visit.  On  going  back  to  California  he  learned 
that  the  purchaser  of  his  property  had  struck  gold,  had 
sold  out  and  had  left  the  fields  wealthy. 

On  this  second  trip  to  California  Jacob  Johnson  estab- 
lished a general  store.  His  stock  of  groceries,  mining 
implements,  etc.,  were  freighted  from  Omaha,  Nebraska, 
in  caravans,  each  trip  requiring  three  to  four  months. 
Flour  then  sold  from  thirty  to  forty  dollars  a barrel; 
granulated  sugar  was  a distinct  luxury,  maple  sugar 
being  the  staple,  while  whiskey  was  the  only  article  that 
was  cheap.  While  freighting  Mr.  Johnson  gave  and 
sold  produce  to  the  Indians,  and  in  that  way  he  laid  the 
foundation  of  a strong  friendship  which  ever  afterward 
existed  between  him  and  the  red  men.  After  con- 
ducting his  store  and  wagon  trains  three  or  four  years, 
he  made  his  second  visit  home,  going  to  his  twin  brother 
Henry  in  Baltimore,  where  many  of  his  relatives  now  live. 

His  next  experience  in  the  West  was  a trip  to  Wash- 
ington and  Oregon,  following  the  Lewis  and  Clark  trail 
most  of  the  way.  His  occupation  of  fishing  and  trapping 
acquainted  him  witfi  these  territories  as  few  white  men 
ever  came  to  know  them.  With  his  trapping  products 
he  made  three  or  four  annual  trips  to  New  York. 

Next  he  was  one  of  the  engineering  party  that  sur- 
veyed the  present  boundary  line  from  the  Rio  Grande  to 
the  Gulf  of  California,  after  the  new  treaty  establishing 
the  line  was  made  with  Mexico  in  1853.  This  concluded, 


tli 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2169 


aid  tM 
ersvar® 
i c® 

ye®! 

botlei; 

iohW 
j i?asl;: 
rl  to* 
\\f"S 

products 

tlat  B» 

jraade  t 
;allisl>« 

: I ’ ' I ' i '■  i'1’1 


he  came  to  Kansas,  still  a territory,  and  with  his  youngest 
brother  as  cook  conducted  a very  successful  restaurant  at 
Indianola. 

It  was  at  Indianola  that  his  destiny  became  linked  by 
marriage  with  the  Pottawatomie  tribe,  and  a number 
of  years  later  his  family  was  among  the  1,400  who 
separated  from  the  prairie  band  of  the  Pottawatomies 
in  Kansas  and  located  on  the  thirty  mile  square  in 
Oklahoma  in  1872.  At  Indianola  Mr.  Johnson  met  and 
in  1856  married  his  Indian-Prench  wife,  Sophia  Jarveau 
(Shovo),  who  had  just  returned  from  school  at  St. 
Mary’s,  Kansas. 

Sophia  Johnson,  a three-quarter  blood  Pottawatomie, 
whose  given  Indian  name  is  ‘ ‘ So-pe,  ’ ’ was  born  at  Council 
Bluffs,  Iowa,  in  1840.  Her  paternal  grandfather  Jarveau 
came  direct  from  Prance,  and  his  father,  and  then  he,  for 
years  engaged  in  the  fur  trade  for  the  Indians  with  the 
Hudson  Bay  Company.  Her  maternal  grandfather  Ches- 
haw-gan  and  wife  were  fullbloods  and  prominent  mem- 
bers of  the  Menominee  tribe.  Her  paternal  grand- 
mother was  a fullblood  Pottawatomie  Indian  from  Mich- 
igan. All  her  ancestors  were  among  those  Indians,  to 
whom  our  United  States  Government  treated  then  ceded 
to  them  what  is  known  in  history  as  the  Northwest  Terri- 
tory, created  by  the  Ordinance  of  1787. 

Her  father,  Louis  Jarveau,  whose  name  the  “Great 
White  Father  ” changed  to  Vieux  on  his  rolls,  was  a half- 
breed  Pottawatomie  of  Michigan  who  met  and  married 
Sha-note  (Charlotte),  daughter  of  Ches-haw-gan  while 
in  Michigan.  After  their  marriage,  about  1830,  they, 
with  Ches-haw-gan,  wife  and  son  Po-mom-ke-tuck  or 
“Peter  the  Great’’  moved  to  what  is  now  Milwaukee, 
Wisconsin.  Here  Madaline  and  Jake  were  born  to  the 
young  couple.  Louis  and  family  left  Milwaukee  about 
*1834,  going  to  Council  Bluffs,  Iowa,  where  he  was  elected 
tribal  chief  of  the  Pottawatomies.  The  family  lived 
there  between  eighteen  and  twenty  years.  During  that 
time  Ellen,  Margaret,  Bachel,  Sophia  and  Louis  were 
born. 

The  next  move  was  to  Indianola,  Kansas,  near  Topeka. 
Here  Sophia’s  grandfather  and  family  lived  about  six 
miles’  from  them,  in  bark  wigwams,  till  they  saw  how 
houses  were  built.  At  Indianola,  in  addition  to  his  ex- 
tensive farming  and  stock  raising,  Louis  “Vieux”  con- 
tinued helping  the  Indians  in  their  business  affairs  and 
in  their  times  of  sickness  and  need,  generally.  This 
kind  of  home  life  was  excellent  training  for  Sophia  and 
the  other  six  children,  as  each  child  was  required  in  turn 
to  assist  in  every  line  of  work  from  the  cooking,  sewing 
and  care  of  the  smaller  children,  to  milking  and  maple 
tree  tapping.  A good  old  negro,  “Uncle  Charlie,”  not 
a slave,  lived  in  Jarveau ’s  family  for  years,  cooking  for 
both  hired  hands  and  the  family,  also  helping  with  the 
housework  generally. 

Prom  Indianola  Sophia  was  taken  in  a wagon  to  St. 
Mary ’s,  Kansas,  to  attend  school.  While  here  her  eyes 
became  weak  so  she  was  compelled  to  discontinue  her 
studies  at  the  age  of  thirteen.  Thus  she  had  only  four 
or  five  years  of  literary  training.  While  she  always 
lived  the  life  of  the  citizen  Indian,  her  mother  Charlotte 
lived  the  camp  life  until  her  marriage  to  Louis  Jarveau. 
Measured  by  the  standards  of  the  time,  the  Jarveaus 
were  wealthy  folk.  Sophia  often  tells  about  her  mother ’s 
silk  and  broadcloth  Indian  dresses,  furs,  the  hired  serv- 
ants, etc.  The  Indian  dress  waist  those  days  was  what 
is  known  as  the  middy  blouse  now. 

Upon  her  return  from  St.  Mary’s,  Sophia  met  Jacob 
Johnson,  a white  American  restaurant  proprietor,  whom 
she  married  three  years  later.  The  next  year,  1857,  her 
mother  Charlotte  Jarveau  died.  The  father  then  moved 
to  Vermillion  and  kept  the  toll  bridge  over  the  Kansas 
River.  Louis  “Vieux”  married  again  while  here,  then 


moved  to  Louisville,  Kansas,  where  he  lived  and  farmed 
until  his  death  in  1872.  His  death  was  deeply  mourned 
by  hundreds,  and  to  this  date  his  descendants  are  never 
without  welcome  or  friends  when  among  those  who  knew 
him. 

Now  to  resume  the  career  of  Jacob  Johnson.  After 
the  death  of  his  brother,  Andrew,  at  Indianola,  he 
removed  to  Vermillion,  where  he  was  toll  bridge  collector 
for  his  father-in-law.  Prom  Vermillion  the  family  moved 
in  1861  to  Rossville,  Kansas,  not  far  from  Louisville, 
where  Louis  Vieux  had  his  home.  There  Jacob  Johnson 
spent  eleven  years  engaged  in  farming,  raising  corn, 
wheat,  cattle  and  hogs.  He  had  gone  to  Oklahoma  a 
short  time  before  his  father-in-law  died. 

After  locating  temporarily  at  Sacred  Heart,  Oklahoma, 
Mr.  Johnson’s  family  moved  to  Pleasant  Prairie,  now 
Beyers,  about  1873.  There  he  owned  a general  store. 
Not  long  afterward  his  large  herd  of  cattle  was  stolen 
in  a bunch.  This,  with  his  generous  western  disposi- 
tion for  assisting  his  fellow  men  by  the  too  generous 
extension  of  credit,  ruined  him  financially.  He  returned 
to  Sacred  Heart  in  1876.  Eighteen  seventy-eight  found 
the  family  at  Salt  Creek  near  Sacred  Heart.  Here  he 
built  a small  temporary  log  house  where  he  expected  to 
wait  until  it  was  decided  where  the  Pottawatomies  would 
take  their  allotments  of  land.  This  year  at  Salt  Creek 
favored  Mr.  Johnson  financially.  He  and  his  boys 
farmed,  raising  corn,  hogs  and  cattle  principally. 

Better  home  comforts  were  found  in  the  roomy  rented 
house,  splendid  orchard  and  stock  accommodations  at 
Greenhead  in  1879,  on  the  Pettifer’s  place,  where  the 
older  boys  did  the  farming.  The  chief  crops  were  corn, 
cotton  and  beans.  Had  the  wild  deer,  hogs,  turkeys, 
quail  and  prairie  chickens  not  been  so  plentiful,  the 
family  would  have  been  in  hard  straits  for  meat  that 
year,  since  negroes  stole  most  of  the  large  drove  of 
domestic  hogs. 

While  at  Greenhead  the  oldest  son,  Richard,  left  home 
to  become  mail  carrier  between  Sac  and  Pox  and  Red 
Pork,  now  known  as  Sapulpa.  There  being  no  bridges, 
he  often  risked  his  life  swimming  the  swollen  streams 
of  Deep  Pork.  The  oldest  daughter  Rachel  found  em- 
ployment at  the  Friends  Mission,  which  was  located  near 
the  now  Shawnee,  Pottawatomie  and  Kickapoo  Indian 
School  near  Shawnee.  The  next  older  boy  Lawrence 
remained  home,  while  the  next  three  in  age,  James, 
Sarah  Ann  and  Andrew,  entered  the  Friends  Mission  as 
pupils.  Here  James  died. 

In  1883  the  family  moved  to  Kickapoo  near  what  is 
now  McLoud,  until  a two-roomed  log  house  was  built 
on  the  wife’s  present  allotment.  This  house  remained 
there  until  1913  when  the  site  was  covered  with  a new 
barn.  Mrs.  Sophia  Johnson  in  her  declining  years,  on 
her  allotment  2%  miles  west  of  Shawnee,  resides  in  a 
neat  five-room  frame  cottage,  built  and  originally  fur- 
nished by  her  educated  children. 

Mr.  Johnson  joined  the  Friends  Church  at  old  £}haw- 
neetown  when  Franklin  Elliott  and  wife  were  mission- 
aries from  1879  to  1884.  His  wife,  baptized  and  raised 
a Catholic,  united  with  the  Friends  Church  also,  but  re- 
turned to  her  original  faith  after  his  death.  “Grandpa 
and  Grandma  Johnson,”  as  they  were  affectionately 
called,  made  a wide  circle  of  acquaintances  and  friends 
in  their  locality,  and  business  men  knew  them  as  people 
of  the  highest  honesty  and  integrity.  In  his  earlier  days 
Jacob  Johnson  belonged  to  the  Masonic  lodge,  but 
pioneer  life  forbade  a continued  active  relationship. 

Twelve  children  were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Johnson. 
The  first  two,  Seraphine  and  Jacob,  died  at  Vermillion, 
Kansas,  Seraphine  at  the  age  of  four  and  Jacob  when 
an  infant.  Richard,  born  at  Vermillion,  Kansas,  Feb- 
ruary 26,  1860,  died  a bachelor  January  22,  1889. 


2170 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Rachel,  whose  allotment  home  is  at  Norman,  was  born 
at  Rossville,  Kansas,  May  2,  1863,  and  married  in  1881 
John  Wall  (white)  and  about  1892  married  Jim  Hale 
(white).  Loren,  born  at  Rossville,  January  31,  1866, 
married  December,  1896,  Florence  Wooford  (white), 
and  has  his  home  near  Shawnee.  James,  born  at  Ross- 
ville in  1868,  died  in  1884.  Sarah  Ann,  born  at  Ross- 
ville March  14,  1870,  married  April  7,  1896,  J.  D. 
Goulette  (Indian),  and  she  died  at  Shawnee  November  2, 
1909,  her  allotment  being  at  McLoud.  Andrew,  born  at 
Rossville  August  11,  1872,  is  single,  and  has  his  allot- 
ment at  McLoud.  Ida,  born  at  Pleasant  Prairie,  now 
Beyers,  Oklahoma,  April  29,  1874,  has  her  allotment  at 
Teeumseh,  and  married  Ben  Bollman  (white).  Emma, 
born  at  Sacred  Heart,  Indian  Territory,  March  31,  1876, 
married  January  28,  1912,  J.  D.  Goulette,  and  has  allot- 
ment at  Teeumseh.  David,  born  at  Salt  Creek,  Indian 
Territory,  November  16,  1878,  has  his  allotment  at 
Teeumseh,  and  married  Kate  Pansier  (white).  Kath- 
erine, born  at  Greenhead  January  19,  1882,  married 
Charles  Craig  (white),  her  allotment  being  at  Shawnee. 

John  T.  Hats.  Among  the  men  who  composed  the 
early  bar  of  Kiowa  County  were  several  who  brought 
to  their  practice  an  experience  and  ability  gained  by  a 
number  of  years  of  court  and  office  practice  in  other 
states,  and  of  these  John  T.  Hays,  who  located  at 
Hobart  in  1903,  has  continuously  maintained  the  repu- 
tation to  which  his  previous  training  entitled  him.  Mr. 
Hays  had  practiced  a number  of  years  in  Kentucky  be- 
fore moving  to  Oklahoma  and  is  one  of  the  best  known 
members  of  the  Oklahoma  State  Bar  Association. 

Born  in  Knox  County,  Kentucky,  in  February,  1861, 
John  T.  Hays  is  descended  from  an  Irish  family  of 
that  name  which  established  its  home  in  Virginia  prior 
to  the  War  of  1812,  and  one  or  more  of  the  name  par- 
ticipated on  the  American  side  in  that  conflict.  His 
father,  Joseph  C.  Hays,  was  born  in  Knox  County, 
Kentucky,  in  1834,  and  died  at  Winchester  in  that  state 
October  30,  1902.  He  was  a farmer  and  stock  raiser 
and  in  1898  moved  from  Knox  County,  Kentucky,  to 
Boone  County,  Missouri,  and  that  was  his  home  the  rest 
of  his  life,  his  death  having  occurred  while  on  a visit  to 
Winchester,  Kentucky.  During  the  war  between  the 
states  he  was  a Confederate  soldier  under  General 
Morgan  one  year,  and  was  taken  prisoner  at  Cumber- 
land Gap,  but  made  his  escape.  He  was  a member  of 
the  Christian  Church,  and  a democrat  in  polities.  Joseph 
C.  Hays  married  Minerva  N.  Bain,  who  was  born  in 
Knox  County,  Kentucky,  in  1837,  and  is  now  living  at 
Columbia,  Missouri.  Their  children  were:  Alexander, 

who  died  in  infancy;  John  T. ; Arah,  who  died  at  the 
age  of  thirty-five,  the  wife  of  Thomas  Gilbert,  who  is 
now  a farmer  at  Lawton,  Oklahoma;  J.  Smith,  an  at- 
torney at  Winchester,  Kentucky;  James  M.,  also  an 
attorney,  practicing  at  Okmulgee,  Oklahoma;  Thomas  B., 
a farmer  at  Hobart;  William,  who  was  a physician  and 
surgeAn  and  died  at  Highlands,  North  Carolina,  at  the 
age  of  thirty -five;  Ora,  who  married  F.  A.  Henninger, 
a jeweler  at  Columbia,  Missouri;  and  Mrs.  Mary  Eliza- 
beth Spillman,  wife  of  a farmer  at  Harris,  Kentucky. 

John  T.  Hays  grew  up  in  his  native  county  in  Ken- 
tucky, where  he  attended  the  public  schools  and  spent 
the  first  eighteen  years  of  his  life  on  his  father’s  farm. 
He  had  a varied  experience  of  self  help  and  effort  for  a 
number  of  years  before  gaining  admittance  to  the  legal 
profession.  Three  years  were  spent  as  a teacher  at 
Barbersville,  Kentucky,  where  he  was  principal  of  the 
public  schools,  and  one  year  at  Williamsburg,  Kentucky. 
For  nearly  four  years  lie  was  a student  in  the  Agricul- 
tural and  Mechanical  College  at  Lexington,  and  during 
1888  was  a student  in  the  law  department  of  Vanderbilt 


University  at  Nashville,  Tennessee.  He  had  already 
pursued  a private  course  of  study  in  the  law,  and  was 
admitted  to  the  bar  at  Franklin,  Kentucky,  September 
9,  1888.  Thus  Mr.  Hays  has  had  an  active  career  as  a 
lawyer  for  more  than  a quarter  of  a century.  His  first 
practice  was  at  Barbersville  in  Knox  County,  Kentucky, 
and  his  practice,  continued  from  1888  to  1903,  brought 
him  into  relations  with  not  only  the  local  but  the  state 
and  federal  courts.  In  1903  he  came  to  Hobart,  Okla- 
homa, about  two  years  after  the  opening  of  the  Kiowa 
and  Comanche  reservation  and  has  since  enjoyed  an  in- 
creasing civil  and  criminal  practice. 

A service  which  has  brought  his  name  into  prominence 
among  legal  circles  throughout  the  state  was  as  a 
member  of  the  State  Code  Commission,  which  revised, 
annotated  and  codified  the  laws  of  Oklahoma.  He  is  a 
member  of  the  County,  State  and  American  Bar  Asso- 
ciations, and  in  1910  was  a member  of  the  council  of 
the  state  association  and  is  now  a member  of  its  com- 
mittee on  uniformity  of  laws. 

His  law  offices  are  in  the  Starns  Building  on  Fourth 
Street  in  Hobart.  For  several  years  he  has  served  as  a 
member  of  the  Hobart  School  Board  and  has  thus  as- 
sisted in  the  construction  of  the  school  buildings  and 
has  promoted  the  general  advancement  of  local  educa- 
tional facilities.  He  is  a member  of  the  Christian 
Church,  is  a democrat  in  polities,  is  affiliated  with  Lodge 
No.  108,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  at  Barbers- 
ville, Kentucky,  and  also  with  Barbersville  Chapter, 
Royal  Arch  Masons. 

In  1897  at  Barbersville  Mr.  Hays  married  Miss  Lucy 
J.  Tye.  She  is  a daughter  of  the  late  George  W.  Tye,  a 
farmer  at  Barbersville.  To  their  marriage  have  been 
born  four  children:  Howard  Homer,  who  died  when  six 

years  of  age;  Howell  Edmond,  now  in  the  freshman 
class  of  the  Hobart  High  School;  Russell  Randolph  and 
Helen  Hortense,  both  students  in  the  grammar  schools. 

Providence  Mounts.  One  of  the  oldest  lawyers  in 
point  of  continuous  service  at  Frederick  is  Providence 
Mounts,  who  was  an  attorney  of  mature  experience  and 
well  tried  ability  when  he  located  there  more  than  ten 
years  ago,  and  has  since  developed  a profitable  business 
as  a lawyer  and  has  made  himself  a factor  in  the  growth 
' and  development  of  the  town. 

A Texan  by  birth,  Providence  Mounts  was  born  at 
Denton,  Denton  County,  February  25,  1872.  The  Mounts 
family  came  originally  from  France,  settled  in  Virginia, 
moved  at  a later  date  to  Kentucky,  and  the  grandfather, 
Providence  Mounts,  was  born  in  Virginia  about  1804, 
went  as  a pioneer  to  Texas  and  died  at  Denton  about 
1876.  William  H.  Mounts,  father  of  the  Frederick 
lawyer,  was  born  in  Virginia  in  1832  and  died  at  Denton, 
Texas,  in  1889.  He  went  out  to  the  latter  state  about 
1850  and  became  identified  with  the  farming,  stock 
raising  and  mercantile  interests  of  North  Texas  from 
pioneer  times  onward.  As  a democrat  he  took  much 
interest  in  the  party  and  in  local  affairs,  and  the  family 
has  always  been  one  of  prominence  in  Denton  County. 
He  served  as  an  elder  in  the  Presbyterian  Church  and 
his  family  were  reared  in  the  same  faith.  During  the 
early  days  along  the  Texas  frontier  he  participated  in 
several  engagements  with  the  Indians.  William  H. 
Mounts  married  Miss  Mattie  Haynes,  who  was  born  in 
Mississippi  in  1838  and  died  at  Denton,  Texas,  in 
January,  1914.  Their  children  were:  R.  M.,  who  is  a 

stock  raiser  at  Hereford,  Texas;  Emma,  who  lives  at 
Denton,  and  is  the  widow  of  Dr.  C.  Lipscomb;  Ena, 
who  married  Frank  A.  Tompkins,  in  the  real  estate  and 
insurance  business  at  Corpus  Christi,  Texas;  Providence; 
John  H.,  a merchant  at  Frederick,  Oklahoma;  Sena, 
wife  of  W.  W.  Wright,  a farmer  and  stock  man  at 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2171 


Denton;  and  Alice,  wife  of  Clarence  Cockrell,  who  is  in 
the  electrical  business  at  Dallas,  Texas. 

Providence  Mounts  obtained  his  education  from  the 
public  schools  of  Denton,  and  was  a student  for  a time 
in  the  high  school,  and  spent  one  year  at  the  Agricultural 
and  Mechanical  College  at  Bryan,  Texas,  before  entering 
the  law  department  of  the  State  University.  In  1893  he 
was  graduated  LL.  B.,  and  was  thus  equipped  for 
practice  in  a profession  at  the  age  of  twenty-one.  Re- 
turning to  his  old  home  town  of  Denton  for  the  next 
eleven  years  he  was  marked  as  one  of  the  rising  attor- 
neys of  the  Denton  County  bar,  and  during  that  time 
served  both  as  city  attorney  and  county  attorney.  Since 
1904  he  has  looked  after  a growing  general  civil  and 
criminal  practice  with  home  at  Frederick,  Oklahoma. 
His  offices  are  in  the  Stinson-Mounts  Building  on  Grand 
Avenue,  of  which  he  is  a part  owner. 

In  politics  he  belongs  to  the  dominant  party  in 
Oklahoma,  is  a member  of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  and 
was  formerly  identified  with  the  fraternal  orders  of  the 
Knights  of  Pythias,  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows,  the  Woodmen  of  the  World  and  the  Mystic 
Circle.  At  Denton  in  1896  he  married  Miss  May  Mat- 
lock,  daughter  of  the  late  Dr.  W.  R.  Matlock,  a well 
known  Denton  physician.  They  have  one  daughter, 
Barbara  Lee,  who  was  born  at  Denton  July  25,  1905. 

Hon.  Frank  Carpenter.  So  far  as  known  Represen- 
tative Frank  Carpenter  is  the  only  member  of  the 
Legislature  who  participated  in  three  successive  land 
openings  of  the  original  Oklahoma.  Mr.  Carpenter  has 
been  identified  either  with  the  State  of  Kansas  or  with 
Oklahoma  more  than  thirty  years,  and  for  nearly  fifteen 
years  has  been  one  of  the  most  progressive  and  success- 
ful farmers  in  what  originally  was  the  Kiowa  and 
Comanche  Indian  country.  He  was  sent  to  the  Legis- 
lature as  representative  from  Caddo  County,  and  his 
home  is  at  Bridgeport. 

Frank  Carpenter  was  born  in  Erie  County,  New  York, 
in  1852,  and  in  his  pioneering  followed  the  example  of 
his  ancestors,  who  in  that  relation  were  identified  with 
several  zones  of  settlement  beginning  with  the  early 
Atlantic  coast.  His  parents  were  William  and  Julia 
(Foote)  Carpenter.  His  father  was  at  one  time  mayor 
of  the  City  of  Buffalo,  New  York.  The  ancestry  goes 
back  to  the  first  settlement  on  Sherman  Isle,  now  Prince 
Edward  Island,  the  title  to  which  is  believed  to  be  in 
the  Carpenter  family  to  this  day,  although  the  papers 
that  would  establish  such  a claim  were  lost  by  one  of 
the  Carpenters  in  Lake  Erie.  Mr.  Carpenter’s  mother 
is  a member  of  the  historic  Foote  family,  from  which 
came  Commodore  Foote,  one  of  America’s  naval  heroes, 
and  Dr.  Luman  Foote,  a noted  pioneer  minister  of  the 
Episcopal  Church  in  Michigan.  In  the  earlier  lines  of 
the  family  one  of  the  most  prominent  connections  was 
Governor  Bradford,  the  first  executive  of  the  Massa- 
chusetts Colony. 

When  Frank  Carpenter  was  sixteen  years  of  age  his 
father  moved  to  Michigan,  and  for  his  common  school 
education  he  attended  the  schools  both  of  New  York  and 
Michigan,  and  began  making  his  own  way  in  the  world 
as  clerk  in  a wholesale  and  retail  grocery  house  in 
Charlotte,  Michigan.  He  remained  with  that  firm  for 
seven  years,  then  became  identified  with  farming  and 
lumbering  in  Michigan.  In  1882  the  family  removed  to 
Marion  County,  Kansas,  where  he  took  up  farming  and 
also  engaged  in  stock  raising. 

As  a resident  of  the  neighboring  State  of  Kansas 
the  opening  of  the  original  Oklahoma  appealed  with 
special  strength  to  Frank  Carpenter,  who  was  a member 
of  the  great  throng  of  people  who  on  April  22,  1889, 
awaited  the  signal  fired  at  high  noon  and  made  the  great 


rush  into  Oklahoma  to  get  public  lands.  He  was  on 
horseback,  and  rode  for  forty  miles  until  reaching  a 
homestead  in  what  is  now  Deer  Creek  Township  of 
Oklahoma  County.  Mr.  Carpenter  remained  two  years 
to  prove  up  his  claim,  and  then  returned  to  Kansas, 
where  in  the  meantime  he  had  kept  his  former  farm  and 
livestock.  The  Oklahoma  homestead  was  relinquished 
to  his  brother  Henry.  In  1893  Mr.  Carpenter  joined 
the  second  throng  of  people  seeking  public  land  in 
Oklahoma,  making  the  run  into  the  Cherokee  Strip. 
Having  already  held  a claim  in  Oklahoma,  he  assisted 
his  sister  and  an  uncle  in  obtaining  land,  and  they 
settled  in  Payne  County.  Mr.  Carpenter  remained  there 
four  years,  and  again  returned  to  his  Kansas  farm. 
When  the  Kiowa  and  Comanche  Indian  reservation  was 
opened  in  1901,  he  went  a third  time  among  the  land 
seekers,  but  this  time  instead  of  the  race  and  physical 
contest  engaged  in  the  lottery  by  registering  for  claims 
at  El  Reno.  He  was  unsuccessful  in  the  drawing  but 
bought  land  in  what  afterwards  was  known  as  Caddo 
County.  There  he  established  his  first  permanent  home 
in  Oklahoma,  and  has  been  identified  with  that  locality 
ever  since. 

The  first  office  through  which  Frank  Carpenter  served 
the  people  of  Oklahoma  was  as  county  assessor  of  Caddo 
County,  to  which  he  was  appointed  by  Governor  Cruce  in 
1912.  At  the  end  of  the  same  year  he  was  elected  to  the 
office  for  a two  year  term.  In  1914  he  was  elected  a 
member  of  the  Legislature,  and  at  the  beginning  of  the 
fifth  session  was  appointed  chairman  of  the  Committee 
on  State  and  School  Lands  and  a member  of  committees 
on  Appropriations,  Public  Roads  and  Highways,  Prac- 
tice of  Medicine  and  Mines  and  Mining.  He  was  one 
of  the  authors  of  a bill  making  an  appropriation  for 
rewards  for  bank  burglars  and  was  a joint  author  of  a 
bill  correcting  the  practice  of  false  statements  made  to 
merchants  by  their  patrons.  He  was  chairman  of  the 
Farmers  Caucus  in  the  Legislature  and  interested  in 
legislation  particularly  tending  to  improve  farm  con- 
ditions. Mr.  Carpenter  has  proved  a stimulating  factor 
in  the  Legislature,  and  has  favored  a short  and  busy 
session,  has  opposed  his  influence  to  the  introduction  of 
many  useless  bills,  and  has  cared  little  for  changes  in 
legislation  save  those  that  were  vital  to  the  commercial 
and  industrial  welfare  of  the  state.  He  was  a supporter 
of  most  of  the  policies  of  Governor  Williams,  but  avoided 
being  an  extremist  on  economy. 

Mr.  Carpenter  was  married  at  Florence,  Kansas,  in 
1883,  to  Miss  Annie  Arnold,  who  died  nine  months  after 
the  wedding.  January  15,  1893,  he  married  Miss  Flora 
Wagner  of  Florence,  Kansas,  who  died  in  April,  1908. 
The  three  children  of  this  marriage  are:  Charles,  a 

graduate  of  the  Bridgeport  High  School  and  now  com- 
pleting his  junior  year  in  the  Agricultural  and  Mechani- 
cal College  at  Stillwater;  Edward,  completing  his  fresh- 
man year  in  the  Agricultural  and  Mechanical  College; 
and  Mrs.  Eris  Shacklin,  a graduate  of  the  Bridgeport 
High  School  and  wife  of  a farmer  near  Bridgeport. 
Mr.  Carpenter  was  married  January  22,  1913,  to  Mrs. 
Annie  L.  Sharp,  whose  home  was  in  the  State  of  Wash- 
ington and  whose  father  was  a Polish  count  in  banish- 
ment in  America.  Mr.  Carpenter  has  three  brothers  and 
two  sisters : Henry  lives  on  the  original  Carpenter 

homestead  in  Oklahoma  County;  Edward  is  a farmer  at 
Muskogee;  W.  H.  was  for  a number  of  years  prosecut- 
ing attorney  of  Marion  County,  Kansas,  and  now  one 
of  the  leading  land  owners  of  that  state;  Mrs.  H.  S. 
McDonald  is  the  wife  of  a retired  druggist  and  capitalist 
of  Kansas  City;  Miss  Emma  Carpenter  lives  with  her 
brother  at  Bridgeport. 

Mr.  Carpenter  is  not  a member  of  church,  lodges, 
clubs  or  associations,  and  instead  of  such  -associations 


2172 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


lias  devoted  himself  to  improving  his  farm  and  live- 
stock and  properly  rearing  his  family.  Liberal  but  con- 
servative, he  is  one  of  the  leading  citizens  of  his  county. 
He  has  never  used  tobacco  or  liquor  in  any  form,  and 
his  sons  are  following  his  example  in  that  respect. 

C.  O.  White.  When  Mr.  White  first  became  identified 
with  the  community  of  Wynona  in  Osage  County  about 
five  years  ago,  it  was  in  the  capacity  of  a teacher.  He 
was  already  a well  qualified  lawyer,  and  in  a short  time 
his  practice  demanded  his  entire  attention,  and  as  the 
only  local  attorney  in  that  part  of  the  county  he  has 
proved  himself  master  of  the  situation  and  has  handled 
an  extensive  practice,  particularly  the  settling  of  estates 
and  in  questions  affecting  the  land  titles  both  in  Osage 
and  adjoining  counties. 

An  Ohio  man,  Mr.  White  was  born  at  Montpelier  in 
Williams  County  May  30,  1877,  a son  of  I.  M.  and 
Lavina  (Weitz)  White,  the  former  a native  of  Williams 
County  and  the  latter  of  Lucas  County,  Ohio.  Mr. 
White’s  maternal  grandfather,  Adam  Weitz,  was  born 
in  Germany,  came  when  a young  man  to  Pennsylvania, 
and  was  married  there  to  Miss  Yager,  after  which  he 
became  an  early  settler  on  a farm  in  Williams  County, 
Ohio,  where  both  he  and  his  wife  died.  Adam  Weitz  in 
earlier  years  was  a stone  cutter  by  trade.  The  paternal 
grandfather  was  Joseph  White,  also  a native  of  Penn- 
sylvania, and  he  married  Miss  Barelaw  of  that  state, 
but  of  Welsh  parentage.  Joseph  White  was  a cabinet 
maker  by  trade  but  spent  most  of  his  active  life  as  a 
farmer  in  Williams  County.  I.  M.  White  and  wife  are 
still  living  at  Montpelier,  Ohio,  being  retired  from  the 
farm.  Their  three  children  are:  Alice,  wife  of  George 

W.  Farlee  of  Williams  County;  Myrtle,  wife  of  Alva 
Shankster  of  Williams  County;  and  C.  O. 

C.  O.  White  lived  at  home  with  his  parents  in  North- 
western Ohio  until  he  was  about  twenty-two  years  of 
age.  In  the  meantime  he  had  graduated  from  the 
Montpelier  High  School,  and  prepared  for  work  as  a 
teacher  in  the  Tri-State  Normal  at  Angola,  Indiana. 
His  services  were  employed  in  several  schools  in  Ohio, 
and  he  paid  most  of  his  expenses  through  law  school 
and  university  either  by  teaching  or  by  traveling  on 
the  road  during  vacation.  In  1902  he  entered  the  law 
department  of  the  Ohio  State  University  at  Columbus, 
and  was  graduated  in  law  in  1908.  In  June,  1909,  Mr. 
White  arrived  in  Oklahoma,  and  spent  a few  weeks  in 
normal  training  at  Bartlesville  until  getting  a certificate 
as  an  Oklahoma  teacher.  Por  three  years  both  he  and 
his  wife  taught  school  at  Wynona,  and  he  then  engaged 
in  practice  of  the  law,  but  interrupted  that  to  take 
charge  of  a school  at  Osage,  but  after  four  months 
resigned  his  position  and  returned  to  his  law  office  in 
Wynona.  His  business  as  a lawyer  developed  rapidly 
after  he  opened  his  office,  and  it  was  owing  to  the  de- 
mands upon  his  personal  attention  that  he  was  obliged 
to  resign  school  work  at  Osage.  In  addition  to  his  large 
practice  as  the  only  attorney  at  Wynona,  Mr.  White  is 
owner  and  manager  of  the  Wynona  Telephone  Exchange 
and  is  secretary  and  attorney  for  the  Wynona  Bealty 
Company  and  handles  considerable  real  estate  on  his 
own  account.  He  has  been  interested  in  every  local 
enterprise  since  he  established  his  home  at  Wynona,  and 
has  effected  a number  of  important  oil  leases  in  this 
district. 

In  politics  he  is  a republican,  and  took  an  active  in- 
terest in  politics  even  during  his  minority.  He  is  a 
member  of  the  Methodist  Church.  In  June,  1908,  Mr. 
White  married  Miss  Ida  Backus  at  Hillsdale,  Michigan. 
Mrs.  White  was  born  in  Kansas  May  13,  1885,  but  when 
about  four  years  of  age  her  parents  returned  to  Ohio, 
and  she  was  afterwards  sent  as  a student  to  Hillsdale 


College  in  Michigan,  of  which  institution  she  is  a grad- 
uate. She  was  engaged  in  teaching  school  part  of  the 
time  with  her  husband,  until  four  years  after  her  mar- 
riage. Mr.  and  Mrs.  White  have  two  sons,  John  Henry 
Isaiah,  born  at  Wynona  May  19,  1914,  and  Wesley 
Leonard,  born  at  Wynona  June  17,  1916. 

E.  B.  Wood.  As  superintendent  of  the  public  schools 
of  Newkirk,  Professor  Wood  occupies  one  of  the  most 
responsible  posts  in  the  educational  system  of  the  state. 
He  has  an  enviable  record  as  an  educator,  having  spent 
about  thirteen  years  in  the  schools  of  Kay  County.  He 
has  been  identified  with  the  schools  at  Newkirk  for  the 
past  four  years,  and  his  administration  must  be  given 
credit  for  the  construction  of  the  splendid  new  building 
for  the  schools  in  1914,  costing  for  building  and  fur- 
niture about  $50,000.  It  is  one  of  the  most  modern  and 
best  adapted  buildings  for  school  purposes  in  the  state. 
On  the  first  floor  are  five  classrooms  and  a gymnasium, 
with  seven  rooms  on  the  second  floor.  The  staff  of 
teachers  includes  twelve  in  number,  with  four  in  the 
high  school  which  is  a highly  organized  department  and 
sends  its  graduates  direct  into  the  colleges  and  the  uni- 
versities. The  principal  of  the  high  school  is  A.  J. 
Walter.  The  enrollment  in  the  high  school  is  about  115, 
and  altogether  there  are  382  pupils.  During  his  four 
years  at  Newkirk  Mr.  Wood  has  built  up  the  schools  in  a 
highly  creditable  manner,  and  judged  by  results  alone 
his  position  is  among  the  first  of  -Oklahoma  school 
managers. 

E.  B.  Wood  was  born  on  a farm  near  Winfield,  Kansas, 
August  14,  1873.  His  father,  Warren  Wood,  was  a New 
York  State  man  and  during  the  Civil  war  served  as  a 
soldier  in  the  Union  army.  He  married  in  Norton 
County,  Kansas,  Jennie  Hatcher.  She  was  born,  reared 
and  educated  in  Kansas.  There  were  four  children, 
three  sons  and  one  daughter. 

Professor  Wood  was  reared  in  Kansas,  had  the  disci- 
pline of  a farm  as  well  as  the  advantages  of  public 
schools,  and  after  attending  country  schools  entered  the 
Winfield  High  School  and  in  1898  was  graduated  from 
St,  John’s  College  in  Kansas.  For  the  past  thirteen 
years  he  has  been  connected  with  the  public  schools  of 
Kay  County.  He  spent  two  years  at  Kildare,  and  two 
years  in  the  Tonkawa  schools,  two  years  in  the  Newkirk 
grade  and  four  years  as  principal  of  the  high  school, 
before  accepting  his  present  post  as  superintendent  of 
the  schools  of  the  entire  city. 

Mr.  Wood  was  married  June  5,  1901,  to  Effie  Burke,  a 
young  woman  of  cultured  mind  and  many  happy  social 
qualities.  Her  father  was  William  Burke.  They  have 
two  sons:  Warren  and  Harold.  Professor  Wood  is  a 

republican  in  polities,  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Knights 
of  Pythias. 

Ralph  P.  Stanion  has  been  connected  with  the 
United  States  Indian  Service  continuously  for  seventeen 
years,  and  in  this  long  period  is  contained  a service  that 
for  usefulness  and  faithful  discharge  of  duty  is  rarely 
surpassed.  His  effective  labors  in  connection  with  the 
Government’s  wards  have  been  of  a nature  which  have 
made  him  one  of  the  most  valued  men  in  the  service, 
and  at  the  present  time  he  occupies  one  of  the  most 
responsible  positions  therein,  the  superintendency  of  the 
Pawnee  Indian  Agency. 

Mr.  Stanion  was  born  at  Ithaca,  Tompkins  County, 
New  York,  May  12,  1875,  and  is  a son  of  James  H.  and 
Harriet  L.  (Parsons)  Stanion.  His  father  was  born  in 
England,  October  30,  1839,  and  as  a youth  of  eighteen 
years  emigrated  to  the  United  States,  settling  at  Ithaca, 
New  York,  where  he  was  married  to  his  first  wife,  who 
died  leaving  two  children.  Later  he  married  Harriet  L. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2173 


Parsons,  who  was  born  in  Connecticut,  June  21,  1845, 
and  they  became  the  parents  of  four  children.  When 
the  Civil  war  came  on,  Mr.  Stanion,  who  had  become  a 
loyal  citizen  of  his  adopted  country,  enlisted  in  Company 
D,  One  Hundred  and  Thirty-seventh  Begiment,  New 
York  Volunteer  Infantry,  with  which  organization  he 
later  veteranized,  serving  throughout  the  period  of  the 
war  and  receiving  his  honorable  discharge  at  its  close 
with  the  rank  of  orderly  sergeant.  He  was  in  numerous 
important  engagements  and  at  the  sanguine  battle  of 
Kenesaw  Mountain  received  a wound  which  incapacitated 
him  for  several  months.  He  always  maintained  his 
interest  in  his  old  army  comrades,  and  until  the  close 
of  his  life  was  active  in  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Be- 
public.  As  a business  man  Mr.  Stanion  was  engaged  in 
the  manufacture  of  carriages,  wagons  and  buggies,  and 
won  gratifying  success  through  industry  and  honorable 
business  methods.’  An  Episcopalian,  he  was  observant 
of  church  obligations,  and  reared  his  children  to  respect 
their  religious  duties.  Politically  he  was  a republican, 
and  served  several  terms  as  tax  collector  of  this  city. 
His  death  occurred  at  Ithaca,  August  25,  1914,  Mrs. 
Stanion  having  passed  away  there  February  11,  1908. 

Balph  P.  Stanion  was  a resident  of  Ithaca  until  1898. 
He  secured  his  early  education  in  the  public  schools  of 
that  city,  following  this  by  attendance  at  Georgetown 
University,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  law  in  1905, 
with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Laws,  and  two  years  later 
was  admitted  to  practice  in  the  courts  of  Oklahoma,  but 
has  never  followed  his  profession  as  a calling.  In  the 
meantime,  in  1898,  Mr.  Stanion  had  successfully  passed 
the  Civil  Service  examination  for  the  position  of 
teacher  in  the  Indian  Service,  and  began  his  duties  at 
Pine  Bidge,  South  Dakota.  Subsequently,  he  was  sent 
to  the  Fort  Shaw  (Montana)  Indian  School,  in  1903, 
and  in  1904  went  to  the  General  Land  Office  at  Wash- 
ington, District  of  Columbia,  as  clerk,  and  it  was  while 
thus  engaged  that  he  pursued  his  college  course.  Later 
he  was  sent  to  Darlington,  Oklahoma,  as  superintendent 
of  the  Bapahan  Indian  School,  then  to  the  Bosebud 
Indian  School  in  South  Dakota,  as  superintendent,  and  in 
1909  to  Otoe,  Oklahoma,  as  superintendent  of  the  agency. 
There  he  remained  until  1914,  when  he  came  to  Pawnee 
as  superintendent  of  the  Pawnee  Indian  Agency.  Mr. 
Stanion  is  a republican,  stands  high  in  Masonry,  being 
a Shriner  and  a member  of  the  Consistory  at  Guthrie, 
and  is  an  adherent  of  the  faith  .of  the  Episcopal  Church, 
in  which  he  was  reared. 

On  January  31,  1900,  Mr.  Stanion  was  married  to 
Miss  Lillian  Carter,  who  was  born  at  Syracuse,  New 
York,  and  to  this  union  there  have  come  four  children: 
Elizabeth  Lillian,  born  at  Pine  Bidge,  South  Dakota; 
Balph  Carter,  born  at  Bochester,  New  York;  James 
Henry,  born  at  Washington,  District  of  Columbia;  and 
Charles  Parsons,  born  at  Bosebud,  South  Dakota. 

Edwaed  Milton  Washington.  In  the  local  campaign 
for  the  election  of  county  officers  in  Hughes  County,  in 
1914,  Mr.  E.  M.  Washington  supplied  much  spice  and 
vigor  in  his  candidacy  for  the  newly-created  office  of 
court  clerk.  Mr.  Washington  at  that  time-  was  clerk  of 
the  County  Court,  but  by  an  act  of  the  Legislature  in 
1913,  the  offices  of  county  clerk  and  clerk  of  the  District 
Court  were  to  be  consolidated,  resulting  in  a new  office, 
known  as  court  clerk,  the  incumbent  of  which  should 
perform  the  duties  of  clerk  of  both  the  County  Court 
and  the  District  Court. 

The  actual  qualifications  of  Mr.  Washington  for  the 
position  to  which  he  aspired  were  unquestionable.  He 
had  been  a resident  of  the  county  for  many  years,  had 
a successful  business  record,  and  had  proved  capable  and 
efficient  in  every  position  of  trust  to  which  he  had  been 


called.  Especially  convincing  to  the  voters  was  the  fiscal 
record  of  his  administration  as  county  clerk.  This  rec- 
ord showed  that  from  receipts  of  something  more  than 
$7,000,  all  the  expenses  of  the  office,  including  salaries, 
were  paid,  and  a surplus  turned  over  to  the  county  treas- 
urer of  over  $3,000. 

With  all  these  solid  facts  behind  him  he  could  well 
afford  to  introduce  some  of  the  amenities  into  the  cam- 
paign, and  one  of  these  which  attracted  special  atten- 
tion was  a speech  in  which  he  said  that  the  people  of 
the  United  States  had  elected  George  Washington  the 
first  President  of  the  United  States,  and  consequently 
why  should  not  the  people  of  Hughes  County  elect  E.  M. 
Washington  the  first  court  clerk.  The  people  answered 
this  question  by  electing  him  by  a substantial  majority, 
and  he  has  justified  their  confidence  and  so  far  in  his 
administration  has  been  able  to  realize  the  ideal  ex- 
pressed in  his  promise  to  the  people  that  he  would  do 
his  full  duty,  would  assume  the  responsibilities  of  the 
office  without  delegating  them  to  a deputy,  and  would 
do  all  in  an  official  capacity  that  any  one  man  should 
reasonably  be  expected  to  do. 

Edward  Milton  Washington  is  a native  of  Missouri  and 
was  born  near  Portland,  Callaway  County,  October  5, 
1875,  a son  of  Lewis  E.  and  Marian  (Bryan)  Washing- 
ton. His  father  was  born  at  Lexington,  Kentucky, 
August  12,  1835,  and  was  a son  of  Edward  S.  Washing- 
ton, a native  of  Virginia,  who  came  to  Missouri  in  1849, 
and  followed  farming  and  stock-raising  in  Callaway 
County  until  his  death  at  the  age  of  seventy-seven.  The 
Virginia  branch  of  the  family  was  closely  related  to  the 
Washingtons  of  whom  the  most  conspicuous  representa- 
tive was  President  George  Washington.  Lewis  E.  Wash- 
ington spent  most  of  his  life  in  Missouri  as  a farmer 
and  merchant,  was  for  four  years  county  clerk  in  that 
state,  and  he  died  at  the  home  of  his  son  in  Holdenville, 
Oklahoma,  February  3,  1914.  He  wras  an  active  democrat 
in  politics.  His  wife  was  born  December  10,  1855,  near 
Portland,  Missouri,  in  the  s(ime  house  in  which  E.  M. 
Washington  first  saw  the  light  of  day,  and  she  died  there 
in  July,  1909.  Her  family  was  related  to  the  Bryan 
of  which  William  Jennings  Bryan  is  the  most  notable 
representative.  E.  M.  Washington  was  the  first  of  six 
children,  the  others  being:  Lottie  L.,  of  Tulsa;  W.  D. 
Washington  of  Ashfork,  Arizona;  Vera  A.,  wife  of  B.  B. 
Williams  of  Stigler,  Oklahoma;  Lewis  E.,  Jr.,  of  Tulsa; 
and  Bettie  M.,  who  died  in  infancy. 

Edward  M.  Washington  spent  the  first  eighteen  years 
of  his  life  on  the  old  farm  in  Callaway  County,  Missouri. 
He  finished  his  education  in  that  well-known  institution 
of  higher  training,  Westminster  College  at  Fulton,  Mis- 
souri. A little  more  than  twenty  years  ago,  in  1894,  he 
came  to  Indian  Territory  and  located  at  Eufaula  in  Au- 
gust of  that  year,  and  for  ten  years  applied  himself 
assiduously  to  his  duties  as  a druggist  and  for  three 
years  was  bookkeeper  in  the  Eufaula  National  Bank. 
In  1907  Mr.  Washington  came  to  the  east  side  of  Hughes 
County  and  at  Lamar  was  engaged  in  the  mercantile 
business  for  five  years. 

On  January  1,  1913,  he  was  appointed  clerk  of  the 
County  Court  and  from  that  office  he  entered  upon  his 
duties  in  1914  as  the  first  court  clerk  of  Hughes  County. 
He  has  been  a democrat  all  his  life  and  among  other 
positions  was  city  treasurer  of  Eufaula  three  years  and 
city  recorder  two  years.  He  is  active  in  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Chuch  South,  is  a thirty-second  degree  Scot- 
tish Bite  Mason,  being  affiliated  with  the  Indian  Con- 
sistory No.  2 at  MeAlester  and  with  the  Lodge  and  Eoyal 
Arch  Chapter  at  Holdenville.  He  is  also  a member  of 
the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America. 

On  October  19,  1898,  Mr.  Washington  married  Miss 
Catherine  Simpson.  Mrs.  Washington  was  born  at 


2174 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Eufaula,  Oklahoma,  August  3,  1878,  a daughter  of  John 
D.  Simpson,  an  Oklahoma  pioneer  from  Kentucky,  who 
was  married  in  Oklahoma  to  Susan  A.  Crabtree  Morris, 
a widow.  Mrs.  Washington  has  a little  Indian  blood  in 
her  veins,  being  a one-sixty-fourth  blood  Creek.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Washington  have  four  children:  Marion  M., 
Sue,  E.  M.,  Jr.,  and  George. 

John  H.  Brennan,  of  Bartlesville,  is  a prominent 
lawyer  of  Oklahoma.  As  attorney  for  many  of  the  great 
oil  and  gas  companies  operating  in  the  state  he  has  han- 
dled a great  volume  of  litigation. 

Mr.  Brennan  is  the  general  counsel  for  the  great  nat- 
ural gas  pipe-line  interests  and  oil  interests  of  the  allied 
companies  known  as  the  Wichita  Natural  Gas  Company, 
Wichita  Pipe  Line  Company,  Quapaw  Gas  Company,  Em- 
pire Gas  & Fuel  Company  and  Indian  Territory  Illumi- 
nating Oil  Company,  operating  in  the  several  states  of 
the  Southwest. 

These  interests  are  known  as  the  Doherty  & Company 
interests. 

Mr.  Brennan  was  born  at  Oshkosh,  Wisconsin,  in  Sep- 
tember, 1861.  Largely  by  his  own  efforts  he  gained  a 
liberal  education,  attending  the  Wisconsin  Normal 
School  and  the  University  of  Wisconsin.  Admitted  to 
the  bar  in  1884,  he  was  engaged  in  general  practice  in 
Wisconsin  for  a number  of  years.  While  a resident  of 
Wisconsin  he  was  retained  by  the  Foster  Estate  of  Rhode 
Island  to  look  after  its  interests  involved  in  the  noted 
Foster  lease  on  the  Osage  Reservation  in  Indian  Terri- 
tory, which  he  handled  from  Wisconsin  from  1902  to 
1906,  when  he  came  to  Oklahoma  to  be  more  closely 
identified  with  it. 

Hon.  Charles  Martin,  who  in  1915  took  the  post  of 
mayor  of  Hominy,  has  long  been  identified  with  business 
affairs  in  the  Southwest,  is  a civil  engineer  by  profes- 
sion who  helped  construct  several  of  the  railroads  pene- 
trating Oklahoma,  and  in  the  handling  of  large  tracts  of 
land  and  the  improvement  of  real  estate  has  performed 
a notable  service  in  Osage  County. 

Born  in  the  rugged  mineral  section  of  Southern  Mis- 
souri, at  Pilot  Knob,  April  18,  1868,  he  is  a son  of  D.  F. 
and  Emily  (Franks)  Martin,  the  former  a native  of 
Tennessee  and  the  latter  of  Missouri.  His  father  was 
long  prominent  in  public  affairs  in  Missouri,  served  as  a 
major  in  a Missouri  regiment  with  the  Confederate 
army  throughout  the  war,  later  .became  sheriff  and  tax 
collector  in  Iron  County,  and  was  also  Circuit  Court  and 
Probate  judge  of  Howell  County.  He  died  at  Piedmont 
in  Wayne  County,  Missouri,  in  October,  1901,  at  the 
age  of  sixty-nine.  His  wife,  who  was  reared  at  Arcadia, 
Missouri,  died  at  Elkhart,  Indiana,  in  1913,  at  the  age 
of  sixty-nine.  The  father  was  a democrat  and  while'  liv- 
ing in  Howell  County  gained  the  public  offices  already 
mentioned  against  a normal  republican  majority,  and  in 
all  his  political  life  was  stronger  than  his  local  party. 
There  were  five  children:  George,  who  died  at  St.  Louis 
in  June,  1914;  Charles;  May,  wife  of  George  J.  Williams 
of  Elkhart,  Indiana;  Virginia,  wife  of  T.  M.  Polk  of 
Wayne  County,  Missouri;  and  Jessie,  wife  of  J.  W. 
Story,  who  is  a presiding  elder  of  the  Methodist  Epis- 
copal Church  South,  living  at  Claude,  Texas. 

Charles  Martin  was  reared  in  the  counties  of  Iron, 
Wayne  and  Howell,  in  his  native  state,  and  obtained  his 
education  by  self-efforts,  though  he  attended  district 
schools  for  a time  and,  was  also  under  the  instruction  of 
W.  D.  Vandiver  of  St.  Louis,  for  two  years.  He  left 
home  at  the  age  of  fourteen,  and  his  first  regular  em- 
ployment was  in  the  train  service  of  the  Iron  Mountain 
& Kansas  City  Road,  now  a part  of  the  Frisco  System. 


He  was  an  active  railroad  man  from  the  ages  of  nineteen 
to  twenty-eigiit,  and  then  engaged  in  mereuandising. 

At  the  age  of  twenty-eight  he  was  married  at  Siloam 
Springs,  Missouri,  to  Miss  Hallie  R.  Goodin,  who  was 
born  in  Missouri.  Mr.  Martin  soon  afterwards  engaged 
in  railroad  construction  work  as  a civil  engineer,  and  in 
that  capacity  was  connected  with  the  building  of  several 
lines  in  the  Southwestern  country.  His  last  work  was  as 
assistant  engineer  in  locating  the  route  of  the  Missouri, 
Kansas  & Texas  from  Coffeyville,  Kansas,  to  Oklahoma 
City,  which  was  finished  in  1902.  In  that  year  he  located 
in  Hominy,  spent  two  years  with  the  Osage  Allotment 
Commission,  and  for  six  months  was  with  the  Townsite 
Commission.  This  commission  platted  five  towns  in 
Osage  County.  Since  then  Mr.  Martin  has  been  largely 
engaged  in  the  leasing  of  pasture  lands  for  Texas  cattle 
men.  In  1911  he  assisted  in  organizing  the  Farmers 
State  Bank  at  Hominy  and  later  became  its  vice  presi- 
dent. His  business  is  now  largely  general  real  estate 
and  townsite  promotion,  with  John  L.  Freeman  as  part- 
ner, under  the  firm  name  of  Martin  & Freeman.  They 
leased  40,000  acres  of  land  from  William  Blair  of  Tulsa 
each  year.  In  a public  way  Mr.  Martin  has  been  active 
for  a number  of  years,  being  an  independent  democrat. 
For  several  years  he  served  as  police  judge,  and  in  1915 
was  elected  to  his  present  dignity  as  mayor.  In  Masonry 
he  has  taken  thirty-two  degrees  of  the  Scottish  Rite  and 
is  a member  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  is  a member  of  the 
Presbyterian  Church.  In  association  with  Mr.  Freeman 
he  has  constructed  a number  of  fine  residences  at  Hominy, 
and  his  own  home  is  one  of  the  attractive  bungalows  of 
the  town.  He  has  built  most  of  the  homes  on  Price 
Avenue  and  several  blocks  along  the  west  side. 

Mrs.  Elizabeth  Perkins,  of  Pawhuska,  is  a member 
of  the  celebrated  Chouteau  family,  which  so  far  as  his- 
torical records  go  was  the  first  white  family  to  locate 
in  what  is  now  the  State  of  Oklahoma.  Thus  Mrs. 
Perkins,  who  carried  in  her  veins  the  blood  of  those  en- 
terprising French  traders  whose  names  are  so  intimately 
linked  with  the  early  history  of  the  City  of  St.  Louis  as 
well  as  with  Oklahoma,  and  also  of  members  of  the 
Osage  Tribe,  is  one  of  the  most  interesting  women  of 
the  state. 

Quite  recently  in  an  article  that  appeared  in  local 
papers  the  editor  of  this  standard  history  of  Oklahoma 
called  attention  to  the  fact  that  Salina  is  the  site  of 
the  first  white  settlement  in  Oklahoma.  There  in  1796 
a trading  post  was  established  by  the  Chouteaus  of  St. 
Louis.  The  Chouteau  brothers  were  mere  lads  when  they 
were  brought  to  St.  Louis  at  the  time  of  the  first  settle- 
ment in  1764.  They  had  grown  up  in  the  Indian  trade 
and  for  many  years  had  a practical  monopoly  of  that 
of  the  Osage  Tribe,  the  members  of  which  were  several 
times  as  numerous  as  they  are  now. 

In  1795  Manual  Lisa,  a Creole  Spaniard,  secured  from 
the  Spanish  governor  general  of  the  Province  of  Louisi- 
ana an  exclusive  concession  or  monopoly  of  trading  with 
the  Indians  of  the  valley  of  the  Missouri  and  those  of  all 
its  tributaries.  As  the  Osage  Indians  spent  most  of  their 
time  in  the  valley  of  the  Osage  River  and  as  the  Osage 
River  was  a tributary  of  the  Missouri,  it  followed  that 
the  Chouteaus  would  lose  the  lucrative  business  which 
they  had  built  up  among  the  Osages.  However,  there 
was  nothing  to  prevent  the  Chouteaus  from  trading  with 
the  Osages  at  any  place  outside  the  watershed  of  the 
Missouri.  Accordingly  the  members  of  this  enterprising 
firm  busied  themselves  in  inducing  a large  part  of  the 
Osages  to  move  over  and  settle  in  the  valleys  of  the 
Neosho  (or  Grand)  and  Verdgris  rivers  in  Southern 
Kansas  and  Northern  Oklahoma.  The  establishment  of 
the  trading  post  in  the  valley  of  the  Grand  River,  in 


' 


£ 

Cl 

0 

s< 


P' 


now, 

itilli 

which 

fepla 

on  tie 
Dal  ro 
liiillii 
He  ye; 
Hat  se 
W stc 
ind  tl 
Min 
frier  fc 
[rowino 

f tie' 
frontier 
Wii  ri< 
Hoiih 

winded 
nrposes 
Hie!  is 

lenity  fr 
it  marie 
ft  was 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2175 


a 

se 

it. 

151 

jy 

id 

ihe 

m 

% 

of 

rice 


iber  ; 
his- 

cate  l 
Mis.  ' 
ea- 

itely  I 
is  as  ' 
tie  j 
a of 

local 
homa  : 
te  of  5 
1196 
)i  St. 
i they 
..•tie- 
trade  ! 
[that 
. coral 

1 from 
Louisl- 
I®  with 
e of  all 
iftleia 
> Osage 
ed  that! 

5 erf 

r,  tea 

ignitl 
of  tie 
•rprisio? 
t of  the 
j of  the- 
Southen 
nett  of 
giver,  in 


Mayes  County,  on  the  present  site  of  the  Town  of 
Salina,  followed  shortly  afterward.  The  selection  of  this 
site  was  doubtless  influenced  by  its  proximity  to  the 
Saline  Springs  which  made  the  manufacture  of  salt 

P°Theleestablishment  of  a trading  post  in  this  remote 
wilderness  brought  a retinue  of  hunters,  trappers,  trad- 
ers, clerks  and  other  employees  to  live  there.  Probably 
most  of  these  were  Creole  French,  from  Canada,  Louisi- 
ana and  the  French  settlements  in  Illinois,  Missouri  and 
Arkansas,  but  there  were  doubtless  several  who  were  o± 
Spanish  or  Anglo-American  antecedents.  In  common 
with  the  customs  of  the  time  many  if  not  most  of  these 
contracted  matrimonial  alliances  with  women  of  the 
Osage  Tribe.  So  it  is  not  improbable  that  there  were 
several  families  who  were  prominent  residents  of  the 
post  from  the  date  of  its  establishment.  Prior  to  1820 
a number  of  the  half  blood  French  Osage  offsprings  of 
this  community  at  the  Chouteau  trading  post  settled  a 
few  miles  lower  down  the  valley  on  the  opposite  side  o± 
the  Grand  River  in  the  vicinity  of  the  mouth  of  Chouteau 
Creek.  The  location  of  this  French-Osage  settlement  was 
probably  the  consideration  which  most  influenced  Rev. 
Epaphrus  Chapman  in  selecting  the  site  for  the  estab- 
lishment of  the  Union  Mission,  located  about  seven  miles 
southeast  of  the  Town  of  Chouteau  in  1820. 

At  some  time  subsequent  to  1815  the  Chouteau  trad- 
ing post  passed  into  the  possession  of  Col.  Auguste  P. 
Chouteau  and  his  brother  Paul.  Colonel  Chouteau  con- 
tinued to  make  his  home  at  this  place  until  his  death, 
which  occurred  in  the  winter  of  1838-39,  though  a large 
part  of  his  trading  operations  had  been  transferred  to 
other  points  after  steam  navigation  was  introduced  upon 
the  Upper  Arkansas  as  far  as  Fort  Gibson.  Washington 
Irving  visited  Colonel  Chouteau  here  in  the  fall  of  1832, 
having  brought  letters  of  introduction  from  the  kinsmen 
of  the  latter  in  St.  Louis. 

Shortly  after  the  death  of  Colonel  Chouteau  the  body 
of  the  Cherokee  Tribe  of  Indians  migrated  to  the  Indian 
Territory  and  the  site  of  the  Chouteau  trading  post  hav- 
ing been  included  within  the  limits  of  the  Cherokee 
Nation,  the  property  passed  into  the  hands  of  Lewis 
Ross,  a brother  of  Chief  John  Ross.  After  the  death 
of  Lewis  Ross  it  was  acquired  by  the  Cherokee  tribal 
government  and  it  then  became  the  seat  of  the  Cherokee 
Orphan  Asylum.  The  last  of  the  log  buildings  of  the 
Chouteau  trading  post  was  said  to  have  been  destroyed 
during  the  Civil  war.  No  vestige  of  any  of  them  remains 
now,  though  several  uneven  places  in  the  ground  are 
still  noticeable,  together  with  a few  fragments  of  rock 
which  were  probably  left  when  the  remains  of  ruined 
fireplaces  and  chimneys  were  carted  away.  The  site  was 
on  the  edge  of  the  second  bottom  just  north  of  the  origi- 
nal road  to  the  ferry.  It  was  in  a thicket  until  the 
building  of  the  Missouri,  Oklahoma  & Gulf  Railroad  in 
the  year  of  1912.  One  noticeable  feature  was  the  fact 
that  several  ailanthus  trees  were  growing  where  the  post 
had  stood.  This  species  is  not  a native  one  in  Oklahoma 
and  there  are  no  other  specimens  growing  in  the  sur- 
rounding country.  Another  noteworthy  fact  was  that 
prior  to  the  building  of  the  railroad  the  fleur-de-lis  was 
growing  wild  in  and  about  the  thicket,  a mute  reminder 
of  the  loyalty  of  the  French  people  of  the  western 
frontier  to  la  belle  France.  As  already  stated,  the  rail- 
road right  of  way  occupies  a part  of  the  site  of  the 
■Chouteau  trading  post.  Fortunately,  the  rest  of  it  is 
included  in  the  south  end  of  the  block  reserved  for  park 
purposes  when  the  town  site  was  platted  and  opposite 
which  is  the  depot  location.  This  will  afford  an  oppor- 
tunity for  the  people  of  Oklahoma  to  place  a monument 
■or  marker  upon  the  site  of  the  old  trading  post. 

It  was  in  the  locality  of  the  old  trading  post  that  Mrs. 

Vol.  V— 27 


Perkins’  father,  Legess  Chouteau,  spent  many  of  his 
years.  He  was  born  in  Missouri,  but  was  educated  at 
the  old  Hominy  Mission.  Legess  Chouteau’s  mother  was 
a full  blood  Osage,  while  his  father  was  one  of  the 
French  traders  of  that  name.  The  elder  Chouteau  had 
been  appointed  a United  States  Indian  agent  in  1826, 
and  died  on  the  Grand  River  in  the  home  that,  as  already 
stated,  subsequently  became  the  orphanage  for  the  Cher- 
okee Indians. 

Legess  Chouteau  died  at  Pawhuska  when  about  sixty 
years  of  age.  For  many  years  he  served  as  a Government 
interpreter  for  the  Osage  Tribe.  He  also  accompanied 
the  nine  full  blooded  Osage  scouts  who  were  engaged  by 
General  Custer  to  trail  “Sitting  Bull’’  and  his  band  in 
the  Northwest,  and  for  six  months  he  acted  as  interpreter 
between  the  scouts  and  the  general.  He  had  become  an 
interpreter  soon  after  leaving  school,  being  first  employed 
in  that  capacity  by  the  American  Fur  Company  in  Mis- 
souri. While  the  Osages  were  living  in  Southern  Kansas 
Legess  Chouteau  helped  to  hew  the  logs  for  the  building 
of  the  first  Catholic  Mission,  now  St.  Paul,  Kansas. 

Legess  Chouteau  was  twice  married,  having  eight  chil- 
dren by  his  first  wife  and  two  by  the  second.  The  chil- 
dren of  the  first  mariage  were:  Mary  Ellen  Foraker; 
Joseph;  Charles;  Augusta  Donavan,  who  is  still  living  in 
Osage  County;  Lewis;  Elizabeth,  now  Mrs.  Perkins; 
Gesso;  and  Palisia.  All  these  are  now  deceased  except 
Mrs.  Donavan  and  Mrs.  Perkins.  The  two  children  of 
the  second  marriage  were : Mrs.  Lena  Robinson,  who  lived 
at  Adamson,  Oklahoma;  and  Henry,  of  Pawnee  County. 

Mrs.  Perkins  grew  up  among  the  Osage  Tribe  and  has 
many  interesting  associations  with  this  section  of  Okla- 
homa. She  first  married  John  Ross.  By  that  union  there 
were  four  children,  both  sons  dying  young,  while  her  two 
daughters  still  living  are:  Emma,  wife  of  Clement  de 
Noya  of  Osage  County,  and  Ella,  wife  of  C.  C Haven  of 
Osage  County.  Mrs.  Perkins  for  her  second  husband 
married  John  Kilbie.  There  are  also  two  children  of  this 
marriage:  Coene,  wife  of  William  Leesey  of  Osage 
County;  and  Earl,  of  Chautauqua  Springs,  Kansas. 

In  September,  1895,  Mrs.  Kilbie  became  the  wife  of 
Dr.  S.  W.  Perkins.  Doctor  Perkins  was  born  near  "Van 
Buren,  Arkansas,  March  1,  1858.  After  the  war  his 
parents  located  in  the  Cherokee  Nation,  and  he  grew 
up  in  Northern  Oklahoma  and  Southern  Kansas,  but 
since  1884  has  been  a resident  of  Osage  County.  In 
1886  he  graduated  from  the  dental  department  of  the 
University  of  Michigan,  and  soon  afterwards  began  prac- 
tice in  the  Osage  country,  and  continued  the  active  work 
of  his  profession  until  1900.  Since  then  he  has  employed 
his  time  in  looking  after  his  extensive  ranching  and 
real  estate  interests.  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Perkins  have  a 
fine  farm  of  480  acres  five  miles  west  of  Pawhuska. 

John  McMullen.  In  the  office  of  municipal  com- 
mission of  highways  and  public  improvements  in  the  City 
of  Bartlesville,  the  metropolis  and  judicial  center  of 
Washington  County,  Mr.  McMullen  has  found  ample 
scope  for  the  effective  manifestation  of  his  progressive- 
ness and  public  spirit  and  he  is  one  of  the  valued  and 
popular  officials  of  this  vigorous  and  important  city.  He 
has  been  prominently  identified  with  operations  in  the  oil 
fields  of  this  section  of  the  state  and  has  been  concerned 
with  this  line  of  enterprise  since  his  youth,  his  experience 
having  been  wide  and  varied  and  having  touched  various 
states  in  the  Union. 

Mr.  McMullen  was  born  at  Batavia,  Genesee  County, 
New  York,  on  the  31st  of  July,  1871,  and  is  a son  of 
Maurice  and  Catherine  (Canbell)  McMullen,  both  like- 
wise natives  of  the  old  Empire  State,  where  the  former 
was  born  in  Niagara  County  and  the  latter  in  Wyoming 
County.  The  father  died  at  Arcade,  Wyoming  County, 


2176 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


in  1907,  at  the  age  of  sixty -five  years,  and  his  widow  still 
resides  at  that  place,  in  which  her  birth  occurred. 
Maurice  McMullen  was  prominently  concerned  with  oil 
operations  in  the  fields  of  Pennsylvania  for  a number  of 
years  and  his  activities  in  this  line  likewise  extended  into 
his  native  state.  He  was  an  energetic  and  duly  success- 
ful business  man  and  resided  for  varying  intervals  at 
different  places  in  the  State  of  New  York,  including 
Olean,  Batavia  and  Arcade.  He  represented  his  native 
commonwealth  as  a gallant  soldier  of  the  Union  in  the 
Civil  war,  in  which  he  served  as  a member  of  Company 
L,  Eighth  New  York  Heavy  Artillery.  He  was  with  this 
command  about  two  years,  participated  in  a number  of 
important  battles,  and  his  regiment  was  a part  of  the 
Second  Army  Corps  under  General  Hancock,  being  in 
front  of  Petersburg  at  the  time  of  the  surrender  of 
General  Lee.  Mr.  McMullen  participated  in  the  Grand 
Review  of  the  victorious  but  jaded  troops  in  the  City  of 
Washington  at  the  close  of  the  war  and  in  later  years  he 
perpetuated  his  interest  in  his  old  comrades  through  his 
active  affiliation  with  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic. 
His  political  allegiance  was  given  unreservedly  to  the 
democratic  party  and  he  was  a man  who  commanded 
the  respect  and  esteem  of  all  who  knew  him.  Of  the  four 
children  the  subject  of  this  review  is  the  eldest:  Maurice 
J.  is  a resident  of  Drumright,  Creek  County,  Oklahoma; 
Elizabeth  is  deceased;  Mary  Jane  is  the  wife  of  Walter 
J.  McCormack,  a farmer  near  North  Java,  Wyoming 
County,  New  York. 

John  McMullen  acquired  his  early  education  in  the  pub- 
lic schools  of  New  York  and  Pennsylvania,  his  parents 
having  removed  to  Butler  County  in  the  latter  state  when 
he  was  a child  and  his  father  having  become  a prominent 
figure  in  oil  operations  in  that  district.  As  a youth  Mr. 
McMullen  was  thus  enabled  to  acquire  practical  experi- 
ence in  connection  with  the  oil-producing  business,  and  in 
1893  he  went  to  the  oil  fields  of  Indiana,  where  he  became 
associated  with  his  uncle,  Prank  Campbell,  and  others  in 
the  oil-producing  enterprise.  In  October,  1898,  he  went 
to  Los  Angeles,  California,  and  after  being  identified 
for  some  time  with  oil  operations  in  that  section  of  the 
Golden  State  he  made  his  way  to  the  oil  fields  of  Wyom- 
ing and  became  associated  with  the  American  Consoli- 
dated Oil  Company.  In  1903  he  was  identified  with  the 
same  line  of  enterprise  at  Chanute  and  other  points  in 
Kansas,  and  the  following  year  recorded  his  arrival  at 
Bartlesville,  Oklahoma,  where  he  found  requisition  for 
his  services  as  an  expert  in  the  oil  fields  of  this,  locality, 
his  activities  having  extended  also  into  the  celebrated  oil 
fields  of  Texas.  He  has  thus  kept  in  close  touch  with 
the  development  of  the  various  new  fields  of  the  West 
and  may  well  be  considered  an  authority  in  practical 
details  of  oil  production. 

Mr.  McMullen  has  never  deviated  from  the  line  of 
strict  allegiance  to  the  cause  of  the  democratic  party 
and  has  been  an  active  worker  in  its  ranks.  In  1913 
he  was  elected  to  his  present  responsible  office  of  com- 
missioner of  highways  and  public  improvements  in  the 
City  of  Bartlesville,  and  he  has  been  indefatigable  and 
circumspect  in  the  discharge  of  his  executive  functions. 
Prior  to  assuming  this  office  he  has  served  two  years 
as  deputy  sheriff  ox  Washington  County. 

Mr.  McMullen  is  a prominent  representative  in  Okla- 
homa of  the  time  honored  Masonic  fraternity,  in  which  he 
has  received  the  thirty-second  .degree  of  the  Ancient 
Accepted  Scottish  Rite.  His  ancient  craft  affiliation  is 
with  Bartlesville  Lodge,  No.  284,  Ancient  Free  & Ac- 
cepted Masons,  of  which  he  is  past  master,  and  he  is 
past  patron  of  Bartlesville  Chapter,  Order  of  the  Eastern 
Star,  with  which  his  wife  likewise  is  affiliated.  He  has 
been  specially  active  in  the  affairs  of  the  York  Rite 
bodies  with  which  he  is  identified  and  is  at  the  present 


time,  1915,  representative  of  the  same  before  the  Con-  I 
necticut  Grand  Lodge. 

In  October,  1905,  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  1 
McMullen  to  Mrs.  Nettie  Adkins,  who  was  born  in  I 
Indiana  and  who  is  a daughter  of  Nathan  and  Oetavia  H 
Lounsbury.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  McMullen  have  no  children 
but  Mrs.  McMullen  has  one  daughter  by  her  previous 
marriage,  Oetavia  Adkins,  who  is  a member  of  the 
home  circle. 

George  C.  Priestley.  One  of  the  best  known  and 
influential  men  in  all  Oklahoma  is  George  C.  Priestley, 
whose  home  since  1904  has  been  in  Bartlesville.  Mr.  JJ 

Priestley  is  primarily  an  oil  man,  an  industry  with 
which  he  became  acquainted  in  Western  Pennsylvania  ' 
while  growing  to  manhood.  His  mature  years  have 
brought  many  distinctions  and  achievements.  A few  ° 

years  ago  he  was  regarded  as  the  largest  individual  oil  [J 

operator  in  Oklahoma,  and  possibly  the  largest  in  the 
United  States.  He  has  helped  to  build  and  operate  many  ? 
miles  of  electric  railway  lines  in  the  Southwest,  and  has 
recently  concluded  improvements  and  extensions  which 
make  the  system  of  waterworks  at  Bartlesville  the  best  in  J 

the  state  for  a city  of  the  size.  His  financial  and  busi-  01 

ness  connections  are  numerous,  and  his  name  is  one  of  * 

national  prominence  in  politics.  He  became  identified  jf 

with  the  progressive  movement  in  the  summer  of  1912,  j 

and  was  made  chairman  of  the  finance  committee  of  the  ,/ 

national  progressive  party. 

George  C.  Priestley  was  born  at  Houlton,  Maine,  June  llle 

10,  1862.  He  is  of  Scotch  ancestry.  His  grandfather,  “ 

George  Calvin  Priestley,  was  born  in  Scotland  in  1802,  j, 

was  a graduate  of  the  University  of  Edinburg,  and  came 
to  America  late  in  the  ’20s.  He  was  an  engineer  by  f,011 
profession,  and  was  a prominent  man  both  in  Maine  and  f, 
other  sections  of  the  United  States.  During  the  ! 
threatened  war  around  the  Maine-Canada  boundary  he  ,™ 
was  employed  to  locate  many  of  the  defenses  erected  by  w,,| 
the  United  States  near  the  boundary.  The  trouble  was  L™ 
finally  settled  by  arbitration.  He  became  identified  with  ari 
the  lumber  business,  and  during  the  ’60s  was  in  the  I™' 
service  of  Jay  Cook  in  the  construction  of  the  Union  |iM! 
Pacific  Railway,  and  lost  heavily  in  the  memorable  ?.°° 
“Black  Friday”  of  1873.  He  was  also  engaged  in  trad-  , 
ing  with  the  Indians  along  the  western  frontier,  and  111  ete 
spent  his  last  years  in  Minnesota,  where  he  died  in  1884,  ?tss  1 
and  was  buried  at  Brainerd  in  that  state.  He  was  the  j1  J® 
father  of  one  son  and  two  daughters. 

George  C.  Priestley  is  a son  of  George  C.  and  Mattie  j™  81 
(Pollock)  Priestley,  both  of  whom  were  born  in  the  We?al 
State  of  Maine.  His  father  lived  in  Maine  until  the  t81ar‘ 
Civil  war  and  then  entered  the  service  of  the  Union  army  f?  cre 
as  a private  in  the  Fifteenth  Maine  Regiment  and  con-  eI® 
tinued  a soldier  until  the  close  of  the  war.  He  then  Seon 
moved  to  the  oil  fields  in  Western  Pennsylvania,  and  be-  ®re8l 
came  prominent  in  the  oil  well  supply  business  during  11 
the  early  history  of  that  industry.  In  1873  he  suffered  r*f 
a fracture  of  his  skull  and  was  practically  an  invalid  ■ 
for  many  years  and  died  from  the  effects  of  the  accident 
in  1892  at  Pleasantville,  Venango  County,  Pennsylvania.  “W 
His  widow  continued  to  livp  in  Pennsylvania  until  her 
death  in  1911.  She  was  the  mother  of  five  sons  and  three-  !fl?lier 
daughters,  George  C.  being  the  oldest  child. 

Mr.  Priestley  spent  his  early  life  in  Pennsylvania,  ,*■  f 
and  left  school  when  a mere  boy  to  take  up  practical  I*,®! 
affairs.  He  was  employed  in  a store  at  Pleasantville,  and  l ls  & 
one  of  his  first  employers  was  the  late  Sam  Q.  Brown,  at 
one  time  president  of  the  Tidewater  Oil  Company,  a ®IP:  G 
subsidiary  organization  of  the  Standard  Oil.  Mr.  <ll:iii:i:ir 
Priestley  soon  got  into  the  oil  business,  and  oil  has  been 
a study  with  him  for  many  years,  and  he  is  familiar  with-  ■ • W, 
all  phases,  producing,  refining  and  marketing.  FromJ,re  (hi 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2177 


Pennsylvania  he  moved  to  Bartlesville  in  1904,  about  the 
time  the  Oklahoma  oil  fields  were  coming  into  prominence, 
and  operated  on  an  extensive  scale  until  1909,  when  he 
sold  some  of  his  most  valuable  holdings  to  an  English 
syndicate.  However,  he  has  continued  to  be  interested 
in  the  industry,  though  many  other  concerns  have  taken 
much  of  his  time.  Mr.  Priestley  bought  and  recon- 
structed the  waterworks  system  of  Bartlesville,  and  dur- 
ing the  past  eighteen  months  has  spent  $100,000  in 
improvements.  The  Bartlesville  Waterworks  Plant  repre- 
sents an  investment  of  $250,000.  Mr.  Priestley  was  also 
president  of  the  local  stock  company  which  constructed 
the  Maire  Hotel  at  Bartlesville,  at  a cost  of  $135,000,  a 
handsome  five-story  hotel  building  that  would  be  a credit 
to  a city  twice  the  size.  This  hotel  was  constructed  by 
local  citizens  for  the  good  of  the  town  and  not  as  an 
investment.  Mr.  Priestley  has  also  been  a director  of 
the  Union  National  Bank  at  Bartlesville  since  its  reor- 
ganization. This  bank  has  total  resources,  according  to  a 
statement  of  March,  1915,  of  nearly  $1,200,000,  and 
its  deposits  aggregate  more  than  $1,000,000.  M.  F. 
Stillwell  is  president,  and  all  the  other  officers  and  direc- 
tors are  well  known  and  substantial  men  in  south- 
western financial  affairs.  Mr.  Priestley  acquired  a ma- 
jority of  the  stock  in  this  institution,  and  brought  about 
the  reorganization. 

He  is  also  president  of  the  Union  Traction  Company  of 
Kansas.  This  company  has  fully  100  miles  of  electric 
lines  in  operation,  connecting  Coffeyville,  Independ- 
ence, Cherryvale  and  Parsons.  These  roads  were  built 
by  Mr.  Priestley  associated  with  eastern  capitalists.  Mr. 
Priestley  has  been  a power  for  good  at  Bartlesville  in 
conriection  with  various  local  betterments,  particularly 
the  upbuilding  of  schools  and  churches.  He  is  chairman 
of  the  board  of  trustees  of  the  Presbyterian  Church. 
Fraternally  he  is  a Mason,  and  a member  of  a number 
of  clubs,  societies  and  civic  organizations.  The  only 
political  office  he  ever  held  was  that  of  treasurer  of 
Warren  County,  Pennsylvania.  He  is  one  of  the  largest 
realty  holders  in  Oklahoma  and  Texas.  During  the 
Spanish-American  war  he  very  materially  assisted  General 
Wood. 

Mr.  Priestley ’s  political  career  has  been  one  of  dis- 
interested service.  He  is  a practical  and  successful  busi- 
ness man,  and  has  always  believed  in  the  square  deal 
in  political  life.  He  came  into  national  prominence 
during  the  campaign  of  1912,  when  he  upset  the  republi- 
can machine  in  Oklahoma  and  gave  Boosevelt  his  first 
delegate  to  the  national  convention.  Colonel  Roosevelt’s 
remark,  ‘ ‘ Oklahoma  turned  the  trick,  ’ ’ gives  Mr.  Priest- 
ley credit  for  starting  the  movement  which  resulted  in 
the  practical  disorganization  of  the  republican  party  at 
its  convention  of  that  year.  Mr.  Priestley  entered  that 
convention  as  a republican  of  the  progressive  type,  and 
later  was  one  of  the  many  who  repudiated  the  actions 
of  the  convention  leaders  and  brought  about  the  organiza- 
tion of  a new  party.  Mr.  Priestley  resigned  as  national 
committeeman  of  the  republican  party  for  Oklahoma  on 
August  1st,  and  soon  afterwards  was  made  national 
committeeman  of  the  progressive  party,  and  became  a 
member  of  its  executive  committee  and  was  then  made 
chairman  of  the  finance  committee. 

Mr.  Priestley  was  married  in  1885  to  Miss  Ruland 
(of  Pennsylvania.  They  are  the  parents  of  five  children : 
Lillis  B.,  who  is  associated  with  his  father  in  business; 
Hazel,  wife  of  Paul  R.  Johnson  of  Bartlesville;  Bessie,  at 
home;  George  C.,  Jr.,  connected  with  the  Union  Oil 
Company  of  Tulsa;  and  Helen,  at  home. 

B.  W.  Key.  If  there  is  one  firm  name  that  means 
[more  than  any  other  to  the  old  timers  of  Western  Okla- 
homa as  well  as  to  the  present  generation,  it  is  the  York- 


Key  Mercantile  Company.  In  the  days  when  this 
organization  sold  supplies  to  ranches  and  cattle  men  all 
over  the  Southwest,  the  company  had  a highly  developed 
organization  for  supplying  goods  to  all  points,  whether 
on  the  railroad  or  not.  In  later  years  the  company’s 
business  is  almost  entirely  confined  to  lumber  and  build- 
ing material.  The  present  headquarters  of  the  York-Key 
Mercantile  Company  are  at  Woodward,  Oklahoma,  but 
the  company  maintains  a number  of  branch  yards  all 
over  the  Southwest. 

The  junior  member  of  this  firm  is  B.  W.  Key,  who 
was  born  in  Alabama  and  has  been  associated  with  this 
firm  for  thirty  years.  He  first  became  identified  with 
the  firm  of  York-Parker-Draper  Mercantile  Company. 
Under  this  title  the  company  carried  on  an  exceedingly 
extensive  business,  handling  supplies  for  cattle  men  and 
ranchers  and  maintained  several  branches  in  Western 
and  Southern  Kansas,  during  which  time  he  came  to 
know  all  of  the  old  ranchers  and  cattle  men  in  the 
Panhandle  of  Texas  and  Western  Kansas  and  Oklahoma. 
In  a few  years  Mr.  Key  had  risen  to  a partnership  in 
this  firm.  He  was  a very  business-like  and  astute  young 
man,  a hard  worker,  could  be  relied  upon  to  make  every 
promise  good,  and  for  many  years  the  people  of  Okla- 
homa as  well  as  elsewhere  have  looked  upon  him  as  one 
of  the  foremost  business  men.  After  the  deaths  of 
Messrs.  Parker  and  Draper,  he  became  a full  partner 
to  F.  B.  York  and  the  present  firm  style  of  York-Key 
Mercantile  Company  was  originated.  It  has  been  a very 
successful  business,  and  has  done  a great  deal  to  develop 
many  of  the  towns  of  the  Southwest.  Although  Mr. 
York  died  December  19,  1915,  he,  too,  like  Mr.  Key, 
will  always  be  remembered  for  his  many  notable  achieve- 
ments and  as  a grand,  good  man — and  this  is  said  by 
the  writer  of  this  sketch,  who  knew  him  well  for  almost 
half  a century  and  knew  him  to  stand  the  acid  test  in 
the  different  walks  of  life. 

In  1893,  at  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  Strip,  Mr. 
Key  went  to  Woodward  and  opened  for  his  firm  the 
first  mercantile  house  in  the  town.  The  Key  Building 
and  the  Post  Office  Building  are  two  of  the  most  mod- 
ern business  blocks  in  Woodward  or  in  Western  Okla- 
homa, and  that  is  only  two  of  the  many  monuments  to 
Mr.  Key’s  personal  enterprise  and  public  spirit.  His 
company  were  among  the  first  to  operate  a general  store 
and  line  of  lumber  yards  in  this  section  of  Western  Okla- 
homa, and  in  neary  every  live  and  bustling  Oklahoma 
town  is  to  be  found  tangible  evidence  of  the  influence 
and  enterprise  of  this  company.  A few  years  ago  the 
company  closed  out  its  mercantile  stores  and  is  now 
confining  the  business  to  a line  of  lumber  yards. 

Thus,  for  more  than  twenty  years,  Mr.  Key  has 
through  his  individual  enterprise  and  through  the  com- 
pany of  which  he  is  the  active  head,  been  closely  identi- 
fied with  the  welfare  and  benefit  of  Western  Oklahoma. 

Those  who  have  observed  his  activities  and  influence 
most  closely  are  positive  in  their  assertions  and  belief 
that  no  one  has  done  more  to  promote  the  welfare  of  the 
Town  of  Woodward  and  the  schools  of  Woodward,  or 
the  town  and  school  interests  of  any  other  place  in  North- 
western Oklahoma,  where  one  of  the  York-Key  Lumber 
Yards  is  located,  than  Mr.  Key  himself.  It  is  said  that 
he  has  always  instructed  his  men  to  vote  for  any  measure 
for  the  permanent  advancement  of  the  town  and  espe- 
cially the  schools  and  county  roads.  He  has  done  this 
notwithstanding  the  fact  that  he  had  no  children  of  his 
own  to  educate  and  realized  that  voting  for  such  meas- 
ure would  increase  the  taxes  on  his  property.  That  is 
the  quality  of  public  spirit  such  as  few  business  men 
can  exemplify. 

Mr.  Key  is  now  living  retired  in  a comfortable  home 
in  Galveston,  Texas.  He  is  connected  with  some  of  the 


2178 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


chief  financial  interests  of  that  city,  and  is  president  of 
the  Security  Trust  Company  of  Galveston,  a three  hun- 
dred thousand  dollar  corporation;  is  president  of  the 
Gulf  Lumber  Company  of  Galveston;  vice  president  of 
the  City  National  Bank  of  Galveston;  and  a director  of 
the  American  National  Insurance  Company  of  Galveston. 

Samuel  Ecker.  A great  many  citizens  of  Texas 
County  know  Samuel  Ecker  only  in  his  capacity  of 
United  States  Commissioner  and  through  his  active  rela- 
tions as  a citizen  of  Guymon  and  with  the  real  estate 
and  loan  business  there.  However,  he  has  had  many 
other  experiences,  and  has  traveled  about  the  western 
world  a great  deal,  has  been  in  many  of  the  most 
noted  mining  districts  of  both  North  and  Central  and 
Southern  America,  and  for  two  years  he  was  a United 
States  soldier  in  the  Philippine  Islands.  In  fact,  he 
comes  of  a military  family,  and  his  father  gained  the 
rank  of  colonel  in  the  Confederate  army  during  the  war 
between  the  states. 

He  was  born  June  27,  1872,  at  3036  Lucas  Avenue  in 
St.  Louis,  Missouri,  a son  of  Samuel  and  Margaret 
(Gerbig)  Ecker.  His  father,  who  was  born  in  1837,  in 
France,  came  along  to  America  at  the  age  of  twelve 
years,  locating  at  New  Orleans..  From  there  he  went 
up  the  river  by  steamer  to  St.  Louis,  but  at  the  outbreak 
of  the  Civil  war  returned  to  the  South  and  enlisted  in 
the  Confederate  army  with  a Louisiana  regiment.  He  was 
in  active  service  until  the  close  of  hostilities,  and  was 
mustered  out  with  the  rank  of  colonel.  After  the  war 
he  returned  to  St.  Louis,  and  became  a hotel  man.  It 
was  in  the  hotel  business  that  he  was  actively  engaged 
until  he  retired,  and  many  thousands  of  travelers  have 
known  him  as  a genial  and  successful  bonifaee.  From 
St.  Louis  in  1888  he  moved  to  El  Paso,  Texas,  and  was 
at  the  head  of  a hotel  there  until  it  burned  in  1892. 
From  there  he  went  to  Denver,  Colorado,  conducted  a 
hotel  until  1900,  and  has  since  lived  retired,  his  home 
being  now  in  Chicago.  In  1865  Samuel  Ecker,  Sr.,  mar- 
ried Miss  Margaret  Gerbig,  who  was  born  in  Germany 
November  20,  1845.  Six  children  were  born  to  their  union, 
two  sons  and  four  daughters,  namely:  Emma  Margaret, 
born  February  9,  1886,  is  now  the  wife  of  Major  James 
E.  Normoyle  of  the  United  States  Army  and  they  have 
one  child  named  Margaret;  Anna  Laura,  born  February 
12,  1868,  is  the  wife  of  Eugene  C.  Morton  of  Chicago  and 
their  one  child  is  named  Eugene  Ecker;  Samuel,  Jr.; 
Helen  Marie,  born  February  17,  1876,  is  unmarried  and 
living  with  her  parents  in  Chicago;  Jessie  Dorothy, 
born  February  20,  1878.  is  also  at  home  with  her  par- 
ents; Eugene  Chester,  born  December  20,  1880,  recently 
retired  from  the  United  States  regular  army  with  the 
rank  of  second  lieutenant. 

Samuel  Ecker,  Jr.,  was  reared  and  educated  in  his 
native  city  of  St.  Louis,  and  completed  his  education  in 
the  Christian  Brothers  College.  After  that  he  spent 
four  years  in  Mexico,  in  the  gold  mines  of  that  country. 
He  continued  his  adventurous  life  in  the  Latin  Ameri- 
can Republic  by  a prospecting  tour  through  Central  and 
South  America,  but  finally  returned  to  the  States  and 
was  living  at  Pueblo,  Colorado,  at  the  outbreak  of  the 
Spanish-Ameriean  war.  At  the  first  call  for  volunteers 
he  enlisted  in  Company  A of  the  First  Colorado  Regi- 
ment, United  States  Volunteer  Infantry.  He  was  mus- 
tered in  May  1,  1898,  the  day  of  Dewey’s  great  victory 
in  Manila  Bay,  and  soon  afterwards  sailed  as  a private 
on  June  15th  for  the  Philippine  Islands.  He  was  gone 
two  years,  and  participated  in  many  of  the  campaigns 
which  finally  brought  about  the  subjugation  of  the  Fil- 
ipinos and  eventually  returned  with  his  command  to 
San  Francisco,  where  he  was  mustered  out  in  September, 
1900.  At  that  time  he  was  regimental  sergeant  major. 


After  leaving  the  army  Mr.  Ecker  engaged  in  the  real 
estate  and  oil  business  in  Indiana  for  three  years.  In 
1903  he  came  to  Oklahoma,  was  at  Oklahoma  City  for 
several  years,  and  during  1905-06  was  an  assistant  secre- 
tary to  the  secretary  of  the  State  School  Land  Com- 
mission. In  1907  he  located  at  Guymon,  and  with  that 
city  he  has  since  been  closely  identified  not  only  as  a 
business  man  but  as  an  upbuilder  of  the  town.  In  1910 
he  was  appointed  United  States  Commissioner  for  the 
Western  District  of  Oklahoma.  Politically  he  has  always 
been  active  as  republican,  and  for  six  years  has  been 
chairman  of  the  Texas  County  Central  Committee.  Fra- 
ternally he  is  a thirty-second  degree  Scottish  Rite  Mason 
and  Shriner  and  also  a member  of  the  Benevolent  and 
Protective  Order  of  Elks.  He  and  his  family  are  mem- 
bers of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church. 

On  December  25,  1907,  at  Guthrie,  Oklahoma,  Mr. 
Ecker  married  Miss  Joan  Massey.  She  was  born  in 
Marshall  County,  Kansas,  August  14,  1883,  a daughter 
of  John  and  Said  (Allen)  Massey,  the  former  a native 
of  Ireland  and  the  latter  of  Illinois.  Her  parents  came 
to  Logan  County,  Oklahoma,  at  the  original  opening  on 
April  22,  1889,  and  her  father  and  mother  are  now 
living  retired  in  Guthrie.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ecker  have  one 
child,  Helen  Marie,  who  was  born  at  Guymon,  March  4, 
1909. 

William  H.  Lewis,  of  La verne  has  been  a partici- 
pant in  the  pioneer  activities  of  two  states,  Kansas 
and  Oklahoma.  He  came  to  Oklahoma  with  the 
opening  of  the  Cherokee  strip  in  1893,  and  for  many 
years  was  a factor  in  business  and  public  affairs 
in  old  Woods  County.  He  moved  to  Laverne  with  the 
opening  of  that  town,  as  is  now  proprietor  of  the 
Laverne  Electric  Light,  Ice  and  Power  Company. 

Still  a comparatively  young  man,  with  all  the  vigor 
of  his  prime,  he  was  born  August  22,  1870,  at  New 
Waterford,  Ohio,  a son  of  Stephen  and  Mary  (Schrum) 
Lewis.  His  father,  who  is  now  living  retired  at  Alva, 
Oklahoma,  is  a veterafi  of  the  Civil  war,  having  been 
for  three  years  a member  of  the  Twelfth  Ohio  Infantry 
under  the  late  President  William  McKinley,  who  was  a 
major  in  that  regiment.  Stephen  Lewis  was  born  in 
Indiana  April  5,  1836,  and  in  1859  was  married  in  Ma- 
honing County,  Ohio,  to  Miss  Mary  Ann  Schrum.  She 
was  born  in  Mahoning  County,  Ohio,  April  10,  1838,  a 
daughter  of  Joseph  Schrum,  a native  of  Germany.  She 
died  at  Alva,  Oklahoma,  September  14,  1900.  Through 
practically  all  her  years  she  was  a devoted  member  of 
the  Christian  Church.  There  were  ten  children,  six  sons 
and  four  daughters  namely:  Myron,  now  deceased;  Ollie, 
the  wife  of  Henry  Moore,  of  Ellsworth,  Kansas;  Rhoda, 
wife  of  W.  S.  Kessler,  a retired  farmer  at  Guthrie;  Wil- 
liam H. ; Ida,  wife  of  John  G.  Smith  of  Alva,  Oklahoma; 
Frank  J.,  farmer  at  Waynoka,  Oklahoma;  Charles  P. 
of  Beaver,  Oklahoma;  Elmira,  wife  of  Christopher  Web- 
ber, a merchant  at  Alva;  Clark  and  Arthur,  both  of 
whom  are  merchants  at  Canadian,  Texas. 

In  1876,  when  Wiliam  H.  Lewis  was  six  years  old, 
his  parents  removed  to  Russell  County,  Kansas,  where 
his  father  took  up  a tract  of  Government  land.  Later 
they  went  to  Fort  Kit  Carson,  Colorado,  where  at  the 
age  of  twelve  years  William  participated  in  a buffalo 
hunt.  About  the  same  time  he  made  a 300  mile 
horseback  ride  back  to  civilization  in  Kansas.  The 
first  school  he  ever  attended  was  at  Bunker  Hill, 
Kansas,  where  he  entered  as  a student  at  the  age  of 
fourteen.  After  attending  there  one  year  he  entered 
the  law  office  as  office  boy  of  Judge  James  Lewis,  an 
uncle,  at  Scotia,  Nebraska.  Having  read  law  three 
years  he  was  admitted  to  the  Nebraska  bar,  but  has 
never  followed  the  law  as  a profession. 


1 


i 

li 

L 

m 

I P1 
! ® 
at 

M 
i da 

: lat 
un: 
vet 
I gra 
1 isi 

J 

! mat 
j | ;■  • 

imdi 
I r self 
gove 
! oftl 
| ; later 
. task 
' Gove 
1! 

I IS 
[ Jame 
neers 
' a str 
f Linco 
[illinoi 
t Boseb 
J.  ( 
North 
was  a 
' Dakot 
; later  \ 
t ity  an 
, 1889 
i agency 
I of  Gen 
[licaalf 
he  was  r 
dent  0 
Preside) 
Mud  dn 
['  tendenc 
'I  excepfio 
f In  Ml 
Iffirilized 

Congress 

Nth  tie 

appointe. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2179 


e 

e 

IT 

ie 

4, 


as 
he 1 
ay 
its 
he 
he 

gar 
'ew  j 
ml 
Ira, 
ten  I 
itry 
■ 3 ! 
. in 
ill- 
She 
8,  a 
She 
jugh 
r of 
sons 

lie, 

ioda, 

Wil 

oma; 

s?; 

ff  ell- 
ill  of 

• Old, 

where 
Later 
it  the 
luffalo 
rail! 
Thl 


ns, a> 
tw 
at  la 


With  all  these  varied  activities  and  experiences  William 
H.  Lewis  lived  the  first  twenty-three  years  of  his  life, 
and  was  about  that  age  when  in  1893  he  participated 
in  the  opening  of  the  Cherokee  strip  in  Oklahoma.  He 
secured  a claim  in  the  southwest  portion  of  Woods 
County,  and  remained  there  to  develop  a good  farm  and 
cultivate  it  for  ten  years.  During  the  following  three 
years  he  conducted  a real  estate  business,  and  also  had 
a grocery  store  at  Alva,  of  which  city  he  was  a resident 
until  1912.  Then  with  the  opening  of  the  new  town- 
site  of  Laverne  he  joined  his  fortunes  with  a new 
community,  and  took  an  active  part  in  one  of  Okla- 
homa’s leading  agricultural  industries  by  buying  and 
shipping  broom  corn  on  a large  scale.  In  1915  he  se- 
cured a franchise  for  an  electric  system  in  Laverne, 
built  the  plant,  and  gave  that  town  the  first  electric 
light  service  in  that  section  of  the  state.  In  1915  Mr. 
Lewis  increased  his  public  utility  by  the  erection  of  a 
modern  building  in  which  he  installed  an  eight  ton  ice 
plant.  The  business  is  now  conducted  under  the  firm 
name  of  W.  H.  Lewis  & Son.  Fraternally  Mr.  Lewis  is 
an  Odd  Fellow. 

On  March  18,  1894,  at  Alva,  Oklahoma,  he  married 
Miss  Marcie  Keith,  who  was  born  in  Kentucky  in  1878,  a 
daughter  of  Bev.  E.  E.  Keith  of  Courtland,  Kansas,  also 
a native  of  Kentucky,  and  Mrs.  Lewis  is  a niece  of  the 
late  Governor  Gobel  of  Kentucky.  The  one  son  of  their 
union  is  Elmer  Eeed  Lewis,  who  was  born  at  Alva  No- 
vember 3,  1896,  was  educated  in  the  Alva  public  schools, 
graduating  from  high  school  at  the  age  of  sixteen,  and 
is  now  actively  associated  with  his  father  in  business. 

James  George  Wright.  Peculiar  qualities  are  de- 
manded in  those  dealing  with  the  Government  wards,  the 
Indians.  Not  only  must  a man  be  capable,  but  he  has  to 
understand  the  Indian  character  and  while  proving  him- 
self their  friend,  impress  upon  them  the  dignity  of  the 
government.  J.  George  Wright,  formerly  commissioner 
of  the  Five  Civilized  Tribes  at  Muskogee,  Oklahoma,  and 
later  superintendent  of  the  Osage  Indian  Agency  at  Paw- 
huska,  Oklahoma,  is  one  of  the  most  efficient  of  the 
Government’s  trusted  officers. 

Mr.  Wright  was  born  at  Naperville,  DuPage  County, 
Illinois,  January  8,  1860,  being  the  son  of  the  late 
James  G.  Wright  and  Almira  (Van  Osdel)  Wright,  pio- 
neers of  Naperville.  The  father  a farmer  and  banker, 
a strong  republican,  was  postmaster  under  President 
Lincoln  and  served  six  terms  in  the  State  Assembly  of 
Illinois  and  later  as  United  States  Indian  Agent  at  the 
Eosebud  Eeservation  in  Dakota. 

J.  George  Wright  attended  the  public  school  and  the 
Northwestern  College  at  Naperville,  Illinois.  In  1883  he 
was  appointed  clerk  of  the  Eosebud  Indian  Agency,  in 
Dakota,  where  his  father  was  Indian  agent,  and 
later  was  made  agent  in  charge.  Showing  marked  abil- 
ity and  tact  in  handling  these  Sioux  Indians,  he  was  in 
1889  appointed  United  States  Indian  agent  of  the 
agency  by  President  Harrison  upon  the  recommendation 
of  Gen.  George  Crook  and  others,  and  though  a repub- 
lican he  was  reappointed  by  President  Cleveland.  In  1896 
he  was  appointed  United  States  Indian  inspector  by  Presi- 
dent Cleveland,  reappointed  by  President  McKinley  and 
President  Eoosevelt,  serving  in  such  capacity  until  1907, 
and  during  most  of  this  period  he  had  the  superin- 
tendeney  of  Indian  matters  in  Indian  Territory  with  the 
exception  of  the  allotments  of  land. 

In  1907  he  was  appointed  as  commissioner  of  the  Five 
Civilized  Tribes  in  Oklahoma.  In  1914,  by  an  act  of 
Congress,  this  office  was  abolished  by  its  consolidation 
with  the  office  of  superintendent  and  Mr.  Wright  was 
appointed  to  his  present  position  as  superintendent  of 


the  Osage  agency  and  assumed  its  duties  in  February, 
1915,  with  headquarters  at  Pawhuska. 

A man  of  marked  ability,  thoroughly  conversant  with 
all  matters  pertaining  to  the  care  and  supervision  of  the 
Indians,  Mr.  Wright  has  served  the  Government  faith- 
fully and  acceptably  for  a period  of  thirty-three  years. 

William  S.  Mathews.  Among  the  prominent  men  of 
the  Osage  Tribe  during  the  last  half  century  probably 
none  was  more  distinguished  for  his  personal  individual- 
ity and  his  varied  service  in  business  and  public  affairs 
than  William  Shirley  Mathews,  who  died  at  his  home 
in  Pawhuska  March  15,  1915,  at  the  age  of  sixty-six 
years  and  six  months.  To  the  modern  City  of  Pawhuska 
Judge  Mathews  was  perhaps  best  known  as  a banker, 
but  during  his  long  residence  in  the  Osage  country  had 
filled  nearly  all  the  important  posts  of  honor  and  respon- 
sibility in  the  tribal  government,  and  possessed  that 
strength  of  character,  judgment  and  ability  which  made 
him  a natural  leader  of  his  people. 

The  mother  of  Judge  Mathews  was  a half-blood 
Osage  Indian,  and  this  fact  accounts  for  his  member- 
ship in  the  tribe  and  also  his  primary  qualification 
for  the  various  honors  which  he  received  at  the  hands 
of  his  people.  William  Shirley  Mathews  was  born  near 
the  old  Creek  Agency  near  Muskogee  September  15, 
1848.  His  father  was  born  in  Kentucky  but  in  the  early 
days  moved  to  Indian  Territory,  and  was  long  identified 
with  the  Osage  tribe,  at  first  in  Kansas  near  Oswego, 
and  later  in  the  Indian  Territory.  The  ancestry  of 
this  branch  of  the  Mathews  family  extends  back  to 
Judge  Mathews’  great-great-grandfather,  John  Math- 
ews, who  served  as  a sergeant  in  General  Washington’s 
army  during  the  Bevolution.  Judge  Mathews’  mother 
was  also  of  prominent  stock.  She  was  a daughter  of 
William  Shirley  Williams,  of  Vermont,  who  discovered 
and  named  Williams’  Peak  in  the  moutains  of  Colorado. 

Up  to  the  beginning  of  the  Civil  war  the  Mathews  fam- 
ily resided  near  Oswego,  Kansas,  and  Judge  Mathews 
gained  his1  early  education  at  the  hands  of  the  Jesuits 
in  charge  of  the  old  Osage  Mission  where  the  present 
town  of  St.  Paul,  Kansas,  is  located.  During  the  war  the 
family  removed  to  Texas,  but  after  its  close  Judge 
Mathews  came  to  Indian  Territory  and  worked  as  a 
cattle  herder  in  the  Cherokee  Nation.  He  was  employed 
by  a number  of  the  big  cattle  outfits  of  Texas,  and 
frequently  took  cattle  over  the  trails  through  Indian 
Territory  to  Kansas,  his  most  frequent  route  being  the 
old  military  trail  that  passed  through  Fort  Gibson. 

From  1874  until  his  death  Judge  Mathews  was  a resi- 
dent of  Pawhuska,  the  old  capital  of  the  Osage  Nation. 
It  should  be  remembered  that  Pawhuska  was  in  no  sense  a 
city  at  that  time  nor  for  many  years  afterwards,  since  the 
real  municipal  history  of  that  community  covers  hardly 
more  than  ten  years.  The  first  two  years  he  spent  at 
Pawhuska  was  in  the  employ  of  Isaac  T.  Gibson,  the  old 
Indian  agent.  He  was  also  interested  in  cattle  ranch- 
ing until  an  injury  resulting  from  a fall  and  causing 
the  injury  of  one  leg  caused  him  to  give  up  ranching 
and  he  finally  turned  his  energies  almost  altogether  to 
banking.  He  was  one  of  the  original  founders  of  the 
Osage  Mercantile  Company,  and  also  helped  organize 
the  First  National  Bank  at  Pawhuska,  but  subsequently 
sold  his  stock  in  that  institution.  He  was  one  of  the 
organizers  of  the  First  State  Bank  at  Hominy  and  the 
bank  at  Grayhorse,  but  disposed  of  his  interests  in  those 
towns  when  he  organized  what  is  now  the  Citizens 
National  Bank  at  Pawhuska.  This  was  organized  in 
August,  1905,  and  he  became  its  first  president.  After 
the  reorganization  of  the  bank  in  1909,  Judge  Mathews 
remained  one  of  its  directors  until  his  death. 


2180 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Pawliuska  had  no  more  public  spirited  and  enterpris- 
ing citizen  in  promoting  its  general  upbuilding  than 
Judge  Mathews.  He  was  always  generous  of  his  time 
and  means  to  forward  improvements  in  which  he 
believed,  and  was  also  willing  to  serve  in  public  offices 
that  meant  only  work  and  neither  compensation  nor  any 
special  honor.  Por  two  terms  he  was  a member  of  the 
city  council,  and  at  the  time  of  his  death  was  serving 
as  a member  of  the  board  of  education.  Earlier,  in  the 
Osage  tribe,  he  filled  the  office  of  national  treasurer 
from  1882  to  1886.  From  1890  to  1892  he  was  chief 
justice  of  the  Osage  Nation,  and  from  1894  to  1896  was 
national  attorney.  He  was  also  a member  of  the 
national  council  several  times  before  allotment  and  twice 
afterward.  The  tribe  frequently  chose  him  to  look  after 
the  interests  of  the  nation  in  Washington.  He  was 
a man  of  strict  and  rigid  integrity,  and  commanded 
the  respect  of  all  who  knew  him  or  had  business  rela- 
tions with  him.  Judge  Mathews  was  deeply  interested 
in  Osage  history  and  tribal  affairs,  and  was  regarded 
as  one  of  the  authorities  whose  knowledge  of  Osage 
annals  was  almost  enclyclopedic. 

Judge  Mathews  was  affiliated  with  Pawhuska  Lodge  No. 
31,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  his  family 
were  members  of  the  Catholic  Church.  At  his  funeral  the 
service  was  preached  by  the  pastor  of  the  local  Catholic 
Church,  and  as  a tribute  to  his  long  and  useful  life  the 
public  schools  and  various  business  houses  closed  their 
doors.  Judge  Mathews  was  married  April  11,  1887,  to 
Miss  Eugenia  Girard.  Mrs.  Mathews,  who  is  still  living 
at  Pawhuska,  was  born  in  Missouri  and  is  of  French 
ancestry.  Her  five  children  are  also  still  living,  namely: 
Sarah  Josephine,  John  Joseph,  Marie  Imogene,  Lillian 
Bernard  and  Florence  Julia. 

Ralph  E.  Campbell,  whose  commission  as  United 
States  district  judge  for  the  eastern  district  of  Okla- 
homa commenced  in  November,  1907,  was  born  in  Butler 
County,  Pennsylvania,  May  9,  1867.  His  parents  were 
Washington  and  Ann  Eliza  Campbell.  Judge  Campbell 
received  his  degrees  of  B.  S.  from  the  Indiana  Normal 
University  in  1891,  A.  B.  from  the  same  institution  in 
1892,  and  LL.  B.  from  the  University  of  Kansas,  in 
1894.  For  several  years  he  had  a leading  connection  with 
the  legal  department  of  the  Colorado,  Oklahoma  and  Gulf 
Railroad,  being  its  assistant  general  solicitor  at  South 
MeAlester,  Indian  Territory,  and  at  Little  Rock,  Arkan- 
sas, from  1895-1901,  and  general  solicitor  of  that  cor- 
poration in  Oklahoma  Territory  during  1901-03.  From 
1905  to  1907  he  was  engaged  in  general  practice  at  South 
MeAlester,  in  the  fall  of  that  year  being  appointed  to  the 
Federal  bench,  his  commission  dating  from  the  following 
January  and  his  headquarters  being  Muskogee. 

Frank  Dale.  One  of  the  leading  lawyers  and  jurists 
of  the  Southwest,  Frank  Dale,  of  Guthrie,  is  a native  of 
Illinois,  born  in  DeKalb  County,  November  26,  1849.  He 
laid  the  basis  of  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of 
Leland,  Illinois,  and  settled  at  Wichita,  Kansas,  in  1872. 
Four  years  later  he  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  that 
city  and  in  1880-05  served  as  prosecuting  attorney  for 
Wichita  and  Sedgwick  counties.  Judge  Dale  was  ap- 
pointed register  of  the  United  States  land  office  at 
Wichita,  1885,  and  held  the  position  until  1889,  when 
he  moved  to  Guthrie,  Oklahoma.  He  then  and  there 
resumed  practice;  from  May  to  September,  1893,  was 
associate  justice  of  the  Territorial  Supreme  Court  and 
chief  justice,  from  1893-98.  At  the  conclusion  of  his 
judicial  term,  he  continued  the  practice  of  his  profession, 
being  a member  of  the  law  firm,  Dale  & Bierer,  of 
Guthrie. 


J esse  J.  Dunn.  Although  comparatively  a young  man 
during  his  activities  in  Oklahoma,  Judge  Dunn  made  a 
decided  impress  upon  both  the  territory  and  the  state. 
He  was  born  in  Channahon,  Illinois,  October  2,  1867,  the 
son  of  James  McCann  and  Alta  F.  (Lewis)  Dunn.  Judge 
Dunn  obtained  his  higher  education  at  the  Illinois  State 
Normal  School,  the  Garden  City  (Kansas)  Business  Col- 
lege and  the  University  of  Kansas,  graduating  from  the 
last  named  in  1893  with  the  degree  of  LL.  B.  He  served 
as  county  attorney  of  Woods  County,  Oklahoma  Territory 
from  1896-1900;  was  chairman  of  the  democratic  terri- 
torial committee  in  1904,  and  as  chairman  of  the  demo- 
cratic state  committee  in  1906  conducted  the  campaign 
for  the  election  of  delegates  to  the  constitutional  con- 
vention and  wrote  the  platform  on  which  the  contest  was 
waged.  His  term  as  associate  justice  of  the  state 
Supreme  Court  commenced  in  1907  and  concluded  in  1913. 
He  resigned  as  chief  justice  in  1908.  After  his  retire- 
ment from  the  Supreme  bench  Judge  Dunn  moved  to 
Oakland,  California,  where  he  is  now  practicing  his 
profession. 

Robert  McIntyre.  The  late  Robert  McIntyre, 
Methodist  Episcopal  bishop  of  Oklahoma,  was  born  at 
Selkirk,  Scotland,  November  20,  1851.  He  graduated 
from  Vanderbilt  University,  Tennessee,  in  1877,  and 
received  his  D.  D.  degree  from  the  University  of  Denver. 
In  1878  Bishop  McIntyre  was  ordained  to  the  Methodist 
ministry  and  served  as  pastor  of  churches  at  Easton, 
Marshall,  Charleston,  Urbana  and  Chicago,  Illinois;  at 
Denver,  Colorado,  and  Los  Angeles,  California.  His 
active  ministry  was  concluded  in  1908,  when  he  was 
elected  bishop  of  Oklahoma.  From  that  time  virtually 
until  his  death  at  Chicago,  August  31,  1914,  he  ably 
served  the  church  in  that  capacity,  with  headquarters  at 
Oklahoma  City.  Bishop  McIntyre  was  an  able  writer,  as 
well  as  preacher  and  administrator  of  church  affairs. 
Among  his  literary  productions  he  was  the  author  of  the 
poems  “At  Early  Candle  Light”  (1899)  and  “A 
Modern  Apollos”  (1900). 

Tams  Bixby.  Although  preferring  to  be  known  simply 
as  a “newspaper  man,”  Tams  Bixby  has  left  a decided 
impress  on  both  Indian  Territory  and  Oklahoma  State. 
He  is  a Virginian,  born  at  Staunton,  December  12,  1855, 
but  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Red  Wing, 
Minnesota.  Mr.  Bixby  entered  the  newspaper  field  early 
in  life/ and  became  a leading  republican  of  the  state. 
In  1888-9  he  served  as  secretary  of  the  railroad  and 
warehouse  commission  of  Minnesota  and  has  acted  as 
private  secretary  of  three  governors — William  R.  Mer- 
riam,  in  1889-92;  Knute  Nelson,  in  1892-6;  and  David  M. 
Clough,  in  1896-7.  Throughout  these  periods,  he  had 
been  acquiring  leadership  in  the  field  of  journalism  and  in 
1896  became  editor  and  proprietor  of  the  Red  Wing 
(daily)  Republican.  In  1888-9,  or  the  year  previous  to 
becoming  the  gubernatorial  secretary,  Mr.  Bixby  served 
as  secretary  of  the  railroad  and  warehouse  commission  of 
Minnesota,  and  at  various  times  was  chairman  of  the 
republican  county  committee,  secretary  of  the  state  repub- 
lican league  and  secretary  and  chairman  of  the  republican 
state  central  committee  of  Minnesota. 

Mr.  Bixby ’s  record  as  a factor  in  the  development  of 
the  southwestern  county  commenced  in  1897  when  he  was 
appointed  a member  of  the  commission  of  the  Five  Civ- 
ilized Tribes  of  the  Indian  Territory.  He  served  as 
chairman  of  that  body  from  the  year  named  until  1905 
and  was  a member  of  the  commission  for  two  years  there- 
after. He  was  general  manager  of  the  Pioneer  Press 
Company  of  St.  Paul  in  1907-9,  and  since  the  latter  year 
has  been  editor  and  proprietor  of  the  Daily  Phoenix,  at 
Muskogee. 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2181 


Charles  D.  Carter.  The  congressman  from  the  third 
Oklahoma  district  was  long  identified  with  the  govern- 
mental and  educational  affairs  of  the  Chickasaw  Nation 
before  he  entered  national  politics.  He  was  born  near 
Boggy  depot,  at  the  old  fort  in  the  Choctaw  Nation, 
Indian  Territory,  August  16,  1868,  and  is  the  son  of 
•Winsor  and  Serena  Josephine  (Guy)  Carter.  Mr.  Carter 
was  educated  in  the  district  schools  and  at  the  Chickasaw 
Manual  Labor  Academy,  Tishomingo,  Indian  Territory, 
and  in  December,  1891,  married  Miss  Gertrude  Wilson,  of 
Ardmore,  who  died  in  January,  1901.  Until  1892  he 
worked  on  a ranch  and  clerked  in  a store,  and  in  the 
year  named  became  auditor  of  public  accounts  of  the 
Chickasaw  Nation,  holding  that  office  for  two  years. 
From  1894  to  1896  he  served  as  superintendent  of  schools 
for  the  Indian  Territory ; was  a member  of  the  Chickasaw 
Council  in  1897,  and  in  1900-04  mining  trustee  of  the 
territory.  From  June  to  December,  1906,  he  was  secre- 
tary of  the  first  democratic  executive  committee  for  the 
proposed  State  of  Oklahoma,  and  in  1907  commenced  his 
terms  of  service  as  congressman  from  the  third  district 
which  will  cover  the  sixtieth  to  the  sixty-fourth  con- 
gresses, inclusive,  and  conclude  with  the  year  1917.  Since 
1905  he  has  been  a member  of  the  Carter  & Cannon  Fire 
Insurance  Company,  Ardmore,  and  is  a director  of  the 
City  National  Bank  of  that  place.  He  is  a leading 
Methodist  and  identified  with  Masonry  and  the  order  of 
Elks,  having  served  as  exalted  ruler  in  the  latter  organi- 
zation. 

Thomas  H.  Doyle.  Judge  Doyle,  who  presides  over 
the  Oklahoma  Court  of  Appeals,  is  a man  of  active  middle 
age,  born  in  Worcester  County,  Massachusetts,  December 
21,  1863.  He  obtained  the  bulk  of  his  education  in  the 
public  schools,  and  was  admitted  to  practice  at  the 
Kansas  bar  in  1887.  Judge  Doyle  served  in  the  House 
of  Representatives  of  Oklahoma  Territory  in  1897-1901, 
and  during  the  former  year  was  speaker  of  that  body. 
From  the  Fifty-seventh  to  the  Fifty-ninth  congresses, 
inclusive  (1901-07),  he  was  a non-partisan  delegate  at 
Washington  in  the  cause  of  joint  statehood;  in  1908 
served  as  delegate-at-large  and  chairman  of  the  Oklahoma 
delegation  to  the  democratic  national  convention  held  at 
Denver,  Colorado,  and  in  1912  was  honorary  vice  chair- 
man of  the  delegation  which  represented  Oklahoma  in 
the  democratic  national  convention  which  assembled  at 
Baltimore  in  1912.  In  January,  1908,  he  had  been  chosen 
associate  justice  of  the  Oklahoma  Court  of  Appeals  and 
has  been  presiding  judge  since  January,  1915.  His  term 
expires  in  January,  1917. 

Charles  Hodge  Filler.  One  of  the  fine  old  pio- 
neers of  Eastern  Oklahoma  was  the  late  Charles  Hodge 
Miller,  who  died  at  Yale,  Oklahoma,  February  12, 
1910,  aged  sixty-six  years.  His  had  been  a varied 
and  eventful  career,  one  of  many  experiences  and 
vicissitudes,  but  through  it  all  he  carried  the  char- 
acter of  an  upright  and  generous  hearted  gentleman, 
and  left  a large  circle  of  friends  to  cherish  his  man- 
hood and  the  honorable  part  he  played  during  a 
lifetime. 

He  was  born  in  the  Cherokee  Nation  of  Georgia,  a 
son  of  Jacob  and  Sarah  (Fields)  Miller.  After  the 
discovery  of  gold  on  the  Pacific  coast  the  father  set 
out  for  California,  and  was  never  heard  of  again  by 
members  of  his  family.  Thus  Charles  H.  Miller  grew 
up  with  scanty  advantages  of  school  but  with  the 
practical  training  that  comes  to  every  pioneer  youth, 
and  with  a discipline  in  the  manliness  and  honor  that 


count  most  in  the  world.  He  attended  school  at 
Coweta  Mission  and  Greenfield,  Missouri. 

When  a mere  boy  he  left  school  to  enlist  in  the 
Northern  Army  in  Company  H of  the  Fourteenth  Mis- 
souri Volunteer  Cavalry.  He  served  throughout  the 
war,  and  after  leaving  the  Missouri  regiment  he 
enlisted  in  Company  G of  the  Fifth  Regiment,  United 
States  Artillery.  At  the  close  of  his  period  of  enlist- 
ment he  was  honorably  discharged  from  the  service  at 
Little  Rock,  Arkansas,  November  4,  1868,  being 
recommended  as  a good  soldier  in  both  the  volunteers 
and  the  regulars. 

After  his  army  career  he  went  East  and  for  a time 
ran  a steamboat  on  the  St.  Lawrence  River.  From 
there  he  removed  to  Pennsylvania,  and  was  connected 
with  the  powder  mills  at  Wapwallopen  in  that  state. 
He  held  various  positions  of  trust  in  Pennvslvania, 
and  from  there  he  came  to  Eastern  Oklahoma  thirty- 
two  years  ago.  He  arrived  at  Muskogee  in  October  of 
that  year  and  thence  came  to  Red  Fork  near  Tulsa, 
where  for  a number  of’  years  he  was  proprietor  of  a 
hotel.  Eventually  he  acquired  considerable  interest 
as  a ranch  owner  and  stockman  in  the  old  Creek 
Nation,  and  it  was  with  those  interests  he  was  chiefly 
busy  during  his  later  years.  When  not  looking  after 
his  stock  and  land  he  made  his  home  for  the  last  two 
years  of  his  life  with  his  daughter,  Mrs.  O.  C.  Dale, 
in  Yale,  Oklahoma. 

Because  of  his  long  and  honorable  service  in  the 
army,  four  years  in  the  volunteers  and  three  years  in 
the  regulars,  Mr.  Miller  always  enjoyed  a special 
place  of  honor  among  the  Grand  Army  Veterans,  and 
his  old  comrades  as  well  as  hundreds  of  friends  and 
fellow  citizens  attended  his  funeral  and  paid  the 
proper  tribute  of  respect  when  he  was  buried  at  Yale. 

In  politics  he  was  a republican,  though  most  of  his 
people  were  democrats.  At  Wapwallopen,  Pennsyl- 
vania, Charles  H.  Miller  married  Civilla  Mowery, 
daughter  of  Philip  and  Lydia  Mowery.  There  were 
three  children:  Izora  Miller,  now  the  wife  of  Oliver  C. 
Dale,  president  of  the  Yale  Oil  and  Gas  Company  at 
Tulsa;  Ambrose  Miller,  who  is  treasurer  of  the  Yale  Oil 
and  Gas  Company,  and  married  Miss  Alice  jTage;  and 
Chester  Arthur  Miller,  who  died  in  Pennsylvania, 
when  about  four  years  of  age.  Mr.  Miller  was  also 
survived  by  his  sister,  Mrs.  Lizzie  Montgall,  of 
Okmulgee.  The  late  Mr.  Miller  was  on  the  ground 
during  the  original  opening  of  Oklahoma  Territory, 
being  one  of  the  first  men  in  Guthrie,  though  he  did 
not  homestead  any  land. 

Thomas  P.  Gore.  United  States  Senator  Gore  is  a 
Mississippian,  born  in  Webster  County,  December  10, 
1870.  Although  he  lost  the  sight  of  both  eyes,  by  acci- 
dents, before  he  was  twelve  years  of  age,  he  made  rapid 
progress  in  his  studies,  and  in  1890  graduated  from  the 
Normal  School  at  Walthall,  his  native  state.  In  1892 
Cumberland  University,  Tennessee,  conferred  the  degree 
of  B.  L.  upon  him,  and  in  the  same  year  he  was  admitted 
to  the  bar.  While  pursuing  his  law  studies  he  also  taught 
school  for  about  a year. 

In  1895  Mr.  Gore  moved  to  Texas  and  at  once  became 
prominent  in  independent  political  movements.  He  served 
as  delegate  to  the  populist  national  convention  of  1896, 
which  met  in  St.  Louis,  and  in  1898  became  the  con- 
gressional nominee  of  the  people’s  party  for  the  sixth 
district,  but  was  defeated  in  the  election.  Joining  the 
democracy  in  1899,  during  the  following  year  he  was 
an  active  campaigner  in  South  Dakota,  and  also  served 
his  party  in  that  capacity  in  Illinois,  Ohio,  New  York  and 
Indiana,  during  the  year  1904. 


2182 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


Mr.  Gore  had  moved  to  Oklahoma  in  1901,  and  in  the 
following  year  was  elected  to  the  Territorial  Council, 
serving  in  that  body  until  1905.  He  commenced  his 
senatorial  career  in  November,  1907,  and  in  1909  was 
elected  for  the  full  six  years  ’ term.  He  was  re-elected  in 
1915  for  the  term  ending  1921.  In  1912  Senator  Gore 
served  as  a member  of  the  executive  committee  of  the 
democratic  national  committee,  and  is  an  acknowledged 
leader  in  the  upper  house  of  Congress. 

Charles  West.  A leading  member  of  the  bar  and  for 
eight  years  attorney  general  of  the  state,  Charles  West  is 
a native  of  Savannah,  Georgia,  born  March  16,  1872.  He 
graduated  from  Johns  Hopkins  University,  Baltimore, 
in  1891,  with  the  degree  A.  B.,  and  in  1892-4  pursued 
post-graduate  work  at  the  University  of  Leipzig  and  his 
alma  mater.  Mr.  West  was  admitted  to  the  bar  of 
Oklahoma  Territory  in  1895  and  practiced  for  a number 
of  years  at  Pound  Creek  and  Enid.  In  1907  he  was 
elected  attorney  general  of  the  state,  and  at  the  con- 
clusion of  his  term,  in  1915,  located  for  the  resumption 
of  private  practice  at  Oklahoma  City.  At  present  he  is 
the  senior  member  of  the  firm  of  West,  Hull  & Hagan. 

Mr.  West  has  served  as  president  of  the  Attorney 
Generals’  Association  (1911-12) ; is  a lecturer  on  law  at 
the  State  University;  is  a member  of  the  National  Tax 
Association,  and  in  1898-1910  was  especially  active  in 
national  guard  matters.  In  the  latter  year  he  retired 
with  the  rank  of  lieutenant  colonel. 

Joseph  A.  Gill,  ex-United  States  district  judge  of 
Indian  Territory,  has  been  an  active  factor  in  the  bench 
and  bar  of  the  West  for  over  thirty  years.  He  was 
born  in  Wheeling,  West  Virginia,  February  17,  1854,  and 
received  his  scholastic  education  in  the  public  schools  of 
Springfield,  Illinois,  and  the  Illinois  Industrial  Uni- 
versity at  Champaign.  After  teaching  school  and  study- 
ing law  for  several  years,  in  1880  he  was  admitted  to 
the  bar  at  Springfield,  and  practiced  in  that  city  until 
1883.  Since  the  latter  year  he  has  been  a resident  of 
the  West.  From  1883-7  he  practiced  his  profession  at 
Astoria,  Oregon,  and  from  1887-99  at  Colby,  Kansas.  He 
was  appointed  United  States  district  judge  for  the 
Northern  district  of  Indian  Territory  in  1899,  and  occu- 
pied that  bench  until  1908.  Judge  Gill  also  served  as  one 
of  the  three  commissioners  charged  with  the  organiza- 
tion of  Indian  Territory  as  part  of  the  State  of  Okla- 
homa. Since  his  retirement  from  the  bench,  in  1908,  he 
has  been  engaged  in  practice  at  Vinita.  The  judge  is  a 
member  of  the  Missionary  Baptist  Church  and  a leading 
Mason  (thirty-second  degree  Shriner). 

Robert  L.  Williams.  The  present  incumbent  of  the 
gubernatorial  chair,  Robert  L.  Williams,  was  born  at 
Brundige,  Alabama,  December  20,  1868.  He  received  his 
higher  education  at  the  Southern  University  of  Alabama, 
which  conferred  upon  him  the  degree  of  M.  A.  in  1894. 
He  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1891,  and  first  practiced 
at  Troy,  Alabama.  In  1896  he  became  a resident  of 
Atoka,  Indian  Territory,  and  six  months  later  moved  to 
Durant.  He  served  as  city  attorney  of  that  place  in 
1899;  was  a member  of  the  Indian  Territory  Democratic 
Committee  in  1902-4  and  of  the  democratic  national  com- 
mittee in  1904-8.  In  1906  he  had  been  sent  as  a delegate 
to  the  Oklahoma  Constitutional  Convention,  and  in  the 
following  year  became  chief  justice  of  the  state  Supreme 
Court.  He  served,  by  re-election,  until  his  resignation 
from  the  bench  in  March,  1915.  In  the  latter  year  he  was 
elected  governor  of  Oklahoma  for  the  term  ending  1919. 
Although  his  official  residence  is  at  Oklahoma  City,  his 
home  is  still  at  Durant. 


Col.  Sidney  Suggs.  Since  early  territorial  days  the 
name  of  Sidney  Suggs  has  figured  prominently  in  many 
varied  business  activities  and  in  the  civic  life  of  Southern 
Oklahoma,  particularly  the  country  around  Ardmore. 
His  ability  to  handle  large  affairs  has  always  meant 
more  than  a private  fortune.  In  many  ways  his  pros- 
perity has  been  reflected  in  the  growth  and  improvement1 
of  every  community  which  he  has  touched.  Particularly 
in  recent  years  has  Colonel  Suggs  given  his  advocacy  and 
influence  to  the  improvement  of  Oklahoma  highways,  and 
the  good  roads  movement  has  no  stronger  and  more 
effectual  friend  than  this  Ardmore  citizen.  To  him 
belongs  the  distinction  of  having  originated  the  idea  of 
the  “Educational  Mile  of  Road”  and  of  having  demon- 
strated its  feasibility  by  having  actually  constructed  a 
mile  of  highway  in  Seminole  County,  October  12,  1914. 
The  idea  has  been  adopted  by  several  counties  in  Okla- 
homa and  in  one  county  seventy-five  miles  of  road  were 
built  in  one  year.  Under  this  plan  school  boys  construct 
the  road  while  the  girls  of  the  school  set  out  trees  and 
shrubbery  along  the  highway  to  shade  and  beautify  it. 

A native  of  Mississippi,  Sidney  Suggs  was  born  in 
1853  and  is  of  old  and  prominent  American  stock.  His 
parents  were  Dr.  Isaac  T.  and  Jane  (Fullwood)  Suggs. 
The  name  was  originally  spelled  Sugg,  but  his  great- 
grandfather sometime  before  the  Revolutionary  war 
added  an  s,  and  that  method  of  spelling  has  been  fol- 
lowed by  all  his  descendants.  George  Suggs  was  an  officer 
in  the  American  army  during  the  Revolution,  and  after- 
wards established  a home  on  the  boundary  line  between 
North  and  South  Carolina.  He  married  Miss  Catherine 
Sanders.  One  of  their  sons  was  Laban  Suggs,  grad- 
father  of  Colonel  Suggs.  When  eighteen  years  of  age 
Laban  Suggs  married  lone  Hood,  who  was  then  sixteen. 
Her  father,  Capt.  John  Hood,  a native  of  Ireland,  came 
to  America  about  the  time  the  Revolution  started,  joined 
a cavalry  company  of  which  he  became  captain,  and  in 
the  course  of  one  of  his  campaigns  he  stopped  with  his 
men  for  a meal  at  the  house  of  a family  named  Wallace. 
The  meal  was  cooked  by  little  Mary  Wallace,  then  twelve 
years  of  age,  and  on  leaving  the  house  Captain  Hood 
told  her  he  would  return  after  the  war,  and  he  did  so 
and  she  became  his  wife.  She  was  Irish  or  Scotch  and 
of  a noble  family.  She  was  one  of  the  heroines  of  the 
Revolution.  One  time  about  fifteen  Tories  came  to  her 
father’s  house  and  demanded  dinner,  and  finding  some 
apple  brandy  they  became  very  drunk.  The  daughter  ran 
away  while  they  were  engaged  in  eating  and  drinking 
and  informed  a band  of  Whigs  of  their  presence.  The 
patriots  made  a rush  on  the  place  and  captured  the 
entire  number  of  Tories,  two  of  whom  they  hanged  for 
murder.  Captain  Hood  was  a zealous  patriot.  After  the 
war,  hearing  a man  express  his  loyalty  to  King  George, 
the  captain  seized  the  Tory  by  the  hair,  jerked  him  down 
and  with  a handsaw  commenced  to  saw  off  his  head. 
The  fellow  begged  and  pleaded  for  mercy,  and  finally 
took  the  oath  never  to  mention  the  name  of  King  George 
again.  His  neck  was  badly  injured,  but  the  patriotic 
assailant  nursed  him  well  again  and  the  man  became  a 
good  neighbor.  Captain  Hood  built  the  first  cotton  gin 
in  the  York  district  of  South  Carolina. 

Dr'.  Isaac  T.  Suggs,  who  was  one  of  the  family  of 
fourteen  children  born  to  Laban  and  lone  Suggs,  spent 
his  early  life  in  South  Carolina  and  near  Yorkville 
married  Miss  Jane  Fullwood.  Her  ancestors  came  from 
Holland,  and  her  father,  Robert  Fullwood,  was  a man 
of  considerable  prominence  in  South  Carolina.  Doctor 
Suggs  took  his  family  to  Mississippi  soon  after  his 
marriage  in  1838,  and  in  1866  moved  to  Texas,  locating 
at  Mount  Pleasant,  where  he  lived  until  his  death  in 
September,  1887,  at  the  age  of  seventy-four.  His  wife 


Jt 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2183 


ie* 


re, 
at  I 
)s- 
At' 
rly  | 
nd| 
Ad 
ire 
in 
of 


ae 

ict 

id 

in  f 
lis 
8s' 
at- 
rat ' 
Al- 
ter 
er- ' 
ten 
ine 
ad- 
ige 
ea, 
me 
led 
iA 1 
his 
ice. ! 
he 
iod 
so 
uid 
the 
to 
me 
ran 

iig 

fhe 

tie 

for 

the 

ft 

in 
ad. 
illy 
rge 
)tic 
e a 

gii 

of 

<eat 

ille 

:n 

m 

itor 

his 

iig 

in 

rife 


t died  at  the  age  of  seventy-one  in  January,  1891.  During 
" the  war  Doctor  Suggs  served  as  post  surgeon  in  charge 
of  the  hospital  at  Tupelo,  Mississippi. 

Col.  Sidney  Suggs  was  fourteen  years  of  age  when 
he  came  with  his  parents  to  Texas,  and  he  continued  his 
education  in  the  common  schools  in  the  eastern  part  of 
that  state.  For  fifteen  years  of  his  early  career  he 
represented  the  Tompkins  Machinery  & Implement  Com- 
pany of  Dallas.  When  the  firm  failed  he  was  appointed 
sole  adjuster,  and  in  the  course  of  five  years  he  cleared 
up  and  collected  a large  share  of  the  accounts  left 
by  the  firm,  amounting  to  upwards  of  four  hundred 
‘ thousand  dollars.  In  1877  Col.  Sidney  Suggs  formed  a 
copartenership  with  his  brother  Hugh,  and  for  many 
j.  years  they  were  closely  associated  in  all  their  varied 
business  undertakings  and  on  terms  of  such  mutual  con- 
| fidenee  as  seldom  exist  even  among  brothers.  Neither 
party  ever  thought  it  necessary  to  ask  for  an  accounting 
of  the  other,  each  was  interested  in  every  venture,  and 
! the  profits  from  every  enterprise  whether  individual  or 
partnership  was  turned  into  a common  fund  for  the 
equal  benefit  of  both.  These  brothers  established  and 
conducted  cotton  gins,  corn  and  flour  mills,  sawmills, 
lumber  yard,  and  were  also  extensively  connected  with 
the  cattle  industry.  Two  towns  in  particular  benefited 
from  their  enterprise,  Ardmore  and  Berwyn. 

Colonel  Suggs  has  long  been  a notable  figure  in 
J business  circles  at  Ardmore,  and  in  1897  he  became 
proprietor  of  the  Ardmorite,  and  soon  made  it  the  lead- 
ing newspaper  in  that  section  of  Indian  Territory. 

At  the  age  of  twelve  years  Colonel  Suggs  became  a 
member  of  the  old  school  Presbyterian  Church,  and 
has  always  been  .true  to  the  Christian  teachings  of  his 
1 youth  and  active  in  membership  as  well  as  in  support 
of  the  church  and  benevolent  activities.  He  is  a Mason, 

■ having  affiliation  with  the  Blue  Lodge,  Chapter,  Com- 
mandery  and  Mystic  Shrine,  and  is  affiliated  with  the 
various  branches  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fel- 
[ lows,  the  Woodmen  of  the  World,  and  other  organizations. 

In  1876  Colonel  Suggs  married  Miss  Dixie  Barnhart, 
who  died  June  6,  1891,  the  mother  of  six  children  named 
Edna,  Ella,  Stella,  Sidney,  Yelie  Charles  and  Kate.  On 
September  20,  1892,  Colonel  Suggs  married  Miss  Minnie 
' Murray,  of  North  Carolina.  She  survived  only  two 
months  and  seven  days  after  her  marriage.  On  June  26, 

, 1895,  Colonel  Suggs  married  the  widow  of  Judge  Olive, 
an  attorney  of  Texas,  and  who  was  the  mother  of  three 
children:  Zoe,  Yera  and  John. 

. Os  M.  Stevens.  Education  and  financial  assistance 
are  very  important  factors  in  achieving  success  in  the 
business  world  of  today,  where  every  faculty  must  be 
brought  into  play,  but  they  are  not  the  main  elements. 

: Persistency  and  determination  figure  much  more  promi- 
nently and  a man  possessed  of  these  qualities  is  bound 
to  win  a fair  amount  of  success.  Os  M.  Stevens,  whose 
name  forms  the  caption  for  this  article,  practically 
earned  his  own  education  and  he  enjoys  the  unique 
experience  of  stepping  from  a cattle-ranch  saddle  into 
the  ink-stained  interior  of  a printshop.  The  success  he 
has  accomplishedj^culminating  in  his  present  office  as 
editor  and  managfs^of  one  of  the  leading  weekly  news- 

I papers  of  Oklahomans  proof  that  hard  and  consistent 
work  in  the  printshop  p^njore  profitable  and  gives  better 
compensation  f o» '(education  and  character  than  does  the 
cattle  range. 

A native  of  the  Olcl  Dominion . State,  Mr.  Stevens  was 
born  in  Virginia  in'  1877.  His  jdSrents  were  both  honored 
descendants  of  families  - that  sent  warriors  to  the  front- 
in  the  days  of  the  Revolution.  Through  his  ancestors 
Mr.  Stevens  is  related  to  Henry  Ward  Beecher  and  to 

1-  • 


the  noted  Hitt  and  Brace  families  of  Virginia.  The 
Stevens  family  consists  of  six  children,  concerning  whom 
the  following  brief  data  are  here  inserted:  E.  P.  is  a 
viaduct  builder  and  inventor  in  Chicago ; Mattie  Griffith 
is  a widow  and  makes  her  home  in  Chicago;  Laura  is 
the  wife  of  Mr.  Hantz,  of  Scott  Center,  Kansas;  Mrs. 
C.  M.  Worter,  of  Chicago;  Mrs.  E.  C.  Dowd,  of  Guthrie, 
Oklahoma;  and  Os  M.  is  the  subject  of  this  sketch. 

After  a common-school  education  in  the  public  schools 
of  Kansas,  Mr.  Stevens  was  for  a number  of  years 
employed  on  a cattle  ranch.  He  then  decided  to  learn 
the  art  of  printing  and  after  an  apprenticeship  in  a 
newspaper  office  in  Kansas,  he  located  at  Lexington, 
Oklahoma,  where  he  became  one  of  the  well  known 
editors  and  publishers  of  the  equally  well  known  weekly 
Youall’s  Doin’s,  a publication  that  attracted  unusual 
attention  throughout  the  entire  state  by  reason  of  its 
bizarre  name  and  unusual  contents.  In  1901  he  located 
at  Coalgate  and  became  associated  with  Michael  B.  Hick- 
man in  the  publication  of -the  Courier.  When  Mr.  Hick- 
man became  owner  of  the  Record-Register,  Mr.  Stevens 
became  editor  of  that  paper.  His  editorial  attitude  has 
always  been  toward  high  morals  and  one  of  his  prin- 
cipal achievements  in  Coal  County  has  been  that  of 
conducting  his  paper  as  a leader  in  a campaign  for 
prohibition  and  law  enforcement.  In  addition  to  being 
editor  of  the  Record-Register  Mr.  Stevens  is  manager  of 
the  Coalgate  Publishing  Company,  a corporation  of 
which  M.  B.  Hickman  is  president;  Arthur  Jones,  of 
Lehigh,  vice  president';  A.  T.  West,  of  Coalgate, 
secretary;  and  J.  I.  Murray,  of  Coalgate,  treasurer. 
Mr.  Stevens  is  doing  efficient  work  as  county  probation 
Officer  of  Coal  County  and  in  politics  he  is  a stalwart 
democrat. 

June  22,  1900,  at  Lexington,  Oklahoma,  Mr.  Stevens 
married  Miss  Willia  B.  Hickman  and  to  them  have  been 
born  three  children,  whose  names  and  dates  of  birth  are 
here  incorporated:  Laur,  1901;  Edna,  1903;  and  Ruth, 
1906.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Stevens  are  devout  members  of 
the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  and  he  is  affiliated  with 
the  Knights  of  Pythias,  in  which  he  holds  the  rank  of 
past  chancellor  and  past  district  deputy  grand  chan- 
cellor of  the  state. 

Morris  Handverker.  Among  the  men  of  Lawton, 
Oklahoma,  who  have  attained  business  success  and 
prominence  through  the  medium  of  hard  work,  business 
sagacity  and  indomitable  perseverance,  Harris  and 
Morris  Handverker’  father  and  son,  stand  in  a foremost 
position.  In  their  careers,  and  particularly  in  that  of 
the  father,  are  to  be  found  lessons  which  prove  the 
value  of  persistence  in  the  face  of  difficulties  and  dis- 
couragements which  cannot  fail  to  be  of  value  to  the 
rising  generation,  while  the  incidents  of  their  lives  must 
prove  of  interest  to  all  who  admire  the  characteristics 
which  make  up  self-made  manhood. 

Harris  Handverker  was  born  in  Poland,  Russia,  July  8, 
1861,  a son  of  Philip  and  Helen  (Jaxobowitz)  Hand- 
verker, the  former  born  in  1819  and  died  in  1892.  He 
was  a well-to-do  tanner,  a man  of  some  influence  in  his 
community,  and  well  versed  in  the  Jewish  Ritual.  There 
were  seven  children  in  the  family:  Cirvis,  who  was 

married  and  died  in  Russia;  Augusta,  who  married  David 
Bernstein,  now  retired,  of  Poland;  Celia,  who  is  the 
wife  of  Jacob  Hoffman,  a butcher  of  Poland;  Harris; 
Leah,  who  was  married  and  died  in  Poland;  Irle,  who 
is  the  wife  of  Jacob  Cincinnati,  a tailor  of  Poland;  and 
Wilhelm,  a newspaper  publisher  of  Poland,  and  as  such 
one  of  the  most  prominent  men  of  his  locality. 

Harris  Handverker  was  educated  in  his  native  land, 
and  as  a young  man  of  twenty-one  years  decided  to  try 
his  fortunes  in  the  United  States.  Arriving  in  New 


2184 


HISTORY  OF  .OKLAHOMA 


York  City,  he  found  employment  at  his  trade,  that  of 
lathe  turner,  at  which  he  worked  for  two  years,  and  in 
1884  went  back  to  his  native  place  where  he  remained 
for  two  years.  In  1886  he  returned  to  New  York  City 
and  began  to  work  at  the  cloakmaker’s  trade,  but  after 
one  year  went  back  to  Russia  and  remained  one  year. 
Again  he  came  to  New  York  City,  and  again,  in  1890, 
he  went  back  to  Poland,  but  in  1891  he  came  again  to 
the  United  States,  this  time  to  remain.  After  ten 
months  here,  he  sent  for  his  wife  and  children,  and 
continued  to  work  in  New  York  City  for  one  year, 
accumulating  enough  money  through  hard  and  faithful 
work  to  take  his  family  to  Colton,  California,  where  he 
began  his  career  as  a peddler  in  a modest  way.  He 
spent  one  year  at  Colton,  two  years  at  San  Bernardino 
and  three  years  at  Los  Angeles,  and  then  went  to  San 
Diego,  California,  where  he  continued  peddling  for  one 
year  and  then  established  himself  in  the  hide  business. 
Having  accumulated  some  small  means,  Mr.  Handverker 
came  to  Oklahoma  and  located  in  Oklahoma  City,  one 
year  before  the  opening  of  that  place.  He  worked  as  a 
retail  clothing  salesman  for  one  year,  and  at  the  open- 
ing of  the  reservation  became  a pioneer  of  Lawton, 
August  4,  1901,  and  purchased  a business  and  residence 
lot,  all  that  was  allowed  by  law.  For  about  three  years 
he  continued  to  work  for  wages  in  the  clothing  business, 
and  then  established  an  enterprise  of  his  own  in  the 
same  line.  He  was  capable,  thoroughly  informed,  ener- 
getic and  courteous,  and  his  business  soon  began  to 
prosper  and  to  grow  to  large  proportions,  but  the  panic 
of  1907  came  on,  and,  with  other  able  business  men,  he 
failed  and  lost  the  fortune  that  he  had  so  laboriously 
accumulated.  This  misfortune  would  have  entirely  dis- 
couraged and  beaten  the  great  majority  of  men,  but  Mr. 
Handverker  was  made  of  sterner  stuff.  He  failed  to 
acknowledge  defeat,  and  although  the  blow  had  been  a 
heavy  one  he  at  once  set  to  work  to  recuperate  his  lost 
prosperity.  He  was  content  to  follow  general  work 
for  two  years  and  to  accept  whatever  honorable  employ- 
ment f^ll  to  his  lot.  Mrs.  Handverker  owned  three 
building  properties  and  in  tfie  fall  of  1909  these  were 
sold  and.  Mr.  Handverker  again  engaged  in  business  on 
his  own  account,  opening  a small  store  on  C Avenue. 
Again  his  enterprise,  business  judgment  and  tireless, 
energy  brought  him  success,  and  in  1911  he  was  com- 
pelled to  open  larger  quarters.  These  sufficed  until 
1915,  when  his  business  had  grown  to  such  large  pro- 
portions that  he  was  again  compelled  to  seek  more 
extensive  space,  and  on  April  1st  of  that  year  he  moved 
into  his  present  establishment,  at  327-329  D Avenue, 
where  he  occupies  the  ground  floor  and  a floor  space  of 
50  by  120  feet,  one  of  the  largest  stores  of  Lawton. 
Here  he  has  a model  modern  department  store,  stocked 
with  the  finest  of  goods  of  every  variety.  His  business 
attracts  its  trade  from  Comanche,  Cotton,  Jefferson, 
Tillman,  Kiowa,  Caddo  and  even  more  distant  counties, 
and  no  better  testimonial  of  Mr.  Handverker ’s  honor- 
able dealings  can  be  found  than  the  fact  that  the  cus- 
tomers who  deal  with  him  once  remain  as  his  patrous 
afterward.  In  business  circles,  Mr.  Handverker  bears 
the  highest  reputation,  for  he  has  been  found  faithful 
in  his  engagements  and  a man  in  whom  his  associates 
may  place  the  utmost  confidence.  In  addition  to  his 
store  on  D Avenue,  he  owns  a business  property  on  C 
Avenue,  his  residence  in  Lawton  and  other  valuable 
realty.  He  has  not  been  found  wanting  in  public  spirit 
when  civic  movements  are  started,  and  is  one  of  the 
active  and  working  members  of  the  Lawton  Chamber  of 
Commerce.  Fraternally,  he  is  connected  with  the  Wood- 
men of  the  World,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America 
No.  10,256  and  the  Woodmen’s  Circle,  and  his  political 
support  is  given  to  the  republican  party.  Mr.  Hand- 


verker is  a member  of  the  Jewish  Church,  and  is  widely 
known  for  his  proficiency  in  the  Jewish  Ritual. 

Harris  Handverker  was  married  in  Poland,  in  1880,  to 
Miss  Minnie  Eckstein,  who  was  born  in  Poland  in  1861, 
daughter  of  the  late  David  Eckstein,  who  was  a tailor. 
Seven  children  have  been  born  to  this  union,  namely: 
Herman,  who  died  in  Russia  at  the  age  of  three  years; 
Leah,  who  also  died  there  when  three  years  old;  Samuel, 
who  died  at  Kingfisher,  Oklahoma,  at  the  age  of  eight 
years;  Morris;  Frank,  who  died  while  the  family  was 
moving  from  Oklahoma  City  to  Lawton,  aged  fourteen 
years;  Helen,  who  is  attending  the  Lawton  High  School; 
and  Everett,  born  November  11,  1900,  who  entered  high 
school  in  September,  1915. 

Morris  Handverker  was  born  November  12,  1891,  in 
New  York  City,  and  was  given  good  educational  ad- 
vantages, attending  the  public  schools  of  Lawton  and 
the  Lawton  Business  College,  from  which  he  was  grad- 
uated in  1908.  He  first  became  a stenographer  in  a 
law  office,  where  he  remained  a short  time  and  then 
secured  a like  position  in  the  government  service,  follow- 
ing which  he  became  a public  court  stenographer.  In 
1909  he  entered  his  father’s  business,  and  in  1913  was 
admitted  to  partnership.  He  has  inherited  many  of  his 
father’s  excellent  business  qualities,  is  a young  man  of 
energy,  enterprise  and  progressive  spirit,  and  as  a cour- 
teous and  genial  gentleman  has  done  much  to  attract 
trade  to  the  business.  He  is  also  a member  of  the 
Chamber  of  Commerce  and  a republican  in  politics,  and 
was  reared  in  the  faith  of  the  Jewish  Church,  to  which 
he  belongs.  His  fraternal  connections  include  member- 
ship in  the  Woodmen  of  the  World  and  in  the  Masons, 
in  which  he  has  reached  the  Rose  Cross  (Eighteenth) 
degree,  being  a member  of  Lawton'  Lodge  No.  183, 
Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  and  Valley  of 
Guthrie  Consistory  No.  1.  Mr.  Handverker  is  not 
married. 


stat 

udic 


Ian 

boul 


E Mi 


uffal 

ligh 


Idar 
E the 


Ellis;! 

Is. 


'a-  i 


Jam 


Henry  N.  Greis.  Junior  member  of  the  firm  of  Ross 
& Greis,  which  controls  an  important  business  in  the 
drilling  of  oil  and  gas  wells  in  the  Oklahoma  fields,  and 
with  other  noteworthy  connection  with  the  oil  and  gas 
industry,  Mr.  Greis  is  recognized  as  one  of  the  substan- 
tial, straightforward  and  progressive  business  men  of 
the  younger  generation  in  the  City  of  Tulsa,  and  in  addi- 
tion to  the  business  associated  noted  above  he  is  also 
president  of  the  Wyoming  Torpedo  Company  and  vice 
president  of  the  Central  Torpedo  Company,  both  of 
which  are  engaged  in  the  manufacturing  of  torpedoes 
used  in  connection  with  the  sinking  of  wells  in  oil  and 
gas  districts.  / 

Mr.  Greis  was  born  in  the  City  of  Buffalo,  New  York, 
on  the  5th  of  July,  1880,  the  eldest  in  a family  of  five 
children,  all  but  one  of  whom  are  living.  He  is  a son 
of  Jacob  M.  and  Amelia  (Nauert)  Greis,  both  of  whom 
were  born  and  reared  in  Erie  County,  New  York,  and 
both  are  living,  the  father  at  the  age  of  fifty-eight  years 
and  the  mother  at  the  age  of  fifty-six.  The  political 
allegiance  of  Mr.  Greis  is  given  to  the  republican  party. 

He  whose  name  initiates  this  article  acquired  his  early 
education  in  the  public  schools  and  Central  High  School 
of  his  native  city,  and  there  he  initiated  his  business  career 
as  bookkeeper  and  clerical  assistant  in  the  German  Bank 
of  Buffalo,  with  which  institution  he  continued  to  be  iden- 
tified four  years  and  in  which,  through  effective  and 
faithful  service,  he  won  promotion  to  the  responsible 
office  of  cashier.  On  severing  this  association  Mr.  Greis 
became  bookkeeper  in  the  Marine  National  Bank  of  ,(| 
Buffalo,  but  within  a comparatively  brief  time  he  re- 
signed his  office  and  made  his  first  independent  venture,  jjj  ™ 
and  that  in  connection  with  the  important  industry  with 
which  he  is  now  identified.  As  a contractor  he  engaged 


actio; 

an 


ilalioi 
i of 


I®  sf 


HISTORY  OP  OKLAHOMA 


2185 


% 

'.to 

ssi, 

ilot. 

ars; 


was 

teen 

mol; 

A 

l,  ill 
ad- 
and 
'tad- 

then 

How- 

If 
was 
t his 
in  of 
oar- 
tact 
: the 
, and 
which 
nleN 
isons, 
jnth) 
183, 

T Of 

not 


Eoss 
a the 
a and 
d gas 
tan- 
en  of 
addii 
i also 
rife 
th  of 
redoes 
il  and 
I 

Yortj 
it  five 
a son 
whom 
and 
rears 
iliticaj 
party, 
early 
School 
career 
Bank 
■ id® 

e and 
ansible 
Greit 
it  of 
here 

oturfi 

v with 

igageJ 


in  the  construction  of  oil  pipe  lines  from  points  in  the 
oil  fields  of  West  Virginia  and  Maryland,  and  the  first 
1 contract  with  which  he  became  thus  associated  was  for 
the  building  of  a pipe  line  from  the  western  part  of 
West  Virginia  to  Cumberland,  Maryland  He  was  for 
six  months  assistant  to  the  superintendent  of  this  work, 
and  he  then  returned  to  Buffalo.  There  his  marriage 
was  solemnized  in  October,  1907,  and  shortly  afterward 
he  came  to  the  newly  created  State  of  Oklahoma,  and 
■established  his  residence  at  Bartlesville,  the  present 
■judicial  center  of  Washington  County.  There  he  engaged 
in  the  invention  and  manufacturing  of  gas  meters  for 
natural  gas  and  in  general  construction  work  in  connec- 
tion with  the  oil  and  gas  operations  in  that  section  of 
the  state.  Later  he  established  a branch  business  at 
[Chanute,  Kansas,  where  he  maintained  his  residence 
•about  two  years,  since  which  time  he  has  given  his  at- 
tention principally  to  oil  and  gas  development  opera- 
Itions,  in  the  drilling  of  wells  and  the  supplying  of 
■incidental  appurtenances  and  accessories.  He  has  been 
la  resident  of  Tulsa  since  1910  and  here  his  associated 
and  able  coadjutor  in  the  firm  of  Ross  & Greis  is  Edward 
A.  Ross,  the  office  of  the  firm  being  at  304  Drew 
Building. 

I Mr.  Greis  has  gained  secure  place  as  one  of  the  alert 
and  ambitious  young  business  men  of  the  state  of  his 
adoption  and  is  liberal  and  progressive  in  his  civic  atti- 
Itude,  his  political  allegiance  being  given  to  the  demo- 
cratic party.  He  is  prominently  identified  with  the  time- 
honored  Masonic  fraternity,  in  which  he  became  and 
[entered  apprentice  and  was  finally  raised  to  the  degree 
of  Master  Mason  in  Dupew  Lodge,  No.  823,  Ancient 
Free  & Accepted  Masons,  in  the  City  of  Buffalo,  New 
.York.  From  this  lodge  he  received  his  dimit  and  became 
a member  of  Delta  Lodge,  No.  425,  at  Tulsa.  From 
Mount  Sinai  Chapter,  No.  293,  Royal  Arch  Masons,  at 
Buffalo,  New  York,  and  from  Wichita  Commandery, 
Knights  Templars,  in  the  City  of  Wichita,  Kansas,  he 
received  dimit  to  Trinity  Commandery,  No.  20,  at  Tulsa. 
In  Indian  Consistory,  Ancient  Accepted  Scottish  Rite, 
in  the  City  of  McAlester,  he  has  received  the  thirty- 
second  degree,  and  to  form  his  present  affiliation  with 
;Akdar  Temple  of  the  Ancient  Arabic  Order  of  the  Nobles 
of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  in  his  home  City  of  Tulsa,  he  re- 
ceived dimission  from  Abdalla  Temple  in  the  City  of 
Leavenworth,  Kansas.  He  is  a popular  member  also  of 
Tulsa  Lodge,  No.  946,  Benevolent  & Protective  Order  of 
(Elks. 

On  the  1st  of  October,  1907,  was  solemnized  the  mar-' 
riage  of  Mr.  Greis  to  Miss  Bertha  DeLace  Westcott,  who 
was  born  at  Rochester,  New  York,  and  they  have  one 
daughter,  Elizabeth. 

. James  J.  Moroney.  By  inherent  predilection  and 
early  discipline  Mr.  Moroney  acquired  in  his  youth  a 
practical  experience  in  the  domain  of  newspaper  publish- 
ing, and  since  the  year  that  marked  the  admission  of 
Oklahoma  to  the  Union  he  has  held  secure  prestige  as 
one  of  the  representative  newspaper  men  of  this  state. 
Since  that  year,  1907,  he  has  been  editor  in  chief  of 
the  Okmulgee  Democrat,  which  is  now  published  in  both 
daily  and  weekly  editions,  and  which  he  has  brought  into 
special  prominence  and  influence  as  an  exponent  of  the 
oil-producing  industry  in  Oklahoma,  besides  making  it  an 
effective  force  in  exploiting  the  general  interests  of  the 
city  and  state  in  which  it  is  published.  In  connection 
with  oil  and  gas  operations,  the  paper  has  a reputation 
and  circulation  which  far  transcend  local  limitations,  and 
both  its  daily  and  weekly  editions  have  numerous  sub- 
scribers in  the  leading  centers  of  the  oil  business  in 
other  states  of  the  Union.  In  the  publishing  of  this 


important  and  influential  Oklahoma  paper  Mr.  Moroney 
now  has  as  his  valued  coadjutor  Bert  C.  Hodges,  con- 
cerning whom  individual  mention  is  made  on  other  pages 
of  this  volume. 

James  J.  Moroney  was  born  in  the  beautiful  collegiate 
City  of  Oberlin,  Lorain  County,  Ohio,  on  the  22d  of 
January,  1868,  and  is  a son  of  James  P.  and  Mary 
(Shields)  Moroney,  the  former  of  whom  was  born  in  the 
City  of  London,  England,  in  1838,  and  the  latter  of  whom 
was  born  in  County  Galway,  Ireland,  in  1840,  she  having 
thus  been  a girl  of  about  seven  years  at  the  time  of 
her  parents’  immigration  to  the  United  States,  in  1847, 
and  her  future  husband  having  come  to  America  with 
his  parents  in  1851,  when  he  was  about  thirteen  years  old. 
James  P.  Moroney  was  a man  of  most  alert  and  vigorous 
mentality,  was  afforded  good  educational  advantages  as  a 
youth,  but  his  more  liberal  education  was  that  which  he 
acquired  through  self-discipline  and  through  his  long  and 
effective  association  with  the  newspaper  business.  At 
Oberlin,  Ohio,  on  the  30th  of  November,  1865,  was 
solemnized  his  marriage  to  Miss  Mary  Shields,  and  they 
passed  the  remainder  of  their  lives  in  the  old  Buckeye 
State,  where  both  were  called  to  eternal  rest  in  the  year 
1898. 

James  P.  Moroney  early  served  an  apprenticeship  to 
the  trade  of  printer,  and  as  a journeyman  he  went  to 
Ohio  and  engaged  in  the  work  of  his  trade.  At  Bucyrus 
he  founded  eventually  the  Crawford  County  Democrat, 
and  prior  to  this  he  had  been  associated  intimately  with 
the  distinguished  founder  of  the  Toledo  Blade,  David 
Locke.  When  the  Civil  war  was  precipitated  Mr. 
Moroney  promptly  showed  his  loyalty  to  his  adopted 
country,  by  tendering  his  service  in  defense  of  the 
Union.  In  1861  he  enlisted  as  a member  of  Company  I, 
Forty-first  Ohio  Volunteer  Infantry,  with  which  gallant 
command  he  proceeded  to  the  front  and  with  which  he 
participated  in  a number  of  important  engagements,  be- 
sides many  of  minor  order.  At  the  Battle  of  Chicka- 
mauga  he  was  so  severely  wounded  as  to  become  in- 
capacitated for  further  service  in  the  field,  and  thus 
was  accorded  an  honorable  discharge.  After  recuperat- 
ing from  his  injury  he  re-enlisted,  and  thereafter  he  con- 
tinued in  active  service  with  his  original  command  until 
the  regiment  was  mustered  out,  at  the  close  of  the  war. 
Mr.  Moroney  was  a skilled  printer  of  the  old-school 
regime  and  developed  much  ability  as  an  editor  and 
publisher,  virtually  his  entire  active  life  as  a farmer 
having  been  marked  by  quite  close  identification  with 
the  newspaper  business  and  by  friendships  with  numbers 
engaged  in  it.  He  was,  an  influential  and  effective  ex- 
ponent of  the  principles  and  policies  of  the  democratic 
party,  and  prior  to  the  Civil  war  he  had  been  a staunch 
Union  man  though  not  an  abolitionist.  Of  his  twelve 
children  all  are  living  except  one  and  six  of  the  number 
are  residents  of  Oklahoma,  the  subject  of  this  review 
having  been  the  second  in  order  of  birth.  P.  H.  is  en- 
gaged in  the  practice  of  law  at  Tulsa,  this  state ; Nora 
C.  is  society  editor  of  the  Okmulgee  Democrat;  J.  D. 
resides  at  Tulsa  and  is  actively  identified  with  the  oil 
industry  in  that  section  of  Oklahoma;  M.  F.  is  mayor 
of  Okmulgee  and  interested  in  oil  and  real  estate 
projects ; T.  M.  is  connected  with  the  pipe  line  business 
at  Bartlesville,  this  state;  Ellen  resides  in  Arizona; 
William  resides  at  Kingman,  Arizona,  is  engaged  in  the 
practice  of  law  and  was  serving,  at  statehood,  as  county 
attorney  of  Mohave  County ; S.  F.  resides  in  the  State  of 
California;  Margaret  is  the  wife  of  G.  C.  Conrad,  of 
Norwalk,  Ohio;  Alice  is  the  wife  of  George  C.  Wilcox,  of 
Toledo,  Ohio ; and  Mary  died  in  Ohio  at  the  age  of  thirty 
years,  as  the  wife  of  P.  J.  Murray. 

James  J.  Moroney  attended  the  public  schools  of  Ohio 


2186 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


until  he  had  completed  the  curriculum  of  the  high  school, 
and  later  he  pursued  higher  studies  in  the  Ohio  Normal 
School  at  Lebanon,  Warren  County.  As  a youth  he  be- 
came associated  with  the  oil  industry  in  his  native  state, 
and  in  the  eastern  fields  he  continued  his  association 
with  this  line  of  enterprise  principally  in  salaried  posi- 
tions. He  resided  in  the  City  of  Toledo,  Ohio,  about 
seven  years  and  maintained  his  home  at  Marietta,  that 
state,  for  five  years.  In  the  meanwhile  he  had  gained 
as  a boy  a taste  and  ambition  for  his  father’s  early  life 
business  and  profession.  In  1907  he  came  to  Oklahoma 
and  associated  himself  with  Dr.  O.  A.  Lambert  in  the 
purchase  of  the  plant  and  business  of  the  Okmulgee 
Democrat,  of  which  he  has  continued  the  editor  in  chief 
since  that  time  and  which  he  has  made  one  of  the  leading 
papers  of  the  state,  with  broad  influence  and  remarkably 
large  circulation.  In  1915  he,  with  his  other  partner,  B. 
C.  Hodges,  purchased  Doctor  Lambert’s  interest  in  the 
business.  Mr.  Hodges  owns  a half  interest  and  is  busi- 
ness manager  of  the  substantial  and  prosperous  news- 
paper and  job-printing  enterprise.  The  firm  issues  three 
independent  publications:  The  Okmulgee  Daily  Demo- 

crat, The  Mid-Continent  Oil  and  Farm  News,  and  the 
Weekly  Progress,  besides  which  the  firm  also  publishes 
the  Morris  News,  of  Morris,  Okmulgee  County. 

Mr.  Moroney  has  been  a zealous  and  effective  worker 
in  advancing  the  cause  of  the  democratic  party  and  is 
one  of  its  leading  and  most  influential  representatives 
in  the  eastern  part  of  the  state.  He  is  identified  with 
independent  movements  in  connection  with  the  oil  in- 
dustry and  has  made  his  paper,  the  Mid-Continent  Oil 
and  Farm  News,  a potent  influence  in  connection  with 
both  the  oil  and  agricultural  industries  in  Oklahoma,  be- 
sides which  the  paper  has  gained  a wide  circulation  in 
the  oil  regions  of  other  states.  He  is  a broad-minded, 
liberal  and  progressive  citizen  and  is  one  of  the  strong 
and  valued  citizens  of  Oklahoma.  Both  he  and  his  wife 
are  zealous  communicants  of  St.  Anthony ’s  Church, 
Eoman  Catholic,  in  Okmulgee. 

In  the  year  1893  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr. 
Moroney  to  Miss  Mary  Boland,  of  Toledo,  Ohio,  and  they 
are  the  parents  of  six  children, — James  P.,  William  J., 
Francis,  Vincent,  Bernard  and  Anna.  James  P.  is  a 
member  of  the  class  of  1917  in  the  school  of  journalism 
of  Missouri  University;  and  William  J.  is  a member  of 
the  reportorial  staff  of  the  papers  of  which  his  father 
is  publisher,  having  a university  course  in  view. 

Beet  C.  Hodges.  Holding  prestige  as  half-owner  and 
manager  of  the  Okmulgee  Daily  Democrat,  at  the  judicial 
center  of  Okmulgee  County,  Mr.  Hodges  is  not  only  one 
of  the  prominent  representatives  of  the  newspaper  busi- 
ness in  Oklahoma  but  is  also  a specially  influential  figure 
in  the  local  councils  and  campaign  activities  of  the 
democratic  party,  as  indicated  by  the  fact  that  he  has 
served  as  chairman  of  the  Okmulgee  County  Democratic 
Central  Committee  since  1913  and  has  wielded  much  in- 
fluence in  the  successful  maneuvering  of  political  forces 
in  this  section  of  the  state. 

Mr.  Hodges  was  born  at  Calico  Bock,  Izard  County, 
Arkansas,  on  the  1st  of  November,  1883,  and  is  a son  of 
Ferd  T.  and  Anna  Elizabeth  (Stark)  Hodges,  the  former 
of  whom  was  born  at  Paducah,  Kentucky,  and  the  latter 
near  the  City  of  Nashville,  Tennessee.  The  father  of 
Mr.  Hodges  served  throughout  the  Civil  war  as  a valiant 
soldier  of  the  Confederacy,  having  been  in  the  command 
of  General  Beauregard  and  having  taken  part  in  many 
sanguinary  battles,  including  those  of  Shiloh  and  Gettys- 
burg. He  was  assigned  to  duty  as  a spy,  was  captured 
by  the  enemy  and  was  sentenced  to  be  shot,  but  he  was 
saved  through  his  affiliation  with  the  Masonic  fraternity. 


Iwrigl 


laiJ 

aaugl 


lad  i 


kills 

Jedi 

libso 


and  s 
miles 


Bear 
age  1) 


and  a 
Jo  Sa 


S)f  me 


He  entered  the  Confederate  service  when  but  sixteer 
years  of  age  and  was  three  times  wounded  in  action 
After  his  marriage  he  established  his  residence  ir 
Arkansas,  and  he  and  his  wife  now  reside  at  Branch 
Franklin  County,  that  state.  Mr.  Hodges  was  a railroad 
contractor  in  the  earlier  period  of  his  independent  busi 
ness  career  and  later  was  successfully  identified  with  th< 
lumber  industry  in  Arkansas,  as  the  owner  and  operatoi 
of  saw  mills.  He  is  now  living  retired, — a man  ol 
broad  mental  ken  and  sterling  character  and  a citizei 
who  commands  unqualified  popular  esteem.  He  is 
stalwart  democrat  in  his  political  allegiance  and  is  affil 
iated  with'  the  United  Confederate  Veterans..  Of  th< 
ten  children  seven  are  now  living,  and  the  subject  of 
this  sketch  was  the  seventh  in  order  of  birth. 

Bert  C.  Hodges  remained  at  the  parental  home  unti 
he  had  attained  to  the  age  of  twenty  years,  and  in  th«i 
meanwhile  his  principal  experience  had  been  that  gainec 
in  connection  with  the  work  of  his  father’s  farm.  Hi1 
continued  his  studies  in  the  public  schools  until  he  liac 
finished  the  curriculum  of  the  high  school,  and  after 
leaving  the  farm  he  was  employed  in  a general  stori 
for  two  years. 

In  1904  Mr.  Hodges  came  to  Oklahoma  and  here  hi: 
first  service  was  in  connection  with  a restaurant  a 
Muskogee.  He  next  became  a solicitor  for  the  Muskogei 
Democrat,  and  he  continued  his  work  in  this  eapaeitj 
after  the  consolidation  of  the  paper  with  the  Muskoge< 
Times.  Since  1909  he  has  been  manager  of  the  Okmulgee 
Daily  Democrat,  and  since  January,  1915,  he  has  beer  |;s‘ 
owner  of  a half -interest  in  the  large  and  importan 
publishing  business  in  which  his  associate  is  James  J 
Moroney,  of  whom  specific  mention  is  made  on  othei 
pages  of  this  work,  the  firm  publishing  not  only  the 
Okmulgee  Daily  Democrat  but  also  the  Okmulgee  Prog  yj, 
ress,  the  Mid-Continent  Oil  and  Farm  News,  and  the 
Morris  News,  at  Morris,  Okmulgee  County.  Mr.  Hodge: 
is  also  the  owner  of  a half-interest  in  the  Wagoner  Demo 
crat,  published  at  the  county  seat  of  Wagoner  County 

Mr.  Hodges  has  been  a most  enthusiastic  worker  ii 
behalf  of  the  cause  of  the  democratic  party,  and. 
previously  stated,  is  chairman  of  its  central  committee 
for  Okmulgee  County.  He  is  affiliated  with  both  the 
York  and  Scottish  Bite  bodies  of  the  Masonic  fraternity 
and  also  with  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  ol 
Elks.  He  and  his  wife  are  earnest  members  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  South,  at  Okmulgee,  and  he 
is  serving  on  its  official  board. 

On  the  28th  of  June,  1909,  Mr.  Hodges  wedded  Mis: 
May  Stinnett,  who  was  born  in  Kentucky  but  reared  ant  jj“j' 
educated  in  Texas  and  Oklahoma,  she  being  a daughte: 
of  P.  B.  Stinnett,  who  is  still  a resident  of  the  Lone 
Star  State.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hodges  have  a fine  little  son, 
Bert  C.,  Jr. 


for  li 
after 


Soei 

people 


ollars 


Isaac  T.  Gibson,  who  died  September  20,  1915,  while  jeeilie 
visiting  relatives  near  his  former  home  in  Iowa,  hat  |[jtPS 
endeared  himself  and  his  memory  to  the  Osage  people 
by  many  years  of  honest,  constructive  labor  in  behal: 
of  their  welfare,  and  justly  earned  a high  place  ii 
Oklahoma  history.  Affectionately  known  among  both 
the  Indians  and  the  whites  as  “Father  Gibson,”  h 
helped  make  early  history  during  the  years  when  the  Wl|r 
Osage  people  were  being  settled  in  Indian  Territory  |ajj0 
In  his  declining  years  he  returned  to  live  among  th 
people  for  whom  he  so  patiently  labored  forty  o 
forty-five  years  ago. 

He  was  born  near  Xenia  in  Greene  County,  - Ohio 
May  11,  1831,  a son  of  Montelian  and  Sarah  (Embree' 
Gibson,  the  former  a native  of  Fairfax  County,  Vir 


ginia,  and  the  latter  born  near  Jonesboro,  Tennessee  jfj. 


0,18 


Eppon 

frien 


onal 
i tli 
:equir 


iy  j 

indue 


epa 

ejud 

Pule 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2187 


The  father  when  a boy  was  indentured  to  a milling 
firm  in  Virginia,  and  thus  learned  the  trade  of  mill- 
wright and  miller.  In  1805  he  came  to  Ohio,  and  was 
engaged  at  his  trade  by  Thomas  Embree,  a prominent 
land  owner  and  miller  in  the  Miami  Valley,  whose 
daughter  he  subsequently  married.  Thomas  Embree 
had  secured  a military  land  warrant  covering  1,000 
acres  of  land  and  including  a number  of  valuable 
mill  sites  along  the  Miami  River  in  Southwestern  Ohio. 
He  divided  this  land  among  his  children  and  Montelian 
Gibson  and  wife  made  a good  farm  out  of  their  portion 
and  also  had  a mill  on  the  Little  Miami  River  three 
miles  north  of  Xenia. 

Isaac  T.  Gibson  was  the  last  survivor  of  a family  of 
nine  children.  His  parents  both  died  at  Salem,  in 
Henry  County,  Iowa.  When  Isaac  was  five  years  of 
age  his  parents  removed  to  Morgan  County,  Indiana, 
and  at  the  age  of  eighteen  he  accompanied  his  mother 
to  Salem,  Iowa,  where  two  of  his  sisters  lived  at  that 
time.  Mr.  Gibson  considered  the  State  of  Iowa  his 
home  until  1906,  though  many  years  were  spent  in 
other  states. 

As  a boy  he  had  a limited  education,  since  he  was 
practically  reared  on  the  frontier,  and  largely  edu- 
cated himself.  He  had  not  only  a thorough  knowledge 
of  men  and  affairs,  but  also  read  extensively  and  was 
a most  interesting  conversationalist.  His  early  years 
were  spent  on  a farm  and  after  going  to  Iowa  he  was 
employed  as  clerk  in  a store  at  $11  a month,  paying 
his  own  board.  Afterwards  he  engaged  in  business 
for  himself,  and  was  a merchant  for  ten  years,  but 
after  his  marriage  returned  to  farming.  On  October 
20,  1858,  he  married  Miss  Anna  Mary  Hiatt,  who  was 
born  in  that  noted  Quaker  community  of  Grant  County, 
Indiana,  February  3,  1835,  and  who  died  in  Salem, 
Iowa,  September  16,  1906. 

For  a few  months  after  leaving  the  farm  in  Iowa 
Mr.  Gibson  was  employed  in  the  commission  business 
in  Chicago,  but  about  the  close  of  the  war  was 
appointed  at  the  yearly  meeting  of  the  Society  of 
Friends  for  the  purpose  of  looking  after  the  educa- 
tional and  material  welfare  of  the  colored  freedmen 
in  the  State  of  Missouri.  This  was  a work  which 
required  not  only  a sincere  interest  in  the  welfare  of 
the  colored  people,  so  recently  freed  from  slavery,  but 
also  a splendid  moral  courage  in  carrying  out  a work 
which  was  met  with  strenuous  opposition  by  most  of 
the  white  people  in  the  southern  states.  On  that  mis- 
sion Mr.  Gibson  established  colored  schools  in  nearly 
all  of.  the  principal  towns  that  were  located  along  rail- 
way lines  in  Missouri,  and  was  also  influential  in 
inducing  the  school  board  of  St.  Louis  to  establish 
schools  for  the  instruction  of  colored  children  in  that 
.city.  It  was  not  only  difficult  to  get  money  appro- 
priated for  such  schools,  but  almost  impossible  to 
secure  competent  white  teachers  in  the  southern 
states,  and  this  deficiency  was  met  by  the  Friends 
Society  in  agreeing  to  furnish  teachers  for  the  colored 
people.  He  was  one  of  the  men  who  endeavored  to 
secure  the  proper  expenditure  of  the  thousands  of 
dollars  raised  by  the  Society  of  Friends  for  the  educa- 
tion of  the  colored  people  in  the  South.  He  spent 
^nearly  two  years  in  the  work,  and  almost  every  day 
had  to  proceed  to  his  duty  in  the  face  of  threats  on 
the  part  of  the  white  people,  who  entertained  strong 
prejudices  against  the  entire  freedmen  movement. 
While  in  St.  Louis  he  discovered  that  the  school  board 
was  wasting  funds  which  had  been  set  aside  for  the 
colored  schools,  and  the  colored  people  in  addition  to 
paying  taxes  on  $1,000,000  worth  of  property  in  the 
city  were  also  supporting  half  a dozen  colored  schools 


by  private  subscription.  Mr.  Gibson  found  his  most 
difficult  work  in  St.  Louis,  where  the  school  board 
raised  every  possible  argument  against  the  advantage 
of  educating  the  negroes,  but  under  his  courageous 
direction  and  with  the  support  of  his  Quaker  teachers 
he  finally  aroused  and  created  a different  sentiment, 
and  one  which  favored  colored  education. 

After  the  conclusion  of  this  work  Mr.  Gibson  was 
engaged  in  farming  in  Iowa  until  the  fall  of  1869.  He 
was  then  appointed  United  States  Indian  agent  for 
the  Osage  Indians  and  other  tribes.  On  taking  up  his 
duties  he  found  the  temporary  agency  for  the  Osages 
located  four  miles  east  of  Independence,  Kansas.  The 
Osage  Reservation  at  that  time  included  a tract  of 
country  fifty  miles  wide  and  300  miles  long,  includ- 
ing about  a fifth  of  the  present  State  of  Kansas, 
and  bordering  the  north  line  of  Indian  Territory.  In 
the  previous  year,  1868,  these  Indians  had  been  com- 
pelled to  sign  a treaty  with  a railroad  company  sac- 
rificing their  land  at  18  cents  per  acre.  They  were 
forced  to  accept  this  price,’  the  threat  being  made  that 
they  would  get  nothing  at  all  in  case  they  refused  to 
accept  the  treaty.  Through  the  intervention  of  Presi- 
dent Grant  agents  were  appointed  to  the  Indians  by 
various  religious  bodies,  and  Mr.  Gibson  was  selected 
for  these  duties  by  the  Society  of  Friends.  When 
he  first  came  among  the  Osages  they  were  people  still 
existing  in  a semi-barbarous  condition,  and  lived  on 
buffalo  meat  nearly  altogether.  He  assisted  Enoch 
Hoag,  the  superintendent  of  Indian  Affairs  in  the  cen- 
tral superintendency,  in  investigating  the  affairs  of  the 
Indians,  and  helped  to  demonstrate  how  the  Indians 
had  been  swindled  out  of  their  lands,  and  it  was  the 
Hoag  report  which  caused  President  Grant  to  with- 
draw the  treaty  already  mentioned  from  the  United 
States  Senate.  Later  Mr.  Gibson  went  to  Washington 
and  assisted  in  securing  legislation  by  which  the 
Indian  Reservation  might  be  surveyed  and  sold  and 
the  Indians  transferred  to  another  reservation  in 
Indian  Territory.  This  was  in  line  with  the  Govern- 
ment policy  at  that  time  to  concentrate  all  the  Indian 
tribes  possible  within  the  borders  of  Indian  Territory. 
Mr.  Gibson  was  the  sole  representative  of  the  Osages 
in  Washington  for  several  years,  and  was  instrumental 
in  securing  the  sale  of  the  Osage  lands  at  a price 
aggregating  $1.25  per  acre.  The  proceeds  from  this 
sale  were  placed  in  the  United  States  treasury  at 
5 per  cent  interest,  and  it  was  that  fund,  growing 
from  year  to  year  that  made  the  Osages  the  wealthiest 
body  of  people  in  the  world. 

While  acting  as  Indian  agent  Mr.  Gibson  moved  the 
agency  to  Silver  Lake,  a few  miles  south  of  where 
Bartlesville  now  stands.  Then,  as  a result  of  further 
legislation  and  re-arrangement  of  boundaries,  he 
moved  the  agency  to  its  present  location.  He  selected 
this  site,  where  the  city  of  Pawhuska  now  stands,  on 
May  1,  1872,  and  moved  his  quarters  to  that  point  on 
the  15th  of  May.  It  was  then  a beautiful  location,  in 
the  midst  of  a fine  valley,  with  the  Osage  hills  almost 
enclosing  it,  and  with  a landscape  which  could  not 
but  please  and  charm.  Mr.  Gibson  also  established 
the  Indian  school  at  Pawhuska  and  erected  the  build- 
ings. Out  of  the  $50,000  fund  appropriated  for  the 
removal  of  Indians  to  their  new  reservation,  Mr.  Gib- 
son- did  not  use  a single  dollar,  and  that  is  only  one 
illustration  out  of  many  to  prove  his  absolute  disin- 
terestedness and  honesty  in  all  his  dealings  with  the 
Indians.  He  was  appointed  local  agent  October  1, 
1869,  and  was  succeeded  in  the  office  on  February  22, 
1876. 

In  that  time  he  had  performed  a great  deal  of  con- 


2188 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


structive  work  of  improvement  among  the  Osages.  In 
three  years  time  he  had  converted  them  from  a wild 
roving  tribe  into  peaceful  and  permanent  settlers, 
interested  in  the  upbuilding  of  homes  and  in  the  arts 
and  pursuits  of  agriculture  and  civilization.  He 
induced  his  wards  to  split  many  thousands  of  rails,  to 
erect  permanent  homes,  and  to  till  the  soil.  When  he 
first  came  among  them  the  Osages  had  a bad  reputa- 
tion, and  he  had  the  satisfaction  of  seeing  that  yield 
to  a reputation  for  honesty  and  quiet  law  abiding 
industry.  Among  these  people  he  won  close  friends, 
and  all  of  them  admired  him  for  his  thorough  honesty. 
While  he  had  opportunities  to  make  a fortune  he 
actually  left  the  agency  poorer  in  dollars  and  cents 
than  when  he  had  come.  This  is  certainly  a record 
which  makes  his  experience  notable  in  the  Indian 
country.  After  the  Osages  moved  to  Indian  territory 
Mr.  Gibson  laid  out  a white  man’s  road  and  announced 
publicly  to  the  Indians  that  for  those  who  wished  to 
take  the  white  man ’s  way  he  would  secure  allotments 
of  land  and  get  it  recorded  and  thus  established  them 
severally  in  independent  homes  of  their  own.  He 
helped  them  in  clearing  up  the  land,  in  securing  appro- 
priate implements  for  them  to  carry  on  their  simple 
agriculture,  and  also  induced  several  Indian  mis- 
sionaries to  come  and  assist  the  women  in  learning  the 
fundamentals  of  housekeeping.  During  the  first  year 
he  induced  more  than  fifty  families  to  remain  and  con- 
tinue the  work  of  splitting  rails  and  effecting  other 
permanent  improvements,  and  during  that  winter  these 
families  got  out  over  80,000  rails  instead  of  going  on 
the  annual  hunt.  In  the  next  season  a still  larger 
number  remained  behind  and  kept  up  their  fence 
building  and  other  farm  improvements.  In  the  year 
1875  those  who  had  not  accepted  his  plan  of  permanent 
settlement  went  away  to  the  plains  for  hunting,  but 
in  the  meantime  the  buffalo  had  been  practically  exter- 
minated, and  the  hunters  soon  returned  disheartened 
and  quite  willing  to  accept  the  circumstances  of  civil- 
ized life. 

Some  other  points  in  the  work  of  this  Oklahoma 
missionary  are  brought  out  in  the  following  quotation 
from  a letter  written  by  his  son: 

“It  might  be  of  interest  to  add  that  Father  Gibson 
was  one  of  fourteen  ‘ Quaker  ’ Indian  agents  appointed 
under  President  Grant’s  so-called  ‘church  policy’  with 
the  wild  tribes  of  Indians.  The  writer  has  in  his 
possession  a group  photograph  of  eleven  of  them 
including  Lawrie  Tatum,  agent  for  the  Kiowas  and 
Comanches;  Brinton  Darlington  for  the  Cheyennes 
and  Arapahoes;  Mahlon  Stubbs  for  the  Kaws;  John 
D.  Miles,  Dr.  Richards,  and  others,  all  of  whom  have 
doubtless  had  honorable  mention  in  your  historical 
work,  since  these  men  were  among  the  first  authorized 
white  settlers  of  the  Indian  Territory,  as  they  were 
the  first  Indian  Agents  to  live  with  the  tribes  under 
their  charge.  This  fact  was  appreciated  by  the 
Indians  themselves  who  stated  in  speeches  in  Council 
— ‘Heretofore  our  govenment  agents  have  visited  us 
about  once  a year  bringing  us  a few  presents,  but  you 
have  shown  enough  interest  in  our  welfare  to  bring 
your  families  and  live  with  us,  showing  us  the  white 
man’s  road  and  his  religion.’ 

“An  examination  of  their  reports  and  letters  to  the 
Commissioner  of  Indian  Affairs  at  Washington,  D.  C., 
will  indicate  how  largely  instrumental  these  devoted 
men  were  in  reconciling  these  wild,  roving,  thieving, 
murderous  bands  of  Indians  to  their  reservations  in 
the  Indian  Territory,  and  the  changed  conditions  of 
living  so  at  variance  with  their  previous  customs, 
habits  and  traditions.  Verily  their  works  do  live 
after  them.” 


In  1876  Mr.  Gibson  returned  to  Iowa  and  was 
engaged  in  farming  in  that  state  until  the  death  of1 
his  wife.  He  then  lived  with  his  sons  in  Kansas  ana 
Oklahoma.  His  older  son  is  Allen  H.  of  Coffeyville. 
Kansas,  and  the  other  is  Thomas  Embree,  of  Big 
Heart,  Oklahoma.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Gibson  had  seven 
children,  but  four  of  them  died  in  infancy,  and  the 
daughter,  Mary  Elma,  died  at  the  age  of  twenty-eight. 


both 
Rev. 
the  C 
.in  18: 
came. 
God 
mend 

Tribe 
[Of  a: 


Rev.  Joseph  S.  Murrow.  It  is  impossible  to  charac- 
terize fitly  the  life  and  service  of  this  venerable  and 
dignified  minister  of  the  Gospel  whose  name  is  known, 
and  revered  by  many  thousands  of  Oklahoma  people. 
No  measure  of  gold  or  mundane  success  could  be. 
applied  to  his  career.  Yet  on  the  life  of  two  genera- 
tions of  people,  especially  the  old  Indian  tribes  of 
Oklahoma,  he  has  exercised  an  influence  beyond  all 
estimates  and  reckonings.  And  it  is  noteworthy  that 
even  now,  when  others  can  perceive  the  widespread 
fruits  of  his  ministry  and  when  he  is  rounding  out  a 
lifetime  in  his  eighties,  Reverend  Mr.  Murrow  is. 
inclined  to  depreciate  and  undervalue  the  effective- 
ness of  his  life  work.  Such  is  the  essential  modesty, 
simplicity  of  the  man,  who  has  no  disposition  to  crave 
the  fame  of  men  and  leaves  to  a higher  power  any 
judgment  of  his  achievements. 

As  to  those  facts  which  are  usually  considered  in  a 
biography,  Joseph  Samuel  Murrow  was  born  in  Jeffer- 
son County,  Georgia,  June  7,  1835.  His  grandfather, 
William  Murrow,  was  one  of  the  followers  of  General 
Francis  Marion  in  the  War  of  the  Revolution.  His 
father,  John  Murrow,  married  Mary  Amelia  Badger, 
and  this  couple  had  six  children. 

He  received  a meager  education  in  the  public 
schools  of  his  native  community,  and  a better  training 
in  the  Springfield  Academy  in  Effingham  County.  Later 
he  was  a student  in  Mercer  University,  one  of  the 
leading  Baptist  schools  in  Georgia.  From  early  child- 
hood he  was  possessed  of  an  earnest  desire  to  become 
a minister,  and  this  desire,  augmented  by  the  teach- 
ings of  a noble  father  already  in  the  work,  was  a 
great  help  to  the  ambitious  youth. 

At  the  age  of  nineteen  in  1854  he  united  with  the 
Green  Fork  Baptist  Church  and  the  following  year 
was  licensed  to  preach.  It  was  after  that  time,  in 
1856,  that  he  matriculated  as  a student  in  Mercer 
University. 

Ordained  to  the  ministry  in  September,  1857,  at 
Macon,  Georgia,  he  was  appointed  by  the  Domestic 
and  Indian  Mission  Board  of  the  Southern  Baptist 
Convention  and  supported  by  the  Rehoboth  Associa- 
tion as  a missionary  to  the  Indians  in  the  West.  On 
November  13,  1857,  he  arrived  at  old  North  Fork 
town,  now  Eufaula.  At  that  time  there  were  no  rail- 
roads west  of  the  Mississippi  River.  He  spent  five 
weeks  making  the  trip. 

Some  years  ago  Reverend  Mr.  Murrow  furnished  an 
interview  to  a correspondent  who  wrote  up  the 
substance  of  the  interview  under  the  title  “Rem- 
iniscences of  a Missionary  Among  South-West  Wild 
Indians.”  In  that  article  Mr.  Murrow  was  quoted 
as  saying : “I  was  one  of  the  earliest  of  the  Bap- 
tist missionaries  to  come  among  the  Indians  of  the 
Indian  Territory  in  the  Southwest.  Preceding  me 
were  Rev.  Evan  Jones  who  came  out  with  the  Chero- 
kees  in  1832  and  remained  with  them  until  after  the 
war,  when  he  died,  still  in  the  service.  Later  his  work 
was  taken  up  by  his  son  John  B.  Jones.  Their  work 
was  exclusively  among  the  Cherokees.  Another  was 
Rev.  H.  F.  Buckner,  who  came  out  from  Kentucky  in 
1849  and  for  thirty-one  years  did  noble  work  among 
the  Creeks.  He  too  died  in  the  service.  I knew  them 


organ 

reuini 

skip: 
days: 
On 
row  ai 
Fork ' 
month 
iugon 
Ratio 
(laugh 
ritory 
fa  \ 
A. 
row  i 
establ 
As 
Rover 
break 
a des 
snasio 
every 
them 
attem] 
side, 
the  n 
jat  all, 
,was  u 
'snasio: 
that  ii 
Iside  o: 
were  ( 
actor 
of  reg 
the  S( 
half  o 
taws : 
loeatei 
solidly 
eountr 
immed 
team 
worst 
of  th 
avoide 
far  mi 
“In 
to  a] 
that  t: 
powers 
snpplie 
old  m( 
Comani 
Ben  hi 
1 

he  Os; 
mid  i 
l 

for  Ch: 
(rate  I 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2189 


kv  it 


both  well  and  was  quite  intimately  associated  with 
Eev.  Mr.  Buckner.  Rev.  Ramsay  Potts  came  among 
the  Choctaws  in  1832  and  Rev.  Joseph  Smedley  came 
in  1835.  They  had  both  retired  from  the  work  before  I 
came.  All  of  these  men  were  noble  ambassadors  of 
God  and  no  words  of  praise  are  too  strong  in  com- 
mendation of  their  good  work  among  these  people. 

‘ ‘ My  work  has  been  among  all  of  the  Five  Civilized 
Tribes  ind  among  the  blanket  or  wild  Indians  as  well. 
Of  all  the  missionaries  representing  several  church 
organizations  in  the  early  days  of  this  work  I alone 
remain  to  tell  in  person  anything  of  the  trials,  hard- 
ships, joys  and  successes  and  failures  of  those  pioneer 
days.  ’ ’ 

On  coming  to  Indian  Territory  Reverend  Mr.  Mur- 
row  and  his  wife  settled  in  a little  log  cabin  in  old  North 
Fork  town  in  the  Creek  Nation.  His  wife  died  there  ten 
months  later.  He  aided  Mr.  Buckner  in  his  work,  travel- 
ing on  his  pony  all  over  the  Creek,  Seminole  and  Choctaw 
Nations.  In  1859  he  married  Miss  Clara  Burns, 
daughter  of  Rev.  Willis  Burns,  who  came  to  the  ter- 
ritory as  a missionary  in  1858.  Of  this  union  four  chil- 
dren were  born;  one  only  is  still  living,  a daughter,  Mrs. 
W.  A.  McBride,  of  Atoka.  After  his  marriage  Mr.  Mur- 
row  immediately  moved  to  the  Seminole  Nation  and 
established  the  mission  work  in  that  tribe. 

As  to  the  conditions  among  the  Indians  in  1861 
Reverend  Mr.  Murrow  is  quoted  as  saying:  “At  the 
breaking  out  of  the  Civil  war  the  Five  Tribes  were  in 
a desperately  agitated  state  Great  pressure,  per- 
suasion, cajoling,  bribing,  coaxing,  threatening  and 
every  conceivable  influence  was  brought  to  bear  upon 
them  from  both  the  Union  and  the  Confederacy  in 
attempts  to  persuade  them  to  cast  their  lot  with  either 
side.  The  chiefs  and  old  men  of  the  tribes  and,  for 
the  most  part  the  women,  were  against  taking  sides 
at  all,  preferring  to  remain  absolutely  neutral.  This 
was  undoubtedly  the  wise  policy,  but  continued  per- 
suasion and  pressure  so  wrought  upon  the  young  men 
that  in  the  end  all  of  the  tribes  took  up  arms  for  one 
side  or  the  other,  being  used  mostly  as  scouts  or  else 
were  organized  into  bands  of  raiders,  the  Indian  char- 
acter not  being  adaptable  to  the  rigorous  restrictions 
of  regular  army  life.  The  Creeks,  the  Cherokees  and 
the  Seminoles  divided  in  their  allegiance,  about  one 
half  of  each  tribe  going  to  either  side.  The  Choc- 
taws and  Chickasaws,  these  tribes  being  allied  and 
located  in  the  southern  part  of  the  territory,  went 
solidly  with  the  Confederacy.  During  the  war  the 
country  was  devastated  by  raiders  and  skirmishes,  and 
immediately  following  the  close  of  hostilities  it 
became  a rendezvous  for  a horde  of  outlaws  of  the 
worst  kind.  Had  the  tribes  all  remained  neutral  much 
of  this  suffering  and  privation  would  have  been 
avoided  and  the  Indian  people  would  have  advanced 
far  more  rapidly  in  Christianity  and  education. 

“In  1862  at  the  request  of  the  Seminole  Council,  I 
was  appointed  Confederate  States  Indian  Agent  for 
that  tribe.  The  following  year  I received  additional 
powers,  including  the  purchase  and  distribution  of 
supplies  and  provisions  to  the  women,  children  and 
old  men  of  several  tribes,  including  Creeks,  Osages, 
Comanches,  Wichitas  and  others,  whose  able  bodied 
men  had  enlisted  with  the  Confederate  army.  These 
Comanches  mostly  belonged  to  To-sho-way’s  band  and 
the  Osages  to  Black  Dog’s  band.  They  were  all  very 
wild  and  savage.  They  had  never  heard  of  the 
Christian  religion.  So  I continued  to  be  a missionary 
for  Christ  as  well  as  a representative  of  the  Confed- 
erate Government,  and  endeavored  as  best  I could 


to  feed  their  souls  with  spiritual  food  as  well  as  to 
care  for  their  temporal  wants.  Like  all  agents  sim- 
ilarly placed  I was  often  called  upon  to  withstand 
temptation  in  the  shape  of  bribes  offered  by  con- 
tractors for  supplies,  such  as  accepting  poor  and  dis- 
eased beef  for  good  and  dividing1  the  profit  with  the 
contractor,  but  I thank  God  that  I was  able,  through 
His  spirit,  to  conquer  and  keep  my  hands  clean  and 
free,  of  the  contamination  of  bribery  in  any  form. 
My  reports  were  always  made  out  to  the  last  cent. 
Sometimes  I paid  out  great  sums  of  money.  Once  I 
received  over  forty  thousand  dollars  as  a single  pay- 
ment of  ‘head  money’  to  members  of  the  tribes. 
These  sums  were  not  always  all  Confederate  money 
but  sometimes  included  sums  of  gold. 

“After  the  war  I returned  to  my  missionary  work 
among  the  Five  Tribes  and  was  busy  most  of  the  time 
in  reorganizing  the  demoralized  churches  in  the  Choc- 
taw and  Creek  tribes.  My  wife  died  in  1868.  In  1870 
I suffered  from  a severe  disease  of  the  eyes  brought 
on  by  excessive  labor  and  neglect,  and  was  compelled 
to  return  to  my  home  in  Georgia,  where  friends  placed 
me  in  a hospital  for  the  blind  in  the  City  of  Atlanta. 
I was  absent  from  my  mission  work  for  six  months. 
During  this  time  I had  ample  time  to  look  over  the 
Indian  field  of  work  and  I became  impressed  with  the 
thought  that  something  should  be  done  for  the  wild 
Indians  of  the  western  part  of  the  Indian  Territory.’’ 

As  a result  of  the  plans  thus  formulated  and  his 
exertions  a mission  was  commenced  among  these  wild 
or  blanket  Indians  in  1874,  and  it  has  continued  to  the 
present  time. 

After  four  years  of  work  among  the  Creeks  and  four 
years  with  the  Seminoles,  Doctor  Murrow  came  to  the 
Choctaw  Nation  and  in  1867  located  at  what  is  now 
the  City  of  Atoka,  a place  to  which  he  gave  the  name 
and  of  which  he  will  always  be  regarded  as  the 
founder.  When  he  located  there  only  two  white  fami- 
lies were  living  anywhere  in  that  locality.  As  the 
location  was  on  the  direct  trail  and  mail  route  of  the 
Government,  Mr.  Murrow  determined  to  have  a post- 
office  established  there  and  after  writing  the  petition 
and  the  necessary  correspondence  was  successful  and 
the  postoffice  was  named  Atoka. 

In  July,  1872,  Reverend  Mr.  Murrow  issued  a call 
to  the  churches  of  the  Choctaw  and  Chickasaw  Nations 
to  meet  in  Atoka  for  the  purpose  of  organizing  the 
Choctaw  and  Chickasaw  Baptist  Association.  Sixteen 
churches  responded.  The  organization  thus  established 
did  much  for  the  two  nations  and  sent  from  its  ranks 
many  of  the  present  strong  Baptist  bodies  of  the  old 
territory  and  the  new  state.  In  1876  he  introduced  a 
preamble  and  resolution  in  the  annual  meeting  of  the 
Choctaw  and  Chickasaw  Association,  looking  to  the 
immediate  organization  of  all  the  Baptist  associations 
of  the  territory  into  a general  convention.  This  was 
done  for  the  purpose  of  breaking  up  tribal  walls  in 
religious  work,  bringing  about  a more  fraternal  feel- 
ing and  a broader  acquaintance  between  the  workers 
in  the  field  and  to  secure  a more  active  co-operation 
and  interest  in  the  support  and  maintenance  of  mission 
work  among  the  blanket  Indians  and  other  needy 
fields.  This  was  not  effected  until  1881,  when  the 
Baptist  Missionary  and  Educational  Convention  was 
organized  and  rapidly  grew  into  a great  power  for 
good.  Mr.  Murrow  was  for  seventeen  years  president 
of  this  convention,  giving  much  of  his  time,  means 
and  prayers  to  its  work. 

In  1879  in  the  same  association  he  introduced  a 
resolution  recommending  the  establishment  of  a Bible 
School  for  the  instruction  of  native  preachers  in  Bible 


2190 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


doctrine  and  Baptist  faith  and  practice.  Further  con- 
ferences with  Rev.  A.  C.  Bacone  and  Rev.  Daniel  Rogers 
led  to  the  establishment  of  Indian  University  at 
Bacone,  Indian  Territory,  which  has  also  been  a 
potent  factor  for  good  in  Oklahoma. 

For  many  years  Reverend  Mr.  Murrow ’s  missionary 
work  was  done  under  the  auspices  of  the  mission  board 
of  the  Southern  Baptist  Church.  In  1889  he  changed 
his  relationship  to  the  Baptist  Home  Mission  Society 
of  New  York,  and  for  fourteen  years  had  general 
supervision  of  all  Indian  missionary  work  for  the 
Baptist  Church  in  Oklahoma  and  Indian  Territory. 
His  work  during  these  years  of  trying  circumstances 
and  self  sacrifices  was  arduous  and  difficult,  but  was 
none  the  less  effective.  He  organized  more  than  sev- 
enty-five Baptist  churches  in  the  Indian  Territory,  and 
assisted  with  his  own  hands  and  money  in  the  build- 
ing of  nearly  that  many  houses  of  worship.  He 
assisted  in,  the  ordination  of  more  than  seventy 
preachers,  mostly  Indians,  and  baptized  not  less  than 
2,000  people,  most  of  whom  were  also  Indians. 

In  1887,  largely  due  to  Reverend  Mr.  Murrow’s 
leadership,  the  Atoka  Baptist  Church  successfully 
inaugurated  the  Atoka  Baptist  Academy.  This  splen- 
did school  was  conducted  under  the  auspices  of  the 
American  Baptist  Home  Mission  Society  for  eighteen 
years,  and  was  then  merged  into  or  absorbed  by  the 
Murrow  Indian  Orphans  Home.  The  founding  of  this 
home  has  been  considered  by  Mr.  Murrow  as  his  last 
and  best  effort  for  the  assistance  of  the  people  to 
whom  he  has  given  nearly  sixty  years  of  service. 

His  work  in  connection  with  the  Orphans  Home 
has  been  practically  continuous  since  January  1,  1903. 
He  secured  as  a permanent  site  a large  farm  located 
in  the  Choctaw  Nation.  He  has  been  indefatigable 
in  the  practical  work  of  the  school  and  in  securing 
support  for  it  from  over  the  country.  He  enlisted 
the  sympathy  of  President  Roosevelt  and  many  fore- 
most Americans,  and  in  the  years  before  Oklahoma 
statehood  had  secured  contributions  of  about  $20,000 
for  the  buying  of  property  and  making  improvements 
suitable  to  the  work  and  the  purposes  of  the  home. 

On  June  20,  1888,  at  Bacone  College  at  Muskogee, 
Reverend  Mr.  Murrow  married  Kathrina  Lois  Ellett, 
who  was  born  near  Cleveland,  Ohio.  She  was  a zealous 
Christian  worker  in  behalf  of  the  Indians  before  her 
marriage,  and  since  then  has  loyally  aided  and  abetted 
Reverend  Mr.  Murrow  in  his  continued  efforts  in 
behalf  of  the  uplift  and  betterment  of  the  Indian 
people  in  Oklahoma. 

Reverend  Mr.  Murrow  is  one  of  the  oldest  and  most 
distinguished  Masons  of  Oklahoma.  He  organized  the 
first  Masonic  Lodge  in  the  territory  after  the  war,  locat- 
ing it  at  Boggy  Depot.  For  more  than  thirty  years  he 
was  grand  secretary  of  the  Blue  Lodge  of  the  territory, 
and  he  assisted  in  organizing  and  at  one  time  was  secre- 
tary of  the  Grand  Lodge  and  the  Grand  Chapter  and  grand 
recorder  of  the  Grand  Commandery  of  the  Grand 
Council.  He  also  organized  the  first  council  of  Royal 
and.  Select  Masters  in  Oklahoma,  and  served  as  grand 
master  of  the  Grand  Council  until  April,  1912.  In  the 
Scottish  Rite  he  attained  the  very  great  distinction 
of  the  thirty-third  degree. 

W.  A.  Smith,  of  Bartlesville,  who  has  been  exten- 
sively indentified  with  the  oil  development  of  Okla- 
homa for  more  than  ten  years,  has  a well  earned  repu- 
tation of  a man  who  does  things  in  a large  way,  and 
whose  activities  are  a matter  of  public  interest  because 
they  are  so  closely  connected  with  the  public  welfare. 


His  success  and  prosperity  are  the  result  of  hard 
experience  and  practical  work  in  the  oil  regions  of 
many  diverse  sections.  He  has  used  his  means  lib- 
erally and  elsewhere  and  he  is  well  known  both  in 
Oklahoma  and  in  other  states. 

His  birth  occurred  at  Buffalo,  New  York,  October 
31,  1869.  His  parents,  Herbert  G.  and  Rosalie  (Clark) 
Smith,  were  natives  of  Erie  County,  New  York  and 
his  father  for  the  past  eight  years  has  been  a citizen 
of  Bartlesville.  Herbert  G.  Smith  was  born  in  Erie 
County,  New  York,  on  a farm,  February  2,  1850,  and 
lived  there  until  twenty-two  years  of  age.  His  par- 
ents, William  and  Rachel  (Healy)  Smith,  also  natives 
of  .New  York  State,  were  early  residents  and  farmers 
of  Erie  County,  and  William  Smith  died  in  1870  and 
his  wife  in  1885.  Their  seven  children  were:  Chester, 
who  was  killed  in  the  battle  of  Gettysburg;  Myra 
deceased;  Albert,  deceased;  Herbert  G.;  Chloe’ 
deceased;  Annie,  deceased;  and  William,  who  died  in 
infancy.  Herbert  G.  Smith  at  the  age  of  twenty -two 
located  on  a farm  in  the  State  of  Michigan,  after- 
wards returned  to  New  York  and  lived  on  the  home 
farm  three  years,  and  next  engaged  in  the  oil  business 
at  Bradford,  Pennsylvania,  following  which  his  opera- 
tions took  him  into  Ohio,  Indiana,  West  Virginia,  out 
to  Kansas,  and  since  1907  his  home  and  headquarters 
have  been  in  Bartlesville.  He  is  a republican  voter 
but  has  never  been  active  in  polities,  and  is  a member 
of  the  Order  of  the  Maccabees,  while  his  wife  is  a 
Presbyterian.  His  wife,  whose  maiden  name  was 
Rosalie  Clark,  was  born  in  Erie  County,  New  York 
February  2,  1851,  a daughter  of  Amo's  and  Louisa 
(Fuller)  Clark,  also  a native  of  New  York  State.  Her 
mother  died  in  1859  and  her  father  in  1902,  and  their 
four  children  were:  Ellen,  deceased;  Etta,  wife  of 
Alonzo  Wilkinson  of  Montgomery  County,  Missouri; 
Adelbert,  who  died  in  infancy;  and  Mrs.  H.  G.  Smith. 

The  only  child  of  his  parents,  W.  A.  Smith  grew  up 
in  Western  New  York  and  also  in  Western  Pennsyl- 
vania. At  the  age  of  sixteen  he  left  school  and 
became  associated  with  his  father  in  the  oil  business 
in_  Pennsylvania  and  Indiana.  Thus  for  more  than 
thirty  years  his  activities  have  been  concentrated 
along  the  line  of  oil  development,  and  there  is  no  man 
in  Oklahoma  of  broader  and  more  active  experience  in 
this  industry.  More  than  ordinary  responsibilities 
came  to  him  at  an  early  age.  While  in  Indiana  he 
took  the  position  of  general  superintendent  for  the 
West  Indian  Oil  Syndicate,  operating  in  the  Barba- 
does  and  on  the  coast  of  Venezuela.  He  remained  in 
South  America  about  three  years  and  was  also  identi- 
fied to  some  extent  with  placer  mining.  Returning  to 
the  United  States  he  was  for  about  three  years  in  the 
oil  fields  of  West  Virginia,  and  then  went  out  to 
Kansas.  He  is  a man  of  cosmopolitan  experience  and 
training,  has  known  all  sorts  and  conditions  of  men, 
and  he  has  the  bearing  and  address  of  the  man  who 
has  traveled  widely  and  has  seen  much  of  the  world 
and  of  life. 

Since  1905  he  has  operated  with  Bartlesville  as  his 
headquarters.  In  the  subsequent  decade  he  has  been 
among  the  foremost  in  several  lines  of  development 
and  Washington  County  in  particular  owes  much  to 
his  enterprise.  He  was  one  of  the  promoters  in  build- 
ing the  street  railway  and  the  interurban  line  at 
Bartlesville,  and  was  treasurer  of  the  company  and 
a director  until  the  plant  was  sold  to  a syndicate  of 
New  York  capitalists.  The  directors  of  the  company 
had  raised  among  themselves  the  money  necessary  to 


Virg 


|of  mai 
[to  be 

b 

Witica 
wt,  1 
fish  bel 
pmenl 
paracti 
PPpositi, 
west  ( 


The  ele< 
hnska,  i 


Mm 
W ord 


phieven 
fel’s  | 
Merest  i 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


2191 


build  these  lines,  and  the  business  was  always  a pay- 
ing proposition. 

Mr.  Smith  and  John  Irwin  built  at  Bartlesville  the 
fine  Smith-Irwin  Block,  but  Mr.  Smith  has  since  sold 
his  interest  and  it  is  now  known  as  the  Brin-Irwin 
Building.  His  interests  as  an  oil  man  are  widely 
extended,  not  only  in  the  region  surrounding  Bartles- 
ville but  also  in  Okmulgee  County,  Oklahoma,  in 
Texas  and.  even  in  California.  He  has  the  distinction 
of  having  opened  the  Copan  Oil  & Gas  Company,  drilled 
the  first  well  and  brought  in  one  of  the  best  oil  pools 
in  the  country.  He  is  the  owner  also  of  a large  orange 
grove  in  the  San  Joaquin  Valley  of  California. 

Mr.  Smith  is  a republican,  a member  of  the  Masonic 
Order  and  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of 
Elks,  and  also  of  the  Bartlesville  Country  Club. 

His  first  wife  was  Eva  Miller  of  Claysville,  Penn- 
sylvania. The  only  child  of  that  union,  Herbert 
Leman,  was  born  at  Pennville,  Indiana,  July  6,  1894, 
and  was  reared  by  his  grandparents,  Herbert  G.  Smith 
and  wife.  Mrs.  Smith  died  July  15,  1894,  a few  days 
after  the  birth  of  her  son. 

On  November  28,  1903,  Mr.  Smith  married  Mrs. 
Sarah  Rebecca  (Cole)  Cook.  Both  as  a home  maker 
and  in  social  affairs  Mrs.  Smith  has  been  well  known 
in  Bartlesville  for  the  past  ten  years.  She  represents 
an  old  and  quite  prominent  American  family.  She 
was  born  January  14,  1871,  a daughter  of  Alfred  H. 
and  Dorcas  M.  (Reynolds)  Cole,  natives  of  Ohio  and 
West  Virginia,  respectively.  Her  father  was  born  at 
Powhattan  Point,  Ohio,  October  9,  1842,  and  is  now 
living  retired  at  Parkerville,  West  Virginia.  His 
wife  was  born  March  6,  1846,  at  St.  Mary’s,  West 
Virginia.  The  old  Cole  homestead  is  still  owned  by 
a member  of  the  family  and  a piece  of  rock  blasted 
from  the  famous  Plymouth  Rock  in  Massachusetts  is 
lying  at  the  foot  of  what  is  known  as  Cole ’s  Hill.  The 
nine  children  of  the  Cole  family  were:  Charles,  Cora, 
Mrs.  Smith,  Lillian,  Walter,  Sylvia,  Martha,  Chester, 
and  one  that  died  in  infancy.  Mrs.  Smith  was  first 
married  September  29,  1887,  to  James  H.  Cook,  and 
her  children  by  that  union  are  Louis  Alfred  and 
Calvin  Cole  Cook.  Louis  Alfred  was  born  February 
14,  1889,  in  Findlay,  Ohio,  now  lives  in  Okmulgee 
County,  Oklahoma,  and  married  Ethel  Saunders  of 
Lexington,  Missouri.  Calvin  C.  Cook,  born  January 
10,  1891,  in  Parkersburg,  West  Virginia)  now  lives  in 
the  San  Joaquin  Valley  of  California  and  married 
Lula  Brooks. 

James  A.  Weiselogel.  In  these  days  when  revela- 
tions of  political  corruption  are  so  common  as  to  occa- 
sion no  surprise,  and  to  be  a politician,  is,  in  the  minds 
of  many  very  respectable  but  undiscriminating  people, 
to  be  a suspicious  character,  it  is  pleasing  to  find  a 
man  brave  enough  and  strong  enough  to  enter  the 
political  field,  not  for  purposes  of  self-aggrandize- 
ment, but  in  order  to  abolish  old  abuses  and  estab- 
lish better  and  cleaner  conditions  in  municipal  gov- 
ernment. And  when  such  a one,  by  sheer  force  of 
character,  wins  a clean  cut  victory  against  a strong 
opposition  entrenched  in  the  very  seat  of  government, 
honest  citizens  may  well  feel  hopeful  for  the  future. 
The  election  of  James  A.  Wieselogel  as  mayor  of  Paw- 
huska,  Osage  County,  Oklahoma,  which  occurred  in 
the  spring  of  the  year,  1915,  was  a step  in  the  right 
direction  and  an  encouragement  to  the  friends  of  law 
and  order  in  this  county.  As  this  was  a notable 
achievement,  a few  words  in  regard  to  Mayor  Weise- 
logel’s  personality  and  previous  career  will  be  of 
interest  to  the  readers  of  this  volume. 

I Vol.  V— 28 


James  A.  Weiselogel  was  born  at  Linn  Creek,  Cam- 
den County,  Missouri,  October  21,  1886,  the  son  of 
Michael  and  Laura  E.  (McIntyre)  Weiselogel.  The 
father,  born  in  • Baden,  Germany,  in  1852,  at  the  age 
of  twenty-one  years  came  to  the  United  States,  land- 
ing at  New  York.  After  awhile  he  removed  to  Mis- 
souri, where  he  married,  residing  for  a number  of 
years  in  Camden  County.  About  1893  he  made  another 
change  of  location,  this  time  going  to  Newkirk,  Okla- 
homa, of  which  place  he  has  since  been  a resident, 
being  now  a retired  merchant  there.  His  wife,  mother 
of  the  subject  of  this  sketch,  was  born  in  Indiana  in 
1858  and  subsequently  moved  to  Missouri,  where,  as 
already  intimated,  she  became  the  wife  of  Michael 
Weiselogel.  They  became  the  parents  of  five  children, 
all  of  whom  are  now  living,  namely  D.  W.,  a resident 
of  Tulsa,  Oklahoma;  Effie,  wife  of  Elner  Gearhart; 
James  A.,  the  direct  subject  of  this  biography;  J.  M., 
who  is  proprietor  of  the  Eagle  Cafe  in  Pawhuska;  and 
Clara,  who  resides  at  home  with  her  parents. 

James  A.  Weiselogel  resided  with  his  parents  until 
reaching  the  age  of  twenty  years,  at  which  time  he 
came  to  Oklahoma.  He  acquired  his  elementary  edu- 
cation in  the  common  schools,  afterwards  attended  the 
high  school  for  awhile  and  then  finished  his  studies 
by  attendance  for  one  year  at  the  Presbyterian 
Academy  at  Newkirk.  His  father  being  a merchant, 
he  began  industrial  life  in  his  store  and  thus  acquired 
a practical  knowledge  of  mercantile  affairs  and  gen- 
eral business  methods,  of  which  he  subsequently 
availed  himself,  working  as  clerk  in  stores  in  various 
places  for  several  years.  He  then  returned  home  for 
a visit  with  his  parents,  remaining  with  them  for  some 
time.  Returning  to  Oklahoma,  he  located  in  Fairfax, 
where,  in  company  with  O.  C.  Miller,  he  engaged  in 
the  restaurant  business,  which  they  conducted  together 
successfully  for  about  a year.  At  the  end  of  that  time 
Mr.  Weiselogel  sold  out  his  interest  and  went  to 
Oklahoma  City,  where,  for  a few  months  he  was 
employed  as  a clerk.  He  then  accepted  a position  as 
travelling  man  for  the  Great  Western  Sales  Company, 
his  headquarters  being  with  the  company ’s  office  at 
Omaha,  Nebraska.  Subsequently  he  was  transferred 
to  Wichita,  Kansas,  from  which  point  he  worked  for 
the  same  company  until  the  summer  of  1911.  In  June 
of  that  year  he  made  his  advent  in  Pawhuska,  Okla- 
homa, finding  employment  in  a restaurant,  where  he 
remained  for  eighteen  months.  In  August,  1912,  he 
bought  a restaurant  and  conducted  it  successfully  until 
the  spring  of  1915.  During  this  time  he  had  made 
a wide  acquaintance  and  impressed  his  personality 
upon  many  of  the  leading  citizens  of  the  town,  taking 
an  interest  in  public  affairs  and  discussing  the  political 
situation,  especially  with  those  citizens  who  desired 
to  see  a reform  movement  inaugurated.  The  greatest 
obstacle  to  such  a movement  was  the  liquor  interest, 
which  held  the  city  in  its  grip  and  was  supported  by 
many  citizens  who  were  either  its  open  friends,  or  who 
were  not  farsighted  enough  to  see  that  a “wide 
open  ’ ’ town  kept  away  the  more  reputable  class  of 
settlers  and  was  inimical  to  the  city’s  future  progress, 
as  well  as  to  its  present  prosperity.  Indeed,  the  situa- 
tion was  rendered  more  acute  from  the  fact  that 
the  Department  of  the  Interior  demands  that  the 
towns  in  the  state  keep  “dry”  under  the  warning  that 
if  they  do  not  the  department  will  remove  the 
Indians  elsewhere,  which  would  naturally  work  a great 
injury  to  legitimate  trade.  On  the  advice  of  his 
friends,  therefore,  Mr.  Weiselogel  declared  himself  a 
candidate  for  mayor  at  the  election  to  be  held  April 
6,  1915.  He  made  his  own  canvass  chiefly  and! 


2192 


HISTORY  OF  OKLAHOMA 


was  so  successful  in  impressing  the  voters  with  the 
necessity  of  having. a clean  town,  uneontaminated  by 
the  liquor  trade,  that  he  was  triumphantly  elected  on 
the  republican  ticket,  having  a majority  of  thirty-two 
votes.  This  result  was  the  more  impressive,  as  Paw- 
huska  has  a usual  democratic  majority  of  about  200. 
Taking  office  May  3,  1915,  Mayor  Weiselogel  at  once 
set  about  his  duties  in  a progressive  spirit  and, 
although  little  more  than  a month  has  elapsed  (at  this 
writing)  since  he  assumed  the  chair  as  presiding 
officer  of  the  city  government,  the  hostile  forces  have 
been  obliged  to  capitulate  and  Pawhuska  is  now  one 
of  the  ‘ ‘ driest  ’ ’ towns  of  its  size  in  Oklahoma.  The 
beneficial  results  are  already  observable.  The  police 
force  has  been  reformed  and  the  city  is  now  in  a 
much  more  clean  and  orderly  condition  than  it  was 
under  the  old  regime.  Something  yet  remains  to  be 
done,  but  Mr.  Weiselogel  is  not  th£  man  to  falter  or 
turn  his  hand  from  the  work  until  the  highest  degree 
of  efficiency  in  every  department  of  the  city  govern- 
ment, which  is  a commission  government,  has  been 
attained.  And  when  attained,  it  may  safely  be  said, 
it  will  be  maintained.  Mayor  Weiselogel  is  unmar- 
ried, but  as  he  is  still  a young  man,  that  fault,  if  it 
be  one,  may  be  remedied  in  the  future.  He  has 
advanced  in  the  Masonic  order  as  far  as  the  Chapter, 
and  belongs  also  to  the  Eastern  Star,  the  Benevolent 
and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  the  Knights  of  Pythias 
and  the  society  known  as  Homesteaders,  of  all  of 
which  he  is  a useful  and  active  member.  To  be  any- 
thing else  would  be  foreign  to  his  nature,  which  is 
essentially  progressive  and  wedded  to  high  ideals  of 
life  and  duty. 

Benjamin  P.  Burwell.  The  late  Judge  Burwell,  who 
served  as  an  associate  justice  of  the  Supreme  Court  of 
Oklahoma  for  a decade,  1898-1908,  was  a Pennsylvanian, 
born  in  Armstrong  County,  April  15,  1866,  a son  of 
Joseph  Yarenton  and  Maxia  (Lanham)  Burwell.  He  was 
educated  in  the  public  and  normal  schools  of  West  Vir- 
ginia. The  earlier  years  of  his  manhood  were  spent  in 
Kansas,  and  in  1888  he  married  Miss  Agnes  J.  Carnahan, 
of  Hope,  that  state.  Mr.  Burwell  was  admitted  to  the 
bar  in  1890,  practiced  at  Gypsum  City,  Kansas,  for  about 
a year  thereafter,  and  in  1891  moved  to  Oklahoma  City, 
where  he  afterward  engaged  in  practice  and  in  the  per- 
formance of  his  judicial  duties.  In  1892  he  was  an  un- 
successful candidate  for  probate  judge,  and  after  his 
retirement  from  the  Supreme  bench  of  Oklahoma  in 
1908  continued  in  active  practice  of  his  profession  until 
the  time  of  his  death,  April  2,  1916. 

Clinton  A.  Galbraith.  Judge  Galbraith  has  a sub- 
stantial record  both  as  a jurist  and  as  lawyer,  although 
he  has  never  occupied  the  bench  in  Oklahoma.  He  was 
born  in  Hartsville,  Indiana,  on  March  6,  1860,  and 


graduated  from  the  college  at  that  place  in  1883.  Eor  I 
the  remainder  of  that  year  and  a portion  of  1884  he  was  | 
a law  student  at  the  University  of  Michigan  and  after-  1 
ward  studied  alone  and  under  private  tutorship,  judge  1 
Galbraith  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1888;  served  as  D 
attorney  general  of  Oklahoma  Territory  from  1893-7,  and 
in  April,  1898,  located  at  Hilo,  Hawaiian  Islands.  He 
was  associate  justice  of  the  Hawaiian  Supreme  Court 
from  1900-4,  and  in  the  latter  year  returned  to  Oklahoma 
for  the  practice  of  his  profession,  fixing  his  residence  at 
Ada.  In  September,  1913,  Judge  Galbraith  was  ap- 
pointed a Supreme  Court  Commissioner;  was  reappointed 
in  March,  1915,  and  is  now  presiding  judge  of  Division 
No.  2.  Although  his  official  residence  is  Oklahoma  City 
his  home  is  still  Ada. 

Joseph  B.  Thoburn  was  born  at  Bellaire,  Ohio, 
August  8,  1866,  the  son  of  Maj.  Thomas  C.  and  Mary 
Eleanor  (Crozier)  Thoburn.  His  parents  migrated  to 
Kansas  in  March,  1871,  settling  on  a homestead  in 
Marion  County.  His  early  life  was  spent  on  the  farm. 
Subsequently  he  learned  the  printer ’s  trade.  He  grad- 
uated from  the  Kansas  Agricultural  College  in  1893. 

In  1894  he  was  married  to  Miss  Callie  Conwell,  of 
Manhattan,  Kansas.  They  have  two  daughters,  Mary 
Eleanor  and  Jeanne  Isabel. 

Mr.  Thoburn  located  at  Oklahoma  City  in  1899, 
where  he  was  engaged  in  printing  and  newspaper  writ- 
ing for  several  years.  In  1902  he  assumed  the  duties  of 
the  secretaryship  of  the  local  commercial  club,  which  fl 
position  he  filled  until  March  1,  1903,  a reorganization 
being  effected  during  that  interval.  In  the  meantime, 
in  December,  1902,  he  had  been  chosen  as  the  secre- 
tary of  the  Territorial  Board  of  Agriculture — being 
the  first  to  fill  that  position  and  serving  in  that 
capacity  until  July,  1905. 

During  the  past  ten  years  Mr.  Thoburn ’s  time  and 
attention  have  been  devoted  almost  exclusively  to  the 
work  or  research  and  writing  along  the  lines  of  local 
and  western  history.  In  1913,  he  was  elected  a member 
of  the  faculty  of  the  University  of  Oklahoma,  where 
his  work  has  been  more  nearly  that  of  a curator  than 
an  instructor,  his  field  of  effort  being  widened  to 
include  American  archaeology  and  ethnology  as  well 
as  local  history.  He  has  been  one  of  the  most  active 
members  of  the  board  of  trustees  of  the  Oklahoma  His- 
torical Society  for  many  years  past., 

Mr.  Thoburn  is  a member  of  the  Methodist  Epis- 
copal Church,  a Mason  and  a Modern  Woodman.  He 
is  also  a member  of  the  Oklahoma  Society  of  the  Sons 
of  the  American  Revolution.  As  the  work  incident 
to  the  collection  of  the  material  and  writing  the  text 
of  the  Standard  History  of  Oklahoma  required  all  of 
his  time  for  a year,  he  has  been  on  leave  of  absence 
from  his  regular  duties  at  the  university  during  the 
scholastic  year  1915-6. 


1526